Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific Railroad v. United States

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

/1N Supreme Court US |

3 7 9 4 FILED

6-1

leg JAN 20 1987

No.

ANIOL, JR,

eB CLERK

In THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

Ocroser Term, 1986

———

-—

-—

—

CHICAGO, MILWAUKEE, ST. PAUL AND

PACIFIC RAILROAD COMPANY and

CHICAGO MILWAUKEE CORPORATION,

Petitioners,

We

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and

INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

JEROLD S. SoLovy

DantEL R. Murray*

Laura A. KAsTER

BarBara S. STEINER

Cyntuoia G. Bowman

JENNER & BLOCK

One IBM Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60611

(312) 222-9350

Attorneys for Petitioners

* Counsel of Record

Midwest Law Printing Co., Chicago 60611, (312) 321-0220

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Seventh Circuit erred in holding that the

shareholders of the Milwaukee Road are precluded from

seeking $210 million in the Claims Court for a taking of

their property without just compensation when: (a) this

Court expressly recognized in the Regional Rail Reorgan-

ization Act Cases that, under the Fifth Amendment, a

Tucker Act remedy must be available to compensate an

involuntary transfer of rail assets; (b) Congress explicitly

guaranteed a Tucker Act remedy in the Milwaukee Rail-

road Restructuring Act; and (c) the Seventh Circuit had

no authority to preempt relief under the Tucker Act.

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING IN

THE COURT OF APPEALS

The parties to this case, Seventh Circuit No. 85-1683,

were Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific Railroad

Company (Debtor),* and its parent corporation, Chicago

Milwaukee Corporation, as appellants, and the United

States of America and the Interstate Commerce Commis-

sion, as appellees.

RULE 28.1 LISTING

The following are subsidiaries or affiliates of the Chicago

Milwaukee Corporation:

CMC Real Estate Corporation

Hi-Way Paving, Inc.

CMC Investment Corporation

Vulcan-Hart Corporation

Hanson Porcelain Company, Inc.

Vulean-Hart Canada, Inc.

Foster Refrigerator of Canada, Ltd.

Foster Refrigerator (U.K.) Limited

Southern Boiler & Tank Works, Inc.

Milwaukee Land Company

Des Moines Union Railway Company

Minnesota Transfer Railway Company

The Compagnie de Banque et d’Investissements of Switzer-

land holds 9.38% of the common stock of the Chicago

Milwaukee Corporation.

* The former Debtor has been renamed CMC Real Estate Cor-

poration.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED ................... i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS ........... il

re =

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...............-.

EI cas vccessceeses

ES Eee

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

pes ulpy i 32 6) O's) ) ES

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...............

Statutory Background ....................

Proceedings in the Reorganization Court ..

The Decision of the Court of Appeals ....

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ....

THE DEBTOR AND CMC ARE ENTITLED TO

SEEK JUST COMPENSATION IN THE CLAIMS

COURT FOR THE TAKING OF THEIR PROP-

PP Tee eee C ECT ATE CLEEEE ERT 9

A. Both The Fifth Amendment And The 3R

Act Cases"Require That There Be Tucker

RE ies gs é éucce EA paren 9

B. Congress Intended That The Milwaukee

Road’s Shareholders Have A Tucker Act

conn & WO DY

ahs ag Gia nda bo a #K De '0 00-5 i

C. The Seventh Circuit Lacked Jurisdiction

To Preempt Claims Court Relief ..... 12

ES ee ee eer 14

s or ~

iv

APPENDIX

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit, August 20, 1986 .

Order Denying Petition for Rehearing, October

De Be sc ov oa ruusecevakebheeedwaseuss

Reorganization Court Order No. 809, February

Ere rere rrr ere T rer

Transcript of Proceedings before Judge Thomas

McMillen, February 8, 1985 ............

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Almota Farmers Elevator & Warehouse Co. v.

United States, 409 U.S. 470 (1978) .........

Amalgamated Sugar Co. v. Bergland, 664 F.2d 818

oo gt Per porrerr Tre rer cr ere

Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40 (1960) .

Chas. T. Main International, Inc. v. Khuzestan

Water & Power Authority, 651 F.2d 800 (1st

Ch SE hn be a5 40540 o ne Oe ee

Chelsea Community Hospital v. Michigan Blue

Cross Association, 630 F.2d 1131 (6th Cir. 1980) .

Clark v. United States, 596 F.2d 252 (7th Cir.

eee er ere ee rey Tree rae S

Doe v. United States Department of Justice, 753

FOG 008 GOL. Cir. BORD wc ccc ccscscce

Duke Power Co. v. Carolina Environmental Study

Group, Inc., 4388 U.S. 59 (1978) ............

Estate of Watson v. Blumenthal, 586 F.2d 925 (2d

CARS. SE cS chwnkccnks ee sinedae eae

Hahn v. United States, 757 F.2d 581 (8d Cir. 1985) .

In re Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific R.R.

Co., 701 F.2d 604 (7th Cir.), cert. dismissed, 463

Se ee III be crs co ora ea oe as

In re Penn Central Transportation Co., 520 F.2d

ee Se errr re er Fs

Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164 (1979) .

PAGE

vi

Keller v. Merit Systems Protection Board, 679 F.2d

ee Cee A PD bs 00 bose sdewnnes bagree 13

Kirby Forest Industries, Inc. v. United States, 467

Te ED 3 5 0.6 chav don veendbuntiarwnnses 9

Lomas & Nettleton Co. v. Pierce, 636 F.2d 971 (5th

Se MED (0's banvredes 4406s Wind en eae eenes 13

McKeel v. Islamic Republic of Iran, 722 F.2d 582

(9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 880

RS rr rer ero re iin Torr 13

Penn Central Transportation Co. v. New York

Ca ee a Oe MOPS 6 ics ascceneseeess 9

Polos v. United States, 556 F.2d 903 (8th Cir.

RE rye eee rE ree ene be tee ee vere 13

Portsmouth Redevelopment & Housing Authority

v. Pierce, 706 F.2d 471 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 3

— ef ee eerrerr rere err 12-13

Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases, 419 U.S.

SP EE bc Vk Saad cae aee ce heer meee Thess passim

St. Joe Paper Co. v. Atlantic Coast Line R.R. Co.,

ee er RMI os vos hi okt Cee dese bees 5

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes, and Rules

US. Const. amend. V .....csscsescccvess 2,9, 10, 11

Bankruptcy Act of 1898, § 77,

Be ee Be ID bc icdacwndes sae’ 4,5,6

Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, § 403(a),

Pub. L. No. 95-598, 92 Stat. 2549, 2683 .... 4

Interstate Commerce Act, ;

ee, OD. ck x0 kG bk 4 eamRO RO WO 6

Vii

Milwaukee Railroad Restructuring Act,

45 UBC. GOOG ww. cncs.s ee passim

Regional Rail Reorganization Act,

CO RR re 8, 10

Staggers Rail Act of 1980, |

45 U.S.C. §1018(c) ....... Terre erereer. passim

Tucker Act,

ee ED cn nccsvcdeecerearees passim

Se I ois cede cba sw shapeoxaens 2

Ser SR hi on os ck ceeds nedneceees 12

Bankruptcy Rule 8-703(aX6) ................04. 7

Other Authorities

H.R. Rep. No. 588, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. 15, re-

printed in 1979 U.S. CopDE Conc. & AD. NEws

SOE Vea VEE VEEN ne ane 5, 11

H.R. Rep. No. 1430, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 79, re-

printed in 1980 U.S. CoDE Conc. & Ap. NEws

PE ee rer aye Pee Caner Nem meeting: 5, 6, 11

In THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

Octoser Term, 1986

CHICAGO, MILWAUKEE, ST. PAUL AND

PACIFIC RAILROAD COMPANY and

CHICAGO MILWAUKEE CORPORATION,

Petitioners,

v.

- UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and

INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION,

Respondents.

—

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners, the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific

Railroad Company (“Milwaukee Road” or “Debtor’’) and

its parent company, the Chicago Milwaukee Corporation

(“CMC”), respectfully petition for a Writ of Certiorari to

review the judgment of the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Seventh Circuit in this case.

~ a

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals is reported at 799

F.2d 317 and appears at App. 1.1 The order of the court

of appeals denying the petition for rehearing with a sug-

gestion for rehearing in banc is not reported and appears

at App. 39. The decision and order of the district court

is not reported and appears at App. 41.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

August 20, 1986. The petition for rehearing with sugges-

tion for rehearing in banc was denied on October 20, 1986.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

STATUTES INVOLVED

Amendment V to the United States Constitution pro-

vides in relevant part:

No person shall be ... deprived of life, liberty,

or property, without due process of law; nor shall

private property be taken for public use, without just

compensation.

1 “App.” refers to the Appendix to this Petition, and “ICCR.”

refers to the record of the proceedings before the Interstate Com-

merce Commission.

N

indies

The Staggers Rail Act of 1980, 45 U.S.C. § 1018(c), pro-

vides in relevant, part:

Nothing in. . . the Milwaukee Railroad Restructur-

ing Act ... shall limit the right of any person to

commence an action in the United States Court of

Claims under . . . the Tucker Act.

The Tucker Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1491(aX1), provides in rele-

vant part:

The United States Claims Court shall have jurisdic-

tion to render judgment upon any claim against the

United States founded ... upon the Constitution. ...

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arises out of the Milwaukee Road reorganiza-

tion proceedings and the court-ordered sale of the Milwau-

kee Road’s core rail assets to the Soo Line Railroad Com-

pany (‘‘the Soo’) for $210 million less than the Chicago

North Western Transportation Company (‘the CNW’’) of-

fered to pay for the same assets. (App. 2.) Although the

ICC found that the bids for those assets by both the Soo

and the CNW were consistent with the public interest,

and therefore approved both bids, the ICC and the re-

organization court each expressed a preference for the Soo

bid on the ground that the public interest would be better

served by a sale to the Soo. (App. 3-7.) The ICC and the

reorganization court believed that the sale to the Soo

would serve the ICC’s administrative convenience, pre-

serve more rail lines and jobs, and strengthen the national

defense. (App. 3-7, 65-76.) Based on these public interest

considerations, the reorganization court ordered that the

rail assets be sold to the Soo, the lower bidder. (App.

42-44.)

—

ae

The Milwaukee Railroad Restructuring Act (“MRRA’’),

45 U.S.C. §§ 901-922, empowered the reorganization court

to take the Debtor’s property in the public interest. How-

ever, as this Court held in the Regional Rail Reorganiza-

tion Act Cases (“3R Act Cases’), 419 U.S. 102 (1974), such

a taking is constitutional only if a Tucker Act remedy is

available to review the adequacy of the compensation paid.

The gravamen of this case is that the reorganization

court did more than order a forced transfer of rail assets.

Because the reorganization court also made a finding—

neither contemplated nor authorized by the MRRA—that

the Soo bid constituted just compensation, its decision pur-

ports to preclude the Milwaukee Road’s shareholders from

seeking Tucker Act relief in the Claims Court. The Seventh

Circuit clearly recognized that the reorganization court’s

finding was erroneous, but refused to vacate it. (App. 13,

20.) Thus, contrary both to the plain language of the

MRRA and to this Court’s holding in the 3R Act Cases,

the Milwaukee Road’s shareholders stand to suffer a $210

million taking of their property without any opportunity

to seek just compensation.

TORE OD A PTT Ce Neidio. <i ee :

Statutory Background

The United States District Court for the Northern Dis-

trict of Lllinois, sitting as the reorganization court, exer-

cised jurisdiction under both section 77 of the Bankruptcy

Act of 1898, 11 U.S.C. § 205, and the MRRA, 45 U.S.C.

§§ 901-922.2 Section 77 contains the statutory scheme

2 Because these reorganization proceedings were commenced in

1977, the proceedings continue to be governed by section 77 of

the old Bankruptcy Act, former 11 U.S.C. § 205, and Article 8 of

the old Bankruptcy Rules. In re Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul

& Pacific R.R. Co., 701 F.2d 604, 605 n.1 (7th Cir.), cert. dis-

missed, 463 U.S. 1233 (1983); Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978,

§ 403(a), Pub. L. No. 95-598, 92 Stat. 2549, 2683.

|

a

which generally governs all aspects of railroad reorganiza-

tion proceedings filed before October 1, 1979, including

the sale of a debtor’s rail assets. Significantly, under sec-

tion 77, sales of rail assets must be in the best interests

of an estate and at fair market value; and the debtor

has the power to veto any forced sale. See, e.g., Sections

77(b), (d), and (0) of the Bankruptcy Act, 11 U.S.C. §§ 205(b),

(d), and (0); St. Joe Paper Co. v. Atlantic Coast Line R.R.

Co., 347 U.S. 298 (1954).

The MRRA was enacted in 1979 as special emergency

legislation to preserve rail service and jobs in the Mid-

west. (See 45 U.S.C. § 901; H.R. Rep. No. 583, 96th Cong,,

Ist Sess. 15, reprinted in 1979 U.S. CopDE Conc. & AD.

News 1747, 1747-49.) Among other things, the MRRA

provides a streamlined procedure to permit the expedited

transfer of the Milwaukee Road’s rail lines to serve public

interest goals. 45 U.S.C. § 904(b). Unlike section 77, the

MRRA does not require that sales be in the best interests

of an estate or at fair market value. Moreover, the MRRA

does not provide for the debtor’s veto of forced sales.

(App. 54-55.)

In place of the safeguards available under section 77, or

in any ordinary bankruptcy, the Staggers Rail Act of 1980

- amended the MRRA to make clear that nothing contained

in the MRRA “shall limit the right of any person to com-

mence an action in the United States Court of Claims

under ... the Tucker Act.” 45 U.S.C. § 1018(c). The

Tucker Act provides that claims against the United States

based upon the Constitution, including claims for the tak-

ing of property without just compensation, may be brought

in the Claims Court. 28 U.S.C. § 1491(a\1).

The Staggers Rail Act amendment was enacted to make

explicit that the MRRA conformed to the constitutional

principle articulated in the 3R Act Cases. (See H.R. REP.

willie.

No. 1430, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 79, reprinted in 1980 U.S.

CopE Conc. & Ap. News 4110, 4169.) There, this Court

held that a similar statute, the Regional Rail Reorganiza-

tion Act (“3R Act”), 45 U.S.C. §§ 701 et seg., passed con-

stitutional muster only because an implied Tucker Act

remedy was available for any taking claim. 3R Act Cases,

419 U.S. at 125-36, 148-56.

Proceedings in the Reorganization Court

On December 19, 1977, following years of enormous

losses, the Milwaukee Road filed a petition for reorganiza-

tion under section 77. Despite repeated efforts to reorgan-

ize the Debtor as an operating railroad, which caused an

additional erosion of the shareholders’ equity in an amount

the trustee estimated to exceed $220 million, the trustee

eventually concluded that the Debtor’s rail assets should

be sold. (ICCR. 416, Verified Statement of Richard B.

Ogilvie, filed with Comments of Trustee, April 13, 1984,

at 9-10.)

There were three bidders for the Milwaukee Road’s rail

assets: the Grand Trunk Corporation (“GTC”), the Soo,

and the CNW. (App. 3.) The CNW’s bid was $210 million

higher than the next highest bid, which was made by the

Soo. (App. 2.) Pursuant to section 5(b) of the MRRA, 45

U.S.C. §904(b), the reorganization court submitted all

three bids to the ICC for its review and approval. (App.

3.) In addition, the reorganization court asked the ICC

to express its preference among these bids—although this

procedure is not authorized by the MRRA. (App. 4-5.)

The ICC declined to approve GTC’s bid, but it approved

both the Soo and the CNW bids, finding both to be con-

sistent with the public interest as required by the Inter-

state Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C. § 11344(b). (App. 3-5.) By

me F

a 4 to 3 vote, the ICC expressed its preference for the

Soo proposal on public interest grounds. (App. 5.)

On February 19, 1985, relying upon the record before

the ICC, and over the strenuous objections of the Trustee,

Debtor, creditors, and shareholders, the reorganization

court ordered that the Milwaukee Road’s rail assets be

sold to the Soo. (App. 42-44.) Although the reorganiza-

tion court based its decision solely on the public interest

considerations set forth above, it made a gratuitous find-

ing that the Soo bid was “just compensation,” and it char-

acterized the significantly higher CNW bid as a “wind-

fall.” (App. 3-7, 56, 65-76.) Late that evening, the sale

closed and the assets were conveyed to the Soo. (App. 8.)

The Decision of the Court of Appeals

Under the statutory scheme established by Congress in

the MRRA, the Debtor and CMC were to obtain just com-

pensation for the rail lines sold in the public interest by

filing a Tucker Act suit in the Claims Court.* To avoid

any argument of waiver, collateral estoppel, or res judicata

which might be based upon the reorganization court’s un-

authorized finding as to just compensation, the Debtor and

CMC appealed to the Seventh Circuit and asked it to vacate

that finding. (App. 2.)

The Seventh Circuit assumed that the reorganization

court’s finding of just compensation was erroneous because

the fair market value of the railroad’s property was estab-

lished by the CNW’s $210 million higher bid. (App. 13.)

Moreover, the Seventh Circuit found it “unsettling to con-

. Bankruptcy Rule 8-703(aX6) provides that a sale to a good faith

petaapsavsd may not be overturned on appeal. The Debtor and CMC

ave never questioned the Soo’s status as a good faith purchaser.

-

template the prospect of $210 million gone without re-

dress—without even full appellate review of the decision

to sell to the Soo.” (App. 20.) Nonetheless, the Seventh

Circuit not only refused to vacate the finding of just com-

pensation, but it added its own gratuitous gloss. It held _

that no Tucker Act remedy was available, speculating

that any contrary result would require the United States

Treasury to guarantee the accuracy of all judicial deci-

sions. (App. 19-20.)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

By reading the Tucker Act remedy out of the MRRA,

the Seventh Circuit has attempted to foreclose relief for

a taking of historic proportions. The Constitution requires

that the Debtor and CMC be permitted to seek Tucker

Act relief in the Claims Court to review the adequacy

of the compensation paid for the taking. In the 3R Act

Cases, this Court held that the 3R Act would be uncon-

stitutional if no Tucker Act relief were available. In the

Staggers Rail Act, Congress affirmatively provided a

Tucker Act remedy under the MRRA to make that guar-

antee explicit. Yet the Seventh Circuit has held that no

Tucker Act remedy is available.

The Seventh Circuit decision so far departs from the

normal course of judicial proceedings that review by this

Court is warranted. The decision below directly conflicts

with a recent decision of this Court, a statute enacted

by Congress, and a decision of the Third Circuit Court of

Appeals. Its effect is to work a $210 million injustice upon

the shareholders of the Milwaukee Road. This Court should

grant certiorari and set down this case for plenary considera-

oitiion

tion or, in the alternative, summarily reverse with instruc-

tions that the just compensation finding be vacated.

‘ THE DEBTOR AND CMC ARE ENTITLED TO SEEK JUST

COMPENSATION IN THE CLAIMS COURT FOR THE

TAKING OF THEIR PROPERTY.

A. Both The Fifth Amendment And The 3R Act Cases Re-

quire That There Be Tucker Act Relief.

The Seventh Circuit’s attempt to preclude a Tucker Act

remedy squarely conflicts with the Fifth Amendment and

with this Court’s ruling in the 3R Act Cases, that a tak-

ing is permissible only if the adequacy of the compensa-

tion paid can be tested in a Claims Court suit. Here, the

reorganization court ordered an involuntary sale to the

lower bidder. This caused a $210 million taking because

private parties, the Milwaukee Road shareholders, were

required “to bear public burdens which, in all fairness and

justice, should be borne by the public as a whole.”” Arm-

strong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40, 49 (1960).4

As the Seventh Circuit’s opinion recognized, the Milwau-

kee Road’s shareholders did not receive just compensa-

tion for their property. (App. 13.) The court stated that

the $210 million higher CNW bid constituted the tair

market value of the rail assets and, therefore, their con-

stitutional minimum value. (App. 13.)5 However, instead

4 See also Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164, 175 (1979);

Penn a Transportation Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104,

124 (1978).

5 See, e.g., Kirby Forest Industries, Inc. v. United States, 467

U.S. 1, 10 (1984); Almota Farmers Elevator & Warehouse Co. v.

United States, 409 U.S. 470, 474 (1973). As the Seventh Circuit

found, the heavily regulated nature of the railroad industry can-

not justify the $210 million diminution in value of the Milwaukee

Road’s assets, because the bids presented to the reorganization

court already reflected the cost of regulation. (App. 15-16.)

=

of requiring a sale for no less than the constitutional mini-

mum, the MRRA authorized the reorganization court to dis-

regard the best interests of the estate and to subordinate

its interests to the public interest.

The Seventh Circuit’s decision squarely conflicts with

this Court’s decision in the 3R Act Cases, 419 U.S. 102

(1974), in which this Court specifically addressed the con-

stitutionality of a court-ordered taking of rail assets under

the 3R Act. The 3R Act authorized the expedited transfer

of rail lines to Conrail and was silent as to whether a

Tucker Act remedy existed to review the adequacy of the

compensation to be paid pursuant to the statute. 45 U.S.C.

§§ 701 et seg. This Court ruled that the 3R Act survived

constitutional scrutiny only because Congress had not pre-

cluded an injured party from bringing a Tucker Act suit

against the United States for civil money damages. 419

U.S. at 125-36, 148-56. Thus, the Seventh Circuit’s pur-

ported foreclosure of Tucker Act relief renders the MRRA

as applied unconstitutional under the Fifth Amendment.

The Seventh Circuit justified its decision by express-

ing a fear that if relief for a taking were available in

this case, the floodgates would be opened to suits against

the United States whenever judges err. (App. 19.) This

fear is unfounded. The Seventh Circuit erroneously focused

on the reorganization court’s mistaken finding that the Soo

bid constituted just compensation. However, the reorgan-

ization court’s critical error was to address the issue of just

compensation when it had no authority to do so. Like the

3R Act, the MRRA contemplates a two-pronged procedure

whereby the reorganization court may order the expedi-

tious sale of rail assets, while any claim for just compensa-

tion must be pursued in a subsequent Claims Court suit.

Thus, any principle granting redress here would apply

only to claims arising under legislation having these

TF

specific features, and only Congress could increase the

number of Tucker Act claims by enacting comparable legis-

lation.

Moreover, under the Seventh Circuit’s analysis, acts which

would constitute a taking if committed by any agency are

not a taking if committed by a judge. This distinction has

no foundation in any principled interpretation of the Fifth

Amendment and will eviscerate the constitutional protec-

tion afforded private property. Congress should not be

able to avoid paying just compensation by_the simple ex-

pedient of delegating quick-take authority to a federal dis-

trict judge rather than to an administrative agency or ex-

ecutive officer. In light of the direct conflict with this Court’s

decision in the 3R Act Cases, this Court should grant cer-

tiorari and reverse the decision of the Seventh Circuit.

B. Congress Intended That The Milwaukee Road’s Share-

holders Have A Tucker Act Remedy.

The Seventh Circuit ignored the Congressional guaran-

tee of a Tucker Act remedy under the MRRA. 45 U.S.C.

§ 1018(c). Instead, the Seventh Circuit made two errone-

ous rulings: (1) that the MRRA required the reorganiza-

tion court to find that compensation was just before it

could order a sale of rail assets; and (2) that Tucker Act

relief was unavailable. (App. 20.)

Congress specifically recognized that the urgent public

need to preserve the Milwaukee Road’s rail lines required

a quick transfer without just compensation. (See 45 U.S.C.

§ 901; H.R. Rep. No. 1430, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 79,

reprinted in 1980 U.S. CoDE Conc. & Ap. NEws 4110,

4169; H.R. Rep. No. 583, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. 15, re-

printed in 1979 U.S. CopE Conc. & Ap. NEws 1747,

1748.) Indeed, that recognition lay at the very heart of

the MRRA. For that reason, and because of the constitu-

=—

tional rule articulated by this Court in the 3R Act Cases,

Congress enacted the Staggers Act amendment, which ex-

pressly guarantees Tucker Act relief:

Nothing . . . in the Milwaukee Railroad Restructur-

ing Act . .. shall limit the right of any person to

commence an action in the United States Court of

Claims under . . . the Tucker Act.

45 U.S.C. § 1018(c).

The Seventh’s Circuit’s holding—that a finding of just

compensation is a prerequisite for a court-ordered sale of

the Milwaukee Road’s rail assets—reads the Staggers Act

amendment out of the MRRA. By definition, if a reorgan-

ization court has to find just compensation before order-

ing a rail transfer, there can never be a taking requiring

Tucker Act relief. Thus, this Court should grant certiorari

because the decision below squarely conflicts with the

Congressional directive contained in the very statute that

authorized this taking.

C. The Seventh Circuit Lacked Jurisdiction To Preempt

Claims Court Relief.

The Seventh Circuit lacked jurisdiction to usurp the sub-

ject matter jurisdiction of the Claims Court. The Claims

Court has exclusive jurisdiction over all claims against

the United States in excess of $10,000, and also has ex-

clusive jurisdiction to determine whether there has been

a taking without just compensation. 28 U.S.C. §§ 1491,

1346(aX2).6 The MRRA authorizes the reorganization court

6 The courts of appeals are in agreement on this issue. See, e.g.,

Chas T. Main Int'l, Inc. v. Khuzestan Water & Power Authority,

651 F.2d 800, 815 (1st Cir. 1981); Estate of Watson v. Blumen-

thal, 586 F.2d 925, 929 (2d Cir. 1978); Hahn v. United States, 757

F.2d 581, 585-86 (3d Cir. 1985); Portsmouth Redevelopment &

(Footnote continued on following page)

= =

to order a sale of rail assets in an expedited manner if

the public interest so requires, but does not authorize any

inquiry into the constitutional adequacy of the compen-

sation. 45 U.S.C. §§ 901; 904(b). The statute leaves the

issue of compensation to the Tucker Act and the Claims

Court. (App. 56.)

In In re Penn Central Transportation Co., 520 F.2d

1388 (3d Cir. 1975), also a rail reorganization case, the

Third Circuit held that the Penn Central reorganization

court lacked authority to enjoin the Penn Central Com-

pany from proceeding with a taking claim in the Claims

Court. In a ruling directly contrary to that of the Seventh

Circuit here, the Third Circuit held that the taking issue

was exclusively for the Claims Court:

There is . . . no jurisdiction in the reorganization

court to adjudicate the Tucker Act claim which Penn

Central Company asserts, since jurisdiction over that

claim rests exclusively in the Court of Claims.

In re Penn Central Transportation Co., 520 F.2d at 1392.

The government has contended that the reorganization

court’s finding will preclude the Debtor and CMC from

seeking a Tucker Act remedy in the Claims Court. (App.

8 continued

Housing Authority v. Pierce, 706 F.2d 471, 473 (4th Cir.), cert.

denied, 464 U.S. 960 (1983); Lomas & Nettleton Co. v. Pierce, 636

F.2d 971, 974 (5th Cir. 1981); Chelsea Community Hospital v.

Michigan Blue Cross Ass’n, 630 F.2d 1131, 1136 (6th Cir. 1980);

Clark v. United States, 596 F.2d 252, 253 (7th Cir. 1979); Polos

v. United States, 556 F.2d 908, 905 (8th Cir. 1977); McKeel v.

Islamic Republic of Iran, 722 F.2d 582, 590 (9th Cir. 1983), cert.

denied, 469 U.S. 880 (1984); Amalgamated Sugar Co. v. Bergland,

664 F.2d 818, 823 (10th Cir. 1981); Keller v. Merit Systems Pro-

tection Board, 679 F.2d 220, 222 (11th Cir. 1982); Doe v. United

States Dep’t of Justice, 753 F.2d 1092, 1101 (D.C. Cir. 1985). See

also Duke Power Co. v. Carolina Environmental Study Group,

Inc., 438 U.S. 59, 71 n.15 (1978).

ih.

8.) The Seventh Circuit agreed that its compensation rul-

ing ‘“will conclude the outcome of the Tucker Act litiga-

tion.” (App. 13.) This Court should grant certiorari to cor-

rect the unauthorized action of the Seventh Circuit and

to resolve the direct conflict with the Third Circuit’s deci-

sion in Penn Central.

CONCLUSION

The Seventh Circuit decision conflicts with the Constitu-

tion, this Court’s decision in the 3R Act Cases, the MRRA,

and the Third Circuit’s decision in Penn Central. Accord-

ingly, the petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted

and the case set down for plenary consideration. In the

alternative, because the decision below squarely conflicts

with this Court’s decision in the 3R Act Cases, the Court

may wish to consider summary reversal and remand with

instructions to vacate the finding on just compensation.

Respectfully submitted,

JEROLD S. SoLovy

DaniEL R. Murray*

Laura A. KASTER

BARBARA S. STEINER

CyntHia G. BowMAN

JENNER & BLOCK

One IBM Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60611

(812) 222-9350 .

Attorneys for Petitioners

Dated: January 20, 1987 * Counsel of Record

APPENDIX

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TO APPENDIX

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit, August 20, 1986 .. App. 1

Order Denying Petition for Rehearing, October

RG OOS a App. 39

Reorganization Court Order No. 809, February

RR Se na App. 41

Transcript of Proceedings before Judge Thomas

McMillen, February 8, 1985 ............ App. 52

App. 1

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 85-1554, 85-1683, 85-2121,

85-2122, and 85-2123

In the Matter of:

CHICAGO, MILWAUKEE, ST. PAUL AND

PAcIFIC RAILROAD COMPANY,

Debtor,

Appeals of:

RAILWAY LABOR EXECUTIVES’ ASSOCIATION

CMC REAL EsTATE CORPORATION

CHICAGO, MILWAUKEE, ST. PAUL AND

Paciric RAILROAD COMPANY

SEABOARD SYSTEM RAILROAD, INC.

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 77 B 8999--Thomas R. McMillen, Judge.

Nos. 85-1573 and 85-1953

SEABOARD SYSTEM RAILROAD, INC., and

RaAILwAy LABOR EXECUTIVES’ ASSOCIATION,

Petitioners,

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and

INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION,

Respondents.

Petitions for Review of Decisions of the

Interstate Commerce Commission

ARGUED FEBRUARY 28, 1986—DECIDED AUGUST 20, 1986

App. 2

Before Woop, JR., and EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judges,

and BARKER, District Judge.*

EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judge. The Soo Line R.R.

bought the railroad operations of the bankrupt Chicago,

Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific R.R. in February 1985 for

$150 million plus the assumption of liabilities estimated

at $420 million. The district court approved the Soo’s bid

even though the Chicago & North Western Transporta-

tion Co. (CNW) bid $360 million plus assumption of essen-

tially the same liabilities, and even though the Interstate

Commerce Commission had found both proposed acquisi-

tions to be consistent with the public interest. The district

court thought the Soo’s bid preferable because the Soo

planned to abandon less of the Milwaukee’s track—abandon-

ments that the district court thought might impair the

country’s military security.

The investors in the Milwaukee, not understanding why

they should be required to contribute $210 million to the

national defense, contend that the district court’s approval

of the sale “took” their property. They have asked the

Claims Court, which under 28 U.S.C. §1491 has exclusive

jurisdiction of money claims against the United States

arising out of takings, for relief. They ask us to set aside

a paragraph in the district court’s order that approved

a finding of the ICC that the Soo’s bid was constitutional-

ly adequate, a paragraph that will impair if not preclude

their suit in the Claims Court.

The Railway Labor Executives’ Association (RLEA)

challenges the sale, too, but on different grounds: it says

that the district court did not impose sufficient conditions

for the preservation of employment of the Milwaukee’s

employees. The RLEA also asks us to set aside an order

of the ICC declining to review the Milwaukee’s final plan

of reorganization. Finally, the Seaboard Line wants us to

* The Honorable Sarah Evans Barker, of the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Southern District of Indiana, is sitting by

designation.

cecil alliances ler eliatatin

App. 3

set aside the district court’s decision (and an order of the

ICC) to the extent they allow the Soo to operate trains

over the Seaboard’s line between Bedford and New Albany,

Indiana. These trackage rights enable the Soo to haul

traffic from Chicago to Louisville, traffic the Seaboard

otherwise might move.

Because the challenges to the sale are so disparate, we

treat the facts pertinent to each challenge separately. Part

I addresses the investors’ constitutional argument, Part

II the RLEA’s arguments about protective conditions, and

Part III the Seaboard’s request to reclaim control of its

track.

I

A

The Trustee of the Milwaukee managed its business for

several years, paring unprofitable operations and refurbish-

ing deteriorating track. The ICC and the reorganization

court decided that the Milwaukee would not be a suc-

cessful line if operated alone, so the Trustee put its

railroad lines and related rail assets up for bids. Three

bidders remained at the end: the Soo Line, the Grand

Trunk, and the CNW. The ICC, whose approval was re-

quired under §5(b) of the Milwaukee Railroad Restructur-

ing Act, 45 U.S.C. §904(b), and the Interstate Commerce

Act, 49 U.S.C. §11344, rejected the Grand Trunk’s pro-

posal. Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Puul & Pacific R.R.—

Reorganization, Fin. Dkt. No. 28640, __. I.C.C.2d __

(Sept. 26, 1984). In the same decision the ICC expressed

concern that the CNW’s proposal would eliminate some

competition (the Milwaukee competed\with the CNW in

many markets), while acquisition by the Soo would have

a smaller competitive effect. It therefore proposed condi-

tions that would have required the CNW to grant track-

age rights, allowing other railroads to operate over its

lines to furnish competing service. Chairman Taylor and

Vice Chairman Andre approved the Soo’s proposal but

did not state their reasons (except to the extent they may

App. 4

be inferred from the ICC’s exceedingly lengthy analysis

of all the proposals). Commissioner Gradison favored the

Soo’s proposal only because it required fewer conditions;

she thought the public benefits of the two proposals were

otherwise equal. Commissioner Sterrett favored the CNW’s

proposal. The ICC “approved” only the Soo’s proposal but

noted that its failure to disapprove the CNW’s left the

reorganization court with the discretion to choose either.

One of the issues before the ICC was the adequacy of

the consideration offered by the bidders. Both Soo and

CNW offered some $150 million in addition to the assump-

tion of debts. Chicago Milwaukee Corporation (since re-

named CMC Real Estate Corp.), the entity that was to

emerge with the Milwaukee’s non-rail assets and the net

payment from the winning bidder (and thus the represent-

ative of the Milwaukee’s equity investors), objected that

$150 million was too little. The net value of the railroad

assets was at least $360 million, according to CMC. The

ICC rejected the CMC’s position for two reasons: first,

the $360 million valuation was the result of discounting

to present value an assumed flow of future earnings, a

methodology the Commission thought unreliable; second,

the value did not represent any actual bid that CMC was

willing to accept. The ICC instead decided to value the

Milwaukee’s rail assets by looking for a multiple of cur-

rent earnings. A bid of $150 million represented a multi-

ple of 16.9 times the Milwaukee’s current earnings and

eight times its projected earnings for 1984. The multiple

of 16.9 was almost twice the average of five large car-

riers reflected in stock market valuations in 1983. CMC’s

asking price of $360 million, more than 40 times current

earnings, struck the ICC as unrealistic.

CNW then met CMC’s “unrealistic”? demand, offering

$360 million (in addition to the assumption of more than

$420 million in liabilities) for the Milwaukee’s rail opera-

tions. CMC and the Trustee declared they were satisfied.

The ICC considered this revised bid, reopened the former

decision (which had suspended judgment on the CNW’s

proposal) and formally approved CNW’s bid. _____ I.C..C..2d

App. 5

____ (Jan. 8, 1985). It concluded that CNW could realize

operational savings of $123 million without abandoning any

lines. But by a vote of 4-3 the ICC again favored the ac-

quisition by the Soo. The majority (Chairman Taylor and

Commissioners Simmons, Lamboley, and Strenio) con-

cluded that the Soo’s bid, though $210 million less than

the CNW’s, remained fair and constitutionally adequate

because it exceeded the net liquidation value of the Mil-

waukee’s rail properties and the average price-earnings

multiple of other railroads. The majority was divided, with

Chairman Taylor and Commissioner Simmons voting to

disapprove the CNW’s bid, largely on the ground that ac-

quisition by the Soo would create new competition while

acquisition by CNW would not and, without the use of

conditions and trackage rights, would reduce competition.

Commissioner Strenio, on the other hand, thought the

matter ‘‘extremely close” and explained that he favored

the acquisition by Soo because it “calls for more head-

to-head competition between rail carriers”. Commissioner

Gradison favored the CNW’s proposal because of its

higher price, raising doubts that the Soo’s could be called

“fair” to CMC. Vice Chairman Andre and Commissioner

Sterrett, although favoring CNW’s bid, did not explain

their positions.

The reorganization court spoke next, approving the

Soo’s bid despite the request by the Trustee and CMC

that it sell to the CNW. The judge did not write an opin-

ion explaining why. His oral remarks state that he was

concerned that CNW planned to file with the ICC an ap-

plication to abandon as much as 1,100 miles of track if

they should prove unprofitable. (CNW had not asked for

permission to abandon any particular track, and any con-

crete proposals would have triggered their own proceed-

ings.) The district court objected to the potential abandon-

ment on several grounds.

Now, what is the matter with abandonment? Well,

for one thing it costs jobs. People are going to be

out of work that were working on the abandoned

transportation system or routes. Another considera-

App. 6

tion that hasn’t been, really, considered very much

but was mentioned by one of the Commissioners. . .

is the matter of national security.

. .. | would say once a railroad is abandoned once

a piece of trackage is pulled up and the land sold it

isn’t going to be replaced. It is almost irresponsible

under the international situation that we are faced

with today to tear up pieces of a railroad system, which

is probably the best in the world, for no better rea-

son than a few million dollars in the bidding price.

I must say that I think that national security is

a very important consideration for keeping an exten-

sive and more viable system of transportation... .

A few hundred million here and a few hundred million

there, and we may be talking real money. (Apologies to

Everett Dirksen.) But the Department of Defense had not

expressed the view that abandonment of track is contrary

to interests of national security, and Congress recently

made it easier to abandon unprofitable track. See Hay-

field Northern R.R. v. Chicago & North Western Trans-

portation Co., 467 U.S. 622, 628-31 (1984) (describing the

evolution of statutes concerning abandonment); cf. Chicago

& North Western Transportation Co. v. Kalo Brick & Tile

Co., 450 U.S. 311, 319-23 (1981).

The court gave two other reasons for preferring Soo’s

bid. One is that the trackage rights that the ICC had

recommended to counteract competitive problems in ac-

quisition by the CNW would require administrative and

judicial supervision; the court thought that the less super-

vision the better. The other is that the Soo’s parent cor-

poration is the Canadian Pacific Railway. The court stated:

Let’s face it. The United States needs foreign trade

and needs friends. We are no longer an unsinkable

battleship, as they called the British Isles in World

War II. If there is going to be another World War,

the United States and our transportation system and

our cities are going to be targets for the enemy to

App. 7

hit. If we have friends in Canada, we have access

to Canada, we have one more way of defending our-

selves. But aside from that because I’m not an alarm-

ist about international affairs, it certainly does pro-

wy international trade and we certainly are in need

of that.

Having established its foreign policy, the court considered

whether the Soo’s bid was constitutionally adequate. The

court relied on what it characterized as the ICC’s finding

that each bid was ‘“‘well above the fair market value” of

the railroad properties of the Milwaukee. This created a

problem, because the CNW had made the higher bid, and

actual bids usually establish the “fair market value’’ of

the property; the ICC’s initial decision had relied on the

absence of a bid higher than the Soo’s to show that

CMC’s valuation was unrealistic. The district judge dis-

missed the extra $210 million as a “windfall” that was

“not the property of the CMC” and “not by any means

a controlling factor in which railroads should prevail in

this particular contest.” Although the ICC had held that

an acquisition by the CNW would not violate the antitrust

laws, a position that the Antitrust Division, representing

the United States in this litigation, does not contest, a

position the district court apparently accepted, the judge

also offered the view that the $210 million difference

reflected only the price at which the CNW could “buy

out some of its competition’.

The court then entered an order directing that the

Milwaukee’s rail assets be sold to the Soo. Paragraph 4

of this order states that the court has considered all of

the objections to the ICC’s findings and recommendations

and that:

the Commission’s findings and decisions should be

and are approved by this Court, since the findings

and decisions were in accordance with law and were

not arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion, con-

trary to constitutional right, power, privilege or im-

munity, in excess of statutory jurisdiction, authority

App. 8

or limitations, short of statutory right, or without ob-

servance of procedure required by law.

The court apparently meant this paragraph to adopt the

ICC’s conclusion that the Soo’s price was constitutional-

ly sufficient and thus dispose of CMC’s argument about

the inadequacy of the price, because no other part of the

order approving the sale deals with the subject of price.

B

After several parties asked for (and did not get) a stay

from this court, Milwaukee and the Soo closed the sale

on February 20, 1985. CNW has withdrawn its bid, and

CMC does not want to upset the sale to the Soo. The

United States and the ICC say that this makes the case

moot. Paragraph 4 of the court’s order does not affect

anything any more, and a court ought not to offer ad-

visory opinions on what would have been. Paragraph 4

is not without moment, however. CMC believes that this

paragraph, the equivalent of a declaratory judgment that

the Soo’s bid satisfied all constitutional requirements,

would block its effort to collect under the Tucker Act in

the Claims Court. See United States v. Munsingwear,

Inc., 340 U.S. 36, 37-38 (1950) (preclusion applies even if

review of the earlier judgment was prevented by moot-

ness). CMC wants an obstacle out of the way.

Because the government took the view that paragraph

4 is meaningless, we asked at oral argument whether it

would accept an order under Munsingwear, 340 U.S. at

39-41, vacating paragraph 4 as moot. See also Department

of the Treasury v. Galioto, 106 S. Ct. 2683 (1986). The

United States objected, for it apparently wants to use

paragraph 4 to obtain issue preclusion (collateral estop-

pel) in the Tucker Act litigation. The continuing dispute

means, however, that the case is not moot. The parties

are embroiled in controversy about whether the Soo’s

price was adequate. If they put the question before the

Claims Court, that court would not find the matter moot.

Because the underlying dispute, the ‘‘case or controver-

App. 9

sy,” determines whether a case is moot, this case is not.

Suppose Congress had authorized CMC to proceed in two

stages: first, to obtain a declaratory judgment in Illinois

that the price was inadequate; second, to ask the Claims

Court to order the payment of money if the inadequacy

is a “taking’’. No one would say that an appeal from the

judgment that the price is adequate is “moot” because

the court in Illinois could not order any additional relief.

We have that case. More than $210 million hangs in the

balance. The accident that divides the issues in the Tucker

Act litigation between the Northern District of Illinois and

the Claims Court does not make this issue moot. Para-

graph 4 resolved a point of contention in an ongoing

dispute. It is no different from a declaratory judgment

entered by the district court.

Nonetheless there is a substantial question whether we

should review paragraph 4. It is one of comity between

courts. The Claims Court has exclusive jurisdiction over

Tucker Act cases, as the Northern District of Illinois has

exclusive jurisdiction over this, the only case under the

Milwaukee Railroad Restructuring Act, 45 U.S.C. §§901-22.

One issue, whether the Soo’s price was adequate, is com-

mon to both cases. The district court had to address the

question to decide who got the Milwaukee’s rail proper-

ties and at what price; the Claims Court may need to

resolve it (if principles of preclusion do not bar the way)

to decide whether to order the United States to compen-

sate CMC for the difference between the Soo’s bid and

the CNW’s. Each court is authorized to decide. But the

reason the district court was authorized to do so has

disappeared. The sale to the Soo may not be undone. Its

price is fixed. The question of comity is whether, now that

the district court’s objective in answering the question

has been realized, further litigation that would affect the

takings claim should be in the Claims Court and the Fed-

eral Circuit.

It is not clear, however, how we might bring that about.

The statute authorizing transfers of appeals, 28 U.S.C.

§1631, is limited to appeals that do not invoke the jurisdic-

App. 10

tion of the court in which they were filed. An appeal from

paragraph 4 is within our jurisdiction and may not be

transferred to the Federal Circuit. We have explained

why it is inappropriate to vacate paragraph 4 as moot.

Still a third possibility is to dismiss CMC’s appeal because

paragraph 4 is no longer relevant to the disposition of

any issue concerning Soo’s right to own and operate the

rail properties. But under Munsingwear an order that left

paragraph 4 standing would preclude any collateral chal-

lenge in the Claims Court. See 340 U.S. at 37-38; see also

Becher v. Contoure Laboratories, Inc., 279 U.S. 388, 391

(1929) (a decision by a state court precludes relitigation

of issues that affect a federal case even though the federal

court has exclusive jurisdiction of patent issues); Murphy

v. Gallagher, 761 F.2d 878, 885-86 (2d Cir. 1985) (same

in securities law); Restatement (Second) of Judgments

§28(3), comment d at 279, and reporter’s note at 287-88

(when the first court has afforded a full litigation of an

issue, and the parties had the incentive to present their

claims fully, the decision binds in litigation before a

specialized court of exclusive jurisdiction). Cf. Marrese v.

American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, 726 F.2d

1150, 1152-54 (7th Cir. 1984) (en banc) (as a matter of

federal law of claim preclusion, a court of exclusive juris-

diction is bound by an earlier judgment of another court

on the same claim for relief), reversed, 105 S. Ct. 1327

(1985) (holding that state law of preclusion applies when

the first judgment is rendered by a state court). The

Federal Circuit, as successor to the Court of Claims, gen

this view of preclusion. E.g., General Dynamics Corp

United States, 558 F.2d 985, 993-94 (Ct. Cl. 1977); Gary

Aircraft Corp., 226 Ct. Cl. 568, 573 (1981) (dictum); ef.

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. United States, 754 F.2d 365,

368 (Fed. Cir. 1985).

Still another possibility is to vacate paragraph 4 as a

matter of comity between courts, leaving all issues to the

~ Claims Court. There. is some support for this approach

in cases involving state-federal relations. E.g., Colorado

River Water Conservation District v. United States, 424

App. 11

U.S. 800 (1976) (federal court should abstain when a state

court has broad jurisdiction over water rights issues and

should consider all claims to water in a single case);

Samuels v. Mackell, 401 U.S. 66 (1971) (federal court

should not issue a declaratory judgment that will conclude

central issues in ongoing state criminal prosecution). See

also David L. Shapiro, Jurisdiction and Discretion, 60

N.Y.U. L. Rev. 548 (1985) (discussing the extent to which

courts have discretion not to resolve cases within their

jurisdiction). But these abstention cases all involved

federal litigation that would interfere with ongoing state

litigation; the Supreme Court has never suggested that

a federal court ought to vacate an existing judgment in

order to permit relitigation of a settled claim elsewhere.

It has held, instead, that a federal court may issue a de-

claratory judgment whose principal if not sole purpose is

to preclude later state litigation. See Steffel v. Thomp-

son, 415 U.S. 452 (1974). (The case did not decide, how-

ever, whether state courts were bound to respect the fed-

eral judgment, and the Justices took divergent views in

separate opinions.) More recently the Court held it ap-

propriate to issue a declaratory judgment designed to

preempt issues of law that will come before what would

otherwise be a tribunal of exclusive jurisdiction. See

United Auto Workers v. Brock, 106 S. Ct. 2528, 2529-31

(1986). Unless the second tribunal has immunity from such

interference, as in Green v. Mansour, 106 S. Ct. 423

(1986), it is appropriate for the first court properly seized

of jurisdiction to decide the complete question.

Although Steffel and UAW v. Brock show that one court

may issue declaratory relief that binds a second tribunal

of exclusive jurisdiction, they do not hold that it must.

Each court must decide whether the potential interfer-

ence with the business of another is prudent. Kerotest

Manufacturing Co. v. C-O-Two Fire Equipment Co., 342

U.S. 180 (1952); Brillhart v. Excess Insurance Co., 316

U.S. 491 (1942). It is prudent here. The Claims Court does

not possess unique expertise in valuing property or resolv-

ing takings claims. The ICC also values railroads (as it

App. 12

did here), and district courts regularly value property for

takings purposes in condemnation suits by the government

under 28 U.S.C. §1358 and 40 U.S.C. §§257-258f. The ex-

clusivity of the Claims Court is designed to put in one

forum all suits seeking money when the United States

maintains that it owes nothing; the purposes of that ex-

clusivity would not be undercut by a decision that para-

graph 4 of the district court’s judgment prevents recovery

against the United States.

Several things counsel immediate resolution of the

dispute. One is that the valuation was fully litigated

before the ICC, which issued mountainous valuation

studies and two full opinions, and the district court. The

parties invested their all; with $210 million on the table,

no one held back. The parties are entitled to the benefit

of the judgment for which they fought, not least because

the transaction would not have occurred if the district

court had found the Soo’s bid insufficient. The disputed

finding was an essential ingredient of the transaction; had

the district court made a different finding, the CNW

would own the rail assets and there would be no claim

of taking. The reliance interests of the parties—including

the United States, which through the ICC could have

blocked this deal if it thought the decision exposed the

Treasury to a $210 million award—are substantial. Only

the gravest reasons would lead us to vacate the district

court’s judgment and send the parties onward to a fresh

litigation. There may be reasons on the merits why the

judgment must be vacated (though we hold otherwise

below), but it is on the merits that the judgment should

stand or fall.

The parties have briefed two issues: whether the district

judge was right in declaring the Soo’s bid sufficient, and

whether the accuracy of the decision matters. Either

ground supplies a sufficient reason to leave paragraph 4

undisturbed. It is tempting to address the merits and

leave the rest to the Claims Court. If the Soo’s bid is

adequate, the case is over; if not, the Claims Court may

decide whether compensation is due. Yet a resolution of

App. 13

this issue would prove to be advisory if the accuracy of

the district court’s decision does not matter. Courts should

address issues in a sequence that avoids the resolution

of surplus issues. Cf. Adams v. Indiana, No. 85-3212 (7th

Cir. July 3, 1986), slip op. 5. The first issue as a logical

matter is whether an error in paragraph 4 could be a tak-

ing. The parties have briefed this issue fully. We recognize

that consideration of this issue may seem to trench even

more directly on the Claims Court’s jurisdiction than

would consideration of the accuracy of the district court’s

decision. But the Claims Court has exclusive jurisdiction

of cases, not of issues (as the district court’s jurisdiction

of condemnation cases shows), and under the rationale of

Steffel and UAW v. Brock we are free to dispose of this

issue even though it will conclude the outcome of the

Tucker Act litigation. It is best to bring this controversy

to a conclusion, if that is within our power. It is.

C

We shall assume that the district judge erred in believ-

ing that $570 million would have been ‘just compensa-

tion”, had the United States condemned the Milwaukee’s

rail properties. See United States v. 50 Acres of Land,

105 S. Ct. 451 (1984) (the price that a willing buyer would

pay a willing seller is the constitutional measure of just

compensation); Chicago & North Western Transportation

Co. v. United States, 678 F.2d 665 (7th Cir. 1982) (the

fair market value of a line of railroad is the line’s scrap

value when there is no higher bid); In re Valuation Pro-

ceeding, 445 F. Supp. 994, 1008-29 (Spec. Rail Ct. 1977)

(Friendly, J.) (rejecting the argument that valuation should

be at scrap value when a saie at a higher price for a rail

use is possible); cf. In re Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific

R.R., No. 85-2505 (7th Cir. June 24, 1986), siip op. 5 (ac-

tual bids, not hypothetical calculations, are the best in-

dicia of value). CMC thinks that error is the same as a

taking.

There are two preliminary obstacles. The government

contends that judges do not “take” property; a “taking”’

App. 14

is a deliberate act by the political branches, and judges

have no authority to act for the political branches. The

government also insists that owners of railroads accept

the risk that the value of their property will be reduced

by regulation, which is all that happened here. Neither

of these arguments is complete.

It is a matter of indifference to CMC whether a judge

or the ICC determines that the Soo rather than the CNW

prevails. The Takings Clause of the fifth amendment,

which states “nor shall private property be taken for

public use, without just compensation”, addresses the

United States as an entity. If the United States adopts

a policy that takes property, it should not matter that

a judge is the instrument of the policy. The ICC in the

first instance found $570 million sufficient, and had the

ICC been authorized to sell the line this would have ex-

posed the United States to a claim; the court’s approval

of the ICC’s decision did not make the sale any the less

a transfer at the behest of the United States at a price

it found sufficient. The role of the agency is not indis-

pensable, either. Suppose the Milwaukee Railroad Restruc-

turing Act, 45 U.S.C. §§ 901-22, under which the court

acted, had authorized the judge to donate the property

of the Milwaukee to a charity of his choice. The United

States could not use the judge’s role to escape paying

compensation. Cf. Regional Rail Reorganization Act

Cases, 419 U.S. 102, 122-25, 137-39, 154-56 (1974) (diminu-

tion of value of a railroad while a court reorganizes and

values it could be a taking).

The Restructuring Act does not authorize a judge to

give the railroad away, but it does grant the judge con-

trol over sales of the Milwaukee’s lines, 45 U.S.C. §904;

instead of holding an auction, as in an ordinary bankruptcy

case, the judge may choose the buyer. See Jn re Chicago,

Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific R.R., 756 F.2d 508 (7th

Cir. 1985). There is no big difference between giving away

half of the Milwaukee’s property for nothing and selling

all of it for half of its value. More, former Bankruptcy

Rule 8-703(aX6), which applies to this reorganization, pro-

App. 15

vides that once a sale to a good faith purchaser has taken

place it may not be undone on appeai. See In re Chicago,

Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific R.R., 641 F.2d 482, 484-86

(7th Cir. 1981). See also 11 U.S.C. §363(m). This rule in-

creases the chance of error in the process as a whole by

making it harder for an appellate court to review the

district court’s decisions; sometimes the appellate court

will act quickly (without adequate information and contem-

plation), and sometimes, as here, it will not act at all. The

political branches therefore share with the judicial branch

responsibility for what may have been a mistake that dim-

inished the value of the Milwaukee’s estate. If an incor-

rect valuation and final approval by the ICC would be

a taking by the United States, the same mistake by a

court exercising administrative powers is no less a taking.

The argument that because railroads are heavily regu-

lated their owners must put up with diminutions in value

fares no better. Regulation may diminish the value of

property without “taking” it. Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto

Co., 467 U.S. 986 (1984); Penn Central Transportation Co.

v. New York City, 4388 U.S. 104 (1978); ef. McDonald,

Sommer & Frates v. Yolo County, 106 S. Ct. 2561, 2566-

67 (1986). Railroads have long been subject to regulation

that diminishes their profitability. But it does not follow

that diminution by all means is permitted. If Congress

condemned a railroad station to serve as a post office,

this would be a taking notwithstanding the web of regula-

tion surrounding the railroad, notwithstanding that Con-

gress could have diminished the value of the entire rail-

road in some other way by an amount equal to the value

of the station. Cf. Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan

CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419 (1982) (although rent control

may diminish the value of rental property, a rule requir-

ing lessors to dedicate part of their property to a par-

ticular use is still a taking).

Whether a diminution in value is a taking depends at

least in part on whether the government’s regulatory ob-

jectives entail that diminution. We assume that if the ICC

had found CNW’s bid unacceptable because CNW’s owner-

App. 16

ship of the lines would disrupt transportation or create

excessive market power, this decision, although very cost-

ly to CMC, would not have “taken” its property. But the

ICC did not disqualify CNW. The court’s decision there-

fore was not compelled by the regulatory system. Con-

sider the point from a different angle. The system of

regulation governing the railroads may explain why Soo

bid only $570 million (and CNW only $780 million) rather

than some higher figure such as $1 billion. The difference

between $780 million and $1 billion—the value the Milwau-

kee’s rail assets might have if free from regulation—is not

a taking. See In re Valuation Proceeding, 445 F. Supp.

at 1022 & n.35. The bids that were before the district

court already reflected the cost to CMC of federal and

state regulation. The diminution in the bids did not im-

munize a further reduction in the name of national

defense, trade with Canada, or other objectives of the

court’s choosing.

So when does error “take” property? Suppose agents

of the FBI, while chasing a kidnapper, demolish someone’s

car, Or suppose a postal van runs over a child’s tricycle.

Do these accidents ‘“‘take” the car and tricycle? Certain-

ly they are casualties of the operation of government. Yet

despite the contention that all torts by the government

are takings, see Richard A. Epstein, Takings: Private

Property and the Power of Eminent Domain 35-56 (1985),

the Supreme Court has distinguished the two. E.g.,

Keokuk & Hamilton Bridge Co. v. United States, 260 U.S.

125 (1922) (damage to a bridge caused by the govern-

ment’s blasting is not a taking); YMCA v. United States,

395 U.S. 85 (1969) (damage to a building caused by using

it as a military command post during an insurrection in

Panama is not a taking). Accidental, unintended injuries

inflicted by governmental actors are treated as torts, not

takings. And torts are compensable only to the extent the

Federal Tort Claims Act permits. The Court has never

treated limitations on liability in tort as mere pleading

obstacles, to be surmounted by shifting ground to the

Tucker Act. See United States v. James, 106 S. Ct. 3116

App. 17

(1986); Kosak v. United States, 465 U.S. 848 (1984); Laird

v. Nelms, 406 U.S. 797 (1972).

The question is whether the program, properly carried

out, would be permissible. For example, if planes owned

by the government regularly overfly a farm, causing the

chickens to kill themselves in fright, this planned opera-

tion may “take” an easement across the farm. United

States v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256 (1946). But if a stray

military plane crashes into a chicken coop, killing an equal

number of fowl, this is a tort rather than a taking, and

compensation depends on the extent to which the Tort

Claims Act provides relief. Similarly, if in order to go into

the dairy business the government condemns a herd of

cattle, that is a compensable taking; if the government

condemns the herd to stamp out an infectious disease, that

is not a taking (both because the disease is the principal

cause of the loss and because there are reciprocal benefits

in the program of disease control), see Miller v. Schoene,

276 U.S. 272 (1928); and if the government kills a given

animal mistakenly thinking it diseased, that is a tort

rather than a taking. Had the government carried out the

program accurately and distinguished the healthy from the

diseased, there would have been no taking; a foul-up in

the implementation of the program does not require com-

pensation outside the scope of the Federal Tort Claims

Act. See Langford v. United States,-101 U.S. 341, 344-45

(1879), holding thet when agents of the United States

wrongly believe tha. the government owns some land, and

occupy it under a claim of right, the occupation is a non-

compensable tort rather than a taking. Authorized acts

of the government may be takings, the Court concluded,

but unauthorized or mistaken ones are torts for which the

officer alone is answerable (unless immune). Compare

United States v. Great Falls Manufacturing Co., 112 U.S.

645, 656-58 (1884).

So too with unnecessary searches and seizures (those

supported by probable cause but that turn up no evi-

dence), YMCA, 395 U.S. at 92 (dictum), cf. Baker v.

McCollan, 443 U.S. 187 (1979) (arresting the wrong per-

a

me ye

App. 18

son, though with probable cause, does not violate the Con-

stitution), with unfortunate criminal prosecutions (those

in which the charge was warranted but the jury acquits

or a conviction-is-reyersed), and with the long list of other

governmental acts that can cause deep injury if committed

in error: None of-these costly errors is a taking, and by

parallel reasoning a judicial error in the implementation

of a program is not-a taking, if a correct implementation

of the program nee not be a taking.

A parallel line of cases dealing with the Due Process

Clause comes to the same conclusion. The Takings Clause

does not apply directly to the states, see Barron v.

Baltimore, 32 U.S. (7 Pet.) 243 (1833), but the Supreme

Court has used the Due Process Clause of the fourteenth

amendment to supply a similar set of rules, see Chicago,

Burlington & Quincy R.R. v. Chicago, 166 U.S. 226,

233-41 (1897); Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S.

393 (1922). The Due Process Clause forbids the state to

“deprive” a person of “property” save with certain process.

Process sometimes misfires. The state may err in the ad-

ministration of its programs, misunderstand the facts or

misconstrue the law. Do these errors violate principles

of due process? ‘{AJn erroneous decision of a state court

does not deprive the unsuccessful party of his property

without due process of law”. Central Land Co. v. Laidley,

159 U.S. 103, 112 (1895) (collecting cases). See also, e.g.,

Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S. 341, 349-50 (1976); Davidson v.

New Orleans, 96 U.S. 97, 104-05 (1877); Lynk v. LaPorte

Superior Court No. 2, 789 F.2d 554, 563-64 (7th Cir. 1986);

Toney-El v. Franzen, 777 F.2d 1224, 1227-28 (7th Cir.

1985), cert. denied, 106 S. Ct. 2909 (1986). Mistaken appli-

cations of the law are inevitable, but no principle of con-

stitutional law requires compensation for every mistake.

Daniels v. Williams, 106 S. Ct. 662, 665 (1986); see also

Carson v. Block, 790 F.2d 562, 565 (7th Cir. 1986) (collect-

ing cases holding that the Constitution does not require

states to follow their own laws).

There are other illustrations, but the point has been

made. The government is not absolutely liable for mis-

taken implementation of a law that does not otherwise

App. 19

take property. Were it otherwise, the Treasury would

guarantee the accuracy of all administrative and judicial

decisions. That was certainly not the understanding in

1791, when the Takings Clause was added to the Consti-

tution; to the contrary, there was consensus that the

sovereign could not be sued for errors save with its

consent. We do not think that the Takings Clause, un-

beknownst to all, established a principle of governmental

liability for mistakes in the implementation of federal pro-

grams. The principle would have substantial effects, too

large to escape notice in 1791 (and since). Many decisions

are effectively unreviewable or cause damage before they

may be reviewed. When the FTC announces its opposi-

tion to a merger, this may lead the merging parties to

abandon their plans; they may not turn around and col-

lect damages on the ground that the FTC holds mistaken

views about the antitrust laws. If the Antitrust Division

should get a preliminary injunction that blocks the

merger, the interim order may doom the plans even if

the court of appeals later reverses; here the judge’s error

is established, but the error does not expose the United

States to a suit under the Tucker Act, because the anti-

trust laws, when properly carried out, do not take prop-

erty. (No one has a legitimate claim of entitlement to mo-

nopoly profits.) Pretrial detention, the grant of a motion

to compel extensive discovery in a securities case, these

and many more may inflict great injury, and erroneous

decisions by district judges may escape effective review.

A rule requiring the Nation to bear the costs would not

reduce the number of errors or the incidence of their

costs. It would, however, produce much litigation as peo-

ple tried to tap the Treasury by showing judicial error.

A rule of cost shifting via the Takings Clause might even

increase the number of judicial errors. People would fear

judicial error less and so would do less to prevent it.

Knowing that they could turn to the Treasury for relief,

people would be tempted to skimp on developing the rec-

ord and briefing the case to get it right the first time.

One reason for res judicata and other rules of preclusion

App. 20

is to induce parties to concentrate their energies on a

single full and fair contest in which error will be held to

a minimum. So, too, a rule foreclosing resort to takings

litigation may improve the quality of the initial litigation.

A principle that the adequacy of the rule of decision, and

not its implementation in a given case, controls the consti-

tutional question, will do the trick.

The Milwaukee Railroad Restructuring Act neither re-

quires nor authorizes a judge to transfer property for com-

pensation that is less than the constitutional minimum.

The Restructuring Act is thus unlike the statute at issue

in the Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases, which not

only required a transfer without a prior finding of ade-

quate value, see 419 U.S. at 155, but also could have

caused a taking by the erosion of value during the judicial

proceedings, id. at 122-25. The Restructuring Act makes

adequate compensation a condition of any sale. The ICC

believed that it should not approve any bid less than the

fair market value of the Milwaukee’s rail assets. It found

that a bid of $570 million was fair market value. The dis-

trict court, too, proceeded as if the rule of decision were:

“Choose from among the bidders that have offered at

least the fair market value of the Milwaukee’s rail assets.”

The court determined that the Soo’s bid matched the fair

market value. If the court was right, then the sale to the

Soo did not take CMC’s property. For the reasons we

have given, a judicial error in answering a constitutionally

appropriate question does not subject the United States

to a claim of taking. We therefore have no reason to

vacate paragraph 4 of the district court’s order.

It is unsettling to contemplate the prospect of $210

million gone without redress—without even full appellate

review of the decision to sell to the Soo. But we cannot

undo the sale now, and to treat judicial error as a “‘tak-

ing” has no support in the history of the Constitution or

the first 200 years of its interpretation. The size of an

error (if there was one) does not justify constitutional in-

novation; modern exigency does not authorize courts to

change the rules established at the beginning. The $210

App. 21

million in one case is not different in principle from 210

cases, each of which entails $1 million worth of useless

discovery under a court’s directive, or a million bicycles

crushed by postal trucks.

We can imagine cases that test the limits of our ap-

proach. Suppose the disparity between market value and

the price approved by a judge were so great that the pur-

chaser would not even count as a “good faith purchaser

for value” under the Uniform Commercial Code (for ex-

ample, the person who buys a gold watch for $20 from

a seller displaying an ample supply on the inside of a

trench coat). Then a court might say that the sale could

be undone under §363(m), or that the disparity of value

is so great that the court must have been dissembling

in saying that it was trying to apply the constitutional

standard. None of these hard cases is before us. The ICC

found the value sufficient, and $570 million—a price earn-

ings multiple exceeding that of other operating railroads—

is not so shockingly deficient to call a limiting rule into

play. This was a real sale, not a purchase from a fence

or disguised judicial charity.

II

A

The purchaser of a line of railroad usually finds it en-

cumbered with conditions designed to protect the jobs (or

at least the income) of the line’s employees. The ICC

recommended that the sale of the Milwaukee’s rail prop-

erties be accompanied by rules referred to as the New

York Dock conditions, after New York Dock Ry.—Control,

360 1.C.C. 60 (1979), aff'd under the name New York Dock

Ry. v. United States, 609 F.2d 83 (2d Cir. 1979). It is not

important to recount just what these are. See Simmons

v. ICC, 760 F.2d 126, 128-29 (7th Cir. 1985), cert. denied,

106 S. Ct. 791 (1986), for a compact description. The Soo,

which projected eliminating 670 jobs entirely by attrition

and early retirement, agreed to be bound by them, and

the ICC said that they were enough, rejecting the argu-

App. 22

ment of the Railway Labor Executives’ Association (RLEA).

The RLEA maintained that not only the Soo’s new em-

ployees but also employees of other railroads affected by

new competition from the Soo should be protected; the

ICC disagreed. The RLEA also wanted protection for em-

ployees on furlough at the time of the transfer; the ICC

decided that only employees active at the time of the sale

or recalled to work thereafter should be protected.

The district court was authorized by the Restructuring

Act, 45 U.S.C. §904(bX1), to decide for itself what labor

protective conditions should be imposed. The statute pro-

vides: “In authorizing any sale or transfer, the court shall

provide a fair arrangement at least as protective of the

interests of employees as that required under section

11347 of title 49 of the United States Code.” The CNW

proposed that the district court use its authority to im-

plement a different set of conditions, called the ‘“Appen-

dix B” conditions. The Trustee supported these conditions

for CNW’s bid. Although the district court did not ap-

prove CNW’s bid, it chose the “Appendix B”’ conditions,

while lawyers for the Soo looked on in silence. The prin-

cipal difference between the “Appendix B” conditions and

the New York Dock conditions is that although New York

Dock requires the railroad to notify employees of impend-

ing changes 90 days in advance, and to negotiate with

the unions concerning their consequences until agreement

is reached, “Appendix B” shortens the time to ten days

and allows the railroad to make the changes whether or

not the unions consent. “Appendix B” also requires that

any employee injured by this accelerated schedule be

made whole. See Jn re Chicago, Milwaukee, Si. Paul &

Pacific R.R., 658 F.2d 1149, 1151-52 (7th Cir. 1981) (Pro-

tective Conditions), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1000 (1982), for

a description of the difference. (The Soo represents that

this is the only difference between “Appendix B’”’ and

New York Dock conditions, a position to which we expect

the Soo to adhere.) The order of February 1985 trans-

ferring the rail operations to the Soo contained a freeze

of at least 90 days on all operational changes, so the full

App. 23

set of protective conditions is ‘Appendix B” plus the in-

itial freeze.

The RLEA protests that the district court moved in the

wrong direction; it should have made the conditions more

rather than less favorable to labor. The “Appendix B”

conditions, the RLEA insists, are illegal because less “pro-

tective of the interests of employees” than the minimum

under 49 U.S.C. §11347. The RLEA also challenges two

related decisions. After the Soo bought the line, the

RLEA asked the ICC to disapprove the Milwaukee’s final

plan of reorganization, on the ground that the Milwaukee

had not adequately provided for workers who agreed to

defer increased wages during the reorganization. The

RLEA wants the Milwaukee to renay the workers 130%

of these deferrals. The ICC dismissed the petition, con-

cluding that once the Milwaukee had transferred its rail

operations to the Soo, the Milwaukee was no longer a rail-

road subject to the ICC’s jurisdiction. The RLEA also

asked the district court to disapprove the plan of reorgan-

ization, but the court confirmed the plan. The “Appen-

dix B’’ conditions and the ICC’s dismissai of the petition

are before us for decision; the objections to the confir-

mation of the plan are not.

B

The RLEA’s request that we order the Soo to assume

the New York Dock conditions is moot. Former Bank-

ruptcy Rule 8-703(aX6), which applies to the last stages

of this reorganization under §77 of the Bankruptcy Act

of 1898, 11 U.S.C. §205 (1976), provided:

Unless an order approving a sale of property. . .

is stayed pending appeal, the sale to a good faith pur-

chaser . . . shall not be affected by the reversal or

modification of such order on appeal, whether or not

the purchaser . . .. knows of the pendency of the ap-

peal.

The Bankruptcy Code of 1978 codifies this rule in 11

U.S.C. §363(m), which uses similar language. Several par-

App. 24

ties, including the RLEA, asked us to stay the sale to

the Soo; the request was refused, and the sale was closed

on February 20, 1985. The imposition of the New York

Dock conditions would “‘affect’’ the sale just as surely as

a sudden increase in the price would affect it, and former

Rule 8-703(aX6) therefore forbids us to grant the relief

the RLEA proposes. See also In re Chicago, Milwaukee,

St. Paul & Pacific R.R., 641 F.2d 482, 484-86 (7th Cir.

1981) (rejecting on the basis of Rule 8-703(aX6) a challenge

to the sale of some of the Milwaukee’s property).

RLEA tries to escape the operation of the Rule by con-

tending that the Soo is not a “‘good faith purchaser”, but

this will not wash. Only fraud, collusion, or knowledge of

the illegality of the sale defeat “good faith’. In re

Magwood, 785 F.2d 1077, 1081 n.6 (D.C. Cir. 1986); In

re Rock Indus. Machinery Corp., 572 F.2d 1195, 1198 (7th

Cir. 1978). See also In re Sax, No. 85-2925 (7th Cir. July

22, 1986), slip op. 6-7 (sale need not be “‘proper” to be

Sheltered; it need only be ‘‘authorized”’). The Rule and

§363(m) enable the bankruptcy court to promise the pur-

chaser that it will get a good title and thus reduce the

risk the purchaser must assume. Once the bidders know

what they will get, they can bid its full market value;

if the sale were subject to subsequent amendments, the

bidders would reduce their valuations by the anticipated

cost of accommodating these changes. Saz, slip op. 6. A

reduction in the risk leads to higher bids, to the benefit

of the bankrupt estate.

That there may be a fair debate about the order of sale

does not undercut good faith. The statute and the rule

are concerned only with incorrect orders, those reversed

in fact. (Correct orders will be affirmed, so there will be

no change in the conditions of the sale with or without

the Rule and §363(m).) Orders that are reversed surely

were subject to fair debate. Yet both Rule and statute

specify that knowledge of the pending appeal does not

prevent the sale from being final. This means that the

buyer’s knowledge that the court has resolved a debatable

issue—even resolved it incorrectly—does not prevent the

App. 25

buyer from taking the property in good faith. Our deci-

sion in In re EDC Holding Co., 676 F.2d 945 (7th Cir.

1982), one of the few cases ever to find “bad faith” under

a statute similar to Rule 8-703(aX6), relied not only on the

party’s knowledge of illegality but also on an appearance

that the party seeking shelter from the rule had used it

to improve its position compared with other creditors.

Nothing of the sort took place here. A party does not

“know” to be illegal whatever turns out to be so. The

knowledge component of this test is more like the sort

of knowledge that leads to criminal liability (people

“know” that wages are taxable even if they have deceived

themselves into thinking they are not) or the sort of

specious position that leads to the imposition of sanctions

in litigation.

The Soo is a third party that made a bona fide bid, and

the Soo did not know that the “Appendix B” conditions

were illegal. To the contrary, Protective Conditions held

that the district court possessed the discretion to use the

‘“‘Appendix B” conditions in connection with the sale of

one line of the Milwaukee’s track, and In re Chicago,

Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific R.R., 756 F.2d 508, 515-16

(7th Cir. 1985) (Soo Intervention), held that the portions

of the Restructuring Act allowing the sale of any line of

track also allow the sale of the whole rail system of the

Milwaukee. Protective Conditions and Soo Intervention

together give the Soo a strong argument that the “Ap-

pendix B” conditions may be applied to the sale of the

whole railroad. Whether this argument is strong enough

we need not say; ail we decide is that it precludes a con-

clusion that the Soo is not a “good faith purchaser’”’ under

the Rule.

Although it might be said that the Soo and the Trustee

closed the sale in great haste, just hours after this court

denied the RLEA’s application for a stay, that does not

subtract from the Soo’s good faith. That term of art has

nothing to do with the speed at which a transaction pro-

ceeds—at least not if the parties wait long enough to allow

the court of appeals to act on the application for a stay.

App. 26

Once this court had refused to stay the sale, it made no

difference whether the deal closed the next hour or the

next month. And although RLEA also argues that the

district court’s order was so erroneous that the court lost

its “jurisdiction,” Sax disposes of this position. The dis-

trict court had jurisdiction to determine its authority to

do what it did, which shelters the purchaser at the sale.

There has been some debate among the parties about

whether labor conditions imposed on the Milwaukee in

1936 survived the sale to the Soo. This question was not

decided by the district court and is not properly before

us. The motion to supplement the record is denied.

C

In March 1985 the Trustee petitioned the ICC under

§77(d) of the old Bankruptcy Act to clarify its role in

reviewing the Milwaukee’s final plan of reorganization into

a real estate corporation (CMC). The Trustee argued that

approval was unnecessary because the Commission’s earlier

decisions had approved every significant feature of the

plan of reorganization. The RLEA opposed the petition.

In April 1985 the ICC dismissed the Trustee’s petition

on the ground that because the Milwaukee had sold its

rail operations to the Soo, it was no longer a railroad and

was not within the Commission’s jurisdiction. Fin. Dkt.

No. 28640 (Sub-No. 9), __._ I.C.C.2d ______ (1985).

The RLEA does not maintain that by April 1985 the

Milwaukee was still a railroad, and §77, with its approval

provision, is limited to railroads. RLEA insists, however,

that the Milwaukee had to be treated as if it were a

railroad because the sale of the rail assets in February

was illegal. This is so, RLEA says, because rail assets

of a bankrupt railroad may be sold only as part of the

plan of reorganization under §77 of the 1898 Bankruptcy

Act. The Soo took under the Milwaukee Restructuring

Act, not the Bankruptcy Act, so according to the RLEA

the ICC still needed to approve a reorganization under

the 1898 Act. This requirement of approval becomes the

App. 27

hook that the RLEA proposes to use to require CMC to

pay additional sums to its former workers to make up

for what they deferred or lost during the reorganization

and sale of the railroad, perhaps even to get the New

York Dock conditions.

To the extent the RLEA wants to use the process of

approving and confirming the plan to change the condi-

tions under which the Soo took the rail assets, the claim

is moot for reasons we discussed above. To the extent

the RLEA wants the ICC to impose conditions on CMC

as a condition of approval of the plan, it loses because

we held in Soo Intervention, 756 F.2d at 515-16, that the

provisions of the Restructuring Act could be used to sell

the whole railroad. We are not disposed to reexamine Soo

Intervention. See also In re Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul

& Pacific R.R., 701 F.2d 604, 607 (7th Cir.) (emphasizing

that a purpose of the Restructuring Act was to allow the

court to sell the Milwaukee’s rail assets quickly), cert.

dismissed, 463 U.S. 1233 (1983). The Restructuring Act

required the district court to get the ICC’s views, just

as §77(d) the Bankruptcy Act called for the ICC’s views

on a plan of reorganization. The Restructuring Act changed

the rules, however, by allowing the district court to make

its own decision in the end. Here the district court took

the ICC’s advice and sold the lines to the Soo. The dis-

trict court had the authority to turn the Milwaukee into

a real estate company on its own. The RLEA treats the

Restructuring Act as a second hoop through which every-

one had to jump, but Congress meant it to streamline the

§77 procedures. Compliance with the Restructuring Act

is sufficient to transfer the rail properties; the parties

need not obtain a redundant clearance under §77.

There is no doubt that by April 1985 the Milwaukee

was not operating a railroad. Section 77(d) refers to “the

debtor’, and this might be the basis of a contention that

the Milwaukee remained subject to §77(d) even though it

was no longer a railroad, needing the ICC’s permission

to get out of bankruptcy. The ICC reads the statute

otherwise, however, and its interpretation is entitled to

App. 28

respect. Chemical Manufacturers Ass’n v. Natural Re-

sources Defense Council, Inc., 105 S. Ct. 1102, 1108 (1985);

Watkins v. Blinzinger, 789 F.2d 474, 478 (7th Cir. 1986).

The ICC has said its piece on this reorganization. Sec-

tion 77(d) of the Bankruptcy Act was designed to ensure

that the ICC could control railroad reorganizations. The

ICC dominated this one, prevailing on every issue except

the New York Dock conditions. It had nothing more to

say, and an interpretation that would apply §77(d) to firms

that are not railroads any longer, despite the ICC’s pro-

testation that it does not want to review anything, would

not have any plausible function.

D

The district court confirmed the Milwaukee’s plan of

reorganization on July 12, 1985. The RLEA and several

other parties have filed appeals from the order confirm-

ing the plan. Although many of the RLEA’s arguments

about the order of sale and the ICC’s refusal to review

the plan go to the merits of that plan, the RLEA’s ap-

peal from the confirmation is not before us. It and all

other appeals have been consolidated for separate disposi-

tion. We have disposed of RLEA’s arguments on jurisdic-

tional grounds. Nothing we say here bears on the merits

of any appeal from the order confirming the plan, and we

mean to leave no clues about what our views might be.

II]

A

The rail assets of the Milwaukee included rights to run

trains between Bedford and New Albany, Indiana, over

the track of the Seaboard System. These trackage rights

enabled the Milwaukee to serve Louisville, Kentucky, and

in the hands of the Soo (and the Canadian Pacific) ap-

parently will offer formidable competition to the Seaboard,

which otherwise might pick up the traffic in Chicago. The

district court transferred these trackage rights to the Soo

over the Seaboard’s opposition, and the Seaboard asks us

App. 29

to annul the transfer on the ground that the trackage

rights agreement contains a clause allowing assignment

only if the Seaboard concurs—which it certainly does not.

The trackage rights arose out of the acquisition of the

Monon R.R. by the Louisville & Nashville R.R., one of

the Seaboard’s predecessors. The acquisition would have

given the L&N, which operated a single-line route be-

tween Chicago and Louisville, another. The ICC feared

that this would reduce competition, and it ordered a pro-

testing L&N to grant the Milwaukee trackage rights from

Bedford to New Albany (which is across the Ohio River

from Louisville). Louisville & Nashville R.R.—Merger—

Monon R.R., 338 1.C.C. 134, 145-56, 168-69, 185 (1970).

The Milwaukee had a line from Chicago to Bedford; with

the trackage rights, it could offer single-line service from

Chicago to Louisville in competition with the L&N. The

ICC stated that it would not approve the acquisition

unless the L&N granted trackage rights; the L&N con-

sented aid completed the acquisition.

The L&N and the Milwaukee had trouble agreeing on

the terms of the trackage rights, so in 1973 the ICC dic-

tated them. Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific

R.R.—Trackage Rights, 342 1.C.C. 578, aff'd under the

name Louisville & Nashville R.R. v. United States, 369

F. Supp. 621 (W.D. Ky.) (three-judge court), aff'd mem.,

414 U.S. 1105 (1973). The L&N wanted a time limit on

the trackage rights, a prohibition against their sale or

assignment by the Milwaukee, and automatic termination

in the event of the Milwaukee’s merger, consolidation, or

bankruptcy. The ICC declined to accept these proposals.

It explained in part, 342 I.C.C. at 595, 600-01:

[I]t is difficult to perceive how any change may come

about in Milwaukee’s status which would have such

adverse effect on L&N and its interest to require

summary termination of trackage rights operations.

. . . [T]he Commission’s authorization must first be

obtained before Milwaukee may merge or consolidate,

or fall under common control, with any other carrier,

App. 30

and L&N would have ample opportunity in appropri-

ate proceedings before the Commission to oppose ac-

quisition of control by competing railroads over the

Milwaukee trackage rights.

Milwaukee is here the instrument of the Commis-

sion’s policy, in the public interest, to foster competi-

tion among railroads in a particular situation, and the

trackage rights operations authorized should be per-

mitted, and indeed required, to continue just so long

as that policy is valid and serves the public interest.

On petition of the parties, or either party to the

agreement, . . . the public interest may be recon-

sidered or reexamined at any time, and the appropri-

ate action taken to modify the terms of the agree-

ment or to require termination thereof.

L&N and the Milwaukee then signed a trackage rights

agreement. Paragraph 14 reserves the ICC’s jurisdiction

to alter or terminate the agreement. Paragraph 15, which

was added to the agreement after the ICC’s opinion, pro-

vides:

This agreement and all rights granted hereunder

to Milwaukee Company may not be transferred or

assigned, in whole or in part, unless Louisville Com-

pany, its successors or assigns, shall consent in

writing thereto. Any such attempted transfer or

assignment, in whole or in part, shall be void and

of no effect.

Paragraph 13 contains a clause providing for arbitration

of “any difference or dispute” concerning the terms of

the agreement or operations using the trackage rights.

Before the ICC considered the three proposals to ac-

quire all of the Milwaukee’s rail operations, it published

a notice in the Federal Register, 49 Fed. Reg. 12333 (Mar.

29, 1984), that invited interested persons to comment. The

Seaboard did not, although it does not deny that it had

actual notice of the proceedings before the ICC. The

ICC’s orders of September 1984 (approving a sale to the

App. 31

Soo) and January 1985 (approving both the Soo and the

CNW) are crammed with descriptions of trackage rights

and conditions on transfers. Although they mention the

Milwaukee’s trackage rights to New Albany, the orders

do not discuss their transfer to the Soo or the CNW. This

is no surprise, because no one asked the ICC to consider

the propriety of the transfer.

The Seaboard, which was not a party to the reorganiza-

tion, then asked the court to forbid a transfer of the track-

age rights to the Soo or the CNW. There followed some

confusing exchanges. At the oral argument held on Feb-

ruary 7 to discuss the terms of the transfer, the court

recognized that the ICC had not addressed the Bedford-

New Albany trackage rights and asked the Trustee whether

the Asset Purchase Agreement (the complex document es-

tablishing the terms of the sale) would extinguish the

Seaboard’s claims. The judge asked: “‘Wouldn’t the Trustee

makes [sic] his conveyance without warranties, simply

convey whatever rights he has and let the purchaser

worry about that?” Counsel for the Trustee answered:

‘{T]hat is exactly the type of conveyance that is being

considered. But the Seaboard is asking this Court to

decide the issue.”

The matter was dropped until the next day, when the

court read findings and conclusions from the bench. The

court stated that the ‘Trustee is, of course, only going

to convey what rights in interest he has’, that the dispute

vith the Seaboard “will have to be resolved by the ac-

quiring carrier’’, and that “‘ilf the Seaboard believes they

are not transferable, they will have to litigate that or

make some kind of arrangement with the Soo.” The full

statement, including some exchanges with counsel, appears

in Seaboard System R.R. v. Soo Line R.R., No.

C-85-1569-A (N.D. Ga. May 28, 1986), slip op. 20-24 n.8.

After hearing this, Seaboard doubtless thought it had won,

and on February 14 it intervened to secure the spoils.

It was sadly disappointed, because paragraph 9 of the

court’s formal order approving the sale (Order No. 809),

App. 32

entered on February 19, stated that “(t]he assignment and

assumption of the trackage agreements . . . pursuant to

the [Asset Purchase Agreement] will not effect a termina-

tion of the Trustee’s rights and interests . . . , and those

rights and interests are assignable to Soo and [its sub-

sidiary] in accordance with the terms of the [Asset Pur-

chase Agreement], and notwithstanding any provisions in

any such contracts, leases or agreements to the contrary.”

On-seeing this clause counsel for the Seaboard protested

that the court..was snatching back the permission it had

granted the Seaboard on February 8 to continue in

another forum its dispute with the Soo about the effect

of the transfer. The court eliminated from the draft of

paragraph 9 the word “fully” before ‘assignable’ but

otherwise rebuffed the Seaboard’s arguments. On the one

hand the judge said that Order No. 809 “‘leave[s] the mat-

ter open to subsequent litigation” and on the other re-

marked that the Order “means they are assignable. I

don’t see what prejudice the Seaboard sustains, particular-

ly having been silent when they had an opportunity to

raise the question before the ICC.” Then the judge sug-

gested a middle ground, that the Order tells the Seaboard

“{t]hey can go to the Commission or they can go to the

Soo”’ to seek relief. Understandably frustrated by all this

back-and-forth, the Seaboard requested relief from Order

No. 809. On March 25, without explanation, the court

entered a minute order denying the Seaboard’s request.

The Seaboard meanwhile filed suit in the Northern Dis-

trict of Georgia, asking for an order compelling the Soo

to arbitrate the transfer and for a declaratory judgment

that the transfer violates the clause requiring the Sea-

board’s consent. The court held, Seaboard v. Soo, supra,

that both requests are barred by claim preclusion. Either

the reorganization court resolved them adversely to the

Seaboard in Order No. 809 or the Seaboard, having inter-

vened, should have sought from the reorganization court

its declaratory judgment and order to compel arbitration.

Either way, the Georgia court concluded, the Seaboard

was not entitled to move its dispute to a new forum and

try again.

App. 33

B

What is before us for review? No. 85-1573 is Seaboard’s

petition to review the January 1985 decision of the ICC

to the extent it approved the transfer of the trackage

rights. The Commission, which did not mention the trans-

fer, contends that the Seaboard has not preserved a chal-

lenge yet insists that it indeed approved the transfer. The

ICC approved the transfer in the sense that it approved

the Soo’s proposal. But whether the Milwaukee had a

right to transfer the Bedford-New Albany rights without

the Seaboard’s approval was not raised, litigated, or de-

cided. The Commission’s silence does not construe or

modify its orders of 1970 or 1978, or the terms of the

contract between Milwaukee and the L&N. Yet the Sea-

board is not entitled to contest this non-decision. If it had

been a party, its challenge to the ICC’s order would be

precluded by the rule that a party seeking to raise an

issue in court must first raise it before the agency. E.g.,

United States v. L.A. Tucker Truck Lines, Inc., 344 U.S.

33, 37 (1952); Illinois Commerce Commission v. ICC, 776

F.2d 355, 362-63 (D.C. Cir. 1985) (Scalia, J.). The Seaboard

was not a party, however, and its challenge is barred by

the even more fundamental principle that only a party

before the Commission may seek judicial review of its

orders. See 28 U.S.C. §§ 2342(5) and 2344 (limiting review

to a “party aggrieved”’ by the order); see also Radiofone,

Inc. v. FCC, 759 F.2d 936 (D.C. Cir. 1985) (Scalia, J.);

Simmons v. ICC, 716 F.2d 40, 42-48 (D.C. Cir. 1983). No.

85-1573 must be dismissed for want of jurisdiction.

One court has suggested that despite §2344 a non-party

may obtain judicial review of “agency action [that] is ‘at-

tacked as exceeding the power of the [ICC].’ ” American

Trucking Associations, Inc. v. ICC, 673 F.2d 82, 85 n.4

(5th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 460 U.S. 1022 (1983). This

decision cited only two cases before the Administrative

Procedure Act that had allowed a non-party to bring an

independent suit in district court seeking an injunction.

Edward Hines Yellow Pipe Trustees v. United States, 263

U.S. 148, 147-48 (1923); Skinner & Eddy Corp. v. United

App. 34

States, 249 U.S. 557, 562-63 (1919). We need not know the

health of these cases, see FCC v. ITT World Communica-

tions, Inc., 466 U.S. 463, 468-69 (1984), to be confident

that non-parties may not seek judicial review in the courts

of appeals under the Hobbs Act. A suggestion that non-

parties may obtain review of orders that “exceed the

power” of the agency is dubious for several reasons. One

is that “exceeding the power” of the agency may be a

synonym for “wrong,” so that the statute then precludes

review only when there is no reason for review anyway.

We doubt that this is what Congress meant. Another is

that §2344 is the source of the court’s jurisdiction, and

jurisdiction means power to decide. A court may not

decide a case just because that would be a good idea;

power must be granted, not assumed. In re Chicago, Rock

Island & Pacific R.R., No. 85-2505 (7th Cir. June 24,

1986), slip op. 10-11. If a non-party tried to appeal from

a judgment of a district court, we would dismiss the ap-

peal no matter how much in “excess of power” the deci-

sion might be; if a party tried to appeal after the time

for appeal had expired, the clarity of the district court’s

error would not supply the missing power to adjudicate

the appeal. Browder v. Director, Department of Correc-

tions, 434 U.S. 257 (1978). So it is with review of ad-

ministrative action. The statute limits review to petitions

filed by parties, and that is that. (The Administrative Pro-

cedure Act’s provision for judicial review, 5 U.S.C. §702,

on which Seaboard relies, does not supply jurisdiction in

any court, let alone authorize direct review in the court

of appeals. See Califano v. Sanders, 430 U.S. 99, 104-07

(1977). Only §2344 and the associated provisions of the Hobbs

Act authorize the type of review Seaboard requests.)

This does not mean that a non-party adversely affected

by an agency’s decision has no recourse. If the ICC should

purport to invalidate the Seaboard’s certificates of public

interest, convenience, and necessity in a footnote to a case

involving only the Burlington Northern—without notice to

the Seaboard that its interests could be affected—the Sea-

App. 35

board could take either of two approaches. One is to inter-

vene before the ICC as soon as it learns of the Commis-

sion’s action, file a petition for rehearing in the agency,

and then seek judicial review under §2344. The other is

simply to ignore the order. Then it could not petition for

review in the court of appeals, but if the ICC should try

to enforce its order, the Aehacel could resist during the

enforcement proceeding. This is the same principle that

allows a party to ignore a judicial proceeding when the

party believes the court lacks jurisdiction, and then to

resist enforcement of the court’s order. See Restatement

(Second) of Judgments §81 (1980) (an order entered with-

out notice or jurisdiction does not bind a subsequent

tribunal). But this is not a case in which the Commission

proceeded without notice to Seaboard; it had actual notice.

It is not a case in which the Commission lacked “jurisdic-

tion” to decide; it was authorized to act on the Soo’s

request.

C

We have jurisdiction of Seaboard’s appeal from Order

No. 809, but the Soo insists that the appeal is moot be-

cause we may not alter the terms of the sale. If the dis-

trict court had decided that the Soo has a clean title to

the trackage rights, free of any claims under the contract

between the Milwaukee and the L&N, the case would be

moot for the reasons given in Sax and Part II.B. of this

opinion. But we do not read Order No. 809, in conjunc-

tion with the district court’s varying explanations of it,

as precluding any claim arising under the contract. The

terms of the sale are fixed by the Asset Purchase Agree-

ment as well as Order No. 809, and in another case deal-

ing with the transfer of trackage rights to the Soo we

held that the Asset Purchase Agreement requires the Soo

to arbitrate differences arising out of clauses in trackage

rights agreements that restrict the Milwaukee’s ability to

transfer its rights. See In re Chicago, Milwaukee, St.

Paul & Pacific R.R., 784 F.2d 831 (7th Cir. 1986)

(Escanaba I); In re Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul &

Pacific R.R., 789 F.2d 1281 (7th Cir. 1986) (Escanaba II).

App. 36

Many of the Milwaukee’s assets had encumbrances. Prop-

_erty came with liens; some property had been leased to

others; the Milwaukee’s leaseholds came with time limits;

and trackage rights came with arbitration clauses and

restrictions on assignment. See Escanaba I and II. CMC

and the ICC agree that the Asset Purchase Agreement

and Order No. 809 do not obliterate the encumbrances

on the Milwaukee’s property. The Soo got no more than

the Milwaukee had.

Order No. 809 does not eliminate the Milwaukee’s

liabilities arising out of its raii operations; the Asset Pur-

chase Agreement transfers them to the Soo. A claim aris-

ing out of breach of the trackage rights agreement be-

tween the Milwaukee and the L&N is a liability trans-

ferred to the Soo. The principal effect of paragraph 9 of

Order No. 809 is to transfer the operating rights to the

Soo in the interim, not to foreclose any other claim.

D

Order No. 816 qualifies Order No. 809 with respect to

some trackage rights between Crivitz and Marinette, Wis-

consin. The district court ordered the Soo to arbitrate

with another railroad concerning the transfer of these

trackage rights. See Escanaba I and IJ. The Seaboard

wanted the trackage rights between Bedford and New

Albany carved out as well. We do not think the district

court was required to treat the Indiana trackage rights

the way it did the rights in Escanaba I and II.

The Seaboard, unlike the Escanaba, did not ask the re-

organization court for an order compelling the Soo to arbi-

trate the disputes growing out of the transfer. More, the

contract between the Milwaukee and the Escanaba was

a private undertaking. The ICC had expressed no con-

cern about whether the Soo or the Escanaba ran trains

over the Crivitz-Marinette line, and it approved the

transfer of rights to the Escanaba. The trackage rights

between Bedford and New Albany were crammed down

the throat of the L&N as a condition of its acquisition

App. 37

of the Monon, and the ICC then fixed the terms of the

rights. The Commission expressed the view that the Sea-

board should face competition between Chicago and Louis-

ville and that the trackage rights should continue as long

as the need for competition continues.

Because the Bedford-New Albany rights exist at the

insistence of the ICC, that agency may have primary

jurisdiction to construe the contract between the Mil-

waukee and the L&N. We do not decide whether primary

jurisdiction applies because the Commission has asked us

not to do so. Even though the district court may have

been authorized to construe the contract as an original

matter, it was required to do so with care, lest it under-

mine the purposes the ICC sought to achieve in 1970 and

1973. Any construction of the contract that would allow

the Seaboard to block a transfer as part of a reorganiza-

tion would cut at cross purposes with the ICC’s decision

not to allow the Milwaukee’s bankruptcy or reorganiza-

tion to end the trackage rights. By transferring operating

rights to the Soo without foreclosing all later disputes,

the district court allowed the competitive rail service to

continue pending an application by the Seaboard to the

ICC to terminate the rights. This was the appropriate course

of action, and it is how we interpret Order No. 809.

The Seaboard insists that the district court “exceeded

its jurisdiction” in approving the transfer, but there was

jurisdiction aplenty under the Restructuring Act and the

Bankruptcy Code. The Seaboard means only that the

district court erred. See also In re Sax, supra. And we

do not think the court erred. It would have been unrea-

sonable to construe the contract the way the Seaboard

does, as giving it the right to veto any assignment of the

rights in reorganization. The ICC refused it this right,

and the reasons for the competitive operations survive.

Clauses requiring approval for assignments do not apply

to mergers, see United States Shoe Corp. v. Hackett, 793

F.2d 161, 165 (7th Cir. 1986). The sale of the whole rail

operation in reorganization is closer to a merger than to

the sale of trackage rights standing alone—the paradigm

App. 38

for application of paragraph 15 of the contract. We need

not consider whether these arguments are dispositive;

they are enough to suggest the wisdom of passing oper-

ating rights to the Soo while leaving further problems of

interpretation to the ICC. Order No. 809 does not bar

an application to the ICC or any changes that agency may

wish to make. It does, however, bar any other form of

collateral attack on the transfer of the trackage rights.

The parties have disputed with some vigor the powers,

if any, the ICC possesses to construe or alter the con-

tract. We do not pass on these arguments, which will be

open on review of the ICC’s decision if it is called on to

make one.

IV

It all comes down to this: (1) The motion to supplement

the record in No. 85-2121 is denied. (2) The Seaboard’s

petition, No. 85-1578, for review of the ICC’s orders is

dismissed for want of jurisdiction because the Seaboard

was not a party to the ICC’s proceedings. (3) The RLEA’s

petition, No. 85-1953, for review of the ICC’s order dis-

missing the request to approve the Milwaukee’s plan of

reorganization is denied because the ICC correctly deter-

mined that it did not need to approve the plan. (4) The

RLEA’s appeal, No. 85-1554, from Order No. 809 is dis-

missed as moot because the RLEA seeks an alteration

of the terms of the sale. (5) CMC’s and the Milwaukee’s

appeal, No. 85-1683, from paragraph 4 of Order No. 809

does not establish a reason to vacate the paragraph.

Although we do not adopt or reject the district court’s

conclusion that the Soo paid a constitutionally adequate

price, it is inappropriate to facilitate a collateral attack

on that judgment in the Claims Court. Appeal No. 85-1683

is dismissed. (6) Paragraph 9 of Order No. 809, to the ex-

tent it is attacked by Seaboard’s appeals Nos. 85-2122 and

85-2128, is affirmed. (7) The United States, the ICC, and

the Soo shall recover their costs.

App. 39

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

October 20, 1986.

Before

Hon. HARLINGTON Woop, JR., Circuit Judge

Hon. FRANK H. EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judge

Hon. SARAH EVANS BARKER, District Judge*

No. 85-1683

IN THE MATTER OF:

CHICAGO, MILWAUKEE, ST. PAUL AND

PACIFIC RAILROAD COMPANY,

Debtor

APPEAL OF:

CHICAGO, MILWAUKEE, ST. PAUL AND

PACIFIC RAILROAD COMPANY and

CHICAGO MILWAUKEE CORPORATION

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 77 B 8999—Thomas R. McMillen, Judge.

* The Honorable Sarah Evans Barker, of the United States

District Court for the Southern District of Indiana, is sitting by

designation.

App. 40

ORDER

Counsel for the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific

Railroad Company and Chicago Milwaukee Corporation

filed a petition for rehearing and suggestion of rehearing

en bane on October 3, 1986. No judge in regular active

service has requested a vote on the suggestion of rehear-

ing en bance, and all of the judges on the panel have voted

to deny rehearing. The petition for rehearing is therefore

DENIED.

App. 41

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

In the Matter of

CHICAGO, MILWAUKEE, ST. PAUL

AND PACIFIC RAILROAD COMPANY,

Debtor.

In Proceedings for the Reorganization of a Railroad

No. 77 B 8999—Thomas R. McMillen, Judge.

ORDER NO. 809

Upon consideration of the matter of the sale, pursuant

to Sections 4 and 5(b) of the Milwaukee Railroad Restruc-

turing Act (“MRRA”’), notice having been given to all par-

ties, of the Rail Assets, as defined in and pursuant to an

Asset Purchase Agreement dated April 6, 1984, as amended

(the “APA”’), to be entered into between Richard B. Ogilvie,

not personally, but solely as trustee (“Trustee”) of the

property of the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific

Railroad Company (‘‘Milwaukee’’) and the Soo Line Rail-

road Company, a Minnesota corporation (“‘Soo’’), and

SLRCO, Inc., a Minnesota corporation (“SLRCO”), the

Court, acting as the Court of Reorganization for the Mil-

waukee pursuant to Section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act of

1898 and pursuant to Section 4 and Section 5(b) of the

MRRA finds and concludes as follows:

1. Soo and SLRCO filed an application with the Inter-

state Commerce Commission (the ““Commission”’) seeking

approval of a purchase of the Rail Assets. In addition,

App. 42

Chicago and North Western Transportation Company

(“CNW’’) filed its application seeking the purchase of

essentially similar assets.

2. The Commission rendered its decision on September

26, 1984 with respect to the application of Soo and

SLRCO to purchase the assets specified in the APA. That

decision, inter alia, approved the application pursuant to

Section 11344(b) of the Interstate Commerce Act, Section

5(b) of the MRRA, and Section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act

of 1898. The Commission served its further decision with

respect to CNW’s modified application on January 11,

1985, which decision incorporated certain portions of its

September 26, 1984 decision.

3. The Court has considered the evidence adduced,

heard the arguments of counsel, and the oral and writ-

ten applications of various parties in interest seeking

review of and commenting upon the Commission’s Sep-

tember 26, 1984 and January 11, 1985 decisions, including

those of the Trustee, Burlington Northern Railroad Com-

pany, Chicago Milwaukee Corporation, Escanaba and Lake

Superior Railroad Company, First National Bank of Chi-

cago (as Indenture Trustee), Grand Trunk Corporation,

Bruce E. Hendry and Mobil Oil Corporation, the Com-

mission, LaSalle National Bank (as Successor Corporate

Trustee), the City of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, CNW, the

Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific Railroad Bond

and Debenture Holders Protective Committee (the ‘‘Pro-

tective Committee”), Railway Labor Executives’ Associa-

tion, Soo, States of Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin De-

partments of Transportation, the United States, United

Transportation Union Local No. 528, Wisconsin Power and

Light Company, Green Hills Regional Planning Commis-

sion, North Dakota Public Service Commission, Seaboard

System Railroad, Inc., Harold E. Spencer, Peter N. Tod-

App. 438

hunter and Richard James Stevens, State of Missouri,

South Dakota Department of Transportation, Coalition to

Save The Milwaukee and “Certain Employees for the

Milwaukee’”’.

4. Section 5(bX2) of the MRRA empowers this Court

to review the order of the Commission entered under that

Section only under Sections 706(2XA), 706(2XB), 706(2XC),

and 706(2XD) of title 5 of the United States Code. The

Commission has certified to this Court the full record of

proceedings before it in connection with the decision of

September 26, 1984 and the decision of January 11, 1985.

The Court has considered and reviewed the findings and

decisions of the Commission filed with this Court, pur-

suant to the requirements of those sections. The Court

has further considered the allegations of error contained

in the petitions for review and comments and has found

that the Commission’s findings and decisions should be

and are approved by this Court, since the findings and

decisions were in accordance with law and were not arbi-

trary, capricious, an abuse of discretion, contrary to con-

stitutional right, power, privilege or immunity, in excess

of statutory jurisdiction, authority or limitations, short of

statutory right, or without observance of procedure re-

quired by law.

5. The Court has considered the evidence adduced,

heard the arguments of counsel, and the oral and writ-

ten arguments of various parties in interest expressing

a preference for or objecting to the approval-of the sale

to either the Soo and SLRCO or CNW, including those

_of the Trustee, Burlington Northern Railroad Company,

Chicago Milwaukee Corporation, Escanaba and Lake

Superior Railroad Company, First National Bank of Chi-

cago (as Indenture Trustee), Grand Trunk Corporation,

Bruce E. Hendry and the Mobil Oil Corporation, LaSalle

App. 44

National Bank (as Successor Corporate Trustee), the City

of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, North Dakota Public Service

Commission, CNW, the Protective Committee, Railway

Labor Executives’ Association, Soo, States of Iowa, Min-

nesota and Wisconsin Departments of Transportation,

Stickney Corporation, the United States, United Transpor-

tation Union Local No. 528, Wisconsin Power and Light

Company, Green Hills Regional Planning Commission,

Seaboard System Railroad, Inc., State of Missouri, South

Dakota Department of Transportation, Coalition to Save

The Milwaukee and ‘Certain Employees of the Milwau-

kee”. The Court has considered the Commission’s findings

with respect to the public interest, the Commission’s vote

and basis for its preference for the Soo and SLRCO over

CNW, the consideration to be paid to the Debtor’s estate,

the amount of wages to be paid to employees and other

relevant matters. The prompt sale of the Rail Assets to

Soo and SLRCO for the continued provision of common

carrier service in return for the consideration specified

in the APA (including the assumption of certain liabilities

of the Milwaukee’s estate) is in the best interest of the

Milwaukee’s estate and of ultimate reorganization of the

Milwaukee, and is consistent with the public interest.

6. The immediate execution by the Trustee of the

APA, and the prompt closing of the transactions in the

manner and time contemplated by the APA, are in the

best interests of the Milwaukee’s estate.

7. The Trustee has issued certain Trustee Certificates

during the course of these proceedings which were pur-

chased by the United States Department of Transporta-

tion (“DOT”) and the Federal Financing Bank pursuant

to Sections 505 and 511 of the Railroad Revitalization and

Regulatory Reform Act of 1976 and Section 7 of the

MRRA. The estate also is liable to the DOT under the

App. 45

terms of its Series I Redeemable Preference Shares issued

in 1977 prior to the Milwaukee filing for reorganization.

The Trustee’s obligations under the above Trustee Cer-

tificates and under the Preference Shares will be assumed

at closing by Soo and SLRCO in the manner provided

in the APA.

8. The purchase of the Rail Assets together with prior

purchases approved by this Court constitute the purchase

of substantially all of the Milwaukee Railroad for purposes

of Section 7(hX1XB) of the MRRA (as amended by Sec-

tion 701(cX1) of the Staggers Rail Act of 1980), 45 USC

§906(hX1)(B), and all obligations to the United States or

any agency or instrumentality of the United States in-

curred pursuant to Section 7 of the MRRA by the Mil-

waukee or the Trustee, including Trustee Certificates 1980

A and B are waived and cancelled.

9. The sale of the Rail Assets and the assignment and

assumption of the trackage agreements, joint facilities and

operating rights over segments of the rail properties now

operated by the Trustee are in the public interest (as de-

termined by the Commission and affirmed by this Court)

and are in the best interest of the estate as found by this

Court. The assignment and assumption of the trackage

agreements, interests in or agreements with respect to

joint facilities, leases, operating rights and all other rights

and interests of the Trustee being assigned pursuant to

the APA will not effect a termination of the Trustee’s

rights and interests under the contracts, leases and agree-

ments granting those rights and interests, and those

rights and interests are assignable to Soo and SLRCO

in accordance with the terms of the APA, and notwith-

standing any provisions in any such contracts, leases or

agreements to the contrary.

App. 46

10. Section 5 of the MRRA mandates that the Court

require the carrier to provide a fair arrangement at least

as protective of the interests of employees as that re-

quired under Section 11347 of title 49 of the United States

Code. In prior sales of lines of railroad pursuant to Sec-

tion 5, the Court imposed “Appendix B Conditions” (re-

port of the Special Master dated February 20, 1980) which

were found to be as protective as statutorily required and

consistent with both the scheme and language of the

MRRA by the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

in Matter of Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific

Railroad Company, Consolidated Appeals of Railway Labor

Executives’ Association, 658 F.2d 1149 (7th Cir. Aug. 17,

1981), cert. den. 455 U.S. 1000 (Mar. 8, 1982).

11. Section 5 of the MRRA does not require that labor

protective conditions be imposed with respect to employ-

ees of The Milwaukee Motor Transportation Company,

and the Court finds that such conditions should not be

imposed.

12. The additional findings and conclusions of law, not

inconsistent with the provisions of this Order, made pur-

suant to Rule 52 by the Court orally on February 8, 1985,

are incorporated in this Order by reference and made a

part of this Order.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, ADJUDGED

AND DECREED as follows:

1. That the sale and assignment to Soo and SLRCO,

in accordance with the APA and this Order, of the Trus-

tee’s right, title and interest in the Rail Assets are ap-

proved and confirmed in all respects. The Rail Assets

shall, upon conveyance, be free and clear of all liens,

security interests, claims and encumbrances, of whatever

nature, whenever arising, including without limitation

ee

App. 47

those arising from federal, state and local tax claims or

liens, those arising from that certain First Mortgage dated

as of January 1, 1944 with Continental Illinois National

Bank and Trust Company of Chicago, Indenture Trustee,

and the General Mortgage dated as of January 1, 1944

with Harris Trust and Savings Bank, Indenture Trustee,

and all mortgages supplemental thereto, except only liens,

security interests, claims and encumbrances created by,

or specifically permitted to remain on the Rail Assets pur-

suant to, the APA.

2. That the Trustee is authorized and directed to ex-

ecute promptly and deliver to Soo and SLRCO the APA,

to consummate promptly the sale as set forth in the APA

and to execute and deliver on or as soon as practicable

after the Closing Date (as defined in the APA), all deeds,

bills of sale, assignments, certificates of title, and other

documents, and to take such other actions, as shall be re-

quired or appropriate to effectuate the transactions con-

templated by the APA, including to the extent necessary

under the circumstances as determined by the Trustee,

modifications to the APA or the transaction required to

result in a fully taxable transaction, so that for federal

income tax purposes gain or loss will be fully recognized

by the Milwaukee on the consummation of the sale, and

that the net operating loss carry forwards and tax credits

available to the Milwaukee immediately prior to the clos-

ing of the sale will be preserved to the Milwaukee.

3. That the Trustee is authorized and directed to assign

to Soo or SLRCO, as appropriate, all of his rights under

contracts as provided by the APA.

4, That the Trustee is authorized and directed to assign

to Soo or SLRCO, as appropriate and in accordance with

the APA, all of the trackage agreements, joint facilities

App. 48

and operating rights necessary for Soo or SLRCO, as the

case may be, to operate the Railroad (as defined in the

APA).

5. That the Trustee is authorized and directed to assign

to Soo or SLRCO, as appropriate, all labor contracts (in-

cluding collective bargaining agreements) with respect to

employees of the Trustee required by the APA to be of-

fered employment by Soo or SLRCO.

6. That Soo and SLRCO, or either of them, assume

each of the obligations and liabilities arising under the

contracts or agreements assigned by the Trustee in ac-

cordance with paragraphs 2, 4 and 5 of this Order. In ad-

dition, Soo and SLRCO, or either of them, shall assume

the Trustee’s obligations under the Wage Deferral Agree-

ment and the last two sentences of Paragraph 2b of the

Wage Reduction Agreement, as specified in the APA as

modified in the December 4, 1984 letter agreement be-

tween the Soo and the Trustee, the obligations of the

Trustee under the Trustee Certificates issued to DOT and

the Federal Financing Bank pursuant to Sections 505 and

511 of the Railroad Revitalization and Regulatory Reform

Act of 1976 or Section 7 of the MRRA (excluding Trus-

tee Certificates 1980 A and B), the obligations with

respect to the Series I Redeemable Preference Shares,

the obligations of the Trustee with respect to any labor

conditions imposed with respect to the transactions con-

templated by the APA and other obligations and liabilities

of the Trustee to be assumed by Soo and SLRCO, or

either of them, pursuant to the APA. After the Closing

(as defined in the APA), all obligations and liabilities of the

Trustee to be assumed by Soo or SLRCO in accordance

with this Order or the APA and not otherwise discharged

shall be the sole obligation of Soo or SLRCO, or both,

as the case may be, and the Trustee and the Milwaukee

App. 49

shall be relieved from any and all liabilities in connection

with or arising out of such obligations except as express-

ly may be provided otherwise by the APA, whether oc-

curring after the Closing or arising out of the conveyance

or assignment; provided, however, the foregoing shall not

impose on Soo or SLRCO any liability or obligation not

imposed upon or assumed by them in accordance with the

terms of the APA.

7. That all prepetition obligations and debts of the

Trustee and Debtor and its subsidiaries to Soo and its

subsidiaries are cancelled. In addition, all outstanding

debts and obligations of the Trustee and Debtor and any

of its subsidiaries arising out of facilities embargoed or

abandoned prior to Closing are cancelled.

8. That the sale, transfer and assignment of the Rail

Assets is without warranties, representations or guaran-

tees of any kind, expressed or implied, except as specifi-

cally stated in the APA.

9. That upon consummation of the transactions contem-

plated by the APA, all common carrier obligations of the

Trustee and Debtor be assumed by Soo and SLRCO, and

shall cease as to the Trustee and Debtor.

10. Subject to the agreement of Soo and SLRCO with

representatives of employees to labor protection conditions

at least as protective as those specified below, the condi-

tions contained in Appendix B to the Report of the Special

Master dated February 20, 1980 are adopted for the pro-

tection of employees of Soo and Milwaukee Road affected

by the transactions contemplated by the APA; Section 4(e)

is included therein as specified in Order No 276B; Ap-

pendix B is also modified as provided in Order No. 409A.

Notwithstanding the foregoing, no labor protective con-

ditions are imposed with respect to the employees of The

Milwaukee Motor Transportation Company.

App. 50

11. That the Court shall retain jurisdiction over this

matter for the purpose of implementing and carrying out

the APA and resolving any disputes arising under or with

respect to the APA, this Order or the Closing. The ICC

shall have such continuing jurisdiction over this transac-

tion as is by law vested in it.

12. That the rights, claims, liens and interests of any

creditor of, or claimant against, the Debtor’s estate which

are not assumed by Soo or SLRCO in accordance with

this Order or adjudicated by this Order as applying to

the Rail Assets which are sold, transferred or assigned

pursuant to this Order shall be, upon the Closing, trans-

ferred from,the Rail Assets to the net proceeds of the

sale; such net proceeds shall, until further order of this

Court, be deposited and retained in the existing trust ac-

count bearing the designation “Escrow Agent Account”

No. 13-01043-4 at the Continental Illinois National Bank

and Trust Company of Chicago and shall be invested pur-

suant to this Court’s Order No. 536 in accordance with

instructions from the Trustee or a person designated by

him.

13. That following the closing of the sale and pending

the earlier of (i) further order of this Court, (ii) the date

on which this Order authorizing the sale shall not have

been reversed and no further appeal may be taken by

any party or (iii) 90 days after the Closing Date, Soo and

SLRCO are directed to conduct the operations of the Rail-

road, (as defined in the APA), and to maintain the Rail

Assets, subject to additions and dispositions in the or-

dinary course, on a basis reasonably designed to account

for the operations of the Railroad and the identification

of the Rail Assets subsequent to their transfer to Soo and

SLRCO.

App. 51

14. All requests for relief pertaining to the subject mat-

ter of this Order not otherwise granted hy this Order

shall be considered denied.

15. Directions contained in this Order shall be carried

out forthwith.

Dated: Feb. 19, 1985

ENTER

/s/ Thomas R. McMillen

United States District Judge

App. 52

(1)* UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

Docket No. 77 B 8999

IN THE MATTER OF:

CHICAGO, MILWAUKEE, ST. PAUL

AND PACIFIC RAILROAD COMPANY,

Debtor.

February 8, 1985—11:00 O’Clock A.M.

TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS

BEFORE THE

HONORABLE THOMAS R. McMILLEN

APPEARANCES: 0

MR. ROBERT H. WHEELER

MR. LAWRENCE S. ADELSON

MR. MICHAEL D. SULLIVAN

MR. WILLIAM C. SIPPEL

MR. ALBERT E. JENNER, JR.

MR. DANIEL R. MURRAY

MR. EDMUND J. KENNY

MR. GARY T. JOHNSON

* Numbers in brackets refer to the court reporter’s original

pagination of the Transcript of Proceedings.

App. 53

MR. DAVID D. ROSENSTEIN

MR. MARVIN F. METGE

MR. BYRON OLSEN

MR. MICHAEL COOK

MR. SALVATORE SONTORO

MR. STUART F. GLASSNER

MR. JAMES P. DALEY

MR. CHARLES MILLER

MR. HENRY SAILER

MR. PAUL DUKE COVINGTON

MR. LAWRENCE BEMIS

MR. JAMES S. THIEL

MR. ROBERT S. STEINER

MR. JOHN O’B. CLARKE, JR.

MR. JOHN H. CALDWELL

MR. LARRY MITCHELL

MR. HENRI RUSH

Court Reporter: JAMES W. CHEEK

[2] THE CLERK: 77 B 8999, in the matter of the

Chicago, Milwaukee Railroad.

THE Court: First of all, I would like to compliment

the very able presentations that were made by all of the

attorneys yesterday and particularly those for the Chicago

Milwaukee Corporation and Trustee and, I should add,

the North Western Railroad. The reason I mention them

specifically is not because I would value or grade their

arguments any higher than some of the others but that

they made my task more difficult by presenting tne argu-

ments that they did.

The problem that I am faced with is probably deeper

and somewhat more complicated than I had originally be-

lieved when I told the assembled group that I felt the

application of the Soo should be adopted and consummated

by the Trustee but, as I told you at that time, it was

a tentative decision that was certainly subject to recon-

sideration and that I was going to listen carefully to the

App. 54

arguments of the parties and also read more carefully the

briefs and the records. I, of course, had an opportunity

to do that but not in the detail that I would have been

able to do had I not wanted to expedite this decision. In

other words, you will have to forgive me if I don’t cite

a number of facts and figures completely accurately be-

cause I don’t want to take up your time by looking back

into the record to check them out unless it is something

that is important to get down to the exact dollar figure.

But I am prepared to give you my findings and conclu-

sions [3] and that is what this proceeding is about, pur-

suant to Federal Rule 52. -

Now, with all of these talented and competent attorneys

that have been proceeding with me in this task it is not

surprising that questions of an appeal or a stay or disrup-

tion of the orderly proceedings of the Court’s order would

be raised. I would like to say at the outset that I do not

think that the possibility of those things occurring should

be the basis for a decision. There are enough attorneys

here so that we can anticipate there may be some pro-

ceedings in higher courts or back with the Interstate

Commerce Commission for some time no matter which

way the decision goes and what the details of the deci-

sion are. I think it would be entirely improper for me

to decide this case in favor of one party or the other be-

cause of the possibility of an appeal or even the possibility

of a stay.

I do differ with Mr. Murray and, I believe, also with

the Trustee that the St. Joe Paper Company decision by

the Supreme Court, particularly Justice Frankfurter, is

one that precludes my considering anything other than

the desires of the stockholders of the CMC. I have read

the case and, of course, I have read the Interstate Com-

merce Commission’s comments on the case. I go beyond

what the Interstate Commerce Commission report has

|

App. 55

said. In my opinion, the case does not apply to the situa-

tion that is before us here. It is a case where a merger

was being imposed upon another corporation, contrary to

the desires of the stockholders of the [4] corporation with-

out giving any consideration to them, something like a

cram-down consolidation, which we are not considering

here. This is simply a sale of some of the assets of the

debtor. Although I am not sure that St. Joe Paper Com-

pany is still good law, as the Interstate Commerce Com-

mission attorneys believe it is not, I will say this much: it

probably would depend a great deal on whether you get

five persons like Justice Douglas writing the opinion or

five persons like Justice Frankfurter writing the opinion.

It might be a five-four decision, just like we have had

some close decisions in this case.

In any event, I do not think the St. Joe Paper Com-

pany case would be reviewed other than to say that it

is not applicable to the situation that we have here. So,

that is my first conclusion on the law. As a matter of fact,

I find it very difficult to separate conclusions on the law

from conclusions of fact or inferences of fact or findings

of fact. So, sometimes, they are going to be taken out

of sequence. That is another thing, if I had time to sit

down and write an opinion or to go over proposed find-

ings and conclusions, I might be able to make it a little

more orderly but some of the findings and conclusions will

be mixed together, both factual and on the law.

While we are on the subject of litigation, I might add

that I do not agree with Mr. Murray’s argument that the

stockholders of the CMC are being deprived of any of

their property without due process, in violation of the

Fifth Amendment. I am [5] not an authority on constitu-

tional law and I would have to defer to authorities such

as Mr. Murray, if he purports to be one, or Mr. Jenner,

who wasn’t here when Mr. Murray was able to give his

App. 56

presentation. But it seems to me that the stockholders

of the Chicago Milwaukee Corporation have received full

due process as far as their basic original offer was con-

cerned of $569 million and that, as far as that goes, they

are receiving due process as far as the additional $210

million is concerned. But I would like to point out that,

in my opinion, that is not property of the CMC. The $210

million is basically a premium or a ‘“‘windfall’’ as one of

the attorneys termed it, and it is difficult for me to see

how a person can be deprived of a windfall or something

which is not theirs without due process under the Fifth

Amendment. I think, however, that the CMC has received

due process unless they are correct that they have the

right, or their stockholders do, to veto or have to pre-

vent any transfer except one for the highest and best of-

fer, which is what their $786 million offer consists of.

The fair market value of this property has been deter-

mined by the Interstate Commerce Commission as some-

thing below what the offer by the Soo Railroad stands

at right now. $570 million is the approximate figure that

the Soo Railroad is offering. It is well above the fair

market value determined by the Interstate Commerce

Commission. I find that the determination by the Inter-

state Commerce Commission is not arbitrary, capricious

or an abuse of discretion under Section 706 of the Ad-

ministrative Procedure [6] Act and that that is the fair

market value to which the stockholders of the CMC are

entitled and, of course, the Trustee. Over and above that

I think it becomes a matter of evaluating just what the

significance of the additional $210 million is and how it

should be viewed as far as evaluating the offer of the

Chicago Milwaukee Corporation vis-a-vis the offer of the

Soo Railroad. We will get into that a little bit further

as we go along. But, in my humble opinion, the $210 mil-

lion—it is almost $211 million—is not by any means a con-

App. 57

trolling factor in which railroads should prevail in this par-

ticular contest.

Now, in the question of possible future litigation, which

occurs in many cases and can’t be overlooked as a pos-

sibility in this case, it is my intention to structure the

consummation of this acquisition in such a way that the

identity of the Milwaukee equipment, real estate, person-

nel and operation as a unit will be preserved insofar as

it is physically possible to do so.

Both of the parties have set up subsidiaries to which

this property will be transferred. I am going to ask the

Trustee at the time of executing a judgment order on

February the 19th to structure the consummation of this

acquisition in such a way that if the matter should be

overturned by a higher court or if one of the parties

defaulted it could be turned back to the other party or

to the Trustee. In other words, a disengagement has to

be considered under the circumstances because no one

knows, actually, how this controversy is actually going to

turn out [7] except as far as the end of this particular

dissertation is concerned.

I remember :a case in which some of you may have been

involved some years ago, when I was in private practice.

There was a controversy over whevher the Continental

Illinois National Bank and Trust Company of Chicago,

which Mr. Ogilvie, by the way, is now a director but a

new director, I might add, could acquire the City National

Bank and Trust Company, which was right across the

street, and the Comptroller of the Treasury, as I recall,

objected to the acquisition. The Court overruled the ob-

jections but made it a condition of the acquisition that

the books and records of the Continental Bank be kept

in such a way that, if the Comptroller of the Treasury

was correct, the City National Bank could be reestab-

lished and go back into its original quarters and operate

App. 58

its business as before. That litigation went on for about

two years, as I recall, or maybe three. Eventually, of

course, the Continental Bank prevailed. But had it not

prevailed, the City National Bank and Trust Company

would have become an operating entity. It was done by

the persons that were responsible for the acquisition and

they kept separate books and records. They segregated

the assets. They even segregated the customers. They

knew which business was City National Bank’s busines

and which business was not. The same thing, I think, can

be done in this case without interrupting the actual ac-

quisition or the flow of not only the property but per-

sonnel and material from the Trustee to the acquiring

common [8] carrier. So, that would be, I suppose, one of

my conclusions of law, but, nevertheless, an order on the

Trustee.

Now, another scarecrow that has been erected by some

of the parties is the question of the government’s obliga-

tion—or the Trustee’s obligation to the government for

the $143 million of notes that are outstanding which the

government has made some statements to the effect could

be called for immediate payment. That scarecrow also

doesn’t bother me enough to tilt the scales against the

Soo Railroad.

In the first place, the Soo has said that it is going to

honor the obligation. It is going to indemnify the Trus-

tee from any litigation that may arise when the govern-

ment attempts to call the notes. They are really not called

but they are terminated, according to the government’s

theory, terminable. I looked over Appendix I to the In-

terstate Commerce Commission’s report, as Mr. Wheeler

suggested, and found nothing to really be concerned about

as far as the Soo’s ability to negotiate an amicable disposi-

tion of those particular obligations. I don’t say nothing

to be concerned about but it is not going to be something

we

App. 59

they can do out of their present cash, pay out of their

) present reserves but, when they need to, they will be able

to do whatever the government agrees to.

It would seem to me, however, the government has in-

: dicated to the North Western Railroad that it is not going

to call these loans, and that is for a very good reason.

The reason is the [9] loans were made to rehabilitate the

Milwaukee Railroad. As long as the Milwaukee Railroad

is in existence, either as a part of another railroad or as

a part of a subsidiary of another railroad, the purpose

. of those loans and the purpose of those notes was to help

the Milwaukee Railroad become a viable transportation

entity. I think it would be entirely contrary to the in-

tent of Congress in passing the Milwaukee Railroad Re-

structuring Act and the statutes under which the loans

were authorized to then turn around and attempt to force

the acquiring carrier to drain off the $143 million which

undoubtedly would be needed by either of the railroads,

-and thereby cause serious problems and possibly, as Gov-

ernor Ogilvie mentioned yesterday, even cause a miscar-

riage of the transaction in the event the Soo were the

acquiring carrier. I don’t believe the government would

be justified in doing that. They have indicated clearly to

the North Western Railroad that it would not do that.

I think it certainly owes, the same kind of consideration

to the Soo Railroad if the Soo Railroad is the acquiring

carrier. What the ultimate disposition of those will be I

would not predict because I believe that the matter might

be subject to litigation if an agreement is not reached if

the Soo is the acquiring carrier. But I have every con-

fidence in believing that the government is going to be

reasonable and not going to take steps which will ulti-

mately either destroy the Milwaukee core railroad and

possibly with it the Soo Railroad or cause a miscarriage

of the transaction if the Soo is the acquiring carrier. So,

ial

App. 60

that [10] particular scarecrow does not cause me sufficient

concern to tip the scale against the Soo Railroad.

A third one has been raised—and I am not, again, an

expert on the subject—is that for some reason the trans-

action with the Chicago & North Western Railroad would

preserve the tax losses or tax benefits of the CMC and

that this may not happen if the Soo is the acquiring rail-

road. That, to me, I don’t understand. I don’t think Mr.

Murray understands it because he wasn’t able to explain

it to me yesterday, with all due deference.

I will instruct the Trustee to structure whatever the

consummation of this acquisition is in such a way that

it will preserve whatever tax benefits the Chicago Mil-

waukee Corporation can have regardless of who the trans-

feree is. It is beyond my understanding why there should

be any different results as far as the tax benefits to the

CMC are concerned whether it is the Soo or the Chicago

& North Western Railroad. So, that is a third scarecrow

that doesn’t scare me very much.

Incidentally, I hope I don’t sound as though I am an

advocate because, obviously, that is not my function in

this case. We have had enough advocates already. I am

trying to make a decision on the basis of the record and

in the exercise of my discretion and, in order to do so,

I must make certain findings and conclusions which sup-

port my decision. In that respect, of course, my findings

and conclusions must be in accordance with the record

but they are necessary to support my decision and, [11]

therefore, I want you to understand that in doing so I

am not taking the position of advocacy except that I want

to enter a decision and an appealable order, final order,

under Rule 58 that is supported by proper findings and

conclusions.

I will make another conclusion of law at this point, since

it is generally done at the beginning of the decision rather

a 5 Naa AEN NS Ra cad

ae IE leila tle sea

App. 61

than at some other point, and that is that we are proceed-

ing under Section 5(b) of the Milwaukee Railroad Restruc-

turing Act and that is the basis of my jurisdiction along

with the fact that the Milwaukee Railroad is here pur-

suant to Section 77(b) of the Bankruptcy Act. I am acting

as a bankruptcy judge in that respect. Just what effect

or relationship there is between Section 5(b) of the MRRA

and Section 77(b) of the Bankruptcy Act is not entirely

clear because Section 5(b) is a relatively new section. It

is special legislation. Even Mr. Rush could not satisfy me

in answering some of the questions about jurisdiction of

the ICC under Section 5(b). I have some question in my

own mind—and I am not going to try to resolve it at this

point—as to just what kind of continuing jurisdiction, for

example, there is with the Commission under Section 5b).

But I will, as usual, welcome any exercise of jurisdiction

that the Commission might have to the extent that it has

the jurisdiction. Those questions may arise some time in

the future, also.

I also asked Mr. Wheeler yesterday why we couldn’t

proceed under Section 4 of the MRRA. He didn’t have

time to frame [12] his answer. I am sure he has an

answer. It looks to me as though on the face of it, Sec-

tion 4 is equally applicable to Section 5(b). As far as I

am concerned, I am also proceeding under Section 4.

Now, I know there is some legislative history that

would indicate that Section 4 may not be applicable but

I read the statute according to its plain words. What it

says is what it means. If there is no ambiguity, if there

is no question that requires one to go into the legislative

history, then the statute speaks for itself. It seems to me

that Section 4, which bypasses the Interstate Commerce

Commission, incidentally, does give the Court authority

to do what we are doing now, in other words, to approve

the sale of assets of the Milwaukee Railroad.

App. 62

Now, as far as the merits are concerned, I should let

you know at the outset that I do agree with the recom-

mendation of the Interstate Commerce Commission that

the acquisition should be made by the Soo Railroad. That

is not a binding recommendation. I believe we all agree

on that. It is a recommendation that I asked for and

which I give considerable weight to. It is not binding but

because of the expertise of the Interstate Commerce Com-

mission I feel that it is entitled to great weight.

I also asked Trustee Ogilvie for his opinion. I don’t

criticize him one bit for giving me his opinion. I don’t

know whether I asked him on the record or not but I

value his opinion and I have taken it into consideration.

The rest of the persons that spoke yesterday are advo-

cates for their own position. They [13] represent clients.

They present the arguments. most forcefully for their

client’s side of the case. It was only at my request, I

believe, that Governor Ogilvie departed from his ordinarily

impartial or, let’s say, concern primarily for the best in-

terest of the estate to take an adversary position. He did

it for the best interests of the estate, in his opinion. It

just so happens I don’t agree with him. We haven’t al-

ways agreed. In fact, we had a matter in which he took

an appeal from an order which I entered and, as I recall,

obtained, I think, the only reversal we have had in this case.

He asked me before he took the appeal if I would mind.

I said, “No. That is your right. We want to know what

the law is.”’ It so happens I don’t think the Court of Ap-

peals made the right decision but Governor Ogilvie does.

That is all water over the dam.

We have had what, 25 appeals in this case? At least.

Mr. OGILVIE: More than that.

THE Court: More than that. Good business for the

lawyers. That is why, with all these lawyers sitting around

here, I expect we are going to have some more appeals.

App. 63

. But I don’t think anybody is going to appeal just because

of vindictiveness or try to destroy a valuable piece of our

) economy, of our transportation system or to try to put

the Soo Railroad out of business. I don’t believe any of

the parties are interested in that. I hope that the CMC

will take that into consideration.

I am not going to allow an appeal to frustrate what I

[14] consider to be the public interest in this matter. I

have already said that. I think that the decision has to

rest upon what is in the public interest. That is, in my

opinion, not a particularly close question.

I have tried to think about whether or not the addi-

tional $210 million that the CMC would get, if the North

Western were to acquire this railroad, could be weighed

against the public interest. There is no way that I think

those two can be compared. The public interest is not

something that you can attach a dollar value to. It is a

matter of intangibles in many respects. It is a matter of

inferences in many respects. It is not something that you

can say is worth more than $210 million, which is the ex-

cess that the North Western is willing to pay, or less than

$210 million. It is my belief that the $200 million is a

windfall or a bonus that the CMC would get if the North

Western Railroad would be the prevailing party and that

it really should not control the decision. Because what,

basically, the stockholders of CMC are entitled to is the

fair value of the line. When both parties came up with

what they believed the fair value was in the time just

before the first ICC decision, that in my opinion, is the

expression of the North Western Railroad as to its opin-

ion. It offered another $210 million, basically, because it

thought it could get some other advantages besides the

fair value of the line. It’s believe that it would be able

to outbid its competitor, which it did dollarwise, and it

believed, I think, that it could buy out some of its [15]

App. 64

competition. I think that, probably, the $210 million was

partly arrived at because the North Western Railroad

believed that it could make that much more money in op-

erating the Milwaukee as part of its system and recoup

it for the stockholders of the North Western Railroad than

it did when it made the offer which it thought was the

fair market value of the Milwaukee lines.

On that subject there has been quite a bit of talk about

the $123 million that the North Western Railroad would

be able to contribute to the public generally by virtue

of consolidations and increased efficiency and general sav-

ings by virtue of operating on a large scale but consoli-

dating and so forth, selling the unnecessary Bensenville

yards, for example, just one small example. What I think

is obvious from the $123 million figure is that someone

is not going to be working. A large proportion of the ex-

penses of operating a railroad, something in the vicinity

of 70 percent, I believe, Mr. Wilson pointed out, are per-

sonnel expenses. If you are going to save $123 million,

that means that there is going to be $123 million less for

the employees who are not working because of the con-

solidation. I don’t know who they would be. But I can’t

see that that saving is particularly advantageous to the

public. It is advantageous in the sense that it will make

the North Western more efficient and more profitable but

in the same breath the North Western is going to take

$210 million of its assets and pay it to the CMC. So, they

are taking $210 million excess money out of the transpor-

tation system and giving it to a non-transportation [16]

entity, the CMC.

I hope the CMC can use its money, whatever it gets

in this case, as advantageously as the predecessor of the

Chicago & North Western Railroad did, Mr. Heinemann,

when he spun off the railroad and took the benefits of

tax deductions. I suppose the stock of the Northwest In-

App. 65

eo ae

dustries has increased as much as the stock of the Mil-

waukee Railroad has in the last few years. I am not talk-

ing about the last few years of the Northwest Industries.

They have had a little bit of a set back. The point is that

the CMC is not a transportation industry and $210 million

at the very least is going to be transferred from our

transportation system to a non-transportation entity of the

North Western were the bidder.

| Now, I think that everyone agrees that but for the con-

stitutional problem or the St. Joe Paper problem, which

I have already put aside, the basic consideration on valu-

ing these transactions is what is in the best public in-

terest, what is most beneficial to the public. Now, the

public is a large amorphous group. I wouldn’t eliminate

the stockholders of CMC from members of the public. Ob-

viously, they are going to benefit just as they have bene-

fitted up to this time. But the public is a much greater

group than that.

The main problem that I see with an acquisition by the

Chicago Milwaukee Corporation is the defeat of a substan-

tial amount of competition for it to acquire the Milwau-

kee assets. I am sure you are all familiar with these maps.

I am holding here the one [17] that shows the Milwau-

kee in orange and the North Western in green. Although

you probably all can’t see it, as I say, you are probably

familiar with it. You can see that most of the lines are

in the same general area, Wisconsin, southern Minnesota,

particularly Iowa, and it is what the ICC calls a parallel

acquisition. That means that to a large extent many of

the lines are parallel to each other and therefore subject

to deterioration or abandonment or lower efficiency be-

cause a corporation doesn’t compete with itself as strenu-

ously as it competes with another corporation. You can’t

expect the Chicago Milwaukee Corporation to compete

with its subsidiary.

|

App. 66

So, I think it is perfectly reasonable to assume and I

find that there will be a large amount of abandonment

of the Chicago and North Western trackage if they were

to acquire the Milwaukee line.

Take the line from Chicago to Milwaukee as just one

example. There are three main lines now, according to

this map, running up there. There are two main lines that

go up to Minneapolis-St. Paul. As far as from Milwaukee

to Wyeville, or some junction there, Wyeville, Wisconsin,

the North Western and the Milwaukee are only a few

miles apart, relatively few miles apart. There are very

few intermediate stops on either of those lines. They are

not going to last very long in competition with each other.

The Chicago & North Western Railroad was perfectly

[18] frank in saying in the first filing that it made with

the Interstate Commerce Commission that it was going

to abandon approximately 1100 miles of its line if it ac-

quired the Milwaukee. Now it says it won’t abandon the

1100 miles until it goes through the process of the Inter-

state Commerce Commission. But it hasn’t said it isn’t

going to abandon 1100 miles, and I wouldn’t expect it to

say it isn’t going to abandon 1100 miles. If it can’t operate

1100 miles profitably, it is going to come in before the

Interstate Commerce Commission and ask for abandon-

ment, and we know, Governor Oglivie and I and Mr.

Wheeler, that it is going to get that abandonment.

I wanted to say one other thing about the question of

duplication of routes and that is on the transportation

system from Minneapolis-St. Paul to Kansas City. Now,

I think the Interstate Commerce Commission, in attempt-

ing to restore competition in that particular corridor, puts

the Chicago & North Western Railroad into something

of a “Catch-22” situation. It said that we will approve—

they didn’t say this—they said one of the conditions we

would impose upon any transaction between the Milwau-

App. 67

kee and the North Western would be trackage rights for

the Soo so it can get down the spine line in favorable

conditions. It didn’t say “favorable conditions”. But, ob-

viously, “trackage rights” means that the Soo would be

able to operate profitably from Minneapolis-St. Paul to

Kansas City over the Chicago & North Western line.

They would have to pay rent, of course. Yet, on the other

hand, [19] the trackage rights would be worth nothing

unless they were not sufficiently advantageous to the Soo

so that it would use them and make money on them. That

means that the river route will go by the boards in large

part.

The river route has been used by the Milwaukee Rail-

road to good advantage. It is making money on the river

route as far as I know. It is making money period. The

river route is the way it carries its traffic from Kansas

City to the Twin Cities and back. As a matter of fact,

Governor Ogilvie and I took a journey along the river

route. It is a beautiful trip. It is too bad they don’t have

any passenger trains any longer. In any event, the route

has been maintained. The Milwaukee has put a consider-

able amount of money into it. It still needs more money

put into it to bring it up to full operating capacity.

What the trackage right agreement would amount to

is that there would be no longer competition between the

river route and the spine line to amount to anything. It

would be local traffic. Even the Chicago, Milwaukee

Railroad concedes that. On their map, which they filed

some time around the first proceeding, showing what was

going to be abandoned, which is attached as one of the

exhibits to one of the—I believe it is tne Soo Railroad’s

reply memorandum—they specifically showed a large seg-

ment of the river route as subject to abandonment.

It is my finding that there would be a substantial amount

of loss of transportation system by abandonment if a par-

allel [20] acquisition were to be authorized.

App. 68

Now, on the other hand, the ICC definitely prefers an

end to end consolidation. The reason for that is perfectly

clear. It does not require abandonments or, at least, a very

minimum amount of abandonments and it increases the

efficiency of the system. They have an opportunity to run

through-trains for a much longer period, much longer dis-

tance, much longer time and we would no doubt, find the

Soo running trains from-someplace in Canada to Kansas

City and Louisville, Kentucky by an end-to-end consolida-

tion. That has been a policy of the Interstate Commerce

Commission for at least as long as the Tucumcearri deci-

sion and probably before that because of its logic. I don’t

think there is any argument that the system is going to

survive in the way in which it becomes consolidated with

the Soo and a much more viable transportation entity than

it would under a consolidation with the Chicago & North

Western Railroad.

You can see that, again, from the other map, which has

the Soo property at the top in blue and the Milwaukee

property in brown at the bottom. There are very few

places where there is any parallel excess trackage. The

ICC found that the Soo would not have to abandon any

of its trackage in order to operate the Milwaukee

property.

Now, what is the matter

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.