Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Universal City Studios, Inc. v. Nintendo Co.

Supreme Court brief1986

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

)) Supreme 7 —f

hg a ae -

6-

oe 590 | wm

JOSEPH F. SPANTOC, ae.

| HSER CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

>

UNIVERSAL CITY STUDIOS, INC.,

Petitioner,

—against—

NINTENDO Co., LTD. AND NINTENDO OF AMERICA, INC.,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Of Counsel: MICHAEL W. SCHWARTZ*

WACHTELL, LIPTON, ROSEN

& KATZ

299 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10171

(212) 371-9200

Counsel for Petitioner

J. THOMAS MCCARTHY Universal City Studios, Inc.

University of San Francisco

Law School

2130 Fulton Street

San Francisco, California 94117

(415) 666-6517 *Counsel of Record

LAURENCE H. TRIBE

1525 Massachusetts Avenue

Griswold Hall, 307

Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138

(617) 495-1767

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit upheld an

attorney’s fee award against petitioner of more than $1.1

million, and hundreds of thousands of dollars more in pur-

ported state law punitive damages. The sole premise for these

sanctions was petitioner’s assertion of a federal statutory claim

of trademark infringement. The claim was asserted on advice

of counsel, and was supported by substantial prior authority—

including a prior federal court judgment expressly adjudicating

the rights of petitioner’s predecessor-in-interest.

The massive award of sanctions was upheld by the Second

Circuit without a threshold determination that petitioner’s

legal position lacked arguable legal merit, or was frivolous, or

without foundation. Nor, despite the sheer magnitude of the

fee award, was there any determination that the amount of the

fee was reasonable; indeed, respondents offered no evidence of

reasonableness. The purported state law damage award was

upheld only because of an apparently deliberate refusal by the

Second Circuit to follow, or even consider, the most recent

decision by the highest court of New York declaring applicable

state law.

The questions presented by this petition are these:

1. Whether, before awarding attorney’s fees to a prevail-

ing defendant, a federal court must specifically deter-

mine that the plaintiff’s federal claim was frivolous

or without foundation, as many of the Circuits have

required, or whether the fees of a prevailing defen-

dant can be shifted to the plaintiff without such a

determination, as the Second Circuit permitted be-

low?

2. Whether a federal court can award more than $1.1

million in attorney’s fees to a prevailing defendant

without making any determination, or hearing any

evidence, that the amount of the award is reasonable?

ii

ETE SSP

3. Whether a federal court can impose purported state

law tort damages, including punitive damages, while

refusing even to consider the most recent, and

seemingly controlling, ruling of the highest court of

the state concerning applicable state law?

Parties to the Proceeding

Petitioner Universal City Studios, Inc. (“Universal”), a :

wholly-owned subsidiary of MCA Inc., a Delaware corpora- |

tion, was appellant-cross appellee in the court below.* Re-

spondents Nintendo Co., Ltd., a Japanese corporation, and its

wholly-owned subsidiary, Nintendo of America, Inc. (collec-

tively, “Nintendo”), were appellees-cross appellants in the

court below.

At AS I

x The following list of parents, subsidiaries and affiliates is supplied in

compliance with Rule 28.1 of this Court’s rules:

MCA Inc. Jove Publications, Inc.

MCA Videodisc, Inc. Coward-McCann, Inc.

MCA Home Video, Inc. Grosset & Dunlap, Inc.

MCA New Ventures, Inc. Richard Marek, Publishers, Inc.

MCA Records, Inc. Cineplex Odeon Corp.

MCA Distributing Corp. LJN Toys, Ltd.

MCA Television Ltd. Spencer Gifts, Inc.

Merchandising Corp. of America, Inc. Womphopper’s, Inc.

The Putnam Publishing Group, Inc. Yosemite Park and Curry Co.

Berkley Publishing Corp.

, |

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS*

PAGE

ie hye st hewies Ruben beads scee i

cS re il

ee ae saw ack hw Ue ee ee be Oe |

oS een ee 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE:

OE 8 ee 2

ee, WI IID cee tb ccseusecsece 4

Te) Le ee 5

2. The vacated Universal Judgment ........ 7

3. Universal’s purchase of Cooper’s rights .. 10

S, “EROMOY HOME once cass 2 SAE 1]

5. Universal’s Lanham Act litigation....... 12

6. The sanctions proceedings.............. 14

7. ‘tne Second Circuit’s opinion ........... 16

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT:

I. As respects the fee award (first and second ques-

tions presented):

A. The Second Circuit’s approach in imposing

sanctions conflicts with decisions of this and

ee cr clk ep yeas ka dex kek’ 18

: A separate appendix contains opinions of the courts below, statutes

cited herein and other materials.

iV

PAGE

B. The Second Circuit’s failure to require a spe-

cific finding of reasonableness conflicts with

prior rulings of this and other courts........ 21

C. The Second Circuit’s decision implicates other

important federal questions................ 23

Il. As respects the award of state law damages (third

question presented):

The Second Circuit has deliberately refused to

follow the highest court of New York........... 24

Ds te ee ee eh OR RRS 27

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: PAGE

Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v. Wilderness Society, 421

Ses ROE ok 3g Kv hoe od CRESS ee 18

Application of Mogen David Wine Corp., 328 F.2d 925

A cee: SUNG 4 Kao hw etek Ke ener e eae 7n

Arbrook, Inc. v. American Hospital Supply Corp., 645

ye ee Be Ee. |} RR rrp eet yn 20n

Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co. v. Hall, 453 U.S. 571

|) SR erare pr 177, RAMEE spe ROE kr miserge apr fee) 25n

Blau Plumbing, Inc. v. S.O.S. Fix-It, Inc., 781 F.2d 604

BUEN Gi PIE hk occ boo UN edie een ae eee en 20n

Blum v. Stenson, 465 U.S. 886 (1984)................ 21

Boeing Co. v. Van Gemert, 444 U.S. 472 (1980)....... 3

Broussard v. Southern Pacific Transp. Co., 625 F.2d

Fae Ce Ss Re ha vas hs KG ee 25, 26

Christiansburg Garment Co. v. EEOC, 434 U.S. 412

NOTE 32 55 Was SHER aed veo eae tee 3, 42

City of Riverside v. Rivera, ecu So

PO TR os ea tucndeaens sce es vane ca wieneyee 21n

Curiano v. Suozzi, 63 N.Y.2d 113, 480 N.Y.S.2d 466, 469

ee Be eer ees panera ener 18, 24-26&nn

Donovan v. City of Dallas, 377 U.S. 408 (1964)....... 25n

Edgar Rice Burroughs, Inc. v. Manns Theatres, 195

ee he ek Oe > a | pares ever 6n

Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938).... 25

F-D. Rich Co. v. United States, 417 U.S. 116 (1974) ... 18

vl

PAGE

Fleischmann Distilling Corp. v. Maier Brewing Co., 314

F.2d 149 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 374 U.S. 830 (1963). 8n

Frederick Warne & Co. v. Book Sales, Inc., 481 F. Supp.

PoE eE ES MOTE ui ch se KASAM CaN OR RRR ES On 6n, 7n

Guard-Life Corp. v. S. Parker Hardware Mfg. Corp.,

50 N.Y.2d 183, 428 N.Y.S.2d 628, 406 N.E.2d 445

AG Sa seek te eae aa wpas uae ea ce wesw kee 26&n

Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983) .......... 4, 21-22

International Olympic Committee v. San Francisco Arts

& Athletics, 781 F.2d 733 (9th Cir.), amended on other

grounds, 789 F.2d 1319 (9th Cir. 1986) ............. 22

Levi Strauss & Co. v. Blue Bell, Inc., 632 F.2d 817 (9th

SE Sk ow dee yee ne ee RMR cone eres ke 9n

Mennen Co. v. Gillette Co., 565 F. Supp. 648 (S.D.N.Y.

1983), aff'd mem., 742 F.2d 1437 (2d Cir. 1984) ..... 20n

Nash v. Florida Industrial Comm’n, 389 U.S. 235 (1967) 25n

Noxell Corp. v. Firehouse No. 1 Bar-B-Que Restaurant,

771 F.2d 521 (D.C. Cir.), rehearing en banc denied,

POE BE CIOs 0 bv b tenn che dudensde ewe‘ ck 19

Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley Citizens’ Council for

Clean Air, __. U.S. ___., 106 §. Ct. 3088 (1986)... 2in

Scotch Whiskey Ass’n v. Barton Distilling Co., 489 F.2d

SE Sle CETED Ui 2 x0 hos aoe ab eae oe 20n

Sealy, Inc. v. Easy Living, Inc., 743 F.2d 1378 (9th Cir.

Er rer a ene ihren ak ted eed eerie 22

Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Stiffel Co., 376 U.S. 225 (1964) 25n

Silverman v. CBS Inc., 632 F. Supp. 1344 (S.D.N.Y.

Sony Corp. v. Universal City Studios, Inc., 464 U.S. 417

SP ee err rt trees eo aie Are 6n

Vil

PAGE

Steak & Brew, Inc. v. Beef & Brew Restaurant, Inc., 370

fe Me Oe re 22n

Stevenson v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 713 F.2d 705 (Fed.

3 | rr a wan ear ee ern rare ee Fae 19

Tempo Communications, Inc. v. Columbian Art Works,

Inc., 223 U.S.P.Q. 721 (N.D. Ill. 1983), certification

of interlocutory appeal denied, No. 80 C 1709 (N.D.

Ill. Oct. 14, 1983) (available on LEXIS)............ 7n

The Trade-Mark Cases, 100 U.S. 82 (1879) ........... 6n

Truck Equipment Service Co. v. Fruehauf Corp., 536

F.2d 1210 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 861 (1976) 9n

Vandenbark v. Owens-Illinois Glass Co., 311 U.S. 538

DRESS REIN iar eri A Oa ake at nr Sk bell a gra ae 25

Vaughan v. Atkinson, 369 U.S. 527 (1962)............ 3

Warner Bros. Pictures v. Columbia Broadcasting Sys-

tem, 216 F.2d 945 (9th Cir. 1954), cert. denied, 348

Sos Pe Ms bc Pe KCe ean ake twee eae ees 6n

Zatarains, Inc. v. Oak Grove Smokehouse, Inc., 698

eg gk eR Ge eager era ee On

Zilg v. Prentice-Hall, Inc., 717 F.2d 671 (2d Cir. 1983),

curt. Genied, 466 US. Faw UFO) «occ ccc cccceses 26&n

STATUTES AND RULES:

Lanham Act

eg SB gS. oy . . nee mre 6n

Re ER Fae | Serer passim

Section Say, 35 US. OTIS)... 0 ce vec cas seis 12

Be De Se ee 5-6, 8n, 20

pg ES oe 2 Sa ee err ret eee re re sre 19

Vili

CONGRESSIONAL MATERIALS:

S. Rep. No. 1400, 93d Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in 1974

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 7132............ 19

OTHER MATERIALS:

ABA Section of Litigation, Sanctions: Rule 11 and

I a 3

R. Callman, The Law of Unfair Competition, Trade-

marks & Monopolies (4th ed. 1983)................ 9n

S. Kassim, An Empirical Study of Rule 11 Sanctions

(Wem@eral Jutecsel Center 1965) ook n om ok nk ecsnccn. 3

J. McCarthy, Trademarks and Unfair Competition (2d

OE, eA Scr ee 6n, 7n, 9n

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

a

ee

UNIVERSAL CITY STUDIOS, INC.,

Petitioner,

—against—

NINTENDO Co., LTD. AND NINTENDO OF AMERICA, INC.,

; Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

—~<_>—

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Universal respectfully prays that a writ of cer-

tiorari issue to review the judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Second Circuit entered in the above-entitled

proceeding on July 15, 1986.

Opinions Below

The Court of Appeals opinion which gives rise to this

petition is reported at 797 F.2d 70 (2d Cir. 1986), and reprinted

at pages Al-16 of the appendix hereto.’ The judgment of the

Court of Appeals is reprinted at Al14-15. The District Court

opinion is reported at 615 F. Supp. 838 (S.D.N.Y. 1985),

A65-113. Earlier opinions in this case are reported at 578 F.

] References to “A____” are to the separately-bound appendix to this

petition.

be

Supp. 911 (S.D.N.Y. 1983), A17-50, aff’d on appeal pursuant

to Rule 54(b), 746 F.2d 112 (2d Cir. 1984), A5S1-64.

Jurisdiction of this Court

Jurisdiction over this petition is conferred upon this Court

by 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Overview of the Case.

This petition seeks review of rulings by the Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit which subjected Universal—and expose

every federal court litigant—to capricious, retaliatory litigation

sanctions, unlimited as to amount. The Second Circuit’s deci-

sion invites a wholesale increase in “sanctions” litigation in the

federal courts, even where an unsuccessful claim cannot be

labeled frivolous or without foundation.

Universal was subjected to more than $1.5 million in attor-

ney’s fees and state law tort damages, including punitive

damages, for asserting Lanham Act claims of trademark viola-

tion. Universal had asserted trademark rights in the name and

character of the famous King Kong gorilla. It did so only after

receiving the advice of experienced trademark counsel that it

“was on firm ground to bring this complaint and this action.”

Universal’s claims were premised on a prior federal court

judgment declaring that its predecessor-in-interest owned “all

rights in and to” the name and character of King Kong. The

counsel whose advice it followed was fully familiar with the

complex litigation in which the prior judgment had been

entered. The sole basis for the award was Universal’s assertion

of rights, not any abuse of discovery or other post-complaint

misconduct.

The Second Circuit evidently took it for granted that the

federal courts should be conducting extensive collateral pro-

ceedings over “sanctions” even if it is not first specifically

found that a claim was frivolous or groundless. The Second

Circuit also evidently assumed that a federal court can award

every dollar in fees claimed by a prevailing defendant without

determining that the amounts were in any sense reasonable—

notwithstanding that the statute which supposedly permitted

the award (§ 35 of the Lanham Act) authorizes the shifting of

fees only in “exceptional” cases, and then only in a “reason-

able” amount.

The decision below merits this Court’s scrutiny because it is

part of a rapidly expanding area of federal court litigation—

what may generically be described as “sanctions” litigation—

which the rulings below threaten to expand beyond any

conceivable purpose. This proliferating “sanctions” litigation

arises under, inter alia, the 1983 amendments to Rule 11 of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure; the so-called “bad faith”

exception to the “American Rule” concerning attorney’s fees,

first recognized by this Court in Vaughan v. Atkinson, 369

U.S. 527 (1962); and, as in this case, certain of the fee award

statutes enacted by Congress. See, e.g., ABA Section of

Litigation, Sanctions: Rule 11 and Other Powers 3 (1986); S.

Kassim, An Empirical Study of Rule 11 Sanctions 6 (Federal

Judicial Center 1985); The New York Times, Oct. 2, 1986, at

D1, col. 3.

This Court has approved the imposition of sanctions where a

claim was “frivolous, unreasonable, or without foundation,”

while cautioning the lower courts against imposing sanctions

based on “hindsight logic.” Christiansburg Garment Co. v.

EEOC, 434 U.S. 412, 421-22 (1978). Members of this Court

have recognized that “a great deal of litigation” is being

spawned by attempts to shift attorney’s fees. See, e.g., Boeing

Co. v. Van Gemert, 444 U.S. 472, 483 (1980) (Rehnquist, J.,

dissenting). However, this Court has never had occasion to

decide whether or not a specific determination of frivolousness

or groundlessness must precede the imposition of sanctions.

In the absence of such a ruling from this Court, some of the

lower courts have required a prevailing defendant to establish

4

as a threshold matter that his adversary’s case was frivolous or

groundless before imposing sanctions, and have carefully scru-

tinized such claims. Some of the lower courts have also closely

scrutinized the amount of fee awards, consistent with the

principles announced by this Court in Hensley v. Eckerhart,

461 U.S. 424 (1983).

By contrast, the Second Circuit’s decision in this case—be-

cause it was not based on a specific finding of frivolousness,

and did not find the fee award reasonable—invites a second

trial on “sanctions” in every case. If Universal can be severely

sanctioned for not anticipating that a prior federal court

judgment which expressly awarded “a// rights in and to” King

Kong in fact awarded “no rights”—which is what the decision

below boils down to—a substantial increase in “sanctions”

litigation is inevitable. Moreover, the sheer magnitude of the

windfall financial bonanza which the Second Circuit permit-

ted—most of it under a statute expressly limited to “reason-

able” fees—encourages every prevailing litigant to “take a

flyer” on a “sanctions” application. The resulting increase in

collateral “sanctions” litigation would be wholly unjustifiable.

B. Factual Background.

The underlying litigation herein concerns the valuable com-

mercial right to control trademark exploitation of the famous

King Kong gorilla. The litigation turned on the interrelation-

ship of copyright and trademark principles as applied to a

prior federal court judgment in favor of Universal’s predeces-

sor-in-interest. Universal was severely sanctioned for assert-

ing—on the advice of counsel fully familiar with the litigation

leading to the prior judgment—that, under its terms, Universal

could claim trademark rights in the name and character of

King Kong. As will be explained, the Second Circuit’s affirm-

ance of sanctions rested on legal conclusions which were

contrary to substantial authority, including the District Court

in this very case; and which had the net effect of rendering the

core provisions of the prior federal court judgment a nullity.

1. The Cooper Judgment.

The prior federal court judgment (the “Cooper Judgment”)

was first entered in 1976 by the United States District Court for

the Central District of California (the “California Federal

Court”). A116-20. It resolved a long-standing dispute between

Major Richard Cooper and RKO General, Inc. (“RKO”) over

the ownership of tue King Kong property. Universal sued

below as Major Cooper’s transferee and successor-in-interest

under the Cooper Judgment.

It was Major Cooper’s father who created the name, charac-

ter and story of King Kong. The senior Cooper had licensed

RKO to make the famous 1933 movie, “King Kong.” In

purported reliance on this license, RKO went on to exploit

King Kong by marketing King Kong toys and other King Kong

products. A16-37.

The Cooper Judgment resolved in Cooper’s favor his con-

tention that these marketing activities were unauthorized by

the license. A116-20, 126, 128, 133-37. The Judgment declared

that Cooper, not RKO, owned “all rights in and to the use of

the name, character, and story ‘King Kong.’” A117. The

Judgment declared that, to the extent RKO had exploited King

Kong other than in making its licensed movie, it had done so as

a constructive trustee for Major Cooper. A118. It expressly

directed RKO to convey to Cooper all outstanding product

licenses, and to account to him for past profits. Al118-19.

The Cooper Judgment reserved to RKO only the copyright

in its 1933 movie (and in a little-known 1934 sequel). The

Second Circuit in this case ultimately held that RKO’s copy-

righted movie, and the copyrighted “re-make” released by

Dino De Laurentiis Corp. in 1976, “were irreconcilable with

the existence of any Universal trademark rights in King Kong,”

and that Universal “must have known” this. 797 F.2d at 76;

A9-10.

However, the Second Circuit cited no legal authority except

the statutory definition of “trademark” in § 45 of the Lanham

§

Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1127. It cited no authority holding or suggest-

ing that § 45, which specifically recognizes that a “name” or

“symbol” can constitute a trademark, means that a claim of

trademark in a popular name or character is precluded by

copyrighted movies.* To Universal’s knowledge—then and

now—there is no such authority, whatever Universal “must

have known.”*

The Second Circuit also read the Cooper Judgment as

determining that the senior Cooper’s original King Kong novel

had fallen into the public domain. 797 F.2d at 73; A3-5. This is

a copyright term of art meaning that the novel had lost

2 The text of § 45 is found at A179 of the appendix hereto.

3 The Second Circuit’s view of the relationship between copyright and

trademark is contrary to substantial authority. Thus:

1. There are “fundamental differences” between the purpose and

scope of copyright and trademark. Sony Corp. v. Universal City

Studios, Inc., 464 U.S. 417, 439 n.19 (1984). Copyright protects

original works for limited terms; trademark protects names or

symbols under which products are sold for indefinite terms. The

Trade-Mark Cases, 100 U.S. 82, 93-94 (1879); 1 J. McCarthy,

Trademarks and Unfair Competition § 6:1, at 147-48 (2d ed.

1984).

2. Fictional characters, such as King Kong, may be entitled to

separate protection (1) as copyrightable original works and (2)—

wholly apart from copyright—as trademarks that serve to identify

a product with a single source of origin. See, e.g., Silverman v.

CBS Inc., 632 F. Supp. 1344, 1350 (S.D.N.Y. 1986); Frederick

Warne & Co. v. Book Sales, Inc., 481 F. Supp. 1191, 1196-97

(S.D.N.Y. 1979).

3. A motion picture license does not give the licensee any further

interest in the name or character being licensed, or the right to

exclude the licensor from exploiting it. E.g., Warner Bros. Pictures

v. Columbia Broadcasting System, 216 F.2d 945 (9th Cir. 1954),

cert. denied, 348 U.S. 971 (1955). Motion picture licenses do not

preclude the licensor from being the “single source” which is

required for trademark. See, e.g., Edgar Rice Burroughs, Inc. v.

Manns Theatres, 195 U.S.P.Q. 159 (C.D. Cal. 1976); 15 U.S.C.

§ 1055. Indeed, this is precisely what the Cooper Judgment held

concerning RKO and King Kong.

copyright protection because the original copyright certificate

was not properly renewed under the Copyright Act of 1909.

The Second Circuit held that there is a fatal inconsistency

between public domain status of the novel—i.e., its loss of

copyright protection—and a claim of trademark under the

Cooper Judgment. Jd. at 78; Al3.

While elsewhere stating that this conclusion was “clear” (id.

at 73, A5), the Second Circuit cited no authority for it

anywhere. Yet the District Court had ruled precisely to the

contrary, recognizing that “even words that are in the public

domain may possess trademark significance.” 578 F. Supp.

911, 919, 926 n.6; A17,29, 42 n.6. Remarkable as it may seem,

the Second Circuit did not even mention this District Court

ruling, or the authority on which it was based.*

2. The Vacated Universal Judgment.

Apart from its confusion of copyright and trademark princi-

ples, the Second Circuit’s highly restrictive construction ‘of the

Cooper Judgment was based on a misreading of the California

Federal Court record. That misreading, and its supposed

bearing on this case, were announced for the first time when

the Second Circuit affirmed the sanctions award. Once again,

the Second Circuit ruled contrary to a ruling of the District

Court. Once again, the District Court’s contrary ruling was not

mentioned by the Second Circuit.

4 Prior authority on this public domain/trademark issue supports the

District Court and Universal—not the Second Circuit and Nintendo. Indeed,

every lower court case of which we are aware is contrary to the Second

Circuit: “Simply stated, the expiration of a copyright or a patent does not ©

bar an action under the Lanham Act for trademark infringement.” Tempo

Communications, Inc. v. Columbian Art Works, Inc., 223 U.S.P.Q. 721

(N.D. Ill. 1983), certification of interlocutory appeal denied, No. 80 C 1709

(N.D. Ill. Oct. 14,1983) (available on LEXIS). Accord Application of Mogen

David Wine Corp., 328 F.2d 925, 930 (C.C.P.A. 1964); Frederick Warne &

Co. v. Book Sales Inc., 481 F. Supp. 1191, 1196-97 (S.D.N.Y. 1979). It is

simply a “non-sequitur” to equate public domain status for copyright

purposes with a lack of trademark status. 1 J. McCarthy, supra, Trademarks

and Unfair Competition § 6:1, at 148.

8

The California litigation had begun when Universal sued

RKO, claiming that it, not Dino De Laurentiis, was entitled to

produce a “re-make” of “King Kong.” These claims were

decided in Universal’s favor, and gave rise to a judgment (the

“Universal Judgment”). A141-61. However, RKO, De Lauren-

tiis and Universal ultimately settled all issues among them.

Universal permitted De Laurentiis to make its movie, and

Universal received a substantial share of its profits. Upon

being apprised of the settlement, the Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit vacated the Universal and Cooper Judgments.

A162-65. The Cooper Judgment was later reinstated by the

California Federal Court, in 1981; however, the Universal

Judgment was never reinstated. A116-20, 138-40.

The District Court in this case rejected a variety of claims by

Nintendo based on the vacated Universal Judgment, including

the claim that that judgment “survived” in the Cooper Judg-

ment. 578 F. Supp. 911, 919-21; A28-32. The Second Circuit,

however, held that a vacated finding of fact which accompa-

nied the vacated Universal Judgment defeated any claim of

trademark under the separate, unvacated Cooper Judgment.

According to the Second Circuit—in a “construction” of the

Cooper Judgment first announced in affirming the award of

sanctions—“Cooper plainly did not obtain any trademark

rights in his judgment against RKO, since the California

district court specifically found that King Kong had no second-

ary meaning.” 797 F.2d at 76; Al1.° Based on this statement of

what the California Federal Court “specifically found,” the

Second Circuit held that, “If anyone knew what the law was on

this point”—i.e., on the point of secondary meaning— “under

the facts of this case, it was Universal”; and that, despite the

5 “Secondary meaning” is a trademark term of art meaning identifica-

tion of a trademark with a single source of origin for the goods or services

sold under the mark. The consuming public does not have to know the

identity of the source. It can be “anonymous.” 15 U.S.C. § 1127; Fleisch-

mann Distilling Corp. v. Maier Brewing Co., 314 F.2d 149, 155 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied, 374 U.S. 830 (1963).

9

broad “all rights” language of the Cooper Judgment, Cooper

owned only “[pjerhaps ... some undefined ‘merchandising

rights.’ ” Id. at 75, 76; A9, 11.

But the California Federal Court demonstrably had made no

finding that King Kong could not have secondary meaning. Its

only “secondary meaning” finding was that RKO had offered

no evidence on the issue: “There is no evidence that the title

‘King Kong’ has a secondary meaning by which the public [in

1976] identifies such title with RKO or the Motion Picture.”

A159.

Hence, ai/ the California Court had ever found was that

RKO had failed to prove that there was secondary meaning, in

1976, in the title of its 1933 movie. That finding, later vacated,

did not even purport to decide what secondary meaning there

might be in the King Kong name or character, then or thereaf-

ter. It did not decide what ruling might result from actual

contested litigation of the secondary meaning issue. Nor, since

it was made in 1976, could it have decided what secondary

meaning might have been generated after 1976 by the highly

successful release of the Dino De Laurentiis re-make in that

year, and the extensive trademark licensing of King Kong

products in 1976 and thereafter. De Laurentiis acknowledged

that Universal was “fully entitled to exploit [that] goodwill.”

A169.

Accordingly, there was no basis for the Second Circuit’s

statements that, when the present case arose, in 1982, Univer-

sal or its counsel “knew” from this vacated finding that “the

law” was that the King Kong name and character could not

have secondary meaning. To the contrary, given what the

California Court had actually done—i.e., treated “secondary

meaning” as a matter of evidentiary dispute—Universal

“knew” no more than that secondary meaning was a factual

matter, which a finder of fact might resolve one way or

another.°

6 It is familiar law that secondary meaning is an intensely factual

question turning on factual issues of public perceptions and consumer

10

3. Universal’s Purchase of Cooper’s Rights.

Universal purchased all of Major Cooper’s rights under the

Cooper Judgment shortly after it was entered. Universal paid

more than $200,000 for these rights.

Thereafter, Universal was consistently recognized by all

members of the entertainment industry knowledgeable about

King Kong as having the sole right to license any commercial

exploitation of King Kong, including trademark uses. For

example, Paramount Pictures Corp., which had been Dino De

Laurentiis’ trademark licensing agent, recognized Universal as

“the licensing source for products and services sold under the

King Kong name and character. . . [emphasis added].” A176.

Notwithstanding the Second Circuit’s view that Universal

trademark rights were “irreconcilable with” RKO’s rights,

RKO too recognized Universal’s rights. Indeed, RKO actually

confirmed to Universal that Universal’s trademark claims

against Nintendo—i.e., the claims involved in this very ac-

tion—did not invade RKO’s retained rights. A177.’

Contrary to statements by the Second Circuit on the point,

797 F.2d at 73, AS, Universal conducted itself as a trademark

proprietor following its purchase of Cooper’s rights, consistent

with the industry-wide understanding that it was “the licensing

source.” The uncontradicted record showed that Universal

issued King Kong trademark licenses, warned others against

practices. See, e.g., Zatarains, Inc. v. Oak Grove Smokehouse, Inc., 698

F.2d 786, 794-96 (Sth Cir. 1983); Levi Strauss & Co. v. Blue Bell, Inc. 632:

F.2d 817, 821 (9th Cir. 1980); 3 R. Callman, The Law of Unfaii Competition,

Trademarks & Monopolies § 19.27 (4th ed. 1983). Secondary meaning may

exist at one time or in one area, and not in another. See, e.g., Truck

Equipment Service Co. v. Fruehauf Corp. , 536 F.2d 1210, 1221-22 (8th Cir.),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 861 (1976); see generally 1 & 2 J. McCarthy, supra,

Trademarks and Unfair Competition chs. 17, 26.

7 To be sure, Universal had to respect RKO’s (and Dino De Lauren-

tiis’) copyright rights. But neither RKO nor De Laurentiis regarded Univer-

sal’s trademark, or its claims against Nintendo, as “irreconcilable with” their

copyrights. A177, 169.

11

licensing uses of King Kong, and invested substantial sums in a

proposed “King Kong” motion picture, which would have

generated still additional trademark licensing revenues. It also

spent millions of dollars to build a “King Kong” attraction at

its Universal Studio Tour amusement park in Los Angeles.*

4. “Donkey Kong.”

Beginning in 1981, Nintendo manufactured and licensed a

videogame which depicted a giant gorilla on top of a large

building holding a heroine whom a rescuer tries to reach.

Nintendo called its videogame, and the gorilla character which

was its star, “Donkey Kong.” The gorilla character, the story

context in which it was used, and the name “Kong” all

obviously evoked King Kong.’ Nonetheless, Nintendo mar-

keted and licensed “Donkey Kong” without attempting to

obtain Major Cooper’s or Universal’s permission.

When Universal learned of “Donkey Kong,” it consulted its

regular intellectual property counsel, Stephen A. Kroft, as to

whether the game violated Universal’s rights. Kroft had repre-

sented Universal in the California Federal Court litigation

which produced the Cooper Judgment and the vacated Univer-

sal Judgment. He was fully familiar with the complex litigation

context in which the Cooper Judgment had been entered. Kroft

advised Universal that “it was on firm ground” to assert

Lanham Act claims against “Donkey Kong.”

8 Contrary to another statement by the Second Circuit, to the effect

that Universal never created an “image of King Kong” different from the

movie images, 797 F.2d at 76, Al0, Universal’s Studio Tour attraction—a

tram car ride past a gigantic articulated figure of the ape—obviously did

involve Universal’s creation of its own “image of King Kong.” Universal’s

proposed motion picture—which was ultimately scrapped when its producer

was incapacitated by a serious heart attack—would also have involved

another “image of King Kong.”

9 Cooper’s original character was named “Kong.” He was called

“King Kong” because of the majestic qualities suggested by the story. There

is no donkey in “Donkey Kong.”

12

Before bringing suit, Universal attempted to settle the

“Donkey Kong” matter with Nintendo and with Nintendo’s

most important licensee, Coleco Industries, Inc. (“Coleco”).

Coleco, advised by its own experienced trademark counsel,

acknowledged Universal’s claim of King Kong rights by agree-

ing to pay a substantial royalty in return for Universal’s

covenant not to bring suit against it. Nintendo, however, did

not settle.'°

5. Universal’s Lanham Act Litigation.

Universal brought suit against Nintendo in the United States

District Court for the Southern District of New York. It alleged

that it held a valid trademark in the name King Kong, and

variants thereof, in conjunction with the symbol of a gigantic

ape. It alleged that “Donkey Kong” was trading on the

goodwill associated with this name and character in violation

of § 43(a) of the Lanham Act (and analogous state law).

Universal alleged the derivation of its rights through the prior

Cooper Judgment, and its agreement with RKO settling the

California Court litigation between them."’

After it sued Nintendo, Universal continued to pursue settle-

ments of its “Donkey Kong” claims, sometimes successfully,

sometimes not. The Second Circuit ultimately held that this

conduct was “tortious” under New York law, and established

that Universal was in “bad faith,” because Universal did not

10 Coleco later sought to capitalize on Nintendo’s litigation success

against Universal by bringing an action to undo its settlement agreement.

Coleco Industries, Inc. v. Universal City Studios, Inc. 84 Civ. 2596

(S.D.N.Y., filed April 12, 1984). That action is presently pending in ihe

District Court.

11 Given the Second Circuit’s focus on RKO’s copyright rights, and on

the “public domain” status of Cooper’s original novel, it should also be

emphasized that Universal did nor allege any infringement of copyright—its

own, or Cooper’s, or RKO’s or anyone else’s. Federal jurisdiction was based

on the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1121, on 28 U.S.C. § 1338, and on

principles of pendent jurisdiction.

13

seek “definitive adjudication” of its claims. 797 F.2d at 75, 76;

A8, 10. The court offered no reason why “definitive adjudica-

tions” are preferable to negotiated settlements. Nor did it

recognize that Universal—no less than Nintendo—expended

very large sums to obtain a “definitive adjudication” in this

very case.

After discovery, Nintendo moved for summary judgment. In

its first opinion herein, the District Court granted the motion

on three grounds: 1) that the Cooper Judgment “did not

successfully transfer RKO’s trademark rights to Cooper” be-

cause the Judgment was an impermissible “assignment in

gross”; 2) that the Cooper Judgment, by recognizing RKO’s

movie copyright, had impermissibly “split up” the rights in

King Kong, depriving King Kong of “secondary meaning” as a

matter of law; and 3) that, also as a matter of law, there was

no “likelihood of trademark confusion” between “Donkey

Kong” and King Kong. 578 F. Supp. 911 (S.D.N.Y. 1983);

A17-50.

The District Court did not hold that Universal’s claims were

frivolous or groundless. It did not hold that any of the vacated

findings of the California Federal Court precluded Universal’s

present claims. To the contrary, it rejected Nintendo’s argu-

ment that the vacated Universal Judgment “survived” in the

Cooper Judgment. 578 F. Supp. at 919; A29. It also rejected

Nintendo’s argument that public domain status of the King

Kong novel precluded a trademark, stating that “even words

thai are in the public domain may possess trademark signifi-

cance.” Id. at 919, 926 n.6; A29, 42 n.6.

On appeal, the first in this case, the Second Circuit affirmed

on the trademark confusion issue only. 746 F.2d 112 (2d Cir.

1984); A5S1-64. It expressly declined to reach the District

Court’s “assignment in gross” theory, or its ruling that RKO’s

derivative copyright precluded a showing of secondary mean-

ing for trademark purposes. Jd. at 115; A55. It did not hold

that Universal’s claims were frivolous or groundless. Its opin-

ion contained not a hint that the issue of secondary meaning

14

had been definitively resolved against Universal’s position by

the vacated finding of the California Federal Court. Nor did its

opinion hold or suggest that public domain considerations

precluded a trademark. The Second Circuit first announced

those views in affirming the award of sanctions, on the second

appeal herein.'”

6. The Sanctions Proceedings.

The District Court then proceeded to hold a week-long trial

on Nintendo’s claim that Universal should be subject to attor-

ney’s fees and damages, including punitive damages, for hav-

ing asserted trademark claims. It awarded Nintendo nearly

$1.5 million in attorney’s fees and damages. 615 F. Supp. 838

(S.D.N.Y. 1985); A65-113. Of this amount, $1,142,545.70

consisted of attorney’s fees for defending against Universal’s

complaint, $222,498.28 consisted of non-recoverable other

“costs,” and $94,219.41 consisted of compensatory damages."

The District Court based its rulings on 1) Section 35 of the

Lanham Act, which authorizes “reasonable” fees in “excep-

tional” cases, 2) Rule 11 of the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-

dure, and 3) New York law of “tortious interference with

contract” and punitive damages."

12 It should also be noted that the Second Circuit’s trademark confu-

sion holding on the first appeal was nor the basis for the award of sanctions

affirmed on the second appeal. At vo time, in any of the proceedings in this

case, did the courts below hold that Universal’s position on the trademark

confusion issue was frivolous or groundless. As explained below, the sole

basis on which Universal was sanctioned was for asserting that the Cooper

Judgment gave Cooper—and therefore Universal as his successor—the right

to assert trademark claims relating to King Kong.

13 The sum of these figures, $1,459,263.39, together with interest

accruing prior to issuance of the mandate by the Second Circuit ($96,594.20),

totaled $1,555,857.59.

14.‘ The District Court’s Rule 11 ruling, which was not reached or

affirmed by the Second Circuit, 797 F.2d at 77, Ai2, rested on Rule 11 as it

existed prior to the 1983 amendments thereto, Universal having brought suit

in 1982. In that pre-amendment version, Rule 1: permitted sanctions only

—

15

The District Court made no express finding that Universal’s

trademark claims were groundless or without foundation.

Rather, it held that Universal “knew” it had “no rights” in

King Kong. The basis for this ruling was evidence showing—as

indeed was true—that Universal recognized RKO’s and De

Laurentiis’ derivative copyrights in the “visual representa-

tions” of King Kong contained in their movies. The District

Court held that Universal’s recognition of these copyrights

proved that Universal knew it could not claim a trademark in

King Kong. It did not even mention the undisputed evidence

that neither RKO, nor De Laurentiis, nor Paramount held any

such view. A177, 169, 176."

The District Court also held that Universal was not entitled

to rely on the advice of its counsel, Kroft—the stated reason

being that Kroft had not been called as a trial witness. The

Court therefore disregarded Kroft’s advice that Universal was

“on firm ground” to bring suit, as a Universal witness had

testified without objection. The Court also criticized Universal

for not producing Kroft’s “research or memoranda analyzing

the claim.” 615 F. Supp. at 846-47, 862; A78, 108. It cited no

authority for these hoidings.

The District Court made no determination that the amount

of the award was reasonable. Indeed, Nintendo had offered no

evidence as to the reasonableness of more than $1.3 million in

attorney’s fees and costs for legal services which involved only

discovery and a summary judgment motion. Nintendo had

against a lawyer who signed a pleading in subjective bad faith. However, the

District Court made no finding that Universal’s trial counsel—a different

lawyer than its iniellectual property counsel—had acted in bad faith in

signing Universal’s complaint. To the contrary, it repeatedly praised the

highly professional conduct of trial counsel. E.g., 615 F. Supp. at 841; A66;

578 F. Supp. at 914; Al9.

15 The District Court did not hold that the vacated findings of the

California Federal Court precluded Universal’s claims. The District Court

also did not retreat from its earlier view that “words in the public domain

may possess trademark significance.”

16

offered only a single question and answer as to the gross

amount of its claimed fees and costs. The District Court

apparently was content with this record as the basis for its fee

award—although to Universal’s knowledge it is the largest of

its kind ever made.

The District Court’s award of punitive and actual damages

rested on its view that New York law permitted treating

“wrongful civil litigation” as a species of “tortious interference

with contract.” 615 F. Supp. at 860-63; A104-10. It held that

Universal’s conduct in suing Nintendo, and in sending demand

letters based on that litigation to certain of Nintendo’s li-

censees, was actionable under New York law. It held that New

York law would permit punitive as well as compensatory

damages therefor. 615 F. Supp. at 863; A109-10.

7. The Second Circuit’s Opinion.

The Second Circuit affirmed the award of sanctions. 797

F.2d 70 (2d Cir. 1986); Al-16. In an opinion by Senior District

Judge Charles E. Metzner, sitting by designation, it held that:

1) RKO’s 1933 “King Kong” movie, and Dino De Laurentiis’

1976 “re-make,” “were irreconcilable with the existence of any

Universal trademark rights in King Kong,” and that Universal

“must have known” this; 2) that “public domain” copyright

status of the original King Kong novel made it “clear” that

Major Cooper, and therefore Universal as his successor, “did

not hold any trademark rights against the world in King Kong”

but only “perhaps ... some undefined ‘merchandising

rights’ ”; and 3) that Universal had “successfully” established

before the California Federal Court that the “law” was that

King Kong could not have secondary meaning, and that Uni-

versal “knew what the law was” on this point. 797 F.2d at 73,

75-76 & n.3, 78; A3-5, 9-11 & n.3, 13.

The Second Circuit, like the District Court, made no express

determination that Universal’s trademark claims were ground-

less or without foundation. In construing the Cooper Judg-

ment, it did not cite any legal authority disregarded by

17

Universal. Indeed, apart from the statutory definition of

“trademark,” it cited no authority at all. It did not mention

that the District Court had rejected the same public domain

argument which it was accepting. It took no note of the fact

that the District Court had also rejected Nintendo’s argument

that the vacated Universal Judgment “survived” in the Cooper

Judgment. It did not mention the industry-wide recognition of

Universal’s rights.

Like the District Court, the Second Circuit held that Univer-

sal could not rely on the advice of its counsel that it was “on

firm ground” to bring suit, because it had not called him as a

trial witness. Like the District Court, it cited no authority for

the proposition that advice of counsel can only be proved by

putting counsel himself on the stand. 797 F.2d at 76-77; Al1.'°

The Second Circuit allowed the $1.1 million fee portion of

the award to stand solely on the authority of Section 35 of the

Lanham Act; it did not reach the District Court’s alternative

Rule 11 or punitive damage theories as to this sum. 797 F.2d at

77; Al2. Like the District Court, it made no determination that

$1.1 million in fees was reasonable here, although Section 35 is

expressly limited to “reasonable” fees in “exceptional” cases.

It did not seem to realize that this is apparently the largest

award of its kind ever made.

The Second Circuit upheld the remainder of the award on

the theory that New York law permitted some $94,000 in actual

damages, and $222,000 in punitive damages, to be awarded for

16 _ Also like the District Court, the Court of Appeals drew an unspeci-

fied “adverse inference” against Universal for not calling counsel as a

witness. See 797 F.2d at 76-77; All. However, as Universal had shown on its

motion for a partial new trial—which went entirely unmentioned by the

Second Circuit—there was and is no basis for this “adverse inference.”

Kroft’s professional expertise was undisputed, as was his intimate familiarity

with the California Court litigation. And neither Court below suggested a

reason why Universal had to call him to testify that he gave advice which a

Universal witness had already testified, without objection, Universal had

received.

18

“tortious interference with contract” by means of litigation. Its

punitive damage reasoning was directly based on its unsup-

ported holding that public domain status of the King Kong

novel precluded a trademark in King Kong. 797 F.2d at 78;

Al3. Again, it did not mention that the District Court had

rejected this same public domain argument.

In affirming the state law damage awards, the Second

Circuit failed to follow, distinguish, or even cite a 1984 opinion

of the New York Court of Appeals, that state’s highest court,

which was prominently called to the attention of the Second

Circuit, and which squarely holds that wrongful use of civil

proceedings is actionable only where abuse of process or

malicious prosecution occurs. Curiano v. Suozzi, 63 N.Y.2d

113, 480 N.Y.S.2d 466, 469 N.E.2d 1324 (1984). Neither of

these torts was even alleged by Nintendo. The Second Circuit

purported to rely, instead, on dicta in one of its own prior

interpretations of New York law, and in an earlier New York

case. 797 F.2d at 75; A8.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. As respects the fee award (first and second questions

presented):

A. The Second Circuit’s approach in imposing sanctions

conflicts with decisions of this and other courts.

It is axiomatic that an award of attorney’s fees or other

sanctions to a prevailing defendant is not justifiable merely

because the plaintiff lost. That is the very core of the ‘‘Ameri-

can Rule’’ respecting attorney’s fees, to which this Court has

consistently adhered. E.g., Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v.

Wilderness Society, 421 U.S. 240 (1975); F.D. Rich Co. v.

United States, 417 U.S. 116, 126-31 (1974).

The legislative history of Section 35 of the Lanham Act, the

fee award provision on which the Second Circuit relied, makes

it unmistakably clear that Congress was authorizing fee awards

to prevailing defendants only for the purpose of penalizing

19

- “unfounded”’ claims. S. Rep. No. 1400, 93d Cong., 2d Sess.,

reprinted in 1974 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 7132,

7136. There is not the slightest indication that Congress in-

tended to discourage non-frivolous litigation. To the contrary,

“‘enforcement of trademark rights is left to the trademark

owners and they should, in the interest of preventing purchaser

confusion, be encouraged to enforce trademark rights.”’ Id.

(emphasis added).

It would seem essential, therefore, that any award of Section

35 fees to a prevailing defendant be preceded by a careful

determination that the losing party’s claim was ‘‘unfounded.”’

And, indeed, some of the Circuits have required just that.

Thus, a proper inquiry was made in Noxell Corp. v. Fire-

house No. | Bar-B-Que Restaurant, 771 F.2d 521 (D.C. Cir.)

(Scalia, Ginsburg and Wald, Circuit Judges), rehearing en

banc denied, 774 F.2d 1180 (1985). The D.C. Circuit there

sustained an award of Section 35 fees to a Lanham Act

defendant only after a painstaking analysis demonstrating that

the plaintiff had disregarded controlling precedent from this

Court in laying venue 3,000 miles away from the defendant’s

home district. Because the choice of venue was therefore

unfounded, the D.C. Circuit held that the case was appropriate

for an award of fees under Section 35."’

Likewise, the Federal Circuit in Stevenson v. Sears, Roebuck

& Co., 713 F.2d 705 (Fed. Cir. 1983), a case arising under the

identically-worded fee provision in the patent law (35 U.S.C.

§ 285), held that a fee award to a prevailing defendant was not

appropriate even where the plaintiff was relitigating issues

previously lost and reduced to judgment. The Coutt rejected a

claim for fees where there was an argument not “entirely

17 Judge Wald’s dissent took a narrower view of Section 35 than

Judges Ginsburg and Scalia. Judge Wald.believed that it was not enough that

choice of venue was groundless.

20

devoid of merit’’ that collateral estoppel should not apply, an

argument it analyzed with care. 713 F.2d at 713."°

The decision of the Second Circuit below stands in sharpest

contrast to the careful analyses in the opinions just described.

The Second Circuit made no determination that Universal’s

reading of the Cooper Judgment was ‘‘unfounded.’’ Its per-

functory resolutions of issues concerning the interrelationship

of copyright and trademark reflect profound confusion over

the differences between them, and are almost certainly wrong.

See pp. 5-9 & nn.3-6, supra. It decided issues contrary to the

District Court without recognizing that it was doing so—much

less confronting the fact that Universal’s positions could

hardly be actionably frivolous if the District Court had agreed

with them. It cited no authorities except § 45 of the Lanham

Act, which it apparently misread. It misread the California

Federal Court record. It disparaged the advice Universal re-

ceived from a lawyer fully familiar with that record, based on

its own misreading of that record."

Fundamentally, the Second Circuit was led into error be-

cause it did not feel obiiged to, and did not, specifically

18 Also under the patent statute, the Fifth Circuit has held that fees

should not be awarded to a prevailing defendant unless the invalidity of the

plaintiff’s claims ‘‘should have been obvious to all parties all along.”’

Arbrook, Inc. v. American Hospital Supply Corp., 645 F.2d 273, 279 (Sth

Cir. 1981). The Seventh Circuit, in Blau Plumbing, Inc. v. S.O.S. Fix-It,

Inc., 781 F.2d 604, 612 (7th Cir. 1986), states that frivolousness or ‘‘an even

more demanding standard’’ applies under Section 35. (The Seventh Circuit

case cited by the Second Circuit here, Scotch Whisky Ass’n v. Barton

Distilling Co., 489 F.2d 809 (7th Cir. 1973), cited at 797 F.2d 77, Al2, was

decided two years before Section 35 was even enacted by Congress, and

denied an award of fees under the ‘‘bad faith’’ exception to the American

Rule.)

19‘ The principal authority cited by the Second Circuit for its conclusion

that this was an appropriate case for sanctions, Mennen Co. v. Gillette Co.,

565 F. Supp. 648 (S.D.N.Y. 1983), aff’d mem., 742 F.2d 1437 (2d Cir. 1984),

cited at 797 F.2d 77, A12, involved a specific finding that the plaintiff’s case

had ‘‘no real substance,’’ where the plaintiff had actually eliminated the

claimed ‘‘trademavk’’ from its products. 565 F. Supp. at 653, 657.

21

determine that Universal’s legal position was frivolous or

groundless. It could not have done so. It could hardly have

condemned as actionably frivolous or groundless legal posi-

tions with which the District Court had expressly agreed. It

would have had to consider the industry-wide recognition of

Universal’s trademark rights. And, guided by the correct legal

standard, the Second Circuit would have had to confront the

ultimate irony of its position—that under its novel views of the

interrelationship of copyright and trademark law, the clear

language of the Cooper sai Stating that Cooper owned

“‘all rights in and to the use of the name, character, and the

story ‘King Kong’ ’’ reduced to the triviality that Cooper

owned nothing except ‘‘perhaps . . . some undefined ‘mer-

chandising rights.’ ’’ In other words, ‘‘a// rights’? meant ‘‘no

rights.’’ 3

The Second Circuit was gravely wrong in treating this

complex case as an appropriate one for the award of sanctions.

Its decision invites a wholesale increase in ‘‘sanctions’’ litiga-

tion for no conceivable meritorious reason. See pp. 2-4, supra.

B. The Second Circuit’s failure to require a specific

finding of reasonableness conflicts with prior rulings

of this and other courts.

In Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983), this Court

held that a prevailing plaintiff seeking a fee award under 42

U.S.C. § 1988 has the affirmative burden of establishing that

the amount he seeks is reasonable. Jd. at 437. See also Blum v.

Stenson, 465 U.S. 886, 898-900 (1984).”°

Section 35 of the Lanham Act, like § 1988, expressly re-

quires that a fee award be ‘‘reasonable.’’ However, in this

20 This Court gave further consideration to the issue last Term in City

of Riverside v. Rivera, U.S. ___., 106 S. Ct. 2686 (1986); and in

Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley Citizens’ Council for Clean Air, ___ U.S.

____, 106 S. Ct. 3088 (1986). The second of these cases has been restored to

the argument docket for this Term, 106 S. Ct. at 3100, 3331, for considera-

tion of whether a fee award to a prevailing plaintiff may be ‘‘multiplied’’ or

otherwise enhanced to reflect the risk of loss.

22

case, the lower courts made no determination that the

$1,142,545.70 in attorney’s fees awarded Nintendo under Sec-

tion 35 was reasonable. Indeed, although it was seeking what is

apparently the largest award of its kind ever made, Nintendo

offered no evidence beyond the gross amount of the claimed

fees. It did not even offer evidence of the hours spent or rates

charged, much less of the exercise of ‘‘billing judgment”’ called

for by Hensley.

There is no conceivable reason why fee-shifting in favor of a

prevailing defendant should be governed by any /esser standard

than fee-shifting in favor of a prevailing plaintiff. If anything,

fees to a prevailing defendant should be much more strictly

limited, since the plaintiff is ‘‘the chosen instrument of Con-

gress’’ to vindicate federal policy. Christiansburg Garment Co.

v. EEOC, 434 U.S. 412, 418 (1978)."

Courts other than the Second Circuit have subjected the

amounts of fee requests under Section 35 to exacting scrutiny.

See, e.g., International Olympic Committee v. San Francisco

Arts & Athletics, 781 F.2d 733, 739 (9th Cir.), amended on

other grounds, 789 F.2d 1319 (9th Cir. 1986); Sealy, Inc. v.

Easy Living, Inc., 743 F.2d 1378, 1385 (9th Cir. 1984). The

failure of the Second Circuit to require any scrutiny of the

amount of Nintendo’s request—apparently the largest of its

kind ever made—merits this Court’s review independently of

the Second Circuit’s errors in permitting any fee award at all.

21 Indeed, it is well-settled that the very nature of a trademark

necessitates vigilant enforcement. As was recognized in one of the cases

relied on by the Second Circuit, 797 F.2d at 77, Al2, a trademark owner

*‘must actively defend a mark or risk abandonment.”’ Steak & Brew, Inc. v.

Beef & Brew Restaurant, Inc., 370 F. Supp. 1030, 1038 (S.D. Ill. 1974). The

court therefore denied any award of fees to the prevailing defendant.

23

C. The Second Circuit’s decision implicates other im-

portant federal questions.

Beyond the correct application of Section 35, itself an

important federal question, petitioner submits that this case

implicates other and larger federal questions as well. Section

35, which is expressly limited to “exceptional” cases, and

further expressly limited to “reasonable” fees, is one of the

most limited fee award statutes. If, as held below, it is

nonetheless triggered without a threshold determination of

groundlessness—even where the advice of expert counsel has

been sought and obtained—the proliferation of unjustified

“sanctions” claims under other, more /iberal fee statutes, is all

but a certainty. If, on top of this, a successful “sanctions”

motion has a $1.5 million pay-off—even under a statute

expressly limited to “reasonable” fees—the federal courts have

gone into the lottery business.

Assuming, arguendo, that Congress could expressly author-

ize unreasonable fee awards in non-frivolous cases, it ought

nonetheless to be a consistent canon of construction that such

an intention is not presumed; and that, absent express Con-

gressional authorization, prevailing defendants are not entitled

to.fees unless it is specifically found

a. that a claim or defense was without arguable legal

merit, /.e., frivolous, and

b. that the sanction imposed is reasonable.

By this standard, the decision below must be reversed, and

Nintendo’s claims for sanctions dismissed. The Second Cir

cuit’s conclusory assertion that Universal was in “bad faith” —

where that term does not embrace a threshold determination of

frivolousness or groundlessness—is not remotely an adequate

premise for the imposition of sanctions.

This is all the more true given that the Second Circuit based

its “bad faith” holding on Universal’s efforts to settle its

“Donkey Kong” claims. 797 F.2d at 75-76; A8-10. There is no

logic to the Second Circuit’s apparent preference for “defini-

24

tive adjudications” as against negotiated settlements. To the

precise contrary, the law prefers and encourages settlements.

The touchstone of liability for sanctions must be the absence

of an arguable legal basis for a claim or defense. Where, as

here, Universal brought suit on the advice of counsel, premised

on—at the very least—an arguably valid reading of a prior

federal court judgment, sanctions may not be imposed.

Il. As respects the award of state law damages (third ques-

tion presented):

The Second Circuit has deliberately refused to follow the

highest court of New York.

The Second Circuit accepted Nintendo’s contentions that,

beyond an award of fees under Section 35, it was entitled

under New York law to damages allegedly caused by Univer-

sal’s institution of suit and threats of similar action against

Nintendo’s licensees—including punitive damages more than

twice the amount of the actual! damages claimed. Accepting

Nintendo’s assertions that, under New York law, the institution

of a federal court Lanham Act suit, and attempts to settle

similar claims, could be the “wrongful means” required for the

common law tort of “tortious interference with contract,” the

Second Circuit affirmed an aggregate of $316,717.69 in puni-

tive and compensatory damages. 797 F.2d at 75, 77-78; A8,

12-13.

In so doing, the Second Circuit simply ignored a square 1984

holding by New York’s highest court which makes it unambi-

guously clear that liability under New York law could not arise

from Universal’s threat or commencement of civil litigation

under the Cooper Judgment, even assuming arguendo that

Universal was improperly motivated. Curiano v. Suozzi, 63

N.Y.2d 113, 480 N.Y.S.2d 466, 469 N.E.2d 1324 (1984). Cu-

riano had been prominently cited by Universal below.

Curiano, unmentioned by the Second Circuit, squarely holds

that improper litigation is actionable under New York law only

yon

if malicious prosecution or abuse of process occurs. 63 N.Y.2d

at 116-19, 480 N.Y.S.2d at 468-70, 469 N.E.2d at 1326-28.

These stringent limitations are, said the New York court,

“necessary to effectuate the strong public policy of open access

to the courts for all parties without fear of reprisal in the form

of a retaliatory lawsuit.” Jd. Neither of these torts was (or

could have been) even alleged against Universal. Thus the real

New York law—as distinct from the “New York law” applied

by the Second Circuit—absolutely precludes Nintendo’s “retal-

iatory lawsuit” against Universal and bars massive “reprisal”

such as the damage award involved here.

This Court’s review is necessary quite apart from the attor-

ney’s fee issue discussed above. The Second Circuit has disre-

garded the settled rule that, in applying state law, a federal

court is not free to pick and choose among state law prece-

dents. It must follow a) the most recent ruling b) of the highest

court of the state. See, e.g., Vandenbark v. Owens-Illinois

Glass Co., 311 U.S. 538, 541-43 (1941); Broussard v. Southern

Pacific Transp. Co., 625 F.2d 1242, 1245-46 & n.3 (5th Cir.

1980). Pronouncements of a state’s highest court are the law of

the state. Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64, 78, 79

(1938).

22 Accordingly, the law of New York is no less protective of the right to

seek judicial relief than analogous federal case law. If, however, New York

law were to be read as penalizing the assertion of federal claims where federal

law did not permit, or in an amount much larger than federal law would

permit, a substantial issue of federal supremacy would arise. This Court has

held that state courts cannot enjoin access to federal courts. Donovan v. City

of Dallas, 377 U.S. 408 (1964). Nor can state law penalize the assertion of

Federal claims. Nash v. Florida Industrial Comm’n, 389 U.S. 235 (1967).

Moreover, for state law to impose financial sanctions not subject to the

“exceptional case” and “reasonableness” standards laid down by Congress in

Section 35 would frustrate Congress’ purpose to encourage trademark

proprietors to enforce their rights. See, e.g., Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co. v.

Hall, 453 U.S. 571, 584 (1981); see also Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Stiffel Co.,

376 U.S. 225, 231 (1964). Particularly is this so if state law authorizes

punitive damages for asserting Lanham Act claims, since Section 35 expressly

provides that a prevailing Lanham Act plaintiff is entitled only to compensa-

tion, “not a penalty.”

26

Hence a federal court cannot, as the Second Circuit did, fail

even to consider such a ruling and prefer one of its own

interpretations of state law. And it cannot prefer a dictum in

its own earlier case—or, for that matter, in an earlier state

court case—to a later square holding by the highest state court.

See, e.g., Broussard v. Southern Pacific Transp. Co., supra,

625 F.2d at 1245-46 & n.3. But that is just what the Second

Circuit did here. 797 F.2d at 75, A8, citing Zi/g v. Prentice-

Hall, Inc., 717 F.2d 671, 677-78 (2d Cir. 1983), cert. denied,

466 U.S. 938 (1984), and Guard-Life Corp. v. S. Parker

Hardware Mfg. Corp., 50 N.Y.2d 183, 191, 428 N.Y.S.2d 628,

632, 406 N.E.2d 445, 448 (1980).”°

The Second Circuit’s complete disregard of Curiano v.

Suozzi, which was prominently cited by Universal, appears to

be a deliberate refusal to consider an authoritative statement of

applicable state law. This Court can, and should, prevent that

from occurring.

23 Even the dicta in Zi/g and Guard-Life do not state that a complaint

which is not found to be frivolous could be the premise for a “retaliatory

lawsuit” such as Curiano condemned. Only the decisions in this case so hold.

27

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully submitted that a

writ of certiorari should issue to review the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit.

Dated: October 10, 1986

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL W. SCHWARTZ*

WACHTELL, LIPTON, ROSEN & KATZ

299 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10171

(212) 371-9200

Counsel for Petitioner

Universal City Studios, Inc.

Of Counsel:

LAURENCE H. TRIBE

1525 Massachusetts Avenue

Griswold Hall, 307

Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138

(617) 495-1767

J. THOMAS MCCARTHY

University of San Francisco

Law School

2130 Fulton Street

San Francisco, California 94117

(415) 666-6517

*Counsel of Record

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.