Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Boardman v. United Services Automobile Ass'n

Supreme Court brief1985

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ro85-4684) || FILED

. SEP 18 1985

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

JOSEPH BOARDMAN and HENRY BOARDMAN,

Petitioners

versus

UNITED SERVICES AUTOMOBILE ASSOCIATION,

Respondent

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

To the United States Court of Appeals

For the Fifth Circuit

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

BEN F. GALLOWAY, ESQUIRE

OWEN & GALLOWAY

POST OFFICE BOX 218

GULFPORT, MISSISSIPPI 39502

(601) 868-2821

SHERMAN MUTHS, JR., ESQUIRE

POST OFFICE DRAWER 1630

GULFPORT, MISSISSIPPI 39502

(601) 864-3156

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONERS

SE Se IE GATT ET I SS EN EEE IE

CLERK

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

J.

Where federal jurisdiction has been invoked to decide a

conflict of laws question, is a determination of the sufficien-

cy of contacts by the trial court a factual finding which can-

not be set aside without a declaration that such factual

findings are clearly erroneous, and absent such a declaration

by a reviewing court, has there been a deprivation of due

process of law? Stated differently, does due process of

law require an appellate court to apply the clearly errone-

ous rule to factual findings of a trial court?

Il.

In a conflict of laws case, has there been a violation of

due process of law and of the Full Faith and Credit Clause

where the substantive law selected by the reviewing court

is the law of the state with insignificant contact or an in-

significant aggregation of contacts with the parties and the

subject matter of the litigation?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented for Review ...........--++-:

Opinions Below... wince cence een eee es

Statement of Jurisdiction ..............eeeeeee

Constitutional Provisions Involved .............---

Statement of the Case 2. inc cece ce eee en eenen

| errr rr ee ee

POINT I

DUE PROCESS OF LAW REQUIRES RULE

52(a) OF THE FEDERAL RULES OF

CIVIL PROCEDURE BE STRICTLY CON-

STRUED AND THE TRIAL COURT'S

DETERMINATION AS TO THE MATTER

OF SUFFICIENCY OF CONTACTS NECES-

SARY FOR THE CENTER OF GRAVITY

TEST IS A FACTUAL FINDING WHICH

CANNOT BE SET ASIDE WITHOUT A

DECLARATION BY A REVIEWING COURT

THAT SUCH FACTUAL FINDING IS

CLEARLY ERRONEOUS IN ACCORD-

ANCE WITH RULE 52(a) OF THE FEDER-

AL RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE. .......

s. -

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Continued)

PAGE

POINT II

THE ADOPTION OF THE OPINION OF

THE MISSISSIPPI SUPREME COURT BY

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF AP-

PEALS IS VIOLATIVE OF THE FULL

FAITH AND CREDIT CLAUSE AND IS A

DENIAL OF DUE PROCESS OF LAW

PROVIDED BY THE FOURTEENTH A-

gree oa ee 13

TE Me ein nds 55.04 k4 00.0 ba 808s 20

Ce ek a ky che bn dm Oe 21

APPENDIX A

Memorandum Opinion of the United States

District Court for the Southern District of

Mississippi entered October 25, 1982. ........ A-1

APPENDIX B

Boardman yv. United Services Automobile

Association, 742 F.2d 847 (Sth Cir. 1984).... A-24

APPENDIX C

Boardman yv. United Services Automobile

Association, 763 F.2d 663 (Sth Cir. (1984) ... A-35

-N

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Continued)

PAGE

APPENDIX D

Boardman y. United Services Automobile

Association, 470 §.2d 1024 (Miss. 1985) ..... A-42

APPENDIX E

Opinion of the United States Court of Ap-

peals, Fifth Circuit, entered on August 19,

SES arr et ee Aart Ss a ee ee A-70

v

TABLE OF CITATIONS

CASES: PAGES

Allstate Ins. Co. v. Lavina Hague, 449 US 302,

66 L Ed 2d $21, 10! S Ct 633 (1981) ........ 14, 15, 16

Boardman v. United Services Automobile Asso-

ciation, 742 F.2d 847 (Sth Cir. 1984) ............ Be

Boardman vy. United Services Automobile Asso-

ciation, 763 F.2d 663 (Sth Cir. 1984) ............... l

Boardman vy. United Services Automobile Asso-

ciation, 470 So.2d 1024 (Miss. 1985)............... 2

Commissioner v. Duberstein, 363 US 278, 4 L Ed

yp Gye & Fie es, 26, Si ern 12

Erie R. R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 US 64, 58 S Ct

817, 82 L Ed-1188 (1938)............ Coates 10, 11

Herrick v. Liberty Mutual, 274 N.W.2d 147, (Ne-

RR ee es a ee ere ee rae 8

Homes Insurance Company v. Dick, 281 US 397,

74 L Ed 926, 50S Ct 338 (1930)......... 10, 13, 14, 16

John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Company

v. Yates, 299 US 178, 81 L Ed 106, 57 S Ct

i ere ret Pepi, eer 10, 13, 14, 16

Klaxon Co. v. Stentor Electric Mfg. Co., 313 US

487, 496, 61 S Ct 1020, 85 L Ed 1477, 1480

CRG S ci ctind ane eea ene Oetiker Behe 1]

Lowery v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insur-

ance, 285 So.2d 767 (Miss. 1973) ................ 8,9

Mitchell v. Craft, 211 So.2d 509 (Miss. 1960) ......... 12

Phillips Petroleum Corporation v. Shutts, et al,

EY hore wack ce Gu kG aOKW dk WOE was Ke 19

Pulilman-Standard, Div. of Pullman, Inc. v. Swint,

456 US 273, 72 L Ed 2d 66, 102 S Ct 1781

CO BE eos a ek a bw a aes he oo eee oe 12

vi

TABLE OF CITATIONS (Continued)

CASES

Rogers vy. Lodge, 71 L Ed 2d 1012, 102 § Ct 3272

CRORES cnn ence cd adds ceebesnaeée een eee

Ruhlin y. New York Life Ins. Co., 304 US 202,

58 S Ct 860, 82 L Ed 1290 (1938).............

Sampson vy. Channell, 110 F.2d 754 (1st. Cir.) cert.

denied; 310 US 650, 60 S Ct 1099, 84 L Ed

SAE ws GR cik.c 6 KGW a a Rie es ee he ED

Shirev v. Louisville & Nashville R. R. Co., 327

ww tilt. Le By, Pe eres ee

Sumrall vy. Resolute Ins. Co., 377 F.2d 671 (Sth

= +. ree ry eer eer rere eee

UNITED STATES CODE:

Title 28, United States Code § 1254 ...........

Title 28, United States Code § 1257 ...........

Title 28, United States Code § 1332 ...........

FEDERAL RULE:

Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-

PAGES

I ong 0600 e6040be ees eees 4,5,9, 10, 12,19

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

JOSEPH BOARDMAN AND HENRY BOARDMAN,

Petitioners

versus

UNITED SERVICES AUTOMOBILE ASSOCIATION,

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

On October 25, 1982, a Memorandum Opinion was

entered by the United States District Court for the Southern

District of Mississippi in favor of the Petitioners. A copy of

said Opinion is printed herein as Appendix A. An Interlo-

cutory Appeal was filed by the Respondent in the United

States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit, from this Opinion.

On September 14, 1984, the United States Court of

Appeals, Fifth Circuit, directed the parties to develop a

common certificate of the issues. Boardman v. United Ser-

vices Automobile Association, 742 F.2d 847 (Sth Cir. 1984).

A copy of this Opinion is printed herein as Appendix B.

On October 23, 1984, the case was certified to the Missis-

sippi Supreme Court. Boardman vy. United Services Automo-

bile Association, 763 F.2d 663 (Sth Cir. 1984). A copy of

this Opinion is printed herein as Appendix C.

2

By decision dated May 22, 1985, the Mississippi Supreme

Court answered the certified questions. Boardman v. United

Services Automobile Association, 470 So.2d 1024 (Miss.

1985). A copy of this decision is printed herein as Appendix

D.

On August 19, 1985, the United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit, entered an Opinion adopting the Opinion of

the Mississippi Supreme Court, and directed the District

Court to enter Judgment in accordance with the Or*sion.

A cop. of said Opinion is printed herein as Appendix. E.

3

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Judgment of the United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit, was entered on August 19, 1985, and in effect

incorporated the Opinion of the Mississippi Supreme Court

dated May 22, 1985. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. §§ 1254 and 1257 since a right has been

especially set up and claimed under the Constitution of the

United States.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

AMENDMENT V

“No person shall be held to answer for a

capital or otherwise infamous crime, unless

on a presentment or indictment of a grand

jury, except in cases arising in the land or

naval forces, or in the militia, when in actual

service, in time of war or public danger; nor

shall any person be subject for the same

offense to be twice put in jeopardy of life

or limb; nor shall be compelled in any crimin-

al case to be a witness against himself, nor

be deprived of life, liberty, or property,

without due process of law; nor shall private

property be taken for public use without

just compensation.”

AMENDMENT XIV, SECTION 1

‘“*.. .nor shall any state deprive any person of

life, liberty, or property without due process

of law....”

4

ARTICLE IV, SECTION 1

“Pull Faith and Credit shall be given in each

State to the public acts, records, and judicial

proceedings of every other State. And the

Congress may by general laws prescribe the

manner in which such acts, records and

proceedings shall be proved, and the effect

thereof.”

FEDERAL RULE INVOLVED

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure Rule 52(a)

“(a) Effect. In all actions tried upon the facts

without a jury or with an advisory jury, the

court shall find the facts specially and state

separately its conclusions of law thereon, and

judgment shall be entered pursuant to Rule

58: and in granting or refusing interlocutory

injunctions the court shall similarly set forth

the findings of fact and conclusions of law

which constitute the grounds of its action.

Requests for findings are not necessary for

purposes of review. Findings of fact shall not

be set aside unless clearly erroneous, and due

regard shal! be given to the opportunity of

the trial court to judge the credibility of the

witnesses. The findings of the master, to the

extent that the court adopts them, shall be

considered as the findings of the court. It will

be sufficient if the findings of fact and con-

clusions of law are stated orally and recorded

in open court following the close of the evi-

dence or appear in an opinion or memoran-

dum of decision filed by the court. Findings

5

of fact and conclusions of law are unneces-

sary on decisions of motions under Rules

12 or 56 or any other motion except as

provided in Rule 41(b).”

6

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petitioner Joseph Boardman, age 19, entered Missis-

sippi State University at Starkville, Mississippi during the

fall and spring semesters of the 1978-1979 term. In May of

1979, Joseph Boardman came to Gulfport, Mississippi dir-

ectly from school to work for his paternal uncle who owns a

concrete business in Gulfport, Mississippi. During the fall and

spring semesters of 1978-1979, the Petitioner Joseph Board-

man was permitted by his father, the Petitioner Colonel

Henry Boardman, to operate a Ford Pinto vehicle which

was insured under a policy of insurance issued by the Re-

spondent United Services Automobile Association in the

name of the Petitioner, Colonel Henry Boardman. During

this time period, Colenel Henry Boardman was temporar-

ily stationed with the United States Air Force in the State

of Nebraska, and the insurance policy was mailed to Colonel

Boardman in Nebraska.

The Petitioner Joseph Boardman drove the Ford Pinto

to Gulfport, Mississippi, and operated this vehicle until

his father, the Petitioner Colonel Henry Boardman, came

to Mississippi and recovered the vehicle in order to deliver

it to his daughters in Cincinnati, Ohio. Thereafter, on June

14, 1979, the Petitioner Henry Boardman requested the

Respondent remove the Petitioner Joseph Boardman as

a named insured on his automobile insurance policy. Joseph

Boardman, however, remained insured for purposes of un-

insured motorist coverage as he was a member of the house-

hold of Henry Boardman.

On June 20, 1979, Joseph Boardman purchased a Chev-

rolet Caprice automobile in Gulfport, Mississippi. An appli-

cation was made by Joseph Boardman for title, and addition-

ally he purchased a Mississippi license tag for the Chevrolet

Caprice automobile. After Joseph Boardman purchased

this particular automobile there was a discussion with his

father concerning having the Chevrolet Caprice vehicle

insured with the Respondent, but no insurance was actually

purchased prior to the subject accident.

On July 8, 1979, the Petitioner Joseph Boardman, was

involved in an automobile accident caused by the negligence

of an uninsured motorist. As a result of this accident, Joseph

Boardman has lost his right eye, suffered multiple facial

fractures, chipped his right knee cap, severed tendons and

fractured bones in his right foot.

This case initially involved a claim for uninsured motorist

coverage under the terms of the policy of insurance existing

between the Petitioners and the Respondent. The controver-

sy centers around what has been referred to as the ‘‘owned-

vehicle”” exclusion as applied to the Chevrolet Caprice ve-

hicle. The relevance of the ““owned-vehicle”’ exclusion is that

this particular clause has been declared invalid under Missis-

sippi law as being adverse to public policy, while under

Nebraska law, this particular exclusion has been upheld.

On May 19, 1981, a Complaint was filed by the Petitioners

in the United States District Court for the Southern District

of Mississippi under the diversity jurisdiction of the federal

court. 28 USC § 1332. On June 11, 1981, the Respondent

filed an Answer. Various discovery proceedings were con-

ducted by the parties from June 15, 1981 through July 31,

1981. On August 5, 1981, the Petitioners filed a Motion for

Partial Summary Judgment, and on September 4, 1981, a

Cross-Motion for Summary Judgment was filed by the

Respondent. Essentially, both parties requested the United

States District Court to make a determination as to the

duties and obligations existing under the contract of auto-

_mobile insurance existing between the parties.

8

On October 23, 1982, the District Court filed a Memor-

andum Opinion (Appendix A), and on November 1, 1982 a

Judgment was entered granting the Petitioners’ Motion for

Partial Summary Judgment and denying the Respondent’s

Motion for Summary Judgment.

On January 1, 1983, an Amended Judgment was filed

wherein the parties agreed that the issues were final as to

liability and damages and leave was granted for an interlocu-

tory appeal. The appeal was initially denied; however, on

Petition for Rehearing granted May 23, 1983, the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit granted the

interlocutory appeal.

This is a conflict of laws case, and the Respondent United

Services Automobile Association maintained before the

United States District Court and before the United States

Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit, that Nebraska law should

be applied in construction of the uninsured motorist cover-

ages under the subject policy, because Nebraska law upholds

the ‘‘owned-vehicle” exclusionary clause. Herrick v. Liber-

ty Mutual, 274 N.W.2d 147 (Nebraska 1979).

The Respondent contends that since the policy of insur-

ance was issued in Nebraska while the Petitioner Colonel

Henry Boardman was temporarily stationed in that State,

and because the Petitioner Joseph Boardman purchased

a Chevrolet Caprice automobile in Mississippi, that the

automobile was an “owned-vehicle” not listed on the insur-

ance policy, and therefore would be excluded under the

uninsured motorists provisions of the policy.

Contr*ry to this position, the Petitioners seek coverage

and argue that Mississippi law should be applied in construing

the insurance policy. Mississippi law condemns the “‘owned-

vehicle” exclusion clause. Lowery v. State Farm Mutual

9

Automobile Insurance, 285 So.2d 767 (Miss. 1973).

In a detailed factual finding, the District Court in its

Opinion dated October 25, 1982, found in favor of the

Petitioners and applied Mississippi law to the construction

of the insurance agreement existing between the parties.

The District Court thus afforded the Petitioner Joseph

Boardman coverage under the uninsured motorist provisions

fo the insurance contract.

The Respondent filed an appeal to the United States

Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit, and on September 14,

1984, the Court of Appeals requested the parties develop

a common certificate of issues. On October 23, 1984, the

Court of Appeals certified the case to the Mississippi Su-

preme Court, and on May 22, 1985, the Mississippi Supreme

Court answered the certified questions and held Nebraska

law governed the construction of the insurance policy. The

exclusionary clause of the Respondent’s policy became

effective, and therefore there is no uninsured motorists

coverage for the injuries suffered by the Petitioner Joseph

Boardman.

The decision of the Mississippi Supreme Court dated

May 22, 1985, and adopted by the Court of Appeals on

August 19, 1985, has engendered Constitutional issues to

be reviewed by this Court. Particularly, the Mississippi

Supreme Court’s application of Nebraska law to the sub-

stantive issues of this litigation is violative of the Full Faith

and Credit Clause (Article [V § 1) and the due process

mandates of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United

States Constitution. The Opinion of the Mississippi Supreme

Court did not declare the District Court’s analysis of the

center of gravity test to be clearly erroneous under Rule

52(a), but nevertheless relinquished the Petitioners to the

inequities of Nebraska law. The Opinion is in contradiction

10

to the teachings of the United States Supreme Court cases of

Homes Insurance Company v. Dick, 281 US 397, 74 L.Ed

926, 50 S.Ct. 338 (1930), and John Hancock Mutual Life

Insurance Company v. Yates, 299 US 178, 81 L.Ed. 106, 57

S.Ct 129 (1936) which hold that if a state has only insignif-

icant contacts with parties and the occurrence or transaction,

application of such state’s law is unconstitutional.

ARGUMENT

I.

DUE PROCESS OF LAW REQUIRES RULE

52(a) OF THE FEDERAL RULES OF CIVIL

PROCEDURE BE STRICTLY CONSTRUED

AND THE TRIAL COURT’S DETERMIN-

ATION AS TO THE MATTER OF SUFFICI-

ENCY OF CONTACTS NECESSARY FOR

THE CENTER OF GRAVITY TEST IS A

FACTUAL FINDING WHICH CANNOT BE

SET ASIDE WITHOUT A DECLARATION

BY REVIEWING COURT THAT SUCH

FACTUAL FINDING IS CLEARLY ERRON-

EOUS IN ACCORDANCE WITH RULE 52(a)

OF THE FEDERAL RULES OF CIVIL

PROCEDURE.

Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and the

decisions of this Court require the affirmance of the factual

findings of the District Court unless such findings are declar-

ed to be clearly erroneous by the reviewing court.

Except in matters governed by federal law, when a federal

court’s jurisdiction is predicated upon the diversity of citi-

zenship of the parties, the federal court must apply the

substantive law of the state in which it is sitting. Erie R. R.

11

Co. v. Tompkins, 304 US 64, 58 S Ct 817, 82 LEd 1188

(1938); Shirey v. Louisville & Nashville R. R. Co.. 327 F.2d

549 (5th Cir. 1964). If, in a diversity case, the federal court is

required to construe an insurance contract, the federal

court will apply applicable state law. Ruhlin v. New York

Life Ins. Co., 304 US 202, 58 SCt 860, 82 L Ed 1290

(1938). When there is a question as to which state law

should be applied, the federal court must follow a conflict

of laws rule which conforms to those prevailing in the state

in which it sits; viz, the conflict of laws rules of the state.

Klaxon Co. v. Stentor Electric Mfg. Co., 313 US 487, 496,

61 S Ct 1020, 85 L Ed 1477, 1480 (1941). The purpose of

applying the state law of the forum is to assure equal admin-

istration of justice in coordinate state and federal courts.

Ibid. See also Sampson v. Channell, 110 F.2d 754 (ist Cir.)

cert. denied; 310 US 650, 60 S Ct 1099, 84L Ed 1415

(1940).

Under Mississippi law, the center of gravity test is applica-

ble and the foundation of this legal test is the determination

of the sufficiency of contacts which is clearly a factual

finding.

The United States District Court clearly identified the

sufficient contacts the Petitioners maintained with the

State of Mississippi so as to apply Mississippi law in regard

to the insurance contract subject of this litigation.

On certification, the Mississippi Supreme Court rejected

the United States District Court’s Opinion, and as related

above, the United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit,

adopted the Opinion of the Mississippi Supreme Court.

No reviewing court has ever determined that the United

States District Court for the Southern District of Mississippi

_ was clearly erroneous in any finding of fact.

12

The center of gravity concept was approved in Mitchell

vr. Craft, 211 So.2d 509 (Miss. 1969), and this test draws a

determination as to the sufficiency of contacts with the

forum state in a conflict of laws case.

Again, the United States District Court for the Southern

District of Mississippi reviewed all of the facts and made a

factual finding that there was a sufficient aggregation of

contacts so as to apply Mississippi law in interpreting the

subject insurance contract.

This Court has recognized that the clearly erroneous

standard of Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-

dure applies broadly to all categories of factual findings.

In Pullman-Standard, Div. of Pullman, Inc. v. Swint, 456

US 273, 72 L.Ed. 2d 66, 102 S Ct 1781 (1982), this Court

declared that Rule 52 does not make exceptions or attempt

to exclude certain categories of factual findings from the

obligation of a Court of Appeals to accept the District

Court’s findings unless they are erroneous. This Court stated

in Pullman that Rule 52 does not divide facts into cate-

gories, and that in particular, Rule 52 does not divide find-

ings of fact to those which deal with ultimate facts and

those which deal with subsidiary facts.

In Rogers v. Lodge, 71 L Ed 1012, 102 S Ct 3272 (1982),

this Court underlined the importance a reviewing Court

must give a District Court’s findings of fact. Rule 52 broadly

requires the findings of fact not be set aside unless clearly

erroneous. Commissioner v. Duberstein, 363 US 278, 4 L

Ed 2d 1218, 80 S Ct 1190 (1960), emphasizes that Rule

52(a) applies not only to the District Court’s findings of

fact, but also to factual inferences.

In Sumrall v. Resolute Ins. Co., 377 F.2d 671 (Sth Cir.

1967), the United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit,

13

stated that the clearly erroneous rule prevents any possibili-

ty for reversal where there is support in the record for

factual findings of the District Court.

In this particular case, there has been a denial of due

process of law as the reviewing court never addressed the

clearly erroneous rule.

Il.

THE ADOPTION OF THE OPINION OF

THE MISSISSIPPI SUPREME COURT BY

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF AP-

PEALS IS VIOLATIVE OF THE FULL

FAITH AND CREDIT CLAUSE AND IS A

DENIAL OF DUE PROCESS OF LAW

PROVIDED BY THE FOURTEENTH A-

MENDMENT.

Approximately fifty years ago, this Court held in two

separate cases that if a state has only insignificant contacts

with the parties and the occurrence or transaction, then

application of such state’s law is unconstitutional. Homes

Insurance Company vy. Dick, 281 US 397, 74 LEd 926,

50 SCt 338 (1930). John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance

Company v. Yates, 299 US 178, 81 LEd 106,57 SCt 129

(1936).

Home Ins. Co. v. Dick concerned an insurance policy

which has been issued in the Country of Mexico by a Mexi-

can insurer to a Mexican citizen, covering presumably a

Mexican risk. The subject policy was later assigned to a Mr.

Dick, who was domiciled in Mexico, although he remained

a nominal permanent resident of the State of Texas. The

subject policy restricted coverage to losses occurring in

certain waters of the Country of Mexico. The loss Mr. Dick

14

contended was actionable under the policy occurred in

Mexican waters. The claim was denied, and Mr. Dick brought

suit in Texas against a New York reinsurer. Neither the

Mexican insurer, nor the New York reinsurer had any con-

nection with the State of Texas. This Court held that ap-

plication of Texas law to void the insurance contract’s

limitation of action clause violated due process.

The constitutional questions were also discussed in John

Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Company yv. Yates. In this

case, the insurer, a Massachusetts corporation, issued a con-

tract of life insurance on a New York resident. The particular

life insurance contract was applied for, issued, and delivered

in the State of New York where the insured and his wife

resided. After the insured died in New York, his wife moved

to Georgia and brought suit on the policy in Georgia. Under

Georgia law, the jury was permitted to take into account

certain oral modifications when determining whether or not

the life insurance policy application contained material

misrepresentations. Under New York law, such misrepresen-

tations were to be evaluated solely on the basis of the written

application. The Georgia Court applied Georgia law. This

Court reversed, finding the application of Georgia law to be

unconstitutional.

Home Ins. Co. v. Dick and John Hancock Mutual Life Ins.

Co. v. Yates were both discussed in the recent case of A/l-

state Ins. Co. v. Lavina Hague, 449 US 302, 66 L.Ed.2d

521, 101 S.Ct. 633 (1981). In Hague, the Appellee’s husband

died of injuries suffered when a motorcycle on which he was

riding as a passenger was struck by an automobile. The

accident occurred in the State of Wisconsin near the Min-

nesota border. The operators of both the motorcycle and the

automobile were Wisconsin residents, as was the Appellee’s

decedent. The decedent was, however, employed in Min-

nesota and commuted daily to work in that state from

15

Wisconsin. Neither the motorcycle operator nor the driver of

the automobile which struck the motorcycle carried any

valid insurance, but the decedent held a policy issued by

Allstate Insurance Company covering three automobiles

owned by the decedent, and which contained uninsured

motorist coverage. The policy limited such uninsured mo-

torist coverage to $15,000 for each vehicle. After the ac-

cident, the decedent’s wife moved to, and became a resident

of Minnesota, and brought action in the Minnesota Court

seeking a declaration under Minnesota law that the $15,000

uninsured motorist coverage on each of the three vehicles

could be stacked to provide a total coverage of $45,000.

Allstate defended on the basis that whether or not the three

uninsured motorist coverages should be stacked should be

determined by Wisconsin law, since the insurance policy was

delivered in Wisconsin, the accident occurred there, and all

persons involved were Wisconsin residents at the time of the

accident.

Wisconsin law disallowed stacking; Minnesota permitted

stacking. The Minnesota Supreme Court affirmed the lower

Minnesota Court, and found that Minnesota law should be

applied in the case. The decision of the Minnesota Supreme

Court was affirmed by this Court which concluded that

Minnesota had a significant aggregation of contacts with the

parties and the occurrence, creating state interests, such that

application of Minnesota law is neither arbitrary nor funda-

mentally unfair, and did not violate the Due Process Clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment or the Full Faith and Credit

Clause.

One important aspect of Hague is that this Court con-

cluded that an important consideration in determining the

choice of law question was the fact that the Appellee Hague

became a Minnesota resident prior to the institution of

litigation. The Court concluded that the change of residence

16

by the Appellee, and her appointment as representative of

her husband's estate constituted a Minnesota contact which

gave Minnesota an interest in the Appellee’s recovery. The

Court also noted and discussed Yates to the effect that a

post-occurrence change of residence to the forum state may

be sufficient in and of itself to confer power on the forum

state to choose its law, and the Supreme Court further

concluded that Yares holds that such a change of residence

is not irrelevant.

In the case at bar, the Mississippi Supreme Court complete-

ly disregarded the fact that the Petitioner Henry Boardman

moved back to his permanent home, Mississippi, so that at

the time of filing of litigation, both Petitioners, Henry

Boardman and his son, Joseph Boardman, resided in the

State of Mississippi. This is one of the contacts with the

State of Mississippi that the District Court considered, and

it is certainly a proper consideration under the teachings

of Hague and Yates.

In a concurring Opinion by Justice Stevens in Hague

it was noted that contracting parties can make their ex-

pectations explicit by providing in their contract either

that the law of a particular jurisdiction shall govern ques-

tions of contract interpretation, or that a particular or

subsequent rule, for instance, “stacking”, shall or shall

not apply. Justice Stevens also noted that the insurance

policy in Hague provided for coverage for accidents through-

out the United States, and thus, at the time of contracting,

the parties in Hague certainly could have anticipated the

laws of other states other than Wisconsin could govern

particular claims arising under the policy. By virtue of

doing business in Minnesota, Allstate Insurance Company

was aware that it could be sued in Minnesota Courts. There-

fore, the decision « * the Minnesota Courts to apply the law

of the forum in Hague did not frustrate the reasonable

17

expectations of the contracting parties.

In the present case, the Mississippi Supreme Court has

applied Nebraska law when to do so would be unconstitu-

tional as the parties in the present iitigation had only in-

significant contact with the State of Nebraska.

Unbelievably, the decision of the Mississippi Supreme

Court continually made reference to the fact that the in-

surance contract was issued in Nebraska through United

Services Automobile Association’s agent in Nebraska. This

is certainly not accurate, and amounts to an improper ad-

dition of another contact to the State of Nebraska, and is

violative of the parties Statement of Facts in the Statement

of the Case issued by the Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit, in

its Opinion certifying questions to the Mississippi Supreme

Court.

The Respondent United Services Automobile Association

is a reciprocal inter-insurance exchange who issues its policies

from San Antonio, Texas, and limits its policyholders to

active or retired military personnel. United Services Auto-

mobile Association does not have “agents”. The Mississippi

Supreme Court made an erroneous conclusion that the in-

surance contract was issued in Nebraska through United

Services Automobile Association’s ‘agent’? in Nebraska,

and is certainly in complete contradiction to the agreed

upon facts in this case.

The constitutional problems engendered by application

of Nebraska law are magnified by the totally insignificant

contacts the State of Nebraska has with the parties of this

case and the occurrence or transaction. Particularly, the

only contact Nebraska has with the present case is that

the insurance policy was issued to the Petitione: Henry

Boardman in the State of Nebraska while Henry Boardman

18

was stationed as a temporary resident of the State of Ne-

braska while he was a member of the United States Air

Force.

The District Court in its Opinion outlined the significant

relationships or factors relating to the claim for uninsured

motorisi coverage in the State of Mississippi. Specifically,

the following constitute the significant contacts of the State

of Mississippi which the District Court properly recognized:

‘“(a) Shortly before the accident, the Peti-

tioner Joseph Boardman had been a full

time student at Mississippi State University;

(bj) At the time of the accident, Joseph

Boardman was temporarily residing in Gulf-

port, Mississippi, working to earn money so

that he could return to Mississippi State

University in the fall;

(c) Approximately a week before the

accident, Joseph Boardman had purchased a

vehicle in the State of Mississippi and further

purchased a Mississippi tag for said vehicle:

(d) The accident subject of this litigation

occurred in Gulfport, Mississippi;

(e) All witnesses to the accident reside in

the State of Mississippi;

(f) At the time of the filing of this litiga-

tion, Petitioner Colonel Henry Boardman

moved back to the State of Mississippi, so

at the time of filing, both Petitioners resided

in the State of Mississippi;

(g) At the time of the accident, the Re-

spondent United Services Automobile As-

sociation was qualified to do business in the

State of Mississippi and in fact issued in-

surance policies in the State of Mississippi;

19

(h) Respondent United States Automobile

Association is an inter-insurance exchange

which exclusively issues insurance policies to

persons who are actually members of the

United States Armed Services or who have

been enlisted in the Armed Forces of the

United States and necessarily this Respondent

could expect its policyholders to be quite

mobile and it would be quite unrealistic and

unfair to restrict questions concerning cover-

age to the state where the insurance policy

was Originally issued.”

Application of Nebraska law as directed by the Mississippi

Supreme Court violates the Full Faith and Credit Clause

and the Fourteenth Amendment as indeed the contacts with

the State of Nebraska are undeniably insignificant. The

Mississippi Supreme Court improperly invented a contact,

i.e., the agent in Nebraska who does not exist, and the

Mississippi Supreme Court fully failed to appreciate the

legal significance of the residency of the Petitioners in the

State of Mississippi at the time litigation was instituted.

As recent as June 26, 1985, this Court decided the case

of Phillips Petroleum Corporation v. Shutts, et al, 53 LW

4879, which again held that the Due Process Clause and the

Full Faith and Credit Clause require that in a conflict of

laws case, that in consideration of such substantive law to be

selected, a state must have a significant aggregation of con-

tacts with the parties and the subject matter.

The determination of sufficiency of contacts is a factual

determination to be made by the District Court under Rule

52 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The District

Court in this case, applied Mississippi law on the basis of

detailed factual findings as to the sufficiency of contacts,

ard this determination has never been shown to be clearly

erroneous.

20

CONCLUSION

It is respectfully submitted that this Court should grant

this Petition and issue a Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

OF ee 4 Cp hhirnwyz fi

BEN F. GALLOWAY -

OWEN & GALLOWAY

POST OFFICE BOX 218

GULFPORT, MISSISSIPPI 39502

(601) 868-2821

SHERMAN MUTHS, JR., ESQUIRE

POST OFFICE DRAWER 1630

GULFPORT, MISSISSIPPI 39502

(601) 864-3156

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONERS

21

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Ben F. Galloway, Attorney for Petitioners, do hereby

certify that 1 have this day mailed, by United States mail,

postage prepaid, three true and correct copies of the above

and foregoing Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the firm of

Bryan, Nelson, Allen, Schroeder & Cobb, at their usual

mailing address of Post Office Drawer 4108, Gulfport,

Mississippi, 39502.

This the 17th day of September, 1985.

phew “4 Loalheweg a

BEN F. GALLOWAY

OWEN & GALLOWAY

Post Office Box 218

Gulfport, Mississippi 39502

(601) 868-2821

SHERMAN MUTHS, JR., ESQUIRE

Post Otfice Drawer 1630

Gulfport, Mississippi 39502

(601) 864-3156

A-1

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF MISSISSIPPI

SOUTHERN DIVISION

JOSEPH BOARDMAN and HENRY BOARDMAN

Plaintiffs

V.

UNITED SERVICES AUTOMOBILE ASSOCIATION

Defendant

CIVIL ACTION NO. S81-0219(N)

Filed Oct. 25, 1982

MEMORANDUM OPINION

This cause is before the Court on the basis of a Motion for

Partial Summary Judgment filed by the plaintiffs, Joseph and

Henry Boardman, and a Motion for Summary Judgment

by the defendant, United Services Automobile Association

(USAA). Both parties to this action are requesting thu the

Court make a determination of the duties and obligations

existing under a policy of automobile insurance which exists

between the parties.

In essence, the plaintiffs have filed their Motion for Partial

Summary Judgment, seeking an adjudication that there

existed uninsured motorist coverage under Henry Boardman’s

policy for his son, Joseph Boardman’s accident, this being in

the sum of $60,000.00. The defendant has also filed a

Motion for Summary Judgment seeking an adjudication

that under the terms of the insurance contract there is no

A-2

uninsured motorist coverage for the accident. In the alterna-

tive, the defendant argues that if the Court finds that cover-

age exists, the limit of benefits available to the plaintiffs is

in the amount of the $10,000.00 minimum statutory require-

ment of the Mississippi Safety Responsibility Act. The Court

is of the opinion that there are no genuine issues of material

fact and thus the issues before the Court are strictly ques-

tions of law.

The facts of this controversy are basically undisputed.

As previously stated, the plaintiffs are Henry and Joseph

Boardman. At the time the suit was filed, Henry Boardman

was a resident of the state of Alabama and Joseph Board-

man was a resident of the state of Mississippi. USAA is a

foreign insurance company which is also authorized to do

business in the state of Mississippi. The company issued

automobile insurance Policy Number 036-97-48U-7 102-9

to Henry Boardman when he was a resident of Omaha,

Nebraska, stationed with the United States Air Force in

Omaha, which covered the period from September 15,

1978, to Septembe: 15, 1979. The policy covered three

automobiles, and a separate premium was paid on each.

The evidence indicates that Joseph Boardman, age 19,

entered Mississippi State University, Starkville, Mississippi,

during the fall and spring semesters of the 1978-79 term

and in May, 1979 came to Gulfport, Mississippi, directly

from school to work for his paternal uncle who operates

Coast Materials located in Gulfport. While Joseph was in

school he was permitted by his father to operate a Pinto

automobile which was one of the vehicles insured under

the above policy of insurance. Joseph drove the Pinto to

Gulfport and operated it until his father came to Gulfport

and took possession of it in order to deliver it to Joseph’s

sisters who lived in Cincinnati, Ohio.

A-3

On June 14, 1979, Henry Boardman requested that

USAA remove Joseph as a named insured on the automobile

insurance policy, which deletion was made by USAA on

June 16, 1979. Henry Boardman had also requested that

USAA reinstate as operators of the 1977 Pinto his daughters

Rosamon and Suzanne, who had been deleted while the

vehicle was in Joseph’s possession.

On June 20, 1979, Joseph purchased a 1970 Chevrolet

Caprice automobile from Jay-Jay Chevrolet in Gulfport.

He signed a title application prepared by the dealer, and

on the same day Jay-Jay delivered the vehicle with an in-

voice. An application was made by Joseph for title, and he

purchased a Mississippi license tag for the vehicle. Subse-

quent to the purchase of the Caprice, Joseph had a dis-

cussion with his father concerning insurance coverage;

however, none was actually purchased prior to the acci-

dent, which forms the basis for this action.

It is undisputed that on the evening of July 8, 1979,

Joseph Boardman was at his apartment watching television

with three other young men. A decision was made by all

the boys to drive to a popular night spot in Biloxi, Mis-

sissippi, and accordingly, Joseph drove one passenger in

the Caprice while David Turan, another young man, drove

his vehicle to the same night spot. On the return trip, the

young men were traveling on U.S. Highway 90 when a

third vehicle pulled onto the highway in front of the Turan

vehicle, and in attempting to avoid striking it, the Turan

vehicle crossed in front of Joseph Boardman’s vehicle,

forcing it to leave the road, where Joseph lost control,

resulting in the accident which is the subject of this con-

troversy.

As a result of the accident, Joseph Boardman lost his

right eye, suffered multiple facial fractures, chipped his

A-4

right knee cap, severed tendons and fractured bones in his

left foot, for which he received medical treatment from the

Keesler Medical Center in Biloxi, Mississippi, and Maxwell

Air Force Base in Montgomery, Alabama.

There has been an allegation in the affidavit of Walter E.

Smith, claims supervisor of USAA, that David Turan and

Joseph Boardman were “racing” at the time of the accident.

This allegation is unsupported by any direct evidence and

would therefore, in the opinion of this Court, constitute

hearsay not sufficient to raise a question of material fact

in this matter.

As previously stated, the 1970 Caprice was never added

to the policy of Henry Boardman, nor was any premium

paid for any coverage under that or any other insurance

contract. Subsequent to the accident, the plaintiffs filed

this claim for uninsured motorist benefits arising from

this accident under the USAA policy in which Henry Board-

man was the named insured. USAA denied coverage as

to Joseph Boardman on the ground that he was driving

an owned motor vehicle, which was not an insured vehicle

under the subject policy, thereby being specifically ex-

cluded under the policy terms.

The following questions of law are present and will be

discussed fully herein by the Court: (1) Under conflict

of law principles, do the laws of Nebraska or Mississippi

provide the basis for the interpretation of the insurance

1. The USAA insurance policy provides:

“Exclusions: This policy does not apply under Part IV: (a) to bodily

injury to an insured while occupying an automobile (other than an

insured automobile) owned by the named insured or a relative or

through being struck by such an automobile;”

A-5

policy in the case sub judice? (2) Is the policy exclusion

of ‘“‘owned”’ vehicles not listed on the policy valid and

applicable? (3) If the exclusion is void and coverage exists,

is there aggregation or “stacking” of uninsured motorist

coverage for the three vehicles listed in the declarations

of Henry Boardman’s policy?

CONFLICT OF LAWS

Jurisdiction herein is based on diversity of citizenship,

compelling this Court, pursuant to the dictates of £rie,

to apply the conflict of laws rule which conforms to those

prevailing in the state in which it sits; vis-a-vis, the conflict

of laws rule of the state of Mississippi. Klaxon Co. v. Stentor

Electric Mfg. Co., 313 U.S. 487, 496, 61 Sup. Ct. 1020,

85 L.Ed. 1477, 1486 (1941).

The Mississippi Supreme Court, in dealing with conflict

of laws issues, has traditionally applied the “center of grav-

ity” test to matters of this nature. Under this test, the

court trying the cause of action will apply the law of the

place which has the most significant relationship to the

event and the parties, or, because of the relationship or

contact with the event or parties, has the greatest concern

with the specific issues with respect to the liabilities and

rights of the parties to the respective litigation. See Craig

v. Columbus Compress & Warehouse Co., 210 So.2d 645

(Miss. 1968). In a case decided subsequent to Craig, the

Mississippi Supreme Court determined that ‘‘a case is to

be governed by the law of the forum unless it is expressly

shown that a different law applies, and in case of doubt,

a court will naturally prefer the laws of its own state.”

Mitchell v. Craft, 211 So.2d 509, 512 (Miss. 1969). The

Mitchell court proceeded to list certain criteria which a

court should consider in determining a conflict of laws

question. Borrowing from the RESTATEMENT SECOND

A

of CONFLICT OF LAWS § 145 (1968), the court stated:

(2). Contacts to be taken into account in

applying the principles of § 6 to deter-

mine the law applicable te an_ issue

include:

(a) the place where the injury oc-

curred,

(b) the place where the conduct

causing the injury occurred,

(c) the domicil, residence, nationality,

place of incorporation and place

of business of the parties, and

(d) the place where the relationship,

if any, between the parties is

centered.

These contacts are to be evaluated according

to their relative importance with respect to

the particular issue.

Id. at 515,

Although the Court is aware that Mitchell was a tort

action the applicability of those principles to the present

controversy is apparent from a reading of the subsequent

decision of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals concerning

the interpretation of an insurance contract. As alluded

to, the “center of gravity” test was applied in an insurance

contract interpretation context in the case of Bluebird

Body Co. v. Ryder Truck Rental, 583 F.2d, 717 (Sth Cir.

1978). Bluebird involved a situation where although the

A-7

accident giving rise to the cause of action occurred in Mis-

sissippi, the insurance company had paid off the claims

of the injured Mississippi residents as well as the driver and

passenger of the private car involved in the collision. As a

result, the court found that Mississippi had no real concern

with the issues involved in the litigation. Initially, the Blue-

bird court determined that since the suit was filed in United

States District Court in Mississippi, the court must apply

the general choice of law rule that would be applied by a

Mississippi court had the case been filed in state court.

It then proceeded to state that Mississippi recognized and

applied the “center of gravity” approach resolving choice

of law issues in contract cases. See Dunavant Enterprises,

Inc. v. Ford, 294 So.2d 788 (Miss. 1974). The court went

on to find that the contacts with the state of Georgia were

much more significant than those of Mississippi, which

therefore led to the conclusion that Georgia law would

control the interpretation of the policy. 583 F.2d at 723.

USAA has cited several cases for the proposition that

in choice of law situations involving insurance policies,

the Mississippi Supreme Court has held that the laws govern-

ing the construction of those policies are substantive in

nature and as such, the substantive law of the state where

the policy originated should apply. Nationwide Mutual

Ins. Co. v. Tillman, 249 Miss. 141, 161 So.2d 604, 613

(1964); United States Fidelity and Guaranty Co. v. Yost,

183 Miss. 65, 183 So. 260, 263, 185 So. 564 (1938); /nter-

state Life and Accident Co. v. Pannell, 169 Miss. 50, 152

So. 635, 638 (1934). It is evident from a perusal of those

decisions that they were based upon the ‘“‘center of grav-

ity” test so that the contacts with the state in which the

policy was issued were greater than those of the forum

state. The Court notes, though, that the defendants go

on to cite the Bluebird case as the leading authority for

the “center of gravity’ approach in resolving choice of

A-8

law issues in contract cases, and that furthermore, the

application of that rule under the circumstances of the

case sub judice would not alter the fundamental principal

of lex loci contractus. In reading the Bluebird decision,

it is apparent that the state of issuance was but one factor

which the court considered in determining which state

had the greater contacts.

The Court agrees with counsel for both parties that the

“center of gravity” test is the applicable standard in deter-

mining which law would apply herein. We therefore must

proceed to the consideration of the relevant factors in

determining whether the law of the forum state or the

law of the state where the contract was issued is control-

ling; that is, whether Nebraska or Mississippi law would

apply. The facts are basically undispuicd and show that

the USAA policy was issued in Nebraska to Henry Board-

man, who, at the time, was a resident of Nebraska. At the

time the policy was issued, it covered three vehicles which

were garaged in the state of Nebraska. It is undisputed

that USAA sets its insurance premiums for the state of

Nebraska based upon los: ratios as determined from poli-

cies of insurance issued there, which would also include

claims arising from accidents which occur in sister states.

The defendants therefore allege that considering these

contacts, under the Bluebird decision, the law of the state

of Nebraska would be the appropriate law to apply in the

interpretation of the USAA insurance policy; however,

we are of a different opinion when the contacts with the

state of Mississippi are examined. Those contacts include

the accident which has given rise to this cause of action.

The parties involved in the accident, including both plain-

tiffs, are all residents of the state of Mississippi; the vehicle

for which coverage is sought under the applicable policy

of insurance was purchased in the state of Mississippi; a

Mississippi license tag was issued for the vehicle; ali wit-

A-9

nesses to the accident reside in Mississippi; and finally,

at the time of the accident, the defendant, USAA, was

qualified to do business in Mississippi and, in fact, issued

insurance policies in Mississippi. Relevant to this considera-

tion, is the fact that USAA is an inter-insurance exchange

which principally issues insurance policies to persons who are

members of the United States armed forces and therefore

is aware of the transient nature of those insureds and their

families.

Considering the criteria laid down in Mitchell and Blue-

bird, and considering the relevant undisputed facts in the

case, we are of the opinion that Mississippi would meet

the “‘center of gravity” test as previously discussed, that

Mississippi has the most significant contacts with this case,

and therefore, that Mississippi iaw should be applied. The

factors which are of primary significance to the Court in

making this determination include the occurrence of the

accident and injury in Mississippi. Additionally, although

the policy of insurance was issued in Nebraska, by virtue

of the nature of USAA’s issuance of policies to members

of the armed forces, they could and should expect those

insured persons to be transient, and therefore, USAA could

anticipate being hailed into court in a foreign jurisdiction.

To require every insured who files a claim against USAA

to litigate that claim in the state in which the policy was

issued, notwithstanding other relevant factors which the

court should consider, would put an onerous burden on

those claimants and would fly directly in the face of the

“center of gravity” test. It is our conclusion therefore that

Mississippi law applies and controls the interpretation of

the insurance policy in this case.

THE EXCLUSION

The Court need not engage in a discussion of whether

the Joseph Boardman vehicle was, at the time of the acci-

A-10

dent, an “owned” vehicle as within the exclusionary clause

since, as will be more fully discussed, the determination

that Mississippi law is applicable has obviated the necessity

of such a determination. Furthermore, the Court notes

that the parties have stipulated that under the laws of Missis-

sippi, the vehicle in question would be an “owned” motor

vehicle. Thus the Court need only address the validity of

the exclusionary clause under Mississippi law.

It is incumbent upon the Court, however, to determine

initially whether vel non the plaintiff, Joseph Boardman,

is an insured under the uninsured motorist provisions of

the policy in question. USAA’s obligation to pay under

the uninsured motorist provisions of the policy are con-

tained in Coverage J.- The policy provisions delineate who

is an insured under the PART I - LIABILITY section of

the policy. That section states: “Persons Insured: The fol-

lowing are insureds under Part I: (a) with respect to the

owned automobile, (1) the named insured and any resi-

dent of the same household, .. . ; ‘relative’ means a rela-

tive of the named insured who is a resident of the same

household; . . . .” Not only has the defendant admitted

that under this provision of the policy the plaintiff, Joseph

2. Uninsured Motorists (Damages for Bodily Injury): To pay all

sums which the insured or his legal representative shali be legally

entitled to recover as damages from the owner or operator of an unin-

sured automobile because of bodily injury, sickness or disease, in-

cluding death resulting therefrom, hereinafter called “‘bodily injury,”

sustained by the insured, caused by accident and rising out of the

ownership, maintenance or use of such uninsured automobile; pro-

vided, for the purposes of this coverage, determination as to whether

the insured or such representative is legally entitled to recover such

damages, and if so the amount thereof, shall be made by agreement

between the insured or such representative and the company or, if

they fail to agree, by arbitration.

A-11

Boardman, would undoubtedly be an insured, but the evi-

dence is uncontradicted that he, although attending Missis-

sippi State and working during the summer months in Gulf-

port, Mississippi, maintained his permanent address with

his parents in Omaha, Nebraska. Furthermore, the evidence

indicates that the plaintiff, Joseph Boardman, was receiving

monetary support from his father, Henry Boardman, at the

time that he was a student at Mississippi State University.

We are further of the opinion that it is a reality of modern

society that children will often leave home to attend school

outside the state of their residence and that not only the

parents but the insurance companies themselves should

anticipate such an arrangement, and therefore, the Court

must interpret the meaning of the word “relative” in a

liberal manner so as to best effectuate the true intent of

the parties at the time that they entered into this insurance

contract. We therefore are of the opinion that Joseph Board-

man falls within the definition of a “relative” under the

policy terms and would thus be an insured thereunder.

The defense of USAA is, in part, predicated upon the

validity of the exclusionary clause of the contract in ques-

tion. That clause provides:

Exclusions: This policy does not apply under

Part IV:

(a) to bodily injury to an insured while

occupying an automobile (other than

an insured automobile) owned by the

named insured or a relative or through

being struck by such an automobile.

The validity of the aforementioned clause has been addres-

sed by the Mississippi Supreme Court in the case of Lowery

v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co., 285 So.2d

A-12

767 (Miss. 1973), in which the court, in a very lengthy and

thorough opinion, discussed the validity of a similar clause

as it related to the uninsured motorist statutes of the state

of Mississippi. In Lowery, the plaintiff was riding and oper-

ating a Honda motor bike, and through no fault of his own,

was struck by a car driven by an uninsured motorist. As a

result of the accident, he sustained extensive injuries. He

alleged that since he lived in the household of his father,

he was insured under the terms of the policy against injury

resulting from the negligent acts of an uninsured motorist.

The plaintiff contended, at both the trial and appellate

level, that the insurance company was indebted to him

for the injuries sustained as a result of the accident since

he was injured by an uninsured motorist. The motorcycie

on which the plaintiff was riding was not listed as an insured

vehicle under the terms of the policy; however, the plain-

tiff did come within the definition of the term “insured”

thereunder. The issue in Lowery was whether the insurance

policy covered an insured owner of a vehicle and the mein-

bers of his family who are injured while riding in or on

another motor vehicle not mentioned in the insurance

policy. As stated, the policy also contained a clause which

provided, in part:

This insurance does not apply .. . to bodily

injuries to an insured while occupying or

through being struck by a land motor vehicle

owned by a named insured or any resident

of the same household, if such vehicle is

not an owned motor vehicle, .. . /d. at 769.

As previously stated, the Mississippi Supreme Court

engaged in a lengthy, thorough and analytical discussion

of the validity of such a clause as it related to the uninsured

motorist statutes, particularly those in Mississippi. We note

parenthetically that, as previously stated, since the defense

A-13

in the action sub judice is dependent upon this Court’s

applying Nebraska law as it relates to the validity of the

exclusionary clause, the previous determination that Miss-

issippi law applies obviates the necessity for a discussion

of how Nebraska law would treat this exclusionary clause.3

In holding that the above exclusionary clause was void

as a violation of public policy, the Mississippi Supreme

Court in Lowery stated:

In interpreting similar, if not identical

statutes, the vast majority of jurisdictions

have stated that the purpose of such unin-

sured motorist laws is to provide protection

to innocent insured motorists and passengers

injured as a result of the negligence of finan-

cially irresponsible drivers.

‘ * * * Its purpose is to give the same protec-

tion to the person injured by an uninsured

motorist as he would have had if he had been

injured in an accident caused by an automo-

bile covered by a standard liability policy.

Such provisions are to be liberally construed

to accomplish such purpose.’ Rampy vy. State

Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co.,

278 So. 24 428 (Miss. 1973).

Id. at 770.

3. Under Nebraska law, as outlined in Herrick v. Liberty Mutual,

274 N.W. 2d 147 (Neb. 1979), it appears that an exclusionary clause

of the type in the case sub judice would be valid, as it would bar

recovery of the plaintiff herein if we found that the insured was oper-

ating an “owned ” automobile other than an insured automobile

listed in the policy.

A-14

In its analysis, the Mississippi Supreme Court spoky to the

proper relation of such exclusionary clauses to the public

policy of the state as set forth in MISS. CODE ANN. §§

83-11-101 and 83-11-103 (Supp. 1980). In concluding, the

Lowery court stated: “The great weight of authority sup-

ports the appellant’s contention that the exclusionary clause

in the present case violates the public policy of this state as

manifested by the Mississippi Uninsured Motorist Act.”

Id. at 777.

Having considered and analyzed the clause in question, we

are of the opinion that under the Mississippi Supreme Court’s

holding in Lowery, the clause in the USAA policy is void

as against public policy, and if the Mississippi Supreme

Court were called upon to interpret the language of the

USAA policy, it would so hold. Since this Court is Erie

bound to follow the substantive law of Mississippi as stated

in Lowery, we hold that the clause in question is void be-

cause against public policy, and therefore, coverage would

exist as to the plaintiff, Joseph Boardman, as an insured

within the definitions of the policy. It is clear to this Court

that the holding in Lowery dictates such a result.

STACKING

The final question for the Court involves the question of

whether the plaintiffs, under the policy terms, can aggregate

or “‘stack” insurance coverage herein. The pertinent language

in the policy in question reads:

Limits of Liability:

(a) The limit of liability for uninsured

motorists coverage stated in the decla-

rations as applicable to “each person”

is the limit of the company’s liability

for all damages, including damages for

A-15

care or loss of services, because of bodily

injury sustained by one person as the

result of any one accident and, subject

to the above provision respecting each

person, the limit of liability stated in

the declarations as applicable to “each

accident”’ is the total limit of the com-

pany’s liability for all damages, including

damages for care or loss of services,

because of bodily injury sustained by

two or more persons as a result of any

one accident.

We are aware of the numerous decisions by the Mississippi

Supreme Court speaking to the question of “‘stacking”’ under

an uninsured motorist provision in an insurance policy, and

that we are Erie bound to interpret the provision in the

USAA policy in the case sub judice in light of those pro-

nouncements by the Mississippi Supreme Court.

It is clear to this Court that the ability to stack uninsured

motorists coverage is well established in Mississippi. One of

the first pronouncements on this issue was made in Southern

Farm Bureau Casualty Insurance Co. v. Roberts, 323 So. 2d

536 (Miss. 1975), wherein the Mississippi Supreme Court

held that the plaintiff could aggregate coverage unde: *he

uninsured motorist endorsement on three separate insurance

policies in order to recover all sums to which he was legally

entitled as damages for bodily injury. /d. at 537. See also

State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co. v. Bishop, 329 So. 2d

670 (Miss. 1976). The Roberts court based its decision upon

the statutorily required uninsured motorist endorsement,

stating that since premiums were charged and collected on

each policy, the policyholder should be allowed to realize

the benefits for which he had paid. /d. at 538.

A-16

Two years later, the Mississippi Supreme Court decided

Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. v. Bridges, 350 So. 2d

1379 (Miss. 1977), a case which is analagous to the case sub

judice, and in which the Mississippi Supreme Court relied

upon Roberts in reaching its decision. The pertinent limits

of liability clause in the policy in the Bridges case read:

The limit of liability for uninsured motorists

coverage stated in the declarations as appli-

cable to “teach person” is the limit of the

company’s liability for all damages, including

damages for care or loss of services, because

of bodily injury sustained by one person as

the result of any one accident and, subject

to the above provision respecting each person,

the limit of liability stated in the declarations

as applicable to “each accident” is the total

of the company’s liability for all damages

including damages for care or loss of services,

because of bodily injury sustained by two or

more persons as the result of any one acci-

dent. /d. at 1381.

As is apparent, the policy language in Bridges is identical

to that in the USAA policy at issue herein. Although it

determined that the limits of liability language was ambigu-

ous, the Bridges court did recognize that an insurance com-

pany could legally limit its uninsured motorist coverage to

the minimum specified by the financial responsibility law.

Id. See Talbot v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance

Co., 291 So. 2d 699 (Miss. 1974). The court went on to

state that this must be done by “clear ard unambiguous

language.”’ The conclusion of the court was that the language

in the limits of liability clause was “ambiguous and must

be construed most strongly against its creator.” /d. at 1382.

Again, “stacking” was allowed. In giving further support

A-17

to its holding, the court found that, as in the present case,

the insurance company had charged a separate premium

for the uninsured motorist coverage on each automobile

and not a lump sum premium.‘ As previously stated, the

Bridges decision stands for the proposition that if the insur-

ance company wished to limit its coverage, it must provide

for such limitation in “clear and unambiguous language”

which wou.d impart to the insured a clear understanding

that such limitations were present.

In Pearthree vy. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co., 373

So. 2d 267 (Miss. 1979), the supreme court again held

that the plaintiff could aggregate uninsured motorist coverage

on two cars, and that this could be done to determine the

overall liability of the insured. /d. at 268. In Pearthree,

the court determined that the policy language fell squarely

within the criteria established by Bridges, but that the

interpretation allowing aggregation was required because of

the ambiguity found in the limiting clause in the policy

covering more than one car, and not because separate premi-

ums were charged. /d. at 270. Again, the material language

in we Pearthree decision tracks that of the exclusionary

4. This Court is cognizant that the charging of a separate premium

is not necessarily controlling in determining whether the insured has

aggregate coverage under the uninsured motorist provisions of the

policy; however, as stated in Bridges, the charging of a separate pre-

mium raises the presumption or inference that the coverage in the

policy is the same as would be supplied if the coverage was provided

for in separate and distinct policies covering the same auto vehicles.

A-18

clause in the case sub judice.®

In 1980, United States District Judge Dan M. Russell,

Jr., handed down his decision in St. Arnaud y. Allstate

Insurance Co., 501 F. Supp. 192 (S.D. Miss. 1980), in which

he cited Roberts, Bishop, Bridges, and Pearthree, holding

that there existed an ambiguity in the limits of liability

clause in the uninsured motorist provisions of the policy,

and further, that the “stacking” of the uninsured motorist

coverage would be allowed to determine the insured’s limits

of liability. Although we are cognizant that the determina-

tion of the ambiguity in the St. Arnaud case turned partly

upon the definition of the term “‘under-insured automobile,”

we feel compelled to note that the limits of liability clause

in St. Arnaud in all material respects was identical to that

in the USAA policy in question, and that the court in St.

Arnaud, after making the determination that the term

“under-insured automobile” actually meant uninsured

motorist, went on to find that an ambiguity did exist in the

5. The limitation clause in the Pearthree case read:

Limits of liability:

(a) The limit of liability for Uninsured Motorist (Family Protection)

Coverage stated in the declaration as applicable to “each person” is the

limit of the Company’s liability for all damages, including damages for

care or loss of services, because of bodily injury sustained by one per-

son as the result of any one accident and, subject to the above provision

respecting each person, the limit of liability stated in the declarations

as applicable to “each accident” is the total limit of the Company’s

liability for all damages, including damages for care or loss of services,

because of bodily injury sustained by two or more persons as a result

of any one accident. Jd. at 269.

A-19

terms of the policy because the company did not clearly and

unambiguously restrict its liability therein.6

Finally, this Court is quite familiar with the case of Blan-

sett v. American Employers Insurance Co., 652 F.2d 535

(Sth Cir. 1981), wherein the Fifth Circuit affirmed this

Court’s decision limiting coverage to $10,000 on a fleet

policy insuring seven vehicles, notwithstanding that the

policy specified a separate premium for the uninsured motor-

ist coverage provided on each vehicle. In limiting coverage in

the Blansett case, this Court based its decision on the langu-

age of the limits of liability clause in the insurance policy.

Comparing the language of the limits of liability clauses in

the Blansett case and in the policy presently under consider-

ation, it is clear that in Blansett, the insurer clearly and

unambiguously limited its uninsured motorist coverage

to a minimum amount specified by the financial responsi-

bility law. The pertinent part of the policy, and more speci-

fically the limitations of liability clause, in the Blansett case

read:

6. Under the uninsured motorist coverage, the policy in St Arnaud

stated that:

(6) (a) The limit of liability stated in the Declarations

as applicable to “each person” is the limit of All-

state’s liability for all damages, including damages

for care or loss of services, because of bodily injury

sustained by one person as the result of any one

accident and, subject to the above provision respect-

ing each person, the limit of liability stated in the

Declarations as applicable to “each accident” is the

totc' limit of Allstates’s liability for all damages,

inclu: ag damages for care or loss of services, because

of bocily injury sustained by two or more persons

as the result of any one accident. Jd. at 193.

A-20

Il. LIMITS OF LIABILITY

Regardless of the number of (1) persons or

insureds under this pclicy, (2) persons who

sustain bodily injury, (3) claims made or

suits brought on account of bodily injury

or (4) highway vehicles to which this policy

applies,

(a) The limit of liability stated in the

schedule as applicable to ‘each person”

is the limit of the company’s liability

for all damages because of bodily injury

sustained by one person as the result

of any one accident and, subject to the

above provision respecting “each per-

son,”’ the limit of liability stated in the

schedule as applicable to “each acci-

dent” is the total limit of the company’s

liability for all damages because of

bodily injury sustained by two or more

persons as the result of any one acci-

dent. /d. at 536-537.

(Emphasis added.)

There is a distinction between the policy language in

Blansett and the USAA policy. The relevant phrase in Blan-

sett is: “Regardless of the number of . . . highway vehicles

to which this policy applies. . . .”” This phrase is not found in

the USAA policy which, however, does describe a “limit

of liability” in language identical to that found in Bridges.

Additionally, in Blansett, the limits of liability clause con-

cerned all claims made on account of bodily injury, which

would include uninsured motorist claims, and thus provided

the rationale for limiting coverage therein. In Blansett, the

A-21

Fifth Circuit also recognized the well established rule that if

the language in question could be said to be unclear or am-

biguous, it must be construed most strongly against the

insurer, the drafter of it. Jd. at 536; State Farm Mutual

Automobile Insurance Co. v. Taylor, 233 So. 2d 805 (Miss.

1970).

Finally, the Fifth Circuit stated, ““Even straining to do so,

we can discern no relevant ambiguity in this language, ’ and

found that the language in the Blansett case was sufficiently

clear to limit the coverage under the uninsured motorist

provisions of the policy. 652 F.2d at 537.

Considering the policy language in the instant case, we

find that the plaintiffs should be permitted to aggregate or

“stack” the coverage afforded by the insurance policy. In

addition to the aforementioned dictates by the courts of

Mississippi, the plaintiff, Henry Boardman, did own an

automobile policy covering three vehicles on which separate

premiums were paid, and although not dispositive of the

question of the limits of liability herein, it is indicative of

and does raise a presumption which supports aggregation.

Aggregation should also be permitted because of the specific

language employed in the subject policy. Identical language

was found to be ambiguous and sufficiently unclear to

allow aggregation in the Bridges, Pearthree, and St. Arnaud

decisions. We find that the language which USAA has used in

an attempt to legally limit its liability in order to prevent

aggregation is not clear and unambiguous. Furthermore,

the language of the policy itself contains no such appropriate .

limiting language; vis-a-vis, language which would sufficiently

impart to the insured the limitations of liability under the

uninsured motorist provisions of the policy as was present

in Blansett. Instead, we find that the language itself indica-

tes that aggregation should be permitted. Under the pro-

visions of the policy entitled “Conditions,” it is stated that

A-22

“Conditions 1, 2, 3, 6, 14, 15, 16 and 18 apply to all Parts”

of the policy, while “Conditions 4 and 5, 7 through 13, and

17 apply only to” Parts I, II, and III. Part IV (the uninsured

motorist provision) is excluded from Condition 4, which

provides, in part, “When two or more automobiles are

insured hereunder, the terms of this policy shall apply

separately to each. . . .” It is clear from this language that

separate and distinct coverage as to the uninsured motorist

provision is specifically excluded, and therefore, a fortiori

that aggregation under that provision is contempiated. This

finding is supported additionally by the fact that USAA,

under Part IV of the policy, has agreed “‘[t]o pay all sums

which the insured or his legal representative shall be legally

entitled to recover as damages from the owner or operator

of an uninsured automobile because of bodily injury . . . sus-

tained by the insured,. .. .”

This Court therefore finds that as a matter of law there

exists an ambiguity in the limits of liability clause in the

USAA policy. Furthermore, there is a conflict existing

between conditions for the policy and the iimits of liabil-

ity clause so that under the dictates of Blansett and other

decisions, interpretation of such a clause as it relates to cover-

age must be resolved in favor of the plaintiffs hereunder,

and therefore, aggregation must be permitted. See State

Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co. v. Taylor, 233

So. 2d 805 (Miss. 1970).

A-23

CONCLUSION

In sum, Mississippi law applies under the ‘center of grav-

ity” test; that under the decisions of the Mississippi Supreme

Court, the exclusionary clause relied upon by USAA is null

and vild as a violation of public policy; that Joseph Board-

{ man is an insured under the USAA policy herein; that the

| contract of insurance existing between the plaintiffs and the

defendant provides uninsured motorist coverage to the

plaintiff, Joseph Boardman; and that the language of the

limits of liability clause herein is ambiguous, thus permitting

aggregation of the policy limits to provide a total of $60,000

uninsured motorist coverage for the plaintiff, Joseph Board-

man.

We therefore are of the opinion that the plaintiffs’ Motion

for Partial Summary Judgment is well taken and is hereby

granted. Accordingly, the defendant’s Motion for Summary

Judgment is without merit and is denied.

A Judgment conforming with this opinion, approved as

to form by counsel, shall be submitted to the Court within

the time and manner provided by our local rules.

THIS the 21st Gay of October, 1982, at Biloxi, Mississippi.

/s/ WALTER L. NIXON, JR.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

A-24

APPENDIX B

Joseph BOARDMAN and Henry Boardman,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

UNITED SERVICES AUTOMOBILE ASSOCIATION,

Defendant-Appellee.

No. 83-4310.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

Sept. 14, 1984.

In action for uninsured motorist coverage under automo-

bile insurance policy, the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Mississippi, Walter L. Nixon, Jr., Chief

Judge, found, interalia, that Mississippi law would be applied

under Mississippi choice-of-law “‘center of gravity” test, and

insurer brought interlocutory appeal. The Court of Appeals,

Brown, Circuit Judge, held that since weight which would

be given to various factors by Mississippi was unknown,

Court of Appeals would certify choice-of-law questions to

Mississippi Supreme Court.

Order accordingly.

1. Federal Courts KEY 392

Where action concerning uninsured motorist coverage

involved choice of law which would be applied by Mississippi

courts and weight which would be given to various factors

by Mississippi was unknown, Court of Appeals would certify

choice-of-law questions to Mississippi Supreme Court. Miss.

Sup.Ct.Rules, Rule 46.

A-25

2. Insurance KEY 467.51(1)

Under Nebraska law, automobile insurance contract’s

exclusionary language denying benefits for uninsured motor-

ists coverage is valid.

3. Federal Courts KEY 392

Mississippi Supreme Court would not be bound by perim-

eters of questions certified to it by Court of Appeals.

Harry R. Allen, Billy W. Hood, Gulfport, Miss., for plain-

tiffs-appellants.

Ben F. Galloway. Sherman Muths, Jr., Gulfport, Miss.,

for defendant-appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Mississippi.

Before BROWN, GEE, and WILLIAMS, Circuit Judges.

JOHN R. BROWN, Circuit Judge:

This diversity case presents questions of Mississippi law

on which Mississippi should have the final answer and for

which Mississippi affords the means to obtain that answer.

Guided by the great principles of federalism, we defer deci-

sion and certify decisive questions to the Supreme Court of

Mississippi,! pursuant to its Rule 46, adopted August 1,

1980.

1. See generally In re McClintock, 558 F.2d 732, n. 2, 3, 4, and 5 (5th

Cir.1977) and cases cited; J. Brown, Certification-Federalism in Action,

7 Cum.L.Rev. 455 (1977) (tracing the development of the certification

doctrine and the Court’s care to avoid “wearing out its welcome” by

A-26

Our problem—choice of law, Mississippi or Nebraska—aris-

es out of the following situation. Plaintiff-Appellant Joseph

Boardman, age 19, was a student in Mississippi during the

1978-79 school term. During the summer of 1979 he worked

in Gulfport, Mississippi for his uncle. While at school, Joseph

had been permitted by his father to operate an automobile

which was insured under his father’s insurance policy issued

by defendant Ur'ted Services Automobile Association

(USAA). Joseph Boardman drove this automobile until his

father delivered it to Joseph’s sister. After Joseph no longer

had the car, Henry Boardman requested USAA to remove

Joseph as a named insured from his automobile insurance

policy.

On June 20, 1979, Joseph Boardman purchased a 1970

Chevrolet Caprice from an automobile dealer in Gulfport,

Mississippi. He applied for a title and purchased and obtained

a Mississippi license tag for his car. After Joseph purchased

this particular automobile he discussed with his father

having it insured by USAA, but no insurance was purchased,

nor was any notice of the acquisition of a new vehicle given

to USAA prior to Joseph’s accident on July 8, 1979. Thus,

prior to the date of the accident, Joseph’s 1970 Chevrolet

was never added io the policy of his father, nor was any

premium paid for coverage under any other insurance con-

tract. Joseph’s claim for compensation for his personal

injuries arising out of an accident with an uninsured motor-

ist was denied by USAA under the policy’s exclusionary

clause on the grounds that Joseph was driving a motor

vehicle which Joseph solely owned, which was not an insured

an apparent practice of ducking troublesome state law questions).

Of the certification procedure, then Chief Judge Godbold wrote: “‘both

federal and state judicial systems are the beneficiaries of a procedure

rooted in cooperative federalism.” American Eastern Development

Corp. v. Everglades Marina, 608 F.2d 123, 125 (5th Cir.1979).

A-27

vehicle as defined under the USAA policy of his father.2

2.

PART IV—PROTECTION AGAINST UNINSURED MOTORISTS

COVERAGE J-—UNINSUREC “MOTORISTS (DAMAGES FOR

BODILY INJURY):

To pay all sums which the insured or his legal representative shall

be legally entitled to recover as damages from the owner or operator

of an uninsured automobile because of bodily injury, sickness or

disease, including death resulting therefrom, hereinafter called

“bodily injury,” sustained by the insured, caused by accident and

arising out of the ownership, maintenance or use of such uninsured

automobile . . .

DEFINITIONS: The definitions under Part I, «xcept the definition

of “insured”, apply to Part IV, and under Part IV:“insured” means:

(a) the named insured and any relative;

(b) any other person while occupying an insured automobile;

(c) any person, with respect to damages he is entitled to recover

because bodily injury to which this part applies sustained

by an insured under (a) or (b) above.

“insured automobile” means:

(a) an automobile described in the policy for which a specific

premium charge indicates that coverage is afforded,

(b) a private passenger, farm or utility automobile, ownership

of which is acquired by the named insured during the policy

period provided

(1) it replaces an insured automobile as defined in (a) above, or

(2) the company insures under this Coverage all private passen-

ger, farm and utility automobiles owned by the named insured

on the date of such acquisition and the named insured notifies

the company during the policy period or » hin 30 days after

the date of such acquisition of this election to make the Liability

and Uninsured Motorist Coverages under this and no other policy

issued by the company applicable to such automobile,

(c) a temporary substitute automobile for an insured automobile

as defined in (a) or (b) above, and

(d) a non-owned automobile while operated by the named in-

sured; and the term “insured automobile” includes a trailer

while being used with an automobile described in (a), (b), (c) or

(d) above, but shall not include:

(1) any automobile or trailer owned by a resident of the same

household as the named insured,

(2) any automobile while used as a public or livery conveyance,

A-28

Plaintiffs filed a motion for partial summary judgment,

seeking an adjudication that there existed uninsured motor-

ist coverage for Joseph’s personal injuries under Henry

Boardman’s policy. They also sought an adjudication that

the uninsured motorist benefits could be stacked under the

terms and provisions of the automobile insurance contract

for a total coverage of $60,000. Defendant USAA filed a

cross motion for summary judgment seeking an adjudication

that there was no uninsured motorist coverage for Joseph’s

accident. USAA also sought an adjudication that there could

be no stacking even if the court found that the coverage

existed and that the limitation on benefits available to

Joseph Boardman was $10,000.00, the minimum statutory

requirement fo the Mississippi Safety Responsibility Act.

In its opinion, the District Court held that Mississippi law

would be applied to the insurance contract under the Miss-

issippi choice of law “center of gravity” test. The Court

also held that (i) the exclusionary clause? relied upon by

USAA was void as a violation of Mississippi public policy;

(ii) Joseph Boardman was an insured under the USAA

policy: (iii) the contract of insurance existing between

Henry Boardman and USAA provided uninsured motorist

coverage to Joseph Boardman; and (iv) the language of the

limitation of liability clause found in the policy was ambigu-

ous. thus permitting stacking of the policy limits to provide

or

(3) any automobile while being used without the permission

of the owner.

EXCLUSIONS: This policy does not apply under Part IV:

(a) to bodily injury to an insured while occupying an automobile

(other than an insured automobile) owned by the named insured

or a relative, or through being struck by such an automobile. . .

(emphasis added).

3. See supra note 2.

A-29

a total uninsured motorist coverage of $60,000. The inter-

locutory appeal of USAA was granted on May 16, 1983.

[1,2] This diversity suit, filed in a Mississippi federal

district court, requires that we apply the choice of law rules

a Mississippi court would apply had the case been filed in a

state court. Klaxon Co. v. Stentor Electric Manufacturing

Co., 313 U.S. 487, 61 S.Ct. 1020, 85 L.Ed. 1477 (1941).

While it is clear that the Mississippi Supreme Court in choice

of law situations applies and recognizes the “‘center of grav-

ity”’ test, such a decision under that test cleariy applicable

to the fact situation in this case eludes us.4 While it is clear

4. As a partial example, the court has closely examined the following

cases involving Mississippi choice of law principles for guidance in this

matter: Maryland Casualty Co. v. Integrity Insurance Co., 693 F.2d

506, 511 (5th Cir.1982); Vicon, Inc. v. CMI, Corp., 657 F.2d 768

(5th Cir.1981); FMC Finance Corp. v. Reed, 592 F.2d 238 (5th Cir.

1979); Blue Bird Body Co. v. Ryder Truck Rental, 583 F.2d 717

(5th Cir.1978); Bunge Corp. v. Biglane, 418 F.Supp. 1159 (S.D.Miss.

1976); Maryland Casualty Co. v. Williams, 377 F.2d 389 (5th Cir.

1967); Mid-Continent Telephone Corp. v. Home Telephone Co., 319

F.Supp 1176 (N.D.Miss.1970); Spragins v. Louise Plantation, 391

So.2d 97 (Miss.1980); Vick v. Cochran, 316 So.2d 242 (Miss.1975);

see Dunavant Enterprises, Inc. v. Bowman, 274 $0.2d 109 (Miss.

1973); Mitchell v. Craft, 211 So.2d 509 (Miss.1968); Craig v. Colum-

bus Compress & Warehouse Co., 210 So.2d 645 (Miss.1968); Nation-

wide Mutual Insurance Co. v. Tillman, 249 Miss. 141, 161 So.2d 604

(1964).

A-30

that under this approach, “the Court trying the action applies

the law of the place which has the most significant relation-

ship or contact with the event or parties, has the greatest

concern with the specific issues with respect to the liabilities

and rights of the parties to the litigation,” Craig v. Columbus

Compress and Warehouse Co., 210 So.2d 645 (Miss. 1968), it

is precisely the significance or the lack of significance of

these contacts which troubles us. We discern no clear path

from the cases cited by the District Court or the parties. In

addition to the unknown relative weight to be given by Miss-

issippi to the choice influencing principles of § 6 and the

relevant comments of the Restatement (Second of Con-

flicts,> it is also unclear how the Mississippi courts employ

5. § 6. Choice-of-Law Principles

(1) A court, subject to constitutional restrictions will follow a

statutory directive of its own state on choice of law.

(2) When there is no such directive, the factors, relevant to the

choice of the applicable rule of law include

(a) the needs of the interstate and international systems,

(b) the relevant policies of the forum,

(c) the relevant policies of other interested states and the

relative interests of those states in the determination of the

particular issue,

(d) the protection of justified expectations,

(e) the basic policies underlying the particular field of law,

(f) certainty, predictability and uniformity of result, and

(g) ease in the determination and application of the law to be

applied.

A-31

the more specific § 1886 and § 1937 which appear to bear

cn the case before us. Also at stake is the weight of the pol-

icy embodied in the Mississippi Safety Responsibility Act in

6. § 188. Law Governing the absence of Effective Choice by the

Parties

(1) The rights and duties of the parties with respect

to an issue in contract are determined by the local

law of the state which, with respect to that issue, has

the most significant relationship to the transaction

and the parties under the principles stated in § 6.

(2) In the absence of an effective choice of law

by the parties (see § 187), the contracts to be taken

into account in applying the principles of § 6 to

determine the law applicable to an issue include:

(a) the place of contracting,

(b) the place of negotiation of the contract,

(c) the place of performance,

(d) the location of the subject matter of the

contract, and

(e) the domicil, residence, nationality, place of

incorporation and place of business of the parties,

These contacts are to be evaluated according to their

relative importance with respect to the particular

issue.

(3) If the place of negotiating the contract and the

place of the performance are in the same state, the

local law of this state will usually be applied, except

as otherwise provided in §§ 189-199 and 203.

7. § 193. Contracts of Fire, Surety or Casualty Insurance

The validity of a contract of fire, surety or casualty

insurance and the rights created thereby are deter-

mined by the local law of the state which the parties

understood was to be the principal location of

the insured risk during the term of the policy, unless

with respect to the particular issue, some other state

has a more significant relationship under the prin-

ciples stated in § 6 to the transaction and the parties,

in which event the local law of the other state will

be applied.

A-32

helping to assure that motorists involved in accidents with

uninsured motorists do not become public charges in Missis-

sippi. Finally, depending almost certainly on the choice of

law decision is the validity of the USAA policy’s uninsured

motorist exclusionary clause.8

8. If Nebraska law is held to govern the insurance contract. the

exclusionary clause is valid because the Supreme Court of Nebraska

has clearly upheld the validity of the insurance contract’s exclusionary

language denying benefits for uninsured motorist coverage. Accord-

ingly, if Nebraska law applies under the Mississippi “center of gravity”

test, Joseph Boardman cannot recover for his injuries. See Herrick v.

Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Co., 202 Neb. 116, 274 N.W.2d 147

(1979). The Herrick Court held as follows:

In Shipley v. American Standard Insurance Co.

of Wisconsin, 183 Neb. 109, 158 N.W.2d 238 (1968),

the Plaintiff was operating an uninsured motor-

cycle when he was injured in a collision with another

motorcycle operated by an uninsured motorist. We

held that the Plaintiff could not recover under the

uninsured motorist provision of a policy which

insured a Chevrolet automobile owned by the Plain-

tiff excluded coverage for “bodily injury to an

insured while occupying an automobile (other than

an insured automobile) owned by the named in-

sured. . . . We held that an uninsured motorist en-

dorsement should be interpreted in light of the

statutory requirements concerning victims of neg-

ligent and financial irresponsible motorists, citing

Stephens v. Allied Mutual Insurance Company,

182 Neb. 562, 156 N.W.2d 133, (1968). An over-

riding public policy of protecting an owner/operator

who inexcusably has no applicable bodily injury

liability is not presently discernible.

An insurance contract should be interpreted in

accordance with reasonable expectations of the

insured at the time of the contract, Stephens v.

Allied Mutua!, supra. Plaintiff does not assert that

he had bodily injury liability coverage applicable

to his motorcycle under the contract. He might

A-33

Fully aware of Mississippi’s imprimatur on § 6 we might-—

by piecing together some of our own deliverances and the

District Court opinions dutifully following them-come

up with a fair prediction of what Mississippi would hold

in this case, but we do not think this a wise course. At

issue is a matter of great importance to Mississippi. With

facilities for positive determination so readily at hand

through certification, it is for Mississippi-not us as a for-

tuitous momentary spokesman—to make its own policy

decisions. This is especially so with respect to the ever

growing number of serious automobile accidents on the

state’s highways involving out-of-state vehicles covered

or net covered by insurance policies obtained at earlier

times and places by persons in our nomadic society.

expect the uninsured motorist endorsement to

cover loss while he was operating his motorcycle,

but such expectations are unreasonable.

The statute, of course, relates to automobile lia-

bility insurance policies. It requires that uninsured

motorist coverage be included in any such policies

delivered or issued for delivery in the state unless

rejected by the insured. The purpose of the coverage

is to protect the insured from uninsured motorists

who do not have liability insurance on their vehicle.

It is difficult to find a policy in the statute to protect

one uninsured motorist from another uninsured

motorist. This is what the Shipley case referred to

when it stated: “An overriding public policy of

protecting an owner/operator who _ inexcusably

has no applicable bodily liability coverage is not

presently discernible.” (Emphasis added)

A-34

Concerned that we uphold our Erie? duty to apply the

substantive law of the forum state in a diversity case, we

seek guidance from the one court constitutionally entitled

to supply it. Indeed, as this case centers upon the strength

of local Mississippi policies this course is mandated by the

principles of federalism. Federal courts should hesitate

to “trade judicial robes for the garb of prophet” J. Brown,

Certification-Federalism in Action, 7 Cum.L.Rev. 455

(1977), when an available certification procedure renders

the crystal ball or divining rod unnecessary.

[3] Following our usual practice, we are requesting

counsel to submit a joint statement of facts and a proposed

certificate of questions, see West yv. Caterpillar Tractor

Co., 504 F.2d 967 (Sth Cir. 1974).1°

WEST KEY NUMBER SYSTEM

9. Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64, 58 S.Ct. 817, 82

L.Ed. 1188 (1938).

10. We point out to the Supreme Court of Mississippi, no doubt

unnecessarily, that they need not feel bound in any fashion by the

perimeters of the questions certified. We iterate that

[T]he particular phrasing used in the certified ques-

tion is not to restrict the Supreme Court’s con-

sideration of the problems involved and the issues

as the Supreme Court perceives them to be in its

analysis of the record certified in this case. This

latitude extends to the Supreme Court’s restatement

of the issue or issues in the matter in which the

answers are to be given, whether as a comprehensive

whole or in subordinate or even contingent parts.

Martinez v. Rodriguez, 394 F.2d 156, 159 n. 6 (5th Cir.1968).

A-35

APPENDIX C

Joseph BOARDMAN and Henry Boardman,

Plaintifi-Appellants,

Vv.

UNITED SERVICES AUTOMOBILE ASSOCIATION,

Defendant-Appellee.

No. 83-4310.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

Oct. 23, 1984.

Harry R. Allen, Billy W. Hood, Gulfport, Miss., for plain-

tiffs-appellants.

Ben F. Galloway, Sherman Muths, Jr., Gulfport, Miss.,

for defendant-appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Mississippi.

Before BROWN, GEE, and WILLIAMS, Circuit Judges.

JOHN R. BROWN, Circuit Judge:

This appeal presents important issues of modern choice

of law principles which are particularly appropriate for

resolution by the Mississippi Supreme Court. Broadly speak-

ing, at issue is what relative weight a Mississippi court would

give-employing the Mississippi “center of gravity” test-

to the choice of law principles in § 6, 188, and 193 of the

A-36

Restatement (Second) of Conflicts.

Following our usual practice, we requested that the

parties submit a proposed agreed certificate of the issues

for decision. Commendably, they have reached full agree-

ment. Since we also agree that these are the substantive

issues presented, we submit the parties’ statement of facts

and our issues disclaiming, however, any intention or desire

that the Supreme Court of Mississippi confine its reply

to the precise form or scope of the questions certified.

CERTIFICATE FROM THE UNITED STATES COURT

OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT TO THE SU-

PREME COURT OF MISSISSIPPI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSISSIPPI AND

THE HONORABLE JUSTICES THEREOF:

It appears to the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit, that the above styled case in this Court

involves questions or propositions of the law of the State

of Mississippi which are determinative of the cause, and

there appear to be no controlling precedents in the decision

of the Supreme Court of Mississippi. This Court hereby

certifies the fcllowing questions of law to the Supreme

Court of Mississippi for instructions concerning said ques-

tions of law, based on the facts recited herein:

1. Style of the Case.

The style of the case in which this certificate is made

is Joseph Boardman and Henry Boardman, plaintiffs/appel-

lees v. United Services Automobile Association, defendant/

appellant, being case number 83-9017, United States Court

of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, such case being an appeal

from the United States District Court from the Southern

A-37

District of Mississippi.

2. Statement of the Case.

|. USAA issued an automobile insurance policy to Henry

W. Boardman, a resident of Qmaha, Nebraska, for a policy

period covering September 15, 1978, to September 15,

1979. (R 83)

2. The insurance contract was issued in Nebraska, while

Henry Boardman was stationed with the United States

Air Force in Omaha. (R 83)

3. The policy covered a 1975 Oldsmobile, a 1974 Ford

Pinto, and a 1977 Ford Pinto, all principally garaged in

Nebraska. (R 83)

4.The Plaintiff-Appellee Joseph Boardman, age 19,

entered Mississippi State University of Starkville, Missis-

sippi, during the Fall and Spring semesters of the 1978-

1979 term (deposition of Joseph Boardman, page 8).

5. During the Fall and Spring semesters of 1978-1979,

Joseph was permitted by his father, Col. Henry Boardman,

to operate the Pinto automobile which was insured under

the policy of insurance issued by the Defendant, United

Services Automobile Association, in the name of Plain-

tiff-Appellee, Col. Henry Boardman.

6.In May of 1979, Joseph Boardman, came to Gulfport,

Mississippi, directly from school to work for his paternal

uncle who owns and operates Coast Materials, located in

Gulfport, Mississippi (deposition of Joseph Boardman,

page 9).

7. Joseph Boardman drove the Ford Pinto automobile

A-38

to Gulfport and operated this automobile until his father

came to Gulfport and recovered this vehicle in order to

deliver the automobile to Joseph’s sisters who live in Cin-

cinnati, Ohio (deposition of Henry Boardman, page 11).

8. On June 14, Henry Boardman requested the Defendant

to remove Joseph as a named insured on the automobile

insurance policy (deposition of Henry Boardman, page 10).

9.USAA effected the deletion of Joseph Boardman

on June 16, 1979. (R 95)

10. On June 20, 1979, Joseph Boardman purchased

a Chevrolet Caprice automobile from Jay Jay Chevrolet,

Gulfport, Mississippi.

11. An application was made by Joseph Boardman

for title and additionally he purchased a Mississippi license

tag for the Chevrolet Caprice automobile (deposition of

Joseph Boardman, pages 16, 19).

12. The 1970 Chevrolet was never added to the policy

of Henry Boardman, nor was any premium paid for any

coverage under that or any other insurance contract.

13. On July 8, 1979, at approximately 3:00 a.m., Joseph

Boardman was injured in an accident with an uninsured

motorist, David Turan, in Gulfport, Mississippi, while driving

the 1970 Chevrolet.

14. The Plaintiff-Appellee, Joseph Boardman, did not

receive title to tiic Chevrolet automobile until July 9, 1979,

or one day following the accident (affidavit of Henry Board-

man, R 57).

15. Damages sustained by Joseph Boardman include

A-39

severe personal injuries which are undisputed.

16. The claim for uninsured motorist benefits arising

from the accident under the USAA policy in which Henry

Boardman was the named insured, was denied to Joseph

Boardman on the grounds that Joseph was driving an owned

motor vehicle, which was not an insured vehicle under the

subject policy, thereby being specifically excluded under

the policy terms.

17. Nebraska law upholds the “owned vehicle” exclu-

sionary clause.

18. The “owned vehicle” exclusionary clause is invalid

under Mississippi law.

3. Questions to be Certified.}

What relative weight would Mississippi give—applying

the “center of gravity” test to the choice of law principles

of § 6, 188, and 193, of the Restatement (Second) of

conflicts-to the undisputed facts of this case on the fol-

lowing issues.

1. Would Mississippi or Nebraska law apply

in construing the USAA automobile insur-

ance contract issued to Henry Boardman;

or stated differently, under the Mississippi

“center of gravity” test, which state would

L. We emphasize our disclaimer again, see note 10, Boardman

v. United Services Automobile Association, 742 F.2d 847 (5th Cir.

1984) that our phrasing of the questions is not meant to restrict the

supreme court of Mississippi to answering the issues as it perceives

them.

A-40

be deemed to have the most significant

contacts with the insurance policy for choice

of law purposes?

2. Would Mississippi or Nebraska law govern

the validity of the uninsured motorist exclu-

sionary clause;2 or stated differently, if

Nebraska law is held to govern the insurance

contract, does Mississippi public policy

prevent the enforcement of the exclusionary

~ clause?

3. Would Mississippi or Nebraska law govern

the issue of vehicle ownership; or stated

differently, would Mississippi under its

“center of gravity” test consider Missis-

sippi or Nebraska to have the most signi-

ficant contacts for the purpose of establish-

ing the law governing vehicle ownership?

The final question proposed by the parties—assuming

arguendo that uninsured motorists coverage exists is ag-

gregation allowed-—has recently been decided in a case cer-

tified by our Court to the Mississippi Supreme Court. Gov-

ernment Employces Insurance Co. v. Brown, 46 So.2d

1002 (Miss. 1984) appears to permit aggregation.? Accord-

ingly, possessed of a clear answer, we do not submit this

issue to the busy Mississippi tribunal.

The entire record in this case, together with copies of

2. The insurance policy exclusionary clause can be found in note

2, Boardman v. United Services Automobile Association, 742 F.2d

847 (5th Cir. 1984).

*3. Footnote omitted.

A-41

the briefs of the parties, our initial opinion, and the agreed

certification are transmitted herewith.

DATE:

CERTIFIED.

A-42

APPENDIX D

Joseph BOARDMAN and Henry W. Boardman

v.

UNITED SERVICES AUTOMOBILE ASSOCIATION

No. 55967.

Supreme Court of Mississippi

May 22, 1985

I.

This case comes to us via the lateral appellate process

authorized by Rule 46 of the rules of this Court. Specifically,

three questions have been certified to us by the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, as will appear below,

although that court has disclaimed “‘any intention or desire

that the Supreme Court of Mississippi confine its reply to

the precise form or scope of the questions certified”.

Rule 46, as originally promulgated, contemplated that

we would answer via certification pure questions of law. The

questions presented here in no insignificant part are in the

nature of law application questions—what result obtains from

applying the rules of law to the facts of the case?—rather

than pure questions of law as to what is the law of Missis-

sippi on a particular point. There are presented, however,

matters with respect to which we perhaps may be of help.

In a spirit of cooperative federalism, and motivated further

by the realization that this action arises out of an incident

Occurring almost six years ago and obviously needs to be

brought to a conclusion as soon as possible, we will provide

several insights which we hope will be of assistance to the

Court of Appeals.

A-43

En route and for future reference, we will discuss our

certification procedure and try to delineate more clearly

what was intended by this court in the promulgation of

Rule 46.

II.

Included in the opinion of the Court of Appeals setting

forth the questions certified is a statement of facts. From our

review of the record it appears that there is no dispute

regarding any fact material to the questions certified. In

summary form, the facts are:

1. United Services Automobile Association (USAA)

is an inter-insurance exchange which issues insurance policies

exclusively to persons who are members of the Armed

Forces of the United States. USAA was the Defendant in

the United States District Court for the Southern District

of Mississippi and is the Appellant in the Court of Appeals.

2. USAA was and is qualified to do business in Missis-

sippi and in fact has issued insurance policies in Mississippi.

3. USAA issued an automobile insurance policy to

Col. Henry W. Boardman, a resident of Omaha, Nebraska,

for a policy period covering September 15, 1978, to Sept-

ember 15, 1979. Henry W. Boardman was one of the Plain-

tiffs in the District Court and is one of the Appellees in the

Court of Appeals.

4. The insurance contract was issued in Nebraska

through USAA’s agent in Nebraska, while Henry Boardman

was stationed with the United States Air Force in Omaha.

5. The policy covered a 1975 Oldsmobile, a 1974 Ford

Pinto, and a 1977 Ford Pinto, all principally garaged in

Nebraska.

A-44

6. The other Plaintiff-Appellee, Joseph W. Boardman,

age 19, entered Mississippi State University at Starkville,

Mississippi, during the Fall and Spring semesters of the

1978-1979 term.

7. During the Fall and Spring semesters of 1978-1979,

Joseph was permitted by his father, Col. Henry Boardman, to

operate the Pinto automobile which was insured under the

policy of insurance issued by the Defendant, USAA, in the

name of Plaintiff-Appellee, Col. Henry Boardman.

8. In May of 1979, Joseph Boardman, came to Gulf-

port, Mississippi, to take a summer job working for his pater-

nal uncle who owns and operates Coast Materials, located

in Gulfport, Mississippi.

9. Joseph Boardman drove the Ford Pinto automobile

to Gulfport and operated this automobile until his father

came to Gulfport and recovered this vehicle in order to

deliver the automobile to Joseph’s sisters who live in Cin-

cinnati, Ohio.

10. On June 14, 1979, Henry Boardman requested

USAA to remove Joseph Boardman as a named insured on

the automobile insurance policy.

11. USAA effected the deletion of Joseph Boardman on

June 16, 1979.

12. On June 20, 1979, Joseph Boardman purchased a

used 1970 Chevrolet Caprice automobile from Jay Jay

Chevrolet, Gulfport, Mississippi.

13. An application was made by Joseph Boardman for

a certificate of title and, additionally, Joseph purchased a

Mississippi license tag for the Chevrolet Caprice automobile.

A-45

14. The 1970 Chevrolet was never added to the insurance

contract between USAA and Col. Henry Broadman, nor was

any premium paid to USAA for any coverage under that or

any other insurance contract.

15. On July 8, 1979, at approximately 3:00 a.m., Joseph

Boardman was injured in an accident with an uninsured

motorist, David Turan, in Gulfport, Mississippi, while driving

the 1970 Chevrolet.

16. The Plaintiff-Appellee, Joseph Boardman, did not

receive title to the Chevrolet automobile until July 9, 1979,

or one day following the accident.

17. Damages sustained by Joseph Boardman as a result

of the accident of July, 8, 1979, include severe personal

injuries which are undisputed.

18. The USAA policy afforded uninsured motorist

coverage to all insureds under the policy but contained the

following exclusion therefrom:

EXCLUSIONS: This policy does not apply

under Part IV:

(a) to bodily injury to an insured while

occupying an automobile (other than an

insured automobile) owned by the named

insured or a relative, or through being struck

by such an automobile . . . . [emphasis

added]

This clause is referred to as the ‘“‘owned vehicle exclusionary

clause”’.

19: The claim for uninsured motorist benefits arising

from the accident under the USAA policy in which Henry

A-46

Boardman was the named insured, was denied to Joseph

Boardman on the grounds that Joseph was driving an owned

motor vehicle, which was not an insured vehicle under the

subject policy, thereby being specifically excluded under

the policy terms.

20. Nebraska law appears to uphold the ‘‘owned vehicle”

exclusionary clause, See Herrick y. Liberty Mutual Fire

Insurance Company, 202 Neb. 116, 118-19, 274 N.W.2d

147, 148-49 (1979); Shipley v. American Standard Insurance

Company of Wisconsin, 183 Neb. 109, 111-12, 158 N.W.2d

238, 240 (1968).

21. The ‘‘owned vehicle” exclusionary clause does not

preclude uninsured motorist coverage under Mississippi law.

See Lowery v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co.,

285 So.2d 767, 777-78 (Miss. 1973).

The process of adjudication, both at the trial level and at

the appellate levei, has a three-fold nature. The point is rather

elementary, but it needs restatement here.

First is the function of fact identification. The court must

make a determination of, and then state, the relevant factual

characteristics of the particular matter at bar.

Second, the court must make a formulation in general

terms of the relevant law to be applied. This is the function

of law declaration.

Obviously, the chronological ordering of the performance

of the fact identification function and the law declaration

function becomes a chicken-and-the-egg proposition, for the

facts help determine what rules of law are relevant, and the

rules of law help determine what facts are relevant.

A-47

Third, and finally, there is the function of law application.

This is the job of linking up the particular with the general,

the facts with the law. This is the point of ultimate decision

in the case.

Failure to keep these three functions distinct in mind has

led to problems which we need not expound upon here.

Those problems are brought to mind, however, as we con-

front the questions put to us by the Court of Appeals in this

case, since we have been asked to advise the Court of Appeals

what state’s law governs the instant controversy—Mississippi

or Nebraska. That is a law application question.

We recognize that the Court of Appeals is charged to as-

certain just what our choice of law rules are. See Klaxon

Co. v. Stentor Electric Manufacturing Co., 313 U.S. 487,

496, 61 S.Ct. 1020, 1021-22, 85 L.Ed. 1477, 1480-81

(1941); Day & Zimmerman, Inc. v. Challoner, 423 U.S. 3,

4-5, 96 S.Ct. 167, 168, 46 L.Ed.2d 3, 5 (1975). By our

Rule 46 we have recognized our responsibility to supply

such rules when there is substantial room for doubt regarding

their content. Since state law is to be applied, we recognize

and appreciate the spirit of cooperative federalism implicit

in the certification practice in the Fifth Circuit whatever

discordant notes may be produced in a given case. We are

further motivated in the case at bar by our view that the

United States District Court for the Southern District of

Mississippi has misunderstood and misapplied our law.

[1] The point is that our Rule 46 was adopted to enable

us to answer questions related to the Jaw declaration func-

tion—and that function only. This we have done in large

part by the adoption of the center of gravity test. See Craig

v. Columbus Compress & Warehouse Co., 210 So.2d 645,

649 (Miss.1968); Mitchell v. Craft, 211 So.2d 509, 512

(Miss.1968). Restatement (Second) of Conflicts of Laws,

§6, has long since been incorporated into our law. See

A-48

Mitchell y. Craft, 211 So.2d at 516; Spragins v. Louise

Plantation, Inc., 391 So.2d 97, 100 (Miss. 1980).

Since 1968 we have refined and applied the Craig-Mitchell

center of gravity test in a variety of factual and legal contexts

in McNeal y. Administrator of Estate of McNeal, 254 So.2d

§21, 524-525 (Miss. 1971); Fells v. Bowman, 274 So.2d

109, 112-113 (Miss.1973); Dunavant Enterprises Inc. v. Ford,

294 So.2d 788, 791-792 (Miss.1974); Vick v. Cochran,

316 So.2d 242, 245-248 (Miss.1975); Spragins v. Louise

Plantation, Inc., 391 So.2d 97, 99-101 (Miss. 1980); Tideway

Oil Programs, Inc. vy. Serio, 431 So.2d 454, 457-458 (Miss.

1983). These decisions do not answer every question that

may be asked about our choice of law rules—nor, in the

nature of things, could they. They do, however, provide our

rules with substantial flesh.

We are not insensitive to the traditional formulation of

the anti-forum shopping rationale of the Erie doctrine—that

where, as here, a federal court exercises subject matter

jurisdiction solely because of diversity of citizenship, the out-

come of the litigation in federal court should be

substantially the same, so far as legal rules

determine the outcome of a litigation, as it

would be if tried in a State court.

Guaranty Trust Co. v. York, 326 U.S. 99,

109, 65 S.Ct. 1464, 1470, 89 L.Ed. 2079,

2086 (1945).

The federal judiciary may proceed on the assumption that

in such cases a district judge sits merely as another trial

judge of the state. Beasley y. Fairchild Hiller Corp., 401

F.2d 593, 595 (Sth Cir. 1968). If it does so it enforces federal

rules emanating from federal policies. This state’s interests,

Sgn a

A-49

though compatible, are not identical. Otherwise, we would

inevitably find ourselves in the anomalous position of re-

solving controversies arnong parties wholly subject to the in

personam jurisdiction of the federal court and in no juris-

dictional sense before any court of this state. In answering

the questions certified today we are aware that we come

quite close to doing just that. The process of adjudication

is not so amorphous that such is necessary as the only way

the federal judiciary may achieve the laudable goals of

Erie. Though subscribing to no theory of mechanical juris-

prudence, we wor’. think it ordinarily within the com-

petence of a federai judge, given stipulated facts and eight

decisions of this Court declaring and refining the applicable

legal priticiples, to decide the case substantially the same, so

far as legal rules determine the outcome of a litigation, as

would the appropriate state court.

The point for the moment is simply that our interest in

the protection of the integrity of the law of this state and in

assuming a responsible role in cooperative federalism, all

consistent with our own docket control problems, are ade-

quately served by a restriction of our activities under our

Rule 46 to the performance when properly requested of the

function of declaring in general terms the controlling rules

of law of the State of Mississippi.

We hope what we have said above clarifies the nature and

scope of our certification process under Rule 46. We realize

that the considerations stated could well lead to the con-

clusion that we should decline certification in this case.

Indeed in all cases we retain the discretion to so decline.

Still there must be some give and take, and it hardly befits

our role in our constitutionally ordained enterprise of fed-

eralism to act like a stick in the mud whenevéf questions

certified are not pure law declaration questions. In the

present case, however, a combined consideration of how long

A-50

this case has been dragging on since it was originally gen-

erated by the automobile accident of July 8, 1979, coupled

with the desire to proceed—and to be perceived to have

proceeded—in complete good faith in a spirit of cooperative

federalism, we will shed such insights as we can on the ques-

tions presented.

IV.

In 1968, this state’s choice of law rules were modified to

embrace the “‘center of gravity” concept. Mitchell v. Craft,

211 So.2d 509, 512 (Miss.1968); Craig v. Columbus Com-

press & Warehouse Co., 210 So.2d 645, 649 (Miss.1968, In

cases where a question is presented as to whether the sb-

stantive rules of decision should be our own or those of some

other state, Mitchell and Craig committed us to a determina-

tion of which state has the most substantial contacts with the

parties and the subject matter of the action.

Embracing the Restatement (Second) of Conflicts of Laws,

86, Mitchell enumerated a number of factors relevant to a

choice of law determination. These include: (1) the needs

of the interstate and international systems; (2) the relevant

policies of the forum; (3) the relevant policies of other

interested states and the relevant interest of those states in

the determination of a particular issu~, ,‘°\ the protection

of justified expectations; (5) the basic policies underlying

the particular field of law; (6) certainty, predictability, and

uniformity of results; (7) ease and determination in appli-

cation of law to be applied. Mitchell v. Craft, 211 So.2d at

516; Spragins v. Louise Plantation, Inc., 391 So.2d 97, 100

(Miss.1980). Evaluation and balancing of these factors has

proven quite elusive.

Two nuances of our choice of law approach, important

to this case, need be emphasized.

A-51

{2} First, the law of a single state does not necessarily

control every issue in a given case. We apply the center of

gravity test to each question presented, recognizing that the

answer produced in some instances may be that the law of

this state applies and on other questions in the same case

the substantive law of another state may be enforceable.

We note that Fells v. Bowman, 274 So.2d 109 uiss.1973)

has recognized that this Court is not necessai y required

to apply the law of a single state to every

facet of the case.

274 So.2d at 112. See also, Vick v. Cochran,

316 So.2d 242, 246 (Miss.1975).

Second, we recognize that there will be cases where,

applying the center of gravity doctrine, we might conclude

in the first instances that the law of another state should be

applied. Where that law is contrary to the deeply ingrained

and strongly felt public policy of this state, however, we

have recognized that we may nevertheless apply and enforce

this state’s positive substantive law. McNeal v. Administrator

of Estate of McNeal, 254 So.2d 521, 524 (Miss. 1971).

¥

We turn now to the specific questions put by the Court of

Appeals.

QUESTION NO. 1

Would Mississippi or Nebraska law apply in construing the

USAA automobile insurance contract issued to Henry Board-

man; or stated differently, under the Mississippi “center of

gravity” test, which state would be deemed to have the most

significant contacts with the insurance policy for choice of

law purposes?

A-52

A.

We regard this as a general question asking which state’s

law would apply to the construction of this insurance con-

tract, absent peculiar countervailing considerations. The

answer is superficially easy. The contract in question was

made and entered into in the state of Nebraska. Henry

Boaiusuian at the time was a resident of Nebraska and at all

times relevant hereto all insureds under the contract have

been residents of Nebraska. Moreover, the insurer, USAA,

was acting through a Nebraska agent. The policy covered

three automobiles each of which, according to the stipulated

facts before us was “principally garaged in Nebraska’. The

principal location of the risks insured against was in Ne-

braska. Mississippi's contacts with this contract and the

parties are fortuitous, arising from the fact that Joseph

Boardman took a summer job in Gulfport. All of this suggests

that Nebraska law should apply.

In this setting, we note that we have been asked by the

Court of Appeals to comment upon the relative weight

given under Mississippi law to the choice of law principles

found in Sections 6, 188 and 193, Restatement (Second)

of Conflicts of Laws (1971). When we engage in these con-

siderations, our problem is seen not quite so simple, al-

though our answer—that Nebraska law applies—remains

intact.

[3] As indicated above, this Court has expressly approve t

Restatement §6 and incorporated it into the law of this

state. Spragirs v. Louise Plantation, Inc., 391 So.2d 97,

100 (Miss.1980); Mitcheil v. Craft, 211 So.2d 509, 515-516

(Miss.1968). Short of authoring a treatise on the subject

which would be neither helpful nor read, we will simply

say that the factors enumerated in Restatement §6 will

from case to case be given such relative weight as they

A-53

are entitled, consistent with the general scheme of the center

of gravity test.

Restatement §188 applies to contract cases generally. In

pertinent part, it provides:

§188. Law Governing the absence of

Effective Choice by the Parties

*_*e* e* &

(2) In the absence of an effective choice of

law by the parties (see §187), the contracts

to be taken into account in applying the

principles of §6 to determine the law appli-

cable to an issue include:

(a) the place of contracting,

(b) the place of negotiation of the

contract,

(c) the place of performance,

(d) the location of the subject mat-

ter of the contract, and

(e) the domicil, residence, nationali-

ty, place of incorporation and place of

business of the parties.

These contacts are to be evaluated according

to their relative importance with respect to

the particular issue.

Restatement §188 narrows the focus of §6. Section 188

sets forth certain principles to be applied in making choice of

law determinations in contract actions generally. We have

never expressly addressed Restatement §188, although it

appears generally consistent with our center of gravity

opinions authored in the context of actions arising ex con-

tractu. See Dunavant Enterprises, Inc. v. Ford, 294 So.2d

A-54

788, 791-92 (Miss.1974): Craig v. Columbus Compress &

Warehouse Co., 210 So.2d 645, 648-49 (Miss. 1968).

[4] A dissertation on Restatement §188 would be less

than helpful at this point as this is an action on the un-

insured motorist feature of a liability insurance contract

and Restatement §193 provides the starting point for the

choice of law inquiry in such cases.

a

Restatement § 193 provides:

Contracts of Fire, Surety or Casualty

Insurance

The validity of a contract of fire, sure-

ty or casualty insurance and the rights created

thereby are determined by the local law

of the state which the parties understood

was to be the principal location of the insured

risk during the term of the policy, unless

with respect to the particular issue, some

other state has a more significant relation-

ship under the principles stated in §6 to

the transaction and the parties, in which

event the local law of the other state will

be applied.

{5S} To begin with, we regard Restatement §193 as

among the choice of law rules applicable in this state. We

have no prior cases construing §193. Nevertheless, having

embraced the general center of gravity test found in Re-

statement §6 in Mitchell and Spragins, we perceive no

reason why when it comes to actions on insurance con-

tracts we shouid chart a separate course. Restatement §193

presents a fair and enlightened set of principles and we

adopt them.

A-55

The central thrust of Restatement §193 is that the law

applicable in actions on insurance contracts (other than

those providing life insurance) should the law of the state

the parties understood was to be the principal location of

the risk. Note that the phrase “principal location” is used,

not “exclusive location” or other like phraseology. This

choice of wording no doubt reflects the reality that choice

of law questions do not arise unless at least two states have

some arguable basis for application of their law.

[6] In the case of an automobile liability insurance

policy, issued to a citizen of Nebraska covering his house-

hold, it seems inescapable, as we have indicated above,

that the principal location of the risk is in the State of

Nebraska. This is particularly so where, as here, the policy

covers three automobiles each of which, according to the

stipulated facts before us, was “principally garaged in

Nebraska”’.

Restatement §193 announces a general rule that, where

the greater portion of the risk be in a particular state for

the major portion of the insurance period, the risk’s princi-

pal location is the most important choice of the applicable

law. Restatement (Second) of Conflicts of Laws §193

comment b(1971). On the other hand, comment d to Re-

statement § 193 recognizes that

There may also be occasions when following

the issuance of the policy the principal loca-

tion of the risk is shifted to some other state.

In such a situation, this other state will have

a natural interest in the insurance of the risk

and it may be that its local law should be

applied to determine at least some issues

arising under the policy. In any event, appli-

cation of the local law of the other state

A-56

would hardly be unfair to the insurance

company, at least with respect to some

issues, if the company had reason to fore-

see when it issued the policy that there

might be a shift to another state of the

principal location of the risk.

[7] The specific risk at issue here is that Joseph W.

Boardman, or some other “insured” under the policy, might

become involved in an automobile accident with a negli-

gent uninsured motorist. The principal location of that

risk, at least insofar as Joseph W. Boardman is concerned,

was in Mississippi on July 8, 1979, and had been in Missis-

sippi for the greater part of the immediately preceding

ten months. From this point of view there would be force

to the argument that under Restatement §193 Mississippi

law should furnish the rule of decision regarding the insur-

er’s liability.

[8-10] The outcome-determinative question here, how-

ever, appears to be one of coverage. The question is whether

Joseph W. Boardman is an “insured” under the policy having

any right to sue under the uninsured motorist coverage

of his father’s policy at all. This is a matter having little

to do with the location of the risk. This coverage question

invokes the exception to the general “principal location

of the insured risk”’ rule of Restatement §193. In our view

the coverage issue tendered here is an issue unrelated to the

insured risk, as a result of which the choice of law deter-

mination must be made by reference to the more general

principles of Restatement §6 and §188, for here we are

concerned with the meaning of the insurance contract on

the question of what individuals would be covered as “‘in-

sureds”. When Henry W. Boardman, then a resident of

Omaha, Nebraska, effected automobile insurance coverage

in Nebraska through USAA’s Nebraska agent, the only

A-57

reasonable expectation the parties could have had was

that the question of what members of the Boardman family

would be protected would be determined by reference to

Nebraska law.

Focusing upon the criteria of Restatement §188(2):

(a) the place of contracting was in Nebraska,

(b) the place of negotiation of the contract was in

Nebraska,

(c) the place of performance was substantially in

Nebraska,

(d) the location of the subject matter of the contract,

i.e., the principal location of the risks insured against, was

in Nebraska (although the specific risk that Joseph W. Board-

man would be involved in an accident with a negligent

uninsured motorist—only one risk among the many arguably

insured against by the policy—was on July 8, 1979, in Missis-

sippi), and

(e) the residence of Henry W. Boardman was Nebraska

while USAA, though not a Nebraska corporation, acted

through a Nebraska agent.

[11] Eschewing application of any mathematical or

otherwise mechanical process to an evaluation of the §188

factors, we regard it as clear that they militate in favor

of the application of Nebraska law to the outcome-

determinative question presented in the case at bar.

We have considered carefully the Mississippi contacts

A-58

suggested, first, in the opinion of the District Court, at

pages 7-8, and second in the Boardman’s brief in the Court

of Appeals. In each instance a failure to perceive two impor-

tant distinctions is apparent. In considering the questions

certified and taking liberties to which we are entitled, we

submit the following observations, hoping they will be

of value.

We are not, for present purposes, concerned with the

tort claim of Joseph Boardman against the uninsured motor-

ist. No doubt that tort claim should be adjudicated accord-

ing to substantive Mississippi law, although this result would

not inexorably follow if Joseph Boardman and the unin-

sured motorist had both been residents of Nebraska. See

Mitchell v. Craft, 211 So.2d 509, 514 (Miss.1968) (Missis-

sippi law applied to tort action by a Mississippian against

a Mississippian arising out of accident occurring in Loui-

siana).

Moreover, we are not concerned immediately with the

risk that Joseph W. Boardman would encounter a negligent

uninsured motorist. Our focus rather is upon the question

whether Joseph W. Boardman was one of the ‘“‘insured’s”

under the policy entitled to claim the benefits provided

thereunder, whatever those benefits might be.

[12-13] Second, there are important, though because

subtle often missed, distinctions between the factors that

govern adjudications of questions of in personam juris-

diction, venue and choice of law. The correct pattern of

analysis in each of these areas of inquiry is separate and

distinct from the other two. As here, the distinction is

often blurred. That in an action arising out of a tort com-

mitted in Louisiana, a Louisiana defendant may have suf-

ficient contacts with Mississippi to render that defendant

amenable to suit here does not necessarily mean that Missis-

A-59

sippi substantive law governs the substantive rights and

liabilities of the parties. Administration of Tulane Educa-

tional Fund v. Cooley, 462S0.2d 696, 701-702 (Miss. 1984).

Conversely, that California has sufficient contacts so that

its substantive law should govern a child support modi-

fication action does not necessarily render a New York

defendant amenable to suit in California. Kulko v. Superior

Court, 436 U.S. 84, 98-101, 98 S.Ct. 1690, 1699-1701,

56 L.Ed.2d 132, 145-146 (1978).

[14] The Mississippi contacts suggested by the Board-

mans are

(1) Shortly before the accident, the Plain-

tiff-Appellee Joseph Boardman had been

a full time stude ~ at Mississippi State Univer-

sity.

We regard this factor as relevant to resolution of the choice

of law question in this contract only insofar as it may sug-

gest the “principal location” of the risk. Because the ques-

tion at issue does not involve the scope of the risk insured

against but rather who are the parties entitled to benefits

under the policy, this factor is essentially meaningless.

Restatement (Second) of Conflicts of Laws § 188(2) (1971).

(2) At the time of the accident, Joseph

Boardman was temporarily residing in Gulf-

port, Mississippi, working to earn money

so that he could return to Mississippi State

University in the fall.

[15-22] The same observations made with respect

to (1) above apply here. This factor is of no substantial

significance for adjudication of the coverage question pre-

sented.

A-60

(3) Approximately a week before the

accident, Joseph Boardman had purchased

a vehicle in the State of Mississippi and fur-

ther purchased a Mississippi tag for said

vehicle.

Again we fail to see how this factor informs the particular

choice of law inquiry before the Court. Joseph’s purchase of

a vehicle in Mississippi and the purchase of a Mississippi tag

are the factors which simply have nothing to do with the

coverage question in issue, unless, of course, Joseph is some-

how suggesting that he has become a resident of Mississippi.

This, of course, would produce a threshold disaster for

Joseph’s claim if it should be sufficient to exclude him from

the Henry Boardman household. For purposes of answering

the choice of law questions before us today, we proceed

with confidence that at all relevant times Joseph Boardman,

as well as Henry Boardman, was a resident and citizen of

Nebraska.

(4) The accident subject to this litigation

occurred in Gulfport, Mississippi.

This could be a factor of controlling significance for in per-

sonam jurisdiction purposes under our long-arm statute.

Miss.Code Ann. §§ 13-3-57 to -63 (Supp.1984). If we

were concerned with ascertaining the substantive rules of

law applicable to the determination of the tort claim by

Joseph Boardman against the uninsured motorisf, this factor

would be of enormous significance. On the coverage ques-

tion preliminary to presentation of an uninsured motorist

claim against USAA, however, we regard it as fortuitous and

hence irrelevant.

(5) All witnesses to the accident reside in

the State of Mississippi.

A61

This factor is irrelevant to the particular choice of law in-

quiry at issue. On the other hand, it would be of substantial

relevance if we had a venue inquiry before us and would

certainly be of some importance in the determination of the

in personam jurisdiction amenability question.

(6) At the time of the filing of this litiga-

tion, the Plaintiff-Appellee Col. Henry Board-

man moved back to the State of Mississippi,

so at the time of filing, both Plaintiffs-

Appellees resided in the State of Mississippi.

The suggestion that plaintiffs can change the substantive

law according to which a particular action must be adjudi-

cated by changing their citizenship prior to filing suit simply

won’t wash. The choice of law inquiry must relate to the

times relevant to the transaction or occurrence giving rise

to the claim ab initio. Where the Boardmans lived at the

time suit was filed would, however, be relevant to the subject

matter jurisdictional inquiry under 28 U.S.C. § 1332

(Supp.1985). See Baker v. Keck, 13 F.Supp. 486, 488-89

(E.D.I11.1936). This factor would also be relevant to a venue

inquiry.

(7) At the time of the accident, the Defen-

dant-Appellant United Services Automobile

Association was qualified to do business

in the State of Mississippi and in fact issued

insurance policies in the State of Mississippi.

Again this is a factor wholly unrelated to our choice of law

inquiry. That USAA was qualified to do business in Missis-

sippi and in fact had issued insurance policies in Mississippi

would, of course, conclusively establish its amenability to

suit m this state. Where that suit arises out of a contract

issued by USAA in Nebraska through a Nebraska agent to

A-62

Nebraska residents, however, this factor fades into insigni-

ficance in the context of our efforts to identify the rules

by which the validity of owned vehicle exclusionary clause

must be determined.

(8) The Defendant-Appellant United Ser-

vices Automobile Association is an inter-

insurance exchange which exclusively issues

insurance policies to persons who are actually

members of the United States Armed Services

or who have been enlisted in the Armed

Forces of the United States and necessarily

this Defendant-Appellant could expect its

policyholders to be quite mobile and it

would be quite unrealistic and unfair to re-

strict questions concerning coverage to the

state where the insurance policy was origin-

ally issued.

Again, we have a factor quite important for in personam

jurisdiction and venue purposes but wholly irrelevant for

choice of law purposes.

[23] An additional factor considered by the District

Court was that the uninsured motorist tort feasor was also

a resident of Mississippi. Here again we have a factor influ-

encing venue. On the other hand, we are wholly unable to

see how the residence of the uninsured motorist could have

anything to do with the determination of the applicable

rules of substantive law to govern the contract claim by

the Boardmans against USAA, nor for that matter would

this factor have any relevance to the in personam jurisdic-

tion inquiry.

[24] The error of the District Court’s analysis-its blur-

ring of the distinctions between the choice of law inquiry

A-63

and the in personam jurisdiction inquiry—is made apparent

on page 8. There the District Court states:

Although the policy of insurance was issued

in Nebraska, by virtue of the nature of

USAA’s issuance of policies to members of

the Armed Forces, they could and should

expect those insured persons to be transient,

and, therefore, USAA could anticipate be-

ing haled into court in a foreign jurisdiction.

This notion, however, has nothing to do with choice of law

questions. Rather, it derives from Worldwide Volkswagen

Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S. 286, 297, 100 S.Ct. 559, 567,

62 L.Ed.2d 490, 501 (1980). The question in Worldwide

Volkswagen was whether a nonresident defendant was

constitutionally amenable to suit in a foreign jurisdiction.

Whether that defendant could reasonably anticipate being

haled into court in the foreign jurisdiction was held to be

a factor of primary importance. Nothing in Worldwide

Volkswagen or in any other case correctly analyzing the

sort of question we have here suggests that anticipation

of being haled into court in a foreign state is a factor deter-

minative of choice of law questions.

The District Court continues

To require every insured who filed a claim

against USAA to litigate that claim in the

state in which the policy was issued, notwith-

standing other relevant factors which the

court should consider, would put an onorous

burden on those claimants and would fly

directly in the fact of the “center of gravity”

test.

[25] Again, the District Court confuses amenability

to suit in a foreign forum with choice of law. For the reason

A-64

recited, USAA was amenable to in personam jurisdiction

in Mississippi and particularly in the United States District

Court for the Southern District of Mississippi. Even if USAA

had not formally qualified to do business in this state, it

could have been subjected to in personam jurisdiction here.

On the other hand, once USAA’s amenability to suit in

Mississippi is established, there is no injustice or hardship

worked upon insureds by requiring them to litigate in this

state according to substantive rules emanating from the

state in which the policy originally issued.

QUESTION NO. 2

Would Mississippi or Nebraska law govern

the validity of the uninsured motorist ex-

clusionary clause; or stated differently, if

Nebraska iaw is held to govern the insurance

contract, does Mississippi public policy

prevent the enforcement of the exclusionary

clause?

As we all know, this Court takes a dim view of insurer

efforts to exclude cases and persons from coverage of the

uninsured motorist provisions of an automobile insurance

policy. See, e.g., State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co.

vy. Nester, 459 So.2d 787, 789-93 (Miss.1984); Lowery vy.

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co., 285 So.2d

767, 777-78 (Miss.1973). If this action had been brought

in a Mississippi court on a contract made between Mississippi

insureds and a resident or nonresident insurer acting through

a Mississippi agent, there could be little doubt of the out-

come.

What we have here, however, is a non-Mississippi insurer

making a contract in Nebraska through a Nebraska agent

with a Nebraska insured whose son decides to take a summer

A-65

job in Gulfport, Mississippi. We also have here an action

brought in a United States court, not a Mississippi court,

although the significance of this fact is not for us to deter-

mine.

This question is not, what would be the public policy of

this state regarding an exclusion such as that claimed here

were the insureds Mississippians. Rather, the question is

whether we have a public policy which is so strong that it

would override the reasonable expectation (if they thought

about it) of both USAA and Henry Boardman that at the

very least the coverage questions arising with respect to

their contract would be governed by the law of Nebraska.

We say all of this in the context of Lowery v. State Farm

Mutual Automobile Insurance Co., 285 So.2d 767 (Miss.

1973), which holds that enforcement of an owned vehicle

exclusionary clause comparable to that with which we are

here concerned, where included in a policy issued in this

state, is precluded under our Uninsured Motorist Statute.

Miss.Code Ann. § § 83-11-101 et seq. (1972).

[26] As indicated above, one of the important princi-

ples we enforce is that no foreign state’s substantive law

will be enforced in courts of this state where to do so would

be offensive to the deeply ingrained or strongly felt public

policy of the state. In this context, note that Mitchell v.

Craft, refused to enforce the Louisiana contributory neg-

ligence rule in the face of this state’s longstanding compara-

tive negligence statute. 211 So.2d at 513-16. Similarly,

McNeal v. Administrator of Estate of McNeal, refused to

allow enforcement in this state of the Louisiana direct

actions statute in the face of the strong public policy of this

state precluding intr: uly tort actions. 254 So.2d at 524.

On the other hand, we have recognized that highway

safety regulations of the State of Louisiana may be enforced

A-66

in Mississippi, even though our rules differ from those in

Louisiana. Fells v. Bowman, 274 So.2d 109, 112-113 (Miss.

1973). Moreover, we have recognized, in guest passenger

tort action, enforceability ir. the courts of this state of the

Alabama guest statute even though Mississippi has no simi-

lar statute. Vick vy. Cochran, 316 So.2d 242, 246-247 (Miss.

1975). Beyond that we have recognized that the real estate

property laws of other states may be enforced in our courts.

Spragins v. Louise Plantation, Inc., 391 So.2d 97, 99-100

(Miss.1980); Tideway Oil Programs, Inc. v. Serio, 431 So.2d

454, 457-458 (Miss. 1983).

Further reflection suggests the need for clarification and

refinement of this public policy exception to our choice of

law rules. We assume that there are no rules of law extant

in this state which would be contrary to public policy. An

enactment of the legislature is said by definition to express

the public policy of the state. We do our dead level best on

this Court to assure that the common law rules emanating

from our adjudication are consistent with the clear public

policy of the state. We, nevertheless, have and enforce choice

of law rules which from time to time allow the positive

substantive law of this state to be set aside in favor of the

laws of another state possessing greater contacts with the

parties and the action.

Every choice of law problem, by definition, arises out of

a situation where the substantive law of the competing

state differs from that of this state. Because of this and be-

cause every law of this state presumably reflects the public

policy of this state, we are caught in a Catch-22. The way

out is recognition that some of our laws reflect public poli-

cies which are more fundamental and more inviolable than

others. Some of our laws reflect public policies more strong-

ly felt and more deeply ingrained than others. For example,

Mississippi’s comparative negligence and intra-family tort

A-67

immunity rules reflect longstanding public policies that may

be said to be fundamental. Enforcement of the contrary rules

proposed in Mitchell and McNeal would be offensive to our

sense of justice. On the other hand, we can hardly say a mis-

carriage of justice would attend enforcement of Louisiana

highway safety lews when a accident occurs in Louisiana

as in Fells v. Bowman, nor would injustice attend enforce-

ment of the Alabama guest passenger statute which, even

though we have not enacted a like statute, reflects a core

of common sense. Easiest of all are our cases where title

to properties in another state are affected and where we

recognize that the property laws of the foreign state involved

should be enforced for by definition the real property laws

of this state have no application to real property not situated

within this state.

[27] We recognize that no clear line can be drawn

between cases such as Mitchell and McNeal, on the one

hand, and Fells and Vick, on the other hand. We likewise

recognize that in deciding each new case a judgment call

is necessary. Still it seems clear to us that the rule of law

emanating from Lowery though reflective of the public

policy of this state, is not one expressive of a public policy

so strong that under these facts a countervailing Nebraska

rule should be ignored. This particularly so when we recall

that application of the factors listed in Restatement §

188(2) point so strongly to Nebraska as the state which

ought to furnish the rule decision governing adjudication

of the coverage question here presented.

When all is said and done, we are concerned with an

insurance contract made and entered into in Nebraska

between a Nebraska insured and nationwide insurer acting

through a Nebraska agent. However public policy consider-

ations prevailing in this state may affect an insurance con-

tract written in Mississippi, we must in fairness recognize

A-68

that we have no substantial interest in the upholding of the

public policy of this state, manifest through our Uninsured

Mororist statute, when the question is: who is an insured

under a Nebraska insurance contract. This is particularly

so in view of the fact that the party seeking to recover

under the insurance contract was at the controlling time

not a resident of this state. Accordingly, we advise the

Court of Appeals that there is no public policy in this state

that would preclude enforcement of the exclusionary clause

of this insurance contract.

QUESTION NO. 3

Would Mississippi or Nebraska law govern

the issue of vehicle ownership, or stated

differently, would Mississippi under its

“center of gravity’ test consider Mississippi

or Nebraska to have the most significant

contacts for the purposes of establishing

the law governing vehicle ownership?

As indicated above, we apply the “center of gravity”

test to each issue. That other issues may be determinable

by reference to Nebraska law does not necessarily mean

that all issues in the case are so determinabie. The rights

and liabilities of Joseph Boardman and the uninsured motor-

ist, for example, are surely determinable by reference to

Mississippi substantive law.

[28] The vehicle ownership question in this case is one

of contract construction. It concerns the 1970 Chevrolet

Caprice automobile purchased by Joseph W. Boardman

in Gulfport, Mississippi, on June 20, 1979. The automobile

was being operated in Mississippi at the time of the accident.

Hence, Mississippi has the most significant contacts with

regard to the vehicle ownership issue. If this action were

A-69

before a court of competent jurisdiction of this state, the

positive law of Mississippi would be enforced regarding the

construction and application of the owned vehicle ci: use

in the USAA automobile insurance contract.

CERTIFIED QUESTIONS ANSWERED

* Footnotes omitted throughout Appendix B.

A-70

APPENDIX E

Joseph BOARDMAN and Henry Boardman,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

7x

UNITED SERVICES AUTOMOBILE ASSOCIATION,

Defendant-Appellee.

No. 83-4310.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

Aug. 19, 1985.

Appeal from the United States, District Court for the

Southern District of Mississippi; Walter L. Nixon, Jr., Chief

Judge.

Before BROWN, GEE, and WILLIAMS, Circuit Judges

JOHN R. BROWN, Circuit Judge:

This diversity case returns to us after certification and an-

swer from the Mississippi Supreme Court. On September

14, 1984, we requested the parties to develop a common

certificate of the issues. Boardman v. United Services Auto-

mobile Association, 742 F.2d 847 (5th Cir.1984). On Octo-

ber 23, 1984, we certified this case to the Mississippi Su-

preme Court. Boardman vy. United Services Automcbdile

Association, 763 F.2d 663 (Sth Cir.1984). By decision on

May 22, 1985, the Mississippi Supreme Court has answered.

470 So.2d 1024 (Miss.1985). The facts and procedural

history are amply set forth in the above’ three decisions

A-71

and call for no further recitation here. For our present pur-

poses, it suffices to remand this case to the district court

with instructions for it to enter judgment consistent upon the

principles elucidated by the Mississippi Supreme Court:

(1) Nebraska law governs the construction

of the United States Automobile Asso-

ciation (USAA) policy.

(2) Nebraska law governs application of the

owned motor vehicle exclusion of Henry

Boardman’s policy.

(3) Mississippi law governs the status of the

vehicle as an owned motor vehicle under

the policy.

The Mississippi Supreme Court has made it clear that the

exclusionary, clause of the USAA policy was triggered and

that there was no coverage for the injuries suffered by

Joseph Boardman.

Appellee’s full faith and credit contentions are without

merit and we do not address them in this litigation which has

been protracted for nearly six years.

REMANDED WITH INSTRUCTIONS.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.