Petition for Writ of Certiorari — MacLeod v. County of Santa Clara

Supreme Court brief1985

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

| Office Supreme Court US. }

ILED

APR 20 1985

84- 1657 AEEXANDER . stTey

No. 84- CLERK

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM 1984

Morton P. MACLEOD,

Petitioner,

VS.

COUNTY OF SANTA CLARA,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

VAUGHN R. WALKER

Counsel of Record

ROBERT M. WESTBERG

JOHN M. GRENFELL

225 Bush Street

Mailing Address P.O. Box 7880

San Francisco, CA 94120

Telephone: (415) 983-1500

Counsel for Petitioner

PILLSBURY, MADISON & SUTRO

225 BUSH STREET

MAILING AppbrEss P.O. Box 7880

SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94120

Of Counsel

BOWNE OF SAN FRANCISCO. INC. « 190 NINTH ST. « S.F.. CA 94103 «¢ (415) 664-2300

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Where a county has prohibited development of private

property and its historic use is not economically viable, may the

county, consistent with the Fifth Amendment, also prevent the

only available use able to cover the costs of maintenance, opera-

tion and taxes—in this case, timber harvesting—without compen-

sating the owner for at least the net income from that use?

2. Is mere ownership of property an “economically viable use”

sufficient to preclude a finding of unconstitutional taking, even

when regulation has cut off all the property’s sources of income?

PARTIES

Petitioner is an individual, Morton P. MacLeod. Respondent is

the County of Santa Clara, a political subdivision of the State of

California.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PN ae ees tas a seas ao Oho bE RS tr ado E eS

SNE IN os sido Ki se 4b nbn es Mada eb he care

A OE Ey Loe rr ee eer rey foe rere ee

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved ........

re ree rer rer ree

I.

The opinion below disregards, and typifies the tendency of

lower courts to disregard, the standards established by

PP ry pr Ore a yy Py rn aye pre

II.

The allowable uses of property, and not the possibility that

other uses may be permitted in the future, should deter-

mine whether there has been a taking...............

CO os ain nk oo cc hae ree ee a ee ae

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases

Page

PE SU, ME WEA BD Gace Shcedccacscccsccse 5, 6, 11

Chicago, R. I. & P. Ry. Co. v. United States, 284 U.S. 80 11

Dirt, Inc. v. Mobile County Com’n, 739 F.2d 1562...... 9

Euclid v. Ambler Co., 272 U.S. 365 .................. 9

Goldblatt v. Hempstead, 369 U.S. 590 ................ 10

Hadacheck v. Sebastian, 239 U.S. 394 ................ 9

Hamilton Bank v. Williamson Cty. Reg. Planning C Comm.,

729 F.2d 402, cert. granted, 53 U.S.L.W. 3202 ....... 10

Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164 ......... 6, 10, 11

Kirby Forest Industries, Inc. v. United States, ___ US.

See EME REE 534 CdR A 00645400. ced¥cscodence 5, 6

Lake Country Estates v. Tahoe Planning Agcy., 440 U.S.

RE cane 1st Wadad eadedbnk <is ceeus wh bees l

Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S.

DE Pec tuae etd ue enidsecdheten baecuwarrccecses 6, 11

Lynch v. Household Finance Corp., 405 U.S. 538....... 11

Maher v. City of New Orleans, 516 F.2d 1051, cert. denied,

Rees koe eed aces dede ss06eccecene 8,9

MacLeod v. Santa Clara County, 749 F.2d 541 ........ passim

MacLeod v. Superior Court, 179 Cal. Rptr. 520 ........ 3

Ortega Cabrera v. Municipality of Bayamon, 562 F.2d 91

sawed eWheedh shkdaks ennddns osancece 8,9

Penn Central Transp. Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104

8 OS ee Ope ep POT Cerny e ee ee passim

Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393......... 11,12

Pompa Constr. Corp. v. City of Saratoga Springs, 706 F.2d

NRG Uae rhbsbe abs abs euchceetAeacseacnsdecs 8,9

Sadowsky v. City of New York, 732 F.2d 312 ...... ae 8

San Diego Gas & Electric Co. v. San Diego, 450 U.S. 621 10

Urbanizadora Versalles, Inc. v. Rivera Rios, 701 F.2d 993 10

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES

Page

William C. Haas v. City & Cty. of San Francisco, 605 F.2d

REE Ge EE, GE GA Fes vc ccccccctecccaccce 9

Yuba Goldfields, Inc. v. United States, 723 F.2d 884.... 10

1 Constitution

United States Constitution

Fifth Amendment (Just Compensation Clause) ....... 2

Statutes

es RED wh debt cdbwbedeus ci sicwidenentes l

St OME oso cd ddncbecsdusdecbdsinorcnsvices l

Fp as OE bik ook b adn decnes Keneeeses Saucedo l

GR BO ii iis pictinsee aaa 2,4

Other Authorities

Michelman, Property, Utility, and Fairness: Comments on

the Ethical Foundations of “Just Compensation” Law, 80

Sn, SE EEUE ovcacésoiesusnahocsndedces 9

Rose, Mahon Reconstructed: Why the Takings Issue is Still

a Muddle, 57 S.Cal. L. Rev. 561 (1984) ............ 9

No. 84-

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OcTOBER TERM 1984

MorTON P. MacLeop,

Petitioner,

vs.

COUNTY OF SANTA CLARA,

Respondent.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit was

reported at 749 F.2d 541, and is printed as Appendix A hereto.

The judgment, unpublished memorandum opinion and order of

the district court are printed as Appendix B. The court of appeals’

order denying rehearing is printed as Appendix C.

JURISDICTION

The district court had jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and

1343.' The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

was filed and enizred on December 10, 1984 (App. A, p. 1), anda

timely petition for rehearing was denied on January 22, 1985

(App. C, p. 46). This Court has jurisdiction pursuant to

§ 1254(1) of Title 28 of the United States Code.

' See Lake Country Estates v. Tahoe Planning Agcy., 440 U.S. 391,

398-400 (1979).

2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

Fifth Amendment, United States Constitution: “({N or shall

private property be taken for public use, without just

42 US.C. § 1983:

“Every person who, under color of any statute, ordinance,

regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or Territory or the

District of Columbia, subjects, or causes to be subjected, any

citizen of the United States or other person within the

jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any rights, privi-

leges, or immunities secured by the Constitution and laws,

shall be liable to the party injured in an action at law, suit in

equity, or other proper proceeding for redress.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner Morton P. MacLeod seeks certiorari to review a

decision of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit which

holds that he did not suffer a taking even though he was

prohibited from making any gainful use of several thousand acres

and left only the “righ.” to hold the property at a loss. The court

of appeals equates mere ownership of property with its economi-

cally viable use and thus frustrates any limitation on the extent to

which the use of private property may be regulated.

In 1977, petitioner acquired three mvc ep totalling

about 8300 acres, in respondent County.“ The previous owner had

raised cattle on the property.

Petitioner found that cattle grazing did not cover the minimum

costs necessary for that operation, much less petitioner's actual

costs (App. B, pp. 19-20). Revenues from a grazing lease did not

even cover property taxes (App. B, pp. 19-20). The district court

found that petitioner could never have supported the ranches on

? The ranch properties were held by a corporation that petitioner

owned, and to which he is the successor in interest. See App. B, pp. 28.

30-31.

3

cattle income (App. B, pp. 29-30). Petitioner attempted a farm-

ing Operation but there was not an adequate water supply, even

though petitioner spent over $100,000 in attempting to locate a

well for irrigation (App. B, p. 20). A harvest of hardwood was

also unprofitable and could not be repeated for forty years (App.

B, p. 20).

Petitioner sought permission to subdivide one of the ranches

into single-family residence parcels averaging 43 acres each

(App. B, p. 20). The subdivision plan was rejected by the County,

and the district court found that any effort to develop the other

ranches “would likely have been doomed to similar failure” (id).

:

|

ete

if

533

ise

88

z

4

i

Z

i

forced petitioner to soll the ranch lands. Petitioner suffered a net

loss on the sale, since his costs of acquiring and holding the

ranches exceeded the sale price (App. B, p. 28). The three

* The California Supreme Court denied review but ordered that the

opinion of the court of appeal not be published in the official reports. 179

Cal. Rptr. at 520.

4

ranches were sold as a unit in October 1979, with petitioner

retaining ownership of the harvestable redwood timber for a

period sufficient to challenge the County’s denial of a permit and

to harvest, until mid-1982 (App. B, pp. 27-28). The value of the

harvestable redwood at the time was approximately $1 million

(id.).

Petitioner, after his timber rights had expired, brought this

inverse condemnation action under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.‘ The dis-

trict court found that subdivision and development of the property

was foreclosed by the County (App. B, p. 20); that the property

could not viably be operated as a cattle ranch or farming opera-

tion (App. B, pp. 19-20, 29); and that had petitioner been allowed

to harvest redwood timber he could have met his “immediate

operation and maintenance expenses, including taxes and insur-

ance” (App. B, pp. 29-30). However, since timber harvesting

could not also generate income sufficient to pay off petitioner’s

mortgage, the district court concluded that timbering was not an

“economically viable use” and was therefore entitled to no protec-

tion against an uncompensated taking (App. B, p. 44).

The court of appeals affirmed. Although rejecting the district

court's analysis, the court of appeals held that there had been no

taking because the County had not interfered with “the two

present and primary uses of the property” —that is, cattle grazing

and a so-called “holding” for investment use (749 F.2d at 547;

App. A, p. 10). In the face of the district court's finding that the

cattle operations were not economically viable (App. B, pp. 19-

20, 29), the court of appeals necessarily held that mere ownership

of the property was an economically viable use (749 F.2d at 549

n.8; App. A, p. 14)—even though, as the district court found,

iti suffered a loss when he was finally forced to sell the

property

REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI

This case presents an issue of recurring and great importance:

namely, whether a state or local government, through a series of

*See note | and accompanying text.

em |

5

regulatory actions, can deprive an owner of private property of all

gainful use of his property, and still avoid payment of any

compensation under the Fifth Amendment. The guidance of this

Court is needed to clarify widespread confusion in the lower

courts which is substantially eroding the protection of the Just

Compensation Clause.

In Agins v. Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255, 260 (1980), relying on Penn

Central Transp. Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104, 138 1.34

(1978), this Court held that the test for a regulatory taking is

whether a property owner is denied the “economically viable use”

of his land. More recently, in Kirby Forest Industries, Inc. v.

United States, __. U.S. ___., 104 S. Ct. 2187, 2196 (1984), the

Court “recognized that a radical curtailment of a landowner’s

freedom to make use of or ability to derive income from his land”

may give rise to a taking.

Despite its central importance in the law of regulatory takings,

the concept of “economically viable use” remains undefined, with

the result that many courts deny any significant content to a basic

constitutional safeguard. The opinion below, like many recent

decisions, is premised on the notion that the value of property

must be completely destroyed before the owner may recover

compensation. This is contrary to the principles of fairness which

should apply in Fifth Amendment taking cases, and conflicts with

another line of lower court cases that permit recovery for tempo-

rary takings.

The instant action is not based on petitioner's frustrated hope of

developing the ranches into a residential subdivision, on his

failure to recover his investment in those ranches, or on his

inability to put the property to its highest and best use. It is based

on the fact that the County prevented petitioner from using the

existing resources of his property to meet current, necessary

expenses of ownership, not including acquisition costs,’ and

thereby forced him to operate at an actual out-of-pocket loss.

* By “current” expenses we mean the costs of operation and mainte-

nance, without any allowance for mortgage principal and interest. Thus,

we agree that an owner's right to recover compensation should not

depend on what he happened to pay for his property.

6

Petitioner seeks compensation for the denial of the minimal

gainful use of his land—i.e., redwood timber harvesting. The

taking claim in Kirby was rejected because “[t]he Government

never forbade petitioner to cut the trees on the land or to develop

the tract in some other way” (104 S. Ct. at 2196); the plaintiff in

Agins lost because he was able to build one residence per acre

(447 U.S. at 262). Here, by contrast, the County forbade both

residential development and the only use of petitioner’s existing

resources that could have covered the minimum expenses of

holding the property.

As a result, this case presents a question which goes to the very

heart of the law of inverse condemnation: whether the right to an

economically viable use of property,° like the rights to exclude

others or to be free of a permanent physical intrusion by the

government,’ is fundamental to ownership and cannot be de-

stroyed without compensation.

I. THE OPINION BELOW DISREGARDS, AND TYPIFIES

THE TENDENCY OF LOWER COURTS TO DISRE-

GARD, THE STANDARDS ESTABLISHED BY THIS

COURT.

Neither the district court nor the court of appeals identified any

allowable use of petitioner’s property that was economically

viable. The district court found that each possible use was either

impermissible or uneconomic (App. B. pp. 19-21), so that peti-

tioner was forced to hold the property at an actual loss (App. B, p.

28). The district court based its judgment in favor of the County

on the theory that unless timber harvesting would have allowed

petitioner to recoup his entire investment, including mortgage

payments and interest, it was not sufficiently profitable to be

“economically viable” and, therefore, was not susceptible to a

claim of taking (App. B, pp. 43-44). The court of appeals

° It may be assumed, for purposes of this case, that such a right is

limited to owners whose property actually Aas a presently available,

gainful use.

” Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164, 179-80 (1979); Loretto

v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419, 435-38 (1982).

7

correctly rejected this standard,® but that court also failed to

identify any viable use of the property. Although its opinion

stressed that petitioner was able “to continue to use the property

for ‘its original intended uses’ ” (749 F.2d at 548-49; App. A, p.

13)—i.e., cattle operations and “holding” for investment—the

determination of the court of appeals cannot be reconciled with

the fact that those historic “uses” had ceased to be economically

viable, if they ever had been (App. B, pp. 19-20, 29-30).

To explain the importance that it attached to the property’s

“original intended uses,” the court of appeals purported to rely on

Penn Central (749 F.2d at 548-49; App. A, pp. 12-13) (see infra,

note 11). Yet Penn Central, in the very footnote cited by the court

below, made clear that the economic viability of a property’s

present use, and not the continued availability of its historic use,

determines the existence of a taking:

“We emphasize that our holding today is on the present

record, which in turn is based on Penn Central’s present

ability to use the Terminal for its intended purposes and in a

gainful fashion. The city conceded at oral argument that if

appellants can demonstrate at some point in the future that

circumstances have so changed that the Terminal ceases to

be ‘economically viable,’ appellants may obtain relief.” 438

U.S. at 138 n.36 (emphasis added).

The court of appeals’ evident conclusion that the mere owner-

ship of property is an economically viable “use” (749 F.2d at 547

n.7; App. A, pp. 10-11) would sanction the most overbearing

zoning and land use regulations. Any regulation which stops short

of actually divesting the property owner of title would allow

“holding property for investment” (id.), and would therefore pass

* Not only was the district court’s analysis “a major departure from

the prior jurisprudence in this area” (749 F.2d at 548; App. A, p. 12),

but it ignored that petitioner’s plans for residential subdivision would

have generated “sufficient capital to enable him to make the mortgage

payments on the ranches” (App. B, p. 20). Thus, the district court’s

reasoning simply leads to the conclusion that petitioner suffered a

taking, not when his timber harvest plan was denied, but when his

subdivision plan was rejected.

8

constitutional muster under the Ninth Circuit’s test. The logical

import of a ruie that holding property is a use, and is economically

viable without regard to costs, is that a taking cannot occur at

least until property has lost all value and become unmarketable.

This position has been made explicit in recent decisions of the

Second Circuit,? and seems to underlie several other decisions.'°

Although the Fifth Amendment may tolerate extensive regulation

of private property, we submit that such a rule removes any

effective limitation on regulation and constitutes an evasion of the

Fifth Amendment.

The Ninth Circuit’s conclusion that mere ownership of prop-

erty is an economically viable use conflicts with Penn Central.

There, it was of critical importance that the “present uses” of the

property were sufficient to provide the owner with some gain. 438

U.S. at 136 and 138 n.36 (emphasis added).'’ Here, petitioner

was forced to “hold” his property without any income to cover

operating expenses. To equate this state of affairs with economic

“viability” is to rob that concept of any real meaning.

9 Sadowsky v. City of New York, 732 F.2d 312, 318 n.3 (2d Cir.

1984); see also Pompa Constr. Corp. v. City of Saratoga Springs, 706

F.2d 418, 424-25 (2d Cir. 1983).

'© Ortega Cabrera v. Municipality of Bayamon, 562 F.2d 91, 100 (1st

Cir. 1977) (suggesting that “takings exist only when the diminution in

values amounts to the total destruction of the value of an identifiable

thing. . . perceived by a reasonable owner as the subject of a distinct

investment”); Maher v. City of New Orleans, 516 F.2d 1051, 1066 (Sth

Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 426 U.S. 905 (1976) (judgment for defendant

affirmed where the challenged ordinance did not “leave Maher, in effect,

nothing”).

'! Rather than come to grips with this language from Penn Central,

the court of appeals simply misquoted it. Thus, the opinion below states

that Penn Central linked the concept of economic viability “to ‘the

ability to use the property for its intended purpose in a gainful fashion.’ ”

749 F.2d at 548 (App. A, p. 12), citing 438 U.S. at 138, n.36; emphasis

in original. In fact, the cited footnote refers to “Penn Central’s present

ability to use the Terminal for its intended purposes and in a gainful

fashion” (emphasis added). This error was called to the attention of the

court of appeals in the petition for rehearing, but was not corrected.

9

Finally, the decisions below typify the tendency of lower

courts’? to dispense with “careful assessment of the impact of the

regulation,” as mandated by Penn Central (438 U.S. at 136), and

instead to observe simply that: (1) there is no fixed standard for a

regulatory taking, but (2) municipalities have broad discretion to

regulate land use, and (3) the plaintiff cannot prevail because he

is not in as desperate straits as the plaintiffs in cases like Euclid v.

Ambler Co., 272 U.S. 365 (1926) or Hadacheck v. Sebastian, 239

U.S. 394 (1915).'? The absence of clear and adequate standards

has not only confused the lower courts'* but has led them

increasingly to abandon the defense of private property.

'2 Pompa Constr. Corp. v. City of Saratoga Springs, 706 F.2d 418,

424-25 (2d Cir. 1983); William C. Haas v. City & Cty. of San Francisco,

605 F.2d 1117, 1120 (9th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 445 U.S. 928 (1980);

Ortega Cabrera v. Municipality of Bayamon, 562 F.2d 91, 99-101 (Ist

Cir. 1977); Maher v. City of New Orleans, 516 F.2d 1051, 1065-66 (Sth

Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 426 U.S. 905 (1976); see also Dirt, Inc. v.

Mobile County Com’‘n, 739 F.2d 1562, 1565-66 (11th Cir. 1984).

'? In Euclid and Hadacheck, the plaintiffs sought to translate a huge

reduction in the market value of their properties, stemming from a

prohibition of the properties’ most profitable use, into a compensable

taking. See Euclid, 272 U.S. at 384 (75% reduction); Hadacheck, 239

U.S. at 405 (90% reduction). The courts below, like many others,

reasoned that because the whole of petitioner’s investment in his

property was not destroyed, he did not suffer a taking (App. A, p.11;

App. B, p. 45). Such logic ignores the fact that the property owners in

Euclid and Hadacheck retained what petitioner here did not: a use of

their property that was economically gainful. See Euclid, 272 U.S. at

380, 382 (two-family dwellings); Hadacheck, 239 U.S. at 408 (mining

for clay).

'* Rose, Mahon Reconstructed: Why the Takings Issue is Still a

Muddle, 57 S. Cal. L. Rev. 561 (1984); Michelman, Property, Utility,

and Fairness: Comments on the Ethical Foundations of ‘Just Compensa-

tion’ Law, 80 Harv.L.Rev. 1165, 1169-70 (1967).

10

Il. THE ALLOWABLE USES OF PROPERTY, AND NOT

THE POSSIBILITY THAT OTHER USES MAY BE

PERMITTED IN THE FUTURE, SHOULD DETER-

MINE WHETHER THERE HAS BEEN A TAKING.

It is settled that mere diminution in the value of property does

not establish a taking, and that an owner is not entitled to the

most gainful use of his property. Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 131;

Goldblatt v. Hempstead, 369 U.S. 590, 592 (1962). But it does

not follow that the complete destruction of value (or marketabil-

ity) is necessary to establish a taking. Rather, “the ‘taking’ issue

in these contexts is resolved by focusing on the uses the regula-

tions permit.” Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 131 (emphasis added).

There are compelling reasons that land use regulation should be

tested, for purposes of the Fifth Amendment, by its impact on the

availability of some gainful use of private property, rather than by

its impact on the value of such property.

1. The premise of permitting recovery for a temporary tak-

ing'® is that the denial of present use will support a taking claim.

That is, even though the restrictive regulation may ultimately be

invalidated or otherwise terminate, these cases suggest that the

Fifth Amendment requires compensation for the intervening

denial of use. No less should compensation be required where

government action requires an owner to forego the gainful use of

his property. Simply because the property can still attract a buyer

with the ability to wait for a change in economic or political

conditions affords insufficient excuse to deprive the owner of what

ought to be a “fundamental element of the property right”

(Kaiser Aetna, 444 U.S. at 179-80): the economically viable use

of property.

'S See, e.g., San Diego Gas & Electric Co. v. San Diego, 450 U.S. 621,

657-58 (1981) (Brennan, J., dissenting); Hamilton Bank v. Williamson

Cty. Reg. Planning Comm., 729 F.2d 402, 407 (6th Cir. 1984), cert.

granted, 53 U.S.L.W. 3202 (U.S., Oct. 1, 1984) (No. 84-4); Yuba

Goldfields, Inc. v. United States, 723 F.2d 884, 888 (Fed. Cir. 1983);

Urbanizadora Versalles, Inc. v. Rivera Rios, 701 F.2d 993, 996-97 (ist

Cir. 1983).

ee ce ene em ead

ORT Pe

11

“sé

2. This Court has recognized that “ ‘[c]Jonfiscation may result

from a taking of the use of property without compensation quite

as well as from the taking of the title.” Kaiser Aetna v. United

States, 444 U.S. 164, 174 n.8 (1979), quoting Chicago, R. I. & P.

Ry. Co. v. United States, 284 U.S. 80, 96 (1931). The gainful use

of property is as fundamental to ownership as the right to limit

public access to one’s property or to be free of physical intrusion

by the government,’* and should be protected no less by the Just

Compensation Clause. This protection is essential to reflect the

true character of the property right:

“Property does not have rights. People have rights. ... [A]

fundamental interdependence exists between the personal

right to liberty and the personal right in property. Neither

could have meaning without the other.” Lynch v. Household

Finance Corp., 405 U.S. 538, 552 (1972).

To limit the owner of the several thousand acres involved here

from attempting even a minimally gainful economic activity on

property of this scale “goes too far” in restricting the owner’s

freedom with relation to the physical thing (Pennsylvania Coal

Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393, 415 (1922) ).

3. As this Court has repeatedly explained, taking claims

require a balancing of public and private interests to determine

when “the public at large, rather than a single owner, must bear

the burden of an exercise of state power in the public interest.”

Agins, 447 U.S. at 260-261. Where a property owner is allowed

some gainful use while the public benefits from a ban on other

uses, such a balance may in some sense be achieved. But if

market value were the criterion for a taking, courts would be, and

apparently have been, unable to find a stopping point short of the

conclusion that property is not taken until its value is totally

destroyed.'’ Such an arbitrary rule makes no pretense of rationally

adjusting the competing public and private interests. The public

'© Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164, 179-80 (1979); Loretto

v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419, 435-38 (1982).

'’ Compare Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393, 415

(1922) (Holmes, J.):

12

would pay nothing during what may be a prolonged period of loss

by the private property owner.

4. The court of appeals’ conclusion that allowing an owner the

historic use of his property is a constitutionally adequate substi-

tute for economic viability ignores the impact of changing cir-

cumstances. The fact that petitioner’s predecessor did not use the

ranches for economic gain (App. B, p. 17) should not preclude

petitioner from seeking to realize some economic benefit from

this substantial, if historically underutilized, parcel of land. To

confine an owner to land uses simply because they are historic

takes from him the ability to respond to actual, and inevitably

changing, conditions. If the community imposes such a limitation

upon an owner of property it has deprived him of essential rights

denoted by the concept of property.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

VAUGHN R. WALKER

Counsel of Record

ROBERT M. WESTBERG

JOHN M. GRENFELL

PILLSBURY, MADISON & SUTRO

Of Counsel

“When this seemingly absolute protection [of the Fifth Amendment]

is found to be qualified by the police power, the natural tendency of

human nature is to extend the qualification more and more until at

last private property disappears. But that cannot be accomplished in

this way under the Constitution of the United States.”

l

Appendix A

United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

No. 83-2480

D.C. No. C-82-3751-RFP

Morton P. MacLeod,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

vs.

County of Santa Clara,

Defendant-Appellee.

[Filed Dec. 10, 1984]

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of California

Robert F. Peckham, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and submitted October 2, 1984

OPINION

Before: FARRIS, ALARCON, and NORRIS, Circuit Judges.

ALARCON, Circuit Judge:

Morton P. MacLeod (hereinafter MacLeod) appeals from the

judgment in favor of Santa Clara County (hereinafter the

County) holding that the County’s denial of his application for a

permit to harvest timber on his property did not constitute a

compensable taking. MacLeod contends that the district court

erred in holding that the denial of a permit to harvest timber did

not effect a “taking” of his property for a public use, within the

meaning of the fifth amendment, requiring just compensation. '

' The fifth amendment is made applicable to the States through the

fourteenth amendment, see Chicago, B. & O. R. Co. v. Chicago, 166 U.S.

226, 239 (1897). We note jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1291 (1983).

2

FACTS

Appellant MacLeod is the successor in interest to, and the

former president and director of, the Castro-Escondido Ranch

Corporation (hereinafter the Ranch Corporation). In June of

1974, while MacLeod was serving as its president, Triad Capital

Management Holding Company (hereinafter Triad) formed the

Ranch Corporation for the purpose of purchasing and holding title

to the Castro-Valley and Escondido Ranches. MacLeod was

responsible for the purchase of the property, which was offered for

sale as a single parcel consisting of approximately 7,000 acres.

The Escondido Ranch, which contains about 1,800 acres, is

primarily a mountainous woodland. The Castro-Valley Ranch,

which contains about 5,200 acres, is primarily covered by a

mountain range and woodland, with many sections of open

grazing land. An enclosed valley of approximately 150 acres of

relatively flat land, known as the Castro-Valley, gives that ranch

its name. The entire property is located within the Al Residential

and Agricultural zoning district of Santa Clara County. Mac-

Leod, anticipating a significant increase in value, purchased the

property on behalf of the Ranch Corporation for $2,700,000 as a

long-term investment, with interim use as a cattle ranch.

In December of 1976, MacLeod’s association with Triad was

involuntarily terminated. On January 1, 1977, in exchange for his

stock in the parent company and other consideration, MacLeod

received 100% of the Ranch Corporation's stock.? MacLeod’s

stock in Triad was deemed to be worth the sum of the down

payment on the property ($800,000) and the two-year carrying

costs ($640,000). Thus, MacLeod’s “investment” in the Castro-

Escondido property was $1,400,000. He assumed the outstanding

mortgage of $1,700,000.’

? MacLeod received the Ranch Corporation stock rather than cash or

some other asset because Triad determined that MacLeod should be the

one to “live with” his investment decision.

> In early 1978, the name of the Ranch Corporation was changed to

the Bloomfield-Hereford Corporation because MacLeod, on behalf of

a

3

MacLeod continued the historic use of the property, by leasing

it out in its entirety for cattle grazing during the first years of

ownership. In 1977, MacLeod purchased approximately 150 cow-

calf units in an effort to run his own cattle operation on the

Castro-Escondido property. In 1978 and 1979, MacLeod again

leased out the entire property for cattle grazing. Neither activity

proved sufficient to cover the costs of maintaining the property. In

October of 1977, MacLeod obtained a permit from the County to

harvest hardwood. The harvest was conducted in 1978-1979, but

proved unprofitable as well. In 1978, MacLecd attempted an

experimental farming operation on the 150 acre valley in the

Castro-Valley parcel. Water problems led to the abandonment of

this project. MacLeod then began to pursue the possibility of

large-scale timber harvesting.

MacLeod employed the firm of Hammon, Jensen, Wallen, and

Associates, professional foresters, to prepare an inventory of the

property and a timber harvest plan (hereinafter the Plan). The

resulting plan involved the selective harvesting of a maximum of

2.5 million board feet of timber. Pursuant to the California

Z’berg-Nejedly Forest Practice Act of 1973, Cal. Pub. Res. Code

§ 4511 et seg., MacLeod submitted this Plan to the State Depart-

ment of Forestry. After inspecting the property, the State Depart-

ment of Forestry approved the Plan.

MacLeod subsequently entered into an agreement with Big

Creek Lumber Company (hereinafter Big Creek) whereby Mac-

Leod agreed to sell, and Big Creek agreed to harvest, 2.5 million

the Ranch Corporation, purchased the Bloomficid-Hereford Ranch,

which was contiguous to the Castro-Escondido property. The district

court found that because the Bloomfield Ranch was acquired separately,

zoned differently, and had an overall topography different from that of

the Castro-Escondido Ranch, MacLeod’s ownership of the Bloomfield

Ranch would be considered somewhat a “fortuity, ” and, for purposes of

the taking analysis, only the Castro Valley and Escondido ranches would

constitute the property at issue. Since MacLeod does not challenge this

particular finding, we need not address it here. But hereafter, all

references to the ranch property refer to the Castro-Escondido property

only unless otherwise noted.

4

board feet of redwood timber. Under the terms of the contract,

MacLeod was to receive a fixed price of $325 per thousand board

feet of redwood timber.

The timber sale agreement was conditioned on the obtaining of

a use permit from the County that was satisfactory to Big Creek.

MacLeod applied for a permit in September of 1978. The

planning commission conducted a hearing on MacLeod’s applica-

tion in September of 1979. The application was denied for public

health, safety, and welfare reasons.

MacLeod appealed the denial to the County Board of Supervi-

sors. That body held a de novo hearing on the application. The

denial of the permit was upheld. MacLeod then filed a complaint

in the Superior Court in California seeking to set aside the

determination of the Board. The Santa Clara County Superior

Court entered judgment for the County. MacLeod then sought

expedited review before a California appellate court by writ of

mandate.‘ In an opinion issued December 29, 1981, the California

Court of Appeal denied the writ, effectively affirming the judg-

ment. MacLeod’s petition for a hearing in the California Supreme

Court was denied on March 11, 1982.

Shortly thereafter, MacLeod filed this action under the Civil

Rights Act of 1871, 42 U.S.C. § 1983 seeking compensation for

the alleged “taking” of his property by the County in violation of

the fifth and fourteenth amendments. After a trial, the district

court entered judgment for the County. The district court found

that although MacLeod had a right to an economically viable use

of his property, such use did not exist. The court held that the

property in question would not have been sufficiently profitable,

even if the permit to harvest timber had been granted, for the

denial of the permit to constitute a taking.

“In the meantime, MacLeod sold the ranches. The Bloomfield-

Hereford Ranch Corporation entered into an agreement to sell the entire

property to the C.M. Trading Company for $7,201,524. The Bloomfield-

Hereford Ranch Corporation was dissolved in April of 1980, but

MacLeod personally assumed its assets and liabilities.

5

We do not agree with the district court’s reliance on immediate

overall profitability as the standard for determining whether a

compensable taking has occurred. We agree, however, that no

taking has occurred on the facts of this case, and affirm the

judgment for the reasons stated below.

DISCUSSION

I

The fifth amendment guarantees that private property shall not

“be taken for public use, without just compensation.” Tradition-

ally, a compensable “taking” was deemed to occur whenever a

government agency or entity formally condemned a landowner’s

property and obtained the fee simple pursuant to eminent domain

proceedings. Cf United States v. Clarke, 445 U.S. 253 (1980)

(distinguishing traditional condemnation and eminent domain

proceedings from modern takings); Andrus v. Allard, 444 U.S. 51

(1979) (comparing the two methods of taking—compelling sur-

render or physical invasion vs. restriction of use or rights in private

property); Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 US. 393

(1922). Under present law, a taking can also occur, without the

filing of condemnation proceedings, whenever government action

beneficial to the public results in the destruction or restriction of

the use and general enjoyment of privately owned real property.

See, e.g., Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164, 178-180

(1979) (navigational servitude allowing public right of access);

United States v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256, 261-62 (1946) (frequent

low altitude flights of Army and Navy aircraft over a chicken

farm). The rationale for expanding the traditional notion of

“taking” is relatively simple: “Police power regulations such as

zoning ordinances and other land use restrictions can destroy the

use and enjoyment of property in order to promote the public

good just as effectively as formal condemnation or physical

invasion of property.” San Diego Gas & Electric Co. v. San Diego,

450 U.S. 621, 652 (1981) (Brennan, J. dissenting).°

* The cause of action alleged in such an instance is inverse condemna-

tion. The term “inverse condemnation” simply refers to “a cause of

6

Although it is now well established that government regulations

can effect a fifth amendment taking, see, e.g, Penn Central

Transp. Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104 (1978) (no taking

found on the facts of the case); Jn re Aircrash in Bali Indonesia

on April 22, 1974, 684 F.2d 1301, 1312 (9th Cir. 1982), we

cannot agree with MacLeod’s contention that the denial of the

permit operated to effect a taking of property in this instance. No

set formula has been developed for determining when “justice and

fairness” require that economic injuries caused by government

reguiations for the good of the general public must be compen-

sated by the government rather than left to remain disproportion-

ately concentrated on a few individuals. See, e.g., Andrus, supra at

65. Instead, the question of whether or not a particular restriction

effects a taking depends largely upon the particular circumstances

of the case. See Penn Central, supra at 124. The law is well

settled, however, that the application of a general zoning law to

particular property effects a taking if “the ordinance does not

substantially advance legitimate state interests... or denies an

owner economically viable use of his land....” Agins v. City of

Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255, 260 (1980), citing Penn Central, supra. If

a regulation or prohibition is a valid exercise of the police power,

there is no taking if economically viable use of the property

remains. 3

II

The phrase “economically viable use” became an important

part of taking jurisprudence after the Supreme Court decision in

Penn Central, supra. Penn Central involved the application of

New York City’s Landmark Preservation Law to Grand Central

Terminai (hereinafter the Terminal). The Terminal, owned by

action against a governmental defendant to recover the value of property

which has been taken in fact by the governmental defendant, even

though no formal exercise of the power of eminent domain has been

attempted by the taking agency.” Clarke, supra at 257. An action for

inverse condemnation is cognizable under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. See Lake

Country Estates v. Tahoe Planning Agency, 440 U.S. 391, 398-400

(1979).

7

Penn Central Transportation Compaiiy and its affiliates (herein-

after Penn Central), is one of New York City’s most famous

buildings, and as such, had been designated a landmark.

To increase its income, Penn Central entered into a renewable

50-year lease and sublease agreement with UGP Properties, Inc.

(hereinafter UGP). Under the terms of the agreement, UGP was

to construct a multi-story office building above the Terminal.

UGP and Penn Central then applied to the Landmarks Preserva-

tion Commission (hereinafter the Commission) for permission to

construct the proposed office building atop the Terminal. Permis-

sion was denied un the ground that the proposed tower would

overwhelm the existing building, destroy its aesthetic appeal, and

reduce the designated landmark to the status of a curiosity. Jd. at

118.

Rather than seek review of the denial of the certificate of

construction, appellants filed suit in New York State Court

claiming that the application of the Landmark Law had “taken”

their property without just compensation in violation of the fifth

amendment, and arbitrarily deprived them of their property with-

out due process of law in violation of the fourteenth amendment.

The New York Court of Appeals summarily rejected any claim

that the Landmark Law had taken appellant’s property without

just compensation.

In affirming the New York Court of Appeals, the Supreme

Court used a two-step analysis, deciding first whether the

Landmark Law was constitutional, and second, whether it so

interfered with appellant’s property as to require compensation. In

deciding that the law was a constitutional exercise of the police

power, the Court noted that use prohibitions or restrictions are

unconstitutional takings if the government action in issue cannot

be characterized as an acquisition of resources to permit or

facilitate uniquely public functions, see United States v. Causby,

328 U.S. 256 (1946), if the regulation in issue is not reasonably

necessary to effectuate a substantial public purpose, or if the

government regulation or action so frustrates the distinct invest-

ment-backed expectations of the claimant as to have nearly the

same effect as the complete destruction of the claimant’s rights,

8

see Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40 (1960) (govern-

ment’s complete destruction of a materialmen’s lien in certain

property held a “taking”); Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon,

supra. Penn Central, supra at 127-28. The Court quickly disposed

of Penn Central’s contentions that the law amounted to discrimi-

natory zoning, or was arbitrary because it was basically a matter

of taste. Jd. at 132. It rejected the argument that the law unfairly

distributed the benefits and burdens of governmental action by

not imposing identical restrictions on all structures located within

a particular community, holding that the imbalanced distribution

of the benefits and burdens resulting from such an ordinance did

not mean that the law effected a taking. Jd. at 133. It also held

that the fact that a regulation had the effect of denying the owner

the ability to exploit a property right that was heretofore believed

available, or diminishing the value of the property did not prove

that such regulation amounted to a taking. Jd. at 130-31. Finally,

the Court rejected Penn Central’s challenge to the law’s constitu-

tionality by holding that the law had not operated to appropriate

part of the property for strictly governmental purposes. Jd. at 135.

Thus, it held that although the New York City Landmark Law

restricted the exploitation of a property interest to a greater extent

than applicable general zoning law, it was not unconstitutional. Jd.

at 135-36. :

The Court then went on to consider the severity of the impact

of the law on Penn Central’s property. After a careful assessment

of the impact of the regulation on the terminal site, the Court

found that the Landmark Law did not interfere in any way with

the present uses of the terminal:

Its designation as a landmark not only permits but contem-

plates that appellants may continue to use the property

precisely as it has been used for the past 65 years: as a

railroad terminal....So the law does not interfere with

what must be regarded as Penn Central’s primary expecta-

tion concerning the use of the parcel.

Id. at 136. The Court also found that the law permitted Penn

[Central] to obtain a “reasonable return” on its investment. Jd. at

136. The Court concluded that the law permitted a “reasonable

9

beneficial use” of the landmark site, and thus held that it had not

effected a taking of Penn [Central]’s property. Jd. at 138.°

Ill

MacLeod contends that the denial of the permit operated to

deny him economically viable use of his property. We cannot

agree. The issue of whether the denial of the permit was a

legitimate exercise of the County’s police power was decided by

the California State Courts in favor of the County. MacLeod has

not pursued that question before this court. Therefore, our review

is limited to the issue of whether the rejection of the application

denied MacLeod the economically viable use of his property.

Any analysis of whether a regulation or prohibition denied an

owner the economically viable use of his property necessitates a

review of the impact of the regulation or prohibition on the

property as a whole. See Penn Central, supra at 130. In Goldblatt

v. Town of Hempstead, 369 U.S. 590 (1962), appellant chal-

lenged a city ordinance that completely prohibited a beneficial use

to which the property had previously been devoted by prohibiting

further excavation on 20 acres of their 38 acre lot. In holding that

the ordinance was a valid exercise of the police power, the Court

took into consideration the availability of the remaining 18 acres

of land in determining that the ordinance was neither so onerous

or unreasonable as to result in a taking of appellant’s property. Jd.

In Gorieb v. Fox, 274 U.S. 603 (1927), the challenged ordinance

created a setback or building line to which all buildings subse-

quently erected had to conform. The appellant owned several

building lots within the area covered by the ordinance. He applied

to the city council for a permit to erect a brick building upon a lot

within the ordinance area, and the council gave him permission to

erect a building 34% feet back from the street line. He thereupon

sought to compel the council to issue a permit to occupy the lot

up to the street line, alleging that the setback ordinance deprived

him of his property without due process of law. The. Court

® The Court refers to the importance of this economically viable use in

footnote 36 on this same page.

10

sustained the setback ordinance as reasonable and constitutional,

holding that the restriction was not so substantial as to amount to

a taking of appellant’s property.

Thus, it is well settled that taking jurisprudence does not divide

a single parcel into discrete segments or attempt to determine

whether rights in a particular segment of a larger parcel have been

entirely abrogated. The Supreme Court has long since rejected

any contention that denial of the use of a portion of a parcel of

property is so bound up with the investment-backed expectations

of a claimant that government deprivation of the right to use a

portion of the property in issue invariably constitutes a taking,

irrespective of the impact of the restriction on the value of the

parcel as a whole. Penn Central, supra at 130, n.27. In deciding

whether a particular governmental action has effected a taking,

the Court must focus both on the character of the action and on

the nature and extent of the interference with the rights in the

parcel as a whole. /d. at 130-31.

The denial of the permit, unlike the government acts in

Causby, supra, did not interfere in any way with the two present

and primary uses of the property. Specifically, the denial of the

permit did not affect MacLeod’s ability to continue to hold the

property for investment purposes, with interim use as a cattle

ranch, and grazing land, the very uses for which the property was

purchased. It is an undisputed fact that MacLeod was free to

continue to raise cattle or to lease out the property for grazing

lands, and retained the right to continue to hold the property as an

investment.’ Thus, it is clear that the denial of the permit did not

’ Holding property for investment purposes can be a “use” of prop-

erty. See, e.g., Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365, 384 (1926) (a

suit brought by an owner of unimproved land that was vacant and had

been held for years for the purpose of sale and development for

industrial use, seeking relief from the enforcement of a zoning ordinance

on the grounds that the ordinance operated to reduce the normal value

of his property, and to deprive him of liberty and property without due

process of law. The ordinance was held to be a valid exercise of the

police power. The validity of the owner’s “uses” was never questioned);

United States v. 156.81 Acres of Land, 671 F.2d 336, 337 (1982), cert.

\

11

interfere with MacLeod’s primary “investment-backed expecta-

tion” concerning the use of the parcel. See Penn Central, supra at

136.

MacLeod would have us disregard the fact that the denial of

the permit did not affect his expected uses of the Ranch property

because he eventually found out that these uses were not the most

profitable or the highest and best use of the property. It is

undeniable that rejection of the permit kept MacLeod from

pursuing what may have been the most profitable short term use

of the property, i.e., large scale timber harvesting. The fact that

the denial of the permit prevented MacLeod from pursuing the

highest and best use of his property does not mean that it

constituted a taking.

In addition, appellant’s “highest and best use” argument is

simply another way of claiming that he has suffered a diminution

in the value of his property rather than the complete destruction

of its economically viable use. The Supreme Court has repeatedly

held that mere diminution in value, standing alone, cannot estab-

lish a taking. See Penn Central, supra at 131; Euclid, supra (735%

diminution in value); Hadacheck v. Sebastian, 239 U.S. 394

(1915) (value reduced from $800,000 to $60,000). See also

William C. Haas & Co. v. City & County of San Francisco, 605

F.2d 1117, 1120 (9th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 445 U.S. 928

(1980) (value reduced from $2,000,000 to $100,000).

Moreover, the timber sale agreement with Big Creek was

contingent upon MacLeod obtaining all necessary permits. Al-

though at the time MacLeod applied for the permit he had every

reason to believe that his application would be granted, he must

have been aware that the standards and conditions governing the

issuance of the permit might cause his application to be denied.

denied, 459 U.S. 1086 (1982) (where appellants owned roughly 156.81

acres of undeveloped land in Marin County, California which was

undisputedly not income producing, but had been purchased and was

being held for its “development potential.” A condemnation judgment

which denied the economically viable use of the property was neverthe-

less held to be a taking requiring just compensation).

12

Thus, MacLeod had an expectation, but not an assurance that the

permit would issue. In essence, MacLeod is contending that there

has been a taking requiring compensation because he has been

denied the opportunity to exploit his property by pursuing a

particular project he had come to believe would be available for

development. This argument fails. In Penn Central, supra, the

Supreme Court rejected as “quite simply untenable” the conten-

tion that property owners “may establish a taking simply by

showing that they have been denied the ability to exploit a

property interest that they heretofore had believed was available

for development ....” Jd. at 130.

MacLeod finally argues that the district court erred in holding

that the denial of the permit was not a taking because the timber

harvesting operation would not have produced a profit over and

above the overall expenses of the entire ranch operation. He

asserts that the standard to be applied in the determination of

“economic viability” does not depend on the overall profitability

(ability to generate income sufficient to cover expenses and

Carrying costs), of the property or business in issue. We agree.

Although the Supreme Court has never elaborated on the mean-

ing of “economically viable,” Penn Central, supra linked its use of

the term to “the ability to use the property for its intended

purpose in a gainful fashion.” Jd. at 138, n.36 (emphasis added).

Further, the Supreme Court has stated with respect to a “lost

future profits” based taking claim, that: “Prediction of profitabil-

ity is essentially a matter of reasoned speculation that courts are

not especially competent to perform. Further, perhaps because of

its very uncertainty, the interest in anticipated gains has tradition-

ally been viewed as less compelling than other property-related

interests.” Andrus v. Allard, supra at 66.

We are unwilling to equate immediate overall profitability with

the requirement of “economic viability.” To do so would be a

major departure from the prior jurisprudence in this area. We

perceive nothing in the language of Agins, supra, or Penn Central,

supra, that would in any way cast doubt on our analysis. It was

thus error for the district court to consider the immediate overall

profitability as the measure of whether or not there had been a

ee ee ae

13

taking of appellant MacLeod’s ranch property. This error was

neither dispositive nor prejudicial, however, in light of MacLeod’s

inability to prove that the denial of the permit had indeed

operated to effect a taking of his property. It is clear from the

record that the denial of the permit in no way affected MacLeod’s

ability to continue to use the property for “its original intended

uses.” See Penn Central, supra at 138, n.36. His assertion that the

denial of the permit effectively extinguished an expected opportu-

nity for exploitation of his property, thereby preventing him from

pursuing the highest and best use of his property, is not enough to

establish a taking. See Penn Central, supra.

CONCLUSION

In sum, existing authority compels us to reject MacLeod’s

contention that the denial of the right to use a portion of a parcel

of property invariably constitutes a taking, irrespective [of] dimi-

nution of value, or denial of the highest and best use of property

can constitute a taking have each been rejected by the Supreme

Court. The determination of whether or not an economically

viable use of property remains is essentially an ad hoc factual

inquiry. Penn Central, supra at 124. That decision turns upon the

economic impact of the regulation and, particularly, the extent to

which the regulation or prohibition has interfered with the distinct

investment-backed expectations of the claimant. Jd. The denial of

the permit to harvest timber merely prohibited an additional

expected use of the property. This is not enough to allow us to

conclude that it interfered with MacLeod’s investment-backed

expectations, extinguished a fundamental attribute of ownership,

or prevented MacLeod from deriving a reasonable return on the

property.

We are not insensitive to the fact that the denial of the permit

may have placed MacLeod in a difficult short term financial

situation. But the fifth amendment is not a panacea for less-than-

perfect investment or business opportunities. It cannot be said

that the denial of the permit denied MacLeod the “ ‘justice and

14

fairness’ guaranteed by the Fifth... Amendment....” Agins,

supra. We therefore conclude that no taking occurred.*

Accordingly, the opinion of the district court is AFFIRMED.

®* We are aware of the recent Sixth Circuit decision in Hamilton Bank

of Johnson City v. Williamson County, No. 82-5388 (6th Cir. March 7,

1984). The Supreme Court has recently granted certiorari in that case.

We do not find Hamilton Bank dispositive of the question before us. The

Hamilton Bank Court held that the evidence supported a finding that

the property in question had no remaining economically viable use after

the zoning ordinance was instituted. This was not the case with Mac-

Leod’s ranch property. Further to the extent that the Hamilton Bank

Court relies on the notion that diminution in value is a significant

interference with investment-backed expectations amounting to a tak-

ing, id. at p.10, it is contrary to the law of this circuit. William C. Haas

& Co. v. City & County of San Francisco, 605 F.2d 1117, 1120 (9th Cir.

1979), cert. denied, 445 U.S. 928 (1980).

15

Appendix B

In the United States District Court

For the Northern District of California

No. C-82-3751 RFP

Morton P. MacLeod,

Plaintiff,

v.

County of Santa Clara,

Defendant.

JUDGMENT

[Filed Sept. 15, 1983]

This matter having come before the court, the Honorable

Robert F. Peckham, Chief Judge, presiding, and the issues having

been presented, and a decision having been duly rendered,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that judg-

ment be formally entered in favor of defendant.

Dated: September 15, 1983

/s/ Robert F. Peckham

Chief United States District Judge

16

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

No. 82-3751 RFP

Morton P. MacLeod,

Plaintiff,

v.

County of Santa Clara,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

[Filed Sept. 15, 1983]

1.

INTRODUCTION

Plaintiff Morton P. MacLeod brings this action under 42

U.S.C. § 1983, seeking relief for an alleged denial of rights

guaranteed by the fifth and fourteenth amendments of the United

States Constitution. Defendant County of Santa Clara is a legal

subdivision of the state of California; the Board of Supervisors is

its governing body. The Board enacts and administers provisions

of the county Code. Plaintiff alleges that the Board of Supervi-

sors’ failure to grant him a use permit to narvest timber on his

land effected a taking of his property without just compensation.

Jurisdiction over this action is founded upon 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331

and 1343. For the reasons stated below, we conclude that plaintiff

cannot prevail upon his asserted claim.

Il.

FINDINGS OF FACT

In June of 1974, while plaintiff Morton P. MacLeod was

serving as its president, Triad Capital Management Holding

formed the Castro-Escondido Ranch Corporation (Ranch Corpo-

ration), for the purpose of purchasing and holding title to the

Castro Valley Ranch and the Escondido Ranch. At the time of

this purchase, plaintiff owned 15% of the stock in Triad and

served also as president and director of the Ranch Corporation.

17

Plaintiff was responsible for the purchase of the property, which

was being offered for sale as a single, approximately 7,000 acre

parcel by the estate of Harold Chase of Santa Barbara.

Plaintiff, on behalf of the corporation, purchased the property

for $2,700,000 for the general purpose of long-term investment,

anticipating a significant increase in its value. The Escondido

Ranch, which contains about 1800 acres, is mountainous wood-

land. The Castro Valley Ranch, which contains about 5200 acres,

is mostly mountainous range and woodland with some parts

characterized by rolling and open grazing land. An enclosed

intermountain valley of approximately 150 acres of relatively flat

land, known as Castro Valley, gives that ranch its name. The

entire property is located within the “Al Residential and Agricul-

tural” zoning district of the County of Santa Clara. It is located

south of Hecker Pass Highway and West of Monterey Highway in

the County of Santa Clara.

Mr. Chase had utilized the property for cattle grazing (and

polo playing) during the previous forty years of his ownership, and

the Ranch Corporation purchased the property primarily as a

cattle ranch. The Corporation retained Mr. Chase’s foreman of

forty years, Mr. Sxheigza, who provided information concerning

the carrying capacity and other characteristics of the land. Ac-

cording to Mr. Sxheigza, and as confirmed by a report from the

United States Department of Agriculture, see Plaintiff's Exh. 28

at 4, the entire property had been capable historically of sus-

taining about 250 head of cattle.

Plaintiff had had significant exposure to the cattle-raising

industry. From 1972-1975, he had served on the Board of Direc-

tors of the Arizona Land & Cattle Company, one of the largest

public cattle companies in America; at the request of President

Sadat, he had worked on a large project in Egypt in connection

with a dairy operation; and for President Numeiry of Sudan, he

had been very instrumental in putting together a million-acre

cattle ranch for the Sudanese and Nile. Hence, he was generally

familiar with cattle ranching and its attendant expenses.

The Ranch Corporation continued the historical use of the

property, leasing it out in its entirety for cattle grazing at $6/acre

during the first two years of its ownership. Plaintiff, for the

corporation, did not undertake an inventory of the timber poten-

tial prior to the purchase of the property, nor did he purchase the

laud with the distinct intention of exploiting the timber resources

thereon, although before April 12, 1976, Santa Clara County had

no ordinance or other restriction, limitation or regulation impos-

ing a use permit requirement on proposed timber harvesting

operations. The Ranch Corporation considered, but declined, to

place the property under the California Williamson Act, Cal.

Govt. Code §§ 51200 et seg., which would have reduced the

immediate property tax burden, but which also would have

limited the potential of the lana for subsequent development.

In December of 1976, plaintiff's association with Triad was

involuntarily terminated. On January 1, 1977, in exchange for his

stock in the parent company and other consideration, plaintiff

received 100 percent of Ranch Corporation’s stock. Plaintiff's

stock in Triad was deemed to be worth the sum of the down

payment on the property ($800,000) and the two-year carrying

costs ($640,000). Thus plaintiff's “investment” in the Castro

Valley-Escondido property was $1,400,000. He assumed the out-

standing mortgage of $1,700,000. Plaintiff received the Ranch

Corporation stock rather than cash or some other asset because

Triad determined that plaintiff should be the one to “live with”

his investment decision.

In November of 1977, the Ranch Corporation, by plaintiff,

purchased the Bloomfield Hereford Ranch which was contiguous

to the Castro-Escondido Ranch and also acquired options on two

parcels adjacent to the Bloomfield Ranch, referred to as the

Mondali and Floriani option parcels. The purchase price was

$2,260,000. Plaintiff made a $500,000 down payment and ob-

tained a 10-year mortgage for the remainder at 8% interest. In

January or February of 1978, the name of Castro-Escondido

Ranch Corporation was changed to Bloomfield Hereford

Corporation.

19

The Bloomfield Ranch, which contains about 1300 acres, is

gently rolling and mostly open grazing land along the western side

of the Santa Clara Valley and was zoned “A Exclusively Agricul-

tural.” It is separated from the Castro Valley Ranch by a range of

Santa Cruz Mountain foothills known as the Carlyle Hills. Unlike

the Castro Valley and Escondido ranches, which fall entirely

within the wildland classification used at the University of Cali-

fornia for land and resource economics, the Bloomfield lands are

transitional between wildlands and croplands. The property had

been placed under the Williamso:. Act, although there was a

clause therein which permitted a certain amount of subdivision.

Plaintiff testified that he purchased Rloomfield in order to obtain

better acces" to the Castro Valley-Escondido property and to

generate income to enable him to satisfy his mortgage obligations

on the latter property.

In December of 1976, when plaintiff accepted his Triad distri-

bution in the form of 100% ownership of Ranch Corporation

stock, he intended generally to investigate more actively the

“potential” of the ranch, still emphasizing, however, its use as a

cattle ranch.' In 1977, plaintiff purchased approximately 150 cow-

calf units in an effort to run his own cattle operation on the Castro

Valley-Escondido property. From this endeavor, plaintiff derived

approximately $48,000 in gross income. However, the minimum

cost of maintaining such an operation was $76,500 (with property

taxes assessed under the Williamson Act) and, in fact, due in

large part to the actual $75,000 yearly tax liability on the property,

was considerably more. Although all three ranches together could

have sustained 400 cow-calf units, the increased revenue would

still not have compensated for the costs of operation, including

property taxes, and most certainly could not have carried the

mortgage payments.

In 1978 and 1979, plaintiff leased the entire property for cattle

grazing at $8/acre. This, too, did not prove sufficient to cover the

' Although he considered harvesting redwood timber when he ob-

tained ownership of the corporate stock, he did not know the true market’

value of the timber at that time.

20

costs of maintenance and retention of the property. The taxes

alone exceeded the lease revenues from all three ranches.

In October of 1977, plaintiff obtained a permit from the County

to harvest hardwood. The harvest was conducted in 1978-1979

but proved to be unprofitable. Such a harvest could not be

repeated within the next forty years.

Plaintiff expended substantial funds in an effort to identify

water resources for the ranch. In 1978, he had attempted an

experimental farming operation on the 150 acre valley in the

Castro Valley parcel. He planted 14 acres with cucumbers, corn

and string beans, and pumped two wells completely dry in an

effort to irrigate the plants. Thereafter, he spent in excess of

$100,000 attempting to locate a well which would provide the

necessary 600 gallons/minute but was unsuccessful. He had filed

an application with the State Water Resources Board for a permit

to construct a large dam in the valley at a probable cost of

$500,000, but sold the property before obtaining such permit.

Finally, plaintiff attempted to develop the Bloomfield Ranch.

By subdividing the ranch and selling the parcels, plaintiff hoped to

be able to generate sufficient capital to enable him to make the

mortgage payments on the ranches. He presented a subdivision

plan to the County, involving a farm-residence complex of 24

parcels, each on 43 acres. The Board of Supervisors rejected the

plan on the grounds that such a subdivision would require the

extension of urban services such as police, fire, road maintenance,

animal control and schools, and the Bloomfield Ranch was

beyond the County’s Urban Service Areas. Since the Castro

Valley-Escondido property is even more remotely located, any

effort by the plaintiff to develop that land for residences would

likely have been doomed to similar failure. Hence, residential

development was also not a viable use of that property during the

relevant time period 1974-1982.

Plaintiff testified that, between 1974 and 1980, the cattle

market suffered a depression, and the Castro Valley-Escondido

property (as well as the Bloomfield) could not, if indeed « ever

could have been, operated solely as a viable cattle ranch. Hence,

———

cA Dr Dalen athe on

ae owt eat

21

discovering that he lacked sufficient water to grow crops or

grapes, failing to succeed in his residential development plans,

and faced with impending mortgage payments, plaintiff was

forced to pursue seriously the possibility of timber harvesting, in

order to attempt to keep the ranch.

In the fall of 1977, plaintiff employed the firm of Hammon,

Jensen, Wallen and Associates, professional foresters, which pre-

pared a timber inventory of the property and a Timber Harvest

Plan. That Plan involved a selective harvest of a maximum of 2.5

million board feet of timber. Although the inventory indicated

that over 8 million board feet of timber existed on the property,

apparently much of that footage was located in scattered patches

or inaccessible areas. The Plan covered 116 noncontiguous acres

on the Lake Field area of the Castro-Escondido property and

would have involvec the harvesting of 50% of the trees over 18

inches in diameter. An additional million board feet could have

been harvested again in ten years. The logging would have

required approximately 300 trips by truck during a six-week or

longer period in the summer months to the sawmill in Santa Cruz

County. The project would have required the construction of 700

feet of new road, the installation of culverts and the grading of

trails and log landings.

Pursuant to the California Z’berg-Nejedly Forest Practice Act

of 1973, Cal. Pub. Res. Code §§ 4511 et seq., plaintiff submitted

this timber harvesting Plan to the State Department of Forestry.

After inspecting the property, the Department approved the Plan

on September 8, 1978.

On December 15, 1978, plaintiff entered into an agreement

with Big Creek Lumber Company whereby plaintiff agreed to sell

and Big Creek agreed to harvest 2.5 million board feet of redwood

timber under the timber harvest Plan approved by the California

Department of Forestry. Under the contract, plaintiff was to

receive a fixed price of $325 per thousand board feet of redwood

22

timber harvested.’ Hence, plaintiff would have realized approxi-

mately $812,000 from the contract. Considering further the har-

vest of one million board feet which could have been repeated in

ten years, the timber harvesting would have yielded an annualized

income of approximately $82,000. The Timber Sale agreement

was conditional upon a use permit satisfactory to Big Creek being

obtained from the County.

Plaintiff reserved title to the lumber until the permit should be

obtained and the timber harvested. The timber sale agreement

was to extend until April 1, 1981, except that this period was to be

enlarged by one year to April 1, 1982, if permits for timber

harvesting had not been procured by June |, 1979. During 1978

and 1979, in order to meet his obligations under the mortgages,

plaintiff borrowed $500,000 from Wells Fargo Bank on the

security of the timber contract. Big Creek advanced plaintiff

$200,000 on the contract.

On April 12, 1976, the County enacted an ordinance to regulate

timber harvesting and related operations pursuant to authority

granted under the Z’berg-Nejedly Forest Practice Act, which

allows counties to adopt rules and regulations that are stricter

than those promulgated under the Act. Cal. Pub. Res. Code

§ 4516. The Act does not restrict the power of a county under its

zoning authority to review the specific site of a timber harvest

application. On May 6, 1976, the county Planning Commission

passed and adopted standards for such operations, which were

amended on April 6, 1978. Under the ordinance and standards,

timber harvesting required a use permit.

In September of 1978, plaintiff applied for this use permit.

Defendant’s Central Permit Office declared the permit complete

on October 23, 1978. Yet, despite the fact that plaintiff's applica-

tion was to have been agendized for a public hearing before the

appropriate public agency within 45 days of that date, the County

did not act upon the application until June 12, 1979. Action or

plaintiffs application was delayed pending the outcome of u

? At present, the value of timber has fallen to approximately $150 per

thousand.

23

timber harvest application submitted by the California Province

of the Society of Jesus (Noviate application).

On June 12, 1979, having analyzed plaintiff's timber harvest

plan, the County Planning Department staff issued a report which

concluded that the proposed harvest would have no significant

adverse environmental and safety impact that could not be miti-

gated. The staff specifically analyzed any potentially injurious

effects upon water resources and traffic safety. They suggested

that the former could be adequately mitigated by the imposition

of appropriate conditions and the proper enforcement thereof; the

latter could be mitigated by the use of experienced truck opera-

tors, a flag vehicle, adequate turnouts and restrictions on hours of

operation. The staff recommended a negative declaration pursu-

ant to Cal. Pub. Res. Code § 21064.

However, during the time that plaintiff's application for a use

permit was thus pending, a member of the county Board of

Supervisors suggested that timber harvesting be banned from the

County. Although the Planning Commission considered this pro-

posal, it was unable to agree whether or not to adopt it.

On August 6, 1979, the Board of Supervisors considered the

proposed ban and voted four to one to prohibit commercial timber

harvesting as a “nuisance” and to permit the cutting of trees only

to salvage timber after a fire and the cutting of fallen trees for

domestic use. Thereafter, the Board directed the county counsel

to prepare an ordinance formally banning commercial timber

harvesting and further directed the Planning Commission to

revise the standards for harvest permits. During December and

January, the supervisors conducted several hearings concerning

the proposed harvest ban but did not formally adopt the ordi-

nance. On January 21, 1980, the Board adopted an interim

ordinance prohibiting new applications.

On August 16, 1979, on the basis of the Board’s newly-declared

policy against timber harvesting, the county Planning Commis-

sion staff reversed its June recommendation concerning plaintiff's

operation and instead recommended denial of the application,

24

although the substance of the report involving impact and mitiga-

tion remained unchanged.

On September 6, 1979, the Planning Commission conducted a

hearing on plaintiff's application. Witnesses included Phillip E.

Nemir and Dale Holderman, registered foresters; and William

McKillop and Paul Zinke, Prefessors of Forestry at the University

of California. All witnesses urged that the application be granted

and testified that the proposed selective harvest would have a

salutary effect upon the environment and would benefit the public

as a whole. No evidence was presented to the contrary. At the

hearing, the county counsel stated that the Planning Commission,

in making its decision, could consider the articulated policy of the

Board. The Planning Commission denied the application. The

following findings were sent to the Board of Supervisors:

1. That the Commission was not satisfied that the poten-

tial adverse impacts determined in the environmental assess-

ment could be mitigated;

2. That the proposed use of this property is not essential or

desirable to the public convenience or welfare in that the

potential impacts would not be mitigated;

3. That the proposed use would be detrimental to the

public health, safety and general welfare in that the potential

adverse impacts could not be mitigated.

Plaintiff appealed this decision to the County Board of Supervi-

sors, which held a de novo hearing on the application on October

15. Plaintiff requested the Board to delay hearing until it had

formally acted on its proposed ordinance, but the Board refused to

grant a continuance. Again, all witnesses, including Professors

McKillop and Zinke, urged that the proposed harvest application

be granted and testified that the harvest would not have an

adverse effect on the environment but would be beneficial to the

land and wildlife and would be of economic and social benefit to

the county. This testimony notwithstanding, several Board mem-

bers expressed their concern with the particular dangers of plain-

tiffs project, including the traffic hazards and threat to water

25

resources and steelhead spawning. By a vote of four to one, the

Board denied the application.’

Subsequently, on February 22, 1980, plaintiff filed a complaint

in state superior court, seeking by administrative mandamus, Cal.

Civ. Proc. Code § 1094.5, to set aside the determination of the

Board. Plaintiff did not raise, nor did the court adjudicate,

plaintiff's constitutional claim; rather, plaintiff's action alleged

violations of zoning and administrative law. The trial court ruled

that the Board’s decision was supported by substantial evidence,

that plaintiff was not denied a fair hearing, and that the plaintiff

had waived any claim that the permit was granted by operation of

law. The court entered judgment for the county on December 4,

1980.

Plaintiff thereupon filed both an appeal and a petition for writ

of mandate in the court of appeal. That court denied the petition

but the Supreme Court granted hearing and retransferred the

>The Board made the following findings:

1. The proposed use of the property would be detrimental to the

public health, safety and welfare in that the project presents a

significant risk of degradation of water resources in the Bodfish

Creek and Hatfield Creek watershed area. It has not been estab-

lished that this adverse impact can be effectively mitigated to less

than significant levels.

2. The proposed use of the property would be detrimental to the

public health and safety in that the introduction of logging trucks

into the area would present a significant safety hazard to users of

the Hecker Pass Highway (State Route 152) and Mount Madonna

Park. This adverse impact cannot be significantly mitigated.

3. The proposed use of the property will be detrimental to the

public health and safety in that the timber harvest operation will

significantly increase the risk of fire in the area. The proposed

mitigation measures would not reduce this risk to less than signifi-

cant levels.

4. The proposed use of the property is neither essential nor

desirable for the public convenience or welfare in that the proposed

project presents significant risks of environmental damage and

hazards to the public health, safety and welfare without any

overriding benefit to the citizens of the County of Santa Clara.

26

matter to the court of appeal with a directive that the writ issue.

The court of appeal denied the petition for writ of mandate,

finding that the Board had considered plaintiff's application on

the merits, as was evidenced by the specific concerns articulated

by several Board members, and had not denied the permit on the

basis of an unenacted policy to prohibit timber harvesting. It held

further that, in light of the potential adverse environmental

impacts identified in the Planning Commission staff report, plain-

tiff had the burden of proving to the satisfaction of the Board that

effective mitigation would indeed take place. The court averred

that, despite the fact that no witnesses testified against the

application, the Board was entitled to take a skeptical view of

whether the mitigative actions would in fact be taken and whether

forestry officials would indeed enforce full compliance. The

Board, the court continued, was not required uncritically to accept

the opinions of plaintiffs experts and of the planning staff that

mitigative efforts would be effective merely because no contrary

testimony was presented; instead the Board could disbelieve even

uncontradicted testimony if the testimony is inherently improba-

ble or if the witness has an interest in the matter. The court noted

that the Board found it improbable that the mitigation procedures

would be properly effectuated and that forestry officials would

effectively police the project. The court emphasized that, had

plaintiff presented evidence that similar operations had been

carried out by the same logging company under similar permit

conditions and supervision and that mitigation efforts had suc-

ceeded, the Board could likely not have rejected the application

without actual counterevidence. However, the court stated that

plaintiff's witnesses did not provide such factual support for their

opinions.

On March 11, 1982, the California Supreme Court denied a

petition for hearing filed by plaintiff. On September 13, 1982, the

California Court of Appeal dismissed the appeal from the deci-

sion of the trial court.

Ultimately, the county did not adopt the proposed ordinance

banning commercial timber harvesting. The California State

FA in ade oat ae weet Hats)

27

Board of Forestry opposed the ordinance, finding it “very restric-

tive” and likely “to foreclose opportunities to harvest timber

which’ would be economically and environmentally desirable.”

The State Board noted that its experience, and that of other

counties in heavily populated areas, indicated that “iess preclusive

methods” could be implemented to control any possible adverse

impacts. It urged that a continuous long-term supply of forest

products is essential to the public interest and that the land upon

which harvestable timber lies can provide an “economically self-

supporting forum of open space land use.” By memorandum of

April 29, 1980, county counsel advised the Board that the pro-

posed ordinance would be unlawful, inasmuch as there was not

sufficient evidence to justify the outright banning of commercial

timber harvesting. He acknowledged that

the overwhelming weight of the evidence presented at public

hearings, supported by the State Department of Forestry, is

that a managed timber harvest conducted in accordance with

a plan approved by the Department of Forestry is beneficial

to the forest and would not be injurious to the environment.

This evidence has been presented by professional foresters

and educators in the field of forestry and is essentially

uncontradicted.

On May 5, 1980, the Board voted not to adopt the ordinance.

In the meantime, plaintiff, finding himself unable to sustain the

heavy ownership and operation costs of the three

ranches—particularly the former—was forced to sell the ranches

and the options. On October 3, 1979, before the Board of

Supervisors had acted on plaintiff's appeal from the Planning

Commission, the Bloomfield Hereford Ranch Corporation en-

tered into an agreement to sell the entire property to C.M.

Trading Co. for a sale price of $7,201,524. The uncontradicted

evidence at trial indicated that, pursuant to this sales agreement,

plaintiff retained ownership of the 2.5 million board feet of

harvestable redwood timber subject to the December 15, 1978,

contract with Big Creek until June 1, 1982.‘ Plaintiff received no

“The agreement contained the following covenant:

28

compensation for this timber from ©.M. Trading Co. The trans-

action was closed on October 22, 1979. As of June 1, no timber

had been harvested, and plaintiff's right therein expired without

his hiaving received any compensation. The denial of the timber

permit reduced the value of the combined ranches by approxi-

mately $1,000,000.

Bloomfield was dissolved in April of 1980, and plaintiff person-

ally assumed its assets and liabilities, including its rights of action

against Santa Clara County.

Although plaintiff sold the ranches at a higher price than that

which he paid, he in fact lost money during his ownership of the

lands, when the mortgage payments and expenses of operation

and improvements are considered. Such losses, however, were not

completely unforeseeable, and as such, constitute a part of the

risk of speculative investment and subsequent ownership. Plaintiff

intially purchased the Castro Valley-Escondido ranches for Triad

Corporation for the purpose of realizing a long-term appreciation

on the investment. In light of the purchase price and the concom-

itant mortgage payments and property taxes, plaintiff must have

anticipated from the outset that the ownership expenses, espe-

cially including those just mentioned, could not be carried by the

profits of a cattle grazing or raising operation. At $2,700,000, it is

simply incredible that plaintiff would have purchased the land for

CM acknowledges the Timber Sale Agreement dated December

15, 1978, between Seller and Big Creek Lumber Co. . . . and agrees

to allow Big Creek to harvest timber from the Castro Valley Ranch

in accordance with the terms of that Agreement until October 1,

1982 when all timber harvesting shall have been completed and all

obligations to restore the property shall have been fulfilled. Seller

and MacLeod shail be entitled to the net proceeds of such timber

harvesting after payment of any expenses incurred by CM, as the

owner of the property under the terms of said Agreement, as a

res! ‘t of said harvesting or due Big Creek under the terms of said

Agreement. CM has no responsibility to assist Seller, Big Creek or

MacLeod in their efforts to obtain the required permits. If such

permits are not obtained by June 1, 1982, all rights of MacLeod,

Seller and Big Creek pursuant to said Agreement and to harvest

said timber shall terminate.

29

the purpose of cattle raising. At that price, plaintiff must have

contempiated that Triad would retain the land for some number

of years, satisfying the mortgage payments from resources other

than the cattle operation, and would finally subdivide the property

or sell the ranches at a substantial profit to some developer who

would do so. Such a plan, however, is inevitably fraught with risk,

e.g., the risk that the real estate market will suffer a depression or

that the governing body will not rezone the land or permit

economically feasible subdivision therof. In the instant case, those

risks were exacerbated by the fact that plaintiff became the sole

owner of the ranches and was forced to bear the ownership

expenses individually.

Although at trial, plaintiff asserted that the cattle industry had

suffered a depression in 1974-1980,° making a cattle operation

impractical, plaintiff acknowledged that a cow-calf operation in

mountainous terrain like that of the Castro Valley-Escondido

ranches “is always a losing operation.” R.T. 81. When asked by

counsel for defendant why, if he was generally familiar with the

cattle business, did he attempt such an operation on the lands,

plaintiff obscurely remarked that:

This ranch had been used historically as a cow/calf unit

ranch. And until you have actually grazed your own cattle on

there and see what kind of feed you got and what kind of

water and what kind of summer hay, et cetera, you never

know.

Secondly, the price of your cows vary from A to Z all the

time. 1974 to 1980 were real depression years in the cattle

business. We wanted to see if we could make money on it.

R.T. 104. But plaintiff could never have supported Castro Valley-

Escondido, nor those ranches and Bloomfield combined, on the

basis of a cattle operation. Had he been permitted to harvest the

timber ($82,000/year), in addition to a cattle operation, he would

have been able to meet the immediate operation and maintenance

> Plaintiff did not introduce evidence quantifying the extent of this

alleged depression.

30

expenses, including taxes and insurance, but he would nor have

been able to satisfy the mortgage payments of capital and interest,

as well as other expenses of ownership. At most, the timber

harvest would have enabled plaintiff to mitigate his losses.

III.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

A. Standing

We find that plaintiff has standing to bring this action. First,

plaintiff is the successor in interest to and owner of the assets of

the dissolved Bloomfield-Hereford Ranch Corporation. He has

assumed all its rights and liabilities, including the cause of action

asserted here. Plaintiff has standiug by virtue of that assignment.

See Pacific Coast Agr. Export Ass'n v. Sunkist Growers, Inc., 526

F.2d 1196, 1207-08 (9th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 959

(1976) (an association may sue as an assignee of the legal rights

of its members); /sidor Weinstein Investment Co. v. Hearst Corp.,

303 F. Supp. 646, 648-49 (N.D.Cal. 1969) (corporation’s succes-

sor in interest could assert assigned antitrust claims). Plaintiff is

not attempting to assert the corporation’s cause of action in the

capacity of a stockholder. Cf. Erlich v. Glasner, 418 F.2d 226 (9th

Cir. 1969).

Second, plaintiff is challenging the County’s denial of his

application for a use permit. The County’s failure to issue such a

permit restricted plaintiff's ability to dispose of or utilize his

property to the fullest extent possible. Plaintiff would have been

able to sell the timber on his land to Big Creek Lumber but for

the absence of the use permit. He did not convey the rights to the

trees to C.M. Trading Co. when he transferred title to the land,

and his rights in the timber expired without his having received

compensation therefor because of the absence of the use permit.

He therefore has suffered individualized injury such that he has a

“personal, concrete, live interest in the coniroversy.” Andrus v.

Allard, 444 U.S. 51, 64 n.21 (1979), citing Baker v. Carr, 369

U.S. 186, 204 (1962). The fact that plaintiff does not presently

31

have an interest in the timber is not relevant to the threshold issue

of standing.®

B. Res Judicata and Collateral Estoppel

The doctrines of res judicata and collateral estoppel may be

applied to prior state court judgments to bar subsequent civil

rights actions brought in federal court. Allen v. McCurry, 449

U.S. 90 (1980). The preclusive effect of a state court judgment is

determined by the law of the state. 28 U.S.C. § 1738. However.

bar is limited to cases where there was a “full and fair opportunity

to litigate” the issue in the earlier state court case, 449 U.S. at 95,

and “where the state courts have recognized the constitutional

claims asserted.” Jd. at 99. Under the doctrine of res judicata, a

final judgment on the merits of an action precludes the parties or

their privies from relitigating claims or issues that were or could

have been raised in that action. Jd. at 94.

Under California law, in order to determine whether a prior

action serves to bar a subsequent action, a court must ascertain

* Therefore, for purposes of the standing doctrine, we need not

determine whether the timber became “constructively” severed from the

land by virtue of either the Big Creek or the CM Trading contracts.

Defendant has argued that, under the CM contract, plaintiff retained

only the speculative right to receive the proceeds if the timber were

harvested by Big Creek. Defendant contends that loss of such an interest

constitutes, at best, consequential damages, which cannot form the basis

of a fifth amendment takings claim. We do not agree. If defendant's

position were correct, mo one would have standing to assert the present

cause of action. Because no permit was issued, Big Creek never had a

present interest in the timber or an obligation to pay for it. Its right to

purchase the timber would not have confe:red standing. Omnia Co. v.

United States, 261 U.S. 502 (1923). Furthermore, the evidence is

uncontradicted that plaintiff reserved the timber from the sale of the

property. CM did not acquire the right to the timber until June |, 1982.

Throughout the relevant time period, plaintiff alone had a present

property interest in the timber. The transactions were arranged such that

piaintiff bore the risk and the economic burden of the county’s actions,

and he is the proper party to challenge the denial of the use permit.

32

whether the same “primary right” is involved in both actions. In

doing so, a court is to examine the harm suffered, rather than the

particular theory asserted or relief sought by the litigant. S/ater v.

Blackwood, 15 Cal. 3d 791 (1975). Defendant asserts that only

one cause of action is involved herein, which arises from a single

injury, that is, the denial of a use permit. Defendant maintains

that the mandamus and the section 1983 actions are but different

theones seeking different remedies for the same wrong.

We disagree. In the mandamus proceeding, the court deter-

mined whether the County’s decision was based upon “substantial

evidence” of possible harm to the environment. It did not adjudi-

cate whether the denial had deprived plaintiff of all viable use of

his property, that is, whether the regulation went so far as to

constitute a taking for which compensation must be paid. As the

County argued before the state court, “administrative mandamus

... iS concerned with the jurisdictional basis for the decision and

the procedures observed in rendering it, not the financial impact

of the decision upon the interested party.” Pl. Exh. 35, p.S. The

proper analysis of a takings claim requires the court to inquire into

the nature and extent of interference with the plaintiff's rights and

to determine whether justice and fairness require that plaintiff's

loss be compensated by the government. Penn Central Transpor-

tation Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104, 124 (1978). Neither

the Board of Supervisors, nor the California courts, engaged in

such an analysis. The inquiry in the mandamus action differed

qualitatively from that required in the case at bar.

Therefore, it is clear that plaintiff's section 1983 claim was not

in fact litigated in the state court proceedings, nor, under Califor-

nia law, could it have been so litigated under the facts of this case.

Concededly, plaintiff may have been able to raise his federal

claim as part of the administrative mandamus action. Judicial

review of the validity of an administrative action is governed by

Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 1094.5. A constitutional challenge which

seeks to invalidate a specific application of an ordinance is

properly raised in California in an action for declaratory relief or

mandamus. See Agins v. City of Tiburon, 24 Cal. 3d 266, 273

(1979), affd on other grounds, 447 U.S. 255 (1980); State of

33

California v. Superior Court (Veta), 12 Cal. 3d 237, 251 (1974).

However, under California law, plaintiff had no obligation to

present his federal constitutional claim to the Board of Supervi-

sors, Cal Gov *t Code § 905.1,’ and did not do so. A mandamus

proceeding is limited to determining “the validity of any final

administrative order or decision,” section 1094.5(a); review does

not extend to matters which were not before the administrative

body. Markley v. City Council, 131 Cal. App. 3d 656, 663 (1982);

section 1094.5(e). Therefore, having decii-ed to raise the inverse

condemnation claim before the administrative body, the plaintiff

in this case could not have raised his constitutional claim as part

of the mandamus proceeding, although perhaps, at plaintiff's

option, he could have joined an action for declaratory relief with

the mandamus action.

The California courts themselves have recognized the limited

scope of administrative mandamus proceedings and have declined

to give such actions broad res judicata effect. See, e.g. San

” Section 905.1 provides:

No claim is required to be filed to maintain an action against a

public entity for taking of, or damage to, private property pursuant

to Section 19 of Article | of the California Constitution.

However, the board shall, in accordance with the provisions of this

part, process any claim which is filed against a public entity for the

taking of, or damage to, private property pursuant to Section 19 of

Article | of the California Constitution.

Although section 905.1 applies explicitly only to inverse condemna-

tion claims brought under the state constitution, we shall presume, and

defendant has offered no authority to the contrary, that federal condem-

nation claims similarly need not be brought before the administrative

agency.

* Certainly, plaintiff could have brought his section 1983 action in

state court in the first instance; however, an aggrieved person has the

right to bring his or her federal cause of action in federal court if he or

she so chooses.

We conclude, on the basis of the above discussion, that the doctrine of

collateral estoppel similarly does not bar the piaintiff’s claim. Collateral

estoppel applies only with respect to specific issues which were actually

litigated and decided in a previous action.

34

Francisco Unified School Dist. v. State of Calif., 131 Cal. App. 3d

54 (1982); Markley, supra, at 674-75. In Markley, the court

stated:

Certainly the effect of an affirmance of the judgment below

and denial of a writ [of mandamus] does not create any res

judicata effect or estoppel by judgment on the right of the

petitioner to file a new and plenary action for damages.

Id.

Furthermore, had plaintiff brought his section 1983 claim in

the mandamus proceeding, he would not have been able to secure

an adequate remedy therein; California does not “recognize the

constitutional claim” for just compensation. The California Su-

preme Court has ruled that money damages are not available in

claims for inverse condemnation; instead, a plaintiff must seek a

declaration that the contested regulation is invalid. See Agins,

supra. In Agins, the California Supreme Court held that a

property owner aggrieved by a local land use regulation “may not

elect to sue in inverse condemnation and thereby transmute an

excessive use of the police power into a lawful taking for which

compensation in eminent domain must be paid.” 24 Cal. 3d at

273. Hence, Agins would preclude monetary relief for an uncom-

pensated regulatory taking claim raised in state court under

section 1983. Gilliland v. County of Los Angeles, 126 Cal. App.

3d 610, 617 (1981).

However, “the present vitality of this aspect of Agins has been

substantially undercut by Justice Brennan’s dissenting opinion in

San Diego Gas & Electric Co. v. City of San Diego, 450 U.S. 621,

636-661... (1981), in which Justices Stewart, Marshall and

Powell joined.” Martino v. Santa Clara Valley Water District, No.

81-4578, slip. op. at 1575 (9th Cir. Apr. 14, 1983). Justice

Brennan stated:

The only constitutional requirement is that the landowner

must be able meaningfully to challenge a regulation that

allegedly effects a “taking” and recover just compensation if

it does so.

35

Id. at 660. He suggested that, once a court determines that a

regulation results in a “taking,” the governmental body must pay

just compensation for the period commencing on the date the

regulation first effected the taking and continuing until the entity

either rescinds or amends the regulation. Jd. at 658. Under such a

constitutional rule, a property owner would receive monetary

relief for the period during which the regulation was in place.

Under the California rule, the governing body could repeatedly

amend its regulation, thereby continuously frustrating the plain-

tiff’s right to relief. Justice Rehnquist, concurring, remarked that,

if he could agree that the appeal were from a “final judgment,” he

“would have little difficulty in agreeing” with much of Justice

Brennan’s opinion. /d. at 633. Thus, as Martino noted, it appears

that a majority of the Court may agree that “damages are

recoverable for inverse condemnation.” Slip. op. at 1576. See also

In re Aircrash in Bali, Indonesia, On April 22, 1974, 684 F.2d

1301, 1311 n.7 (9th Cir. 1982).

In light of this unsettled state of federal law, which seems to

tend towards a rejection of Agins, we cannot say that “the state

courts [would] have recognized the constitutional claims asserted

and provided fair procedures for determining them.” Allen v.

McCurry, supra, at 99. Hence, we are unwilling to conclude that

the previous administrative mandamus proceeding operates to

preclude plaintiffs federal court action. A civil rights action

cannot be barred by the judgment of a state c_..« which does not

fully recognize the claim. Had plaintiff presented his claim to the

state courts, he would have been forced to sacrifice any possibility

of fair compensation, the only remedy which would rectify his

alleged harm. Had he sought to embroil this court in a local

zoning controversy by bringing his state law claims in the first

instance to the federal forum (under its pendent jurisdiction), this

court would likely have abstained. See Santa Fe Land Imp. v. City

of Chula Vista, 596 F.2d 838 (9th Cir. 1979); Sederquist v. City

of Tiburon, 590 F.2d 278 (9th Cir. 1978).

36

C. The Takings Claim

1. The Nature of the Property Interest

In order to determine whether or not Santa Clara County’s

denial of the timber harvesting permit constituted a taking of

plaintiff's property, the court must first identify the “property” at

issue. In the instant case, the property may be characterized as

the standing timber itself, the timbezlands, the Castro Valley-

Escondido Ranch, or the entire 8300 acres, comprising all three

ranches.

For purposes of fifth amendment just compensation analysis, a

federal court will refer to state law to define rights in property.

Richmond Elks Hall Ass'n v. Richmond Redevelopment Agency,

561 F.2d 1327, 1330 (9th Cir. 1977). Plaintiff contends that,

under California law, he owned a protected property interest in

the standing timber. In California, standing timber is ordinarily

regarded as “affixed to land,” Cal. Civ. Code § 660, and therefore

part of the real property. Section 658. However, timber “agreed to

be severed before sale or under the contract of sale, shall be

treated as goods.” Sections 658, 660. “[G ]rowing crops which are

agreed to be severed under a contract of sale cease to be a part of

the realty and become personalty. Under these circumstances, in

substance, a constructive severance . .. occurs.” Carey v. Glenco

Citrus Products, 235 Cal. App. 2d 572, 578-79 (1965). Such a

constructive severance may result either from a conveyance of

standing timber or other crops, or from a conveyance of land with

a reservation of the crops. Smith v. Baker, 95 Cal. App. 2d 877,

878 (1950). A separate estate in timber may be limited to a term.

Palmer v. Walker, 133 Cal. App. 2d 705, 711 (1955).

On the basis of such authority, plaintiff argues that a “construc-

tive severance” was effected by the Timber Sale Agreement

between plaintiff and Big Creek Lumber and again by the

contract of sale of the ranch to C.M. Trading Co. Under the latter

contract, the ownership of land and timber were separated.

Alternatively, plaintiff argues that the timberlands themselves

should be considered separately from the remainder of the ranch

land. Depriving him of the right to harvest the timber, plaintiff

urges, effectively deprived him of all viable use of these lands.

37

We assume, without deciding, that the C.M. Trading Co.

contract effected a “constructive severance” of the timber and

that the 116 acres of timberland in the Lakefield area had no

viable use other than that of timber harvesting. However, for the

reasons stated below, this conclusion is not determinative of the

matter at hand. The impact of the timber permit denial must be

considered, in any case, in relation to the Castro Valley-Escon-

dido ranch land as a whole. The timberlands were acquired as a

part of the above Ranch, were zoned identically to the remainder

of the Ranch, were first leased, and later sold, with the Ranch as a

whole. When acquiring the Ranch in 1974, plaintiff did not

explicitly intend to develop the Lakefield timberlands separately.

In light of these circumstances, plaintiff will not now be permitted

to isolate these lands and their timber for purposes of his taking

claim. Compare the instant case with American Savings & Loan

Ass'n v. County of Marin, 653 F.2d 364 (9th Cir. 1981} (for

taking purposes, all plaintiff's land to be considered a single parcel

where ordinance had isolated a portion of the property in a unique

zone). By contrast, we will not include the potentiality of the

Bloomfield Ranch in our analysis. Bloomfield was acquired sepa-

rately, is zoned differently and has a different overall topography

from that of Castro Valley-Escondido. The difference in zoning

alone indicates that the County views the ranches differently.

Plaintiff's contiguous ownership of Bloomfield is somewhat a

fortuity.

2. Standard of Review

Modern “takings” jurisprudence involves a balancing of several

factors in an “essentially ad hoc inquiry.” Penn Central, supra, at

124. The Court has identified several considerations to be

weighed in determining whether “ ‘justice and fairness’ require

that economic injuries caused by government action be compen-

sated by the government, rather than remain disproportionately

concentrated on a few persons.” Jd. These factors include:

(1) the economic impact of the regulation;

(2) its interference with reasonable investment-backed

expectations;

38

(3) the character of governmental action.

Id. A land use regulation effects a taking if it does not substan-

tially advance legitimate state interests or denies an owner eco-

nomically viable use of his land.” Agins v. City of Tiburon, 447

U.S. 255, 260 (1980) (emphasis added). Generally, the inquiry

concerning the extent of a regulation’s interference with a private

property right has focused on the use of the property that is

permitted. See Andrus v. Allard, 444 U.S. 51, 65-66 (1979); Penn

Central, supra, at 131, 136. The mere fact that a regulation

reduces the value of land does not constitute a taking. See, e.g.,

Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365 (1926).

In the instant case, a determination that plaintiff had had a

property interest in the standing timber is relevant but not

dispositive. We are still obliged to undertake the ad hoc analysis

previously noted. The existence of plaintiff's property interest is

merely one consideration in the balancing process. Hence, plain-

tiffs argument proves both too much and too little. On the basis

of plaintiff's theory, any home owner could enter into a contract to

sell the “timber rights” to any single tree on his residential lot,

despite city and county ordinances forbidding, without a permit,

the cutting of trees over a certain diameter in residential areas.

The mere fact that one “constructively severs” certain goods, or,

indeed, portions of real property, and then is completely denied

permission to dispose of that contrivedly limited property,

whether by zoning regulations or otherwise, cannot suffice to

establish a taking. The courts are not required to adhere to such a

mechanistic approach; indeed, to do so would represent an abdi-

cation of our duty. Instead, we are required to pierce through to

the realities of the situation.

It is true that, had the County itself harvested the timber or had

the County condemned the timberlands as parkland, the loss of

the trees or timberlands would be specifically compensable. See

United States v. 3,035.73 Acres of Land, Etc., 650 F.2d 938, 941

(8th Cir. 1981) (court awarded compensation for condemned

forest land in part to the holder of an “Option to Purchase

Standing Timber” since optionee had a present right to enter land

and cut and remove timber); State of Louisiana Sabine River

ee

39

Authority v. Carter, 293 F.Supp. 1171, 1172 (W.D.La. 1968)

(where condemned land was subject to 99-year timber lease, of

which 76 years were unexpired, both the landowner’s and lessee’s

rights were expropriated). However, the analyses of such cases

are not directly applicable to the instant situation, since

In condemnation cases the issue is damages: how much is

| due the landowners as just compensation. In inverse con-

demnation, the issue is liability: Has the government’s action

effected a taking of the landowner’s property. In the latter,

the boundaries of the property taken must be determined by

taking jurisprudence rather than the law of eminent domain.

American Savings & Loan, supra, at 369. In actions for eminent

domain, the apportionment of property interests is relevant, in-

deed crucial, to the inquiry concerning whom should receive

compensation for which portion of the “bundle” of property rights

that have been taken.

Thus, there is a distinction between cases involving regulatory

actions and those involving a physical invasion where an owner

has been displaced from his property. Where there has been a

direct appropriation of property, Webb's Fabulous Pharmacies,

Inc. v. Beckwith, 449 U.S. 155 (1980); or a physical invasion,

Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 102 S.Ct. 3164

(1982); Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164 (1980), or

where the owner has been physically excluded from any use of the

property, Foster v. United States, 607 F.2d 943 (Ct.Cl. 1979);

Devines v. Maier, 665 F.2d 138 (7th Cir. 1981), the issue again is

the value of the specific property interest which has been taken.

Indeed, cases of physical invasion constitute per se a taking of

property, regardless of the amount by which the overall parcel has

been reduced by the action. Loretto, supra. The identification of

such takings does not require the same balancing of factors

enumerated in Penn Central.

The case at bar does not involve such invasion or appropriation,

but rather regulatory action of a non-intrusive nature. In such a

context, a property owner will not be permitted to divide his

property into separate elements in order to determine whether

40

specific rights have been completely abrogated. Instead, the

determination must be made on the basis of governmental inter-

ference with rights in the parcel as a whole. Penn Central, supra.

In Penn Central, the city of New York had denied plaintiffs

permission to erect a 55-story office building atop Grand Central

Station on the basis of a law enacted to preserve and protect

historic landmarks. The plaintiffs had argued, inter alia, that the

airspace above the terminal was a valuable property interest and

urged that the landmarks law had deprived them of any beneficial

use of those air rights, “irrespective of the value of the remainder

of their parcel.” 438 U.S. at 130. In rejecting this contention, the

Court did not hold that “air rights” were not property interests

under New York law, but rather stated:

[T]he submission that appellants may establish a “taking”

simply by showing that they have been denied the ability to

exploit a property interest that they heretofore had believed

was available for development is quite simply untenable.

Were this the rule, this Court would have erred not only in

upholding laws restricting the development of air rights, see

Welch v. Swasey, supra, but also in approving those prohibit-

ing both the subjacent, see Goldblatt v. Hempstead, 369 U.S.

590, ... (1962), and the lateral, see Gorieb v. Fox, 274 U.S.

603, ... (1927), development of particular parcels. “Taking”

jurisprudence does not divide a single parcel into discrete

segments and attempt to determine whether rights in a

particular segment have been entirely abrogated. In deciding

whether a particular governmental action has effected a

taking, this Court focuses rather both on the character of the

action and on the nature and extent of the interference with

rights in the parcel as a whole—here, the city tax block

designated as the “landmark site.”

Id. at 130-31.

In analyzing the parcel as a whole, the Court determined that

there had been no taking, premising its holding on several factors:

First, the landmark law did not interfere with the then-present

uses of the parcel; rather, the property owners “could continue to

use the property precisely as it [had] been used for the past 65

41

years[,]” id. at 136; that is, the law did not “interfere with what

must be regarded as [the owners’] primary expectation regarding

the use of the parcel.” Jd. Second, and “[m]ore importantly,” id.,

the property owners were able to obtain a “reasonable return” on

their investment. Jd. Third, Penn Central had received compensa-

tory development rights for other properties it owned. Fourth, the

City had not prohibited a// construction above the Terminal, but

merely 2 project of that enormity.

We conclude that the analysis and reasoning of Penn Central

must control in the instant case. Plaintiffs contention to the

contrary notwithstanding, the “extension” of Penn Central to the

present facts does not require an overruling of Pennsylvania Coal

Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393 (1922). In Pennsylvania Coal, a

mining company had conveyed the surface rights to particular

land but expressly reserved the right to remove coal thereunder.

The grantee waived all claims for damages resulting from the

mining operations. A Pennsylvania statute, subsequently enacted,

forbade the mining of coal in such a way as to cause the

subsidence of a residential structure if the surface was not owned

by the owner of the underlying coal. The Court held the statute

invalid as an unconstitutional exercise of police power, in that it

effectively abolished what was recognized in Pennsylvania as an

estate and destroyed binding contractual rights. The right to coal,

the Court noted, “consist[ed] in the right to mine it,” id. at 414,

and to render the mining thereof commercially impracticable

effectively destroyed or appropriated that right.

In Pennsylvania Coal, however, the contract had been consum-

mated prior to the enactment of the ordinance. Hence, the coal

company had relinquished valuable property rights in the surface

with the reasonable, “investment-backed” expectation of continu-

ing to extract the subsurface coal. Furthermore, the grantees had

voluntarily assumed the risk of subsidence. Hence, when consid-

ering the question “upon whom the loss of the changes desired

should fall,” id. at 416, the Court held:

So far as private persons or communities have seen fit to take

the risk of acquiring only surface rights, we cannot see that

42

the fact that their risk has become a danger warrants the

giving to them greater rights than they bought.

Id. The Court did not rule that the effective destruction of the

property interest in coal in and of .tself established a taking, but

rather that under the circumstances, the coal company had been

forced to bear an unfair burden.

Our reading of Pennsylvania Coal is sunnorted by Penn Cen-

tral. In the latter case, the Court characterized Pennsylvania Coal

as

the leading case for the proposition that a state statute that

substantially furthers important public policies may so frus-

trate distinct investment-backed expectations as to amount to

a “taking.”

438 U.S. at 127 (emphasis added). The Court noted further that

the statute in Pennsylvania Coal had been enacted after the

transactions. In a later fooinote to its ruling concerning “air

rights,” the Court remarked:

These cases [Welch v. Swasey, Goldblatt v. Hempstead,

and Gorieb v. Fox] dispose of any contention that might be

based on Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon... that full use

of air rights is so bound up with the investment-backed

expectations of appellants that governmental deprivation of

these rights invariably—i.e., irrespective of the impact of the

restriction on the value of the parcel as a whole—constitutes

a “taking.”

Id. at 130, n.27. Pennsylvania Coal, it seems, although not

overruled, is to be limited to extraordinary circumstances where

the entirety of an individual’s legitimate expectation/ property

interest has been completely destroyed by subsequent regulation.

In light of Penn Central, however, this property cannot be

artificially subdivided into “discrete segments.” The court is to

consider the complete bundle of a property owner’s rights when

engaging in the necessary ad hoc balancing process to determine

whether governmental regulation has gone so far as to effect a

taking.

43

Therefore, we conclude that Penn Central, rather than Penn-

sylvania Coal, is applicable to the case before us. And, as did the

Court in Penn Central, we find that the governmental action at

issue did not effect a taking of plaintiff's property. First, the

challenged governmental act did not interfere with the historical

use of the Castro Valley-Escondido land, i.e., cattle raising and

grazing. Plaintiff had primarily expected to use the property in

this manner, while holding the land in anticipation of its ultimate

appreciation.

Second, it cannot be said that the Big Creek Lumber contract

and the subsequent loans plaintiff obtained on the basis thereof

created reasonable investment-backed expectations. The County

had promulgated its use permit requirement prior to the time

plaintiff entered into the contract and borrowed the funds; he

therefore was aware that County approval was a prerequisite to

the consummation of the contract and payments of proceeds

thereunder. Indeed, title to the timber was to pass only if this

contingency were fulfilled. Hence, although plaintiff did encum-

ber himself on the basis of his hope that the permit would be

granted, he did so, assuming the risk of county non-approval.

Plaintiff cannot talismanically transform such risk-assumption

into the more reasonable investment-backed expectation of the

coal company in Pennsylvania Coal. One who seeks governmental

approbation must contemplate governmental rejection.

Third, the county did not, in fact, completely forbid all timber

harvesting on the basis of a blanket policy against such harvesting.

The state court litigation conclusively determined that the county

had denied plaintiff a permit on the merits of his particular case,

rather than on the basis of a per se interdiction. Plaintiff is barred

from relitigating this issue. Plaintiff failed to satisfy the Board

members that the adverse environmental impacts and traffic

dangers which they feared would indeed be mitigated or obviated.

The prevention of such affirmative harms is clearly within the

police power of the county, and we must give substantial weight in

the balancing calculus to its concerns.

The instant case does differ from Penn Central in that plaintiff

was not able to realize a reasonable return on his investment in

44

the operation of the ranch lands. However, as we noted earlier,

given the purchase price of that land and the concomitant

mortgage obligations, the combined income from a cattle opera-

tion and timber harvesting could not have provided such a

reasonable return. Plaintiff continually asserts that he had a right

to an economically viable use of his land; but such use did not

exist. Viability vel non must be evaluated in the light of the

aggregate costs of ownership and operation.

At heart, plaintiff merely seeks to mitigate the losses he

incurred as the result of an unfortunate concatenation of events.

Had plaintiff paid a purchase price that reasonably reflected the

value of a cattle operation, which operation then became infeasi-

ble due to a depression in the cattle market; had he then

attempted to supplement has income through timber harvesting in

order to meet ownership and operation expenses; had he been

prevented from doing so by the County, with the result that he

was forced to sell the land, whereas with county cooperation, he

would have been able to retain and maintain the operation—we

would, perhaps, have a different case. See Penn Central, supra, at

138, n.36. But plaintiff did not purchase the land with the

legitimate expectation of realizing a “reasonable return” on his

capital by means of cattle raising, timber harvesting, crop grow-

ing, or a combination thereof. That reasonable return was to be

casiured, if ever, upon subsequent sale of the land, as was

evidenced by the fact that the land was not placed under the

Williamson Act in »er to preserve the possibility of later

development and s=Su:vision. Such is the nature of a long-term

investment of that magnitude. Plaintiff cannot credibly contend,

particularly with his knowledge of the cattle business, that he

intended to use the land rather than later to sell it for a profit.

And the land did indeed appreciate; plaintiff did in fact sell all

three ranches for considerably more than the original purchase

price.” Admittedly, the value of Bloomfield Ranch, being the

* The fact that plaintiff may actually have lost money on the transac-

tion as a result of operational expenses and interest/mortgage payments

does not change the fact that plaintiff sold the land for a profit, as that

45

most desirable of the three ranches, no doubt represented a

share of the ultimate purchase price paid by

C.M. Trading. However, plaintiff has proffered no evidence which

would indicate what proportion of that price was represented by

the value of Castro Valley-Escondido. We are not required to

assume that the latter not only was reduced in value by the denial

of the timber permit but further did not otherwise appreciate in

value. Hence, we cannot say that plaintiff did not realize a profit

on that property as well. Surely, having purchased the land for

long-term investment, if plaintiff was able to sell his

land—although perhaps sooner than he wished—for a profit, he

cannot be heard to complain of government regulatory action

which allegedly reduced the value of his land. Even had the land

merely depreciated in value as a result of the denial of the use

permit, we could not say that a taking had resulted. The value of

the timber—$1,000,000—would have reduced the value of the

ranch at most by little more than a third.'° Governmental actions

which have reduced property valves even more significantly have

survived claims of inverse condemnation. See, e.g., Hadacheck v.

Sebastian, 209 U.S. 394 (1915); Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co.,

272 U.S. 365 (1926); Haas v. City and County of San Francisco,

605 F.2d 1117 (9th Cir. 1979).

On the basis of the above considerations, we conclude that the

county’s denial to plaintiff of a timber harvesting permit did not

effect a taking of plaintiff's property without just compensation.

JUDGMENT FOR DEFENDANT

Dated: September 15, 1983

ROBERT F. PECKHAM

Chief United States District Judge

term is normally understood, i.e., sale price less purchase price plus

capital improvements.

'° If the initial purchase price reflected the value of the timber.

46

Appendix C

United States Court of Appeals

For the Ninth Circuit

No.83-2480

D.C. No.

C-82-3751-RFP

Morton P. MacLeod,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

vs.

County of Santa Clara,

Defendant-Appeilee.

[Filed Jan. 22, 1985]

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of California

Robert F. Peckham, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and submitted October 2, 1984

ORDER

Before: FARRIS, ALARCON, and NORRIS, Circuit Judges.

Appellant’s petition for rehearing is denied.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.