Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Town Pump, Inc. v. Brock

Supreme Court brief1985

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

= ¥ ‘) Offes &9 me Court, US

84 1345\ : re ED a

| FEB 20 a5

NO. i+h eed Cae eS | samen r

3n the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

TOWN PUMP, INCORPORATED, a corporation,

Petitioner,

vs.

RAYMOND J. DONOVAN, Secretary of Labor

United States Department of Labor,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

RICHARD P. SLIVKA

(Counsel of Record)

DAVID L. DAIN

JULI E. LAPIN

BOSWORTH & SLIVKA, P.C.

36 Steele Street, Suite 100

Denver, CO 80206

_ (303) 329-6200

Attorneys for Petitioner

i

\

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. Did the Ninth Circuit so far depart from the

accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings as to

constitute prejudicial error in its review of the trial court’s

decision?

A. Did the Ninth Circuit act improperly and in

opposition to the position of other circuits

in relying on the trial court’s initial find-

ings of fact and conclusions of law?

B. Did the Ninth Circuit usurp the trial court’s

function and act beyond its authority as an

appellate court?

II. Did the Ninth Circuit’s sweeping reversal of

the trial court’s decision, without considering the

evidence as to each lessee, constitute error?

III. Is the standard for determining employee

status within the meaning of the Fair Labor Standards

Act so inconsistently and unpredictably applied, as

evidenced by the Ninth Circuit’s decision in this case,

that it should be redefined?

iti

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ....

as vont wks sancdsacus cesses

GROUNDS FOR JURISDICTION OF THE

UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT ........

STATUTES INVOLVED....................08

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .................

ARGUMENT FOR ALLOWANCE OF

UE Oe TEI, Sass nie dcccnncccncuas

I. The Ninth Circuit So Far Departed From

The Accepted And Usual Course Of

Judicial Proceedings In Its Review Of

The Trial Court’s Decision That

Prejudicial Error Resulted To Town

DN oh 6 cul ek an bbe be <us Fe bhn oe

A. The Ninth Circuit Acted Improperly

And In Opposition To The Position

Of Other Circuits in Relying On The

Trial Court’s Initial Findings Of

Fact And Conclusions Of Law ....

B. The Ninth Circuit Usurped The

Trial Court’s Function And Acted

Beyond Its Authority As An Appel-

ge ei arate Semele tae

II. The Ninth Circuit’s Sweeping Reversal

Of The Trial Court’s Decision, Without

Considering The Evidence As To Each

Lessee, Constituted Error

Page

10

WV

Il. The Standard For Determining Em-

ployee Status Within The Meaning of the

Fair Labor Standards Act Is So Incon-

sistently And Unpredictably Applied, As

Evidenced By The Ninth Circuit’s

Decision In This Case, That It Should Be

SUNIL « ovccnecaxcacck cba ce. 15

GPE, Gh oe Swine Oo tba ih ide SUCK Tk 21

APPENDIX A

Memorandum Opinion Of The Ninth

MUNI i900 4450440nkebuh Si beabehees on oon. A-l

Final Memorandum And Findings Of Fact

And Conclusions Of Law Of The Trial

So reece ewer ar ee te) ees A-3

Initial Memorandum And Order Of The Trial

RS a he Pep eee ee A-7

Initial Findings Of Fact, Conclusions Of

Law, And Order Of The Trial Court ....... A-11

Order Of The Ninth Circuit ............... A-31

APPENDIX B

Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938

eel Rg a a cap B-1

MP MIE, oc cc cccdccccosséccscctéis en

Eee nN ea? B-1

Tne cubeanh B-1

EE oe on cack os cone hkdbake B-1

cs wa dues B-2

I a B-3

Pe Ad 66 S30) od adi i B-3

SP es eee oil del eas sdieenis. B-4

_

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Board of County Com-

missioners, 79 F. 575 (8th Cir. 1897) ............ 8

Bonnette v. California Health and Welfare

Agency, 704 F.2d 1465 (9th Cir. 1983) .......... 16

Bookman v. United States,

Ge Tie Ga Gee BOUND hd en's vk sentscccden &

Castillo v. Givens,

te § 5 Ge h FEE ere 16

Cleo Syrup v. Coca Cola Co., 139 F.2d 416 (8th Cir.

1943), cert. denied, 321 U.S. 781 (1944) ......... 11

Clinton Engines Corp. v. Briggs & Stratton Corp.,

175 F. Supp. 390 (E.D. Mich. 1959) ............. 8.9

Donovan v. Brandel,

vy BS BIT Se S| eee 16,18

Donovan v. New Floridian Hotel,

y §e © feb fe 3. eee 13

EEOC v. Zippo Manufacturing Co.,

SO ee ED . oo v bea b ede vevaitecces. 19

General Casualty Corp. v. School District No. 5,

233 F.2d 526 (Oth Cir. 19566) .........cccccccesse 11

Gilbreath v. Daniel Funeral Home,

ee Ge, TED cca ccecncdddodscced. 10°

Goldberg v. Whitaker House Cooperative, Inc.,

ED. bn xc snwiinderansdieisd dies 17,18

vi

Gulf Towing Co. v. Steam Tanker,

G68 F.2e BES (Gta Car. GBD) ono. cess ccccccccces i2

Hickey v. Arkla Industries, Inc.,

699 F.2d 748 (Sth Cir. 1983) .................08. 16

In re Rochester Sanitarium and Baths Co.,

Se ee EIR, ED ho viewed weed eee Nee dete S

Indiana State Employees Association v. Negley,

GOl F.Sa TBS (the Cir. 1074) on... cccccscccccccss ll

Kelley v. Everglades Drainage District,

I ED ona cae becom dbeweedvs odes 12

Mednick v. Albert Enterprises, Inc.,

GOS F.98 SOT (Gtha Cir. 1BTE) ow. ce ccc ccc scccsess 13

Meyer v. Missouri State Highway Commission,

567 F.9d 811 (Bth Cir. IDT7) 2.5... ccc ccc cee ecns 10

Mitchell v. Joseph,

Rae Srey CU GA, ORD acc iccncncded vetices 8

Nicholson v. Board of Education,

GBS F.3d GSB (otha Cir. 1GBR) 2... ccc cece ccccccss 12

Paul v. Petroleum Equipment Tools Co.,

708 F.2d 168 (6th Cir. 1983) ................088, 17

Rutherford Food Corp. v. McComb,

et I ac vei ccaaWeeweedeus bWedddaes 15,16

Skidmore v. Swift & Co.,

Be IN Shu wanncdivcicdiweGuGedddas 16

United States v. Benz,

Te EE. wv osu e cuuwanecee bauboeeies &

vii

United States v. Darby,

EEE GE HEED ee cbsreciicccccccescesece

United States v. Jerry,

487 F.2d 600 (3d Cir. 1973) ........... 66.445.

United States v. Rosenwasser,

Se SM OE GOED sive cnccesccccccccccccesece

United States v. United States Gypsum Co.,

8 TR Gg li ly Ee

Walling v. Portland Terminal Co..,

PE ED cis cteseedduccvccccceses

Wynne v. Rocheile,

385 F.2d 789 (Eth Cir. 1967) ..............45.

Yanish v. Barber,

232 F.2d 939 (9th Cir. 1956) .................

Statutes:

Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938

BD CReas ITED 2000s cn cscccccccccces

29 U.S.C. §215(aX(5) ........ 6... eee eee,

PMT scp ceccscccccscnscscss

REET 6 cbGhccecnscccccescecessc

EE a and doc bacaticdencessosne

PP TED 2. nc cnecesccseseseacesegee

Rules:

Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil

EES

nee 16

12

l

3n the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

TOWN PUMP, INCORPORATED, a corporation,

RAYMOND J. DONOVAN, Secretary of Labor,

United States Department of Labor,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

On October 6, 1981, the United States District Court for

the District of Montana, Butte Division, Judge W. D.

Murray, issued a Memorandum and Order and Findings

of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order. Case No.

CV-78-31-BU.

On September 28, 1983, the United States District

Court for the District of Montana, Butte Division, Judge

W. D. Murray, issued a Memorandum and Findings of

Fact and Conclusions of Law. Case No. CV-78-31-BU.

On August 27, 1984, the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit issued a Memorandum Opinion.

Case No. 83-4313.

2

These opinions were not designated for publication in

either official or unofficial reporters.

GROUNDS FOR JURISDICTION OF THE

UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

The judgment of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

was filed and entered on August 27, 1984. On November

23, 1984, Defendant-Appellee Town Pump, Inc.’s timely

petition for rehearing was denied by the Ninth Circuit,

and this petition for certiorari was filed within ninety

days of that date pursuant to Rules 17 and 20 of this

Court. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. §§1254(1) and 2101(c).

STATUTES INVOLVED

The pertinent text of the Fair Labor Standards Act of

1938, 29 U.S.C. §§201-219 is set forth in Appendix B.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Town Pump, Inc. is a Montana corporation which is

engaged in, among other things, the wholesale and retail

distribution of petroleum products. Throughout this case

the designation “Town Pump” has been used to identify

not only this corporation, but numerous corporations and

entities owned by various members of the Thomas F.

Kenneally family of Butte, Montana. For simplicity’s

sake, “Town Pump” will be used to refer to the defendant

corporation and any related entities engaged in the con-

duct which is the subject of this lawsuit.

The United States Department of Labor (“DOL”)

brought this suit pursuant to §17 of the Fair Labor

Standards Act of 1938 (“FLSA”), 29 U.S.C. §217, to enjoin

Town Pump from violating §§15(a)(2) and 15(a)(5) of the

FLSA, 29 U.S.C. §§215(a)(2) and 215(a)(5), and to recover

3

unpaid minimum wages and overtime compensation for

certain individuals who had enterea into leases with

Town Pump over the years. The district court had juris-

diction over the action pursuant to 29 U.S.C. §§216(c) and

217 and 28 U.S.C. §§1291 and 1345.

Town Pump, in its petroleum products business, was

associated with approximately 50 different retail

locations in the State of Montana. The nature of Town

Pump’s association with these retail locations varied

over time and location. Over the years, retail marketing

concepts regarding petroleum products have experienced

considerable change, some of which affected the opera-

tions at issue. Self-service gasoline operations were con-

verted into convenience stores or other businesses which

also sold petroleum products at retail.

During the years in question, 1977 to 1982, Town Pump

sold petroleum products at retail through its own store

operations and also to and through lessee-operated retail

businesses. Only the lessee-operated enterprises have

been at issue in the lawsuit. In addition to selling

petroleum products a* retail, lessees engaged in busi-

nesses which varied « »nsiderably over the time period

involved according to the facilities present and the

interests of the lessees. Town Pump had no interest or

investment in any of these bucinesses, other than to lease

the premises and provide petroleum products for resale.

The lessees earned profits from their businesses and were

paid commissions from Town Pump for sales of

petroleum products through the self-service pumps.

The DOL investigation covered a two-week period in

April of 1977 during which it visited 16 locations. The

Internal Revenue Service had previously conducted an

extensive investigation into the nature of Town Pump’s

association with its lessees to determine whether a

lessor/lessee relationship or an employer/employee

relationship existed, and concluded that Town Pump was

4

not an employer of these individuals but that they were

lesse. | of Town Pump. After its investigation, the DOL

initially determined that, based on substantial invest-

ments in the store operations, two locations were

operated by independent contractors. All other lessees

were determined to be employees of Town Pump, regard-

less of the nature and extent of their businesses. Later the

DOL agreed that another location was not operated by an

employee but rather by an independent contractor.

The DOL filed the lawsuit in May of 1978. During the

first trial in June of 1980, the DOL called two lessee

witnesses and put in deposition testimony of four others.

Town Pump was later allowed to submit the deposition

testimony of three officers. In October of 1981, Judge

Murray, the trial judge, made findings of fact and con-

clusions of law ' and held that the six individual lessees

involved in that trial were employees within the meaning

of the FLSA. He further held that there was insufficient

_evidence to conclude that any lessees who had not

testified were employees.’

In September of 1982 a second trial was held during

which 51 lessees testified, some called by the DOL and

some by Town Pump. Town Pump also put on testimony

of management employees and expert witnesses. The

DOL was seeking recovery for the lessees it called to

testify as well as for all non-testifying lessees of approxi-

mately $2,000,000.00 in actual damages and

$2,000,000.00 in liquidated damages. At this trial Judge

Murray re-examined the findings as to the first six

lessees in light of all the testimony and evidence pre-

sented at the two trials.

‘Donovan v. Town Pump, Inc., No. CV-78-31-BU (D. Mont. 1981)

Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order (fully set forth in

Appendix A hereto) (hereinafter referred to as Initial Opinion).

*Donovan v. Town Pump, Inc., No. CV-78-31-BU (D. Mont. 1981)

(mem.) (fully set forth in Appendix A hereto) (hereinafter referred to as

Initial Opinion).

5

On September 28, 1983, Judge Murray issued a final

opinion and order in which he found that each of the

lessees who testified (including the initial six) were

independent contractors and not employees within the

meaning of the FLSA.° His opinion contained several

specific factual findings, including determinations of

credibility of witnesses, and legal conclusions, which

were in direct opposition to the findings and conclusions

of the Initial Opinion. Judge Murray addressed certain,

but not all, of the six factors enumerated in prior cases by

the Ninth Circuit as being relevant to a determination of

an individual’s employment status under the FLSA.

On appeal the DOL did not allege that the factual

findings of the trial court were clearly erroneous; instead,

it essentially disregarded those findings and argued

facts to the contrary. The DOL’s position was that the

district court misapplied the established legal test and

did not consider all of the appropriate factors.

In its memorandum opinion, the Ninth Circuit agreed

_ with the DOL that the trial judge failed to consider

significant factors in determining the lessees’ status.‘

The circuit court noted that such a case would normally

be appropriate for remand for further findings of fact. in

this instance, however, the appellate court chose not to

remand, and did not deal with Judge Murray’s findings

of fact and conclusions of law rendered after the second

trial. It relied on the initial findings of fact and conclu-

sions of law which the trial judge had explicitly limited to

six individuals, and which the trial judge later reversed,

as the basis for ruling on all lessees who testified.

3Donovan v. Town Pump, Inc., No. CV-78-31-BU (D. Mont. 1983)

(mem.) (fully set forth in Appendix A hereto) (hereinafter referred to as

Final Opinion).

‘Donovan v. Town Pump, Inc., No. CV 78-0031 (9th Cir. 1984)

(mem.) (fully set forth in Appendix A hereto) (hereinafter referred to as

Ninth Circuit Opinion).

6

The Ninth Circuit held that all 57 lessees were

employees of Town Pump within the meaning of the

FLSA. It did not reconcile or account for the differences

in the findings of fact made by Judge Murray after the

two trials, nor did it explain why the findings of fact

made after the second trial shou!d not control. The Ninth

Circuit did not state that it reviewed the voluminous

record of testimony and documentation presented to the

trial court in reaching its decision, nor did it address the

trial testimony that showed significant variations in the

nature of the business operations. In its opinion, the

appellate court merely stated that “the district court’s

detailed findings of fact, made after the first trial, are

sufficient for us to rule on the issue.’

Town Pump filed a timely petition for rehearing in the

Ninth Circuit, arguing that the appellate court’s reliance

on the trial court’s first order was error. Town Pump also

argued that the Ninth Circuit improperly disregarded the

factual bases of the district court’s second order and

should have reviewed those facts by the clearly erroneous

standard. The DOL filed a brief in opposition to the

petition for rehearing taking a position different from

that in its appellate brief. In its appellate brief the DOL

argued that the district court totally reversed itself in its

second opinion, thereby acknowledging that the findings

and conclusions in the Final Opinion were in direct

contradiction to certain of those in the Initial Opinion. In

its brief in opposition to rehearing, however, the DOL

elected to climb aboard with the Ninth Circuit and

asserted that the court had not set aside its Initial

Opinion and that the original findings and conclusions

remained legally viable. Without comment, the Ninth

Circuit denied the petition for rehearing.

This case illustrates the remarkable result of an

appellate court’s disregard for the usual course of judicial

proceedings, and it demonstrates the need for a clarifi-

‘Ninth Circuit Opinion at A-2.

7

cation of the standards under the FLSA. The findings of

fact and conclusions of law made by a trial court after

thorough consideration of evidence presented during

twelve days of trial were rejected by the Ninth Circuit

without any regard whatsoever. The original findings

and conclusions which were superseded by the trial

court’s Final Opinion were adopted by the Ninth Circuit

to apply to individuals who were not before the trial court

at the first trial and whose business activities differed

significantly from the initial six lessee witnesses.

ARGUMENT FOR ALLOWANCE OF

WRIT OF CERTIORARI

I. The Ninth Circuit so far departed from the

accepted and usual course of judicial proceed-

ings in its review of the trial court’s decision

that prejudicial error resulted to Town Pump.

A. The Ninth Circuit acted improperly and

in opposition to the position of other

circuits in relying on the trial court’s

initial findings of facts and conclusions

of law.

By essentially disregarding the findings in the trial

court’s Final Opinion and relying on the original

findings of fact as the basis upon which to justify its

holding, the Ninth Circuit gave effect to a nullity. Such

action by an appellate court is totally without support-

ing authority and contrary to the position of other

circuits. Moreover, because the DOL did not formally

contest the trial court’s final findings on appeal, nor

argue that the initial findings should apply, the Ninth

Circuit acted outside the scope of its appellate authority

in disregarding the final findings and adopting the

initial ones.

The rule is well established that a court has inherent

power to amend, modify, or vacate an order, decree, or

8

judgment which it previously entered.* Reconsideration

of a prior decision is often the sole means of correcting

errors of procedure or substance, for example, where a

new development or newly discovered evidence comes to

light.” Where a court exercises this power, the prior status

of the case is restored and the situation is the same as if

the order or judgment had never been entered.* The order

becomes a nullity, no rights can be considered as

accruing from it, and findings of fact not included in the

final findings or judgment cease to be part of the final

order.°

Judge Murray exercised his authority to reconsider a

prior decision when, after the second trial session, he re-

examined the findings from the first session. In light of

the comprehensive evidence presented by both sides at

the second session, Judge Murray made totally new

findings of fact which contradicted the findings of the

Initial Opinion. For example, after the first trial the court

found that Town Pump had complete control over every

significant aspect of the business, and after the second

trial the court found that Town Pump did not supervise

the lessees or control the hours of operation. Judge

Murray concluded after the second trial that none of the

Town Pump lessees could be classified as employees

within the meaning of the FLSA. Upon the entry of the

6United States v. Benz, 282 U.S. 304, 306-307 (1931); Bookman v.

United States, 453 F.2d 1263, 1265 (Ct. Cl. 1972); Mitchell v. Joseph,

117 F.2d 253, 255 (7th Cir. 1941); In re Rochester Sanitarium & Baths

Co., 222 F. 22, 26 (2d Cir. 1915); Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Board of County

Commissioners, 79 F. 575, 576 (8th Cir. 1897).

7Bookman, 453 F. 2d at 1265.

8Wynne v. Rochelle, 385 F.2d 789, 796 (5th Cir. 1967); In re

Rochester Sanitarium, 222 F. at 26; Aetna, 79 F. at 576.

®See United States v. Jerry, 487 F.2d 600, 607 (3d Cir. 1973); Clinton

Engines Corp. v. Briggs & Stratton Corp., 175 F. Supp. 390, 391 (E.D.

Mich. 1959).

9

final judgment, the initial findings of fact and conclu-

sions of law ceased to exist.'°

It is clear that Judge Murray acted properly: the addi-

tional evidence with which he was presented during the

second trial provided him with a much more accurate

picture of the lessees’ situation than did the one-sided

testimony of the first trial. Deference should have been

accorded the trial judge’s desire to reach the right result,

a result which meant reversal of his earlier decision after

consideration of additional evidence.

In its appeal to the Ninth Circuit, the DOL did not in

any way suggest that Judge Murray’s initial opinion

should be revived or that it could be used to support a

determination that all lessees at issue were employees of

Town Pump. Moreover, it did not contest the findings of

fact in the Final Opinion, but essentially ignored them.

The Ninth Circuit also treated those findings in the Final

Opinion as if they had no effect and then stepped beyond

its appellate authority. Of its own accord, the Ninth

Circuit used the trial court’s initial findings of fact to

support its holding that the Town Pump lessees were

FLSA employees. Such an act is in direct opposition to

the positions of the Second, Third, Fifth, Seventh, and

Eighth Circuits, is a prejudicial departure from the ac-

cepted and usual course of judicial proceedings, and

should be examined by this Court.

Clinton Engines Corp., 175 F. Supp. at 391.

10

B. The Ninth Circuit usurped the trial

court’s function and acted beyond its

authority as an appellate court.

1. The validity of factual findings was

not an issue properly before the

Ninth Circuit, and any review of

factual findings which did take place

should have been conducted with the

appropriate degree of scrutiny.

By setting aside the findings of the trial court’s final

decision without having been asked to consider factual

findings on appeal, and where underlying facts had been

in dispute, the Ninth Circuit in effect conducted a de novo

trial in contravention of basic principles of appellate

review. Not only is a higher court limited to reviewing the

issues raised, but it may not resolve factual contro-

versies'' nor may it set aside findings of fact in actions

tried to the court unless it determines the findings to be

clearly erroneous. '?

A finding is clearly erroneous “when although there is

evidence to support it, the reviewing court on the entire

evidence is left with a definite and firm conviction that a

mistake has been committed.”'® It is beyond the

authority of the court of appeals to re-evaluate evidence

presented to the trial court, and the reviewing court may

not substitute its judgment for first-hand evaluation. '‘

'\Gilbreath v. Daniel Funeral Home, 421 F.2d 504, 510 (8th Cir.

1970).

'2Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

'8United States v. United States Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, 395

(1948).

'*Meyer v. Missouri State Highway Comm'n, 567 F.2d 804,811 (8th

Cir. 1977) (Matthes, J., concurring in part and dissenting in part).

11

Full effect must be given to a trial judge’s opportunity,

which is denied to courts of appeals, to observe witnesses,

judge their credibility, and draw inferences from their

testimony.'® In determining whether a sufficient eviden-

tiary basis exists for the court’s findings of fact, the

appellate court must view the evidence and the inferences

deductible therefrom in the light most favorable to the

appellee. '®

The Ninth Circuit should have limited its review to a

determination of whether the trial court misapplied the

law in concluding that Town Pump lessees were

independent contractors. It did not do so. Moreover, in

not dealing with the findings in the Final Opinion, the

circuit court did not examine the trial court’s findings in a

light most favorable to Town Pump; it did not show

deference to the court’s determination of credibility of

witnesses; it did not presume the trial court's findings to

be correct; and it did not limit its role to determining

whether the DOL had rebutted that presumption.

Instead, the Ninth Circuit relied on those findings, which

originally had been adopted by the trial court from those

proposed by the DOL, but which were later rejected by

Judge Murray. In so doing, the Ninth Circuit resolved

factual controversies in total disregard of the limits of its

appellate authority.

'°333 U.S. at 394; General Casualty Co. v. School Dist. No. 5, 233

F.2d 526, 528 (9th Cir. 1956).

'*Cleo Syrup Corp. v. Coca Cola Co., 139 F.2d 416, 417-18 (8th Cir.

1943), cert. denied, 321 U.S. 781 (1944); Indiana State Employees Ass'n

v. Negley, 501 F.2d 1239, 1242 (7th Cir. 1974).

12

2. If the findings of fact in the trial

court’s final opinion were insuffi-

cient for proper review, the Ninth

Circuit should have remanded the

case for further findings.

The test as to the adequacy of a trial court’s findings of

fact is whether they are explicit enough on the ultimate

issues to give the appellate court a clear understanding of

the basis of the decision and to enable it to determine the

grounds on which the trial court reached its decision.'’ A

remand for appropriate findings is the normal procedure

where a trial court has not fulfilled its duty under Rule

52(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. '* It is not the

function of the appellate court to make findings of fact,

nor should the reviewing court examine the evidence as

an original fact finding tribunal.'® An exception to the

general rule requiring a remand for lack of findings

arises where the record considered as a whole does not

present a genuine issue as to any material fact.

The Ninth Circuit stated that a case such as this would

generally be remanded for further fact findings,”°

indicating that it did not clearly understand the basis of

the trial court’s decision. The witnesses’ testimony and

Judge Murray’s findings with regard to credibility show

that many facts were in dispute and that the exception to

the rule requiring remand was not applicable. Rather

than sending the case back, the Ninth Circuit relied on

factual findings which had been superseded by the trial

court’s Final Opinion. Such an action was equivalent to

"Kelley v. Everglades Drainage Dist., 319 U.S. 415, 422 (1943),

Nicholson v Board of Educ., 682 F.2d 858, 866 (9th Cir. 1982).

"Gulf Towing Co. v. Steam Tanker, 648 F.2d 242, 245 (5th Cir.

1981).

'*Yanish v. Barber, 232 F.2d 939, 946-47 (9th Cir. 1956).

*Ninth Circuit Opinion at A-2.

13

acting as an original fact finding tribunal. It constitutes

a departure from the usual course of judicial proceedings,

causing prejudice to Town Pump and warranting review

by this Court.

Il. The Ninth Circuit’s Sweeping Reversal Of

The Trial Court’s Decision, Without Con-

sidering The Evidence As to Each Lessee,

Constituted Error.

The Ninth Circuit’s decision to ignore all testimony

and evidence introduced at the second trial and to rule on

the status of all testifying lessees without looking at the

evidence as to each individual conflicts with the law in

other circuits.?' Moreover, this error cannot be considered

harmless. A review of the testimony of certain lessees

clearly establishes that the Ninth Circuit's classification

of these individuals as employees based solely on the trial

court’s Initial Opinion as to six lessees was clearly in

error.

A glaring example of this error is shown in Mr. Earnest

Franke’s testimony at the trial in September of 1982. His

uncontradicted testimony established that the premises

he leased from Town Pump consisted of approximately

half a city block containing three separate buildings and

three islands tur gasoline pumps. Mr. Franke maintained

over $30,000.00 in inventory including groceries and

automotive and sporting goods. At the time of trial he

was in the process of installing an ice cream parlor, a

video arcade and a tool rental and sales business.

Although Mr. Franke entered into the written lease

*' See, eg., Donovan v. New Floridian Hotel, 676 F 2d 468, 471 (11th

Cir. 1982) (existence of employment relationship must be judged by

economic realities of individual case); Mednick vu. Albert Enterprises,

Inc., 508 F 2d 297, 302 n.6 (5th Cir. 1975) (test of economic reality goes

to question of whether individual whose status is in question was in

fact an independent businessman).

14

agreement with Town Pump, he purchased the business

amount for inventory as well as an amount in excess of

$10,000.00 for the good will of the business. Mr. Franke

also testified that he set his own hours of operation and

hired employees at his own expense.

In addition to Mr. Franke’s testimony, other iessees

testified that they engaged in substantial businesses on

the leased premises other than the sale of gasoline and

that they did not share the profits from their businesses

with Town Pump. Lessees engaged in such substantial

and varied businesses as selling used cars, selling marine

supplies, and providing surveying and trv -king services,

in addition to the sale of grocery and relaced store items.

Town Pump was not involved in any of these

independent ventures.

The district court heard the testimony and reviewed

the documents pertaining to each individual before deter-

mining that individual's status under the FLSA. On the

other hand, the Ninth Circuit failed to examine and

comment upon the evidence in rendering its decision and

merely relied on the findings with regard to the original

six lessees to reverse the trial court. The circuit court's

decision resulted in the granting of employment status to

individuals not dependent for their livelihoods upon

Town Pump. These improper classifications were

achieved by the Ninth Circuit's sweeping reversal of the

trial court’s decision without proper consideration of the

evidence as to each lessee, resulting in error.

By examining the evidence at the two sessions of trial,

the district court made factual determinations which led

to a classification by the lessees as independent con-

tractors. At no time has the DOL argued nor has the

Ninth Circuit held that those findings of fact were clearly

erroneous and therefore not binding on the determina-

tion of employment status. This court should therefore

15

remand this case to the Ninth Circuit with instructions to

reinstate the trial court's final decision.

Ill. The Standard For Determining Employee

Status Within The Meaning of the Fair Labor

Standards Act Is So Inconsistently And

Unpredictably Applied, As Evidenced By The

Ninth Circuit's Decision In This Case, That It

Should Be Redefined.

Employment status under the FLSA is a concept which

has continually provoked dispute since the enactment of

the statute and which has never lent itself to a precise

test. In practice, the definition set forth by this Court

nearly 40 years ago in Rutherford Food Corp. v.

McComb,” provides little assistance to courts examining

established relationships to determine whether a person

is an employee under the FLSA, and almost no guidance

or predictability to individuals or businesses about to

engage in a relationship as to whether the FLSA applies.

The FLSA was enacted as part of the social legislation

of the 1930s “to protect this nation from the evils and

dangers resulting from wages too low to buy the bare

necessities of life and from long hours of work injurious to

health.”?" Protection of interstate commerce was also a

concern, and, through the Act, Congress sought to sup-

press “nationwide competition in interstate commerce by

goods produced under substandard labor conditions."**

331 U.S. 722, 730 (1947) (the determination of the relationship

depends upon the circumstances of the whole activity).

“United States v. Rosenwasser, 323 U.S. 360, 361 (1945) (quoting

S. Rep. No. 884, 75th Cong., Ist Sess. 4 (1937) ).

“United States v. Darby, 312 U.S. 100, 123 (1941).

16

In its first opinions construing the various acts of

social legislation, however, this Court made clear that it

was never the intent of Congress “to impose an errange-

ment upon the parties,”’?° nor to include those “who,

without any express or implied compensation agreement,

might work for their own advantage on the premises of

another.’’?° Rather the laws impose “upon the courts the

task of finding out what the arrangement was.’’?’

Since the Rutherford decision, courts have identified

factors to help in distinguishing employees from

independent contractors, but it is clear that the presence

or absence of a single factor is not dispositive, and certain

factors may be more important in one situation than in

another.2® Moreover, it is not necessary that findings be

made with regard to each of the factors in order to deter-

mine the existence of an employment relationship.”°

At the outset, it is the trial court’s responsibility to

examine the evidence and make factual findings, and

then to make a decision of whether as a matter of

economic reality the individuals being considered are

dependert upon the business of another. Several circuit

courts have held that the ultimate determination of

employment status is a legal one.*° In principle, there is

25Skidmore v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S. 134, 137 (1944).

26Rutherford, 321 U.S. at 728-29 (quoting Walling v. Portland

Terminal Co., 330 U.S. 148, 152 (1947) ).

27Skidmore, 323 U.S. at 137.

28Hickey V. Arkla Indus., Inc., 699 F.2d 748, 751-52 (5th Cir. 1983)

(degree of control; opportunities for profit or loss; investment in

facilities; permanency of relationship; ard skill required).

29Id. at 752.

3° See, e.g., Donovan v. Brandel, 736 F.2d 1114, 1116 (6th Cir. 1984);

Bonnette v. California Health & Welfare Agency, 704 F.2d 1465, 1469

(9th Cir. 1983); Castillo v. Givens, 704 F.2d 181, 187 n. 12 (5th Cir.

1983).

17

no disagreement that subsidiary facts underlying that

determination are subject to the clearly erroneous

standard on review,*! and appellate courts are bound by a

trial court’s findings with regard tothe particular factors

related to employment status unless they are left with the

distinct and compelling impression that a mistake has

been made.*? In practice, however, appellate courts have

not always abided by this procedure.

It is clear that the determination of employment status

under the FLSA rests upon factual findings made on a

case-by-case basis. By holding that the ultimate deter-

mination is a legal one the role of the appellate courts has

become confused, and the DOL has been able to dis-

regard adverse factual findings in seeking relief on

review. This case demonstrates the error that may result

when the appellate court does not subject the trial court’s

findings to the clearly erroneous standard and treats the

issue of employment status solely as a matter of law. By

defining the issue on appeal as merely a legal one the

DOL avoided the burden of proving that the trial court’s

findings were not substantially justified, and the Ninth

-Circuit was able to disregard the trial court’s Final

Opinion in making its holding. This result undermines

the established principles requiring deference to the role

of the trier of fact.

This Court has not explicitly stated whether the deter-

mination of employment status is a legal one. In

Goldberg v. Whitaker House Cooperative,** where this

Court most recently dealt with the issue of employment

3! Paul v. Petroleum Equipment Tools Co., 708 F.2d 168, 170 (5th Cir.

1983).

32United States v. United States Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, 395

(1948).

33366 U.S. 28 (1961).

18

status, the decision was split 5-3 that certain individuals

were employees. The majority did not state that its deter-

mination was a legal one, but relied upon the homework

provision in the Act to conclude that the cooperative

members were covered. The dissenting justices argued

that the finding of the district court, that the cooperative

was created and being operated as a true cooperative,

must be accepted by the Court unless it was clearly

erroneous.*‘ Because the majority was able to rely on a

particular amendment to the FLSA to find employment

status, the issue of what standard is correct in making

and reviewing a determination of employment status has

not actually been decided by the Court.

A comparison of a recent Sixth Circuit decision with

the Ninth Circuit decision in this case* illustrates that

the issues of the applicable standard for employment

status and the manner in which the factors are applied

are far from settled. In Donovan v. Brandel,** the Sixth

Circuit emphasized that the inquiry of whether workers

are employees subject to the FiSA must be made on a

case-by-case basis, with a thorough examination of the

unique factual record of the particular case. Although the

DOL did not challenge factual findings on review, the

Sixth Circuit examined those findings and determined

that the record supported them with regard to each of the

factors considered. As required by Rule 52(a) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, the appellate court

treated the findings as binding unless clearly erroneous.

34366 U.S. at 33 (Whittaker, J. with Brennan, J. and Stewart, J.

dissenting).

Although the Ninth Circuit ordered that the disposition of the

present case be by memorandum, foregoing publication, it still must

be considered the law of the Ninth Circuit. See Ninth Circuit Opinion

at A-2.

96736 F.2d 1114 (6th Cir. 1984).

19

In concluding that, based upon the record and the court’s

factual findings, the workers were not economically

dependent upon the landowner’s business, the Sixth

Circuit rejected the DOL’s attempt to seek a per se rule

that all migrant farm workers are employees subject to

the FLSA.

Unlike the Sixth Circuit, the Ninth Circuit proceeded

in this case without due regard to the factual findings of

the trial court’s Final Opinion. Instead of going back to

the comprehensive record to determine whether the

findings were clearly erroneous, the Ninth Circuit dis-

regarded the diversity of business enterprises engaged in

by the lessees, ignored the agreement between the

parties, and in effect made factual findings de novo. In

holding that the lessees at issue were employees, the

Ninth Circuit cited other cases involving self-service

gasoline stations, indicating that it was giving effect to

the DOL’s attempt to make a per se rule that all self-

service gasoline operators are employees subject to the

FLSA.

Further, a comparison of the decisions made by the

Sixth and Ninth Circuits illustrates the absence of

universal qualities in defining and identifying the status

of individuals under the FLSA. The same person could be

performing the same act at the same time under thesame

conditions and be considered an employee in one circuit

and not in another. This possibility breeds ambiguity

and confusion.?? This Court should therefore provide

guidance as to what factors should be considered and

how they should be applied in determining whether an

employment relationship exists within the meaning of

the FLSA.

87Cf. EEOC v. Zippo Mfg. Co., 713 F.2d 32 (3d Cir. 1983) (T hird

Circuit discusses difficult task facing courts in attempting to

determine employee status for purposes of various federal statutes).

20

Town Pump maintains that the question of employ-

ment status is primarily a factual determination and

must be treated as such by reviewing courts. Ifthe issue is

regarded as a legal one, the role of the trial court will

continue to be usurped by appellate courts’ disregard for

the factual determinations of the trier of fact.

The issues in this case are important not only to Town

Pump but to other businesses in the retail petroleum

products business. This industry has undergone

substantial changes in its marketing concepts, moving

from traditional company operated gasoline stations to

self-service pumps associated with convenience stores or

other business enterprises. These changes have necessi-

tated the establishment of new business relationships.

As the courts have articulated and applied the various

factors relevant toemployment status, there is no way for

private citizens to predict at the outset of a relationship

whether it will be subject to the FLSA. Citizens may not

rely on determinations of other federal agencies, and the

courts themselves do not agree on the manner in which

the standards are to be applied in determining employ-

ment status. The appellate courts are venturing further

and further into the realm of the trial court and the facts

of a particular case have become less and less significant.

21.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Court should issue a

writ of certiorari to review the judgment and opinion of

the Ninth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD P. SLIVKA

DAVID L. DAIN

JULI E. LAPIN

BOSWORTH & SLIVKA, P.C.

36 Steele Street, Suite 100

Denver, CO 80206

(303) 399-6200

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX A

A-1l

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

RAYMOND J. DONOVAN,

Secretary of Labor, United

States Department of Labor,

— ee ee eee ee

Plaintiff-Appellant, CA No. 83-4313

vs. DC No. CV 78-0031

TOWN PUMP, INCORPORATED, MEMORANDUM*

& corporation,

Defendant-Appellee.

— —— —

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Montana

William D. Murray, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and submitted August 10, 1984

Filed August 27, 1984

Before: PECK, WRIGHT and FARRIS, Circuit Judges.

We agree with the Secretary of Labor that the district

court erred in failing to consider significant factors in its

determination that the operators are not employees

under the Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 201 et

seq. See Real v. Driscoll Strawberry Associates, 603 F.2d

748, 754 (9th Cir. 1979).

The district court relied on Town Pump’s lack of

supervision of the operators and the fact that the

operators were free to engage in other business at the

A-2

stations. Whether an employer-employee relationship

exists depends “upon the circumstances of the whole

activity.” Rutherford Food Corp. v. McComb, 331 U.S.

722, 730 (1947) (emphasis added). The employer's degree

of control over business operations is not conclusive in

determinations of employment status under the FLSA.

Usery v. Pilgrim Equipment Co., 527 F.2d 1308, 1311 (5th

Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 826 (1976). Neither is the fact

that the operators are free to engage in other businesses.

“{Tyhe test is not what the ‘agent’ could do but in fact

what the ‘agent’ does do.” Donovan v. Sureway Cleaners,

656 F.2d 1368, 1371 (9th Cir. 1981) (quotation omitted).

Generally we would remand the case for further fact

findings on the factors ignored by the district court. See

Driscoll. We find it unnecessary to do so here, however,

because the district court's detailed findings of fact, made

after the first trial, are sufficient for us to rule on the

issue. The court found that the operators have no invest-

ment in the gasoline business, that the operators remain

on the job as long as they continue to meet the require-

ments set by Town Pump, that the operators’ retail sale of

gasoline is an integrated part of Town Pump’s business,

and that the operators are dependent upon Town Pump

for continued employment.

The record is sufficient for us te hold that the

operators considered by the district court are employees.

See e.g., Marshall v. Trumaa Arnold Distributing Co.,

640 F.2d 906 (8th Cir. 1981); Donovan v. Williams Oil Co.,

717 F.2d 503 (10th Cir. 1983).

The judgment of the district court is remanded for a

determination of the extent of the violations and

damages.

REVERSED and REMANDED.

*The panel has concluded that the issues presented by this appeal do

not meet the standards set by Rule 21 of the Rules of this Court for

disposition by written opinion. Accordingly, it is ordered that

disposition be by memorandum, forgoing [sic] publication in the

Federal Reporter, and that this memorandum may not be cited in or by

the courts of this circuit.

A-3

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MONTANA

BUTTE DIVISION

RAYMOND J. DONOVAN,

Secretary of Labor, United

States Department of Labor.

Plaintiff,

MEMORANDUM

and

FINDINGS OF FACT

and

CONCLUSIONS

OF LAW

vs.

TOWN PUMP, INCORPORATED,

A Corporation, NO. CV—78-31-BU

— ee ee ee eee eee eee ee

Defendant.

This is an action for a permanent injunction, back

wages, and liquidated damages brought by the Depart-

ment of Labor (DOL).

The case first came on for trial on June 17, 1980. DOL

presented testimony and depositions of six witnesses

regarding their employment status. The defendant did

not present any testimony and the court found that the

six were employees under the Fair Labor Standards Act

of 1938, and ordered DOL to submit calculations of hours

worked and wage and overtime amounts owed within 30

days of the order.

The DOL failed to submit such calculations until the

case came on for further trial in September, 1982.

A-4

The court having considered all the evidence and

testimony submitted at the two sessions of the trial of the

case and the briefs of counsel, and being fully advised in

the premises, now makes the follow'~g Findings of Fact

and Conclusions of Law.

As a result of all the testimony and evidence pre-

sented to the court the findings of the court with reference

to the first six witnesses will be re-examined.

That re-examination together with a review of all the

testimony and evidence leads the court to conclude that

the plaintiff has failed to sustain its burden of proving

that the operators of the stations were employees. On the

contrary the court finds that the relationship between the

operators and the defendant was that of independent

contractors.

The testimony of the operators that the defendant

required them to be open and servicing the public

approximately 15 hours a day seven days a week is not

credible. The operators in the main had to admit that

representatives of the defendant only seldomly visited

the stations and there was no evidence that they other-

wise checked on the hours of operation. On the other

hand there was testimony from some of the operators

that the defendant only recommended what hours to keep

open. And this testimony was supported by that of the

officers and representatives of the defendant. If the

defendant required the stations to be open 15 hours a day

s rely there would be constant checks on the hours of

operation.

Aside from the question of hours to keep open there

was no evidence of supervision of the operators that

would be the natural and regular system in an employer-

ne ene

The operators were free to and, in fact, encouraged to

engage in additional businesses at the stations. These

business activities varied and there is no evidence that

defendant in any way attempted to control them or to

participate in the profits of such activities.

Plaintiff makes much of the defendant's requiring

A-5

the operators to deposit proceeds and payment for gas

purchased to defendant's account but this, it seems to the

court, is quite reasonable and compatible to th»

independent contractor relationship in view of the credit

extended by defendant to the operators. This was not

such control as to indicate an employer-empleyee

relationship.

In connection with the question of the relationship

between the parties the existence of the lease and lease

letter must be considered. While it is true that the intent of

the law cannot be evaded by a sham, here we have

documents which announce a relationship and which is

compatible with all the: her credible evidence establish-

ing an independent coniractor relationship.

Under the terms of the lease many operators

engaged in substantial other business. That some did not

does not detract from the fact that the opportunity was

there. And even the government recognized that some of

the operators were of such a nature as to establish the

independent contractor relationship. The operators con-

ducted various businesses in conjunction with .he gas

stations. These businesses were as varied as grocery,

candy and pop to used car-sales lots, fly-tying and a

surveyor’s office. One operator ran a marine supply shop

and another a bus terminal facility.

I need not recite all the evidence to establish that the

plaintiff failed to prove its case. On the contrary all of the

evidence establishes the position of the defendant that

the relationship between defendant and operator was

that of independent contractor.

From all of this it is clear that defendant and its

officers and agents clearly and reasonably considered a

lessor-lessee relationship to exist between the defendant

and the operators.

“Even if the court did not find that the plaintiff failed

to prove its case it is clear from all the evidence that the

plaintiff did not establish a pattern from which this court

could infer that all non-testifying operators were

employees or improperly compensated.

A-6

The court having found that the operators were not

employees entitled to damages we do not reach the

question of liquidated damages or overtime.

In addition to the above findings of fact and con-

clusions the court finds that it has jurisdiction of this

case and the parties by virtue of 29 U.S.C. 216(c), 29

U.S.C. 217 and 28 U.S.C. 1345.

Defendant Town Pump, Incorporated, is a

corporation with its principal place of business located at

600 South Main Street, Butte, Montana, where it is

engaged in distributing gasoline and petroleum

products.

The petition for a permanent injunction is denied

and there are no back wages or liquidated damages due.

Let judgment be entered for the defendant.

Done and dated this 28th day of September, 1983.

W. D. Murray

Senior United States District

Judge.

A-7

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MONTANA

BUTTE DIVISION

RAYMOND J. DONOVAN,

Secretary of Labor,

United States Department

of Labor,

Plaintiff, MEMORANDUM

and

vs. ORDER

TOWN PUMP, INCORPORATED,

a corporation,

No. CV-78-31-Bu

Defendant.

ee eee eee eee eee ie

BACKGROUND

This is an action for a permanent injunction, back

wages and liquidated damages brought by the Secretary

of Labor under the provisions of the Fair Labor

Standards Act of 1938, as amended, 29 U.S.C. 201, et seg

Defendant, Town Pump, Inc., is a corporation with its

principal place of business at 600 South Main Street,

Butte, Montana, where it is engaged in distributing

gasoline and petroleum products. The court’s jurisdiction

A-8

is invoked under 29 U.S.C. 216(c), 29 U.S.C. 217 and 28

U.S.C. 1345.

The case involves the application of the minimum

wage and overtime provisions of the FLSA to the

operators of gasoline service stations subject to re-

strictive lease agreements with defendant Town Pump,

Inc. The court finds that the operators were employees

within the meaning of the FLSA and, therefore, subject to

the minimum wage and overtime provisions of the Act,

all as more fully set out in the Findings of Fact and Con-

clusions of Law filed separately today.

Deposition testimony

Trial of the case was had to the court on June 17 and

18, 1980. At trial, plaintiff produced the testimony of two

persons who operated Town Pump service stations under

the terms of a “lease” entered into between defendant

and those persons. Testimony of four other operators was

introduced through depositions which were offered at

trial and admitted over defendant’s objection by order of

the court on February 26, 1981.

Defendant was granted time within which to submit

evidence to rebut the depositions, which it did by way of

deposition testimony. Plaintiff objected to most of the

deposition testimony of Thomas P. Kenneally, Daniel

Kenneally and Thomas F. Kenneally on the grounds that

it was not rebuttel, and that it was irrelevant and

prejudicial. While plaintiffs objections are sound, it has

failed to specifically object to portions of the deposition.

The court cannot rule in a general fashion and therefore

must admit the depositions.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED and this does order

that the depositions of Daniel J. Kenneally, Thomas F.

Kenneally and Thomas P. Kenneally be admitted into

evidence.

A-9

Back pay for persons who did not testify

As set out in the separately issued Findings of Fact

_and Conclusions of Law, defendants are and have been

‘in violation of the FLSA and will be required to pay back

wages and overtime to those operators who testified

either at trial or by way of depositions. Plaintiff had

attempted to prove violations of the FLSA as to almost all

Town Pump stations and operators in Montana, even

though no testimony was presented as to those operators.

Thus, there was presented no proof upon which the court

could make a finding of fact that the remaining operators

performed any work upon which claims for back wages

could be based. See, Marshall v. Truman Arnold Distr.

Co., 640 F.2d 906, 910-11 (8th Cir. 1981).

Plaintiff will be required to present testimony with

regard to the hours worked by each operator should it

choose to pursue those claims. Defendant, of course, will

have the opportunity to cross-examine and rebut. This

will be done at a later date.

Back pay for those operators who did testify

The current amount of back pay and damages owed

by defendant cannot be determined by the court. Plaintiff

has been ordered to provide its calculations as to hours

worked and amount owed to those operators who

testified; Challes, Crowley, Garner, Breeden, Hawk and

Savage. Once those calculations have been submitted,

the court will enter judgment, assessing both back wages

and damages against defendant.

Done and dated this 6th day of October, 1981.

W. D. Murray

Senior United States District

Judge.

A-10

A-11

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MONTANA

BUTTE DIVISION

RAYMOND J. DONOVAN,

Defendant.

)

Secretary of Labor, )

United States Department )

eal FINDINGS OF FACT

Plaintiff, CONCLUSIONS OF

ain . LAW

and

a ; ORDER

TOWN PUMP, INCORPORATED, )

a corporation, ) No. CV-78-31-Bu

)

)

)

This cause came on regularly for trial before the

court, sitting without a jury, on the 17th day of June,

1980. The plaintiff was represented by Donald R. McCoy,

Esq., Office of the Solicitor, Department of Labor,

Denver, Colorado, and the defendant was represented by

its counsel D. L. Holland, Esq.; thereupon oral and docu-

mentary evidence was introduced by and on behalf of

each of the parties, and at the close of all of the evidence

the parties rested and thereafter, within the time granted

by the court, each of the parties filed their briefs and

A-12

proposed Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, and

the cause was then submitted to the court for its con-

sideration and decision. The court having considered all

of the evidence and testimony submitted at the trial of the

cause and the briefs of counsel, and being fully advised in

the premises, now makes and orders filed its Findings of

Fact and Conclusions of Law as follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. This is an action for a permanent injunction,

back wages and liquidated damages, brought by the

Secretary of Labor under the provisions of the Fair Labor

Standards Act of 1938, as amended, 29 U.S.C. 201 et seg.

Jurisdiction of the court is invoked under 29 U.S.C.

216(c), 29 U.S.C. 217 and 28 U.S.C. 1345.

2. Defendant Town Pump, Incorporated,

(hereinafter Town Pump) is a corporation with its

principal place of business located at 600 South Main

Street, Butte, Montana, where it is engaged in distri-

buting gasoline and petroleum products.

3. Since May 1, 1975, and continuing to the

present, defendant has had employees engaged in com-

merce including employees handling, selling or other-

wise working on goods that have been moved in or

produced for commerce.

4. Since May 1, 1975, Town Pump has distributed

and sold gasoline through 56 “own Pump” gasoline

service stations.

5. Nine of these elie those designated on

plaintiffs Exhibit 1 as Anaconda #1, Butte #1, Butte #2,

Bozeman #1, Browning, Deer Lodge, Dillon, Great Falls

and Kalispell are owned directly by Town Pump. The

remainder are owned by 47 separate corporations.

6. Town Pump is wholly owned by its president,

Thomas F. Kenneally, and members of his immediate

fauuty as are the other 47 corporations. His son,

Thomas P. Kenneally, is an accountant who has worked

in a managerial capacity for Town Pump since

_

A-13

December, 1976. His other sons, Dan, Jim and Kevin

Kenneally are “field men” employed by Town Pump to

deal with the operators of the various other stations.

7. All but two of the retail gasoline stations are

operated pursuant to “leases” which are similar in their

terms to plaintiffs Exhibit 8, an agreement dated

January 18, 1974, between Town Pump and Mrs. Judy

Challes, the operator of Anaconda #1.

8. The stations identified as Butte #1 and Polson

were excluded from consideration in plaintiffs investi- .

gation because each has a substantial independent

grocery business and a bona fide rental payment

associated with it.

9. Plaintif?s Exhibits 33-36 are lease agreements

with four other stations. Three of the four stations these

latter agreements pertain to are owned by corporations

other than Town Pump. The named “lessor” in each of

them is, however, Town Pump.

10. Each agreement purports to lease to the named

operator a self-service gas station with living quarters

attached, for a period of one year, “at the monthly rental

of one cent (1 cent) per gallon of gasoline delivered by the

lessor to the lessee.”

11. Each agreement recites that the lessee

(operator) shall maintain the premises “in good order,

condition and repair.” Each “may be cancelled at any

time by the lessor” on 30 days notice or on 24 hours notice

if the “lessee continues in possession” after the expira-

tion of the lease.

12. Paragraph 21 of the agreement states ‘that the

lessee is an independent contractor and nci an agent or

employee of the company.”

18. The Challes lease carries the additional

notation in paragraph 21 that “Hours of operation must

be comparable to similar businesses in the area.” It is

otherwise typical of the leases for all 54 stations which

are at issue.

14. Mrs. Challes testified at trial that she and her

husband had operated Town Pump #1 at Anaconda,

A-14

Montana, since February 2, 1974. She “sent in an appli-

cation” and was interviewed by Lee Eversen of Town

Pump. Before she signed the contract, Eversen told her

“that we would have free rent and utilities and that we

had the contract there. We could read it over and we

would get one cent per gallon as a commission.”

15. In addition, Challes testified that “They told us

the hours would be open from 7 to 11. If there was any

price change in the gas, they would notify us. And they

told us whether it would go up or down and we were to

change the pumps and change the sign.”

16. Mrs. Challes executed a bonding agreement for

which she put up her 1973 Chevrolet van and camper

trailer as security.

17. Besides specifying the hours of operation and

the retail price of the gasoline, Town Pump required daily

and weekly bookkeeping reports on forms which it

supplied. On these forms, Mrs. Challes recorded pump

readings, dollar sales and gallonage daily and made

weekly reports of total gallonage, cash and credit

receipts, bank deposits and tank inventory to Town

Pump.

18. She also was told by Everson to deposit each

day’s receipts to a bank account in the name of Town

Pump, Inc. from which she could make no withdrawals.

19. A number of the weekly reports are in evidence

as plaintiff's Exhibit 31. Mrs. Challes was told how to fill

them out by Tom Karagin, a Town Pump representative.

The first of these for the period January 9-16, 1977, is

typical. It shows $4,179.86 in total sales for the week and

7199.1 total gallons sold. Thus, Mrs. Challes earned a

commission of $71.99 which she was told to calculate by

converting the gallons to dollars and cents and which

she deducted from the last bank deposit of the week.

20. She was further instructed to enter this amount

as “Station Rent” under the heading “Dealer Owes Town

Pump”. She then multiplied this rent figure by two and

subtracted it from the total sales for the week to arrive at

A-15

the “Payment on Gas” figure. Finally, she would add

“Station Rent” and “Payment on Gas” to arrive at the

total amount ($4107.87 in this example) “that we were

supposed to have into the bank for Tom Kenneally. This

amount. is equal to the total sales less the $71.99

commission.

21. The weekly report form also required a listing of

each day’s bank deposits and that they be balanced

against the amount listed under “Dealer Owes Town

Pump.” Mrs. Challes was required to make up any

shortages and was responsible for bad checks or other

losses.

22. During the week of January 9-16, 1977, used as

an example, Mrs. Challes and her husband operated the

station for seven days, 16 hours per day and earned

$71.99. They remained open the hours specified by Town

Pump (7 a.m. to 11 p.m.) each day until about two years

prior to the trial when she “got permission” from Town

Pump to close at 10 p.m.

23. Her husband operated the station for about two

hours each day to enable her to shop and make her bank

deposits. Otherwise, she was required to be on the

premises, waiting on customers, doing bookkeeping,

cleaning the building and its public bathrooms, dipping

the tanks and performing similar duties.

24. Besides gasoline, she sold other items such as

cigarettes, candy, pop, ice, motor oil and gasoline addi-

tives independent of Town Pump and to her own credit

which she estimated at about $5.00 per week.

25. Mrs. Challes testified that she was told she

would receive a commission of one cent per gallon, and

“this was the way it was, the wages.” Gas was delivered

1-2 times per week by Town Pump. She signed for

deliveries of gasoline except for night deliveries. No one

ever discussed with her the wholesale price of the

gasoline and she did not understand that there was any

transaction whereby she purchased it, as the following

testimony on cross-examination by counsel for

defendant (Mr. Holland) shows:

A-16

Did Mr. Eversen explain to you that you

would have to pay for the gas?

That I would have to pay for the gas?

Town Pump would sell you the gas and then

you would have to pay them for the gas?

A. No, I never understood it that way.

26. Mrs. Challes has nothing to do with retail

prices either, other than to change the pumps and sign to

reflect the price dictated to her by Town Pump repre-

sentatives. As she stated: “I never had no say about it.

They would tell me to put it up, I would have to put it up.”

27. The station business license, grocery license

and petroleum license were all in the name of Town Pump

#1, signed by Tom Kenneally and sent to Mrs. Challes in

the mail.

28. Testimony similar to that of Mrs. Challes was

given by Mrs. Lavona Crowley, who, with her husband,

operated Town Pump #5 in Butte, Montana, from

February 15, 1979, through the present. This station is

one which is owned by a Kenneally corporation other

than Town Pump. However, like other in evidence, the

lease agreement shows Town Pump, Inc. to be the lessor.

29. Mrs. Crowley applied to Town Pump in

response to a newspaper advertisement similar to

plaintiff's Exhibit II, which recites that “no cash invest-

ment is required.” Her compensation was explained to

her by Town Pump’s Field Representative Dan

Kenneally: “We would receive a cent a gallon on our gas

commission.”

30. There was a sign on the premises “saying our

hours was from 7 to 10” and she and her husband main-

tained those hours until September, 1979.

31. She was, moreover, told by Dan Kenneally, “it

would be a full time job. We are both there and one or the

other of us had to be there at all times during the business

hours.”

32. She and her husband split their working time

about evenly. They, as did Mrs. Challes, made daily bank

deposits, made out the weekly reports and deducted one

o> &

A-17

cent per gallon as their commission. Until the contract

was changed in April, 1980, they also paid $5.00 per week

to Town Pump toward their bond.

33. Originally, the Crowleys were informed by

Town Pump of changes in the retail price of gas, but then

got permission from Dan Kenneally to simply follow the

changes in price at a Gasomat Station down the street.

34. They carry noinsurance on the station and, like

Mrs. Challes, received the business licenses in the name

of Town Pump #5 through the mail. They are responsible

for bad checks and driveaways. They are generally open

from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. (13 hours daily) seven days a week.

Sales average 500-700 gallons per day so that their com-

missions average $5-$7 daily.

35. Bertha Garner and her husband operated a

Town Pump station on Excelsior beginning in 1972 to

December, 1972, and operated another station on

Montana Street in Butte from December 1972, to April

1977, and then in August 1977 operated Town Pump #9 in

Butte. She was paid “‘a penny a gallon” commission at all

three locations.

36. Her hours at Town Pump #9 were approxi-

mately 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. This location, like others, had a

sign in the window (facing the operator) stating

“minimum hours 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.,” “turn off the

lights during daylight hours,” “keep the driveways

clean” and “make daily bank deposits.” Either Mrs.

Garner or her husband were required to be on the

premises during hours of business.

37. Although they sold items other than gas, such

sales “wouldn’t amount to $2.00 per day,” according to

Mrs. Garner.

38. The Garners were responsible for bad credit,

checks and driveaways. All gas was furnished by Town

Pump. Mrs. Garner stated that “with the Town Pump’s

help” she and her husband set the price of gas. However,

shortly before her deposition in March 1979, “they come

and told us that the Government had asked a raise

there,” and Town Pump employees actually change the

signs for them when there is a price change.

A-18

39. Merlin Hawk testified by way of deposition. He

operated Butte #8 in March, 1979 when his depositian

was taken. He was told by Dan Kenneally when he took

over the station that he would receive one cent per gallon

for gasoline sales and 7 cents per gallon for diesel sales.

He was further told that the company would like the

station to be open from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Those were

his actual hours, seven days per week. He never discussed

the value of the premises with Kenneally or the fact that

an amount designated as “rent” would be paid.

46. Mr. Hawk put it “! was needing a job right at

the time and that was the only thing that came open.”

41. Hawk also was responsible for depositing the

daily receipts in Town Pump’s account. Town Pump

maintained the premises. Hawk carried no insurance

and hired no employees because it would “cost more

money than what we make.” His typical receipts for

items other than gasoline netted him a little over $2.00

per day.

42. Regarding prices to be charged for the gasoline

he was given a specific price per gallon by Town Pump to

charge and the signs were changed by “one of the

Kenneally boys.”

43. Alice Savage also testified by deposition. She

operated Butte #2 and had previously been the operator

at a Great Falls Town Pump station. At both locations

her method of compensation was the same: “We got a

penny a gallon on what we sell.”

44. The station was open daily from 6 or 7 a.m. to

10 p.m. and she and her husband split the work about

evenly.

45. She and her husband turned in the same weekly

reports as did all other operators who testified, and also

made bank deposits daily to an account belonging to

Town Pump.

46. Regarding the price to be charged for the

gasoline, Mrs. Savage testified as follows:

Q. Do they set the price of the gasoline that

you sell?

How are you ordinarily informed of a

change in the price?

They call us up.

They just call you and tell you what the new

price is, is that right?

Yes.

And then you change the pumps and the

sign?

Well, Kevin cores down and does that,

Kevin Kenneally.

47. Cloella Breeden testified by deposition that she

had operated Butte #3 since November 16, 1977. She was

told by Town Pump’s representative that “I would get a

commission off the gas, one penny to a gallon.” The

representative, a Mr. Harvey, “said there'd be long hours

that we would work and he said that would be from 7:00 to

10:00 at night . . . seven days a week.

48. She was also instructed to make bank deposits

daily and that she would be responsible for bad checks. A

sign in the station when she started contained instruc-

tions regarding daily deposits, hours from 7-10, and

turning off the lights during the day and on at dusk.

49. The station licenses were in Thomas

Kenneally’s name and Town Pump maintained the

> OP Or LPor

50. Mrs. Breeden testified she was “there con-

stantly” during the hours of 7-10.

51. Mrs. Breeden testified that the company would

call periodically and ask her to measure the tank levels.

Depending on the level, Town Pump would come and fill

the tanks. The retail price of the gasoline was set by the

“Kenneally’s.” She was not usually informed of changes

in price in advance, and in fact stated “I was at my

daughter's one day and they changed it.”

A-20

52. Another operator, Paul Orr, testified in rebuttal

as to the extent to which the main office controlled the

station operators: He operated the Town Pump stating

[sic] in Browning, Montana, from September 1976,

through March 1979, and in Columbia Falls from March

1979, through March 1980. He was in contact with field

representatives of Town Pump “almost every day.”

53. His hours of operation at both locations were

7-10. The field man told them these were the hours and

there was a sign with “instructions we were supposed to

follow,” regarding the hours to remain open and making

daily bank deposits. The sign was at both locations and

he had seen one as well at the Kalispell station.

54. Plaintiff's Exhibit 32 demonstrates the full

extent and specificity of Town Pump, Inc.’s instructions

to its operators. These instructions were posted at the

stations. Among other things the instructions required

that ‘Dealer invoices must be done as of the close of

business on the last day of the time period. Stick tanks,

read the pumps and pull your money at the close of the

day. This must not be done the day before, the day after,

or during the day. At the close of the business day only.” |

Similarly, “ Your days receipts must be deposited in the

bank each and every day. This office will be calling your

bank to verify that your deposit is made each day.”

(Emphasis in all cases in the original).

55. Defendant’s business and pay practices were

investigated beginning in April 1977, by Donald E.

Lundhagen, a Compliance Officer of the Wage and Hour

Division, United States Department of Labor. Mr.

Lundhagen testified at trial.

56. On April 14, 1977, he went to the main office of

Town Pump, Inc. and asked for the president or manager.

He was directed to “Tom, Jr.,” Thomas P. Kenneally who

is the son of the president, Thomas F., and who was

identified to him as the vice-president.

57. Lundhagen was directed also to an individual

identified as the Office Manager, from whom he obtained

A-21

documents and statements as to the operation of the

Town Pump stations.

58. In the course of his investigation he visited all

10 stations in Butte, 2 in Anaconda, 2 in Bozeman and 2

in Missoula, interviewed the operators at each, photo-

graphed the stations and examined the living quarters.

59. Lundhagen also examined the operator’s

weekly reports at each station he visited, verified the

method and amount of compensation and reviewed

copies of the lease agreement to see if they differed from

the sample given him by Town Pump which he found to

be typical. Where these documents were unavailable at

the stations, he returned to the home office to examine

them there.

60. Of the stations Lundhagen visited, each had a

“Town Pump” sign, each was very similar in

appearance and each had exactly the same record keep-

ing forms. The records were all maintained at the main

office in Butte.

61. Thestations Lundhagen visited did not vary in

their posted hours of business which, uniformly were

7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

62. The office manager related that two stations,

Butte #1 and Polson, operated differently than the rest.

After further investigation verified this, Lundhagen

excluded them from consideration.

63. Lundhagen reviewed his investigation

findings with Tom Kenneally, Jr., on April 25, 1977, ata

closing conference when he informed him that the

Department of Labor considered the operators to be

employees.

64. Lundhagen further determined from examin-

ing sales records that until January 1, 1977, most of the

stations were exempt from the minimum wage and over-

time provisions under §13(a)(2) of the Fair Labor

Standards Act, but that all were subject to them

thereafter.

65. From the company sales records for each

station for 1977 (Plaintiff's Exhibits 12 and 13) he com-

A-22

puted the amount of underpayment under the minimum

wage and overtime provisions. Using 105 hours per week

as the approximate number of hours for each station, he

divided these hours evenly between the two operators,

i.e., husband and wife who operated the stations.

66. On this basis, each operator would be due at

least 52 1/2 hours at the applicable minimum wage plus

additional 1/2 time for 12 1/2 hours under the overtime

provisic as. In 1977, this weekly amount was $270.26 for

the two operators per station.

67. From this minimum amount he subtracted the

one cent per gallon actually received at each station plus

one cent per gallon as the stated “cost” of the housing

(Tr. 135).

-68. Plaintiff has proved its case only with regard to

operators Challes, Crowley, Garner, Breeden, Hawk and

Savage. The current hour and wage calculations are not

readily available to the court and will be ordered

submitted.

69. Violations, if continuing up to the date of this

order, will result in back wages for 1981 being due.

From the foregoing Findings of Fact the court draws

the following

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The court has jurisdiction of this case and the

parties.

2. Defendant admits that its annual dollar

volume exceeds $250,000 and that it has employees

handling goods in or produced for commerce. It is there-

fore a covered enterprise engaged in commerce or in the

production of goods for commerce within the meaning of

Section 3(s)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act, herein-

after FLSA.

3. An enterprise is defined by the FLSA as

follows:

A-23

Section 3***

(r) ‘Enterprise’ means the related activities per-

formed (either through unified operation or

common control) by any person or persons for a

common business purpose, and includes all

such activities whether performed in one or

more establishments or by one or more cor-

porate or other organizational units including

departments of an establishment operated

through leasing arrangements, but shall not

include the related activities performed for such

enterprise by an independent contractor .. .

(emphasis added).

4. Related activities for purposes of §3(r) are those

which are the same or similiar, Hodgson v. University

Club Tower, Inc., 466 F.2d 745 (10th Cir. 1972). The

operation of self-service gasoline stations all of which are

similar in appearance and function and are operated in

similar fashion constitutes activities which are related

within the meaning of the FLSA.

5. Regardless of which corporation owns it, each

of the stations sells gasoline distributed by defendant

Town Pump, at a price set by Town Pump and at the

direction of its representatives. Weekly sales reports are

sent to Town Pump on forms it supplies. Each day the

cash receipts are deposited to Town Pump’s account, and

accounting is done at the central office in Butte,

Montana. All gasoline purchas)»g and distribution is

controlled from there. Detailed operating instructions are

given to the station operators and enforced by de-

fendant’s management. Unified operation and common

control within the meaning of Section 3(r) are clearly

present.

6. Regardless of ownership of the stations, each

operator who testified was recruited, interviewed, in-

structed and supervised by a Town Pump field repre-

sentative. Each of these field representatives are

employees of Town Pump. Prospective operators are told

by newspaper ads to apply to Town Pump and Town

A-24

Pump is the lessor on most of the leases in evidence, even

of stations it does not own. Common control of all

stations by defendant Town Pump is therefore estab-

lished within the meaning of Section 3(r).

7. The organizational structure is both “hori-

zontal, as in chain stores” and “vertical, as in the manu-

facture and disposition of a particular product.”

Although defendant does not manufacture the gasoline,

it purchases and distributes it to its retail outlets. This

satisfies the common business purpose test, Hodgsen v.

University Club Tower, supra; Wirtz v. First National

Bank and Trust Company, 365 F.2d 641 (10th Cir. 1966);

Brennan v. Arnheim and Neely, Inc., 410 U.S. 512 (1973).

8. The business activities of defendant Town

Pump, including those activities at the 54 service stations

at issue here, constitute a single enterprise for purposes of

Sections 3(r) and 3(5)(1) of the FLSA, unless performed by

bona fide independent contractors.

9. The employment relationship which the FLSA

defines is a comprehensive one:

Section 3. As used in this Act...

(d) ‘Employer’ includes any person acting

directly or indirectly in the interest of an

employer in relation to an employee.

(e) ‘Employee’ includes any individual em-

ployed by an employer.

KKK

(g) ‘Employ’ includes to suffer or permit to

work.

10. From the Supreme Court’s decision in

Rutherford Food Corporation v. McComb), 331 U.S. 722

(1947), the following indicia of independence have been

extracted, see e.g. Usery v. Pilgrim Equipment Co., 527

F.2d 1308 (5th Cir. 1976), cert. den., 429 U.S. 826, and

Marshall v. Truman Arnold Distr. Co., 640 F.2d 906 (8th

Cir. 1981).

1. The nature and extent of control retained

by the alleged employer.

A-25

2. The alleged independent contractor’s

investment in facilities.

3. His opportunity for profit and risk of loss.

4. The permanency of the relationship, and

5. The amount of initiative, skill and judg-

ment required for the success of the claimed

independent enterprise.

11. Another pertinent factor is the extent to which

the services in question are an integral part of the alleged

employer’s business, Shultz v. Mistletoe Express Service,

Inc., 434 F.2d 1267 (10th Cir. 1970).

12. For the purposes of the FLSA, an independent

contractor is one who is in business for himself; an

employee is not in business for himself, but dependent

upon finding employment in the business of another.

Mednick v. Albert Enterprises, Inc., 508 F.2d 297, 301-302

(5th Cir. 1975).

13. Courts must look to the economic realities to

determine if an employment relationship exists. Real v.

Driscoll Strawberry Assoc., Inc., 603 F.2d 748 (9th Cir.

1979). Application of these factors to the facts shown at

trial compel the conclusion that the station operators are

employees of defendant.

14. Control. The company has complete control

over every significant aspect cfthe business. Town Pump

determines the location of its stations, requires that the

operators live on the premises, and will not allow thesale

of any gasoline but its own. The company determines the

retail price of the gasoline and will not allow price

changes without its permission. The company requires

periodic sales reports on its forms and daily deposits of

receipts to its account. The company maintains sales and

receipts records at its central office and makes deduc-

tions for losses and shortages as it sees fit.

15. Defendant maintains that its operators have

some discretion to set their own hours of business. Such

discretion is illusory. The commission method of pay-

ment virtually requires the operators to maintain long

hours. In fact, the evidence shows that Town Pump virtu-

A-26

ally requires that each station be open 15 hours per day

and allows only minor flexibility as to opening and

closing times.

16. Investment. The operators have none. The de-

fendant advertises that no cash investment is required.

The facilities and equipment are owned and maintained

by defendant, except for minor repairs. While the written

agreements recite rental payments, set at one cent per

gallon sold, that is not actually paid out but is merely a

deduction from the operator’s gross receipts.

17. The licenses for gasoline sales at each station

are in Town Pump’s name and obtained by the company,

as are government gasoline allocations, as well as retail

and grocery licenses.

18. Each operator’s “investment” in his inventory

of sideline items such as cigarettes and candy is minimal

compared to the overall cashflow of the business and is

inconsequential in assessing the dependence of the

operator upon defendant. Mednick v. Albert Enterprises,

Inc., 508 F.2d 297 (5th Cir. 1975).

19. Profit and loss. Under the commission

arrangement, no one but defendant has an opportunity

for profit in the true sense of the word: return on capital.

Nor do the operators bear the risk of loss of venture

capital. The fact that defendant holds them responsible

for bad checks and other shortages simply demonstrates

their true function as little more than cashiers in

defendant’s business organization.

20. Permanency. The operators remain on the job

fox as long as they like provided they meet the require-

ments set by Town Pump. None of them has anything

resembling a business or organization capable of

offering the same services to distributors other than

defendant, see Usery v. Pilgrim Equipment, 527 F.2d

1308 (5th Cir. 1976). They are dependent upon Town

Pump for continued employment.

A-27

21. Initiative. Defendant makes much of the fact

that each operator can increase his commission by

selling more gasoline and encouraging repeat customers.

Salesmanship, however, cannot be equated with

business initiative and judgment. As in Pilgrim Equip-

ment, supra, Town Pump controls “{all] major com-

ponents open to initiative” most importantly, pricing

and the choice of distributors with whom to deal. The

only “initiative” required is provided by the economic

necessity to the operator of keeping the station open some

15 hours a day, seven days a week.

22. Finally it is clear from the evidence that the

retail sale of gasoline as performed by the operators is

“an integrated part of [Town Pump’s] business,” Shultz

v. Mistletoe Express Service, 434 F.2d 1267 (10th Cir.

1970). Town Pump “distributes” several million gallon

[sic] of gasoline annually to the stations in question. Its

gross profits are almost wholly governed by the differ-

ence between the wholesale price it pays for the gasoline

and the price at the pump, less overhead which includes

the one cent per gallon commission paid to the operator.

23. When the economic realities of defendant’s

business relationship with its operators are examined in

light of the above factors it is evident that the operators

are employees within the meaning of Section 3(e) of the

FLSA and that defendant Town Fump is their employer

within the meaning of Section 3(d) of that Act.

24. Itis immaterial that not all of the time spent on

the job by the operators is spent “working.” Readiness to

serve may be hired to the same extent as service itself.

Armour & Co. v. Wontock, 323 U.S. 126 (1944).

25. It is also immaterial that the defendant may

have convinced its station operators that they were in-

dependent contractors by stating so in the lease and by

other communication. The defendant’s attempt to affix

the name of “independent contractor” to the operators

will avail it little in ascertaining the true nature of the

relationship for FLSA purposes. Mednick v. Albert

Enterprises, Inc., 508 F.2d 297 (5th Cir. 1975).

A-28

26. Continuing violations of Sections 6 and 7 of the

FLSA since at least January 1, 1977, and unpaid mini-

mum wages and overtime compensation in substantial

amounts were shown. Therefore, the Secretary is entitled

to an injunction and back wage recovery regardless of

any argument by defendant that it did not believe it was

violating the Act, Shultz v. Mistletoe Express, supra.

Such relief is remedial rather than punitive in nature and

the purpose is “to correct a continuing offense against the

public interest,” Shultz v. Mack Farland & Sons Roofing

Co., 413 F.2d 1296, 1302 (5th Cir. 1969); Wirtz v. Malthor,

Inc., 391 F.2d 1 (9th Cir. 1968).

27. Where, as here, the employer has failed to main-

tain records of hours worked, in violation of Section 11 of

the FLSA, defendant cannot defeat plaintiffs claim for

back wages merely by showing that the evidence lacks

the precision it would have if detailed records were kept.

Plaintiff has shown the minimum extent of work per-

formed by the operators as a matter of “just and reason-

able inference,” which is sufficient to shift the burden to

defendant of coming forward with precise evidence that

fewer hours in fact were worked, Anderson v. Mt.

Clemens Pottery, 328 U.S. 680 (1946); Dunlop v. Johnson

Waste Materials, Inc., 78 CCH Labor Cases, par. 33,287

(S.D. Tex. 1975).

28. The defendant presented no evidence regarding

the operator’s hours of work and failed to rebut the

plaintiff's evidence that all were open 15 hours per day or

more, seven days a week. Damages based upon the

approximate amounts computed by plaintiff may be

awarded under Sections 16(c) and 17 of the FLSA. Mt.

Clemens Pottery, supra.

29. The defendants are entitled to credit for the

commission paid the operators and for the value of the

living quarters provided the operators. Marshall v.

Truman Arnold Distr. Co., Inc., 640 F.2d 906 (8th Cir.

1981).

30. Liquidated damages under Section 16(c) of the

FLSA are to be awarded unless defendant can meet its

burden of showing to the satisfaction of the court that it

A-29

had reasonable grounds to believe it was in compliance,

Section 11 of the Portal to Portal Act, 29 U.S.C. 260. The

court will require the submission of further evidence on

the issue of defendant’s good faith belief, and will reserve

ruling on the issue of liquidated damages.

31. Since January 1, 1977, defendant has violated

and is violating the provisions of §§5 and 15(a)(2) of the

FLSA by paying to its employees, for their employment

in an enterprise engaged in commerce or the production

of goods for commerce, wages at rates less than Two

Dollars Thirty cents ($2.30) per hour after December 31,

1976; Two Dollars Sixty-Five cents ($2.65) per hour

during the year beginning January 1, 1978; Two Dollars

‘Ninety cents ($2.90) per hour during the year beginning

January 1, 1979; and Three Dollars Ten Cents ($3.10) per

hour during the year beginning January 1, 1980.

32. Defendant has violated and is violating the pro-

visions of §§7 and 15(a)(2) of the FLSA by employing its

employees in an enterprise engaged in commerce or in the

production of goods for commerce for workweeks longer

than 40 hours since January 1, 1977, without compen-

sating said employees for their employment in excess of

40 hours in such workweeks at rates not less than one and

one-half times the regular rates at which they were

employed.

33. As aresult of these violations unpaid minimum

wages and overtime compensation are owing from

defendant to its operators Challes, Crowley, Garner.

Breeden, Hawk and Savage for the period from January

1, 1977, through December 31, 1979.

34. As tothe remaining stations and operators, the

plaintiff has failed to prove its case and must submit

testimony with regard to the hours worked by operators

of these stations. See Marshall v. Truman Arnold Distr.

Co., Inc., 640 F.2d 906 (8th Cir. 1981).

35. Insofar as the violations are continuing, addi-

tional amounts have accrued since January i, 1980, for

defendant’s operators who were so employed since that

date.

A-30

36. A judgment granting recovery is specifically

authorized by §16(c) of the FLSA.

37. Defendant, an employer subject to the provi-

sions of the FLSA, has violated and is violating the

provisions of §§11(c) and 15(a)(5) of the FLSA, in that

since January 1, 1977, it has failed to make, keep and

preserve records of its said employees and of the wages,

hours and other conditions and practices of employment

maintained by defendant, as prescribed by the regula-

tions promulgated pursuant to §11(c) at 29 C.F.R. 516.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED and this does order

that judgment shall be entered in favor of plaintiff,

pursuant to §17 of the FLSA permanently enjoining and

restraining defendant, its officers, agents, servants,

employees, and those persor.s in active concert or parti-

cipation with defendant who received actual notice

thereof from violating the provisions of §§15(a)(2) and

15(a)(5) of the FLSA.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that judgment be

entered pursuant to §16(c) of the FLSA, against

defendant and in favor of plaintiff for unpaid minimum

wages and overtime compensation in an amount to he

determined for the operators Challes, Crowley, Garner,

Breeden, Hawk and Savage.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that plaintiff submit

calculations of hours worked and wage and overtime

amounts owed by defendant to the operators set forth

above within 30 days of the date of this order. This

amount is to be credited with a proper amount to com-

pensate for the fair value of the living quarters provided

to the operators and the amount previously paid the

operators through the one cent per gallon commission.

Done and dated this 6th day of October, 1981.

W. D. Murray

Senior United States District

Judge.

A-31

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

RAYMOND J. DONOVAN,

States Department of Labor CA No. 83-4313

DC No. CV 78-0031

Plaintiff-Appellant,

(Montana)

TOWN PUMP, INCORPORATED, ORDER

a corporacion,

Defendant-Appellee.

November 23, 1984

tll i i i

Before: PECK*, WRIGHT and FARRIS, Circuit Judges.

Appellee’s petition for rehearing is denied.

*Hon. John W. Peck, United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth

Circuit, sitting by designation.

APPENDIX B

B-1

Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended, 29 U.S.C.

§§ 201-219

§ 203. Definitions

(d) “Employer” includes any person acting directly

or indirectly in the interest of an employer in relation

to an employee and includes a public agency, but

does not include any labor organization (other than

when acting as an employer) or anyone acting in the

capacity of officer or agent of such labor organi-

zation.

(e)(1) Except as provided in paragraphs (2) [re-

lating to an individual employed by a public agency]

and (3) [relating to individuals employed by a

relative engaged in agriculture] the term “employ-

ee” means any individual employed by an employer.

(g) “Employ” includes to suffer or permit to work.

§ 215. Prohibited acts; prima facie evidence

(a) [I]t shall be unlawful for any person — —

(2) to violate any of the provisions of section

206 or section 207 of this title, or any of the pro-

visions of any regulation or order of the Adminis-

trator issued under section 214 of this title.

(5) to violate any of the provisions of section

211(c) of this title, or any regulation or order made

or continued in effect under the provisions of

section 211(d) of this title, or to make any statement,

report, or record filed or kept pursuant to the pro-

visions of such section or of any regulation or order

thereunder, knowing such statement, report, or

record to be false in a material respect.

B-2

§ 216. Penalties; civil and criminal liability,

injunction proceedings terminating right of action;

waiver of claims; actions by Secretary of Labor;

limitation of actions; savings provision.

(c) The Secretary is authorized to supervise the

payment of the unpaid minimum wages or the .

unpaid overtime compensation owing to any

employee or employees under section 206 or section

207 of this title, and the agreement of any employee

to accept such payment shall upon payment in full

constitute a waiver by such employee of any right

he may have under subsection (b) of this section to

such unpaid minimum wages or unpaid overtime

compensation and an additional equal amount as

liquidated damages. The Secretary may bring an

action in any court of competent jurisdiction to

recover the amount of unpaid minimum wages or

overtime compensation and an equal amount as

liquidated damages. The right provided by sub-

section (b) of this section to bring an action by or on

behalf of any employee to recover the liability

specified in the first sentence of such subsection

and of any employee to become a party plaintiff to

any such action shall terminate upon the filing of a

complaint by the Secretary in an action under this

subsection in which a recoverv is sought cf unpaid

minimum wages or unpaid overtime compensation

under sections 206 and 207 of this title or liquidated

or other damages provided by this subsection owing

to such employee by an employer liable under the

provisions of subsection (b) of this section, unless

such action is dismissed without prejudice on

motion of the Secretary. Any sums thus recovered

by the Secretary of Labor on behalf of 2n employee

pursuant to this subsection shall be held in a special

deposit account and shall be paid, on order of the

Secretary of Labor, directly to the employee or

employees affected. Any such sums not paid to an

employee because of inability to do so within a

B-3

period of three years shall be covered into the

Treasury of the United States as miscellantous

receipts. In determining when an action is com-

menced by the Secretary of Labor under this sub-

section for the purposes of the statutes of

limitations provided in section 255(a) of this title, it

shall be considered to be commenced in the case of

any individual claimant on the date when the com-

plaint is filed if he is specifically named as a party

plaintiff in the complaint, or if his name did not so

appear, on the subsequent date on which his name

is added as a party plaintiff in such action.

§ 217. Injunction Proceedings

The district courts, together with the United

States District Court for the District of the Canal

Zone, the District Court of the Virgin Islands, and

the District Court of Guam shall have jurisdiction,

for cause shown, to restrain violations of section

215 of this title, including in the case of violations of

section 215(a)(2) of this title the restraint of any

withholding of payment of minimum wages or over-

time compensation found by the court to be due to

employees under this chapter (except sums which

employees are barred from recovering, at the time of

the commencement of the action to restrain the

violations, by virtue of the provisions oi section 255

of this title).

28 U.S.C. § 1291. Final Decisions of District Courts.

The courts of appeals (other than the United

States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit)

shall have jurisdiction of appeals from all final

decisions of the district courts of the United States,

B-4

the United States District Court for the District of

the Canal Zone, the District Court of Guam and the

District Court of the Virgin Islands, except where a

direct review may be had in the Supreme Court. The

jurisdiction of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit shall be limited to the juris-

diction described in sections 1292(c) and (d) and

1295 of this title.

28 U.S.C. § 1345. United States as Plaintiff.

Except as otherwise provided by act of

Congress the district courts shall have original

jurisdiction of all civil actions, suits or proceedings

commenced by the United States, or by any agency

or officer thereof expressly authorized to sue by Act

of Congress.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.