Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Palumbo v. United States

Supreme Court brief1984

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Office ; Supreme Court, U.

=F LED

SEP 14 1984

No ALEXANDER L. STEVAS

° CLERK

in the

Supreme Court

of the

United States

October Term, 1984

RICHARD PALUMBO,

Petitioner

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

On Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of the United States

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

RICHARD B. MARX, ESQUIRE

Counsel of Record for Petitioner

2250 S.W. Third Avenue, Third Floor

Miami, Florida 33129

(305) 854-1555

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(1) Whether the Trial Court erred in concluding

that there were exigent circumstances to justify a

warrantless non-consensual entry into Petitioner’s hotel

room by Agents of the Drug Enforcement Agency for

the purpose of making a routine felony arrest, in violation

of the Fourth Amendment to the United States

Constitution and the well established case law of Payton

vs. New York, 445 U.S. 573, 100 S.Ct. 1371, 63 L.Ed.2d

639 (1980); Rakas vs. Illinois, 439 U.S. 128, 99 S.Ct. 421,

58 L.Ed.2d 387 (1978); Chimel vs. California, 395 U.S.

752, 89 S.Ct. 2034 (1969): Hoffa vs. United States, 385

US. 293, 87 S.Ct. 1583 (1967); Weeks vs. United States,

232 U.S. 383, 34 S.Ct. 341 (1914).

(2) Whether the Trial Court and/or the Appellate

Court erred by misinterpreting Petitioner’s defense of

diminished responsibility due to the Government’s failure

to establish the requisite mental state for the crimes,

in violation of the Fifth and Sixth amendments to the

United States Constitution.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ................... i

TABLE OF AUTHGGII tee 5 OA iii

OPINIONS BELOW ......... era i LA 2

SURGES 5.006 TR Ae 2

STATUTES ENVOU eee 6 i CE. Sa 2

STATEMENT GF CARE i..36. ASF 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT ............ 9

CONGIAIGIUN «ow. 0. SE ee 23

CERTIFICATE OF MAILING SERVICE ....... 24

APPENDIX

Judgment and Opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit ... App. 1

Opinion of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Mivsouri ..... App. 14

Judgment and Order of the United States

District Court for the Eastern District of

eee ee App. 23

Order denying Petition for Rehearing ... App. 34

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Brubaker vs. Dickson,

310 F.2d 30 (9th Cir. 1962) ..............

Chimel vs. California,

ee

Coolidge vs. New Hampshire,

403 U.S. 443, 91 S.Ct. 2022,

29 L.Ed.2d 564 (1971) .................

Hinkle vs. Scurr,

677 F.2d 667 (8th Cir. 1982), cert. den.

a re alate oe ss yas «

Hoffa vs. United States,

385 U.S. 293, 87 S.Ct. 1583 (1967) .......

Hopt vs. People,

104 U.S. 631, 26 L.Ed.2d 873 (1882) ......

Katz vs. United States,

se kn cece acne cas ses

Long vs. Brewer,

667 F.2d 742 (8th Cir. 1982).............

New York vs. Belton,

i Re ae era ne

. 6 8.4

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Page

Payton vs. New York,

445 U.S. 573, 100 S.Ct. 1371,

63 L.Ed.2d 639 (1980) ................... i, 9,

11,22

People vs. Gorshen,

51 Cal.2d 726, 336 P.2d 492 (1959) ............ 17

People vs. Wells,

33 Cal.2d 330, 202 P.2d 53, cert. den.

Co ere 17

Rakas vs. Illinois,

439 U.S. 128, 99 S.Ct. 421,

sk sk nn 0kss swansea i, 9

Rhodes vs. United States,

282 F.2d 59 (4th Cir. 1969) cert. den.

aT ed ev db bn kd hates Oh ok 14

Rinehart vs. Brewer,

ey | 14

Roaden vs. Kentucky,

413 U.S. 496, 93 S.Ct. 2796,

ek rr eee 9, 11, 22

United States vs. Brawner,

471 F.2d 969 (D.C. Cir. 1972) ................ 14

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Page

United States vs. Brown,

671 F.2d 585 (D.C. Cir. 1982) ................ 14

United States vs. Bulman,

667 F.2d 1374 (lith Cir. 1982) ............... i)

United States vs. Erskind,

588 F.2d 721 (9th Cir. 1978) ................. 15

United States vs. Hammond,

642 F.2d 248 (8th Cir. 1981) ................. 18

United States vs. Houle,

603 F.2d 1297 (8th Cir. 1979) ................ 13

United States vs. Munz,

504 F.2d 1203 (10th Cir. 1974), cert. den.

aha eee ke veh 14, 15

United States vs. Zink,

612 F.2d 511 (10th Cir. 1980) ................ 17

Weeks vs. United States,

232 U.S. 383, 34 S.Ct. 341 (1914) ............ i, 13

Zaehringer vs. Brewer,

635 F.2d 734 (8th Cir. 1980) ................. 14

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continwed)

Page

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

Fourth Amendment

United States Constitution ................ 3

Fifth Amendment

United States Constitution ................ 3

Sixth Amendment

United States Constitution ................ 4

STATUTES

Tetie 16 U.S.C. GOG2 06 GOO w. so oc ccccce cca eus 4

Title 18 U.S.C. §84i(aXl) 2. 4

Title 18 U.S.C. §846 .. 0.2... 4

Title 28 U.S.C. §1254(1) . 2... n, 2

Rule 12.2(b)

Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure ........ 2,3

Rule 28

Supreme Court Rule ......................, 24

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Page

TEXTBOOKS

21 American Jurisprudence 2d §41 .............. 17

MISCELLANEOUS

4 Loyola University Law Review 308 “Diminished

Capacity”, Grant B. Cooper (1971) ............... 17

14 Stanford Law Review 59 “Criminal Responsibility

of the Mentally Ill”, Bernard L. Diamond

De ce eT a aeee ele 17

Chapter 32 “Diminished Capacity”, Vol 1A of

Criminal Defense Techniques, ed. by Michael

Eisenstein, Steven W. Allen and Douglas L.

Winston, pub. by Matthew Bender, rev. 1983 ... 17, 18

vii

NO.

in the

Supreme Court

of the

United States

October Term, 1984

RICHARD PALUMBO,

Petitioner

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Eighth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

RICHARD B. MARX

LAW OFFICES OF RICHARD B. MARX

2250 S.W. THIRD AVE.

MIAMI, FLORIDA 33129

(305) 854-1555

The Petitioner, RICHARD PALUMBO, prays that

a Writ of Certiorari issue to review the Judgment and

Opinion entered on June 7, 1984, by the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit in a proceeding

entitled: UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff/Appellee vs. RICHARD PALUMBO,

Defendant/Appellant, Docket No. 83-2153 EM.

OPINION BELOW

_ The Judgment and Opinion of the Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit appears in the Appendix at page

App. 1 of this Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

JURISDICTION

The Judgment and Opinion of the Court of Appeals

was entered on June 7, 1984. A motion for extension of

time in which to file a Petition for Rehearing was filed

on June 19, 1984 and was subsequently granted. A

Petition for Rehearing was timely filed on July 2, 1984

and was denied July 17, 1984. The jurisdiction of this

Court is invoked under Title 28, U.S.C. Section 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Rule 12.2(b) of the Federal Rules of Criminal

Procedure provides:

EXPERT TESTIMONY OF DEFENDANT’S

MENTAL CONDITION. If a defendant intends

to introduce expert testimony relating to a

mental disease or defect or any other mental

condition of the defendant bearing upon the

issue of his guilt, he shall, within the time

provided for the filing of pretrial motions or

at such later time as the court may direct,

notify the attorney for the government in writing

of such intention and file a copy of such notice

with the clerk. The Court may for cause shown

allow late filing of the notice or grant additional

time to the parties to prepare for trial or

make such other order as may be appropriate.

The Fourth Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides:

The right of the people to be secure in their

persons, houses, papers, and effects, against

unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not

be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but

upon probable cause, supported by Oath or

affirmation, and particularly describing the

place to be searched, and the persons or things

to be seized.

The Fifth Amendment to the United States

Constitutic 1 provides in pertinent part:

No person shall be held to answer for a capital,

or otherwise infamous crime, unless on a

presentment or indictment of a Grand Jury

. nor shall be compelled in any criminal

case to be a witness against himself, nor be

deprived of life, liberty, or property, without

due process of law. . . .

The Sixth Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides in pertinent part:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall

enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial, by

an impartial jury of the State and district

wherein the crime shall have been

committed... .

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner, Richard Palumbo, was the Defendant

in the case of United States of America vs. Richard

Palumbo, Case No. 82-0098 CR (5), in the United States

District Court for the Eastern District of Missouri, the

Honorable Clyde S. Cahill presiding. Co-Defendant, Gary

Millner pled guilty prior to trial. The jurisdiction of the

Trial Court was invoked pursuant to Title 18 U.S.C.

Section 801 et seq.

Petitioner was indicted in a two-count indictment

on charges of wilfully, knowingly and unlawfully

possessing cocaine with the intent to distribute (Title

18 U.S.C. Section 841(a)(1)) and wilfully, knowingly and

unlawfully conspiring to possess cocaine with the intent

to distribute (Title 18 U.S.C. Section 846). The amount

of cocaine involved in this case was approximately 10

ounces (TR: 32).'

“TR” refers tc the transcript of the hearings held on the

Motion to Suppress the Evidence and the Trial, which transcript

is contained in the Record on Appeal on file in the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.

After a non-jury trial, Petitioner was convicted of

all charges.

The indictment and subsequent conviction took

place as a result of the following facts:

During the winter of 1981, the Petitioner met

Co-Defendant, Gary Millner (TR: 74). Millner was in

Miami, Florida, looking for a place to live while attending

college (TR: 75). Millner, who was from St. Louis, Missouri,

returned to St. Louis and had numerous meetings with

Byron Valier, a man who he had known for twelve (12)

years and with whom he had previously dealt drugs

(TR: 46, 78). These two men met from January through

April of 1982 to discuss the purchase of cocaine (TR:

80). In February of 1982, Valier entered into an agreement

with the Government to become a confidential informant

(Byron Valier hereinafter referred to as the “CI”) (TR:

45).

As of February, the Government was aware of the

pending cocaine transaction scheduled for the middie

of April. From March 19, to April 16, the exact time of

the arrival of the Petitioner and Millner in St. Louis

was discussed with the CI and it was decided that

Petitioner and the Co-Defendant would arrive on April

16, and stay at the Stouffers Riverfront Inn (TR: 57). It

is logical to assume that the Government became aware

of Petitioner’s impending arrival through the CI. They

also recorded a conversation between the Co-Defendant

and the CI on April 15 in which it was stated that

Petitioner and the Co-Defendant would arrive on April

16, and stay at Stouffers. (TR: 18).

On Petitioner’s arrival at Stouffers the night before

the cocaine transaction, he registered in Room 678 (TR:

34). The CI subsequently spoke to the Co-Defendant

and confirmed the fact that he and Petitioner were in

room 678, had the cocaine, and that the narcotics

transaction would take place in that room during the

afternoon of the following day (TR: 57).

At no time prior to the Drug Enforcement Agency

Agents’ (hereinafter referred to as Agents or DEA

Agents) entry into the hotel room did they attempt to

obtain a search or arrest warrant (TR: 27).

The morning of April 17, the CI was outfitted by

the Agents with a Kell Transmitter (TR: 19). In the

early afternoon, the CI entered Petitioner’s room (TR:

58). Via the Kell Transmitter, the Agents were able to

hear the conversations within the room from the time

of the CI’s entry to the time of Petitioner’s arrest (TR:

23). They did not hear any statements made during the

recorded conversations which suggested: (1) that there

were more than three people in the room, (those people

being the CI, the Co-Defendant and Petitioner) (TR:

23); (2) that any of the people located in the room were

armed (TR:24); (3) that Petitioner or the Co-Defendant

were aware either that a) their conversations were

being recorded or b) that Valier was a Confidential

Informant (TR: 25-26); (4) that either the CI or the

Agents located outside the room were in any danger as

a result of any actions by either Petitioner or the

Co-Defendant (TR: 26); or (5) that there was a probability

that the cocaine would be destroyed before the Agents

would be able to enter the room (TR: 32).

During the first stage of the cocaine sale, the CI

was given a small amount s» that he and the Co-Defendant

could then meet with the CI’s buyer (TR: 62). The

balance of the cocaine was taped behind a drawer in a

bureau located in the. room (TR: 64). The CI then opened

the door to the room, and the Agents entered and

arrested the Petitioner and the Co-Defendant and had

them sit on the floor near the wall (TR: 12). The CI was

then taken to another room and told the Agents where

the cocaine was hidden (TR: 32). The Agents then

re-entered the room, and, with the Petitioner and the

Co-Defendant on the floor,’ surrounded by 4 or 5 Agents,

they opened up the bureau drawer, reached behind it

and removed the cocaine (TR: 12).

Petitioner’s defense of Diminished Responsibility

Petitioner (who is now 25 years old) has been suffering

from the degenerative disease of ulcerative colitis for

17 years (TR: 145). The disease is a serious systemic

disease which involves the colon and the rectum. The

major symptoms are gastrointestinal with abdominal

pain, cramps, nausea, vomiting, weight loss, loss of

appetite, diarrhea, bloody bowel movements, nocturnal

bowel movements, malaise, anemia, anorexia and

numerous other debilitating symptoms (TR: 129). The

terminal end of the sigmoid and the rectum becomes

scarred and a condition known as Pseudopolyposes

occurs wherein the lining of the large bowel, instead of

being of normal service, becomes bumpy and irregular

and begins to look like polyps. This disease requires

*The Petitioner and Millner were placed in handcuffs at or

about the time of their arrest.

extensive care and extensive surgery. The surgery,

which is referred to as a Proctocolectomy, would consist

of a colectomy (removal of the colon) and a colostomy (a

surgical implantation of the colon exteriorized to the

abdominal wall), and then a removal of the rectum and

the ilium (a portion of the small intestine). After the

surgery, Petitioner will have to drain his stools into a

bag several times a day.

Prior to the onset of the disease, Petitioner’s mental

capabilities were normal (TR: 144). Upon diagnosis

Petitioner was prescribed various medications which

had serious adverse mental side effects (TR: 145). These

medications included: Prednisone (a steroid which is a

Cortisone derivitive drug) (TR: 145), Cortisone (TR:

208), Azulfidine (TR: 145), Phenobarbitol (TR: 247), Sulfa

Drugs, Immodium, and Lomotil (TR: 208). More

significantly, as to the Prednisone and Cortisone drugs,

the Petitioner took extremely high doses, sometimes

up to 100 milligrams a day (TR: 128). The expert witnesses

testified that the taking of heavy doses results in serious

meniai side effects and an inability to fully comprehend

one’s actions. Petitioner experienced these adverse mental

side effects to the extent that he was incapable of

forming the requisite specific intent for the crimes

charged.

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

The warrantless non-consensual entry into

Petitioner’s room, absent exigent circumstances,

violated the Fourth Amendment to the United

States Constitution and cases decided by this

Court interpreting the Fourth Amendment.

Petitioner’s arrest was unlawful and the search of

his hotel room was illegal since it violated the Fourth

Amendment to the United States Constitution and several

Supreme Court cases interpreting the Fourth

Amendment. Payton vs. New York, 445 U.S. 573 (1980);

Roaden vs. Kentucky, 413 U.S. 496, 93 S.Ct. 2796, 37

L.Ed.2d 757 (1973); Coolidge vs. New Hampshire, 403

US. 448, 91 S.Ct. 2022, 29 L.Ed.2d 564 (1971). When the

DEA Agents entered Petitioner's room to make the

arrest, they did not have an arrest warrant or a search

warrant. The record does not support the existence of

exigent circumstances to justify the entry into the

room.

The arrest and search took place within Petitioner’s

hotel room, a place which was the legal equivalent of a

home for which he had the same constitutional protections.

Rakas vs. Illinois, 439 U.S. 128 (1978); Katz vs. United

States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967); Hoffa vs. United States, 385

U.S. 293 (1966); United States vs. Bulman, 667 F.2d

1374 (11th Cir. 1982). It is clear that Petitioner did not

waive his constitutional rights to privacy because he

was staying in a hotel room.

The DEA Agents had been aware of Petitioner’s

movements and drug related plan for more than a

month prior to the arrest but failed to obtain a warrant.

The Agent’s confidential informant had contacted the

Co-Defendant a few months prior to the transaction to

discuss the details and eventually met with Petitioner

in Miami, Florida to discuss the transaction. The Agents

knew when the Petitioner arrived in St. Louis and

knew where the Petitioner was staying the night before

the transaction took place. Well in advance of the arrest,

the Agents, through the confidential informant, knew

the following: (a) the location of the transaction (TR: 57,

93); (b) the amount of cocaine which was to be involved

(TR: 58); (c) the price of the cocaine (TR: 58, 86); (d) the

identities of the participants (TR: 48, 49); (e) “confirmation”

(telephonic) that the “sellers” had the cocaine (TR: 57):

and (f) that Petitioner and the Co-Defendant were the

only other participants in the transaction (TR: 84, 87).

The trial transcript is clear as to when the Agents

had information that a cocaine deal was to occur. The

Agents knew during March of 1982 that the cocaine

deal would occur in St. Louis (TR: 57, 58, 80). The

Agents knew on April 16, 1982 that the transaction

would be in the Stouffers Riverfront Inn and later

learned that same evening (at approximately 9:30 p.m.)

(TR: 92, 57) that the transaction would take place in

Room 678 the next day at or around noon (TR: 370).

The period of time which elapsed between the Agents’

complete knowledge of the transaction and the eventual

arrest of Petitioner 15 hours later was more than sufficient

time to obtain a search or arrest warrant.

This was a well-planned drug raid by the Agents.

It is submitted that the Government had sufficient

probable cause prior to the arrest with which to obtain

a search warrant and an arrest warrant, but chose not

to do so. As a result of the Agents’ monitoring of the

10

activities within the room, the Agents knew that there

were no exigent circumstances to justify the entry into

the room to make a routine felony arrest and search.

The United States Supreme Court has held that

the Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution

prohibits the police from making a warrantless non-

consensual entry into a suspect’s home for the purpose

of making a routine felony arrest. Payton vs. New

York, supra. It is a basic principle of Fourth Amendment

law that searches and seizures inside a home without a

warrant are presumptively unreasonable. Unless the

search and seziure falls within one of a carefully detined

set of exceptions based on the presence of exigent

circumstances, the search and seizure is unreasonable.

Roaden vs. Kentucky, supra; Coolidge vs. New Hampshire,

supra. The record fails to demonstrate that exigent

circumstances existed here other than those imagined

by the DEA Agents.

The Agents, who had been fully aware of the planned

cocaine transaction for a month or more prior to the

arrest and were fully aware of the transaction

approximately 15 hours in advance of the arrest,

apparently neglected to prepare a solid plan to assist

arresting the Petitioner. Part of the transaction included

the procedure wherein the CI and the Co-Defendant

would take a sample of the cocaine to the CI’s buyer for

approval and then the CI and the Co-Defendant would

return to Petitioner's room to complete the transaction.

This procedure is typical of narcotics transactions, but

the Agents failed to adequately prepare for it. When

the Agents realized that the Co-Defendant and the Cl

were going to leave the room, they then were faced

with a problem which they had created. The Agents

1]

felt that they had to enter the hotel room when the CI

opened the door to leave because if they waited, they

may have been confronted with a situation wherein

they could have only arrested the Co-Defendant, but

could not have arrested the Petitioner.

The Agents chose to enter Petitioner's room to

arrest him, in violation of his Fourth Amendment rights,

rather than arrest the Co-Defendant outside of the

room, which they could have lawfully done.

The Government contended that the DEA Agents

were justified in entering the Petitioner's room at the

time they did without a warrant because of exigent

circumstances. The Government argued that one or

more of a myriad of circumstances could have occurred

(the Petitioner could have destroyed the cocaine, the

Petitioner could have caused harm to the DEA Agents

[even though the Government knew, via the Kell

Transmitter, that the Petitioner was unarmed] ), but

these possibilities cannot justify such an entry. The

claimed exigent circumstances asserted by the

Government consisted of the subjective beliefs of DEA

Agents, beliefs which were the product of their

imagination as to “possibilities” of what could have

occurred had the Agents not acted when they did (TR:

11 ). Such subjective beliefs pertaining to mere possibilities

cannot furnish justification for such an entry.

Finally, the Court of Appeals has rejected the

Government's argument, in a similar case, that its delay

of more than a day in obtaining a warrant (especially

when the Government never did even attempt to obtain

a warrant) was justified.

12

The Court in United States vs. Houle, 603 F.2d

1297 (8th Cir. 1979), stated that the Government could

not be excused for undue delay (and the resultant absence

of an arrest warrant or search warrant) for needlessly

waiting four (4) hours before arresting a defendant in

his home without a warrant.

The search of Petitioner's room, subsequent to

his arrest, did not constitute a “search incident

to arrest’”’ under the Fourth Amendment to the

United States Constitution or under the cases

decided by this Court interpreting the Fourth

Amendment |

At the time the Agents conducted the search,

Petitioner was under arrest, was seated on the floor,

and was surrounded by 4 or 5 DEA Agents. The evidence

was taped behind a closed drawer in a dresser. The

clesed drawer was not reasonably accessible to the

Petitioner, and was, for ail practical purposes, under

the controi of the Agents.

The Supreme Court has consistently held that the

police may not conduct a search incident to an arrest

once there is clearly no further danger of the arrestee

obtaining evidence or weapons from the area being

searched. Chimel vs. California, 395 U.S. 752 (1969);

Weeks vs. United States, 232 U.S. 383 (1914). At the

time of the search of the room, there no longer reasonably

existed any danger that the Petitioner or Co-Defendant

could obtain any evidence or weapons.

The Government contends that the search of the

Petitioner’s hotel room was justified as a search incident

to arrest. The Government's reliance on New York vs.

13

Belton, 453 U.S. 454 (1981) and United States vs. Brown,

671 F.2d 585 (D.C. 1982) is misplaced. These cases,

though they interpret Chimel vs. California, supra, do

not furnish support for the Government's argument

that the DEA Agents were justified in searching behind

a dresser drawer to find evidence which was taped to

the inside of the bureau when the evidence was clearly

not within Petitioner's immediate control.

The Petitioner was denied due process and a

fair trial, in violation of his rights under the

Fifth and Sixth Amendments to the United States

Constitution, by the Trial Court’s and the

Appellate Court’s misinterpretation of his defense

of diminished responsibility.

Petitioner submits that his Fifth and Sixth

Amendment rights to due process and a fair trial have

been violated. The Trial Court and the Court of Appeals

both misinterpreted Petitioner's defense of diminished

responsibility. Further the Government failed to meet

its burden of proof of establishing the requisite mental

state for the crimes.

The doctrine of diminished responsibility is

recognized and followed in the Eighth Circuit of the

United States Court of Appeals [Hinkle vs. Scurr, 677

F.2d 667 (8th Cir. 1982), cert. den. 103 S.Ct. 456; Long

vs. Brewer, 667 F.2d 742 (8th Cir. 1982); Zaehringer vs.

Brewer, 635 F.2d 734 (8th Cir. 1980); Rinehart vs. Brewer,

561 F.2d 126 (8th Cir. 1977)] and is also recognized in

many other Circuits [Brubaker vs. Dickson, 310 F.2d 30

(9th Cir. 1962); Rhodes vs. United States, 282 F.2d 59

(4th Cir. 1960), cert den. 364 U.S. 912; United States vs.

Brawner, 471 F.2d 969 (D.C. Cir. 1972); United States

14

vs. Munz, 504 F.2d 1203 (10th Cir. 1974), cert. den. 429

U.S. 1104; United States vs. Erskind, 588 F.2d 721 (9th

Cir. 1978)] This defense is used to demonstrate that a

defendant is incapable of forming the requisite mental

state (specific intent as applied here) for the crimes

charged due to a mental disease or defect.

The Supreme Court case of Hopt vs. People, 104

U.S. 631, 26 L.Ed 873 (1882) recognized the underlying

concept of the defense of diminished responsbility. The

Court there, in discussing the relevance of evidence

pertaining to the presence of a mental state (there, due

to intoxication) stated that the’ degree of the offense

depended upon wilfulness, deliberation and premeditation.

Therefore, the jury could properly consider:

evidence [of alcohol intoxication); “upon the

ground that the condition of the defendant's

mind at the time the act was committed must

be inquired after, in order to justly determine

the question as to whether his mind was capable

of deliberation, or premeditation which

accordingly, as there absent or present,

determines the degree of the crime”. (Hopt, at

page 874, emphasis added).

The Court further stated that:

“whenever the actual existence of any particular

purpose, motive or intent is a necessary element

to constitute any particular species or degree

of crime, the jury may take into consideration

the fact that the defendant was intoxicated at

the time, in determining the purpose, motive

15

or intent with which he committed the act.

(Hopt, at page 874, emphasis added).

Finally, the defense of diminished responsibility is

specifically included in the Federal Rules of Criminal

Procedure, as is set out below:

Rule 12.2(b). EXPERT TESTIMONY OF

DEFENDANT’S MENTAL CONDITION. If a

defendant intends to introduce expert testimony

relating to a mental disease or defect or any

other mental condition of the defendant bearing

upon the issue of his guilt, he shall, within the

time provided for the filing of pretrial motions

or at such later time as the court may direct,

notify the attorney for the government in writing

of such intention and file a copy of such notice

with the clerk. The Court may for cause shown

allow late filing of the notice or grant additional

time to the parties to prepare for trial or

make such other order as may be appropriate.

The defense of diminished responsibility i; distinctly

different from the defense of insanity. For the insanity

defense, one attempts to show that a given defendant

is incapable of appreciating the wrongfulness of his

conduct and has a complete lack of mental capacity.

The defense of diminished responsibility attempts to

show that the defendant is incapable of forming the

requisite mental state for the crimes charged and that

the defendant’s ability to think, contemplate, meditate

and understand the consequences and ramifications of

his actions has been significantly impaired.

16

The defense of diminished responsibility can be

used to establish the absence of the state of mind

required by the existing law defining the crime, either

by proving inability to entertain the state of mind or

by proving that, despite the capacity to entertain that

state of mind, the defendant did not in fact entertain it.

This doctrine states that a person is not to be found

guilty of a crime which requires specific intent as an

element if that person is suffering from a mental disorder

or defect, short of insanity, which prevents him from

forming the requisite specific intent. The doctrine of

diminished responsibility is not intended to serve as a

substitute for whatever definition of legal insanity is

employed in a particular jurisdiction. On the contrary,

it concerns merely the admissibility of psychiatric or

psychological evidence for the purpose of determining

whether, in fact, a particular offense or crime was

committed. Evidence of diminished responsibility is

admissible as it relates to a defendant’s ability to form

the specific intent necessary to commit a particular

crime. Long vs. Brewer, 667 F.2d 742 (8th Cir. 1982);

United States vs. Zink, 612 F.2d 511 (10th Cir. 1980);

People vs. Wells, 33 Cal.2d 330, 202 P.2d 53, cert. den.

338 U.S. 836 (1949); People vs. Gorshen, 51 Cal.2d 726,

336 P.2d 492 (1959); 21 Am Jur 2d §41; Chapter 32

“Diminished Capacity”, Vol 1A of Criminal Defense

Techniques, ed. »y Michael Eisenstein, Steven W. Allen

and Douglas L. Winston, pub. Matthew Bender, rev.

1983; 4 Loyola University Law Review 308, “Diminished

Capacity”, Grant B. Cooper (1971); and 14 Stanford

Law Review 59, “Criminal Responsibility of the Mentally

Ill”, Bernard L. Diamond (December 1961).

The Petitioner’s defense of diminished responsibility

was used due to the prolonged long-term use of various

17

prescription medications (mostly steroids). These

medications greatly impaired his ability to think clearly,

to contemplate, meditate, to understand the nature

and character of his actions and their consequences

and to be aware of the ramifications of his actions (TR:

209, 210). All of the Petitioner’s expert witnesses testified

that the Petitioner was incapable of forming the requisite

mental state for the crimes charged (TR: 131, 139, 140,

214, 304). The Petitioner did not raise an insanity defense

nor did any of his expert witnesses testify that he was

insane at the time of the commission of the crimes.

The defense need not “prove” the absence of the

required mental state, but must raise some doubt

concerning the Government’s proof of the requisite

mental state.’ Here, the Petitioner’s defense went further

than was required by law and made out a prima facie

case of diminished responsibility. All of his witnesses

testified as to his taking of medication which had adverse

mental side-effects and further testified about the aberrant

behavior which resulted from the taking of such

medication. The testimony of the Petitioner’s witnesses

supported the defense theory that the Petitioner was

incapable of forming the requisite mental state for the

crimes of which he was convicted.

Title 18 U.S.C. Sections 841(aX1) and 846 are specific

intent crimes. United States vs. Hammond, 642 F.2d

248 (8th Cir. 1981).

‘Chapter 32 “Diminished Capacity”; Vol 1A of Criminal Defense

Techniques, ed by Michael Eisenstein, Steven W. Allen and Douglas

L. Winston; pub by Matthew Bender, rev. 1983.

18

The Government failed to meet its burden of proving

beyond a reasonable doubt, the specific intent

requirements for the crimes charged.‘ The Government,

rather, furnished testimony to support its contention

that the Petitioner was not insane. The Government

failed to establish the requisite mental state for the

crimes, but also failed to offer substantial evidence to

controvert Petitioner’s defense of diminished

responsibility. It is apparent that all of the requisite

elements for the crimes charged were not proven by

the Government beyond a reasonable doubt.

Both the Trial Court and the Appellate Court

misinterpreted the Petitioner’s defense of diminished

responsibility. Both Courts instead addressed the issue

of “insanity”.

The Trial Court stated in its Opinion that the

“defense in the case as noted earlier, was the sanity of

the Defendant. . . .” (App. 25 of the Opinion of the

United States District Court). The Trial Court went on

to cite the American Law Institute definition of insanity,

A.L.I. Section 4.01 which states as follows:

(1) a defendant is insane within the meaning

of these instructions, if, at the time of the

alleged criminal conduct, as a result of mental

disease or defect, he lacks a substantial capacity

either to appreciate the wrongfulness [footnote

ommitted] of his conduct or to conform his

conduct to the requirements of law. (2) As

used in this Article the terms ‘mental disease

‘Ibid.

19

or defect’ do not include any abnormality

manifested only by repeated criminal or

otherwise anti-social conduct. (App. 25 of the

Opinion of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Missouri, emphasis

added).

The Trial court in its opinion discussed “sanity”

even though the issue was not that of the Petitioner's

sanity or insanity, but whether he had the ability to

form the requisite mental state for the crimes charged.

[Note: All of the following quotations are from the

Opinion of the Trial Court: App. 26 “. . . burden of

showing that the defendant was sane beyond a reasonable

doubt.”; App. 29 “ the issue presented to this court, in

light of all of the above, is whether Palumbo could

appreciate the nature, quality, severity and wrongfulness

of his actions. . . .”; App. 30 “Richard Palumbo suffered

from no serious mental disease or defect, but had a

substantial capacity to appreciate the wrongfulness of

his conduct and possessed a substantial capacity to

conform his conduct to the requirements of law”.; App.

31 “or defect to such a degree that he could not appreciate

the wrongfulness of his act in drug dealing, or that the

could not conform his conduct to the requirements of

the law.” |

The Appellate Court in attempting to address the

Petitioner’s defense of diminished responsibility,

commented on the Trial Court’s determination and stated,

“the District Court rejected the insanity defense. . . .”

(See footnote 2 at App. 6 of the Opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals; emphasis added). Further, the

Appellate Court, although properly stating that the

Petitioner’s defense at trial was that of diminished

20

responsibility stated, again in reference to the District

Court decision, that the Petitioner “had the capacity to

appreciate the wrongfulness of his conduct and to conform

his conduct to the law” (App. 6 of the Opinion of the

Court of Appeals; emphasis added), when such a statement

is only applicable to the issue of insanity. The Appellate

Court in analyzing the Petitioner’s behavior, stated

that the Petitioner conducted himself in a rational and

business-like manner. This determination flies in the

face of the testimony of Dr. Barry M. Crown, who

testified that the Petitioner could demonstrate behavior

which to the casual observer was proper and appropriate

under the circumstances when he was in fact experiencing

a psychotic episode. (TR: 236).

In light of the Trial Court’s and Appellate Court's

discussion of the Petitioner’s defense and the fact that

both Courts have viewed this defense as if it was the

defense of “insanity”, the Petitioner was denied due

process of law and was denied a fair trial because the

Courts failed to address the defense that was presented.

21

SUMMARY

When Government Agents enter an individual's

hotel room without a warrant and absent exigent

circumstances arrest him and search areas not within

the person’s, immediate control under the ruse of a

“search incident to an arrest”, this type of activity is

condemned by this Court in Payton vs. New York,

supra, and Chimel vs. California, supra.

It is submitted that the Circuit Court’s ruling with

regard to the Petitioner’s Motion to Suppress the evidence

is in direct conflict with Payton vs. New York, supra,

Roaden vs. Kentucky, supra, and Chimel vs. California,

supra, and the Fourth Amendment to the United States

Constitution.

It is further submitted that the Appellate Court's

and the Trial Court’s rulings with regard to the

Petitioner’s defense of diminished responsibility and

their failure to adequately address that defense violates

the Petitioner’s Fifth and Sixth Amendment protections

under the United States Constitution.

Upon the foregoing, it is respectfully submitted

that Certiorari should be granted to Petitioner RICHARD

PALUMBO.

CONCLUSION

Based upon the foregoing reasons, a Writ of

Certiorari should issue to review the judgment and

opinion of the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

LAW OFFICES OF

RICHARD B. MARX

Attorney for Petitioner

2250 S.W. Third Avenue,

Third Floor

Miami, Florida 33129

(305) 854-1555

BY: /s/ RICHARD B. MARX

RICHARD B. MARX

DATED: September 10, 1984

23

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, RICHARD B. MARX, a member of the Bar of

the Supreme Court of the United States and counsel of

record for RICHARD PALUMBO, Petitioner herein,

hereby certify that on September 14, 1984, pursuant to

Rule 28, Rules of the Supreme Court, I served three (3)

copies of the foregoing Petition for Writ of Certiorari

on each of the parties herein as follows:

On the United States of America, Respondent herein,

by depositing such copies in the United States Post

Office, Miami, Florida with first class postage, prepaid,

properly addressed to the post office address of the

Honorable Rex E. Lee, Solicitor General, the above

named Respondent's counsel of record, at the Department

of Justice, Washington, D.C. 20530.

On the United States of America, Respondent herein,

by depositing such copies in the United States Post

Office, Miami, Florida, with first class postage prepaid,

properly addressed to the post office address of ROBERT

T. HAAR, the above named Respondent’s counsel of

record, at 1114 Market Street, Room 414, St. Louis,

Missouri 63101.

24

All parties required to be served have been served.

DATED: September 14, 1984.

ls| RICHARD B. MARX

RICHARD B. MARX

LAW OFFICES OF

RICHARD B. MARX

2250 S.W. Third Avenue,

Third Floor

Miami, Florida 33129

(305) 854-1555

25

Appendix

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

NO. 83-2153

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee,

v.

Richard Palumbo,

Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Missouri.

Submitted: March 16, 1984

Filed: June 7, 1984

Before HEANEY, BRIGHT, and McMILLIAN,

Circuit Judges.

BRIGHT, Circuit Judge.

Richard Palumbo appeals from his conviction, after

a bench trial,’ of conspiracy to distribute cocaine and

possession of cocaine with intent to distribute in violation

of 21 U.S.C. §§846 and 841(a)(1). We affirm.

Palumbo makes two allegations of error on appeal:

(1) that the district court erred in admitting into evidence

'The Honorable Clyde S. Cahill, United States District Judge

for the Eastern District of Missouri.

App. 1

cocaine seized from his hotel room by law enforcement

officers upon a non-consensual, warrantless entry; and

(2) that the evidence failed to establish that Palumbo

formed the necessary specific intent to commit the

crimes charged because he allegedly suffers from a

mental disease or defect as a result of an illness and

the medication prescried therefor.

I. Background.

For approximately sixteen years, Palumbo has

suffered from ulcerative colitis, a serious systematic

disease involving nonspecific inflammation of the colon

and the rectum. The predominant symptoms are

gastrointestinal — abdominal pain, cramps, nausea,

vomitting, loss of appetite, weight loss, and diarrhea.

He takes, and has for many years, heavy doses of

steroids to treat his condition.

The transaction leading to Paiumbo’s arrest and

conviction had its beginnings in December of 1981 in

Missouri. Palumbo’s co-defendant, Gary Millner, went

to the home of a friend, Byron Valier, to get some

cocaine. While he was there, Millner told Valier that he

had a source for cocaine in Florida. Nothing developed

as a result of this conversation until March of 1982,

when Valier, who was by then cooperating with

government agents, went to Florida for a vacation. He

contacted Millner, who had since moved to Florida, and

asked him to arrange a meeting with his source. Valier,

Millner, and Palumbo met on March 19, 1982, to arrange

a sale. Palumbo agreed to deliver a quantity of cocaine

to Valier in St. Louis and allow Valier, or his ultimate

buyer, to examine it before purchasing it.

App. 2

Millner and Palumbo arrived in St. Louis on April

16, 1982, and arranged with Valier to complete the sale

the next day. The following morning, Millner called

Valier and instructed him to come to Room 678 alone at

noon with his money. When Valier entered Room 678,

he was, unbeknownst to Palumbo and Millner, wearing

a device to transmit their conversation to agents listening

in another room. After showing Valier the cocaine,

Palumbo gave a sample to Valier and Millner, who

were to take it to Valier’s buyer waiting in another

room, allow him to inspect it, and return with the

money. As Valier and Millner opened the door to leave,

law enforcement officers announced their presence and,

with badges displayed and weapons drawn, entered

the room and arrested Millner and Palumbo. After

learning from Valier where Palumbo hid the cocaine,

the officers retrieved it from behind a dresser drawer.

II. Discussion.

A. Search and Seizure.

Palumbo argues that the district court erred in

refusing to suppress the cocaine seized from his hotel

room because (1) exigent circumstances did not justify

the officers’ non-consensual, warrantless entry, and (2)

the warrantless search was not justified as a search

incident to arrest. After reviewing the testimony at

the suppression hearing, we conclude that the district

court’s decision to deny Palumbo’s motion to suppress

was not clearly erroneous.

App. 3

1. Exigent Circumstances.

The officers originally planned that Valier would

go to Palumbo’s hotel room, get the cocaine sample,

and take it alone to Room 684, where his “buyer,”

Detective Zambo, was waiting. Zambo, carrying the

money to “complete the transaction,” would then return

to Palumbo’s room with Valier to make the arrests.

While Valier was in Palumbo’s room, however, the

officers learned, via the transmitter on Valier, that

Millner intended to accompany Valier to Room 684 to

get the money. This posed a problem for the officers.

Because Zambo could not actually give Millner the

money, he would be forced to arrest Millner in Room

684. The officers feared, however, that Palumbo would

become suspicious when Millner failed to return in a

short time and would destroy or remove the cocaine

before they could obtain a warrant for his arrest. Their

only alternative, they believed, was to arrest both

Millner and Palumbo as Valier and Millner opened the

door to leave. We believe that the officers’ fear that

Palumbo would become suspicious and destroy to cocaine

was reasonable, and created an exigency sufficient to

justify the warrantless entry and arrest. See United

States v. Wentz, 686 F.2d 653, 657 (8th Cir. 1982); United

States v. Eddy, 660 F.2d 381, 384 (8th Cir. 1981).

That the officers might have obtained a warrant

before going to the hotel is not fatal to the finding that

exigent circumstances justified their entry. The officers

were conducting an ongoing investigation, and were

not required to seek a warrant as soon as they had

probable cause to suspect a conspiracy to distribute

cocaine. Rather, they could legitimately wait in order

to gather additional evidence of conspiracy and to establish

App. 4

probable cause for the possession offense. See United

States v. Hultgren, 713 F.2d 79, 87 (5th Cir. 1983). That

the exigency might have been foreseeable does not

invalidate the entry and arrest. The important point is

that the exigency, while perhaps not unexpected, was

not created by the officers. Jd. at 88.

2. Search Incident to Arrest.

Palumbo also contends that even if exigent

circumstances justified the officers’ entry, their

subsequent search was not justified as a search incident

to arrest. Palumbo argues that the cocaine, hidden

behind a dresser drawer, was inaccessible to him because

he was handcuffed and in the presence of several officers.

The record does not unequivocally support this assertion.

Detective Zambo’s testimony at the suppression hearing

indicates that Palumbo was not handcuffed when the

officers retrieved the cocaine from behind the drawer

within an arm’s reach from where Palumbo sat. Moreover,

accessibility, as a practical matter, is not the benchmark.

The question is whether the cocaine was in the area

within the immediate control of the arrestee within the

meaning of Chimel v. California, 395 U.S. 752, 763 (1969).

This rule defines the area generally which may be-

searched, and is not constrained because the arrestee

is unlikely at the time of the arrest to actually reach

into that area. See New York v. Belton, 453 U.S. 454,

459-60 (1981) (police may search passenger compartment

of car after police have ordered passenger to leave the

vehicle); United States v. Sanders, 631 F.2d 1309, 1313

(8th Cir. 1980).

App-5

B. Diminished Responsibility.

At trial, Palumbo sought to establish the defense

of diminished responsibility, introducing expert testimony

that steroids can cause psychotic behavior and that

Palumbo, because of the steroids, suffered from a mental

impairment that adversely affected his ability to formulate

the requisite intent. The district court rejected his

defense, concluding that Palumbo suffered from no serious

mental disease or disorder and had the capacity to

appreciate the wrongfulness of his conduct and to conform

his conduct to the law. The district court determined,

beyond a reasonable doubt, that Palumbo knowingly,

willfully, and intentionally agreed to distribute cocaine

and knowingly, willfully, and intentionally possessed

cocaine with intent to distribute.’

Ample evidence supports the district court’s

determination. The crimes charged involved a transaction

which occurred over a period of a month. In handling

the transaction, Palumbo conducted himself in a rational

and businesslike manner. When he met with Valier in

Florida, he worked out the details of the transaction,

required payment in cash, discussed the physical

attributes of the cocaine he was to sell, and assured

Valier as to the quality of his intended purchase. In St.

Louis, he continued to orchestrate the transaction.

Palumbo registered at the Stouffer’s Riverfront Inn

*Palumbo asserts that the district court addressed an insanity

defense rather than one of diminished responsibility. We disagree.

The district court rejected the insanity defense and expressly

found that the evidence established that Palumbo possessed the

requisite intent necessary to establish his guilt.

App. 6

and paid for the room. When Valier came to Room 678,

Palumbo showed him the cocaine under a Panasonic

light scope, discussed its quality, and scraped off a

sample for Valier to take to his buyer. He also figured

the purchase price of the cocaine, given the quantity

for sale and the agreed-upon price.

The arrangement required Palumbo to obtain cocaine

and transport it from Florida to Missouri without detection

by authorities. The evidence indicates that potential

detection concerned Palumbo, and that he took precautions

to avoid detection. Before agreeing to meet with Valier,

Palumbo asked Millner for assurances that Valier was

not a police officer. He transported the cocaine by car

rather than by plane because of the danger of detection

in airports. On the way to St. Louis, he did not exceed

the speed limit, which was unusual according to the

Millner, and had a radio in the car to detect police

surveillance. As they waited at the hotel to complete

the transaction, Palumbo asked Millner for a description

of Valier’s car and watched for Valier’s arrival from the

window. In addition, he insisted that only Valier, and

not Valier’s ultimate purchaser, come to Room 678 to

complete the transaction. In light of this evidence, the

court did not err in concluding that Palumbo had the

requisite intent to commit the crimes charged.

Affirmed.

McMILLIAN, Circuit Judge, concurring.

I fully agree with the majority opinion’s analysis

of Palumbo’s steroid psychosis — diminished responsibility

defense. I do not agree with the majority opinion’s

analysis of the fourth amendment issues and write

App. 7

separately only to set forth my position. However,

even assuming that the warrantless arrest was not

justified by exigent circumstances or that the cocaine

was not seized from an area within the defendants’

immediate control, I think the failure to suppress was

harmless error. Accordingly, I concur in the affirmance

of the judgment of the district court.

First, I agree that the government agents were

not required to seek an arrest or search warrant as

soon as they had probable cause to suspect a conspiracy

to distribute cocaine. “[T]he government may [delay an

arrest] in the hope of ferreting out any hitherto unknown

individuals involved in the illicit undertakings, gathering

additional evidence substantiating the crimes believed

to have been committed, or discovering any other offenses

in which the suspects are involved.” United States v.

Hultgren, 713 F.2d 79, 87 (5th Cir. 1983). Cf. Payton v.

New York, 445 U.S. 573 (1980) (“routine” felony arrest

following investigation). See generally 2 W. LaFave,

Search and Seizure §6.1, at 391-92 (1978 & Supp. 1984).

However, the ongoing nature of the investigation is

only one factor to be considered in determining the

reasonableness of the warrantless arrest. United States

v Hultgren, 713 F.2d at 87. Another factor to be considered

in determining reasonableness is the opportunity to

obtain a warrant. See Vale v. Louis‘ana, 399 U.S. 30, 40

(1979) (Black, J., dissenting). Here, the agents’ knowledge

of the conspirators’ plan was accurate and relatively

complete at least several hours before the transaction

was to occur; this was not a rapidly developing situation.

I am not satisfied with the government's justification

for the warrantless arrest. The articulated precipitating

cause of the exigent circumstances in the present case

App. 8

was the government agent’s inability to transfer the

buy money to Millner,’ which would have forced the

agents to arrest Millner in the agents’ hotel room.

Millner’s failure to return to Palumbo’s hotel room

with the money would have made Palumbo nervous

and caused him to destroy or remove the cocaine before

the agents could obtain a warrant. I do not doubt that

this is a plausible sequence of events. However, in my

opinion, the agent’s understandable anxiety about the

transfer of the money alone cannot justify the warrantless

arrest. The agent’s inability to transfer the money,

although admittedly not “created” by the government

in the sense that it was not purposely arranged, would

be characteristic of a drug investigation where the actual

transaction is effected through a third party. I would

distinguish the circumstances in the present case from

those in United States vu. Hultgren, 713 F.2d at 87, in

which the unexplained failure of a transmitter worn by

the government informer during the transaction created

the genuine concern that the informer had been discovered

and that his life and those of the agents conducting the

surveillance were in danger.’

For these reasons I would conclude that the

warrantless arrest was not justified by exigent

circumstances and would hold that the district court

‘Cf. United States v. Joyce, 693 F.2d 838, 840 (8th Cir. 1982)

(reference to Drug Enforcement Administration guidelines prohibiting

transfer of illegal drugs into physical possession of persons under

investigation).

*The court in United States v. Hultgren, 713 F.2d 79, 88 (5th

Cir. 1983), concluded that the district court had properly found

App. 9

erred in failing to suppress all the evidence seized as a

result, including the cocaine.

Alternatively, assuming that the warrantless arrest

was justified by exigent circumstances, I would remand

the immediate control question to the district court for

additional findings and further consideration. I agree

that the critical question is whether the cocaine was in

an area within Palumbo’s “immediate control.” After

reviewing the record, however, I think several points

which are material to the question of immediate control

were not considered by the district court. For example,

Professor LaFave suggests that “the relevant facts

are those which show (i) what places it would be possible

for the arrestee presently to reach, and (ii), perhaps of

somewhat lesser importance, how probable it is that

the arrestee would undertake to seek means of resistance

or escape or to destroy evidence,” 2 W. LaFave, Search

and Seizure §6.3, at 415 (emphasis in original, footnote

omitted), and outlines the following factors as relevant

(Footnote 2 Continued)

that exigent circumstances justified the warrantless arrests after

considering the following factors:

the home invaded was [that of a third party], the arrest

was precipitated amidst an ongoing investigation and its

attendant uncertainties, the period of time which elapsed

before the exigent circumstances arose was relatively

short, and the precipitating factors for the arrest [, while

not unexpected,] were not deliberately created by the

government.

App. 10

to the question of where it would be possible for the

arrestee to reach:

(1) Whether or not the arrestee was placed

in some form of restraints. .. .

(2) The position of the officer vis-a-vis the

defendant in relation to the place searched.

(3) The ease or difficulty of gaining access

within the container or enclosure searched.

Certainly “the accessibility of the searched

area’ should be taken into account. .. .

(4) The number of officers present in relation

to the numer of arrestees or other persons.

Because “the physical control of the situation

exercised by the police’ is an important

consideration, it is most relevant to take account

of the number of police officers on the scene.

Id. at 415-16 (footnotes omitted).

In the present case it is unclear from the record

whether the defendants were handcuffed at the time of

the search; if so, whether they were handcuffed with

their hands behind their backs, a position of restraint

which would make any use of the hands much more

difficult; whether the defendants were seated on the

floor or in chairs or on the beds; how many agents were

in the hotel room; and where the agents were positioned

in relation to the defendants and the dresser. In addition,

the record clearly indicates that the cocaine was taped

behind the dresser drawer, a factor which limited its

App. 11

accessibility to even a desperate arrestee. For these

reasons, I would remand the immediate control question

to the district court for additional findings and further

consideration.

However, even assuming that the evidence seized*®

should have been suppressed, either because the

warrantless arrest was not justified by exigent

circumstances or, if the arrest was lawful, because the |

search was not of an area within the defendants’

immediate control, I would conclude that the failure to

suppress was harmless error. This was a bench-tried

case. The remaining evidence overwhelmingly supports

the district court’s finding that Palumbo was guilty of

conspiracy to distribute and possession with intent to

distribute. The government investigation was

substantially complete before the warrantless arrest

and seizure of the cocaine, and the government informant,

Palumbo’s coconspirator Millner and one of the

government agents testified about the conspiracy,

Palumbo’s involvement in the conspiracy and his

possession of the cocaine. Moreover, although the cocaine

and other items indicative of drug transactions were

physical evidence which connected Palumbo to the criminal

conduct charged, possession of the cocaine at the time

of the seizure is not an essential element of the crime

of conspiracy to distribute cocaine. Cf. United States v.

Byers, 600 F.2d 1130, 1132 (5th Cir. 1979) (possession of

‘If the arrest was unlawful, all the evidence seized from the

hotel room and Palumbo’s person should have been suppressed. If

the arrest was lawful, all the evidence except the cocaine, which

was not in plain view or in an area within the defendants’ immediate

control, was lawfully seized incident to arrest or in plain view.

App. 12

marijuana at the time of the seizure is not an essential

element of the crimes of conspiring to possess marijuana

with the intent to distribute it or of conspiracy to

import marijuana with the intent to distribute it).

Similarly, although possession of the cocaine is an essential

element of the crime of possession with intent to

distribute, the government does not have to introduce

the cocaine itself to establish possession.

Accordingly, I concur in the affirmance of the

judgment of the district court.

A true copy.

ATTEST:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS, EIGHTH

CIRCUIT.

App. 13

[FILED (Illegible)]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

EASTERN DIVISION

Case No. 82-98 CR (4)

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff,

v.

RICHARD PALUMBO,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

On April 22, 1982, the grand jury for the Eastern

District of Missouri returned a two count indictment

charging Richard Palumbo and Gary Millner with a

conspiracy to distribute cocaine, in violation of §841(a\(1),

Title 21, U.S.C. On June 29, 1982, the Court accepted

defendant Millner’s guilty plea to Count II of the

indictment. Defendant Palumbo waived his right to a

trial by jury and the case was tried to the Court on

May 25 and 26, 1982. For the reasons detailed below,

the Court finds the defendant guilty as charged in the

indictment.

The evidence at trial indicated that Gary Millner

had known Byron A. Valier for several years and that

during this association both Valier and Millner traded

and used illegal drugs. In December of 1981 Millner

went to Valier’s house in order to obtain a small amount

App. 14

of cocaine for the personal use of he and his friends.

During the negotiation for this cocaine, Millner told

Valier that he had a source for cocaine in Florida who

could obtain large quantities of relatively pure cocaine.

Nothing came of this conversation until several weeks

later when Valier was approached by Special Agents of

the Drug Enforcement Administration and asked if he

would cooperate with them in some drug investigations.

An agreement was subsequently reached between the

Government and Valier (Government Exhibit #12)

whereby in return for his cooperation Valier would not

be charged with any drug offense which had a maximum

term of imprisonment of over five years.

On March 10, 1982, Valier, who was then cooperating

with the Government, went to Key Biscayne, Florida,

for a vacation. During the time that Valier was in

Florida he had several telephone conversations and

meetings with Millner. Valier asked Millner to arrange

a meeting with the source so that a drug sale could

take place. After repeated attempts, Millner finally

reached Palumbo and discussed the Valier proposal!

with him. Palumbo asked for assurances from Millner

that Valier was not a police officer and that he had the

money necessary to purchase the cocaine.

A meeting between the three eventually took place

at the Key Biscayne Resort and Villa on March 19,

1982. During the conversation various details of the

proposed sale were discussed. Palumbo told Valier that

he could obtain large amounts of relatively pure cocaine

for him. Palumbo told Valier that delivery in St. Louis

was possible, that Valier could examine the cocaine

prior to purchase, and that the payment had to be

made in cash.

App. 15

At one point during the conversation Valier showed

Palumbo a quantity of powder which Valier stated was

cocaine. Palumbo took some of the powder and placed

it on his hand. Palumbo commented that the “cocaine”

was not very good and that he could obtain some cocaine

that Valier could work with. During the conversation

Valier and Palumbo discussed whether the cocaine would

have an “ether or acetone wash.” At some point during

the conversation a maid knocked on the door and uttered

a statement in Spanish. Palumbo turned to the door

and responded immediately in Spanish. As the meeting

ended it was agreed that Valier and Millner would

remain in contact and work out the details of the

transaction and then contact Palumbo.

During the ensuing weeks there were several

telephone conversations between Millner in Florida

and Valier in St. Louis attempting to set a date for the

delivery of the cocaine in St. Louis. On several occasions,

however, the intended delivery was postponed.

Eventually Palumbo called Millner and stated that

he was then obtaining the cocaine and would come by

Millner’s house in Florida that evening to begin the

drive to St. Louis. Some hours later Palumbo arrived

and displayed to Millner the cocaine which he had just

obtained. Palumbo stated that the cocaine was very

good and that Valier would be pleased with it.

Sometime prior to driving with the cocaine from

Florida to St. Louis, Palumbo and Millner had a

conversation about alternate methods of transportation.

Palumbo stated that since dogs who could detect drugs

were used at airports, air transportation was dangerous.

Palumbo stated that driving the cocaine to St. Louis

App. 16

would be safer. As they began the drive to St. Louis

Palumbo showed Millner a radio which he had in the

car. Palumbo stated that the radio could be used to

detect police surveillance. Although Millner observed

that Palumbo generally drove very rapidly, Palumbo

stayed at the speed limit during the Florida to St.

Louis trip.

Upon arrival in St. Louis, Palumbo and Millner

checked into Room 678 of the Stouffer’s Riverfront

Inn. Palumbo asked Millner to call Valier to advise him

that they were in St. Louis with the cocaine and ready

to transact their business that evening. When Valier

teld Millner that his money was not available that

evening, they agreed to finalize the arrangement the

following day. That evening Millner and Palumbo went

to a Cardinal’s baseball game and later visited Laclede’s

Landing.

The following morning, Saturday, April 17, 1982,

Palumbo and Milliner rose at approximately 10:00 a.m.

Shortly thereafter Millner called Valier to finalize their

arrangements. During the waiting period, Palumbo

commented to Millner that he hoped that Valier was

not a police officer and that the deal would go smoothly

so that they could get out of St. Louis and return to

Florida. Palumbo was insistent with Millner that only

Valier come into the room to transact the business and

that Valier’s ultimate purchaser (Detective Zambo) not

be allowed into the room. Palumbo also asked Millner

for the description of Valier’s car. As they waited for

Valier to arrive, Palumbo was looking out the window

of the hotel room and eventually saw Valier’s car arrive.

He stated that he could not understand why the car

was circling. Also that morning, Millner saw Palumbo

App. 17

make some handwritten notations. (Government Exhibits

7 and 8.)

Valier eventually arrived at their room and was,

unknown to Palumbo and Millner, wearing a device to

record the conversation. (Government Exhibits 3a and

3b.)' As Valier entered the room he exchanged greeting

with Palumbo. The cocaine was removed from a dresser

or desk drawer and shown to Valier with a Panasonic

light scope provided by Palumbo. (Government Exhibit

4.) They discussed both the quality and quantity of the

xeaine Palumbo had brought. Palumbo then scraped

off a sample of the cocaine and placed it on a one dollar

bill. Valier and Millner were then to take the sample

(Government Exhibit 1) to the room occupied by Valier’s

purchaser, allow an inspection of the cocaine, and return

with the full purchase price. Valier opened the door to

leave Room 678. DEA agents then announced their

presence and with badges displayed and weapons drawn

entered the room and arrested Millner and Palumbo.

Palumbo and Millner were both placed in a seated

position in the hotel room and advised of their

constitutional rights by DEA Task Force Detective

Robert Zambo. As they were seated, within arm’s reach

of the desk or dresser, the cocaine was removed from

the drawer and seized. (Government Exhibit 1.) From

the hotel room the agents also seized the Panasonic

light scope (Government Exhibit 4) and torn pieces of

paper containing arithmetic notations (Government

‘Although agents were monitoring the transmission of the

conversation in Room 678, the agents at that time did not know

whether other co-conspirators were in the room at the hotel and

did not know whether Palumbo or Millner were armed.

App. 18

Exhibit 8). From Palumbo’s person were seized two

conversion charts showing metric and United States

weight equivalents (Government Exhibit 5), a Dial-A-

Page rental agreement (Government Exhibit 6), and a

piece of paper containing arithmetic notations indicating

the quantity of the cocaine and its price (Government

Exhibit 7).

Both Millner and Palumbo stated that they

understood their constitutional rights. They were

subsequently removed from the hotel room and taken

before the Honorable David D. Noce, United States

Magistrate, for their initial appearance. Millner and

Palumbo were then conveyed to the St. Louis County

Jail where they were detained over the weekend. During

the weekend in the jail Palumbo made several comments

to Millner about the trouble in which they currently

found themselves.

During its case in chief, the United States called

Bryon Valier, Gary Millner, and Detective Zambo as its

witnesses. Valier related his conversations with Palumbo

in Florida on March 19, 1982, and in St. Louis on April

17, 1982. He stated that at all times Palumbo conducted

himself in a rational, coherent, and businesslike fashion.

Milner testified as a result of a plea agreement reached

with the United States in which he entered a plea of

guilty to Count II of the present indictment, cooperated

with the Governmewt, and would have the United States

move for an order dismissing Count I at the time of his

sentencing. All cooperation provided by Millner is to

be made known to the sentencing Court. Millner related

his conversations with Palumbo and Palumbo’s concern

that Valier might be a police officer. He also related

Palumbo’s conversations about the danger of transporting

App. 19

drugs through airports, his caution in driving to St.

Louis, and the fact that he had never seen Palumbo

take any prescribed medications. Both Valier and Millner

identified a photograph of Palumbo (Government Exhibit

10) as what the defendant looked like during the times

that they dealt with him.

Detective Zambo testified about the investigation

which resulted in the warrantless arrests and seizures

on April 17, 1982. He testified that at his arrest Palumbo

stated that he understood each of the rights which

were read to him. Detective Zambo also testified that

he took a personal history of the defendant (Government

Exhibit 9) and that all of the information provided by

the defendant later proved to be accurate. Zambo also

testified that he found no prescribed medication in any

of Palumbo’s personal effects.

The Government and the defense entered into a

Stipulation of Anticipated Testimony that a qualified

forensic chemist would testify that the sample of cocaine

provided by Palumbo to Valier (Government Exhibit 1)

weighed approximately .20 grams and was 79% pure

cocaine. The stipulation also stated that the cocaine

seized from the drawer (Government Exhibit 2) of the

hotel room weighed approximately 245.10 grams and

was 66% pure cocaine.

During defendant’s defense both of his parents

testified for him. Both related incidents surrounding

the defendant’s childhood and the onset of ulcerative

colitis. Both noted changes in the behavior of the defendant

after the onset of this disease and both testified about

various periods of hospitalization and prescribed

medications. Mrs. Palumbo testified that the defendant

App. 20

read everything he could about ulcerative colitis and

was withdrawn and distraught about the disease and

with the keeping of appointments with his doctors.

Dr. Escoto’s deposition was read at the trial. He

diagnosed the defendant’s mental disease or defect as

a personality disorder further defined as an emotionally

unstable personality. (Escoto Deposition p.47.) Escoto

further testified that in his opinion the defendant did

not have the sufficient mental capacity to appreciate

the wrongfulness of his conduct on April 17, 1982.

(Escoto Deposition p.25.) He testified that the prolonged

use of steriods can produce psychosis, transient-psychosis,

and personality changes. (Escoto Deposition p.23.)

Dr. Escoto, however, testified that Palumbo was

logical, coherent, oriented to time, place, and person,

suffered no impairment of remote or recent memory,

suffered from no delusions or hallucinations, and was

in touch with reality. Escoto Deposition pp.26-29.) He

also testified that at the time of his interview Palumbo

suffered from no active psychosis or organic brain

dysfunction. (Escoto Deposition p.31.) Dr. Escoto also

testified that:

“he [Palumbo] was not psychotic when I talked

to him. In other words, at the time he was not

psychotic. He was able to talk, to be coherent

in his thinking. He didn’t show any evidence

of psychosis — active psychosis at that time.”

(Escoto Deposition p.15.)

James T. O’Donnell, a pharmacist with impressive

credentials, testified about the dangerous side effects

App. 21

of steriods. He stated that in any amount exceeding

replacement value, steroids can cause delirium,

hallucination, neurosis, euphoria, and an inability to

think. He testified that when treatment by steroids

terminates the patient returns to his or her normal

state within a brief period of time.

The deposition of Robert F. DeLuca, M.D., a board

certified gastroenterologist, was also admitted into

evidence at the trial. Dr. DeLuca, the physician who

treated the defendant for ulcerative colitis, offered

evidence about the disease itself and the recommended

treatment. He stated that large doses of Prednisone

and Cortisone by enema were prescribed by him for

the defendant for at least five years. DeLuca testified

that Prednisone can cause euphoria, inappropriate and

irrational behavior, problems in intellect, memory

association, orientation, and flagrant psychotic behavior,

including paranoia. He added that steroids can cause

facial swelling and an accumulation of fat in the trunk

of the body causing what is described as a “buffalo

lump.” (DeLuca Deposition pp.15-16.) He added that

the use of steroids can be associated with “steriod

psychosis” which he explained to be a disturbance in

intellect, memory, association, and orientation of the

patient that can manifest itself in bizarre behavior. He

added that, in his opinion, the behavior of the defendant

was “consistent with steriod psychosis.” (DeLuca

Deposition pp.18-19). Dr. DeLuca also testified that

there was no way to determine whether the defendant

was actually taking the amount of drug prescribed and

that there were periods when he could feel perfectly

normal. (DeLuca Deposition pp.26,30.)

App. 22

Barry M. Crown, Ph.D., a forensic psychologist,

testified that he performed a psychological evaluation

of the defendant after reviewing medical records of his

prior diagnosis and treatment. Dr. Crown testified that

the defendant suffered from apparent psychotic behavior

and that he was unable to weigh all of the alternatives

of his action. He noted that the defendant was not well

organized and that his thoughts were not realistic. He

added that the defendant had graduated from high

school with a 3.8 average on a 4.0 scale and had done

some further studies at the University of Miami.

Moisy Shopper, M.D., was the final psychiatrist

called by the defense. Dr. Shopper testified that he

interviewed the defendant and found him to be remorseful.

Dr. Shopper testified that the defendant was not psychotic,

but was socially immature and had a pervasive

developmental defect. He stated that he had not read

the investigative report compiled by the Drug

Enforcement Administration in this matter and that

his opinion regarding the defendant's ability to distinguish

right from wrong would be altered had he known that

Palumbo had stated to Millner his concerns that Valier

might be a police officer.

In rebuttal the United States called Joseph S.

Shuman, M.D. Dr. Shuman testified that he had

interviewed the defendant after reviewing the

investigative report. Dr. Shuman stated that the defendant

suffered from no mental disease or defect recognized

by the American Psychiatrie Association Diagnostic &

Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (8d Ed. 1980)

(DSMIII). Dr. Shuman testified that the defendant was

not psychotic, schizophrenic, or suffering from any

delusions or hallucinations. After reviewing the

App. 23

investigative report, interviewing the defendant, and

reading the reports of Drs. Escoto, Shopper, and Crown,

he formed the opinion that the defendant suffered from

no serious mental disease or defect, had a substantial

capacity to understand and appreciate right from wrong,

and had a substantial capacity to conform his conduct

to the requirements of law.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

From the evidence detailed above the Court finds,

beyond a reasonable doubt, that during the period

alleged in the indictment Richared Palumbo and Gary

Millner had an agreement to possess cocaine with the

intent to distribute it to Byron Valier. It is clear from

the evidence that Palumbo and Millner agreed to obtain

cocaine in Florida, somehow transport it to St. Louis,

and to eventually sell it to Valier.

It is equally clear that on April 17, 1982, Palumbo

and Millner posssesed a quantity of cocaine in St. Louis

which they intended to sell to Valier. It is undisputed

from the evidence that on that day Palumbo and Millner

did, in fact, distribute a sample of the cocaine to Valier

intending that he show it to his buyer in order to

accomplish a sale of the entire amount of cocaine brought

to St. Louis by Palumbo and Millner.

In order to sustain its burden on Count I of the

present indictment, the Government must prove beyond

a reasonable doubt that:

1) Two or more persons agreed to distribute

cocaine, and

App. 24

2) the defendant knowingly and voluntarily

joined in the agreement.

See e.g., United States v. Garcia, 655 F.2d 59 (5th Cir.

1981).

In order to sustain the charge in Count II of the

present indictment, the Government must prove beyond

a reasonable doubt that:

1) The defendant possessed cocaine, and

2) that the defendant possessed the cocaine

with the specific intent to distribute it, and

3) that the defendant did so knowingly and

intentionally.

The defense in the case, as noted earlier, was the

sanity of the defendant and his ability to form the

intent necessary to be held responsible for his actions.

In United States v. Frazier, 458 F.2d 911, 918 (8th

Cir. 1972), Judge Lay, writing for the majority, stated:

We therefore conclude that the A.L.I. [American

Law Institute] test is the rule to be followed in

this circuit: |

“(1) A defendant is insane within the meaning

of these instructions if, at the time of the

alleged criminal conduct, as a result of mental

disease or defect he lacks substantial capacity

either to appreciate the wrongfulness [footnote

App. 25

ommited] of his conduct or to conform his conduct

to the requirements of law.”

“(2) As used in this Article, the terms ‘mental

disease or defect’ do not include any abnormality

manifested only by repeated criminal or

otherwise antisocial conduct.

A defendant’s otherwise punishable conduct is,

therefore, excusable if:

1) at the time of the criminal conduct, and

2) as the result of a mental disease or defect,

3) the defendant lacked a substantial capacity

to appreciate the wrongfulness of his conduct,

or

4) the defendant lacked a substantial capacity

to conform his conduct to the requirements of

law.

The question of sanity is an issue for the fact

finder, unless a reasonable person, viewing the evidence

in the light most favorable to the Government must

necessarily possess a reasonable doubt as to the

defendant’s sanity. See, e.g., United States v. Dresser,

542 F.2d 737, 742 n.8 (8th Cir. 1976); Dusky vu. United

States, 295 F.2d 743, 755 (8th Cir. 1961), cert. denied,

368 U.S. 998 (1962); United States u Gilliss, 645 F.2d

1269, 1277 n.21 (8th Cir. 1981). Secondly, it should be

noted that lay testimony alone is sufficient for the

Government to meet its burden of showing that the

defendant was sane beyond a reasonable doubt. United

App. 26

States vu. Ming Sen Shiue, 650 F.2d 919, 923 (8th Cir.

1981); Kaufman v. United States, 350 F.2d 408, 413 (8th

Cir. 1965), cert. denied, 383 U.S. 951 (1966). Finally,

“ .. . lay testimony can be suiiicient to satisfy the

prosecution's burden of proving the defendant’s sanity,

even though there is expert testimony to the contrary.”

Dresser, supra, at 742. Dusky, supra, at 754. Perhaps

the reason for the later generality is that “in cases

involving opinions of medical experts, the probative

value of expert testimony is lessened when it is based

[as it was in many instances in the present case] on

subjective symptoms and narrative statement.” Dresser,

supra at 742. See also, Mason v. United States, 402 F.2d

732, 737-738 (8th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 394 U.S. (1969).

The use of Prednisone was discussed in United

States v. Dresser, 542 F.2d 737 (8th Cir. 1976). In that

case the defendant was convicted of the unlawful

possession of unregistered firearms in violation of §§

5861(d) and 581(f), Title 26, U.S.C. At trial he asserted a

defense of insanity.

During his own testimony Dresser stated that he

took quantities of Prednisone which was prescribed for

his severe attacks of bronchial asthma and emphysema.

He stated on direct examination that he also experienced

“confusion, extreme elation and depression” at different

times. Dresser, supra at 741. A defense psychiatrist

testified that Prednisone “could cause mental disturbance

such as euphoria, depression and psychotic effects. Jd.

A second defense psychiatrist testified that Dresser

lacked a substantial capacity either to appreciate the

wrongfulness of his conduct or to conform his conduct

to the requirements of law on the date of the offense.

App. 27

This psychiatrist stated that this lack of responsibility

was related to the use of Prednisone. /d.

On cross examination, however, the defendant

conceded that he was fully aware of his actions when

he constructed the unlawful bombs for which he was

charged, knew how the bombs worked, and that

construction of bombs had been his hobby for some

time.

The second defense psychiatrist testified that his

opinion regarding the defendant's lack of a substantial

capacity was based upon an examination of the defendant

four months after the offense and a “social history” as

related by the defendant and his spouse,

The Government called two lay witnesses who

had brief encounters with the defendant at the

approximate time of the offense charged in the indictment.

Both testified that the defendant’s behavior did not

appear unusual. Dresser, supra at 741. The arresting

officer testified that he advised Dresser of his

constitutional rights and that the defendant stated that

he understood them. The arresting officer further testified

that information which the defendant provided to him

at that time had proven to be accurate and that the

defendant did not appear to be confused. The agent

testified that at the time of the arrest he had a reasonable

conversation with the defendant

In affirming the conviction, the appellate court

noted that the value of the defense psychiatrist's

testimony reflecting that Prednisone was the major

cause of Dresser’s alleged mental problems was diminished

by the statement of another psychiatrist that Dresser

App. 28

did not behave in a psychotic manner under the effects

of the drug. “Moreover, Dresser’s own testimony indicates

that he understood the nature and consequences of his

actions when he constructed the pipe bombs.” Dresser,

supra at 742.

The issue presented to this Court, in light of all of

the above, is whether Palumbo could appreciate the

nature, quality, severity, and wrongfulness of his actions

in March and April of 1982. The answer, beyond any

doubt, is that he did.

It is clear that the crimes charged in this indictment

were not “spur of the moment” transactions. They

required Palumbo to obtain ten ounces of cocaine in

Florida and have that cocaine transported, without

detection, to Missouri. The record indicates that on at

least two key occasions Palumbo expressed concern to

Millner that Valier might be a police officer. Palumbo

first sought this assurance prior to the March 19th

meeting in Florida, and later while waiting for Valier

to arrive at the Stouffer’s Riverfront Inn on April 17th.

Palumbo had a conversation with Valier in Florida

concerning the quality and quantity of cocaine to be

obtained. Valier characterized Palumbo during this

meeting as rational, coherent, and businesslike.

Prior to coming to St. Louis with the cocaine,

Palumbo explained to Millner the dangers of transporting

cocaine through air terminals. Millner noted that although

Palumbo generally drove very rapidly, he stayed at the

speed limit during the trip from Florida to St. Louis

with the cocaine. Palumbo also had with him during the

trip a radio which he stated could be used to detect

police surveillance.

App. 29

Once in St. Louis, Palumbo made some notes clearly

describing the business transaction which was the purpose

of the trip. He had with him conversion charts showing

weight equivalence on both the metric and United States’

systems. A magnifying scope with an attached light

source was brought from Florida to allow a detailed

inspection of the quality of the cocaine. During the

actual transfer of the cocaine and the money, Palumbo

was insistent that no one other than Valier come into

Room 678. It is also noted that the sample to be taken

to the ultimate purchaser was selected by Palumbo.

The sample was, as is the usual case, of a higher purity

than the remainder.

Palumbo was able to understand the Miranda rights

read to him by the arresting officer, Detective Zambo.

The information provided by Palumbo to him regarding

his personal history proved to be accurate. During

their weekend in jail Palumbo made some comments to

Millner about the fact that they were in trouble. In

short, the acts of Palumbo in the present case were

similar to the actions of drug dealers whose actions are

designed to avoid arrest, and who have acted in a

normal manner.

From the above the Court finds, beyond a reasonable

doubt, that the defendant, Richard Palumbo, knowingly,

willfully, and intentionally agreed with Gary Millner to

distribute cocaine and that subsequently he knowingly,

willfully, and intentionally possessed cocaine with the

intent to distribute it. The court further finds, beyond

a reasonable doubt, that during this period Richard

Palumbo suffered from no serious mental disease or

defect, but had a substantial capacity to appreciate the

wrongfulness of his conduct and possessed a substantial

App. 30

capacity to conform his conduct to the requirements of

law.

The Court observes that defendant was, and is

today, suffering from a debilitating physical condition,

ulcerative colitis, and that he will probably need medical

and surgical attention for his malady well into the

future. But such physical maladies, troublesome and

painful though they be, do not give a cloak of immunity

to the defendant’s criminal actions.

There is no doubt that the disease has been crippling

and embarrassing and that defendant’s mental attitude

toward life may not be the same as that of a person in

normal health. But there is no proof that he suffered

from a serious mental disease or defect to such a degree

that he could not appreciate the wrongfulness of his

acts in drug dealing, or that he could not conform his

conduct to the requirements of the law. To the contrary,

the precautions he took to avoid arrest and prosecution

are the clearest indicators that he recognized the illegal

character of his conduct and would have been able to

conform his conduct to the law had he chosen to so do.

Physical maladies alone cannot be a shield against

convictions otherwise valid; to hold thus would be to

license all sick and crippled people to become criminals.

The physical illness of the defendant will come properly

before the Court at the imposition of an appropriate

sentence, which the Court will impose on July 29, 1983.

App. 31

The Court finds the defendant GUILTY as charged

as to both Counts 1 and 2.

SO ORDERED.

Dated this 4th day of June, 1983.

/s/_ Clyde S. Cahill

Clyde S. Cahill

United States District Judge

[FILED (Ilegible)]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

EASTERN DIVISION

Case No. 82-98 CR (4)

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff,

v.

RICHARD PALUMBO,

Defendant.

JUDGMENT AND ORDER

IT IS HEREBY ADJUDGED, DECLARED, and

DECREED that the Court finds Richard Palumbo, the

defendant in this action, GUILTY on both counts of.the

indictment.

Dated this 24th day of June, 1983.

ls} Clyde S. Cahill

Clyde S. Cahill

United States District Judge

App. 33

United States Court of Appeals

For the Eighth Circuit

No. 83-2153

September Term, 1983

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Missouri.

United States of America,

Appellee,

v8.

Richard Palumbo,

Appellant.

Petition of appellant for rehearing filed in this

cause having been considered, it is now here ordered

by this Court that the same be, and it is hereby, denied.

July 17, 1984

App. 34

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.