Petition for Writ of Certiorari — FitzPatrick v. DiMartino

Supreme Court brief1985

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

AA 1AQGse Office Supreme

34= 1090 Pr et oS

DEC

In The ~~

ALEXANLER L stEyas

Supreme Court of the United botestage=

October Term, 1984

HENRY B. FITZPATRICK, JR.,

Petitioner,

VS.

I. V. DIMARTINO, A.J.S.C. AND THE SUPERIOR COURT,

LAW DIVISION, GLOUCESTER COUNTY, NEW JERSEY,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

MARCY B. TANKER

LIEBERT, SHORT, FITZPATRICK &

LAVIN

Attorneys for Petitioner

Suite 1200

One Franklin Plaza

16th and Race Streets

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

(215) 564-5800

*NJ (201) 257-6850°NY (212) 840-9494°PA (215) 563-5587

MA (617) 542-1114°DC (202) 783-7288°USA (800) 5 APPEAL Ane,

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Was respondents’ refusal to admit petitioner pro hac vice

under New Jersey Court Rules, 1969, R. 1:21-2, in the absence

of a finding that he is unfit or that substantial reasons exist that

would justify his exclusion, a violation of rights secured to

petitioner under Article 1V, §2 of the United States Constitution

and under the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Question Presented for Review ......0escccesenennensns i

Table of COMUMMRE. 6.55005 cs50ee00605080s eee il

Table of CORSIOMS ...6icccd cis tacucksneeeeee eee il

Opinions Below . .....60ses0seeesusan be eeue eee l

Statement of Juriediction ..... .20 05 +05%% Gap eases eee 2

Constitutional Provisions, Statute and Rule Involved

ccececenceess sbue weve os 6 6 ae egies 2

Sistement of the Coes ....4.60 jac cvbudeee ee eee 4

Reason for Granting the Writ:

I. Respondents’ application of New Jersey Court Rules,

1969, R. 1:21-2 to deny petitioner’s motion for

admission pro hac vice is a violation of petitioner’s

rights secured to him by Article IV, §2 of the United

States Constitution and by the Fourteenth Amendment

to the United States Const tution. ............... 7

Conclusion ......00cessuanpm ce cee eee 28

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:

Austin v. New’ Hampshire, 104 S. Ct. 2149 (1984)

ii

Contents

Page

Baldwin v. Fish and Game Commission of Montana, 436 U.S.

na a a ake sea wae ein ea ak 9, 10, 12

Burlington Company Interna! Medicine Association, P.A. v.

American Medicorp, Inc., 168 N.J. Super. 382, 403 A.

Ce es os 5a eee deed weee ke ant 5, 14, 15

Cammer v. United States, 350 U.S. 399 (1956).......... 11

Chalker v. Birmingham & N.W.R. Co., 249 U.S. 522 (1919)

ee Gee bw ENS ee RE OS ¢ 8

Cooper v. Hutchinson, 184 F. 2d 119 (3d Cir. 1950) .... 21

Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330, 92 S. Ct. 995, 31 L. Ed.

eta Peas hk a oie kee ee eR ER OR ORR 10

Enquire Printing & Publishing Co. v. O’Reilly, 193 Conn.

Re ae GS a iS, 22. 2

pee V, Geen, 457 U.S. SIS CIFIS) .....00 00000 ceeee

oe sw sw wa B 10, 12, 13, 15, 1%, 27

In re Griffiths, 413 U.S. 717 (1973) ............ S,. Fi, ta ae

In re Mosness, 39 Wis. 509, 20 Am. Rep. 55 (1876)..... 21

In re Sackman, 90 N.J. 521, 448 A. 2d 1014 (1982)

LEST ON Ces de LS SP i7, 16, 19, , 24, 23, 26, 2?

ae Oa ee, Gow Wm. 408 CI979) 2... 2.0 c reece nwenn 5, am oF

Matter of Gordon, 48 N.Y. 2d 266, 422 N.Y.S. 2d 641, 397

re caucus bb aeesvevesabween 21

iv

Contents

Page

Matter of Jadd, 391 Mass. 227, 461 N.E. 2d 760 (1984)

Mullaney v. Anderson, 342 U.S. 415 (1952)............. 12

Noll v. Alaska Bar Association, 649 P. 2d 641 (Alaska 1982)

can ee Ue eR a aE REARS TREE ORR ETE R ERE: 21, 24, 25

Paul v. Virginia, & Wall. 166 (1066) .. 222s cess sccccces 7

Piper v. Supreme Court of New Hampshire, 104 S. Ct. 2149

Sai ata thce hy oh lmehog mo ty weeny 8, 18, 20, 22, 24, 27

Ross v. Reda, 510 F. 2d 1172 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 423

TR Re Eee ere Pe re eure ee te ok ye

Sargus v. West Virginia Board of Law Examiners, 294 S.E.

oF eA ee er ee oe 21

Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners, 353 U.S. 232 (1957)

Sairet ¢. Caetee, SSeS. 27 CISD 0 iiss ces senate 8

Sheley v. Alaska Bar Association, 620 P. 2d 640 (Alaska 1980)

Stalland v. South Dakota Board of Bar Examiners, £30 F.

Ree Gena as. Rs ce ced chee eS eade beeen 21, 24

Contents

Page

State v. Ross, 36 Ohio App. 2d 185, 304 N.E. 2d 396 (1973),

cort. Goubed, 415 17.5. FOG CORP cs cacadevk eee 22

Strauss v. Alabama State Bar, 520 F. Supp. 173 (N.D. Ala.

FOG ab cw bed eu dae e ks eae ere ee ace 21

Sugarman v. Dougall, 413 U.S. 634 (1973) ............. 10

Thursby v. Warren, 4 Car. 1, 19 Eng. Rep. 738 (C.P. 1629)

4:8 Gin dM hie CE RES EO Oo eee ee 21

Teomer v. Witesll, 334 U.S. 305 (IGE) 3... cn csnnecceees

tb ENDED DER ORES CREE 7, &, 9, 10, 02, 13, 2, 27

Travis v. Yale & Towne Mfg. Co., 252 U.S. 60 (1920)

56> ESE RN RRR RES EE ea ee ae ae 7

Ward v. Maryland, 12 Wall. 418 (1870)................ 8, 12

Statutes Cited:

Oe WBA... CE + 6 kno end ce ekieee eee eee 2

Se USA... Cis dink ahawas beeen eee eee 6

oe Was BL R65 5.55. 00s ed Gas ee en ee 6

Te LB. Gee 4 oi eae eked se 44 eee 2, 6

United States Constitution Cited:

FB a” eos i, 2 & 7, B, Od, 83, 6, ee

Fourteenth Amendment ...i, 2, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16, 28

vi

Contents

Page

Rules Cited:

New Jersey Court Rules, 1969, R. 1:21-2...............

ETE eT ee ets ee ee ee C34: 3.7% eS

Other Authorities Cited:

Note, Attorneys: Interstate and Federal Practice, 80 Harv.

L. Bak EVES Cer eee ss ox d caus Shak vote 21

Black’s Law Dictionary, at p. 1363 (rev. 4th ed. 1968)

Lee ee a vb¥ bbe ew kode Balak Oe ee ee eee 21

Brakel, S.J. & Loh, W.D., Regulating the Multistate Practice

of Law, 50 Wash. L. Rev. 699 (1975).............. 21

6 Holdsworth, A History of English Law, 435-476 (1924)

ied eek coma wena eee ke Se ee ee 21

Merrifield, The Law of Attornies, 41-44 (1830).......... 21

1 Thornton, A Treatise on Attornies at Law §22 (1914)... 21

APPENDIX

Order Dated September 21, 1984 of the United States Court

of Appenis for the Tite Cpt. oo. ic ccc eke ssis la

Letter-Opizion Dated January 31, 1984, United States District

Comet, EReraet GE TRE SOE vic bcc ue eeeece sci 3a

Transcript of Hearing Dated May 21, 1982 ............. 8a

vil

Contents

Page

Complaint for Preliminary and Permanent Injunction and

Decleratory JuGGMGM . ow... icc ccc ee cern deceucken 16a

Motion for Admission of Counsel Pro Hac Vice ........ 27a

ia

4)

~{

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1984

HENRY B. FITZPATRICK, JR.,

Petitioner,

VS.

I. V. DIMARTINO, A.J.S.C. AND THE SUPERIOR COURT,

LAW DIVISION, GLOUCESTER COUNTY, NEW JERSEY,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS tOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The Court of Appeals filed no opinion. The letter which

accompanied the order of the District Court is set forth in the

Appendix at 3a-6a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered September

21, 1984. This petition was filed within ninety days of that date.

Jurisdiction of this Court is conferred by 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,

STATUTE AND RULE INVOLVED

Article IV, §2 — Privileges and Immunities

Section 2. The Citizens of each State shall be

entitled to all Privileges and Immunities of Citizens

in the several States.

Amendment XIV

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in

the United States, and subject to the jurisdiction

thereof, are citizens of the United States and of

the State wherein they reside. No State shall make

or enforce any !aw which shall abridge the

privileges or immunities of citizens of the United

States; nor shall any State deprive any person of

life, liberty, or property, without due process of

law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction

the equal protection of the laws.

42 U.S.C. §1983 — Civil Action of Deprivation of Rights

Every person who, under color of any statute,

ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any

State or Territory or the District of Columbia,

subjects, or causes to be subjected, any citizen of

the United States or other person within the

jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any rights,

privileges, or immunities secured by the

Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the party

injured in an action at law, suit in equity, or other

proper proceeding for redress. For the purposes

of this section, any Act of Congress applicable

exclusively to the District of Columbia shall be

considered to be a statute of the District of

Columbia.

New Jersey Court Rules, 1969, R.1:21-2

Appearances Pro Hac Vice

An attorney of any other jurisdiction, of good

standing there, whether practicing law in such other

jurisdiction as an individual, or a meinber or

employee of a partnership, or an employee of a

profes ional! corporation authorized to practice law

in sucn other jurisdiction, or an attorney admitted

in this State, of good standing, who is not

domiciled in this State and who does not maintain

in this State his principal office for the practice

of law, may, at the discretion of the court in which

any matter is pending, be permitted, pro hac vice,

to speak in such matter in the same manner as an

attorney of this State who is domiciled in or

maintains in this State his principal office for the

practice of law; and who is therefore, pursuant

to R.1:21-l(a) authorized to practice in this State;

provided, however, that all pleadings, briefs and

other papers filed with the court shall be signed

by an attorney of record authorized to practice

in this State, who shall be held responsible for them

and for the conduct of the cause and of the

admitted attorney therein.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In the fall of 1981 Richard W. Coleman engaged petitioner,

Henry B. FitzPatrick, Jr., to represent him in his personal injury

claim against Roy.L. Gorin, M.D. The claim was based on Gorin’s

alleged negligence in his diagnosis and treatment of Coleman.

Both Coleman and Gorin were residents of New Jersey and all

the pertinent activities had taken place in that state. FitzPatrick

was (and still is) an attorney admitted to the bar of Pennsylvania

practicing primarily in Philadelphia and maintaining offices there

and in Delaware and Lycoming Counties, Pennsylvania.

On May 7, 1982, at FitzPatrick’s request, Diana B. Gittleman,

a member of the New Jersey Bar, filed a complaint entitled Richard

W. Coleman v. Roy L. Gorin, M.D. in the Superior Court of

New Jersey, Law Division, Gloucester County, Docket No.

-44136-81. Gittleman then filed a motion pursuant to New Jersey

Court Rules, 1969, R. 1:21-2 for the admission of FitzPatrick

pro hac vice as additional counsel for Richard Coleman.

On May 21, 1982, a hearing on the motion was held before

respondent, DiMartino. The affidavits of Coleman and FitzPatrick

were presented and Gittleman and FitzPatrick testified. There was

no opposition to the motion. Judge DiMartino siated:

The Court: I am concerned about changing

precedent. I have been the Assignment Judge of

Camden County for about eight months. I have

only allowed the admission pro hac vice once, and

even that case I would not have allowed it had

my predecessor not already verbally ruled that

application should be granted.

(See Appendix at 13a.)

Judge DiMartino stated that he was applying New Jersey

Court Rule R.1:21-2 in accordance with the opinion in the case

of Burlington County Internal Medicine Associates, P.A. v.

American Medicorp, Inc., 168 N.J. Super. 382, 403 A.2d 43 (Ch.

1979). (See Appendix at 13a.) Paraphrasing that case, Judge

DiMartino listed those things which a nonresident of New Jersey

must establish in order to be permitted to appear for his client

in a New Jersey court: 3

He [the judge who wrote the Burlington County

opinion] indicates there must be evidence before

the court that foreign counsel is of good standing

in his own state. I have absolutely no doubt of

that in this case.

The opinion also indicates foreign counsel by

affidavit should indicate that he has maintained

his competency as an attorney particularly in any

specialization which he claims, and I am completely

satisfied that is so here.

However, there also has to be shown good cause

showing that the case involves a complex field of

law, and no one here is going to in any way imply

to me, nor can I accept that a medical malpractice

case is foreign to the intelligence and competency

of local counsel.

There also has to be shown a longheld attorney-

client relationship. I don’t see any such relationship

here. There is a relationship that arises out of this

case. Even more importantly, the next item, there

must be shown a lack of local counsel with

expertise in the field involved. I have already

indicated, as a matter of fact, I consider your firm

very competent.... I don’t see anything

complexed about this case that New Jersey counsel

cannot handle.

(See Appendix at i3a-14a.)

Judge DiMartino denied the motion from the bench and filed

a written order on June 7, 1982

On June 22, 1982, FitzPatrick filed a motion for leave to

appeal an interlocutory order in the Superior Court of New Jersey,

Appellate Division which was denied on July 12, 1982.

On July 28, 1982, FitzPatrick filed a motion for leave to

appeal an interlocutory order in the Supreme Court of New Jersey

which was denied on October 26, 1982.

On June 3, 1983, petitioner filed a complaint against

respondents, DiMartino and the Superior Court of New Jersey,

in the United States District Court for the District of New Jersey

requesting injunctive relief and a declaration ‘‘that the refusal

to permit his admission pro hac vice in the absence of a specific

finding that he is unfit or that substantial reasons exist which

would justify his exclusion constitutes a violation of his rights

under Article IV, §2 of the United States Constitution and under

the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution.”’

Jurisdiction in the District Court was asserted under 28 U.S.C.

§1343(3) and (4) and 42 U.S.C. $1983.

On December 18, 1983, respondents filed a motion to dismiss

which was granted by order dated January 26, 1984.

Petitioner’s appeal to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit was dismissed by order entered September

21, 1984. It is that judgment which petitioner requests this Court

to review.

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

Respondents’ application of New Jersey Court Rules, 1969,

R. 1:21-2 to deny petitioner’s motion for admission pro hac vice

is a violation of petitioner’s rights secured to him by Article IV,

§2 of the United States Constitution and by the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution.

Article IV, §2 of the Constitution, so far as relevant, provides:

The Citizens of each State shall be entitled

to all Privileges and Immunities of Citizens in the

several States.

This Court has stated:

The primary purpose of this clause, like the

clauses between which it is located — those relating

to full faith and credit and to interstate extradition

of fugitives frorn justice — was to help fuse into

one Nation a collection of independent, sovereign

States. It was designed to insure to a citizen of

State A who ventures into State B the same

privileges which the citizens of State B enjoy.

Toomer v. Witsell, 334 U.S. 385, 395 (1948), citing Paul v.

Virginia, 8 Wall. 168, 180-81 (1868) and Travis v. Yale & Towne

Mfg. Co., 252 U.S. 60, 78 (1920).

This Court has not decided whether the clause insures to a

lawyer, citizen' of State A, who ventures into State B, the same

1. Although this Court has not always equated state residency with state

citizenship, this Court has stated: ‘‘it is now established that the terms ‘citizen’

(Cont'd)

privileges regarding the practice of his profession which the citizens

of State B enjoy.” This Court has held, however, referring to the

underlying purpose of the clause, that:

li was long ago decided that one of the privileges

which the clause guarantees to citizens of State A

is that of doing business in State B on terms of

substantial equality with the citizens of that State.

Toomer v. Witsell, supra, at 396, citing Ward v. Maryland, 12

Wall. 418 (1870) and also, Chalker v. Birmingham & N.W.R.

Co., 249 U.S. 522 (1919); Shaffer v. Carter, 252 U.S. 37, 52-53

(1920).

In Toomer v. Witsell, supra, this Court went on, pointing

out that:

Like many other constitutional provisions, the

privileges and immunities clause is not an absolute.

It does bar discrimination against citizens of other

States where there is no substantial reason for the

discrimination beyond the mere fact that they are

(Cont’d)

and ‘resident’ are ‘essentially interchangeable’ ’’, Hicklin v. Orbeck, 437 U.S.

$18, 524 n.8 (1978), citing Austin v. New Hampshire, 420 U.S. 656, 662 n.8

(1975).

2. The case of Piper v. Supreme Court of New Hampshire, 104 S. Ct.

2149 (1984), argued before this Court on October 31, 1984, presents the question

of whether the Privileges and Immunities Clause prevents a state from imposing

residency requirements on admission to the bar. This Court has previous!y

decided that the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment prohibits

a state from denying admission to the bar to applicants who are not citizens

of the United States, /n re Griffiths, 413 U.S. 717 (1973); and that the Due

Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment does not afford procedural due

process rights to applicants seeking pro hac vice admission, Leis v. Flynt, 439

U.S. 438 (1979).

citizens of other States. But it does not preclude

disparity of treatment in many situations where

there are perfectly valid independent reasons for

it. Thus the inquiry in each case must be concerned

with whether such reasons do exist and whether

the degree of discrimination bears a close relation

to them. The inquiry must also, of course, be

conducted with due regard for the principle that

the States should have considerable leeway in

analyzing local evils and in prescribing appropriate

cures.

Id. at 396.

Thus there is no absolute proscription of a state’s establishing

disparate treatment of nonresidents. In has been held that as to

certain activities a state may discriminate against nonresidents on

. the basis of their nonresidence alone. These, however, include

only those activities which are closely related to the state’s need

tO preserve its sovereign identity.

In Baldwin v. Fish and Game Commission of Montana, 436

U.S. 371, 383 (1978) this Court offered some examples of these

activities:

Suffrage, for example, always has been understood

to be tied to an individual’s identification with a

particular State. See, e.g., Dunn v. Blumstein, 405

U.S. 330, 92 S.Ct. 995, 31 L.Ed.2d 274 (1972).

No one would suggest that the Privileges and

Immunities Clause requires a State to open its polls

to a person who declines to assert that the State

is the only one where he claims a right to vote.

The same is true as to qualification for an elective

office of the State. Kanapaux v. Ellisor, 419 U.S.

10

891, 95 S.Ct. 169, 42 L.Ed.2d 136 (1974);

Chimento v. Stark, 353 F.Supp. i211 (D.N.H.

1973), summarily aff’d, 414 U.S. 802, 94 S.Ct.

125, 38 L.Ed.2d 39 (1973).

Neither in Baldwin nor Hicklin’ did this Court precisely

describe the boundaries of the sovereign identity exception but

the Baldwin citation to Dunn v. Blumstein, decided on equal

protection grounds, suggests that this Court sees some measure

of similarity in cases where claims of discrimination on the basis

of citizenship were being made under the Equal Protection Clause.

In Sugarman v. Dougall, 413 U.S. 634 (1973), this Court held,

on equal protection grounds, that a New York statute which

required all civil service employees to be citizens of the United

States was an invalid discrimination on the basis of citizenship

not justified by any need to maintain the sovereign identity of

the State of New York. In that case this Court described in a

more general way the types of activities for which citizenship

requirements may be prescribed:

Neither do we hold that a State may not, in

an appropriately defined class of positions, require

citizenship as a qualification for office. . . . [T]his

power of the State applies not only to the

qualifications of voters, but also to persons holding

State elective or important nonelective executive,

legislative, and judicial positions, for officers who

participate directly in the formation, execution,

or review of broad public policy perform functions

that go to the heart of representative government.

Id. at 647.

3. The only cases decided since Toomer v. Witsell, supra, by this Court

squarely dealing with claims under the Privileges and Immunities Clause.

li

The question of whether the practice of law is an activity

so closely related to the state’s sovereign, separate existence that

noncitizens of the United States could be denied admission to

the bar of Connecticut was addressed by this Court in Jn re

Griffiths, 413 U.S. 717 (1973). It was there held that the Equal

Protection Clause prohibited such discrimination and Mr. Justice

Black’s opinion in Cammer v. United States, 350 U.S. 399, 405

(1956) was quoted:

“It has been stated many times that lawyers

are ‘officers of the court.” One of the most

frequently repeated statements to this effect

appears in Ex parte Garland, 4 Wall. 333, 378.

The Court pointed out there, however, that an

attorney was not an ‘officer’ within the ordinary

meaning of that term. Certainly nothing that was

said in Ex parte Garland or in any other case

decided by this Court places attorneys in the same

category as marshals, bailiffs, court clerks or

judges. Unlike these officials a lawyer is engaged

in a private profession, important though it be to

our system of justice. in general he makes his own

decisions, follows his own best judgment, collects

his own fees and runs his own business. The word

‘officer’ as it has always been applied to lawyers

conveys quite a different meaning from the word

‘officer’ as applied to people serving as officers

within the conventional meaning of that term.’’

(Footnote omitted.)

Finally the Court said:

Lawyers do indeed occupy professional

positions of responsibility and influence that

12

impose on them duties correlative with their vital

right of access to the courts. . . . Yet, they are not

officials of government by virtue of being lawyers.

Nor does the status of holding a license to practice

law place one so close to the core of the political

process as to make him a formulator of

government policy.

In re Griffiths, supra, at 728-29 (footnote omitted). It would seem

that the activities of lawyers as formulators of government policy

should appear the same whether viewed through the lens of the

Equal Protection Clause or of the Privileges and Immunities

Clause.

This Court has always held that the Privileges and Immunities

Clause protects nonresidents seeking to ply their trade, practice

their occupation, or pursue a common calling from state

discrimination.* Ward v. Maryland, 12 Wall. 418 (1871) (Maryland

statute discriminating against nonresidents desiring to do business

in Maryland); Toomer v. Witsell, supra (South Carolina statute

discriminating against nonresidents desiring to shrimp in South

Carolina); Mullaney v. Anderson, 342 U.S. 415 (1952) (Alaska

statute discriminating against nonresidents desiring to fish in

Alaska) and Hicklin vy. Orbeck, supra (Alaska statute

discriminating against nonresidents desiring to work in Alaska).

In deciding cases under the Privileges and Immunities Clause

where claims of discrimination are made by nonresidents this Court

has followed standards which it articulated in Toomer and Hicklin.

There are two standards:

4. At the other end of the spectrum of activities are those which are trivial

or at least do not rise to a level of import deserving of the protection of the

Privileges and Immunities Clause. Elk hunting was held to be such an activity.

Baldwin v. Fish and Game Commission of Montana, supra.

13

First, it must be shown that nonresidents constitute a peculiar

source of evil at which the statute is aimed.’ Second, the

discrimination practiced upon nonresidents must bear a substantial

relationship to the particular evil they are said to present.® In this

case neither of these standards are met.

The rule in question, New Jersey Court Rules, 1969, R. 1:21-2,

impermissibly discriminates against nonresident lawyers by

requiring them to meet a number of standards which have no

relation whatsoever to any evil, or the protection therefrom, as

a condition to their admission pro hac vice.

It cannot be disputed that New Jersey has the right to protect

its citizens against the practice of law by lawyers who do not meet

reasonable standards of competence and integrity. Insofar as R.

1:21-2 attempts to accomplish this it can meet with no

constitutional complaint. Insofar as it attempts, however, to

impose conditions on admission pro hac vice which are not so

related it despoils rights secured by the Privileges and Immunities

Clause and by the Equal Protection Clause. Hicklin v. Orbeck,

supra; Toomer v. Witsell, supra and Schware v. Board of Bar

Examiners, 353 U.S. 232 (1957). In Schware, an equal protection

case, this Court held that:

A State can require high standards of qualification,

such as good moral character or proficiency in its

law, before it admits an applicant to the bar, but

any qualification must have a rational connection

with the applicant’s fitness or capacity to practice

law.

Id. at 239.

5. Toomer v. Witsell, supra, 334 U.S. at 398; Hicklin v. Orbeck, supra,

437 U.S. at 526.

6. Toomer v. Witsell, supra, 334 U.S. at 398, 403; Hicklin v. Orbeck, supra,

437 U.S. at 527.

14

At the time petitioner’s motion for admission pro hac vice

was decided the rule simply provided that admission of a

nonresident attorney may be allowed at the discretion of the court.’

There existed as well a decision of the Superior Court of New

Jersey’ which set forth standards for the exercise of the discretion

mentioned in the rule. In the words of that court the exercise

of that discretion was to be as follows:

The matter is one for the conscientious

exercise of my discretion, [citation omitted] which

requires certain basic information to be supplied

by [foreign] counsel. This consists of proof

(1) that foreign counsel is of good standing

in his state and is associated with New Jersey

counsel of good standing here... .

(2) by affidavit of foreign counsel, that he has

maintained his competence as an attorney,

particularly in any specialization which he claims,

through experience, schools, lectures and readings;

(3) by letter of defendant, that it desires to

be represented by Pennsylvania counsel in New

Jersey, stating reasons;

(4) good cause, presented in affidavit form,

which may consist of:

(a) a showing that the cause involves a

complex field of law in which counsel is a specialist,

(b) a long held attorney-client relationship,

(c) lack of local courtsel with expertise in the

field involved,

7. The text of the rule is set out above.

8.

Burlingion County Internal Medicine Associates, P..A. v. American

Medicorp, Inc., 168 N.J. Super. 382, 403 A.2d 43 (1979).

15

(d) the existence of legal questions involving

the law of the foreign jurisdiction,

(e) the need for extensive discovery

proceedings in the foreign jurisdiction.’

Id. at 384, 403 A.2d at 44.

There is, at least presumptively, the potential evil threatening

New Jersey that unqualified or unprincipled lawyers from outside

the state may seek admission — either pro hac vice or for adrrission

permanently. Thus the first three conditions set out in the

Burlington case are in all respects proper and appropriate.'°

The first requirement — that foreign counsel prove that he

‘tis of good standing in his state’? — is really not discriminatory

at all: New Jersey lawyers must be of good standing in their state

as weil. So this condition is entirely appropriate.

The second condition — that foreign counsel prove that ‘‘he

has maintained his competence as an attorney, particularly in any

specialization which he claims, through experience, schools,

lectures and readings’’ — does discriminate against nonresidents

as no such demand is made on members of the New Jersey bar,

nevertheless, since this is ciearly and reasonably designed to deal

with a real potential ‘‘evil’’, the Hicklin tests are met.

In this case petitioner has met these standards. Judge

DiMartino acknowledged on the record that FitzPatrick was both

competent and in good standing.

9. In January 1984 the Supreme Court of New Jersey incorporated the

conditions set forth in the Burlington County case into R. 1:21-2 by amendment

effective February 15, 1984.

10. The third condition is subject to question insofar as it requires the client

to state reasons for his wish to be represented by a nonresident. Thus the client

is placed in the position of justifying his desire for, presumably, his reasons

must be such as please the judge.

16

He [the judge who wrote the Burlington

County opinion] indicates there must be evidence

before the court that foreign counsel is of good

standing in his own state. I have absolutely no

doubt of that in this case.

The opinion also indicates foreign counsel by

affidavit should indicate that he has maintained

his competency as an attorney particularly in any

specialization which he claims, and I am completely

satisfied that is so here.

(See Appendix, 13a.)

Having made that finding there is simply no constitutional

justification for the imposition of any other conditions on

admission. There is simply no ‘‘evil’’ threatened. As this Court

stated in Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners, supra, 353 U.S.

at 239:

[A]ny qualification must have a rational connection

with the applicant’s fitness or capacity to practice

law.''

Even so, an examination of the other conditions prescribed

for consideration on motions for admission pro hac vice

demonstrates that (a) they discriminate against nonresidents and

_ IL. Schware was a case under the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment; but there is nothing in any case decided under that clause or under

the Privileges and Immunities Clause of Article [V, §2 which gives the slightest

indication that this statement should have any less poignancy in a case brought

under the latter.

Also, the statement in Schware refers to the standards a State may prescribe

for an applicant for admission to the bar; there is no reason why the same

constitutional constraints should not apply when one seeks admission pro hac

vice.

17

_

(b) they are not in any way designed to deal with any

constitutionally cognizable evil. Respondents are, nevertheless,

required to apply these conditions in all cases. Judge DiMartino

applied them and denied petitioner’s motion, stating:

However, there also has to be shown good

cause showing that the case involves a complex

field of law, and no one here is going to in any

way imply to me, nor can I accept that a medical

malpractice case is foreign to the intelligence and

competency of local counsel.

There also has to be shown a longheld

attorney-client relationship. I don’t see any such

relationship here. There is a relationship that arises

out of this case.

Even more importantly, the next item, there

must be shown a lack of local counsel with

expertise in the field involved. I have already

indicated, as a matter of fact, I consider your firm

very competent. ...I don’t see anything

complexed about this case that New Jersey counsel

can not handle.

(See Appendix, 13a-14a.)

It is not known how any of these items advance the protection

of those citizens of New Jersey who might wish to be represented

by nonresidents about whose good standing at the bar the trial

judge has ‘‘absolutely no doubt’’ and abuut whose competency

as attorneys he is ‘‘completely satisfied.’’

It is coincidentally fortunate that the Supreme Court of New

Jersey had occasion recently to address the fundamental question

of the putative ‘‘evil’’ presented by the practice of nonresident

attorneys in New Jersey. In Jn re Sackman, 90 N.J. 521, 448 A.

18

2d 1014 (1982), the court had before it a challenge to its rule R. ©

1:21-l(a) which required, as a condition for the admission of a

non-domiciliary lawyer to the bar of New Jersey, that he maintain

his principal office there. This contrasted with the rule for

domiciliaries of New Jersey for whom the requirement was merely

a bona fide office. The court did not reach the constitional

questions for it amended the rule making the office requirement

the same for domiciliaries and non-domiciliaries.

With disarming candor the New Jersey Supreme Court

identified the potential ‘‘evil’’ as perceived in that state as follows:

The rule has been amended several times and

has been the subject of much debate. It represents

the continuing effort to determine where the public

interest lies when non-domiciliaries seek to practice

law. If such practice poses a risk to the public,

nowhere is it greater than in New Jersey. Located

between two large states that are major commercial

and industrial centers, with New York City and

Philadelphia directly on our borders, New Jersey

is a natural place to practice for many residents

of New York and Pennsylvania. Similarly, many

New Jersey domiciliaries practice in those states.

90 N.J. at 525, 448 A. 2d at 1017. Of course, a perceived threat

to the financial well being of in-state lawyers is not such an interest

which a state may pro.ect dy leveling discriminatory rules at out-

of-state lawyers.'*? The Supreme Court of New Jersey recognizes

this and in the course of its Opinion in Sackman announced its

view of the policy of that state on the broad subject of the practice

of law in New Jersey by nonresident lawyers:

12. See Hicklin v. Orbeck, 437 U.S. 518, 531 (1978); Piper v. Supreme

Court of New Hampshire, 723 F.2d 110, 117 (ist Cir. 1983), probable jurisdiction

noted, 104 S. Ct. 2149 (1984); Enquire Printing & Publishing Co. v. O'Reilly,

193 Conn. 370, 477 A.2d 648 (1984).

19

We have concluded that the public would be

better served if licensed New Jersey attorneys

residing, for example, in New York and

Philadelphia were subject to no greater restrictions

in their practice in New Jersey than those residing

in Newark and Camden. The risks, if any, to the

public arising from the potential lack of contact

of non-domiciliary attorneys with New Jersey are

not significantly greater than the same risks that

arise when licensed New Jersey attorneys, living

in Newark or Camden, practice almost exclusively

in New York City or Philadelphia. In any event,

the difference in risk is substantially outweighed

by the advantage to the public of allowing such

out-of-state attorneys to practice here.

What is the public interest here? It is to make

more qualified lawyers available to New Jersey’s

citizens. That interest is achieved by eliminating

restrictions that reason and experience have shown

are not needed for the public’s protection.

No one before us has suggested that the public

interest would be served by a limitation on the

number of lawyers authorized to practice in New

Jersey. Whether the financial interest of the bar

would be served by any such limitation is irrelevant

unless and until that financial interest can be

equated with the public interest, which we doubt

it ever could. We assume, and believe, that the

more qualified lawyers in New Jersey, the better

the public will be served; that potential clients of

all income levels wiil benefit from more lawyers

being available; that the increase in competition

may have the beneficial effect of lowering fees;

that if any risks to the public interest are caused

20

by such increased competition, they can be

controlled by this Court; and that the adverse

economic impact, if any, on laywers now practicing

in New Jersey is no more relevant to the issue

before us than it is to the number of new attorneys

admitted as a result of each new bar examination.

90 N.J. at 527, 448 A.2d at 1019 (emphasis added).

li cannot be seriously argued that requirements that an

applicant for pro hac vice admission prove that the case he seeks

to try be of some special [though undefined] complexity; or that

he prove that he has a long held attorney-client relationship with

the person who is requesting his services; or that he prove that

there is no lawyer in the State of New Jersey who is qualified

to handle the case, are ‘‘needed for the public’s protection.’’

It is submitted that the imposition of any of these

requirements as a condition for pro hac vice admission is

impermissible under Article IV, §2 of the United States

Constitution as interpreted by this Court, especially in Toomer

v. Witsell, supra, and Hicklin v. Orbeck, supra. It is submitted

that in a case where it is established that the nonresident attorney

is fit and capable, the imposition of any requirement of a ‘‘good

cause’’ showing is impermissible'’: in such case there simply is

no ‘‘evil’’.

During the last few years a number of courts have invalidated

various types of residency requirements for admission to state

bars as violative of the Privileges and Immunities Clause of Article

IV, §2 of the Constitution. Piper v. Supreme Court of New

Hampshire, 723 F.2d 110 (1st Cir. 1983), probable jurisdiction

13. See Silverman v. Browning, 359 F.Supp. 173, 178-79 (D.Conn. 1972),

(concurring Opinion).

21

noted, 1045S. Ct. 2149 (1984)'*; Stalland v. South Dakota Board

of Bar Examiners, 530 F. Supp. 155 (D.S.D. 1982); Strauss v.

Alabama State Bar, 520 F. Supp. 173 (N.D. Ala. 1981); Noll v.

Alaska Bar Association, 649 P.2d 641 (Alaska 1982); Sheley v.

Alaska Bar Association, 620 P.2d 640 (Alaska 1980); Matter of

Jadd, 391 Mass. 227, 461 N.E. 2d 760 (1984); Matter of Gordon,

48 N.Y. 2d 266, 422 N.Y.S. 2d 641, 397 N.E. 2d 1309 (1979);

Sargus v. West Virginia Board of Law Examiners, 294 S.E. 2d

440 (W. Va. 1982).

It is submitted that the interest of laywers who seek admission

pro hac vice (‘‘{flor this turn; for this one particular occasion’’)'’

in a state where they do not reside is little different and no less

than the interest of those nonresident lawyers who seek admission

to the bar generally.

Admission pro hac vice is not a recent vogue; it is a custom

that was recognized as early as 1629 in England'® and that had

become ‘‘general’’ and ‘‘uniform’’ in the United States at least

by 1876."’

Certainly, the increased mobility of the bar and the changing

14. This Court granted certiorari from the equally divided Court of Appeals

and heard argument on October 31, 1984.

15. Black’s Law Dictionary, at p. 1363 (rev. 4th ed. 1968).

16. Cooper v. Hutchinson, 184 F.2d 119, 122 (3d Cir. 1950), citing Thursby

v. Warren, 4 Car. 1, 19 Eng. Rep. 738 (C.P. 1629). See 6 Holdsworth, A History

of English Law 435-436, 453, 456-457 (1924); Merrifield, The Law of Attornies,

41-44 (1830).

17. Cooper, supra, 184 F.2d at 122, citing In re Mosness, 39 Wis. 509,

20 Am. Rep. 55 (1876). See 1 Thornton, A Treatise on Altornies at Law §22

(1914); Brakel, S.J. & Loh, W.D., Regulating the Multistate Practice of Law,

50 Wash. L. Rev. 699, 702 (1975); Note, Attorneys: Interstate and Federal

Practice, 80 Harv. L. Rev. 1711, 1717-1721 (1967-68).

22

character of the practice, noted recently by many courts,'* is more

readily and surely thwarted by the erection of residency

requirements for pro hac vice admissions than by making residence

a qualification for permanent admissions.

Nor can it be said that because the rules for pro hac vice

admission uniformly provide that the decisions to grant or deny

such motions are to be made ‘‘at the discretion of the court’’'’

that, therefore, the discretion sc bestowed is unbounded; subject

to no restraints; may be abused or exercised arbitrarily; and is

unreviewable. To say that, it is submitted, is the same as to say

that the court rules may provide that motions for admission pro

hac vice may be denied for no reason or for reasons which are

unconstitutional. The court rules do not so provi@f& Once the

exercise of power delegated to a court is prescribed as discretionary,

the exercise of the power has been modified in some degree and,

certainly, at least, then, it cannot be said that the power may

be exercised indiscriminately. Courts have been granting and

denying motions for admission pro hac vice with just such a view

of the extent of their power. See, e.g., Ross v. Reda, 510 F.2d

1172, 1173 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 892 (1975): ‘‘The

prerogative of a trial judge to exclude out-of-state counsel. . . is

not an absolute right.’’ (affirming denial by trial court of motion

by out-of-state attorney who refused to limit his out-of-court

remarks about the case); State v. Ross, 36 Ohio App. 2d 185,

188, 304 N.E. 2d 396, 399 (1973), cert. denied, 415 U.S. 904 (1974):

‘*Whether or not so to specially permit an attorney not admitted

to practice in Ohio. . . to represent a party in a particular action

is a matter lying within the sound discretion of the court. Thus

we must determine whether there has been an abuse of discretion’’;

Enquire Printing and Publishing Co.v. O’Reilly, 193 Conn. 370,

18. See, e.g., Leis v. Flynt, 439 U.S. 438, 442 (1978); Piper v. Supreme

Court of New Hampshire, supra, 723 F.2d at 117; Enquire Printing and

Publishing Co. v. O’Reilly, 193 Conn. 370, 374, 477 A.2d 648, 651 (1984).

19. See, e.g., N.j. Ct. R. R. 1:21-2.

23

373, 477 A.2d 648, 650 (1984): ‘‘Although the court receiving

an application for admission pro hac vice has broad discretionary

power, the exercise of that power is not unfettered. Our federal

and state constitutions prohibit requiring applicants . . . to possess

qualifications that have no ‘rational connection with the applicant’s

fitness or capacity to practice law.’ ”’’ (affirming trial court’s denial

of motion where it was likely out-of-state attorney-applicant would

be a witness at the trial).

Furthermore, any ‘‘evils’’ which may be imputed to attend

the admission of nonresidents to the bar for all purposes must

necessarily be much reduced where nonresidents seex admission

only for ‘‘one particular case.’’ By the same token, if there is

any evil involved in either case, the difficulty of dealing with it

is much reduced when the request is only for one particular case.

The ‘‘evils’’ most commonly raised by those who have

opposed applications for admission pro hac vice*® are:

(1) The out-of-state lawyer is unfamiliar with local rules and

practice. The answer to this is that an out-of-state lawyer, e.g.,

a Philadelphia lawyer, is no less familiar with Camden’s local

nuances than is a licensed New Jersey attorney who lives and

practices in Jersey City or Atlantic City or Sea Isle City or indeed

than a licensed New Jersey attorney who lives in Camden but

20. In this case, FitzPatrick’s motion for admission pro hac vice was not

opposed and respondents have put nothing in the record relating to any ‘‘evil’’

supposedly attendant to his admission or the admission of others like him. See,

In re Griffiths, supra, 413 U.S. at 726-27 where this Court struck down the

state’s discriminatory rule relating to aliens’ admission to practice law because

“In sum, the (bar committee) simply has not established that it must exclude

all aliens from the practice of law in order to vindicate its undoubted interest

in high professional standards.’’ (footnote omitted). What follows, therefore,

is simply a demonstration that no possible evils accompany the admission pro

hac vice of a fit and capable attorney; or, if they do, they are much more easily

dealt with than those that might be said to attend admissions to the bar.

24

practices in Philadelphia.*' In pro hac vice cases this is no problem

at all because counsel is required to be associated with local

counsel.

(2) The out-of-state lawyer will not be as interested in

maintaining a good reputation or be amenable to discipline in

the New Jersey courts. The answer to this is: (a) there is no

correlation between a desire for a good reputation and in-state

residence, ?*? moreover, the good reputation of an attorney is more

likely to depend on ‘‘where an individual’s heart is rather than

where her house is’’;?’ (b) there are many ways to insure the out-

of-state attorney is subject to any necessary discipline** all of which

are much less drastic than across the board exclusion;** but (c),

in the case of a lawyer practicing by virtue of a pro hac vice

admission, at all times he is before the court, under its scrutiny

and subject to immediate, on the spot discipline.

(3) The out-of-state ilawyer will not be available for court

proceedings. The answer to this is: (a) ‘‘[a]vailability for court

proceedings depends on geographical distance, not jurisdictional

boundaries;’’** obviously a lawyer in Philadelphia is more easily

21. See, e.g., Stalland, supra, at 159-60; Piper v. Supreme Court of New

Hampshire, 539 F. Supp. 1064, 1072 (1982); In re Sackman, supra, at 1019.

22. Noll v. Alaska Bar Association, 649 P.2d 241, 246 (Alaska 1982).

23. Piper v. Supreme Court of New Hampshire, 539 F. Supp. 1064, 1072

(D.N.H. 1982).

24. In the present case it might be considered that the chances for discipline

being necessary are diminished in view of the court’s finding that it has

‘tabsolutely no doubt’’ as to FitzPatrick’s good standing.

25. See, e.g., Piper, 723 F.2d at 117; Stalland, supra, at 160-61; Noll,

supra, at 246.

26. Piper v. Supreme Court of New Hampshire, supra, 539 F. Supp. at 1072.

25

available for court in Camden than is a lawyer from New

Brunswick or even Egg Harbor;’’ finally, (b) in a pro hac vice

case the additional appearance of local counsel is required which

is not true where admitted attorneys from distant New Jersey

points are in the case.

The Supreme Court of New Jersey recently had occasion to

express its ideas regarding these three subjects of competence,

accountability and accessibility in the course of considering its

rule requiring nonresident applicants for admission to the bar to

have their principal office in New Jersey. Though the case thus

did not involve requirements for pro hac vice admissions, the

court’s observations are no less highly pertinent. In Jn re Sackman,

90 N.J. 521, 448 A.2d 1014 (1982), the court said:

The premise behind the distinction is that the mere

fact of living in New Jersey makes it more likely,

and more to the point, sufficiently more likely,

that that lawyer will be more competent, accessible

and accountable than the one who is living in

another state. If it is true, then it is only marginally

true. We do not know whether the lawyer in

Camden or Philadelphia reads the New Jersey Law

Journal, the advance sheets, or goes to continuing

legal education courses. We do not know which

one regularly responds to telephone calls, and

which will respond to calls at home. We do not

know which one comes to the office, whether

principal, bona fide or any office, regularly, and

works hard. We know that some New Jersey

lawyers are not up to date on New Jersey law and

27. In Noll, supra, 649 P.2d at 245, the Supreme Court of Alaska observed:

**(W]e fail to see how the asserted problem of communication between resident

and nonresident counsel differs materially from that confronting a Fairbanks

attorney trying a case in Juneau.”’

26

procedure, that some handle cases in areas for

which they are ill-equipped, that some have more

than one office in New Jersey and cannot be found

when needed, in short, we know that all of the

problems attributed to non-residents that might

require them to have a principal office in New

Jersey may be caused also by New Jersey

attorneys.The differential in risk to clients

concerning the competence, accessibility and

accountability of the out-of-state lawyers as

compared to the New Jersey resident seems to us

insufficient to warrant a difference in these

requirements.

While our experience with out-of-state

attorneys cannot prove very much, since the rule

has always required at least a principal office here,

we note that complaints of incompetence, in-

accessibility or unaccountability made of out-of-

state attorneys appear to have no more frequency

in relation to their total number than those against

domiciliaries. There is absolutely no showing that

New Jersey domiciliaries who have their principal

office elsewhere, indeed almost their exclusive

office elsewhere, are less competent, accessible or

accountable when they practice in New Jersey at

their ‘‘bona fide’’ office than are other New Jersey

lawyers. And finally, though many states in the

Union allow non-domiciliaries to practice without

any ‘‘principal office’’ requirement, there is

absolutely no literature, no statistical proof of

which we are aware, not even a suggestion, that

they constitute any risk to the public greater than

that which emanates from the resident bar.

27

The record is thus barren of proof of the

difference in risk. Our own knowledge and

experience suggest that while residence may be a

factor bearing on competence, accessibility and

accountability, it is not an important factor, and

that relying on it may cause more disadvantages

to the public than advantages.

Id. at 533-34, 448 A. 2d at 1021 (emphasis in original). As pointed

Out above any putative disadvantage is measurably diminished

in the case of pro hac vice admissions because of the concomitant

control which courts have over nee lawyers whose admission

is but ‘‘foi one particular case.’

Finally, it is submitted that Leis v. Flynt, 439 U.S. 438 (1979)

does not control this case. That case held that admission pro hac

vice is not a right protected by the Due Process Clause. Article

IV, §2 was not mentioned in the Court’s opinian or in the petition

for the writ or in the respondent’s brief. Whether the practice

of law, pro hac vice or otherwise, is entitled to Privileges and

Immunities Clause protection under the tests set out in Toomer

v. Witsell, supra and Hicklin v. Orbeck, supra, was not considered.

It is submitted that this is a question of pervasive importance.

This Court recently granted a writ in the case of Piper v. Supreme

Court of New Hampshire, 104 S. Ct. 2149 (1984) where

discriminatory residency requirements for admission to the bar

are involved. It was there argued, as here, that such requirements

violated Article IV, §2 of the United States Constitution. It is

submitted that the interests at stake when admissions pro hac vice

are sought are no less important. For this reason the writ should

be granted.

28

CONCLUSION

The interests of out-of-state lawyers in practicing their

profession in New Jersey is entitled to the protection of the

Privileges and Immunities Clause of the United States Constitution.

That interest is entitled to no less protection than that which this

Court held that clause afforded nonresident shrimpers to shrimp

in South Carolina or nonresident pipeline workers to work in

Alaska.

Likewise, the interest of out-of-state lawyers in practicing

in New Jersey is protected by the Equal Protection Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment. That interest is entitled to no less

protection than that which this Court held that clause afforded

a Dutch citizen to practice law in Connecticut.

Finally, the interest of out-of-state lawyers to admission pro

hac vice in New Jersey is no less important than their interest

in admission to the bar of New Jersey the Court recently granted

a writ in a case where a nonresident of New Hampsnire was denied

admission to the bar of that state. Granting a writ in this case

is as well justified.

Respectfully submitted,

MARCY B. TANKER

LIEBERT, SHORT,

FITZPATRICK & LAVIN

Attorneys for Petitioner

la

ORDER DATED SEPTEMBER 21, 1984 OF THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 84-5105

HENRY B. FITZPATRICK

I.V. DIMARTINO, A.J.S.C., In His Capacity as Judge of the

Superior Court, Law Division, Gloucester County, NJ and THE

SUPERIOR COURT, Law Division, Gloucester County, NJ.

Henry B. FitzPatrick, Jr.,

Appellant

Appeal from the United States District Court for the District of

New Jersey

(D.C. Civ. No. 83-2102)

District Judge: Honorable John W. Bissell

Submitted Under Third Circuit Rule 12(6)

September 11, 1984

Before: ADAMS, HIGGINBO1HAM and SLOVITER, Circuit

Judges.

JUDGMENT ORDER

After consideration of all contentions raised by appellant, it is

ADJUDGED AND ORDERED that the judgment of the

district court be and is hereby affirmed.

2a

Order

Costs taxed against appellant.

BY THE COURT,

s/ Alan Higginbotham

Circuit Judge

Attest:

s/ Sally Mrvos Clerk

DATED: SEP. 21, 1984

3a

LETTER-OPINION DATED JANUARY 31, 1984, UNITED

STATES DISTRICT COURT, DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

Chambers of Federal Building

John W. Bissell " Trenton, New Jersey 08605

Judge January 31, 1984.

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

Filed Feb. 1, 1984

Allyn Z. Lite, Clerk

Gary B. Cutler Esquire

Mainline Shopping Center

Florelle Plaza :

Cinnaminson, New Jersey 08077

Marcy Tanker, Esquire

Liebert, Short, Fitzpatrick and Lavin, Esquires

1200 One Franklin Plaza

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

(Attorneys for Plaintiff)

Irwin I. Kimmelman, Esquire

Attorney General of the State of New Jersey

By: Andrea M. Silkowitz, Esquire

Deputy Attorney General

Division of Law, Room 316

1100 Raymond Boulevard

Newark, New Jersey 07102

(Attorneys for Defendants)

4a

Letter-Opinion

Re: HENRY B. FITZPATRICK, JR., etc. v. LV.

DiMARTINO, A.J.S.C., etc. and THE SUPERIOR

COURT, etc.; Civil Action No. 83-2102.

Mesdames and Messieurs:

The case at bar arises out of a complaint filed by plaintiff

on June 3, 1983 for declaratory and injunctive relief. The plaintiff,

Henry B. Fitzpatrick, an attorney licensed by the Commonwealth

of Pennsylvania, is suing the Superior Court of New Jersey and

the Honorable I.V. DiMartino, the Assignment Judge of that

Court in Gloucester and Camden Counties, for failure to grant

plaintiff admission pro hac vice. Plaintiff desired to serve as

counsel to Richard Coleman in a medical malpractice matter,

Coleman v. Gorin, L-44136-81, presently pending in that state

court. That action was filed in April 1982. On May 1, 1982, Diana

B. Gittleman, Esquire, moved before the defendant, pursuant to

New Jersey Court Rule 1:21-2, to admit Henry B. Fitzpatrick,

Esquire, pro hac vice, as additional counsel. In support of the

motion, plaintiff asserted his experience of twenty-five years in

personal injury cases, his alleged ‘‘confidential’’ relationship with

Coleman, and the fact that Coleman’s treating physician and expert

witness were both located in Pennsylvania. Judge DiMartino,

relying on Burlington County International Medical Association

v. American Medicorp., 168 N.J. Super. 382 (Ch. Div.- 1979),

denied Fitzpatrick’s petition for admission. He concluded that

Fitzpatrick had failed to establish good cause for admission pro

hac vice. On June 22, 1982, plaintiff moved to appeal Judge

DiMartino’s ruling, pursuant to New Jersey Court Rule 2:2-4.

In addition to claiming abuse of discretion, it was asserted that

the Court had abrogated ‘‘[t]he due process rights of plaintiff

(Coleman) and Henry B. Fitzpatrick, Jr. ... by fail{ing] to

reasonably or meaningfully anply the standards for pro hac vice

Sa

Letter-Opinion

admission.’’ [Defendant’s Brief at p. 3.] Plaintiff alleged that the

New Jersey Court Rule 1:21-2 and judicial interpretation created

a reasonable expectation and thereby a protectable interest under

the Fourteenth Amendment and the Privileges and Immunities

Clause of the United States Constitution. The Appellate Division

denied plaintiff’s appeal in an Order dated July 12, 1982. Plaintiff

then sought to appeal the Interlocutory Order of the Appellate

Division to the New Jersey Supreme Court; however, this motion

was also denied by an Order dated October 26, 1982. Accordingly,

plaintiff presently seeks review of the ruling of Judge DiMartino

and a declaratory judgment that the denial of plaintiff’s admission

pro hac vice in the absence of a specific finding that he is unfit

or justifiable reason for exclusion, constitutes a violation of his

rights under Article IV §2 and the Fourteenth Amendment of

the Constitution of the United States.

Defendants oppose plaintiff’s contentions and presently move,

under Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6), for dismissal of plaintiff’s complaint

based upon Leis v. Flynt, 439 U.S. 438 (1979). In that case the

Supreme Court granted certiorari and reversed the judgment of

the Court of Appeals, holding that where pro hac vice admission

is in the discretion of the trial court there exists no enforceable

claim of entitlement under the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment, nor is any federal constitutional interest

implicated under the Privileges and Immunities Clause or any other

provision of the United States Constitution.

Plaintiff has filed no responsive brief in the present matter.

In fact, Ms. Tanker has advised the Court, by letter dated

December 12, 1983, that in light of Leis v. Flynt, she ‘‘believe{s]

that defendants’ Motion should be granted and. . . [does] not

intend to file a brief in opposition thereto.’’ A review of the

Supreme Court Opinion in Leis clearly demonstrates that plaintiff

6a

Letter-Opinion

may not maintain his purported claims asserted in this action.

Accordingly, defendants’ motion to dismiss the complaint shall

be granted. A copy of an Order entered today reflecting this

decision is enclosed.

Very truly yours,

s/ JOHN W. BISSELL

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

JUDGE

JWB/ebj

Enclosure (copy of Order)

7a

Letter-Opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

Civil Action 83-2102

(HONORABLE JOHN W. BISSELL)

HENRY FITZPATRICK,

Plaintiff,

¥.

I.V. DI MARTINO, A.J.S.C., etc., et al.

Defendants.

This matter having been opened to the Court by defendants’

motion to dismiss the complaint pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. Proc.

12(b)(1) and/or (6) and the Court having considered briefs and

oral argument of counsel and good cause having been

demonstrated.

IT IS on this 26th day of January, 1984,

ORDERED that defendants’ motion to dismiss the complaint

pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. Proc. 12(b)(6) be granted.

s/ JOHN W. BISSELL

U.S.D.C.J.

8a

TRANSCRIPT OF HEARING DATED MAY 21, 1982

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

LAW DIVISION, GLOUCESTER CO.

DOCKET L-44136-31

RICHARD W. COLEMAN, et ux

vs.

ROY L. GORIN

May 21, 1982

Before: 1.V. DiIMARTINO, A.J.S.C.

Present: PRINCIPATO & HANIFEN, ESQ.,

By: DIANA B. GITTELMAN, ESQ.,

for the Plaintiffs

Reported by;

Harry J. Bateman, C.S.R.

Rm. 602 Court House,

Camden, N.J. 08101

{2} MS. GITTLEMAN: This is my motion, your Honor,

to have Henry FitzPatrick of the law firm of Liebert, Short,

FitzPatrick and Lavin of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, be admitted

pro hac vice. Mr. FitzPatrick is present in court if the Court wishes

to address any questions or comments to him.

THE COURT: Idon’t. I want to hear what makes this case

sO unusual that counsel in New Jersey can’t try it.

9a

Transcript of Hearing

MS. GITTLEMAN: Your Honor, it is not a question of

counsel in New Jersey not being competent to try the case. What

makes this case so special is the relationship Mr. Coleman has

evolved.

THE COURT: There is nothing before me to tell me what

that relationship is.

MS. GITTELMAN: Well, I believe in my affidavit, your

Honor, I stated they have had a relationship for some ten months.

THE COURT: Your affidavit merely indicates to me there

has developed a relationship, a client-attorney relationship.

MS. GITTLEMAN: Yes, Your Honor. If I may expand

on that at this time, perhaps I [3] can —

THE COURT: Just a minute.

All you say is that counsel, Mr. FitzPatrick, had established

an attorney-client relationship with the plaintiff and has twenty-

five years experience in medical malpractice litigation. I would

assume anytime an attorney represents a client that he has

established an attorney-client relationship.

MS. GITTELMAN: Yes, Your Honor, Perhaps my

affidavit did not go into the heart of that relationship sufficiently.

THE COURT: Wouldn’t that be hearsay? Shouldn’t you

have an affidavit from Mr. FitzPatrick or from the client? |

MS. GITTELMAN: I have an affidavit from both of them,

Your Honor. They, perhaps, do not sufficiently go into the nature

of the relationship.

10a

Transcript of Hearing

THE COURT: They don’t tell me anything about it. Mr.

Coleman merely tells me in his affidavit that he requests that the

Court permit Mr. FitzPatrick to represent him, period.

Mr. FitzPatrick tells me about his expertise, which I do net

doubt in the least, [4] and that he is a member of the Trial Lawyers

Association, period. He just tells me about himself.

MS. GITTELMAN: Well, Your Honor, for that reason,

I did bring Mr. FitzPatrick with me today if the Court wishes

to hear from him.

THE COURT: Just tell me what the special relationship is.

MS. GITTELMAN: Well, Your Honor, Mr. Coleman

initially contacted Mr. FitzPatrick to represent him in this matter

and as a result of tiat initial contact, Mr. FitzPatrick has been

very instrumental in obtaining medical treatment which Mr.

Coleman otherwise would not have been in a position to know

about. Mr. FitzPatrick has found one of the two specialists in

the entire country who is familiar with the treatment of this specific

type of injury, an affliction from which Mr. Coleman suffers

and he has arranged for Mr. Coleman to be treated by this doctor

at the University of Pennsylvania Hospital, and through his very

intimate participation in Mr. Coleman’s medical care, [ believe

a very close relationship has developed between the two individuals,

and Mr. Coleman, and, again, this is [5] hearsay, has indicated —

THE COURT: I will accept your hearsay statement.

MS. GITTELMAN: That his relationship is more than that

of an attorney-client. It goes to the very nature of his physical

well-being and prognosis. He feels Mr. FitzPatrick has salvaged

lla

Transcript of Hearing

what has been very diastrous [sic] medically and led him to the

opportunity to get some possible way — that he could possibly

turn his condition around, but that hasn’t been indicated clearly.

He has established contact with Mr. Coleman and the specialist

in Philadelphia, and visited with him on numerous occasions in

receiving corrective therapy at the University of Pennsylvania

Hospital.

THE COURT: I fail to see what all that has to do with

who tries the case.

MS. GITTELMAN: It has to do with Mr. Coleman’s

confidence in Mr. FitzPatrick and a close relationship.

THE COURT: I accept the fact that Mr. Coleman has

confidence in Mr. FitzPatrick. Aren’t there other criteria to be

established before we can permit outside counsel to try a [6] case

here in Camden County?

MS. GITTELMAN: Well, Your Honor, I think the criteria

has been established in the papers which I have submitted. Mr.

FitzPatrick is a member in good standing of the Bar of

Pennsylvania. I would also note he had on one occasion made

an appearance some years ago in the State of New Jersey. He

has not appeared pro hac vice within the past several years. I

believe, although I am aware the matter is in the Court’s discretion,

I believe the situation warrants his admission.

THE COURT: Anything else you want to say?

MS. GITTELMAN: No.

THE COURT: Do you want to say something, Mr.

FitzPatrick?

12a

Transcript of Hearing

MR. FITZPATRICK: Yes, I would, if I might.

THE COURT: All right.

MR. FITZPATRICK: What Mis. Gittelman is saying, is that

Mr. Coleman has had a history, it is almost unbelievable, his

medical history for the last twenty years, since he was twenty years

old. He had a serious fracture of his leg, [7] and he has spent

literally years in body casts. He has had treatments by doctors

all over the worid. He had this incident that occurred with respect

to treatment he got in Williamstown. He came to me and | think

Mr. Coleman feels I have taken up his cause because he found

somebody that he can place trust in and place himself in. I have

obtained treatment for Mr. Coleman in the University of

Pennsylvania Hospital. All these things Ms. Gittelman has

mentioned.

I think, really, Your Honor, the most important thing is that

I just don’t think another new face would be good for Mr.

Coleman. There is no question there are competent attorneys in

Camden County or Gloucester, New Jersey, to handle this case.

There is no question about that. We make no such assertion. I

just feel for Mr. Coleman’s well-being in this case I would be

better to represent him than anybody else.

Now, we are going to have counsel sitting along with us in

this trial.

THE COURT: That is mandatory, sir.

MR. FITZPATRICK: No question about it, Your Honor.

I just don’t feel there is any [8] affront to the Court System of

New Jersey. None is intended. I have been practicing across the

13a

Transcript of Hearing

river, Your Honor, for twenty-six years now. I have only been

in this building once and that is the only time I have had a case

in New Jersey. We sent many, many cases here to Camden County,

Gloucester County, Burlington County lawyers. There is no

question they are competent to handle the cases. I would just

request, Your Honor, in the exercise of its discretion, to grant

this request in this particular matter.

THE COURT: Iamconcerned about changing precedent.

I have been the Assignment Judge of Camden County for about

eight months. I have only allowed the admission pro hac vice

once, and even that case I would not have allowed it had my

predecessor not already verbally ruled that application should be

granted. I felt obligated in that case not to demean the integrity

of my predecessor by overruling him, even though no official

order was entered. The application has to be based on a lot of

distinguishing factors. First of all, and I believe you may have

read the decision written by my colleague, Judge Haines, who

is now the [9] Assignment Judge in Burlington County, in the

case of Burlington Co. Internal Medicine Associates vs. American

Medicorp which appears at 168 New Jersey, Super 362. He

indicates there must be evidence before the Court that foreign

counsel is of good standing in his own state. I have absolutely

no doubt of that in this case. The opinion also indicates foreign

counsel by affidavit should indicate that he has maintained his

competency as an attorney particularly in any specialization which

he claims, and I am completely satisfied that is so here. There

must be an indication by the client that he wishes to be represented

by the foreign attorney, and that is certainly true here. However,

there also has to be shown good cause showing that the case

involves a complexed field of law, and no one here is going to

in anyway imply to me, nor can I accept that a medical malpractice

case is foreign to the intelligence and competency of local counsel.

We try these cases in this court house daily in large numbers.

14a

Transcript of Hearing

There also has to be shown a long-held attorney-client

relationship, I don’t see any such relationship here. There is a

relationship [10] that arises out of this case. The case that Judge

Haines decided was a case where the attorney had represented

this company for a number of years, did all their work. This

relationship — that is why I specificaliy asked you what the

relationship was — this relationship is only by virtue of this case,

not by virtue of any longstanding relationship between counsel

and his client. :

Even more importantly, the next item, there must be shown

a lack of local counsel with expertise in the field involved. I have

already indicated, as a matter of fact, J consider your firm very

competent. There are attorneys in this county and Gloucester

County who try medical malpractice cases on a daily basis, very

difficult ones. I don’t see anything complexed about this case

that New Jersey counsel cannot handle. There may be legal

questions involving rules of foreign jurisdiction, but that is not

here.

Lastly, there exists a need for extensive discovery proceedings

in foreign jurisdictions. I recognize a lot of the medical has to

come out of Pennsylvania, but Pennslyvania [11] is across the

river. We are not talking about going to California or Chicago.

After weighing all the pros and cons, I just do not feel this is

the appropriate case tor counsel from a foreign jurisdiction should

be permitted to try this case.

The application is denied.

1Sa

Transcript of Hearing

CERTIFICATION

I, HARRY TI. BATEMAN, Notary Public of the State of

New Jersey, hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct

transcript from my original stenographic notes taken by me in

the captioned matter.

s/ Harry J. Bateman

Harry J. Bateman, C.S.R.

Notary Public

l6a

COMPLAINT FOR PRELIMINARY AND PERMANENT

INJUNCTION AND DECLARATORY JUDGMENT

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

GARY CUTLER, ESQUIRE

Attorney for Plaintiff

Mainline Shopping Center

Florelle Plaza

Cinnaminson, NJ 08077

(609) 829-9094

HENRY B. FITZPATRICK, JR.

1200 One Franklin Plaza

Philadelphia, PA 19103

I. V. DiMARTINO, A.J.S.C.

In His Capacity as Judge of the Superior Court, Law Division

Gloucester County, New Jersey

1 North Board Stree’

Woodbury, NJ 08096

and

THE SUPERIOR COURT

Law Division

Gloucester County, New Jersey

1 North Broad Street

Woodbury, NJ 08096

17a

Complaint

COUNT |!

JURISDICTION

1. This is a civil action in which original jurisdiction is vested

in this Court by virtue of Article III, Section 2, of the Constitution

of the United States, 28 U.S.C. §1343(3) and 1343(4), and 42

U.S.C. §1983. Plaintiff prays that a preliminary and permanent

injunction issue to restrain defendants from acting under color

of state law, custom and usage to deprive plaintiff of rights secured

to him by the Constitution and the Laws of the United States

and plaintiff prays for a declaratory judgment of the rights secured

to him by the Constitution and the Laws oi the United States.

The right to injunctive relief is founded on Rule 65 of the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure and 28 U.S.C. §2201 and §2202.

PARTIES

2. Plaintiff, Henry B. FitzPatrick, Jr., is a resident of the

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and is licensed to practice law

in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, and is a member in good

standing of the Bar.

3. The Honorable I. V. DiMartino is named a defendant

in his capacity as Judge of the Superior Court, Law Division,

Gloucester County, New Jersey. He presided over the hearing

on a motion to permit the admission before the Court, pro hac

vice, of Henry B. FitzPatrick, Jr., Esquire, as additional counsel

for Richard W. Coleman in proceedings captioned Richard W.

Coleman, et al. v. Roy L. Gorin, Docket No. L-44136-81 of said

Court.

4.-The Superior Court, Law Division, Gioucester County,

New Jersey, is named as defendant in its capacity as a court

Complaint

established and authorized by the laws of the State of New Jersey

to exercise jurdisdiction over proceedings captioned Richard W.

Coleman, et al. v. Roy L. Gorin, Docket No. L-44136-81.

SUMMARY OF THE COMPLAINT

5. This is an action under, inter alia, §1983 of Title 42 of

the United States Code. The Complaint seeks a judgment declaring

the rights >* nlaintiff attorney FitzPatrick to represent one Richard

W. Coleman a. ditional counsel in civil proceedings captioned

Richard W. Coleman, et al. v. Roy L. Gorin, Docket No.

L-44136-81, based upon the absence of a specific finding pursuant

to a hearing that plaintiff FitzPatrick is unfit or that substantial

reasons exist that would justify his exclusion.

6. The plaintiff further seeks a judgment granting a

preliminary and permanent injunction compelling defendants to

admit him pro hac vice for purposes of representing Richard W.

Coleman in civil proceedings captioned Richard W. Coleman, et

al. v. Roy L. Gorin, Docket No. L-44136-81, based upon the

absence of a specific finding pursuant to a hearing that he is unfit

or that substantial reasons exist which would justify his exclusion

on the grounds that to do otherwise would amount to a deprivation

of his constitutional rights under color of state law.

HISTORY OF PROCEEDINGS

7. On or about -May 7, 1981, a Complaint captioned Richard

W. Coleman, et al. v. Roy L. Gorin, was filed in the Superior

Court of New Jersey, Law Division, Gloucester County, New

Jersey, Docket No. L-44136-81, by Diana B. Gittleman, Esquire,

a member of the Bar of the State of New Jersey. Said Complaint

alleges that the defendant’s medical malpractice caused plaintiff

serious injury.

ee

19a

Complaint

8. Shortly prior to May 21, 1982, Diana B. Gittleman,

Esquire, moved for an Order permitting the admission before the

Court, pro hac vice, of plaintiff, attorney FitzPatrick, as additional

counel for Richard W. Coleman.

9. On May 21, 1982, a hearing on the Motion was held before

defendant DiMartino. Affidavits were presented and testimony

of Diana B. Gittleman, Esquire, and plaintiff FitzPatrick were

heard. Defendant DiMartino stated as follows:

**The Court: I am concerned about changing

precedent. I have been the Assignment Judge of

Camden County for about eight months. I have

only allowed the admission pro hac vice once, and

even that case I would not have allowed it had

my predecessor not already verbally ruled that

application should be granted.’’ (Hearing

transcript, p. 8). (Defendant DiMartino is also the

Assignment Judge for Gloucester County.)

10. Defendant DiMartino stated that his action under N.J.

Court Rules, 1969, R.1:21-2 was governed by the case of

Burlington County Internal Medicine Associates, P.A. v. American

Medicorp, Inc., 168 N.J. Super. 382, 403 A.2d 43 (Chan. 1979).

(Hearing transcript p. 9).

11. Paraphrasing that case, Defendant DiMartino listed those

things which a non-resident of New Jersey must establish in order

to be permitted to appear for his client in a New Jersey Court:

“*He [the Judge who wrote the Burlington County

opinion] indicates there must be evidence before

the court that foreign counsel is of good standing

20a

Complaint

in his own state. I have absolutely no doubt of

that in this case.’’

‘*The opinion also indicates foreign counsel by

affidavit should indicate that he has maintained

his competency as an attorney particularly in any

specialization which he claims, and I am completely

satisfied that is so here.’’

‘‘However, there also has to be shown good cause

showing that the case involves a complex field of

law, and no one here is going to in any way imply

to me, nor can I accept that a medical malpractice

case is foreign to the intelligence and competency

of local counsel.’’

‘*There also has to be shown a longheld attorney-

client relationship. I don’t see any such relationship

here. There is a relationship that arises out of this

case. The case that Judge Haines decided [the

Burlington County case] was a case where the

attorney had represented this company for a

number of years, did all their work.’’

‘*Even more importantly, the next item, there must

be shown a lack of local counsel with expertise

in the field involved. I have already indicated, as

a matter of fact, I consider your firm very

competent ...I don’t see anything complexed

[sic] about this case that New Jersey counsel cannot

handle.’’ (Hearing transcript p. 9, 10).

Defendant DiMartino denied the Motion at the hearing and

in a written Order dated June 7, 1982.

2la

Complaint

12. On June 22, 1982, Diana B. Gittleman, Esquire, filed

a Motion for Leave to Appeal Interlocutory Order in the Superior

Court, Appellate Division, which Motion was assigned Docket

No. AM-925-81T1, Motion No. M-4160-81.

13. On July 12, 1982, the Motion was denied by the

Honorable Theodore I. Botter, Presiding Judge of Part I, Superior

Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division.

14. On July 28, 1982, Gary B. Cutler, Esquire, having been

substituted for Diana B. Gittleman, Esquire, filed a Motion for

Leave to Appeal Interlocutory Order in the Supreme Court of

New Jersey, which Motion was designated M-159 September Term,

1982, No. 20224.

15. On October 26, 1982, the Supreme Court of New Jersey

issued an Order denying the Motion.

LAWYER-CLIENT RELATIONSHIP

16. The relationship between plaintiff FitzPatrick and

Richard W. Coleman is unique in that FitzPatrick is not only

involved with the legal aspects of the civil proceedings, but is

involved with and was instrumental in obtaining medical treatment

for Coleman’s very severe injury.

17. It was through the efforts of FitzPatrick that Coleman

is now being treated by a physician at the Hospital of the University

of Pennsylvania who is one of only two physicians in the United

States specializing in the electrical stimulation of bone growth.

18. The nature of the relationship is such that Coleman has

particular trust and confidence in FitzPatrick and desires

FitzPatrick to represent him.

22a

Complaint

19. The nature of the relationship was presented to defendant

DiMartino at the hearing of May 21, 1982.

QUALIFICATIONS OF HENRY B. FITZPATRICK, JR.

20. The plaintiff, Henry B. FitzPatrick, Jr., is a graduate

of the University of Pennsylvania Law School from where he

received an LL.B. in 1956 and served as Editor of the Law Review.

He was admitted to the Bar of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

in 1957.

21. The plaintiff, FitzPatrick, has been admitted and is a

member in good standing of the following Courts: United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, United States

District Court for the Midtlle District of Pennsylvania, the Supreme

Court of Pennsylvania, the Superior Court of Pennsylvania, and

the Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania.

22. The plaintiff, FitzPatrick, has been admitted pro hac vice

and tried and argued cases in the following Federal Courts: United

States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois, United

States District Court for the District of Maryland, United States

District Court for the District of Delaware, United States District

Court for the District of Columbia, and United States District

Court for the District of New Jersey.

23. The plaintiff, FitzPatrick, has been admitted pro hac vice

and tried and argued cases in State courts in the following states:

Delaware, Maryland, New York and New Jersey.

24. The plaintiff FitzPatrick is a member in good standing

of the following associations: American Trial Lawyers Association,

|

23a

Complaint

Pennsylvania Trial Lawyers Association, Philadelphia Trial

Lawyers Association, American Bar Association, Pennsylvania

Bar Association and Philadelphia Bar Association.

VIOLATION OF PLAINTIFF’S RIGHTS

25. The refusal to permit plaintiff FitzPatrick to be admitted

pro hac vice in the absence of a specific finding that he is unfit

or that substantial reasons exist which would justify his exclusion

constitutes a violation of his rights under Article IV, §2 of the

United States Constitution (the Privileges and Immunities Clause),

and under the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution.

26. in addition, upon information and belief, other out-of-

state counsel, equally and similarly situated, and under equal and

similar circumstances as those presented here, are and have been

admitted pro hac vice by various judges of the Superior Court

of New Jersey.

27. The conduct of the defendants herein committed under

color of state law violates, inter alia, the plaintiff’s rights to due

process and equal protection, as well as his rights to maintain

a lawyer-client relationship, to freely engage in his chosen

profession, and to be unrestricted in travel for such purposes.

28. Plaintiff has exhausted all available state remedies and

has no adequate remedy at law available to him.

WHEREFORE, Henry B. FitzPatrick, Jr., respectfully

demands judgment against the defendants for the following relief:

24a

Complaint

1) For an Order directing that the civil proceedings

captioned Richard W. Coleman, et al. v. Roy L. Gorin, Docket

No. L-44136-81 in the Superior Court of New Jersey, Law

Division, Gloucester County, are stayed until such time as the

instant action is finally determined.

2) For a judgment declaring the refusal to permit his

admission pro hac vice in the absence of a specific finding that

he is unfit or that substantial reasons exist which would justify

his exclusion constituties a violation of his rights under Article

IV §2 of the United States Constitution and under the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution; and

3) For a preliminary and permanent injunction enjoining

the defendants from preventing his admission pro hac vice as

additional counsel for Richard W. Coleman in the civil proceedings

captioned Richard W. Coleman, et al. v. Roy L. Gorin, Docket

No. L-44136-81; and

4) For such other and further relief as the Court shall

deem appropriate, together with costs and disbursements of this

action.

s/Gary B. Cutler

GARY B. CUTLER, ESQUIRE

Attorney for Plaintiff

25a

Complaint

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

GARY B. CUTLER, ESQUIRE

Attorney for Plaintiff

Mainline Shopping Center

Florelle Plaza

Cinnaminson, NJ 08077

(609) 829-9094

HENRY B. FITZPATRICK, JR.

I.V. DIMARTINO, A.J.S.C.

In His Capacity as Judge of the Superior Court

Law Division

Gloucester County, NJ

and

THE SUPERIOR COURT

Law Division

Gloucester, NJ

CERTIFICATION OF SERVICE

I, Gary B. Cutler, Esquire, hereby certify that a copy of the

Complaint for Preliminary and Permanent Injunction and

Declaratory Judgment was mailed via Certified Mail, Receipt

Requested, on May 2, 1983 to the following:

I. V. DiMartino, A.J.S.C.

In His Capacity as Judge of the Superior Court

Law Division

26a

Complaint

Gloucester County, New Jersey

1 North Broad Street

Woodbury, NJ 08096

The Superior Court

Law Division

Gloucester County, New Jersey

1 North Broad Street

Woodbury, NJ 08096

s/Gary B. Cutler

GARY B. CUTLER, ESQUIRE

Attorney for Plaintiff,

Henry B. FitzPatrick, Jr.

ee

27a

MOTION FOR ADMISSION OF COUNSEL PRO HAC VICE

PRINCIPATO AND HANIFEN

519 Federal Street - Suite 304

Camden, New Jersey 08103

(609) 964-0405

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

LAW DIVISION

GLOUCESTER COUNTY

DOCKET NO. L-44136-81

CIVIL ACTION

RICHARD W. COLEMAN, et ai,

Plaintiffs,

VS.

ROY L. GORIN,

Defendant.

TO: Roy L. Gorin

Washington Medical Towers

Turnersville, NJ 08012

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that on the 2lst day of May, 1982,

the undersigned attorney for the plaintiff will move for an Order

' permitting the admission before this Court, pro hac vice, of Henry

B. FitzPatrick, Jr., Esquire, as additional counsel for the plaintiff,

pursuant to R.1:21-2 of the New Jersey Court Rules.

[_

28a

Motion for Admission of Counsel Pro Hac Vice

The plaintiff will rely on the attached Affidavits.

It is hereby requested that this Motion be submitted to the

Court for ruling on the papers pursuant to R.1:6-2.

PRINCIPATO AND HANIFEN

BY: DIANA B. GITTELMAN

Attorneys for the Plaintiff

DATED: April 30, 1982

PRINCIPATO AND HANIFEN

519 Federal Street - Suite 304

Camden, New Jersey 08103

(609) 964-0405

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

29a

Motion for Admission of Counsel Pro Hac Vice

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

LAW DIVISION

GLOUCESTER COUNTY

DOCKET NO. L-44136-81

CIVIL ACTION

RICHARD W. COLEMAN, et al,

Plaintiffs,

VS.

ROY L. GORIN,

Defendant.

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

CCUNTY OF CAMDEN as

DIANA B. GITTELMAN, of full agc, being duly sworn

according to law, upon her oath deposes and says:

1. I am an attorney at law licensed to practice in the State

of New Jersey and represent the plaintiff, RICHARD W.

COLEMAN, in the above-captioned action. I am submitting this

Affidavit in support of my Motion for Admission of Counsel!

Pro Hac Vice.

2. Good cause exists tc admit Henry B. FitzPatrick, Jr.,

Esquire, of the firm of Liebert, Short, FitzPatrick, and Lavin,

1200 One Franklin Plaza, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, as additional

30a

Motion for Admission of Counsel Pro Hac Vice

counsel in this matter as Mr. FitzPatrick has an established

attorney-client relationship with the plaintiff and has had 25 years

experience in medical malpractice litigation. The plaintiff herein

is currently recuperating from surgery which was performed at

the University of Pennsylvania Hospital on the afflicted leg which

is the subject matter of this litigation. Both his treating physicians,

2s well as those physicians who will be called as experts by the

plaintiff, are located in Pennsylvania, necessitating the conduct

of extensive discovery in that jurisdiction.

3. For the reasons aforesaid, it is respectfully requested that

Henry B. FitzPatrick, Jr., Esquire, be admitted pro hac vice as

additional counsel in the above-captioned action.

PRINCIPATO AND HANIFEN

BY: DIANA B. GITTELMAN

Sworn and Subscribed to

before me this 30th day

of April, 1982.

s/ Mary E. Scarduzio

Notary Public of New Jersey

My Commission Expires 3-26-84

3la

Motion for Admission of Counsel Pro Hac Vice

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

LAW DIVISION

GLOUCESTER COUNTY

RICHARD W. COLEMAN, et ux

Plaintiffs

vs.

ROY L. GORIN

Defendant

AFFIDAVIT

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA :

SS

COUNTY OF PHILADELPHIA :

I, RICHARD W. COLEMAN, being duly sworn according

to law depose and state that I am the plaintiff in the within action

and I respectfully request that the Court permit Henry B.

FitzPatrick, Jr., Esquire, of the law firm of Liebert, Short,

FitzPatrick & Lavin, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, to represent me

in the New Jersey Court in the above captioned action.

‘s/ RICHARD W. COLEMAN

Sworn to and Subscribed:

Before me this 29th day:

Of April 1982:

32a

Motion for Admission of Counsel Pro Hac Vice '

s/ Deborah Short

NOTARY PUBLIC Phila., Phila. Co.

My Commission Expires Aug. 11, 1984

33a

Motion for Admission of Counsel Pro Hac Vice

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

LAW DIVISION

RICHARD W. COLEMAN, et ux

Plaintiffs

vs.

ROY L. GORIN,

Defendant

AFFIDAVIT

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA :

SS

COUNTY OF PHILADELPHIA

HENRY B. FITZPATRICK, JR., ESQUIRE, being duly

sworn according to law deposes and says that he has been a

practicing lawyer specializing in the trial of personal injury cases

for plaintiffs since 1957, including medical malpractice cases. The

medical malpractice cases have included claims against orthopaedic

surgeons, meurosurgeons, gynecologists, gastroenterologists,

general surgeons, radiologists and dentists. Counsel is a member

of the American Trial Lawyers Association, the Pennsylvania Trial

Lawyers Association and the Philadelphia Trial Lawyers

Association and has attended seminars on the trial of medical

malpractice cases given by those associations.

s/ Henry B. Fitzpatrick, Jr.,

Esquire

34a

Motion for Admission of Counsel Pro Hac Vice

Sworn to and Subscribed: Before me this 29th day:

Of April, 1982:

s/ Deborah Short

NOTARY PUBLIC

Phila., Phila. Co.

My Commission Expires Aug. 11, 1984

35a

Motion for Admission of Counsel Pro Hac Vice

SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

know all men by these presents,

THAT Henry B. Fitzpatrick, Jr. was duly admitted to the

Bar of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania on the 15th day of

April 1957, and is now a qualified member in good standing.

Witness my hand and official seal

this 26th day of April A.D. 1982

s/ Marlene Lachman

Prothonotary

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.