Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kollsman v. City of Los Angeles

Supreme Court brief1985

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

\b.F

- FITED

pec 4 1964

In the Supreme Court @ cr L STEVAS.

United States (Os

October Term, 1984

84-883 —

No. 84 -

EVA KOLLSMAN, CITY NATIONAL BANK,

as Special Administrators of the Estate of

Paul Kollsman, deceased,

Petitioners,

v,

CITY OF LOS ANGELES,

a municipal corporation,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

JERROLD A. FADEM

MICHAEL M. BERGER

of FADEM, BERGER & NORTON

501 Santa Monica Boulevard

Suite 600

P.O. Box 2148

Santa Monica, California 90406

Telephone: (213) 451-9951

Attorneys for Petitioners

Westside Law Publishers Los Angeles, California (213) 477-0491

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Because of the harmful effects of delay on the

parties and the impact on both state and federal judicial

systems of trial, should the determination whether to

abstain be primarily a pre-trial determination, so years of

litigational effort by both court and counsel are not wasted

by a hindsight post-trial review? When abstention has

been denied and a trial on the merits has been concluded,

is it a better use of limited judicial resources to review the

merits of the case rather than “‘armchair quarterbacking”’

the pre-trial abstention decision?

2. When the District Court has refused four requests

to abstain and the Court of Appeals has denied a pretrial

Petition for Writ of Mandate seeking to compel abstention,

is it error for the Court of Appeals to re-examine the

abstention issue after the case has been fully tried on the

merits, order abstention, and compel the parties (after

seven years of Federal Court litigation) to begin anew in

state court?

3. Is it proper for the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

to decide that, in land use planning and zoning cases, the

District Courts have no discretion to consider the merits

and that abstention in favor of state court adjudication is

mandatory? Ought such a rule — which contradicts all

decisions of this Court on abstention — survive as

precedent in the largest Circuit in the Nation?

4. Indetermining whether a state law issue is a matter

of sufficient local sensitivity to require abstention, is it

proper for the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals (in contrast

to all other Courts of Appeals to consider the issue) to

conclude that land use planning and zoning cases are

almost a/ways so sensitive that abstention is required?

Otherwise expressed, are planning and zoning cases any

more locally sensitive than public school, motor vehicle,

li

and prison condition cases which Federal Courts routinely

decide?

5. In determining whether state law is so uncertain

that abstention is mandatory, is it sufficient for a Court of

Appeals merely to note ( without analysis) that counsel for

one of the litigants says he disagrees with the District

Court’s interpretation?

6. Is abstention mandatory when a substantial federal

issue will remain regardless of the outcome of state

litigation?

7. When acase pending in the District Court contains

both Federal Constitutional issues and state statutory

issues and is fully tried as to all issues, is it appropriate for

the District Court to decide a state statutory issue first, in

an effort to avoid reaching Federal Constitutional issues?

If a District Court does that in compliance with cases such

as City of Mesquite v. Alladin’s Castle, Inc. (1982) 455

US 283, 294-295, is it error for a Court of Appeals to

vacate and order abstention?

PARTIES

All parties are listed in the caption.

ili

TOPICAL INDEX

Page

Questions Presented i

Parties li

Opinions Below ]

Jurisdiction 2

Constitutional And Statutory Provisions 3

Statement Of The Case 3

Reasons For Granting The Writ 7

INTRODUCTION 7

ABSTENTION IS PROPERLY A PRE-TRIAL DECI-

SION, WHICH CONSERVES THE RESOURCES OF

THE LITIGANTS AND BOTH JUDICIAL SYSTEMS,

RATHER THAN A POST-TRIAL DECISION REQUIR-

ING MULTIPLE TRIALS ON THE MERITS

THIS COURT HAS UNIFORMLY HELD THAT ABSTEN-

TION IS THE EXCEPTION TO THE DUTY OF DIS-

TRICT COURTS TO ADJUDICATE CASES INVOLVING

SUBSTANTIAL FEDERAL QUESTIONS. THE NINTH

CIRCUIT IS ATTEMPTING TO ESTABLISH THE

OPPOSITE

LAND USE CASES ARE NOT SO SENSITIVE THAT

ABSTENTION MUST ALWAYS BE REQUIRED

TO ESTABLISH SUFFICIENT UNCERTAINTY OF

STATE LAW TO REQUIRE ABSTENTION, MORE IS

REQUIRED THAN TO NOTE THAT COUNSEL FOR

ONE OF THE PARTIES SAYS HE DISAGREES WITH

THE DISTRICT COURT

11

13

15

iV

IT HAS LONG BEEN SETTLED THAT A DECISION

SHOULD BE BASED ON A PENDENT STATE LAW

CLAIM RATHER THAN A FEDERAL CONSTITUTION-

AL CLAIM 17

THE FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS OF THE

KOLLSMAN HEIRS OUGHT NOT BE SACRIFICED

ON THE ALTAR OF ABSTENTION 19

CONCLUSION 20

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Agins v. City of Tiburon[1979] 24 C 3d 266 [aff'don

other grounds 447 US 255] 19

Bell v. Hood [1946] 327 US 678 11, 20

Canton v. Spokane School Dist. #81 [9th Cir 1974]

498 F2d 840 21

CIR v. Duberstein [1960] 363 US 278 3

City of Mesquite v. Alladin’s Castle, Inc. (1982) 455

US 283 ii

City of Moore v. Atchison, Topeka, & Santa Fe Ry.

[10th Cir 1983] 699 F2d 507 14

Colorado River Water Cons. District v. U.S. [1976]

424 US 800 7, 11

County of Allegheny v. Frank Mashuda Co. [1959]

360 US 185 14

C-Y Dev. Co. v. City of Redlands [9th Cir 1983] F2d

375 12

Gilliland v. County of Los Angeles [1981] 126 CA

3d 610 19-20

Hawaii Housing Auth. v. Midkiff [1984] ___ US

___., 81 LEd 2d 186 12, 15, 16

Heritage Farms, Inc. v. Solebury Tp. [3d Cir 1982]

671 F2d 743 14

Hostetter v. Idlewild Liquor Corp. [1964] 377 US

324 9

Inwood Laboratories v. Ives Laboratories [1982]

456 US 844 3

Isthmus Landowners Assn. v. State [9th Cir 1979]

601 F2d 1087 12

Kollsman v. City of Los Angeles (9th Cir 1984) 737

F2d 830 1, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15-16

Kolisman v. City of Los Angeles (CD Cal 1983) 565

F.Supp. 1081 1

Lodestar Co. v. County of Mono (E.D.Cal. 1984)

—_.. F. Supp. : , Fn. 23 18

vi

Lynch v. Household Fin. Corp. [1972] 405 US 538

Mayor v. Educational Equality League [1974] 415

12

US 605 9,17

Moses H. Cone Hosp. v. Mercury Const. [1983]

US , 74 L Ed 2d 765

Nasser v. City of Homewood [11th Cir 1982] 671

F2d 432

Newport Inv., Inc. v. City of Laguna Beach [9th Cir

1979] 564 F 2d 893

Ohio Bureau of Employment Serv. v. Hodary (1977)

431 US 471

Pennhurst State School of Hosp. v. Halderman

(1984) __E US _____, 79 L Ed 2d 67

Public Util. Com. v. United Fuel Gas Co. [1943]

317 US 456

1317 US 456

Pue v. Sillas [9th Cir. 1980] 632 F 2d 74

Railroad Comm’n v. Pullman Co. [1941] 312 US

7

14

12

17

17

9

21

496 9,13

Rancho Palos Verdes Co. v. City of Laguna Beach

[9th Cir 1976] 547 F 2d 1092

San Diego Gas & Elec. Co. v. City of San Diego

[1981] 450 US 621 [Brennan, J., dissenting]

12

5, 12, 19, 20

Santa Fe Land Imp. Co. v. City of Chula Vista [9th

Cir. 1979} 596 F.2d 838

Sederquist v. City of Tiburon [9th Cir 1978] 590

12

F.2d 278 12, 18

Silverman v. Barry [DC Cir. 1984] 727 F.2d 1121

Spivey v. Barry [DC Cir. 1981] 665 F.2d 1222

Toussaint v. Yockey [9th cir. 1984] 722 F.2d 1490

Urbanizadwora Versalles, Inc. v. Rivera Rios [1st Cir.

1983] 701 F.2d 993

U.S. v. Clarke (1980) 445 US 253

Wilcox v. Consolidated Gas Co. [1908] 212 US 19

Zwickler v. Koota (1967) 389 US 241

14

10

21

14

13

1]

1]

Vii

Statutes

California Government Code

§ 65950 2

§ 65956 y a

United States Code

28 USC §1254(1) 3

28 USC §1331 2

28 USC §1332 2

28 USC §1343 2

42 USC §1983 2, 12, 19

Other Authorities

Tribe, American Constitutional Law[1978] § 3-40

at 151 9

No. 84 -

In the Supreme Court of the

United States

October Term, 1984

EVA KOLLSMAN, CITY NATIONAL BANK,

as Special Administrators of the Estate of

Paul Kollsman, deceased,

Petitioners,

v.

CITY OF LOS ANGELES,

a municipa! corporation,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI!

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

The Petitioners respectfully pray that a Wnit of Certiorari

issue to review a judgment and order of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (App. A) is

reported as Kolisman v. City of Los Angeles (9th Cir

1984) 737 F 2d 830. The Court of Appeals (by a 2-1 vote)

vacated the District Court’s judgment and ordered absten-

tion. The District Court’s opinion (App. C) is reported as

Kollsman v. City of Los Angeles (CD Cal 1983) 565 F

Supp. 1081.

JURISDICTION

This is a land use planning case in which the property

owner, Mr. Kollsman,' sought a determination as a matter

of Federal Constitutionai law that the City’s regulation of

his vacant land in such a way that no economically viable

use could be made of it violated the due process and equal

protection guarantees and constituted a taking of his 85

acre property for public use (open space) without compen-

sation. He asked both injunctive and compensatory relief.

Jurisdiction was based on 28 USC §1331. When the

complaint was filed, Tashi Land Corp. (wholly owned by

Mr. Kollsman) was the titular owner of the subject

property. As it was a New York resident, jurisdiction was

also based on 28 USC § 1332.2 When the complaint was

amended to seek relief pursuant to the Civil Rights Act (42

USC § 1983), jurisdiction was additionally founded on 28

USC §1343. Mr. Kollsman also sought relief pursuant to

California law, under both the District Court's pendent

and diversity jurisdiction. Cal Govt Code § §65950 and

65956 provide that, when a subdivision application is not

acted on by a city within one year, it is deemed approved.

After trial on the merits of the Federal Constitutional

issues as well as the pendent state issue, the District Court

entered judgment on the state issue only, deeming Mr.

Kollsman’s subdivision approved, while reserving jurisdic-

tion over the Federal Constitutional issues.

'Mr. Kolisman died at age 82, knowing that the District Court had

ruled in his favor but without seeing the judgment entered. His widow

and City National Bank, co-Special Administrators of his estate for

his California property, were substituted in his stead on appeal. As the

record refers to Mr. Kollsman as the property owner, this Petition will

do likewise for clarity and consistency.

?Tashi Land Corp. was later dissolved and its only asset (the

subject property) distributed to Mr. Kollsman.

The District Court’s judgment (App. D) and it’s opinion

(App. C), including findings, were filed February 1, 1983.

The Court of Appeals’ judgment (App. A) vacating the

District Court’s judgment and ordering abstention by a 2-

1 vote (Judge Reinhardt dissenting), was filed July 17,

1984. The timely Petition for Rehearing was denied

September 5, 1984 (App. B).

This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked pursuant to 28 USC

§1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

This Petition deals primarily with the abstention doctrine,

a judge-made concept, which has no Constitutional or

Statutory genesis.

The District Court’s judgment was based on California

statutes, primarily Cal Govt Code § §65950 and 65956.

They are reproduced in App. E.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE}

Mr. Ko!'sman owned 85 acres of vacant hillside land in

a valuable, desirable area of the City of Los Angeles,

adjacent to an estate on which he lived. The property had

been acquired over a period of decades with the idea of

creating a high quality, luxury subdivision. Thus, although

the zoning on the property would have permitted 247

homes on the 85 acres, Mr. Kollsman (after lengthy study

and consultation with neighbors and government officials)

proposed only 70 homes.

‘This statement is based on the District Court's findings (App. C).

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (App. A) did not overturn any

findings or conclude that they were unsupported. To the extent that its

factual recitation deviates from the findings, it appears to be improper.

(Compare /nwood Laboratories v. lves Laboratories |1982|456 US

844, 855-857: CIR v. Duberstein |1960| 363 US 278, 291-292.)

The day after Mr. Kollsman submitted his tentative

tract inap (the first step in subdivision approval), the City

adopted a part of its general plan which contained a

regulatory device called the “slope density formula.’’ The

formula was intended to severely restrict development in

some hillside areas. It applied to the Kollsman property.

In fact, the “slope density formula’”’ is so restrictive that

appraisers for both sides agreed at trial that its application

to Mr. Kollsman’s land (allowing only 9 homes on his 85

acres) deprived the property of any economically viable

use.

The City’s appraiser said “ .. . development. . . would

not have been economically feasible.” (RT [1979] 762)

Mr. Kollsman’s appraiser concluded:

*.., the 85 acres for subdivision purposes has no

value. It would show a negative result, a loss.”

(RT [1979] 158)

The case was tried in 1979 on the Federal issues of due

process, equal protection, and inverse condemnation.

A year later, with no decision forthcoming, Mr. Kollsman

sought leave to amend his complaint to add a state law

cause of action, to give the District Court the opportunity

to base its judgment (at least in part) on non-Constitutional

grounds, as this Court has repeatedly taught. During the

pendency of the litigation, the California legislature

completed enactment of a series of statutes designed to

encourage construction of housing, ease the process of

obtaining permits, and speed the process of land develop-

ment. Cal Govt Code § §65950 and 65956 require a city

to act on land development applications within one year or

they are deemed approved.

In 1981, the District Court heard additional testimony

on the state law issue.

Two years later, in 1983, the District Court found that

Mr. Kollsman had done all that was required of him, that

the City had acted in bad faith in refusing to process his

subdivision proposal, and that the proposal must be

deemed approved. (App. C, pp C-29-30) Judgment was

entered on this issue only, with jurisdiction over the

already-tried Federal Constitutional issues still held in

abeyance. (App. D)*‘

During the litigation, the City repeatedly asked the

District Court to abstain. Four times, these requests were

denied. In 1978, the City sought a writ of mandate from

the Court of Appeals to compel abstention. After full

briefing by both sides, the writ was denied. (See App. C, p

C-3.)

Then, in 1984, seven years after the litigation began and

after a full trial on the merits of all issues, the Court of

Appeals (over Judge Reinhardt’s vigorous dissent) decided

that abstention was required. In so doing, the Ninth

Circuit:

e reinforced its own peculiar rule that abstention is

the ru/e in land use planning and zoning cases,

rather than the exception in all cases;

e decided that land use planning and zoning cases

are always matters of extreme local sensitivity

which require abstention (apparently unlike

cases involving public schools, motor vehicles,

and prison conditions, which are not);

e concluded that a District Court has virtually no

discretion to entertain a land use planning or

zoning case on its merits without first abstaining;

4Interim damages for the period during which development was

prohibited remained to be determined. (See San Diego Gas & Elec.

Co. v. City of San Diego |1981}| 450 US 621 |Brennan, J.,

dissenting|.) The amount could not be determined until after develop-

ment.

e held that the mere fact that counsel for one of the

litigants says he disagrees with a District Court’s

interpretation of state law automatically demon-

strates the uncertainty of state law and requires

abstention; and

e _ ignored generations of this Court’s holdings that

decisions ought to be based on non-Constitutional 3

grounds where possible. |

Because the Federal Constitutional issues had already :

been fully tried and awaited only the preparation of

findings and a judgment, and in order to end this litigation

economically (which ought to be in the interest of all

litigants and both judicial systems), Mr. Kollsman’s heirs

offered (in their Petition for Rehearing) to forego any

attempt at relief under California law. Instead, they asked

that the case be remanded to the District Court for

determination of the Federal Constitutional issues.* They

remain willing to do that.

ee

‘This was the solution preferred by Judge Reinhardt in dissent. He

believed the District Court's application of state law to the facts was

erroneous. Rather than abstain, he urged remand for determination of

the Federal Constitutional issues. (See App. A, pp A-28-31.)

REASONS FOR GRAWTING THE WRIT

INTRODUCTION

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals has created its own

backwater of abstention law which is at odds with this

Court’s consistent teachings. As the largest Circuit Court

in the Nation, there is a need to bring its holdings into

harmony with this Court’s paramount holdings. These

aberrant holdings have been developing over the last eight

years. It is time for this Court to halt the nonconformity.

This Court has consistently held that abstention is an

‘,.. extraordinary and narrow exception to the duty of a

district court to adjudicate a controversy properly before it

... (Colorado River Water Cons. Dist. v. U.S. [1976]

424 US 800, 813; quoting with approval.) As this Court

recently concluded:

‘But we emphasize that our task in cases such as

this is not to find some substantial reason for the

exercise of federal jurisdiction by the district

court; rather, the task is to ascertain whether

there exist ‘exceptional’ circumstances, the ‘clear-

est of justifications,’ that can suffice under

Colorado River to justify the surrender of that

jurisdiction. Although in some rare circumstances

the presence of state-law issues may weigh in

favor of that surrender, see n 29, supra, the

presence of federal-law issues must always be a

major consideration weighing against surrender.”

(Moses H. Cone Hosp. v. Mercury Const.

[1983] _. US _., 74 L Ed 2d 765, 786;

emphasis, the Court’s.)

The Ninth Circuit’s rule is in sharp contrast to this

Court’s, at least in land use planning and zoning cases. As

Judge Reinhardt lamented in his dissent:

‘By attempting to make abstention the absolute

rule in zoning cases rather than the exception in

all cases, the majority does a disservice to the

litigants, who deserve, at a minimum, a reasonably

prompt resolution of the federal issues that are

determinative of this lawsuit.’ (Kollsman v.

City of Los Angeles {9th Cir 1984] 737 F 2d

830, 844 [App. A, p A-30]; Reinhardt, J.

dissenting)

In land use planning and zoning cases, the Ninth Circuit

has stripped District Courts of their discretion. It has

concluded that such cases automatically involve highly

sensitive matters of local concern. It has concluded that

the mere expression of disagreement with the District

Court’s interpretation of state law by counsel for one of the

litigants is sufficient to establish uncertainty and mandate

interpretation by state courts — with all its attendant delay

— before adjudicating the Federal issues.

The majority has gutted the elementary duty of District

Courts to try cases within their jurisdiction. It has stood

the abstention doctrine on its head by commanding

abstention in virtually all land use planning and zoning

cases.

This court’s attention is sorely needed to return the law

of the Ninth Circuit to that of the Nation.

ABSTENTION IS PROPERLY A PRE-TRIAL

DECISION, WHICH CONSERVES THE RE-

SOURCES OF THE LITIGANTS AND BOTH

JUDICIAL SYSTEMS, RATHER THAN A

POST-TRIAL DECISION REQUIRING MUL-

TIPLE TRIALS ON THE MERITS

The abstention doctrine seeks to serve a dual purpose. It

attempts to avoid Federal/state friction by not having

Federal courts unnecessarily decide issues of state law. It

also attempts to conserve judicial resources by having

uncertain state law issues determined by the courts with

the jurisdiction and primary interest in deciding them.

(Railroad Comm’n v. Pullman Co. [1941] 312 US 496,

500)

Abstention necessarily creates some delay, while a case

remains in a “holding pattern”’ in District Court awaiting

the outcome of state court determination of state law

issues. Because of the adverse impact of delay, this Court

has repeatedly cautioned that the impact of delay deserves

to be weighed when deciding whether to abstain. (See,

e.g., Bellotti v. Baird |1976]| 428 US 132, 150; Mayor v.

Educational Equality League {1974} 415 US 605, 628;

Hostetter v. Idlewild Liquor Corp. |1964] 377 US 324,

329; Public Util. Com. v. United Fuel Gas Co. [1943]

317 US 456, 462-463; Tribe, American Constitutional

Law |1978] §3-40 at 151.)

The economy benefit of abstention is not available if

abstention is ordered by an appellate court after trial on

the merits.

Abstention is, by its nature, a pre-trial determination.

It determines where trial will take place. To conserve limited

judicial resources (in both state and Federal systems), the

id

District Court’s pre-trial determination ought to stand

unless reversed in an extraordinary writ proceeding before

trial.

To do otherwise, and permit appellate courts to second

guess trial judges after trial has already been had and

command not one, but two additional trials,° is profligate.

As the D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals recently expressed

it:

‘We do not believe that a decision to abstain at

this late date [i.e., after trial] would serve the

purposes that animate the abstention principle,

and we decline to order a complete relitigation of

this case in the local courts.” (Spivey v. Barry

[DC Cir 1981] 665 F 2d 1222, 1229)

The decision of the Ninth Circuit in this case is plainly

at odds with the realistic assessment of the D.C. Circuit in

Spivey. Judge Reinhardt’s dissent, by contrast acknowledges

the need to infuse abstention decisions with realism and

practicality:

“The suit has already outlived the original

plaintiff, Paul Kollsman. The Kollsman estate

will be most fortunate indeed if it is able to

resolve even the simple and unimportant state

law aspect of this litigation by 1987 — ten years

after the time the original application was filed.

The case will then return to the federal courts for

resolution of the federal issues unless by that

time the plaintiffs have abandoned their rights in

despair. In my opinion, we have a legal duty to

exercise our jurisdiction now.

x* *

Please recall that the upshot of a post-trial abstention order (such

as issued by the Court of Appeals at bench) is to wipe out the trial

which already occurred, send the parties to state court for a trial (and

appeal) of state law issues, and then conduct yet another Federal trial

on the Federal issues.

1]

“By attempting to make abstention the absolute

rule in zoning cases rather than the exception in

all cases, the majority does a disservice to the

litigants, who deserve, at a minimum, a reason-

ably prompt resolution of the federal issues that

are determinative of this lawsuit. We should

allow the already long delayed dispute to pro-

ceed to an orderly resolution. The abstention

doctrine and its accompanying delay should be

reserved for cases involving extraordinary cir-

cumstances.” (Kollsman, 737 F 2d at 844;

App. A, p A-30)

Many decisions are best entrusted to the discretion of

the trial judge. This is one of them. The time to review it for

abuse is before trial, not after seven years of Federal

litigation.

THIS COURT HAS UNIFORMLY HELD

THAT ABSTENTION IS THE EXCEPTION

TO THE DUTY OF DISTRICT COURTS TO

ADJUDICATE CASES INVOLVING SUB-

STANTIAL FEDERAL QUESTIONS. THE

NINTH CIRCUIT IS ATTEMPTING TO ES-

TABLISH THE OPPOSITE

Where Federal questions are central to a lawsuit, the

plaintiff has a right to have his case tried in the Federal

courts. (Wilcox v. Consolidated Gas Co. [1908] 212 US

19, 40; Bell v. Hood [1946] 327 US 678, 681)

The duty of the District Courts to try such cases has

been termed “*. . . virtually unflagging . . .”” (Colorado

River, 424 US at 817). See also Zwickler v. Koota(1967)

389 US 241.

‘| A]bstention from the exercise of federal juris-

diction is the exception, not the rule. | Citation. ]

12

(Hawaii Housing Auth. v. Midkiff [1984]

US , 81 L Ed 2d 186, 194;

quoting with approval.)

The central issues in this case are Federal. They are

Constitutional. They deal with the basic civil rights of

people who own property. (See San Diego Gas, 450 US

at 647-653 (Brennan, J., dissenting]; Lynch v. Household

Fin. Corp. [1972] 405 US 538-552.)

In the last eight years, the Ninth Circuit has issued more

published opinions in land use/abstention cases than all

other Circuits combined. Its rule seems to be abstention.

(See Kollsman v. City of Los Angeles [9th Cir 1984]

737 F 2d 830;.C-Y Dev. Co. v. City of Redlands [9th Cir

1983] 703 F 2d 375; Isthmus Landowners Assn. v. State

[9th Cir 1979] 601 F 2d 1087; Santa Fe Land Imp. Co. v.

City of Chula Vista [9th Cir 1979] 596 F 2d 838;

Sederquist v. City of Tiburon [9th Cir 1978] 590 F 2d

278; Newport Inv., Inc. v. City of Laguna Beach [9th Cir

1977] 564 F 2d 893; Rancho Palos Verdes Co. v. City of

Laguna Beach [9th Cir 1976] 547 F 24 1092.)

In C-Y Development, the Ninth Circuit made its land

use rule quite express. That case was based on 42 USC

§ 1983. Acknowledging that this Court has said absten-

tion ought not apply in § 1983 cases, the Ninth Circuit

nonetheless abstained because none of this Court’s

§ 1983 cases had involved land use. (See 703 F.2d at

381.)

This routine application led Judge Reinhardt (in dissent)

to conclude that the Ninth Circuit is attempting to make

abstention ‘“‘. . . the absolute rule in zoning cases rather

than the exception inallcases. . .”’(Kollsman, 737 F 2d

at 844; App. A, p A-30)

The Ninth Circuit’s rule is an affront to this Court. It

flies in the face of all of this Court’s abstention decisions.

Review is deserved.

13

LAND USE CASES ARE NOT SO SENSITIVE

THAT ABSTENTION MUST ALWAYS BE

REQUIRED

In Railroad Comm’n v. Pullman Co. (1941) 312 US

496, 498, this Court held that Federal courts ought not

delve into “*. . . a sensitive area of social policy . . .” by

Constitutional adjudication if state court interpretation of

state law could obviate the need.

That general statement, however, was not intended to

severely restrict Federal jurisdiction. As noted above,

abstention was to be a limited exception, not the rule.

On the subject of a state’s eminent domain power

(involved at bench because this is an action for inverse

condemnation [see U.S. v. Clarke (1980) 445 US 253,

257]), this Court concluded a quarter of a century ago that

the field was not so sensitive as to routinely require

abstention:

“It is suggested, however, that abstention is

Justified on grounds of avoiding the hazard of

friction in federal-state relations any time a

District Court is called on to adjudicate a case

involving the State’s power of eminent domain,

even though, as in this case, the District Court

would simply be applying state law in the same

manner as would a state court. But the fact thata

case concerns a State’s power of eminent do-

main no more justifies abstention than the fact

that it involves any other issue related to

sovereignty. Surely eminent domain is no more

mystically involved with ‘sovereign prerogative’

than a State’s power to regulate fishing in its

waters, [citation], its power to regulate intrastate

trucking rates, [citation], a city’s power to issue

certain bonds without a referendum, [citation],

14

its power to license motor vehicles, [citation],

and a host of other governmental activities

carried on by the states and their subdivisions

which have been brought into question in the

Federal District Courts despite suggestions that

those courts should have stayed their hand

pending prior state court determination of state

law.

‘‘Furthermore, the federal courts have been

adjudicating cases involving issues of state emi-

nent domain law for many years, without any

suggestion that there was entailed a hazard of

friction in federal-state relations.”” County of

Allegheny v. Frank Mashuda Co. [1959] 360

US 185, 191-192; emphasis added.)

In stark contrast to this clear directive from this Court,

the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals completed nearly a

decade of revisionist lawmaking by noting in this case.

‘We have repeatedly noted that land use planning

is a sensitive area of social policy that meets the

first requirement for Pu//man abstention. | Cita-

tions.]”” (Kollsman, 737 F 2d at 833; App. A,

p A-7)

No other Circuit employs such a knee-jerk holding of

“local sensitivity.” In fact, the other Circuits treat land

use cases the same as any other, refusing reflex deferrence.

(See, e.g., Urbanizadora Versalles, Inc. v. Rivera Rios

[1st Cir 1983] 701 F 24993, 998; Heritage Farms, Inc. v.

Solebury Tp. [3d Cir 1982] 671 F 2d 743, 746-747; City

of Moore v. Atchison, Topeka, & Santa Fe Ry. {10th Cir

1983] 699 F 2d 507, 510; Nasser v. City of Homewood

[11th Cir 1982] 671 F 2d 432, 439; Silverman v. Barry

[DC Cir 1984] 727 F 2d 1121, 1123-1124.)

15

In terms of local sensitivity, there can never have been a

land use case of more local sensitivity than Hawaii

Housing Auth. v. Midkiff (1984) _ US __, 81 L Ed 2d

186, which dealt with the constitutionality of a Hawaiian

Statute designed to redistribute land ownership throughout

the state. If ever a land use case cried out for deference to

local wishes, that was it. Yet, when the State suggested

abstention, this Court refused. Because the state law was

clear (even though unconstrued by state courts) and no

interpretation would remove the Federal issues, abstention

was denied.

The same is true here. The state law is clear. Regardless

of its determination, the Federal Constitutional issues will

remain.’ Under Midkiff, abstention would not have been

warranted before trial. It is certainly improper after trial.

The Ninth Circuit is out of step with this Court and the

other Circuits. Review is needed so American citizens

who live in the Ninth Circuit receive the same treatment

accorded those living elsewhere.

TO ESTABLISH SUFFICIENT UNCERTAIN-

TY OF STATE LAW TO REQUIRE ABSTEN-

TION, MORE IS REQUIRED THAN TO NOTE

THAT COUNSEL FOR ONE OF THE PARTIES

SAYS HE DISAGREES WITH THE DISTRICT

COURT

The majority below concluded that state law was

uncertain. How? By noting that the City’s attorney

disagreed with the District Court’s interpretation. (Kolls-

"Le., even if a state court decides the Kolisman development was

not deemed approved, the Federal question of whether the City’s

severe restriction of the property’s use — conceded by the City’s own

appraiser to render the property not economically useable — will

remain

16

man, 737 F 2d at 834-836; App. A, pp A-8-12) However,

as Judge Reinhardt cogently said in dissent:

“It is not enough simply to say, as the majority

does: the district court says X and the City says

Y; therefore, there is a dispute as to state law;

accordingly, the law is unclear and we must

abstain. In order to conclude that abstention is

appropriate, a court must at least identify which

issues are Critical to the outcome of the litigation

and which involve questions to which the answer

is, in its opinion, actually unclear. The majority

does neither here.” (Kol/sman, 737 F 2d at 839;

App. A, p A-18; Reinhardt, J., dissenting;

emphasis, Judge Reinhardt’s.)

Judge Reinhardt’s dissent is in harmony with this

Court’s teaching, as well as with common sense. The

majority follows neither. As this Court said in Midkiff:

“The dissenting judge in the Court of Appeals

suggested that, perhaps, the state courts could

make resolution of the federal const tutional

questions unnecessary by their construction of

the Act. See 702 F 2d, at 811-812. In the

abstract, of course, such possibilities always

exist. But the relevant inquiry is not whether

there is a bare, though unlikely, possibility that

state courts might render adjudication of the

federal question unnecessary. Rather, ‘|wle

have frequently emphasized that abstention is

not to be ordered unless the statute is of an

uncertain nature, and is obviously susceptible of

a limiting construction.’ Zwickler v. Koota, 389

US 241,251, andn 14, 19 LEd2d 444, 88 SCt

391 (1967), These statutes are not of an uncertain

nature and have no reasonable limiting construc-

tion. Therefore, Pullman-abstention is unneces-

(Al ial

17

sary.” (US , 81 L Ed 2d at 195;

emphasis added. )

To the same effect are Ohio Bureau of Employment Serv.

v. Hodory (1977) 431 US 471, 481 and Mayor v.

Educational Equality League (1974) 415 US 605, 628.

Particularly where the effect of its ruling is to undo

seven years of Federal litigation on the merits and order

the parties to begin again in state court, it seems incumbent

on a Court of Appeals to do more than note the non-

startling fact that the lawyer for the losing party in the

District Court says he disagrees with the District Court’s

legal analysis.

This Ninth Circuit rule will make a shambles of the

abstention doctrine. It ought not be permitted to harden

into precedent.

IT HAS LONG BEEN SETTLED THAT A

DECISION SHOULD BE BASED ON A PEN-

DENT STATE LAW CLAIM RATHER THAN

A FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL CLAIM

Every first year law student learns of this Court’s

preference for reaching decisions on non-Constitutional

grounds if that is possible. The point was recently

reiterated in Pennhurst State School & Hosp. v. Halderman

(1984)__ US___., 79 L Ed 2d 67, 89-90:

“This Court long has held generally that when a

federal court obtains jurisdiction over a federal

claim, it may adjudicate other related claims

over which the court otherwise would not have

: jurisdiction. | Citations.] The Cuurt also has held

that a federal court may resolve a case solely on

the basis of a pendent state-law claim, [citation]

and that in fact the court usually should dosoin

order to avoid federal constitutional questions,

LE EEE _—<3O LL

18

[citation]; Ashwander v. TVA, 297 US 288,

347, 80 L Ed 688, 56 S Ct 466 (1936)

(Brandeis, J., concurring) ([I|f a case can be

decided on either of two grounds, one involving a

constitutional question, the other a question of

statutory construction or general law, the Court

will decide only the latter’).”’ (Emphasis added. )

The District Court did what this Court has repeatedly

said it must do. It based the principal thrust of its decision

on a state statutory ground. (Jurisdiction over the Federal

Constitutional issues was reserved.)

What the District Court got for its pains (after seven

years of litigation) was an inexplicable order from the

Court of Appeals vacating its decision and commanding it

to submit an issue to another court.®

The Ninth Circuit’s decision flies in the face of settled

law. But for this Court’s clear preference for avoiding

Constitutional issues, the case could have been decided on

the primary issues tried. (Indeed, it still could be if the case

were remanded for that purpose.) It is unseemly for the

8 The ostensible reason was to obtain a definitive interpretation of

state law from state courts. However, as ably pointed out in Lodestar

Co. v. County of Mono (E.D.Cal.1984) F. Supp. ,

fn. 23, the chances of getting such a determination are

slight. Most California Court of Appeal decisions are not published

and not precedential Few cases reach the Supreme Court. Thus, after

years of delay, there may in fact be no definitive determination of state

law. See, e.g., the plight of Mr. and Mrs. Sederquist. They began

Federal litigation in 1975. The District Court abstained and the Ninth

Circuit affirmed. (Sederquist v. Tiburon [9th Cir. 1978] 590 F.2d

278) Their state court litigation resulted in an unpublished opinion

and their Federal iitigation continues to this day. (See Sederquist v.

Tiburon (9th Cir. 1984] ___ ss F2d

aw NT

19

Ninth Circuit to criticize the District Court for doing what

this Court has commanded.

THE FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS

OF THE KOLLSMAN HEIRS OUGHT NOT

BE SACRIFICED ON THE ALTAR OF ABS-

TENTION

What sets this nation apart from the rest of the world is

not merely the recitation in the Constitution that the rights

of individuals are important,’ but their protection by the

judiciary.

That protection of the rights of individuals has been

both the glory and the duty of the Federal courts.

But if the Federal courts weaken in their role as the

individual’s bulwark against unconstitutional state and

local actions, then the rights of individuals will be reduced

to fading words on yellowing parchment. Rights which are

not enforced are not rights at all.

If the genera! rule in land use cases is to abstain, as

Judge Reinhardt’s dissent sadly puts it, then the Federal

Constitutional rights of California property owners are

rendered meaningless.

California courts do not enforce the Federal Constitu-

tional rights of property owners. (Compare Agins v. City

of Tiburon [1979] 24 C 3d 266 [aff'd on other grounds

447 US 255], with San Diego Gas & Elec. Co. v. City of San

Diego|1981] 450 US 621, 647,651,655, fn22, 660-661

[Brennan, J., dissenting procedurally, but apparently

expressing the view of at least five Justices on the

merits].) Even when the gravamen of the complaint is

violation of the Federal Civil Rights Act (42 USC

§ 1983), the California courts ignore Federal law and

apply non-remedial California law. (See Gilliland v.

%Many constitutions do that, including the Soviet Union’s.

20

County of Los Angeles [1981] 126 CA 3d 610, 617.) On

the efficacy of the California “remedy,” see Justice

Brennan’s dissent in San Diego Gas & Elec. Co., 450 US

at 653-656.

Such a result is bad enough when suit is initiated in state

court. But when a plaintiff chooses the Federal forum to

try his Federal Constitutional case (as he has a right to do

| Bell v. Hood (1946) 327 US 678, 681]), and then after

seven years of litigation is told that he must begin anew in

the state courts, one sputters to find an appropriately

descriptive term.

Delay — by itself — violates the Constitutional rights of

Mr. Kollsman’s heirs. (See San Diego Gas & Elec. Co.,

450 US at 656-657.)

The chilling effect on California property owners of

knowing that they must subject themselves to the inhospit-

able atmosphere of the California court system (accompa-

nied by the scandalous delays in getting cases concluded

in metropolitan courts),'° forfeits Federal Constitutional

rights.

That cannot be justice.

CONCLUSION

If the abstention doctrine is to function fairly, the

decision below cannot be permitted to stand. It is the final

nail in a casket the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals has

been constructing for nearly a decade.

The Ninth Circuit’s abstention doctrine thumbs its nose

at this Court. It removes District Court discretion. It finds

extreme local sensitivity in all land use cases while not

finding it in public school (Canton v. Spokane School

10It takes five years for a civil case in Los Angeles Superior Court to

proceed from complaint filing to trial.

21

Dist. #81 [9th Cir 1974] 498 F 2d 840), motor vehicle

(Pue v. Sillas [9th Cir 1980] 632 F 2d 74), and prison

condition ( Toussaint v. Yockey [9th Cir 1984] 722 F 2d

1490) cases. It finds automatic uncertainty in local law

because the lawyer for the losing party says he disagrees

with the District Court’s legal analysis.

It is time for this Court to call a halt.

For the Ninth Circuit to be permitted to establish its

own body of law — at odds with the decisions of this Court

and the other Circuits — in the hope that this Court will be

too busy or uninterested in procedural decisions to

intervene, contravenes elemental fairness.

The Petitioners pray that a writ issue to conform the law

of the Ninth Circuit to that of the rest of the Nation.

Respectfully submitted,

JERROLD A. FADEM

MICHAEL M. BERGER

FADEM, BERGER & NORTON

By: MICHAEL M. BERGER

Attorneys for Petitioners

APPENDIX

A-1

Eva KOLLSMAN, City National Bank,

Tashi Land Corporation, a New York

corporation, Plaintiffs-Appellees,

V.

GITY OF LOS ANGELES, a municipal

corporation, Defendant-Appellant.

No. 83-5798.

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit.

Argued and Submitted Jan. 4, 1984.

Decided July 17, 1984.

Michael M. Berger, Fadem, Berger, McIntire & Norton,

Los Angeles, Cal., for plaintiffs-appellees.

William L. Waterhouse, Los Angeles, Cal., for

defendant-appellant.

Joseph Barbieri, Deputy Atty. Gen., San Francisco,

Cal., for amicus Cal. Coastal Comm. et al.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Central District of California.

Before SNEED and REINHARDT, Circuit Judges, and

SOLOMON’, District Judge.

SNEED, Circuit Judge:

Paul Kollsman sought approval from the City of Los

Angeles to develop an eighty-five acre subdivision. The

City denied the application on the ground that Kollsman

had failed to submit requested information. Kollsman

filed an action in federal district court alleging that the

City’s land use regulations violate the Fifth and Fourteenth

*Honorable Gus J. Solomon, Senior United States District Judge for

the District of Oregon, sitting by designation.

APPENDIX A

A-2

Amendments and provisions of state law. Without addres-

sing the federal consititutional claims, the district court

held that Kollsman’s subdivision application must be

deemed approved under California law. We conclude that

the district court, 565 F.Supp. 1081, should have abstained

and allowed state courts to decide the questions of land

use planning. We therefore vacate the judgment of the

district court and remand.

I.

FACTS AND PROCEEDINGS BELOW

Paul Kollsman proposed to develop a seventy lot

subdivision on an eighty-five acre tract of land located in

the Santa Monica Mountains. On January 12, 1977,

Kollsman submitted to the City of Los Angeles a proposed

tract map and an “environmental Assessment Form.”

The City notified Kollsman on February 16, 1977, that it

would not accept his subdivision application before he

submitted a draft Enivronmental Impact Report (EIR).

Kollsman submitted a first draft EIR on July 28, 1977.

By a memorandum dated August 16, 1977, the City

informed Kollsman that two additional sections should be

added to the EIR. Kollsman submitted a second draft EIR

on September 13, 1977. The City circulated this draft for

comment among concerned homeowner groups. On

November 30, 1977, the City sent Kollsman a memoran-

dum requesting further environmental information. The

City sought information on development alternatives that

would conform to the City’s ‘‘slope denisty formula’’ and

utilize “‘cluster development” as opposed to individual

units.! Four months later, on March 3, 1978, Kollsman

'The “slope density formula” is part of the “community plan” for

the Bel Air-Beverly Crest District of Los Angeles, which includes

Kollsman’s land. The City prepares community plans as part of the

general plan required by California statutes. See Cal.Gov.Code §

A-3

submitted certain information requested by the City. He

did not, however, submit information on alternative

development plans.

The City informed Kollsman in a letter dated May 11,

1978, that the draft EIR could not be compl«ted until he

submitted information on alternative development plans

and the slope density formula. On advice cf counsel,

Kollsman did not provide the additional information. The

City mailed Kol!sman a form notice of “Determination of

Incompleteness of Application’”’ on November 22, 1978.

Two months later, on January 12, 1979, the City informed

Kollisman that a public hearing could not be held on his

application without completion of the EIR. On November

14, 1979, the City sent Kollsman a “Notice of Intent to

Disapprove without Prejudice” for the reason that he had

not submitted requested information. The City denied

Koilsman’s subdivision application on November 26,

19792

Concurrent with the City’s processing of the sub-

division application, Kollsman contested the land use

regulations in federal district court. Kollsman filed a six-

65302. The community plan shows specific land uses and densities of

development for the various communities of the City. The City

Planning Commission adopted the Bel Air-Beverly Crest District

plan on March 4, 1976; the Los Angeles City Council endorsed the

plan on January 13, 1977.

The slope density formula determines the number of units allowed

on land designated as “minimum density housing.” Under the

formula, the maximum number of dwelling units depends on the

average natural slope of the land. The slope density formula indicates

that no more than nine dwelling units may be permitted on Kollsman’s

85 acres.

*The City notified Kollsman at this time that he could appeal the

denial of his application to the City Planning Commission. On

December 20, 1979, the district court approved a stipulation agreed

to by Kollsman and the City suspending the administrative appeal.

A-4

count complaint on March 1, 1977. Counts I and III

sought to invalidate the slope density formula on con-

stitutional theories of inverse condemnation and equal

protection. Court III requested $6.3 million in damages

for inverse condemnation. Counts IV, V, and VI involved

state law claims. The district court granted the City’s

motion to dismiss Count V on April 25, 1977, and granted

summary judgment in favor of the City on Counts IV and

VI on March 28, 1978. In March and April of 1979, a

seven-day bench trial was held on the constitutional

claims.

On March 21, 1980, Kollsman filed a motion to submit

additional evidence that raised, for the first time, the

argument that his subdivision application should be

“deemed approved” pursuant to California statutes. The

court held two additional days of trial in April 1981. On

November 11, 1981, the court issued an opinion stating

that it had found for the plaintiff on the issue of liability and

directing plaintiff's counsel to submit proposed findings of

fact and conclusions of law. Over the City’s opposition,

the court on February 22, 1982, granted Kollsman’s

motion to amend the complaint to conform to proof. The

amendment added two counts: Count VII asserts that

Kollsman’s application must be “deemed approved”

under California law, and Court VIII claims rights under

42 U.S.C. § 1983.

On February 2, 1983, the district court held that

Kollsman’s subdivision application must be “deemed

approved” pursuant to California Government Code

Sections 65950 and 65956(a).° This result is based on the

3Cal.Gov.Code §65950 provides in pertinent part:

Any public agency which is the lead agency for a

development project shall approve or disapprove such

project within one year from the date on which an

A-5

court’s conclusion that Kollsman’s application was

complete in fact and must be “deemed complete” on

November 22, 1978. The court asserted that this con-

clusion is valid even though the City sent Kollsman a

notice on that date stating that his application was

incomplete. The district court found that the City could

not in good faith determine that the application was

incomplete when Kollsman had submitted all information

that the City could lawfully request under applicable

California statutes. The application was complete, and we

must read its letter of November 22, 1978 to say that.

Because the City did not act on Kollsman’s application

within one year from November 22, 1978, the court

concluded that the application must be deemed approved.

The City filed a timely notice of appeal.‘

Count VII raises difficult state law issues of great

importance to the people of California. As already

indicated, abstention is the appropriate course here.

We, therefore, vacate and remand.

application requesting approval of such project has been

received and accepted as complete by such agency.

Cal. Gov.Code §65956(a) provides:

In the event that a lead agency or a responsible agency

fails to act to approve or to disapprove a development

project within the time limits required by this article, such

failure to act shall be deemed approval of the development

project.

*Paul Kollsman died before the district court entered its judgment.

We granted the motion of his widow, Eva Kollsman, and City

National Bank for substitution as parties herein. Mrs. Kollsman and

the bank are administrators of Paul Kollsman’s estate. For convenience,

we will refer to appellees as “Kollsman.”

A-6

IL.

DISCUSSION

The abstention doctrine based on Railroad Commission

v. Pullman Co., 312 U.S. 496, 61 S.Ct. 643, 85 L.Ed.

971 (1941) is a narrow exception to the district court’s

duty to decide cases properly before it. Pullman allows

postponement of the exercise of federal jurisdiction when

“a federal constitutional issue . . . might be mooted or

presented in a different posture by a state court deter-

mination of pertinent state law.’’ C- Y Development Co. v.

City of Redlands, 703 F.2d 375, 377 (9th Cir. 1983)

(quoting County of Allegheny v. Frank Mashuda Co.,

360 U.S. 185, 189, 79 S.Ct. 1060, 1063, 3 L.Ed.2d 1163

(1959)).

[1] We apply an abuse of discretion test in reviewing

district court abstention decisions. E.g., C- Y Development

Co., 703 F.2d at 377. This standard of review, however,

does not preclude invoking abstention in cases in which

there exist compelling reasons to allow state courts to

resolve issues of state law. Cf Richardson v. Koshiba,

693 F.2d 911, 915-18 (9th Cir. 1982) (ordering Pullman

abstention after raising issue sua sponte). We believe that

this is such a case.°

We have relied on three criteria for the application of

Pullman abstention: (1) the complaint must touch a

‘Our earlier refusal to grant a writ of mandamus requiring the

district court to abstain, No. 78-1557 (9th Cir. June 7, 1978), does

not preclude us from now holding that the district court should have

abstained. First, we apoly a more stringent standard of review under

our mandamus jurisdiction than when reviewing on direct appeal a

district court's order under the abuse of discretion standard. Badham

v. U.S. Dist. Ct. for N.D. Cal, 72! F.241170, 1171 (9th Cir. 1983).

Second, our order denying the petition for mandamus was issued

before Kolisman raised the argument that his application should be

deemed approved under Cal:fornia law. Thus, our earlier order did

not consider the state law issues now involved in the case.

ae aaa Sa aaa

A-7

sensitive area of social policy into which the federal courts

should not enter unless there is no alternative to adjudi-

cation; (2) a definitive ruling on the state issues by a state

court could obviate the need for constitutional adjudication

by the federal court; and (3) the proper resolution of the

potentially determinative state law issue is uncertain.

Richardson, 693 F.2d at 915; see C-Y Development Co.,

703 F.2d at 377; Canton v. Spokane School Dist. No. 81,

498 F.2d 840, 845 (1974).

[2] The first and second criteria are clearly satisfied in

this case. We have repeatedly noted that land use planning

is a sensitive area of social policy that meets the first

requirement for Pullman abstention. E.g., C- Y Develop-

ment Co., 703 F.2d at 377; Santa Fe Land Improvement

Co. v. City of Chula Vista, 596 F.2d 838, 840 (9th Cir.

1979); Ranchos Palos Verdes Corp. v. City of Laguna

Beach, 547 F.2d 1092, 1094 99th Cir. 1976). The second

requirement is also met. The conclusion eventually reached

by the district court illustrates that a ruling on Kollsman’s

state law claims could obviate the need to address the

federal constitutional claims.

We also find that the third requirement for Pullman

abstention is met here. The district court’s decision rests

on an interpretation of interlocking statutory provisions

enacted during the course of this litigation. The district

court acknowledged that there have been few state cases

that interpret the particular California code sections

underlying its decision. Slip Op. at 21. Moreover,

appellants persuasively argue that resolution of this case

requires attention not only to Chapter 4.5 of the California

Government code, the focus of this district court’s opinion,

but also consideration of the interrelation of that chapter

with the Subdivision Mar Act and the California Environ-

mental Quality Act.®

*The California Environmental Quality Act, Cal. Pub.Res.Code

A-8

The uncertainty of state law issues is illustrated by

comparing the reasoning of the district court with the

City’s arguments before this court. For example, the

district court relied on section 65941 of the California

Government Code to conclude that the City could not in

good faith refuse to accept Kollsman’s application as

complete.’. That section, the court held, prohibits the City

from requiring Kollsman to submit the “informational

equivalent” of an EIR. Because the district court found

that Kollsman had submitted sufficient information to

allow the City to prepare a legally adequate EIR, the court

held that the City must consider Kollsman’s application

complete even though the City insisted that it was not. The

City rejects this interpretation and argues that the request

§21000 et seq., requires preparation of an EIR whenever a project

may have a significant adverse impact on the environment. No Oil,

Inc. v. City of Los Angeles, 13 Cal.3d68, 118 Cal. Rptr. 34,529 P.2d

66 (1974).

The California Subdivision Map Act prohibits the City from

approving projects that do not comply with the general and specific

area plans. Cal.Gov.Code § §66473.1, 66474.61; Woodland Hills

Residents Ass'n, Inc. v. City Council of the City of Los Angeles, 44

Cal. App.3d 825, 118 Cal. Rptr. 856 (1975).

’Cal.Gov.Code §65941 provides:

The information compiled pursuant to section 65940

shall also indicate the criteria which such agency will

apply in order to determine the completeness of any

application submitted to it for a development project.

In the event that a public agency is a lead agency for

purposes of Division 13 (commencing with Section

21000) of the Public Resources Code, such criteria shall

not require the applicant to submit the informational

equivalent of an environmental impact report as part of a

complete application; provided, however, that such cri-

teria may require sufficient information to permit the

agency to make the determination required by Section

21080.1 of the Public Resources Code.

A-9

for information was authorizied by the City’s administra-

tive guidelines for evaluating a development project's

consistency with the general plan.*. Moreover, the City

maintains that section 65941 was not applicable to local

agencies at the time it determined the application was

incomplete.’

The district court and the City also differ on the

completeness of Kollsman’s application. The district

court noted that section 65943 of the California Govern-

ment Code requires that “[iJn the event that the application

is determined not to be complete, the agency’s determin-

ations shall specify those parts of the application which

are incomplete and shall indicate the manner in which they

can be made complete.” The district court found that the

City’s letter of November 22, 1978, did not satisfy this

requirement and concluded that the City’s determination

of incompleteness was both incorrect and ineffective. It

*The City Office of Planning and Research adopted ‘Permit

Guidelines” to carry out Chapter 4.5 of the Government Code.

Permit Guidelines § 1087.1, effective January 31, 1978, provides:

Local agencies should adopt as one of their criteria for

completeness the requirement that the development pro-

ject be shown in the application to be consistent with the

applicable general plan required by Government Code

sections 65300 eet seq,

The City argues that this provision authorized it to demand that

Kollsman submit information on development alternatives consistent

with the slope density formula.

*Section 65940, referred to in the first paragraph of §65941, did

not apply to local agencies until June 30, 1983. Before it was

amended in 1982, see 1982 Cal.Sate Ch. 84, § 1, the first paragraph

referred only to state agencies.

Kollsman responds by noting that the language in the second

paragraph of §65941 refers to “a public agency” and that the City

comes under the statutory definition of “public agency.” See

Cal.Gov.Code §65932.

A-10

therefore concluded that the City had failed to satisfy the

time limits of section 65924.'°. The district court held that

the legislature intended that if the substantive requirements

of section 65943 are not satisfied within the specified time

limits, a development application should be deemed

complete.'' Therefore, Kollsman’s application must be

deemed accepted as complete on Novemer 22, 1978.!2

'°Cal.Gov.Code §65924 provides:

With respect to any development project an application

for which has been accepted as complete prior to January

1, 1978; the deadlines specified in Section 65950 and

65952 shall be measured from January 1, 1978. With

respect to such application received prior to January |,

1978, but not determined to be complete as of that date, a

determination that the application is complete or in-

complete shall be made not later than 60 days after the

effective date of the act amending this section in 1978.

The amendment adding the last sentence to §65924 became

effective on September 26, 1978. Thus, the City had until November

26, 1978, to determine whether Kollsman’s application was complete.

'' Section 65943 provides in pertinent part:

Not later than 30 calendar days after any public agency

has received an application for a development project,

such agency shall determine in writing whether such

application is complete and shall immediately transmit

such determination to the applicant for the development

project.

As originally enacted, §65943 did not specify the consequences of

a public agency’s failure to make the determination within the

specified time limit. Moreover, §65924 provides a separate time

period for the determination of completeness on applications, such as

Kollsman’s that were submitted before January |, 1978. See supra

note 10. In 1979, §65943 was amended to provide that “if such

written determination is not made within 30 days after receipt of the

application, the application shall be deemed complete for purposes of

this chapter.” This amendment became effective on October 2, 1979.

'2The district court's rationale for concluding that the application

must be deemed complete on November 22, 1978, is somewhat

opaque. The district court stated that as early as May 12, 1978, the

A-11

The city disputes each link in the district court’s

reasoning. The City argues that the district court erred by

applying section 65943, as amended, retroactively to

Kollsman’s application,'? and even if the section applies

retroactively, an application should not be deemed

complete even when an agency makes a timely, but

erroneous determination that an application is incomplete.

The City insists that the earliest possible date that

City had all of the information that it could lawfully require Kollsman

to supply. At 1095. The City, the district court found, suspended

processing of the application and did not make a bona fide determin-

ation of completeness or incompleteness at any time prior to

November 22, 1978. /d. After observing that the legislature intended

that applications should be deemed complete “in the event of failure

to meet the substantive requirements prescribed in §65943 within the

time limits,’ and that Kollsman’s application was in fact complete,

the district court concluded that the application must be deemed

complete as of November 22, 1978. At 1095.

Kollsman argues that a letter from the City dated November 14,

1979 may be read as a concession that the application was complete

on November 22, 1978. The letter notified Kollsman that the City

intended to disapprove the application on November 21, 1979, in

order to meet the one-year deadline. The district court observed that

“the notice of November 14, 1979, reflects an awareness that the

Kollsman application was complete in fact on November 22, 1978.”

At 1096. Nonetheless, the district court did not specifically rely on

this observation in concluding that the application must be deemed

complete on November 22, 1978. Instead, the court made its

comments concerning the November 14, 1979, letter when it

considered whether the application should be deemed approved. See

at 1096.

'5The legislature specifically addressed the problem of pending

application when it amended §65924. See supra note 10. When the

legislature amended § 65943, however, it did not distinguish between

pending and subsequent applications.

The City argues that before the effective date of the “deemed

complete” provision of §65943, an applicant’s remedy for failure to

comply with the time limits was to seek a writ of mandamus directing

the agency to make the completeness determination.

A-12

Kolisman’s application could be deemed complete is

November 26, 1978.'4 If the application is deemed

complete on this date, the City’s rejection of the application

on November 26, 1979 satisfies the one-year time limit

provided by section 65950.'°

Even if we assume that the district court correctly held

that Kollsman’s application must be deemed complete on

November 22, 1978, uncertainty still obscures the legal

consequences of that holding. The district court concluded

that because the City had not satisfied the one-year

deadline to approve or disapprove a completed application,

the application must be deemed approved. At 1096.

Various California state agencies, participating as amicus

curiae, argue that Kollsman’s application may not be

deemed approved because he failed to submit a project

proposal that complies with the California Environmental

Quality Act and the Subdivision Map Act.'® The City

'4The City was not required to make a determination of the

completeness of Kollsman’s application before November 26, 1978.

See supra note 10. The City argues that if the district court correctly

held that the determination of incompleteness on November 22,

1978, was ineffective, the proper conclusion is that this determination

must be disregarded. Thus, if §65943 applies retroactively, the City

reasons that the earliest date that the application could be deemed

complete is November 26, 1978.

'S See supra note 3. If the one-year period commenced on Novem-

ber 26, 1978, the City’s disapproval of the project on November 26,

1979 was timely. November 25, 1979 was a Sunday, which extended

the City’s time to act until the next working day. See Cal.Civ.Code

§§7, 10. The City also maintains that its requests for additional

information should be interpreted as implicit denials of Kollsman’s

application. Cf Carmel Valley View, Lid. v. Maggini, 91 Cal. App.3d

318, 323, 155 Cal.Rptr. 208, 211-12 (1979) (request for supplemental

information considered implicit disapproval for purposes of “deemed

approved” provision of Subdivision Map Act). Kollsman attempts to

distinguish Maggini by arguing that here the district court found that

the City acted in bad faith.

'6See supra note 6. Kollsrnan counters by arguing that the later

enactment of Chapter 4.5 of the California Governmnet Code takes

precedence over the earlier legislation.

A-13

argues that if Kollsman’s application is deemed approved,

such approval must be subject to appeal to the City

Planning Commission and the City Council.'? Alterna-

tively, the City maintains that Kollsman’s subdivision

may only be deemed approved subject to the slope density

formula.

These state law issues require us to conclude that the

district court abused its discretion by failing to abstain.

This case implicates the concerns underlying the first and

third criteria for Pullman abstention.'® Land use planning

'7The City relies on Woodland Hills Residents Ass'n, Inc. v. City

Council, 44 Cal.App.3d 825, 118 Cal. Rptr. 856 (1975), which

construed a then effective “deemed approved” provision of the

Subdivision Map Act. Appellants challenged an advisory agency’s

approval of a subdivision. The trial court concluded that this action

was deemed approved by the Planning Commission and the City

Council because each body had voted by a tie vote to deny appeal

from the advisory agency’s decision. The Court of Appeals reversed,

and held that the City Council had to determine if the project was

consistent with the City’s general plan. See id. at 830-31, 837-38,

118 Cal.Rptr. at 858-59, 863-69.

'8The Supreme Court’s recent decision in Pennhurst State School

& Hospital v. Halderman, U.S. ___, 104 §.Ct. 900, 79

L.Ed.2d 67 (1984), indicates that abstention often will be appropriate

when state land use regulations are challenged on state and federal

grounds. Pennhurst held that the Eleventh Amendment bars federal

courts from ordering state officials to conform their conduct to state

law. The court acknowledged that under Ex parte Young, 209 U.S.

123, 28 S.Ct. 441, 52 L.Ed. 714 (1908), and Edelman v. Jordan,

415 U.S. 651, 94 S.Ct. 1347, 39 L.Ed.2d 662 (1974), the Eleventh

Amendment poses no barrier to prospective relief against state

officials for violation of federal law. Justice Powell, writing for the

Court in Pennhurst, noted:

A federal court’s grant of relief against state officials on

the basis of state law, whether prospective or retroactive,

does not vindicate the surpeme authority of federal law.

On the contrary, it is difficult to think of a greater intrusion

on state sovereignty than when a federal court instructs

state officials on how to conform their conduct to state

law. Such a result conflicts directly with the principles of

A-14

is a sensitive area of social policy. At issue here is the

application of Chapter 4.5 of the California Government

Code, which has as its purpose the establishment of clear

requirements for the approval of development projects and

the expediting of decisions on such projects. Cal.Gov.

Code section 65921. Chapter 4.5, however, must be

reconciled with earlier legislation, such as the California

Environmental Quality act, which requires a balancing of

the policies underlying Chapter 4.5 with the concerns

reflected in the earlier enactments. This task is best left to

the state courts. Cf Rancho Palos Verdes Corp., 547

F.2d at 1095 (abstention appropriate in case involving

recently enacted “web of statutes” that attempts to

“* grapple with difficult land use problems’’). We conclude,

therefore, that abstention is requires in this case.!®

federalism that underlie the Eleventh Amendment. We

conclude that Young and Edelman are inapplicable in a

suit against state officials on the basis of state law.

104 S.Ct. at 911.

In a suit in which relief would run against the state, Pennhurst

indicates that plaintiffs must go to state court to obtain relief based on

state law. This is true even in cases in which the state law claims are

pendent to federal claims. See id. at 919-20. Our holding in this case

does not depend on Pennhurst; we need not determine if Kollsman’s

suit is in fact a suit against the state. Cf id. at 920 n. 34 (noting that

suit nominally against local government officials is barred if relief

effectively runs against state). We merely observe that state courts

may be the sole forum for effective relief for state law claims in land

use cases involving state and federal law. This fact provides a very

persuasive grounds for abstention in such cases.

'YKollsman relies on Shamrock Development Co. v. City of

Concord, 656 F.2d 1380 (9th Cir. 1981) and Midkiff v. Tom, 702

F.2d 788 (9th Cir. 1983) to support his argument that abstention is

not required in this case. We believe that Shamrock Development

and Midkiff are distinguishable. In the former case, we held that

although abstention would have been appropnate, the district court

had not abused its discretion by retaining the case. In Shamrock

Development, a developer claimed that a city had violated state law

A-15

Because the district court should have abstained, we

vacate its judgment and remand. At the request of either

party, the district court should retain jurisdiction of the

federal constitutional issues pending proceedings in the

state courts. See, e.g., Migra v. Warren City School

District Bd. of Ed., U.S. , 1048S. St. 892, 898 n.

7, 79 L.Ed.2d 56 (1984); England v. Louisiana State

Board of Medical Examiners, 375 U.S. 411, 84 S.Ct.

461, 11 L.Ed.2d 440 (1964); Richardson, 693 F.2d at

918.

VACATED and REMANDED.

REINHARDT, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

I respectfully dissent.

I believe that the majority errs in holding that the district

court abused its discretion by not abstaining from deciding

the merits. There are no uncertain state law questions that

must be resolved here. Rather, the case turns principally

on a factual issue with a painfully obvious answer. Moreover,

I believe that the majority’s dispostion of the case

illustrates how procedural rules intended to aid the federal

and the state and federal constitutions by conditioning approval of a

subdivision on the developer’s dedication of land for city street

expansion. We believe that the case before us involves issues that are

more complicated and more intrusive into a sensitive area of social

concern than those involved in Shamrock Development. In Midkiff,

the state law issues were not uncertain and their resolution would not

obviate the need to address federal constitutional issues. See 702

F.2d at 789 n. 1.

Kollsman also argues that abstention will create unjust delay in the

determination of his state law claims. This consequence, however,

must be accepted when the demands of comity and federalism require

abstention. See C- Y Development Co., 703 F.2d at381. Nordoes the

fact that Kollsman also raised claims under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 alter

our conclusions that abstention is appropriate. See id.

A-16

judiciary in performing its duties can, if misapplied, serve

to deprive parties of fair and adequate resolution of their

dispute. By unnecessarily and improperly invoking the

abstention doctrine, the majority does a disservice to both

parties, and no favor to the federal courts. Rather than

vacate the district court’s decision on abstention grounds,

we should reverse its state law decision on the merits and

remand the case to the district court for resolution of

Kollsman’s constitutional claims.

In January 1977, Pau! Kollsman submitted to the City

of Los Angeles an application for the development of a

seventy lot subdivision. While that application was pending,

he filed an action in district court containing both state and

federal claims.! After considering the arguments for

abstaining, the district court ruled that abstention was not

appropriate.? The district court went on to dispose of the

action on state law grounds and never reached the federal

claims.

The district court held, in what must have been a

surprise to all concerned, that, under California law,

Kollsman’s application was accepted as complete on

November 22, 1978 and was deemed to be approved as a

result of the City’s failure to act by November 22, 1979.

Apparently finding it difficult to accept the district court’s

singular approach to the issue, the majority concluded that

there are too many uncertain questions of state law

involved and abstention is therefore warranted. I, on the

other hand, think it clear that the district court wholly

! Although the majority does not specify the precise basis of the

district court’s jurisdiction, the district court stated that it had both

divesity and federal question surisidiction. We have jurisdiction over

the appeal of the district court’s final decision under 28 U.S.C. § 1291

(1982).

2In deciding not to abstain, the district court suggested that its

decision turned on the conclusion that it was capable of interpreting

the state law “with minimum interference in state processes.”

A-17

ignored the plain requirements of the California Govern-

ment Code as well as the uncontrovertible facts when it

decided that the City had accepted Kollsman’s application

as complete. In my opinion, there are no unclear or

uncertain questions of state law that require resolution in

this case.

The district court, intentionally or otherwise, circum-

vented the provisions of California law by finding as a

matter of fact that the City had acepted Kollsman’s

application as complete. Because its critical finding of fact

is so clearly erroneous,the district court’s decision cannot

stand. It is obvious from the record before us that the City

did the precise opposite of that which the district court

says it did. The City express/y found that the application

was incomplete, not complete. Moreover, even if, under

California law, Kollsman’s application could have been

deemed complete, that event would not have occured until

several days late on November 26, 1978. Even in that

case, the City could not be deemed to have approved the

application, for the City subsequently explicitly dis-

approved the application in a timely manner. Thus,

contrary to the district court’s assertion, it is absolutely

clear that the City never approved the application,

explicitly or by operation of law.

The majority unnecessarily raises many state law

questions that it says have unclear answers. However, we

need not resolve any of those state law issues in order to

decide this case. We can and must view the issue of the

appropriateness of abstention differently after the district

court has decided the case on the merits than we would at

the outset of the litigation. When an abstention motion is

made early in the proceedings, the court will often not be in

a position to know which issues will prove determinative

or even which issues it will be necessary to consider. Much

may depend on how the parties decide to develop facts that

A-18

are not yet before the court and how the court then resolves

particular factual questions: whether or not a court must

proceed down a particular road often will be determined

by the decisions that are made at the preceding crossroad.

However, after the tria! is over and the facts and the law

have both been fully explored, we can determine with

certainty what, if any, state law questions must be decided

and whether the answer to any such questions is unclear.

The majority therefore errs in justifying abstention by

raising many state law questions simply because at first

blush they may appear to be of some relevance; in fact, a

careful review of the fully developed record demonstrates

that those questions are wholly irrelevant to the proper

resolution of the dispute before us.

The majority errs in another basic respect in its

approach to the abstention doctrine. It is not enough

simply to say, as the majority does: the district court says

X and the City says Y; therefore, there is a dispute as to

state law; accordingly, the law is unclear and we must

abstain. In order to conclude that abstention is appropriate,

a court must at least identify which issues are critical to the

outcome of the litigation and which involve questions to

which the answer is, in its opinion, actually unclear. The

majority does neither here.

THE INAPPLICABILITY OF THE

ABSTENTION DOCTRINE

The general rule concerning the exercise of federal

jurisdiction was once simple:

The judiciary cannot, as the legislature may,

avoid a measure, because it approaches the

confines of the constitution .... with whatever

doubts, with whatever difficulties, a case may be

attended, we must decide it, if it be brought

before us. We have no more right to decline the

eT ee

A-19

exercise of jurisdiction which is given, than to

usurp that which is not given. The one or the

other would be treason to the constitution.

Cohens v. Virginia, 19 U.S. (6 Wheat.) 264, 404, 5 L.Ed.

257 (1821) (Marshall, C.J.).

Over time, however, the Supreme Court has made

limited inroads on that rule. One example is the abstention

doctrine, originally created in Railroad Commission of

Texas v. Pullman Co., 312 U.S. 496, 61 S.Ct. 643, 85

L.Ed. 971 (1941). “[T]he Supreme Court has stated that

the doctrine of abstention ‘is an extraordinary and narrow

exception to the duty of a District Court to adjudicate a

controversy properly before it.’ ’’ Hillery v. Rushen, 720

F.2d 1132, 1137 (9th Cir. 1983) (quoting County of

Allegheny v. Frank Mashuda Co., 360 U.S. 185, 188, 79

S.Ct. 1060, 1063, 3 L.Ed.2d 1163 (1959)); see, e.g.,

Colcrado River Water Conversation District, v. United

States, 424 U.S. 800, 813, 96 S.Ct. 1236, 1244, 47

L.Ed.2d 483 (1976) C-Y Development Co v. City of

Redlands, 703 F.2d 375, 377 (9th Cir. 1983).

Designed for reasons of federalism and for the purpose

of making it possible to avoid the unnecessary resolution

of constitutional questions, the abstention doctrine allows

a district court to exercise its equitable powers in extra-

ordinary instances to abstain from resolving state law

issues. See, e.g., Pue v. Sillar, 632 F.2d 74, 78 (9th Cir.

1980) (citing Baggert v. Bullitt, 377 U.S. 360, 84 S.Ct.

1316, 12 L.Ed.2d 377 (1964)). In reviewing a district

court's decision whether “compelling reasons” justify

application of the abstention doctrine, we apply an abuse

of discretion standard. See, e.g., Midkiff v. Tom, 702

F.2d 788, 789 n. 1, 799 (9th Cir. 1983), reversed on other

grounds, sub nom. Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff,

U.S. , 104 S.Ct. 2321, 81 L.Ed.2d 186 (1984).

We have been extremely hesitant to find that a district

A-20

court abused its discretion in deciding state law questions.

For example, in a case involving a municipal zoning

decision, we refused to hold that the district court abused its

discretion in deciding not to abstain; we did so even though

it “was a case in which abstention would have been

advisable, and well within the discretion of the court... .

State law questions clearly predominated over federal

questions. But we have no basis for holding that it was an

abuse of discretion to retain the case.”” Shamrock

Development Co. v. City of Concord, 656 F.2d 1380,

1385 99th Cir. 1981).

As the majority correctly restates, we have relied

on three criteria in evaluating the propriety of the appli-

cation of the abstention doctrine. See, e.g., Canton v.

Spokane School District No. 81, 498 F.2d 840, 845 (9th

Cir. 1974). The first criterion is that the complaint must

involve a “sensitive area of social policy”’ that is best left

to the states to address.‘ The second criterion is that a

ruling on the state law issue may render unnecessaiy the

The majority's decision is based entirely on its view that the

district court should have abstained. Thus, to reach its result, the

majority was required to appiy an abuse of discretion standard. It is

far from clear why the majority believes that the district court's

decision was not only wrong but that it constituted an abuse of

discretion. I, on the other hand, believe the district court was right not

to abstain but that it based that decision on the wrong reasons. I first

review the district court's substantive decisions regarding state law

issues under the standard we normally use to review such decisions.

Having concluded that the district was wholly incorrect regarding the

merits of those state law issues, | believe it is then appropriate to

review the abstention issue under a de novo standard. However, |

would reach the result I do here regardless of the standard of review

applicable to any of these questions.

*I agree with the district judge that the effect of any decision here as

to the state law questions, whatever it might be, will for practical

reasons be so limited that the first criterion is not met. See infra p

843,

A-21

resolution of a constitutional question. The final factor,

which I believe is dispositive here, is whether the proper

resolution of the possibly determinative state law issue is

uncertain. See, e.g., Pue v. Sillas, 632 F.2d at 78-81.

If the proper resolution of the state law question is

certain, abstention if improper. Even if the particular issue

has never been addressed by the state courts, the proper

resolution of a state law question may be certain. See., e.g.

Harman v. Forssenius, 380 U.S. 528, 534-35, 85 S.Ct.

1177, 1188-89, 14 L.Ed.2d 50 (1965); Meredith v.

Winter Haven, 320 U.S. 228, 232, 234-35, 64 S.Ct. 7,

10-11, 88 L.Ed. 9 (1943); Hillery v. Rushen, 720 F.2d

1132, 1137 (9th Cir. 1983); Midkiff v. Tom, 702 F.2d at

789-90 n. 1; see also Field, Abstention in Consitutional

Cases, 122 P.Pa.L.Rev. 1071, 1092 (1974) (arguing in

favor of **|l]imiting abstention to cases in which the state

law issue is extremely unclear’; (emphasis added)). Thus,

even though the district court said that “*[t|here have been

few cases which interpret the California code sections

which are involved in this case,” 565 F.Supp. 1081,

1090, that alone would not mandate abstention.

Although several interrelated provisions of California

law are raised by one or the other of the parties, the facts of

this case, and the express language of the provisions that

determine its results, ar such that it is not necessary to

resolve any unclear questions of state law. The one legal

theory that the district court seems to be suggesting may

readily be determined to be wholly without foundation.

Then, when the simple critical factual question raised by

the district court is isolated and given even the most

cursory consideration, the outcome of the case becomes

absolutely clear, whatever uncertain state law questions

may otherwise be said to exist are no longer of any

possible relevance. In short, the majority’s entire list of

“uncertain” state law questions consists of questions that

A-22

we need not, and should not, resolve in this case.

Accordingly, the majority’s invocation of the abstention

doctrine is unnecessary and inappropriate.

THE DISTRICT COURT'S DECISION

It is clear that under California law the City was

required to determine whether Kollsman’s application was

complete and notify him in writing of that determination by

November 26, 1978; in addition, if the City determine that

the application was not complete it was required to specify

the deficient parts of the application in the written

notification. There can be no dispute as to the state law on

those points.°

‘As enacted in 1977, with an effective date of January 1, 1978,

Cal.Gov't Code §65943 (Deerings 1979) stated that:

Not later that 30 calendar days after any public agency

has received an application for a development project,

such agency shall determine in writing whether such

application is complete and shall immediately transmit

such determination to the applicant for the development

project. In the event that the application is determined not

to be complete, the agency's determination shall specify

those parts of the application which are incomplete and

shall indicate the manner in which they can be made

complete.

However, Cal.Gov't Code §65924 (Deerings 1979) as enacted in

1977 and amended in 1978 established a different time limitation for

applications, like Koilsman’s, filed before, but not determined to be

complete by, January 1, 1978. Section 65924, in relevant part, states

that

[with respect to such application received prior to

January |, 1978, but not determined to be complete as of

that date, a determination that he application is complete

or incomplete shall be made not later than 60 days after

the effective date of the act amending this section in 1978.

Because section 65924 became effective on September 26, 1978, the

City had 60 days from September 26, 1978, or until November 26,

1978, to determine whether Kollsman’s application was complete.

Neither the district court nor any party diputes the applicability of this

section to Kollsman’s appeal.

_ eee

A-23

The City informed Kollsman in a letter dated Novem-

ber 22, 1978, that his application had been “determined to

be incomplete,” and stated what information was missing

from the application. The district court seemingly relied

on two grounds in holding that by sending the letter the

City accepted the application as complete on November

22, 1978. First, the district court concluded that the

application in fact was complete under California law; it

then apparently decided that, for that reason, the letter

must be read as having the opposite effect of its stated

purpose. Second, the district court apparently read a

subsequent letter of November 14, 1979 as somehow

reversing, with retroactive effect, the plain meaning of the

letter of November 22, 1978. Neither of these arguments

can withstand any level of scrutiny, and neither purports to

rely on any principle of California law.

The district court’s unarticulated legal theory that if an

application is in fact complete, a determination that it is

incomplete constitutes a determination that it is complete

is highly ingenious but wholly unmeritorious. Moreover,

even assuming that the application did in fact contain all

the information required by California law and that the

City’s request for further information was erroneous or

made in bad faith, the City’s one year period for approving

a complete application still could not have commenced to

run earlier than November 26, 1978, if at all.

Assuming the answer to every theoretically unclear

state law issue to be favorable to Kollsman’s position, the

one year period for approval or disapproval would have

©The letter indicated that, along with other information, an

environmental impact report (EIR) was missing from the application.

The parties disagree as to whether under California law Kollsman

was required to file an EIR. Given the proper resolution of the case,

see infra pp. 841-843, I find it wholly unnecessary to resolve the

question of whether an EIR was required to be submitted with the

application.

A-24

begun on November 26, 1978 because that was the date

on which, under the California statute, the City was

required to make its determination as to the completeness

of Kollsman’s application.’ The only possible way the

one year period could have commenced to run before

November 26, 1978 would have been not only for the

City’s finding of incompleteness to be deemed a finding of

completeness, but even more critical, for the City to have

somehow obtained notice that such was the paradoxical

effect of its request for further information. While it may

be argued that under some circumstances a City may have

notice than an application will be deemed complete if it

fails to act on a date by which it is required to decide

whether or not the application is complete, I am aware of

7We may assume, for example that under California law Kollsman’s

application would have been deemed complete if the City had failed to

act by November 26, 1978. We can also assume that Kollsman’s

application contained all the information required by applicable

St. ites. We can even assume that under California law a bad faith

response is treated in the same manner as a failure to respond at all

and that in this case the City’s response was made in bad faith. I make

these assumptions arguendo although in my opinion there is no

statutory basis for deeming Kollsman’s application to be complete

under any circumstances. Cal.Gov't. Code §65943 ( Deerings 1984)

was amended in 1979 (and the amendment became effective on

October 2, 1979) to add a new second sentence: “If such written

determination is not made within 30 days after receipt of the

application, the application shall be deemed complete for purposes of

this chapter.” Because his application was filed in January 1977, this

new “deemed complete”’ provision to section 65943 did not apply to

Kollsman’s application. Section 65924 did, instead. But even if the

amendment to section 65943 were applied retroactively and to

applications subject to the separate time limitation of Cal.Gov't Code

§65924 (Deerings 1979), see supra note 5,under the “60 days after

the effective date”’ provision of the latter section the application could

not have been deemed complete until November 26, 1978. Therefore, ’

the City’s disapproval on November 26, 1979, would have fallen

within the one year limitations period of Cal.Gov't Code § §65950,

65956(b) (Deerings 1979). Accordingly, we need not address any of

the “unclear” state law questions.

| A-25

no theory under which the City of Los Angeles could be

said to have afforded notice that its preliminary determi-

nation as to incompleteness and its request for further

information would trigger the running of a one year statute

that commences, according to its terms, only when the

application is “accepted as complete.’

Thus, the district court’s decision must rest on its

second theory—its apparent resolution of a factual issue it

perceived to be raised by the two letters sent by the City to

Kollsman. The November 22, 1978 letter was, as we have

noted, ciear and unambiguous. It found Kollsman’s

application incomplete and requested further information.

Almost one year later, in a form letter to Kollsman dated

November 14, 1979, the City stated that under a recent

Statutory amendment it “is required to act on certain

projects ... within one year of the date of acceptance of an

application as complete”’ and that it planned to disapprove

the application on November 21, 1979. The letter con-

tained no specifics about Kollsman’s application, except

for the date that it was originally filed. It did not state that

Kollman’s application had ever been accepted as com-

plete; nor did it state the date on which any such action

might have occurred, nor the date on which the City was

*Cal.Gov't Cod §65950 (Deerings 1979) states, in relevant part,

that “‘any public agency which is the lead agency for a development

project shall approve or disapprove such project within one year from

the date on which an application requesting approval has been

received and accepted as complete by such agency.” (emphasis

added). Section 65950 was amended in 1983. The amendments

become effective on January |, 1990 and therefore do not bear upon

Kollsman’s application. Even making all the assumptions set forth in

note 7, supra there is no way the City could have known that all the

statutory construction issues, including the obviously insuperable bar

of retroactivity, would be decided in an arbitrary and erroneous

manner and that in addition its sending of its November 22, 1978

letter of incompleteness would be treated by the district court as

constituting a determination of completeness.

EE

a

A-26

required to approve or disapprove his application. In fact,

the letter stated specifically that the application “has been

held pending receipt of requested additional materials.”’

Thus, on its face the November 14, 1979 letter in no way

reverses, or even contradicts, the November 22, 1978

one; in fact, it is in some important respects consistent

with the earlier letter.

The district court read the letter as “‘a stroke of

conscience,” 565 F.Supp. at 1096, and concluded that it

demonstrated that the City had accepted the application

as complete on November 22, 1978. This factual conclu-

sion is wholly contrary to the evidence and to all rules of

logic. It is inconceivable that the November 14, 1979

letter—a form letter that was devised to comply with a

recent amendment to a statute and was in significant

respects consistent with the November 22, 1978 letter—

could serve to reverse completely the plain meaning of the

earlier letter so that an express statement that the

application was incomplete must be read retroactively as

stating that the application was complete. The majority

says that “(t]he district court’s rationale for concluding

that the application must be deemed complete on Novem-

ber 22, 1978, is somewhat opaque.” Majority opinion p.

835 n. 12. I disagree. Rather then merely opaque, the

district court’s factual conclusion is, in my opinion,

bizarre, as well as wholly and clearly erroneous.

There is, in fact, only one possible interpretation of the

November 22, 1978 letter: Kollsman was notified on

November 22, 1978 that the City had determined that his

application was incomplete; the City’s letter meant and

continued to mean precisely what it said and not the

opposite. That meaning could not be changed, retro-

actively or otherwise, by a subsequent letter. Moreover,

there are various possible explanations for the City’s

action in sending the November 14, 1979 form letter. The

A-27

letter could have been sent to Kollsman (1) because the

City was making one final attempt to obtain information it

had been seeking for some time, (2) because the City had

decided to disapprove a// applications in which the parties

failed to supply requested information, despite the fact

that no formal disapproval was required with respect to

applications previously found to be incomplete, (3) out of

bureaucratic confusion over whether the recent amend-

ment to the statute required new disapproval letters in cases of

longstanding incomplete applications, or (4) simply out of

an excess of caution. It is of no significance which

explanation is correct, nor is it significant that the City

could have sent an individualized letter that more clearly

specified its purpose and that was more narrowly tailored

to Kollsman’s situation. What matters for the purposes of

the case before us is that, as I have said, the 1979 letter

could not under any theory serve to reverse, retroactively,

the plain meaning of the 1978 letter. Of equal importance,

even if a district court did have the discretion to give such

effect to the 1979 letter, there is no means by which

retroactive notice to the City could serve to afford it the

one-year statutory period within which to approve or

disapprove a completed application.

After an application is accepted as complete, the City is

required to approve or disapprove it within one year.

Cal.Gov’t Code §65950 (Deerings 1979)? Failure to do

so is deemed to constitute approval.'!° Even assuming that

Kollsman’s application could be deemed complete as a

result of the City’s finding it incomplete, as I have already

explained, the earliest date on which it would have been

‘See supra note 8.

'0Cal.Gov't Code §65956(a) (Deerings 1979) provides that **[i]n

the event that a lead agency or a responsible agency fails to act to

approve or to disapprove a development project within the time limits

required by this article, such failure to act shall be deemed approval of

the development project.”

A-28

deemed complete would have been November 26, 1978.

Thus, at worst, the City had untii November 26, 1979 to

approve or disapprove the application. It acted within that

deadline when it sent a jetter of disapproval on that date.

In sum, despite the majority’s statements to the con-

trary, there are no uncertain state law questions that we

need to resolve. Rather, to reach the proper result, we need

only resolve a factual question with an obvious answer.

Abstention was improper for another reason as well.

There is no “sensitive area of social policy” implicated

here. Although zoning may generally involve sensitive

areas of social policy, this narrow dispute does not.

The specific issues raised here are far from sensitive if

for no other reason than that they will almost certainly

never be raised again. As the district court recognized,

there is “‘little likelihood that the future will bring State

Court decisions on applications which were filed prior to

January 1, 1978 and remain undetermined. In this

respect, the Kollsman case may be unique. At least the

possibility of additions to the species has long been

extinct.” 565 F.Supp. at 1090.

In short, the majority errs in stating that Kollsman’s

claim “raises difficult state law issues of great importance

to the people of California.’’ Majority Opinion slip op. p.

3053, p. 833. We need not decide any difficult or unclear

questions of state law, but only a simple factual issue—the

meaning of an unambiguous letter. Moreover, because

most of the issues the parties discuss in the briefs probably

will never be raised again, it is wrong to say that they are of

great, or even any, importance to the people of California.

In conclusion, because two of the three requirements for

abstention have not been satisfied, the majority errs in

invoking the doctrine.

A-29

THE ADVERSE EFFECTS OF ABSTENTION

The majority’s holding that the district court abused its

discretion in not abstaining will unnecessarily delay

resolution of Kollsman’s claims for many years. Assum-

ing that the plaintiffs have the necessary funds and

stamina to pursue this litigation indefinitely, the state law

issues will at some point be resolved in favor of the City,

on one ground or another, and the federal courts will

ultimately, if belatedly, be required to resolve the consti-

tutional questions. In a decision holding that a district

court properly decided the state law issues before it, the

Supreme Court condemned the delay resulting from

unnecessary application of the abstention doctrine. Mere-

dith v. Winter Haven, 320 U.S. 228, 237, 64 S.Ct. 7, 12,

88, L.Ed. 9(1943); see C. Wright, Law of Federal Courts

§52, at 305 (recognizing that Pullman abstention has

‘‘liJn a number of well-known cases ... led to delays of

many years before the case was finally decided on its

merits or limped to an inconclusive end’’ (footnotes

omitted)).

Here, the district court had jurisdiction over both the

federal and state law claims; absent extraordinary cir-

cumstances, the plaintiff should not be deprived of the

right to have his claims resolved in a federal forum.

Furthermore, the delay that will be caused by unnecessary

and improper abstention in this case is far longer than the

two year delay that the Supreme Court criticized in

Winter Haven.

In January 1977, Kollsman submitted the development

proposal to the City. In March 1977, he filed this

complaint. The district court decided the case in February

1983. We heard the appeal in January 1984. The

majority’s decision will effectively render moot the district

court proceedings and send the state issues to the Cali-

A-30

fornia courts for a new beginning. This will, of course,

delay for many years the final resolution of this dispute.

The suite has already outlived the original plaintiff,

Paul Kollsman. The Kollsman estate will be most fortu-

nate indeed if it is able to resolve even the simple and

unimportant state law aspect of this litigation by 1987—

ten years after the time the original application was filed.

The case will then return to the federal courts for

resolution of the federal issues unless by that time the

plaintiffs have abandoned their rights in despair. In my

opinion, we have a legal duty to exercise our jurisdiction

now.

THE MERITS OF THE STATE LAW ISSUES

In order to discuss the abstention questions fully, it has

been necessary to point out why I believe the district judge

decided the merits of the state-law questions erroneously.

I would, for the reasons I have already discussed, reach

those merits and reverse the district court’s decision.

CONCLUSION

Because there are no unclear questions of state law that

require resolution, because a sensitive social policy is not

implicated, and because the state law issues are in any

event of little or no importance to the people of California,

the majority errs in invoking the abstention doctrine. To

dispose of this case, we need only resolve a simple factual

question with an obvious answer. By attempting to make

abstention the absolute rule in zoning cases rather than the

exception in all cases, the majority does a disservice to the

litigants, who deserve, at a minimum, a reasonably prompt

resolution of the federal issues that are determinative of

this lawsuit. We should allow the already long delayed

dispute to proceed to an orderly resolution. The absten-

tion doctrine and its accompanying delay should be

reserved for cases involving extraordinary circumstances.

A-31

The district court’s decision on the state law questions

should be reversed on the merits and the case remanded so

that Kollsman’s constitutional claims may be resolved. I

believe that the majority errs in vacating the district

court’s decision on the basis of the abstention doctrine. I

therefore dissent.

B-1

FILE )

SEP 05 196.

PHILLIP 8. WINBER:

CLERK US. Subt oF .

United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

CITY OF LOS ANGELES,

a municipal corporation,

Defendants-Appellants.

EVA KOLLSMAN: CITY NATIONAL _ )

BANK: TASHI LAND CORPORATION, ) No.

a New York corporation, ) 83-5798

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v. )

' ORDER

)

)

)

Before: SNEED and REINHARDT, Circuit Judges,

and SOLOMON’, District Judge.

A majority of the panel as constituted in the above case

has voted to deny the petition for rehearing and to reject

the suggestion for rehearing en banc.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for en

banc rehearing, and no judge of the court has requested a

vote on the suggestion for rehearing en banc. Fed. R. App.

P. 35(b).

The petition for rehearing is denied, and the suggestion

for a rehearing en banc is rejected.

*Honorable Gus J. Solomon, Senior United States District Judge for

the District of Oregon, sitting by designation.

APPENDIX B

C-l

Paul KOLLSMAN: Tashi Land

Corporation, a New York

corporations, Plaintiffs,

v.

CITY OF LOS ANGELES, a municipal

corporation, Defendant.

No. CV 77-0770-ALS.

United States District Court,

C.D. California

Feb. 1, 1983.

Jerrold A. Fadem, Michael Berger, Richard D. Norton

of Fadem, Berger & Norton, Santa Monica, Cal., for

plaintiffs.

Ira Reiner, City Atty., Gary R. Netzer, Asst. City

Atty., William L. Waterhouse, Deputy City Atty., Los

Angeles, Cal, for defendant.

JURISDICTION

MEMORANDUM DECISION

STEPHENS, District Judge.

JURISDICTION

This court has jurisdiction founded on diversity of

citizenship and amount in controversy pursuant to Title

28, United States Code Section 1332.

Plaintiff is a citizen of the State of New York and

defendant is a municipal corporation incorporated under

the laws of the State of California having its principal

place of business in the State of California. The matter in

controversy exceed, exclusive of interest and costs, the

sum of ten thousand dollars. The court also has jurisdiction

founded upon Title 28, United States Code Section 1331,

the existence of a federal question.

APPENDIX C

C-2

SCOPE OF THIS OPINION

This opinion is limited in its scope to Count VII, added

with the permission of the court to conform to proof,

without deciding the constitutional questions raised in

other counts, a procedure which honors the principle that

preferably controversies should be decided upon other

than constitutional grounds. The courts has retained juris-

diction of the other counts.

The facts are largely undisputed. However, in some

instances there are conflicts in the evidence which must be

resolved. The facts as stated in this opinion represent a

resolution of conflicting evidence as well as a recitation of

the undisputed facts. Where there is a conflict in the

evidence, the statement of the court in this opinion is

intended as a finding of fact. To contribute to clarity, the

opinion combines fact and law. The court intends that its

statements of law be taken as the court’s conclusions of

law. See Fed.R.Civ.Pro 52(a)

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On March |, 1977, plaintiffs filed a six count complaint

for inverse condemnation and a declaration that certain

actions by the City were invalid. Counts I, II, and III

raised claims under the Taking and Equal Protection

Clauses of the United States Constitution. Counts IV, V,

and VI raised claims under various provisions of California

State zoning and environmental control laws.

On March 31, 1977, pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, defendants moved to

dismiss Counts II, III, [V, V and VI. The motion was

granted only as to Count V. Thereafter, on May 16, 1977,

the City filed its answer to plaintiffs’ complaint.

On September 8, 1977, the City filed a second motion

to dismiss for lack of diversity of citizenship jurisdiction

C-3

and on the grounds that this court should abstain from

exercising federal question jurisdiction. On November 22,

1977, the City’s motion to dismiss was denied.

On February 10, 1978, the City filed a motion for

summary judgment, pursuant to Rule 56, Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, seeking a summary judgment as to

plaintiffs’ five remaining causes of action. Summary

judgment was granted as to Count IV and Count VI, and

denied as to Counts I, II, and III.

On March 15, 1978, the City filed a petition for writ of

mandamus in the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit. The City argued before the Court of

Appeals that plaintiffs’ complaint was not ripe for adjud-

ication and that the district court exceeded its jurisdiction

and abused its discretion by declining to abstain from

exercising jurisdiction over this case. On June 7, 1978, the

Court of Appeals denied the petition for writ of mandamus

stating in an order as follows:

“We cannot concur, at this stage of the

proceedings, that the complaint of the real

parties in interest fails to present a justiciable

controversy. Nor can we now find that the

district court has abused its discretion in declining

to abstain as the unsettled issues appear to

include substantial federal constitutional ques-

tions.”

On August 10, 1978, the Court of Appeals denied the

City’s petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing

en banc.

On July 27, 1978, the City filed a motion to strike

plaintiffs’ demand for a jury trial and said motion was

granted. The first phase of the trial was a six day court trial

ending April 5, 1979. On November 26, 1979, plaintiffs’

development application was disapproved by the City for

C-4

lack of completeness. Subsequently, the court viewed

subject property and two more days of trial were conducted,

ending April 22, 1981.

On February 17, 1982, at the suggestion of the court,

Kollsman filed a motion for leave to amend his complaint

to conform to the evidence pursuant to Rule 15(b) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. In a minute order dated

February 22, 1982, the court granted the motion. Kolls-

man’s amendment adds two causes of action. Count VIII

was a Civil rights claim under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 against

the City. Kollsman argued that as a result of the United

States Supreme Court’s ruling in Monell v. Dept. of Social

Services, 436 U.S. 658, 98 S.Ct. 2018, 56 L.Ed.2d 611

(1978), he was entitled to raise a claim under 42 U.S.C.

Section 1983 against the City.' This count has not been

litigated. Count VII was added to conform to proof. This

cause of action involved the application of Cal. Government

Code Sections 65920 et seg. (Review and Approval of

Development Projects), which became effective while this

case was pending. Since as expressed in this opinion,

Kollsman is entitled to relief under the provisions of Cal.

Government code Sections 65920 et seq., it is unnecessary

to address his claims under the United States Constitution

and 42 U.S.C. Section 1983 at this time.

THE CITY’S SUBDIVISION PROCESS

A discussion of the facts requires reference to the City’s

subdivision approval procedure.? A prospective subdivider

initiates the process for subdivision approval by submitting

to the City Planning Department a “Tentative Tract

‘Monell held, contrary to existing law at the time, that municipal

corporations are “persons” within the meaning of 42 U.S.C. § 1983,

and thus subject to liability for civil rights violations.

?This narrative summarizes the provisions of the Los Angeles

Municipal Code, Sections 17.00 through 17.49.

C-5

Map” which must describe the proposed development

project. This Tentative Map is circulated among a number

of City departments for comment. The departments

respond through written reports which are submitted to the

Planning Department to be consolidated and considered

by a Deputy Advisory Agency, a member of the Planning

Department staff with the statutory power to approve,

conditionally approve, or disapprove the proposed subdi-

vision. Prior to making its decision on the Tentative Map,

the Deputy Advisory Agency notifies all property owners

within 300 feet of the property proposed to be subdivided

of a public hearing to consider the proposal.

Along with the reports from various City departments,

the Deputy Advisory Agency also has the benefit of

information developed through the City’s environmental

review process. This procedure is mandated by the

California Environmental Quality Act of 1970 (hereafter

“CEQA” Pub. Resources Code Section 21000 et seq.)

and the State and City Guidelines promulgated under its

authority. CEQA requires that the City undertake a

preliminary analysis of all projects which may have an

impact on the environment. In Los Angeles, this initial

screening is accomplished by a Planning Department

Environmental Review Committee. If the screening iden-

tifies any “‘significant’’ effects on the environment which

may arise from the project, then the Planning Department

may require the developer to submit material for preparation

of a draft Environmental Impact Report (EIR). This draft

EIR, once complete, is then used by the Planning

Department to develop a full-scale analysis of all potential

environmental impacts. This analysis is circulated to

interested government agencies, the State Clearinghouse

in Sacramento, and the public for its review and comment.

Once all comments are received, the analysis emerges in

the Final EIR. This final EIR must be certified as

re

C-6

complete and then used by the Deputy Advisory Agency

is making his final decision. Pub. Resources Code §

21151.

If the information submitted by the developer for

preparation of a draft EIR is inadequate, subsequent

submissions are required until enough information is

provided for the City to describe the project, its impacts,

and alternatives in sufficient detail to solicit public

comments.

If the Deputy Advisory Agency disapproves the proposed

subdivision, the developer may appeal to the City Planning

Commission and, if necessary thereafter, to the City

Council L.A.M.C. § 17.06. If the Deputy Advisory

Agency approves the subdivision, any “interested person

adversely affected by the proposed subdivision” may

appeal to the Commission and then to the Council. Jd.

Ordinarily, approved subdivisions are subject to a number

of conditions which must be satisfied before construction

begins, such as dedication of property for streets, installation

of necessary utilities, etc. Once the conditions for approval

have been satisfied, the subdivider may submit to the City

his Final Tract Map. L.A.M.C. § 17.07. When this Final

Map is accepted and recorded, the subdivider may

commence construction and sell lots.

Elements of the City’s General Plan — like the Beverly

Crest-Bel Air District Plan — play an important role in

the subdivision process. Under state law, a subdivision

cannot be approved unless the Advisory Agency makes a

finding that the development is “consistent with applicable

general or speci%c plans.” Cal.Gov.Code § 66474.60.

This Advisory Agency finding is based on all available

information, including the final EIR and reports from City

Departments, and cannot be made until that information

base is complete.

C-7

FACTS

In 1946 Kollsman purchased a Mediterranean-style

home in the Santa Monica mountains above Beverly

Hills. The home was situated on 12 acres of land.

Thereafter, Kollsman began acquiring other undeveloped

property surrrounding his home intending to subdivide it

as he neared his retirement. The most recent acquisiton

was made in 1964, when Kollsman purchased a house and

two neighboring lots on Benedict Canyon Drive.

In 1946 the zoning for subject property was R-1, witha

minimum lot size of 5,000 square feet. In 1960 R-1-4

zoning was established which changed the minimum lot

size to 15,000 square feet. In 1971 an amendment to the

zoning plan was passed which allowed a maximum

density on subject property of 60% of the maximum

dwelling unit density shown on the existing plan.

On January 12, 1977, as a result of Kollsman’s efforts

and those of his engineers and geologists, Kollsman

submitted to the City’s Planning Department an Environ-

mental Assessment Form and Tentative Tract Map

33300, which showed his proposed residential subdivision.

One day later, on January 13, 1977, the City Council

adopted the Beverly Crest-Bel Air District Plan. The

District Plan limits development of private property in two

ways. First, the property is given a minimum density

designation which means the maximum density permitted

is 0.5 to 1 dwelling per acre. Second, dwelling unit density

is limited by the slope-density formula. According to the

formula, the allowable density for residential development

is as fol’ows:

D=50-S: D= maximum number of dwelling units per

gross acre allowable.

35 S= average slope of the land in percent.

C-8

Pursuant to this formula, the City claims plaintiffs

would be permitted to divide the 85 acres of subject

property into a maximurn of nine (9) building lots instead

of the seventy (70) he originally proposed and the

maximum eight-five (85) lots permitted under the District

Plan without the slope-density formula.

In a document dated February 2, 1977, the City’s

Planning Department informed Kollsman that a focused

environmental impact report should be prepared by

Kollsman, including a discussion of “slope analysis” and

an alternative residential design towards preserving existing

topography.’ The City’s Environmental Review Committee

adopted the City Planning Department’s recommendation

on February 9, 1977.

On February 16, 1977, the Environmental Review

Committee transmitted to Kollsman an “Environmental

Evaluation Form” which specified the areas which Kolls-

man was required to address in his EIR.‘

On July 28, 1977, Kollsman submitted a first draft

EIR. The first draft discussed project alternatives including

the statutorily mandated “no project” alternative, Cal.Pub.

3At this time, the City could lawfully require Kollsman to provide

them with a focused EIR. Cal.Gov.Code § 65941, which became

effective September 26, 1978, prohibits the City from requiring the

applicant to submit the “informational equivalent of an environmental

impact report as part of a complete application.”

4The Evaluation Form states in pertinent part that “(t]he ERC

[Environmental Review Committee] initial study indicates that

impacts could occur from this project's implementation due to the

following considerations: 1)Major Land Forms; 2) Hydrology:

3) Illumination; 4) Traffic; 5) Access; 6) Sanitary Sewers; 7) Solid

Waste; 8) Water Runoff; 9) Public Facilities (police, fire parks,

library.) An EIR should be prepared addressing all these impacts as

well as project alternatives; appropriate mitigation measures; and

energy conservation.”

.

it nied al lates

C-9

Resources Code, § § 21002, 21100, but did not address

the impact of the slope-density formula on the Kollsman

property, or a project alternative known as “cluster”

housing.» On September 13, 1977, Kollsman submitted

ten copies of a second draft EIR which was 58 pages long.

The City circulated this draft to the various homeowners’

associations.

On November 20, 1977, the Environmental Review

Committee marked the Kollsman draft EIR as a “data

base’, and specified that “support data’”’ on slope density

and cluster alternatives was needed, as well as additional

engineering information.® The requested engineering infor-

mation was supplied by Kollsman’s engineer on March 3,

1978. Slope density and cluster alternatives were not

discussed in this report.

In a letter dated May 11, 1978, the Environmental

Review Committee informed Kollsman that it would

suspend processing of Kollsman’s development application,

since Kollsman, on the advice of legal counsel, did not

specifically and independently discuss slope density and

cluster project alternatives.’

On September 26, 1978 amendments to Cal.Gov.Code

§65924 and 65925 became effective. Section 65941

prohibits the City from requiring of a development

applicant ‘“‘the informational equivalent’ of an EIR.

5Implemenation of the cluster alternative would have violated the

local residential zoning classification which requires each lot to be an

average minimum of 15,000 square feet.

6Shortly after the City made this request, Cal. Gov.Code § 65920

et seqg., which deals with Review and Approval of Development

Projects, became effective on January 1, 1978.

7On May 12, 1978 in a letter to the City, Kollsman’s engineer

stated: “I sincerely regret that you are unable to complete a suitable

draft EIR, but I cannot accept the inference that it is the lack of input

from this office that is the cause of said inability.”

C-10

Section 65924 requires that with respect to applications

received prior to January 1, 1978, but not yet determined

to be complete, the City must make such determination

not later than 60 days after the effective date of amend-

ment. This would have required the City to consider all of

the information available to it, evaluate the information,

and make a good faith determination of completeness or

incompleteness of the Kollsman application no later than

November 25, 1978.

[1] On November 22, 1978 the Planning Department

notified Kollsman that his development application was

incomplete. The reasons stated by the City were that (1)

the Bureau of Engineering required additional informa-

tion,® and (2) Environmental Assessment Data or an

EIR was needed. It is important to note that at this time the

City had the responsibility for preparing the EIR, Cal.

Pub. Resources Code §21082.1, and could not lawfully,

under Cal.Gov.Code § 65924, require the informational

equivalent of an EIR. The evidence establishes that by

November 22, 1978, Kollsman had provided the City

with sufficient environmental and engineering information

to enable the City to prepare a legally adequate EIR.

When this notification was sent to Kolisman, the City

knew that it was insufficient for failure to indicate the

manner in which the information could be made complete.

The City knew by May 12, 1978 that Kollsman thought

that ali engineering information and environmental assess-

ment data required by the City had already been furnished.

In these circumstances, good faith as well as the specific

provisions of Government Code § 65943 required identi-

fication of any type of engineering information or environ-

8The City does not specify in this notification what engineering

information is needed, although Gov.Code § 65943 provides: ‘“‘and

shall indicate the manner in which [the application] can be made

complete.”

ae ee Se Se ae,

722 Eo OvvOo3o3737eeoeoorrroooeeOoeEOE EE

C-11

mental data still needed by the City to enable it to prepare

an EIR. The City also knew that Kollsman had not

previously hestitated to promptly comply with all of the

City’s requests for information.

In a document dated January 12, 1979, the City

informed Kollsman that it could not schedule a public

hearing regarding approval of his tract pplication until

“specified items have been completed.’’ The document

indicates that environmental clearance was required, and

that the Planning Department was waiting for completion

of a “full EIR.”

A reasonable construction of this document would

indicate that the Planning Department could not schedule

a public hearing because it did not have clearance from the

Environmental Review Committee. Environmental clear-

ance may not be given by the Environmental Review

Committee without completion of a full EIR. Since it is the

City’s responsibility to prepare the fuil EIR, it is mani-

festly unjust that Kollsman should be penalized on the

basis of submitting an “‘incomplete” application, when the

material which would have made the application com-

plete, viz., a full EIR, was being withheld by the City itself.

All circumstances which the evidence disclosed being

considered, the lack of specificity in the City’s notices to

Kollsrman is quite apparently deliberately vague.

On November 14, 1979, the City gave Kollsman notice

of intent to disapprove his aplication without prejudice.

The notice states in part: “It is the intent of the Advisory

Agency to administratively disapprove all pending cases

approaching the one year deadline whenever a determina-

tion of approval cannot be made due to lack of submission

of sufficient information.”’

It is unclear why the City would feel compelled to

approve or disapprove Kolisman’s application before the

C-12

one year deadline imposed by Cal.Gov.Code § § 65950

and 65956. These sections apply only to complete

applications. If Kollsman’s application was as the City

argues, incomplete for lack of sufficient information, there

was no need for the City to meet the deadline imposed by

§ 65950. The City was free, under § 65956, to disapprove

the application for lack of completeness at any time, if it

felt that Kollsman was not, with reasonable diligence,

supplying information sufficient for completeness. See

Sahm, Project Approval Under the California Environ-

mental Quality Act: It Always Takes Longer Than You

Think, 19 Santa Clara L.Rev. 579 (1979); Cal.Gov.Code

§ 65956(b).

Shortly thereafter, on November 26, 1979, the City

gave Kollsman notice that his development application

was disapproved because he “failed to provide the

requested information.”” Kollsman did not appeal this

decision to the City Planning Commission.°

DISCUSSION AND DECISION

A. Kollsman Properly Amended His Complaint to

Conform to the Evidence Pursuant to Rule 15(b).

Rule 15(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedures

provides:

(b) Amendments to Conform to the Evidence.

When issues not raised by the pleadings are tried

°A “Stipulation and Order” signed by Kollsman and the City on

December 11, 1979 states that “[i]t is hereby stipulated between

Plaintiffs and Defendant, by and through their respective attorneys of

record, that the running of the time for the filing of an appeal to the

City Planning Commission from the action of the Advisory Agency in

the matter of Tentative Tract No. 33300 be tolled from November 26,

1979 to and including the date upon which judgment in this matter

becomes final. It is further stipulated that the aforesaid stipulation

shall not affect the ability of either party to raise issues of fact and law

in any phase of the instant action.”

C-13

by express or implied consent of the parties, they

shall be treated in all respects as if they had been

raised in the pleadings. Such amendment of the

pleadings as may be necessary to cause them to

conform to the evidence and to raise these issues

may be made upon motion of any party at any

time, even after judgment; but failure so to

amend does not affect the result of the trial of

these issues. If evidence is objected to at the trial

on the ground that it is not within the issues made

by the pleadings, the court may allow the

pleadings to be amended and shall do so freely

when the presentation of the merits of action

will be subserved thereby and the objecting party

fails to satisfy the court that the admission of

such evidence would prejudice him in maintai-

ning his action or defense upon the merits. The

court may grant a continuance to enable the

objecting party to meet such evidence.

[2] Rule 15(b) was designed to provide the maximum

opportunity for each claim to be decided on its merits

rather than on procedural technicalities. 6 Wright &

Miller, Federal Practice & Procedure, § 1471, p. 359

(1971); Hardin v. Manitowoc-Forsythe Corp., 691

F.2d 449 (10th Cir. 1982). ‘‘It is well-settled that the

amendment of pleadings to conform to proof under Rule

15(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure rests in the

sound discretion of the trial court.’ Cole v. Layrite

Products Co., 439 F.2d 958 (9th Cir. 1971) (citations

omitted), quoted with approval in Gonzales v. United

Staes, 589 F.2d 465 (9th Cir.1979); Save Lake Washing-

ton v. Frank, 641 F.2d 1330 (9th Cir.1981). Leave to

amend is to be freely given ‘“‘when justice so requires,”

Fed.R.Civ.Pro. Rule 15(a); Stiles v. Gove, 345 F.2d 991

(9th Cir.1975), and refusal to grant leave to amend

C-14

without any justifying reason is an abuse of the trial court's

discretion. Foman v. Davis 371 U.S. 178, 182, 83 S.Ct.

227, 230, 9 L.Ed.2d 222 (1962).

[3] Rule 15(b) permits amendment of the complaint to

conform to the evidence at any time during the proceedings,

even after judgment, when the unpled issues have been

tried by express or implied consent of the parties. As

stated recently by the Tenth Circuit, “[t]he test of consent

is whether the opposing party had a fair opportunity to

defend and whether he could have presented additional

evidence had he known sooner the substance of the

amendment” Hardin v. Manitowoc-Forsyth Corp. supra

at 456. Consent will generally be found where the party

objecting to the motion to conform acquiesced in the

introduction of evidence bearing on the new issue, or

himself produced evidence on the new issue. Hardin v.

Manitowoc-Forsythe Corp., supra at 457; Dering v.

Williams, 378 F.2d 417 (9th Cir. 1967).

[4] The record makes it clear that the City made no

objection to the admission of evidence which made

apparent that the objective of the litigation might be

attainable without adjudicating the constitutional issues.

The evidence was largley documentary in nature at the

time it was introduced. In fact, the City itself introduced

through documents and testimony much of the evidence

which formed the basis of the claim under Cal.Gov.Code

§ 65920 et seg. Under these circumstances, the Court

finds that the City gave implied consent to the trial of the

issues raised by the amendment to conform to the

evidence.

[5,6] The City argues that the lapse of time between the

trial and Kollsman’s motion to conform unduly prejudiced

the City because it prevented it from having a fair

opportunity to conduct discovery, present appropriate

C-15

pre-trial motions, and present full evidence on the issues

raised by the amendment. This argument was rejected for

two reasons. First, delay alone cannot defeat a Rule 15

motion to amend. See Bertrand v. Sava, 535 F.Supp.

1020(S.D.N.Y. 1982). Second, the City had the opportu-

nity, if it so chose, to request additional evidentiary

hearing at the time Kollsman’s motion for leave to amend

was granted pursuant to Rule 15(b). The City made no

such request.

[7] An additional reason for allowing amendment of

Kollsman’s complaint lies in the time-honored principle

that, whenever possible, controversies should be decided

on non-constitutional grounds, Ashwander v. Valley

Authority, 297 U.S. 288, 56 S.Ct. 466, 80 L.Ed. 688

(1936). The Court concludes that a Rule 15(b) amend-

ment to conform to the evidence was proper.

B. Exhaustion of Administrative Remedies

While not a matter of jurisdiction of the subject matter,

there are situations which require exhaustion of administ-

rative remedies as a prerequisite to the availability of

judicial relief. The facts which support relief under Count

VII require a discussion of this subject.

As initially noted, Plaintiff, Kollsman, is a citizen of the

State of New York, and the Defendant, the City of Los

Angeles, is a California municipal corporation. Diversity

jurisdiction is accordingly conferred pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1331. The record indicates, however, that under the Los

Angeles Municpal Code, Kollsman was entitled to appeal

the City’s disapproval of his tract application to the City

Planning Commission, but elected not to do so. Instead,

both parties, pursuant to a stipulation dated December 11,

1979, agreed to suspend the running of the time for the

filing of an administrative appeal, pending the outcome of

this case. The stipulation states in pertinent part that “the

C-16

aforesaid stipulation shall not affect the ability of either

party to raise issues of fact and law in any phase of the

instant action.”

[8-10] It is axiomatic that the subject matter jurisdiction

of the federal court may not be conferred by consent of the

parties. California v. La Rue, 409 U.S. 109, 111, n. 3,93

S.Ct. 390, 394, n. 3, 34 L.Ed.2d 342 (1972). Exhaustion

of administrative remedies, however, is not a federal

jurisdictional requirement, but a “prudential consideration.”

Steere Tank Lines, Inc. v. ICC 675 F.2d 763, n. 5 (Sth

Cir.1982). When not mandated by federal statute, the

requirement that a plaintiff exhaust available administrative

remedies prior to filing a claim for relief in federal court

may be waived by the defendant. Holloway v. Gunnell,

685 F.2d 150, 152, n. 2 (Sth Cir.1982). In the instant

case, the City waived the exhaustion requirement by

signing the stipulation of December 11, 1979.

There have been few cases which interpret the California

code sections which are involved in this case and little

likelihood that the future will bring State Court decisions

on applications which were filed prior to January 1, 1978

and remain undetermined. In this respect, the Kollsman

case may be unique. At least the possibility of additions to

the species has long been extinct. So where statutes may

require interpretations, it is necessary for this court to

proceed.

C. Completeness of the Kollsman Application.

California Government Code Sections 65920 et seq.,'°

which became effective in 1978 while this case was

pending, were intended by the California Legislature to

“streamline the permit process for development projects.”

Sahm, Project Approval, supra at 588. Cal.Gov.Code

Section 65921 provides:

Sometimes referred to as Development Act.

The Legislature finds and declares that there

is a statewide need to ensure a clear understanding

of the specific requirements which must be met

in connection with the approval of development

projects and to expedite decisions on such

projects. Consequently, the provisions of this

chapter shall be applicable to all public agencies,

including charter cities. :

When read in conjunction with the provisions of the

California Environmental Quality Act, Cal. Pub. Resources

§ 21000 ef seq., the Development Act represents a

comprehensive statutory scheme for the regulation of

development application processing by local agencies.’!

Included in the prescribed development application

procedures is an environmental review process which

analyzes the impact of the proposed development on the

environment.'? To further streamline the permit process

for development projects, the Legislature found it necessary

to expedite decisions on such projects by establishing

deadlines for phases of the permit process. For failure to

meet the deadlines, the Legislature provided that the

applications would be deemed complete or the project

approved.

Section 65924 of the Government Code states in

pertinent part that “[wJith respect to such application

received prior to January 1, 1978, but not determined to

Section 65930 defines “local agency” as “any public agency

other than a state agency.”

Section 65932 defines “public agency” as any state agency, any

county, city and county, city, regional agency, public district,

redevelopment agency, or other political subdivision.” Under the

definition of these terms, the City is clearly a “local agency” within

the meaning of the Development Act.

'2See note 2 and accompanying text.

C-18

be complete as of that date, determination that the

application is complete or incomplete shall be made no

later than 60 days after the effective date of the act

amending this section in 1978.” Since the Kollsman tract

application, which was submitted on January 12, 1977,

had not been determined to be complete or incomplete as

of January 1, 1978, the City was required, under Section

65924, to make that determination not later than 60 days

after September 26, 1978, the effective date of the statute.

[11] In a document dated November 22, 1978, Kollsman

was informed by the City that his development application

had been determined to be incomplete. While this document

was transmitted within the 60 day time constraint of

Section 65924, it was not a document which conformed to

statute and was therefore not legally sufficient to constitute

the determination required by law. It was not based on a

determinination which the Development Act seeks to

effectuate. This subject is further discussed below.

Section 65940 of the Government Code requires the

State of California to compile and make available one or

more lists which specify in detail the information required

from any development project applicant.'? Section 65941

requires that the information to be compiled pursuant to

Section 65940 include the criteria which the City applies

in order to determine the completeness of any application. '4

'3Section 65940 provides: “Not later tharm#June 30, 1978, each

State agency shall compile one or more lists which shall specify in

detail the information which will be required from any applicant for a

development project. Copies of such information shall be made

available to all applicants for development projects and to any person

who requests such information.”

Section 65941 provides: “[t]he information compiled pursuant to

Section 65940 shall also indicate the criteria which such agency will

apply in order to determine the completeness of any application

submitted to it for a development project.

C-19

As of November 22, 1978, or at the very latest, January

12, 1979,'5 the only information missing from the Kollsman

tract application according to the list proposed by the

City, was a “full EIR”, which the City maintained should

include discussion of slope density and cluster project

alternatives.

As noted above, it was the duty of the City to prepare

the “full EIR.”” Under Section 65941, the City may not

lawfully require Kollsman to submit “the informational

equivalent of an environmental impact report” as part of a

complete development application,'® although it may

require “sufficient information to permit the agency to

make the determination required by Section 21081.1 of

the Public Resources Code.”’!’

Assuming arguendo that Kollsman did not submit the

informational equivalent of an EIR, Cal.Gov.Code Section

65941 prohibits the City from declaring the Kollsman

application incomplete on that basis. It is clear from a

\SThe document dated January 12, 1979 indicates that only

environmental clearance was requred before the City could schedule

a public hearing regarding approval of the Kollsman tract application. ©

'6The amendment to Section 65941, effective September 26,

1978, provides that “[i]n the event that a public agency is a lead

agency for purposes of Division 13 (commencing with Section

21000) of the Public Resources Code, such criteria shall not require

the applicant to submit the informational equivalent of an environ-

mental impact report as part of a complete application; provided,

however, that such criteria may require sufficient information to

permit the agency to make the determination required by Section

21080.1 of the Public Resources Code.”

17Cal.Pub.Resources Code § 21080.1 provides in pertinent part

that “(t]he lead agency shall have the responsibility for determining

whether an environmental impact report or a negative declaration

shall be required for any project subject to the provisions of this

division.” A negative declaration is a declaraton that there is no

environmental impact and that an EIR is not required. See Cal. Pub.

Resources Code §21064.

C-20

preponderance of the evidence, however, that not only did

Kollsman submit information sufficient to enable the City

to determine whether an EIR or negative declaration

should be made, but he also submitted information

sufficient to enable the City to draft a legally adequate

EIR.

A certified copy of the City’s guidelines for the

implementation of the California Environmental Quality

Act of 1970 provides in Article VI, §i(7):

7. The Final EIR

a. Contents of the Final EIR.

The final EIR shall be prepared by the Lead City

Agency and shall consist of the following:

(1) The Draft EIR;

(2) A list of persons, organizations, and public

agencies commenting on the Draft EIR;

(3) The comments and suggestions received

on the Draft EIR, verbatim or in summary;

(4) The responses of the Lead City Agency to

significant environmental points raised in the

review and consultation process;

(5) A brief summary of the significant informa-

tion contained in the EIR; and

(6) A certification prepared by the Lead City

Agency pursuant to subsection 2 of this section.

Although he was not legally required to, Kollsman

submitted to the City the informational equivalent of an

EIR. As can be observed from the City’s own guidelines

stated above, the only steps remaining for completion of a

final EIR were to be taken by the City.

Section 21002 of the Pub.Resources Code,'® and the

'8-Cal.Pub.Resources Code § 21002 provides in pertinent part

that’[t]he Legislature finds and declares that it is the policy of the

C-21

cases interpreting CEQA, make it clear that a legally

adequate EIR need not discuss a// alternatives, but merely

reasonable, or feasible'? alternatives. In Foundation for

San Francisco’s Architectural Heritage v. City and

County of San Francisco, 106 Cal.App.3d 893, 165

Cal.Rptr. 401 (1980), the court held that:

[a]n EIR must describe all reasonable alternatives

to the project (Pub.Resources Code §21061),

including those capable of reducing or eliminating

environmental effects; the specific alternatives

of “‘no project” must also be evaluated (Pub. Re-

sources Code, § § 21002, 21100; Guidelines,

Cal.Admin.Code, tit. 14, § 15143, subd.(d)).

The discussion of alternatives need not be

exhaustive and the requirement as to the discus-

sion of alternatives is subject to a construction of

reasonableness. The statute does not demand

what is not realistically possible, given the

limitation of time, energy and funds. ‘Crystal

ball’ inquiry is not required.

The statutory requirements for consideration

of alternatives must be judged against a rule of

reason. There is no need for the EIR to consider

an alternative whose effect cannot be reasonably

state that public agencies should not approve projects as proposed if

there are feasible alternatives or feasible mitigation measures available

which would substantially lessen the significant environmenal effects

of such projects, and that the procedures required by this division are

intended to assist public agencies in substantially identifying both the

significant effects of proposed projects and the feasible alternatives or

feasible mitigation measure which will avoid or substantially lessen

such significant effects.”

19Cal. Pub. Resources Code § 21061.1 defines the term “feasible”

as “capable of being accomplished in a successful manner within a

reasonable period of time, taking into account economic, environmental,

social and technological factors.”

C-22

ascertained and whose implementation is deemed

remote and speculative.

106 Cal.App.3d at 910, 165 Cal.Rptr. at 410 (citations

ommited).

In the instant case, Kollsman and his engineers made

outstanding efforts to supply the City with information

sufficient to allow the City to produce a legally adequate

EIR. Kollsman submitted a first draft EIR on July 18,

1977. This EIR draft discussed the statutorily mandated

“no project” alternative and two alternative projects.”° On

September 15, 1977, Kollsman submitted a second draft

EIR which the City circulated among members of local

homeowners’ associations. At the City’s request, Kollsman

submitted further information on March 3, 1978, which

included radius and topographical maps, blue prints, a

summary of the existing flora on the site, and grading

information.

The City’s response to the efforts of Kollsman and his

engineers in obtaining and submitting this environmental

and engineering information has been and continues to be

that the information provided is inadequate to enable the

City to complete a draft EIR. Specifically, a letter to

Kolisman’s engineer from the Environmental Review

Committee, dated May 11, 1978 states:

A discussion of the impact of the slope density

formula and an analysis of alternatives to the

proposed project (Item 5), both critical to the

completion of the EIR are still outstanding.

x*e eeeneeueenett#kt#=eik*i* *# i

20The alternative projects discussed were a 42-43-/ot subdivision

and an 85-/ot subdivision. Kollsman’s engineers concluded that “‘[t]o

develop the property at RE 15-1-H, its current zoning, would permit

the construction of up to 247 dwelling units, and would adversely

impact the character of the surrounding community.”

C-23

Until this information is provided by your office,

I am unable to complete a Draft EIR suitable for

public circulation.

At the very least, this statement is incredible. By

September 13, 1977, the City had already circulated

Kollsman’s second draft EIR to the local homeowners’

associations. Moreover, the standards for a legally adequate

EIR, as articulated in Architectural Heritage, supra do

not require the City to discuss the impact of the slope-

density formula on the Kollsman property, for three

reasons. First, CEQA does not require the discussion of

project alternatives to be exhaustive. Second, only those

alternatives whose effects are reasonably ascertainable,

and whose implementation is not remote and speculative,

need be discussed. The testimony presented at trial

indicates that implementation of the slope-density formula

to the Kollsman property, or any property for that matter,

would have had effects not reasonably ascertainable,

since even the City’s Planning Officers could not consis-

tently apply the formula. The number of lots allowed by

the formula is entirely dependent upon the method of

calculation employed,”! which may be artbitrarily selected

at the discretion of City Planning Officials.2? Since

CEQA would not have required such an arcane discussion

in a draft EIR, the City may not require Kollsman to

provide such a discussion as part of a complete application.”*

21For example, depending on the method of calculation used,

Kollsman would be permitted to divide his 85 acres into either a

maximum of 9 building lots, or a maximum of 4 building lots.

22Whether the slope-density formula is so vague and arbitrary as to

constitute a violation of some provision of the United States

Constitution is a question that need not be decided today.

23Furthermore, it is unclear why the City should require the

developer to discuss the implementation of the formula to developer's

property, when the City has all the necessary information to make the

C-24

Third, CEQA requires only discussion of ‘‘feasible’’

alternatives. As defined in CEQA, “‘feasible’’ means

“capable of being accomplished in a successful manner

within a reasonable period of time, taking into account

economic, environmental, social, and technological factors.”’

Cal.Pub. Resources Code § 21061.1. Development of

the Kollsman property according to the slope desnity

formula would not have been economically feasible. This

was obvious to the City from Kollsman’s discussion of

reducing the number of units as an alternative. Accordingly,

no independent or further discussion of it was required.

[12] An overwhelming preponderance of the evidence

establishes that by November 22, 1978, Kollsman provi-

ded the City with sufficient environmental, engineering,

and geological information to enable the City to prepare a

legally adequate EIR. Since Kollsman had provided the

information necessary from completion of an EIR by the

City, the City could not in good faith refuses to accept the

assessment itsclf. The City enacted an ordinance which limits

development of property by a novel and abstruse mathematical

formula. Since the City is responsible for creation of the formula, it

should know best how it is to be interpreted and applied. The City

could have discussed it in the EIR if it chose to do so.

The City argues that without a discussion of the application of the

slope density formula to the subject property, which the City insists

Kollsman was required to submit, it could not complete a legally

adequate EIR and proceed with the processing of Kollsman’s

application. This argument is patently frivolous and was contradicted

by the City’s own witness, Mr. Gary Morris, a Deputy Advisory

Agency in the City’s Planning Department. In a hearing conducted on

April 22, 1981, the following colloquy took place between the court

and Mr. Morris:

THE COURT: I think that the testimony in this case has indicated

that they apply slope-density formula, and that limits the number of

units that can be built on the site. That doesn’t have anything to do

with the environmental impact or anything, and it is an immutable figure

which can’t be exceeded. Do vou subscribe to that?

THE WITNESS: Yes, I do.

C-25

Kollsman application as complete on the grounds that it

could not prepare an adequate EIR. The action of the City

in refusing to certify the Kollsman application as complete

was contrary to the policies expressed in the Development

Act and CEQA, is ineffective and, as will further shown,

should be disregarded.

It has been pointed out that the Legislature intended to

provide a comprehensive plan for the expedition of

processing applications for development. It is certain that

this intention was that in the means of expedition of

processing, all applications should be treated alike. In this

respect the Legislature inadvertently overlooked reference

to applications initiated prior to January 1, 1978. That

this was inadvertent is evidenced by the fact that there is

no substantive reason for differentiation. In this context it

is important to remember that the Kollsman application

was initiated on January 12, 1977 by submitting a

Tentative Tract Map to the City Planning Department

and that it was in the same year, 1977, that in Cal.Gov.Code

§ 65921 the Legislature found and declared that a need

existed for specific requirement for the approval of

development projects and to expedite decisions on such

projects. The resulting comprehensive remedial legislation

is a reflection of long existing abuses of administrative

processes. Applications which have been long pending

represent the greatest need for expedition. It is beyond

speculation that the legislation enacted in 1977, 1978,

and 1979 to expedite development applications was and is

intended to apply to all applications, those initiated before

January 1, 1978.

As already mentioned, the statutes which comprise

Chapter 4.5 of the Cal.Gov.Code were enacted in 1977.

Those provisions regarding land development applications

filed prior to January 1, 1978 and not determined to be

complete did not identify for official action could be

C-26

measured. In 1978, the legislature adopted an amendment

to Section 65924, a part of Article 1, to rectify this

omission. The amendment provided: “with respect to such

application received prior to January 1, 1978, but not

determined to be complete as of that date, a determination

that the application is complete or incomplete should be

made not later than 60 days after the effective date of the

act amending this section in 1978.”’ The effective date of

this amendment was September 26, 1978. The Kollsman

application fell into the category described in the amend-

ment. This amendment of the 1977 legislation is a

reaffirmation of the legislative intent referred to above.

Section 65943, a part of Article 3 entitled “Applica-

tions for Development Projects: completeness of applica-

tion; determination; time; specification of parts not com-

plete and manner of completion,” reads as follows:

Not later than 30 calendar days after any

public agency has received an application for a

development project, such agency shall deter-

mine in writing whether such application is

complete and shall immediately transmit such

determination to the applicant for the develop-

ment project. [f such written determination is

not made within 30 days after receipt of the

application, the application shall be deemed

complete for purposes of this chapter. In the

event that the application is determined not to be

complete, the agency’s determination shall specify

those parts of the application, which are incom-

plete and shall indicate the manner in which they

can be made complete.”

The emphasis indicates an addition to the statute which

was added in 1979, effective October 2, 1979.

C-27

The portion of Section 65943 relevant to this discussion

is the last sentence, “‘In the event that the application is

determined not to be complete, the agency’s determina-

tions shall specify those parts of the application which are

incomplete and shall indicate the manner in which they

can be made complete.”’

The court concludes that wherever in Chapter 4.5 of the

Government Code a determination of incompleteness is

made, the contents of the determination is governed by

Section 65943 in that “‘the agency’s determination shall

specify those parts of the application which are in-

complete and shall indicete the manner in which they can

be made complete.”

The written determination of incompleteness made by

the City and transmitted to Kollsman does not comply

with the letter or the substance of the statutory require-

ments. It is defective and inadequate to accomplish the

statutory purpose. It is no more than a title without

substance, an empty shell, which does not attempt to

conform to the legislative purpose which, as the court sees

it, is an instruction to the City to be helpful by being

specific, not only in the respects which the City considers

the application incomplete but in addition thereto telling

him exactly what he might do to make it complete. As a

consequence, the document sent to Kollsman on Novem-

ber 22, 1978 entitied ‘“‘ Determination of Incompletness of

Application” is ineffective as the document required by

Section 65924 in light of the provisions of the last

sentence of Section 65943 and that the document should

be disregarded.

As was previously pointed out, there was nothing to

compel the City to make a determination as to the

completeness or incompleteness of an application until 60

days after September 26, 1978 when Cal.Gov.Code §

65924 became effective. Even though as early as May 12,

C-28

1978, it was apparent to the City that Kollsman knew of

no environmental information or engineering information

or other information which the City could lawfully require

an applicant to furnish, the City made no determination as

to completeness or incompleteness. On the contrary, the

City suspended processing the application. After the

effective date of Section 65924, this posture did not

change despite amendment to Section 65941 providing

that the informational equivalent of an EIR could not be

required. The document of November 22, 1979 shows

that at that time, the City was still asserting a lack of the

informational equivalent of an EIR. The court concludes

that the City did not proceed to make a bona fide

determination of completeness or incompleteness at any

time prior to November 22, 1978.

[13] The City was familiar with the statutory provi-

sions. The insufficiency of the notice given indicates that

the City had no intention to actually specify any parti-

culars in which the application could be said to be

incomplete because there was no additional information

which could be lawfully required.

It was the intent of the legislature that in the event of

failure to meet the substantive requirements prescribed in

Section 65943 within the time limits, the application

should be deemed complete. Further, the court finds as a

fact that the information which could legally be required

by the City was supplied to the City and the application

was in fact complete. The court concludes that in all

respects the application must be deemed complete for the

purposes of Cal.Gov.Code Chapter 4.5 and deemed

accepted as complete as of November 22, 1978.

D. Approval of the Kollsman Application

Section 65950 of the Government Code provides in

pertinent part: “Any public agency which is the lead

C-29

agency for a development project shall approve or dis-

approve such project within one year from the date on

which an application requesting approval of such project

has been received and accepted as complete by such

agency.” Section 65956(a) provides that “‘|i]n the event

that a lead agency or a responsible agency fails to act to

approve or to disapprove a development project within the

time limits required by this article, such failure to act shall

be deemed approval of the development project.”” Under

Sections 65950 and 65956, the City was required to

approve or disapprove the Kollsman application within

one year of the date it became complete, November 22,

1978.

The law provides that the time limits for action on

applications are maximum time limits and that public

agencies shall, if possible, approve or disapprove develop-

ment projects in shorter periods of time. Cal.Gov.Code §

65953. That it could have been and should have been

found complete long before the expiration of 60 days from

September 26, 1978 has been discussed. The City

anticipated the expiration of the 60 day time limit for

determining that the application was complete or incom-

plete by 3 days. However, in near total disregard of

Section 65953, the City’s action on processing applica-

tions was limited to compliance with maximum time limits

as calculated by the City. This calculation of the maxi-

mum time limit to approve or disapprove a development

project as required by Section 65956 was calculated as

being 60 days from the effective date of Section 65924,

September 26, 1978, plus one year, or November 26,

1979.

[14] Adhering to this method of calculation, it was by

letter dated November 26, 1979 that the City advised

Kollsman that his development application was dis-

approved for lack of completeness. However, the action as

C-30

to a determination of completeness or incompleteness of

an application was taken by the City on November 22,

1978. Since the court has ruled that this action is to be

taken as accepted as complete, the maximum time limit

prescribed by Section 65950 expired one year from

November 22, 1978 and the action taken by the City on

November 26, 1979, was in excess of the one year time

limit. The City failed to act to approve or disapprove the

Kollsman development project within the time limit of

Section 65956 and it is therefore deemed approved as

provided in Section 65956.

The notice of November 14, 1979 reads like a stroke of

conscience. The Kollsman tract number and the appli-

cant’s filing date were noted. It indicates that the one-year

deadline for approval or disapproval of the project was

approaching and that the City intended to disapprove the

project on November 21, 1979, one day before expiration

of the deadline. But the deadline passed before the

disapproval which was not forthcoming until November

26, 1979. The notice of November 14, 1979 reflects an

awareness that the Kollsman application was complete in

fact on November 22, 1978. In this case, the conse-

quences of missing the deadline are just.

It is found and determined that there is no just reason for

delay in the entry of judgment on this claim. Judgment on

Count VII should be entered as a final judgment on this

claim.

Plaintiff is entitled to judgment that his development

project, which is identified by reference to Tentative Tract

Map 33300, should be deemed approved subject to timely

determination of ordinary and reasonable conditions to

the recordation of a final tract map as otherwise provided

by law.

A At ND Cmte et NS at a ———

ee eA le Ce ewe

D-1

a p\

ENTERED LED

-7.N

ecg (2 i" pee} ©")

yack aN

mee METRIST OLS ERK, 1S. Uo areal

CLERKS. Pit - cl cyP IE) OF ON Ne

cera BIST i Cy Cat “ centPa j

United States District Court for the

Central District of California

PAUL KOLLSMAN; TASHI LAND

CORPORATION, a New York

corporation

Judgment

by 17-

770 pls

This action came on for trial before the Court, Honorable

Albert Lee Stephens, Jr., District Judge, presiding, and the

issues having been duly tried and a decision having been

duly rendered,

It is Ordered and Adjudged

Plaintiff Kollsman’s development project which is

identified by reference to Tentative Tract Map 33300

shall be deemed approved (Cal. Gov. Code §65956)

subject to timely determination of ordinary and reasonable

conditions to the recordation of a final tract map as

otherwise provided by law.

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

CITY OF LOS ANGELES,

a municipal corporation

Defendants

i ee ee ae ee ee ee ee

More than one claim for relief is presented in this action.

This judgment is on one claim embodied in Count VII and

APPENDIX D

D-2

is not an adjudication of any other claim. The court has

determined that there is no just reason for delay in entry of

judgment on this claim. Judgment on Count VII should be

entered as a final judgment on this claim. Accordingly, the

Clerk is directed to enter this judgment. (Federal! Rules of

Civil Procedure 54 (b)).

The Court reserves jurisdiction over all other claims.

Dated at Los Angeles, California, this 31st day of

January, 1983.

KMELLEZAS ¢

Albert Lee Stephens, Jr.

United States District Judge

WAS aT

See ESR oleae DAE. NRaCH eS

4

;

E-1

California Government Code Section 65950.

§65950. Public lead agency; approval or dis-

approval of project; time

Any public a

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.