Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Green Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd., Fka Kukje Hwajae Insurance Co., Ltd. v. M/v Hyundai Liberty

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

fs Supreme Court, U.S.

! V FILED

02 813 Nw 222002

OFFICE OF THE CL&RK

In The

_ SHupreme Court of the Anited States

a

v

GREEN FIRE & MARINE INSURANCE CO., LTD.,

Petitioner,

Vs.

M/V HYUNDAI LIBERTY, in rem,

Respondent.

.-

v

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

,

v

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

,%

vv

MICHAEL W. LODWICK

Counsel of Record

HAIGHT BROWN & BONESTEEL LLP

5 Hutton Centre Drive, Suite 900

Santa Ana, California 92707-0510

(714) 754-1100

Attorneys for Petitioner

———— a EEEEEE———————————————————<—_[_{£—*T?—s>]_{$*—$—$—L—L{££{{$____=_=——=

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Under the Shipping Act of 1984, the Federal Maritime

Commission regulates the practices of non-vessel-

__,—operating common carriers (NVOCCs) that furnish ocean

transportation to shippers in the foreign commerce of the

United States. The Commission regulates transactions

between NVOCCs and the shippers to whom they sell

their services, and between NVOCCs and the ocean

common carriers from whom they purchase vessel ser-

vices. Section 3(17XB) of the Shipping Act defines the

NVOCC as “a common carrier that does not operate the

vessels by which the ocean transportation is provided, and

is a shipper in its relationship with an ocean common

carrier.”

Did the court of appeals err in holding that NVOCCs

are not shippers but, as a “commercial norm,” are agents

of the shipper when they contract for regulated transpor-

tation with ocean common carriers?

ii

LIST OF ALL PARTIES

Petitioner Green Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd.

(formerly known as Kukje Hwajae Insurance Co., Ltd.),

Seoul, Korea.

The M/V HYUNDAI LIBERTY, in rem, an oceangoing

vessel, whose claimant in the district court was Hyundai

Merchant Marine Co., Ltd., Seoul, Korea.

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

On March 25, 2002, petitioner changed its name from

Kukje Hwajae Insurance Co., Ltd. to Green Fire & Marine

Insurance Co., Ltd. Petitioner has no parent corporation.

The only publicly held company that owns 10% or more of

petitioner’s stock is Seyang Construction Industrial Co.,

Ltd.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW. ................ i

Re ee SRA EE BOP i oie hesicescossindbacensiecenctcindsncsarvens ii

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT............. ii

Tae CINE IBEU LE vnccccsscasessscecescesaccssscccsesecaness iii

SE I IEE PIETER CRIED ccs ncnnnssecncrsseccccsencnsesrseneses iv

OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW .......................... 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ........................000 1

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED................... 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE..................scsccccsseeceeeees 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ......... 10

1. Statutory Construction.............ccscccesecseeceees 11

Bi NE III ccc nisutebinninatandlshesmnnbiavasinedess 11

1. The role and status of NVOCCs is prescribed

by federal statute, and the decision below

contravenes the statute ....................cesecscseeees 13

2. The circuits conflict in their construction of

a 22

I 9 i, cadunausecuoudunensensacssonsen 29

REST Ae ar ee App. 1

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

REPORTED CASES

Fireman’s Fund American Ins. Cos .v. Puerto Rican

Forwarding Co., 492 F.2d 1294 (1st Cir. 1974)........ 12, 24

Insurance Co. of North America v. S/S AMERICAN

ARGOSY, 732 F.2d 299 (2d Cir. 1984)...12, 22, 25, 26, 27

Insurance Co. of North America v. M/V OCEAN

LYNX, 901 F.2d 934 (11th Cir. 1990)................. 12, 22, 27

Itel Container Corp. v. M/V “TITAN SCAN,” 139

F.3d 1450 (llth Cir.), cert. denied sub nom.

Mammoet Shipping B.V. Sky Shipping Ltd., 525

U.S. 962 (1998) and cert. denied sub nom. Sky

Shipping Ltd. v. Mammoet Shipping B.V., 525

eT Ne ita itennnisiassscabanidinidimetasateiAininsiesidaninatiamil 22, 23

James N. Kirby Pty, Ltd. v. Norfolk Southern R.

Co., 300 F.3d 1300 (11th Cir.), reh’g & reh’g en

banc denied, __ F.3d ___ (Oct. 7, 2002)...... 12, 23, 26, 27

Jockey Intern., Inc. v. M/V “LEVERKUSEN ExX-

PRESS,” 217 F. Supp. 2d 447 (S.D.N.Y. 2002) .............. 26

Kukje Hwajae Ins. Co. v. M/V HYUNDAI LIB-

ERTY, 294 F.3d 1171 (9th Cir. 2002)......... 8, 9, 12, 26, 27

Kukje Hwajae Ins. Co. v. M/V HYUNDAI LIB-

ERTY, 1999 WL 1293507, 1999 A.M.C. 2199

eee, I SN is SR ssbiniccnsihicienctnctabinnasenniisnineniansed 6, 7

Modern Office System, Inc. v. AIM Caribbean Exp.,

Inc.,.802 F. Supp. 617 (D.P.R. 1992) ............ccccccsssssssssess 25

NLRB v. International Longshoremen’s Ass’n, AFL-

ey Ue Sra MT I winncisdtebacncaccncauctetisbcenininns 13, 25

NLRB v. International Longshoremen’s Ass’n, AFL-

er re Sis TE I vain ctsessnicnipsenvintnalicesnintlaninaianacane 14

a a ee

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

New York Foreign Freight Forwarders & Brokers

Ass’n v. Interstate Commerce Comm’n, 191 U.S.

App. D.C. 173, 589 F.2d 696 (1979) .......eesecsereereeseees

New York Shipping Ass’n v. Federal Maritime

Comm’n, 272 U.S. App. D.C. 129, 854 F.2d 1338

Ce acsiisiistantetndibcinnssvncaesitansieteckiidiataetnmanagnel 12,

Polo Ralph Lauren, L.P. v. Tropical Shipping &

Const. Co., 215 F.3d 1217 (11th Cir. 2000)...............

Project Hope v. M/V IBN SINA, 96 F. Supp. 2d 285

(S.D.N.Y. 2000), aff’d in part, vacated in part on

other grounds, 250 F.3d 67 (2d Cir. 2001)................

Puerto Rico Maritime Shipping Authority v. Valley

Freight Systems, Inc., 856 F.2d 546 (3d Cir. 1988)...

Runyon v. McCrary, 427 U.S. 160 (1976)....................

Ship’s Overseas Service, Inc. v. Federal Maritime

Comm’n, 216 U.S. App. D.C. 146, 670 F.2d 304

United States v. American Union Transport, Inc.,

SE St Be Ce crest cleciilnigabcneiisicwetndligneadeaseaaemiiician

- Vimar Seguros y Reaseguros, S.A. v. M/V SKY

REEFER, 515 U.S. 528 (1995).............scsssssssessccceeees

Yellow Forwarding Co. v. Atlantic Container Line,

668 F.2d 350 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 456 U.S. 962

CRI wisis i iahiblickscesnscndstonancioniacinadnananeenaetianasaiteaaiana

Page

14, 24

12, 24

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

AGENCY DECISIONS

Determination of Common Carrier Status, 6 F.M.B.

PE ed atisannnsncivincaiiigs vi sepiienlaeiaiiahatadaceininddaitinaieii 14, 15

Isbrandtsen Co. v. States Marine, 6 F.M.B. 422

CIA inccsvynmnisciosisnnsnihhdushidelineempbeleh aiemabaliamantnadaa dada 20

Pacific Coast European Conference v. Southern Pac.

Marine Transport, Inc., 20 F.M.C. 166 (1977)............... 14

Possible Violations of Section 18(a) of the Shipping

Act, 1916, 19 FBLC. GE (2B 7G) ...ccsesssccssseserscnsssensooese 15, 20

Prudential Lines, Inc. v. Farrell Lines, Inc., 26

F.M.C. 497 (ALJ), adopted, 26 F.M.C. 496 (1984) ......... 20

STATUTES

26 U.S.C. Pap. BR. Cav. FR BRC iaiscciacetisctnicsntsterrensveins 4

28 U.S.C. FED. R. Civ. P. SUPP. R. C(6)...........:ccccssscceesseeeees 4

46 UBC. § GOUBED......ccsescccscssescscvsccccessszarsasevacsassccctascanesen 13

46 U.S.C. amp. § 120B .......2......0cc0000. sseepsiaamiocaianneoiaamaenae 18

46 US TRA. Cap. BR TI IB isvcsisnsiccscrsscrevridceiniacntboailiesa 28

4B UBS. 20g. § IBD cvsicitinrnitnidiieidiienndiaies, 5

46 UBC. ag. GE TIRE isin 4,13

GB UES. CR Wiest skantinccstedicshctensgiichagenceeieciaa 1,15

46 UBS. agpep. 5 EPG i ciinscisiecinncesnisstnnsietnineniaiiidunuiinin 2

46 UDG. aan. & FI ee ineiiieteeceniarsticiaiaiiaineag es: 2

ME UB. aap. © BFE iesieisinscnsicsiiscsiceibiaiiaa 2, 15, 16, 19

46 UBL. app. § TORT iiiiccdatindaiisiiiind 16

46 USC. amp. 6 THI iissic acticin 4, 16,19

ee ee ee

ee ey ee eae oe ee eee

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

BE RT, Bh PGND eis ta sicecescisestssihtenaiesatecsstnninrsercnenance 16

res I ED Giiinists siknca hcihiininntiitins Secainccibicanlinied 3

46 U.S.C. app. § 1702(21)(B)..........0.0.....cccccssssssrscosssscens 16, 17

TI a I iii cece ccectcanns 3,5

a ie Be ilinisitcrhdksaceichot nenensihecancspwiahieiahacediiienal 17

Er ks itt ccbctecdiceiisbitinceatinsctiiationaie 17

I eas NG ae Se iidkicth ed ciphstaianthienbecapiiisiepainitentcannditdeinend 18

ee ilies tnanininthenscsstatnseaitennniiemceas 18

Carriage of Goods by Sea Act, 49 Stat. 1208, 46

er Ge RR so ta ssnciessicnsnininnnsiciemmienipstnneninese 28

Carriage of Goods by Sea Act, 49 Stat. 1208 § 3(3),

ee a is Oe lin elicinticshaipnstnicsblbitansininctaciniiniinnnnicnine 5

Merchant Marine Act, as amended, § 208, 46 U.S.C.

I Da istcthciaiatntcctiarcchbipnitcsahdvibnutcaanbbaacisiwisaiaeiatanwnainsts 18

Non-Vessel Operating Common Carrier Amend-

ments, Pub. L. 101-595, 104 Stat. 2979 (1990).............. 18

Ocean Shipping Reform Act of 1998, 112 Stat. 1902

Pia sijistecsiasicetiticcs hc dasaseidicapdcesheiahopwlasaieaoanncaapsnataniakcegiiek 16, 18

Reorganization Plan No. 7 of 1961, 75 Stat. 840

(CaUITTN i scncsckenbsadeavdases-edsdiidpicheibsivndentamadibabbaacdbtebicbiosibantaiaatiiudbaoniahtnia 15

Reorganization Plan No. 7 of 1961, 75 Stat. 840

ie II ITs cniin di idusemestanndianiekenauuiicciciiiniuiicina shamiunecareege 18

Shipping Act, 1916, 39 Stat. 728, 46 U.S.C. §§ 801-

—___ REESE SRE RAPES ea ee Nee I ORR oo ee OD 13

Shipping Act of 1984, 98 Stat. 67, as amended, 46

Ne BF ii ecncintsenicsiiinstnccnnsathehiddorininienniionies 13, 15

Shipping Act of 1984, 46 U.S.C. app. § 1702...................... 1

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Shipping Act of 1984 § 3(17XB), 46 U.S.C. app.

Se SIE TET oi stinks ncgiinnibntitctesnainengdiceiaanbinatiibadaniidainabanentions 4

Shipping Act of 1984 §3(18), 46 U.S.C. app.

Se Sea TTITED nics hestinniciichaceeabiasibaibabsitbacsiiastabunideisadudiebanéaametiginatnns 16

Shipping Act of 1984 § 3(22), 46 U.S.C. app.

OF isssnichbeikciniihiseananictaiiiasaniaieaiisaiimecadiababbhunatistharton 5

Shipping Act of 1984 § 8, 46 U.S.C. app. § 1707............... 17

Shipping Act of 1984 § 10, 46 U.S.C. app. § 1709 ............. 17

REGULATIONS

I eins snctbeboeninicncnctcaniccscsintnabiins 12, 15, 22, 25

ie nici antcnsniaecaparniiscndntcnacdiacininteiie 15

a a atichiclitiesdileritaittigsiitincnicnnsnscinsetsniinseatnermusanana’ 15

27 Fed. Reg. 1775 (Feb. 24, 1962)..............sssssssssssssssssseesees 19

28 Fed. Reg. 4300 (May 1, 1963).................csssssssessssrseeeesees 15

46 Fed. Reg. 24565 (May 1, 1981)............. ce eeeeesseesseeeees 15

67 Fed. Reg. 66318 (Oct. 31, 2002)............sessesessseseseneesees 21

ADMINISTRATIVE MATERIALS

FMC website (visited Nov. 18, 2002) <http://www.

fmc.gov/fmcfrm 1/scripts/ExtReports.asp?tariff-

CR ii cocistiiiasliticccscascpaicseahisiicascinasisctonaiaainantacsbociiaiwbesse 4

40th Annual Report for: Fiscal Year 2001 (F.M.C.

ey kL Reem even peen nape wore emo HONE Co 18

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

SECONDARY SOURCES

REST. CONTRACTS § 19(bb) (1932) .............cccccccccccecccscscsscccees 28

1 SAMUEL WILLISTON, LAW OF CONTRACTS § 18(3)

ERI eid ees apiece Alacer noe Ree A ONT PONE weed

(tas

ee

eke

= 2 a

Ok Vargas cae

ie eed

1

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Green Fire & Marine Insurance Co. Ltd.

respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorzri to review the

judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit.

r

v

OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW

The court of appeals’ opinion (per Graber, J., joined by

Beezer & Tashima, JJ.) (Pet. App. 1-16) is reported at 294

F.3d 1171. The court of appeals’ subsequent order denying

the petition for rehearing (id. at 44-45) is not otherwise

published.

y

Vv

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The court of appeals entered its opinion and order on

June 26, 2002, and denied rehearing on August 28, 2002.

Petitioner invokes this Court’s jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1).

42

vy

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Shipping Act of 1984 § 3, 46 U.S.C. app. § 1702

§ 1702. Definitions

As used in this chapter —

(6) “common carrier” means a person holding itself

out to the general public to provide transportation by

2

water of passengers or cargo between the United States

and a foreign country for compensation that —

(A) assumes responsibility for the transportation

from the port or point of receipt to the port or point of

destination, and

(B) utilizes, for all or part of that transportation, a

vessel operating on the high seas or the Great Lakes

between a port in the United States and a port in a foreign

country. ... |

(16) “ocean common carrier” means a_ vessel-

operating common carrier.

(17) “ocean transportation intermediary” means an

ocean freight forwarder or a non-vessel-operating common

carrier. For purposes of this paragraph, the term —

(A) “ocean freight forwarder” means a person that —

(i) in the United States, dispatches shipments from

the United States via a common carrier and books or

otherwise arranges space for those shipments on behalf of

shippers; and

(ii) processes the documentation or performs related

activities incident to those shipments; and

(B) “non-vessel-operating common carrier” means a

common carrier that does not operate the vessels by which

the ocean transportation is provided, and is a shipper in

its relationship with an ocean common carrier.

(21) “shipper” means —

(A) acargo owner;

(B) the person for whose account the ocean transpor-

tation is provided;

(C) the person to whom delivery is to be made;

(D) ashippers’ association; or

(E) an ocean transportation intermediary, as defined

in paragraph (17)(B) of this section, that accepts

responsibility for payment of ali charges applicable under

the tariff or service contract.

(22) “shippers’ association” means a group of ship-

pers that consolidates or distributes freight on a nonprofit

basis for the members of the group in order to secure

carload, truckload, or other volume rates or service con-

tracts.

4

Vv

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Petitioner Green Fire & Marine Insurance Co.

Ltd. (formerly Kukje Hwajae Insurance Co. Ltd.) is an

insurance company in Seoul, Korea. Petitioner insured

goods that were sold by Doosan Corporation in Seoul to

Machine Tool Sales in Sterling Heights, Michigan. When

the goods were damaged in transit, petitioner paid the loss

and became subrogated to Doosan’s rights against the

liable parties.

2. Respondent is the M/V HYUNDAI LIBERTY, in

rem, an ocean vessel owned and operated by Hyundai

Merchant Marine Co., Ltd. The goods were damaged

4

during the vessel’s voyage from the Port of Busan, Korea,

to the Port of Long Beach, California. To recover for the

loss, petitioner brought an in rem action against the vessel

under the provisions of Rule C of the Supplemental Rules

for Certain Admiralty and Maritime Claims.’ Hyundai

Merchant Marine filed a claim as owner of the vessel,

under Supplemental Rule C(6), and then answered on the

ship’s behalf.

3. Petitioner’s insured, Doosan, contracted with

Glory Express, Inc., to transport the goods from Busan to

Los Angeles. Glory Express is licensed by the Federal

Maritime Commission as a non-vessel-operating common

carrier (“NVOCC”).’ Under the Shipping Act of 1984,° the

Commission has regulatory authority over NVOCCs

providing transportation in the foreign oceanborne com-

merce of the United States. “Non-vessel-operating common

carrier” is a statutory term of art; in the Shipping Act it

means “a common carrier that does not operate the vessels

by which the ocean transportation is provided, and is a

shipper in its relationship with an ocean common carrier.”

Glory Express was a member of a shippers’ association

calling itself Streamline Shippers Association. As defined

in the Shipping Act, “‘shippers’ association’ means a group

of shippers that consolidates or distributes freight on a

* 28 U.S.C. Feb. R. Crv. P. Supp. R. C.

* According to the Commission’s website, Glory Express is Organi-

zation No. 012406, and its tariff is published at WWW.PARA

MOUNTTARIFF.COM. See FMC website (visited Nov. 18, 2002)

<http://www.fmce.gov/fmcfrm 1/scripts/ExtReports.asp?tariffClass=oti>.

* 46 U.S.C. app. §§ 1701-1719.

* Shipping Act of 1984 § 3(17)B), 46 U.S.C. app. § 1702(17)B).

5

nonprofit basis for the members of the group in order to

secure carload, truckload, or other volume rates or service

contracts.” Streamline Shippers Association hired Hyun-

dai Merchant Marine to carry the goods for its member,

Glory Express, from Busan to Long Beach aboard the M/V

HYUNDAI LIBERTY.

4. When goods are carried by water, for hire, be-

tween a foreign port and a U.S. port, the ocean carrier is

required, upon demand of the shipper, to issue a bill of

lading that recites the marks; number, quantity, or weight;

and apparent order and condition of the goods. See the

Carriage of Goods by Sea Act (““COGSA”), 49 Stat. 1208

§ 3(3), 46 U.S.C. app. § 1303(3). In this case, each carrier —

Glory Express and Hyundai Merchant Marine — issued a

bill of lading. The Glory Express bill memorialized the

contract of carriage between Glory Express and Doosan,

the owner of the goods. The Hyundai Merchant Marine bill

evidenced the contract of carriage between Hyundai and

Streamline Shippers.

5. When petitioner brought an in rem action against

the M/V HYUNDAI LIBERTY to recover for the damage to

the goods during the voyage, the vessel defendant intro- ~~

duced the bill of lading that her owner, Hyundai Merchant

Marine, had issued to Streamline Shippers, and moved the

district court to enforce the bill’s forum-selection clause,

which required that suit be brought in the district court

in Seoul, Korea. The court found that petitioner’s as-

sured, Doosan, had not been a party to the bill issued to

Streamline Shippers, and denied the motion to dismiss.

* Id. § 3(22), 46 U.S.C. app. § 1702(22).

6

Questioning whether petitioner, in its subrogation action,

could pursue its in rem claim against the ship without

eventually “accepting” the bill issued to Streamline Ship-

pers, the court warned that it would dismiss the in rem

action to Seoul if petitioner in future accepted the benefit

of the vessel owner’s bill. See Kukje Hwajae Ins. Co. v.

M/V HYUNDAI LIBERTY, 1999 WL 1293507, 1999

A.M.C. 2199 (C.D. Cal. 1999) (Pet. App. 23-33). The M/V

HYUNDAI LIBERTY moved for reconsideration, and the

district court denied that motion as well (Pet. App. 34-41).

6. Petitioner and the M/V HYUNDAI LIBERTY then

filed cross-motions for summary judgment. To establish

that the vessel had received the goods at Busan in appar-

ent good order and condition, petitioner cited the bill of

lading issued by Hyundai to Streamline Shippers. A

boilerplate provision on the back of that bill stated that

the goods were loaded in apparent good order and condi-

tion unless notations of damage appeared on the front side

of the bill. Based on Hyundai’s claim to ownership of the

M/V HYUNDAI LIBERTY, the absence of any notations on

the face of the bill Hyundai issued constituted an admis-

sion by a party opponent — the vessel defendant, through

her owner — that the goods had been loaded aboard in

apparent good order and condition.

Disregarding the difference between an evidentiary

offer of the terms of a contract as an admission by a party

opponent and a third-party beneficiary’s acceptance of the

benefits of a contract, the district court held that peti-

tioner had “accepted” the Hyundai bill of lading by offering

it as evidence of an admission. The court then enforced the

bill’s forum-selection clause against petitioner by ordering

the in rem action dismissed to Seoul, where it would be

7

time-barred by the one-year statute of limitations set forth

in COGSA and in the bill of lading (Pet. App. 17-21).

| 7. Petitioner filed an appeal from the court's order of

dismissal, and the M/V HYUNDAI LIBERTY filed a cross-

appeal from the earlier order denying its motion to enforce

the forum-selection clause in the Hyundai bill on the

ground that Doosan was not bound by it.

8. The court of appeals’ opinion does not discuss the

issue appealed by petitioner: the lower court’s determina-

tion that petitioner’s evidentiary offer of the contract

between Hyundai and the shippers’ association operated

as an acceptance of that contract by petitioner. The court

of appeals affirmed the result below on an entirely differ-

ent ground, holding that Doosan had been bound, after all,

by the bill the vessel owner issued to Streamline Shippers.

Though denominated as an affirmance on other grounds,

this was, in fact, a reversal of the district court’s earlier

denial of the vessel’s motion to dismiss under the vessel

owner’s forum-selection clause.° Though the opinion does

not acknowledge this, the court of appeals implicitly

granted the M/V HYUNDAI LIBERTY’s cross-appeal from

the denial of that motion.

The district court had found, as a fact, that peti-

tioner’s insured, Doosan, was not a party to the bill Hyun-

dai Merchant Marine issued to the shippers’ association. It

found that the bill of lading which reflected the contract of

carriage entered into by Doosan was the bill issued to

Doosan by Glory Express. The record on appeal contained

* See M/V HYUNDAI LIBERTY, supra, 1999 WL 1293507, 1999

A.M.C. 2199 (Pet. App. 23-33).

no evidence that Doosan had needlessly duplicated its

contract with Glory Express by additionally contracting

with Hyundai Merchant Marine — which would have

obligated Doosan to pay twice for shipping the goods once.

The record also contained no evidence that Glory Express

had acted as Doosan’s agent in procuring a vessel to carry

the goods.

Despite the absence of any record evidence to support

such a finding, the court of appeals held that Doosan had

authorized Glory Express to act as its agent for purposes

of binding Doosan to a contract of carriage with an ocean

common carrier, and that Glory Express had done so by

contracting, on Doosan’s behalf, with Hyundai Merchant

Marine. The court of appeals did not consider whether

Glory Express could bind Doosan to the vessel owner’s bill

without Doosan’s assent. Apparently, the court did not

consider that the putative agent, Glory Express, actually

must have Doosan’s assent either to act as its agent

directly or — another point the court overlooked — to

delegate its alleged authority to Streamline Shippers

Association, the party that contracted with Hyundai

Merchant Marine and appeared as shipper in Hyundai’s

bill of lading. Relying on cases from the Second and

Eleventh Circuits, the court of appeals held that the

NVOCC contracts with the ocean carrier as the agent for

the owner of the goods. See Kukje Hwajae Ins. Co. v. M/V

HYUNDAI LIBERTY, 294 F.3d 1171, 1176 (9th Cir. 2002)

(Pet. App. 8). The court of appeals then noted that

“[njothing in the record suggests that the relationship

between Doosan and Glory Express deviated from that

commercial norm.” Id. (Pet. App. 10) (emphasis added).

The court of appeals raised this agency theory sua

sponte during oral argument; the vessel defendant had not

9

made an agency argument either in opposing petitioner’s

appeal or in bringing its cross-appeal. During oral argu-

ment, the court indicated its intention to rule that the

NVOCC generally acts as the agent of the shipper, and

thus binds the shipper to the bill of lading issued by the

actual ocean carrier. As neither of the cross-appeals raised

the agency issue, the court of appeals reached its decision

without the benefit of briefing. In argument, petitioner’s

counsel asked the court to consider the conflict its agency

theory would create with the statutory definition of “non-

vessel-operating common carrier” set forth in the Shipping

Act. The court’s opinion quoted that definition, but relied

instead on the jurisprudence: “Both commentators and

courts have recognized that an NVOCC generally acts as

the agent of the cargo owner/shipper when it contracts

with the ocean carrier to ship the cargo owner’s goods.” Id.

at 1176 (Pet. App. 8-9).

9. Petitioner filed a timely petition for rehearing.

The petition pointed out that the decision contradicted the

basic rule that an agent cannot be created without the

principal’s consent; agency cannot arise by operation of

law or by any “commercial norm.” The petition also argued

that the court of appeals had contradicted the plain

meaning of the federal statute which defines the NVOCC

and controls its relationship with shippers and with ocean

common carriers. Under the Shipping Act, an NVOCC is

not the agent of the shipper with whom it contracts; it is

instead a carrier, albeit one without a vessel, and stands in

the same relation to the vessel-operating common carrier

as would a shipper who deals directly with that carrier. By

redefining the NVOCC as an agent of the shipper instead

of an independent carrier in a chain of carriers, the court

10

of appeals contravened and rejected the plain meaning of

the statute.

The court of appeals acted on the petition for rehear-

ing by ordering respondent to submit a response (Pet. App.

42-43). In its response, respondent adopted the court’s

theory that Glory Express had been Doosan’s agent and

thereby had bound Doosan to the owner’s bill of lading.

Following the response, the court of appeals issued an

order denying the petition for rehearing (Pet. App. 44-45).

10. This petition for a writ of certiorari followed.

4

Vv

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

There are two reasons for granting the writ of certio-

rari. First, by ruling that Second Circuit case law super-

sedes the Shipping Act’s definition of the “non-vessel-

operating common carrier” as a common carrier, the court

of appeals’ decision expands the number of district courts

that will be required to treat NVOCCs as shipper’s agents

rather than common carriers. This widening of the judicial

redefinition of the statutory role and status of these

common carriers has the potential to frustrate the na-

tional maritime policy behind the regulation of NVOCCs’

transactions with shippers and ccean common carriers.

Agency efforts to regulate NVOCCs began in 1961, and

culminated in Congress’ inclusion of a formal definition of

NVOCCs in the Shipping Act of 1984. The Federal Mari-

time Commission is not likely to endorse the judicial

redefinition of NVOCCs as shipper’s agents. Second, the

redefinition of NVOCCs by the Ninth and Second Circuits

creates a conflict in the circuits over whether the NVOCC

is a shipper’s agent or a statutory common carrier.

11

1. Statutory construction. The role and status of non-

vessel-operating common carriers (“NVOCCs”) is pre-

scribed and fixed by statute — the Shipping Act of 1984.

The purpose of fixing their role and status is to enable the

Federal Maritime Commission to regulate the practices of

NVOCCs in furnishing ocean transportation to shippers

such as petitioner’s assured, and to regulate parallel

transactions between NVOCCs and ocean common carri-

ers. The Shipping Act affords a painstakingly tailored

statutory scheme designed to accomplish the regulatory

requirements cof federal maritime policy.

The decision of the court of appeals contradicts the

statutory definition of “non-vessel-operating common

carrier,” altering the NVOCC’s statutory relationship with

shippers on the one hand and with ocean common carriers

on the other. The immediate effect of this decision is to

enable ocean common carriers to enforce tariff and other

contractual provisions against shippers with whom they

are not in privity, simply by recharacterizing the NVOCCs

with whom they contracted as agents of the shippers,

thereby defeating Congress’ definition of NVOCCs as

statutory common carriers. It may be predicted that a

long-term effect of the decision will be to frustrate the

legislative purpose for regulating the practices of NVOCCs

— to the detriment of the comprehensive scheme of federal

maritime regulation of which the Shipping Act, adminis-

tered by the Federal Maritime Commission, forms the

central part.

2. Circuit conflict. The Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit held that the shipper, Doosan, was bound as

a principal to the ocean carrier’s bill of lading on the

theory that the NVOCC, Glory Express, was the shipper’s

agent when it contracted with Hyundai Merchant Marine

12

for vessel transportation. According to the court, it is a

“commercial norm” that the NVOCC is the agent of the

shipper for purposes of contracting with the ocean carrier.’

The Ninth Circuit thus aligned itself with the Second

Circuit’s view that the NVOCC acts as agent of the ship-

per.’ These precedents appear to conflict with decisions of

the First, Third, Eighth, and District of Columbia Circuits

which have treated NVOCCs as shippers in their relation-

ships with ocean common carriers.’ Although the Eleventh

Circuit once followed the Second Circuit’s agency theory,”

it has moved away from that view and now holds that a

freight forwarder assuming the duties of a common carrier

is not the agent of its shipper when it contracts with an

ocean carrier for vessel transportation.” This Court has

” See M/V HYUNDAI LIBERTY, supra, 294 F.3d at 1176 (Pet. App.

10).

* See Insurance Co. of North America v. S/S AMERICAN ARGOSY,

732 F.2d 299, 301 (2d Cir. 1984) (interpreting NVOCC definition as then

codified at 46 C.F.R. § 510.2(1)) (Pet. App. 72).

* See Fireman’s Fund American Ins. Cos. v. Puerto Rican Forward-

ing Co., 492 F.2d 1294, 1295 (1st Cir. 1974); Puerto Rico Maritime

Shipping Authority v. Valley Freight Systems, Inc., 856 F.2d 546, 547

(3d Cir. 1988); New York Shipping Ass’n v. Federal Maritime Comm’n,

272 U.S. App. D.C. 129, 135-36, 854 F.2d 1338, 1344-45 (D.C. Cir. 1988);

New York Foreign Freight Forwarders & Brokers Ass’n v. Interstate

Commerce Comm’n, 191 U.S. App. D.C. 173, 183, 589 F.2d 696, 706

(D.C. Cir. 1979).

* See Insurance Co. of North America v. M/V OCEAN LYNX, 901

F.2d 934, 937 n.2 (11th Cir. 1990) (citing S/S AMERICAN ARGOSY,

732 F.2d at 301). —

" See James N. Kirby Pty, Ltd. v. Norfolk Southern R. Co., 300 F.3d

1300, 1305 (11th Cir.), reh’g & reh’g en banc denied, __ F.3d ____ (Oct. 7,

2002).

13

noted that NVOCCs are regulated by the Federal Mari-

time Commission,” but has never decided whether the

NVOCC is a shipper or, instead, an agent of the shipper

within the meaning of the Shipping Act definition of “non-

vessel-operating common carrier.”

1. The role and status of NVOCCs is prescribed by

federal statute, and the decision below contra-

venes the statute.

Ocean transportation in tae foreign commerce of the

United States has been a subject of federal regulation

since 1916, when Congress — concerned with ensuring a

viable merchant marine in the context of the Great War in

Europe — passed the Shipping Act, 1916, 39 Stat. 728, 46

U.S.C. §§ 801-842, and established the predecessor agency

of the Federal Maritime Commission. Through the 1916

act’s statutory successor, the Shipping Act of 1984, 98 Stat.

67, as amended, 46 U.S.C. §§ 1701-1719, Congress contin-

ues to regulate the foreign waterborne commerce of the

United States and delegates the administration of such

regulation to the Federal Maritime Commission.

Although today the regulation of NVOCCs forms an

integral part of Congress’ overall scheme, the term “non-

vessel-operating common carrier” did not appear in the

original Shipping Act, 1916, 46 U.S.C. §§ 801-842.

NVOCCs did not come into being until the emergence of

” See NLRB v. International Longshoremen’s Ass’n, AFL-CIO, 447

U.S. 490, 496 n.8 (1980).

14

containerization in the 1950s,” which created a demand

for persons who could consolidate several small shipments

in a single container and thereby save individual shippers

the cost of shipping by “traditional, labor-intensive meth-

ods.””*

The first: regulatory definition of the NVOCC was the

product of rulemaking by the Federal Maritime Commis-

sion, and specifies that the NVOCC procures a vessel “in

his own name,” not as an agent of the shipper:

As defined in Commission decisions and regula-

tion, an NVOCC is a person who holds himself out

by the establishment and maintenance of tariffs,

by advertisement and solicitation, and otherwise,

to provide transportation for hire by water in in-

terstate or foreign commerce as defined in the

Shipping Act, 1916; assumes responsibility or has

liability imposed by law for the safe water trans-

portation of the shipments and arranges in his

own name with underlying water carriers for the

performance of such transportation.

Ship’s Overseas Service, Inc. v. Federal Maritime Comm'n,

216 U.S. App. D.C. 146, 149, 670 F.2d 304, 307 (D.C. Cir.

1981) (emphasis added).”

* This Court has noted that the first oceangoing containership was

introduced in the Port of New York in 1957. See NLRB v. International

Longshoremen’s Ass’n, AFL-CIO, 473 U.S. 61, 65 (1985).

“ New York Shipping Ass’n v. Federal Maritime Comm’n, 272 U.S.

App. D.C. 129, 136, 854 F.2d 1338, 1345 (D.C. Cir. 1988).

* The court cited the Federal Maritime Board’s ruling in Determi-

nation of Common Carrier Status, 6 F.M.B. 245, 256-57 (1961); two

Federal Maritime Commission decisions, Pacific Coast European

Conference v. Southern Pac. Marine Transport, Inc., 20 F.M.C. 166, 168

(Continued on following page)

15

In 1962, the Federal Maritime Commission” issued a

notice of proposed rulemaking to define NVOCCs. The

proposed definition closely tracked the language used by

its predecessor agency, the Federal Maritime Board, to

describe NVOCCs in Determination of Common Carrier

Status, supra note 15, 6 F.M.B. at 256. The proposed

definition was adopted as a final rule in 1963. See 28 Fed.

Reg. 4300 (May 1, 1963) (codified at 46 C.F.R. § 510.21(d)).

It was modified in a rulemaking entitled Licensed Inde-

pendent Ocean Freight Forwarders, 46 Fed. Reg. 24565,

24569 (May 1, 1981) (codified at 46 C.F.R. § 510.2(/)) (Pet.

App. 72).”

When Congress substantially revised the federal

regulatory scheme by enacting the Shipping Act of 1984, it

took care to include a statutory definition of the NVOCC:

(17) “non-vessel-operating common carrier”

means a common carrier that does not operate

the vessels by which the ocean transportation is

provided, and is a shipper in its relationship with

an ocean common carrier.

Shipping Act of 1984, 98 Stat. 67 § 3(17), 46 U.S.C. app.

§ 1702(17) (recodified at 46 U.S.C. § 1702(17)B)).

(1977) and Possible Violations of Section 18(a) of the Shipping Act,

1916, 19 F.M.C. 44, 56 (1975); and the definition of NVOCC at 46 C.F.R.

§ 510.21(d)).

** The Federal Maritime Board’s powers were transferred to the

Federal Maritime Commission, with effect from August 12, 1961, by

Reorganization Plan No. 7 of 1961, 75 Stat. 840 (1961).

™ The current definition of NVOCC is codified at 46 C.FR.

§ 515.2(1) (Pet. App. 73).

16 -

In the Ocean Shipping Reform Act of 1998, 112 Stat.

1902, Congress amended the Shipping Act of 1984 but

retained its NVOCC definition, combining NVOCCs with

ocean freight forwarders under the rubric of “ocean trans-

portation intermediaries.” See Shipping Act of 1984, as

amended by the Ocean Shipping Reform Act of 1998 § 17,

“Ocean Transportation Intermediaries,” 46 U.S.C. app.

§ 1702(17) (defining ocean freight forwarders in subsection

(17A) and NVOCCs in subsection 17(B)) (Pet. App. 46-

47).

That Congress meant the NVOCC to be a shipper, not

a shipper’s agent, in contracting with ocean common

carriers is evident from the current definition of “shipper”

“as including —

(E) an ocean transportation intermediary, as de-

fined in paragraph (17)(B) of this section [i.e., an

NVOCC], that accepts responsibility for payment

of all charges applicable under the tariff or ser-

vice contract.

Id. § 3(21)(E), 46 U.S.C. app. § 1702(21)(E) (Pet. App. 47).

Congress included persons acting as shipper’s agents

in its definition of ocean freight forwarders:

“ocean freight forwarder” means a person in the

United States that —

dispatches shipments from the United States via

common carriers and books or otherwise ar-

ranges space for those shipments on behalf of

shippers ....

Id. § 3(18), 46 U.S.C. app. § 1702(18) (emphasis added)

(recodified as amended at 46 U.S.C. app. § 1702(17)A))

(Pet. App. 46-47).

17

By holding as a matter of law that the NVOCC Glory

Express was an agent, not a principal, to the contract with

Hyundai Merchant Marine and that the cargo owner

Doosan was instead the principal, the court of appeals’

opinion purports to shift responsibility for payment of the

ocean carrier from the NVOCC to the cargo owner. This

contradicts the express allocation of such responsibility to

the NVOCC at id. § 3(21)(E), 46 U.S.C. app. § 1702(21)(E)

(Pet. App. 47).

The Shipping Act contemplates two separate transpor-

tation contracts — one ) etween the cargo owner and the

NVOCC; the other between the NVOCC and the ocean

common carrier. The Federal Maritime Commission has

the duty to regulate the carriers represented in each of

these contracts. The act requires both ocean common

carriers and NVOCCs to publish tariffs, and to observe

their tariff provisions. See id. § 8, 46 U.S.C. app. § 1707

(Pet. App. 48-49). The act also authorizes the Commission

to take action against ocean common carriers and

NVOCCs that engage in prohibited acts. See id. § 10, 46

U.S.C; § 1709 (Pet. App. 50).

The court of appeals’ opinion deals a double blow to

this regulatory framework. First, it redefines the shipper-

carrier relationship between the cargo owner and the

NVOCC, thus running afoul of the Commission’s regula-

tion of NVOCCs through their carrier tariffs. Second, the

opinion expressly nullifies the shipper-carrier relationship

between the NVOCC and the ocean common carrier,

contradicting the Commission’s oversight of those transac-

tions as well. Under the rule announced below — that the

NVOCC, as a “commercial norm,” is the agent of the

shipper (i.e., the cargo owner) — NVOCCs would, at a

18

minimum, be relieved of the statutory responsibility to pay

ocean common carriers under applicable tariffs.

In 1990, Congress moved to strengthen the regulation

of NVOCCs by enacting the Non-Vessel Operating Com-

mon Carrier Amendments, Pub. L. 101-595, 104 Stat. 2979

(1990) (formerly codified at 46 U.S.C. app. § 1721; recodi-

fied by Ocean Shipping Reform Act, 112 Stat. 1902, at 46

U.S.C. app. § 1718) (Pet. App. 51-54). These amendments

to the Shipping Act require NVOCCs to post bonds as

security for shippers’ claims arising from transportation-

related activities. As a result of these bonding require-

ments, the Commission now regulates more than 2,700

NVOCCs, both domestic and foreign. For fiscal year 2001,

the Commission reported:

At the end of the fiscal year, 1,331 freight for-

warders, 1,251 U.S. NVOCCs, 844 joint

NVOCC/ocean freight forwarders, and 38 foreign

NVOCCs held active OTI licenses. An additional

599 foreign NVOCCs maintained proof of finan-

cial responsibility on file with the Commission

but chose not to be licensed.

40th Annual Report for Fiscal Year 2001 (F.M.C. Mar. 31,

2002) at 98 (submitted to Congress pursuant to Reorgani-

zation Plan No. 7 of 1961, 75 Stat. 840 § 103(e) and Mer-

chant Marine Act, as amended, § 208, 46 U.S.C. app.

§ 1118).

In the Shipping Act of 1984, the Non-Vessel Operating

Common Carrier Amendments of 1990, and the amend-

ments to the Shipping Act contained in the Ocean Ship-

ping Reform Act of 1998, Congress consistently has

defined the NNVOCC as a shipper in its relationship

with an ocean common carrier. In all three enactments,

19

Congress knew what it was doing. As this Court observed

in construing another term defined in the 1916 Shipping

Act, “[t]he common sense of all this, of course, is that

Congress knew what it was about in both instances. We

cannot ignore its repeated demonstrations of that fact. To

do so would be to rewrite the statute... .” United States v.

American Union Transport, Inc., 327 U.S. 437, 456 (1946).

The Commission’s determination to define and regu-

late NVOCCs” — culminating in the inclusion of NVOCCs

in the Shipping Act of 1984” — is based on the experience

recounted in the following excerpt from a decision which

reveals that the Commission expressly rejects the view —

adopted by the court of appeals — that an NVOCC is a

“shipper’s agent”:

In other contexts, carriers attempt to find their

operations exempt from regulation by calling

themselves by other names. For example, non-

vessel operating common carriers by water have

designated themselves as shippers’ “agents”

rather than carriers and have even disavowed

cargo liability for cargo loss or damage or they

have called themselves some other thing rather

than what they truly are. The reason for these

erroneous self-designations is usually to avoid

* The final rule that first defined the NVOCC was proposed early

in 1962, just six months after the transfer of authority from the Federal

Maritime Board to the Federal Maritime Commission. See Practices of

Licensed Independent Ocean Freight Forwarders, Ocean Freight

Brokers, and Oceangoing Common Carriers — Notice of Proposed

Rulemaking, 27 Fed. Reg. 1775 (Feb. 24, 1962).

*” 98 Stat. 67 § 3(17), 46 U.S.C. app. § 1702(17) (recodified at 46

U.S.C. app. § 1702(17\B)) (Pet. App. 47).

20

some requirement of law, e.g., tariff-filing, avoid-

ance of liability as a carrier or amenability to

suit under section 22 of the 1916 Act, or avoid-

ance of section 15 consequences. Thus, in Possi-

ble Violations of Section 18(a) of the Shipping

Act, 1916, 19 FM.C. 44 (1975), respondent

claimed that it was not a carrier but a “shipper’s

agent” not subject to tariff-filing requirements.

However, respondent was found to be a carrier by

virtue of what it actually did, not what it named

itself, and liability as a carrier was found to be

imposed on respondent as a matter of law. . . . [I]t

has long been recognized that a non-vessel oper-

ating common carrier by water and sometimes

a vessel-operating carrier may take the position

of shipper vis a vis another carrier, although

maintaining its basic nature as a common carrier

towards its own shippers.... [Slee also Is-

brandtsen Co. v. States Marine, 6 F.M.B. 422

(1961), a case illustrating how a vessel-operating

carrier needing space to carry out its carrier obli-

gations to its own shippers, can become a shipper

itself when it books cargo on another carrier’s

vessels. The fact that a carrier may be shown as

shipper or consignee on another carrier’s bill of

lading may determine the relationship between

the two carriers but does not change the first

carrier’s status as a common carrier vis a vis the

first carrier’s shippers.

Prudential Lines, Inc. v. Farrell Lines, Inc., 26 F.M.C. 497,

515-16 (ALJ), adopted, 26 F.M.C. 496 (1984).

The Shipping Act definition of “non-vessel-operating

common carrier” is important not only for the regulatory

policy expressed in the act itself, but also because of the

critical position NVOCCs — by consolidating small ship-

ments into a single container — occupy in the movement of

21

oceangoing cargo containers into the United States from

foreign ports. In the aftermath of 9/11, NVOCCs licensed

by the Federal Maritime Commission figure prominently

in rulemaking aimed at preventing the smuggling into this

country of weapons of mass destruction. On October 31,

2002, in furtherance of the national security, the Depart-

ment of the Treasury promulgated a final rule “to require

the advance and accurate presentation of certain manifest

information prior to lading at the foreign port and to

encourage the presentation of this information electroni-

cally.” 67 Fed. Reg. 66318 (Oct. 31, 2002) (Pet. App. 60-71).

The purpose of the rule is to enable the Customs Service

“to evaluate the risk of smuggling weapons of mass de-

struction through the use of oceangoing cargo containers

before goods are loaded on vessels for importation into the

United States,” with a minimum of delay in the Customs

processing of legitimate cargo. See id. (Pet. App. 60). The

rule permits non-vessel-operating common carriers cur-

rently licensed by the Federal Maritime Commission to

submit manifests electronically (Pet. App. 68-69), and

imposes liquidated damages on any NVOCC whose elec-

tronic filing does not comply with the rule. See id. at 66320

(Pet. App. 67-68). The Treasury rule states that, as “a

common carrier that does not operate the vessels by which

the ocean transportation is provided,” the NVOCC “would

be considered a shipper in its relationship with the ocean

common carrier.” Jd. (emphasis added) (Pet. App. 67).

The court of appeals’ determination that NVOCCs are

not shippers in their relationships with ocean common

carriers, but instead are shipper’s agents, contravenes the

plain meaning of “non-vessel-operating common carrier,”

and throws a wrench into the statutory works by contra-

dicting the system of tariffs created by the Shipping Act

and enforced by the Federal Maritime Commission. It may

22

also confuse the Customs Service’s reliance on Commis-

sion-licensed NVOCCs to help monitor imports and ferret

out containerized weapons of mass destruction before they

reach their intended recipients in this country.

2. The circuits conflict in their construction of

the statute.

The courts of appeals differ in their construction of the

Shipping Act definition of “non-vessel-operating common

carrier.” In the present case, the Ninth Circuit followed

decisions of the Second” and Eleventh” Circuits in holding

that the NVOCC, as a matter of law, is the “agent” of the

shipper with whom it contracts.

Although the Eleventh Circuit, in The M/V OCEAN

LYNX,” observed that the shipper could treat the NVOCC

as a common carrier but underlying ocean common carri-

ers treat the NVOCC as the shipper’s agent,” the court

has departed from that view in subsequent decisions. More

recent Eleventh Circuit opinions characterize the NVOCC

not as a shipper’s agent, but as a carrier in relation to the

shipper and a shipper in relation to the ocean common

carrier. In The M/V “TITAN SCAN™ the Eleventh Circuit

*® See S/S AMERICAN ARGOSY, supra, 732 F.2d at 301 (inter-

preting NVOCC definition then codified at 46 C.F.R. § 510.2(2)) (Pet.

App. 72).

* M/V OCEAN LYNX, 901 F.2d 934.

~

* Id. at 937 n.2 (citing S/S AMERICAN ARGOSY, 732 F.2d at

301).

* See Itel Container Corp. v. M/V “TITAN SCAN,” 139 F.3d 1450

(11th Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. Mammoet Shipping B.V. v. Sky

(Continued on following page)

23

held that the bill of lading contract between the shipper

and NVOCC and the bill of lading contract between the

NVOCC and ocean common carrier reflected two separate

transactions.” In Polo Ralph Lauren,” the Eleventh

Circuit reversed a dismissal of the shipper’s cargo claim

against the ocean common carrier, rejecting the lower

court’s ruling that the shipper had no standing because it

was not a party to the ocean carrier’s bill of lading issued

to the NVOCC.” The Eleventh Circuit did not rule, how-

ever, that the shipper was a party to the ocean carrier’s

bill — the holding in the present case; it concluded there

was an issue of whether the shipper was a third-party

beneficiary of the ocean carrier’s bill.” Most recently, the

Eleventh Circuit has held that a freight forwarder which,

by issuing its own bill of lading, assumed the duties of a

non-vessel-operating common carrier, was not the ship-

per’s agent, and did not bind the shipper to the bill of

lading issued by the ocean common carrier.”

Other courts of appeals — although not called upon to

interpret the Shipping Act definition of “non-vessel-

operating common carrier” — have treated NVOCCs ax

Shipping Ltd., 525 U.S. 962 (1998) and cert. denied sub nom. Sky

Shipping Ltd. v. Mammoet Shipping B.V., 525 U.S. 962 (1998).

* See id. at 1453.

* Polo Ralph Lauren, L.P. v. Tropical Shipping & Const. Co., 215

F.3d 1217 (11th Cir. 2000).

*” Id. at 1221-23. The shipper argued that the NVOCC was its

agent for purposes of contracting with the ocean common carrier, but

the court of appeals declined to consider the argument because it had

not been raised in the district court. See id. at 1223-24.

* Id. at 1222-23.

* James N. Kirby Pty, supra, 300 F.3d at 1305.

24

shippers in relation to ocean common carriers. These

include the First,” Third,” and Eighth” Circuits.

Decisions of the District of Columbia Circuit also

appear consistent with the plain meaning of the statutory

definition. The principal service provided by NVOCCs —

consolidating the shipments of two or more shippers into a

single container, thereby reducing each shipper’s cost

below what it would have to pay an ocean carrier for the

same shipment — was described in detail by the District of

Columbia Circuit in New York Shipping, supra, 272 U.S.

App. D.C. at 135-36, 854 F.2d at 1344-45. Earlier, the D.C.

Circuit upheld a determination by the Interstate Com-

merce Commission to treat NVOCCs as the equivalent of

surface freight forwarders when they bring themselves

within ICC jurisdiction by offering through rates for

combined water-motor service. See New York Foreign

Freight Forwarders, supra, 191 U.S. App. D.C. at 183, 589

F.2d at 706 (“NVO’s resemble domestic freight forwarders

in that they hold themselves out to assume responsibility

for the total shipment, and contract with underlying

vessel-owning carriers for the actual transportation by

water in foreign commerce.”).

” See Fireman’s Fund, supra, 492 F.2d at 1295 (explaining that

NVOCC is carrier in relation to its shipper and shipper in relation to

actual water carrier).

* See PRMSA, supra, 856 F.2d at 547 (“Valley is a non-vessel-

operating common carrier and stood as a shipper in relation to Author-

ity in the transactions at issue here.”).

* See Yellow Forwarding Co. v. Atlantic Container Line, 668 F.2d

350, 351 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 456 U.S. 962 (1982) (explaining that

NVO[CC] employs services of ocean carriers and makes profit by

charging shipper more than it pays ocean carriers).

25

In reviewing a ruling by the National Labor Relations

Board, this Court described the services performed by

NVOCCs in consolidating small shipments into single

containers for carriage by truckers and steamship lines,

and noted that NVOCCs are regulated by the Federal

Maritime Commission. See iVLRB v. International Long-

shoremen’s Ass’n, supra, 447 U.S. at 496 n.8. This Court

has never ruled upon the statutory definition of “non-

vessel-operating common carrier,” and has never deter-

mined whether the NVOCC is an agent of the shipper as a

matter of law. By granting certiorari, the Court can resolve

the conflict in the circuits over whether the NVOCC binds

itself or its shipper as principal to the contract of carriage

with the ocean common carrier.

With this opinion, the Ninth Circuit joins the Second

in contradicting the statutory definition of “non-vessel-

operating common carrier” as “a shipper in its relationship

with an ocean common carrier,” as section 3(17)(B) of the

Shipping Act provides. The Second Circuit came to this

conclusion in The S/S AMERICAN ARGOSY, supra, 732

F.2d 299. Decided in the year the Shipping Act of 1984 was

enacted, The S/S AMERICAN ARGOSY construed the

definition of non-vessel-operating common carrier as it

was then defined in the Commission’s regulations. See 732

F.2d at 301 n.2 (quoting 46 C.F.R. § 510.2(/)) (Pet. App. 72).

District courts have continued to apply the Second Cir-

cuit’s interpretation to NVOCCs under the statutory

definition in the Shipping Act of 1984. See, e.g., Project

Hope v. M/V IBN SINA, 96 F. Supp. 2d 285, 296 (S.D.N.Y.

2000), aff’d in part, vacated in part on other grounds, 250

F.3d 67 (2d Cir. 2001) (“Under federal regulations, an

NVOCC ... is an agent of the shipper ... in its relation-

ship with an ocean common carrier.”); Modern Office

26

System, Inc. v. AIM Caribbean Exp., Inc., 802 F. Supp. 617,

623 (D.P.R. 1992) (“With respect to the vessel and her owner,

however, the NVOCC is an agent of the shipper. . . . ”)

Although derivative of The S/S AMERICAN AR-

GOSY, the court of appeals’ misinterpretation of the

relationship between NVOCC and ocean common carrier

in this case already has grown its own legs. The decision

below served as authority for the result reached in Jockey

Intern., Inc. v. M/V “LEVERKUSEN EXPRESS,” 217

F. Supp. 2d 447, 457 (S.D.N.Y. 2002) (quoting The M/V

HYUNDAI LIBERTY, 294 F.3d at 1177) (“As the Ninth

Circuit explained, ‘because an NVOCC is considered, in

, general, to act as an agent for the cargo’s owner when it

contracts for carriage on a vessel, and because in this case

[the NVOCC] was acting as [the cargo owner’s] agent

when it accepted the [shipper’s] bill of lading, [the cargo

owner’s subrogated insurer] is bound by that bill.’”).

Shortly after the opinion below was issued, the Elev-

enth Circuit decided a similar case involving a freight

forwarder that had performed the functions of an NVOCC

by issuing a bill of lading in which it assumed carrier

responsibility for the goods. In James N. Kirby Pty, supra,

300 F.3d 1300, the court of appeals reviewed the district

court’s determination that the appellee railroad, a subcon-

tractor of the ocean common carrier whose ship had

transported the appellant’s goods, could enforce the ocean

carrier’s bill of lading against the shipper, even though the

shipper had contracted not with the ocean carrier, but

with an intermediary freight forwarder. Based on the fact

that the freight forwarder issued its own bill of lading in

which it undertook carrier responsibility for the goods, the

Eleventh Circuit concluded that the shipper’s contract of

carriage was with the freight forwarder, not with the

27

ocean common carrier by whom the railroad had been

employed. The court rejected the railroad’s contention that

the freight forwarder had functioned as the agent of the

shipper and, as such, had bound the shipper directly to the

ocean common carrier. The court found that the freight

forwarder was itself the other principal to the ocean

carrier’s contract, and had bound only itself, not the

shipper, to its terms. See id. at 1305-07.

Kirby implicitly operates on the principle that a

person cannot be held to the terms of a contract to which

he has not assented. In the present case, the court of

appeals located the required meeting of the minds not in

any evidence of assent by petitioner’s assured (there was

none), but in what it described as the “commercial norm”

that NVOCCs are shipper’s agents: “Nothing in the record

suggests that the relationship between Doosan and Glory

Express deviated from that commercial norm.” M/V

HYUNDAI LIBERTY, supra, 294 F.3d at 1176 (citing M/V

OCEAN LYNX, supra, 901 F.2d at 937 n.2; S/S AMERI-

CAN ARGOSY, 732 F.2d at 301). Treating the NVOCC as

the shipper’s agent, the court of appeals imposed the

terms of the ocean carrier’s bill of lading on a shipper that

had contracted with the NVOCC, not with the ocean

carrier. Based on this agency theory, the court of appeals

enforced the ocean carrier’s Korean forum-selection clause

and dismissed the case. Petitioner’s claim was thus dis-

missed under a forum clause in a bill of lading to which its

assured had given neither assent nor acceptance. In order

to enforce the forum-selection clause in the Hyundai bill,

the court of appeals — lacking evidence of an agency

agreement — concluded that the NVOCC was the agent of

the shipper by operation of a “commercial norm.”

28

When this Court, in Vimar Seguros y Reaseguros, S.A.

v. M/V SKY REEFER,” enforced a foreign arbitration

clause against the insurer of a shipper who sought the

exclusive remedy provided by COGSA,™ surely it was not

intended that the lower courts, thereafter, would enforce

forum-selection clauses against nonparties to ocean-carrier

bills of lading. By holding that NVOCCs, as a matter of

law or commercial norm, are shipper’s agents, the court of

appeals below joins the Second Circuit in negating both a

basic rule of contract law — assent to be bound” — and the

statutory definition of NVOCC. Petitioner respectfully

asks this Court to resolve this conflict in the circuits by

overruling the Ninth and Second Circuits’ “agency” defini-

tion of NVOCC.

* 515 U.S. 528 (1995).

“ Carriage of Goods by Sea Act, 49 Stat. 1208, 46 U.S.C. app.

§§ 1300-1313.

* See, e.g., Runyon v. McCrary, 427 U.S. 160, 194 (1976) (citing

REST. CONTRACTS § 19(b) (1932); 1 SAMUEL WILLISTON, LAW OF CON.

TRACTS § 18(3) (3d ed. 1957)).

29

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL W. LODWICK

Counsel of Record

HAIGHT BROWN & BONESTEEL LLP

5 Hutton Centre Drive, Suite 900

Santa Ana, California 92707-0510

(714) 754-1100

Attorneys for Petitioner

Dated: November 22, 2002.

4

APPENDIX TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit, filed June 26, 2002......... App.

Judgment of the United States District Court,

Central District of California, filed October 10,

2000; entered October 12, 2000......................0 App.

Order of the United States District Court,

Central District of California, dated May 24,

1999; entered May 26, 1999..................cccceceeeeees App.

Amended Order of the United States District

Court, Central District of California, filed Au-

gust 3, 1999; entered August 4, 1999.0... App.

Order of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit, filed July 22, 2002 ............... App.

Order of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit, filed August 28, 2002........... App.

Shipping Act of 1984 §3, 46 U.S.C. app.

A se laitictintteanascansiensescsavncsacsctsaveveses App.

Ee eet inaldeniniaaceseavsbesstanane’neberzoonniace App.

NS siniadsl Vacniineadsbocscesacteidensisecavsexcoucsene App.

tein sicccedincsnsentnsbssvssesenssoseess App.

S. Rep. No. 420, 101st Cong., 2d Sess. 1990,

1990 WL 201672 (Leg. Hist.), reporting on P.L.

101-595, Non-Vessel Operating Common Car-

rier Amendment of 1990 .................ccccccceeceeeeeeees App.

67 Fed. Reg. 66318 (Oct. 31, 2002).................... App.

46 C.F.R. § 510.2(1) (repealed) ..................eceeeeees App.

i cnacsicansapsnsonsserccenanonessees App.

17

23

34

42

44

46

48

50

51

55

60

72

73

App. 1

APPENDIX A

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

KUKJE HWAJAE INSURANCE Co., LTD.,

a corporation,

Plaintiff-Appellant /

Cross-Appellee,

Vv.

The “M/V HYUNDAI LIBERTY,” her

Engines, Boilers, Tackle, etc., in rem,

Defendant-Appellee /

Cross-Appellant,

and

GLORY EXPRESS, INC., a business entity,

in personam,

Defendant-Appellee,

GLORY EXPRESS, INC., a California

Corporation,

Third-party plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

STREAMLINE SHIPPERS ASSOCIATION,

a California Corporation,

Third-party defendant,

and

HYUNDAI MERCHANT MARINE CoO., LTD.,

a business entity, DOES 1-10 inclusive,

Third-party defendants-

Appellees.

Nos. 00-56970

00-57049

D.C. No.

CV-98-09217-ABC

OPINION

App. 2

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the Central District of California

Audrey B. Collins, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted

February 13, 2002 — Pasadena, California

Filed June 26, 2002

Before: Robert R. Beezer, A. Wallace Tashima, and

Susan P. Graber, Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge Graber

COUNSEL

Michael W. Lodwick, Haight Brown & Bonesteel LLP,

Santa Ana, California, for the plaintiff-appellant/cross-

appellee.

Christina L. Owen and Robert E. Coppola, Cogswell

Nakazawa & Chang, Long Beach, California, for the

defendant-appellee/cross-appellant.

Simon H. Langer, Beverly Hills, California, for the

defendant/third-party plaintiff-appellee.

OPINION

GRABER, Circuit Judge:

This case requires us to answer two questions: (1)

whether the owner of cargo, who contracted with an

intermediary non-vessel operating common carrier

(NVOCC) to arrange for the carriage of cargo on a ship,

was bound by the forum-selection clause in the bill of

lading issued by the ship’s owner to the NVOCC, and (2)

whether the NVOCC was entitled to take advantage of a

statutory limitation of liability by having given the cargo’s

owner a “fair opportunity” to opt for higher limits by

App. 3

paying a greater charge. We hold that the cargo’s owner

was bound by the forum-selection clause and that the

statutory limitation of liability applies. Accordingly, we

affirm.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Plaintiff Kukje Hwajae Insurance Company is the

subrogated insurer of the Doosan Corporation, a Korean

manufacturer of machinery. Doosan contracted with Glory

Express, Inc., an NVOCC, to ship a “Doosan Brand Verti-

cal Twin Spindle CNC Lathe” from Busan, Korea, to Los

Angeles, California, on the vessel the Hyundai Liberty.

Glory Express issued three bills of lading to cover the

shipment. Each one identifies Doosan as the shipper and

the “Hyundai Liberty” as the “Exporting Carrier.” The

Glory Express bills of lading contain a forum-selection

clause requiring that all suits relating to the carriage of

goods covered by the bills of lading be brought in the

federal courts in New York, although Glory Express has

not sought to enforce that clause here.

Glory Express, in turn, contracted with Hyundai

Merchant Marine Company to ship the lathe on its vessel,

the Hyundai Liberty. It did so by acting through Stream-

line Shippers Association, a nonprofit organization of

shippers (Streamline)." Hyundai Merchant Marine issued

a bill of lading identifying Streamline as the shipper. That

bill of lading provided:

* Streamline acted as the agent of Glory Express; for the practical

purpose of this appeal, they are indistinguishable.

App. 4

The claims arising from or in connection

with or relating to this Bill of Lading shall be

exclusively governed by the law of Korea except

otherwise provided in this Bill of Lading. Any

and all action concerning custody or carriage un-

der this Bill of Lading whether based on breach

of contract, tort or otherwise shall be brought be-

fore the Seoul Civil District Court in Korea.

(Emphasis added.)

According to Plaintiff’s complaint, the lathe was

damaged during the course of the sea voyage, resulting in

more than $200,000 in damages. Plaintiff paid Doosan’s

claim and then initiated this action. The complaint as-

serted claims for damage to cargo, breach of contract,

negligence, breach of duty to care for property in bailment,

and unseaworthiness. Plaintiff brought the action in

personam against Defendant Glory Express and in rem

against the Hyundai Liberty (Hyundai).’

Hyundai moved to dismiss Plaintiff’s complaint as to

the vessel, seeking to enforce the forum-selection clause in

its bill of lading. The district court denied the motion, in

part because it found that Hyundai had not properly

authenticated the copy of the bill of lading that it had

attached to its motion.’ Additionally, the court denied the

* Pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure C(6) (Supplemental

Rules for Certain Admiralty and Maritime Claims), the Hyundai

Liberty is represented in this action by its owner, Hyundai Merchant

Marine Company.

* That defect was cured at a later date, and neither party argues

that the initial lack of authentication has any bearing on our resolution

of the legal issues presented here.

App. 5

motion because Plaintiff’s subrogor, Doosan, had not

“accepted” the bill of lading and it was, therefore, not

enforceable against Plaintiff. The court stated further

that, if Plaintiff “accepted” the bill during the litigation by

relying on it to establish an element of one of its claims,

the court would entertain again Hyundai’s motion to

enforce the forum-selection clause.

Hyundai filed a motion for partial summary judgment

on the ground that the Carriage of Goods by Sea Act

(COGSA) - specifically 46 U.S.C. app. § 13804(5) — limited

the ship’s in rem liability. Over Plaintiff’s opposition, the

court granted the motion.

Plaintiff then moved for summary judgment against

Glory Express. The court granted the motion in part,

holding that Glory Express was liable to Plaintiff for

damage to the lathe, but that its liability was limited by

the terms of the Glory Express bills of lading and by

COGSA. At that time, the court did not calculate the total

amount of damages for which Glory Express was liable,

because Plaintiff had not established how many “pack-

ages” had been shipped for purposes of COGSA. Glory

Express then moved for summary judgment on the ground

that the total number of packages shipped was six. The

court granted the motion.

Plaintiff and Hyundai filed cross-motions for sum-

mary judgment on the issue of the vessel’s in rem liability.

Each party opposed the other’s motion. The court denied

both parties’ motions and, instead, dismissed the case. The

court reasoned that Plaintiff’s use of a part of the Hyun-

dai bill of lading to establish that the goods were delivered

on board the Hyundai Liberty in good condition consti-

tuted “acceptance” of the bill of lading. The court also held

App. 6

that “any claim that Kukje has against the Hyundai

Liberty must be brought pursuant to the Hyundai’s Bills of

J.ading.” The court dismissed the action with respect to the

ryundai “without prejudice to Plaintiff’s right to bring a

claim that complies with the forum selection clause of the

Hyundai’s Bills of Lading.”

Plaintiff and Hyundai timely appealed.

STANDARDS OF REVIEW

We review for abuse of discretion the district court’s

decision whether to enforce a forum-selection clause.

Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. v. M.V. DSR Atl., 131 F.3d 1336,

1338 (9th Cir. 1998). A motion to enforce a forum-selection

clause is treated as a motion pursuant to Federal Rule of

Civil Procedure 12(b)(3). Argueta v. Banco Mexicano, S.A.,

87 F.3d 320, 324 (9th Cir. 1996). Consequently, the plead-

ings need not be accepted as true, and facts outside the

pleadings properly may be considered. Jd.

We review de novo the district court’s grant of sum-

mary judgment. Balint v. Carson City, 180 F.3d 1047, 1050

(9th Cir. 1999) (en banc).

DISCUSSION

A. Whether Plaintiff is bound by the forum-selection

clause in the Hyundai bill of lading.

Plaintiff argues that the district court erred by

dismissing the in rem action because of the forum-

selection clause. Plaintiff contends that the clause does not

bind it because Plaintiff’s subrogor, Doosan, never

accepted the Hyundai bill of lading and, therefore, is not a

party to the contract. Plaintiff argues that its evidentiary

App. 7

use of the bill of lading did not operate as “acceptance” of

the contractual terms of the bill. Because Plaintiff does not

seek to enforce the contractual terms of the bill of lading,

but has brought a tort claim for cargo damage, and

because neither Plaintiff nor its subrogor is a party to the

bill of lading, Plaintiff reasons that the forum-selection

clause is not enforceable against it.

Hyundai, by contrast, argues that the court erred by

not enforcing the forum-selection clause at the outset of

the litigation. Hyundai asserts that the clause is enforce-

able against Plaintiff because Plaintiff’s subrogor is a

party to the bill of lading or, in the alternative, is so

“closely related” to the transaction that the clause is

enforceable. We agree with Hyundai that the in rem action

should have been dismissed at the outset for want of

jurisdiction.

As an initial matter, it is clear that Plaintiff’s in rem

action for cargo damage, characterized by Plaintiff as a

tort,’ is within the scope of the forum-selection clause. The

text of the clause provides: “Any and all action concerning

custody or carriage under this Bill of Lading whether

based on breach of contract, tort or otherwise shall be

brought before the Seoul Civil District Court in Korea.”

Plaintiff’s action concerns damage to the lathe that

occurred during “carriage under this Bill of Lading” on

board the Hyundai Liberty.

* But see Polo Ralph Lauren, L.P. v. Tropical Shipping & Constr.

Co., 215 F.3d 1217, 1220-21 (11th Cir. 2000) (holding that, when

COGSA applies, it provides the exclusive remedy for cargo damage

claims, which are “hybrid” contract-and-tort claims).

App. 8

It also is clear that enforcement of the clause does not

contravene COGSA. In Fireman’s Fund, we approved a

similar forum-selection clause requiring that a claim for

cargo damage be brought in Korea. 131 F.3d at 1338-40. In

that case, the plaintiff (the consignee of the cargo covered

by the bill of lading at issue) brought claims for cargo

damage in both an in rem action against the vessel and an

in personam action against the vessel’s charterer. Id. at

1339. We rejected the plaintiff’s argument, which posited

that COGSA barred enforcement of the forum-selection

clause because in rem proceedings are not available under

Korean law, and we held that the district court abused its

discretion when it declined to enforce the clause. Id. at

1338-40. We remanded the case to district court to dismiss

the in rem and in personam proceedings for “want of

jurisdiction.” Id. at 1340.

Therefore, we can, consistent with both precedent and

the terms of the bill of lading, apply the Korean forum-

selection clause to Plaintiff’s in rem action. The question

is whether the clause can be enforced against Plaintiff: We

conclude that it can. That is because the commercial role

of an NVOCC, as well as the facts of this case, lead to the

conclusion that Glory Express was acting as Doosan’s

agent when it accepted the Hyundai bill of lading. As a

result, Doosan — and thus Plaintiff, as Doosan’s subrogee —

are bound by the forum-selection clause in the Hyundai

bill of lading.

As defined by federal statute, an NVOCC is “a com-

mon carrier that does not operate the vessels by which the

ocean transportation is provided, and is a shipper in its

relationship with an ocean common carrier.” 46 U.S.C.

app. § 1702(17)(B). Both commentators and courts have

recognized that an NVOCC generally acts as the agent of

App. 9

the cargo owner/shipper when it contracts with the ocean

carrier to ship the cargo owner’s goods.

A non-vessel operating common carrier, or

NVOCC, contracts with its customers as princi-

pal, agreeing to transport their goods on a voyage

that includes an ocean leg. An NVOCC commonly

issues bills of lading to its customers in its own

name, even though it does not operate the ship

that will carry the goods on the ocean voyage. It

buys space on the carrying ship like any other

customer, receiving a bill of lading from the

owner or charterer of that ship when the goods

are loaded on board. It commonly consolidates

goods from several different shippers into a sin-

gle container, receiving a bill of lading from the

ocean carrier in relation to the container as a

whole. The NVOCC is not authorized by the

owner or master of the carrying ship to issue bills

of lading that will bind the ship; indeed, the

ocean carrier may have no idea that the party to

whom it issues its bill is in fact an NVOCC that

has issued bills of lading itself. The relationship

between ocean carrier and NVOCC is therefore

not one of agency, but is a contractual one em-

bodied in the ocean carrier’s bill of lading, under

which the NVOCC is the shipper. The NVOCC

does not contract with the owners of the goods as aan

agent for the ship. Quite the reverse, it contracts

with the ocean carrier as agent for the owners of

the goods.

Martin Davies, In Defense of Unpopular Virtues: Personifi-

cation and Ratification, 75 Tul. L. Rev. 337, 395-96 (2000)

(footnote citations omitted) (emphasis added); see also Ins.

Co. of N. Am. v. M/V Ocean Lynx, 901 F.2d 934, 937 n.2

(1lth Cir. 1990) (“[The cargo owner] may treat [the

NVOCC] as a common carrier for purposes of COGSA, but

App. 10

underlying carriers ... treat [the NVOCC] as [the cargo

owner’s] agent.” (emphasis added)); Ins. Co. of N. Am. v.

S/S Am. Argosy, 732 F.2d 299, 301 (2d Cir. 1984) (“With

respect to the vessel and her owner, however, the NVOCC

is an agent of the shipper. ...”); Orion Ins. Co. v. M/V

“Humacao”, 851 F. Supp. 575, 577-78 & 577 n.4 (S.D.N_Y.

1994) (concluding that an NVOCC acts as the agent of the

cargo owner when it agrees to the terms of the bill of

lading issued by the vessel’s owner).

Nothing in the record suggests that the relationship

between Doosan and Glory Express deviated from that

commercial norm. To the contrary, the record shows that

Doosan intended Glory Express to act as its agent for the

purpose of shipping the lathe.* The bills expressly provide

that Doosan and Glory Express agree that Glory Express

will arrange for the carriage of the lathe on board the

Hyundai Liberty. Moreover, by the terms of the bills, Glory

Express had authority to use whatever form of transporta-

tion it thought was necessary to transport the goods: “The

Carrier shall have the right at its sole discretion to use

feederships, ferries, lighters, trucks, trains or planes, in

* By recognizing that Glory Express acted as Doosan’s agent when

it accepted the Hyundai bill of lading, we do not mean to suggest that

the relationship between Glory Express and Doosan was one of agent

and principal for all purposes. It is clear from the Glory Express bills of

lading, for example, that the parties intended that Glory Express would

be independently liable, to some extent, for loss or damage to the lathe

that occurred during shipping. See, e.g., Harold Gill Reuschlein &

William A. Gregory, The Law of Agency and Partnership § 7 (2d ed.

1990) (distinguishing between general agents and special agents; the

latter is authorized to conduct a single transaction or series of transac-

tions not involving continuity of service).

App. 11

addition to the Ocean Vessel or its substitute to accom-

plish said carriage.” Cf. Morrow Crane Co. v. Affiliated FM

Ins. Co., 885 F.2d 612, 613 (9th Cir. 1989) (concluding that

the independent freight forwarder with whom the cargo

owner contracted to arrange for the shipping of a crane

was cargo owner’s agent vis-a-vis the vessel’s operator).

Glory Express thus had both the express duty and the

express authority to ship the lathe on the Hyundai Liberty

and to do, within reason, whatever it needed to do in order

to fulfill that obligation. Accepting the Hyundai bill of

lading was a necessary — and reasonable — step for Glory

Express to fulfill its obligation to Doosan. Therefore,

Doosan and Plaintiff are bound by Glory Express’ accep-

tance of the Hyundai bill of lading. Lux Art Van Serv., Inc.

v. Pollard, 344 F.2d 883, 887 (9th Cir. 1965) (“‘A principal

is bound by the acts of his agent within the authority he

has actually given him, which includes not only the precise

act which he expressly authorized him to do, but also

whatever usually belong to the doing of it or is necessary

to its performance.’” (quoting Law v. Stokes, 90 Am. Dec.

655, 656-57 (N.J. 1867))).

In short, because an NVOCC is considered, in general,

to act as an agent for the cargo’s owner when it contracts

for carriage on a vessel, and because in this case Glory

Express, consistent with that commercial norm, was

acting as Doosan’s agent when it accepted the Hyundai bill

of lading, Plaintiff is bound by that bill. Consequently, the

district court abused its discretion when it failed to enforce

the forum-selection clause at the outset of the litigation on

the ground that Doosan had not accepted the Hyundai bill

App. 12

of lading. Nonetheless, we affirm. The district court

properly dismissed Plaintiff’s in rem action against the

Hyundai Liberty (albeit for the wrong reason).°

B. Whether the liability limitations contained in the

Glory Express bills of lading meet the COGSA “fair

opportunity requirement.”

In some instances, 46 U.S.C. app. § 1304(5) limits a

carrier's potentjal liability for loss or damage related to

the carriage of goods. It provides in pertinent part:

Neither the carrier nor the ship shall in any

event be or become liable for any loss or damage

to or in connection with the transportation of

goods in an amount exceeding $500 per package

lawful money of the United States, or in case of

goods not shipped in packages, per customary

freight unit, or the equivalent of that sum in

other currency, unless the nature and value of

such goods have been declared by the shipper be-

fore shipment and inserted in the bill of lading.

Previously, we have identified the circumstances

under which a carrier is entitled to the benefit of that

limitation of liability:

A carrier may limit its liability under

COGSA only if the shipper is given a “fair oppor-

tunity” to opt for a higher liability by paying a

correspondingly greater charge. The carrier has

* Because the action should have been dismissed at the outset for

want of jurisdiction, we do not reach the question whether the COGSA

limitations of liability apply to Plaintiffs action against the Hyundai

Liberty.

App. 13

the initial burden of producing prima facie evi-

dence showing that it provided notice to the

shipper that it could pay a higher rate and opt

for higher liability. The carrier satisfies this ini-

tial burden by legibly reciting the terms of 46

U.S.C. App. § 1304(5) or language to the same ef-

fect in the bill of lading. The burden then shifts

to the shipper to prove it was denied such an

opportunity.

Vision Air Flight Serv., Inc. v. M/V Nat'l Pride, 155 F.3d

1165, 1168-69 (9th Cir. 1998) (citations and internal

quotation marks omitted).

Plaintiff does not contest the applicability of COGSA

to the Glory Express bills of lading. It argues, instead, that

Glory Express cannot avail itself of the COGSA limitations

on liability because the Glory Express bills do not comply

with the “fair opportunity” requirement.

The Glory Express bills of lading contain the following

provision:

In case of any loss or damage to or in connec-

tion with goods exceeding in actual value the

equivalent of $500 lawful money of the United

States per package, or in case of goods not

shipped in package, per shipping unit, the value

of the goods shall be deemed to be $500 per

package or per shipping unit. The Carrier’s li-

ability, if any, shall be determined on the basis of

a value of $500 per package or per shipping unit

or pro rata in case of partial loss or damage,

unless the nature of the goods and a valuation

higher than $500 per package or shipping unit

shall have been declared in writing by the Ship-

per upon delivery to the Carrier and inserted in

this bill of lading and extra charge paid. In such

App. 14

case, if the actual value of the goods per package

or per shipping unit shall exceed such declared

value shall nevertheless be deemed to be de-

clared value and the Carrier’s liability, if any,

shall not exceed the declared value and any par-

tial loss or damage shall be adjusted pro rata on

the basis of such declared value. The words

“shipping unit” shall mean each physical unit or

piece of cargo not shipped in a package, including

articles or things of any description whatsoever,

except goods shippeci in bulk, and irrespective of

weight or measurement unit employed in calcu-

lating freight charges.

(Emphasis added.)

That provision meets the requirements of COGSA. Its

text tracks that of 46 U.S.C. app. § 1304(5). The above-

quoted passage explicitly limits Glory Express’ liability

and informs the shipper — in this case, Doosan — that it

can opt for higher liability by declaring the value of the

goods and paying an extra charge. See Vision Air, 155 F.3d

at 1169 (approving a similar provision).

Plaintiff argues that the provision’s reference to a

“shipping unit” invalidates the clause, because it does not

echo the statutory phrase “customary freight unit” and

therefore operates to reduce Glory Express’ liability below

the level permitted by COGSA. We rejected an identical

argument in Vision Air, 155 F.3d at 1169-70. There, the

plaintiff argued that the carrier’s attempt to limit liability

to $500 per “container,” as distinct from “package” or

“customary freight unit,” invalidated the liability limita-

tion. We disagreed:

When faced with a carrier’s attempt to re-

duce liability through enterprising definitions of

App. 15

“package,” other courts have simply redefined

“package” or “customary freight unit” according

to the dictates of COGSA. Other courts have not,

as [the plaintiff] urges this court to do, held the

limitation of liability provision void altogether.

Whether or not the bill of lading “misla-

beled” or “misbundled” freight units, it nonethe-

less gave [the plaintiff] notice that [the carrier]’s

liability was limited, and invited [the plaintiff] to

opt for a higher liability by paying a correspond-

ingly greater freight charge. This is all COGSA

requires.

Id. at 1170 (citations omitted).

Under the standard articulated in Vision Air, Glory

Express established a prima facie case of compliance with

the “fair opportunity” requirement. Because Plaintiff

argues only that Glory Express failed to establish its

prima facie case, and does not attempt to show that

Doosan actually was denied the opportunity to declare a

higher vlue, we affirm the district court’s holding that the

Glory Express bills of lading comply with the “fair oppor-

tunity” requirement of COGSA.

CONCLUSION

With respect to the in rem action: The forum-selection

clause in the Hyundai bill of lading is enforceable against

Plaintiff. As a result, the district court lacked jurisdiction

over Plaintiff’s in rem action against the Hyundai Liberty

and properly dismissed that action.

With respect to the in personam action: The Glory

Express bills of lading comply with the COGSA “fair

opportunity” requirement. Therefore, Glory Express is

App. 16

entitled to the limitations on liability provided in 46

U.S.C. app. § 1304(5), and the district court properly

granted summary judgment. -

AFFIRMED.

App. 17

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

KUKJE HWAJAE

INSURANCE CO., LTD.,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

THE M/V HYUNDAI

LIBERTY and GLORY

EXPRESS, INC.,

Defendants.

GLORY EXPRESS, INC.,

Third-Party Plaintiff,

v.

STREAMLINE SHIPPERS

ASSOC. and HYUNDAI

MERCHANT MARINE CoO.,

LTD.,

Third-Party Defendants.

CV 98-9217-ABC (RZx)

ORDER DENYING

CROSS-MOTIONS

FOR SUMMARY

JUDGMENT, DISMISS-

ING CLAIMS AGAINST

THE M/V HYUNDAI

LIBERTY, AND

TERMINATING CASE

Plaintiff Kukje Hwajae Insurance Company and

Defendant the Hyundai Liberty filed cross-motions for

summary judgment on the issue of the Hyundai Lib-

erty’s liability. On review of the materials submitted by

the parties, the Court finds the motions appropriate for

submission without oral argument. Fed. R. Civ. P. 78;

Local Rule 7.11. The noticed hearing date of October 16,

2000 is VACATED.

App. 18

After considering the materials submitted by the

parties and the case file, the Court DENIES the cross-

motions. However, the Court DISMISSES the case based

on the Hyundai Liberty’s forum selection clause.

I. Background

This is the fourth and fifth in a series of summary

judgment motions that this Court has considered in this

case. In the first one, the Court found that Defendant the

Hyundai Liberty’s liability on Plaintiffs claim was limited

to $3,000. In the second motion, the Court found that

Plaintiff was entitled to judgment against Glory Express.

In the third motion, the Court found that Glory Express

was liable in the amount of $3,000.

In these cross-motions, the parties seek to establish

the liability of the Hyundai Liberty. The Hyundai Liberty

asserts that Kukje has no evidence to support its claims.

Kukje counters that the Hyundai Liberty is liable because

(1) the Court has found that Glory Express is liable, and

(2) the Hyundai Liberty’s Bills of Lading establish that the

Hyundai Liberty received the shipment in good condition.

II. Analysis

A. The Liability of the Glory Express.

The Court finds that the Hyundai Liberty cannot be

held liable based on the finding that Glory Express is

liable. The Glory Express is a non-vessel operating com-

mon carrier (“NVOCC”). “NVOCCs operate as middlemen:

they arrange for relatively small shipments to be picked

up from shippers, consolidate the smaller parcels, and ship

them via a carrier or several carriers. They do not,

App. 19

however, own or charter the ships that actually carry the

cargo.” Insurance Co. of North America v. S/S American

Argosy, 732 F.2d 299, 301 (2d Cir. 1984). An NVOCC is a

common carrier with respect to the shipper who uses its

services. Jd. “With respect to the vessel and her owner,

however, the NVOCC is an agent of the shipper, and thus

merely a customer — indeed, only one customer among

hundreds on any given voyage.” Id. Accordingly, a vessel

cannot be held liable under the bill of lading issued by an

NVOCC. Id. at 304.

Here, Glory Express is liable to Kukje under the bills

of lading issued by Glory Express. Thus, the liability of

Glory Express, an NVOCC, cannot be extended to the

Hyundai Liberty, which is the vessel that carried the

shipment.

B. The Hyundai Liberty’s Bills of Lading.

Alternatively, Kukje points to the Hyundai’s Bills of

Lading as proof of its claims. Specifically, Kukje asserts

that the Bills of Lading show that the Hyundai Liberty

received the shipment in good condition. Because the

Hyundai Liberty returned the goods in damaged condi-

tioned [sic], Kukje claims that it has established a prima

facie case of liability.

The Hyundai Liberty asserts that Kukje’s reliance on

the Hyundai’s Bills of Lading entitles it to invoke the

forum selection clause in the Bills of Lading. As support,

the Hyundai Liberty points to this Court’s previous order,

in which the Court stated: “if during the course of this

litigation Kukje ‘accepts’ the Hyundai Bill of Lading by, for

example relying on its terms to establish an element of its

claims, the Court would entertain a renewed motion to

App. 20

enforce the forum selection clause contained therein.”

(5/24/99 Order at 9.) Kukje, however, counters that it is

not relying on the Bills of Lading but merely using the

Bills as evidence.

The Court believes that Kukje’s use of the bills of

Lading constitutes an acceptance of the Hyundai’s Bills of

Lading. Thus, the Court finds that the Hyundai Liberty

can invoke the forum selection clause.

Additionally, the Court notes that in its May 24, 1999

Order, the Court reserved the question of “[wJhether

Kukje neefed] [sic] to accept the contract to maintain its

claims against the M/V Hyundai Liberty.” (Id. at 9:16-18.)

The Court now finds that any claim that Kukje has

against the Hyundai Liberty must be brought pursuant to

the Hyundai’s Bills of Lading. Various other courts have

held the liability of a carrier is determined by its own bill

of lading even where the actual owner and the shipper

deal through the intermediary of a NVOCC. See Insurance

Co. of North America, 732 F.2d at 304; SPM Corp. v. M/V

Ming Moon, 965 F.2d 1297, -1305 n.9 (3d Cir. 1992);

Nippon Fire & Marine Ins. Co., Ltd. v. Skyway Freight

Systems, Inc., 45 F. Supp. 2d 288, 293-94 (S.D.N.Y. 1999).

The rationale for this holding is described in Nippon

Fire & Marine:

As a general matter, a common carrier can as-

sume that one presenting goods for shipment ei-

ther owns them or has authority to ship

them. ... This must be, since nothing in the du-

ties of a common carrier by the remotest implica-

tion can be held to imply the power to sit in

judgment on the title of the prospective shipper

who has tendered the goods for transporta-

tion.... [A] common carrier should be able,

App. 21

absent special circumstances, to assume that the

individual who proffers the goods for shipment

can accept a bill of lading under the terms and

conditions of shipment stated therein. Absent

special circumstances, the risk that the individ-

ual presenting the goods for shipment is unau-

thorized is better borne by the actual owners of

the goods than a common carrier.... Based on

these principles, .. . it would be unreasonable to

hold a carrier liable beyond the terms of its bill of

lading even where it had no dealing with the

shipper.

45 F. Supp. 2d at 293-94 (internal citations and quotations

omitted.) Kukje does not point to any unusual circum-

stances. Thus, Kukje cannot establish liability outside of

the terms of the Hyundai’s Bills of Lading.’

III. Conclusion

Accordingly, the Court DENIES the cross-motions for

summary judgment.

The Court DISMISSES the claims against the Hyun-

dai Liberty. The dismissal is without prejudice to Plain-

tiffs right to bring a claim that complies with the forum

selection clause of the Hyundai’s Bills of Lading.

SO ORDERED.

* At the same time, the Court notes that the Bills of Lading

preclude the Court from granting summary judgment in favor of the

Hyundai Liberty.

App. 22

DATED: Oct. 10, 2000

/s/ Audrey B. Collins

AUDREY B. COLLINS

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 23

APPENDIX C

THIS CONSTITUTES NOTICE OF ENTRY

AS REQUIRED BY FRCP, RULE 77(d).

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

KUKJE HWAJAE ) CASE NO.: CV 98-9217

INSURANCE COMPANY, ) ABC (RZx)

Plaintiff, DEFENDANT M/V

3 HYUNDAI LIBERTY'S

MOTION TO DISMISS

THE M/V HYUNDAI

LIBERTY (in rem), ae

GLORY EXPRESS, INC. ee

(tn personam), MERCHANT MARINE

Defendants. COMPANY, LTD.’S

MOTION TO DISMISS

GLORY EXPRESS, INC.

Third-Party Plaintiff,

v.

STREAMLINE SHIPPERS

ASSOCIATION, HYUNDAI

MERCHANT MARINE

COMPANY, LTD.,

Third-Party

Defendants.

(Filed May 24, 1999)

i i ae a a a a a a a a a a a a a a

Defendant the M/V Hyundai Liberty’s Motion to

Dismiss, and Third-Party Defendant Hyundai Merchant

Marine Company, Ltd.’s Motion to Dismiss, came on

regularly for hearing before this Court on May 24, 1999.

After reviewing the materials submitted by the parties,

App. 24

argument of counsel, and the case file, it is hereby OR-

DERED that (1) the M/V Hyundai Liberty’s Motion is

DENIED, and (2) Hyundai Merchant Marine Company,

Ltd.’s Motion is GRANTED.

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

This action arises from the ocean carriage of cargo

from Busan, Korea to Long Beach, California aboard the

defendant vessel, the M/V Hyundai Liberty. The cargo was

ultimately delivered in a “severely damaged condition.”

Compl. q 8.

The cargo at issued [sic] was originally consigned to

Doosan Corporation, Doosan America Corporation, and

Doosan Machinary [sic] USA Inc. (collectively “Doosan”).

Compl. 9 2. Plaintiff Kukje Hwaje [sic] Insurance Co.

(“Kukje”) is Doosan’s subrogated insurer. Kukje alleges

that it reimbursed Doosan for damage to the cargo, and

that therefore Kukje has been subrogated to Doosan’s

right to recover from third-parties.

Doosan contracted with Defendant and Third-Party

Plaintiff Glory Express, Inc. (“Glory Express”) to transport

the cargo from Korea to California. Although it is not clear

from either the pleadings or the motion papers, it appears

that Glory Express subsequently contracted with Third-

Party Defendant Streamline Shippers Association, Inc.

(“Streamline”), a California based non-vessel-operating

common carrier, which-in turn contracted with Third-

Party Defendant Hyundai Merchant Marine Co., Ltd.

(“Hyundai”), the owners and operators of in rem Defen-

dant the M/V Hyundai Liberty. The cargo was eventually

shiped [sic] pursuant to a Hyundai bill of lading that lists

Streamline as the “shipper,” “consignee,” and “notify

iia iil

PARAS IDET NIE Dy end

te tee ena

App. 25

party.” (the “Hyundai Bill of Lading”). See Mot., Exh. A.

The Hyundai Bill of Lading does not, however, expressly

name either Doosan, Kukje, or Glory Express as a named

party. The bill of lading contains a forum selection clause,

pursuant to which “all actions concerning custody or

carriage under the Bill of Lading whether based on breach

of contract, tort or otherwise shall be brought in [Korea].”

II. PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On November 16, 1998, Kukje filed a complaint, in

admiralty, asserting causes of action for (1) damage to

cargo; (2) breach of contract; (3) negligence; (4) breach of

duty to care for property in bailment; and (5) unseawor-

thiness. The action was brought in rem against Defendant

the M/V Hyundai Liberty, and in personam against Glory

Express. On February 26, 1999, Glory Express filed a

Third Party Complaint for Indemnification against

Streamline and Hyundai.

On April 30, 1999, the M/V Hyundai Liberty filed a

Motion to Dismiss for improper venue; i.e., seeking to

enforce the forum selection clause. Kukje filed its opposi-

tion on May 10, 1999. On May 17, 1999, the M/V Hyundai

Liberty filed its Reply. Co-defendant Glory Express has

neither joined, nor opposed, the M/V Hyundai Liberty’s

motion.

In addition, on April 30, 1999, Hyundai brought a

Motion to Dismiss the Glory Express Third Party Com-

plaint for Indemnification, also seeking to enforce the

forum selection clause in the Hyundai Bill of Lading.

Glory Express has not opposed this motion.

App. 26

II. [sic] DISCUSSION

A. Kukje’s Argument That “A Motion to Dismiss

for Improper Venue Will Not Lie in Admiralty”

Kukje devotes nearly eight pages of its opposition to

the argument that (1) in the absence of a binding, contrac-

tual forum selection clause, venue would be proper in the

Central District of California, and (2) the instant motion

should be strictly construed as a motion to enforce a

contractual forum selection clause, rather than a motion to

transfer venue “[fJor the convenience of parties and

witnesses” and “in the interest of justice,” as provided by

28 U.S.C. § 1404(a). Neither the Court, nor the M/V

Hyundai Liberty, appear to have any quarrel with these

contentions. See Df.’s Reply at 2:10-21.

B. Kukje’s Evidentiary Objection to the Admissi-

bility of the Hyundai Bill of Lading

As a threshold matter, the Court sustains Kukje’s

objection to the lack of authentication of the Hyundai Bill

of Lading. Federal Rule of Evidence 901 (“Requirement of

Authentication or Identification”) provides as follows:

(a) General provision. — The requirement of au-

thentication . . . is satisfied by evidence sufficient

to support a finding that the matter in question

is what its proponent claims.

“When a witness was present at the signing of a document,

for example, or when the witness actually signed the

document, he or she can testify to the authenticity of a

writing purporting to be that which he or she witnessed or

signed.” 5 Weinstein’s Federal Evidence § 901.03[1] (2d ed.

1999) (citing United States v. Knigge, 832 F.2d 1100, 1108

(9th Cir. 1987)).

App. 27

Here, the M/V Hyundai Liberty offers the declaration

of Masoud Barzin, Hyundai’s General Counsel, who

purports to have “personal knowledge” of the following

fact:

Attached hereto as Exhibit A is a true and cor- —

rect copy of Hyundai Bill of Lading No. HDMU

BUCA222928 dated November 28, 1997. The

original will be available to the Court on the day

this Motion is heard.

Masoud Decl. {{ 1-2. Although Barzin may testify that

Exhibit A is a copy of a document in his possession, which

he refers to as the “original,” he has no personal knowl-

edge that the “original” in his possession is the same

document signed in Korea. Barzin does not state that he is

a signatory to the original or that he was present when the

original was signed. Nor does he even attempt to describe

the chain of custody that resulted in his possession of the

original. In sustaining Kukje’s objection, the Court is not

implying that the only way to authenticate the bill of

lading is through the declaration of one who was present

when the bill was signed. In the absence of evidence

raising an issue as to authenticity, a lesser showing could

potentially “suffic[e] to support a finding” that the “origi-

nal” is the same document signed and issued in Korea.

However, the conclusory declaration of a party’s current

in-house counsel is insufficient to satsify [sic] the M/V

Hyundai Liberty’s burden of authentication.

App. 28

C. Although Doosan Is a “Merchant” for Purposes

of the Bill of Lading, Neither Doosan Nor

Kukje Have “Accepted” the Bill of Lading, and

Therefore It Does Not Bind Kukje

1. Doosan Is a “Merchant” For Purposes of the

Hyundai Bill of Lading

Even assuming the Hyundai Bill of Lading had been

properly authenticated, the M/V Hyundai Liberty has not

established that Kukje is bound by its provisions, includ-

ing the forum selection clause. Notably, the terms and

definitions of the Hyundai Bill of Lading are virtually

identical to those in the bill of lading at issue in All Pacific

Trading Co. v. M/V Hanjin Yosu, 7 F.3d 1427 (9th Cir.

1993). Both the Hyundai Bill of Lading and the one at

issue in All Pacific define “Merchant” to include, inter alia,

the “owner ... of the Goods”; i.e., Doosan. Moreover, the

Ninth Circuit’s description of the bill of lading at issue in

All Pacific is equally applicable here:

The ... bills of lading do not name any individ-

ual parties as the Merchant. The bills of lading

include blanks for the names of the shipper, the

exporter, the consignee, the “notify parties,” the

forwarding agent references, and the vessel, but

no blank for either the Merchant or for the owner

of the goods. Thus, the only definition of Mer-

chant included on the bills of lading is the con-

tract definition quoted above. The failure to

specifically identify a particular party as Mer-

chant is particularly noteworthy given the fact

that the bill of lading goes on to use the term

Merchant approximately seventy-seven times.

Id. at 1432. The Ninth Circuit emphasized that “because

the bills of lading [did] not name any particular parties as

Merchants,” the “contract definition of Merchant on the

ches

emt eS CLT ear tan

App. 29

reverse of the bills of lading” was controlling, and that

therefore “the owners of the goods [were] parties to the

bills of lading as Merchants.” Jd.

This reasoning applies equally well to the instant

action. Because the Hyundai Bill of Lading fails to identify

a particular party as “Merchant,” the contract definition of

“Merchant,” which includes the “owner ... of the Goods,”

controls. Therefore, Doosan is a named party to the Hyun-

dai Bill of Lading.

The Court acknowledges that the instant action

differs from All Pacific in one material respect. In All

Pacific, the plaintiff-owner argued that it was a named

party to the bill of lading issued by the defendant-carrier.

Here, in contrast, Kukje is arguing that Doosan is not a

named party to the Hyundai Bill of Lading because Kukje

wants to avoid the forum selection clause. The distinction

is relevant because, as noted in Aili Pacific, “[blills of

lading are contracts of adhesion, usually drafted by the

carrier, and are therefore ‘strictly construed against th

carrier.’” Id. at 1431 (quotation omitted). Therefore, “[aJny

ambiguity in the bill of lading must be construed in favor

of the shipper and against the carrier.” Jd. (quotation

omitted). In All Pacific, the Ninth Circuit’s conclusion that

the vlaintiff-owner was a “Merchant” was a construction

favorable to the shipper. In contrast, the same construc-

tion applied herein would inure to the benefit of the

carrier, Hyundai, which presumably drafted the bill of

lading at issue. However, the rule that contracts of adhe-

sion must be construed against the drafter only applies if,

in fact, there is an ambiguity in the contract language. See

id. The All Pacific opinion emphasized, however, that the

“plain language of the . . . bills of lading establish that the

[ ] cargo owners were Merchants.” Jd. at 1432-33. Although

App. 30 -

the Ninth Circuit went on to comment that “[e]ven were

we to view the definition of Merchant as an ambiguous

term, we would construe this ambiguity against the

carrier,” this statement is dictum in light of the court’s

initial conclusion that the definition of Merchant was not

ambiguous, but rather flowed from the “plain language” of

the bill of lading. Because the definition of “Merchant” is

not ambiguous, the rule of construction governing con-

tracts of adhesion does not mandate a departure from the

holding in All Pacific.

2. Although Doosan Is a “Merchant,” and

Therefore a Named Party to the Hyundai Bill

of Lading, Neither Doosan nor Kukje Has

“Accepted” the Contract

As discussed in All Pacific, the fact that Doosan is a

“Merchant” for purposes of the Hyundai Bill of Lading

does not bind Doosan to the contract unless either Doosan

or Kukje has taken “action demonstrating acceptance of

the bill{) of lading.” Id. at 1432; see Mitsui O.S.K. Lines,

Ltd. v. Dynasea Corp., __. Cal. App. 4th __, 1999 WL

312401, at *5 (April 19, 1999) (definition of “Merchant” in

bill of lading cannot bind non-signatory unless that party

“accepts” the obligation). In All Pacific, the Ninth Circuit

held that the plaintiffs therein “accepted” the bill of lading

by filing suit for a direct breach of its terms. As noted

above, the posture of the instant action is reversed. Here,

Kukje contends it is not bringing suit “under the Hyundai

(Bill of [Ljading.” Opp. at 17:15-19. As support for this

contention, Kukje argues that

[t]he complaint does not mention the Hyundai

bill of lading, nor does it mention Hyundai, far

less join Hyundai as a defendant... . [Kukje] has

App. 31

not filed suit on the Hyundai bill of lading, and

Hyundai’s bill can not be enforced against

[Kukje].

Opp. at 17:19-28. As noted above, Kukje’s Complaint

alleges the following causes of action against the M/V

Hyundai Liberty (in rem) and Glory Express (in per-

sonam): (1) damage to cargo; (2) breach of contract; (3)

negligence; (4) breach of duty to care for property in

bailment; and (5) unseaworthiness. The allegations of the

first cause of action, which are incorporated by reference

into the remaining causes of action, state that

on or about November 25, 1997, at Busan, South

Korea, defendants, and each of them, entered into

contracts of affreightment, which are evidenced

by a number of bills of lading, including, but not

necessarily limited to, bills of lading numbers

NAMS97-11117; NAMS97-11118; and NAMS97-

11119; and thereafter received cargo consisting of

Doosan [merchandise] ... for carriage on board

the M/V HYUNDAI LIBERTY, Voyage 015E, from

Busan, South Korea, to Los Angeles, California.

[Kukje] alleges that defendants, and each of

them, failed and neglected to discharge and de-

liver the Cargo pursuant to the applicable bills of

lading, contracts of affreightment, and/or freight

Mice”

Compl. 7 6, 8. In its opposition, Kukje does not describe

the nature of the “NAMS” bills of lading referenced in the

Complaint. Presumably, these are either the bills Stream-

line issued to Glory Express, or the bills Glory Express

issued to Doosan. In any event, Kukje contends that the

reference to the “NAMS” bills is not a reference to the

App. 32

Hyundai Bill of Lading, and that Kukje is not suing under

that bill. As “master of its own complaint” a plaintiff is

entitled to decide under which contracts it brings suit.

Because Kukje’s Complaint does not on its face purport to

bring suit under the Hyundai Bill of Lading, and Kukje

argues herein that it “has not filed suit on the Hyundai

bill of lading,” the Court will defer to Kukje on this issue.

See Opp. at 17:26-28.

However, it is not obvious to the Court that Kukje can

state a viable cause of action against the M/V Hyundai

Liberty without affirming and accepting the terms of the

Hyundai Bill of Lading. In All Pacific, for example, it

appeared that the plaintiff-shipper needed to accept the

bill of lading at issue in order to state a breach of contract

action against the defendant-carrier. See id. at 1431-32. As

a general proposition, the Court is skeptical that Kukje

can “avoid” the forum selection clause by attempting to

transform a conventional breach of contract action into a

non-contractual action in tort, or by contending that the

M/V Hyundai Liberty breached a contract other than the

Hyundai Bill of Lading. Whether Kukje needs to accept the

contract to maintain its claims against the M/V Hyundai

Liberty is, of course, not an issue before the Court today.

However, if during the course of this litigation Kukje

“accepts” the Hyundai Bill of Lading by, for example,

relying on its terms to establish an element of its claims,

the Court would entertain a renewed motion to enforce the

forum selection clause contained therein.’

* In its Reply brief, the M/V Hyundai Liberty quotes Carmen [sic]

Tool & Abrassives, [sic] Inc. v. Evergreen Lines, 871 F.2d 897, 901 (9th

Cir. 1989) for the proposition that “[pJarties who do not deal with the

(Continued on following page)

3 OP NG A LER Sr ti RA, IS "

App. 33

D. Hyundai’s Motion to Dismiss Third-Party

Complaint

The Court has received no opposition to Hyundai's

motion to be dismissed from the Glory Express Third-

Party Complaint. Accordingly, it is hereby ORDERED that

Hyundai’s Motion to Dismiss is GRANTED.

SO ORDERED.

DATED: May 24, 1999

AUDREY COLLINS

AUDREY B. COLLINS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

carrier directly have a responsibility to obtain a copy of the bill of

lading if they have an interest in knowing its terms. We decline to place

on the carrier the burden of tracking down these remote parties. .. .” As

in All Pacific, the plaintiff-shipper in Carmen [sic] Tools “accepted” the

bill of lading at issue by suing directly for breach of the bill. See id. at

899. Accordingly, Carmen [sic] Tools is consistent with the Court’s

holding herein.

App. 34

APPENDIX D

THIS CONSTITUTES NOTICE OF ENTRY

AS REQUIRED BY FRCP, RULE 77(d).

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

KUKJE HWAJAE ) CASE NO.:

INSURANCE COMPANY, ) CV 98-9217 ABC (RZx)

LTD., ) AMENDED ORDER RE:

Plaintiff, ) "DEFENDANT M/V

3 ) HYUNDAI LIBERTY'S

MOTION TO

THE M/V HYUNDAI RECONSIDER

LIBERTY (in rem), GLORY

44 [Reissued on August 3,

meni e's INC. (in 1999, to correct typo-

ee graphical errors only]

Defendants.

(Filed Aug. 3, 1999)

GLORY EXPRESS, INC.,

Third-Party Plaintiff,

Vv.

STREAMLINE SHIPPERS

ASSOCIATION, HYUNDAI

MERCHANT MARINE

COMPANY, LTD.,

Third-Party Defendants.

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

After reviewing the materials submitted by the

parties and the case file, it is hereby ORDERED that

Defendant the M/V Hyundai Liberty’s Motion to Recon-

sider, and application for certificate of appealability, are

DENIED. :

App. 35

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

This action arises from the ocean carriage of cargo

from Busan, Korea to Long Beach, California aboard the

defendant vessel, the M/V Hyundai Liberty (“Defendant”).

The cargo was ultimately delivered in a “severely damaged

condition.” Compl. q 8.

The cargo at issue was originally consigned to Doosan

Corporation, Doosan America Corporation, and Doosan

Machinery USA Inc. (collectively “Doosan”). Compl. { 2.

Plaintiff Kukje Hwaje [sic] Insurance Co. (“Kukje”) is

Doosan’s subrogated insurer. Kukje alleges that it reim-

bursed Doosan for damage to the cargo, and that therefore

Kukje ha: been subrogated to Doosan’s right to recover

from third parties.

Doosan contracted with Defendant and Third-Party

Plaintiff Glory Express, Inc. (“Glory Express”) to transport

the cargo from Korea to California. Although it is not clear

from either the pleadings or the motion papers, it appears

that Glory Express subsequently contracted with Third-

Party Defendant Streamline Shippers Association Inc.

(“Streamline”), a California based non-vessel-operating

common carrier, which in turn contracted with Third-

Party Defendant Hyundai Merchant Marine Co., Ltd.

(“Hyundai”), the owners and operators of in rem Defen-

dant the M/V Hyundai Liberty. The cargo was eventually

shipped pursuant to a Hyundai bill of lading that lists

Streamline as the “shipper,” “consignee,” and “notify

party.” (the “Hyundai Bill of Lading”). See Mot., Exh. A.

The Hyundai Bill of Lading does not, however, specifically

name either Doosan, Kukje, or Glory Express as a named

party. The bill of lading contains a forum selection clause,

pursuant to which “all actions concerning custody or

App. 36

carriage under the Bill of Lading whether based on breach

of contract, tort or otherwise shall be brought in [Korea].”

II. PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On November 16, 1998, Kukje filed a complaint, in

admiralty, asserting causes of action for (1) damage to

cargo; (2) breach of contract; (3) negligence; (4) breach of

duty to care for property in bailment; and (5) unseawor-

thiness. The action was brought in rem against Defendant

the M/V Hyundai Liberty, and in personam against Glory

Express. On February 26, 1999, Glory Express filed a

Third Party Complaint for Indemnification against

Streamline and Hyundai.

On April 30, 1999, the M/V Hyundai Liberty filed a

Motion to Dismiss for improper venue; i.e., seeking to

enforce the forum selection clause.’ By Order signed May

24, 1999, the Court denied this motion. Specifically, the

Court: (1) sustained Kukje’s evidentiary objection to the

admissibility of the Hyundai Bill of Lading on the grounds

that the declaration of Hyundai’s general counsel was

insufficient to authenticate the document as a true and

correct copy of the original; (2) concluded that Doosan (and

by subrogation, Kukje), fell within the definition of the

term “Merchawt,” as used in the Bill of Lading; and (3)

concluded that neither Doosan nor Kukje were bound by

the forum selection clause in the Hyundai Bill of Lading

because neither had taken “action demonstrating accep-

tance” of the bill. As to the absence of “acceptance,” the

* Co-defendant Glory Express neither joined, nor opposed, the M/V

Hyundai Liberty's motion.

App. 37

Court noted that a party can accept a contract by suing to

enforce its provisions, but that Kukje’s complaint did not

refer to the Hyundai Bill of Lading, and that Kukje ex-

pressly denies that it is suing to enforce it. Although the

Court expressed skepticism that Kukje could prevail on its

lawsuit without accepting the Hyundai Bill of Lading, the

Court nevertheless concluded that Kukje had not, as yet,

“accepted” the bill.

On May 28, 1999, the M/V Hyundai Liberty filed the

instant Motion for Reconsideration of the Court’s May 24,

1999 Order. Kukje filed an opposition on June 7, 1999. On

June 14, 1999, the M/V Hyundai Liberty filed its reply.

Il. [sic] DISCUSSION

A. Standard

Motions for Reconsideration are governed by Rule

7.16 of the Local Civil Rules of the Central District of

California. Local Rule 7.16 provides:

A motion for reconsideration of the decision on

any motion may be made only on the grounds of

(a) a material difference in fact or law from that

presented to the Court before such decision that

in the exercise of reasonable diligence could not

have been known to the party moving for recon-

sideration at the time of such decision, or (b) the

emergence of new material facts or a change of

law occurring after the time of such decision, or

(c) a manifest showing of a failure to consider

material facts presented to the Court before such

decision. No motion for reconsideration shall in

any matter repeat any oral or written argument

App. 38

made in support of or in opposition to the origi-

nal motion.

Local Rule 7.16.

B. Analysis

Defendant’s motion for reconsideration fails on three

grounds. First, Defendants motion fails to address the

evidentiary issue — authentication — which was an inde-

pendent grounds [sic] for the denial of the motion to

dismiss. The failure to address this issue alone constitutes

grounds to deny the motion to reconsider.’

Second, Defendant’s motion is based on the identical

legal precedent raised and argued in the prior motion to

dismiss. In violation of the local rules, Defendant’s motion

simply “repeat[s] ... argument made in support of... the

original motion.”

Even assuming, arguendo, that Defendant’s argu-

ments regarding “acceptance” had not been previously

raised, the Court remains unpersuaded that its prior

ruling was erroneous. Defendant erroneously concludes

that the “only case relied upon by the court for its holding

* However, the Court acknowledges that this evidentiary deficiency

can be readily cured in the future, and that therefore Defendant has a

meaningful interest in the Court’s substantive ruling regarding

“acceptance.” Therefore, the Court will address this aspect of the

motion to reconsider.

* The Court finds that Defendant’s motion is in clear violation of

Local Rule 7.16. Although Kukje has not requested sanctions, the Court

warns Defendant that any future violation of the Local Rules may

result in court-imposed sanctions.

App. 39

that [Doosan] never ‘accepted’ the terms of the Hyundai

Bill of Lading is a state court case,” Mitsui O.S.K. Lines,

Ltd. v. DYNASEA Corp., __ Cal. App. 4th __, 1999 WL

312401 (Apr. 19, 1999), a copy of which Kukje’s counsel

delivered to chambers on May 21, 1999, the Friday before

oral argument.‘ Defendant suggests that by citing to

Mitsui, the Court erroneously applied state law rather

than federal maritime law. However, Defendant’s argu-

ment ignores the language in All Pacific Trading Co. v.

Vessel M/V Hanjin Yosu, 7 F.3d 1427, 1433 (9th Cir.

1993), which the Court discussed at length in its prior

order. All Pacific, a federal decision applying federal

maritime law, expressly held that “like all contracts,....

bills of lading require some form of acceptance.” Id. at

1432. The Ninth Circuit went on to hold that, by bringing

suit to enforce the bill’s provisions, the plaintiffs had

“accepted” it for purposes of creating a binding contract.

Id. (“as a basic rule of contract interpretation, a party may

accept a contract by filing suit on the contract”) (citing 17A

Am.Jur.2d Contracts § 456). Thus, Defendant is simply

incorrect in concluding that the Court relied “solely” on

state law.

Similarly unpersuasive is Defendant’s citation to

Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. v. M/V DSR Atlantic, 131 F.3d

1336 (9th Cir. 1998), a case Defendant describes as “seem-

ingly identical” to the facts of the instant action. Df.’s Mot.

at 5:1-2. In contrast to the case at bar, the forum selection

* Notably, the Court had drafted its tentative order prior to May

21, 1999, the date the Mitsui opinion was delivered to chambers. Upon

reviewing Mitsui, and concluding that it supported the Court’s tenta-

tive, the Court added a citation to the case.

App. 40

clause at issue in Fireman’s Fund was enforced against

the plaintiff, a non-signatory to the bill of lading, who

brought “suit on [the] bill of lading.” See Fireman’s Fund,

1995 WL 871840, at *1 n.1 (N.D.Cal. Dec. 1, 1995), rev’d

on other grounds, 131 F.3d 1336 (9th Cir. 1995 [1998]). In

contrast, Kukje contends it is not bringing suit on the bill

of lading. Rather than being “identical” to the instant

action, Fireman’s Fund is distinguishable for the very

reason discussed in the Court’s prior order.

C. Defendant’s Request for Clarification

Defendant seeks clarification of what it perceives as

an “apparent inconsisten[cy]” in the Court’s prior Order, in

which the Court concluded that “Doosan is a named party

to the Hyundai Bill of Lading,” but that Doosan (and by

subrogation, Kukje) was not bound by the bill of lading

because Doosan had never accepted it. As Kukje recog-

nizes in its opposition brief, the Court’s prior holding with

regard to this issue was for the purpose of clarifying that

Doosan was a “party named in the Hyundai Bill of Lading”

in the sense that Doosan fell within the definition of

“Merchant,” as that term was defined in the Bill. By

referring to Doosan as a “party,” however, the Court did

not intend to infer that Doosan was contractually bound to

the provisions of the bill of lading. Although Hyundai

could conceivably define the term “Merchant” to include

entire classes of business entities, those entities are not

bound by the bill of lading until they somehow manifest

“acceptance” of the bill, whether by bringing suit or other-

wise. Thus, the Court is unpersuaded that its prior Order

is inconsistent.

App. 41

D. Defendant’s Request for Certification of

Appealability Pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1292(b)

In light of the foregoing discussion, the Court is not

persuaded that Defendant has raised an issue of law “as to

which there is substantial ground for difference of opin-

ion.” See 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b). Defendant’s application for a

certificate of appealability is DENIED.

IV. CONCLUSION

For the reasons articulated above, Defendant the M/V

Hyundai Liberty’s Motion to Reconsider, and application

for certificate of appealability, are DENIED.

SO ORDERED.

DATED: Aug. 3, 1999

AUDREY COLLINS

AUDREY B. COLLINS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 42

APPENDIX E

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

KUKJE HWAJAE INSURANCE

CO., LTD., a corporation,

Plaintiff-Appellant/

Cross-Appellee,

V.

The “M/V HYUNDAI LIBERTY,” her

Engines, Boilers, Tackle, etc., in rem,

Defendant-Appellee/

Cross-Appellant,

and

GLORY EXPRESS, INC.., a busi-

ness entity, in personam,

Defendant-Appellee.

G ORY EXPRESS, INC., a Cali-

fornia Corporation,

Third-party plaintiff-

Appellee,

v. —

STREAMLINE SHIPPERS ASSO-

CIATION, a California Corporation,

Third-party defendant,

and

HYUNDAI MERCHANT MARINE

CO., LTD., a business entity,

DOES 1-10, inclusive,

Third-party defendants-

Appellees.

Nos. 00-56970

00-57049

D.C. No.

CV-98-09217-ABC

ORDER

(Filed Jul. 22, 2002)

App. 43

Before: GRABER, Circuit Judge.

Appellees are directed to file a response to Appellant’s

petition for rehearing filed July 10, 2002. The response

shall not exceed 15 pages and shall be filed within 21 days

of the filing date of this order.

App. 44

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

KUKJE HWAJAE INSURANCE | Nos. 00-56970

CO., LTD., a corporation, 00-57049

Plaintiff-Appellant/ D.C. No.

Cross-Appellee, CV-98-09217-ABC

v. ORDER

The “M/V HYUNDAI LIBERTY,” her

Engines, Boilers, Tackle, etc., in rem,

Defendant-Appellee/

Cross-Appellant,

and

GLORY EXPRESS, INC., a busi-

ness entity, in personam,

Defendant-Appellee.

GLORY EXPRESS, INC., a Cali-

fornia Corporation,

Third-party plaintiff-

Appellee,

v.

STREAMLINE SHIPPERS ASSO-

CIATION, a California Corporation,

Third-party defendant,

and

HYUNDAI MERCHANT MARINE

CO., LTD., a business entity,

DOES 1-10, inclusive,

Third-party defendants-

Appellees.

(Filed Aug. 28, 2002)

App. 45

Before: BEEZER, TASHIMA, and GRABER, Circuit

Judges.

The petition for rehearing is DENIED.

App. 46

APPENDIX G

Shipping Act of 1984 § 3,

46 U.S.C. app. § 1702

§ 1702. Definitions

As used in this chapter —

(6) “common carrier” means a person holding itself

out to the general public to provide transportation by

water of passengers or cargo between the United States

and a foreign country for compensation that —

(A) assumes responsibility for the transportation

from the port or point of receipt to the port or point of

destination, and

(B) utilizes, for all or part of that transportation, a

vessel operating on the high seas or the Great Lakes

between a port in the United States and a port in a foreign

country. ...

(16) “ocean common carrier” means a_ vessel-

operating common carrier.

(17) “ocean transportation intermediary” means an

ocean freight forwarder or a non-vessel-operating common

carrier. For purposes of this paragraph, the term —

(A) “ocean freight forwarder” means a person that —

(i) in the United States, dispatches shipments from

the United States via a common carrier and books or

otherwise arranges space for those shipments on behalf of

shippers; and |

App. 47

(ii) pocesses the documentation or performs related

activities incident to those shipments; and

(B) “non-vessel-operating common carrier” means a

common carrier that does not operate the vessels by which

the ocean transportation is provided, and is a shipper in

its relationship ygjth an ocean common carrier.

(21) “shipper” means —

(A) a cargo owner;

(B) the person for whose account the ocean

transportation is provided;

(C) the person to whom delivery is to be made;

(D) a shippers’ association; or

(E) an ocean transportation intermediary, as defined

in paragraph (i7XB) of this section, that accepts

responsibility for payment of all charges applicable under

the tariff or service contract.

(22) “shippers’ association” means a group of shippers

that consolidates or distributes freight on a nonprofit basis

for the members of the group in order to secure carload,

truckload, or other volume rates or service contracts.

App. 48

APPENDIX H

Shipping Act of 1984 § 8, 46 U.S.C. app. § 1707

§ 1707. Tariffs

(a) In general

(1) Except with regard to bulk cargo, forest products,

recycled metal scrap, new assembled motor vehicles, waste

paper, and paper waste, each common carrier and confer-

ence shall keep open to public inspection in an automated

tariff system, tariffs showing all its rates, charges, classifi-

cations, rules, and practices between all points or ports on

its own route and on any through transportation route that

has been established. However, common carriers shall not

be required to state separately or otherwise reveal in tariffs

the inland divisions of a through rate. Tariffs shall —

(A) state the places between which cargo will be

carried;

(B) list each classification of cargo in use;

(C) state the level of ocean transportation intermedi-

ary, as defined in section 1702(17\A) of this Appendix,

compensation, if any, by a carrier or conference;

(D) state separately each terminal or other charge,

privilege, or facility under the control of the carrier or

conference and any rules or regulations that in any way

change, affect, or determine any part or the aggregate of

the rates or charges;

(E) include sample copies of any bill of lading, con-

tract of affreightment, or other document evidencing the

transportation agreement; and

App. 49

(F) include copies of any loyalty contract, omitting

the shipper’s name.

(2) Tariffs shall be made available electronically to

any person, without time, quantity, or other limitation,

through appropriate access from remote locations, and a

reasonable charge may be assessed for such access. No

charge may be assessed a Federal agency for such access.

App. 50

APPENDIX I

Shipping Act of 1984 § 10, 46 U.S.C. app. § 17098

§ 1709. Prohibited acts

(b) Common carriers

No common carrier, either alone or in conjunction with any

other person, directly or indirectly, may —

(11) knowingly and willfully accept cargo from or

transport cargo for the account of an ocean transportation

intermediary that does not have a tariff and a bond,

insurance, or other surety as required by sections 1707

and 1718 of this Appendix;

(12) knowingly and willfully enter into a service

contract with an ocean transportation intermediary that

does not have a tariff and a bond, insurance, or other

surety as required by sections 1707 and 1718 of this

Appendix, or with an affiliate of such ocean transportation

intermediary;

(d) Common carriers, ocean transportation interme-

diaries, and marine terminal operators

(1) No common carrier, ocean transportation inter-

mediary, or marine terminal operator may fail to establish,

observe, and enforce just and reasonable regulations and

practices relating to or connected with receiving, handling,

storing, or delivering property.

App. 51

APPENDIX J

Shipping Act of 1984 § 19, 46 U.S.C. app. § 1718

§ 1718. Ocean transportation intermediaries

(a) License

No person in the United States may act as an ocean

transportation intermediary unless that person holds a

license issued by the Commission. The Commission shall

issue an intermediary's license to any person that the

Commission determines to be qualified by experience and

character to act as an ocean transportation intermediary.

(b) Financial responsibility

(1) No person may act as an ocean transportation

intermediary unless that person furnishes a bond, proof of

insurance, or other surety in a form and amount deter-

mined by the Commission to insure financial responsibil-

ity that is issued by a surety company found acceptable by

the Secretary of the Treasury.

(2) A bond, insurance, or other surety obtained

pursuant to this section —

(A) shall be available to pay any order for reparation

issued pursuant to section 1710 or 1713 of this Appendix,

or any penalty assessed pursuant to section 1712 of this

Appendix;

(B) may be available to pay any claim against an

ocean transportation intermediary arising from its

transportation-related activities described in section

1702(17) of this Appendix with the consent of the insured

ocean transportation intermediary and subject to review

by the surety company, or when the claim is deemed valid

App. 52

by the surety company after the ocean transportation

intermediary has failed to respond to adequate notice to

address the validity of the claim; and

(C) shall be available to pay any judgment for dam-

ages against an ocean transportation intermediary arising

from its transportation-related activities under section

1702(17) of this Appendix, provided the claimant has first

attempted to resolve the claim pursuant to subparagraph

(B) of this paragraph and the claim has not been resolved

within a reasonable period of time.

(3) The Commission shall prescribe regulations for

the purpose of protecting the interests of claimants, ocean

transportation intermediaries, and surety companies with

respect to the process of pursuing claims against ocean

transportation intermediary bonds, insurance, or sureties

through court judgments. The regulations shall provide

that a judgment for monetary damages may not be en-

forced except to the extent that the damages claimed arise

from the transportation-related activities of the insured

ocean transportation intermediary, as defined by the

Commission.

(4) An ocean transportation intermediary not domi-

ciled in the United States shall designate a resident agent

in the United States for receipt of service of judicial and

administrative process, including subpoenas.

a as a

App. 53

(c) Suspension or revocation

The Commission shall, after notice and hearing, suspend

of’ revoke a license if it finds that the ocean transporta-

tion intermediary is not qualified to render intermediary

services or that it willfully failed to comply with a provi-

sion of this chapter or with a lawful order, rule, or regula-

tion of the Commission. The Commission may also revoke

an intermediary's license for failure to maintain a bond,

proof of insurance, or other surety in accordance with

subsection (b)(1) of this section.

(d) Exception

A person whose primary business is the sale of merchan-

dise may forward shipments of the merchandise for its

own account without a license.

(e) Compensation of intermediaries by carriers

(1) A common carrier may compensate an ocean

transportation intermediary, as defined in_ section

1702(17)(A) of this Appendix, in connection with a ship-

ment dispatched on behalf of others only when the ocean

transportation intermediary has certified in writing that it

holds a valid license, if required by subsection (a) of this

section, and has performed the following services:

(A) Engaged, booked, secured, reserved, or contracted

directly with the carrier or its agent for space aboard a

vessel or confirmed the availability of that space.

(B) Prepared and processed the ocean bill of lading,

dock receipt, or other similar document with respect to the

shipment.

* So in original. Probably should be “or”.

App. 54

(2) No common carrier may pay compensation for

services described in paragraph (1) more than once on the

same shipment.

(3) No ocean transportation intermediary may receive

compensation from a common carrier with respect to a

shipment in which the intermediary has a direct or indi-

rect beneficial interest nor shall a common carrier know-

ingly pay compensation on that shipment.

(4) No conference or group of 2 or more ocean com-

mon carriers in the foreign commerce of the United States

that is authorized to agree upon the level of compensation

paid to an ocean transportation intermediary, as defined in

section 1702(17)(A) of this Appendix, may —

(A) deny to any member of the conference or group

the right, upon notice of not more than 5 calendar days, to

take independent action on any level of compensation paid

to an ocean transportation intermediary, as so defined; or

(B) agree to limit the payment of compensation to ar

ocean transportation intermediary, as so defined, to less

than 1.25 percent of the aggregate of all rates and charges

which are applicable under a tariff and which are assessed

against the cargo on which the intermediary services are

provided.

App. 55

APPENDIX K

S. Rep. No. 420, 101st Cong., 2nd Sess. 1990, 1990 WL

201672 (Leg.Hist.)

P.L. 101-595, FEDERAL MARITIME

COMMISSION AUTHORIZATION

SENATE REPORT NO. 101-420

August 2, 1990

[To accompany S. 2759]

The Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transporta-

tion, to which was referred the bill (S. 27 59) to authorize

appropriations for fiscal year 1991 for the Federal Mari-

time Commission, and for other purposes, having consid-

ered the same, reports favorably thereon with an

amendment in the nature of a substitute and recommends

that the bill as amended do pass.

PURPOSE OF THE LEGISLATION

This bill authorizes appropriations for the continuation of

programs administered by the Federal Maritime Commis-

sion (FMC) for fiscal year (FY) 1991; extends the date of

filing the final report of the Advisory Commission on

Conferences in Ocean Shipping; and strengthens the

FMC’s authority to correct unfair trade practices in our

waterborne foreign commerce. The bill also authorizes

issuance of certificates of documentation for the vessels

Cherokee V, Ernestina, and Salisa M.

BACKGROUND AND NEEDS

FMC AUTHORIZATION AND RESPONSIBILITIES

The bill, as reported, authorizes the appropriation for

FY 1991 of $15,894,000 for the FMC. The FMC is an

App. 56 ens

independent regulatory agency that administers: the

Shipping Act, 1916; the Merchant Marine Act, 1920; the

Intercoastal Shipping Act, 1933; the Shipping Act of 1984;

the Foreign Shipping Practices Act of 1988; and related

shipping statutes. The FMC’s major responsibilities

include: the review of tariff filings and service contracts;

“investigation and adjudication of penalties fur discrimina-

tory rates or practices among shippers, carriers, and

terminal operators operating in the U.S. ocean commerce;

licensing of independent ocean freight forwarders; passen-

ger vessel certification; and countering against the actions

of foreign carriers or governments that create unfavorable

conditions in U.S. foreign ocean trades. The FMC does not

regulate international ocean transportation rates, but does

apppove rates for waterborne transportation between

domestic ports and domestic offshore ports such as Hawaii

and Puerto Rico. Since 1975, the FMC has been limited

within its authorization to $1,500 for official reception and

representation expenses. The bill, as reported, increases

this allowable expenditure to $2,000.

THE ADVISORY COMMISSION ON

CONFERENCES IN OCEAN SHIPPING

The Shipping Act of 1984.established the Advisory Com-

mission on Conferences in Ocean Shipping, effective

October 20, 1989. It further required that the final report

of the Advisory Commission be submitted to the President

and Congress within one year after its establishment.

Since the fuil membership of the Advisory Commission has

not been appointed, it is necessary to extend the date for

the submission of the Advisory Commission’s final report.

The bill, as amended, extends the time period within

App. 57

which the Advisory Commission is to issue its report to the

President and Congress on its findings.

FMC AUTHORITY WITH RESPECT

TO UNFAIR TRADE PRACTICES

Section 19 of the Merchant Marine Act, 1920, empowers

the FMC to make rules to meet general or special condi-

tions unfavorable to shipping when those conditions result

either from foreign laws, rules, or regulations or from the

actions of a foreign shipping line or its agent. The FMC is

also authorized to request the head of any department,

board, or agency of the U.S. Government to suspend,

modify, or [sic] annual rules that affect shipping in the

foreign trade.

The FMC uses this authority to investigate unfair mari-

time trade practices. If the FMC finds a_ practice of a

foreign government, foreign operator, or group of foreign

operators harmful to U.S. shipping, it can suspend the

tariffs of the carrier flying the flag of the nation engaged

in the harmful action.

On various occasions these statutory provisions have been

inadequate to eliminate unfair practices. The two principal

problems hindering the FMC in section 19 proceedings are

the absence of (1) specific authority to obtain information

for a complete investigation, and (2) sanctions (other than

tariff suspension) that can be imposed on offending opera-

tors. More efficient and effective enforcement under

section 19 can be accomplished by clarification that the

section applies to bulk as well as liner operators; the

granting of authority for shippers, third-flag carriers,

and others to seek commencement of a section 19 investi-

gation; and clarification that the FMC may examine

App. 58

intermodal movements, terminal operations, and other

shipping-related activities. The bill, as reported, specifi-

cally includes intermodal movements and certain land-

based activities within the scope of section 19 of the

Merchant Marine Act, 1920; specifies those persons or

entities who may seek section 19 relief; empowers the

FMC to use compulsory process in section 19 investiga-

tions; and authorizes a broader range of remedies to

correct unfair foreign practices.

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

The Merchant Marine Subcommittee held a hearing on

June 20, 1990, to consider H.R. 4009, the FMC authoriza-

tion bill approved by the House of Representatives on

April 3, 1990, and referred to the Committee. S. 2759 was

introduced by Senator Breaux on June 27, 1990 and is

cosponsored by Senator Lott. On June 27, 1990, in open

executive session the Committee considered and, without

objection, ordered reported [sic] favorably an amendment

in the nature of a substitute to S. 2759.

SUMMARY OF MAJOR PROVISIONS

The legislation authorizes $15,894,000 for the FMC in FY

1991. It also increases the allowable expenditure for

official reception and representation expenses for the FMC

to $2000. In addition, the legislation extends the time

period within which the Advisory Commission on Confer-

ences in Ocean Shipping is to issue its report to the Presi-

dent and Congress on its findings to one year from the

date that all of the members of the Advisory Commission

have been appointed.

App. 59

With respect to unfair trade practices, the legislation

amends section 19 of the Merchant Marine Act, 1920 (46

App. U.S.C. 876), to strengthen the FMC’s authority to

address and correct unfair conditions and practices unfa-

vorable to shipping in our foreign commerce. The bill

clarifies who may petition the FMC for relief against

unfair trade practices and codifies existing FMC regula-

tions providing that any person, including a common

carrier, tramp operator, bulk operator, shipper, shippers’

association, ocean freight forwarder, marine terminal

operator, or any component of the government of the

United States, may file a petition for relief.

The bill also strengthens the FMC’s authority in a rule-

making investigation to obtain needed information by

compulsory process, including written reports, subpoena,

or other judicial procedures. The bill provides additional

remedies for the FMC to use if it finds evidence of unfa-

vorable shipping conditions._ The legislation also clarifies

that the FMC’s current rulemaking and investigating

powers include intermodal movements, terminal opera-

tions, cargo solicitation, forwarding and agency services,

non-vessel_ operating common carrier operations, and all

other activities integral to total transportation systems.

Finally, the legislation grants a legislative waiver to

permit the Coast Guard to issue appropriate coastwise

trading and U.S. fisheries documents for the vessels

Cherokee V, Ernestina, and Salisa M. Waivers for these

vessels were passed by the House as part of H.R. 4009. ...

App. 60

APPENDIX L

67 Fed. Reg. 66318

RULES and REGULATIONS

DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY

Customs Service

19 CFR Parts 4, 113 and 178

[T.D. 02-62]

RIN 1515-AD11

Presentation of Vessel Cargo Declaration to Customs

Before Cargo Is Laden Aboard Vessel at Foreign Port

for Transport to the United States

Thursday, October 31, 2002

AGENCY: Customs Service, Department of the Treasury.

ACTION: Final rule.

SUMMARY: This document amends the Customs Regula-

tions to require the advance and accurate presentation of

certain manifest information prior to lading at the foreign

port and to encourage the presentation of this information

electronically. The document also allows a non-vessel

operating common carrier (NVOCC) having an Interna-

tional Carrier Bond to electronically present cargo mani-

fest information to Customs. This information is required

in advance and is urgently needed in order to enable

Customs to evaluate the risk of smuggling weapons of

mass destruction through the use of oceangoing cargo

containers before goods are loaded on vessels for importa-

tion into the United States, while, at the same time,

enabling Customs to facilitate the prompt release of

legitimate cargo following its arrival in the United States.

Failure to provide the required information in the time

App. 61

period prescribed may result in the delay of a permit to

unlade and/or the assessment of civil monetary penalties

or claims for liquidated damages.

EFFECTIVE DATE: December 2, 2002.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:

Background

The Customs laws impose certain requirements upon

vessels that will arrive in the United States to discharge

their cargo. In particular, vessels destined for the United

States must comply with 19 U.S.C. 1431, which requires

that every vessel bound for the United States and required

to make entry under 19 U.S.C. 1434 have a manifest that

meets the requirements that are prescribed by regulation.

To this end, under 19 U.S.C. 1431(d), Customs may by

regulation specify the form for, and the information and

data that must be contained in, the vessel manifest, as

well as the manner of production for, and the delivery or

electronic transmittal of, the vessel manifest.

Currently, § 4.7, Customs Regulations (19 CFR 4.7),

requires: That the master of every vessel arriving in the

United States and required to make entry have on board

the vessel a manifest in accordance with 19 U.S.C. 1431

and § 4.7; and that an original and one copy of the mani-

fest must be ready for production upon demand and must

be delivered to the first Customs officer who demands the

manifest. Sections 4.7(a) and 4.7a, Customs Regulations

(19 CFR 4.7(a) and 4.7a), set forth the documentary and

informational requirements that constitute the vessel

manifest.

App. 62

Pursuant to § 4.7(a), the cargo declaration (Customs Form

1302 or its electronic equivalent) is one of the documents

that comprises a vessel manifest. The cargo declaration

must list all the inward foreign cargo on board the vessel

regardless of the intended U.S. port of discharge of the

cargo (§ 4.7a(c)(1)). Furthermore, 19 U.S.C. 1448 provides,

in pertinent part, that no merchandise may be unladen

from a vessel which is required to make entry under

section 1434 until Customs has issued a permit for its

unlading. In addition, under section 1448, Customs pos-

sesses a reasonable measure of regulatory discretion as to

whether, and under what circumstances and conditions, to

issue a permit to unlade incoming cargo from a vessel

arriving in the United States. Section 4.30, Customs

Regulations (19 CFR 4.30), lists the requirements and

conditions under which Customs may issue a permit to

unlade foreign merchandise from a vessel arriving in the

United States.

In addition, 19 U.S.C. 1436(a)(1) and (a)(4) provide that it

is unlawful to fail to comply with sections 1431, 1433 or

1434 or any regulation prescribed under any of those

statutory authorities. Moreover, 19 U.S.C. 1436(a)(2)

states that it is unlawful to present or transmit, electroni-

cally or otherwise, any forged, altered or false document,

paper, data or manifest to the Customs Service under 19

U.S.C. 1431, 1433(d) or 1434. Under section 1436(b), the

master of a vessel who commits any such violation is liable

for a civil penalty of $5,000 for the first violation and

$10,000 for each subsequent violation and any conveyance

used in connection with any such violation is subject to

seizure and forfeiture.

App. 63

Proposed Rulemaking; Advance Presentation of Vessel

Cargo Manifest to Customs; Required Information

By a document published in the Federal Register (67 FR

51519) on August 8, 2002, Customs proposed to amend

§ 4.7 to provide that, pursuant to 19 U.S.C. 1431(d), for

any vessel subject to entry under 19 U.S.C. 1434 upon its

arrival in the United States, Customs must receive the

vessel’s cargo manifest (declaration) from the carrier 24

hours before the related cargo is laden aboard the vessel at

the foreign port. The proposed rule also enumerated the

specific informational elements that would need to be

included in the submitted cargo manifest.

Necessity for Advance Presentation of Vessel Cargo

Manifest to Customs

As explained in the preamble of the Notice of Proposed

Rulemaking (67 FR at 51520), the United States Customs

Service recently launched the Container Security Initia-

tive (“CSI”). CSI will secwre an indispensable, but vulner-

able link in the chain of global trade: Containerized

shipping. Approximately 90% of world cargo moves by

container; 200 million cargo containers are transported

between the world’s seaports each year, constituting the

most critical component of global trade. Nearly half of all

incoming trade to the United States (by value) arrives by

ship; and most of that is in sea containers. Annually,

nearly 6 million cargo containers are offloaded at U.S.

seaports. There is, however, virtually no security for this

critical global trading system. And the consequences of a

terrorist incident using a container would be profound. As

experts like Dr. Stephen E. Flynn, Senior Fellow, Council

on Foreign Relations, have pointed out repeatedly, if

terrorists used a sea container to conceal a weapon of mass

App. 64

destruction — a nuclear device, for example — and deto-

nated it on arrival at a port, the impact on global trade

and the global economy would be immediate and devastat-

ing. All nations would be affected because there would be

no mechanism for identifying weapons of mass destruction

before they reached our shores and before they posed a

threat to the global economy.

Al Qaeda and other terrorist organizations pose an imme-

diate and substantial threat. And the threat is not just to

harm and kill American citizens, it is a threat to damage

and destroy the U.S. and the world economy.

To address the threat terrorists pose to containerized

shipping, Customs developed CSI. Under CSI, U.S. Cus-

toms is working with other governments to identify high-

risk cargo containers and pre-screen those containers at

the foreign ports before they are shipped to the U.S. CSI

has four core elements: ?

(1) Identify “high-risk” containers. In connection with its

domestic targeting efforts, Customs has already estab-

lished criteria and automated targeting tools for identify-

ing “high risk” shipments. Indeed, every one of the

shipments that arrives in the United States by sea con-

tainer is currently assessed for risk using these tools and

advance manifest data. If this data were provided earlier,

Customs could use these same tools to detect high risk

shipments before they were carried to the United States.

Accordingly, to enhance domestic targeting and to enable

overseas targeting and screening of containers, Customs

has proposed a rule requiring accurate and detailed

information to be transmitted before shipments are laden

on vessels destined for the United States.

App. 65

(2) Pre-screen containers before they are shipped. As

discussed above, to protect the United States and global

trade from the risks posed by international terrorists,

security screening should be done at the port of departure

rather than the port of arrival.

(3) Use technology to screen high-risk containers. Tech-

nology enables screening to be done rapidly without

slowing down the movement of trade. This technology

includes large-scale x-ray and gamma machines and

radiation detection devices.

(4) Use more secure containers to ensure the integrity of

containers screened overseas. CSI thus offers real protec-

tion, on a day-to-day basis, for the primary system of

international trade — a system on which all economies

depend. Given the security afforded by CSI, the invest-

ments made by ports and members of the trade to imple-

ment CSI represent relatively inexpensive forms of

insurance against the terrorist threat. In the event of an

attack using a cargo container, the CSI network of ports

will be able to remain operational because those ports will

already have an effective security system in place — one

that will deter and prevent terrorists from using it. With-

out such a network, the damage to global trade caused by

a terrorist attack involving international shipping would

be staggering.

In addition to protecting global trade, CSI should facilitate

the flow of that trade. When a container has been pre-

screened and sealed under CSI, U.S. Customs will not,

absent additional information affecting its risk analysis,

need to inspect it for security purposes when it reaches the

U.S. Moreover, this system could reduce the processing

time for certain shipments because the screening at a CSI

App. 66

port will in most cases take place during “down time.”

Most containers sit on a terminal for an average of several

days prior to lading. This window of “down time” will be

used to screen containers for security purposes. On arrival

at the U.S. seaport, the CSI-screened container should be

released immediately by U.S. Customs, which could shave

hours, if not days, off of the shipping cycle. In this manner,

CSI should increase the speed and predictability for the

movement of cargo containers shipped to the U.S.

For these reasons, CSI is a critical component of the

President’s Homeland Security Strategy. It has also been

endorsed by the G-8 as well as the World Customs Organi-

zation.

As a result of this broad support, CSI has been expanding

rapidly. When Customs launched CSI this past January,

the first step was to implement CSI as quickly as possible

in Canada and the top 20 ports (by volume) that ship to

the United States. When fully implemented in these

locations, CSI will substantially increase the security of

the United States and the global trading system because

the top 20 ports alone account for nearly 70% of all the

containers shipped to U.S. seaports. To date, Canada, the

Netherlands, Belgium, France, Germany, Singapore, Hong

Kong, and Japan have agreed to implement CSI. These

countries represent 11 of the top 20 ports. Customs antici-

pates that several other nations will agree to implement

CSI in the near term, and that CSI will expand beyond the

top 20 ports during the next year.

CSI is already operational in Canada and the Nether-

lands. It will be implemented at several additional ports

within the next 90 days. Given this explosive growth, it is

critical that the information necessary to implement CSI

App. 67

fully be provided to Customs in the near term. For this

reason, Customs proposed this rulemaking on August 8,

2002 and, following the comment period, is issuing this

final rule today.

Non-Vessel Operating Common Carriers (NVOCCs)

Under the proposed rule, the conditions of the Interna-

tional Carrier Bond (19 CFR 113.64) were proposed to be

amended to recognize the status of a Non-Vessel Operating

Common Carrier (NVOCC) as a manifesting party and to

obligate any NVOCC having such a bond and electing to

provide cargo manifest information to Customs electroni-

cally under § 4.7 and 4.7a to accurately transmit such

information to Customs 24 or more hours before the

related cargo is laden aboard the vessel at the foreign port.

Breach of these obligations would result in liquidated

damages against the NVOCC. For purposes of the pro-

posed rule, a non-vessel operating common carrier

(NVOCC) as a common carrier that does not operate the

vessels by which the ocean transportation is provided,

would be considered a shipper in its relationship with an

ocean common carrier.

Penalties or Liquidated Damages for False or Untimely

Filing of Manifest Data

If the master of a vessel failed to present or transmit

accurate manifest data in the required time period or

presented or transmitted any false, forged or altered

document, paper, manifest or data to Customs, the pro-

posed regulations specified that monetary penalties could

be assessed under the provisions of 19 U.S.C. 1436(b).

Likewise, if an NVOCC having an International Carrier

App. 68

Bond elected to transmit such data electronically to

Customs and failed to do so in the required time period or

transmitted any false, forged or altered document, paper,

manifest or data to Customs, the NVOCC could be liable

for the payment of liquidated damages for breach of the

conditions of the International Carrier Bond, in addition to

any other applicable penalties.

Issuance of Permit To Unlade Cargo

The proposed rule also provided that if the carrier did not

present cargo declaration information to Customs prior to

the lading of the cargo aboard the vessel at the foreign

port, Customs could, in addition to assessment of civil

monetary penalties, delay issuance of a permit to unlade

the entire vessel or a portion thereof until all required

information was received.

Preliminary Entry

Finally, it was proposed that § 4.8 be amended to make

clear that the granting of preliminary entry by Customs

would be conditioned upon the electronic submission of the

Cargo Declaration (Customs Form (CF) 1302), as well as

the provision to Customs either electronically or in paper

form of all other forms required by § 4.7.

(67 Fed. Reg. 66322]

Non Vessel Operating Common Carriers Eligible to Par-

ticipate

Comment: In the August 8, 2002, proposed rule, Customs

stated that Non Vessel Operating Common Carriers

App. 69

(NVOCC) licensed by the Federal Maritime Commission

(FMC) would be eligible to become bonded with Customs

and to electronically transmit manifest information

directly to Customs. Several commenters [sic] pointed out

that a separate category of NVOCC is not licensed by the

FMC, but rather is registered with the agency. This latter

group, unless identified by Customs as eligible to partici-

pate, would be unable to transmit information directly to

Customs prior to foreign lading. It is requested that

Customs allow registered NVOCCs to participate. In

addition, one commenter [sic] advocated that shippers’

associations, like NVOCCs, should be authorized to

present the required manifest information electronically to

Customs.

Customs Response: Customs agrees that to the extent that

members of the NVOCC community registered with the

FMC become bonded with Customs, they should be in-

cluded in the electronic filing program. Customs in this

final rule has amended the proposed regulatory language

in this regard to reflect this change. However, shippers’

associations may not participate in the electronic filing

program. Such associations of shippers are membership-

only groups that are not currently regulated under U.S.

law, and they are not licensed or registered with the FMC.

Bonds for Non Vessel Operating Common Carriers

(NVOCCs)

Comment: One commenter [sic] stated that the proposal to

amend provisions of the Customs International Carrier

Bond as presently set forth in § 113.64 (19 CFR 113.64)

would be inappropriate since an NVOCC did not actually

transport merchandise. Concern was also expressed that

App. 70

an NVOCC could be held accountable by Customs for

delivery of cargo to an incorrect port of unlading by a

carrier. Likewise, there was concern that an NVOCC could

incur manifest violation penalties in instances where data

was relayed to Customs by the NVOCC at least 24 hours

in advance of scheduled vessel sailing time, but the vessel

then loaded and departed earlier than scheduled.

Customs Response: It is the current practice that vessel

agents in the United States carry continuous International

Carrier Bond coverage (19 CFR 113.1). They, likewise, do

not transport cargoes. They are bonded in order that

Customs may be assured that the revenue is protected and

that prompt satisfaction of any liabilities incurred in the

course of their dealings with Customs may occur. Like-

wise, the NVOCC community will be dealing with Cus-

toms and will be required to provide the same level of

assurance with respect to the correctness of the informa-

tion they submit. Provided the NVOCC adequately dem-

onstrates that cargo declaration information was timely

submitted to Customs and the carrier then loaded the

containers prematurely, the NVOCC will not be liable.

Customs Response: Customs may initiate penalty actions

against any party responsible for providing the required

information. For example, if a non-vessel operating com-

mon carrier (NVOCC) elects to participate in the vessel

Automated Manifest System (AMS) and transmits its

information directly to Customs, the NVOCC is the re-

sponsible party and will be held liable for any manifest

information found to be untimely presented and/or con-

taining errors or omissions. This would also be the case if

the NVOCC manifested cargo and the cargo is left behind.

App. 71

Timely communication between the vessel carrier and the

NVOCC is required in order for the NVOCC to amend its

manifest information to accurately list the cargo that is on

board the vessel. Likewise, effective communication

between the vessel carrier and the NVOCC is essential for

changes to the ports of call and diversions of the vessel.

If an NVOCC is a participant in the vessel AMS program,

the NVOCC will be treated as a carrier for Customs

_ purposes. Vessel operators who currently slot charter to

other vessel AMS carriers will utilize the same procedures

for notification that the slot charterer has used in provid-

ing its manifest to Customs. A slot charterer is a carrier

leasing space on a vessel owned or operated by another

carrier on a space available basis. The vessel operator is

only responsible for ensuring that the NVOCC’s Standard

Carrier Alpha Code (SCAC), as described in 19 CFR

4.7a(c\2Xiii), is included on the Customs Form (CF) 3171

that is presented to Customs. Failure to present the SCAC

of all NVOCCs and slot charterers on board the vessel will

result in a penalty against the vessel carrier, under 19

U.S.C. 1436. ...

App. 72

APPENDIX M

46 C.F.R. § 510.2(1) (repealed)

“Nonvessel operating common carrier by water” is a

common carrier by water as defined in section 1 of the Act,

which does not operate the vessels by which its ocean

transportation is provided but which holds itself out, by

the establishment and maintenance of tariffs, by adver-

tisement, solicitation, or otherwise, to provide transporta-

tion of property for hire by water in commerce from the

United States; which assumes responsibility or has liabil-

ity imposed by law for the safe transportation of such

property; and which arranges in its own name for the

performance of such transportation by underlying water

carriers.

App. 73

APPENDIX N

46 C.F.R. § 515.2(0)

(1) Non-vessel-operating common carrier services refers to

the provision of transportation by water of cargo between

the United States and a foreign county for compensation

without operating the vessels by which the transportation

is provided, and may include, but are not limited to, the

following:

(1) purchasing transportation services from a VOCC and

offering such services for resale to other persons;

(2) payment of port-to-port or multimodal transportation

charges;

(3) entering into affreightment agreements with underly-

ing shippers;

(4) issuing bills of lading or equivalent documents;

(5) arranging for inland transportation and paying for

inland freight charges on through transportation move-

ments;

(6) paying lawful compensation to ocean freight forward-

ers;

(7) leasing containers; or

(8) entering into arrangements with origin or destination

agents.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.