Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Carpenter v. United States

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

93-676 |- ocreows

No. 93- wiak

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

MICHAEL J. CARPENTER, PETITIONER

Vv.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, RESPONDENT

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Military Appeals

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ALLEN Lotz

Lieutenant Commander,

U.S. Coast Guard

Commandant (G-LMJ)

2100 2nd Street, S.W.

Washington, D.C. 20593-0001

(202) 267-0115

Attorney for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRSENTED

1. May the Judge Advocate General of an Armed

Force, who is not authorized to make appointments under

the Appointments Clause of the Constitution, appoint

commissioned officers to serve as military trial and ap-

pellate judges, on the theory that their appointment as

commissioned officers already satisfies the Appointments

Clause for both their judicial and nonjudicial duties, and

appoint civilians to serve as military appellate judges?

2. Does the Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amend-

ment require that, in peacetime, military trial and ap-

pellate judges be appointed to their judicial offices for

fixed terms, and that military appellate judges be assigned

to judicial duties as their primary duty?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

og FE Se ee ee eae ae l

ct te eat. lal Pere Me re eee 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES

OVE CUE cnvdentanyeoesnadutedaneaerGenenes 2

STAT Eeaees Gay SHU GPUEEe co dca nvonsvexscecvess 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .......... 12

I. THE APPOINTMENTS CLAUSE

it Fk > | Pye ne ery Grae ee 13

Il. THE DUE PROCESS VIOLATION .......... 19

ee ee 8 re Co et ve ais ae 22

APPENDIX A

(Opinion of the U.S. Court of Military Appeals —

COU DONNTD oo ce viccvctsanstessaeeeee eee la

APPENDIX B

(Opinion of the U.S. Coast Guard Court of Military

REViaW — CORO oon a knee saccade ene atesebeees 2la

APPENDIX C

(Opinion of the U.S. Court of Military Appeals —

WOES ccc vcewnavededsdeneeeee 34a

APPENDIX D

(Relevant provisions of the Uniform Code of Military

Justice, Articles 6, 16, 26, and 66, 10 U.S.C. §§ 806,

SEQ, TO, WOE TE oo 6 6s nbenkheenbeeeeee 120a

APPENDIX E

(Rule for Courts-Martial 1002, Manual for Courts-

wertaes, SIO oc cknatdeus dbaesele ee 125a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Andrade vy. Lauer, 729 F.2d 1475 (D.C. Cir.

SOO «oncesnckese teen Grr Cae 18

Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976) ......... 9,11, 13,17

(ii)

Cases — Continued: Page

Dettinger v. United States, 7 M.J. 216 (C.M.A.

RN ee ee a So ad he ae, 7

Freytag v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue, \11

ae 13, 14

Matthews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) ....... 10

McDowell v. United States, 159 U.S. 596 (1895) ... 18

Medina v. California, 112 S. Ct. 2572 (1992) ...... 10

Middendorf v. Henry, 425 U.S. 25 (1976) ........ 17, 20

Palmore v. United States, 411 U.S. 389 (1973) .... 10

Postker v. Goldberg, 453 U.S. 57 (1981) ......... 17

Shoemaker v. United States, 147 U.S. 282 (1893) passim

Solorio v. United States, 483 U.S. 435 (1987) ..... 6

Tumey v. Ohio, 274 U.S. 510 (1927) ............. 21

United States v. Brown, 28 M.J. 470 (C.M.A.

Noe ea bon Cheb Ee bee 7

United States v. Cole, 31 M.J. 270, 272 (C.M.A.

eel tie elaine habs benndoe« taee Xe > 5 7

United States v. Graf, 35 M.J. 450, 465 (1992) .... »

United States v. Maharajh, 28 M.J. 797 (A.F.C.

ols Ueaewe at iene 7

United States v. Ohrt, 28 M.J. 301 (C.MA. 1989). . 7

United States v. Raddatz, 447 U.S. 667 (1980) .... 19

United States ex re. Toth v. Quarles, 350 U.S.

ee a ce wu dd wees 10

United States v. Weiss, 36 M.J. 224(C.M.A. 1992),

cert. granted, __ U.S. __, 113 S. Ct. 2412, 124 L.

Sf) ae ee ihe were ti ewecetndi passim

Constitutional Provisions:

ty Ue Wis © Mie Gils Bo ccd ca seccuccevess passim

i wceesehoebeves 2

Statutes:

Art. 1(1), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 801(1) ............ 4

Pe es Sg BE Wie BOND Sc ccssceecencs 2,4

Statutes — Continued: Page

Ast. 16, CEs. FO UB. 5 ORD os ccc vv cveavsss 2

At. 16, CEES, FO UBL. OGD cc cccccccsvvces 6

Ast, OD, Cs Be Urs ©] GEN oh evissecevcsss 6

Pat, Be, CRs Se ee ED occ cavvcreoves: 2, 6

Ast. 4B, WERE, TOU BA. OOD on vecvcccvecces 7

Ast. Gh, Vs FS ls BOO 0 ccs rsccccviene ye

Art. 67a, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 867a............. 2

Ast. 142, UCHES, 10 U.S.C. § DAZR .. ccc cncees 5

Bee es Oe ED bic hod 8 0084000000680 4u8e8 2

Regulations:

Rule for Courts-Martial 1002, Manual for Courts-

RR a Per ere rr. >

GO CHR Part £, AGORA «occ cecccccevesessss 4,5

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

No. 93-

MICHAEL J. CARPENTER, PETITIONER

Vv.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, RESPONDENT

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Military Appeals

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The petitioner, Michael J. Carpenter, respectfully prays

that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and

opinion of the United States Court of Military Appeals

entered in this proceeding.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Military Ap-

peals, United States v. Carpenter, 37 M.J. 291 (C.M.A.

1993) is reprinted as Appendix A at App. la. The opinion

of the United States Coast Guard Court of Military

Review, United States v. Carpenter, 34 M.J. 681

(C.G.C.M.R. 1992), is reprinted as Appendix B at App.

2ia.

The opinion of the United States Court of Military Ap-

peals, United States v. Weiss, 36 M.J. 224 (C.M.A. 1992),

(1)

2

cert. granted, U.S. _., 113 S. Ct. 2412, 124 L. Ed. 2d

635 (1993), is reprinted as Appendix C at App. 34a.

JURISDICTION

The decision of the Court of Military Appeals was

rendered on August 3, 1993. The jurisdiction of this Court

is invoked under Article 67a of the Uniform Code of

Military Justice, 10 U.S.C. § 867a (Supp. II 1990) and 28

U.S.C. § 1259(3) (Supp. II 1990).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

STATUTES INVOLVED

The Appointments Clause, U.S. Const. Art. II, § 2, Cl.

2, provides:

The President . . . shall nominate, and by and with

the Advice and Consent of the Senate, shall appoint

Ambassadors, other public Ministers and Consuls,

Judges of the Supreme Court, and all other officers

of the United States, whose Appointments are not

herein otherwise provided for, and which shall be

established by Law; but the Congress may by Law

vest the Appointment of such inferior Officers, as

they think proper, in the President alone, in the

Courts of Law, or in the Heads of Departments.

The Fifth Amendment provides:

No person shall be . . . deprived of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law.

The relevant provisions of the Uniform Code of

Military Justice, Articles 6, 16, 26, and 66, 10 U.S.C.

§§ 806, 816, 826 and 866, are set forth in Appendix D at

App. 120a. Rule for Courts-Martial 1002, Manual for

Courts-Martial, 1984, is set forth in Appendix E at App.

12Sa.

STATMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner was a Subsistence Specialist Second Class

(E-5), U.S. Coast Guard, at the time of his court-martial.

He was tried by a military judge sitting alone as a general

court-martial. Contrary to his pleas, he was convicted of

various violations of the Uniform Code of Military Justice

(UCMJ). He was sentenced to confinement for fifteen

months, reduction to the lowest enlisted pay grade (E-1),

and a dishonorable discharge from the Coast Guard.

This petition raises issues important to the military

justice system. With respect to the questions presented, the

basic issues have been previously raised to, and are to be

decided by, this Court in United States v. Weiss, 36 M.J.

224 (C.M.A. 1992), cert. granted, __ U.S. __, 113 S. Ct.

2412, 124 L. Ed. 2d 635 (1993) (No. 92-1482). This peti-

tion adopts and incorporates the same argument as set

forth in Weiss, supra. In addition, however, with respect

to the first question presented this petition presents an ad-

ditional issue—the appointment by the Judge Advocate

General of an Armed Force of civilians to serve as military

appellate judges on the service Court of Military Review.

Finally, the second question presented involves a related

issue concerning the judicial independence of military ap-

pellate judges serving on the Coast Guard Court of

Military Review as a mere collateral duty.

Like United States v. Weiss, this petition raises closely

related questions which go to the heart of judicial in-

dependence for military trial judges who preside over

courts-martial and for military appellate judges who

review convictions. All military trial judges and most ap-

pellate military judges are commissioned officers and

lawyers on active duty in their services. Unlike judges ap-

pointed under Article | or Article III, military judges are

not appointed by the President with the advice and con-

4

sent of the Senate. Nor are they appointed by the Presi-

dent alone, the head of a department, or a court of law

composed of Article I or III judges. Instead, military

judges are selected and appointed by the Judge Advocate

General of their service; in this case, the Judge Advocate

General is the General Counsel of the Department of

Transportation. Art. I(1), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 801(1)

(1988). The General Counsel has delegated most, but not

all, of his duties as Judge Advocate General to the Chief

Counsel of the Coast Guard, the senior uniformed lawyer

of the service. See 49 CFR Part 1, Appendix A (1992). The

Judge Advocate General is the official for each service

who is responsible for the overall supervision of military

justice matters. See Art. 6(a), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 806(a)

(1988). Moreover, the Judge Advocates General, in con-

cert with other service officials, have absolute and

unreviewable discretion to remove or transfer judges out

of their judicial assignments, and those judges lack protec-

tion if their decisions do not suit their Judge Advocate

General. Finally, four of the five judges assigned to the

Coast Guard Court of Military Review, including two of

the three judges on the panel of the Court that reviewed

petitioner’s case, serve on that court as a mere collateral

duty. All have other, primary duties, for which they are

responsible to other officials, including, in some cases, the

Chief Counsel. Accordingly, the method of appointment

to judicial service in the Armed Forces violates the

Appointments Clause; the lack of any fixed term of office,

and the service of Court of Military Review judges on a

collateral-duty basis, violates the Due Process Clause of

the Fifth Amendment.

1. Institutional Framework

Under Article I of the Constitution, Congress has

established a three-tier system of military courts. At the

a

5

top is the Court of Military Appeals, which has five

civilian judges appointed by the President with the advice

and consent of the Senate for fixed terms of office. Art.

142, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 942 (1988). The appointments

and tenure of the Court of Military Appeals judges are not

at issue.

Below the Court of Military Appeals are four Courts of

Military Review; one each for the Army, Air Force, Navy-

Marine Corps, and Coast Guard. The Coast Guard Court

of Military Review presently consists of five appellate

military judges, two of whom are civilians and three of

whom are Coast Guard commissioned officers. These

judges have been appointed by the Judge Advocate

General. Although the Courts of Military Review are per-

manent courts located in the Washington, D.C., area,

none of the judges is appointed to a fixed term of office.

Art. 66(a), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 866(a) (1988). The Courts

of Military Review are typically divided into three-member

panels to hear cases; petitioner’s case was reviewed by such

a three-member panel. Absent waiver by an accused, the

Courts of Military Review are required to review all cases

in which a death sentence, confinement for one year or

more, a dismissal, or a dishonorable or bad-conduct

discharge is adjudged. Art. 66(b), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C.

§ 866(b) (1988).

Military trial judges preside at special courts-martial,

and, if qualified, at general courts-martial. Trial judges

must be military officers, all of whom have been ap-

pointed as military officers by the President with the ad-

vice and consent of the Senate. However, their selection

and appointment as a judge is normally made by the Judge

Advocate General of the service; in the Coast Guard, that

authority has been delegated to the Chief Counsel of the

Coast Guard. 49 CFR Part 1, App. A, para. 2(3) (1992).

Ln

6

Like appellate military judges, the trial judges have no

fixed terms of office. Art. 26(a)-(c), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C.

§ 826(a)-(c) (1988).

Each armed force assigns military judges as and when it

sees fit. However, a judicial assignment can be terminated

at any time through decertification as a judge or by

transfer to other, nonjudicial, duties at the discretion of

the Judge Advocate General of the judge’s armed force.

A court-martial can try any offense committed by a

member of the armed services regardless of when or where

the offense took place, who the victim was, what was

done, or why it was done; the sole requirement for court-

martial jurisdiction over the accused is that the accused

was On active duty in the military at the time of the of-

fense. Solorio v. United States, 483 U.S. 435 (1987). A

general court-martial may impose sentences that include

death, imprisonment for life or a term of years, total

forfeiture of pay and allowances, and a dishonorable or

bad-conduct discharge (or a dismissal if the accused is an

officer). Art. 18, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 818 (1988). A bad-

conduct or dishonorable discharge carries a permanent

Stigma, and it can have an adverse impact on civilian job

opportunities, as well as on certain government-provided

benefits. See United States v. Ohrt, 28 M.J. 301 (C.M.A.

1989); United States v. Maharajh, 28 M.J. 797

(A.F.C.M.R. 1989). Special courts-martial may impose up

to six months of confinement, forfeiture of up to two-

thirds pay per month for six months, and a bad-conduct

discharge. Art. 19, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 819 (1988).

Military trial judges are, for all practical purposes, the

equivalent of United States District Judges and Magistrate

Judges who preside over criminal trials in federal district

courts. The drafters of the Uniform Code of Military

Justice wanted military judges to be “real judges” as com-

~

monly understood in the American legal tradition. United

States v. Graf, 35 M.J. 450, 465 (1992). The military trial

judge has far-ranging discretionary powers, including the

power to “rule on all interlocutory questions and all ques-

tions of law raised during the court-martial,” to “[i]nstruct

the members [the jury] on questions of law and procedure

which may arise,” to “promulgate and enforce rules of

court,” and to “exercise contempt power.” Art. 48,

UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 848 (1988). If the accused elects a‘

bench trial, a general court-martial judge has even more

discretion than does a district judge, because the court-

martial trial judge is not bound by the Federal Sentencing

Guidelines. See United States v. Brown, 28 M.J. 470, 474

n. 3 (C.M.A. 1989); see generally Manual for Courts-

Martial, 1984, Rule for Courts-Martial 1002.

Courts of Military Review exercise all of the traditional

powers of appellate courts, including those under the All

Writs Act. See Dettinger v. United States, 7 M.J. 216

(C.M.A. 1979). Additionally, these courts exercise an

“awesome, plenary, de novo power of review[.|” United

States v. Cole, 31 M.J. 270, 272 (C.M.A. 1990). Thus, a

court of military review “[m]Jay affirm only such findings

of guilty and the sentence as it finds correct in law and fact

.. .. [[]t may weigh the evidence, judge the credibility of

witnesses, and determine controverted questions of

fact[.]” Art. 66(c), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 866(c) (1988).

2. Rulings of the Court of Military Appeals

The Court of Military Appeals exercised its discre-

tionary jurisdiction to consider petitioner’s claims that the

manner in which the trial and appellate military judges in

his case were appointed violated the Appointments Clause

of the Constitution, and that the service of appellate

military judges as a mere collateral duty denied petitioner

8

liberty without due process. The failure to appoint

military trial and appellate judges to fixed terms of office

was not specifically addressed in petitioner’s case at the

Court of Military Appeals; however, the due process

violation was present, just as it was in Weiss. Several days

before it heard argument in Weiss, the Court of Military

Appeals issued an opinion rejecting the due process claim

with respect to fixed terms of office. United States v.

Graf, 35 M.J. 450 (C.M.A. 1992).' Then, on December

24, 1992, a sharply divided court rejected petitioner

Weiss’s Appointments Clause argument and affirmed the

Navy-Marine Corps Court’s decision.

In order to garner three votes, the majority in Weiss

needed two separate and largely inconsistent rationales.

Judge Gierke, writing the lead opinion for himself and

Judge Cox, agreed that Congress may establish a military

justice system, but that Congress cannot declare an ex-

emption for military judges from the Appointments

Clause. Therefore, Judge Gierke held that military judges

are officers who must be appointed in accordance with the

Appointments Clause, either by the President with the ad-

vice and consent of the Senate, by the President alone, by

a Head of a Department, or by a Court of Law. App. 4la.

This proposition was endorsed by four of the court’s five

judges. App. 55a, 70a, Illa.

Judge Gierke then held that the Appointments Clause is

satisfied when a military officer is commissioned by the

President with the advice and consent of the Senate,

because military judges are simply military officers with

legal training. Relying on Shoemaker v. United States, 147

' A petition for a writ of certiorari in Graf was filed on December

29, 1992 (No. 92-1102), and it is incorporated by reference. In the in-

terest of completeness, this petition will summarize the Graf decision,

as well as the reasons for granting review of the Due Process issue.

9

U.S. 282 (1893), Judge Gierke first ruled that Congress

had not created a “new office” when “Law Officers”

became “Military Judges” in the Military Justice Act of

1968, and thus no new appointment was necessary. Alter-

natively, he concluded that, if a new office had been

created, the duties of the military judge were “germane” to

those duties already required of a military officer with

legal training: “The principle we glean from Shoemaker is

that Congress may create a new office and give a military

officer the duties of that office without making a new ap-

pointment necessary, if the duties are germane[.]” App.

40a.

Judge Crawford eschewed the opinion of Judge Gierke,

and concurred only in the result. In her view the appoint-

ment of military judges need not comply with the Ap-

pointments Clause at all because of the special deference

given to Congress when it regulates the land and naval

forces. Her opinion does not mention Buckley v. Valeo,

424 U.S. | (1976), in which this Court held that no class or

type of officer is excluded from the reach of the Appoint-

ments Clause because of the special nature of their office

or the plenary power of Congress over the subject area.

‘Additionally, Judge Crawford reached her conclusion

even though the Department of Justice (appearing as

amicus and urging affirmance) disavowed that position in

both its brief and at oral argument.

Chief Judge Sullivan and Judge Wiss each filed dissent-

ing Opinions rejecting the arguments in both of the majori-

ty opinions. The dissenters found no broad exemption to

the strictures of the Appointments Clause based on the

judges’ status as military officers or military lawyers. App.

7la, 109a. Chief Judge Sullivan stressed the watershed

events of the Military Justice Act of 1968 which for the

first time created a “professional judiciary” in the military.

App. 93a (emphasis in original). He recognized that what

10

had occurred was no mere transfer of duties, but was a

clear break from past practice by creating the new offices

of military trial and appellate judge. Judge Wiss disagreed

with the lead opinion’s application of Shoemaker to this

case, in particular its assertion that the assignment of

specific and highly responsible judicial duties as a military

judge is “germane to some nebulous notion of duties of

legally trained military officers in general,” that is, to the

duties of all judge advocates from which military judges

are chosen. App. 118a.

The court did not revisit Graf where it had overruled

Graf’s due process objection to the lack of fixed terms of

office for military judges for two reasons. First, Graf re-

jected the balancing test set forth in Matthews v. Eldridge,

424 U.S. 319 (1976), which had long been used to resolve

Fifth Amendment due process claims. Instead, the court

used the less exacting Fourteenth Amendment due process

standard enunciated in Medina v. California, 112 S. Ct.

2572 (1992), which involved review of a state criminal con-

viction. Second, Graf treated dicta from United States ex

rel. Toth v. Quarles, 350 U.S. 11 (1955), and Palmore v.

United States, 41i U.S. 389 (1973), as approving the lack

of fixed terms of office, and announced a new rule that

military judges could not be removed in retaliation for

their judicial decisions. Nowhere did the Court of Military

Appeals suggest that military necessity precludes fixed

terms for military judges generally, let alone for those who

sit on the Courts of Military Review in the Washington,

D.C. area or for courts-martial such as this one, which

was held in peacetime.

The Court of Military Appeals’ consideration of peti-

tioner’s case aiso produced four published opinions by the

judges, though all judges voted to affirm petitioner’s case.

United States v. Carpenter, 37 M.J. 291 (C.M.A. 1993).

(Bitrate

11

Judge Gierke, joined by Judge Cox, authored the opinion

of the court. Relying on the decision in Weiss, he conclud-

ed that the military judge who tried petitioner’s case and

two of the three Coast Guard Court of Military Review

judges (the two who were commissioned officers on active

duty) who reviewed petitioner’s case were appointed con-

sistently with the Appointments Clause. App. 3a.

However, with respect to the third member of the Court of

Military Review panel, Chief Judge Baum, who is a

civilian, the Weiss decision is not controlling.

The Government argued below that Chief Judge Baum’s

appointment to the Court of Military Review by the Judge

Advocate General was a proper appointment because the

Judge Advocate General was acting as delegee of the

Secretary of Transportation, the head of a department.

The court rejected that argument, holding that the ap-

pointment power is not delegable. App. Sa.

The Government next argued that, as a retired military

officer, Chief Judge Baum was not a civilian, but re-

mained a commissioned officer whose appointment as

such made a separate appointment as a court of military

review judge unnecessary in accordance with the Weiss

decision. The court also rejected that contention. The

court noted that Chief Judge Baum was employed and

serving in a civilian, not a military, billet, he had not been

recalled to active duty, and that judicial duties are not ger-

mane to the duties of a retired officer, because a retired of-

ficer has no duties. App. 6a.

The court then concluded that Chief Judge Baum’s ap-

pointment to the court of military review was defective.

App. 7a. However, it afforded de facto validity to the acts

of the Chief Judge, relying on Buckley v. Valeo, 424, U.S.

1 (1976), and a January 15, 1993, memorandum of the

Secretary of Transportation purporting to appoint the

judges of the Coast Guard Court of Military Review, in-

cluding Chief Judge Baum. App. 8a, Sa.

12

With respect to the Due Process issue, Judge Gierke

concluded that there were sufficient protections to ensure

the independence of the military judiciary. He held that

there is no requirement for appellate military judges to

serve as judges full time. App. 10a.

Chief Judge Sullivan concurred based on the de facto

appointment rationale. App. 19a. Judge Crawford con-

curred in the opinion of the court with respect to the Due

Process issue, but concurred only in the result with respect

to the Appointments Clause issue, relying on her separate

opinion in Weiss. App. 19a. Judge Wiss also concurred in

the opinion of the court with respect to the Due Process

issue, though he expressed misgivings about the “ap-

pearance of lack of total objectivity when associate ap-

pellate judges’ principal assignments are as division chiefs

under the immediate supervision of the Chief Counsel.

... App. 19a. He concurred only in the result, however,

with respect to the Appointments Clause issue, also relying

on the de facto appointment rationale.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This petition, like Weiss, seeks to establish minimum

standards for the appointment of military judges, their

retention in office for a fixed term, and service as an ap-

pellate military judge as a primary duty. It does not seek to

have the Uniform Code of Military Justice or the military

justice system mirror that of Article III courts. Rather, it

seeks to ensure that the separation of powers requirements

embodied in the Appointments Clause, and the notions of

fundamental fairness embodied in the Due Process

Clause, are available to those tried by courts-martial.

Taken alone, either the Appointments Clause or the Due

Process violations would seriously undermine the fairness

of the military justice system; occurring together they call

13

into question whether anyone in the armed forces can

receive the minimal level of judicial independence that

every justice system requires.

1. The Appointments Clause Violation

Not since Solorio v. United States, 483 U.S. 435, 107

S.Ct. 2924 (1987), has an appeal presented questions

of such fundamental importance to the institutional

integrity and viability of the military justice system as

does this one. App. 110a (Wiss, J., dissenting).

The Appointments Clause precludes Congress from

placing the power to appoint inferior officers in anyone

other than the President alone, the Courts of Law, or the

Heads of Departments. U.S. Const. Art. II, § 2, Cl. 2;

Freytag v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue, 111 S. Ct.

2631, 2642 (1991). There can be little doubt that military

judges, who exercise extraordinary authority and discre-

tion, are Officers of the United States and are subject to

the Appointments Clause. See Buckley v. Valeo, 424, U.S.

1, 126 (1976). No judge of the Court of Military Appeals

disagreed with that proposition except Judge Crawford,

and her position was specifically disavowed by the Depart-

ment of Justice.

There is considerable force to the argument that military

appellate judges are “superior” or “principal” officers, in

which case the President must appoint them with the ad-

vice and consent of the Senate. But in any event, both

military trial and appellate judges are at least inferior of-

ficers, and so they must be appointed either by the Presi-

dent, the Head of a Department, or by a Court of Law.

With the exception of the after-the-fact appointment of

the judges of the Coast Guard Court of Military Review

by the Secretary of Transportation, no court has held that

military judges are appointed to their judicial offices by

any of the authorities listed in the Appointments Clause.

14

The only question with respect to judges who are commis-

sioned officers, is whether their appointment as military

judges, after they have been duly appointed as military of-

ficers, must be made by one of the authorities set forth in

the Appointments Clause. With respect to appellate

military judges who are civilians, the question is whether

an after-the-fact appointment by the service Secretary pro-

vides de facto validity to the prior judicial acts of the

judge.

The Appointments Clause preserves “the Constitution’s

structural integrity by preventing the diffusion of the ap-

pointment power.” Freytag, 111 S. Ct. at 2638. As this

Court reasoned in Freytag:

The Appointments Clause prevents Congress from

dispensing power too freely; it limits the universe of

eligible recipients of the power to appoint. Because it

articulates a limiting principle, the Appointments

Clause does not always serve the Executive’s interests.

For example, the Clause forbids Congress from

granting the appointment power to inappropriate

members of the Executive Branch. Neither Congress

nor the Executive can agree to waive this structural

protection .. .. The structural interests protected by

the appointments Clause are not those of any one

Branch of government but of the entire Republic.

Freytag, 111 S. Ct. at 2639 (emphasis added).

Relying on Shoemaker, two Court of Military Appeals

judges found that the Appointments Clause had been

satisfied for all military judges who are commissioned of-

ficers of the Armed Forces, because they have already

been nominated by the President and confirmed by the

Senate, although they have not been appointed to their

judicial positions in that manner. Apparently recognizing

that a presidential appointment had some limits —for ex-

ample, a Deputy Secretary of Defense could not simply

ee eB

feats

15

move over to become an Assistant Attorney General or a

member of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commis-

sion—the opinion alse concluded that there was no new

office created when Congress amended the Uniform Code

of Military Justice in 1968 to create the positions of

military trial and appellate judges because the new posi-

tions were simply continuations of the old ones, with some

modest changes. Even if that assessment were correct, and

petitioner agrees with the dissenters in Weiss that it is not,

that would at most allow those who were in a judicial posi-

tion in 1968—the “incumbent{s]” in Shoemaker’s words

(147 U.S. at 301)—to continue in office without a new ap-

pointment. Stated another way, Shoemaker can at most

solve the problem for those who were already serving in

judicial positions in 1968, not for those who were yet to be

appointed as judges, let alone those who were not yet

military lawyers.

As a fall-back Judges Gierke and Cox argued that,

under Shoemaker, Congress can add duties to an existing

office without requiring that the person then in office be

reappointed, so long as the “new” duties are “germane” to

the “old” ones of that office. What they overlook is that

Shoemaker arose in a one-time situation where Congress

had added duties to persons who were already in offices to

which they had been properly appointed. But there would

never be a problem for future occupants of those offices

since they would be appointed to positions encompassing

both the “new” and “old” duties. However, for military

judgeships, the problem is repeated whenever a non-judge

military lawyer replaces a military judge who retires or is

transferred to a new assignment.

Even if Shoemaker allowed those who were serving as

“law officers” in 1968 to continue in the new office of

military judge, those who became military judges there-

16

after would fail to meet Shoemaker’s “germaneness” test.

The duties and powers of military judges, including all of

those involved in petitioner’s case, are so different from

those of prosecutor, defense counsel, legal advisor to a

command — which is what most military lawyers do before

they become military judges —that there is not simply an

addition of a related duty, as in Shoemaker, but a

substitution of a new job, with entirely new functions, for

an old one. Surely, no one would contend that the two

civilians on the Coast Guard Court of Military Review

could be plucked from civilian life, even if they were ad-

ministrative law judges working for the federal govern-

ment, and placed on that court without meeting the re-

quirements of the Appointments Clause; the result should

be no different for any other military judge, whether at the

trial or appellate level. Similarly, no one would assume

that a member of the staff of the General Counsel of the

National Labor Relations Board could simply be “as-

signed” the additional duties of administrative law judge

at that agency without satisfying the requirements of the

Appointments Clause, yet that is the effect of the ruling

below in this case and in Weiss. Indeed, as both Buckley

and Freytag make clear, it is the function that the in-

dividual is performing that is decisive in determining

whether the Appointments Clause applies at all, and under

that analysis there can be no question that military judges

must be separately appointed because their functions dif-

fer so markedly from those performed by other military

lawyers. At the very least, these quite expansive extensions

of Shoemaker raise serious questions that this Court

should address.

The decision in Weiss rests on even shakier ground

because the decisive vote was cast by Judge Crawford. She

implicitly rejected an extension of Shoemaker in favor of a

much more sweeping rationale—that the Appointments

17

Clause does not apply at all to military judges, although

her rationale would lead to the conclusion that the Clause

does not apply to any appointments in the Armed Forces.

Her opinion conflicts with, but does not even attempt to

distinguish, Buckley, which made clear that there are no

subject-matter exemptions from the Appointments Clause

based on the interest of Congress in, or plenary power

over, particular subject areas. Judge Crawford’s rationale

also conflicts with decisions like Rostker v. Goldberg, 453

U.S. 57 (1981), and Middendorf v. Henry, 425 U.S. 25

(1976), which stand for the proposition that there are no

wholesale exemptions from the Constitution simply

because the case involves military affairs. Indeed, so ex-

treme is Judge Crawford’s ruling that the Department of

Justice, which appeared below as an amicus in support of

respondent, specifically rejected that position in its brief

and at oral argument. It is highly unlikely that Judge

Crawford would have taken the far more expansive route

to affirming Weiss’s conviction if she had been willing to

accept the rationale put forward by Judge Gierke. Thus, if

her “deference to Congress” analysis is in error—as it

clearly seems to be—there were three votes to overturn

Weiss’s conviction.

The Court of Military Appeals upheld petitioner’s con-

viction and sentence, despite the improper appointment of

Chief Judge Baum of the Coast Guard Court of Military

Review, a civilian, by relying on the de facto appointment

rationale. App. 8a. In reaching that result, however, the

court devoted only a single sentence to discussing the

issue, and cited only one case, Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S 1

(1976). However, Buckley was an action seeking

declaratory and injunctive relief to enjoin the operation of

the statutory provisions concerning the Federal Election

Commission, not a direct appeal of a serious criminal con-

18

viction, and does not support the action of the lower

court.

The de facto appointment rationale has been applied to

limit the consequences of improper appointments of of-

ficeholders, particularly when the defect is of a technical

nature, or when many innocent third parties would be

harmed by their reliance on the acts of the improperly ap-

pointed official, as in Buckley. The doctrine is clearly not

simple. See Andrade v. Lauer, 729 F.2d 1475, 1496-1501

(D.C. Cir. 1984). If it is to be extended to these cir-

cumstances, it should be by this Court, with a full discus-

sion of the matter. It has never been applied in a case like

this. The only federal criminal case in which the doctrine

was relied on to sustain a conviction on a direct appeal, is

McDowell v. United States, 159 U.S. 596 (1895). The doc-

trine was only an alternative basis for affirming the con-

viction there, and the facts of McDowell are substantially

different from petitioner’s case. In McDowell, a properly

appointed federal district judge had been assigned to sit in

a case in a different district, but the procedures followed

in the assignment were challenged. This Court found the

error in the assignment to be very minor and technical, if

error at all, and refused to overturn the defendant’s con-

viction. The key difference from this case, however, was

that the district judge in McDowell had been properly ap-

pointed and commissioned by the President with the con-

sent of the Senate as a district judge; it was only his tem-

porary inter-district assignment that was in question.

The validity of the appointment of military judges,

commissioned or civilian, under the Appointments Clause

is a significant constitutional question which this Court

should address. The 2-1-2 division within the Court of

Military Appeals in Weiss, and the four-opinion decision

of the court in petitioner’s case reflects the serious debate

19

on the merits of the issue. As it did in Weiss, this Court

should grant review to resolve this issue as promptly as

possible.

2. The Due Process Violation

Most of the reasons this Court should grant review on

the second question presented are set out in the previously-

filed Graf petition and are only summarized below. But

first, it is worth noting that, although the two questions

presented arise under different constitutional provisions,

the defects involve common concerns of accountability

and fundamental fairness to an accused. Noncompliance

with each of the provisions is magnified by the lack of

compliance with the other, such that there is a synergistic

impact on the accused’s rights. To further compound the

problem, the Judge Advocate General can both appoint

and remove military trial and appellate judges, yet he is

also responsible for supervising the efficient working of

the service’s military justice system, including its

prosecutors.

The lower court’s application of Medina’s Fourteenth

Amendment due process analysis in Graf to a federal Fifth

Amendment due process claim is ample reason to resolve

this issue. Indeed, in Medina this Court left open the cor-

rectness of one of its prior decisions— United States v.

Raddatz, 447 U.S. 667, 677 (1980)—which had applied

Matthews v. Eldridge to a due process challenge to a

federal criminal conviction. Petitioner believes that

respect for state legislative judgments and concerns of

federalism, which loom so large in Medina, have no place

where federal Due Process rights are at issue, but the

uncertainty created by Medina underscores the need for

this Court to settle an issue that only it can resolve. In that

regard petitioner also notes that the concerns about over-

turning specific judgments made by state legislatures

20

(Medina), or with those made by Congress for the Armed

Forces (Middendorf v. Henry, 425 U.S. 25, 44 (1976)), are

inapplicable here because there is no evidence that in 1968,

when Congress established the offices of military trial and

appellate judge, it gave any thought to terms of office, let

alone specifically legislated to preclude them.

The concerns raised by the lack of any fixed term of of-

fice are only exacerbated for four of the five Coast Guard

Court of Military Review judges by their assignment as

judges on a collateral-duty basis only. This arrangement

implies that the duties of an appellate judge are simply not

important enough for full-time, or even primary duty,

assignment. The part-time judges are supervised and

evaluated on their performance of their primary, non-

judicial duties. Thus, devotion to their judicial duties

could only detract from the performance of their primary

duties, on which their evaluations, future promotions, and

assignments depend. Furthermore, for many of the part-

time judges, the Chief Counsel, the senior uniformed

lawyer in the Coast Guard, is their immediate supervisor;

concern about issuing judicial decisions contrary to his

wishes may impinge on the independence vital to the

proper performance of judicial duties.

Certainly, in time of war or other serious exigency,

military necessity may require some adjustments regarding

the tenure of trial judges, although not for the appellate

judges who comprise the four Courts of Military Review.

Moreover, neither the government nor the Court of

Military Appeals has sought to justify the lack of any fixed

term of office on grounds of military necessity. Instead,

the Court of Military Appeals relied on other alleged pro-

tections against improper retaliation against military

judges for unpopular decisions, although none of them

can be invoked by an accused, even if they were actually,

21

as opposed to theoretically, available to the judges

themselves. Even if those protections served to prevent

naked retaliation, they cannot possibly guard against the

more subtle and virtually undetectable problems of

adverse or “faint praise” evaluations that can have signifi-

cant impacts on promotions, future assignments, and

susceptibility for involuntary early retirement for all

military judges.

At bottom, the Court of Military Appeals fell woefully

short of justifying an exception to the generally-accepted

principle of American jurisprudence, as reflected in such

due process cases as Tumey v. Ohio, 274 U.S. 510 (1927),

and in the nearly universal fact that state judges have fixed

terms of office, such that judicial independence for those

who preside at criminal trials and hear criminal appeals is

an absolute minimum protection for the accused. The due

process issue alone is sufficiently important to warrant

consideration by this Court, especially because the terms

of office of a military judge can be cut short by a military

officer who is the ultimate superior of both the judge and

the prosecutor.

i

22

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, petitioner prays that this Court

grant review of the questions presented in order to bring

the military court-martial system into line with accepted

principles of American jurisprudence, and ensure that

trials by court-martial are conducted and reviewed in a fair

and impartial manner.

Respectfully submitted,

ALLEN LOTZ

Lieutenant Commander,

U.S. Coast Guard

Commandant (G-LMJ)

2100 2nd Street, S.W.

Washington, D.C. 20593-0001

(202) 267-0115

Attorney for Petitioner

2S

TT EPO

APPENDIX A

U.S. COURT OF MILITARY APPEALS

No. 67,757

CMR No. 968

UNITED STATES, APPELLEE

V.

MICHAEL J. CARPENTER, SUBSISTENCE SPECIALIST

SECOND CLAss, U.S. Coast GUARD. APPELLANT

Argued March 2, 1993

Decided Aug. 3, 1993

37 M.J. 291

Counsel

For Appellant: Lieutenant Commander Allen Lotz

(argued); Lieutenant Commander G. Arthur Robbins.

For Appellee: Lieutenant Commander Charles J.

Bennadini (argued).

Opinion of the Court

GIERKE, Judge:

A military judge sitting as a general court-martial con-

victed appellant, contrary to his pleas, of two specifica-

tions of assault with a dangerous weapon, one specifica-

tion of impersonating an agent of superior authority, two

specifications of willfu'ly damaging military property, and

(la)

2a

one specification of dereliction of duty, in violation of Ar-

ticles 128, 134, 108, and 92, Uniform Code of Military

Justice, 10 USC §§ 928, 934, 908, and 892, respectively.

The approved sentence provides for a dishonorable

discharge, confinement for 15 months, and reduction to

the lowest enlisted grade. The Court of Military Review

aifirmed the findings and sentence. 34 MJ 681 (1992).

We granted review of the following issues:

WHETHER THE GENERAL COURT-MARTIAL

MILITARY JUDGE AND THE JUDGES OF

THE COURT OF MILITARY REVIEW WERE

APPOINTED IN VIOLATION OF THE AP-

POINTMENTS CLAUSE OF THE CONSTITU-

TION.

WHETHER THE ASSIGNMENT OF MILITARY

APPELLATE JUDGES TO SERVE ON THE

COAST GUARD COURT OF MILITARY

REVIEW AS A MERE COLLATERAL DUTY

COMPLIES WITH THE DUE PROCESS RE-

QUIREMENTS OF ARTICLE 66, UCMJ.

Ill

WHETHER THE COURT OF MILITARY RE-

VIEW ERRED WHEN IT CONCLUDED THAT

THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD NOT BE HELD

ACCOUNTABLE FOR THE DELAY CAUSED

BY A SECOND RCM 706 INQUIRY CON-

DUCTED TO REMEDY GOVERNMENT AC-

KNOWLEDGED FAILURE TO PERFORM AN

ADEQUATE RCM 706 INQUIRY IN THE FIRST

INSTANCE.

3a

Appointment of Military Judges

Appellant elected to be tried by Captain Douglas A.

Smith, United States Coast Guard, a full-time military

judge designated, certified, and detailed in accordance

with Article 26, UCMJ, 10 USC § 826. After appellant was

convicted and sentenced, his case was reviewed by the

Court of Military Review, composed of Chief Judge

Baum, the full-time civilian Chief Judge of the Coast

Guard Court of Military Review, and two Coast Guard

captains serving as part-time appellate military judges in

addition to their other legal duties. Chief Judge Baum is a

retired Navy captain who served as an appellate military

judge while on active duty.

We held in United States v. Weiss, 36 MJ 224, 226-27

(1992), cert. granted, _. U.S. __, 113 S.Ct. 2412, 124

L.Ed.2d 635 (1993), that judicial duties must be perform-

ed by “Officers of the United States.” For the reasons set

out in Weiss, we hold that the military judge who tried and

sentenced appellant and the two Coast Guard officers who

sat as members of the Court of Military Review were ap-

pointed in a manner consistent with the Appointments

Clause of the Constitution, art. II, § 2, cl. 2. Regarding

the appointment of the Chief Judge, we reserved judgment

in Weiss on the question “whether Congress inadvertently

exceeded its authority by vesting the powers of an ‘Officer

of the United States’ in civilians who had not been ap-

pointed in accordance with the Appointments Clause.” 36

MJ at 233.

Appellant’s case presents three questions left

unanswered in Weiss: (1) Are appellate military judges of

a Court of Military Review “principal” officers, who must

be appointed by the President and confirmed by the

Senate, or “inferior officers,” who may be appointed by

the President alone, a Department Head, or a Court of

4a

Law? (2) Does the Appointments Clause require that a

retired military officer, who has not been recalled to active

duty, receive a new appointment to sit as a member of a

Court of Military Review? and (3) If the Chief Judge of

the Coast Guard Court of Military Review was not ap-

pointed in accordance with the Appointments Clause, is

the decision of that court in appellant’s case valid?

The Appointments Clause distinguishes between “prin-

cipal” officers, although it does not use that term, and “in-

ferior officers,” which are mentioned expressly. See

Freytag v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue, __ U.S. _,

_-__, 111 S.Ct. 2631, 2641-42, 115 L.Ed.2d 764 (1991).

The distinction between a “principal” and an “inferior” of-

ficer is not necessarily founded in the officer’s level or

scope of responsibility but, rather, in the manner of ap-

pointment. For “principal” officers, the Appointments

Clause divides the power to appoint between the President

and the Senate, requiring both nomination by the Presi-

dent and confirmation by the Senate as preconditions to

appointment. Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 132, 96 S.Ct.

612, 688, 46 L.Ed.2d. 659 (1976). The Clause expressly ap-

plies only to “Ambassadors, other public Ministers and

Consuls, (and) Judges of the supreme Court.” U.S.

Const., art. II § 2, cl. 2. Congress has the constitutional

power to decide who are otherwise “principal” officers. If

Congress chooses not to allow the President, the head of a

department, or a court of law to appoint an officer

without Senate confirmation, then that officer remains a

“principal” officer in the residual category of “all other

Officers of the United States, whose Appointments are not

herein otherwise provided for, and which shall be

established by law.” if Congress allows the President, the

head of a department, or a court of law to appoint certain

officers without Senate confirmation, then those officers

Sa

are “inferior officers.” Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. at 132,

96 S.Ct. at 688.

Congress has authorized the Secretary of Transporta-

tion to “appoint . . . officers and employees of the Depart-

ment of Transportation,” of which the Coast Guard is a

part (14 USC § 1), without Senate confirmation. 49 USC

§ 323. The Secretary of Transportation is the head of a

“department” as that term is used in the Appointments

Clause, since he is the head of one of the cabinet-level ex-

ecutive departments. See 5 USC § 101; Freytag v. C.1.R.,

__ U.S. at __, 111 S.Ct. at 2643, 115 L.Ed.2d at 785. Since

Congress has expressly delegated the appointment of “of-

ficers” within the Department of Transportation to the

Secretary of Transportation, the Appointments Clause

would be satisfied if the Secretary of Transportation ap-

pointed the judges of the Coast Guard Court of Military

Review. !

At the time appellant’s case was decided, judges of the

Coast Guard Court of Military Review were appointed by

the General Counsel, Department of Transportation, who

is also the Judge Advocate General for the United States

Coast Guard. See United States v. Claxton, 32 MJ 159,

160 n. * (CMA 1991). In view of 5 USC § 101, the General

Counsel is not a department head, so appointment by him

does not satisfy the Appointments Clause.

The Government argues that the General Counsel acted

as delegee of the Secretary of Transportation in appoint-

ing the judges of the Coast Guard Court of Military

Review. We reject that argument as inconsistent with the

' During oral argument we were advised by counsel that the

Secretary of Transportation, a department head within the meaning of

the Appointments Clause, see 37 MJ at 293, appointed all members of

the Court of Military Review on January 15, 1993, fully complying

with the Appointments Clause as of that date. See Appendix.

6a

intent of the framers of the Constitution to prevent “the

diffusion of the appointment power.” Freytag v. C.1.R.,

__ U.S. at _, 111 S.Ct. at 2638, 115 L.Ed.2d at 779; see

United States v. Weiss, 36 MJ at 226. Delegation of the

power to appoint “inferior officers” to the General

Counsel would violate the Appointments Clause, because

“the Constitution limits congressional discretion to vest

power to appoint ‘inferior officers’ to three sources: the

President alone, the Heads of Departments, and ‘the

Court of Law,’” Freytag v. C.1.R., __ U.S. at _, 111

S.Ct. at 2638, 115 L.Ed.2d at 779. Accordingly, we hold

that appointment of the Chief Judge of the Coast Guard

Court of Military Review by the General Counsel! of the

Department of Transportation does not satisfy the Ap-

pointments Clause.

The Government argues that, because the Chief Judge

of the Coast Guard Court of Military Review is a retired

Navy captain, he is already an Officer of the United States

by virtue of his military commission, so he does not need a

second judicial appointment to serve as an appellate mili-

tary judge. See United States v. Prive, 35 MJ 569, 579

(CGCMR i992) (Baum, C.J., concurring). There are two

flaws in this argument which cause us to reject it. First,

Chief Judge Baum is not acting in his capacity as a Navy

captain when he sits as an appellate military judge for the

Coast Guard. The Directory of Coast Guard Lawyers and

Billets, submitted with appellant’s pleadings, reflects that

the billet for the Chief Judge is a civilian billet. Chief

Judge Baum is paid as a civilian employee (GS-15), not as

a Navy captain, for his service as Chief Judge. When

retired officers are needed to perform military duties, they

are recalled to active duty and paid at the rate provided for

their military grade. See 10 USC § 688. Chief Judge Baum

was not recalled to active duty to serve on the Court of

7a

Military Review; he was appointed as a civilian to a

civilian office. In short, he is not discharging the office of

captain, United States Navy, but that of a senior civilian

within the Coast Guard.

Second, Chief Judge Baum’s duties as Chief Judge are

not “germane” to the duties of a retired Navy officer. A

retired military officer is an Officer of the United States.

See McCarty v. McCarty, 453 U.S. 210, 221-22, 101 S.Ct.

2728, 2735-36, 69 L.Ed.2d 589 (1981); United States v.

Tyler, 105 U.S. 244, 26 L.Ed. 985 (1882); Flower v. United

States, 31 Ct.Cl. 35, 1800 WL 1926 (1895). Nevertheless, a

retired officer has no duties; he is in the status of an of-

ficer “placed on waiting orders.” Flower v. United States,

supra at 41; see Gibson v. United States, 47 Ct.Cl. 554,

1911 EL 1380 (1912). Since Chief Judge Baum has no

duties as a retired officer, the “germane duties” analysis of

Weiss and Shoemaker v. United States, 147 U.S. 282, 301,

13 S.Ct. 361, 391, 37 L.Ed. 170 (1893), cannot apply to

him.

Finally, the Government argues that Chief Judge Baum

is not a “civilian” because Article 142(b), UCMJ, 10 USC

§ 942(b), requiring that judges of the Court of Military

Appeals be appointed “from civilian life,” specifically ex-

cludes certain retired military officers (including Chief

Judge Baum) from the definition of “civilian life,” see Art.

142(b)(4). While Chief Judge Baum may not be a

“civilian” for purposes of appointment to the Court of

Military Appeals, we regard that definition as limited to

Article 142, which was intended to ensure that the Court

of Military Appeals be an independent civilian court unen-

cumbered by ties to any of the military services.

Based on the foregoing analysis, we hold that Chief

Judge Baum’s status as a retired military officer does not

satisfy the Appointments Clause.

8a

We next turn to the question of the effect of the Chief

Judge’s defective appointment. Just as the acts of the

federal election commissioners were accorded de facto

validity in Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. at 142, 96 S.Ct. at

693, we hold that the judicial acts of the Chief Judge are

entitled to de facto validity. Accordingly, we hold that the

decision of the Court of Military Review in this case is

valid, . . withstanding the defective appointment of the

Chief Judge.

Part-Time Judges

Appellant contends that he was denied due process of

law because two appellate military judges of the panel

which decided his case were not assigned to the Court of

Military Review as a primary duty. The Coast Guard

Organization Manual, COMDTINST M5400.7C (7

Dec.1990), provides:

The Court of Military Review, established under Arti-

cle 66, UCMJ, by the Judge Advocate General

(General Counsel DOT) is composed of the Chief

Judge and not less than two additional appellate

military judges. The judges may be commissioned of-

ficers or civilians. The Coast Guard Court of Military

Review is normally composed of one panel of five ap-

pellate judges. All but the Chief Judge are normally

Division Chiefs who serve on the court as a collateral

duty.

COMDTINST M5400.7C, supra at 2.7.8.

Appellant bases his argument on two decisions from our

Court which held that it was jurisdictional error to detail

military judges to general courts-martial whose primary

duty was other than judicial duties. United States v.

Beckermann, 27 MJ 334 (CMA 1989); United States v.

el

eee

9a

Moorehead, 20 USCMA 574, 44 CMR 4 (1971). Those

decisions are distinguishable from appellant’s case because

they were based on Article 26(c) of the Code which pro-

vides:

A conimissioned officer who is certified to be

qualified for duty as a military judge of a general

court-martial may perform such duties only when he

is assigned and directly responsible to the Judge Ad-

vocate General, or his designee, of the armed force of

which the military judge is a member and may per-

form duties of a judicial or nonjudicial nature other

than those relating to his primary duty as a military

judge of a general court-martial when such duties are

assigned to him by or with the approval of that Judge

Advocate General or his designee.

No such or similar provision is found in Article 66, UC-

MJ, 10 USC § 866, pertaining to appellate military judges

assigned to a Court of Military Review. We have found

nothing in the legislative history of Article 66 indicating

that Congress intended that the duty restrictions of Article

26(c) be incorporated in Article 66. We decided

Moorehead on the basis of a statutory requirement, not

constitutional due process. The purpose of the statutory

requirement was explained in Beckermann: “to assure the

independence and the professionalism of the judges who

presided over general court-martial.” 27 MJ at 338. The

concern of Congress in enacting Article 26(c) was to

remove trial judges from the command of convening

authorities and commanders in the field and place them

under the direct supervision and control of the Judge Ad-

vocate General or his designee. /d. In United States v.

Graf, 35 MJ 450 (CMA 1992), cert. granted sub nom.

Weiss v. United States, supra (see 37 MJ at 293), we grap-

pled with the requirement for judicial independence at

: er

10a

both the trial and appellate levels, and we concluded that,

even without a fixed term of office, both trial and ap-

pellate military judges enjoy institutional protections suf-

ficient to guarantee their judicial independence and

thereby satisfy constitutional due process. The Coast

Guard Organization Manual provides institutional in-

dependence by requiring that only division chiefs in the of-

fice of the Chief Counsel, not subject to the control of

convening authorities in the field, be assigned collateral

duty as appellate military judges. 37 MJ at 295. Accor-

dingly, we are satisfied that the appellate military judges

who decided appellant’s case were sufficiently independent

to satisfy the requirements of constitutional due process.

We hold that, absent a statutory provision such as that

in Article 26(c), there is no constitutional or statutory re-

quirement that appellate military judges perform only

judicial duties or that they serve as full-time judges.

Whether such a requirement would be desirable is a ques-

tion for Congress, not this Court. See United States v.

Weiss, 36 MJ at 234.

Speedy Trial

At trial, appellant moved to dismiss the charges for lack

of speedy trial. At issue is the period from May 7 to June

4, 1990, during which a second inquiry into appellant’s

mental capacity to stand trial was conducted, pursuant to

the order of the military judge. If that period is charged to

the Government, appellant is entitled to dismissal of the

charges in accordance with RCM 707(d), Manual for

Courts-Martial, United States, 1984.

Appellant was placed in pretrial confinement on

February 3, 1990. His commander ordered a one-member

sanity board on the following grounds:

SS2 Carpenter is charged with serious UCMJ offenses

alleging willful discharge of a firearm on two separate

lla

occasions into living spaces, which placed the in-

habitants in serious physical danger. On one occa-

sion, the accused discharged a .22 caliber rife (sic) in-

to the communications spaces inhabited by the Coast

Guard Station Brant Point watchstanders. In the

other instance, SS2 Carpenter allegedly fired the same

.22 caliber rifle with a scope through the bathroom

window of a government owned housing unit, which

was then occupied by a Coast Guard dependent wife.

In the course of the investigation of these instances,

SS2 Carpenter supposedly falsely portrayed himself

as a Coast Guard Intelligence Agent to the local

police so that he could examine any evidence that had

been collected. Additionally, there is information

which indicates that SS2 Carpenter had received

psychological testing and evaluation as a result of his

response to stressful situations in the past. Due to the

seriousness of the charges and the apparent lack of a

discernible motive on the part of the accused, an ex-

amination into the accused’s mental condition is

deemed warranted.

Appellant was examined by the one-member sanity

board on March 5, 1990. On March 12 the sanity board

issued its report finding appellant competent to stand trial.

The charges were referred to a general court-martial on

April 24.

On May 3, 1990, trial counsel informed defense counsel

that he belived that appellant was not competent to stand

trial. Trial counsel based his belief on information that ap-

pellant was continuing to claim that he was a United States

Treasury Agent and that appellant claimed to have been

associated with the “CIA,” so he might be suffering from a

“grandiose delusional disorder.” See 34 MJ at 682.

l2a

Both trial counsel and defense counsel visited the con-

vening authority to discuss the possibility of alternate

disposition of the case if appellant was not competent. The

convening authority suggested raising the issue with the

military judge.

At a conference under RCM 802 on the same day, trial

counsel requested the military judge to order a new sanity

board. Defense counsel indicated that the original sanity

board had been “cursory and inadequate,” that he did not

oppose the motion for a new sanity board, but that he

could not request it because “it would strain his relation-

ship with his client.” On May 4 the military judge ordered

a second sanity board. At a later RCM 802 conference, ap-

pellant objected to any further delays of his case and in-

formed the military judge that he disagreed with his

counsel’s decision not to oppose the request for a new sani-

ty board.

On May I1, 1990, defense counsel learned that ap-

pellant’s references to “CIA” were to the Culinary Institute

of America, not the Central Intelligence Agency. Counsel

requested another RCM 802 conference to inform the

military judge that he no longer considered a second sanity

board necessary and to request that the charges be dis-

missed for a violation of RCM 707 or that “trial proceed

immediately.” Trial counsel argued that a second sanity

board was still necessary because appellant “had been

misrepresenting himself as a treasury agent for the past 8

years” and had engaged in “other bizarre behavior,” in-

cluding drawing a weapon on a fellow crew member and

threatening a local civilian police officer. The military

judge informed both counsel that he “would NOT enter-

tain” a motion to dismiss in an RCM 802 conference but

that he “remained convinced” of the need for a new sanity

board.

l3a

Arrangements were made to have appellant evaluated

by a three-member sanity board at Lackland Air Force

Base, located in San Antonio, Texas. On May 14 appellant

arrived at Lackland for an estimated 2-week period of in-

patient evaluation. After “extensive observation,

psychological testing, an electroencephalogram, and a

computed tomogram (CT scan) of his head” as well as a

personal interview, the sanity board determined that ap-

pellant had “sufficient mental capacity” to stand trial. On

May 25 he was returned to his home duty station in Nan-

tucket, Massachusetts.

When the court-martial convened on June 4, 1990,

defense counsel moved to dismiss the charges for violation

of RCM 707. As the basis for his argument that the time

required for the second sanity board should be charged to

the Government, defense counsel argued that the Govern-

ment had negligently misinterpreted appellant’s reference

to the “CIA” and that the two instances of bizarre

behavior used to justify the second sanity board were

known to the Government in February, well before the

first sanity board, but were not made known to that sanity

board. Defense counsel did not assert “bad faith” on the

part of the Government.

The military judge denied the motion to dismiss. In his

written findings of fact and ruling on the motion, the

military judge stated that his bases for ordering a second

sanity board were:

(1) the trial counsel’s representations that the infor-

mation concerning the accused’s claims to be an agent

of various other government agencies had not been

brought to the attention of the initial RCM 706 Board

and (2) both counsel’s representations that the actual

examination which formed the basis for the first

RCM 706 report (Def.Ex.B) had only lasted 2-3

hours.

l4a

Regarding the mistaken references to the “CIA,” the

military judge stated:

[T]he defense counsel’s representation on 11 May

1990 that the Government’s mistaken belief that the

accused had represented himself to be a CIA agent

eight years ago was not enough to convince me that a

further examination was no longer necessary. I reach-

ed this conclusion because I never specifically relied

on that piece of information in making my original

decision to order the new evaluation. The basis for

continuing my order was that the prior evaluation was

not trustworthy and that a more thorough evaluation

would serve the ends of justice.

The military judge ruled that the “entire period” re-

quired for the second sanity board, from May 7 until June

4, 1990, was excludable from the time chargeable to the

Government. By excluding that period from the time

chargeable to the Government along with a total of 19

days which are not challenged, the military judge charged

the Government with responsibility for only 74 of the 122

days of delay.

Two issues are involved: (1) Did the military judge

abuse his discretion by ordering a second sanity board?

and (2) was the time required to conduct the second sanity

board properly excluded from the time chargeable to the

Government?

The question whether additional psychiatric examina-

tion is necessary rests within the discretion of the military

judge and is reviewable only for abuse of discretion.

United States v. Frederick, 3 MJ 230, 232-33 (CMA 1977).

We hold that the military judge did not abuse his discre-

tion by ordering a second sanity board in this case. Both

counsel regarded the first sanity board as cursory and in-

adequate. Both counsel informed the military judge that

iSa

the first sanity board had not considered significant rele-

vant information. Under the circumstances, it was well

within the limits of the military judge’s discretion to order

a second sanity board.

Turning to the second issue, we note that RCM 707(d)

and (e), prior to that Rule’s amendment on July 6, 1991,

provided that failure to bring an accused held in pretrial

confinement to trial within 90 days “shall result in

dismissal of the affected charges upon timely motion by

the accused.” RCM 707(c)(1)A) specifically excluded

from the 90-day period any delays resulting from an “ex-

amination into the mental capacity or responsibility of the

accused.” Nevertheless, as we stated in United States v.

Longhofer, 29 MJ 22, 27 (CMA 1989), “[I]t cannot be said

that the mere happening of any of the events listed in

RCM 707(c)\(1)-(8) results in an aufomatic exclusion,

because all of them contemplate that the length of time ex-

cluded will be reasonable.”

Appellant argues that the delay attributable to the sec-

ond sanity board is not reasonable because the Govern.

ment was negligent. See United States v. Longhofer, 29

MJ at 29 (exclusion is inapplicable when the Government

has not been “reasonably diligent” in pursuing pretrial

matters). He argues that a second sanity board would not

lave been necessary if the Government had provided al!

relevant information to the first sanity board. The Court

of Military Review rejected the “negligence” standard and

decided the speedy-trial issue on a “bad-faith” standard.

34 MJ at 685. We hold that the correct standard is neither

negligence nor bad faith; the correct standard under

Longhofer is reasonabieness.

The Longhofer requirement that excludable periods of

time be “reasonabie” does not necessarily require mistake

free processing. Nevertheless, evidence of either

16a

negligence or bad faith is relevant to the extent that it

proves whether the event in question was accomplished in

a reasonable period of time. The parties do not dispute

that the second sanity board in this case was conducted in

a reasonable period of time. Having reviewed the record,

we hold that the period from May 7 to June 4 was a

reasonable time to arrange for an extensive evaluation in a

facility operated by a sister service in a distant place. Ac-

cordingly, we hold that the Court of Military Review did

not err in holding that the Government should not be held

accountable for the delay caused by the second sanity

board.

Assuming arguendo that the time consumed by the first

sanity board was “unreasonable” because the board was

not conducted properly, adding the period from March 5

to 12 to the time chargeable to the Government still leaves

the total chargeable time well below 90 days. Accordingly,

we hold that appellant was not entitled to dismissal of the

charges for a violation of RCM 707(d).

We have also considered whether appellant is entitled to

dismissal of the charges under the more stringent re-

quirements of United States v. Burton, 21 USCMA 112,

44 CMR 166 (1971), as modified by United States v.

Driver, 23 USCMA 243, 49 CMR 376 (1974). The record

does not reflect whether the first psychiatric examination

was requested by the defense or was simply ordered by the

command. In either event, the delay associated with that

examination is not chargeable to the Government. See

United States v. McClain, 1 MJ 60, 63 (CMA 1975)

(psychiatric examination requested by pretrial investi-

gating officer not chargeable to Government). The second

psychiatric examination was ordered by the military judge,

not because of the mistaken references to the “CIA” but

because he was convinced that appellant’s behavior

17a

warranted a more extensive evaluation. This delay likewise

is not chargeable to the Government. /d. The delay

associated with the two psychiatric examinations, when

added to earlier delays requested by the defense, brings the

time chargeable to the Government below 90 days.

Therefore, the Burton presumption of a violation of Arti-

cle 10, UCMJ, 10 USC § 810, was not triggered in this

case.?

Decision

The decision of the United States Coast Guard Court of

Military Review is affirmed.

Judge Cox concurs.

* Having found no Burton violation, we need not decide whether

RCM 707, Manual for Courts-Martial, United States, 1984, supersed-

ed Burton. See United States v. Kossman, 37 MJ 232 (CMA 1993)

(raising issue whether RCM 707 overruled Burton).

18a

APPENDIX

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Office of the Secretary of Transportation

MEMORANDUM

Subject: APPOINTMENT OF APPELLATE MILITARY

JUDGES TO THE COAST GUARD COURT OF

MILITARY REVIEW

Date: January 15, 1993

From: The Secretary

To: Chief Judge, U.S. Coast Guard Court of Military

Review

1. The assignment of appellate military judges to the

Coast Guard Court of Military Review, as reflected in the

General Counsel’s memo of April 20, 1992, is adopted this

date as judicial appointments of my own. Those judges

presently assigned and appointed by me are:

Chief Judge

Joseph H. Baum

Judges

Alfred F. Bridgman, Jr.

Michael C. Grace

John A. Bastek

Terrance M. Edwards

The judicial duties and powers of these judges will be as

prescribed under the Uniform Code of Military Justice.

19a

SULLIVAN, Chief Judge (concurring):

I agree with the principal opinion in this case, although |

dissented in United States v. Weiss, 36 MJ 224, 240 (CMA

1992), cert. granted, _. U.S. __, 113 S.Ct. 2412, 124

L.Ed.2d 635 (1993). I perceive no inconsistency in this

regard because of the manner in which the particular Ap-

pointments Clause, see 37 MJ at 293, question is resolved

in this case.

CRAWFORD, Judge (concurring in part and in the result):

i wholeheartedly concur with the principal opinion con-

cerning the discussion of part-time judges and the speedy

trial issue. However, I only concur in the result as to ap-

plication of the Appointments Clause, see 37 MJ at 293, to

appellate judges. United States v. Weiss, 36 MJ 224, 234

(CMA 1992) (Crawford, J., concurring in the result), cert.

granted, __ U.S. __, 113 S.Ct. 2412, 124 I..Ed.2d 635

(1993).

Wiss, Judge (concurring in part and in the result):

As to Issue I, | concur in the result. For the reasons that

I set Out in my dissenting opinion in United States vy.

Weiss, 36 MJ 224, 256 (CMA 1992), cert. granted, __ U.S.

—, 113 S.Ct. 2412, 124 L.Ed.2d 635 (1993), I believe that

neither the military judge nor any of the appellate judges

were properly appointed. However, | am willing to apply

the de facto-appointee rationale of Buckley v. Valeo, 424

U.S. 1, 96 S.Ct. 612, 46 L.Ed.2d 659 (1976), to this case:

Concerning the military judge and the associate judges of

the Court of Military Review, the majority in Weiss ap-

proved their appointment, so I will consider them de facto

appointees; as to the Chief Judge of the Court of Military

Review, since he acted on this case before this Court held

his appointment improper, | join in extending his appoint-

ment de facto validity.

20a

Regarding Issue II, | must confess some misgivings

about at least the appearance of lack of total objectivity

when associate appellate judges’ principal assignments are

as division chiefs under the immediate supervision of the

Chief Counsel, the Coast Guard’s top-ranking uniformed

lawyer. The unanimous opinion of this Court in United

States v. Graf, 35 MJ 450 (CMA 1992), cert. granted sub

nom. Weiss v. United States, supra, however, ultimately

persuades me to concur in the principal opinion that due-

process notions are not offended by the Coast Guard’s

structure of its Court of Military Review.

As to Issue III, I concur in the principal opinion’s

discussion and disposition of the claimed denial of speedy

trial under RCM 707, Manual for Courts-Martial, United

States, 1984. I concur only in the result, however, with the

disposition of the speedy-trial claim under United States v.

Burton, 21 USCMA 112, 44 CMR 166 (1971). I do not

read the Court’s opinion in United States v. McClain, |

MJ 60 (CMA 1975), to support a black-letter rule that a

pretrial psychiatric examination is never chargeable to the

Government for Burton purposes. The Court there took

pains to make clear to the contrary:

For the purposes of this case, and without definitively

assigning to which party the period involved in a sani-

ty inquiry is chargeable, the 18-day delay in the Arti-

cle 32 investigation for the examination of this accused

will not be considered against the Government.

Id. at 63. In any event, assuming that this case does give

rise to the Burton presumption of a violation of Article 10,

Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10 USC § 810, the fac-

tual circumstances fully set out in the principal opinion

lead me to conclude that extraordinary circumstances ac-

counted for not trying appellant within 90 days of his

pretrial confinement so that the presumption is rebutted.

2la

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COAST GUARD

COURT OF MILITARY REVIEW

CGCM No. 0042

Docket No. 968

UNITED STATES

V.

MICHAEL J. CARPENTER, SUBSISTENCE SPECIALIST

SECOND CLASS, U.S. CoAstT GUARD

January 27, 1992

34 M.J. 681

General Court-Martial convened by Commander, First

Coast Guard District, Boston, Massachusetts. Tried at the

Office of the Commander, First Coast Guard District,

Boston, Massachusetts on 11-14 June 1990.

Military Judge: CAPT Douglas A. Smith, USCG.

Trial Counsel: LT John B. Gately, USCG

Defense Counsel: LT Jeffrey D. Stieb, USCG

Appellate Defense Counsel: LCDR G. Arthur Robbins,

USCG

Appellate Government Counsel: LCDR Charles J.

Bennardini, USCG

BEFORE

PANEL TWO

BAUM, GRACE, AND BASTEK

Appellate Military Judges

22a

GRACE, Judge:

The Appellant was tried by a general court-martial con-

sisting of a military judge alone. Contrary to his pleas, he

was found guilty of two specifications of assault with a

dangerous weapon under Article 128 of the Uniform Code

of Military Justice (UCMJ), one specification of imper-

sonating an agent of superior authority under Article 134,

UCMJ, two specifications of willfully damaging military

property under Article 108, UCMJ, and one specification

of dereliction of duty under Article 92, UCMJ. He was

sentenced to confinement at hard labor for fifteen

months, reduction to the lowest enlisted pay grade (E-1),

and to be discharged from the service with a Dishonorable

Discharge. The convening authority approved the sentence

as adjudged.

On the evening of 31 January 1990, the Communica-

tions Watch at the Brant Point Coast Guard Station on

Nantucket Island was disrupted when four .22 caliber

bullets smashed through the watchroom’s double-plated

glass window where a Coast Guard watchstander was on

duty. Two nights later, at a Coast Guard government

housing unit, three more shots were fired through a bath-

room window just as the occupant left the bathroom and

turned out the light. No one was injured in either incident.

Petty Officer Second Class Michael Carpenter was ac-

cused of firing the shots and was arrested and placed in

pretrial confinement.

The Appellant has raised four errors before this court.

Oral argument was heard on October 17, 1991, and the

case is ready for decision.

Petty Officer Carpenter was arrested and placed in pre-

trial confinement on 3 February 1990. On March §, the

Convening Authority ordered a sanity board under Rule

for Courts-Martial 706. “If it appears to any commander

23a

who considers the disposition of charges . . . that there is

reason to believe that the accused lacked mental respon-

sibility for any offense charged or lacks capacity to stand

irial, that fact and the basis of the belief or observation

shall be transmitted . . . to the officer authorized to order

an inquiry into the mental condition of the accused.”

R.C.M. 706(a). The Convening Authority is authorized to

order such an inquiry before referral of charges. R.C.M.

706(b). The basis for ordering the evaluation was “the

seriousness of the charges and apparent lack of discernible

motive on the part of the accused. .. .” Commander,

U.S. Coast Guard Group Woods Hole letter dated 5

March 1990. After an examination by a one-person board,

the Appellant was declared mentally competent to par-

ticipate in his own defense and was found not to be suffer-

ing from a mental disease or defect at the time of the com-

mission of the offenses.

On 3 May 1990, the Trial Counsel informed the Defense

Counsel that he believed that the Appellant was not com-

petent to stand trial. The Trial Counsel had recently

learned that the Appellant continued to claim that he was

a United States Treasury Agent. The Trial Counsel had

also received information that the Appellant had claimed

to have been with the C.I.A. This information led the

Trial Counsel to believe that the Appellant might be suf-

fering from a grandiose delusional disorder. Additional

information had also come to the Trial Counsel’s attention

that Appellant had made threats against a local police of-

ficer and had “drawn down” on a fellow crewmember on

31 January 1990. (“Drawing down” apparently involved

pointing a pistol at the crewmember and continuing to

point it at him for an extended period of time.)

On May 5, 1990, the Trial Counsel requested another

sanity evaluation under R.C.M. 706. An R.C.M. 802 Con-

24a

ference was held,' in which the Defense Counsel! con-

curred in Trial Counsel’s request.

Based on the representations by the Trial Counsel, the

military judge ordered the second R.C.M. 706 evalua-

tion.? In his “Essential Findings and Ruling on Speedy

Trial Motion” he stated that the deciding factors in order-

ing a second R.C.M. 706 evaluation were: “(1) the trial

counsel’s representations that the information concerning

the accused’s claims to be an agent of various other

government agencies had not been brought to the atten-

tion of the initial R.C.M. 706 Board and (2) both counsel’s

representations that the actual examination which formed

the basis for the first R.C.M. 706 report (Def. Ex. B) had

only lasted 2-3 hours.” Appellate Exhibit XL at page 2.

[Emphasis appears in the original.}| He went on to say

“Itlhe basis for continuing my order was that the prior

evaluation was not trustworthy and that a more thorough

evaluation would serve the ends of justice.” Appellate Ex-

hibit XL at page 2.

The first evidence was presented on the merits 123 days

after the Appellant was ordered into pretrial confinement

on 6 June 1990. The Appellant moved for dismissal of all

charges based upon a denial of his right to a speedy trial.

R.C.M. 707° requires that an accused be brought to trial

' R.C.M. 802. Conferences.

(a) In general. After referral, the military judge may, upon re-

quest of any party or sua sponte, order one or more conferences with

the parties to consider such matters as will promote a fair and ex-

peditious trial.

2“. The military judge may order a mental examination of the

accused regardless of any earlier determination by the convening

authority.” R.C.M. 706(b)(2).

> R.C.M. 707 was changed by Change No. 5 to the M.C.M. on 27

June 1991. However, since this case was tried before that change was

in affect, all references to R.C.M.s are to the R.C.M. in effect on the

date of trial.

25a

within 120 days after the imposition of restriction in lieu

of arrest, or pretrial confinement pursuant to R.C.M.

304(a). In addition, R.C.M. 707(d) requires that im-

mediate steps shall be taken to bring to trial an accused in

pretrial arrest or confinement under R.C.M. 304 or 305. It

also provides that no accused shall be held in pretrial ar-

rest or confinement in excess of 90 days. If an accused is

held in pretrial confinement beyond 90 days (not counting

certain deductible periods), a presumption arises that the

accused’s right to a speedy trial has been violated. U.S. v.

Burton, 21 U.S.C.M.A. 112, 44 C.M.R. 166 (1971). Cer-

tain periods are excluded from the Government’s account-

ability when calculating the 90 days under R.C.M. 707(d).

The military judge took evidence on the motion and made

essential findings. The military judge denied the Ap-

pellant’s motion for dismissal after concluding that four

periods of delay, including a 29-day delay associated with

a second R.C.M. 706 evaluation, were excluded from the

Government’s accountability.

* The military judge ruled that the following were excluded from

Government accountability: |. The first R.C.M. 706 examination §-12

March 1990, 8 days; 2. A defense requested delay in the Article 32 In-

vestigation 17-26 March 1990, 8 days; 3. A defense requested delay 4-7

May 1990, 3 days; and 4. The second R.C.M. 706 examination 7

May-4 June 1990, 29 days. “Essential Findings and Ruling on Speedy

Trial Motion,” Appellate Exhibit XL.

26a

Assignment of Error 1

THE MILITARY JUDGE ERRED TO THE

SUBSTANTIAL PREJUDICE OF THE AC-

CUSED, BY EXCLUDING FROM GOVERN-

MENT SPEEDY TRIAL ACCOUNTABILITY

THE UNREASONABLE DELAY CREATED BY

A SECOND R.C.M. 706 EVALUATION THAT

WAS A RESULT OF THE GOVERNMENT'S

FAILURE TO ADEQUATELY CONDUCT THE

INITIAL R.C.M. 706 EVALUATION.

There are two aspects to the ordering of the second

R.C.M. 706 examination. The first is whether the military

judge acted properly in ordering the second examination.

The second is whether the Government should be held ac-

countable for the 29-day delay that occurred while the ex-

amination was conducted and the board’s report was filed.

The Appellant focused this appeal on the latter aspect

and argues that the military judge committed prejudicial

error by failing to hold the Government accountable for

its negligence in conducting the first R.C.M. 706 examina-

tion without providing the medical board all relevant in-

formation in the possession oi the Government. Before

discussing that issue, we will dispose of any doubt con-

cerning the first aspect of this issue.

“{T]he question of whether another examination was

necessary was a matter within the discretion of the military

judge.” U.S. v. Frederick, 3 M.J. 230, 232-233 (CMA

1977). This Court is satisfied that the military judge did

not abuse his discretion by ordering a second R.C.M. 706

examination. The judge conducted a full inquiry into the

necessity for a second sanity board. His ruling is sup-

ported by the evidence on the record. His ruling was well

within his discretion, and we find he did not abuse that

discretion.

27a

The issue raised by the Appellant is not one concerning

the appropriateness of the judge’s ruling, but rather

whether the Government should be charged for the 29-day

delay resulting from the second R.C.M. 706 examination.

The military judge ruled that the 29-day delay should be

excluded from the Government’s accountability. The Ap-

pellant is asking us to overrule the military judge and

charge the delay to the Government due to its negligence

by failing to make certain information available to the

first R.C.M. 706 board.

The military judge held the Government accountable

for 74 days of delay under the Speedy Trial Rule (R.C.M.

707(d) ). If the Appellant’s argument prevails, 29 addi-

tional days would be added to the Government’s accoun-

tability bringing the total to 103 days thereby violating the

R.C.M. 707 (d) 90-day rule.

At trial it became clear that, although the Trial Counsel

believed the information provided to the military judge at

the R.C.M. 802 Conference to be new, a Government in-

vestigator had learned of these incidents as early as 13 or

14 February 1990. Also the reference to the C.I.A. was

found to be a reference to the Culinary Institute of

America, not the Central Intelligence Agency.

Despite the fact that agents of the Government knew of

these incidents and they were not reported to the first

R.C.M. 706 board, the military judge found “that the

government did not act in bad faith in failing to inform the

initial R.C.M. 706 Board about the accused’s claimed in-

volvement with other government agencies or about the

two incidents described (Threats and ‘drawing down’) in

Para. 2 of App. Exh. VII.” Appellate Exhibit XL at page

3. He went on to say “I also find that the government did

not act in bad faith in misinterpreting the information it

received about the ‘CIA’ from then SSC Bernard.” Ap-

pellate Exhibit XL at page 3.

28a

As far as this Court can determine, there are no

established standards for what must be presented to a

board conducting an R.C.M. 706 evaluation. Moreoever,

we have found no cases on the precise issue before this

Court: whether there are exceptions to the R.C.M. 707 (c)

(1)(A) mandate requiring exclusion from speedy trial com-

putation of delay resulting from examination into the

mental capacity or responsibility of an accused and, if

there are such exceptions, under what circumstances

should they apply. In other words, when, if ever, should

the Government be held accountable for the delay

resulting from an R.C.M. 706 mental evaluation of the ac-

cused?

While no cases have been found directly on point, there

is language in U.S. v. Tebsherany, 32 M.J. 351 (CMA

1991) which offers guidance. That case dealt with a speedy

trial issue and the accountability for delay requested by the

defense. When determining whether the requirement for

trial within 120 days has been met, R.C.M. 707 (c)(3) calls

for exclusion of defense requested delay in the same man-

ner as delay from mental examination under R.C.M. 707

(c)(1)(A).

Despite that provision, Judge Cox, in U.S. v. Teb-

sherany supra, points to at least one instance when defense

requested delay may be included in the 120 days for which

the Government is accountable:

If the Government interferes with discovery or acts in

had faith to preclude defense counsel’s preparation

for...{an Article 32 investigation] proceeding, an ac-

cused would be deprived of his right to effective

representation. From this, it would follow that time

requested by counsel to examine material not disclos-

ed until the pretrial investigation might, under facts

showing bad faith, be charged to the United States in

accounting for pretrial delay. (Emphasis added)

29a

Here, the Appellant has asked this Court to take a giant

leap beyond that contemplated in U.S. v. Tebsherany,

supra, citing as authority language in l’.S. v. Longhofer,

29 M.J. 22, 27 (CMA 1989}, U.S. v. Carlisle, 25 M.J. 426,

428 (CMA 1988) and U.S. v. Cherok, 22 M.J. 438, 440

(CMA 1986). Appellant argues that negligence rather than

bad faith on the part of the Government should require

charging the Government with the delay from the second

mental examination board. Appellant asserts that infor-

mation used as a basis for requesting the second R.C.M.

706 board was known by Government agents at the time of

the first examination and should have been transmitted to

that first board. Negligence is not providing that known

information to the first board and the negligent manner in

which the first examination was conducted should shift ac-

countablity for delay to the Government, according to Ap-

pellant.

We need not reach the question whether there was, in

fact, negligence on the part of the Government because we

do not believe that negligence is the proper standard for

assessing whether delay normally excluded from speedy

trial computation should be charged to the Government.

U.S. v. Tebsherany, supra, suggests a “bad faith” standard

for such matters, and we agree with that approach. That,

in fact, was the standard the trial judge applied when he

made his findings.

Accordingly, we reject the argument that this Court

should establish a “negligence” standard for the informa-

tion that must be provided to a R.C.M. 706 Board. We

find that the military judge’s use of “bad faith,” as the

standard to be applied to the Government in this case, ap-

propriate for measuring the Government’s actions when

providing information to a board convened under R.C.M.

706.

30a

As a separate matter, the Discussion section, following

the R.C.M. 707(d) 90-day confinement provision, refers to

judicial decisions holding that a presumption of speedy

trial violation arises when an accused has been in pretrial

confinement for more than 90 days. This is based on the

language found in U.S. v. Burton, supra. Our reading of

R.C.M. 707(d) in conjunction with U.S. v. Burton, supra,

leads us to conclude that a two-part analysis must be done

when analyzing delays in bringing an accused to trial who

was in pretrial confinement for longer than 90 days. We

must be satisfied that the delays excluded from the

Government’s accountability were properly excluded

under R.C.M. 707(d) and that the Government has over-

come its heavy burden under U.S. v. Burton, supra, to

show that the accused’s right to a speedy trial under Article

10, UCMJ was not violated. The discussion of that rule in-

dicates that reasonable delays for examinations into men-

tal capacity or mental responsibility ordinarily are not in-

cluded in the 90-day presumption. No elaboration of the

term reasonable is provided—whether it relates only to

length of delay or is broad enough to encompass

reasonableness in ordering the examination. Under either

interpretation, we find the delay for the second examina-

tion was reasonable. It was not unduly long, and the judge

had a reasonable basis for ordering it.

We find that the military judge did not abuse his discre-

tion when he did not charge the 29-day delay for the sec-

ond R.C.M. 706 Board to the Government. We are satis-

fied by that ruling that the Government’s burden under

U.S. v. Burton, supra, was also met. His ruling on the

Speedy Trial Motion was proper and will not be reversed.

Based on that ruling, the Appellant was brought to trial

within the time limits prescribed by law.

Mee

3la

This Court commends the participants in this court-

martial for the manner in which they fulfilled the obliga-

tion to ensure that an accused who may not be competent

to stand trial or may not be mentally responsible for the

offenses for which charged does not stand trial. The

record shows that the trial counsel, defense counsel and

military judge all had doubts about the Appellant’s mental

condition and took the appropriate steps required by the

UCM] to ensure that he was fully evaluated prior to trial.

Assignment of Error Il

CHARGE II AND THE SPECIFICATIONS

THEREUNDER ARE MULTIPLICIOUS FOR

FINDINGS WITH SPECIFICATIONS | AND 2

OF CHARGE |

Although this Court, in an earlier decision (U.S. v.

Howard, 24 M.J. 897 (CGCMR 1987)), exhaustively ex-

amined multiplicity, this case does not require that kind of

exhaustive analysis. The basic rule for multiplicity laid out

in U.S. v. Baker, 14 M.J. 361 (CMA 1983) will suffice.

The U.S. Court of Military Appeals has held that “in cases

in which application of the Baker standard has compelled

a conclusion that findings were multiplicious, we have

viewed as plain error the failure of the trial or intermediate

appellate courts to dismiss the included offenses. In such

instances, we have not hesitated to grant relief, even

though the defense had not complained of multipli-

ciousness at trial or on appeal.” U.S. v. Holt, 16M.J. 393,

394 (CMA 1983). In Holt the Court went on to say

“however, we do not believe that, in testing for multipli-

ciousness, we need go beyond the language of the

specifications on which the case is tried.” /d. at 394.

32a

The Appellant raises for the first time on appeal the

issue of multiplicity for finding of Specifications | and 2

of Charges | and II. We have examined the specifications

to determine if, after applying the Baker Rule, we are

compelled to make the conclusion that the findings were

multiplicious. Our answer is no. The specifications under

Charge I allege assaults with intent to commit murder

against named individuals with a dangerous weapon by

firing it through a window. The specifications were

modified by the military judge during his findings to just

assaults with a dangerous weapon.

The specifications under Charge II allege that on two

occasions the Appellant without proper authority willfully

damaged, by gunfire, military property of the United

States.

The elements of proof of assault with a dangerous

weapon are: (1) That the accused attempted to do bodily

harm to a certain person; (2) That the accused did so with

a certain weapon; (3) That the attempt was done with

unlawful force or violence; (4) That the weapon was used

in a manner likely to produce death or grievous bodily

harm; and (5) That the weapon was a loaded firearm.

Manual for Courts-Martial (M.C.M.) paragraph

54b(4)(a).

The elements of proof for destruction of military pro-

perty are: (1) That the accused, without proper authority,

damaged certain property; (2) That the property was

military property of the United States; (3) That the

damage was willfully caused by the accused; and (4) That

the damage was of a certain amount. M.C.M. paragraph

32d(2).

The specifications under Charge | allege crimes against

a person and those under Charge i! allege crimes against

ee ee

AR ye sha GPO

a ee

.

WEE cp ee cei ls ct el Ll eB iat

33a

property. The elements of proof of the two offenses are

different. The only commonality between them is that a

firearm was used in the commission of each offense. This

Court does not feel compelled by the language of the

specifications to draw the conclusion that the specifica-

tions under Charges I and II are multiplicious for findings.

Therefore, Assignment of Error III is rejected.

Assignments of Error II and I[V° are without merit and

are rejected for the reasons stated in U.S. v. Smith, 27

M.J. 242, 248 (CMA 1988) and U.S. v. Ezell, 6 M.J. 307,

327 (CMA 1979) (Fletcher, C.J. concurring) with respect

to Assignment of Error Il and U.S. v. Stewart, 29 M.J.

621 (CGCMR 1989) and U.S. v. Payne, 22 M.J. 592

(CGCMR 1986) with respect to Assignment of Error IV.

Based on the entire record, the findings and sentence are

correct in law and fact and should be approved. Accord-

ingly, the findings and sentence, as approved below, are

affirmed.

Chief Judge BAUM and Judge BASTEK concur.

* The Appellant’s Assignments of Error II and IV were: Il. THE

MILITARY JUDGE DENIED APPELLANT DUE PROCESS OF

LAW BY DENYING APPELLANT'S MOTION FOR TRIAL BY

UNANIMOUS JURY; AND IV. THE CONVENING AUTHORITY

WAS PROVIDED A DEFECTIVE 1106 RECOMMENDATION BY

A LAW SPECIALIST WHO DID NOT HAVE PROPER

AUTHORITY, IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE UCM3J, AND

WHO WAS FURTHER DISQUALIFIED BY CONFLICT.

34a

APPENDIX C

U.S. COURT OF MILITARY APPEALS

No. 67,869

NMCM 89 4189

UNITED STATES, APPELLEE

Vv.

Eric A. WEISS, PRIVATE

U.S. MARINE CORPS, APPELLANT

Argued October 6, 1992

Decided December 21, 1992

36 M.J. 224

Counsel

For appellant: Commander Philip D. Cave, JAGC, USN

(argued); Captain Dwight H. Sullivan, USMC and Lieute-

nant Franklin J. Foil, JAGC, USNR (on brief).

For appellee: Lieutenant Commander Lawrence W.

Muschamp, JAGC, USN (argued); Colonel T.G. Hess,

USMC (on brief).

Military Judge: Edward F. Pesik, Jr.

Opinion

GIERKE, Judge:

A military judge sitting as a special court-martial con-

victed appellant, consistent with his pleas, of stealing a

racquetball glove from the base exchange, in violation of

Article 121, Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10 USC

§ 921. The approved sentence provides for a bad-conduct

35a

discharge, confinement and partial forfeitures for 3

months. The Court of Military Review affirmed the find-

ings and sentence in an unpublished opinion dated

January 31, 1992.

This Court granted review of the following issue:!

WHETHER APPELLANTS COURT-MARTIAL

LACKED JURISDICTION WHERE THE MILI-

TARY JUDGE WAS DESIGNATED IN VIOLA-

TION OF THE APPOINTMENTS CLAUSE OF

THE CONSTITUTION, AND WHETHER THE

NAVY-MARINE CORPS COURT OF MILI-

TARY REVIEW WAS WITHOUT POWER TO

REVIEW THIS CASE WHERE ITS JUDGES

WERE DESIGNATED IN VIOLATION OF THE

APPOINTMENTS CLAUSE OF THE CONSTI-

TUTION.

Appellant argues that military judges must be nomi-

nated by the President and confirmed by the Senate as

military judges. The Government argues that military

judges already have been nominated and confirmed as

military officers, that military officers traditionally have

performed judicial duties, and that military officers need

not receive an additional appointment to perform judicial

duties. We hold that the Constitution does not require that

' We also granted review of the following issue:

WHETHER THE COURT-MARTIAL WHICH TRIED THIS

CASE HAD JURISDICTION WHERE THE MILITARY

JUDGE WAS NOT APPOINTED TO A FIXED TERM OF

OFFICE, AND DID THE NAVY-MARINE-CORPS COURT

OF MILITARY REVIEW HAVE POWER TO REVIEW

AND AFFIRM THIS CASE WHERE ITS JUDGES WERE

NOT APPOINTED TO A FIXED TERM OF OFFICE.

This issue was resolved in United States v. Graf, 35 MJ 450 (CMA

1992).

36a

a military officer who meets the qualifications of Article

26, UCMJ, 10 USC § 826, receive a second appointment

to perform the duties of a military judge. Likewise, we

hold that a military officer meeting the qualifications of

Article 66, UCMJ, 10 USC § 866, need not receive a sec-

ond appointment to perform the duties of an appellate

military judge.

I. Appointment of Officers of the United States

Article II, § 2, para. 2, clause 2 of the Constitution — the

Appointments Clause — provides that the President

shall nominate, and by and with the Advice and Con-

sent of the Senate, shall appoint Ambassadors, other

public Ministers and Consuls, Judges of the Supreme

Court, and all other Officers of the United States,

whose Appointments are not herein otherwise provid-

ed for, and which shall be established by Law; but the

Congress may by Law vest the Appointment of such

inferior Officers, as they think proper, in the Presi-

dent alone, in the Courts of Law, or in the Heads of

Departments.

The purpose of the Appointments Clause is twofold: (1)

it protects the prerogative of the President from congres-

sional encroachment on his power to appoint his subor-

dinates; and (2) “it limits the universe of eligible recipients

of the power to appoint.” Freytag v. Commissioner of In-

ternal Revenue, 111 S. Ct. 2631, 2639, 115 L. Ed. 2d 764

(1991). Appellant argues that this second purpose, a

limitation on the power to appoint, is violated by Articles

26 and 66 because they vest the appointment power in the

Judge Advocate General rather than the President, the

Courts of Law, or the head of a department.

The first question we must address is whether the Ap-

pointments Clause is applicable to the military justice

system. Government counsel have not disputed this ap-

plicability of the Appointments Clause. Counsel for the

37a

United States Coast Guard, appearing as amicus curiae,

argue that the Appointments Clause does not apply to the

military justice system because that system is created pur-

suant to the plenary power of Congress “to make Rules for

the Government and Regulation of the land and naval

Forces,” U.S. Const. art. I, § 8, cl. 14, and that the

Supreme Court grants great deference to Congress in the

exercise of that power. See United States v. Kovac, 36

M.J. 521, 522-23 (CGCMR 1992); United States v. Prive,

35 M.J. 569, 573-77 (CGCMR 1992).

We agree that “judicial deference . . . is at its apogee”

when the authority of Congress to govern the land and

naval forces is challenged. Solorio v. United States, 483

U.S. 435, 447, 107 S. Ct. 2924, 2931, 97 L. Ed. 2d 364

(1987). Nevertheless, congressional authority to raise, sup-

port, and govern the armed forces is separate from the

authority to appoint Officers of the United States. Judicial

deference is granted only to the former, a legislative power

conferred by Article I of the Constitution. The appoint-

ment of Officers of the United States is an Executive

power, conferred by Article II and controlled by the Ap-

pointments Clause, from which the armed forces are not

exempt, either expressly or by implication.

In Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 96S. Ct. 612, 46 L. Ed.

2d 659 (1976), the Supreme Court held that the plenary

power of Congress over federal election practices did not

exempt members of the Federal Election Commission

from the Appointments Clause. The Supreme Court ex-

plained:

The position that because Congress has been given ex-

plicit and plenary authority to regulate a field of ac-

tivity, it must therefore have the power to appoint

those who are to administer the regulatory statute is

both novel and contrary to the language of the Ap-

pointments Clause. Unless their selection is elsewhere

38a

provided for, a// Officers of the United States are to

be appointed in accordance with the Clause .. . No

class or type of officer is excluded because of its

special functions.

Id. at 132, 96S. Ct. at 688. Thus, we are compelled to con-

clude that, while Congress may determine how the military

justice system will operate, it may not exempt those who

will operate it from the Appointments Clause. According-

ly, we hold that the Appointments Clause is applicable to

the military justice system.

The next question is whether the duties imposed on

military judges by Articles 26 and 66 must be performed

by an Officer of the United States, as that term is used in

the Appointments Clause. Appellant contends, and we

agree, that judicial duties may be performed only by “Of-

ficers of the United States,” appointed in a manner consis-

tent with the Appointments Clause. See Freytag v. C.1.R.,

111 S. Ct. 2631, 115 L. Ed. 2d 764 (1991) (special trial

judges of Tax Court); Go-Bart Importing Co. v. United

States, 282 U.S. 344, 51 S. Ct. 153, 75 L. Ed. 374 (1931)

(United States commissioners). See also Buckley v. Valeo,

424 U.S. at 126, 96S. Ct. at 685 (“Any appointee exercis-

ing significant authority pursuant to the laws of the United

States is an ‘Officer of the United States,’ and must,

therefore, be appointed” in accordance with the Appoint-

ments Clause.)

All military trial judges and most appellate military

judges are commissioned officers of their respective armed

forces. Commissioned officers of the armed forces are

“Officers of the United States.” See Wood v. United

States, 107 U.S. 414, 417, 2S. Ct. 551, 554, 27 L. Ed. 542

(1883). All regular officers of the military services are ap-

pointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. See

10 USC § 531; see also 14 USC §§ 211 and 212 regarding

appointment of regular Coast Guard officers. Reserve of-

39a

ficers above the grade of major/lieutenant commander are

appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

See 10 USC §§ 593 and 5912. Active duty military officers

are appointed and confirmed again upon each promotion

to a grade above pay grade 0-3. See 10 USC § 624 (promo-

tion of active-duty regular and reserve officers of the Ar-

my, Air Force, Navy, and Marine Corps).

If judicial duties may be performed only by Officers of

the United States, and military officers are Officers of the

United States, the next question is whether military of-

ficers may perform judicial duties without a new “judicial”

appointment. In Shoemaker v. United States, 147 U.S.

282, 13 S. Ct. 361, 37 L. Ed. 170 (1893), the Supreme

Court had occasion to consider the nature and scope of the

office held by military officers. The Supreme Court held

that two military officers, the Chief of Engineers and the

Engineer Commissioner for the District of Columbia, did

not require second appointments as members of a commis-

sion created by Congress to select land for Rock Creek

Park in the District of Columbia, survey it, map it, and

determine the just compensation to be paid by the United

States upon its condemnation. Justice Shiras explained:

As, however, the two persons whose eligibility is

questioned were at the time of the passage of the act

and of their action under it officers of the United

States who had been theretofore appointed by the

President and confirmed by the Senate, we do not

think that, because additional duties, germane to the

offices already held by them, were devolved upon

them by the act, it was necessary that they should be

again appointed by the President and confirmed by

the Senate.

He went on to define “germane” broadly, observing:

It is true that it may be sometimes difficult to say

whether a given duty, devolved by statute upon a

40a

named officer, has regard to the civil or military ser-

vice of the United States. Wales v. Whitney, 114 U.S.

564, 569 [5 S. Ct. 1050, 1052, 29 L. Ed. 277 (1885)];

Smith v. Whitney, 116 U.S. 167, 179, 181 [6 S. Ct.

570, 576, 577, 298 L. Ed. 601 (1886)]. But, in the pre-

sent case, the duty which the military officers in ques-

tion were called upon to perform cannot fairly be said

to have been dissimilar to, or outside of the sphere of,

their official duties.

147 U.S. at 301, 13 S. Ct. at 391.

Appellant argues that “the offices already held by them”

were the specific offices of Chief of Engineers and

Engineer Commissioner for the District of Columbia, and

not the underlying office of military officer. A careful

reading of Shoemaker requires that we reject that argu-

ment for two reasons. First, Shoemaker specifically refer-

red to “the duty which the military officers . . . were called

upon to perform.” (Emphasis added.) Second, the two

cases cited in Shoemaker both dealt with the scope of

military duties in general, not the specific duties of the

positions held by the military officers. Wales addressed

the question whether the medical duties of the Navy

Surgeon General were “military” as opposed to “civil”

duties. Smith addressed the issue whether the fiscal duties

of the Navy Paymaster-General were of a civil or military

nature.

The principle we glean from Shoemaker is that Congress

may create a new office (e.g., Rock Creek Park Commis-

sioner) and give a military officer the duties of that office

without making a new appointment necessary, if the new

duties are “germane” to the military duties of that officer.

Applied to this case, it means that a second “judicial” ap-

pointment is not required if: (1) Congress did not create a

new “office”; or (2) Congress created a new office, but the

—

4la

duties of that office are “germane” to the duties of the

military officer detailed to perform them. A second ap-

pointment would be required if Congress created a new of-

fice and the duties of that office were not germane to the

duties of the military officer detailed to perform them.

Il. Military Judges

A court-martial is a temporary court, called into ex-

istence by a military order and disssolved when its purpose

is accomplished. See Arts. 22, 23, and 24, UCMJ, 10 USC

§ 822, 823, and 824, respectively (prescribing who may

convene courts-martial). Its constitutional origin is based

on the congressional authority to govern the armed forces

set out in Article 1, § 8, clause 14. As Colonel Winthrop

explains, “Courts-martial of the United States, although

their legal sanction is no less than that of the federal

courts, being equally with these authorized by the Con-

stitution, are, unlike these, rot a portion of the Judiciary

of the United States, and are thus not included among the

‘inferior’ courts which Congress ‘may from time to time

ordain and establish.” W. Winthrop, Military Law and

Precedents 49 (2d ed. 1920 Reprint).

Military judges perform duties prescribed by statute and

the exeuctive order when detailed to a specific court-

martial. See Art. 26; Exec. Order No. 12473, April 13,

1984, 49 FR 17,152 (promulgating the new Manual for

Courts-Martial); RCM 801-1011, 1102, 1104, Manual for

Courts-Martia!, United States, 1984. Military judges have

no inherent judicial authority separate from a court-

martial to which they have been detailed. When they act,

they do so as a court-martial, not as a military judge. Until

detailed to a specific court-martial, they have no more

authority than any other military officer of the same grade

and rank. To the extent that they perform judicial duties

such as authorizing searches and reviewing pretrial con-

42a

finement, their authority is not inherent but is either

delegated or granted by executive order. See Mil.R.Evid

315 (d)(2), Manual, supra (military judge may authorize

searches if authorized by regulations of Secretary of

Defense or Secretary concerned); RCM 305(g) (military

judge may release from confinement); RCM 305 (i)(2) and

RCM 305(j) (military judge may review propriety of

pretrial confinement).

To resolve the granted issue with respect to military

judges, we must answer two questions: (1) Did Article 26

create a new office of “military judge”?; and (2) If so, are

the duties of the new office germane to the duties of the

military officer detailed as a military judge of a general

court-martial or special court-martial?

A. New Office

After examining the history and evolution of the

military judge, set out in greater detail below, we conclude

that Congress did not create a new “office” when it

enacted: the Articles of War (AW) in 1920 (requiring that

a “law member” be detailed to every general court-

martial — AW 8); or the Uniform Code of Military Justice

of 1950 (requiring detail of a “law officer” to every general

court-martial -- Art. 26, 50 USC § 590); or the Uniform

Code of Military Justice of 1968 (redesignating the law of-

ficer as the military judge — Art. 26, 10 USC § 826).

As the position of military judge has evolved, the

military judge has acquired virtually ali the duties

previously performed by the president and members of a

court-martial. Prior to the 1920 amendments to the Ar-

ticles of War, the president of a court-martial, who usually

was not a lawyer, presided over the trial. See para. 89,

Manual for Courts-Martial, U.S. Army, 1917. In 1920,

AW 8 was amended to require that a “law member” be

43a

detailed to general courts-martial in the Army. 41 Stat.

787, 788. AW 31 was amended in 1920 to transfer some

duties of the president to the law member. It also provided

that the law member ruled finally on questions of ad-

missibility of evidence but could be overruled by a majori-

ty of the court members on other interlocutory questions.

Until 1951, the Navy and Coast Guard continued the

pre-1920 practice of using non-lawyers to preside over

courts-martial and decide interlocutory questions. See

§§ 381 and 370, Naval Courts and Boards, 1937; para.

385(t), Manual for Courts-Martial, U.S. Coast Guard,

1949 at 134.

When the Uniform Code of Military Justice, Pub.L.

No. 81-506, 64b Stat. 108, codified in 50 USC §§ 551-736,

recodified in 10 USC §§ 801-940 (1956), became effective

in May 1951, the law member was redesignated as the law

officer and additional duties were transferred from the

president of the court to the law officer. Ail military ser-

vices were required to “appoint” a law officer to general

courts-martial. See Art. 26. Nonlawyers continued to

preside over special courts-martial, Art. 51, UCMJ, 50

USC § 626, recodified in 10 USC § 851 (1956). This

changed when the Military Justice Act of 1968, Pub.L.

No. 90-632, § 2(9), 82 Stat. 1335, 1336, became effective

in August 1969.

The Military Justice Act of 1968 changed the title of the

law officer to military judge, in order to increase his

stature, and transferred more duties from the president of

the court-martial to the military judge. See Art. 26, 82

Stat. 1336. Since the Act merely transferred authority and

duties from one official of the court-martial to another

and renamed the law officer, it did not create a new office.”

2 In United States v. Graf, supra, this Court said, in dicta, id. at

455, that Congress “created” the military judge and the. Courts of

44a

As the Supreme Court explained in Shoemaker, “It cannot

be doubted, and it has frequently been the case, that Con-

gress may increase the power and duties of an existing of-

fice without thereby rendering it necessary that the incum-

bent should be again nominated and appointed.” 147 U.S.

at 301, 13 S. Ct. at 391.

The Military Justice Act of 1968 also amended Article

16, UCMJ, 10 USC § 816, to authorize an accused to re-

quest trial by a court-martial composed of only a military

judge. 82 Stat. 1335. When trying a case without

members, the military judge sits as a one-member court-

martial. A one-member court-martial was not new to

military justice. See Art. 16(3), UCMJ, 50 USC § 576

(1950), recodified in 10 USC § 816(3) (1956) (summary

court-martial); AW 7 (1916) (summary court-martial);

Art. 64(b), Articles for the Government of the Navy

(AGN) (1909) (deck court). When sitting as a one-member

general court-martial or special court-martial to which he

is detailed, not from his status as a military judge. His

authority is limited to that of the court-martial to which he

has been detailed, and he may act only with respect to the

cases referred to that court-martial. We conclude that the

amendment of Article 16 did not create a new office but

merely altered the composition of general courts-martial

and special courts-martial.

Likewise, the amendment of Article 39(a), UCMJ, 10

USC § 839 (a), effective in 1969, authorizing the military

judge to hold sessions outside the presence of the members

Military Review by enacting the Military Justice Act of 1968. Wee -

not intend this imprecise dicta to hold that Congress created a new

“office” in 1969, when the Act became effective.

Contrary to a dissenter’s assertion that this view demeans military

judges (36 MJ at 260 (Wiss, J., dissenting)), we believe that our opin-

ion merely recognizes the awesome life-and-death authority tradi-

tionally entrusted to military officers.

45a

to dispose of interlocutory motions, arraign the accused,

receive pleas, and dispose of other procedural matters not

requiring the presence of the members, did not create a

new office. The purpose and effect of Article 39(a) was to

avoid wasting the time of the members by requiring them

to sit idly by while the military judge disposed of legal and

procedural issues. S.Rep. No. 1601, 90th Cong., 2d Sess.

10 (1968), U.S. Code Cong. & Admins. News 1968, 4501.

Article 39(a) did not confer new duties on the military

judge; it merely authorized him to discharge those duties

without wasting the time of the court members.

Since a new office was not created by the Military

Justice Act of 1968, a second “judicial” appointment was

not necessary for military judges. Accordingly, we hold

that the military judge in appellant’s case was not ap-

pointed in violation of the Appointments Clause.

B. Germane Duties

Assuming, arguendo, that a new office was created at

some time during the evolution of the military judge, the

result is the same, because the duties of the military judge

are the same as those traditionally performed by military

officers serving as members of courts-martial. As such,

they are germane to the duties of a legally trained military

officer. Shoemaker v. United States, 147 U.S. 282, 13 S.

Ct. 361, 37 L. Ed. 170. Just as the duties of a Rock Creek

Park Commissioner were germane to the duties of a mili-

tary engineer, presiding over courts-martial is clearly ger-

mane to the duties of a military lawyer. Accordingly, a

new appointment would not be required even if a new of-

fice was created.

Ill. Appellate Military Judges

In order to resolve the granted issue with respect to ap-

pellate military judges, we must address three questions:

| Re te ree eee

46a

(1) Did Congress create a new office?; (2) If Congress

created a new office, are the duties of that office germane

to the duties of the military officer detailed to perform

them?; and (3) What is the significance of the provision in

Article 66(a) authorizing civilian members on boards of

review and their successors, the Courts of Military

Review?

A. New Office

Appellant contends that Congress established a new of-

fice by creating an intermediate appellate court for each

service. We hold that a new office was created when

boards of review were established.

Prior to 1920, there were no appellate military courts.

Appellate review of courts-martia! was accomplished by a

hierarchy of reviewing, supervisory, and confirming

authorities, all of whom were military commanders,

cabinet officers, or the President. In 1920, the Articles of

War, apj.icable only to the Army, were amended by

enactment of AW 50 1/2, which mandated: “The Judge

Advocate General shall constitute, in his office, a board of

review consisting of not less than three officers of the

Judge Advocate General’s Department.” The board of

review was required to examine every record of trial in-

volving a sentence which required “approval or confirma-

tion by the President.” Furthermore, “execution of any

sentence of a general court-martial involving the

penalty of death, dismissal not suspended, dishonorable

discharge not suspended, or confinement in a

penitentiary,” required review by the board of review and

the Judge Advocate General. If the Judge Advocate

General disagreed with the decision of the board of

review, the record would be transmitted to the Secretary of

War for the action of the President. AW 50 1/2. On the

47a

other hand, special courts-martial and summary courts-

martial were reviewed only by the officer appointing the

court. AW 36 (1920). After the 1948 amendments of the

Articles of War, effective February 1, 1949, certain Army

and Air Force general court-martial cases were reviewed

by a board of review, a Judicial Council composed of

three general officers of the Judge Advocate General’s

Corps, and the Judge Advocate General. See AW 50

(1948).

Prior to 195i, a Navy general court-martial was review-

ed by “the commander of the fleet or officer ordering the

court.” 53d AGN (1934). A summary court-martial (the

counterpart of the modern special court-martial) was

reviewed “by the officer ordering the court . . . and by his

immediate superior in command.” 32d AGN. A sentence

“extending to the loss of life, or to the dismissal of a com-

missioned or warrant officer” required confirmation by

the President. 53d AGN. A deck court (the counterpart to

the modern summary court-martial) was reviewed by the

officer who ordered it. AGN 64(d). Reviewing authorities

were required to examine jurisdictional issues, the legal

sufficiency of the pleadings, objections to evidence, and

the legal sufficiency of the evidence. See, e.g., § 472,

Naval Courts and Boards, 1937.

Prior to 1951, a Coast Guard deck court was reviewed

“by the officer ordering” it and then was forwarded to

Coast Guard Headquarters, where it was “reviewed for

legality . . . with the same force and effect as though an

appeal had been taken.” The Commandant of the Coast

Guard was authorized to take whatever action “the in-

terests of justice and equity may require.” The accused had

a “right to appeal to the Secretary of the Treasury from a

decision of a deck court.” Arts. 31 and 36, Manuai for

Courts-Martial, U.S. Coast Guard, 1949. All other courts-

martial were reviewed by the Secretary of the Treasury,

48a

and the President in the case of dismissal of an officer. 14

USC § 564(d)(1949); Art. 140, Manual, USCG, supra. No

Coast Guard court-martial could impose a sentence ex-

ceeding a discharge, confinement for 5 years, forfeiture,

and reduction. 14 USC § 564(b) and (c); see Art. 50,

Manual, USCG, supra.

After the Uniform Code of Military Justice became ef-

fective in 1951, convening authorities in all services re-

tained the authority and responsibility to review the record

of trial for legal sufficiency. See Art. 64, 50 USC § 651,

recodified in 10 USC § 864 (1956) (“The convening

authority shall approve only such findings of guilty, and

the sentence or such part or amount of the sentence, as he

finds correct in law and fact... .”).

The 1950 Code made boards of review mandatory for

the Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard. They were

already mandatory for the Army by virtue of AW 50 1/2,

enacted in 1920. This AW was made applicable to the Air

Force by 62 Stat. 1014 (1948), codified in 5 USC § 627k

(1948). Article 66(a) (1950) mandated;

The Judge Advocate General of each of the armed

forces shall constitute in his office one or more

boards of review, each composed of not less than

three officers or civilians, each of whom shall be a

member of the bar of a Federal court or of the highest

court of a State of the United States.

Effective in 1969, Article 66(a) was revised to its present

language, as follows:

Each Judge Advocate General shall establish a Court

of Military Review which shall be composed of one or

more panels, and each such panel shall be composed

of not less than three appellate military judges... .

Appellate military judges who are assigned to a Court

of Military Review may be commissioned officers or

|

49a

civilians, each of whom must be a member of a bar of

a Federal court or of the highest court of a State... .

Boards of Review were a new entity, created by Con-

gress for the Army in 1920, the Air Force in 1948, and the

Naval services in 1951. For the first time, there was a level

of formal appellate review beyond the officer who con-

vened the general court-martial. Also, for the first time, a

permanent military tribunal was established, as compared

to courts-martial which are temporary entities. Article 66

vested no discretion in the Judge Advocates General;

boards of review were mandatory. We are satisfied that

Congress, acting indirectly through the Judge Advocates

General, created a new office by establishing boards of

review. Cf. Dettinger v. United States, 7 M.J. 216 (CMA

1979) (Congress, acting through Judge Advocate General,

created Court of Military Review).

Unlike the Court of Military Appeals, created in 1950 as

an instrument of civilian oversight imposed upon the

military services, the boards of review were intended as

military tribunals constituted by competent military

authority from within each service. The mandate to each

Judge Advocate General to “constitute” boards of review

was consistent with the traditional practice of vesting the

authority and responsibility for constituting military

tribunals in military officers and giving them the authority

to appoint the members.

That Congress intended the boards of review to be

tribunals of a different nature from the Court of Military

Appeals is apparent both from the language of the statutes

creating them and the legislative history. The statute first

creating the Court of Military Appeals used traditional

language for creating a civilian Article I court: “There is

hereby established a Court of Military Appeals... .” Art.

67(a)(1), 64 Stat. 129 (1950). In 1969 the provision was

ae eee ne

50a

amended to read: “There is a United States Court of

Military Appeals established under article I of the Con-

stitution of the United States ... .” Finally, in Article

141, 10 USC § 941 (1989) Congress described the Court’s

status as follows: “There is a court of record known as the

United States Court of Military Appeals. The court is

established under article I of the Constitution.” This is vir-

tually the identical language used by Congress to create

other Article I courts. See 26 USC § 7441 (“There is hereby

established, under article I of the Constitution of the

United States, a court of record to be known as the United

States Tax Court.”); 38 USC § 7251 (“There is hereby

established, under Article I of the Constitution of the

United States, a court of record to be known as the United

States Court of Veterans Appeals.”). The language

creating the boards of review was substantially different:

“The Judge Advocate General of each of the armed forces

shall constitute in his office one or more boards of

review. .. .” 50 USC § 653 (1950), recodified in 10 USC

§ 866 (1956).

This difference in language was not accidental. Indeed,

in 1966, Senator Sam Ervin held hearings on a bill to

establish a Court of Military Review in each service which

would have been appointed by the service secretary and

whose judges, both military and civilian, would have serv-

ed for a fixed term of office. That bill used language

similar to the organic statutes for the Court of Military

Appeals, the Tax Court, and the Court of Veterans Ap-

peals. It would have amended Article 66(a) to read: “There

is established for each military department an appellate

court. .. . Each such court is a court of record and shall

be known as the Court of Military Review for the military

department for which it is established.” Joint Hearings

before the Subcomm. on Constitutional Rights of the

Senate Judiciary Comm. and the Special Subcomm. of the

rei

Sla

Senate Armed Services Comm., 89th Cong., 2d Sess.

497-98 (1966). The bill was not enacted. Two years later,

Article 66(a) in its present form was enacted.

The Senate Hearings on the 1950 Code reveal the intent

of the drafters to use military expertise on the boards of

review. The following exchange between Senator Kefauver

and Professor Morgan is instructive:

SENATOR KEFAUVER.... May I ask at this

point, was there any difference of opinion on the part

of the committee or extensive discussion as to whether

each service should have its own reviewiig section?

MR. MORGAN. No; the committee was

unanimous on that, so far as the board of review is

concerned.

The notion was that each service would know more

about the customs of the service, and all that sort of

thing, and that the Judge Advocate General of that

particular service would be the man that would be

most competent to handle that thing from the point

of view of this board of review, because the board of

review, now, has very extensive powers. |

Hearings on S. 857 and H.R. 4080 Before a Subcomm. of

the Senate Armed Services Comm., 81st Cong., Ist Sess.

42 (1949).

The amendments enacted in 1968 to Article 66(a) did

not change the character of authority of the boards of

review but merely completed the evolution by calling them

what they were: appellate courts composed of appellate

military judges. The legislative history of the 1968 amend-

ment reflects that the redesignation of boards of review as

a Court of Military Review was only a name change,

designed to enhance the stature of the board of review by

calling it a court and calling its members judges. This

change was consistent with redesignating law officers as

Oia

52a

military judges. See S.Rep. No. 1601, 90th Cong., 2d Sess.

3, 14 (1968); The Army Lawyer: A History of The Judge

Advocate General’s Corps, 1775-1975 at 247 (U.S. Govt.

Printing Office). Certain organizational changes were

mandated to improve efficiency and protect the in-

dependence of appellate military judges; but now new ap-

pointment procedures for appellate military judges were

established.

B. Germane Duties

Turning to the second question, we observe that military

officers traditionally have been responsible for legal

review of court-martial convictions in their capacities as

reviewing and supervisory authorities. Prior to the crea-

tion of boards of review, military commanders were

responsible for the legal review of courts-martial convened

by them or their subordinates. See 53d AGN (1934)

(record reviewed by “commander of the fleet or officer

ordering the court”); 32d AGN (1934) (summary court-

martial reviewed by “officer ordering the court” and “his

immediate superior in command”); AW 46 and 47 (1920)

(record reviewed by convening authority); AW 46 and 47

(1920) (record reviewed by convening authority); para. 35,

Manual for Courts-Martial, U.S. Coast Guard, 1949 (deck

“ourt reviewed by Commandant of Coast Guard); § 472,

Naval Courts and Boards, 1937 (commander reviewing the

record must examine jurisdictional issues, legal sufficiency

of pleadings, objections to evidence, and legal sufficiency

of evidence).

A cadre of legally trained officers existed in each of the

services prior to 1920. The language of Article of War 50

1/2 and Article 66 of the Code reflect that Congress had

this cadre of legally trained officers in mind when boards

of review were first created in 1920 and extended to all the

S3a

services in 1951. Congress considered the duties of the

boards of review not only germane to military duties, but

particularly appropriate for military lawyers. We hold that

the duties of the newly-created boards of review were “ger-

mane” to the duties of the legally trained military officers

contemplated by AW 50 1/2 and Article 66 of the Code;

therefore, we hold that a second judicial appointment is

unnecessary.

C. Civilian Members

Turning finally to the significance of the provision for

civilian members, the legislative history of Article 66(a)

reflects that the historical antecedent of the boards of

review created by Article 66(a) was the Army board of

review, composed of military officers, which was created

by AW 50 1/2. The provision for civilian members was not

included in AW 50 1/2, but was added to Article 66(a) at

the request of the Coast Guard. During the 1949 hearings

on the proposed Uniform Code of Military Justice, Mr.

Larkin explained the provision for civilian members as

follows:

Well, they were included initially at the request of the

Coast Guard — not that it be worded this specific way

but the Coast Guard does have civilian lawyers work-

ing in their court-martial procedures during

peacetime, and they feel they are very competent.

They don’t have an unusually large number of of-

ficers in their review, and they wanted to be free if

they desired to appoint a civilian lawyer working for

the Coast Guard to a board of review. This was the

easiest way to make that provision.

Hearings on H.R. 2498 before a Subcomm. of the House

Armed Services Comm., 81st Cong., Ist Sess. 1189 (1949),

reprinted in Index and Legislative History, Uniform Code

of Military Justice (1950).

54a

In appellant’s case we need not decide whether Congress

inadvertently exceeded its authority by vesting the power

of an “Officer of the United States” in civilians who had

not been appointed in accordance with the Appointments

Clause, because no civilians participated in the appellate

review of his case. We regard the provision for civilian

members of boards of review and their successors, the

Courts of Military Review, as severable from the re-

mainder of Article 66(a). Congress had two purposes in

enacting Article 66(a). The primary purpose was to make

boards of review mandatory for all services. The second-

ary purpose was to accommodate the Coast Guard by

authorizing civilian members on boards of review. Where

a statute attempts to accomplish two or more objects, it

may be valid as to one and invalid as to others, as long as

its purpose can be accomplished by the valid part and is

not dependent upon or conditioned by the invalid part.

Sutherland Stat. Const. § 44.07 at 503-04 (4th Ed.1986

Revision).

D. Conclusion

Applying the Shoemaker analysis to appellant’s case, we

hold that appellate military judges need not be reap-

pointed to perform judicial duties because judicial duties

are “germane” to the offices already held by them as legal-

ly trained commissioned officers of their respective armed

forces. Accordingly, we hold that appointment of the ap-

pellate military judges who reviewed appellant’s case was

consistent with the Appointments Clause.

We have not addressed the desirability of a legislative

requirement that trial and appellate military judges be

specifically appointed as judges by the President, a Court

of Law, or the Head of a Department, and we consider it

inappropriate to do so. Congress has the power to require

a second “judicial” appointment if considered desirable.

Congress considered such a measure in 1966 but did not

5Sa

enact it. We decide only that a second “judicial” appoint-

ment was not constitutionally required for the trial and ap-

pellate judges involved in appellant’s case. As we stated in

United States v. Henderson, 34 M.J. 174, 178 (CMA

1992), “As a court... we are not involved in the merits

of ... policy. We interpret statutes, and we can strike

them down only when they violate the Consitution.

The decisions of the United States Navy — Marine Corps

Conrt of Military Review is affirmed.

Judge COX concurs.

CRAWFORD, Judge (concurring in the resuit):

The lead opinion has put forward a thoughtful and well-

reasoned analysis of how Article II, section 2, paragraph

2, clause 2, of the United States Constitution is not

violated by the present manner of selecting military

judges. However, I part ways with the underlying premise

of the lead opinion that the Appointments Clause applies

to the selection of a military judiciary and therefore can

only concur in the result.

In concluding that the Appointments Clause does not

apply either to selection of military trial or military ap-

pellate judges, one of necessity must engage in both an

historical and a contemporary analysis of the Constitution

and its Appointments Clause. In applying both ap-

proaches, the intentions of the Framers can be determined

from documents that are available. See e.g., 4 P. Kurland

& R. Lerner, The Founders’ Constitution (hereafter

Kurland) (1987); J. Harris, The Advice and Consent of the

Senate (hereafter Harris) 25-30 (1953).

A. The Historical Approach

At the time of the Constitutional Convention in

Philadelphia from late May to mid-September 1787, no

thought was given to how the Appointments Clause

56a

should be applied to military trial and appellate judges.

Kurland, supra at 28-38. Two major themes dominated

the debates which shaped the Appointments Clause. First,

those who opposed a strong executive resisted giving the

chief executive the nomination authority over the national

judiciary without some sort of Council to screen the ap-

pointment process. Second, those who opposed a strong

legislature feared that if the appointment authority was

given to the legislative branch, the appointment of a na-

tional judiciary would fall into the hands of certain fac-

tions. Harris, supra at 25-30.

At the time of these debates there was no military

judiciary in place, that function being served by military

officers. There was, however, a great deal of debate and

attention paid to a federal civilian judiciary as evidenced

by Alexander Hamilton’s discussions in The Federalist

Papers, Nos. 78 through 83.' Thus, historically, the

‘No. 78, “A VIEW OF THE CONSTITUTION OF THE

JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT IN RELATION TO THE TENURE OF

GOOD BEHAVIOR,” wherein Hamilton discusses “the doctrine of

judicial review,” stating: “Whenever a particular statute contravenes

the Constitution, it will be the duty of the judicial tribunals to adhere

to the letter and disregard the former.”

No. 79, “A FURTHER VIEW OF THE JUDICIAL DEPART-

MENT IN RELATION TO THE PROVISIONS FOR THE SUP-

PORT AND RESPONSIBILITY OF THE JUDGES,” wherein

Hamilton expresses “thoughts on the salary, tenure, accountability,

and age of judges.”

No. 80, “A FURTHER VIEW OF THE JUDICIAL DEPART-

MENT IN RELATION TO THE EXTENT OF ITS POWERS,”

wherein “Hamilton traces the outlines of the judicial power.”

No. 81, “A FURTHER VIEW OF THE JUDICIAL DEPART-

MENT IN RELATION TO THE DISTRIBUTION OF ITS

AUTHORITY,” wherein Hamilton “states the case for a distinct,

learned, independent Supreme Court, then speculates on the relations

of the Supreme Court to the lower courts.”

No. 82, “A FURTHER VIEW OF THE JUDICIAL DEPART-

MENT IN REFERENCE TO SOME MISCELLANEOUS QUES-

_

OO Me Se ee Awl AWN! ae cop eairapie! A Na ecns ater ie es at as i tae

sem dal heals oF SR eat Naas

| den apt tm ei ane ti

Lal Nee, :

57a

Founding Fathers gave no explicit consideration to in-

cluding a military judiciary within the ambit of the Ap-

pointments Clause.

B. The Contemporary Approach

A contemporary approach to reviewing our Constitution

and its provisions looks at the intent of the Framers and the

interests and values they meant to protect. A contemporary

reading of the Constitution is important because as John

Marshall stated: “It is a constitution we are expounding.”

McCulloch v. Maryland, 17 U.S. 316, 407 (4 Wheat.), 4 L.

Ed. 579 (1819). The Constitution is a living document and

“states or ought to state not rules for the passing hour, but

principles for an expanding future,” B. Cardozo, The

Nature of the Judicial Process 83 (Yale Univ. Press 1921),

and “a principle to be vital must be capable of wider appli-

cation than the mischief which gave it birth.” Weems vy.

United States, 217 U.S. 349, 373, 30S. Ct. 544, 551, 54 L.

Ed. 793 (1910).

Utilizing a contemporary analysis I start by asking what

interest and values were meant to be protected by the Ap-

pointments Clause. It is undisputed that the Appointments

Clause was designed as a series of checks and balances be-

tween the Executive and Legislative Branches on the crea-

tion and filling of offices. Kurland, supra, 424 U.S at 33.

The Framers were concerned with a division of power to

prevent one branch from becoming more powerful than the

other.

TIONS,” wherein Hamilton discusses “the relations of the federal and

State courts.”

No. 83, “A FURTHER VIEW OF THE JUDICIAL DEPART-

MENT IN RELATION TO THE TRIAL BY JURY,” wherein

“Hamilton attempts . . . to quiet the fears of” some with a discussion

“of this ancient ‘palladium of free government.’ ”

The Federalist Papers, xxx-xxxi (A. Hamilton, J. Madison, J. Jay) (C.

Rossiter 1961).

58a

The debates among the Framers over appointments au-

thority in general and judicial appointments in particular

bear out their desire for checks and balances as well as for

qualified appointees. Edmund Randolph of Virginia

argued that if appointment authority was in the legislative

branch, this “generally resulted from cabal, from personal

regard, or some other consideration that a title derived

from the proper qualification.” Whereas George Mason,

also of Virginia, argued that, if the appointment to the

judiciary was with the executive, it was “a dangerous

prerogative. It might even give him an influence over the

Judiciary department itself.” Jd. at 33.

Alexander Hamilton of New York thought that giving

the Senate approval authority over nominations would be a

check on the “spirit of favoritism of the President” and

would work against the appointment of unqualified in-

dividuals or individuals selected because of a family con-

nection or personal attachment, Harris, supra at 28.

Hamilton argued that to empower the legislature with ap-

pointment authority would just lead to “intrigue and

cabal.” Jd. Cf. Kurland, supra at 31. Nathaniel J. Ghorum

(also spelled Gorham in some texts) of Massachusetts

thought it best that the Executive be responsible for ap-

pointment because “he will be careful to look through all

the States for proper characters.” Jd. at 31. To prevent

dependency on a single individual making the appointment,

some Framers thought it best to have the Senate vote on the

appointments. Others were concerned that a Senate vote

would mean too “much fettering [in] the Senate.” Jd. at 32.

Eventually the Framers settled on appointments by the ex-

ecutive with the advice and consent of the Senate.

In defense of the appointment power enunciated in the

Constitution. Alexander Hamilton in The Federalist No.

66 commented as follows on how the appointment power

would work:

Sachi pho

59a

It will be the office of the president to nominate, and

with the advice and consent of the senate to appoint.

There will of course be no exertion of choice on the

part of the senate. They may defeat one choice of the

executive, and oblige him to make another; but they

cannot themselves choose —they can only ratify or re-

ject the choice, he may have made. They might even

entertain a preference to some other person, at the

very moment they were assenting to the one pro-

posed; because there might be no positive ground of

opposition to him; and they could not be sure, if they

withheld their assent, that the subsequent nomination

would fall upon their own favourite, or upon any

other person in their estimation more meritorious

than the one rejected. Thus it could hardly happen

that the majority of the senate would feel any other

complacency towards the object of an appointment,

than such, as the appearances of merit, might inspire,

and the proofs of the want of it, destroy.

The Federalist: A Collection of Essays Written in Favour

of The New Constitution, vol. II at 218-19 (J. and A.

McLean, New York, 1788)(hereafter cited at McLean).

Thus the interests and values of providing for the selec-

tion of officers, including judicial officers, based on merit

and dividing power between the executive and legislative

branches gave birth to the Appointments Clause. The

question remains whether, in order to protect those in-

terests and values, it is necessary to select military trial and

appellate judges pursuant to the Appointments Clause. In

order to answer that question we must also examine the

additional interests and values unique to national security

and military matters which the Framers sought to protect.

In doing so we can determine whether these other factors

justify civilian judiciary and thereby render the Appoint-

ments Clause inapplicable to military judges.

60a

C. Analysis

Because of national security interests and concerns for

unforeseen military exigencies, it was the intent of the

Framers to vest great authority over these matters in Con-

gress. L. Tribe, American Constitutional Law 353-56 (2d

ed.1988). They accomplished this in the Constitution

through the enumerated powers of Article I, Section 8,

Clauses 11 through 16 and 18. Under the enumerated

powers, Congress has the power to “raise and support Ar-

mies” (cl. 12); “provide and maintain a Navy” (cl. 13);

“make Rules for the Government and Regulation of the

land and naval Forces” (cl. 14); and “make all laws that are

. . Necessary and proper” (cl. 18).

The rationale for this approach by the Framers is found

in Alexander Hamilton’s Federalist No. 23:

The authorities essential to the care of the common

defence are these—to raise armies—to build and

equip fleets —to prescribe rules for the government of

both —to direct their operations —to provide for their

support. These powers ought to exist without limita-

tion: Because it is impossible to foresee or define the

extent and variety of national exigencies, and the cor-

respondent extent and variety of the means which

may be necessary to satisfy them. [*| The cir-

cumstances that endanger the safety of nations are in-

finite; and for this reason, no constitutional shackles

can wisely be imposed on the power to which the care

of it is committed. This power ought to be coextensive

with all the possible combinations of such cir-

cumstances; and ought to be under the direction of

the same councils, which are appointed to preside

over the common defense.

+ « *

Whether there ought to be a federal government in-

trusted with the care of the common defence is a ques-

a oe.

6la

tion, in the first instance, open to discussion; but the

moment it is decided in the affirmative, it will follow,

that that government ought to be cloathed with all the

powers requisite to the complete execution of its trust.

And unless it can be shewn, that the circumstances

which may effect the public safety are reducible

within certain determinate limits; unless the contrary

of this position can be fairly and rationally disputed,

it must be admitted as a necessary consequence, that

there can be no limitation of that authority, which is

to provide for the defence and protection of the com-

munity, in any matter essential to its efficacy; that is,

in any matter essential to the formation, direction or

support of the NATIONAL FORCES.

McClean, supra, vol. I at 144-45 (some emphasis [*]

added).

This view was underscored by James Madison in The

Federalist No. 41:

But was it necessary to give an INDEFINITE

POWER of raising TROOPS, as well as providing

fleets; and of maintaining both in PEACE, as well as

in WAR?

The answer to these questions has been too far an-

ticipated, in another place, to admit an extensive

discussion of them in this place. The answer indeed

seems to be so obvious and conclusive as scarcely to

justify such a discussion in any place. With what col-

our of propriety could the force necessary for

defence, be limited by those who cannot limit the

force of offence? If a federal Constituticm could

chain the ambition, or set bounds to the exertions of

all other nations, then indeed might it prudently chain

the discretion of its own government, and set bounds

to the exertions for its own safety.

62a

McLean, supra, vol. II at 39.

Yet the Framers, mindful -f the new nation’s fears

regarding establishment of a standing armed force in

peacetime, S. Padover, To Secure These Blessings 203-08

(1962), did not propose to give the new executive and

legislature this great authority without some limitation.

Article I, Section 8, Clause 12, gives Congress the authori-

ty to “raise and support Armies” but also provides that “no

Appropriation of Money to that Use shall be for a longer

Term than two Years.” In The Federalist No. 26, Alex-

ander Hamilton puts forth a spirited defense of this clause

that limits appropriations for military purposes to two

Years:

The legislature of the United States will be obliged

by this provision, once at least in every two years, to

deliberate upon the propriety of keeping a military

force on foot; to come to a new resolution on the

point; and to declare their sense of the matter, by a

formal vote in the face of their constituents. They are

not at liberty to vest in the executive department per-

manent funds for the support of an army; if they were

even incautious enough to be willing to repose in it so

improper a confidence. As the spirit of party in dif-

ferent degrees, must be expected to infect all political

bodies, there will be no doubt persons in the national

legislature willing enough to arraign the measures and

criminate the views of the majority. The provision for

the support of a military force will always be a

favourable topic for declamation. As often as the

question comes forward, the public attention will be

roused and attracted to the subject, by the party in

opposition: And if the majority should be really

disposed to exceed the proper limits, the community

will be warned of the danger, and will have an oppor-

ihe

TS ee a

63a

tunity of taking measures to guard against it. In-

dependent of parties in the national legislature itself,

as often as the period of discussion arrived, the state

legislatures, who will always be not only vigilant, but

suspicious and jealous guardians of the rights of the

citizens, against incroachments from the federal

government, will constantly have their attention

awake to the conduct of the national rulers, and will

be ready enough, if any thing improper appears, to

sound the alarm to the people, and not only to be the

VOICE, but, if necessary, the ARM of their discon-

tent

McLean supra, vol. I at 165-66.

An examination of the military judiciary, although

similar to its civilian counterpart in the importance and

scope of its duties, also reveals marked dissimilarities from

a civilian judiciary because of the ever-existent potential

for military exigencies. “Military exigencies” is not a term

of art; our armed forces are not a garrison force. In the

past 4 years alone, our military men and women have

deployed to Panama in Operation Just Cause and to

Southwest Asia in Operations Desert Shield and Desert

Storm. In addition, they have participated in the

humanitarian mission to aid Kurdish refugees, Operation

Provide Comfort, following Operation Desert Storm.

Even as this opinion is being released, our troops are serv-

ing in Somalia as part of a relief effort called Operation

Restore Hope.

These missions require worldwide deployment and the

need for instant mobility and flexibility in assignments, in-

cluding military judge assignments. Military judges must

try cases in combat environments, and, due to the poten-

tial for military judge casualties, replacements must be

available at a moment’s notice. The ever-expanding role of

64a

the military only underscores the wisdom of our Fouading

Fathers in entrusting Congress with the authority and

responsibility for providing for its day-to-day operations. ?

In carrying out its enumerated responsibilities Congress

has paid careful attention to the military justice system.

Starting in 1950 with the adoption of the Uniform Code of

Military Justice, Congress has been very active in expand-

ing the status and power of the military judge. In 1950,

Congress provided for the law officer who was the

forerunner of the military trial judge. See Pub.L. No.

81-506, 64 Stat. 117. In the Military Justice Act of 1968,

Pub.L. No. 90-632, 82 Stat. 1335, Congress provided for

military judges (at 1336) and the Courts of Military

Review (at 1341). See generally Cox, The Army, The

Courts, and The Constitution: The Evolution of Military

Justice, 118 Mil.L.Rev. 1 (1987); Criminal Law Note: An

Ongoing Trend: Expanding the Status and Power of the

Military Judge, The Army lawyer 23 (Dept. of the Army

Pamphlet 27-50-239, October 1992).

In addition to his or her constitutional role as

Commander-in-chief, U.S. Const. art. II, § 2, the Presi-

dent has a specific role for military justice matters. Pur-

suant to its authority under the Constitution, Congress,

through Article 36(a), Uniform Code of Military Justice,

10 USC § 836 (a) (1979), has given the President the

authority to prescribe “pretrial, trial, and post-trial pro-

? For example if during Desert Shield/Storm a scud missile hit a

barracks housing one or more judges from the services, replacements

would be needed immediately. A service Judge Advocate General

looking for qualified individuals might select an individual from the

Court of Military Review. Likewise, if there was a heavy case load

before the Court of Military Review, for example, a series of classified

cases, the Judge Advocate General should have the flexibility of

assigning a trial judge not involved with those cases to the appellate

court.

65a

cedures, including modes of proof, for ... [trials by]

courts-martial.” Based on this delegation of authority

from Congress, the President has by Executive Order set

forth many rules in the Manual for Courts-Martial,

United States, 1984, that pertain to the authority of the

military judge. See generally | F. Gilligan and F. Lederer,

Court-Martial Procedure 514-56 (1991).

In fulfilling its responsibilities, Congress has been mind-

ful of the interests sought to be protected by the Appoint-

ments Clause. First, with respect to selection of qualified

individuals to serve as military judges, Congress has deter-

mined that these assignments be made by the Judge Ad-

vocate General of each service who has direct responsibili-

ty for military justice within his or her respective service?

Congress has implicitly recognized that the Judge Ad-

vocates General are uniquely situated to determine which

officers are best qualified within their respective services

to serve as both trial and appellate judges. Moreover,

these same individuals have by necessity great flexibility to

make these assignments‘ quickly in a combat environment

§ Article 26(c), Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10 USC § 826(c),

provides: “The military judge of a general court-martial shall be

designated by the Judge Advocate General, or his designee, of the

armed force of which the military judge is a member... .”

Article 66(a), UCMJ, 10 USC § 866(a), provides: “Each Judge Ad-

vocate General shall establish a Court of Military Review which shall

be composed of one or more panels, and each such panel shall be com-

posed of not less than three appellate military judges.”

See also Morgan, The Background of the Uniform Code of Military

Justice, 6 Vand.L.Rev. 169 (1953); comments, Military Justice and

the Constitution — Improvements Offered by the New Uniform code

of Military Justice, 29 Tex.L.Rev. 651 (1951).

* Article 6(a), UCMJ, 10 USC § 806(a), states:

The assignment for duty of judge advocaies of the Army, Navy,

Air Force, and Coast Guard shall be made upon the recommen-

dation of the Judge Advocate General of the armed force of

a

66a

where casualties or other exigencies may affect the military

judiciary.

Second, with respect to establishing a system of checks-

and balances between the Executive and Legislative

branches, it is difficult to see how the present system of

assigning military judges jeopardizes that delicate balance.

If anything, the creation by Congress in 1951 of the United

States Court of Military Appeals, a federal civilian court

subject to the Appointments Clause, which reviews deci-

sions of the military judiciary, more than satisfies any con-

cerns in that regard. See 64 Stat. 129. Additionally, effec-

tive August |, 1984, Congress provided in Article 67(h)(1),

UCMJ, 10 USC § 867(h)(1), now Article 67a, UCMJ, 10

USC § 867a (1989), that decisions of our Court are

reviewable by the Supreme Court of the United States by

writ of certiorari, Military Justice Act. Pub.L. No.

98-209, § 10(c)(2), 97 Stat. 1393, 1406, thereby providing

the ultimate check on judicial decisions of the military

justice system.

If there is dissatisfaction with the military justice system

as it exists today, it can be changed or modified by the ma-

joritarian process. That is, the elected representatives of

Congress, in consultation with the Executive branch, have

the power to make any necessary changes. But this Court

must not, by judicial fiat, impose the procedures intended

for a federal civilian judiciary upon the military under the

guise of the Constitution. To do so would be to ignore the

constitutional deference given to Congress by our Found-

ing Fathers because of the realities and practicalities of na-

tional security exigencies.

which they are members. The assignment for duty of judge ad-

vocates of the Marine Corps shall be made by direction of the

Commandant of the Marine Corps. The Judge Advocate General

or senior members of his staff shall make frequent inspections in

the field in supervision of the administration of military justice.

eee

ee Se SS

—

67a

D. Special Deference

Based on the intent of the Framers, the Constitution,

and Federal statute, the Supreme Court has given great

deference to the authority of Congress and the President

in military matters. The Supreme Court has repeatedly

recognized the power of Congress to provide for military

justice. Judge Grace in United States v. Prive, 35 M.J.

569, 573-74 (CGCMR 1992), has listed some of those deci-

sions as follows:

Dynes v. Hoover, 61 U.S. 65, 79 (20 How.), 15 L. Ed.

838 (1858) (“These provisions show that Congress has the

power to provide for the trial and punishment of military

and naval offenses in the manner then and now practiced

by civilized nations. . . .”).

Ex parte Milligan, 71 U.S. 2, 123 (4 Wall.), 18 L. Ed.

281 (1866) (“Congress has declared the kinds of trial [for

offenses by soldiers] and the manner in which they shall be

conducted... .”).

Parker v. Levy, 417 U.S. 733, 743, 94S. Ct. 2547, 2555,

41 L. Ed. 2d 439 (1974) (“This Court has long recognized

that the military is, by necessity, a specialized society

separate from civilian society. . . . The military has, again

by necessity, developed laws and traditions of its own dur-

ing its long history.”)

Schlesinger v. Councilman, 420 U.S. 738, 757, 95S. Ct.

1300, 1313, 43 L. Ed. 2d 591, 609 (1975) (“The laws and

traditions governing [military] discipline have a long

history; . . . they are founded on unique military exigen-

cies as powerful now as in the past. Their contemporary

vitality repeatedly has been recognized by Congress.”)

Northern Pipeline Construction Co v. Marathon Pipe

Line Co., 458 U.S. 50, 66, 102 S. Ct. 285

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.