Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority v. Transport Workers' Union of Philadelphia, Local 234

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court. U.S

FILED

\

MAR 6 iSbY

8 Bs. J4 8 6 JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

| CLERK

—_

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1988

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY. et al.

Petitioners.

TRANSPORT WORKERS’ UNION

OF PHILADELPHIA, LOCAL 234, et al.

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

John F. Smith, III

(Counsel of Record )

Richard S. Meyer

Hope A. Comisky

Barbra Shotel

DILWORTH, PAXSON, KALISH

& KAUFFMAN =

2600 The Fidelity Building

Philadelphia, PA 19109

(215) 875-7220

Attorneys for Petitioners

Southeastern Pennsylvania

Transportation Authority, et al.

Dated: March 8. 1989

PACKARD PRESS / LEGAL DIVISION, 1617 JFK BOULEVARD, PHILA., PA. 19103 (215) 563-9000

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(1) Whether an urban mass transportation author-

ity’s addition of random drug and alcohol testing to an

existing unchallenged policy of fitness for duty drug and

alcohol testing of safety-sensitive personnel constitutes a

major dispute under the Railway Labor Act.

(2) Whether an urban mass transportation author-

ity’s inclusion of a drug screen in routine return to work

physical examinations of safety-sensitive personnel con-

ducted in support of its fitness for duty standard violates

the Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitu-

tion.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW AND RULE

28.1 STATEMENT

The proceedings below involved four actions which

were not consolidated into one action. The respective

parties and docket numbers in the court below are as

follows:

Petitioners include:

1. Southeastern Pennsylvania Transporta-

tion Authority in all of the cases which include

Nos. 88-1160, 88-1161, 88-1162, 88-1163, 88-

1206, 88-1207 and 88-1208; and

2. Louis F. Gould, Jr., Esquire, Individually

and in his official capacity as Chairman of the

Board of SEPTA; Robert J. Thompson, Individ-

ually and in his official capacity as Vice Chair-

man of the Board of SEPTA; Brian W. Clymer;

Judith E. Harris, Esquire; Mary C. Harris,

Thomas M. Hayward, C.P.A.; Frank W.

Jenkins, Esquire; Richard E. Kutz, Esquire;

David W. Marston, Esquire; James C. McHugh

and Franklin C. Wood, Individually and in their

official capacities as Members of the Board of

SEPTA in all of the cases which include Nos.

88-1160, 88-1161, 88-1162, 88-1163, 88-1206,

88-1207 and 88-1208.

Respondents include:

1. Transport Workers’ Union of Philadel-

phia, Local 234 in Nos. 88-1160 and 88-1206;

2. Transport Workers’ Union of America,

Local 2013 in No. 88-1161;

3. Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers,

Division 71 and Brotherhood of Locomotive En-

gineers and Thomas C. Brennan in Nos. 88-

1162 and 88-1207; and

il

4. United Transportation Union, Brother-

hood of Railway, Airline and Steamship Clerks,

Freight Handlers, Express and Station Employ-

ees, Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Em-

ployees, Brotherhood of Railroad Signalmen in

Nos. 88-1163 and 88-1208.

Petitioner Southeastern Pennsyivania Transporta-

tion Authority has no parent corporation(s), non-wholly-

owned subsidiaries or affiliates.

ili

i i i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .................... i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW AND

RULE 28.1 STATEMENT ..........ccscece. ii

TABLES OF AUTEEBORITEES 2. cccccccccccccccece Vii

RE AAI OE oe 1

Se eet cncnedeé dnennd baadite ddd 2

Re ary See babka Snide sdsdec cena’ 2

STATEMENT OF THE CAGE .... cc cccccsccccce 2

A. The SEPTA Transportation System...... 3

B. Drug And Alcohol Use By SEPTA Person-

nel And The Authority’s Response ...... 5

C. The Integrated Program................ 6

D. The Historical Development Of SEPTA’s

Fitness For Duty And Suspicion Based

Testing As It Relates To The Regional

Ras Konddsgbsepewaeadunde cee 8

E. Major v. Minor Disputes Under The Rail-

Uy RAE Oe ons ek cccdabscwnctascacs 10

F. The Proceedings Below Following Prom-

ulgation Of The Integrated Program..... 14

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT........ 16

I. THE DECISION OF THE THIRD CIRCUIT

THAT THE ADDITION OF RANDOM

TESTING TO AN EXISTING PROGRAM OF

FITNESS FOR DUTY DRUG AND ALCO-

HOL TESTING CONSTITUTES A “MAJOR

DISPUTE” CONFLICTS IN PRINCIPLE

WITH DECISIONS OF OTHER CIRCUITS

ON AN IMPORTANT QUESTION OF FED-

ERAL LAW.....: Saidanncccaccekduss caeae 16

TABLE OF CONTENTS — (Continued)

Page

A. The Decision Conflicts In Principle With

Decisions Of The Seventh And Eighth

CHB no oc dccavencecssscbecssscaeces 16

B. How A Refinement Of Existing Drug And

Alcohol Testing Is Categorized Under The

RLA Has A Profound Impact On The

Safety Of Urban Mass Transportation.... 19

Il. THE DECISION OF THE THIRD CIRCUIT

WITH RESPECT TO RETURN TO WORK

TESTING CONFLICTS IN PRINCIPLE

WITH OTHER CIRCUITS ON AN IMPOR-

TANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW .... 22

A. In Not Recognizing That Return To Work

Testing Is Related Solely To A Routine

Fitness For Duty Determination, The

Third Circuit Has Created A Conflict In

Principle With Decisions Of The District

Of Columbia And Fifth Circuits......... 22

B. The Question Of The Constitutionality Of

Return To Work Testing Is Of Such Great

Importance That The Court Should Grant

Certiorari Even If There Were Not A Con-

flict In Principle In The Circuits ........ 24

ee fF) | PPT TTITCTT TT irre err 26

APP EEE nocd cnesbearccesdarvcaneneesecesvss A-1

Opinion of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit dated December 28, 1988... A-1

Order of U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit dated January 19, 1989 ......... A-31

Order of U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit dated February 16, 1989........ A-32

TABLE OF CONTENTS — (Continued)

Page

Opinion of U.S. District Court, Eastern District

of Pennsylvania dated January 19, 1988 . A-33

Order of U.S. District Court, Eastern District of

Pennsylvania dated February 19, 1988... A-54

Order of U.S. District Court, Eastern District of

Pennsylvania dated March 1, 1988...... A-56

Statutory Provisions of the Railway Labor Act,

45 U.S.C. Section 152, First through

TS <Mht eae ee heh¥ 606 ds 6b eeccces A-58

43 U.S.C. Section 1$3........ccccccccce A-61

45 U.S.C. Section 155, First ........... A-73

4S UBL. Gectiom 156... ..6ccccccccccce A-74

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Air Line Pilots Ass'n., Int'l v. Trans World Airlines,

Inc., 713 F.2d 940 (2d Cir. 1983), aff'd in part

and rev'd in part on other grounds, sub nom.,

Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Thurston, 469

US. B20 CUGBS). cccccccccccccccccccssccccce 12

Amalgamated Transit Union, Division 1279 v.

Cambria County Transit Authority, 691

F.Supp. 898 (W.D. Pa. 1988) ............++.- 23

Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers v. Atchinson,

Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Co., 768 F.2d 914

(7th Cir. 19GS)... nc cccccccccccccccccccccccce 14

Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers v. Burlington

Northern R.R., 838 F.2d 1087 (9th Cir. 1988),

petition for cert. filed , 57 U.S.L.W. 3017 (U.S.

April 1, 1988) (No. 87-1631).............. 12, 19

Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees,

Lodge 16 v. Burlington Northern R.R., 802 F.2d

1016 (8th Cir. 1986).............. 12, 16, 17, 18

Brotherhood of R.R. Trainmen v. Jacksonville Co.,

394 U.S. 369, reh'g denied, 394 U.S. 1024

CREED g vacccccncccccccseseqestaccsccsosece 13

Brotherhood Railway Carmen v. Norfolk & Western

Railway, 745 F.2d 370 (6th Cir. 1984) ....... 12

Burlington Northern Railroad Co. v. Brotherhood of

Maintenance of Way Employees, 107 S.Ct.

BOG CAGBT) . cccccccccccccccscccccsccccccces 13

Consolidated Rail Corporation v. Railway Labor

Executives’ Ass'n., 845 F.2d 1187 (3d Cir.

1988), cert. granted, 109 S.Ct. 52 (1988).

SWetend sas sSRbeedeestelwerenewes ee 2, 3, 19, 20

Detroit & Toledo Shore Line R.R. v. United Trans-

portation Union, 396 U.S. 142 (1969)........ 12

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Continued)

Cases: Page

Elgin, Joliet & Eastern Railway Co. v. Burnley, 325

U.S. 711 (1945), aff'd on rehearing, 327 U.S.

ee RE b cemanbasendceussedatndeausens 10-11

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers v.

Washington Terminal Co., 473 F.2d 1156 (D.C.

Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 411 U.S. 906 (1973).. 12

International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. South-

west Airlines Co., 842 F.2d 794 (Sth Cir.

ny A Se ap ra an eR ap Oe 12, 13

Jones v. McKenzie, 833 F.2d 335 (D.C. Cir. 1987),

petition for cert. filed, sub nom. Jenkins v.

Jones, 57 U.S.L.W. 3017 (U.S. April 15, 1988)

Se EE tind oshedenedu é¥ee vadee 22, 23, 24

Maine Central R.R. v. United Transportation

Union, 787 F.2d 780 (1st Cir.), cert. denied,

ee ee co bccateseccavdtecncine 12

National Railway Labor Conference v. Interna-

tional Ass'n of Machinists & Aerospace Work-

ers, 830 F.2d 741 (7th Cir. 1987)............ 12

National Treasury Employees Union v. Von Raab,

816 F.2d 107 (Sth Cir. 1987), cert. granted, 108

ee oat eee 22, 23, 24

Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Air Line Pilots Ass'n.

Intern., 808 F.2d 76 (D.C. Cir. 1987), cert.

denied, 108 S.Ct. 1751 (1988)............... 13

Railway Labor Executives’ Association v. Burnley,

839 F.2d 575 (9th Cir.), cert. granted, 108 S.Ct.

EE thtaacdadwasdie ctiekddnke ake 19-20

Railway Labor Executives’ Association v. Norfolk &

Western Railway Co., 833 F.2d 700 (7th Cir.

ED scchanetdussencnxuans 13, 14, 16-17, 18, 19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Continued)

Cases: Page

United Steelworkers of America v. Warrior and

Gulf Navigation Co., 363 U.S. 574 (1960).... 13

United Transportation Union v. Penn Central

Transportation Co., 372 F.Supp. 671 (E.D.Pa.

1973), aff'd, 50S F.2d 542 (3d Cir. 1974) ..... 11

Wrightsell v. City of Chicago, 678 F.Supp. 727

(N.D. Ill. 1988) .... 2.6. eee cece eee eeeeeee 23

STATUTES

2B U.S.C. $1254(1) 2... cece cece cc ccccccccccess 2

Railway Labor Act,

45 U.S.C. §151 ef Seq... . 6 ee cece eee eneees 2,4

OG UB GAGS occ cccccccccasccccceass 2, 11, 13

Ce ID cs cccanecicceccaciasannse 2, 13, 33

45 U.S.C. $155 .....ccccccccccsccccees 2, 13, 21

45 U.S.C. $156... cc ccccccccccccccccccces 2, 11

43 Pa. Stat. Ann. §1101.101 ef seq. ...----+++0+: 4

55 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. §600.11 ef seq.......--+-- 3

66 Pa. Stat. Ann. §2001 ef seq. ....- +--+ +e eeeeees 3

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1988

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY, ef al.

Petitioners,

V.

TRANSPORT WORKERS’ UNION

OF PHILADELPHIA, LOCAL 234, et al.

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Petitioners, Southeastern Pennsylvania Transporta-

tion Authority, et al., (SEPTA) respectfully pray that a

writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and

opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit, entered i. the above-entitled proceeding

on December 28, 1988.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit is reported at 863 F.2d 1110 (3d

Cir. 1988) and is reproduced in the Appendix hereto ai

A-1 to A-30.

The opinion of the District Court for the Eastern

District of Pennsylvania is reported at 678 F.Supp. 543

(E.D.Pa. 1988) and is reproduced in the Appendix at

A-33 to A-53.

2

JURISDICTION

The decision of the Court of Appeals was entered on

December 28, 1988. On January 19, 1989, the Court of

Appeals stayed the issuance of its mandate until Febru-

ary 17, 1989. A-31. On February 16, 1989, the Court of

Appeals extended the stay of issuance of the mandate

until March 9, 1989. A-32. The jurisdiction of this Court

is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED

Sections 2, 3, 5 and 6 of the Railway Labor Act, 45

U.S.C. 152, 153, 155 and 156 are set forth in pertinent

part in the Appendix at A-58 to A-75.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Court has granted a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit and

on February 28, 1989 heard argument in the matter of

Consolidated Rail Corporation v. Railway Labor Execu-

tives’ Association, 845 F.2d 1187 (3d Cir. 1988), cert.

granted, 109 S.Ct. 52 (1988). Conrail is one of the

nation’s largest freight rail carriers. The question posed

in that proceeding is whether Conrail’s inclusion of a

drug test in the urinalysis component of its fitness for

duty medical examinations constituted a “major dispu-

te” under the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. $151 et seq.

(RLA).

In the present case, one of the nation’s largest urban

mass transportation systems, Southeastern Pennsylva-

nia Transportation Authority (SEPTA), imperiled by an

extraordinary, proven pattern of drug and alcohol usage,

seeks a Writ of Certiorari on two closely related ques-

tions concerning fitness for duty drug and alcohol test-

ing. The case arises out of SEPTA’s efforts to apply a

long standing and well publicized fitness for duty stan-

dard to personnel in operator and other safety-sensitive

3

positions,! and in support thereof to conduct random?

and return to work drug and alcohol testing of such

personnel on an administrative basis, all as part of a

balanced, tripartite program of education, rehabilitation,

and testing.?

For the same reasons that led the Court to grant the

Writ of Certiorari in Conrail, the court should grant a

Writ in the present case. However, this case presents a

situation of even greater significance and risk to the

public than Conrail. SEPTA’s employees carry and are

entrusted with hundreds of thousands of human lives

each year, not inanimate objects of freight. The public’s

interest in safe mass transportation, as well as in a

determination of what responsible management can do

in the context of the Railway Labor Act, is of vital

importance. The issues involved in this petition should

not be left unresolved by the Court.

A. The SEPTA Transportation System.

SEPTA, a public agency, organized under 66 Pa.

Stat. Ann. §2001 et seq. (repealed) and 55 Pa. Con. Stat.

Ann. §600.11 et seq. owns and operates mass transpor-

tation facilities consisting of subways, buses, trolleys,

and high speed commuter rail lines in Bucks, Chester,

Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia counties in

1. e.g. engineer, bus person, subway/elevated train person,

signal maintainer and various inspectors.

2. “Random” in the context of this case means a computer

generated, scientifically random selection of employees to be tested,

which selection has been devised by a nationally recognized statis-

tical consultant to exclude any arbitrary, capricious or discrimina-

tory basis for selection of employees to be tested. A-24.

3. The testing component is not administered for disciplinary

purposes but is rather utilized to prevent personnel in the foregoing

safety-sensitive positions from endangering SEPTA’s passengers

and operators, routing them instead to rehabilitation programs.

4

Pennsylvania, New Castle County, Delaware and Mer-

cer County, New Jersey.* A-35 to A-36.

Operation of SEPTA’s high speed vehicles requires

the use of complex skills. Congested arteries, crowded

vehicles, difficult weather conditions and unruly passen-

gers are common. As acknowledged by the District

Court, “[v]jehicle operators must be attentive to their

work. Subway and train signal systems are complex and

demanding. Braking requires vigilance and sound judg-

ment”, and “[a] vehicle operator must have a clear mind

and the ability to react quickly and efficiently.” A-36.

Thus, even if one could operate a train down an open

track, the question remains whether, at a crucial instant,

the operator could discern a rapidly changing signal,

determine the necessary response, and execute that

response rapidly enough to avoid catastrophe. One of

respondents’ expert witnesses acknowledged that drug

users not “obviously impaired in performing routine

4. The Regional Rail Division (RRD) serves all the aforesaid

counties with a network of 13 commuter rail lines providing

approximately 78,000 passenger trips per day. The RRD employees

are represented by various railway brotherhoods including Brother-

hood of Locomotive Engineers (BLE), United Transportation Union

(UTU), Brotherhood of Railway, Airline and Steamship Clerks

(BRAC), Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees (BMWE)

and Brotherhood of Railroad Signalmen (BRS). The relationships of

those unions and SEPTA are governed by the Railway Labor Act, 45

U.S.C. §151 et seq.

The City Transit Division (CTD) provides approximately

789,000 passenger trips per day in a network of subway, bus, trolley

and trackless trolley car routes mostly within the City of Philadel-

phia. The CTD employees are represented primarily by Transport

Workers Union of Philadelphia, Local 234 (TWU). The relationship

of TWU and SEPTA is governed by the Pennsylvania Public

Employee Relations Act, 43 Pa. Stat. Ann. §1101.101 ef seq.

(PERA)

There is also a Suburban Transit Division (STD) serving the

western and northern suburbs of Philadelphia with a variety of

inter-urban trolley, streetcar and bus routes. The STD employees

are represented primarily by the UTU. The relationship between

UTU and SEPTA in the STD is also governed by PERA.

ed Re merece ter’ pete te ee

Abbebinsmannis? 60 lies) A

ae eat Fi 8 re 50

5

work tasks can display a lack of flexibility and inability to

respond to sudden changes or emergency situations”.

A-20.

The problem is exacerbated by the fact that bus and

train operators conduct their activities across a wide

geographic area in a multitude of separate vehicles.

Typically, they are alone or accompanied only by a

person who may be located in a separate compartment

and therefore do not operate under continuous supervi-

sory observation.

B. Drug And Alcohol Use By SEPTA Personnel And The

Authority’s Response.

Drug and alcohol use by SEPTA’s operating employ-

ces has presented an increasingly significant safety

problem. A-19. In six major accidents occurring in 1986

and 1987, collectively involving at least 89 injuries, the

operators of SEPTZ. vehicles at fault tested positive for

alcohol or drug metabolites. Of 262 employees tested

“for cause” between January 1985 and July 1987, 82

employees or 31% tested positive for drug metabolites or

alcohol. Twelve percent of the new hires given drug

tests within the same period produced positive results.

A-20. Moreover, almost one out of every ten employees

returning from extended absences (not including per-

sons reinstated following a disciplinary event) tested

positive. Of those employees who were tested prior to

returning after being reinstated following discipline, the

number of positives increased to 29%.

Following a series of drug-related accidents, on

January 16, 1987, SEPTA announced the addition of

random drug and alcohol testing to its existing fitness

for duty and suspicion based drug and alcohol testing.

This policy was set forth in Order No. 87-1 which states

in pertinent part:

In view of the critical nature of the Authority’s

Operation and_in furtherance of the Public Policy

ae

6

concerning alcohol/drug abuse in the workplace;

operating employees will be subject to urine and/or

blood screening tests to determine if they are in

compliance with the Authority’s rules governing

alcohol and/or drugs.

Screening will be without advance notice and will be

accomplished in accordance with accepted prac-

tices.

In addition, on February 3, 1987, SEPTA issued

Order No. 87-2 which amended its return to work

medical examination procedure to’ include drug and

alcohol screening in the case of absence due to physical

problems, rehabilitation for substance abuse, disciplin-

ary suspension or other absence from duty in excess of

30 days. A full set of regulations setting forth the testing

program issued soon thereafter.

Respondents immediately sought an injunction

against the random testing claiming it violated the

Fourth Amendment and that it raised a major dispute

under the RLA. A lengthy hearing followed in February

1987.5 Though recognizing merit in SEPTA’s efforts, on

February 19, 1987, the District Court preliminarily

enjoined the new testing and directed the parties to

discuss a revised program.

C. The Integrated Program.

Following an extended dialogue over the spring and

summer of 1987 between SEPTA and the respondents,

and various experts engaged by the parties, SEPTA

proposed a substantially modified program entitled “In-

tegrated Program of Education, Assistance and Testing

5. Order No. 87-2 concerning return to work testing was

issued during the course of the hearing. Its constitutionality also

was challenged by Respondents by means of an amended com-

plaint.

7

for Intoxicants and Controlled Substances.” (the Inte-

grated Program).

In addition to the random and return to work

testing, the Integrated Program contained substantial

educational and rehabilitative provisions. The Integrated

Program is based on the fitness for duty standard which

requires that while on duty or subject to duty, operators

and others in safety-sensitive positions must be drug and

alcohol free. This means that at the time of testing,

during the employee’s work day and on Authority prop-

erty, he or she is free of alcohol or drugs or their

metabolites in an amount sufficient to be identified as

positive under the announced standards.*®

In accordance with Order No. 87-1, the Integrated

Program provides for random testing of urine and

breath. Such testing may not commence sooner than

ninety days after notice that the Integrated Program is

going into effect is given to the employees, not sooner

than ninety days after the Integrated Program’s educa-

tional component is in place and not sooner than thirty

days after the Integrated Program’s employee assistance

component is in place. The employee assistance compo-

nent utilizes an outside provider selected after consulta-

tion with the respondent unions and offers substance

abuse treatment, rehabilitation and after care tailored to

the individual employee. Employees may also refer

themselves prior to any testing and voluntarily enter the

employee assistance component.

In addition to the random testing, the Integrated

Program provides, in accordance with Order No. 87-2,

that employees will be tested when they are about to

return to work from an absence of over thirty (30) days.

This testing would be done as part of the scheduled

6. The standards were established with advice from nationally

recognized consultants who have worked with the International

Brotherhood of Teamsters, Major League Baseball and the United

States Navy. m

8

medical examination routinely given to the employee

upon his or her return to work.

Stringent safeguards exist for confidentiality of test

results. The testing component, which requires confir-

mation by gas chromatography/mass spectrometry, is

governed by strict specifications, including rigorous

chain of custody provisions. Moreover, in the event of a

positive random test result, which is itself subject to a

careful review process, the employee is given an oppor-

tunity for rehabilitation under the employee assistance

‘component.’ A-9 to A-10.

D. The Historical Development Of SEPTA’s Fitness For

Duty And Suspicion Based Testing As It Relates To

The Regional Rail Division.

On January 1, 1983, SEPTA succeeded Conrail as

the operator of the commuter railway system in the

Philadelphia metropolitan area, which SEPTA reconsti-

tuted into what is now known as the Regional Rail

Division. As a result, SEPTA has collective bargaining

agreements governed by the Railway Labor Act with

respondents UTU, BRAC, BLE, BMWE and BRS. Each

of the rail labor agreements contains a provision for the

arbitration of grievances.

Each of the rail labor agreements also specifically

contains a section providing that:

The safe, efficient and economical operation of

SEPTA is a major concern to the public, SEPTA, the

employee and the Union.

and that all parties to the agreement:

7. Only an employee who refuses to enter or cannot success-

fully complete rehabilitation, is subject to discipline. This approach

was explicitly endorsed by the Director of the Rutgers University

Center of Alcohol Studies, an expert witness in this proceeding.

9

are charged with the responsibility of positively and

pO advising management concerning

means of . . . improving safety.

In addition, each of the rail labor agreements spe-

cifically contains a management functions clause which

States that:

All management functions and _ responsibilities

which SEPTA has not expressly modified or re-

stricted by a specific provision of this Agreement are

retained and vested exclusively in SEPTA.

The BLE and UTU contracts specifically provide for

periodic medical examinations.

SEPTA and its predecessor, Conrail, promulgated a

series of rules and statements of policy relating to the

preservation of fitness for duty, culminating in Order

Nos. 87-1 and 87-2 and the Integrated Program. The rail

labor respondents never previously contended that any

such ‘change in the rules regarding drugs and aicohol

raised a major dispute under the RLA, as they now

contend for the first time with respect to Order No. 87-1

and the Integrated Program.

Thus, for many years, SEPTA’s predecessor, Con-

rail, had in place Rule G which provided that:

The use of intoxicants, narcotics, amphetamines or

hallucinogens by employees subject to duty, or their

possession or use while on duty is prohibited.

Employees under medication before or while on

duty must be certain that such use will not affect the

safe performance of their duties.

Following the effective date of SEPTA’s first agree-

ment with BLE on July 1, 1983, it repromulgated Rule G

as Rule I which added a procedure for blood and/or urine

testing to what had been under Rule G a fitness for duty

standard enforced solely by supervisory observation. The

10

Brotherhoods voiced no contention that the promulga-

tion of Rule I presented a major dispute.

Thereafter, in 1985, SEPTA promulgated Order No.

85-1 which provided in pertinent part that:

Because of the unpredictable residual effects of

certain intoxicants and/or controlled substances the

presence of intaxicants or controlled substances in

employees ... is strictly prohibited and is a dis-

chargeable offense .. . Any employee suspected of

being in violation of this Order may be required to

take a blood/urinalysis or other toxicological test(s).

(Emphasis added). The Brotherhoods voiced no conten-

tion that the promulgation of Order No. 85-1 presented

a major dispute.

On July 10, 1986, SEPTA issued District Notice No.

3-25 providing that:

Effective immediately, any signal violation will re-

sult in body fluid testing and discipline up to and

including the discharge of negligent personnel.

The Brotherhoods raised no objection with respect to

that rule either. Further, members of certain of the

railroad crafts have for some time been tested for drugs

and alcohol during routine periodic physical examina-

tions, without objection by the respondents.

E. Major v. Minor Disputes Under The Railway Labor

Act.

This case involves an improper characterization of a

railway labor dispute by the Third Circuit, a character-

ization which is not only incorrect under this Court’s

decisions and in conflict with relevant circuit court

decisions, but which has serious consequences both for

mass transportation and for public policy. In Elgin, Joliet

& Eastern Railway Co. v. Burnley, 325 U.S. 711 (1945),

aff'd on rehearing, 327 U.S. 661 (1946), this Court held

—

11

that a “minor” dispute:

... contemplates the existence of a collective agree-

ment already concluded or, at any rate, a situation in

which no effort is made to bring about a formal

change in terms or to create a new one. The dispute

relates either to the meaning or proper application

of a particular provision with reference to a specific

situation ... the claim is to rights accrued, not

merely to have new ones created for the future.

325 U.S. at 723 (emphasis added). The Elgin court

classified as “major”:

disputes over the formation of collective agreements

or efforts to secure them. They arise where there is

no such agreement or where it is sought to change

the terms of one, and therefore the issue is not

whether an existing agreement controls the contro-

versy.

325 U.S. at 723 (emphasis added). The question thus is

whether a matter implicates a “change . . . in the work-

ing conditions . . . as embodied in agreements. 45 U.S.C.

§152, Seventh. A-60. If so, the matter is subject to

Section 6 of the RLA, 45 U.S.C. §156, and is a so-called

“major dispute”, A-74 to A-75; if not, the matter is

subject to Section 3, 45 U.S.C. §153, First (i) and is a

so-called “minor dispute”. A-65.

That determination turns on an assessment by the

court (in cases where the carrier and union clash over

that preliminary question) of whether the position of the

moving party can “arguably” be justified by the existing

agreement. United Transportation Union v. Penn Cen-

tral Transportation Co., 505 F.2d 542, 544 (3d Cir.

1974). If so, then no “change” in working conditions

“embodied in agreements” is involved, and the matter

goes to an arbitration board under Section 3, 45 U.S.C.

§153.8

Of course, the arbitrator may u!timately find that the matter

iS notWontractually justified in which case a “change” is involved,

and the moving party must either follow Section 6 or recede.

12

It is not necessary that the terms of a collective

bargaining agreement be set forth in a written docu-

ment; they can be inferred from habit and custom.

Detroit & Toledo Shore Line R.R. v. United Transpor-

tation Union, 396 U.S. 142, 153-154 (1969); Brother-

hood of Locomotive Engineers v. Burlington Northern

R.R., 838 F.2d 1087, 1091-1092 (9th Cir. 1988), peti-

tion for cert. filed, 57 U.S.L.W. 3017 (U.S. April 1,

1988) (No. 87-1631). Past practice, accepted or acqui-

esced in by a party, also becomes part of the agreement.

Maine Central R.R. v. United Transportation Union,

787 F.2d 780, 783 (1st Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 848

(1986). So long as the carrier's interpretation of the

agreement is not “frivolous” or “obviously insubstantial,”

the dispute must be deemed minor.®

That preliminary judicial assessment determines

whether the dispute is to be resolved peacefully or

instead by resort to economic self-help. Under the RLA,

9. See, e.g. International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. South-

west Airlines Co., 842 F.2d 794, 796 (Sth Cir. 1988) (“arguably

justified"); Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers v. Burlington

Northern R.R., 838 F.2d 1087, 1111 (9th Cir. 1988) (“arguably

justified”), petition for cert. filed, S7 U.S.L.W. 3017 (U.S. April 1,

1988) (No. 87-1631); National Ry. Labor Conference v. Interna-

tional Ass'n of Machinists & Aerospace Workers, 830 F.2d 741, 746

(7th Cir. 1987) (minor unless claim is “frivolous” or “obviously

insubstantial”); Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees,

Lodge 16 v. Burlington Northern R.R., 802 F.2d 1016, 1022 (8th

Cir. 1986) (“reasonably susceptible” to asserted interpretation);

Brotherhood Ry. Carmen v. Norfolk & Western Ry., 745 F.2d 370,

375 (6th Cir. 1984) (“arguably justified” or not “obviously insub-

stantial”); Air Line Pilots Ass'n, Int'l v. Trans World Airlines, Inc.,

713 F.2d 940, 948 (2d Cir. 1983) (not “obviously insubstantial”),

aff'd in part and rev'd in part on other grounds, sub nom., Trans

World Airlines, Inc. v. Thurston, 469 U.S. 111 (1985); Interna-

tional Brotherhood of Electrical Workers v. Washington Terminal

Co., 473 F.2d 1156, 1173 (D.C. Cir. 1972) (“reasonably susceptible”

to carrier's contention), cert. denied, 411 U.S. 906 (1973). -

13

a question constituting a minor dispute is ultimately

subject to resolution by compulsory arbitration, 45

U.S.C. §152, Sixth and §153; on the other hand, a

matter deemed to constitute a major dispute, although

subject to a long panoply of procedures involving nego-

tiation, conciliation, fact finding and mediation, Broth-

erhood of R.R. Trainmen v. Jacksonville Co., 394 U.S.

369, 378-9, reh'g denied, 394 U.S. 1024 (1969), is

ultimately resolvable, in the absence of mutual agree-

ment either on the issue itself or on an ad hoc arbitration

of the issue,'® only by resort to the strike weapon.

Railway Labor Executives Association v. Norfolk &

Western Railway Co., 833 F.2d 700, 704 (7th Cir.

1987); International Brotherhood of Teamsters v.

Southwest Airlines Co., 842 F.2d 794 (Sth Cir. 1988).

The national labor policy unambiguously favors ar-

bitration as a means of resolving labor management

disputes. In United Steelworkers of America v. Warrior

and Gulf Navigation Co., 363 U.S. 574 (1960), this

Court expressly held thai unless it can be said with

positive assurance that a grievance arising between an

employer and a labor organization is not arbitrable, a

presumption of arbitrability applies.

The Railway Labor Act is no different. The same

presumption exists that arbitration is the favored mech-

anism, and therefore, that most disputes should be

characterized as minor and resolved within the arbitra-

tion mechanisms of the existing collective bargaining

agreements. See Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Air Line

Pilots Ass'n., Intern., 808 F.2d 76 (D.C. Cir. 1987)

(airline safety dispute is arbitrable). Indeed,

10. Such an arbitration, unlike arbitration of a minor dispute,

is mot mandatory. Section 5, First, 45 U.S.C. §155, First. A-73 to

A-74. The dispute may also be resolved by Congress. Burlington

Northern Railroad Co. v. Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way

Employees, 107 S.Ct. 1841, 1846 (1987).

14

(t]he primary objectives of the RLA are to promote

stability in labor relations in the railroad industry

and prevent strikes. Because a major dispute can

escalate into a strike, if there is any doubt as to

whether a dispute is major or minor a court will

construe the dispute to be minor.

Railway Labor Executives’ Association v. Norfolk &

Western Railway Co., 833 F.2d 700, 704-705 (7th Cir.

1987)(citations omitted)(emphasis added). Thus, as the

Seventh Circuit explained earlier in Brotherhood of

Locomotive Engineers v. Atchinson, Topeka & Sante Fe

Railway Co., 768 F.2d 914, 920 (7th Cir. 1985):

Since the machinery for resolving major disputes is

conciliatory rather than binding, a major dispute

can escalate into a strike, which in the transporta-

tion industries — producers of a nonstorable service

— can be a calamity. So it is no surprise that, when

in doubt, the courts construe disputes as minor.

F. The Proceedings Below Following Promulgation Of

The Integrated Program.

After a second round of hearings in September

1987, the District Court held that the Fourth Amend-

ment did not preclude the random testing but did

foreclose the return to work testing. Accordingly, the

District Court vacated the injunction against random

testing as it applied to the City Transit Division and

Suburban Transit Division, but continued the injunc-

tion against return to work testing. A-52 to A-53. The

District Court also continued the injunction against the

imposition cf random testing in the Regional Rail Divi-

sion because it deemed such testing to be a major

dispute requiring the exhaustion of Section 6 proce-

dures under the Railway Labor Act. SEPTA filed a

motien to alter or amend the judgment and to amend the

findings of fact regarding the return to work holding.

= ere Se re ee

eS

15

The District Court denied that motion. A-56 to A-57.

Both sides then appealed.

The Third Circuit, viewing “with amazement” the

respondent rail unions’ assertion that “[th]is case in-

volves an overreaction to an exaggerated hysteria con-

cerning the use of drugs and alcohol in our society,”

found that “[t]he enormity of the problem facing this

country because of drug use is sufficiently well estab-

lished to justify judicial notice.” A-19. It concluded that

there was adequate support for the District Court’s

findings that “drug use by SEPTA’s operating employees

present[ed] a significant safety problem and that the

Authority’s prior suspicion-based testing program

proved insufficient ‘to satisfy the needs of public

safety’ ”. A-19.

The Court of Appeals affirmed the District Court’s

decision in its entirety. In so doing, the Court of Appeals

created a paradoxical situation in which SEPTA could,

with the District Court’s imprimatur, commence ran-

dom drug and alcohol testing in the City Transit Division

and the Suburban Transit Division but couid not do so in

the Regional Rail Division. It created the additional

anomaly in the City and Suburban Transit Divisions that

random testing was to be permissible under the Fourth

Amendment but return to work testing (with notice and

as part of a scheduled medical examination) was not.

16

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE DECISION OF THE THIRD CIRCUIT THAT

THE ADDITION OF RANDOM TESTING TO AN EX-

ISTING PROGRAM OF FITNESS FOR DUTY DRUG

AND ALCOHOL TESTING CONSTITUTES A “MAJOR

DISPUTE” CONFLICTS IN PRINCIPLE WITH DECTI-

SIONS OF OTHER CIRCUITS ON AN IMPORTANT

QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW.

A. The Decision Conflicts In Principle With Decisions

Of The Seventh And Eighth Circuits.

The Third Circuit’s decision in this matter conflicts

in principle in two respects with the Seventh Circuit’s

decision in Railway Labor Executives’ Association v.

Norfolk & Western Railway Co., 833 F.2d 700 (7th Cir.

1987) and with the Eighth Circuit’s decision in Broth-

erhood of Maintenance of Way Employees, Lodge 16 v.

Burlington Northern R.R., 802 F.2d 1016 (8th Cir.

1986).

The Third Circuit misconceived SEPTA’s Integrated

Program as a modification of its disciplinary rules rather

than a refinement of the fitness for. duty standard. On

this mistaken premise, the Court held that the random

testing constituted such a significant departure from the

prior reasonable suspicion based testing engaged in by

SEPTA as to present a major dispute. Because SEPTA’s

random testing is to determine fitness for duty (and not

to uncover violations of rules), the Third Circuit’s deci-

sion conflicted in principle with those of the Seventh

and Eighth Circuits which held that the addition of a

drug screen to a medical examination intended to deter-

mine fitness for duty raises only a minor dispute.

In Norfolk & Western Railway, the carrier had a

long standing history of routine periodic medical exam-

inations. The railroad added to those examinations a

drug screen urinalysis as “an additional method of

insuring that employees are fit for their jobs.” 833 F.2d

17

at 706. The consequence of a positive result was that the ©

employee was given forty-five days within which to

demonstrate that his or her system was drug free by

providing a clean urine sample, or to participate in the

Carrier’s treatment program. If he or she failed to do so,

dismissal would follow. 833 F.2d at 708. Similarly, under

SEPTA’s program, an employee who tests positive may

choose to enter into a rehabilitation program and can be

dismissed only, ultimately, if he fails rehabilitation or

refuses to enter into rehabilitation.

In Burlington Northern, the court stated that:

it should come as no surprise to the parties that the

components of the work fitness medical examina-

tion will change with the times. Because BN and the

union are involved in a dispute over the scope of

BN’s actions designed “to ensure that all employees

are fit for duty” — actions which are arguably

justified — this dispute should be submitted to the

National Railroad Adjustment Board.

802 F.2d at 1024. Inasmuch as SEPTA proposes to test

on a random basis, its fitness for duty drug testing is in

fact less obtrusive than that of the Norfolk & Western or

Burlington Northern and should have been similarly

classified as a minor dispute.11 The Third Circuit’s

11. It is true that both the Seventh and Eighth Circuits in the

foregoing decisions inferentially expressed skepticism as to whether

the implementation of random testing would present only a minor

dispute. But, in both instances, the Courts discussed random

testing in the context of the enforcement of Rule G, the disciplinary

rule that prescribes termination in the event of a substance abuse

violation. Norfolk & Western, 833 F.2d at 707 fn. 6 and Burlington

Northern, 802 F.2d at 1022-1023. In SEPTA’s case, just as in that

of the Norfolk & Western and Burlington Northern, a violation of

Rule I (the successor to Rule G) would call for termination. But

because it is fitness for duty testing and not cause testing, the

Integrated Program does not require discipline, even in the face of

a positive test result, unless an employee refuses rehabilitation.

Accordingly, the doubts expressed by the Seventh and Eighth

18

decision to the contrary therefore conflicts in principle

with both Norfolk & Western and Burlington Northern.

The Third Circuit’s opinion also conflicts with Nor-

folk & Western, in terms of the weight to be accorded the

prior history of union acquiescence in SEPTA’s medical

fitness for duty testing. The Seventh Circuit found that

the Norfolk & Western conducted routine medical ex-

aminations to determine fitness for work for at least 20

years and that:

The unions have never objected to N&W’s require-

ment that all employees routinely undergo these

physical examinations and that all employees re-

turning from furloughs or other extended leaves of

absence pass a medical examination before they

return to work. Further, the unions have not previ-

ously objected to any specific test conducted as part

of these examinations.

833 F.2d at 705. These findings formed an essential

basis for the Seventh Circuit’s conclusion that the

addition of the drug screen to the routine examinations

presented only a minor dispute.

In the present case, however, notwithstanding that

the respondents had never previously objected to any of

the several stages of evolution in SEPTA’s testing, the

Third Circuit rejected SEPTA’s argument that this his-

tory disabled the respondents from arguing that the

random testing presents a major dispute. The Third

Circuit reasoned that such a rule is inappropriate be-

cause it would “deter unions from acquiescing or com-

promising on the drug testing question at pain of being

found to have agreed to a broader program.” A-28. Thus,

although it acknowledged that a drug testing program

can arguably be justified not only by the written agree-

ment but “from habit and custom,” A-26, the Third

NOTES (Continued)

Circuits with respect to random testing are not applicable in

SEPTA’s case.

19

Circuit nonetheless held that the respondents’ past

acquiescence in the development of the program was

not to be considered in determining whether the random

testing presented a major or minor dispute. This was not

only illogical but directly in conflict with the Seventh

Circuit’s opinion in Norfolk & Western.'2

B. How A Refinement Of Existing Drug And Alcohol

Testing Is Categorized Under The RLA Has A Pro-

found Impact On The Safety Of Urban Mass Trans-

portation. ce

The enormity of the problem facing this country

because of drug use, A-19, is compounded within the

transportation industry by the fact that large vehicles are

being operated at high speeds under complex

conditions.!3 For that reason, among others, this Court

has granted petitions for Writ of Certiorari in Consoli-

dated Rail Corporation v. Railway Labor Executives

Association and in Railway Labor Executives’

12. The Third Circuit’s observation that the District Court had

correctly found that the unions had never before acquiesced in

widespread testing or to any significant testing without individual-

ized suspicion was incorrect. The railroad brotherhoods acknowl-

edged in their brief to the Court of Appeals that there was already

drug testing being done in conjunction with the periodic medical

examinations required of members of the BLE and UTU.

13. As appropriately observed by Conrail in its petition for writ

of certiorari filed on June 29, 1988:

“The tragic consequences of drug and alcohol abuse in the

transportation industry are vividly recited both in the Depart-

ment of Tramsportation’s Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 53

Fed. Reg. 16,640 (1988) (to be codified at 49 C.F.R. pts. 217,

219) (proposed May 10, 1988), and in the petitions for writs of

certiorari filed in Railway Labor Executives’ Ass'n v. Burnley,

839 F.2d 575 (9th Cir.), cert. granted, 108 S. Ct. 2033 (1988)

and Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers v. Burlington R.R.,

838 F.2d 1087 (9th Cir. 1988), petition for cert. filed (U.S.

April 1, 1988) (No. 87-1631).”

20

Association v. Burnley.

The dilemma posed to the freight rail carriers by

drug and alcohol use in the foregoing cases is substan-

tial and real, but it pales in comparison to the extraordi-

nary danger to life and limb which such use presents to

the hundreds of thousands of persons who ride SEPTA

vehicles each day. Whatever the paramount public im-

portance of deciding whether the Federal Railroad Ad-

ministration Drug And Alcohol Testing regulations are

constitutional as in Burnley or whether the addition of a

drug and alcohol screen to a pre-existing periodic med-

ical examination constitutes a major dispute as in Con-

rail, the question presented here eclipses those ques-

tions in public importance.

The Court of Appeals approved the District Court’s

findings that drug use by SEPTA’s operating employees

presents a significant safety problem and that SEPTA’s

prior suspicion-based testing program proved insuffi-

cient “to satisfy the needs of public safety and mass

transit reliability”. A-44.

Significantly, the Court of Appeals also found that:

In light of the evidence connecting impairment with

drug use, it was appropriate for SEPTA to design its

program in an effort to detect drug users. It was not

required to limit its detection efforts to those em-

ployees whose then—current impairment could be

detected, particularly in light of the testimony by

experts offered by both the Unions and SEPTA that

current urine testing technologies do not permit the

detection or measurement of current impairment.

A-21. The Court of Appeals further acknowledged that a

carrier can not reliably detect use on a cause basis

because impairment is frequently latent. A-20 to A-21.

Yet, notwithstanding its concurrence in the concept of

21

use (rather than impairment) testing, the Court of

Appeals predicated its conclusion that the random test-

ing raised a major dispute upon its belief that “testing on

the basis of reasonable suspicion of drug use bears an

element of ‘cause’ not present in the case of random

testing.” A-27 to A-28. (emphasis added).

In so doing, the Court of Appeals exposed SEPTA

and the riding public to the possibility that random

testing, the need for which has already been demon-

Strated, might never come to pass in the Regional

Railroad Division, unless SEPTA is prepared first to

withstand a strike.

This is so because, if the implementation of random

testing implicates a major dispute, the only way SEPTA

can obtain the random testing in the Regional Rail

Division, in the absence of agreement by the respon-

dents, is to post new terms and conditions of employ-

ment, including the Integrated Program, after the RLA

Statutory “cooling off period”, which itself follows a long

period of negotiations and mediation, and thereby risk a

strike.!4 Section 5, First, 45 U.S.C. 155, First. A-73 to

A-74. Whether the imposition of random testing in the

Regional Rail Division, is a major or a minor dispute, a

question which affects all mass transit systems, is thus

clearly a federal question of substantial importance

which should be resolved by the Supreme Court.

14. Finding the question to be a minor dispute subject to

arbitration, of course, does not guarantee SEPTA would prevail in

such arbitration. But it does guarantee that SEPTA’s asserted right

to conduct random testing in its Regional Rail Division would be

resolved in the forum that the parties’ have contractually selected

and which the Railway Labor Act and national labor policy favor.

Moreover, such a conclusion still leaves to the respondents the right

to bargain over the random testing as a major dispute in the event

the arbitrator finds that it is not authorized by the current agree-

ments. In that case, SEPTA would have no choice but to follow the

Section 6 procedures. But an arbitrator, not a court, should decide

in the first instance whether the current contract encompasses the

random testing.

22

Il. THE DECISION OF THE THIRD CIRCUIT WITH

RESPECT TO RETURN TO WORK TESTING CON-

FLICTS IN PRINCIPLE WITH OTHER CIRCUITS

ON AN IMPORTANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL

LAW.

A. In Not Recognizing That Return To Work Testing

Is Related Solely To A Routine Fitness For Duty

Determination, The Third Circuit Has Created A

Conflict In Principle With Decisions Of The Dis-

trict Of Columbia And Fifth Circuits.

It is well-established and accepted that a medical

examination is routinely performed by SEPTA’s Medical

Department at the time an employee returns to work

from a prolonged (more than thirty (30) day) absence.

The purpose of this examination is to establish the

employee’s fitness for duty. Although the observation of

an employee during-the examination by a physician

might disclose a manifest alcohol or drug problem, a

drug and alcohol screen is nevertheless required, since,

as the district court correctly found, “[m]Jany drugs have

delayed, residual or chronic effects not ascertainable

through behavioral observation.” A-46. For that very

reason the medical examination conducted by SEPTA

has historically included the collection and analysis of a

variety of body fluids. The Court of Appeals nevertheless

affirmed the District Court’s injunction against the

return to work testing provided for in SEPTA’s Inte-

grated Program.

The Third Circuit’s decision conflicts in principle

with the decision of the District of Columbia Circuit in

Jones v. McKenzie, 833 F.2d 335 (D.C. Cir. 1987),

petition for cert. filed, sub nom. Jenkins v. Jones, 57

U.S.L.W. 3017 (U.S. April 15, 1988)(No. 87-1706) and

with the decision of the Fifth Circuit in National Trea-

sury Employees Union v. Von Raab, 816 F.2d 170 (Sth

Cir. 1987), cert. granted, 108 S.Ct. 1072 (1988). This

23

Court granted the petition for Writ of Certiorari in Von

Raab and heard oral argument in that case on November

2, 1988.

In Jones, the court held that it was not unreason-

able, in light of the relevant safety considerations, to

require drug testing as part of a routine medical exam-

ination for school bus attendants. SEPTA’s return to

work testing is manifestly related to a fitness for duty

determination and is thus analytically the same as the

school district’s routine medical examinations. The

safety considerations present in the operation of a sys-

tem of mass transportation in the metropolitan Philadel-

phia area are no less compelling. To deprive SEPTA of

the ability to conduct a drug and alcohol screen in the

course of its routine return to work physical examina-

tions is contrary to the rationale and holding of Jones and

improperly endangers SEPTA’s passengers and, indeed,

SEPTA’s employees themselves. See also Wrightsell v.

City of Chicago, 678 F.Supp. 727, 733-34 (N.D. Ill.

1988) (Testing “as part of a regular medical examination

required after return from thirty (30) days or more of

leave” approved, the addition of a drug screen to uri-

nalysis is a “minimal intrusion”, and because it is

conducted under specified circumstances, the likelihood

of abuse or harassment is reduced.); Amalgamated

Transit Union, Division 1279 v. Cambria County Tran-

sit Authority, 691 F.Supp. 898, 904 (W.D.Pa. 1988)

(“[T]lesting as part of a regular medical examination

works a minimal intrusion on the plaintiff’s Fourth

Amendment privacy interests” and “a routine medical

examination takes place in a manner likely to allay

anxieties.”).

In Von Raab, the court held that the United States

Custom Service Program requiring a drug screening by

urinalysis of employees seeking transfer to certain jobs

was reasonabie because of the government’s interest in

employing individuals for key positions in drug enforce-

ment who were not drug users. 816 F.2d at 172-173.

24

Although Von Raab did not address drug testing in a

transportation setting, the Customs Service’s drug test-

ing program, like that of the School District in Jones and

here in SEPTA, was based on fitness for duty. Even

though the Commissioner described the Service as

“largely drug free”, 816 F.2d at 173, the court found that

the testing, as “a condition of assignment”, was justified

because of the nature and responsibilities of the jobs at

issue and to assure both the integrity of the Customs

Service and the absence of possible moral risk in the

applicants’ performance. 816 F.2d at 179. Certainly,

SEPTA’s obligations to the public in operating a safe

mass transportation system are at least equal in impor-

tance to those of the Custom Service in enforcing the

drug laws. Thus, the Third Circuit’s affirmance of the

injunction against return to work testing is contrary to

the rationale and holding of Von Raab as well as Jones.

This conflict presents a serious dilemma for those

who are charged with the operation of transportation

systems, and particularly the operation of mass transpor-

tation systems such as SEPTA, where serious drug and

alcohol problems have occurred, accidents have re-

sulted, and a carefully designed program with preven-

tion and rehabilitation as its primary goals has been

implemented, only to have one of its principal tools

enjoined. The Court should grant certiorari in order to

resolve the conflict in principle and provide guidance to

those responsible for these vast safety-sensitive opera-

tions.

B. The Question of The Constitutionality Of Return To

Work Testing Is Of Such Great Importance That The

Court Should Grant Certiorari Even If There Were

Not A Conflict In Principle In The Circuits.

The Third Circuit inconsistently sustained SEPTA’s

right as a matter of Constitutional law to conduct the

testing for drug and alcohol use on a random basis, but

25

not in the course of routine return to work physical

examinations. The issue presented by the Court of

Appeals’ affirmance of the injunction against return to

work testing is of such great public importance that the

Court should grant certiorari, even if there were not a

conflict between the circuits.

The issue is certainly of great moment to the pu lic

in the Delaware Valley, which uses SEPTA’s mass

transportation system for over 300,000,000 passenger

trips per year. But it is of no less moment to travelers

everywhere who are dependent upon the safe and effi-

cient operation of vehicles of mass transportation, all of

whom are riding with implicit trust in the fitness for

duty of the operators of those vehicles.

The proper extent of an operator’s rights is also of

great public significance. Do those rights preclude drug

and alcohol testing during a scheduled medical exami-

nation upon return to work to confirm fitness for duty?

Do those rights preclude such testing where drug and

alcohol use has been demonstrated to constitute a clear

and present danger to the traveling public? Do those

rights preclude such tests where actual test results show

positive findings in one out of ten non-disciplinary

returnee cases despite the fact that the tests are sched-

uled and the employee can control the actual timing of

his or her test? Do those rights preclude such tests

where they are conducted not for punitive purposes, but

rather for a rehabilitative purpose as part of an inte-

grated program of education, employee assistance, and

testing?

SEPTA strongly believes that the operator’s rights

do not and cannot preclude such testing and that the

Third Circuit was therefore in error. The Court should

thus grant certiorari for the further purpose of determin-

ing the proper manner by which such interest and

duties on the one hand, and employee rights on the

other hand, should be balanced against one another.

26

CONCLUSION

For each of the foregoing reasons, SEPTA respect-

fully urges the Court to grant this Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

DILWORTH, PAXSON, KALISH

& KAUFFMAN

(s/ John F. Smith, W200

JOHN F. SMITH, Ul

(Counsel of Record)

RICHARD S. MEYER

HOPE A. COMISKY

BARBRA SHOTEL

2600 The Fidelity building

Philadelphia, PA 19109

(215) 875-7220

Attorneys for Petitioners

Southeastern Pennsylvania

Transportation Authority, et al.

Dated March 8, 1989

APPENDIX TO

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

lO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

eS ee

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

NOS. 88-1160 and 88-1206

TRANSPORT WORKERS’ UNION OF

PHILADELPHIA, LOCAL 234,

Appellant in No. 88-1206

Vv.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY,

Appellant in No. 88-1160

On Appeal from the United States

District Court for the

~ Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. Civil No. 87-0389}

NO. 88-1161

TRANSPORT WORKERS UNION

OF AMERICA, LOCAL 2013

:

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

and

._LOUIS F. GOULD, Jr., Esquire, Individually and in

his official capacity as Chairman of the Board of

SEPTA; ROBERT J. THOMPSON, Individually and in

his official capacity as Vice Chairman of the Board of

SEPTA; BRIAN W. CLYMER; JUDITH E. HARRIS,

Esquire; MARY C. HARRIS, THOMAS M. HAYWARD,

C.P.A.; FRANK W. JENKINS, Esquire; RICHARD E.

A-1

A-2

KUTZ, Esquire; DAVID W. MARSTON, Esquire;

JAMES C. McHUGH and FRANKLIN C. WOOD,

Individually and in their official capacities as

Members of the Board of SEPTA,

Appellants

On Appeal from the United States

District Court for the

Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. Civil No. 87-0446)

NOS. 88-1162 and 88-1207

BROTHERHOOD OF LOCOMOTIVE ENGINEERS,

DIVISION 71 and BROTHERHOOD OF

LOCOMOTIVE ENGINEERS and

THOMAS C. BRENNAN,

Appellants in No. 88-1207

Vv.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

and

LOUIS F. GOULD, Jr., Esquire, Individually and in

his official capacity as Chairman of the Board of

SEPTA; ROBERT J. THOMPSON, Individually and in

his official capacity as Vice Chairman of the Board of

SEPTA; BRIAN W. CLYMER;

JUDITH E. HARRIS, Esquire; MARY C. HARRIS;

THOMAS M. HAYWARD, C.P.A.; FRANK

W. JENKINS, Esquire; RICHARD E. KUTZ, Esquire;

DAVID W. MARSTON, Esquire; JAMES C. McHUGH

and FRANKLIN C. WOOD, Individually and in

their official capacity as Members of the Board of

SEPTA,

Appellants in No. 88-1162

On Appeal from the United States

District Court for the

Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. Civil No. 87-0448)

NOS. 88-1163 and 88-1208

UNITED TRANSPORTATION UNION,

BROTHERHOOD OF RAILWAY, AIRLINE AND

STEAMSHIP CLERKS,

FREIGHT HANDLERS, EXPRESS AND STATION

EMPLOYEES, BROTHERHOOD OF

MAINTENANCE OF WAY EMPLOYEES,

BROTHERHOOD OF

RAILROAD SIGNALMEN, A

Appellants in No. 88-1208

v.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY,

Appellant in No. 88-1163

On Appeal from the United States

District Court for the

Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. Civil No. 87-0455)

Argued August 30, 1988

Before: SLOVITER, GREENBERG and

COWEN, Circuit Judges

(Opinion filed December 28, 1988)

A-4

John F. Smith, III (Argued)

Richard S. Meyer (Argued)

Hope A. Comisky

James J. Rodgers

Barbra Shotel

Dilworth, Paxson, Kalish & Kauffman

Philadelphia, PA 19109

Attorneys for Southeastern Pennsylvania

Transportation Authority

Michael Brodie (Argued)

Michael R. Kopac, III

Sacks, Basch, Brodie & Sacks

Philadelphia, PA 19106

Attorneys for Transport Workers’ Union of

Philadelphia, Local 234

Harold A. Ross(Argued)

Joseph E. Prekop

Ross & Kraushaar Co., L.P.A.

Cleveland, OH 44113

Cornelius C. O’Brien, Jr.

Cornelius C. O’Brien, III

Cornelius C. O’Brien, Jr., P.C.

Philadelphia, PA 19103

Attorneys for Brotherhood of Locomotive Engi-

neers, Division 71; Thomas C. Brennan; Brother-

hood of Locomotive Engineers; United Transpor-

tation Union; Brotherhood of Railway, Airline and

Steamship Clerks, Freight Handlers, Express and

Station Employees; Brotherhood of Maintenance

of Way Employees; Brotherhood of Railroad

Signalmen

A-5

OPINION OF THE COURT

SLOVITER, Circuit Judge.

This case presents this court for the first time with

the issue of the constitutionality of random and return-

to-work drug and alcohol testing of public employees

holding “safety sensitive” positions within the public

transportation authority serving the Philadelphia metro-

politan area.! The district court upheld the constitution-

ality of the random drug testing policy, but found the

addition of return-to-work testing to be unconstitutional.

The court enjoined commencement of random testing of

those employees covered by the Railway Labor Act,

pending settlement of the dispute through the concilia-

tion procedures specified in the Act. Transport Workers’

Union Local 234 v. Southeastern Pennsylvania Trans-

portation Authority, 678 F. Supp. 543 (E.D. Pa. 1988).

The Unions argue that indiscriminate use of ran-

dom drug tests to ferret out illegal drug use by public

employees is irreconcilable with the guarantee against

unreasonable government intrusion on individual pri-

vacy of the Fourth Amendment. We do not underesti-

mate their concern that the public clamor about the

nation’s drug problem creates the risk that judgments

may be distorted in evaluating the constitutionality of

government measures taken to curb this crisis. None-

theless, in light of this court’s precedent sustaining drug

testing in other occupations and in light of the record

presented in this case where the public transportation

-

1. Two cases presently before the Supreme Court present

facets of the issue of drug testing by public employers. See Railway

Executives Ass'n v. Burnley, 839 F.2d 575 (9th Cir.), cert. granted,

108 S. Ct. 2033 (1988) (post-accident testing of railroad workers);

National Treasury Employees Union v. Von Raab, 816 F.2d 170

(Sth Cir. 1987), cert. granted, 108 S. Ct. 1073 (1988) (testing in

conjunction with voluntary request for transfer or promotion).

Neither of these cases, however, directly presents the issue of

random testing raised by the appeals before us.

A-6

authority has documented a serious drug problem

among its employees, to which it has traced accidents

causing injury to the public, we conclude that the

random drug testing at issue here is not facially invalid

under the Fourth Amendment.

We also uphold the district court’s finding that the

transportation authority failed to justify the reasonable-

ness of its return-to-work drug testing policy. Finally, we

uphold the injunction imposed on commencement of.

random testing of employees covered by the Railway

Labor Act.

I.

Background and Procedural History

Appellants/cross-appellees in this case (“the

Unions”) are the Transport Workers Union Local 234

(“TWU”), which represents approximately 5,700 of

SEPTA’s 6,500 employees, and five unions which rep-

resent SEPTA employees under section one of the

Railway Labor Act (“RLA”), 45 U.S.C. § 151, Sixth

(1982); the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, Di-

vision 71; the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers; the

Brotherhood of Railway, Airline and Steamship Clerks;

the Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees; and

the Brotherhood of Railroad Signalmen (“the Railway

Unions”). :

Appellees/cross-appellants, the Southeastern Penn-

sylvania Transportation Authority and some of its offic-

ers and Board members (referred to collectively as

“SEPTA” or “the Authority”), operate mass transporta-

tion facilities in the five-county Philadelphia metropoli-

tan area. SEPTA is an agency of the Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania, currently organized under the authority

of the Pennsylvania Urban Mass Transportation Act of

January 22, 1968, P.L. 42, No. 8, as amended, 55 Pa.

Stat. Ann. §§600.101-600.407 (Purdon Supp. 1988).

SEPTA operates subways, railroads, buses, streetcars,

ee ee ee eee ee ee ee ore ee ee eee eee

A-7

and trackless trolleys, and maintains stations, depots,

platforms, tracks, and other installations. In 1986,

SEPTA accommodated more than 1.2 million passen-

gers on its transit systems on an average week day.

On January 16, 1987, SEPTA publicly announced,

without prior notice or consultation with the Unions,

that it planned to begin administering random urinalysis

tests to detect the presence of psychotropic drug metab-

olites and alcohol in employees’ body systems. On Jan-

uary 21 and 26, 1987, the Unions filed complaints

against SEPTA’s plan in the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, alleging that

SEPTA’s program violated their members’ constitutional

rights under the Fourth and Fourteenth Amendments.

The Railway Unions also alleged that SEPTA had

violated section 6 of the RLA, 45 U.S.C. §156 (1982), by

unilaterally instituting a random drug testing policy

without serving notice and exhausting the mediation

and conciliation procedures mandated by the RLA be-

fore implementation of changes in working conditions or

rules under a labor contract.

In early February 1987, SEPTA posted an additional

order at its offices announcing that all employees return-

ing to work after wp, xbsence from employment of over

thirty days for any reason other than vacation would be

required to submit to urinalysis testing. The Unions filed

amended complaints alleging that SEPTA’s return-to-

work testing policy also violated the constitutional rights

of their members.

After four days of hearings, the district court entered

a preliminary injunction enjoining SEPTA from imple-

menting its random drug and alcohol testing program.

The court expressed various concerns about, inter alia,

the plan’s failure to include reliable confirmatory testing

procedures, failure to use a less intrusive breathalyzer

test to detect the presence of alcohol in employees’ body

systems, and the lack of justification of the scope of the

A-8

job positions to be tested. It directed SEPTA to submit

any further plan for random testing to it.

In July 1987, after SEPTA published the first draft

of a revised drug and alcohol testing and education

program which it had designed to respond to the district

court’s concerns, it moved to vacate the court’s prelim-

inary injunction. The case went to trial in September

1987, at which time both SEPTA and the Unions

introduced extensive expert testimony about testing

technology and the effects of drug use. SEPTA also

presented evidence of the scope and severity of the drug

problem affecting its workforce.

On September 25, 1987, the district court again

delivered bench remarks criticizing various aspects of

SEPTA’s proposed program. SEPTA again made revi-

sions in its proposal, and resubmitted it to the Unions

and the court.

On January 19, 1988, the district court entered its

final order and issued a memorandum opinion. The

order dissolved the preliminary injunction against

SEPTA and denied the Unions’ request for a permanent

injunction against the random testing component of

SEPTA’s drug and alcohol testing program, but granted

a permanent injunction against implementation of SEP-

TA’s return-to-work testing policy. The court also en-

joined SEPTA from commencing random drug testing of

workers represented by the Railway Unions, holding

that unilateral implementation of such a policy gave rise

to a “major dispute” within the meaning of section 6 of

the RLA and thus required SEPTA to exhaust the

mediation and conciliation procedures specified in that

Act. Finally, the court ordered that any final revisions of

SEPTA’s drug and alcohol testing program be submitted

for review prior to implementation, SEPTA filed a mo-

tion asking the court to amend its order to allow return-

to-work testing, which the district court denied. This

appeal and cross-appeal followed.

:

7

|

A-9

The final random testing proposal approved by the

district court subjects approximately 2,600 workers to

random urinalysis testing over a one-year period, and

approximately 5,400 workers per year to random brea-

thalyzer testing. Testing is limited to “operating engi-

neers” in “safety senstive” positions.

Under the breathalyzer testing program for alcohol,

an employee will be considered to test positive if two

successive tests yield blood alcohol levels of .04 percent

or higher. Under the urinalysis test designed to detect

drug metabolites, initial screening will be conducted by

an EMIT immunoassay. Positive results obtained by this

screening method will be subject to confirmation testing

by gas chromatography/mass spectrometry (GC/MS).

The parties have stipulated that this two-step procedure

is reliable. Employees may also request an additional

confirmatory test at their own expense if they wish.

Detailed specifications assure chain of custody and

proper laboratory controls. SEPTA will not voluntarily

disclose test results to law enforcement officials, and

results will be kept confidential within the medical

department, being disclosed only on a need-to-know

2. Specifically, the following positions are covered:

1) Engineer, Bus Person, Surface Train Person, Subway-

Elevated Trainperson

2) Construction Equipment Operators

3) Superintendents of Operations, Towerpersons, Train Dis-

patchers, and Power Dispatchers

4) Signal Maintainers

5) Power Distribution Maintainers

6) Vehicle, Mechanical, Track and Structural Inspectors

7) Welders im

8) Sworn SEPTA police officers

9) Any employee authorized to carry a firearm on duty

10) Instructors and supervisors of the foregoing.

The district court disallowed classification of “Conductors and

Passenger Attendants” as operating engineers unless it could be

shown that these were safety sensitive positions. 678 F. Supp. at

552.

A-10

basis. Employees who are taking prescription medica-

tion must inform SEPTA’s medical department of this

fact. The department will make “fitness for duty” deter-

minations with respect to these employees in consulta-

tion with the physician prescribing the medication.

Random testing is scheduled to begin ninety days

after SEPTA institutes an educational campaign and

thirty days after it begins to offer an Employee Assis-

tance Program (“EAP”) administered by an outside

provider. All employees whose urine or breathalyzer

tests produce positive results will be given a “not fit for

duty” classification, removed from their jobs, and re-

quired as a condition of retaining their employment with

SEPTA to enter an EAP for counseling and treatment.

After successful completion of treatment, employees will

be assigned to an alternative job for an observation

period of up to ninety days during which they may be

tested at any time. 678 F. Supp. at 547. After employees

are returned to their prior positions, they are subject to

follow-up tests on an unannounced basis for twelve

months and on a scheduled basis for up to two years

thereafter.

As an alternative to mandatory treatment following a

positive test result, employees may voluntarily refer

themselves to the EAP before being tested. Employees

who voluntarily enter treatment will be removed from

duty until completion of treatment and assigned to

alternative duty for ninety days thereafter, for which

they will be paid at that job’s wage rate. They will be

subject to unannounced follow-up testing for six months

and scheduled testing for one year thereafter. Employ-

ees who voluntarily refer themselves to the EAP are

given one additional chance to obtain treatment if their

urine produces a positive result after treatment.

Employees who refuse to be tested, receive positive

test results after treatment, or refuse to undergo treat-

ment and counseling after a positive result will be

discharged.

A-11

II.

Analysis

A.

The Legal Framework

1. General Fourth Amendment Principles

There is no dispute that, as a government agency,

SEPTA is bound by the strictures of the Fourth Amend-

ment. Contrary to the argument put forth by SEPTA in

this appeal, it is by now well settled that government

drug testing of employees constitutes a search or seizure

for purposes of the Fourth Amendment. Railway Labor

Executives’ Ass'n v. Burnley, 839 F.2d 575, 580 (9th

Cir.). cert. granted, 108 S. Ct. 2033 (1988); Everett v.

Napper, 833 F.2d 1507, 1511 (11th Cir. 1987); Jones v.

McKenzie, 833 F.2d 335, 338 (D.C. Cir. 1987); National

Treasury Employees Union v. Von Raab, 816 F.2d 170,

176 (Sth Cir. 1987), cert. granted, 108 S. Ct. 1072

(1988); McDonell v. Hunter, 809 F.2d 1302, 1307 (8th

Cir. 1987); Shoemaker v. Handel, 795 F.2d 1136, 1141

(3d Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 986 (1986). The same

principle is applicable to a compelled breathalyzer test

for alcohol. See, e.g., Burnley, 839 F.2d at 580; Shoe-

maker, 795 F.2d at 1141-42.

The Fourth Amendment guarantees the right of the

people against “unreasonable search and seizure.” Ex-

cept in certain carefully defined classes of cases,

searches without consent or a valid search warrant are

unreasonable. O’Connor v. Ortega, 480 U.S. 709, 720

(1987) (plurality opinion) (quoting Mancusi v. DeForte,

392 U.S. 364, 370 (1968)). In a certain narrow class of

exceptions, however, where “special needs, beyond the

normal need for law enforcement, make the warrant and

probable cause requirement impracticable,” New Jersey

v. T.L.0., 469 U.S. 325, 351 (1985) (Blackmun, J.,

concurring), a search may be reasonable even though it

A-12

is not conducted pursuant to a probable cause determi-

nation. Jd. at 340; see also O’Connor v. Ortega, 480 U.S.

at 725.

In such circumstances, intrusions on employees’

constitutionally protected privacy interests must be eval-

uated by “the standard of reasonableness under all the

circumstances.” Jd. at 725-26. Such an evaluation in-

volves “balanc[ing] the nature and quality of the intru-

sion on the individual’s Fourth Amendment interests

against the importance of the governmental interests

alleged to justify the intrusion,’ ” Jd. at 719 (quoting U.S.

v. Place, 462 U.S. 696, 703 (1983)).

2. Administrative Searches

The Unions argue that under--the constitutional

equation used to determine if body fluid testing is

reasonable, there must always be particularized or indi-

vidualized suspicion. In essence, they argue that ran-

dom testing for drugs or alcohol is never permissible

under the Fourth Amendment. The difficulty with their

argument is that this circuit has already rejected pre-

cisely such a contention, and we are bound to those

holdings.

In two prior cases, we applied “the administrative

search exception to the Fourth Amendment warrant

requirement” to uphold drug testing without individual-

ized suspicion of employees in “highly regulated indu-

stries.” Policeman's Benevolent Ass'n. Local 318 v.

Township of Washington, 850 F.2d 133, 135 (3d Cir.

1988); Shoemaker v. Handel, 795 F.2d 1136, 1142-43

(3d Cir.). cert. denied, 479 U.S. 986 (1986).

The administrative search exception has been used

to permit legislatively authorized warrantless inspec-

tions of commercial property in cases in which the

government interest in conducting the search would be

frustrated by requiring prior notice. See Donovan v.

Dewey, 452 U.S. 594, 598-603 (1981). Cases applying

A-13

the administrative search exception generally involve

statutory schemes aimed at ensuring safety or other

“substantial” government interests. See, e.g., New York

v. Burger, 107 S.Ct. 2636, 2646-47 (1987) (upholding

warrantless inspection of automobile junkyards where

state had substantial interest in reducing growing prob-

lem of motor vehicle theft associated with this industry);

Donovan v. Dewey, 452 U.S. at 603 (permitting warrant-

less safety inspections of mines); United States v. Bis-

well, 406 U.S. 311, 316-17 (1972) (approving warrant-

less searches pursuant to gun control legislation); see

also Colonnade Catering Corp. v. United States, 397

U.S. 72, 76-77 (1970) (approving congressional scheme

of warrantless searches and seizures in liquor industry

in light of long history of regulation of this industry).

In Shoemaker, this court made a substantial leap

beyond the application of the administrative search

exception to commercial property by applying that ex-

ception to uphold random urine testing of jockeys man-

dated by the New Jersey Racing Commission under its

statutory power to regulate horse racing in that state. We

stated that “while there are distinctions between

searches of premises and searches of persons, in the

intensely-regulated field of horse racing, where the

persons engaged in the regulated activity are the prin-

cipal regulatory concern, the distinctions are not so

significant that warrantiess testing for alcohol and drug

use can be said to be constitutionally unreasonable.” 795

F.2d at 1142. Thereafter, in Policeman's Benevolent

Association, 850 F.2d at 141, we categorized a town-

ship’s random drug testing program for police officers as

an administrative search and upheld the program

against a facial challenge. We explained that a drug

testing program will come within the administrative

search exception if it is (1) based on a strong state

interest in determining whether employees are using

illegal substances; and (2) directed at an industry that is

A-14

pervasively regulated in such a manner that employees’

justifiable privacy expectations are diminished. /d. at

136.

The Unions do not argue that SEPTA’s arug testing

program fails to meet the first prerequisite for adminis-

trative searches since they concede that protection of the

public safety is an important government interest. The

Unions argue, however, that the administrative search

exception is inapplicable because there is no basis for

finding a diminished expectation of personal privacy

from the prior government regulation of the transporta-

tion industry.

We agree that the regulations to which SEPTA

points differ from those governing jockeys in New Jersey

and police conduct in Washington Township. Because

the police officers in Policeman’s Benevolent Associa-

tion, 850 F.2d at 138-41, were part of a “quasi-military”

organization, they were subject to extensive personal

regulations, including conduct rules for their private

lives, a rule requiring off-duty carrying of = firearm, and

the requirement of constant readiness for duty. Al-

though the jockeys in Shoemaker, 795 F.2d at 1141-42,

did not have the “awesome . . . power” to arrest and

detain citizens that distinguishes police officers, Police-

man’s Benevolent Ass’n, 850 F.2d at 141, there is

intense regulation of horse racing in New Jersey, includ-

ing the licensing of all employees in the industry, which

is designed to instill confidence in the integrity of the

horse racing industry. This led us to reason that because

the Racing Commission “historically . . . exercised its

rulemaking authority in ways that have reduced the

justifiable privacy expectations of persons engaged in

the horse-racing industry,” jockeys who accepted a state

license did so with knowledge that the Commission

would exercise its power to conduct warrantless

searches. Shoemaker, 795 F.2d at 1142.

Although the enabling legislation cited by SEPTA

establishes that public transportation in Pennsylvania is

A-15

a highly regulated industry, see 55 Pa. Stat. Ann.

§§600.101 — 600.407 (Purdon Supp. 1988), SEPTA

does not argue that its regulations, like those involved in

our prior cases, implicated the private conduct of the

workers themselves. Thus, contrary to SEPTA’s argu-

ment, the regulatory scheme on which SEPTA relies is

not equivalent to the extensive personal regulation in-

volved in Policeman’s Benevolent Association or even

the lesser regulation in Shoemaker. Hence, the Com-

monwealth’s regulation of the transportation industry in

and of itself has not been shown to effect a comparable

diminution of employees’ expectations of personal

privacy. Therefore, the testing in this case cannot be

upheld as an administrative search.

Contrary to the way the parties have read our cases,

the standard for sustaining administrative searches does

not represent an independent line of Fourth Amend-

ment analysis. Our reference to administrative searches

as an “exception” was as an exception to the warrant

requirement. As the plurality opinion in O’Connor v.

Ortega makes clear, although “the appropriate standard

for administrative searches is not probable cause in its

traditional meaning,” administrative searches are

merely one illustration of the application of the reason-

ableness standard arising out of the “careful balancing

of governmental and private interests.” 480 U.S. at

722-23. Thus, while we cannot uphold SEPTA’s random

drug and alcohol testing policy as an administrative

search because of the absence of evidence of regulation

3. SEPTA has not relied on the Federal Railroad Administra-

tion (FRA) regulations that authorize metropolitan passenger rail-

roads to conduct post-accident, for-cause, and pre-employment

drug and alcohol tests of employees, 49 C.F.R. §219.1-.505 (1987).

We do not have before us the relevance, if any, of the most recent

regulations of the FRA authorizing random drug testing of trans-

portation workers, see 53 Fed. Reg. 47, 102 (1988) (to be codified at

49 CFR Parts 217 and 219), which were not in effect at the time of

either the trial or the oral argument before us.

A-16

directed to the employees affected, we proceed to con-

sider it under the more inclusive analysis of “reason-

ableness under all the circumstances” articulated by the

Supreme Court in recent cases.

3. The Balancing Test

When justification for a warrantless search con-

ducted without probable cause is sought on the basis of

the balancing of the government interest and the indi-

vidual’s privacy expections, we must apply a two-part

test. Courts must look, first, to whether the search was

“justified at its inception,” and, second, to whether the

search as actually conducted “was reasonably related in

scope to the circumstances which justified the interfer-

ence in the first place,” New Jersey v. T.L.O., 469 U.S. at

341 (quoting Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 20 (1968)).

Obviously, any erosion of the probable cause stan-

dard of the Fourth Amendment must be scrutinized

with great care because the “overriding function of the

Fourth Amendment is to protect personal privacy and

dignity against unwarranted intrusion by the State.’ ”

Winston v. Lee, 470 U.S. 753, 760 (1985) (quoting

Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S. 757, 767 (1966)).

Individuals cannot be said to relinquish all expectations

of privacy simply because they participate in spheres

that are regulated by government. See Delaware v.

Prouse, 440 U.S. 648, 663 (1979) (“[PJeople are not

shorn of all Fourth Amendment protection . . . when

they step from the sidewalks into their automobiles.”).

“The reasonableness of a warrantless search .. . will

depend upon the specific enforcement needs and pri-

vacy guarantees of each statute.” Marshall v. Barlow’s,

Inc., 436 U.S. 307, 321 (1978).

A-17

B.

Application of the Law to this Case

We note at the outset that the constitutional issue

presented for our review in this case is a narrow one. We

are presently called upon to rule on the constitutionality

of SEPTA’s random and return-to-work drug and alcohol

testing policies as described on the face of its final

revised proposal; the application of these policies in

practice is not before us for review at this time.* Our

review of the district court’s application of constitutional

law under the Fourth Amendment is plenary.

1. The Constitutionality of SEPTA’s Random Testing Pro-

gram

a. The “Initial Justification” for Random Testing

Even within the narrow category of cases in which

the Court has found that “special needs” justify relaxing

the probable cause requirement for searches, it has

generally required “individualized suspicion.” See, e.g.,

Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 21 & n. 18 (1968) (police “pat

down” searches for concealed weapons do not require

probable cause but do require “specific articulable facts,

.. . together with rational inferences from those facts,

[that] reasonably warrant that intrusion”). However, the

Court has held that the suspicion prerequisite is not an

“irreducible requirement” and that under certain limited

circumstances, the balance of interests between the

4. We thus do not consider the extent to which employees

sanctioned as a result of positive test results retain the right to

utilize the grievance and arbitration mechanisms specified under

collective bargaining agreements.

S. Although the Railway Unions’ brief argues that this court

should hold that SEPTA’s drug testing program is invalid under

Pennsylvania’s Constitution, this issue was apparently not pre-

sented to the district court and thus has not been preserved for

appeal. Transcript of Orai Argument at 37.

A-18

government’s need to conduct the search and the degree

of intrusion on the individual may justify dispensing

with the individualized suspicion requirement. See, e.g.,

United States v. Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. 543, 561-62

(1976) (upholding constitutionality of brief vehicle stops

at fixed checkpoints to question occupants without

individualized suspicion).

We agree with the Unions that the intrusion on

individuals’ privacy caused by drug testing is more than

minimal, involving an order to perform the highly pri-

vate activity of urination, an order considered by some to

be “offensive to personal dignity,” Patchogue-Medford

Congress of Teachers v. Board of Educ., 70 N.Y.2d 57,

68, 517 N.Y.S.2d 456, 461, 510 N.E.2d 325, 330 (1987);

see also Capua v. City of Plainfield, 643 F. Supp. 1507,

1511 (D.N.J. 1986).

We do not believe that this ipso facto renders the

search unreasonable. Although in its most recent cases

discussing the reasonableness standard for Fourth

Amendment search purposes, the Supreme Court did

not decide whether individualized suspicion is an essen-

tial element, see O’Connor v. Ortega, 480 U.S. at 726;

New Jersey v. T.L.O., 469 U.S. at 342 n.8, this court held

it was not when upholding drug testing in Shoemaker

and Policeman's Benevolent Association as an adminis-

trative search. For comparable reasons, we conclude

that under the balancing required by the reasonableness

analysis, if the state’s interest is substantial enough it

may override even the intrusive searches required for

urinalysis. A fortiori, the less intrusive search by breath-

alyzer testing would be sustained.

Of course, the more intrusive the search, the more

substantial the governmental interest that must be

shown to make the requisite balance. The state interest

asserted here, that of guaranteeing the safety of the

public, has been accepted in other contexts as justifying

drug testing without particularized suspicion. See, e.g.,

Jones v. McKenzie, 833 F.2d at 340 (routine drug testing

A-19

of bus drivers and attendants entrusted with safety of

handicapped school children justified by “significant

and compelling governmental interest”); Rushton v.

Nebraska Pub. Power Dist., 844 F.2d 562, 567 (8th Cir.

1988) (individualized suspicion not required for drug

testing in nuclear power industry). Contra Burnley, 839

F.2d at 587-88 (invalidating post-accident drug testing

of railroad employees).

As stated in O’Connor v. Ortega, 480 U.S. at 724, “in

many cases, public employees are entrusted with tre-

mendous responsibility, and the consequences of their

misconduct .. . [to] the public interest can be severe.”

The government interest in protecting public safety,

often of large groups of persons traveling by mass

transit, is patently of a higher order than simply main-

taining the “efficient and rr »«-r operation of the work-

place,” found sufficient by the plurality to justify limited

searches of the desk and personal files of an employee in

O’Connor. See 480 U.S. at 723.

We view with amazement the opening sentence in

the Railway Unions’ brief that “[t]his case involves an

overreaction to an exaggerated hysteria conserning the

use of drugs and alcohol in our society.” Brief of Certain

Plaintiffs-Appellants-Cross-Appellees at 1. The enormity

of the problem facing this country because of drug use is

sufficiently well established to justify judicial notice.

Of course, it was SEPTA’s burden to show drug use

by its operating employees that poses a danger to the

safe operation of its vehicles. The district court made

findings that drug use by SEPTA’s operating employees

presents a significant safety problem and that the

Authority’s prior suspicion-based testing program

proved insufficient “to satisfy the needs of public safety.”

678 F. Supp. at 549. Compare Lovvorn v. City of

Chattanooga, 846 F.2d 1539, 1541, 1547 (6th Cir. 1988)

(random drug testing of fire fighters unconstitutional

where “[t]here has been no Statistical or objective evi-

dence thatthe performance of any member of the

A-20

department... has been affected by the use of drugs”)

with Jones v. McKenzie, 833 F.2d at 336 (upholding

constitutionality of routine drug tests of school bus

drivers and attendants following “repeated incidents of

bizarre or dangerous drug-related behavior by drivers

and attendants while on duty”).

There is adequate support for the district court’s

findings. SEPTA established that in six major accidents

occurring in 1986 and 1987, collectively involving at

least 89 injuries to persons, the operators of vehicles at

fault tested positive for alcohol or drug metabolites. App.

at 1017. The operator at fault in another accident

refused to submit to a test. Further, of 262 employees

tested “for cause” between January 1985 and July 1987,

82 employees (thirty-one percent) tested positive for

drug metabolites or alcohol. App. at 1166. Twelve per-

cent of the “new hires” given drug tests within the same

period produced positive results (116 of 1,004 tested).

App. at 1165. The Unions do not argue that these are

Statistically insignificant figures. Instead, they argue

that the presence of metabolites, particularly of mari-

juana metabolites, does not demonstrate present impair-

ment and, in the case of employees “at fault,” does not

demonstrate causation of the accident.

Although there is no evidence of direct correlation

between the presence of drug metabolites and impair-

ment at the time of testing, users are frequently able to

mask their impairment so that it is not apparent. App. at

347. Also, SEPTA produced testimony establishing that

use of drugs in itself results in significant impairment.

There was testimony that long after all traces of drugs

have left the system, there are significant delayed and

chronic impairment effects.

As Union witness Dr. John P. Morgan acknowl-

edged, individuals whose drug use does not render them

obviously impaired in performing routine work tasks can

display a lack of flexibility and inability to respond to

sudden changes or emergency situations. App. at 771.

A-21

The acute effects of marijuana include distortion of

judgment and loss of good judgment, a decrease in

alertness and caution, impairment of visual, auditory

and space perception, and loss of propriety of responses,

such as ability to steer. App. at 373. Cocaine ingestion

typically causes aggressiveness, overreaction, and mis-

perception. Jd. at 378. According to SEPTA expert

witness Robert J. Pandina, residual impairment effects

of marijuana and cocaine include irritability, agitation,

lack of alertness and awareness, and memory deficits.

App. at 356. After the stimulative effects of cocaine have

worn off, users’ functioning becomes depressed and

slower, and judgment remains impaired. App. at 378.

Other delayed impairment effects occur during the

period in which individuais are experiencing withdrawal

from a drug on which they have become physically

dependent. App. at 782, Morgan Testimony. Chronic

users will experience long-term effects including a de-

sire to increase the dose of drug taken, which will in turn

increase the probability of impairment. App. at 360,

Pandina Testimony.

While the Unions downplay the statistical evidence

of marijuana use, a SEPTA witness testified that the

impairment effects of marijuana as measured by the

ability to perform certain tasks, such as simulated driv-

ing, include statistically significant effects on perfor-

mance lasting for as long as twelve hours after use in

some individuals. App. at 523.

In light of the evidence connecting impairment with

drug use, it was appropriate for SEPTA to design its

program in an effort to detect drug users. It was not

required to limit its detection efforts to those employees

whose then-current impairment could be detected, par-

ticularly in light of the testimony by experts offered by

both the Unions and SEPTA that current urine testing

technologies do not permit the detection or measure-

ment of current impairment. See App. at 540, 548, 747,

780, 354-55.

A-22

The Unions next argue that SEPTA’s program

should be rejected because there are less restrictive

means to deal with the drug problem of transit employ-

ees. The Court has made clear that the least restrictive

means analysis applied in cases implicating the First

Amendment is not applicable to cases arising under the

Fourth Amendment. Colorado v. Bertine, 479 U.S. 367,

373-74 (1987) (quoting Jllinois v. Lafayette, 462 U.S.

640, 647 (1983)); Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520, 559 n.40

(1979) (quoting United States v. Martinez-Fuerte, 428

U.S. 543, 556-57 n.12 (1976)). Of course, a factor

relevant to the inquiry into the reasonableness of the

search at its inception would be whether less intrusive

but equally effective means to the same goal are avail-

able. There has been no such showing here. In light of

the district court’s finding that “[mjany drugs have

delayed, residual or chronic effects not ascertainable

through behavioral observation,” 678 F.Supp. at 550,

and that SEPTA’s operating employees often work in

circumstances which preclude close supervision, mak-

ing it infeasible to monitor performance or detect signs

of drug-induced impairment by direct observation, the

Unions have not shown that there is any less intrusive

but equally effective means of detecting employee drug

use. /d.

Finaliy, the Unions’ argument that SEPTA can rely

on its already existing policy of testing for drug use after

accidents “chargeable” to driver fault® does not effec-

tively address the public interest in detecting employees

6. SEPTA’s admitted failure to administer a drug test after

every chargeable accident is disturbing but we cannot evaluate on

this record the validity of its explanation that its failure to test stems

from disputes with the Unions as to how an accident should be

classified. Transcript of Oral Argument at 40-43. We cannot avoid

noting that the district court expressed its frustration at the sorry

state of labor relations among the parties to this case. See 678 F.

Supp. at 548 n. 12.

A-23

in safety sensitive positions with drug problems before

accidents occur.

The safety justification for SEPTA’s drug testing

policy, SEPTA’s documentation of drug use problem

among its workforce, the evidence of the deleterious

effect of drug use, and SEPTA’s showing of positive tests

for drugs or alcohol by operating personnel at fault in

accidents are sufficient bases for us to conclude that the

random testing policy is constitutionally justified at its

inception.

b. The Relationship of the Search to the Need

The Supreme Court has held that even when the

search program is designed with important public safety

considerations in mind, to survive the required Fourth

Amendment balancing there must be sufficient safe-

guards to protect against abuse of official discretion in

deciding whom and how to search and the search must

be sufficiently productive to qualify as a reasonable law

enforcement practice. Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648,

655, 660, 662 (1979).

The testing policy that developed as a consequence

of the district court’s supervision of this case is limited to

employees whose job performance implicates public

safety. Even the non-operating personnel included, such

as Signal operators and repair persons, perform func-

tions closely connected to the public safety and their

classification as “safety sensitive” is justified.

SEPTA’s random drug testing program is also rea-

sonable with respect to the type of testing conducted.

Following the district court’s instructions, SEPTA sub-

stituted less intrusive testing where possible, such as

breathalyzer tests to detect blood alcohol levels. Al-

though urine testing can be used to reveal private

information other than drug use, see National Treasury

Employees Union v. Von Raab, 816 F.2d 170, 175-76

(Sth Cir. 1987), cert. granted, 108 S. Ct. 1072 (1988)

A-24

(testing may disclose pregnancy and certain psycholog-

ical and physical illnesses), no allegation has been made

that SEPTA’s plan contemplates use of body fluid sam-

ples to detect such information. We are satisfied that, as

described, the plan contains sufficient safeguards, in the

form of confidentiality, chain of custody, verification,

and random selection procedures, to protect against

abuse of discretion by implementing officials. Any im-

proper use of the personal information obtainable

through SEPTA’s testing program must await a chal-

lenge to the program as applied.

As noted above, one of the Unions’ principal chal-

lenges to the reasonableness of SEPTA’s random drug

testing policy is based on their contention that the mere

presence of drug metabolites in an employee’s urine is

not indicative of on-the-job impairment. However, as the

district court explained, the expert psychologist who

designed SEPTA’s revised program testified that

SEPTA’s drug testing was aimed at detecting chronic

abusers rather than on-the-job impairment. 678 F.

Supp. at 548. The district court was satisfied that a

sufficient nexus existed between this rationale for test-

ing and the information gleaned through the use of

urine tests. As we concluded above, since the evidence

shows that chronic users present a threat to the safety of

the transit system, we do not regard it as fatal that the

tests are designed to uncover drug users rather than

impairment.

It follows that SEPTA has satisfied the second prong

of the “reasonableness under all the circumstances”

standard, and that its program for random testing for

drugs and alcohol satisfies the rigorous inquiry required

under that standard.

2. Return-to-Work Testing

As we noted above, the district court found that the

component of SEPTA’s proposed drug testing program

A-25

which imposed body fluid testing on all employees who

returned to work following absences for 30 days for any

cause such as illness, on the job injury, leave of absence,

reinstatement from discipline, or other absence (other

than vacation), failed constitutional muster. The court

found such testing was not justified at its inception

because the required physical examination would iden-

tify employees who were clearly not fit for duty. See 678

F. Supp. at 551. Since those employees were also

subject to the extensive random testing program and

SEPTA had not shown that return-to-work testing was

an “integral part” of a carefully considered program

designed to meet a substantial need, it had failed to meet

its burden to justify the need for such testing. Jd.

Return-to-work testing must be justified either as

part of a truly random testing program which does not

single out a specified group or on the basis of particu-

larized suspicion. Since the random testing which we

are sustaining will include employees returning to work,

SEPTA must justify its return-to-work testing on the

basis of some particularized suspicion. It has, however,

failed to present any evidence that the employees return-

ing to work present some unique risk directly related to

drug or alcohol use. Thus, SEPTA has not shown that

this aspect of its program is initially justified or that

testing of all employees returning after an absence for

whatever cause has any relationship to the articulated

need for the program. We will therefore not disturb the

court’s injunction against return-to-work testing.

ITI.

The RLA Injunction

SEPTA’s challenge to the district court’s injunction

of the testing policy as applied to those employees

covered by the RLA must be rejected on the basis of our

recent decision in Railway Labor Executives’ Associa-

tion v. Conrail, 845 F.2d 1187 (3d Cir.), cert. granted,

A-26

109 S. Ct. 52 (1988). This case does not lose its status as

controlling precedent because the Supreme Court has

agreed to review the decision.

In Conrail, we held that the unilateral addition of

drug testing to employee medical examinations gave rise

to a “major” dispute under the RLA, entitling the parties

to an injunction maintaining the status quo while they

pursued the notice, mediation, and conciliation proce-

dures mandated under sections 5 and 6 of the RLA, 45

U.S.C. §§155, 156, 845 F.2d at 1194.

A labor dispute over implementation of a drug

testing program that “can ‘arguably’ be justified by the

existing agreement,” or “from habit and custom,” is

classifiable as a minor one and the proposed change may

be implemented unilaterally. Jd. at 1190-91 (citations

omitted). In Conrail, we rejected the company’s argu-

ment that no significant departure from past practices

was involved in its addition of drug screening, which it

had previously administered only “for cause,” to urine

tests for other substances routinely administered during

periodic and return-to-work medical exams. Jd. at 1194.

We found that there were significant differences be-

tween the company’s new and old practice, both because

the company had switched from testing on the basis of

particularized suspicion to testing without cause, and

because it had substituted its previous disciplinary rule

directed against employees discovered to be drug-

impaired on the job with a new rule mandating dis-

charge of employees with positive drug test results

regardless of a finding of impairment. Jd. at 1193-94.

Here, SEPTA’s institution of random drug testing

differs significantly from prior practice. For several

decades, SEPTA’s collective bargaining agreements

have provided that an employee would be discharged for

reporting to work under the influence of intoxicating

liquors or drugs. In late 1983, SEPTA began to require

urinalysis testing of workers suspected of violating this

rule. When the first four employees with positive results

Ee

A-27

for marijuana metabolites were discharged, arbitrators

who heard the resulting grievances reinstated the em-

ployees on the ground that the presence of marijuana

metabolites in the employees’ urine did not establish

that they were impaired at the time of the urinalysis test.

To meet this objection, SEPTA announced in Sep-

tember 1985 that henceforth it would consider the

presence of traces of certain intoxicants or controlled

substances in the body fluids of employees on duty,

reporting to duty, or off-duty but subject to duty to be a

dischargeable offense per se. Any employee suspected of

being in violation of this rule would be subject to drug

testing.

In 1985, SEPTA began testing employees for drug

and alcohol use on promotion or transfer to certain

positions. SEPTA also began administering drug tests to

employees committing “chargeable accidents,” i.e., ac-

cidents with respect to which the employee had been

determined to be solely at fault. In July 1986, SEPTA

extended this policy to require body fluid testing for any

signal violation.

SEPTA argues that the Railway Unions’ acquies-

cence, without requesting section 6 notice, in SEPTA’s

implementation of post-accident, suspicion-based, and

transfer and promotion drug testing constitutes a waiver

of their right to object to the “incremental” addition of

random and return-to-work drug testing. Reply Brief of

Appellees-Cross-Appellants at 11. This argument ig-

nores the significant difference between drug testing

predicated on requests for transfer or promotion, which

carries an element of voluntariness, and random testing,

which does not. See National Treasury Employees

Union v. Von Raab, 816 F.2d 170, 177 (Sth Cir. 1987),

cert. granted, 108 S. Ct. 1072 (1988) (employees tested

on transfer “only as a result of a process that they choose

to set in motion”). Moreover, testing on the basis of

reasonable suspicion of drug use bears an element of

A-28

“cause” not present in the case of random testing. See

Division 241, Amalgamated Transit Union v. Suscy,

538 F.2d 1264, 1267 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S.

1029 (1976) (“probable cause” exists for post-accident

and suspicion-based testing). Thus, SEPTA’s addition of

random testing to its previous policies constitutes at

least as significant a change in working conditions and

rules as did the addition of drug screening to routine

medical examinations in Conrail.

SEPTA argues that because the Unions agreed to

some types of workplace testing, they waived their right

to object to any drug testing rolicy. We reject such a rule

because it would deter unions from acquiescing or

compromising on the drug testing question at pain of

being found to have agreed to a yet broader program.

The district court found “no evidence that the unions

agreed to or acquiesced in widespread testing or to any

significant testing without individualized suspicion.”

678 F. Supp. at 551. This finding is amply supported by

the record.

SEPTA also argues that it reserved its right to

modify its drug testing policies through a “management

functions” clause, contained in all of its collective bar-

gaining agreements, which provides that SEPTA retains

“[{a]ll management functions and responsibilities which

SEPTA has not expressly modified or restricted by a

specific provision of this Agreement.” App. at 1191,

1204, 1218, 1228, 1287. We agree with the court’s

ruling in International Brotherhood of Teamsters v.

Southwest Airlines Co., 842 F.2d 794, 804 (Sth Cir.),

reh’g en banc granted, 853 F.2d 283 (1988), that such

broad management rights clauses cannot serve to ex-

empt management from the RLA prohibition against

unilateral institution of changes in rules and working

conditions.

SEPTA’s addition of broad random testing to its

previous policies thus constitutes a major dispute for the

purposes of the RLA, and the district court rightfully

A-29

enjoined SEPTA from implementing random testing of

employees covered by the RLA pending exhaustion of

the mediation and conciliation procedures required un-

der that Act.

IV.

Conclusion

We are aware that our decision sustaining a random

drug and alcohol testing program under the reasonable-

ness standard recently enunciated by the Supreme

Court can be viewed as a further erosion of government

workers’ important Fourth Amendment rights. We be-

lieve, however, that implicit in the balancing that under-

lies application of the reasonableness test is the recog-

nition that there are some public interests that carry

sufficient weight to justify even a more than minimal

privacy intrusion. Public health and public safety con-

cerns have traditionally been considered to be of the

highest magnitude of public interest considerations. The

effects of drugs on transit workers in safety sensitive

positions as established in this record lead us to con-

clude that random testing by SEPTA is a reasonable

response. We venture no opinion on the validity of such

testing in other situations, and emphasize that our

decision is confined to the case presently before us.

For the reasons set forth in more detail above, we

will uphold the random drug and breathalyzer testing in

SEPTA’s program. We agree with the district court’s

conclusion that the return-to-work testing does not

satisfy the first prong of the reasonableness test, since it

has not been shown to be reasonable at its inception. We

also have concluded that under the precedent of our

Conrail opinion, random drug and alcohol testing can-

not be unilaterally imposed on those workers covered by

the RLA because that statute requires different proce-

dures for major disputes.

A-30

We will therefore affirm the district court’s order in

all respects. Each party to bear its own costs.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit

(A.O. U.S. Courts. G.M.C. Printing, Phila., Pa. 215-568 4264)

wisi iy vee eh

A-31

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 88-1160/61/62/63 and 88-1206/07/08

TRANSPORT WORKERS’ UNION OF

PHILADELPHIA, LOCAL 234

VS.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

Pursuant to Rule 41(b) of the Federal Rules of

Appellate Procedure, it is ORDERED that issuance of

the certified judgment in lieu of formal mandate in the

above cause be, and it is hereby stayed until February

17, 1989.

/s/ DOLORES K. SLOVITER

Circuit Judge

Dated: Jan 19, 1989

A-32

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 88-1160/61/62/63 and 88-1206/07/08

TRANSPORT WORKERS’ UNION

PHILADELPHIA, LOCAL 234, ef al.

vs.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

Pursuant to Rule 41(b) of the Federal Rules of

Appellate Procedure, it is ORDERED that issuance of

the certified judgment in lieu of formal mandate in the

above cause be, and it is hereby further stayed until

March 9, 1989.

/s/ DOLORES K. SLOVITER

Circuit Judge

Dated: Feb 16, 1989

A-33

TRANSPORT WORKERS’ UNION OF

PHILADELPHIA, LOCAL 234

. ¥.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY.

TRANSPORT WORKERS’ UNION OF

AMERICA LOCAL 2013

Vv.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY.

BROTHERHOOD OF LOCOMOTIVE

ENGINEERS, DIVISION 71, et al.

v.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORTATION

AUTHORITY, et al.

UNITED TRANSPORTATION

UNION, et al.

Vv.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY.

Civ. A. Nos. 81-0389, 87-0446,

87-0448 and 87-0455.

United States District Court,

E.D. Pennsylvania.

Jan. 19, 1988.

Michael Brodie, Philadelphia, Pa., for Transport

Workers’ Union of Philadelphia, Local 234.

Jonathan K. Walters, Kirschner, Walters & Willig,

Philadelphia, Pa., for Transport Workers’ Union of

America Local 2013.

a ca

A-34

Clinton J. Miller, III, United Transp. Union, Harold

A. Ross, Ross & Kraushaar, Co., L.P.A., Cleveland, Ohio,

and Cornelius C. O’Brien, III, O’Brien & Davis, Phila-

delphia, Pa., for United Transp. Union.

Mitchell Kraus, Broth. of Ry., Airline, and Steam-

ship Clerks, Rockville, Md., for Broth. of Ry., Airline,

and Steamship Clerks.

John F. Smith, III, Richard S. Meyer, Dilworth,

Paxson, Kalish & Kauffman, Philadelphia, Pa., for

Southeastern Pennsylvania Transp. Authority.

MEMORANDUM

LUDWIG, District Judge.

In these consolidated actions, upon the application

of plaintiffs! and upon hearing, defendant Southeastern

Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (SEPTA) was

preliminarily enjoined, on February 9, 1987, from im-

plementing a random drug testing program of its em-

ployees under SEPTA Order No. 87-1. Fed.R.Civ.P.

65(a). Thereafter, SEPTA modified its proposed program

and moved to vacate the injunction. Additional evident-

iary hearings occurred during which SEPTA made fur-

ther changes in the program. The parties agreed to an

adjudication for permanent injunctive relief. Fed.R.

Civ.P. 65(a)(2).

The following decision is entered, and an accompa-

nying order will be filed:

1. The preliminary injunction is now dissolved.

2. Plaintiffs’ request to enjoin random testing

as unconstitutional is denied, and subject to certain

conditions, random testing will be permitted.

1. Plaintiffs are six unions and the chairman of a local chapter

of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers. Fact Stip. 7 1-8.

Se ee ee OE

A-35

3. So-called “return to work” testing, as pro-

posed, will be enjoined as constitutionally unjusti-

fied.

4. As to the Railroad Brotherhood plaintiffs,?

random testing will be enjoined-because the pro-

posal invoked a “major dispute” under Section 6 of

the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C.A. § 151 et seq.

(West 1986), and, consequently, notice, collective

bargaining, and mediation are prerequisite.

4

Transport Workers’ Union of Philadelphia, Local

234 (TWU), together with its affiliated International

Union, represents 5,700 of SEPTA’s 6,509 employees.

The balance are members of the five other plaintiff

unions, under Section 151 of the Railway Labor Act, 45

U.S.C.A. § 151, Sixth. United Transportation Union,

Local 1594, also represents bus and trolley operators of

SEPTA’s Red Arrow division under Pennsylvania’s Pub-

lic Employe Relations Act, 43 P.S. § 1101 et seq. (Purdon

Supp. 1987). SEPTA is an agency and instrumentality of

the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, under a certificate

of incorporation dated February 7, 1964, and is orga-

nized under the Metropolitan Transportation Act of

1965, 66 P.S. § 2001, et seq. (repealed) and the Penn-

sylvania Urban Mass Transportation Law, as amended,

55 P.S. § 600.101 et seq. (Purdon Supp. 1987).3

By Act of Assembly, SEPTA is empowered to own

and operate transportation facilities in the Philadelphia

five-county metropolitan area. Its present operations

include the City Transit Division; the Suburban Transit

2. These are the United Transportation Union, Brotherhood of

Locomotive Engineers, Brotherhood of Railway, Airline and Steam-

ship Clerks, Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees, and

Brotherhood of Railroad Signalmen.

3. The members of SEPTA’s board of directors are named as

individual defendants and in their official capacities.

A-36

Division (Red Arrow-Delaware County); the Frontier

Division (Montgomery County); and the Regional Rail-

road Division, which provides commuter rail service

between the city and suburban counties. The City

Transit Division operates the Broad Street and Market

Street subways, the Frankford Elevated, and many bus,

streetcar and trackless trolley routes in Philadelphia.

SEPTA also maintains numerous stations, depots, plat-

forms, tracks, shops and other installations. Employ-

ment terms and conditions are set forth in collective

bargaining agreements with plaintiff unions.

SEPTA’s operational area covers about 2,200 square

miles. The City Transit Division accommodates some

798,000 passenger trips daily; the Suburban Transit

Division, 66,000; the Regional Rail Division, 78,000. In

1986, more than 350 million passenger rides occurred

on SEPTA vehicles. On an average weekday in 1986, the

number exceeded 1.2 million. City buses and trolleys

reach speeds up to 50 miles per hour; trains as high as

95 miles per hour; other high speed vehicles, 60 miles

per hour. Vehicle operators must be attentive to their

work. Subway and train signal systems are complex and

demanding. Braking requires vigilance and sound judg-

ment. Some special risk factors that can affect train

operation are grade crossings and trespassers on rights

of way. Bad weather, unruly passengers, and crowded

vehicles are problems generally. A vehicle operator must

have a clear mind and the ability to react quickly and

efficiently. New operators must be trained. Support staff

inspect and maintain essential equipment. SEPTA po-

lice carry firearms.

The unions agree that consumption of alcohol or

controlled substances can render an employee unfit for

work. The need to protect the safety of passengers,

pedestrians, motorists, and other employees is undis-

puted. For over 30 years, the collective bargaining

agreements between SEPTA and TWU have provided

that an employee who reports to work or who becomes

A-37

under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs will

be discharged.

On September 20, 1985 SEPTA promulgated Order

No. 85-1, which called for urine or blood testing of

employees suspected of being in “possession of intoxi-

cants or controlled substances,” and which described

such possession as “a dischargeable offense.”* It also

issued Order No. 85-2, which permitted “a troubled

employee [one with an alcohol or drug problem] to

maintain an employment relationship and have ... [a]

reasonable leave of absence to obtain treatment.”

In 1986, in at least three accidents, SEPTA passen-

ger vehicle operators appeared to have been impaired by

drugs or alcohol. In a train collision December 10, 1987,

an engineer and a conductor were tested positive for

cocaine. Tests of two conductors also were positive for

marijuana. Forty-two people were injured. In a fourth

accident in 1986, the operator refused testing. In 1987,

three accidents also appear to have been cocaine or

marijuana related as shown by post-accident testing.

Between January, 1985 and July, 1987, a total of 14

percent, or nearly one seventh, of the drug and alcohol

tests taken pursuant to 85-1 were positive. The problem

4. Rule 1 in effect in the Regional Railroad Division from

January 1, 1983 to October 27, 1985 stated in part:

The use of intoxicants, narcotics, amphetamines or hallu-

cinogens by employees subject to duty or their possession or

use while on duty is prohibited. Employees suspected of being

under the influence in violation of this rule may be required to

take a blood and/or a urinalysis test. Employees who refuse to

take these tests or who are found to be under the influence as

- a result of tests will be subject to disciplinary procedures which

may result in dismissal from the Authority’s service.

Thereafter, on October 27, 1985, SEPTA issued RRD

Special Instruction 1001-A2 which provided that members of the

railroad unions “may be required to provide a urine sample after

certain accidents and incidents or at the time the company reason-

ably suspects [an employee is] under the influence of, or impaired

by drugs while on duty.”

A-38

of substance abuse is societal. It is inescapable that the

undue use of drugs or alcohol by the operator of a motor

vehicle can be hazardous and potentially injurious, if not

life-threatening. Where mass transit is concerned, the

risk can involve large numbers of people.

SEPTA’s decision to embark on unscheduled —

“surprise” — testing of its employees arose from man-

agement’s belief that cause or suspicion testing was

ineffective to reduce on-the-job impairment. Patterned

on other programs, SEPTA Order No. 87-1, issued

January 21, 1987, was designed to interrelate educa-

tional prevention; treatment and rehabilitation; and

monitoring and deterrence. The third element is embod-

ied in unscheduled random testing.5 Order No. 87-2,

promulgated February 3, 1987, provided that an em-

ployee returning to work after a 30-day absence was

subject to body fluid testing for drugs or alcohol.

In opposition to the testing, plaintiffs filed these

actions and immediately sought injunctive relief, assert-

ing that 87-1 violates the Fourth Amendment prohibi-

tion against unreasonable searches and seizures. They

also contend that testing of employees returning to work

after a 30-day hiatus under 87-2 is not constitutionally

justifiable and that the entire program, as proposed,

abridges the employee’s confidentiality rights, and is

overly broad, punitive, and inappropriate. The Rail

Brotherhoods maintain that the issues raised by 87-1

and 87-2 constitute a “major dispute” under the Railway

Labor Act. If so, the Act requires notice and exhaustion

of negotiation and mediation procedures before a change

in the labor contract can be effectuated. 45 U.S.C.A.

§156. SEPTA has not given notice. Its view is that 87-1

and 87-2 are evolutionary outgrowths of 85-1 and are not

5. On January 23, 1987 urine tests of 13 randomly selected

employees proved negative. This was the only day on which 87-1

was implemented. Thereafter, SEPTA agreed to await the outcome

of these actions.

6. Plaintiffs filed amended complaints challenging 87-2.

A-39

a radical alteration of past policies. The United Trans-

portation Union, Local 1594, also claims that it is

entitled to protective procedures under Section 1101.-

701 of the Pennsylvania Public Employe Relations Act.

SEPTA was preliminarily enjoined from proceeding

with 87-1 and 87-2 because the program, as evidenced,

was excessively intrusive and did not carry out its

objectives. A Fourth Amendment violation appeared,

therefore, to be likely. Also, under the Railway Labor

Act, an ultimate finding of a “major dispute” was pre-

dictable. Bench opinion, February 9, 1987.

Il.

On July 27, 1987 after months of consultation with

experts and union representatives, SEPTA proposed a

revised program and filed a petition to vacate the pre-

liminary injunction.” Extensive testimony was given by

toxicologists, pharmacologists, physicians, psychologists

and others in defense and in criticism of the proposal.

Areas of debate were the accuracy of the testing proce-

dures, the positive thresholds, the incidence of testing,

including the categories of employees subject to testing,

the inclusion of prescription medication, the definition

of fitness for duty, the type and the function of the

employee assistance program, the effect of passive inha-

lation, the role of SEPTA’s medical department, and

SEPTA’s administration of 85-1 and 85-2 during the past

two years.®

As set forth in the revised proposal, the purpose of

the program is to enforce a fitness for duty standard.

7. Thereafter, SEPTA continued to make revisions in response

to concerns expressed by the unions and by the court.

8. With the parties’ consent, a court-appointed independent

expert—a psychiatrist with expertise in pharmacology-—was re-

tained. This expert reviewed the testing proposal and the testimony

of the parties’ experts and consulted with the parties and the court.

A-40

This standard is applied to a class known as “operating

employees” and is defined as the absence from one’s

system of alcohol, drugs and drug metabolites above

specified thresholds. About 4,400 SEPTA employees

come within this classification.? Breath testing is to be

used for alcohol detection and is to be administered

under forensically acceptable conditions. A positive re-

sult requires two successive minimum levels of .04

percent. For drugs, the testing modality is urinalysis.

The specimen is to be given inside a private, partitioned

bathroom stall. There are detailed specifications to as-

sure chain of custody, proper laboratory control, and

scientific testing. After initial screening, a positive result

is subject to a confirmation procedure by gas chromato-

graphy/mass spectrometry, which is considered to be the

most accurate technology available. See Williams vw.

Secretary of Navy, 787 F.2d 552, 555 (Fed.Cir.1986).

In the educational, or preventative phase, of the

program, SEPTA employees will be informed about the

harmful effects of drug and alcohol abuse, the availabil-

ity of treatment, and SEPTA’s employee and enforee-

ment policies. In July, 1987 SEPTA sent its employees

the revised program. Regular mailings and educational

presentations will be made. Random testing will not be

begun until 90 days after the program goes into effect

9. The following positions are specifically enumerated:

1. Engineer, Bus Person, Surface Train Person, Subway-

Elevated Trainperson.

2. Conductors and Passenger Attendants

3. Construction Equipment Operators

4. Superintendents of Operations, Towerpersons, Train

Dispatchers, and Power Dispatchers

5S. Signal Maintainers

6. Power Distribution Maintainers

7. Vehicle, Mechanical, Track and Structural Inspectors

8. Welders

9. Sworn SEPTA police officers

0. Any employees authorized to carry a firearm on duty

1. Instructors and supervisors of the foregoing.

A-41

and no earlier than 30 days after the proposed employee

assistance program is operational.

The employee assistance program wil! utilize an

outside provider as opposed to in-house services. Its

purpose is to offer substance abuse treatment and reha-

bilitation. If the employee voluntarily self-refers having

not had a positive test result, he can obtain a second

period of treatment. While in treatment, employees are

to receive unused sick pay. A post-treatment 90-day

period of alternative job assignment will occur, and the

employee will be subject to unannounced testing.'°

Upon two positive tests, the employee is dischargeable.

An employee who tests positive on a random screening

or on return to work has one opportunity for self-referral

and must not test positive again. Such employee is also

subject to unannounced follow up testing for 12 months

and scheduled testing for two years thereafter. If treat-

ment is refused, the employee will be discharged. Em-

ployment assistance information will be given to SEP-

TA’s medical department, which is to maintain it as

confidential. No disclosure will be made to law enforce-

ment authorities, and availability within the medical

department is to be limited to “need-to-know.”

Return to work testing applies to “operating emplo-

yees” who return to work after a 30-day absence. The

reason for the absence is immaterial."!

The selection of employees to be randomly tested

will be made pursuant to a protocol developed by a

statistician and will be computerized. 2,600 of the 4,400

operating employees will be tested for drugs and alcohol

10. The pay scale will be for the alternative assignment.

il. Testing of “operating employees” who are transferred

within SEPTA was also mentioned at the hearings. In October,

1987, TWU filed a second amended complaint claiming damages

for employees tested under the return to work provisions of 87-2 and

challenging other body fluid testing that occurs without reasonable

suspicion. It is agreed that the only issues to be adjudicated here

concern random and return to work testing under 87-1 and 87-2.

A-42

each year — 33 percent once, 10 percent twice, and two

percent more frequently. About 5,400 random breath

alcohol tests will also be given. Using this statistical

design, each operating employee will be at testing risk

every day, although the chances of being tested more

than twice a year will be small. The total cost of the

program for the first two years will be $3 million and

should diminish thereafter.

Operating employees taking prescription medication

will be required to obtain approval from SEPTA’s medi-

cal department before reporting to work. A fitness for

duty determination will be made in consultation with the

prescribing physician and a medical consultant. The

prescription will be confidential information.

As finally revised, the program contemplates estab-

lishment of an advisory committee of labor representa-

tives to review the program semi-annually and to consult

with SEPTA management as to any important

changes—such as enlargement of the class of operating

employees, a change in the employee assistance pro-

vider or testing analysis laboratory.

The basic design of the program was formulated by

a psychologist who is the director of Rutgers University

Center of Alcohol Studies. He testified that he success-

fully developed similar programs for the United States

Navy and professional sports. In his opinion, an effective

program requires a balanced combination of education,

treatment, deterrence and enforcement. The testing is

aimed at detecting chronic abusers, not actual impair-

ment. The reason is two-fold: On the one hand, actual

impairment is hard to measure using present technol;

ogy. On the other, if testing were pre-scheduled and

announced in advance, many abusers would be able to

stay drug-free during the testing period. A positive result

establishes relatively recent intake in a pharmacologi-

cally active amount. Tr. Sept. 9, 1987, at 21. In his

opinion, the testing must be at random, unannounced,

and done daily in order to act as an effective deterrent.

— A-43

Although problems remain}? with the revised pro-

gram, it is not so intrusive or unreasonable as to fail to

withstand constitutional scrutiny. Given the experierice

in other settings, the program appears to be logically

related to its purposes. After a suitable trial period,

improvements can be made and deficiencies can be

corrected. Plaintiffs are not foreclosed from instituting a

specific challenge at a later date. See American Federa-

tion of Government Employees, AFL-CIO v. Dole, 670

F.Supp. 445, 449 (D.D.C.1987). By repeated revision of

the original program, SEPTA has shown some willing-

ness to accept recommendations and to accommodate

other points of view.

With much force, the unions argue that the program

is largely experimental; that a less intrusive program

could be tried first; that the proposal is a substantial

departure in policy that is unlikely to be accepted by

SEPTA’s already discontented employees; that the pro-

gram would be much more effective if SEPTA were

willing to share control of it with labor; and that rigid

administration, as has occurred in the past, will produce

arbitrary and unjust results. Making due allowance for

that position, the reasons for permitting random testing

to proceed are the evidence of a drug problem among

SEPTA’s employees and the now well recognized pres-

ence of substance abuse in our society; the public

interest in having a mass transportation system operated

as safely and efficiently as practicable; the knowledge of

12. See Bench Remarks, September 25, 1987. Since then a

number of criticisms were rectified, but, in ny view, a much better

program could have been proposed if SEPTA had abandoned its

traditional approach to labor-management iss. ¢s. The constitution-

ality of substance testing by a public employer must rest on the

public’s needs, not the employer’s. The best chance of success with

such a program is to have the cooperation of labor, which requires

that management share—just as a matter of enlightened self-

interest—some of its decision-making and administra:.. powers.

This SEPTA has agreed to do only in small measure.

A-44

operating employees of the safety critical nature of their

jobs; the employees’ corresponding diminishéd expecta-

tion of privacy in the performance of their duties: the

probable efficacy of the program; the various measures

to minimize the intrusiveness of the searches; and

SEPTA’s testimonial pledge to implement the program

fairly and sensitively.

Il.

[1] Because it is a state agep d instrumentality,

the Fourth Amendment applies to SEPTA, through the

Fourteenth Amendment. Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643,

81 S.Ct. 1684, 6 L.Ed.2d 1081 (1961). Compulsory

urinalysis and chemical breath testing have been held to

be searches and seizures within the meaning of the

Fourth Amendment. E.g., National Federetion of Fed-

eral Employees v. Weinberger, 818 F.2d 935, 942

(D.C.Cir.1987) (citing cases). To comply constitution-

ally, searches must be reasonable. New Jersey v. TLO,

469 U.S. 325, 337, 105 S.Ct. 733, 741, 83 L.Ed.2d 720

(1985). Although a warrant and probable cause or some

quantum of individualized suspicion bear on the reason-

ableness issue, the Fourth Amendment does not require

an irreducible minimum of individualization. United

States v. Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. 543, 560-61, 96

S.Ct. 3074, 3084, 49 L.Ed.2d 1116 (1976). Sometimes,

the balancing of interests attenuates an individualized

approach. E.g., National Treasury Employees Union v.

Von Raab, 816 F.2d 170, 176-77 (Sth Cir.1987).

The evidence demonstrates that SEPTA’s suspicion-

testing program has not been enough to Satisfy the

needs of public safety and mass transit reliability. In

turn, employees in operational positions cannot reason-

ably expect SEPTA to ignore its responsibility to do all

possible to ensure public confidence in its services. Von

Raab, 816 F.2d at 180; Shoemaker v. Handel, 795 F.2d

1136, 1142 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, ae sug SOF

a a a le ts Bh Oe

‘ha Fe OP ee a Pe ae AW ei, et le tate [eg

A-45

S.Ct. 577, 93 L.Ed.2d 580 (1986). In these circum-

stances, the constitutionality of the program depends on

a “balancing of the need for the particular search against

the invasion of personal rights that the search entails.”

Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520, 559, 99 S.Ct. 1861, 1884,

60 L.Ed.2d 447 (1979). McDonell v. Hunter, 809 F.2d

1302, 1305 (8th Cir.1987). See O’Connor v. Ortega,

____ ~ US. __, 107 S.Ct. 1492, 1501-03, 94 L.Ed.2d

714 (1987) (plurality opinion) (public employers have

overriding administrative interest different from law

enforcement so that intrusions on privacy of government

employees in investigating work related misconduct

should be assessed by reasonableness standard and

totality of circumstances).

SEPTA’s interests in the safety of its passengers and

in the public’s reposing confidence in its system are of

paramount importance. Division 241, Amalgamated

Transit Union v. Suscy, 538 F.2d 1264, 1267 (7th Cir.)

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1029, 97 S.Ct. 653, 50 L.Ed.2d

632 (1976). “Government has a vital interest in making

certain that its employees, particularly those whose

impairment endangers their co-workers or the public,

are free of drugs.” Capua v. City of Plainfield, 643

F.Supp. 1507, 1511 (D.N.J.1986). It is perhaps stronger

than New Jersey’s interest in “assuring the public of the

integrity of the persons engaged in the horse racing

industry.” Shoemaker, 795 F.2d at 1142 (that interest

and jockey’s reduced expectation of privacy held to

justify program of random breath testing and uri-

nalysis). As with all public employers, SEPTA is re-

quired by law to administer its work properly and

efficiently. O’Connor, U.S. at , 107 S.Ct. at

1501-03.

The well known effects of alcohol and drug abuse,

together with the two-year record of positive test results

and accidents and injuries since 85-1, sufficiently show

that public safety and public confidence problems exist

in SEPTA’s operations. Although the percentage of

A-46

employees who chronically abuse alcohol and drugs may

not be large, SEPTA is obligated, legally, ethically and as

a matter of good management, to take steps to reduce

the problem to a minimum. Jones v. McKenzie, 833 F.2d

335, 340 (D.C.Cir.1987). Needless serious personal in-

juries and deaths caused by alcohol or drug related

accidents are the unacceptable alternative. SEPTA must

continually explore a variety of programs with its em-

ployees and its equipment to improve the safety of its

operations. Moreover, SEPTA should be encouraged to

take remedial measures and to design new personnel

programs if reasonable and minimally intrusive. See Von

Raab, 816 F.2d at 179 (not unreasonable to address a

potential drug problem even in the absence of evidence

of prior drug related accidents or individualized suspi-

cion that a particular employee has a drug or alcohol

problem). Ail of SEPTA’s operating employees must be

acutely aware that the public questions the system’s

safety and reliability, including th: presence of alcohol

and drug abuse.

Reliance on suspicion testing appears, therefore, to

be inadequate. Many drugs have delayed, residual or

chronic effects not ascertainable through behavioral

observation. Tr. Feb. 5, 1987, at 311-316. Numerous

SEPTA employees operate without close supervision.

Even obvious impairment can go undetected. Recurrent

notice testing will detect only those who cannot tempo-

rarily abstain. Considering our present knowledge and

experience, a program of frequent random testing may

be the best means of assuring that SEPTA employees

will not be impaired and of gaining public acceptance

and support. Shoemaker, 795 F.2d at 1142. It may be the

only way to deal with the problem of substance abuse in

a highly regulated and safety critical industry affected

with the public interest. McDonell, 809 F.2d at 1308.

A-47

Drug screening by urinalysis is, concededly, a seri-

ous infringement of an individual’s reasonable expecta-

tion of privacy.13 As revised, the SEPTA program mark-

edly reduces its intrusiveness. Union consultation is

contemplated. Alcohol testing, conducted by breath-

alyzer, is less intrusive than urinalysis or blood testing.

Urinalysis, properly administered, is not as intrusive as a

strip search or a blood test. McDonell, 809 F.2d at 1308;

Von Raab, 816 F.2d at 177. Advance notice reduces the

intrusive nature of a search. Weinberger, 818 F.2d at

943; Shoemaker, 795 F.2d at 1142; Capua, 643 F.Supp.

at 1515 (surprise early morning urinalysis of city fire

fighters unconstitutional).!4

13. “One does not reasonably expect to discharge urine under

circumstances making it available to others to collect and analyze in

order to discover the personal physiological secrets it holds.” McDo-

nell v. Hunier, 612 F.Supp. 1122, 1127 (S.D.Iowa 1985), aff’d as

modified, 809 F.2d 1302 (8th Cir. 1987). Urine testing may disclose

whether the employee is under treatment for an illness and the

presence of nonprescription substances such as blood. “There are

few activities in our society more personal or private than the

passing of urine.” Von Raab, 816 F.2d at 175.

14. A growing number of decisions have concluded that non-

suspicion mandatory urinalysis by a public employer is unconstitu-

tional. See, e.g., Policemen’s Benevolent Assoc., Local 318 v. Town-

ship of Washington, 672 F.Supp. 779 (D.N.J. 1987) (police

officers); Taylor v. O’Grady, 669 F.Supp. 1422 (N.D.IIl. 1987)

(correctional employees); Feliciano v. City of Cleveland, 661

F.Supp. 578 (N.D.Ohio 1987) (police academy candidates); Amer-

ican Federation of Government Employees v. Weinberger, 651

F.Supp. 726 (S.D.Ga. 1986) (civilian police employed by Depart-

ment of Defense); Lovvorn v. City of Chattanooga, 647 F.Supp. 875

(E.D.Tenn. 1986) (firefighters); Caruso v. Ward, 133 Misc.2d 544,

506 N.Y.S.2d 789 (Sup.Ct. 1986), aff'd, 131 A.D.2d 214, 520

N.Y.S.2d 551 (App.Div. 1987) (members of organized crime control

bureau); Patchogue-Medford Congress of Teachers v. Board of

Education, 119 A.D.2d 35, 50S N.Y.S.2d 888 (App. Div. 1986),

aff'd, 70 N.Y.2d 57, 510 N.E.2d 325, 517 N.Y.S.2d 456 (1987)

(public school teachers). Many of these cases distinguish Shoe-

maker and other nonsuspicion testing decisions based on insuffi-

cient showing of need, or of reduced expectations of privacy, or

A-48

As noted, collection personnel do not observe the

employee during urination, which takes place in a

private restroom stall. See Mullholland v. Department of

Army, 660 F.Supp. 1565, 1569 & 1576 (E.D.Va. 1987).

A high degree of confidentiality is to be maintained.

“The need for protection against governmental intrusion

diminishes if the investigation is neither designed nor

likely to be used to bring criminal charges against the

person investigated.” Von Raab, 816 F.2d at 179. See

O’Connor, U.S. at ___, 107 S.Ct. at 1501; Shoe-

maker, 795 F.2d at 1140 (test results kept confidential

from enforcement agencies). There are provisions allow-

ing an employee whose test is positive to challenge the

result. See Banks v. Federal Aviation Admin., 687 F.2d

92, 95 (Sth Cir.1982). The detailed chain of custody

provisions virtually eliminate the possibility that a sam-

ple will be incorrectly identified. Rushton v. Nebraska

Public Power Dist., 653 F.Supp. 1510, 1526 (D.Neb.

1987).

The program contains a strong rehabilitative com-

ponent, and an ameliorative distinction is made between

a voluntary self-referral and an employee whose unfit-

ness is raised by a test result. Though the incidence of

testing may be unduly large, the protocol was intended

to maximize its deterrent value, an essential part of the

integrated program. Tr. Feb. 5, 1987, at 284. Von Raab,

816 F.2d at 180. With time, its volume can be reduced.

Morcover, the plan approved by this Circuit, in Shoe-

maker, authorized the testing of the same jockey three

times in one week. Shoemaker, 795 F.2d at 1140. Here,

by comparison, only two percent of the operating em-

ployees will be tested more than twice a year.

NOTES (Continued)

because of a high degree of intrusiveness. None involves a work

environment as demonstrably safety sensitive as SEPTA’s, compel-

ling evidence of a current drug and alcohol problem unlikely to be

solved by less aggressive measures, and a program as carefully

drawn as SEPTA’s.

ed DCT ee Gea eee eee ei

A-49

The random screening protocol assures that selec-

tion for testing is at random and eliminates any exercise

of discretion by SEPTA management. Specific and def-

inite standards for determining a positive test result are

set forth, and the testing is to be conducted by an

accredited independent laboratory. Specific procedures

for sample collection are included in the program. These

safeguards are sufficient to protect the employees’ rea-

sonable expectations of privacy from the exercise of

discretion by SEPTA management in deciding of whom,

when and in what manner to conduct the search.

Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648, 655 & 663, 99 S.Ct.

1391, 1396-97 & 1401, 59 L.Ed.2d 660 (1979); Von

Raab, 816 F.2d at 177; Shoemaker, 795 F.2d at 1143.

[2] However, the considerations that justify random

testing in an integrated program do not pertain to return

to work testing. That aspect of SEPTA’s proposal is

unwarranted constitutionally absent some reasonable

suspicion or programmatic basis. With random testing

in place, the need for return to work testing would

substantially be eliminated. Employees who return to

work will immediately be subject to daily random test-

ing. The physical examination conducted upon return to

work should be sufficient to identify employees clearly

not fit for duty. SEPTA has not met its burden of

justifying return to work as an occasion for testing.

Weinberger, 818 F.2d at 943 (citing TLO, 469 US. at

341-42, 105 S.Ct. at 743-44.) The indiscriminate scope

of this policy includes those who have been ill, on leave

of absence — or any employee who has not been at work

for 30 days. There was no evidence suggesting that

return to work testing was an integral part of the revised

program.

IV.

[3] The collective bargaining relationships that ex-

ist between SEPTA and the railroad unions are governed

A-50

by the Railway Labor Act. 45 U.S.C.A. § 151 et seq. “In

general, if a proposed practice by a rail carrier is a clear

departure from the collective-bargaining agreement, a

dispute over the practice is treated as a major dispute

under the Railway Labor Act, and the carrier may not

proceed without first negotiating with the employee’s

representative.” Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way

Employees, Lodge 16 v. Burlington Northern R.R., 802

F.2d 1016, 1017 (8th Cir. 1986).

Under the collective bargaining agreements in ef-

fect when SEPTA issued 87-1,15 an employee’s use or

possession of drugs and alcohol on the job was prohib-

ited. Those suspected of drug use were subject to urine

testing. See supra note 4 (Rule I and Rule 100I-A2).

Under 85-1, off-duty employees who were subject to

duty and suspected of being under the influence could

be tested. See supra page 545. In addition, body fluid

testing occurred upon signal rule violations and upon

employee transfers or promotions to safety important

jobs. Random testing did not take place. There is no

evidence that the unions agreed to or acquiesced in

widespread testing or to any significant testing without

individualized suspicion.

The unions’ acquiescence in suspicion-based, post-

violation, transfer and promotion testing cannot be in-

terpreted as an authorization or even foreshadowing of

87-1. Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees,

Lodge 16, 802 F.2d at 1023. Only “long standing prac-

tices” can be considered part of a collective bargaining

agreement in determining whether a proposed change is

“arguably justified” by the parties’ agreement. Switch-

men’s Union v. Southern Pacific Co., 398 F.2d 443, 447

(9th Cir. 1968).

15. Return to work testing would also appear to be covered by

the “major dispute” rule, but this issue is not dealt with in view of

the determination that such testing is constitutionally impermissi-

ble.

A-51

SEPTA proposes to test 45 percent of its operating

employees at least once each year. The incidence, focus,

rationale for, and employee impact of such testing is

substantially different from 85-1, and it obviously will

affect the working relationship of the parties. The pro-

posal cannot be “arguably justified” by the terms of prior

agreements or the parties’ prior practice. The unions are

correct that the proposed program constitutes a “major

dispute,” precipitating the notice and administrative

requirements of 45 U.S.C.A. § 156. Brotherhood of

Locomotive Eng’rs. v. Burlington Northern R.R., 620

F.Supp. 163, 170-172 (D.Mont. 1985), appeal pending,

No. 85-4138 (9th Cir. argued July 8, 1986). See Railway

Labor Executives v. Norfolk & Western Ry., 833 F.2d

700, 707 n. 6 (7th Cir. 1987). The status quo rule of

Section 156, which is the centerpiece of the Act, is

intended to encourage resolution through mediation

and, if necessary, arbitration. Detroit & Toledo Shoreline

R.R. v. United Transp. Union, 396 U.S. 12, 148-51, 90

S.Ct. 294, 298-99, 24 L.Ed.2d 325 (1969). See Brother-

hood of Maintenance of Way Employees, Lodge 16, 802

F.2d at 1021.

The railway unions, for these reasons, are entitled to

an injunction preserving the status quo.

V.

[4] Local 1594 of the UTU represents the bus and

trolley operators of SEPTA’s Red Arrow division under

the Pennsylvania Public Employe Relations Act, 43 P.S.

§ 1101 et seq. Under 43 P.S. § 1101.701, public employ-

ers must bargain in good faith with the representative of

their employees over wages, hours and other terms and

conditions of employment. Local 1594 requests an in-

junction requiring SEPTA to fulfill that statutory duty

before implementing the program. However, a failure to

bargain in good faith is an unfair labor practice under 43

P.S. § 1101.1201. Under 43 P.S. § 1101.1301, exclusive

A-52

jurisdiction to prevent unfair labor practices is given to

the Pennsylvania Labor Relations Board. See Philadel-

phia Federation of Teachers v. Board of Education, 24

Pa.D. & C.3d 211, 214-15 (1981). Federal courts lack

subject matter jurisdiction over unfair labor practice

claims that come within the board’s jurisdictional pur-

view. Sellers v. Local 1598, Dist. Council 88, AFSCME,

600 F.Supp. 1205, 1212-13 (E.D.Pa. 1984), aff’d, 810

F.2d 1164 (3d Cir. 1987). Local 1594’s request for

injunctive relief must be denied for lack of jurisdiction.

An order follows.

ORDER

AND NOW, this 19th day of January, 1988 it is

ordered:

1. The preliminary injunction entered Febru-

ary 9, 1987 is dissolvec,

2. The request of plaintiffs Transport Workers’

Union of Philadelphia, Lecal 234 and Transport

Workers’ Union of America, Local 2013 for a per-

manent injunction of SEPTA order no. 87-1, as

revised, is denied, subject to the following:

a. “Operating Employees” shall not include

“Conductors and Passenger Attendants” unless

it is established that these are safety sensitive

positions.

b. SEPTA order no. 87-1, as finally revised,

shall be submitted to this court for review before

it is promulgated, and random testing shall not

be begun until after court review occurs.

c. This court shall retain jurisdiction to

supervise the implementation of 87-1.

3. The request of all plaintiffs for a permanent

injunction of SEPTA order no. 87-2 is granted.

A-53

4. The request of the Railroad Brotherhood

plaintiffs for a permanent injunction of SEPTA

order no. 87-1, as finally revised, is granted until

such time as SEPTA complies with Section 156 of

the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 151 et seq.

5. The request of the plaintiff Local 1594 of the

United Transportation Union for a permanent in-

junction of SEPTA orders nos. 87-1 and 87-2 be-

cause of SEPTA’s alleged noncompliance with the

Pennsylvania Public Employe Relations Act is

denied.

A-54

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORT WORKERS’ UNION OF

PHILADELPHIA, LOCAL 234

Vv.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

TRANSPORT WORKERS’ UNION OF

AMERICA LOCAL 2013

Vv.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

BROTHERHOOD OF LOCOMOTIVE

ENGINEERS, DIVISION 71, et ai

Vv.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY, et ai

UNITED TRANSPORTATION UNION, et at -

Vv.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

: CIVIL ACTION

NO. 87-0389

: CIVIL ACTION

NO. 87-0446

> CIVIL ACTION

NO. 87-0448

CIVIL ACTION

NO. 87-0455

A-55

ORDER

AND NOW, this 19th day of February, 1988, it is

hereby ordered and decreed that Southeastern Pennsyl-

vania Transportation Authority (“SEPTA”) may promul-

gate its Integrated Program of Education, Assistance,

and Testing for Intoxicants and Controlled Substances

— As Revised (and as further modified and submitted to

the Court for review on January 28, 1988) (“Integrated

Program”). It is hereby further ordered and decreed that

SEPTA may begin random testing under the Integrated

Program upon accomplishing the following steps:

1. Notification of all affected employees of the

existence of the Integrated Program.

2. Constituting the Advisory Committee.

3. Meeting with the Advisory Committee con-

cerning the selection of the Employe Assistance

Program Referral Agency and Providers.

4. Implementation of the Revised Employe As-

sistance Program (which implementation shall pre-

cede the implementation of random testing by at

least 10 days).

SEPTA shall notify plaintiffs at the time of accomplish-

ing each of these steps.

/s/ E. LUDWIG

Edmund V. Ludwig, J.

A-56

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

TRANSPORT WORKERS’ UNION OF >: CIVIL ACTION

PHILADELPHIA, LOCAL 234

Vv.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA : NO. 87-0389

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

TRANSPORT WORKERS’ UNION OF : CIVIL ACTION

AMERICA LOCAL 2013

V.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA : NO. 87-0446

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY .

BROTHERHOOD OF LOCOMOTIVE : CIVIL ACTION

ENGINEERS, DIVISION 71, et al

vi

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA : NO. 87-0448

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

UNITED TRANSPORTATION UNION, : CIVIL ACTION

et al. :

Vv.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA ; NO. 87-0455

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

A-57

ORDER

AND NOW, this day of Februarv, 1988, it is

hereby ordered and decreed that the Motion of South-

eastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority To Alter

Or Amend Judgment And To Amend Findings Of Fact is

hereby granted. Paragraph 3 of the Order entered by the

Court on January 20, 1988 is hereby deleted, for the

reasons set forth in the revised Memorandum issued this

date.

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Denied — E. LUDWIG

J.

Entered: 3-1-88

ORDER OF COURT

A-58

STATUTORY PROVISIONS OF THE

RAILWAY LABOR ACT

§152. General duties

First duty of carriers and employees to settle

disputes. It shall be the duty of all carriers, their officers,

agents, and employees to exert every reasonable effort to

make and maintain agreements concerning rates of pay,

rules, and working conditions, and to settle all disputes,

whether arising out of the application of such agree-

ments or otherwise, in order to avoid any interruption to

commerce or to the operation of any carrier growing out

of any dispute between the carrier and the employees

thereof.

Second. Consideration of disputes by representa-

tives. All disputes between a carrier or carriers and its or

their employees shall be considered, and, if possible,

decided, with all expedition, in conference between

representatives designated and authorized so to confer,

respectively, by the carrier or carriers and by the em-

ployees thereof interested in the dispute.

Third. Designation of representatives. Represen-

tatives, for the purpose of this Act shall be designated by

the respective parties without interference, influence, or

coercion by either party over the designation of repre-

sentatives by the other; and neither party shall in any

way interfere with, influence, or coerce the other in its

choice of representatives. Representatives of employees

for the purposes of this Act need not be persons in the

employ of the carrier, and no carrier shall, by interfer-

ence, influence, or coercion seek in any manner to

prevent the designation by its employees as their repre-

sentatives of those who or which are not employees of

the carrier.

Fourth. Organization and collective bargaining;

freedom from interference by carrier; assistance in

organizing or maintaining organization by carrier

forbidden; deduction of dues from wages forbidden.

A-59

Employees shall have the right to organize and bargain

collectively through representatives of their own choos-

ing. The majority of any craft or class of employees shall

have the right to determine who shall be the represen-

tative of the craft or class for the purposes of this Act. No

carrier, its officers or agents, shall deny or in any way

question the right of its employees to join, organize, or

assist in organizing the labor organization of their

choice, and it shall be unlawful for any carrier to

interfere in any way with the organization of its employ-

ees, or to use the funds of the carrier in maintaining or

assisting or contributing to any labor organization, labor

representative, or other agency of collective bargaining,

or in performing any work therefor, or to influence or

coerce employees in an effort to induce them to join or

remain or not to join or remain members of any labor

organization, or to deduct from the wages of employees

any dues, fees, assessments, OF other contributions

payable to labor organizations, or to collect or to assist in

the collection of any such dues, fees, assessments, or

other contributions: Provided, That nothing in this Act

shall be construed to prohibit a carrier from permitting

an employee, individually, or local representatives of

employees from conferring with management during

working hours without loss of time, or to prohibit a

carrier from furnishing free transportation to its employ-

ees while engaged in the business of a labor organiza-

tion.

Fifth. Agreements to join or not to join labor

organizations forbidden. No carrier, its officers, or

agents shall require any person seeking employment to

sign any contract or agreement promising to join or not

to join a labor organization; and if any such contract has

been enforced prior to the effective date of this Act

[enacted May 20, 1926], then such carrier shall notify

the employees by an appropriate order that such con-

tract has been discarded and is no longer binding on

them in any way.

A-60

Sixth. Conference of representatives; time; place;

private agreements. In case of a dispute between a

Carrier or carriers and its or their employees, arising out

of grievances or out of the interpretation or application of

agreements concerning rates of pay, rules, or working

conditions, it shall be the duty of the designated repre-

sentative or representatives of such carrier or carriers

and of such employees, within ten days after the receipt

of notice of a desire on the part of either party to confer

in respect to such dispute, to specify a time and place at

which such conference shall be held: Provided, (1) That

the place so specified shall be situated upon the line of

the carrier involved or as otherwise mutually agreed

upon; and (2) that the time so specified shall allow the

designated conferees reasonable opportunity to reach

such place of conference, but shall not exceed twenty

days from the receipt of such notice: And provided

further, That nothing in this Act shall be construed to

supersede the provisions of any agreement (as to con-

ferences) then in effect between the parties.

Seventh. Change in pay, rules or working condi-

tions contrary to agreement or to section 156 forbid-

den. No carrier, its officers or agents shall change the

rates of pay, rules, or working conditions of its employ-

ees, as a Class as embodied in agreements except in the

manner prescribed in such agreements or in section 6 of

this Act [45 USCS§156].

Eighth. Notices of manner of settlement of dis-

putes; posting. Every carrier shall notify its employees

by printed notices in such form and posted at such times

and places as shall be specified by the Mediation Board

that all disputes between the carrier and its employees

will be handled in accordance with the requirements of

this Act, and in such notices there shall be printed

verbatim, in large type, the third, fourth, and fifth

paragraphs of this section. The provisions of said para-

graphs are hereby made a part of the contract of employ-

ment between the carrier and each employee, and shall

A-61

be held binding upon the parties, regardless of any other

express or implied agreements between them.

[The remining paragraphs of §152 are omitted].

§153. National Railroad Adjustment Board

First. Establishment; composition; powers and

duties; divisions; hearings and awards; judicial re-

view. There is hereby established a Board, to be known

as the “National Railroad Adjustment Board”, the mem-

bers of which shall be selected within thirty days after

approval of this Act [enacted June 21, 1934], and it is

hereby provided —

(a) That the said Adjustment Board shall consist

of thirty-four members, seventeen of whom shall be

selected by the carriers and seventeen by such labor

organizations of the employees, national in scope, as

have been or may be organized in accordance with

the provisions of section 2 of this Act [45 USCS

§§151a, 152].

(b) The carriers, acting each through its boards

of directors or its receiver or receivers, trustee or

trustees or through an officer or officers designated

for that purpose by such board, trustee or trustee

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.