Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ferens v. Deere & Co.

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S,

gz -477 ~ FILED

No.

ne SEP 21 1987

pono JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

IN THE Pete

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED-STATES

October Term, 1987

ALBERT J. FERENS & MARGARET L. FERENS, His Wite

Petitioners

v.

DEERE & COMPANY

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT_OF —

APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Arnold Levin

Counsel of Record

David J. Perlman

LEVIN & FISHBEIN

320 Walnut Street

Suite 600

Philadelphia, PA 19106

(215) 592-1500

and

Stanley V. Ostrow

FINKEL, LEFKOWITZ, OSTROW

& WOOLRIDGE

800 Commonwealth Building

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

(412) 288-2670

Attorneys for Petitioner

PACKARD PRESS / LEGAL DIVISION, 10th & SPRING GARDEN STREETS, PHILA., PA. 19123 (215) 236-2000

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Where there are sufficient minimal contacts for a state to

exercise jurisdiction over a defendant foreign corporation, can a

United States District Court that is a transferee forum under 28

U.S.C. 1404(a) refuse to apply the procedural rules of that

transferor state, including its statute of limitations, on the

ground that applying the transferor state's procedural rules

violates the due process and full faith and credit clauses, where

such a holding contravenes the holdings of the highest state and

federal courts of the transferor state?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The parties to the proce eding are listed in the caption of the

Case

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING T

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES iN

OPINIONS BELOW - 3

STATEMENT OF JURSIDICTION 3

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED i

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT )

CONCLUSION 16

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Allstate Insurance Co. vc. Hague, 449 U.S. 302 (A981). 7, 5,9

Chase Securities Corp., vt. Donaldson, 325 U.S. 304

EN Te cl hahaa cata aaae eta ae ae aa 12, 13

Cowan v. Ford Motor Co., 694 F. 2d 104 (5th Cir. 1982)

CMT LV asiihs va ckedesee¥es6eanakuauereeeees 7,9

Cowan v. Ford Motor Co., 714 F. 2d 100 (5th Cir. 1983)

PN Mids cchvundcssudeseceseeedseuenans 7, 9, 10

Cowan v. Ford Motor Co., 719 F. 2d 785 (Sth Cir. 1983)

OTE 260 oo0 orl aoe Oo Oy eae k oaneas 7,9

Cummings v. Cowan, 300 F. Supp. 1251 (N.D. Miss.

RRA ey Peres ee er errr Pree er

Davis v. Mills, 194 U.S. 451 (1904) ...... yee aS _.

Davis v. National Gypsum, 743 F. 2d 1132 (Sth Cir. 1954)

Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1934)...... 11

Ex Parte Schollenberger, 96 U.S. 369 (1877). .. Ae 6

Fieldman cv. Roper Corp., 586 F. Supp. 936 (S.D. Miss.

7 ea ee re pre ag pone $8.15

Goad v. Celotex Corp., et. al. No. 86-3540 (4th Cir.).... 10

Great Western Tel. Co. v. Purdy, 162.U.S. 329 (1869)... 12

Hamilton v. Cooper, 1 Miss. (Walker) 542 (1832)... .... 14

Headrick v. Atchison, T. & S.F.R.Co., 182 F. 2d 305 (10

2 Re ae eee ise ehens ¥ racneds 7

Home Insurance Co.. v. Dick, 281 U.S. 397 (1930). S 9. 12

Hyde Construction Co. v. Koehring Co., 357 F. Supp. 702

S.D. Miss. 1974)........ y Sccembhuwer wea 5

Keeton t. Hustler Magazine. Inc., 465 U.S. 770 (1984). . 8S, 14

Loughan v. Firestone Tire and Rubber Co., 624 F. 2d 726

Sth Cir. 1980) rir . )

1\

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES— Continued

( dss Paue

Louisiana & Mississippi R. Transfer Co. v. Long, 159 Miss

654 1930 i.

VUcVicar v. Standard Insulations. In No. 56-3398 slip

op. (1ith Cir. Aug. 19, 1987 lO

Ms Elmoyle v. Cohen. 38 U.S. (13 Pet.) 312 (1839 ll, 12

Neirbo Co. et al. v. Bethlehem Shipbuilding Corp SOS

LS 153 (1939 fy

Norwood 1 Kirkpatrick 449 LS. 29/1955 ||

Order of l'nited Commercial Travelers of America 1

Wolfe, 331 U.S. 586 (1947 2

Perkins v. Benguet Consolidated Vinine Co 427 U.S. 43,

195] 13

Phillips Petroleum vc. Shutts US IiO5n S| Cy

2965 1GSY | )

Ramsay vt. Boeing ( $32 F. 2d 593 (5th Cir. 1970 5

Schreiber v. Allis-Chalmers Corp., 611 F. 2d 790 (10 Cir

1979 S. 10

Van Dusen v. Barrack. 376 U.S. 612 (1964 & 7

Vick v. Cochran, 316 So. 2d 242 (Miss. 1975 ‘5

Wells v. Simonds Abrasive Co.. 364 U.S. 514 (1953 l2

\ hits t Malone P) perties Lae 194 So. 2d 376 \hiss

1YS6 1S

World Wicks Volkswae nf rp ’ Woods: fi 144 } 5 ISH

1YSO }

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

LS. Const. Amend \I\ '

LS. Const. Article IV §] |

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—« Cor anu d

Cases Page

STATUTES. RULES AND REGULATIONS

28 U.S.C. 12440 }

98 U.S.C. $1382 b

28 U.S.C. §14Oha 16.7.9, 10

42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. $5524(2) (Purdon 195! 4, 6

Miss. Code Ann. $2669 (1550 4

Miss. Code Ann. $2737 (1892 4

Miss. Code Ann. $3097 (1906 4

Miss. Code Ann. $2461 (1917 4

Miss. Code Ann. $2292 (1950 4

Miss. Code Ann. §722 (1942 4

Miss. Code Ann. §15-1-49 (1972 4.6.14

Miss. Code Ann. §15-1-65 (1972 9

Miss. Code Ann. §79-1-27 15, 6

Miss. Code Ann. §79-1-229 a)

Miss. Code Ann. §79-3-229 5

No

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

A; ner’ | FeRens & MARGARET L. FRERENS. His Wek

DPrerne & COMPANY

Res

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCLUIT

The Petithoners Albert | bFerens wad Margaret | bere

ee

bees w ite ry specttul ‘ pra’ that ,;wurit way rine ar msine’ ft ’

the pudyment und opinion of the United States Court of Appea

how Thircl € le nt entered rt Nia Ss US,

OPINIONS BELOW

' Stef ‘

(siy F.z }

v to at A

f ' \\

' ‘ 4

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

i dwt bernie anc yar 7 »f thes | nited Stiute ‘ nerf ’

Appeals for the Third Circuit. entered on Miav 28. 1987. afhiem

ty missal f THOT based thre rhs rf tie vlive nce ana strive

sabvalaty in {_ourt of App als denied is timely petitions hoy

reftoearing’ an ' rehye ring bpcarne rt Fuls a | 1US) whch ippear

the App ndix hereto at A-33 This petition tor certiorari

is

hled within ninet, W)) clay # that clate Although the ¢ murt of

Api l ? ; red ; 7 then tf stay thre marciate \ 4 iT spp "

; '? ‘ ; " ? i} thot ? ial

his ( lict ked \ SUS

emesis ame te,

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The fourteenth amendment to the Constitution provides in

pertinent part:

Nor shall any state deprive any person of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law.

Article IV §1 of the Constitution provides:

Full Faith and Credit shall be given in each state to the

public Acts, Records, and judicial Proceedings of every

other state.

28 U.S.C. §1404(a) provides:

For the convenience of parties and witnesses, in the

interest of justice, a district court may transfer any civil

action to any other district or division where it might have

been brought.

Miss. Code Ann. §15-1-49 (1972) provides:

All actions for which no period of limitation is prescribed

shall be commenced within six years next after the cause of

such action accrued, and not after.

42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. §5524 (Purdon 1981) provides in

pertinent part:

The following actions and proceedings must be commenced

within two years:

(2) an action to recover damages for injuries to the

person or for the death of an individual caused by the

wrongful act or neglect or unlawful violence of another.

Miss. Code Ann. §79-1-27 provides:

Any corporation claiming existence under the laws of any

other state or of any other country foreign to the United

States, found doing business in this state, shall be subject to

~

3)

suit here to the same extent that corporations of this state

are, whether the cause of action accrued in this state or net.

Miss. Code Ann. §79-3-229 provides in pertinent part:

The registered agent so appointed by a foreign corporation

authorized to transact business in this state shall be an agent

of such corporation upon whom any process, notice or

demand required or permitted by law to be served upon

the corporation may be served.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On July 5, 1982, while cleaning a combine manufactured by

respondent, petitioner Albert J. Ferens was injured. The acci-

dent occurred in Pennsylvania. Petitioner was a Pennsylvania

resident, and he purchased his combine in Pennsylvania. Re-

spondent is a Delaware Corporation with its principal place of

business in Illinois. Respondent, however, does business in

Mississippi and has a registered office in Mississippi, where it

accepts service of process. Pursuant to Miss. Code Ann. §79-1-

27 and §79-1-229, respondent has submitted to the jurisdiction

of Mississippi courts. Neirbo Co. et al. v. Bethlehem Shipbuild-

ing Corp., 308 U.S. 153 (1939); Ex Parte Schollenberger, 96

U.S. 369 (1877). On July 3, 1985, the petitioners filed an action

in the United States District Court for the Western District of

Pennsylvania, alleging breach of express and implied warranties

of merchantability and fitness for use. for which the statute of

limitations is four years. On July 25, 1985, the petitioners filed

an action for the same injuries in the United States District

Court for the Southern District of Mississippi under the doc-

trines of negligence and strict liability. The Mississippi statute of

limitations for such actions is six years. Miss. Code Ann.

§15-1-49 (1972). That action, while viable in Mississippi, was

barred in Pennsylvania by Pennsylvania's two vear statute of

limitations. 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. §5524(2) (Purdon 1981).

After respondents filed an answer to the Mississippi Complaint,

the petitioners moved for transfer to the Western District of

Pennsylvania pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1404(a).! The District

Court for the Southern District of Mississippi then transferred

the action to the Western District of Pennsylvania on forum non

conveniens grounds under 1404(a).

Respondent moved for summary judgment on the negli-

gence and strict liability claims, asserting that they were barred

by Pennsylvania's two year statute of limitations, 42 Pa. Cons.

Stat. Ann. §5524(2) (Purdon 1981). Respondent made. this

argument despite this Court's holding in Van Dusen v. Barrack,

1. Jurisdiction in the Southern District of Mississippi was based on 28

U.S.C. $1332, diversity of citizenship.

376 U.S. 612 (1964) that a transferee district court must apply

the state law that would have been applied if there had been no

change of venue and despite the clear authority that a Missis-

sippi court would apply the six-year statute of limitations.

Louisiana & Mississippi R. Transfer Co. v. Long, 159 Miss. 654

(1930); Cowan v. Ford Motor Co., 694 F. 2d 104 (5th Cir. 1982)

[Cowan I]; Cowan v. Ford Motor Co., 714 F. 2d 100 (5th Cir.

1983) [Cowan II]; Cowan v. Ford Motor Co., 719 F.2d 785 (5th

Cir. 1983) [Cowan III]. Indeed, this Court, in Van Dusen v.

Barrack, supra, explicitly approved of Headrick v. Atchison, T.

& S.F.R. Co. 182 F.2d 305 (10th Cir. 1950), where the forum

state’s statute of limitations applied after the case was trans-

ferred under 1404(a) to a jurisdiction with a shorter statute. The

District Court granted respondent's summary judgment motion,

citing language in Van Dusen v. Barrack, supra that held open

the possibility of not applying the law of the transferor state if

the plaintiff, as opposed to the defendant, seeks transfer under

1404(a).2 The Court of Appeals sustained the summary judgment

ruling but did so on Constitutional grounds. It held, purportedly

following Allstate Insurance Co. v. Hague, 449 U.S. 302 (1981),

that where an action had insufficient contacts with a forum, the

application of the forum state’s statute of limitations violated the

due process and full faith and credit clauses of the Constitution.

The Court of Appeals found support in a footnote in Van Dusen

v. Barrack, supra, which reads:

We do not suggest that the application of transferor state

law is free from constitutional limitations. See, e.g., Watson

2. The Court stated in Van Dusen v. Barrack, supra:

In so ruling, however, we do not and need not consider whether

in all cases §1404(a) would require the application of the law of

the transferor, as opposed to the transferee state. We do not

attempt to determine whether, for example, the same consider-

ations would govern if a_ plaintiff sought transfer under

$1404(a). [Emphasis supplied].

Id., at 639-640.

Contrary to Van Dusen v. Barrack, the Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit rejected application of the Mississippi statute even when the defendant

moves for transfer.

reece

v. Employers Liability Insurance Corp., LTD, 348 U.S. 66,

75 S.Ct. 166, 99 L.Ed. 74; Hughes v. Fetter, 341 U.S. 609,

71 $.Ct., 95 L.Ed. 1212; Pacific Employers Ins. Co. v.

Industrial Accident Comm'n, etc., 306 U.S. 493, 59 S.Ct.

629, 83 L. Ed. 940; Alaska Packers Assn. v. Industrial

Accident Comm'm, etc., 294 U.S. 532, 55S. Ct. 518, 79 L.

Ed. 1044; Home Ins. Co. v. Dick, 281 U.S. 397, 50 S.Ct.

338, 74 L.Ed. 926.

Id., at 639, n. 41.

The Honorable Collin J. Seitz strongly dissented. Judge

Seitz argued that the majority ignored the distinction between

the Constitutional limitations on a forum's choice of substantive

law, which governs conduct, and a forum's application of its

procedural law. Allstate Insurance Co. v. Hague, supra and the

Court of Appeal’s other main support, Home Insurance Co. v.

Dick, 281 U.S. 397 (1930), explicitly apply the Constitution only

to a forum's choice of substantive law. Judge Seitz also observed

that this Court has declined to decide whether a forum's choice

of its statute of limitations could rise to a due process violation.®

The Court of Appeals took what might be called an “activist”

position, elevating to a Constitutionally mandated rule what is

properly a legislative matter.4

3. In Keeton v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 465 U.S. 776, 778 n. 10 (1984),

the Court stated:

Under traditional choice-of-law principles, the law of the forum State

governs on matters of procedure. In New Hampshire, statutes of limita-

tions are considered procedural. There has been considerable academic

criticism of the rule that permits a forum State to apply its own statute of

limitations regardless of the significance of contacts between the forum

State and litigation. But we find it unnecessary to express an opinion at

this time as to whether any arguable unfairness rises to the level of a due

process violation. [Citations omitted. |

As in New Hampshire, Mississippi statutes are considered procedural.

Vick v. Cochran, 316 So. 2d 242 (Miss. 1975). Schreiber v. Allis-Chalmers

Corp., 611 F. 2d 790 (10th Cir. 1979); Davis v. National Gypsum, 743 F. 2d

1132 (5th Cir. 1984); Fieldman v. Roper Corp., 586 F. Supp. 936 (S.D. Miss.

1977); Ramsay v. Boeing Co., 432 F. 2d 593 (5th Cir. 1970); Cummings v.

Cowan, 300 F. Supp. 1251 (N.D. Miss. 1975); Hyde Construction Co. t.

Koehring Co., 387 F. Supp. 702 ($.D. Miss. 1974).

4. The Court of Appeals reached its decision sua sponte.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A.

The decision of the Third Circuit Court of Appeals is in

conflict with the decisions of other federal appellate courts. The

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit explicitly held in Cowan I,

supra at 107, in conformity with Judge Seitz’s dissent in the

instant case, that application of Mississippi's six-year statute,

being procedural, does not violate the due process and full faith

and credit clauses as interpreted by Home Insurance Co. v.

Dick, supra and Allstate Insurance Co. v. Hague, supra. In

Cowan, the accident occurred in Texas, where the plaintiff and

her deceased, injured husband were residents. The defendant,

like the instant defendant, was not a Mississippi resident but

conducted business in Mississippi and appointed an agent for

service of process in Mississippi. The Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit further held in Cowan II, supra that, upon transfer

pursuant 28 U.S.C. 1404(a), the Mississippi statute of limitations

would apply. The Fifth Circuit affirmed that decision in Cowan

III, supra after certifying to the Mississippi Supreme Court the

question of whether Mississippis “borrowing statute,” Miss.

Code Ann. §15-1-65 (1972), would bar the plaintiff's suit.5 The

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit also held in Loughan v.

Firestone Tire and Rubber Co., 624 F.2d 726 (5th Cir. 1980)

that the initial forum’s longer statute of limitations will apply

following transfer under 28 U.S.C. §1404(a). In that case, the

suit was originally filed in Ohio, where the defendant main-

tained its principal place of business. The tort occurred in

Florida, where plaintiff was also a resident, where he was

employed, and where he received medical treatment. The case

was transferred to Florida, where the Court of Appeals ulti-

mately held that the Ohio statute applied.

5. The Mississippi Supreme Court opinion, appended to the published

opinion of Cowan III, indicates that the borrowing statute is not to be

interpreted to require application of a foreign state’s statute of limitations

under the facts of Cowan or the instant case. See also Louisiana & Mississippi

R. Transfer Co. v. Long, supra.

a

a

10

Similarly, the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eleventh Circuit recently held in McVicar v. Standard Insula-

tions, Inc., 824 F.2d 920 (11th Cir. 1987) that the longer

Mississippi statute weuld apply following a transfer under 27

U.S.C. §1404(a) to federal court in Florida. The United States

Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit held likewise in

Schreiber v. Allis-Chalmers Corp., 611 F.2d 790 (10th Cir.

1979) following transfer to federal court in Kansas. Plaintiff in

that case was a resident of Kansas and was injured while working

for the defendant in Kansas. The defendant was licensed to do

business in Mississippi and had a manufacturing plant in Mis-

sissippi. The issue of whether the statute of limitations can

follow an action transferred under 28 U.S.C. 1404(a) without

violating the Constitution is also on appeal in the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit in Goad v. Celotex

Corp., et. al. No. 86-3540.

The conflict created by the decision of the Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit raises significant problems within the

federal court system. The Third Circuit, while holding that a

Mississippi Court's application of the Mississippi statute is

unconstitutional unless there is something more than the mini-

mal contacts necessary for jurisdiction, is not a binding authority

for either Mississippi state or federal courts. When a case

identical to the instant case is filed in Mississippi, the Missis-

sippi courts will apply the Mississippi statute of limitations

and not follow the Third Circuit. Indeed, the Fifth Circuit

Court of Appeals, which is binding authority for Mississippi

federal courts, is in direct conflict with the Third Circuit Court

of Appeals. Cowan I at 107.6 If a motion to transfer under

28 U.S.C. 1404(a) is filed, Mississippi courts will deny the

motion or transfer only to district courts in the Fifth, Eleventh,

or Tenth Circuits.7 If a Mississippi court does indeed transfer a

6. The intent of Mississippi courts to apply the six-year Mississippi

statute is also evident in the Mississippi transfer orders, which direct the

transferee forum to apply the six-year statute. See, for example, the transfer

order appended hereto at A-35.

7. The Cowan II court observed that transfer under 28 U.S.C. 1404(a)

superceeded the common law forum non conveniens doctrine of dismissal. The

1]

case to a district court within the Third Circuit, the outcome will

be inconsistent with the outcome of identical cases transferred to

the Fifth, the Eleventh, the Tenth, and possibly other Circuits.

The problem, moreover, is not confined only to cases initially

filed in Mississippi, but involves cases filed in any state where

plaintiffs can enjoy the benefit of a relatively long statute of

limitations. This conflict among the circuits undermines the

principles of Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1934),

whereby a federal court sitting in diversity must apply the law of

a forum state in order to achieve the same result as the state

court ‘t also undermines the objective of uniformity within the

federal system in that transferee courts will be treating identical

cases differently from transferor federal courts.

The Court of Appeals decision, in addition to creating a

conflict within the circuits, is inconsistent with a line of cases in

this Court holding that the statute of limitations is set by the

forum. As long ago as M’Elmoyle v. Cohen, 38 U.S. (13 Pet.)

312, 327 (1839), this Court stated that it was “well settled” that

statutes of limitations were a matter of remedy “and conse-

quently that the lex fori must prevail.” The Court reasoned that

a statute of limitations:

is a thing of policy, growing out of the experience of its

necessity; and the time after which suits or actions shall be

barred, has been, from a remote antiquity, fixed by every

nation, in virtue of that sovereignty by which it exercises its

legislation for all persons and property within its jurisdic-

tion.

Although the fourteenth amendment due process clause, unlike

article IV's full faith and credit clause, was not part of the

common law doctrine was replaced, being overly harsh. Norwood v. Kirkpa-

trick, 349 U.S. 29, 32 (1955). The ruling of the Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit would have the effect of reinstating the common law doctrine. Once a

case was transferred to the Third Circuit on forum non conveniens grounds, it

would be dismissed.

ei iia i

12

Constitution at the time of MElmoyle, the rule has been

consistently accepted since adoption of the amendment.

For example, in Great Western Tel. Co. v. Purdy, 162 U.S.

329, 339 (1869), the Court, citing M’Elmoyle, stated:

The limitations of actions is governed by the lex fori, and is

controlled by the legislation of the state in which the action

is brought, as construed by the highest court of that state,

even if the legislative act or the judicial construction differs

from that prevailing in other jurisdictions.

In Home Insurance Co., v. Dick, supra, which the Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit misconstrued, this Court noted

that “in the absence of contractual provisions, the local statute of

limitations may be applied to a right created in another juris-

diction even where the remedy in the latter is barred.” In Order

of United Commercial Travelers of America v. Wolfe, 331 U.S.

586, 607-09 (1947), this Court again recognized that the rule was

“well established” and Constitutional. In Wells cv. Simonds

Abrasive Co., 364 U.S. 514, 516-17 (1953), the Court several

times reaffirmed its prior approval of “the well-established rule

that the forum state is permitted to apply its own period of

limitations.” The rule that a forum state's limitations statute

applies has been long recognized and should not be deemed

offensive to the concepts of federalism and fairness that the two

Constitutional provisions at issue protect.*

8. Statutes of limitations are traditionally matters of policy established by

the legislature after weighing the state's interest in eliminating stale claims and

the interest in repose against the interest in vindicating legal rights and

responsibilities. Even if there are policy reasons for requiring a Pennsylvania

resident injured in Pennsylvania who files in Mississippi to bring suit within

the Pennsylvania limitations period, it does not follow that bringing suit within

that period is Constitutionally mandated. Limiting the application of the

Mississippi statute is a matter for legislatures. and there is no ground for a

judicially established rule.

There is no fundamental right not to be sued after a certain limitation

period. As the Court observed in Chase Securities Corp. v. Donaldson, 325

U.S 304, 314 (1945):

13

The ruling of the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

runs contrary not only to this Court's prior decisions but also to

its numerous decisions on personal jurisdiction. This Court has

explained that one purpose of the minimum contracts require-

ment is protecting a defendant against the burden of litigating in

a distant or inconvenient forum. World-Wide Volkswagon

Corp., v. Woodson, 444 U.S. 286, 292-293 (1980). Phillips

Petrolem v. Shutts, —_—iU-S.. , 105 S. Ct. 2965, 2973

(1989). The minimum contact requirement embodies a concern

for reasonableness and fairness to defendants. Id. A corporation

purposefully availing itself of the privilege of conducting activi-

ties within a state has clear notice that it is subject to suit there

and can thereby alliviate the risk of litigation. World-Wide

Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, supra at 198. This Court has

sustained the exercise of jurisdiction over a foreign corporation

no longer conducting any activities in the forum for a cause of

action that did not arise in the forum. Perkins v. Benguet

Consolidated Mining Co., 342 U.S. 437 (1951). Thus, the Third

Circuit has held that while there may be sufficient jurisdictional

contacts — enough contacts to satisfy standards of fairness and

reasonableness and to place a defendant on notice that he may

be sued in a particular forum — the contacts could be insuffi-

cient to permit the forum state to apply its own procedural law.

That due process could be satisfied for jurisdictional purposes

but not for purposes of applying a forum state's procedural law is

incongruous. If it does not offend due process for a corporation

Statutes of limitation find their justification in necessity and conve-

nience rather than in logic. They represent expedients, rather than

principles. They are practical and pragmatic devices to spare the courts

from litigation of stale claims, and the citizen from being put to his defense

after memories have faded, witnesses have died or disappeared, and

evidence has been lost. [citation omitted] They are by definition arbitrary,

and their operation does not discriminate between the just and the unjust

claim, or the voidable and unavoidable delay. They have come into the

law not through the judicial process but through legislation. They

represent a public policy about the privilege to litigate. Their shelter has

never been regarded as what now is called a ‘fundamental’ right or what

used to be called a ‘natural’ right of the individual. (footnote omitted. )

Chase Securities Corp., ve. Donaldson, 325 U.S. at 314.

14

to be hailed into court in a state where it has a registered agent

to accept service of process, it could not offend due process for

that corporation to submit to the procedural rules, including the

statute of limitations, of that state.

Cc.

The Court of Appeals decision is, finally, offensive to the

full faith and credit clause and to state sovereignty. It has the

effect of imposing the rules of a foreign jurisdiction on the courts

and territory over which Mississippi, or another similarly situ-

ated state, is sovereign. Under the Court of Appeals’ ruling, the

sovereignty of each state is threatened to the extent that another

jurisdiction has greater contacts with the cause of action or the

defendant.’ The Constitution has never before been interpreted

to impose a choice of law principle on states whereby they must

mold their judicial procedures to those of the state with the

greatest contacts." So long as a state is not attempting to

¥. The six-year statute of limitations has been accepted in Mississippi for

over 150 years and has been repeatedly reaffirmed by the Mississippi

legislature during that time. The Code section in question was first adopted in

the vear 1880. In ISSO, the Code section number was 2669. The statute was

re-enacted in the Codes of 1892 ($2737), 1906 ($3097), Hemmingway's 1917

($2461), 1930 ($2292), 1942 (§722) and 1972 (§15-1-49)

Thus, the Mississippi legislature has repeatedly reenacted the statute,

most recently in the laws of 1972. Its approval on April 26, 1972 post-dates

the interpretation repeatedly placed upon this statute by Mississippi Courts

The most recent attempt to change Miss. Code. Ann. $15-1-49 (1972) is

reflected in House Bill 454 introduced in 1986. House Bill 454 was voted down

by a substantial majority of the committee and not reported out of committee

A Senate Bill identical to the House Bill was also defeated

That same bill has been introduced every vear for the last several vears

and has been rejected by the legislature in each instance. So the legislature has

not only re-adopted their statute as interpreted by courts for over 150 vears

(see Hamilton «. Cooper, 1 Miss. (Walker) 542 (1832), but it has affirmative!

refused to change it

10. Instead, plaintiffs are expected to take advantage of favorable law in

any proper jurisdiction, and corporate defendants are deemed to be cognizant

of the laws of jurisdictions where they have minimum contacts. As this Court

stated in Keeton «. Hustler Magazine, Inc., supra

Petitioners successful search for a State with a lengthy statute of

5

regulate out-of-state conduct by its choice of substantive law in

violation of the Constitution and so long as it has jurisdiction

over the parties, full faith and credit does not require that it

recognize another jurisdictions procedure. Mississippi has

made the policy decision to keep its courts open to a cause of

action for a longer period than Pennsylvania, and so long as

business entities commiting torts are subject to Mississippi s

jurisdiction, Mississippi's limitations statute deserves the full

faith and credit of states incorporating those business entities

states housing their headquarters, and states where plaintiffs are

injured."

limitations 1s no different from the litigation strategy of countless plaintiffs

who seck a forum with favorable substantive or procedural cules ot

sympathetic local populations. Certainly Hustler Magazine. Inc. which

chose to enter the New Hampshire market. can be charged with

knowledge of its laws and no doubt would have claimed the benefit of

them #f it had a complaint agaist a subscriber, distributor, or other

commercial partner

id. at TSO

ll. To the extent Pennsylvania wanted its two-vecar limitations penod to

apply to causes of action arising under its substantive law. its legislature could

have conditioned the substantive right on bringing suit within two vears as

ypposed to conditioning the remedy on filing within two vears Binding the

limitations period to the underlying right would have caused the period to bx

treated as part of the substantn ec law and thus not subject to the forum s statuts

of limitations. Devis « Mills, 194 U.S. 451. 453-44 (1904) White © Malom

Prope rties, lm 194 So. 2d 376 (Miss. 1986). Fieldman « Roper Wh I Supp

936, 93S (S_D. Miss. 1977). Cummings ¢«. Cowan, 300 F. Supp. 1251. N.D

Miss 1975) The Pennsvthanta legislature chose not to frame its statute in this

wal

CONCLUSION

For the loregomng reasons petitioners respectfully submit

that i writ of certiorari should issu to review the opinion and

pci nt of the ( nited States Court of App als tow the Third

Circuit entered on luly 9 US,

He Spe ‘ thally Submitte dl

Arnold Levin

Counsel of Record

David ] Perlman

LEVIN & FISHBEIN

20 Walnut Street

Suite 600)

Philack F hia, PA 19106

215) 592-1500

AND

Stanlev V. Ostrow

FINKEL, LEFKOWITZ. OSTROW

& WoOoOLRIDG!

SOO Commonwealth Buildi:

Pittsburgh. PA 15222

$12) 285-2670

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONERS

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 86-3595

ALBERT J. FERENS and

MARGARET L. FERENS, his wife

v.

DEERE & COMPANY,

(D.C. Civil No. 85-1534)

ALBERT J. FERENS and

MARGARET L. FERENS, his wife

V.

JOHN DEERE COMPANY, a/k/a

DEERE & COMPANY

(D.C. Civil No. 85-2725)

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT

OF PENNSYLVANIA

Argued: March 5, 1987

Before: GIBBONS, Chief Judge and SEITZ

and ALDISERT, Circuit Judges

(Opinion Filed: May 28, 1987)

A-2

STANELY V. OSTROW, ESQ. (Argued)

WILLIAM A. PENROD, ESQ.

FINKEL LEFKOWITZ OSTROW

& WOOLRIDGE

800 Commonwealth Building

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Attorneys for Appellants

GARY F. SHARLOCK, ESQ.

DAVID P. HELWIG, ESQ. (Argued)

SHARLOCK, REPCHECK & MAHLER

lll0 Two Chatham Center

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Attorneys for Appellee

OPINION OF THE COURT

GIBBONS, Chief Judge:

Albert J. Ferens and Margaret L. Ferens appeal

from a Summary judgment which was entered in favor

of defendant, Deere & Company (Deere), in their

product liability action grounded in diversity. The

district court held that the action was time barred by

Pennsylvania's two-year statute of limitations. See 42

Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5524 (2) (Purdon 1981).

Because their action was transferred pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1404(a)(1982), from the Southern District of

Mississippi to the Western District of Pennsylvania, the

Ferenses contend that the governing time limitation is

Mississippi's six-year statute of limitations for

personal injuries. See Miss. Code Ann. 8 15-1-49

(1972). We affirm.

A-3

I.

The Ferenses reside in Dunbar, Fayette County,

Pennsylvania. In July, 1981 Mr. Ferens purchased for

use on his farm a John Deere Sidehill No. 6620

combine from the Uniontown Farm Equipment

Company in Uniontown, Washington County,

Pennsylvania. The combine was manufactured and

distributed by Deere, a Delaware corporation with its

principal place of business in Moline, Illinois and had

been sold by Deere to Uniontown for resale. On July 5,

1982, in Washington County, Pennsylvania, while Mr.

Ferens was cleaning the combine, his right hand

became enmeshed in its rotating augur and was

severed above the wrist.

On July 3, 1985 the Ferenses filed Civil Action No.

85-1534 in the Western District of Pennsylvania,

alleging that Deere breached certain express and

implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for

use, in violation of the Pennsylvania Commercial Code.

See 13 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. 88 1101-9507 (Purdon

1984). This breach of warranty action, which is still

pending, seeks compensation for Mr. Ferens’ personal

injuries. Under Pennsylvania law, a four-year statute of

limitations governs actions for breach of warranty. See

13 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 2725 (Purdon 1984); 42 Pa.

Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5525 (Purdon 1981).

On July 25, 1985 the Ferenses also filed Civil

Action No. 85-2725 in the Southern District of

Mississippi, Jackson Division, seeking identical

damages as those sought in Pennsylvania for the same

personal injuries suffered in the July 5, 1982 accident.

In the Mississippi action, recovery was based on

theories of negligence and Strict liability in tort.

Specifically. the Ferenses claimed that the combine

was defective and that Deere failed to warn of the

defects. The Ferenses chose Mississippi because Deere

i |

A-4

was qualified to do business there, having had

appointed a local registered agent, as it had in many

other states, and because the Mississippi statute of

limitations for personal injuries is six years.’ See Miss.

Code Ann. § 15-1-49 (1972). The Ferenses did not

allege that Deere designed or manufactured the

combine in Mississippi, or that they ever set foot in

that state.

After Deere filed an answer in the Mississippi

action, the Ferenses made a motion, pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1404(a), to transfer their case to the Western

District of Pennsylvania, claiming, inter alia, a) that

they resided in Pennsylvania; b) that the accident

occurred in Pennsylvania; c) that their claim had no

connection with Mississippi; d) that a substantial

number of material witnesses resided in the Western

District of Pennsylvania, while none were in

Mississippi; e) that a substantial number of necessary

documentary exhibits were in the Western District of

Pennsylvania, while none were in Mississippi; and f)

that the breach of warranty action pending in the

Western District of Pennsylvania, involving the same

accident, presented common questions of fact and law.

On November 8, 1985, the transfer motion was granted

and on November 21, 1985 the. breach of warranty

action and the negligence and strict liability action

were consolidated for all purposes.

On February 20, 1986, Deere made a motion for

summary judgment on all claims, asserting that the

Pennsylvania statute of limitations barred the

negligence and strict liability claims, and that the

terms of its written warranty precluded the breach of

‘Pennsylvania has a two-year statute of limitations for personal

injuries, 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5524(2) (Purdon 1981) which

had run when this action was filed three years after the accident

occurred.

A-5

warranty claims. The district court held that, despite

the fact that the negligence and strict liability action

had been transferred from Mississippi, it was governed

by the. Pennsylvania statute of limitations.

Additionally, the court held that material fact issues

prevented summary judgment in the breach of

warranty action. Thus, summary judgment was

entered on the negligence and strict liability claims,

and the court directed the entry of final judgment

pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b). This appeal followed.

The breach of warranty case has been stayed pending

its resolution.

II.

The Ferenses’ position is straightforward. Under

Klaxon Co. v. Stentor Electric Manufacturing Co., 313

U.S. 487 (i941). federa! district courts sitting in

diversity must apply the choice-of-law rule of the state

in which they sit. Moreover, under Van Dusen v.-

Barrack, 376 U.S. 612 (1964), when a diversity action

is transferred from one federal district court to

another, the transfer does not result in the application

of a new choice-of-law rule. Thus, the Ferenses urge,

the District Court for the Western District of

Pennsylvania was obliged to apply Mississippis

choice-of-law rule with respect to the statute of

limitations governing personal injury cases. The

Ferenses insist that Mississippi in this case would

apply its own statute of limitations, and that therefore

the Western District of Pennsylvania must do likewise.

The issue presented in the instant appeal,

however, is not as facile as the Ferenses would have us

believe. Their arguments ignore the constitutional

limits imposed upon the application of transferor state

law. Thus, we begin with an examination of

Mississippi law, which is aberrational in two respects.

ie |

A-6

First, Mississippi has adopted a highly unusual

six-year statute of limitations for personal injury

actions,” whereas most states have two-or three-year

statutes of limitations for such claims. Second, the

Mississippi Supreme Court has made an exceptionally

uncommon interpretation of its borrowing statute.

Like most jurisdictions in the United States,

Mississippi has adopted a borrowing statute with

respect to time limitations on actions.* The Mississippi

version provides:

When a cause of action has accrued in

some other state or in a foreign country, and

by the law of such state or country, or of some

other state and country where the defendant

has resided before he resided in this state, an

action thereon cannot be maintained by

reason of lapse of time, then no action thereon

shall be maintained in this state.

Miss. Code Ann. § 15-1-65 (1972).

On its face, Mississippi's borrowing statute would

seem to suggest that Mississippi would look to

Pennsylvania for the limitations period governing the

Ferenses negligence and strict liability claims since

2Only five states have six-year statutes of limitations for

personal injury claims. See Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 14, § 752

(1964); Minn. Stat. § 541.05 (Supp. 1987): Miss. Code Ann.

§ 15-1-49 (1972): N.D. Cent. Code § 28-01-16 (1974): S.C. Code

Ann. § 15-3-530 (Law Co-op 1977).

“Pennsylvania borrowing statute, for example, provides:

The period of limitation applicable to a claim accruing

outside this Commonwealth shall be either that provided or

prescribed by the law of the place where the claim accrued or

by the law of this Commonwealth, whichever first bars the

claim.

42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5521 (Purdon 1981).

A-7

those claims would be time barred in Pennsylvania.

Relying on the clause “where the defendant has resided

before he resided in this state,” however, the

Mississippi Supreme Court has held that its borrowing

statute “only applies where a non-resident in whose

favor the statute has accrued afterward moves into this

state.” Louisiana & Mississippi R. Transfer Co. v.

Long, 159 Miss. 654, 667, 131 So. 84, 88 (1930); see

also Cowan v. Ford Motor Co., 719 F.2d 785 (5th Cir.

1983) (applying the Mississippi Supreme Court's

interpretation of § 15-1-65). Because Deere was

qualified to do business in Mississippi at the time this

action accrued, it would be treated as a resident of

Mississippi under Mississippi law. See Kershaw uv.

Sterling Drug, Inc., 415 F.2d 1009, 1011 (5th Cir.

1969). Thus, the Ferenses argue that because the

Mississippi borrowing statute is inapplicable,

Mississippi would apply its own statute of limitations,

and under Klaxon and Barrack the federal courts must

do likewise.

Oddly. the one federal appellate court which has

confronted the anomaly of applying a Mississippi

statute of limitations to an action having no nexus

with that state, Schreiber v. Allis-Chalmers Corp., 611

F.2d 790 (10th Cir. 1979), has applied Klaxon and

Barrack in the manner which the Ferenses urge. In

Schreiber, a Kansas plaintiff was injured in Kansas by

a product manufactured by a Delaware corporation

with its principal place of business in Wisconsin. After

the expiration of the Kansas statute of limitations but

before the expiration of the Mississippi statute, the

Kansas plaintiff sued in the federal district court in

Mississippi, which thereafter transferred the action,

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a), to a federal district

court in Kansas. The federal district court in Kansas

refused to apply the Mississippi statute of limitations.

A-S

See 448 F. Supp. 1079 (D. Kan. 1978). The Court of

Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, however, reversed.

holding that Van Dusen v. Barrack controlled and that

the Mississippi statute of limitations applied.

Although Schreiber v. Allis-Chalmers Corp. is

precisely on point,‘ , it has been severely criticized. See

E. Scoles & P. Hay, Conflict of Laws 132 (1984);

Martin, Statutes of Limitations and Rationality in the

Conflict of Laws, 19 Washburn L.J. 405, 421 (1980):

Grossman, Statutes of Limitations and the Conflict of

Laws: Modern Analysis, 1980 Ariz. St. L.J. 1, 56-65.

We agree with the critics that at most, Klaxon and

Barrack require a federal diversity forum to apply a

state choice-of-law rule which the state court could, as

a matter of federal law, lawfully apply. Indeed, the Van

Dusen v. Barrack Court expressly acknowledged as

much. The Court, in rejecting the contention that a

section 1404(a) transfer would result in a prejudicial

change of law, observed:

In so ruling, however, we do not and need not

consider whether in all cases § 1404(a) would

require the application of the law of the

transferor, as opposed to the transferee

State.*'

41. Wedonot suggest that the application of

transferor state law is free from constitutional

limitations. See, e.g.. Watson v. Employers

Liability Assurance Corp., Lid., 348 U.S. 66;

‘While Deere points out that in Barrack and in Schreiber the

transfer motions were made by defendants. see Barrack, 376 U.S.

at 614: Schreiber. 611 F.2d at 791, and that in the instant appeal

the section 1404(a) motion was made by the plaintiff, see 15 C.

Wright, A. Miller. E. Cooper, Federal Practice and Procedure.

§ 3846 (2d ed. 1986). our decision today does not depend on this

distinction.

A-9

Hughes v. Fetter, 341 U.S. 609; Pacific

Employers Ins. Co. v. Industrial Accident

Comm'n, 306 U.S. 493; Alaska Packers Ass'n

v. Industrial Accident Comm'n. 294 U.S. 532:

Home Ins. Co. v. Dick, 281 U.S. 397.

Van Dusen v. Barrack, 376 U.S. at 639. Thus, the

Barrack Court reasserted the continuing authority of

those cases which, under the due process and full faith

and credit clauses, have established federal limits upon

aberrational state choice-of-law rules.

Moreover, the Barrack Court's reference to Home

Insurance Co. v. Dick, 281 U.S. 397 (1930), is for

present purposes particularly significant. Dick

involved a Texas state court applying Texas law to avoid

the application of a contract term that barred any

action on the insurance policy commenced after one

year. The policy had been issued in Mexico to a

Mexican citizen, covering a Mexican risk, and a

Mexican loss had in fact occurred. The contract term in

question was valid under Mexican law. The Dick court

held that by applying its own longer limitation of

actions policy instead of that of the jurisdiction having

more significant contacts with the occurrence

(Mexico), Texas violated the due process clause. See

Dick, 281 U.S. at 408: see also Hartford Accident &

Indemnity Co. v. Delta & Pine Land Co., 292 U.S. 143,

149 (1934) (Mississippi courts cannot void limitation

of action provision in Tennessee insurance policy).

Although both Dick and Delta & Pine Land Co.

involved contracts incorporating shorter limitations

than those authorized by the governing state law,

those holdings are not limited to contractual

situations. As Justice Brennan explained in Allstate

Insurance Co. v. Hague, 449 U.S. 302, 310-11 (1981):

—

A-10

Dick and |John Hancock Mutual Life

Insurance Co. v. Yates, 299 U.S. 178 (1936))

stand for the proposition that if a State has

only an insignificant contact with the parties

and the occurrence or transaction, application

of its law is unconstitutional. Dick concluded

that nominal residence -- standing alone -- is

inadequate; Yates held that postoccurrence

change of residence to the forum State --

standing alone -- was insufficient to justify

application of forum law.

All the cases decided by the Supreme Court after Dick

which permitted the application of forum law over due

process of full faith and credit objections involved

situations in which the forum state had some contact

with the case and some interest by virtue of that

contact, justifying the application of the forum state's

law. See Hague, 449 U.S. at 312-13; Martin, Statutes

of Limitations and Rationality in the Conflict of Laws.

19 Washburn L.J. 405, 421 (1980).

The instant appeal presents the precise situation

to which Justice Brennan refers in Hague -- nominal

residence, standing alone. Deere is nominally a

resident of Mississippi because. in order to do business

there, it has appointed a local resident agent. The

lawsuit does not grow out of any business which Deere

conducted in Mississippi. Mississippi has no interest

in the injuries sustained by Mr. Ferens, or in the

transaction by which he acquired the combine that

injured him. Mississippi's contacts with the parties

and the occurrence or transaction are plainly so

insignificant that the application of its law would be

arbitrary, fundamentally unfair, and therefore

unconstitutional. See Haque, 449 U.S. at 312-13.

Consequently, because Mississippi could not apply

its own law to the Ferenses’ suit against Deere if the

suit were pending in a Mississippi state court, neither

Klaxon nor Barrack require that a federal diversity

forum do so either. Conversely, since the Ferenses are

Pennsylvania residents, the injury occurred in

Pennsylvania, and the combine was acquired there.

Pennsylvania has substantial contacts with the

occurrence, thereby rendering the application of its law

neither arbitrary nor fundamentally unfair.* Hence.

the district court did not err in rejecting the

applicability of the Mississippi statute of limitations.

The judgment appealed from will therefore be

affirmed.

“Because we hold that Mississippi could not constitutionally

apply its law in this case. we have no reason to consider whether. as

Deere contends. the Van Dusen v. Barrack rule applies only when a

defendant makes a section 1404(a) motion. See note 4 supra

A-12

Seitz, Circuit Judge, dissenting.

It is hardly original to say that hard cases make

bad law. Depending on one’s perspective. this case

involves either skillful lawyering within established

rules to obtain favorable law or unfair forum-shopping.

The majority, in my view, has unwarrantedly imposed

constitutional limitations on a forum's choice of law to

prevent the Ferenses from gaining an advantage under

the provisions of 28 U.S.C. § 1404{(a).

The majority holds that it would be

unconstitutional for a Mississippi state court to apply

its statute of limitations in this case. In so holding, it

ignores the distinction between the constitutional

limitations on a forum's choice of substantive law and

a forum's application of its procedural law

The forum has traditionally applied its state's

statute of limitations. regardless of what state's

substantive law controlled. See Keeton v. Hustler

Magazine. Inc.. 465 U.S. 770, 778 n.10 (1984):

Scudder v. Union National Bank. 91 U.S. (1 Otto) 406

(1875); Ross v. Johns-Manville Corp.. 766 F.2d 823

(3d Cir. 1985): Loughan v. Firestone Tire & Rubber

Co., 624 F.2d 726 (5th Cir. 1980): Restatement

(Second) of Conflict of Laws § 142(2)(1971). Although

most states have enacted borrowing statutes to

address the problem presented in this case. | am not

persuaded that this choice-of-law approach is

mandated by the Constitution

The majority opinion fails to cite any cases

supporting its position that a forum's application of its

statute of limitations may violate the due process

clause of the Constitution. The two Supreme Court

cases relied on by the majority. Allstate Insurance Co.

v. Hague, 449 U.S. 302 (1981). and Home Insurance

Co. v. Dick, 281 U.S. 397 (1930), address only the

constitutional limits on a forum's choice of substantive

\-13

law. In Hague, Justice Brennan stated that “for a

State's substantive law to be selected in a

constitutionally permissible manner, that State must

have a significant contact or significant aggregation of

contacts, creating state interests, such that choice of

its law is neither arbitrary nor fundamentally unfair.”

449 U.S. at 312-13. Moreover, the Court in Dick

distinguished the case before it, which involved an

attempt to apply Texas substantive law to a contractual

limitation on the period in which the parties could sue,

from a case in which the forum simply applied its

procedural statute of limitations. 281 U.S. at 409-10.

In the absence of any Supreme Court decision

disavowing the traditional rule permitting a state to

apply its own statute of limitations,’ I conclude that a

Mississippi court's application of its six-year statute of

limitations in cases such as the one before us would

not violate due process. See Cowan v. Ford Motor Co.,

694 F.2d 104, 107 (Sth Cir. 1982)(rejecting the

contention that Hague and Dick limit Mississippi's

selection of its statute of limitations).

Because | believe a Mississippi court could apply

its statute of limitations in this case, I turn now to the

issue whether the district court erred in applying

Pennsylvania's statute of limitations to the Ferenses’

tort claim. The parties agree that the Mississippi state

courts would apply its six year statute of limitations in

this case. See Cowan v. Ford Motor Co., 719 F.2d 787

(Sth Cir. 1983); Louisiana & Mississippi R. Transfer

Co. v. Long, 159 Miss. 654. 131 So. 84 (1930). They

also agree that under Klaxon Co. v. Stentor Electric

Manufacturing Co., 313 U.S. 487 (1941), the federal

‘In Keeton v. Hustler Magazine. Inc., 465 U.S. 770. 778 n.10

(1984). the Court refused to reach the question whether the

traditional choice of law rule. permitting a forum to select its

statute of limitations. was limited by the due process clause

A-l4

district court in which this case was originally filed was

bound to apply Mississippi's choice-of-law rules, and

hence, its statute of limitations.

In Van Dusen v. Barrack, 376 U.S. 612 (1964), the

Supreme Court held that the law of the transferor state

should be applied when a defendant moves for a

transfer under section 1404(a). It based this holding

on two grounds. First, it stated that its holding would

prevent the defendant from using section 1404(a) as a

forum-shopping device. 376 U.S. at 633-636. Second,

the Court concluded that under Erie R. Co. v.

Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1934), section 1404(a) should

be interpreted to “ensure that the ‘accident’ of federal

diversity jurisdiction does not enable a party to utilize a

transfer to achieve a result in federal court which could

not have been achieved in the courts of the State where

the action was filed.” 376 U.S. at 638. The Barrack

Court explicitly reserved the question whether the

same rule should apply in cases in which the plaintiff

initiated the transfer. A number of courts of appeals,

however, have held that the law of the transfer state

should govern regardless of which party moved for

transfer if the transferor court is a proper forum in

terms of venue and personal jurisdiction. See

Gonzalez v. Volvo of America Corp., 734 F.2d 1221,

1223-24 (7th Cir. 1984); Nelson v. International Paint

Co., 716 F.2d 640, 643 (9th Cir> 1983); Martin uv.

Stokes, 623 F.2d 469, 471-73 (6th Cir. 1980).

By focusing on whether the transferor court was a

permissible forum rather than the identity of the party

seeking the transfer, the courts have prevented

improper forum-shopping by denying plaintiffs the

ability to obtain advantageous state law in fora in

which they could not properly maintain an action. At

the same time, deciding the choice of law issue on the

basis of the propriety of the plaintiffs initial forum

selection complies with the requirement in Barrack

A-15

that a transfer from a proper forum does not “achieve a

result in federal court which could not have been

achieved in the courts of the State where the action

was filed.” 376 U.S. at 638.

In this case, there is no dispute that this case

could be brought in the federal district court for the

southern district of Mississippi in terms of venue and

personal jurisdiction over the defendant. Because

Barrack and the Erie doctrine require courts to treat a

transfer under such circumstances as “just a change of

courtrooms,” Martin v. Stokes, supra, 623 F.2d at 472,

the Mississippi statute of limitations should have been

applied to the Ferenses’ tort action.

The district court based its decision to apply the

transferee’s law on the ground that plaintiffs must

demonstrate some good faith intent to proceed in the

court where the action was originally filed before they

can obtain the advantages of the transferor’s law.

Because it believed that the Ferenses had no intention

of proceeding in the Mississippi federal district court,

the court applied Pennsylvania's statute of limitations

to the tort action.

This factual inquiry into the plaintiffs motives,

however, is not justified under section 1404(a). Section

1404(a) permits both plaintiffs and defendants to

initiate transfers “for the convenience of the parties.”

Moreover, as noted above, compliance with the

Barrack language dictates that the law of the

transferor state govern when the transferor court is a

permissible forum.

There may be, as the appellees urge, good reasons

to prevent clever plaintiffs from taking advantage of the

transfer provisions in the way the Ferenses did in this

case. Whether there should be restrictions on

plaintiff-initiated transfers under section 1404(a),

however, is an issue that is best left to Congress.

A-16

Federal courts should not “establish and impose

upon state courts a federal choice-of-law rule.” Allstate

Insurance Co. v. Hague, supra, 449 U.S. at 334

(Stevens, J., concurring). As a federal court sitting in

diversity, the district court of the southern district of

Mississippi was bound to apply Mississippi's six-year

statute of limitations. To be consistent with both Erie

and Barrack, the transferee court should have applied

the Mississippi statute of limitations to the Ferenses’

tort action. | would therefore reverse the judgment of

the district court.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

Bi

A-17

Albert J. FERENS and Margaret L.

Ferens, his wife, Plaintiffs,

v.

DEERE & COMPANY, Defendant.

Albert J. FERENS and Margaret L.

Ferens, his wife, Plaintiffs,

Vv.

JOHN DEERE COMPANY, a/k/a Deere

& Company, Defendant.

Civ. A. Nos. 85-1534, 85-2725.

United States District Court,

W.D. Pennsylvania.

July 25, 1986.

Stanley V. Ostrow, William A. Penrod, Pittsburgh, Pa.,

Faye Murphree James, William R. Barnett, Jackson, Miss., for

plaintiffs.

Gary J. Sharlock, Sharlock, Repcheck & Mahler. Pitts-

burgh, Pa., for defendant.

OPINION

COHILL, Chief Judge.

Presently before the Court is defendant's Motion for Sum-

mary Judgment in the above-captioned cases. Diversity juris-

diction is proper pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1332 (1982).

Summary of Facts and Procedural History

Plaintiffs, Albert J. Ferens and Margaret L. Ferens, reside

in Dunbar, Fayette County, Pennsylvania. Defendant, Deere &

Co., is a Delaware corporation with its principal place of

business in Moline, Illinois. Defendant Company is in the

A-15

business of manufacturing, advertising, selling and distributing

combines, which are used to thresh and clean grain.

On or about July 17, 1981, Plaintiff purchased a John Deere

Sidehill #6620 Combine, Serial No. 454907, which was manu-

factured by Defendant. Complaint, §4. Defendant sold the

combine in question to the Uniontown Farm Equipment Com-

pany, which company thereafter sold the combine to Plaintiff for

use on his farm. /d., 46.

On or about July 5, 1982, in Washington County, Pennsyl-

vania, while Plaintiff was cleaning the combine, his right hand

was pulled into the rotating auger, thereby amputating it above

the wrist. Id., 47.

On July 3, 1985, Plaintiffs filed C.A. 85-1534 in the

Western District of Pennsylvania, basing their claim on the

Pennsylvania Commercial Code, 13 Pa.C.S. §§1101-9507 (Pur-

don 1984). Specifically, Plaintiffs alleged that the combine was

expressly and/or impliedly warranted by Defendant to be mer-

chantable and fit for the ordinary purposes for which it was used,

and that Defendant breached its express and/or implied warran-

ties since the combine was, in fact, defective.

Subsequently, on July 25, 1985, Plaintiffs filed C.A. 85-

2725 in the Southern District of Mississippi, Jackson Division.

That action, which was founded on the same accident whereby

Plaintiff lost his right hand, sought damages which were identi-

cal to those sought in Plaintiffs’ initial action; however, recovery

was based on theories of negligence and strict liability under

§402A and B of the Restatement (2d) of Torts. In their complaint

in the subsequent action, Plaintiffs alleged that the combine was

defective in and of itself, and as a result of Defendant’s failure to

warn of the alleged defects.

In a rather unusual procedural move, Plaintiffs then filed a

motion for change of venue of the Mississippi action under 28

U.S.C. §1404(a). Plaintiffs’: motion was granted on November 8,

1985 by United States Magistrate John R. Countiss, III of the

Southern District of Mississippi, Jackson Division, who trans-

ferred Plaintiffs) second action to the Western District of

A-19

Pennsylvania. Thereafter, by Order of this Court dated Novem-

ber 21, 1985, the two lawsuits were consolidated for all pur-

poses.

Summary Judgment

Defendant has filed this Motion for Summary Judgment on

the grounds that 1) the purchase order disclaimed any implied

warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular pur-

pose, and contained an exclusion of consequential damages; and

2) Pennsylvania’s two-year limitations period bars Plaintiffs

negligence and strict liability claims.

Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure provides

that summary judgment “shall be rendered forthwith if the

pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admis-

sions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that there

is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving

party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.”

Fed. R.Civ.P.26; Anderson v. Liberty Lobby Inc., ___ U.S.

106 S.Ct. 2505, 2510, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986). The moving

party has the burden of proving that no genuine issue exists,

Adickes v. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144, 90 S.Ct. 1598, 26

L. Ed.2d 142 (1970), and any doubts raust be resolved in favor of

the nonmoving party. Gans v. Mundy, 762 F.2d 338, 341 (3d

Cir.1985) (quoting Ness v. Marshall, 660 F.2d 517, 519 (3d

Cir. 1981)).

The United States Supreme Court has recently stated that

“fo}ne of the principal purposes of the summary judgment rule

is to isolate and dispose of factually unsupported claims or

defenses . . .” Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, Ss U.S. ____,: 106

S.Ct. 2548, _, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986). “Only disputes over

facts that might affect the outcome of the suit under the

governing law will properly preclude the entry of summary

judgment.” Anderson, 106 S.Ct. at 2510.

Here, the motion is made by the Defendant solely on the

basis of the pleadings without supporting affidavits; thus, the

motion is functionally equivalent to a motion for judgment on

A-20

the pleadings under Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(c). Schwartz v. Com-

pagnie General Transatlantique, 405 F.2d 270, 273 (2d

Cir. 1968), quoting 6 J}. MOORE, MOORE’S FEDERAL PRAC-

TICE, {56.02[3], at 2035. As such, all well-pleaded factual

allegations of the Plaintiffs must be taken as true and all

allegations of the moving party which have been denied are

taken as false; conclusions of law are not deemed admitted.

Shade v. Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Dept. of Transporta-

tion, 394 F.Supp. 1237, 1243 (M.D.Pa.1975).

1. Disclaimer of Warranties

Defendant claims that the purchase order conspicuously

included the warranties which accompanied the sale of the

combine and that it disclaimed the implied warranties of mer-

chantability and fitness for particular purpose. In addition,

Defendant emphasizes that said purchase order contained a

clause excluding consequential damages. Defendant’s Answer,

Exhibit “A.”

Plaintiffs admitted to the authenticity of the purchase order

in their Reply to Defendant's Answer; however, Plaintiffs con-

tend that the terms of the purchase order are unconscionable,

amount to a contract of adhesion and are against public policy.

Under its adoption of the Uniform Commercial Code, 13

Pa.CIS. §2316 provides that warranties may be excluded or

modified at the time of sale:

§2316. Exclusion or modification of warranties

(b) Implied warranties of merchantability and fitness.—

Subject to subsection (c), to exclude or modify the implied

warranty of merchantability or any part of it the language

must mention merchantability and in case of a writing must

be conspicuous, and to exclude or modify an implied

warranty of fitness the exclusion must be by a writing and

conspicuous. . . .

(c) Implied warranties in general.—Notwithstanding sub-

section (b):

A-21

(1) Unless the circumstances indicate otherwise, all

implied warranties are excluded by expressions like “as is,”

“with all faults” or other language which is common under-

standing calls the attention of the buyer to the exclusion of

warranties and makes plain that there is no implied war-

ranty.

(2) When the buyer before entering into the contract

has examined the goods or the sample or model as fully as

he desired or has refused to examine the goods there is no

implied warranty with regard to defects which an examina-

tion ought in the circumstances to have revealed to him.

(3) An implied warranty can also be excluded or

modified by course of dealing or course of performance or

usage of trade.

Id. See Thermo King Corp. v. Strick Corp., 467 F.Supp. 75

(W.D.Pa.), aff'd, 609 F.2d 503 (3rd Cir. 1979) (manufacturer's

warranty card contained “conspicuous” language to exclude

implied warranties).

In the present case, the purchase order provided as follows:

The Warranty on the reverse side is a part of this contract

and the following applies where permitted by law: Neither

seller, John Deere Company, nor the manufacturer makes

any other representations or warranties, express or implied

(AND EXPRESSLY DISCLAIMS THE IMPLIED WAR-

RANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS) or

has any obligation to the Purchaser except as priovided on

the reverse side.

Defendant's Answer, Exhibit “A.”

On the reverse side of this purchase order, in paragraph F,

the disclaimer is again set forth:

F. NO REPRESENTATION OR IMPLIED WARRANTY.

Where permitted by law, neither John Deere nor any

company affiliated with it makes any warranties, represen-

tations or promises, express or implied, as to the quality or

performance of its products other than those set forth above

and DOES NOT MAKE ANY IMPLIED WARRANTY OF

MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS.

Id.

Paragraph G on the reverse side added:

G. REMEDIES EXCLUSIVE.

The only remedies the purchaser has in connection with the

breach or performance of any warranty on John Deere

equipment are those set forth above. In no event will the

dealer, John Deere or any company affiliated with John

Deere be liable for incidental or consequential damages or

injuries, including, but not limited to loss of crops, loss of

profits, rental or substitute equipment or other commercial

loss.

In its definition of consequential damages, 13 Pa. C.S.

§2715(b)(2) provides:

(b) Consequential damages.—Consequential damages re-

sulting from the breach of the seller include:

(2) injury to person or property proximately resulting

from any breach of warranty.

Id.

Plaintiffs, in support of their argument that the disclaimer

of warranties and exclusion of remedies provisions are uncon-

scionable, rely on 13 Pa.C.S. §2719(c):

\c) Limitation of consequential damages.—Consequential

damages may be limited or excluded unless the limitation

or exclusion is unconscionable. Limitation of consequential

damages for injury to the person in the case of consumer

goods is prima facie unconscionable but limitation of dam-

ages where the loss is commercial is not.

Id.

Whether a contract or clause is unconscionable is a question

of law for the court. Bishop v. Washington, 331 Pa. Super. 387,

399, 480 A.2d 1088, 1094 (1984). The relevant section on

unconscionability, 13 Pa. C.S. $2302, provides:

$2302. Unconscionable contract or clause

(a) Finding and authority of court.—H the court as a

matter of law finds the contract or any clause of the contract

to have been unconscionable at the time it was made the

court may:

(1) refuse to enforce the contract:

(2) enforce the remainder of the contract without

the unconscionable clause; or

(3) so limit the application of any unconscionable

clause as to avoid any unconscionable result.

(b) Evidence by parties—When it is claimed or ap-

pears to the court that the contract or any clause thereof

imav be unconscionable the parties shall be afforded a

reasonable opportunity to present evidence as to its com-

mercial setting, purpose and effect to aid the court in

making the determination.

Plaintiffs argue that the above language renders Deten-

dant’s motion premature since the parties have not presented

evidence on the issue of unconscionability. We agree for the

following reasons.

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court has adopted the follow-

ing definition of unconscionability:

Unconscionability has generally been recognized to include

an absence of meaningful choice on the part of one of the

parties together with contract terms which are unreason-

ably favorable to the other party.

OO ——

A-24

Witmer v. Exxon Corp., 495 Pa. 540, 551, 434 A.2d 1222, 1228

(1951), quoting Williams v. Walker-Thomas Furniture Co., 350

F.2d 445, 449 (D.C.Cir.1965). In the Williams case, Judge

Skelly Wright summarized the factors to be considered in

determining whether a contract or clause is unconscionable or

not:

Whether a meaningful choice is present in a particular

case can only be determined by consideration of all the

circumstances surrounding the transaction. In many cases

the meaningfulness of the choice is negated by a gross

inequality of bargaining power. The manner in which the

contract was entered is also relevant to this consideration.

Did each party to the contract, considering his obvious

education or lack of it, have a reasonable opportunity to

understand the terms of the contract, or were the important

terms hidden in a maze of fine print and minimized by

deceptive sales practices? Ordinarily, one who signs an

agreement without full knowledge of its terms might be

held to assume the risk that he has entered a one-sided

bargain. But when a party of little bargaining power, and

hence little real choice, signs a commercially unreasonable

contract with little or no knowledge of its terms, it is hardly

likely that his consent, or even an objective manifestation of

his consent, was ever given to all the terms. In such a case

the usual rule that the terms of the agreement are not to be

questioned should be abandoned and the court should

consider whether the terms of the contract are so unfair that

enforcement should be withheld.

In determining reasonableness or fairness, the primary

concern must be with the terms of the contract considered

in light of the circumstances existing when the contract was

made. The test is not simple, nor can it be mechanically

applied. The terms are to be considered “in the light of the

general commercial background and the commercial needs

of the particular trade or case.”

Williams, 350 F.2d at 449-450 (footnote omitted).

SS

In the present case, since no affidavits, interrogatories,

depositions, or evidence of any sort has been submitted regard-

ing the circumstances surrounding the transaction, we can only

speculate as to whether or not the purchase order was uncon-

scionable. Following the mandate of 13 Pa.C.S. §2302(b), we

find it necessary to afford the parties a reasonable opportunity to

present evidence on the “commercial setting, purpose and

effect” of the disputed language in the purchase order. We note

that while Plaintiff is a farmer, that alone is not indicative of his

commercial standing because he may be a “small-time” farmer

or he may be a large corporate farmer with thousands of acres of

land. See Purvis v. Consolidated Energy Products Co., 674 F.2d

217, 224 (4th Cir.1982) (Hall, J., dissenting) (while in its

broadest sense the meaning of ‘commercial could include any

activity intended to yield a profit, in common parlance the term

is generally associated with manufacturing or retail activities’).

Once we are presented with some evidence as to whether

the transaction was of a commercial or consumer nature. prior

dealings between the parties, customary practice within the

industry etc., we will then be able to make a determination on

the issue of unconscionability. As it currently exists, however,

the record is barren on that matter. Thus, Defendant's reliance

on Beckman v. Vassall-Dillworth Lincoln Mercury, Inc., 321

Pa.Super. 428, 468 A.2d 754 (1983) for the proposition that

summary judgment should be granted is misplaced, as there,

the state court had the benefit of affidavits, deposition testimony

and other evidence which enabled it to render a decision that

the contract clause was not unconscionable. Id. at 439-40, 468

A.2d at 788.

Defendant also relies on Thermo King Corp., supra, where

this Court found a similar warranty exclusion and limitation of

remedy provision not to be unconscionable. However, Thermo

King is not dispositive of this case because it indubitably

involved a commercial transaction between two corporate par-

ties. Id., at 78. Moreover, unlike the situation in the case betore

us which involves injury to the person, Thermo King only

involved consequential damages for the loss of $15,000 worth of

cargo. Id. at 77. While the applicable provisions of the purchase

A-26

order here would most likely bar a claim for the loss of crops or

profits resulting from a defective blade in the combine, we are

not convinced that Plaintiff understood those provisions as

limiting his right-to bring a breach of warranty action for the loss

of his hand. Cf. Keystone Aeronautics Corp. v. RJ. Enstrom

Corp., 499 F.2d 146 (3d Cir. 1974) (contract clause must clearly

and unequivocally express intent necessary to exculpate defen-

dant from negligence or strict liability claims).

Accordingly, we will deny Defendant's Motion for Sum-

mary Judgment on Plaintiff's breach of warranty claim without

prejudice. Defendant may reassert said motion, if deemed

necessary, once the record becomes fully developed as set forth

above. See Wobb v. Ford Motor Co., 76 F.R.D. 452, 458

(W.D. Pa.1977) (motion for summary judgment denied with

respect to counts alleging unconscionability of dealer develop-

ment arrangement since further discovery was necessary rela-

tive to motive and intent). a

Il. Applicable Statute of Limitation for Plaintiffs: Tort Claims

Our inquiry now turns to what statute of limitations governs

Plaintiffs: negligence and strict liability claims. At the outset, we

note that Pennsylvania has a two-vear statute of limitations for

injuries to the person, 42 Pa.C.S. §5524(2) (Purdon 1981),

whereas Mississippi s limitation period is six vears. Miss.Code

Ann. §15-1-49 (1972).

As we noted earlier, Plaintiffs’ tort actions we-e originally~

filed in the Southern District of Mississippi after Plaintiffs

initiated their UCC breach of warranty claims in the Western

District cf Pennsylvania. Plaintiffs then transferred their tort

actions from the Southern District of Mississippi to this Court

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1404(a) which provides:

For the convenience of the parties and witnesses, in the

interest of justice, a District Court may transfer any civil

action to any other district or division where it might have

been brought.

Id.

A-27

In support of the transfer, Plaintiffs stressed the feasibility

of consolidating their tort claims with their pending UCC claims

in this District Court and raised concerns about the inconve-

nience and expense that would result if their second action

remained in the Southern District of Mississippi. In his Affidavit

In Support of Motion for Change of Venue, Albert J. Ferens

admitted that:

6. The action against defendant, Deere & Company, in the

Western District of Pennsylvania arises out of said accident

which occurred on July 5, 1982, and is based on provisions

of the Uniform Commercial Code.

7. The basis of the action filed against Defendant in the

Southern District of Mississippi was the aforesaid July 5,

1982 accident and is based on strict liability, negligence and

breach of warranty by said defendant.

8. That all witnesses with any knowledge of the accident or

injuries husband-plaintiff sustained, including doctors, hos-

pital personnel and who plaintiffs will call and use, reside in

the Western District of Pennsylvania.

9. That all documents relating to the personal injuries

plaintiff sustained are located in the Western District of

Pennsylvania.

10. That to simultaneously pursue the Pennsylvania and

Mississippi actions as separate lawsuits would be a great

cost and expense to him.

Id., ©%6-10.

In the instant case, both parties concede that statutes of

limitations are procedural and that the applicable limitation

period is to be provided by the law of the forum. See Butler v.

Dravo Corp., 310 F.Supp. 1265 (W.D.Pa.1970); Vick v. Co-

chran, 316 So.2d 242 (Miss.1975). To prevent forum shopping

and to keep lawsuits in forums which have a significant nexus

and a legitimate interest in the litigation, most jurisdictions,

including Pennsylvania and Mississippi, have adopted “borrow-

ing statutes.” In essence, borrowing statutes adopt as the

A-28

applicable period of limitation the statute which would have

applied in the jurisdiction where the claim arose. For instance,

Pennsylvania's borrowing statute provides that:

The period of limitation applicable to a claim accruing

outside this Commonwealth shall be either that provided or

prescribed by the law of the place where the claim accrued

or by the law of this Commonwealth, which ever first bars

the claim.

42 ra.i..S. $5521.

However, the crux of the problem in the instant case stems

from Mississippi's anomalous borrowing statute which provides:

When a cause of action has accrued in some other state or

in a foreign country, and by the law of such state or country,

or of some other state and country where the defendant has

resided before he resided in this state, an action thereon

cannot be maintained by reason of lapse of time, then no

action thereon shail be maintained in this state.

Miss.Code Ann. §15-1-65 (1972) (emphasis added). The Missis-

sippi Supreme Court, relying on the highlighted language

above, has held that this borrowing statute “only applies where

a nonresident in whose favor the statute has accrued afterward

moves into this state.” Louisiana & Mississippi R. Transfer Co.

v. Long, 159 Miss. 654, 131 So. 84, 88 (1930). See also Cowan v.

Ford Motor Co., 719 F.2d 785 (5th Cir.1983) (applied Missis-

sippi Supreme Court's interpretation of that state’s borrowing

statute). Since Defendant was registered to do business in

Mississippi at the time of the accident here, Defendant would be

treated as a resident under Mississippi law. Kershaw v. Sterling

Drug, Inc., 415 F.2d 1009, 1011 (5th Cir. 1969). Relying on

Mississippis borrowing statute, Plaintiffs contend that the 6-

vear limitation of that forum should be applied.

We now reach the threshold question of whether the law of

the transferor forum or the transferee forum should be applied.

In resolving this question, we must consider whether Plaintiffs

can utilize the change of venue provisions of 28 U.S.C. §1404(a)

to resurrect a time-barred claim in the more convenient forunt.

A-29

In Van Dusen v. Barrack, 376 U.S. 612, 84 S.Ct. 805, 11

L.Ed.2d 945 (1964), the Supreme Court held that “where

defendants seek transfer, the transferee district court must be

obligated to apply the state law that would have applied if there

had been no change of venue.” Id. at 639, 84 S.Ct. at 821, 1]

L.Ed. at 962. The Van Dusen Court pointed out that “both the

history and purpose of §1404(a) indicate that it should be

regarded as a federal judicial housekeeping measure, dealing

with the placement of litigation in the federal courts and

generally intended, on the basis of convenience and fairness,

simply to authorize a change of court rooms.” Id. at 636, 84 at

819. 11 L.Ed.2d at 916. The Court stressed that §1404(a) should

not be used as a device by defendants to undermine the

plaintiff's privilege of selecting “a forum which, although it was

inconvenient, was a proper venue. Id. at 634, 84 S.Ct. t 818, 11

L.Ed.2d at 960. Moreover, the Court noted that if a change of

law were concomitant with transfer, §1404(a) would become a

forum shopping mechanism. Id. at 636, 84 S.Ct. at 519, 1]

L.Ed.2d at 961. While Van Dusen concluded that a change of

venue should normally be considered no more than a change of

court rooms, the Court qualified its holding by continuing:

In so ruling, however, we do not and need not consider

whether in all cases §1404(a) would require the application

of the law of the transferor, as opposed to the transferee,

state. We do not attempt to determine whether, for exam-

ple, the same considerations would govern if a plaintiff

sought transfer under §1404(a)

Id. at 639-640, 84 S.Ct. at 821, 11 L.Ed. at 963.

As of this moment, the Supreme court has not ruled on the

issue left unanswered by Van Dusen, and our research has not

found any controlling authority in the Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit. However, it has been suggested that a logical

interpretation of the question left unanswered by Van Dusen is

that when a plaintiff moves to transfer, the law of the transferee

A-30

state should apply, otherwise plaintiffs, as opposed to defen-

dants, would be free to shop for inconvenient forums with longer

limitation periods. See C. WRIGHT, LAW OF FEDERAL

COURTS, $44 at 261-62 n. 35 (West 4th Ed. 1983); ALI STUDY

OF THE DIVISION OF JURISDICTION BETWEEN STATE

AND FEDERAL COURTS (1969). But see, Note, Choice of

Law In Federal Court After Transfer of Venue, 63 CORNELL

L.REV. 149, 157-58 (1977). The reasoning behind the ALI view

is that it will prevent plaintiffs from using transfers to carry

favorable law from one forum to another. This rationale has been

followed by courts in analogous situations. Cf. Carson v. U-Haul

Co., 434 F.2d 916 (6th Cir. 1970) (plaintiff moved to transfer to

forum with longer statute of limitations; defendant not amend-

able to process in original forum); Parham v. Edwards, 346

F.Supp. 968 (S.D. Ga.1972) (justice did not require transfer

from original forum, with favorable limitation period to plaintiffs

but no personal jurisdiction over defendants, to forum in which

service had been obtained in a similar action, but where the

action was barred by the limitation period); Mata v. Budd Co..,

44 F.R.D. 225 (E.D.Pa.1968) (plaintiff filed lawsuit in forum

where statute of limitations barred action and sought to transfer

to forum with favorable limitation period); Annot., 7 A.L.R. Fed.

at 27-28 (1971).

Plaintiffs argue that the law of the transferee state applies

only when personal jurisdiction with the defendant is lacking or

venue is improper, neither of which was contested here. See,

e.g., Gonzales v. Volvo of America Corp., 734 F.2d 1221,

1223-24 (7th Cir. 1984) (law of forum selected by plaintiff should

govern regardless of which party initiates transfer to another

district); Martin v. Stokes, 623 F.2d 469, 471 (6th Cir. 1980)

(same). See also Schreiber v. Allis-Chalmers Corp., 611 F.2d

790 (10th Cir. 1980) (similar facts; law of transferor state applied

where defendant initiated transfer). However, in Gonzales, the

court held that plaintiffs are “not permitted to capture favorable

law of forums which lack personal jurisdiction over the defen-

dant by filing suit there and then transferring the action to a

state that is able to assert personal jurisdiction.” Id. at 1224. By

analogy, we believe that this reasoning should apply to the facts

ee OW we te

ee ee dime

ee

A-31

before us since plaintiffs could not have originally brought their

second action in the forum where it has been transferred due to

the applicable limitations period. We reiterate that §1404(a) only

permits the transfer of an action to a “district or division where

it might have been brought.” 28 U.S.C. §1404(a) (emphasis

added. )

We believe that, at the very least, some measure of good

faith expectation of proceeding in the court in which the

complaint is filed is essential to allow Plaintiffs to avail them-

selves of that forum’s limitation period, and the filing of a

complaint which is merely a procedural ploy will not suffice. Cf.

Biby v. Kansas City Life Insurance Co., 629 F.2d 1289, 1294

(Sth Cir. 1980) (filing of complaint in transferor state was merely

a procedural ploy and did not commence action for purposes of

tolling the limitation period).

The fact that Plaintiffs’ original lawsuit in this District Court

did not include the claims which were time-barred under

Pennsylvania law unequivocally establishes that Plaintiffs were

seeking to maneuver around this by intentionally filing a second

action in an inconvenient forum to avail themselves of that

forum’s longer statute of limitations and its plaintiff-oriented

borrowing statute. By filing a subsequent lawsuit in the South-

ern District of Mississippi to take advantage of that state's

six-year limitation period and then moving to transfer that action

with their pending action in this District Court for purposes of

convenience, consolidation and efficiency, Plaintiffs are seeking

the “best of both forums.” While we acknowledge the strong

presumption in favor of a plaintiff's choice of forum, Gulf Oil

Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501, 508, 67 S.Ct. 839, 843, 91 L.Ed.

1055, 1062 (1947), where a plaintiff chooses a forum which is not

his home forum, his choice should be given considerably less

weight. Jordan v. Delaware & Hudson Ry. Co.,-590 F.Supp.

997, 998 (E.D. Pa. 1984). This consideration becomes especially

relevant here since the matters relied on by Plaintiffs in support

of their transfer were known to them well before they instituted

their second lawsuit.

We believe that Plaintiff's tactics in this case amount to a

judicial juggling act between forums—one with a clear interest

A-32

in the litigation and one whose interest is nominal at best. The

only nexus between Plaintiffs’ claims and Mississippi is that the

Defendant Company is registered to conduct business there, has

a designated agent for service of process in that state and actually

transacts some business in Mississippi. On the other hand,

Plaintiffs are residents of Pennsylvania, and the claim arose in

Pennsylvania directly as a result of Defendant's having con-

ducted business within that state. Regarding the choice of law

issue, even under the “center of gravity’ test adopted in

Mitchell v. Craft, 211 So.2d 509 (Miss.1968), we find that

Pennsylvania substantive law would govern this dispute.

Implicit in the holding of Van Dusen is the rationale that

§1404(a) is simply a judicial housekeeping device to assure

convenience and fairness to the parties. Further, we are mindful

that a transfer under §1404(a) must be “in the interest of

justice.” Therefore, under the facts of this case, we refuse to

allow Plaintiffs to transform §1404(a) into a device which would

enable them to forum shop for a favorable limitation period.

Kaiser v. Mayo Clinic, 260 F.Supp. 900, 907 (D. Minn. 1966).

Since Plaintiffs were fully aware of all the relevant facts at the

time they commenced both actions, including the fact that the

Southern District of Mississippi was an inconvenient forum, the

“ ‘interest of justice’ would be thwarted rather than served if this

Court permitted this type of ‘legal footwork.” Mata, 44 F.R.D.

at 226-27 (citations omitted).

Accordingly, Defendant's motion for summary judgment is

granted as to Plaintiffs tort claims which are barred by the

limitation period of 42 Pa.C.S. §5524(2).

A-33

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 86-3595

ALBERT J. FERENS and MARGARET L. FERENS, his wife

.

DEERE & COMPANY,

(D.C. Civil No. 85-1534)

ALBERT J. FERENS and MARGARET L. FERENS, his wife

v.

JOHN DEERE COMPANY, a/k/a/ DEERE & COMPANY

(D.C. Civil No. 85-2725)

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING

Present: GIBBONS, Chief Judge, SEITZ, WEIS, HIGGIN-

BOTHAM, SLOVITER, BECKER, STAPLETON,

MANSMANN, GREENBERG and ALDISERT, Cir-

cuit Judges

The petition for rehearing filed by appellants in the above

entitled case having been submitted to the judges who partici-

pated in the decision of this court and to all the other available

circuit judges of the circuit in reguiar active service, and no

judge who concurred in the decision having asked for rehearing,

and a majority of the circuit judges of the circuit in regular active

service not having voted for rehearing by the court in banc, the

petition for rehearing is denied.

By the Court.

Chief Judge

Dated: July 9, 1987

A-34

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

July 29, 1987

No. 86-3595

ALBERT J. FERENS, ETC., Appellants

vs.

DEERE & COMPANY

Present: GIBBONS Chief Judge, SEITZ and ALDISERT, Cir-

cuit Judges

1. Motion by appellant to recall and stay the mandate.

in the above-entitled case. Any answer which would be due by

August 1, 1987, will be forwarded to you upon receipt of same.

Deputy Clerk Direct Dial 597-3135

ORDER

The foregoing motion by appellant to recall and stay the

mandate is denied. Judge Aldisert would grant the stay for thirty

days but no longer.

By the Court,

Chief Judge

Dated: August 6, 1987

A-35

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF MISSISSIPPI

SOUTHERN DIVISION

HOLLY BUCKLEY and ROBERT BUCK-

LEY, JOHN ROTH and LINDA ROTH,

LINDA K. SMITH, in her own right and as

Executrix of the ESTATE OF OLLIE BUR-

ROWS, deceased, ROSALIND BLOOM and

NATHAN BLOOM, DOROTHY A. REAM-

ER,-in-her own right and as Executrix of

the ESTATE OF WALTER H. REAMER,

deceased, CHARLES D. O'BRIEN and

HELEN D. O'BRIEN, in their own right

and as parents and natural guardians of

JENNIFER C. O'BRIEN, a minor, Ha-

ROLD M. SHULTZ and ELAINE L.

SHULTZ, ROSA LEE WALKER and WIL-

LIAM M. WALKER,

Plaintiffs

v. NO. S86-0361(B)

BABCOCK & WILCOX COMPANY, INC.;

J. RAY MCDERMOTT AND COMPANY, INC.,

Defendants

ORDER

THIS DAY the above styled and numbered cause came on,

on the Defendants Motion to Transfer pursuant to 28 U.S.C (a),

and Plaintiffs Response thereto, and it appearing to the Court

that the fact witnesses are concentrated in or near the Middle

District of Pennsylvania; the likely expert witnesses are concen-

trated in or near the Middle District of Pennsylvania; Plaintiffs

reside in the Middle District of Pennsylvania; the incident

occurred in that District; and that Court has had six years of

experience handling like cases arising out of the same incident;

it is, therefore,

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that Defendants Motion

be and hereby is granted, and this action and those listed on

A-36

Exhibit “A” hereto are transterred to the United States District

Court for the Middle District of Pennsylvania, together with

every action now pending or heretofore commenced in this

District which arises out of the Three Mile Island accident of

March 28, 1979, and in which the Plaintiffs reside in states other

than Mississippi and the Defendants are neither incorporated in

nor have their principal place of business in Mississippi.

THIS COURT, without intending to force any result upon

the transferee forum, wishes to bring to the attention of that

forum the ruling of the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Mississippi in the case of “Milton Gluskin v.

Standard Insulations, Inc., et al,” No. WC83-200-LS-P, North-

ern District of Mississippi, Western Division, transferring said

cause to the Southern District of New York, and would respect-

fully indicate that this Court would be inclined to follow Chief

Judge Senter’s ruling, a copy of which is attached hereto as

Exhibit “B’, with regard to the applicability of the Mississippi

statute of limitations.

THIS COURT, further Orders that the Defendants may

have twenty (20) days from the date this Order is filed with the

Court in the Middle District of Pennsylvania in which to file

their Answer or otherwise plea.

SO ORDERED AND ADJUDGED, this the 7th day of

July, A.D., 1986.

UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE

APPROVED:

Wm. Robert Wilson, Jr.

Attorney for Plaintiffs

MICHAEL J. McELHANEY, JR.

Attorney for Defendants

A-37

EXHIBIT “A”

HOLLY BUCKLEY, et al.

A-35

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF MISSISSIPPI

WESTERN DIVISION

MILTON GLUSKIN,

Plaintiff

v. NO. WCS3-200-LS-P

STANDARD INSULATIONS, INC.,

et al.,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

By order dated December 2, 1983, the court informed the

parties that pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1404(a), it was considering a

transfer of this action to the United States District Court for the

Southern District of New York. The parties have now been

given more than thirty days in which to show cause why this

action should not be so transferred. The court, having consid-

ered the memoranda submitted by the parties,! together with

the pleadings and discovery materials, and being otherwise fully

advised in the premises, is now in a position to determine the

propriety of such a transfer.

28 U.S.C. §1404(a) provides that:

For the convenience of the parties and witnesses, in

the interest of justice, a district court may transfer any civil

action to any other district or division where it might have

been brought.

Under section 1404(a), a district court in which venue is

proper may nevertheless transfer a civil action to any district in

which it might originally have been brought if such a transfer is

for the convenience of the parties and in the interest of justice.

This section reflects a desire to have federal civil actions tried in

the district necessitated by considerations of convenience and

1. Several parties have not filed memoranda with the court but have

indicated that they neither object to nor agree with the proposed transfer.

A-39

justice. Van Dusen v. Barrack, 376 U.S. 612, 616-622, 54 S.Ct.

805, 11 L.Ed.2d 945, 949-953 (1964).

A court's authority to transfer cases under section 1404(a)

does not depend upon the motion or consent of the parties to an

action. Clopay Corp. v. Newell Companies, Inc., 527 F.Supp.

733, 737 (D. Del. 1981). Section 1404(a) empowers a district

court to transfer venue on its own motion. See Lead Indus., Inc.

v. OSHA, 610 F.2d 70, 79 n.17 (2d Cir. 1979); Skil Corp. v.

Millers Falls Co., 541 F.2d 554, 556-57 (6th Cir.), cert. denied,

429 U.S. 1029 (1976); Plum Tree, Inc. v. Stockment, 488 F.2d

754 (3rd Cir. 1973); 1-T-E Circuit Breaker Co. v. Becker, 343

F.2d 361, 363 (Sth Cir. 1965); Swindell-Dressler Corp. v.

Dumbauld, 308 F.2d 267 (3rd Cir. 1962); Clopay Corp. v.

Newell, supra; Nation v. United States, 512 F.Supp. 121, 127

(S.D. Ohio 1981); Riordan v. W. J. Brerer, Inc., 466 F.Supp.

411, 418 (S.D. Ga. 1979). When a court sua sponte considers the

transfer of an action, the parties must be given notice and an

opportunity to be heard. Swindell-Dressler, 308 F.2d at 273-74,

Clopay Corp., 527 F.Supp. at 738. In the action sub judice, the

parties were given notice of the possible transfer of this action on

or about December 2, 1983. Parties were given fifteen days in

which to show cause why this action should not be so trans-

ferred. Several extensions have been given to the parties, and

they have, therefore, been accorded ample opportunity to

develop and explain their positions in regard to the proposed

transfer. Having thus met the requirements imposed by

$1404(a) and the general principles of fairness, this court pos-

sesses full authority to transfer this action if such a transfer is

warranted. See Hite v. Norwegian Caribbean Lines, 551

F.Supp. 390, 393 (E.D. Mich. 1982), (citing Starnes v. Me-

Guire, 512 F.2d 918, 933-34 (D.C. Cir. 1974)); Donald v.

Seamans, 427 F.Supp. 32, 32-33 (E.D. Tenn. 1976); Stanley

Works v. Globemaster Inc., 400 F.Supp. 1325, 1338 (D. Mass.

1975); Monsanto Co. v. United Gas Pipe Line Co., 360 F.Supp.

1054, 1056 (D. DC 1973).

28 U.S.C. §1404(a) presupposes at least two forums in

which the defendant is amenable to process and in which venue

A-40

is proper.? Thus, prior to transfer, the transferor court must

establish that venue is proper in both the transferor and

transferee districts with respect to every defendant and that all

defendants were amenable to process emanating from both

districts at the time the action was initially commended. See Van

Dusen v. Barrack, 376 U.S. at 621-22, 11 L.Ed.2d at 952-53:

Gulf Oil Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501, 57 $.Ct. 839, 91 L. Ed.

1055 (1947), Lamont v. Haig, 590 F.2d 1124, 1131 n.45 (D.C.

1975).

Venue of a diversity action, such as the action sub judice, is

governed by 28 U.S.C. §1391(a). Pursuant to section 139] (a),

venue is proper in any district in which all plaintiffs or all

defendants reside or where the cause of action accrued.? In the

action sub judice, venue is proper in this district, for all

defendants are licensed to do business or are doing business

within the State of Mississippi. Venue is also proper as to the

transferee district because the plaintiff resides and/or the cause

of action accrued in the transferee district.

Additionally a review of the record in this action establishes

that this court possesses in personam jurisdiction over the

defendants to this action. The diversity of citizenship of these

parties will not be affected by the transfer of this action.

Furthermore, all defendants to this action are subject to the in

personam jurisdiction of, and are amendable to process in, the

transferree district. Thus, the prerequisites for a valid transfer

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1404(a) are present in the action sub

judice.

2. A district may be considered a district in which the action “might have

been brought” even though the suit would have been barred by the statute of

limitations of the transferee state, so long as the jurisdictional and venue

requirements are met. Cowan v. Ford Motor Co., 713 F.2d 100, 103 n.4, reh'g

719 F.2d 755 (5th Cir. 1983) (citing Van Dusen v. Barrack, 376 U.S. 612.

621-22, 54 S.Ct. 805, 11 L.Ed.2d 945, 952, 953 (1964).

3. 25 U.S.C. §$1391(c) then provides that: “A corporation may be sued in

any judicial district in which it is incorporated, or licensed to do business. or

is doing business, and such judicial district shall be regarded as the residence

of such corporation for venue purposes.”

A-41

The factors* to be weighted in determining the propriety of

a section 1404(a) transfer were articulated by the United States

Supreme Court in Gulf Oil Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 601, 67

S.Ct. 839, 91 L.Ed. 1055 (1947).5 The key consideration, as set

out in section 1404(a), is the convenience of the parties and

witnesses. Wilmot H. Simonson Co. v. Green Textile Assoc ., 554

F.Supp. 1229, 1234 (N.D. Ill. 1983); Cambridge Filter Corp. v.

International Filter Co., 548 F.Supp. 1308, 1311 (D. Nev.

1982). In addition, the following factors are to be considered: (1)

the relative ease of access to sources of proof; (2) the availability

of process to compel the attendance of witnesses; (3) the cost of

obtaining the presence of willing witnesses; (4) the cost of

transporting counsel and the litigants to the place of trial and

living expenses at trial; (5) the public interest in the expeditious

and inexpensive administration of justice, and (6) the source of

applicable substantive law. See Van Dusen v. Barrack, 376 U.S.

at 645 (1964); Gulf Oil Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. at 508-509;

Cambridge Filter Corp., 548 F.Supp. at 1311; Holvitz v.

Norfleet-Ashley, Inc., 369 F.Supp. 394, 398 (N.D. Miss. 1973);

Schneider v. Sears, 265 F.Supp. 257, 263 (S.D. N.Y. 1967).

Thus, a transfer to another forum “must be shown to be not only

convenient, but also in the interest of justice.” Reyno v. Piper

Aircraft Co., 630 F.2d 149 (3rd Cir. 1980), 450 U.S. 909, rev'd

on other grounds, sub. nom. Hartzell Propeller, Inc. v. Reyno,

4 U.S. 235 (1981), reh’g denied 455 U.S. 928 (1982).

Although a district judge has the authority to transfer an

action to any district in which it “might have been brought,” the

4. When 2 §$1404(a) transfer is initiated by the court on its own motion,

the factors to be considered are identical to those considered in a case where

a party moves for transfer. Clopay Corp. v. Newell Cos., 527 F.Supp. 733,

737-38 (D. Del. 1981).

5. Gilbert involved the common iaw doctrine of forum non conveniens.

The factors involved in a section 1404(a) transfer are the same as those

considered on a motion to dismiss on the grounds ot forum non conveniens.

Section 1404(a) was, however, designed to give the court broader discretion

than that accorded under forum non conveniens and to permit a transfer upon

a lesser showing of inconvenience. Norwood v. Kirkpatrick, 349 U.S. 29, 32,

75 S.Ct. 544, 99 L.Ed. 789, 793 (1954).

A-42

plaintiff's choice of forum is entitled to consideration. Time Inc.

v. Manning, 366 F.2d 690, 698 (5th Cir. 1966). It is well

established that “(t]he plaintiff's choice of forum should not be

disturbed unless it is clearly outweighed by other consider-

ations. Howell v. Tanner, 650 F.2d 610, 615 (5th Cir. 1981),

cert. denied 456 U.S. 918 (1982). This does not mean, however,

that the plaintiff's choice of forum is controlling, for its is merely

a tactor to be considered along with all the other relevant factors.

Garner v. Wolfinbarger, 433 F.2d 117, 119 (5th Cir. 1970);

Libby v. Russell, 349 F.Supp. 573 (N.D. Miss. 1972); see also

Rockwell International Corp. v. Eltra Corp., 538 F.Supp. 700

(N.D. Ill. 1982). Additionally, where the operative facts of a case

have little or no material connection with the forum state, the

plaintiff's choice of forum is entitled to less weight than is

ordinarily the case. See Derry Finance N.V. v. Christiana

Companies, Inc., 555 F.Supp. 1043, 1045 (D. Del. 1983);

Cambridge Filter Corp. v. International Filter Company, Inc..,

548 F.Supp. 1308, 1311 (D. Nev. 1982); Clopay Corp. v. Newell

Companies, Inc., 527 F.Supp. 733, 737-38 (D. Del. 1981); Coats

Company, Inc. v. Vulcan Equipment Co., 459 F.Supp. 654

(N.D. Ill. 1978), Credit Alliance Corp. v. Nationwide Mutual

Insurance Co., 433 F.Supp. 688, 689 (S.D. N.Y. 1977)

An examination of the pleadings and discovery materials on

file before the court reveals that a transfer of this action is

warranted. The plaintiff does not reside in this state nor does

plaintiff's lead counsel reside in Mississippi. Plaintiff Milton

Gluskin is a resident of Bellrose, New York, and this cause of

action arose in the State of New York. Few, if any, of the expert

or fact witnesses reside in Mississippi, and virtually all of the

plaintiff's employment and medical records are located outside

of this state. Additionally, plaintiff does not appear to have been

employed by a Mississippi company and worked very little, if

any, within this state. Furthermore, none of the defendants are

incorporated in or have their principle place of business in

Mississippi.

In summary, the relationship of the present forum to the

totality of the controversy involved in this lawsuit is so minimal

that it does not justify retention of the case in the Northern

A-43

District of Mississippi. Thus, the convenience of plaintiff,

defendants, and their witnesses and the interests of justice

would be served by a transfer of this action.

Mississippi has been subject to a deluge of asbestosis cases

in the past few years. The Southern District of Mississippi has

now become backlogged with such cases, filings now numbering

1,167. As a result, plaintiffs have now begun filing their actions

in the Northern District of Mississippi although these actions

have little or no connection with this district. Although venue

and jurisdiction are proper as to these actions, this court refuses

to become a dumping ground for such litigation. We are of the

opinion that a transfer of actions having little or no connection

with this district will more equitably disperse the burden of this

type of litigation.

The main concern voiced by the plaintitf relates to the

question of the effect of such a transfer on the statute of

limitations applicable to this action.® It is well established that

upon a transfer of an action pursuant to section 1404(a), the

transferee court must xct as would the transferor court.”? The

transferee court must apply the choice-of-law rules of the

transferor court. Thus, upon a transfer of this action, the

transferee court must follow the choice-of-law rules of Missis-

sippi. This choice will include the decision as to whether this

action is governed by the Mississippi statute of limitations.

_Cowan v. Ford Motor Co., 713 F.2d 100, 103 fn 6 (5th Cir.

1982), reh’g 719 F.2d 785 (5th Cir. 1983) (citing Van Dusen v.

Barrack, supra); New England Merchants National Bank v.

6. The statute of limitations issue is also of great concern to this court. In

fact, the court has informed those parties who have inquired regarding the

applicable statute of limitations that a transfer of this action would not occur if

it were found that plaintiff's action would be barred by the application of the

statute of limitations of the transferee forum. As a result, the court has

determined that a ruling on the question of the applicable statute of limitations

is appropriate prior to a transfer of this action.

7. The application of the law of the transferor forum is not affected by the

fact that the action was transferred on the court's own motion. Roofing & Sheet

Metal Service v. LaQuinta Motor Inns. 689 F.2d 982 (11th Cir. 1982), Martin

tv. Stokes, 623 F.2d 496 (6th Cir. 1980), Bott v. American Hydrocarbon Corp..,

$41 F.2d 896 (5th Cir. 197]

A-44

Rosenfeld, 679 F.2d 467 (5th Cir. 1982); Roofing & Sheet Metal

Service v. LaQuinta Motor Inns. 689 F.2d 982 (11th Cir. 1982);

Walker Corp. v. Burger Chef Systems, 554 F.2d 1165 (D.C.

1977); Farham v. Edwards, 470 F.2d 1000 (5th Cir. 1973);

Railing v. United Mine Workers of America, 429 F.2d 780 (4th

Cir. 1970); Carr v. American Universal Insurance Co., 341 F.2d

220 (6th Cir. 1965); H. L. Creen Company v. MacMahon, 312

F.2d 650 (2nd Cir. 1962); Headrick v. Atchison T & § Railroad,

182 F.2d 305 (10th Cir. 1950).

“As a rule, Mississippi treats statutes of limitation as

procedural, and in keeping with the accepted practice of apply-

ing procedural rules of the forum state irrespective of the choice

of substantive law, the state courts generally enforce Missis-

sippi s limitation periods and not those of foreign jurisdictions.”

Cummings v. Cowan, 390 F.Supp. 1251, 1254 (N.D. Miss.

1975). See also Kenshaw v. Sterling Drug, Inc., 415 F.2d 1009

(5th Cir. 1969); Steele v. G. D. Searle & Co., 422 F.Supp. 560

(S.D. Miss. 1976), reh’g granted 428 F.Supp. 646 (S.D. Miss.

1977). Accordingly, in Mississippi courts will normally apply the

lex fori insofar is it relates to the Mississippi statute of limita-

tions. See Steele, supra; Bethlehem Steel Co. v. Payne, 183

So.2d 912, 916 (Miss. 1966). Thus in the action sub judice, upon

transfer, the Mississippi statute of limitations will govern the

rights of the parties.* See Schreiber v. Allis-Chalmers Corp..,

611 F.2d 790, 794 (10th Cir. 1979) (the Mississippi statute of

limitations governed the rights of the parties in an action trans-

ferrred from Mississippi to Kansas). The rights of the parties to this

action will, therefore, be unaffected by a transfer of this action. The

court thus finds that a transfer of this cause is warranted.

An order in conformity with this opinion shall issue.

This 15th day of March, 1984.

CHIEF JUDGE

8. The statute of limitations applicable to this action is not affected by the

Mississippi Borrowing Statute, MISS CODE ANN. §15-1-65. See Cowan v.

Ford Motor Co., 694 F.2d 104 (5th Cir. 1982), reh’g en banc 713 F.2d 100,

reh’g 719 F.2d 785 (5th Cir. 1983).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.