Jurisdictional Statement — Tobin Landscape & Construction Co. v. Bramlett

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

86-691)

_ $upreme Court, U.S.

‘ = om Oct 14 1986

Supreme Court of the Uni ted States"

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

No.

TOBIN LANDSCAPE AND CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, INC.,

Appellant,

Vv.

JAMES BRAMLETT,

Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Law OFFICES OF JOE B. ABBEY

3110 Olympia and York Tower

1999 Bryan Street

Dallas, Texas 75201

(214) 922-9245

By:

y Joe B. Abbey

Bar No. 00789

Counsel for Appellant

October 3, 1986

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. article 5069 — 1.06 is viola-

tive of the Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment of the

Constitution of the United States and the Equal Protection

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment of the Constitution of the

United States when applied to impose an excessive penalty for an

alleged charge of interest made within the first thirty days after

the accrual of a debt, where said charge was the result of inadver-

tence and was not even made until after the actual claim for the

debt plus interest had been set forth in litigation.

a, | ee eS) ae ee On) «J

sia | rene es Se Pe 5

a ae

INDEX

PAGE

ee se eces wi bededwassiv'’ i

ee Ls uae Vk danas A a ace 4 l

ee ay GAG Sc aihin wale a ee oa 08s l

Constitutional provisions and Rules .................. 3

PE I GOONER, ccc cece eeenees 3

OTT PEL TET E TET s

Ee Teen ee

ks ick eked ees sax dedawes's 8

A ATR a a 1]

li

CITATIONS

PAGE

Cases:

Coats v. City of Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611 (1971) ...... 6

Helwig v. United States, 188 U.S. 605 (1903) ......... 5

St. Louis Iron Mountain & Southern Ry. Co. v.

Pama, Boot Wi. GP CABTSD 5. wc ce wcccdcccs saves 6

United States v. National Dairy Products Corp., 372

re I a do te i a ia 3 6

Constitutions and Statutes:

ULB Gas I Boe och cou bes sk Sl 3

CFI, Greer s I UE once psc caus kdecdasabous 5

Se es ML I bok kv ce ba eat vas een be adea 3

TEX. REV. CIV. STAT. ANN. Article 5069 — 1.06...i & 3

iii

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinions of the Supreme Court of Texas, which appear in

the appendix hereto, p. 12 and 13, infra, are not officially

reported.

The opinion of the Texas Court of Appeals, Sth Supreme

Judicial District is dated March 28, 1986. It is reprinted in the

appendix hereto, p. 14 infra.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Supreme Court of Texas, denying its

application for writ of error, no reversible error, was entered on

June 18, 1986. See p. 12, infra. A motion for rehearing was

entertained and denied on July 16, 1986. See p. 13, infra.

A notice of appeal to this Court was duly filed in the Supreme

Court of Texas on August 1, 1986. See p. 21, infra. A supple-

mentary notice of appeal to this Court was also filed with the

Texas Court of Appeals, Sth Supreme Judicial District, Dallas,

Texas, on July 30, 1986, as that court was in possession of the

record of this case. See p. 25, infra.

This appeal is being docketed in this Court within 90 days

from the denial of rehearing below. The jurisdiction of this

Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. Section 1257(2).

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

No.

ToRIN LANDSCAPE AND CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, INC.,

Appellant,

Vv.

JAMES BRAMLETT,

Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Tobin Landscape and Constructicn Company, Inc., the appel-

lant, appeals from the final judgment of the Supreme Court of

Texas, denying its Motion for Rehearing, dated July 16, 1986,

and sustaining its refusal of application for writ of error, no

reversible error, dated June 18, 1986. Said judgment of the

Supreme Court of Texas upheld the judgment of the Texas

Court of Appeals, 5th Supreme Judicial District, holding that

TEX. REV. CIV. STAT. ANN. article 5069 — 1.06 (Vernon

Supp. 1986) is constitutional under both the Fifth and Four-

teenth Amendments to the United States Constitution and Arti-

cle, {, Sections 13 and 19 of the Texas Constitution. 28 U.S.C.

Section 2403(b) may be applicable.

a

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATE LAW

FIFTH AMENDMENT, UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION:

No person shall ... be deprived of life, liberty, or prop-

erty, without due process of law...

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT, UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTION:

No State shall ... deprive any person of life, liberty, or

property without due process of law, nor deny to any person

within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

TEX. REV. CIV. STAT. ANN. Article 5069 — 1.06:

(1) Any person who contracts for, charges or receives

interest, which is greater than the amount authorized by

this Subtitle, shall forfeit to the obligor three times the

amount of usurious interest contracted for, changed or

received, such usurious interest being the amount the total

interest contracted for, charged, or received exceeds the

amount of interest allowed by law, and reasonable attorney

fees fixed by the court except that in no event shall the

amount forfeited be less than Two Thousand Dollars or

twenty percent of the principal, whichever is the smaller

sum; provided, that there shall be no penalty for any usuri-

ous interest which results from accidental and bona fide

error.

RAISING THE FEDERAL QUESTION

At the earliest available stage of this litigation, the appellant

raised the constitutional claim after having been found guilty of

charging usurious interest. The claim was raised in the appel-

lant’s Brief to the Texas Court of Appeals. The Texas Court of

Appeals noted appellant’s contention that “article 5069 — 1.06

is unconstitutional and violative of the United States Constitu-

tion and stated “[w]e disagree and hold that article 5069 — 1.06

is within constitutional constraints.” p. 17, infra.

The claims of unconstitutionality were reiterated by appellant

before the Supreme Court of Texas in its application for writ of

error. p.'27, infra. The Supreme Court of Texas refused the writ

3

——— e—VOveemmEmr—r—r_r_—aSeoee

of error, no reversible error and, subsequently, rejected appel-

lant’s motion for rehearing. See opinions below, p. 12 and 13,

infra. It thus considered and rejected these federal constitutional

claims.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This litigation was originally instituted by the appellant as a

suit on sworn account brought against the appellee for materials

furnished and services rendered in the amount of $6,241.75. The

appellee filed a counterclaim in the trial court, alleging usury

because there was a $93.00 charge on a statement within the

first thirty days after the work was performed. The $93.00

charge was contained in a statement which was sent to the

appellee after suit had been filed by the appellant. Judgment was

entered awarding the appellee the sum of $1,248.00 representing

20% of the claimed principal debt together with attorney’s fees

of $1,600.00 and costs of court plus interest. Also, as a further

penalty imposed by the usury statute, the appellant was denied

all recovery on its claim and thus forfeited its principal debt.

The relevant facts that led to the suit and counterclaim may

be summarized as follows:

(1) The appellant is engaged in the business of landscap-

ing made a proposal to the appellee for the preparation of

certain plant beds, the relocation of some shade trees and

the planting of shrubs, ground cover and ornamental trees.

The appellee received regular reports about the work being

done and, at one point, requested additional plants to be

installed on his property.

(2) When the work was completed, the appellant hand-

delivered a statement to the appellee. Despite the fact that

the appellee admitted that the quality of the work was up to

the standard agreed upon and was worth the money

charged, he refused to pay and later said he was not happy

with the work.

~

(3) The appellant forwarded a demand letter to the

appellee and, when the account remained unpaid, employed

an attorney and sent a second demand letter. Ultimately,

the appellant filed suit on June 9, 1985, which the appellee

answered by a general denial. On August 25, 1985, subse-

quent to the filing and answering of the lawsuit, a secretary

and billing clerk in the appellant’s office prepared and

mailed an invoice to the appellee. The invoice restated the

charges for the work done with one exception. It also set out

a fee which the clerk erroneously denominated “finance

charges.” The trial court later held these “finance charges”

to constitute “interest” as that term is defined in the Texas

usury statute in question here. The appellant was found to

have charged “interest” within the first 30 days after

accrual of the debt, thus making the charge usurious under

the Texas statute. As a result of this inadvertent charge, the

Appellant was subjected to the following penalties: (a) for-

feiture of the entire account, (b) a penalty equivalent to

20% to the account which is payable to the appellee and (c)

attorney’s fees. In this case, the total amounts to a penalty

of approximately 10,000%.

.

THE QUESTION IS SUBSTANTIAL

The question as to the constitutional implications of excessive

penalties has been treated before in various contexts by this

Court. With respect to civil and criminal penalties imposed by

state usury statutes, the questions of due process and equal pro-

tection under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments are sub-

stantial ones that should be examined.

This Court has recognized that penal statutes, must meet con-

stitutional due process requirements. Helwig v. United States,

188 U.S. 605 (1903); U.S. Const. amend. VIII. The Texas usury

statute has been unequivocally declared by Texas courts to be

penal in nature. Thus, Article 5069 — 1.06 must be judged by

5

ee ee eee hee — a —— a eS ae lee ee eee eee ee

ery = ld al 2ST = =

”

the same standards as any penal or criminal statute as it pro-

vides for forfeiture of principle, tremendous damages and even

conviction for misdemeanor.

Due process requires that a statute be clear and certain in its

language. Article 5069 — 1.06 is unconstitutionally vague as it

provides no clear language to put the appellant or anyone else on

notice of precisely what is required of him or prohibited to him.

By a reading of Article 5069 — 1.06, no reasonable person could

tell that any mere charge of interest within the first 30 days after

accrual of a debt would call down on his head such onerous and

instant penalties. The person sought to be charged under a penal

statute such as the one brought into question here must be made

aware of the full consequences of a violation of the statute and

that his contemplated conduct is proscribed. United States v.

National Dairy Products Corp., 372 U.S. 29 (1963); Coats v.

City of Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611 (1971).

This Court has also recognized that penalties imposed by stat-

ute can be so severe and oppressive as to be wholly dispropor-

tional to the offense and, hence, obviously unreasonable. Sz.

Louis Iron Mountain & Southern Ry. Co. v. Williams, 251 US.

63 (1919). In this case, the Texas legislature has imposed a

penalty of 10,000% on the appellant for charging interest in the

first month after the appellee’s debt accrued. The penalty

imposed by the statute is actually the unforeseen result of a

series of amendments to the original Texas usury statute and

was not purposefully designed to eradicate what it here seeks to

prohibit, namely, that charge of “interest” for those first fateful

30 days.

The appellant was never accused of any wrongdoing or decep-

tion in this case. It performed its work, furnished the materials

needed and completed the job. For its work and materials, as a

result of the application of the statute in question, the appellant

received nothing. The appellee, on the other hand, now enjoys

the benefit of his contract without having paid anything at all

6

for it. The Supreme Court of Texas, confronted with the consti-

tutional challenge and the Court of Appeals’ validation of Arti-

cle 5069 — 1.06, brushed aside the appellant’s challenge without

comment.

Texas has imposed on the appellant and all those who charge

or receive any form of “interest” in this State, a tremendous

burden and terrible, excessive penalties — penalties that extend

far beyond the offense originally sought to be prohibited and

which are of themselves, unconscionable. The appellant has been

denied its Constitutional rights to due process and equal protec-

tion of law.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, this Court should note probable jurisdiction

of this appeal.

Respectfully submitted,

Law OFFICES OF JOE B. ABBEY

3110 Olympia and York Tower

1999 Bryan Street

Dallas, Texas 75201

(214) 922-9245

By:

Bar No. 007

Counsel for Appellant

October 3, 1986.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Jurisdic-

tional Statement was placed in the United States Mail addressed

to the Clerk of the United States Supreme Court of the United

States, Washington, D.C. 20543 and the attorney of record,

Robert C. Elder, Canterbury, Stuber, Elder & Gooch, 5550 LBJ

Freeway, Suite 800, Dallas, Texas 75204 and the Attorney Gen-

eral for the State of Texas at P.O. Box 12548, Austin, Texas

78711 on this the 23rd day of October, 1986.

J A

ma, B. bby

Counsel fof Appellant

a

STATE OF TEXAS Pee

COUNTY OF DALLAS

Before me, the undersigned authority on this day personally

appeared Joe B. Abbey, who after being duly sworn, declared

that he is the person who executed the foregoing instrumert in

the capacity therein stated and that the statements therein are

true and correct.

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME, this 23rd

day of October, 1986.

mm and for the

State of Texas

Sim Ettm

Print, Type or Stamp Name

My Commission Expires:

A- AN-FO

10

APPENDIX

1]

+

SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

P.O. Box 12248

Supreme Court Building

Austin, Texas 78711

Mary M. Wakefield, Clerk

June 18, 1986

Mr. Joe Abbey

3110 Olympia & York Tower

1999 Bryan Street

Dallas, TX 75201

Mr. David Surratt

Canterbury, Stuber, Elder & Gooch

5550 LBJ Freeway, Suite 800

Dallas, TX 75240

RE: Case No. C-5297

STYLE: Tosin LANDSCAPE AND CONSTRUCTION Co., INC.

v. JAMES BRAMLETT

Dear Counsel:

Today, the Supreme Court of Texas refused the above refer-

enced application for writ of error with the notation, No Revers-

ible Error.

Respectfully yours,

Mary M. Wakefield,

Clerk

Blanca E. Morin

Deputy

12

SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

P.O. Box 12248

Supreme Court Building

Austin, Texas 78711

Mary M. Wakefield, Clerk

July 16, 1986

Mr. Joe Abbey

3110 Olympia & York Tower

1999 Bryan Street

Dallas, TX 75201

Mr. David Surratt

Canterbury, Stuber, Elder & Gooch

5550 LBJ Freeway, Suite 800

Dallas, TX 75240

RE: Case No. C-5297

STYLE: TosBin LANDSCAPE AND CONSTRUCTION Co., INC.

v. JAMES BRAMLETT

Dear Counsel:

Today, the Supreme Court of Texas overruled petitioner’s

motion for rehearing of the application for writ of error in the

above styled case.

Respectfully yours,

Mary M. Wakefield,

Clerk

Blanca E. Morin

Deputy

13

4

a

eras

Aad

ae

e

Ie

Court of Appeals

Fifth District of Texas at Ballas

No. 05-85-00612-CV

TOBIN LANDSCAPE AND CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, INC.,

Appellant,

Vv.

JAMES BRAMLETT,

Appellee.

JUDGMENT

This Court’s judgment of February 19, 1986, is WITH-

DRAWN and this judgment is issued in its place.

In accordance with this Court’s opinion of March 28, 1986,

the judgment of the trial court is AFFIRMED. It is ORDERED

that appellee James Bramlett recover his costs of this appeal

from appellant Tobin Landscape and Construction Co., Inc. and

Lawyers Surety Corporation, as surety on appellant’s appeal

bond.

March 28, 1986.

JOHN L. McCraw, Jr.

Justice

14

Court of Appeals

Fifth District of Texas at Ballas

No. 05-85-00612-CV

ToBIn LANDSCAPE AND CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, INC.,

Appellant,

Vv.

JAMES BRAMLETT,

Appellee.

FROM A DISTRICT COURT OF DALLAS COUNTY,

TEXAS

BEFORE JUSTICES STEPHENS, MCCLUNG AND

MCCRAW

OPINION BY JUSTICE MCCRAW

MARCH 28, 1986

This Court’s opinion of February 19, 1986 is withdrawn and

this opinion is substituted as the option of this Court.

Tobin Landscape and Construction Co., Inc. sued James

Bramlett on a sworn account for landscape development com-

pleted on Bramiett’s property. Bramlett filed a counterclaim

alleging the charging of usurious interest by Tobin. The trial

court granted Bramlett a directed verdict and found that Tobin

had charged usurious interest, from which judgment Tobin now

appeals.

The parties failed to request findings of fact and conclusions

of law or to submit a statement of facts. Therefore, this decision

is rendered on the basis of the submitted transcript, pleadings

and the judgment entered by the trial court, Dorman v. Cook,

262 S.W.2d 744, 746 (Tex. Civ. App. — Beaumont 1952, writ

dism’d), and upon the undisputed facts contained in the parties’

15

iain

briefs. Finnigan v. Blanco County, 670 S.W.2d 313, 318 (Tex.

App. — Austin 1984, no writ) (on rehearing).

Under an agreed contract, Tobin performed landscaping for

Bramlett’s property. Tobin installed and moved numerous

shrubs and then submitted an invoice to Bramlett for $6,241.75

for the work completed. Bramlett failed to pay and Tobin filed

suit. Bramlett, in his answer, claimed that Tobin performed

unauthorized additional work, and Bramlett disputed the

invoice. Further, Bramiett stated that the work was not per-

formed in a good and workmanlike manner.

On August 24, 1984, after the litigation had begun, Tobin

sent Bramlett a second landscape invoice with three additional

items designated as “Finance Charges” for June, July, and

August. Bramlett then filed a counterclaim alleging that the

additional charges were usurious and in violation of the “Texas

Credit Code.” After Tobin presented his case, Bramlett moved

for a directed verdict, which was granted.

In his twelve points of error, Tobin contends that: (1-8) the

provisions of TEX. REV. CIV. STAT. ANN. article 5069-1.06,

(Vernon Supp. 1986), violate both the fifth and fourteenth

amendments of the United States Constitution and article I, sec-

tions 13 and 19 of the Texas Constitution; (9-11) the provisions

of article 5069-1.06 are contrary to public policy and fail to

accomplish their given purpose; and (12) the trial court erred in

finding the later issued statement usurious. For the following

reasons, we overrule each point of error and affirm the judgment

of the trial court.

Tobin contends in his first eight points of error that TEX.

REV. CIV. STAT. ANN. article 5069-1.06 is unconstitutional

and violative of the United States Constitution and the Texas

Constitution. We disagree and hold that article 5069 - 1.06 is

within constitutional constraints.

16

a

Article 5069 - 1.06 provides:

(1) Any person who contracts for, charges or receives inter-

est which is greater than the amount authorized by this

Subtitle, shall forfeit to the obligor three times the amount

of usurious interest contracted for, charged or received,

such usurious interest being the amount the total interest

contracted for, charged, or received exceeds the amount of

interest allowed by law, and reasonable attorney fees fixed

by the court except that in no event shall the amount

forfeited be less than Two Thousand Dollars or twenty

percent of the principal, whichever is the smaller sum; pro-

vided, that there shall be no penalty for any usurious inter-

est which results from an accidental and bona fide error.

The purpose of the usury statutes is to prohibit usury under any

cover or pretext whatever. F.B. & D., Inc. v. Nathan Alterman

Electric Co., 394 S.W. 2d 821, 823 (Tex. Civ. App. — San

Antonio 1954, writ ref’d n.r.e.). While arguably the punitive

results of article 5069 - 1.06 are severe, the penalties are legisla-

tively designed to accomplish designated objectives and will not

be found unconstitutionally excessive except in extraordinary

cases where the fine is such that it “shocks the sense of man-

kind.” State v. Laredo Co., 96 Tex. 461, 467, 73 S.W. 951, 953

(1903). We hold that the penalty rendered herein is not of an

unconstitutional magnitude, thereby carrying out the intended

legislative purpose, of deterring the charge of usurious interest.

Further, with respect to constitutional due process, the states

may exercise great discretion in assessing fines; their actions are

only limited when the penalty assessed is so disproportional to

the offense as to be unreasonable. Pennington v. State, 606

S.W.2d 682, 690 (Tex. 1980). The legislature’s treatment of

usury makes it clear that the charging of excessive interest is a

very serious matter and that the consumer will be protected from

vendors who choose to engage in this abusive and deceptive prac-

tice. Thus, a stringent penalty, as was applied in this case, is

reasonable and bears a rational relationship to the seriousness of

Tobin’s act.

17

Tobin was penalized 20% of the principal, plus reasonable

and necessary attorney’s fees. This amount is well within the

statutory guidelines and thus not disproportional to prescribed

penalties established by the legislature. Therefore, the usury

statute is not violative of Tobin’s constitutional rights. Points of

error one through eight are overruled.

In points of error nine through eleven, Tobin contends that

article 5069- 1.06 is contrary to public policy and fails to

accomplish the purposes for which it was established. We

disagree.

The penal provisions of article 5069 - 1.06 demand that the

“charges” made be statutorily permissive. Consumers can

thereby rely upon the protection offered by the statute when

confronted by the usurious acts of vendors. The usury provisions

are not designed to compensate consumers for actual damages.

Instead they were designed to deter violators and to encourage

enforcement of the statutes by private litigants, thereby placing

the cost of violation on the perpetrators. Anguiano v. Jim Walter

Homes, Inc., 561 S.W.2d 249, 254 (Tex. Civ. App. — San

Antonio 1978, writ ref'd n.r.e.). Clearly, such a policy does not

harm the formation of good faith contracts but instead promotes

valid business dealings through party awareness and acceptance

of required responsibilities. Points of error nine through eleven

are overruled.

Finally, in point of error twelve, Tobin asserts that the trial

court erred in finding that the second invoice contained a usuri-

ous charge and was not merely a miscalculation of interest.

Although we recognize that the defenses of accidental and bona

fide error provide exceptions to the penalties under the usury

statute, article 5069 - 1.06, Tyra v. Carroll Construction Com-

pany, 639 S.W.2d 690, 691 (Tex. 1982), the lack of a statement

of facts makes a review of the evidence regarding these defenses

impossible. In a situation where a statement of facts is not sub-

mitted, it is presumed that there is sufficient evidence to support

the judgment of the trial court. Cowling v. Colligan, 112

S.W.2d 943, 946 (Tex. 1958); Simon v. Watson, 525 S.W.2d

18

Alergy 2 ssi deni ae shail.

hens aT Partie fine + fete Tes Shi oink pegites:

oy [ca lamerieodtiy A eet hie saa ietiegy: phautste a

oe iL : jee rae : = v mee =

a «eg i ell RET SE Set” aad eee Eprints

op ere 4 % . A PA nie

7 . i ae “} ve rr fa «3 ‘A 7 i ) 7

“Rg ets whee wis Corea Spares er Ae ae wre Wee 2 Sryrtis .

—

hs i

i» i, * om oT ba * = d : oa)

“Cae i if > atm ie =.) ce bs pages aD. Te |;

Eo

) 7 ; : . é i or — P a © aos atte 2 - - 5

eae M0 PON UROTEA WT Rs Sere eo fina Ei

fRie* al i a ieee) | Sl fee i a a VA og Vig &

*,

oe #i; S049 es a iy =| 1 ei Sere SA TET IIA ¢

J 1 eee arpa

= i t -

» — bec. nT wf Tyee ea « a3

ou 4 "

+s a

te h : . i? "th Ce ‘2

a eo -

Ss < Sox) + af Oe yf

J =f

ca : j ar j = fs kee ae

ee ;

; 4 + “yy *

Pa ‘ ie

et ‘Pas : ‘ | evr Lae

7 ‘i. FP ' e rips =

ey ‘ .

i 4 ht “%

; ; es

a | aa

+ i

i | + "4 at :

fs2 , a 7 4

4 mn Saeed ght ¢

m J * ; ‘a

1.

= phe - Sper oe panemyee —!

‘ r

‘ ri ¢

i} . - ? \4eude be PE Pal o. pt ’ »

a i ‘a * i ~ u “4 c |

; a } ue rh er

x

Yea : ; . kaos

J - *

(

; c } bate | j =i 4

“a H 7 .% > fe

ae : bi 7 rahe : =

1 : a ; 2 4 os

Sa =

fj .

A Fe : . ) é af 7

i * hee \ =

es

i

»

ve

i

210, 213 (Tex. Civ. App. — Dallas 1975, writ dism’d). Appel-

lant’s twelfth point of error must, therefore, be overruled and the

judgment of the trial court affirmed.

John L. McCraw, Jr.

Justice

PUBLISH

19

= cia a i

é iM 7 > ae ’ - |

ii vi . | - oe

eae ae ~~ soem nee i, 3

Pay? a) nee

aes Se a > “4 as ;

out ae ge? ; j <a ‘ ae ‘

. ae

- at .

he fe ue Gre.

LIONS Me pT AL OTH tz

; ad por =

Tae

’

:

- ; N at ;

* .

[23 “

| ,

#

- ;

. 2 !

\ i

a4

a

r

*

vt

/

,.

é

~-

. 53 a :

= - “ ; =

_— iw Op . Aim * TZ on

cae ~f ii oe

” Ors

Court of Appeals

Fitth District of Texas at Ballas

Ballas County Courthouse

Ballas, Texas 75202-1658

MARCH 28, 1986

CHIEF JUSTICE

CLARENCE A. GUITTARD

JUSTICES

TED M. AKIN CHARLES BEN HOWELL

BILL J. STEPHENS Pat MCCLUNG

JOHN C. VANCE JOHN L. McCraw, Jr.

WARREN WHITHAM ROLLAND T. SCALES

PaTRICK C. GUILLOT ANNETTE STEWART

JOSEPH A. DEVANY CYNTHIA HOLLINGSWORTH

ROBERT C. ELDER, JR.

DAVID SURRATT

CANTERBURY, STUBER, ELDER & GOOCH

5550 LBJ Freeway, Suite 800, Dallas, Texas 75240

JoE B. ABBEY

Law OFFICES OF JOE B. ABBEY

3110 Olympia and York Tower

1999 Bryan Street, Dallas, Texas 75201

Re: 05-85-00612-CV, ToBin LANDSCAPE AND CONSTRUCTION

Co., INC. v. JAMES BRAMLETT.

Counsel:

Please be advised that the Court has decided to publish the

opinion in the above cause handed down on February 19, 1986.

Kenneth P. Stripling, Clerk

(214) 749-0302

Judy Gross, Deputy

jg

Enclosure

ce: Judge John McClellan Marshall 14th Judicial District Court

20

et

+

By

IN THE

Supreme Court of the

State of Texas

No. C 5297

(Court of Appeals)

No. 05-85-00612-CV

ToBIN LANDSCAPING CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, INC.,

Appellant,

Vv.

JAMES BRAMLETT,

Appellee.

NOTICE OF APPEAL TO THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES

Notice is hereby given that Tobin Landscaping Construction

Company, Inc., the Appellant above-named, hereby appeals to

the Supreme Court of the United States from the final judgment

of the Supreme Court of the State of Texas, overruling Appel-

lant’s Motion for Rehearing of its refusal of the Application for

Writ of Error in this action on July 16, 1986.

This appeal is taken pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Section 1257(2).

Respectfully submitted,

LAw OFFICES OF JOE B. ABBEY

3110 Olympia and York Tower

1999 Bryan Street

Dallas, Texas 75201

(214) 992-9245

Jor B. ABBEY

Bar No. 00789000

21

sitll

IN THE

Supreme Court of the

State of Texas

No. C 5297

(Court of Appeals)

No. 05-85-00612-CV

ToBin LANDSCAPING CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, INC.,

Appellant,

ws

JAMES BRAMLETT,

Appellee.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Notice of

Appeal to the Supreme Court of the United States was placed in

the United States Mail addressed to attorney of record, Robert

C. Elder, Jr. Canterbury, Stuber, Elder & Gooch, 5550 LBJ

Freeway, Suite 800, Dallas, Texas 75240, on this the 29th day of

July, 1986.

Joe B. ABBEY

22

IN THE

Supreme Court of the

State of Cexas

No. C 5297

(Court of Appeals)

No. 05-85-00612-CV

ToBIN LANDSCAPING CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, INC.,

Appellant,

Vv.

JAMES BRAMLETT,

Appellee.

VERIFICATION OF SERVICE

STATE OF TEXAS 9s.:

COUNTY OF DALLAS ;

I hereby swear and certify that I have served a copy of Appel-

lant’s Notice of Appeal to the Supreme Court of ‘he United

States on Robert C. Elder, Jr., Canterbury, Stuber Elder &

Gooch, 5550 LBJ Freeway, Suite 800, Dallas, Texas 75240,

Counsel for Appellee, by depositing a copy of the same in a mail

box with first class postage prepaid on the 29th day of July,

1986. I further swear and certify that all parties required to be

served have been served.

Joe B. ABBEY

Before me, the undersigned Notary Public, on this day per-

sonally appeared Joe B. Abbey, who being by me duly sworn on

his oath deposed and said that he is the attorney for Appellant in

the above-entitled and numbered cause; that he has read the

23

Verification of Service and that every statement contained

therein is within his personal knowledge and are true and

correct.

Jor B. ABBEY

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME, on the

Sth day of August, 1986, to certify which witness my hand and

official seal.

Kim Jetton

Notary Public in and for

Dallas County, Texas

My Commission Expires: 4-24-90

Mary M. Wakefield,

Clerk

24

——< - |.

Ct en

IN THE

Supreme Court of the

State of Texas

No. C 5297

(Court of Appeals)

No. 05-85-00612-CV

ToBIN LANDSCAPING CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, INC.,

Appellant,

Vv.

JAMES BRAMLETT,

} Appellee.

NOTICE OF APPEAL TO THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES

Notice is hereby given that Tobin Landscaping Construction

Company, Inc., the Appellant above-named, hereby appeals to

the Supreme Court of the United States from the final judgment

of the Supreme Court of the State of Texas, overruling Appel-

lant’s Motion for Rehearing of its refusal of the Application for

Writ of Error in this action on July 16, 1986.

This appeal is taken pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Section 1257(2).

Respectfully submitted,

Law OFFICES OF JOE B. ABBEY

3110 Olympia and York Tower

1999 Bryan Street

Dallas, Texas 75201

(214) 992-9245

Joe B. ABBEY

Bar No. 00789000

Kenneth P. Stripiing,

Clerk, 5th District

25

IN THE

Supreme Court of the

State of Texas

No. C 5297

(Court of Appeals)

No. 05-85-00612-CV

ToBIN LANDSCAPING CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, INC.,

Appellant,

v.

JAMES BRAMLETT,

Appellee.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Notice of

Appeal to the Supreme Court of the United States was placed in

the United States Mail addressed to attorney of record, Robert

C. Elder, Jr. Canterbury, Stuber, Elder & Gooch, 5550 LBJ

Freeway, Suite 800, Dallas, Texas 75240, on this the 29th day of

July, 1986.

Joe B. ABBEY

26

+a

= ae

}

¢ u |

| 7

7

of

| ag

we)

| :

| Z

| i “= Mi

i

* |

‘ig |

. 1s

_ | —i

abe |

Bee ; |

? .

x

f

IN THE

Supreme Court of Cexas

No.

ToBIN LANDSCAPE AND CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, INC.,

Petitioner,

Vv.

JAMES BRAMLETT,

Respondent.

PETITIONER’S APPLICATION FOR WRIT OF ERROR

Law OFFICES OF JOE B. ABBEY

3110 Olympia and York Tower

1999 Bryan Street

Dallas, Texas 75201

(214) 922-9245

By: Joe B. Abbey

Bar No. 00789000

Attorney for Petitioner

27

SUBJECT INDEX

LIST OF NAMES OF PARTIES ..................

Boye Fs fl PPT Ere eer ere

STATEMENT OF THE NATURE OF THE CASE ..

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ...............

et SARE ree

FA I oo eis eek ceeds ceca eka

BRIEF OF THR ARWUMEINE 2.0... 0. cece cece

POINT OF ORDER ONE RESTATED:

THE JUDGMENT OF THE COURT OF AP-

PEALS IS INCORRECT BECAUSE THE DAM-

AGE PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069-1.06

V.A.T.S. CANNOT BE CONSTITUTIONALLY

APPLIED.

POINT OF ERROR TWO RESTATED:

THE PENAL AND CRIMINAL PROVISIONS

OF ARTICLE 5069-1.06 VIOLATE THE FIFTH

AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS OF

THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION AND

ARTICLE 1, SECTIONS 13 AND 19 OF THE

TEXAS CONSTITUTION.

POINT OF ERROR THREE RESTATED:

THE PENAL AND CRIMINAL PROVISIONS

OF ARTICLE 5069-1.06 DO NOT GIVE FAIR

NOTICE OF THE PROHIBITED CONDUCT IN

ORDER TO COME WITHIN CONSTITU-

TIONAL DUE PROCESS LIMITATIONS.

POINT OF ERROR FOUR RESTATED:

THE PENAL AND CRIMINAL PROVISIONS

OF ARTICLE 5069-1.066 DO NOT CONVEY

SUFFICIENTLY DEFINITE WARNINGS AS

TO THE PROSCRIBED CONDUCT WHEN

MEASURED BY COMMON UNDER-

STANDING AND PRACTICES.

28

3 ans —

PAGE

POINT OF ERROR FIVE RESTATED:

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARITCLE 5069-

1.06 ARE SO EXCESSIVE AND VIOLATIVE

OF THE CONSTITUTIONAL RESTRAINTS

OF THE FIFTH AND FOURTEENTH

AMENDMENTS OF THE UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTION AND THE PROVISIONS OF

THE TEXAS CONSTITUTION AS TO SHOCK

THE SENSE OF MANKIND.

POINT OF ERROR SIX RESTATED:

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069-

1.06 ARE SO SEVERE AND OPPRESSIVE AS

TO BE WHOLLY DISPROPORTIONATE TO

THE OFFENSE AND ARE OBVIOUSLY UN-

REASONABLE.

POINT OF ERROR SEVEN RESTATED:

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069-

1.06 ARE NOT FIXED WITH REFERENCE TO

THE ABUSE OF A FINANCE CHARGE WITH-

IN 30 DAYS AFTER THE DEBT ACCRUES ON

A WRITTEN CONTRACT.

POINT OF ERROR EIGHT RESTATED:

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069-

1.06 WERE NOT DESIGNED FOR THE PUR-

POSE OF DETERRING THE GENERAL PUB-

LIC FROM CHARGING ANY INTEREST

WITHIN 30 DAYS AFTER THE DEBT AC-

CRUES ON A WRITTEN CONTRACT.

ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES UNDER

POINTS OF ERROR

ee 38-4]

POINT OF ERROR NINE RESTATED:

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069-

1.06 ARE CONTRARY TO PUBLIC POLICY

AS THEY ENCOURAGE DEFALCATION ON

CONTRACTS AND DESTROY THE SANCTI-

TY OF CONTRACT.

29

PAGE

POINT OF ERROR TEN RESTATED:

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069-

1.06 PERFORM A DISSERVICE TO THE PUB-

LIC AS A WHOLE BY ENCOURAGING

AVOIDANCE OF CONTRACT.

POINT OF ERROR ELEVEN RESTATED:

THE PURPOSES OF THE INTEREST-CON-

SUMER CREDIT-CONSUMER PROTECTION

ACT (ARTICLE 5069-1.06 V.A.T.S.) ARE NOT

FURTHERED BY THE LEVY OF EXCESSIVE

PENALTIES ON CONTRACTORS WHO ARE

NEITHER UNSCRUPULOUS NOR ENGAGED

IN ABUSIVE AND DECEPTIVE PRACTICES.

ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES UNDER

POINTS OF ERROR

NINE THROUGH ELEVEN ................. 42

POINT OF ERROR TWELVE RESTATED:

THE JUDGMENT OF THE COURT OF AP-

PEALS WAS INCORRECT IN FINDING

THAT THE STATEMENT ISSUED BY PETI-

TIONER AFTER THE SUIT WAS FILED CON-

TAINED A USURIOUS CHARGE OF “INTER-

EST” AS THE CLAIM FOR’ INTEREST

SHOULD HAVE BEEN CONTROLLED BY

THE PLAINTIFF’S PETITION AS A MATTER

OF LAW.

ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES UNDER

POINT OF ERROR TWELVE ................ 43-44

30

LIST OF NAMES OF PARTIES

The following is a complete list of all parties to this action:

NAME

Plaintiff....... Tobin Landscape & Construction

Company, Inc.

Defendant..... James Bramlett

LIST OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

A.B. SMALL AND COMPANY V. AMERICAN SUGAR

REFINING Co., 267 U.S. 233 (1925)...............

ANGUIANO V. JIM WALTER Homes, INC., 561 S.W.2d

249 (Tex Civ. App. — San Antonio, 1978), writ ref.

ep pat Si SRIF end 9 i A- AEe Pera a

BLAKE V. GRANT, 65 Wash. 2d 410, 397 P. 2d 843

Ce Gach Ase ce 0. C4A06 eee carb else engeene

Boyce Motor Lines, INc. v. UNITED STATES, 342

ii slr ab9.4.0. 6 4 Ce eNed Oh5.66s0000 0

CLEVELAND C.C. St. L. RAILWAY COMPANY V.

WELLS, 65 Ohio St. 313, 62 N.E. 332 (1901) ......

Coats v. City OF CINCINNATI, 402 U.S. 611 (1971) ..

GARDNER V. LOVEGREN, 27 Wash., 356, 67 P. 615

RRR Rp er err Tee ee ee err

GIACCIO V. STATE OF PENNSYLVANIA, 382 U.S. 399

er le aie Ca eek ceed uae sdse «

HELWIG Vv. UNITED STATES, 188 U.S. 605 (1903) .....

LANZETTA V. STATE OF NEW JERSEY, 306 U.S. 451

ME eS ea err eT ee re Pee eee

LONE STAR Gas Co. v. KELLY, 140 Tex. 15, 165

Ns cca haath nso s bicdeeneesees

St. Louis IRON MOUNTAIN & SOUTHERN Ry. Co. v.

po RN 0

STATE V. LAREDO IcE Co., 96 Tex. 461, 73 S.W. 951

A RR ae 6 es ee chew bees bus

UNITED STATES V. NATIONAL DAIRY PRODUCTS CoRrRP.,

I i oo la waa w ec eak ue 00s

WAYNE COUNTY V. STEEL, 121 Neb. 438, 237 N.W.

Ned aan ta Gs baat hak eee’

ZUEST V. INGRA, 134 N.J.L. 15, 45 A. 2d 810 (1946). .

31

39

CONSTITUTIONS

Ne seesaw eseesenis 39

ESS Sr 39

SE ETE 39-40

ee ee, I ED 8g Bo te ees 39

pS) eee 38-39

STATUTES

TEX. REV. CIV. STAT. ANN. art. 5069-1.06...... 42

32

ws

IN THE

Supreme Court of Cexas

No.

ToBIN LANDSCAPE AND CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, INC.,

Petitioner,

v.

JAMES BRAMLETT,

Respondent.

PETITIONER'S APPLICATION FOR WRIT OF ERROR

TO THE HONORABLE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS:

Petitioner, Tobin Landscape & Construction Company, Inc.

(“Tobin”), Appellant in Cause No. 05-85-00612-CV in the

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Supreme Judicial District of

Texas, at Dallas, Texas, and Plaintiff in the district court,

respectfully submits this Application for Writ of Error to correct

errors of law committed by the Court of Appeals in affirming

judgment in favor of Respondent, James Bramlett (“Bramlett’’),

Appellee below and Defendant in the district court.

STATEMENT OF THE NATURE OF THE CASE

This is a suit on sworn account brought by Tobin against

Bramlett for materials furnished and services rendered in the

amount of $6,241.75. Appellee filed a counterclaim alleging

usury because there was a $93.00 charge on a statement within

the first thirty days after the work was performed, a statement

which was sent to Bramlett after this suit was filed. Judgment

was entered awarding Bramlett the sum of $1,248.00 represent-

ing 20% of the claimed principal debt together with attorney’s

fees of $1,600.00 and costs of court plus interest. In addition,

Tobin was denied all recovery on its claim.

33

te Vater xg BSS bela as

i‘ - : A

-

4

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Supreme Court has jurisdiction of this suit under Article

5, Section 3 of the Texas Constitution 2nd Title 2, Section

22.001 of the Texas Government Code.

POINTS OF ERROR

POINT ONE

THE JUDGMENT OF THE COURT OF APPEALS IS

INCORRECT BECAUSE THE DAMAGE PROVISIONS

OF ARTICLE 5069-1.06 V.A.T.S. CANNOT BE CONSTI-

TUTIONALLY APPLIED.

POINT TWO

THE PENAL AND CRIMINAL PROVISIONS OF ARTI-

CLE 5069-1.06 VIOLATE THE FIFTH AND FOUR-

TEENTH AMENDMENTS OF THE UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTION AND ARTICLE 1, SECTIONS 13 AND

19 OF THE TEXAS CONSTITUTION.

POINT THREE

THE PENAL AND CRIMINAL PROVISIONS OF ARTI-

CLE 5069-1.06 DO NOT GIVE FAIR NOTICE OF THE

PROHIBITED CONDUCT IN ORDER TO COME WITHIN

CONSTITUTIONAL DUE PROCESS LIMITATIONS.

POINT FOUR

THE PENAL AND CRIMINAL PROVISIONS OF ARTI-

CLE 5069-1.06 DO NOT CONVEY SUFFICIENTLY DEFI-

NITE WARNINGS AS TO THE PROSCRIBED CONDUCT

WHEN MEASURED BY COMMON UNDERSTANDING

AND PRACTICES.

34

POINT FIVE

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069-1.06

ARE SO EXCESSIVE AND VIOLATIVE OF THE CON-

STITUTIONAL RESTRAINTS OF THE FIFTH AND

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS OF THE UNITED

STATES CONSTITUTION AND THE PROVISIONS OF

THE TEXAS CONSTITUTION AS TO SHOCK THE

SENSE OF MANKIND.

POINT SIX

-THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069-1.06

ARE SO SEVERE AND OPPRESSIVE AS TO BE

WHOLLY DISPROPORTIONATE TO THE OFFENSE

AND ARE OBVIOUSLY UNREASONABLE.

POINT SEVEN

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069-1.06

ARE NOT FIXED WITH REFERENCE TO THE AS3BUSE

OF A FINANCE CHARGE WITHIN 30 DAYS AFTER

THE DEBT ACCRUES ON A WRITTEN CONTRACT.

POINT EIGHT

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069-1.06

WERE NOT DESIGNED FOR THE PURPOSE OF DETER-

RING THE GENERAL PUBLIC FROM CHARGING ANY

INTEREST WITHIN 30 DAYS AFTER THE DEBT

ACCRUES ON A WRITTEN CONTRACT.

POINT NINE

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069-1.06

ARE CONTRARY TO PUBLIC POLICY AS THEY

ENCOURAGE DEFALCATION ON CONTRACTS AND

DESTROY THE SANCTITY OF CONTRACT.

35

a ee ee

ac at te mr a a nS a. AC Tt Relic ba eb TT 8

POINT TEN

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069-1.06

PERFORM A DISSERVICE TO THE PUBLIC AS A

WHOLE BY ENCOURAGING AVOIDANCE OF

CONTRACT.

POINT ELEVEN

THE PURPOSES OF THE INTEREST-CONSUMER

CREDIT-CONSUMER PROTECTION ACT (ARTICLE

5069-1.06 V.A.T.S.) ARE NOT FURTHERED BY THE

LEVY OF EXCESSIVE PENALTIES ON CONTRACTORS

WHO ARE NEITHER UNSCRUPULOUS NOR

ENGAGED IN ABUSIVE AND DECEPTIVE PRACTICES.

POINT TWELVE

THE JUDGMENT OF THE COURT OF APPEALS WAS

INCORRECT IN FINDING THAT THE STATEMENT

ISSUED BY PETITIONER AFTER THE SUIT WAS FILED

CONTAINED A USURIOUS CHARGE OF “INTEREST”

AS THE CLAIM FOR INTEREST SHOULD HAVE BEEN

CONTROLLED BY THE PLAINTIFF'S PETITION AS A

MATTER OF LAW.

FACT STATEMENT

Petitioner Tobin made a proposa! to Respondent Bramlett for

preparing beds, relocating shade trees and planting shrubs,

ground cover and ornamental trees (S.F. p. 4; Ex. 1). The work

was done and daily reports were prepared on April 14, April 26,

and May 3 (S.F. p. 6; Ex. 2, 3 and 4). Bramlett requested addi-

tional plants (S.F. p. 7, 8). Tobin hand delivered a statement to

Bramlett’s office (S.F. p. 9; Ex. 5). Bramlett had a reputation for

not paying his bills (S.F. p. 9, 10 and 16). The quality of the

work was up to the standard agreed upon and was worth

$6,241.75 or more (S.F. p. 11, 12, 17, 18, 19, 25, and 26). Petiti-

tioner Tobin forwarded a demand letter to Bramiett on May 10,

1984, when the account remained unpaid (S.F. p. 21 and 22: Ex.

36

7). Bramlett responded on May 16 that he was unhappy with the

job (S.F. p. 21, Ex. 8). Tobin employed an attorney and a

demand letter was sent to Bramlett on May 24 (S.F. 23; Ex. 10).

Tobin filed suit on June 9 (Tr. p. 3-8). Bramlett filed a General

Denial on July 24 (Tr. p. 8). Tobin mailed an invoice on August

25, after suit was filed and answered, which purported to include

“finance charges” (S.F. p. 23; Ex. 9). The statement was pre-

pared and mailed by a secretary and billing clerk of Petitioner

Tobin (Tr. p. 27; S.F. p. 28-32).

BRIEF OF THE ARGUMENT

POINTS OF ERROR ONE THROUGH EIGHT RESTATED

POINT ONE

THE JUDGMENT OF THE COURT OF APPEALS IS

INCORRECT BECAUSE THE DAMAGE PROVISIONS

OF ARTICLE 5069-1.06 V.A.T.S. CANNOT BE CONSTI-

TUTIONALLY APPLIED.

POINT TWO

THE PENAL AND CRIMINAL PROVISIONS OF ARTI-

CLE 5069-1.06 VIOLATE THE FIFTH AND FOUR-

TEENTH AMENDMENTS OF THE UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTION AND ARTICLE 1, SECTIONS 13 AND

19 OF THE TEXAS CONSTITUTION.

POINT THREE

THE PENAL AND CRIMINAL PROVISIONS OF ARTI-

CLE 5069-1.06 DO NOT GIVE FAIR NOTICE OF THE

PROHIBITED CONDUCT IN ORDER TO COME WITHIN

CONSTITUTIONAL DUE PROCESS LIMITATIONS.

POINT FOUR

THE PENAL AND CRIMINAL PROVISIONS OF ARTI-

CLE 5069-1.06 DO NOT CONVEY SUFFICIENTLY DEFI-

NITE WARNINGS AS TO THE PROSCRIBED CONDUCT

37

reenneil

| alia poten ® Mis

7 rach me mt es eet ae ant Ten

cae rr are ae surla sbgsite lal ees cay aa

<7 =a ses oe anaes ae oan: e Meng ats Sect |

a ee ee i ete al ee wr eee Ratton tS Say

A a0 Ps er ne ae ee

-

Te

oa nid eae soe 1 ev Ge Ra |

Pe aes hss a thier ne laa

yey

Pel

Fh

ees eerie’ Pre eee Se : mie: +)

9 sp : i i’ oar!

a Seen 40 YR, viet : ere ay ae

errr AT i RR ee Sere ioulecapeieeaiacle a

' ; ; =

. ite = eo 2 » os € 7

: aes Ae 7 tet oF ar ye heme an de hn

Z : inby “— per ry wa

;

{ :

g ag mea on

Vs need Mempnidomnst 2 7 me 1,9,

') é 7 ) is

, Le fi _

}

+ 7 |

E ;

7 a7

7 *

ha =

a cite Piero

7, j

o * : a 4 ~

a ’ i ° 7 4 Ka 7

5 1

_ | . ; 7] of

ad | =

- 7 = = 7

a 7 *

> ot 7

“S i

@49 Ose:

7 >..." * ~, v ~i

> hen os = 7

i a ait et a AR .

% a >e, : 7 " b 7 7

_ : of ‘ : # cane : a a ,

i ; |

=e |

=

rp 7 * :

WHEN MEASURED BY COMMON UNDERSTANDING

AND PRACTICES.

POINT FIVE

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069-1.06

ARE SO EXCESSIVE AND VIOLATIVE OF THE CON-

STITUTIONAL RESTRAINTS OF THE FIFTH AND

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS OF THE UNITED

STATES CONSTITUTION AND THE PROVISIONS OF

THE TEXAS CONSTITUTION AS TO SHOCK THE

SENSE OF MANKIND.

POINT SIX

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069-1.06

ARE SO SEVERE AND OPPRESSIVE AS TO BE

WHOLLY DISPROPORTIONATE TO THE OFFENSE

AND ARE OBVIOUSLY UNREASONABLE.

POINT SEVEN

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069-1.06

ARE NOT FIXED WITH REFERENCE TO THE ABUSE

OF A FINANCE CHARGE WITHIN 30 DAYS AFTER

THE DEBT ACCRUES ON A WRITTEN CONTRACT.

POINT EIGHT

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069-1.06

WERE NOT DESIGNED FOR THE PURPOSE OF DETER-

RING THE GENERAL PUBLIC FROM CHARGING ANY

INTEREST WITHIN 30 DAYS AFTER THE DEBT

ACCRUES ON A WRITTEN CONTRACT.

ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES

UNDER POINTS ONE THROUGH EIGHT

The Texas Constitution, Article 16, Section 11 provides in

pertinent part:

38

The Legislature shall have authority to classify loans and

lenders, license and regulate lenders, define interest and fix

maximum rates of interests ...; provided further, that in

contracts where no rate of interest is agreed upon, the rate

shall not exceed six percent (6%) per annum...

The United States Constitution, in the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments, prohibits deprivation of life, liberty or property

without due process of law. This guarantee of fundamental liber-

ties and due process is confirmed by the Texas Constitution,

Article 1, Section 13 and 19. When viewed against these prohibi-

tions, the penalty provisions of Article 5069 - 1.06 V.A.T.S. can-

not be constitutionally applied.

This Court has stated that ary charge of interest within 30

days after an account or contract is due and payable violates the

penal provisions of the usury statutes, prompting the following

penalties: (1) forfeiture of the entire account, (2) a penalty

equivalent to 20% of the account payable to Appellee and (3)

attorney’s fees. In this case, the total amounts to a penalty of

approximately 10,000%. Certainly, a4 person of ordinary intel-

ligence would consider excessive and unreasonable a 10,000%

penalty for a inadvertant charge included in a statement that

was not prepared or mailed until well after this lawsuit was filed

and answered. Here, there was no actual loss to Bramlett

because none of the charged interest was pled for in Plaintiff's

Petition. While there is a logical economic reason for a delay in

charging interest on an open account, no economic or social

hardship is caused by charging interest on a contract from the

day it is due and payable.

Petitioner Tobin urges that Article 5069 - 1.06 must be judged

by the same standards as any penal or criminal! statute as it

provides for forfeiture of principle, treble damages and convic-

tion for misdemeanor. Due process requirements must be met

by this statute. See, Wayne County v. Steel, 121 Neb. 438, 237

N.W. 288 (1931); Zuest v. Ingra, 134 N.J.L. 15, 45 A. 2d 810

(1946); Cleveland C.C. St. L. Railway Company v. Wells, 65

Ohio St. 313, 62 N.E. 332 (1901); Blake v. Grant, 65 Wash. 2d

39

410, 397 P. 2d 843 (1964); Gardner v. Lovegren, 27 Wash. 356,

67 P. 615 (1902); Helwig v. United States, 188 U.S. 605, 23

S.Ct 427, 47 L. Ed. 614 (1903).

Due process requires certainty. Article 5069 - 1.06 is unconsti-

tutionally vague as it provides no clear language to put Peti-

tioner on notice of precisely what is required of him or prohib-

ited to him. A.B. Small and Company v. American Sugar

Refining Co., 267 U.S. 233 (1925); Lone Star Gas Co. v. Kelly,

140 Tex. 15, 165 S.W. 2d 446 (1942); Boyce Motor Lines, Inc.

v. United States, 342 U.S. 337 (1952). The person sought to be

charged under a penal statute such as the usury statute must be

made aware of the full consequences of violation of the act and

that his contemplated conduct is proscribed. Article 5069 - 1.06

V.A.T.S. does not do this. United States v. National Dairy

Products Corp., 372 U.S. 29 (1963); Coats v. City of Cincinnati,

402 US. 611 (1971); Giaccio v. State of Pennsylvania, 382 U.S.

399 (1966); Lanzetta v. State of New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451

(1939).

Not only is the statute unconstitutionally vague, the penalty

imposed upon Petitioner Tobin by the statute is clearly exces-

sive. Courts in this state have upheld usury penalties that did not

constitute an excessive fine in violation of Texas Constitution,

Article 1, Section 13. Anguiano v. Jim Walter Homes, Inc., 561

S.W. 2d 249 (Tex Civ. App. — San Antonio, 1978), writ ref.

n.r.e. (holding that a fine of twice the finance charge and reason-

able attorneys fees was not excessive); State v. Laredo Ice Co.,

96 Tex. 461, 73 S.W. 951 (1903) (where the Court allowed for

legislative discretion only when the penalty was not so excessive

as to “shock the sense of mankind”’).

If a penalty of 10,000% as was applied here against Petitioner

Tobin is not excessive, there is surely no set of facts that would

constitute an excessive penalty. Clearly, the drafters of the U.S.

and Texas Constitutions did not intend the present result. A

10,000% penalty is so grossly unreasonable as to be shocking.

Petitioner asks this Court to consider the actual offense com-

plained of here by Bramlett. After suit had been filed, Petitioner

40

issued a statement showing a “finance charge” for the first 30

days after the debt accrued. The abuse sought to be deterred is a

one month finance charge. The legislature has abused its discre-

tion in imposing a fine of 10,000% where, as here, that penalty is

so severe and oppressive as to be wholly disproportional to the

offense and obviously unreasonable. St. Louis Iron Mountain &

Southern Ry. Co. v. Williams, 251 U.S. 63 (1919). In this case,

the penalty is the unforeseen result of a series of amendments to

the original usury statute and was not designed to eradicate

what it here seeks to prohibit, namely, the charging of “interest”

for the first 30 days after a contract sum becomes due and paya-

ble. The statute states that the penalty is to be imposed for

charges of “interest” over twice the allowable rate, with no spe-

cific reference to the penalty being imposed for a one month

finance charge.

POINTS OF ERROR NINE THROUGH ELEVEN

RESTATED

POINT NINE

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069 - 1.06

ARE CONTRARY TO PUBLIC POLICY AS THEY

ENCOURGAGE DEFALCATION ON CONTRACTS AND

DESTROY THE SANCTITY OF CONTRACT.

POINT TEN

THE PENAL PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 5069 - 1.06

PERFORM A DISSERVICE TO THE PUBLIC AS A

WHOLE BY ENCOURAGING AVOIDANCE OF

CONTRACT.

POINT ELEVEN

THE PURPOSES OF THE INTEREST-CONSUMER

CREDIT-CONSUMER PROTECTION ACT (ARTICLE

5069 - 1.06 V.A.T.S.) ARE NOT FURTHERED BY THE

LEVY OF EXCESSIVE PENALTIES ON CONTRACTORS

4]

WHO ARE NEITHER UNSCRUPULOUS NOR

ENGAGED IN ABUSIVE AND DECEPTIVE PRACTICES.

ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES UNDER POINTS NINE

THROUGH ELEVEN

The declaration of legislative intent in the Interest-Consumer

Credit-Consumer Protection Act (Article 5069 - 1.06 V.A.T.S)

states that unscrupulous operators, lenders and vendors are pres-

ently engaged in many abusive and deceptive practices in the

conduct of their business causing great social and economic

hardship to the citizens of Texas. Thus, it was the clear intent of

the Texas Legislature to protect the citizens of Texas from these

abuses and deceptions.

Nothing in the record of this case implies that Petitioner

Tobin is in any way unscrupulous or that its actions were decep-

tive. Petitioner performed work, furnished materials and simply

sought to be paid. Yet, the usury statute, as it is written,

encouraged Respondent Bramlett to violate his contract with

Petitioner and defalcate on his obligations after Petitioner fully

performed. Respondent now enjoys the benefits of his contract

without any payment being made by him for the services and

materials he received. Petitioner, who inadvertently charged

interest during the first 30 days after the debt accrued, is placed

in the position of being considered unscrupulous while Respon-

dent is allowed to “walk” the contract and receive an additional

monetary benefit on top of that.

A broader public is served by preserving the sanctity of con-

tract. The penal provisions of Article 5069 - 1.06 were provided

for extra damage recovery so that consumers would have an

incentive for pursuing their claims, but, instead have becoine so

excessive as to not be in furtherance of the statute’s purpose at

all. In fact, the statute’s provisions encourage dishonesty and

avoidance of contract.

42

POINT OF ERROR TWELVE RESTATED

POINT TWELVE

THE JUDGMENT OF THE COURT OF APPEALS WAS

INCORRECT IN FINDING THAT THE STATEMENT

ISSUED BY PETITIONER AFTER THE SUIT WAS FILED

CONTAINED A USURIOUS CHARGE OF “INTEREST”

AS THE CLAIM FOR INTEREST SHOULD HAVE BEEN

CONTROLLED BY THE PLAINTIFF'S PETITION AS A

MATTER OF LAW.

ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES UNDER POINT

TWELVE

Plaintiff's Petition, filed on June 9, 1984, prayed for recovery

of the account in the amount of $6,241.75 plus statutory

prejudgment interest in said amount at the rate of 6% and

postjudgment interest at the rate of 9% (Tr. 3 and 4). After the

suit was filed, a statement was issued by a billing clerk on

August 25, 1984, which contained the purported usurious charge

(Tr. 27; S.F. p. 28-32).

Petitioner urges that the pleadings control the amount of

interest charged by Petitioner as a matter of law. The statement

issued after suit was filed here contained an inadvertent mistake

and miscalculation of interest. For that reason alone, Petitioner

should not have been found liable for usury. Petitioner urges

further that, even had there been no miscalculation of interest,

the pleadings as a matter of law should control the issue of the

interest being sought, not an unverified statement issued after

suit has already been filed.

It should be obvious that the amount of interest Petitioner

sought to charge was the amount alleged in its Plaintiff's Peti-

tion, not what was stated in an extraneous, unverified statement

not even prepared until well-after suit was instituted and

answered. Had Petitioner intended to charge the usurious inter-

est alleged to have been sought here, it is only logical that the

claim for interest would have been included in the Petition itself.

43

———

No such usurious charge is to be found in Plaintiff's Petition. As

a matter of law, the subsequent “charge’’, which Petitioner never

actually attempted to collect at any time, should be disregarded

for the purpose of determining whether or not usury has been

charged where, as here, said charge of interest was made after

suit was filed. At some point, the interest claimed by Petitioner

became certain. Petitioner Tobin urges that that time was when

suit was filed.

PRAYER FOR RELIEF

For the reasons stated, Petitioner respectfully submits that

this Application for Writ of Error should be granted, and that

the Supreme Court should reverse the judgment of the Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Supreme Judicial District of Texas, Dal-

las, Texas, and reverse the judgment of the 14th District Court

of Dallas County, Texas, rendering judgment for Petitioner in

the amount sought in Plaintiff's Original Petition and denying

all relief sought by Respondent, og, in the alternative, remanding

this cause for further proceedings consistent with the ruling of

this Court, or, in the alternative, granting Petitioner a new trial.

Law OFFICES OF JOE B. ABBEY

3110 Olympia and York Tower

1999 Bryan Street

Dallas, Texas 75201

(214) 922-9245

Joe B. Abbey

Bar No. 00789000

Attorney for Petitioner

to

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Applica-

tion for Writ of Error was placed in the United States Mail

addressed to attorney of record, Robert C. Elder, Jr.,

Canterbury, Stuber, Elder & Gooch, 5550 LBJ Freeway, Suite

800, Dallas, Texas 7524 on this the 23rd day of April, 1986.

Joe B. Abbey

Attorney for Petitioner

45

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.