Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Avtex Fibers, Inc. v. McDowell

Supreme Court brief1985

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

: ~

84-578)

| Ottice-Supreme Court, U.S,

! s FILED

No.

| ALEBANOLR IL SIEWAS,

} CL. 2%

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1984

AVTEX FIBERS, INC.,

Petitioner

Vv.

ROBERT L. MCDOWELL,

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Thomas A. Allen

1234 Market Street

17th Floor

Philadelphia, Pa. 19107

(215) 854-7064

Counsel of Record for

Petitioner Avtex Fibers, Inc.

LeRoy E. Perper

Brent S. Gorey

Peter J. Mooney

WHITE AND WILLIAMS

Of Counsel

PACKARD PRESS / LEGAL DIVISION, 10th & SPRING GARDEN STREETS, PHILA., PA. 19123 (215) 236-2000

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a “willful” violation of the Age Discrim-

ination in Employment Act, and thus an entitlement to

liquidated damages, may be established pursuant to a

legal standard which requires no evidence that the de-

fendant intentionally or recklessly violated the Act?!

2. Whether the Court of Appeals erred in holding

that pension benefits paid to the plaintiff after termina-

tion of employment may not, as a matter of law, be de-

ducted irom an award of back pay under the Age Dis-

crimination in Employment Act?

3. Whether the Court of Appeals erred in holding

that unemployment compensation benefits paid to the

plaintiff after termination of employment may not, as a

matter of law, be deducted from an award of back pay

under the Age Discrimination in Employment Act?

1. In February 1984, this Court granted certiorari on the issue

whether specific intent to discriminate is necessary to establish “will-

fullness” (and thereby entitle plaintiff to an award of liquidated

damages) under the ADEA. Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Thurston,

No. 83-997, cert. granted, ____ U.S. , 104 S. Ct. 1412 (1984).

That case has been consolidated with Air Line Pilots Association,

International v. Thurston, No. 83-1325, cert. granted, U.S.

, 104 S.Ct. 1706 (1984). Oral argument is scheduled for Octo-

ber 9, 1984.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...........05..s0-s- i

TABLE OF AUTRILRRIUSES «oo - cnc ceciewsadas iv

CPTI ITTe BAI so rec od bok vues ae Rese 2

FRSA BOE 6 6.5 ene ee ee ee 2

SEATUEES IOV Vee 6b sik ccna hee meee ess 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .................. 4

EE ern ee 4

P acta DRC: osc 6 cas eee 5

The Trial Court’s Damage Calculation ....... 7

The Third Circuit’s Decision................ 9

ARGUMENT

I. THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE THE

CONFLICT IN THE COURTS OF AP-

PEALS AS TO WHAT CONSTITUTES

A “WILLFUL VIOLATION” OF THE

ABMIGA, 6 <0 0556 ee eee 10

er te bt ale 10

The Statutory Language.................... 10

Standards for Willfulness in the Circuits ..... 12

The Legislative History..................... 15

Il. THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE THE

CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS CON-

CERNING THE POWER OF THE DIS-

TRICT COURTS TO DEDUCT PENSION

AND UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSA-

TION BENEFITS FROM BACK PAY

AWARDS IN APPROPRIATE CASES.... 18

TABLE OF CONTENTS—(Continued )

Page

A. THE RULE THAT THE _ DISTRICT

COURT HAS NO DISCRETION TO DE-

DUCT PENSION PAYMENTS FROM AN

AWARD OF BACK PAY UNDER THE

ADEA OFFENDS THE ADEA MAKE-

3 | ALS | |) Od 6) 20

B. THE DECISION WHETHER TO DE-

DUCT UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSA-

TION BENEFITS FROM ADEA BACK

PAY AWARDS SHOULD BE LEFT TO

THE DISCRETION OF THE TRIAL

SES ae a 25

Ee 30

APPENDICES

Appendix “A”—Opinion of Magistrate William F.

fam, Jr. Gated May 20, 1963 ................ A-1

Appendix “B”—Opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Third Circuit............. A-12

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Air Line Pilots Association, International v.

Trans World Airlines, Inc., 713 F.2d 940 (2d

Cir. 1983), cert. granted sub nom., Trans World

Airlines, Inc. v. Thurston, _ U.S. __, 104

is Se ES Sr or eee Pa wee. 13

Air Line Pilots Association, International v.

Thurston, No. 83-1325, cert. granted, U.S.

5 Re CR, Ee CRO) cisions vee i, 10

Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody,

ee Wee OP CRO TO) . ots esc Va ands 19, 29

Barcelona v. Tiffany English Pub, Inc.,597 F.2d 464

Se a ais ko Poe ce Oe ee 1]

Bishop v. Jelleff Associates, 398 F. Supp. 579

Ce BU en ies cha ne sees Battne eas 26

Blackwell v. Sun Electric Corp., 696 F.2d 1176 (6th

Re) CME 6 notes pire cuts eee acs aes 2,47

Boich v. Federal Mine Safety & Health Review Com-

mission, 704 F.2d 275 (6th Cir. 1983)........ 25

Bowe v. Colgate-Palmolive Co., 416 F.2d 711 (7th

Cir. 1969), aff'd in part, rev'd in part, 489 F.2d

en RE Be ohare pen eaiewdakeae es 28

Brown v. A.J. Gerrard Manufacturing Co., 715 F.2d

1549 (11th Cir. 1983) (en banc) (per curiam). 27

Buchholz v. Symons Mfg. Co., 445 F. Supp. 706 (E.D.

I IE tay cS si can on eand beeen 26

Chernoff v. Pandick Press, Inc., 440 F. Supp. 822

oy AL. sp Se ee neon sat es. Omees 26

Cline v. Roadway Express, Inc., 689 F.2d 481 (4th

By NE os Occ oe 6 whoa ce ae eG 19

lv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—(Continued )

Cases: Page

Coates v. National Cash Register Co., 423 F. Supp.

O65 (WD. Vs. 8860) se cccike see 26

Craig v. Y & Y Snacks, Inc., 721 F.2d 77 (3d Cir.

PO ek kk cekt io vik 27, 28

Crosland v. Charlotte Eye, Ear & Throat Hospital,

G6 F.3d 206 (4th Cir. 1962) .. «2... 2-0 4, 33

Davis v. Combustion Engineering, Inc., F.2d

_ 35 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 975 (2d

Ce 106) oi ee eae eee 29

Dean v. American Security Insurance Co., 559 F.2d

1036 (5th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1066

(WTR) 65.5 50 SAO ae eee eee 16

EEOC v. Enterprise Association Steamfitters Local

No. 638, 542 F.2d 579 (2d Cir. 1976), cert.

denied, 430 U.S. 911 (GBITR 2. ew nce e ec enns 27

EEOC v. Ford Motor Co., 645 F.2d 183 (4th Cir.

1981), rev’d on other grounds, 458 U.S. 219, ad-

hered to original position on remand, 688 F.2d

951 (4th Cir. 1982) (per curiam)............. 27

EEOC v. Prudential Federal Savings and Loan As-

sociation, F.2d , 35 Fair Empl. Prac.

Cas. (BNA) 783 (10th Cir. 1984) ............ 13

EEOC v. Sandia Corp.,

639 F.24 600 (T0tls Cir. 1980)... ......6.005. 22

Fariss v. Lynchburg Foundry, F. Supp.

35 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 852 (W.D. Va.

Assent 3, TGS). oo os cn acu enki iaeeereree 21

Gathercole v. Global Associates, 560 F. Supp. 642

(N.D. Cal. 1983), rev’d on other grounds, 727

F.2d 2406 Ct Ce. Bk cece as ve cens ccs, 26

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—( Continued )

Cases: Page

Gibson v. Mohawk Rubber Co., 695 F.2d 1093 (8th

ee 29

Goodman v. Heublein, Inc., 645 F.2d 127 (2d Cir.

RO inp oak co ae the eben shane ehesnseaees 12

Hagelthorn v. Kennecott Corp., 710 F.2d 76 (2d Cir.

oS | ne ar rr re 21

Hannan v. Chrysler Motors Corp., 443 F. Supp. 802

(E.D. Mich. 1978).......... 0.000 cee eee 21, 22

Hays v. Republic Steel Corp., 531 F.2d 1307 (5th

Cir. FOFG) «on nc cccsvcrenvecsieeeearstentanes 13

Hedrick v. Hercules, Inc., 659 F.2d 1088 (5th Cir.

ROR) none en sb ys ern ey ce Miners evakengeeus 13

Jacebson v. Pitman-Moore, Inc., 582 F. Supp. 169

(D. Minn. 1984) ........ 0... cee es 25

Johnson v. Al Tech Specialties Steel Corp., 731 F.2d

143 (2d Cir. 1984) ...... cece cee ee 24

Kauffman v. Sidereal Corp., 695 F.2d 343 (9th Cir.

1983) (per Curiam)... .....0...0 00. cee eee 27

Kelly v. American Standard, Inc., 640 F.2d 974 (9th

Cir. 1981) 0.0... ce eee ee 12,17

Lake Shore & Mich. S. Ry. Co. v. Prentice, 147 U.S.

101 (1BBB) 2... cece cree cc ese rersceunncaes 16

Laugesen v. Anaconda Corp., 510 F.2d 307 (6th Cir.

ROTO) oo cee sd csk deve nsineecnecestevenweness 22

Loeb v. Textron, Inc..,

600 F.2d 1003 (Ist Cir. 1979) ............ 12,13

Lorillard v. Pons, 434 U.S. 575 (1978) ........ 1. KS

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—(Continued )

Cases: Page

Malloy v. City of Duquesne, No. 83-2624, F,

Supp. (W.D. Pa. March 9, 1984)........ 21

Marshall v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., 554 F.2d

ye Rt. BS A: ¢ ¢ re ee ere 25

Merriweather v. Hercules, Inc., 631 F.2d 1161 (5th

SE, SES bah 950.4 08 4 90D ARE EEE Res 27

NLRB v. Gullett Gin Co., 340 U.S. 361 (1951).... 28

Naton v. Bank of California, 649 F.2d 691 (9th Cir.

| RE ete Save athe Parent rer eee eg 22, 23, 25

Orzelv. City of Wauwatosa Fire Dept., 697 F.2d 743

(7th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, U.S. , 104

wee gk er ee eee 21

Rasimas v. Michigan Department of Mental Health,

714 F.2d 614 (6th Cir. 1983), cert. denied,

U.S. , 104 S. Ct. 2151 (1984)........ 27

Robb v. Chemetron Corp., 17 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas.

(BNA) 1635 (S.D. Tex. 1978)......6...5.66: 2), 22

Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., 444 F.2d 791 (4th Cir. ),

cert. dismissed, 404 U.S. 1006 (1971)........ 28

Rodriguez v. Taylor, 569 F.2d 1231 (3d Cir. 1977),

cert. denied, 436 U.S. 913 (1978)...... 19, 23, 24

Rogers v. Exxon Research & Engineering Co., 550

F.2d 834 (3d Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S.

Spe SO 5a esis SAR SRN ee oe aes 16

Satty v. Nashville Gas Co., 522 F.2d 850 (6th Cir.

1975), affd in part, vacated in part on other

oroumadé, 450'U.S.. T56 CTBT) voc cc cecaeccce 27

Schulner v. Jack Eckerd Corp., 572 F. Supp. 56 (S.D.

EN oes rc uk wae ne Seen eee 22, 25

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—(Continued )

Cases: Page

Schulz v. Hickok Mfg. Co., 358 F. Supp. 1208 (N.D.

Ci. SR 05S CCL aE ORS eh Cee ees 26

Smith v. University of North Carolina, 632 F.2d 316

Ce Sa Se ee ree 17

Spies v. United States, 317 U.S. 492 (1943)...... 12

Syvock v. Milwaukee Boiler Manufacturing Co., 665

P.26 140 (7m Cir. 1061) .......... 1, 72,17,

Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Thurston, No. 83-997,

cert. granted, U.S. , $086. Ct. iz

CIEE Ga aia crads cues noes cg anion i, 10, 13, 20

Tribble v. Westinghouse Electric Corp., 508 F. Supp.

14 (E.D. Mo. 1980), affd, 669 F.2d 1193 (8th

Cir. 1962), cert. denied, U.S... 103S.

Shi ee I a a ek ee eee ees 21, 22

United States v. Campos-Serrano, 404 U.S. 293

EC a re ee er Pe aan 15

Wehr v. Burroughs Corp., 619 F.2d 276 (3d Cir.

Er PEC ee See er 8, 12, 14

Whittlesley v. Union Carbide Co., F.2d ao

Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 1089 (2d Cir.

DE Se eee ae re ee 29

Wilson v. Wehadkee Yarn Mills, 32 Fair Empl. Prac.

Cas. (BNA) 847 (M.D. Ala. 1983)............ 26

Wise v. Olan Mills, Inc., 495 F. Supp. 257 (D. Colo.

ES rane Se CS ery ERNE re ere 22

STATUTES

ee I ce 5 oe Aas a rahe a ee 8

ae eck et Uns a ue aren 00

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—(Continued )

Cases: Page

. Re Teel. dy ee er er eee ree 2

, RODS eee. A ee ee eae rr dl

29 U.S.C. §§211(b), 216(b), 216(c) and 217...... 1]

PR TE | Ren en eg oe ee ee 13

Ns NN acct pk Of 54 Cores k een Re as 2, 10

a ec IE Oh boo coke sb etseaveavcaveus 8

29 U.S.C. §626(b)..... 2, 3, 10, 11, 15, 18, 19, 24, 25

oR beg Df) a aa errr 19

RR ge a er ere 26

Va. Code $660.17 and G0. 164.1 ........6.5.58.. 26

TREATISES

Prosser, The Law of Torts §15 (4th Ed. 1971) .... 16

OTHER AUTHORITIES

SAS Ce TR Fe CNP 56 6 ced ce ie es 16

Recent Issues In Litigation Under The Age Discrim-

ination In Employment Act, 41 Ohio St. L.J. 349

Coed le age dag wh eX We ATs 8 16

ix

No.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1984

AVTEX FIBERS, INC.,

Petitioner,

v.

ROBERT L. MCDOWELL,

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARITO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Petitioner Avtex Fibers, Inc.” respectfully prays that

a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit en-

tered on July 12, 1984, affirming in part and reversing in

part the judgment of United States Magistrate William

F. Hall, Jr.

2. All the parties to this case are listed on the cover caption of

this Petition. Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 21.1(b), Avtex states

that it is a subsidiary of AVI Holding Corporation; that the other

subsidiary of AVI Holding Corporation is Nitro Leasing Corporation;

and that Avtex has a wholly-owned subsidiary, Avtex Fibers — Front

Royal, Inc.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals has not yet been

officially reported. It is unofficially reported at 35 Fair

Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 371, and appears in Appendix

“A” beginning at page A-1. The opinion of United States

Magistrate William F. Hall, Jr. is not reported. It appears

in Appendix “B” beginning at page A-13.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered

on July 12, 1984. This petition is filed within ninety days

of that date. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked un-

der 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

Section 4(a) of the Age Discrimination in Employ-

ment Act, 29 U.S.C. §623(a), provides:

It shall be unlawful for an employer —

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any

individual or otherwise discriminate against any in-

dividual with respect to his compensation, terms,

conditions, or privileges of employment, because of

such individual’s age;

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his employees

in any way which would deprive or tend to deprive

any individual of employment opportunities or other-

wise adversely affect his status as an employee, be-

cause of such individual’s age; or

(3) to reduce the wage rate of any employee in

order to comply with this Act.

Section 7(b) of the Age Discrimination in Employ-

ment Act, 29 U.S.C. §626(b), provides:

The provisions of this Act shall be enforced in ac-

cordance with the powers, remedies, and procedures

3

provided in sections 11(b), 16 (except for subsection

(a) thereof), and 17 of the Fair Labor Standards Act

of 1938, as amended (29 U.S.C. §§211(b), 216, 217),

and subsection (c) of this section. Any act prohibited

under section 4 of this Act shall be deemed to be a

prohibited act under section 15 of the Fair Labor

Standards Act of 1938, as amended (29 U.S.C. §215).

Amounts owing to a person as a result of a violation

of this Act shall be deemed to be unpaid minimum

wages or unpaid overtime compensation for purposes

of sections 16 and 17 of the Fair Labor Standards Act

of 1938, as amended (29 U.S.C. §§216, 217):

Provided, that liquidated damages shall be payable

only in cases of willful violations of this Act. In any

action brought to enforce this Act the court shall have

jurisdiction to grant such legal or equitable relief as

may be appropriate to effectuate the purposes of this

Act, including without limitation judgments compel-

ling employment, reinstatement or promotion, or en-

forcing the liability for amounts deemed to be unpaid

overtime compensation under this section. Before in-

stituting any action under this section, the Secretary

shall attempt to eliminate the discriminatory prac-

tice or practices alleged, and to effect voluntary com-

pliance with the requirements of this Act through

informal methods of conciliation, conference, and

persuasion.

4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Introduction

This Petition arises from an action brought by Robert

L. McDowell against Avtex Fibers, Inc. (‘““Avtex”) under

the Age Discrimination in Employment Act (“ADEA”).

The jury found Avtex liable. After Avtex agreed to rein-

state McDowell, the trial court exercised its discretion to

establish back pay damages by first calculating the

amount of salary and benefits McDowell lost as a result

of his termination and then deducting, among other

things, pension benefits and unemployment compensa-

tion benefits paid to McDowell. The trial court also

awarded liquidated damages in an amount equal to the

back pay award.

Avtex appealed from that portion of the order award-

ing liquidated damages, arguing that the trial court ap-

plied an incorrect legal standard in finding Avtex’ viola-

tion to have been willful and that, in any event, the evi-

dence was insufficient to support a finding of willfulness.

McDowell cross-apppealed, challenging the deduction by

the trial court of pension plan benefits and unemploy-

ment compensation benefits from his back pay award.

The Third Circuit affirmed the award of liquidated

damages to McDowell, holding that liquidated damages

are appropriate if the employee proves that he was dis-

charged “because of age and that the discharge was vol-

untary and not accidental, mistaken, or inadvertent.”

(A-22; emphasis in original). The trial court had found

“no basis for concluding that the plaintiff's discharge was

not voluntary and that it was accidental, mistaken or

inadvertent.” (A-7).

The Third Circuit further held that McDowell’s back

pay award must be increased in two respects. First, it

held as a matter of law that the ADEA did not permit the

trial judge to deduct from the back pay award the pen-

sion benefits paid to McDowell by Avtex after his termi-

nation. Second, the Third Circuit held as a matter of law

5

that the ADEA permitted Avtex no credit against the back

pay award for unemployment compensation benefits

McDowell received after his termination. In reversing the

trial court’s decision to make these deductions for pen-

sion and unemployment compensation benefits, the

Third Circuit in effect determined that the trial court lacks

discretion under the ADEA to deduct these items from

back pay awards.

Factual Background

Avtex manufactures and sells rayon, polyester and

acetate fibers. Avtex once operated five manufacturing

plants, but in late 1979 and early 1980 was forced to close

two of its plants, in Virginia and West Virginia, because

of poor business conditions. Avtex laid off all 1,350 man-

ufacturing employees at those facilities, and made pro-

portionate reductions elsewhere in support staff.

McDowell conceded at trial that the reduction was re-

quired by poor business conditions in the fiber markets

and the economy in general. Before the layoffs, McDowell

was a research chemist with Avtex’ Research & Devel-

opment Department in Front Royal, Virginia. The De-

partment consisted of thirty professional employees and

twenty-eight technicians. McDowell’s supervisor, Mr.

Hettich, was instructed by Avtex management to reduce

the Department’s staff by seventeen employees (J.A

174-75).° Accordingly, nine professionals and eight tech-

nicians were terminated.* Hettich testified that he ter-

3. References to the parties’ Joint Appendix filed in the Third

Circuit appear as “J.A. ”

4. Before the reduction-in-force, seventy-three percent of the

professional employees in the Department were older than fifty years

of age (J.A.194). After the reduction-in-force, seventy-one percent of

the professional employees in the Department were older than fifty

(J.A. 195). Viewing the Department as a whole, both professionals

and technicians, fifty-three percent of all employees were older than

fifty years of age before the reduction-in-force, while fifty-four per-

cent of the retained employees were older than fifty.

6

minated McDowell because the bulk of McDowell’s work

was in research and product development, two areas

which Avtex decided to cut back (J.A. 175-76, 178). Het-

tich further testified that McDowell did not fully under-

stand cost and budget procedures (J.A. 152); did not ad-

equately communicate with his superiors about the plan-

ning and progress of his work (J.A. 152, 157); had acted

without Hettich’s approval in committing Avtex to a se-

crecy agreement (J.A. 161); and had_ refused

management’s request that he assist in the installation of

an experimental laboratory (J.A. 169-73).

. McDowell thereafter filed suit against Avtex alleging

that his discharge violated the ADEA. The case was tried

before United States Magistrate William F. Hall, Jr. pur-

suant to the parties’ stipulation under 28 U.S.C. §636(c),

which permits federal magistrates, with the parties’

consent, to try both jury and non-jury cases and to enter

final judgments appealable directly to the Court of Ap-

peals.

The liability issue was submitted to a jury. McDowell

openly conceded that he had no direct evidence that he

was discriminated against by age (J.A. 37); he produced

no evidence that Hettich was aware that he was discrim-

inating by age in terminating him. The inferential evi-

dence adduced by McDowell was as follows: First,

McDowell’s statistician testified that there was a statis-

tically significant relationship between the ages of the

older employees and the chance that they would be ter-

minated. Avtex’ statistician, using a different statistical

test, disagreed. Neither expert testified that the statisti-

cal test used by the other was inappropriate. Both opin-

ions went to the jury. Second, McDowell attempted to

show that three younger retained employees were less

valuable to the Department than he was. Third, McDowell

introduced salary increase forms for two younger em-

ployees. One referred to the employee as having “good

potential” and the other referred to the employee as “one

of the very few bright young men in our department.”

7

(J.A. 105-06). McDowell’s counsel suggested in her ex-

amination of Hettich that these comments evidenced his

“unconscious preference for youth” (J.A. 103-06), and

emphasized repeatedly in her closing statement that Het-

tich unconsciously discriminated against McDowell be-

cause of his age (J.A. 61-65).

The jury returned a verdict that Avtex had violated

the ADEA in terminating McDowell. The jury made no

determination concerning the willfulness of that viola-

tion. Upon stipulation by the parties, the issues of

damages, liquidated damages and other relief were then

submitted to Magistrate Hall.

After the verdict, on Avtex’ initiative (A-8 through

A-11), McDowell was reinstated to his former position

with Avtex, with a salary reflecting the raises he would

have been eligible to receive in the period since his

termination, and with full pension and other benefits as

though he had never been terminated.

The Trial Court’s Damage Calculation

McDowell having been reinstated, the remaining re-

medial issues were submitted to Magistrate Hall. Mag-

istrate Hall entered an Order awarding McDowell

$47,593.01 in back pay and benefits, and an equal amount

as liquidated damages (A-7).

In calculating the amount necessary to make

McDowell whole, Magistrate Hall totalled the amount of

salary and benefits McDowell would have earned had he

not been terminated. From that amount, Magistrate Hall

first deducted McDowell’s termination and vacation pay,

and the amounts McDowell had earned from other em-

ployment after his termination (A-2). McDowell did not

object to these deductions.

Magistrate Hall next deducted the pension payments

McDowell had received after his discharge, finding that

McDowell would not have received those amounts ex-

8

cept for his discharge? (A-3).

McDowell had also received certain unemployment

compensation benefits after his termination. The parties

stipulated that those payments were made in part from

the state unemployment funds of Virginia and Pen-

nsylvania, and in part by the United States Government

pursuant to the Trade Act of 1974, 19 U.S.C. § 2101 et

seq. Finding that the deductibility of unemployment com-

pensation benefits was a matter committed to his

discretion, Magistrate Hall deducted from McDowell’s

back pay award the benefits paid from the state unem-

ployment funds to which Avtex had contributed, but not

the payments made pursuant to the Trade Act.

The foregoing computation resulted in a back pay

award of $47,593.01 (A-5).

With respect to McDowell’s request for liquidated

damages, Magistrate Hall relied on Wehr v. Burroughs

Corp., 619 F.2d 276, 283 (3rd Cir. 1980), in which the

Third Circuit, in addressing the proof necessary to sup-

port an award of liquidated damages, concluded that “|i]t

is sufficient to prove that the company discharged the

employee because of age and that the discharge was vol-

untary and not accidental, mistaken or inadvertent” (A-

6). Magistrate Hall first found that the jury’s verdict on

liability established that McDowell was discharged be-

cause of age® (A-7). Turning to the second part of the

Wehr test and applying it literally, Magistrate Hall found

“no basis for concluding that the plaintiff's discharge was

not voluntary and that it was accidental, mistaken or

inadvertent.” (A-7) (emphasis added). The trial court

therefore concluded that McDowell was entitled to liq-

uidated damages.

5. The parties stipulated that the Avtex pension plan is wholly

funded by Avtex.

6. The ADEA makes it unlawful for an employer to “discharge

any individual . .. because of such individual’s age.” 29 U.S.C. § 623

(a) (1).

9

Avtex appealed the liquidated damages deter-

mination, contending that the standard applied by the

magistrate made liquidated damages automatic upon a

finding of liability because all discharges are voluntary.

McDowell cross-appealed, arguing that the magistrate

erred in deducting his pension and unemployment com-

pensation benefits from the award of back pay.

The Third Circuit’s Decision

The Third Circuit affirmed the award of liquidated

damages and reversed the deductions of pension and un-

employment compensation benefits from back pay.

On the liquidated damages issue, the Court approved

the standard used by Magistrate Hall and the manner in

which it was applied (A-21-24). The Court did not ad-

dress Avtex’ argument that, to recover liquidated

damages, a plaintiff must show that the employer

intentionally, or at least recklessly, violated the ADEA.

The Third Circuit has thus adopted a legal standard by

which liquidated damages are automatic upon a finding

of liability, even if the discrimination is unconscious or

unintentional. This is the most liberal of a perplexing

array of standards for “willfulness” that have been artic-

ulated in the Circuits.

The Third Circuit held that the pension payments

made to McDowell after his termination may not, as a

matter of law, be deducted from the back pay award. The

Court termed pension benefits “indistinguishable [from

unemployment compensation benefits] for purposes of

deciding this case”, and characterized them as “collateral

benefits” to McDowell, notwithstanding that Avtex was

the sole contributor to the pension fund and the parties

had agreed that McDowell’s pension account would be

restored to the level it would have achieved had McDowell

never been discharged or received post-termination ben-

efits (A-19-21). No court had ever before held that post-

termination pension benefits may not be deducted from

10

a back pay award where the plaintiff's pension plan is

fully restored.

On the question whether Avtex was entitled toacredit

against the back pay award for the unemployment com-

pensation benefits received by McDowell after his

discharge, the Third Circuit became the first Court of

Appeals to hold that the trial judge lacks the discretion

under the ADEA to deduct such benefits.

ARGUMENT

I. THISCOURT SHOULD RESOLVE THE CONFLICT IN

THE COURTS OF APPEALS AS TO WHAT CONSTI-

TUTES A “WILLFUL VIOLATION” OF THE ADEA

Introduction

The ADEA provides that liquidated damages are pay-

able “only in cases of willful violations of this Act.” 29

U.S.C. §626(b). The term “willful” is not defined in the

ADEA, and the Circuits have reached different conclu-

sions as to the meaning of that term. This Court has al-

ready recognized the conflict among the Circuits by

granting certiorari in Trans World Airlines, Inc. v.

Thurston, No. 83-997, cert. granted, ____ U.S. ____, 104

S.Ct. 1412 (1984)’ on the issue “whether specific intent

to discriminate is necessary to establish willfulness” un-

der the ADEA.

The Statutory Language

Section 4(a) of the ADEA makes it unlawful for an

employer “to discharge any individual or otherwise dis-

criminate against any individual ... because of such

individual’s age.” 29 U.S.C. §623(a). This prohibition is

7. That case has been consolidated with Air Line Pilots As-

sociation, International v. Thurston, No. 83-1325, cert. granted,

U.S. , 104 S. Ct. 1706 (1984). Oral argument is scheduled

for October 9, 1984.

a ee F

11

enforced by express incorporation of the remedial rights

and procedures of the Fair Labor Standards Act (“FLSA”),

with certain specific exceptions. 29 U.S.C. §626(b)

(incorporating 29 U.S.C. §§211(b), 216(b) and 216(c)

and 217 of the FLSA). One of those exceptions involves

the award of liquidated damages.

The FLSA provides for the recovery of liquidated

damages equal to the pecuniary losses sustained by the

employee by way of lost wages, salary increases, and other

benefits. 29 U.S.C. §216(b). The award of liquidated dam-

ages is automatic for a violation of the FLSA. See, e.g.,

Barcelona v. Tiffany English Pub, Inc., 597 F.2d 464,

468 (5th Cir. 1979). Cf. Crosland v. Charlotte Eye, Ear

and Throat Hospital, 686 F.2d 208, 216-17 (4th Cir.

1982); Syvock v. Milwaukee Boiler Mfg. Co., 665 F.2d

149, 154 (7th Cir. 1981). Section 7(b) of the ADEA,

however, authorizes the award of liquidated damages

“only in cases of willful violations.” 29 U.S.C. §626(b)

(emphasis added). By authorizing the award of liqui-

dated damages only in cases of willful violations, and

thereby departing from the automatic award of those dam-

ages under the FLSA, Congress clearly intended to cre-

ate two levels of liability under the ADEA: non-willfu!

and willful. In Lorillard v. Pons, 434 U.S. 575, 581 (1978),

this Court observed that “while incorporating into the

ADEA the FLSA provisions authorizing awards of liqui-

dated damages, Congress altered the circumstances un-

der which such awards would be available in ADEA ac-

tions by mandating that such damages be awarded only

where the violation of the ADEA is willful.” (Emphasis

added). See also Syvock v. Milwaukee Boiler Mfg. Co.,

665 F.2d 149, 155 (7th Cir. 1981) (‘the legislative his-

tory of the ADEA suggests that the Congressional fram-

ers thought that non-willful discrimination towards an

individual was quite possible”).

12

Standards for Willfulness in the Circuits

This Court has recognized that “willful... is a word

of many meanings, its construction often being influ-

enced by its context.” Spies v. United States, 317 U.S.

492, 497 (1943). The Circuits have reached different con-

clusions as to the meaning of “willful” in the context of

the ADEA.

Some Circuits have interpreted “willful” to require

awareness on the part of the employer that its actions are

in violation of the ADEA. For example, the First Circuit

has concluded that an act is “willful” if done “voluntarily

and intentionally, and with the specific intent to do some-

thing the law forbids; that is to say, with bad purpose

either to disobey or to disregard the law.” Loebv. Textron,

Inc., 600 F.2d 1003, 1020 n.27 (1st Cir. 1979). The Sev-

enth Circuit has adopted a similar interpretation, con-

cluding that “willfulness” should be found “only if there

is some showing as to the defendant’s knowledge of the

illegality of his actions.” Syvock v. Milwaukee Boiler Mfg.

Co., 665 F.2d 149, 155 (7th Cir. 1981).

The Sixth Circuit has held that a violation is willful

only if the employer “acted deliberately, intentionally and

knowingly in firing the plaintiff because of his age.”

Blackwellv. Sun Electric Corp., 696 F.2d 1176, 1184 (6th

Cir. 1983). It is not necessary, in order to establish will-

fulness, to prove that the employer was aware of the im-

plications of his actions under the ADEA. Id. The Ninth

Circuit has adopted virtually the same standard. Kelly v.

American Standard, Inc., 640 F.2d 974, 980 (9th Cir.

1981).®

8. The Sixth and Ninth Circuits believed that they were adopt-

ing the standard for willfulness articulated by the Third Circuit in

Wehr v. Burroughs, 619 F.2d 276 (3d Cir. 1980). See Blackwell, 696

F.2d at 1183-84; Kelly, 640 F.2d at 980. The Second Circuit has also

interpreied Wehr to require a knowing and voluntary violation of the

ADEA. See Goodman v. Heublein, Inc., 645 F.2d 127, 131 (2d Cir.

1981). In fact, the Wehr opinion does contain language suggesting

that liquidated damages should be awarded only for intentional vi-

13

The Fifth Circuit deems a violation willful if “the em-

ployer is aware that his actions are governed by the

[ADEA]”, but permits reduction or elimination of the

award if the Court finds that the employer’s actions were

in good faith and the employer had reason to believe its

conduct did not violate the ADEA. Hedrick v. Hercules,

Inc., 658 F.2d 1088, 1096 (5th Cir. 1981).° The Fourth

and Tenth Circuits have adopted the same standard, but

without the “good faith” exception. EEOC v. Prudential

Federal Savings and Loan Association, __ F.2d __,

35 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 783, 790( 10th Cir. 1984);

Crosland v. Charlotte Eye, Ear & Throat Hospital, 686

F.2d 208, 217 (4th Cir. 1982).

The Second Circuit requires the employee to show

that “the employer either knew or showed reckless dis-

regard for the matter of whether its conduct was prohib-

ited by the ADEA.” Air Line Pilots Association, Inter-

national v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 713 F.2d 940,

956 (2d Cir. 1983), cert. granted sub nom., Trans World

Airlines, Inc. v. Thurston, No. 83-997, US. ;

olations. See Wehr, 619 F.2d at 283 “|The term ‘willful’] . . . applies

to violations which are intentional, knowing or voluntary... .” The

language of the Wehr Court applied by the trial court and approved

by the Third Circuit in the present case, however, was as follows:

“It is sufficient to prove that the company discharged the em-

ployee because of age and that the discharge was voluntary and

not accidental, mistaken, or inadvertent.” 619 F.2d at 283.

This standard does not require an intentional violation, but only an

intentional act that is later found to be discriminatory. Kelly,

Blackwell and Goodman, therefore, apparently misinterpreted Wehr.

9. This “good faith” standard is rooted in the Fifth Circuit's

holding that Section 11 of the Portal-to-Portal Pay Act, 29 U.S.C.

§260, which amends the enforcement provisions of the FLSA in-

corporated into the ADEA, is itself incorporated into ADEA. See Hays

v. Republic Steel Corp., 531 F.2d 1307 (5th Cir. 1976). The other

Circuits that have considered the question whether the Section 11

good faith standard applies in ADEA cases have held to the contrary.

See, e.g., Loeb v. Textron, Inc., 600 F.2d 1003, 1020 (1st Cir. 1979).

14

104 S. Ct. 1412 (1984). The Court emasculated that

standard, however, by going on to hold that “|i]n a dis-

criminatory treatment case ... an employer’s action, if

taken because of an impermissible factor such as age,

cannot be the result of negligence, mistake, or other in-

nocent reason.” 713 F.2d at 956 (emphasis in original).

In the present case, the Third Circuit had adopted a

standard for willfulness which requires merely that the

actions of the employer be voluntary and not accidental,

mistaken, or inadvertent:

“It is sufficient to prove that the company discharged

the employee because of age and that the discharge

was voluntary and not accidental, mistaken, or

inadvertent.” Opinion of the Court below (A-23),

quoting from Wehr v. Burroughs Corp.,619 F.2d 276,

283 (3d Cir. 1980) (emphasis in original). !°

Consequently, once an employee shows that his dis-

charge was voluntary, the employee is entitled to liqui-

dated damages, as a matter of law, without any evidence

that the employer knew, or recklessly disregarded,

whether its actions were violative of the ADEA. Since

discharges are voluntary in nature, and not accidental,

mistaken or inadvertent, this standard eliminates any

meaningful distinction between willful violations of the

ADEA and violations that are not willful. This standard

appears to lead to an automatic award of liquidated

10. The Third Circuit went on to state an alternative test: “In

our view, it would also be sufficient to prove that the discharge was

precipitated in reckless disregard of consequences.” Opinion of the

Court below (A-22), quoting from Wehr v. Burroughs Corp., 619

F.2d 276, 283 (3d Cir. 1980). Since the award of liquidated damages

will be automatic in nearly every case of age discrimination, under

the test quoted in the text, it is hard to imagine a case of age dis-

crimination which would call for application of the test quoted in

this footnote. Thus, at the trial level in this case, Magistrate Hall

found it necessary to apply only the first test.

15

damages, even though Congress chose statutory lan-

guage indicating that the award of liquidated damages

was to be the exception and not the rule:

“Provided, that liquidated damages shall be payable

only in cases of willful violations of this Act.” 29

U.S.C. §626(b) (emphasis added).

This Court has recognized that in enacting the ADEA

“Congress exhibited both a detailed knowledge of the

FLSA provisions and their judicial interpretation and a

willingness to depart from those provisions regarded as

undesirable or inappropriate for incorporation.” Lorillard

v. Pons, supra, 434 U.S. at 581. With respect to the re-

medial provisions of the FLSA, Congress chose to depart

from the automatic award of liquidated damages by pro-

viding that such damages shall be payable “only in cases

of willful violations.” The Third Circuit, however, has

adopted a standard for willfulness that virtually reads this

statutory language out of the ADEA, in contravention of

the principle that a statute “ ‘ought. . . to be so construed

that. . .noclause, sentence, or word shall be superfluous,

void or insignificant.” United States v. Campos-

Serrano, 404 U.S. 293, 301 n.14 (1971). A better stan-

dard for “willfulness” is that the employer act with knowl-

edge that (or at least reckless disregard as to whether) its

actions violate the ADEA. This standard will preserve a

meaningful distinction between willful and non-willful

violations of the ADEA.

The Legislative History

The legislative history of the ADEA shows that Con-

gress intended to draw a meaningful distinction between

willful and non-willful violations, so that the award of

liquidated damages would be the exception and not the

rule. The original bill made it a crime to willfully commit

any practice made unlawful by the bill. That criminal

provision was eliminated, however, and replaced by the

16

current provision authorizing the award of liquidated

damages in cases of willful violations. In explaining the

elimination of criminal penalties, Senator Javits made it

clear that liquidated damages were intended to serve as

a penalty (without the higher standard of proof associ-

ated with criminal penalties):

“(T]he criminal penalty in cases of willful violation

has been eliminated and a double damage liability

substituted. This will furnish an effective deterrent

to willful violations and at the same time avoid the

difficult problems of proof which would occur under

a criminal provision.” 113 Cong. Rec. 7076 (1976)

(emphasis added).

As the Fifth Circuit has recognized, “it is quite ap-

parent that Senator Javits ... held the view that liqui-

dated damages could effectively supply the deterrent and

punitive purposes which both criminal penalties and pu-

nitive damages normally serve.” Dean v. American Se-

curity Insurance Co., 559 F.2d 1036, 1040 (5th Cir.

1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1066 (1978). See also Rog-

ers v. Exxon Research & Engineering Co., 550 F.2d 834,

840 (3d Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1022 (1978):

Smith and Leggette, Recent Issues in Litigation Under

the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, 41 Ohio St.

L. J. 349, 369 (1980). Generally, to recover punitive

damages, there must be “circumstances of aggravation

or Outrage, such as spite or ‘malice’ or a fraudulent or evil

motive on the part of the defendant, or such conscious

and deliberate disregard of the interests of others that his

conduct may be called willful or wanton.” W. Prosser,

The Law of Torts §15 at 9-10 (4th Ed. 1971) (footnotes

omitted). The standard for willfulness articulated by the

Third Circuit, which requires no evidence that the em-

ployer knew or recklessly disregarded whether his ac-

tions were prohibited, is incompatible with the punitive

purpose of liquidated damages. See, e.g., Lake Shore &

Mich. S. Ry. Co. v. Prentice, 147 U.S. 101, 107 (1893)

17

(“guilty intention on the part of the defendant is required

in order to charge him with exemplary or punitive

damages”).

The legislative history also shows an awareness by

Congress that a violation of the ADEA may arise from

unconscious age discrimination. Syvock v. Milwaukee

Boiler Mfg. Co.,665 F.2d 149, 155(7th Cir. 1981). Indeed,

a number of Circuits have recognized that a violation of

the ADEA may arise from unconscious discrimination

because of age. See, e.g., Kelly v. American Standard,

Inc., 640 F.2d 974, 980 (9th Cir. 1981); Smith v. Uni-

versity of North Carolina, 632 F.2d 316, 337 (4th Cir.

1980); Blackwell v. Sun Electric Corp., 696 F.2d 1176,

1184 (6th Cir. 1983). Yet under the standard for willful-

ness articulated by the Third Circuit, unconscious dis-

crimination will constitute a willful violation, so long as

the actions of the employer were voluntary and not ac-

cidental, mistaken, or inadvertent. '' Clearly Congress did

not intend to subject employers to punitive penalties, in

the form of liquidated damages, in cases of unconscious

discrimination. As the Seventh Circuit properly con-

cluded in Syvock v. Milwaukee Boiler Mfg. Co., supra,

665 F.2d at 155:

11. In appealing to the Third Circuit, Avtex contended not only

that the trial court had applied an incorrect legal standard, but also

that the evidence in this case was insufficient to support a finding

of “willfulness” under the ADEA. The Third Circuit’s Opinion in this

case, after concluding that the trial court applied the correct legal

standard for liquidated damages, goes on, in footnote 6 (A-23), to

cite certain items of evidence and to state: “We believe this evidence

is sufficient to support a finding of willfulness.”

The evidence in question, however, has never been evaluated

by a fact finder pursuant to a legal standard which requires any

inquiry into defendant's state of mind. Beyond that, Avtex continues

to maintain that a finding of “willful violation” cannot be made in

this case. The evidence cited in the Third Circuit’s footnote 6 (A-23),

upon analysis, is the kind of inferential evidence which could sup-

port a liability verdict. But there is no evidence — and the Third

Circuit cites none — which even implies a willful violation of the

law.

18

“(The standard for willfulness] must distinguish

those situations in which an employer consciously

discriminates against an employee because of age

from those in which the discrimination is uncon-

scious. This distinction is just as necessary in dis-

parate treatment cases as it is when the plaintiff sues

on a discriminatory impact theory. We think that a

finding of willfulness should lie only if there is some

showing as to the defendant’s knowledge of the il-

legality of his actions” (footnote omitted).

In sum, the standard for willfulness articulated by

the Third Circuit in the present case is contrary to the

statutory language and legislative history of the ADEA,

and is inconsistent with the standards adopted by other

Circuits. In light of the conflict among the Circuits, and

the importance of the ADEA in civil rights litigation, cer-

tiorari should be granted in this case.

Il. THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE THE CONFLICT

IN THE CIRCUITS CONCERNING THE POWER OF

THE DISTRICT COURTS TO DEDUCT PENSION

AND UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION BENE-

FITS FROM BACK PAY AWARDS IN APPROPRI-

ATE CASES

This case presents the Court with the opportunity to

provide the lower courts and the business community

with much-needed guidance as to how damages should

be ascertained for a violation of the ADEA. The Third

Circuit’s unprecedented ruling that trial courts have no

discretion to allow deductions against back pay for pen-

sion and unemployment compensation benefits received

by a terminated employee violates Congress’ intentions

as expressed in Section 7(b) of the ADEA, 29 U.S.C.

§626(b), and conflicts with all previous judicial interpre-

tations of thatprovision.

The remedial provision of the ADEA, Section 7(b),

provides in pertinent part:

Te

19

“In any action brought to enforce this Act, the court

shall have jurisdiction to grant such legal or equi-

table relief as may be appropriate to effectuate the

purposes of this Act....” 29 U.S.C. §626(b)

(emphasis added). !*

Courts have repeatedly emphasized that awards under

this provision should make the plaintiff “whole.” See, e.g.,

Cline v. Roadway Express, Inc., 689 F.2d 481, 490 (4th

Cir. 1982) (the “ordering equitable principle is that a

conpensatory back pay award should only make thé

wrongly discharged employee monetarily whole under his

employment contract; it should not provide a windfall.”’).

Cf. Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 418

(1975) (the purpose of a back-pay award under Title VII,

42 U.S.C. §2000 e-5(g), is “to make persons whole for

injuries suffered on account of unlawful discrimination”).

The Third Circuit itself recognized in Rodriguez v.

Taylor, 569 F.2d 1231, 1238 (3d Cir. 1977), cert. denied,

436 U.S. 913 (1978) that the make-whole objective

“should be the touchstone for the district courts in fash-

ioning both legal and equitable remedies in age discrim-

ination cases.” Applying that principle, the Court in

Rodriguez held that an employer is entitled to a credit

against an ADEA back pay award for the full amount of

plaintiff's earnings from other employment in the period

after his illegal termination:

“{A] victim of employment discrimination is entitled

to be restored to the economic position he would have

occupied but for the unlawful discrimination. The

only provision in ADEA authorizing more favorable

pecuniary relief stipulates liquidated damages be cal-

culated on the basis of the underlying compensatory

12. The argument has been rejected that by failing to specify

deductions from back-pay awards — as is done in Title VII, 42 U.S.C.

§2000 e-5(g) — Congress did not intend to allow appropriate de-

ductions under the ADEA. See Rodriguez v. Taylor, 569 F.2d 1231,

1243 (3d Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 436 U.S. 913 (1978).

20

award in the event of a willful violation. By not set-

ting off Mr. Rodriguez’s earnings during the interim

period, the district court’s order affords him income

from two jobs that he could not have simultaneously

performed. Thus, the plaintiff was placed in a better

economic position than he would have achieved had

he not been discriminated against in the first place.”

569 F.2d at 1243. |

Reversing the trial court’s exercise of discretion in

applying these principles, the Third Circuit in this case

has done just what Rodriguez disapproved — it has placed

McDowell in a better economic position than he would

have achieved if he had never been terminated by Avtex.

It has further stripped the trial courts of all flexibility in

calculating back pay awards to effectuate the purposes of

the ADEA. The policies relied upon by the Third Circuit

in reaching its result are irreconcilable with the make-

whole purpose that guides back pay awards in other Cir-

cuits.

A. THE RULE THAT THE DISTRICT COURT HAS

NO DISCRETION TO DEDUCT PENSION PAY-

MENTS FROM AN AWARD OF BACK PAY UNDER

THE ADEA OFFENDS THE ADEA MAKE-WHOLE

OBJECTIVE

The Third Circuit is the first court to hold that pen-

sion benefits paid to an employee after his termination

may not, as a matter of law, be deducted from an ADEA

back pay award. Because this ruling is a marked depar-

ture from precedent, and because it has such far-

reaching consequences, '* this Court should grant certi-

13. For example, the brief filed in this Court by Trans World

Airlines, Inc. as Petitioner in Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Thurston,

supra, notes that the pilots involved in that case had been paid re-

tirement benefits of approximately $1.1 million as of December 31,

1981. Brief for Petitioner at 13 n.6. Under the Third Circuit’s ruling,

TWA would not be allowed a deduction in that amount from its back

pay liability even if the pilots were reinstated and treated for pension

21

orari on this issue.

The trial court in this case noted that the pension

plan in question was wholly employer-funded, and that

in reinstating McDowell, Avtex had agreed to restore his

pension entitlements to the level they would have reached

if he had never been terminated (A-3). Exercising its dis-

cretionary judgment, the district court concluded:

“Under these circumstances, where the plaintiff has

been paid pension benefits during the period of his

discharge, which he would not have received except

for his discharge, and he has been reinstated with

his entitlement under the defendant’s pension plan

fully restored by the defendant’s payments to that

plan, the interim pension payments which the plain-

tiff has received should be deducted from the award

of damages for back pay. See, Hannan v. Chrysler

Motors Corp., 443 F. Supp. 802, 805 (E.D. Mich.

1978); Robb v. Chemetron Corp., 17 FEP Cas (BNA)

1535, 1542 (S.D. Texas 1978); see also Tribble v.

Westinghouse Elec. Corp., 508 F. Supp. 14, 16 (E.D.

Missouri 1980).” (A-3 to A-4).

Reversing this exercise of discretion, the Third Circuit

has directed that, as a matter of law, such pension plan

payments are not deductible in computing back pay

awards under the ADEA (A-19 to A-21).

Courts have heretofore uniformly deducted interim

pension benefits from back pay awards under the ADEA.

Hagelthorn v. Kennecott Corp., 710 F.2d 76, 86-87 (2d

Cir. 1983); Orzelv. City Wauwatosa Fire Dept., 697 F.2d

743, 756 (7th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, _ U.S.

104 S.Ct. 484 (1983); Fariss v. Lynchburg Foundry,

F.Supp. __, 35 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 852,

853 (W.D. Va. A August 3, 1984); Malloy v. City of

Duquesne, No. 83-2624 (W.D. Pa. March 9, 1984);

purposes as if they had never been retired or received any benefits

at all.

22

Schulner v. Jack Eckerd Corp., 572 F. Supp. 56, 59 (S.D.

Fla. 1983); Wise v. Olan Mills, Inc., 495 F. Supp. 257,

260 (D. Colo. 1980); Tribble v. Westinghouse Electric

Corp., 508 F. Supp. 14, 16 (E.D. Mo. 1980, aff'd, 669

F.2d 1193 (8th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, _ US. ;

103 S. Ct. 1767 (1983);'* Hannan v. Chrysler Motors

Corp., 443 F. Supp. 802, 805 (E.D. Mich. 1978); Robb v.

Chemetron Corp., 17 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 1535,

1542 (S.D. Tex. 1978).

Similarly, at least two Courts of Appeals have held

that severance pay received by an employee should be

deducted from the back pay award. EEOC v. Sandia Corp.,

639 F.2d 600, 626 (10th Cir. 1980); Laugesen v.

Anaconda Co., 510 F.2d 307, 317 (6th Cir. 1975). An-

other Circuit Court had held that vacation and sick leave

benefits paid to a terminated employee should be de-

ducted. Naton v. Bank of California, 649 F.2d 691, 700

(9th Cir. 1981). The Court in EEOC v. Sandia, supra,

went so far as to hold that the district court had abused

its discretion in failing to deduct the severance payment:

“(T]he cases support the offsetting of severance pay

since it is a payment made wholly by the employer;

thus it is not a collateral benefit and moreover would

not have been made if termination had not occurred

14. The Tribble Court reasoned as follows:

“Though plaintiff's pension benefits were vested, he had no en-

titlement to receive them while he remained in defendant’s em-

ploy. Had plaintiff remained in defendant’s employ he would

not have received any benefits until mandatory retirement at

age sixty five. By virtue of defendant’s violation of the Act, plain-

tiff received [$6,840]. Plaintiffs recovery should only return

him to the financial position he would have enjoyed, but for the

involuntary termination. The jury properly included in its

award the pecuniary loss suffered by plaintiff because he was

not able to work at age sixty five and thereby maximize his pen-

sion benefits. As such, the ‘interim’ pension benefits must be

deducted from the lost wages award as they are, on the cir-

cumstances of this case, virtually identical to severance pay.”

508 F. Supp. at 16 (citations omitted; emphasis added).

23

and, therefore, goes beyond the damages necessary

to place the claimants in a whole position.” 639 F.2d

at 626.

To support its ruling in the present case, the Third

Circuit erroneously labels pension payments as

“collateral” (A-19); erroneously rules that “collateral

benefits” should not be deducted from back pay awards

(A-19 to A-20); and, to support the foregoing, articulates

policies which clearly conflict with the make-whole ob-

jective of the ADEA.

The Third Circuit’s conclusion that the pension ben-

efits in this case are “collateral” simply ignores the fact

that the pension plan in question is wholly employer-

funded (A-3). See, e.g., Naton v. Bank of California, 640

F.2d 691, 700 (9th Cir. 1981) (holding the collateral

source rule inapplicable to vacation and sick leave ben-

efits paid to the employee “because the Bank is the ex-

clusive source of the benefits’’).

More importantly, identifying the source of a pay-

ment as “collateral” does not, even in the Third Circuit,

lead to the conclusion that it should not be deducted. In

Rodriguez v. Taylor, supra, 569 F.2d 1231 at 1238, the

Court determined that the District Court should have de-

ducted plaintiff's interim earnings from other employ-

ment — surely a benefit wholly “collateral” to the de-

fendant. This reasoning is irreconcilable with the Third

Circuit’s decision in the present case.

The Third Circuit identified three policy reasons for

non-deduction of pension benefits. First, it found that

“pension plan benefits are designed to serve social poli-

cies independent of those served by back pay awards”

(A-19). This observation is simply irrelevant to the “make-

whole” objective which in other Circuits — and hereto-

fore in the Third Circuit — has guided the calculation of

back pay awards.

Second, the Third Circuit stated:

24

“[A] rule proscribing [sic] the deduction of pension

plan benefits would dilute the purpose of ending dis-

crimination. . . .” (A-19).

If this is taken to mean that (where possible) ADEA back

pay awards should be higher rather than lower, it ap-

pears to be bad law.'° In any event, the Congressional

statutory scheme utilizes liquidated damages to serve the

function of deterring ADEA violations.

Third, the Third Circuit reasoned that since liqui-

dated damages are awarded in an amount equal to back

pay, Avtex would save two dollars — one dollar in back

pay and one dollar in liquidated damages — for every

dollar by which back pay was reduced (A-20-A-21). Al-

though the Court characterized this as an “inequitable

result,” the same result obtains when an employee’s back

pay award is reduced by amounts the employee earns

from other employment after his termination. See

Rodriquez v. Taylor, supra, 569 F.2d at 1243. Yet no

court has held that the effect of such a deduction is in-

equitable to the employee because he “loses” an equal

amount in liquidated damages. The Third Circuit’s de-

cision in this case wrongly permits the liquidated dam-

15. Among other consequences, such a rule increases the in-

ducement to plaintiffs to seek windfall awards in federal court rather

than accept the results of EEOC or state agency mediation. See 29

U.S.C. §626(b), in which Congress directed the EEOC to pursue

“voluntary compliance with the requirements of this Act through

informal means of conciliation, conference and persuasion.” See also

Johnson v. Al Tech Specialties Steel Corp., 731 F.2d 143 (2d Cir.

1984), in which the Court held that punitive damages and damages !

for mental distress and the like are unavailable under the ADEA:

“In an era of burgeoning federal case loads, Congress’s intent to

resolve as many discrimination disputes as possible in an agency

proceedings rather than in law suits comports with sound prin-

ciples of judicial administration. A system which would permit

complainants potentially to recover considerably larger sums if

they resist settlement and initiate litigation would undermine

this central feature of both Title VII and the ADEA.” Id. at 148.

ee

SE —

25

ages award to dictate calculation of back pay, rather than

vice versa as intended by the statute. See 29 U.S.C.

§626(b).

The Third Circuit’s ruling will have varying effects

depending upon whether the employee is reinstated,

whether his pension plan is restored, whether the plan

itself is contributory or wholly-funded by the employer,

whether the employee is vested or not, and whether the

employee takes a deferred or lump sum payout upon his

termination. If a plaintiff takes a lump sum distribution

of his pension fund, the Third Circuit’s non-deductibility

rule would presumably penalize the employer by that full

amount.

To best deal with the different types of pension plans

and the various circumstances of individual cases, the

decision to deduct pension benefits from a back pay award

should be left to the district court’s discretion — exer-

cised (as Magistrate Hall did in this case) with the object

of making the plaintiff whole.

B. THE DECISION WHETHER TO DEDUCT UN-

EMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION ~— BENEFITS

FROM ADEA BACK PAY AWARDS SHOULD BE

LEFT TOTHE DISCRETION OF THE TRIALCOURT

The Third Circuit’s holding that the district court

does not have the discretion to deduct unemployment

compensation benefits from an ADEA back pay award is

without precedent. Before this decision, the Courts of Ap-

peals had uniformly held that Section 7(b) commits to

the trial court’s discretion the decision whether to make

such deductions. Syvock v. Milwaukee Boiler Manufac-

turing Co., 665 F.2d 149, 162 (7th Cir. 1981); Naton v.

Bank of California, 649 F.2d 691, 699-700 (9th Cir.

1981); Marshall v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., 554 F.2d

730, 736 (5th Cir. 1977).!© See also Boich v. Federal Mine

16. The following district court decisions have deducted un-

employment compensation from ADEA back pay awards: Jacobson

v. Pitman-Moore, Inc., 582 F. Supp. 169, 179 (D. Minn. 1984);

26

Safety & Health Review Commission, 704 F.2d 275,

287-87 (6th Cir. 1983) (Federal Mine, Health and Safety

Act). The Third Circuit’s decision has therefore created

a conflict among the Circuits which this Court should

resolve.

The present case is particularly suitable for review.

At the trial level, Avtex did not rely on the proposition

that employers generally fund state unemployment com-

pensation programs. Rather, Avtex placed before the trial

court a complete factual record of its contributions to the

Virginia and Pennsylvania compensation funds during

the pertinent time period, the decline in Avtex’ work force

during that period, and the payments to McDowell from

those funds. This record demonstrated a close correla-

tion between Avtex’ contributions and the number of its

employees laid off.'!’ On this record, the trial court, be-

NOTES (Continued )

Schulner v. Jack Eckerd Corp., 572 F. Supp. 56, 59 (S. D. Fla. 1983);

Gathercole v. Global Associates, 560 F. Supp. 642, 648 (N.D. Cal.

1983), rev'd on other grounds, 727 F.2d 1485 (9th Cir. 1984); Wilson

v. Wehadkee Yarn Mills, 32 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 847 (M.D.

Ala. 1983); Buchholz v. Symons Mfg. Co., 445 F. Supp. 706, 712-13

(E.D. Wis. 1978); Coates v. National Cash Register Co., 433 F. Supp.

655, 633 (W.D. Va. 1977); Chernoff v. Pandick Press, Inc., 440 F.

Supp. 822(S.D.N.Y. 1977); Bishop v. Jelleff Associates, 398 F. Supp.

579, 597 (D.D.C. 1974); Schulz v. Hickok Mfg. Co., Inc., 358 F.

Supp. 1208, 1217 (N.D. Ga. 1973).

17. The parties stipulated in the trial court that Avtex’ unem-

ployment tax rate in Pennsylvania — based by statute on the amount

of unemployment compensation benefits paid to former Avtex

employees, see 43 Pa. Stat. Ann. §281.1(d) (Purdon 1982) — in-

creased from 2% in 1978 to 6.3% in 1982. The amount of unem-

ployment tax paid by Avtex increased from $201,983 in 1978 to

$549,101 in 1982. During the same period the total taxable wages

earned by Avtex employees in Pennsylvania dropped from

$10,099,154 to $8,715,904. Second Joint Stipulation of Fact 410.

The parties further stipulated that Avtex’ unemployment tax rate in

Virginia — also based by statute on the amount of payments made

to former Avtex employees, see Va. Code §§60.179—60. 184.1 (1982

& Supp. 1983) — increased from 1% in 1978 to 9% in 1981. The

amount of unemployment tax paid by Avtex to the Virginia fund

27

lieving it had discretion in the matter (A-4-A-5), deducted

state unemployment compensation benefits (in the

amount of $3,131.00) from the back pay award (A-5). At

the same time, the trial court refused to deduct benefits

McDowell had received from a federal program to which

Avtex had not contributed (A-5).

Reversing, the Third Circuit ignored the unbroken

line of ADEA decisions committing the decision to the

trial court’s discretion and elected to follow Craig v. Y &

Y Snacks, Inc., 721 F.2d 77 (3d Cir. 1983), in which a

split panel of the Third Circuit had adopted the position

of three Circuits'® that unemployment compensation

benefits may not be deducted from Title VII back pay

awards. However, even under Title VII there is a split in

authority: four other Circuits leave to the trial court’s dis-

cretion the decision whether to deduct unemployment

compensation benefits from a Title VII back pay award.

See Merriweather v. Hercules, Inc., 631 F.2d 1161, 1168

(Sth Cir. 1980); EEOC v. Enterprise Association

Steamfitters Local No. 638, 542 F.2d 579, 592 (2d Cir.

1976), cert. denied, 430 U.S. 911 (1977); '° Satty v. Nash-

ville Gas Co., 522 F.2d 850 (6th Cir. 1975) (without

increased from $165,784 in 1978 to $1,071,315 in 1981. At the same

time, the total taxable wages earned by Avtex employees in Virginia

fell from $16,578,437 to $9,600,000. Second Joint Stipulation of Fact

q11.

18. See Brown v. A.J. Gerrard Manufacturing Co., 715 F.2d

1549, 1550 (11th Cir. 1983) (en banc) (per curiam); Kauffman v.

Sidereal Corp., 695 F.2d 343, 346-47 (9th Cir. 1983) (per curiam);

EEOC v. Ford Motor Co., 645 F.2d 183, 195-96 (4th Cir. 1981), rev'd

on other grounds, 458 U.S. 219 (1982), adhered to original position

on remand, 688 F.2d 951, 952 (4th Cir. 1982) (per curiam). Accord,

Rasimas v. Michigan Department of Mental Health, 714 F.2d 614,

627-28 (6th Cir. 1983) (Hoffman, J., dissenting), cert. denied,

—— U.S. __, 104 S. Ct. 2151 (1984).

19. Affirming the trial court’s deduction of public assistance

benefits from a Title VII back pay award in that case, Judge Oakes

observed that “we are not in the business of redistributing the wealth

beyond making the victim of discrimination whole.” 542 F.2d at 592

(emphasis added).

28

discussion), affd in part, vacated in part on other

grounds, 434 U.S. 136 (1977); Bowe v. Colgate-Palmolive

Co., 416 F.2d 711, 721 (7th Cir. 1969).

This Court’s most pertinent holding, announced in

NLRB v. Gullett Gin Co., 340 U.S. 361 (1950), is that it

lies within the discretion of the NLRB whether to deduct

unemployment compensation benefits from back pay

awards under the National Labor Relations Act. As de-

tailed above, the Circuits are increasingly divided as to

the applicability of this rule to ADEA and Title VII back

pay awards.

The Third Circuit’s ruling in the present case of-

fends the ADEA make-whole objective because

McDowell has been placed in a better position than he

would have occupied had he never been terminated. Far

from undercutting the purposes of the ADEA, the trial

court’s deduction of unemployment compensation in this

case is faithful to the statute’s make-whole objective

which renders irrelevant the issue whether the employer

pays less than he would have paid had the plaintiff had

not received unemployment compensation. The goal to

be achieved is restoration, not punishment. Cf. Craig,

supra, 721 F.2d at 86 (Seitz, J. dissenting) (“by provid-

ing only a make-whole remedy [under Title VII] Con-

gress has made the windfall issue irrelevant”); Robinson

v. Lorillard Corp., 444 F.2d 791, 804 (4th Cir.), cert.

dismissed, 404 U.S. 1006 (1971) (“back pay |under Title

VII] is not a penalty imposed as a sanction for moral

turpitude; it is compensation for the tangible economic

loss resulting from an unlawful economic practice”). The

Third Circuit in Craig in fact acknowledged that the col-

lateral benefit rule “may have somewhat punitive

undertones, as it focuses on what the defendant should

pay rather than what the plaintiff should receive.” 721

F.2d at 83.

The Third Circuit in this case also failed to recognize

that variations in state law relating to unemployment tax-

ation and the differences in the level of benefits paid to

29

terminated employees will prevent its ruling from pro-

ducing uniformity in economic restoration of injured

plaintiffs, even within a Circuit. Committing the deduct-

ibility question to the trial court’s discretion, to be exer-

cised on the basis of the record presented by the parties,

best accommodates the make-whole objective of the

ADEA. As this Court has recognized in the context of

Title VII back pay awards:

“The courts of appeals must maintain a consistent

and principled application of the backpay provision,

consonant with the twin statutory objectives, while

at the same time recognizing that the trial court will

often have the keener appreciation of those facts and

circumstances peculiar to _ particular cases.”

Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 421-22

(1975) (emphasis added).?°

In this case, the trial judge took careful account of

the source of McDowell’s unemployment compensation.

The court deducted the portion that came from the state

unemployment funds to which Avtex contributed, and

refused to deduct the portion that was funded by the fed-

eral government without any contribution by Avtex. The

court’s exercise of its discretion under Section 7(b) was

made with awareness of the ADEA’s remedial objective

and fairly accommodated the interests of employer and

employee. The Third Circuit’s ruling deprives the trial

court of the ability to fashion a back pay award that serves

the ADEA’s make-whole remedial objective and fairness

in particular circumstances. It should be reviewed by this

Court.

20. Recent rulings by several Courts of Appeals which permit

recovery of front pay in lieu of reinstatement have emphasized that

the purpose of the ADEA “is to make people whole and that which

makes people whole is a matter for the discretion of the trial court

under the facts and circumstances of the individual case.” Davis v.

Combustion Engineering, Inc., __— F.2d , 35 Fair Empl. Prac.

Cas. (BNA) 975,980 (6th Cir. 1984) (citing Gibson v. Mohawk Rub-

ber Co., 695 F.2d 1093, 1097 (8th Cir. 1982). See also, Whittlesley

v. Union Carbide Co., __ F.2d ___., 35 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA)

1089, 1091-92 (2d Cir. 1984).

30

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth herein, Petitioner Avtex

Fibers, Inc. respectfully requests that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the opinion and judgment of the Third

Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas A. Allen

1234 Market Street, 17th Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19107

(215) 854-7064

Counsel of Record for

Avtex Fibers, Inc.

LeRoy E. Perper

Brent S. Gorey

Peter J. Mooney

WHITE AND WILLIAMS

Of Counsel

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

ROBERT McDOWELL : CIVIL ACTION

v. - FILED MAY 20, 1983

AVTEX FIBERS, INC __: NO. 81-4822

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

WILLIAM F. HALL, JR. MAY 20, 1983

UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE

In a bifurcated trial of this action brought pursuant

to the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, 29 U.S.C.

§621 et seq. (ADEA), the question of whether the

plaintiff's discharge by the defendant violated the ADEA

was tried to a jury which returned a verdict for the

plaintiff on November 19, 1982. By stipulation the issue

of damages for the unlawful discharge has been submit-

ted to the court. The parties filed Joint Stipulations of

Fact on January 12, 1983 and February 10, 1983 in

which they agree on certain items of damages to which

the plaintiff is entitled.

The plaintiff asks that he be awarded lost earnings or

“back pay,” measured generally as the amount which he

would have earned had he not been unlawfully dis-

charged, and he asks that he be awarded an additional

equal amount as “liquidated damages” to which the

employee is entitled for “willful” violations of the ADEA,

pursuant to Section 626(b).

In December of 1982 the defendant offered to re-

instate the plaintiff, and that offer was accepted in Janu-

ary of 1983. The parties have stipulated that from his

termination in January of 1980 through January of 1983,

the plaintiff would have earned $97,584.00 in salary

A-1

A-2

from the defendant had he continued to be employed by

the defendant.

The parties have stipulated that his salary as of

January of 1980 was $2,445.00 per month and that he

would have received a 7% raise effective August 1, 1980,

making his salary $2,615.00 per month, a 7% raise on

August 1, 1981, making his salary $2,795.00 per month,

and a 7% raise effective August 1, 1982, making his

salary $2,993.00 per month. Thus the salary which he

would have earned from the defendant is as follows:

1980 (11 months) : $27,745.00

1981 (12 months) : 32,295.00

1982 (12 months) : 34,551.00

1983 (1 month) : 2,993.00

$97,584.00

The defendant has conceded that the plaintiff is entitled

to damages for lost health benefits in the amount of

$280.00, making the amount of total damages for back

pay and lost benefits $97,864.00.

The parties have also stipulated that upon the

plaintiff's termination he received payments of $3,054.00

representing pay for vacation, and $1,222.50 represent-

ing two weeks termination pay, for a total of $4,276.50,

which must be deducted from any award of damages for

back pay as follows:

$97,864.00

— 4,276.50

$93,587.50

According to their stipulation the plaintiff was gain-

fully employed elsewhere during the period after his

discharge by the defendant. He was paid $13,267.50 in

1980 and $1,825.00 in 1981 by Dunhill. He was paid

$2,464.36 in 1981 by Chemservices. In 1982, Resource

Technology Services, Inc. paid him $7,732.39, and in

A-3

1983 it paid him $1,500.00. The parties stipulate that

these interim earnings are to be deducted from the

award of damages for back pay:

$93,587.50

26,789.25

$66,798.25

The defendant contends that the award of damages

for back pay should be further reduced by the amount of

$16,074.24 which the plaintiff received as pension pay-

ments upon his discharge, at the rate of $502.32 per

month starting June 1, 1980, for thirty-two payments,

and that it should also be reduced by the amount of

$13,901.00 which he received as unemployment com-

pensation benefits after his discharge by the defendant.

It has been stipulated by the parties that the pension

payments which the defendant seeks to have deducted

from the award for back pay were made from a pension

plan to which the defendant made payments without

contribution by the plaintiff. It has been further stipu-

lated that in re-employing the plaintiff, the defendant

will take the necessary steps so that the plaintiff's pen-

sion benefits will be the same as if his employment with

the defendant had not been interrupted by the dis-

charge, including making whatever contribution to the

pension plan is necessary in order to achieve that result.

Under these circumstances, where the plaintiff has

been paid pension benefits during the period of his

discharge, which he would not have received except for

his discharge, and he has been reinstated with his en-

titlement under the defendant’s pension plan fully re-

stored by the defendant’s payments to that plan, the

interim pension payments which the plaintiff has re-

ceived should be deducted from the award of damages

for back pay. See, Hannan v. Chrysler Motors Corp., 443

F. Supp. 802, 805 (E.D. Michigan 1978); Robb v.

A-4

Chemetron Corp., 17 FEP Cas (BNA) 1535, 1542 (S.D.

Texas 1978); See also, Tribble v. Westinghouse Elec.

Corp., 508 F. Supp. 14, 16 (E.D. Missouri 1980). The

plaintiff's award of damages for back pay is thus subject

to deduction of the pension payments which he received

during the period of his discharge as follows:

$66,798.25

—16,074.24

$50,724.01

In their Second Joint Stipulation of Fact filed on

February 10, 1983 the parties agree that the plaintiff's

unemployment compensation benefits were derived from

three main sources. They have stipulated as follows:

Mr. McDowell’s unemployment compensation ben-

efits were paid in part by the Commonwealths of

Virginia and Pennsylvania from their regular un-

employment compensation funds, and in part by the

United States Government pursuant to the Trade

Act of 1974, 19 U.S.C. §2101 et seq. The specific

amounts are as follows:

Time Period State Unemployment Federal

Compensation Benefits Benefits Total

2/80-6/80.... $1,220 (Virginia) $ 2,606 $ 3,826

2/81-10/81 .. $1,911 (Pennsylvania) $ 8,164 $10,075

:. Peers $3,131 $10,770 $13,901

Thus the state funded unemployment compensation

benefits which the plaintiff received following his dis-

charge totaled $3,131.00 to which, according to the

parties stipulation, the defendant made contributions.

The balance, $10,770.00 were federally funded from the

U.S. Treasury without contributions from the defendant.

See 19 U.S.C. §§2292, 2313.

The decision whether to deduct unemployment com-

pensation benefits received by the plaintiff from the

amount awarded as damages for back pay in an action

pursuant to the ADEA is entrusted to the discretion of

the court. Syvock v. Milwaukee Boiler Mfg. Co., Inc., 665

A-5

F.2d 149 (7th Cir. 1981); Marshall v. Goodyear Tire and

Rubber Co., 554 F.2d 730 (5th Cir. 1977). In exercising

that discretion in this case, I considered the extent to

which the unemployment compensation benefits re-

ceived by the plaintiff were clearly derived from a col-

lateral source, i.e. a source wholly independent of the

defendant. See, Naton v. Bank of California, 649 F.2d

691, 699-700 (9th Cir. 1981). Of the benefits which the

plaintiff received, those paid from state unemployment

compensation funds are not clearly wholly independent

of the defendant in that the defendant was a contributor

to those funds. In contrast, the benefits which the plain-

tiff received pursuant to the Trade Act of 1974, are from

a Clearly collateral source and a deduction of the amount

of those benefits will not be made. The award of damages

for back pay will therefore be reduced by the deduction

of unemployment compensation benefits received by the

plaintiff as follows:

$50,724.01

— 3,131.00

$47,593.01

The plaintiff has also requested the award of “liq-

uidated damages.” The prerequisites to the award of

liquidated damages in an ADEA case are prescribed by

29 U.S.C. §626 which provides, in subsection (b), in

pertinent part, that the provisions of the ADEA shall be

enforced in accordance with the powers, remedies and

procedures provided in the Fair Labor Standards Act, 29

U.S.C. §216(b). Section 216(b) of that act provides, in

pertinent part, that a violating employer: “shall be liable

to the employee or employees affected in the amount of

their unpaid minimum wages or their unpaid overtime

compensation, as the case may be, and in an additional

equal amount as liquidated damages.” Section 626(b)

authorizes the award of liquidated damages as that term

is used in Section 216(b). Section 626(b) provides that

“amounts owing to a person as a result of a violation of

A-6

the chapter shall be deemed to be unpaid minimum

wages or unpaid overtime compensation for purposes of

sections 216 and 217 of this title: Provided, that liqui-

dated damages shall be payable only in cases of willful

violations of this chapter.”

Thus, in order for the plaintiff to be awarded liqui-

dated damages, it must be found that his discharge was

willful. The aforementioned sections supply no defini-

tion of willful; however, the Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit has provided the definition which must be

applied here. In Wehr v. Burroughs Corp., 619 F.2d 276

(3d Cir. 1980), the Court ruled at page 283 that

[C]ongress did not intend to restrict the meaning of

“willful” ... to intentional violations of ADEA. It is

sufficient to prove that the company discharged the

employee because of age and that the discharge was

voluntary and not accidental, mistaken, or inadvert-

ent. In our view, it would also be sufficient to prove

that the discharge was precipitated in reckless dis-

regard of consequences.

In affirming the award of liquidated damages the

Court rejected the defendant’s contention that the Dis-

trict Court erred in charging that willfulness required a

showing that the discharge was done intentionally, de-

liberately and knowingly. Although the court held that

the trial court’s charge placed a higher burden on the

plaintiff than required in establishing willfulness, it

found no reversible error in the trial court’s jury charge,

apparently because the plaintiff prevailed despite the

higher burden imposed upon him.

Applying the definition supplied in Wehr v. Bur-

roughs, supra the issue here is whether the discharge of

the plaintiff was because of age and was voluntary and

not accidental, mistaken or inadvertent. (Alternatively,

the issue can be stated in terms of whether the plaintiff's

discharge was precipitated in reckless disregard of its

consequences. )

A-7

The jury found, based on the evidence presented,

that the plaintiff's discharge was because of age. Upon a

thorough review of that evidence, I find no basis for

concluding that the plaintiff's discharge was not volun-

tary and that it was accidental, mistaken or inadvertent.

I find, therefore, that his discharge was willful within the

meaning of the ADEA and that he is entitled to liqui-

dated damages measured as an amount equal to his net

back pay. Accordingly, the plaintiff is awarded liquidated

damages in the amount of $47,593.01.

The terms of the plaintiff's reinstatement by the

defendant are set out in an exchange of correspondence

between counsel, which has been marked by them as

exhibits A, B and C, copies of which are attached to this

Memorandum and incorporated by reference, and those

terms are further set out in their Joint Stipulations of

Fact filed January 12, 1983 and February 10, 1983. The

parties have stipulated that the plaintiff's salary upon

reinstatement is to be at the rate of $2,993.00 per month,

the rate of his salary effective August 1, 1982. In addi-

tion, the parties have stipulated that in reinstating the

plaintiff the defendant will take the necessary steps so

that the plaintiff's pension benefits will be the same as if

he had not been discharged in January of 1980, but had

instead been retained as an employee through the

present. They further stipulate that the plaintiff, as an

employee 60 years old with 30 years of service, etc., will

be included within the actuarial assumptions, based on

factors including the current assets of the fund, the

number of employees, their length of service, their age,

market conditions, and other factors, which determine

the defendant’s contribution to the pension plan.

An implementing order is attached hereto.

A-8

Alice W. Ballard, Esquire December 22, 1982

Samuel and Ballard

4013 Chestnut Street

Philadelphia, PA 19104

Re: McDowell v. Avtex Fibers, Inc.

Dear Alice:

Irrespective of whether the issues of back pay, etc.,

are settled or tried, and irrespective of whether either

party appeals any issue in the above case, Avtex is

offering to reinstate Mr. McDowell at a comparable sal-

ary and position to what he had before the reduction in

force in January of 1980.

Accordingly, it would be helpful to Avtex to know

what Mr. McDowell’s plans are in this respect — in

particular, when he will be moving back to Front Royal

and coming to work.

Thank you.

Very truly yours,

WHITE AND WILLIAMS

Thomas A. Allen

Ee ————E———

A-9

Thomas Allen, Esquire BY HAND

White & Williams

1234 Market Street

17th Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19107 January 3, 1983

Re: McDowell v. Avtex Fibers, Inc.

Dear Tom:

This will respond to your letter of 12/22/82 about Mr

McDowell’s reinstatement as an Avtex employee.

As I’m sure you can understand, we have some

doubts about the bona fides of the reinstatement offer,

given the position taken by Avtex on the reinstatement

question in its pre-trial briefs. However, if certain assur-

ances (described below) are forthcoming from Avtex,

and if good faith is established, Mr McDowell will be in

a position to start working at Front Royal one month

after the reinstatement terms are agreed to. The re-

quested assurances are as follows:

(1) Mr McDowell’s job will be that of a professional

chemist in the R & D Department, performing

work comparable to that being carried out by

others of that category;

(2) Mr McDowell's salary will be an amount equal

to his prior salary, plus, at a minimum, the

increases received by the still-employed R & D

professionals who have had the lowest total in-

crease since Mr McDowell’s departure. This sal-

ary agreement is without prejudice to our claim

before Judge Hall that Mr McDowell is entitled

to constructive increases in excess of this min-

imum;

(3) Mr McDowell will be entitled to all existing

Avtex benefits at their current levels as if he had

been continuously employed;

(4)

(5)

(6)

A-10

Avtex will suppiy relocation assistance to enable

Mr. McDowell to establish a residence for him-

self in Front Royal (through the purchase of a

small house or condominium), and to sell his

currently-owned house without loss to himself;

Avtex must assure Mr McDowell that he will not

be laid off from his R & D assignment again,

unless the professional staff there is reduced

below five (5) in number, and there is no pos-

sibility of his being absorbed into a plant position

at Front Royal or Lewistown. Alternatively, we

would accept a minimum guarantee of two years

of employment, with regular, at-will status there-

after, equivalent to the position he would have

been in had he worked continuously until 1985;

Mr Hettich will make his best efforts to over-

come what he characterized as communications

problems with Mr McDowell.

I do hope that these assurances can be made, so that

Mr McDowell can enjoy the restoration of his earning

power and professional role. Of course, this letter is sent

without waiver of our right to argue that the reinstate-

ment offer is not bona fide, and that front pay is more

appropriate.

Sincerely,

Alice W. Ballard, Esq.

A-11

854-7064 January 7, 1983

HAND DELIVERY

Alice W. Ballard, Esquire

4013 Chestnut Street

Philadelphia, PA 19104

RE: McDowell vs. Avtex

Dear Alice:

This is in response to your letter of January 3, 1983

requesting assurances from Avtex with respect to its

reinstatement offer. I will respond to your paragraphs by

number.

1. Agreed.

2. Agreed.

3. Agreed.

4. It is impossible to tell what would be requested in

this regard, were Avtex to state a blanket agreement. In

any event, Avtex has already helped Mr. McDowell buy

one house, which he still owns (in addition to his house

in West Chester). Avtex is willing to pay for the move-

ment of Mr. McDowell’s household goods, plus the ex-

pense of a motel for a reasonable period (three weeks) for

Mr. McDowell to find a place to live.

5. Your second alternative is agreeable — i.e. a

minium guarantee of two years of employment — with

the caveat, as a minimal protection to Avtex in this

situation, that Mr. McDowell must behave and perform

his job in a professional manner.

6. Agreed. Of course, this is a two-way street, and it

is presumed that Mr. McDowell will make similar efforts.

Since I started to dictate this letter, you and I have

discussed these matters bv telephone.

We look forward to your client’s response.

Very truly yours,

WHITE AND WILLIAMS

By

Thomas A. Allen

A-12

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 83-1434 and 83-1455

McDOWELL, ROBERT,

Appellant in No. 83-1455

V.

AVTEX FIBERS, INC.,

Appellant in No. 83-1434

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

(D.C. Civil No. 81-4822)

Argued March 8, 1984

Before: ALDISERT,. HIGGINBOTHAM and PECK,°*

Circuit Judges.

(Filed July 12, 1984)

THOMAS A. ALLEN (Argued)

PETER J. MOONEY

WHITE AND WILLIAMS

1234 Market Street

17th Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19107

Attorneys for Appellant, Cross-Appellee

*Honorable John W. Peck, United States Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit, sitting by designation.

Petite hities atu ee ee Te get kd Uns

rll) Soe cette

A-13

ALICE W. BALLARD (Argued)

ANNA M. DURBIN

SAMUEL & BALLARD, P.C.

1500 Walnut Street

Suite 920

Philadelphia, PA 19102

Attorneys for Appellee, Cross-Appellant

OPINION OF THE COURT

HIGGINBOTHAM, A. LEON, JR., Circuit Judge.

This case arises from a claim of age discrimination

under the Age Discrimination in Employment Act

("ADEA"), 29 U.S.C. § 626(b)(1976 & Supp. IV 1980).

Plaintiff/appellee Robert L. McDowell (“McDowell”)

initiated the underlying action against Avtex Fibers,

Inc. (“Avtex"), alleging that his discharge violated the

ADEA. A jury found in favor of McDowell on the issue of

liability, but the issue of damages was submitted to

Magistrate Hall' by stipulation of the parties.

1.

This case was tried before Magistrate William F. Hall, Jr.

pursuant to the parties’ stipulation under 28 U.S.C. 8

636(c)(1). The parties stipulated further that any appeal

would be brought directly to this court. In Wharton-Thomas

v. United States of America, 721 F.2d 922 (3d Cir. 1983), this

court held that a magistrate does have the authority to enter

a final, appealable judgment if the parties consent. Because

the parties have consented in this case, we will consider

Magistrate Hall's order final for purposes of this appeal.

We will refer to this proceeding before the magistrate as the

proceeding before the trial judge or trial court

interchangeably throughout this opinion.

A-14

Magistrate Hall awarded McDowell lost earnings minus

mitigation as compensatory damages and an equal

amount in liquidated damages on the ground that

Avtex’s violation was willful.

Avtex appeals from that portion of the order

awarding liquidated damages arguing that the trial

court applied an incorrect legal standard in finding

Avtex’s violation to have been willful and that, in any

event, the evidence was insufficient to support a

finding of willfulness. McDowell in his cross-appeal

challenges the trial court’s deduction of unemployment

compensation benefits and pension plan benefits from

his back pay award.’

We believe that the trial court applied a proper legal

standard in finding a willful violation of the ADEA and

that the evidence was sufficient to support a finding of

willfulness. We thus affirm the district court's order on

this issue. With regard to the trial court’s deduction of

pension plan and unemployment compensation

benefits from McDowell's back pay award, we find it

imiproper; accordingly, we will reverse that portion of

the order of the trial court and will remand this case for

reconsideration of the damages question in a manner

consistent with this opinion.’

l.

The principal issue before this court concerns the

total amount of damages for which Avtex is liable. In

presenting the issue of damages to the trial court,

McDowell asked that he be awarded lost earnings or

2. Avtex Fibers is the appellant in No. 83-1434 and

cross-appellee in No. 83-1455. McDowell is the appellee in No.

83-1434 and cross-appellant in No. 83-1455.

3. We will grant McDowell's motion to supplement the issues on

appeal and to file a supplemental brief on cross-appeal.

A-15

“back pay” measured generally as the amount which he

would have earned had he not been unlawfully

discharged. Seeking to mitigate damages for which it

would have been liable, Avtex argued that, in addition

to certain agreed upon reductions, the back pay award

should be further reduced by the amounts received by

McDowell as unemployment compensation benefits

and pension plan benefits after his discharge by Avtex.

The parties stipulated that the pension payments were

derived from a pension plan to which Avtex had made

payments without contributions from McDowell.

Moreover, the parties stipulated that Avtex would pay

into this pension plan so as to return McDowell's

pension benefits to the level they would have reached

but for the interruption of his employment due to his

unlawful discharge. McDowell has been reinstated with

his entitlement under the pension plan fully restored.

In addition to back pay, McDowell was awarded by

the trial court an equal amount in the form of

“liquidated damages.” Such damages are proper if

Avtex willfully violated the ADEA. Avtex argued,

however, that the trial court erred in finding

willfulness and that the evidence was insufficient to

support a finding of willfulness.

II.

Mitigation of Damages

A. Unemployment Compensation Benefits

We will address first McDowell's challenge to the

trial court’s deduction of unemployment compensation

benefits from his back pay award. Without benefit of

this court’s decision in Craig v. Y & Y Snacks, Inc.,

(“Craig”) 721 F.2d 77 (3d Cir. 1983), the trial court

A-16

reasoned that the propriety of deducting

unemployment compensation benefits from

McDowell's back pay award under ADEA is entrusted to

the discretion of the trial judge. Accordingly, the trial

court exercised its discretion and found the deduction

of unemployment benefits to be appropriate.

After the trial court decided this case, this court

confronted an identical issue in Craig, id., brought

under Title VII. In Craig, this court aligned itself with

the Fourth, Ninth and Eleventh Circuits and adopted

the rule that unemployment benefits may not be

deducted from a Title VII back pay award. Id. at 85; see

Brown v. A.J. Gerrard Manufacturing Co., 715 F.2d

1549, 1550 (11th Cir. 1983)(in banc)(per curiam);

Kauffman v. Sidereal Corp., 695 F.2d 343, 346-47

(9th Cir. 1982)(per curiam); EEOC v. Ford Motor Co.,

645 F.2d 183, 195-96 (4th Cir. 1981), rev'd on other

grounds, 458 U.S. 219 (1982), adhered to original

position on remand, 688 F.2d 951, 952 (4th Cir.

1982)(per curiam).

Although Craig concerned a Title VII case, we can

find no persuasive reason for reaching a different

result simply because this case involves an ADEA

violation rather than a Title VII violation. There is no

legislative history or case law speaking to this precise

issue. Instead, similarities between Title VII and the

ADEA and this court’s reasoning in Craig require a

holding in this case that unemployment compensation

benefits may not be deducted from an ADEA award.

As the Supreme Court noted in Lorillard v. Pons,

434 U.S. 575, 584 (1978),

[t}here are important similarities between the

two statutes, to be sure, both in their aims - the

elimination of discrimination from the

A-17

workplace - and in their substantive

prohibitions. In fact, the prohibitions of the

ADEA were derived in haec verba from Title

VII.4

Thus, while fashioning a rule to further the ends of

Title VII, the majority stated in Craig that the

deduction of unemployment compensation from a back

pay award may not be left to the discretion of the trial

court. Accordingly, it declared that back pay is “the

presumptive remedy for unlawful employment.” Craig,

721 F.2d at 85.

The majority in Craig reasoned that permitting the

deduction of unemployment compensation benefits

would undercut Title VII's purpose of ending

discrimination to the extent that the back pay award is

reduced by unemployment compensation. Moreover,

the majority relied on Title VII's purpose of

compensating injured victims in a “make whole”

fashion when it forbade the unemployment

compensation deduction. Id. at 84. It quoted with

approval the Fourth Circuit's reasoning that

|alwards of back pay under Title VII should not be

affected by a system of compensation which is

designed to serve a wholly independent social

policy. To decide otherwise would undercut to

some degree the corrective force of a Title VII

back pay award.

4. Title VII with respect to race, color, religion, sex or national

origin, and the ADEA with respect to age make it unlawful for

an employer “to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any

individual.” or otherwise to “discriminate against any

individual with respect to his compensation, terms.

conditions, or privileges of employment,” on any of those

bases. 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a)(1) (1976); 29 U.S.C. §

623(a){1) (1982). Compare 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a)(2)(1970 &

Supp. V 1975). see Rule 3.2(c) with 29 U.S.C. § 623(a)(2)

(1982)

A-18

Id., quoting EEOC v. Ford Motor Co., 645 F.2d 183,

196 (4th Cir. 1981).

The majority also reasoned that enunciating a rule

of law would “foster uniformity in applying the back

pay remedy” and would “avoid the conflicting results

reached when such an issue is left to the discretion of

the district courts, which may differ in their individual

resolution of the legal and policy questions.” Craig, 721

F.2d at 85.

The majority in Craig thus adopted the rule that

unemployment compensation benefits may not be

deducted from a Title VII back pay award. They adopted

this rule even though under Title VII back pay itself is

considered a discretionary remedy. Lorillard v. Pons,

434 U.S. at 584; see Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody,

422 U.S. 405, 421 (1975).

Under the ADEA, however, back pay is not a

discretionary award. Unlike Title VII, the ADEA

mandates that an employer “shall be liable to the

employee or employees affected in the amount of their

unpaid minimum wages. . .” while preserving no

discretion for the district court in this regard. 29

U.S.C. § 216(b). As the Supreme Court indicated in

Lorillard v. Pons, 434 U.S. at 584,

the ADEA incorporates the FLSA provision that

employers “shall be liable” for amounts deemed

unpaid minimum wages or _ overtime

compensation, while under Title VII. the

availability of backpay is a matter of equitable

discretion, see Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody,

422 U.S. at 421 (footnote omitted).

In our view the reasons supporting this court's

decision concerning Title VII in Craig apply even more

so to this case involving the ADEA. Indeed, as stated

above, while th. ends of the two statutes are virtually

identical, the ADEA back pay awards. unlike Title VII

A-19

back pay awards, are not discretionary. Thus, we

conclude that unemployment compensation benefits,

even if supported by contributions by the employer,

may not be deducted from an ADEA back pay award.

See Craig, 721 F.2d at 85; Brown v. A.J. Gerrard

Manufacturing Co., 715 F.2d at 1550.

B. Pension Plan Benefits

Having decided that unemployment compensation

benefits may not be deducted from ADEA back pay

awards, we next turn to the question of whether the

deduction of pension plan benefits should be treated

differently from the deduction of unemployment

compensation benefits. We believe that these two forms

of employee benefit plans are indistinguishable for the

purpose of deciding this case.

Here, pension plan benefits, like unemployment

compensation benefits, are collateral benefits. Both

unemployment compensation benefits and pension

plan benefits are designed to serve social policies

independent of those served by back pay awards. The

employer contributes to both forms of benefits either

directly or indirectly.

Not only should both benefits be treated identically

because of these similarities, but the reasons set forth

in Craig for precluding the deduction of unemployment

compensation benefits from Title VII back pay awards

also support our decision not to allow the deduction of

pension plan benefits even though the wrongful

termination together with vested rights in the benefits

made the employee eligible for the benefits. Just as

with unemployment compensation benefits, a rule

proscribing the deduction of pension plan benefits

would dilute the purpose of ending discrimination,

“[tlo the extent that a back pay award is reduced by

[pension plan benefits) . . .” Craig, 721 F.2d at 84

(analvzed in terms of Title VI] and unemployment

A-20

compensation benefits). Moreover, “awards of back pay

under [the ADEA] should not be affected by a system of

compensation which is designed to serve a wholly

independent social policy.’ Craig, id., quoting Ford

Motor Co., 645 F.2d at 196 (analyzed in terms of Title

VII). Finally, “[t}o decline to deduct state [pension plan

benefits] in computing back pay is not to make the

employees more than whole .. . . Since no

consideration has been given or should be given to

collateral losses in framing an order to reimburse

employees for their lost earnings, manifestly no

consideration need be given to collateral benefits which

employees may have received.”* NLRB v. Gullett Gin

Co., 340 U.S. 361, 364 (1951)(emphasis in

original)(analyzed in terms of the NLRA and

unemployment compensation benefits).

More importantly, deducting pension benefits

received by McDowell from his back pay award could

potentially reduce the amount in liquidated damages to

which he otherwise could be entitled while benefitting

the employer by giving it a windfall -- a result certainly

not intended by the ADEA. This apparent inequitable

result of mitigating the back pay award occurs because

under the ADEA liquidated damages are measured by

doubling the back pay award. See 29 U.S.C. § 216(b).

Consequently, for every dollar deducted from back pay

a dollar is deducted from the liquidated damages

award; thus, the employer would end up paying two

dollars less in total damages for every dollar McDowell

5. We recognize that in those cases involving the NLRA, such as

NLRB v. Gullett Gin Co., 340 U.S. 361 (1951). the Supreme

Court left it to the discretion of the NLRB to determine

whether credit should be given for unemployment

compensation benefits. However, the Court's rationale in

approving the Board's decision which refused to deduct

unemployment compensation benefits seems equally

applicable to this ADEA setup.

A-21

received in pension plan benefits or unemployment

compensation benefits. Hence, even though McDowell

would be made whole as to back pay (that is, he will not

have suffered any net dollar loss), he would not get the

full benefit of the liquidated damages provision.

The employer, on the other hand, would end up

paying less back pay than he would have spent in

actual pay but for the discrimination. Additionally, if

liquidated damages are deemed appropriate he would

pay less liquidated damages than he would have been

liable for paying, but for the pension benefits which

McDowell received.

For these reasons, in this case we believe

unemployment compensation benefits and pension

plan benefits should be treated identically with regard

to the propriety of deducting them from ADEA back pay

awards. Thus, under the rule enunciated in this case,

it would be improper for a court to permit either

unemployment compensation benefits or pension plan

benefits to be deducted from ADEA back pay awards. A

different result would put us in conflict with Craig and

the spirit of the ADEA.

Ill. Liquidated Damages

The final question which we must decide is

whether the trial court applied an improper legal

standard in finding Avtex guilty of a willful violation of

the ADEA and therefore liable for liquidated damages.

We believe that the trial court applied the correct

standard in finding Avtex’s violation of the ADEA to

have been willful. Finally, we conclude that the

evidence was sufficient to support a finding of

willfulness. We therefore will affirm on this issue.

The ADEA states that its provisions shall be

enforced in accordance with the powers, remedies and

procedures provided in the Fair Labor Standards Act.

See 29 U.S.C. § 626(b). Section 216(b) of the Fair

A-22

Labor Standards Act provides, in pertinent part, that a

violating employer “shall be liable to the employee or

employees affected in the amount of their unpaid

minimum wages, or their unpaid overtime

compensation, as the case may be, and in an additional

equal amount as liquidated damages.” 29 U.S.C.

§ 216(b). Section 626(b) provides that “[a}mounts

owing to a person as a result of a violation of this

chapter shall be deemed to be unpaid minimum wages

or unpaid overtime compensation for purposes of

sections 216 and 217 of this title: Provided, That

liquidated damages shall be payable only in cases of

willful violations of this chapter.” 29 U.S.C. § 626(b).

In Wehr v. Burroughs Corp., 619 F.2d 276 (3d Cir.

1980), this court articulated the standard for

determining whether a particular violation under the

ADEA was willful: |

It is sufficient to prove that the company

discharged the employee because of age and that

the discharge was voluntary and not

accidental, mistaken, or inadvertent. In our

view, it would also be sufficient to prove that the

discharge was precipitated in reckless disregard

of consequences.

Id. at 283. (emphasis added).

It is conceded that the trial court correctly used

this statement as the governing precept. See Mem. Op.

at 7, reprinted in App. at 13. In applying this precept,

the court then stated that it could “find no basis for

concluding that the plaintiffs discharge was not

voluntary and that it was accidental, mistaken or

inadvertent.” Id. at 8, reprinted in App. at 14

(emphasis added). That the trial court stated its

conclusion as a double negative is more a matter of

literary style than a stumble into reversible error.

Because the court correctly recognized the burden of

a en ge er

A-23

proof when announcing its choice of the controlling

legal precepts, we are not willing to say that a reviewing

court is required to conclude that a perhaps inartful

linguistic form used to apply the precept demonstrated

a fatal breach.°®

Moreover, even accepting arguendo that the trial

court was stating a burden, we are not inclined to

reverse on this issue because of the distinction

between the burden of persuasion and the burden of

production. The Supreme Court distinguished these

two burdens for Title VII cases in Texas Department of

Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248 (1981).

Although the burden of persuasion, or proof, always

rests with the plaintiff, once plaintiff establishes a

prima facie case of unlawful discrimination, the

burden of production, or going forth with the evidence,

to rebut the presumption shifts to the defendant. “If

the trier of fact believes the plaintiffs evidence, and if

the employer is silent in the face of the presumption,

the court must enter judgment for the plaintiff because

no issue of fact remains in the case.” Id. at 254. If,

however, defendant presents sufficient evidence to

rebut the presumption, the burden of production

6. Avtex also contends that the record does not contain

sufficient evidence to support an award of liquidated

damages. Mr. McDowell introduced evidence that he was

discharged while younger individuals were retained and that

these individuals were less qualified than he. Moreover. he

argued that Avtex’'s justifications for retention of these

younger individuals were a mere pretext for discriminating

against him on the basis of age. In addition, Mr. McDowell

offered expert testimony concerning the statistical

significance of Avtex’s pattern of discharge which fell more

heavily on older employees in the protected class. Finally, Mr.

McDowell revealed information in retained employees’ files

which he argued demonstrated Avtex's preference for

younger employees. We believe this evidence is sufficient to

support a finding of willfulness.

A-24

returns to the plaintiff and merges with his burden of

persuasion to prove intentional discrimination. Id. at

256. This court has applied this burden scheme in age

discrimination cases arising under the ADEA. See,

e.g., Massarsky v. General Motors Corp., 706 F.2d

111, 117-18 (3d Cir. 1983).

The trial court's language can be interpreted as a

determination that the defendant did not meet its

burden of production, a burden imposed on it by

Burdine. By stating that it could “find no basis for

concluding that the plaintiffs discharge was not

voluntary,” it can be said that the trial court was merely

recognizing defendant's silence in the face of the

presumption of discrimination raised by plaintiff. The

entry of judgment for plaintiff, therefore, was not only

correct but mandated by Burdine.

We, thus, conclude that the court did not implicate

the burden scheme and its choice of language,

although perhaps illconsidered, was a matter of style.

To the extent it may be argued that the court did

implicate the burden scheme, we conclude that the

trial court simply determined that the defendant failed

to rebut plaintiffs prima facie case.

We will affirm the district court's finding of

willfulness. We will reverse its finding concerning

damages. Accordingly. we will remand this case solely

for the purpose of applying Craig to the damages

question in a manner consistent with this opinion.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circutt

se an

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.