Amicus Curiae Brief — Gill v. Whitford, 138 S. Ct. 52 (2017) (No. 16-1161)
Supreme Court brief2017
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
| FILED
AUG - 4 2017
No. 16-1161 REPRE EECA
In the Supreme Court of the United States
BEVERLY R. GILL, ET AL., APPELLANTS
Vv.
WILLIAM WHITFORD, ET AL., APPELLEES
ON APPBAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN
BRIEF FOR THE STATES OF TEXAS,
INDIANA, KANSAS, aes GEORGIA,
INDIAN LOUISIANA. Bt ICHIGAN,
MISSO OHIO, O OM
SOUTH CARO an AND WEST VIRGINIA
AS AMICI CURIAE RT OF APPELLANTS
KEN PAXTON Scott A. KELLER
Attorney General of Texas Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
JEFFREY C. MATEER
First Assistant Attorney § MATTHEW H. FREDERICK
General Deputy Solicitor General
KRISTOFER S. MONSON
Assistant Solicitor Genera!
OFFICE OF THE
ATTORNEY GENERAL
P.O. Box 12548 (MC 059)
Austin, Texas 78711-2548
texas. gov
(512) 936-1700
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
III. ..10..nscasiceeiinenabpecnniennnnimanaieidiats 1
SII rs cenersnnatcensatenennemiaeneninnmanmiantinte 2
Fe incertiniendeenicoiiacentnunieininginartansieepnuinsrnamnmniinientatiote 3
I. Legislatures do not act invidiously or irration-
ally, under the Equal Protection Clause, when
they reapportion with a partisan purpose. .......... 4
A. Partisan-gerrymandering claims require
showing that a legislature acted with an
invidious or irrational purpose. ..................... 4
B. Partisan purposes are inherent in
legislature-controlled redistricting, and
there is nothing invidious or irrational
GOW SUE PUTPOBGB, coccccccccecccsccscsccssccnscesseccese0s 7
C. The presumptions of constitutionality and
good faith for government actions,
combined with the many traditional
purposes inherent in any reapportionment,
make it incredibly difficult—if not imposs-
ible—to show invidious partisan purpose. ..... 9
D. The district court did not apply a
presumption of constitutionality and good
faith, and it contravened this Court’s
precedent by equating partisan purpose
WHERE MBVEEIOUS BROGI, .ccccecccccccccccococcesccsccecscesees 13
IL Neither the district court’s nor plaintiffs’ test
presents judicially discoverable and manage-
able standards for determining when a
reapportionment has an invidious partisan
(T)
II
A. The district court improperly relied on a
theory of group—rather than individual—
rights, which leads to a proportional-
representation standard already rejected
Ba EL cxtsserniscnennsinensndeneunpninsnsapenansanstnsonee 17
B. Plaintiffs’ proposed “efficiency-gap” test
does not provide a judicially manageable
el chirctenttmactituanenttnnitdineemnnasimmmnnmatenn 23
I ciciesinrisiendticininiensccntccrnntientiiutereenmmmnmmemannmnigatmmentis 28
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Adarand Constructors, Inc. v. Pena,
TESTES Se aE a ES 17
Baker v. Carr,
SEER 4
Baumgart v. Wendelberger,
Nos. 01-C-0121, 02-C-0366, 2002 WL 34127471
gS 24
Buckley v. Valeo,
eo 5
Burns v. Richardson,
a asia i)
Cal. Democratic Party v. Jones,
i sceuhmiemsennlinsianinatih 5
Chapman v. Meier,
ee 1,14
City of Columbia v. Omni Outdoor Advert., Inc.,
TEE a 10
City of Mobile v. Bolden,
i nrierrneneneseasniemimnnsiiintietl 6, 8, 21
It!
Davis v. Bandemer,
RE i eee 7, 22
Evenwel v. Abbott,
i onan 12
Flemming v. Nestor,
RAT ee ee ee ee 11
Fletcher v. Peck,
SEALE ET RA ENTE ae 10, 11
Gaffney v. Cummings,
| 1, 5, 7, 8, 9, 18
Growe v. Emison,
ET EE tne ee 1,7
Harris v. Ariz. Indep. Redistricting Comm'n,
EE SE I TCC 15
Karcher v. Daggett,
I ein 7,8
LULAC ». Perry,
548 U.S. 399 (2006) ............cccccccecseee 14, 15, 17, 21, 23, 24
McCleskey v. Kemp,
iets 11
McGowan v. Maryland,
ERS eS en RT 6
Miller v. Johnson,
Be III... cccccasssnssansssuengenentnaie 7, 9, 10, 13, 14
Palmer v. Thompson,
TEE TE a emer 16
Perry v. Perez,
I sie 7
Pers. Adm’r of Mass. v. Feeney,
ce ..6, 11
Reno v. Bossier Par. Sch. Bd.,
SD ees SE CUD cenccnsccsccecevecesecnnsezsssnsscnaqnsgnenscenectstoneess 6
Reynolds v. Sims,
I ae cieieaininial 18
Rogers v. Lodge,
TET EE = 5, 6, 8
Shaw v. Hunt,
ci csemneinsaionaiien 17
Shaw v. Reno,
EES EERE Ne ann nee oe 7,12
Smith v. Doe,
TS 11
Sunday Lake Iron Co. v. Wakefield Twp.,
RRR ERE ne 10
Tenney v. Brandhove,
EE aT 12
U.S. Dep’t of Labor v. Triplett,
sina ees cterrenrnenmiantenenininh 10
United States v. Chem. Found., Inc.,
ERE EE 10
Vieth v. Jubelirer,
ESE ae ace ae passim
Vill. of Arlington Heights v. Metro. Hous. Dev.
Corp., 429 U.S. 252 (1977) ...........+.. 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 27
Washington v. Davis,
TERE a ne aD TE 6, 8, 11
Whitcomb v. Chavis,
Ss 5, 18, 19, 21
Constitutional] provisions:
TET ee ane ene aE ee 5, 6
TT vas nrneeetleetnaseennmniciintinmiasintindh 17
RIG ectsiticenannnsisnscvicncteniciatensiaeioni passim
Miscellaneous:
Paul A. Diller, Reorienting Home Rule: Part 1—
The Urban Disadvantage in National and
State Lawmaking, 77 La. L. Rev. 287 (2016)............ 19
Daniel H. Lowenstein & Jonathan Steinberg, The
Quest for Legislative Districting in the Public
Interest: Elusive or Illusory? 33 UCLA L.
BE Ce iniccnttnniecuemnesanninineiiaindiinnisinmecensemnncese 13
Nicholas Stephanopoulos & Eric McGhee,
Partisan Gerrymandering and the Efficiency
Gap, 82 U. Chi. L. Rev. 881 (2015) ............ccccceseee 23, 24
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE
Amici curiae are the States of Texas, Alabama,
Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas,
Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Nevada, Ohio,
Oklahoma, South Carolina, Utah, and West Virginia.
The States have a vital interest in the rules that govern
apportionment of seats for state legislative bodies and
the United States House of Representatives. This Court
has repeatedly held that “reapportionment is primarily
the duty and responsibility of the State through its
legislature or other body, rather than of a federal
court.” Growe v. Emison, 507 U.S. 25, 34 (19938)
(quoting Chapman v. Meier, 420 U.S. 1, 27 (1975)).
And the Court has recognized that reapportionment
by state legislatures is an inherently political task. See,
e.g., Gaffney v. Cummings, 412 U.S. 735, 749 (1973).
The Court has never held that a State violates the Con-
stitution by pursuing or achieving political goals
through reapportionment.
Yet in this case, the district court held that Wiscon-
sin violated the Constitution when it passed Act 43, the
reapportionment plan for its Assembly and Senate, be-
cause that plan was purportedly an unlawful partisan
gerrymander. The district court’s decision invites open-
ly partisan policy battles in the courtroom. This will ex-
pose every State to litigation under a legal standard so
indeterminate that any party that loses in the legisla-
ture has a plausible chance of overriding that policy de-
cision in the courts. The Constitution does not support,
let alone compel, this result.
(1)
2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Plaintiffs’ expert in this case concluded that the
proposed partisan-gerrymandering standard offered by
plaintiffs would have invalidated a redistricting plan in
36 States over the past few decades. That includes
States across the country, from Alabama to Washing-
ton, California to New York, and from Massachusetts to
South Carolina. See infra pp.25-26. Plaintiffs thus pro-
pose nothing short of a paradigm shift in how legisla-
tures and courts approach redistricting.
Yet this Court has repeatedly recognized that legis-
lative reapportionment is an inherently partisan task.
Partisan purpose is thus inherent in the nature of legis-
lative reapportionment. There is nothing invidious or
irrational, under the Equal Protection Clause, about
legislatures having partisan purposes when reappor-
tioning legislative seats.
Furthermore, the district court’s indeterminate
standard does not draw a manageable line between
permissible and impermissible partisan purpose and
effects. This Court has made clear that partisan-
gerrymandering claims are not cognizable based on a
measure of proportional representation between the
statewide votes and seats obtained by a political party.
See infra pp.21-22. Nevertheless, the split decision of
the district court here recognized such a partisan-
gerrymandering claim under an amorphous test—based
on a metric of proportional representation—that could
be used to threaten countless state legislative reappor-
tionment plans. At base, the district court’s reliance on
vote-dilution cases misunderstands the difference be-
tween those claims regarding individual rights versus
the novel group-based right recognized by the district
court.
3
The district court infused proportional representa-
tion into its analysis by relying on plaintiffs’ “efficiency
gap” analysis as “corroborative evidence” of the effec-
tiveness of the declared partisan intent. But this effi-
ciency gap analysis—which calculates a percentage
based on the number of “wasted” votes (that is, votes
for the winning candidate beyond the 50% margin
needed for victory plus any votes for losing candidates)
divided by the total number of votes in the election—
measures nothing meaningful in the real world of a giv-
en district. The efficiency-gap calculation is just de-
signed to achieve a particular type of proportional polit-
ical outcome. Given the Court’s longstanding rejection
of proportional representation, it should not now adopt
a mathematical formula that would require courts to
ensure certain political outcomes for every state legisla-
ture in every redistricting cycle.
ARGUMENT
This Court has repeatedly recognized a widely
known fact: Politics is, and always has been, a part of
redistricting. Far from being invidious or irrational, po-
litical competition is a necessary component of legisla-
tive-controlled redistricting. The district court funda-
mentally misunderstood this Court’s Equal Protection
Clause precedent, which requires a showing of invidious
or irrational purpose—and one that overcomes the
strong presumption of constitutionality and good faith
accorded to legislative acts.
Worse yet, the district court’s test for sustaining a
partisan-gerrymandering claim rests on an untenable
assumption that redistricting plans should produce pro-
portional representation. Moreover, plaintiffs’ proposed
standard would have invalidated redistricting plans in
36 States over the past few decades. Thus, far from
4
eliminating politics from redistricting, the district
court’s test would shift political battles from the
statehouse to the courthouse.
L Legislatures Do Not Act Invidiously or Irration-
ally, Under the Equal Protection Clause, When
They Reapportion With a Partisan Purpose.
Legislatures do not act invidiously or irrationally
when they reapportion with a partisan purpose. And the
Court has recognized numerous times that partisan pol-
itics are inherent in the nature of legislative-controlled
reapportionment. This fatally undermines the existence
of partisan-gerrymandering claims.'
A. Partisan-gerrymandering claims require show-
ing that a legislature acted with an invidious
or irrational purpose.
A claim of unconstitutional partisan gerrymandering
is an allegation, under the Equal Protection Clause,
that a legislature has acted with an invidious or irra-
tional purpose. See, e.g., Vieth v. Jubelirer, 541 U.S.
267, 307 (2004) (Kennedy, J., concurring in the judg-
' The Court can therefore hold that partisan-gerrymandering
claims are not cognizable under the Equal Protection Clause—
wholly apart from any potential application of the political-
question doctrine’s limits on Article III jurisdiction. That said,
the political-question doctrine would independently bar partisan-
gerrymandering claims. Partisan concerns are a constitutionally
appropriate element in the redistricting process, so any parti-
san-gerrymandering standard triggered by the degree of parti-
san interest motivating the plan can have no predictable limiting
principle and is, at base, a question for the political branches.
E.g., Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186, 217 (1962) (holding that,
among other things, the “lack of judicially discoverable and
manageable standards” for resolving a dispute make it a political
question, outside the Judiciary’s power).
5
ment) (a partisan-gerrymandering claim alleges that
“political classifications . . . were applied in an invidious
manner or in a way unrelated to any legitimate legisla-
tive objective”); see also Whitcomb v. Chavis, 403 U.S.
124, 155 (1971) (“it would not follow that the Fourteenth
Amendment had been violated unless [the law] is invidi-
ously discriminatory”); Gaffney, 412 U.S. at 754 (redis-
tricting plan may be unconstitutional if political group is
“fenced out of the political process and their voting
strength invidiously minimized”).
Because a partisan-gerrymandering challenge to a
redistricting plan must allege invidious action, it is
“subject to the standard of proof generally applicable to
Equal Protection Clause cases.”* Rogers v. Lodge, 458
* As support for treating partisan intent as invidious, the dis-
trict court invoked the First Amendment’s freedom-of-
association principle and cases related to the ability of groups to
speak. J.S. App. 109a (analyzing plaintiffs’ claim under combina-
tion of associational rights and Equal Protection jurisprudence);
J.S. App. 176a-77a (concluding that the associational rights of
members of the Democratic Party were impaired because they
could not transform their votes into electoral results); J.S. App.
226a (concluding that individual plaintiffs had standing to pre-
sent harm to Democratic Party). However, partisan intent is
necessarily behind the exact type of speech and association in-
herent in political parties speaking and their members voting
during elections. £.g., Vieth, 541 U.S. at 313-14 (Kennedy, J.,
concurring in the judgment) (a “[rjepresentative democracy .. .
is unimaginable without the ability of citizens to band together
in promoting among the electorate candidates who espouse their
political views” (quoting Cal. Democratic Party v. Jones, 530
U.S. 567, 574 (2000)). The Court has long declined to take a role
in elevating any particular partisan message or outcome in the
election process. E.g., Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 57 (1976)
(per curiam) (“The First Amendment denies government the
power to determine that spending to promote one's political
views is wasteful, excessive, or unwise.”). And it has always de-
scribed the First Amendment as providing access to the political
6
U.S. 618, 617 (1982). The Equal Protection Clause does
not forbid state action that merely affects some individ-
uals differently than others. E.g., McGowan v. Mary-
land, 366 U.S. 420, 425 (1961); see also Pers. Adon'r of
Mass. v. Feeney, 442 U.S. 256, 273 (1979) (“[T]he Four-
teenth Amendment guarantees equal laws, not equal
results.”). A claim of mere disparate effect does not vio-
late the Equal Protection Clause. Washington v. Davis,
426 U.S. 229, 240 (1976); see Reno v. Bossier Par. Sch.
Bd., 520 U.S. 471, 481 (1997) (citing City of Mobile v.
Bolden, 446 U.S. 55, 62 (1980) (plurality op.)).
Plaintiffs’ obligation to prove invidious purpose,
therefore, “is simply one aspect of the basic principle
that only if there is purposeful discrimination can there
be a violation of the Equal Protection Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment.” Rogers, 458 U.S. at 619
(quoting Bolden, 446 U.S. at 66 (plurality op.)).
process, not a right to particular partisan outcomes. £.g., id.
(“In the free society ordained by our Constitution it is not the
government, but the people individually as citizens and candi-
dates and collectively as associations and political committees
who must retain control over the quantity and range of debate
on public issues in a political campaign.”). At any rate, as ex-
plained below, see infra Part II, the tests advanced in this case
do not present the “pragmatic or functional” test that would be
required to administer a First Amendment regime tied to the
election outcomes for the political parties. Vieth, 541 U.S. at 315
(Kennedy, J., concurring in the judgment).
7
B. Partisan purposes are inherent in legisla-
ture-controlled redistricting, and there is
nothing invidious or irrational about such
purposes.
This Court has said time after time that partisan
purposes are inherent in redistricting, for example:
* “Politics and political considerations are insepa-
rable from districting and apportionment.”
Gaffney, 412 U.S. at 753.
« “In the reapportionment context, the Court has
required federal judges to defer consideration of
disputes involving redistricting where the State,
through its legislative or judicial branch, has be-
gun to address that highly political task itself.”
Growe, 507 U.S. at 33.
- “{Rjedistricting in most cases will implicate a po-
litical calculus in which various interests compete
for recognition.” Miller v. Johnson, 515 U.S. 900,
914 (1995).
¢ Redistricting “ordinarily involves criteria and
standards that have been weighed and evaluated
by the elected branches in the exercise of their
political judgment.” Perry v. Perez, 565 U.S. 388,
393 (2012) (per curiam).*
® See also Vieth, 541 U.S. at 285 (plurality op.) (“The Constitu-
tion clearly contemplates districting by political entities ... and
unsurprisingly that turns out to be root-and-branch a matter of
politics.”); Shaw v. Reno, 509 U.S. 630, 662 (1993) (White, J., dis-
senting) (“[D]istricting inevitably is the expression of interest
group politics . . .”); Davis v. Bandemer, 478 U.S. 109, 129 (1986)
(plurality op.) (“As long as redistricting is done by a legislature,
it should not be very difficult to prove that the likely political
consequences of the reapportionment were intended.”); Karcher
8
Consequently, the fact that a legislature reappor-
tioned with a partisan purpose is not evidence that the
legislature acted invidiously or irrationally. See, e.g.,
Vieth, 541 U.S. at 313 (Kennedy, J., concurring in the
judgment) (“({AJppellants’ evidence at best demon-
strates only that the legislature adopted political classi-
fications. That describes no constitutional flaw... .”).
In contrast, when a legislature acts with a purpose
to create a racial classification, for example, that pur-
pose itself is invidiously suspect.* But there is nothing
inherently suspect, invidious, or irrational about a legis-
lature using a partisan purpose when redistricting. Sec
Vieth, 541 U.S. at 307 (Kennedy, J., concurring in the
judgment) (“Race is an impermissible classification.
Politics is quite a different matter.” (citation omitted)).
This Court’s precedent establishes that partisanship
and entrenchment are not invidious purposes—and for
good reason. For example, bipartisan gerrymanders,
which often favor incumbent legislators of both parties,
are permissible. See Gaffney, 412 U.S. 735 (holding that
a redistricting plan drawn by a bipartisan commission
along political lines was not invidiously discriminatory);
v. Daggett, 462 U.S. 725, 763 (1983) (Stevens, J., concurring)
(“Legislators are, after all politicians; it is unrealistic to attempt
to proscribe all political considerations in the essentially political
process of redistricting.”).
* See Rogers, 458 U.S. at 617 (“{I)n order for the Equal Protec-
tion Clause to be violated, ‘the invidious quality of a law claimed
to be racially discriminatory must ultimately be traced to a ra-
cially discriminatory purpose.” (quoting Washinglon v. Davis,
426 U.S. at 240)); Bolden, 446 U.S. at 66 (plurality op.) (“We
have recognized, however, that such legislative apportionments
could violate the Fourteenth Amendment if their purpose were
invidiously to minimize or cancel out the voting potential of ra-
cial or ethnic minorities.”).
9
Burns v. Richardson, 384 U.S. 73, 89 n.16 (1966) (“The
fact that district boundaries may have been drawn in a
way that minimizes the number of contests between
present incumbents does not in and of itself establish
invidiousness.”). Such gerrymanders are just as likely
to involve both an “injection of politics,” Vieth, 541 U.S.
at 293 (plurality op.), and an “intent to entrench” those
who control the process, J.S. App. 117a. But neither vio-
lates equal protection: “[t]he very essence of districting
is to produce a different—a more ‘politically fair’—
result than would be reached with elections at large, in
which the winning party would take 100% of the legisla-
tive seats.” Gaffney, 412 U.S. at 753.
Determining what is “politically fair” is a task left to
the States to resolve through the political process. See,
e.g., Miller, 515 U.S. at 915 (“Electoral districting is a
most difficult subject for legislatures, and so the States
must have discretion to exercise the political judgment
necessary to balance competing interests.”).
C. The presumptions of constitutionality and
good faith for government actions, combined
with the many traditional purposes inherent
in any reapportionment, make it incredibly
difficult—if not impossible—to show invidi-
ous partisan purpose.
Even if the Court were to entertain the possibility
that a drastic, specific type of partisan purpose could
possibly rise to the level of invidious or irrational intent,
it would be very difficult—if not impossible—to sustain
such a claim. This Court’s established precedent makes
clear that any unlawful-purpose analysis requires “ex-
traordinary caution” and faces an exacting standard: it
requires the clearest proof of invidious purpose in light
of the heavy presumptions of constitutionality and good
10
faith accorded to government actions. See, e.g., Miller,
515 U.S. at 916 (recognizing a “presumption of good
faith that must be accorded legislative enactments, re-
quir{ing] courts to exercise extraordinary caution in ad-
judicating claims that a State has [engaged in invidious-
ly-motivated action]”). Plus, any redistricting plan will
necessarily involve traditional, legitimate reapportion-
ment purposes—including compliance with the one-
person, one-vote doctrine, which already significantly
cabins the ability of legislatures to engage in excessive
partisan gerrymanders.
1. The exacting standard for invidious-purpose chal-
lenges to government action is just one application of
the Court’s general recognition that government action
is presumed valid, e.g., Sunday Lake Iron Co. v. Wake-
field Twp., 247 U.S. 350, 353 (1918); that government
actors are presumed to act in “good faith,” Miller, 515
U.S. at 916; and that a “presumption of regularity” at-
taches to official government action, United States v.
Chem. Found., Inc., 272 U.S. 1, 14-15 (1926). These doc-
trines create a “heavy presumption of constitutionality.”
U.S. Dep’t of Labor v. Triplett, 494 U.S. 715, 721 (1990).
This Court, therefore, “has recognized, ever since
Fleteher v. Peck, (6 Cranch 87, 130-31 (1810),] that judi-
cial inquiries into legislative or executive motivation
represent a substantial intrusion into the workings of
other branches of government.” Vill. of Arlington
Heights v. Metro. Hous. Dev. Corp., 429 U.S. 252, 268
n.18 (1977). So the Court has permitted an unlawful-
purpose analysis of government action in only a “very
limited and well-defined class of cases.” City of Colum-
bia v. Omni Outdoor Advert., Inc., 499 U.S. 365, 377 n.6
(1991).
Even when it has permitted an unlawful-purpose
analysis of government action, the Court has
1]
concomitantly stated that any such analysis proceeds
under an exacting standard. As Chief Justice Marshall
explained over two centuries ago in Fletcher,
government action can be declared unconstitutional
only upon a “clear and strong” showing, 6 Cranch at
128.
The Court has thus explained, in various contexts,
that only clear proof of unlawful purpose can allow
courts to override facially neutral government actions.
For example:
¢ When there are “legitimate reasons” for govern-
ment action, courts “will not infer a discriminato-
ry purpose.” McCleskey v. Kemp, 481 U.S. 279,
298-99 (1987) (rejecting equal-protection claim).
« A law’s impact does not permit “the inference
that the statute is but a pretext” when the classi-
fication drawn by a law “has always been neu-
tral” as to a protected status, and the law is “not
a law that can plausibly be explained only as a
[suspect class]-based classification.” Feeney, 442
U.S. at 272, 275 (1979) (rejecting equal-
protection claim); see Arlington Heights, 429
U.S. at 269-71; Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. at
245-48
e Only the “clearest proof” will suffice to override
the stated intent of government action, to which
courts “defer.” Smith v. Doe, 588 U.S. 84, 92
(2003) (rejecting ex-post-facto claim); see Flem-
ming v. Nestor, 363 U.S. 603, 617 (1960) (citing
Fletcher, 6 Cranch at 128).
This exacting standard for an unlawful-purpose
challenge to facially neutral government action exists
for good reason. It keeps a purpose inquiry judicial in
nature, safeguarding against a devolution into policy-
12
based reasoning that elevates views about a perceived
lack of policy merit into findings of illicit purpose. Even
when an official adopts a different policy after criticism
of an earlier proposal, critics can be quick to perceive
an illicit purpose when they disagree with the final poli-
cy issued. See Tenney v. Brandhove, 341 U.S. 367, 378
(1951) (“In times of political passion, dishonest or vin-
dictive motives are readily attributed ... and as readily
believed.”). The clearest-proof standard helps keep the
Judiciary above that political fray.
2. The fact that reapportionment will always neces-
sarily involve traditional redistricting motives in addi-
tion to partisan motives also significantly undermines
any allegation of invidious partisan gerrymandering.
Legislatures in charge of redistricting operate un-
der a “broad mandate,” and their decisions are rarely
“motivated solely by a single concern.” Arlington
Heights, 429 U.S. at 265. Thus, while partisan ad-
vantage is ever present, it is never a legislature’s sole
concern in redistricting. Many other traditional, legiti-
mate factors figure into decisions to draw district
boundaries in a certain way, such as “compactness, con-
tiguity, and respect for political subdivisions.” Shaw v.
Reno, 509 U.S. at 647.
Importantly, the one-person, one-vote doctrine also
significantly cabins the ability of legislatures to rely ex-
cessively on partisan purpose. By requiring districts of
nearly equal population, legislatures are already limited
in how they can use partisan purpose in reapportion-
ment. See, e.g., Evenwel v. Abbott, 136 S. Ct. 1120, 1124
(2016) (“Over the ensuing decades, the Court has sever-
al times elaborated on the scope of the one-person, one-
vote rule.”).
When weighing all these traditional reapportion-
ment criteria, politicians’ attention naturally gravitates
13
towards the “the location and shape of districts [that]
may well determine the political complexion of the ar-
ea,” Gaffney, 412 U.S. at 753, and affect their chances of
reelection or the probability that their favored legisla-
tion will pass. Voters expect no less. See Daniel H.
Lowenstein & Jonathan Steinberg, The Quest for Legis-
lative Districting in the Public Interest: Elusive or /l-
lusory? 33 UCLA L. Rev. 1, 74 (1985) (“[W]hat . . . mat-
ters to almost all Americans when district lines are
drawn, is how the fortunes of the parties and the poli-
cies of the parties stand for are affected. When such
things are at stake there is no neutrality. There is only
political contest.”).
D. The district court did not apply a presump-
tion of constitutionality and good faith, and
it contravened this Court’s precedent by equat-
ing partisan purpose with invidious intent.
Rather than apply a presumption of constitutionality
and good faith while exercising “extraordinary caution,”
Miller, 515 U.S. at 916, the district court did the oppo-
site. It ignored this Court’s precedent by finding invidi-
ous purpose based on the reapportionment drafters’ ex-
pressed partisan purpose in redistricting. F.g., J.S.
App. 126a (purpose of plan was to “secure the Republi-
can Party’s control of the state legislature for the de-
cennial period”); J.S. App. 126a-36a (drafters consid-
ered partisan data to predict outcome); J.S. App. 139a
(drafters considered partisan effects and “durability” of
their plan). Evidence of partisan purpose is not evi-
dence of invidious intent. See supra Part 1.B. But under
the district court’s approach, any effort to secure a
marginal partisan advantage might qualify as prohibit-
ed invidious discrimination.
14
Problematically, the district court shifted the bur-
den to Wisconsin to provide a non-partisan rationale for
its redistricting, essentially treating partisan motive as
invidiously suspect. Requiring that States minimize the
partisan effects of redistricting—and tasking courts
with ensuring that they do—invites massive judicial in-
tervention in the redistricting process and draws courts
further into the “political thicket” than this Court’s ap-
portionment jurisprudence has ever envisioned: “Fed-
eral-court review of districting legislation represents a
serious intrusion on the most vital of local functions.”
Miller, 515 U.S. at 915. And redistricting is a “duty and
responsibility of the State through its legislature.”
Chapman, 420 U.S. at 27. Pervasive judicial involve-
ment is “unwelcome,” from the perspective of both the
States and the courts, because decennial reapportion-
ment “is one of the most significant acts a State can
perform to ensure citizen participation in republican
self-governance.” LULAC v. Perry, 548 U.S. 399, 416
(2006) (plurality op.).
Nor would the States find any comfort in “a
sensitive inquiry into such circumstantial and direct
evidence of intent as may be available.” J.S. App. 123a
(quoting Arlington Heights, 429 U.S. at 266).
Circumstantial evidence—and likely direct evidence—
will presumably abound with indicators of political
motive. See, e.g., Vieth, 541 U.S. at 347-50 (Souter, J.,
dissenting) (“[UJnder a plan devised by a single major
party, proving intent should not be hard, . . . politicians
not being politically disinterested or characteristically
naive.”). And the “components of the analysis” under
Arlington Heights, JS. App. 17la, are not necessary
elements of any claim; they are merely circumstantial-
evidence “subjects of proper inquiry” that can be
analyzed to determine whether the independent
15
elements of the underlying claim are satisfied. 429 U.S.
at 268.
Contrary to the district court’s suggestion, court- or
commission-drawn plans will also be subject to exten-
sive litigation. A recent case before this Court proves
that claims of partisan gerrymandering will not “stall,”
J.S. App. 17la, merely because a court or commission
drew the challenged plan, see Harris v. Ariz. Indep.
Redistricting Comm’n, 136 8. Ct. 1301, 1807 (2016) (re-
jecting claim that deviations from population equality
resulted from the redistricting commission’s “political
efforts to help the Democratic Party”).
Il. Neither the District Court’s nor Plaintiffs’ Test
Presents Judicially Discoverable and Managea-
ble Standards for Determining When a Reappor-
tionment Has an Invidious Partisan Purpose or
Sufficiently Burdens Representational Rights.
Even assuming that the Court determined that a
drastic, specific type of partisan purpose in redistricting
is invidious, the Court would still need to fashion a
manageable standard for (1) distinguishing that specific
type of invidious partisan purpose from legitimate par-
tisan purposes, and (2) determining when a redistrict-
ing plan has a sufficient discriminatory effect or burden
on representational rights. After all, as with any Equal
Protection Clause claim based on an invidious purpose,
a challenger must show not only invidious purpose but
also a discriminatory effect—which would be an uncon-
stitutional cognizable burden on representational rights
in a partisan-gerrymandering claim. See, e.g., LULAC,
548 U.S. at 418 (plurality op.) (“{A] successful claim at-
tempting to identify unconstitutional acts of partisan
gerrymandering must... show a burden, as measured
by a reliable standard, on the complainants’ representa-
16
tional rights.”); Palmer v. Thompson, 403 U.S. 217, 224
(1971) (“[N]o case in this Court has held that a legisla-
tive act may violate equal protection solely because of
the motivations of the men who voted for it.”).
Neither the district court nor the plaintiffs have
come close to demonstrating the existence of managea-
ble standards for partisan-gerrymandering claims that
overcome the strong presumption of constitutionality
and good faith applicable here. As Wisconsin notes, the
district court adopted an “entrenchment” test. See, e.g.,
Appellants’ Br. 20-21, 53-59. But Vieth already rejected
party entrenchment as a manageable partisan-
gerrymandering standard, and not even plaintiffs have
defended the district court’s entrenchment test. See id.
at 53-54.
This brief therefore will address portions of the dis-
trict court’s analysis that plaintiffs might try to sepa-
rate from the district court’s entrenchment test. The
district court’s analysis of partisan effect relied on a
theory of group rights never recognized by this Court,
and that theory in turn compels a test requiring a form
of proportional representation. See infra Part II.A. But
this Court has rejected proportional representation as a
manageable standard for partisan-gerrymandering
claims. See infra pp.21-22. The plaintiffs’ proposed
test—based on the so-called “efficiency gap”—fares no
better. See infra Part II.B. Far from a meaningful
measure of excessive partisan purpose, plaintiffs’ test is
essentially a mathematical repackaging of a proportion-
al-representation standard.
17
A. The district court improperly relied on a theo-
ry of group—rather than individual—rights,
which leads to a proportional-representation
standard already rejected by this Court.
1. The district court’s opinion morphed the plain-
tiffs’ individual rights against vote dilution into a group
entitlement to a certain degree of statewide political
power, contrary to this Court’s precedent. Although the
district court claimed that “one-person, one-vote and
vote dilution cases provide the foundation for evaluating
claims of political gerrymandering,” J.S. App. 78a, the
court’s basis for recognizing the plaintiffs’ claims was
the perceived impediment of the “ability of Democrats
to translate their votes to seats,” J.S. App. 79a. This
analysis of statewide vote and seat totals focuses on the
collective ability of groups to secure a “fair” level of
representation in the legislature, rather than on the di-
lution of individuals’ votes.
Yet, as this Court has long recognized, “the right to
an undiluted vote does not belong to the ‘minority as a
group’ but rather to ‘its individual members.” LULAC,
548 U.S. at 437 (plurality op.) (quoting Shaw v. Hunt,
517 U.S. 899, 917 (1996)); see also Adarand Construc-
tors, Inc. v. Pena, 515 U.S. 200, 227 (1995) (“(Tyhe Fifth
and Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution pro-
tect persons, not groups.”).
Specifically, the district court concluded that the
Wisconsin redistricting plan’s tendency to produce elec-
toral results favoring Republicans constituted a dilution
of plaintiffs’ vote, reasoning that the ability of plaintiffs
to “secur[e] a political voice depends on the efficacy of
the votes of Democrats statewide.” J.S. App. 226a. The
district court did not consider the electoral history of
the plaintiffs’ districts, their voting history, or pre-
18
ferred candidates, and the court entirely avoided an in-
quiry into whether any of the plaintiffs’ individual
votes were somehow invidiously diluted. Instead, the
district court evaluated “the ability of voters of a cer-
tain political persuasion to form a legislative majority,”
asking whether this resulted in their “unequal par-
ticip[ation] in the decisions of the body politic.” J.S.
App. 106a-07a. But this view of effective representation
as requiring statewide partisan fairness is at odds with
the Court’s clear holding that “[a] predominant consid-
eration in determining whether a State’s legislative ap-
portionment scheme constitutes an invidious discrimi-
nation violative of rights asserted under the Equal Pro-
tection Clause is that the rights allegedly impaired are
individual and personal in nature.” Reynolds v. Sims,
377 U.S. 533, 561 (1964) (emphasis added).
A partisan-gerrymandering analysis cannot ignore
district-specific factors, including the historical makeup
of individual districts. By emphasizing the cumulative
statewide performance of Democratic candidates, the
district court side-stepped the inescapable fact that
“American legislative elections are district-oriented,
head-on races between candidates of two or more
parties.” Whitcomb, 403 U.S. at 153. Voters who
supported a losing candidate will not have the
representation they preferred—that is the nature of
electoral politics. And the very nature of single-
member, “first-past-the-post” districts means “a party
with a bare majority of votes or even a plurality of votes
will often obtain a large legislative majority, perhaps
freezing out smaller parties.” Vieth, 541 U.S. at 357
(Breyer, J., dissenting). But this Court has never
viewed these features of the American electoral system
as “a denial of equal protection . . . , even in those so-
19
called ‘safe’ districts where the same party wins year
after year.” Whitcomb, 403 U.S. at 153.
The majority’s opinion below also downplays the ef-
fect of geographic clustering, where Democratic-leaning
voters tend to be concentrated in high-density urban
areas. This well-documented phenomenon exists across
the country, with predictable effects on district-level
elections. See, e.g., Vieth, 541 U.S. at 290 (plurality op.)
(recognizing that “political groups that tend to cluster
(as is the case with Democratic voters in cities) would
be systematically affected by what might be called a
‘natural’ packing effect”); Paul A. Diller, Reorienting
Home Rule: Part 1—The Urban Disadvantage in Na-
tional and State Lawmaking, 77 La. L. Rev. 287, 336
(2016) (“The same overlap of residential demography
and political preference that skews the U.S. House in
favor of Republicans operates, perforce, at the state
level because a vast majority use contiguous, single-
member, winner-take-all districts to elect legislators.”).
The district court majority acknowledged, and the
plaintiffs conceded, that “Wisconsin’s political geogra-
phy affords Republicans a modest natural advantage in
districting.” J.S. App. 200a. In fact, plaintiffs’ demon-
stration plan, which was drawn to minimize their “effi-
ciency gap” metric, still showed an efficiency gap of
2.2% to 3.89% in favor of Republicans under their own
measure. J.S. App. 202a, 203a n.355.°
The majority discounted this factor on the ground
that geography alone “cannot explain the burden that
Act 43 imposes on Democratic voters in Wisconsin.” J.S.
App. 217a-18a. But other factors, such as larger num-
° To reach the 2.2% efficiency gap, the plaintiffs’ expert as-
sumed that there were no incumbents. Accounting for incumben-
cy, the figure rose to 3.89%. J.S. App. 203a n.355.
20
bers of uncontested elections and variations in turnout,
may correlate with and magnify the effects of geo-
graphic clustering. See J.S. App. 243a, 309a-lla
(Griesbach, J., dissenting). It is a symptom of the dis-
trict court’s reliance on plaintiffs’ efficiency-gap ap-
proach, see infra Part II.B, that the court’s analysis is
divorced from evidence regarding particular districts—
and thus factors the Court has previously found indis-
pensable to redistricting analysis.®
2. The district court pretended that it was not en-
shrining a group right to proportional representation
by asserting that its analysis of statewide voting and
outcomes was simply measuring the “magnitude” of
partisan motivations in redistricting. J.S. App. 169a.
But the court’s measure of the degree of partisan ef-
fects necessarily turns on a comparison of statewide
voting and outcomes—that is, a measure of proportional
representation. The district court expressly relied on
the plaintiffs’ proposed “efficiency gap” test—which is a
proportional-representation measure, see infra Part
Il.B—as one factor in its unbound totality-of-the-
circumstances analysis.’ J.S. App. 176a (treating effi-
ciency gap analysis as basis for effect analysis).
® Nor should the partisan effect of Wisconsin’s Act 43 be overes-
timated. As Judge Griesbach’s dissent pointed out, Republicans
already had an “efficiency gap” advantage before Wisconsin reap-
portioned, so any partisan changes from the prior map are not so
striking as the district-court majority seemed to believe. See J.S.
App. 245a-46a; see also J.S. App. 235a (Griesbach, J., dissenting)
(“{I]}t is very likely that the Republicans would have won control of
the legislature in 2012 and 2014 even without the alleged gerry-
mandering, and so this case presents a poor vehicle for the reme-
dying of any grave injustice.”).
’ The district court’s analysis also erroneously rested on specu-
lative predictions about how the “efficiency gap” would operate
21
This Court has consistently rejected proportional
representation metrics as a manageable measure for
partisan-gerrymandering claims under the Equal Pro-
tection Clause. See, e.g., Whitcomb, 403 U.S. at 156 (re-
jecting “the more general proposition that any group
with distinctive interests must be represented in legis-
lative halls if it is numerous enough to command at least
one seat and represents a majority living in an area suf-
ficiently compact to constitute a single-member district.
This approach would make it difficult to reject claims of
Democrats, Republicans, or members of any political
organization in Marion County who live in what would
be safe districts in a single-member district system but
who in one year or another, or year after year, are
submerged in a one-sided multi-member district vote.”);
Bolden, 446 U.S. at 75-76 (plurality op.) (“The Equal
Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment does
not require proportional representation as an impera-
tive of political organization.”); 7d. at 122 (Marshall, J.,
dissenting) (“The constitutional protection against vote
dilution found in our prior cases does not extend to
those situations in which a group has merely failed to
in hypothetical future elections throughout the upcoming dec-
ade. The district court concluded, and plaintiffs ask this Court to
affirm, that Act 43 was likely to “entrench the Republican party
in power,” in part because “Wisconsin’s plan would have an av-
erage pro-Republican efficiency gap of 9.5% for the entire de-
cennial period.” J.S. App. 164a. The panel’s conclusion relied on
expert-witness speculation about how the efficiency gap might
change in the future, given hypothetical statewide vote totals.
J.S. App. 165a-66a (relying on projected future results for de-
cennial period); see also J.S. App. 148a-53a (discussing “swing
analysis” and efficiency gap). But this Court has previously re-
jected the call to “adopt{] a constitutional standard that invali-
dates a map based on unfair results that would occur in a hypo-
thetical state of affairs.” LULAC, 548 U.S. at 420 (plurality op.).
22
elect representatives in proportion to its share of the
population.”); see also, e.g., Vieth, 541 U.S. at 228 (plu-
rality op.) (“groups . . . [do not] have a right to propor-
tional representation); id. at 308 (Kennedy, J., concur-
ring in the judgment) (agreeing with plurality’s rejec-
tion of proposed tests); Bandemer, 478 U.S. at 132 (plu-
rality op.); id. at 155 (O’Connor J., concurring) (reason-
ing that to recognize a partisan gerrymandering claim,
the Court would have to “evolve towards some loose
form of proportionality”).
It is true that the majority did not require that a po-
litical party’s share of the statewide vote be in perfect
proportion to the number of seats held by that political
party. See J.S. App. 169a. But just because the district
court did not require perfect proportional representa-
tion does not mean that its analysis was not inexorably
intertwined with a determination of proportional repre-
sentation. A standard that requires almost, but not
quite, perfect proportional representation is hardly a
judicially manageable partisan-gerrymandering stand-
ard, and it does not comport with this Court’s prece-
dents.
As Judge Griesbach’s dissent rightly explains, the
majority’s reasoning below on proportional political
outcomes would, in effect, require lawmakers to ag-
gressively eliminate many partisan considerations—as
if partisan motive were invidiously suspect. J.S. App.
245a-46a (majority’s test would require legislators to
“engage in heroic levels of nonpartisan statesmanship”).
The logic of the district court majority’s opinion would
permit a finding of partisan gerrymandering based on
some unknown degree of disproportionality between
statewide votes and legislative seats, provided only that
the seats-to-votes gap persisted over the decennial re-
23
districting period. This would inject courts into the re-
districting process in a novel, massively intrusive way.
B. Plaintiffs’ proposed “efficiency-gap” test
does not provide a judicially manageable
standard.
Not only did the district court fail to create a judi-
cially manageable standard, but the plaintiffs also have
not offered a workable test. The “efficiency gap” test
proposed by the plaintiffs (J.S. App. 159a-61a) purports
to correct the flaws of another measure of “fairness” —
the “symmetry standard”—rejected in LULAC. 548
U.S. at 420 (plurality op.); id. at 492 (Roberts, C.J., con-
curring in the judgment); id. at 511 (Scalia, J., concur-
ring in the judgment). But plaintiffs’ “efficiency gap”
test is flawed as well.
1. The previously rejected “symmetry” standard
measured the supposedly discriminatory effect of a map
on “hypothetical” voters and “depend[ed] on conjecture
about where possible vote-switchers will reside.” LU-
LAC, 548 U.S. at 420 (plurality op.). Plaintiffs’ “efficien-
cy gap” metric, in contrast, was conceived as a measure
of “the parties wasted votes in [an] actual election.”
Nicholas Stephanopoulos & Eric McGhee, Partisan
Gerrymandering and the Efficiency Gap, 82 U. Chi. L.
Rev. 831, 857 (2015). This “efficiency gap” metric pur-
ports to identify when a redistricting plan “enables a
party to convert its votes into seats more efficiently
than its adversary—even if this edge would vanish un-
der different electoral conditions.” /d. at 859. The glar-
ing problem with this approach is that it is just another
mathematical formula measuring relative, proportional
partisan outcomes.
This efficiency gap is defined throngh simple arith-
metic: “{It] is . . . the difference between the parties’
24
respective wasted votes, divided by the total number of
votes cast in the election.” Jd. at 851 (emphasis omit-
ted). So-called “wasted” votes are those that do not
arithmetically contribute to the victory of a candidate in
a two-way race—that is, all votes either (1) for the win-
ning candidate beyond the 50% threshold for victory or
(2) for a losing candidate. See id. at 850-53. Thus, for
each election analyzed, nearly 50% of the votes cast are
considered “wasted” under this “efficiency gap” meas-
ure. So, importantly, labeling a vote as “wasted” under
this measure is nothing at all like this Court’s standard
for unlawful vote dilution under the Voting Rights Act.
E.g., LULAC, 548 U.S. at 426-27 (plurality op.). In prac-
tical terms, a party whose voters are more evenly dis-
tributed among legislative districts will see an efficiency
gap in its favor. But that says nothing about the condi-
tions in each of those districts.
Based on this calculation, plaintiffs allege that, as a
result of Wisconsin’s district lines, “Republicans . . .
wield legislative power unearned by their actual appeal
to Wisconsin’s voters.” Mot. to Affirm at 1. But that just
begs the question, as plaintiffs fail to explain what pre-
cisely makes a political party’s “legislative power un-
earned.” Jd.
Tellingly, Wisconsin’s own historical experience
proves that the “efficiency gap” does not measure any-
thing relevant to a determination of excessive, invidious
partisan purposes or effects. Under Wisconsin’s prior
court-drawn map used from 2002 to 2010, the “efficien-
cy gap” consistently favored Republicans—ranging
from 4% to 12%. J.A. Vol. I at 221 (91240), 223 (919252-
56). And as the district court emphasized, that map was
drawn by a court “in the most neutral way it could con-
ceive.” J.S. App. lla (quoting Baumgart v. Wendel-
berger, Nos. 01-C-0121, 02-C-0366, 2002 WL 34127471,
25
at *7 (E.D. Wis. July 11, 2002) (per curiam)). Neverthe-
less—even with a map giving Republicans a 4% to 12%
“efficiency gap”—in 2008, the Democratic Party in Wis-
consin won a majority of the seats in the State Assem-
bly. J.A. Vol. I at 224 (1255). When the Republican Par-
ty retook the Assembly in 2010, it did so despite the
lowest Republican efficiency gap since 1996. J.A. Vol. I
at 222 (1249), 224 (9256). Finally, in 2012, the year Wis-
consin’s Act 43 produced a supposedly anti-democratic
result by denying Democrats a legislative majority, 53%
of Wisconsin voters rejected the attempted recall of
Republican Governor Scott Walker. J.A. Vol. I at 249
(1287).
Consequently, the efficiency gap does not actually
measure vote dilution or distribution in reality, but
simply the deviation from a statewide proportional
votes-to-seats ratio masked by an additional mathemat-
ical formula. This is just another measure of propor-
tional representation.
2. The analytical problems created by relying on
the abstract “efficiency gap” analysis are underscored
by the fact that plaintiffs assert that any redistricting
map with a 7% or greater “efficiency gap” is unconstitu-
tional. J.A. Vol. I at 60 (986). Plaintiffs’ selection of the
7% figure is derived from their expert’s projection that
a percentage greater than 7% would tend to correlate
with control of a legislature never shifting to another
political party, J.A. Vol I at 58-60, and their expert’s
hypothetical conclusion that a 7% efficiency gap would
prevent control of a state legislature from shifting
based on a projected statewide vote share, J.A. Vol. II
at SA164.
This standard would have invalidated redistricting
plans in 36 States over the past few decades. The plain-
tiffs’ expert, Jackman, applied the plaintiffs’ efficiency-
26
gap test to elections in 41 States over a 43-year period,
finding invidious partisan purpose whenever the first
election under a plan produced an efficiency gap great-
er than 7%. See J.A. Vol. II at SA212-SA213. This test
would have condemned approximately one-third of the
redistricting plans in the 786 elections analyzed in the
study. J.A. Vol. II at SA212-SA214. Plaintiffs’ test
would have found an impermissible partisan gerryman-
der in at least one plan in 36 of the 41 States ana-
lyzed*—ineluding Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colo-
rado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indi-
ana, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Min-
nesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina,
New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma,
Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennes-
see, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, Wis-
consin, West Virginia, and Wyoming. See J.A. Vol. II at
SA214.
Even when confining this analysis to elections held
in just 2012 and 2014, Jackman found an efficiency gap
greater than 10% in Florida, Indiana, Kansas, Michi-
gan, Missouri, North Carolina, New York, Ohio, Rhode
Island, Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. See J.A. Vol.
II at SA253. In addition, Jackman averred that one po-
litical party could win a majority in the legislature with-
out obtaining a majority of statewide votes in post-2010
redistricting plans in Alaska, Colorado, Georgia, Maine,
Minnesota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, and Vermont. /d.
* Jackman excluded 9 States—Arizona, Idaho, Louisiana, Mar-
yland, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Dakota,
and South Dakota—from his analysis because they had “exceed-
ingly high rates of uncontested races” or because they used mul-
ti-member districts, non-partisan elections, or a run-off system.
J.A. Vol. II at SA200.
27
And as noted above, see supra Part I1.A, the district
court’s standard is even more open-ended than the
plaintiffs’ proposed standard. Eschewing plaintiffs’ 7%
threshold, the district court found that Wisconsin “bur-
den[ed] the representational rights of Democratic vot-
ers in Wisconsin by impeding their ability to translate
their votes into legislative seats, not simply for one elec-
tion but throughout the life of Act 43.” J.S. App. 176a-
77a. In other words, the district court did not even
adopt a certain numerical threshold for liability, instead
treating any “efficiency gap” level as permissible cir-
cumstantial evidence that can always be considered un-
der Arlington Heights. J.S. App. 176a. Under this ra-
tionale, as long as a state legislature intended to create
some degree of partisan electoral advantage—and it is
difficult to imagine how this could not be proven—then
the plan would be unconstitutional.
The plaintiffs’ theory or the district court’s test, if
adopted, would require the Court to completely over-
haul its redistricting jurisprudence, disregard funda-
mental premises recognized repeatedly by the Court,
and require courts to perpetually calculate and compare
the relative level of partisan intent and proportional
partisan effect of every redistricting effort in every
State. Nothing in the Constitution supports this trans-
formation of the democratic process.
28
CONCLUSION
This Court should vacate the judgment of the dis-
trict court and order the district court to dismiss the
lawsuit for lack of Article III jurisdiction under the po-
litical-question doctrine. Alternatively, this Court
should reverse the judgment of the district court.
Respectfully submitted.
STEVE MARSHALL KEN PAXTON
Attorney General of Attorney General of Texas
Alabama JEFFREY C. MATEER
MARK BRNOVICH First Assistant Attorney
Attorney General of General
Arizona Scort A. KELLER
Solicitor General
LESLIE RUTLEDGE Counsel of Record
Attorney General of armen
Arkansas MATTHEW H. FREDERICK
Deputy Solicitor General
CHRISTOPHER M. CARR KRISTOFER 8. MONSON
Attorney General of Assistant Solicitor General
Georgia
OFFICE OF THE
CurTIS T. HILL, JR. ATTORNEY GENERAL
Attorney General of P.O. Box 12548 (MC 059)
Indiana Austin, Texas 78711-2548
DEREK SCHMIDT (512) 936-1700
Attorney General of
Kansas
JEFF LANDRY
Attorney General of
Louisiana
BILL SCHUETTE
Attorney General of
Michigan
JOSHUA D, HAWLEY
Attorney General of
Missouri
ADAM PAUL LAXALT
Attorney General of
Nevada
MICHAEL DEWINE
Attorney General of
Ohio
MIKE HUNTER
Attorney General of
Oklahoma
ALAN WILSON
Attorney General of
South Carolina
SEAN D. REYES
Attorney General of
Utah
PATRICK MORRISEY
Attorney General of
West Virginia
AuGuSsT 2017
29
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.