Petitioners Brief — Hasty v. Turkmen, 137 S. Ct. 293 (2016) (No. 15-1363)
Supreme Court brief2016
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
uw Gti Connt, US,
FILED
No. 15-1363 yoy 82
aa 18)
OFFICE OF THE CLERK |
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
DENNIS HASTY AND JAMES SHERMAN,
Petitioners,
V.
AHMER IQBAL ABBASI, FT AL.,
Respondents.
On Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit
BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS
DENNIS HASTY AND JAMES SHERMAN
CLIFTON S. ELGARTEN JEFFREY A. LAMKEN
SHARI Ross LAHLOU Counsel of Record
KATE M. GROWLEY MICHAEL G. PATTILLO, JR.
CROWELL & MORING LLP Eric R. NITz
1001 Pennsylvania Ave.,. NW JAMESA. BARTA
Washington, D.C. 20004 MOLOLAMKEN LLP
(202) 624-2500 The Watergate, Suite 660
celgarten@crowell.com 600 New Hampshire Ave., NW
Washington, D.C. 20037
Counsel for Dennis Hasty (202) 556-2000
jlamken@mololamken.com
Counsel for James Sherman
(Additional Counsel Listed on Inside Cover)
A
WiLSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 20002
SARA E. MARGOLIS
MoOLOLAMKEN LLP
430 Park Ave., Floor 6
New York, N.Y. 10022
(212) 607-8160
DEBRA L. ROTH
JULIA H. PERKINS
SHAW BRANSFORD & ROTH
1100 Connecticut Ave., NW
Suite 900
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 463-8400
Counsel for James Sherman
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
This putative class action was filed by foreign nation-
als who were illegally in the United States and detained
following the September 11th terrorist attacks. The FBI
designated respondents as “of interest” or “high inter-
est” to its investigation into the attacks; Bureau of Pris-
ons policy mandated that detainees so designated be
housed in the most restrictive conditions permissible.
Respondents brought this action seeking to hold petition-
ers Dennis Hasty and James Sherman, who were the
Warden and Associate Warden at the Metropolitan De-
tention Center, personally liable in damages, along with
others. Respondents claim that Hasty and Sherman
should be liable because (inter alia) they concluded—and
thus “knew”—that the FBI lacked evidence to support its
terrorism designations for respondents. The questions
presented are:
1. Whether, as the Second Circuit held, the judicially
implied cause of action for damages against individual
officials recognized in Bivens v. Six Unknown Named
Agents, 403 U.S. 388 (1971), extends to this context.
2. Whether qualified immunity was properly denied,
notwithstanding the specific circumstances confronted by
petitioners—including the FBI’s terrorism designations
for respondents—because the Constitution “clearly” pro-
hibits any “condition of pretrial detention not reasonably
related to a legitimate governmental objective,” Pet. App.
8a, or imposed “because of * * * race, ethnicity, religion,
and/or national origin,” id. at 74a.
3. Whether the allegations against Hasty and Sher-
man—such as the assertion that they “knew” the FBI’s
terrorism designations for respondents were wrong but
imposed otherwise mandatory confinement conditions
because they had discriminatory intent—are sufficiently
plausible to state a claim under Ashcroft vy. Iqbal, 556
U.S. 662 (2009).
(i)
ll
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW
Ibrahim Turkmen, Akhil Sachdeva, Ahmer Iqbal
Abbasi, Anser Mehmood, Benamar Benatta, Ahmed
Khalifa, Saeed Hammouda, and Purna Raj Bajracharya
were plaintiffs and/or plaintiffs-intervenors in the district
court and appellees-cross-appellants in the court of
appeals.
Dennis Hasty, Michael Zenk, and James Sherman
were defendants in the district court and appellants in
the court of appeals.
John Ashcroft, Robert Mueller, and James W. Ziglar
were defendants in the district court and cross-appellees
in the court of appeals.
Asif-Ur-Rehman Saffi, Syed Amjad Ali Jaffri, Shakir
Baloch, Hany Ibrahim, Yasser Ebrahim, and Ashraf
Ibrahim were plaintiffs in the district court but did not
participate in the appeals that are the subject of the
proceedings before this Court.
Salvatore Lopresti, Joseph Cuciti, Christopher
Witschel, Clemett Shacks, Brian Rodriguez, Jon Osteen,
Raymond Cotton, William Beck, Steven Barrere, Lind-
sey Bledsoe, Howard Gussak, Marcial Mundo, Daniel
Ortiz, Stuart Pray, Elizabeth Torres, Phillip Barnes,
Sydney Chase, Michael Defrancisco, Richard Diaz, Kevin
Lopez, Mario Machado, Michael McCabe, Raymond
Mickens, Scott Rosebery, and James Cuffee were
defendants in the district court, but did not participate in
the appeals that are the subject of the proceedings before
this Court.
* Mr. Lopresti filed a notice of appeal but did not pay a filing fee or
file a brief. His appeal was accordingly dismissed under Federal
Rule of Appellate Procedure 31(c).
iii
Omer Gavriel Marmari, Yaron Shmuel, Paul Kurz-
berg, Silvan Kurzberg, Javaid Iqbal, Ehab Elmaghraby,
and Irum E. Shiekh were intervenors in the district
court, but did not participate in the appeals that are the
subject of the proceedings before this Court.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
I itiinccstetesnmnsinidntcnmvsteseccsenernnnteenneiensesinnenss
Statement Of FUTIGICtONR ......0.000000:s000esssserccssesescosseeees
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions
a Nae Me SA Die a oe, OE AE a a
es SEE Sa IS as oe a OE OO
I. Proceedings in District Court...........0.00..00.0.
A. Respondents’ Claims for Damages.........
B. The District Court’s Ruling .....................
II. Proceedings in the Second Circuit................
A. The Panel Decision..................c00-s:ssseseseees
B. Judge Raggi’s Dissent..................scc0see00e
C. The Six-Judge Dissent from Denial
of Rehearing En Banc .....................:c00000+
I Ge FI Gicrsenesiiesciesscnstseensnsescensesesensiceee
eect ttcepccecintnsctsisntinntesotnsnniincumntaininnineremnnicenn
I. The Court of Appeals Improperly
Extended the Judicially Implied Bivens
Action to a New Context ...........cccccsseeseecesseers
A. This Court Is Properly Reluctant
To Extend Bivens in View of
RRR
B. The Second Circuit’s “New
Context” Analysis Eviscerates
Special-Factors Review...
C. This Case Is Replete with Special
RR MR TERRE ARETE OLS eR
ll. Hasty and Sherman Are Entitled to
gE a RSL Te
vi
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued
Page
A. The Complaint Does Not Plead
Violations of Clearly Established
Due-Process and Equal-Protection
B. The Complaint Does Not Plead
Clearly Established Fourth
Amendment Violations ............:::0+-eeeeeee 42
C. Respondents’ Allegations Do Not
Plead a Clear Violation of § 1985(3) ........ 43
III. The Allegations Do Not Meet /qbal’s
Plausibility Requirement ..............:0-::00 46
A. The Complaint Does Not Plead
Plausible Due-Process or Equal-
Protection Claims Based on
“Official” Conditions ............-.-....:cseoee 46
B. Respondents Do Not Allege
Plausible Fourth Amendment
©. The Complaint Does Not Plausibly
Allege Hasty’s Liability for the
“Unofficial” Conditions ..............ccc.eeeeeeees 54
COMCHUSION ......<<<csceececessccccccsccesessssesonccoccsevscsonessensnsoeseeess 5
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
CASES
Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635
Tse cceccinsnssiceiiantstcslensinnentabantneseenseransccsecescenressnse 37
Arar v. Ashcroft, 585 F.3d 559
le See passim
Ashcroft v. al-Kidd,
tf: | 34, 38, 41
Ashcroft v. Iqbal, 556 U.S. 662 (2009) ........ passim
Bell Atl. Corp. v. Twombly,
Be es Be CD Pcsecsiccescscescesinntconicnsscnessnansacent 46
Bell v. Wolfish,
Pe © og | 38, 40, 41,
Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents,
Fr Ee, EE passim
Brady v. Dill, 187 F.3d 104
jf eee renner 36
Brass v. Am. Film Techs., Inc.,
987 F.2d 142 (2d Cir. 1993) ...........000....c0.c0sereees 50
Bush v. Lucas,
r gb8-% (46). | 10, 22, 23, 25
Cale v. Johnson, 861 F.2d 943
I I ceeidecicuntetsacstsnssccmascocsnnisenesitenoesninn 27
Carlson v. Green,
Pk SS ee 22, 27, 28
Chappell v. Wallace,
ABB UBS, FBG (RGB) .noceenescccoscessccccseccceccesees passim
CIA v. Sims, 471 U.S. 159 (1985) .........s..ssecseeeees 30
Corr. Servs. Corp. v. Malesko,
bie er passim
viii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)
Davis v. Passman,
fF. Sl) enn 22, 23, 27, 28
Davis v. Scherer, 468 U.S. 183 (1984) .............2.... 45
De La Paz v. Coy, 786 F.3d 367
a cate nnistianiidsddnesiatinivindissnoninnione 24, 32
Doe v. Rumsfeld, 683 F.3d 390
eA I caciiriatlecisedecbeeiiniiniloniesininaunsiane 23, 29
Elder v. Holloway, 510 U.S. 510 (1994) ............... 45
¥DIC v. Meyer, 510 U.S. 471 (1994).............cccceee 22
Griffin v. Breckenridge,
SE TT rial iinet venitnstisesisnasiancamibiaiancees 52
Haig v. Agee, 453 U.S. 280 (1981)................... 23, 29
Harisiades v. Shaughnessy,
ee cca cainicinnssncirinienssienenepctnionwnsenes 32
Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800 (1982) .......... 34
Iqbal v. Hasty, 490 F.3d 143
ESE SE a 13, 38, 44
Kingsley v. Hendrickson,
a iis ccincsinnicignsiintcnsnonieniencon 40
Lebron v. Rumsfeld, 670 F.3d 540
Es SIE tantrinicbisncisidiidineiadaimeemencicnecine passim
Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335 (1986) .............000. 34
McAndrew v. Lockheed Martin Corp.,
206 F.3d 1031 (11th Cir. 2000)... eee. 44
Meshal v. Higgenbotham, 804 F.3d 417
Ne I cciicinveinsssckeihiiiegsanerinavens 24, 29, 31
Michigan v. DeF illippo,
ee rican scitcsccsicieinsctcinctccennsicagionss 40, 42
ix
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)
Mirmehdi v. United States, 689 F.3d 975
(Gta Cir. 2011)...........cccscscescseesecsssseessessenssess 24, 32
Mullenix v. Luna, 136 S. Ct. 305 (2015)..... 35, 36, 38
Pearson v. Callahan, 555 U.S. 223 (2009) ........... 33
Reichle v. Howards,
>} tes | > 34, 36
Reno v. Am.-Arab Anti-Discrimination
Comm. 525 U.S. 471 (1999) .....-.cceeeeeeeeenenencees 32
Saucier v. Katz, 533 U.S. 194 (2001) .......--.---cee0e 37
Schweiker v. Chilicky,
ke dd 22, 33
Sosa v. Alvarez-Machain,
Be Ee Ce i ieciinticoccennincnssipecuseetensvesesssonie 22
Thomas v. Ashcroft, 470 F.3d 491
(Dd Cir. BOOG).......ccoceseccrceorscscesocscsessosnseseonsoeseseees 27
Turkmen v. Ashcroft, 589 F.3d 542
CD Coli, TI ecesinecccstccectesenicensnssscedacnncsnsmnveresoesees 3
Turkmen v. Ashcroft, No. 02-cv-2307,
2006 WL 1662663
(E.D.N.Y. June 14, 2006) ............eceeeeseeseerensees 7
Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987) .........---. 53, 54
United States v. Kisala, 64 M.J. 50
(C.B.A.F. BODE) ...200c0cecnsnsencressccseccesseresressenssenseses 32
United States v. Salim, 690 F.3d 115
yt | coon 42
United States v. Stanley, 483 U.S. 669
,: CES SS SE EE TS a 22, 31
Vance v. Rumsfeld, 701 F.3d 193
‘i Le __) | aa nner 30, 33
Xx
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)
Walker v. Schultz, 717 F.3d 119
SEIN AS eS ane nee 54
Wilkie v. Robbins,
| Seen 22, 23, 24, 29
Wilson v. Layne, 526 U.S. 603 (1999) 20.00.00... 43
Wilson v. Libby, 535 F.3d 697
Ene EP 30, 31
Wood v. Moss, 1348S. Ct. 2056, 2068 (2014)......... 38
STATUTES AND RULES
es on ccc tinigniotanisnianodiaseninio odoiedideia 2
ee i cicicentenvases-icpienstnctpiensineaens passim
. 8 OS 0000 een A6
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Manual for Courts-Martial, United
States art. 90(c)(2)(a)(i) (2012) 0... cece 40
2 Moore’s Federal Practice (3d ed. 2015)............ 50
IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States
No. 15-1363
DENNIS HASTY AND JAMES SHERMAN,
Petitioners,
Vv.
AIIMER IQBAL ABBASI, ET AL.,
Respondents.
On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit
BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS
HASTY AND SHERMAN
OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-163a)
is published at 789 F.3d 218 (2d Cir. 2015).' The opinion
of the district court (Pet. App. 164a-236a) is published at
915 F. Supp. 2d 314 (.D.N.Y. 2013).
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION
The court of appeals entered judgment on June 17,
2015. Pet. App. la. It denied rehearing and rehearing en
' Except where otherwise indicated, citations are to the petition ap-
pendix in No. 15-1359, Asherojl v. Abbasi.
2
banc on December 11, 2015. /d. at 237a. Hasty and
Sherman filed a petition for a writ of certiorari on May 6,
2016, and this Court granted the petition on October 11,
2016. This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.
§1254(1).
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED
Relevant provisions of the U.S. Constitution and Title
42 of the U.S. Code are set forth at pages 241la-248a in
the appendix to the petition in No. 15-1363, Hasty v. Ab-
basi.
STATEMENT
This putative class action was filed by foreign nation-
als who were illegally present in the United States and
detained following the 9/11 terrorist attacks. Respon-
dents seek to impose personal damages liability on vari-
ous federal officials—from the Attorney General to local
prison wardens—under Bivens v. Six Unknown Named
Agents, 403 U.S. 388 (1971), and for conspiracy under 42
U.S.C. §1985(3).
1. PROCEEDINGS IN DisTRICT COURT
“In the aftermath of the 9/11 attacks, the FBI and oth-
er agencies within the DOJ immediately initiated an im-
mense investigation aimed at identifying the 9/11 per-
petrators and preventing any further attacks.” Pet. App.
7a. More than 4,000 FBI agents were dedicated to the in-
vestigation. Ashcroft v. Iqbal, 556 U.S. 662, 667 (2009).
Hundreds of foreign nationals illegally in the United
States, including respondents, were detained on immi-
gration charges. /bid. Respondents were housed in the
Metropolitan Detention Center (“MDC”) in Brooklyn,
New York. Petitioners Hasty and Sherman were, re-
3
spectively, the Warden and Associate Warden for Cus-
tody at MDC.
A. Respondents’ Claims for Damages
Filed in 2002, this action names as defendants former
Attorney General John Ashcroft, former FBI Director
Robert Mueller, former INS Commissioner James Ziglar
(the “DOJ Defendants”), former MDC Warden Dennis
Hasty, and former MDC Associate Warden for Custody
James Sherman.
1. Following respondents’ arrests, the FBI desig-
nated them as “of interest” or of “high interest” to the
9/11 investigation. Pet. App. 252a(%1),253a(94). Under
Bureau of Prisons (“BOP”) policy, detainees so classified
had to be held under “‘the most restrictive and secure
conditions permitted.’” /d. at 50a-5la; see /qbal, 556
U.S. at 667. Such detainees were also subject to a “hold-
until-cleared” policy that precluded their release until the
FBI cleared them of terrorism connections. Pet. App.
17a; see id. at 270a(9155); J.A. 218-219, 240-242.
Consistent with those policies, respondents were con-
fined in the “ADMAX SHU,” a special wing of the MDC.
See Pet. App. 10a; see also id. at 258a-254a(%4). A total
of 84 detainees were housed in that unit between Septem.
ber 14, 2001, and August 27, 2002. J.A. 49, 219. Respon-
dents were detained for periods ranging from three to
eight months. Pet. App. 2a.
2. The current allegations stem from the Fourth
Amended Complaint (“Complaint”), filed after the Sec-
ond Circuit remanded the case for reconsideration in
light of Ashcroft v. Iqbal, supra. See Turkmen v. Ash-
croft, 589 F.3d 542 (2d Cir. 2009). The Complaint does
not challenge the legality of respondents’ detention; their
detention on immigration charges was concededly lawful.
4
See Pet. App. 252a(%91-2), 263a(%33.b). Respondents
challenge only the conditions of their confinement. The
courts below separated those into two categories—“of-
ficial” conditions required by policy, and “unofficial” con-
ditions reflecting unauthorized treatment by individual
prison guards. /d. at 49a, 199a.
The “official” conditions were severe: BOP policy re-
quired detainees designated as “of interest” (or higher)
to the terrorism investigation to be housed in the “most
restrictive *** conditions permitted.” Pet. App. 50a-
Ola. That involved “‘place|ment] in tiny cells for over 23
hours a day’”; the lights were “left on in their cells for 24
hours a day”; and they were “‘prohibited from moving
around the unit, using the telephone freely, using the
commissary, or accessing MDC handbooks.’” /d. at 10a.
Respondents did not claim those conditions would be
impermissible for genuine terrorism suspects. Oral Arg.
at 1:36:58, Turkmen v. Hasty, No. 13-981 (2d Cir. May 1,
2014); Pet. App. 46a (conceding the “challenged condi-
tions” could be imposed on those “with suspected ties to
terrorism”). Respondents agree that whether those con-
ditions could lawfully be imposed on suspects with actual
terrorism connections “is not relevant.” Br. in Opp. 29
n.11.
Instead, respondents’ suit alleges that it was unlawful
to impose those conditions on them because the FBI ter-
rorism designations were wrong. Respondents allege
that, although the FBI had designated them “of interest”
to its investigation, they in fact had no terrorism connec-
tions. Pet. App. 5la-52a; see id. at 277a(%69), 278a-
279a(173). Respondents assert that Hasty and Sherman
violated clearly established law because they supposedly
“knew” the FBI's designations were unfounded, but fail-
ed to disregard the designations by imposing less-restric-
5
tive conditions (in violation of BOP policy) based on their
own putative views. See id. at 5la-54a.
With respect to “unofficial” conditions, respondents al-
lege “physical and verbal abuse” by individual guards.
See Pet. App. lla Respondents allege that some guards
slammed them into walls, twisted their arms, wrists, and
fingers, and otherwise roughly handled them. /bid. Re-
spondents also allege that MDC guards referred to them
as terrorists, threatened them with violence, made hu-
miliating sexual comments during strip searches, and
insulted their religion. /bid. Respondents allege that
guards called them “camel|s|” and “fucking Muslims.”
Ibid. Respondents do not claim that Hasty or Sherman
observed or engaged in such conduct themselves. See id.
at 54a-57a.
The Complaint incorporated by reference two reports
from the Office of the Inspector General concerning the
treatment of aliens detained in connection with the 9/11
investigation. J.A. 48; see Pet. App. 253a(%3 n.1),
254a(15 n.2). The reports are reproduced at J.A. 34-416."
Released in 2003, those reports reflected investigative
fieldwork from as early as March 2902. J.A. 49. They
noted that the FBI was responsible for designating de-
tainees as “of interest” to its 9/11 investigation, id. at 102,
and that the restrictive conditions were imposed on such
detainees pursuant to BOP policy, id. at 220. Regarding
the unofficial conditions, the Inspector General's “investi-
* Respondents incorporated the OIG reports “except where contra-
dicted by the allegations” of the Complaint. £.y., Pet. App. 258a(%3
n.1). Respondents have identified only one instance of “a possible
conflict between the * * * Complaint and either OIG Report,” see
C.A. Reply Br. of Pls.-Appellees-Cross-Appellants, at 24 n.6—on an
issue not pertinent here.
6
gation [did] not uncover| | any evidence that the physical
or verbal abuse was engaged in or condoned by anyone
other than the correctional officers who committed it.”
Td. at 299 n.130.
3. The Complaint seeks damages under four the-
ories. Counts 1, 2, and 6 assert Bivens claims. Count 1
alleges a due-process violation. The conditions of con-
finement, it asserts, had no legitimate objective and were
therefore impermissibly punitive. Count 2 asserts an
equal-protection violation, alleging respondents were
held in restrictive conditions based on race, ethnicity, or
national origin. Count 6 asserts that respondents were
subject to unreasonable and punitive strip searches in
violation of the Fourth and Fifth Amendments. Finally,
Count 7 alleges that Hasty, Sherman, and the DOJ De-
fendants violated 42 U.S.C. § 1985(3) by conspiring to vio-
late respondents’ equal-protection rights.*
B. The District Court’s Ruling
The district court granted the DOJ Defendants’ mo-
tions to dismiss, and denied Hasty’s and Sherman’s mo-
tions in relevant part. See Pet. App. 183a-236a.
1. The district court recognized that, since implying
a damages action for constitutional violations in Bivens,
403 U.S. 388, this Court has extended that action to new
contexts only twice, refusing every requested extension
for the past three decades. Pet. App. 221la-222a. Bivens,
the district court observed, will not be extended if “spe-
cial factors” counsel hesitation. /d. at 222a. Special fac-
tors include “‘military concerns,” “‘national security
* Counts 3-5 were dismissed below, Pet. App. 19a-20a, 27a-29a, 203a-
220a, and respondents have not sought further review.
7
concerns,” and “‘foreign policy considerations.’” /d. at
226a.
The district court recognized that this case involves an
“extraordinary factual context.” Turkmen v. Ashcroft,
No. 02-ev-2307, 2006 WL 1662663, at *30 (E.D.N.Y. June
14, 2006). But it ruled that there was no reason to ex-
amine whether “special factors” counsel hesitation be-
cause respondents were not seeking to “extend” Bivens
to a “new context.” Courts, it asserted, had previously al-
lowed prisoners to assert conditions-of-confinement,
equal-protection, and Fourth Amendment claims under
Bivens. See Pet. App. 192a-193a n.10, 208a n.15, 232a.
2. The district court also ruled that the Complaint
satisfies the pleading standard of /qbal, 556 U.S. 662. Iq-
bal requires the Complaint to “plausibly” plead “an
entitlement to relief” and address “obvious alternative”
explanations for the challenged conduct. Jd. at 679, 682.
For the due-process claims based on “official” condi-
tions (Counts 1 and 6), the court held that “punitive
intent” could be inferred from the conditions themselves.
Pet. App. 200a-201la. Regarding unofficial conditions,
the court saw no indication that Hasty or Sherman had
mistreated prisoners or observed such abuse. But it
found respondents’ allegations of deliberate indifference
sufficient. Jd. at 201a-202a.
The district court also sustained the equal-protection
claim (Count 2). It credited the allegation that Hasty and
Sherman concluded that “the FBI had not developed any
information” tying respondents to terrorism. Pet. App.
‘ The court addressed the due-process challenge to strip searches in
Count 6 together with the official-conditions challenge in Count 1.
Pet. App. 231a n.30.
8
210a. From that, the court held, one could infer Hasty
and Sherman imposed restrictive conditions based on
race or religion.
The district court also upheld respondents’ Fourth
Amendment challenge to strip searches (Count 6), find-
ing that the Complaint sufficiently alleged that those
searches lacked “legitimate penological purpose.” Pet.
App. 232a-233a. Finally, the court held that respondents
adequately pleaded a conspiracy under § 1985(3) because
Hasty and Sherman had agreed to “implement | the fa-
cially discriminatory harsh confinement policy” required
by BOP. /d. at 234a-235a.
3. The district court denied qualified immunity. On
the due-process conditions-of-confinement claims, the
court found it clearly established in 2001 that pretrial
detainees could not be subject to “punitive conditions of
confinement.” Pet. App. 202a-203a. It reached a similar
conclusion on the equal-protection claim: “{E)xpressly
singling out Arabs and Muslims for harsh conditions of
confinement” violated clearly established law. /d. at
210a-2lla. As for the Fourth Amendment strip-search
claim, the court ruled that “clearly established” law
proscribed searches that are “not reasonably related to a
legitimate penological purpose.” Jd. at 238a. On the
§ 1985(3) claim, the court acknowledged that “it may not
have been clearly established in 2001” that § 1985(3)
reached conspiracies by federal officers. /d. at 235a. But
it denied immunity because no official could believe it
“legally permissible’” to join a conspiracy to discrim-
inate. /bid.
4. The district court dismissed the claims against the
DOJ Defendants, holding that the Complaint did not
meet /qbal’s requirements. Pet. App. 166a.
9
II. PROCEEDINGS IN THE SECOND CIRCUIT
A. The Panel Decision
A divided panel affirmed in relevant part with respect
to Hasty and Sherman, and reversed dismissal of the
DOJ Defendants.
1. The panel majority did not dispute that, for more
than three decades, this Court has refused to extend Biv-
ens to any new contexts. The majority likewise agreed
that “context” encompasses more than the identity of the
constitutional right allegedly violated. But the majority
ruled that the context here was not “new,” and thus
required no inquiry into whether special factors counsel
hesitation. See Pet. App. 24a-25a.
When deciding whether a context is “new,” the majori-
ty declared, courts should consider only (a) the “rights
injured” and (b) the “mechanism of injury.” Pet. App.
23a. The “rights injured” here, it stated, were “substan-
tive due process and equal protection,” and the “mechan-
ism of injury” was “punitive conditions without sufficient
cause.” /d. at 24a-25a. Thus, the context of respondents’
Bivens claims was “federal detainee Plaintiffs, housed in
a federal facility, alleg{ing| that individual federal officers
subjected them to punitive conditions.” /d. at 24a.
The majority thus declined to consider whether na-
tional security, foreign relations, or other issues concern-
ing the detention of foreign nationals following a terrorist
attack presented “special factors” counselling hesitation.
It did not consider whether special factors counsel hesita-
tion before extending Bivens to claims that local jailers
should have ignored /’B/ terrorism designations based
on their own putative conclusions about the detainees’
connections to an FBI terrorism investigation. And it did
not ask “who should decide whether [to provide] such a
10
remedy” in this context, Congress or the courts. Bush v.
Lucas, 462 U.S. 367, 380 (1983). Instead, the panel ma-
jority held that, because ordinary prisoners had been
permitted to bring conditions-of-confinement claims in
ordinary contexts, respondents could bring conditions-of-
confinement claims here. Pet. App. 24a n.15.
2. The majority then held that the Complaint plau-
sibly pleaded violations of clearly established rights con-
sistent with /gbal ané qualified-immunity principles.
Due-process claims. With respect to the official con-
ditions of confinement, the majority acknowledged that
the conditions would be lawful for “individuals with sus-
pected ties to terrorism.” Pet. App. 46a. It did not
dispute that BOP policy obligated Hasty and Sherman to
impose those conditions on detainees designated by the
FBI as “of interest” to the 9/11 investigation, including
respondents. /d. at 50a-5la. And the majority admitted
that Hasty and Sherman’s “responsibility to carry out”
BOP’s directive “would not sustain liability.” /d. at 51a.
The majority nonetheless held that the Complaint met
iqbal’s plausibility requirement. It found the Complaint
plausibly alleged that, although Hasty and Sherman may
have “initially believed that they would be housing only
those detainees who were suspected of ties to terrorism,”
they “eventually knew that the FBI lacked any indivi-
dualized suspicion for many” detainees but imposed re-
strictive conditions nonetheless. Pet. App. 52a. Hasty
and Sherman allegedly received “regular written up-
dates” describing why each detainee was arrested and
“the danger he might pose’” to the prison. Ibid. Be-
cause those updates did not link respondents to terror-
ism, the majority stated, the Complaint plausibly alleged
that Hasty and Sherman “knew” the FBI’s “of interest”
designations were unfounded. /d. at 5la-54a. As a re-
11
sult, the official conditions “were ‘not reasonably related
to a legitimate goal,’” and it was plausible to infer they
were imposed “with punitive intent.” /d. at 50a.
The majority denied qualified immunity. At the time
Hasty and Sherman acted, the majority stated, it was
“clearly established that * * * a condition of pretrial de-
tention not reasonably related to a legitimate govern-
mental objective is punishment” that violates detainees’
“constitutional rights.” Pet. App. 58a. The majority did
not address whether clearly established law required
Hasty and Sherman to disregard FBI terrorism desig-
nations if they believed them erroneous.
With respect to the unauthorized abuse by MDC
guards, the majority held that the claims met /qbal’s
plausibility requirement for Hasty but not Sherman. Pet.
App. 56a-57a. The court invoked allegations that “Hasty
avoided evidence of detainee abuse by ‘neglecting to
make rounds on the ADMAX [SHU].’” /d. at 56a. And it
listed general allegations that Hasty became aware of
abuse and “encouraged” harsh treatment by “referring
to” detainees “as terrorists.” /d. at 57a.
Equal-protection claims. On the equal-protection
claims, the panel abandoned the district court’s reason-
ing. Pet. App. 68a. Instead, it seized on allegations that
Hasty and Sherman had approved a document—of un-
specified date, purpose, and origin—allegedly stating
that “‘executive staff at the MDC had classified’” sus-
pected terrorists “as ‘High Security’ based on * * * ‘indi-
vidualized assessment|s].’” /bid. (quoting Pet. App.
279a(174)). That assertion was false, the panel stated,
because Hasty and Sherman conducted no assessments.
Id. at 68a-69a. Based on those “allegations of duplicity
regarding the basis for confining the 9/11 detainees,” the
12
majority found it “reasonable to infer * * * discrimina-
tory intent.” /d. at 69a.
The majority did not address the alternative explana-
tion—that Hasty and Sherman were following a BOP
policy that required the conditions of confinement for
individuals the FBI designated “of interest” to its ter-
rorism investigation. Nor did the majority address the
possibility that the cited memorandum meant that the
FBI had made the classifications.
The majority denied qualified immunity, holding that
it “was clearly established * * * that it was illegal to * * *
target [respondents] for mistreatment because of their
race, ethnicity, religion, and/or national origin.” Pet.
App. 74a. The majority did not ask whether clearly es-
tablished law required prison officials to disregard FBI
terrorism designations.
Fourth Amendment claims. The majority upheld the
Fourth Amendment strip-search allegations. Pet. App.
75a-80a. It concluded that respondents had sufficiently
alleged that “Hasty and Sherman were personally in-
volved in creating and executing” a strip-search policy.
Id. at 77a. That policy, the panel held, “was not reason-
ably related to legitimate penological interests,” because
it required searches “when there was no possibility that
[respondents] could have obtained contraband.” /bid.
Section 1985(3). Finally, the court addressed the alle-
gation that Hasty and Sherman violated § 1985(3) by con-
spiring with DOJ officials to violate respondents’ equal-
protection rights. The majority acknowledged that, un-
der the intra-enterprise conspiracy doctrine, members of
a single entity like the DOJ cannot conspire for purposes
of §1985(3). Pet. App. 82a. And it agreed that BOP is
part of the DOJ. See id. at 83a n.46. But it refused to de-
13
cide whether BOP and DOJ comprise one entity, re-
manding that issue to the district court. Td. at 83a.
The majority again denied qualified immunity. It did
not dispute that there was uncertainty over whether
§ 1985(3) covered the alleged conspiracy given the intra-
enterprise conspiracy doctrine. Pet. App. 88a & n.46.
Nor did it deny that, at the time of these events, it was
not clear that §1985(3) extended to federal officers. /d.
at 83a; see Iqbal v. Hasty, 490 F.3d 143, 177 (2d Cir.
2007), rev’d sub nom. Ashcroft v. Iqbal, 550 U.S. 662
(2009). But the majority held that federal officials could
not reasonably believe it permissible to conspire to
violate equal-protection rights. Pet. App. 83a-84a.
3. On respondents’ cross-appeal, the majority re-
versed dismissal of the DOJ Defendants. Pet. App. 30a-
49a, 61a-68a, 74a-75a.
B. Judge Raggi’s Dissent
Judge Raggi issued a lengthy dissent. Pet. App. 86a-
163a.
1. Judge Raggi observed that, for decades, this
Court has refused to extend Bivens to any new context.
Pet. App. 90a-92a. This Court's “reluctance to extend
Bivens is grounded in our constitutional structure of
separated powers.” /d. at Ila. Proper analysis “focuses
not on ‘the merits of the particular remedy sought,’ but
on ‘who should decide whether such a remedy should be
provided’”—Congress, or the judiciary. /bid. (emphasis
added). Here, Congress must decide whether to extend
Bivens to this new context. Jd. at 92a-118a.
Judge Raggi observed that, by finding this was not a
“new context,” the majority had avoided examining
whether special factors counseled against Bivens’ expan-
sion. Pet. App. 93a-94a. And she objected to the major-
14
ity’s “new standard” for determining whether a context is
“new.” Jd. at 92a. “|Cjontext,” Judge Raggi urged, could
not be reduced to “general identification of a constitu-
tional right or a mechanism of injury.” /d. at 94a. Rath-
er, special-factors analysis “demands consideration of all
factors counseling for and against an implied damages
action in the specific legal and factual circumstances
presented.” Jbid. “|W]here a proposed Bivens claim
presents legal and factual circumstances that were not
present in an earlier Bivens case, a new assessment is
necessary because no court has yet made the requisite
‘judgment’ that a judicially implied damages remedy is
‘the best way’ to implement constitutional guarantees in
that context.” /bid. “No court,” Judge Raggi concluded,
“has ever made the judgment that an implied damages
remedy is the best way to implement constitutional guar-
antees of substantive due process, equal protection, and
reasonable search when lawfully arrested illegal aliens
challenge an executive confinement policy, purportedly
made at the cabinet level in a time of crisis, and impli-
cating national security and immigration authority.” /d.
at 94a-95a.
Judge Raggi found this case replete with special fac-
tors counselling hesitation. Pet. App. 10la. Respondents
challenge “official executive policy,” and a “Bivens action
has never been considered a ‘proper vehicle for altering
an entity’s policy.’” /d. at 102a; see id. at 102a-105a. Re-
spondents’ claims involved the “executive’s immigration
authority,” a matter “‘largely immune from judicial in-
quiry or interference.’” /d. at 106a-107a. And respon-
dents’ claims carried national-security implications. /d.
at 107a-114a. Such matters, Judge Raggi urged, “‘are
rarely proper subjects for judicial intervention’ in the
absence of congressional authorization.” /d. at 108a.
15
2. Judge Raggi disagreed with the majority’s holding
that the Complaint satisfied /qbal’s pleading require-
ments. The allegations, she explained, were insufficient
to support a plausible inference that Hasty and Sherman
imposed the restrictive conditions without penological
justification. The “obvious and more likely motivation”
for imposing restrictive conditions on respondents was
“national and prison security” concerns based on the
FBI's “of interest” designations. Pet. App. 146a. Judge
Raggi likewise would have granted immunity with re-
spect to the official conditions of confinement because
they did not violate clearly established law. /d. at 147a-
148a & n.41.
Turning to equal protection, Judge Raggi found re-
spondents’ allegations materially indistinguishable from
the allegations this Court rejected in /gbal. Pet. App.
150a-152a. She again noted that the Complaint failed to
address the “‘obvious’” and “‘more likely’” explanation
for Hasty’s and Sherman’s conduct: Respondents “were
restrictively confined pending FBI-CIA clearance for the
legitimate purpose of ensuring national security.” /d. at
157a. “|Nlo clearly established law would have alerted
every reasonable officer that it violated equal protection
to confine these lawfully arrested illegal aliens pending
clearance.” /d. at 157a-158a. Because the Complaint did
not state a plausible equal-protection violation, it likewise
did not allege an actionable conspiracy to violate equal-
protection rights in violation of §1985(3). /d. at 158a
n.46.
Fiually, Judge Raggi would have rejected respon-
dents’ Fourth Amendment claims. The Complaint failed
to allege facts showing the challenged strip-search policy
lacked a rational relationship to a legitimate government
interest—“‘specifically, prison security.” Pet. App. 159a-
16
160a. Given documented prison violence by terrorism
suspects, “if was hardly irrational for prison authorities
to conclude that persons under investigation for terrorist
connections should be strip searched both randomly in
their cells and whenever they were moved from one loca-
tion to another.” /d. at 161a.
C. The Six-Judge Dissent from Denial of Rehear-
ing En Bane
The Second Circuit denied rehearing en banc, with six
judges dissenting. The dissenters observed that this case
made the Second Circuit the first court of appeals to
imply “a Bivens damages action * * * for actions taken to
safeguard our country in the immediate aftermath of the
9/11 attacks.” Pet. App. 240a. The dissenters deemed it
obvious that the context was “new” and involved sensitive
matters—like immigration and national security—that
rendered Bivens’ expansion inappropriate. /d. at 243a-
246a. And the panel majority had “avoid[ed] its obliga-
tion” to consider whether special factors counselled hesi-
tation before extending Bivens to these “unprecedented
legal and factual circumstances.” /d. at 243a.
The dissenters disagreed with the panel’s qualified-
immunity analysis. Qualified immunity must be granted
unless the rights asserted “were so clearly established
with respect to the ‘particu/ay conduct’ and the ‘specific
context’ at issue that every reasonable official would have
understood that his conduct was unlawful.” Pet. App.
246a (second emphasis added). The panel cited no case
providing such clarity regarding the particular conduct
and specific context here. /d. at 247a.
Finally, the dissenters urged that the panel’s decision
diluted /qbal’s requirement that plaintiffs “plead a plausi-
ble claim grounded in a factual basis.” Pet. App. 248a.
The panel, the dissenters urged, sustained the Complaint
17
based on “hypothesized possibilities” and “conclusory as-
sumptions or insinuations.” /bid.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
|. The judicially implied private right of action for
damages against federal officers, first recognized in Biv-
ens Vv. Sic Unknown Named Agents, 403 U.S. 388 (1971),
should not be extended to this new, and extraordinary,
context.
A. This Court has cautioned that Bivens should not
be extended to a new context where “special factors
counsel hesitation”—where circumstances suggest that
Congress, rather than the courts, should decide whether
a damages action is appropriate. For more than three
decades, this Court itself has refused to extend Bivens
“to any new context or new category of defendants.”
Corr. Servs. Corp. v. Malesko, 534 U.S. 61, 68 (2001).
B.-C. The panel majority never considered whether
special factors counselled hesitation before allowing the
Bivens claims to proceed here. In the panel’s view, it was
not required to analyze special factors because the con-
text of this case was not “new.” It thus did not matter
that this case arises from the Executive’s response to an
unprecedented terrorist attack and the detention of
foreign nationals illegally in the United States. Nor did it
matter that respondents seek damages from local jailers
for failing to disregard F'B/ terrorism designations, and
corresponding BOP confinement policies, based on their
own putative terrorism assessments. Instead, evaluating
the claims at a high level of generality, the panel held
that this context was no different from a garden-varicty
conditions-of-confinement claim by ordinary prisoners in
ordinary times. The panel’s “new context” analysis de-
fies precedent and common sense.
18
It also ignores all the differences between this context
and ordinary prison-condition cases that give rise to
special factors that should preclude Bivens’ extension.
lor example, the claim that FBI terrorism designations
were incorrect, and jailers should have second-guessed
and ignored them, implicates matters related to national
security, potentially sensitive intelligence information,
and immigration policy, all of which are special factors
that should foreclose a Bivens action. It also implicates
grave concerns for the functioning of the Nation’s law
enforcement chain of command, particularly in times of
national emergency. If there is to be a damages remedy
in this context, Congress rather than the courts must
provide it and define its boundaries.
Il. Hasty and Sherman are entitled to qualified im-
munity. To overcome qualified immunity, a plaintiff must
show that the challenged conduct violated “clearly estab-
lished” rights—that no reasonable officer could have
thought the challenged conduct lawful in the circum-
stances he confronted.
A. Respondents’ due-process and equal-protection
claims are predicated on Hasty and Sherman’s failure to
disregard FBI terrorism designations, and a facially
valid BOP policy, by imposing less restrictive conditions
based on their own subjective assessment of respondents’
terrorism connections. But no clearly established law re-
quired such action. The panel reached a contrary con-
clusion only by analyzing the rights at issue at an imper-
missibly high level of generality that ignored the specific
context Hasty and Sherman confronted.
Bb. The panel denied immunity on the Fourth Amend-
ment strip-search claims because, under clearly estab-
lished law, such searches must be rationally related to
legitimate government purposes. The panel ruled that
19
the searches did not meet that standard because they
allegedly occurred when “‘there was no possibility that
|respondents] could have obtained * * * contraband.’”
Pet. App. 78a. But a reasonably competent officer could
have thought the strip searches—which occurred when
respondents were transported to and from meetings and
in and out of their cells—were related to the legitimate
interest in prison security. Just two years earlier, a ter-
rorism detainee had severely injured a guard—causing
permanent brain damage—by attacking him with a knife
fashioned from a contraband comb.
C. Hasty and Sherman are also entitled to immunity
on respondents’ § 1985(3) claim. Apart from respondents’
failure to establish the violation of clearly established
equal-protection rights, it was not clearly established in
2001 that §1985(3) even applied to federal officers. Nor
was it clearly established that coordinated action by em-
ployees within the Justice Department—of which BOP is
a part—could constitute a prohibited “conspiracy” within
the meaning of § 1985(3).
Ill. Finally, the Complaint does not “‘state a claim to
relief that is plausible on its face.’” Ashcroft v. Iqbal, 556
U.S. 662, 668 (2009) (emphasis added).
A. Respondents’ due-process and equal-protection
claims based on “official” conditions fall far short. The
Complaint fails to dispel the “obvious alternative” and
“more likely” lawful explanation for Hasty and Sher-
man’s decision to impose restrictive conditions of confine-
ment: They were complying with the FBI's terrorism
designations and BOP policies. That respect for coordi-
nate agencies with expertise and a binding prison-secur-
ity policy—not discriminatory motive or arbitrary treat-
ment—is the single most plausible explanation.
20
B. The strip-search claims fail because they do not
plausibly allege Hasty’s and Sherman’s personal involve-
ment in creating and implementing the supposed policy.
(Indeed, the panel had to infer that the unwritten policy
even existed.) The Complaint contains no factual allega-
tions making it plausible that Hasty and Sherman re-
viewed and approved that unwritten policy or that they
were aware that it would result in irrational strip
searches.
C. The panel dismissed the allegations about “un-
official” conditions—i.e., unauthorized misconduct by
individual prison guards—against Sherman, recognizing
that they failed to show his personal knowledge and
involvement; respondents have not sought further re-
view. But there is no allegation that Hasty personally
participated in or even witnessed the alleged abuses
either. The panel’s perfunctory recitation of a handful of
allegations in the Complaint—ignoring all the more ob-
vious explanations—was insufficient to establish the req-
uisite personal involvement.
ARGUMENT
The panel decision in this case improperly extends
Bivens to a new context, subjecting local jailers to per-
sonal liability for failing to countermand FBI terrorism
designations based on their own putative views. It de-
nied qualified immunity by invoking precisely the sort of
analysis this Court has repeatedly condemned. And its
approach to “plausibility” under /gbal cannot be recon-
ciled with the standards that case sets forth.
21
I. THE Court Or APPEALS IMPROPERLY EXTENDED
THE JUDICIALLY IMPLIED BIVENS ACTION To A NEW
CONTEXT
For more than three decades, this Court has “consis-
tently refused to extend Bivens liability to any new
context or new category of defendants.” Corr. Servs.
Corp. v. Malesko, 534 U.S. 61, 68 (2001). The decision
below nonetheless extends Bivens to a new context for
which it is ill-suited—“actions taken to safeguard our
country in the immediate aftermath of the 9/11 attacks.”
Pet. App. 240a. Foreign nationals, it held, may pursue
Bivens claims for damages against local jailers on the
theory that they should have disregarded the FBI’s
terrorism designations and BOP-mandated detention pol-
icies in favor of their own putative assessments of the de-
tainees’ ties to terrorism. The panel majority extended
Bivens only by improperly refusing to consider “special
factors” that would preclude Bivens’ expansion, asserting
that the context here was not “new.” If foreign nationals
are to be afforded a damages action allowing them to
litigate the validity of FBI terrorism designations—and
to impose personal liability on local jailers—Congress,
not the courts, must decide to create it.
A. This Court Is Properly Reluctant To Extend
Bivens in View of “Special Factors”
In Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents, 403 U.S.
388 (1971), this Court “recognized for the first time an
implied private action for damages against federal offi-
cers alleged to have violated a citizen’s constitutional
rights.” Malesko, 534 U.S. at 66. The plaintiff in Bivens
alleged that federal agents had conducted a warrantless
search and arrested him in violation of the Fourth
Amendment. 403 U.S. at 389. The Court implied a dam-
ages action against the officers under the Fourth Amend-
22
ment. /d. at 397. This Court, however, has repeatedly
cautioned that, “|bljefore a Bivens remedy may be fash-
ioned” for a new context, “a court must take into account
any ‘special factors counselling hesitation’” in the ab-
sence of affirmative action by Congress. Chappell v.
Wallace, 462 U.S. 296, 298 (1983).
1. Inthe decade following Bivens’ judicial creation of
an “implied private action for damages” under the
Fourth Amendment, this Court extended that cause of
action twice. It recognized a Bivens action for unconsti-
tutional discrimination by a U.S. Congressman, Davis v.
Passman, 442 U.S. 228 (1979), and one for Eighth
Amendment violations by prison guards in the ordinary
prison context, Carlson v. Green, 446 U.S. 14 (1980).
The Court has not extended Bivens in the three-and-a-
half decades since. The Court declined to extend Bivens
to “claims of First Amendment violations by federal
employers, Bush v. Lucas, 462 U.S. 367 (1983), harm to
military personnel through activity incident to service,
United States v. Stanley, 483 U.S. 669 (1987); Chappell v.
Wallace, 462 U.S. 296 (1983), and wrongful denials of
Social Security disability benefits, Schweiker v. Chilicky,
487 U.S. 412 (1988).” Wilkie v. Robbins, 551 U.S. 537,
550 (2007). And it has “seen no case for extending Bivens
to claims against federal agencies, FDIC v. Meyer, 510
U.S. 471 (1994), or against private prisons, [Malesko, 534
U.S. at 61).” Wilkie, 551 U.S. at 550.
That reluctance to extend Bivens is well-founded.
This Court has “repeatedly said that a decision to create
a private right of action is one better left to legislative
judgment in the great majority of cases.” Sosa v. Alva-
rez-Machain, 542 U.S. 692, 727 (2004). “‘Congress is in a
better position to decide whether or not the public
interest would be served’” by imposing a “‘new substan-
23
tive legal liability.’” Schweiker, 487 U.S. at 412, 426-427.
“| |mplied causes of action” are “disfavored.” Ashcroft v.
Iqbal, 556 U.S. 662, 675 (2009). This Court thus has ad-
monished that courts must “‘pay| | particular heed’” not
to expand Bivens to new contexts if “‘special factors
counsel | hesitation.’” Wilkie, 551 U.S. at 550.
2. The special-factors inquiry turns not on “the mer-
its of the particular remedy,” but on “who should decide
whether [to provide] such a remedy”—Congress or the
courts. Bush, 462 U.S. at 380 (emphasis added). For
example, courts will not imply a Bivens action touching
on “military, national security, or intelligence” matters.
Doe v. Rumsfeld, 683 F.3d 390, 394 (D.C. Cir. 2012). In
those areas, Congress’s and the Executive’s competence
to balance competing objectives is at its apogee, while the
judiciary’s is at its nadir. /bid.; see Haig v. Agee, 453
U.S. 280, 292 (1981) (“Matters intimately related to * * *
national security are rarely proper subjects for judicial
intervention.”).
In Davis, this Court implied a Bivens remedy for a
former congressional staffer claiming gender discrim-
ination in violation of the Fifth Amendment. 442 U.S. at
230-231, 248-249. Four years later, in Chappell, the
Court refused to extend Bivens to claims by Navy sailors
who likewise alleged employment discrimination. 462
U.S. at 304. The Court did not deem the two contexts
identical in view of the identity of the legal claims.
Instead, it looked to an additional consideration not pre-
sent in Davis—the military context—and concluded that
it counseled a different result. Jd. at 300-301, 304. When
such “special factors” are present, Congress is “‘in a far
better position than a court to evaluate the impact of a
new species of litigation,’” and courts thus will not imply
24
a new damages remedy. Lebron v. Rumsfeld, 670 F.3d
540, 553 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 132 S. Ct. 2751 (2012).
While this Court has cautioned against extending Biv-
ens Lo “new contexts,” it has not articulated a test for
determining whethcr a “context” is “new.” The courts of
appeals, however, have generally adopted a common-
sense approach, “construling| ‘context’ * * * ‘to reflect a
potentially recurring scenario that has similar legal and
factual components.’” Meshal v. Higgenbothaim, 804
F.3d 417, 424 (D.C. Cir. 2015) (quoting Arar v. Ashcroft,
585 F.3d 559, 572 (2d Cir. 2009) (en banc), cert. denied,
560 U.S. 978 (2010)); see De La Paz v. Coy, 786 F.3d 367,
372 (5th Cir. 2015); Mirmehdi v. United States, 689 F.3d
975, 981 (9th Cir. 2011), cert. denied, 133 S. Ct. 2336
(2013).
That approach functions reasonably so long as courts,
in comparing “legal and factual” scenarios, consider dif-
ferences between the current case and prior ones that
may give rise to “special factors counselling hesitation.”
As Judge Raggi explained, “where a proposed Bivens
claim presents legal and factual circumstances that were
not present in an earlier Bivens case, a new assessment”
of whether special factors counsel hesitation “is neces-
sary because no court has yet made the requisite ‘judg-
ment’ that a judicially implied damages remedy is ‘the
best way’ to implement constitutional guarantees in that
context.” Pet. App. 94a (quoting Wilkie, 551 U.S. at 550).
B. The Second Circuit’s “New Context” Analysis
Eviscerates Special-Factors Review
This case arises from a national-security response to
the 9/11 terrorist attacks. Respondents are foreign na-
tionals, illegally in the United States, who were detained
as part of the investigation into that attack. Because the
FBI designated them as “of interest” or of “high inter-
25
est” to its investigation, e.g., Pet. App. 302a(1143), BOP
policy required that respondents be confined in the “most
restrictive and secure conditions permitted,” id. at 50a-
5la. Respondents do not challenge the legality of that
policy itself. Rather, they claim that the imposition of
restrictive confinement conditions on them violated due
process and equal protection. Respondents allege that,
while Hasty and Sherman may have “initially believed
that they would be housing only those detainees who
were suspected of ties to terrorism,” they “eventually
knew that the FBI lacked any individualized suspicion for
many” detainees held in restrictive confinement, id. at
52a (second emphasis added), yet “continued to detain
them” in those conditions, id. at 53a. Essentially, respon-
dents seek to hold local jailers liable under Bivens
because they failed to reject FBI terrorism designations,
and did not disregard the corresponding confinement
conditions mandated by BOP policy, based on their own
putative views about respondents’ ties to terrorism.
1. The panel majority refused to consider whether
“special factors” counselled against extension of the
Bivens action to this context. The majority declined to
consider that this case arises from a national-security
response to an unprecedented terrorist attack. It did not
address whether special factors might exist here because
the case implicates FBI terrorism designations—or that
the claims rest on the theory that local jailers were
obligated to disregard them. It did not consider whether
permitting a case like this to proceed might touch on
issues of national security, require inquiry into intelli-
gence information, or affect foreign relations. Nor did it
ask “who should decide whether |to provide] such a rem-
edy” in this context, Congress or the courts. Bush, 462
U.S. at 380.
26
Instead, the panel held that the context was not
“new’—that the case “stands firmly within a familiar
Bivens context.” Pet. App. 25a. But it reached that re-
sult only by adopting a highly generalized test for deter-
mining whether a Bivens context is “new.” A context is
not “new,” the majority held, if (a) the “rights injured”
and (b) the “mechanism of injury” match those in prior
Bivens actions. /d. at 23a. Applying that test, the panel
identified the injured rights as “substantive due process,”
“equal protection,” and “Fourth Amendment” rights. /d.
at 24a, 28a-29a. And it identified the “mechanism of in-
jury” as “punitive conditions without sufficient cause”
and “an unreasonable search performed by a prison offi-
cial.” Jd. at 24a-25a, 28a.
The panel majority thus defined the “context” here as
“federal detainee|s| * * * alleg{ing]| that individual federal
officers subjected them to punitive conditions” or “sub-
jected them to unreasonable searches.” Pet. App. 24a,
28a. At that level of abstraction, the panel found no dif-
ference between a run-of-the-mill prisoner suit alleging
“punitive conditions” or “unreasonable searches” and the
extraordinary context here—the claim that jailers should
be liable for deferring to the FBI’s terrorism designa-
tions for detained foreign nationals in the wake of 9/11.
That approach utterly decontextualizes “context.” “At
a sufficiently high level of generality,” any case can be
analogized to another. Arar, 585 F.3d at 572. The
approach also divorces the “context” inquiry from its pur-
pose. The point is to determine whether courts have al-
ready conducted a “special factors” analysis addressing
the same considerations, rendering a new analysis unnec-
essary. See Pet. App. 94a (Raggi, J., dissenting). Courts
may have allowed Bivens suits by “federal detainee|s|”
based on garden-variety allegations that “federal officers
27
subjected them to punitive conditions.” /d. at 24a-25a,
28a-29a. But that does not mean courts have considered
whether “special factors” counsel against judicial implica-
tion of a Bivens action for claims touching on national
security, or seeking to impose personal liability on jailers
for respecting FBI terrorism designations.
The cases cited by the panel majority illustrate the
problem. For example, the panel cited Cale v. Johnson,
861 F.2d 943 (6th Cir. 1988), as holding that “‘a Bivens
action may be brought by a federal prisoner, alleging vio-
lations of his right to substantive due process.’” Pet.
App. 26a. But Cale concerned allegations that a prison
official had “plant{ed] illegal drugs” on an inmate for “re-
taliatory purposes.” 861 F.2d at 948. Other cited cases
involved familiar allegations of deliberate indifference to
medical needs—from guards “delay|ing] for too long” in
transferring prisoners to a hospital, Carlson, 446 U.S. at
16 n.1, to denying a prisoner “access to his glaucoma
medication,” Thomas v. Ashcroft, 470 F.3d 491, 494 (2d
Cir. 2006).
That special factors did not counsel hesitation in those
contexts says nothing about whether special factors
counsel hesitation here—where detained foreign nation-
als unlawfully present in the United States following ter-
rorist attacks seek to hold local jailers liable for not dis-
regarding the FBI’s terrorism designations and the
BOP’s corresponding mandatory confinement conditions.
If this Court’s admonition that courts must consider
special factors before extending Bivens to new “contexts”
means anything, courts cannot equate the unprecedented
context here with an ordinary conditions-of-confinement
challenge by ordinary inmates in ordinary times.
2. The Second Circuit’s “new context” framework
defies this Court’s precedents. As noted above, Davis
28
implied a Bivens remedy to permit a former congression-
al staffer to assert gender discrimination. 442 U.S. at
230-231, 248-249. But Chappell foreclosed a similar claim
by Navy sailors. 462 U.S. at 297, 304. Under the Second
Circuit’s “source of right”/“mechanism of injury” for-
mulation, Chappell would not have been a new “context.”
In both Chappell and Passman, the source of the right
(Fifth Amendment) and the mechanism of injury (dis-
criminatory employment actions) were the same. But
this Court recognized that Chappell arose within “the
framework of the military establishment,” an area where
Congress and not the courts has particular authority and
expertise. 462 U.S. at 301-303. It thus presented a new
context where special factors precluded Bivens’ expan-
sion.”
Likewise, although this Court implied an Eighth
Amendment remedy against federal prison officials in
Carlson, 446 U.S. at 17, it refused to extend that remedy
to suits against private corporations operating a prison
under a BOP contract in Malesko, 534 U.S. at 63. The
legal and factual differences between publicly employed
corrections officers and private corporations, the Court
ruled, counseled against Bivens’ expansion. See id. at 70-
74.
The Second Circuit’s “new context” framework thus
defies precedent and common sense. By treating cases
* The Second Circuit characterized Chappell as “focus|ing| on the
special nature of the employer-omployee relationship in the mili-
tary—or, in other words, the mechanism of injury.” Pet. App. 24a
n.l5. But the Second Circuit ignored the similarly special nature of
any “mechanism of injury” here, disregarding national-security con-
cerns and the different roles of the FBI and local jailers in
identifying terrorist threats. See id. at 24a, 28a.
29
with different legal and factual circumstances as the
same “context,” it evades analysis of considerations criti-
eal to whether “special factors” counsel against judicial
implication of a remedy Congress has not authorized. A
“new context” test that does not acknowledge the differ-
ences between a run-of-the-mill conditions-of-confine-
ment case by an ordinary prisoner and the exceptional
circumstances at issue here is no test at all. Such an ap-
proach “invite|s|” Bivens’ expansion into “every sphere
of legitimate governmental action.” Wilkie, 551 U.S. at
561.
C. This Case Is Replete with Special Factors
This action arises from a national-security response to
the most devastating terrorist attack “‘in the history of
the American Republic.’” /qbal, 556 U.S. at 685. “[T]he
executive’s exercise of national security authority * * *
will be the critical focus” of the case. Pet. App. 108a.
Special factors thus resonate throughout this context.
1. “Matters intimately related to * * * national se-
curity are rarely proper subjects for judicial interven-
tion.” Haig, 453 U.S. at 292. Consequently, where the
allegations involve “the military, national security, or
intelligence,” special factors counsel against extending
Bivens. Doe, 683 F.3d at 394; see also Meshal, 804 F.3d
at 425-426.
For example, in Lebron, the Fourth Circuit refused to
extend Bivens to claims against Department of Defense
officials arising from a citizen’s seizure and detention as
an enemy combatant. Special factors counseled hesita-
tion because a Bivens remedy would “‘intrude upon the
authority of the Executive in military and national secu-
rity affairs.’” 670 F.3d at 549. Likewise, in Doe, the D.C.
Circuit declined to extend Bivens to a case that “would
require a court to delve into the military’s policies re-
30
garding the designation of detainees as * * * ‘enemy com-
batants,’ as well as policies governing interrogation tech-
niques.” 683 F.3d at 394, 396.
Those same considerations apply here. This case
would require courts to second-guess FBI terrorism des-
ignations for foreign nationals and decide appropriate
conditions of confinement. Whether the judiciary should
be placed in the position of “reviewling] and disap-
prov|ing| sensitive * * * decisions” of that sort is a deci-
sion “‘more appropriate| | for those who write the laws’”
than “‘for those who interpret them.’” Lebron, 670 F.3d
at 551-552. That is so not only because constitutional
authority to create causes of action rests with the politi-
cal branches, “but also because that’s where the expertise
lies.” Vance v. Rumsfeld, 701 F.3d 193, 200 (7th Cir.
2012) (en bance), cert. denied, 133 8. Ct. 2796 (2013).
2. Unlike typical prison cases, moreover, cases like
this one often involve classified or sensitive information.
The propriety of FBI terrorism designations, and the
assertion that Hasty and Sherman “knew” the FBI was
wrong, are linchpins of respondents’ claims. Litigating
the merits thus could “require judicial intrusion into
matters of national security and sensitive intelligence
information.” Wilson v. Libby, 535 F.3d 697, 710 (D.C.
Cir. 2008), cert. denied, 557 U.S. 919 (2009). “Even a
small chance that some court will order disclosure of a
source’s identity could well impair intelligence gathering
and cause sources to ‘close up like a clam.’” C/A v. Sims,
471 U.S. 159, 175 (1985).
That consideration has special force where, as here,
the plaintiffs are foreign nationals. See Arar, 585 F.3d at
576. The FBI’s assessment of terrorism connections in
such cases may rest on “exchanges among the ministries
and agencies of foreign countries on diplomatic, security,
ol
and intelligence issues.” /bid. “Even the probing of
these matters” may deter foreign nations from “sharing
intelligence resources to counter terrorism.” J/bid.; see
Lebron, 670 F.3d at 554. Because the legislature is better
equipped to evaluate those risks, the potential involve-
ment of sensitive information likewise weighs dispositive-
ly against Bivens’ expansion. Lebron, 670 F.3d at 554.
Respondents’ effort to deny that risk proves the oppo-
site. Respondents note that, according to the Complaint,
“there was no reason to suspect [respondents | of any con-
nection to terrorism,” and Hasty and Sherman knew it.
Br. in Opp. 20. On a motion to dismiss, they assert, those
allegations must be taken as true. /d. at 19-20. But re-
spondents will have the burden of proving that the FBI
had no intelligence information tying them to terrorism,
and defendants may wish to prove the opposite. Liti-
gating such issues threatens to “require judicial intrusion
into matters of national security and sensitive intelli-
gence information.” Libby, 535 F.3d at 710. Even uncer-
tainty over the need to consider sensitive information at
any point in the litigation “is reason for caution” before
extending Bivens. Meshal, 804 F.3d at 426; see Lebron,
670 F.3d at 553 (special factors preclude Bivens’ exten-
sion in part because “[a|ny defense” to the claims would
involve terrorism “intelligence”); Stanley, 483 U.S. at 682
(noting “the prospect of compelled depositions and trial
testimony by military officers” in concluding that special
factors preclude Bivens’ expansion to the military con-
text)."
* The availability of the state-secrets privilege does not substitute for
such considerations. It may be that “courts can—with difficulty and
resourcefulness—consider” that doctrine to protect state secrets
“when there is an unflagging duty to exercise jurisdiction.” Arer,
32
3. As the panel acknowledged, this case also has a
“major immigration law component.” Pet. App. 8a. That,
too, is a special factor. “|Ajny policy toward aliens is
** * so exclusively entrusted to the political branches of
government as to be largely immune from judicial in-
quiry or interference.” Harisiades v. Shaughnessy, 342
U.S. 580, 588-589 (1952). Immigration policy is replete
with “foreign-policy objectives and * * * foreign-intelli-
gence products and techniques.” eno v. Am.-Arab
Anti-Discrimination Comm., 525 U.S. 471, 490-491
(1999). The implication of “immigration issues” further
“‘counsels hesitation’ in extending Bivens” here. Mir-
mehdi, 689 F.3d at 982; see De La Paz, 786 F.3d at 375.
4. This case implicates a special factor of particular
salience to lower-level officials assigned sensitive duties
in the uncertainty that can follow a national emergency—
the ability to rely on the chain of command and the ex-
pertise of coordinate agencies. The proper functioning of
law enforcement, even in ordinary times, depends on
subordinate officers following orders and policies issued
by superiors. Cf. U/nited States v. Kisala, 64 M.J. 50, 51-
52 (C.A.A.F. 2006). Yet the decision below seeks to im-
pose liability on local jailers because they did not dis-
regard terrorism designations made by the F’B/—an
agency with far more information and experience in
terrorism-related matters—in favor of their own putative
assessments of prisoners’ terrorism connections.
The very notion of chain of command cannot survive if
lower-level officers must face the prospect of liability for
585 F.3d at 575-576. But courts should not recognize a cause of
action that will require them to do so unless “the legislative branch
has authorized that course.” Lebron, 670 F.3d at 554; see Arar, 585
F.3d at 576.
33
failing to countermand facially lawful orders from super-
visors and designations by agencies with intelligence and
expertise that the lower-level officials lack. If such a
damages action is to be recognized, Congress and not the
courts must create it. Cf. Chappell, 462 U.S. at 304 (re-
fusing to recognize a Bivens action that would “disrupt{ }”
the “special relationship” between a “soldier [and] his
superiors” (quotation marks omitted)).
Here, moreover, respondents deploy Bivens to chal-
lenge what they characterize as national-security “policy”
promulgated by senior Executive Branch officials. £.g.,
Pet. App. 255a(16); see id. at 244a. But “the Bivens
remedy *** hals] never [been] considered a proper
vehicle for altering an entity’s policy.” Malesko, 534 U.S.
at 74; see Ashcroft Pet., No. 15-1359, at 17-18. If suing
senior Executive officials for promulgating policy is not a
legitimate basis for a Bivens action, then suing lower-
level officials for following that policy is not either.
5. Finally, the “|clongressional attention” to the con-
stitutional] violations alleged here has been “frequent and
intense.” Schweiker, 487 U.S. at 425. The Office of the
Inspector General issued lengthy and detailed reports.
Pet. App. 115a-117a (Raggi, J., dissenting); see J.A. 34-
416. Yet “[ajt no point did Congress choose to extend
*** the kind of remedies that respondents seek in this
lawsuit.” Schweiker, 487 U.S. at 426. Congress’s deci-
sion not to provide a remedy itself confirms that this
Court should not imply one. /d. at 423; see Lebron, 670
I'.3d at 551-552; Vance, 701 F.3d at 200-201.
il. HASty AND SHERMAN ARE ENTITLED TO QUALIFIED
IMMUNITY
Federal officials are entitled to qualified immunity so
long as “‘their conduct does not violate clearly estab-
lished statutory or constitutional rights.” Pearson v.
34
Callahan, 555 U.S. 223, 231 (2009). The “clearly estab-
lished” rights inquiry must account for the specific cir-
cumstances the officer confronted. “To be clearly estab-
lished, a right must be sufficiently clear that ‘every
“reasonable official would [have understood] that what he
is doing violates that right.”’” Reichle v. Howards, 132
S. Ct. 2088, 2093 (2012) (emphasis added). “{I|f officers
of reasonable competence could disagree on [the] issue,
immunity should be recognized.” Malley v. Briggs, 475
U.S. 335, 341 (1986).
“|I}mmunity thus may be denied only if “‘existing
precedent * * * placed’” the answer “‘beyond debate.’”
Reichle, 132 S. Ct. at 2093. Although the inquiry is “ob-
jective” —subjective good faith is irrelevant, Harlow v.
Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818 (1982)—qualified immunity
“gives government officials breathing room to make rea-
sonable but mistaken judgments * * * . Properly applied,
it protects ‘all but the plainly incompetent or those who
knowingly violate the law.’” Ashcroft v. al-Kidd, 563 U.S.
731, 743 (2011). The decision below defies those stan-
dards.
A. The Complaint Does Not Plead Violations of
Clearly Established Due-Process and Equal-
Protection Rights
According to the Complaint, Hasty and Sherman vio-
lated respondents’ due-process and equal-protection
rights by keeping them in restrictive conditions. Pet.
App. 49a-54a, 68a-73a. No one denies that the FBI had
designated respondents as “of interest” to its 9/11 inves-
tigation. /d. at 16a-17a, 51a. Nor does anyone dispute
that BOP policy mandated that all detainees so desig-
nated be housed in the “‘most restrictive * * * conditions
permitted.’” /d. at 50a-5la. The panel recognized that
“national security concerns could justify detaining those
35
individuals with suspected ties to terrorism in these
challenged conditions” for a whole “litany of reasons.”
Id. at 46a; see id. at 143a-144a. The panel thus agreed
that Hasty and Sherman’s execution of that policy itself
“would not sustain liability.” Jd. at 51a.
1. The panel majority nonetheless held that Hasty
and Sherman could be liable because, according to the
Jomplaint, they became “‘aware that the FBI had not
developed any information’” tying respondents “‘to ter-
rorism.’” Pet. App. 5la. Hasty and Sherman, the panel
presumed, were obligated to overrule the FBI’s terror-
ism designations, and place respondents in less re-
strictive conditions, based on their amateur assessments
of respondents’ connection to the 9/11 investigation. /d.
at 5la-52a.
Setting aside the implausibility of the Complaint’s
allegations—that local jailers had the information and ex-
pertise to “know” the FBI’s terrorism designations were
wrong—the allegations identify no violation of clearly
established law. The panel cited no authority, and
certainly no “clearly established law,” declaring that local
jailers are constitutionally obligated to reject FBI
terrorism designations in favor of their own putative
assessments. Looking at the “‘particular conduct’”
alleged, in the “‘specific context’” in which Hasty and
Sherman acted, Mullenix v. Luna, 136 S. Ct. 305, 308
(2015), the claim that the Constitution required them to
defy BOP policy and FBI designations was hardly
““‘beyond debate.’” /bid.
To the contrary, most “reasonably competent” prison
officials would have believed they were required to re-
spect the FBI’s designations, whatever their own sub-
jective beliefs. “|M Jade at BOP headquarters,” the policy
requiring “highly restrictive conditions” for anyone “of
36
interest” to the FBI’s 9/11 terrorism investigation was
facially constitutional. Pet. App. 3la, 50a-5la. And the
determination that respondents were “of interest” to the
FBI's investigation came from the FBI, the agency that
has domestic and foreign intelligence information and
was charged with running the investigation. Hasty and
Sherman, by contrast, had no role in the 9/11 investi-
gation. They had no expertise in terrorism matters. And
they had no reason to receive all intelligence information
the FBI might have.
Under those circumstances, the contention that “every
reasonable official would have understood” that these
jailers were constitutionally obligated to overrule the
FBI’s designations and the BOP’s policy based on their
own supposed subjective beliefs defies credulity. See
Reichle, 132 S. Ct. at 2093.’
2. The Second Circuit reached the opposite conclu-
sion only by changing the question. For the due-process
claims relating to official conditions, it denied immunity
because it was clearly established that “a condition of
pretrial detention not reasonably related to a legitimate
governmental objective is punishment in violation of the
constitutional rights of detainees.” Pet. App. 58a. That
framing of the inquiry contravenes this Court’s repeated
admonition “‘not to define clearly established law at a
high level of generality.” Mudllenix, 136 S. Ct. at 308.
The “dispositive inquiry in determining whether a right
is clearly established is whether it would be clear to a
“If anything, cases suggest the opposite. In Brady v. Dill, 187 F.3d
104 (Ist Cir. 1999), for example, the court held that “subjective
belief” in an arrestee’s innocence “is generally insufficient to justify
a police officer’s unilateral release of a person who has been lawfully
arrested pursuant to a valid judicial order.” /d. at 113.
37
reasonable officer that his conduct was unlawful in the
situation he confronted.” Saucier v. Katz, 533 U.S. 194,
202 (2001) (emphasis added). The panel’s formulation ex-
cludes any consideration of the “situation”—the FBI
terrorism designations and BOP-mandated policy in the
wake of an unprecedented terrorist attack—that Hasty
and Sherman “confronted.”
In Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635 (1987), this
Court held that qualified immunity may not be denied in
a Fourth Amendment case simply because the right to be
free from unreasonable searches is clearly established by
the Fourth Amendment. /d. at 639. If the test were ap-
plied “at this level of generality,” plaintiffs “would be able
to convert the rule of qualified immunity * * * into a rule
of virtually unqualified liability simply by alleging
violation of extremely abstract rights.” /bid. Conse-
quently, this Court requires “that the right the official is
alleged to have violated must have been ‘clearly estab-
lished’ in a more particularized, and hence relevant,
sense.” Jd. at 640. The right’s “contours” must have
been so clear that any reasonably competent officer
would have understood that his conduct was unlawful in
the situation he confronted. /bid.
The panel’s contention that rights “do[ ] not vary with
the surrounding circumstances,” Pet. App. 49a, does not
justify the contrary approach. However attractive that
may sound in the abstract, whether conduct violates
rights—and thus the rights’ scope—does depend on cir-
cumstances. The right to be free from unreasonable
searches in some sense may not “vary” with context. But
whether a search is “unreasonable”—and thus violates
the plaintiff’s rights—does depend on circumstances.
Anderson, 483 U.S. at 640-641. This Court thus evalu-
ates immunity by addressing whether the challenged
38
conduct was obviously unlawful given the specific situa-
tion the officers confronted.”
The court of appeals repeated its error by asserting
that Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520 (1979), made it “clear
that a condition of pretrial detention not reasonably re-
lated to a legitimate governmental objective is punish-
ment in violation of the constitutional rights of detain-
ees.” Pet. App. 58a. Wolfish merely states that legal
principle as a “general proposition.” al-Kidd, 563 U.S. at
742. Indeed, Wolfish rejected the constitutional chal-
lenges there (e.g., that “double-bunking” inmates in the
same cell violated due process). 441 U.S. at 541. It is
anyone’s guess how Wolfish “clearly establishes” that
Hasty and Sherman were required to disregard the
FBI's terrorism designations and substitute their own
supposed beliefs.”
* See, e.g., Mullenix, 136 S. Ct. at 309 (addressing whether clearly
established law prohibited shooting “a reportedly intoxicated fugi-
tive, set on avoiding capture through high-speed vehicular flight,
who twice during his flight had threatened to shoot police officers,
and who was moments away from encountering an officer”); Wood v.
Moss, 134 S. Ct. 2056, 2068 (2014) (addressing whether clearly
established law required “Secret Service agents engaged in crowd
control * * * ‘to ensure that groups with different viewpoints are at
comparable locations at all times’”).
* The panel also relied on the Second Circuit’s earlier decision in
Iqbal v. Hasty, 490 F.3d 143 (2d Cir. 2007), rev’d sub nom. Asheroft
v. Iqbal, 556 U.S. 662 (2009), as having “denied qualified immunity
with respect to a materially identical conditions claim.” Pet. App.
48a. But that earlier ruling suffers from the same defect as the deci-
sion below—it improperly concluded that the specific “context” was
irrelevant. 490 F.3d at 169. The court's ruling, moreover, does not
bind this Court. Whether the conduct here violated clearly establish-
ed law is one of the questions this Court granted review to address.
Pet. i, in No. 15-1368.
39
The panel majority’s equal-protection analysis suffers
from the same defect. The majority invoked a general
standard: “[{I]t was clearly established * * * that it was
illegal to hold individuals in harsh conditions of confine-
ment or otherwise target them for mistreatment because
of their race, ethnicity, religion, and/or national origin.”
Pet. App. 74a. The panel never addressed whether any
reasonable officer would understand that the actions
Ilasty and Sherman took—affording due respect to the
FBI's terrorism designations when implementing the
BOP’s facially valid mandatory confinement policy—
would violate that standard.
The answer to that question is “no.” In /qbal, this
Court reviewed the FBI’s “‘arrest| | and det|ention] [of |
thousands of Arab Muslim men’” in connection with its
9/11 investigation, as well as its policy of holding such de-
tainees in “‘highly restrictive conditions of confinement’”
until cleared. 556 U.S. at 681. Because the attacks were
“perpetrated by 19 Arab Muslim hijackers,” the Court
found it unsurprising “that a legitimate policy directing
law enforcement to arrest and detain individuals because
of their suspected link to the attacks would produce a
disparate, incidental impact on Arab Muslims.” /d. at
682. Such arrests were more likely motivated not by dis-
criminatory bias, but rather by a “nondiscriminatory in-
tent to detain” aliens “who had potential connections to
those who committed terrorist acts.” /bid. The panel
majority nowhere explained why every reasonable officer
in Hasty and Sherman’s circumstances would conclude
otherwise with respect to the policies they were obligated
to effect.
3. The panel did not suggest that Hasty and Sher-
man imposed the challenged conditions of their own voli-
tion based on “an express[ed] intent to punish.” Pet.
40
App. 50a."" Nor could it: “|The decision to impose high-
ly restrictive conditions was made” not by Hasty and
Sherman, but “at BOP headquarters.” /bid. Instead, the
fundamental premise of respondents’ suit is that Hasty
and Sherman became required—as a matter of clearly
established law—to disregard the FBI’s designations
based on their own subjective assessments of respon-
dents’ terrorism connections. See id. at 5la-59a. No
precedent supports that putative obligation. In fact, it is
doubtful Hasty and Sherman even had that authority.
Neither Hasty nor Sherman were competent or
authorized to decide whether detainees were “of interest”
to the FBI’s 9/11 investigation. Whether the detainees
were “of interest” to the FBI’s investigation was a matter
for the FBI itself. Because the BOP’s restrictive-condi-
tion requirements were facially valid, Pet. App. 3la, 50a-
5la, Hasty and Sherman had no authority to disobey
them either. It is well established that “an order requir-
ing the performance of a military duty or act may be in-
ferred to be lawful and it is disobeyed at the peril of the
subordinate.” Manual for Courts-Martial, United States
art. 90(c)(2)(a)(i) (2012). Likewise, this Court has ex-
plained that “{plolice are charged to enforce laws until
and unless they are declared unconstitutional.” Michi-
gan v. DeFillippo, 448 U.S. 31, 37-38 (1979). “Society
In Kingsley v. Hendrickson, 135 S. Ct. 2466 (2015), this Court
explained that Wolfish divides cases into two categories—those with
“an expressed intent to punish” and those without. Wolfish “ex-
plain{ed] that, in the absence of an expressed intent to punish,” pre-
trial detention conditions violate the Constitution if they are “not ‘ra-
tionally related to a legitimate non-punitive governmental purpose.’”
ld. at 2473-2474. The latter test is “solely an objective one.” /d. at
2473; see ibid. (Wolfish applied “rationally related” standard without
considering “the prison officials’ subjective beliefs about the policy”).
Al
would be ill-served if its police officers took it upon them-
selves to determine which laws are and which are not
constitutionally entitled to enforcement.” /bid.
So too here. Hasty and Sherman were “charged” with
implementing BOP policy based on the FBI’s terrorism
determinations. It is an understatement to say “|s|ociety
would be ill-served” if corrections officers took it upon
themselves to second-guess our intelligence agencies in
assessing Lerrorism-related risks. Indeed, as explained
below, experience has taught that underestimating such
risks can be calamitous. See p. 42 & n.12, infra.
Consequently, even using Wolfish’s general formula-
tion, Hasty and Sherman’s conduct was not clearly un-
lawful. Following a facially valid BOP confinement policy
in view of terrorism designations provided by the FBI
has a “legitimate nonpunitive governmental purpose.”
Wolfish, 441 U.S. at 561. It ensures terrorism assess-
ments are made by those with expertise, information, and
authority, and that jailers without experience in such
matters do not jeopardize security based on their own
untutored views. No clearly established law compels the
contrary conclusion."
" Even if Hasty and Sherman's supposed belief that the FBI's
terrorism designations were wrong were taken to suggest they had
improper motives, but see pp. 39-40 & n.10, supra, that would not
render compliance with facially valid orders clearly unconstitutional.
See al-Kidd, 563 U.S. at 744 (“We hold that an objectively rea-
sonable arrest and detention of a material wilness pursuant to a
validly obtained warrant cannot be challenged as unconstitutional on
the basis of allegations that the arresting authority had an improper
motive.”).
42
B. The Complaint Does Not Plead Clearly Estab-
lished Fourth Amendment Violations
The Fourth Amendment strip-search claims fare no
better. Denying qualified immunity, the panel declared
“‘it was clearly established’” that “‘strip and body-cavity
searches |must] be rationally related to legitimate gov-
ernment purposes.’” Pet. App. 79a. The challenged pol-
icy was clearly unlawful, the panel held, because it re-
quired strip searches “when there was no possibility that
[respondents] could have obtained contraband.” /d. at
77a. That analysis, however, again fails to examine wheth-
er the policy was clearly unlawful in the circumstances
Hasty and Sherman confronted.
Experience in similar circumstances had taught that
failure to exercise extreme diligence can have deva-
stating consequences. A few years before the events
here, a “restrictively confined terrorist” attacked a pris-
on guard, stabbing him in the eye with a knife fashioned
from a contraband comb—with tragic consequences. Pet.
App. 143a, 16la (discussing United States v. Salim, 690
F.3d 115 (2d Cir. 2012), cert. denied, 133 S.Ct. 901
(2013))." As Judge Raggi explained in dissent, “it was
hardly irrational for prison authorities to conclude that
persons under investigation for terrorist connections
should be strip searched both randomly in their cells and
whenever they were moved from one location to another
to ensure prison security.” Pet. App. 161la.
" After being attacked by a suspected al Qaeda member, the guard
“suffered brain damage that left his right side partially paralyzed
and interfered with other normal functions, including his ability to
speak and write.” Salim, 690 F.3d at 120.
43
Kiven if the contrary view were law, that law was not
clearly established—a fact underscored by Judge Raggi’s
disagreement with the panel majority on whether such
searches violate the Fourth Amendment. “If judges thus
disagree on a constitutional question, it is unfair to sub-
ject [officials] to money damages for picking the losing
side of the controversy.” Wilson v. Layne, 526 U.S. 608,
618 (1999)."°
C. Respondents’ Allegations Do Not Plead a Clear
Violation of § 1985(3)
Hasty and Sherman are entitled to immunity with re-
spect to the §1985(3) claim as well.
1. Section 1985(3) makes it unlawful for “two or more
persons” to “conspire * * * for the purpose of depriving
** * any person or class of persons of the equal protec-
Lion of the laws.” For the reasons above, pp. 34-40, sup-
ra, the conduct challenged here did not violate respon-
dents’ clearly established equal-protection rights. A con-
spiracy lo engage in that conduct thus would not amount
to a clearly established violation of § 1985(3).
The Complaint also fails to allege a clearly established
violation of §1985(3) for two additional reasons. First, in
2001, it was unclear whether §1985(3) even applied to
federal officers. See Pet. App. 82a-88a; Hasty, 490 F.3d
'’ The pane! majority stated it was “bound” to deny qualified immu-
nity because it had denied qualified immunity in Hasty, which it
characterized as involving “substantially the same” Fourth Amend-
ment claim. Pet. App. 79a. That prior ruling does not bind this
Court, and its analysis features the defects identified above. See p.
38 n.9, supra. Hasty, moreover, emphasized allegations of succes-
sive strip searches. See 490 F.3d at 172. Here, respondents allege
searches only after intervening events like movement between cells.
Pet. App. 160a-161a.
44
at 176. Thus, when Hasty and Sherman acted, it could
not have been clear to every reasonable officer that the
alleged conspiracy would violate § 1985(3).
Second, under the intra-corporate (or intra-enterprise)
conspiracy doctrine, a corporation’s “employees, when
acting within the scope of their employment, cannot con-
spire among themselves.” McAndrew v. Lockheed Mar-
tin Corp., 206 F.3d 1031, 1036 (11th Cir. 2000) (en bance);
Pet. App. 82a. Here, the Complaint alleges a conspiracy
among the DOJ Defendants and Hasty and Sherman.
Pet. App. 347a(91305). But the DOJ Defendants, Hasty,
and Sherman all work for a single unit of government—
the DOJ includes BOP and its employees. /d. at 82a-88a
& n.46. For that reason, at least one district court has
ruled that the Attorney General and BOP employees
“cannot conspire together under Section 1985.” Jd. at
83a n.46. The panel majority thus admitted that it was
far from clear whether the alleged conduct violated
§1985(3). It remanded for a determination whether DOJ
and BOP should be considered a single enterprise. /d. at
83a. That remand demonstrates why immunity must be
granted: It was not clear to the Second Circuit whether
the alleged conduct amounted to a “conspiracy” pro-
scribed by §1985(3). A fortiori, it would not have been
clear to “any reasonably competent officer.”
2. Rather than require an unmistakable violation of
§1985(3), the panel denied immunity because it thought
the conduct was clearly proscribed by other sources of
law. In //asty, the Second Circuit had denied immunity
under §1985(3) on the ground that “‘|t/he proper inquiry
is whether the right itself—rather than its souwrce—is
clearly established.’” Hasty, 490 F.3d at i77. Citing
Hasty, the panel majority here declared that “‘federal
officials could not reasonably have believed that it was
45
legally permissible for them to conspire with other fed
eral officials’” even “‘without a definitive ruling from this
Jourt on the application of section 1985(3).’” Pet. App.
83a.
That theory defies this Court’s precedents. The
“clearly established law” inquiry must be made solely by
reference to the right the defendant was accused of vio-
lating. Davis v. Scherer, 468 U.S. 183, 194 n.12 (1984). In
Davis, a state employee brought due-process and § 1983
claims alleging that he was discharged without appropri-
ate process. /d. at 187. The terminated employee urged
that qualified immunity should be denied because the
defendants’ conduct clearly violated a state regulation.
/d, at 193-194. This Court disagreed, holding that “[o]ffi-
cials sued for violations of rights conferred by a statute
or regulation * * * do not forfeit their immunity by vio-
lating some other” right. Jd. at 194 n.12 (emphasis
added). Those “officials become liable for damages only
to the extent that there is a clear violation of the statu-
tory rights that give rise to the cause of action for dam-
ages.” Ibid. (emphasis added). Even if the defendants
clearly violated a state regulation, they were entitled to
immunity on the due-process and § 1983 claims because
those provisions did not clearly prohibit the conduct. /d.
at 194-195 & n.12.
The Court reiterated that holding in Hlder v. Hollo-
way, 510 U.S. 510 (1994). The question presented there
was: “Is qualified immunity defeated where a defendant
violates any clearly established duty,” or “must the
clearly established right be the federal right on which the
claim for relief is based?” /d. at 515. The Court con-
cluded that Daows “held the latter.” /bid. Here, the
“claim for relief is based” on a putative violation of
46
§1985(3). Unless Hasty and Sherman clearly violated
that provision, they are entitled to immunity.
Il. THE ALLEGATIONS DO Not MEET /QBAL’S PLAUSI-
BILITY REQUIREMENT
To survive a motion to dismiss under Rule 12(b)(6), “a
complaint must contain sufficient factual matter, accep-
ted as true, to ‘state a claim to relief that is plausible on
its face.’” Iqbal, 556 U.S. at 678 (emphasis added) (quot-
ing Bell Atl. Corp. v. Twombly, 550 U.S. 544, 570 (2007)).
It does not suffice to “plead facts * * * ‘merely consistent
with’ * * * liability.” /bid. The allegations must eliminate
“‘obvious alternative’” and “more likely” lawful explana-
tions for the challenged conduct. /d. at 682. The Com-
plaint does not meet that standard here.
A. The Complaint Does Not Plead Plausible Due-
Process or Equal-Protection Claims Based on
“Official” Conditions
In /qbal, this Court reversed the Second Circuit’s con-
clusion that the plaintiffs had plausibly alleged that the
FBI detained “‘thousands of Arab Muslim men’” in the
wake of 9/11 with discriminatory intent. 556 U.S. at 681.
The allegations failed to dispel the “‘obvious alternative
explanation’”—that the arrests were made with the
“nondiscriminat y intent to detain aliens who were
illegally presen. in the United States and who had
potential connections to those who committed terrorist
acts.” /d. at 682. Given the origins of the 9/11 attackers,
it was “unsurprising” that so many detainees would be
Arab or Muslim. /bid. Given that alternative explana-
tion, “the purposeful, invidious discrimination” the plain-
tiffs asked the Court to infer was “not a plausible con-
clusion.” [bid.
47
Respondents’ “official conditions” due-process and
equal-protection claims fail for the same reason. Respon-
dents theorize that Hasty and Sherman detained them in
highly restrictive conditions without a “legitimate non-
punitive penological purpose” in violation of due process,
or based on discriminatory animus in violation of equal
protection. But the Complaint fails to overcome the obvi-
ous alternative explanation—that Hasty and Sherman
were complying with the FBI’s terrorism designations
and BOP policies.
1. The panel did not dispute that the BOP policy—
which required all detainees “of interest” to the FBI’s
terrorism investigation be housed in the most restrictive
conditions permissible—served compelling purposes. It
agreed that “national security concerns could justify
detaining those individuals with suspected ties to terror-
ism in these challenged conditions” for a whole “litany of
reasons.” Pet. App. 46a. And the panel did not dispute
that respondents were designated “of interest” by the
FBI. /d. at 18a, 5la.
That designation provides the most “obvious” reason
for respondents’ detention in restrictive conditions. It
was not discriminatory or arbitrary. Rather, the FBI
provided terrorism designations and, cognizant of the
FBI’s expertise and authority, Hasty and Sherman fol-
lowed them. As the OIG report observed, “the BOP ac-
cepted [the FBI’s| assessment, since the BOP normally
takes ‘at face value’ FBI determinations that detainees
had a potential nexus to terrorism.” J.A. 241. Even the
panel majority accepted that “Hasty and Sherman t?-
lially believed that they would be housing only those
detainees who were suspected of ties to terrorism.” Pet.
App. 52a.
48
The panel held that the Complaint overcame that
alternative explanation by alleging that Hasty and Sher-
man “eventually knew that the FBI lacked any individu-
alized suspicion for many of the detainees that were sent
to the ADMAX SHU.” Pet. App. 52a (emphasis added).
Absent “individualized suspicion” of terrorism ties, “the
restriction|s| or condition|s] * * * were ‘arbitrary or pur-
poseless.’” Jd. at 45a-46a; see also id. at 50a-5la. But
that theory does not even approach the “plausibility”
threshold.
First, even assuming that Hasty and Sherman some-
how came to “know” that the FBI’s terrorism desig-
nations were wrong, that still does not overcome the most
plausible reason for confining respondents in restrictive
conditions: Whatever Hasty’s and Sherman’s personal
beliefs, they deferred to the FBI’s determinations in view
of that agency’s expertise, experience, and authority.
The FBI, not the local jailers, has experience with na-
tional-security and terrorism matters. The FBI, not the
local jailers, was conducting the 9/11 investigation. The
FBI, not the local jailers, was charged with “identifying
the terrorists who hijacked the airplanes and anyone who
aided their efforts.” J.A. 43. Indeed, Hasty and Sher-
man likely had no authority to overrule FBI designations
or BOP policy dictating the confinement conditions to be
imposed as a result. It is not plausible to infer “purpose-
ful, invidious discrimination,” /gbal, 556 U.S. at 682, or
arbitrarily punitive conditions, Wolfish, 441 U.S. at 538-
539, from obedience to FBI determinations and binding
policy from “BOP headquarters,” Pet. App. 50a—even if
one assumes Hasty and Sherman disagreed.
Second, the allegation that Hasty and Sherman
“knew” respondents had no terrorism connections—and
thus should not have been “of interest” to the FBI's
49
investigation—defies plausibility as well. Pet. App. 52a.
According to the Complaint and the panel, Hasty and
Sherman supposedly came to know that respondents had
no terrorism connections because the MDC received
“regular written updates” explaining why each detainee
was arrested, as well as “‘evidence relevant to the
danger’” each detainee “‘might pose’ to the MDC.” /bid.
According to the Complaint, those “updates often lacked
any indication of a suspicion of a tie to terrorism.” /bid.
But the Complaint offers no reason why Hasty and
Sherman would believe the FBI was sending, into a pri-
son, “written updates” with ail the potentially sensitive
domestic and foreign intelligence information it was
obtaining about detainees. The Complaint, moreover, al-
leges that the updates contained only “‘evidence relevant
to the danger [the detainees] might pose’ to the MDC,”
Pet. App. 52a (emphasis added)—not all information in-
telligence agencies had gathered connecting detainees to
terrorism. The allegation that Hasty and Sherman
thereby knew the FBI had no individualized suspicion
does not register as “‘conceivable,”” much less cross
“‘the line from conceivable to plausible.’” Jgbal, 556 U.S.
at 680.
2. Nor can the panel’s alternative “mendacity” the-
ory push the allegations across that line. Pet. App. 68a.
Departing from the district court, the panel inferred dis-
criminatory intent from an unspecified memorandum,
with an unstated date and purpose, that supposedly
contained the false statement that MDC “executive staff
*** had classified the ‘suspected terrorists’ as ‘High
Security’ based on an individualized assessment.” /d. at
68a-69a (quotation marks omitted); see id. at 53a. Ac-
cording to the panel, that was false because neither Has-
ty nor Sherman had conducted such an assessment. /d.
50
at 68a-69a. “(I]t is reasonable to infer,” the panel declar-
ed, “that Hasty and Sherman approved this false docu-
ment to justify detaining actual or perceived Arabs and
Muslims in the harsh conditions of the ADMAX SHU”
arbitrarily or “based on discriminatory intent.” /d. at
69a.
As Judge Raggi pointed out, the panel’s novel theory
fails to account for the “obvious| ] and more likely” expla-
nation—that, in suggesting individualized assessments
had been conducted, MDC officials were properly “re-
I[ying| on the FBI’s designations.” Pet. App. 157a. As
the OIG report observed, “the BOP normally takes ‘at
face value’ FBI determinations that detainees had a po-
tential nexus to terrorism.” J.A. 241. The cited docu-
ment itself makes that clear.'* It does not state that
MDC staff “classified the ‘suspected terrorists’ as ‘High
Security.’” Pet. App. 279a(174). It says MDC staff “de-
termined” that the detainees “have been classified” —pre-
sumably by the FBI—“as ‘High Security’ inmates.” Has-
ty Pet. App., No. 15-1363, at 467a (emphasis added). The
cited memorandum, moreover, was developed “to provide
staff with consistent guidelines and procedures” in
handling “suspected terrorism inmates” before they
arrived: It is dated three days after the 9/11 attacks,
before any respondent arrived at MDC." It is not plaus-
“ The document is cited by and thus incorporated by reference in the
Complaint. See 2 Moore’s Federal Practice § 12.34[2] & n.35 (3d ed.
2015); Brass v. Am. Film Techs., Inc., 987 F.2d 142, 150 (2d Cir.
1993) (court may consider document “in plaintiffs’ possession or of
which plaintiffs had knowledge and relied on in bringing suit”).
' The memorandum is dated September 14, 2001. Hasty Pet. App.,
No. 15-1363, at 466a. The earliest any respondent was arrested or
transported to the MDC is September 16, 2001. See Pet. App.
302a(9142) (Abbasi); id. at 306a(99 157-158) (Mehmood); id. at
—
dl
ible that a document dated before the detainees’ arrival
was intended to convey that Hasty and Sherman had per-
sonally made individualized determinations for unknown
detainees.
The panel refused to accept the “obvious” and “likely”
explanation that the memorandum was referring to the
FBI’s designations. That explanation, it asserted, was
“belie|d]” by the Complaint’s “alleg[ations] that the
‘MDC Defendants were aware that the FBI had not de-
veloped any information’ to tie the 9/11 detainees to ter-
rorism.” Pet. App. 70a. That makes no sense. The panel
elsewhere acknowledged that Hasty and Sherman may
have “initially” believed the designations lawful, and on-
ly “eventually knew that the FBI lacked any individual-
ized suspicion for many of the detainees.” Jd. at 52a
(second emphasis added). The panel nowhere suggested
that Hasty and Sherman had already come to believe the
FBI's designations were unfounded when the cited docu-
ment was created, before any respondent arrived at
MDC.
Far from supporting a “plausible” inference that Has-
ty and Sherman imposed the restrictive conditions of
confinement with discriminatory intent, the document
shows the opposite. It admonishes MDC staff to “per-
form their assigned duties in a professional manner” and
prohibits “humiliat{ing] and provokling]” the detainees.
Hasty Pet. App., No. 15-1363, at 466a (“Professionalism
must be demonstrated at all times * * * .”). Because the
allegations fail to refute the “obvious alternative” and
lawful explanation for the official confinement conditions,
3lla(1174) (Benatta); id. at 318a-319a(49 196-198) (Khalifa); id. at
324a (1217) (Hammouda); id. at 328a (91 230-232) (Bajracharya).
52
the due-process and equal-protection claims—as well as
the § 1985(3) claims—must fail. /qgbal, 556 U.S. at 682;
see Griffin v. Breckenridge, 403 U.S. 88, 102 (1971) (re-
quiring “racial, or perhaps otherwise class-based, in-
vidiously discriminatory animus” under § 1985(3)).
B. Respondents Do Not Allege Plausible Fourth
Amendment Claims
Respondents’ allegation that “they were subject to un-
reasonable *** strip searches” under an unwritten
policy, Pet. App. 75a, fails 7qgbal’s requirements as well.
1. The Complaint fails to plausibly allege Hasty’s
and Sherman’s personal involvement. It avers that Has-
ty ordered other MDC officials to “design extremely re-
strictive conditions of confinement,” and that the con-
finement conditions were “approved and implemented
by Hasty and Sherman.” Pet. App. 279a(1175) (emphasis
added). From that, the panel inferred that Hasty and
Sherman also ordered and approved an wnwritten “strip
search policy.” /d. at 76a. That, however, is just specula-
tion. The supposed “policy” was “never put in writing.”
/d. at 292a(1112). The Complaint offers no facts showing
that Hasty and Sherman somehow reviewed or approved
that unwritten policy.
The panel inferred the supposed “policy” from the
treatment respondents allegedly received. See Pet. App.
76a-78a. Respondents claim that they were strip search-
ed upon arrival at the MDC, after being transported to
the ADMAX SIIU, and “every time they were removed
from or returned from their cell,” including for lawyer
visits, medical care, attending court hearings, or “being
transferred to another cell.” /d. at 292a("%111). But
there is no allegation that Hasty or Sherman was in-
volved in or observed those searches, or that those
53
searches occurred pursuant to the policy Hasty or Sher-
man allegedly approved.'®
2. In any event, the Complaint cites no facts sugges-
ting Hasty or Sherman was aware of a strip-search policy
not “reasonably related to legitimate penological inter-
ests.” Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 89 (1987). The no-
reasonable-relationship requirement is met only when
the “logical connection between the [policy| and the
asserted goal is so remote as to render the policy
arbitrary or irrational.” Jd. at 89-90. Here, the “policy”
alleged in the Complaint had a “logical connection” to
prison security concerns—the searches were conducted
after events involving prisoner movements and visits.
See p. 42, supra. The panel asserted that respondents
were “strip searched when there was no possibility that
they could have obtained contraband.” Pet. App. 77a.
But, as Judge Raggi noted, the judgment whether
respondents could obtain contraband when being
transferred in and out of their cells and meeting with
others “is precisely the sort of ‘difficult judgment] | con-
cerning institutional operations’ that [this] Court has
concluded must be made by ‘prison administrators.’” /d.
at 161a (quoting Safley, 482 U.S. at 89).
© The Complaint’s allegation that searches “were documented in a
‘visual search log’ * * * for review by MDC management” cannot fill
the gap. Pet. App. 293a(7 114) (emphasis added); see id. at 77a. ‘The
contents of the search log are undescribed; the Complaint does not
suggest it contains details that make abuse obvious, or that they
reveal a pattern showing abuse. Fven if one assumes Hasty and
Sherman reviewed the logs, that does not give rise to a plausible con-
clusion that they, through their “own individual actions,” sanctioned
the practices complained of. Jgbal, 556 U.S. at 676.
54
In the aftermath of 9/11, and in light of serious attacks
by other terrorism detainees held under restrictive con-
ditions, see p. 42 & n.12, supra, the unlawfulness of even
an aggressive strip-search policy for designated detain-
ees is hardly apparent. It is not plausible that Hasty and
Sherman not only were personally involved in the strip
searches but knew they were so “irrational” as to lack a
“reasonablle]| relati|ionship] to legitimate penological in-
terests.” Safley, 482 U.S. at 89.
C. The Complaint Does Not Plausibly Allege Has-
ty’s Liability for the “Unofficial” Conditions
It is now settled that “Government officials may not be
held liable for the unconstitutional conduct of their sub-
ordinates under a theory of respondeat superior.” Iqbal,
556 U.S. at 676. Instead, plaintiffs must plead that each
official violated the Constitution “through [his] own indi-
vidual actions.” /bid. Supervisors are not liable for their
subordinates’ misconduct unless they “knew of, and dis-
regarded” instances of abuse so serious and unaddressed
or attended to by other means that it was incumbent on
them to intervene. Walker v. Schultz, 717 F.3d 119, 125,
129 (2d Cir. 2013); see Iqbal, 556 U.S. at 676-677. The
supervisor must have known of both the serious condi-
tions and the circumstances that required the super-
visor’s intervention to prevent harm.
In this case, the Complaint alleges a range of unauth-
orized abuses by line-level correctional officers. That
conduct does not reflect this Nation’s (or Hasty’s and
Sherman’s) values. But the Complaint fails to plausibly
allege that Hasty or Sherman was responsible for that
conduct. They are not alleged to have engaged in it
themselves. Nor does the Complaint identify any in-
stance where they witnessed those abuses. As the OIG
report concluded, none of the abuse “was engaged in or
55
condoned by anyone other than the correctional officers
who committed it.” J.A. 299 n.130. And indeed, the panel
found no plausible claim against Sherman. While the
Complaint averred that “Sherman made rounds on the
ADMAX SHU and was aware of conditions there,” Pet.
App. 260a(126), those “general and conclusory” allega-
tions “lack|ed} a specific factual basis to support a claim
that Sherman was aware of the particular abuses at
issue.” Jd. at 57a.
The panel nonetheless upheld similar claims against
Sherman’s own supervisor, Hasty. See Pet. App. 56a-
57a. Its analysis, however, was perfunctory at best. It
consisted of a four-sentence paragraph that merely listed
the allegations seriatim. /qbal, however, requires anal-
ysis of the Complaint’s plausibility—including the plau-
sibility of the conclusions in light of other conceded
allegations in the Complaint—not a mere recitation of
allegations.
While the Complaint alleges generally that Hasty was
made aware of abuse, Pet. App. 260a(9124), it makes no
allegation that any subordinate, anyone at BOP, or any-
one at OIG informed Hasty of any guard misconduct, or,
more properly, of misconduct that required his interven-
tion because it was not being properly addressed by the
ordinary mechanisms for redress within the prison. The
panel primarily invoked “allegations that Hasty avoided
evidence of detainee abuse by ‘neglecting to make
rounds.’” /d. at 56a (quoting id. at 260a(124)) (emphasis
added). Even assuming that allegation is true, the panel
ignored the “obvious alternative explanation.” /qbal, 556
U.S. at 682. As Warden, Hasty oversaw an enormous
facility. Consequently, before any 9/11 detainee arrived,
Hasty had delegated primary “responsibility for super-
vising all MDC correctional officers, including those who
56
worked on the ADMAX,” to the Captain of the MDC.
Pet. App. 261a(%27); see J.A. 232. The “Captain” was
“the highest-ranking correctional officer with direct re-
sponsibility for custody operations in the ADMAX SHU.”
J.A. 230 n.95. Beneath him, the “SHU Lieutenant [wa]s
directly responsible for supervision of the staff members
assigned to the [ADMAX] unit.” Hasty Pet. App., No.
15-1363, at 467a. That hierarchy explains any admin-
istrative distance between Hasty and daily events at the
ADMAX SHU. Necessary delegation of authority and
reliance on subordinates provides a far “more likely” ex-
planation for any failure to make rounds. /qbal, 556 U.S.
at 682.
The panel suggested that certain paragraphs of the
Complaint “detail |” Hasty’s awareness of abuse. Pet.
App. 56a-57a. But no “detail” is provided, and even the
generalized assertions fail to overcome “obvious” lawful
explanations. For example, the panel identified allega-
tions that “Hasty made it difficult for detainees to file
complaints.” /bid. But the allegations do not suggest
how Hasty was involved in those difficulties. In fact, the
difficulty identified in both the Complaint and the OIG
report had nothing to do with Hasty. From the time the
ADMAX SHU was established, MDC had an organized
system for registering and addressing prisoner com-
plaints that was set forth in a manual to be given to pris-
oners. J.A. 239-240, 276-278. The impediment to filing
complaints was the failure of some guards to provide, or
to allow detainees to keep, those manuals. Pet. App.
301a(91140); J.A. 276-278, 299-300. There is no allegation
that Hasty ordered, knew of, or was involved with, that
mistake.
The panel also invoked an allegation that staff mem-
bers who reported abuse were called “snitches.” Pet.
57
App. 55a. But the Complaint does not say Hasty used
that term, or even that he knew others did. Pet. App.
281a (978).
And finally, the panel embraced the theory that Has-
ty’s knowledge of serious abuse could be inferred because
the abuses were so “pervasive” that video cameras were
installed in cells and hallways. Pet. App. 57a. But the
initial directive to put video monitors in cells issued
within two days of 9/11, before respondents arrived and
any abuse could have occurred. J.A. 279 & n.126. And
any enhancements to the videotaping efforts reflect an
“affirmative step| |” by “MDC management * * * to pre-
vent potential staff abuse.” /d. at 300 (emphasis added);
see id. at 279-280.
The panel’s opinion illustrates precisely how /qbal’s
“plausibility” analysis should not be applied.
CONCLUSION
The decision of the court of appeals should be re-
versed.
CLIFTON S. ELGARTEN
SHARI Ross LAHLOU
KATE M. GROWLEY
CROWELL & MORING LLP
1001 Pennsylvania Ave., NW
Washington, D.C. 20004
(202) 624-2500
celgarten@crowell.com
Counsel for Dennis Hasty
NOVEMBER 2016
Respectfully submitted.
JEFFREY A. LAMKEN
Counsel of Record
MICHAEL G. PATTILLO, JR.
ERIC R. NITZ
JAMES A. BARTA
MOLOLAMKEN LLP
The Watergate, Suite 660
600 New Hampshire Ave., NW
Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 556-2000
jlamken@mololamken.com
SARA E. MARGOLIS
MOLOLAMKEN LLP
430 Park Ave.
New York, N.Y. 10022
(212) 607-8160
DEBRA L. ROTH
JULIA H. PERKINS
SHAW BRANSFORD & ROTH
1100 Connecticut Ave., NW
Suite 900
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 463-8400
Counsel for James Sherman
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.