Petition for Writ of Certiorari — National Mining Association Association v. Kempthorne (No. 08-63)

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

sweetie lial tu. | .

e Onn

woos. 08-63 JUL 14 2008

LSS rea

IN THE Williara K. Suter, Clerk

Supreme Court of the United States

NATIONAL MINING ASSOCIATION,

Petitioner,

v.

DIRK KEMPTHORNE, SECRETARY

OF THE INTERIOR, et al.,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals for

the District of Columbia Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

HAROLD P. QUINN, JR. CATHERINE E. STETSON*

NATIONAL MINING CHRISTOPHER T. HANDMAN

ASSOCIATION PAUL A. WERNER

101 Constitution Ave.. N.W. HOGAN & HARTSON L.L.P.

Washington, D.C. 20001 555 Thirteenth Street, N.W.

(202) 463-2600 Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 637-5491

*Counsel of Record Counsel for Petitioner

— - nr

WLSON-EPES PRinTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 20002

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act

(SMCRA) limits mining on certain lands, but

expressly protects the property interests of those

with “valid existing rights” to mine coal. That key

statutory phrase—“valid existing rights”—appears in

one formulation or another in more than 100 federal

statutes. Despite the phrase’s lengthy pedigree and

the settled expectations of the coal industry and

other owners of interests in land, the D.C. Circuit

declared the phrase ambiguous, deferring to a

counter-textual interpretation promulgated by the

Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and

Enforcement (OSM) thsi vitiated property owners’

rights throughout the Nation. The court reached

this result by relying on a new rule of statutory

construction: A common statutory phrase is

categorically ambiguous if just one word in that

phrase—here, the word “rights” in the phrase “valid

existing rights”—has multiple dictionary definitions.

The questions presented are:

1. Whether the D.C. Circuit correctly held—in

conflict with this Court’s precedents—that a

statutory phrase is necessarily ambiguous and

triggers Chevron deference because a single word

within that phrase is itself ambiguous.

2. Whether the D.C. Circuit correctly declined to

narrow OSM’s statutory construction even though its

interpretation will trigger takings claims.

(i)

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioner is the National Mining Association

(NMA). NMA was the plaintiff in the District Court

and appellant before the United States Court of

Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.

Respondents Dirk Kempthorne, Secretary of the

Interior, United States Department of the Interior,

and Brent Wahlquist, the Director of the Office of

Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement, were

defendants in the District Court and appellees before

the United States Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit.

The National Wildlife Federation, Citizens Coal

Council, National Trust for Historic Preservation in

the United States, and Kentucky Resources Council,

Inc., were intervenors-defendants in the District

Court and intervenors-appellees in the United States

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.

The National Council of Coal Lessors, Inc., also filed

an amicus brief in support of NMA in the court of

appeals.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..............s0ccesccssecccsscscssseees i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ................00.0...4. ii

ee Fe EE acc ccscccccconcssecesevccsesccsssosses Vv

sc encdeveinioniesinlins 1

I avtnanisinimebanien 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED..............cccccscssovcrerseceees 2

SE RE 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE. ................ccccccssssccscecsees 5

a csesensndeninnnasaunuiliel 5

I a cn ssemuauniin 13

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT................ 15

I. THE RULING BELOW CONFLICTS

WITH THIS COURT'S PRECEDENTS ........... 15

Il. BY REJECTING RIVERSIDE BAY-

VIEW HOMES CONSTITUTIONAL

AVOIDANCE RULE, THE RULING

BELOW TRIGGERS A_ CIRCUIT

SPLIT AND INJECTS FURTHER

UNCERTAINTY INTO THE RULE’S

FF Ee CU PEE EIOY nbc sscsecscssresncvscssccsscooses 26

A. The Lower Courts Are Confused

About How To Apply Riverside

Bayview Homes’ Constitutional

ns snibnuinsdl 27

1V

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

B. The Ruling Below Exacerbates The

Confusion In The Lower Courts By

Cameieiet Fi CAGES TRIE cccccescccncccccsccosccescesees 31

III. THIS CASE PRESENTS AN IDEAL

VEHICLE TO ADDRESS A

QUESTION OF SIGNIFICANT

NATIONAL IMPORTANCE ..............c:ccseeesseeees 33

I Calcd codinorsdvennveniaciittninconseumeverrenssnvessine 36

APPENDICES

APPENDIX A:

Opinion of the Court of Appeals,

Gated danuary 15, 2006.............ccccccseccsssevee la

APPENDIX B:

Memorandum Opinion of the District

Court, dated May 4, 2006........................ 17a

APPENDIX C:

Order Denying Panel Rehearing,

ID EE. BG, TI, ccsceccccccccccsvececeseseses 37a

Order Denying Rehearing En Banc,

SEE ee 38a

APPENDIX D:

Letter from Chief Justice Roberts

Extending Petitioners Time to

File, dated June 4, 2008..................... ).... 39a

APPENDIX E:

List of Over 100 Federal Statutes

Protecting Valid Existing Rights............ 40a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Adams Fruit Co. v. Barrett, 494 U.S. 638

SRR eros neat ron in ar cng 1 a eae ee ee 15-16

Aleknagik Natives Ltd. v. United States,

806 F.2d 924 (Oth Cir. 1986).........cc.cccccccccccccccsccecees 8

Bell Atl. Tel. Cos. v. FCC, 24 F.3d 1441

8 REIREERETRREE SEe oe 30, 31

Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624 (1998) ................ 21

Brown v. Gardner, 513 U.S. 115 (1994)............0.... 19

Building Owners & Managers Ass'n Int'l

v. FCC, 254 F.3d 89 (D.C. Cir. 2001) .................. 29

Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Res.

Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837

RIES IEE Eee Ree ee Se nT oni CA a passim

Citizens Coal Council v. Norton, 330

F.3d 478 (D.C. Cir. 2003), cert. denied,

RETESET TAT OEE 5-6

Colorado Envtl. Coal. v. Bureau of Land

Commonwealth of Va. ex rel. Va. Dep’t of

Conservation & Econ. Dev. v. Watt, 741

F.2d 37 (4th Cir. 1984), cert. dismissed

sub nom. Va. Dep't of Conservation &

Econ. Dev. v. Clark, 469 U.S. 1198

Sipe cestibcbndkiebiindemmesainieiaeibndiddddadauiueisuntiniedadiaueie 35

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Crawford Fitting Co. v. J.T. Gibbons,

SS LR 24

Davis v. Michigan Dep't of Treasury, 489

EL 16

Dolan v. United States Postal Serv., 546

SELES 17, 18

Dole v. United Steelworkers of Am., 494

SESE 19

Edward J. DeBartolo Corp. v. Florida

Gulf Coast Bldg. & Constr: Trades

Council, 485 U.S. 568 (1988) .......................00000... 26

Environmental Action, Inc. v. FERC, 939

ES 21

Florida Rock Indus., Inc. v. United

States, 791 F.2d 893 (Fed. Cir. 1986),

cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1053 (1987)....................... 29

Food & Drug Admin. v. Brown &

Williamson Tobacco Corp., 529 U.S.

EEE SIRE IES 19

Forest Guardians v. Dombeck, 131 F.3d

i s scseseonenouceos 8

GTE Serv. Corp. v. FCC, 205 F.3d 416

EE Re 30

General Dynamics Land Sys., Inc. v.

Coiree, BED UB. GEL GIDE)... ccc ccccccccccccccccscccsccssess 15

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Gilbert v. United States, 370 U.S. 650

ESE ee a DER eee re 21

Hawaiian Airlines, Inc. v. Norris, 512

EERE i a 21

Hinton v. Udall, 364 F.2d 676 (D.C. Cir.

RRS RELEASE Co Ee 8

Hodel'v. Virginia Surface Mining &

Reclamation Ass’n, Inc., 452 U.S. 264

|RSS EB SR a passim

Independent Fed’n of Flight Attendants

We Bee, GE WEB. FO CR oecccccccescseccccessccccceses: 21

Iowa Utils. Bd. v. FCC, 219 F.3d 744

(8th Cir. 2000), rev'd in part on other

grounds sub nom. Verizon Commc’ns,

Inc. v. FCC, 535 U.S. 467 (2002).................... 28-29

Jarecki v. G.D. Searle & Co., 367 U.S.

i snsbeonneosinne 16

KP Permanent Make-Up, Inc. v. Lasting

Impression I, Inc., 543 U.S. 111 (2004)............... 25

Kile v. Belisle, 759 P.2d 1292 (Ala. 1988)................ 9

King v. St. Vincent Hosp. 502 U.S. 215

(SRST SI ASD nen e Roll Parsi Sata CE a 17

MCI Telecomms. Corp. v. AT&T Co., 512

ERR RRR Cee Ue Lane ee a 19

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

McDermott Int7, Inc. v. Wilander, 498

REESE IESE a a 21, 22

Morissette v. United States, 342 U.S. 246

ETE ae ZEA OSS A na 21

NLBB vy. Catholic Bishop of Chi., 440

EIT TT eee 26

NLRB vy. Federbush Co., 121 F.2d 954

(BE Cae. TBE) ..000000000:0- dialled halite tie enangniedeteanendes 16

National Ass’n of Home Builders v.

Defenders of Wildlife, 127 S. Ct. 2518

(SERRATE aD Ey ESA eC a a 18

National Mining Ass’n v. Babbitt, 172

a 30

National Mining Ass’n v. Kempthorne,

a comanmeusions l

National Wildlife Fed’n v. Hodel, 839

pe ee passim

Northern Alaska Enutl Ctr. v. Lujan, 872

a sssonssnsinnnene 8

Railway Labor Executives’ Ass’n v.

United States, 987 F.2d 806 (D.C. Cir.

Robinson v. Shell Oil Co., 519 U.S. 337

EEE eo De Ope Ne ae POT ee ETE OF 16

1x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Russello v. United Siates, 464 U.S. 16

i a 25

Rust v. Sullivan, 500 U.S. 173 (1991).................... 26

Seldovia Native Ass’n, Inc. v. Lujan, 904

Pe I I a scavacnnessoseeen 8

Shell Oil Co. v. Iowa Dep’t of Revenue,

REE A 16

Smith v. City of Jackson, 544 U.S. 228

(2005)........ SEEN ETRE eT aN HORS Oe a 21

Stupak-Thrall v. Glickman, 988 F. Supp. ;

ne I I cccteesmousonesioons 8

Texas Office of Pub. Util. Counsel v.

FCC, 183 F.3d 393 (5th Cir. 1999), cert.

denied sub nom. Celpage, Inc. v. FCC,

530 U.S. 1210 (2000), and AT&T Corp.

v. Cincinnati Bell Tel. Co., 530 U.S.

1223 (2000), and cert. dismissed sub

nom. GTE Service Corp. v. FCC, 531

8 IES 27-28

Transmission Access Policy Study Group

v. FERC, 225 F.3d 667 (D.C. Cir. 2000),

aff'd sub nom. New York v. FERC, 535

A a esensopsosens 29

United States v. Riverside Bayview

Homes, Inc., 474 U.S. 121 (1985) ................ passim

x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

United States v. Security Indus. Bank,

EE 27

United States Navigation Co. v. Cunard

a is Be I Me ao cincccccccocssscccecconsose 22

_ West Va. Univ. Hosps., Inc. v. Casey, 499

seein 22

Constitution:

I i alee al 2

Statutes:

| Federal Land Policy & Management Act

of 1976, Pub. L. No. 94-579, § 701(h)

(codified at 43 U.S.C. § 1701 (note))...................... 7

Surface Mining Control and Reclamation

Act of 1977, Pub. L. No. 95-87, 91 Stat.

445 (codified at 30 U.S.C. §§ 1201 et

el aa ai ids ici nrnetbidegtipnbmndtnicosdncessnanees passim

i aeiledesanideapeleilinl 7

EN TE EE ee a EN AR ERE 7

ET EE ee Oe REN SEE TT 7

I ase sera cniniinatiinabeinidiel 7

ha sebultiaislausnenndlaeni 7

ET a a a eR 7

I eds 7

xl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

I 8

Tis ssuniesscencsonnnesnesmovnnindcsiipeetensabiil 8

I is cscsedersntenenmenntinovonneniiiipnin’ 8

TTR AS RE RT 8

ii cnccaptenctoednansedicbaliinengedeeina 8

ia lads csncasonininemsctuuniinnbiivebeibetiall 7

sc ssncnnsinertinenonaitessenennaniniiii 23

es PED ox covsccccscnceneqgsesesevecesovebens 23

ili cn vicki nnsninschaisinnbameeuapitnnia 23

is sincesnedcinisniesiinnencinninsdsaiehicinisianad 8

I ici cssinienepessebunbiesiasedieimnianial 7

i incites cireenersehanaivendieiicmsbiinasiaaed 7

iis rntpnedinieiibedaolalealavioiabadll 7

os cnccseccnnennnsepecibiinininoutidnabilil 7

sili dicey cintncinsiscethiodsiobiilbalbciiibiil 2

cae enneseccnivmmngecuvetninnsipmabbehibasiniel 5

Se on revinanscovtcounsittbinseaidinnsmesupadeieeel 6

EE 5, 6

I Sites icinsiscnsatsiathinsaacseesesiennstidiaineniiasionhalieilaia 24

i a oo 24

xii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Ee ea mT 24

30 U.S.C. § 1259.......... SST TE ST I 24

teint 24

TT 24

I. ccvncsosecsesoveentesteonndeteonsnial 24

a... caateneessunentnnnminiel 24

ENE a 24

Oe a 24

il teaasindatl 24

i i i ctales aal 24

a. a ietnsslaeaciandebepeinibibl 24

TOT RET 24

TEAR 6

I ... .scccecesssusestonnsivnsesossininen 23

BI Oe ED icaissivscsessccccsccasssoressescsvssoons 35

EE RE aE AE 7

ee: 0 POI os. nsccecececvcccivesencscsonscsveses 11

a ssciatndapesienllel 7

ess cscrinciiosnsdontinnigbediisonanin 7

AEE 7

He

xiii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Te EE inititectdnsicitnsesnsnsecsisnecseiccinannaealiioe 7

ee ncisinsccsccinncssnenctvensonsiacianena 7

ee II decceccicscccccesosscsdessenessemaeiipsé 7

Oe a itiilie sactcntccscnsnsinccccininicntuiiaciimesianiinien 7

te I sods crnciniinsvciinesiescconshiinnnnacinieeamdivesitats 7

Ee 7

I I i ncciiessoessasncsesintovnsacesnenssaninl 7

Legislative Materials:

H.R. Rep. No. 95-218 (1977), reprinted in

re Ic III eccciaitscccndssusiamnatotsisapuntinsnsindg 9

A, HE PT OD vitinctcvensenccacsiceteiccenenssmaiibiniin 9

Regulations:

i inisisininsincncsiiiincissinasniindonsenascannedepietagibine 31

NT ini sociacnsonidsniemebniicnenssnuneiasdiaatinds 10

ee Oe i cresinsccnsccvccccnsescnnsessonsicinnds 11

ee iinet cncsnsticninteniaiassieccsionnnueia 11

64 Fed. Reg. 70,766 (Dec. 17, 1999 final

RD iii ssticntiiihseaiieiiladineednbietdiatiitiniiibiitiiniaiascineivneee passim

Exec. Order No. 7624, 2 Fed. Reg. 1119

eG TIE ciated anita scipbaiieihdieniibiahibenbensnainescescannl 6-7

Proclamation No. 6920, 61 Fed. Reg.

Es SINE II cciticcnceisndisascinnisddotscainncrninentl 6

X1V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Proclamation No. 7397, 66 Fed. Reg.

|g ETS ee 6

Rules:

I inci oa ac tsreapenespdhdshidtinnibaiaaiaininiaal 33

libs nel 25

Other Authorities:

2B Norman L. Singer, Sutherland

Statutory Construction § 51:2 (7th ed.

NES SESE CT ERESI nto NERC OO icv 21

Felix Frankfurter, Some Reflections on

the Reading of Statutes, 47 Colum. L.

Se a csanenccecsecscosdons 21

Jan G. Laitos, The Nature &

Consequence of “Valid Existing Rights”

Status in Public Land Law, 5 J. Min.

ac csnssesececsnsess 6

Louis J. Dobbs, 77 Interior Dec. 5 (Jan.

REESE SER OE SS ST a 9

Note, Regulation & Land Withdrawals:

Defining “Valid Existing Rights,” 3 J.

Ss ees ME OOF CID vccecccncsessccccserccoscenionses 7,8

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 08-

NATIONAL MINING ASSOCIATION,

Petitioner,

Vv.

DIRK KEMPTHORNE, SECRETARY

OF THE INTERIOR, et al.,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals for

the District of Columbia Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The National Mining’ Association (NMA)

respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari to review

the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the D.C. Circuit affirming the

District Court’s dismissal of NMA’s challenge to

OSM’s “valid existing rights” rule is reported at 512

F.3d 702 and reprinted in the appendix hereto (App.)

at la. The memorandum opinion of the District

Court is unpublished and is reprinted at App. 17a.

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered

on January 15, 2008. App. la. A timely petition for

panel rehearing and rehearing en banc was denied

on March 14, 2008. App. 37a-38a. On June 4, 2008,

Chief Justice Roberts extended the time within

which to file a petition for a writ of certiorari, to and

including July 12, 2008. App. 39a. The jurisdiction

of this Court rests on 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides in pertinent part: “[Njor shall

private property be taken for public use without just

compensation.” U.S. Const. amend. V.

Section 522(e) of SMCRA provides in relevant part:

“After August 3, 1977, and subject to valid existing

rights no surface coal mining operations except those

which exist on August 3, 1977, shall be permitted [in

areas designated in subsections (1)-(5)).”

INTRODUCTION

When it enacted SMCRA, Congress established a

federal regime to regulate coal mining. Among other

things, the Act banned surface coal mining

operations on certain federal, state, and private

lands. But Congress was careful to craft an

important exception to this otherwise categorical

ban: mining could continue on lands in which

miners held “valid existing rights,” commonly

referred to as VER.

VER clauses similar to the one codified in SMCRA

are a commonplace in federal land-use regulations.

Over the past century, Congress and the Executive

3

have used the same or a substantively similar

phrase in over 100 statutes and proclamations for

generally the same purpose: to protect pre-existing

property rights from being impaired by subsequently

enacted policy changes. VER clauses thus represent

a critical safeguard for the many owners of property

rights in lands that supply this Nation’s critical

natural resources—such as minerals, oil, gas, and

timber.

The ruling below, however, threw the significance

of this safeguard into serious doubt. It did so by

upending the conventional understanding of VER

clauses as protecting property rights. The D.C.

Circuit determined that it would defer to OSM’s

conclusion that SMCRA’s VER protects only

“property-rights-plus-permits”"—only those property

rights on which the holder had also secured (or made

a good faith effort to secure) permits before the

affected land came within SMCRA’s ambit.

OSM’s “property-plus” interpretation of VER was

unique; but the D.C. Circuit’s analysis of OSM’s

regulation was as unprecedented as OSM’s

interpretation itself. | Purporting to apply the

methodology established in Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v.

Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S.

837 (1984), the court of appeals bestowed an

expansive new measure of deference on agency

interpretations of the statutes they administer by

effectively deferring to the agency in determining

whether a statute is ambiguous. Instead of deploying

the familiar tools of statutory construction to unlock

the meaning of the key statutory term—‘valid

existing rights”’—the court declared it ambiguous,

and the agency’s interpretation deserving of

4

deference, because the lone word “rights” has

various dictionary definitions. But just about any

statutory phrase can be deemed “ambiguous” based

on the definitional possibilities of the individual

words it comprises. And this Court has made quite

clear that statutory interpretation requires more

than the isolated review of a single word of text, and

that statutory ambiguity does not hinge on abstract

definitional possibilities.

The D.C. Circuit’s extreme brand of Chevron

deference is not only in deep conflict with this

Court’s precedents; it raises significant

constitutional doubts. OSM selected—and the court

of appeals uncritically approved—an interpretation

of SMCRA’s VER clause that OSM forthrightly

acknowledged would pose “significant takings

implications.” 64 Fed. Reg. 70,766, 70,781 (Dec. 17,

1999 final rule). But in approving OSM’s

interpretation, the D.C. Circuit expressly declined to

apply the rule articulated by this Court in United

States v. Riverside Bayview Homes, Inc., 474 U.S.

121, 129 n.5 (1985), that an agency’s statutory

construction that threatens a taking should be

construed narrowly to alleviate that concern. The

court’s decision not only conflicts with Riverside

Bayview Homes itself; it exacerbates a rift among the

circuit courts, which have long struggled to

understand and apply the canon. The Riverside

Bayview Homes rule now appears to be a dead letter

in the D.C. Circuit; it is hard to imagine the

circumstances in which the rule would apply, if not

where OSM extensively catalogued the takings its

preferred interpretation would cause, and where

5

courts, including this one, have recognized that

SMCRA’s VER clause does not compel that result.

The Court should grant certiorari to dispel the

confusion the D.C. Circuit has introduced into the

proper application of the Chevron methodology. And

the Court should also undertake to provide the lower

courts with needed guidance on the _ proper

application of the Riverside Bayview Homes rule.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Factual Background

1. Enacted in 1977 after years of protracted

debate, the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation

Act (SMCRA or Act), Pub. L. No. 95-87, 91 Stat. 445

(codified at 30 U.S.C. §§ 1201 et seg.), is a

“comprehensive statute” that establishes a

“nationwide program” to address surface coal

mining. Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining &

Reclamation Ass’n, Inc., 452 U.S. 264, 268 (1981);

accord National Wildlife Fed’n v. Hodel, 839 F.2d

694, 701 (D.C. Cir. 1988). That nationwide program

provides for federal regulation of land-use activities

that are traditionally under state and local control.

See Hodel, 452 U.S. at 289 (explaining that “the Act

*** prescribes federal minimum _ standards

governing surface coal mining, which a State may

either implement itself or else yield to a federally

administered regulatory program”); id. at 269-272

(outlining SMCRA provisions).

With the Act, Congress aimed to “strike a balance

between protection of the environment and

agricultural productivity and the Nation’s need for

coal as an essential source of energy.” 30 U.S.C.

§ 1202(f); see also Citizens Coal Council v. Norton,

6

330 F.3d 478, 480 (D.C. Cir. 2003). SMCRA thus

promotes twin objectives: “protect society and the

environment from the adverse effects of surface coal

mining operations,” 30 U.S.C. § 1202(a), and “assure

that the coal supply essential to the Nation’s energy

requirements, and its economic and social well-being

is provided,” id. at § 1202(f).

Congress’s careful balancing of these social and

economic interests is most clearly evident in Section

522(e) of SMCRA. That provision designates a host

of areas off-limits for surface—coal-mining operations.

See 30 U.S.C. § 1272(e). But the provision also

contains exemptions that serve SMCRA’s second

objective: preserving the availability of critical coal

resources essential to our energy needs. See id.

Section 522(e) exempts from the otherwise

categorical ban on mining in statutorily designated

areas two classes of property: existing mining

operations and areas “subject to valid existing

rights.” Id.

2. Congress did not coin “valid existing rights” in

SMCRA. It and the Executive have deployed VER

clauses in well over 100 federal statutes and

proclamations during the past century to protect

rights in property from destruction by federal land-

use enactments.' The United States Code is replete

1 See Jan G. Laitos, The Nature & Consequence of “Valid

Existing Rights” Status in Public Land Law, 5 J. Min. L. &

Pol’y 399, 403-406 & n.20 (1989) (noting that “[t]he VER phrase

appears in over 100 federal statutes”); see, e.g., Proclamation

No. 7397, 66 Fed. Reg. 7354, 7356 (Jan. 22, 2001) (establishing

Sonoran Desert National Monument “subject to valid existing

rights”); Proclamation No. 6920, 61 Fed. Reg. 50,223, 50,225

(Sept. 18, 1996) (establishing Grand Staircase-Escalante

National Monument “subject to valid existing rights”); Exec.

7

with statutes containing VER clauses.2 They appear

in Title 10 (Armed Forces),® Title 16 (Conservation),

Title 25 (Indians),5 Title 30 (Mineral Lands and

Mining),® Title 42 (The Public Health and Welfare),’

Title 43 (Public Lands),® Title 45 (Railroads),? and

Title 48 (Territories and Insular Possessions).!°

Included among these statutes are provisions

governing the acquisition and use of lands under

federal management!! as well as withdrawing lands

from private-sector development. !2

Order No. 7624, 2 Fed. Reg. 1119, 1119 (May 29, 1937) (order

enlarging Tongass National Forest “subject to valid existing

rights”).

2 See App. 40a.

3 See 10 U.S.C. § 7439(b).

4 See, e.g., 16 U.S.C. § 47e; id. § 80a; id. § 90; id. § 100c; id.

§ 410bb(c); id. § 410aaa-25; id. § 539(b); id. § 4308(d).

5 See, e.g., 25 U.S.C. § 293b; id. § 575; id. § 1780j(a)(1).

6 See, e.g., 30 U.S.C. § 1281.

7 See 42 U.S.C. § 6502.

8 See, e.g., 43 U.S.C. § 1223; id. § 1610(a)(1); id. § 1633(c); id.

at § 1785(c)(2)(A).

9 See, e.g., 45 U.S.C. § 1203(b)(1)(B); id. § 1210.

10 See, e.g., 48 U.S.C. § 1545(b)(2); id. § 1705(a); id. § 1971 (a).

1! See, e.g., Federal Land Policy & Management Act of 1976,

Pub. L. No. 94-579, § 701(h) (codified at 43 U.S.C. § 1701 note).

12 See, e.g., Note, Regulation & Land Withdrawals: Defining

“Valid Existing Rights,” 3 J. Min. L. & Pol’y 517, 532 (1988)

(“Although withdrawals have been numerous and have taken

many forms, they invariably have contained language designed

to protect existing rights acquired prior to the time of

withdrawal. The specific language used has varied, but the

8

Not surprisingly given their proliferation in federal

law, VER clauses impact a wide array of property

owners, including diverse industries dependent on

natural resources—from mineral and mining,'® to oil

and gas,'4 to forestry.15 And irrespective of where

they appear and what precise verbiage is used to

describe the right they guard, VER clauses have

been consistently understood to preserve the status

quo ante by protecting property interests that

otherwise would be _ adversely § affected by

subsequently enacted federal laws.'®

usual phrase preserves valid existing claims or valid existing

rights.”).

13 See, e.g., 16 U.S.C. § 460v-4; id. § 460q-5; id. § 460dd-2(a);

id. § 460mm-1.

14 See, e.g., 16 U.S.C. § 460qq(c); Colorado Envtl. Coal. v.

Bureau of Land Mgmt., 932 F. Supp. 1247, 1249 (D. Colo. 1996)

(VER clause in Federal Land Policy and Management Act

protected existing gas leases).

15 See, e.g., 16 U.S.C. § 1604(i); Forest Guardians v. Dombeck,

131 F.3d 1309, 1312-13 (9th Cir. 1997).

16 See, e.g., Seldovia Native Ass'n, Inc. v. Lujan, 904 F.2d

1335, 1343 (9th Cir. 1990) (Alaska Native Claims Settlement

Act’s protection of “valid existing rights” included open-to-entry

leases with conditional purchase options); Northern Alaska

Envtl. Ctr. v. Lujan, 872 F.2d 901, 903 (9th Cir. 1989) (Alaska

National Interests Lands Conservation Act’s protection of “valid

existing rights” included valid patented and unpatented mining

claims); Aleknagik Natives Ltd. v. United States, 806 F.2d 924,

927 (9th Cir. 1986) (Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act’s

protection of “valid existing rights” included unvested property

interests); Hinton v. Udall, 364 F.2d 676, 678-679 (D.C. Cir.

1966) (Interior Department Order No. 2874’s protection of

“valid existing rights” included subsurface property rights);

Stupak-Thrall v. Glickman, 988 F. Supp. 1055, 1063-64 (W.D.

Mich. 1997) (Michigan Wilderness Act’s protection of “valid

9

Congress had the same purpose in mind when it

protected “valid existing rights” from Section 522(e)’s

otherwise per se ban on surface coal mining in

statutorily designated areas. See National Wildlife

Fed’n, 839 F.2d at 749 (Congress “limited the

application of the surface mining proscriptions to

avoid infringement of existing property rights.”

(emphasis added)); see also id. at 750 (“Congress did

not intend to infringe on valid property rights or

effect takings through § 522(e).”). As in other

statutes, SMCRA’s VER clause is intended to serve a

fundamental purpose: to clarify that “all valid

existing property rights must be preserved” and that

Congress “has no intention whatsoever, by any

provision of [SMCRA], to change such rights.” 5S.

Rep. No. 95-128, at 56 (1977) (emphasis added); see

H.R. Rep. No. 95-218, at 95 (1977) (“As subsection

522(e) prohibits surface coal mining on lands within

the boundaries of national forests, subject to valid

existing rights, it is not the intent, nor is it the effect

of this provision to preclude surface coal mining on

private inholdings within national forests.”). In

reviewing a _ pre-enforcement challenge to the

constitutionality of SMCRA, this Court similarly

signaled as much. See Hodel, 452 U.S. at 297 n.37

(finding takings claim “premature” because statute

protected “valid existing rights” and explaining that

existing rights” included riparian rights); Kile v. Belisle, 759

P.2d 1292, 1298-1301 (Ala. 1988) (Public Land Order 5250's

protection of “valid existing rights” included placer mining

claims where there is substantial compliance with annual

assessment requirements); cf. Louis J. Dobbs, 77 Interior Dec.

5, 8 (Jan. 15, 1970) (VER clauses “were designed to prevent the

initiation of new claims and not the destruction of rights

theretofore fairly earned”).

10

a permit requirement “is not compelled by either the

statutory language or its legislative history”) (citing

H.R. Rep. No. 95-218, at 95 (1977)).

3. Despite the long-standing conventional

understanding of VER clauses, the agency charged

with administering SMCRA—OSM-—has struggled to

implement the VER clause in Section 522(e). Since

1977, OSM has vacillated among alternative

definitions for the statute’s VER clause, only settling

on its most recent interpretation in 1999—two

decades after SMCRA was enacted. See 64 Fed. Reg.

70,766, 70,766 (Dec. 17, 1999 final rule) (“[{Al]t

various times during the past two decades, we have

either proposed or adopted all the listed

alternative[ definitions of Section 522(e)s VER

clause], plus some variations on these alternatives.”).

In its latest regulatory incarnation of Section

522(e)’s VER clause, OSM required a miner seeking

to demonstrate VER in a Section 522(e) area to

satisfy a two-part test. The first part embodies what

the phrase “valid existing rights” has traditionally

meant: “a person claiming [VER] must demonstrate

that a legally binding conveyance, lease, deed,

contract, or other document vests the person, or a

predecessor in interest, with the right to conduct the

type of surface coal mining operations intended.” 30

C.F.R. § 761.5(a). In other words, the miner must

hold a valid property right to mine coal in the area

before it was placed off limits under SMCRA. See id.

But OSM did not stop where the text of the statute

stops. The second part of its VER test additionally

requires a miner to prove that “[a]ll permits and

other authorizations required to conduct surface coal

mining operations had been obtained, or a good faith

1]

effort to obtain all necessary permits and

authorizations had been made, before the land came

under the protection of’ Section 522(e). Id. .

§ 761.5(b)(1). Thus, while Section 522(e)’s VER

clause says not a word about meeting permitting

requirements attendant on _ surface-coal-mining

operations in statutorily designated areas, OSM

made that the critical element for establishing

VER.'7 See 64 Fed. Reg. at 70,778. As OSM

explained, its regulation means that VER is not

“coextensive or synonymous with property rights”; to

the contrary, property rights are a mere

“prerequisite for demonstrating VER under the good

faith/all permits” standard. Jd. at 70,774. Section

522(e)’s VER clause therefore does not protect valid

pre-existing property rights as so many of its

statutory analogs do; it protects “equitable interest(s}

in regulatory approval of proposed surface coal

mining operations.” Jd. at 70,778.

In a lengthy preamble accompanying its

regulations, OSM _ acknowledged the obvious

implication of grafting a “good faith/all permits” plus-

factor onto SMCRA’s VER clause more than two

decades after the statute became law: “[F]lew

persons will qualify for VER under this standard.”

Id. OSM further recognized the upshot of adopting

a test “few persons” could ever meet: its chosen

-

17 A miner may also demonstrate that “[t]he land is needed

for and immediately adjacent to a surface coal mining

operation” for which the miner had obtained (or made a good

faith effort to obtain) all permits and other authorizations. 30

C.F.R. § 761.5(a)(b)(2). But SMCRA already exempts existing

mining operations, which include adjacent lands as well as

roads. See 30 U.S.C. § 1291(28)(B).

12

interpretat.on carried “significant takings

implications.” Id. at 70,781; accord id. at 70,827.

Quite right. In fact, of all the alternative VER

definitions OSM considered in its rulemaking, the

one it adopted had “the greatest potential to result in

compensable takings.” Jd. at 70,781-82 (emphasis

added). OSM also recognized why that was so: Its

regulation upsets “underlying property interests”

and interferes with “reasonable investment-backed

expectations.” /d. at 70,824. Indeed, while OSM

acknowledged that the standard it adopted would

prevent mining of thousands of acres in protected

areas, id. at 70,776, its prediction underestimates

the full takings impact of its regulation. OSM’s new

test will apply not only to areas currently designated

under SMCRA but also to areas that later come

within SMCRA’s protections through future

designations or third-party actions. See National

Wildlife Fed’n, 839 F.2d at 750-751.

OSM fully appreciated that this’ grave

constitutional consequence was in no way compelled

by SMCRA, since “neither the statute nor its

legislative history mentions a good faith/al] permits

standard for VER.” 64 Fed. Reg. at 70,778. OSM

even recognized that its interpretation of Section

522(e)’s VER clause deviated from Congress’s

historic use of the same term in many other federal

statutes, which have been construed to protect pre-

existing property rights from takings. Id. Yet OSM

took the view that other statutes containing the

same or substantively similar terms failed to provide

any “useful guidance in determining the meaning of

VER for surface coal mining operations under

Section 522(e) of SMCRA.” Id. at 70,794.

13

B. Proceedings Below

1. After OSM promulgated its “good faith/all

permits” rule, NMA—whose members own or lease

coal estates in areas protected under SMCRA—

challenged the rule in the United States District

Court for the District of Columbia. On cross-motions

for summary judgment, the District Court granted

judgment against NMA and in favor of the Secretary

of the Interior. App. 36a. The District Court

acknowledged that Congress intended in Section

522(e)’s VER clause “some recognition of applicable

state law property rights and an avoidance of

takings.” App. 3la. It nevertheless found the term

ambiguous, App. 32a, and concluded that OSM’s

interpretation was a permissible construction of the

statute. App. 32a-34a.

2. The D.C. Circuit affirmed. App. la. Like the

District Court, the court of appeals concluded that

Chevron mandated deference to the Secretary’s

interpretation of Section 522(e)’s VER clause because

it found the clause facially ambiguous. App. 2a. But

the panel did not come to its conclusion about

statutory ambiguity by applying the traditional tools

of statutory construction—i.e., text, structure,

context, and purpose—that this Court has long

required. App. 7a-lla. It took a far different route:

Ignoring the other words that make up the critical

statutory term, the other parts of SMCRA, and the

other statutes containing the same or similar VER

clauses, the court examined just one word—

“rights”—and just one source—the dictionary. .

After examining how Black’s Law Dictionary treats

the word “rights,” the court of appeals held that

Section 522(e)’s use of the word “rights” constituted a

14

“major source * * * of ambiguity.” App. 8a. Thus,

the D.C. Circuit opined that while “rights” may refer

to property rights in some circumstances, Congress

had used “a word with multiple and often vague

meanings’ that “will also do service more generally,”

meaning in turn that “[t}]he dictionary counsels in

favor of more deference to tie agency, not less.” App.

9a. While recognizing that the term “valid existing

rights” may well “operate| ]” as a “term of art,” the

court explained that the term is “a tool by which

Congress delegates policymaking authority through

ambiguity.” App. 10a. With this holding, the panel

announced a new and troubling rule: Chevron step

two is triggered whenever one word in a statute is

superficially ambiguous based on its dictionary

definitions.

Having found SMCRA’s VER clause ambiguous

because the word “rights” in isolation is susceptible

to various dictionary meanings, the panel found the

Secretary’s interpretation of the statute reasonable

under Chevron step two. App. 1la-16a. This is the

point at which the court made its second mistake.

The court declined to adopt a narrowing construction

of OSM’s statutory interpretation under Riverside

Bayview Homes based on its manifest takings

implications. App. 15a-16a. The panel agreed in

theory that “the canon of constitutional avoidance

can{not] be ignored with respect to every argument

sounding in the Takings Clause”—but nevertheless

concluded that no such issues were raised in this

case, because “NMA has shown no ‘identifiable class’

of miners whose takings claims would expose the

Treasury to such liability.” App. 16a. The court

15

therefore applied the “usual Chevron analysis” and

deferred to the Secretary’s interpretation.

NMA timely petitioned for rehearing and rehearing

en banc. The D.C. Circuit denied both requests.

App. 37a-38a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE RULING BELOW CONFLICTS WITH

THIS COURT’S PRECEDENTS.

1. The D.C. Circuit deferred to the Secretary’s

interpretation of SMCRA’s “valid existing rights”

clause because a single word in that key phrase—

“rights’°—has multiple entries in the dictionary.

With that unique’ approach to _ statutory

interpretation under Chevron, the D.C. Circuit

effectively enshrined a new measure of deference in

the interpretative process where none had previously

existed and where none properly belongs—i.e., in

determining whether a statute is ambiguous in the

first place. App. 7a-lla. An interpretative approach

that focuses exclusively on abstract definitional

possibilities as the touchstone of statutory ambiguity

can be expected to produce a delegation of authority

to the agency in just about every case. Not only does

that approach squarely conflict with Chevron, but it

also poses grave separation-of-powers concerns by

allowing Executive Branch agencies to trump

Congress’s otherwise clear intent. That is why this

Court has held time and again that “deference to [an

agency's] statutory interpretation is called for only

when the devices of judicial construction have been

tried and found to yield no clear sense of

congressional intent.” General Dynamics Land Sys.,

Inc. v. Cline, 540 U.S. 581, 600 (2004); see Adams

16

Fruit Co. v. Barrett, 494 U.S. 638, 649 (1990) (“A

precondition to deference under Chevron is a

congressional delegation of administrative

authority.”). The panel’s key supposition—that the

isolation and sterile examination of one word in a

statute can trigger statutory ambiguity sufficient to

constitute a delegation of lawmaking authority to an

administrative agency—thus stands in sharp conflict

with this Court’s teachings.

To begin with, neither this Court’s precedents nor

common sense allow any statutory interpretation to

hinge exclusively on the isolated review of a single

word contained in the statute that has various

definitions in common usage. See Jarecki v. G.D.

Searle & Co., 367 U.S. 303, 307 (1961) (“[A] word is

known by the company it keeps.”). As this Court has

explained, “‘[wjords are not pebbles in alien

juxtaposition; they have only a communal existence;

and not only does the meaning of each interpenetrate

the other, but all in their aggregate take their

purport from the setting in which they are used{.]’”

Shell Oil Co. v. Iowa Dep't of Revenue, 488 U.S. 19,

25 n.6 (1988) (quoting NLRB v. Federbush Co., 121

F.2d 954, 957 (2d Cir. 1941) (Hand, J.)). For that

basic reason, this Court has sensibly held that

“statutory language cannot be construed in a

vacuum”; instead, “the words of a statute must be

read in their context and with a view to their place in

the overall statutory scheme.” Davis v. Michigan

Dep't of Treasury, 489 U.S. 803, 809 (1989); see also

Robinson v. Shell Oil Co., 519 U.S. 337, 341 (1997)

(“The plainness or ambiguity of statutory language is

determined by reference to the language itself, the

specific context in which that language is used, and

17

the broader context of the statute as a whole.”); King

v. St. Vincent Hosp., 502 U.S. 215, 221 (1991) (“[T]he

meaning of statutory language, plain or not, depends

on context.”).

This Court has repeatedly put to practice this

conventional approach to statutory interpretation,

and did so again recently. In Dolan v. United States

Postal Serv., 546 U.S. 481 (2006), the Court

considered whether the Federal Tort Claims Act’s

postal exception for the “negligent transmission” of

mail preserved sovereign immunity for injuries

caused by the Postal Service’s creation of slip-and-

fall hazards by the careless delivery of mail. Jd. at

486. The Court recognized that, “[iJf considered in

isolation,” the phrase “negligent transmission” could

“embrace a wide range of negligent acts committed

by the Postal Service in the course of delivering

mail.” Jd. But “[t]he definition of words in isolation

* * * is not necessarily controlling in statutory

construction,” the Court explained, because “[a] word

in a statute may or may not extend to the outer

limits of its definitional possibilities” depending upon

the interpretation of “the whole statutory text,

considering the purpose and context of the statute.”

Id. “(Njegligent transmission” did not extend to its

definitional limit; the other statutory terms

surrounding it constrained its meaning, such that

the phrase was more properly interpreted to extend

only to injuries arising because mail does not arrive

or arrives late, arrives in damaged condition, or at

the wrong address. Id. at 486-489.

The ruling below cannot be reconciled with Dolan.

The D.C. Circuit made no attempt to understand the

meaning of the word “rights” in the context in which

18

it was used—i.e., as part of a statutory term of art

with a century-old pedigree—or even by reference to

the other words surrounding it—i.e., “valid” and

“existing.” Instead, the court’s statutory analysis

was entirely “control[ed]” by the existence of multiple

dictionary definitions for one word in the statute

without any regard for “the whole statutory text.”

Id. at 486. Dolan would thus likely have come out

differently under the panel’s approach: under the

D.C. Circuit’s test, the Postal Service’s creation of a

slip-and-fall hazard would constitute the “negligent

transmission” of mail for which sovereign immunity

is preserved because that phrase in theory can

“embrace a wide range of negligent acts.” Jd.

This Court has likewise emphasized that Chevron

step one requires more than an open-ended hunt for

definitional possibilities. See National Ass’n of

Home Builders v. Defenders of Wildlife, 127 S. Ct.

2518, 2534 (2007) (“In making the _ threshold

determination under Chevron, a reviewing court

should not confine itself to examining a particular

statutory provision in isolation.”) (internal citation &

quotation marks omitted). A statute is only deemed

ambiguous under Chevron after the traditional tools

of statutory construction—text, structure, purpose,

and context—have been applied and exhausted. See,

e.g., Chevron, 467 U.S. at 843 n.9 (“If a court,

employing traditional tools of statutory construction,

ascertains that Congress had an intention on the

precise question at issue, that intention is the law

and must be given effect.”).

This Court has repeatedly deployed the familiar

tools of statutory interpretation to dispel facial

statutory ambiguity and to reject administrative

19

agency constructions inconsistent with plain

statutory commands. See Food & Drug Admin. v.

Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., 529 U.S. 120,

160 (2000) (examining Food and Drug Act’s text,

structure, purpose and history of tobacco legislation

and holding FDA barred from regulating cigarettes

as “drug” and “device” under Chevron step one); MCI

Telecomms. Corp. v. AT&T Co., 512 U.S. 218, 228

(1994) (applying text and_ structure to

Communications Act and_ rejecting FCC’s

construction of “modify” under Chevron step one).!®

Take, for one classic example, Brown v. Gardner, 513

U.S. 115 (1994). In that case, the Court reviewed a

Department of Veteran Affairs regulation “requiring

a claimant for certain veterans’ benefits to prove that

disability resulted from negligent treatment by the

VA” and ultimately held that it was inconsistent

with the controlling statute, which states that the

VA will provide disability benefits for an injury that

results from VA medical treatment so long as it did

not result from the “veteran’s own willful

misconduct.” Jd. at 116. While the Court recognized

that the underlying statute’s use of the term “injury”

“can of course carry a fault connotation” in common

usage, it reasoned that statutory “[a]mbiguity is a

creature not of definitional possibilities but of

statutory context.” Jd. at 117-118. And after closely

reviewing the statutory context as well as “[tjextual

cross-reference[s]” to other veterans’ benefits

statutes and “analogous statutes dealing with

18 See, e.g., Dole v. United Steelworkers of Am., 494 U.S. 26, 42-

43 (1990) (“Because we find that the statute, as a whole, clearly

expresses Congress’ intention, we decline to defer to OMB’s

interpretation.”).

20

service-connected injuries” employing the word

“injury,” the Court held that the statute “negate[d] a

fault reading.” Jd. at 118-119. The Court therefore

_ held that because “the text and reasonable inferences

from it give a clear answer,” that “is the end of the

matter’—the regulation could not stand. Jd. at 120.

Notwithstanding the Court’s holding in Brown that

mere “definitional possibilities” do not give rise to

statutory ambiguity under Chevron, the D.C. Circuit

deferred to OSM’s interpretation of Section 522(e)’s

VER clause precisely because the word “rights”

admits of multiple “definitional possibilities.” The

result in Brown, just like the result in Dolan, would

thus have been different under the D.C. Circuit’s

rule: Deference would have been given to the VA’s

regulation simply because “injury,” standing alone,

has multiple definitions. There would have been no

need to eilist the aid of any statutory construction

tools to test the statutes meaning—and no

resolution of the issue at Cheuron step one.

2. Trading venerable tools of statutory construction

for heightened agency deference based on dictionary

construction also led the court of appeals to dismiss

Congress’s long track record with VER clauses like

the one in Section 522(e). See supra at 6-8. Rather

than examine that phrase’s rich history and

recognize that both Congress and property owners

have relied on VER’s settled meaning, the D.C.

Circuit got its rules of construction backwards.

According to the court of appeals, a “term of art” like

“valid existing rights” is merely “a tool by which

Congress delegates policymaking authority through

ambiguity.” App. 10a. This proposition—that the

more Congress uses a term, the less settled its

21

meaning becomes—appears to have no known

provenance (aside, perhaps, from Lewis Carroll).

And for good reason: It inverts this Court’s

presumption that “when Congress uses the same

language in two statutes having similar purposes

*** it is appropriate to presume that Congress

intended that text to have the same meaning in both

statutes.” Smith v. City of Jackson, 544 U.S. 228,

233 (2005) (plurality); see McDermott Int'l, Inc. v.

Wilander, 498 U.S. 337, 342 (1991) (when a statute

uses a term of art, “Congress intended it to have its

established meaning”); Hawaiian Airlines, Inc. v.

Norris, 512 U.S. 246, 254 (1994); Gilbert v. United

States, 370 U.S. 650, 658 (1962); Morissette v. United

States, 342 U.S. 246, 263 (1952).19

Applying this presumption, this Court frequently

looks to Congress’s record of statutory usage for

assistance in interpreting common statutory terms.”°

19 See generally 2B Norman J. Singer, Sutherland Statutory

Construction § 51:2 (7th ed. 2008) (“It is assumed that

whenever the legislature enacts a provision it has in mind

previous statutes relating to the same subject matter. * * *

[T}he new provision is presumed in accord with the legislative

policy embodied in those prior statutes.”); Felix Frankfurter,

Some Reflections on the Reading of Statutes, 47 Colum. L. Rev.

527, 537 (1947) (“[I]f a word is obviously transplanted from

another legal source, whether the common law or other

legislation, it brings the old soil with it.”).

20 See, e.g., Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624, 631 (1998)

(noting “ADA’s definition of disability is drawn almost verbatim

from the definition of ‘handicapped individual’ included in the

Rehabilitation Act”); Independent Fed’n of Flight Attendants v.

Zipes, 491 U.S. 754, 759 n.2 (1989) (“We have stated in the past

that fee-shifting statutes’ similar language is ‘a strong

22

In McDermott, for example, the Court explained that,

while the Jones Act did not define the term

“seaman,” the term is a “maritime term of art” with a

recognized meaning. 498 U.S. at 342. Similarly, in

West Virginia University Hospitals, Inc. v. Casey, 499

U.S. 83 (1991), the Court held that the allowance of

“a reasonable attorney’s fee” under the version of the

fee-shifting statute for civil-rights litigation then in

effect did not encompass fees paid to experts because

Congress’s “record of statutory usage demonstrates

convincingly that attorney’s fees and expert fees are

regarded as separate elements of litigation cost.” Id.

at 88. And in United States Navigation Co. v.

Cunard S.S. Co., 284 U.S. 474 (1932), the Court

explained that because the federal Shipping Act, “[i]n

its general scope and purpose, as well as in its terms,

* ** closely parallels the Interstate Commerce Act,

* ** we cannot escape the conclusion that Congress

intended that the two acts, each in its own field,

should have like interpretation, application, and

effect.” Id. at 481.

The D.C. Circuit's holding that a century’s worth of

VER clauses protecting property rights in more than

100 federal statutes actually makes the term “valid

existing rights” more, not less, opaque cannot be

squared with cases like McDermott, Casey, and

United States Navigation Co. But even beyond that

difficulty, the D.C. Circuit’s new approach—that

Congress’s consistent use of a term opens it up to

varying meanings based on _ shifting agency

prerogatives—is profoundly troubling on its own

indication’ that they are to be interpreted alike.”) (citation

omitted).

23

terms: It effectively compels a court to defer to an

agencys interpretative gloss precisely because

Congress has endeavored to fix the statute’s meaning

through repeated and consistent use of the same

words in the same way. That will undoubtedly cause

serious mischief where, as here, an agency

administers different statutory schemes that use the

same or similar terms. See, e.g., Environmental

Action, Inc. v. FERC, 939 F.2d 1057, 1063 (D.C. Cir.

1991) (“Without more support, and a distinction that

iustifies the seemingly different approaches that the

FERC has taken under two very similar statutes

[i.e., the Natural Gas Act and the Federal Power

Act], we cannot accept” FERC’s_ conflicting

interpretations of two similar provisions). Indeed,

because some of the lands designated under Section

522(e) are created or governed under federal laws

containing their own VER clauses,”! the D.C.

Circuit’s approach (and OSM’s interpretation) is sure

to sow confusion as to which, if any, “valid existing

rights” are protected under statutes intended to work

together. ,

3. With its singular attention to the meaning of the

word “rights” in the statute, and the new measure of

deference that approach afforded, the D.C. Circuit

disregarded another essential source of congressional

intent: SMCRA’s structure. The result was to put

yet more distance between the rule adopted by the

court of appeals and this Court’s precedents. Thus,

the D.C. Circuit did not stop to consider the sharp

incongruity between OSM’s “good faith/all permits”

21 See 30 U.S.C. § 1272(e)(1); 16 U.S.C. § 1133(d)(3); id.

§ 1280(a)(ii)-(iii) & (b).

24

plus-factor and the other provisions of SMCRA

requiring one with VER to obtain all necessary

regulatory permits before mining. See 30

U.S.C. §§ 1256-1266 (establishing permit process,

requirements, and performance standards); 64 Fed.

Reg. at 70,771 & 70,776-77. The fact that Congress

elsewhere in the Act required miners with VER to

obtain permits before mining strongly signals that

the legislature did not intend to require miners to

obtain those same permits to qualify for VER in the

first place.

Where Congress sought to condition exemptions

from SMCRA on the attainment of regulatory

permits, moreover, it affirmatively said so. See 30

U.S.C. § 1260(b)(5)(B); id. § 1260(d)(2); id.

§ 1272(a)(6). Thus, SMCRA exempts from its

restrictions on mining operations that adversely

impact alluvial valley floors those operations that

“had obtained specific permit approval by the State

regulatory authority to conduct surface coal mining

operations within said alluvial valley floors” one year

before SMCRA’s enactment. Jd. § 1260(b)(5)(B).

The Act similarly exempts from its restrictions on

mining operations in areas containing prime

farmland those operations permitted before

SMCRA’s enactment. See id. § 1260(d)(2).

The D.C. Circuit wholly disregarded these telling

structural features of SMCRA, _ effectively

announcing that a statute’s structure need not be

consulted to interpret it. But this Court has always

required courts to read statutory provisions together

to glean their meaning. See, e.g., Crawford Fitting

Co. v. J.T. Gibbons, Inc., 482 U.S. 437, 445 (1987)

(noting “longstanding practice of construing statutes

25

in pari materia”); Riverside Bayview Homes, 474 U.S.

at 139 n.11 (explaining that “various provisions of

the [Clean Water] Act should be read in pari

materia’). And while the D.C. Circuit considered it

unnecessary to draw any inference from the fact that

Congress excluded particular language in one section

of a statute that it included in other sections of the

same statute, this Court has long held just the

opposite. See, e.g., KP Permanent Make-Up, Inc. v.

Lasting Impression I, Inc., 543 U.S. 111, 118 (2004)

(“‘(W]here Congress includes particular language in

one section of a statute but omits it in another

section of the same Act, it is generally presumed that

Congress acts intentionally and purposely in the

disparate inclusion or exclusion.’ ”) (quoting & citing

Russello v. United States, 464 U.S. 16, 23 (1983)).

This Court requires courts to pay attention to

statutory structure. The court of appeals

disregarded that important constraint on an agency’s

interpretative choices.

* *k *

The D.C. Circuit’s novel approach to Chevron has

introduced new and troubling uncertainty into the

traditional understanding of a statutory term of art

used in many federal statutes. Given the sheer

number of agency interpretations the D.C. Circuit

reviews each year, its newly minted rule of decision

is also sure to do yet more harm if it takes hold. The

Court should grant certiorari to clarify that it is

Congress—not the Executive Branch—whose intent

alone matters at Chevron step one. S. Ct. Rule 10(c).

26

II. BY REJECTING RIVERSIDE BAYVIEW

HOMES’ CONSTITUTIONAL AVOID-

ANCE RULE, THE RULING BELOW

TRIGGERS A CIRCUIT SPLIT AND

INJECTS FURTHER UNCERTAINTY

INTO THE RULE’S PROPER APPLI-

CATION.

The decision below also injects needless confusion

into another settled rule: that agency

interpretations that threaten takings should be

judicially narrowed to avoid constitutional

difficulties.

It has long been the rule that courts do not owe the

customary Chevron deference to an agency’s

statutory interpretation that raises’ serious

constitutional difficulties. See Edward J. DeBartolo

Corp. v. Florida Gulf Coast Bldg. & Constr. Trades

Council, 485 U.S. 568, 575-576 (1988) (citing NLRB

v. Catholic Bishop of Chi., 440 U.S. 490, 499-501

(1979)); Rust v. Sullivan, 500 U.S. 173, 190-191

(1991). As this Court has explained, “where an

otherwise acceptable construction of a statute would

raise serious constitutional problems, the Court will

construe the statute to avoid such problems.”

Edward J. DeBartolo Corp., 485 U.S. at 575; see id.

(rejecting agency interpretation that “pose[d] serious

questions of the validity [of the statute] under the

First Amendment’).

This principle of constitutional avoidance is

particularly appropriate when an _é agency's

interpretation threatens to take private property.

Thus, in Riverside Bayview Homes, this Court

explained that a statute should be given a narrowing

construction where “it appears that there is an

27

identifiable class of cases in which application of

[the] statute will necessarily constitute a taking.”

474 U.S. at 129 n.5. The Court drew this rule from

one of its earlier cases—United States v. Security

Industrial Bank, 459 U.S. 70 (1982)—where it

avoided “a substantial argument” that’ the

retroactive application of a Bankruptcy Code

provision would cause takings by “construing the

statute to apply only prospectively.” 474 U.S. at 129

n.5. As the Court explained there, this limiting

approach is a “sensible” one to follow in cases that

present substantial takings arguments. See id. But

the Court nevertheless declined to follow that

approach in the case before it because it determined

that “there is no identifiable set of instances in which

mere application of the [challenged] permit

requirement will necessarily or even probably

constitute a taking.” Zd.

A. The Lower Courts Are Confused About

How To Apply Riverside Bayview Homes’

Constitutional Avoidance Rule.

In the years since the Court announced the

constitutional-avoidance rule for takings cases, the

lower courts have struggled to understand and apply

it. Four courts of appeals have addressed the

Riverside Bayview Homes takings rule—the Fifth

Circuit, the Eighth Circuit, the Federal Circuit and

the D.C. Circuit—and each has adopted differing

views of it.

The Fifth Circuit. In Texas Office of Public

Utility Counsel v. FCC, 183 F.3d 393 (5th Cir. 1999),

petitioners alleged that the timetable adopted by the

Federal Communications Commission for

implementing its support system to ensure universal

28

telephone service worked a taking and that “the FCC

should adopt a narrow construction of the statutory

language to avoid any constitutional infirmities.” Jd.

at 437. While the Fifth Circuit recognized that

Riverside Bayview Homes _ requires narrowing

constructions in some circumstances, it ultimately

declined to adopt such a construction based on the

likely practical effect of the regulation: “[e]ven if”

the petitioners could show “that some taking will

result,” the court of appeals concluded, petitioners

could not demonstrate “that thefir] losses are so

significant that the ‘net effect’ is confiscatory.” Id.

The court’s holding thus seems to have rested on the

conclusion that the FCC’s timetable worked no

taking. See id. No similar conclusion, of course, can

be reached here.

The Eighth Circuit. In Jowa Utilities Bd. v. FCC,

219 F.3d 744 (8th Cir. 2000), rev'd in part on other

grounds sub nom. Verizon Communications, Inc. v.

FCC, 535 U.S. 467 (2002), petitioners argued that

the forward-looking pricing methodology for

interconnection and unbundled telecommunications

network elements the FCC adopted under the

Telecommunications Act of 1996—known as

TELRIC—‘raise[d] a serious Fifth Amendment

takings issue that the statute should be construed to

avoid.” Jd. at 753. Applying Riverside Bayview

Homes, however, the court of appeals concluded that

“[w]e do not need to disregard Chevron deference and

interpret the statute * * * to avoid an

unconstitutional taking in this instance” because

“[t]he possibility that a regulatory program may

result in a taking does not justify the use of a

narrowing construction.” Jd. at 754. The operative

29

word there was “may”; TELRIC’s impact could not be

known until it was actually implemented, and there

accordingly could be no class of takings claims until

the methodology was used to set actual rates. See

Iowa Utils. Bd., 219 F.3d at 754. No such

uncertainty, of course, exists here.

The Federal Circuit. In Florida Rock Inaus., Inc.

v. United States, 791 F.2d 893 (Fed. Cir. 1986),

Florida Rock, “a large-scale miner of limestone,”

alleged that a large tract of land containing

limestone deposits was taken when the Army

engineers denied it a Clean Water Act permit to

discharge dredged materials into wetlands. Id. at

895. Reviewing the claims court’s award of damages

to Florida Rock, the Federal Circuit, relying upon

Riverside Bayview Homes, explained that, even if a

constitutional violation “occurred here in the form of

a taking without just compensation,” “a more

cautious construction of the Clean Water Act is not

legally required.” Jd. at 900. The reason was the

clear availability of compensation for this particular

taking under the Tucker Act. See id. (explaining if a

taking “occurred here * * * it is cured by the Tucker

Act”).

The D.C. Circuit. In contrast with these Circuits,

which have accepted the Riverside Bayview Homes

canon but found it inapplicable in the particular

factual contexts in which it has been invoked, the

D.C. Circuit has applied the rule on multiple

occasions and even enforced it. See Building Owners

& Managers Ass'n Intl v. FCC, 254 F.3d 89, 99-100

(D.C. Cir. 2001); Transmission Access Policy Study

Group v. FERC, 225 F.3d 667, 690 (D.C. Cir. 2000),

affd sub nom. New York v. FERC, 535 U.S. 1 (2002);

30

National Mining Ass’n v. Babbitt, 172 F.3d 906, 917

(D.C. Cir. 1999); Bell Atl. Tel. Cos. v. FCC, 24 F.3d

1441, 1445-47 (D.C. Cir. 1994); Railway Labor

Executives’ Ass’n v. United States, 987 F.2d 806, 816

(D.C. Cir. 1993); see also GTE Serv. Corp. v. FCC,

205 F.3d 416, 423 (D.C. Cir. 2000) (recognizing “a

broader construction of ‘necessary’ under § 251(c)(6)

might result in an unnecessary taking of private

property”) (emphasis in original).22

The D.C. Circuit gave the fullest exposition of the

Riverside Bayview Homes rule in Bell Atlantic, a case

in which local exchange carriers challenged the

FCC’s authority to require them to _ permit

competitive carriers to physically co-locate facilities

within their central offices. The Bell Atlantic court

explained that the constitutional-avoidance rule

derived from the Constitution’s structural separation

of powers: “Where administrative interpretation of a

statute creates” an identifiable class of takings

claims, the “use of a narrowing construction prevents

executive encroachment on Congress’s exclusive

powers to raise revenue.” 24 F.3d at 1445.

Otherwise, executive-branch agencies could “use

statutory silence or ambiguity to expose the Treasury

to liability both massive and unforeseen.” Id.

Bearing these concerns in mind, the Bell Atlantic

court went on to impose a narrowing construction on

the regulation in question there: The FCC could not

22 Given the heavy volume of agency statutory interpretations

the D.C. Circuit is called on to review, it is unsurprising that

that court has amassed the most experience with the Riverside

Bayview Homes rule. By the same token, the D.C. Circuit’s

sudden rejection of the rule is likely to have the greatest impact

on future agency interpretations.

31

impose a physical co-location requirement because it

“create[d] an ‘identifiable class’ of applications that

would seem to constitute a taking.” Id. at 1446.

B. The Ruling Below Exacerbates The

Confusion In The Lower Courts By

Causing A Circuit Split.

In a sharp—but unexplained—break with its own

precedent, as well as with that of the other Circuits

that have recognized the validity of the Riverside

Bayview Homes rule (if not how or when to apply it),

the court below effectively rendered this strain of the

constitutional-avoidance canon a dead letter. Recall

that OSM itself acknowledged that its regulation

carried “significant takings implications” and even

went so far as to point out that its VER standard

would prevent mining initially in thousands more

acres subject to valid mining rights than would

otherwise be allowed under a different standard. See

64 Fed. Reg. at 70,776, 70,778. Yet the D.C. Circuit

nonetheless concluded that Riverside Bayview Homes

did not come into play because NMA failed to present

sufficient “evidence” that OSM’s regulation created

an “identifiable class” of takings claims. App. 16a.

The D.C. Circuit’s assertion that no “evidence

suggest[ed]” that compensable takings will follow on

OSM’s regulation is strange indeed, given that OSM

acknowledged throughout its preamble’ the

“significant” takings implications of its own

regulation. See 64 Fed. Reg. at 70,777, 70,781,

70,824, 70,827. And there simply can be no doubt

that OSM’s “good faith/all permits” plus-factor

creates an identifiable class of takings cases; OSM

said so. Nor does it take much to discern the class.

The “identifiable class” consists of miners with valid

32

property rights to surface mine coal estates in a

protected area who did not secure (or make a good

faith effort to secure) all permits or authorizations

before the area came under SMCRA’s protections.

See 30 C.F.R. § 761.5; 64 Fed. Reg. at 70,824. And

the number of acres impacted by OSM’s statutorily

impermissible plus-factor will only increase as

additional areas come within Section 522(e)’s

protections. See supra at 12. Riverside Bayview

Homes requires nothing more; the narrowing

construction there was occasioned by “a substantial

argument’—not evidence.

Even more troubling than the D.C. Circuit’s blithe

disregard of the obvious class of takings claims

sparked by OSM’s regulation is its disregard of

earlier cases recognizing that Section 522(e)’s VER

clause is intended to prevent takings—not facilitate

them. See Hodel, 452 U.S. at 297 n.37 (explaining

that takings challenge was “premature” because

“522(e)’s restrictions are expressly made subject to

‘valid existing rights’ ”); National Wildlife Fed’n, 839

F.2d at 749-750 (“Congress *** limited the

application of the surface mining proscriptions to

avoid infringement of existing property rights” and

“did not intend to *** effect takings through

§ 522(e)”). If ever there were occasion to adopt a

narrowing construction of an agency regulation to

avoid the takings difficulties caused by an agency’s

chosen interpretation, it must be where (as here) the

agency selected a discretionary interpretation it

admitted carried the “greatest potential to result in

compensable takings,” 64 Fed. Reg. at 70,781-82, and

where (as here) courts have previously recognized

that Congress sought to avoid that very result in

33

protecting “valid existing rights” in the first place. If

the Riverside Bayview Homes rule does not have any

force in that circumstance, there is no such rule.

* * *

The decision below thus exacerbates the confusion

in the lower courts (including even within the D.C.

Circuit itself) concerning the proper interpretation

and application of the Riverside Bayview Homes rule

of constitutional avoidance. This Court should take

this opportunity to provide guidance to the lower

courts by clarifying when—if ever—statutes that

threaten takings should receive narrowing

interpretive constructions. S. Ct. Rule 10(a).

Ill. THIS CASE PRESENTS AN IDEAL

VEHICLE TO ADDRESS A QUESTION OF

SIGNIFICANT NATIONAL IMPOR-

TANCE.

SMCRA is one of more than 100 federal statutes

and proclamations that protect “valid existing

rights.” See supra at 6-7; App. E. These provisions

collectively affect a diverse group of property owners

dependent upon natural resources including—but by

no means limited to—the coal mimiag industry. See

supra at 7-8. And these provisions have traditionally

been understood to protect pre-existing property

rights from destruction by subsequently enacted

federal laws. See supra at 7-8.

The ruling below directly challenges that

conventional understanding by holding that Section

522(e)’s VER clause protects “equitable interests in

regulatory approval{s],” not property interests. See

supra at 8. That move, made possible only through a

novel interpretative mode out of step with this

34

Court's instructions, carries serious consequences. It

casts grave doubt on the proper interpretation of a

familiar term of art that Congress has used in

numerous statutes scattered throughout the United

States Code. See App. E. It unsettles what had been

settled past interpretations of VER clauses. And its

interpretation is sure to inform future agency and

judicial interpretations of other VER clauses in other

federal statutes and proclamations. The D.C.

Circuit’s VER ruling thus has far-reaching

implications for all industries that invest in property

rights to extract valuable resources from the land.

This Court in the past has recognized the

substantial national significance of SMCRA’s

regime—and of the takings consequences that

potentially attend it. When this Court considered a

pre-enforcement challenge to SMCRA’s

constitutionality in 1981, it found a_ takings

challenge to Section 522(e) “premature” in part

because the statute’s “restrictions are expressly

made subject to ‘valid existing rights.’” Hodel, 452

U.S. at 296 n.37. The Court also at that time

rejected the appellees’ contention, based on a 1980

regulation that the district court had remanded to

the Secretary for reconsideration, that Section

522(e)’s VER clause “applies only to specific surface

mining operations for which all required permits

were issued prior to August 3, 1977, the effective

date of the Act,” explaining that “[t]his interpretation

of the exception is not compelled by either the

statutory language or its legislative history.” Id.

Now that the Secretary, after wavering for nearly a

quarter of a century, has indeed interpreted Section

522(e)’s “valid existing rights” clause to contain a

“

35

“good faith/all permits” plus-factor, the propriety of

that interpretation is squarely presented to this

Court.

This Court should take the opportunity now to

review OSM’s interpretation, because the chance

may not come again. The D.C. Circuit is the

exclusive venue in which national rules and

regulations promulgated by the Secretary—such as

the one at issue here—may be challenged. See 30

U.S.C. § 1276(a)(1) (“Any action by the Secretary

promulgating national rules or regulations * * * shall

be subject to judicial review in the United States

District Court for the District of Columbia Circuit.”).

And because national regulations must be challenged

within 60 days, the legality of the Secretary's VER

rule cannot be contested later as applied in a

particular case. See id. (“A petition for review of any

action subject to judicial review under this

subsection shall be filed in the appropriate Court

within sixty days from the date of such action

*** ”): see also Commonwealth of Va. ex rel. Va.

Dep't of Conservation & Econ. Dev. v. Watt, 741 F.2d

37, 41 (4th Cir. 1984) (rejecting as “clearly

subvert[ing] Congressional intent” the view that

“those opposed to a national regulation could simply

ignore the sixty-day statutory time limit prescribed

for bringing an action in the District of Columbia and

obtain relief later in their local jurisdiction”). A split

in lower court authority therefore is unlikely to

emerge. And there accordingly is nothing to be

gained by allowing the issue to further percolate in

the lower courts.

There are no _ impediments, procedural or

otherwise, that would complicate this Court’s

36

consideration of the proper construction of Section

5§22(e)’s VER clause. NMA squarely challenged

OSM’s interpretation of Section 522(e)’s VER clause

below in the agency, at the District Court, and in the

D.C. Circuit, and the court of appeals resolved

NMA’s challenge on the merits.

This Court should act to provide the lower courts

with needed guidance on the correct meaning of this

important statutory term.

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, the petition for a

writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

HAROLD P. QUINN, JR. CATHERINE E. STETSON*

NATIONAL MINING CHRISTOPHER T. HANDMAN

ASSOCIATION PAUL A. WERNER

101 Constitution Ave., N.W. HOGAN & HARTSON L.L.P.

Washington, D.C. 20001 555 Thirteenth Street, N.W.

(202) 463-2600 Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 637-5491

*Counsel of Record Counsel for Petitioner

APPENDIX

>

1

;

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Fr. =e es

ie te pd ee ee ee TT la a

é

i

%)

5

Argued September 24, 2007

Decided January 15, 2008

No. 06-5199

NATIONAL MINING ASSOCIATION,

APPELLANT

‘

;

:

3

,

}

ee Sed wee

Vv.

DIRK KEMPTHORNE, SECRETARY OF THE INTERIOR, ET

AL.,

APPELLEES

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia

(No. 00cv00283)

Kirsten L. Nathanson argued the cause for

appellant. With her on the briefs were Harold P.

Quinn, Jr. and Thomas C. Means. Joseph M. Klise

entered an appearance.

Blair M. Gardner was on the brief for amicus

curiae National Council of Coal Lessors, Inc. in

support of appellant.

Kathryn E. Kovacs, Attorney, U.S. Department of

Justice, argued the cause for federal appellees. With

2a

her on the brief was Robert Oakley, Attorney.

Walton D. Morris, Jr. was on the brief for

appellee Kentucky Resources Council, Inc.

Before: GARLAND and GRIFFITH, Circuit Judges,

and EDWARDS, Senior Circuit Judge.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge

GRIFFITH.

GRIFFITH, Circuit Judge

The Secretary of the Interior has interpreted the

phrase “valid existing rights” in the Surface Mining

Control and Reclamation Act to foreclose surface

mining operations in sensitive areas. The National

Mining Association challenges this reading of the

statute, but we conclude that we must defer to the

Secretary reasonable interpretation of this

ambiguous phrase.

I.

In 1977, Congress enacted the Surface Mining

Control and Reclamation Act (““SMCRA”), 30 U.S.C.

§§ 1201 et seg., “to protect society and the

environment from the adverse effects of surface coal

mining operations,” id. § 1202(a). Section 522(b) of

the SMCRA authorizes the Secretary of the Interior

(“Secretary”) to prohibit surface coal mining

operations on federal lands if he determines them to

be unsuitable for that purpose. Id. § 1272(b). Section

522(e) bans outright surface mining in statutorily

designated areas.! Id. § 1272(e). In this appeal, we

1 Subject to certain exceptions, § 522(e) designates the

following areas: lands within the National Park System, the

National Wildlife Refuge Systems, the National System of

Trails, the National Wilderness Preservation System, the Wild

and Scenic Rivers System; federal lands within a national

3a

are asked to determine how Congress intended that

ban to work. The relevant text of § 522(e) provides:

“After August 3, 1977, and subject to valid existing

rights no surface coal mining operations except those

which exist on August 3, 1977, shall be permitted [in

the statutorily designated areas].” Jd. (emphasis

added).

Because one must show “valid existing rights”

(“VER”) to start a surface mining operation in a

§ 522(e) area, the meaning of the phrase is critical.

For decades, the Secretary and the courts have

wrestled with how best to understand VER and

determine what it protects. We need not recount this

history. Suffice it to say that VER has occasioned a

spectrum of agency interpretations, ranging from a

relaxed “ownership and authority” standard, which

required only that the miner show a property right in

the coal, to a more exacting “all permits” standard,

which called for a showing that surface mining

licenses had been issued prior to the date § 522(e)

took effect. See Valid Existing Rights, 64 Fed. Reg.

70,766, 70,769-71 (Dec. 17, 1999) (recounting

Secretary’s prior definitions of VER).

In 1999, the Secretary and the Office of Surface

Mining Reclamation and Enforcement promulgated a

rule through notice-and-comment procedures offering

yet another interpretation of VER. Jd. at 70,831—32

(codified at 30 C.F.R. § 761.5). This “1999 Rule,” as

we will call it, was a setback for parties hoping to

conduct new surface mining operations in § 522(e)

areas. ('nder the 1999 Rule, a miner claiming VER

forest; areas that would adversely affect public parks or places

included in the National Register of Historic Sites; areas within

one hundred feet of the outside right-of-way line of any public

road; and areas within three hundred feet of any occupied

dwelling, public building, school, church, community, or

institutional building, or within one hundred feet of a cemetery.

See 30 U.S.C. § 1272(e).

4a

protection must satisfy two conditions. First, he must

produce a legally binding document that vested him

with the right to mine the land at the time it came

under § 522(e). Second, he must either prove that the

owner of the land, by the time it came under § 522(e),

had made a good faith effort to obtain all necessary

permits for the mining, or else prove that the coal is

_ immediately adjacent to a surface mining operation

in existence on August 3, 1977 and is needed to

ensure the economic viability of the mining operation

as a whole. The Secretary’ prefaced this

interpretation of VER with a 72-page preamble

describing the agency’s long relationship with the

phrase, explaining the rationale for the latest

interpretation, and responding to objections raised

during the notice-and-comment period. Significantly,

the preamble acknowledges that the chosen VER

interpretation protects 3,062 more acres than the

least restrictive alternative and predicts that “few

persons will qualify for VER under this standard.”

Valid Existing Rights, 64 Fed. Reg. 70,766, 70,776,

70,778 (Dec. 17, 1999). |

The National Mining Association (“NMA”), an

industry trade association with standing to bring

suit on behalf of its members under Hunt uv.

Washington State Apple Advertising Commission,

432 U.S. 333, 343 (1977), challenged the 1999 Rule

pursuant to 30 U.S.C. § 1276(a)(1) in the United

States District Court for the District of Columbia.

The NMA argued that the 1999 Rule’s interpretation

of VER was too narrow and shielded more land from

surface mining than Congress intended. On cross-

motions for summary judgment, the district court

found the statute ambiguous, deferred to the

Secretary’s interpretation as reasonable, and entered

judgment for the Secretary. Natl Mining Ass’n v.

Scarlett, 2006 WL 1194224, *6—-9 (D.D.C. May 4,

2006) (citing Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Res. Def.

Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984)). The NMA

5a

appeals. For the reasons set forth below, we affirm

the district court’s judgment.

II.

This case begins with an unusual question

created by a mistake in the language of the

jurisdictional grant. We have an “independent

obligation to determine whether subject-matter

jurisdiction exists,” Arbaugh v. Y & H Corp., 546

U.S. 500, 514 (2006), which we must discharge before

ruling on the merits, Sinochem Intl Co. v. Malay.

Intl Shipping Corp., 127 S. Ct. 1184, 1191 (2007)

(citing Steel Co. v. Citizens for a Better Envu't, 523

U.S. 83, 93-102 (1998)).

The district court claimed jurisdiction under 30

U.S.C. § 1276(a)(1), which renders “[a]ny action by

the Secretary promulgating national rules or

regulations . . . subject to judicial review in the

United States District Court for the District of

Columbia Circuit.” But there is no such court within

the federal] judiciary. The judgment the NMA has

asked us to review comes from a court called “the

United States District Court for the District of

Columbia.” See Act of June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat.

869, 875, 895 (codified at 28 U.S.C. §§ 88, 132(a)); see

also In re Permanent Surface Mining Regulation

Litig., 653 F.2d 514, 516 n.2 (D.C. Cir. 1981) (noting

§ 1276(a)(1)’s error); In re Surface Mining Regulation

Litig., 627 F.2d 13846, 1350 n.1 (D.C. Cir. 1980)

(same). Because the inferior federal courts are

“creatures of statute,” Bath County v. Amy, 80 U.S.

(13 Wall.) 244, 247-48 (1871), we must pay careful

attention to the legislative texts by which we are

given authority. The district court did not address

the mistake in the statute, so the task falls to us.

“[Cjourts will not give independent meaning to a

word where it is apparent from the context of the act

that the word is surplusage,” Am. Radio Relay

6a

League, Inc. v. FCC, 617 F.2d 875, 879 (D.C. Cir.

1980) (citation and quotation marks omitted), so we

will excise the word “Circuit” from the text of

§ 1276(a)(1). We have no qualms about this erasure,

for both Congress’s intent and the error impeding it

are plain to see. See 2A NORMAN J. SINGER,

SUTHERLAND STATUTES AND STATUTORY

CONSTRUCTION § 47.37 (6th ed. 2002) (“A majority of

the cases permit the elimination or disregarding of

words in a statute in order to carry out the

legislative intent or meaning.”); HENRY M. HART, JR.

& ALBERT M. SACKS, THE LEGAL PROCESS 1375

(William N. Eskridge, Jr. & Philip P. Frickey eds.,

1994) (“Courts on occasion can correct mistakes .. .

when it is completely clear from the context that a

mistake has been made.”). In § 1276(a), Congress

subjected the Secretary’s behavior to judicial review

in various district courts. It would be absurd to

assume that Congress intended to shield the

Secretary’s national rules against judicial review by

granting jurisdiction to a nonexistent court. Cf. Ethyl

Corp. v. EPA, 541 F.2d 1, 68 (D.C. Cir. 1976) (en

banc) (Leventhal, J., concurring) (“Congress has been

willing to delegate its legislative powers broadly and

courts have upheld such delegation because there is

court review to assure that the agency exercises the

delegated power within statutory limits ....”). We

read § 1276(a)(1) as granting jurisdiction to the

United States District Court for the District of

Columbia in the present case, notwithstanding

Congress’s erroneous inclusion of the word “Circuit.”

Our jurisdiction to review the final decision of that

court comes from 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

Ii.

We review de novo the district court’s grant of

summary judgment. Nat7 Mining Ass'n v. Fowler,

324 F.3d 752, 756 (D.C. Cir. 2003). Because Congress

has charged the Secretary with implementing the

7a

SMCRA, we review the agency’s interpretation of the

statutory phrase “valid existing rights” under

Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense

Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984). See Citizens Coal

Council v. Norton, 330 F.3d 478, 481 (D.C. Cir. 2003)

(applying Chevron to Secretary’s interpretation of

the SMCRA). Where the statute is ambiguous, we

defer to the agency’s reasonable interpretation of its

meaning. By contrast, a clear expression of

congressional] intent will bind agency and court alike.

Chevron, 467 U.S. at 842—43.

The NMA urges that Congress inserted VER in

§ 522(e) to protect mineral owners’ property rights.

As the NMA tells it, VER allows surface mining by

those with a property right to mine coal. Were this

true, the Secretary’s restrictive interpretation of

VER in the 1999 Rule would violate a congressional

directive, and we would be required to set it aside.

But we do not read the statute so narrowly. Since

1977, VER has been interpreted by five different

Administrations, each of which has found within its

borders the room to establish a preferred policy. The

NMA takes this history to mean that the agency’s

current policy is entitled to less deference because it

has changed over time, but the opposite is true. That

Congress presented so wide a range of plausible

interpretations to an agency with rulemaking

authority shows a delegation to the executive branch

of the power to make reasonable adjustments to the

nation’s surface mining policy.

A.

Our Chevron analysis begins with asking

whether Congress has delegated authority to an

agency by leaving a statutory gap for the agency to

fill. 467 U.S. at 843-44 (citing Morton v. Ruiz, 415

U.S. 199, 231 (1974)). Our reading of the SMCRA’s

language convinces us that VER is an ambiguous

8a

phrase.? We have in the past determined that the

phrase is subject to multiple and _ divergent

_ interpretations. See Nat? Wildlife Fed’n v. Hodel, 839

F.2d 694, 748-51 (D.C. Cir. 1988) (noting the

ambiguity inherent in VER and deferring to the

Secretary’s reasonable interpretation of the phrase

as encompassing so-called “continually-created valid

existing rights”).

The major source of VER’s ambiguity is the word

“rights.” The NMA, reaching for its dictionary, notes

that the word “right” could be taken to mean

“property right.” See Appellant’s Br. at 34

(interpreting “rights” to mean “ ‘an interest or title in

an object of property ”) (quoting BLACK’S LAW

DICTIONARY 1324 (6th ed. 1990)); see also BLACK’S

LAW DICTIONARY 1347 (8th ed. 2004) (defining “right”

as, inter alia, an “interest, claim, or ownership that

one has in tangible or intangible property”). But

according to the same dictionary on which the NMA

relies, this is not the only meaning the word will

bear. BLACK’S LAW DICTIONARY 1324 (6th ed. 1990)

(defining “right” as, inter alia, “[a] legally enforceable

claim of one person against another, that the other

shall do a given act, or shall not do a given act”); see

also BLACK’S LAW DICTIONARY 1347 (8th ed. 2004)

(defining “right” as, inter alia, “[a] legally enforceable

claim that another will do or will not do a given act”).

In fact, this definition cuts against the NMA’s

proposed interpretation of VER because it is not tied

in all circumstances to property.

2 We have noted that the legislative history of the SMCRA

does not illuminate the meaning of VER. See Natl Wildlife

Fed'n v. Hodel, 839 F.2d 694, 749 (D.C. Cir. 1988); cf. Bank One

Chi., N.A. v. Midwest Bank & Trust Co., 516 U.S. 264, 283

(1996) (Scalia, J., concurring) (“The text’s the thing. We should

therefore ignore drafting history without discussing it, instead

of after discussing it.”).

9a

Just as “right” can function as a proxy for

property rights, it will also do service more generally.

See, e.g., id. (“[sJomething that is due to a person by

just claim, legal guarantee, or moral principle”); 13

THE OXFORD ENGLISH DICTIONARY 923 (2d ed. 1989)

(“Hjustifiable claim, on moral or legal grounds, to

have or obtain something, or to act in a certain

way’); WEBSTER’S NEW INTERNATIONAL DICTIONARY

2147 (2d ed. 1952) (“[t]hat to which one has a just

claim”). Under Chevron, we ask “whether Congress

has directly spoken to the precise question at issue.”

467 U.S. at 842. By using a word with multiple and

often vague meanings, it is hard for us to conclude

that Congress has done that here. The word “right,”

instead of answering a question, unhelpfully asks

another one: To what is a person legally entitled?

Similarly, “valid” could mean “[ljegally sufficient,”

BLACK’S LAW DICTIONARY 1586 (8th ed. 2004), which

is equally unhelpful because it requires yet another

question: Under law, what makes a miner’s rights

sufficient? The dictionary counsels in favor of more

deference to the agency, not less. See Natl Cable &

Telecomms. Ass'n v. Brand X Internet Servs., 545

U.S. 967, 989 (2005) (“[W]jhere a statute’s plain

terms admit of two or more reasonable ordinary

usages, the [agency’s] choice of one of them is

entitled to deference.”); Natl R.R. Passenger Corp. v.

Boston & Me. Corp., 503 U.S. 407, 418 (1992) (“The

existence of alternative dictionary definitions of the

word ‘required, each making some sense under the

statute, itself indicates that the statute is open to

interpretation.”) (citation omitted); AFL-CIO v. FEC,

333 F.3d 168, 174 (D.C. Cir. 2003) (“[T]he fact that

the provision can support two _ plausible

interpretations renders it ambiguous for purposes of

Chevron analysis.”) (citation omitted).

VER could be read, as the NMA suggests, as

protecting “valid existing property rights.” But it

could also encompass a narrower protection, as in

10a

the 1999 Rule. Nothing in § 522(e) suggests Congress

intended to enact the former understanding over the

latter. This case is thus the reverse of Friends of the

Earth, Inc. v. EPA, 446 F.3d 140 (D.C. Cir. 2006). In

Friends of the Earth, we found that Congress’s use of

the word “daily” to modify the phrase “total

maximum loads” removed any ambiguity that

otherwise existed. See 446 F.3d at 144 (“[Bly

providing for the establishment of ‘total maximum

loads,’ Congress could have left a gap for EPA to fill.

Instead, Congress specified ‘total maximum daily

loads.’ “). In § 522(e), by contrast, Congress enacted

the ambiguous “valid existing rights” instead of the

more precise “valid existing property rights.” If VER

operates as a “term of art,” as the NMA suggests, it

is as a tool by which Congress delegates

policymaking authority through ambiguity.? See, e.g.,

Seldovia Native Ass'n v. Lujan, 904 F.2d 1335, 1345

(9th Cir. 1990) (noting the Secretary’s interpretation

of VER in 43 U.S.C. §§ 1701-1782); Alekganik

Natives Ltd. v. United States, 806 F.2d 924, 926 (9th

Cir. 1986) (noting the Secretary’s interpretation of

VER in 43 U.S.C. § 1610(a)(1)); United States v.

3 Academic commentary supports our reading of VER. We

note that the Journal of Mineral Law & Policy, a publication of

the University of Kentucky College of Law, dedicated an entire

issue to analysis of VER as used in the SMCRA. See generally

Valid Existing Rights Symposium, 5 J. MIN. L. & POL’Y 381 et

seq. (1990). Despite devoting 375 pages to the topic, the

symposium participants reached no consensus on VER’s

meaning. As stated by Professor Laitos, in whom the NMA’s

briefing places great faith: “Typically, Congress never lists what

interests it means to include within the ‘valid existing rights’

phrase. The task of interpretation thus falls on the executive

branch (i.e., the Department of Interior) or the courts.” Jan G.

Laitos & Richard A. Westfall, Government Interference with

Private Interests in Public Resources, 11 HARV. ENVTL. L. REV.

1, 19 (1987). Of course, we cannot outsource the task of

statutory interpretation to the professoriate, but we find it

illuminating that scholars with expertise in this area have been

similarly unable to distill a single, clear meaning from VER.

a

? *

%

lla

Garfield County, 122 F. Supp. 2d 1201, 1235—36 (D.

Utah 2000) (noting Park Service’s interpretation of

VER in 16 U.S.C. § 273(a)); cf. Felix Frankfurter,

Some Reflections on the Reading of Statutes, 47

COLUM. L. REV. 527, 545 (1947) (noting “a recent

cartoon in which a senator tells his colleagues ‘I

admit this new bill is too complicated to understand.

We'll just have to pass it to find out what it

means.’ ”).

Of course, not every statutory ambiguity gives

rise to agency prerogative. See Gonzales v. Oregon,

546 U.S. 243, 258 (2006); Sea-Land Serv., Inc. v.

Dep't of Transp., 137 F.3d 640, 645 (D.C. Cir. 1998).

But where Congress has indicated that it “would

expect the agency to be able to speak with the force

of law when it addresses ambiguity in the statute or

fills a space in the enacted law,” United States v.

Mead Corp., 533 U.S. 218, 229 (2001), its decision to

leave “a gap for an agency to fill . . . is a delegation of

authority to the agency to give meaning to a specific

provision of the statute by regulation,” Michigan uv.

EPA, 268 F.3d 1075, 1082 (D.C. Cir. 2001). So it is in

this case. See 30 U.S.C. § 1211(c)(2) (empowering the

Secretary to “publish and promulgate such rules and

regulations as may be necessary to carry out the

purposes and provisions of [the SMCRA]”); Mead,

533 U.S. at 229 (“We have recognized a very good

indicator of delegation meriting Chevron treatment

in express congressional authorizations to engage in

the process of rulemaking or adjudication that

produces regulations or rulings for which deference

is claimed.”). It remains for us to determine whether

the Secretary served as Congress’s faithful agent in

giving meaning to VER’s ambiguities.

B.

Having satisfied ourselves that VER is

ambiguous, we defer to the Secretary’s interpretation

of the phrase if it “is based on a_ permissible

12a

construction of the statute.” Chevron, 467 U.S. at

843. All we ask of the agency is a reasonable

interpretation. See Vonage Holdings Corp. v. FCC,

489 F.3d 1232, 1240 (D.C. Cir. 2007); Citizens Coal

Council v. Norton, 330 F.3d 478, 483 (D.C. Cir. 2003).

By “consider[ing}] the matter in a detailed and

reasoned fashion” and demonstrating in its 72-page

preamble that “the interpretation is arguably

consistent with the underlying statutory scheme in a

substantive sense,” we conclude that the Secretary

has adopted a reasonable interpretation of the

statute. Kennecott Utah Copper Corp. v. U.S. Dep’t of

Interior, 88 F.3d 1191, 1206 (D.C. Cir. 1996).4

The 1999 Rule remains true to the authority

delegated to the Secretary in the SMCRA by

protecting against the harmful effects of surface

mining that Congress sought to ameliorate.

Providing this protection is the primary aim of the

statute. See 30 U.S.C. § 1201(e) (declaring that

regulation of surface coal mining “is an appropriate

and necessary means to minimize so far as

practicable the adverse social, economic, and

environmental effects of such mining operations”);

id. § 1201(c), (k) (warning of deleterious effects of

surface coal mining); id. § 1202(a) (stating that a

purpose of the SMCRA is to “establish a nationwide

program to protect society and the environment from

the adverse effects of surface coal mining

operations’); id. § 1202(f) (stating that a purpose of

the SMCRA is to “strike a balance between

4 Given the overlap between step-two Chevron review and the

arbitrary-and-capricious review called for by § 1276(a)(1) and

the APA, see Shays v. FEC, 414 F.3d 76, 96-97 (D.C. Cir. 2005)

(collecting cases), the contention that the 1999 Rule violates

§ 1276(a)(1) fails for similar reasons. In the preamble to the

1999 Rule, the Secretary “examine[d] the relevant data and

articulate[d] a satisfactory explanation for its action.” Motor

Vehicle Mfrs. Ass'n v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 463 U.S.

29, 43 (1983).

13a

protection of the environment .. . and the Nation’s

need for coal as an essential source of energy”).

Therefore it is not surprising that the Secretary has

promulgated an interpretive rule that cuts against

the interests of some miners.

The NMA’s suggestion that the SMCRA effected

robust protection of miners’ property rights is belied

by the way Congress used the word “property” in

that statute. Of the twenty-nine instances in which

“property” appears, only one refers to protecting the

property rights of subsurface owners of the mineral

estate. Id. § 1304(g) (concerning coal owned by the

United States). Many uses of “property” concern the

protection of surface or adjacent property owners

against the harmful effects of surface mining, id.

§§ 1201(c), 1233(a)(1)(A), 1239(a), 1253(a)(15)(C),

1253(a)(17), 1257(f, 1269(a), 1270(f), 1272(a)(3)(D),

1307(b), and several mentions of “property” run

counter to miners’ property rights, in that they

authorize government entry onto mined property to

assess and remedy environmental degradation

caused by strip mining, id. §§ 1237(a), 1237(b),

1240(b).

Save for repeating its argument that VER is

unambiguous and accusing the Secretary of “flip-

flopping,” Appellant’s Br. at 53, the NMA provides

little resistance on this front.5 With the exception of

the constitutional avoidance argument, discussed

next, the NMA offers no basis for finding the

Secretary's interpretation unreasonable. If that

argument fails, we must accord Chevron deference to

the 1999 Rule. See Consumer Elecs. Ass’n v. FCC,

347 F.3d 291, 299 (D.C. Cir. 2003) (“Here, however,

5 The NMA’s “flip-flopping” point ignores the agency’s

obligation to “consider varying interpretations and the wisdom

of its policy on a continuing basis,” Chevron, 467 U.S. at 863—

64.

l4a

[petitioner] advances no additional argument beyond

those already discussed as part of step one, and so

we have no basis for finding the Commission’s

interpretation unreasonable. In any event, the

language of [the statute] plainly admits of the

Commission’s interpretation, and it therefore is a

permissible construction of the statute.”).

The NMA asserts that the 1999 Rule runs afoul

of both the Due Process and Takings Clauses of the

Fifth Amendment, an argument raised to invoke the

canon of constitutional avoidance. Because the

judiciary must rightly presume that Congress acts

consistent with its duty to uphold the Constitution,

courts make every effort to construe statutes so as to

find their constitutional foundations and thus avoid

needless constitutional confrontations. See Edward

J. DeBartolo Corp. v. Fla. Gulf Coast Bldg. & Constr.

Trades Council, 485 U.S. 568, 575 (1988); Ashwander

v. Tenn. Valley Auth., 297 U.S. 288, 348 (1936)

(Brandeis, J., concurring). This canon of

constitutional avoidance trumps Chevron deference,

see DeBartolo, 485 U.S. at 574—77, and we will not

submit to an agency’s interpretation of 2 statute if it

“presents serious constitutional difficulties,”

Chamber of Commerce v. FEC, 69 F.3d 600, 605

(D.C. Cir. 1995). But we do not abandon Chevron

deference at the mere mention of a_ possible

constitutional problem; the argument must be

serious. See Republican Nat'l Comm. v. FEC, 76 F.3d

400, 409 (D.C. Cir. 1996). The NMA’s arguments are

not.

Though its briefs are unclear, the NMA appears

to argue that its procedural due process rights were

violated because the 1999 Rule created no

mechanism by which miners could comply with the

good-faith permitting requirement had they not

already done so by August 3, 1977. The NMA argues

that United States v. Locke, 471 U.S. 84, 108 (1985),

15a

and Texaco, Inc. v. Short, 454 U.S. 516, 531-32

(1982), require such a mechanism. But those cases

dealt with a_e different type of legislative

determination than we have here. In both Locke and

Texaco, a legislature addressed a dispute over

dormant mines by creating a process that would

allow miners to protect their claims. The issue in

those cases was whether claimants had been

improperly denied their rights to make their claims.

In § 522(e), Congress chose a different means to

address a problem: It prohibited new surface mining

in sensitive areas for all but those who could show a

valid existing right to mine the land. Congress

created no process by which to abide, no regulatory

regime with which to comply. It simply declared

surface mining off limits for those who had no valid

existing rights. Congress created no process that the

NMA can successfully argue it was denied.

The NMA also argues that the 1999 Rule

precludes Chevron deference by working a taking of

subsurface coal interests. A taking, however, is only

unconstitutional if the government fails to pay just

compensation, and the Tucker Act provides for such

a remedy. See 28 U.S.C. § 1491(a). Miners can

pursue their takings claims in the Federal Claims

Court. Given this protection, the NMA’s takings

challenge raises no serious question about the 1999

Rule that would preclude Chevron deference. See

United States v. Riverside Bayview Homes, 474 U.S.

121, 127-28 (1985); Ry. Labor Executives’ Ass'n v.

United States, 987 F.2d 806, 816 (D.C. Cir. 1993) (per

curiam).

This is not to say that the canon of constitutional

avoidance can be ignored with respect to every

argument sounding in the Takings Clause. The

Supreme Court has recognized that the Claims Court

is not a proper venue if a statute creates “an

identifiable class of cases in which application of

16a

[the] statute will necessarily constitute a taking.”

Riverside Bayview, 474 U.S. at 128 n.5 (construing

United States v. Sec. Indus. Bank, 459 U.S. 70, 78

(1982)). Likewise, we have _ refused Chevron

deference to an agency interpretation that created an

“identifiable class” of takings victims. See Bell Atl.

Tel. Cos. v. FCC, 24 F.3d 1441, 1445 (D.C. Cir. 1994)

(noting that “Chevron deference to agency action that

creates a broad class of takings claims, compensable

in the Court of Claims, would allow agencies to use

statutory silence or ambiguity to expose the Treasury

to liability both massive and unforeseen,” which

would impinge Article I authority). But the NMA has

shown no “identifiable class” of miners whose takings

claims would expose the Treasury to such liability.

At oral argument, the NMA did not claim that the

government would be on the hook for a “massive and

unforeseen” sum, paid out to frustrated miners as

just compensation. See Oral Arg. Recording at 14:45—

17:52. The record is devoid of evidence suggesting it

is se. Given this implicit concession that the 1999

Rule will have relatively insignificant takings

implications that can be readily addressed in the

Court of Claims, there is no serious constitutional

problem to be avoided. “[T]he avoidance canon is not

applicable when the statute or regulation would

effect a taking, if at all, only in certain situations.”

Nat? Mining Ass'n v. Babbitt, 172 F.3d 906, 917

(D.C. Cir. 1999). The usual Chevron analysis is

therefore applied to the 1999 Rule, which results in

our deferring to the Secretary reasonable

interpretation of an ambiguous statutory term.

IV.

The district court properly accorded Chevron

deference to the Secretary’s interpretative rule. The

judgment is

Affirmed.

17a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Civil Action No. 00-283 (RWR)

NATIONAL MINING ASSOCIATION,

Plaintiff,

v.

LYNN SCARLETT, et al.,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

Plaintiff National Mining Association (“NMA”)

challenges as arbitrary, capricious, or otherwise

inconsistent with the law the 1999 final rule of the

Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and

Enforcement (“OSM”) and the Secretary of the

Interior (“Secretary”)! interpreting “valid existing

rights” under the Surface Mining Control and

Reclamation Act of 1977 (“SMCRA” or “the Act”), 30

U.S.C. §§ 1201 et _seq., which prohibits new surface

coal mining operations on specified lands subject to

1 Lynn Scarlett, the current Acting Secretary of the Interior

and Jeffrey Jarrett, the current Director of the Office of Surface

Coal Mining and Reclamation, are substituted as defendants in

lieu of former Secretary Bruce Babbit and former Director

Kathleen Karpan. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 25(d)(1).

18a

valid existing rights. NMA alleges that the final rule

improperly limits the circumstances under which

valid existing rights will be recognized, contrary to

clear Congressional intent. NMA has moved for

summary judgment, and the Secretary and OSM,

and intervenor-defendants, have cross-moved for

summary judgment. Because NMA has failed to

show that the 1999 final rule is contrary to the clear

intent of Congress, arbitrary, capricious, or

otherwise inconsistent with the law, NMA’s motion

for summary judgment will be denied. Moreover,

because the Secretary's interpretation of valid

existing rights is a permissible construction of the

statute and the agency reviewed all the relevant data

in reaching its conclusion, defendants’ and

intervenor-defendants’ motion for summary

judgment will be granted.

BACKGROUND

The SMCRA was passed in 1977 as “a

comprehensive statute designed to ‘establish a

nationwide program to protect society and the

environment from the adverse effects of surface coal

mining operations.” el_v. Virginia Surfa

Mining and Reclamation Assoc., 452 U.S. 264, 268

(1981) (““VSMRA”) (quoting 30 U.S.C. § 1202(a)).

Congress sought to “strike a balance between

protection of the environment and agricultural

productivity and the Nation’s need for coal as an

essential source of energy.” 30 U.S.C. § 1202(f).

Section 522(e) of the Act prohibits new surface coal

mining operations on certain lands directly declared

by Congress to be unsuitable for mining.? 30 U.S.C.

2 These lands include the National Park System, the National

Wildlife Refuge Systems, the National System of Trails, the

National Wilderness Preservation System, the Wild and Scenic

Rivers System, federal lands within any national forest,

publicly owned parks or historic sites that will be adversely

affected by mining, areas within one hundred feet of public

roads, areas within three hundred feet of occupied dwellings or

19a

§ 1272(e)(1)-(5); see also Nat'l Wildlife Fed. v. Hodel,

839 F.2d 694, 749 (D.C. Cir. 1988). However, the

prohibition of new mining operations on these lands

is “subject to valid existing rights.” Id. Congress

failed to define or elaborate on the meaning of “valid

existing rights” in the statutory language of the

SMCRA or in its legislative history. See Nat’

Wildlife Fed. v. Hodel, 839 F.2d at 749. The meaning

of valid existing rights in the SMCRA has been the

subject of extensive litigation since the passage of

the Act, and in 1999, OSM promulgated the latest

iteration of regulations defining the phrase. See

Valid Existing Rights, 64 Fed. Reg. 70766, 70766-838

(Dec. 17, 1999).

I. REGULATORY HISTORY

A. 1979 regulation

OSM first promulgated a final rule defining

valid existing rights for SMCRA § 522(e) in 1979.

This first final rule

provided that, except for haul roads,

[valid existing rights] included only

those property rights in existence on

August 3, 1977, the owners of which

either had obtained all necessary

permits for the proposed surface coal

mining operation on or before August 3,

1977 (the ‘all permits’ standard), or

could demonstrate that the coal for

which the exception was sought was

both needed for and immediately

adjacent to a surface coal mining

operation in existence on August 3, 1977

(the ‘needed for and adjacent to’

standard).

public and community buildings, and areas within one hundred

feet of a cemetery. See 30 U.S.C. § 1272(e)(1)-(5).

20a

64 Fed. Reg. at 70769-70 (citing 44 Fed. Reg. 14902,

15342 (Mar. 13, 1979)). Several plaintiffs challenged

the adoption of the “all permits” standard defining

valid existing rights, arguing, among other things,

that the standard was contrary to Congressional

intent to preserve state law property rights, that it

constituted an unconstitutional taking, and that it

was arbitrary and capricious. See In re Permanent

Surface Mining Regulation Litigation, 14 Env’t Rep.

Cas. (BNA) 1083, 1090-91 (D.D.C. Feb. 26, 1980)

(“PSMRL_°”’). The district court remanded the

regulation back to OSM explaining that the “all

permits” standard must also include individuals who

had not yet obtained all permits but had made a

good-faith attempt to do so. Id. at 1091. The PSMRL

I court did not reach the question of Congressional

intent explaining that the Secretary had conceded

that Congress intended valid existing rights “to

encompass property rights recognized as valida under

state case law.” Id. at 1090. The court also declined

to reach the takings challenge to the “all permits”

standard because the plaintiffs’ claim was

“hypothetical” and did not present the court with

sufficient facts to decide the issue. Id. at 1091. On

appeal, because the government informed the court it

was reconsidering the 1979 rule, the D.C. Circuit

remanded the case to the district court. In so doing,

the D.C. Circuit explained that the district court

judgment should not be considered final and that the

issues and arguments raised should be considered

during the planned Cr ag revision process. 64

Fed. Reg. at 70770 (citing In re Permanent Surface

Mining Regulation Litigation, No. 80-1810, Order of

Remand (D.C. Cir. Feb. 1, 1983). (See Pl.’s Stmt. of

Material Facts 4 16.) In 1980, OSM suspended the

1979 final rule and announced that in the interim

period the agency would interpret valid existing

rights to include a property rights holder who had

obtained all permits or had made a good faith effort

2la

to obtain all permits. 64 Fed. Reg. at 70770. (See

Pl.’s Stmt. of Material Facts § 17.) This standard has

come to be known as the “good faith/all permits”

standard. Id.

B. 1983 Regulation And 1986 Suspension

Notice

In 1983, OSM issued a final rule adopting a

“takings” standard for valid existing rights. The rule

provided that a valid existing right would exist

for an area protected under section

522(e) of the Act on August 3, 1977, if

the application of any of the

prohibitions contained in that section to

the property interest that existed on

that date would effect a taking of the

person’s property which would entitle

the person to just compensation under

the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments

to the United States Constitution.

(Pl.’s Stmt. of Material Facts J 22) (quoting 30 C.F.R.

§ 761.5 (1983).) See 64 Fed. Reg. at 70770. In

settling on this rule, OSM rejected all six rules,

including a “good faith/all permits” standard, that it

had proposed in 1982. 64 Fed. Reg. at 70770. (See

Pl.’s Stmt. of Material Facts § 20.) Several plaintiffs

challenged the final rule arguing that the rule was so

different from the various proposed rules that the

agency was required to have an additional period for

notice and comment. In re: P nent e

Mining Litigation, 22 Env’t Rep. Cas. (BNA) 1557,

1558-59 (D.D.C. Mar. 1, 1985) (““PSMRL IT’). The

PSMRL II court agreed and remanded the rule to the

agency. Id. at 1559, 1567. In a 1986 suspension

notice, OSM rescinded the rule in order to comply

with the court’s order and reinstated the “good

faith/all permits” standard. 64 Fed. Reg. at 70770.

(See Pl.’s Stmt. of Material Facts 4 26.)

22a

+f 1988 and 1991 Rulemaking and

the Energy Policy Act of 1992

In 1988, OSM proposed, but later withdrew to

allow further study, a rule defining valid existing

rights as including the “good faith/all permits”

standard and an “ownership and authority” standard

under which valid existing rights could be

established by demonstrating ownership of the coal

and authority te mine it according to applicable state

law. 64 Fed. Reg. 70770-71. (See Pl.’s Stmt. of

Material Facts 4 27-34.) In 1990, OSM and the

University of Kentucky College of Law cosponsored a

symposium on the meaning of valid existing rights in

§ 522(e) of the SMCRA. 64 Fed. Reg. at 70771. See

generally Symposiu n Valid Existing Ri ‘

of Min. L. & Pol’y 381 (1990). “The participants [of

the symposium] provided extensive analyses of

takings jurisprudence and case law related to [valid

existing rights], but they did not reach a consensus

on how to determine [those rights].” 64 Fed. Reg. at

70771. Still seeking to comply with the court’s order

in PSMRL II, in 1991, OSM proposed to define valid

existing rights as including the “takings” standard,

the “good faith/all permits” standard, and the

“needed for and adjacent to” standard. 64 Fed. Reg.

at 70771. (See Pl.’s Stmt. of Material Facts 9 40.)

Before OSM promulgated a final rule,

Congress enacted and the President signed the

Energy Policy Act of 1992, directing the Secretary to

interpret valid existing rights as set forth in the 1986

suspension notice that had adopted the “good

faith/all perm‘ts” standard. See Pub. L. No. 102-486,

206 Stat. 2776 (1992). The Energy Policy Act of 1992

expired on October 23, 1993. However, the “good

faith/all permits” standard continued as_ the

regulatory standard for valid existing rights through

October 1, 1995 because Congress placed

moratoriums on publication of a new final rule on the

23a

definition of valid existing rights. See, eg.,

Department of the Interior and Related Agencies

Appropriations Act, Pub. L. No. 103-332, 108 Stat.

2499 (1995); see also 64 Fed. Reg. at 70771.

D. 1999 regulation

In 1997, after evaluating the comments

received on the 1991 proposed rule, OSM withdrew

the rule and proposed a rule defining valid existing

rights with the “good faith/all permits” standard.

See Valid Existing Rights, 42 Fed. Reg. 4836 (Jan.

31, 1997). In December 1999, the agency

promulgated a final rule by largely adopting its

proposed rule. Under the rule, a person can establish

valid existing rights by demonstrating a property

right under applicable state law existing at the time

the land came under protection of the SMCRA that

vests the person with the right to conduct the

intended type of surface coal mining intended, and

(1) by having acquired or made a good-faith effort to

acquire all necessary permits to conduct mining

before the land came under protection of the act, or

(2) demonstrating that the land is needed for and

immediately adjacent to a surface coal mining

operation. See 30 C.F.R. 761.5. The rule also

recognizes valid existing rights for use or

construction of roads on protected land under certain

circumstances. Id.

{]. THE RULEMAKING PROCESS FOR THE

1999 FINAL RULE

During the rulemaking process for the 1999

final rule, OSM considered several alternative

definitions of valid existing rights, weighed the

environmental impact of each alternative and

considered the legislative history of SMCRA § 522(e),

relevant litigation and case law, and comment letters

before selecting the “good faith/all permits” and

“needed for and adjacent to” standards.

24a

A. Alternative regulatory standards

The alternative regulatory standards OSM

considered included the “needed for and adjacent to”

standard in combination with each of the following

standards: (1) a “good faith/all permits” standard, (2)

a “good faith/all permits or takings” standard under

which valid existing rights could be established by a

good faith effort to obtain all necessary permits or if

applying the prohibitions of § 522(e) would result in

an unconstitutional taking, (3) an “ownership and

authority standard” under which a person claiming a

valid existing rights exception would be required to

demonstrate both a property right to the coal and the

right to mine by the method intended, and (4) a

“bifurcated” standard, under which either the

“ownership and authority” standard or the “good

faith/all permits” standard would apply depending on

whether and when the mineral rights were severed

from the estate. 64 Fed. Reg. at 70775. OSM

concluded that the good faith/all permits and needed

for and adjacent to standard? “best achieves

protection of the lands listed in section 522(e) in a

manner consistent with congressional intent at the

time of SMCRA’s enactment{,]” while simultaneously

protecting “the interests of those persons who had

taken concrete steps to obtain regulatory approval

for surface coal mining operations on lands listed in

section 522(e) before those lands came under the

protection” of the SMCRA. Id. at 70776. OSM also

determined that adoption of the “good faith/all

permits” standard would cause the least disruption

to the current State regulatory programs because “20

of the 24 approved State regulatory programs under

3 For brevity, this standard will be referred to as the “good

faith/all permits” standard, but encompasses the recognition of

valid existing rights in certain circumstances for use or

construction of roads.

25a

SMCRA already rely upon either the good faith/all

permits standard or the all permits standard.” Id.

B. Environmental and economic impact

OSM analyzed the environmental and

economic impacts of each of these alternative

regulatory standards and found that “compared with

_ the other alternatives considered, the good faith/all

permits standard is the most protective of the lands

listed in section 522(e).” Id. In support of its finding,

OSM cites an environmental impact statement that

predicts that the adoption of the “takings” standard

would result in the mining of 2,855 more acres of

protected lands between 1995 and 2015 than if the

“good faith/all permits” standard were adopted. Id.

The impact statement predicted that the adoption of

either the bifurcated standard or the “ownership and

authority” standard would result in the mining of

over 3,000 additional acres comparatively during the

same time period. Id. OSM emphasized that the

“additional disturbance would occur entirely on some

of the lands for which the Senate Committee

expressed the most concern.” Id. In analyzing the

economic impact of each proposed rule, OSM found

only “negligible differences among the alternatives in

terms of their economic impact.” Id.

C. onsideration of legislative histo

OSM also considered the legislative history of

SMCRA § 522(e), but was unable to discern from

Congress “clear or dispositive direction on the

meaning or purpose of [valid existing rights.]” Id.

OSM grants that “[t]here are credible supporting and

opposing arguments for each alternative,” but

ultimately credits the Senate and House committee

reports on the bills that eventually became the

SMCRA to conclude that “Congress’ purpose in

enacting section 522(e) was to prevent new surface

coal mining on the lands listed in that section.” Id.

26a

OSM specifically cites the following language from

the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural

Resources:

[T]he Committee has made a judgment

that certain lands simply should not be

subject to new surface coal mining

operations. These include primarily and

most emphatically those lands which

cannot be reclaimed under the

standards of this Act and the following

areas dedicated by the Congress in trust

for the recreation and enjoyment of the

American people: lands within the

National Park System, the National

Wildlife Refuge System, the National

Wilderness Preservation System, the

Wild and Scenic Rivers System,

National Recreation Areas, National

Forests with certain exceptions, and

areas which would adversely affect

parks or National Register of Historic

[Places].

In addition, for reasons of public

health and safety, surface coal mining

will not be allowed within one hundred

feet of a public road (except to provide

access for a haul road), within 300 feet

of an occupied building or within 500

feet of an active underground mine.

Since mining has traditionally

been accorded primary consideration as

a land use there have been instances in

which the potential for other equally or

more desirable land uses has been

destroyed. The provisions discussed in

this section were specifica!ly designed

and incorporated in the bill in order to

27a

restore more balance to Federal land

use decisions regarding mining.

S. Rep. No. 95-128, at 55 (1977). OSM also cites the

House Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs

report, which reads in part:

[T]he decision to bar surface mining in

certain circumstances is better made by

Congress itself. Thus section 522(e)

provides that, subject to valid existing

rights, no surface coal mining operation

except those in existence on the date of

enactment, shall be permitted on lands

within the boundaries of units of certain

Federal systems such as the national

park system and national wildlife refuge

system[], on Federal lands within the

boundaries of any national forest

(except in those circumstances set forth

in Sec. 522(c) of the committee

amendment) or in_ other _ special

circumstances, that is within 100 feet of

public roads, 300 feet of public buildings

or churches, or 100 feet of a cemetery.

H.R. Rep. No. 95-218, at 95 (1977). OSM also

explained that its definition for valid existing rights

differs from the definition of the phrase in other

federal statutes because unlike other statutes, the

SMCRA applied to both Federal and non-Federal

lands, concerns only a person’s right to use land for a

particular purpose and does not involve a transfer of

property rights or interests from the Federal

government to another party. 64 Fed. Reg. at 70793.

D. Review of relevant litigation

OSM also. reviewed _ relevant litigation

concerning valid existing rights and potential

takings under the SMCRA. OSM addressed the

28a

statement by the Supreme Court in VSMRA, 452

U.S. at 296 n.37, that an “all permits” standard for

the valid existing rights exception “is not compelled

by either the statutory language [of the SMCRA] or

its legislative history.” OSM reasoned that VSMRA

did not reject the possibility of a “good faith/all

permits” standard because the Court chose

“decidedly neutral” language in stating simply that

an “all permits” rule with no good-faith exception

was not compelled by SMCRA and because “the

definition of [valid existing rights] was not before the

court” in that case. 64 Fed. Reg. at 70779. In

addition, OSM explained its reliance on PSMRL I

where the court held that “a good faith attempt to

obtain all permits before the August 3, 1977 cut-off

date should suffice for meeting the all permits test”

that was promulgated in 1979. PSMRL I, 14 Env't

Rep. Cas. (BNA) at 1091; see 64 Fed. Reg. at 70779.

OSM also explained that PSMRL I held only that

state law must be taken into account during the

property rights demonstration prong of a permit-

based standard requiring valid conveyance of a

property right and receipt of all permits by the

property right owner. See 64 Fed. Reg. at 70779.

Further, OSM reviewed the Supreme Court’s takings

jurisprudence, and cases that have challenged the

constitutionality of § 522(e) specifically. Id. at 70780-

81. Based on that review, the agency concluded that

“there is nothing in these court decisions, SMCRA, or

its legislative history that precludes adoption of a

good faith/all permits standard for [valid existing

rights] under section 522(e) or suggests that adoption

of this standard would be a facial regulatory taking.”

Id. at 70781.

E. Consideration of public comments

Finally, OSM heard testimony in the four

public hearings it held on the proposed rule and

considered approximately 75 comment letters

29a

submitted by interested parties during the notice

and comment period. Id. at 70767. The comments

OSM considered expressed a wide range of concerns

about the “good faith/all permits” definition of valid

existing rights and were submitted by private

citizens, companies and associations affiliated with

mining, environmental groups, and federal, state,

and local governmental entities. Id. at 70767.

NMA challenges the 1999 final rule adopting

the “good faith/all permits” standard arguing that

the rule is contrary to clear Congressional intent,

arbitrary and capricious, and an unconstitutional

infringement on property rights. Defendants counter

that Congress did not express a clear intent

regarding how valid existing rights should be

defined, and that the 1999 final rule is. permissible

and reasonable in light of the record, legislative

history and language of the SMCRA.

DISCUSSION

Summary judgment is appropriate where the

record shows that “there is no genuine issue as to

any material fact and . . . the moving party is

entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ.

P. 56(c). A party seeking summary judgment must

provide the district court with a factual record

sufficient to demonstrate the absence of a genuine

issue of material fact. See Burke v. Gould, 286 F.3d

513, 517 (D.C. Cir. 2002). This action arises out of a

disagreement over the validity of the regulations

that OSM promulgated in 1999, and no genuine

issue over material facts exists.

I. STANDARD OF REVIEW

Under the SMCRA, a court must invalidate

regulations that are “arbitrary. capricious, or

otherwise inconsistent with the law.” 30 U.S.C.

§ 1276(a)(1). To determine if agency action is

arbitrary and capricious, district courts employ the

30a

two-part test of Chevron U.S. Inc. v. Natural

Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984).

A court must first determine “[i]f ‘Congress has

directly spoken to the precise question at issue[.]”

New York v. EPA, No: 03-1380, 2006 WL 662746, at

*2 (D.C. Cir. Mar. 17, 2006) (quoting Chevron, 467

U.S. at 842). If Congress clearly expressed its intent,

then “that is the end of the matter; for the court, as

well as the agency, must give effect to the

unambiguously expressed intent of Congress.” Id.

(quoting Chevron, 467 U.S. at 842-43). However, “if

the statute is silent or ambiguous .. . [courts] defer

to the agency’s interpretation, asking ‘whether [it] is

based on a permissible construction of the statute.”

Id. (quoting Chevron, 467 U.S. at 843).

To determine Congressional intent and the

meaning of the statute under the first prong of

Chevron, courts employ “traditional tools of statutory

construction[.]” See id.; Automated Power Exch.., Inc.

v. FERC, 204 F.3d 1144, 1151 (D.C. Cir. 2000).

Chevron analysis often begins and ends with the

statutory text because “the language of the statute

itself is always the best indication of congressional

intent.” Abbott Labs. v. Young, 920 F.2d 984, 987

(D.C. Cir. 1990). In order to determine whether the

plain language of the statute is dispositive, the court

must consider not only the particular statutory

language at issue, but “the language and design of

the statute as a whole” as well. Coal Employment

Project v. Dole, 889 F.2d 1127, 1131 (D.C. Cir. 1989)

(quoting K Mart Corp. v. Cartier, Inc., 486 U.S. 281,

291 (1988)). However the court is not confined to the

four corners of the statute and may also consider the

statute’s legislative history when determining

whether Congress clearly expressed its intent. Id.

If Congress has not clearly expressed its intent

on the precise issue, considerable weight is due an

agency's reasonable construction of a_ statutory

3la

scheme it is entrusted to administer. Chevron, 467

U.S. at 843-44. “[JJudicial deference to reasonable

interpretations by an agency of a statute that it

administers is a dominant, well-settled principle of

federal law.” U.S. Postal Serv. v. NLRB, 969 F.2d

1064, 1069 (D.C. Cir. 1992) (quoting Nat'l] R.R.

Passenger Corp. v. Boston & Maine Corp., 503 U.S.

407, 417 (1992)). “Nevertheless, the agency must

examine the relevant data and articulate a

satisfactory explanation for its action including a

rational connection between the facts found and the

choice made.” Southern Services, In FCC,

313 F.3d 574, 579-80 (D.C. Cir. 2002) (internal

quotation marks omitted). A reviewing court must

“consider whether the decision was based on a

consideration of the relevant factors and whether

there has been a clear error of judgment.” Id. at 580

(internal quotations marks omitted).

Il. CONGRESSIONAL INTENT

NMA argues that Congress clearly announced

its intent for the definition of valid existing rights

and that OSM’s 1999 final rule adopting a “good

faith/all permits” standard is contrary to that intent.

(See Pl.’s Mem. of Points and Auths. in Sup_. of Mot.

for Summ. J. (“Pl.’s Mem. Summ. J.”) at 7-27.)

However, the D.C. Circuit already has explained that

“(njeither the statutory language nor the legislative

history [of the SMCRA] elaborate on the meaning of

the phrase ‘valid existing rights.” Nat'l Wildlife Fed.

v. Hodel, 839 F.2d at 749. After more than twenty

years of litigation, the only guideposts evident for

permissible regulations defining valid existing rights

are that an all- permits rule with no good-faith

exception is arbitrary and capricious, see PSMRL I,

14 Env’t Rep. Cas. at 1091, and that Congress

intended some recognition of applicable state law

te tt i il ee

32a

property rights and an avoidance of takings. See

Nat’] Wildlife Fed. v. Hodel, 839 F.2d at 750. OSM

has not strayed outside the boundaries of “‘ese

guideposts because OSM’s 1999 final rule includes a

good-faith exception, encompasses recognition for

state law property rights at the property right

demonstration prong of the rule, and reveals concern

over minimizing takings. The 1999 final rule is not

contrary to Congressional intent.

III. PERMISSIBLE CONSTRUCTION

OSM also considered the relevant factors and

articulated a satisfactory explanation for its decision,

and so the agency’ decision is due Chevron

deference. OSM considered four definitions of valid

existing rights and analyzed the economic and

environmental impact of each alternative. 64 Fed.

Reg. at 70775-76. In addition, OSM examined the

legislative history of section 522(e), reviewed the

extensive relevant litigation and considered the

potential takings implications. Id. at 70768-69,

70778-81. OSM also conducted four public hearings,

and reviewed approximately seventy-five written

comments. Id. at 70767.

In justifying its decision, OSM primarily

explained that the “good faith/all permits” rule is

consistent with the underlying purposes of SMCRA

‘ ' NMA believes the D.C. Circuit’s reference in National

Vv e] to the legislative history of the

SMCRA as providing “some help” in “suggest[ing] that Congress

did not intend to infringe on valid property mghts or effect

takings through § 522(e)” was a declaration from the court that

Congress clearly intended to preclude any permits-based

standard for defining valid existing rights. (See Pl.’s Mem.

Summ. J. at 33- 34 (discussing Nat'l Wildlife Fed. v. Hodel, 839

F.2d at 750).) However, the court’s cautious language counsels

against such a broad reading. Moreover, in that case the D.C.

Circuit affirmed a ruling of the district court that a permits-

based standard was consistent with the SMCRA. Nat'l Wildlife

Fed. v. Hodel, 839 F.2d at 750-51.

33a

and with current state regulatory regimes. When

the SMCRA was enacted in 1977, it was designed as

a compromise “both to protect the environment and

to ensure an adequate supply of coal to meet the

nation’s energy requirements.” Nat’l Wildlife Fed’n v.

Lujan, 950 F.2d 765, 770 (D.C. Cir. 1991) (citing 30

U.S.C. § 1202(f)). The Senate Committee on Energy

and Natural Resources concluded that § 522(e) was

. specifically designed to “restore more balance to

Federal land use decisions regarding mining.” S.

Rep. No. 95-128, at 55 (1977). The “good faith/all

permits” standard adopted by OSM reasonably

strikes a balance’ between _ protecting’ the

environment and ensuring an adequate supply of

coal. Of the definitions of valid existing rights OSM

considered, the “good faith/all permits” definition is

“the most protective of the lands listed in section

522(e).” 64 Fed. Reg. at 70776. An environmental

impact study cited by OSM predicted that

implementing the “ownership and _ authority”

standard, as opposed to the “good faith/all permits”

standard, would open up 3,062 more acres of land to

surface coal mining. Id. The “good faith/all permits”

standard also “protects the in*=rests of those persons

who had taken concrete steps to obtain regulatory

approval for surface coal mining operations on lands

listed in section 522(e) before those lands came under

the protection of. . . section 522(e).” Id. Additionally,

OSM reports that its final rule would have no

“significant economic impact on the mining industry

or the cost of producing and delivering coal.” Id.

OSM reports, and NMA does not dispute, that

the “good faith/all permits” standard is also

consistent with current state regulatory standards.

In fact, many state regulatory programs have relied

on the “good faith/all permits” standard for

approximately twenty years. (See Federal

Defendants’ Reply Mem. at 10.) Prior to the issuance

of the 1999 final regulation, twenty state regulatory

34a

programs had incorporated some version of the “good

faith/all permits” standard or the “all permits”

standard into their own regulatory frameworks. 64

Fed. Reg. at 70776. Further, the “good faith/all

permits” rule previously has been applied as the

federal standard, having been implemented in 1980

and 1986 at the direction of OSM and in the early

1990s at the direction of Congress. OSM’s belief that

the adoption of a “good faith/all permits” standard

would cause the least disruption to _ existing

regulatory programs was reasonable. Id.

Because OSM met its obligations to review the

relevant information and articulate a_ rational

explanation for its actions, its decision to adopt the

“good faith/all permits” definition of valid existing

rights will be accorded deference.

IV. CONSTITUTIONAL CLAIMS

A. Takings

NMA argues that the “good faith/all permits”

test constitutes a Fifth Amendment taking because it

eliminates the right to mine in categories of land

covered by § 522(e). (Pl..s Mem. Summ. J. at 39-40.)

The Fifth Amendment provides that “[no] private

property [shall] be taken for public use, without just

compensation.” In VSMRA, the Supreme Court held

that the “mere enactment” of SMCRA does not

constitute a taking, nor does it, “on its face, deprive

owners of land within its reach of economically viable

use of their land since it does not proscribe

nonmining uses of such land.” 452 U.S. at 296 n.37.

NMA hes not demonstrated that the new

regulation results in an unconstitutional taking. In

addition to those reasons set forth by the Supreme

Court, it is clear that if valid existing mghts are

denied, compensation is available under the Tucker

Act. See 28 U.S.C. § 1491; see also United States v.

Riverside Byview Homes, Inc. 474 U.S. 121, 127-28

35a

(1985) (holding that requiring a person to obtain a

permit before engaging in a certain use of his

property does not “take” the property, but even if it

did, “so long as compensation is available for those

whose property is in fact taken, the governmental

action is not unconstitutional.”) Because

compensation would be available if property is taken,

no unconstitutional taking results from the 1999

final rule. .

B. Due Process

NMA also contends that OSM has not

provided property rights holders “a reasonable

opportunity both to familiarize themselves with the

general requirements imposed and to comply with

those requirements” in violation of the Due Process

Clause. (See Pl.’s Mem. Summ. J. at 44 (quoting

United States v. Locke, 471 U.S. 84, 108 (1985).)

In a pre-SMCRA opinion, the Supreme Court

held that “legislation readjusting rights and burdens

is not unlawful solely because it upsets otherwise

settled expectations[,] . . . even [if] the effect of the

legislation is to impose a new duty or liability based

on past acts.” Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining Co.,

428 U.S. 1, 16 (1976). In fact, the SMCRA grew out of

decades of discussions about banning surface coal

mining, including various Congressional bills that

were vetoed by President Ford. (See Intervenor Defs.’

Mot. for Summ. J. at 24-25.) In any event, as is noted

above, all affected parties had numerous

opportunities to comment on the appropriate

standard during the multiple rulemaking processes.

As such, plaintiff received all the process it was due.

The promulgation of the 1999 final rule did not

violate the Due Process Clause of the Fifth

Amendment to the Constitution.

36a

CONCLUSION

OSM’s “good faith/all permits” standard is not

inconsistent with the discernable Congressional

intent related to § 522(e) of the SMCRA. Moreover,

OSM considered the relevant factors and supplied a

rational explanation for its conclusion. Therefore, the

1999 final rule is not arbitrary, capricious,

inconsistent with the law or otherwise unreasonable,

and is entitled to deference. In addition, the 1999

final rule does not constitute a takings violation, nor

does it deprive property rights holders of due

process. Accordingly, NMA’s motion for summary

judgment will be denied and federal defendants’ and

intervenor defendants’ motion for summary

judgment will be granted. A final Order accompanies

this Memorandum Opinion.

SIGNED this fourth day of May, 2006.

/s/

RICHARD W. ROBERTS

United States District < .ige

37a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 06-5199 September Term, 2007

00cv00283

Filed On: March 14, 2008 [1105748]

National Mining Association,

Appellant,

v.

Dirk Kempthorne, Secretary of the Interior, et al.,

Appellee.

BEFORE: Garland and Griffith, Circuit Judges,

and Edwards, Senior Circuit Judge.

ORDER

Upon consideration of appellant’s petition for

rehearing filed February 29, 2008, it is

ORDERED that the petition be denied.

Per Curiam

FOR THE COURT:

Mark J. Langer

BY:

Michael C. McGra:!

Deputy Clerk

q

4

|

x .

38a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 06-5199 September Term, 2007

00cv00283

Filed On: March 14, 2008 [1105748]

Nationa] Mining Association,

Appellant,

Vv.

Dirk Kempthorne, Secretary of the Interior, et al.,

Appellee.

BEFORE: Sentelle, Chief Judge, and Ginsburg,

Henderson,* Randolph, Rogers, Tatel,

Garland, Brown, Griffith, and

Kavanaugh, Circuit Judges, and

Edwards, Senior Circuit Judge

ORDER

Upon consideration of appellant’s petition for

rehearing en banc, and the absence of a request by

any member of the court for a vote, it is

ORDERED that the petition be denied.

Per Curiam

FOR THE COURT:

Mark J. Langer

BY:

Michael C. McGrail

Deputy Clerk

* Circuit Judge Henderson did not participate in this

matter.

39a

APPENDIX D

Supreme Court of the United States

Office of the Clerk

Washington, DC 20543-0001

June 4, 2008

Ms. Catherine E. Stetson

Hogan & Hartson L.L.P.

555 Thirteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20004

Re: National Mining Association

v. Dirk Kempthorne, Secretary of the

Interior, et al.

Application No. 07A945

Dear Ms. Stetson:

The application for an extension of time within

which to file a petition for a writ of certiorari in the

above-entitled case has been presented to The Chief

Justice, who on June 4, 2008 extended the time to

and including July 12, 2008.

This letter has been sent to those designated

on the attached notification list.

Sincerely,

William K. Suter,

Clerk

by /s/_

Gail Johnson

Case Analyst

12.

13.

40a

APPENDIX E

LIST OF OVER 100 FEDERAL STATUTES

PROTECTING VALID EXISTING RIGHTS

10 U.S.C. § 7439(b)

16 U.S.C. § 47e

16 U.S.C. § 80a

16 U.S.C. § 90

16 U.S.C. § 90a

16 U.S.C. § 90a-1 ©

16 U.S.C. § 90c-1(b)

16 U.S.C. § 90e(a)

16 U.S.C § 90e-1

16 U.S.C. § 110e(c)(1), (d)(1)

16 U.S.C. § 111le

16 U.S.C. § 228b(a)

16 U.S.C. § 271

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

25.

26.

27.

28.

4la

16 U.S.C. § 272(a)(1)

16 U.S.C. § 272d(b)(1)

16 U.S.C. § 272g(a)(3)

16 U.S.C. § 273(a)

16 U.S.C. § 398c

16 U.S.C. § 403-3

16 U.S.C. § 403k-1

16 U.S.C. § 405

16 U.S.C. § 406d-1

16 U.S.C. § 408e

16 U.S.C. § 410bb(c)

16 U.S.C. § 410hh-2

16 U.S.C. § 410hh-5

16 U.S.C. § 410ii(a)(3)

16 U.S.C. § 410mm-1(d)

»

42.

43.

42a

16 U.S.C. § 4102z2-2(c)

16 U.S.C. § 410aaa-4

16 U.S.C. § 410aaa-25

. 16U.S.C. § 410aaa-47

16 U.S.C. § 410aaa-48

16 U.S.C. § 410aaa-49(b)(3)

16 U.S.C. § 410fff-2(d)

16 U.S.C. § 410fff-5(c)

16 U.S.C. § 410fff-7

16 U.S.C. § 410hhh-5S(e)(1)

16 U.S.C. § 450y

16 U.S.C. § 45000

16 U.S.C. § 460q

16 U.S.C. § 460q-5

16 U.S.C. § 460v

~~ ae? ee bs

44.

45.

57.

58.

43a

16 U.S.C. § 460v-4

16 U.S.C. § 460y-5(a)

16 U.S.C. § 460z

16 U.S.C. § 4602-8

16 U.S.C. § 460aa-9

16 U.S.C. § 460dd-2(a)

16 U.S.C. § 460gg-8

16 U.S.C. § 46011-1(b)

16 U.S.C. § 460mm- 1(a)-(c)

16 U.S.C. § 460mm-2

16 U.S.C. § 460mm-4(b)

16 U.S.C. § 460nn-3(a)

16 U.S.C. § 46000(d)(1)-(2)

16 U.S.C. § 460qq(c), (f)

16 U.S.C. § 460rr-2(a), (d)

59.

44a

16 U.S.C. § 460uu-32(a)

16 U.S.C. § 460uu-46(d)(2)

16 U.S.C. § 460vv-3

16 U.S.C. § 460xx-1(c)

. ~ 16U.S.C. § 460yy-1(g)

16 U.S.C. § 460aaa-2(a)

16 U.S.C. § 460aaa-5

16 U.S.C. § 460bbb-4(d)

16 U.S.C. § 460hbb-6(a), (c)

16 U.S.C. § 460ccc-2(a)

16 U.S.C. § 460ccc-5(a)

16 U.S.C. § 460ddd(e)

16 U.S.C. § 460ggg(b)

16 U.S.C. § 460ggg-1(b)(1)

16 U.S.C. § 460ggg-2(b)(1)

74.

75.

76.

77.

78.

79.

80.

81.

82.

83.

84.

85.

86.

87.

88.

45a

16 U.S.C. § 460hhh-2(a)

16 U.S.C. § 460hhh-6(a)

16 U.S.C. § 460i1i-2(d)

16 U.S.C. § 460}}j-2(b)

16 U.S.C. § 460mmm-4(c), (e), (2)(5)(C)

16 U.S.C. § 460nnn-2

16 U.S.C. § 460nnn-23(g)

16 U.S.C. § 460nnn-81(a)

16 U.S.C. § 460nnn-105(c)

16 U.S.C. § 460000-2(b)

16 U.S.C. § 460000-4(f), (j)

16 U.S.C. § 460ppp-4

16 U.S.C. § 460ppp-6(b)

16 U.S.C. § 460qqq-3(e)(1)

16 U.S.C. § 460qqq-4(a)

89.

90.

91.

92.

93.

94.

95.

96.

97.

98.

99.

100.

101.

102.

103.

46a

16 U.S.C. § 460rrr-5(d)

16 U.S.C. § 460sss(c)(2)

16 U.S.C. § 497c(j)

16 U.S.C. § 539(b)

16 U.S.C. § 539a

16 U.S.C. § 539g(d)

16 U.S.C. § 539h(e)

16 U.S.C. § 539i(c)

16 U.S.C. § 539j(0)

16 U.S.C. § 539k(b)(4)

16 U.S.C. § 5391(4)(1)(B)

16 U.S.C. § 541

16 U.S.C. § 541f

16 U.S.C. § 543c(g)(1)-(2)

16 U.S.C. § 544e(c)(2)

104.

105.

106.

107.

108.

109.

110.

111.

112.

113.

114.

115.

116.

117.

118.

47a

16 U.S.C. § 544f(b), (m)

16 U.S.C. § 544¢(d)(5)

16 U.S.C. § 544/(f)

16 U.S.C. § 545a(i)

16 U.S.C. § 545b(d)(7)(A)

16 U.S.C. § 546a-1(a)

16 U.S.C. § 546a-3

16 U.S.C. § 695p

16 U.S.C. § 698v-3(e)(1)

16 U.S.C. § 1133(4)(3)

16 U.S.C. § 1274(a)(62)(C)

16 U.S.C. § 1279(b)

16 U.S.C. § 1280(a)(ii)-(iii), (b)

16 U.S.C. § 1604(h)(3)(i)

16 U.S.C. § 3144(c)

119.

120.

121.

122.

123.

124.

125.

126.

127.

128.

129.

130.

131.

132.

133.

48a

16 U.S.C. § 3200(a)

16 U.S.C. § 3215(a)(1)

16 U.S.C. § 4308(4)

25 U.S.C. § 293b

25 U.S.C. § 566d

25 U.S.C. § 575

25 U.S.C. § 621

25 U.S.C. § 766(a)

25 U.S.C. § 903d(b)-(c)

25 U.S.C. § 1300i-1(c)(2)

25 U.S.C. § 1777e(c)(1), (c)(4)

25 U.S.C. § 1780e(d)-(d)(1), (d)(4)(A)

25 U.S.C. § 1780h

25 U.S.C. § 1780i

25 U.S.C. § 1780)j(a)(1), (c)(1)

134.

135.

136. °

137.

138.

139.

140.

141.

142.

143.

144.

145.

146.

147.

148.

49a

30 U.S.C. § 1272(e)

30 U.S.C. § 1281(d)

42 U.S.C. § 6502

43 U.S.C. § 971d

43 U.S.C. § 1223

43 U.S.C. § 1610(a)(1)-(2)

43 U.S.C. § 1613(g)

43 U.S.C. § 1615(a)

43 U.S.C. § 1618(a)-(b), (c)(2), (c)(3)(B)

43 U.S.C. § 1621(c)(2)(A)(i)-(aii), G)()

43 U.S.C. § 1629g(a)(6)(A)

43 U.S.C. § 1629h(d), (g)

43 U.S.C. § 1633(c)

43 U.S.C. § 1634(a)(1)(A), (a)(1)(B)(i), (f)(3)(A)

43 U.S.C. § 1635(c)(1), (d)(1)-(2), (d)(6), (e),

(h)(1), (DQ), (0)()

149.

150.

151.

152.

153.

154.

155.

156.

157.

158.

159.

160.

161.

162.

163.

50a

43 U.S.C. § 1641(b)(1)(A), (b)(2)-(4)

43 U.S.C. § 1701 note

43 U.S.C. § 1716(i)(1)-(2)

43 U.S.C. § 1781(f)

43 U.S.C. § 1783(a)

43 U.S.C. § 1785(c)(2)(A)

43 U.S.C. § 1786(c)(1), (c)(4), (d)(2)

43 U.S.C. § 1787(b)(1), (b)(4)(A), (d)(2)

45 U.S.C. § 1202(3)

45 U.S.C. § 1203(b)(1)(B)-(C)

45 U.S.C. § 1205(b)(1)(A), (b)(2)-(4)(A)G)-@),

(4)(B)

45 U.S.C. § 1210

48 U.S.C. § 1545(b)(2)

48 U.S.C. § 1705(a)

48 U.S.C. § 1971(a)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.