Amicus Curiae Brief — Castro v. United States

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Suprome Court, U.S.

7 ) FILED

No. 02-6683

WAR 79 200)

CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

¢

HERNAN O’RYAN CASTRO,

Petitioner,

V.

UNITED STATES,

Respondent.

+

On Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Eleventh Circuit

+

BRIEF OF NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF

CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS AS AMICUS

CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

¢

LISA B. KEMLER PAUL MOGIN

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF Counsel of Record

CRIMINAL DEFENSE WILLIAMS & CONNOLLY LLP

LAWYERS 725 Twelfth Street, N.W.

108 North Alfred Street Washington, DC 20005

Alexandria, VA 22314 (202) 434-5000

(703) 684-8000

Attorneys for Amicus-Curiae

National Association of

Criminal Defense Lawyers

——

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

to

lication shall

successive app

i

lI

f

applying to the court of appeals for authorization to file a

successive motion — appeals the dismissal on the ground

that his motion is not successive, and the court of appeals

then affirms the dismissal, is a petition for certiorari

barred by 28 U.S.C. § 2244(b)(3)E), which provides that a

not be the subject of a petition for certiorari?

2. When a federal prisoner requests relief for

first time under 28 U.S.C. § 2255, is his motion

dismissal as a second or successive motion under § 2255

because the court, over the prisoner’s objection and without

notice, previously treated a pro se motion properly brought

by the prisoner under another rule or statute as also

requesting relief under § 2255?

denial of authorization to file a

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTE D................0scccsscesscossceeseees i

TAREE CF Ray CER EIE SEED crcccccssccconicccsnesedsenenennnnions iv

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ............:ccccccceseeees 1

STATUTORY PROVISIONS AND RULE IN-

VRE TEED ccccescecceseseseosennsesenanpiscnssnnedenseneenananaananae 1

TT IIIS 0 ovccevccccscsncccesscosibaconesonnmennemeiassiaaanaan 4

A. Proceedings on the Motion Brought by Petitioner

CREE FOO BD ..ccccccccccscnscnsssssenscssesiuanndeianaamn 4

B. Proceedings on the Motion Brought by Petitioner

Creer © GD ccvccoccccsescncnsecsssenensnneiansinnaae 6

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT..................:cscccseeeeeeeeees 9

DTUTRIIINE, ccccceccesessoscossentstotaseesonesidaensaae 11

I. THIS COURT HAS JURISDICTION TO RE-

VIEW THE ELEVENTH CIRCUITS RULING

THAT PETITIONER'S 1997 MOTION IS A

SUCCESSIVE MOTION UNDER § 2255....... 11

II. THE RECHARACTERIZATION OF PETI-

TIONER’S RULE 33 MOTION AS A § 2255

MOTION DOES NOT JUSTIFY DISMISSAL

OF HIS FIRST REQUEST FOR RELIEF

UNDER § 2255 AS SUCCESSIVE ................. 14

A. In 1994 Petitioner Requested No Relief

Cree? © BBG ..ccccscosscossccsnsesenssssinenmainnanaian 15

B. It Was Completely Proper for Petitioner

To Bring His 1994 Motion Solely Under

BRUREO BB 00cccccscccccsscccscsssbeccscsnnenmueaannan 16

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

C. Petitioner Was Not Afforded Notice of

the District Court’s Proposed Recharac-

terization or an Opportunity To With-

ES 20

EE 26

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Adams v. United States, 155 F.3d 582 (2d Cir.

ES ee Se Pee awe ole 11, 21, 22

Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963)............... 4, 5, 10,17

Caldwell v. United States, 205 F.2d 879 (D.C. Cir.

Rr See ee ne ne ee Ne ae SN 18

Coplon v. United States, 191 F.2d 749 (D.C. Cir.

EE eR ie oe ee Ree ee ee 18

Duncan v. Walker, 533 U.S. 167 (2001) ...............ccccccecee eee 15

Felker v. Turpin, 518 U.S. 651 (1996).................c0ee aseeees 12

Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986) ..................000000 13

Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. 150 (1972)........... 5, 10,17

Government of VI. v. Joseph, 685 F.2d 857 (3d Cir.

ER AT AS CESS and e erat uy arene 18

Heflin v. United States, 358 U.S. 415 (1959)..................... 16

Henderson v. United States, 264 F.3d 709 (7th Cir.

REE Re eee ee eC Ne 11, 19, 22

Holmes v. United States, 284 F.2d 716 (4th Cir.

tiene aici hla i calcd eat 18

Morales v. United States, 304 F.3d 764 (8th Cir.

RTE ENTER eS eae ee alate atelier 10, 22

Raineri v. United States, 233 F.3d 96 (1st Cir.

TR IRR IE NS Care eee a No 11, 15, 16, 21, 22

Richardson v. United States, 360 F.2d 366 (5th Cir.

SE aa ne Fee te wees Sate ee eT 18

In re Shelton, 295 F.3d 620 (6th Cir. 2002).................. 11, 22

Slack v. McDaniel, 529 U.S. 473 (2000) ................ 24, 25, 26

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Stewart v. Martinez-Villareal, 523 U.S. 637

iin teaieaciahata iether iachiaieit tala inaiitiiaaiadegs 11, 13, 14, 24, 25

In re Tolliver, 97 F.3d 89 (5th Cir. 1996) ......................000 23

United States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97 (1976) ..................0000. 17

United States v. Bascaro, 742 F.2d 1335 (11th Cir.

Ic dacniccaieeetebesieneeitha taeda itahainaead indiana teil lisinaatinrinimeal 18

United States v. Cronic, 466 U.S. 648 (1984).............. 17, 18

United States v. Disston, 582 F.2d 1108 (7th Cir.

TT ihinaiiacesienipaenesniteiitatadta ineanreiaitaniraieaiaatininaihiaiidaiinaemniedl 18

United States v. Douglas, 874 F.2d 1145 (7th Cir.

Eee eeee eee ene ve 18

United States v. Emmanuel, 288 F.3d 644 (4th Cir.

Eee e Oem Neen een 11, 22

United States v. Endicot?, 869 F.2d 452 (9th Cir.

Silesia ieadiclchaintaiinaitcnatit lied Detail 18

United States v. Espinosa-Hernandez, 918 F.2d 911

ESTEE Onn nnn EEO 18

United States v. Evans, 224 F.3d 670 (7th Cir. 2000).....18, 19

United States v. Frost, 125 F.3d 346 (6th Cir. 1997) ...10, 17

United States v. Fuentes-Lozano, 580 F.2d 724 (5th

a Se erinsientainetnteaieieiestea aati inetabieeaidais sali diaianiiatiiaaaletasiatartantias 18

United States v. Josleyn, 206 F.3d 144 (lst Cir.

TEE eee ee Mee 10, 17

United States v. Jones, 597 F.2d 485 (5th Cir. 1979)......... 18

United States v. Jordan, 915 F.2d 622 (11th Cir.

EC Re ED KLEMM eee 21

United States v. Kelly, 790 F.2d 130 (D.C. Cir. 1986) .....10, 18

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

United States v. Kelly, 235 F.3d 1238 (10th Cir.

I iene iat hile 16

United States v. Palmer, 296 F.3d 1135 (D.C. Cir.

RC een ene ener Se a eee 10, 22

United States v. Prescott, 221 F.3d 686 (4th Cir.

ER erate ee ee NC a ET 20

United States v. Runyan, 290 F.3d 223 (5th Cir.

aC oe nen en ee ee cere ae 10, 17

United States v. Seesing, 234 F.3d 456 (9th Cir.

EE oe een SNC ee eC 11, 22

United States v. Shaffer, 789 F.2d 682 (9th Cir.

SRN e en ee EN ee 16

United States v. Warner, 23 F.3d 287 (10th Cir.

eae a neon, Seer Rene 15, 21

United States v. Williams, 613 F.2d 573 (5th Cir.

TE I Liye ee ee Ce a nee 18

United States v. Williams, 737 F.2d 594 (7th Cir.

it icine dda ia alae ial 18

STATUTES

Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of

1996, Pub. L. 104-132, 110 Stat. 1217................... passim

| 11

-——— ee ee

SO es re egy a ere ee

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

SP TEE: TIE ieiesintiiernnienniiinsiinctniantantinsnninnmendiiiisiineuindininaiiaaaial 3,12

Ns TTT sisiirercrnnnddiinmnsineitieteainnaniatioadtins 12, 13, 24

Sts Tan UIIIIITTTTI sis rinrecrnnnnasiciisinstinsinaninianiamauntidibinieaiialidiniats 12

Be SEIT cc iininiiccnnnnsinsecitinnnditintsisenimniinbemnesaniinees 12

28 U.S.C. § 2244(bX3)E) ..........ceeeeeeeeeeeeees 9, 11, 12, 13, 14

IIIs TITTTIITTTsiieittcnarseeisieitablindnitinnenaiiaiadinicinanietainiptantiieeaemaiiiaiss 12

le ee ccinntccuinsnscneuiescinsnninenstnnniataninitunanmeiios passim

MISCELLANEOUS

Harvey Bartle, Comment, One Bite at the Apple:

The Effect of Recharacterization on Post-

conviction Relief Under 28 U.S.C. $2255, 75

SG Sie es CIEE scrccnrrcenetensermesenensecninpsmsnsscesnens 22

BLACK’S LAW DICTIONARY (6th ed. 1990) .0...........00:cccceceeeees 15

BLACK’S LAW DICTIONARY (7th ed. 1999) ..0.......0.ccccceeeees 15

CHARLES ALAN WRIGHT, FEDERAL PRACTICE AND

IGS SHINEE cecncnnenrneneesintsrumeenienentemmenenaps 17

Ses a INS Us Oil icieienisentcicnrninninicindenadtinteintinnindatntiminnnieneaisiiel 21

Oe passim

ee 15, 16

ee 21

——

1

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE'

The National Association of Criminal Defense Lav-

yers (“NACDL”) is a nonprofit corporation with a member-

ship of more than 10,000 attorneys and 28,000 affiliate

members in all fifty states. The American Bar Association

recognizes the NACDL as an affiliate organization and

awards it full representation in its House of Delegates.

The NACDL was founded in 1958 to promote study

and research in the field of criminal law; to disseminate

and advance knowledge of the law in the area of criminal

practice; and to encourage the integrity, independence, and

expertise of defense lawyers in criminal cases. Among the

NACDL’s objectives is to ensure the proper and fair

administration of justice, and the continued recognition of

and adherence to the Bill of Rights in order to sustain the

quality of the American system of justice.

¢

STATUTORY PROVISIONS AND RULE INVOLVED

When petitioner moved in 1994 for a new trial based

on newly discovered evidence, Federal Rule of Criminal

Procedure 33 provided in pertinent part:

' This amicus curiae brief is submitted in support of petitioner

Hernan O’Ryan Castro. By letters filed with the Clerk of the Court,

petitioner and respondent have consented to the filing of this brief. No

party other than counsel authored this brief in whole or in part. No

person or entity other than amicus curiae, its members, or its counsel

have made a monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of

this brief.

2 3

Title 28, section 2244 of the United States Code provides

in pertinent part:

A motion for a new trial based on the ground of

newly discovered evidence may be made only be-

fore or within two years after final judgment, but

if an appeal is pending the court may grant the

motion only on remand of the case.

Title 28, section 2255 of the United States Code provides

in pertinent part:

A prisoner in custody under sentence of a

court established by Act of Congress claiming the

right to be released upon the ground that the

sentence was imposed in violation of the Consti-

tution or laws of the United States, or that the

court was without jurisdiction to impose such

sentence, or that the sentence was in excess of

the maximum authorized by law, or is otherwise

subject to collateral attack, may move the court

which imposed the sentence to vacate, set aside

or correct the sentence.

A second or successive motion must be certi-

fied as provided in section 2244 by a panel of the

appropriate court of appeals to contain —

(1) newly discovered evidence that,

if proven and viewed in light of the evi-

dence as a whole, would be sufficient to

establish by clear and convincing evidence

that no reasonable factfinder would have

found the movant guilty of the offense; or -

(2) a new rule of constitutional law,

made retroactive to cases on collateral re-

view by the Supreme Court, that was pre-

viously unavailable.

A SE Sa arrears ee a —

(b)(1) Aclaim presented in a second or suc-

cessive habeas corpus application under section

2254 that was presented in a prior application

shall be dismissed.

(2) Aclaim presented in a second or succes-

sive habeas corpus application under section

2254 that was not presented in a prior applica-

tion shall be dismissed unless —

(3A) Before a second or successive appli-

cation permitted by this section is filed in the

district court, the applicant shall move in the ap-

propriate court of appeals for an order authoriz-

ing the district court to consider the application.

(B) A motion in the court of appeals for an

order authorizing the district court to consider a

second or successive application shall be deter-

mined by a three-judge panel of the court of ap-

peals.

(C) The court of appeals may authorize the

filing of a second or successive application only if

it determines that the application makes a prima

facie showing that the application satisfies the

requirements of this subsection.

(D) The court of appeals shall grant or deny

the authorization to file a second or successive

application not later than 30 days after the filing

of the motion.

(E) The grant or denial of an authorization

by a court of appeals to file a second or successive

application shall not be appealable and shall not

4

be the subject of a petition for rehearing or for a

writ of certiorari.

(4) A district court shall dismiss any claim

presented in a second or successive application

that the court of appeals has authorized to be

filed unless the applicant shows that the claim

satisfies the requirements of this section.

¢

STATEMENT

Petitioner Hernan O’Ryan Castro was tried and found

guilty on a two-count indictment in April 1992. J.A. 137.

On July 14, 1992, a judgment of conviction was entered,

and a twenty-year prison sentence was imposed. J.A. 3-5.

The Court of Appeals issued an opinion affirming Castro’s

conviction on March 24, 1994 and denied rehearing en

banc on June 15, 1994. J.A. 137-38; 26 F.3d 1123 (table).

This Court denied certiorari on October 17, 1994. 513 U.S.

950. o=-

A. Proceedings on the Motion Brought by

Petitioner Under Rule 33.

On July 5, 1994, less than one month into the two-

year period that Fed. R. Crim. P. 33 then provided for such

motions, petitioner filed a motion under Rule 33 for a new

trial on the ground of newly discovered evidence. J.A. 7.

Petitioner filed the motion pro se. Id. The principal grounds

for petitioner’s motion were the government’s failure to

disclose that it had entered into a letter agreement grant-

ing testimonial immunity to an important government

witness, and its failure to correct false testimony. J.A. 9-

35. Petitioner sought relief under Brady v. Maryland, 373

5

U.S. 83 (1963), and Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. 150

(1972). J.A. 9.

In opposing petitioner’s motion, the government

contended that “Castro’s allegation of a Brady/Giglio

violation is more properly cognizable under a motion

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2255 ....” J.A. 110. The govern-

ment cited no authority in support of its contention.

Although petitioner had not sought relief under § 2255,

the government announced it had “no objection” to his

motion “being considered as demanding relief under Rule

33 and 28 U.S.C. § 2255.” J.A. 110.

In his reply, petitioner disputed the government’s

contention that his Brady/Giglio claim was “more properly

cognizable” under § 2255. Petitioner insisted he had “filed

the proper motion.” J.A. 116.

The District Court denied petitioner’s motion on

October 28, 1994. J.A. 137. After noting that the govern-

ment had said it “has no objection to defendant’s motion

for new trial being treated as demanding relief under both

Rule 33 and 28 U.S.C. § 2255,” the court said it would

“consider defendant’s motion as requesting both kinds of

relief.” J.A. 140. The court did not address whether the

government was correct in asserting that the Brady/Giglio

claim was “more properly cognizable” under § 2255. On the

merits, the court noted the government’s concession that

three of the four requireménts for relief under Brady were

satisfied, but it ruled that petitioner had not satisfied the

fourth, which requires a reasonable probability that the

suppression affected the outcome. J.A. 140-41.

Petitioner appealed from the denial of his motion. As’

in the District Court, he sought no relief under § 2255. In

a one-paragraph opinion issued on March 19, 1994, the

6

Court of Appeals affirmed for the reasons set forth by the

District Court. J.A. 147.

B. Proceedings on the Motion Brought by

Petitioner Under § 2255.

On April 22, 1997, petitioner, still proceeding pro se,

filed a timely motion under § 2255 to vacate his sentence.

J.A. 148-61. Petitioner advanced several claims of den‘al of

effective assistance of counsel. J.A. 154-55. The District

Court denied the motion on the merits on April 13, 1998

and denied a certificate of appealability. JA. 162. In

February 1999, however, the Court of Appeals granted

petitioner’s motion for issuance of such a certificate with

respect to one of petitioner’s ineffective-assistance claims.

J.A. 165.

On June 13, 2000, the Court of Appeals ruled that the

District Court had decided the ineffective-assistance issue

under the wrong legal standard. J.A. 172. The Court of

Appeals vacated the denial of petitioner’s § 2255 motion

and remanded with instructions to apply the correct

standard, develop the facts more fully, and “examine the

record to determine if this petition is successive.” J.A. 172.

On remand, counsel was appointed to represent

petitioner. But shortly before the start of an evidentiary

hearing on the ineffective-assistance claim, the govern-

ment moved to dismiss petitioner’s § 2255 motion as

successive, relying upon the Antiterrorism and Effective

Death Penalty Act of 1996 (“AEDPA”), Pub. L. 104-132,

110 Stat. 1217. Petitioner opposed the motion, disputing

that his motion is successive. The magistrate judge held a

one-day evidentiary hearing and received post-hearing

briefs but later recommended that petitioner’s motion be

7

dismissed as successive. J.A. 175-81. He reasoned that in

1994 petitioner had “asserted his right to a new trial based

on alleged constitutional violations .... Specifically, peti-

tioner alleged that the Government violated the rules

enunciated in Brady and Giglio when it failed to disclose

exculpatory evidence and used perjured testimony.” J.A.

180. In the judge’s view, because “petitioner’s claims were

based on his constitutional rights to due process,” they

“were more properly raised in a 28 U.S.C. § 2255 motion.”

J.A. 180. No case law or other authority was cited in

support of that determination.

The District Court adopted the magistrate judge’s

report and recommendation, added a few comments of its

own, and dismissed petitioner’s motion as successive. J.A.

182-85. According to the court, petitioner had been “put on

notice by the Government’s response to his motion for a

new trial, filed under Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure

33, that his motion should be construed as a motion under

§ 2255 because of the constitutional cldims that Petitioner

raised in his motion.” J.A. 183. No precedent for so con-

struing the motion was cited. Although in 1994 petitioner

had begun his argument in reply by referencing the

government's contention about § 2255 and then insisting

he had “filed the proper motion,” J.A. 116, the District

Court faulted petitioner for “never object{ing] to the

characterization of his motion as one under § 2255.” J.A.

183.

The District Court granted a certificate of appealabil-

ity on one issue: whether Castro’s 1997 motion is a succes-

sive motion. J.A. 186. Petitioner did not apply for

authorization to file a successive motion but instead

through his appeal challenged the District Court’s ruling

8

that his motion was successive. See Brief of Appellant

Hernan O’Ryan Castro, No. 01-12181 (June 8, 2001).

On January 2, 2002, the Court of Appeals issued an

opinion that, had it not been withdrawn, would have

vacated the District Court’s dismissal. J.A. 188-97. “O’Ryan

Castro’s Rule 33 motion for new trial asserted a cognizable

ground for relief,” the court noted. J.A. 196. “The motion

was based upon alleged new evidence, which Rule 33

explicitly provides as a basis for bringing such a motion.”

J.A. 196. Moreover, in his pro se reply in support of his

1994 motion, petitioner had “made the effort to reply in a

manner that reaffirmed his intent to move for a new trial

under [Rule 33] rather than seek habeas relief.” J.A. 196.

The court held that petitioner’s 1997 motion was not a

successive § 2255 motion because “a district court’s re-

characterization of a petitioner’s initial postconviction

motion will not be considered a ‘first’ habeas petition for

AEDPA purposes unless the petitioner is given notice of

the consequences of such recharacterization.” J.A. 197.

The government did not request rehearing or rehear-

ing en banc. Nevertheless, the Court of Appeals withheld

issuance of its mandate. Eventually, on May 7, 2002, a

divided panel vacated the prior opinion sua sponte and

substituted an opinion affirming the dismissal of peti-

tioner’s motion as successive. J.A. 198-208.

This time, the panel majority emphasized that “when

[petitioner] filed his motion for new trial pursuant to Rule

33 based upon newly discovered evidence, the District

Court recharacterized his Rule 33 motion as both a motion

for a new trial and a § 2255 motion.” J.A. 200-01. Accord-

ing to the new opinion, “O’Ryan Castro’s claims were

based upon his constituticnal right to due process and

9

were more properly raised in a § 2255 petition.” J.A. 201.

The opinion cited no authority supporting that conclusion.

But declaring that “[d]istrict courts have aiways had the

power to recharacterize pro se petitioners’ motions,” id.,

the panel majority deemed petitioner’s 1997 motion under

§ 2255 a successive motion. J.A. 202-04. Judge Roney

dissented. J.A. 207-08.

+

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. This Court has jurisdiction to review the decision

of the Court of Appeals. Petitioner does not seek review of

the denial of authorization to file a successive motion; he

seeks review of the ruling that his motion was successive.

Title 28, section 2244(b)\(3)(E) of the United States Code

provides only that the grant or denial of authorization to

file a successive application shall not be the subject of a

petition for certiorari.

II. The Eleventh Circuit was demonstrably wrong in

ruling that petitioner’s 1997 motion was an impermissible

second or successive motion under § 2255. Section 2255 by

its terms restricts only the filing of “[a] second or succes-

sive motion ....” (Emphasis added). The restriction

plainly applies only to a second or successive motion under

§ 2255. For three reasons, petitioner’s 1994 motion was

not a motion under § 2255, and therefore his 1997 motion

was his first motion under that statute.

First, petitioner filed his 1994 motion solely under

Rule 33. When challenged by the government, he did not

acquiesce in having his motion considered under § 2255

but rather insisted he had filed the proper motion. For the

fundamental reason that petitioner requested no relief

10

under § 2255, he cannot be said to have made a “motion”

under § 2255. The court may have imputed to him a

request for relief under that statute, but he did not move

for relief under it.

Second, it was entirely proper for petitioner to bring

his 1994 motion solely under Rule 33. When Brady and

Giglio claims are predicated on newly obtained proof as

was the case here, they can be raised under Rule 33 in a

motion for new trial based on newly discovered evidence.

See, e.g., United States v. Runyan, 290 F.3d 223, 246-47

(5th Cir. 2002); United States v. Josleyn, 206 F.3d 144, 151-

52 (1st Cir. 2000); United States v. Frost, 125 F.3d 346, 382

(6th Cir. 1997); United States v. Kelly, 790 F.2d 130, 135

(D.C. Cir. 1986). Indeed, in Giglio itself, the defendant

sought relief, and eventually obtained it in this Court, by

filing exactly such a motion. 405 U.S. at 152. Whether or

not courts have any latitude to recharacterize, as § 2255

motions; motions that are improperly brought under

another rule or statute, there is no justification for rechar-

acterizing, over the prisoner’s objection, a motion properly

brought under another rule or statute.

Third, the court never put petitioner on notice that, if

he proceeded with his motion, he would be deemed to have

moved for relief under § 2255. Even if petitioner’s reliance

on Rule 33 had been mistaken, under no reasonable

interpretation of AEDPA’s restrictions on second or succes-

sive motions can a prisoner’s motion for relief under

another rule or statute be deemed a motion under § 2255,

in the absence of (1) notice of the court’s intention to

recharacterize his motion as one under § 2255, and (2)

voluntary action by the prisoner in proceeding forward

after having received such notice. See Morales v. United

States, 304 F.3d 764, 767 (8th Cir. 2002); United States v.

11

Palmer, 296 F.3d 1135, 1146 (D.C. Cir. 2002); In re Shelton,

295 F.3d 620, 622 (6th Cir. 2002); United States v. Em-

manuel, 288 F.3d 644, 649 (4th Cir. 2002); Henderson v.

United States, 264 F.3d 709, 710 (7th Cir. 2001); United

States v. Kelly, 235 F.3d 1238, 1242 (10th Cir. 2000);

United States v. Seesing, 234 F.3d 456, 464 (9th Cir. 2000);

Raineri v. United States, 233 F.3d 96, 100 (1st Cir. 2000);

United States v. Miller, 197 F.3d 644, 650-52 (3d Cir.

1999); Adams v. United States, 155 F.3d 582, 584 (2d Cir.

1998).

+

ARGUMENT

I. THIS COURT HAS JURISDICTION TO RE-

VIEW THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT’S RULING

THAT PETITIONER’S 1997 MOTION IS A

SUCCESSIVE MOTION UNDER § 2255.

This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)

to review the decision of the Court of Appeals. That con-

clusion is dictated by the language of § 2244(b)(3\E) and

is supported as well by this Court’s decision in Stewart v.

Martinez- Villareal, 523 U.S. 637 (1998).

By its terms, the provision in § 2244(b\3\E) that

“(t]he grant or denial of an authorization by a court of

appeals to file a second or successive application . .. shall

not be the subject of a petition for rehearing or for a writ of

certiorari” does not apply to the ruling of the Court of

Appeals in this case. Whether or not that provision de-

prives this Court of jurisdiction to review, on a writ of

12

certiorari, a denial of authorization to file a successive

motion under § 2255,’ petitioner does not seek review of

such a denial. Instead, petitioner seeks review of the

ruling of the Court of Appeals that his motion is succes-

sive.

Whether petitioner’s motion is successive was the sole

issue before the Court of Appeals. Indeed, the sole issue on

which petitioner was granted a certificate of appealability

was whether his 1997 motion is successive. J.A. 186.

Petitioner has consistently contended that his motion is

not successive, and therefore he has never applied for

authorization to file a successive motion. Nothing in the

language of § 2244(b\3\E) suggests that it affects this

Court’s jurisdiction to review the Eleventh Circuit’s ruling

* Section 2255 provides that “[a] second or successive motion must

be certified as provided in section 2244 ....” It is thus clear that a

second or successive motion under § 2255 requires authorization of the

appropriate court of appeals. It is not clear, however, that

§ 2244(b\3XE) applies to the grant or denial of authorization for a

federal prisoner to file a successive motion under § 2255, as opposed to

the grant or denial of authorization for a state prisoner to file a

successive application under 28 U.S.C. § 2254. Section 2244(b) does not

itself refer to § 2255 but only refers to applications under § 2254. See 28

U.S.C. § 2244(b\1) & (2); see also Felker v. Turpin, 518 U.S. 651, 658-59

(1996) (“Section 2244(b\3) prevents this Court from reviewing a court

of appeals order denying leave to file a second habeas petition by appeal

or writ of certiorari.”). Moreover, although the last paragraph of § 2255

provides that second or successive motions under § 2255 must be

certified as provided in § 2244 to contain one of the matters described in

the last paragraph of § 2255, Congress did not specify that grant or

denial of such certification shal] not be the subject of a petition for

certiorari. And review on writ of certiorari of a denial of certification to

file a second or successive § 2255 motion does not implicate the

federalism or comity concerns implicated when federal habeas corpus

review of a state court judgment is prolonged.

13

that petitioner’s 1997 motion is successive. That provision

eliminates certiorari jurisdiction with respect to “(t]he

grant or denial of an authorization by a court of appeals to

file a second or successive application ... ,” not with

respect to a ruling that an application is or is not a second

_ or successive application.

In Martinez-Villareal, this Court considered whether

§ 2244(b\(3XE) deprived it of jurisdiction to review the

Ninth Circuit’s holding that the § 2244(b) restrictions on

successive petitions did not apply to a habeas corpus

petition that challenged only the petitioner’s competency

to be executed. The Court held that its jurisdiction was not

affected by § 2244(b)(3)(E):

If the Court of Appeals in this case had

granted respondent leave to file a second or suc-

cessive application, then we would be without ju-

risdiction to consider the petitioners’ petition and

would have to dismiss the writ. This is not, how-

ever, what the Court of Appeals did. The Court of

Appeals held that the § 2244(b) restrictions sim-

ply do not apply to respondent’s Ford [v. Wain-

wright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986),] claim, and that

there was accordingly no need for him to apply

for authorization to file a second or successive

petitior.. We conclude today that the Court of Ap-

peals reached the correct result in this case, and

that we therefore have jurisdiction to consider

petitiorers’ petition.

523 WS. at 641-42.

In this case, as in Martinez-Villareal, the issue de-

cided by the Court of Appeals was whether the § 2244(b)

restrictions apply, not whether to authorize a successive

application. “If the Court of Appeals in this case had

ee

14

{denied petitioner] leave to file a second or successive

application, then [this Court] would be without jurisdic-

tion to consider the [Castro’s] petition and would have to

dismiss the writ.” 523 U.S. at 641. But as in Martinez-

Villareal, “[t]his is not ... what the Court of Appeals did.”

Id. Petitioner never requested leave to file a second or

successive application but instead pressed his contention

that his motion was not a second or successive motion. The

Court of Appeals held that it was a second or successive

motion, but that holding was error. See Part II, infra. An

erroneous invocation of the § 2255 restrictions on second

or successive motions cannot shut the door to a petition for

certiorari, for § 2244(b\(3)(E) only precludes review on writ

of certiorari of “[tJhe grant or denial of an authorization by ~

a court of appeals to file a second or successive application

....” (Emphasis added). Petitioner’s 1997 motion was not

“a second or successive application,” and petitioner neither

sought nor was required to seek authorization to file such

an application. Section 2244(b)\(3)E) therefore does not

apply.

Il. THE RECHARACTERIZATION OF PETI-

TIONER’S RULE 33 MOTION AS A § 2255 MO-

TION DOES NOT JUSTIFY DISMISSAL OF

HIS FIRST REQUEST FOR RELIEF UNDER

§ 2255 AS SUCCESSIVE.

The Court of Appeals erred in ruling that, when

petitioner in 1997 requested for the first time that he be

granted relief under § 2255, his motion was nevertheless a

successive motion under the statute.

ee ee eee ee

15

A. In 1994, Petitioner Requested No Relief

Under § 2255.

Analysis should begin with the language of the stat-

ute. See Duncan v. Walker, 533 U.S. 167, 172 (2001).

Section 2255 restricts only the filing of “[a] second or

successive motion ....” (Emphasis added). Congress could

have imposed restrictions on a second or successive con-

sideration by a federal district court of a prisoner’s enti-

tlement to relief under § 2255. But that is not what

Congress did. It chose only to limit the filing of multiple

motions under the statute.

Under the ordinary definition of a “motion,” peti-

tioner’s 1994 filing was not a motion under § 2255.

BLACK’s LAW DICTIONARY (7th ed. 1999) defines a motion

as “[a] written or oral application requesting a court to

make a specified ruling or order.” Jd. at 1031; see also

BLACK’s LAW DICTIONARY 1013 (6th ed. 1990) (defining

“motion” as “[aJn application made to a court or judge for

purpose of obtaining a rule or order directing some act to

be done in favor of the applicant”). In 1994 petitioner did

not request any relief under § 2255, insisted upon proceed-

ing under Rule 33, and thus did not make a motion under

§ 2255, as the term “motion” is ordinarily understood.’

* See, e.g., Raineri, 233 F.3d at 100 (“The petitioner's original

motion was not premised upon section 2255 at all, but, rather upon

Rules 33 and 35. Having dictated the terms of engagement, the

petitioner was entitled to have his motion decided as he had framed

it.”); United States v. Warner, 23 F.3d 287, 291 (10th Cir. 1994) (“W]e

decline to construe Defendant's Rule 32 motion as a § 2255 motion

because it is apparent ... that Defendant did not intend the motion to

be so construed.”).

16

B. It Was Completely Proper for Petitioner

To Bring His 1994 Motion Solely Under

Rule 33.

One may assume for the sake of argument that in

some circumstances, even though a prisoner had never

before requested any relief under § 2255, a court nonethe-

less might be permitted to treat his first request for relief

under that statute as “[a] second or successive motion

...,” on the ground that the rule or statute invoked by the

prisoner in a prior motion was not applicable and there-

fore the motion could only have been brought under

§ 2255. In this case, however, that assumption takes the

government nowhere, for petitioner’s 1994 motion was

properly brought under Rule 33.

A motion under § 2255 to vacate a sentence or-convic-

tion and a motion under Rule 33 for a new trial based on

newly discovered evidence are “separate and distinct

means of attacking a judgment.” United States v. Shaffer,

789 F.2d 682, 687 n.5 (9th Cir. 1986); accord United States

v. Ostrer, 422 F. Supp. 93, 95 (S.D.N.Y. 1976); cf. Heflin v.

United States, 358 U.S. 415 (1959) (granting relief under

Fed. R. Crim. P. 35 though relief was not available under

§ 2255). Sometimes only § 2255 is available.‘ On other

occasions, a citizen may find that her only vehicle for

obtaining relief is Rule 33.° In still other instances, both

Rule 33 and § 2255 may be available.

* For example, Rule 33 by its terms only authorizes a motion for a

new trial and thus is not available to challenge a conviction pursuant to

a guilty plea. See, e.g., Raineri, 233 F.3d at 100 n.4.

* For example, § 2255 authorizes a motion only by a person “in

custody.” Similarly, courts will not entertain a § 2255 motion while an

(Continued on following page)

17

In this case, it was entirely proper for petitioner to

raise his Brady/Giglio claim under Rule 33. In Giglio

itself, this Court held that a defendant was entitled to a

new trial based on new evidence that, contrary to a key

government witness’s testimony on cross-examination, a

prosecutor had promised the witness he would not be

prosecuted if he testified. The defendant had presented the

new evidence in a Rule 33 motion for a new trial based on

newly discovered evidence. See Giglio v. United States, 405

U.S. 150, 152 (1972). Similarly, in United States v. Agurs,

427 U.S. 97 (1976), the Court decided on the merits the

defendant’s claim that he was entitled to a new trial under

Brady because of new evidence that the prosecution had

failed to disclose impeachment material. Jd. at 113-14.

Once again, the evidence had been presented in a Rule 33

motion for a new trial based on newly discovered evidence.

See id. at 100. The courts of appeals likewise have recog-

nized that a claim of prosecutorial suppression of exculpa-

tory or impeachment material, if based on newly obtained

evidence that the defendant could not have obtained

earlier through due diligence, is properly raised under

Rule 33 in a motion for new trial based on newly discov-

ered evidence. See, e.g., United States v. Runyan, 290 F.3d

223, 246-47 (5th Cir. 2002); United States v. Josleyn, 206

F.3d 144, 151-52 (1st Cir. 2000); United States v. Frost, 125

appeal is pending. See CHARLES ALAN WRIGHT, FEDERAL PRACTICE AND

PROCEDURE § 597, at 483 & n.10 (2d ed. 1982), and cases cited therein.

In contrast, when a Rule 33 motion is filed while an appeal is pending,

the district court has “jurisdiction to entertain the motion and either

deny the motion on the merits, or certify its intention to grant the

motion to the Court of Appeals, which could then entertain a motion to

remand the case.” United States v. Cronic, 446 U.S. 648, 667 n.42

(1984). -

18

F.3d 346, 382 (6th Cir. 1997); United States v. Espinosa-

Hernandez, 918 F.2d 911, 913-14 (11th Cir. 1990); United

States v. Douglas, 874 F.2d 1145, 1161, 1163 (7th Cir.

1989); United States v. Kelly, 790 F.2d 130, 135 (D.C. Cir.

1986) (Wald, J., joined by Scalia & Starr, JJ.).*

* Federal courts also have entertained a wide variety of other

constitutional claims presented in motions under Rule 33 for a new

trial based on newly discovered evidence, including claims of improper

influence upon the jury, see United States v. Endicott, 869 F.2d 452, 457

(9th Cir. 1989); Government of V.I. v. Joseph, 685 F.2d 857, 863 n.3 (3d

Cir. 1982); United States v. Jones, 597 F.2d 485, 488 (5th Cir. 1979);

Richardson v. United States, 360 F.2d 366, 368 (5th Cir. 1966); Holmes

v. United States, 284 F.2d 716, 719-20 (4th Cir. 1960), intrusion into

confidential communications protected by the Sixth Amendment mght

to counsel, see Kelly, 790 F.2d at 136-38; United States v. Disston, 582

F.2d 1108, 1112 (7th Cir. 1978); Caldwell v. United States, 205 F.2d 879

(D.C. Cir. 1953); Coplon v. United States, 191 F.2d 749, 756-57 (D.C. Cir.

1951), violation of the Fourth Amendment, see United States v. Bascaro,

742 F.2d 1335, 1344 (11th Cir. 1984); United States v. Williams, 737

F.2d 594, 616-17 (7th Cir. 1984), and incompetence to stand trial, see

United States v. McCarthy, 54 F.3d 51, 55 (2d Cir. 1995). See also

Cronic, 466 U.S. at 667 n.42; United States v. Williams, 613 F.2d 573,

575 (5th Cir. 1980); United States v. Fuentes-Lozano, 580 F.2d 724, 725-

26 (5th Cir. 1978).

A recent Seventh Circuit decision, United States v. Evans, 224 F.3d

670 (7th Cir. 2000), treats a Rule 33 motion raising constitutional

claims as a § 2255 motion, for purposes of the restrictions on second or

successive motions, unless the motion is what the court calls “[a) bona

fide motion for a new trial on the basis of newly discovered evidence

motion.” Jd. at 673. Such a “bona fide motion,” said the court, “does not

contend that the conviction or sentence violates the Constitution or any

statute.” Jd. at 673-74 (emphasis added). Evans is misguided and in any

event does not assist the government here. First, Rule 33 refers

generally to “newly discovered evidence,” and nothing in its text

remotely suggests that motions alleging constitutional violations are

any less bona fide than motions not alleging such violations. Second,

the opinion in Evans ignores decisions reaching back half a century

that have entertained new-evidence motions alleging constitutional

(Continued on following page)

19

Neither the District Court nor the Court of Appeals

conducted the kind of examination that should be required

before any motion filed under another rule or statute can

be treated as a motion under § 2255 for purposes of that

statute’s restrictions on multiple motions. In response to

petitioner’s initial post-conviction motion, the government

asserted that “Castro’s allegation of a Brady/Giglio viola-

tion is more properly cognizable under a motion pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 2255....” J.A. 110. But neither the District

Court nor the Court of Appeals considered — in any of their

rulings in this case —- whether the government could back

up that assertion with any authority.

In short, the courts below never asked a question that

should be asked before any recharacterization of a post-

conviction motion — whether brought by a pro se prisoner

or not — is ever held to bar a later motion under § 2255:

Was the first motion properly brought under the rule or

statute relied upon by the movant? In this case, the

answer to that question is “Yes.” Because petitioner’s 1994

motion was properly brought under Rule 33, under no

circumstances should it have been treated as a § 2255

motion, for purposes of the restriction on successive

motions, without petitioner’s consent.

violations. Third, the prisoner before the court in Evans appeared pro

se. See id. at 672. The Seventh Circuit did not appoint counsel and

therefore did not have the benefit of adversary briefing by counsel.

Finally, the Seventh Circuit itself subsequently held that a motion

treated as a § 2255 motion only by virtue of Evans's judge-made rule

does not count as a § 2255 motion for purposes of the restrictions on

second or successive motions, where, as here, the movant was afforded

no notice. See Henderson v. United States, 264 F.3d 709, 711 (7th Cir.

2001).

20

The mere preference of the government or the court to

decide the 1994 motion under § 2255 as well Rule 33

affords no justification for barring a later motion under

the statute. The United States Code and the Federal Rules

of Criminal Procedure authorizes certain motions that

may be brought by citizens who believe they were wrong-

fully convicted of a federal crime.’ If a citizen properly files

one of those motions, the court should not be permitted to

foreclose the citizen from thereafter timely filing another

authorized motion, by the court’s action in imputing to the

citizen, over objection, a request for relief under a provi-

sion that the citizen did not invoke. Absent the movant’s

consent, the most basic precondition for ever treating a

motion filed under another provision as a motion under

§ 2255, for purposes of that statute’s restrictions on

successive motions, should be careful consideration of

whether the motion could only be brought under § 2255.

C. Petitioner Was Not Afforded Notice of the

District Court’s Proposed Recharacteriza-

tion or an Opportunity To Withdraw His

Motion.

Even if petitioner’s 1994 motion had not been a proper

Rule 33 motion, the court’s recharacterization of the

motion could not justify dismissal of his 1997 motion,

absent notice in 1994 that petitioner’s motion would be

recharacterized and an opportunity to withdraw it.

” See United States v. Prescott, 221 F.3d 686, 689 (4th Cir. 2000) (“A

variety of post-trial motions are available to prisoners and were

available before the enactment of the AEDPA.”).

21

Prior to AEDPA, courts sometimes treated pro se mo-

tions filed under other provisions as § 2255 motions in order

to reach the merits of the claims presented. See Raineri v.

United States, 233 F.3d 96, 97 (1st Cir. 2000) (“[C]Jourts

frequently have recharacterized inartfully drawn plead-

ings to assist pro se prisoners who mistakenly relied on

inappropriate rules or statutes.”). Whether a motion filed

under another provision would be deemed a § 2255 motion

depended on the circumstances and the practice of the

court in which the motion was filed. For example, in

United States v. Jordan, 915 F.2d 622 (11th Cir. 1990), a

defendant proceeding pro se mistakenly relied upon Fed.

R. Crim. P. 35(a) in contending that his offense of convic-

tion was not punishable by a term of supervised release.

Id. at 624. The Eleventh Circuit held that the defendant’s

claim was properly decided under § 2255. Jd. at 625. In

contrast, in United States v. Warner, 23 F.3d 287 (10th Cir.

1994), the Tenth Circuit declined to treat a motion under

Fed. R. Crim. P. 32 as a § 2255 motion, “because it is

apparent ... that Defendant did not intend the motion to

be so construed.” Jd. at 291.

AEDPA has required courts to rethink the proper

approach to recharacterization because the statute prohibits

consideration of a second or successive § 2255 motion except

in limited circumstances. Whereas before AEDPA some

courts routinely recharacterized pro se motions filed under

other provisions as § 2255 motions, see Adams v. United

States, 155 F.3d 582, 583 (2d Cir. 1998), nearly all the

circuits have recognized that after AEDPA such an ap-

proach is not appropriate. Otherwise, “a conversion,

initially justified because it harmlessly assisted the

prisoner-movant in dealing with legal technicalities, may

result in a disastrous deprivation of a future opportunity

22

to have a well-justified grievance adjudicated,” id., and

prisoners “face losing potentially valid constitutional

claims at the hands of judges who are applying a rule of

liberal construction that was created to benefit pro se

claimants.” United States v. Miller, 197 F.3d 644, 649 (3d

Cir. 1999).

Ten of the twelve circuits that hear criminal cases

have concluded that AEDPA is not properly construed to

permit dismissal of a § 2255 motion as second or succes-

sive, based on a prior recharacterization of a motion filed

under another rule or statute, unless the movant (i)

consented to the recharacterization or (ii) was given notice

of the proposed recharacterization and an opportunity to

withdraw the motion. See Morales v. United States, 304

F.3d 764, 767 (8th Cir. 2002); United States v. Palmer, 296

F.3d 1135, 1146 (D.C. Cir. 2002); In re Shelton, 295 F.3d

620, 622 (6th Cir. 2002); United States v. Emmanuel, 288

F.3d 644, 649 (4th Cir. 2002); Henderson v. United States,

264 F.3d 709, 710-11 (7th Cir. 2001); United States v. Kelly,

235 F.3d 1238, 1242 (10th Cir. 2000); United States v.

Seesing, 234 F.3d 456, 464 (9th Cir. 2000); Raineri, 233

F.3d at 100-101; Miller, 197 F.3d at 650-52; Adams, 155

F.3d at 584;° see generally Harvey Bartle, Comment, One

* Some of the cited decisions disagree on one issue not critical to

the outcome here, i.e., whether courts should refrain from recharacter-

izing a post-conviction motion unless they follow procedures ensuring

notice and an opportunity to withdraw, or may instead follow prior

practices but simply not count, for purposes of the restrictions on

second or successive motions, a motion recharacterized as a § 2255

motion without notice and an opportunity to withdraw. Compare

Ranieri, 233 F.3d at 100 (declining to require district courts to use “a

new protocol” in deciding initial post-conviction motions), with, e.g.,

Miller, 197 F.3d at 652 (specifying procedure for district courts to

(Continued on following page)

—

23

Bite at the Apple: The Effect of Recharacterization on Post-

conviction Relief Under 28 U.S.C. § 2255, 75 Temp. L. REV.

613 (2002). These decisions are sound, and the construc-

tion they adopt should be adopted by this Court as well.’

Once it is accepted that a motion should not be re-

characterized without notice and an opportunity to with-

draw the motion, a third basis for reversal of the Eleventh

Circuit’s decision becomes clear. At no time before the

District Court decided petitioner’s 1994 motion did the

court notify petitioner of its intention to recharacterize his

motion or give him an opportunity to withdraw the mo-

tion. Moreover, far from acquiescing in the government's

request that his motion be recharacterized, petitioner

unequivocally insisted he had properly filed the motion

under Rule 33. Under these circumstances, petitioner's

1994 motion could not justifiably be counted as a motion

follow). Notwithstanding this one area of disagreement, these ten

circuits concur that when a motion has been recharacterized as a § 2255

motion without notice to the prisoner, a later § 2255 motion is not a

second or successive motion under the statute.

* Apart from the Eleventh Circuit's decision here, the only contrary

decision is Jn re Tolliver, 97 F.3d 89 (5th Cir. 1996). In a one-page

opinion issued less than six months after AEDPA was signed into law,

the Fifth Circuit held that a prisoner's § 2255 motion was successive

because the district court had construed his prior post-conviction

motion “as a § 2255 motion, and granted the motion and ordered the

relief sought,” and “there is nothing else [the prior motion) could be” but

a § 2255 motion. 97 F.3d at 90. The present case is distinguishable on

both points. Petitioner was denied relief in 1994, and his motion was

proper under Rule 33. Moreover, the opinion in Tolliver did not discuss

the issue of notice and provided no reasoning that would support a

general practice of counting a motion recharacterized as a § 2255

motion as a first § 2255 motion for purposes of the restrictions on

second or successive motions.

24

under § 2255, even if petitioner’s reliance on Rule 33 had

been in error (which it was not).

In dismissing petitioner’s 1997 motion as successive,

the District Court reasoned that in 1994 petitioner had

been “put on notice by the Government’s response to his

motion for a new trial ... that his motion should be

construed as a motion under § 2255 because of the consti-

tutional claims that Petitioner raised in his motion.” J.A.

183. But in reality petitioner had only been put on notice

that the government believed petitioner's motion was

“more properly cognizable” under § 2255. He was not put

on notice that the motion should be construed as a motion

under § 2255. For the government never came forward

with any support for its contention. And although it would

not have been sufficient in any event (given that petitioner

was fully within his rights in electing to proceed solely

under Rule 33), the District Court did not afford petitioner

notice, before ruling on his motion, of its intention to

recharacterize the motion as one under Rule 33 and

§ 2255, and give him an opportunity to withdraw the

motion.

In interpreting the § 2244(b) restriction on second or

successive habeas corpus applications, this Court has

rejected proposed literal constructions that would have

denied state prisoners the opportunity to have at least a

single determination of their constitutional claims by a

federal court. See Slack v. McDaniel, 529 U.S. 473, 485-90

(2000) (holding that a habeas petition filed after an initial

petition was dismissed for failure to exhaust state reme-

dies is not a second or successive petition); Stewart v.

Martinez-Villareal, 523 U.S. 637, 643-46 (1998) (holding

that the restriction on second or successive habeas peti-

tions did not apply to a habeas petition presenting a

25

constitutional claim that the petitioner had raised in a

prior habeas petition, where the claim in the prior petition

had been dismissed as premature). In both Slack and

Martinez-Villareal, the Court emphasized that the rejected

constructions would have barred any federal habeas

review of the prisoner’s claims. See Slack, 529 U.S. at 487

(“The proposed rule would bar the prisoner from raising

nonfrivolous claims ... , even though a federal court has

yet to review a single constitutional claim.”); Martinez-

Villareal, 523 U.S. at 645 (“To hold otherwise would mean

that a dismissal of a first habeas petition for technical

procedural reasons would bar the prisoner from ever

obtaining federal habeas review.”).

This case is easier than Slack and Martinez-Villareal.

Whereas in those cases the rejected interpretations at

least could be said to be consistent with the statutory text,

here the statutory interpretation implicit in the Eleventh

Circuit’s decision finds no support in the language of

§ 2255. See Part II.A, supra. Yet that interpretation, like

the ones rejected in Slack and Martinez-Villareal, would

bar petitioner from ever obtaining review under § 2255 of

a potentially meritorious constitutional claim, one of

sufficient substance to convince the Court of Appeals to

issue a certificate of appealability when petitioner sought

to appeal from the initial denial of his 1997 motion. J.A.

165.

26

The Court’s statement in Slack that “the phrase

‘second or successive petition’ [in § 2244(b)] is a term of art

given substance in our prior habeas corpus cases,” 529

U.S. at 486, is also significant.-The phrase “second or

successive motion” in § 2255 presumably is likewise to be

viewed as a term of art given substance by prior case law.

None of this Court’s pre-AEDPA § 2255 cases support

dismissal of a § 2255 motion, on the basis of a prior motion

brought under a different rule or statute and recharacter-

ized over objection and without notice.

SJ

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the Court

of Appeals should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

Lisa B. KEMLER PAUL MOGIN

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF Counsel of Record

CRIMINAL DEFENSE WILLIAMS & CONNOLLY LLP

LAWYERS 725 Twelfth Street, N.W.

108 North Alfred Street Washington, DC 20005

Alexandria, VA 22314 (202) 434-5000

(703) 684-8000

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

National Association of

Criminal Defense Lawyers

March 13, 2003

decided by the District Court in 1998, but that decision was vacated by

the Court of Appeals because the wrong legal standard was used.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.