Petitioners Brief — Hill v. Michigan Attorney Grievance Commission

Supreme Court brief1999

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 98-1856

in Tes . - Of GHB BLERE .

Supreme Court of the AniterSrates

LEILA JEANNE HILL, AUDREY HIMMELMANN,

AND EVERITT W. SIMPSON, JR..,

Petitioners,

Vv.

THE STATE OF COLORADO, BILL OWENS,

GOVERNOR, et ai.,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

Colorado Supreme Court

BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS

THOMAS P. MONAGHAN JAY ALAN SEKULOW

AMERICAN CENTER FOR Counsel of Record

LAW & JUSTICE JAMES M. HENDERSON, SR.

6375 New Hope Road WALTER M. WEBER

New Hope, KY 40052 JOEL H. THORNTON

(502) 549-7020 AMERICAN CENTER FOR

LAW & JUSTICE

ROGER W. WESTLUND 1000 Thomas Jefferson St., NW

12000 N. Washington, # 207 Suite 609

Thornton, CO 80241 Washington, DC 20007

(303) 450-0833 (202) 337-2273

Attorneys for Petitioners

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Under a Colorado criminal law, no one may distribute

leaflets, orally counsel, educate or protest, or display signs,

within eight feet of another person, while within one hundred

feet of the entrance to a medical facility, unless the speaker first

seeks and gets consent from the other person. C.R.S. §

18-9-122(3). A speaker commits a crime if he communicates

by any of these methods, without consent, while within eight

feet of any person to whom the communication is addressed.

The following questions are presented:

1. Does Colorado’s statutory requirement that speakers

obtain consent from passersby on public sidewalks and.

streets before speaking, displaying signs, or distributing

leaflets unconstitutionally burden protected expressive

yt Aare) een Lee 3 | rights in a traditional public forum?

Bienes ert | | 2. Does Colorado’s statutory designation of private

inks ES citizens as censors of speech, picket signs, and leaflets on

public streets and sidewalks impose an unconstitutional

prior restraint?

3. Isa statute that gives broad discretion to passersby in

public places to act as censors of speech, picket signs, and

leaflets and which fails to prohibit content-based denials of

the right to speak, to display signs, or to pass leaflets

subject to strict scrutiny?

4. Isa statute that gives broad discretion to passersby in

public places to act as censors of speech, picket signs, and

leaflets and which fails to prohibit viewpoint-based denials

of the right to speak, to display signs, or to pass leaflets

unconstitutional per se?

PARTIES

All of the petitioners are listed in the caption on the cover.

None of the petitioners is a corporation. See Supreme Court

Rule 29.6.

In addition to the respondent listed in the caption on the

cover, the following persons or entities were respondents in the

proceedings below and are respondents in this Court:

David J. Thomas, in his official capacity as District

Attorney for the First Judicial District of the State of

Colorado; the City of Lakewood, Colorado; and, Ken

Salazar, in his official capacity as Attorney General of the

State of Colorado.

(ii)

|

:

:

gt oe

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ............-- 00-00 ees i

ee edu scorer bes ecccccceocvcece ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .............-00000005: vi

ee odes cee eccvceovccoces l

Eh. Je bens etbeoeedsccecccces l

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES... |

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...........-.-eeeeeee: 2

eee avcsbccccesoccecccces 2

TE chic bcccescccceccesovcccccces 4

1. The trial court's treatment of the federal

eee 5

2. The Colorado Court of Appeals’ treatment of the

federal questions on its initial review ........... 6

3. This Court's treatment of the prior petition ........ 7

4. The Colorado Court of Appeals’ treatment of the

federal issues on remand from this Court ........ 7

5. The Colorado Supreme Court's treatment of the

federal questions ..........000 0c cece cceeeee 7

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ........ 2.6.6.6 000005 9

EME ca vccocccucecceccevccccess 12

COLORADO REVISED STATUTE § _18-9-122(3)

IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL ON ITS FACE.......... 12

I. The Operation of C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) ............. 13

A. The Statute Operates “in the Public Way or

LE PE OE 14

B. The Statute Restricts Activity Undertaken “for

the Purpose of Passing a Leaflet or Handbill to,

Displaying a Sign to, or Engaging in Oral

Protest, Education, or Counseling” ............ 14

(iii)

TABLE OF CONTENTS—cont’d

Page

C. The Statute Forbids Communication “Unless

Such Other Person Consents” ................ 15

D. The Statute Operates Within “a Radius of One

Hundred Feet from any Entrance Door to a

SGRNGUEEE nv ccccsscswndnbsecsuass 15

II. Petitioners’ Leafletting, Sign Displays, and Oral

Communications Are Constitutionally Protected ... 16

III. The Colorado Public Sidewalks, Streets and Ways

Affected by C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) are Public Fora

ROTI ce veevecccvcikvtwanucasuvaeveses 18

IV. Section 18-9-122(3) Fails Constitutional Scrutiny ... 18

A. C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is Overbroad ............. 22

B. Section 18-9-122(3) Imposes an Unconstitutional

re rere 27

1. The Statute Grants Unbridled Discretion to

DORE ini cv cesecctcccddveséawes 29

2. Section 18-9-122(3) Lacks the Necessary

Procedural Safeguards ................005. 31

C. CRS. § 18-9-122(3) Unconstitutionally

Discriminates Based on Content and Viewpoint

CERES 6.0 oc cncen dctduddcscedcoscesss

3. No conceivable government interest, let

alone one that is compelling, justifies

Colorado’s decision to secure access to

health care facilities by suppressing

freedom of expression in the traditional

COE o ccc cccccceccedecntseceteses

TABLE OF CONTENTS—cont’d

4. Even if securing access to health care

facilities constitutes a compelling

government interest, C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3)

is not narrowly drawn to serve that

ES euscoandubuseanducenuenset cocss« 36

E. C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) does not Survive Scrutiny

as a Regulation of Time, Place and Manner of

leafletting is not reasonable ................ 37

2. The ban on freedom of expression is not

Ns wee nheckddcuctbeteeces 39

3. C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) does not leave

open ample alternative channels of

SE 8 cn cde aeucuasidbdaetces 43

F. C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) Is Unconstitutionally

WEE, Sddcccddabbdocccdsswhedbatetcbene ce 45

PE hoketecandatesd c4065deabutweenas ent 50

(v)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Page(s)

Bantam Books, Inc. v. Sullivan, 372 U.S. 58 (1963) .. 10, 28

Board of Airport Comm'rs v. Jews for Jesus,

Ge, FD bn. 66 bb betcsbcedisess« 24, passim

Boos v. Barry, 485 U.S. 312 (1988) ......... 17, 19, 34, 36

Bray v. Alexandria Women’s Health Clinic,

SR, ED ckWus Kdenaceisecedcsoccences 35

Burton v. Wilmington Parking Authority,

SORTER, FOO 6 KUtberedeS hoc ccdnccccds 28-29

Carey v. Brown, 447 U.S. 455 (1980) .......... 17, 32, 34

Chicago Teachers Union v. Hudson,

GPs SEED 5 n.060 6 dcGaceesciciccccceccct 31

City of Ladue v. Gilleo, 512 U.S. 43 (1994) ........... 44

City of Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451 (1987) .... 12, passim

City of Lakewood v. Plain Dealer Publishing,

GEG, FD bn oc cedeescccecescccsccss 30, 31

Coates v. Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611 (1971) ...... 20, 24, 49

Connally v. General Constr. Co.,

EGE. BE oda n cteenedecsedeceussens 45, 47

Cooper v. Aaron, 358 U.S. 1 (1958) ..........-.-- 28, 29

Cornelius v. N.A.A.C.P. Legal Defense & Educ. Fund,

GID UE, TG ovine dccecnsdccedoncsdncccoces Ms

Edwards v. South Carolina, 372 U.S. 339 (1963) ....... 17

Erznoznik v. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205 (1975) 35, 36

Evans v. Newton, 382 U.S. 296 (1966) ...........045. 28

Federal Election Comm'n v. National Conservative PAC,

GIDE, GEE 4 6 cbs ccerecvcccccevevecocess 26

Forsyth County v. Nationalist Movement,

SERGE, TG eho cdccccccesscecesecces 30, 33

(vi)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—cont’d

Page(s)

Freedman v. Maryland, 380 U.S. 51 (1965) ........... 31

Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474 (1988) ........ 18, passim

FW/PBS, Inc. v. City of Dallas, 493 U.S. 215 (1990) . 12,31

Grayned v. City of Rockford,

Se SEs oak i cecccnccotac 11, 17, passim

Gregory v. City of Chicago, 394 U.S. 111 (1969) .... 12,17

Hague v. CIO, 307 U.S. 496 (1939)... 2... ee 10, 18

Heffron v. ISKCON, 452 U.S. 640 (1981) ... 2.2.0.0... 17

Hill v. City of Lakewood, 911 P.2d 670 (Colo. App. 1995) . 1

Hill v. City of Lakewood, 949 P.2d 107 (Colo. App. 1997) . 1

Hill v. Colorado, 519 U.S. 1145 (1997)... 2... l

Hill v. Thomas, 973 P.2d 1246 (Colo. 1999) ............ |

Hustler Magazine v. Falwell, 485 U.S. 46 (1988) ....... 12

Hynes v. Mayor of Oradell, 425 U.S. 610 (1976) .... 48, 49

ISKCON v. Lee, 505 U.S. 672 (1992) ...........0.5.. 36

Lamb's Chapel v. Center Moriches Union Free School Dist..

i a i wecue 24

Larkin v. Grendel's Den, 459 U.S. 116 (1982) ......... 28

Lewis v. City of New Orleans, 415 U.S. 130 (1974) ..... 25

Linmark Associates v. Township of Willingboro,

RE 44

Lovell v. City of Griffin, 303 U.S. 446 (1938) ....... 10, 17

Madsen v. Women’s Health Center,

Ns ieee 12, passim

McIntyre v. Ohio Elections Comm'n,

es ce cececes 10, 16

Metromedia, Inc. v. City of San Diego,

eS t clceeeces 44

Members of City Council v. Taxpayers for Vincent,

os Chek oe Gee beadceenece 12

(vii)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—cont’d

Page(s)

Meyer v. Grant, 486 U.S. 414 (1988) .......... 30, 44, 45

NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963)... 2.2.2.0... 11, 49

National Socialist Party v. Village of Skokie,

Gs as GE ca Cena cadet eeds va cestssuues 30

Organization for a Better Austin v. Keefe,

Ge Se EE avcuedwunbbabibsciceeaceks 17, 36

Perry Educ. Ass'n v. Perry Local Educator's Ass'n,

GER Fe din 0 adldadae caste doeneccaudeas 18

Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pennsylvania v. Casey,

er ee ee 13

Police Department v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92 (1972) ... 33,34

R.A.V. v. City of St. Paul, 505 U.S. 377 (1992) ......... 12

Reno v. American Civil Liberties Union,

See Wek ED Sac Gdudabs ote s dec udccs 11, 28, 34

Riley v. National Fed'n of the Blind,

Gay Gas Pe ED hue bose besdcoccowesets 19, 24, 31

Schenck v. Pro-Choice Network of Western New York,

Sg BR RS A eee 7, passim

Schneider v. State, 308 U.S. 147 (1939) .............. 44

Secretary of State v. J. H. Munson Co.,

467 U.S. 847 (1984) .................. 10, 22, passim

Shuttlesworth v. City of Birmingham, 394 U.S. 147 (1969) 30

Simon & Schuster, Inc. v. Members of New York State Crime

Victims Bd., 502 U.S. 105 (1991) .... 2.2.2.2... 20, 21

Smith v. California, 361 U.S. 147 (1959) .......... 48, 50

Street v. New York, 394 U.S. 576 (1969) .............. 22

Terminiello v. Chicago, 337 U.S. 1 (1949) ............ 13

Texas v. Johnson, 491 U.S. 397 (1989) .............4.. 12

Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88 (1940)... . 19, 24, 39, 40

(viii)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—cont’d

Turner Broadcasting System v. FCC,

ED oS ded Ged Kbee cece cccecene 32, 33

U.S. Postal Service v. Greenburgh Civic Ass'n, 453 U.S. 114

DEE Gbdkibunccetéeeh sees veedsEs ode cweccccees 21

United States v. Eichman, 496 U.S. 310 (1990). ........ 12

United States v. Grace, 461 U.S. 171 (1983) .... 12, passim

United States v. Kokinda, 497 U.S. 720 (1990) .. 17, 36, 39

United States v. O'Brien, 391 U.S. 267 (1968) ......... 35

Village of Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman-Estates,

SPEED 6 Sven edeccdveccvesccesees 45, 46

Ward v. Rock Against Racism,

Se ED wo cececccecccnsess 7, 8, 19, 28, 40

Statutes and Rules |

EE ei ce ides edcneds sSeecéccuéeeecet l

Supreme Court Rule 29.6... 0... cece cece ee eenes ii

TE Leek dccbesevecnecdeedescecanes 21

ED cvs casecicecoceescevecccosveseen 21

I sed eid che ceubecteetccesuenseue 21

IED. Scoccdnncccccscucecccccsesssess 21

SRE Di a cnncudncececccccsoccoscwenes 21

EE nib ic dde cece ebhosgenseccocceaen 21

EE ic culce seb ebeseesscovecvesveses 21

bc csiveededbecccens.sccecsvéoes 2

ED cond ndudadedecceccveiccccsss 20

SR PRED occ ndeccdcccccesccccccececess 42

ee EEE co vcccvecsdecestocesoses i, passim

EE os cov ccesebecvecesccvcveces 2,15

PE 6 Viv adsdceeaendetessveccoceses 21

(ix)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—cont’d

Page(s)

Other Materials

Kindley, The Fit Between the Elements for an Informed

Consent Cause of Action and the Scientific Evidence

Linking Induced Abortion with Increased Breast Cancer

Pr 8. 4 8S OR PRT eee 47

Loose, Antiabortion Message Gets Free Ride on Metro

System; Ads Linking Procedure, Breast Cancer Disputed,

Washington Post, Jan. 22, 1996 ..........05eee cues 47

M. Nimmer, Freedom of Speech (1984)... ........0046. 13

(x)

OPINIONS BELOW'

The trial court decision is unpublished. Pet. App. 30a. The

first Colorado Court of Appeals decision is published as Hill v.

City of Lakewood, 911 P.2d 670 (Colo. App. 1995) (Pet. App.

38a). This Court’s prior order in Hill v. Colorado, No. 95-

1905, is published as Hill v. Colorado, 519 U.S. 1145 (1997)

(Pet. App. 47a, 48a). The second Colorado Court of Appeals

decision is published as Hill v. City of Lakewood, 949 P.2d 107

(Colo. App. 1997) (Pet. App. 51a). The Colorado Supreme

Court decision is published as Hill v. Thomas, 973 P.2d 1246

(Colo. 1999) (Pet. App. 1a).

JURISDICTION

The Colorado Supreme Court entered its decision on

February 16, 1999. Petitioners filed their petition for writ of

certiorari on May 17, 1999. This Court granted certiorari on

September 28, 1999. This Court has jurisdiction over this

matter under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

AND STATUTES

The text of the first and fourteenth amendments to the United

States Constitution are set out in the Appendix to the Petition.

Pet. App. 64a. C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) provides:

(3) No person shall knowingly approach another person

within eight feet of such person, unless such other person

consents, for the purpose of passing a leaflet or handbill to,

displaying a sign to, or engaging in oral protest, education,

or counseling with such other person in the public way or

sidewalk area within a radius of one hundred feet from any

entrance door to a health care facility. Any person who

violates this subsection (3) commits a class 3 misdemeanor.

1. As used herein, “Pet. App.” refers to the Appendix to the Petition for a

Writ of Certiorari and “JA” refers to the Joint Appendix.

(1)

2

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(4) provides,

For the purposes of this section, "health care facility"

means any entity that is licensed, certified, or otherwise

authorized or permitted by law to administer medical

treatment in this state.

The entire text of C.R.S. § 18-9-122 is set out in the Appendix

to the Petition. Pet. App. 64a-65a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Statement of Facts

Leila Jeanne Hill, Audrey Himmelmann, and Everitt W.

Simpson, Jr., oppose legalized human abortion, because, in

their opinions, human abortion exterminates innocent human

life. JA 45, 9 4; JA 52, 93; JA 54-55, 93. Petitioners believe

that many women who abort their children do so because no

one has offered them information about alternatives to abortion.

JA 48,95; JA 52, 9 4; JA 55, 4 4.

Petitioners have engaged in an activity they call “sidewalk

counseling” to offer other alternatives to abortion-bound

women. JA 49, 4 6; JA 52,95; JA 55,95. Petitioners have

educated, counseled, persuaded, or informed passersby about

abortion and abortion alternatives through leafletting, sign

displays, conversation, and other means. JA 49-50, 97;JA53,

4 7; JA 55, 4 6.

Hill, Himmelmann and Simpson distributed leaflets about

abortion and its alternatives, JA 49, 4 9; JA 53,99; JA 56, q

10, on public ways and sidewalks near abortion clinics.

Petitioners also communicated by word of mouth. JA 51, § 12;

JA 53, J 7; JA 55, 4 6. To teach others how to provide

sidewalk counseling services, Hill prepared a manual entitled,

“Sidewalk Counseling Workbook.” JA 49-50, 8.

Petitioners prepared signs and posters, containing information

about abortion and abortion alternatives for public display. JA

|

:

|

3

49,97; JA 53, J 10; JA 55,96. Their posters contained text

(e.g., “Abortion Kills Children”) or pictures (e.g., photograph

of baby killed by saline abortion). Simpson wore a “sandwich

signboard” with both text and images. JA 56,49. Hill has

carried a model of an unborn child at ten weeks gestation,

which she has displayed to the public as part of the counseling

and education process. JA 49, { 7.

Hill, Himmelmann and Simpson do not engage in violence to

further their goals. The Colorado Supreme Court assumed, for

the purpose of deciding the case below, “that petitioners have

not engaged in, and do not intend to engage in, such dangerous

and harassing conduct.” Pet. App. 10a n.7.

Prior to the enactment of C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3), petitioners

expressed their opposition to abortion, and engaged in public

efforts to advise abortion-bound women that alternatives to

abortion are available. They conducted sidewalk counseling on

public ways and sidewalks within 100 feet of the entrances of

health care facilities and spoke without fear that they could be

silenced by those members of the public who might not care to

hear, see, or receive their messages. Nor did they fear

prosecution for failing to hide their messages from public view

or audition. JA 50, § 10; JA 53, 4 8; JA 56, 4 7. Petitioners

distributed leaflets, displayed signs, and communicated orally

with the public passing nearby while they were within 100 feet

of the entrances of abortion clinics. JA 51, § 12; JA 53, 4 9;

JA 56,47. Their activities occurred within eight feet of other

persons. Based on their experience, petitioners have concluded

that it is difficult to remain on the public ways or sidewalks,

stay at least eight feet away from others, and speak, display

signs, or communicate orally. JA 51, 4 13; JA 53-54, 4 11; JA

56, ¥ 11.

Hill had successes counseling women. She has seen

4

abortion-bound women change their minds after she spoke with

them or gave them pamphlets. JA 51, $9 14-15. Hill has

counseled women after abortions who grieved for the loss of

children through abortion. Jd.

In 1993, Colorado’s legislature enacted legislation purporting

to ensure unobstructed access to health care facilities. See Pet.

App. 64a-65a. One provision of the legislation, C.R.S. § 18-9-

122(2) directly prohibits conduct that interferes with access to

facilities. The legislation also included another provision,

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3), at issue here, which restricts freedom of

expression near health care facilities.

When C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) became law, petitioners stopped

or altered their public education and protest activities. Simpson

discontinued his expressive activities for fear of prosecution.

JA 57, 4 14. Hill and Himmelmann modified the means by

which they sought to communicate with the public about

abortion. JA 52, J 16; JA 54,9 13. These changes have made

their expressive activities more difficult and less effective.

Petitioners plan and desire to resume their expressive activities

when they may do so free from the threat of prosecution

resulting from possible dissatisfaction of some people with their

message. JA 52, 417; JA 54, 9 14; JA 57,9 15.

Course of Proceedings

The federal questions on which this Court granted review

have been the focus of this litigation and the principal grounds

of the decisions below. Petitioners sued in the District Court of

Jefferson County, Colorado, asserting that C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3)

violated several federal constitutional rights, including their

rights to freedom of speech, press, peaceable assembly, due

process of law, and equal protection of the laws. See generally

JA 14-30 (Complaint).

SO RE Te” 7”

5

1. The trial court’s treatment of the federal questions

The trial court framed the issues this way: “It is clear, and the

parties agree, that the statute in question regulates activity

protected by the First Amendment. The issue before the Court

is whether the statute reasonably regulates the activity within

the limits proscribed [sic] by the Constitution.” Pet. App. 31a.

The trial court held, “Plaintiff's [sic] conduct implicates First

Amendment rights[,]” Pet. App. 31la-32a, and “(t]he public

sidewalks and streets, including the ones that the statute would

apply, [sic] constitute ‘quintessential’ public forum [sic] for

First Amendment purposes.” /d. (citation omitted).

Nevertheless, the trial court granted summary judgment for

respondent. Pet. App. 36a. The trial court concluded that

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) did not regulate speech according to its

content or its viewpoint. The court held that, because the

statute “applies not only to oral protest but to ‘education’ and

‘counseling[,]’” the statute “applies to all viewpoints, rather

then [sic] only certain viewpoints.” Pet. App. 32a-33a. The

trial court reasoned that the “statute in question applies even-

handedly to all speakers and the content of their speech. All

persons demonstrating are to comply with the statute.” Pet.

App. 33a.

The trial court found that C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) was narrowly

tailored because it “targets the offensive and disturbing conduct

taking place outside health care facilities[,)” and “[iJt

address[es] the exact source of evil it seeks to remedy,” Pet.

App. 33a, and because it leaves open ample alternative

channels of communication. Pet. App. 33a.

The trial court also held that C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is not

unconstitutionally overbroad because the statute was not so

“sweeping in its scope as to deter both protected and

unprotected speech.” Pet. App. 34a. The trial court held that

6

“the statute does not prohibit speech.” Pet. App. 35a. The trial

court also concluded that the statute was not unconstitutionally

vague and that it did not impose a prior restraint on expression.

Id. at 35a-36a.

2. The Colorado Court of Appeals’ treatment of the federal

questions on its initial review

The Colorado Court of Appeals affirmed. Pet. App. 39a. The

appeals court stated, “[t]he principal issue in this appeal is

whether [the statute] violates the right to free speech contained

in the First Amendment to the United States Constitution.” Jd.

The appeals court ruled that C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) was

content-neutral because it did “not address only the speech of

anti-abortion protesters” and “would also apply to protest

activity directed at patients requiring or seeking advice relative

to an organ transplant.” Pet. App. 42a.

The appeals court held that the statute was “narrowly

tailored” and “reasonably necessary to serve a significant

government interest” in ensuring “safety and unobstructed

access for patients and staff entering and departing from health

care facilities.” Pet. App. 43a. The appeals court reasoned that

ample alternative channels of communication remained open

because “posters and signs may be made visible at eight feet[,]”

and because “plaintiffs may continue to communicate... ata

distance of eight feet or more.” Jd.

The appeals court also concluded that the statute was not

unconstitutionally vague, id. at 44a, and that it did not impose

a system of prior restraints on expression, id. at 44a-45a. The

appeals court did not explicitly address petitioners’ arguments

that C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) created a viewpoint-based restriction

on free speech through its restriction on “orai protest” and the

requirement of consent and that the statute was

unconstitutionally overbroad.

7

The Colorado Court of Appeals denied petitioners’ request

for rehearing. Pet. App. 60a. The Colorado Supreme Court

denied review. Pet. App. 46a.

3. This Court's treatment of the prior petition

Petitioners sought review of the appeals court decision in this

Court. After deciding Schenck v. Pro-Choice Network of

Western New York, 519 U.S. 357 (1997), this Court granted the

petition, vacated the judgment of the Colorado Court of

Appeals, and remanded the case for further consideration in

light of Schenck. See Pet. App. 47a-48.

4. The Colorado Court of Appeals’ treatment of the federal

issues on remand from this Court

On remand, the Colorado Court of Appeals again affirmed the

judgment below. Pet. App. 52a. The appeals court decided that

Schenck did not govern this case because it involved an

injunction rather than a statute. Pet. App. 55a. Instead, the

appeals court applied the standard announced in Ward v. Rock

Against Racism, 491 U.S. 781,791 (1989). “Applying the Ward

rationale here, we conclude that the statute meets constitutional

muster.” Pet. App. 56a. Thus, the appeals court again held that

section 18-9-122(3) did not violate petitioners’ First

Amendment rights. Pet. App. 57a.

5. The Colorado Supreme Court's treatment of the federal

questions

Petitioners again sought review in the Colorado Supreme

Court, which granted limited review, Pet. App. 58a-59a,’ and

affirmed the decision of the court of appeals, id. at 2a, 29a.

The Colorado Supreme Court identified the state interest

supporting C.R.S. § 18-9-122 as the “interest in preserving the

2. The Colorado Supreme Court denied review on every issue identified by

petitioners and considered only the constitutionality of the statute in light of

this Court's prior remand order. Pet. App. 59a.

health and safety of Colorado’s citizens” and specifically the

interest in “assuring a citizen’s access to medical ‘counseling

and treatment’ at Colorado health care facilities.” Pet. App. 9a-

10a. Invoking the “right to be let alone”, the court concluded

that petitioners’ freedoms of speech, press, and assembly were

subject to restriction in the name of fundamental rights of

privacy. Jd. at 13a-14a. “Here, the fundamental right balanced

against the First Amendment rights of petitioners is the right

that the General Assembly determined was ‘imperative,’ a

citizen’s right of access to ‘counseling and treatment’ at

Colorado medical facilities.” Jd. at 14a (citations omitted).

The Colorado Supreme Court concluded that “the First

Amendment can accommodate reasonable government action

intended to effectuate the free exercise of another fundamental

right, an individual’s right to privacy ....” /d. at 15a.

In the court’s view, Schenck was not dispositive because it

“involved a judicially created preliminary injunction drawn

solely for the parties before the Court” while “section 18-9-

122(3) is not the creature of our judiciary, but, instead, is a

statute crafted by a coordinate branch of government, and is a

rule of general application representing the public policy

choices of the General Assembly ... .” Pet. App. 19a. The

Colorado Supreme Court decided that “the appropriate test to

be applied in this case is found in Ward v. Rock Against

Racism, 419 U.S. 781 (1989).” Pet. App. 16a.

The Colorado Supreme Court concluded that the statute was

narrowly tailored, advanced a significant government interest,

and left open ample alternative channels of communication.

Pet. App. 24a-29a. “In sum,” the court concluded, the statute

“represents a fair legislative balancing of the ‘right to protest or

counsel against certain medical procedures’ while protecting ‘a

person’s right to obtain medical counseling and treatment.””

Pet. App. 29a.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Ina stunning strike against constitutional rights to freedom of

expression, Colorado has enacted a statute with the sole effect

of restricting the exercise of freedoms of speech, press, and

assembly. Under C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3), an evangelist

distributing gospel tracts, a pizzeria employee distributing

discount coupons, or a nurse distributing flyers to explain a

strike for improved working conditions, who are within 100

feet of any entrance door to any health care facility in Colorado,

are prohibited from freely approaching closer than 8 feet to any

other person if they want to offer their materials, or even just to

speak, to passersby. Instead, pamphleteers and those who

approach others to display signs or to speak, must obtain

consent while at a distance greater than 8 feet from those with

whom they would communicate. Communicating without

consent is a criminal offense.

Colorado’s statute flouts several doctrinal considerations

relevant to laws affecting expression. The breadth and scope of

Colorado’s statutory suppression of speech are remarkable.

This Court seldom has confronted a statute embodying such

sweeping disregard for freedom of expression.

In practice, Colorado has given its citizens the power to

impose a prior restraint on unwelcome speech. Under the

statute, a prospective speaker must seek and obtain consent

from a prospective listener, without approaching closer than

eight feet. Decisions to grant or withhold consent will often —

if not invariably — turn on the content and viewpoint of the

proposed communication. Nonetheless, that decision will

determine whether the speech is criminal or free.

The framework for resolving the present dispute is settled.

See Cornelius v. N.A.A.C.P. Legal Defense & Educ. Fund, 473

10

U.S. 788 (1985). Initially, this Court must determine whether

petitioners’ activity is constitutionally protected. /d at 797.

Next, this Court “must identify the nature of the forum, because

the extent to which the Government may limit access depends

on whether the forum is public or nonpublic.” Jd Finally, this

Court must decide whether the restrictions on expression

survive the requisite constitutional scrutiny. /d.

First, the statute regulates petitioners’ exercise of core

constitutional rights of expression. Distributing leaflets,

displaying signs, and orally educating, counseling, or

protesting, are paradigms of protected forms of expression.

This Court consistently has noted the constitutional value of

these expressive activities. See, e.g, Lovell v. City of Griffin,

303 U.S. 446 (1938); McIntyre v. Ohio Elections Commission,

514 U.S. 334 (1995).

Second, the statute regulates protected expression in the

traditional public forum. C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) operates only in

traditional public forum properties, where the constitutional

rights of speech, press and assembly enjoy their greatest

protection. See, e.g, Hague v. C.1.O., 307 U.S. 496, 515

(1939) (plurality).

Third, the statute does not come close to satisfying the

demanding tests for statutes that regulate core speech in the

traditional public forum. It is unconstitutionally defective.

Because the statute targets only protected expression, not

conduct, Secretary of State v. J. H. Munson Co., 467 U.S. 847,

965-67 (1984), it is facially overbroad. Moreover, the statute

is substantially overbroad; in every conceivable application of

the statute, constitutionally protected expression is targeted.

The statute creates a prior restraint on speech and press, see

Bantam Books, Inc. v. Sullivan, 372 U.S. 58, 70 (1963), by

imposing requiring advance consent to leaflet, picket, or speak.

The statute omits all requisite safeguards for such a system of

prior restraint and it grants unbridled discretion to licensors of

speech; thus, it is an unconstitutional restraint.

The statute is an unconstitutional content-based restriction:

it applies to al/ leafletting and to a// sign displays, but it applies

only to those ora/ communications which constitute protest,

counsel or education; thus, it is a content-based restriction, see,

e.g., Reno v. American Civil Liberties Union, 521 U.S. 844,

867-68 (1997) and not narrowly drawn to any relevant,

compelling governmental interest. By granting unlimited

licensing power to private citizens, Colorado has created a

condition under which the right to speak may be denied based

on the content- or viewpoint of expression.

Even if the statute were analyzed as a time, place and manner

restriction, it fails the requisite scrutiny. It is not reasonable.

It is not narrowly tailored. And it fails to leave open ample

alternative channels of communication.

Finally, the statute’s commands are drawn in terms too vague

to be tolerated under the Constitution, see Grayned v. City of

Rockford, 408 U.S. 104, 108-09 (1972). The statute operates

at the core of the rights to freedom of speech, of the press, and

of assembly. Consequently, it was the duty of the Colorado

General Assembly to craft its restrictions with particular care to

safeguard these “delicate and vulnerable, as well as supremely

precious” freedoms, NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415, 433

(1963).

12

ARGUMENT

COLORADO REVISED STATUTE § _ 18-9-122(3)

IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL ON ITS FACE

This litigation challenges C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) on its face.’

The statute suffers from a myriad of fatal constitutional flaws.

Freedom of expression — an essential ingredient of liberty —

must be jealously guarded, particularly when the controversial

nature of the speaker’s message has stirred emotions and

triggered an attempt to suppress that message. E.g., Gregory v.

City of Chicago, 394 U.S. 111 (1969); Texas v. Johnson, 491

U.S. 397 (1989). Popular speech and pleasant words have little

need for constitutional protection. City of Houston v. Hill, 482

U.S. 451, 462 n.11 (1987). The true test of the right to free

speech is the protection afforded to unpopular, unpleasant,

disturbing, or even despised speech. Cf Madsen v. Women’s

Health Center, 512 U.S. 753, 773-74 (1994) (anti-abortion

expression); United States v. Eichman, 496 U.S. 310 (1990)

(flag burning); R.A.V. v. City of St. Paul, 505 U.S. 377 (1992)

(cross-burning); Hustler Magazine v. Falwell, 485 U.S. 46

(1988) (scurrilous attacks on public figure). Free speech

may indeed best serve its high purpose when it induces a

condition of unrest, creates dissatisfaction with conditions

as they are, or even stirs people to anger. Speech is often

provocative and challenging. It may strike at prejudices

and preconceptions and have profound unsettling effects as

it presses for acceptance of an idea. That is why freedom

3. “The seminal cases in which th{is] Court has held state legislation

unconstitutional ‘on its face’” resulted from this Court’s determination that

“any attempt to enforce such legislation would create an unacceptable risk

of the suppression of ideas.” Members of the City Council v. Taxpayers for

Vincent, 466 U.S. 789, 797 (1984) (citations and footnotes omitted); see

also FW/PBS v. City of Dallas, 493 U.S. 215, 223 (1990).

13

of speech, though not absolute . . . is nevertheless protected

against censorship or punishment unless shown likely to

produce a clear and present danger of a serious substantive

evil that rises far above public inconveaience, annoyance,

or unrest.... There is not room under our Constitution for

a more restrictive view.

Terminiello v. Chicago, 337 U.S. 1, 3-4 (1949).‘

The divisiveness of legalized human abortion — including

debates over the contours of its legality, its morality, and its

availability — provokes expressive activities that irritate,

provoke, disturb, and test the patience of many.’ But “if

absolute assurance of tranquility is required, we may as well

forget about free speech.” City of Houston, 482 U.S. at 462

n.11 (editing marks and citation omitted). Here, the vices of

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) compel the conclusion that it is

unconstitutional. The judgment below must be reversed.

I. The Operation of C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3).

To understand the constitutional gravity of the wrong

embodied in C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3), it is necessary to understand

the statute’s operation.

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is a specific intent offense. No offense

is committed if, within 100 feet of the entrance door to a health

care facility, one person approaches another without the

4. Cf M. Nimmer, Freedom of Speech § 1.04 (1984) (gathering cases and

materials on the “safety valve” function of freedom of expression).

5. This Court has noted the divisive nature of abortion. Planned

Parenthood of Southeastern Pennsylvania v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833, 850

(1992) (“Men and women of good conscience can disagree, and we suppose

some always shall disagree, about the profound moral and spiritual

implications of terminating a pregnancy, even in its earliest stage. Some of

us as individuals find abortion offensive to our most basic principles of

morality”).

14

purpose of displaying a sign to, passing a leaflet to, or uttering

oral protest, counsel or education to, the other. Pet. App. 65a.

Thus, greater liberty of movement in public places is granted to

persons who are mot seeking to exercise constitutionally

protected rights of freedom of speech, of press, and of

assembly. The statute targets speech, not physical proximity.

Worse still, unlike disabilities imposed by injunction, such as

those at issue in Schenck and in Madsen, C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3)

is not limited in application to those whose prior adjudicated

misconduct warrants the imposition of otherwise impermissible

disabilities on free expression. Instead, the statute restricts the

constitutional rights of every person in that State without

prohibiting approaches that might obstruct or approaches that

occur for no reason whatever or without a purpose of

communicating to others.

A. The Statute Operates “in the Public Way or Sidewalks”

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) restricts speech on

* all public ways or sidewalks, ways ° within 100 feet

* of every entrance door

* to every health care facility

* everywhere in the State of Colorado.

B. The Statute Restricts Activity Undertaken “for the

Purpose of Passing a Leaflet or Handbill to, Displaying

Counseling”

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) restricts

* anyone who displays a sign

* anyone who distributes a leaflet or handbill

* anyone who utters words constituting oral protests

* anyone who utters words constituting oral education and

6. These are traditional public forum properties. See Argument III, infra.

|

|

|

;

15

* anyone who utters words constituting oral counsel.

A would-be communicator is required to obtain consent from

* any person passing by on the sidewalk, street, or public

way

* before knowingly approaching closer than eight feet for

* the purpose of communicating with that person in one of

the ways restricted under the statute.

ee naan aa eas

tas come tae, statute requires consent from every person to whom

communications will be directed, not just from patients of

health care facilities, family members or companions of

patients, staff members of health care facilities, or business

partners of health care facilities. Instead, the speech-free

bubble surrounds every person passing within 100 feet of an

entrance door to any health care facility in the State, including

* passersby

* other sidewalk counselors

* demonstrators

* so-called “clinic escorts”

* patients and their companions

* facility employees and contractors

* and countless others.

The statute is not limited in its operation to the vicinity of

abortion clinics. C.R.S. § 18-9-122(4) defines “health care

facility” as “any entity that is licensed, certified, or otherwise

authorized or permitted by law to administer medical treatment”

in Colorado. Pet. App. 65a. These zones exist outside every

* ambulatory surgical center

* hospital

16

urgent care facility

medical diagnostic facility

general practitioner’s office

medical specialist’s office (from allergists to

endocrinologists to opthalmologists to vascular surgeons).

In addition to such locations obviously included within the

definition of “health care facility,” numerous other locations

may be included because the statute includes any “entity”

“licensed, certified, or otherwise authorized or permitted by law

to administer medical treatment,” leaving open, for example,

the likely possibility that a school-based clinic or nurse’s office

or a industrial plant’s nurse’s station all fall within the scope of

the statute, if the entrance doors to such locations are within

100 feet of a public sidewalk or way.

II. Petitioners’ Leafletting, Sign Displays, and Oral

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) targets only expression protected by the

Constitution, including spoken words, sign displays, and

leafletting. Petitioners have used all these means to disseminate

information and viewpoints. JA 17-18, §§j 17-20; JA 49, ¥ 7;

JA 53, 9 7; JA 55, 9 6. Each of these methods of

communication with the public is constitutionally protected.’

First, distributing leaflets on the public ways is a form of free

speech protected under the Constitution. Mc/ntyre, 514 U.S. at

347. There is no doubt that “leafletting [is an] expressive

activit[y] involving ‘speech’ protected by the First

7. The State conceded this point. See Pet. App. 31a (“[iJt is clear, and the

parties agree, that the statute in question regulates activity protected by the

First Amendment”); id. at 3 1a-32a (“[t}here is no question that the Plaintiffs

conduct implicates First Amendment rights”); JA at 217-18 (“[a}dmitted”

that “[dJisplay of signs and posters,” “[d]istribution of free written

materials,” and “[o]}ral expression” are constitutionally protected).

'

17

Amendment.” United States v. Grace, 461 U.S. 171, 176

(1983). See also Schenck, 519 U.S. at 377 (noting that

leafletting is a “classic form[] of speech that lie[s] at the heart

of the First Amendment”). Pamphleteering is a particularly

inoffensive means of communication: “[o]ne need not ponder

the contents of a leaflet or pamphlet in order mechanically to

take it out of someone’s hand,” United States v. Kokinda, 497

U.S. 720, 734 (1990) (plurality). This Court’s consistent

jurisprudence has recognized free distribution of literature as

expression protected by the Constitution. See, e.g,

Organization for a Better Austin v. Keefe, 402 U.S. 415 (1971);

Lovell, 303 U.S. at 452; Heffron v. ISKCON, 452 U.S. 640

(1981).

Second, displaying signs addressing public issues is a form of

free speech resting “at the core of the first amendment,” Boos

v. Barry, 485 U.S. 312, 318 (1988); Carey v. Brown, 447 U.S.

455, 466-67 (1980) (“[p]ublic issue picketing . . . has always

rested on the highest rung of the hierarchy of First Amendment

values”) (internal quotation marks and citations omitted).

Accord United States v. Grace, 461 U.S. 171, 176-77 (1983)

(and cases cited); cf Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S.

104, 119 (1972) (“classic expressive gesture of the solitary

picket”).

Third, oral communications rest at the very heart of the right

to free speech. City of Houston; Gregory; Edwards v. South

Carolina, 372 U.S. 339 (1963); Schenck, 519 U.S. at 377.

Without question, Petitioners’ expressive activities enjoy

constitutional protection.

18

Ill. The Colorado Public Sidewalks, Streets and Ways

Affected by C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) are Public Fora for

Free Speech.

The public ways and sidewalks of Colorado, including those

within 100 feet of the entrances to health care facilities,

constitute “quintessential” public fora for free speech. See

Perry Educ. Ass'n v. Perry Local Educator’s Ass'n, 460 U.S.

37, 45 (1983); see also Hague v. CIO, 307 U.S. 496, 515

(1939) (plurality); cf Schenck, 519 U.S. at 377 (“speech in

public areas is at its most protected on public sidewalks, a

prototypical example of a traditional public forum”) (emphasis

added). “No particularized inquiry into the precise nature of a

specific street is necessary; all public streets are held in the

public trust and are properly considered traditional public fora.”

Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474, 481 (1988).*

IV. Section 18-9-122(3) Fails Constitutional Scrutiny.

The constitutional standards governing restrictions on the

right to freedom of speech on the public ways and sidewalks

within 100 feet of the entrances to health care facilities, are

well-established:

In these quintessential public fora, the government may not

prohibit all communicative activity. For the State to

enforce a content-based exclusion it must show that its

regulation is necessary to serve a compelling state interest

and that it is narrowly drawn te achieve that end. The State

may also enforce regulations of the time, place, and manner

of expression which are content neutral, are narrowly

tailored to serve a significant government interest, and

leave open ample alternative channels of communication.

8. The State conceded this point, as well. See JA at 277 (“[a}dmitted” that

“publicly owned sidewalks within 100 feet of the entrance to a health care

facility are traditional public forums”).

19

Frisby, 487 U.S. at 481 (editing marks omitted; quoting Perry,

460 U.S. at 45). Furthermore, “[c]riminal statutes must be

scrutinized with particular care,” City of Houston, 482 U.S. at

459; therefore, “[p]recision of regulation must be the

touchstone in an area so closely touching our most precious

freedoms.” Riley v. National Fed’n of the Blind, 487 U.S. 781,

801 (1988) (internal quotation marks and citation omitted).

A statutory ban on leafletting, sign displays, and oral

education, protest, and counseling, on public sidewalks, is

unconstitutional. See, e.g., Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88

(1940) (place of business); Grace, 461 U.S. 171 (courthouse);

Grayned, 408 U.S. at 119 (school); Boos, 485 U.S. 312

(embassy). Petitioners’ expressive activities on public

sidewalks are classic exercises of the right to free speech. No

valid government interest supports Colorado’s restrictions on

speech. Indeed, this Court has pointedly noted, “[a] ban on

handbilling . . . would suppress a great quantity of speech that

does not cause the evils that it seeks to eliminate,” Ward v.

Rock Against Racism, 491 U.S. 781, 799 n.7 (1989). Because

Colorado’s ban encompasses so much speech unrelated to any

regulable evil, its “complete ban on handbilling [is]

substantially broader than necessary to achieve the interests

justifying it.” Id.°

Colorado cannot justify restrictions on peaceful expression on

the basis of the supposed offensiveness of petitioners’ message

to some viewers. “The fact that society may find speech

offensive is not a sufficient reason for suppressing it. Indeed,

9. The Colorado Court of Appeals construed C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) to

impose just such a flat ban. See Pet. App. 56a (“with reference to the fact

that leafletting may not take place within 100 feet of the entrance to the

medical clinic unless consent is given, we view the significant governmental

interest here as sufficient to warrant the requirements of the statute”).

20

if it is the speaker’s opinion that gives offense, that

consequence is a reason for according it constitutional

protection.” Simon & Schuster, Inc. v. Members of New York

State Crime Victims Bd., 502 U.S. 105, 118 (1991) (editing

marks and citations omitted).

Nor can access concerns justify a flat ban on, for example,

displaying a placard outside a health care facility.'° A solitary

pedestrian walking on a public sidewalk distributing leaflets,

displaying a sign, or communicating orally does not

automatically prevent access.'' Nor is a blanket ban on

leafletting, sign displays, and oral expression without advance

10. Because the challenge provision does not target obstructive conduct, or

unprotected expression, such as fighting words or threats that are

independently proscribable and that may interfere with access, it is

disingenuous to describe the governmental interest to which the statute is

directed as ensuring access to health care facilities. But see C.R.S. § 18-9-

122(1), Pet. App. at 64a-65a. The statute only restricts communications.

Consequently, it is likely that the actual purpose of the statute is to insulate

others from opinions and views with which they may disagree. The court

below stated that it was seeking to balance freedom of expression with the

constitutional right of privacy. Pet. App. 14a. That approach is

fundamentally flawed. First, this Court has expressed real “doubt that . . .

‘the right of the people approaching and entering the facilities to be left

alone’—accurately reflects our First Amendment jurisprudence in this area,”

Schenck, 519 U.S. at 383 (citing Madsen). Second, the statute restricts only

communicative approaches; hence, the “privacy” in question is not physical

solitude, or freedom from government interference with personal decisions,

but freedom from messages.

11. If.an individual actually interfered with public passage, then the proper

approach would be to enforce relevant criminal laws such as C.R.S. § 18-9-

122(2), which directly prohibits obstructive conduct. /nfra note 13. Such

laws may not be selectively invoked as a pretense for suppressing an

objectionable message. See, e.g., Coates v. Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611

(1971).

21

consent narrowly drawn to address access concerns. The

expressive activities burdened by the statute are no more

obstructive than countless other activities, such as strolling with

a friend, walking with a cane, stopping to talk with friends,

walking a dog, riding in a wheelchair, etc. The expressive

activities targeted by C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) are not the “evil” —

obstruction of access — that motivated the General Assembly

to enact the statute. Cf Frisby, 487 U.S. at 485 (“complete

ban can be narrowly tailored . . . only if each activity within the

proscription's scope is an appropriately targeted evil”). Finally,

if access concerns could justify these burdens on freedom of

expression outside of health care facilities, the same rationale

would apply to such activities outside amy business or

government facility. Free speech would be a mere shadow."

If Colorado is concerned with disturbing noises, it is free to

enact and enforce a noise control statute. If the problem is

obstructive or disorderly conduct, there are laws tailored to

such conduct."® But the face of C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) reveals a

different and profoundly disturbing purpose: to suppress

uninvited messages. The Constitution protects the petitioners

against such censorship. Simon & Schuster, 502 U.S. at 118

12. Colorado may not, “by its own ipse dixit[,] destroy the ‘public forum’

status of streets and parks which have historically been public forums... .”

U.S. Postal Service v. Greenburgh Civic Ass'n, 453 U.S. 114, 133 (1981);

see also Grace, 461 U.S. at 179-80.

13. Colorado has numerous laws directly targeting unprotected conduct.

See, e.g., C.R.S. § 18-3-202 (assault, first degree); C.R.S. § 18-3-203

(assault, second degree); C.R.S. § 18-3-204 (assault, third degree); C.R.S.

§ 18-9-106 (disorderly conduct); C.R.S. § 18-9-107 (obstructing passage);

C.R.S. § 18-9-111 (harassment—stalking); C.R.S. § 18-9-114 (hindering

transportation); C.R.S. § 18-9-122(2) (obstructing access to health care

facilities); C.R.S. § 18-13-107 (interference with persons with disabilities).

22

(and cases cited); Street v. New York, 394 U.S. 576, 592 (1969).

A. CRS. § 18-9-122(3) is Overbroad

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is unconstitutionally overbroad.’

Every person passing within 100 feet of any entrance door to

every health care facility in Colorado is enveloped by a speech

free bubble with an eight foot radius. The zones surround

persons having no present business with, or interest in, the

hospitals, clinics, labs, diagnostic facilities, ambulatory surgical

centers, outpatient mental health facilities, and the offices of

general practitioners and medical specialists.'" The operation

14. In the usual facial challenge based on overbreadth, a court must

determine whether the overbreadth of a statute is substantial. E.g., City of

Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451, 458 (1987) (citing cases). That analysis is

appropriate to statutes that imperfectly address a valid core of conduct that

is subject to proscription or regulation, and the question is whether the

restriction also restricts a substantial amount of free speech. /d.; Secretary

of State v. JH. Munson Co., 467 U.S. 847, 864-65 (1984).

Substantial overbreadth is a criterion the Court has invoked to avoid

striking down a statute on its face simply because of the possibility that

it might be applied in an unconstitutional manner. It is appropriate in

remainder of the statute . . . covers a whole range of easily identifiable

Munson, 467 U.S. at 864-65 (emphasis added). The “substantial

overbreadth” test does not apply, however, where “there is no core of easily

prohibits.” /d. at 865-66. In such a case, the statute is facially

unconstitutional, and no inquiry into the substantiality of other overbroad

applications is necessary. /d. In this case, C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is

unconstitutional regardless of which overbreadth standard applies. In every

obvious application of the statute, protected expression is criminalized.

15. The foregoing examples are only the obvious ones, but the statute

creates similar floating speech free zones outside the entrance doors to “any

entity that is licensed, certified, or otherwise authorized or permitted by law

23

of the zones, conditioning communication on consent, is not

limited to persons with a history of bad conduct; Colorado

assumes that no one can be trusted to communicate in these

circumstances without abusing his constitutional rights. '®

As in Secretary of State v. J. H. Munson Co., 467 U.S. 847

(1984), “[t]he flaw in the [Colorado] statute is not simply that

it includes within its sweep some impermissible applications,

but that in all its applications it operates on a fundamentally

mistaken premise,” 467 U.S. at 966. Colorado has ignored this

Court’s teaching that “[t]he Constitution does not allow such

speech to be made a crime.” City of Houston, 482 U.S. at 462.

The false premise here is that the State may subject ail

expression in public fora to a “heckler’s license.”

The only activities “reached” by the statute are paradigmatic

forms of constitutionally protected expression: leafletting, sign

displays, oral utterances. C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is overbroad

because it “imposes a direct restriction on protected First

Amendment activity” and the “means chosen to accomplish the

State’s objectives are too imprecise, so that in all its

applications the statute creates an unnecessary risk of chilling

free speech.” Munson, 467 U.S. at 967-68 (footnote and

Colorado Revised Statute § 18-9-122(3)

violates the constitutional right of free assembly and

association. [This Court’s] decisions establish that mere

to administer medical treatment” in Colorado. See Pet. App. 65a, C.R.S. §

18-9-122(4). And in every case (other than certain abortion clinics) these

zones were imposed without any evidence of a problem regarding access,

and without any demonstrated need for the vast reach of the Statute.

16. Although the Colorado Supreme Court accepted, Pet. App. 10a, that

petitioners had not engaged in such abuses, it recognized that the legislature

attributed such abuses generally to anti-abortion protestors, id.

24

public intolerance or animosity cannot be the basis for the

abridgment of these freedoms. ... The First and

Fourteenth Amendments do not permit [Colorado] to make

criminal the exercise of the right of assembly simply

because its exercise may be ‘annoying’ to some people.

Coates, 402 U.S. at 615.

That Colorado’s statute operates in the vicinity of every

health care facility in that State, rather than everywhere cannot

salvage the statute. A restriction is no less unconstitutional

because it only applies in certain locales, such as airports,

Board of Airport Comm'rs v. Jews for Jesus, 482 U.S. 569,

570-71 (1987), public school buildings, Lamb’s Chapel v.

Center Moriches Union Free School Dist., 508 U.S. 384

(1993), or the Supreme Court grounds, Grace.

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is overbroad because it “does not aim

specifically at evils within the allowable area of State control

but, on the contrary, sweeps within its ambit other activities

that in ordinary circumstances constitute an exercise of freedom

of speech or of the press.” Thornhill, 310 U.S. at 97 (emphasis

added). Such an “overbroad”"’ law “directly restricts protected

expression activity and does not employ means narrowly

tailored to serve a compelling governmental interest.” Munson,

467 U.S. at 965 n.13. Colorado’s statute flies in the face of

established doctrine: “Precision of regulation must be the

touchstone in an area so closely touching our most precious

freedoms.” Riley v. National Fed'n of the Blind, 487 U.S. 781,

801 (1988) (internal quotation marks and citation omitted).

17. The term “overbreadth” has two distinct meanings in constitutional law.

Munson, 467 U.S. at 965 n.13. Petitioners use the term to describe “a statute

that in all its applications directly restricts protected First Amendment

activity and does not employ means narrowly tailored to serve a compelling

governmental interest.” See id (citation omitted).

25

Such precision results only from careful legislative effort to

draw a statute narrowly to the service of a government interest.

A law is “narrowly tailored if it targets and eliminates no more

than the exact source of the ‘evil’ it seeks to remedy.” Frisby,

487 U.S. at 485 (citation omitted). By contrast, C.R.S. § 18-9-

122(3) is overbroad — not narrowly tailored — because “there is

no core of easily identifiable and constitutionally proscribable

conduct that the [law] prohibits.” Munson, 467 U.S. at 965-66.

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) bans virtually the universe of protected

expression, including displays of signs, distribution of

literature, and mere verbal statements. Cf Board of Airport

Comm'rs, 482 U.S. at 574 (regulation “reaches the universe of

expressive activity, and . . . prohibit[s] all protected

expression”).

An important signal that C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is overbroad

is that “the enforceable portion of the [statute] deals not with

core criminal conduct, but with speech.” City of Houston, 482

U.S. at 460. The “core” of Colorado’s statute is free

expression, and it is free expression that Colorado has treated

as a “targeted evil.” Nor is the statute narrowly drawn to

restrict only the bad acts of wrongdoers (as in the cases of an

injunction or a recidivism statute). See Pet. App. 10a n.7.

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is much more sweeping than the

ordinances struck down in Houston and in Lewis v. City of New

Orleans, 415 U.S. 130 (1974). Houston’s ordinance only

prohibited speech that “‘in any manner . . . interrupt{s] an

officer.”” 482 U.S. at 461. New Orleans’ ordinance forbade

““any person wantonly to curse or revile or to use obscene or

opprobrious language toward or with reference to any member

of the city police while in the actual performance of his duty.’”

415 U.S. at 132. Incontrast, C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) applies to ail

leafletting, all sign displays, and ai/ oral utterances which

26

constitute education, counsel or protest. “The Constitution

does not allow such speech to be made a crime.” City of

Houston, 482 U.S. at 462. Petitioners “are not quibbling over

fine-tuning of prophylactic limitations, but are concerned about

wholesale restriction of clearly protected conduct.” Federal

ElectionComm’n v. National Conservative PAC, 470 U.S. 480,

501 (1985).

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is even more flagrantly unconstitutional

than the “floating,” consent-to-speak restrictions struck down

in two recent decisions by this Court. Schenck, 519 U.S. at

367; Madsen, 512 U.S. at 773-74. In Madsen, the provision

this Court struck down was limited so that the defendants in

that case were unable to approach “any person seeking the

services of the Clinic” without consent. 512 U.S. at 773. In

Schenck, the provision this Court struck down was limited so

that the defendants in that case were required to give way to

“persons entering or leaving, working at or using any services

at any facility at which abortions are performed” in the Western

District of New York. 514 U.S. at 367 (emphasis added).

Notably, the Madsen and Schenck injunctions only restricted

those persons whose previously adjudicated misconduct

warranted the entry of injunctive relief.'*

18. The court below fundamentally erred when it held, simplistically, that

identical restrictions in a statute face less demanding scrutiny than in

injunctions. True enough, Madsen directs that injunctive restrictions on

expressive activity face “a somewhat more rigorous standard,” 512 U.S. at

765-67; but cf. Madsen, 512 U.S. at 778 (Stevens, concurring and

dissenting) (concluding that, because “legislation is imposed on an entire

community, regardless of individual culpability,” “injunctive relief should

be judged by a more lenient standard than legislation”) (citation omitted).

But application of the standard also differs. An injunction, by its nature,

restricts only those already found to have engaged in (or threatened to

engage in) unlawful activity, while a statute restricts everyone, no matter

27

By contrast, in Colorado, a speech-free bubble envelopes

every man, woman, and child, regardless of their destination or

purpose, who passes within 100 feet of every entrance door to

every health care facility in Colorado. The bubble is not

limited to patients, families or companions of patients,

employees of such facilities, physicians, nurses, or other health

care personnel, or business associates. Instead, speech-free

bubbles enshroud all those present on the public ways or

sidewalks who happen to be within 100 feet of the entrance to

a “health care facility.” Businessmen walking to a lunch

counter, construction workers leaving a work site, families

taking a leisurely stroll to a popular landmark, all are enveloped

by zones that are purportedly designed to secure access to

health care facilities. Moreover, the obligation to obey the

statute and respect the speech-free bubbles applies to everyone,

whether they have engaged in any misconduct upon which

liability could be imposed or not. “[N]Jo conceivable

governmental interest would justify such an absolute

prohibition of speech.” Board of Airport Comm'rs, 482 U.S. at

575.

B. Section 18-9-122(3) U itutional Pri

Restraint.

Section 18-9-122(3) is a prior restraint. As with any other

classic prior restraint, under the Colorado statute, speech can

proceed if permission is granted, but will result in criminal

liability if permission is denied. The statute restrains and

inhibits speech before it takes place, and subjects such speech

how innocent. As a consequence, just because a record of extraordinary

misconduct may justify exceptional restrictions on free speech (e.g., a “stay

away” order in a domestic dispute or stalking case), by no means would such

restrictions pass muster in a statute of general applicability, even under a

“less rigorous” test.

28

to the permission of a person deputized by the state.'? “Any

system of prior restraints of expression comes to this Court

bearing a heavy presumption against its constitutional validity.”

Bantam Books, Inc. v. Sullivan, 372 U.S. 58, 70 (1963).

Respondents have contended that the speech licensing system

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) imposes is not a prior restraint because

the challenged statute grants licensing authority to private

citizens.” Despite that contention — “whether ingenious[] or

19. This Court has held that “the regulations we have found invalid as prior

restraints have had this in common: they gave public officials the power to

deny use of a forum in advance of actual expression.” Ward, 491 U.S. at

795 n.5 (internal quotation marks and citation omitted).

20. This Court has indicated that governmental grants of censorial power

to private actors are constitutionally problematic. In Reno v. American Civil

Liberties Union, 521 U.S. 844, 880 (1997), this Court rejected a narrowing

construction of the Communications Decency Act proffered by the

Government because “[i]t would confer broad powers of censorship, in the

form of a ‘heckler’s veto,’ upon any opponent of indecent speech who might

simply log on and inform the would-be discoursers that his 17-year-old

child, a ‘specific person . . . under 18 years of age,’ would be present.”

Reno, 521 U.S. at 880 (citation omitted). Cf Larkin v. Grendel's Den, 459

U.S. 116, 122, 127 (1982) (faulty state scheme to donate powers usually

exercised by state to churches for their “unilateral and absolute” use). Reno

and Larkin guide analysis of the present case, in which licensing powers

normally reserved to a governmental agency have been transferred over to

the unilateral and absolute power of private persons. See also Cooper v.

Aaron, 358 U.S. 1, 16-17 (1958) (“[t]he controlling legal principles are

plain. ... [CJonstitutional rights . . . can neither be nullified openly and

directly by state legislators or state executive or judicial officers, nor

nullified indirectly by them through evasive schemes . . . whether attempted

‘ingeniously or ingenuously’”) (quotation marks and citations omitted); cf.

Evans v. Newton, 382 U.S. 296, 299 (1966) (“[cJonduct that is formally

‘private’ may become so entwined with governmental policies or so

impregnated with a governmental character as to become subject to the

constitutional limitations placed upon state action”); Burton v. Wilmington

oda at _?

OE RE PT PES Pe oe

29

ingenuous[],” Cooper v. Aaron, 358 U.S. 1, 17 (1958) -—C.R.S.

§ 18-9-122(3) falls neatly within the prior restraint doctrine.

The statute compels speakers to obtain consent to speak and it

authorizes private citizens to deny petitioners’ requests to

engage in expressive activities. Behind that authority is the

State’s criminal law enforcement mechanism. With consent, all

is well for the would-be speaker. Without consent, petitioners

and other citizens leaflet, speak or display signs at the peril of

criminal prosecution for a class 3 misdemeanor.”'

Under the Constitution, Colorado’s statutory speech licensing

scheme is clearly defective. This scheme neither has nor is

capable of providing any of the procedural safeguards identified

by this Court as prerequisites to the imposition of an otherwise

unconstitutional prior restraint. Far from solving the

constitutional problems, Colorado’s attempt to circumvent prior

restraint doctrine by delegating censorship powers to

individuals makes matters worse by removing any possibility of

procedural safeguards.

1. The Statute Grants Unbridled Discretion to Speech

Licensors.

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) assigns to private citizens unlimited

power, enforced by the State, to grant or deny a request for

permission to distribute literature, display a sign, or engage in

oral protest, oral counseling, or oral education. “[A] law

Parking Authority, 365 U.S. 715, 726 (1961) (“when a State leases public

property in the manner and for the purpose shown to have been the case

here, the proscriptions of the Fourteenth Amendment must be complied with

by the lessee as certainly as though they were binding covenants written into

the agreement itself”).

21. In fact, Colorado has admitted that, under its statute regime, “signs,

pamphlets and/or literature” could constitute “the evidence of a violation”

because they were “used in the commission of the offense.” JA 280.

30

subjecting the exercise of First Amendment freedoms to the

prior restraint of a license, without narrow, objective, and

definite standards to guide the licensing authority, is

unconstitutional.” Shuttlesworth v. City of Birmingham, 394

U.S. 147, 150-51 (1969).” Nothing in the statute curtails its

application to protected speech; rather, C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3)

precisely and deliberately targets protected expression.

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) grants unbridled discretion to those

from whom speakers must obtain permission to speak. Under

the law, passersby may deny petitioners the right to speak

because of petitioners’ race, gender, content of their speech,

opinions, hair color, or for no reason at all. Colorado has

codified a speech licensing approach that other locales may

want to duplicate. Officials in Skokie, Illinois, or Cummings,

Georgia, may conclude that those who reside along a parade

route should have the right to decide whether a parade or

demonstration permit will be granted. Cf National Socialist

Party v. Village of Skokie, 432 U.S. 43 (1977); Forsyth County

v. Nationalist Movement, 505 U.S. 123 (1992). For that matter,

Colorado could cripple the initiative process by banning

circulators from approaching qualified voters without advance

consent. Cf Meyer v. Grant, 486 U.S. 414 (1988).

There is no workable means of curing such boundless

discretion by imposing an external review process because

“fe]ven if judicial review were relatively speedy, such review

cannot substitute for concrete standards to guide the decision

22. This Court has “previously identified two major First Amendment risks

associated with unbridled licensing schemes: self-censorship by speakers in

order to avoid being denied a license to speak; and the difficulty of

effectively detecting, reviewing, and correcting content-based censorship ‘as

applied’ without standards by which to measure the licensor’s action.” City

of Lakewood v. Plain Dealer Pub. Co., 486 U.S. 750, 759 (1988).

31

maker’s discretion.” City of Lakewood, 486 U.S. at 771.

2. Section 18-9-122(3) Lacks the Necessary Procedural

Safeguards

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) lacks the procedural safeguards

required of a licensing scheme. Such safeguards reflect the

significance of expressive freedoms. Cf Chicago Teachers

Union v. Hudson, 475 U.S. 292, 303 n.12 (1986) (“procedural

safeguards often have a special bite in the First Amendment

context. The purpose of these safeguards is to insure that the

government treads with sensitivity in areas freighted with First

Amendment concerns”) (citations omitted). The courts below

concluded that the statute did not impose a prior restraint upon

expression. Consequently, no effort was given to scrutinizing

the nature of the restraint imposed to determine whether the

constitutional requisites identified by this Court, see, e.g,

FW/PBS, Inc. v. City of Dallas, 493 U.S. 215, 223 (1990);

Freedman v. Maryland, 380 U.S. 51 (1965); Riley, 487 U.S. at

802, were included in the scheme.

In fact, it is doubtful that a workable system of restraints

employing private parties as licensors could be crafted that

would pass constitutional muster. In the present case, however,

it is clear that none of the requisite safeguards were included in

the prior restraint scheme imposed by C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3).

Thus, pap statute tile constitutional ny

1. C. RS. § 18-9-122(3) is content- based.

The challenged statute is content-based on its face with

regard to oral utterances. C.R.S. 18-9-122(3) applies to ail

leafletting and to all sign displays, but only applies to those

spoken exercises of the right to freedom of speech that

32

constitute “education,” “counseling,” or “protest.” No

prosecution arising from an unconsented oral utterance could

succeed without evidence being tendered of what a speaker had

said. Consequently, the content of oral speech must be taken

into account in determining whether the statutory ban was

violated.“ When “it is the content of the speech that

determines whether it is within or without the statute’s blunt

prohibition,” the law is plainly content-based, Carey v. Brown,

447 U.S. at 462. Thus, the statute is subject to strict scrutiny.

See, e.g., Turner Broadcasting System v. FCC, 512 U.S. 622,

23. For example, suppose two women march along a sidewalk within 100

feet of a health care facility, deliberately approaching within 8 feet of aman

headed to the facility to have a disfiguring wart removed. Without obtaining

consent, one says, “Good morning,” while the second tells passersby,

“Natural is best, don’t put plastic surgery to the test.” The second woman

would be violating Colorado law (if permission is not obtained), but not the

first woman — yet the only difference is the content of the message.

Or suppose two lab technicians on a coffee break while working at a

community hospital, are walking over to a smokers’ hospitality zone and,

while within 100 feet of the entrance to the hospital they deliberately

approach within 8 feet of a third person. Without first asking consent, one

man recites a few lines of Jabberwocky by Lewis Carroll, and the second

declares, “I object to the hospital board’s penurious treatment of staff.” The

second man would be guilty of uttering an oral protest, while the first man

presumably would not.

24. Colorado has contended that content is irrelevant to the statute’s

restriction on oral communications. JA 291-96. The only way that this

could be true would be if a// oral communication were deemed to be

“protest, education, or counseling.” Under this construction, the statute

would restrict “the universe of [oral] expressive activity,” Board of Airport

Comm'rs, 482 U.S. at 574, rendering the provision undeniably overbroad,

id. at 575.

cree er er

33

641-43 (1994).** The Colorado statute is also content-based, as

to leafletting, sign displays, and oral utterances, because it

subjects the right to free speech to the listener’s reaction.

Forsyth County, 505 U.S. at 134.

Not only does the statute embody direct content

discrimination as described above; by its omission of clear

standards prohibiting citizens from denying speakers the right

to speak based on disagreement with content or viewpoint,

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) authorizes private citizens to decide

whether expression may take place on the basis of content.

Criminal liability will hinge on whether consent is obtained.

The statute leaves it to private actors to decide whether consent

will be granted. In these circumstances, it is hard to imagine

that consent will turn on anything other than content and

viewpoint of the proposed expression. The State’s careless

deputization of private citizens permits content- and vie wpoint-

based discrimination. Thus, the statute is subject to strict

scrutiny.

2. Content-based restrictions are presumptively

unconstitutional

Content-based restrictions on leafletting, picketing, and oral

protest, counseling, or education fail to meet the strict

governing constitutional standards:

[A]bove all else, the First Amendment means that

government has no power to restrict expression because of

its message, its ideas, its subject matter, or its

content. ... The essence of this forbidden censorship is

25. C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) also is “an absolute prohibition on . . . particular

type(s] of expression[,]” Grace, 461 U.S. at 178; thus, it is subject to strict

scrutiny. Moreover, that the statute discriminates on the basis of content

raises equal protection grounds for invalidation. See, e.g., Police Dep't v.

Mosley, 408 U.S. 92, 94 (1972).

34

content control... .

Necessarily, then, . .. government may not grant the use of

a forum to people whose views it finds acceptable, but deny

use to those wishing to express less favored or more

controversial views. ... Selective exclusions from a

public forum may not be based on content alone, and may

not be justified by reference to content alone.

Mosley, 408 U.S. at 95-96; accord Carey, 447 U.S. at 462-63.”

The ban on oral protest, counseling or education is openly

content-based. The lawfulness of a given utterance in the first

instance depends on whether its content constitutes oral

education, oral protest, or oral counseling.

This is raw censorship for which the interest in access to

health care facilities cannot be sufficient. Under this Court’s

decisions striking down content-discriminatory statutes, see,

e.g., Carey, Boos, and Reno, C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is grossly

unconstitutional because it discriminates on the basis of the

content of speech in public places.

3. No conceivable government interest, let alone one that

is compelling, justifies Colorado’s decision to secure

access to health care facilities by suppressing freedom

of expression in the traditional public forum.

The State’s ostensible interest in protecting access to health

care facilities does not justify the raw censorship which C.R.S.

§ 18-9-122(3) imposes.

The Colorado General Assembly enacted C.R.S. § 18-9-122

purportedly to balance “the exercise of a person’s right to

26. This Court concluded that the injunctions in Madsen and Schenck were

not content-based. The difference between the present statute and those

injunctions is that the injunctions were crafted, albeit ineptly, to remedy the

continuing problems of persons adjudicated to have engaged in continuing

misconduct. Madsen, 512 U.S. at 763; Schenck, 519 U.S. at 380.

35

protest or counsel against certain medical

procedures . . . against another person’s right to obtain medical

counseling and treatment in unobstructed manner,” C.R.S. § 18-

9-122(1). The Colorado Supreme Court also identified the right

to privacy of persons seeking treatment as the purpose of C.R.S.

§ 18-9-122(3). See Pet. App. 14a-16a. These same purposes

animated the floating bubble zone at issue in Schenck and the

no approach zone in Madsen.”’ Despite comparable interests,

described in Schenck as significant, id. at 376, this Court struck

down the floating bubble zone, Schenck, 519 U.S. at 377, just

as it had done with the “consent to speak” provision of the

Madsen injunction, 512 U.S. at 773-74. No other result can be

justified here.

Moreover, the interest Colorado asserts and that the court

below found sufficient in “balancing” away free speech rights

is not legitimate for purposes of constitutional review:

¢ the interest is not unrelated to suppressing expression, see

United States v. O'Brien, 391 U.S. 267, 377 (1968), but rather

targets speech directly and deliberately.

* the right to privacy — which only protects against

government action — is not jeopardized by the expressive

activities of private citizens communicating to passersby in the

traditional public forum, see Bray v. Alexandria Women’s

Health Clinic, 506 U.S. 263, 278 (1993);” cf Erznoznik v. City

27. See Schenck, 519 U.S. at 360-65, 367, 369, 376; Madsen, 512 U.S. at

757-59, 767-68.

28. As this Court explained in Schenck, 519 U.S. at 383:

“{w]e doubt that the District Court’s reason for including that

provision—‘to protect the right of the people approaching and entering

the facilities to be left alone’—accurately reflects our First Amendment

jurisprudence in this area. Madsen sustained an injunction designed to

secure physical access to the clinic, but not on the basis of any

36

of Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205, 208-12 (1975) (concluding that

privacy rights of passersby did not justify ordinance restricting

all public theatrical displays of motion pictures containing

scenes with nudity).

¢ the suppression of even peaceful speech in a public forum

cannot qualify as a legitimate interest. Grace, 461 U.S. at 182.

Hence, no relevant, valid interest supports the Colorado

statute.”

4. Even if securing access to health care facilities

constitutes a compelling government interest, C.R.S. §

18-9-122(3) is not narrowly drawn to serve that interest.

Even short of a total ban, regulation of speech activity in

public fora is “subject to the highest scrutiny.” ISKCON v. Lee,

505 U.S. 672, 678 (1992); accord United States v. Kokinda,

497 U.S. 720, 726 (1990) (plurality). A restriction on

leafletting, picketing, or meaningful oral expression is therefore

unconstitutional unless it can satisfy the “stringent standards”

governing “restrictions on speech in traditional public fora.”

Frisby, 487 U.S. at 481. In particular, a “content-based

exclusion,” is impermissible unless the government can “show

that its regulation is necessary to serve a compelling interest

and that it is narrowly drawn to achieve that end.” Jd. (internal

quotation marks and citation omitted). Despite the assertion

generalized right ‘to be left alone’ on a public street or sidewalk.”

29. Freedom of speech cannot be made subject to prevailing notions of taste

or to preferences for particular forms of expression: “so long as the means

are peaceful, the communication need not meet standards of acceptability.”

Organization for a Better Austin, 402 U.S. at 419. Just as Colorado is

without power to “protect” private citizens from “offensive” or controversial

speech, so too is it without power to prohibit speech to avoid disharmony.

Cf Boos, 485 U.S. at 321 (“[t}he emotive impact of speech on its audience

is not a ‘secondary effect”).

37

that C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is necessary to ensure access to

health care facilities, the statute is not confined to obstructive

conduct, or to expressive activities that are unprotected and

obstructive. Cf Madsen, 512 U.S. at 774 (“[t]he ‘consent’

requirement . . . burdens more speech than is necessary to

prevent intimidation and to ensure access to the clinic”);

Schenck, 519 U.S. at 377 (“because this broad prohibition on

speech ‘floats,’ it cannot be sustained on this record”).

The use of a consent to speak provision demonstrates that the

statute is not narrowly drawn to any valid state interest, see

supra § IV(A). The statute rests the ultimate decision on

consent, and the consequent determination of whether speech

is criminal or free, on the judgment of the prospective listener.

Unfettered discretion is not evidence that a statute has been

drawn narrowly. The prospective listener will likely decide

whether speech may be uttered for reasons far removed from

the government’s purportedly compelling interest. Instead,

decisions will turn, unsurprisingly, on whether the speech is

welcome or unwelcome. Such a regime cannot be squared with

the Constitution.

E. CRS. § 18-9-122(3) does not Survive Scrutiny as a

Regulation of Time, Place and Manner of Speech.

Even if time, place and manner analysis provides the

appropriate standard, C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) cannot qualify as a

reasonable time, place and manner regulation.

1. The ban on all unconsented oral protest, counsel and

education, on all unconsented sign displays, and on all

unconsented leafletting is not reasonable.

In Madsen, 512 U.S. at 773-74, this Court struck down an

injunctive provision that barred the defendants in that case from

approaching persons seeking access to the facility to speak with

them without first receiving from such persons an indication of

38

their “desire to communicate.” In that case, the trial court had

confronted demonstrators whose persistent conduct obstructed

access to an abortion clinic. Jd. at 758-59. Nonetheless, this

Court concluded that the “consent to speak provision” was

untenable because “it is difficult, indeed, to justify a prohibition

on all uninvited approaches of persons seeking the services of

the clinic, regardless of how peaceful the contact may be,

without burdening more speech than necessary to prevent

intimidation and to ensure access to the clinic.” Jd.

Here, Colorado has identified obstructing access to health

care facilities as the evil it sought to avert by enactment of

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3). See Pet. App. 64a-65a. But C.R.S. § 18-

9-122(3) does not restrict obstructive conduct. Nor is the

statute limited to expression accompanied by obstructive

conduct. Nor is it drawn only to limit fighting words or threats,

which are independently proscribable. Cf Madsen, 512 U.S. at

774. Colorado has set out a standard for engaging in protected

expressive activities that requires petitioners to assume a death-

mask of passivity... The judgment of the Colorado General

Assembly, embodied in C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3), was simply

unreasonable and untenable.

Indeed, the challenged provision is counter productive to its

supposed justification. By imposing a consent-to-communicate

requirement, Colorado converts every meaningful

communication into, at first, a solicitation of consent. As a

30. The Colorado Supreme Court construed C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) to be

inapplicable to leafletting, sign displays, and oral communications so long

as “petitioners stand still while inside the floating buffer zone.” Pet. App.

21a. But if petitioners communicate without having consent and their

movement within eight feet of another constitutes a knowing approach while

arrest and prosecution under the statute. Such burdening of communication

makes a parody of free speech.

39

consequence, pristine expression normally considered

undisruptive and nonthreatening is converted into a transaction

that disrupts passage. Cf Kokinda, 497 U.S. at 734 (“{a]s

residents of metropolitan areas know from daily experience

confrontation by a person asking for money disrupts passage

and is more intrusive and intimidating than an encounter with

a person giving out information”).

2. The ban on freedom of expression is not narrowly

tailored.

Other than a ban on “all First Amendment activities,””’ it is

difficult to imagine a law less narrowly tailored than C.R.S. §

18-9-122(3). The court below erred in concluding otherwise.

See supra § TV(A).

First, C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) restricts speech, not conduct. The

Colorado Supreme Court concluded that the General Assembly

adopted C.R.S.§ 18-9-122(3) out of concern for public safety

issues regarding the conduct of some protesters at various

health care clinics that was directed at both patients and staff.

Pet. App. 14a-15a. C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3), however, prohibits

only constitutionally significant speech and expression; that

provision leaves unfettered obstructive and threatening conduct.

See C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) (“passing a leaflet or handbill to,

displaying a sign to, or engaging in oral protest, education, or

counseling”). Thus, although the court below concluded that

the general assembly acted to prohibit obstructive conduct, the

statute imposes direct restrictions only on protected speech.

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) does “not aim specifically at evils within

the allowable area of [Colorado’s] control but, on the contrary,

sweeps within its ambit other activities that . . . constitute an

exercise of freedom of speech or of the press.” Thornhill, 310

31. Board of Airport Comm'rs, 482 U.S. at 570 (regulation prohibiting all

“First Amendment” activities in airport terminal overbroad).

40

U.S. at 97. Because the statute restricts expression rather than

obstruction, it is not narrowly tailored.” Supra §IV(A). “The

‘consent’ requirement alone invalidates this provision; it

burdens more speech than is necessary to prevent intimidation

and to insure access to the clinic.” Madsen, 512 U.S. at 774.

Second, the requirement of obtaining consent to speak is not

limited to health care patients and their families, staff, and those

with business at health care facilities. Petitioners’ expressive

activities are not limited to one-on-one communications.

Rather, their leafletting, sign displays, and oral communications

are directed to all passersby as well as to women seeking

abortions and their companions. JA 49-51, 997, 10, 12-13; JA

53, 4% 7-9; JA 55, 9J 6-8. Respondents may argue that

petitioners are not required to seek consent from everyone in

their vicinity in order to speak, asserting that the only persons

from whom consent must be obtained are the individual targets

of petitioners’ expressive activity. Under that construct,

however, petitioners, because they seek to communicate

generally to the public, see JA 49-51, #9 7, 10, 12-13; JA 53, %f

7-9; JA 55, 9¥ 6-8, are required to obtain consent from every

passerby or bystander before coming within eight feet of them

because every one of them is the target of petitioners’

communications. Neither Madsen’s “consent to speak”

provision nor Schenck’s “floating bubble zone” were so

overbroad, yet both were held to violate the Constitution.

The injunction in Schenck only applied in the vicinity of

32. The restriction on leafletting adequately evidences the fact that C.R.S.

§ 18-9-122(3) is not narrowly tailored. Time and again, this Court has

warned against even time, place and manner restrictions on that activity.

See, e.g., Ward, 491 U.S. at 799 n.7 (“[a] ban on handbilling, of course,

would suppress a great quantity of speech that does not cause the evils that

it seeks to eliminate”).

41

abortion facilities in the Western District of New York.

Schenck, 519 U.S. at 367. C.P.S. § 18-9-122(3) is not so

limited. The statute creates floating speech free zones outside

every hospital, every doctor’s office (whether general

practitioners or specialists), every ambulatory surgical center,

every public health facility, every urgent care business, every

diagnostic services or laboratory services facility, in Colorado.”

Nor is the Statute’s scope limited to the foregoing matters.

The Schenck injunction offered its limited protection only to

those seeking to use or provide the services of the protected

medical facilities. Schenck, 519 U.S. at 367 n.3.* Colorado’s

statute creates speech-free, floating bubbles around every

human being within 100 feet of the entrance to any health care

facility in Colorado. These zones surround tradesmen walking

to local lunch counters, simply because of the happenstance that

their routes pass near the doorway to dentists’ offices or county

health departments. These zones surround out-of-state tourists

walking to the United States Mint in Denver, simply because

they parked in a garage that exits onto a sidewalk running

adjacent to a health care facility. These zones surround

vehicles driving nearby when petitioners or others walk along

a sidewalk at curbside in order to display their signs to those

driving past. The list of those covered by this statute —

because it is disconnected from the provision of or need for

33. Morever, unlike Schenck, 519 U.S. at 360-65, where an adjudicated

record of misconduct by identified parties led to imposition of injunctive

restrictions in places for which demonstrable problems of access existed,

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) restricts petitioners’ (and everyone else’s) rights in the

absence of any record evidence of misconduct by them at all.

34. Similarly, the injunctive floating bubble zone in Madsen was limited in

its protective scope to those seeking access to the Aware Women’s Health

Center in Melbourne, Florida. See Madsen, 512 U.S. at 773.

42

health care services — is as long as the list of those who live in,

or visit, Colorado.

Moreover, if C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is intended to secure

access to health care facilities, imposing on speakers a

requirement that they obtain consent from all persons who are

in the vicinity of health care facilities is certainly not narrowly

tailored. For example, in Schenck, the floating bubble zone

only enveloped and protected those persons entering or leaving

the medical facilities. 519 U.S. at 367 n.3. Unlike the Schenck

injunction, floating speech-free zones engulf every person who

passes by any health care facility in the State within 100 feet of

its entrance doors. These zones absorb persons whose presence

is not a function of health care needs or the provision of health

care services. Rather, because the challenged statute is

indiscriminate, its speech-free zones envelope everyone who,

by happenstance of geography, employment or otherwise,

passes near health care facilities without any intent to use them.

Third, another provision of the same statute demonstrates that

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is not narrowly tailored to secure access

to health care facilities. C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is but one

provision of the legislation enacted by the General Assembly.

The General Assembly also enacted C.R.S. § 18-9-122(2): “{a]

person commits a class 3 misdemeanor if such person

knowingly obstructs, detains, hinders, impedes, or blocks

another person’s entry to or exit from a health care facility.”

Unlike C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3), the offense described by C.R.S.

§ 18-9-122(2) actually addresses — and seeks to ensure — access

to health care facilities. Given the direct ban on conduct that

“obstructs, detains, hinders, impedes, or blocks another

person’s entry to or exit from a health care facility,” the

superfluity of C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) as a means of securing

access to health care facilities is patent. Thus, the statute is

- <n

43

demonstrably not narrowly drawn because other means already

protect the interest the State ostensibly seeks to protect.

3. C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) does not leave open ample

alternative channels of communication.

No alternative channel of communication exists allowing

petitioners effectively to express their messages to, and

associate with, those members of the public who are seeking

access to the very health care facilities whose operations

concern petitioners. The Colorado Court of Appeals clearly

understood one implication of the statute, namely that ail

handbilling within one hundred feet of the entrance doors to

every Colorado health care facility would be banned under the

statute. Pet. App. 56a-57a (“[flinally, with reference to the fact

that leafletting may not take place within 100 feet of the

entrance to the medical clinic unless consent is given, we view

the significant governmental interest here as sufficient to

warrant the requirements of the statute”). Nonetheless, that

court upheld the statute’s constitutionality and, in its turn, the

Colorado Supreme Court affirmed that judgment. Pet. App. 3a.

The judgment affirmed below had concluded that the statute

left open “ample alternative channels of communication other

than leafletting,” including “speech for those without hearing

disabilities, placards for those with hearing deficiencies, and

other visual items for the sighted patients and staff.” Pet. App.

57a. This conclusion is wrong, and the cavalier analysis that

led to it is unprecedented. In essence, the court below justifies

the substantial burdens of the statute by telling picketers to use

their voices, speakers to use signs, leafletters to call out from a

distance, and everyone to relinquish that most sacred archetype

of free speech and free press, the hand-to-hand distribution of

free literature.

Whatever the meaning of “ample alternative channels of

ae

communication,” the constitutional principle is well-

established: “as we have said, the streets are natural and proper

places for the dissemination of information and opinion; and

one is not to have the exercise of his liberty of expression in

appropriate places abridged on the plea that it may be exercised

in some other place.” Schneider v. State, 308 U.S. 147, 160-61

(1939).

In City of Ladue v. Gilleo, 512 U.S. 43, 55-56 (1994), this

Court rejected a ban on signs displayed on one’s own property.

The City defended its ordinance on the basis that “residents

remain{ed] free to convey their desired messages by other

means, such as hand-held signs, letters, handbills, flyers,

telephone calls, newspaper advertisements, bumper stickers,

speeches and neighborhood or community meetings.” 512 U.S.

at 56. This Court was not “persuaded that adequate substitutes

exist for the important medium of speech that Ladue had closed

off.” Id.

Here, “adequate substitutes” do not exist for the oral

communications, sign displays, and hand-to-hand distribution

of leaflets that the State of Colorado has closed off. Cf

Linmark Associates v. Township of Willingboro, 431 U.S. 85,

93 (1977) (leafletting, sound trucks, demonstrations, and the

like, are less likely to reach intended audience and are less

effective than the real estate “For Sale” signs prohibited under

the challenged ordinance); Metromedia, Inc. v. City of San

Diego, 453 U.S. 490, 516 (1981) (same). The appeals court’s

“ample alternative channels” conclusion flies in the face of the

constitutional rights of free expression: “That [a regulation]

leave open ‘more burdensome’ avenues of communication,

does not relieve its burden on First Amendment expression.”

Meyer v. Grant, 486 U.S. 414, 424 (1988). This is so because,

“{t]he First Amendment protects [speakers’] right not only to

45

advocate their cause but also to select what they believe to be

the most effective means for so doing.” Jd.

The courts below erred in concluding that the statute

preserved ample alternative channels of communication.

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is unconstitutional because it employs

terms that are so “vague that men of common intelligence must

necessarily guess at [their] meaning and differ as to [their]

application.” Connally v. General Constr. Co., 269 U.S. 385,

391 (1926). C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) does not “give the person of

ordinary intelligence a reasonable opportunity to know what is

prohibited, so that he may act accordingly.” Grayned, 408 U.S.

at 108. While all laws must be reasonably clear, laws which

regulate or restrict free speech, such as § 18-9-122(3), must

satisfy “a more stringent vagueness test,” Village of Hoffman

Estates, 455 U.S. at 499 (footnote omitted).

Moreover, because of this statute’s ambiguous breadth, the

concern arises that violations will be defined by subjective,

varying, ad hoc judgments. That concern is exacerbated here,

where private citizens are empowered to license speech.

Grayned, 408 U.S. at 108-09. “Precision of regulation must be

the touchstone in an area so closely touching our most precious

freedoms.” Riley, 487 U.S. at 801 (internal quotation marks

and citations omitted). This Court has counseled:

[vjague laws offend several important values.

First, . . . [vjague laws may trap the innocent by not

providing fair warning. Second, . . . [a] vague law

impermissibly delegates basic policy matters to policemen,

judges, and juries for resolution on an ad hoc and

subjective basis, with the attendant dangers of arbitrary and

discriminatory applications. Third, . . . where a vague

statute abuts upon sensitive areas of basic First Amendment

46

freedoms, it operates to inhibit the exercise of those

freedoms.

Grayned, 408 U.S. at 108-09 (footnotes and editing marks

omitted). Accord Village of Hoffman Estates, 455 U.S. at 498.

Applying C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) to peaceful sign displays, to

leafletting, or to oral communications, on a public sidewalk

raises a host of thorny interpretive questions. No arbitrary, post

hoc response by the State can remedy the very practical but

hopelessly intractable ambiguities that result from the decision

to subject the right to freedom of speech and of the press to the

undefined duty to obtain consent before speaking in public

places and in public ways.”

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) forbids only such oral utterances as

constitute “protest,” “counseling,” or “education.” But what

counts as “protest”?*° As “education”? As “counseling”? The

expression, “Down with Dr. Smith,” for example, is presumably

a protest. But what about “Pray for Dr. Smith” or “Please

change your mind, Miss Jones”? Does the statement, “We can

help you find a naturopathic treatment for your illness,” count

as “counseling”? Does a warning about the side effects or

35. Atthis juncture, the vagueness of C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) cannot be cured

by deferring to the Colorado courts. Having had the opportunity to clarify

the statute, the Colorado Court of Appeals refused to do so. Pet. App. 44a.

The Colorado Supreme Court declined to consider the vagueness issue. Pet.

App. 46a.

36. Petitioners argued below that the term “protest” indicates that the

viewpoint expressed will determine the lawfulness of the speech, because the

usual meaning of that term includes only speech in opposition to something.

The Colorado Court of Appeals held that “protest” in the statute includes all

speech about a medical procedure, not only speech in opposition to

something. Pet. App. 44a. While that construction, implausible as it is,

cured the statute of one of the viewpoint-based defects its suffers, it also

significantly expands the scope of an already overbroad statute.

4

:

/

47

aftermath of abortion constitute “education”? What about

alerting the abortion-bound woman to the possible link between

abortion and increased risk of breast cancer?”’ Does “May I

help you?” or “Can I help you keep your baby?” count as

“counseling”? No ready answers appear to these highly

practical questions petitioners must face on pain of criminal

liability. The meanings of “protest,” “counseling,” and

“education” are “so vague that men of common intelligence

must necessarily guess at [their] meaning[s] and differ as to

[their] application[s],” Connally, 269 U.S. at 391; hence, a

restriction based on such terms is unconstitutional. Grayned,

408 U.S. at 108-09. Petitioners are forced to proceed at their

own peril — or to censor their speech out of fear of prosecution.

The Constitution forbids such government-imposed guessing

games. Grayned, 408 U.S. at 108-09.

And what of the statutory requirement of “consent[]”? The

statute restricts protected expression within eight feet of

another person unless that other person “consents.” While it

may be clear to the /istener whether he or she consents to the

speech, it is often far from clear to the speaker. Is the apparent

acquiescence of the auditor or recipient sufficient? A nod ora

shrug? An audible grunt or groan? An obvious pause in the

listener’s pace? If the sullen boyfriend of an abortion-bound

woman tells one of the petitioners to shut up, does that

command operate as a denial of consent for all covered

expression? For such expression directly targeting the father of

the soon-to-be aborted baby? The abortion-bound woman? If

37. Cf Kindley, The Fit Between the Elements for an Informed Consent

Cause of Action and the Scientific Evidence Linking Induced Abortion with

Increased Breast Cancer Risk, 1998 Wis. L. REV. 1595; Loose, Antiabortion

Message Gets Free Ride on Metro System; Ads Linking Procedure, Breast

Cancer Disputed, Washington Post, Jan. 22, 1996, at Al.

48

a loitering youth flashes a rude hand gesture, will picketers be

criminally liable for failing to hide their signs from public view

as they walk past the youth?

Moreover, although the statute restricts “knowingly

approaching” others, the statute does not indicate whether

approaches are measured from the body or from the limbs or

from personal property in the physical possession of the

speaker, such as signs, leaflets, or pamphlets. Will the

stretching outward of an arm constitute “approaching”? Will

the tendency of an orator to rock forward on the balls of his feet

as he speaks transform otherwise protected expression into a

crime? The court below was satisfied to observe that persons

seeking to exercise fundamental rights of expression could do

so if they “stand still while inside the floating buffer zone,” Pet.

App. 2la. But this touches only the tip of the vagueness

iceberg. The statute does not clarify in a constitutionally

sufficient manner whether the motion of a hand, intentionally

extended toward another person while the pamphleteer stands

still, violates the statute.

“[S]tricter standards of permissible statutory vagueness may

be applied to a statute having a potentially inhibiting effect on

speech; a man may the less be required to act at his peril here,

because the free dissemination of ideas may be the loser.”

Smith v. California, 361 U.S. 147, 149 (1959). This Court has

reiterated this more stringent scrutiny of vague laws that

impinge on first amendment rights. Hynes v. Mayor of Oradell,

425 U.S. 610, 620 (1976) (“general test of vagueness applies

with particular force in review of laws dealing with speech”).

Stringent scrutiny, together with specificity in legislation,

preclude the chill on free speech that results from vague laws:

[t]hese freedoms are delicate and vulnerable, as well as

supremely precious in our society. The threat of sanctions

49

may deter their exercise almost as potently as the actual

application of sanctions. Because First Amendment

freedoms need breathing space to survive, government may

regulate in the area only with narrow specificity.

Button, 371 U.S. at 433 (citations omitted). C.R.S. § 18-9-

122(3) fails to establish a definite standard of conduct; thus, it

violates due process because “everyone is entitled to know

what a statute requires or forbids.” Hynes, 425 U.S. at 620.

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) is vague in yet another respect. The

statute leaves enforcement too much to the unfettered discretion

of private citizens deputized by Colorado to enforce the law:

“laws must provide explicit standards for tnose who apply

them. A vague law impermissibly delegates basic policy

matters to policemen, judges, and juries for resolution on an ad

hoc and subjective basis... .” Grayned, 408 U.S. at 108-09.

Just as Cincinnati could not constitutionally regulate conduct

“through the enactment and enforcement of an ordinance whose

violation may entirely depend on whether or not a policeman is

annoyed[,]” Coates, 402 U.S. at 614, Colorado is barred from

elevating those personal predilections to a constitutional stature

greater than the free speech right itself.

The statute provides no objective guidelines for permitting

sign displays, leafletting, or the utterance of educational,

counseling, or protest speech. Auditors may decide, from their

own values, whether a person’s constitutionally protected

expression will be permitted. The right to free speech cannot

depend on the good will or eccentricities of those enforcing the

law. Such was the case in Coates, 412 U.S. at 615-16, where

this Court noted that a statute that prohibits “annoying conduct”

is an open and “obvious invitation to discriminatory

enforcement.” Subjective application of C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3)

creates a real danger that citizens will be “chilled” in the

50

exercise of their rights of free speech, press and assembly. This

is intolerable. Not only those who protest abortion will be

silenced: “the free dissemination of ideas [will be] the loser.”

Smith, 361 U.S. at 149.

CONCLUSION

C.R.S. § 18-9-122(3) preconditions freedom of expression on

the consent of passersby. It directly restricts constitutional

rights. While purporting to serve an interest in securing access

to health care facilities, it does not prohibit obstructive conduct

at all. Instead, it suppresses freedom, without a close fit

between expressive activities and the asserted interest in

ensuring access to health care facilities.

The judgment below should be reversed.

/) Respectfully submitted,

THOMAS P. MONAGHAN JAY ALAN SEKULOW

AMERICAN CENTER FOR Counsel of Record

LAW & JUSTICE JAMES M. HENDERSON, SR.

6375 New Hope Road WALTER M. WEBER

New Hope, KY 40052 JOEL H. THORNTON

(502) 549-7020 AMERICAN CENTER FOR

Law & JUSTICE

ROGER W. WESTLUND 1000 Thos. Jefferson St. NW

12000 N. Washington, #207 Suite 609

Thornton, CO 80241 Washington, DC 20007

(303) 450-0833 (202) 337-2273

Attorneys for Petitioners

November 12, 1999

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.