Petition for Writ of Certiorari — UNUM Life Ins. Co. of America v. Ward

Supreme Court brief1999

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U,8,

FILED

it 971868 way 201998

oem

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

UNUM LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY OF AMERICA,

y. Petitioner,

JOHN E. WARD,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Of Counsel:

TAMARRA T. RENNICK

Litigation Counsel

UNUM LIFE INSURANCE

COMPANY OF AMERICA

2211 Congress Street

Portland, ME 04122

(207) 770-2211

LESLEY C. GREEN

RUSSELL G. PETTI

BANNAN, GREEN &

FRANK LLP

555 South Flower Street

44th Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90017

(213) 362-1177

Davip L. BACON

Counsel of Record

BENJAMIN I. DELANCY

CHARLES M. DYKE

THELEN, MARRIN, JOHNSON

& Bripces LLP

833 So. Grand Avenue

84th Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90071

(213) 621-9800

Attorneys for Petitioner

UNUM Life Insurance

Company of America

WILSON - EPEsS PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether, in an opinion expressly acknowledging a

circuit conflict—indeed, one affecting eight circuits—the

Ninth Circuit erred in holding that a state law (the

“notice-prejudice” rule) need not satisfy all three Mc-

Carran-Ferguson Act criteria for the “business of insur-

ance” in order to be saved from preemption under ERISA.

2. Whether the Ninth Circuit—contrary to the law in

nine other circuits—erred in holding that a state law

survives ERISA preemption even though it conflicts not

only with ERISA’s requirement that fiduciaries administer

all plans “in accordance with” their written terms, but

also with ERISA’s exclusive civil enforcement scheme by

expanding the remedies beyond those expressly provided

for in the Act.

3. Whether—also contrary to the law in other circuits

—the Ninth Circuit erred in holding that ERISA does not

preempt a state law (one incorporating agency principles)

even though it conflicts not only with ERISA’s regulation

of initial claims filing and processing and its allocation of

fiduciary responsibility, but also with the remedies pro-

vided in its exclusive civil enforcement scheme.

(i)

ii

PARTIES

The petitioner is UNUM Life Insurance Company of

America (“UNUM”). The respondent is John E. Ward.

Pursuant to Rule 29.6 of the Rules of the Supreme

Court, petitioner states that UNUM Corporation is the

parent of UNUM. UNUM Corporation has two non-

wholly owned subsidiaries, Boston Compania Argentina

de Seguros S.A. and UNUM Delaware Company. UNUM

Life Insurance Company of America has one non-wholly

owned subsidiary, SP Administrator, LLC.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED oo ceeeccecceesseseesees i

nel G2 ak le a Ra a aa ii

I I as i 2 1

i a a a a 1

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED... 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE cece 2

ee 2

B. The District Court Proceeding ............. 4

C. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision ......... 5

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT... 9

I. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S ERISA PREEMP-

TION DECISION CONFLICTS DIRECTLY

WITH HOLDINGS IN THE THIRD, FIFTH,

SEVENTH, EIGHTH, TENTH AND ELEV-

EE Ue ee EE 9

Il. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S PREEMPTION DE-

CISION CONFLICTS DIRECTLY WITH NINE

OTHER CIRCUITS WHICH ENFORCE WRIT-

TEN PLAN PROVISIONS SUCH AS NOTICE

Ill. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S PREEMPTION DE-

CISION COMPLETELY DISRUPTS THE

UNIFORMITY OF LAW INTENDED

aac Set 16

A. Disruptions Caused By The “Notice-

Prejudice” Rule ..................... leon 18

IV.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

B. Disruptions Caused By The “Elfstrom”

TD ccccrecimascistnentdhninncecetcnadinegieesemmnenacictorbennimatcinens

THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S PREEMPTION DE-

CISION IS AN ATTEMPT TO CIRCUMVENT

THIS COURT’S CONTROLLING PILOT LIFE

te ee

THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED BY THIS

PETITION HOLD IMPORTANT IMPLICA-

TIONS FOR ERISA PLANS THAT SHOULD

BE ADDRESSED BY THIS COURT ...............

CORICIAIEIOIN necnenceescceceeccnsnsecvscoesntntiasinindentnensccosisannennnte

APPENDIX

St eee

Ee eee a ee A

Order of the Court of Appeals denying Petition for

Rehearing, with Suggestion for Rehearing en Banc,

entered March 23, 1998 ........... ~

Order of the District Court granting Summary

Judgment, filed August 8, 1995.

Declaration of John A. Houser, III And Portions

of Exhibits In Support of Motions for Summary

Judgment, filed June 26, 1995 ................

Exhibit Portions (MacQuarrie and Ward Deposi-

tion Excerpts) to Declaration of Jeffrey P. Smith,

Bo |} ars Peat eS eee

District Court Complaint, filed September 19, 1994..

18

S

la

27a

77a

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Accardi v. Davidson, 469 U.S. 899 (1984)...

Anschultz v. Connecticut General Life Ins. Co.,

850 F.2d 1467 (11th Cir. 1988) 00000

Belasco v. W.K.P. Wilson & Sons, Inc., 883 F.2d

NS ES ee ee

Boggs v. Boggs, 117 S. Ct. 1754 (1997)

Boyer v. Douglas Components Corp., 986 F.2d 999

SRE See Se eer ee ee.

Brazinski v. Amoco Petroleum Additives Co., 6

3. EY ere

Brezan v. Prudential Insurance Co. of America,

507 F. Supp. 962 (E.D.Pa. 1981) .

Brewer v. Lincoln Nat'l Life Ins. Co., 921 F.2d 150

EE ae ee aE

Burnham v. Guardian Life Ins. Co., 873 F.2d 486

(1st Cir. 1989) .

California Div. of Labor ‘Standards Enforcement

v. Dillingham Const., 117 S. Ct. 832 (1997)...

Cefalu v. B.F. Goodrich Co., 871 F.2d 1290 (5th

ERE a a Se ee

Central States, Southeast and Southwest Areas

Pension Fund v. Mississippi Warehouse Corp.,

853 F. Supp. 1053 (N.D. Ill. 1994)

Christie v. K-Mart Corp. Employees Retirement

Pension Plan, 784 F. Supp. 796 (D. Kan. 1992) ..

CIGNA Healthplan v. Louisiana, 82 F.3d 642 (5th

Cir.), cert. denied, 117 S.Ct. 386 (1996)...

Cisneros v. UNUM Life Ins. Co. of America, 134

fF ne ee

Coleman v. Nationwide Life Ins. Co., 969 F.2d 54

(4th Cir. 1992) (same), cert. denied, 506 U.S.

ET ee ee oe

Curtis-Wright Corp. v. Schoonejongen, 514 U.S.

oS Sno: es

Davies v. Centennial Life Ins. Co., 128 F.3d 934

RE es as ee

Davison v. Cook, 564 F. Supp. 225 (E.D. Va.

1983), aff'd. mem., 784 F.2d 10 (4th Cir. 1984).

Dawes Mining Co. v. Callahan, 246 Ga. 531

0

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

DeBruyne v. Equitable Life Assurance Soc., 920

2° By, Vt Se ) ee 10

Dedeauz v. Pilot Life Ins. Co., 770 F.2d 1311 (5th

Cir. 1985) soveesenesenusenneessnnetsnsesnnessensesnnecssnanenstennanssstts 8

District of Columbia v. The Greater Washington

Bd. of Trade, 506 U.S. 125 (1992) .....................- 20

Doe v. Blue Cross & Blue Shield United, 112 F.3d

ON Lt Sb . __, / Sane ne 13

Edwards v. Great-West Life Assur. Co., 20 F.3d

Oy. + | | emer anen Se een 14

Elfstrom v. New York Life Ins., Co., 67 Cal.2d 503

CID a vscccrneecnnsnnteeteinetiindeasiatiiarianctiacsessiieimasiisaentl 5, 18, 22

First National Bank of Anson County v. Gatewood,

eens Ts BS 28

Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne, 482 US. 1 om

| TTT 2) Wa ES SS

Group Life & Health Ins. Co. v. Royal Drug Co.,

P . ie | Sa eae 6,9

Heath v. Varity Corp., 71 F.3d 256 (7th Cir. .

Ta a ree mk eee

Howard v. Gleason Corp., 910 F.2d 1154 (2d Cir ‘

| ener PT ee ee

Hunt v. Hawthorne Associates, Inc., 119 F.3d 888

CRD GR. BOT anccsncctce ci cccsenctnsneescnsdctrnsnincesstnmnes 14

Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133 =

| ee ae wees en

Insurance Bd. v. Muir, 819 F.2d 408 (3d Cir “s

DODD scicnictliickicncncoeephictnintinthissinictnehiilhncbecsitejebatectindentiimantiiae

Jass v. Prudential Healthcare Plan, Inc., 88 F.3d

oF 2. 9 A eee 18, 18, 20

Justice v. Bankers Trust Co., Inc., 607 F. Supp.

I ES 22

Kelley v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 882 F.2d 453 (10th

es Tees a 10

Kennedy v. System One Holdings, Inc., 835 F

Supp. 947 (S.D. Tex. 1998) .....-------ee 15

Kinkead v. Southwestern Bell Sick. & Acci. Corp.

Disability Benefit Plan, 111 F.3d 67 (8th Cir. ”

gp eS Se eee oe ee

Laws v. Calmat, 852 F.2d 430 (9th Cir. 1988) ........ 16

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Massachusetts Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Russell, 478

SS 8, | er eee ra ee 16, 20

McKinsey v. Sentry Ins. Co., 986 F.2d 401 (10th

EEE SE ae Le te 22

McMahan v. New England Mut. Life Ins. Co., 888

F.2d 426 (6th Cir. 1989) 00000 10

Member Services Life Ins. Co. v. Amer. National

Bank and Trust Co., 130 F.3d 950 (10th Cir.

eee se. TT Nee 14

Mertens v. Hewitt Associates, 508 U.S. 248

FIAT RE SE Coal oes TUS ee Sere es 11

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Henry, 217 Ind. 38

FRR OR EA PCRs ee ee ee SPE Cee 28

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471

— Ee ne See BES 6

Nachwalter v. Christie, 805 F.2d 956 (11th Cir.

EAE ee Se ae te 14

National Conf. of Blue Cross-Blue Shield Plans v.

Travelers Ins. Co., 514 U.S. 645 (1996) 11, 16, 20, 28

Nazay v. Miller, 949 F.2d 1823 (3d Cir. 1991)... 13

Perkins v. Time Ins. Co., 898 F.2d 470 (5th Cir.

EEE TO REE ee a TEL es se eee 20

Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41

SS EE eT A 6, 12, 18, 16, 17

Pohl v. National Benefits Consultants, Inc., 956 ;

F.2d 126 (7th Cir. 1992) 00 12, 14

Roe v. General American Life Ins. Co., 712 F.2d

Sr 13

Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85 (1983). 12, 26

Smith v. Jefferson Pilot Life Ins. Co., 14 F.3d 562

Et IRE ere ee ae eT ee ee 13

Tiger v. AT&T Tech. Plan for Employees’ Pen-

Tingle v. Pacific Mut. Ins. Co., 996 F.2d 105 (Sth

AS Seen ete SER A ET aT Tal Ee 7,9, 10

Turrill v. Life Ins. Co. of North America, 753 F.2d

SS FR Sd Ls ee 8,19

Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967) ne. - 8

vili ~

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Varsic v. United States Dist. Ct., 607 F.2d 245

eS a ae 26

White v. Jacobs Engineering Group Long Term

Disability Plan, 896 F.2d 344 (9th Cir. 1990)... 15

Williams v. UNUM Life Ins. Co. of Am., 118 F.3d

OR, OR Ry RR enh Eee e ee eee 10

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

0 Oe Bh eciitticntninanmmnnmnitiiie 2

ERISA § 2(a), 29 U.S.C. § 1001 (a) ........................ 29

ERISA § 3(16) (A) (B), 29 U.S.C. § 1002(16) (A) .. 2

ERISA §§ 401-414, 29 U.S.C. §§ 1101-1114 ............... 12

ERISA § 402(a) (2), 29 U.S.C. § 1102(a) (2) ......... 13

ERISA § 404(a) (1) (D), 29 U.S.C. §§ 1104(a) (1) ;

| REESE ee aeRO Ferny \ a deere

ERISA § 502(a) (1) (B), 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a) (1)

EE ee eee eae 7, 8, 18, 24

ERISA § 608, 29 U.S.C. § L1BB 2... ccecceneeeecceeeene 2

ERISA § 504(a), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a) ...................... 5, 8, 12

ERISA § 504(b) (2) (A), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b) (2) ihe

OD | cs iia, inci isteialiasisitenditiiinintiiiiantilinlnititibislencaittidiniatines ‘

ERISA § 504(b) (2) (B), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b) (2) Pe

OO ih Siiccshi csttiethintalichnittinnsitencsctitlandibiiileaiie

BD C.F. B BESOBEB-1 CD) ~..2002200000000-000cccrcceesnesrcccessess 15

29 C.F.R. § 2560.508-1 (0) =~ (GD) ooo cccccccccccceneeeenenenes 25

29 C.F.R. § 2560.50B-1 (0) = (Gf) -....-.-ccccccccecccneneennnees 25

29 C.P.R. § 2660.503-1(G) (2) ..........-ccccccceeceeceeecnennnes 25

OTHER AUTHORITIES

13A George J. Couch et al., Couch Cyclopedia of

Insurance Law § 49.49 at 276-77 (2d ed. 1982).. 27

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBEeR TERM, 1997

No.

UNUM Lire INsuRANCE CoMPANY OF AMERICA,

» Petitioner,

JouHNn E. Warp,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner, UNUM Life Insurance Company of America

(“UNUM”), respectfully submits that a writ of certiorari

should issue to review the judgment and opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in

this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at 135

F.3d 1276 (9th Cir. 1998), and is reprinted in the Ap-

pendix (“App.”) at la to 25a. The Court of Appeals’

denial of UNUM’s petition for rehearing, with a sugges-

tion for rehearing en banc, entered on March 23, 1998, is

unreported. App. at 26a. The District Court's opinion

granting summary judgment to UNUM (App. at 27a to

33a) is unreported.

2

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals’ order denying UNUM'’s petition

for rehearing, with a suggestion for rehearing en banc, was

entered on March 23, 1998. This petition is being timely

filed within 90 days of that date. This Court has jurisdic-

tion pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the statutes and regulations set forth

at App. 99a to 108a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Factual Background

In February of 1983, UNUM issued a group long-term

disability insurance policy to fund an employee welfare

benefit plan (the “Plan”) sponsored by Management

Analysis Company (“MAC”), an employer with multi-

state operations. App. at 59a, 47a. Respondent John

Ward worked for MAC in California, serving as its Presi-

dent and Chief Executive Officer (“CEO”). App. at 2a,

78a, 83a to 86a. The Plan is covered by the Employee

Retirement Income Security Act (“ERISA”). App. at 2a.

While the employer-sponsor served as Plan Administrator,’

UNUM performed not only the Plan’s initial claims-

handling and payment functions, but also the fiduciary

review procedure for denied claims required by ERISA.’

The Plan explicitly stated that the employer serves as

Plan Administrator and acts on its own behalf or as an

agent for its employees, and not as UNUM’s agent. App.

at 44a.

A participant in the Plan since its inception in 1983,

Ward concedes that he was aware of the Plan and had

received from MAC in 1983 a certificate of coverage con-

1 App. at 18a; ERISA § 3(16)(A), (B), 29 U.S.C. § 1002(16)(A),

(B).

2 App. at 39a; ERISA § 503, 29 U.S.C. § 1133.

3

taining the Plan’s summary plan description. App. at 2a.

This certificate described not only the Plan’s benefits and

requirements for eligibility and participation, but also the

procedures and deadlines Ward had to follow in submit-

ting claims to UNUM. App. at 4la to 43a. As CEO,

Ward met annually with the company’s human resources

division to review MAC’s insurance plans, including the

Plan, and five months before his resignaticn he attended

a company-wide meeting relating to MAC’s benefits at

which a UNUM representative gave a summary of the

Plan’s benefits. App. at 32a to 33a.

Ward served as President and CEO of MAC until May

8, 1992, when he resigned upon the Board of Directors’

request over financial concerns about a particular com-

pany project. App. at 27a. Ward asserts that by May

of 1992, he had begun to experience a disabling condition,

and that by December of that year he had received a

medical diagnosis of his diabetes and alleged disability. In

early 1993, he applied for and received state disability

benefits, and alleges that he contacted MAC’s human

resources division to discuss extension of his COBRA con-

tinuation insurance. In July of 1993, he received a Social

~ Security Determination that he was eligible for Social

Security benefits, a copy of which he sent to the human

resources division. App. at 28a.

Ward, however, did not submit a claim for plan bene-

fits until April, 1994. UNUM received Ward’s notice and

proof of claim form on April 11, 1994, nearly two years

after the onset of his claimed disability. This was UNUM’s

first actual notice of the claimed disability. App. at 38a.

The Plan’s written notice and proof of claim provisions

required a participant to submit to UNUM written notice

of claim for plan benefits within 30 days of the date a

disability starts, if possible, and a written proof of claim,

at the latest, one year and 180 days after the onset of

disability. App. at 42a to 43a. Ward’s notice of claim

4

was untimely by nearly 15 months, and his written proof

of claim was submitted nearly five months after the Plan’s

last deadline. App. at 5a. Accordingly, no benefits were

“due” under the Plan’s written terms.

Ward asserted, however, that he did not know about

the “availability” of the Plan until April of 1994, when

he claims he discovered his certificate of coverage among

papers in his safety deposit box. App. at 3a. Ward also

contended that MAC should be considered the “agent” of

UNUM notwithstanding that MAC was the Plan Adminis-

trator and the Plan expressly stated that MAC was not

UNUM'’s agent; that MAC purportedly knew he was “dis-

abled” by 1992 or 1993; and that this claimed knowledge

should not only be imputed to UNUM but also free him

from the Plan’s written requirements of timely written

notice and proof of claim to UNUM. App. at 7a to 8a.

After reviewing Ward’s claim for plan benefits and sup-

porting materials, UNUM determined that he was inelig-

ible because he did not submit his written claim within the

Plan’s written time limits. UNUM notified him of its deci-

sion in April of 1994; he, in turn, requested a review.

App. at 29a, 90a to 95a. In the ERISA-required fiduciary

review procedure for denied claims, UNUM upheld the

decision to deny plan benefits. App. at 96a to 98a.

B. The District Court Proceeding

On September 15, 1995, Ward filed sut against UNUM

and the Plan in United States District Court for the South-

ern District of California to recover plan benefits under

ERISA. App. at 77a to 98a. He did not assert a claim

against MAC. On August 8, 1995, the District Court

granted UNUM and the Plan summary judgment under

ERISA. App. at 27a to 33a. The District Court held that

the Plan’s written proof of claim provision required that

proof of claim be filed with UNUM in writing within one

year and 180 days after the onset of disability. and that

Ward failed to comply with this provision. Additionally,

5

the District Court rejected Ward’s arguments that Califor-

nia’s common-law “Elfstrom” rule* survived ERISA pre-

emption and governed the payment of plan benefits. App.

at 30a to 33a. The “Elfstrom” rule, if appliceble, would

make MAC the “agent” of UNUM, imputing to UNUM

any knowledge which the employer had of Ward’s disabil-

ity and, also in Ward’s view, requiring the payment of

benefits regardless of the fact that the Plan’s written proof

of claim provision had been violated. Ward appealed.

C. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision

On appeal of the summary judgment, the Ninth Circuit

reversed the District Court's decision on two grounds, the

“Elfstrom” rule and California’s “notice-prejudice” rule.

The Ninth Circuit’s holdings on both rules warrant a

plenary review.

The Ninth Circuit agreed that Ward failed to satisfy

the Plan’s unambiguous written proof of claim provision.

It then addressed Ward’s contention that the “notice-

Prejudice” rule would preclude UNUM—the claims re-

view fiduciary—from upholding the claim denial unless it

could establish “actual prejudice” from the failure to

comply with the proof of claim provision. The Ninth

Circuit held that California’s common-law “notice-preju-

dice” rule was within the scope of ERISA preemption as a

state law which “related to” an employee benefit plan.

ERISA § 514(a), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a). It held, how-

ever, that the rule was “saved” from ERISA’s preemption

because it was a state law regulating insurance, ERISA

§514(b)(2)(A), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A), and

therefore could be applied to Ward’s claim for plan bene-

fits. In so doing, the Ninth Circuit followed its earlier

decision in Cisneros v. UNUM Life Ins. Co. of America,

134 F.3d 939 (9th Cir. 1998) (“Cisneros”), App. at Sa

* The rule takes its name from Elfstrom v. N

Co., 67 Cal.2d 503, 505 (1967). . en See ae ap,

6

to 6a, a case in which a petition for writ of certiorari is

being filed concurrently herewith.*

In Cisneros, the Ninth Circuit had concluded that under

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S.

724, 744 (1985), and Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481

U.S. 41, 48-50 (1987), ERISA’s “saving” clause may be

applicable only if the state law clears two hurdles: a

common-sense test that the law be “specifically directed

at the insurance industry, and the “saving” clause require-

ment that the law must “regulate insurance.” 134 F.3d at

944-945. To determine whether the state law regulated

insurance, the Court analyzed whether it satisfies the three

McCarran-Ferguson Act criteria for the “business of in-

surance.” Id. at 945. Under these criteria as articulated

by the Supreme Court, the state law must first have the

effect of transferring or spreading the policyholder’s risk

of loss to the insurer, “an indispensable characteristic of

insurance.” Group Life & Health Ins. Co. v. Royal Drug

Co., 440 U.S. 205, 211-212 (1979). Second, the state law

must be an integral part of the insurance policy relation-

ship between insurer and insured. Third, it must be lim-

ited to entities within the insurance industry. Metropolitan

Life, 471 U.S. at 743; Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 48-50, Ad-

ditionally, to avoid a conflicts-preemption bar, the state

law—even if it otherwise satisfies the “saving” clause—

must not conflict with one of ERISA’s substantive provi-

siens, including its exclusive civil enforcement scheme.

Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 51-57.

In Cisneros, the Ninth Circuit found that California’s

“notice-prejudice” rule did not transfer or spread the pol-

icyholder’s risk of loss to the insurer, and thus failed to

satisfy the first McCarran-Ferguson criterion. Finding that

the rule satisfied the last two criteria, the court then held

that ERISA’s “saving” clause would preserve a state

common-law rule even though it did not satisfy all three

criteria. 134 F.3d at 945-946. The Cisneros court ex-

* Respondent has been provided a copy of the petition in the

Cisneros case.

7

pressly acknowledged that its ERISA “saving” clause hold-

ing conflicted with two decisions by the Fifth Circuit,

CIGNA Healthplan v. Louisiana, 82 F.3d 642, 650 (Sth

Cir.), cert. denied, 117 S.Ct. 386 (1996), and Tingle v.

Pacific Mut. Ins, Co., 996 F.2d 105, 108 (Sth Cir. 1993).

It stated: “We recognize that the Fifth Circuit has held

that all three of the McCarran-Ferguson factors must be

satisfied .... We... disagree.” 134 F.3d at 946,

The Cisneros court also rejected UNUM’s arguments,

based on Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 51-57, that the “notice-

prejudice” rule should nevertheless be preempted under

conflicts-preemption because it conflicted with a number

of ERISA’s key substantive provisions. UNUM pointed

out that the rule would require the payment of plan bene-

fits under circumstances where payment is barred not only

by the Plan’s written terms, but also by ERISA’s fiduciary

responsibility provisions requiring that plans must be ad-

ministered “in accordance with” their written terms, and

its exclusive civil enforcement scheme allowing suit for

benefits only if “due” under those terms. ERISA §§ 404

(a)(1)(D), 502(a)(1)(B), 29 U.S.C. §§ 1104(a)(1)

(D), 1132(a)(1)(B). UNUM also pointed out that the

Cisneros holding would result in situations where a claim

would be granted or denied depending on which state’s

law applied. The Ninth Circuit acknoweldged a direct

conflict between the “notice-prejudice” rule and ERISA,

conceding that the rule caused “a plan's written terms [to

be] altered,” caused “complications and extra burdens” on

plan administration, and made the plan “more difficult to

administer.” Furthermore, it acknowledged that the rule

“differ[ed| markedly” in various states. 134 F.3d at

947 (emphasis added). Nevertheless, the court rejected

UNUM’s argument that ERISA preempted the “notice-

prejudice” rule.

In addition to adopting the “notice-prejudice” rule, the

Ward court held that ERISA did not preempt California’s

8

common-law “Elfstrom” rule® under which the employer,

as administrator of a group insurance plan, is deemed the

‘agent” of the insurer and its knowledge is imputed to the

insurer. Ward thus allowed two state law rules to penetrate

ERISA’s regulatory sphere, in contrast to Cisneros. Sim-

ilarly to the “notice-prejudice” rule, the “Elfstrom” rule

would require the payment of plan benefits under circum-

stances where payment is barred both by the Plan’s written

terms and ERISA’s fiduciary responsibility and civil en-

forcement provisions. The Ninth Circuit nevertheless held

that the rule did not “relate to” an ERISA plan within the

meaning of ERISA’s preemption clause in §514(a). It

based this extraordinary holding on Turrill v. Life Ins. Co.

of North America, 753 F.2d 1322 (Sth Cir. 1985),

which preceded this Court’s 1987 landmark decision in

Pilot Life, supra. App. at 16a to 20a. The Ninth Circuit

inferred that Turrill, a 1985 diversity jurisdiction case,

supported a holding of no ERISA preemption because the

Fifth Circuit had discussed state law agency theory with-

out, as the Ninth Circuit put it, “even hint{ing] that state

agency law is somehow preempted by ERISA.” App. at

18a. This is hardly surprising, given that prior to Pilot

Life the lower courts, including the Fifth Circuit, uni-

formly—but incorrectly—held that ERISA did not pre-

empt such claims. See, e.g., Dedeaux v. Pilot Life Ins.

Co., 770 F.2d 1311 (Sth Cir. 1985), decided by the

same three judge panel as Turrill, reversed by Pilot Life,

supra. Pilot Life in 1987 held that state common-law ac-

tions involving claims processing and the failure to pay

benefits under an insured ERISA plan obviously “relate to”

the plan because they have “‘a connection with or refer-

ence to such a plan.’” It therefore held that ERISA pre-

empted these claims both through the preemption clause

in §514(a) and through the exclusivity of its civil en-

forcement scheme in § 502(a). 481 U.S. at 47-48, 52-57.

It was on this impliedly overruled and discredited Fifth

Circuit authority that the Ninth Circuit relied in adopting

state agency law in a suit for plan benefits.

5 Elfstrom v. New York Life Ins. Co., 67 Cal.2d 503, 505 (1967).

9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE NINTH CIRCUIT'S ERISA PREEMPTION DE-

CISION CONFLICTS DIRECTLY WITH HOLDINGS

IN THE THIRD, FIFTH, SEVENTH, EIGHTH,

TENTH AND ELEVENTH CIRCUITS.

Once again, the Ninth Circuit has brought itself sharply

into conflict with other Circuits on important federal is-

sues which require unformity nationwide. The ERISA pre-

emption decision on the “notice-prejudice” rule in Ward

and Cisneros creates an acknowledged, direct conflict

among holdings in the Circuits which only this Court can

resolve. The Ninth Circuit's holding has engendered a

similar holding in the Sixth Circuit but squarely conflicts

with the holdings of the Fifth Circuit, which require a state

law to satisfy all three of the McCarran-Ferguson Act fac-

tors for the “business of insurance” in order to be “saved”

from ERISA preemption. CIGNA Healthplan v. Loui-

siana, 82 F.3d 642, 650 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 117

S.Ct. 387 (1996); Tingle v. Pacific Mut. Ins. Co. 996

F.2d 105, 108 (Sth Cir. 1993). The Cisneros decision

pe gy poe this direct conflict. 134 F.3d at 946. In

deed, conflict is even more widespread as shown

Tingle’s observation that “(t]he Eleventh, Sixth, Tenth

and Eighth Circuits have all held that a statute's failure

to satisfy one or more of the Metropolitan Life factors

excludes it from the ERISA saving insurance clause.”

996 F.2d at 110. Most recently in Davies v. Centennial

Life Ins. Co., 128 F.3d 934, 940 (6th Cir. 1997), the

Sixth Circuit acknowledged the widening Circuit conflict

as to .hether all three McCarran-Ferguson factors are

required, holding that “no single one is dispositive.” It

followed Cisneros and provided a but see reference to the

Fifth Circuit’s CIGNA decision.

The Ninth Circuit’s holding that the “saving” clause

does not require satisfaction of the first prong of the

McCarran-Ferguson test—the actual spreading or trans-

fer of the of loss—further conflicts with the

of the Third, Seventh, Eighth, Tenth and Eleventh Cir-

10

cuits, all of which have uniformly ruled that state laws

which fail to spread or transfer an insurance policyhold-

er’s risk, an “indispensable characteristic of insurance,”

Group Life & Health Ins. Co. v. Royal Drug Co., 440

U.S. 205, 211-213 (1979), are not saved from preemp-

tion by ERISA § 514(b)(2)(A).°

The Ninth Circuit’s preemption decision not only de-

stroys the national uniform: y of law in plan administra-

tion that is one of ERISA’s chief goals, but also causes

a Circuit split that is certain to widen in the future and

encompass additional state law rules. This Court need look

no further than two companion cases involving petitioner

UNUM for a sampling of what the Ninth Circuit has in

store for ERISA preemption law and ERISA plan spon-

sors. See Cisneros, petition for a writ of certiorari filed

concurrently herewith (the same “notice-prejudice” rule

at issue herein); Williams v. UNUM Life Ins. Co., 113

F.3d 1108, 1113 (9th Cir. 1997) (California’s “rolling

accrual” proof of loss provision (each monthly failure

to pay benefits constitutes a new cause of action) may

void an ERISA plan’s limitation of actions provision).

The Ninth Circuit’s reasoning in both of those cases is

the same as its reasoning in the present case. It was

because of the significant consequences the Ninth and

Sixth Circuits’ new preemption holdings will have on

* Insurance Bd. v. Muir, 819 F.2d 408, 412 (3d Cir. 1987) (state

law which does not affect transfer of risk or satisfy any other

McCarran-Ferguson Act factor is preempted); Tingle, 996 F.2d at

108 (state law which fails to transfer risk is preempted) ; McMahan

v. New England Mut. Life Ins. Co., 888 F.2d 426, 428-30 (6th Cir.

1989) (state law which fails to transfer risk or satisfy third factor

is preempted) ; DeBruyne v. Equitable Life Assurance Soc., 920 F.2d

457, 468-70 (7th Cir. 1990) (same); Brewer v. Lincoln Nat'l Life

Ins. Co., 921 F.2d 150, 153-54 (8th Cir. 1990) (state law which fails

to transfer risk is preempted); cert. denied, 501 U.S. 1238 (1991);

Kelley v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 882 F.2d 453, 455-56 (10th Cir.

1989) (state law which fails to transfer risk or satisfy second factor

is preempted) ; Anschultz v. Connecticut General Life Ins. Co., 850

F.2d 1467, 1468-69 (11th Cir. 1988) (same).

Il. THE NINTH CIRCUITS PREEMPTION DECISION

CONFLICTS DIRECTLY WITH NINE OTHER CIR-

CUITS WHICH ENFORCE WRITTEN PLAN PRO-

VISIONS SUCH AS NOTICE REQUIREMENTS.

Still another reason supports the granting of a writ of

certiorari. In a direct clash with ERISA’s plain language

and decisions from nine other Circuits, the Ninth Circuit's

adoption of the “notice-prejudice” and “Elfstrom” rules

will allow state common-law claims in one or more states

to void a number of ERISA’s key substantive provisions

and prohibit written plan notice requirements permitted

by ERISA. In so doing, the decision not only destroys

ERISA’s goals of a “uniform body of benefit law” and the

“nationally uniform administration” of plans, National

Conf. of Blue Cross-Blue Shield Plans v. Travelers Ins.

Co., 514 U.S. 645, 657 (1996) (citation omitted) (em-

phasis added) (“Travelers”), but also overlooks signifi-

cant constraints which ERISA, this Court and the other

Circuits have imposed on the adoption of state common-

law principles in the employee benefit field.

As set forth in more detail at pages 8 to 14 of the peti-

tion for a writ of certiorari in Cisneros, ERISA is a “ ‘com-

prehensive and reticulated statute,’ the product of a dec-

ade of congressional study of the nation’s private em-

ployee benefit system.” Mertens v. Hewitt Associates.

508 U.S. 248, 251 (1993) (citation omitted). One of

ERISA’s purposes is to avoid a “multiplicity of regula-

tion”, a “ ‘conflict in ... . law’” and ‘“ conflicting direc-

tives’ ” between federal and state regulatory systems.

Travelers, 514 U.S. at 656-657. ERISA contains a pre-

emption clause in § 514(a) which, among other effects,

12

preempts state laws that “mandate[] employee benefit

structures or their administration,” “prohibit” what is

“permitted” by federal law, “preclude uniform administra-

tive practice,” or provide “alternate enforcement mecha-

nisms.” 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a); 514 U.S. at 657-658, 660.

In striking a balance between competing federal and state

interests, Congress made the administration of both in-

sured and self-funded ERISA plans, including claims

processing, “ ‘exclusively a federal concern.’” Pilot Life

Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 45-46 (1987) (citation

omitted). Congress intended to “minimize[] the need for

interstate employers to administer their plans differently

in each State in which they have employees.” Shaw vy.

Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 105 (1983).

To ensure uniformity of law, Congress enacted a broad

array of national, uniform fiduciary standards to govern

the administration of both self-funded and insured ERISA

plans. ERISA §§ 401-414, 503, 29 U.S.C. §§ 1101-1114,

1133. Indeed, Congress codified federal “trust” principles

in ERISA not merely to ensure “uniformity,” but also to

ensure that certain “plans, such as insured plans, which

do not use the trust form as their mode of funding,” would

be subject to the same exacting standards.’

Additionally, one “of ERISA’s purposes is to protect

the financial integrity of pension and welfare plans by con-

fining benefits to the terms of the plan as written.” Pohl v.

National Benefits Consultants, Inc., 956 F.2d 126, 128

(7th Cir. 1992) (Posner, J.) ERISA’s “written plan

instrument” rule, one of ERISA’s “core functional re-

quirements,” Curtis-Wright Corp. v. Schoonejongen, 514

U.S. 78, 84 (1995), assists in ensuring the nationally

uniform administration of plans. It requires that all

plans—self funded and insured alike—be in writing and

be administered by fiduciaries “in accordance with” their

‘H.R. Rep. No. 533, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. 12 (1973) 2 Legislative

History of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act at 2259

(emphasis added).

13

written terms to the extent not inconsistent with ERISA.

ERISA §§401(a), (b), 404(a)(1)(D), 29 U.S.C.

§§ 1102(a), (b), 1104(a)(1)(D) (emphasis added).

Moreover, ERISA’s exclusive civil enforcement provisions

ensure the same goals, authorizing suit only if benefits are

“due” under those written terms. ERISA § 502(a)(1)(B),

29 U.S.C. §1132(a)(1)(B); Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at

52-57.

Apart from the Ninth Circuit, the Courts of Appeals

have consistently carried forward ERISA’s goal of a uni-

form national body of law to govern plan administration

by holding that ERISA preempts state common-law “no-

tice” rules or “notice” statutes, or state law agency rules,

all of which vary from state to state. The decisions’ ra-

tionale is that these state laws not only “relate to” ERISA

plans, but also conflict either with the sponsor’s freedom

of plan design or the Act’s comprehensive regulatory

scheme. See, ¢.g., Nazay v. Miller, 949 F.2d 1323, 1336-

1337 (3d Cir. 1991) (ERISA preempts “notice-prejudice”

rule with respect to self-funded plan); Howard v. Gleason

Corp., 910 F.2d 1154, 1157-1158 (2d Cir. 1990)

(ERISA preempts state statute requiring a terminated

employee be notified of insurance conversion options) ;

Smith v. Jefferson Pilot Life Ins. Co., 14 F.3d 562, 571

(11th Cir.) (ERISA preempts state statute governing

notice to insured of termination of coverage), cert. denied,

513 U.S. 808 (1994); Doe v. Blue Cross & Blue Shield

United, 112 F.3d 869, 874-875 (7th Cir. 1997) (ERISA

plan’s internal limitations period controls over state stat-

ute); Jass v. Prudential Health Care Plan, Inc., 88 F.3d

1482, 1488-1490 (7th Cir. 1996) (ERISA preempts state

law agency claims related to a denial of plan benefits).

* The plan documents, which include the “contract or other in-

struments under which the plan is established or operate,” encom-

pass group insurance policies. ERISA § 104(a)(1), (b)(2); see

¢.g., Belasco v. W.K.P. Wilson & Sons, Inc., 833 F.2d 277, 280 (11th

Cir. 1987); Roe v. General American Life Ins. Co., 712 F.2d 450

(10th Cir. 1983).

14

Furthermore, other Circuits have consistently held that

ERISA precludes the use of any state or federal doctrines

—similar to the two state law rules involved here—that

would cause a departure from the plan’s unambiguous

written terms, or any of ERISA’s carefully-drawn statu-

tory provisions which ensure uniformity in plan adminis-

tration. See, e.g., Nachwalter v. Christie, 805 F.2d 956,

960 (1ith Cir. 1986) (“federal courts may not use state

common law to re-write a federal statute”); Member Serv-

ices Life Ins. Co. v. Amer. National Bank and Trust Co..,

130 F.3d 950, 957-958 (10th Cir. 1997) (courts cannot

“rewrite [ERISA] to satisfy [their] proclivities”); Pohl,

956 F.2d at 128 (ERISA “confin{es] benefits to the terms

of the plan as written”); Hunt v. Hawthorne Associates,

Inc., 119 F.3d 888, 891 (11th Cir. 1997) (“{t]he corner-

stone of an ERISA plan is the written instrument”);

Edwards v. Great-West Life Assur. Co., 20 F.3d 748, 750

(7th Cir. 1994) (courts cannot “rewrit{[e] the plan”);

Burnham v. Guardian Life Ins. Co., 873 F.2d 486, 490

(Ist Cir. 1989) (same); Coleman v. Nationwide Life Ins.

Co., 969 F.2d 54, 56, 59 (4th Cir. 1992) (same), cert.

denied, 506 U.S. 1081 (1993); Boyer v. Douglas Com-

ponents Corp., 986 F.2d 999, 1005 (6th Cir. 1993)

(same); Cefalu v. B.F. Goodrich Co., 871 F.2d 1290,

1295-1296 (5th Cir. 1989) (same).

The Ninth Circuit’s decision on the “notice-prejudice”

and “Elfstrom” rules not only directly conflicts with other

Circuits, but also will spur additional litigation across the

country as plan participants whose claims would be barred

under the provisions of ERISA seek refuge in the more

generous provisions of state law. If one or two judicial

revisions of ERISA’s text governing fiduciary duties and

civil enforcement are appropriate through artful but errone-

ous readings of the preemption and “saving” clauses, plain-

tiffs and the lower courts will ask, why not twenty? If

twenty, why not two hundred? This departure from the

national uniformity of law required by ERISA, the chaos

in plan administration and the increased litigation and

15

transaction costs will only lead plan sponsors to a reduc-

tion or elimination of benefits, Fort Halifax Packing Co. v.

Coyne, 482 U.S. 1, 13 (1987), all in conflict with the

“public interest in encouraging the formation of em-

ployee benefit plans,” Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 54.

As explained in more detail at pages 12-14 of the peti-

tion in Cisneros, the Ninth Circuit’s decision frustrates yet

another principle central to ERISA’s statutory scheme—

the orderly internal resolution of benefit disputes as a pre-

requisite to filing suit under the Act’s civil enforcement

system. Notice of claim deadlines are not only standard

features of many ERISA plans, but they also protect

against the difficulties of proof, expenses and errors asso-

ciated with stale claims.’ A plan’s written procedures and

time limits for the filing of ERISA claims,”’ no less than

the ERISA fiduciary review procedure required by § 503,

are essential steps in the plan’s administrative remedies.”

A significant part of this Court’s Pilot Life holding is that

ERISA suits must be regarded as arising under federal law

in a manner similar to those under § 301 of the Labor-

Management Relations Act (“LMRA”). 481 U.S. at 55-

56. Under § 301, an agreement’s administrative remedies

— including its written requirements and time limits for

filing a claim—must be followed as a prerequisite to filing

® Central States, Southeast and Southwest Areas Pension Fund

v. Mississippi Warehouse Corp., 853 F.Supp. 1053, 1058 (N.D. Il.

1994); Tiger v. AT&T Tech. Plan for Employees’ Pensions, Dis-

ability Plan, 633 F.Supp. 532, 534 (E.D. N.Y. 1986).

10 29 C.F.R. § 2560.503-1(b), (c).

1! See Kinkead v. Southwestern Bell Sick & Acci. Corp. Disability

Benefit Plan, 111 F.3d 67, 68 (8th Cir. 1997); Kennedy v. System

One Holdings, Inc., 835 F.Supp. 947, 950 n. 3 (S.D. Tex. 1993);

Christie v. K-Mart Corp. Employees Retirement Pension Plan, 784

F.Supp. 796, 804 (D. Kan. 1992); see also White v. Jacobs Engi-

neering Group Long Term Disability Plan, 896 F.2d 344, 346-47

(9th Cir. 1990) (plan’s 60 day time limit for appealing denied

claim is enforceable).

16

suit.” In permitting Ward’s-suit to proceed in admitted

violation of the Plan's requirements, the decision below

defers to the plaintiff but only at the cost of cutting

across the grain of uniform federal law under ERISA,

its antecedents in § 301 of the LMRA, and recent de-

cisions by this Court. The carefully-crafted nature of

ERISA’s statutory scheme precludes the Ninth Circuit's

continuing efforts to use state law doctrines to rewrite

plan provisions and “fine-tune” the statute in favor of

participants. Massachusetts Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Rus-

sell, 473 U.S. 134, 147-148 (1985); Pilot Life, 481 U.S.

at 54.

Ill. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S PREEMPTION DECISION

COMPLETELY DISRUPTS THE UNIFORMITY OF

LAW INTENDED BY CONGRESS.

The Ninth Circuit’s decision adopting the “E/fstrom”

and “notice-prejudice” rules should be reviewed not only

because it creates significant conflicts among the Circuits

on ERISA preemption, but also because it has a far-

ranging impact which destroys ERISA’s key objectives of

governing the administration of both self-funded and in-

sured plans in accordance with an exclusive, uniform body

of federal law. As this Court has noted, the “potential for

conflict in substantive law” is “[plarticularly disruptive”

under ERISA. /ngersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498

U.S. 133, 142 (1990) (emphasis added). The decision’s

severe repercussions—-which will create a crazy quilt of

conflicting plan rules across the land—warrant swift inter-

vention by this Court.

The Ninth Circuit’s new ERISA preemption standard,

announced in connection with the “Elfstrom” rule. is so

narrow and restricted, and the Court’s disregard for con-

flicts-preemption is so complete, that the standard reopens

2 See, e.g., Laws v. Calmat, 852 F.2d 430, 484 (9th Cir. 1988):

Brazinski v. Amoco Petroleum Additives Co., 6 F.3d 1176, 1179

(7th Cir. 1998); Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 184-185 (1967).

17

a door closed by Pilot Life to state law suits based on

virtually any claim arising out of a denial of plan bene-

fits. Similarly, the Court’s new standard for construing

ERISA’s “saving” clause is so broad and indiscriminate

that it will arguably include virtually any common-law rule

of general application that can be identified with the in-

surance industry regardless of whether it conflicts with

ERISA’s substantive provisions. Under the combined effect

of these two standards, ERISA plan design, administra-

tion and civil enforcement will be challenged by an almost

unlimited range of state laws. This will both conflict with

Pilot Life, as discussed in more detail in section IV, below,

and, at the same time, resurrect the same obstacles to plan

growth and development—the “multiplicity of regulation”

and “ ‘conflict .. . in law’”—that the Act was designed

to eliminate. Travelers, 514 U.S. at 656-657 (citation

omitted ).

In misconsrtuing ERISA’s preemption and “savings”

clauses, the Ninth Circuit’s decision produces a result

exactly opposite to ERISA’s fundamental purposes. To

require all ERISA plans to be administered the same

way in each state, Congress carefully crafted each of the

Act’s major components. It framed the definition of em-

ployee benefit plans explicitly to include all plans whether

established “through the purchase of insurance or other-

wise.” ERISA § 3(1). It also inserted a “deliberately

expansive” preemption provision designed to make the

regulation of all ERISA plans “ ‘exclusively a federal

concern.” Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 45-46 (citation omit-

ted) (emphasis added). Similarly, it added a “deemer”

clause which precludes any plan from being “deemed” an

“insurance company” or “engaged in the business of in-

surance.” ERISA § 514(b)(2)(B). This significant quali-

fication to the “saving” clause—which was completely

overlooked by the Ninth Circuit—reflects Congress’ com-

mitment to free the administration of insured plans from

the possibility of state regulation through some artful or

overly-broad construction of the insurance exception. The

“deemer” clause makes explicit Congress’ objectives to

18

achieve federal uniformity in benefits law and plan ad-

ministration by barring direct state regulation of plans

irrespective of their funding mechanisms. When the

“deemer” clause is thus read in conjunction with the Act’s

key objectives, it is clear that state regulation impacting

plan administration and benefit payment—regulation which

strikes at the very core of ERISA—would be preempted,

notwithstanding that plan administration is conducted in

part by an insurance company or a Blue Cross/Blue

Shield organization.

A. Disruptions Caused By The “Notice-Prejudice”

Rule.

The disruptions caused by the Ninth Circuit’s error in

allowing a state law rule, such as the “notice-prejudice”

rule, to seize control over plan structure and administra-

tion, and the resulting conflict with ERISA’s goals and

Pilot Life, are discussed in detail at pages 18 through 22

of the petition for a writ of certiorari in the Cisneros case.

B. Disruptions Caused By The “Eifstrom” Rule.

In finding the California agency law announced in “E/f-

strom” not preempted, the Ninth Circuit’s decision not

only once again flouts Pijot Life, but also conflicts with

the law in other Circuits and produces a disruptive result

that is contrary to ERISA’s objectives. Apart from the

Ninth Circuit, the courts have held that ERISA § 514(a)

preempts state common-law agency doctrines which impact

plan administration and the payment of benefits and thus

“conflict with Congress’ intent that a plan not be subject to

a myriad of state laws.” See, e.g., Jass v. Prudential Health

Care Plan, Inc., 88 F.3d 1482, 1488-1490, 1493 (7th Cir.

1996) (ERISA , reempts state law agency claims relating

to a benefit denia‘). The decision below plainly conflicts

with the Seventh Circuit’s agency law decision in Jass. In

addition, field preemption and conflicts-preemption bar the

decision below because the common-law agency rule clashes

19

with ERISA’s exclusive framework regulating fiduciary

responsibility, claims-filing and civil enforcement.

In its haste to subject ERISA plans to state law con-

trol, the Ninth Circuit did not correctly analyze whether

California agency law “relates to” an ERISA plan within

the meaning of § 514(a) or is barred by field or conflicts-

preemption. Instead, it mechanically applied state agency

law based on a single, outdated, impliedly-overruled case,

Turrill v. Life Ins. Co. of North America, 753 F.2d

1322 (Sth Cir. 1985), which permitted state law to govern

the administration of an insured ERISA plan. The Ninth

Circuit failed to recognize the significance of the point that

Turrill was decided prior to Pilot Life at a time when the

courts consistently but incorrectly believed that ERISA

preemption did not apply to suits alleging improper claims-

handling or failure to pay benefits under insured plans.

Accordingly, it was an anachronistic, direct contravention

of Pilot Life for the Ninth Circuit to hold that ERISA

does not preempt state law doctrines governing claims

filing and benefit payment under an insured ERISA plan.

Four equally valid arguments establish that ERISA

preempts state law agency rules such as the one embodied

in “Elfstrom,” thus barring a multiplicity of federal-state

regulation. First, the state law plainly “relates to” the

Plan under the “ordinary meaning” of that term because

it purports to regulate claims filing and processing and

thereby dictates the payment of plan benefits. Indeed,

Ward is attempting to use state law not only to assert

the timely, oral “filing” of an ERISA claim with his em-

ployer, but also to bind the Plan’s claims review fiduciary

to such “filing” and obtain benefits precluded by the Plan’s

written terms. The state law thus has an obvious “ ‘con-

nection with or reference to such a plan.’” See Pilot Life,

481 U.S. at 47-48; District of Columbia v. The Greater

Washington Bd. of Trade, 506 U.S. 125, 129 (1992).

“ERISA is designed to ensure the proper administra-

tion of pension and welfare plans.” Boggs v. Boggs, 117

20

S.Ct. 1754, 1760 (1997). Acknowledging the need for

uniformity of law, other Circuits have correctly held that

ERISA § 514(a) preempts state agency law in a suit in-

volving a denial of plan benefits. In Jass, supra, which in-

volved a suit to hold a plan responsible for a medical pro-

vider’s conduct in denying plan benefits, the Seventh Circuit

held that the state agency law “related to” an ERISA plan

and was therefore preempted by § 514(a). 88 F.3d at

1494. The court found that the agency argument was based

on the plan’s existence; the plan documents expressly stated

that no agency relationship existed; the agency claim was

a mechanism for seeking benefits not permitted by the

plan documents; and applying state law would conflict

with Supreme Court holdings that ERISA preempted

“ ‘state laws that had the effect of regulating the structure

or administration of ERISA plans or providing avenues

outside of the ERISA framework to vindicate employees’

rights under these plans’” (citation omitted). Both the

holding and reasoning of the Seventh Circuit are in con-

flict with the decision below. See also Perkins v. Time Ins.

Co., 898 F.2d 470 (Sth Cir. 1990) (under ERISA, per-

sonal liability of another party cannot be imputed to in-

surer under agency law theory).

Second, in cases where the direct relationship between

the plan and the state law is not so immediately obvious

as the one here, this Court has held that whether the law

“relates to” the plan within the meaning of ERISA

§ 514(a) should be based on “ ‘the objectives of the

ERISA statute . . . as well as . . . the nature of the effect

of the state law on ERISA plans.’” California Div. of

Labor Standards Enforcement v. Dillingham Const., 117

S.Ct. 832, 838 (1997) (citation omitted). Under this

analysis, ERISA preempts state law that would frustrate

ERISA’s goals by imposing different regulations from state

to state, or by permitting claimants governed by one state

law to obtain “benefits in excess of what plan administra-

tors intended to provide, and in excess of what the plan

provided to employees in other States.” Travelers, 514 U.S.

21

at 656-657, 658. State laws cannot “preclude uniform

administrative practice.” Jd, at 660. The state agency

law adopted by the Ninth Circuit spawns all of these vices

by subjecting plan administration and benefit payment to

a multiplicity of regulation not only between federal law

and state law, but also—for multistate employers—among

the conflicting laws of the 50 states.

Third, the Ninth Circuit’s decision disrupts the uni-

formity of regulation secured by ERISA’s fiduciary | re-

sponsibility provisions. ERISA’s fiduciary and co-fiduciary

liability rules impose personal liability and damages on a

fiduciary for its own acts causing loss to a plan. ERISA

§ 409(a); Russell, 473 U.S. at 139. The court, however,

permitted Ward to proceed on a state law agency theory

that UNUM, as a “principal” and co-fiduciary, was per-

sonally liable for any ERISA violation by the employer

in failing to ensure that he timely filed a written notice

and proof of claim with UNUM. App. at 24a to 25a.

As indicated, Ward was a CEO who admittedly had re-

ceived a certificate of coverage which described the pro-

cedures and deadlines for submitting a claim to UNUM,

and also participated in annual meetings where the Plan

was reviewed. /d. at 29a, 32a to 33a. ERISA did not re-

quire the employer to do still more. ERISA’s reporting

and disclosure rules “may not be a foolproof informational

scheme, although it is quite thorough. Either way, it is

the scheme that Congress devised.” Curtiss-Wright, 514

U.S. at 84 (emphasis added). Even if the employer had

violated ERISA by not seeking Ward out to give him

further, specialized information about claims-filing, the

Ninth Circuit still erred in permitting him to use state

law agency doctrine to impute such a violation to UNUM

as a co-fiduciary. App. at 25a. ERISA explicitly places

the reporting and disclosure obligations personally on the

Plan Administrator, §§ 105(b) (1), 502(c), and no other

party can be held liable for such a violation, see, e.g.,

McKinsey v. Sentry Ins. Co., 986 F.2d 401 (10th Cir.

1993). Further, ERISA’s co-fiduciary liability rules im-

22

pose liability only where the co-fiduciary has actual knowl-

edge of a breach by its co-fiduciary but fails to act.”

Within the Plan’s time limit for filing written notice and

proof of claim, UNUM had no knowledge that Ward

claimed to be “disabled” or had purportedly so advised

his employer.

Fourth, the state law agency rule adopted by the Ninth

Circuit runs afoul of conflicts-preemption and the ex-

clusivity of ERISA’s civil enforcement scheme for dual

reasons. First, it conflicts with ERISA’s fiduciary respon-

sibility rules; second, it seeks to control benefit payment

contrary to the Plan’s written terms. In an attempt to

suggest otherwise, the Ninth Circuit opined: “[NJor does

Elfstrom create an ‘alternative enforcement mechanism’

for ERISA plan obligations beyond those set forth in the

statute.” App. at 2la to 22a. This conclusion is 180 de-

grees off course. The decision below provides the clearest

possible example of an “alternate enforcement mechanism”

triggering ERISA preemption. It would permit a state law

rule to require the payment of plan benefits under circum-

stances where a claim denial is mandated by the Plan

itself, ERISA’s fiduciary responsibility rules and its ex-

clusive civil enforcement scheme.

IV. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S PREEMPTION DECISION

IS AN ATTEMPT TO CIRCUMVENT THIS COURT'S

CONTROLLING PILOT LIFE DECISION.

The holding and reasoning of this Court’s unanimous

decision in Pilot Life also preclude the Ninth Circuit's

holdings that in a suit to recover plan benefits the “notice-

prejudice” and “Elfstrom” rules escape ERISA preemption.

‘S ERISA § 405(a)(1), (3); H.R.Rep. No. 1280, 98d Cong., 2d

Sess, 304 (1994) (actual knowledge is required; there is no duty

of investigation) ; Davison v. Cook, 564 F.Supp. 225, 237 (E.D. Va.

1983), aff'd. mem., 734 F.2d 10 (4th Cir. 1984), cert. denied sub

nom., Accardi v. Davidson, 469 U.S. 899 (1984); Justice v. Bank-

ers Trust Co,, Inc., 607 F.Supp. 527, 586 (D.C. Ala. 1985).

i Plan does

necessarily invalidate his claim under § 502(a)(1)(B)

the “notice-prejudice” rule. It also permitted

i!

i

:

by Pilot Life: state common law rules purporting to govern

the processing of claims allow a recovery that is both un-

available under the plan and in conflict with ERISA’s sub-

stantive provisions, here its fiduciary responsibility and

The Ninth Circuit's decision on the two state law rules

contravenes not only the Court’s holding in Pilot Life but

on allegedly improper processing of claims and failure to

pay benefits because such actions manifestly “relate to”

an ERISA plan in the sense of having “‘a connection

with or reference to such a plan.’” 481 U.S. at 47-48.

In construing ERISA’s “saving” clause, the Court evalu-

ated Mississippi's “law of bad faith” under the common-

sense and McCarran-Ferguson ve ee ys ruled that

“we are obligated in interpreting the saving clause to con-

sider . . . [its] role . . . in ERISA as a whole.” Because

the plaintiff's “bad faith” claims sought remedies for im-

proper claims processing and failure to pay benefits, a sub-

24

ject already addressed in ERISA’s enforcement scheme,

the Court reasoned that “our understanding of the ‘saving’

clause must be informed by the legislative intent concern-

ing the civil enforcement provisions provided by ERISA

section 502(a).” Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 52. The Ninth

Circuit completely failed to consider the preemption and

“saving” clauses in this broader context.

To determine legislative intent, this Court evaluated

the structure, language and purposes of the statute. First,

the Court observed that § 502 is one of three statutory

sections aimed at enforcing ERISA; the other two are

§ 503, governing the processing of claims and the fiduciary

review of denied claims, and § 501, which provides crimi-

nal penalties for certain violations. Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at

52-53. Second, the Court noted that the language of the

statute does not provide for the extra-contractual damages

and other remedies that the plaintiff was seeking against

the insurance carrier. Rather,

the detailed provisions of § 502(a) set forth a com-

prehensive civil enforcement scheme that represents a

careful balancing of the need for prompt and fair

claims settlement procedures against the public inter-

est in encouraging the formation of employee benefit

plans. The policy choices reflected in the inclusion of

certain remedies and the exclusion of others .

would be completely undermined if ERISA-plan par-

ticipants . . . were free to obtain remedies . . . that

Congress rejected in ERISA.

Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 54. Third, the Court determined

that Congress intended to model ERISA’s civil enforce-

ment provisions upon § 301 of the LMRA which “pre-

empts any ‘state-law claim whose resolution is substan-

tially dependent upon the analysis of the terms of an

agreement made between the parties in a labor contract.’ ”

Id. at 55 (citation omitted). Thus, Congress intended

“that all suits . . . asserting improper processing of

[ERISA] claims . . . be treated as federal questions gov-

erned by § 502(a).” Jd. at 56 (emphasis added).

fit plan” to comply with benefit claims regulations issued

by the Secretary of Labor (emphasis added). Those regu-

lations, in turn, specify that a plan’s claims procedure may

provide for the filing of claims with an insurance company,

and that “a claim is filed when the requirements of a rea-

sonable claim filing procedure . . . have been met.” 29

C.F.R. § 2560.503-1(c)(d). Under ERISA’s fiduciary re-

view procedure for denied claims, the “fiduciaries” include

an insurance company, or a Blue Cross/Blue Shield or-

ganization, serving as claims review fiduciary. /d. at

§ 2560.503-1(g)(2). By statute, these fiduciaries must

follow the plan’s written terms. ERISA § 404(a)(1)(D).

Correspondingly, a participant who exhausts those adminis-

trative procedures may only file suit to recover benefits

“due . . . under the terms of [the] plan.” ERISA § 502

(a)(1)(B) (emphasis added). This exclusive structure for

fiduciary responsibility and civil enforcement would be

“completely undermined if ERISA-plan participants” such

as Ward could use state law doctrines to obtain benefits

contrary to the plan’s written terms and ERISA’s civil

enforcement scheme. Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 54. Accord-

ingly, the Pilot Life analysis precludes the decision below.

26

Vv. THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED BY THIS PETI-

TION HOLD IMPORTANT IMPLICATIONS FOR

ERISA PLANS THAT SHOULD BE ADDRESSED

BY THIS COURT.

The Ninth Circuit's decision adopting the state law “no-

tice-prejudice” and agency rules will impose a multiplicity

of conflicting federal-state regulation on insured ERISA

plans. Additionally, it will surrender significant portions

of ERISA plan administration to the varying laws in the

50 states. All of this runs exactly contrary to ERISA’s

primary goals of ensuring a “uniform body of benefits

law,” Travelers, 514 U.S. at 645, making the administra-

tion of both self-funded and insured plans “ ‘exclusively

a federal concern,”” Pilot Life, 481 U.S. 45-46 (citation

omitted), and “minimiz[ing] the need for interstate em-

ployers to administer their plans differently in each state

in which they have employees,” Shaw, 463 U.S. at 105.

Unless corrected, the Ninth Circuit's decision along with

the Sixth Circuit’s decision in Davies, 128 F.3d at 940—

coupled with the Circuit conflicts over ERISA preemption

—will create enormous confusion and difficulty in the de-

sign and administration of thousands of insured welfare

plans across the country. Exactly the same hardships will

affect pension plans with insurance funding. This confu-

sion and uncertainty will spread into the courts as claim

denials which are clearly proper under ERISA are made

uncertain by the imprecise parameters of the Ninth Cir-

cuit’s new view of the “saving” clause, and its narrow

reading of the scope of ERISA preemption. Additionally,

the adverse effects will not be limited to plan administra-

tion within the Sixth or Ninth Circuits. ERISA provides

for nationwide service of process, and permits a suit to

be filed in any district where the plan is administered,

the breach of fiduciary duty took place, or a defendant

resides or may be found. ERISA § 502(e) (2); see, é.2.,

Varsic v. United States Dist. Ct., 607 F.2d 245, 248

(9th Cir. 1979). Consequently, the vast majority of in-

sured plan sponsors coast to coast now risk not only that

27

the structure of their plans may be overturned, but also

that the plan’s administration and benefit payments may

be subject to conflicting federal and state regulation pur-

suant to the Ninth Circuit's unprecedented decision and

the parallel Sixth Circuit decision.

The practical consequences of the Ninth and Sixth Cir-

cuits’ decisions are ing. Just in terms of major

medical care plans alone, there are an estimated 4.5 mil-

lion employer-sponsored plans “ covering over 161 million

individuals.” Overwhelming percentages of these plans

either are insured, with a large subset being Blue Cross/

Blue Shield plans, or are self-funded plans with stop-loss

insurance." More than 9 out of 10 such plans delegate

some portion of ERISA claims-handling and payment—

and the fiduciary review authority mandated by ERISA

§ 503—to insurance companies, Blue Cross/Blue Shield

organizations or third-party administrators.”

ign will

to establish such plans in the first place. See, €.8-, Heath

v. Varity Corp., 71 F.3d 256, 258 (7th Cir. 1995).

Additionally, the “notice-prejudice” rule has been rejected

by many states and varies considerably across the land;

14 ADMINISTRATION OF THE EMPLOYEE RETIREMENT INCOME SE-

15 STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UN!Tep StTaTes, p. 120 (117 ed.

1997).

16 Mercer/FosTer HIGGINS NATIONAL SURVEY OF EMPLOYER-

SPONSORED HEALTH PLANS, Report 1997, 17-18.

1 Id. at 18.

18 Many jurisdictions consider a timely claim as a condition pre-

cedent to recovery and thus do r°f follow such a rule. Other states

presume prejudice to the insurer and require the claimant to estab-

28

similarly, state agency law doctrines vary from state to

state.” All of this practical uncertainty coupled with the

differences in state law will create strong financial incen-

tives for employers either to cut back or eliminate insured

benefits altogether, or to use self-funded plans notwith-

standing the greater stability and solvency of insured plans.

The plan administrators and claims review fiduciaries

for these plans, moreover, can be expected to process

literally millions of ERISA claims for disability, pension

and health benefits annually. Unless this Court resolves

the Circuit conflicts, it will be impossible for these ad-

ministrators and fiduciaries to rely on a “ ‘uniform body’ ”

of federal benefits law, or to engage in the “nationally

uniform” plan. administration which was a “basic thrust”

of ERISA. Travelers, 514 U.S. at 656-657. Further, they

will be unable to administer their plans both in compliance

with the plans’ written terms and the Ninth Circuit's deci-

sion. They cannot know whether to deny a claim on the

basis of a clear plan limit, or to accept the claim under

state law regarding “notice-prejudice” or agency without

regard to the terms of their plan and thus breach an

ERISA fiduciary duty. They cannot even know which

opposing sets of federal and state laws to apply to deter-

mine those questions.

lish its absence; still other states—such as California—require the

insurer to prove “actual prejudice.” See 183A George J. Couch et al.

Couch Cyclopedia of Insurance Law § 49.49 at 276-77 (2d ed. 1982).

1” See, e.g., Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Henry, 217 Ind. 33, 24

N.E.2d 918 (1940) (under Indiana law, employer acting as middle-

man between insurer and employees is agent of employees) ; First

National Bank of Anson County v. Gatewood, 308 N.C. 203, 214-15

278 S.E.2d 507 (“case law in this jurisdiction [North Carolina] . . .

establishes that the employer-master policyholder is not ordinarily

the agent of the insurer”); Brezan v. Prudential Insurance Co. of

America, 507 F.Supp. 962, 966 (E.D.Pa. 1981) (under Pennsylvania

law, group policyholder has no obligation to ensure that terms of

group policy are correctly transmitted to employees); Dawes Min-

ing Co. v. Callahan, 246 Ga. 531, 272 S.E.2d 267 (1980) (in Georgia,

employer is agent of insurer, and insurer has imputed knowledge

of information transmitted to employer).

29

The Ninth Circuit acknowledged in Cisneros the direct

~ conflict between California’s “notice-prejudice” rule and

ERISA, stating that the rule made the plan “more difficult

to administer” and caused “a plan’s written terms [to be]

altered.” 134 F.3d at 947 (emphasis added). In the same

manner, the “Elfstrom” rule requires the payment of bene-

fits under circumstances where the Plan itself and ERISA’s

fiduciary responsibility and civil enforcement provisions

require a claim denial. The decision thus presents, in two

important respects, a “direct clash between state law and

the provisions and objectives of ERISA,” one where pre-

emption necessarily arises because “ ‘compliance with both

federal and state regulations is a physical impossibi . -

Boggs v. Boggs, 117 S.Ct. 1754, 1762 (1997) (citation

omitted) (emphasis added). To allow state law rules not

only to encroach on ERISA’s exclusive framework for

fiduciary standards and plan administration—but to “alter”

the plan’s written terms, and to permit a suit for benefits

contrary to those terms—completely undermines a number

of ERISA’s most significant and highly-regulated areas.

It also wreaks havoc on the important principle of uni-

formity of law upon which ERISA is based.

Intervention by the Court is critical to restore the care-

fully-crafted balance between state and federal law struck

by Congress in ERISA and to reestablish the preeminence

of ERISA’s statutory scheme. ERISA plans are not only

“affected with a national public interest,” §2(a), 29

U.S.C. § 1001(a), but the appropriate balance between

competing federal and state law is of paramount concern

to the nation’s employee benefit plan system. Given the

“centrality of pension and welfare plans in the national

economy,” Boggs v. Boggs, 117 S.Ct. at 1760, it is vital

that this Court decide the two significant, far-reaching

ERISA preemption issues presented by this case, and re-

solve the existing Circuit conflicts.

30

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, petitioner urges the Court to

grant a writ of certiorari in this case.

Of Counsel:

TAMARRA T. RENNICK

Litigation Counsel

UNUM LIFE INSURANCE

COMPANY OF AMERICA

2211 Congress Street

Portland, ME 04122

(207) 770-2211

LESLEY C. GREEN

RUSSELL G. PETTI

BANNAN, GREEN &

FRANK LLP

555 South Flower Street

44th Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90017

(218) 362-1177

May 20, 1998

Respectfully submitted,

Davip L. BACON

Counsel of Record

BENJAMIN J. DELANCY

CHARLES M. DYKE

THELEN, MARRIN, JOHNSON

& Bripces LLP

333 So. Grand Avenue

34th Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90071

(213) 621-9800

Attorneys for Petitioner

UNUM Life Insurance

Company of America

APPENDIX

APPENDIX TABLE OF CONTENTS

Se ee eee &

ee

nee ee

I , ecentepoe

Order of the District Court granting Summary Jude

ment, filed August 8, 1995 2.200 ecceeeeeeeeeeee

Declaration of John A. Houser, III And Portions of

omy © hey gt” japameahnallemeasanalldiaad

ment, filed June 26, 1995 o.0000.0..0ccceecseeon

Exhibit Portions Meitiinaile' sak Wert Sueectien

Excerpts) to Declaration of Jeffrey P. ates

pS RR a aT aT OO

District Court Complaint, filed September 19, 1994.

ERISA § 2(a), (b), 29 U.S.C. § 1001 (a), (b) ................ #

ERISA § 3(1), (16), 29 U.S.C. § 1002(1), (16)

ERISA § 402(a), (b), 29 U.S.C. § 1102(a), (b) —....... a

ERISA § 404(a) (1) (D), 29 U.S.C. § 1104(a) (1) (D)....

ERISA § 502 (a) (1) (B), 29 U.S.C. § 1182 (a) (1) (B)

ERISA § 508, 29 U.S.C. § 1188 2... .-.eececeeeceeneeeeeeoeeees

ERISA § 514(a), (b) (2) (A), (B), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a)

CR) CR). A) CIB) naire nnenrnennecosononvnncenecnscnncnnosensnrveccorncen

29 C.F.R. § 2560.503-1 (1b), (€), (8) -----neecoeecneennssneesneeenees

Page

la

la

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 95-56269

D.C. No. CV-94-1454-MHH

Filed February 3, 1998

JouHN E. Warp,

Plaintiff-A ppellant,

v.

MANAGEMENT ANALYSIS COMPANY EMPLOYEE

DISABILITY BENEFIT PLAN, and

UNUM Lire INSURANCE COMPANY OF AMERICA,

Defendants-A ppellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of California

Argued and Submitted January 9, 1997—

Pasadena, California

Before Betty B. Fletcher and Stephen S. Trott,

Circuit Judges, and Bruce S. Jenkins,* District Judge

* Honorable Bruce S. Jenkins, United States Senior District Judge

for the District of Utah, sitting by designation.

2a

OPINION

JENKINS, District Judge:

John E. Ward (“Ward”), former President and CEO of

Management Analysis Company (“MAC”), brought this

action under § 502 of the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act (ERISA), 29 U.S.C. § 1132, seeking to

recover benefits pursuant to his former employer's long-

term disability plan. The United States District Court for

the Southern District of California granted summary

judgment in favor of the Management Analysis Company

Employee Disability Benefit Plan (the “MAC Plan”) and

UNUM Life Insurance Company of America (“UNUM”)

on the ground that Ward’s claim for benefits under

UNUM’s long-term disability policy was timely under

the notice and proof of claim provisions of that policy. In

light of our ruling in a related case, Cisneros v. UNUM

Life Insurance Company of America, ——— F.3d ———

(9th Cir. 1998), that under California law, UNUM must

show actual prejudice resulting from a claimant's untimely

submission of proof of a claim before it may deny benefits

under a plan governed by ERISA, we reverse the judgment

in favor of UNUM and the MAC Plan and remand the

case for further proceedings. We also remand for a deter-

mination of whether MAC received timely notice and

proof of Ward’s claim of disability while acting as a plan

fiduciary and agent of UNUM, should that determination

become decisive of the question of timeliness.

Effective November 1, 1983, UNUM issued a Group

Long Term Disability Policy to MAC as an insured

employee welfare benefit plan governed by ERISA. An

employee certificate booklet summarizing the plan benefits

was prepared and distributed in quantity to MAC em-

ployees, including Ward.

3a

Ward served as President and Chief Executive Officer

of MAC until, after_being asked to resign by the Board of

Directors on May 5, 1992, he resigned on May 8, 1992.

In May of 1992, Ward was already suffering from dia-

betic neuropathy, and avers that prior to his resignation,

he had begun experiencing severe and disabling leg pain

resulting from that condition.

The nature and extent of his illness and resulting

disability were diagnosed by December of 1992. In early

1993, Ward applied for and received state disability

benefits, and contacted the MAC human resources divi-

sion to discuss extension of his continuation insurance

coverage under COBRA. In July 1993 he received a

determination that he was eligible for Social Security dis-

ability benefits, a copy of which he forwarded to the

MAC human resources division.

Ward states that he was actually unaware of the avail-

ability of the MAC Plan long-term disability benefits until

April 1994, when he discovered a booklet describing the

coverage amorg papers in his safety deposit box. Ward

completed an application for long-term disability benefits

and forwarded the same to MAC. MAC completed the

employer information section of the application and for-

warded the same to UNUM.

UNUM received notice and proof of Ward’s claim on

April 11, 1994. By letter dated April 13, 1994, UNUM

informed Ward that his claim for benefits was denied as

untimely under the terms of the policy. Through counsel,

Ward requested that UNUM review the denial of his

claim, and by letter dated July 12, 1994, UNUM in-

formed Ward that it had reviewed his claim and affirmed

its denial because it was “beyond the time frame stipu-

lated in the policy.”

Plaintiff filed his complaint against the MAC Plan to

recover his claimed benefits under ERISA on September

15, 1994. UNUM appeared as a defendant and filed an

4a

answer on behalf of itself and the MAC Plan on Novem-

ber 23, 1994. On August 8, 1995, the district court

granted the defendants’ motion for summary judgment,

concluding that under the terms of UNUM’s policy as

written, “plaintiff's claim was late and therefore defendant

was not obligated to honor plaintiff's claim for long-term

disability benefits.”

The district court entered judgment on August 17,

1995, and Ward filed a timely notice of appeal.

Il

We review the district court’s grant of summary judg-

ment de novo. Bagdadi v. Nazar, 84 F.3d 1194, 1197

(9th Cir. 1996). Whether ERISA preempts state law is a

question of law which we review de novo. Inland Empire

Chapter of Associated General Contractors v. Dear, 77

F.3d 296, 299 (9th Cir. 1996). We also review de novo

the principles of contract interpretation as applied to the

facts, including the district court’s interpretation of insur-

ance policy language. O’Neill v. United States, 50 F.3d

677, 682 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 672 (1995).

Il

While in his brief Ward lists several issues and makes a

series of assertions concerning agency theory under Elf-

strom v. New York Life Ins. Co., 67 Cal. 2d 503, 432

P.2d 731, 63 Cal. Rptr. 35 (1967), fiduciary duty under

ERISA, and the potential liability of the MAC Plan, the

appellees aptly restate the central issue now before us on

appeal: “Did the District Court correctly hold that the

plaintiff failed to timely submit written notice and proof

of claim to UNUM as required by the express terms of the

MAC Plan and applicable federal law under ERISA?”

UNUM expressly conditions payment of benefits upon

submission of proof of claim within the time limits set

forth in the policy. Section VI.F.2 of UNUM’s policy

Sa

provides that proof “may not be given later than one year

after the time proof is otherwise required,” in this in-

stance, “no later than 90 days after the end yay wei

day] elimination period.” ' Section V1.1 provides that

fits will be paid “[w]hen the company oer A

claim.” Read together, these provisions logically and un-

ambiguously establish that, under the policy, timely sub-

mission of proof is a condition precedent to payment of

benefits.

Under the admitted facts of this case, Ward became

permanently disabled on May 5, 1992. Using Ward's

disability onset date of May 5, 1992, UNUM calculated

that his proof of claim must have been received no later

than November 5, 1993 in order to be deemed timely

under the policy provision.” Ward did not submit notice

or proof of his claim directly to UNUM until April 11,

1994. Ward’s submission of notice and proof of his claim

plainly was untimely under the express terms of the

UNUM policy.

However, in light of our recent opinion in Cisneros v.

UNUM Life Insurance Company of America, ——— F.3d

—— (9th Cir. 1998), untimeliness under the express

terms of the policy does not end the inquiry, at least as to

consequence. Cisneros holds that a claimant’s failure to

submit timely proof of claim does not necessarily result in

the denial of benefits. Cisneros acknowledges that the

California “notice-prejudice” rule remains in force respect-

ing benefit plans governed by ERISA as a state law

“which regulates insurance” under ERISA’s savings clause,

29 U.S.C. § 1142(b)(2)(A). Under the “notice-prejudice”

rule, the insurer of an ERISA benefit plan may not deny

benefits by reason of untimely notice or submission of

1 The MAC Plan documents provide that the “elimination period”

consists of the 90-day period following the date of onset of the

insured’s disabilty.

2 The district court’s reference to a December 5, 1993 cutoff date

appears to be simple mathematical error.

6a

proof of claim unless the insurer proves that it has suf-

fered actual prejudice because of the delay. Id. at 67375.°

Contrary to UNUM’s assertion in its brief, we are not

persuaded that passage of time alone establishes prejudice

as a matter of law. See id. at 673, 675 (citing Shell Oil

Co. v. Winterthur Swiss Ins. Co., 15 Cal. Rptr. 2d 815,

845 (Ct. App. 1993)). Whether UNUM suffered actual

prejudice as a result of Ward’s untimely notice remains a

genuine issue of material fact. See Select Ins. Co. v.

Superior Court, 276 Cal. Rptr. 598, 602 (1990). Thus,

we reverse the district court’s judgment in favor of

UNUM.

Because neither the plan administrator nor the district

court addressed the question of whether the notice-

prejudice rule applied to Ward’s claim, neither the plan

administrator nor the district court determined whether

UNUM suffered actual prejudice flowing from Ward's

untimely notice and proof of claim.‘ Accordingly, we

remand the case to the district court with instructions to

remand to the plan administrator for a factual determina-

tion as to whether UNUM suffered actual prejudice by

virtue of Ward’s untimely submission of proof.

* At the August 3, 1995 hearing on the motion for summary

judgment, the district court inquired :

THE COURT: Is there a body of law that then says that

you have to—the company has to show some prejudice?

MR. SMITH: No, not—not under ERISA. And we have cited

as the Court knows, four cases, . . . all of which interpreted this

plan language, and all of which, in circumstances almost identi-

cal to this, held that the proof of claim had not been timely

provided—

THE COURT: Now—MR. SMITH—really is under ERISA,

and it is those cases that we would submit are controlling.

Among the four cases referred to by UNUM counsel was the

district court disposition in the Cisneros case, now reversed on the

precise issue raised by the court’s question just quoted.

* While the district court noted in passing that “[{t)he delay in

filing precludes UNUM from definitively determining whether plain-

7a

IV

Ward addresses the timeliness of his claim in another

way: he asserts that actual notice of his disability given to

MAC as early as March of 1993 operates as notice to

UNUM as early as March of 1993 because under Cali-

fornia law, an employer who participates in the adminis-

tration of a group insurance policy acts as an agent of the

insurer. He relics on Elfstrom v. New York Life Ins. Co.,

67 Cal. 2d 503, 432 P.2d 731, 63 Cal. Rptr. 35 (1967),

as authority for this proposition. Ward further asserts that

if the Elfstrom rule is somehow preempted by ERISA,

this court should adopt a like rule as a matter of federal

common law. Moreover, Ward asserts that MAC breached

its duties as an ERISA co-fiduciary to inform him of the

availability of long-term disability benefits under the

UNUM pol cy, to receive notice of his claim, and to assist

him in furnishing appropriate proof of his claim to

UNUM, breaches which Ward contends UNUM was

tiff’s disability existed on the date alleged in his claim,” the com-

ment was made in the context of a broader policy discussion con-

cerning time limits on claims rather than as a finding of fact based

upon a specific evidentiary record. There appears to be little evi-

dence in the present record bearing upon the question of actual

prejudice. Paragraph 12 of the Declaration of John A. Houser, III,

dated March 29, 1995, makes the conclusory assertion that “[d]ur-

ing that nearly two year period” between the onset of Ward's dis-

ability and the receipt by UNUM of notice, “UNUM was without

knowledge that plaintiff claimed he was ‘disabled’ and was thereby

deprived of the opportunity to fully evaluate his claim and to de-

termine the extent of his disability at the time he claimed to be

disabled,” but offers no specific evidence showing how that evalua-

tion has been impaired in this case. In fact, the Houser Declaration

indicates that UNUM did not undertake to investigate, evaluate or

determine Ward’s claim on the merits, but assures that “[h]ad

plaintiff timely filed his claim for disability benefits under the

Policy, UNUM would have conducted a thorough claim investiga-

tion.” Id. at Pll (emphasis added). On remand, UNUM has the

burden to prove actual prejudice, that is, that Ward's delay would

have prevented “a thorough claim investigation” in April of 1994

that otherwise would have been possible through November 5, 1993.

obliged to remedy. See 29 U.S.C. § 1105(a) (“a fidu-

ciary with respect to a plan shall be liable for a breach

of fiudciary responsibility of another fiduciary with respect

to the same plan in the following circumstances: .. . (3)

if he has knowledge of a breach by such other fiduciary,

unless he makes reasonable efforts under the circumstances

to remedy the breach.”).°

The Elfstrom Rule

In Elfstrom, the employer, Fullerton Publishing Co.,

had obtained a group life insurance policy for the benefit

of its employees from the defendant, New York Life. The

plaintiff was president and majority shareholder of Fuller-

ton and the father of Brenda, the deceased employee, as

well as the beneficiary under his daughter’s life insurance

certificate. Fullerton’s bookkeeper, Mr. Still, administered

the group policy under the direction of a New York Life

group representative, following the directions set forth in

a manual supplied by New York Life for that purpose.

Mrs. Still mistakenly included Brenda as an insured in

monthly reports to defendant insurer when, in fact,

Brenda was not eligible, because her employment at the

minimum salary required had terminated before expira-

tion of the waiting period necessary for coverage. The

premiums were paid until Brenda’s death, seven months

after expiration of the waiting period. Under these facts,

the California Supreme Court held that the duties of

the employer, discharged by Mrs. Still, in administering

*As Ward noted in his opening brief, whether an individual

plan beneficiary may seek relief in his own behalf for breach of

fiduciary duty under ERISA was raised in Varity Corp. v. Howe,

116 S. Ct. 1065 (1996). Varity answered that question in the affirm-

ative, holding that plan participants and beneficiaries may sue for

individual “appropriate equitable relief” pursuant to § 502(a)(3) of

ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(3), and are not limited solely to relief

in favor of the plan itself as in Massachusetts Mut. Life Ins. Co. v.

Russell, 473 U.S. 134, 144 (1985), construing ERISA § 502(a)(2).

Id. at 1075-79.

9a

the group life insurance policy, made it the agent of

defendant insurer, and that the insurer was bound by

the mistakes of the employer (per Mrs. Still) acting within

the scope of the agency, provided the plaintiff (bene-

ficiary) was acting in good faith in directing her to effect

coverage for Brenda.

We are convinced that the employer is the agent of the

insurer in performing the duties of administering group

insurance policies. It cannot be said that the employer

acts entirely for its own benefit or for the benefit of its

employees in undertaking administrative functions. While

a reduced premium may result if the employer relieves the

insurer of these tasks . . . the insurer also enjoys signifi-

cant advantages from the arrangement.

67 Cal. 2d at 512-13, 432 P.2d at 737. For the Elf-

strom court, agency depended on the question of control:

The most persuasive rationale for adopting the view

that the employer acts as the agent of the insurer . . . is

that the employee has no knowledge or control over the

employer’s actions in handling the policy or its adminis-

tration. An agency relationship is based upon consent by

one person that another shall act in his behalf and be

subject to his control... . It is clear from the evidence

regarding procedural techniques here that the insurer-

employer relationship meets this agency test with regard

to the administration of the policy, whereas that between

the employer and its employees fails to reflect true agency.

The insurer directs the performance of the employer's

administrative acts, and if these duties are not undertaken

properly the insurer is in a position to exercise more con-

stricted control over the employer’s conduct.

67 Cal. 2d at 513-14, 432 P.2d at 738; see also Pru-

dential Ins. Co. of America v. State Bd. of Equalization,

21 Cal. App. 4th 458, 482, 26 Cal. Rptr. 2d 287, 303

(1993) (“As expressed in Elfstrom, the agency relation-

ship was shown by the insufer’s control over the book-

10a

keeper’s performance of tasks relating to the insurance,

i.e., the bookkeeper/agent performed functions under the

insurer/principal’s direction and for the principai’s bene-

fit.”).

In reaching its conclusions regarding agency, Elfstrom

cited this court’s earlier decision in John Hancock Mut.

Life Ins. Co. of Boston v. Dorman, 108 F.2d 220 (9th

Cir. 1939). In John Hancock, Western Bakeries, the em-

ployer, “handled” the insurance under a group life/

disability insurance master policy obtained for the benefit

of employees; Western Bakeries had accepted insurance

applications, determined employee eligibility, issued cer-

tificates of insurance, and collected premiums, all of which

it then reported to the insurer. We held that the employer

was the insurer’s agent in handling these tasks and that

acceptance of premiums by the insurer through its agent/

employer estc»ped the insurer from claiming that the in-

sured was not an employee within the meaning of the

policy. 108 F.2d at 222-23, 224.

More recent California cases echo the Elfstrom/John

Hancock rule. In McCormick v. Sentinel Life Ins. Co.,

153 Cal. App. 3d 1030, 200 Cal. Rptr. 732 (1984), the

California Court of Appeals explained:

In Elfstrom v. New York Life Ins. Co. (1967) 67

Cal.2d 503, 505, 63 Cal.Rptr. 35, 432 P.2d 731, our high

court considered whether the acts of an employer who

administered a group health insurance policy could be

attributed to the defendant insurer. After reviewing con-

flicting cases from other jurisdictions, the court concluded

the employer was acting as the insurer’s agent and hence

the insurer was liable for the employer’s conduct. (Id., at

p. 508, 63 Cal.Rptr. 35, 432 P.2d 731, citing Rest.2d

Agency, §§ 165, 282(2), and pp. 512-513.) In rejecting

the view the employer acted as the employee’s agent, the

court cited the employer’s assumption of the insurer’s

administ: ative functions and the employee’s lack of con-

lla

trol over the employer’s actions in handling the policy.

(Id., at pp. 513-514, 63 Cal.Rptr. 35, 432 P.2d 731;

accord Bareno v. Employers Life Ins. Co. (1972) 7 Cal.

3d 875, 883, 103 Cal.Rptr. 865, 500 P.2d 889; Pantzalas

v. Superior Court (1969) 272 Cal.App.2d 499, 504, 77

Cal.Rpitr. 354.)

Here, the credit union, like the employer in Elfstrom

performed administrative duties in connection with proc-

essing claims under Sentinel’s disability policy. It is un-

disputed the credit union assumed such responsibilities

as maling the initial claim form to McCormick, notifying

Sentinel of a possible claim from McCormick, and appris-

ing McCormick his claim was incomplete. It also appears

likely McCormick had no control over the credit union’s

actions.. Under these circumstances a triable issue exists

as to whether the credit union was acting as Sentinel’s

agent. If the fact finder determines an agency relation-

ship, as defined in Elfstrom, did exist, the credit union’s

acts can be attributed to Sentinel.

153 Cal. App. 3d at 1040-41, 200 Cal. Rptr. at 737;

see also Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. State Bd. of Equal-

ization, 32 Cal. 3d 649, 658-59, 652 P.2d 426, 431, 186

Cal. Rptr. 578, 583 (1982) (Elfstrom is controlling on

issue whether an employer acts as the insurer’s agent in

administering group insurance policies); Bass v. John

Hancock Mutual Life Ins. Co., 10 Cal. 3d 792, 797, 518

P.2d 1147, 1150, 112 Cal. Rptr. 95, 198 (1974) (“[Wle

have held that the employer is the agent of the insurer in

performing the duties of administering group insurance

policies . . . and that accordingly the insurer shares re-

sponsibility for the employer’s mistakes.”); Caldwell v.

United Bus Corp., 77 Cal. App. 3d 381, 383-84, 112 Cal.

Rptr. 7, 8 (1986) (“The general rule in California is that

the employer is merely the agent of the insurer in perform-

ing the duties of administering group health insurance

policies.” ).

12a

Other jurisdictions as well have adopted a similar

approach to the agency question. See, e.g., Middleton v.

The Russell Group, Ltd., 483 S.E.2d 727, 734 (N.C.

1997) (holding that “[a]n employer who performs ad-

ministrative functions [under a group insurance policy],

as in the instant case, is deemed to be the agent of the

insurer,” (citing Elfstrom)), and cases cited therein;

Abiatti v. Buttura & Sons, Inc., 161 Vt. 314, 324, 639

A.2d 988, 993-94 (1994) (agency relationship may be

founded upon the policyholder’s performance of adminis-

trative tasks on behalf of the insurer); Kirkpatrick v.

Boston Mut. Life Ins. Co., 393 Mass. 640, 645-46, 473

N.E.2d 173, 176-77 (1985) (“Whether or not the em-

ployer acts as the insurer’s agent is a factual question to

be resolved on a case by case basis.”); Norby v. Bankers

Life Co. of Des Moines, Iowa, 304 Minn. 464, 471-72,

231 N.W.2d 665, 670 (1975) (“the employer policy-

holder may, in appropriate circumstances, be found to be

the agent of the group insurer of employees”).

In Paulson v. Western Life Ins. Co., 636 P.2d 935 (Or.

1981), the Oregon Supreme Court held that whether an

employer acted as agent for an insurer in administering a

group policy presented a triable issue of fact. The Paulson

court read Elfstrom and other cases as applying a rule

expressed in these terms: “In the performance of a func-

tion delegated by the insurer to the employer, the em-

ployer is Weemed to be the agent of the insurer.” 636

P.2d at 941.°

® Paulson rejected the view that the cases divide into a “majority

rule” and a “minority rule” concerning the employer-agency ques-

tion:

Our analysis of the decisions convinces us that many courts,

even though they purport to apply a “majority rule” or a

“minority rule,” actually base their decision upon the facts

relating to the division of functions between the insurer and

the employer policyholder, and that any “majority” or “minor-

ity” rule is more apparent than real. It is more correct to say

13a

MAC’s Administration of the UNUM Policy

Central to Ward’s agency theory under Elfstrom must

be proof that MAC participated in the administration of

UNUM’s group disability insurance policy and performed

insurance-related tasks delegated by or carried on under

the direction and ultimate control of UNUM. Ward points

to the fact that MAC was designated as plan adminis-

trator by the MAC Plan as well as to specific provisions

of the UNUM policy (Sec. VI, P D) requiring MAC to

furnish information to UNUM concerning employees who

become eligible for coverage, whose coverage changes in

amount, or whose coverage terminates.

Arguing that courts must follow an “absolute and literal

interpretation” * of the language of ERISA plan docu-

that when the plan is exclusively administered by the insurer,

as a matter of law no agency relation exists between the in-

surer and the employer. But if the employer performs all of

the administration of the policy, an agency relationship exists

between the insurer and the employer, as a matter of law. Be-

tween these two extremes, as the division of functions becomes

less separate, or to put it another way, as the employer assumes

responsibility for more administrative or sales functions which

are customarily performed by an insurer, a question of fact

will arise as to the agency relationship between the insurer and

the employer.

636 P.2d at 939.

The Paulson formulation of the Elfstrom rule appears sound. It

also comports with our prior determination of the same issue in

John Hancock.

7 For this proposition, UNUM cites Madden v. ITT Long Term

Disability Plan, 914 F.2d 1279, 1285-86 (9th Cir. 1990), cert. denied,

498 U.S. 1087 (1991). Headnote no. 7 of the Madden opinion recites

that “[fliduciary’s delegate properly gave absolute and literal in-

terpretation to long-term disability plan’s definition of ‘total dis-

ability’, which required that employee was unable to engage in any

occupation,” but this synopsis does not accurately reflect the rele-

vant portion of the Madden opinion. What we said was “Metro-

politan’s use of the Plan definition was clearly proper, because as

an ERISA fiduciary, Metropolitan was required to apply the terms

l4a

ments, UNUM points to Section VI, Paragraph L of its

long-term disability policy, which reads:

L. AGENCY

For all purposes of this policy, the policyholder acts on

its own behalf or as agent of the employee. Under no

circumstances will the policyholder be deemed the agent

of the Company without a written authorization.

Averring that no such written authorization was ever

issued to MAC, and “MAC’s involvement in the LTD

[long-term disability] claims process was, at most, acting

as a conduit between MAC employces and UNUM,”

UNUM urges the conclusion that “MAC is not UNUM’s

agent.”

Of course, the existence of an agency relationship

generally presents a question of fact:

Whether as between the parties their relationship is one

of agency depends on their relations as they in fact exist

under the agreement or acts of the parties, and the ques-

tion is not governed by the stipulations of the parties.

of the Plan. See ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1104(a)(1)(D) (1988).” 914

F.2d at 1286 n.6.

While this court has more recently admonished that “[a]n ERISA

plan administrator abuses its discretion if it construes provisions

of plan in a way that ‘conflicts with plain language of plan,’”

Saffle v. Sierra Pacific Power Co. Bargaining Unit Long Term Dis-

ability Income Plan, 85 F.3d 455, 458 (9th Cir. 1996) (quoting Taft

v. Equitable Life Assur. Soc’y, 9 F.3d 1469, 1472 (9th Cir. 1993)),

we have yet to endorse a rule of strict, absolute or literal construc-

tion of ERISA plan documents. Indeed, Saffle appears to reject a

“literal” construction of plan language in favor of a “reasonable”

one, consistent with case law from other circuits. See id. at 458-59

(citing Helms v. Monsanto Co., Inc., 728 F.2d 1416, 1420 (11th Cir.

1984) (rejecting arbitrator’s “absolute and litera!” interpretation

of “totally and permanently disabled” to mean complete helplessness

as unreasonable because it would render the entire plan meaningless

and would contradict policies underlying ERISA); Torix v. Ball

Corp., 862 F.2d 1428 (10th Cir. 1988) (same) ).

15a

Thus, whether a particular relationship is that of agency

does not depend on what the parties call it, and the parties

cannot, where the relationship is in fact one of agency,

change its nature by declaring that it is not an agency, nor

can they, by calling their relations one of agency, make it

so when it is not so in fact. The surrounding facts and

circumstances determine the relationship, regardless of the

understanding of the parties as to the exact nature of the

relationship. . . .

2A C.J.S. Agency §7 (1972) (footnotes omitted);

accord, Wallace v. Sinclair, 114 Cal. App. 2d 220, 250

P.2d 154, 16061 (1953); American Marine Paint Co. v.

Nyno Line, 70 Cal. App. 415, 233 P. 366, 369 (1924)

(“nor does it matter whether or not his employment be

called an agency”); 3 Am. Jur. 2d Agency § 21 (1986)

(“The manner in which the parties designate the relation-

ship is not controlling, and if an act done by one person

in behalf of another is in its essential nature one of

agency, the one is the agent of such other notwithstand-

ing he is not so called.” (footnote omitted)); 2 (pt. 2)

Cal. Jur. 3d Agency § 12, at 170-73 & nn. 77-93 (1997)

(citing Elfstrom). Ordinarily, an agency relationship may

be established through evidence of control and apparent

or applied authority, even where the parties have agreed

to the contrary. See, e.g., Kuchta v. Allied Builders Corp.,

21 Cal. App. 3d 541, 547, 98 Cal. Rptr. 588, 591

(1971) (notwithstanding that “the agreement itself stated

that no such agency relationship was created, the declara-

tions of the parties in the agreement respecting the nature

of the relationship are not controlling.”); Fernander v.

Thigpen, 278 S.C. 140, 293 S.E.2d 424, 426 (1982).

However, UNUM also asserts that ERISA preempts the

Elfstrom rule because Elfstrom imposes respondeat su-

perior liability; according to UNUM, “ERISA’s rule of

personal fiduciary liability not only supersedes, but is

inconsistent with, the doctrines of respondeat superior and

16a

vicarious liability.” Nor could the Elfstrom rule be

adopted as a matter of federal common law because

adoption of respondeat superior and vicarious theories

would impermissibly “revise the text” of ERISA by adding

causes of action or remedies not affirmatively authorized

by the statute. See Mertens v. Hewitt Assoc., 508 U.S.

248, 259 (1993) (“The authority of courts to develop a

‘federal common law’ under ERISA ... is not the au-

thority to revise the text of the statute.”).

No prior Ninth Circuit opinion has addressed the

relationship of ERISA to state agency law,* or more spe-

cifically, whether ERISA preempts the rule of California

State law announced in Elfstrom. Nor has any prior

opinion of this court discussed whether under circum-

stances such as these, federal statutory or common law

creates the agency relationship that Ward suggests.

Looking to case law from other circuits, Turrill v. Life

Ins. Co. of North America, 753 F.2d 1322 (Sth Cir.

1985), informs our inquiry. Turrill, an American Air-

lines facility maintenance mechanic, became disabled after

a fall on a wet floor at the Dallas/Ft. Worth airport. The

insurer had issued a group disability insurance policy to

American Airlines that was in effcct at the time of the

accident. Turrill did not submit notice or proof of his

claim directly to the insurer until more than two years

after the accident. However, soon after the accident, he

did submit an array of documentation concerning his in-

jury to his employer. Reversing summary judgment in

favor of the insurer on grounds of timeliness, the Fifth

Circuit concluded that “a genuine issue of material fact

®We have noted, however, that Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. v.

Darden, 503 U.S. 318 (1992), “construed the term ‘employee’ in the

Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), 29

U.S.C.8 1002(6), as incorporating ‘judicial agency law criteria for

identifying master-servant relationships.’ Id. at 319... .” Coupar

v. United States Department of Labor, 105 F.3d 1263, 1266-67 (9th

Cir. 1997).

17a

exists regarding the authority of American Airlines to

receive proofs of loss” as an agent of the insurer. Id. at

1324. “Whether such an agency relationship existed bears

heavily on the timeliness of Turrill’s proof of loss... .”

Id.

To resolve the agency question, the Turrill court looked

both to Texas agency law and to ERISA.

Under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act

of 1974 (ERISA), . . ., an employer who, like American

Airlines, provides disability benefits through a group in-

surance policy owes fiduciary duties to the participating

and their beneficiaries. See 29 U.S.C. § 1104

(a)(1) (1982) (“[A] fiduciary shall discharge his duties

with respect to a plan solely in the interest of the par-

ticipants and the beneficiaries.”) The fiduciary obliga-

tions of such an employer easily include responsibility to

take care that the insurance company receives documenta-

tion necessary under the group policy to achieve recovery

on a just benefits claim. This is especially so if the docu-

mentation is already in the agent’s hands.

ERISA thus obliged American Airlines to exercise care

and diligence in assuring compliance with the proof of

loss requirements of the master policy. It also required

the employer to provide to participating employees exten-

sive information regarding the plan. 29 U.S.C. § 1021

(1982).

ERISA compels the employer (or other plan fiduciary)

to act affirmatively in administering and providing infor-

mation on its employee benefits plan. In cases involving

group policies, the requisite employer’s efforts include de-

termining employees’ eligibility for coverage, enrolling

them in the plan and group policy, advising them as to

scope of benefits, collecting and forwarding premiums,

and helping employees file claims. An insurance company

normally performs these functions. But in group insurance

18a

situations where ERISA applies, the employer and group

insurer typically develop a course of dealing in which the

employer substitutes for the insurer in a relationship that

ERISA impliedly may require.

Under these circumstances, courts may properly infer

an agency relationship. The group insurer’s failure to dis-

avow the sufficiency of the employer’s performance of

functions that ERISA requires the employer to perform

can properly lead to a conclusion that the group insurer is

STS LAR POW ree Hence ene

functions. .

Id. at 1325 (footnote & citation omitted). The Turrill

court held that “proof of an employer’s ERISA-based

reporting and fiduciary responsibilities with respect to a

group insurance policy in itself raises an issue under Texas

law as to the existence of an agency relationship between

the employer and the group insurer.” Id. Nothing in

Turrill even hints that state agency law is somehow pre-

empted by ERISA.

MAC’s Fiduciary Duties Under ERISA

In enacting ERISA, Congress did not explicitly enumer-

ate all the duties of an ERISA fiduciary, and did not

describe every instance in which an employer acts in a

fiduciary capacity, but intentionally left many of these

details for the courts to develop in light of the special

nature and purpose of employee benefit plans. Varity

Corp. v. Howe, 116 S. Ct. 1065, 1070 (1996). ERISA

contemplates that an employer often will act as both em-

ployer and plan fiduciary, but not all of the employer's

business activities implicate ERISA’s fiduciary duties. Id.

at 1071.

At minimum, ERISA makes an employer who exercises

“discretionary authority or discretionary responsibility” in

plan administration a fiduciary:

19a

iA) pesven |b 9. Stastery sit omens to 9. Bian. te Oe

extent (i) he exercises any discretionary authority or

discretionary control respecting management of such plan

or exercises any authority or control respecting manage-

ment or disposition of its assets .. . or (iii) he has any

discretionary authority or ya ae responsibility in

the administration of such plan.

29 U.S.C. § 1002(21)(A). An employer who performs

“purely ministerial functions” in administering a plan may

not be a fiduciary, but even so, “[t}he issue is not just how

the duties are characterized, but what they are.” IT Corp.

v. General American Life Ins. Co., 107 F.3d 1415, 1419

(9th Cir. 1997); see also 29 C.F.R. § 2509.75-8, at D-2

(1996) (“[P]ersons who have no power to make any de-

cisions as to plan policy, interpretations, practices or pro-

cedures” are not fiduciaries under ERISA).

In this case, MAC’s activities as plan administrator

included determining employees’ eligibility for coverage,

enrolling them in the plan, issuing certificates of insurance

under the group policy, advising employees as to scope of

benefits, collecting and forwarding premiums to UNUM,

and on occasion, at least, helping employees file claims.

In addition, the certificate of coverage and summary plan

description pamphlet prepared by UNUM and distributed

to MAC employees by MAC advises employees that MAC

is the Plan Administrator, that “[t]he people who operate

your Plan, called ‘fiduciaries’ of the Plan, have a duty to

do so prudently and in the interest of you and other Plan

participants and beneficiaries,” and instructs employees

that “[iJf you have any questions about your Plan, you

should contact the Plan Administrator.” °

Arguably, MAC has assumed fiduciary duties under

ERISA in the administration of the MAC Plan.” Consis-

*UNUM'’s certificate of coverage also counsels employees that

“Ti]f you have any questions about any terms and provisions, please

contact the Insurance Administrator at your work location or write

to our claims paying office.”

—

20a

tent with Turrill, proof of MAC’s fiduciary duties under

ERISA with respect to UNUM’s group insurance policy

raises an issue under California law as to the existence of

an agency relationship between the employer and the

group insurer in light of Elfstrom.

ERISA Preemption

Within its reach, ERISA regulates plans which provide

employees with pension and welfare benefits. “It is a

comprehensive statute designed to promote the interests of

employees and their beneficiaries in employee benefit

plans.” Burgio and Campofelice, Inc. v. New York State

Dep’t of Labor, 107 F.3d 1000, 1007 (2d Cir. 1997).

Section 514(a) of ERISA promotes uniform federal regu-

lation of employee benefit plans by preempting “any and

all State laws insofar as they may now or hereafter relate

to any employee benefit plan” covered by ERISA, subject

to limited exceptions. 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a). Section

514(a)’s purpose “was to minimize the administrative and

financial burden of complying with conflicting directives

among States and between States and the Federal Govern-

ment. Otherwise, the inefficiencies created could work to

the detriment of plan beneficiaries.” Ingersoll-Rand Co.

v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133, 142 (1990).

While § 514(a)’s language is “deliberately expansive,”

Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 46 (1987),

ERISA does not preempt “if the state law has only a ‘ten-

uous, remote, or peripheral’ connection with covered plans,

. . . as is the case with many laws of general applicability.

.. .” District of Columbia v. Greater Washington Bd. of

Trade, 506 U.S. 125, 130 n.1 (1992) (quoting Shaw v.

Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 100 n.21 (1983)).

In fields of traditional state regulation, ERISA preempts

‘© The term “fiduciary” has a broader meaning under ERISA than

at common law because ERISA “defines ‘fiduciary’ not in terms of

formal trusteeship, but in functional terms of control and authority

over the plan.” Mertens, 508 U.S. at 262.

2la

state law if that is “‘the clear and manifest purpose of

Congress.” New York State Conf. of Blue Cross & Blue

Shield Plans v. Travelers Ins. Co., 514 U.S. 645, 655

(1995) (quoting Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331

U.S. 218, 230 (1947)). The Supreme Court recently

acknowledged the existenc eof “myriad state laws in areas

traditionally subject to local regulation, which Congress

could not possibly have intended to eliminate.” California

Div. of Labor Standards Enforcement v. Dillingham

Constr., 117 S. Ct. 832, 842 (1997).

In each instance, the intent of Congress controls our

analysis of preemption under ERISA. Yet the statute it-

self offers little guidance as to when a state law “relates

to” an ERISA plan within the meaning of § 514(a). In

the Travelers case, the Supreme Court observed that courts

“must simply go beyond the unhelpful text and the frus-

trating difficulty of defining its key term, and look instead

to the objectives of the ERISA statute as a guide to the

scope of the state law that Congress understood would

survive.” 514 U.S. at 656. In light of legislative history

indicating that “the basic thrust of the preemption cause

. . » Was to avoid a multiplicity of regulation in order to

permit the nationally uniform administration of employee

benefit plans,” the Travelers Court concluded that two

types of state laws “relate to” employee benefit plans

within § 514(a): laws that “mandat[e] employee benefit

structures or their administration,” and laws that “pro-

vid{e] alternative enforcement mechanisms.” Id. at 657-58.

ERISA and Elfstrom

ERISA and Elfstrom are not anathema. Elfstrom does

not dictate the benefits to be provided or the manner in

which the plan will be administered. Elfstrom does not

require an employer to participate in the administration

of a group insurance policy or an insurer to delegate its

functions to an employer.” Nor does Elfstrom create an

In this case “California is not telling employers how to write

their ERISA plans. Nor is it conditioning some requirement on

22a

“alternate enforcement mechanism” for ERISA plan obli-

gations beyond those set forth in the statute. Contrast

Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 55-57. Elfstrom simply describes

in legal terms a relationship that already exists in fact.

As Turrill illustrates, the principle that an employer

who undertakes responsibilities in administering an em-

ployee benefit plan assumes fiduciary duties under ERISA

meshes smoothly with the Elfstrom rule that an employer

who assumes such responsibilities in administering a group

insurance policy acts as the agent of the insurer. Turrill,

753 F.2d at 1324-25; see also Middleton, 483 S.E.2d at

732-35 (on claim for unpaid benefits under ERISA § 502,

Elfstrom rule applies to hold insurer accountable for em-

ployer’s mistake in denying former employee COBRA

continuation coverage; o*".:r state law claims preempted

by ERISA).

Ostensibly, the legislative effort was to ensure that em-

ployee benefits are provided through an ERISA plan over-

seen by plan fiduciaries, including the plan insurer and

those who the insurer may enlist to participate in the

administration of the plan. Nothing in § 514(a) empow-

ers a plan fiduciary to extend ERISA’s preemptive reach

by using policy language that negates agency law prin-

ciples in favor of exonerating itself from the errors of

those who act on its behalf. Cf. IT Corp., 107 F.3d at

1418 (any interpretation of a plan which prevents a plan

fiduciary from being held liable as a fiduciary is void);

29 U.S.C. §1110(a). Plan documents defining or dis-

avowing a relationship do not have the status of the

ERISA statute, particularly when the actions of the signa-

tors belie the document recitals.”

how individual employers write their ERISA plans.” WSB Elec.,

Inc. v. Curry, 88 F.3d 788, 796 (9th Cir. 1996); see Employee

Staffing Services, Inc. v. Aubry, 20 F.3d 1038, 1041 (9th Cir. 1994).

12 Merely reciting that “if the terms of your certificate of cover-

age and the policy differ, the policy will govern” does not resolve the

23a

Even if UNUM could by agreement with MAC exon-

erate itself of its agency relationship as against MAC,

there is no reason to suppose that the agreement would

exonerate UNUM from its duties to participants and bene-

ficiaries of the ERISA plan, or the conduct of those who

act on its behalf with apparent authority. The employee

participants did not sign the agreement bearing the agency

disclaimer and they are entitled to have the plan adminis-

tered in the interest of participants and beneficiaries. See

29 U.S.C. § 1104. Absent the insurer’s over disavowal

of the sufficiency of the employer’s performance of func-

tions under the plan, actually communicated, the partici-

pants and beneficiaries should be able to rely upon the

relationships that exist. Nothing in ERISA suggests that

in availing themselves of plan benefits, employee partici-

pants must sift plan documents for hidden disclaimers that

the designated plan administrator does not act as agent

for the plan or its insurer.“ The statute must do more

than set traps for the unwary.

question. Where the certificate remains silent on the subject of

agency, the existence in fact of an agency relationship does not

constitute a “term” of the certificate.

Whether an agent or not, if an employer/plan administrator exer-

cises sufficient authority over the plan to become an ERISA fidu-

ciary, contractual policy disclaimers could not limit fiduciary and

co-fiduciary liability under ERISA. See IT Corp., 107 F.3d at

1418-19.

18UNUM cites Kennedy v. System One Holdings, Inc., 835 F.

Supp. 947 (S.D. Tex. 1993), as rejecting a participant’s claim that

UNUM was estopped from denying his late claim based upon mis-

representations by the employer/plan administrator because, inter

alia, “the Plan clearly and unambiguously provides that System One

is not UNUM’s agent ....” Id. at 951 (footnote omitted). Kennedy

relies on policy language essentially identical to Section VI, Para-

graph L of the long-term disability policy issued to MAC. See

id. at 951 n.5. However, Kennedy does not discuss Turrill, and

nothing in Kennedy suggests that the plaintiff gave his employer

timely notice of his disability claim, or even that the employer hau

undertaken administrative responsibilities under the insurance pol-

icy in question. In fact, Kennedy identifies UNUM—not the em-

24a

Applied in the context of this case, Elfstrom does not

operate to create a cause of action against UNUM out-

side of the exclusive claim for unpaid benefits pursuant

to §502(a) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a), pleaded

in Ward’s complaint. Contrast Kanne v. Connecticut Gen.

Life Ins. Co., 867 F.2d 489, 494-95 (9th Cir. 1988)

(state statutory claim for delayed benefits payment pre-

empted by ERISA); Perkins v. Time Ins. Co., 898 F.2d

470, 474 (Sth Cir. 1990) (state law tortious breach of

contract and bad faith claims against insurer for nonpay-

ment of benefits preempted by ERISA). Nor does Elf-

strom alter the facts as between MAC and UNUM, or

create an agency relationship that may or may not exist as

a consequence of the parties’ own course of dealing. The

question ultimately for the district court under Elfstrom

becomes whether MAC acted for UNUM and under

UNUM'’s control in receiving and forwarding long-term

disability claims, and thus whether timely notice to MAC

of Ward’s disability operated as timely notice to UNUM

as well.

In the context of a claim for unpaid benefits under

§$ 502(a), ERISA does not operate to preempt the appli-

cation of the state law embodied in Elfstrom and its prog-

eny to determine the question of timeliness of notice and

proof of claim. We are not persuaded that Congress had

as its clear and manifest purpose the abrogation of state

agency law as it applies to insurers and employers ad-

ministering group insurance policies.

Whether MAC acted as fiduciary and as agent of

UNUM in administering the MAC Plan’s long-term dis-

ability policy, particularly in receiving and forwarding

ployer—‘“as administrator of the long term disability benefits plan

at issue in this case.” Id. at 949; see also id. at 948 (plaintiff sought

benefits under “an employee welfare benefit plan (‘Plan’) adminis-

tered by UNUM”). Thus, Kennedy does not address the Elfstrom

rule because the issue was not raised in that case.

Indeed, we could identify no reported case giving the effect to

this language now urged by UNUM.

DIS fee Poy We wt

25a

claims for benefits,’* cannot be decided as a matter of law

on the existing record. The questions of employer-insurer

agency and employer fiduciary duty instead raise genuine

issues of fact.”

However, these issues become material in this case only

if the question of timeliness of submission of proof of

claim to UNUM, including actual prejudice under Cis-

neros, is ultimately resolved adversely to Ward.

The judgment of the district court is REVERSED and

the case is REMANDED to the district court with in-

structions to remand to the plan administrator for a

determination as to whether UNUM suffered actual preju-

dice by reason of the delay in submission of Ward’s

notice of claim, and if necessary following remand to the

plan administrator, to determine whether MAC acted as

ERISA fiduciary and as agent of UNUM in administering

the MAC Plan’s long-term disability policy, particularly

in receiving and forwarding claims for benefits, and if so,

whether Ward furnished timely notice and proof of his

disability to MAC, and if so, to what remedies Ward may

be entitled.

14 See Norby, 304 Minn. at 472, 231 N.W.2d at 670 (“The focus

. Should be on which specific and relevant administrative func-

tions are performed by the employer on behalf of the insurer, with

respect to the particular ground asserted for . . . nonpayment under

the policy. .. . An employer may be considered an agent of an

insurer for some purposes but not for others.”)

% The extent of UNUM’s liability, if any, for breach by a co-

fiduciary pursuant to 29 U.S.C. §1105(a) depends, inter alia, on

UNUM’s knowledge of the breach, which raises even more issues

of fact. That MAC has not been joined as a party to this litiga-

tion does not impair Ward’s entitlement to_relief under ERISA

§ 502(a)(1), but may raise procedural questions as to any further

relief sought under § 502(a)(3). Cf. Madden, 914 F.2d at 1287

(“*‘ERISA permits suits to recover benefits only against the Plan

as an entity, . . . and suits for breach of fiduciary duty only against

the fiduciary.’” (quoting Gelardi v. Pertec Computer Corp., 761

F.2d 1323, 1324-25 (9th Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) ).

Moreover, to the extent that Ward may be entitled to receive

payment of benefits pursuant to ERISA § 502(a)(1), further equi-

table relief under § 502(a)(3) may not be “appropriate.” Varity

Corp., 116 S. Ct. at 1079.

26a

[Filed Mar. 23, 1998]

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 95-56269

D.C. No. CV-94-01454-MHH

JOHN E. WARD,

Plaintiff-A ppellant,

v.

MANAGEMENT ANALYSIS COMPANY EMPLOYEE DISABIL-

ITY BENEFIT PLAN (proper party name) UNUM Life

Insurance Company of America,

Defendant-Appellee.

Before: FLETCHER and TROTT, Circuit Judges, and

JENKINS,* District Judge

ORDER

_The panel has voted to deny the petition for rehearing.

Judges Fletcher and Trott vote to reject the suggestion

for rehearing en banc and Judge Jenkins so recommends.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for an

en banc rehearing, and no judge of the court has re-

quested a vote on the suggestion for rehearing en banc.

Fed. R. App. P. 35.

The petition for rehearing is denied and the suggestion

for rehearing en banc is rejected.

* Honorable Bruce S. Jenkins, United States District Judge for

the District of Utah, sitting by designation.

oy ee ee i

27a

[Filed Aug. 8, 1995]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Case No. CV 94-1454 H( AJB)

JOHN E. WARD,

Plaintiff,

vs.

MANAGEMENT ANALYSIS COMPANY EMPLOYEE

DISABILITY BENEFIT PLAN,

Defendant.

ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANT’S MOTION

FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

Defendant UNUM has filed a motion for summary

judgment. Plaintiff opposes the motion. On August 3,

1$_5, the court held a telephone oral argument in this

matter and both parties assented to having the matter

heard on this date. Brooks Iler appeared on behalf of

plaintiff John Ward and Jeffrey Smith appeared on be-

half of defendant UNUM.

Having reviewed the papers submitted in this matter

and having heard oral argument in the case, the court

grants deiendant’s motion for summary judgment.

BACKGROUND

Plaintiff was the former Chief Executive Officer of

Management Analysis Company (“MAC”). On May 8,

1992, plaintiff resigned from his position upon the request

of the company’s Board of Directors over financial con-

cerns about a particular company project.

28a

Throughout his nine years of employment with MAC,

plaintiff had premiums for long-term disability insurance

deducted from his paycheck. The disability policy is an

insured employee welfare benefit plan called the Manage-

ment Analysis Company Plan (the “Plan”) and is is-

sued by UNUM Life Insurance Company of America

(“UNUM”).

The issue in this case is whether plaintiff made a timely

claim for benefits under the Plan. According to plaintiff's

application for benefits, he first became aware of his dis-

ability on May 5, 1992. In December 1992, plaintiff re-

ceived a diagnosis of diabetic neuropathy.

Following confirmation of his- diagnosis, plaintiff filed

a claim for state disability benefits. In or around late

February or early March 1993, plaintiff received notice

that his state benefits application had been approved.

Plaintiff then contacted the Human Resources division of

MAC to arrange for the continuation of his insurance

coverage under COBRA. The company’s Administrative

Vice-President, Dexana MacQuarrie, forwarded materials

regarding COBRA benefits to plaintiff and explained that

plaintiff needed to get a disability determination from the

Social Security Administration in order to extend his

insurance benefits.

In July 1993, plaintiff received his Social Security

award of disability, a copy of which he forwarded to

MAC’s Human Resources department. At that time,

neither Maria Bonney, the employee handlix¢ plaintiff's

health insurance coverage, nor Dexana MacQuarrie men-

tioned to plaintiff that he might obtain coverage under

the Plan.

In April 1994, while cleaning out a safety deposit box;

plaintiff discovered a booklet entitled “Your Long Term

Disability Income Benefits.” Upon discovering the pam-

phiet, plaintiff contacted Maria Bonney to determine

whether he was covered under the long-term plan. Bon-

ney told plaintiff that he was indeed covered and sent

29a

him an application for long term disability benefits. Under

the terms of the Plan, if plaintiff's claim had been ap-

proved, he would have been entitled to $13,000 per

month for a period of forty-two months which adds up to

a total available benefit of approximatcly $546,000.

Plaintiff completed the application and submitted it to

MAC. MAC completed the employer section and for-

warded the application to UNUM on April 11, 1994.

On April 13, 1994, UNUM advised plaintiff that his

claim would not be reviewed because it was not submitted

in a timely fashion. On June 6, 1994, plaintiff's counsel

requested a review of UNUM’s claim denial. Six days

later, UNUM confirmed its denial of coverage. Plain-

tiff then filed this suit in federal court.

On May 8, 1995, the court denied without prejudice

defendant's motion for summary judgment noting that

there were unresolved material issues of fact in regards

to the agency issue.

DISCUSSION

A. Standard

A motion for summary judgment shall be granted where

“there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and...

the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of

law.” Fep R. Civ P. 56(c); British Airways Bd. v. Boe-

ing Co., 585 F.2d 946, 951 (9th Cir. 1978). Any doubt

as to the existence of any issue of material fact requires

denial of the motion. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

477 U.S. 242, 255 (1986). The opposing party cannot

rest on the mere allegations or denials of his pleading,

but must “go beyond the pleadings and by her own affi-

davits, or by the ‘depositions, answers to interrogatories,

and admissions on file’ designate ‘specific facts showing

that there is a genuine issue for trial.’” Celotex Corp.

v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 324 (1986) (citation omitted).

30a

B. Application of Standard

1. Application of Agency Standard

Defendant argues that as a matter of law it was not

required to entertain plaintiffs application for long-term

disability benefits because the application was untimely.

Plaintiff argues that he provided timely notice to his em-

ployer, MAC, and that under agency law, timely notice to-

MAC was tantamount to timely notice to UNUM.

First, the court considers the issue of whether agency

law is applicable to this case. The MAC plan admin-

istered by UNUM is governed by ERISA and ERISA

preempts all state law claims “relating to” an ERISA

plan. 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a); Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. De-

deaux, 481 U.S. 41, 44 (1987). Plaintiff argues how-

ever, that in this instance, state agency law applies. Spe-

cifically, plaintiff relies upon Elfstrom v. New York Life

Ins. Co., 67 Cal.2d 503 (1967). In Elfstrom, the Cali-

fornia Supreme Court concluded that where an employer

is the named insured under a group insurance policy, the

employer acts as an agent of the insured. /d. at 513. In

reaching this conclusion, the court noted that in perform-

ing administrative duties related to the group insurance

benefits, the employer was not acting entirely for its own

benefit, but for the benefit of both the insurance com-

pany and itself. Jd. at 511. Administrative duties in-

cluded determination of employee’s eligibility for insur-

ance and completing the certificate of insurance. /d. at

513-14.

Plaintiff contends that his employer furnished UNUM

with information regarding MAC’s employees, determined

which employees were eligible for coverage and arranged

for payments to be made to UNUM. By performing

these duties, plaintiff suggests that MAC acted as an

agent for UNUM. As such, plaintiff argues that provid-

ing notice to the human resources division of MAC con-

stituted timely notice to UNUM.

not applicable

field. Plaintiff argues that under

ERISA does not preempt “any law of any State which

regulates insurance, banking, or securities.” 29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(b)(2)(A). To determine whether a state provi-

sion falls under the “savings clause,” the court must de-

termine if the state provision is specifically directed to

the insurance industry. Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 48.

Whether the law affects the “business of insurance” is

further determined by a three-prong test: (!) whether the

practice has the effect of spreading a policyholder’s risk;

(2) whether it is an integral part of the_policy relation-

ship between insurer and insured; and (3) whether it is

limited to entities within the insurafce industry. Metro-

politan Life Ins. Co. v. Mass., 471 U.S. 724, 739 (1985).

Here, the court notes that Elfstrom does not meet all

the necessary criteria. First, the mere fact that an em-

ployer acts as an agent for the insurer does not transfer

the policyholder’s risk. The assumption of administrative

duties by the employer does not transfer risk of ‘oss from

the insurer to the employer.

Second, the rule in Elfstrom is not an integral part of

the policy relationship between insurer and insured. As

defendant correctly points out, California Jaw allows for

limitations to be placed on an agency relationship between

employer and insured. Specifically, California Insurance

Code § 10209(d) states that “[t]he contract of insurance

and individual certificate may contain provisions defining

the extent to which the employer acts as the agent of the

employee or may act as the agent of the insurer.” /d.

The policy in question here states that MAC “acts on its

own behalf or as agent of the employee.” It further states

that “[uJnder no circumstances will [MAC] be deemed the

agent of [UNUM] without a written authorization.”

32a

2. Was Plaintiff's Application for Benefits Timely

Because Eljstrom does not fall under the savings clause

exception, the court finds that ERISA controls this case.

Under ERISA, the district court reviews de novo a deter-

mination of non-eligibility for ERISA benefits. Patterson

v. Hughes Aircraft Co., 11 F.3d 948 (9th Cir. 1993).

Terms in an ERISA insurance policy are interpreted in

“an ordinary and popular sense as would a [person] of

average intelligence and experience.” Evans v. Safeco Life

Ins., 916 F.2d 1437, 1441 (9th Cir. 1991) (per curiam).

Courts should not “artificially create ambiguity where

none exists.” /d. Finally, “[i}f a reasonable interpretation

favors the insurer and any other interpretation would be

strained, no compulsion exists to torture or twist the lan-

guage of the policy.” /d.

Under the terms of the Plan, plaintiff had 180 days

from the discovery of his disability to file for long-term

disability benefits. If it was not reasonable for him to

give proof of disability within those 180 days, plaintiff was

required to file his claim within one year plus 180 days

from the onset of his disability. The policy regarding

proof of claim was included in the booklet summarizing

benefits which plaintiff found in his safe deposit box.

In his application for benefits, plaintiff states that his

disability began on or about May 5, 1992. As such, the

latest day for plaintiff to file his claim was December 5,

1993. However, plaintiff did not file his claim until April

11, 1994. Pursuant to the policy, plaintiff's claim was late

and therefore defendant was not obligated to honor plain-

tiff's claim for long-term disability benefits.

Plaintiff claims he relied on MAC’s human resources

division to provide him with information regarding his

benefits. The court notes, however, that plaintiff was not

a mere employee of MAC, but served as CEO of the

company. As CEO of the company, plaintiff met annually

with the company’s Human Resources department to re-

33a

view MAC's insurance plan, including the one at issue.

Plaintiff states that five months before his termination, he

attended a company-wide meeting relating to MAC’s bene-

fits. A UNUM representative provided information at that

meeting. Thus, the court finds that plaintiff had adequate

notice of the types of insurance coverage offered by his

company.

Finally, as a point of policy, UNUM aptly notes that

the reason for placing a time limit on filing proof of

claims is to avoid the prejudicial effect of delay. The

Plan extends only to a disability which occurred while

plaintiff was working for the company. The delay in

filing precludes UNUM from definitively determining

whether plaintiff's disability existed on the date alleged in

his claim.

CONCLUSION

The court certainly finds the facts of this case to be

sympathetic. Nonetheless, having carefully reviewed the

matter, the court finds that plaintiff did not file a timely

application for benefits. Accordingly, defendant’s motion

for summary judgment is granted.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated: 8-7-95

/s/ Marilyn L. Huff

MARILYN L. HuFFr

Judge

United States District Court

34a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Case No. 94-1454 H(AJB)

JouHN E. WARD,

vs.

MANAGEMENT ANALYSIS COMPANY EMPLOYEE

DISABILITY BENEFIT PLAN,

Defendant.

Date: July 24, 1995

Courtroom of the Honorable Marilyn L. Huff

Plaintiff,

DECLARATION OF JOHN A. HOUSER, III

Attached hereto for the Court's convenience is a true

and correct copy of the Declaration of John A. Houser

III, and the exhibits attached thereto. The original Dec-

laration of Mr. Houser was filed in connection with De-

fendants’ prior Motion for Summary Judgment and is

contained in the Court's file.

DATED: June 26, 1995

Respectfully submitted,

JerrrRey P. SMITH

Davip RIBAKOFF

Apams, Duque & HAZELTINE

By /s/ Jeffrey P. Smith

Jerrrey P. SMITH

Attorneys for Defendants

UNUM Life Insurance

Company of America and

Management Analysis

Company Plan

nS ee Ry Sveti

35a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Case No. 94-1454 H( AJB)

JoHN E. WARD,

Plaintiff,

vs.

MANAGEMENT ANALYSIS COMPANY EMPLOYEE

DISABILITY BENEFIT PLAN,

Defendant.

Date: May 8, 1995

Courtroom of the Honorable Marilyn L. Huff

DECLARATION OF JOHN A. HOUSER, III

I, John A. Houser, III, declare as follows:

1. I am the Director-Technical Services in the Quality

Review Section of UNUM Life Insurance Company of

America (“UNUM”). The Quality Review Section is

responsible for performing ERISA reviews of disability

benefits claims such as that of John E. Ward, the plaintiff

in this case.

2. The facts set forth herein are based upon my own

personal knowledge. My personal knowledge is in part

derived from my review of and familiarity with UNUM’s

records relating to this claim and the subject Group Policy

No. 310727 (the “Policy”). Those records are business

records of UNUM which were prepared by or received

by employees of UNUM in the course of its business at

or near the time of the acts, conditions or events described

in the records. The records are prepared by persons with

36a

knowledge or from information given by a person with

knowledge of the acts, conditions, or events described in

the records. The records are kept by UNUM in the course

of its regularly conducted business activities, in accord-

ance with its regular practices, and are trustworthy. If

called as a witness in this matter, | could and would

testify competently thereto.

3. Attached hereto as Exhibit | is a true and correct

copy of the Group Long Term Disability Policy issued by

UNUM Life Insurance Company of America to Manage-

ment Analysis Corporation (“MAC”) under which eligible

employees of MAC were covered, including Mr. Ward.

This is the Policy which was in effect on May 8, 1992,

the date of Mr. Ward’s alleged disability. The original

effective date of the Policy was November 1, 1993.

4. Attached as Exhibit 2 is a true and correct copy of

the employee certificate booklet which summarizes and

describes the coverage under the Policy. This is the

booklet which was in effect at the time of Mr. Ward’s

alleged disability. A quantity of these booklets were sent

by UNUM to MAC for distribution to MAC’s employees.

5. In accordance with terms the Policy, the policy-

holder (MAC) acts on its own behalf or as agent of the

employee. Under no circumstances will the policyholder

(MAC) be deemed the agent of the Company (UNUM)

without a written authorization. [See, Policy at L-GPP-4]

No such written authorization was ever issued by UNUM

to MAC,

6. The Policy requires insureds to submit proof of

their claims no later than 90 days after the end of the

elimination period [Policy at L-GPP-2-L-GPP-3]. “Proof

of claim” requires completion of a three part claim form.

The first part, to be completed by the insured, is entitled

“Application for Long Term Disability Benefits.” The

second part, to be completed by the employer/policy-

holder, is entitled “Employer’s Report of Claim,” and the

37a

third part, entitled “Attending Physician's Statement” is

to be completed by the insured’s treating physicians.

7. On April 11, 1994, UNUM, through its Western

Regional Benefits Office located in Glendale, California,

first received notice of Mr. Ward’s claim for long term

disability benefits under the Policy. UNUM received the

following documents pertaining to Mr. Waru’s claim, true

and correct copies of which are attached hereto:

a. A Long Term Disability Claim Employer's State-

ment, dated April 6, 1994 [Exhibit 3];

b. A Long Term Disability Claim Job Analysis dated

April 6, 1994 [Exhibit 4];

c. Long Term Disability Claim Employee’s Authoriza-

tion dated March 29, 1994 [Exhibit 5];

d. Long Term Disability Claim Employee’s Statement

dated March 29, 1994 [Exhibit 6];

e. Letter from Maria Bonney dated April 6, 1994

{Exhibit 7];

f. W-2 Wage and Tax Statements 1991 and 1992 for

John E. Ward [Exhibit 8];

g. Group Enrollment Request Card of John E. Ward

[Exhibit 9];

h. Memorandum from MAC to John E. Ward dated

April 5, 1983 Re: Statement of Insurance Coverage Ef-

fective Date: 3/21/83 [Exhibit 10];

i. Resume of John E. Ward [Exhibit 11];

j. Award Certificate Letter from Social Security Ad-

ministration to John E. Ward, dated July 30, 1993 ({Ex-

hibit 12);

k. Long Term Disability Claim Physicians Statement

of Robert A. Smith dated March 23, 1994 [Exhibit 13];

38a

1. Letter from Christian W. Mende, M.D., F.A.C.P. to

Whom it May Concern, dated March 28, 1994 [Exhibit

14};

m. Letter from N.A. Nabavi M.D., F.A.C.S. to Whom

it May Concern, dated May 7, 1993 [Exhibit 15];

n. Letter from George A. Curry, II, M.D. to Robert

A. Smith, M.D., dated March 24, 1994 entitled Supple-

mental Report [Exhibit 16];

0. Letter of John E. Ward to Western Regional Bene-

fits, dated March 25, 1994, and accompanying list of

attachments [Exhibit 17];

p. Letter of Robert A. Smith, M.D. to Department of

Health and Human Services dated April 22, 1993 [Exhibit

18);

q. Radiology Report of David Rabinov, M.D., dated

October 29, 1992 [Exhibit 19];

r. Letter of Magid Molaire, M.D. to Nicholas A.

Nabari, M.D., dated November 16, 1992 [Exhibit 20];

s. Letter of Magid Molaire, M.D. to Nicholas A.

Nabari, M.D., dated November 20, 1992 [Exhibit 21];

t. Letter of N.A. Nabavi, M.D. F.A.C.S. to Robert

Smith, M.D. dated November 9, 1992, and enclosures

[Exhibit 22};

u. Letter of Donald J. Sage, M.D., F.A.C.S. to Robert

Smith, M.D., dated November 30, 1992 [Exhibit 23};

v. Letter of George A. Carey, II, M.D. to Robert A.

Smith, M.D., dated April 15, 1993 [Exhibit 24].

8. Prior to the receipt of the aforementioned docu-

ments on April 11, 1994, UNUM had no notice or knowl-

edge that Mr. Ward was disabled or that he intended to

make a claim under the Policy. UNUM first became

aware of Mr. Ward’s potential claim on April 11, 1994.

Mr. Ward did not submit a claim to UNUM for long term

39a

disability benefits at the time of his alleged disability,

which he claimed occurred on May 8, 1992, or at any

time prior to April 11, 1994. Accordingly, by letter dated

April 13, 1994, UNUM advised Mr. Ward that it was

unable to review his application for benefits on the ground

that proof of claim had not been submitted within the

time frame specified under the Policy. A true and correct

copy of UNUM'’s letter of April 13, 1994 is attached

hereto as Exhibit 26.

9. Mr. Ward, through his attorney Brooks L. Iler,

requested review of UNUM'’s claim denial by letter dated

June 6, 1994. A true and correct copy of Mr. Iler’s letter

of June 6, 1994 is attached hereto as Exhibit 27.

10. By letter dated July 12, 1994, UNUM advised Mr.

Ward and Mr. Iler that it had completed its review and

that its initial determination had been upheld. The ground

for UNUM’s denial of benefits was that Mr. Ward had

not submitted proof of claim within the time limit speci-

fied in the Policy in which he was a participant. A true

and correct copy of UNUM’s July 12, 1994 letter is at-

tached hereto as Exhibit 28.

11. Had plaintiff timely filed his claim for disability

benefits under the Policy, UNUM would have conducted

a thorough claim investigation. In handling claims for

long term disability benefits, it is UNUM’s usual and

customary practice to request from each of its insured’s

treating physicians copies of all office/treatment notes,

basic laboratory data, test results and consultations for

the patient's treatment period to evaluate a claim and to

better understand a claimant's medical condition. Addi-

tionally, treating physicians are requested to provide

UNUM with the patient’s current restrictions and limita-

tions, a detailed physical capacity evaluation, prognosis

for return to work and the current course of treatment.

Depending upon the information received, UNUM may

schedule an independent medical examination of the

claimant in order to obtain a second opinion regarding

40a

the nature of the claimant’s medical condition and dis-

ability and may conduct a vocational analysis.

12. Plaintiff submitted his claim to UNUM nearly two

years after the onset of his disability. During that nearly

two year period, UNUM was without knowledge that

plaintiff claimed he was “disabled” and was thereby de-

prived of the opportunity to fully evaluate his claim and

to determine the extent of his disability at the time he

claimed to be disabled.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of

the United States that the foregoing is true and correct.

Executed on March 29, 1995, at Portland, Maine.

/s/ John A. Houser, Ill

Joun A. Houser, Ill

ret etn a A i i tga nme cad” ald pay wicca

/s/ [Illegible}

4la

EXHIBIT 1

[Logo] Unionmutual

Policyholder:

MANAGEMENT ANALYSIS COMPANY

Policy Number: 310727

Policy Effective Date: November 1, 1983 *

* Revised by Amendment No. 05

Premium Due Dates:

January 1 and the first day of each following month.

Governing Jurisdiction: CALIFORNIA

Policy Anniversary:

November 1, 1986, and each following November |

Unionmutual Stock Life Insurance Co. of America (re-

ferred to as the Company) will pay the benefits provided

in this policy. The Company makes this promise subject

to all of this policy’s provisions.

The policyholder should read the policy specifications

carefully and contact the Company promptly with any

questions.

This policy is delivered in and governed by the laws of

the governing jurisdiction.

Signed for the Company at Portland, Maine on the policy

effective date.

/s/ [Illegible]

Secretary President

Unionmutual Stock Life Insurance Co. of America

A Stock Life Insurance Company

42a

SECTION VI—GENERAL POLICY PROVISIONS

a * ” a

a. information relative to employees:

i. who qualify to become insured;

ii. whose amounts of insurance change; and/

or

iii. whose insurance terminates.

b. any other information about this policy that

may be reasonably required.

The employer's records which, in the opinion of

the Company, have a bearing on the insurance

will be opened for inspection by the Company at

any reasonable time.

2. Clerical error or omission will not:

a. deprive an employee of insurance;

b. affect an employee’s amount of insurance; or

c. effect or continue an employee’s insurance

which otherwise would not be in force.

E. MISSTATEMENT OF FACTS

If relevant facts about any employee were not ac-

curate:

1. a fair adjustment of premium will be made; and

2. the true facts will decide if and in what amount

insurance is valid under this policy.

F. NOTICE AND PROOF OF CLAIM

1. Notice

a. Written notice of claim must be given to the

Company within 30 days of the date disability

starts, if that is possible. If that is not pos-

:

7

:

f

:

b.

43a

sible, the Company must be notified as soon

as it is reasonably possible to do so.

When the Company has the written notice of

claim, the Company will send the insured its

claim forms. If the forms are not received

within 15 days after written notice of claim

is sent, the insured can send the Company

written proof of claim without waiting for the

form.

2. Proof

Proof of claim must be given to the Company.

This must be done no later than 90 days after

the end of the elimina‘ion period.

If it is not possible to give proof within these

time limits, it must be given as soon as rea-

sonably possible. But proof of claim may not

be given later than one year after the time

proof is otherwise required.

Proof of continued disability and regular at-

tendance of a physician must be given to the

Company within 30 days of the request for

the proof.

The prof must cover:

i. the date disability started;

ii. the cause of disability; and

iii, how serious the disability is.

G. EXAMINATION

The Company, at its own expense, will have the right

and opportunity to have an employee, whose injury

or sickness is the basis of a claim, examined by a

physician or vocational expert of its choice. This

right may be used as often as reasonably required.

44a

LEGAL PROCEEDINGS

A claimant or the claimant's authorized representa-

tive cannot start any legal action:

1. until 60 days after proof of claim has been given;

nor

2. more than 3 years after the time proof of claim is

required.

TIME OF PAYMENT OF CLAIMS

When the Company receives proof of claim, benefits

payable under this policy will be paid monthly during

any period for which the Company is liable.

PAYMENT OF CLAIMS

All benefits are payable to the employee. But if a

benefit is payable to an employee’s estate, an em-

ployee who is a minor, or an employee who is not

competent, the Company has the right to pay up to

$1,000 to any of the employee’s relatives whom the

Company considers entitled. If the Company pays

benefits in good faith to a relative, the Company will

not have to pay such benefits again.

WORKERS’ OR WORKMEN’S COMPENSATION

This policy is not in lieu of, and does not affect, any

requirement for coverage by workers’ or workmen’s

compensation insurance.

AGENCY

For all purposes of this policy, the policyholder acts

on its own behalf or as agent of the employee. Under

no circumstances will the policyholder be deemed the

agent of the Company without a written authoriza-

tion.

l.

45a

SECTION I— POLICY SPECIFICATIONS

Description of Eligible Classes

Class | President, Vice Chairman, Senior Vice

President, Division Manager and Vice Pres-

ident

Class 2 All other employees

Amounts of Insurance

a. The lesser of:

i. 60% of basic monthly earnings less other in-

come benefits, except family Social Security

benefits; or

ii. 70% of basic monthly earnings, less all other

income benefits; or

iii. the maximum monthly benefit.

Note: This benefit is subject to reductions

for earnings as provided in the Monthly

Benefit section of this policy.

b. The maximum monthly benefit is $13,000.

c. The minimum monthly benefit is the greater of:

i. $100.; or

ii. 10% of the monthly benefit before deduc-

tions for other income benefits.

Maximum Benefit Period

Age at Disability Maximum Benefit Period

Less than age 60 To age 65 but not

less than 60 months

60 60 months

61 48 months

62 42 months

63 36 months

64 30 months

65 24 months

66 21 months

67 18 months

68 15 months

69 and Over 12 months

46a

4. Elimination Period: 90 days

5. Minimum Requirement for Active Employment:

For Daily Salaried Consultants, 114 hours per month

based on an average of paid hours from the previous

12 months.

For Daily Salaried Consultants who have been paid a

minimum of 2 months but less than 12 months,

average will be based on hours paid for months

paid.

For all others: 30 hours per week

. Definition of Basic Monthly Earnings

For Daily Salaried Consultants

“Basic monthly earnings” means 1/12th of salary

only from November Ist through October 31st of the

year prior to the date salary changes are made.

Salary changes will be made January Ist of each

year.

For Daily Salaried Consultants with less than one

year of service:

“Basic monthly earnings” means 1/12th of 171 work

days times the employees individual contractual daily

work rate.

For all other employees

"Basic monthly earnings” means the insured’s monthly

rate of earnings from the employer in effect just prior

to the 12 month period ending on November 1 of

each year, actual changes will take effect January 1.

It includes earnings from commissions, bonuses and

overtime pay, but not other extra compensation.

Commissions, bonuses and overtime pay will be aver-

aged for the lesser of:

a. the 12 month period of employment just prior to

November 1; or

47a

b. the period of employment.

7. Waiting Period:

10.

ll.

a. Employees in an eligible class on or before the

policy effective date: None

b. Employees entering an eligible class after the

policy effective date: First of the month follow-

ing date of employment

The employee must be in continuous active employ-

ment in an eligible class during the specified waiting

period.

Employee Contributions Required: Yes

Note: Coverage for which contributions are re-

quired applies only if proper enrollment is

made and the required contributions are

made.

Divisions, Subsidiaries or Affiliated Companies in-

cluded

Name Location (City and State)

Pacific Atlantic Atlanta, GA

Technical Services, Inc.

MACTEC San Diego, CA

Changes Effective

Subject to the Delayed Effective Date subsections,

changes in insurance take effect each November 1.

Continuation of Employee Insurance During Ab-

sences

Type of Absence Time Limit

Temporary Layoff or To the end of the 3 month

Leave of Absence period following the policy

month in which the layoff or

leave of absence begins.

48a

SECTION II—DEFINITIONS

For the purposes of this policy:

“Active employment” means the employee must be

working:

1. for the employer on a permanent full-time

basis and paid regular earnings;

2. at least the minimum number of hours shown

in the policy specifications; and either

3. at the employer's usual place of business; or

4. at a location to which the employer's busi-

ness requires the employee to travel.

“Basic monthly earnings”—As defined in the polis

specifications.

“Certificate” means a written statement prepared by

the Company including all riders and supplements,

if any, setting forth a summary of:

1. the insurance benefits to which an employee

is entitled;

2. to whom the benefits are payable; and

3. limitations or requirements that may apply.

“Complications of pregnancy” means pregnancy com-

plicated by concurrent disease or abnormal condi-

tions significantly affecting usual medical manage-

ment.

“Disability” or “disabled”"—see last page of Section

Ul.

“Disability benefits,” when used with the term retire-

ment plan, means money which:

1. is payable under a retirement plan due to

disability as defined in that plan; and

49a

2. does not reduce the amount of money which

would have been paid as retirement benefits

at the normal retirement age under the plan

if the disability had not occurred. (If the

payment does cause such a reduction, it will

be deemed a retirement benefit as defined in

this policy.)

“Eligibility date” means the date an employee be-

comes cligible for insurance under this policy.

Classes eligible are shown in the policy specifications.

“Elimination period” means a period of consecutive

days of disability for which no benefit is payable.

The elimination period is shown in the policy specifi-

cations and begins on the first day of disability.

Note: If disability stops during the elimination

period for any 7 (or less) days, then the dis-

ability will be treated as continuous. But days

that the insured is not disabled will not count

toward the elimination period.

“Employee” means a person in active employment

with the employer.

“Employer” means the policyholder and includes any

division, any subsidiary or any affiliated company

named in the policy specifications.

“Evidence of insurability” means a statement or proof

of an employee’s medical history upon which accept-

ance for insurance will be determined by the Com-

pany.

“Grace period” is the 31 days folowing a premium

due date during which premium payment may be

made.

“Gross monthly benefit” means the insured’s benefit

amount before any reduction for other income bene-

fits and earnings.

50a

“Home office’ means the Unionmutual Stock Life

Insurance Co. of America, 2211 Congress Street,

Portland, Maine 04122.

“Indexed pre-disability earnings” means the insured’s

basic monthly earnings in effect just prior to the date

his disability began adjusted by 7% on the first an-

niversary of benefit payments and each following

anniversary to a maximum of 5 adjustments.

“Injury” means bodily injury resulting directly from

an accident and independently of all other causes.

The injury must occur and disability must begin

while the employee is insured under this policy.

“Insured” means an employee insured under this

policy.

“Male pronoun” whenever used includes the female.

“Monthly Benefit” means the amount payable by the

Company to the disabled insured.

“Partial disability” or “partiaHy disabled”—see last

page of Section II.

“Physician” means a person who is:

1. operating within the scope of his license;

and either

2. licensed to practice medicine and prescribe

and administer drugs or to perform surgery;

or

3. legally qualified as a medical practitioner

and required to be recognized, under this

policy for insurance purposes, according to

the insurance statutes or the insurance regu-

lations of the governing jurisdiction.

It will not include an employee or his spouse,

daughter, son, father, mother, sister or brother.

S5la

“Policy Specifications” is the document showing the

eligible classes, the amounts of insurance and other

relevant information pertaining to the plan of insur-

ance applied for by the policyholder. This document,

designated Section I, is attached to and is part of this

policy.

* * * *

52a

MANAGEMENT ANALYSIS COMPANY

Your Long Term Disability Income Benefits

53a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CERTIFICATE OF COVERAGE ooo.o......cccccccccceecceseee 1

SS REE ONO WEN G5 2

TERMS YOU SHOULD KNOW 000.0.......cccccccccccccceeceeeeeee 6

ENROLLMENT AND DATE INSURANCE STARTS.. 11

NE releerinicipescettuaenontenstetresseeuimnipameniopecenemansienes 12

M,N 15

SURVIVOR BENEFIT .....0...............-cc00-000.

GENERAL EXCLUSIONS .... - dion 16

PRE-EXISTING CONDITION EXCLUSION .............. 17

PRE-EXISTING CONDITION EXCLUSION ............. 17

MENTAL ILLNESS LIMITATION |W... 17

CONTINUITY OF COVERAGE UPON TRANSFER

OF INSURANCE CARRIERS ..000..000..2.......ccccceeseeeee 18

IN shiitesenecipidatinscnntantewitlipscintinniarscanenbanscnunen 20

CONVERSION PRIVILEGE un.......0.....ccscccccsceseoseceeees 21

SOME GENERAL INFORMATION TO KNOW ..... 22

54a

CERTIFICATE OF COVERAGE

This certificate does not apply unless

this space is covered by sticker form

100-77

UNUM Life Insurance Company of America (referred

to as “we,” “our” and “us”) welcomes your employer as

a client.

This is your certificate of coverage as long as you are

eligible for insurance and you become and remain insured.

Keep it in a safe place.

A few words about this certificate of coverage. . . .

We have written it in plain English. But a few terms and

provisions are written as required by insurance law. You

will want to read it carefully. If you have any questions

about any terms and provisions, please contact the Insur-

ance Administrator at your work location or write to our

claims paying office. We will assist you in any way we

can to help you understand your benefits.

Also, if the terms of your certificate of coverage and the

policy differ, the policy will govern. Your coverage may

be terminated or modified in whole or in part under the

terms and provisions of the policy.

/s/ Jerry F. Orr, Il

President

55a

PLAN OUTLINE

Description of Eligible Classes

President, Vice Chairman, Senior Vice President,

Division Manager and Vice President

Amount of Insurance

* The lesser of:

1. 60% of basic monthly earnings less other income

benefits, except family Social Security benefits; or

2. 70% of basic monthly earnings, less all other in-

come benefits; or

3. the maximum monthly benefit.

Note: This benefit is subject to reductions and

earnings as provided in the section titled “How is

the benefit figured?”

* The maximum monthly benefit is $13,000.

* The minimum monthly benefit is the greater of:

1. $100.00; or

2. 10% of the monthly benefit before deductions for

other income benefits.

CONVERSION PRIVILEGE

Under what conditions can you convert?

When your insurance under this plan terminates because

you end employment with the policyholder, you may ob-

tain converted disability income coverage without medical

evidence of insurability. But you must have been insured

for at least twelve consecutive months just before your

insurance under this plan terminated. These twelve

months will be considered to include the time you were

56a

insured for group long term disability under both this

plan and the one it replaced, if any.

Who may not convert?

The conversion privilege is not available to you if:

1. your insurance under this plan terminates for any of

the following reasons:

a. this plan terminates;

b. this plan is amended to exclude from coverage the

class of employees to which you belong;

c. you no longer belong to a class of employees

eligible for coverage under this plan;

d. you retire;

e. you failed to pay any required premium;

2. you are or become insured for long term disability

insurance under another group plan within 31 days

after termination; or

3. you are disabled under the terms of this plan.

When must you apply for the conversion coverage?

You must apply for and pay the first quarterly premium

for the conversion coverage within 31 days after your

insurance terminates under this plan.

Is the conversion coverage the same as that provided

under this plan?

The Company governs the form of coverage, the benefits

and the amounts. The benefit and amounts may differ

from those under this plan.

SOME GENERAL INFORMATION TO KNOW

When must we be notified of a claim?

57a

You must give us written notice of claim within 30 days

date disability starts. If that is not possible, you

you our claim forms. If you do not receive the forms

15 days after you sent the notice, you can send

written proof of claim without waiting for the form.

When does proof of claim have to be given?

You must give us proof of claim no later than 90 days

after the end of the elimination period.

If it is

not possible for you to give proof within these

limits, it must be given as soon as reasonably pos-

of the

must

When we receive your written notice of claim, we will

send

within

lar attendance of a physician within 30 days of the date

we request the proof.

The proof must cover:

1. the date disability started;

2. the cause of disability; and

3. how serious the disability is.

When are claims paid?

When we receive proof of claim, benefits payable under

the policy will be paid monthly during any period for

which we are liable.

Who are claims paid to?

All benefits are payable to you. But if a benefit is payable

to your estate, or if you are a minor, or you are not com-

petent, we have the right to pay up to $1,000 to any of

your relatives whom we consider entitled. If we pay bene-

58a .

fits in good faith to a relative, we will not have to pay

such benefits again.

What are our examination rights?

We, at our expense, have the right and opportunity to

have you examined by a physician or vocational expert of

our choice to determine the extent of any sickness or in-

jury for which you have made a claim. This right may be

used as often as reasonably required.

How can statements made in any application for this in-

surance be used?

In the absence of fraud, all statements you made when

applying for this insurance and providing evidence of in-

surability are considered representations and not wa

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — UNUM Life Ins. Co. of America v. Ward · 526 U.S. 358 | Frix