Petitioners Brief — Chicago v. Morales

Supreme Court brief1999

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

0 oe ee

eat JUN 19 1998

| CLERK

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

City oF CHICAGO,

Petitioner,

Vv.

Jesus MORALES, et al.,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of Illinois

BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

BRIAN L. CROWE

Corporation Counsel

of the City of Chicago

LAWRENCE ROSENTHAL *

Deputy Corporation Counsel

BENNA RUTH SOLOMON

Chief Assistant Corporation

Counsel

TIMOTHY W. JORANKO

Assistant Corporation

Counsel

City Hall, Room 610

Chicago, Illinois 60602

(312) 744-5337

Attorneys for Petitioner

* Counsel of Record

re NST

WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co.. INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON. D.C. 20001

s23°8 a |

Hide

aT BLE

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The petitioner is the City of Chicago. The respondents

are persons arrested under Chicago’s Gang Loitering

Ordinance: James Youkhana, Fernando O. Cota, Jose

A. Merced, Roosevelt McMullan, Jr., Johnny R. New-

some, Anthony D. Cordero, Julio M. Barroso, Hermie J.

Khamo, Lamont J. Jordan, Lisa Gonzales, Florentine

Soto, Renee Goodwill, Tasha White, Sabrina Brown,

Gregorio Guiterrez, Sandy Garvin, Raul Jimenez, Jr.,

Daniel Washington, Jose Renteria, Jesus Morales, Mal-

colm Ramsey, Neil Round, i Lostroscio, Casey

A. Mazeika, Karl T. Kelly, Jesse K. Paschke, Roy

Delgado, Jr., Japheth Estrada, Jorge Lopez, Wladyslaw

W. Jedrol, James J. Portway, Michael A. Horton, Paris

Bryant, Wesley Saffold, Eric Jones, Roshindaj Bryant,

Leroy Minley, Jr., Eric Warren, Charlie Monden, Joseph

Dell, Tywan Durnell Riley, Eric Miller, Jerry Cunning-

ham, Eric Dennis, Vernon Diggs, Deandre Fitzpatrick,

Darryl Hall, Cornelius Holt, Jonathan Lewis, Seth Lewis,

Steve Reynolds, Claude Ross, Dushone Scott, Michael

Simmons, Chester Sparks, Clarence Taylor, Michael

Taylor, Stacey Wilson, Gabriel Ruiz, Maximilano Orozco,

Ricardo Florez, Anibal Hernandez, Pablo Estrada, Juan

Cruz, Andres Feliciano, and Peter Quinones.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

OPINIONS BELOW ..

ll tt tet dette hee ee

Cea -- <matetentsatensichenniiienee

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND ORDI-

RS Ee ee

FEES ee 58. ss) -

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .......

ESSE RC A OO TORN

I. THE GANG LOITERING ORDINANCE IS

NOT IMPERMISSIBLY VAGUE _.W.....

1. The Gang Loitering Ordinance Does Not

Proscribe Speech, TIE Ul Or Associa-

ES PEP Se Oe BE eae Sela

2. The Gang Loitering Ordinance Is A Per-

misible Regulation Of Loitering

B. The Gang Loitering Ordinance Contains Ap-

propriate Standards For Its Enforcement...

1. The Ordinance Provides Fair Notice Of

I

2. The Ordinance Does Not Authorize Arbi-

trary Or Discriminatory Enforcement...

(iii)

18

18

iv vv.

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page CASES: Page

Il. THE GANG LOITERING ORDINANCE DOES Aptheker v. Secretary of State, 378 U.S. 500

NOT OFFEND SUBSTANTIVE DUE PRO- I ee 89-40

+ EE Be eee ee eo 39 Arizona v. Evans, 514 U.S. 1 (1995) 2

A. The Gang Lettering Osdinence Appreget- pany &- = pops (987) URE EN: ue

onl sp fl te ae net Board of Directors v. Rotary Club, 481 U.S. 537

PRCT aN Pay Ra OC wee (1987) 20, 21

B. The Gang Loitering Ordinance Does Not Boos v. Barry, 485 U.S. 312 (1988) —........... is 36

Create A Status Offense 44 Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601 (1973)........ 18, 23

Ill. THE GANG LOITERING ORDINANCE DOES pcmifig” wy 2 So) ogh-p he Neh cape toe =

NOT OFFEND THE FOURTH AMEND- Brown v. Texas, 443 U.S. 47 (1979) —................... 35

MENT 46 California v. Hodari D., 499 U.S. 621 (1991)... 13, 47

Pe ee a ee eee ee ae ee Chandler v. Florida, 449 U.S. 560 (1981) 42

Ce 8 Sea 50 City of Dallas v. Stanglin, 490 U.S. 19 (1989) sbtnwy a

City of Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451 (1987)... 18

City of Milwaukee v. Nelson, 149 Wis. 2d 434, 439

N.W.2d 562, cert. denied, 493 U.S. 858 (1989)... 49

City of Renton v. Playtime Theatres, Inc., 475 U.S.

ER le et i I ay A ci it nN cn Be st BES 25

City of Tacoma v. Luvene, 118 Wash. 2d 826, 827

Fe ah AE sa i ee Rea 36, 45

Clark v. Community for Creative Non-Violence,

I I ied een eeiegioncnmnens 20, 24

Coates v. City of Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611 (1971) .. 23, 29,

33

Collins v. City of Harker Heights, 508 U.S. 115

Re i i AE tl elt Sl se a SSA 40, 41

Colten v. Kentucky, 407 U.S. 104 (1972) ..19, 29, 31, 37, 40

Cox v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 536 (1965) 19

Coz v. New Hampshire, 312 U.S. 569 (1941)... 24

Cruzan v. Director, 497 U.S. 261 (1990) 42

Day-Brite Lighting, Inc. v. ae 421

(1952) ... seed 43

DeVeau v. Braisted, 363 U.S. 144 (1960) . i se 37

Finzer v. Barry, 798 F.2d 1450 (D.C. Cir. 1986),

paige ong phd ~ lal eaeaigeade

Barry, 485 U.S. 312 (1988) . re acc 36

Florida v. Bostick, 501 U.S. 429 (1991) . lee Rta 47

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Florida v. Jimeno, 500 U.S. 248 (1991) .................. 48

Florida v. Rodriguez, 469 U.S. 1 (1984) (per

REESE SINGS 8 NR IS 47

Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474 (1988) ........... 23, 24, 25

Giboney v. nD ee eee eee TP

GED <cicecscnenntetiieenensetaaiiiadeas Prenat ihe 19

Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518 (1972) _............... 17

Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104 (1972) .. 29, 30,

33

Heller v. Doe, 509 U.S. 312 (1998) ................... 44

Helton v. State, 624 N.E. 2d 499 (Ind. Ct. App.

1998), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 1252 (1997)... 35

Hunter v. Bryant, 502 U.S. 224 (1991) (per

GD a caunecsinrnentthidiiieithemneiialiniaadatiaiitiaatiinetaiattiaas itive 36

Hurley v. Irish-American Gey, Lesbian and Bi-

sexual Group, 515 U.S. 557 (1995) .................. 20

Hynes v. Mayor and Council, 425 U.S. 610 (1976)... 18

Jackson v. State, 684 N.E.2d 532 (Ind. Ct. App.

RS B OA OEP NS 35

Kernats v. O'Sullivan, 35 F.8d 1171 (7th Cir.

RR FS NST dance 48

83-35, 43

Lanzetta v. New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451 (1939)... 32

Lewis v. United States, 445 U.S. 55 (1980) _...... 37, 43, 46

Members of the City Council v. Taxpayers For

Vincent, 466 U.S. 789 (1984) ......... Leave 25, 26, 42

Michael M. v. Superior Court, 450 U.S. 464 (1981) .. 37

Michigan v. Chesternut, 486 U.S. 567 (1988)... 47

Michigan v. DeFillippo, 443 U.S. 31 (1979) _....... 49

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1082 (1983) ............. 2

Moore v. City of East Cleveland, 481 U.S. 494

RE RS SEES HSER 5! SE 40

New State Ice Co. v. Liebmann, 285 U.S. 262

RR SCPE Se PE re PR 42

New York v. Class, 475 U.S. 106 (1986) —............. 2

New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747 (1982) ........ 18, 22, 23

Ohio v. Robinette, 117 8. Ct. 417 (1996) 48

Osborne v. Ohio, 495 U.S. 108 (1990) 0. 18

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156

ES SCE TAS 8, 9, 31, 38, 40, 42, 43, 46, 47

Pennsylvania v. Labron, 518 U.S. 988 (1996) (per

Pe, ERS I i Fm en cae: 2

People ex rel. Gallo v. Acuna, 14 Cal. 4th 1090,

929 P.2d 596, 60 Cal. Rptr. 2d 277, cert. denied,

Se ie es ee bidhtaeinenitenisiiahictied wits 24, 42

People v. Gardeley, 14 Cal. 4th 605, 927 P.2d 713,

59 Cal. Rptr. 2d 356 (1996), cert. denied, 118

8S. Ct. 148 (1997)

i 85

People v. Superior Court, 46 Cal. 34 381, 758 P.2d

1046, 250 Cal. Rptr. 515 (1988) 2.00. 45

Posters ‘N’ Things, Ltd. v. United States, 511

ee NE arate titecinchts etirattsipidanindnssgucinaged m 838

Powell v. Texas, 392 U.S. 514 (1968) 15, 46

Regan v. Time, Inc., 468 U.S. 641 (1984) ......W..... 28

44

25

45

22

89

Reno v. Flores, 507 U.S. 292 (1998) .......-- 0... 39,

Roberts v. United States Jaycees, 468 U.S. 609

ERB BE PI Sal Bs NE aE Sa TON 20

Robinson v. California, 370 U.S. 660 (1962)...

Roulette v. City of Seattle, 97 F. 3d 300 (9th Cir.

1996)

Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (1969) —........

Shuttlesworth v. City of Birmingham, 382 U.S. 87

IIE cissbecidestendedthleincteibtiatsuitataadsatiatnammmbiiiiiie 23, 32, 33

Shuttlesworth v. City of Birmingham, 394 U.S. 147

GED ihiisitirncektupeniidediiatiains

Smith v. Goquen, 415 U.S. 566 (1974) VIER RES 83

State v. Armstrong, 282 Minn. 39, 162 N.W.2d 357

IRE 8 Be Hot Se TRNAS SS RI aN 80, 45

State v. Walker, 506 N.W.2d 430 (Iowa 1993)

Swank v. Smart, 898 F.2d 1247 (7th Cir.), cert.

denied, 498 U.S. 853 (1990) 0. 21-22

Tennessee v. Garner, 471 U.S. 1 (1985) —.............. 49

Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968) ee. 35

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. v. FCC, 512 U.S.

FE EES er AES ere ee ere 25, 26, 27

United States v. Albertini, 472 U.S. 675 (1985)...... 24, 26

United States v. Armstrong, 517 U.S. 456 (1996)... 88

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

United States v. Bourgeois, 964 F.2d 935 (9th

Cir.), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 901 (1992)... 88

United States v. Hensley, 469 U.S. 221 (1985)... 36

United States v. Mendenhall, 446 U.S. 544 (1980)... 47

United States v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367 (1968)... 21, 24

United States v. Salerno, 481 U.S. 739 (1987) ....10, 18, 42

United States v. Trent, 718 F. Supp. 39 (D. Or.

PRGA eb 518, a A 88

United States v. Turner, 104 F.8d 1180 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 1566 & 1722 (1997)... 88

United States Civil Service Commission v. Na-

tional Association of Letter Carriers, 413 U.S.

SE ID ene, enttetstnemnmncictnlltiiiiiniainiaidinatti Mik

Village of Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman

Estates, Inc., 455 U.S. 489 (1982) ..10, 11, 17, 24, 29, 33,

$

34

Ward v. Rock Against Racism, 491 U.S. 781

+ REN C remaster th Bs EGE PS. 11, 25, 26, 27-28

Washington v. Glucksberg, 117 S. Ct. 2258 (1997) .. 12, 39,

40, 41, 48

Waters v. Barry, 711 F. Supp. 1125 (D.D.C. 1989)... 49

Wayte v. United States, 470 U.S. 598 (1985)... 38

Wiemerslage v. Maine Township High School Dis-

trict 207, 29 F.8d 1149 (7th Cir. 1994)... 80

Young v. American Mini-Theatres, Inc., 427 U.S.

Bf, RMR A ON Nt TTS 42

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES, AND

RULES:

Os passim

be ser ee, 2, 48, 49, 50

fc ER IER Rea ER a Re I 45

if §. fo | >. & ) See passim

A a RIO A NL 46

pe RS ce ENTE, SEI NIA, 5

i a a SIE SIA Ma SOE 1

AS AE I ES SO RI 2

Se 8

a O 8

ee CE UU a UE siabecckedlehiiathcnchotenicrncitietich absentia 8

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

American Law Institute, Model Penal Code

(1980)

MISCELLANEOUS:

America (C. Ronald Huff ed. De eh

Robert C. Ellickson, Controlling Chronic Miscon-

duct in City Spaces: Of Panhandlers, Skid Rows

rg Space Zoning, 105 Yale L.J. 1165

POPC eee ee eee eee eees

Tracey L. Meares, Social Organization and Drug

cane en 85 Am. Crim. L. Rev. 191

ee

Page

41

41

18

18

15

16

41

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Wesley G. Skogan, Disorder and Decline (1990)...

Jerome H. Skolnick & David H. Bayley, Commun-

ity Policing: Issues and Practices Around the

World (Nat'l Inst. of Justice 1988) .....................

Irving A. Spergel, The Youth Gang Problem: A

Community Approach (1995) ............-.-...--.--+----+-

Charles R. Swanson, Leonard Territo & Robert W.

Taylor, Police Administration: Structures, Proc-

esses and Behavior (3d ed. 1993) -......................

U.S. Department of Justice, Attorney General's

Report to the President: A Coordinated Ap-

proach to the Challenge of Gang Violence: A

Progress Report (April 1996) ..........................--

Samuel Walker, The Police in America (1992)......

James Q. Wilson & George L. Kelling, Broken Win-

dows, Atlantic Monthly, Mar. 1982 ......................

Page

15

15

35

15

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

No. 97-1121

CiTy OF CHICAGO,

Vv.

JESUS MORALES, et al.,

Respondents.

Petitioner,

On Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of Illinois

BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Illinois (Pet.

App. la-19a) is reported at 177 Ill. 2d 440, 687 N.E.2d

53 (1997). The opinion of the Illinois Appellate Court

in City of Chicago v. Youkhana (Pet. App. 20a-36a) is

reported at 277 Ill. App. 3d 101, 660 N.E.2d 34 (1995).

The opinions of the appellate court in City of Chicago

v. Morales (Pet. App. 37a-38a) and City of Chicago v.

Ramsey (Pet. App. 39a-40a) are unreported. The opin-

ion of the Circuit Court of Cook County in City of

Chicago v. Youkhana (Pet. App. 41la-59a) is unre-

ported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Supreme Court of Illinois was

entered on October 17, 1997. The petition for certiorari

was filed on January 5, 1998. The jurisdiction of this

Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257.4

1 The opinion of the Illinois Supreme Court invalidated the Chi-

cago gang loitering ordinance under the Due Process Clauses of

2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

ORDINANCE INVOLVED

The First Amendment provides, in pertinent part:

“Congress shall make no law . . . abridging the freedom

of speech, or of the press; or the righ’ of the people

peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government

for a redress of grievances.” U.S. Const. amend. I. The

Fourth Amendment provides, in pertinent part: “The

right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses,

papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and

seizures, shall not be violated . . . .” U.S. Const. amend.

IV. The Due Process Clause of ‘the Fourteenth Amend-

ment provides in pertinent part: “nor shall any State

deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without

due process of law... .” U.S. Const. amend. XIV, § I.

The Chicago gang loitering ordinance is set out in the

appendix to the petition for a writ of certiorari (Pet.

App. 60a-63a).

both the federal and state Constitutions. The text of these pro-

visions is virtually identical. Compare U.S. Const. amend. XIV, § 1

with Ill. Const. art. I, §2. In Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032

(1983), this Court held that when the decision of a state court

rests “primarily” on or is “interwoven” with federal law, this

Court may exercise jurisdiction unless the opinion of the state

court contains a “plain statement” that “clearly and expressly” in-

dicates that its judgment rests on an adequate and independent

state ground. Jd. at 1041. The Court has consistently hewed to

this rule in cases in which a state court relies on both federal and

state law to support its judgment. See, e.g., Pennsylvania v. Lab-

ron, 518 U.S. 988, 941 (1996) (per curiam) ; Arizona v. Evans, 514

U.S. 1, 7-10 (1995); New York v. Class, 475 U.S. 106, 109-10

(1986). In the decision below, the Illinois Supreme Court ex-

pressly invoked federal law and relied primarily on this Court’s

decisions in invalidating Chicago’s gang loitering ordinance. See,

e.g., Pet. App. 7a, 17a. And even though respondents brought the

holding of Long to the Illinois Supreme Court’s attention and asked

it to make an express statement that any judgment invalidating the

gang loitering ordinance would rest on an adequate and independ-

ent state ground, there is no plain statement in its opinion that the

court’s judgment rests on an adequate and independent state ground.

Thus, this Court has jurisdiction to review the judgment below.

3

STATEMENT

The enactment of Chicago’s gang loitering ordinance

followed hearings before the Chicago City Council’s Com-

mittee on Police and Fire exploring the problems that

criminal street gangs present for the people of Chicago—

in particular the problems created by public loitering by

gang members.” At the hearings, witnesses described how

criminal street gang members loiter as part of a strategy

to organize as a group, recruit new members, claim terri-

tory, and antagonize rival gangs and others. Supp. R.

{ at 121, 125; Supp. R. II at 32. Further testimony

explained the inadequacy of existing laws to address this

in in ri af eget Ny not commit any overt crim-

: y appear to be simply loitering.

Supp. R. I at 50-51, 68, 79-80, 138-40; i he

38. The testimony also showed that community resi-

dents are often afraid to file formal complaints, serve as

witnesses, or or take other steps necessary to prosecute crimi-

nal activity because of concerns for their own safety or

the safety of their family members or property. Supp.

R. I at 50, 52, 54, 69, 108-09, 135; Supp. R. II at 22-

25, 37, 40. There was also testimony reflecting the need

for a method of prosecuting gang members that does not

require law-abiding persons to place themselves in harm’s

way by testifying, even if they are willing to do so.

Supp. R. II at 24-25.

Perhaps most important, the testimony before the City

Council disclosed that criminal street gangs are menancing

and destructive regardless of whether their members are,

at a particular moment, violating other laws. The in-

timidating presence of gangs itself has a palpable detri-

mental effect on a family’s sense of well being, on the

willingness of parents to allow their children outside, and

2 The transcripts of the hearings were lodged with the trial

court in each case and were then added as a supplemental record

(“Supp. R.”) on appeal by stipulation.

4

on the willingness of Chicago residents to remain in the

City. Supp. R. I at 53, 62, 93, 95, 110, 132, 138;

Supp. R. II at 167.

Based on this testimony, the City Council, in the

preamble to the ordinance, made the following findings:

WHEREAS, in many ee or throughout

the City the burgeoning presence street gang

members in public has intimidated many law abiding

citizens; and

WHEREAS, one of the methods by which crimi-

nal street gangs establish control over identifiable

areas is by loitering in those areas and intimidating

others from entering those areas; and

WHEREAS, members of criminal street gangs

avoid arrest by committing no offense punishable

under existing laws when they know police are pres-

ent, while maintaining control over identifiable areas

by continued loitering; and

WHEREAS, the City Council has determined that

loitering in public places by criminal street gang

members creates a justifiable fear ge Baw — =

persons and property in the area use of

violence, drug-dealing and vandalism often associated

with such activity ....

Pet. App. 60a-61a. The ordinance provides:

Whenever a police officer observes a person he

reasonably believes to be a criminal street gang

member loitering in any public place with one or

more other persons, he shall order all such persons

to disperse and remove themselves from the area.

Any person who does not promptly obey such an

order is in violation of this section.

Pet. App. 61a. “Loiter” is defined as “to remain *~ any

one place with no apparent purpose.” Ibid. The ordi-

nance also contains a comprehensive and precise defini-

tion of “criminal street gang.” Pet. App. 61a-62a.°

3“Criminal street gang” is defined as “any ongoing organiza-

tion, association in fact or group of three or more persons, formal

5

A violation of the ordinance is punishable by up to 6

months imprisonment, a $500 fine, and up to 120 hours

of community service. Pet. App. 63a. It is a defense to

a prosecution under the ordinance that “no person who

was observed loitering was in fact a member of a criminal

street gang.” Pet. App. 61a.

During the hearings, representatives of the Depart-

ments of Law and Police informed the City Council that

the Chicago Police Department would promulgate regula-

tions for the ordinance that would guide its enforcement

by the police. Supp. R. II at 185, 220. Chicago Police

Department General Order 92-4 was later promulgated

to govern enforcement of the gang loitering ordinance.

The General Order permits enforcement of the ordi-

nance only in areas of the City designated by a district

commander because “the presence of gang members has

a demonstrable effect on the activities of law abiding

persons in the surrounding community.” Pet. App. 68a.

The Order also provides specific criteria and objective

standards for defining criminal street gangs, and that such

gangs will be identfied only on the basis of “specific docu-

mented and reliable information” such as crime pattern

information, surveillance results, witness interviews, ad-

missions of street gang members, or information from

informants of proven reliability. Pet. App. 66a-67a. The

Order further explains how membership in a criminal

street gang can be established. The Order requires prob-

able cause to believe that an individual is a member of a

criminal street gang (Pet. App. 71a-72a), and probable

or informal, having as one of its substantial activities the com-

mission of one or more of the criminal acts enumerated in [the

ordinance’s definition of “criminal gang activity”], and whose merm-

bers individually or collectively engage in or have engaged in a

pattern of criminal gang activity.” Pet. App. 61a-62a. “Criminal

gang activity” and a “pattern of criminal gang activity” as defined

in the ordinance (Pet. App. 62a, 63a), largely track the definition

of an “enterprise” and a “pattern of racketeering activity” in the

federal racketeering statute. See 18 U.S.C. § 1961.

6

cause, in turn, must be substantiated by the arresting

officer’s “experience and knowledge of the alleged offend-

ers,” and corroborated by “specific, documented, and reli-

able information,” such as an individual's admission of

membership, an individual’s display of distinctive colors,

tattoos, or markings not ordinarily worn by persons other

than criminal street gang members, the use of distinctive

signs or symbols, or statements by a witness of proven

reliability or whose statements can be independently cor-

roborated. Pet. App. 67a-68a. Only members of the

gang crime section and other specially designated person-

nel may make arrests under the ordinance. Pet. App. 65a.*

After the ordinance became effective, numerous prose-

cutions of individuals for violating its proscriptions en-

sued, and various trial judges issued conflicting rulings on

the constitutionality of the ordinance. In City of Chicago

v. Youkhana, which became the first case to reach the

Illinois Appellate Court, the defendants moved to dismiss

the criminal cases against them on the ground that the

ordinance was unconstitutional on its face. The circuit

court granted that motion in a written opinion. Pet. App.

41a-59a.

On December 18, 1995, the appellate court affirmed.

The court made four separate holdings of facial unconsti-

tutionality on federal grounds: the ordinance infringes

constitutionally protected rights of speech and assembly

because it “gives the police power to order dispersal and

arrest those who associate with gang members in public

places” (Pet. App. 26a); it is unconstitutionally vague

because it “failfs] to establish . . . guidelines” for its en-

forcement (Pet. App. 33a); it “unconstitutionally crim-

inalizes a person’s status” because it is directed at loitering

by gang members (ibid.); and it “jeopardizes the rights

4 Under the General Order the Gang Crimes Section must main-

tain and disseminate files reflecting the names of persons who the

Department has probable cause to believe are members of criminal

street gangs. Pet. App. 70a-7la. The files are reviewed semi-

annually to ensure that they remain current. /bid.

7

guaranteed under the fourth amendment” because it

“seems to us to be a transparent attempt to avoid the

probable cause requirement” (Pet. App. 35a). Following

that decision, on December 29, 1995, the appellate court

consolidated all appeals the City had taken in other cases

in which a trial court had declared the ordinance to be

unconstitutional, and -ffirmed on the strength of Youk-

hana in an opinion captioned City of Chicago v. Ramsey

(Pet. App. 39a-40a). Also on that date, the appellate

court consolidated all appeals from judgments of convic-

tion under the ordinance, and reversed the judgments on

the strength of the decision in Youkhana in an opinion

yo City of Chicago v. Morales (Pet. App. 37a-

a).

5 The evidence supporting the convictions was as follows:

The arresting officer observed respondent Gutierrez loitering with

two other men. Gutierrez Tr. 8-9, 12. Gutierrez had previously

admitted to the officer that he belonged to the Latin Kings. /d. at

11-12, 13-14. The officer ordered the group to disperse, and when

the officer returned after driving around the block, the loiterers

were in the same place, and were arrested. Jd. at 12-13, 18-19.

The arresting officer saw respondent Washington and several

others standing on the street and yelling. Washington Tr. 10, 17.

He approached the group, and several persons in it admitted that

they were Vice Lords. Jd. at 11, 16-17. The officer ordered them to

disperse. Jd. at 11. The officer returned later, saw the same youths,

and again ordered them to disperse. Jd. at 11, 18. He returned still

later, saw the same group, and arrested them. /d. at 12, 18-19.

The arresting officer observed respondent Renteria with the other

persons loitering on a corner. Renteria Tr. 16-18. The arresting

officer knew that the gang card file for the Satan Disciples contained

a card identifying Renteria as a gang member. /d. at 14-15. Ren-

teria also admitted to the officers that he was a street gang mem-

ber. Jd. at 27. The officer ordered the group to leave. /d. at 18,

23-24, 25-26. When she returned 15-20 minutes later, Renteria

poy — on the corner, and she arrested him. Jd. at 16-17, 19, 24,

Respondent Garvin stipulated to the arresting officer’s testimony

that he had been loitering with two other persons, they were or-

dered to move on based on his admission to the officer that he was

ments. In addition, the City moved the appellate court to

the ordinance fails to give persons fair notice of what

conduct is prohibited by “mak[ing] criminal activities

which by modern standards are normally innocent” (Pet.

App. 9a (quoting Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville,

405 U.S. 156, 163 (1972)), and employs language—

the term “loitering”—that “is inadequate to inform a citi-

zen of its criminal implications” (Pet. App. 9a). As for

the ordinance’s requirement that a police officer reasonably

believe that a group of loiterers includes a member of a

a member of the Latin Kings and his tattoos, and that Garvin

failed to obey the order. Garvin Tr. 9.

Respondent Jimenez stipulated that the allegations in the com-

plaint against him—that he was a known member of the Ambrose

gang, and that he remained in a known location for gang activity

after being ordered to disperse—were correct. Jimenez R. C.2;

Jimenez Tr. 3-4.

Finally, the arresting officer observed loitering by six individ-

uals he believed to be gang members, including respondent Morales.

Morales Tr. 6-8. Morales admitted at trial that he knew that he

was with members of the Gangster Disciples. Jd. at 19. The officer

ordered the loiterers to move on, but when he returned 5-10 minutes

later they were still present, and he arrested them. /d. at 11.

6 The Illinois Supreme Court has mandatory jurisdiction in cases

in which the appellate court has issued a certificate of importance.

See Ill. Const. art. VI, §4(c); Il. Sup. Ct. R. 316. Its exercise

of jurisdiction in cases on petition for leave to appeal is discre-

tionary. See Ill. Sup. Ct. R. 315.

9

criminal street gang, the court concluded that this “de-

the

1

+f

ep

u

g

i

save the ordinance because “[mJerely adding the

of refusing to obey an order by police to disperse

does gang loitering ordinance to such a

level that it provides adequate notice of proscribed con-

duct. The court also concluded that the

fl

:

a

Second, the court determined that the gang loitering

ordinance offends substantive due process. Again relying

on Papachristou, the court concluded that the freedom to

American life.” Pet. App. 17a. The court also determined

that a prohibition on loitering infringes the “right to

travel,” the “right of locomotion,” the “right to freedom

of movement,” and “the general right to associate with

others.” Pet. App. 18a. This deprivation of constitu-

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Surely no one could doubt the magnitude of the problem

that gang crime poses for many of our Nation’s cities.

And as the findings of the Chicago City Council make

clear, part of that problem can be traced to the ability of

gang members and their cohorts to loiter with im-

punity. A collection of brazen, disorderly and visibly law-

10

less persons on the public ways intimidates residents, de-

tracts from property values, and ultimately destabilizes

communities. The gang loitering ordinance and similar

laws give the authorities a way to address this type of civil

disorder. Such laws achieve an important prophylactic

objective as well—because when police officers can order

gang members to move along, they can prevent crime

before it occurs.

The Illinois Supreme Court invalidated the gang loiter-

ing ordinance on its face as impermissibly vague and in-

consistent with substantive due process. Neither of these

doctrines, however, prevents state and local governments

from taking the modest yet important step of authorizing

police officers to move loiterers along before they commit

some other crime or otherwise harm their communities.

The first step in assessing a facial challenge to a law

“is to determine whether the enactment reaches a substan-

tial amount of constitutionally protected conduct.” Village

of Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman Estates, Inc.,

455 U.S. 489, 494 (1982) (footnote omitted). This is

the overbreadth doctrine, which permits facial invalidation

of a challenged enactment only when it proscribes a sub-

stantial amount of conduct protected by the First Amend-

ment. E.g., United States v. Salerno, 481 U.S. 739, 745

(1987). The gang loitering ordinance, however, is not di-

rected at First Amendment rights of speech, assembly, or

association. It concerns only “loitering,” which the ordi-

nance defines as “remain{ing] in any one place with no

apparent purpose.” Pet. App. 6la. Accordingly, this re-

striction on “loitering” will rarely, if ever, apply to protests,

picketing, or other protected conduct, since such activities

by their very nature will nearly always have an “apparent

purpose.” The ordinance instead will reach at most per-

sons engaged in mere casual social interaction—those with

no apparent purpose—and this Court has firmly rejected

the notion that the Constitution secures any generalized

right of “social association.” City of Dallas v. Stanglin,

490 U.S. 19, 25 (1989). In any event, even if the gang

ll

loitering ordinance were deemed on its face to regulate

speech, assembly, or association, it would be permissible

regulation of the time, place, and manner of such activities

under the test announced in Ward v. Rock Against Racism,

491 U.S. 781 (1989).

U.S. 352, 357 (1983). On the first prong of this test,

no one who has been given a police order to move along

could fail to understand what is required of him, and

under our ordinance, no arrest can be made unless there

is first a police order and then a refusal to comply with

that order. Indeed, when it comes to providing notice to

potential offenders, a law requiring disobedience of a

police order before an arrest can be made is the anti-

thesis of vague: people are told precisely what they must

do to avoid arrest.

The second prong requires that the challenged law

“provide explicit standards for those who apply

Hoffman Estates, 455 U.S. at 498. The gang loi

ordinance contains express standards for its enforcement,

since it requires disobedience of an order to disperse, and

it permits officers to issue such an order only if the officer

“reasonably believes” that a group of loiterers contains

a member of a criminal street gang. In Kolender, the

Court acknowledged that a loitering law would be valid

if it authorized investigative stops based on “reasonable

suspicion” because this standard provides “neutral limi-

tations on the conduct of individual officers.” 461 U.S.

at 361. If “reasonable suspicion” is an appropriately

neutral limitation on an officer’s authority to detain loiter-

ers, requiring an officer to have a reasonable basis to

identify a loiterer as a gang member before issuing an

enforceable order to move on is surely a permissible neu-

lb

12

tral limitation as well. The concept of membership in

a criminal street gang is not so amorphous that it pre-

cludes objectively based enforcement decisions; there are

many objective indicia of membership in a criminal street

gang, such as an individual’s admissions, his display of

distinctive signs or of symbols, the existence of informa-

tion from a reliable informant, or the like. Moreover,

the decision to target gang loitering itself was neither

arbitrary nor discriminatory—gang loitering poses spe-

cial problems, and thus appropriately became subject to

special restrictions.

As for substantive due process, neither this Court's

precedents nor principles of sound constitutionalism sup-

port a fundamental right to loiter. In fact, history and

tradition point the other way—there is a considerable

legacy in our country of regulating loitering. And when,

as here, an enactment infringes no fundamental liberty, it

need only be rationally related to a legitimate govern-

mental interest. E.g., Washington v. Glucksberg, 117

S. Ct. 2258, 2271-72 (1997).

The gang loitering ordinance easily passes this test. It

infringes the “liberty” to use the public ways only to a

limited extent—even known gang members can loiter

alone, and they can loiter with others as long as they

move along when ordered. While the Illinois Supreme

Court was troubled that the ordinance was not limited

in its scope to persons loitering to engage in illegal ac-

tivity, the mere potential for a prophylactic enactment

to reach “innocent” conduct does not give rise to a sub-

stantive due process violation. Here, the City Council

reasonably concluded that it was necessary to address a

visibly lawless and destabilizing type of loitering on the

public ways. The Council identified a particular circum-

stance in which loitering jeopardizes legitimate govern-

mental interests and authorized the police to disperse

loiterers in that circumstance. Because the authority to

disperse loiterers in such circumstances is rationally re-

lated to legitimate governmental objectives, it does not

offend substantive due process.

13

Finally, we address an alternate ground to invalidate

the ordinance respondents have pressed—that it author-

izes arrests on suspicion in violation of the Fourth Amend-

ordinance. Under the ordinance, no one can be arrested

until they have disobeyed a police order; at that point,

der, not merely “suspicion.” And there is nothing in the

to move along. Such an order is not even subject to at-

tack under the Fourth Amendment, since it does not

physically restrain the person who receives it and hence

is not a “seizure” subject to Fourth Amendment review.

See, e.g., California v. Hodari D., 499 U.S. 621, 626

(1991). In any event, there is .othing “unreasonable”

within the meaning of the Fourth Amendment about

granting the police authority to enforce an order to move

on by arrest as long as the order itself is authorized by

an otherwise valid police power measure.

ARGUMENT

Criminal street gangs, as the Illinois Supreme Court

recognized, “are an expanding cancer in our society and

their illegal activities endanger the safety of many law-

abiding citizens.” Pet. App. 17a.7 Among the problems

posed by gangs are those engendered when gangs can

loiter with impunity on the public ways. The findings of

the Chicago City Council, which the Illinois Supreme

Court did not question, explain that loitering by street

gang members and their hangers-on poses at least two

kinds of problems. First, although gang members bla-

7 That assessment is widely shared. See generally, ¢.g., Carolyn

Rebecca Block & Richard Block, Street Gang Crime in Chicago

(Nat'l Inst. of Justice Dec. 1998); G. David Curry, Richard A.

Ball & Scott H. Decker, Estimating the National Scope of Gang

Crime from Law Enforcement Data, in Gangs in America 21-36

(C. Ronald Huff ed. 1996); U.S. Department of Justice, Attorney

General's Report to the President: A Coordinated Approach to

the Challenge of Gang Violence: A Progress Report (April 1996).

munity residents’ sense of safety and security, detracts

from property values, and can ultimately destabilize en-

The Illinois Supreme Court correctly observed that

“{mJany of the offensive activities the city claims the gang

loitering ordinance will deter are already criminal acts.

Pet. App. 19a. But surely it is no answer to law-abiding

residents, who no longer feel safe when they go outdoors,

to wait for someone to eventually be incarcerated as a

result of a conviction on a serious felony charge—if proof

beyond a reasonable doubt can be assembled from the

testimony of witnesses willing to cooperate and able to

remain alive until the time of trial. And even apart from

whether loitering facilitates the commission of other

crimes, it can destabilize communities as a consequence

of the very presence of these menacing groups on the

public ways. Loitering laws, by granting the police “se

authority to move a visibly lawless and often dangerous

element away from law-abiding persons, thus provide an

important alternative to more conventional and reactive

policing—by moving gang members along, police officers

can restore order to the streetscape and stop crime be-

fore it occurs. Without them, the police must wait for a

breach of the peace, often having tragic consequences,

and then hope that they can secure convictions. And by

enabling the police to demonstrate control over the street-

scape and the most lawless elements in the community,

loitering laws make people feel safer, thereby reinvigor-

ating neighborhoods.

The importance of loitering and other public order

laws has been underscored by the emergence of commu-

15

nity-orien‘ed policing and its theoretical underpinning—

the “Broken Windows” thesis first advanced by Professors

James Q. Wilson and George Kelling. These scholars ob-

served that in the wake of the professionalization of po-

licing in the 1950s and 1960s, law enforcement had

Stressed strategies based on investigating those crimes

thought to be most serious, thereby overlooking the im-

portant function that public order maintenance served.

See James Q. Wilson & George L. Kelling, Broken Win-

dows, Atlantic Monthly, Mar. 1982, at 33-38. The

“Broken Windows” thesis is that crime is most effectively

combatted when the police can address signs of visible

disorder—including loitering—that destabilize communi-

ties and stimulate the commission of more serious crimes.

See id. at 31-33.° As Professor Kahan has observed:

“Norms of order are critical to keeping social influence

pointed away from, rather than toward, criminality; the

spectacle of open gang activity, vandalism, aggressive

panhandling, and other forms of disorder transmits signals

that cause both law-breakers and law-abiders to behave

in ways conducive to crime.” Dan M. Kahan, Social In-

fluence, Social Meaning, and Deterrence, 83 Va. L. Rev.

349, 391 (1997) (footnote omitted). In light of these

insights, commentators have repeatedly called for courts

to provide greater leeway for state and local governments

to address signs of chronic disorder on the streets.”

8 See also, e.g., George L. Kelling & Catherine M. Coles, Fixing

Broken Windows 71-107 (1996); Charles R. Swanson, Leonard

Territo & Robert W. Taylor, Police Administration: Structures,

Processes and Behavior 3-29 (3d ed. 1993); Samuel Walker, The

Police in America 12-29 (1992).

9 See also, ¢.g., Kelling & Coles, supra at 16-36; Wesley G. Sko-

gan, Disorder and Decline 9-10, 51-57, 73-75, 85-124 (1990):

Jerome H. Skolnick & David H. Bayley, Community Policing: 1s-

sues and Practices Around the World 4-19 (Nat'l Inst. of Justice

1988).

10 See, e.g., Robert C. Ellickson, Controlling Chronic Misconduct

in City Spaces: Of Panhandlers, Skid Rows and Public Space

Zoning, 105 Yale L.J. 1165, 1177-84, 1238-46 (1996) ; Kahan, supra

at 389-94; Debra Livingston, Police Discretion and the Quality of

Life in Public Places: Courts, Communities and the New Policing,

and obeyed, and nearly the same number of

made of those who failed to move on after being ordered

to do so. Removing a visibly lawless element, whose very

presence on the public ways was often viewed by rival

gangs as an invitation to violence, had a substantial effect

on the level of gang-related violence in Chicago. In 1995,

for example, the last year in which the ordinance was en-

forced, gang-related homicide in Chicago dropped 26%,

a considerably steeper decline than the 9% drop in the

overall homicide rate that year. But in 1996, without

enforcement of the ordinance, while the overall homicide

rate fell another 4%, the level of gang-related homicide

jumped 7%." Perhaps it is just this simple: if fewer

97 Colum. L. Rev. 551, 650-72 (1997) ; Tracey L. Meares, Social Or-

ganization and Drug Law Enforcement, 35 Am. Crim. L. Rev. 191,

218-27 (1998).

11 These figures can be found in a five-year report by the Police

Department of the City of Chicago entitled Gang and Narcotic-

Related Crime: 1998-1997, which nas been lodged with the Court

and served on counsel for respondents. The homicide percentages

in the report have changed slightly from those we reported in our

petition because the results of investigations completed in 1997 of

homicides ocurring in 1996 have become available, enabling the

motive of some homicides to be reclassified. As the report reflects,

this pattern of substantial decline in gang-related crime followed

by an increase after enforcement of the ordinance ceased was ob-

served for a variety of other types of gang-related crimes. The

report also shows that, in every year, at least 92% of all gang-

related homicides were committed outdoors. The report further

reflects, for 1997, a decline in gang-related homicides but a con-

tinued increase in both gang-related aggravated battery with a

firearm and drive-by shootings. Based on the available empirical

evidence, at least one scholar has offered her tentative view that

enforcement of the gang loitering ordinance appeared to combat

gang crime effectively. See Meares, supra at 224-26.

17

gang members are loitering in public where they consti-

tute an inviting target for their rivals, fewer of them—

and innocent people nearby—will be shot to death.

Nevertheless, in the decision below, the Illinois Supreme

Court found Chicago’s ordinance to be impermissibly

vague and inconsistent with substantive due process on its

face because it does not exclude from its scope persons

engaged in “innocent” activities. See Pet. App. 10a, 17a-

18a. In our view, these holdings are inconsistent with the

unquestioned power of legislatures to enact prophylactic

laws that criminalize conduct, like Standing around,

that may be innocent in isolation, but that is unaccept-

ably likely, under at least some circumstances, to give

rise to substantive evils within the power of government

to address. We now explain why this is so.

I. THE GANG LOITERING ORDINANCE IS NOT IM.

PERMISSIBLY VAGUE.

Laws that are claimed to have been framed with insuffi-

cient precision can be attacked on their face under two dif-

ferent doctrines. First, the overbreadth doctrine permits fa-

cial invalidation of laws that impermissibly inhibit the exer-

cise of First Amendment rights. E.g., Gooding v. Wilson,

405 U.S. 518, 521 (1972). Second, even a law that does

not reach such protected conduct may be impermissibly

vague because it fails to establish sufficient standards to

guide the police and public. E.g., Kolender vy. Lawson, 461

U.S. 352, 357-58 (1983). Accordingly, “a court’s first

task is to determine whether an enactment reaches a sub-

stantial amount of constitutionally protected conduct. If it

does not, the overbreadth challenge must fail. The court

should then examine the facial vagueness challenge .. .

and should uphold the challenge only if the enactment is

impermissibly vague in all of its applications.” Village of

Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman Estates, Inc., 455

U.S. 489, 494 (1982) (footnote omitted). We thus turn

to that two-part inquiry.

18

A. The Gang Loitering Ordinance Is Not Overbroad.

“The general test of vagueness applies w::h particular

force in review of laws dealing with speech.” Hynes v.

Mayor and Council, 425 U.S. 610, 620 (1976). The over-

breadth doctrine excepts laws that implicate First Amend-

ment rights from the general rule that only laws incapable

of any valid application can be struck down on their face.

See United States v. Salerno, 481 U.S. 739, 745 (1987).

Even so, not every law that has the potential to reach

conduct protected by the First Amendment is facially

invalid. To the contrary, an enactment should not “be

held invalid on its face merely because it is possible to

conceive of a single impermissible application. . . .” City

of Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451, 458 (1987) (quoting

Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601, 630 (1973)

(Brennan, J., dissenting) ). Rather, to invalidate a chal-

lenged law on this basis, “the overbreadth of a statute

must not only be real, but substantial as well, judged in

relation to the statute’s plainly legitimate sweep.” New

York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747, 770 (1982) (quoting

Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 615). The gang loitering ordi-

nance, as we now explain, passes this test.

1. The gang loitering ordinance does not proscribe

speech, assembly, or association.

Respondents have claimed in this litigation that the

gang loitering ordinance proscribes conduct within the

ambit of the First Amendment's protection for speech,

assembly, and association, and even convinced the state

intermediate appellate court on this point (Pet. App.

24a-27a). In fact, however, this ordinance is directed at

loitering, pure and simple; and loitering, at least as de-

fined in this ordinance, does not qualify as speech, as-

12 Accord, e.g., Osborne v. Ohio, 495 U.S. 103, 112 (1990); Board

of Airport Commissioners v. Jews For Jesus, Inc., 482 U.S. 569,

574 (1987) ; City of Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. at 459.

19

sembiy, or association within the meaning of the First

Amendment.

they loiter does not confer upon their loitering a First

Amendment immunity from regulation: “{I]t has never

been deemed an abridgment of freedom of speech or press

to make a course of conduct illegal merely because the

conduct was in part initiated, evidenced, or carried out by

means of language, either spoken, written, or printed.”

Giboney v. Empire Storage & Ice Co., 336 US. 490, 502

(1949). Accord, e.g., Cox v. Louisiana, 379 US. 536,

555-56 (1965).

Nor does the ordinance proscribe freedom of assembly.

The term “assembly” connotes a Purposeful gathering

and not one with “no apparent purpose.” In fact, the

Court has made clear that the right to assemble does not

protect persons merely because they are standing in prox-

imity to each other. Instead, an assemblage is protected

under the First Amendment only when the gathering is

itself a “method[] of expression. .. .” Shuttlesworth vy.

20

City of Birmingham, 394 U.S. 147, 152 (1969). In

Clark v. Community for Creative Non-Violence, 468 U.S.

288 (1984), for example, the Court assumed that individ-

uals who sought to sleep in a public park as part of a

protest against homelessness could advance a First Amend-

ment claim only because “the demonstration [wa]s ex-

pressive conduct protected to some extent by the First

Amendment.” Id. at 293 (footnote omitted). Similarly,

in Hurley v. Irish-American Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual

Group, 515 U.S. 557 (1995), the Court held that a

St. Patrick’s Day parade enjoyed First Amendment pro-

tection because people were to assemble as “a form of

expression. .. .” Jd. at 568. This ordinance, however,

will rarely if ever reach that type of assemblage. Public

speeches, leafleting, demonstrations, picketing, and other

expressive activities will almost always be outside the

scope of the ordinance by its terms, since these activities

will almost always have an “apparent purpose.” After

all, the entire point of such activities is to convey a mes-

sage to others—only an unusually ineffectual demonstra-

tion will have no “apparent purpose.” Indeed, neither of

the state appellate courts construed the ordinance to reach

demonstrations or other overtly expressive activities.

The final right that respondents have invoked, “freedom

of association,” is not expressly protected by the Constitu-

tion. For this reason, the right to associate is protected

only in two senses: when undertaken for the purpose of

engaging in activities otherwise protected by the First

Amendment, such as “speech, assembly, petition for the

redress of grievances, and the exercise of religion,” Rob-

erts v. United States Jaycees, 468 U.S. 609, 618 (1984),

or when undertaken to engage in “intimate human relation-

ships” that attend to the “creation and sustenance of a

family—marriage; childbirth; the raising and education of

children; and cohabitation with one’s relatives,” id. at 617,

619 (citations omitted). Accord, e.g., Board of Directors

v. Rotary Club, 481 U.S. 537, 544 (1987). Thus, like

assembly, association is entitled to constitutional protec-

tion only when individuals gather for a particular and

21

of protected association. As we have just explained above,

it is not directed at speech or assembly within the mean-

ing of the First Amendment. As for intimate associative

rights, there is little that is “intimate” about loitering in

public. To the contrary, loitering in public plainly is not

“the kind of private or personal relationship . . . accorded

protection under the First Amendment” because the right

of “intimate association” does not extend to “activities

carried on in the presence of strangers.” Rotary Club,

481 U.S. at 547.

Indeed, this Court has held that laws that restrict the

ability of persons to gather together in public, but that do

not proscribe anything that can be characterized as pri-

marily expressive activity, do not abridge rights of speech,

assembly, or association. In City of Dallas v. Stanglin, 490

U.S. 19 (1989), this Court upheld an ordinance regulat-

ing youth dances even though it prevented older persons

from attending dances with younger ones. The Court

rejected the claim that “the Constitution recognizes a

generalized right of ‘social association,’” and concluded

that the ordinance at issue “impinges on no constitutionally

protected right.” /d. at 25. The conduct regulated by the

ordinance, the Court held, was simply not sufficiently

expressive to be entitled to First Amendment protection.

The Court wrote: “It is possible to find some kernel of

expression in almost every activity a person undertakes—

for example, walking down the street or meeting one’s

friends at a shopping mall—but such a kernal is not suffi-

cient to bring the activity within the protection of the

First Amendment.” /bid. Cf. United States v. O’Brien,

391 U.S. 367, 376 (1968) (“We cannot accept the view

that an apparently limitless variety of conduct can be

labeled ‘speech’ whenever the person engaging in the con-

duct intends thereby to express an idea.”).™

13 Of course, laws regulating social gatherings affect a liberty

interest, and thus are subject to review under the rubric of sub-

stantive due process. See Stanglin, 490 U.S. at 28 (Stevens, J.,

concurring in the judgment). See also Swank v. Smart, 898 F.2d

tHe

ih

HEP

2% a

il

darl

ts

Ba

Litcit

|

i

in other protected activities are a tiny fraction

the police will encounter standing in public,

engaged in such activities will usually have a

purpose apparent to any police officer. Surely a law di-

rected itering is far more likely to be applied to

persons engaged in the kind of casual social interaction

the Court held to be unprotected in Stanglin than to some-

one engaged in gang outreach or similarly protected ac-

ties. Indeed, after the many thousands of arrests under

the ordinance, this record reflects not a single instance in

which anyone—including the 66 respondents—was ar-

ett

in

5

As we explain above, merely being able to imagine a

hypothetical application of a challenged enactment that

would be impermissible does not make for substantial

overbreadth. In New York v. Ferber, for example, ‘he

Court was quite clear on this point. While acknowledging

that the child pornography statute at issue could conceiv-

1247, 1251-52 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 853 (1990). We

address that doctrine in Part II below.

14In fact, because this ordinance proscribes only remaining in

one place after being ordered to move rather than what persons

can say or write, there is great doubt whether it is even subject

to attack as overbroad. At least one circuit has concluded that

laws directed at what is generally conduct with no inherently ex-

pressive purpose can never be invalidated as overbroad. See Roulette

v. City of Seattle, 97 F.3d 300, 303-05 (9th Cir. 1996) (upholding

ordinance prohibiting sitting or lying on sidewalks).

. z, 48

v. Time, Inc., 468 U.S. 641, 651-52 (1984) (plurality

26a-27a. But of course, the First Amendment is con-

cerned with “speech” and other expressive activities, not

innocence. As Stanglin makes clear, a variety of casual

social interactions may be “innocent,” but that does not

15 The gang loitering ordinance, which confines its scope to con-

duct with “no apparent purpose,” contrasts sharply with laws that

this Court has condemned as overbroad. In Coates v. City of Cin-

cinnati, 402 U.S. 611 (1971), for example, the ordinance at issue

made it a crime for “three or more persons to . . . conduct them-

selves in a manner annoying to persons passing by.” Id. at 611.

The Court held this ordinance invalid, reasoning that activity pro-

tected by the First Amendment is often annoying and hence the

ordinance could reach virtually any demonstration, picketing, or

public assembly. See id. at 615-16. Similarly, in Shuttlesworth v.

City of Birmingham, 382 U.S. 87 (1965), the ordinance made it

“unlawful for any person to stand or loiter upon any street or side-

walk ... after having been requested by any police officer to move

on.” Id. at 90. By effectively granting police officers the authority

to prevent anyone from standing still in Birmingham, the ordinance

plainly could reach picketing and demonstrations, and hence created

an “ever-present potential for arbitrarily suppressing First Amend-

ment liberties... .” Jd. at 90-91.

24

make them protected by the First Amendment.’* A poten-

tial for application of this ordinance to “innocent” activity

accordingly does not render it overbroad.

2. The gang loitering ordinance is a permissible

regulation of loitering. ;

Even if the gang loitering ordinance reached activities

that qualified as speech, assembly, or association, that

would not seal its fate. As we explain above, a law is

overbroad only when it “reaches a substantial amount of

constitutionally protected conduct” (Hoffman Estates, 455

U.S. at 494 (emphasis supplied) ), and, of course, not all

speech, assembly, or association is constitutionally pro-

tected. To the contrary, there is ample power to regulate

such activities. It has been clear since at least United

States v. O’Brien, for example, that when “ ‘speech’ and

‘nonspeech’ elements are combined in the same course of

conduct, a sufficiently important governmental interest in

regulating the nonspeech element can justify incidental

restrictions on First Amendment freedoms.” 391 U.S. at

376. Thus “[t}he First Amendment does not bar applica-

tion of a neutral regulation that incidentally burdens

speech ... .” United States v. Albertini, 472 U.S. 675.

688 (1985). It has also been clear since at least Cox vy.

New Hampshire, 312 U.S. 569 (1941), that the First

Amendment permits reasonable regulation of the time,

place, and manner of speech, public assemblies, and other

forms of association. Accordingly, even laws that ex-

pressly proscribe entirely peaceful expressive conduct are

frequently upheld. See, e.g., Frisby v. Schultz, 487 US.

at 481-87 (prohibition on residential picketing); Com-

munity For Creative Non-Violence, 468 U.S. at 293-99

16The California Supreme Court has taken precisely this ap-

proach, concluding that a civil injunction prohibiting gang mem-

bers from associating together in public infringed at most the kind

of generalized social associations held to be unprotected in Stanglin.

See People ex rel. Gallo v. Acuna, 14 Cal. 4th 1090, 1110-12, 929

P.2d 596, 608-09, 60 Cal. Rptr. 2d 277, 289-90, cert. denied, 117

S. Ct. 2613 (1997).

25

(prohibition on sleeping in public park as part of a

protest).

The test for evaluating incidental restrictions on speech

and assembly “is little, if any, different from the standard

applied to time, place, or manner restrictions.” Ward v.

Rock Against Racism, 491 U.S. 781, 798 (1989) (quot-

ing Community For Creative Non-Violence, 468 U.S. at

298). Such laws are upheld when they are not based on

the content of expression, when they are narrowly tailored

to promote a substantial governmental interest, and when

they leave open adequate alternative channels for com-

munication. E.g., Rock Against Racism, 491 U.S. at 791-

800; Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. at 481-82. Essentially

the same test governs laws claimed to infringe the right of

association: “Infringement on that right may be justified

by regulations adopted to serve compelling state interests,

unrelated to the suppression of ideas, that cannot be

achieved through means significantly less restrictive of

associational freedom.” Roberts, 468 U.S. at 623. The

gang loitering ordinance satisfies this test.

First, the ordinance is content-neutral. “As a general

rule, laws that by their terms distinguish favored speech

from disfavored speech on the basis of the ideas or views

expressed are content based.” Turner Broadcasting Sys-

tem, Inc. v. FCC, 512 U.S. 622, 643 (1994). Legislation

is accordingly content-neutral if it is “justified without

reference to the content of the regulated speech.” City of

Renton v. Playtime Theatres, Inc., 475 US. 41, 48

(1986) (citations and internal quotations omitted). The

gang loitering ordinance is classically content-neutral. The

requirement that loiterers move on when ordered to do so

has nothing to do with the content of the speech that may

pass among them as they loiter—or even whether they are

speaking at all—it is applicable to all who loiter in public.

Like the ordinance prohibiting the posting of signs on

municipal lightposts upheld in Members of the City Coun-

cil v. Taxpayers For Vincent, 466 U.S. 789 (1984), this

enactment is “neutral—indeed it is silent—concerning any

26

speaker’s point of view. . . .” Id. at 804. Instead, as the

Chicago City Council made clear in the ordinance’s pre-

amble, the justification for the gang loitering ordinance

flows from the devastating effect that loitering by criminal

street gang members and their associates has on the people

living nearby—people who fear for their own safety, their

families, their property, their neighborhoods, and their

businesses. And “a regulation that serves purposes un-

related to the content of expression is deemed neutral,

even if it has an incidental effect on some speakers or mes-

— not on others.” Rock Against Racism, 491 U.S.

at .

Second, the ordinance is narrowly tailored to achieve

important governmental interests. Surely no one could

doubt the importance of the interests that the gang loiter-

ing ordinance is intended to serve. It exceeds by many

orders of magnitude the types of governmental interests

that have been held sufficient to support restrictions on

First Amendment activity. See, e.g., Turner Broadcasting,

512 U.S. at 662-64 (promoting free and high quality

competitive cable television service); Rock Agairst Rac-

ism, 491 U.S. at 796 (restricting volume of music at con-

certs in a public park); Taxpayers For Vincent, 466 US.

at 807 (reducing visual clutter caused by signs).

The ordinance is also narrowly tailored to promote

these interests. Narrow tailoring does not require the least

restrictive means for promoting the government's interests.

E.g., Turner Broadcasting, 512 US. at 662; Rock Against

Racism, 491 U.S. at 798. Rather, a regulation is narrowly

tailored if it “promotes a substantial government interest

that would be achieved less effectively absent the regula-

tion.” Id. at 799 (quoting Albertini, 472 US. at 689).

“So long as the means chosen are not substantially broader

than necessary to achieve the government's interest . . . the

regulation will not be invalid simply because a court

concludes that a government's interest could be adequately

served by some less-speech-restrictive alternative.” Rock

Against Racism, 491 U.S. at 800.

27

Here, the findings «i the City Council make clear that

this ordinance is likely the most efficacious way of address-

ing the problem at issue. The evidence before the City

Council established that gang members do not commit

other offenses in the presence of police officers and that

it is problematic to prosecute them for offenses com-

mitted outside the presence of police officers because such

cases will necessarily require the testimony of civilian

witnesses. The Council also found that loitering by gang

members and those who join them has itself become a

problem for communities because the presence of a visibly

lawless element terrifies residents, invites violence, drives

down property values, and otherwise tends to destabilize

communities, and that these problems are not adequately

addressed by existing laws. And while the legislature's

findings are not conclusive when the record contains

genuine disputes of fact on the efficacy of a regulation

restricting First Amendment activity (¢.¢., Turner Broad-

casting, 512 U.S. at 665-68). this record contains no

evidence or even an offer of proof from any respondent

that there were means available to the City to address

the problems engendered by gang loitering in some sig-

nificantly less restrictive way that would still be as effec-

tive—and plainly the testimony before the City Council

amply supported its finding that existing laws were inade-

quate to the challenge posed by gang crime.

Finally, the ordinance leaves open alternative channels

for communication. Under the ordinance. gang members

remain free to protest, picket, solicit contributions for their

gangs, conduct a leafleting campaign, or engage in any

other of the innumerable types of expressive conduct that

has an “apparent purpose.” Gang members also remain

free to associate with each other and anyone else indoors

or outdoors if they walk instead of loiter together; and

they remain free to loiter outdoors as well, either alone,

or in groups as long as they obey orders to move on.

Moreover, in evaluating the facial validity of challenged

enactments, administrative regulations and guidelines for

enforcement should be considered. See Rock Against

28

Racism, 491 U.S. at 795-96. Under General Order 92-4,

the gang loitering ordinance is not enforced throughout

Chicago, but only in those limited areas designated by

police district commanders as “areas in which the presence

of gang members has a demonstrable effect on the activi-

ties of law abiding persons in the surrounding community.”

Pet. App. 68a. Thus, in most areas of the City, the

ordinance has no effect on the activities of gang members

and their associates.'”

In short, there remain many—indeed innumerable—

opportunities available to gang members to express their

ideas and to associate with others. They are required to

refrain from no more than remaining in place after having

received a police order to move along. Accordingly,

whether or not an ordinance directed at loitering can be

said to regulate conduct that qualifies as speech, assembly,

or association within the ambit of the First Amendment,

this ordinance does not impermissibly impinge upon any-

thing protected by that Amendment.

B. The Gang Loitering Ordinance Contains Appro-

priate Standards For Its Enforcement.

As we explained at the outset of this discussion. when a

challenged enactment does not reach a substantial amount

of constitutionally protected conduct, it should be invali-

dated on its face only if it is vague in all its applications.

To invalidate an enactment for this reason, it must be

17 The Illinois Supreme Court questioned whether General Order

92-4 had been followed uniformly, observing that respondent Mor-

ales was arrested based on a police officer’s determination that he

was a gang member that, in turn, was based solely on the fact that

he was wearing black and blue clothing, in violation of the restric-

tions on such determinations contained in the General Order. See

Pet. App. 16a & n.1. In fact, as we explain below, the court appears

to have misconstrued the record on this point. See infra at 34

n.21. But in any event, the court’s observation goes only to the

question whether the standards in the order for identifying gang

members have been consistently applied. There is no indication in

this record that the ordinance has been enforced in any but those

areas designated under General Order 92-4.

29

vague “in the sense that no standard of conduct is specified

at all.” Coates v. City of Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611, 614

(1971). By contrast, when “a penal statute define[s] the

criminal offense with sufficient definiteness that ordinary

people can understand what conduct is prohibited and in

a manner that does not encourage arbitrary and discrim-

inatory enforcement,” Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. at

357, the requisite specificity is present. Thus, this doctrine

has two prongs, focusing “on actual notice to citizens

and arbitrary enforcement... .” Jd. at 358. There is no

constitutional infirmity on either prong here.

1, The ordinance provides fair notice of what it

prohibits.

Due process requires that “laws give the person of

ordinary intelligence a reasonable opportunity to know

what is prohibited, so that he may act accordingly.”

Hoffman Estates, 455 U.S. at 498 (quoting Grayned v.

City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104, 108 (1972)). The gang

loitering ordinance easily satisfies this test. No one who

has been given a police order to move on could fail to

understand what is required of him, and under our ordi-

nance, no arrest can be made unless there is first a police

order to disperse and then a refusal to comply with that

order. On this point, Colten v. Kentucky should be dis-

positive. As we note above, Colten had attempted to

debate a police officer while the officer was issuing a traf-

fic ticket to Colten’s friend and then disobeyed the offi-

cer’s order to move along. See 407 U.S. at 106-07. The

Court upheld the Kentucky disorderly conduct statute

under which Colten had been convicted against a vague-

ness attack, noting that anyone “should understand that he

could be convicted . . . if he fails to obey an order to

move on.” /d. at 110. Since the statute required dis-

obedience of a police order, it was “sufficiently specific to

provide fair warning that certain kinds of conduct are

prohibited.” /bid.

The Illinois Supreme Court thought that the gang

loitering ordinance failed to provide the requisite notice

30

because of its use of the term “loitering.” See Pet. App.

9a-lla. Of course, if the term “loitering” were so vague

that people ordinarily cannot tell when they are violating

the law, all loitering laws would fall. There is no justifi-

cation for so radical a conclusion. The ordinance straight-

forwardly defines the term “loiter” as “to remain in any

one place with no apparent purpose” (Pet. App. 61a),

and surely persons of common intelligence can grasp the

concept of remaining in one place, as opposed to moving

along, and can judge as well when one’s purpose for stay-

ing put is not obvious to others who may come along."

There may be some imprecision in the concept of loitering,

but of course “we can never expect mathematical certainty

from our language.” Grayned, 408 U.S. at 110 (foot-

note omitted). See also United States Civil Service Com-

mission v. National Association of Letter Carriers, 413

U.S. 548, 577-79 (1973).

In any event, the Illinois Supreme Court ultimately

acknowledged that there is “a common and accepted

meaning of the word ‘loiter,’” but added that this “term

by itself is inadequate to inform a citizen of its criminal

implications.” Pet. App. 9a. Even if it is true that per-

sons do not generally know when loitering can subject

the loiterer to sanctions, this problem is also solved by

the requirement that police officers order a group of

loiterers to move on and by authorizing arrest only if this

order is disobeyed. As we explain above, no one who

has been given a police order to move on could fail to

understand what is required of him. This point also ad-

dresses the Illinois Supreme Court's related concern that

“[pleople with entirely legitimate and lawful purposes will

18 Indeed the better-reasoned decisions in the lower courts con-

clude that the term “loitering” has a common sense meaning that

reasonable persons can apprehend. See, e.g., Wiemerslage v. Maine

Township High School District 207, 29 F.3d 1149, 1152 (7th Cir.

1994); People v. Superior Court, 46 Cal. 3d 381, 390-92, 758 P.2d

1046, 1049-50, 250 Cal. Rptr. 515, 518-19 (1988): State v. Arm-

strong, 282 Minn. 39, 42, 162 N.W.2d 357, 360 (1968).

31

police officer.” Pet. App. 10a. While this may occasion-

ally be the case, people will always receive actual notice

that they are required to move along before they are

subject to arrest. And as Colten illustrates, the requirement

of fair notice does not entitle persons to debate police

In the same vein, the Illinois Supreme Court also con-

cluded that the gang loitering ordinance “fails to distin-

guish between innocent conduct and conduct calculated

to cause harm and ‘makes criminal activities which by

modern standards are normally innocent.’” Pet. App. 9a

(citation omitted) (quoting Papachristou v. City of Jack-

sonville, 405 U.S. 156, 163 (1972)). Again, whatever

problem is created by a law that criminalizes conduct

people normally believe to be innocent is solved when

persons receive actual notice from a police order of what

they are expected to do. And for just that reason, the

vagueness problem in the Papachristou case on which the

Illinois Supreme Court primarily relied was quite different.

The vagrancy ordinance at issue in Papachristou was so

broadly written that it reached any person walking any-

where in Jacksonville at night, at least if the person did

so on more than one occasion. See 405 U.S. at 163.

Thus, the Court reasoned, virtually anyone could fall into

this “vagrancy net.” Ibid. That reasoning does not reach

19 Perhaps the Illincis Supreme Court’s concern that the ordi-

nance could be applied to persons with legitimate purposes was not

an objection on grounds of vagueness, since the police order makes

it perfectly clear what one must do to comply with the law, Lut

instead was a substantive due process concern that the ordinance

transgresses the constitutional limitations on the municipal police

power. We address that issue in Part II below

32

the gang loitering ordinance, which requires actual notice

to loiterers of what is required before they are subject to

arrest.”°

To be sure, the Illinois Supreme Court was correct that

if police officers are afforded standardless discretion to

order individuals to move on, the mere fact that a police

order is given does not serve to sustain the order. See

Pet. App. 12a-14a. As the court below recognized, dicta

in Shuttlesworth v. City of Birmingham, 382 U.S. 87

(1965), indicates that an ordinance granting the police

discretion to order anyone standing on a sidewalk to move

on would be impermissibly vague. The Court’s concern,

however, was not lack of fair notice, but rather that the

ordinance could be used against First Amendment activi-

ties and authorized the police to act arbitrarily and dis-

criminatorily. See id. at 90-91 & n.5. That concern is

not present here; we explain above that orders issued

under this ordinance do not reach conduct protected by

the First Amendment, and we address the question of

standards for enforcement in Part I.B.2 below. The

Shuttlesworth dicta thus does not preclude use of a police

order as a means of providing fair notice to the public.

Indeed, an ordinance requiring disobedience of a police

order before an arrest can be made is the antithesis of

vague: people are told precisely what they must do—

move along—to avoid arrest.

20 This same point also distinguishes another case cited by the

court below, Lanzetta v. New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451 (1939). There,

the Court invalidated a statute making it a crime to belong to a

“gang,” which had been construed to mean any group of two or

more persons with no lawful purpose but without any requirement

that the group be engaged in criminal activity. See id. at 456-57.

The Court invalidated the statute because it failed to provide suffi-

cient notice to the class of persons subject to its prohibition. See

id. at 457-58. Here, of course, under the gang loitering ordinance,

actual notice is provided to persons before they become subject to

arrest.

33

2. The ordinance does not authorize arbitrary or

discriminatory enforcement.

Due process also requires that “laws must provide

explicit standards for those who apply them.” Hoffman

Estates, 455 U.S. at 498 (quoting Grayned, 408 U.S. at

108). This principle mandates that “a legislature estab-

lish minimal guidelines to govern law enforcement.”

Kolender, 461 U.S. at 358 (quoting Smith v. Goguen,

415 U.S. 566, 574 (1974)). The requirement that laws

contain enforcement standards is designed to ensure that

the authorities are not authorized to conduct “ ‘a standard-

less sweep [that] allows policemen, prosecutors, and juries

to pursue their personal predilections.’” Kolender, 461

U.S. at 358 (quoting Smith, 415 U.S. at 575). The or-

dinance considered in Shuttlesworth, for example, flunked

this test because it contained no standards for when

police could order someone standing on a public way to

move on. See 382 U.S. at 90-91.

On this basis, enactments that are enforced based on

the wholly subjective judgments of police officers should

be condemned. For example, the statute at issue in Ko-

lender required a loiterer to provide “credible and reliable”

identification to a police officer, and thereby permitted

officers to make inherently subjective credibility deter-

minations about a suspect's identification. This left “vir-

tually complete discretion in the hands of the police to de-

termine whether the suspect has satisfied the statute... .”

461 US. at 358. See also Coates, 402 U.S. at 614 (or-

dinance prohibiting “annoying” conduct was impermis-

sibly vague because it depended on a police officer’s

subjective reactions and accordingly “no standard of con-

duct is specified at all”). But a law that “sets forth objec-

tive criteria” for enforcement should be upheld. See

Posters ‘N’ Things, Ltd. v. United States, 511 U.S. 513.

526 (1994). The gang loitering ordinance specifies such

objective standards.

First, under the plain meaning of the term “loitering”

used in the ordinance, it does not permit officers to issue

34

any type of order to anyone who is moving along or who

has an apparent purpose. Second, the ordinance permits

no arrest if individuals have dispersed after having re-

ceived a police order. These two limitations mean that

enforcement is based on what a police officer actually

observes, and not on inherently subjective assessments of

a suspect’s intent or credibility.

Third, and most important, the ordinance contains an

expressly objective test for the propriety of an order direct-

ing loiterers to move—when the officer “reasonably be-

lieves” that the group contains a member of a criminal

Street gang. Pet. App. 61a.** This facially objective

standard for enforcement unambiguously cabins discretion.

And permitting police officers to act based only on their

objectively reasonable beliefs is sufficient to address vague-

21 General Order 92-4 construes the ordinance to require prob-

able cause to believe that a loiterer is a member of a criminal street

gang, and there are rigorous standards for determining member-

ship. Pet. App. 67a-68a, 7la-72a. Such administrative guidelines

for enforcement are appropriately considered in evaluating claims

of vagueness. See, e.g., Kolender, 461 U.S. at 355; Hoffman Estates,

455 U.S. at 494 n.5. The Illinois Supreme Court questioned the

efficacy of General Order 92-4, stating that it had made “a thorough

examination of the record” and had concluded that police officers

“had not followed the guidelines of the general order in a uniform

manner.” Pet. App. 16a (footnote omitted). The single example

the court cited—that respondent Morales was arrested solely be-

cause he was wearing blue and black clothing (Pet. App. 16a n.1)—

in fact discloses a misunderstanding of the record. Morales was

not arrested because of the colors he was wearing; he was ar-

rested because the loiterers admitted that they belonged to a

criminal street gang. See Morales R. C.3. And the trial judge

who later convicted Morales found that he had admitted that he

was loitering with a member of a criminal street gang, although

he denied belonging to the gang. Morales Tr. at 19, 22, In any

event, the Illinois Supreme Court’s observation, even if correct, con-

siders the record in only one of these 66 consolidated cases, which

are themselves a tiny fraction of the cases brought under this ordi-

nance, and surely cannot be taken as a finding that General Order

92-4 has been ignored. There has been no evidentiary hearing on

the Chicago Police Department's adherence to the General Order,

aa any Mate court made em express finding of fast.on thie

po

35

ness concerns. In Kolender, for example, the Court ex-

plained that a loitering ordinance would be valid if it

authorized investigative stops based on reasonable suspi-

cion of criminal activity under the standard announced

in Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968), since this standard

“neutral limitations on the conduct of individual

officers.” 461 U.S. at 361 (quoting Brown v. Texas, 443

U.S. 47, 51 (1979)). The Terry test, of course, is an

objective one, even though the police must form their own

judgments based on their reasonable beliefs when applying

it. And if the Terry “reasonable suspicion” standard is an

appropriately neutral limitation on an officer’s authority

to detain loiterer,, then surely requiring an officer to have

a reasonable basis to identify a loiterer as a member of a

criminal street gang is an equally neutral limitation on the

power to order loiterers to move on.

Police officers thus do not receive “unfettered discre-

tion” under this law, as the Illinois Supreme Court claimed

(Pet. App. 16a), but instead must have an objectively

reasonable basis on which to identify a loiterer as a mem-

ber of a criminal street gang. Certainly there is nothing

about the concept of membership in a criminal street gang

so amorphous and subjective that it is impossible to have

objectively based beliefs on this point. In fact, gangs fre-

quently have a quite coherent structure and methods of

recruitment and admission.”* Many jurisdictions have even

made gang membership an element of an offense or a

basis for sentencing enhancement, and vagueness attacks

on such enactments have repeatedly been rejected. As

22 See, e.g. Jeffrey Fagan, Gangs, Drugs and Neighborhood

Change, in Gangs in America 42-73 (C. Ronald Huff ed. 1996);

Martin Sanchez Jankowski, Jslands in the Street: Gangs and

American Urban Society 37-100 (1991); Irving A. Spergel, The

Youth Gang Problem: A Community Approach 70-109 (1995).

23 See, ¢.g., People v. Gardeley, 14 Cal. 4th 605, 623-24, 927 P.2d

713, 724-25, 59 Cal. Rptr. 2d 356, 367-68 (1996), cert. denied, 118

S. Ct. 148 (1997); Jackson v. State, 634 N.E.2d 532, 535-36 (Ind.

Ct. App. 1994); Helton v. State, 624 N.E.2d 499, 505-07 (Ind. Ct.

App. 1993) cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 1252 (1997); State v. Walker,

36

General Order 92-4 reflects, there are a variety of objec-

as an individual's admissions, his display of distinctive

signs or symbols, or the existence of information from a

reliable informant. See Pet. App. 67a-68a. In addition,

the General Order provides that only specially trained

and designated officers familiar with gang crime can make

gang loitering arrests. See Pet. App. 65a.

Nor does vagueness doctrine prohibit laws that empower

a police officer to issue an enforceable order based on his

objectively reasonable belief. This Court approved just

such a law in Boos v. Barry, 485 U.S. 312 (1988). In

that case, the Court considered a vagueness attack on a

law governing congregations near foreign embassies that

had been construed to permit the police to order groups

to disperse “ ‘only when the police reasonably believe that

a threat to the security or peace of the embassy is pres-

ent.” Jd. at 330 (quoting Finzer v. Barry, 798 F.2d

1450, 1471 (D.C. Cir. 1986)). The Court concluded

that the statute, as construed, “withstands . . . vagueness

challenge” because it contained a prohibition expressed

“in words of common understanding.” 485 U.S. at 332

(citations omitted). And permitting officers to act on

their reasonable beliefs is hardly novel. The Fourth

Amendment permits persons to be detained on a police

Officer’s reasonable suspicion of criminal activity (e.g.,

United States v. Hensley, 469 U.S. 221, 227-29 (1985)),

and permits arrests based on probable cause, a standard

requiring only “reasonably trustworthy information to war-

rant a prudent [person] in believing” that a crime has been

committed (e.g., Hunter v. Bryant, 502 U.S. 224, 228

(1991) (per curiam)). These standards necessarily rely

506 N.W.2d 430, 431-32 (lowa 1993). An inventory of state laws

that make gang membership an element of an offense or a basis

for sentencing enhancement is contained in the Brief Amicus

Curiae of Ohio, et al. And in City of Tacoma v. Luvene, 118 Wash.

2d 826, 827 P.2d 1374 (1992), the court rejected a vagueness attack

on a loitering ordinance that permitted enforcement based on gang

membership. See id. at 846-48 & n.12, 827 P.2d at 1384-86 & n.12.

of potential dangerousness [wa]s rational.” Lewis, 445

U.S. at 67 (footnote omitted). See also, e.g., Michael

M. v. Superior Court, 450 U.S. 464 (1981) (upholding

statutory rape law proscribing sexual intercourse with fe-

males under age 18 not married to the accused); DeVeau

v. Braisted, 363 U.S. 144 (1960) (upholding as an anti-

38

corruption measure disqualification of convicted felons

from holding any position in waterfront union).

special dangers gangs pose would mean that such

was neither arbitrary nor discriminatory. Here too, se-

lecting gangs for special treatment is justified by the spe-

cial challenges they pose for law enforcement. And for

this reason as well, the ordinance considered in Papachris-

tou again involved a far different problem. The Jackson-

ville vagrancy ordinance identified no discrete class of in-

dividuals who posed a threat to their communities, and

hence there were “no standards governing the exercise of

the discretion granted by the ordinance .. . .” 405 U.S.

at 170. As we have explained, the same cannot be said

of the gang loitering ordinance.

Of course, this ordinance will strike many as strong

medicine. While persons with an apparent purpose—such

as individuals waiting at a marked bus stop or playing

basketball on a public court—are not subject to the ordi-

nance, it is true that gang members and others with them

who are merely sitting on a park bench, chatting on a

sidewalk, or otherwise remaining in one public place for

any other purpose not immediately discernable to a police

officer, can be ordered to disperse. But while a law that

requires persons to obey all police orders may be tough,

it is surely not vague. The real objection to harsh laws

is that they may not advance legitimate governmental in-

terests. That, however, is a substantive due process ob-

jection, and not one of vagueness. It is thus to that issue

that we next turn.

24 See, ¢.g., United States v. Turner, 104 F.3d 1180, 1185 (9th

Cir.), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 1566 & 1722 (1997); United States

v. Bourgeois, 964 F.2d 935, 941 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 506 U.S.

901 (1992) ; United States v. Trent, 718 F. Supp. 39 (D. Or. 1989).

See generally United States v. Armstrong, 517 U.S. 456, 463-71

(1996); Wayte v. United States, 470 U.S. 598, 608-10 (1985).

Il. THE GANG LOITERING ORDINANCE DOES NOT

OFFEND SUBSTANTIVE DUE PROCESS.

The Illinois Supreme Court determined that the gang

loitering ordinance was inconsistent with principles of sub-

Stantive due process. As with all facial challenges not

based on the First Amendment, this result can stand only

if the ordinance is invalid in all its applications. See Reno

v. Flores, 507 U.S. 292, 300-01 (1993). And as we ex-

plain below, substantive due process does not support the

court’s novel holding that the Constitution secures the

right to stand still on the public way even when one is not

engaged in speech, assembly, or other conduct that enjoys

A. The Gang Loitering Ordinance Appropriately Ad-

vances Legitimate Governmental! Interests.

Under substantive due process principles, a law that in-

fringes no fundamental right or liberty interest need only

be rationally related to a legitimate governmental interest.

See, ¢.g., Washington v. Glucksberg, 117 S. Ct. 2258,

2271-72 (1997); Reno v. Flores, 507 U.S. at 301-03.

singe to dhe. Geach, mooeble, ar Coates, T De-

ing unreasonable barriers as one leaves or enters a juris-

diction. See, e.g., Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618,

629-31 (1969) (right to travel between states); Aptheker

40

v. Secretary of State. 378 U.S. 500, 505-06 (1964) (right

to travel abroad). ihe Court has never recognized a gen-

eralized right to walk wherever one wishes. Indeed, as

we explain above, the Court's decisions in Colten and

Stanglin refuse to recognize a right to go—or remain—

wherever one wants. In any event, whatever protections

the concept of substantive due process offers to those as-

serting the “right to travel” or the “right of locomotion,”

surely loitering is the antithesis of travel. If geng mem-

bers and their associates only obey orders to move along

when issued—exercising the very right to travel the Illinois

Supreme Court supposed was infringed by the ordinance

—they will not be subject to arrest.

Aside from its incorrect reliance on associational and

travel rights, the Illinois Supreme Court relied on Papa-

christou for the conclusion that the right to loiter is one

of the “amenities of American life.” Pet. App. 17a. The

Papachristou opinion, however, never states that some

form of heightened judicial scrutiny is required of any

regulation of loitering. And the Court should hesitate to

create such a rule. In fact, “the Court has always been

reluctant to expand the concept of substantive due process

because guideposts for responsible decisionmaking in this

unchartered area are scarce and open-ended.” Collins y.

City of Harker Heights, 503 U.S. 115, 125 ( 1992). This

Court instead “ ‘exercise[s] the utmost care whenever we

are asked to break new ground in this field,’ lest the lib-

erty protected by the Due Process Clause be subtly trans-

formed into the policy preferences of the members of this

Court.” Glucksberg, 117 S. Ct. at 2268 (citations omit-

ted) (quoting Moore v. City of East Cleveland, 431 US.

494, 502 (1977) (plurality opinion) ).

To assess a claim that a right or liberty interest should

be treated as fundamental, “{oJur Nation’s history, legal

traditions, and practices . . . provide the crucial ‘guide-

posts for responsible decisionmaking’ that direct and re-

strain our exposition of the Due Process Clause.” Glucks-

berg, 117 S. Ct. at 2268 (citation omitted) (quoting

41

Collins, 503 U.S. at 125). The court below, however,

identified no history, tradition, or practice of

a right to loiter. In fact, history and tradition are quite to

states by statute and the remaining one by common law.

See American Law Institute, Model Penal Code § 250.6,

Comment 1 (1980).%° The Model Penal Code itself rec-

ommends a prohibition on loitering under circumstances

that reasonably warrant alarm for the safety of persons or

property. See id. § 250.6 & Comment 3. Our ordinance,

of course, is simply a more precise version of this model,

since it specifies one particular circumstance in which the

legislature found that loitering reasonably warrants alarm.

Nor can loitering laws fairly be characterized as “one

of those ‘arbitrary impositions’ or ‘purposeless restraints’

at odds with the Due Process Clause .. . .” Glucksberg,

117 S. Ct. at 2275 (Souter, J., concurring in the judg-

ment). Preserving legislative freedom to regulate loiter-

ing is, to the contrary, part of the community's basic en-

titlement to create a safe and secure environment for all.

The judgment that anti-loitering provisions are useful in

preventing crime is supported not only by the findings of

25 See also, ¢.g., Jeffrey S. Adler, A Historical Analysis of the

Law of Vagrancy, 27 Criminology 209 (1989); Caleb Foote, Vag-

rancy-Type Law and Its Administration, 104 U. Pa. L. Rev. 608,

615-31 (1956); Rollin M. Perkins, The Vagrancy Concept, 9 Hast-

ings L.J. 287 (1958). The authority of police to issue orders to

persons to move along as a means of keeping the peace is also

deeply rooted. See, e.g., Robert Force, Decriminalization of Breach

of the Peace Statutes: A Nonpenal Approach to Order Mainte-

nance, 46 Tul. L. Rev. 367, 392-404 (1972). An inventory of cur-

rent state loitering and disperse! 'aws is found in the Brief Amicus

Curiae of Ohio, et al.

42

the Chicago City Council, but, as we explain above, by

the verdict of history and the substantial body of scholarly

opinion that supports the “Broken Windows” thesis that

underlies this and similar public order laws. And surely

no one could doubt that the “general interest in preventing

crime is compelling.” United States v. Salerno, 481 U.S.

at 750. The governmental interest in preserving, and in-

deed enhancing, the stability and desirability of urban

neighborhoods is equally so: “‘{T]he City’s interest in

attempting to preserve [or improve] the quality of urban

life is one that must be accorded high respect.’” Taxpay-

ers For Vincent, 466 U.S. at 807 (brackets in original )

(quoting Young v. American Mini-Theatres, Inc., 427

U.S. 50, 71 (1976) (plurality opinion)). Thus, to cir-

cumscribe legislative power to enact loitering and similar

public order laws would impinge upon critical govern-

mental interests. Perhaps even worse, such a holding

would disregard the famous admonition from Justice

Brandeis: “To stay experimentation in things social and

economic is a grave responsibility. Denial of the right to

experiment may be fraught with serious consequences to

the nation.” New State Ice Co. v. Liebmann, 285 U.S.

262, 311 (1932) (dissenting opinion). Accord, e.g., Cru-

zan v. Director, 497 U.S. 261, 292 (1990) (O’Connor,

J., concurring); Chandler v. Florida, 449 U.S. 560, 579.

80 (1981).

Nor should it matter if loitering can be considered one

of the “amenities of life.” Papachristou, 405 U.S. at 164.

In organized society, the “amenities” of some must some-

times be regulated for the benefit of the community as a

whole. And in assessing such regulation, as the California

Supreme Court observed while upholding a civil injunction

against loitering by gang members, a court “begins with

the acknowledgement that the interests of the community

are not invariably less important than the freedom of in-

dividuals.” People ex rel. Gallo v. Acuna, 14 Cal. 4th

1090, 1102, 929 P.2d 596, 603, 60 Cal. Rptr. 2d 277,

284, cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 2513 (1997). This ordinance,

of course, was enacted precisely because the intimidating

43

nce of members often prevents law-abiding per-

say th pe ae ha their own “amenities of life.” And pre-

serving the ability of the politically accountable branches

of government to weigh the competing claims of different

constituencies whose liberties may come into conflict is

how we “maximize individual freedoms within a frame-

work of ordered liberty.” Kolender, 461 U.S. at 357.

Thus, to the extent that language in Papachristou sug-

gests that loitering laws are suspect because they have the

potential to reach conduct that can be innocuous in na-

ture, this represents a brand of substantive due process

that should surely be interred. Enactment of all prophyl-

actic laws involves weighing the benefits of prevention

against the cost of prohibiting conduct that is sometimes

innocent. The Court has long recognized the propriety of

legislation that proscribes particular conduct not because

it is invariably malicious or even inappropriate, but rather

because it is unacceptably likely to give rise to substan-

tive evils within the power of government to prohibit.

For example, in Day-Brite Lighting, Inc. v. Missouri,

342 U.S. 421 (1952), the Court sustained a law requir-

ing employers to grant four hours paid leave on election

days, since otherwise employers might use the power to

withhold leave as a means of influencing their employ-

ees’ votes. See id. at 423-25. Or, more recently, in Glucks-

berg, in the course of sustaining a prohibition on assisted

suicide, the Court explained that, whatever the merits of

assisted suicide, this prohibition advanced a legitimate in-

terest in ensuring that the state not start “down the path

to voluntary, and perhaps involuntary, euthanasia.” 117

S. Ct. at 2274. Accord id. at 2290-93 (Souter, J., con-

curring in the judgment). And, as we observe above, in

Lewis this Court upheld a prohibition on the possession

of firearms by felons whose convictions were uncounseled,

iargely as a prophylactic measure.

Applying the correct test, it is plain that the gang loiter-

ing ordinance should be upheld as reasonably related to

aa

legitimate government interests. As we explain above, the

ordinance advances legitimate—indeed compelling—gov-

ernmental interests by combatting the deleterious effects of

gang loitering. Conversely, it infringes whatever liberty

interest there is in using the public ways to a very limited

extent—anyone can loiter alone, or even with others, in-

cluding criminal street gang members, as long as they

move along when directed to do so. Of course, we do not

contend that the ordinance could never be applied to per-

sons whose conduct may be in fact innocuous or inoffen-

sive. But the benefits from removing a visibly lawless

element of loiterers from the public ways—because loiter-

ing by gang members and those who join them destabilizes

communities, facilitates criminal activity and gang recruit-

ment, intimidates law-abiding residents, lowers property

values, and places both gang members and those loitering

with them at risk if rival gangs come along—surely could

reasonably be thought to justify whatever burden is im-

posed on persons engaged in “innocent” activity who are

directed to move along as a result of this ordinance. And

whether the City Council could have crafted a narrower

law is quite beside the point—under the rational basis test,

the legislature is not required “to have chosen the least

restrictive means of achieving its legislative end.” Heller

v. Doe, 509 U.S. 312, 330 (1993). See also Reno v.

Flores, 507 U.S. at 305 (“narrow tailoring is required

only when fundamental rights are involved”).

In short, in this ordinance, the legislature identified a

particular circumstance in which loitering jeopardizes

legitimate governmental interests and authorized police of-

ficers to disperse loiterers in that circumstance. Because

that authorization is rationally related to legitimate gov-

ernmental interests, it should not have been set at naught

in the name of substantive due process.

B. The Gang Loitering Ordinance Does Not Create A

Status Offense.

Substantive due process, incorporating as it does the

prohibition on “cruel and unusual punishments” contained

45

in the Eighth Amendment, forbids the imposition of crim-

inal penalties based on an individual’s status alone. For

that reason, in Robinson v. California, 370 U.S. 660

(1962), the Court invalidated a statute making it a crime

to be a narcotics addict. See id. at 666-68. In Powell v.

Texas, 392 U.S. 514 (1968), however, the Court upheld

a public drunkenness statute as applied to an alcoholic,

making clear that even behavior persons are compelled to

engage in by virtue of their status can be a basis for regu-

lation as long as the law at issue requires that “the ac-

cused has committed some act, has engaged in some be-

havior, which society has an interest in preventing . . . .”

Id. at 533 (plurality opinion). See also id. at 549-50

(White, J., concurring in the result). The gang loitering

ordinance, of course, requires an affirmative act, and thus

comports with this rule. In fact, two discrete types of con-

duct are required. Not only must someone first loiter, but

he must then disobey an order to disperse.”®

The intermediate state appellate court held that the

ordinance created a status offense because the ordinance

“can be triggered only when a gang member is found

loitering.” Pet. App. 34a. This feature, however, does

not make for a forbidden status offense, but rather a

special restriction on conduct by persons whose status

warrants such a measure. And there is no constitutional

prohibition against placing such a restriction on persons

whose status warrants such measures, as long as it does not

impose penalties based on status alone. Such measures

are in fact common.

For example, statutory rape laws are based on the age

and sometimes the sex of an individual. Similarly, federal

law prohibits possession of firearms by convicted felons,

26 The lower courts have consistently held that loitering alone

can constitute the required conduct. See, e.g., People v. Superior

Court, 46 Cal. 3d 381, 398, 758 P.2d 1046, 1054-55, 250 Cal. Rptr.

515, 523-24 (1988); State v. Armstrong, 282 Minn. 39, 42%, 162

N.W.2d 357, 360, (1968); City of Tacoma v. Luvene, 118 Wash.

2d 826, 843-44, 827 P.2d 1374, 1382-83 (1992).

46

persons who illegally use or who are addicted to con-

trolled substances, persons who have been adjudicated

mentally ill or who have been committed to a mental

institution, aliens unlawfully in the country, persons who

have been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces,

and persons who have renounced American citizenship.

See 18 U.S.C. § 922(g). Under the appellate court's

holding, presumably these laws would bi. invalid because

they are “triggered” by the status of an individual. Yet

such reasoning cannot be squared with decisions such as

Lewis, which, as we explain in Part 1.B.2 above, upheld

the prohibition on possession of firearms by convicted

felons even when applied to those whose convictions were

unconstitutionally obtained, since they were in a class of

persons that could rationally be viewed as potentially

dangerous. Similarly, the gang loitering ordinance crimi-

nalizes not mere status but rather conduct by gang mem-

bers and their associates that the City Council reasonably

found to have a destructive impact on many communi-

ties—“public behavior which may create substantial health

and safety hazards . . . and which offends the moral and

aesthetic sensibilities of a large segment of the com-

munity.” Powell, 392 U.S. at 532. For that reason, this

ordinance does not create a forbidden status offense.

Ill. THE GANG LOITERING ORDINANCE DOES NOT

OFFEND THE FOURTH AMENDMENT.

Finally, we address an alternate ground that respond-

ents have continued to press for invalidating the gang

loitering ordinance—that it violates the Fourth Amend-

ment.” Indeed respondents persuaded the state appellate

court that the ordinance authorized arrests without com-

pliance with that Amendment’s “probable cause require-

ment.” Pet. App. 35a. That court concluded that the

ordinance authorizes “[a]rresting a person on suspicion

. .” Ibid. (quoting Papachristou, 405 U.S. at 169).

27 Respondents pressed this ground at each level in the state

courts and have renewed it in this Court in defense of the judg-

ment below. See Brief In Opposition of Respondents Youkhana

and Cota at 23-24; Pet. App. 5a, 35a, 58a-59a n.9.

47

This is demonstrably incorrect—the plain terms of the

ordinance make clear that it does not permit arrests

based on “suspicion.” Before loiterers can be arrested,

this ordinance—unlike Jacksonville’s vagrancy ordinance

at issue in Papachristou—tequires police officers to order

loiterers to move on. Even then, no arrests can be made

unless the order is disobeyed. At that point, of course,

the officer is not acting on suspicion but on his own

knowledge that his order has not been obeyed.

Perhaps the appellate court’s concern was not that

arrests could be made on suspicion, but rather that the

underlying orders to move on could be given on suspi-

cion. This also raises no Fourth Amendment problem.

An order to move on is simply not subject to attack un-

der the Fourth Amendment. Such an order is not a

“seizure,” to which that Amendment applies.

This Court has made clear that absent a “seizure”

within the meaning of the Fourth Amendment, interac-

tion between a police officer and an individual “implicates

no Fourth Amendment interest.” Florida v. Rodriguez,

469 U.S. 1, 5-6 (1984) (per curiam). A “seizure,” in

turn, occurs only when a “reasonable person would have

believed that he was not free to leave,” Michigan v.

Chesternut, 486 U.S. 567, 573 (1988) (quoting United

States v. Mendenhall, 446 U.S. 544, 554 (1980) (opin-

ion of Stewart, J.)), or at a minimum, when an individ-

ual would not reasonably feel free to “terminate the

encounter” with the police, Florida v. Bostick, 501 U.S.

429, 436 (1991). In California v. Hodari D., 499 US.

621 (1991), the Court applied this test and held that a

police officer’s order to halt—when not obeyed—is not

subject to the Fourth Amendment. Rather, a “seizure”

triggering the probable cause requirement occurs only

when there is “application of physical force to restrain

movement.” Jd. at 626. Accord Brower v. County of

Inyo, 489 U.S. 593, 596 (1989) (“Violation of the

Fourth Amendment requires an intentional acquisition

of physical control.”). An order to move on under the

gang loitering ordinance, of course, involves no such

48

forcible restraint—indeed the opposite of forcible re-

straint—and thus is not a seizure.

Nor can an order to disperse be viewed as a “seizure”

simply because the recipients’ “freedom of movement” is

limited to the extent that they must actually move. Such

a boundless view of the Fourth Amendment would con-

vert every traffic direction or every crowd control instruc-

tion from an officer to a pedestrian into a “seizure” sub-

ject to Fourth Amendment review. That expansive notion

is, of course, not the law.”8

In any event, even if an order to move along were a

“seizure,” it would still not violate the Fourth Amend-

ment. We explain in Part II.A above why the City Coun-

cil’s decision to confer authority on police officers to order

gang members and others who loiter with them to move

along was reasonably related to legitimate governmental

interests. And the Fourth Amendment, of course, pro-

scribes only “unreasonable” seizures. Accordingly, the

“touchstone of the Fourth Amendment is reasonableness.”

Ohio v. Robinette, 117 S. Ct. 417, 421 (1996) (quoting

Florida v. Jimeno, 500 U.S. 248, 250 (1991)). If orders

issued under this ordinance reasonably advance legitimate

police powers, and we explain in Part II.A above why

they do, then they cannot be viewed as constitutionally

“unreasonable,” any more than other orders an officer is-

sues to persons as a reasonable exercise of the police

power—such as a traffic direction or a crowd control in-

struction—are constitutionally unreasonable.

Thus the Fourth Amendment provides no independent

basis to attack this ordinance. Indeed, the Fourth Amend-

ment has always been understood to permit a police officer

to “arrest a person when he has probable cause to believe

28 Although the issue has not been frequently litigated, the Sev-

enth Circuit has observed that directions from police officers at an

accident scene or to a loiterer to move on do not implicate the

Fourth Amendment. See Kernats v. O'Sullivan, 35 F.3d 1171, 1181

n.7 (7th Cir. 1994). See also id. at 1184 (Crabb, J., concurring).

49

that person has committed a crime.” Tennessee v. Garner,

471 U.S. 1, 7 (1985). This classic restatement of the

scope of the Fourth Amendment is of course silent about

what types of conduct the government may make a crime.

Instead its guarantee is procedural—to require only that

there be probable cause to believe that some law has been

broken before an arrest can be made. Michigan v. De-

Fillippo, 443 U.S. 31 (1979), illustrates the point. De-

Fillippo had been arrested under an ordinance that au-

thorized police officers to stop individuals based on rea-

sonable cause to believe some further investigation is

warranted, and then required such individuals to identify

themselves and produce evidence of their identity. See id.

at 33-34. The state courts later held that the ordinance

was impermissibly vague and hence unconstitutional (id.

at 34), but this Court concluded that DeFillippo’s arrest

nevertheless comported with the Fourth Amendment. Be-

cause DeFillippo had violated the terms of the ordinance,

“there was abundant probable cause to satisfy the con-

stitutional prerequisite for an arrest.” /d. at 37. After all,

the Court explained, “[p]olice are charged to enforce laws

until and unless they are declared unconstitutional.” /d.

at 38.”

Here, too, the Fourth Amendment poses no obstacle to

enforcement of a duly enacted law. The gang loitering

ordinance, of course, grants no authority to search and

seize except when there is probable cause to believe that

its terms have been violated—that an order to disperse has

been properly given and disobeyed. If the Court accepts

our submission that a requirement to obey police orders

to move along can be validly placed on gang members

29 See also, ¢.g., Waters v. Barry, 711 F. Supp. 1125, 1137-38

(D.D.C. 1989) (Fourth Amendment permitted arrest under curfew

ordinance regardless of its substantive constitutionality u der the

First and the Fourteenth Amendments); City of Milwaukee v.

Nelson, 149 Wis. 2d 434, 454-62, 489 N.W.2d 562, 569-72 (as long

as probable cause existed to believe defendant had loitered in viola-

tion of ordinance his arrest comported with the Fourth Amend-

ment), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 858 (1989).

and their associates, then an arrest made on probable

cause to believe that a duly authorized police order has

been disobeyed does not offend the Fourth Amendment.

The judgment of the Supreme Court of Illinois should

be reversed.

(312) 744-5337

Attorneys for Petitioner

* Counsel of Record

June 19, 1998

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.