Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ohio Forestry Assn., Inc. v. Sierra Club

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

supreme Court, U.&.

FIL#&D

~ 97-16 uu 11997

YY

NagF@E-OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

OHIO FORESTRY ASSOCIATION, INC.,

Petitioner,

Vv.

SIERRA CLUB, ef al.,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Of Counsel: STEVEN P. QUARLES

WILLIAM R. MURRAY Counsel of Record

AMERICAN FOREST & CLIFTON S. ELGARTEN

PAPER ASSOCIATION THOMAS R. LUNDQUIST

1111 19th Street, NW CROWELL & MORING LLP

Suite 800 1001 Pennsylvania Ave., NW

Washington, DC 20036 Washington, DC 20004-2595

(202) 624-2665

Attorneys for Petitioner

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS # WASHINGTON, D.C. # 1-800-347-8208

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Is there a justiciable controversy on Respondents’

facial challenge to a long-term federal land use plan (the Forest

Plan for the Wayne National Forest), where that Plan does not

provide authority to engage in any ground-disturbing activity?

2. If jurisdiction exists, did the Court of Appeals err on

the following merits issues:

a. Does the Forest Service's adherence to Acts of

Congress constitute judicially remediable bias?

b. Does the National Forest Management Act in general,

and 16 U.S.C. 1604(g)(3)(F)(v) in particular, prohibit one of

the two basic systems of forest management -- even-aged

management of tree stands -- in national forests except in

"exceptional circumstances," and require that timber

production be limited to protect and preserve primitive

recreational experiences?

(i)

rr

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioner Ohio Forestry Association, Inc. was an appellee

before the court of appeals, and an intervening defendant at the

district court level. The Chief of the United States Forest

Service within the Department of Agriculture (then Jack Ward

Thomas and currently Mike Dombeck) was the lead appellee

before the court of appeals and lead defendant at the district

court level. The other named defendants, who were appellees

in the court of appeals, are also Department of Agriculture

officials: the Secretary of Agriculture (then Mike Espy and

currently Dan Glickman), the Regional Forester for the

Eastern Region (then Floyd J. Marita and currently Robert A.

Jacobs), and the Forest Supervisor for the Wayne National

Forest (then Eurial E. Turner and currently the Acting Forest

Supervisor is Jose Zambrana). The Sierra Club and the

Citizens Council on Conservation and Environmental Control

were the appellants before the court of appeals and plaintiffs

at the district court level.

The names of the current federal officials have been

substituted pursuant to Rule 33. Pursuant to Rule 29.6,

Petitioner states that the Ohio Forestry Association, Inc. has no

parent or subsidiary corporations.

(ii)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ........--ssesee: i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ...........--- ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ....... 6. - eee eees v

OPINIONS BELOW .... 1... cece cere eenes l

JURISDICTION ... 1. ccc eee errr eenes l

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ......... ss ee5> 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ......... 8

I. Review Should Be Granted On The Justiciability

Issue To Resolve The Split Among Five Circuits,

To Address Constitutional Limitations,

And For Other Reasons ..........- +e seees x

Il. If Jurisdiction Exists, Review Should Extend

To Three Significant Merits Rulings

Which Also Involve Circuit Splits Or

Constitutional Limitations ..............+.+- 13

A. The Forest Service Bias Ruling ......... 14

B. The Two NFMA Rulings ............-. 18

CE. « kono wens Oh cece s ¢oH 2 Cee ee 23

Appendix A - Sixth Circuit Opinion (Jan. 21, 1997)... la

Appendix B - District Court's Summary Judgment

Opinion (March 11, 1994) .... 6... ee eee 10a

Appendix C - District Court's

Opinion (March 8, 1993) ............... 49a

Appendix F - Sixth Circuit Order Denying

Rehearing (April7, 1997) .............. 131a

Appendix G-Complaint.................. 133a

4.0 bab dew ¥iecws 1

a a ee :

16 U.S.C. 475, § 1 of the 1897 Organic

SE 147a

OP I oils o MOBS ig cic cece 147a

16 U.S.C. 528-31, The Multiple-Use

Sustained-Yield Act of 1960 .......... 148a

eh eee 150a

16 U.S.C. 1604, § 6 of the National Forest

Management Act of 1976............ 153a

(iv)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGE

Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737 (1984) ........... 16

Babbitt v. Sweet Home Chapter of Communities for a

Great Oregon, 115 S. Ct. 2407 (1995) ........ 22

Bennett v. Spear, 117 S. Ct. 1154 (1997) ........ 12

Big Hole Ranchers Ass'n, Inc. v. United States

Forest Serv., 686 F. Supp. 256 (D. Mont. 1988) .. 22

Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense

Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984) ........... 22

Citizens for Envtl. Quality v. United States,

731 F. Supp. 970 (D. Colo. 1989) ......... 18, 21

Cronin v. United States Dep't of Agric.,

919 F.2d 439 (7th Cir. 1990) ...........4.5.. 21

FCC v. Schreiber, 381 U.S. 279 (1965) .......... 15

Florida Power & Light Co. v. Lorion,

Lite |). Serre eee 15

FW/PBS, Inc. v. Dallas, 493 U.S. 215 (1990) ...... ll

Idaho Conservation League v. Mumma,

956 F.2d 1508 (9th Cir. 1992) ......... 8, 10, 18

Idaho Conservation League v. Mumma, 21 Envtl. L.

Rep. (Envtl. L. Inst.) 20666 (D. Mont. 1990),

rev'd on standing, but aff'd on merits,

956 F.2d 1508 (9th Cir. 1992) ...........5-. 4g

Kleppe v. New Mexico, 426 U.S. 529 (1976) ...... 16

Krichbaum v. Kelley, 844 F. Supp. 1107 (W.D. Va.

1994), aff'd, 61 F.3d 900 (4th Cir. 1995)....... 21

(v)

Laird v. Tatum, 408 U.S. 1 (1972) ............ 16

Light v. United States, 220 U.S. 523 (1911) ....... 16

Los Angeles v. Lyons, 461 U.S. 95 (1983) ........ 11

Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife,

ee ee SE aba die ech see 11, 12, 16

Lujan v. National Wildlife Fed'n,

Gy CE we diowes esis buted on 12

Marsh v. Oregon Natural Resources Council,

ee 18

Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass'n v. State Farm Mia.,

Ge ED | 6 oes © WW Oh 6 iow st oes 15

Perkins v. Bergland, 608 F.2d 803 (9th Cir. 1979) .. 22

Renne v. Geary, 501 U.S. 312 (1991) ........... 12

Resources Lid, Inc. v. Robertson, 35 F.3d 1300

(9th Cir. 1994) ......... a tabieteees > 19, 20

Resources Lid, Inc. v. Robertson,

789 F. Supp. 1529 (D. Mont. 1991), rev'd on

standing, but affd on NFMA merits,

35 F.3d 1300 (9th Cir. 1994) .......... 9, 18, 19

Sierra Club v. Espy,

38 F.3d 792 (Sth Cir. 1994) ............ 7, 19-22

Sierra Club v. Espy, 822 F. Supp. 356 (E.D. Tex.

1993), rev'd, 38 F.3d 792 (Sth Cir. 1994) ...... 19

Sierra Club v. Marita, 46 F.3d 606 (7th Cir. 1995) . 8, 10

Sierra Club v. Robertson, 28 F.3d 753

ey ok ees oo woe k ok e's. 4, 8, 10, 20

Sierra Club v. Robertson, 784 F. Supp. 593 (W.D.

Ark. 1991), aff'd, 28 F.3d 753 (8th Cir. 1994) . 19, 20

(vi)

Sierra Club v. Thomas, 105 F.3d 248

(6th Cir. 1997) (App. A)... eee eens passim

Sierra Club v. Thomas, 845 F. Supp. 485 (1994)

(App. B), rev'd, 105 F.3d 248 (6th Cir. 1997). 1, 6, 17

Texas Comm. on Natural Resources v. Bergland,

573 F.2d 201 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied,

439 U.S. 966 (1978) .....- ee eee eens 19

Thomas v. Peterson, 753 F.2d 754 (9th Cir. 1985). . . 18

United States v. New Mexico,

438 U.S. 696 (1978) ......---50e% 2, 14, 15, 20

United States v. San Francisco, 310 U.S. 16 (1940) .. 16

Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United

Separation of Church and State, Inc.,

454 U.S. 464 (1982) ...-- eee errr eree 12

Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v. Natural

Resources Defense Council, Inc.,

435 U.S. 519 (1978) ...--- ee eee eres 16

Whitmore v. Arkansas, 495 U.S. 149 (1990)......-. 11

Wilderness Soc'y v. Alcock, 83 F.3d 386

(1ith Cir. 1996) .. 1.6.5 ee eee eeee 8, 10, 12

Wilderness Soc'y v. Alcock, 867 F. Supp. 1026

(N.D. Ga. 1994), affd, 83 F.3d 386

(1ith Cir. 1996) 2... eee eee eee 9

United States Constitution

)_ ote rere ee ieee eee ee 8-11

Ast. TV, 63.0 ccc wcrc cers rc reeeeveces 16

Administrative Procedure Act

| CT 15, 17, 18

(vii)

oy | ROR eh rr ete 2, 15

OS ake cee 3

National Environmental Policy Act,

ete a 3

National Forest Management Act of 1976

~~ SRS eres 3

tO USC, MONI) .................... 3

16 U.S.C. 1604(f)(1) and a seen ace beck bot 5

i. ieee PRG Oemnaae: 3

16 U.S.C. IGOUGKOMEMIV) ............... 18

16 U.S.C. 1604(g)(3(F) ............... 20

16 U.S.C. 1604(g)(3)(FYv) ..... 6, 7, 18, 21

Ns £56 6 eG ieee ant, x 18

ED oy Vin oWbS ede be 6 veed oc 2

Organic Administration Act of 1897

NLA USS bw UU Skid oelicn da 2, 23

Shae an SSAA nine Ae ota ge. 16

PE Mich b a ken shade onceees...., 14

so 6 i os ove ku 14

I 6 ov ko sé ss0s cla ate ant 2

110 Stat. 3009-208 (1996)................_. 19

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

122 Cong. Rec. 33835 (Sept. 30, 1976) ......... 23

36 C.F.R. 200.2 and 200.3................. 2, 22

RSs kos oes scacecckl 3

-) £2 RG Crome 2+ pmae 20

PN 8 crc css sev tahctert 3

(viii)

SE 3

PE rh bd o'GS ode 6 Wd baw dddelde 5

ee 5, 12

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Beth Brennan and Matt Clifford, Standing, Ripeness,

and Forest Plan Appeals, 17 Pus. LAND L. REV.

ED 6 DEE UES dolcdlh clk Secccccccecee 9

Martha Colhoun and Timothy S. Hamill,

Environmental Standing in the Ninth Circuit:

Wading Through the Quagmire,

15 PUBLIC LAND L. REV. 249 (1994) ......... 10

Michael J. Gippert anc Vincent L. DeWitte,

The Nature Of Land And Resource

Planning Under The National

Forest Management Act, 3 ENVTL.

LAWYER 149 (Sept. 1996) ............... 4,9

Richard Lazarus, Forestry Advance, Wetlands Retreat,

THE ENVTL. FoRUM, March/April 1997, at 10 .. 7, 20

Murphy, Cutting Through the Forest of the

"Sind Darin ogg hewn

Circuits, 18 U. ARK. LITTLE ROCK L.J.

CCAS E Es GGG ts so 6606000 c cc 9

Note, Failing to See the Forest For the Trees:

Standing To Challenge National Forest

Management Plans, 16 Va. ENVTL. L.J. 145 (1996) . 9

Note, Loss of Protection As Injury in Fact: An

Approach to Establishing Standing to Challenge

Environmental Planning Decisions,

29 U. MIcH. J.L. REFORM 857 (1996) ......... 9

(ix)

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

OHIO FORESTRY ASSOCIATION, INC.,

Petitioner.

v.

SIERRA CLUB, ef ai.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Ohio Forestry Association, Inc., respectfully petitions

for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The January 21, 1997 opinion of the Sixth Circuit Court of

Appeals reversing the grant of summary judgment to

defendants is reprinted at App. A and is reported at 105 F.3d

248. The April 7, 1997 order of the Sixth Circuit, denying

rehearing and rehearing en banc is reprinted at App. F. The

March 11, 1994 opinion of the district court granting summary

judgment in favor of defendants is reprinted at App. B and is

reported at 845 F. Supp. 485. The district court's opinion

excluding evidence going beyond the administrative record is

reprinted at App. C. The 1990 and 1992 administrative appeal

decisions affirming the legality of the Wayne National Forest

Plan are reprinted at Apps. D and E, respectively.

JURISDICTION

The court below entered its opinion and judgment on

January 21, 1997. Petitioner timely sought a panel rehearing

and rehearing en banc on March 3, 1997. This Petition is

being filed within 99 days after the April 7, 1997 denial of

2

rehearing. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The relevant provisions of the United States Constitution,

and of the National Forest Management Act and other National

Forest System laws, are reprinted in App. H.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case concerns the justiciability of a facial challenge to

a forest plan and, if jurisdiction exists, merits issues on

management of the National Forest System.

1. The National Forest System comprises over 188 million

acres of federal lands. See 16 U.S.C. 1609; 36 C.F.R. 200.2

to .3. The System is managed by the United States Forest

Service, an agency within the Department of Agriculture.

Under the 1897 Organic Administration Act, "[nJo national

forest shall be established, except . . . for the purpose of

securing favorable conditions of water flows, and to furnish a

continuous supply of timber for the use and necessities of

citizens of the United States." 16 U.S.C. 475.

The Multiple-Use Sustained-Yield Act of 1960 ("MUSY A")

States the "policy of Congress that the national forests are

established and shall be administered for outdoor recreation,

range, timber, watershed, and wildlife and fish purposes." Jd

§ 528. The broadened multiple uses were not to be exercised

"in derogation of" the purposes expressed in 16 U.S.C.

“section 475." Jd Thus, timber production remains one of

such as recreation are "secondary" to those purposes. United

States v. New Mexico, 438 U.S. 696, 707-15 (1978).

"[S]ustained yield" means achievement of "a high-level annual

3

or regular periodic output of the various renewable resources"

-- for example, by timber sales. 16 U.S.C. 531(b).

2. The National Forest Management Act of 1976

("NFMA") created a duty to prepare a "land and resource

management plan” ("LRMP" or "forest plan") for each

national forest or group of national forests. 16 U.S.C.

1604(a). The NFMA reaffirmed the multiple use mandate for

national forests. A forest plan must “provide for multiple use

and sustained yield of the products” (é.g., timber products)

from the national forest "in accordance with the Multiple-Use

Sustained-Yield Act." Jd § 1604(e)(1).

3. The 36 C.F.R. Part 219 regulations explain forest

planning (§§ 219.10 to .12) and provide direction on particular

resources (§§ 219.13 to .27). In general, before a forest plan

is adopted, demand for the various resources is assessed,

environmental impact statements ("EISs") describing

alternative forest plans are prepared under the National

Environmental Policy Act ("NEPA").

A forest plan can remain in effect for 10 to 15 years, after

which it is replaced by a revised forest plan. 16 U.S.C.

1604(f)(5); 36 C.F.R. 219.10(g). Thus, a forest plan provides

long-term planning direction.

Typically, a forest plan and accompanying documentation

do not analyze, contain final decisions on, or authorize any

specific project in a national forest. After the forest plan is

adopted, a ground-disturbing project (such as a timber sale)

that is consistent with a forest plan may be proposed, analyzed

under NEPA and other laws, and approved by the Forest

Service. Adoption of a forest plan does not dictate the

occurrence of, nor serve as the final authorization for, any

4

ground-disturbing project (and its environmental impacts and

injuries). The Eighth Circuit summarized the Forest Service's

Position on the relationship between forest planning and later

site-specific projects, in concluding that Article III standing is

lacking on a facial challenge to a forest plan:

A forest plan, such as the Ouachita Forest Plan, is a

general planning tool. It provides guidelines and approved

methods by which forest management decisions are to be

made for a period of ten to fifteen years. Adoption of the

Plan does not effectuate any on-the-ground environmental

changes. Nor does it dictate that any particular site-

Indeed, before an environmental change can come about,

several events must transpire. First, a site-specific action

(é.g., a timber sale) must be proposed and found to be

consistent with the Plan. Next, the action is subject to

NEPA and NFMA analysis and public comment. Finally,

the Forest Service must adopt the action. Finding an

environmental injury based on the Plan alone, without

reference to a particular site-specific action, would "take[]

us into the area of speculation and conjecture."

Sierra Club v. Robertson, 28 F.3d 753, 758 (8th Cir. 1994):

see App. 18a, 75a, 87a-88a; Michael J. Gippert and Vincent

L. DeWitte, The Nature Of Land And Resource Management

Planning Under The National Forest Management Act, 3

ENVTL. LAWYER 149, 155-59, 166-69, 183-86 (Sept. 1996).

A forest plan allocates lands to specific management areas,

each of which identifies a particular mix of possible uses (e.g,

a Management area featuring primitive recreation and other

compatible uses), and determines which lands are suitable for

timber production. A forest plan also provides the minimum

management prescriptions that constrain future development

5

proposals within each management area. See id; 16 U.S.C.

1604(f)(1) and (2); 36 C.F.R. 219.11, 219.14.

4. This approach to forest planning was followed for the

then-177,701 acre Wayne National Forest in Ohio. App. 12a-

13a. The draft and final EISs analyzed seven alternative forest

plans, including alternatives that emphasized primitive

recreation and de-emphasized timber production.’ The final

Wayne Forest Plan was adopted in January 1988. It represents

the mix of multiple uses that the Forest Service believed

provided the greatest net public benefits. See JA 971-75; App.

12a-13a, 71a.

5. In 1988, the Sierra Club and the Citizens Council on

Conservation and Environmental Control ("Plaintiffs") filed

administrative appeals challenging the Plan. The Wayne

Forest Plan was affirmed in decisions dated November 14,

1990 and January 14, 1992. Apps. D and E.

6. Plaintiffs then brought facial challenges to the Wayne

Forest Plan and its final EIS in a Complaint filed on March

18, 1992. The actions that Plaintiffs challenged in their

Complaint, and alleged caused them injury, were the adoption

of the Wayne Forest Plan and the issuance of the final EIS on

the Plan. App. G. Plaintiffs did not bring an "as-applied"

challenge — for example, by alleging that the Plan as applied

i 0 el 1 timber sale injured Plaintiffs.

The case was assigned to District Judge Graham of the

United States District Court for the Southern District of Ohio.

Petitioner was granted defendant-intervenor status on

' At the Sixth Circuit level, pertinent excerpts from the

administrative record were collected in a Joint Appendix ("JA"). The

Draft EIS pages describing the alternatives begin at JA 528.

6

September 4, 1992. JA 4. Judge Graham dismissed Plaintiffs’

claims on the merits in a 39-page summary judgment opinio

dated March 11, 1994. App. B. '

7. Plaintiffs appealed to the Sixth Circuit. The appeal was

briefed and argued in the 1994-95 time period, but was not

decided until January 21, 1997. App. A.

8. The panel opinion by Chief Judge Martin rej the

Department of Justice's position that there was no standing or

ripe controversy on this facial challenge to a forest plan. App.

3a-4a. While the panel cited the Seventh and Ninth Circuit

opinions that found justiciable controversies in analogous

circumstances, the panel did not cite, or refute the logic of, the

Eighth and Eleventh Circuit opinions finding that no justiciable

controversy exists at the abstract level of a forest plan. See

pages 8-9, below.

merits without citing a single supporting case. Nor did the

opinion below analyze the structure or legislative history of the

statutes being construed, or support factual assertions with

Citations to the administrative record. See App. Sa-8a.

10. One unusual ruling was that Acts of Congress render

the Forest Service unlawfully biased in favor of timber

production. Judge Batchelder wrote separately because she did

"not believe that the majority's undocumented broadside

against the Forest Service is appropriate." App. 9a.

11. The other merits rulings were interpretations ions of the

NFMA. The NFMA, in 16 U.S.C. 1604(g)(3)(F)(v), directs

the Forest Service to issue regulations which:

(F) insure that clearcutting, seed tree cutting, and

shelterwood cutting, and other cuts designed to regenerate

5

an even-aged stand of timber will be used as a cutting

method on National Forest System lands only where -. .

.. (¥) such cuts are carried out in a manner consistent

with the protection of soil, watershed, fish, wildlife,

recreation, and esthetic resources, and the regeneration of

the timber resource.

a. The panel interpreted this NFMA provision to mean

that "even-aged management techniques will be used only in

exceptional circumstances." App. 6a. This interpretation had

been expressly rejected in a Fifth Circuit opinion cited by the

parties, but not addressed by the court below. Sierra Club v.

Espy, 38 F.3d 792, 799-800 (Sth Cir. 1994) (the "NFMA does

not bar even-aged management or require that it be undertaken

only in exceptional circumstances").’

b. Finally, the court below ruled the NFMA creates a

strong “protective spirit" for the “recreational value of

wilderness" and that the Wayne Forest Plan is “in excess of

the statutory limitations provided in § 1604(g)(3)(F)(v)." App.

6a, 8a. The panel seemed to conclude that the NFMA requires

the preservation of primitive recreation first and permits timber

harvesting only as a secondary matter. This view of NFMA

“protection” also had been rejected in the Sierra Club v. Espy,

38 F.3d at 800-03.

never discusses or even cites to the Fifth Circuit's earlier ruling. Nor

for that matter, does the Sixth Circuit discuss or even cite to the

Eighth Circuit's ruling on standing, from which the Sixth Circuit was

also dissenting.” Richard Lazarus, Forestry Advance, Wetlands

Retreat, THE ENVTL. FORUM, March/April 1997, at 10.

12. The Forest Service and the Ohio Forestry Association,

Inc. timely sought rehearing and rehearing en banc. Those

requests were denied on April 7, 1997. App. F.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The facial challenge to this Ferest Plan did not create a

justiciable controversy. Lacking facts on how the Forest Plan

would be implemented, the court below misinterpreted the Plan

and the National Forest Management Act. To bolster its

decision, the court below impugned the integrity of an entire

federal agency. The Court should grant the writ to resolve the

well-developed split among five circuit courts on the

justiciability issue. If jurisdiction exists, three significant and

recurring merits issues, which also produce circuit splits or

I. Review Should Be Granted On The Justiciability Issue

To Resolve The Split Among Five Circuits,To Address

Constitutional Limitations, And For Other Reasons

1. The Court's guidance on the justiciability of facial

challenges to forest plans is needed to resolve a well-developed

split in the circuits. Five courts of appeal have considered this

The courts finding an Article III case or controversy at the

abstract level of a forest plan are the Sixth Circuit in the

decision under review; the Seventh Circuit in Sierra Club v.

Marita, 46 F.3d 606 (7th Cir. 1995); and the Ninth Circuit in

the 2-1 decision in Idaho Conservation League v. Mumma, 956

F.2d 1508 (9th Cir. 1992) and its progeny. The Eighth and

Eleventh Circuits have found that a facial challenge to a forest

plan presents no justiciable controversy. Wilderness Soc'y v.

Alcock, 83 F.3d 386 (11th Cir. 1996) (no ripe controversy);

9

Sierra Club v. Robertson, 28 F.3d 753, 757-60 (8th Cir. 1994)

(no Article III standing).’

The conflict is well illustrated by a comparison of the

claims in this case and the Eleventh Circuit case. See App.

13a-47a; 867 F. Supp. at 1033-35. The two cases share

virtually identical legal claims, yet the courts reached opposite

conclusions on justiciability.

2. The conflicting lower court opinions and law review

commentaries‘ fully air the competing legal and policy

rationales, but no consensus has emerged. The sheer number

of decisions and articles demonstrates that the justiciability of

facial challenges to forest plans is an important and recurring

justiciability issue presented by this Petition and avoid

perpetuation of the legal uncertainty.

. Snead Gate coum cep hae. Ount08 Gam & oo

justiciable controversy in this situation. See Wilderness Soc'y v

Alcock, 867 F. Supp. 1026 (N.D. Ga. 1994), affd, 83 F.3d 386 (11th

Cir. 1996); Resources Lid, Inc. v. Robertson, 789 F. Supp. 1529 (D.

Mont. 1991), rev'd on standing, but affd on NFMA merits, 35 F.3d

1300 (9th Cir. 1994); Idaho Conservation League v. Mumma, 21

Envtl. L. Rep. (Envtl. L. Inst.) 20666 (D. Mont. 1990), rev'd on

standing, but aff'd on merits, 956 F.2d 1508 (9th Cir. 1992).

* E.g, Gippert, 3 ENVTL. LAWYER 149 (1996); Beth Brennan and

Matt Clifford, Standing, Ripeness, and Forest Plan Appeals, 17 Pus.

LAND L. REV. 125 (1996); Note, Rtg Se Ge Roms Fe On

Trees: Standing To Challenge National Forest Management

VA. ENVTL. L.J. 145 (1996); Kelly Murphy, Cutting Through the

Forest of the Standing Doctrine: Challenging Resource Management

Plans in the Eighth and Ninth Circuits, 18 U. ARK. LITTLE ROCK L.J.

223 (1996); Note, Loss of Protection As Injury in Fact: An Approach

to Establishing Standing to Challenge Environmental Planning

Decisions, 29 U. MICH. J.L. REFORM 857 (1996).

10

a. As one example of the conflict in legal rationales,

the Sixth, Seventh, and Ninth Circuits have reasoned that

facial challenges to forest plans should be allowed because

forest plans “play a critical role in future Forest Service

actions." App. 4a; accord Mumma, 956 F.2d at 1515-16. A

forest plan's role is that it influences, but does not dictate,

later ground-disturbing actions (e.g., a timber sale). See pages

3-4, above. The Eighth Circuit has concluded that the logic of

the Ninth Circuit "may be no longer viable” in light of

Supreme Court precedents (discussed below) that a contingent

risk of injury does not confer standing, “even though the Ninth

Circuit has continued to rely upon it." Sierra Club v.

Robertson, 28 F.3d at 760; see Martha Colhoun and Timothy

S. Hamill, Exvironmental Standing in the Ninth Circuit:

Wading Through the Quagmire, 15 PUBLIC LAND L. REV. 249,

257-65, 279-80 (1994).

b. Another rationale invoked by the court below and

the Ninth Circuit (in allowing facial challenges) is that plan-

level challenges "would forever escape review" unless facial

challenges are permitted. App. 4a. The Seventh, Eighth and

Eleventh Circuits have found this reasoning unpersuasive.

Once a proposed timber sale creates the immediate and certain

factual situation required for a ripe controversy, plaintiffs "can

challenge both the site-specific action as well as the Plan-level

decisions underlying the specific action at the second [timber

sale] stage." Wilderness Soc'y, 83 F.3d at 390; see Marita, 46

F.3d at 613-14 n.5; Robertson, 28 F.3d at 759. Thus, a plan-

level challenge can be presented when an injury is imminent,

in a concrete “as-applied” setting.

3. The opinion below also conflicts with this Court's

precedents on the constitutional minima for standing and on

11

Article Il jurisdiction until a plaintiff eaten

FW/PBS, Inc. v. Dallas, 493 U.S. 215, 231 (1990). The

decision below has an ipse dixit quality that jurisdiction should

exist because the court would like to review the forest plan.

The disputed action in a facial challenge (adoption of a

forest plan) typically does not cause any imminent

environmental injury or any such injury at all. See pages 3-4,

above. Accordingly, Plaintiffs lack the “imminent” and

"certainly impending" injury required for Article II] standing

when they challenge a forest plan in isolation from any timber

sale or other ground-disturbing activity that injures their

environmental interests. Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504

U.S. 555, 564-65 & n.2 (1992) (emphasis in original).

Plaintiffs are not “immediately in danger of sustaining some

direct injury as a result of the challenged” action. Los Angeles

v. Lyons, 461 U.S. 95, 102 (1983). While a forest plan

creates a risk of "future injury contingent” on the later analysis

and approval of a timber sale in an area where Plaintiffs’

members recreate, such a contingent risk of injury does "not

satisfy the requirements of Art. III." Whitmore v. Arkansas,

495 U.S. 149, 158 (1990).

Constitutional and prudential ripeness principles suggest

that judicial review not occur in the factual vacuum of a facial

challenge to a forest plan. There, it is not certain how a forest

plan will be implemented, and the plan can be misconstrued

(as we believe the Sixth Circuit misconstrued the Plan at issue

here). The NFMA does not provide for judicial review at the

abstract level of a forest plan. Review normally should wait

until the "scope of the controversy ‘has been reduced to more

12

relageable Proportions, and its factual components fleshed

out, by some concrete action.'"*

Bennett v. Spear, 117 §. Ct. 1154 (1997), does not alter

this analysis. Bennett's discussion of Art. III standing repeated

the Defenders of Wildlife requirements for a "concrete" and

“imminent” injury-in-fact. Jd at 1163. While the Bennett

Court found that an Art. II] injury could be fairly traced to the

challenged biological opinion since it “alters legal regime"

by providing an immediately effective "permit authorizing the

* Lagan vy. National Wildlife Fed'n, 497 U.S. 871, 891-94

(1990); accord Renme v. Geary, 501 U.S. 312, 320-23 (1991): Valley

Forge Christian College v. Americans United for Separation of

Church and State, Inc., 454 U.S. 464, 471-75 (1982); Wilderness

Soc'y, 83 F.3d at 390-91. Here, Plaintiffs’ key complaints were that

the Forest Plan designated 70% of the Wayne National Forest as

13

4. Settling the justiciability issue at this time is of utmost

importance. The Court's opinion would provide an answer

shortly before the next generation of forest plans is litigated.

Forest plans last for 10 to 15 years, after which they are

superseded by revised forest plans. See page 3, above. Most

of the first generation of forest plans required by the NFMA

were adopted from 1982 to 1988. The revision process has

begun or will begin shortly on many of these forest plans.

Over the next five years, 81 revised forest plans are scheduled

to be released.

If the past is prologue, many (if not most) of the revised

forest plans will be challenged in court. This Court's ruling

here would provide guidance on whether facial challenges to

forest plans are justiciable, or whether judicial review should

await the more concrete setting of a forest plan "as applied”

and implemented through a particular ground-disturbing action.

Accordingly, determining the justiciability issue in this case

would be timely, both to resolve a well-developed split among

five circuits and to provide direction on judicial review of the

next generation of forest plans.

II. If Jurisdiction Exists, Review Should Extend To Three

Significant Merits Rulings Which Also Involve Circuit

Splits Or Constitutional Limitations

As described above, Petitioner is of the view that the

Petition should be granted and this Court should reverse on

jurisdictional grounds. But, if jurisdiction is found to exist,

the Court should reverse on the merits. At this stage, the writ

of certiorari should extend to the questions presented on the

present constitutional issues and circuit conflicts on issues of

fundamental importance for the National Forest System.

14

A. The Forest Service Bias Ruling

1. The court below held the Forest Service is biased in

favor of timber production. App. 5a-8a. The panel apparently

used the bias conclusion to negate the "presumption of good

faith and regularity" usually associated with agency decisions

and, thus, to diminish the deference paid to the Forest

Service's judgments. Jd. Judge Batchelder wrote separately

to disasseciate herself from the “majority's largely

undocumented broadside against the Forest Service." App. 9a.

2. Three of the four bias rationales offered by the court

below are of an institutional nature that would infect all Forest

Service decisions. One rationale was that, because 16 U.S.C.

475 refers to “ensur[ing] a reliable timber supply, the Forest

Service has a history of preferring timber production to other

uses." App. 7a. The second rationale was that, because 16

U.S.C. 500 directs "sharing of timber proceeds with the

communities” surrounding a national forest, "the Forest

Service becomes trapped" to issue timber sales as "[rJural

constituencies may provoke politicians to place pressure on the

Forest Service to sustain that revenue." /d. The third

rationale was that the "Forest Service budgeting process, which

allows the Forest Service to keep a percentage of the funds it

realizes from timber sales [pursuant to 16 U.S.C. 576-576d],

provides an incentive for the Forest Service to sell timber

below cost or at a loss." Jd. In effect, the court below held

that an agency's adherence to Acts of Congress constitutes

judicially remediable bias. This remarkable holding deserves

review by this Court for several reasons.

a. Any suggestion of unlawful bias in favor of timber

production makes no sense in light of United States v. New

Mexico, 438 U.S. 696 (1978). There, the Court held that the

primary purposes of the National Forest System are to

15

"conserve the water flows, and to furnish a continuous supply

of timber" -- the "secondary purposes" of "recreation, range,

and 'fish'" protection are "'to be supplemental to, but not in

derogation of'" the primary purposes. 438 U.S. at 707, 714-

15, quoting 16 U.S.C. 528. Since Congress intended that

national forests be managed for timber production, the Forest

Service does not act unlawfully when it follows the

congressional ordering of multiple use priorities.®

b. The court below's view that the Forest Service's

adherence to statutes constitutes judicially remediable bias

shows disrespect for two co-equal branches of government and

presents significant constitutional issues.

A fundamental aspect of the separation of powers is that,

when an agency states its reasoning in writing, a court can

only review that reasoning during the record review allowed

by 5 U.S.C. 706. See Florida Power & Light Co. v. Lorion,

470 U.S. 729, 743-44 (1986); Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass'n v.

State Farm Mu., 463 U.S. 29, 41-43 (1983). If a court can

find that a statutory framework renders an agency

institutionally biased and that this allows a court to disregard

the agency's stated reasoning, this would undermine basic

respect for coordinate branches of government. That

° There is a "presumption to which administrative agencies are

entitled - that they will act properly and according to law." FCC v.

Schreiber, 381 U.S. 279, 286 (1965). This presumption continues to

apply when the Forest Service disburses revenues as provided by

statute. And, since the NFMA and MUSYA delegate to the Forest

Service (and not to the courts) the responsibility for making trade-offs

among Often-conflicting multiple uses, the panel erred in imposing its

preference for the “recreational value of wilderness” on the expert

agency and the public. App. 6a; see page 22, below.

16

extraordinary proposition warrants this Court's careful

scrutiny.

The separation of powers prevents courts from becoming

"continuing monitors of the wisdom and soundness of

Executive action," as the court below has done in questioning

the wisdom of timber production. Laird v. Tatum, 408 U.S.

1, 15 (1972).’ Courts cannot engage in correction of agency

action absent a constitutional or statutory violation, which is

missing in the bias charge of the court below. See Defenders

of Wildlife, 504 U.S. at 576-77; Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S.

737, 750-52 (1984); Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v.

Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 435 U.S. 519, 543-

48, 556-58 (1978).

Further, a court cannot override congressional direction on

the management of public lands without violating the Property

Clause (Art. IV, § 3).

The power of the public land thus entrusted to Congress is

without limitations. “And it is not for the courts to say

how that trust shall be administered. That is for Congress

to determine." [Light v. United States, 220 U.S. 523, 537

(1911).] Thus, Congress may constitutionally limit the

disposition of the public domain to a manner consistent

with its views of public policy.

United States v. San Francisco, 310 U.S. 16, 29-30 (1940);

see Kleppe v. New Mexico, 426 U.S. 529 (1976).

7 To illustrate why courts should not become monitors,

development interests could use the logic of the court below to argue

that the National Park Service is unlawfully biased in favor of

preservation due to the conservation mandate for national parks in 16

U.S.C. 1 and to the agency's retention of visitor use fees.

17

c. The Court should undertake supervisory review

because the precedents created by the court below unfairly

impugn the integrity of an entire agency and compromise the

agency's mission. The Sixth Circuit's decision now provides

a credible basis for enjoining virtually any Forest Service land

use planning decision that could be construed as favoring

timber production or any decision authorizing a timber sale.

According to the court below, the institutional "biases

undermine[] even the facial neutrality of the National Forest

Management Act” so as to render such decisions unlawful.

App. 8a.

3. The Court also should review the Wayne National

Forest “example of bias" that Wayne planners “arbitrarily

undervalufed] the recreational value of wilderness." App. 6a.

This bias claim is factually disproven by the administrative

record (which the court below declined to even cite, contrary

to 5 U.S.C. 706), and the claim lacks legal support."

* The Draft and Final EISs analyzed seven alternative forest

3 and 4 emphasized dispersed recreation and uneven-aged

management. See Draft EIS at vi-ix and Chapter 2; JA 528-71; App.

on over half of the then-177,701 acre national forest. See Wayne

Forest Plan at 4-63 to 181 (describing Management Areas 2.1, 2.2,

6.1, 6.2, 6.3, and 8.1 (comprising 42,201 acres); primitive recreation

can occur on a portion the 57,736 acre MA 3.3 as well). Thus, no

bias against primitive recreation is apparent in the scope of

alternatives considered, or in the selected Plan.

If the court below was second-guessing the dollar values the

Forest Service assigned to unpriced commodities (primitive or

dispersed recreation and developed recreation), it should have

deferred to the agency's expert opinion on this disputed technical

(continued...)

18

B. The Two NFMA Rulings

1. The court below reached two interpretations of the

NFMA, and of 16 U.S.C. 1604(g)(3)(F)(v) in particular,

which create conflicts in the circuits and which would

fundamentally alter the management of national forests.

2. The panel interpreted the NFMA to be a stringent

constraint on the timber harvesting techniques (clearcutting,

seed-tree cutting, and shelterwood cutting) that produce an

even-aged tree stand. "[E]ven-aged management techniques

will be used only in exceptional circumstances" -- the

techniques must be the "exception," rather than the "rule."

App. 6a. The Court should review this NFMA interpretation

for the following reasons.

8(.. continued)

issue. Marsh v. Oregon Natural Resources Council, 490 U.S. 360,

378 (1989); see Muanma, 956 F.2d at 1522 ("we are not in a position

to prefer ICL's view of the FS's software over the” economic inputs

employed by the Forest Service); Thomas v. Peterson, 753 F.2d 754,

762 (9th Cir. 1985); App. 41a-42a (other dismissals of recreational

value issues). Further, since a higher dollar value was assigned to

imitive or di recreation than to developed recreation, see

see ts a BOTA 5A Gn. Gs a ae ea ee

were biased. Most importantly, the dollar value debate seems to be

harmless error, not “prejudicial error,” because it did not affect the

final decision. 5 U.S.C. 706. The alternative chosen as the Wayne

was structi:red to provide greater primitive recreation. See Final EIS

at 2-8 and Record of Decision at 28-29; JA 824 and 972-73; 123a-

124a. And, if the panel's real objection was to “below-cost sales"

(App. 7a), the legal answer is that the NFMA permits below-cost

timber sales and does not require profit maximization. See 16 U.S.C.

1604(g)(3)(EXiv) and (k); Resources Lid, 789 F. Supp. at 1538;

Citizens for Envil. Quality v. United States, 731 F. Supp. 970, 988

(D. Colo. 1989); App. 30a-37a, 68a-69a.

19

a. The panel's view conflicts directly with Sierra

Club v. Espy, 38 F.3d 792 (Sth Cir. 1994). The Fifth Circuit

there held the "NFMA does not bar even-aged management or

require that it be undertaken only in exceptional

circumstances." 38 F.3d at 800.° The panel's view that even-

aged management may be employed only in “exceptional

circumstances" also conflicts with the Ninth Circuit's

conclusion that the NFMA and NEPA were not violated when

“no Plan alternative allocates less than 75% of harvest to even-

aged cutting" and with other decisions and statutes. '°

The Sixth Circuit's views on "exceptional circumstances,” on

preservation of natural values, and on Forest Service bias (and even

much of the language employed in the opinion) are the same views a

district court expressed in the Texas National Forest case, Sierra Club

v. Espy, 822 F. Supp. 356, 361-65 (E.D. Tex. 1993). However, the

Fifth Circuit reversed in an opinion which explains why the Forest

NFMA. 38 F.3d 792. The Sixth Circuit essentially adopted, sub

silentio, the Texas district court's discredited views without

mentioning the Fifth Circuit's opinion or rebutting its logic.

'° Eg, Resources Lid , 35 F.3d at 1307, aff'g, 789 F. Supp. at

1538; see also Sierra Club v. Robertson, 784 F. Supp. 593, 611

(W.D. Ark. 1991) (a court cannot “substitute its discretion for that of

the Forest Service in order to halt even-aged management"), aff'd, 28

F.3d 753, 757 (8th Cir. 1994). The Fifth Circuit has found that the

NFMA, instead of largely prohibiting even-aged management,

represents a “congressional decision to permit clearcuiting in national

forests." Texas Comm. on Natural Resources v. Bergland, 573 F.2d

201, 210 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 966 (1978).

For several years, appropriations acts have limited “clearcutting

in hardwood stands in the Wayne National Forest" to "25 percent of

the fiscal year 1989 harvested volume." Eg, FY 1997 Omnibus

Appropriations Act, 110 Stat. 3009-208 (1996). This suggests that

(continued. ..)

20

b. This circuit conflict concerns a "fundamental issue

of forest management." Lazarus, THE ENVTL. FORUM,

March/April 1997, at 10. There are two basic systems for the

silvicultural management of a stand of trees. One is the even-

aged management system, where most trees are of the same

age-class, though normally not the same species.'' The other

is uneven-aged management, where trees are of different age-

classes. See 36 C.F.R. 219.3.

If even-aged management is allowed only in "exceptional

circumstances," the Forest Service would be largely precluded

from employing one of the two principal forms of scientific

forest management. As the district court adverted to, allowing

only uneven-aged management "would result in its own form

of monoculture: a dark high-canopy forest in which only shade

tolerant species can survive." App. 24a. Thus, the Court

should grant the Petition because a general ban on even-aged

10( | continued)

Congress did not so limit clearcutting in the NFMA. Forest Service

statistics show that less than 1500 acres of the 177,70l-acre Wayne

National Forest have been clearcut since 1988. Thus, the court below

misconstrued the Wayne Forest Plan in concluding that it caused

widespread clearcutting. This illustrates why judicial review should

not be conducted at the generalized level of a forest plan.

'! Even-aged stands of trees are created naturally by fires,

windstorms, and pest infestations. Humans replicate even-aged stands

through timber harvesting techniques that cut most of the timber in

one or two cycles. 16 U.S.C. 1604(g)(3)(F). Some valuable tree

species are shade-intolerant (they grow best in the sunny conditions

after even-aged cuts), and some wildlife species depend on the browse

habitats in young even-aged stands. See Sierra Club v. Espy, 38 F.3d

at 802; Resources Lid, 35 F.3d at 1307; Sierra Club v. Robertson,

784 F. Supp. at 608-09; App. 6a (private even-aged timber stands

provide "an abundance of diverse plant and animal life").

21

management has profound implications for the 188 million-acre

National Forest System.

3. The court below also ruled that NFMA creates a strong

“protective spirit" for the "recreational value of wilderness"

and found that the Wayne Forest Plan is "in excess of the

statutory limitations provided in § 1604(g)(3)(F)(v).” App. 6a,

8a. The Sixth Circuit seemed to reason that the NFMA

and that timber harvesting is secondary.

a. This view of the priorities among multiple uses

inverts the priorities discussed in United States v. New Mexico,

438 U.S. at 708-15. See pages 14-15, above.

b. Additionally, this aspect of the opinion below

warrants review because it creates conflicts with circuit court

opinions in several areas. The Fifth Circuit held that

§ 1604(g)(3)(F)(v) "does not mandate status quo protection” of

recreational or biotic resources -- "protection means something

less than preservation of the status quo" and the appropriate

level of protection is a "policy-oriented decision Congress

wisely left to the discretion of the experts - here the Forest

Service." Sierra Club v. Espy, 38 F.3d at 800."

"[NJational forests, unlike the national parks, are not wholly

dedicated to recreational and environmental values.” Cronin v. United

States Dep't of Agric., 919 F.2d 439, 448 (7th Cir. 1990). "So long

as Congress requires this Forest to be managed with multiple-use

principles, portions of the Forest must embody a compromise between

‘natural’ Forest conditions and the need for Forest resources” like

timber. Krichbauwmn v. Kelley, 844 F. Supp. 1107, 1119 (W.D. Va.

1994), aff'd, 61 F.3d 900 (4th Cir. 1995); see Citizens for Envtl

Quality, 731 F. Supp. at 984.

22

_ Other appellate courts have found the Forest Service is the

agency “charged with managing the ever-changing resources

of the national forests" and that a court should "defer to the

agency's determination" of the appropriate "trade-offs" among

conflicting multiple uses.’ In this important sense, the Sixth

Circuit's notion that it could freely override the expert

agency's decision on the desired mix of multiple uses is

inconsistent with the deferential review of an agency's

interpretation of a statute it administers in Chevron U.S.A., Inc.

v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837,

842-45 (1984), and its progeny - and with the deferential

review of an agency's policy decisions under cases like Babbitt

v. Sweet Home Chapter of Communities for a Great Oregon,

115 S. Ct. 2407, 2418 (1995).

c. Allowing a court to substitute its preference for

wilderness-type management of national forests has broad

significance. it compromises Ge Forest Service's land use

discretion under MUSYA and the NFMA.™ It compromises

'3 Sierra Club v. Espy, 38 F.3d at 801-02; see Perkins v.

Bergland, 608 F.2d 803, 806 (9th Cir. 1979) (Forest Service land

allocation decisions “breathe discretion at every pore"); Big Hole

Ranchers Ass'n, Inc. v. United States Forest Serv., 686 F. Supp. 256,

264 (D. Mont. 1988) (“the Forest Service has wide discretion to

weigh and decide the proper uses within each area”).

'* The opinion below is binding within the Sixth Circuit. Since

rehearing en banc has been denied, there are no prospects for relief

in that court. The opinion below constrains management of millions

of acres within the Daniel Boone National Forest in Kentucky; the

Hiawatha, Huron-Manistee, and Ottawa National Forests in Michigan:

the Wayne National Forest in Ohio; and the Cherokee National Forest

in Tennessee. See 36 C.F.R. 200.2. The holdings on Forest Service

institutional bias and on the NFMA provide credible grounds to

(continued...)

23

the timber production purpose that 16 U.S.C. 475 sets for the

National Forest System, thereby reducing the domestic timber

supply and causing economic injuries to consumers of forest

products and to forest product companies and their employees.

Since there are reasons to believe that this judicially-imposed

shift in land management philosophy is legally unauthorized,

the Court's discretionary review is warranted.

4. As the above-cited cases indicate, the NFMA is a

frequent source of litigation. The Court's guidance on the two

to this area of law.

5. Finally, the Court should entertain review of the

NFMA issues to ensure that Congress's real intent is not side-

tracked. As Senator Hubert Humphrey stated in describing the

NFMA conference report, the NFMA "is designed to get the

practice of forestry out of the courts and back to the forests.”

122 Cong. Rec. 33835 (Sept. 30, 1976).

The Court can fulfill that intent by granting the Petition and

finding that this facial challenge to a forest plan presents no

justiciable controversy for the courts. Alternatively, the Court

could find, on the merits, that the significant constraints

imposed on national forest management by the decision below

are not authorized by the NFMA or by charges of bias.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

14( | continued)

require additional forest planning in all these national forests, and to

enjoin timber sales. Outside the Sixth Circuit, the opinion below may

influence other courts to reach similar conclusions.

24

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel: STEVEN P. QUARLES

WILLIAM R. MURRAY Counsel of Record

AMERICAN FOREST & CLIFTON S. ELGARTEN

PAPER ASSOCIATION THOMAS R. LUNDQUIST

1111 19th Street, NW CROWELL & MORING LLP

Suite 800 1001 Pennsylvania Ave., NW

Washington, DC 20036 Washington, DC 20004-2595

(202) 624-2665

Dated: July 1, 1997 Attorneys for Petitioner

Ohio Forestry Association, Inc.

=

APPENDIX A

No. 94-3407

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

SIERRA CLUB, ef al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

JACK WARD THOMAS, et ai.,

Defendants-Appellees ,

OHIO FORESTRY

ASSOCIATION, INC.,

Intervening

Defendant-Appellee.

Decided and Filed January 21, 1997

Before: MARTIN, Chief Judge; BATCHELDER, Circuit

Judge; COOK, District Judge.”

MARTIN, C. J., delivered the opinion of the court, in

which COOK, D. J., joimed. BATCHELDER, J. (p. 8),

delivered a separate concurring opinion.

The Honorable Julian A. Cook, United States District Judge for

the Southern District of Michigan, sitting by designation.

(la)

2a

BOYCE F. MARTIN, JR., Chief Judge. The Sierra Club

and Citizens Council on Conservation and Environmental

Control appeal the district court's order granting summary

judgment to Jack Ward Thomas, Chief of the United States

Forest Service, and officials of the United States Forest

Service, pursuant to the district court's review of the Land

Resource Management Plan for the Wayne National Forest.

For the reasons described below, we reverse and remand this

matter to the district court for further proceedings consistent

In 1988, the regional forester for the Eastern Division of the

United States Forest Service issued a decision, pursuant to the

National Forest Management Act, adopting a ten-year plan for

Ohio's Wayne National Forest. The plan designated 126,107

acres of the Wayne from which timber could be removed or

cut. During the ten-year life of the plan, 7.5 million board

feet of timber could be cut per year. The plan designated that

eighty percent of all timbering techniques would be "even-aged

management", a harvest technique aimed at creating a

regeneration of trees which are essentially the same age. In

almost all cases, the even-aged management contemplated

clearcutting of the timber. Clearcutting involves the removal

of all trees within areas ranging in size from fifteen to thirty

acres, and is thus a very sensitive public issue.

The Sierra Club appealed the regional forester's decision to

the chief of the Forest Service pursuant to the applicable

regulations. In 1990, the chief of the Forest Service denied

the Sierra Club's appeal and affirmed the plan. Pursuant to

final agency action, the Sierra Club filed this action in the

district court. Appealing the district court's order granting

3a

summary judgment to the Forest Service, the Sierra Club

argues that the Forest Service made arbitrary assumptions in

the Wayne planning process that biased the plan toward

timbering.

The National Forest Management Act was enacted as a

direct result of congressional concern for Forest Service

; . lets ahi Geb Gicalienet vila tal fucti

has hi ically of iin F Servi licies. C

was concerned that, if left to its own essentially unbridled

devices, the Forest Service would manage the national forests

as mere monocultural “tree farms." Procedurally, the Act

requires the Forest Service to develop Land and Resource

planning process was designed to curtail agency discretion and

to ensure forest preservation and productivity. Substantively,

the Act Imposes extensive limitations on timber harvesting by

restricting the use of clearcutting to situations in which

clearcutting is the optimum method for harvesting. —

First, we address the threshold issue of justiciability. The

Forest Service claims that the Sierra Club lacks standing. To

establish constitutional standing, a plaintiff first must first

suffer an injury-in-fact that is (1) concrete and particularized,

and (2) actual or imminent, not conjectural or hypothetical.

Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555, 560 (1992).

Second, the injury must be fairly traceable to the defendant's

conduct. Jd. at 560-61. Third, the injury must be redressable

by the court. /d at 561. In cases involving Land Resource

Management Plans, the most controverted standing issue is

whether the injury is imminent.

4a

A plaintiff who seeks review of a Land Resource

Management Plan must show that it will suffer personal harm

as a result of the plan. We have long recognized that injury

is not confined to economic injury; aesthetic and environmental

injuries can be embraced by this definition of personal harm.

Sierra Club v. Morton, 405 U.S. 727, 734 (1972). Land

Resource Management Plans represent significant and concrete

decisions that play a critical role in future Forest Service

actions. "To the extent that the plan pre-determines the future,

it represents a concrete injury that plaintiffs must, at some

point, have standing to challenge." Jdaho Conservation

League v. Mumma, 956 F.2d 1508, 1516 (9th Cir. 1992). If

the Sierra Club was allowed to challenge the Forest Service

plan only at the site-specific stage, then the meaningful citizen

participation contemplated by the National Forest Management

Act “would forever escape review." Jd.

The district court concluded that the Sierra Club's challenge

presented a ripe controversy. Closely related to the issue of

standing, the ripeness doctrine exists to keep the judiciary from

“entangling ~- [itself] im abstract disagreements over

administrative policies" by preventing premature adjudication.

Sierra Club v. Marita, 4 F.3d 606, 614 (7th Cir.

1995)(quoting Abbot Lab v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136, 148-49

(1967)). The Forest Service maintains that disputes over forest

planning are not ripe for review until a site-specific action

occurs. We agree with the district court. Plaintiffs need not

wait to challenge a specific project when their grievance is

with an overall plan.

Because we find that the Sierra Club's case is justiciable, we

turn now to the merits. We give no particular deference to the

Sa

if we were the first reviewing court. Schuck v. Frank, 27 F.3d

194, 197 (6th Cir. 1994). While it is generally accepted that

federal agencies are entitled to a presumption of good faith and

regularity in arriving at their decisions, that presumption is not

irrebuttable. We would be abdicating our Constitutional role

were we simply to “rubber stamp” this complex agency

decision rather than ensuring that such decision is in accord

with clear congressional mandates. It is our role to see that

important legislative purposes are not lost or misdirected in the

vast hallways of the federal bureaucracy. Specifically, we

must decide whether the Forest Service took a hard look at the

relevant factors and reached a decision that was neither

arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not

in accordance with the law.

The Sierra Club contends that the even-aged logging agenda

is illegal in that the Forest Service has not complied with the

constraints on its choice of even-aged management techniques

contained in the National Forest Management Act. In

reviewing this record, we have carefully examined the

conclusions drawn by the Forest Service to test for internal

consistency and reasonableness. Although the Forest Service

has the benefit of the presumption of good faith and regularity

in agency action, we have attempted to ascertain whether the

plan has been improperly skewed. We conclude that the

clearcutting. The resulting plan is arbitrary and capricious

because it is based upon this artificial narrowing of options.

Although it would be impractical to set forth the details of

the administrative record here, one example of bias is

6a

particularly illustrative. The Forest Service argues that its

even-aged management plan is based on evidence that

will, in turn, preserve and enhance the diversity of plant and

animal communities in the Wayne National Forest. Most

recreation does not require timber harvesting, however.

Further, as the Forest Service's own records reflect, the

Wayne is surrounded by and intermingled with privately-held

land which already contains an abundance of diverse plant and

animal life. Timbering simply does not promote the kind of

recreational activities that are in demand in the Wayne; in fact,

recreation like fishing and hiking is harmed by clearcutting.

The planners also failed to recognize that cutting is unlikely to

stimulate new and valuable forms of recreation because much

of the Wayne has already been cut or developed. In that

particular environment, clearcutting loses its value.

The National Forest Management Act mandates that the

Service ensure that even-aged management practices be used

in the national forests only when “consistent with the

protection of soil, watershed, fish, wildlife, recreation, and

aesthetic resources, and the regeneration of the timber

resource." 16 U.S.C. § 1604(g)(3)(F)(v). The National

Forest Management Act thus contemplates that even-aged

management techniques will be used only in exceptional

circumstances. Yet, the defendants would utilize even-aged

management logging as if it were the statutory rule, rather than

the exception. By arbitrarily undervaluing the recreational

value of wilderness, the Forest Service created a very distorted

picture of the Wayne National Forest. Based on false premises

such as these, the Forest Service improperly concluded that

clearcutting was necessary.

7a

It is not surprising that the Forest Service came to this

conclusion. Created, in part, to ensure a reliable timber

supply, the Forest Service has a history of preferring timber

production to other uses. Rather than being a neutral process

which determines how the national forests can best meet the

needs of the American people, forest planning, as practiced by

the Forest Service, is a political process replete with

opportunities for the intrusion of bias and abuse. Because

national forests are located near rural communities, foresters

make management decisions to support perceived needs in the

communities. By sharing timber proceeds with those

communities, the Forest Service strengthens the link between -

timber sales and the livelihoods of local constituencies. See,

Office of Technology Assessment, Forest Service Planning:

Accommodating Uses, Producing Outputs, and Sustaining

Ecosystems 46 (1992). The resulting dependency of these

communities on timber production causes over-harvesting and

destructive harvesting methods. The relationship of the Forest

Service to the timber industry also constrains the Forest

Service's planning freedom. Rural constituencies reliant on

timber sale revenues may provoke politicians to place pressure

on the Forest Service to sustain that revenue. Consequently,

the Forest Service becomes trapped: cutting off timber sales

would cause loss of employment and revenue in local

communities but continued timber sales risk over-harvesting

and below-cost sales.

The Forest Service budgeting process, which allows the

Forest Service to keep a percentage of the funds it realizes

from timber sales, provides an incentive for the Forest Service

to sell timber below cost or at a loss. See, Randal O'Toole,

Reforming the Forest Service 122 (1988). Also, to maximize

8a

its budget, the Forest Service uses expensive timber

management and reforestation techniques, such as clearcutting.

Id Again, conflicting interests lead to perverse

results: clearcutting provides the Forest Service with a higher

congressional subsidy because the Forest Service can request

may be made, not because they are in the best interest of the

American people but because they benefit the Forest Service's

fiscal interest.

Each of these biases undermines even the facial neutrality of

the National Forest Management Act. Even when there may

be more valuable uses for the land, the above biases and

constraints cause the Forest Service to manage primarily to

The public nature of the planning process and the public's

right to appeal timber sales were intended by Congress to be

a check on the Forest Service's power and discretion. Judicial

review of planning decisions is intended to be a further check.

Accordingly, in light of our examination of the structure,

legislative history, and purpose of the National Forest

Management Act we find the Forest Service has failed to

comply with the protective spirit of the National Forest

Management Act. We further find that this non-compliance is

an arbitrary act in excess of the statutory limitations provided

in § 1604(g)(3)(F)(v). The Forest Service's planning process,

therefore, was not in accordance with the law. Accordingly,

we REVERSE the district court's order for summary judgment

and REMAND this case to the district court for further

proceedings consistent with this opinion.

9a

ALICE M. BATCHELDER, Circuit Judge, concurring. I

concur in this decision because I believe that the reasoning of

the Seventh Circuit in Sierra Club v. Marita, 46 F.3d 606 (7th

Cir. 1995) is the better approach to the issues of standing and

ripeness in this matter,’ and because I agree that the record

before us supports a conclusion that the Forest Service has not

complied with the mandates of the National Forest Service

Management Act relative to even-aged management practices

in adopting the Plan. I write separately because, while I, too,

have serious questions and concerns about the management

practices and policies of the Forest Service, I do not believe

that the majority's largely undocumented broadside against the

Forest Service is appropriate. The issue before us is simply

whether the Plan was properly promulgated within the

appropriate exercise of the agency's discretion and is therefore

within the law. We conclude that it is not. Our speculation

about the motives and biases of the Forest Service, even if

accurate, is unnecessary, and therefore, ought not to be voiced

in this opinion.

' The Seventh Circuit's reasoning in concluding that the Sierra

Club had standing and that the controversy was ripe for adjudication is

essentially summed up by the court's conclusion that “[tJhe Sierra Club

is appealing the issuance of a final management plan which will, unless

amended, direct Service management activities in [the national forests at

issue.] ... The Sierra Club ‘need not wait to challenge a specific project

when their grievance is with an overall plan."" Marita, 46 F.3d at 614

(citation omitted).

10a

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

The Sierra Club, et al., [Filed March 11, 1994]

vs. Case No. C2-92-249

JUDGE GRAHAM

The Sierra Club and Citizens Council on Conservation and

Environmental Control ("Citizens Council"), plaintiffs herein,

filed this action against Mike Espy, Secretary of Agriculture,

and officials of the United States Forest Service.

Plaintiffs challenge the Land and Resource Management

Plan ("the Plan") for the Wayne National Forest ("the

Wayne") and the Final Environmental Impact Statement

("FEIS") for the Plan, alleging violations of the National

Forest Management Act ("NFMA"), 16 U.S.C. § 1601-1614,

the Multiple-Use Sustained Yield Act ("“MUSYA"), 16 U.S.C.

§ 528 et seq., and the National Environmental Policy Act

("NEPA"), 42 U.S.C. § 4321 et seq. This action is brought

under the judicial review provisions of the Administrative

Procedure Act ("APA"), 5 U.S.C. § 701 et seg. This matter

is now before the Court on the parties’ cross-motions for

summary judgment.

lla

Review of final agency action under NEPA and NFMA is

governed by the APA, which directs a reviewing court to

affirm final agency action unless that action is “arbitrary,

capricious, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in

accordance with law." 5 U.S.C. § 706. See Citizens to

Preserve Overton Park, Inc. v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402 (1971).

The ultimate standard of review is a narrow one, and the court

is not empowered to substitute its judgment for that of the

agency, but instead it is to determine whether “the decision

was based on a consideration of the relevant factors and

whether there has been a clear error of judgment." Id. at 416.

While the agency's decisions are entitled to a presumption

of regularity, that presumption does not shield them from a

thorough, probing review. Dmuid Hills Civic Ass'n v. Federal

Highway Administration, 772 F.2d 700, 714 (11th Cir. 1985).

In reviewing NEPA compliance, the role of the court is to

ensure that the agency has adequately considered and disclosed

the environmental impacts of its actions and that its decision is

not arbitrary or capricious. Communities, Inc. v. Busey, 956

F.2d 619, 623 (6th Cir. 1992) (quoting Baltimore Gas &

Electric Co, v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 462

U.S. 87, 97-98 (1983)). Where a statute is ambiguous, review

is limited to determining whether the agency's interpretation is

based on a permissible construction of the statute, and does not

extend to matters of policy. Chevron U.S.A... Inc. v. NRDC,

Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984). An agency's interpretation of its

own regulations is binding on the court “unless it is plainly

erroneous or inconsistent with the regulation." United States

y..Larionoff, 431 U.S. 864, 872 (1977). Within the

parameters of the applicable statutes and regulations, the

management decision belongs to the agency, and should not be

a

12a

second-guessed by a court. Texas Committee on Natural

Resources v. Bergland, 573 F.2d 201, 210 (Sth Cir.), cert.

denied, 439 U.S. 966 (1978).

BACKGROUND

The Wayne National Forest is located in the unglaciated

Appalachian Plateau of southeastern Ohio, commonly referred

to as Ohio's Hill Country. It is bordered on the south by the

Ohio River and includes three noncontiguous units located in

the counties of Athens, Gallia, Hocking, Jackson, Lawrence,

Monroe, Morgan, Perry, Scioto, Vinton and Washington. The

gross area within the forest purchase units is 832,147 acres, of

which 21% or 177,701 acres are now actually owned by the

National Forest Service. There are many tracts of privately

The management of the national forests is entrusted to the

United States Department of Agriculture Forest Service. The

C.F.R. § 219.6, § 219.10, § 219.12. The first step is to

assessment is completed, several alternative management plans

are constructed and each is subjected to an analysis of costs,

benefits and environmental impacts, in accordance with NFMA

and NEPA. After reviewing the environmental impacts and

the cost benefit analysis, the Regional Forester for the

administrative region in which the forest is located selects the

alternative that in his opinion will "provide for multiple use

and sustained yield of goods and services from the National

Forest System in a way that maximizes long term net public

13a

benefits in an environmentally sound manner." 36 C.F.R.

§ 219.1(a). The approved plan controls all activity within the

forest for a ten-year to fifteen-year period.

The planning process for the Wayne began in 1981 and

continued over a period of five years. In August, 1986, the

Forest Service published the proposed Plan together with a

draft environmental impact statement ("DEIS") and distributed

them to the public for comment. On January 4, 1988, after

analyzing over 1,500 written comments, the Forest Service

adopted the final Plan accompanied by a record of decision

("ROD") and the FEIS.

Both plaintiffs participated extensively in the initial

planning process and in the comment period following

publication of the proposed Plan and the DEIS. Both plaintiffs

appealed the decision to adopt the Plan. The Chief of the

Forest Service issued decisions on November 14, 1990 and

January 14, 1992 denying plaintiffs’ appeals. Plaintiffs filed

this action on March 18, 1992.

SELECTION OF SILVICULTURAL SYSTEMS AND

TIMBER HARVEST METHODS

Under the Organic Act of 1897, a national forest may be

established and administered only "to improve and protect the

forest within the boundaries, or for the purpose of securing

favorable conditions of water flows, and to furnish a

continuous supply of timber for the use and necessities of

citizens of the United States." 16 U.S.C. § 475. In 1960,

Congress enacted the MUSYA, which directed the

of Agriculture to develop and administer the resources of the

national forests “for multiple use and sustained yield of the

several products and services obtained therefrom"

“recreation, range, timber, watershed and wildlife and fish”

l4a

with due consideration "to the relative values of the various

resources" and in such a way that the "periodic output" of such

resources be maintained "in perpetuity... without impairment of

the productivity of the land." 16 U.S.C. §§ 528, 529, 531.

The principles of the MUSYA were expressly incorporated

into the statutory and regulatory scheme of the NFMA. Under

16 U.S.C. § 1604(e)(1), the Secretary, in developing plans for

the National Forest System, must assure that they

provide for multiple use and sustained yield of

the products and services obtained therefrom in

accordance with the Multiple-Use

Sustained-Yield Act of 1960...and, in

particular, include coordination of outdoor

recreation, range, timber, watershed, wildlife

and fish, and wilderness; ....

Inasmuch as one of plaintiffs' major objections to the Plan is

its provision for timbering, it is appropriate to note that the

harvesting of timber is and always has been one of the

purposes of the National Forest System. The record of this

case indicates that the harvesting of timber is also an important

forest management tool.

Silviculture is that phase of forestry that deals with the

estabiishment, development, reproduction and care of forest

trees. | Webster's Third New International Dictionary

Unabridged, 1981. A silvicultural system is a management

process whereby forests are tended, harvested, and replaced,

resulting in a forest of distinctive form. 36 C.F.R. § 219.3.

Systems are classified according to the method of carrying out

the fellings that remove the mature crop and provide for

regeneration, and according to the type of forest thereby

produced. Id. In managing forest lands, there are two

systems available: even-aged and uneven-aged. Plan,

15a

Appendix, p. C-1. Even-aged management results in the

creation of stands in which trees of essentially the same age

grow together. DEIS, Appendix, p. E-7. Uneven-aged

management seeks to maintain the growth of trees through a

range of diameter or age classes. Id,, p. E-28.

Within the even-aged system, there are three recognized

harvest methods: clearcutting, shelterwood and seed tree.

Plan, Appendix, p. C-1. With even-aged harvest methods, the

intent is to maintain a mosaic of different-aged stands of

manageable size of equal age. Id., p. C-3. The seed tree

method involves harvesting all but a few well-distributed trees

of the desired species to provide seed for natural regeneration.

Id., p. C-4. Later, the seed trees themselves are harvested.

In the shelterwood method, all trees are removed in a series of

two or three cuts with the final cut being made after a

sufficient amount of desirable reproduction has become

established. Id. This method provides a partial cover which

may benefit the growth of seedlings. The clearcut method

involves the cutting of all trees, merchantable and

unmerchantable, at one time. Regeneration develops from

natural seeding and sprouting. Id.

Within the uneven-aged system, the harvest method is

selection, either single-tree or group selection. Plan, Appendix,

p. C-1. Single-tree selection entails the periodic removal of

individual trees. Id., p. C-2. In the group selection method,

group cuts, resembling small clear cuts, are made in a

checkerboard pattern creating many small openings of one-half

to two acres within the forest. Id., p. C-3.

16a

Each silvicultural system and its respective harvest methods

have advantages and disadvantages.' The selection of the

appropriate system and harvest method depends upon the

judgment of the forest planner, taking into consideration the

circumstances of the forest or subparts thereof, the goals of the

forest plan and all applicable statutory and regulatory

mandates. Clearcutting may be chosen as the method to

regenerate an even-aged stand of timber only where it is the

“optimum method," and other cuts may be used if

“appropriate, to meet the objectives and requirements of the

relevant land management plan.” 16 U.S.C. § 1604(g)(3)(F).

Timber harvests must be "carried out in a manner consistent

with the protection of soil, watershed, fish, wildlife, recreation

and esthetic resources, and the regeneration of the timber

resource.” 16 U.S.C. § 1604(g)(3)(F)(v).

The Plan divides the Wayne into fifteen management areas,

each of which has a management prescription. A management

alia in of ' nate nd

scheduled for application on a specific area to attain nultiple

use and other goals and objectives. 36 C.F.R. § 219.3. Each

management prescription specifies the silvicultural systems and

harvest methods to be applied.

The Plan provides for even-aged management on 80% of

the suitable forest land and for uneven-aged management on

the remaining 20%. ROD, p. 18. The Plan projects, but does

not require, that over the course of a decade, 5,075 acres will

be harvested under even-aged management and 2,760 acres

will be harvested under uneven-aged management. Plan, p. 4-

; For discussion of pros and cons of even-aged versus uneven-aged

management, see DEIS, pp. 4-16 to 4-32.

17a

180. The predominant even-aged management harvest method

is clearcutting. Plaintiffs argue that the Forest Service has

illegally and arbitrarily adopted even-aged management as the

routine method of vegetative management. They argue that the

Plan fails to address the environmental impacts of clearcutting

at specific locations and that it fails to address the requirement

of optimality of clearcutting on a site-specific basis. They

argue against clearcutting on the grounds that it has numerous

detrimental environmental impacts, including the building of

temporary roads and hauling logs which affect soils and plant

life, and that it changes water run-off, causes erosion and

They argue that the role of slopes and soil condition are

critical to assessing the effects of clearcutting. They note that

the forest is dominated by narrow ridges and valleys with

slopes ranging from 15% to 80% and argue that the slopes and

soil conditions present in the forest are not compatible with

clearcutting. They object to the Plan's failure to address

required mitigation techniques on a site-specific basis and

attack as arbitrary the Plan's determination that slopes of 55%

or higher are net accessible for purposes of logging.

A review of the Plan, the DEIS and the FEIS shows that

all of these concerns were addressed by the Forest Service and

that the applicable statutes and regulations provide for a further

assessment of these concerns on a site-specific basis when the

Forest Service proposes to pursue specific projects in the

forest.

Plaintiffs contend that the Plan should specify in detail the

proposed use of each and every acre of the forest. This is not

required by the NFMA or NEPA, and in any event, it would

be a practical impossibility in view of the fact that a general

land use plan required over six years to complete.

18a

The Plan is programmatic in nature. It does not propose

any specific development. Implementation of the Plan occurs

at a second stage when individual site-specific projects are

proposed and assessed. Idaho Conservation League v.

Mumma, 956 F.2d 1508, 1512 (9th Cir. 1992). The Forest

Supervisor must ensure that all projects are consistent with the

Plan. 16 U.S.C. § 1604(i); 36 C.F.R. § 219.11(e). Further

NEPA analysis is required to evaluate the effects of a specific

project and a range of alternative actions, including a "no

action” alternative. 40 C.F.R. §§ 1502.14 (d), 1508.9 (b). In

future environmental analyses, reference is made to the Plan,

the FEIS and any subsequent environmental impact statements,

a process known as "tiering.” 40 C.F.R. § 1502.20. See

Plan, p. 5-2. A detailed analysis of specific environmental

impacts is not required when the agency has not yet proposed

the specific project that may cause the impacts. Northern

Alaska Environmental Center v. Lujan, 961 F.2d 886, 891

(9th Cir. 1992).

The Plan addresses the effects of timber harvesting on soil

and water resources, the problem of slopes and roads and

Although not conducted specifically on the

Wayne National Forest, research has repeatedly

shown the effect of clearcutting on soil and

water quality is normally within fully acceptable

limits and may be less than would be associated

with other methods of harvesting. The major

potential for soil damage would be caused by

improperly located log landings and logging

roads. With appropriate mitigating measures as

described in the standards and guidelines of the

Forest Plan, pages 4-28 to 4-38, this will not be

a major problem. Harvesting with well-

19a

planned, well-constructed, and well-maintained

channeling effect and will cause no real damage

to water resources (Kochenderfer and Aubertin,

1975).

FEIS, p. 2-17. See also DEIS, pp. 3-2 to 3-3, 4-3 to 4-4, 4-49

to 4-50; DEIS, Appendix, p. B3-9. Plaintiffs have not shown

that these general determinations are arbitrary or capricious. A

more specific consideration of these matters is properly

deferred until there is a proposal of a specific timber sale at a

The Plan provides for procedures to mitigate and prevent

erosion and water pollution. See Plan, pp. 4-28 to 4-35. See

also FEIS, p. 2-15 (discussing erosion and clearcutting).

Plaintiffs criticize the Plan for not specifying when or at what

specific location mitigation techniques are to be used and for

failing to discuss the cost of mitigation techniques. However,

the Plan contemplates that mitigation techniques will be

addressed at the time of specific timber sales and that the costs

of such techniques will be borne by the purchasers and

enforced by the contract of sale. FEIS, p. 2-18. Thus, if the

cost of mitigation renders a sale unprofitable presumably it will

not occur and there is no need to address such costs in the

Plan.

With regard to the selection of even-aged management and

clearcutting as a harvest method, 16 U.S.C. § 1604(g)(3)(F)(i)

requires the Secretary to promulgate regulations for the

development of land management plans which must include

guidelines which

insure that clearcutting, seed tree cutting, and

other cuts designed to regenerate an even-aged

stand of timber will be used as a cutting method

20a

on National Forest System lands only where —-

(i) for clearcutting, it is determined to be the

optimum method, and for other such cuts it is

determined to be appropriate, to meet the

objectives and requirements of the relevant land

Pursuant to this statutory mandate, the Secretary has

promulgated 36 C.F.R. § 219.27(b)(1), which requires that

management prescriptions in a forest plan that include

vegetative manipulation of tree cover for any purpose shall

(1) Be best suited to the multiple-use goals

established for the area with potential

environmental, biological cultural resource,

aesthetic, engineering, and economic impacts,

0 eee

being considered in this determination; ..

As applied to clearcutting, the regulation requires that it be

best suited to meet the requirements and objectives of the Plan.

"Best suited" is synonymous with “optimal.” Thus, the rule is

The Plan for the Wayne complies with the statute and the

rule. In those management prescriptions which include

clearcutting, there is a determination that clearcutting is the

optimum method to meet the objectives and requirements of

the Plan and the rationale for that determination is explained.

See Plan, Appendix C. This determination will substantially

affect future decisions and is ripe for review. Mumma, 956

F.2d at 1508. The reasons given for choosing clearcutting

include the following:

To obtain desirable natural regeneration in

central hardwood-stands, clearcutting is the

most effective method. Clearcutting normally

2la

results in more seedlings and new sprouts than

any other harvest method. Where regeneration

of oak and hickory is of primary importance,

advance reproduction of these species is

essential prior to harvesting the overstory.

(Sander and Clark, 1971) Experience has also

shown that other factors such as site quality,

aspect and slope position affect the composition

of natural regeneration. The oaks and hickories

compete better on poor, dry sites with south

and west exposure.

Clearcutting is especially appropriate for stands

where the residual trees would not be worth

retaining for a future crop, when stands have

had the best trees removed in past harvests, or

in areas which have insufficient trees to

To maintain the present diversity of tree and —

animal species and high quality hardwoods on

a sustained yield basis, it is necessary to use an

Clearcutting is optimum to regenerate the

yellow poplar type because it is the only

method which provides sufficient light to

achieve adequate stocking and growth of yellow

poplar.

The clearcut and shelterwood methods are both

appropriate for the oak-hickory type. In stands

22a é 23a

where the desired condition is the forest type assessed. However, this harvesting method

and advance regeneration is not present in does, in fact, imitate nature. Natural

adequate numbers, shelterwood may be used in clearcutting occurs as a result of wildfire, wind,

an attempt to increase the amount of desired insects and disease. We have had the

advance regeneration. The use of shelterwood opportunity to observe how Forests which

prayers dope go gery succumb to these natural forces return to

, understory control of undesired species, production. Knowledge gained from the

underplanting of oaks, or a combination of all exploitive land clearings a century ago and

these practices. Stands with a poorly stocked examining our current Forests, even-aged

overstory or of low vigor are not shelterwood Forest, help us to understand the silvicultural

opportunities. These stands will be regenerated benefits of clearcutting. Combined with the

by clearcutting to retain oak and hickory as knowledge that many species of trees will not

stand components. grow and reproduce well in uneven-aged

Where oak-hickory regeneration is not a Forests, this reassures us in our belief that

problem, clearcutting is optimum because: [7 even-aged management is the most appropriate

specific reasons are given] on much of the Wayne National Forest.

In summary, where oak-hickory reproduction is FEIS, p. 2-18.

not a problem, clearcutting is optimum. It The FEIS also notes, at p. 2-23:

offers more flexibility of location to manage

lower costs, and less risk. In nearly all cases, w alatind ete cae eae tn mes ene

regenerate naturally, grow rapidly, and help

ensure healthy future forests.

Areas harvested by clearcutting regenerate

rapidly and within 8 to 10 years are filled with

regeneration 20 to 30 feet tall. By the time

Plan, Appendix, pp. C-4 to C-7. Be an ge a

; ; were even any

The FEIS further explains the rationale for choosing time, the amount of the Forest with an “open

clearcutting in response to specific objections to the Plan's canopy” from clearcutting will be less than 10

proposed vegetative management prescriptions. See FEIS, percent even in Management Areas 3.1 and 3.2.

pp. 2-15 to 2-18 and 2-23. The open area greatly increases the capacity of

M bin dies the the Forest to support some species of wildlife.

of clearcutting have not been adequately

24a

Plaintiffs’ characterization of the consequences of even-

aged management as producing monocultural "tree farms" is

not supported by the record. The Plan indicates that

regeneration after even-aged timber harvesting will be by

natural means, not artificial planting. Plan, Appendix, p. C-4.

Natural re-seeding will provide a diverse mixture of trees just

as would occur after a forest fire or windstorm.

On the other hand, a plan which allowed no vegetative

management would result in its own form of monoculture: a

dark high-canopy forest in which only shade tolerant species

can survive and in which valuable hardwood timber rots on the

stump or on the ground. See Plan, Appendix, p. C-2; FEIS,

p. 2-23; DEIS, p. 4-27.

The Pian limits clear cuts to a maximum size of 30 acres

in management areas 3.1 and 3.2, 20 acres in management

area 3.3 and 15 acres in management area 6.1. ROD, p. 17.

The Plan incorporates standards and guidelines to lessen the

visual impact of clearcutting, including the shape and location

of openings, the retention of important vegetative features,

road location and design and disposal of logging debris. ROD,

p. 18. The Secretary's regulations require that when openings

are created by the application of even-aged management, they

“shall be shaped and blended with the natural terrain, to the

extent practicable, to achieve aesthetic, wildlife habitat, or

other objectives established in the plan." 36 C.F.R.

§ 219.27(d)(1). In response to public comments the number

of acres proposed for even-aged management was reduced by

8,375 acres. ROD, p. 18.

Plaintiffs have failed to show that the choices of uneven-

aged management as the predominate silvicultural system and

of clearcutting as the predominate harvest method were

arbitrary or unreasonable. In enacting 16 U.S.C. § 1604(g),

25a

in the National Forests and struck a delicate balance between

two extremes. It chose not to prohibit clearcutting but to

regulate it, leaving the technical management responsibility for

the application of the NFMA guidelines on the Forest Service.

"Within its parameters the management decision belongs to the

agency and should not be second-guessed by a court."

Bergland, 473 F.2d at 210.

The Plan determines that in certain management areas,

clearcutting is the optimum harvest method to meet its

objectives and requirements, but recognizes that there may be

specific sites within those areas where clearcutting would not

be appropriate. This would include sites where the slope or

soil conditions are not conducive to clearcutting, or sites where

soil or exposure is not conducive to oak-hickory regeneration.

These matters, as well as the specific environmental impacts

of a specific timbering project, will be addressed on a

site-specific basis at the time of a proposed timber sale. While

the Plan narrows the scope of future environmental analyses,

an environmental analysis will be completed for each project

which will focus on site-specific issues, alternatives and

environmental consequences unique to the project. Plan,

p. 5-2.

In ruling on the administrative appeal of the Sierra Club,

the Chief of the Forest Service explained the relationship

between the optimality determination contained in the Plan and

site-specific issues which will be addressed on a project-by-

project basis:

26a

areas of the forest to achieve specific

and final decision on the appropriateness of

even-aged management, or the optimality of

clearcutting, must be made as a site-specific

determination at the project level during Forest

Plan implementation and must follow National

Environmental Policy Act procedures.

Decision Letter, Appeal No. 2309, Docket No. 2, Nov. 14,

1990, p.6.

Plaintiffs argue that under recently adopted Forest Service

NEPA regulations, some timber sales will escape further

review.’ The regulation in question applies to timber sales of

250,000 board feet or less and is premised on the agency's

judgment that sales in such small amounts would have no

significant environmental impact. The validity of the

regulation is not an issue before the Court. Although such

sales are categorically exempted from environmental analysis

when the Forest Service determines that no extraordinary

circumstances exist, the decision to proceed must be

documented and interested and affected persons must be

notified and they have the right to appeal. 36 C.F.R. § 217.3.

The court is not persuaded that this regulation renders any

determination made in the Plan unreasonable or arbitrary.

Plaintiffs argue that there is no justification to allow any

significant timbering on the Wayne and support this argument

in part with the assertion that “for some years timbering has

been almost entirely forbidden in the Hoosier National Forest"

which until recently was jointly administered with the Wayne.

Plaintiffs’ Revised Motion for Summary Judgment, p. 24.

? Federal Register, Vol. 57, No. 182, § 31.2.

27a

There is nothing in the record to support this assertion.’ The

Hoosier National Forest is 250 miles from the Wayne in

another state, and there is nothing in the record of this case

which would support an argument that decisions reached there

would be relevant to this Court's consideration of the Plan for

the Wayne. To exclude timbering in favor of other uses would

be a violation of the MUSYA and would deprive the Forest

Service a valuable forest management device.

ALLOCATION OF LANDS THAT ARE UNSUITABLE FOR

TIMBER PRODUCTION

Title 16, U.S.C. § 1604(k) provides in part as follows:

In developing land management plans pursuant

to this subchapter, the Secretary shall identify

lands within the management area which are not

suited for timber production, considering

physical, economic, and other pertinent factors

to the extent feasible, as determined by the .

Secretary,...

Lands so identified are generally exempt from timber

harvesting for a period of ten years. Id.

Plaintiffs claim that the Forest Service failed to designate

sufficient physically unsuitable land, failed to adequately assess

the availability, cost and effectiveness of mitigation measures

necessary to prevent irreversible damage and failed to

adequately analyze the impacts of the Plan on water resources.

> After oral argument on the cross-motions for summary judgment,

counsel for defendants filed a copy of the April 8, 1991 ROD for the

Land and Resource Management Plan Amendment for the Hoosier

National Forest which provides for a timber harvest of up to 4.4 million

board feet per year.

28a

In order to implement the mandate of 16 U.S.C. § 1604(k),

the Secretary adopted 36 C.F.R. § 3219.14, which provides

the criteria for identifying lands which are not suited for

wma? The criteria for physical unsuitability

: (1) the land is not forest land*; (2) technology is not

saiehth $e snihis eitaes Aaa nA e

irreversible resource damage to soil productivity or watershed

conditions; (3) there is not reasonable assurance that such lands

can be adequately restocked; and (4) the land has been

withdrawn from timber production by an act of Congress, the

Secretary of Agriculture, or the Chief of the Forest Service. 36

C.F.R. § 219.14(a)(1)-(4).

The forest planners found that available technology could

ensure timber production on 169,215 acres of the Wayne

without irreversible resource damage to soils productivity, or

watershed conditions. Plan, p. 4-7; DEIS Appendix,

pp. B3-B37. The Plan contemplates that the effects of timber

harvesting will be controlled by the design of timber sale areas

using standards and guidelines that will adequately protect

these resources. See Plan, pp. 4-28 to 4-38 and Appendix F;

FEIS, p. 2-17. The Plan identifies the technology to be used

in preventing irreversible damage and provides for its

implementation. See Citizens for Environmental Quality v.

United States, 731 F. Supp. 970, 985 (D. Colo. 1989). The

Plan's standards and guidelines generally limit roads to slopes

no greater than 35%, provide soil sensitivity standards for

various logging activities, and require watershed protection

measures such as filter strips in which no earth-disturbing

* Forest land is defined gene.ally as land which is at least 10%

occupied by forest trees. See 36 C.F.R. § 219.3.

29a

activities will occur unless special techniques are used to

minimize potential detrimental effects. Id. As noted above,

a separate environmental analysis will be conducted at the time

of any proposed timber sale. The forest planners concluded

that available techniques would control soil and watershed

impacts from timber harvesting to the point of insignificance.

DEIS, p. 4-3, Table 4-1. Plaintiffs have not shown that this

determination was arbitrary or capricious.

The Court rejects the plaintiffs’ claim that the forest

planners were required to estimate the cost of available

technology in order to determine if it is “available” within the

meaning of 36 C.F.R. § 219.14(a)(2). Plaintiffs’ reliance on

Robertson v. Methow Valley Citizens Council, 490 U.S. 332

(1989) is misplaced. Robertson involved a special use permit

authorizing the development of a major ski resort in the

Okanogan National Forest, not a programmatic plan for the

entire forest. The cost of mitigation measures is site-specific.

The cost of mitigation measures is borne by the purchaser.

FEIS, p. 2-18. If the cost of required mitigation measures at

any specific site renders the timber sale unprofitable, then it is

safe to assume that it will not occur. The Forest Service's

interpretation of 36 C.F.R. § 219.14(a)(2) is not plainly

erroneous or inconsistent with the regulation. Larionoff, 431

U.S. at 872.

Plaintiffs claim that the record "is totally lacking in any

meaningful or adequate analysis of water quality related

issues." Plaintiffs’ Revised Motion For Summary Judgment.

However, as noted earlier, the forest planners did consider the

impact of timber harvesting on watershed quality and

concluded that it would not cause irreversible resource

damage. The Plan includes forest-wide guidelines and

procedures for the protection of water and soil resources. See

30a

Plan, Chapter 4. The DEIS describes the quality of the

surface water in the forest and the types of pollutants that

impact those waters. DEIS, p. 3-10. The DEIS also

recognizes that water quality may be affected by timber

harvesting and the development of recreation facilities,

structures and roads. DEIS, p. 4-86. The Plan provides for

the monitoring and evaluation of these management activities.

Plan, p. 5-3. This level of documentation is adequate for a

proyrammatic forest plan. Plaintiffs have asked the Court to

revisit its ruling on the need for detailed information on such

site-specific developments as the construction of a sewage

treatment facility. See Memorandum Opinion and Order,

March 8, 1993, p. 14. The Court will adhere to the position

taken in its earlier order for the reasons stated therein. When

a programmatic EIS is prepared, “site-specific impacts need

not be fully evaluated until a ‘critical decision’ has been made

to act on site development." California vy. Block, 690 F.2d

753, 761 (9th Cir. 1982). See also Lujan, 961 F.2d at

890-891.

Plaintiffs claim that in authorizing below-cost timber sales

defendants have violated the economic suitability requirement

of § 1604(k). They claim that defendants improperly allowed

timber harvest levels to determine whether land was included

in the suitable timber base. They argue that § 1604(k) requires

that economically unsuitable land be identified and removed

from the timber production base prior to the selection of

harvest levels, and they assert that the Secretary's regu'ations

on economic suitability are in coxflict with § 1604(k).

Section 1604(k) does not impos a strict economic test for

the suitability of timbering. The statute requires forest plans

to identify lands which are not suitable for timber production

considering economic “and other pertinent factors to the extent

8la

feasible, as determined by the Secretary." Section 1604(k)

does not identify the specific economic factors to be considered

in determining which lands are not suited for timber

production but leaves that to the determination of the

Secretary. While § 1604(k) makes it clear that Congress

intended economic factors to be a consideration in determining

whether land is suitable for timber production, it is likewise

clear that Congress did not require that economic factors alone

should be determinative. The statute vests the Secretary with

broad discretion tz consider a variety of possibly conflicting

factors in determining whether an area is suitable for timber

production. Congress allowed the agency to choose its own

method for balancing physical, economic and other

considerations in determining the suitability of lands for timber

production. Acting pursuant to this broad grant of discretion,

the Secretary adopted criteria for economic unsuitability in

36 C.F.R. § 219.14.

Pursuant to 16 U.S.C. § 1604(h), the Secretary was

required to appoint a committee of scientists to provide advice

and counsel on the guidelines and procedures for land

management plans. The committee concluded that § 1604(k)

did not require timber sales to meet specific economic criteria,

but implied congressional concern that timber harvesting

should not take place where “by some rule of reason public

benefits were less than production costs." 44 Fed. Reg. 26,630

(1979). The committee recommended cost benefit criteria to

be applied before the development of plan alternatives. The

Secretary adopted the committee's cost-benefit criteria, but

chose to apply them as part of the planning process outlined in

36 C.F.R. § 219.14.

The regulation provides a two-stage analysis for economic

suitability. The first stage, contained in 36 C.F.R.

32a

§ 219.14(b), determines the financial costs and economic

benefits of a proposed management prescription. The second

stage is a flexible analysis which estimates the indeterminate

values of non-economic benefits such as aesthetics and

recreation. The goal of the two-stage analysis is to exclude

lands for timber production if they are not "cost-efficient" in

meeting the overall plan objectives. "Cost efficiency” includes

consideration of both monetary and non-monetary costs and

benefits. Under 36 C.F.R. § 219.14(c)(3), lands must be

tentatively identified as not appropriate for timber production

where the “lands are not cost-efficient, over the planning

horizon, in meeting forest objectives, which include timber

production."

Plaintiffs’ tet the ud iderati

of production goals as part of this determination is not well

founded. See Citizens For Environmental Quality, 731

F. Supp. at 988. Plaintiffs’ argument that the determination of

economic suitability must occur before the development of plan

alternatives likewise fails. It is within the Secretary's

discretion to apply the economic suitability test at the planning

Stage.

The interpretation put on a statute by the agency charged

with administering it is entitled to deference. Federal Election

Comm'n v. Democratic Senatorial Campaign Comm., 454

U.S. 27, 31-32 (1981). A court should follow the construction

of a statute by those charged with its execution unless there are

compelling indications that it is wrong. Michigan United

Conservation Clubs v. Luian, 949 F.2d 202, 206 (6th Cir.

1991), quoting Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S.

367, 381 (1969).

_ The forest planners determined that the total net forest area

was 176,787 acres. Of that area, 169,215 acres were

33a

determined to be physically suitable for timber production.

After applying the cost-efficiency analysis, another 43,108

acres were removed from the timber base leaving 126,107

acres as suitable for timber production. This is about 75% of

the total net forest area. ROD, p. 19. This was a reduction

from the previous plan which had identified 166,000 acres as

suitable. ROD, pp. 18-19. The forest planners determined

that the maximum allowable sale quantity (ASQ) would be

7.5 million board feet ("MMBF") per year, a reduction from

9.7 MMBF in the previous Plan. Id. The ASQ does not

determine the actual amount of timber which will be sold but

sets the upper limit for the plan period. The actual amount of

timber sales may be less and will depend on several

unpredictable factors, including the budget of the Forest

Service, the market for wood products and other conditions

which may limit the practicality of offering sales at levels

developed in the Plan. Decision Letter, Appeal No. 2813,

Docket No. 2, January 14, 1992, p. 9 (hereinafter "Citizens

Council Appeal Decision"). See ROD, pp. 18-19. The ASQ

of 7.5 MMBF is well below the estimated long-term sustained

yield capacity of the forest and is only 40% of current timber

industry demand. Id., ROD, p. 19. The Plan has a lower

level of timber harvest than some of the alternatives

considered. Id. There is no evidence that the forest planners

gave undue weight to timber production goals in the suitability

analysis or that they capitulated to timber industry interests.

The justification for below-cost sales is set forth in the

ROD, p. 20-21, as follows:

To accomplish the Plan's goals and the Forest's

desired future condition requires treatment of

the vegetation. Commercial timber harvest has

traditionally been the preferred method to

iy

7

i

i

i

e

5

z

e

4

2

BREE

2

use in the long run. By providing for a variety

35a

of tree species, age and size in timber stands,

the Forest Service can achieve and maintain a

forest less susceptible to insects and disease.

A variety of wildlife habitats are provided by a

diversity of timber stand age classes and tree

species. Timber sales are the most

economically viable means of achieving desired

plant and animal diversity. Our publics put

high values on wildlife-associated recreation and

the visual amenities of the Forest. If these

benefits were provided through a method other

than commercial timber sales, costs would be

significantly higher and would eliminate returns

to the Treasury. If the visual, wildlife, and

recreation benefits were added to the returns to

the Treasury, timber sale benefits would

substantially exceed the costs.

See also DEIS, pp. 2-77 through 2-87. Plaintiffs have not

shown that the cost benefit analysis supporting the planned

timber sales in the Wayne was arbitrary or capricious.

Plaintiffs have made reference to the July 31, 1985 decision

of Douglas W. MacCleery, Deputy Assistant Secretary of

Agriculture, in the matter of the review of the administrative

decision of the Chief of the Forest Service related to the

administrative appeals of the Forest Plan and Environmental

Impact Statements for the San Juan National Forest and the

Grand Mesa, Uncompahgre, and Gunnison National Forests

("San Juan/GMUG").’ The MacCleery decision found that the

planning documents provided inadequate information on the

5 Sometimes referred to variously as the “MacCleery decision” or

the “San Juan decision.“

36a

economic implications of continuing and increasing a timber

sales program where costs substantially exceed revenues. In

rejecting the plaintiffs' administrative appeals in the instant

case, the Chief of the Forest Service found that the MacCleery

decision did not apply to the Wayne because the Plan does not

increase but decreases the timbering program. He also found

that the planning documents for the Wayne did address many

of the economic factors noted in the MacCleery decision.

Citizens Council Appeal Decision, p. 7. The Court further

notes that the MacCleery decision was based at least in part on

concerns about the fact that the San Juan/GMUG plan reduced

economic efficiency. Here, while the present net value of the

Plan is 10% less than the former Plan, the decrease is

attributed not to timber harvesting but to imcreases in

semi-primitive recreation areas and uneven-aged management,

which plaintiffs advocate. See DEIS, p. 2-97. It appears that

the Chief of the Forest Service reasonably interpreted the

MacCleery decision and his interpretation of the agency's prior

ruling is entitled to deference. Furthermore, the Regional

Forester has sufficiently explained why the Plan maximizes net

public benefits even though it includes below-cost timber sales.

Plaintiffs claim that the forest planners allowed the fifth

decade harvest level to dictate the timber base and that this

violates the Secretary's suitability regulation. The Plan, Table

4-1, indicates that the fifth decade timber harvest level is a

projection based on the increasing maturity of the forest over

the next fifty years. See FEIS, p. 2-21. It is not apparent to

the Court that this projected output controlled the planners’

determination of the suitable timber base. Even if it did, the

Court is not convinced that this would be arbitrary or

capricious or contrary to the statutes or the regulations. The

amount of suitable timber base does not represent the amount

of timber which will be harvested. As noted above, the

37a

amount of timber that cap be harvested is limited by the ASQ

and the actual amount harvested will be determined by

budgets, market factors and other conditions. See infra, p. 24.

If the suitable timber base exceeds the amount required to meet

the timber production goals of the Plan, that appears to be of

little consequence except to give the Forest Service greater

latitude in determining just where in the forest the timber

harvests will occur. This approach seems consistent with the

use of timber harvesting as a forest management tool.

CONSIDERATION OF A BROAD SET OF

ALTERNATIVES

Plaintiffs argue that the alternatives proposed in the

planning process did not present a broad set of alternatives for

consideration and review as required by the applicable statutes

and regulations. Plaintiffs specifically allege that the

alternatives proposed did not present a sufficiently broad set of

alternatives for the range of timber base, length of rotational

period of timber harvests and the provision of semi-primitive

recreation. None of these arguments were raised in plaintiffs’

administrative appeal. The only objection raised there

regarding an insufficient range of alternatives related to the

forest road system. See Citizens Council Statement of

Reasons, pp. 40-43; Citizens Council Appeal Decision, pp. 11,

12. Claims based upon issues which have not been addressed

in the administrative appeal are barred. Cisternas-Fstay vy.

Immigration and Naturalization Service, 531 F.2d 155 (3d Cir.

1976); Getty Oil Co, v. Clark, 614 F. Supp. 904, 921

(D. Wyo. 1985) (court may not consider contentions that were

not presented in the administrative proceeding below).

However, in the interest of judicial economy, the Court will

nevertheless address the merits of these newly raised

arguments.

38a

Alternatives prepared for consideration in an Environmental

Impact Statement ("EIS") are intended to provide a broad

range of reasonable management scenarios for the various uses

of the forest. See 36 C.F.R. § 219.12(f). "The primary goal

in formulating alternatives, besides complying with NEPA

procedures, is to provide an adequate basis for identifying the

alternative that comes nearest to maximizing net public

benefits, consistent with the resource integration and

management requirements" of the NFMA regulations. Id.

The purpose of a forest plan and supporting EIS is to develop

overall guidance for management of all multiple-use resources.

Citizens for Environmental Quality, 731 F. Supp. at 977. The

alternatives are not intended to focus on specific outputs such

as timber production or a specific form of recreation; instead,

they are intended to "provide different ways to address and

respond to the major public issues, management concerns, and

resource opportunities identified during the planning process."

36 C.F.R. § 219.12(f)(4). Seven alternative plans were

considered. They are described in general in the DEIS as

The DEIS identified eleven major public benefits which

were varied to provide a wide range of benefits. DEIS, p.

2-14. Other benefits that were not considered to be major

issues were also varied. Id. The alternatives are described

and compared in the DEIS. DEIS, pp. 2-20 to 2-62. In

alternative 1, 97% of the forest is allocated to even-aged

management with a mixture of 80-year and 120-year rotation.

Alternative 2 assigns 97% of the forest to even-aged

management with a 120-year rotation. In the case of

alternative 3, which became the Plan, 18% of the forest is

allocated to uneven-aged management, 30% is allocated to

even-aged management with an 80-year rotation, 33% is

allocated to even-aged management with a 120-year rotation

and 15% is allocated to semi-primitive recreation with a

mixture of even-aged management with a 120-year or 160-year

rotation and natural forest with no timber harvest. In

alternative 4, 93% of the forest is allocated to uneven-aged

management. Alternative 5 allocates 42% of the forest to

uneven-aged management, 40 % to even-aged management with

an 80-year rotation, and 25 % to semi-primitive, non-motorized

recreation with a mixture of even-aged management with a

120-year rotation and natural forest with no timber harvest.

Alternative 6 assigns 72% of the forest to uneven-aged

management with an 80-year rotation, and 25% to even-aged

management. Alternative 7 is a low intensity management

option with a timber base of only 15,588 acres, in which 75%

40a

of the forest is assigned to even-aged management and 22 % is

assigned to semi-primitive non-motorized recreation with a

mixture of even-aged management with a 120-year rotation and

natural forest with no timber harvest. The amount of land

Classified as suitable timber land ranges from 17,878 acres in

alternative 7 to 147,742 acres in alternative 6. DEIS,

Appendix B, Table B3-9.

NEPA requires that the EIS set forth only those alternatives

sufficient to permit a reasoned choice. Life of the Land v.

Brinegar, 485 F.2d 460, 472 (9th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 416

U.S. 961 (1974). NEPA does not require an agency to

consider alternatives that do not achieve the purpose of the

proposed action. Thus, the focus of the Court's inquiry is

whether the agency adequately considered alternatives

"reasonably related to the purposes of the project." Northwest

844 F.2d 588,

593 (9th Cir. 1988). The Court concludes that the alternatives

described in the DEIS provide an adequate basis for identifying

the alternative that comes nearest to maximizing public

benefits, as required by NFMA regulations. The Court

concludes that the Forest Service considered a reasonable

range of alternatives as required by NEPA.

USE OF THE FORPLAN COMPUTER MODEL

Plaintiffs criticize the manner in which the forest planners

used FORPLAN, a computer program designed for use in

forest planning. The Court has reviewed plaintiffs’ arguments

regarding the use of FORPLAN but finds no support in the

record for the conclusion that it resulted in any decisions

which were arbitrary or unreasonable. Plaintiffs contend that

arbitrary and capricious assumptions regarding the recreation

values of timbering were input into the FORPLAN model

which caused the program to assume that timbering was

4la

necessary for recreation. They assert that this error can be

demonstrated by studying the FORPLAN computer run of

"Max PNV* market" and "Max PNV assigned.” Plaintiffs

dispute the forest planners' assumptions about recreation

values, claiming that they overestimate the benefits to

recreation from timbering. The DEIS indicates that recreation

values used in the planning process were based upon the 1980

RPA National Assessment, a document compiled by the

Secretary of Agriculture every ten years, which contains facts

and analyses to develop and guide public and private forest and

rangeland policies and programs. See DEIS, Appendix,

p. B4-13 and Glossary. Recreation values developed at the

regional level for the 1980 RPA Assessment were used to

estimate the wildlife and recreation values used in the

FORPLAN model. DEIS, Appendix, p. B4-13 and Table

B4-6. There is nothing in the record to support plaintiffs’

argument that these values are arbitrary and capricious. There

is no evidence that they are based on inadequate research and

analysis, or that their validity is otherwise undermined.

Plaintiffs object to the planners’ failure to consider the

greater value of semi-primitive non-motorized recreation in the

Wayne because of the limited opportunity for such recreation

in southeastern Ohio. However, the planners recognized that

semi-primitive recreation in the Wayne should be valued

* PNV or present net value is the difference between the dollar

value of outputs resulting from management activities and the costs of

those management activities, discounted to present value. See 36 C.F.R.

§ 219.3. Sin Sere nae oe nee SU © CamgttD

economic benchmarks for the of outputs that have an established

market price (“market PNV™") such as timber and developed recreation

and the PNV of outputs with an assigned market price (assigned PNV)

such as dispersed recreation. 36 C.F.R. 219.12 (e\1)(iii).

42a

higher than indicated in National Willingness to Pay studies

and included the difference in the category of non-priced

benefits. See DEIS, Appendix, p. B4-17.

DIVERSITY

Plaintiffs argue that the Plan fails to provide for diversity

of plant and animal communities as required by the NFMA

and its regulations. They argue that clearcutting threatens

wildlife diversity, and that proper consideration of diversity of

plant and animal communities requires preservation of old

growth and mature forest areas as opposed to early

successional conditions which occur under even-aged

management. Under 16 U.S.C. § 1604(g)(3)(B), the

regulations for land use plans must:

provide for diversity of plant and animal

communities based on the suitability and

capability of the specific land area in order to

meet overall multiple-use objectives, and within

the multiple-use objectives of a land

management plan adopted pursuant to this

section, provide, where appropriate, to the

degree practicable, for steps to be taken to

preserve the diversity of tree species similar to

that existing in the region controlled by the

plan;

The committee of scientists formed to advise the Secretary

on the formulation of the NFMA guidelines concluded that it

was impossible to write specific regulations which would

provide for diversity. The scientists stated:

Provision for "diversity" as required by NFMA

is one of the most perplexing issues dealt with

in the draft regulations. We believe it is

43a

impossible to write specific regulations to

r ide for" diversity.

44 Fed. Reg. 26600-01. The regulation ultimately adopted by

the Secretary, contained in 36 C.F.R. § 219.26, provides as

follows:

Forest planning shall provide for diversity of

plant and animal communities and tree species

consistent with the overall multiple-use

objectives of the planning area. Such diversity

shall be considered throughout the planning

data making possible the evaluation of diversity

in terms of its prior and present condition. For

each planning alternative, the interdisciplinary

team shall consider how diversity will be

affected by various mixes of resource outputs

and uses, including proposed management

practices. (Refer to § 219.27(g).)

The text of 36 C.F.R. § 219.27(g) provides in part:

Management prescriptions, where appropriate

and to the extent practicable, —

enhance the diversity of plant and animal

communities...so that it is at least as great as

that which would be expected in a natural forest

and the diversity of tree species similar to that

existing in the planning area. Reductions in

diversity of plant and animal communities and

tree species from that which would be expected

in a natural forest or from that similar to the

existing diversity in the planning area, may be

prescribed only where needed to meet overall

44a

Although the natural forest is used in the regulations as one

point of reference for evaluating diversity, the regulations do

not imply that diversity can only be achieved by attempting to

recreate the conditions of the natural forest.

The Secretary's regulations do not require the planners to

use any particular method in their analysis of diversity; rather,

they focus on the measurement of the impacts of the proposed

management practices on the inventoried flora and fauna of the

forest. They direct the Forest Service to select management

indicator species of fish and wildlife to ensure viable

populations of those species and to provide for research and

monitoring. See 36 C.F.R. § 219.19. Pursuant to the

regulations, the planners identified the principal habitat

components of all plants and animals that occur in the Wayne.

They then selected management indicator species for the Forest

which would be representative species for all habitat types and

conducted an inventory and analysis of the habitat requirements

of these species. See Plan, Appendix B; DEIS, pp. 3-19 to

3-21 and Appendix C; FEIS, Appendix E. They did all of this

with the assistance of several committees comprised of

members of nine Ohio universities, officials of the Ohio

Department of Natural Resources and biologists employed by

the United States Fish and Wildlife Service. In addition, the

planners identified “sensitive species" as a further means of

maximizing bio-diversity. See Plan, p. 4-44; DEIS, p. 3-22.

The Plan and the FEIS both set forth specific procedures and

¢.g., Plan, pp. 5-1 to 5-13.

the areas which surround the Wayne. The NFMA regulations

expressly state that the diversity requirements apply "within the

area covered by a land and resource management plan." 36

45a

C.F.R. § 219.3. Under NFMA forest plans are to govern

“units of the National Forest System.” 16 U.S.C. § 1604(a).

The Forest Service has the discretion to consider conditions

surrounding the forest but it is not required to compensate for

them in the Forest Plan. Here, the forest planners did consider

the area surrounding the Wayne. See, ¢.g., DEIS, p. C-5;

FEIS, pp. 2-24 to 2-29.

Plaintiffs criticize the Plan for failing to provide for

bio-diversity by maintaining a natural forest environment. The

Wayne, however, is not a natural forest. An estimated fifty

percent of the original forest of southeastern Ohio was cleared

by 1850. An almost complete removal of the remainder, as

well as the second growth, occurred from 1850 to 1880 to fuel

the native iron ore smelting industry which consumed all trees

down to three to four inches in diameter. A second nearly

complete removal of the second and third growth forests

occurred again for the charcoal industry between 1880 and

1950. When the Forest Service began acquiring lands for a

national forest in the middle 1930's, the Wayne consisted of

previously cleared land consisting of a mixture of reverting old

fields, eroded areas, and young cutover timber stands. DEIS,

Appendix, p. C-3. At present, only nine percent of the Wayne

consists of old growth forest. See DEIS, Appendix, Table

C-1.

The Pian, however, does provide for the development of

areas of mature growth within the forest. Management areas

3.3 and 6.1 specify a 120-year rotation. By the end of the

fifth decade, almost 30% of the forest will consist of hardwood

trees over 100 years old. DEIS, Table 4-30, p. 4-57; ROD,

pp. 33-34; FEIS, pp. 2-28 to 2-49. More than 17,000 acres

are allocated to old growth in area 6.2 where no timbering will

occur. ROD, p. 15. An additional 4,000-plus acres of old

46a

growth will occur in other management areas. Id, After 50

years there will be a total of 55,000 acres of late successional

habitat. Id. The percentage of mature forest is increased over

the life of the Plan. In response to public comment the area

of old growth forest was increased by 6,030 acres. Id.

The planners considered the effects of various timber

harvesting methods on forest diversity. See DEIS, pp. 4-18,

4-21. With respect to clearcutting, the FEIS, p. 2-17, states:

Clearcutting is the method that can slow the

change from oak-hickory to the more mesic

mixed hardwoods that is presently occurring on

the Forest because of natural forces. Oak and

hickory are important to a variety of wildlife

species on the Forest ....

Forest stands of mixed species of trees resulting

from clearcutting and changing climatic

conditions may be more desirable than many

existing stands. Research and diversity survey

data have shown that regeneration following the

clearcutting method exhibits a diversity of tree

species at least as great as what would be

expected in a natural forest or what exists

today. These Forest stands will be more

resistant to imsect and disease attacks and

The goal of diversity under the NFMA is “based on the

Suitability and capability of the specific land area” and is

specifically linked to the "overall multiple-use objectives" of

the land management plan. 16 U.S.C. § 1604(g)(3)(B).

Diversity is not the controlling principle in forest planning,

although it is an important goal to be pursued in the context of

overall multiple-use objectives. The Court concludes that the

Plan provides diversity of plant and animal communities while

47a

balancing a mix of multiple uses. While the alternatives and

mix of uses that the forest planners chose were not those

favored by the plaintiffs, the Plan does meet the requirements

of the applicable statutes and regulations, is well within the

discretion vested in the Forest Service and is not arbitrary and

capricious.

CONCLUSION

The Court concludes that in adopting the Plan for the

Wayne, the Forest Service considered all of the relevant

factors, and the Court is not persuaded that the Forest Service

has committed any clear errors of judgment in adopting the

Plan. Overton Park, 401 U.S. at 416. The Secretary's

decision is entitled to a presumption of regularity. Id. at 415;

Dmid Hills Civic A mi Fed L_thahas

Administration, 772 F.2d 700, 714 (11th Cir. 1985).

race y aterm ore Sgt

F. Supp. 1529, 1540 (D. Montana 1991), "the Forest Service

is faced with a nearly impossible task of serving many

different interests." Here, the agency, after considerable

review, analysis and public involvement, chose an alternative

which attempts to strike a reasonable balance between and

among all of the competing uses. Plaintiffs disagree with the

selected alternative but it is not for the courts to decide

whether the decision was necessarily the best one or the one

the Court would have chosen. Congress has vested the Forest

Service with the discretion to make these decisions, and its

decisions must be upheld by the courts unless they are

arbitrary, capricious or contrary to law. Plaintiffs have failed

to show that in adopting the Plan for the Wayne, the Forest

Service acted arbitrarily or capriciously or that the Plan is

contrary to law.

In accordance with the , defendants’ motion for

summary judgment is granted, and plaintiffs’ motion for

summary judgment is denied. The clerk shall enter final

It is so ORDERED.

(s/James L. Graham

JAMES L. GRAHAM

United States District Judge

DATE: March 11, 1994

49a

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

The Sierra Club, et al., ) [Filed March 8, 1993]

)

Plaintiffs, ) Civil Action No. C2-92-249

)

vs. ) JUDGE GRAHAM

) MAGISTRATE JUDGE ABEL

F. Dale Robertson, et al., )

)

Defendants. )

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

National Forest Management Act ("NFMA"), 16 U.S.C.

§§ 1601-1614, the Multiple Use Sustained Yield Act, 16

U.S.C. § 528 et seq., and the National Environmental Policy

Act ("NEPA"), 42 U.S.C. § 4321 et seg. This action is

brought under the judicial review provisions of the

Administrative Procedure Act ("APA"), 5 U.S.C. § 1701 et

seq.

In a preliminary pretrial conference held on September 9,

1992, Plaintiffs asserted the right to present expert testimony

and requested an evidentiary hearing. Defendants objected on

the ground that the Court's role should be limited to a review

50a

of the agency's action, based upon the administrative record.

Magistrate Judge Abel directed defendants to file a motion in

limine addressing this issue and they did so on October 15,

1992. The intervenor, Ohio Forestry Association, Inc., filed

a similar motion on the same date. Plaintiffs filed their rule

that a court's review of administrative decisions is limited to

the administrative record, citing Bradley v. United States,

26 Claims Court 699 (1992). This Court is not persuaded that

NEPA cases are a special exception to the general rule,

although it may well be that because of the issues involved in

the usual NEPA case, courts may more often be inclined to

invoke one of the recognized exceptions to the general rule.

See Animal Defense Council v. Hodel, 840 F.2d 1432 (9th

Cir. 1988).

Plaintiffs principally rely on two recognized exceptions

to the general rule, which permit the Court to consider

evidence outside the record, when it is needed: (1) to explain

agency action or; (2) when it is needed to clarify technical

matters involved in the agency action. Plaintiffs contend that

they should be permitted to offer additional evidence for the

purposes of explaining or addressing technical or scientific

issues involved in the administrative record and to identify

significant environmental impacts or issues which were not

addressed by the agency.

The Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals has recognized

exceptions to the general rule limiting a court's review to the

administrative record. In Norwich Eaton Pharmaceutical, Inc.

y. Bowen, 808 F.2d 486, 489 (6th Cir. 1987), the court

quoted with approval the rule adopted by the Ninth Circuit in

Asarco, Inc. v. EPA, 616 F.2d 1153, 1160 (9th Cir. 1980):

It will often be impossible, especially when highly

technical matters are involved, for the court to

In United States v. Azko Coatings of America. Inc., 949 F.2d

Nevertheless, the court further stated that a "reviewing court

‘must be careful not to allow such evidence to change the

character of the hearing from one of review to a trial do

novo."’ Id.; quoting Town of Burlington v. Dep't. of Educ..,

736 F.2d 773, 791 (ist Cir. 1984).

In determining whether or not a party relying on one of

the recognized exceptions to the general rule limiting review

to the administrative record should be permitted to offer

additional evidence outside the record, a court should consider

whether that party had an opportunity to offer the evidence

during the administrative proceedings. In Davidson v. United

States Department of Energy, 838 F.2d 850 (6th Cir. 1988),

the Sixth Circuit upheld the district court's refusal to consider

plaintiffs’ evidence which characterized the agency's validation

study as incomplete, unprofessional and not in accordance with

EEOC guidelines. In doing so the court noted, Id at

855-856.:

52a

The administrative record in this case reflects the

rulemaking process conducted by DOE with a full

opportunity for comment and response. The letters

written by DOE to plaintiffs’ union representatives,

including plaintiff Davidson, gave the plaintiffs fair

notice of DOE's proposed actions, and the public

hearing conducted as part of the rulemaking process

the validation study. Plaintiffs did not choose to

voice their current concerns during the rulemaking

process. If they had, their criticisms would have

been incorporated in the administrative record for

future judicial review. Having failed to do so, and

thus having failed to afford the Secretary an

opportunity to respond to those criticisms during

the rulemaking process, plaintiffs will not be

permitted to introduce new evidence in this judicial

proceeding of their concerns, expressed nearly three

years after the completion of the administrative

process.

53a

Other circuit courts of appeals have upheld the rejection

of evidence offered to supplement an administrative record

where the party offering such evidence had the opportunity to

raise the issue before the agency. In Havasupai Tribe v.

Robertson, 943 F.2 32 (9th Cir. 1991) the Ninth Circuit

affirmed the district court's refusal to consider evidence

outside the record under circumstances quite similar to those

present in the instant case. In Havasupai Tribe, the tribe

challenged a decision of the Forest Service approving the

development of a uranium mine in the area of the Grand

Canyon, alleging that the Forest Service did not adequately

consider the effects of such a mine on their water supply as

required by NEPA. The district court limited its review to the

administrative record and refused to admit additional evidence

tendered by the tribe. The Ninth Circuit affirmed, stating Id.

at 34:

The Tribe's most troubling claim is that there was

inadequate consideration by the government of the

effects of the mining on groundwater which

Similar considerations were a factor in the Sixth Circuit's

approval of another district court's rejection of evidence

outside the administrative record in Upiohn Manufacturing Co.

yv. Schweiker, 681 F.2d 480, 483 (6th Cir. 1982):

It is to be emphasized that Upjohn did not file with

FDA the affidavits which it now contends should

have been considered by the district court. Upjohn

could have filed a petition for reconsideration of

FDA's approval of the Boots application. 21

C.F.R. § 10.33. By that procedure the affidavits

could have been submitted to FDA and made a part

of the administrative record for judicial review.

Instead, Upjohn chose to present the affidavits for

the first time in the district court.

supplies the Tribe's water. In support of this

claim, however, the Tribe relies upon the

contentions of Dr. David Kramer, which were

made in a letter drafted after the final EIS issued.

The Tribe had some obligation to raise these issues

during the comment process. Its views were

solicited. Absent exceptional circumstances, such

belatedly raised issues may not form a basis for

reversal of an agency decision. Vermont Yankee

NRDC, 435 U.S. 519,

553-54, 98 S. Ct. 1197, 1216-17, 55 L.Ed.2d 460

(1978).

Thus, in considering whether the Plaintiffs should be

permitted to offer the evidence they now tender, the Court

54a

must consider not only whether the evidence fits one of the

recognized exceptions to the general rule that the Court's

review is limited to the administrative record, but also whether

Plaintiffs were afforded an adequate opportunity to present this

evidence to the agency during its deliberative process, and if

so, whether there are any exceptional circumstances which

excuse their failure to do so.

The management of the national forests is entrusted to the

United States Department of Agriculture Forest Service. The

NFMaA requires the Forest Service to develop long-term plans

for the management of national forests. The legislative history

of the Act indicates that one of its goals was “to get the

practice of forestry out of the Courts and back into the

forests." 122 Cong. Rec. at 33835 (1976). Under NFMA and

its regulations, the development of a forest management plan

proceeds through a series of steps which ensure public

involvement at each stage of the planning process. See 36

C.F.R. § 219.6, § 219.10, § 219.12. The first step is to

canvass the public and the agency staff to identify the issues

that the plan should address. Once that assessment is

completed, several alternative management plans are

constructed and each is subjected to an analysis of costs,

benefits and environmental impacts, in accordance with NEPA.

After reviewing the environmental impacts and the cost benefit

analysis, the Regional Forester for the administrative region in

which the forest is located selects the alternative that in his

opinion will “provide for multiple use and sustained yield of

pele a ee. we

that long-term net public benefits in an

perm sound manner.” 36 C.F.R. § 219.1(a),

§ 219.10(c). The approved plan controls all activity within the

forest for a ten to fifteen-year period.

55a

The planning process for the WNF began in 1981 and

continued over a period of five years. In August, 1986, the

Forest Service published the proposed p’an together with a

draft environmental impact statement ("DEIS") and distributed

them to the public for comment for a ninety-day period. On

January 4, 1988, after analyzing over 1,500 written comments,

the Forest Service adopted the final plan accompanied by a

record of decision ("ROD") and a final environmental impact

statement. ("FEIS")

Both Plaintiffs participated extensively in the initial

planning process and in the comment period following

publication of the proposed plan and the DEIS.

Representatives of the Sierra Club attended public meetings to

identify and discuss relevant issues in .Jovember 1981,

October 1985, February 1986, and October 1986. DEIS

Appendix A, pp. A-1, A-29, A-30. Members of the Plaintiff

groups and the groups themselves sent letters commenting on

the DEIS during the comment period. FEIS Appendix A,

pp. A-4, A-6, A-9, A-11. Members of the Sierra Club

participated in a workshop in February, 1987 which was held

for the purpose of resolving major issues raised during the

comment process. FEIS Appendix C, pp. C-l, C-2. Both

Plaintiffs appealed the decision to adopt the final plan. Both

were represented by counsel and both filed lengthy statements

of reasons with attachments. Between May, 1988 and March,

1989, officials of the Forest Service met with representatives

of each Plaintiff to attempt to resolve their differences. After

the Regional Forester issued responsive statements to the

Plaintiffs’ filings, the Plaintiffs filed replies. In addition, the

Sierra Club presented its views in an oral argument on

October 20, 1989. Citizens Council declined to participate in

the oral hearing. The Chief of the Forest Service issued

decisions on November 14, 1990 and January 14, 1992,

56a

denying Plaintiffs' appeals. Plaintiffs’ filed this action on

March 18, 1992.

Plaintiffs seek to introduce the testimony of seven expert

witnesses. They have tendered affidavits and reports which

contain the opinions and probable testimony of each of these

consideration to whether each of them should be permitted to

testify in this proceeding.

Ronald O'Toole

Mr. O'Toole is a forester and a forest economist who is

familiar with a computer program known as FORPLAN,

which is used by forest planners to develop forest plans. He

was retained by the Sierra Club to prepare a detailed review of

the WNF plan. In order to do this, he visited the Forest

Supervisor's Office and examined computer runs and other

background planning documents. O'Toole asserts that the

DEIS incorrectly states that the Wayne FORPLAN model

made all forest land available for non-timber prescription when

in fact -- except for areas specifically placed in a non-timber

category -- FORPLAN was only allowed to choose among

different timber prescriptions. O'Toole's assertion is based on

his interpretation of a table which is part of DEIS Appendix B.

The FORPLAN computer modeling program is described in

great detail in the DEIS, Appendix B, Part Three. Citing

specific portions of the DEIS, Defendants show that the

planners did make all acres of the forest available for non-

timber management in their initial evaluation of the range of

planning options and potential outputs. See DEIS Appendix B,

p. B6-20. O'Toole's own report acknowledges that in two

"benchmark" runs of FORPLAN, all areas of the forest were

available for non-timber prescription. See O'Toole Report,

57a

pp. 8, 18. Plaintiffs assert that O'Toole will show that an

assumption not revealed in the planning documents was that

recreation can only take place in areas where timbering is

allowed. O'Toole's report, however, states that the model

“explicitly assumed that the highest levels [recreation] could

only take place in the presence of timber cutting." O'Toole

Report, p.i.i.i. If the assumption is explicit, there is no need

for O'Toole's testimony to demonstrate it.

The FORPLAN computer runs are part of the planning

documents and are part of the administrative record. See

Declaration of Robert K. Ballentyne and attached Planning

Record Index. (Doc. 14) The Court concludes that the

administrative record contains sufficient information to

determine how the Forest Service used the FORPLAN

computer program and whether there were any

misrepresentations or unstated assumptions as alleged by

O'Toole's basic objection to the plan seems to be based

on cost efficiency, particularly the fact that the plan includes

below-cost timber sales, which he believes is contrary to the

administrative proceedings and they may now argue to this

Court that the Forest Service acted in an arbitrary and

capricious manner in rejecting them and adopting the final

plan. The Court finds no justification for admitting additional

evidence outside the administrative record in order to address

these arguments, nor have Plaintiffs advanced any reason why

Mr. O'Toole's testimony and arguments could not have been

58a

James M. Northrup

Mr. Northrup is a principal in a private consulting firm

which does environmental planning and analysis. He

previously served as forest planner and NEPA Coordinator on

the Green Mountain National Forest in Vermont. Northrup

states that the WNFP planning documents are lengthy and

contain much technical, complex information, which is

communicated using legal, economic, silvicultural and other

technical terms not commonly understood by the average

citizen. He asserts that the criteria used by the Regional

Forester to select the plan are not clearly stated in the ROD

and that it focuses on differences among the alternatives

considered instead of the rationale for selecting one over the

others. He claims that the analysis of public demands for

resources and uses is inadequately documented, appears

fundamentally flawed, and may have been misapplied, and that

the alternatives analyzed did not cover the reasonable range

required by NEPA. He contends that an abbreviated FEIS is

considered in formulating the environmental impact statement.

His fourteen-page affidavit contains these and other legal

ai guments and conclusory statements attacking the plan and the

planning process and in many imstances comparing it

unfavorably with the plan adopted for the Green Mountain

National Forest.

While it is true that the WNFP planning documents are

lengthy and technical, courts are often called upon to analyze

lengthy, technical material. The Court has found these

documents to be intelligible and their concepts and terminology

capable of being understood without expert assistance. It is

not appropriate to admit evidence outside the record for the

purpose of comparing the WNFP with the Green Mountain

59a

National Forest Plan. The WNFP must stand or fall on its

Own merits, based upon the administrative record. Some of

the points raised by Northrup were raised by the Plaintiffs

during the administrative process and the record is adequate to

evaluate those claims. To the extent that Northrup raises new

objections to the plan, Plaintiffs have failed to show why they

did not raise them earlier. To the extent that Northrup asserts

legal objections to the plan, these can be asserted by counsel

in their briefs on the basis of the facts contained in the

For all of these reasons, the Court concludes that Mr.

Northrup's testimony should not be admitted.

David R. Dewalle

Mr. Dewalle is a professor of forest hydrology. He is

involved in teaching and research related to the water resource

have submitted an affidavit from Dr. Dewalle stating his

opinion that the plan lacks detail to indicate that water resource

issues have been adequately addressed or evaluated. His main

point appears to be that the plan, “seems to miss the

opportunity to improve water resource conditions in the

region." Dewalle criticizes the plan's alleged failure to

address the problems of erosion resulting from timbering and

water pollution caused by previous exploitive activities such as

strip mining and oil drilling. He further contends that the plan

fails to address how sewage discharge will be handled in

connection with future recreational sites that may be

constructed or the effect of private development that may occur

nearby.

The DEIS shows that consideration was given to existing

water resources and the impact the plan would have on them.

60a

The index to the DEIS contains nine references to water and

water quality. Comments received in response to the DEIS

included concerns that the DEIS considered water quantity

rather than quality, that the DEIS failed to offer information

on the cumulative impacts on water quality and that it should

discuss measures to protect water quality, including water

quality monitoring. The Forest Service responded to each of

to water and water quality. See Plan Index, Water, Water

Holes, Wells and Cisterns. A reference to sewerage treatment

facilities states that they will be adequately designed and

maintained to protect water quality. See Plan, p. 4-143.

The plan specifically addresses water pollution resulting

from abandoned underground coal mines and states, "At this

time, an efficient and reliable method does not exist to reclaim

these sites so that they do not contribute to the pollution of the

streams and lakes." Plan, p. 3-15. Defendants point out (the

Court believes correctly) that issues relative to sewerage

treatment and handling facilities must await the planning of

specific projects at specific locations. Finally, the

administrative record discloses that the Forest Service

considered the effects of erosion resulting from timbering

activities.

It appears that the issues raised by Dewalle were

addressed in the planning process and that the administrative

record contains sufficient information for the Court to evaluate

Plaintiffs’ claims that the plan and the environmental impact

Statement do not sufficientiy address water quality concerns.

Furthermore, the Court can discern no reason why Plaintiffs

could not have presented Dewalle's criticisms to the agency

6la

A. Claude Ferguson

Mr. Ferguson has a Bachelor of Science degree in

Forestry. He held various positions of employment with the

Forest Service until 1976. He was the forest supervisor for

the WNF in 1966. Plaintiffs have submitted a fifteen-page

report authored by Mr. Ferguson, in which he outlines his

objections to clearcutting as the dominant timber-harvesting

method used in the plan. Ferguson expresses his opinions on

the adverse consequences of clearcutting and attacks the

grounds relied upon by the Forest Service in selecting it. He

expresses other objections to the planning process. Much of

Mr. Ferguson's criticism is based on the results of a Purdue

University study of timber regeneration in the Wayne-Hoosier

National Forest in Indiana, which was published in December

of 1987, three months after the WNF plan was adopted. This-

study was not available to the Forest Service during the

planning process. The Court must judge an agency's actions

by the information available to it at the time it makes it's

eshiien: Yankee Nuclear I |

Resources Defense Council, Inc., 435 U.S. 519, 553 (1978).

The Purdue study was, however, available to the Plaintiffs

during the administrative appeal process and they offer no

excuse for their failure to include it in their submission during

the appeal process.

The plan, the DEIS and the FEIS show that considerable

attention was given to the issue of clearcutting or "even-aged

management.” See Plan, Chapter 3, Vegetative Management.

Ferguson contends that the plan deceptively labels patch

clearcutting as group cutting and categorizes it as uneven-aged

management, contrary to accepted silvicultural practice.

However, the DEIS at p. 4-24 et seg. defines how group

62a

cutting is used in the plan and acknowledges that it can

resemble clearcutting.

During the comment period, several commentors

expressed objections to clearcutting, citing many of the reasons

relied on by Mr. Ferguson in his report. See FEIS, Chapter

2..p.215 et seq. The record is adequate to evaluate Plaintiffs’

objection to clearcutting. In a general sense, Ferguson's

objections were considered by the Forest Service during the

administrative process, and to the extent that any of his

objections were not specifically raised or addressed, it is only

because Plaintiffs failed to raise them when they had the

opportunity to do so.

Stephen M. McKee. James R. Runkle. William Buskiri

Mr. McKee describes himself as a botanist, ecologist and

field naturalist. He received a Master of Science degree in

botany from Miami University at Oxford, Ohio. He believes

that the Forest Service was mistaken in its assessment of the

effects of clearcutting on bio-diversity. According to Mr.

McKee, the issue of bio-diversity should have been examined

on a regional basis and the Forest Service should have been

more concerned about preserving mature forest species.

McKee also disagrees with some of the plan's assumptions

regarding the nature of regrowth in harvested areas and the

amount of' time necessary for regeneration after clearcutting,

and notes the plan's failure to address contrary scientific views

on the effects of clearcutting.

Runkle is an associate professor of biological sciences at

Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio. He questions the

plan's conclusion that 120-year rotations are sufficient to favor

wildlife species that require mature and over-mature

hardwoods. He believes that in reaching this conclusion, the

63a

Forest Service focused on vertebrates and overlooked other

species, including fungi, herbs, imsects, and other

invertebrates. He says the plan contains no data guaranteeing

that the needs of such other species will be met. He believes

the plan ignores landscape ecology, specifically, “how the

spatial arrangement of different habitats in a large region

("landscape") affects the distribution and abundance of

organisms living in that landscape." Finally, he questions the

use of clearcutting as the preferred method for regenerating

oak and hickory forests on the ground that this is scientifically

uncertain. He believes that clearcutting should be postponed

Buskirk is a biologist who is an expert in avian ecology.

He believes that the plan overlooks certain environmental

impacts because “the planners were unaware of or ignored

recent evidence and perspectives in the scientific literature

related to the conservation of biological diversity." He

challenges the plan's assumption that full diversity of habitat

types is needed to perpetuate biological diversity. He says that

this assumption fails to recognize that some species are much

less mobile than others and less likely to re-colonize areas of

extinction after habitats have returned to predisturbance

conditions. He says his opinions are based on developing

scientific literature and he cites scientific publications as recent

as 1992. Again, the decision of the Forest Service to adopt

the plan must be judged on the information available to it at

the time. Vermont Yankee, 435 U.S. at 553. He believes that

some of the terminology used in the plan is “harvest-biased."

He asserts that the plan overlooks the impacts of producing

forest edges along clear cuts and the effects of invasion of

native habitats by introduced “exotic” vegetation.

64a

Most of the issues raised by McKee, Runkle and Buskirk

are addressed, at least generally, in the administrative record.

Plan Appendix B is devoted entirely to the issue of the plan's

impact on plant and animal species. The plan further indicates

that in choosing harvest methods and rotation ages, the Forest

Appendix C. p. C-5 et seq.; FEIS Appendix E. p. E-1 et seq.;

DEIS pp. 4-21. 4-22, 4-40 ef seq. These issues were also

the general areas of concern raised by McKee, Runkle and

Buskirk, and to the extent that specific concerns or objections

were not raised or addressed, Plaintiffs have shown no excuse

for their failure to raise them when they had the opportunity

to do so during the administrative process.

Conclusion

The planning process for the WNFP began well over ten

years ago. The full planning record contains tens of thousands

of pages of documents. Plaintiffs were extensively involved in

the planning process, the public comment process and the

administrative appeal process. Now, plaintiffs want the Court

to consider the testimony of seven expert witnesses, none of

whom provided testimony, reports or affidavits to the Forest

Service at any stage of the proceeding, and each of whom has

lengthy, multi-faceted and highly technical criticisms of the

plan. An examination of the affidavits and reports of these

experts reveals that the breadth and scope of their criticisms

and the evidence which the defendants would likely introduce

to rebut them would, if the Court permitted them to testify,

transform this case into a de novo hearing on the merits of the

plan. This would effectively reopen the planning process and

put the Court in the role of the Forest Planner, a role which it

65a

has neither the resources nor the expertise to perform. See

Cronin v. United States Department of Agriculture, 919 F.2d

439, 444 (7th Cir. 1990).

These plaintiffs are not unsophisticated litigants. They

have significant resources and considerable expertise in

environmental litigation. They have certainly known all along

where to go to obtain the kind of evidence they now seek to

offer for the first time in this Court. While it is true that

NEPA places upon an agency the obligation to consider every

significant aspect of the environmental impact of a proposed

action, it is still incumbent upon those who have objections to

structure their participation in the administrative process so

that it is meaningful, so that it alerts the agency to their

position and contentions. Vermont Yankee, 435 U.S. at 553.

To wait years to offer voluminous objections by an army of

experts borders on the kind of gamesmanship condemned by

the Supreme Court. Id.

Defendants' motion in limine to limit review to the

administrative record is well taken and is GRANTED.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

66a

APPENDIX D

United States Forest Washington 14th & Independence SW

Department of Service Office P.O. Box 96090

Agriculture Washington, DC 20090-6090

Reply To: 1570-1(LMP)

Date: November 14, 1990

CERTIFIED RECEIPT REQUESTED

Jerome C. Tinianow

Hahn Loeser & Parks

800 National City E. 6th Building

1965 East 6th Street

Cleveland, Ohio 44114-2262

RE: Appeal of the Wayne National Forest Land and

Resource Management Plan (#2309)

Dear Mr. Tinianow:

Pursuant to 36 CFR 211.18, this letter is our final decision on

your appeal of the Wayne National Forest Land and Resource

Management Plan (Forest Plan/Plan) and its accompanying

Final Environmental Impact Statement (FEIS).

You are representing the Sierra Club, Ohio Chapter who are

the appellants. Intervenors are: the American Motorcyclist

Appalachian Mother Earth Network; Dale W. Riddle Forest

Products, Inc.; Waldron Lumber Company, Inc.; The Ohio

Forestry Association, Inc.; the National Wild Turkey

Federation, Inc., Ohio State Chapter; the Ruffed Grouse

67a

Ohio Chapter of the Wildlife Society; the Mead Corporation;

and Gary L. and Laurel L. Hamilton.

The allegations in your appeal are: 1) "The Plan permits

unjustified timber sales below cost, thereby allowing timber

harvesting on lands which are not suitable for this activity" ; 2)

"The Plan perverts statutory and regulatory requirements

pertaining to biological diversity by using them to justify

creation of conditions that are common outside of the Forest,

in favor of conditions which are available mainly or even

exclusively in the Forest"; 3) "The Forest Plan allows

clearcutting on 80% of the suitable timber land without

demonstrating that it is the optimal method of timber harvest” ;

and 4) “The adjustments to the Plan needed to correct the

errors identified above will require additional adjustments in

other areas of the Plan."

You appealed the plan “based on a number of errors" with a

request that “the Plan be remanded to the Regional Forester

with instructions to redraft it to eliminate these errors."

"[TJhe result is a Plan which provides for too much timber

harvesting, in too large an area, by the wrong methods, at too

low a price” (SOR, page 2).

ISSUE 1 - WHETHER THE FOREST PLAN ALLOWS

UNJUSTIFIED BELOW COST TIMBER SALES.

In the SOR (page 6), the appellants contend that the inclusion

of below-cost timber sales is a violation of section 6(k) of

NFMaA and/or the MacCleery decision and therefore ". . . will

allow timber harvest on unsuitable land in violation of the law.

You further state "[TJhe Regional Forester's reliance on

intangible benefits to establish the economic viability of

including certain lands in the timber base is particularly

objectionable” (SOR page 8).

68a

Di _

Below-cost timber sales has become an item of considerable

debate. However, most arguments tend to ignore the fact that

the Forest Service is required by law to manage the Forest for

multiple uses. In managing timber, as one of the multiple

uses, we must insure that we are cost effective in our

making a profit. In Thomas v. Peterson, 753 F.2d 754 (9th

Cir. 1985), the Ninth Circuit Court rejected the argument that

timber can only be harvested where the value of the timber

exceeds the cost of the harvest.

The requirements for identification of lands which are not

suitable for timber production are contained in the

implementing regulations of 36 CFR 219.14(a) through (d).

The suitability process consists of three stages as described by

these regulations. The result of this analysis by the Wayne

National Forest is displayed by alternative in the Draft

Environmental Impact Statement (DEIS), Appendix B, part 3

(table B3-9 and pages B3-39) and the FEIS page 1-11. The

intent of the first stage of this procedure is to ensure that

timber production will not be attempted where it might cause

irreversible resource damage or deforestation. The intent of

the second and third stages of this procedure in to ensure that

land is selected for timber production in such way that the

multiple-use goals and objectives of the LRMP are achieved in

the most cost-efficient manner possible.

The results of the analysis show that the amount of land

classified as suitable timber land ranges from 17,878 acres in

Alternative 7 to 147,742 acres in Alternative 6. Modified

Alternative 3 (the Forest plan) has 126,107 acres identified as

suitable for timber production. The process used by the Forest

69a

to determine lands suitable for timber production is consistent

with 36 CFR 219.14 and NFMA.

The appeal record shows that cost efficiency was considered

throughout the planning process (FEIS appendix B). This

analysis is done by alternative for the entire Forest, not for

each individual timber sale that will follow. The regulation at

CFR 219.3 defines “cost efficiency" as "[Tjhe usefulness of

specified inputs (costs) to produce specified outputs (benefits).

In measuring cost efficiency, some outputs, including

environmental, economic, or social impacts, are not assigned

monetary values but are achieved at specified levels in the least

cost manner." Therefore, “cost efficiency" takes into account

both priced and non-priced (or intangible) values

The present net value (PNV) is a primary economic criterion

used by the Regional Forester to compare economic efficiency

of alternatives. However, PNV does not measure the

nonpriced benefits of Forest management.

The Regional Forester is not required to select an alternative

with the highest PNV. The NFMA regulation (36 CRF 219.1)

prescribes that the Forest Plan shall prescribe management

which will maximize long-term public benefits in an

environmentally sound manner.

Although the appellants find ". . . the Regional Forester's

reliance on intangible benefits to establish the economic

viability of including certain lands in the timber base

objectionable," the determination of which alternative has the

highest net public benefit derived from the array of alternatives

included in the analysis. The Regional Forester recognizes

that below-cost sales may occur under the provisions of the

Forest Plan (DEIS, Page 2-85 through 87; FEIS, pages 2-18

through 19; ROD, Pages 20-21) and discusses efforts to cut

70a

costs and raise revenues in order to redu

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ohio Forestry Assn., Inc. v. Sierra Club · 523 U.S. 726 | Frix