Special Master Report — Cuban American Bar Ass'n v. Christopher

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

>

No. 84, Original

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff,

v.

STATE OF ALASKA

REPORT OF THE SPECIAL \. ASTER

J. KEITH MANN

Special Master

Stanford, California

March 1996

RECEIVED

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Page

IIIT (osha iciareneesetereaainnsaebarneieammnoneapetenannn ix

; RR it allt RO xi

> SEIT sdlictaserinenutssanessossetsoasspapenecenesssesaneocveseese 3

A. Nature of the controversy .............:ccccsccseeeesseeeeees 3

Be iain ccccccesnsvensenpenensecoscssecssece 3

ni as 5

D. The joint statements of questions presented .......... 7

E. The motion for leave to intervene .......................+. 8

F. Additional proceedings before the Special

pelle: tana ed heb a oR Na 10

PART ONE

ALASKA’S COASTLINE

et Se 15

III. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE ..........++++. 19

A. The United States’ position .................cccceeeeeees 20

Be rari sdescecsertenssnnsceveccessctes 25

1. Questions 2 and 12: straight baselines ............ 25

2. Questions 3 and 13: the ten-mile rule ............. 29

3. Question 4: assimilation and simplification ... 30

C. Organization of the discussion ...................0.:000 32

Hy Soe a 34

1. The Alaska Statehood Act ..0............cccccceceeeeee 34

2. The Submerged Lands Act ................:000ce00000+ 36

a. The conditional grant .................:cceeeeeee 37

b. The definition of “coast line” .................... 39

(1) The Douglas amendment .................... 39

(2) The meaning of “open sea” ................ 41

**

CONTENTS

E. The impermissible contraction theory ................. 44

1. Article 4 straight baselines ..............:cccccseeeeees 45

2. Inland waters at statehood ............:ccceeeeeeeeees 49

3. GROSSES FERRITES .ccrccceccsacsoensnsascouiermmesiennets 51

F. Past delimitation practice of the United States .... 52

1. The Alabama and Mississippi Boundary Case 52

2. United States policy to 1929 ........cccccceeeeeeeeees 56

©. DGRBWRRG TRG .cccecerscansessnsonssssememeientecnas 57

b. Long Island Sound .............:cccccssseceeeeeeeeeees 58

c. Cuba and the Florida keys ...............:00008 60

d. The Alaska boundary arbitration ............... 61

e. Mississippi Sound ...............:.cssesscsssseeseres 66

f. General statements .............ccrcrcesssserssrsseees 67

3. United States policy from 1930 to 1949 ......... 71

a. Proposals at the Hague conference of 1930 71

b. Authority of the 1930 proposals ................ 75

©. TRO TOG CORTE cccecececcssestatnisnnesseesscsmnentien 80

4. United States policy, 1950-1952 ..........ccce 83

a. The Chapman line (1950) ..........:cccceeeeeees 84

(1) Boggs’s theory .............::cccceeeeee an 85

(2) Clement’s Giecry ....ccccecccsosessssoresereesees 87

(3) Shalowitz’s theory ..............::ccccseeseeees 88

b. The Fisheries case (1951) .........c:cssceeeeeees 93

c. The State Department letter (1951) ........... 98

d. The Master’s report in California (1952) 103

e. The Alexander Archipelago (1952) ......... 105

C, DRRCUEERER. .connswsesenssteiniaiinaiinaiiiain 107

5. United States policy from 1953 to Alaska’s

SORAERBOT nncarsocessceecguensseseninneeninaiiaeaiaiianae 109

a. Application of the Submerged Lands Act

in Gan GE SARIS ccncencesenccinictaincies 110

b. Pres regulations in Alaska .................. 116

c. ED ccccsccetsmnnptentionetniie 122

d. ate on pre-Convention policy ......... 126

(1) ‘TED Ci CED GUD cncsencsscctseeesssbcsentenien 127

IV.

(3) Other formulations ...........................

ee IID Ssttnccsescesccccccscccccccce

f. The application of pre-Convention

Fe ee

6. Poststatehood developments .....................+.

FE a

(1) The Louisiana case, 1960-1961 .......

(2) The California case, 1963-1965 .......

(3) The Louisiana case, 1965 .................

b. Article 4 straight baselines ......................

(1) The Louisiana Boundary Case,

I i cesscceese

ae ccccsenes

C. The relation between the two sentences of

ESE SES TE

1. The Court’s interpretation ....................000+.

2. The history of Article 7(2) ............cccccccceee

I csi cacdeddccscessonsecccees

b. The International Law Commission ........

c. The 1958 Geneva conference a

D. Application EE

1. Initial analysis of the “well-marked

152

iv

CONTENTS

a. The meaning of “landlocked waters” ...... 208

b. Adaptation of the Court’s test ................. 211

c. Precedents on double-headed bays .......... 216

CUI Sicechctdceieitcncincniindsastisafinistiacenntsccesess 226

SENG TID cnccatnccesccsctnnsceenssnncscessetinatinnetincersesees 227

A, FR IRD cestecsitrtncetiscncievitiznecmnncnn 228

B. Background of the dispute ...............cc:cccsceeeee 230

C. The high water Gata ..............cccccccssessccessssseeees 234

1. Interpretation of “high tide” as mean high

CRED ccnseaitshsitcsstengctncntntctintstuisdntihnciimenstesesscens 234

2. Conditions in the Beaufort Sea .................... 236

D. Evidence predating the joint monitoring

SUNT cccpisintcteicisitiientiateindesieatiintmndennissrieseusecenscscs 240

1. The cartographic history .................c.0ccc0000 240

So ND tattcrestttecnenceccstetncecscsescvens 244

E. The joint monitoring project ...............ccccceeee 248

1. Determination of mean high water ............... 249

2. Determination of the height of Dinkum

ED wcicinsteinenenccntinctinbitintthdisieisiibibiiabatsiesiiainpniins 253

3. Alaska’s proposed adjustments to the tidal

GBTED ‘cchicnistinncmnnteasttitttinsesenssitithiatnnintecssees 255

a. Extent of the adjustments ........................ 255

b. The adjustment for trend ...................000+ 258

c. The adjustment for weather .................... 263

FS Le ee 266

F. The composition of Dinkum Sands ................... 269

Ee 270

2. Ice in international law ....................c0000000 271

3. Application to Dinkum Sands ...................... 274

G. Observations in 1982 and 1983 .............ccccecceee 276

1. Alaska’s measurements ................c0ccseeeeeeee 278

2. Late season observations .................ccceeeee0es 280

Be, CID vaectttiictiedcccntteensncatectnntettinnrensee 283

I. Requirements for an island ........................0c000++ 287

1. The notion of permanence ......................0+ 288

2. Horizontal permanence ....................cc00-00-+: 289

3. Vertical permamemce .............0csecceccsseserssessees 294

a. History and interpretation of the

EE Se 294

b. Features of variable height ...................... 302

c. The possibility of divided ownership ...... 304

d. Application to Dinkum Sands ................. 307

ey ere ee ee ee 310

VI. THE ARCO PIER EXTENSION ................escesceeseeseeseeeees 311

Vil.

VIII.

A. The Submerged Lands Act and the Convention 313

B. The pier extension as a permanent harbor work 314

1. Articles 3 and 8 of the Convention .............. 314

2. The question of permanence ........................ 316

C. The Convention as controlling .......................... 323

FOE 323

2. The argument from emergency .................... 325

3. The argument from the regulations .............. 329

a I Saiciehicheciictediceccnstctiiltbicthitemnenestncccete 337

LOW-TIDE ELEVATIONS ..........ccsccorcsssssssessesseeseeesenes 338

PART TWO

FEDERAL RESERVATIONS

THE NATIONAL PETROLEUM RESERVE-ALASKA ........ 343

A. Question 7: Harrison Bay and Smith Bay ......... 349

B. Question 8: Peard Bay ..........:.0.c.0ccsessesssssssesseees 352

Be ID tities citcereccsentedtctentuitoncocnedi 353

2. The boundary description ......................0+ 357

a. The three-mile requirement .................... 357

b. Peard Bay as a small lagoon ................... 360

A ee a ae 364

CONTENTS CONTENTS vii

C. Question 11: Wainwright Inlet and the Kuk 3. General considerations ....................ccs0e000 459

River, Kugrua Bay and River, and other small 4. Congressional retention by Statehood Act

inlets, bays and river estuaries ...............000++ 364 RRS eae ey Oe 462

1. Thee gengeaghay .......0...c.ccccsceccscscsesereceneneessnees 365 5. Executive retention under Submerged Lands

2, AREER ceccnessesitiniisitibtittitclrencennnes 366 | AER Sn 467

3. Construction of the boundary description .... 368 a. An application as an executive retention . 467

4. Application of the boundary description. ...... 372 b. Authority for an executive retention ....... 473

a. Wainwright Inlet ..................00cessseeeeeeeees 372 el et 477

b. Other indentations with sandspits and C. Question 10: The interpretation of the with-

IGE ceccecececncasccccapnscsesnpcenantquestscnstsnceces 374 I 477

c. Tidally influenced parts of rivers ............ 376 1. The location of the boundary ....................... 478

S, Comme sa ccecencesensicsntetiinintsiinencsccenesteceetns 380 a. The boundary description on its face ...... 481

D. Development of the Pollard doctrine ................ 381 b. Other evidence of the intended boundary 482

D, CI ccticccncennctsticinecnctntsemscemeresseseeee 382 (1) Prestatehood maps ......................:00+. 483

2. BRED GD crsctiactttsiiticttitcinceteceesvceses 386 (2) Development of the boundary

E. Issues stemming from Montana and Utah ........ 388 ESSE, 484

1. Inland waters versus territorial waters .......... 390 (3) The purposes of the Range ............... 485

2. Reservations or withdrawals versus (4) Comparison with other descriptions . 491

COMVCYEROGS .......cceccerscrsrencrersesersnssssosesoeees 395 2. Rights to submerged lands inside the

3. Authority for the reservation ...............00000 404 NE ll Seb 495

4. Intention to reserve submerged lands ........... 416 nt a te A SR OL IP 499

a. The precedent ..........cccesssvessssesssvessssessenes 416

b. The language and purpose of the

Executive Onder .........0..csccscrsesssreeereesseses 421 PART THREE

EE 429 SUMMARY

5. Intention to defeat state title .................:000 430

6. The scope of the rights retained ................... 440 X. SUMMARY OF RECOMMENDATIONS ............00000000e00e00e 503

FP. Com cctietcesntestencetesienditnanrchentersncetntenisionen 445

IX. THe Arctic NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE ............... 447 Re I a SE SA 507

Be, Te RAIA cccccenecnensenennssscilliltnciinstnctittnitinietenan 451 A. Text of questions presented ....0...............cccc0000 509

B. Question 9: The effectiveness of the withdrawal B. Report of January 10, 1984 .0.......ccccccccccceceeeeeees 513

GR AEIBGD ccscresinscnsveinssnenstesinesinecnttnssenctiesoesseeeee 455 C. Order of January 10, 1984 (intervention) .......... 557

1. Federal power to retain submerged lands ..... 455 D. Order of June 3, 1986 (intervention) .................. 560

2. The statutory framework ..............ccc0cceeeeeees 457 E. Stipulation on question 14 ...............ccccccceeeeeeeeees 564

1.1.

3.1.

3.2.

3.3.

3.4.

3.5.

3.6.

4.1.

4.2.

4.3.

4.4.

4.5.

4.6.

5.1.

5.2.

Page

The Arctic coast of Alaska ...............cccceeeeees facing 3

The normal baseline and the three-mile belt

in the presence of islands (schematic) ................ 23

The United States’ position in the leased

ITI sccestccnsetecneseurectbermietictinneornereepanenes facing 24

Article 4 straight baselines (schematic) .................. 27

Alaska’s position in the leased area using

ten-mile straight baselines ........................ facing 28

The ten-mile rule (schematic) ....................0000000008+ 31

The method of assimilation and simplification

ITITIITTITIIT sis oncestieeleteeaetd bauateemepocnnebimeconngteseczepneqcese 33

Harrison Bay (from NOS chart 16004) ................. 178

The parties’ positions on closing lines for

SUIEN TENE stccssnchenentecnssecsganscestnesasestosccosereceee 179

Tenakee Inlet and Freshwater Bay, Alaska

(from NOS chart 17300) .............ccccccccecseeeeeeeees 220

Shelikof Bay and Gilmer Bay, Alaska

(from NOS chart 17320) ............:ccccccccceeeeseeeeeee 221

Bodega Harbor and Tomales Bay, California

(from NOS chart 18640) .00..........:cccccccceeeeeeeees 223

Svaerholthavet, Norway

(from Fisheries Case (U.K. v. Nor.)) 0.0... 224

Seasonal variation in sea level (adapted

from Ak. Ex. 84A-802) .0......cccccccccceeeseeeneeeeees 239

NOS estimates of mean high water and error

band compared to 1981 measurements of

SITTIN ctteh iderndieencsenetoernesdeeussesneuccsseete 252

9.1.

9.2.

ILLUSTRATIONS

Alaska’s estimates of mean high water and

error band compared to 1981 measurements

OE Tre BD cccaccncqsorentapeetisnrpneenneeeegeee 256

Mean high water adjusted for weather compared

to 1981 measurements of Dinkum Sands ......... 265

1982 elevations of Dinkum Sands ..................0000: 276

1983 elevations of Dinkum Sands ....................000+: 277

The ARCO pier and the 1976 extension ............... 312

The parties’ positions on the National

Petroleum Reserve—Alaska: panel 1,

Icy Cape to Peard Bay ..............c0sseceseeees facing 348

The parties’ positions on the National

Petroleum Reserve—Alaska: panel 2,

Point Barrow to Smith Bay .................... facing 348

The parties’ positions on the National

Petroleum Reserve—Alaska: panel 3,

Smith Bay to Harrison Bay .................... facing 348

Peard Bay (from NOS chart 16084) ........... facing 352

The parties’ positions on the Arctic

National Wildlife Refuge: panel 4 ......... facing 450

The parties’ positions on the Arctic

National Wildlife Refuge: panel 5. ......... facing 450

Table of Authorities

SUMMARY OF CONTENTS

Page

SI ertisnictannensmnennntdimmnsicnemnnaretitbidiinheliiephetiaditiicisesddatished xii

III <cnccsncnpicinensannicnttentiliidibitinelaishadiliitiitunbiteiiaih XXV

III tsichinoveseinmennesemnnsscicutininiannsssnsitidaianlinanieiealiniceabebabélin XXV

IIIT teeliichausticdhasneniihehnindhedeinadamandiniasonaieensasatihiieekedibsdeisd XXVi

ERIS RSIS ADIT Sah ed BA Bw Wee ee Pe XXVi

SE Shalit nidsicaciinddinindeaesihianioaihtpeiniiectandenises XXxXi

EE ee eee See ee ee ee XXXi

ESSE aT AO Oe OCS Ws LT ee eT ae OE XXXi

Administrative and executive materials ....................... Xxxii

EG ER Sea oe een Xxxii

ESE ESET 00 Te Xxxiii

RII OE III i ccisncctcusisosvschsneisscctontseterccnson XXxXiii

Department of Commence .................:c.ssscceeeeeseeeees XXxxiii

Department of the Interior ...................ccccceseeeeeeeees XXXiV

_ Nea XXXiV

II tds sinc titnanttenetinitintineboineneans XXXiV

Withdrawal applications and amendments .......... XXXV

tl ES RSS ET a XXXV

EE EE A A a XXXV

Departement Of the Navy ..............cccccccssssccsssscccsseees XXXVi

Department of the Army .................c:cccccsssccssssceeees XXXVi

ee EES ee a a, eee. XXXVi

SA II ainsi sneisidhcinadnestinsititdatninecctntitatitia XXXVil

i handel acinlsitiandenencitdtincavennncls XXXVii

Submerged Lands Act (1953) .........cccccccccccsceeeeeeees XXXVii

So fg A ESTE XXXVii

Pe iiss cnccnncteaniipnenccsianiniana XXXVili

Alaska Statehood Act (1958) .............ccccccseceeeenees XXXViii

| ee XXxix

RRR RR PLANES ARES ERE SR ie aio ee XXXix

xii TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

er I, sii vidcinidtdaniedidedesincnatetbsnnvecnewnensneen xl

League Of Nations .............csssessseeresesssesssenseseseseoees xl

SIESTA RT TEE TE xl

Pleadings, briefs, argument .................c-sceeeeeeeeeenneeenes xiii

United States v. California ....................cccseccsceseeeeeees xiii

United States v. Louisiana ....................ccccsecceeseeeeenees xliv

Cnn SII... ceusiasensenssentncnmnssssnsntiniads xlv

nr xlv

I son vitcsicinittseincctncitiinnndninentnivnttannremactsibibites xl vi

Cases

Alaniz v. Tillie Lewis Foods, 572 F.2d 657 (9th

Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 837 (1978) ...........cceee00+ 527

Alaska v. Ahtna, Inc., 891 F.2d 1401 (9th Cir.

1989), cert. denied, 495 U.S. 919 (1990) ............. 422-23

Alaska v. United States, Civ. No. J75-13 (D.

Alaska; renumbered No. A78-069; partial con-

sent judgment entered Dec. 7, 1984; dismissed

DED. BE, WIND cccccstivccvncesecsecccesscensenssoencenosoesveeponccessosces 5

Alaska v. United States, Civ. Nos. A83-343, A84-

435, and A86-181 (D. Alaska, consolidated and

stayed pending resolution of No. 84, Original) ......... 347

Alaska Boundary Arbitration (U.S. v. Gr. Brit.),

(1903), reprinted in Proceedings of the Alaskan

Boundary Tribunal, S. Doc. No. 162, 58th

Cong., 2d Sess. (1903-04) and excerpted in Ak.

Oy SS 8 a ae ee See 29, 53,

54, 61-66, 95, 97, 105-07, 127, 372, 400

Alaska Pacific Fisheries v. United States, 248 U.S.

it SER 399-400, 402-03, 410, 413, 420

In re American Beef Packers, Inc., 457 F. Supp.

TS ey Seen 538

CASES : xiii

American Farm Lines v. Black Ball Freight Service,

Fe TE tictittinciiclstcaninilliibbinnpensbitanenes 334

Amoco Production Co. v. Village of Gambell, 480

Ds Fe Gee aittetccctinicnnisiiiticctchlitakgbiininncvetines vee 409

The Anna, 165 Eng. Rep. 809 (Adm. 1805) ................... 150,

271-72, 290, 291-92, 304

Arizona v. California, Report of Special Master

Simon H. Rifkind (1960), approved in part and

disapproved in part, 373 U.S. 546 (1963) ..........cc00008. 12

Arizona v. California, Memorandum and Report on

Preliminary Issues by Special Master Elbert P.

Tuttle (1979), leave to file exceptions denied,

444 U.S. 1009 (1980); reviewed together with

final report, 460 U.S. 605 (1983) ....... 516, 523, 524, 554

Arizona v. California, 444 U.S. 1009 (1980) ................. 516

Arizona v. California, 460 U.S. 605, 103 S. Ct.

NE CED Gilicictingiabistbieimssesl 516, 522-23, 526, 547-48

Arnold v. Morton, 529 F.2d 1101 (9th Cir. 1976) .......... 430

Atlantis Dev. Corp. v. United States, 379 F.2d 818

ee ae SD ictiniindh cent diicindiceeintinecteineentnccnetnns 530-31,

532, 533, 534-35, 539-40, 541, 544, 547

Beecher v. Wetherby, 95 U.S. 517 (1877) .........ccccceeeseees 44]

Borax Consolidated v. Los Angeles, 296 U.S. 10

ES ESN SET a Sena 234-35

California v. Arizona, 440 U.S. 59 (1979) ......cccccccccecceeeeees 5

California ex rel. State Lands Comm'n v. United

States, 457 U.S. 273 (1982) ............+.- 5, 6, 392, 393, 394

Cascade Natural Gas Corp. v. El Paso Natural Gas

ig, ee I ehiictnti hccitthitibeddiciacstcueiecesece 548

Clark v. Sandusky, 205 F.2d 915 (7th Cir. 1953) ........... 532

XiV TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Choctaw Nation v. Oklahoma, 397 U.S. 620

1 a ns 387, 395, 402

Cinque Bambini Partnership v. State, 491 So. 2d

508 (Miss. 1986), aff'd sub nom. Phillips Petro-

leum Co. v. Mississippi, 484 U.S. 469 (1988) ........... 379

Citizens to Preserve Overton Park, Inc., v. Volpe,

4O1 UG. 402 CIDT) ...cccsccerscccccrcscsrrccsscccccvccssssscsessose 332

Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes v. Namen,

665 F.2d 951 (9th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 459

U.S. GIF (TDBZ) .nreccevvcnvesecescesespessenscsscensscosonsvcces 420, 421

Corby Recreation, Inc. v. General Elec. Co., 581

F.2d 175 (Sth Cis. 1978) .............ccccccccsesserseseeeeoes 531-32,

540, 541-42, 544, 547

Corfu Channel Case, 1949 1.C.J. Rep. 4 ......cccseeseeeseeees 154

Coyle v. Smith, 221 U.S. 559 (U9) ....ccceseeseeeeeeeeeeeeenes 384

Dalva v. Bailey, 158 F. Supp. 204 (S.D.N.Y. 1957) ...... 532

Delimitation of the Continental Shelf (U.K. v. Fr.),

18 R. Int’ Arb. Awards 3 (1977) .........:cccceseeceeeees 301-02

Diaz v. Southern Drilling Corp., 427 F.2d 1118 (Sth

Cir.), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 878 (1970) .........eccee00e 527,

540, 544, 547

Re Dominion Coal Co., 40 D.L.R. 2d 593 (Sup. Ct.

DED. BOGDD cncstnteccscscescccersssinttiienssiommastsvinensininiocies 204-05

Edmondson v. Nebraska ex rel. Meyer, 383 F.2d

123 (tha Cir. 1967) ......cccccscocrcrscscrscccccscescscsecsoseossosees 538

Federal Crop Insurance Corp. v. Merrill, 332 U.S.

SED CIB G FD eccineccccccesesesncorscnnsesteinetensemerentanienscesassentabin 335

Finch v. Weinberger, 407 F. Supp. 34 (N.D. Ga.

1975), aff'd sub nom. Cash v. Mathews, 425

UB. DET (IBID ccccreccocsocccosssccsrccccscsopecsccostonasonsncasnones 527

CASES XV

Fisheries Case (U.K. v. Nor.), VOSV 1.0.3. 116 coccccccccceeee 53,

83, 93-98, 100, 191, 194, 207, 208-09, 218,

222, 224

Florida v. Georgia, 58 U.S. (17 How.) 478 (1854) ... 553-54

Florida Power Corp. v. Granlund, 78 F.R.D. 441

I I i cd 533

Francis v. Chamber of Commerce of the United

States, 481 F.2d 192 (4th Cir. 1973) oo... 531, 532

Hans v. Louisiana, 134 U.S. 1 (1890) .o....ccccccccccecccseeeees 520

Hobson v. Hansen, 44 F.R.D. 18 (D.D.C. 1968) ............ 534

Hynes v. Grimes Packing Co., 337 U.S. 86

Se ctiinuintininhaielehiitioedantcssaniiintds 409-10, 413, 415, 428

Illinois v. City of Milwaukee, 406 U.S. 91 (1972) ..... 549-50

International Tank Terminals Ltd. v. M/V Acadia

Forest, 579 F.2d 964 (Sth Cir. 1978) ....0..00.00.00.. 543, 544

Inupiat Community v. United States, 548 F. Supp.

182 (D. Alaska 1982) (Civil No. A81-019),

aff'd, 746 F.2d 570 (9th Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

474 U.S. 820 (1985) .........ccccceeee 9, 528, 558, 560, 561

Justheim v. McKay, 123 F. Supp. 560 (D.D.C.

1954), aff'd, 229 F.2d 29 (D.C. Cir.), cert.

GOMER, SOD UB. FE9 CRGBGD oseccseccnciccscesensvescivcesococece 427

Kaufman v. Wolfson, 137 F.Supp. 479 (S.D.N.Y.

EAD LET Bw LLG Re 532

Kheel v. American S.S. Owners Mut. Protection &

Indem. Ass'n, 45 F.R.D. 281 (S.D.N.Y. 1968) ..... 534-35

Knight v. United States Land Ass'n, 142 U.S. 161

EE OAL NED ES 378, 380

Kozak v. Wells, 278 F.2d 104

Se WU aid ee ee 532, 536, 539

xvi TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Legal Aid Soc'y v. Dunlop, 618 F.2d 48 (9th Cir.

19BD) ..crecccocssrcrsrrscreesesorsnessesoossonssesoonssssocsooessessoosososes 527

Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v. Pacific Indem. Co., 76

F.R.D. 656 (W.D. Pa. 1977) ....ccccccccccesseeeeeeeeeseneenenes 534

Louisiana v. Mississippi, 202 U.S. 1

(IDBBD scccscccscccssccccorionseseocesanntinn 66-67, 92, 112, 115, 116

McDonald v. E. J. Lavino Co., 430 F.2d 1065 (Sth

Che. 1970) ...ccccecccscccescccscccscccsnsesenossenssssbosssoostnssoosorsess 527

MacDonald v. United States, 119 F.2d 21 (9th Cir.

1940), modified sub nom. Great Northern Ry. v.

United States, 315 U.S. 262 (1942) ...... 542-43, 544, 548

Mahler v. Norwich & N.Y. Transp. Co., 35 N.Y.

BSB (IDES) ..cccccceccocssccevssevcosecnansonstnns 58-59, 91, 116, 173

Mammoth Oil Co. v. United States, 275 U.S. 13

COGRFD <cssiticsveinzessiaainiian OGRE IRS BD MB Bes 425

Manchester v. Massachusetts, 139 U.S. 240 (1891) .. 66, 115

Martin v. Travelers Indem. Cc., 450 F.2d 542 (Sth

Che. 1DT1) secccccccceccsescceconecsosstoonneseonatenveensbetbonarettonasens 531

Martin v. Waddell, 41 U.S. (16 Pet.) 367

(1OED) ...rcccrsccscossasscssbovessssnnnansiennianne 382, 383, 387, 402

Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725 (1981) ......... §22, 523

Metlakatla Indian Community v. Egan, 369 U.S. 45

(EDGED) .....00cccrcccoccesesccessessdensecosincesesioesienseteesubecsennnnies 400

Minnesota ex rel. Alexander v. Block, 660 F.2d

1240 (8th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S.

1007 (1962) ..cccccscosecccesccscecccrescscsssesbovssenessssctososssesonss 498

Monaco v. Mississippi, 292 U.S. 313 (1934) ......-0eeee 520

Montana v. Unit.4 States, 450 U.S. 544 (1981) ........000+ 10,

340-48, 366, 382-445 passim, 453, 454, 455,

461, 478, 495, 496, 499

CASES XVii

New Hampshire v. Maine, 426 U.S. 363 (1976) ..... 307, 351

New Jersey v. New York, 345 U.S. 369 (1953)

Gee Gendinddiasbestacuinessdssecudstesdteteteccesccecscees 521, 523

New Mexico v. Aamodt, 537 F.2d 1102 (10th

Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1121

EE TE eee 541, 544, 547

Ex parte New York (No. 1), 256 U.S. 490 (1921) ........... 521

Nuesse v. Camp, 385 F.2d 694

ET lita ciacnttnetetenssccannecs 531, 532, 536, 538

Office of Personnel Management v. Richmond, 496

EEE 335

Ohio v. Kentucky, 410 U.S. 641 (1973) ....ccccccccccceccccceeenees 7

Oklahoma v. Texas, 258 U.S. 574 (1922) 0.0.0.0... $22, 523

Oregon ex rei. State Land Board v. Corvallis Sand

& Gravel Co., 429 U.S. 363 (1977) .......000 384, 92-93

Otis Elevator Co. v. Standard Constr. Co., 10

F.R.D. 404 (D. Minn. 1950) .0.........cccccccccccceceeeeeeees 532

Packer v. Bird, 137 U.S. 661 (1891) .........cccccccccccceeeeees 387

Pan American Petroleum & Transp. Co. v. United

TET PIII ds cctcececsanenesenccasanesssccsseccee 425

Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Mississippi, 484 U.S. 469

STII Getailibdlniniiibeatiasebebddntsscceusreceesesceesce 348, 378-79, 402

Pierson v. United States, 71 F.R.D. 75 (D. Del.

IIT eisinsainiiteliaialernsineennsanentonqsonaqnenetsetecenseccaceee 539, 545

Pollard v. Hagan, 44 U.S. (3 How.) 212 (1845) ............. 15,

19, 50, 51, 113, 174, 346, 348, 381-84, 390,

391, 392, 402, 451, 455

Prentice v. Northern Pac. R.R., 154 U.S. 163

Ae Rh er 369-70, 482

xviii TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Service v. Dulles, 354 U.S. 363 (1957) .......0-seeeeeeeeeenens 334

Shively v. Bowlby, 152 U.S. 1 (1894) ......ceeeeeeeeee 15, 348,

384-86, 397, 402, 403, 414, 415, 456, 461

Smith v. Reeves, 178 U.S. 436 (1900) .......-cceceecereeeeerens 521

South Dakota v. Nebraska, Report of Special Mas-

ter Oren Harris (1977), exception overruled, 434

U.S. 948 (1977) ....ccccccscccecsevcenseneesensssenesnennenensensnenes 524

South Dakota v. Nebraska, 434 U.S. 948 (1977) ........-+ 522

Stadin v. Union Elec. Co., 309 F.2d 912 (8th Cir.

1962), cert. denied, 373 U.S. 915 (1963) ... 539, 544, 546

Sullivan v. United States, 348 U.S. 170 (1954) ......... 334-35

Texas v. Louisiana, 416 U.S. 965 (1974) ........c..cccceeeeees 523

Texas v. New Mexico, Report of Special Master

Charles J. Meyers (1986), exceptions sustained

in part and overruled in part, 482 U.S. 124

(1987) ........ceccscercessrrerecssensonensersnsenenenssnsnssosesensnnensenenees 12

Texas v. Oklahoma, Report of Special Master John

A. Carver, Jr. (1981), ordered filed, 450 U.S.

905; acted upon, 450 U.S. 1038 (1981)... 524

Texas & Pac. Ry. v. Marshall, 136 U.S. 393 (1890) ...... 320

Trbovich v. United Mine Workers, 404 U.S. 528

| 538, 539, 540, 544

United States v. Alaska, 422 U.S. 184 (1975) (Cook

en 6, 45, 52, 119-21, 163

United States v. Alaska (No. 84, Original)

442 U.S. 937 (1979) .....c.ecccesesesrseersensesesesesressennens 3, 517

444 U.S. 1065 (1980) .........:cccccceececeerseenenennnnnns 4, 6, 517

445 U.S. 914 (19D) ........0c.cccerreereeesererenseesssrceenes 4,517

452 U.S. 913 (1981) .........ccccccereeeeeeeeeneee 8, 515, 518, 560

465 U.S. 1018 (1984) ........ccccccccceereeeesennenenennennnnnnnnnnenns 9

CASES .

XIX

United States v. Alaska, 503 U.S. 569 (1992)

(Norton Sound) ..............ccccceeeees 171, 306, 313, 325, 330

United States v. Alaska, 423 F.2d 764 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied, 400 U.S. 967 (1970) (Kenai Moose

SUN necseniiteettaneiiabantentetenesinemaeeaedn cs 401, 420-21

United States v. Aranson, 696 F.2d 654 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied, 464 U.S. 982 (1983) .ooccccccccccccccesesceeeees 420

United States v. Brown, 552 F.2d 817 (8th Cir.),

cert. denied, 431 U.S. 949 (1977) oooocccccccccccecceeeeeeens 498

United States v. Caceres, 440 U.S. 741 er 334

United States v. California, 332 U.S. 19 (1947) ....c..00.... 15,

16, 56, 76, 336, 391-92, 394

United States v. California, 332 U.S. 804 (1947)

Sa I cectiecnctticcnieesiciticweticeeheseeni 77, 79, 100

United States v California, 334 U.S. 855 (1948)

(ordering appointment of Master) .0.0.0.00.0.0....cccccoccsoee. 77

United States v. California, 337 U.S. 952 (1949

(directing Master to proceed) 200.000... ccc... iiinssanbictbe 77

United States v. California, Report of Special

Master William H. Davis (under order of June

27, 1949) (1951) (Ak. Ex. 85-90), reprinted in

The Reports of the Special Masters of the United

States Supreme Court in the Submerged Lands

Cases, 1949-1987 (Michael W. Reed, G.

Thomas Koester, & John Briscoe eds., 1991),

OD Ul cncindncmpitntiicmatietenne ene 78, 87-88, 98, 101

United States v California, 341 U.S. 946 (1951)

(ordering a briefing on the Master’s report) ................ 98

United States v. California, 342 U.S. 891 (1951)

(ordering the Master to proceed with hearings) ........... 98

XX TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

United States v. California, Report of Special Mas-

ter William H. Davis (under order of Dec. 3,

1951) (1952), reprinted in Reed, Koester, &

Briscoe, supra page xix, at 65, and in 1 Aaron

L. Shalowitz, Shore and Sea Boundaries (U.S.

Dep’t of Commerce Pub. 10-1, 1962), at 329

(U.S. Ex. 85-205) ............. 100, 103-05, 152-53, 323-24

United States v. California, 375 U.S. 927 (1963)

(authorizing a supplemental complaint and new

exceptions to the Master’s report) ...........c...-eeeeeeeee 152

United States v. California, 381 U.S. 139 (1965) ...... 17-18,

21, 34-54 passim, 104~-72 passim, 177, 214,

228, 293, 306, 313-14, 323-25, 329, 330,

333, 350, 371

United States v. California, 382 U.S. 448 (1966)

(supplemental decree) ...............ceseeeeeeeeerennenees 234, 330

United States v. California, 432 U.S. 40 (1977)

(second supplemental decree) ............ 218, 222, 223, 351

United States v. California, 436 U.S. 32 (1978)

(Channel Islands National Monument) ..................... 392,

394, 401-402

United States v. California, 447 U.S. 1 (1980)

(effect of piers on the coastline) ................c00000 315-16

United States v. City of Anchorage, 437 F.2d 1081

(9th Cir. 1971) (Alaska Railroad) ...............006+. 401, 420

United States v. Cook, 86 U.S. (19 Wall.) 591 (1873) ... 441

United States v. Florida, 363 U.S. 121 (1960) ............... 142

United States v. Florida, Supplemental Report of

Special Master Albert B. Maris (1975) (U.S. Ex.

85-507), reprinted in Reed, Koester, & Briscoe,

supra page xix, at 575, decree entered, 425

4 00d 61

CASES xxi

United States v. Florida, 425 U.S. 791 (1976) .......... 61, 351

United States v. Holt State Bank, 270 U.S. 49

Res ae es FR Oe 386-87, 461

United States v. IBM, 62 F.R.D. 530 (S.D.N.Y.

FT BL ae eee 539, 544, 545

United States v. Louisiana, 339 U.S. 699 (1950) .............. 6,

53, 84, 86, 89, 110, 137, 161

United States v. Louisiana, 340 U.S. 899 (1950)

SNES ,sihiiecciirneniricntitnmniiebinlttiiadettitntiataemssins 110

United States v. Louisiana, 350 U.S. 990 (1956)

(granting leave to file complaint) .....................0000000- 110

United States v. Louisiana, 351 U.S. 978 (1956)

(enjoining new development in the disputed area

unless by agreement of the parties filed with the

ES en nee 110

United States v. Louisiana, 354 U.S. 515 (1957)

(finding that all the Gulf States should be parties) ..... 112

United States v. Louisiana, 363 U.S. 1 (1960) ........00.c0000+. 6,

114, 132, 142, 151, 400, 493—95

United States v. Louisiana, 364 U.S. 502 (1960)

EO thy SE RE SS 142

United States v. Louisiana, 382 U.S. 288 (1965)

(supplemental decree) ...............cccccccceeeeeee 6, 155-57, 158

United States v. Louisiana, 389 U.S. 155 (1967)

(concerning jetties off the Texas coast) ................. 37, 43

United States v. Louisiana (Texas Boundary Case),

ee a ce 293

United States v. Louisiana (Louisiana Boundary

Case), 394 U.S. 11 (1969) ............ 6, 16, 34-170 passim,

183-85, 199, 203-05, 230, 272, 291, 293,

305-06, 314-16, 324, 333, 338, 350

xxii TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

United States v. Louisiana, 404 U.S. 388 (1971)

(third supplemental decree) ..............:cessceeeeeeereneeeeeeees 6

United States v. Louisiana, 409 U.S. 17 (1972)

(fourth supplemental decree) ............cccccssseeerereeeeeeeneees 6

United States v. Louisiana, Report of Special Mas-

ter Walter P. Armstrong, Jr. (1974) (U.S. Ex. 85-

415), reprinted in The Reports of the Special

Masters of the United States Supreme Court in

the Submerged Lands Cases, 1949-1987

(Michael W. Reed, G. Thomas Koester, & John

Briscoe eds., 1991), at 181, and in 59 1.L.R. 249,

exceptions overruled, 420 U.S. 529 (1975) .......0000000 41,

48, 80-81, 151-52, 161, 162, 184, 292

United States v. Louisiana (Louisiana Boundary

Case), 420 U.S. 529 (1975) ........ 6, 41, 48, 152, 184, 292

United States v. Louisiana, 422 U.S. 13 (1975)

CORRES GGT cncecccetecccccststittitarmcinsccctesctzensenceqesse 6

United States v. Louisiana, 446 U.S. 253 (1980)

(interpreting the interim agreement of October

FD. adisdicenrenicsidiliheniatasividhinisinbititatinesnnepeenmseess 6, 111

OE EE URES LIN CP OEM 6

(Special Master discharged) .................c0:cseeeeeeeeeeeeeeees 6

United States v. Louisiana (Alabama and Missis-

sippi Boundary Case), Report of Special Master

Walter P. Armstrong, Jr. (1984) (U.S. Ex. 85-

503), reprinted in Reed, Koester, & Briscoe,

supra, at 349, confirmed in part, 470 U.S. 93

(BPGG) ncnsoceserecssessseccnossconssonsssonmnnpenbenpetaiataviecsonenpooeeses 30,

53, 54, 55, 80, 83, 92, 94, 97, 103

CASES xxiii

United States v. Louisiana (Alabama and Missis-

sippi Boundary Case), 470 U.S. 93 (1985) .....cccccccceeees 16,

29, 34, 44, 45, 52-55, 58, 67, 70, 79, 89, 94,

95, 133, 135, 158

United States v. Maine, Report of Special Master

Albert B. Maris (1974), reprinted Reed, Koester,

& Briscoe, supra page xxii, at 593, exceptions

overruled, 420 U.S. 515 (1975) cocccccccccsccccsesseseeceseeves 273

United States v. Maine, 420 U.S. 515 (1975) ........... 273, 392

United States v. Maine (Massachusetts Boundary

Case), 452 U.S. 429 (1981) (Massachusetts Bay

CONE TD a cidicichiccnsheddlbdsccdiadbitiensecsseesecccce 351

United States v. Maine (Rhode Island and New York

Boundary Case), Report of Special Master

Walter E. Hoffman (Oct. Term, 1983) (U.S. Ex.

85-125), reprinted in Reed, Koester, & Briscoe,

supra page xxii, at 809, exceptions overruled,

TE 210

United States v. Maine (Massachusetts Boundary

Case), Report of Special Master Walter E.

Hoffman (Oct. Term, 1984) (U.S. Ex. 85-903),

reprinted in Reed, Koester, & Briscoe, supra

page xxii, at 703 (Nantucket Sound and Vine-

yard Sound), exception overruled, 475 U.S. 89

CE ee a ee Te 57-58

United States v. Maine (Rhode Island and New York

Boundary Case), 469 U.S. 504 (1985) oo.ccccccccccececsesoes 60,

89, 184-85, 200, 209-12, 214

United States v. Maine, 475 U.S. 89 (1986)

(Nantucket Sound) ...............cc0s00c0000 45, 58, 135, 173-74

United States v. Mendoza, 464 U.S. 154 (1984) oo... 30

XXiV TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

United States v. Midwest Oil Co., 236 U.S. 459, 59

CBG, GES CRIED sesennticcsintesmtasin 406, 411, 412, 413, 473

United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683 (1974) ................. 334

United States v. Oregon, 295 U.S. 1

CRED ccralatusintiiinpilisaaisscsiipuiinniniiittnigniass 386-87, 403, 404

United States v. Texas, 339 U.S. 707 (1950) ...........ccc00000 84

United States ex rel. Accardi v. Shaughnessy, 347

Sh eG iteatierenennimmnepennn » 334

Utah v. United States, 394 U.S. 89

CRREED ccicercititineninmncgaininn 519, 521-22, 551-52

Utah v. United States, 780 F.2d 1515 (10th Cir.

1985), rev'd sub nom. Utah Div. of State Lands

v. United States, 482 U.S. 193 (1987) .....cc..-...-- 401, 444

Utah Div. of State Lands v. United States, 482 U.S.

SOD CODED icincenittectelescnindustidetlabeih inti 11, 347-48,

366, 382-445 passim, 454-56, 461, 495-99

Utah Power & Light Co. v. United States, 243 U.S.

I aa! oT 335

Vermont v. New York, 417 U.S. 270 (1974) ..c......-- 307, 351

Virginia v. Westinghouse, 542 F.2d 214 (4th Cir.

SOU ckicinssetiieianidedaieralaiec nei tetetinmitiatninstt 543

Vitarelli v. Seaton, 359 U.S. 535 (1959) ..ccccccssssessvssvees 334

Walden v. Elrod, 72 F.R.D. 5 (W.D. Okla. 1976) ... 539, 545

Walpert v. Bart, 44 F.R.D. 359 (D. Md. 1968) .............. 527

Wisconsin v. Baker, 698 F.2d 1323 (7th Cir.), cert.

denied, 463 U.S. 1207 (1983) ....ccccccocssssseseseveeees 404, 420

TREATIES XXV

Constitutions

U.S. Constitution

RET A i SR 432

i 5, 517

BR i ee oO I coca ca cecececceconccceseseceecemnce 384

Art. IV, § 3, cl. 2

(property clause) ................... 397, 398, 406, 456, 498

TE ihthintaciats mesdndaslahtinctdoctenutiniimacbensntne 520-24

Alaska Constitution .

FY PORNO ROR ONE CE REL RRe tee nee 34

| ES SSE ae a 400, 443

Treaties

Second Treaty of Fort Laramie, 15 Stat. 649

Ee eT 386, 422

North Sea Fisheries Convention, May 6, 1882, 160

ree ws 63, 290, 296

Convention on the Territorial Sea and the Contigu-

ous Zone, done Apr. 29, 1958, 15 U.S.T. 1606,

oe Ee ee 17-326 passim, 503

Article 3 ........... 21, 44, 229, 304, 314-16, 323, 333, 337

FOS Sieesticinovciveen 25-27, 29, 32, 43, 45-49, 134, 142,

153, 158-72, 503

ER Tt NE Sei AR POR. 304

IED cle dtniettidiireliinicckstemibenditdenhdidbiceeclidstesidloulhe 161

ESE RT ETC Y ees ee Se Fe 21

0 SE a ee ae TS ST 22

SE conititibihecceendintntincteeintercinn 44, 60, 153, 176, 371

SE a cme 195

| 181-226 passim

rn Lee 181

XXVi TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FT FAD ccctenevensiniibianiiincltiiaasitiaiiueniiinn 44, 51, 58

FN le inicecinesih ctetcihciiseremaiiiihidi ai 44, 314-16, 323, 337

BE ED ccttitndiitaniiniids 21, 228-29, 234, 269-310 passim

SITET initicctnntateseneninedaniaibiiaaiieeaeiadiiatll 230, 304, 338

SEITIIIEE TETT cxincncciacinidutiemnsenuniuantninnieimendideeabieaiiieiumadia 130

pS SS a SAAT RH LOE, fA ee an SEE 44, 371

Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties, done

May 22, 1969, 1155 U.N.T.S. 331. ..........ccccssersesersees 186

United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea,

done Dec. 10, 1982, in The Law of the Sea, U.N.

RG RS, ee ae 17, 198

Statutes

FEDERAL

Act of Apr. 8, 1812, ch. 50, 2 Stat. 701 (admitting

FY a eee 494

Act of Mar. 3, 1891, ch. 561, 26 Stat. 1095

OB BG scccitcieviectntiinttinintnniedeccissitnlitiiteiattivaenensvininne 424

§ 15 (codified at 25 U.S.C. § 495 (1988)) ................. 399

Act of Feb. 11, 1897, ch. 216, 29 Stat. 526 ................... 412

Act of May 14, 1898. See Alaska Right of Way Act

Act of June 6, 1900, ch. 786, § 26, 31 Stat. 321,

329-30 (current version at 30 U.S.C. § 49a (1988)) .. 408

Act of June 14, 1906, ch. 3299, 34 Stat. 263

(formerly codified as amended at 48 U.S.C.

ED cxtcschatcinstahinslltisibanstiaihinntinkideinisagenbinitietsivin 119

Act of June 26, 1906, ch. 3547, 34 Stat. 478

(Alaska commercial fisheries law) (formerly

codified as amended at 48 U.S.C. §§ 230-239,

IED tadtdaivaibdinindiiitietele ee tS 462, 465

STATUTES

Act of June 25, 1910. See Pickett Act

Act of Aug. 24, 1912, ch. 369, 37 Stat. 497

(amending the Pickett Act, infra) ............cccccccccc.-..... 475

Act of Aug. 24, 1912, ch. 387, 37 Stat. 512................... 415

Act of June 6, 1924, 43 Stat. 464 (Alaska com-

mercial fisheries law) (formerly codified as

amended at 48 U.S.C. §§ 221-228) (see also

, 2 fg aed luk ea

Act of May 1, 1936, ch. 254, § 2, 49 Stat. 1250

(amending the Wheeler-Howard Act, ch. 576,

48 Stat. 984 (1934)) (repealed 1976) ..................

Act of May 31, 1938, ch. 297, 52 Stat. 588

Act of July 1, 1943, ch. 183, 57 Stat. 301

(Alaska game law) (formerly codified as

amended at 48 U.S.C. §§ 192-211) ooo...

Act of Aug. 8, 1946, ch. 916, § 1, 60 Stat. 950

(amending the Mineral Leasing Act of 1920,

infra) (current version at 30 U.S.C. § 181

XS Ata 435

Act of July 31, 1947, ch. 406, 61 Stat. 681 (disposal

of materials on public lands) (codified as

amended at 30 U.S.C. §§ 601-604 ( PS 450

Act of Aug. 8, 1947, ch. 514, 61 Stat. 916..................... 408

a — Sept. 7, 1957, Pub. L. No. 85-303, 71 Stat.

Act of Feb. 28, 1958, Pub. L. No. 85-337, § 1(2),

72 Stat. 27 (codified at 43 U.S.C. § 155(2)

SSE TT Oo eee

ba of July 3, 1958, Pub. L. No. 85-505, 72 Stat.

6 Fe ES aD oe ee oe

XXViii TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act,

Pub. L. No. 96-487, 94 Stat. 2371 (1980) (codi-

fied primarily at 16 U.S.C. §§ 3001-3233

COTE etccsceceqqneqnecstcenrinecnagipeimaginepreancroneees 409, 451

Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act, 43 U.S.C.

§§ 1601-1629 (1988 & Supp. V 1993) (enacted

ES BRE OIE RES ET ye 423,

528, 529, 531, 535, 537, 550, 551, 552

Alaska Right of Way Act, ch. 299, 30 Stat. 409

(May 14, 1898) (current version primarily at 43

U.S.C. §§ 942-1 to 942-9 (198B8)) .........ccccccreeeeeereeees 406,

410-11, 414—16, 437, 438, 476-77

Alaska Statehood Act, Pub. L. No. 85-508, 72 Stat.

339 (1958), reprinted as amended in 48 U.S.C.

note preceding § 21 (1988) ..........c.sccccccereeereeerneerees 18,

21, 32-34, 34-35, 37, 50, 109, 117. 730-31,

436, 438, 439, 440, 442, 448, 453, 462

BD cecssenscsesuibisecesbishahwanaliipisidiitciestbdiabliciasalibesaatcunite 34

0D snccccsscenscseasennisciacesisiicendsdusbesiiiasiaidiadadbisstbitdsitalabbaiial 34

A ccscuncsinatcinncitocmntanvcdiittnininiididitedadiaiad 400, 423, 431, 443

OS sccocainnalaiaciiniaceatapemapstiuentinediiiitemnisiat 229, 431, 443, 457

I ncusssnrescscinnspprepndiniaeiienininiiailile 431, 443

Dn Se ee 229, 462

SIE siisiciensrastciininalisbicadiiliiiadaieh 457, 458, 462-67, 471, 477

BD cnncececien += .ccsctsscinticonasensticiennionssaiianenasnaaalte 462

FE a er ae ae OE ee 443. 44

ST ctimeitotenimmniinn 18, 35, 431, 442, 443, 457, 458, 467

2 ee ae 404, 432-34, 439, 442

Federal Land Policy and Management Act of 1976,

Pub. L. No. 94-579, 90 Stat. 2743

§ 204 (codified at 43 U.S.C. § 1714 (1988)) ............. 407

TET detscscnsepinniiacnaniaiepniiniaundyiniieidasanieebaieeay 407, 473

[i TEED <inarecesesnesinciningtinnsitinatudiiaimseianepeinnee 411, 477

STATUTES xxix

Federal Water Pollution Control Act, Pub. L. No.

92-500, sec. 2, § 404(a), 86 Stat. 816, 884

(1972) (codified as amended at 33 U.S.C.

I 317

Mineral Leasing Act of 1920, ch. 85, 41 Stat. 437

(current version at 30 U.S.C. §§ 181-287 (1988

& Supp. V 1993)) ......... 412-13, 426, 427, 434, 435, 436

Naval Petroleum Reserves Production Act of

1976, Pub. L. No. 94-258, § 102, 90 Stat. 303

(codified as amended at 42 U.S.C. § 6502

TE Ea eee 345, 430, 433

An Ordinance for the Government of the Territory

of the United States north-west of the river Ohio,

art. V (1787), reprinted in | Stat. 51, 53 and in

U.S.C., vol. 1, at li, Hifi (1994) ooo. ccccecccsccccsseeocees-.. 383

Oregon Donation Act, ch. 76, 9 Stat. 496 (1850) ........... 384

Outer Continental Shelf Lands Act, ch. 345,

67 Stat. 462 (1953) (codified as amended

at 43 U.S.C. §§ 1331-1356 (1988 & Supp. V

eth lt AMEE: SIE Bek tS ae 8, 16, 42, 230, 351

Pickett Act, ch. 421, 36 Stat. 847 (June 25, 1910)

§ 1 (repealed 1976) ......... 406-16, 425, 472, 473, 474-75

§ 2 (repealed in part 1976; current version at 43

U.S.C. § 142 (198B)) ..2.....2.0s0cccecececesesess 473, 475, 476

Pub. L. No. 99-272, § 8005, 100 Stat. 82, 151

(1986) (codified at 43 U.S.C. § 1301(b) (1988))

(amending the Submerged Lands Acct, infra) ............. 306

Rev. Stat. §§ 2329-2333 (1878) (current version at

30 U.S.C. §§ 35-38 (1988) ooo. ccccccccccecseceseseeseeeses 412

Rivers and Harbors Appropriation Act of 1899, ch.

425, § 10, 30 Stat. 1121, 1151 (1899) (as

codified at 33 U.S.C. § 403 (1988))

XXX TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

S.J. Res. 54, 68th Cong., Ist Sess., 43 Stat. 5 (Feb.

B, UGDG cnvciinininsitnidvicesscidiibuhiiaiilbiltis Mi ctaaitaditbaoaks 425

Submerged Lands Act, ch. 65, 67 Stat. 29 (1953)

(codified as amended at 43 U.S.C. §§ 1301-1315

(19BB)) ...crcccrscescessoesosssscossscosecnsscasabcsenneeessee 3, 16, 19, 35,

36-44, 50, 109-16, 152-53, 169, 172, 176,

228, 293, 306, 311, 323, 325, 338, 349, 350,

371, 391-94, 401, 451, 456, 486 & passim

§ 2, 43 U.S.C. § 1301 ....cccosscscersscsressororccosssoscossessoees 493

§ 2(a)(2), 43 U.S.C. § 1301(A)(2) -.rceecceeceeereerseeenenenees 16,

36, 38, 176, 313, 381

§ 2(b), 43 U.S.C. § 1301(b) ............. 16, 37, 38, 306, 494

§ 2(c), 43 U.S.C. § 1301(C) ...... 16, 39, 41, 176, 313, 330

§ 2(€), 43 U.S.C. § 1301(€) ......ccccercerreerreeerenenenes 442, 498

8 3, 43 U.B.C. § ISTE ncccrcscccssrsevsrcsssocssccqocenens 16, 442-43

§ 3(a), 43 U.S.C. § 1311(@) «0... ceecsereeeereneeenennensnesnsnenes 36,

176, 313, 392, 432, 458, 498

§ S(a), 43 U.S.C. § 1313(0) ...02.....0ssererceccesorsssesesssrsee 343,

393, 394, 401. 402, 432, 443, 444-45, 458,

467, 468, 470, 477

© D, 43 UBC.§ 15GB cccoccccsessrsvssersesesccesesinesatsonsnsasesoas 16

Sundry Appropriations Act of 1888, ch. 1069, 25

8 § ope 405, 408, 410, 413, 414, 444

Sundry Appropriations Act of 1890, ch. 837, 26

Beat, 371, FOG ncccccceccsssssssivuheobiseteseccletnemetaiinan 405, 406

Trans-Alaska Pipeline Authorization Act, Pub. L.

No. 93-153, title II, 87 Stat. 569, 584 (1973)

(codified at 43 U.S.C. §§ 1651-1655 (1988)) .......... 318,

326-27, 331, 332

28 U.S.C. § 1251(b)(2) (1988) .cccccccsscccvsvveeecnensvnneeseenennneess

28 U.S.C. § 2409(a) (1988) ....ccccvccsssscsscsseesecessssseeeeenennneess

46 U.S.C. app. § 251 (19BB) ........ccccccceeeeeeesnneenerennnnnnnnnns 119

RULES :

XXX

White Act, ch. 272, § 1, 43 Stat. 464 (June 6,

1924), as amended by Act of June 18, 1926,

ch. 621, 44 Stat. 752 (formerly codified at 48

J 4 SER 117-18, 119, 120, 121

STATE

Alaska Stat. Ann. § 38.05.137 (1989) S32 AN Se oe 8

Alaska House Joint Memorial 23, 1959 Session

Laws 434 (Mar. 17, 1959) ooo. occcccccseesecoccc---... 460

FOREIGN

Cuban Law Decree No. 1948 of Jan. i i a 125

Rules

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

en ahaa lel laa 533

a = eee IS 2 la Rae 524-25, 549

II ectcetesrachchccdenecidsscccsshensesecesnson 519, 527-48

Rule 24(a) advisory committee’ s note,

39 F.R.D. 69, 111 RS GO SR a ee 519

ti ae Ee ea 525-27, 528

= SE eT ae 562

Supreme Court Rules

Rule 9.2, 388 U.S. 937 (1966)... 524

Rule 17.2, 493 U.S. 1116 (1989)...

Ee

Xxxii TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Administrative and Executive Materials

Exec. Order No. 908 (July 2, 1908), microformed

on Presidential Executive Orders, Nos. 1-7403,

reel 2 (Library of Congress Photoduplication Serv.) . 424

Exec. Order No. 1733 (March 3, 1913), micro-

formed on Presidential Executive Orders, supra,

Exec. Order No. 3797-A (Feb. 27, 1923), micro-

formed on Presidential Executive Orders, supra,

reel 6, reprinted in Joint Statement 18a—20a ....... 343-45,

349, 350, 352-57, 359-64, 366-68, 371-72,

379-80, 405, 406, 416, 421-30, 440, 441,

474

Exec. Order No. 10,355 (1952), 3 C.F.R. 873

(1949-1953), reprinted as amended in 43 U.S.C.

§ 141 note (1988 & Supp. V. 1993) ... 448, 450, 472, 473

Proclamation No. 39, 27 Stat. 1052 (1892) .............. —_—

Proclamation of July 23, 1907, 35 Stat. 2149 ................ 424

Proclamation of Feb. 23, 1909, 35 Stat. 2231 ......... . 423-24

Proclamation No. 3269 (1959), 3 C.F.R. 4 (1959

1963), reprinted in 48 U.S.C. note preceding

§ 21, at 15 (1GEB) ..............c2cceccerevrerrereesereenees 18, 448-49

Proclamation No. 5928, 3 C.F.R. 547 (1988),

reprinted in 43 U.S.C. § 1331 note (1988) ....18, 216, 230

Reorg. Plan No. 2 of 1939, § 4(e), 3 C.F.R. 254,

256 (Supp. 1939), reprinted in 5 U.S.C. app. at

1435, 1436 (1994) .......00..-ccccscersccnovsevssencssresssesesesers 118

Reorg. Plan No. 3 of 1946, § 403, 3 C.F.R. 193,

196 (Supp. 1946), reprinted in 5 U.S.C. app. at

ST I Ci osincscsinhinnnsttiiantinnsionag cuun 356

ADMINISTRATIVE AND EXECUTIVE MATERIALS XXXili

DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Histor ical Studies Division, US. Dep’t of State,

trance, mn gen .

E 85- ¢ 5-12 >. US.

Historical Studies Division, U.S. Dep’t of se

Research Project No. 637, Status of Hecate”

Strait, 1876-1963 (1963) (Ak. Ex. 85-128) ....... 118, 122

Historical Studies Division, U.S. Dep’t of State,

Research Project No. 637B, Status of Queen

aa Sound, 1897-1963 (1963) (Ak. Ex.

| = Oe ee 118, 122

Historical Studies Division, U.S. Dep’t of

Research Project No. 0031-8, Unies Same

Policy Regarding the Oceans and the Law of the

Sea, 1960-1967 (1974), excerpt from 31

Sf 8 ee st fltetiveciiiens 169

DEPARTMENY OF JUSTICE

Seizure in Neutral Waters, | Op. Att’y Gen. 32 (1793) ... 57

Withdrawal of Public Lands, 40 Op. Att’y Gen. 73

PONG Te a ED ain halt hall 406

Title to Naturally-Made Lands Under the Sub-

merged Lands Act, 42 Op. Att’y Gen. 241 (1963) .... 292

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

45 Fed. Reg. 70,296 (1980) (Ak. Ex. 84A-8) ......... 258, 259

National Ocean Survey, U.S. Dep’t of Commerce, 9

United States Coast Pilot (9th ed. 1979) (Ak.

yg EE ieee 87, 139-40, 362, 366, 373, 374

XXXIV TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Chart No. 1, Nautical Chart Symbols and Abbrevi-

ations (Dep’t of Defense and Dep’t of Com-

merce, 7th ed. 1979) (Joint Ex. a) ...........cccccsceeeeereees 381

DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR

Regulations

43 C.F.R. §§ 295.9-295.11 (Supp. 1953) (promul-

gated, 17 Fed. Reg. 7368, 7677 (1952) ............0-+. 465-66

43 C.F.R. §§ 295.9-295.15 (as promulgated, 22

Fed. Reg. 6613 (Aug. 17, 1957)) ........cccccserceeeerereeees 447

IE cecterentrenpnintersannaeeammanesmacnmncnsditivien 471

§ 295.1 1(a) (1954, Supp. 1962)

E,W. I enstleersetnieremnnatentenntemevemete 452-53, 459

AT aCe 471

FO Fe ee itrrrcitentseccccssnnectrectinstowiintbensoetn 121

EE eee 121

21 Fed. Reg. 5446 (1956) .0.........cccccccsccceeneeeeeees 116-17, 122

SD Ba Be Ge cenecss cece cerrernsvenccnscscccsmnennt 116, 122

OE Fa certrtrcsecrsctanreretentnennevtscceneccities 116

25 Fed. Reg. 7681 (1960) (notice of proposed

revision of fish and wildlife regulations) ................... 116

25 Fed. Reg. 8397 (1960) (revision and

reorganization Of SOC.P.R.) .............cscmssrcseerseosesreess 116

Public land orders

Public Land Order 82, 8 Fed. Reg. 1599 (1943)

(withdrawing public lands for use in connection

with the prosecution of the war), rewoked by

Public Land Order 2215, 25 Fed. Reg. 12,599

en 452, 471, 483

ADMINISTRATIVE AND EXECUTIVE MATERIALS XXXV

Public Land Order 128, 8 Fed. Reg. 8557 (1943) esees 409-10

Pp ie 10 Fed. Reg. 9479 (1945) 345

Order 1749, 23 Fed.

“ae ee

or Order 2213, 25 Fed. Reg. 12,597

ont Re tC CC DeN See tes ea necenatntenteectabiteseeeceeesesesesses..,. 493

Public Land Order 2214, 25 Fed. Reg. 12,598

Cs a 449-50, 476, 477, 479, 493

Public Land Order 2215, 25 Fed. Reg. 12,599

GUID cccoccnesnas er EES Se 452

Public Land Order 2216, 25 Fed. Reg. 12,599

eet inetaricneiieen. 493

Withdrawal applications and amendments

23 Fed. Reg. 364 (1958) 0. 448, 449, 479

23 Fed. Reg. 7592 ( Le eae 474

23 Fed. Reg. 8163 (1958) (Ak. Ex. 74) 0. 469, 492

TTT TALE 492

ee 474

25 Fed. Reg. 10,323 ( nn 474

Administrative cases

State of Alaska, 102 IBLA 357 (Interior Bd. of

Land Appeals 85-768, June i 423

Solicitors’ opinions

(D.C. Cir. 1956), cert. denied, 356U.S. 933 (1956) . 427

XXXVi TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Memorandum from Acting Solicitor J. Reuel Arm-

strong to the Secretary of the Interior (Opinion

M-36239, Oct. 1, 1954) (Ak. Ex. 85-37, Ak. Ex.

85-335, U.S. Ex. 85-403) .......ccceeceeeeneerenenrnneesenenenenes 115

Memorandum from Deputy Solicitor Edmund T.

Fritz to the Under Secretary of the Interior

(Opinion M-36562, Aug. 21, 1959) (Ak. Ex.

TE secackaneincttcbisialecilsessctdheiessnsibheseesttl 469, 470, 492

Solicitor’s Opinion, 86 Interior Dec. 151 (1978)

(Ak. Ex. 80), supplemented and modified, 100

Interior Dec. 103 (1992) ........ccccereeeeeeneeeenensnenennennns 414,

427, 445, 452, 462, 469, 470-71, 484

DEPARTMENT OF THE NAVY

Navy Department, History of Naval Petroleum Re-

serves, S. Doc. No. 187, 78th Cong., 2d Sess.

(1944) ...ccccscsocorsvcesssssserensensnserssssssosnsnnsosenenses 412, 427-28

Notice of Boundary Descriptics: of Naval Petroleum

Reserve No. 4, 37 Fed. Reg. 10,088 (May 19,

1972) (Ak. Ex. 90) ..ccccsssvecsccccscesssssseos 349-50, 365, 381

DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY

33 CFR. § 209.120(g)(10) (1976), 40 Fed. Reg.

ee 329-30

33 C.F.R. § 209.120(i(2)( viii) (1976), 40 Fed. Reg.

31,322 Chal 25, IDPS) ccncccneceocoscccccorssnvesssseorone 328, 331

33 CFR. § 209.120, App. C (1976) ....coseesccsneecessnes 317, 318

33 CFR. § 320.4(f) (1994) -cccccccscsssssssssssssssssnossneesseseeee 330

OTHER

U.S. Public Land Law Review Comm’n, One Third

of the Nation's Land (1970) .........0-+-0:seseeeseveneees 395, 432

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS XXXVii

Report to the President by Emergency Board No

151 (appointed by Exec. Order 11,042, 3 C.F.R.

626 (1959-63)) (Southern Pac. Co. & Brother-

hood of Ry. Clerks, Nat’! Mediation Bd. Case

| i alls, Si aati 309

Legislative Materials

PICKETT ACT (1910)

45 Cong. Rec. 621 (1910) .o.cccccccccccscssssssssssssssesosesssseeson 412

Oil-land Withdrawals and the Protection of

Locators of Oil Lands: Hearings on H.R. 24070

Before the House Comm. on the Public Lands,

Gist Cong., 2d Sess. (1910) oo.cccccccccccsecceseees 412, 413-14

SUBMERGED LANDS ACT (1953)

Submerged Lands: Hearings on S.J. Res. 13 and

Related Bills Before the Senate Comm. on Inte-

rior and Insular Affairs, 834 Cong., 1st Sess.

ORES. 6: a A ch 100

S. Rep. No. 133, 83d Cong,, Ist Sess. (1953) ........... 40, 468

99 Cong. Rec. 2619, 4236 (1953) ooeccccccccesssessesesssen 468, 469

99 Cong. Rec. 4240-43 (1953) oo.cccccccoccsesscssssssseoeseee 40, 41

99 Cong. Rec., pt. 13, at 583, 601-02 (1953) ooo... 486

ACT OF SEPTEMBER 7, 1957

H.R. Rep. No. 950, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. (1957) ........... 437

S. Rep. No. 1045, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. (195

reprinted in 1957 U.S. Code Cong. rym

OU bnccerersernntencciiiehdeshienenenrsesiniinmenninetecsenn 437, 438

XXXViii TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

ACT OF JULY 3, 1958

S. Rep. No. 1720, 85th Cong., 2d Sess. (1958),

reprinted in 1958 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

News 2893 ........ sailtinabbiadaeeensdliaiaeustiitnnninanes 434, 435, 438

104 Cong. Rec. 11,900, 12,256—57 (1958) .........0006 435-36

Alaskan Submerged Lands: Hearings on H.R. 8054

Before the Senate Comm. on Interior and Insular

Affairs, 85th Cong., 2d Sess. (1958) .......:::0000+ 435, 436

H.R. 8054, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. § 1, 103 Cong.

Ras. 19,GID—13 CIDA) cnrcccececccecesesccsesessssececososocsoscese

ALASKA STATEHOOD ACT (1958)

S. Rep. No. 1929, 81st Cong., 2d Sess. (1950) ....... 464, 466.

Alaska Statehood: Hearings on S. 50 Before the

Senate Comm. on Interior and Insular Affairs,

83th Cong., 2d Sess. (1954) ............. 35, 36, 38, 438, 439

Alaska-Hawaii Statehood, Elective Governor, and

Commonwealth Status: Hearings on S. 49, S.

399, and S. 402 Before the Senate Comm. on In-

terior and Insular Affairs, 84th Cong., 1st Sess.

CBDGBD ccccescocsssnscssnsscsrencactolisiisiotslitzentnabisntitnanitiateeene

Hawaii-Alaska Statehood: Hearings on H.R. 2535,

H.R. 2536, and Related Bills Before the House

Comm. on Interior and Insular Affairs, 84th

Comg,, bat Seas. (9958) ..ccrcccccocccccsecsceresessesoces 35, 38, 439

Alaska Statehood: Hearings on S. 49 and S. 35 Be-

fore the Senate Comm. on Interior and Insular

Affairs, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. (1957) ......cc.ccccceceeeeeeees 439

Statehood for Alaska: Hearings on H.R. 50 and

Other Bills Before the Subcomm. on Territorial

and Insular Affairs of the House Comm. on

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS ,

XXXxix

Interior and Insular Affairs, 85th Cong., Ist

OG adenine ns 439, 466-67

H.R. Rep. No. 624, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. (1957)

reprinted in 1958 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin

RP iilicetnierhsinthntdi Eta et 439, 465

104 Cong. Rec. 9410-1] a ~

ARCTIC WILDLIFE RANGE

S. y 899, 86th Cong., Ist Sess. (1959), reprinted in

rctic Wildlife Range—Alaska, Lee 476

Miscellaneous Fish and Wildlife Le

gislation: Hear-

ings Before the Subcomm. on Fisheries and ng

Wildlife Conservation of the House Comm. on

Merchant Marine and F. isheries, 86th Cong., Ist

scsceh spac, re ne aT 460

Biren tacmnbcerenieg at Agama

(U.S. Ex. 28) marvel aee hiatal oe 460

106 Cong. Rec. 2516 RELI 460-61

H.R. 7045, 86th Cong., 2d Sess. (1960 ae

House, U.S. Ex. al ineniaia dois ohare 461

Arctic Wildlife Range—Alaska: Hearings on S.

1899 Before the Merchant Marine and Fisheries

Subcomm. of the Senate Comm, on Interstate and

Foreign Commerce, 86th Cong., Ist & 2d Sess

pts. 1 & 11(1959-60) -.. 461, 476

OTHER

Provisional U.S. Charts Delimitin

1g Alaskan Terri-

torial Boundaries, Hearing Before the rte

Comm. on Commerce, 92d Cong., 2d Sess.

(1972) (Ak. EX. 85-23) oo... cccccccccssssseeeeessesss... 118, 165

—_ — a retinas gece —

xl TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 942, 94th Cong., 2d Sess.,

reprinted in 1976 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

I

International Materials

LEAGUE OF NATIONS

j he Codification

League of Nations Conference for t )

of International Law [1930) (ed. Shabta

Rosenne 1975) (4 vols.) ...... cee 68, 186

Conference for the Codification of im fonal

Law, 2 Bases of Discussion J errit aters,

League of Nations Doc. C.74.M@.39 1929 V

(1929), reprinted in 2 Rosenne, supra, ana

j . Ex. 85-4 ( Bases of

yma stg _—~ . ae were 68-70, 71, 294-95

Acts of the Conference for the Codification of In-

’ no “pe Minutes of the Second Commit-

tee: Territorial Waters, League of Nations Doc.

C.351(b).M.145(b).1930.V (1930), reprinted in

4 Rosenne, supra, and excerpted in Ak. Ex. 85-1

" 68, 71, 72,

“Acts of Conference”) ........c.sscccseeeeeeeeneeesennnes , 71,

one ~~ 75, 76, 101, 102, 187-88, 293, 294, 296

UNITED NATIONS

G.A. Res. 174 (II), 2 U.N. GAOR (123rd plen.

mtg., Nov. 21, 1947) at 105, U.N. Doc. A/519

(BTID eccccnctesccccrssantenrsenesecosenssnssncnessotoent iacherenrmers

Yearbooks of the International Law Commission,

1951-1956, U.N. Docs. A/CN.4/SER.A/1951 &

1951/Add.1 through A/CN.4/SER.A/1956 & yan

I" cascardnomsiliadgnbsendennsenennes 186,

INTERNATIONAL MATERIALS xli

Report of the International Law Commission to the

General Assembly, 6 UN. GAOR Supp. (No. 9),

U.N. Doc. A/1858 (1951), reprinted in [1951] 2

Y.B. Int’) L. Comm’ n 123 o.o.cccccccccccccseeses. 122-23, 188

J.P.A. Frangois, Report on the Régime of the Terri-

torial Sea, U.N. Doc. A/CN.4/53 (1952) (in

French), [1952] 2 Y.B. Int’] L. Comm’n 25 ..... 189, 297

J.P.A. Frangois, Second Report on the Régime of

the Territorial Sea, U.N. Doc. A/CN.4/6] (1953)

(in French), [1953] 2 Y.B. Int’l L. Comm’n 57 . 189, 297

Report of the Committee of Experts on Technical

Questions Concerning the Territorial Sea,

Annex to Frangois, Addendum to the Second

Report on the Régime of the Territorial Sea

NE tata 189, 193, 200

J.P.A. Frangois, Addendum to the Second Report on

the Régime of the Territorial Sea, U.N. Doc.

A/CN.4/61/Add.1 (1953) (in French), [1953] 2

Y.B. Int’! L. Comm’n 75; also U.S. Ex. 85-228

+ Naina Sia 2 Ra Se (sie ee 189

J.P.A. Frangois, Third Report on the Régime of the

Territorial Sea, U.N. Doc. A/CN.4/77 (1954) (in

French), [1954] 2 Y.B. Int’] L. Comm’n 1 ......... 190, 297

Summary Records of the 260th Meeting, [1954] |

YB. Tot?) L. Comm'n 90 0.........ccccesceccoscescossesceess...... 297

Report of the International Law Commission to the

General Assembly, 9 UN. GAOR Supp. (No. 9),

U.N. Doc. A/2693 (1954), reprinted in [1954] 2

Y.B. Int?) L. Comm’ n 140 ooo. cccccccccccccscoscoeesseseoeees.. 297

J.P.A. Francois, Amendments Proposed on the Basis

of the Observations of Governments on the Draft

of Provisional Articles Adopted by the Commis-

xlii TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

sion at Its Sixth Session, U.N. Doc. A/CN.4/93

(1955) (in French), [1955] 2 Y.B. Int’ L.

Copeman $ ccccccscnssvsctinivsictsosrcscsescesccnsscessvessvecscvnensncete 190

Summary Records of the 317th Meeting, {1955} |

Y.B. Int’) L. Comm’ n 201 .......cccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeneeee 191, 193

Summary Records of the 318th Meeting, [1955] |

Y.B. Int’) L. Comm’ n 207 ........:cccccceeeeereees 191, 192, 209

Summary Records of the 324th Meeting, {1955} |

Y.B. Int’) L. Comm’ n 247 ........cccccccsssrrrereessenseesens 192

Report of the International Law Commission to the

General Assembly, 10 U.N. GAOR Supp. (No.

9), U.N. Doc. A/2934 (1955), reprinted in

[1955] 2 Y.B. Int’) L. Comm’ n 19 ........cccceceeee 192, 193

Summary Records of the 365th and 366th Meetings,

[1956] 1 Y.B. Int’) L. Comm’ n 187 .........0ccccceseeeereees 194

Report of the International Law Commission to the

General Assembly, 11 GAOR Supp. (No. 9),

U.N. Doc. A/3159 (1956), reprinted in [1956] 2

Y.B. Int’l L. Comm'n 253 .... 124, 129-30, 194, 195, 298

U.N. Conference on the Law of the Sea, Official

Records. U.N. Docs. A/CONF.13/37-39 (1958)

(3 WOES.) .cccccccoscressccrescscecssroponnesooossonsoseoessnsesnessoossoosese 186

U.N. Doc. A/CONF.13/C.1/L.101 (1958), U.N.

Conference on the Law of the Sea, 3 Official

U.N. Doc. A/CONF.13/C.1/L.109 (1958), U.N.

Conference on the Law of the Sea, 3 Official

SSS RE eee = 195

U.N. Doc. A/CONF.13/C.1/L.112 (1958), U.N.

Conference on the Law of the Sea, 3 Official

IE TIE sna ceccnstninsneniadiaianinateaanesnmniauntniiia 299-300

PLEADINGS, BRIEFS, ARGUMENTS

xliii

U.N. Doc. A/CONF.13/C.1/L.116 (1958), U.N.

Conference on the Law of the 3 Offici

het RCN a TR. i sedeaashics , pa paaA 130

U.N. Conference on the Law of the Sea, Ist

Comm., 47th mtg., 3 Official Records 144 (1958) .... 196

U.N. Conference on the Law of the Sea, Ist

Comm., 52d mtg., 3 Official Records 160 (1958) ..... 300

U.N. Conference on the Law of the Sea, 19th

é len.

mtg., 2 Official Records 61 (1958) ........... ‘ ienaiis 196, 300

U.N. Office for Ocean Affairs and the Law

of the

Sea, The Law of the Sea: Baselines, an Examina-

tion of the Relevant Provisions of the United Na-

tions Convention on the Law of the Sea, U.N.

Sales No. E.88.V.5 (corrected printing 1989) ...... 17, 198

Pleadings, Briefs, Arguments

UNITED STATES V. CALIFORNIA

Memorandum of the United States in Respo

; nse to

Request of Special Master of June 29, 1949,

United States v. California (No. 11, Orig.)

(U.S. Ex. 85-202, Ak. Ex. 85-63) oooccccccsccoooos-...... 76-78

Brief for the United States in Answer to Califor-

nia’s Exceptions to the Report of the Speci

pecial

Master (June 1964) (Ak. Ex. 85-16), United

States v. California, 381 U.S. 139 EE 131-32

Brief in Support of Exceptions of the State of Cali-

fornia to the Report of the Special Master Dated

October 14, 1952, Pursuant to Court Order of

December 2, 1963, United States v. Cali

381 U.S. 139 (1965) _

xliv TABLE ©F AUTHORITIES PLEADINGS, BRIEFS, ARGUMENTS

xlv

UNITED STATES V. LOUISIANA Brief for the State of Mississippi in Support of Mo-

Brief for the United States in Support of Motion for Gon for (Before the Spe-

Judgment (Feb. 1957) (Ak. Ex. 85-6), United cial Master) (1983) (Ak. Ex. 85-31), United

States v. Louisiana, 363 U.S. 1 (1960) ..........:0000+ 111-12 5 v. Louisiana, 470 U.S. 93 (1985) oo... 79-80, 94

Brief for the United States in Support of Motion for neply Brief for the State of Mississippi (1984) |

Judgment on Amended Complaint (May 1958) nited States v. Louisiana (Alabama and Missis-

(Ak. Ex. 85-7), United States v. Louisiana, 363 ‘ppi Case), 470 U.S. 93 (1985) 55. 94

TT UY See re 91, Transcript of oral argument (1984) [mised

112, 114, 115, 137, 146, 149 Louisiana Siicesend knee hao er v

Reply Brief for the United States (Sept. 1958) (Ak. Case), 470 U.S. 93 (1985) (Ak. Ex. 85-2314) $5

Bu, 05-10, Ottis ieee a eae ss UCC (i i‘CiéC OO OC!

3 CROGED .-ocmperinsininnssiigaieaiaiainaaaiae 84, 112, 116, 137 UNITED STATES V. MAINE

Motion by the United States for Entry of a Supple- Supplemental Post Trial Brie: of the United §

mental Decree (No. 1), Proposed Supplemental (Before the Special Master) (1985) (Ak. mo.

Decree, and Memorandum in Support of Motion 333), United States v. Maine, 475 U.S. 89 ( 1986

(filed Nov. 23, 1965) (Ak. Ex. 85-167), United (Massachusetts Case) ........ rs 3

States v. Louisiana, 382 U.S. 288 (1965) .........0++ 155-57 ee , 135

Motion by the United States for Entry of a Supple- Xa =e

mental Decree as to the State of Louisiana (No. Application of the United Kingdom, 1l9SI LCS

2), Proposed Supplemental Decree, and Memo- Pleadings (1 Fisheries Case) (Sept. 24 1949)

randum in Support of the Motion of the United Memorial of the United Kingdom ett.

States and in Opposition to the Motion of the 1951 CJ, Pleadings ( (U.K. v. Nor.),

State of Louisiana (filed Jan. 3, 1968) (Ak. Ex. annex III (Jan = io Fisheries Case),

85-168), Louisiana Boundary Case, 394 U.S. 11 4a, __ a 217, 224

Counter-Memorial of Norway (U.K. v. Nor.), 195]

(IDG) ..ccsevesvinivecsiseechinstuisiaiaieesiaipiaisaasiiaiumaall 159, 160

LC.J. Pleadings (1 Fisheries Case) (July 31,

Brief for the United States (Aug. 1968) (Ak. Ex. 1950)...

25-34. US. te 05900) Ee a. 95

Louisiana, 394 U.S. 11 (1969) «0... 157, 160-61, 162 ics a Yaar (U.K. v. Nor.), 195]

Reply Brief for the United States (Sept. 1968) (Ak. 1950)... (2 Fisheries Case) (Nov. 28,

S an kidman!!! lke 96, 97

Th), A 162 yo me: of the United Kingdom, 1951 1.C.J

xvi TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Other Materials

Hans W. Baade, Proving Foreign and International

Law in Domestic Tribunals, 18 Va. J. Int'l L.

619 (1978) .ncnccccececesesssserererserensnsensnensnsnnsnsnenenenenneneness 273

Max W. Ball, Petroleum Withdrawals and Restora-

tions Affecting the Public Domain (U.S. Geolog-

ical Survey Bull. 623, 1916) ....-.------ev-eseerreeeeeeee 412, 425

David W. Barnes, Statistics as Proof (1983) ....2.---ec0eeeee 268

Ernest C. Baynard, Public Land Law and Proce-

dure § 1.1 (1986) ...-.eccccseenesnesnsnnennenennennsnnensnnsnnsnnenes 408

P.B. Beazley, Maritime Limits and Baselines: A

Guide to Their Delineation (The Hydrographic

Society, Spec. Pub. No. 2, 2d ed. rev. 1978)

(U.S. Ex. 85-229) ......esesecesesneneenenensnnnnenenens 209, 212, 214

Frederick W. Beechey, Narrative of the Voyage of

the Blossom (London 1831) .....-.----esrenersenennennennes 363

Black's Law Dictionary

6th Od. 1990 .....cccceccersercesscersensensensnesneesennnnnennaneennanens 321

Bd Od. 1933 ..ceccecensencercenssssnrsreenernsnsenssnsenssnssossnssnseness 371

Vd Od. 1910 ...ccececcessersecesseorerseneneenssnesesnnensennenssnnennenees 371

Ex. 85-61, U.S. Ex. 85-223) ..--cccevsenceeneernnrnennenennnennees 71,

73, 75, 79, 80, 88, 96, 116, 127, 188

S. Whittemore Boggs, Delimitation of Seaward

Areas under National Jurisdiction, 45 Am. J.

Int’l L. 240 (1951) (Ak. Ex. 85-96, U.S. Ex. 85-

DIA) cececuseseenssssesssssnsreresssnensnsensnenensnsenensneneness 88, 127, 128

OTHER MATERIALS

Susan B. Boyd, The Legal Status of the Arctic Sea

Can. YB. Int'l L. rye a Proposal, 22

E.D. Brown, Sea-Bed Energy and Mineral

snnaroes and the Lane ef the See: The Areas

ithin National Jurisdiction (1984)

John L. Burdick et al., Cold Regions: Descriptions

and Geotechnical Aspects, in Geotechnical Engi-

my hom ye 1 (Orlando B. Anders-

& Duwayne M. Anderson eds. 1978) ................ 271

Jonathan |. Charney, The Offshore Jurisdic.

’ tion

the States of the Aone tyr +d

of Canada—A Comparison, 12 Ocean Dev. &

Int’! L. 301 (1983), also in The Law of the Sea

and Ocean Industry: New Opportunities and

Restraints 426 (Douglas M. Johnston & Norman

G. Letalik eds., 1984) .

“an i 171

: Colombos, nternational Law

Sea (6th rev. ed. 1967) es 273

B. acter ae

Beyer ed., 28th ed. 1987) ........ babs Nascraadon tal 180

l —- Davis & Richard J. Pierce, Jr.,

Pp ny Law Treatise (3d ed. 1994) |... 335

Denis P. Duffey, The Northwest Ordinance

Constitutional Document, 95 4

929 (1995) ooo cccecoecsssoee imc 384

Euclid, The Thirteen Books of Euclid's Elements

(Thomas L. Heath trans., 2d ed., Dover reprint

Ri a el Maca 213

The Federalist No. 81 (Alexander ete o.. 520

Sir Gerald Fitzmaurice, The Territorial Sea and the

Contiguous Zone, 8 Int’! and Comp. L.Q. 73

(1959) (Ak. Ex. 85-406) ........cccccccecseereeneeeneneenennenanees 197

Stewart French & John C. Reed, Boundaries and

Status of Naval Petroleum Reserve No. 4 (Arctic

Inst. of N. Am., July 1971 & rev. & expanded

Sept. 1971) (Ak. Exs. 102, 103) ..........-c0000 349-50, 380

Thomas W. Fulton, The Sovereignty of the Sea

| |) a 290, 291

1 Green H. Hackworth, Digest of International Law

(1940) (Ak. Bx. 8S-SZ) ..20...000-.ccccescccccreevsreserceersonses 67-68

William E. Hall, /nternational Law (4th ed. 1895)

CRS Ss ae 65, 67

Robert D. Hodgson, /slands: Normal and Special

Circumstances, in Law of the Sea: The Emerging

Regime of the Oceans 137 (John K. Gamble &

Giulio Pontecorvo eds. 1974) .........cccccccseeeeereeenennens 272

Robert D. Hodgson & Lewis M. Alexander,

Towards an Objective Analysis of Special Cir-

cumstances (Law of the Sea Inst., Univ. of R.L.,

Occasional Paper No. 13, 1972) (Ak. Exs. 85-

401, -403, U.S. Ex. 85-222) ............... 206, 209, 212, 214

R.H. Kennedy, A Brief Geographical and Hydro-

graphical Study of Straits Which Constitute

Routes for International Traffic, U.N. Doc.

A/CONF.13/6 & Add. 1, in U.N. Conference on

the Law of the Sea, 1 Official Records 114, U.N.

Doc. A/CONF.13/37 (1958) .........cc.ccccccssoressereeeeesesees 70

OTHER MATERIALS shixe

Ernest de K. Leffingwell, The Canning River

Region, Northern Alaska (U.S. Geological Sur-

Professional Paper 109, 1919) (U.S. Ex.

prs Se 241, 363, 429

Myres S. McDougal & William T. Burke, The

Public Order of the Oceans (1962) a a ee 303

Vincent L. McKusick, Discretionary Gatekee :

The Supreme Court's Management of lis Orit

nal Jurisdiction Docket Since 1961, 45 Me. L.

Rev. 185 (1993), reprinted in 138 Proc. Am

Phil. Soc’y 195 (1994)... Sie 7

i be Ex. 84A-404) oo. 235, 236, 237, 238, 258

‘A. Marmer, Tidal Datum Planes (U.S. Dep’t of

Commerce, Special Pub. No. aT 235

cen, att et ee ROLES KEEL TO 274

| John B. Moore, Digest of International

(1906) SR em halon iwdngen seubeusecte 70, 102

the Sea (1.A. Shearer ed. 1982) .... 182, 204, 273-74, 297

Donald J. Orth, Dictionary of Alaska Place Names

(U.S. Geological Survey Professional Paper 567,

rev. 1971) (Ak. Ex. 75) ..........cccsscssososss...... 361, 362, 363

l TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

R.S. Patton, The Three-Mile Limit [1930] (Ak. Ex.

85-56, U.S. Ex. 85-200) ......ccssescersersseesenceesnerennenenees 187

G. Etzel Pearcy, Measurement of the U.S. Territo-

rial Sea, Dep’t St. Bull., June 29, 1959, at 963

(Ak. Ex. 85-138), reprinted as Dep't of State

Pub. 6879, General Foreign Policy Series 139

(U.S. Ex, 85-231) ...ccccccssrcerersereenceennnnnnenensnnsnenes 136, 164

Donat Pharand, The Law of the Sea of the Arctic

(1973) ....c.ecsrcsssesscsssersensessorersnsenessensnorsnsesenensensenens 273-74

Richard R. Powell, The Law of Real Property (rev.

Od. 19BB) ......ccccsccseesssscscssscessvvesensensenssessossrsrsnnsesenss 370

Malcolm J. Proudfoot, Measurement of Geographic

Area (U.S. Dep’t of Commerce, Bureau of the

Census, 1946) (excerpted in Ak. Ex. 85-77 and

U.S. Ex. 85-706) ......ccccsssccssscssssrsersseeessesesssensonsnees 80-83

Reginald W. Ragland, A History of the Naval Petro-

leum Reserves and of the Development of the

Present National Policy Respecting Them

(1944) .......cceccesceorersessserenseonsssenssnsenseossossossnseenses 412, 428

Peter Raven-Hansen, Regulatory Estoppel: When

Agencies Break Their Own “Laws,” 64 Tex. ke

Rev. 1 (1985) .......:ccscccsersnerssesessensensensenennessnsnnsnnnensenes 335

John C. Reed & Stewart French, Boundaries, and

Status of Land and Resources, of Naval Petro-

leum Reserve No. 4 (Arctic Inst. of N. Am., rev

& expanded Mar. 1975) (Ak. Ex. 105) .......e-seeesees 354

Restatement of the Foreign Relations Law of the

United States (Tent. Draft No. 1, Apr. 26, 1957) ...... 125

Restatement of the Foreign Relations Law of the

United States (Tent. Draft No. 2, May 8, 1958) ........ 125

OTHER MATERIALS l

1

Restatement (Third) of the Foreign i

Relations

of the United States (1986) ................. seat 186

— The Concept of a Bay as In-

aters, 13 Surveying and Mapping 432

(1953) (Ak. Exs. 85-43, EGY ae 187

US. De Pm ge ‘

S. *to

Ws D Pub. 10-1, 1962-64)

22, 53, 59, 60, 84, 85. 88.93

: , , SJ : + 94, 99, 100,

101, 102, 103, 104, 108, 111, 115, 128. 134

142, 147, 156, 173, 187, 188, 231, 232, 234

235, 236, 237, 258. 259 261. >

’ , ’ > , 62,

370, 376-77, 381, 414, 486 site

~— Ney ¥~ sari yaa on Intervention

ourts, Agencies Arbitrat

Harv. L. Rev. 721 (1968) a

~~ W. Skadel, The Coastal Boundaries of

aval Petroleum Reserve No. 4 (University of

Alaska Sea Grant Program, Alaska

Sea

Rep. No. 73-12, 1974) (Ak. Ex. 10) a

Resources of Northwestern Alaska

(U.S.

Geological Survey Bull. 815, 1930)

Robert L. Swanson, Variability o

Tidal Datums

and Accuracy in Det rey!

‘obert W. Swensen, Legal Aspects of Mineral Re-

sources Exploitation, in Paul W. Gates, Hist

sovessvevevessussesessnnosooesssoososceseneosusvedsbvecesersssssseees 16,

lii TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Clive Symmons, The Maritime Zones of Islands in

International Law (1979) ....-++-s-sssssenenenereenenene® 273, 274

Donald M. Taylor, Man-made Permafrost Islands

for Offshore Drill Sites? Ocean Industry, Nov.

1972, Bt 42 .accececsscsssrersersenenennensnsessncssensnssnenssnenees® 272-73

Bo J. Theutenberg, The Evolution of the Law of the

Sea: A Study of Resources and Strategy with

Special Regard to the Polar Regions (1984) .......-+++: 274

James E. Thompson, Geometry for the Practical

Man (M. Peters ed., 3d ed. 1962) ..eccsssvsereerereeesreenenes 213

Kathleen L. Walz, The United States Supreme

Court & Article VII of the 1958 Convention on

the Territorial Sea & Contiguous Zone, \1

USF. L. Rev. 1 (1976) ...-.:-ssserssersesnerennnnnnsnenenes 212, 213

Gayl S. Westerman, The Juridical Bay (1987) ...----. 183, 199

Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (3d ed. 1916) ...----++000 372

Webster's Ninth New Collegiate Dictionary (1987) .....-- 321

Charles F. Wheatley, Jr., Study of Withdrawals and

Reservations of Public Domain Lands (U.S. Pub-

lic Land Law Review Comm’n, | Background

Studies, 1969 & photo. reprint) .....-+-+-----esesre0" 395, 473

Charles A. Wright & Arthu: H. Miller, Federal

Practice and Procedure, Civil §§ 1909, 1917

(1972) .ccessosssvssneenecssensnsnnennssnsssnennccnscnnsenssesees 525-26, 548

Charles A. Wright, Arthur H. Miller, & Edward H.

Cooper, Federal Practice and Procedure, Juris-

diction § 4416 (1981) .....s+:+-ssssesrsrsenennenensenensnnensnserens 553

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

No. 84, Original

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Plaintiff,

Vv.

STATE OF ALASKA

REPORT OF THE SPECIAL MASTER

Drew S. Days, III, Solicitor

idic«h United States De-

Bruce Bothelo

dant Attorney General of Alaska, for defen-

Louis

is F. Claiborne, Deputy Solicitor

Assistant Solieg General and Special

Gueaien Ge General; Michael W. Reed and

Cesrics W. Findlay, Il, Environment and Natural Resources

G US. Department of Justice for - T

Thomas Koester, Assistant Attore —

D.C., for Amoco Production Co. et al. as amici curiae

opposing the motion for leave to intervene.

I

INTRODUCTION

A. Nature of the controversy

These proceedings concern the rights to lands underlying

tidal waters off the Arctic coast of Alaska. The objective is

to identify the lands belonging, respectively, to the United

States and the State of Alaska. Important oil and gas re-

serves have been discovered nearby, and the controversy

arose from the desire of both sovereigns to grant leases for

exploration of these offshore areas.

The rights of the United States and Alaska depend on

interpretation of the Submerged Lands Act, 43 U.S.C.

§§ 1301-1315 (1988), and related doctrine. In general, the

Submerged Lands Act grants to the states the lands under

tidal waters out to three miles from their coastlines, and the

United States retains the rights over resources of the conti-

nental shelf beyond the three-mile limit.

Determining the rights of the parties involves two kinds

of issues. One is the location of the coastline from which the

three-mile belt is to be measured. The other is what lands

under tidal waters, if any, are part of federal reservations

along the Arctic coast and are excepted from the operation of

the Submerged Lands Act.

B. Initial proceedings

On May 30, 1979, the United States moved the Court for

leave to file an original bill of complaint, setting out a dis-

pute over the right to offer lands in the Beaufort Sea for min-

eral leasing. Alaska expressly acquiesced. Memorandum of

Nonopposition to Motion for Leave to File Complaint (June

8, 1979). The Court granted the motion on June 18, 1979.

442 U.S. 937.

The complaint stated that the submerged lands in contro-

4 1. INTRODUCTION

versy, in the view of the United States, were located in the

Beaufort Sea “more than three geographical miles seaward

from the ordinary low-water mark and from the outer limit

of inland waters along the coast of Alaska.” Complaint,

4 1V. Alaska submitted its Answer to the Complaint on Sep-

tember 12, 1979. At the same time, the State sought leave to

file a counterclaim alleging that the United States also

claimed rights along the north coast of Alaska in submerged

lands under certain inland waters. Counterclaim, 4 IV.

In particular the counterclaim sought a decree quieting

Alaska’s title to the offshore submerged lands lying inside

the barrier islands north of the Arctic National Wildlife

Range and to the submerged lands underlying the inland

waters of Harrison Bay, Smith Bay and Peard Bay. The

Wildlife Range (now called the Arctic National Wildlife

Refuge) faces on the eastern part of the Arctic coast, be-

tween approximately 141° and 146° west longitude. The

three named bays are in or adjacent to the National Petro-

leum Reserve—Alaska, which lies on the west side of the

Arctic coast between about 151° and 162° west longitude.

By comparison, the dispute that gave rise to the United

States’ complamt was focused primarily on the coast bo-

tween 146° and 150° west fongitude, around Prodhoe Bay.

See figure 1.1.

The United States, while denying the clams advanced by

Alaska, agreed that teave onght to be granted to the State to

file wts counterclaum See Momorandum of the United States

m Response to Alaska’s Motion for Leave w File Counter-

claim and Answer to Counterclaim (Dec. 14, 1979).

The Court appointed the Special Master on February 19,

1980, 444 U.S. 1065, and a referred the Motion for Leave to

File Counterclaim to the Master on March 3, 1980, 445 US.

914

C. ALASKA'S COUNTERCLAIM 5

C. Alaska’s counterclaim

At the urging of the parties and for the reasons elaborated

below, the Master determined to consider the issues tendered

by the counterclaim—subject, of course, to this Court's ulti-

mate ruling.

In the complaint the United States sought a decree declar-

ing its rights as against Alaska “in the subsoil and seabed

underlying the waters adjacent to Alaska in the area of the

Beaufort Sea” and enjoining interference with those rights.

Complaint at 6. The rights of the United States in the Beau-

fort Sea depend on the issues raised by the counterclaim as

well as those raised by the complaint. Both the Arctic Na-

tional Wildlife Refuge and the National Petroleum Reserve—

Alaska border the Beaufort Sea, which extends along the

Arctic coast eastward from Point Barrow.' As to the Petro-

leum Reserve, the State had already instituted litigation in

the district court. Alaska v. United States, Civ. No. J75-13

(D. Alaska; renumbered No. A78-069; partial consent judg-

ment entered Dec. 7, 1984; dismissed Nov. 26, 1986). As to

the Wildlife Refuge, the State had previously informed the

Department of the Interior that it intended to challenge the

federal position. Memorandum in Support of Motion for

Leave to File Counterclaim, at 15 n.1.

The Court’s original jurisdiction to entertain the counter-

claim, like the complaint, is conferred by Article III, section

2, clause 2 of the Constitution and 28 U.S.C. § 1251(b)(2)

(1988). Consent to suit is to be found in 28 U.S.C. § 2409a

(1988). California v. Arizona, 440 U.S. 59 (1979); Califor-

nia ex rel. State Lands Comm'n v. United States, 457 U.S.

273 (1982). Although the federal district courts have con-

current jurisdiction, the Court has repeatedly indicated that

' The Arctic coastline of the Petroleum Reserve also includes a por-

tion facing the Chukchi Sea, from Point Barrow west to Icy Cape.

6 lL. INTRODUCTION

coastal boundary disputes between the United States and a

state should be resolved in original suits here. eres

rel. State Lands Comm'n v. United States, 457 U.S. at =

n.6; United States v. Alaska, 422 U.S. 184, 186 n.2 (1975);

United States v. Louisiana, 363 U.S. 1, 85 n.143 =

Accordingly, it seems clear that the issues raised by _

counterclaim should, sooner or later, be brought before

"Se avoid piecemeal litigation, the parties and the Special

Master have deemed it proper to treat them now. It is true

that the issues raised by the counterclaim could have been

considered separately and that the Court has been willing to

entertain the same case again and again until all issues at

finally resolved. E.g., United States v. Louisiana, ee ,

699 (1950); id., 363 U.S. 1 (1960); id, 382 U.S. 288 (1 pin

id , 394 U.S. 11 (1969); id, 404 U.S. 388 (1971), id, ~

U.S. 17 (1972); id. 420 U.S. 529 (1975); id. 422 yo |

(1975); id., 446 U.S. 253 (1980); id., 452 U.S. 726 (1981);

id. , 456 U.S. 865 (1982). But the burden of these cases on a

crowded docket makes it desirable, when possible, to com-

i all maritime boundary controversies pertaining to the

post area in a single proceeding. This entails granting

Alaska leave to file its counterclaim. By

The Master further agreed, at the parties urging, that he

might proceed to hear the counterclaim without first subaat

ting an interim report on the motion for leave to file. =

the time and conditions for the filing of additional plead.

ings,” to “direct subsequent proceedings, and to “submi

well have been raised by an amended complaint; and they

did not require the exercise of the Court’s original jurisdic-

D. THE JOINT STATEMENTS OF QUESTIONS PRESENTED 7

tion beyond familiar bounds. The Court has consistently

agreed to hear federal-state disputes over submerged lands

and boundaries.” And the Court has stated that its “object in

original cases is to have the parties, as promptly as possible,

reach and argue the merits of the controversy presented.”

Ohio v. Kentucky, 410 U.S. 641, 644 (1973).

To that end, the parties have submitted and the present

Report recommends resolution of all the issues that must be

answered to fix the lines delimiting Alaska’s submerged

lands underlying tidal waters for the whole of its Arctic coast

from the Canadian border to Icy Cape. Accordingly, I rec-

ommend that Alaska’s Motion for Leave to File Counter-

claim be granted nunc pro tunc.

D. The joint statements of questions presented

To identify the disputed issues with particularity, the par-

ties submitted to the Special Master in May 1980 a Joint

Statement of Questions Presented and Contentions of the

Parties.’ Some ten issues were identified. After a first evi-

dentiary hearing in July 1980, and partly as a result of expert

testimony there given, it became necessary to augment the

Statement of Questions Presented. A Supplement to the

Joint Statement, adding three questions, was filed in Septem-

ber 1980. Two more issues were added by a Second Supple-

ment to the Joint Statement, filed in July 1984.

The entire list of fifteen questions, in their original order

? See Vincent L. McKusick, Discretionary Gatekeeping’ The Supreme

Court's Management of Its Original Jurisdiction Docket Since 1961, 45

Me. L. Rev. 185, 200, 211 (1993), reprinted in 138 Proc. Am. Phil. Soc’y

195, 209, 219 (1994),

* The original Joint Statement and the two Supplements thereto are

readily identifiable in the Special Master’s record as the only printed

documents filed initially with him.

Xx Il. INTRODUCTION

but without the statements of contentions, is given in Appen-

dix A. The Git quastion, wheten Alene ees oaeee

leave to file its counterclaim, has already been treated Ove.

The body of this report deals with the remaining questions,

grouping them according to subject matter.

E. The motion for leave to intervene

On May 12, 1981, the Inupiat Community of the Arctic

Slope and the Ukpeagvik Inupiat Corporation moved for

leave to intervene in the case, claiming rights over areas in

dispute between the United States and Alaska. On June 8,

the Court referred the motion to the Special Master. 452

U.S. 913. Briefs opposing the motion were filed by the orig-

inal parties and, as amici curiae, by Amoco Production

Company et al., the mineral lessees of a portion of the con-

tested area.4 The movants filed a reply brief. The Master

heard oral argument on the intervention motion on March

26, 1982.5 as

On the Inupiats’ theory of the case, their rights were to

areas beyond the three-mile limit. Several of the issues in

the Joint Statement and Supplement affected the location of

the three-mile limit, since they involved determining the

coastline from which the three miles are measured. On the

issues as framed by the original parties, the Inupiats were

‘ To permit mineral leasing during this litigation, the parties entered

an interim agreement on October 26, 1979, as authorized by the Outer

Continental Shelf Lands Act, § 7, 43 U.S.C. § 1336 (1988), and Alaska

Stat. Ann. § 38.05.137 (1989). See Joint Statement 2 & App. |. A joint

federal-state lease sale, covering the area between 146° and 150° west

longitude, was held in December 1979. | am informed that oil company

artnet tenet nit edn now in escrow.

5 Unlike most of the transcript, the volume for March 26, 1982, is not

numbered.

E. THE MOTION FOR LEAVE TO INTERVENE 9

aligned with the United States in seeking to maximize the

area beyond the three-mile limit. Ultimately, the Inupiats’

interests were adverse to the United States, and they were

pursuing their claim in the federal district court. Inupiat

Community v. United States, Civil No. A81-019 (D. Alaska,

filed Jan. 19, 1981).

The Master’s report on the intervention motion (Appen-

dix B) was submitted to the Court on January 10, 1984. For

the reasons there stated, the report recommended that the

motion to intervene be granted, subject to several restric-

tions. In general, the intervention was to be limited to issues

not yet submitted; the intervenors were to be restricted to

supporting the position of the United States; and their parti-

cipation was to continue so long as they could credibly claim

an interest in the disputed areas. Report of Jan. 10, 1984, at

40-42. An order implementing these recommendations was

issued on the same day (Appendix C).

At the suggestion of the Master, supported by all parties,

the Court did not immediately review the report on interven-

tion, merely ordering it filed. 465 U.S. 1018 (Feb. 21,

1984).

A final decision against the intervenors, in their

suit against the United States, was reached in 1985. Inupiat

Community v. United States, 548 F. Supp. 182 (D. Alaska

1982) (granting summary judgment for defendants), aff'd,

746 F.2d 570 (9th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 820

(1985). By a letter of October 23, 1985, the intervenors in-

formed the Special Master that they no longer appeared to

satisfy the conditions for continued participation in the pres-

ent action. Accordingly, the Master issued an order on June

3, 1986 (Appendix D), dismissing the intervenors from fur-

ther participation, but not from their obligation to bear their

due share of costs, as ultimately determined by the Court, for

the period during which they participated.

10 |. INTRODUCTION

F. Additional proceedings before the Special Master

Two of the questions presented in the Joint Statement and

supplements did not require the taking of evidence. One was

the question of Alaska’s counterclaim (question 1). The

other was subsequently settled by a joint survey and a stip-

ulation (question 14).

By agreement, the other questions were divided into three

groups for the purposes of trial. It was decided first to hear

evidence and argument on the questions pertaining to the

National Petroleum Reserve—Alaska (questions 7 and 8 and,

as later added, question 11), the Arctic National Wildlife

Refuge (questions 9 and 10), and the effect on the coastline

of a pier extension at Prudhoe Bay (question 6). The evi-

dence was heard on July 28 and 29, 1980.

Post-trial briefs on these issues were filed in November

1980 and February 1981. On March 24, 1981, however, the

Court decided Montana v. United States, 450 U.S. 544,

which Alaska suggested significantly affected the claim to

tidal water bottoms within the Petroleum Reserve and the

Wildlife Refuge. After a lapse of time due to the interven- .

tion proceedings, the United States and Alaska submitted a

joint motion respecting the issues of these areas on October

31, 1983.

The Master granted the motion by an order of January 4,

1984, noting that the subject matter had no implications for

the Inupiat petitioners for intervention. As will be explained

more fully in section VIII, the order relieved the State of a

concession it had made and invited supplemental briefs on

the relevance of the Montana case. At the same time, a

newly discovered map was permitted to be introduced in evi-

dence. The supplemental briefs and reply briefs were sub-

mitted in January and February 1984. The Master heard oral

argument on the same issues, together with the issue of the

pier extension, on March 4, 1985. Transcript [hereafter

“Tr.”}, vol. 17. A second set of supplemental briefs was

F. ADDITIONAL PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE SPECIAL MASTER 1]

prompted by the Court’s decision in Utah Division

Lands v. United States, 482 U.S. 193 (1987), and vai ar

were received in September and October 1987.

. The second set of evidentiary hearings was confined to a

single issue from the Joint Statement, the status as an island

ofa formation known as Dinkum Sands (question 5). These

hearings, requiring nearly three weeks, took place in July

and August 1984, with the participation of the intervenors as

well as the original parties. Briefs were submitted in March

and May 1985. The Master heard oral argument on the Din-

oe a in June 1986. Tr., vol. 24.

inaily, in May and June 1985, the last group of iss

was reached for hearing: the effect of offshore islands on os

legal coastline (questions 2, 3, 4, 12, and 13) and the status

of southern Harrison Bay as a juridical bay (question 15)

Briefing followed in the fall of 1985 and spring of 1986, and

final oral arguments were held in November 1986. Tr., vol.

25. The intervenors did not participate in these proceedings

Besides the formal hearings, the Master has made a site

Visit to the Prudhoe Bay area with counsel for Alaska and the

United States. The visit took place on July 31 and August |

1980, just after the first evidentiary hearings, and included

observations of Dinkum Sands (question 5) and the pier ex-

wey Prudhoe Bay (question 6).

s the several parts of the rt were com

the Master has circulated nent the cematae

parties, under an order for confidentiality, for technical

review and comment.® The circulation process, which began

; ® Rule 53(e5) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure provides:

Before filing the master’s report a master may submit a draft thereof to

counsel for all parties for the purpose of receiving their suggestions.”

oe Rule 17.2 states that the Federal Rules, “when their appli-

1S appropriate, may be tak i i igi

peering wee y en as a guide to procedure in an original

For precedents for circulating a draft report to counsel in original

12 I. INTRODUCTION

in 1989, has proved a valuable aid to accuracy. As now sub-

mitted, the Report incorporates both technical corrections

and revisions reflecting the Master’s own further review.

actions, see Texas v New Mexico, Report of Special Master Caries 1]

Mocyers, at 4 (1936), exceptions sustained in part and overraed im port,

432 US. 124 (1937), Arizona v. California, Report of Special Master

Semon H. Réfkiad (7960), at 3, qnprowed in part and disapprowed in pari,

373 US. 346 (7953).

PART ONE

ALASKA’S COASTLINE

15

II

THE LEGAL BACKGROUND

All the issues concerning the location of Alaska’s coast-

line share the same legal background, outlined here.

It was long the received doctrine that new states, upon

their admission to the Union, in general become vested with

title to the beds of navigable waters within state boundaries.

Pollard v. Hagan, 44 U.S. (3 How.) 212 (1845); Shively v.

Bowlby, 152 U.S. 1, 26-31 (1894). In 1947, the Court quali-

fied this rule to distinguish between inland navigable waters,

such as lakes and rivers, and the marginal sea traditionally

claimed as a three-mile belt along the Nation’s coasts. The

Court explained that the precedents had involved only inland

navigable waters. For the marginal sea, it held that federal

rights were paramount:

[W]e are not persuaded to transplant the Pollard rule of

ownership as an incident of state sovereignty in relation

to inland waters out into the soil beneath the ocean, so

much more a matter of national concern. If this rationale

of the Pollard case is a valid basis for a conclusion that

paramount rights run to the states in inland waters to the

shoreward of the low water mark, the same rationale leads

to the conclusion that national interests, responsibilities,

and therefore national rights are paramount in waters

lying to the seaward in the three-mile belt.

United States v. California, 332 U.S. 19, 36 (1947). With

the Court’s decision in California, the right to issue oil and

gas leases in coastal waters came to rest with the states if the

waters qualified as inland, and otherwise with the Federal

Government. The Court recognized, however, that there

might be “many complexities and difficulties” in locating the

exact line between inland waters, including harbors, bays,

and rivers, and the marginal sea. /d. at 26.

The distinction between inland waters and the marginal

16 ll. THE LEGAL BACKGROUND

sea was traditionally a distinction of international law. Un-

der that tradition, the sea is divided into inland waters, the

marginal or territorial sea, and the high seas. See United

States v. Louisiana (Alabama and Mississippi Boundary

Case), 470 U.S. 93, 98-99 (1985); United States v. Louisi-

ana (Louisiana Boundary Case), 394 U.S. 11, 22-23 (1969);

1 Aaron L. Shalowitz, Shore and Sea Boundaries 22-24

(U.S. Dep’t of Commerce Pub. 10-1, 1962). With the 1947

California decision, the international distinction was seem-

ingly made applicable to a domestic controversy between the

Federal Government and a state.

Congress disagreed with the 1947 California decision. In

May 1953 it enacted the Submerged Lands Act, ch. 65, 67

Stat. 29 (codified as amended at 43 U.S.C. §§ 130!-1315

(1988)), which gave the states all the United States’ right,

title, and interest in “lands beneath navigable waters within

the boundaries of the respective States.” § 3(a)-(b)(1), 43

U.S.C. § 1311(a)}{b)(1). These included lands out to a line

three miles seaward from the coastline, § 2(a)(2), 43 U.S.C.

§ 1301(a)(2), and for most states were not to extend beyond —

this three-mile belt, § 2(b), 43 U.S.C. § 1301(b). The Act

defined the term “coast line” to mean “the line of ordinary

low water along that portion of the coast which is in direct

contact with the open sea and the line marking the seaward

limit of inland waters.” § 2(c), 43 U.S.C. § 1301(c). The

phrase “inland waters” was still left undefined.'

The next major development was an international one. In

April 1958, the first United Nations Conference on the Law

of the Sea adopted a convention that did attempt to define

| As to lands of the continental shelf lying beyond those granted to

the states, Congress confirmed federal jurisdiction and control. Sub-

merged Lands Act § 9, 43 U.S.C. § 1302; Outer Continental Shelf Lands

Act, ch. 345, .§ 2(a), 3, 67 Stat. 462 (Aug. 7, 1953) (codified as amended

at 43 U.S.C. §§ 1331(a), 1332 (1988)).

ll. THE LEGAL BACKGROUND 17

inland waters. Convention on the Territorial Sea and the

Contiguous Zone, done Apr. 29, 1958, 15 U.S.T. 1606, 516

U.N.T.S. 205. This Convention, which the United States

signed in 1958, was approved by the Senate in 1960 and rati-

fied by the President in 1961. The Convention took effect in

1964 upon approval by the requisite number of nations.

In 1965, the Court handed down its second decision in the

California litigation, this time on the meaning of “inland

waters” in the Submerged Lands Act. United States v. Cali-

fornia, 381 U.S. 139 (1965). The Court found first that Con-

gress had meant io leave the definition of “inland waters” to

the courts. 381 US. at 150-60. It noted that the 1947 opin-

ion clearly indicated that ‘inland waters’ was to have an in-

pg eye and it found that, unlike the situation in

, the Convention now provided “a settled international

rule defining inland waters.” 381 U.S. at 162, 163. The

Court concluded that the meaning of “inland waters” in the

Submerged Lands Act should conform to the Convention:

It is our opinion that we best fill our responsibili of giv-

ing content to the words which Congress on la

adopting the best and most workable definitions available.

? The relevant provisions of the 1958 Convention have in general

Haan carried forward, with some additions, into a later treaty United Na-

Convention on the Law of the Sea, done Dec. 10, 1982, in The Law

of the Sea, U.N. Sales No. E.83.V.5 (1983). See also U.N. Office for

Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea, The Law of the Sea: Baselines, an

sow an he tae et Prentcions of tha Untied Nations Comen

a .N. Sales No. E.88.V.5 (corrected printing

The United States did not sign the Law of the Sea Convention in 1982

a opposed the provisions, not relevant here, on deep seabed min-

» &.. agreement changing these provisions was reached in July 1994,

convention and agreement have now been transmitted to the Sen-

ate for advice and consent. S. Treaty

(Oct. 7, 1994). Doc. No. 39, 103d Cong., 2d Sess.

18 ll. THE LEGAL BACKGROUND

The Convention on the Territorial Sea and the Contiguous

Zone, agproved by the Senate and ratified by the Presi-

dent, provides such definitions. We adopt them for pur-

poses of the Submerged Lands Act. This establishes a

single coastline for both the administration of the Sub-

merged Lands Act and the conduct of our future interna-

tional relations (barring an :..: <pected change in the rules

established by the Convention). Furthermore the compre-

hensiveness of the Convention provides answers to many

of the lesser problems related to coastlines which, absent

the Convention, would be most troublesome.

Id. at 165 (footnotes omitted).

Alaska was admitted to the Union in 1959, after passage

of the Submerged Lands Act and negotiation of the Conven-

tion, but before the United States ratified the Convention and

before the second California decision. The Alaska State-

hood Act, approved on July 7, 1958, provided:

The Submerged Lands Act of 1953 . . . shall be applicable

to the State of Alaska and the said State shall have the

same rights as do existing States thereunder.

Alaska Statehood Act, Pub. L. No. 85-508, § 6(m), 72 Stat.

339, 343 (1958), reprinted as amended in 48 U.S.C. note

preceding § 21 (1988). Admission followed by presidential

proclamation on January 3, 1959. Proclamation No. 3269, 3

C.F.R. 4 (1959-1963), reprinted in 48 U.S.C. note preceding

§ 21, at 15 (1988).

\ Late in 1988 President Reagan issued a proclamation extending the

territorial sea to twelve miles. Proclamation No. 5928, 3 C.F.R. 547

(1988), reprinted in 43 U.S.C. § 1331 note (1988). The change appears

not to affect the federal-state rights at issue in this case, for the Sub-

merged Lands Act grant is not framed in terms of the territorial sea, and

or otherwise alters existing Federal or State law or any jurisdiction,

rights, legal interests, or obligations derived therefrom...” /d

19

Il

THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

When a new state enters the Union, it ordinarily takes ti

. . title

to lands under its inland navigable waters. "yemea Vv

Hagan, 44 US. (3 How.) 212 (1845). In addition, Congress

port ema eadencenge, «-deened > yon-< of inland navi-

: ee Submerged Lands Act, ch. 65, 67

tat. 29 (1953) (codified as amended at 43 U.S.C. §§ 1301-

1315 (1988)). For purposes of both the Pollard doctrine and

the Submerged Lands Act, the extent of a state’s rights may

Teeny Facsnss of idtantnoliinese.

n this part of the case, the dispute is over the

method for determining Alaska’s rights where Ay a

islands. In questions 2, 3, and 4 of the Joint Statement,' the

issue is the effect of near-shore islands in the so-called

leased area of Alaska’s Arctic coast. This stretch of the

coastline lies between 146° and 150° west longitude, in the

Beaufort Sea; it includes Prudhoe Bay. As to oil and gas

leasing of the disputed parts of the area, see supra section I,

Figure 1.1 shows the leased area on a small scale

. The

National Petroleum Reserve—Alaska is to the west, and the

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge is to the east.

i Questions 2 and 3 both have to do with methods for locat-

ing the dividing line between inland waters and the marginal

—— The question of the dividing line also arises in

areas of the Petroleum Reserve and the Wildlife Refuge.

sRusetions 12 and 13 extend questions 2 and 3 to the entire

coast, cy Cape to the Canadian

Lane 4 border. See Supple-

Question 4 concerns another theory of the effect of off-

' The language of the questions will be given i i

given in section B, .

2 For the Petroleum Reserve and the Wildlife Refuge, the rights of the

parties depend also on the questions to be considered in part 2.

20 ii. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

shore islands, this one not depending on the seaward limit of

inland waters but rather on the particular configuration of

islands. Because configurations of the type relevant to ques-

tion 4 exist only in the leased area, there is no further ques-

tion extending question 4 geographically.

The Special Master heard evidence on questions 2, 3, 4,

12. and 13 on May 28 through June 4, 1985. The parties

filed post-hearing briefs and reply briefs in the fall of 1985

and spring of 1986. Final argument was held on November

20, 1986.

A. The United States’ position

A positive answer to any of questions 2, 3, 4, 12, and 13

would be an answer in favor of Alaska. The United States’

position, which all the questions attack, must be understood

as background. I begin with that position and turn later to

Alaska’s various challenges to it. On the United States’

view, all the questions should be answered no.

The United States holds a single theory about how the

sources reviewed in section II should be applied to the north

‘ In this section of the report, the briefs will be referred to as AB,

USB. ARB. and USRB. The corresponding full titles are as follows:

Alaska’s Post-Trial Brief on Questions 2, 3, 4, 12, 13 and 15 of the Joint

Statement of Questions Presented and Contentions of the Parties, Post-

Trial Memorandum of the United States on Issues 2, 3, 4, 12, 13 and 15,

Alaska’s Reply Brief on Questions 2, 3, 4, 12, 13 and 15; Post-Trial

Rebuttal Memorandum of the United States on Issues 2, 3, 4, 12, 13 and

15. Question 15 is treated separately in section IV, infra.

Alaska also presented, on the opening date of trial, a 264-page docu-

ment titled “Chronological Outline of Relevant Events in American For-

eign Policy with Respect to the Delimitation of the Territorial Sea and

Other Maritime Zones, 1782-1985.” A revised version of the chronology

dated June 27, 1995, has been received with consent. A timeline chart to

accompany the chronology, revised from a chart originally submitted

with Alaska’s Reply Brief, was submitted on October 26, 1995.

A. THE UNITED STATES’ POSITION 21

coast of Alaska. It starts from the Alaska Statehood Act

which applies the Submerged Lands Act to Alaska. By the

Submerged Lands Act, in the United States’ view, Alaska

received submerged lands out to three miles from its coast-

line. The location of the coastline, under the Submerged

Lands Act, depends on the seaward limit of Alaska’s inland

waters. The identification of Alaska’s inland waters, under

rnd 1965 California decision, depends on the 1958 Conven-

It now becomes important to review the Convention's

definition of inland waters. The Convention defines the di-

viding line between inland waters (or “internal waters”) and

the marginal sea (or “territorial sea”) in terms of a baseline:

Article 5

L. Waters on the landward side of the baseline of the

territorial sea form part of the internal waters of the State.

Normally the baseline is the low-water line along the coast:

f Article 3 r

xcept where otherwise providea in these articles, the

normal baseline for measuring the breadth of the territo-

rial sea is the low-water line along the coast as marked on

— charts officially recognized by the coastal

tate.

Respecting the baseline for islands, the Convention simply

provides:

Article 10

2. The territorial sen of an ielend is measured in eccer-

dance with the provisions of these articles.

With a “normal baseline” under Article 3, this means that

each island has its own belt of territorial sea.

for a distance determined by each nation for itself. The

22 ill. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

United States has traditionally claimed three miles—the

same width as the standard grant to the states under the Sub-

merged Lands Act. The outer limit of the territorial sea

(given the baseline and the width) is constructed by a

method called the method of arcs of circles. Article 6 of the

Convention defines the result of the method: “The outer

limit of the territorial sea is the line every point of which is

at a distance from the nearest point of the baseline equal to

the breadth of the territorial sea.”

Figure 3.1 shows the normal baseline and the three-mile

belt in the presence of coastal islands. The figure is a sche-

matic representation of the United States’ position as to

Alaska’s rights in submerged lands. It also illustrates the

consequences to which Alaska objects. If offshore islands

each have independent three-mile belts, they may create

enclaves of federal lands—that is, lands that are more than

three miles from any upland but which are wholly sur-

rounded by lands within the three-mile belt. There may also

be pockets or cul-de-sacs of federal lands—that is, areas that

are largely, though not entirely, so surrounded.°

* To envision the working of the method, one may imagine a circle,

whose radius is the width of the territorial sea, rolling along the seaward

side of the baseline. The outer limit of the territorial sea will be the path

traced by the center of the circle. See 1 Aaron L. Shalowitz, Shore and

Sea Boundaries 169-72 (U.S. Dep’t of Commerce Pub. 10-1, 1962).

» The parties have often referred to these as enclaves or cul-de-sacs of

high seas. Since the territorial sea was extended to twelve miles, supra

section II, note 3, that designation is no longer accurate. It does remain

accurate to call the disputed areas enclaves or cul-de-sacs of outer conti-

nental shelf lands. See supra section II, note |.

A. THE UNITED STATES’ POSITION 23

“POCKET”OR"CUL-DE-8ac”

BEYOND THREE-MLE BELT

MAINLAND

10

is

SCALE IN NAUTICAL MILES

STRICT APPLICATION OF THE METHOD OF ARCS OF CIRCLES

DRAWN FROM THE “NORMAL BASELINE” OF ARTICLE 3

OF THE 1958 CONVENTION

Figure 3.1. The normal baseline and the three-mile belt in the pres-

ence of islands.

24 ill. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

Figure 3.2 shows the United States’ position as applied in

the leased area. It includes at least one federal enclave, just

south of the Stockton Islands. A second, larger area, land-

ward of the islands from the Midways to the McClures, is

either another enclave or a cul-de-sac depending on the out-

come of question 5.®

6 Question 5, treated in section V infra, asks whether Dinkum Sands

is an island. If it is, the island generates its own three-mile belt, which

overlaps the belts of other islands to create an enclave. Even if Dinkum

Sands is not an island, the islands that do exist in the vicinity create a cul-

de-sac under the United States’ position.

East and west of the leased area, the United States does not assert that

there are enclaves or cul-de-sacs of high seas inside the barrier islands.

Most of the islands are close enough to the mainland to avoid any such

result. In other cases, such as Peard Bay and Dease Inlet in figure 1.1, no

question of enclaves arises because the waters behind the islands are

agreed to form a bay.

EST AVAILABLE COP

~

148°00

as

row

ee

as

A R C T I C

. a ~* . 30 : . *. Prudhoe Boy.

; . : st O's A

. “i en. ° * > e 7 a Td

: . . fom

" , a =. , .

. my anit Mr . .. ‘ “ee 2 =

- bY - @. i ’ = ~4 “ : : . .~™ y: ee . fe -_*- . :

. : : — — — — if Dinkum Sands is anisiand ~-. — - -

| t.. ; - : =

Lome oe TAGs fags ro sax Fyeet 04 |

bh?» | Mg OSES < a 2 — . ra m8 ot, ” ‘ ‘

: 4 Pt eS AS + =" if Dinkum Sands is not anisiand . . Sake

- = >

.- er =. > +

eA Ws ‘ a

, Ad 4 P Compsied A ‘

: “Horrison Boy” doted 1955, “Beechey Point” doted 1955, &

, ae 4, ;

i( AS ./ whe oA : é

j + , e . . . . °

** a - ? ‘ ‘Ge. .* ae * . *

~— 4 At L *

oe S * ae . q :. : 7 , otha’: > : . ;

: trom US Geologic! Survey topographic serves |'250,000 Maps

“Fiaxman isiond”

IZ Wits ie th Te, 2, 58 “et

PE Nine ae Rae iy ‘s .- ome GS, ane alias wy $ fee

ay : : _ «+ * «se> . > Federal Contention in the Leased Area

. 2. » .# ~%e Nore Ameraan Dene of 1927 P *2 P . :

¢ 1so"00 as . « ~ :

- " ' ’

EEE

Figure 3.2

, 146°00

4

/WATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE »

ros 4

B. ALASKA’S POSITION 25

B. Alaska’s position

Alaska contests the United States’ position at several

points. Its basic objection, however, is to the claim that

there are federal submerged lands that are wholly or largely

surrounded by state-owned submerged lands.

The objection is grounded in history. The most salient

feature of the history, according to Alaska, is that the United

States never claimed there were high seas in such areas until

well after Alaska became a state. E.g., Tr. 3532. In Alas-

ka’s view, it gained the rights to the disputed lands at state-

hood, and these rights could not later be taken away. E£.g.,

Tr. 3528-29, 3585-86.

Alaska has proposed three other methods, as alternatives

to the United States’ method, by which to draw the dividing

line between state and federal lands offshore. The first

method corresponds to questions 2 and 12 of the Joint State-

ment; the second method, to questions 3 and 13; and the

third method, to question 4. See Tr. 2521-25. The methods

are introduced briefly below. The legal theories offered in

support of the several methods will be treated in later sec-

tions.

1. Questions 2 and 12: straight baselines

The Convention provides an alternative to the normal

baseline described in section A. Questions 2 and 12 of the

Joint Statement refer to this alternate method:

Question 2: Should the extent of Alaska’s submerged

lands in the leased area be determined on the basis of

“straight baselines”?

Question 12: Should the extent of Alaska’s offshore sub-

merged lands between Icy Cape and the Canadian border,

not included within the “leased area,” be determined on

the basis of “straight baselines”?

26 ill. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

The straight baseline provisions appear in Article 4 of the

Convention:

Article 4

1. In localities where the coastline is deeply indented

and cut into, or if there is a fringe of islands along the

coast in its immediate vicinity, the method of straight

baselines joining appropriate points may be employed in

drawing the baseline from which the breadth of the terri-

torial sea is measured.

2. The drawing of such baselines must not depart to

any appreciable extent from the general direction of the

coast, and the sea areas lying within the lines must be suf-

ficiently closely linked to the land domain to be subject to

the regime of internal waters.

6. The coastal State must clearly indicate straight base-

lines on charts, to which due publicity must be given.

Figure 3.3 illustrates the use of Article 4 baselines for a

fringe of islands near the coast, using the same hypothetical

coastline as figure 3.1. Straight baselines join the islands;

there is no fixed limit on their length. Waters on the land-

ward side of the baselines become inland waters. Extending

outward from the straight baselines, which form the seaward

limit of inland waters, are both the territorial sea and the

three-mile belt granted by the Submerged Lands Act. With a

three-mile territorial sea, these coincide.

Alaska proposes the use of Article 4 baselines along the

Arctic coast subject to a limitation that no straight baseline

be more than ten miles long. For the hypothetical coastline

of figures 3.1 and 3.3, the result would be as shown in figure

3.5 (page 31). In the areas actually in dispute, the distances

between adjacent islands are in fact all less than ten miles.

Figure 3.4 shows, for the leased area, the approximate

B. ALASKA'S POSITION 27

MAINLAND

Is

SCALE IN NAUTICAL MILES

APPLICATION OF ARTICLE 4 STRAIGHT BASELINES

Figure 3.3. Article 4 straight baselines. The baselines shown are not

limited by the distance between islands. For the effect of limiting Article

4 baselines to ten miles, as Alaska proposes, see figure 3.5.

28 Il. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

straight baselines proposed and the three-mile limit beyond

them.’

As a comparison of the schematic figures makes plain,

straight baselines can significantly increase a state’s inland

waters. Although less obvious from the figures, they can

also increase the area within the three-mile belt. Under the

arcs-of-circles method (fig. 3.1), the belts around islands

may overlap, so that on the seaward side the perimeter of the

three-mile belt comes to a point. With straight baselines be-

tween islands (figs. 3.3, 3.5) such points are eliminated,

bringing additional smal! wedge-shaped areas inside of the

three-mile belt. Alaska has referred to these as the “pointed

intrusions of high seas.” AB 27.

With straight baselines of up to ten miles (fig. 3.4),

Alaska would gain, as inland waters, the areas inside the is-

lands that were shown as federal enclaves or cul-de-sacs in

figure 3.2. It would also gain numerous wedge-shaped areas

that newly come within the three-mile limit. East and west

of the leased area, the additions to lands inside the three-mile

limit are fewer and are only of the second type.

” Again the exact lines depend on the outcome of question 5. See

supra note 6. If Dinkum Sands is an island, then straight lines join it to

its neighbors on each side. Otherwise, one longer line (about 9.2 nautical

miles) joins the neighbors directly. See AB 29.

= 4

i _ ee | << = <~ Song, ———.

=

~

— - \

— : : ae et ir)

4

M4 ~ . aaa > *

- = fa - "y - + 6

o < ~e or a

~ ~ XY ? 7 PONT —

— . \ &,

—— ‘ - \

-_ m

of ; ‘ ae . . g 3... : : . oo eee f. . \ 4%

, ° a ~~

e* a

— a - ”

“ ° -

- -

” a ° « =

- :

. ~ > .

~ 4 <.

ad y : a

> 4

- - % P ) ‘

‘ : —— —uv mee if Dinkurn Sands is an tsiand-

j = ; a >. . 4 . .

oe eee _- ee ° if Dinkum Sands ts not an isiand

. “ = - . b* « ° ? +

= : Comoves fram US Geologico! Survey topograpmc senes | 250,000 Maps

Morrison Boy” dotec 1955. “Beechey Pont” doted 1955. & “Ficxumon isiond”

Gotec 1955. mune rewsions 1962

ae os fe State of Alaska Contention in the Leased Area

s+ : <_ + North Amencan Ostum of 1927 *

ch)

Stockton

islands

re

rm

ae

—"™ ‘ ae

=

“ 4@

Figure 3.4

Fiaxmar

tsiand

se

eg ARETIC }

y ~~ ‘

NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE

*

L£

1<6°OD as vA . »~

B. ALASKA'S POSITION 29

2. Questions 3 and 13: the ten-mile rule

The previous questions, questions 2 and 12, asked

whether the extent of Alaska’s offshore submerged lands

should be delimited by Article 4 straight baselines up to ten

miles long. Questions 3 and 13 assume that Article 4 base-

lines are not to be used. They ask whether the submerged

lands between the shore and the barrier islands are inland

waters even without Article 4:

Question 3: Do the submerged lands between the main-

land and the barrier islands in the leased area (including

areas more than three miles from any upland) belong to

Alaska on the ground that they underlie inland waters?

Question 13: Should the extent of Alaska’s offshore sub-

merged lands between Icy Cape and the Canadian border,

not included within the “leased area,” be determined on

the basis that the waters between the mainland and the

barrier islands are inland waters, even if the “straight

baseline” contention is not accepted?

Associated with questions 3 and 13 is a method for delim-

iting inland waters behind fringing islands known as the ten-

mile rule. The Court found in 1985 that such a rule has

indeed been the policy of the United States:

Prior to its ratification of the Convention on March 24,

1961, the United States had adopted a policy of enclosing

as inland waters those areas between the mainland and

off-lying islands that were so closely grouped that no en-

trance exceeded 10 geographical miles. This 10-mile rule

represented the publicly stated policy of the United States

at least since the time of the Alaska Boundary Arbitration

in 1903.

United States v. Louisiana (Alabama and Mississippi Bound-

ary Case), 470 U.S. 93, 106-07 (1985) (opinion by Black-

mun, J.). In making this finding, the Court drew on the find-

30 ill. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

ings of its Special Master. United States v. Louisiana (Ala-

bama and Mississippi Boundary Case), Report of Special

Master Walter P. Armstrong, Jr., at 5-6, 53-54 (1984) (U.S.

Ex. 85-503).8

The parties agree that the historic policy of the United

States on enclosing inland waters is a question of fact, Tr.

3522, 3565, and Alaska does not seek to invoke collateral

estoppel against the United States, Tr. 3521-24 (citing

United States v. Mendoza, 464 U.S. 154 (1984)). Accord-

ingly, the question of the ten-mile rule—its existence, its

scope, and its life-span—has been treated as open for fresh

consideration in these proceedings.

Figure 3.5 illustrates the ten-mile rule along the same fic-

titious coastline as the other figures. The lines shown differ

from the Article 4 straight baselines of figure 3.3 only be-

cause of the length limitation. Along Alaska’s north coast,

where none of the islands are as much as ten miles apart, this

difference does not exist. See Tr. 2925; AB 29; ARB 13 n.3.

Hence figure 3.4 serves again to show the actual lines pro-

posed.

3. Question 4: assimilation and simplification

Should Alaska prevail on question 2 or question 3, the

disputed parts of the leased area become inland waters and

belong to the State. Question 4 becomes significant if the

United States prevails on both questions 2 and 3. It asks

whether the disputed areas belong to Alaska even if the

waters are not inland:

Question 4: If they do not underlie inland waters of

Alaska, do the submerged lands between the mainland

and the barrier islands in the leased area which are more

® Reprinted in The Reports of the Special Masters of the United States

Supreme Court in the Submerged Lands Cases, 1949-1987 (Michael W.

Reed, G. Thomas Koester, & John Briscoe eds., 1991), at 349.

B. ALASKA’S POSITION

3]

INLAND WATERS

~MILE BELT )

THE TEN-MILE RULE

ARDING THE BASELINE, AS OPPOSED To

BOUNDARY CASE, 470 U.S.93 (1985)

THE OUTER LIMIT OF THE THREE

AS DESCRIBED IN THE ALABAMA AND MISSISSIPP}

( A RULE REG

MAINLAND

SCALE IN NAUTICAL MILES

Figure 3.5. The ten-mile rule.

32 Ill. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THF COASTLINE

' than three miles from any upland, but are totally sur-

rounded by submerged lands owned by Alaska, belong to

Alaska on the ground that they lie within Alaska’s most

seaward contiguous boundary?

Question 4 is based on another method for dealing with

enclaves and cul-de-sacs that are created by the presence of

coastal islands. This method, called the method of assimila-

tion and simplification, is illustrated in figure 3.6. Here

enclaves of high seas, and optionally certain cul-de-sacs of

high seas as well, are assimilated to the territorial sea. The

method was first proposed in 1930, and the parties agree that

for some period it represented the official international pol-

icy of the United States. AB 53-54; USB 26-27; Tr. 3567

(United States).

C. Organization of the discussion

Despite the correspondence between methods and ques-

tions, it is not practical to treat each delimitation method as a

separate topic. They are interrelated in too many ways. For

example, Article 4 contains one version of straight baselines;

the ten-mile rule may constitute another version; and it is

disputed whether the two versions are essentially the same or

essentially different. Furthermore, the argument for drawing

straight baselines under Article 4 rests on the historical prac-

tice that the United States is said to have followed with

respect to the ten-mile rule. And the historical practice with

respect to the ten-mile rule cannot be separated from the his-

torical practice with respect to the assimilation method: the

two methods provide distinct and possibly incompatible ap-

proaches to similar situations.

Therefore, I will proceed instead in terms of the various

theories Alaska has suggested in support of using one or an-

other of the methods. In the next section I consider certain

points of statutory interpretation relating to the Alaska

33

MAINLAND

ASSIMILATION AND SIMPLIFICATION” MET HOD OF

DELIMITATION FIRST ADVANCED BY THE UNITED STATES AT

THE 1930 HAGUE CODIFICATION CONFERENCE

THE *

dn. AREAS “ASSIMILATED” TO THREE-MILE BELT

SCALE IN NAUTICAL MILES

Figure 3.6. The method of assimilation and simplification.

34 lll. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

Statehood Act and the Submerged Lands Act. I conclude

there that the general rules are much as the United States

claims. Under these rules, the normal baseline provisions of

the Convention would be controlling, with results as shown

in figures 3.1 and 3.2.

s fae turn to whether any exception to the general rules

applies. The Court has said that a contraction of a state’s

recognized territory, made by the United States in the name

of foreign policy, would be highly questionable. United

States v. California, 381 U.S. 139, 168 (1965); United States

v. Louisiana (Louisiana Boundary Case), 394 U.S. 11, 73

n.97, 77 n.104 (1969); United States v. Louisiana (Alabama

and Mississippi Boundary Case), 470 U.S. 93, 111-12

(1985). Section E examines the doctrine and the ways it

might apply to Alaska. Section F reviews the past practice

of the United States, which is critical to whether a contrac-

tion has taken place. Finally section G recommends answers

to the questions posed in the Joint Statement.

D. Statutory provisions

1. The Alaska Statehood Act

The Alaska Constitution provides:

The State of Alaska shall consist of all the territory, to-

gether with the territorial waters appurtenant thereto,

included in the Territory of Alaska upon the date of ratifi-

cation of this constitution by the people of Alaska.

Alaska Const. art. XII, § 1. The Alaska Statehood Act

“accepted, ratified, and confirmed” the constitution. Pub. L.

No. 85-508, § 1, 72 Stat. 339 (1958), reprinted in 48 U.S.C.

note preceding § 21 (1988). The Statehood Act says, simi-

larly to the constitution, that the State “shall consist of all the

territory, together with the territorial waters appurtenant

thereto, now included in the Territory of Alaska.” Jd., § 2.

D. STATUTORY PROVISIONS 35

The parties agree that the description of the State’s terri-

tory in the Statehood Act does not itself convey any sub-

merged lands. Tr. 3510 (Alaska); Tr. 3542, 3545 (United

States). Rather, submerged lands were provided for in the

Statehood Act by section 6(m):

The Submerged Lands Act . . . shall be applicable to the

State of Alaska and the State shall have the same rights as

do existing States thereunder.

The parties also agree that Congress intended, in this sub-

merged lands provision, to treat Alaska on an equal basis

with the other states. AB 11, 70, 123-24; USB 7, 68-69.

On these agreed points the parties are clearly correct. See

generally Alaska Statehood: Hearings on S. 50 Before the

Senate Comm. on Interior and Insular Affairs, 83rd Cong.,

2d Sess. 219-26, 280-82 (1954) (“1954 Senate Hearings’’);

Hawaii-Alaska Statehood: Hearings on H.R. 2535, H.R.

2536, and Related Bills Before the House Comm. on Interior

and Insular Affairs, 84th Cong., Ist Sess. 114-19, 246—50,

270-76 (1955) (“1955 House Hearings”). The question

remains how the Submerged Lands Act applies to Alaska in

practice.

* Members of the Senate committee took special care to distinguish

between the location of the boundary and the question of title to sub-

merged lands inside the boundary:

Senator Corpon. .. Senator Daniel, . . . . [t}he second paragraph

of the suggested substitute language ... reads:

The State of Alaska shall consist of all the territory, together with

the territorial waters appurtenant thereto, now included in the Ter-

ritory of Alaska.

In your opinion, will that language give to the new State of Alaska a

political or State boundary 3 miles from shore?

Senator DanieL. It would give the State of Alaska at least that, |

would say.

Senator Dante. Your question related strictly to the boundaries

36 lll. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

2. The Submerged Lands Act

The Submerged Lands Act provides that the states are

entitled to “the lands beneath navigable waters within the

boundaries of the respective States.” § 3(a), 43 U.S.C.

§ 1311(a). The Act defines “lands beneath navigable

waters” to include

all lands permanently or periodically covered by tidal

waters up to but not above the line of mean high tide and

seaward to a line three geographical miles distant from

the coast line of each such State and to the boundary line

of each such State where in any case such boundary as it

existed at the time such State became a member of the

Union, or as heretofore approved by Congress, extends

seaward (or into the Gulf of Mexico) beyond three geo-

graphical miles... .

§ 2(a)(2), 43 U.S.C. § 1301(a)(2). By going up to the line of

mean high tide, this section includes the tidelands. By guing

seaward three miles from the coastline, it includes the tradi-

tional belt of territorial sea. By going beyond the three-mile

belt to a state’s boundary when it entered the Union, it also

appears to grant to the states certain areas that the United

States has considered high seas.

Somewhat redundantly, the Act also defines the word

“boundaries” to include “the seaward boundaries of a State

_. . as they existed at the time such State became a member

of the new State, did it not, Senator?

Senator Corpon. Yes, the boundary line.

Senator DANIEL. You are not asking about title to the submerged

lands?

Senator Corpon. No. That we will have to take care of as we did

in Hawaii, with a special provision making the provisions of the Sub-

merged Lands Act applicable. | am now simply talking about the

boundaries of the State.

1954 Senate Hearings at 280.

D. STATUTORY PROVISIONS 37

of the Union... .” § 2(b), 43 U.S.C § 130

fi Nn... , B.C. 1(b). Both defi-

nitions are limited by the following ov se

but in no event shall the term “boundaries”

b es” or the term

lands beneath navigable waters” be interpreted as ex-

tending from the coast line more than three geographical

miles into the Atlantic Ocean or the Pacific Ocean. or

more than three marine leagues into the Gulf of Mexico

§ 2(b), 43 U.S.C. § 1301(b).

The Court has stated that the Act

makes two entirely separate types of

grants of submerged

lands to the States. The first is an unconditional aon

allowing each coastal State to claim a seaward

el : toe — geographical miles distant from its

Pee be ae — iS a grant conditioned upon a

United States v. Louisiana, 389 U.S

' S. 155, 156 (1967) (con-

meer the effect of artificial jetties off the Gulf Coast of

Alaska’s claims under the Submer

ged Lands Act

framed in terms of this distinction between a ntasititene’

grant (out to the state’s historic seaward boundaries) and an

ag — my grant (out to three miles). AB 116, 128, 131:

bs 86-8 . Alaska has said that its contentions regarding

ten-mile rule (questions 3 and 13) and the assimilation

ay _— 4) are directed only to the conditional

a. The conditional grant

Alaska argues that Congress, in writi

ng the Statehood

Pa gave careful consideration to its seaward Sasa

that it defined the boundaries in terms of the teritorial sea

claimed by the United States, and that it was aware of

38 ill. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

the relationship to the Submerged Lands Act in making this

definition. Thus Alaska says, “Congress intended Alaska’s

Submerged Lands Act grant to be co-extensive with the ter-

ritorial sea claimed by the United States at the time of

Alaska’s admission.” AB 119.

These points are basically correct. See 1954 Senate Hear-

ings, supra page 35; 1955 House Hearings, supra page 35.

However, Congress did not lay down a line marking Alas-

ka’s seaward boundary or the outer limit of the territorial

sea. It clearly understood that the territorial sea was mea-

sured outward from the coastline. See, e.g, 1955 House

Hearings, supra, at 247-48, 272-73 (remarks of committee

chairman Engle). And since the width of the territorial sea

was three miles, the language of the Submerged Lands Act

defining Alaska’s entitlement would have been (at least pri-

marily) the language italicized:

all lands permanently or periodically covered by tidal

waters up to but not above the line of mean high tide and

seaward to a line three geographical miles distant from

the coast line of each such State and to the boundary line

of each such State where in any case such boundary as it

existed at the time such State became a member of the

Union, or as heretofore approved by Congress, extends

seaward (or into the Gulf of Mexico) beyond three geo-

graphical miles... .

§ 2(a)(2), 43 U.S.C. § 1301(a)(2) (emphasis added).'° Ac-

cordingly, the central question is the location of Alaska’s

coastline.

\0 Under one of Alaska’s suggested delimitation methods, the assimi-

lation method, the territorial sea could in some places be more than three

miles from any point on the baseline. See figure 3.6. Only if that method

was used would the later language of the section, referring to a boundary

extending “seaward . . . beyond three geographical miles,” come into

play. In that case, there would be a further question whether section 2(b)

D. STATUTORY PROVISIONS 39

b. The definition of “coast line”

m.. Submerged Lands Act defines the coastline as fol-

The term “coast line” means the line of ordi

ordi low

rae th oe a portion of the coast which Gi ane

WI open sea and the line marking

ward limit of inland waters . . . . re ad

§ 7S. U.S.C. § 1301(c).

as ’$ next contentions go to the applicati f thi

definition where the ‘mainland is fringed by vrs hen

anauy spaced busier intends. Alaska says that the coastline

in case is formed in part by lines joining the barrier

islands. The United States says that the coastline consists

of the line of ordinary low water along the mainland and

around each island individually. For this result it relies on

the 1965 California case, which held that the meaning of

wat waters in the Submerged Lands Act should conform

1958 Convention, and on subsequent decisions of the

Court. Alaska makes two replies, as follows.

(1) The Douglas amendment

First, Alaska argues that Congress rej ,

4 jected the United

aa interpretation of “coast line” at the time it passed the

ubmerged Lands Act. It points to the Senate floor debate.

me a Douglas of Illinois offered an amendment that

would ve defined “coast li ” . >

States now argues for: ay pet Ce way Ge Unie’

The term “coast line” means the line

. of ordinary lo

water along that portion of the coast of the main continent

nant Act, quoted supra page 37, should be read as limiting grants into

The sean an in the same way as grants into the Atlantic and Pacific.

and F(S\(d\2), below. : rosea ety gong

40 lll. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

which is in direct contact with the open sea and the line

marking the seaward limit of inland waters, and in the

case of any island seaward of such coast, means the line

ot ordinary low water around such island.

99 Cong. Rec. 4240 (1953).'' The purpose, Senator Douglas

indicated, was to foreclose expansive state claims where

there were “remote islands” lying off the coast, as in Califor-

nia. Senator Long of Louisiana objected that the amendment

would cover all offshore islands, even nearby ones such as

the Chandeleur Islands fringing the Louisiana coast, where it

was generally agreed that the intervening waters were inland

waters. The amendment was defeated. 99 Cong. Rec. 4240-

43 (1953).

pee. concludes that to apply the normal baseline provi-

sions of the Convention to near-shore island fringes is con-

trary to the intent of Congress. It suggests that the Court's

1965 decision in United States v. California pertained only

to remote islands like those off the California coast.

I agree with the United States that Alaska’s argument

comes too late. In California the Court found, after a thor-

ough review of just this history, that Congress had no intent

as to the definition of inland waters but meant to leave its in-

terpretation to the courts. It read the rejection of the Doug-

las amendment as merely rejecting the idea that Congress

should adopt its own definition. 381 U.S. at 150-60. After

the California decision adopted the Convention’s definition

for purposes of the Submerged Lands Act, 381 U.S. at 161-

67, the Court went on in the Louisiana Boundary Case to

apply that same definition to near-shore island fringes. '?

|! For the committee version of the definition, which Senator Douglas

sought to amend, see S. Rep. No. 133, 83d Cong., Ist Sess. 2 (1953). The

committee version was the same as that ultimately enacted.

\2 Except, as Alaska emphasizes, for Chandeieur and Breton Sounds,

which the United States had conceded to belong to Louisiana and for a

D. STATUTORY PROVISIONS 41

United States v. Louisiana (Louisiana Boundary Case), 394

U.S. 11, 66-73 (1969); id, Report of Special Master Walter

P. Armstrong, Jr., at 49-52 (1974) (U.S. Ex. 85-415), re-

printed in Reed et al., supra note 8, at 181, and in 59 I.L.R.

249 (ruling that Caillou Bay was not inland water); id , 420

U.S. 529 (1975) (accepting the Master’s report).

(2) The meaning of “open sea”

Second, Alaska argues that the definition of “coast line”

in the Submerged Lands Act has two parts. The coastline

consists of (1) “the line of ordinary low water along that por-

tion of the coast which is in direct contact with the open sea”

and (2) “the line marking the seaward limit of inland

waters.” § 2(c), 43 U.S.C. § 1301(c). The Court has ruled

on the part concerning inland waters, Alaska says, but it has

not determined what Congress meant by the other part of the

definition, “the line of ordinary low water along that portion

of the coast which is in direct contact with the open sea.”

Furthermore, Alaska argues, Congress intended the

phrase “in direct contact with the open sea” to include only

the seaward side of near-shore barrier islands. It relies par-

ticularly on remarks of Senator Holland, in opposition to the

Douglas amend aent (supra page 39), that “the coastline of

Louisiana was along the outer line of the great bow of is-

lands which comprise the Chandeleur Islands” and that under

the committee’s bill “there would be no question about the

outer rim of the Chandeleur Islands being that portion of the

coast which is in contact with the open sea.” 99 Cong. Rec.

4242 (1953). Alaska would draw its own coastline similarly,

along the outer rim of its barrier islands. In addition to Sen-

ator Holland’s statement, Alaska refers to (1) the ordinary

meaning of “open sea,” (2) contemporaneous administrative

time described as inland water. | will consider the implications of that

concession later.

42 ill. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

interpretations of the Submerged Lands Act, (3) the comple-

pa language of the Outer Continental Shelf Lands Act,

43 U.S.C. § 1331(a) (1988), which applies to lands “lying

seaward and outside of” the lands conveyed to the State un-

der the Submerged Lands Act, and (4) the undesirability of

enclaves and pockets of high seas.

On first examination Alaska’s position appears plausible.

I conclude, however, that Alaska’s interpretation of “coast

line” is inconsistent with the 1965 California decision. First,

the Court there took “open sea” simply to mean any waters

other than inland waters:

It is precisely that problem of defining what constitutes

open sea and what constitutes inland waters which we

must decide in the present case.

... . [T]Jhe Convention on the Territorial Sea and the

Contiguous Zone, to which we became a party in 1961,

now establishes rules for separating the open sea from

inland waters.

381 U.S. at 162 n.25. When it made this remark, the Court

was specifically concerned with the meaning of “inland

waters” in the Submerged Lands Act, see id. at 149, 161, and

it was not considering the Act’s usage of “open sea.” The

Court did also indicate, however, that it was adopting the

Convention’s definitions for all purposes concerning delimi-

tation of the coastline. Thus it said in California that its

action “establishes a single coastline for both the administra-

tion of the Submerged Lands Act and the conduct of our fu-

ture international relations,” id. at 165. Later the Court was

even more explicit:

The decision in the second California case . . . held that

Congress had le‘t it up to this Court to define the “coast

line” from which the standard three-mile grant was to be

measured.

D. STATUTORY PROVISIONS 43

United States v. Louisiana, 389 U.S. 155, 158 (1967).

Second, even if one reads California as passing only on

the definition of inland waters, Alaska’s position is still in-

consistent with the decision. The coastline Alaska contends

for would consist not only of the low-water line along the

seaward side of the barrier islands but also of straight lines

connecting the islands. In Alaska’s own view, the latter

would become the seaward limit of inland waters. Tr. 3514.

The State’s position would thus create two kinds of inland

waters: those that qualify as inland under the Convention

(without using Article 4) and those resulting from the inter-

pretation of “open sea” in the Submerged Lands Act. To

recognize the second class as inland waters would contra-

vene California’s holding that the definition of inland waters

should conform to the 1958 Convention.

This conclusion is supported by the testimony of expert

witnesses for both sides. Alaska’s witness on the subject

was Dr. J.R. Victor Prescott, a reader in geography at the

University of Melbourne (since promoted to full professor).

Professor Prescott testified initially that the mainland shore

inside the barrier islands was not in direct contact with the

open sea, Tr. 2926-27, 2931-36, 2951, but he later changed

his position and said that a coast facing the open sea is one

that does not face inland waters. Tr. 2953, 2975-79, 2985~

87. Dr. Robert Smith, Chief of the International Boundary

and Resource Division in the Office of the Geographer, De-

partment of State, testified for the United States in support of

the latter position. Tr. 3202, 3276-79.

Alaska suggests that its reading of “open sea” can be

reconciled with California by considering the lines joining

the islands to be straight baselines, which Article 4 of the

Convention authorizes. Tr. 3525. The conditions for using

straight baselines, however, are severely limited, as I shall

discuss in the next section, and in any case they are indepen-

dent of the meaning of “coast line” in the Submerged Lands

44 Ill. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

Act. I conclude that the “open sea” argument adds no extra

weight to Alaska’s case.

E. The impermissible contraction theory

According to the analysis so far, Alaska’s grant under the

Submerged Lands Act is measured outward from its coast-

line; the coastline depends on the seaward limit of inland

waters; and inland waters are to be defined according to the

Convention.

Under the Convention, waters can qualify as inland

waters in three ways: (1) they are landward of the normal

baseline or of the closing line across a bay, river, or harbor;

(2) the method of straight baselines is used, and they are

landward of a straight baseline; or (3) they qualify as a his-

toric bay.

The United States’ position, as already described, calls for

use of the first method. In general the normal baseline is the

low-water line (Article 3), with special provisions for bays

(Article 7), harbor works (Article 8), and rivers (Article 13),

but not for fringing islands. United States v. Louisiana

(Louisiana Boundary Case), 394 U.S. 11, 66-73 (1969).

Alaska argues for applying the Convention’s second

ground for inland waters, straight baselines, but not for the

third ground, historic bays.'? Alaska also offers another the-

'3 By Article 7(6) of the Convention, “so-called ‘historic’ bays” are

exempted from the usual rules for bays (Art. 7(1)}-7(5)). The Court has

applied the doctrine cf historic bays (or, more generally, of historic in-

land waters) to one fringing island situation, namely Mississippi Sound.

United States v. Louisiana (Alabama and Mississippi Boundary Case),

470 U.S. 93 (1985). The Court found there that “the United States has ef-

fectively exercised sovereignty over Mississippi Sound as inland waters

from the time of the Louisiana Purchase in 1803 until 1971, and has done

so without protest by foreign nations.” 470 U.S. at 102.

The evidentiary requirements for historic inland waters are stringent,

as the quotation just given indicates. Alaska does not claim to be able to

E. THE IMPERMISSiBLE CONTRACTION THEORY 45

ory that is independent of the Convention, which may be

called the “inland waters at statehood” argument. In this

section I examine the legal bases of these arguments; in sec-

tion F, I examine the underlying facts.

1. Article 4 straight baselines

Straight baselines under Article 4 of the Convention are

the first of Alaska’s proposed methods for determining the

State's rights in submerged lands. See supra section B(1)

and figures 3.3, 3.4, and 3.5.

The parties agree that the north coast of Alaska meets the

geographical conditions for straight baselines, as described

in Article 4(1), supra page 26. Alaska’s witness, Dr. Pres-

cot, drew such lines, and the United States agreed that, if

Article 4 baselines were to be used at all, Dr. Prescott’s lines

were in general appropriate. See Tr. 2893-2920, 2921-24:

Ak. Exs. 85-920A through 85-920T; AB 22-31.

The parties also agree, however, that the Convention

makes the use of straight baselines permissive, not manda-

tory. Within the United States, the decision whether to use

straight baselines is normally one for the Federal Govern-

ment, not the states. United States v. California, 381 U.S.

139, 167-69 (1965); United States v. Louisiana (Louisiana

Boundary Case), 394 U.S. 11, 72-73 (1969); United States

v. Louisiana (Alabama and Mississippi Boundary Case), 470

U.S. 93, 99 (1985); United States v. Maine, 475 U.S. 89, 94

n.9 (1986). Thé United States has chosen not to draw

straight baselines under Article 4. Joint Statement 7. The

satisfy them for the lands along its north coast. Cf United States v.

Alaska, 422 US. 184 (1975) (holding evidence insufficient to show Cook

porto we bay). Alaska does rely, however, on some of the same evi-

dence as for Mississippi Sound about the ice of the Uni

ma rene general practice o United

46 lll. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

general rule would thus foreclose Alaska’s claim to Article 4

baselines.

The cases have left room, however, for a possible excep-

tion to the general rule. In the 1965 California case, Califor-

nia argued that, if its inland waters were to be determined

according to the Convention, they should be determined

using Article 4. The Court, rejecting this argument, said that

the State could not use Article 4 baselines to extend our

international boundaries, beyond their traditional limits,

against the expressed opposition of the United States:

We agree with the United States that the Convention rec-

ognizes the validity of straight base lines used by other

countries, Norway for instance, and would permit the

United States to use such base lines if it chose, but that

California may not use such base lines to extend our inter-

national boundaries beyond their traditional international

limits against the expressed opposition of the United

States... . [A]n extension of state sovereignty to an inter-

national area by claiming it as inland water would neces-

sarily also extend national sovereignty, and unless the

Federal Government’s responsibility for questions of ex-

ternal sovereignty is hollow, it must have the power to

prevent States from so enlarging themselves. We con-

clude that the choice under the Convention to use the

straight-base-line method for determining inland waters

claimed against other nations is one that rests with the

Federal Government, and not with the individual States.

381 U.S. at 167-68. At the same time, the Court remarked

that a contraction of a State’s recognized territory by the

United States in the name of foreign policy would be highly

questionable: -

The national responsibility for conducting our interna-

tional relations obviously must be accommodated with the

legitimate interests of the States in the territory over

E. THE IMPERMISSIBLE CONTRACTION THEORY 47

which they are sovereign. Thus a contraction of a State’s

recognized territory imposed by the Federal Government

- _ name of foreign policy would be highly question-

e.

Id. at 168. To evaluate Alaska’s argument, it thus becomes

relevant to determine whether the use of straight baselines

off Alaska’s north coast would be an extension (or the fail-

ure to use them a contraction) compared to former practice

In the Louisiana Boundary Case, 394 U.S. 11 (1969)

Louisiana wanted to use Article 4 baselines connecting the

mainland and fringes or chains of islands along the coast.

~ at 66-67. The Court held to its position in California.

94 U.S. at 72-73. It added that, if the United States refused

to extend its coastline, it would not matter that the motiva-

lion was partially domestic:

While we agree that the straight baseline method was de-

signed for precisely such coasts as the Mississippi River

Delta area, we adhere to the position that the selection of

this optional method of establishing boundaries should be

left to the branches of Government responsible for the

formulation and implementation of foreign policy. It

would be inappropriate for this Court to review or over-

turn the considered decision of the United States, albeit

partially motivated by a domestic concern, not to extend

its borders to the furthes: extent consonant with interna-

tional law.

Id. But, the Court said, if the United States had contracted

its territory from a position that had been its “consistent offi-

cial international stance . . . , it arguably could not abandon

that stance solely to gain advantage” over Louisiana. /d at

74 n.97. Louisiana was to be permitted to argue before the

Special Master that the United States “had actually drawn its

international boundaries in accordance with the principles

and methods embodied in Article 4” in the past:

48 lll. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

Louisiana further contends that the United States is

estopped from denying the “inland water” status of such

areas by its concession in earlier stages of this litigation

that the areas between the mainland and all the offshore

islands were inland waters. . . .

It might be argued that the United States’ concession

reflected its firm and continuing international policy to

enclose inland waters within island fringes. It is not con-

tended at this time, however, that the United States has

taken that posture in its international relations to such an

extent that it could be said to have, in effect, utilized the

straight baseline approach sanctioned by Article 4 of the

Convention. If that had been the consistent official inter-

national stance of the Government, it arguably could not

abandon that stance solely to gain advantage in a lawsuit

to the detriment of Louisiana. Cf. United States v. Cali-

fornia, 381 U.S. 139, 168: “[A] contraction of a State’s

recognized territory imposed by the Federal Government

in the name of foreign policy would be highly question-

able.” We do not intend to preclude Louisiana from argu-

ing before the Special Master that, until this stage of the

lawsuit, the United States had actually drawn its interna-

tional boundaries in accordance with the principles and

methods embodied in Article 4 of the Convention on the

Territorial Sea and the Contiguous Zone.

Id. at 73 n.97 (1969).'4

The parties have disputed exactly what showings would

\4 In the Louisiana Boundary Case, the Master later found that the

United States had not used straight baselines. United States v. Louisiana

(Louisiana Boundary Case), Report of Special Master Walter P. Arm-

strong, Jr. (1974) (U.S. Ex. 85-415), reprinted in Reed et al., supra note

8. at 181, and in 59 1.L.R. 249. The Court accepted the Master’s report.

420 U.S. 529 (1975).

E. THE IMPERMISSIBLE CONTRACTION THEORY 49

have to be made to bring Alaska within the di

e dictum of

Louisiana Boundary Case. The most fundamental ao

ment, however, is clear: Alaska would be required to show

oo —* United States’ present position represents a contrac-

on of territory, compared to its position at the relevant time

ne scena the past. Only if this first showing is made does

wt ce necessary to decide what other requirements there

The next section, section F, will review th

ction, ; e facts about

whether Alaska’s territory has been contracted. ;

2. Inland waters at statehood

The argument for using Article 4 straight baselines, in-

troduced in the previous section, begins from the Court’s

rer 9 in the 1965 California case and the Louisiana

See, Case. Those statements, especially in California,

phasized the interests of the Federal Government and the

states as sovereigns. Alaska also makes a separate argument

which is independent of Article 4 and which rests on its

rights of property. In the Joint Statement it fi i

second position as follows: agra

'S Other requirements that have been

iechidetae Gateninn suggested or at least touched

|. That the United States must have foll inci

Unit owed “the principles and

— embodied in Article 4” quite literally, including even the pub-

sage of charts showing straight baselines in accordance with Article

dig = ge But see Tr. 3558-59 (United States). For Alaska’s

pense , 107, 150-51; ARB 51-52 & app. A at 35-36: Tr.

2. That the United States must have contracted i i

! its territory “solely to

a in a lawsuit to the detriment of” Alaska. USB 57-63. ag

see Tr. 3527 (Alaska), 3562 (United States) (agreeing for different rea-

7 oe is irrelevant).

: all mie Ps i

desman the criteria for a historic bay must be met. USB 55-56; Tr.

50 lll. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

The State of Alaska contends that the submerged lands

between the mainland and the barrier islands in the leased

area underlie waters which Congress considered inland

waters at the time Alaska was admitted to the Union. Ac-

cordingly, Alaska submits (1) that those lands vested in

Alaska at the moment of statehood under the Pollard rule

_. . and cannot be divested by any subsequent change of

law; and (2) that the same result obtains under the Sub-

merged Lands Act.

Joint Statement 9-10. See also Tr. 3528-29, 3585-86; ARB

39-45.

The argument has two strands, one based on the Pollard

rule and the other on the Submerged Lands Act. In the sec-

ond strand, the claim is that the Submerged Lands Act g~ant

to Alaska took effect in January 1959 and so that Alaska’s

rights must be determined as of that date. This claim cannot

be sustained. The same reasoning would lead one to say

that, because the Submerged Lands Act took effect for the

first forty-eight states in 1953, the rights of those states must

be determined as of 1953. But the United States took that

position in the 1965 California case, and the Court rejected

it. 381 U.S. at 164-65. Nor did Congress impose a special

reading on the Submerged Lands Act as applied to Alaska.

On the contrary, the Congress that enacted the Alaska State-

hood Act intended that Alaska be treated under the Sub-

merged Lands Act like the other states. See supra section

D(1).

The other part of Alaska’s argument is based on the Pol-

lard doctrine, which says that new states, upon admission to

the Union, take title to the beds of inland navigable waters

within their boundaries. Alaska says the disputed areas were

considered inlend waters at statehood by virtue of the ten-

mile rule—the sucond of its proposed delimitation methods.

Therefore, Alaska concludes, actions purporting to divest it

of these areas would be an impermissible contraction of its

E. THE IMPERMISSIBLE CONTRACTION THEORY $1

territory under the 1965 California and Louisiana Boundary

cases.

: The United States responds that the ten-mile rule was

not an unqualified principle and most likely would not

serve to enclose the waters shoreward of the barrier islands

off the North Slope of Alaska.” USB 6. Further, it says that

the rule was not its policy at Alaska’s statehood in January

1959: “[T]he federal evidence indicates that the United

States ceased following the so-called ten-mile rule for inter-

national purposes as soon as the Convention had been signed

in 1958. USB 8-9. See also USB 18-42 (giving the

United States’ version of the policy over the years); USB

53-54 (on the qualifications to the rule); USRB 9 n.3, 13-14

(also on the qualifications). Finally, the United States argues

pene re ne the — at statehood in 1959, the doctrine of

. Hagan does not free iti i

phat mae ze the definition of inland

I turn to the evaluation of these arguments in section F.

3. General remarks

Alaska points out that it is not attempting to show that the

waters inside barrier islands qualify as historic bays under

Article 7(6) of the Convention. Rather, it seeks to show that

these waters were inland by virtue of a general delimitation

system that the United States employed at the times signifi-

cant to the development of Alaska’s rights. AB 124-25: Tr.

3531-32. Either because the system amounted to a long-

standing use of straight baselines, or because the system

made the waters inland at the moment of statehood, a later

move to the normal baseline provisions of the Convention

dg Alaska’s view, an impermissible contraction of its

If this were a historic bay case, the burden would be on

Alaska to show, inter alia, a long-continued exercise of gov-

ernmental authority over the disputed areas as inland waters.

§2 Il. THE EFFECT OF ISLANDS ON THE COASTLINE

See United States v. California, 381 U.S. 139, 172-75

(1965); Louisiana Boundary Case, 394 U.S. 11, 74-78

(1969); United States v. Alaska, 422 U.S. 184 (1975); Ala-

bama and Mississippi Boundary Case, 470 U.S. 93 (1985).

| assume arguendo that something less than the disclaimer of

a historic bay might amount to an impermissible contraction

of a state’s territory.'® To relax the requirements, however,

is not to shift the burden of proof. Alaska must at least show

that the disputed areas were once part of its territory. Where

no particularized claim to these areas has been made, it

would require a rather well-established and well-defined rule

for inland water delimitation to imply such a claim. For

such a rule, Alaska relies on the Alabama and Mississippi

Boundary Case.

F. Past delimitation practice of the United States

The past practice of the United States in delimiting its

inland waters and territorial sea bears on two related but dis-

tinguishable questions, raised in sections E(1) and E(2):

1. Has there been a contraction of Alaska’s recognized

territory within the meaning of the California and Louisiana

Boundary cases?

2. Were the disputed areas considered inland waters at

Alaska’s statehood?

In addition, a review of the practice will lead to a con-

clusion about Alaska’s final theory, which is based on the

assimilation of certain waters to the territorial sea.

1. The Alabama and Mississippi Boundary Case

As noted in section B(2), the Court has already made a

finding as to the delimitation practice of the United States in

1959. The context of that finding was a controversy over the

status of Mississippi Sound. The Court said:

6 The United States suggests the contrary. See supra note 15.

F. PAST DELIMITATION PRACTICE OF THE UNITED STATES 53

Prior to its ratification of the Convention on March 24

1961, the United States had adopted a policy of enclosing

as inland waters those areas between the mainland and

off-lying islands that were so closely grouped that no en-

trance exceeded 10 geographical miles. This 10-mile rule

represented the publicly stated policy of the United States

at least since the time of the Alaska Boundary Arbitration

Se Ts ee anes tote ange Gallen wave

aware United States had adopted this policy. In-

dou the Wiha Sieh? pedlee eoneted oat torah

length by both the United Kingdom and Norway in the

celebrated Fisheries Case (U.K. v. Nor.), 1951 1.C.J. 116.

Nor is there any doubt, under the stipulations of the par-

ties in this case, that Mississippi Sound constitutes inland

waters under that view.

United States v. Louisiana (Alabama and Mississippi Bound-

ary Case), 470 U.S. 93, 106-07 (1985) (footnotes omitted)

In a footnote the Court added: ,

The United States confirmed this policy in a number of

official communications during the period from 1951 to

1961. See Report of Special Master 48-54. Also, the

United States followed this policy in drawing the Chap-

man line along the Louisiana coast following the decision

in United States v. Louisiana, 339 U.S. 699 (1950). See

Shalowitz, at 161. In a letter to Governor Wright of Mis-

SiSSippi, written on October 17, 1951, Oscar L. Chapman,

then Secretary of the Interior, indicated that if the Chap-

man line were extended eastward beyond the Louisiana

a it would enclose Mississippi Sound as inland

470 U.S. at 106 n.9.

The parties ag

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Special Master Report — Cuban American Bar Ass'n v. Christopher · 516 U.S. 913 | Frix