Petitioners Brief — Toibb v. Radloff

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

SHELDON BARUCH TOIbB,

Petitioner,

Vv.

STUART J. RADLOFF, TRUSTEE,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

Of Counsel TIMOTHY B. Dyk

JONATHAN W. BELKSY (Counsel of Record)

7817 Forsyth Blvd. PETER M. LIEB

Suite 200 DOUGLAS B. LEVENE

Clayton, Missouri 63105 PATRICK J. POTTER

(314) 726-5068 JONES, DAY, REAVIS & POGUE

1450 G Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 879-3939

Counsel for Petitioner

WILSON - Epes PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether individuals are barred under Section 109(d)

of the Bankruptcy Code from reorganizing under chapter

11 unless they are engaged in business.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ......... iulstibadhibisdapetiehptenneten

STATEMENT OF FACTS 00000002000.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

ARGUMENT ........00......... Pininieiniapiiitilngas euiabeibesebeneeibianes a

I.

II.

Ill.

IV.

THE PLAIN LANGUAGE OF THE BANK-

RUPTCY CODE MAKES PETITIONER ELI-

GIBLE FOR RELIEF UNDER CHAPTER 11.

CONGRESS DID NOT INTEND TO RE-

VERSE THE PRACTICE UNDER CHAPTER

XI OF THE BANKRUPTCY ACT OF PER-

MITTING NON-BUSINESS DEBTORS TO

I Aisdiniienciersnteninesshindoniesarecinsioninseareassssesese

THE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY EVINCES

CONGRESS'S INTENT TO MAKE ALL IN-

DIVIDUALS ELIGIBLE FOR CHAPTER 11 ..

PERMITTING NONBUSINESS INDIVIDUAL

DEBTORS TO SEEK CHAPTER 11 RELIEF

IS CONSISTENT WITH BOTH THE STRUC-

TURE OF THE BANKRUPTCY CODE AND

THE POLICY UNDERLYING CHAPTER 11.

A. Chapter 11 Relief for Nonbusiness Individ-

ual Debtors Is Consistent With the Structure

of the Bankruptcy Code _._.

B. No Policy Bars Nonbusiness Individual

Debtors From Seeking Relief Under Chapter

RE Re SCE eee ee ee ea

(iii)

10

10

13

17

20

27

29

iv

TABLF OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Blum v. Stenson, 465 U.S. 886 (1984)...

Caminetti v. United States, 242 U.S. 470 (1917)..

Central Trust Co., Rochester, N.Y. v. Official

Creditors’ Committee of Geiger Enterprises, 454

U.S. 354 (1982) (per curiam) .........»»»_—

Consumer Prod. Safety Comm’n. v. GTE Syl-

vania, Inc., 447 U.S. 102 (1980) 0

In re LeMaire, 883 F.2d 1373 (8th Cir. 1989), reh’g

granted, vacated, 871 F.2d 650, on reh’g, 898

ey | = eesseiuiiteasenmnes

In re Moog, 774 F.2d 1073 (11th Cir. 1985) (per

ES RASA as. eS ee a, a

In re Ross, 95 Bankr. 509 (Bankr. S.D. Ohio

BREESE aS a ee et a a

In re Silva, 82 Bankr. 845 (Bankr. S.D. Ohio

1987)

11

21

INS v. Cardoza-Fonseca, 480 U.S. 421 (1987) ....10, 11, 20

Midlantice National Bank v. New Jersey Depart-

ment of Environmental Protection, 474 U.S. 484

i

Packard Motor Car Co. v. NLRB, 330 U.S. 485

SESE Ec MOSS» nae serie ee

Pennsylvania Dep't. of Public Welfare v. Daven-

port, 110 8. Ct. 2126 (1990) .....................0.000.......

Perry v. Commerce Loan Co., 383 U.S. 392

BREE EDA SES ce BES SS a EE a

SEC v. United States Realty & Improvement Com-

pany, 310 U.S. 434 (1940) 2.00.

Stolkin v. Nachman, 472 F.2d 222 (7th Cir.

EEE SN ae a

United Savings Ass’n of Texas v. Timbers of

Inwood Forest Associates, Ltd., 484 U.S. 365

FE a EST SS eae ee

United States v. Hartwell, 73 U.S. (6 Wall.) 385

SEES EERE SR ee

United States v. Ron Pair Enterprises, Inc., 489

EE ER Se

United States v. Turkett, 452 U.S. 576 (1981).

United States v. Whiting Pools, Inc., 462 U.S. 198

(1983)

ee ee eee eee eee ee ee ee eee ee eee eee ee ee et

13

11

13, 25

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

United States v. Wiltberger, 18 U.S. (5 Wheat.)

8) 11

Wamsganz v. Boatmen’s Bank of DeSoto, 804 F. 2d

508 (Sth Cir. 1986) ...........----------------eceee-eeeeeeeeeeees 6, 7,8

White v. Board of Trade of the City of Chicago,

492 F.2d 871 (7th Cir. 1974) .....................------- 16

FEDERAL STATUTES

United States Bankruptcy Code, as amended, 11

U.S.C. § 101 et seq. (1988) _.......--.--eeeeee ree ; -

0 a ee \

tr 7+ + ao ii,22 28

21 UGLA.C. 8 BOB ......------.-2---22---200-cnerene-aceneeosencnsenee 21

11 U.S.C. § 507 ................ sinned ahaa idea adi 4

| 8 Fe nn Dstt 4

BE UBC. § GBB —....--222-.--222--02--0-ecneeeeeeseeenesensaceore 4, 21

QING yy ———————————E 21

11 U.S.C. § 701 _.......... On eae ee ee 1,3

Ol) -) .. 19, 21

Ay ————————————EE 28

IR yy 3, 19, 21

11 U.S.C. § 726 _............ siaeiastiansaiainteonianinieianstadas 21

|. .) 21

11 U.S.C. § 1102 .......... ss aipeadmntsatisssatincaiiindeleniiiedal 23

Vo) -)) 18

a ne 23

LY 8 > ers RATES 18

Oe Be ID eccccccescnensvcoremees pees oo ceil 4, 24, 28

0 8 Es Papen eee 23

ON ..... = nsanesesnasanemesoosscamnesnnnmneeneren 23

0) (3 )))) 4, 23

EEE, 23

11 U.S.C. § 1129 .............--.. See ee ea 23, 24, 27

(lL eee ete er as 24

i 8 ee eae 26

IL = 12

8 es —_ >

UL) 4)” iia ee 22

BE UBC. § 2BBB ...........-2200----0-c0-nene-crenseeenscreonenreees 22

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

i cenmibeioiene 22

EEE EE RO ira Re ae 22

ERG a 22

BANKRUPTCY ACT PROVISIONS

Bankruptcy Act §§ 101-276, 11 U.S.C. §§ 501-676

(1976) (repealed 1979) —........0- 13

Bankruptcy Act §§ 301-399, 11 U.S.C. §§ 701-799

(1976) (repealed 1979) —.....0 14

Bankruptcy Act §§ 401-526, 11 U.S.C. §§ 801-926

(1976) (repealed 1979) —....00 enn. 14

Bankruptcy Act §§ 106(3), (5), 11 U.S.C. §§ 506

(3), (5) (1976) (repealed 1979) 0. 14

Bankruptcy Act § 126, 11 U.S.C. § 526 (1976) (re-

I i a 14

Bankruptcy Act §§ 621, 622, 11 U.S.C. § 1021,

1022 (1976) (repealed 1979) — 0... 15

Bankruptcy Act § 606(3), 11 U.S.C. § 1006(3)

LE Ean en nen Ie 15

Bankruptcy Act § 608(8), 11 U.S.C. § 1006(8)

(repealed 1979) 2.........occcccccccceeee fa 15

Bankruptcy Act §379, 11 U.S.C. §779 (1976)

ST TTS STIS LNT =e 15

Bankruptcy Act § 1(32), 11 U.S.C. § 1(32) (1976)

I a siesiiabsbibtienien 15

BANKRUPTCY ACT RULES

I een 14

EE Ne ACR 14

STATE STATUTE

Mo. Rev. Stat. §§ 513.427, 513.430 (1989) _.......... 4,5

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

S. Rep. No. 989, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. (1978), re-

printed in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News

I ihe thie a i 13, 18

H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. (1977),

reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

SSR SSE eet 13, 14, 16, 18, 19, 27, 28

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

MISCELLANEOUS Page

2 L. King, Collier Bankruptcy Manual (3d ed.

1990) _....... OE LEAT ES RA 2TR SL SO a Dae 24, 28

3 L. King, Collier Bankruptcy Manual (3d ed.

ea aepememnenpans 22

9 J. Moore & L. King, Collier on Bankruptcy

ee SE, seceshenenenmsendanee 17

Herbert, Consumer Chapter 11 Proceedings, 91

Com. L.J. 234 (1986) _.... ed eS oo 15, 16, 18, 25

Note, Individual Consumer Debtors Are Eligible

For Chapter 11 Relief, 1988 Ill. L. Rev. 785........ 25

R. Jordan & W. Warren, Bankruptcy (2d ed.

IIs sicoilll leek cciaet ss eeasitdiahealiabieeetbensauneninenebene 15, 17, 22, 26

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 90-368

SHELDON BARUCH TOIBB,

Petitioner,

Vv.

STUART J. RADLOFF, TRUSTEE,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

STATEMENT OF FACTS

Petitioner is an individual who sought relief under

Title 11, chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy

Code' because he believed that a reorganization offered

him and his creditors more value than his only alterna-

tive, liquidation under chapter 7.° The courts below dis-

missed his petition, holding that, because petitioner had

111 U.S.C. § 1101 et seq. (1988). All chapter and section refer-

ences are to Title 11 of the United States Code (the “Bankruptcy

Code” or “Code’’) unless otherwise indicated. ,

211 U.S.C. § 701 et seq. (1988).

2

no business, he could not proceed under chapter 11. The

issue presented is whether chapter 11 is open to any

“person,” as provided in section 109(d) of the Bank-

ruptcy Code, or whether chapter 11 is closed to individ-

uals not engaged in business notwithstanding their abil-

ity to effectuate a plan of reorganization and reorganize

successfully.

Petitioner is a licensed attorney who had gained ex-

pertise as an energy lawyer from March 1980 until

September 1981 at the Federal Energy Regulatory Com-

mission (“FERC’’).’ Upon leaving FERC, he wrote a

business plan to create an independent hydroelectric gen-

eration company and successfully marketed the plan to

two independent investors. J.A. 128-132. In 1983, these

investors formed Independence Electric Corporation

(“TEC”), J.A. 96, 131-32. In exchange for his busi-

ness plan, petitioner received 24% of the stock of IEC.

Id. The two investors received the remaining 76% of

IEC’s stock. J.A. 96, 132. At the time, petitioner and

IEC also signed a consulting agreement. Petitioner ex-

pected his consultancy to IEC to continue indefinitely.

J.A. 132-38. Petitioner’s consultancy to IEC continued,

however, only until April 1985, when his agreement was

terminated. He retained counsel, claiming that his con-

sulting had been terminated in violation of the terms of

the agreement, and seeking to protect his stock interest.

J.A. 136-38.

In the summer of 1986, petitioner came to believe that

the two other IEC investors had abandoned the company

and thus that IEC’s stock was worthless. J.A. 141-42.

Accordingly, in November 1986, having debts which ex-

ceeded what he believed to be the value of his one sig-

nificant established asset, the IEC stock, petitioner filed

for protection under chapter 7 of the Bankruptcy Code

3 Joint Appendix (“J.A.”), at 128-29, 162. Citations to “Pet.

App.” are to the Appendix to Petition for Certiorari.

3

and a trustee was appointed to liquidate petitioner’s es-

tate. Chapter 7 of the Bankruptcy Code permits a debtor

to liquidate its assets for distribution to creditors. The

chapter does not contemplate the continued operation of

the debtor’s business for more than a limited period.°

In 1987, after filing his chapter 7 petition, petitioner’s

belief about the value of his bankruptcy estate changed.

Petitioner testified that in 1987 he learned that IEC’s

majority shareholders had not abandoned the company

and had successfully pursued applications to FERC for

licenses to construct and operate hydroelectric power

plants.° He also concluded that he had causes of action

against the majority IEC shareholders for “an improper

attempt to squeeze [petitioner] out [of IEC] and for

breach of fiduciary duty in connection with their activi-

ties after the formation of IEC.” J.A. 115; see also J.A.

110, 142-43.

In the summer of 1987, at or about the time FERC first

granted a license to IEC, the Board of Directors of IEC

offered to purchase petitioner’s stock for $25,000. The

trustee sought to accept the offer and notified creditors

that he would sell the stock absent a valid objection to

the sale. J.A. 13-14. Thereafter, on September 21, 1987,

petitioner filed a petition in the bankruptcy court to con-

vert his case to a case under chapter 11 of the Bank-

ruptcy Code, the chapter permitting debtors to avoid

liquidation by reorganizing under a plan confirmed by

the bankruptcy court. J.A. 15-16. Petitioner also ob-

jected to the sale of stock as the chapter 7 trustee had

proposed, arguing that the sale would be unfair and in-

equitable and urging that he should be permitted an op-

portunity to reorganize his affairs under chapter 11. J.A.

411 U.S.C. §§ 701-766 (1988) ; J.A. 141-42

5 See Section 721 of the Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. § 721 (1988).

6 Petitioner testified that FERC in fact issued one such license

effective August 1, 1987 and licenses for three additional sites effec-

tive December 1, 1987. J.A. 96-97, 142.

4

17-20. On October 2, 1987, the bankruptcy court granted

petitioner’s petition to convert his case to chapter 11;

discharged the trustee (including apparently any respon-

sibilities in connection with the proposed sale of petition-

er’s IEC shares); permitted the petitioner to manage his

own affairs as a so-called debtor-in-possession; and or-

dered the petitioner, among other things, to file a chapter

11 statement of financial affairs, a disclosure statement

and a plan of reorganization. J.A. 21-23."

On October 20, 1987, petitioner filed his statement of

financial affairs, including the required schedules of his

assets and liabilities. These schedules, as supplemented

by an amendment executed February 1, 1988, reflect that

petitioner had- debts totalling $141,819.97, of which

$137,619.34 consisted of unsecured claims without prior-

ity and $4200.63 consisted of a priority tax claim * which

petitioner listed as disputed. Pet. App. 23; J.A. 39, 64.

Petitioner also listed $1,170.00 in exempt property.’ J.A.

7 Section 521(1) of the Bankruptcy Code requires a debtor to

“file a list of creditors, and unless the court orders otherwise, a

schedule of assets and liabilities, a schedule of current income and

current expenditures, and a statement of the debtor’s financial af-

fairs.” 11 U.S.C. §521(1) (1988). See also Section 1112(e) of the

Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. § 1112(e) (1988) (requiring chapter 11

debtors to file the information required by 11 U.S.C. § 521(1)).

Section 1121 of the Bankruptcy Code permits the debtor to file a

plan of reorganization. 11 U.S.C. § 1121 (1988). Section 1125(b)

requires court approval, after notice and a hearing, of a written dis-

closure statement before acceptance or rejection of a plan may be

solicited. 11 U.S.C. §1125(b) (1988).

8 The order in which claims will be paid from the estate is found

in section 507. Certain tax claims are paid pursuant to section 507

(a) (7). 11 U.S.C. § 507 (1988).

®In connection with his chapter 7, petitioner had claimed this

property to be exempt from the estate pursuant to section 522(b)

(2) (A) of the Bankruptcy Code and Section 513.430 of the Missouri

Statutes. Section 522(b)(2)(A) permits an individual to exempt

from property of the bankruptcy estate “any property that is ex-

empt under . . . state or local law that is applicable on the date of

ae

5

12, 54, 97-98. H> also listed “[c]ontingent and unliqui-

dated claims” agzinst the two IEC business associates

and his 400-share “interest” in IEC as assets having

an unknown dollar value. J.A. 55, 65. His assets thus

consisted principally o: his 400 shares of IEC stock and

the potential causes of action against the two remaining

IEC shareholders. J.A. i52-54.

On February 1, 1988, petitioner also filed a Plan of

Reorganization (the “Plan’”’) rd a Disclosure Statement

pursuant to Sections 1121 and 1125(b) of the Bank-

ruptey Code. The Plan and Disclosure Statement indi-

cated that petitioner had obtained a commitment for an

unsecured loan of $25,000, which would be used to fund

the Plan. J.A. 75-76, 94.” Specifically, petitioner would

pay in full all administrative expenses of the bankruptcy

case and the priority tax claim—-estimated to be in the

aggregate amount of approximately $10,000. J.A. 75-76,

91-93. Petitioner would pay the remaining $15,000 on a

pro rata basis to general unsecured creditors. J.A. 92-93.

Petitioner would also pay general unsecured creditors

pro rata, until the principal amount of their claims had

been paid in full, out of a fund composed of 50% of any

dividends petitioner received on his IEC shares for a six-

year period, 50% of the proceeds of the sale of his IEC

stock should he decide voluntarily to sell the stock within

that six-year period, and 100% of any amount he re-

ceives as a judgment or in settlement of any claim peti-

the filing of the petition at the place in which the debtor’s domicile

has been located... .” At the time he filed his bankruptcy petition,

petitioner was domiciled in Missouri. Pursuant to Missouri Re-

vised Statutes § 513.427, Missouri has “opted out” of the federal

exemption scheme, and has made available to Missouri debtors only

the Missouri exemption list. Petitioner had claimed as exempt prop-

erty which is included in the Missouri list.

10 The $25,000 loan was proposed to be repaid from petitioner’s

personal income that he earned subsequent to confirmation of the

Plan, including any dividends he received on his IEC shares. J.A. 94.

6

tioner files against the two remaining IEC shareholders

and others. J.A. 75-76, 93-94, 114-15.

The Plan of Reorganization thus offered the possibility

of paying unsecured creditors an amount greater than

petitioner’s creditors would have received in a liquidation

under chapter 7."' Because petitioner could not receive

any litigation or settlement proceeds until his creditors

were paid 100% of the principal amount of their claims,

the Plan was apparently designed to give petitioner an in-

centive to prosecute the lawsuit vigorously and to obtain

a judgment notice or settlement that would pay in full

his unsecured creditors and allow additional recovery to

him personally.

On March 8, 1988, without passing on the adequacy of

the Disclosure Statement * or providing the creditors an

opportunity to vote for or against a proposed plan of re-

organization, the bankruptcy court sua sponte entered an

order to show cause why petitioner’s chapter 11 case

should not be dismissed for petitioner’s failure tu qualify

as a chapter 11 debtor. J.A. 121. The order to show

cause was apparently based on the court’s concern that

petitioner’s filing was inconsistent with the Eighth Cir-

cuit’s decision in Wamsganz v. Boatmen’s Bank of DeSoto,

11Qn March 3, 1988, the bankruptcy court received a letter from

one of the two remaining IEC shareholders, offering to pay $50,000

for petitioner’s stock and a release of liability from all claims by the

petitioner against himself, the second remaining shareholder and

other officers, employees, and agents of IEC. J.A. 109-12, 100-

02. As the letter required acceptance of the offer within 30 days

from its receipt, J.A. 102, the court had no assurance that the

$50,000 would be available if the court required conversion of peti-

tioner’s case to chapter 7.

12 The bankruptcy court questioned whether any amendments to

the Disclosure Statement were required by the letter referenced in

footnote 11 that had been received after the Disclosure Statement

was filed. J.A. 118,

7

804 F.2d 503 (8th Cir. 1980), permitting individuals to

reorganize under chapter 11 only if they have businesses.

At the hearing on the court’s order to show cause, peti-

tioner attempted to show that he had a business to re-

organize. His counsel also argued that cases in other cir-

cuits have held, contrary to the Eighth Circuit’s decision

in Wamsganz, that chapter 11 is available to individuals

not engaged in business. J.A. 151. No creditor appeared

at the hearing or filed a pleading with the court in sup-

port of a dismissal of petitioner’s chapter 11 case. J.A.

4, 122, 124.

On August 1, 1988, the bankruptcy court ruled that

petitioner was not eligible for chapter 11 and ordered the

dismissal of petitioner’s case if he did not reconvert the

case to one under chapter 7. The court rejected petition-

er’s contention that he had a business that could be reor-

ganized pursuant to chapter 11. Pet. App. 27-28. The

court also held that the Eighth Circuit’s rule in Wams-

ganz required it to dismiss the chapter 11 cases of indi-

viduals who did not have businesses, stating:

Chapter 11 was designed to affect business rehabili-

tation and therefore “persons not engaged in busi-

ness may not seek relief under chapter 11 of the

Bankruptcy Cede.” This court must apply the posi-

tion of the Wameganz Court with respect to chapter

11 eligibility.

Pet. App. 24.

The United States District Court for the Eastern Dis-

trict of Missouri affirmed without specifically discussing

petitioner’s argument that chapter 11 is available to in-

18In the bankruptcy court, petitioner testified that he was at-

tempting to reorganize his business as an energy consultant and that

he also had earned money in a separate business as a private char-

itable fundraiser. J.A. 143-145. The bankruptcy court found these

activities did not constitute “businesses” permitting reorganization

under chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code. Pet. App. 24-25. Peti-

tioner does not challenge the sufficiency of that finding in this Court.

8

dividual debtors who are not engaged in business. Pet.

App. 9-16. The Eighth Circuit also affirmed, concluding

in a brief opinion that:

the Bankruptcy Court did have authority to dismiss

the proceeding sua sponte, and that the Bankruptcy

Court was controlled by Wamsganz, 804 F.2d 503.

We can also find no error in the Bankruptcy Court’s

finding that Mr. Toibb did not qualify as a business

entitled to chapter 11 protection.

Pet. App. 5."

In view of a conflict in the circuits,"* this Court granted

the petition for certiorari on January 18, 1991.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. Section 109(d) of the Bankruptcy Code states that

any “person” eligible to be a debtor under chapter 7, with

certain inapplicable exceptions, is eligible for chapter 11.

There is no question that petitioner is eligible for chapter

7. Section 109(b) states that any “‘person,” with certain

inapplicable exceptions, is eligible for chapter 7. A “per-

son” under section 101(37) is defined as an “individual,

partnership or corporation,” other than certain govern- -

mental entities. The plain meaning of these words is that,

with certain inapplicable exceptions, all individuals are

eligible for chapter 7, and ergo chapter 11 relief. When

the language of an act is clear, as it is in this case, such

language is to be given effect, without the necessity of

further inquiry.

4 The Eighth Circuit denied petitioner’s petition for rehearing

en banc in which he asked the court to reexamine its decision in

Wamsganz in light of the decisions in other circuits “that non-

business individual debtors are eligible for chapter 11.” J.A. 177-78.

15 The Eleventh Circuit held in Jn re Moog, 774 F.2d 1073 (1985)

(per curiam), that consumer debtors could seek relief under chap-

ter 11. Moog relied on the absence from the eligibility section for

chapter 11 of any requirement that the debtor be engaged in an

ongoing business, 774 F.2d at 1075, and on the legislative history to

the Bankruptcy Code. 774 F.2d at 1074.

II. Chapter 11 represents a consolidation of chapter

XI of the Bankruptcy Act and two other chapters. Non-

business individuals were eligible for relief under former

chapter XI. Because Congress was aware of the prac-

tice and did not expressly, or even impliedly, indicate an

intent to reverse this practice by preventing nonbusiness

individuals from seeking chapter 11 relief, a business re-

quirement should not be read into section 109(d). Con-

gress knew how to limit eligibility for different forms of

bankruptcy relief, and failed to do so here.

III. Furthermore, the legislative history to the Bank-

ruptey Code reveals that Congress expressly intended to

make chapter 11 available to nonbusiness individuals.

The Senate Report specifically stated that chapter 11

“permits individuals to use this chapter,” and the House

Report plainly contemplates that consumers would be

eligible to use chapter 11.

IV. Petitioner’s eligibility for chapter 11 relief is also

consistent with the scheme of the Bankruptcy Code and

with the policy underlying chapter 11. The Code’s struc-

ture generally permits debtors to select between two or

more chapters under which to file. Each chapter pro-

vides different advantages and disadvantages to a debtor.

Congress left it to each debtor to analyze his situation

and select the chapter which best suits his needs. Finally,

permitting individual nonbusiness debtors to reorganize

under «h.voter 11 fulfills the underlying policy of encour-

aging reorganizations over liquidations.

10

ARGUMENT

Petitioner is eligible for relief under chapter 11 for

four reasons. First, the plain language of the Bankruptcy

Code makes all persons, including individuals, eligible to

be debtors under chapter 11. Second, chapter 11 repre-

sents the consolidation of three prior reorganization pro-

visions, one of which was available to individual debtors

not engaged in business, and there is no indication that

Congress intended to change that element of the prior

chapter. Accordingly, it should be presumed that Con-

gress intended to maintain such eligibility in the new

chapter 11. Third, the legislative history indicates that

Congress intended that nonbusiness individuals would

continue to be eligible for reorganization under chapter

11. Finally, permitting individual debtors without busi-

nesses to seek chapter 11 relief is consistent both with

the structure of the Bankruptcy Code and the policy

underlying chapter 11.

I. THE PLAIN LANGUAGE OF THE BANKRUPTCY

CODE MAKES PETITIONER ELIGIBLE FOR RE-

LIEF UNDER CHAPTER 11

It is well settled that unambiguous statutory language

must be accepted as conclusive “in the absence of a

‘clearly expressed legislative intent to the contrary.’” ™

Here, the Court should reverse because the statutory

language unambiguously gives all individuals the right

to proceed under chapter 11 and, as we discuss below, far

from evincing a contrary intent, the legislative history

supports the proposition that any individual, whether or

16 United States v. Turkett, 452 U.S. 576, 580 (1981). Accord

Consumer Prod. Safety Comm’n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc., 447 U.S.

102, 108 (1980); Blum v. Stenson, 465 U.S. 886, 896 (1984);

INS v. Cardoza-Fonseca, 480 U.S. 421, 432 n.12 (1987); United

Savings Ass'n of Texas v. Timbers of Inwood Forest Associates,

Ltd., 484 U.S. 365, 379-80 (1988).

11

not engaged in business, is eligible for relief under chap-

ter 11."

The relevant statutory language is contained in sec-

tion 109(d), which states that any “person” eligible to

be a debtor under chapter 7, with certain exceptions not

relevant here, is qualified to be a debtor under chapter

11."° There is no question that petitioner is eligible for

chapter 7. Indeed, the Bankruptcy Court sought to force

petitioner to utilize chapter 7, and it is quite clear that

he qualifies for that chapter. Section 109(b) provides

that any “person” may be a debtor under chapter 7,

again with certain exceptions not pertinent here.*® The

17 This Court has also held in a long line of cases that when

the language of am act is clear, as here, that language must be

given effect without regard to extraneous evidence of legislative

intent. E.g., United States v. Wiltberger, 18 U.S. (5 Wheat.) 76,

95-96 (1820); United States v. Hartwell, 73 U.S. (6 Wall.) 385,

395-396 (1868); Caminetti v. United States, 242 U.S. 470, 489-490

(1917); Packard Motor Car Co. v. NLRB, 330 U.S. 485, 492

(1947); Central Trust Co., Rochester, N.Y. v. Official Creditors’

Committee of Geiger Enterprises, 454 U.S. 354, 359-560 (1982)

(per curiam); see INS v. Cardoza-Fonseca, 480 U.S. 421, 452-453

(1987) (Sealia, J., concurring). An exception to this general rule

is where the literal application of the statute would yield an “ab-

surdity,” United States v. Hartwell, 73 U.S. (6 Wall.) at 396, or

a result “plainly at variance with the policy of the legislation as

a whole.” Perry v. Commerce Loan Co., 383 U.S. 392, 400 (1966)

(citation omitted); accord United States v. Ron Pair Enterprises,

Inc., 489 U.S. 235, 242-243. This exception does not apply here.

See Point IV infra.

1®11 U.S.C. §109(d) (1988) (providing that stockbrokers and

commodity brokers may not be, and railroads may be, chapter 11

debtors) .

111 U.S.C. §109(b) (1988). The “persons” who may not be

chapter 7 debtors are railroads, insurance companies, banks, sav-

ings banks, savings and loan associations, building and ‘oan asso-

ciations, homestead associations and credit unions, whether such

entities are domestic or foreign and doing business in the United

States; and domestic “industrial bank[{s] or similar institution[s]

which [fare] insured bank[s| as defined in Section 3(b) of the

Federal Deposit Insurance Act ....” Id.

12

word “person” is defined in section 101(37) to mean an

“individual, partnership or corporation,” other than cer-

tain governmental entities.*” The plain meaning of these

words is that, with a few exceptions not relevant here, an

individual who is eligible to be a debtor under chapter 7,

such as petitioner, is also eligible to be a debtor under

chapter 11.

Congress knew well how to limit eligibility under the

Bankruptcy Code when it chose to do so. Chapter 13 is

expressly limited to certain “individuals”;* chapter 9

is only available to municipalities;** and only farmers

are eligible for relief under chapter 12.** Even chapter

11 itself expressly excludes certain classes of persons,

such as stockbrokers and commodity brokers (and ex-

pressly includes railroads, which are ineligible under

chapter 7).** Congress also knew how to distinguish

individuals engaged in business from consumers when

necessary, as in section 1304 which specifically defines

what constitutes being engaged in business for the pur-

pose of defining the rights and duties of the debtor and

the trustee in a chapter 13 proceeding.” What is striking

here is the absence from the language of section 109(d),

which determines eligibility for chapter 11, of even a

hint of an intent to bar individual debtors not engaged in

business, despite Congress’s carefully crafted limitations

on eligibility for other debtors.

“611 U.S.C. §101(37) (1988) as amended by Pub.L. No. 101-647

(November 25, 1990).

2111 U.S.C. §109(e) (1988). See text at note 64 supra for a

description of these limitations.

22 11 U.S.C. § 109(c) (1988).

23 11 U.S.C. § 109(f) (1988).

2411 U.S.C. § 109(d) (1988).

25.11 U.S.C. § 1304 (1988); see also 11 U.S.C. § 1302(c) (1988).

13

II. CONGRESS DID NOT INTEND TO REVERSE THE

PRACTICE UNDER CHAPTER XI OF THE BANK-

RUPTCY ACT OF PERMITTING NONBUSINESS

DEBTORS TO REORGANIZE

This Court has held that “the normal rule of statutory

construction is that if Congress intends for legislation to

change the interpretation of a judicially created concept,

it makes that intent specific.” ** This rule applies with

“particular care in construing the scope of bankruptcy

codifications.” ** Here, the practice under the predecessor

provisions to chapter 11 was to permit nonbusiness indi-

vidual debtors to reorganize. In the absence of any “con-

gressional intent to depart from [prior judicial] prac-

tice,” ** it should be presumed that Congress intended to

continue that practice in the codification of chapter 11

and that Congress intended that chapter 11 ‘Se made

available to nonbusiness individual debtors.

Chapter 11 represents the consolidation of three re-

organization provisions of the prior Bankruptcy Act.*

Those provisions were, respectively, forme: chapter X,*°

26 Midlantic National Bank v. New Jersey Department of En-

vironmental Protection, 474 U.S. 494, 501 (1986) (restrictions on

judicially-created abandonment power held included in subsequent

codification of that power). Accord Pennsylvania Dep't of Public

Welfare v. Davenport, 110 S. Ct. 2126, 2133 (1990) (“We will not

read the Bankruptcy Code to erode past bankruptcy practice absent

a clear indication that Congress intended such a departure.” ).

27 Midlantic National Bank, 474 U.S. at 501.

28 United States v. Whiting Pools, Inc., 462 U.S. 198, 208 (1983).

2° See S. Rep. No. 989, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 9 (1978) [herein-

after cited as S. Rep.|, reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

News 5897, 5795; H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 223

(1977) [hereinafter cited as H.R. Rep.|, reprinted in 1978 US.

Code Cong. & Admin. News 5963, 6182.

*® Bankruptey Act §§ 101-276, 11 U.S.C. §$§ 501-676 (1976) (re-

pealed 1979). Former chapter X was designed for the reorganiza-

tion of large companies, with widely dispersed ownership, a sig-

14

which provided for the reorganization of public com-

panies, former chapter XI," which provided for the

reorganization of corporations, partnerships, and indi-

viduals, and former chapter XII,** which provided for

the reorganization of certain noncorporate real estate

entities.** Former chapter X was the only one of these

pre-Code provisions that clearly excluded individuals.”

While it may have been unusual for individuals not en-

gaged in business to seek protection under former chap-

ter XI, such relief was expressly contemplated by the

Rules governing bankruptcy procedure under the Bank-

ruptey Act and was an accepted and noncontroversial

practice.

The relationship between the Rules in effect under the

Bankruptcy Act and former chapters XI and XIII pro-

vides the clearest evidence that individuals not engaged

in business were eligible for relief under chapter XI.

Those Rules contemplated that chapter XI was available

to debtors who had filed under chapter XIII, and chapter

XIII was only available to wage earners. Rule 11-3 thus

provided that “(t]he petition under chapter XI may be

an original petition or it may be filed in a bankruptcy,

chapter XII, or chapter XIII case.”** Because a peti-

nificant level of publicly held securities, and a need to modify

secured debts. See SEC v. United States Realty & Improvement

Company, 310 U.S. 434 (1940).

31 Bankruptcy Act §§ 301-399, 11 U.S.C. §§ 701-799 (1976)

(repealed 1979).

82 Bankruptcy Act §§ 401-526, 11 U.S.C. §§ 801-926 (1976)

(repealed 1979).

88 See generally H.R. Rep., supra note 29, at 220-223, reprinted

in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News at 6179-183.

%* Bankruptcy Act §§ 106(3), (5) and 126, 11 U.S.C. §§ 506(3),

(5) and 526 (1976) (repealed 1979).

*5 Chapter XI Rule 11-3. See also chapter XI Rule 11-7, which

stated in pertinent part:

15

tion for relief under chapter XIII could be filed only by a

“debtor,” ** which chapter XIII defined as a “wage earner

who filed a petition under this chapter,” *’ and chapter

XIII defined a “wage earner” as “an individual whose

principal income is derived from wages, salary or com-

missions.” “ Individuals with businesses were not eligible

for relief under chapter XIII." In permitting debtors

already engaged in a chapter XIII proceeding to com-

mence a chapter XI case, the chapter XI Rules contem-

plated that chapter XI would be available to individuals

without businesses.

Further evidence that the Bankruptcy Act contemplated

chapter XI filings by individual nonbusiness debtors is

found in the provision which prohibits filing an involun-

tary chapter XI against certain wage earners.” “Wage

earner” for this purpose was defined as “an individual

who works for wages, salary or hire, at a rate of com-

pensation not exceeding $1,500 per year.” * It is highly

unlikely that any debtors who qualified as wage earners

under this section would have also been engaged in busi-

If a bankruptcy case or a case under chapter XII or XIII is

pending by or against the debtor, any petition under chapter

XI shail be filed therein and may be filed before or after

adjudication.

“6 Bankruptey Act §§ 621, 622, 11 U.S.C. §§ 1021, 1022 (1976)

(repealed 1979).

** Bankruptcy Act §606(3), 11 U.S.C. §1006(3) (1976) (re-

pealed 1979).

38 Bankruptcy Act § 606(8), 11 U.S.C. §1006(8) (1976) (re-

pealed 1979). Corporations and partnerships were not eligible for

chapter XIII relief.

**R. Jordan & W. Warren, Bankruptcy 661 (2d ed. 1989).

*° Bankruptcy Act § 379, 11 U.S.C. § 779 (1976) (repealed 1979).

*' Bankruptey Act § 1(32), 11 U.S.C. §1(32) (1976) (repealed

1979).

*? See Herbert, Consumer Chapter 11 Proceedings, 91 Com. L.J.

234, 241 (1986).

16

ness.*? Non-affluent wage earners who were not engaged

in business would not have needed protection against

involuntary chapter XI proceedings unless it were the

case that they were otherwise eligible for chapter XI.**

The courts also assumed in pre-Code cases that the

former Bankruptcy Act permitted individuals without

businesses to file under chapter XI.** Finally, contem-

porary commentators assumed that chapter XI would be

43 The legislative history of the Bankruptcy Code also reflects

Congress’s understanding that nonbusiness individuals were eligible

to recognize under the former chapter XI. In explaining why

eligibility for chapter 13 should be expanded to include small, self-

employed businessmen, the House Report recognized that individ-

uals, whether in business or not, were then eligible for former

chapter XI. The report states:

Even individuals whose primary income is from investments,

pensions, social security, or welfare may use chapter 13 if

their income is sufficiently stable and regular. The expansion

of eligibility will enable many to work out arrangements with

their creditors rather than seeking straight bankruptcy liqui-

dation. Under current law [the Bankruptcy Act], they are

constrained to use Chapter XI, Arrangements, which is too

cumbersome a procedure for the small, self-employed business-

man.

H.R. Rep., supra note 29, at 119, reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong.

& Admin. News, at 6080 (emphasis added) (footnotes omitted).

One of the purposes of chapter 13 was thus to give wage earners

an alternative to reorganization under the former chapter XI and

its successor, chapter 11.

44In White v. Board of Trade of the City of Chicago, 492 F.2d

871 (7th Cir. 1974), the debtor was permitted to reorganize even

though he apparently had no business to reorganize. Having sur-

rendered his membership in the Board of Trade prior to the com-

mencement of the chapter XI case, he no longer had this member-

ship to claim as a business. In Stolkin v. Nachman, 472 F.2d 222

(7th Cir. 1973), the debtor was not regularly employed, although

he had accumulated substantial assets as an investor. Neither

debtor owned or operated a “business” in the sense of an ongoing

enterprise with assets and liabilities (although the debtor in White,

like the petitioner here, may have had a business before bank-

ruptcy). See also Herbert, supra note 42, at 241.

17

available to nonbusiness debtors. In the last pre-Code

edition of Collier on Bankruptcy, the authors wrote: A

wage earner... may also file a petition for relief under

chapter XI, as clearly recognized in section 379 [of the

Act], even though other debtor relief chapters under the

Act are available to him.” *

Against this backdrop, Congress consolidated the three

reorganization provisions of the Bankruptcy Act, includ-

ing former chapter XI, into chapter 11 of the Bank-

ruptey Code. Neither the Bankruptcy Code nor the leg-

islative history contains any indication that Congress

sought to change the practice under the Bankruptcy Act

permitting individuals not engaged in business to re-

organize under former chapter XI. Absent a clear in-

dication of congressional intent to the contrary, it must

be presumed that when Congress created chapter 11 out

of chapters X, XI and XII it did not intend to make

any change in the accepted interpretation that individual

nonbusiness debtors were eligible for reorganization

under chapter XI.**

Ill. THE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY EVINCES CON-

GRESS’S INTENT TO MAKE ALL INDIVIDUALS

ELIGIBLE FOR CHAPTER ll

The legislative history confirms that, in continuing

the practice of permitting individuals without businesses

to reorganize under former chapter XI, Congress did so

49 J. Moore & L. King, Collier on Bankruptcy § 10.15 at 589

(14th ed. 1978) (footnote omitted).

46 The fact that former chapter X was not available to individ-

uals without businesses is hardly significant. Indeed, former chap-

ter X was a chapter that proved unsatisfactory and was rarely

utilized. E.g., R. Jordan and W. Warren, supra note 29, at 723 (de-

scribing chapter X as “virtually a dead letter” by the eve of the

passage of the new Bankruptcy Code). And, as discussed below,

there is no indication in the legislative history that Congress

sought to do away with what had been available to such individ-

uals in former chapter XI.

18

advertently and intended to make chapter 11 of the new

Bankruptcy Code available to all individuals.*

The Senate Report expressly states that individuals

are permitted to seek relief under chapter 11:

Chapter 11, Reorganization, is primarily designed

for businesses, but permits individuals to use the

chapter. The procedures of chapter 11, however, are

sufficiently complex that they will be used only in a

business case and not in the consumer context.**

The House Report contains language to the same ef-

fect. In short, although Congress assumed that con-

sumers would not_avail themselves of the opportunity

to reorganize under chapter 11 in light of the complexity

and expense entailed in such proceedings, it expressly

acknowledged that chapter 11 would be available to

individuals. .

Nor is there any evidence that Congress sought to

distinguish between individuals engaged in business and

consumers. On the contrary, the House Report states

that “‘{t]hough this report is divided between consumer

debtors and business debtors, the bill itself makes no

distinction.” *° The fact that the legislative history ad-

dresses in much greater detail the problems of reorganiz-

ing businesses *' merely reflects the fact that Congress

anticipated that few consumers would use chapter 11.”

47 See Herbert, supra note 42, 238.

48S. Rep., supra note 29, at 3, reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code

Cong. & Admin. News, at 5789.

49 H.R. Rep., supra note 29, at 6, reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code

Cong. & Admin. News, at 5792.

5° Td.

51 See, e.g., S. Rep., supra note 29, at 9, reprinted in 1978

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, at 5795.

52 The numerous references in chapter 11 to actions to be taken

with respect to a debtor’s business, e.g., 11 U.S.C. §§ 1103(c) (2),

1106(a) (3) (1988), reflect merely the fact that most chapter 11

nee

19

The House Report also expressly contemplated the

availability of chapter 11 to “wage earners,” who are

defined as persons “whose principal income is derived

from wages, salary or commissions.” In describing a

change from the predecessor to chapter 13, the report

states:

Under current law [the predecessor to chapter 13],

only a “wage earner” ... may file a chapter XIII

case. This limitation unnecessarily excludes small

businessmen from the cheap and expeditious remedy

of a wage earner plan. The distinction between a

barber, grocer and worm digger who is self-em-

ployed from one who is an employee is slight. H.R.

8200 eliminates the distinction in order to offer small

sole proprietors as well as wage earners an alterna-

tive to Chapter 11.°4

In recognizing that the House bill gave “wage earners

an alternative to chapter 11,” the report necessarily also

acknowledged that chapter’s availability to persons with-

out a business.

To sum up, the legislative history demonstrates in

several places Congress’s understanding that chapter 11

would continue to be available to all individuals, including

those not engaged in business. Even if the legislative

history can somehow be viewed as less than conclusive,

it can hardly be said to evidence a clear legislative intent

to bar individuals not engaged in business from seeking

relief under chapter 11. Accordingly, there is no basis for

this Court to “question the strong presumption that Con-

proceedings involve businesses. Similarly, chapter 7, which is un-

deniably available to nonbusiness debtors, also contains numerous

references to actions to be taken with respect to a debtor’s busi-

ness. E.g., 11 U.S.C. §§ 704(8), 721 (1988).

53 H.R. Rep., supra note 29, at 118-19, reprinted in 1978 U.S.

Code Cong. & Admin. News, at 6079.

54 Jd. (emphasis added) (footnotes omitted).

20

gress expresses its intent through the language it

chooses.” ®

IV. PERMITTING NONBUSINESS INDIVIDUAL

DEBTORS TO SEEK CHAPTER 11 RELIEF IS CON-

SISTENT WITH BOTH THE STRUCTURE OF THE

BANKRUPTCY CODE AND THE POLICY UNDER-

LYING CHAPTER ll

Chapter 11 relief for individual nonbusiness debtors

is consistent with both the structure of the Bankruptcy

Code and its underlying policies. The Code provides sev-

eral avenues of relief, each of which presents certain ad-

vantages and disadvantages, and leaves it to the debtor

to pick the course most advantageous to him. Moreover,

depriving nonbusiness debtors of the opportunity to seek

chapter 11 relief would frustrate a key policy of the

Bankruptcy Code, namely, to permit debtors to reorganize

where they are worth more on a going-concern than a

liquidation basis.

A. Chapter 11 Relief for Nonbusiness Individual Debt-

ors Is Consistent With the Structure of the Bank-

ruptcy Code

Permitting nonbusiness individual debtors to seek relief

under chapter 11 is entirely consistent with the structure

of the Bankruptcy Code. Structurally, the Code consists

of several chapters that provide different advantages and

disadvantages." Where a debtor is eligible for relief

under more than one chapter, Congress left it to the

debtor to weigh the economics involved and to select the

55 INS v. Cardoza-F onseca, 480 U.S. at 432 n.12.

56 The fundamental difference between a liquidation under chap-

ter 7 and a reorganization under chapter 11 or chapter 13 is that

in a liquidation, the debtor’s non-encumbered, non-exempt assets,

are reduced to cash and distributed to creditors, see text at note

58, infra, while in a reorganization the debtor retains all or

some of his assets and pays his debts, which may be extended or

reduced, primarily out of future cash flow, see text at notes 66

and 71 infra. ,

a ee es Od a EE! I

21

remedy that best fits the debtor’s particular facts.*’ The

fact that chapter 11 may provide certain advantages that

chapters 7 and 13 do not is simply part of the calculus

that must be performed by the debtor.

As we noted above, chapter 7 is broadly available to

both individuals and entities. In a chapter 7 liquidation, a

trustee is appointed to liquidate the assets ** of the debtor

and to distribute the proceeds to creditors in the priority

specified by the Code. At the conclusion of a liquidation

under chapter 7, the debtor is given a discharge of all

pre-filing debts,” except for certain non-dischargeable

debts." A debtor cannot obtain a discharge under chap-

ter 7 if he has previously received a discharge in a case

commenced within six years of the filing of the petition.”

If his creditors meet certain statutory prerequisites, they

can force the debtor into an involuntary liquidation

under chapter 7.

Chapter 13 provides for the reorganization of certain

individuals with limited debts. Specifically, only individ-

"7 In re Silva, 82 Bankr. 845, 846-847 (Bankr. S.D. Ohio 1987) ;

In re Ross, 95 Bankr. 509, 510 (Bankr. S.D. Ohio 1988).

58 Under section 522 of the Bankruptcy Code, certain property

owned by the debtor is “exempt.” Exempt property cannot be

liquidated and sold for the benefit of unsecured creditors. 11 U.S.C.

§ 522 (1988).

59 11 U.S.C. §$§ 704, 726 (1988).

6911 U.S.C. § 727(a) (1988).

*1 11 U.S.C. §523 (1988). A variety of debts are not discharge-

able under chapter 7, including certain tax obligations; debts for

money obtained by false pretenses; alimony obligations; liabilities

for fraud, embezzlement or larceny; liabilities for intentional torts;

and fines or penalties owed to the government. 11 U.S.C. § 523(a)

(1988).

6211 U.S.C. § 727(a) (9) (1988).

*3 11 U.S.C. § 303 (1988).

22

uals (and not corporations or partnerships) who have

regular income and who have liquidated, unsecured debts

of less than $100,000 and liquidated, secured debts of

less than $350,000, may become debtors under chapter

13.% With limited exceptions, debts that are nondis-

chargeable under chapter 7 are dischargeable under

chapter 13.° In a chapter 13 proceeding, the debtor re-

tains his assets and pays his debts out of future earnings

pursuant to a plan that must be confirmed by the court.”

Creditor approval is not required for confirmation of a

chapter 13 plan, but the unsecured creditors’ recovery

must be at least equal to any alternative recovery under

a chapter 7 liquidation.” A standing trustee oversees all

of the chapter 13 cases in a particular district, and per-

forms many of the same functions as a chapter 7 trus-

tee.” Unlike a chapter 7 trustee, however, the standing

trustee does not take possession of the debtor’s property

or business.”

—

411 U.S.C. § 109(e) (1988).

*511 U.S.C. § 1328 (1988), as amended by Pub. L. No. 101-508

(November 5, 1990) and Pub. L. No. 101-647 (November 29,

1990). As in chapter 7, alimony obligations are not dischargeable

in chapter 13. 11 U.S.C. § 1328(a) (2) (1988).

*6 See generally R. Jordan & W. Warren, supra note 39 at 671.

The chapter 13 plan cannot exceed five years in length. 11 U.S.C.

§ 1322(c) (1988).

®7 U.S.C. § 1325(a)(4) (1988). Moreover, the court can approve a

chapter 13 plan over the objection of an unsecured creditor when

the unsecured creditor is to receive under the plan full payment of

its claim, 11 U.S.C. § 1325(b)(1) (A), or all of the debtor’s dis-

posable income, 11 U.S.C. § 1325(b)(1)(B). An objecting secured

creditor is entitled either to retain the lien securing its claim or

to obtain possession of the collateral securing its claim. 11 U.S.C.

§ 1325(a) (5) (1988).

*8 See 3 L. King, Collier Bankruptcy Manual, © 1302.03, at 1302-4

(3d ed. 1990); 28 U.S.C. § 586 (1988), as amended by Pub. L.

No. 101-509 (November 5, 1990).

* 11 U.S.C. §§ 1304, 1306(b) (1988).

23

Chapter 11 is available to any “person” who is eligible

for liquidation under chapter 7, except for a stockbroker

or commodity broker, plus any railroad.” In a chapter

11 proceeding, the debtor usually retains possession of

his assets, although a trustee can be appointed.”' More-

over, an unsecured creditors’ committee must be ap-

pointed as soon as practical after the petition is filed.”

The debtor has the exclusive right for 120 days to pro-

pose a reorganization plan.”* After due disclosure is

made,” creditors whose claims or interests would be im-

paired” by the plan have the right to vote by class on

the plan.” The plan can be confirmed if approved by the

requisite number of claimants possessing the requisite

amount of claims within each class." If a class dissents,

7911 U.S.C. § 109(d) (1988).

1 See 11 U.S.C. §1104(a). Trustees are seldom appointed in

chapter 11, because there is a basic presumption that the debtor-

in-possession knows its affairs better than anyone. If a trustee is

appointed, its job will be to run the debtor’s affairs and presump-

tively not to liquidate the debtor’s assets.

7211 U.S.C. § 1102(a) (1988).

™ See 11 U.S.C. § 1121(b) (1988).

7 Pursuant to 11 U.S.C. §1125 the debtor-in-possession must

file a disclosure statement.

75 A class of claims or interests is “impaired” when the legal,

equitable or contractual rights of the members of the class are

altered. 11 U.S.C. § 1124 (1988).

76 An impaired class of claims accepts the plan if at least two-

thirds in amount and more than one-half in number of the allowed

claims in the class that are actually voted are cast in favor of

the plan. An impaired class of interests accepts the plan if at

least two-thirds in amount of the allowed interests in the class

that are actually voted are cast for the plan. See 11 U.S.C. § 1126

(c)-(d) (1988). A class that is not impaired under a plan is con-

clusively presumed to have accepted the plan. 11 U.S.C. § 1126(f)

(1988).

711 U.S.C. §§ 1126(c) and 1129(a) (8) (1988).

24

the court may nonetheless approve the plan if the “cram-

down” provisions of section 1129 are met. An important

requirement to cramming down a plan is that each dis-

senting creditor must receive at least as much as it

would in a chapter 7 liquidation.” Another important

cram-down requirement is the “absolute priority” rule,

which requires that before any junior claim is paid at all,

claims that are senior to it must be paid in full.” Con-

firmation of a chapter 11 plan results in most cases in a

discharge of the same types of debts that are discharge-

able in a chapter 7 liquidation.*

A court may reject a chapter 11 plan submitted in

bad faith*' and for cause may dismiss or convert the

proceeding to a chapter 7 liquidation.** Cause includes

any determination by the court that there is a continuing

loss to the estate and an absence of a reasonable likeli-

hood of rehabilitation or that the debtor is unable to

effectuate a plan of reorganization.

To summarize, chapter 7 offers to debtors the advan-

tages of speed and minimal cost, although it results in

the loss of nonexempt assets; chapter 13 offers debtors

the broadest discharge of debts ** and the ability of the

711 U.S.C. §1129(a)(7) (1988); see generally 2 L. King,

Collier Bankruptcy Manual, { 1100.01, at 1100-20 to 1100-23 (3d ed.

1990).

79 See 11 U.S.C. § 1129(b) (2) (B) (1988).

8° Chapter 11 debtors are subject to the nondischargeability

provisions of sections 523 and 727(a) of the Bankruptcy Code.

11 U.S.C. $§ 1141(d) (2) & (3) (1988).

S111 U.S.C. §1129(a)(3) (1988); see 2 L. King, supra note

78, | 1112.04, at 1112-29 to 1112-36.

8211 U.S.C. §1112(b) (1988); see 2 L. King, supra note 78,

1112.04, at 1112-17 to 1112-22.

8311 U.S.C. §1112(b) (1988).

*4 For example, a chapter 13 debtor who successfully completes

a plan can receive a discharge of obligations arising out of fraud,

25

debtor to retain possession of his property without a

creditors’ committee overseeing the reorganization, al-

though it is only available for some individuals with lim-

ited debts and requires payment of all disposable income

into the debtor’s plan; and chapter 11 offers debtors both

the ability to maintain possession of the bankruptcy

estate and greater flexibility in structuring a plan of re-

organization, although it entails some additional delay

and expense in connection with disclosure to creditors

and administration of the creditors’ committee and, ex-

cept in the case of a “cram-down” plan, requires creditor

approval for confirmation of a plan.*

Only in limited circumstances will it be more advan-

tageous for an individual debtor without an ongoing

business to pursue a chapter 11 reorganization. Most

individual debtors will seek relief under chapters 7 or 13

due to the additional cost and complexity of chapter 11."

Still, some individual debtors, like petitioner, will prefer

chapter 11. While it is difficult to generalize, chapter 11

may be in the best interests of an individual nonbusiness

debtor and his creditors where the debtor is willing and

able to inject fresh cash into the plan, or is not eligible

for chapter 13," or has some asset such as petitioner’s

see Pennsylvania Dep't. of Public Welfare v. Davenport, 110 S.Ct.

2126, 2134 (1990), or intentional torts, see In re LeMaire, 883

F.2d 1373, (8th Cir. 1989) reh’g granted, vacated 891 F.2d 650, on

reh’g, 898 F.2d 1346, 1348 (1990). See 11 U.S.C. § 1828(a) (1988).

In chapters 7 and 11 obligations arising from fraud and intentional

torts are not dischargeable. 11 U.S.C. § 523(a)(6) (1988).

85 See Herbert, supra note 42, at 240. For a more detailed dis-

cussion of the differences between chapters 7, 11 and 13, see gen-

erally Note, Individual Consumer Debtors Are Eligible For Chap-

ter 11 Relief, 1988 Ill. L. Rev. 785, 786-790.

86 See, e.g., Herbert, supra note 42, at 238-239; Note, supra

note 85, at 788.

** Even if chapter 13 is available, chapter 11 offers considerably

more flexibility in formulating a plan, and depending on the facts

and circumstances, the debtor and his creditors may conclude that

such flexibility is needed to achieve the greatest possible recovery.

26

causes of action which may yield a substantial future

recovery but cannot be expeditiously liquidated by a

chapter 7 trustee for its present value.

The fact that chapter 11 is “primarily designed for

businesses” ** and the perhaps limited role that chapter 11

may have for individual debtors who are not engaged in

an ongoing business in no way implies that it has no

role to play. To the contrary, to bar nonbusiness individ-

ual debtors from chapter 11 would leave a lacunae in

the Code that makes no sense. If individuals with sub-

stantial debts who are not engaged in business are barred

from chapter 11, then their only remedy will be liquida-

tion under chapter 7 which may well, as in this case, yield

less value for creditors than reorganization.

Nor can the dollar limits on eligibility in chapter 13 be

said to reflect some desire on Congress’s part to provide

an exclusive reorganization remedy for consumer debtors.

Individuals with substantial debts were made ineligible

for relief under chapter 13 in order “to make chapter 13

available to most consumer debtors and many small busi-

ness debtors, leaving to chapter 11 cases involving larger

amounts of debt.” ** The only reason that Congress be-

lieved that large debtors should not be permitted to pro-

ceed under chapter 13 was because of the weakened pro-

tections for creditors under chapter 13° compared to

those available under chapter 11.*' Thus, the fact that

88S. Rep., supra note 29, at 3, reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong.

& Admin. News, at 5789.

*° R. Jordan & W. Warren, supra note 39, at 671.

” For example, chapter 13, unlike chapter 11, neither requires

the debtor to file a comprehensive disclosure statement nor pro-

vides for an unsecured creditor’s committee to oversee the case.

11 U.S.C. § 1301 et seg. (1988).

" As stated in the House Report:

The bill places dollar limitations on the amount of debts of

the proprietor who may use chapter 13, in order to prevent

a

27

individuals with substantial debts, such as petitioner, are

ineligible for chapter 13 reflects not an intent to force

such individuals into liquidation but rather Congress’s

belief that any reorganization of such debtors should

proceed under chapter 11.

B. No Policy Bars Nonbusiness Individual Debtors

From Seeking Relief Under Chapter 11

The basic premise of chapter 11 is that a debtor may

be worth more on a going forward basis than in liquida-

tion.”* In the business context, this may be because “as-

sets that are used for production in the industry for

which they were designed are more valuable than those

same assets sold for scrap.” * However, it is equally true

that in the nonbusiness context, certain assets (such as

the causes of action and shares owned by petitioner)

may yield more value for creditors if managed or vigor-

ously pursued by a debtor-in-possession in a reorganiza-

tion case than if liquidated by a trustee in a fire sale.

In either the business or nonbusiness context, the result

in a successful reorganization is that creditors (and

potentially the equity interests) will receive more value

than they would otherwise receive in a liquidation." In-

sole proprietors with large businesses from abusing creditors

by avoiding chapter 11.

H.R. Rep., supra note 29, at 119, reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code

Cong. & Admin. News, at 6080.

%2 See generally H.R. Rep., supra note 29, at 220, reprinted in

1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, at 6179.

% Jd. A successful reorganization of a business will also preserve

jobs. Id.

** One of the prerequisites for confirmation of a reorganization

plan under chapter 11 is that all impaired holders must either

accept the plan or receive not less than the amount they would

receive under a chapter 7 liquidation. 11 U.S.C. § 1129(a) (7)

(1988). In practice, holders cannot be expected to vote in favor

of a plan unless they believe that their recovery will be at least

as favorable as in a liquidation.

28

deed, the benefits of reorganization are so great that

Congress has even made it impossible to waive the right

to convert a chapter 7 liquidation proceeding to a reor-

ganization under chapters 11, 12 or 13.” It is consistent

with both the letter and spirit of the Code that nonbusi-

ness individual debtors who are able to satisfy the de-

manding requirements of chapter 11 be permitted to do

so. To hold otherwise would fly in the face of “the con-

gressional goal of encouraging reorganizations.” *°

Finally, permitting individual debtors not engaged in

business to seek relief under chapter 11 will not open

the floodgates to abusive filings. The courts retain ample

power to control any abusive filings that are made. A

chapter 11 petition can be dismissed if the court deter-

mines, among other things, that it was brought in bad

faith, that there is no reasonable likelihood of rehabili-

tation or that the debtor will be unable to effectuate a

plan of reorganization that complies with the Code.”

Other provisions of the Code ensure that creditors’ inter-

ests will be protected.”

11 U.S.C. § 706(a) (1988). See also H.R. Rep., supra note 29,

at 380, reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, at 6336

(“The policy of [Section 706] is that the debtor should always

be given the opportunity to repay his debts.”).

% United States v. Whiting Pools, Inc., 462 U.S. 198, 204 (1983).

*7 11 U.S.C. §§ 1112(b), 1129(a) (3) (1988); see 2 L. King, supra

note 78, © 1112.04 at 1112-17 to 1112-22 and 1112-29 to 1112-36.

* No chapter 11 plan can be confirmed over the objection of

creditors unless those creditors receive at least the amount they

would receive in a liquidation under chapter 7. See supra note 94.

29

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of th

of appeals should be reversed. tS eet

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel TIMOTHY B. Dyk

JONATHAN W. BELKSY (Counsel of Record)

7817 Forsyth Blvd. PETER M. LIEB .

Suite 200 DOUGLAS B. LEVENE

Clayton, Missouri 63105 PATRICK J. PoTTER

(314) 726-5068 JONES, DAY, REAVIS & POGUE

1450 G Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 879-3939

March 4, 1991 Counsel for Petitioner

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.