Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Chan v. Korean Air Lines, Ltd.

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Ly t rd :

wa 0.

No.

} ~

beh

Qstrr FS sNIOL, JR.

IN THE —

Supreme Court of the United State

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

oe

IN RE KOREAN AIR LINES DISASTER

OF SEPTEMBER 1, 1983, MDL 565

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

PLAINTIFFS’ STEERING COMMITTEE

MILTON G. SINCOFI

Co-Chairman and Counsel of Record

KREINDLER & KREINDLER

100 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10017

(212) 687-8181

DONALD W. MADOLE

Co-Chairman

SPEISER, KRAUSE & MADOL!

1216 16th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202; 223-8501

On the Brief:

MILTON G. SINCOFI

STEVEN R. POUNIAN

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

In actions governed by the Warsaw Convention Treaty

and Montreal Agreement, may the airline assert the

$75,000 damage limitation where it failed to give the

required warning of that limitation to its passengers? |

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

tv

If certiorari is granted, the Court may wish to address an

additional question to guide lower courts in the future: follow-

ing a transfer for pretria! proceedings only under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1407, is the transferee court required to apply the substantive

federal law existing in the transferor court?

The following plaintiffs are parties to this proceeding: Elisa

Chan, Roberta Cruz, Hans Ephraimson-Abt, Willie James,

Dorothy Jones, Michael D. Jones, Betty B. S. Lim, In Jig Lin

Marsha Maikovich, Louella Nassief, Kyung Hwa Park, Bar-

bara Swift, Christina Ting, David WuDunn, Sung Wha Yoo and

Marjorie Zicherman. After the motion below was filed, addi-

tional actions were commenced, are not formally included in

this appeal, but involve the same issue. The plaintiffs in those

actions are: Robert Boyar, Evelyn Chauncey, William Cun-

ningham, Lenore Lebow, Katherine McDonald, William

Stevens and Terry Weng. The defendant is Korean Air Lines,

Ltd.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

MBPERUeMEOw ES GOW BUS CASE .. 2... ccc ccc ecceeneee

ee Cece sev cacnancccccccccsces

i. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

RESOLVE A CONFLICT AMONG THE

CIRCUITS ON THE PROPER INTERPRETA-

TION OF THE WARSAW CONVENTION AND

MONTREAL AGREEMENT..................

A. The need for certiorari is substantial and was

B.

urged by both courts below ................

Korean Air Lines Disaster is contrary to the

Warsaw Convention and eight appellate deci-

sions which hold that adequate warning to the

passenger is required as a quid pro quo of the

ee ccc ccccecccece

. The Polish Airlines decision of the Second

Circuit and the New Orleans Disaster decision

of the Fifth Circuit are squarely in point and

oppose Korean Air Lines Disaster...........

1. Korean Air Lines Disaster upsets the

uniform 10 point minimum standard for

the Article 3 warning demanded by the

United States as a condition tor withdraw-

ing its denunciation of the Convention ...

mw

‘”

~~

iv

2. The decisions in Polish Airlines and New

Orleans Disaster are compelling .........

D. Korean Air Lines Disaster is contrary to the

Deutsche Lufthansa case decided by the same

GARs 6:5 44.6005 a0 apucucacccilanieeedcas

E. Denial of certiorari would present a serious

problem for the transferor courts ...........

F. Korean Air Lines Disaster lacks precedent in

support of its Warsaw holding and should be

PP PP rr ee te ee a

Il. THIS COURT MAY DESIRE TO CONSIDER

AN ADDITIONAL QUESTION CONCERNING

THE SUBSTANTIVE FEDERAL LAW TO BE

APPLIED FOLLOWING A TRANSFER FOR

PR BORO, PROC on cs cc cecccccess

A. Korean Air Lines Disaster conflicts with

numerous authorities which hold that follow-

ing a transfer for pretrial proceedings, the

transferee court is bound to apply the substan-

tive federal law of the transferor circuit .....

B. Contrary to the rationale of this Court’s ruling

in ban Dusen, Korean Air Lines Disaster

rewards the defendant for forum shopping...

€. Korean Air Lines Disaster undermines the

multidistrict transfer system................

LAME 8 ds cass bcesb hs eeesobus eats

PAGE

14

16

17

17

19

19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE

Benjamins v. British European Airways, 572 F.2d 913

(2d Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1114 (1979).... 3n

Berry Petroleum v. Adams & Peck, 518 F.2d 402 (2d Cir.

US ks 665d ke VED EE we een beets eee es aeeeke 19

Block v. Compagnie National Air France, 386 F.2d 323

CO Ge Bao cos cccecanensn cea cavewereeereesss )

Deutsche Lufthansa v. Civil Aeronautics Board, 479

i got Sa Perr rr ry 8, 9, 16, 18

Egan v. Kollsman Instrument Corp., 21 N.Y.2d 160, 234

N.E.2d 199, 287 N.Y.S.2d 14 (1967), cert. denied, 370

Ck RR RRR Sree etter Bar nena hae ome Seer 8, 10

In re Air Crash Disaster at Warsaw, Poland, 705 F.2d 85 |

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 845 (1983)......... passim

In re Air Crash Disaster Near New Orleans, Louisiana,

789 F.2d 1092 (Sth Cir. 1986), reh’g granted, 795 F.2d

381 (Sth Cir. 1986), reinstated, 821 F.2d 1147 (Sth Cir.

Ser ee IN k 6s tedonie décxceckhesavad 6, 8, 11, 15, 18

In re Four Seasons Securities Law Litigation, 370 F.

DE: BE Ce Cs HPO s 6 vc aceenpeseeicecess 19

In re Haven Industries, 462 F. Supp. 172 (S.D.N.Y. 1978) 19

In re Korean Air Lines Disaster, 575 ¥. Supp. 342

8 5 0 reer rye reer re rere ere ee 4, 21n

In re Korean Air Lines Disaster, 664 F. Supp. 1478

Ec ING oa cco ud bwedneuSecekeahnuh saeuseaees 20n

In re Plumbing Fixtures Litigation, 342 F. Supp. 756

CL, SE ok oanavas chow SRS ReuwEeNCKOeebeek! 19, 22

Ithaca College v. N.L.R.B., 623 F.2d 224 (2d Cir. 1980) 17

vi

PAGE

Lisi v. Alitalia, 390 U.S. 455 (1968), aff’g mem. by an

equally divided court, 370 F.2d 508 (2d Cir. 1966) .. .passim

Ludecke v. Canadian Pacific Airlines, 98 D.L.R.3d 52

Ss SEs 0 an a awadeus cin tccdacn eaves Ladcuke 17

Manion v. Pan American World Airways, 55 N.Y.2d

398, 434 N.E.2d 1060, 449 N.Y.S.2d 693 (1982) ..... 8, 10

Mertens v. Flying Tiger Line, 341 F.2d 851 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 382 U.S. 816 (1965) ..............00.- 8, 10

Philadelphia Housing Authority v. American Radiator,

309 F. Supp. 1053 (E.D. Pa. 1969)................. 19

Stirling v. Chemical Bank, 382 F. Supp. 1146 (S.D.N.Y.

cee, SEE Pe Pe A AR BL aa ome 19

Trans World Airlines v. Franklin Mint, 466 U.S. 243

RPGS Sete gene A SR ies Rtn alas 3n, 13, 15, 18

Van Dusen v. Barrack, 376 U.S. 612 (1964) ...19, 20n, 21, 22

Warren v. Flying Tiger Line, 352 F.2d 494 (9th Cir. 1965) 8, 10

Statutes, Rules and Regulations:

ee RR ee a |

a aI G5 how's kau ks vad cbuuen akan ncaee ce 4

es Es kok akeesuaeneed ceauakowiuwesswKs 3

Sees te ws 6 oko os seer oa ees deans eo eae 3

a Ns au was 0k <0 05 ¥ oo e ek kuee 19

is PMs conc ds deka chen écenewaeeeean a, 07, 205 ae

SG MEE 6246 55 hc cbb sodas piven exsSecauunn 15

Ps Us 6 ok Ub abducens cceeescweneesas passim

i4 C.F.R. § 213.7 2n, 3, 14

e229 2 8'¢ © 6'8.2 63,06 UO 6 6.6.6 6.0 € Oe eS 8 8 eo © 6 ae

Vil

PAGE

A Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules

Relating to International Transportation by Air, Octo-

ber 12, 1929, 49 Stat. 3000, T.S. No. 876 (1934),

reprinted in 49 U.S.C. § 1502 note (Warsaw Conven-

GR, . oc ceicdddvnvadetnsncesaceeesaeaneyesanseey passim

Agreement Relating to Liability Limitations of the War-

saw Convention and Hague Protocol, Agreement

CAB 18900, Approved by Executive Order E-23680,

May 13, 1966 (Docket 17325), 31 Fed. Reg. 7302

(1966), reprinted in Civil Aeronautics Board, Aero-

nautical Statutes and Related Material 515-16 (1974)

(Montreal Agreement) ............00ee cece eee eees passim

Other Authorities:

Lowenfeld & Mendelsohn, The United Siates and the

Warsaw Convention, 80 Harv. L. Rev. 497, 597

acd haneaeGddencnedséucepekaseennaseeses 12, 13, 18

Manual for Complex Litigation, Second (1985)......-. 22

1B J. Moore, Moore’s Federal Practice (2d ed. 1987) .. 17

Brief for Amicus Civil Aeronautics Board, Lisi v. Alita-

Ma, 308 U.S. GSS CIDER) 20 ccc cecccccccccvcesecccs 9n, 13

Brief for Appellee Civil Aeronautics Board, Deutsche

Lufthansa v. Civil Aeronautics Board, 479 F.2d 912,

4k fh eS , rrr rrr rrr re rer re 13

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

>

IN RE KOREAN AIR LINES DISASTER

OF SEPTEMBER 1, 1983, MDL 565

>

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

OPINIONS BELOW

The op:nion of the Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit (App. A, infra, pp. A-l to A-66) is

reported at 829 F.2d 1171 (D.C. Cir. 1987). It adopted the

firsi district court opinion (App. A, infra, pp. A-12 to A-

44) reported at 664 F. Supp. 1463 (D.D.C. 1985). The

second district court opinion (App. A, infra, pp. A-67 to

A-70) is reported at 664 F. Supp. 1488 (D.D.C. 1987).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals (App. A, infra,

A-71) was entered on September 25, 1987. By order dated

November 16, 1987 (App. A, infra, p. A-73), the Court of

Appeals denied a petition for rehearing en banc. The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

2

PROVISIONS OF LAW INVOLVED

This case involves the Warsaw Convention Treaty. * the

4

Montreal Agreement’ and two Federal Aviation Regula-

, s , , —_

= Their pertinent provisions are set forth in App. B,

infra.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners are the surviving family members and estate

representatives of eighteen passengers killed in the Korean

Air Lines (KAL) catastrophe of September |, 1983. KAL

flight 7 departed from Kennedy Airport, New York

bound for Seoul, Korea. Instead of following its pre-

scribed and safe routing over international waters, the

pilots flew the plane more than three hundred miles off

course into the airspace of the Soviet Union. The KAL

plane was fired upon by a Soviet military fighter aircraft

and crashed, killing all 269 aboard.°

\ Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating

to International Transportation by Air, October 12, 1929, 49

Stat. 3000, T.S. No. 876 (1934), reprinted in 49 U.S.C. § 1502

note. Oo

| Agreement Relating to Liability Limitations of the Warsaw

Convention and Hague Protocol, Agreement CAB 18900, Ap-

proved by Executive Order E-23680, May 13, 1966 (Docket

17325), 31 Fed. Reg. 7302 (1966), reprinted in Civil Aeronautics

wit Aeronautical Statutes and Related Material 515-16

(1974).

4)

14 C.F.R. § 221.175(a); 14 C.F.R. § 213.7.

Five years earlicr, another KAI passenger jet entered Soviet

airspace on a flight from Paris to Seoul, was fired upon and

crash landed in Siberia.

The damage limitation warning. Each of the cases are

governed by the Warsaw Convention and the Montreal

Agreement, which KAL signed in 1969. Pursuant to 14

C.F.R. § 213.7, foreign airlines must sign the Agreement

as a condition of their permit to operate in the United

States. While Article 22 of the Warsaw Convention im-

posed a damage limitation of 125,000 gold francs (ap-

proximately $8,300)’, the Montreal Agreement raised the

limitation tc $75,000. Article 3 of the Convention re-

quired that the airline deliver a ticket to the passenger

containing a statement giving notice of the limitation.

The Montreal Agreement and Federal Aviation Regula-

tion 14 ©.F.R. § 221.175(a) specify that the Article 3

notice be printed in at least 10 point type.

KAL admitted that it breached its Agreement and

violated the regulation by delivering warnings to the

petitioners’ passengers in smaller 8 point type.

Prior proceedings. Wrongful death actions were com-

menced against Korean Air Lines in various federal dis-

trict courts. Federal court jurisdiction in the actions was

based on 28 U.S.C. § 1331, by virtue of the Warsaw

Convention Treaty, and 28 U.S.C. § 1332.

7 This Court has previously upheld the Civil Aeronautics

Board regulation which converted the Convention's damage

limitation into dollars by using the last official price of gold.

Trans World Airlines v. Franklin Mint, 466 U.S. 243 (1984).

8 Of the seventeen actions for the deaths of eighteen passengers

involved in this petition, eleven were filed in the Southern and

Eastern Districts of New York, three in the Eastern District of

Michigan, two in the District for the District of Columbia and

one in the District of Massachusetts.

9 In Benjamins v. British European Airways, 572 F.2d 913 (2d

Cir. 1978). cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1114 (1979), the Second

4

Despite the opposition of those plaintiffs who com-

inenced suits in New York, the Judicial Panel on Multidis-

trict Litigation granted KAL’s 28 U.S.C. § 1407 motion

to transfer all cases arising out of the disaster to the

District of Columbia for pretrial discovery proceedings.

In re Korean Air Lines Disaster, 575 F. Supp. 342

(J.P.M.L. 1983).

On February 15, 1984, plaintiffs moved for partial

summary judgment declaring that KAL was liable for

actual damages, having forfeited the $75,000 damage

limitation of Warsaw/Montreal by delivering tickets with

small print warnings less than the required minimum.

On July 25, 1985, the district court rendered its memo-

randum and order denying plaintiffs’ motion (App. A,

infra, A-12 to A-44). The issue was certified for appeal

and leave to appeal was granted pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1292(b).

Following oral argument, the Court of Appeals re-

manded the appeal for further findings on the issue of

whether the district court was bound to apply the deci-

sions of the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit in

those actions originally filed in New York and transferred

to the District of Columbia for pretrial proceedings. On

May 7, 1987, the district court ruled that it was not bound

by Second Circuit precedent in those cases (App. A,

infra, pp. A-67 to A-70).

On September 25, !987, the District of Columbia

Circuit rendered its opinion (App. A, infra, pp. A-l to A-

66) and judgment (App. A, infra, p. A-71) affirming the

district court. Plaintiffs petition this Court for a writ of

certiorari.

Circuit held that the Warsaw Convention created federal ques

tion yursdiction,

ARGUMENT

Certiorari should be granted to resolve a conflict

among the federal appellate courts in the interpretation of

the Warsaw Convention Treaty and Montreal Agreement

created by Korean Air Lines Disaster.

The Circuit Court below expressly acknowledged the

need for Supreme Court review herein, stating that this is

an appeal “meriting attention from Higher Authority”,

and “that the proper interpretation of the Convention

and Agreement, as well as the scope of the transferee

court’s interpretive authority in a case such as this one,

are matters in need of definitive resolution for our na-

tional court system”. App. A, infra, pp. A-6, A-11; 829

F.2d at 1174, 1176.

This Court has previously granted certiorari on the

same Warsaw notice issue but its determination did not

create binding precedent. By an equally divided panel,

this Court affirmed the Second Circuit’s holding that an

airline lost the limitation by giving a notice in inadequate

small print. Lisi v. Alitalia, 390 U.S. 455 (1968), aff’g by

an equally divided Court, 370 F.2d S08 (2d Cir. 1966).

Korean Air Lines Disaster departed from a previously

unbroken line of eight appellate decisions during the past

two decades which held that the Convention requires

delivery of an adequate warning to a passenger before the

airline may benefit from Warsaw's limitation. And Ao-

rean Air Lines Disaster upset the minimum 10 point type

print standard for the Warsaw notice established by the

Executive Branch through regulation and the Montreal

Agreement.

6

The Second Circuit and recently the Fifth Circuit issued

decisions squarely in point contrary to Korean Air Lines

Disaster. In re Air Crash Disaster at Warsaw, Poland, 705

F.2d 85 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 845 (1983)

(hereinafter Polish Airlines); In re Air Crash Disaster

Near New O?leans, Louisiana, 789 F.2d 1092, 1102 (Sth

Cir.), reh’g granted, 795 F.2d 381 (Sth Cir. 1986), rein-

stated, 821 F.2d 1147, 1171 (Sth Cir. 1987) (en banc)

(hereinafter New Orleans Disaster). Polish Airlines and

New Orleans Disaster held that airlines forfeited the

limitat‘on where they delivered ticket warnings printed in

smaller than the minimum permissible size.

The issue raised is an important one which governs the

transportation of thousands of international passengers

each day. Tne need for this Court to address this conflict

is particularly compelling because eleven of the seventeen

cases should be returned to New York district courts at

the conclusion of pretrial proceedings. If this Court does

not decide the issue, the New York federal courts would

be faced with the Second Circuit precedent in Polish

Airlines and Lisi v. Alitalia and the contrary ruling of the

District of Columbia Circuit.

>

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

RESOLVE A CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS

ON THE PROPER INTERPRETATION OF THE

WARSAW CONVENTION AND MONTREAL

AGREEMENT

A. The need for certiorari is substantial and was urged

by both courts below

While this Court’s affirmance of Lisi v. Alitalia, 390

U.S. 455 (1968), aff’g by an equally divided Court, 370

F.2d 508 (2d Cir. 1966), was by an equally divided panel

and did not create a binding precedent, Lisi has been

uniformly followed with one exception: the decision be-

low. Korean Air Lines Disaster is the only dissent to a

long settled area of law.

Both the court of appeals and the district court below

expressed the need for Supreme Court review of the

Warsaw/ Montreal issue. App. A, infra, p. A-11; 829 F.2d

at 1176; App. A, infra, p. A-70; 664 F. Supp. at 1490

(“[T]he Supreme Court is available to finally decide the

question after an application for certiorari. This should

be the course of the present litigation.”).

B. Korean Air Lines Disaster is contrary to the Warsaw

Convention and eight appellate decisions which

hold that adequate warning to the passenger is

required as a quid pro quo of the damage limitation

Article 3 of the Warsaw Convention provides that “the

carrier must deliver a passenger ticket which shall contain

. . . [a] statement that the transportation is subject to the

rules relating to liability established by this convention.”

The Convention’s central liability rule is the damage

limitation of Article 22, which provides that “the liability

of the carrier is limited to the sum of 125,000 francs.”

Failure to deliver the Warsaw ticket results in the forfeit-

ure of the limitation under Article 3: “if the carrier

accepts a passenger without a passenger ticket having

been delivered he shall not be entitled to avail himself of

those provisions of this convention which exclude or limit

his liability.”

Except for Korean Air Lines Disaster, there is complete

unanimity among all United States courts that Article 3

of the Warsaw Convention requires delivery of a ticket

with adequate warning of the damage limitation as a

condition for the airline to obtain the limitation. Lisi y.

Alitalia, 390 U.S. 455 (1968), aff’g mem. by an equally

divided Court, 370 F.2d S08 (2d Cir. 1966); In re Air

Crash Disaster Near New Orleans, Louisiana, 789 F.2d

1092 (Sth Cir. 1986), aff'd in relevant part, 821 F.2d 1147

(1987) (en banc); In re Air Crash Disaster at Warsaw

Poland, 705 F.2d 85 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 845

(1983); Deutsche Lufthansa v. Civil Aeronautics Board,

479 F.2d 912 (D.C. Cir. 1973); Warren vy. Flying Tiger

Line, 352 F.2d 494 (9th Cir. 1965); Mertens v. Flying

Tiger Line, 341 F.2d 851 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 382 U.S.

816 (1965); Manion v. Pan American World Airways, 55

N.¥.2d 398, 434 N.E.2d 1060, 449 N.Y.S.2d 693 (1982):

Egan v. Kollsman Instrument Corp., 21 N.Y.2d 160, 234

N.f£.2d 199, 287 N.Y.S.2d 14 (1967), cert. denied, 390

U.S. 1039 (1968).

[he clear intent of the drafters of Article 3 was to make

passengers aware of the limitation so that they could take

self-protective measures, such as purchasing insurance,

9

prior to boarding a flight. Deutsche Lufthansa v. Civil

Aeronautics Board, 479 F.2d 912, 917 (D.C. Cir. 1973)

(“[T]he passenger is to receive full and effective notice of

any limitations of liability so that alternative protection

may be obtained.”); Block v. Compagnie National Air

France, 386 F.2d 323, 333-34 (1967).

Adequate size of the damage limitation is a key to

Article 3. Lisi v. Alitalia, 390 U.S. 455 (1968), aff’g mem.

by an equally divided Court, 370 F.2d 508 (2d Cir. 1966),

held that delivery of a small print notice was the equiva-

lent of no notice at all. The Second Circuit found that a

carrier’s 4-point type notice was “camouflaged in Lillipu-

tian print”, being “virtually invisible” and “diminutively

sized.” 370 F.2d at 514. Thus, the airline was barred from

asserting the limitation:

The Convention’s arbitrary limitations on liability—

which have been severely and repeatedly criticized—

are advantageous to the carrier. But the quid pro quo

for this one sided advantage is delivery to the passen-

ger of a ticket and baggage check which give him

notice that on the air trip he is about to make, the

amount of the recovery to him or his family in the

event of a crash, is limited very substantially.

Id. at 512-13.'"

Soon after Lisi, a unanimous panel of the New York

State Court of Appeals held that a similar small print

10, —s- The United States government opposed the grant of certiorar!

in Lisi and agreed with the Second Circuit “that a ticket!

purporting to warn of limited liability under the Warsaw Con-

vention does not of itself comply with Article 3 of the Conven

tion if printed in type too small to attract reasonable notice.”

Brief for Amicus C.A.B. at In, Lisi v. Alitalia, 390 U.S. 485

(1968).

10

warning (in 4.5 point type) violated Article 3 of the

Convention as a matter of law and voided the limitation.

Egan v. Kollsman Instrument Corp., 21 N.Y.2d 160, 234

N.E.2d 199, 287 N.Y.S.2d 14 (1967), cert. denied, 390

U.S. 1039 (1968)."'

Likewise, the Ninth Circuit, Second Circuit and the

New York State Court of Appeals have held that the

Article 3 notice must be delivered sufficiently in advance

of a flight to allow a passenger to take self protective

measures. Warren v. Flying Tiger Line, 352 F.2d 494 (9th

Cir. 1965) (limitation forfeited since ticket warning was

not delivered until passenger was on the ramp leading into

the aircraft); Mertens v. Flying Tiger Line, 341 F.2d 851

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 382 U.S. 816 (1965) (airline denied

limitation where passenger received ticket notice after

boarding); Manion v. Pan American World Airways, 55

N.Y.2d 398, 434 N.E.2d 1060, 449 N.Y.S.2d 693 (1982)

(limitation denied since airline failed to deliver ticket until

after passenger had completed first leg of her trip).

Korean Air Lines Disaster is contrary to all other

United States cases in holding that adequate notice is not

a quid pro quo of the damage limitation. App. A, infra,

pp. A-30 to A-39; 664 F. Supp. at 1473-76.

1 List v. Alttalia and Egan v. Kollsman Instrument Corp.

involved air crashes which occurred several years before the

Montreal Agreement and Federal Aviation Regulation

§ 221.175(a) were enacted. Both courts noted, however, the then

recent adoption of the 10 point minimum standard. Lisi v.

Alitalia, 370 F.2d at 514 n. 10; Egan v. Kellsman Instrument

Corp., 21 N.Y.2d at 171, 234 N.E.2d at 204, 287 N.Y.S.2d at 21.

1}

C. The Poi. : Airlines decision of the Second Circuit

and the New Orleans Disaster decision of the Fifth

Circuit are squarely in point and oppose Korean Air

Lines Disaster

A clear standard for the minimum size of the Article 3

warning—1l0 point type—was set when the Executive

Branch promulgated 14 C.F.R. § 221.175(a) and then

required international airlines to enter the “special con-

tract” known as the Montreal Agreement. Korean Air

Lines signed the agreement in 1969. Both the regulation

and Agreement prescribe that the Warsaw notice be

printed “in type at least as large as 10 point modern

type”.

In Polish Airlines, 705 F.2d 85 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

464 U.S. 845 (1983), the airline delivered an Article 3

warning in small 8.5 point type, violating the Agreement

and Regulation. Based on an exhaustive review of the

history of the Convention and its notice provisions, the

Second Circuit held that the carrier had forfeited the

limitation. /d. at 91. The Fifth Circuit recently reached

the same result where the airline delivered a 9 point

warning. New Orleans Disaster, 789 F.2d 1092, 1102 (Sth

Cir.), reh’g granted, 795 F.2d 381 (Sth Cir. 1986), rein-

stated, 821 F.2d 1147, 1171 (Sth Cir. 1987) (en banc).

In the case at bar, KAL printed its Article 3 notice in 8

point type print, smaller than the notices issued in Polish

Airlines and New Orleans Disaster. Yet Korean Air Lines

Disaster holds that KAL may benefit from the damage

limitation despite its failure to provide the specified

warning. This result contravenes the history, purpose and

language of the Warsaw/ Montreal system.

12

1. Aorean Air Lines Disaster upsets the uniform 10 point

minimum standard for the Article 3 warning demanded

by the United States as a condition for withdrawing its

denunciation of the Convention

The 10 point type standard was imposed because of the

concern of the United States government that interna-

tional airlines were avoiding their Warsaw obligation to

give passengers a proper notice of the unusual limited

liability system. Article 3 of the Convention did not

specify the size of the warning required to benefit from

the limitation and many airlines printed “notices” in

unreadable small type. Lowenfeld & Mendelsohn, The

United States and the Warsaw Convention, 80 Harv. L.

Rev. 497, 512-14 (1967) (“Even if the passenger could

read the ticket, he would hunt in vain for warning of the

liability limit.”). If the unorthodox damage limitation was

to continue, at least the passenger should receive a proper

Article 3 notice. /bid.

In 1955, American negotiators at the Hague Conven-

tion unsuccessfully argued for an Article 3 warning mea-

suring one half centimeter high—larger than 10 point

type. /d. at 514. The Protocol adopted by the Hague

Convention was subsequently rejected by the United

States because its revised limitation of $16,600 was con-

sidered too low and its ticket notice provisions were

inadequate. /d. at 512-16.

In 1963, the Civil Aeronautics Board enacted a regula-

tion requiring that the Article 3 notice be printed in at

least 10 point type. 14 C.F.R. § 221.17S(a). The regula-

tion applied to each “air carrier and foreign air carrier

which, to any extent, avails itself of the limitation on

liability to passengers provided by the Warsaw Conven-

tion”. Lbid.

13

The C.A.B. defended its 10 point standard by stating

that “lesser notice does not suffice to give adequate notice

appropriate in the public interest”, Brief for Amicus

C.A.B. at 9, Lisi v. Alitalia, 390 U.S. 455 (1968), and

that “[t]he fixing of standards of notice by either the

courts or the Board is in nowise inconsistent with War-

saw.” Brief for Appellee C.A.B. at 36, Deutsche Luf-

thansa v. Civil Aeronautics Board, 479 F.2d 912, 917

(D.C. Cir. 1973).

In Novembe;z 1965, continuing dissatisfaction led the

United States to denounce the Convention, effective six

months later. See Trans World Airlines v. Franklin Mint,

466 U.S. 243, 252 & n. 22. On the eve of the effective date

in May 1966, faced with the prospect of losing the

limitation entirely, international airlines drafted the Mon-

treal Agreement. As a “special contract” under Article

22(1) of the Convention, the Agreement “incorporates all

other provisions of the Convention.” Lowenfeld & Men-

delsohn, The United States and the Warsaw Convention,

80 Harv. L. Rev. 497, 597 (1967).

The Agreement added the terms demanded by the

United States: (1) the Warsaw limitation was raised to

$75,000; (2) the defense available to the carrier under

Article 20(1), that “all necessary measures” were taken to

avoid the accident, was waived, and; (3) airlines stipu-

lated that they would issue a ticket with an Article 3

notice printed in at least 10 point type, as set forth in the

C.A.B. regulation.

As a result of the airlines’ contractual commitment, the

United States formally accepted the Agreement and with-

drew its denunciation. /d. at 596. All foreign airlines must

sign the Agreement as a condition of their Foreign Air

14

Carrier Permit to conduct business in the United States.

14 C.F.R. § 213.7. KAL signed in 1969.

2. The decisions in Polish Airlines and New Orleans Disas-

ter are compelling

Polish Airlines held that the obligations an airline

accepts under the Montreal Agreement must be consid-

ered along with Article 3 of the Convention:

Under the Convention, the carrier must deliver a

ticket containing, inter alia, a statement referring to

the liability rules. Article 3(1)(e). Under the modify-

ing terms of the Montreal Agreement, however, that

statement must be in 10 point type. 705 F.2d at 89.

The Montreal Agreement supplemented the Warsaw

Convention by adding those terms demanded by the

United States in exchange for its continued participation

in the Treaty. As the Second Circuit observed, “adequacy

of notice was one of the concerns that led to the filing of

the Notice of Denunciation . . . and. . . the Montreal

Agreement specifically addressed this concern by requir-

ing ‘notice to each passenger in large type’ ”. 705 F.2d at

89-90. The United States relied upon this promise by

withdrawing its Notice of Denunciation and continuing as

a party to the Treaty. If the world’s airlines had not signed

the Agreement, “there would in all probability be no

Convention today.” 705 F.2d at 91.

With the 10 point requirement, the airlines stipulated to

a clear and uniform minimum standard for an acceptabie

Article 3 notice. Delivery of a notice in less than 10 point

type is inadequate as a matter of law:

The 10 point guideline is a clear one, and quite easy

to follow. To be sure, any such line drawing has an

15

arbitrary air, but LOT is a party to the line drawn

and it seems to us less arbitrary to accept the 10 point

standard than it would be to guess on a case-by-case

basis at what constitutes “adequate notice”. 705 F.2d

at 90 n. 10.

See also New Orleans Disaster, 789 F.2d 1092, 1098 (“10

point type means exactly that, 10 point type.”).

The Second Circuit also recognized the rulemaking

authority granted to the Executive Branch by statute to

implement the Warsaw Convention. 49 U.S.C. § 1502.

The court found that the promulgation of 14 C.F.R.

§ 221.175(a) and the negotiation and acceptance of the

Montreal Agreement by the United States “indicate a

judgment by at least the executive branch that 10 point

type was necessary to provide sufficient notice” to the

passenger under Article 3. 705 F.2d at 90.

In this regard, Polish Airlines is supported by this

Court’s recent ruling in Trans World Airlines v. Franklin

Mint, 466 U.S. 243 (1984), which upheld and applied

another Civil Aeronautics Board regulation interpreting

the cargo limitation of the Warsaw Convention. Franklin

Mint ruled an Executive Branch determination made

pursuant to properly delegated authority is controlling

“unless we find it contrary to law established by domestic

legislation or by the Convention itself.” /d. at 254.

The 10 point standard plainly gives substantive eftect

and meaning to Article 3 of the Convention and its

requirement of delivery. Not only has the Executive

Branch properly set this minimum standard by regula-

tion, but KAL bound itself to provide such notice by

signing the Montreal Agreement.

16

D. Korean Air Lines Disaster is contrary to the

Deutsche Lufthansa case decided by the same

Circuit

The ruling in Korean Air Lines Disaster also conflicts

with a prior decision of another panel of the District of

Columbia Circuit.

In Deutsche Lufthansa vy. Civil Aeronautics Board, 479

F.2d 912 (D.C. Cir. 1973), the German national airline

challenged the 10 point ticket notice requirement imposed

by the Civil Aeronautics Board as contrary to the Con-

vention. But the District of Columbia Circuit stated that

“the provisions of Article 3 may be supplemented by

additional regulations” and ruled that the 10 point stand-

ard “not only does not contradict the provisions of the

Warsaw Convention but gives [Article] 3(1)(e) substantive

effect.” Id. at 916, 918 (emphasis added).

The Circuit expressly adopted the Second Circuit ruling

in List v. Alitalia. Id. at 917. And Deutsche Lufthansa

stated that compiiance with the type size requirement will

dictate whether the airline may later raise the limitation:

Compliance with the [10 point type] regulation will

not only provide passengers with adequate notice of

the limitations on liability imposed on them but will

later enable the carrier to invoke the protection of

[Aricle] 3(1)(e), for unless adequate notice is ac-

corded its passengers, the carrier will later be pre-

cluded from using the Convention to limit liability.

Id. at 918 (emphasis added).

17

E. Denial of certiorari would present a serious prob-

lem for the transferor courts

As discussed in Section II, infra, eleven actions should

be transferred back to New York district courts at the end

of pretrial proceedings pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1407.

Korean Air Lines Disaster expresses its belief that the law

of the case should govern after the cases are returned.

App. A, infra, p. A-11; 829 F.2d at 1176. But the New

York courts are bound to apply the decisions of the

Second Circuit in Polish Airlines and Lisi v. Alitalia.

Ithaca College v. N.L.R.B., 623 F.2d 224 (2d Cir. 1980) (a

decision of the court of appeals, not overruled by the

Supreme Court, is binding on all inferior courts and

litigants within the Circuit).

If this Court declines to decide the Warsaw/ Montreal

issue, the New York district courts would find themselves

“suspended between the doctrine of stare decisis and the

doctrine of the law of the case. In such a circumstance the

_ court would invite reversal if it did not follow the

decisions of its own courts of appeals.” 1B J. Moore,

Moore’s Federal Practice € 0.404j4.-2], p. 129 (2d ed.

1987).

Fk. Korean Air Lines Disaster lacks precedent in sup-

port of its Warsaw holding and should be reversed

The sole decision cited favorably by Korean Air Lines

Disaster was a Canadian Supreme Court ruling: Ludecke

v. Canadian Pacific Airlines, 98 D.L.R.3d 52 (Can.

1979). App. A, p. A-34; 664 F. Supp. at 1474. But

Ludecke did not involve a ticket governed by the Mon-

treal Agreement or 14 C.F.R. § 221.17S(a). And Ludecke

is contrary to the uniform decisions of American courts

18

over the past two decades in Lisi v. Alitalia, Deutsche

Lufthansa, Polish Airlines and New Orleans Disaster.

Korean Air Lines Disaster overlooked the language and

purpose of Article 3 of the Convention that “unless

adequate notice is accorded its passenger, the carrier will

later be precluded from using the Convention to limit

liability.” Deutsche Lufthansa v. Civil Aeronautics Board,

479 F.2d 912, 918 (D.C. Cir. 1973). The opinion does not

address the historical relationship between the Conven-

tion and the Agreement and the United States’ efforts to

set a minimum warning standard. Polish Airlines, 705

F.2d at 89-90; Lowenfeld & Mendelsohn, The United

States and the Warsaw Convention, 80 Harv. L. Rev. 497,

599 (1967). Nor does it recognize the authority of the

Executive Branch to impose the 10 point minimum stand-

ard, Trans World Airlines v. Franklin Mint, 466 U.S. 243

(1984), or that the standard gives “substantive effect” to

the Convention’s notice requirements. Deutsche Luf-

thansa v. Civil Aeronautics Board, 479 F.2d 912, 918

(D.C. Cir. 1973).

International airlines routinely comply with their obli-

gations and gain the limitation by performing the simple

mechanical act of issuing notices in at least 10 point type.

Such notice is the only measure of protection afforded to

passengers in return for the limitation. Korean Air Lines

Disaster should be reversed to restore the quid pro quo of

the Warsaw/Montreal system.

19

THIS COURT MAY DESIRE TO CONSIDER AN

ADDITIONAL QUESTION CONCERNING THE

SUBSTANTIVE FEDERAL LAW TO BE APPLIED

FOLLOWING A TRANSFER FOR PRETRIAL

PROCEEDINGS

If this Court grants certiorari to decide the Warsaw/

Montreal question, the second issue will become moot.

Nevertheless, the issue is the subject of a conflict among

the Circuits and the Court may desire to address the issue

to provide needed guidance in future cases.

A. Korean Air Lines Disaster conflicts with numerous

authorities which hold that following a transfer for

pretrial proceedings, the transferee court is bound

to apply the substantive federal law of the trans-

feror circuit

In Van Dusen vy. Barrack, 376 U.S. 612 (1964), the

Supreme Court held that following a 28 U.S.C. § 1404

transfer of a diversity case, the transferee court was

bound to apply the substantive law of the transferor

court. Van Dusen reasoned that a “change of court-

rooms” should not “significantly affect the outcome of

the case.” Jd. at 639 & n. 40.

Korean Air Lines Disaster limited the scope of Van

Dusen to questions of state law. App. A, infra, p. A-6 to

A-11; 829 F.2d at 1174-76. But the vast majority of courts

facing this issue have held otherwise and applied ban

Dusen to federal law issues. Berry Petroleum v. Adams &

Peck, 518 F.2d 402, 408 (2d Cir. 1975) (as to a federal

securities law issue: “Since this case was brought in a

district court in the Fifth Circuit, the substantive law of

20

that circuit is the law we must consider here.”); Jn re

Haven Industries, 462 F. Supp. 172, 179 (S.D.N.Y. 1978)

(as to a federal securities law issue: “As the transferee

court in this multidistrict litigation, this court must apply

the law of the transferor forum.”); Stirling v. Chemical

Bank, 382 F. Supp. 1146, 1150 n. 5 (S.D.N.Y. 1974) (as to

a federal securities law issue: “This Court must apply the

substantive law of the transferor forum.”); Jn re Four

Seasons Securities Laws Litigation, 370 F. Supp. 219, 228

(W.D. Okla. 1974) (as to a federal bankruptcy law issue:

“In cases transferred under 28 U.S.C. § 1407(a) the

substantive law of the transferor forum applies after

transter.”); Jn re Plumbing Fixtures Litigation, 342 F.

Supp. 756, 758 (J.P.M.L. 1972) (as to a federal antitrust

law issue: “It is clear that the substantive law of the

transferor forum will apply after transfer . . .”); Phila-

delphia Housing Authority v. American Radiator, 309 F.

Supp. 1053 (E.D. Pa. 1969) (as to a federal antitrust law

issue: “the applicable law to be applied in Section 1407

transters 1s the law of the transferor district.”).

Korean Air Lines Disaster conflicts with this line of

authority and holds that a transfer for pretrial proceed-

ings may result in a change of substantive federal law.'”

App. A, infra, p. A-7; 829 F.2d at 1174.

4, ,

lL At the oral argument of plaintitfs’ motion, the district court

judge stated that with regard to the cases filed in New York “1

know that | am bound by the Second Circuit.” Subsequently, in

a decision rendered on a separate Warsaw issue involving a case

transterred trom the Ninth Circuit, the district court held that

under ban Dusen v. Barrack, 376 U.S. 612 (1964), it was bound

to apply the law of the transferor Ninth Circuit. Jn re Korean

dir Lines Disaster, 664 F. Supp. 1478, 1480 (D. D.C. 1986). The

bun Dusen issue was not addressed by the district court in its

21

B. Contrary to the rationale of this Court’s ruling in

Van Dusen, Korean Air Lines Disaster rewards the

defendant for forum shopping

Korean Air Lines Disaster defeats the rationale of Van

Dusen by rewarding KAL for forum shopping. A transfer

for pretrial proceedings under 28 U.S.C. § 1407 “does

not justify the rather startling conclusion that one might

‘get a change in law as a bonus for a change of venue’.

Van Dusen, 376 U.S. at 636.

Eleven plaintiffs on this appeal filed in New York,

where six of them resided, where flight 7 departed, where

KAL issued nearly all of the defective tickets and where

KAL conducts regular flights. But soon after the disaster,

KAL realized that it had issued the small print tickets to

many passengers. It quickly sought a Section 1407 trans-

fer to the District of Columbia, which had no connection

to flight 7, KAL’s flight operations, any KAL witnesses or

the plaintiffs." KAL’s attempt to avoid the application of

Polish Airlines and Lisi v. Alitalia is obvious.

Korean Air Lines Disaster, however, does not address

the forum shopping considerations of Van Dusen.

first opinion on the Warsaw/Montreal ticket issue despite the

fact that it was briefed and argued by the parties. Subsequently,

the Court of Appeals specifically remanded for further findings

related to Van Dusen. The district court then reversed itself, and

held that the Kan Dusen rule did not apply to tederal law issues.

App. A, infra, pp. A-67 to A-70; 664 F. Supp. 1485-90.

13 The Multidistrict Panel granted KAL’s motion not on the

grounds of any convenience of the District of Columbia to the

airline, but because of the Panel’s belief that discovery would

be conducted of government agencies located in the District. /n

re Korean Air Disaster, 575 F. Supp. 342 (J.P-M.L. 1983).

22

C. Korean Air Lines Disaster undermines the multidis-

trict transfer system

The purpose of 28 U.S.C. § 1407 is to “promote the

just and efficient conduct” of complex actions. A Section

1407 transfer may be made to any district regardless of

federal venue requirements. The transfer determination

under Section 1407 is often based on court case loads and

the availability of a particular district judge.

The Multidistrict Panel certainly did not believe that its

transfer would result in a change of the applicable law. /n

re Plumbing Fixture Cases, 342 F. Supp. 756, 758

(J.PM.L. 1968); see Manual for Complex Litigation,

Second § 31.122, p. 254 n. 25.

But Korean Air Lines Disaster granted KAL a substan-

tive law benefit resulting from its transfer for mere

discovery convenience. If this ruling is allowed to stand,

courts “would at least be reluctant to grant transfers,

despite considerations of convenience, if to do so might

conceivably prejudice the claim of a plaintiff who had

initially selected a permissible forum.” Van Dusen, 376

U.S. at 636.

Prior to Korean Air Lines Disaster, every multidistrict

case which addressed whether this Court’s holding in Van

Dusen applied to federal law questions has respected the

law of the transferor Circuit. This is undoubtedly because

28 U.S.C. § 1407 contemplates that the case will eventu-

ally be returned to the transferor court for trial. But

Korean Air Lines Disaster threatens the proper working

of the multidistrict transfer system by allowing a change

in courtrooms to change the ultimate outcome of the

case.

23

CONCLUSION

Certiorari should be granted to address the conflict

among the Circuits created by Korean Air Lines Disaster

on the proper interpretation of the Warsaw Convention

and Montreal Agreement.

Respectfully submitted,

PLAINTIFFS’ STEERING COMMITTEE

MILTON G. SINCOFF

Co-Chairman and Counsel of Record

Kreindler & Kreindler

100 Park Avenue

New York, NY 10017

(212) 687-8181

DONALD W. MADOLE

Co-Chairman

Speiser, Krause & Madole

1216 16th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 223-8501

On the brief:

MILTON G. SINCOFF

STEVEN R. POUNIAN

INDEX TO APPENDICES

APPENDIX A:

Opinion of Court of Appeals for the District of Colum-

bia Circuit dated September 25, 1987 and reported at

829 F.2d 1171 (D.C. Cir. 1987) and 664 F. Supp. 1463

aa. SENG 6 Gok Chice sce Raa RR URAL a ena

Memorandum Opinion of the United States District

Court dated May 7, 1987 and reported at 664 F. Supp.

Se CS, I re oe eer eee eee eehua has

Judgment of the Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit dated September 25, 1987.........

Order of the Court of Appeals for the District of Colum-

bia Circuit dated November 16, 1987...............

APPENDIX B:

A Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Re-

lating to International Transportation by Air, October

12, 1929, 49 Stat. 3000, T.S. No. 876 (1934), reprinted

in 49 U.S.C. § 1502 note (Warsaw Convention)......

Agreement Relating to Liability Limitations of the War-

saw Convention and Hague Protocol, Agreement

CAB 18900, Approved by Executive Order E-23680,

May 13, 1966 (Docket 17325), 31 Fed. Reg. 7302

(1966), reprinted in Civil Aeronautics Board, Aero-

nautical Statutes and Related Material 515-16 (1974)

EY CN Se eee eackw sees

Federal Aviation Regulation, 14 C.F.R. § 221.17S(a) ...

Federal Aviation Regulation, 14 C.F.R. § 213.7........

PAGE

B-1

APPENDIX A

A-]

Opinion of Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit

Notice: This opinion is subject to formal revision before publication

in the Federal Reporter or U.S.App.D.C. Reports. Users are requested

to notify the Clerk of any formal errors in order that corrections may be

made before the bound volumes go to press.

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 85-5982

IN RE: KOREAN AIR LINES DISASTER OF

SEPTEMBER 1, 1983

PLAINTIFF’S STEERING COMMITTEE, APPELLANT

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia

(Misc. No. 83-00345)

Argued January 20, 1987

Decided September 25, 1987

Milton G. Sincoff, with whom Donald W. Madole and

Steven R. Pounian were on the brief for appellant.

George N. Tompkins, Jr. for appellee.

Before: RuTH B. GINSBURG, WILLIAMS, and D.H. Grvs-

BURG, Circuit Judges.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge RuTH B.

GINSBURG.

Bills of costs must be filed within 14 days after entry of judgment. The

court looks with disfavor upon motions to file bills of costs out of time.

A.?

Concurring opinion filed by Circutt Judge D.H. GINS-

BURG, in which Circuit Judge WILLIAMS joins.

GINSBURG, RUTH B., Circuit Judge: This case arises

out of an air disaster and raises turbulent federal _,

tions. On September 1, 1983, Korean Air Lines (K =

Flight 007, a commercial craft departing from +" y

Airport in New York and bound for Seoul, South orea,

was destroyed over the Sea of Japan by Soviet 7

military aircraft. Wrongful death actions were r-

against KAL in several federal district courts; the Judi-

cial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation transferred these

actions to the District Court for the District of er

for pretrial proceedings pursuant to 28 U.S.C. $1

(“(Clivil actions invoiving one or more common oe

of fact .. . pending in different districts es es Be

transferred to any district for coordinated or consolida

pretrial proceedings.”).

he nub of the controversy relates to the per passenger

Pe limitation of the Warsaw Convention,’ ——

$75,000 by an accord among airlines known as the wr -

real Agreement.? By motion for partial summary ju .

ment, plaintiffs sought a declaration that [KAL] :

liable without fault for compensatory damages ae

any limitation of $75,000.” Joint Appendix (J.A.) at 26.

Plaintiffs grounded this motion on the inadequate ee

size of the liability limitation notice printed on KAL

passenger tickets. The notice appeared in 8 point type;

the Montreal Agreement specifies 10 point type. Denying

plaintiffs’ motion, the district court, on July 25, 1985,

1 Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating

to International Transportation by Air, October 12, 1$29,

49 Stat. 3000, T.S. No. 876, 137 L.N.T.S. 11, reprinted in

49 U.S.C. § 1502 note (1982).

i ili imitations of the War-

2 Avreement Relating to Liability L

RAW tewwancere and the Hague Protocol, CAB Bar po

12900. 31 Fep. Rec. 7302 (1966) (approved by C rder

F-23680, May 13, 1966).

A-3

held that KAL could avail itself of the $75,000 per pas-

senger limitation. In re Korean Air Lines Disaster of

September 1, 1983, 19 Av. L. Rep. (CCH) 17,584 (D.D.C.

1985). In so ruling, the district court considered and

rejected contrary Second Circuit precedent: In re Air

Crash Disaster at Warsaw, Poland, on March 14, 1980,

705 F.2d 85 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 845 (1983 ).

On September 24, 1985, the district court certified for

interlocutory appeal under 28 U.S.C. § 1292( b) the ques-

tion whether KAL “is entitled to avail itself of the lim.

itation of damages provided by the Warsaw Convention

and Montreal Agreement despite its defective tickets.”

We ruled that the requirements of section 1292(b) were

met and that “wise exercise of our discretion dictates

that the uppeal be allowed.” D.C. Cir. Order filed April

8, 1986.

On January 30, 1987, after argument of the appeal,

we remanded the record for clarification of the scope of

the district court’s order denying plaintiffs’ partial sum-

mary judgment motion. Specifically, we observed that

the cases consclidated in this appeal

can be grouped into three categories on the basis of

the fora in which they were originally filed and to

which they are to be remanded at or before the co

clusion of pretrial proceedings, unless the actio:..

are earlier terminated: (a) the Southern and East-

ern Districts of New York; (b) the Eastern District

of Michigan and the District of Massachusetts; and

(ce) the District of Columbia. The district judge, in

his order denying plaintiffs’ motion for partial sum-

mary judgment, did not expressly consider the con-

tention that, by analogy to the principle set forth in

Van Dusen v. Barrack, 376 U.S. 612 (1964), he was

bound by Second Circuit precedent in resolving the

claims of plaintiffs in the first category enumerated

above.

A-4

The extent of a transferee court’s authority under

28 U.S.C. § 1407 independently to resolve issues of

[federal] law already passed upon by the federal

court of appeals for the circuit in which the trans-

feror forum is located is apparently a question of

first impression, and our consideration of this issue

is hampered by uncertainty as to which plaintiffs

were covered by the district court’s July 1985 order.

D.C. Cir. Order filed January 30, 1987.

By Memorandum dated May 7, 1987, the district court

held that its July 25, 1985 decision denying plaintiffs

partial summary judgment motion applies to all three

categories of cases described in this court’s January 30,

1987 remand-for-clarification order. We now affirm the

district court’s dispositions. On the Warsaw Convention/

Montreal Agreement $75,000 per passenger damage lim-

itation issue, we adopt as our opinion the comprehensive

July 25, 1985 Memorandum of the district court, and we

reprint that disposition as an appendix hereto. We get

out below our reasons for concluding that the district

court properly adhered to its own interpretation of the

Warsaw Convention/Montreal Agreement in all actions,

including those transferred from district courts within

the Second Circuit.

The Supreme Court, in Van Dusen v. Barrack, 376

U.S. 612 (1964), addressed and resolved this question:

when a defendant in a diversity action moves for a venue

transfer under 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a),* which state’s law

applies post-transfer? The state law that would have

applied in the transferor court adheres to the case, the

Supreme Court held; in the Court’s words, “with respect

* Under this change of venue prescription, “[f]or the

convenience of parties and witnesses, in the interest of jus-

tice, a district court may transfer any civil action to any —ther

district or division where it might have been brought.”

A-5

to state law,” the venue change will accomplish “but a

change of courtrooms.” Van Dusen, 376 U.S. at 639.‘

The Van Dusen interpretation of 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a),

as the latter applies in diversity actions, rests on prin-

ciples advanced in Erie R.R. v. Tompkinz, 304 U.S. 64

(1938), and cases in the Erie line. Van Dusen, 376 US.

at 637-40; see particularly Klaxon Co. v. Stentor Elec.

Mfg. Co., 313 U.S. 387 (1941) (on issues of state law

arising in diversity cases, federal courts must apply

choice-of-law rules of states in which they sit). Justice

Goldberg explained for the Court in Van Dusen:

[Ojur interpretation [of §1404(a)] . . . is sup-

ported by the policy underlying Erie[.] ... [Wle

should ensure that the “accident” of federal diversity

jurisdiction does not enable a party to utilize a

transfer to achieve a result in federal court which

could not have been achieved in the courts of the

State where the action was filed... . What Erie

and the cases following it have sought was an iden-

tity or uniformity between federal and state courts:

and the fact that in most instances this could be

achieved by directing federal courts to apply the

laws of the States “in which they sit” should not

obscure that, in applying the same reasoning to

§ 1404(a), the critical identity to be maintained is

between the federal district court which decides the

*The Van Dusen Court expressly did not decide whether

the law of the state in which the transferor court sits would

apply if plaintiff rather than defendant sought the transfer,

or if a state court in the transferor court’s state would dis-

miss the case on forum non conveniens grounds. Van Dusen,

376 U.S. at 640. Wright, Miller & Cooper indicate that sev-

eral courts have applied the law of the transferor court even

when plaintiff rather than defendant, moves for a transfer.

15 C. WRIGHT, A. MILLER & E. Cooper, Federal Practice and

Procedure § 3846, at 367 (2d ed. 1986). A strong argument,

however, favors application of the law of the transferee state

in such instances. See ALI, Study of Division of Jurisdiction

Between State and Federal Courts, § 1306(c) & commentary

(1969).

A-6

case and the courts of the State in which the action

was filed.

Van Dusen, 376 U.S. at 637-39 (footnotes omitted).

Defendants in Van Dusen sought to transfer the case

from the Eastern District of Pennsylvania to the District

of Massachusetts. (Massachusetts, but not Pennsylvania,

limited the damages plaintiffs could recover.) Were the

transfer to be made, the Supreme Court ruled, though

all further proceedings would take place in the Massa-

chusetts district court, Pennsylvania law, not Massachu-

setts law, would furnish the governing state prescrip-

tions.

The question before us is whether the Van Dusen

rule--that the law applicable in the transferor forum

attends the transfer—should apply to transferred federal

claims. It is a question meriting attention from Higher

Authority. Congress, it appears, has not focused on the

issue,» nor has the Supreme Court addressed it. The

Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation assumed, on at

least one occasion, that the Van Dusen rule would apply

to transferred federal claims, see In re Plumbing Fiz-

5 In Senate hearings on the bill that eventually became the

multidistrict litigation statute, two witnesses stated that Van

Dusen would apply to choice-of-law issues under the measure.

The experience of those witnesses related to federal claims

for antitrust law violations and it may be that they intended

their statements to cover such claims. See Multidistrict Liti-

gation: Hearings on S. $815 Before the Subcomm. on Im-

provements in Judicial Machinery of the Senate Comm. on

the Judiciary, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. 13, 25 (1966) (statements

of Dean Phil Neal and Judge William Becker). The Supreme

Court, however, in explicit and repeated qualifications, con-

fined its Van Dusen opinion to questions of state law. See

8376 US. at 625-26, 630, 633, 635, 639. The snippet of legisla-

tive history just described, therefore, is at best equivocal; the

two witnesses perhaps “mean[t] only that Van Dusen would

apply to state law issues in cases transferred under the new

statute.” Marcus, Conflicts Among Circuits and Transfers

Within the Federal Judicial System, 93 YALE L.J. 677, 710-11

(1984).

—

A-7

tures Litigation, 342 F.Supp. 756, 758 (J.P.M.D.L.

1972),* but the Panel, from what we can glean, has

given the matter only fleeting consideration.’ Recogniz-

ing that the question is perplexing, particularly in the

context of 28 U.S.C. § 1407, a statute authorizing trans-

fers only for pretrial purposes, we are persuaded by

thoughtful commentary that “the transferee court

[should] be free to decide a federal claim in the manner

it views as correct without deferring to the interpreta-

tion of the transferor circuit.” Marcus, Conflict Among

Circuits and Transfers Within the Federal Judicial Sys

tem, 93 YALE L.J. 677, 721 (1984); see also Steinman,

Law of the Case: A Judicial Puzzle in Consolidated and

Transferred Cases and in Multidistrict Litigation, 135

U. Pa. L. Rev. 595, 662-706 (1987).

As the district court stressed in response to our

remand, the Erie policies served by the Van Dusen deci-

sion do not figure in the calculus when the law to be

applied is federal, not state. Given the reality of conflict

among the circuits on the proper interpretation of federal

law, however, why deny to a plaintiff with a federal

claim the “venue privilege” a diversity claimant enjoys?

Plaintiffs in the Van Dusen sitvation could effectively

pick Pennsylvania rather than Massachusetts law and

retain the benefit of that choice after transfer. Why

deny a similar right of selection and retention to plair

tiffs who would fare better under the Second Circuit

*In Plumbing Fizrtures, a plaintiff resisted § 1407 transfer

of his price-fixing claim on the ground that under transferee

forum precedent, his standing to sue would be rejected. The

Panel stated, with no elaboration: “It is clear [under Van

Dusen] that the substantive law of the transferor forum will

apply after transfer.” 342 F.Supp. at 758.

7 Severa! lower courts have also declared, without exposi-

tion, that Van Dusen’s reasoning would apply to transferred

federal claim cases. See Marcus, supra note 5, 93 YALE L.J.

at 692-93 & n.100 (citing cases). Other lower courts have

stated that Van Dusen does not apply to transferred federal

claims. /d. at 693 n.102 (citing cases).

A-8

interpretation of federal law than under the D.C. Cir-

cuit’s interpretation?

The point has been cogently made that venue provi-

sions are designed with geographical convenience in

mind, and not to “guarantee that the plaintiff will be

able to select the law that will govern the case.” Piper

Aircraft Co. v. Reyno, 454 U.S. 235, 257 n.24 (1981);

see Marcus, supra, 93 YALE L.J. at 696-701. In diversity

cases, however, federal courts are governed by Klazon

and therefore may not compose federal choice-of-law

principles; instead, they must look to stale prescriptions

in determining which state’s law applies. With “no fed-

eral choice-of-law principles that favor the application

of the law of one state over the law of another,” the

diversity plaintiff’s opening move or “venue privilege”

ordinarily fills the gap—it “prevails by default.” Marcus,

supra, 93 YALE L.J. at 700-01. For the adjudication of

federal claims, on the other hand, “[t]he federal courts

comprise a single system [in which each tribunal en-

deavors to apply] a single body of law,” H.L. Green Co.

v. MacMahon, 312 F.2d 650, 652 (2d Cir. 1962), cert.

denied, 372 U.S. 928 (1963); there is no compelling rea-

son to allow plaintiff to capture the most favorable inter-

pretation of that law simply and solely by virtue of his

or her right to choose the place to open the fray.

As summarized in the commentary we find persuasive:

The Van Dusen Court stressed the venue privilege

because [under Klazon] there is no federal prin-

ciple by which to select the state law that should

govern diversity cases. Where federal claims are

transferred, however, the principle that the trans-

feree federal court is competent to decide federal

issues correctly indicates that the transferee’s in-

terpretation should apply.

For federal courts, the most significant choice-of-

law difference between issues of state law and issues

A-9

of federal law is that they lack competence to [de-

velop rules of decision for} the former and are pre-

sumptively competent to decide the latter.... [T]he

federal courts have not only the power but the duty

to decide [issues of federal law] correctly. There is

no room in the federal system of review for rote

acceptance of the decision of a court outside the

chain of direct review. If a federal court simply

accepts the interpretation of another circuit without

[independently] addressing the merits, it is not

doing its job.

Marcus, supra, 93 YALE L.J. at 679, 702; see also

Friendly, The “Law of the Circuit” and All That, 46 £

JOHN’S L. REv. 406, 412 (1972) (“I take [Van Dusen|

to be limited to choices of state law.’’) (emphasis in

original).

Application of Van Dusen in the matter before us, we

emphasize, would not produce uniformity. There would

be one interpretation of federal law for the cases initially

filed in districts within the Second Circuit, and an

opposing interpretation for cases filed elsewhere. Apply-

ing divergent interpretations of the governing federal

law to plaintiffs, depending solely upon where they initi-

ally filed suit, would surely reduce the efficiencies achiev-

able through consolidated preparatory proceedings. In-

deed, because there is ultimately a single proper inter-

pretation of federal law, the attempt to ascertain and

apply diverse circuit interpretations simultaneously j

inherently self-contradictory. Our system contemplates

differences between different states’ laws; thus a multi-

district judge asked to apply divergent state positions on

a point of law would face a coherent, if sometimes diffi-

cult, task. But it is logically inconsistent to require one

judge to apply simultaneously different and conflicting

interpretations of what is supposed to be a unitary fed-

eral law."

* Even if it appears plausible to legal minds to mete out in

a consolidated case one version of federal law to plaintiffs

A-10

The district judge in the instant case observed that

{iJf . . . more than one interpretation of federal law

exists, the Supreme Court of the United States can

finally determine the issue and restore uniformity in

the federal system. The uniformity achieved in this

[way] is an “informed uniformity” unlike the “blind

uniformity” which would result from one court

applying the interpretation of another by rote.

May 7, 1987 D.D.C. Memorandum at 4. We agree. The

federal courts spread across the country owe respect to

each other’s efforts and should strive to avoid conflicts,

but each has an obligation to engage independently in

reasoned analysis. Binding precedent for all is set only

by the Supreme Court, and for the district courts within

a circuit, only by the court of appeals for that circuit.

We return, finally, to the most anomalous feature of

this case. As earlier observed, we deal here not with an

“all-purpose” transfer under 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a), but

with a transfer under 28 U.S.C. § 1407 “for coordinated

or consolidated pretrial proceedings.” We have held, in

accord with the district court, that the law of a trans-

feror forum—here, the law of the Second Circuit—merits

close consideration, but does not have stare decisis effect

in a transferee forum situated in another circuit. Should

the several cases consolidated for pretrial preparation in

the instant proceeding eventuaily return to transferor

courts outside this circuit,’ would our district court’s

whose counsel filed in the Southern or Eastern District of

New York, another to plaintiffs whose counsel filed in the

District Court for the District of Columbia, it would be diffi-

cult to explain the rationality of such divergencies to the lay

persons served by the federal judicial system.

*In practice, it has been reported, most cases transferred

under § 1407 are not remanded. See 1986 Ann. Rep. Director

Admin. Off. U.S. Courts 128 (as of June 30, 1986, 15,026

actions had been subject to § 1407 proceedings; of those,

10,903 had been terminated by the transferee court) ; Stein-

man, Law of the Case: A Judicwal Puzzle in Consolidated and

ry

A-1]

Warsaw Convention/Montreal Agreement ruling, which

we have affirmed, have binding force? We believe it

should, as “law of the case,” for if it did not, transfers

under 28 U.S.C. § 1407 could be counterproductive, i.e.,

capable of generating rather than reducing the duplica-

tion and protraction Congress sought to check. See Stein-

man, supra, 135 U. Pa. L. Rev. at 664-67, 700-704. On

this issue in the case at hand, however, our circuit is not

positioned to speak the last word.

We affirm the order of the district court that KAL is

entitled to avail itself of the limitation on damages pro-

vided by the Warsaw Convention and raised to $75,000

by the Montreal Agreement; and we note again that the

proper interpretation of the Convention and Agreement,

as well as the scope of the transferee court’s interpretive

authority in a case such as this one, are matters in need

of definitive resolution for our national court system.

Affirmed.

Transferred Cases and in Multidistrict Litigation, 135 U. Pa.

L. REV. 595, 667 & n.247, 700 & nn.410, 411 (1987); Weigel,

The Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation, Transferor

Courts, and Transferee Courts, 78 F.R.D. 575, 583 (1978).

A-12

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

MDL No. 565

Misc. Docket No. 83-0345

IN RE: KOREAN AIR LINES DISASTER

OF SEPTEMBER 1, 1983

Civil Action Nos. 83-2793,

83-2941, 83-3154, 83-3177,

83-3204, 83-3441, 83-3445,

83-3448, 83-3449, 83-3450,

83-3451, 83-3452, 83-3453,

83-3454, 83-3455, 83-3456,

83-3457, 83-3458, 83-3459,

83-3460, 83-3461, 83-3462,

83-3463, 83-3464, 83-3465,

83-3466, 83-3467, 83-3468,

83-3469, 83-3470, 83-3473,

83-3474, 83-3587, 83-3588,

83-3792, 83-3793, 83-3889,

83-3891, 83-3898, 83-3901,

83-3902, 83-3903; 84-0029,

84-0030, 84-0402

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

INTRODUCTION |

Before the Court is a motion for summary judgment

on the sole issue of the enforceability of the limitation on

damages established by the Warsaw Convention (Conven-

A-13

tion)’ and asserted by Defendant Korean Air Lines Co.,

Ltd. (Korean Air Lines) in the above-captioned multidis-

trict litigation. These Plaintiffs argue that, as a matter

of law, Korean Air Lines is liable to them to the full

extent of their damages for having delivered defective

tickets to their decedents, passengers killed when a com-

mercial airliner (KAL 007) owned and operated by De-

fendant was tragically destroyed by Soviet military air-

eraft over the Sea of Japan.

The material facts are undisputed. Defendant deli-

vered tickets to Plaintiffs’ decedents before their “inter-

national transportation” began. The tickets contained

notice of the applicability of the Warsaw Convention’s

rules limiting Korean Air Lines’ liability. The notice was

printed in 8.0 type size. Since the passenger tickets at

issue included a point of origin, destination or stopping

place within the United States, the provisions of the

Montreal Intercarrier Agreement (Montreal Agree-

ment),? are also relevant. The question before the Court

is whether the failure to print notice to passengers of the

applicability of the Warsaw Convention in 10-point mod-

ern type size, as required by the Montreal Agreement,

strips the carrier of the Convention’s liability limitation.

Having considered the treaty, its history and develop-

ment, and all evidence presented, the Court concludes that

the carrier cannot be prevented from availing itself of

the limitation; Plaintiffs’ motion shall be denied.

1 Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating

to In‘ernational Transportation by Air, October 12, 1929, 49

Stat. 3000, T.S. No. 876, 137 L.N.T.S. 11, reprinted in 49

U.S.C. § 1502 note (1982).

2 Agreement Relating to Liability Limiations of the War-

saw Convention and the Hague Protocol, CAB Agreement

18900, 31 FED. REG. 7302 (1966) (approved by CAB Order

E-23680, May 13, 1966).

A-14

HISTORY OF THE WARSAW CONVENTION

Before considering this motion, it is necessary to

clearly understand the Warsaw Convention. It is a

multilateral treaty intended to uniformly regulate inter-

national airline transportation. Today, more than 120

nations adhere to the rules contained in the Convention.

Originally negotiated at two international conferences,

the first in Paris in 1925 and the second in Warsaw ir

1929, the Convention had a dual purpose. In recognition

of the fact that the newly emerging air industry woul

link many nations of divergent systems and laws, the

first goal was to establish some degree of uniformity as

to documentation for tickets and the like and as to the

procedure and substantive rules of law which would

govern claims arising out of international transportation

by air. Lowenfeld & Mendelsohn, The United States

and the Warsaw Convention, 80 Harv. L. Rev. 497, 498-99

(1967). In order to help the then fledgling air industry

to attract needed capital, the second goal was to limit the

potential liability of the air carriers in the case of acci-

dents. Clearly recognized as the more important goal of

the Convention, in Article 22(1), the limitation on lia-

bility was set at 125,000 Poincare francs, or approxi-

mately 8,300 United States dollars.* In exchange for the

limitation, the Warsaw Convention, in Article 20, created

a rebuttable presumption of air carrier liability unl:

“he proves that he and his agents have taken all neces-

sary measures to avoid the damage or that it was impos-

sible for him or them to take such measures.” Article 25

then provided that, in cases where a plaintiff is able to

* The actual amount was $8,291.87. Block v. Compaignie

Nationale Air France, 386 F.2d 323, 325 (5th Cir. 1967).

Article 22(4) of the Convention provides that “The sums

mentioned above shall be deemed to refer to the French franc

consisting of 651% milligrams of gold at the standard of fine

ness of nine hundred thousandths. These sums may be con-

verted into any national currency in round figures.”

A-15

prove ‘‘willful misconduct” the carrier wil] not be entitled

to avail himself of the limitation on liability.

On July 31, 1934, the United States deposited its

instrument of adherence to the Warsaw Convention in

the archives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Poland

in accordance with the procedure set forth in Article 37

of the treaty. At the time the Senate ratified the treaty,

notably during the time this country (and the world)

was in the midst of the Great Depression, the $8,300

amount of the limitation was thought to provide some

benefit to both passengers and carriers. Indeed, Secretary

of State Cordell Hull transmitted the Warsaw Convention

to the Senate with the following statements:

It is believed that the principle of limitation will not

only be beneficial to passengers and shippers as af-

fording a more definite basis of recovery and as

tending to lessen litigation, but that it will prove to

be an aid in the development of international air

transportation, as such limitation will afford the

carrier a more definite and equitable basis on which

to obtain insurance rates, with the probable result

that there would eventually be a reduction of operat-

ing expenses for the carrier and advantages to

travelers and shippers in the way of reduced trans-

portation charges.

Senate Comm. on Foreign Relations, Message from the

President of the United States Transmitting a Cenven-

tion for the Unification of Certain Rules, Sen. Exec. Doc.

No. G, 73d Cong., 2d Sess. 3-4 (1934). Therefore, at the

time of ratification, the principle and the amount of lim-

itation were assented to by the United States. Since that

time and especially with the growth of the air industry

to its present proportions, the limitation has become an

increasingly uncomfortable and unpopular proposition.

While the limitation was once accepted, it has con-

stantly been the focus of debate and disagreement. The

A-16

United States, although adhering to the uniform rules

relating to international transportation, has not been

satisfied with the low limits placed on air carrier liability.

As early as 1935, one year following United States ad-

herence, there was discussion of possible amendment to

the Convention. Lowenfeld & Mendelsohn at 502. As a

result of the alarm expressed by the United States and

other nations where full recovery for personal injury and

wrongful death had become the rule, discussions and pro-

posals for change continued until anolner conference met

in September 1955. Convened this time at the Hague, th-

stated goal was to resolve the debate concerning wheth

the liability limits had been set at an appropriate level.

Lowenfeld & Mendelsohn at 504. The Hague Conference,

therefore, had a limited purpose with the intent being to

retain uniformity in the rules and conditions expressed

in the Warsaw Convention while resolving the dissatis-

faction with the low limits of liability. S. Speiser & C.

KRAUSE, 1 Aviation Tort Law 670-74 (1978).

Through much negotiation and debate the Hague Pro-

tocol did, among other things, double the limitation to

$16,600. Nonetheless, the outcome of the Hague confer-

ence failed to resolve the dissatisfaction; the United

States never ratified the Hague Protocol. In fact, the

amendments to Warsaw were never presented to the Sen-

ate for ratification, since even the increased limitation

faced an unpleasant political climate. Lowenfeld & Men

delsohn at 515. The limitation amount therefore remained

at $8,300 in this country.

Discontent continued for another decade. Then, in 1965,

the United States determined that the Warsaw limitation

could no longer be tolerated and decided to denounce the

treaty. Deposited November 15, 1965 and in accordance

with Article 39, set to become effective six months later,

the State Department Press Release concerning the Notice

of Denunciation stated that “the United States wishes to

make clear that the action to denounce the Warsaw Con-

A-17

vention is taken solely because of the Convention’s low

limits of liability for injury or death to passengers, and

in no way represents a departure from the longstanding

commitment of the United States to the tradition of

international cooperation in matters relating to civil

aviation.” 53 Dept. State Bull. 923, 924 (1965) (em-

phasis added). The Notice continued to state clearly that

the threat of denunciation would be withdrawn if the

imitation were raised, by special contract or otherwise,

to preferably $100,000 but not less than $75,000.

The Montreal Agreement was adopted in response to

the United States’ decision to withdraw from the Warsaw

Convention. Unlike the Hague Protocol, the Montreal

Agreement did manage to calm the din of criticism of

the low limits which had, by 1965, “reached a crescendo.”

S. SPEISER & C. KRAUSE at 674. In order to avert United

States denunciation of the treaty, air carriers agreed to

raise the limitation amount to $75,000 and to submit to

virtual strict liability; the Montreal Agreement provides

that an air carrier “shall not . . . avail itself of any

defense under Article 20(1) of said Convention or said

Convention as amended by [Hague] Protocol.” In addi-

tion, the Agreement provided that the “Montreal Advice”

would be printed in 10-point type and in ink contrasting

with the ticket stock. However, the Montreal Agreement

is completely silent with respect to sanctions to be imposed

for failure to comply with any of its three provisions.

Contrary to the view that waiver of the limitation was

contemplated, the Montreal Agreement was entered into

to preserve the limitation. Intended only as an interim

agreement until the treaty could be amended, the Mont-

real Agreement achieved a stand-off on the issue of the

level of the limitation. By its very terms, the Agreement

is only a “special contract” under the Warsaw Conven-

tion. It applies to “international transportation” as de-

fined in Article 1{2) which includes a point in the United

States as a point of origin, point of destination, or agreed

stopping place. While leaving air carriers liable without

A-18

fault, the Agreement permits air carriers to avail them-

selves of the liability limitation found in Article 22(1) ;

however, the amount of the limitation is increased to

$75,000 and the defenses found in Article 20(1) have

been waived.

Although the increase from $8,300 to $75,000 was sig-

nificant, the fact remains that the United States will

probably never be satisfied with any amount as a limit

upon recovery. Therefore, while the debate has been

phrased in terms of the “appropriate” level of the limi-

tation, see, e.g., Lowenfeld & Mendelsohn at 504, it is the

very idea of any limit at all which has been and remains

the problem. The United States has consistently rejected

all limitation amounts; it certainly appears that “no con-

vention with a limitation of damages can possibly pass

the Senate of the United States.” Kreindler, A Plaintiff's

View of Montreal, 33 J. Air L. & Com. 528, 529 (1967).

ISSUES PRESENTED

At issue is the interpretation of Article 3 of the War-

saw Convention which provides:

(1) For the transportation of passengers the car-

riers must deliver a passenger ticket which shall

contain the following particulars:

(a) The place and date of issue;

(b) The place of departure and of destina-

tion;

(c) The agreed stopping places, provided that

the carrier may reserve the right to alter the

stopping places in case of necessity; and that if

he exercises that right, the alteration shall not

have the effect of depriving the transportation

of its international character;

(d) The name and address of the carrier or

carriers:

A-19

(e) A statement that the transportation is

subject to the rules relating to liability estab-

lished by this convention.

(2) The absence, irregularity, or loss of the pas-

senger ticket shall not affect the existence or the

validity of the contract of transportation, which

shall none the less be subject to the rules of this con-

vention. Nevertheless, if the carrier accepts a pas-

senger without a passenger ticket having been de-

livered he shall not be entitled to avail himself of

those provisions of this convention which exclude or

limit his liability. '

Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating

to International Transportation by Air, October 12, 1929,

49 Stat. 3000, T.S. No. 876, 137 L.N.T.S. 11, reprinted in

49 U.S.C. § 1502 note (1982) (emphasis added).

Originally, Plaintiffs based their motion on a claim

that the Montreal Agreement modified these provisions

of the Convention so as to require air carriers to deliver

to passengers embarking on “international transporta-

tion” tickets containing notice of the applicability of the

Warsaw Convention in at least 10-point type size in

order to limit their liability. It is Plaintiffs’ position

that the Montreal Agreement also “modified” the treaty

provisions relating to the amount of the limitation, rais-

ing it from $8,300 to $75,000. Further, Plaintiffs argue

that a carrier’s failure to print the Montreal Advice in

at least 10-point type constitutes “non-delivery” of a

ticket under Article 3(2) and therefore triggers the

treaty sanction—-forfeiture of the limitation for air car-

rier liability.

In a subsequent pleading, Plaintiffs changed the focus

of their argument from a claim that the Convention was

modified in Montreal to a claim that the Warsaw Con-

vention is not applicable at all because “Korean Air

Lines, a corporate citizen of a nation not a party to the

Warsaw Conveniion, has no standing to avail itself of

A-20

the defenses contained in the Warsaw Convention.”

Plaintiffs’ Reply Brief at 3. This argument is based on

the notion that there is no treaty relationship between

the Republic of Korea and the United States and that,

therefore, the Convention cannot apply to an air carrier

incorporated in Korea. Plaintiffs contend that the ab-

sence of a treaty relationship with Korea, if indeed there

is no such relationship, prevents Korean Air Lines from

asserting the Warsaw Convention limitation on liability.

However, if Plaintiffs are correct and the applicability

of the Convention rests on the existence of recipra

ratification by Korea and there has been no such ratifica-

tion, then, not only would Korean Air Lines be pre-

cluded from claiming the limitation, the Court would be

altogether precluded from exercising jurisdiction over

the air carrier.

Korean Air Lines vigorously opposes the motion for

partial summary judgment. Under either of the some-

what contradictory theories posited by Plaintiffs, Defend-

ant claims that the Montreal Agreement, being an agree-

ment between air carriers, not nations, cannot modify

the Warsaw Convention to require or trigger the imposi-

tion of the treaty sanction of unlimited liability. Fur-

ther, Korean Air Lines argues that the United States

and the Republic of Korea do maintain a treaty rela-

tionship with respect to the Convention; consequent

Plaintiffs’ second theory cannot be correct.

By challenging Korean Air Lines’ statement that “the

rights of the moving plaintiffs and defendant KAL are

governed exclusively by the provisions of a treaty of

the United States known as the Warsaw Convention,”

Plaintiffs’ second theory impugns the jurisdiction of the

Court. The challenge to “treaty jurisdiction” affects not

only the actions filed by these Plaintiffs, but this entire

multidistrict litigation. Therefore, the question concern-

ing jurisdiction and the requirement of a treaty rela-

tionship with Korea must be examined before proceed-

A-21

ing to the issue of the applicability of the Warsaw Con-

venticn limitation on liability.

JURISDICTION UNDER THE WARSAW

CONVENTION

Article 1(1) provides that “(t}his Convention shall

apply to ali international transportation of persons, bag-

gage or goods performed by aircraft for hire.” Article

17 of the Convention makes the carrier liable for the

death or personal injury ef passengers sustained while

engaged in international transportation. Article 24 of

the Convention further states that cases brought for dam-

ages sustained in the event of wounding of passengers

“can only be brought subject to the conditions and limits

set out in this convention”; Article 32 emphasizes this

point by stating that the parties are prevented from

“deciding the law to be applied” or “altering the rules

as to jurisdiction.” Therefore, nations which are parties

to the Warsaw Convention have agreed that actions for

wrongful death or personal injury occurring during “in-

ternational transportation” will be governed by the rules

of the Convention.

As a treaty of the United States and, therefore, the

“supreme Law of the Land,” U.S. Const. art. VI, the

Warsaw Convention preempts other laws. Since the

Warsaw Convention applies to “international transporta-

tion” and since the United States has agreed to this

treaty, as “supreme Law of the Land” the Convention

exclusively and specifically controls the recovery which

plaintiffs seeking damages for wrongful death or per-

sonal injury occurring during “international transporta-

tion” may receive in American courts. Jn re Air Crash

Disaster at Warsaw, Poland on March 14, 1980, 535 F.

Supp. 833, 844-45 (E.D.N.Y. 1982), aff'd, 705 F.2d 85

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 845 (1983). The Con-

vention also governs the question of jurisdiction; there-

fore, the Court must look to the terms of the Convention

to determine its applicability.

A.)

By its terms, the Warsaw Convention applies only to

‘international transportation,” defined in Article 1(2)

as

any transportation in which, according to the con-

tract made by the parties, the place of departure

and the place of destination, whether or not there

be a break in the transportation or transshipment,

are situated either within the territories of two High

Contracting Parties, or within the territory of a

single High Contracting Party, if there is an agreed

stopping place within a territory subject to tl

sovereignty, suzerainty, mandate or authority of an-

other power, even though that power is not a party

to this convention.

The four conditions specified in Article 28(1), te.,

domicile of the carrier, principal place of business, place

where the ticket was purchased or the place of destina-

tion, are generally thought to control jurisdiction once

“international transportation” has been established. See,

e.g., Vergara v. Aeroflot “Soviet Airlines”, 390 F. Supp.

1266; 1269 (D. Neb. 1975); Smith v. Canadian Pacific

Airways, Ltd. 452 F.2d 798 (2d Cir. 1971); Benjamins

v. British European Airways, 572 F.2d 913 (2d Cir.

1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1114 (1979). There being

no genuine issue respecting either Article 1(2) or Article

28(1) for the tickets relevant to this motion there she

be no question that the Warsaw Convention applies .v

these actions and that there is treaty jurisdiction in this

Court. However, Plaintiffs raise the question of juris-

diction by contending that there is no treaty relationship

between Korea and the United States as regards the

Warsaw Convention and that the absence of a treaty re-

lationship prevents the Court from exercising any of the

Convention’s provisions in favor of Defendant, Korean

Air Lines, a corporate citizen of Korea. Instead, Plain-

tiffs would have the Court “enforce” the Montreal Agree-

ment, as though it were a separate contract, without re-

gard to the Warsaw Convention.

A-23

Plaintiffs’ argument assumes “treaty jurisdiction” is

not necessary to maintain these actions. That is incor-

rect. “If treaty jurisdiction under the Convention does

not lie, federal jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1331(a),

which permits cases arising under United States treaties,

clearly cannot be established.” Smith v. Canadian Pacific

Airways, Ltd., 452 F.2d at 802 (emphasis in original) ;

accord, In re Air Crash in Bali, Indonesia on April 22,

1974, 684 F.2d 1301 (9th Cir. 1982). If Plaintiffs are

correct, and there is no treaty jurisdiction because there

is no treaty relationship, then there is no federal juris-

diction over the Defendant at all.

The Court rejects Plaintiffs’ contention that there is

no treaty relationship between the United States and

Korea. Central to Plaintiffs’ argument is the fact that

the Republic of Korea adheres to the Protocol! Amending

the 1929 Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules

Relating to International Carriage by Air (Hague Pro-

tovol), 478 U.N.T.S. 371 (1955) rather than to the War-

saw Convention. By distinguishing the Protocol from the

Convention as though the two are independent treaties

and by arguing that there is no treaty relationship be-

tween this nation and Korea, Plaintiffs ignore the devel-

opment of the Warsaw system. Having considered the

history of the Hague Protocol, the Court concludes that

the Protocol cannot be considered separately from the

Warsaw Convention; it consists of nothing more than a

list of amendments to the original treaty. Indeed, the

only difference between the titles of the Convention and

the Protocol are the very words “Protocol to Amend.”

The very name of the Hague Protocol gives evidence that

it was intended and, in fact, is merely the Warsaw Con-

vention with certain alterations.

Knowing the history of the conference which produced

the Hague Protocol and the reasons the United States

negotiated and signed but never ratified the Hague Pro-

A-24

tocol provides a context for understanding the relation-

ship of the United States to those countries which choose

to adopt those amendments. First, since the Protocol

came later than the Convention it essentially offered new

nations a choice: adopt the Warsaw Convention as orig-

inally formulated in 1929 or adopt the amended version

as formulated in 1955. The purpose of the Warsaw Con-

vention was to unify the rules; the purpose of the Hague

Protocol was merely to amend those same rules. Korea

has chosen to adhere to the Hague Protocol and is the

fore a High Contracting Party to the Warsaw Conve.

tion through those amendments. In fact, Article XXIll

of the Hague Protocol states:

Adherence to this Protocol by any State which is not

a Party to the Convention shall have the effect of

adherence to the Convention as amended by the Pro-

tocol.

Therefore, since July 13, 1967, Korea has adhered to

the Warsaw Convention through its ratification of the

Hague Protocol. At least with respect to the unamended

portions of the Convention, the United States and Korea

are parties to the same treaty.

Moreover, it would hardly encourage the goal of the

Warsaw Convention to establish uniform rules, law an”

procedure for claims arising out of international aviatio:.

and then to complicate the application of those rules by

requiring reciprocity in ratification. The delegates to

the Hague Conference were well aware of this and delib-

erately adopted the negotiated amendments merely as a

Protocol to amend Warsaw rather than as an entirely new

convention specifically to retain uniformity. S. SPEISER &

C. KRAUSE at 671-72. Plaintiffs’ argument fails because

“(t]he Convention is not concerned with reciprocal treat-

ment of nationals; its purpose is to unify rules relating

to international transportation by air.” S. Speiser & C.

KRAUSE at 666.

A-25

The negotiations and events which led to the Montreal

Agreement were themselves tied to the convention. Plain-

tiffs’ argument that the Montreal Agreement may be con-

sidered without resort to the entire Warsaw system of

recovery is untenable.

INTERPRETING THE WARSAW/MONTREAL

LIMITATION OF LIABILITY

On the issue of maximum liability limits, there has

been considerable debate and clash of ideology. Yet more

than five decades of discussion have managed to produce

no more than an uneasy truce on the issue. The level of

the limitation has been tinkered with in hopes of making

it more palatable. The United States has been able to

force some concessions, principally in the nature of a

“special contract”—the Montreal Intercarrier Agree-

ment—increasing the limit for wounding, injury or death

occurring during the international transportation of pas-

sengers involving a point of origin, point of destination

or agreed stopping place in the United States; however,

the United States remains unhappy with the concept of a

limitation on damages.

While the increase from $8,300 to $75,000 brought

about by the Montreal Agreement is certainly significant,

evidence of continuing American dissatisfaction with any

limit is found in the fact that the United States Senate

has ratified no Convention, Protocol or Agreement since

joining the original Convention. This is true even though

the United States has been presented with at least three

opportunities to join in treaty amendments to raise the

limitation. First, there was the Hague Protocol, and then

the proposed Guatemala Protocol. The Guatemala Pro-

tocol is drafted so as not to become effective without

United States ratification. Although these amendments

‘ Protocol to Amend the Convention for the Unification of

Certain Rules Relating to International Carriage by Air,

ICAO Doc. No. 8932 (1971), reprinted in A. Lowenfeld, Avia-

tion Law Documents Supplement 975-84 (2d ed. 1981).

A-26

would have raised the limitation to $100,000, the United

States Senate failed to ratify by the required two-thirds

margin. The most recent amendments proposed to the

Convention were drafted in Montreal. These amend-

ments, known collectively as the Montreal Protocols,’

would have provided for a maximum recovery of approxi-

mately $105,000; still the Senate failed to ratify. See

129 Conc. Rec. $2237 (daily ed. March 7, 1983); 129

Conc. Rec. $2279 (daily ed. March 8, 1983). Having

rejected all proposals to date, it certainly seems that t’

United States is determined to accept no convention

which imposes a limitation on the recovery available to

citizens of this country. Therefore, while the debate has

been couched in terms of the appropriate level of the

limitation, it is the presence of a limitation at all that

has been the real concern.

A. Criticisms of the Treaty Limitation

There have been two principal criticisms of the Con-

vention’s limitations. First, the limitations have been

objected to on the ground that the reason for limiting

liability in 1929 no longer exists today. In 1929, the

limitation was adopted in order to promote a fledgling

industry. “The international air giants of today were

literally in their swaddling clothes.” L. KREINDLER '

Aviation Accident Law 342 (1963) [hereinafter 1 Av

tion Accident Law). Then, the air industry was strug-

gling to become truly international. Capital had yet to

be invested and needed encouragement. It was hoped

that the limitation on damages would attract capital and

allow carriers to obtain insurance that might otherwise

be discouraged by the threat of a single catastrophic acci-

dent. Lowenfeld & Mendelsohn at 499.

* Additional Protocol Nos. 1-4 to Amend the Convention

for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating to International

Carriage by Air, ICAO Nos. 9145-9148 (1975), reprinted tn

A. Lowenfeld, Aviation Law Documents Supplement 985-

1001 (2d ed. 1981).

A.27

Today, however, the world of aviation is vastly dif-

ferent. In the fifty years since the Convention, air

carriers have obtained both the necessary capital and

insurance to allow the industry to grow to tremendous

proportions. It is now the air industry, not individual

members of society, which is best able to bear the bur-

den of loss in cases of catastrophic accidents. Society,

having accepted the burden of low recoveries during the

industry’s infancy, now feels that the risk of loss is better

placed on what have grown to be major, mature corpora-

tions, often operating as world enterprises, instead of the

individua’ victims. The consensus seems to be that “there

is no longer any need to provide special protection to an

industry which is capable of reimbursing customers for

the damages it causes them.” Comment, The Growth of

American Judicial Hostility to the Liability Limitations

of the Warsaw Convention, 48 J. AiR L. & Com. 805,

830 (1983). Moreover, it has been noted that domestic

airlines managed to flourish without a similar limitation

placed on liability. 1 Aviation Accident Law at 346.

The second, related, criticism of the treaty limitation

has been that liability limitations are “an affront to the

American ideal of full and adequate compensation to in-

jured plaintiffs by those responsible for the harm.” /d.

American courts operate under the principle that “(i]t

is absolutely basic and fundamental . . . that an injured

person should be appropriately compensated for the loss

he has sustained.” KREINDLER, supra, 33 J. AiR L. &

Com. at 530. Within our system of law, the imposition of

a maximum recovery, without regard to the amount of

damages which may be proven, is a significant deviation

from traditional American tort law principles. See 1

Aviation Accident Law at 344-45.

The two major criticisms together, that a limitation

on tort recovery is anathema to traditional American

legal principles and that the air industry has long since

A-28

outgrown the need for special protection, combine for a

forceful argument against continued application of the

liability limits found in the Convention. “It is not in-

significant to note however, that the original policy has

lost a great deal of its persuasive force; air travel is no

longer an infant industry.” S. SPEISER & C. KRAUSE

at 636-37. Nevertheless, the fact remains that the

United States is a High Contracting Party to the Warsaw

Convention, complete with treaty limitation. While this

may be at variance with traditional tort law, as long *s

the political branches of our government choose to adb.

to the Convention, the courts of the nation are obliged to

enforce it as it was negotiated and written. Trans World

Airlines, Inc. v. Franklin Mint Corp., 466 U.S. 243, 273;

(1984) (Stevens, J., dissenting).

B. Interpretations of the Treaty Limitation

It is well established that treaty interpretation involves

a consideration of the history and intent of the contract-

ing sovereigns. Choctaw Nation v. United States, 318

U.S. 423 (1943). Treaties are to be construed liberally

but are not deemed to be abrogated or modified unless

such intent has been clearly expressed. “Legislative si-

lence is not sufficient to abrogate a treaty.” Trans World

Airlines, Inc. v. Franklin Mint Corp., 466 U.S. at 252.

Further, the Warsaw Convention being a treaty of v

untary adhesion, should the political branches of our gov-

ernment determine that the treaty obligations have he-

come more onerous than the foreign policy considerations

justify, the treaty’s provision for denunciation could be

invoked again. For this reason, “|p]lainly, a party to a

treaty of voluntary adhesion can have no need for the

doctrine of rebus sic stantibus [changed circumstances],

except insofar as it might wish to avoid the notice re-

quirement [Article 39].” /d. at 253 n.24. If the ad-

hering nations have no use of the doctrine, then clearly

private parties such as these may not invoke the doctrine

on their behalf. /d. at 253.

A-29

And yet American courts, faced with the prospect of

enforcing a limitation which has become outmoded and

contrary to domestic law, have taken avoidance of the

treaty limitation upon themselves and have arrived at an

interpretation of the Warsaw system which, in cases such

as those presented by Plaintiffs here, eliminates the treaty

limitation altogether. There are two provisions in the

Warsaw Convention which, as a sanction, strip the limi-

tation of liability from an air carrier. First, there is the

“wilful misconduct” section, Article 25, which excepts

from the limitation those cases in which a plaintiff can

prove that the accident generating the action was caused

by the carrier’s “wilful misconduct,” which is to be de-

fined by the court of law to which the case is submitted.

Since the plaintiff’s burden under this provision is a

heavy one, this Article provides little ground from which

to attack the limitation.

Consequently, the majority of courts have addressed

the issue through judicial interpretation of Article 3.°

This provision has provided much space for judicia] ma-

neuverings and innovative interpretations. Specifically,

Article 3(2) provides:

The absence, irregularity, or loss of the passenger

ticket shall not affect the existence or the validity of

the contract of transportation, which shui! : «nethe-

less be subject to the rules of this convention. Never-

theless, if the carrier accepts a passenger without a

passenger ticket having been delivered he shall not

be entitled to avail himself of those provisions of

this convention which exclude or limii his liability.

(Emphasis added. )

* The limitation has been attacked on constitutional grounds

as well, see, e.g., In re Aircrash in Bali, Indonesia ci: April 11,

1974, 684 F.2d 1301 (9th Cir. 1982); Burdell v. Canadian

Pacific Airways, 10 Av. Cas. (CCH) 18,151 (fi. Cir. Ct.

1968).

A-30)

By providing for unlimited liability where there has been

“nondelivery” of a passenger ticket, this Article of the

Warsaw Convention has been given a construction, in

conjunction with the Montreal Agreement, which elim-

inates the limitation for many plaintiffs.

a 1. “Adequate notice”

‘Construing the phrase “accept a passenger without a

passenger ticket having been delivered” to include physi-

cally delivered tickets which fail to contain “adequate

notice” of the Warsaw/Montreal limitation, courts have

made a way for full recovery where there was none.

a line of cases beginning with Mertens v. Flying Tiger

Line, Inc., 341 F.2d 851 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 382 U.S.

816 (1965), through the most recently decided /n re Air

Crash Disaster at Warsaw, Poland on March 14, 1980,

supra, increasing importance has been placed on the pas-

senger’s need to know that in the case of tragedy during

international air travel his recovery will be severely lim-

ited. “Adequate notice,” ordinarily thought of as a

domestic legal concept, has been judicially written into

the Convention, in order to give “substance” to the pro-

vision regarding passenger tickets.

Ironically, a dissenting view in List may have been a

premonition of the developments to come. Noting that

“t]he majority do not approve of the terms of the treaty

and, therefore, by judicial fiat they rewrite it,” Li».

Alitalia-Linee Aeree Italiane, S.p.A., 370 F.2d 508, u15

(2d Cir. 1966) (Moore, J., dissenting), aff'd by equaily

divided court, 390 U.S. 455 (1968), the dissent termed

the court’s action in what was a turning point in the law

“judicial treatymaking.” /d. Further, Judge Moore

noted that “|wlere actual notice to be the requirement,

every airline would have to have its agents explain to

every passenger the legal effect of the treaty and, in all!

probability, insist that each passenger be represented by

counsel who would certify that he had explained the im-

port of the Convention to Ins client who, in turn, both

i nim

A-31

understood and agreed to the limitation.” Jd. While it

may be overstated, the hypothetical does drive home the

point that preoccupation with the type size has less to do

with “adequate notice” than with rejection of the lim-

itation.

Although Article 3(1)(e) specifies that a passenger

ticket shall contain “{a} statement that the transporta-

tion is subjeci lo the rules relating to liability established

by this convention,” Article 3(2) says nothing regarding

the “adequacy” of notice or any other particulars of the

required statement. A literal reading of the provision

would seem to indicate that the Convention is intended

to apply regardless of whether or not the physical ticket

is retained once it has been delivered into the possession

of the passenger; certainly, there is no requirement that

it be read by the passenger. Also, defects in the physical

ticket are not to interfere with the enforceability of the

liability rules. Indeed, inadequate notice through the

Statement could be considered an “irregularity” or defect

in the pasenger ticket which “shall not affect the exist-

ence or the validity of the contract of transportation,

which shall nonetheless be subject to the rules of this

convention.”

Nevertheless, in Mertens v. Flying Tiger Line, Inc.

the Second Circuit found that physical delivery of a ticket

once the passenger has boarded the airplane is inade-

quate and constitutes “nondelivery” under Article 3(2).

The court scated: “We read Article 3(2) to require that

the ticket be delivered to the passenger in such a manner

as to afford him a reasonable opportunity to take meas-

ures to protect himself against the limitation of liability.

... The delivery requirement of Article 3(2) would make

little sense if it could be satisfied by delivering the ticket

to the passenger when the aircraft was several] thousand

feet in the air.” 341 F.2d at 856-57. However, the situ-

ation presented to the Mertens court involved physica!

delivery of the passenger ticket. While it is not surpris-

ing that an American court would find it necessary that

A-32

notice, once required, be given “in such a manner as to

afford [the passenger] a reasonable opportunity to take

self-protective measures,” a notice requirement is no-

where within the treaty nor is the Article 3(1) (e) state-

ment linked with the limitation.

The definition of “adequate notice” found in Mertens

was dependent upon the timing of the physical delivery

of the ticket. The court found that the ticket containing

notice must be delivered in circumstances allowing the

passenger to obtain additional protection, if desired.

Given that the Mertens court had decided that the" ‘-

tation was such an alarming prospect for any passenger

to face, it is not surprising that the standard for permit-

ting the limitation to stand and for protecting the pas-

senger against the limitation became strict notice of the

limitation.

In Warren v. Flying Tiger Line, Inc., 352 F.2d 494

(9th Cir. 1965), the court followed the reasoning in Mer-

tens and held that the very inclusion of a requirement

to provide a statement of the applicability of the Conven-

tion’s limitation meant that “(t]he purpose of such a

statement is to notify passengers of the applicability of

the Convention, thus affording them an opportunity to

take steps to protect against the limitation of liability.”

359 F.2d at 497. The Ninth Circuit expanded the Mer-

tens holding, stating that there is an “implied requi”>-

ment of Article 3(2), that delivery of the passen,

ticket be made sufficiently in advance of the flight so

that the passenger may, if he desires, obtain additional

insurance protection.” 352 F.2d at 498.

Occurring before the Montreal Agreement became ef-

fective, and indeed, before the United States threatened

denunciation of the Warsaw Convention, these cases did

not rely on the nature or size of the print found on the

passenger ticket Nonetheless, the courts managed to

sidestep the limitation and provide what is already proper

under domestic law: full recovery to injured plaintiffs.

A-33

Then, almost immediately following these cases, again

before the Montreal Agreement, focus began to be placed

on the “adequacy of notice” as related to the print of the

ticket. A landmark case, Lisi v. Alitalia-Linee Acree

Italiane, S.p.A., 253 F. Supp. 237 (S.D.N.Y.), aff'd, 370

F.2d 508 (2d Cir. 1966), aff'd by equally divided court

390 U.S. 455 (1968), held that “compliance with the

Convention requires not mere physical delivery of a ticket

and check before departure but delivery of a ticket and

check which notify the passenger that the provisions of

the Convention which exclude or limit liability are appli-

cable.” 253 F. Supp. at 239 (footnote omitted). Having

phrased the question with respect to Article 3(2) as one

of “adequate notice,” the lower court in Lisi went on to

find that the notice of the applicability of the liability

limitations was in fact inadequate because it was printed

in microscopic type,” “camouflaged in Lilliputian print

in a thicket of ‘Conditions of Contract.’” 253 F. Supp

at 243. Further, the court found that the required atate-

ment was “ineffectively positioned, diminutively sized

and unemphasized by bold face type, contrasting color,

or anything else. The simple truth is that they are 20

artfully camouflaged that their presence is concealed.”

Id. In effect, then, the court found that even with ad-

vance physical delivery, without a properly legible state-

ment of the limitation, there could be no delivery of the

ticket. In this way, the court rewrote that provision in

the Convention which states that failure to include the

statement of limitation on liability does not affect the

applicability of the Conventien’s rules. While the Lisi

court may well have construed the diminutive statement

as equivalent to no statement at all, it seems at least

somewhat extreme to have equated this fact to non-deliver !

of the entire contract of carriage. Article 3(2) ap st

directed to the entire ticket, which is evidence thet .

contract has been formed, and appears much less pm

cerned with notice of limitation on liability than Amer-

can courts iase imputed to the drafters of the treaty

A-34

On appeal, the Second Circuit noted:

The Convention’s arbitrary limitations on liability—

which have been severely and repeatedly criticized—

are advantageous to the carrier. But the quid pro

quo for this one-sided advantage is delivery to the

passenger of a ticket and baggage check which give

him notice that on the air trip he is about to take,

the amount of recovery to him or his family in the

event of a crash, is limited very substantially. Thus

the passenger is given the opportunity to purchas*

additional flight insurance or to take such other ste,

for his self-protection as he sees fit.

370 F.2d at 512-13 (footnote omitted). Again, the court

was concerned with giving the Convention meaning; this

meant giving the passenger “notice” of the position he

was placing himself in by traveling internationally by

air. Moreover, it has generally been agreed that the quid

pro quo for the limitation is, not notice, but liability with-

out fault. Even at the Hague Conference, liability as

determined under the “wilful misconduct” provision was

linked to the attempts to raise the limitation. Lowenfeld

& Mendelsohn at 505. There is no evidence that the

treaty drafters and signatories intended “adequate no-

tice” to affect the operation of the treaty limitation.

There is in fact evidence to the contrary. In Ludec’e

v. Canadian Pacific Airlines, Ltd., 98 D.L.R.3d 52 (C

1979), rev’g 53 D.L.R.3d 636 (Que. C.A. 1974), aff’g in

part and rev’g in part, 12 Av. Cas. (CCH) 17,191 (Que.

Super. Ct. 1971), the reasoning which was developed in

Mertens, Warren and Lisi was considered and rejected.

In Ludecke, the Supreme Court of Canada found:

{The words of art. 3(2) are plain and can admit of

no misunderstanding. The absence, irregularity or

loss of a passenger ticket will not affect the existence

or the validity of the contract of carriage. The ben-

efit of the limitation will be lost only where no ticket

is delivered. The American cases referred to above

A-35

which hold that delivery of a ticket with an irregu-

larity, that is, a statement as required by art. 1(e)

which is illegible, amounts to no delivery of a ticket,

igncre this plain language and fail to give effect to

a precise statement of the law. I am unable, how-

ever harsh and unreasonable I may consider the lim-

itation, to adopt the American test.

98 D.L.R.3d at 67.

Given the history of discontent with the limitation, it

seems that the decisions rendered in these cases were

directed toward correcting what is admittedly an_ in-

equitable burden as presently borne between carriers and

passengers. Instead of giving weight to the history of

the Warsaw/Montreal system, the courts have managed

to interpret an additional waiver provision into the

treaty.

Following the acceptance of the Montreal Agreement

and the United States withdrawal of its Notice of De-

nunciation, the courts have continued to view with dis-

approval the limitation on air carrier liability. Judicial

circumvention of the treaty limitation has taken a slightly

different direction upon United States acceptance of the

Montreal Agreement. Instead of focusing upon the tim-

ing of physical delivery, as in Warren and Mertens, the

Lisi concern with the statement, which is never referred

to as “notice’’ in the Convention itself, and the size of

the print, increasingly became the focal point for attack.

2. 10-point type size requirement

As early as 1963, before the Montreal Agreement, the

Civil Aeronautics Board promulgated regulations for air

carriers which required the statement of applicability of

the limitation to be printed in at least 10-point modern

type size on paper of contrasting color. See 14 C.F.R.

§ 221.175(a). In Deutsche Lufthansa Aktiengesellschaft

v. C.A.B., 479 F.2d 912 (DC. Cir. 1973), this Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals rejected the petitioning air car-

A-36

rier’s argument that promulgation of the C.A.B. regula-

tion aaa with the Warsaw Convention and exceeded

the agency’s authority. The Circuit Court first found

that the terms of Article 3 do not preclude the addition

of more specific requirements regarding the statement.

Further, the Court found that “(t]he recent trend of

appellate court decisions has been to accord substance to

the protections that Article 3 of the Convention intended

to provide airline passengers.” 479 F.2d at 917. The

Court continued to find that “[t]he passenger is to receive

full and effective notice of any limitations of liability

that alternative protection may be obtained.” I/d. 4

Deutsche Lufthansa case first determined that the C.A.B.

regulations are valid and do not contravene the purposes

of the treaty; in making this finding the Circuit also

accepted the Lisi holding that “unless adequate notice 18

accorded its passengers, the carrier will later be pre-

cluded from using the Convention to limit liability.” Jd.

at 918. In dicta surrounding the challenge to the domes-

tic regulation, this Circuit noted that compliance with

the regulation will not only provide passengers with ade-

quate notice of the limitations on liability imposed on

them but will later enable the carrier to invoke the pro-

tection of Article 3(1) (e) ; however this Circuit did not

and has not yet addressed the question of what consti-

tutes “adequate notice.”

Having gone beyond the question of whether notice

required by the treaty, the question of just what con-

stitutes “adequate notice” was addressed by the Second

Circuit in In re Air Crash Disaster of Warsaw, Poland

on March 14, 1980, 705 F.2d 85 (2d Cir. 1983). Essen-

tially, the Court accepted the premise that the statement

must provide notice of the limitation in order for the

limitation to apply. From this premise, the Court pro-

gressed to a determination of “adequate notice.” The

Second Circuit decided that the “bright line” for “ade-

quacy of notice”.should be drawn at the 10-point type

requirement found in both the C.A.B. regulation and the

A-37

Montreal Agreement. Thus, the 10-point type require-

ment has been grafted onto the treaty as the next phase

in the attempt to circumvent the treaty provision. Jn re

Air Crash Disaster at Warsaw, Poland, supra, went so far

as to construe the “special contract” that was the Montreal

Agreement as part and parcel of the treaty, and indeed,

to piace that new, “modified” provision just where the

courts wanted it to be.

Construing the Article in this way is intended to give

it a meaning parallel to that found in American law, but

does not accord the treaty provision the meaning evident

from the negotiation and debate which led to its prom-

ulgation. Nothing in the Montreal Agreement requires

that an air carrier provide the statement of liability limi-

tation in 10-point type or lose the benefit of that limita-

tion. Nothing in the debate or dissatisfaction with the

limitation which led to the Montreal Agreement confirms

the contention that “adequate notice” was an issue. At

the core of the debate is dissatisfaction with the very

existence of the limitation; the erosion of the circum-

stances in which carriers may avail themselves of that

limitation is the result of judicial frustration at the

fact that courts are prevented from fully compensating

plaintiffs, especially victims of air tragedies such as pre-

sented in this case. This disturbing feature of the treaty

has not been eradicated through political process.

While American courts may be justifiably frustrated

with the anachronism which the treaty limitation has be-

come, it is not within the province of the judiciary to

alter the quid pro quo agreed to by the political branches.

It has been generally understood that in exchange for

virtual strict liability against air carriers, international

passengers are limited in their recovery. The “special

contract” known as the Montreal Agreement supple-

mented the quid pro quo by raising the amount of the

limitation and waiving the carriers’ defenses under Ar-

ticle 20 leaving only the presumption of liability. It also

SS ———— —

A-38

supplemented the Article 3 requirements that a state-

ment be included in the passenger ticket by providing

specifics to be provided by carriers stopping in the United

States; it did not alter the quid pro quo by linking Ar-

ticles 22 and 20 with Article 3.

In any case, the political branches are vested with the

power and authority to make express their intent regard-

ing the enforceability of the treaty limitations in cases

where the C.A.B. regulation and Montreal Agreement

directive for 10-point type has“been violated. However,

the United States must be explicit if it is its intent to

abrogate the obligation to enforce the treaty limitation

in cases such as these Plaintiffs present. The Court

notes that were the violation of the regulation for 10-

point type and the carrier agreement indeed crucial, a

more appropriate sanction would be to prohibit the re-

calcitrant carriers from engaging in air transportation

to or from the United States. While the Government does

not have the unilateral power or authority to be rid of

the treaty limitation altogether (even the earlier threat

of denunciation by the largest participant in interna-

tional aviation could not accomplish this) the Govern-

ment could suspend the operating permits of those car-

riers who do not abide by our domestic laws and regu-

lations. 49 U.S.C. § 1372. The 10-point type size regula-

tion is such a domestic requirement. While the carrie

agreed to it in the Montreal Agreement as well, the for-

eign air carriers are not the contracting parties to the

treaty. Therefore, Plaintiffs’ argument that this carrier

was on notice that it would be stripped of limited liability

for failing to provide “adequate notice” must fail. While

it is indeed correct that the Montreal Agreement must be

read in connection with the Warsaw Convention, the re-

sulting Warsaw Montreal system does not include de-

limiting liability for failure to provide the statement in

10-point type size. In short, the Montreal Agreement may

not be read wholesale into the Warsaw Convention.

A-39

Although Plaintiffs derive their argument linking the

treaty sanction to the statement from case precedent, the

basic flaw in their argument is the assumption that the

Montreal Agreement can operate as an amendment to the

Warsaw Convention; it cannot. Under the Convention’s

provisions, the carrier and the passenger may agree to a

higher limit of liability. While the limit may be raised,

nothing in the “special contract” provision allows it to be

completely removed. There is nothing in the “special con-

tract” provision which allows the carrier to waive its de-

fenses under Article 20. However, an express, written

agreement to waive those defenses, which the Montreal

Agreement contains, should be honored by the courts.

Waiver by express agreement is not claimed by these

Plaintiffs. Defendant Korean Air Lines, having agreed

to the Montreal Agreement, has come forward to make

an express denial of waiver in these circumstances. Were

the Court faced with a clear, political decision to avoid

the treaty limitation where there has not been ‘‘adequate

notice,” however defined, or were it faced with an ex-

press waiver, as with the Article 20 defenses, then a

different decision would be possible.

Putting aside for the moment the question of whether

the Montreal Agreement may amend the treaty, the

principal concern in adopting the Agreement was the

United States’ threat to withdraw from the Convention;

notice of the limitation’s operation was not an issue.

Where the political branches have been stymied, “judicial

treatymaking”’ to include notice has proved irresistible

to some courts. In the view of this Court, treaty revision

is not the right or responsibility of the judicial branch.

Moreover, the Executive Branch has recognized the con-

tinued vitality of the Warsaw Convention. In its amicus

curiae brief in the Franklin Mint case, the United

States cautioned against rendering the treaty limitation

entirely unenforceable. While not addressing the exact

question which faces this Court, the Government brief

noted that “The United States remains committed to the

A-40

Convention as the basic instrument governing questions of

liability in the international aviation industry.” Amicus

Curiae Brief of the United States at 2. Trans World

Airlines, Inc. v. Franklin Mint Corp., 466 US. 243

(1984). As the Supreme Court noted in its decision in

the case, “when the parties to a treaty continue to assert

its vitality a private person who finds the continued ex-

istence of the treaty inconvenient may not invoke the doc-

trine on their behalf.” Jd. at 253. Since the branches of

Government vested by the Constitution with the power to

make and break treaty obligations continue to assert th

utility of the Convention, and to assert the enforceability

of the treaty limitation, these private citizens may not,

indeed the Court may not, define the treaty limitation out

of existence, even in narrow circumstances. That task,

difficult though it has proven to be, has been assigned to

the legislative and executive branches of our Government.

3. Immediate payment of $75,000

In addition to seeking unlimited liability against Ko

rean Air Lines, Plaintiffs have requested an immediate

payment of $75,000 as partial damages. Plaintiffs mis-

conceive the nature of the limitation. The $75,000 limi-

tation on air carrier liability is a maximum, not a mini-

mum, on the amount of damages which a plaintiff may

receive, once he has proven his damages. While the

Montreal Agreement subjects air carriers to virtual stric.

liability, air carriers are not automatically liable for an

amount of $75,000. The limitation does not operate as

would insurance; Plaintiffs are still required to prove

the amount of their damages and are entitled to receive

only the amount which they can prove.

Moreover, the nature and amount of unliquidated dam-

ages cannot be proved in a motion for summary judg-

ment. Since the amount of damages must be established

on an individual basis, there are still material issues of

A-41

fact which remain to be tried. Defendant cannot be pre-

cluded from conducting discovery with which to defend

against Plaintiffs’ claims. There being material issues

of fact with respect to the amount of individual damages,

it would be entirely inappropriate to award the maxi-

mum damages. The request for immediate payment of

$75,000 must be denied.

CONCLUSION

“Judicial predilection for their own views as to limi-

tation of liability should not prevail over the limitations

fixed by the legislative and executive branches of Gov-

ernment even though this result is obtained by ostensibly

adding to the treaty a requirement of actual understand-

ing notice.” Lisi v. Alitalia-Linee Aeree Italiane, S.p.A.,

370 F.2d at 515 (Moore, J., dissenting). The Montreal

Agreement is not a negotiated amendment to the Warsaw

Convention. Even if the Agreement could rise to the level

of an amendment to the treaty, which it cannot, the prin-

ciple of law requiring clear expression of the intent of

the political branches would prevent a finding that the

treaty is to be abrogated. Plaintiffs’ construction is not

supported by the negotiating history of the Warsaw/

Montreal system.

It may be arguable that American courts have been

justified in arriving at the conclusion that the Montreal

Agreement affects the application of the treaty sanction

since the Agreement applies only to transportation in-

cluding the United States; however, such an interpreta-

tion rejects the fact of the clear intransigence of a ma-

jority of High Contracting Parties to the Convention with

regard to delimiting carrier liability. There is every in-

dication that the majority of the more than 120 nations

adhering to the Convention intend to continue the special

protection afforded international carriers, even at the ex-

pense of international passengers. In light of this in-

transigence, it is especially inappropriate for the Court to

A-42

interpret the treaty provisions in such a way as to re-

lieve the United States of its treaty obligations. in ad-

dition, the Montreal Agreement contains no expression

of the carriers’ intent to waive the limitation. In fact,

it makes no mention at all of the sanction tc be imposed

for a carrier’s failure to include proper notice to pas-

sengers. Making tolerable an intolerable treaty provision

is simply not the province of the courts. Therefore, for

the foregoing reasons, the motion for partial summary

judgment against Korean Air Lines shall be DENIED.

An appropriate Order accompanies this Memorandum

/a/ Aubrey E. Robinson, Jr.

AUBREY E. ROBINSON, JR.

Chief Judge

DATE: July 25, 1985

A-43

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

MDL No. 565

Misc. Docket No. 83-0345

IN RE: KOREAN AIR LINES DISASTER

OF SEPTEMBER 1, 1983

Civil Action Nos. 83-2793,

83-2941, 83-3154, 83-3177,

83-3204, 83-3441, 83-3445,

83-3448, 83-3449, 83-3450,

83-3451, 83-3452, 83-3453,

83-3454, 83-3455, 83-3456,

83-3457, 83-3458, 83-3459,

83-3460, 83-3461, 83-3462,

83-3463, 83-3464, 83-3465,

83-3466, 83-3467, 83-3468,

83-3469, 83-3470, 83-3473,

83-3474, 83-3587, 83-3588,

83-3792, 83-3793, 83-3889,

83-3891, 83-3898, 83-3901,

83-3902, 83-3903; 84-0029,

84-0030, 84-0402

ORDER

In accordance with the Memorandum entered this date,

it is by the Court this 25th day of July, 1985,

ORDERED, that Plaintiffs’ Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment Against Defendant Korean Air Lines

Co., Ltd. is DENIED; and it is

FURTHER ORDERED, that Korean Air Lines Co.

Ltd., is entitled to avail itself of the limitation on dam-

A-44

ages provided by the Warsaw Convention and raised to

$75,000 by the Montreal Agreement; and it is

FURTHER ORDERED, that Plaintiffs may not re-

ceive immediate payment of $75,000, there being material

issues of fact with respect to the amount of unliquidated

damages.

/a/ Aubrey E. Robinson, Jr.

AUBREY E. ROBINSON, JR.

Chief Judge

A-45

D.H. GINSBURG, Circuit Judge, concurring: I join in

the court’s opinion and add some reflections on the

“choice of law” problem in the context of a federal claim

transferred under 28 U.S.C. § 1407 from courts in vari-

ous circuits to a court in another circuit. I write sepa-

rately to emphasize the practical problems inherent in

any resolution of this problem under the statute as writ-

ten, and to surface preliminarily some ameliorative steps

open only to Congress.

I. CONGRESSIONAL INTENT IN SECTION 1407 (a)

The problem is simply enough stated. The Second Cir-

cuit takes one view of the relevant federal law, this court

takes another, and still other circuits have not addressed

the question. Cases filed in district courts in the Second

Circuit, in this circuit, and in other circuits were con-

solidated in the district court here for pretrial proceed-

ings under § 1407. On a motion for summary judgment

as to all the cases, which view of the applicable federal

law is the district court to apply to the cases filed out-

side thia circuit? The New York plaintiffs in this case

contend that, under Van Dusen v. Barrack,' the trans-

feree district court must apply the Second Circuit’s inter-

pretation to the cases filed originally in that venue. The

court rejects that argument because the Erie policies

underlying Van Dusen do not extend beyond the sta

law context of that case.’ I agree.

' 376 U.S. 612 (1964).

2 Opinion of the Court, supra, at 7. Plaintiffs cite several

authorities for the proposition that Van Dusen requires a

transferee court under section 1407 to apply the case law of

the transferor circuit to a transferred case. Plaintiffs’ Brief

at 7. See Berry Petroleum v. Adams & Peck, 518 F.2d 402,

408 n.7 (2d Cir. 1975) (“Since this case was brought in a dis-

trict court in the Fifth Circuit, the substantive law of that

circuit is the law we must consider here.) ; Jn re National

Student Marketing Litigation, 517 F.Supp. 1345, 1346 n.3

(D.D.C. 1981); In re Haven Industries, 462 F.2d 172, 179

A-46

Quite apart from whether Van Dusen is controlling,

there are some circumstances in which a federal court

is bound to apply the decisions of another circuit, but

(S.D.N.Y. 1978); Stirling v. Chemical Bank, 382 F.Supp.

1146, 1150 n.5 (S.D.N.Y. 1974), aff'd 516 F.2d 1396 (2d Cir.

1975); In re Four Seasons Securities Laws Litigation, 370

F.Supp. 219, 228 (W.D.Okl. 1974) ; Jn re Plumbing Firtures

Litigation, 342 F.Supp. 756, 758 (Jud. Pan.Mult.Lit. 1972) ;

Philadelphia Housing Authority v. American Radiator &

Standard Sanitary Corp., 309 F.Supp. 1053, 1055 (E.D.Pa.

1969).

The cursory “‘analysis” employed in the cases amounts bo

the following. In Philadelphia Housing Authority, the parties

did not dispute the proposition, and the court cited Van Dusen

as authority. The issue was disputed in Plumbing Fiztures,

but the court relied upon Van Dusen and Philadelphia Hous-

ing Authority without analysis. National Student Marketing,

Four Seasons, and Stirling v. Chemical Bank merely boot-

strapped on Plumbing Fiztures, while Haven Industries cited

Plumbing Fixtures as well as the Second Circuit’s decision in

Berry Petroleum (the only court of appeals decision favorable

to the New York plaintiffs) which itself cited both Plumbing

Fixtures and Van Dusen without discussion. That these cases

fail to acknowledge the differences between the application of

state and federal law was also pointed out /n re Pittsburgh

& L.E.R. Co. Securities & Antitrust Litigation, 543 F.2d 1058,

1065 n.19 (3rd Cir. 1976), which particularly undermines the

value of Philadelphia Housing Authority as precedent on this

point. Berry Petroleum is also questionable because it fails

to address two prior decisions of the Second Circuit that are

in direct conflict with it. See H.L. Green Co. v. MacMahon,

312 F.2d 650 (1962), cert. denied, 372 U.S. 928 (1963);

Ackert v. Bruan, 299 F.2d 65, 69-70 (1962) ; see also Clayton

v. Warlick, 232 F.2d 699, 706 (4th Cir. 1956); Scheinbart v.

Certain-Teed Products Corp., 367 F.Supp. 707 (S.D.N.Y.

1973).

Two other cited cases, Jn re Air Crash Disaster at Boston,

Massachusetts ov July $1, 1978, 399 F.Supp. 1106, 1108 (D.

Mass. 1975); In re Air Crash Disaster Near Hanover, New

Hampshire, 314 F.Supp. 62, 63 (Jud.Pan.Mult.Lit. 1970), are

inapposite here; like Van Dusen, they involved the issue of

which state law to apply. See also In re Nucorp Energy

Securities Litigation, 772 F.2d 1486, 1491-92 (9th Cir. 1985) ;

A-47

they are the rare instances where a preclusion doctrine

80 requires. The doctrines of res judicata, collateral

estoppel, and law of the case come to mind. The New

York plaintiffs do not, and cannot, however, rely upon

any of these doctrines to support application of Polish

Airlines to their transferred cases.

Consequently, the New York plaintiffs’ suggestion that

transfer under section 1407(a) presents the type of ex-

ceptional circumstance that justifies imposing upon a

federal court the duty to accept as binding another cir-

cuit’s interpretation of federal law would constitute

novel departure from the norm of independent judgment.

If Congress had intended such a departure, therefore,

we should expect to find language in section 1407(a)

that mandates, or at least suggests, it. Obviously, Con-

gress could have directed transferee courts to apply the

case law of the transferor court. Less directly, Congress

could have suggested this practice by transforming the

transferee judge into a temporary judge of each trans-

feror court for the purposes of deciding the transferred

cases."

In re Eastern Airlines, Inc., Engine Failure, Miami Interna-

tional Airport on May 5, 1988, 629 F.Supp. 307, 315-16

(S.D.Fla. 1986). Judge Weigel cited the federal and state

law cases together as supporting the proposition that “the

transferee court must apply the substantive law of the tran.

feror forum.” Weigel, The Judicial Panel on Multidistrict

Litigation, Transferor Courts and Transferee Courts, 78

F.R.D. 575, 584 (1978). See also Manual for Complex Litiya-

tion, Second § 831.122 at 254 n.25 (1985) (“The transferee

judge is bound . . . by the law that would apply in the

transferor court, even if the case is later transferred to the

transferee court under 28 U.S.C. § 1404”).

* Congress took this type of approach in Section 1407(b)

in apparent recognition that transferee judges, } cause they

often preside over cases from far-flung transferor courts,

would of necessity have to perform in unfamiliar roles. In

section 1407(b), Congress authorized transferee judges to

A-48

We find no such language in section 1407(a), how-

ever. Instead, the transfer scheme contemplates that a

transferee court will adjudicate transferred cases no dif-

ferently than cases originally filed before it. This is ap-

parent throughout the scheme, from the point of transfer

to the final disposition of the case. Rather than confine

the transferee judge merely to presiding over the pre-

trial phase of cases that may be resolved finally in the

transferor courts, section 1407(a) transfers jurisdiction

over whole cases to the transferee court; upon transfer,

the transferor courts retain no jurisdiction whatsoever."

order pretrial depositions outside of their normal jurisdiction.

As we determined In re Corrugated Container Antitrust Liti-

gation, 662 F.2d 875, 880-881 (D.C. Cir. 1981), however, it did

so by making the transferee judge, for that purpose, a “‘tem-

porary judge” of the district court for the district in which

the deposition is taken. Congress seemingly could have drafted

section 1407(a) also to transform the transferee judge into

a judge of each transferor court for purposes of deciding the

cases transferred from that court. (Such an approach would

still preserve the efficiencies of requiring only one federal

judge to become versed in the facts of a controversy.) If Con-

cress also provided for transferor circuit review of such

cases, then we might conclude that Congress’ intent under such

a version of section 1407(a) was for the case law of the

transferor court to govern the transferred case.

‘Section 1407(a) was enacted in 1968, and its legislative

history indicates that Van Dusen, decided four years earlier,

would apply in the pretrial context. See Opinion for the Court,

supra, at n.5. There is no indication, however, that Congress

believed that Van Dusen extended beyond its own context of

federal courts applying state law.

5 See Glasstech, Inc. v. AB Kyro OY, 769 F.2d 1574 (Fed.

Cir. 1985) ; Astarte Shipping v. Allied Steel & Export Serv-

ice, 767 F.2d 86, 87 (5th Cir. 1985) ; In re Upjohn Co. Antt-

biotic Cleocin Products Liability Litigation, 664 F.2d 114,

118 (6th Cir. 1981) ; General Elec. Co. v. Byrne, 611 F.2d 670,

673 (7th Cir. 1979) ; In re FMC Corp. Patent Litigation, 422

F.Supp. 1163, 1165 (Jud.Pa.Mult.Lit. 1976). Cf. Starnes v.

McGuire, 512 F.2d 918, 924 (D.C. Cir. 1974) (en banc)

(transfer under section 1404(a)).

A-49

Indeed, Congress contemplated that transferred cases

might never return to the transferor courts, but instead

might be settled or resolved by summary judgment in

the transferee court,’ or else transferred under section

1404(a) to that same transferee court for joint trial.’

In practice, the vast majority of transferred cases are so

resolved, and do not return to the transferor courts.*

Finally, during the period of the 1407(a) transfer, any

appeals—interlocutory or after summary judgment—go

to the court of appeals for the transferee court, not to

the courts of appeals for the transferor circuits.* I ¢:

* See Weigel, supra note 2, 78 F.R.D. at 582-83:

v. international Rectifier Inc., 538 F.2d 180 4 ae fn

denied, 429 U.S. 1040 (1976) ; Humphreys v. Tann, 487 F.2d

666, 668 (6th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 956 (1974) ;

In re Western Liquid Asphalt Cases, 487 F.2d 191 (9th Cir.

1973), cert. denied sub nom. Standard Oil Co. v. Alaska. 415

U.S. 919 (1974); Reidinger v. Trans World Airlines. Inc

463 F.2d 1017, 1018 n.2 (6th Cir. 1972). oe

™ See, e.g., In re Air Crash Disaster at John F

e.9., . Kenned

International Airport on June 24, 1975, 479 F.Supp. 1118,

1121-22 (E.D.N.Y. 1978), and cases cited; In re Yarn Proc.

essing Patent Validity Litigation, 472 F.Supp. 174 (S.D.Fla.

pean dy In re Antibiotic Actions, 333 F.Supp. 299 (S.D.N.Y.

®* See Weigel, supra note 2, 78 F.R.D. at 583 i

that less than 6 percent of transferred cases vera rs 7

transferor courts. More recent statistics indicate that 1.

number may now approximate 25 percent. See 1986 Ann.Rep.

Director Admin.Off. U.S. Courts 128; Steinman, Law of the

a pak aay herd in Consolidated and Transferred

; in Multidistrict Litigati oy Fj

wep caer. Litigation, 135 U.Pa.L.Rev. 595,

® See Corruqated Container, 662 F.2d at 88: Glasste

v. AB Kyro OY, 769 F.2d at 1576-78; Astarte rere

Allied Steel & Export Service, 767 F.2d at 87. In a number

of other decisions, see, e.g., Gulf Oil Co. v. Copp Paving Co

419 U.S. 186 (1974), as well as the cases cited supra note 6.

the authority of the transferee circuit to review a transferee

district court’s order was assumed sub silentio. |

A.S()

see no indication, from the outline of this scheme, that

Congress intended for transferee courts to apply to each

transferred case the case law of the transferor court,

nor any reason why it would so intend.

Before concluding, based on the lack of any evidence

to the contrary, that Congress did not intend transferee

federal courts to depart from the norm of independent

judgment on matters of federal law, one final inquiry 1s

necessary. For we should still hesitate to adhere to that

norm if doing so would, for some other reason, frustrate

the purpose of section 1407(a) “to promote the just and

efficient conduct” of multidistrict actions, and part by

“eliminat{ing] the potential for conflicting contempo-

raneous pretrial rulings by coordinate district and appel-

iate courts.” ”

In order to discern whether the norm of independent

judgment would have this result, we may assess its opera-

tion in the instant case. To recapitulate the procedural

facts a bit, cases from district courts in the First, Sec-

ond. and Sixth Circuits were transferred to the District

Court for the District of Columbia for pretrial proceed-

ings to be conducted jointly with cases filed here. KAL

then filed a motion for summary judgment on the issue

of damages, arguing that the Warsaw Convention im-

posed a maximum no-fault liability of $75,000 per pas-

senger. When the motion was filed, only the Second Cir-

cuit had spoken on the pertinent question, holding in

Polish Airlines" that an airline that does not give pas-

sengers tickets with 10-point type loses the protection

© In re Plumbing Firtures Cases, 298 F.Supp. 484, 491-92

(Jud.Pan.Mult.Lit. 1968).

‘In re Air Crash Disaster at Warsaw Poland, 705 F.2d

85 (2d Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. Polskie Linie Lotnicze v.

Robles, 464 U.S. 845, reh. denied, 464 US. 978 (1983), eub-

sequent proceedings, 748 F.2d 94 (2d Cir. 1984), on appeal

after remand, Harris v. Polskie Linte Lotnicze, No. 86-2323

slip op. (9th Cir. June 22, 1987).

4-5]

of the damage ceiling. The other circuits, in particular

the District of Columbia, First, and Sixth Circuits, had

not yet addressed the issue."* Analyzing the Convention

for himself, Chief Judge Robinson concluded that Polish

Airlines was wrongly decided: noncompliance with the

“10-point type” rule does not remove the ceiling.

Adhering to the norm of independent judgment, Chief

Judge Robinson also determined that his ruling should

apply to all of the cases before him, not only to those

originally filed here. At least in the first instance, such

uniform application of his ruling furthers considerat’

the efficiency and consistency goals of section 1407(a).

All the cases will be governed by one rule as to damages,

and they will all proceed in a like direction, rather than

being bifurcated into two groups of cases with diverging

litigation paths.

The only problem that does seem potentially to arise

from this approach involves the eventual appellate re-

view of Chief Judge Robinson’s ruling on the Conven-

tion. Assuming for the purposes of illustration that in-

terlocutory appeal to this court had not been granted

and, furthermore, that the cases would not subsequently

terminate for one or another reason in this circuit, then

the transferred cases would return to the respective

trausferor courts for trial. The several courts of appeals,

either on interlocutory appeal or on appeal of the fina!

judgment, would in all probability review the course o

pretrial proceedings, including Chief Judge Robinson’s

potentially outcome-determinative ruling on the Conven-

12? Subsequent to the district court’s grant of summary judg-

ment in this case, the Fifth Circuit adopted the Polish Air-

lines rule. See In re Air Crash Near New Orleans, Louisiana,

789 F.2d 1092, 1098, vacated, 795 F.2d 381 (1986), aff'd in

relevant part, 821 F.2d 1147 (1987) (en banc). As the dis-

trict court's opinion in this case was not then published, how-

ever, the Fifth Circuit discussed only the Second Circuit's

decision.

A-52

tion. Reversal would be most likely to occur, of course,

in the Second Circuit, where his ruling would conflict

directly with Polish Airlines.

Since this court would still review the cases filed in

the District of Columbia, and as confirmed by the court

today we do not agree with the Polish Airlines decision,

the results on appeal would lead to two (or depending

upon the views of the First and Sixth Circuits, perhaps

more) different holdings on a determinative issue of dam-

ages. A series of inconsistent appellate judgments is

not a desirable outcome, however, particularly since the

result in some cases might be to require renewed pre-

trial or trial proceedings. This whole course of case de-

velopment, starting with divergent paths of appeal and

ending with either conflicting or duplicative results,

would clearly frustrate the primary goals of section 1407

(a) “to promote the just and efficient conduct” of multi-

district actions.

Having a transferee court apply the norm of independ-

ent judgment in ruling on transferred cases, therefore,

does pose some risk of undermining on appeal the inter-

ests served by section 1407(a). The question 1s therefore

whether this potential risk is great enough to frustrate

Congress’ remedial intent in enacting section 1407(a),

and thereby to persuade us that transferee courts must

abandon the norm of independent judgment in deciding

transferred cases. In this regard, I believe that, although

there is some risk of cases unraveling upon review by

transferor circuits, it is not significant. First, relatively

few cases ever return to the transferor courts." Second,

most transferee court rulings will not be outcoime-deter-

18 In other situations, the disputed issue may involve liability.

1* See supra note 8. Of course, fewer cases would be settled

and more would return to their transferor courts if the other

circuits show themselves ready to reverse transferee courts

pretrial rulings, thus inviting such encore appearances.

A-53

minative, but instead will involve routine matters, such

as discovery orders, that will not provide grounds for a

transferor circuit court to reverse a pretrial ruling by

the transferee district court.

Third, as to those few outcome-determinative rulings

of the transferee district court, there exists the possibil-

ity of interlocutory appeal to the transferee court, pur-

suant to 28 U.S.C. 1292(b), as indeed occurred in this

case. If the transferee circuit reviews such a ruling,

it of course would also exercise independent judgment

and apply its own precedents rather than those of the

transferor circuits. By reviewing the ruling, the trans-

feree circuit probably will have insured that, if the cases

are retransfered to the transferor courts, they will not

unravel on later appeal. That is because, in contrast to

the rulings of the district court under review, the inter-

locutory decisions of a coordinate court of appeals are

likely to be accepted as binding, under the doctrine of

law of the case, in the courts of appeals reviewing the

final decision of the district court."* I therefore believe

* No decision of this court has directly resolved the ques-

tion of how courts should apply the law of the case doctrine

after a case is transferred back to a transferor court. See

Int’) Union, UAW v. Donovan, 756 F.2d 162, 165 n.16 (D.C.

Cir. 1985) ; Laffey v. Northwest Airlines, Inc., 740 F.2d 107°

1082-83 (D.C. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1181 (1985.

McCandless v. Beech Aircraft Co., 697 F.2d 1156 (D.C. Cir.

1983). Our precedents do suggest, however, that the trans-

feror circuit should not disturb the transferee circuit ruling.

In Laffey, we held that the law of the case doctrine precludes—

absent clear error or manifest injustice—our reviewing, on

appeal from a final judgment, a previous ruling of this court

rendered on interlocutory appeal. The next question is whether

the fact of transfer, and the resulting lack of identity of the

two appellate courts, would alter our conclusion that an in-

terlocutory appellate ruling is law of the case for the purpose

of a subsequent appeal. Donovan would seem to reject this

possibility by holding that, in the context of a transfer for

lack of jurisdiction, the transferee court should not reexamine

A-54

that if (1) transferee circuits are receptive to inter-

locutory appeals involving outcome-determinative rulings

by a transferee district court—again, as occurred in this

the ruling of a transferor court of coordinate jurisdiction ab-

sent exceptional circumstances. In fact, this principle has

been stated by other circuits. See Aori Corp. v. Wilco Marsh

Buggies & Draglines, Inc., 761 F.2d 649, 657 (Fed. Cir.),

cert. denied, 106 S.Ct. 230 (1985) ; Central Soya Co., Inc. v.

Geo. A. Hormel & Co., 723 F.2d 1573, 1580 (Fed. Cir. 1983) ;

Hayman Cash Register Co. v. Sarokin, 669 F.2d 162, 169

(8rd Cir. 1982) ; Skil Corp. v. Millers Falls Co., 541 F.2d 554,

558 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1029 (1976). See also

Sentner v. Amtrak, 540 F.Supp. 557, 558-59 n3 (D.N.J.

1982) ; Steinman, supra note 73, 136 U.Pa.L.Rev. at 702-03 &

n.417; Weigel, supra note 5, 78 F.R.D. at 577.

While a transferor court of appeals might disagree with

the transferee circuit’s reading of the law, there is good rea-

son in this context to accept a reasoned opinion as presenting

something less than the clear error or exceptional circum-

stance that warrant departing from the law of the case doc.

trine. Chief Judge Robinson well put the case for trans-

feror courts giving preclusive effect to rulings of a transferee

court: “if transferor courts were free to readjudicate issues

determined by transferee courts, transfers pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1407 could become meaningless exercises perpetuat-

ing the very duplication they were designed to eliminate.”

In re Korean Air Lines Disaster of September 1, 1983, MDL

565, Civ. No. 83-0345, Order on Remand at 5 (May 7, 1987).

See also Inre Multi-Piece Rim Products Liability Litigation,

653 F.2d 671, 678 (D.C. Cir. 1981) (“Proper coordination of

complex litigation may be frustrated if other courts do not

follow the lead of the transferee court.”). Multi-Piece Rim

Products did not directly address the situation discussed in the

text. Instead, it involved whether a pre-transfer order of a

transferor district court had preclusive effect, as law of the

ease. on a transferee district court. Cf. Blaski v. Hoffman,

260 F.2d 317, 322 (7th Cir. 1958), aff'd, 363 U.S. 335 (1960)

(the transferee Seventh Circuit refused to abide by the “er-

roneous” jurisdictional ruling of the transferor Fifth Cir-

cuit: the Supreme Court adopted the Seventh Circuit’s view

of the merits, but the law of the case issue was not raised

to the court, although in dictum it suggested that, because

the ruling involved the Seventh Circuit's jurisdiction, it would

case as well as in Polish Airlines"*; and if (2) trans-

feror circuits are receptive, on appeal after retransfer,

to the law of the case as it was decided in the transferee

circuit court, then even a continuing disagreement be-

tween the transferee and transferor circuits on the cer-

tified issue need not cause particular cases in a multi-

district litigation to come unglued.

As a result, any harm to the interests Congress meant

to further in section 1407(a) wi!! be limited to those

outcome-determinative rulings of a transferee district

court that are not the subject of an interlocutory appe

in the transferee circuit, and, assuming that the cases

are transferred back to the transferor courts, result in

reversals by one or more transferor circuit courts.”

Whether this harm, which seems likely to be insignificant,

is nevertheless great enough that transferee district

courts must abandon the norm of independent judgment,

not be bound by the Fifth Circuit’s ruling on that point, 363

US. at 340 & n.9) ; In re Upjohn Co. Antibiotic Cleocin Prod-

ucts Liability Litigation, 664 F.2d 114, at 118-20 (6th Cir.

1981) ; In re Long Distance Telecommunication Litigation, 612

F.Supp. 892, 900-03 (E.D.Mich. 1985).

18 Polish Airlines, 705 F.2d at 86 n.2 (a second interlocu-

tory appeal followed—see 748 F.2d at 94-95). See Gulf Ou

Corp. v. Copp Paving Co., 419 U.S. at 192; In re Western

Liquid Asphalt Cases, 487 F.2d at 192-93; In re Air Disaster

at John F. Kennedy International Airport, 479 F.Supp. @

1124-29, and cases there cited.

17 This harm would be further minimized if transferor cir-

cuit courts required, as a condition of reviewing @ ruling by

the transferee district court, that the appellant at least have

sought interlocutory appellate review of that ruling while in

the transferee circuit. This ru'e is comparable to that under

which an appellate court will decline to reach an issue not

raised before the trial court, see District of Columbia v. Atr

Florida, Inc., 750 F.2d 1077, 1084-85 (D.C. Cir. 1984), and the

institutional interests served are similar. In each instance,

the rule requires the litigant to raise an issue at a particular

stage in the litigation in order to prevent the litigant from, in

A-S6

depends upon the probabie effects of the alternative rule,

under which the transferee district court would apply

what it believes would be the interpretations of the re-

spective transferor courts.” Again, the facts of this case

are illustrative.

Under that alternative, Chief Judge Robinson, having

determined that KAL’s issuance of 8-point type tickets

did not remove the limitation on damages provided under

the Convention, would then have to determine the scope

of his ruling. Certainly it would govern the cases filed

in this district originally; no one disputes that proposi-

tion. Under the New York plaintiffs’ argument, however,

the ruling should not govern their cases, because Polish

Airlines clearly dictates the contrary interpretation of

the Convention.

When applied only to the District of Columbia and

New York cases, adherence to the case law of the trans-

feror circuit would be a fairly easy procedure for the

transferee district court. It is almost a certainty, how-

ever, that the bifurcated ruling it produces would place

the District of Columbia and New York cases on increas-

effect, confronting the court on appeal with an issue that has

not been sorted out by a court of first instance, thereby creat-

ing “‘{e]normous confusion and interminable delay.’” Id.

at 1084, quoting Johnston ». Reily, 160 F.2d 249, 250 (D.C.

Cir. 1947). In the transfer context, this suggestion would de

prive parties who lose before the transferee district court,

and anticipate losing as well before the transferee circuit

court, of the incentive to avoid interlocutory appeal and to

forestall settlement in the hope of having the case retrans-

ferred to the circuit whose more favorable case law renders

appellate success more likely.

18 If transferor circuit law were applicable, the transferee

district court might also remand the case to the respective

transferor districts for resolution of an issue. Depending upon

the issue and its disposition, retransfer (even after inter-

locutory appeal in the transferor circuit) might be in order.

The cost and delay of proceeding in this manner undercuts,

however, Congress’ purpose in enacting section 1407.

4-57

ingly divergent courses. The District of Columbia plain-

tiffs, in conducting discovery, will have to pursue evi-

dence of fault on the part of KAL, whereas the New

York plaintiffs would be able to recover without such a

showing. The entire course of discovery, and thus the

motions that come before Chief Judge Robinson, would

differ entirely between what would have become, in ef-

fect, two separate groups of consolidated cases. These

differences would be further magnified by the vastly dif-

ferent incentives for settlement facing the two groups ‘

plaintiffs. The District of Columbia plaintiffs, having tu

prove fault, will presumably be more amenable to settle-

ment than would be the New York plaintiffs. All in all,

therefore, it is unlikely that the bifurcated ruling would

preserve, to any significant extent, either the efficiency

or the consistency that section 1407(a) was intended to

promote.

Under the New York plaintiffs’ rule, therefore, the

threat that the Second Circuit would reverse Chief J udge

Robinson and thereby unravel the New York cases is

averted, in effect, by preemptively unraveling them in the

transferee court. This seems to be a high price to pay—

a virtual abandonment of the efficiency and consistency

goals of section 1407(a)—to protect against a threat,

i.e. unraveling in the transferor circuit courts, that co:"*

instead be avoided, at no cost to consistency and at

much lower cost in efficiency, through interlocutory ap-

peal to the transferee circuit court and subsequent ap-

plication by the transferor circuit of the law of the case

doctrine.

The price that must be paid in abandoning the norm

of independent judgment, however, looms even larger

when one realizes that the New York plaintiffs have pre-

sented us with the deceptively easy alternative by apply-

ing Polish Airlines to the New York cases, without sug-

gesting to us how the district judge should have ruled

with respect to the cases from districts in the First and

A-58

Sixth Circuits, which have not decided this issue.”* In at-

tempting to rule as would a district court in those cir-

cuits, he could have simply applied his own ruling to

those cases, happy to believe that, if called upon, those

circuits would see things his way. Or, taking to heart

the New York plaintiffs’ contention that, under Van

Dusen, transfer should result in merely “a change of

courtrooms,” *® he could have seriously attempted to

divine how the First and Sixth Circuits might interpret

the Convention if called upon to do so.

This enterprise is far more problematic than Erie’s

familiar requirement that a federal court assume the

perspective of the highest court in each transferor state,

and anticipate how each one of those courts would decide

an issue of state law. As to some Erie issues, the trans-

feror states will have significantly different laws; as to

others, such as those addressed by the sundry and not

entirely “uniform” codes adopted by the several states,

there may be only subtle differences, difficult to discern,

among them. Regardless of the difficulty, however, the

duty of the transferee court under Van Dusen and Erie

is simply to arrive at what it, in good faith, believes to

be an accurate statement of each state’s law, as applied

to the facts before it. When this results in the transferee

court rendering different judgments in cases transferred

1» We see nothing in section 1407(a) that would justify a

transferee court in applying transferor precedent when it is

clear, as is Polish Airlines in the Second Circuit, but not

tryin to discern what other transferor circuits would decide

when their case law is not as clear on the precise point in

question but offers some guidance. Introducing such a dis-

tinction would constitute an act of legislation appropriate for

Congress, not of interpretation of the existing statute by a

court. Hence, either a transferee court must apply its own

interpretation of federal law to all transferred cases, or it

must attempt to apply what it believes to be each transferor

court’s probable interpretation. There is no middle road.

20 376 U.S. at 639.

A-59

from different fora, therefore, it is only because the

states in question have exercised their undoubted “right

to pursue local policies diverging from those of [their]

neighbors.” 7"

When we turn to questions involving federal law, the

transferee judge’s task becomes much more difficult,

because here the court deals with a single federal law

that can ultimately have only one proper interpretation.

For example, in the instant case, a violation of the “10-

point type” rule cannot both impose and not impose

unlimited liability under the Warsaw Convention; eith

the Second Circuit or we have interpreted it erroneously.*-

As a result, any attempt by Chief Judge Robinson to

predict how the First and Sixth Circuits would interpret

the Warsaw Convention on this precise point would neces-

sitate casuistical musings concerning whether another

circuit’s case law might be read to compel, or even per-

haps just to suggest, an interpretation in conflict with

his. Such intellectual practices fall within the domain

of the sophist, not that of the judge.

21 Klazon Co. v. Stentor Elec. Mfg. Co., Inc., 313 U.S. 487,

496 (1941).

72 Albeit not necessarily “clearly erroneous’ for purposes

of the law of the case doctrine. See note 15, supra.

23 See Marcus, Conflicts Among Circuits and Transfe

Within the Federal Judicial System, 93 Yale LJ. 677, 713-14

(1984). For the federal-law transfer situation to be analogous

to what occurs under Van Dusen, in which the federal court

assumes the perspective of the transferor state’s highest court

(i.e. of the supreme interpreter of the state’s law), the ques-

tion in the KAL case would not be (as the New York plain-

tiffs suggest it is)—‘“how would the other federal circuits

interpret the Warsaw Convention?” Rather, the analogous

question would be the same one that a circuit court normally

poses when addressing an issue of federal law—“how would

the U.S. Supreme Court (the supreme interpreter of federu!

law) interpret the Wars

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.