Petition for Writ of Certiorari — New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v. Council of City of New Orleans

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

NEW ORLEANS PUBLIC SERVICE INC.,

Petitioner, —

v.

THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF NEW ORLEANS,

JOSEPH I. GIARRUSSO, LAMBERT C. BOISSIERE, JR.,

MICHAEL EARLY, JAMES SINGLETON, DOROTHY

MAE TAYLOR, JOHNNY JACKSON, and PEGGY

WILSON,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

HERSCHEL L. ABBOTT, JR. Rex E. Lee*

DAviID G. RADLAUER DaviD W. CARPENTER

_EDWARD H. BERGIN JAMES A. HUTTENHOWER

R. LEwis MCHENRY SIDLEY & AUSTIN

JONES, WALKER, WAECHTER, 1722 Eye Street, N.W.

POITEVENT, CARRERE & Washington, D.C. 20006

DENEGRE (202) 429-4000

201 St. Charles Avenue

New Orleans, LA 70170

(504) 582-8000

THOMAS O. LIND

Vice President-Regulatory

Counsel

New Orleans Public

Service Inc.

317 Baronne Street

New Orleans, LA 70112

(504) 598-2218

Attorneys For Petitioners

* Counsel of Record

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether, under the abstention doctrines of Burford v. Sun Oil

Co., 319 U.S. 315 (1943), or Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37

(1971), a federal district court may refuse to adjudicate a federal

claim that a federal statute (in this case the Federal Power Act)

and the explicit orders of a federal agency (here FERC) have

preempted local regulatory authorities from making separate and

inconsistent determinations of the very matters FERC has decid-

ed?

il

STATEMENT REQUIRED BY RULE 238.1

Petitioner New Orleans Public Service Inc. (“NOPSI’”) is a

wholly-owned subsidiary of Middle South Utilities, Inc.

(“MSU”). MSU has no parent company, and neither MSU nor

NOPSI has any subsidiaries that are not wholly-owned by MSU

either directly or through other wholly-owned subsidiaries.

EUS Wu Uibas oc cWeisew'ec cecscccccee

Statement Required By Rule 28.1 ....................

TOU PRMD oo ccc ccc cece ccc cc cece:

EE ee eee

Neen em ce cccccccccce

Opinion Of Court Of Appeals ...................

Opinion And Order Of District Court ............

Judgment Of Court Of Appeals ..................

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Aluminum Co. of America v. Utilities Comm’n of

North Carolina, 713 F.2d 1024 (4th Cir. 1983),

cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1052 (1984) ...........

American Electric Power Co. v. Kentucky Public

Service Comm’n, 787 F.2d 588 (6th Cir. 1986),

requesting Solicitor General’s views, 55 U.S.L.W.

3231 (Oct. 6, 1986), cert. denied, 107 S. Ct. 1910

CG 2 6 n00n0enéecbcudeeeséesubansagunres

Appalachian Power Co. v. Public Service Comm'n

of West Virginia, 614 F. Supp. 64 (S.D. W. Va.),

aff'd, 770 F.2d 159 (4th Cir. 1985), on remand,

630 F. Supp. 656 (S.D. W. Va. 1986), aff'd, 812

F.2d 898 (4th Cir. 1987) .........- ee eee eeee

Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co. v. Hall, 453 U.S. 571

PET rer rrr. Tere

Arkansas Power & Light Co. v. Missouri Public Ser-

vice Comm’n, 829 F.2d 1444 (8th Cir. 1987)...

Baggett v. Department of Professional Regulation,

717 F.2d 521 (11th Cir. 1983)...............

Burford v. Sun Oil Co., 319 U.S. 315 (1943) .....

Champion Int’l Corp. v. Brown, 731 F.2d 1406 (9th

eo) errr

Colorado River Water Conservation Dist. v. United

States, 424 U.S. 800 (1976) ............6058:.

Family Division Trial Lawyers v. Moultrie, 725

P.28 GBS CDC. Cir. 1906)... cc ccccccccecess

International Bhd. of Elec. Workers v. Public Ser-

vice Comm’n, 614 F.2d 206 (9th Cir. 1980)....

Kentucky West Virginia Gas Co. v. Pennsylvania

Public Utility Comm'n, 791 F.2d 1111 (3rd Cir.

DEED bv eséccvcdaencckcadpacetwaubecumens

lg

2,8

8, 12, 14

9, 12, 13

passim

12

8, 11, 13

Knudsen Corp. v. Nevada State Dairy Comm’n, 676

Pa UPN WUD wr cccscccecssvccess

Middlesex County Ethics Committee v. Garden

State Bar Ass'n, 457 U.S. 423 (1982) .........

Middle South Energy, Inc. v. Arkansas Public Ser-

vice Comm'n, 772 F.2d 404 (8th Cir. 1985), cert.

denied, 474 U.S. 1102 (1986) ...............

Mississippi Power & Light Co. v. Mississippi ex rel.

Moore, No. 86-1970, 56 U.S.L.W. 4751 (June

gg PR PORE IE le ee ep Be

Nantahala Power & Light Co. v. Thornburg, 476

EET ee

New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v. New Orleans,

782 F.2d 1236 & 798 F.2d 858 (Sth Cir. 1986),

cert. denied, 107 S. Ct. 1910 (1987) ..........

New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v. New Orleans,

ope bo 8 See

Public Utilities Comm’n of California v. United

A ere

Public Utilities Comm’n of Ohio v. United Fuel Gas

Gahg BEF We GUPONOIED ov ccc cccccccecccccs

Schneidewind v. ANR Pipeline Co., No. 86-986, 56

U.S.L.W. 4249 (Mar. 22, 1988) .............

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971) ..........

Miscellaneous:

Brief for United States and Federal Energy Regu-

latory Commission As Amici Curiae, American

Electric Power Co. v. Kentucky Public Service

Comm'n, No. 86-49 (March, 1987) ..........

H

12

12

8, 11, 13, 14

passim

8, 10, 13

2, 4,5, 8

10

passim

a, +O 82

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1988

NEW ORLEANS PUBLIC SERVICE INC.,

Petitioner,

v.

THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF NEW ORLEANS,

JOSEPH I. GIARRUSSO, LAMBERT C. BOISSIERE, JR.,

MICHAEL EARLY, JAMES SINGLETON, DOROTHY

MAE TAYLOR, JOHNNY JACKSON, and PEGGY

WILSON,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (Appendix (“App.”’) 1A-

20A) is not yet published. The opinion of the District Court

(App. 21A-33A) is unpublished.

JURISDICTION

The opinion and judgment of the Court of Appeals were en-

tered on July 28, 1988. App. 1A-20A & 35A. This Court’s juris-

diction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case presents a question that is one of the most widely

litigated and widely controverted ‘. the federal system: whether

abstention principles prohibit a federal district court from adju-

dicating a claim that a federal statute (here the Federal Power

Act) vests exclusive jurisdiction over certain matters in a federal

2

regulatory agency (here the Federal Energy Regulatory Commis-

sion (““FERC’’)) and thereby preempts a local utility commission

from making its own determination of those matters. The rule in

the Fifth Circuit squarely conflicts with decisions of the Third,

Fourth, Eighth, Ninth, Eleventh, and District of Columbia Cir-

cuits. Only the Sixth Circuit and one decision of the Fourth Cir-

cuit are consistent with the Fifth Circuit rule on this abstention

issue. Accordingly, eight circuits are involved in the conflict. As

the Fifth Circuit stated in this case, “[o]nly [the Supreme] Court

can resolve the conflict among the federal courts about the ap-

propriateness of abstention in this situation, and it has not yet

spoken.” App. 20A.

In 1986, the Court invited the Solicitor General to state the

views of the United States on whether this abstention issue should

be reviewed.' The United States and FERC then demonstrated

that this conflict was impairing the enforcement of the Federal

Power Act, and urged the Court to resolve the conflict in the

context of an earlier phase of the very controversy that is at issue

here.? However, at that time, litigation of the underlying Federal

Power Act claim was contended (and later held) to be indepen-

dently barred by principles of ripeness. The Solicitor General’s

Memorandum noted these “procedural problems,” and the Court

declined to review the abstention issue.*

Now the underlying federal claim is indisputably ripe. The

Council of the City of New Orleans has finally denied recovery

'See American Electric Power Co. v. Kentucky Public Service Commis-

sion, 55 U.S.L.W. 3231 (Oct. 6, 1986).

2Brief for United States and Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

As Amici Curiae, American Electric Power Co. v. Kentucky Public Ser-

vice Comm'n, No. 86-49 (March, 1987), p. 16 (“We urge the Court to

grant review [of the abstention question], instead in NOPSI.”’) (herein-

after “Solicitor General’s 1987 NOPSI Mem.”’).

3$ee New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v. New Orleans, 107 S. Ct. 1910

(1987); American Electric Power Co. v. Kentucky Public Service

Comm'n, 107 S.Ct. 1910 (1987).

3

of $135 million of petitioners’ FERC-mandated costs, and the

Council has ordered rate reductions to implement this “pru-

dence” disallowance. Moreover, the City Council has continued

to claim that this prudence disallowance is permissible, notwith-

standing this Court’s unequivocal June 24, 1988 holding in

Mississippi Power & Light Co. v. Mississippi ex rel. Moore, No.

86-1970, 56 U.S.L.W. 4751 (June 24, 1988), that local regulatory

authorities have no jurisdiction to disallow any of the same

federally-mandated costs that are at issue here, on grour.:s of

prudence or otherwise.

In short, this issue will not go away, and the conflict between

the courts of appeals should be resolved now.

1, Factual Background. This case arises from the same facts

and the same FERC orders at issue in Mississippi Power & Light

Co. v. Mississippi ex rel. Moore, No. 86-1970, 56 U.S.L.W. 4751

(June 24, 1988). Here, as there, local utility regulators are at-

tempting to use their retail ratemaking authority to nullify the

FERC decisions (Opinions 234, 234A, 292 and 292A) that allo-

cated the costs of the Grand Gulf 1 nuclear plant among the retail

operating company subsidiaries of Middle South Utilities, Inc.

(“MSU”).

Petitioner New Orleans Public Service Inc. (“NOPSI’’) pro-

vides retail electric services in the City of New Orleans. Under

Louisiana law, NOPSI’s retail rates are regulated by the Council

of the City of New Orleans (“Council”).

Like Mississippi Power & Light Company (“MP&L”), NOPSI

is a wholly-owned subsidiary of MSU. NOPSI is one of the four

companies that “[t}hrough MSU .. . operate as an integrated

~ power pool” and that exchange power among themselves at rates

established by FERC. Mississippi Power & Light Co., 56 U.S.L.W.

at 4752, slip op. at 2. Like MP&L, NOPSI is thus subject to two

FERC-approved rate schedules that determine how the costs of

4

Grand Gulf | are allocated: the 1982 System Agreement and the

Unit Power Sales Agreement (“UPSA”’). See 56 U.S.L.W. at

4753-54, slip op. at 5-9.

As originally filed, the rate schedule allocated to NOPSI

29.80% of the costs and output of Grand Gulf 1. The City of New

Orleans (“City”) participated extensively in the massive FERC

proceedings that followed (see 56 U.S.L.W. at 4753-54, slip op.

at 5-9; App. 4A), and the City urged that NOPSI be responsible

for only 9% of Grand Gulf 1. Although FERC ordered a sub-

stantial reduction in NOPSI’s allocation, FERC rejected the

City’s position and mandated a 17% allocation of Grand Gulf |!

for NOPSI.

Thus, when Grand Gulf | began commercial operations on

July 1, 1985, NOPSI was required under the FERC order to

begin incurring Grand Gulf | costs of approximately $15.5 mil-

lion per month.

2. Prior Proceedings. On May 17, 1985, NOPSI filed an appli-

cation with the Council for the retail rate increase required to

recover its Grand Gulf | costs. This application was not granted

by the Council. Instead, the Council, on October 17, 1985, adopt-

ed a resolution initiating an investigation into the prudence of

NOPSI’s involvement in Grand Gulf 1.

When the Council failed to act upon NOPSI'’s initial applica-

tion, on August 1, 1985, NOPSI filed an action in federal district

court to enforce its right to recover these FERC-mandated costs

(“NOPSI I’’). The District Court dismissed the suit under the

Johnson Act and abstention principles. On February 22, 1986, the

Fifth Circuit issued an opinion that reversed on both grounds,

and remanded for a determination whether the “filed rate” doc-

trine required recognition of these costs. New Orleans Public Ser-

vice, Inc. v. New Orleans, 782 F.2d 1236 (Sth Cir. 1986). However,

5

on September 2, 1986, the Fifth Circuit, on its own motion, re-

versed itself, vacated the abstention discussion in its earlier opin-

ion, and held that the District Court did not abuse its discretion

in abstaining under the abstention doctrine articulated in Burford

v. Sun Oil Co., and possibly under the abstention doctrine estab-

lished in Younger v. Harris as well. Id., 798 F.2d 858 (Sth Cir.

1986).

While the case was pending on appeal, NOPSI and the Council

entered into a settlement in March, 1986. The settlement allowed

a phased-in rate increase under which NOPSI would eventually

recover all but $51 million of its Grand Gulf 1 costs, although

any recovery was subject to the outcome of the ongoing prudence

investigation. Under the settlement, NOPSI reserved its right to

pursue its claim that the Council had no jurisdiction to conduct

this prudence inquiry, and the Council, in turn, reserved its right

to order adjustments in NOPSI’s rates on the basis of that inves-

tigation.

The Council relied on this settlement agreement in opposing

NOPSI’s petition for certiorari from the September, 1986 Fifth

Circuit decision in NOPSI I. The Council argued that the agree-

ment mooted the case and also made the Federal Power Act

claims not ripe. Although the United States believed that these

facts did not detract from the appropriateness of a decision on the

abstention issue in this case, these and related facts led the Solici-

tor General to state that “NOPS/[I] is not wholly free from pro-

cedural problems.” Solicitor General’s 1987 NOPSI Mem.., p. 25.

The extent of the apparent ripeness problems was made mani-

fest in a parallel case (NOPSI II) that NOPSI brought in Novem-

ber, 1985 to enjoin the Council’s prudence inquiry. In defending

that case, the Council stated that its pending prudence inquiry

would fully recognize the FERC-mandated Grand Gulf | expenses

6

and would deal solely with whether NOPSI had achieved savings

in other areas. This representation led the Fifth Circuit to hold

that the underlying Federal Power Act claim was not ripe and to

decline to reach the abstention issues. New Orleans Public Service,

Inc. v. New Orleans, 833 F.2d 583, 588 (Sth Cir. 1987).

3. This Case. There are no ripeness or procedural problems in

this case. It is based on the actual results of the Council's pru-

dence investigation, which was completed by adoption of a rate

order on February 4, 1988. The order violates the Council’s prior

representations to the Fifth Circuit. It disallows $135 million in

previously incurred, FERC-mandated Grand Gulf 1 expenses,

and the Council’s order implements this prudence disallowance

by ordering reductions in NOPSI’s future rate increases by ap-

proximately $500,000 per month this year, and by multiples of

that amount in future years. This $135 million of “trapped costs”’

is in addition to the $51 million that NOPSI previously agreed to

absorb in the March, 1986 Settlement with the Council.

The basis for the Council’s $135 million disallowance is its

decision to set NOPSI’s rates to allow full recovery of only 9%

of Grand Gulf 1—the same percentage that New Orleans had

unsuccessfully urged in the FERC proceedings (see App. 11A }—

and to permit recovery of the remaining 8% at the hypothetical

costs of alternative coal-fired generation. The Council asserted

that NOPSI had behaved “imprudently” in monitoring the costs

of Grand Gulf 1, and in failing to sell a substantial portion of its

share of Grand Gulf | off-system in 1979-80 (five to six years

before either the rates for the power or the allocation had been

established by FERC). As the Fifth Circuit stated in this case,

this prudence disallowance appears to be squarely foreclosed by

this Court’s decision in Mississippi Power & Light Co., supra. App.

13A.

7

On February 9, 1988, NOPSI filed suit in federal district court

to enjoin this violation of its federal rights.* The District Court

dismissed the case on March 10, 1988, on grounds of abstention.

App. 21A-33A. In the interim, there has been no resolution of

any parallel state court proceedings, despite the trapping of

FERC-mandated costs and resulting financial harm that occur

each day. See App. 10A.°

On July 28, 1988, the Fifth Circuit affirmed. It held that the

Fifth Circuit’s earlier abstention decision was binding on it unless

and until this Court resolved the conflict in the courts of appeals.

App. 20A. e

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The question whether abstention principles deprive federal dis-

trict courts of authority to prevent state utility commissions from

interfering with the exclusive jurisdiction of FERC (or other fed-

eral agencies) has become one of the most important and fre-

quently recurring questions facing the federal judiciary. When the

question was presented to the Court four years ago, only the

Fourth Circuit had squarely addressed this issue. This Court

*On the date of its order, the Council filed an action in the Civil

District Court for the Parish of Orleans, Louisiana, seeking a

declaratory judgment that its prudence order was lawful. That action

was removed to federal district court and consolidated with the instant

case. The state action was remanded to state court, howevér, after the

federal court decided to abstain in this case.

‘Because of the uncertainty over the availability of a federal forum,

NOPSI, on March 7, 1988, filed a petition to review the Council’s order

in the Civil District Court for the Parish of Orleans, Louisiana. No

hearing has occurred on the merits. On May 5, 1988, the state court

denied NOPSI’s motion for a preliminary injunction. NOPSI has ap-

pealed the denial of that motion. The intermediate Louisiana appellate

court, however, has twice refused to expedite this interlocutory appeal,

and the matter, therefore, will not be resolved before next year.

*Aluminum Co. of America v. Utilities Comm'n of North Carolina,

713 F.2d 1024 (4th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1052 (1984). There,

Alcoa had sought to litigate in federal district court the identical factual

and legal claims under the Federal Power Act that this Court subse-

(Footnote continued on next page)

denied certiorari, with Justices Brennan and White noting that

they would have granted the petition. Aluminum Co. of America

v. Utilities Commission of North Carolina, 465 U.S. 1052 (1984).

In the intervening years, litigation of this question has burgeoned.

Five circuits have addressed this abstention issue in cases present-

ing the same Federal Power Act (or Natural Gas Act)’ preemp-

tion claims involved here.* In addition, other circuits have ad-

dressed the abstention issue in other closely related contexts.°

(Footnote continued from preceding page)

quently decided in Nantahala Power & Light Co. v. Thornburg, 476 U.S.

953 (1986). The Fourth Circuit upheld the District Court's decision to

abstain in that case, but in a subsequent case held that a decision not to

abstain was proper. Appalachian Power Co. v. Public Service Comm'n of

West Virginia, 770 F.2d 159 (4th Cir. 1985), affg 614 F.2d 64 (S.D. W.

Va. 1985). Even in Alcoa, the Fourth Circuit acknowledged that absten-

tion would not be appropriate where, as here, preemption was clear. 713

F.2d at 1029-30.

’This Court has stated many times that the “relevant provisions of

[the Natural Gas Act and the Federal Power Act] ‘are in all material

respects substantially identical’” and that it is the Court's “established

practice” to “cit[e] interchangeably decisions interpreting the pertinent

sections of the two statutes.” Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co. v. Hall, 453

U.S. 571, 577 n.7 (1981) (citations omitted).

*Kentucky West Virginia Gas Co. v. Pennsylvania Public Utility

Comm'n, 791 F.2d 1111 (3rd Cir. 1986) (court should not abstain from

deciding Natural Gas Act claim); Middle South Energy, Inc. v. Arkan-

sas Public Service Comm'n, 772 F.2d 404 (8th Cir. 1985) (court should

not abstain from deciding Federal Power Act claim), cert. denied, 474

U.S. 1102 (1986); Arkansas Power & Light Co. v. Missouri Public Service

Comm'n, 829 F.2d 1444 (8th Cir. 1987) (court should not abstain from

deciding Federal Power Act claim); Appalachian Power Co. v. Public

Service Comm'n of West Virginia, 770 F.2d 159 (4th Cir. 1985), affg 614

F.Supp. 64 (S.D. W. Va. 1985) (court should not abstain from deciding

Federal Power Act claim); New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v. New

Orleans, 782 F.2d 1236 & 798 F.2d 858 (Sth Cir. 1986) (upholding

abstention on Federal Power Act claim), cert. denied, 107 S. Ct. 1910

(1987); American Electric Power Co. v. Kentucky Public Service

Comm'n, 787 F.2d 588 (6th Cir. 1986) (same), cert. denied, 107 S. Ct.

1910 (1987).

*%Champion Int'l Corp. v. Brown, 731 F.2d 1406 (9th Cir. 1984) (ab-

stention inapplicable where ERISA preempts state age discrimination

(Footnote continued on next page)

9

The rule in the Fifth Circuit on this abstention question con-

flicts with decisions of five other courts of appeals as well as with

the pertinent decisions of this Court. Thus, the conflict has spread

to eight circuits, with five favoring the petitioner’s view, two op-

posed, and the Fourth Circuit divided. See p. 8 nn.8 & 9, supra.

For these reasons, in response to this Court's request, the Unit-

ed States in 1987 urged the Court to grant certiorari to review

the NOPSI I decision and to reject the Fifth Circuit's rule. See

Solicitor General’s 1987 NOPSI Mem., pp. 20-23. The Solicitor

General made this recommendation at a time when the contro-

versy was clouded by claims of lack of ripeness and by related

“procedural problems.” J/d., p. 25. The Court at that time de-

clined the Solicitor General's invitation.

Now, however, the issue is squarely presented; there is no ripe-

ness issue, and any possible procedural problems have vanished.

See pp. +7, supra. The intervening events further confirm the

go away, but will recur, again and again. As the Fifth Circuit's

opinion in this case correctly states, only this Court can resolve

the conflict See App. 20A.

1. The rule in the Fifth Circuit is that federal district courts

have discretion to abstain from deciding claims that local utility

regulators have violated federal rights conferred by federal stat-

utes (e.g., the Federal Power Act) that preempt state regulation.

The Fifth Circuit reasons that these federal claims should be

raised in appeals from state retail rate orders in state courts. This

Court's holdings teach that the Fifth Circuit's rule must be re-

jected.

(Footnote continued from preceding page)

laws); Family Division Trial Lawyers v. Moultrie, 725 F.2d 695 (D.C.

Cir. 1984) (abstention inapplicable to constitutional challenge to local

judicial administration), Baggett v. Dept. of Professional Regulation, 7\7

F.2d $21 (11th Cir. 1983) (abstention inappropriate to claim that state

had no jursdiction to discipline federally licensed marine pilot).

10

This Court has held that a federal court may not exercise “ju-

dicial discretion to dismiss a suit merely because a State court

could entertain it” and that a federal court can abstain from

“adjudicat[ing] a controversy properly before it . . . . only in the

exceptional circumstances where the order to the parties to repair

to the State court would clearly serve an important countervailing

interest.” Colorado River Water Conservation Dist. v. United

States, 424 U.S. 800, 813-14 (1976).

This Court’s holdings teach that state courts cannot have an

overriding interest in adjudicating whether Congress has intended

that a federal regulatory agency have exclusive jurisdiction over

certain matters and therefore has preempted contrary state ac-

tion. This Court has upheld the authority of federal courts to

enjoin state utility commission action on the same basic preemp-

tion grounds presented here, and has rejected arguments that

state remedies must be exhausted—without even addressing

whether abstention was required or permitted. See, e.g., Public

Utilities Comm'n of California v. United States, 355 U.S. 534, 540

(1958); Public Utilities Comm’n of Ohio v. United Fuel Gas Co.,

317 U.S. 456 (1943); see also Schneidewind v. ANR Pipeline Co.,

No. 86-986, 56 U.S.L.W. 4249 (Mar. 22, 1988).

These principles apply with special force in cases presenting

federal preemption claims under the Federal Power Act. The Act

establishes a federal agency (FERC) to referee disputes among

states on the allocation of low-cost and high-cost electric power

supplies. The purposes of the Act would be frustrated if individu-

al states could act based on local concerns and collaterally attack

the FERC’s allocation by adopting allocations (or rates reflecting

allocations) that prefer their interests to those sought to be pro-

tected by the FERC. See Mississippi Power & Light Co. v. Missis-

sippi ex rel. Moore, No. 86-1970, 56 U.S.L.W. 4751 (June 24,

1988); Nantahala Power & Light Co. v. Thornburg, 476 U.S. 953

(1986). Unless federal district courts have authority to enforce the

FERC-established federal rights under the filed rate doctrine,

ll

states can thwart the federal regulatory scheme and subvert in-

terstate power supply arrangements adopted thereunder. Given

this Court’s limited resources, it is both impractical and unrealis-

tic to expect that the entire burden of reviewing state actions in

these cases can or ought to rest here.

2. The Fifth Circuit rule of abstention is based on this Court’s

holding in Burford v. Sun Oil Co., 319 U.S. 315 (1943). However,

this Court, and numerous federal courts of appeals, have held

that Burford is a narrow exception to the duty of federal courts

to adjudicate claims properly before it, and it is inapposite here.

As this Court has held, Burford abstention applies only where

“difficult questions of state law” are presented and “federal re-

view . . . would be disruptive of state efforts to establish a coher-

ent gelley with respect to a matter of substantial public concern.”

Colorado River Water Conservation District v. United States,

supra, 424 US. at 814.

Thus, numerous courts of appeals have held that Burford can-

not support abstentivi in a case such as this where no state law

issues are presented and the only issue is whether federal law

preempted the state agency from deciding the matter at all. In-

deed, the Third and Eighth Circuits have so held in cases present-

ing the very Federal Power Act (or Natural Gas Act) preemption

claims at issue here. As the Eighth Circuit has stated:

“The very premise of [the Burford] doctrine, . . . is lacking

when, as here, federal law or Constitution makes the pro-

ceeding or regulation at issue beyond the state’s authority.

There is no concern with protecting a legitimate state regu-

latory scheme, and the question becomes one of basic federal

supremacy, which does not turn on local factors or local

expertise.”

Middle South Energy, Inc. v. Arkansas Public Service Comm'n,

772 F.2d 404, 417 (8th Cir. 1985) (citations omitted), cert. denied,

474 U.S. 1102 (1986); accord, Kentucky West Virginia Gas Co. v.

12

Pennsylvania Public Utility Comm’n, 791 F.2d 1111, 1115-16 (3rd

Cir. 1986); Arkansas Power & Light Co. v. Missouri Public Service

Comm'n, 829 F.2d 1444 (8th Cir. 1987).

Other courts have reached the identical results in cases arising

under other federal statutes. Knudsen Corp. v. Nevada State Dairy

Comm'n, 676 F.2d 374 (9th Cir. 1982); Baggett v. Department of

Professional Regulation, 717 F.2d 521, 524 (11th Cir. 1983); Jn-

ternational Bhd. of Elec. Workers v. Public Service Comm’n, 614

F.2d 206, 212 n.1 (9th Cir. 1980). They, too, hold that Burford

abstention cannot be applied when there is a substantial federal

preemption challenge to a state agency’s jurisdiction. Thus, the

conflict is stark and clear.'°

3. The Fifth Circuit also has suggested that abstention under

the doctrine of Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971), “seems

appropriate.”” NOPSI I, 798 F.2d at 863. Under Younger, a fed-

eral district court cannot enjoin an ongoing state judicial or quasi-

judicial enforcement proceeding that implicates important state

interests, when there is an adequate opportunity in the state pro-

ceeding to raise the federal claim. See Middlesex County Ethics

Committee v. Garden State Bar Ass’n, 457 U.S. 423 (1982).

However, Younger abstention is proper only if the state pro-

ceeding implicates “important state interests.” Middlesex County

Ethics Committee v. Garden State Bar Ass’n, supra, 457 U.S. at

432. Contrary to the Fifth Circuit holding, other courts of appeals

have held that the state interest in regulating retail rates, however

important, cannot give the state an “overriding interest” in adju-

dicating federal preemption claims that go to the “power of the

!0Indeed, the Solicitor General told this Court in 1987, after discuss-

ing various courts of appeals holdings, that these decisions “amply re-

veal a clear circuit conflict on the important issue whether abstention is

appropriate in the context of a preemption claim based on the filed rate

doctrine.” Solicitor General’s 1987 NOPSI Mem., p. 22 n.13.

13

state administrative agency to proceed at all;” “‘no deference is

due state proceedings which would entrench upon the exclusive

federal domain.” Baggett v. Department of Professional Regula-

tion, 717 F.2d 521, 524 (11th Cir. 1983).

Three courts of appeals have now held that Younger abstention

is improper in suits raising the precise Federal Power Act pre-

emption claims at issue here. They reason that the “legitimate

state interest contemplated by Younger . . . does not exist when

the state action has been preempted or foreclosed” by a federal

statute, Middle South Energy, Inc. v. Arkansas Public Service

Comm'n, 772 F.2d 404, 417 (8th Cir. 1985), and that the “notion

of ‘comity’ embodied by the Younger doctrine is ‘not strained

when a federal court cuts off state proceedings that entrench upon

the federal domain.’” Kentucky West Virginia Gas Co. v. Penn-

sylvania Public Utility Comm’n, 791 F.2d 1111, 1117 (3rd Cir.

1986) (citations omitted); accord, Appalachian Power Co. v. Pub-

lic Service Comm'n of West Virginia, 614 F.Supp. 64, 70-71 (S.D.

W. Va.), aff'd, 770 F.2d 159 (4th Cir. 1985). See also Champion

Int'l Corp. v. Brown, 731 F.2d 1406, 1409 (9th Cir. 1984).

4. The issue in this case is whether the Council can disregard

FERC’s exclusive jurisdiction over the question of the prudence,

and the allocation, of the costs of Grand Gulf 1. This question

has been conclusively decided. See Mississippi Power & Light Co.

v. Mississippi ex rel. Moore, supra; Nantahala Power & Light Co.

v. Thornburg, 476 U.S. 953 (1986). As Justice Scalia stated, Mis-

sissippi Power & Light establishes ‘“‘who has jurisdiction, FERC

or the States, to evaluate the prudence of a particular utility’s

entering pooling arrangements with affiliated companies.” Missis-

sippi Power & Light Co., supra, 56 U.S.L.W. at 4759 (Scalia, J.,

concurring), slip op. at 7. Although the point should be obvious

to any objective reader, it has been ignored by the New Orleans

City Council. NOPSI thus seeks nothing more than its estab-

14

lished rights under federal law. There is no state law issue, and

this case epitomizes the type of cases that federal district courts

were created to decide.

Neither this Court’s precedents, common sense, nor deference

to state courts requires or permits federal abstention in this case.

In any of at least five other circuits, the door of the federal court-

house would have been open to petitioner. Indeed, NOPSI’s affil-

iates were able to obtain the federal court injunction required to

prevent a different state utility commission from interfering with

recovery of FERC-mandated Grand Gulf 1 costs.'! Such an im-

portant issue as the availability of federal courts to vindicate fed-

eral rights cannot depend on the fortuity of whether the suppli-

cant and the courthouse are in Arkansas or Louisiana.

'\Middle South Energy, Inc. v. Arkansas Public Service Comm'n, 772

F.2d 404 (8th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1102 (1986). See Arkan-

sas Power & Light Co. v. Missouri Public Service Comm’n, 829 F.2d 1444

(8th Cir. 1987).

15

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the petition for writ of certiorari should

be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

HERSCHEL L. ABBOTT, JR. Rex E. Lee*

DAvID G. RADLAUER DAVID W. CARPENTER

EDWARD H. BERGIN JAMES A. HUTTENHOWER

R. LEwis MCHENRY SIDLEY & AUSTIN

JONES, WALKER, WAECHTER, 1722 Eye Street, N.W.

POITEVENT, CARRERE & Washington, D.C. 20006

DENEGRE (202) 429-4000

201 St. Charles Avenue

New Orleans, LA 70170 THOMAS O. LIND

(504) 582-8000 Vice President—

Regulatory Counsel

New Orleans Public

Service Inc.

317 Baronne Street

New Orleans, LA 70112

(504) 595-2218

Attorneys For Petitioner

Dated: August 26, 1988

*Counsel of Record

1A

COURT OF APPEALS OPINION

[JULY 28, 1988]

2A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

NO. 88-3194

NEW ORLEANS PUBLIC SERVICE, INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

versus

THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF NEW ORLEANS,

ET AL,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Louisiana

(July 28, 1988)

Before RUBIN, GARZA and JONES, Circuit Judges.

RUBIN, Circuit Judge:

In 1986 this court decided that a federal district court had not

abused its discretion in abstaining from deciding federal issues

presented in suit to enjoin a state agency’s proceeding to fix the

retail rates that might be charged by a public utility. Bound by

this decision, we hold again that the same distict court did not

abuse its discretion in failing to take jurisdiction over issues of

federal law at a later stage of the same proceeding.

This is the fourth federal court battle in a legal war that began

almost a decade ago. New Orleans Public Service, Inc. (NOPSI),

a subsidiary of Middle South Utilities, Inc., a public utility

3A

holding company, sells electric power to consumers in the City

of New Orleans. It continues to seek a federal forum for its claims

against the New Orleans City Council, which by state law fixes

the utility rates charged consumers in New Orleans. It charges

that the Council is violating federal law by preventing NOPSI

from passing on to the consumers all of the costs of NOPSI’S

purchase of power generated by a nuclear reactor at rates fixed

by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC).

Middle South owns and therefore controls Louisiana Power &

Light Co., Mississippi Power & Light Co., Arkansas Power &

Light Co., and NOPSI, collectively known as the Middle South

Companies, all of which are engaged in distributing energy, as

well as System Energy Resources, Inc. (SERI), which generates

energy. In the late 1960’s, Middle South sought to meet projected

increases in demand and to diversify the fuel base of its entire

system by adding coal and nuclear generating units. Because Mid-

dle South found it impractical for each of the four operating

companies to finance and construct a nuclear power facility, it

formed a new subsidiary, Middle South Energy, Inc. (MSE), a

corporate predecessor of SERI, to finance, own, and operate two

nuclear reactors, Grand Gulf I and II. Middle South later decided

for economic reasons not to build Grand Gulf II, but to proceed

with the construction of Grand Gulf I, a 1250 megawatt nuclear

generating plant. In 1974, NOPSI, Louisiana Power, Mississippi

Power, and Arkansas Power all committed themselves to sharing

the construction cost of Grand Gulf, which MSE projected to be

$875 million.

After the nuclear disaster at Three Mile Island, federal regula-

tory authorities adopted stricter regulations for the construction

of nuclear plants. As a result of this and other factors, construc-

tion of the Grand Gulf nuclear plant took longer and became

drastically more expensive than originally anticipated, amounting

in the end to $3.6 billion. Consequently, the wholesale cost of

power produced at Grand Gulf greatly exceeds that of power

4A

produced in other system facilities. Moreover, even as Grand

Gulf was under construction, it became clear that the demand for

its energy would be less than originally anticipated.

In 1982, the Middle South Companies submitted to FERC,

which has exclusive jurisdiction over interstate wholesale power

rates,' two agreements. The first was a new System Agreement,

which set forth the terms and conditions for coordinated opera-

tioms and wholesale transactions among the four companies, in-

cluding a scheme of capacity equalization payments, which were

designed to ensure that each company contribute proportionately

to the total costs of generating power for the system. The second

was a Unit Power Sales Agreement, which provided wholesale

rates for the sale of Grand Gulf capacity and energy to the oper-

ating companies. The Unit Power Sales Agreement allocated

29.8% of the Grand Gulf costs to NOPSI.

FERC assigned each agreement to a different administrative

law judge, charging them with the task of determining whether

the agreements were “just and reasonable” within the meaning of

the Federal Power Act.? Each ALJ held extensive hearings, in

which numerous parties representing consumer interests and the

various state regulatory agencies participated. At these hearings,

the New Orleans City Council appeared to protest the proposed

rates and the allocations made pursuant to the Sales Agreement.

The City Council and other utility regulatory bodies argued that

FERC should reduce the allocations of the high-cost and hence

relatively unattractive nuclear power to their constituents.

Three years later, in 1985, FERC issued an order modifying

the Sales Agreement to provide for the allocation of power and

costs from Grand Gulf as follows: 17 percent to NOPSI, 14 per-

cent to Louisiana Power, 33 percent to Mississippi Power, and 36

116 U.S.C. § 824(b) (1982); Nantahala Power & Light Co. v.

476 U.S. 953, —, 106 S.Ct. 2349, 2352 (1986); see also 16

U.S.C. §§ 824d, 824e (1982).

216 U.S.C. § 824a) (1982).

SA

percent to Arkansas Power.’ As the Supreme Court noted in Mis-

sissippi Power & Light Co. v. Mississippi ex rel Moore,‘

The state regulatory agencies appealed the FERC allocations, and

the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia

Circuit reversed the FERC decision.* On remand, however,

FERC reaffirmed its original 1985 allocations.’

NOPSI appealed to the New Orleans City Council in 1985 for

a retail rate increase to cover the increase in wholesale costs that

the FERC order would require it to pay. The Council responded

with a resolution initiating an investigation into “all aspects of

NOPSI's prudence regarding its decisions to enter into its ar-

rangements to purchase a portion of Grand Gulf | for the purpose

of determining what portion, if any, of NOPSI'’s Grand Gulf |

‘Opinion and Order Setting Just Reasonable and Non- Discriminatory

Rates, 31 Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n Rep. (CCH) © 61,305 (June 13,

1985) (Opinion No. 234).

: US. _,_ _SCt._, No. 86-1970 (June 24, 1988).

‘Id. at : S.Ct. at (quoting Middle South Energy, Inc.,

26 Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n Rep. (CCH) at $4 65,112-65,113 (1984)).

*Mississippi Indus. v. FERC, 822 F.2d 1104 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied,

108 S.Ct. 501 (1987).

"System Energy Resources, Inc., 41 Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n Rep.

(CCH) € 61,238 (Nov. 30, 1987) (Opinion No. 292).

6A

expense shall be assumed by its shareholders, rather than passed

through to its retail ratepayers” (the Prudence Resolution). The

Council also refused to approve the rate increase pending the

outcome of this investigation.

While the Council was conducting its prudence inquiry, the

Supreme Court decided Nantahala Power & Light Co. v.

Thornburg,’ a case that came to the Court on appeal from a state

supreme court decision. In Nantahala, the Court held that FERC

has exclusive jurisdiction over interstate wholesale power rates,

and once it has allocated wholesale power, a state regulatory body

may not refuse to recognize that allocation. This is a necessary

consequence of the filed rate doctrine, which prescribes that in-

terstate power rates filed with or fixed by FERC must be given

binding effect by state utility commissions determining intrastate

rules.

After the City Council had refused to approve its requested

rate increase, NOPSI sought a federal court injunction requiring

the Council to pass through, immediately and fully, the increased

costs of Grand Gulf to ratepayers and to prevent the Council

from conducting its prudence inquiry. The district court dis-

missed the suit, holding that it lacked subject matter jurisdiction

and that, even if it had jurisdiction, it should abstain. While an

appeal to this court was pending, in March, 1986, the City Coun-

cil and NOPSI reached a partial settlement of NOPSI’s applica-

tion for a rate increase. NOPSI agreed to absorb $51.2 million of

the costs of Grand Gulf. The Council allowed NOPSI to make a

phased interim rate increase, to which NOPSI agreed, in order to

moderate the effects of “rate shock” on New Orleans ratepayers.

Both parties agreed, however, that this settlement did not affect

the Council's continuation of its prudence inquiry.

*476 U.S. 953, 106 S.Ct. 2349 (1986).

TA

In NOPSI I, this Court initially reversed both district court

rulings,’ but on rehearing affirmed the district court’s decision to

abstain, in order to avoid interfering with a comprehensive state

regulatory scheme.'° The district court relied upon this opinion,

which we will discuss again in detail, in its decision to abstain

from hearing the present case.

In April, 1987, the City Council completed its hearings and

began deliberations. NOPSI again sought an injunction from the

federal district court, arguing that the Council was unreasonably

delaying a decision and that its inquiry encroached on areas of

exclusive FERC jurisdiction. Later amending its complaint,

NOPSI sought only an injunction against any action by the Coun-

cil that would force NOPSI’s shareholders to absorb part of the

costs of Grand Gulf that FERC had allocated to NOPSI. NOPSI

contended that the announced purpose of the Council’s prudence

inquiry intruded upon an area within FERC’s exclusive jurisdic-

tion. When the district court decided both that the case was not

ripe for decision and that, even if it was, it should abstain, NOPSI

appealed to this court.

In NOPSI II,"' this court once again noted thai the Federal

Power Act gives FERC exclusive authority to regulate the whole-

sale sale of power in interstate commerce while allowing the states

to retain their traditional police power to regulate intrastate retail

sales. The NOPSI II opinion recognized that the Prudence Reso-

lution and the subsequent Council hearing could “certainly be

interpreted as directed toward areas now off-limits to state regu-

lators.””!2

*New Orleans Pub. Serv., Inc. v. City of New Orleans, 782 F.2d 1236

(Sth Cir.), modified, 798 F.2d 858 (Sth Cir. 1986), cert. denied, _ US.

, 107 S.Ct. 1910 (1987).

~ YONew Orleans Pub. Serv. Inc. v. City of New Orleans, 798 F.2d 858

(Sth Cir. 1986), cert. denied, US. , 107 S.Ct. 1910 (1987).

''New Orleans Pub. Serv., Inc. v. Council of the City of New Orleans,

833 F.2d 583 (Sth Cir. 1987).

Jd. at 586.

8A

The opinion, however, further recognized that the Council’s

inquiry presented “only a possibility of harm to NOPSI. If such

harm occurs, the validity of the New Orleans City Council’s ac-

tion will depend on facts not yet in existence.”'? NOPSI would

suffer no irreparable harm pending completion of the prudence

inquiry. Therefore the injunction issue was not yet ripe, and the

Court found it unnecessary to address the district court’s alter-

native decision to abstain.

After completing the lengthy prudence inquiry, the Council

adopted a rate order on February 4, 1988. The order disallows

$135 million of NOPSI’s deferred Grand Gulf costs and requires

NOPSI to write this sum off its rate base. It also reduces NOPSI’s

rate increases, planned to begin on April 9, to reflect this

disallowance. The Council based its actions on these conclusions:

(1) NOPSI’s oversight and review of its Grand Gulf obli-

gation was uncritical and severely deficient. NOPSI’s man-

agement remained ignorant of important information and

significant events that affected NOPSI’s Grand Gulf com-

mitment at the same time that it was attempting to portray

Grand Gulf as a great benefit to ratepayers.

(2) NOPSI made no effort to reduce its risk exposure in

the wake of the Three Mile Island Nuclear incident in 1979-

80, which demonstrated the risks of operating a nuclear re-

actor. Instead, it committed itself to take a share of the plant

that FERC later found to be excessive.

(3) NOPSI imprudently failed to reduce the risk of its

Grand Gulf commitment by selling a portion of its share of

the power off-system, that is, to some other user. It made no

attempt to ascertain whether off-system sales could be ac-

complished, despite its having made representations to the

Council in 1980 that it would sell the power elsewhere if the

Council desired.

"1d. at 588 (emphasis added).

9A

The Council also determined that NOPSI’s management was

imprudent in committing NOPSI in 1974 to an indeterminate

responsibility to pay for Grand Gulf, but it took no action based

on this finding. Instead, it concentrated its inquiry and based the

disallowance of the rate increase on actions NOPSI’s manage-

ment failed to take at the retail level to reduce the exposure of

New Orleans ratepayers to the excessive risks and costs of the

Grand Gulf project.

The Council also asserts that, in reaching its decision, it deter-

mined that disallowance of the full amount warranted by

NOPSI’s imprudence would cause NOPSI to become insolvent.

It therefore disallowed only that portion of the excess costs—

minus an additional ten percent “‘buffer”—attributable to impru-

dent management that the Council determined the utility could

stand financially.

NOPSI therefore resorted once again to federal court, seeking

injunctive and declaratory relief from the Rate Order. It contends

that the Order is inconsistent with and preempted by federal law,

that the federal courts are vested with exclusive jurisdiction by

the Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. § 825p, and that, if the Rate

Order is allowed to stand, it will suffer irreparable harm. It con-

tends that the Council had assured it in the settlement agreement

that it would be allowed to recover the $135 million in deferred

costs through future rate increases. The elimination of this asset

has drastically reduced its common equity and eliminated its re-

tained earnings. It has been unable to sell rate recovery bonds as

it had planned to do in March, 1988, will be unable to sell addi-

tional rate recovery bonds for several years, and is threatened

with possible calls for redemption of $115 million in outstanding

rate recovery bonds. NOPSI states that it also needs funds to

continue to pay its FERC-mandated bill for Grand Gulf and

other operating expenses. It will be unable to pay dividends on

either preferred or common stock for at least several years, and

its ability to continue as a viable entity is drastically impaired.

10A

The district court, following this court’s decision in NOPSI J,

found that the Johnson Act'* did not deprive it of jurisdiction

over the suit; it did not have exclusive jurisdiction of the suit

under the Federal Power Act; and it should abstain from exercis-

ing its jurisdiction, deferring to the state proceedings. Relying on

the Supreme Court decision in Burford v. Sun Oil Co.,'5 the court

distinguished Nantahala, stating that Nantahala did not involve

a prudence issue. The utility regulatory body in Nantahala had

simply refused to recognize the FERC allocation without any

consideration of managerial prudence or other cost savings avail-

able. In this case, on the other hand, the Council had explicity

recognized the FERC-allocated costs, but had determined that,

given those costs, NOPSI’s management should have reduced

their impact by selling some of its Grand Gulf power “off sys-

tem,”’ as its President had earlier said it could do.

The district court based its decision to abstain on the concept

stated in NOPSI J, that “the regulation and adjustment of local

utility rates is of paramount local concern and a matter which

demands local administrative expertise.”'® The fact that the

Council had completed its prudence inquiry did not end the need

for state administrative involvement. The Council’s Rate Order

is subject to review in Louisiana state court. (In fact, NOPSI has

sought an injunction in state court; it understandably could not

forego that avenue for relief if this suit failed. The state trial court

has denied the injunction and NOPSI has appealed to the state

intermediate appellate court, seeking expedited consideration.

The state trial court record was not scheduled to be filed with the

State appellate court until July 15, 1988, however, and that ap-

pellate court has therefore deemed the motion for expedited ap-

peal premature.)

428 U.S.C. § 1342 (1982).

15319 U.S. 315, 63 S.Ct. 1098 (1943).

16798 F.2d at 862.

11A

The federal district court also observed, however, that it was

not ready to assume that many, if any, purchasers could be found

today to buy the power allocated to NOPSI. It continued:

Indeed, this court is somewhat mystified by the Council’s

logic in arriving at the $135 million disallowance in the Rate

Order. In the Rate Order, the Council simply concluded that

since [NOPSI’s President] said so, savings were actually pos-

sible. Then, the Council seemingly pulled from thin air a

figure of 8% for the prudence disallowance. However, the

Council, and in this case, everyone else knows that the 8%

figure was not pulled from thin air but represents the differ-

ence between FERC’s 17% allocation and what NOPSI con-

sistently claims as its relative share in the MSU system, i.e.

9%. Thus, the disallowed costs bear no apparent relationship

to the savings NOPSI is said to have foregone. Must not the

savings posited as the reason for the disallowance be at least

possible in an actual economic market? Furthermore, must

not the ultimate disallowance bear some rational relationship

to the possible savings which support that disallowance?

These questions must be resolved on another day in another

court.

The district court did not reach the other factual issues. We

must assume that the court thought it should abstain even if

NOPSI were able to prove, as it alleges, with some apparent

evidentiary support, that what was not clear when NOPS/ | was

decided is now clear: the Rate Order results in “trapping” FERC

allocated costs in violation of federal law; important facts have

therefore changed since the decision in NOPSI I; the Rate Order

itself demonstrates that the disallowance of rate increases was

based on factors that the state could not legally consider; and

consequently the Order “is beyond the Council's retail

ratemaking authority and violates federal law.”

If the jurisdiction of federal courts over this dispute is made

exclusive by the Federal Power Act, the district court should

not have abstained. The Act grants federal courts exclusive

12A

jurisdiction over all suits brought to enforce any “duty created

by . . . any rule, regulation, or order” promulgated under the

Act.'? NOPSI’s thesis is that the Act creates a duty on the part of

the Council to recognize for retail ratemaking purposes NOPSI’s

FERC allocation, net of cost savings in other areas, and that the

duty must be enforced by and can be enforced only in federal

court.

In Nantahala, the Supreme Court expressly held that the filed

rate doctrine requires local utility regulators to “allow, as reason-

able operating expenses, costs incurred as a result of paying a

FERC-determined wholesale price.” '* The Court further stated,

“{o}jnce FERC sets such a rate, a State may not conclude in

setting retail rates that the FERC-approved wholesale rates are

unreasonable.”’'? Correspondingly, in NOPSI II this court stated:

[Ojnce the FERC has allocated wholesale power, a state

regulatory body may not refuse to recognize that allocation.

The state may not, for example, find the allocation unreason-

able and “trap” any extra costs by refusing to allow the

utility to pass those costs on to consumers.”°

After oral argument had been heard in this case, the Supreme

Court rendered its opinion in Mississippi Power & Light Com-

pany v. Mississippi ex rel Moore, a case which, like Nantahala,

came to the Court by direct appeal.?' In Mississippi Power, the

Court held that the FERC proceedings preempted a prudence

"16 U.S.C. § 825p (1982) provides in pertinent part:

The District Courts of the United States . . . shall have exclusive

jurisdiction of violations of this chapter or the rules, regulations,

and orders thereunder, and of all suits in equity and actions at law

brought to enforce any liability or duty created by, or to enjoin any

violation of this chapter or any rule, regulation, or order thereun-

der.

476 U.S. at ___., 106 S.Ct. at 2356.

fd. at ___., 106 S.Ct. at 2357.

20833 F.2d at 586 (citations omitted).

1 6UUS. W_, —_ §.Ct. __, No. 86-1970 (June 24, 1988.)

13A

inquiry by a state regulatory commission. The Mississippi Power

prudence inquiry differed somewhat from the City Council's in-

quiry: it was directed to the prudence of entering into the Sales

Agreement and the Grand Gulf project, while the Council’s order

is directed at NOPSI’s asserted imprudence in failing to resell the

power it had agreed to, and is now bound by the FERC order to,

buy. Nonetheless, the language of the opinion seems to foreclose

the latter kind of prudence inquiry as well. Thus, for example, the

Court stated:

States may not alter FERC-ordered allocations of power by

substituting their own determinations of what would be just

and fair. FERC-mandated allocations of power are binding

on the States, and States must treat those allocations as fair

and reasonable when determining retail rates. . . .

States may not bar regulated utilities from passing through

to retail consumers FERC-mandated wholesale rates. “The

filed rate doctrine ensures that sellers of wholesale power

governed by FERC can recover the costs incurred by their

payment of just and reasonable FERC-set rates. When

FERC sets a rate between a seller of power and a wholesaler-

as-buyer, a State may not exercise its undoubted jurisdiction

over retail sales to prevent the wholesaler-as-seller from

recovering the costs of paying the FERC-approved

.. Such a ‘trapping’ of costs is prohibited.””?_—

... Thus we conclude that the Supremacy Clause compels

the [state regulatory commission] to permit MP&L to recov-

er as a reasonable operating expense costs incurred as the

result of paying a FERC-determined wholesale rate for a

FERC-mandated allocation of power.

. [I]t might well be unreasonable for a utility to pur-

chase unnecessary quantities of high cost power, even at

FERC-approved rates, if it had the legal right to refuse to

buy that power. But if the integrity of FERC regulation is to

be preserved, it obviously cannot be unreasonable for MP&L

_ | ees at (quoting Nantahala Power &

Light Co. v. Thornburg, 476 U.S. at 970, 106 S.Ct. at 2359).

14A

to procure the particular quantity of high-priced Grand Gulf

power that FERC has ordered it to pay for. Just as

Nantahala had no legal right to obtain any more low cost

TVA power than the amount allocated by FERC, it is equal-

ly clear that MP&L may not pay for less Grand Gulf power

than the amount allocated by FERC.

... Thus FERC’s order svecificially bars a state regulatory

agency from evaluating the prudence of Grand Gulf “in light

of local conditions.”

In NOPSI I, this cou:t held that it does not follow from

Nantahala that the duty imposed on a state regulatory body to

recognize FERC allocetions and rates must be enforced by a

federal court. While the Federal Power Act did grant FERC

exclusive authority to regulate interstate transmission and sale at

wholesale of electric energy, it reserved to the states regulatory

jurisdiction over generation facilities and the intrastate transmis-

sion of electric energy.** This dichotomy of supervision made it

foreseeable to Congress that what has happened in Louisiana

might indeed come to pass: conflicts might arise over a state's

attempt to regulate matters reserved to the FERC. The filed rate

doctrine was developed to ensure the supremacy of FERC’s or-

ders in state as well as federal proceedings.” It does not establish

federal exclusivity.

NOPSI I therefore rejected the claim that federal jurisdiction

is exclusive:

The existence of [a] “bright line” [between federal and state

jurisdiction] colors the way we view a preemption claim in-

volving the Federal Power Act. NOPSI has attempted to

depict the situation before us as one in which the Council is

stepping into the realm of wholesale rate making, a field

[SS i; =

— *16 U.S.C. §§ 824(b) (1982); see also NOPSI I, 798 F.2d at 860.

“See Nantahala, 476 U.S. at ___. 106 S.Ct. at 2355.

ISA

under the exclusive jurisdiction of FERC. NOPSI focuses on

the disruption of a federal scheme. Yet federal court inter-

vention here may constitute a disruption of a state regulatory

scheme, for retail rate making is clearly a field left to the

rates need not necessarily be increased to reflect the corre-

sponding increase in wholesale rates set by FERC. Instead,

local councils are permitted the autonomy preserved to them

by the Federal Power Act and can consider cost savings in

other areas relevant to the setting of retail rates.?°

Thus NOPSI I holds that while state regulators are bound by

FERC decisions and the filed rates doctrine, the doctrine may be

invoked in state proceedings and the existence of a filed rate issue

does not dictate federal court jurisdiction. As the opinion in

NOPSI I acknowledges,”’ two other circuits have reached the

same conclusion, deciding to abstain,”* while three other courts

have refused to do so.”

Ill.

The Supreme Court has held that, in three different situations,

a federal court with jurisdiction over a matter that also lies within

the jurisdiction of a state court or agency should abstain from

exercising its jurisdiction.° When a case involves unsettled

2»NOPSI I, 798 F.2d at 860-61 (emphasis in original).

"Jd. at 862 n.1.

See Aluminum Co. of America v. Utilities Comm'n, 713 F.2d 1024

(4th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1052, 104 S.Ct. 1326 (1984);

American Elec. Power Co. v. Kentucky Pub. Serv. Comm'n, 787 F.2d

588 (6th Cir. 1986); but see Appalachian Power Co. v. Public Serv.

Comm'n of West Virginia, 770 F.2d 159 (4th Cir. 1985), aff'g without

opinion 614 F. Supp. 64 (S.D. W.Va. 1985).

See Kentucky West Virginia Gas Co. v. Pennsylvania Pub. Util.

Comm'n, 791 F.2d 1111 (3d Cir. 1986); Middle South Energy, Inc. v.

Arkansas Pub. Serv. Comm'n, 772 F.2d 404 (8th Cir. 1985), cert. de-

nied, US. , 106 S.Ct. 884 (1986), International Bhd. of Elec.

Workers, Local Union No. 1245 v. Pub. Serv. Comm'n, 614 F.2d 206,

212 n.1 (9th Cir. 1980).

Colorado River Water Conservation Dist. v. United States, 424 U.S.

800, 813-17, 96 S.Ct. 1236, 1244-46 (1976).

16A

questions of state law, the resolution of which may make it un-

necessary to decide a federal constitutional question, the federal

court should abstain pending resolution of the state-law questions

by a state court,’!' a doctrine known as Pullman abstention after

the Supreme Court case that first invoked it. A federal court

should also abstain from deciding a case to avoid needless conflict

with a state’s administration of its own affairs, a rule applied in

Burford v. Sun Oil Co.** In Younger v. Harris,» the Supreme

Court ruled that a federal court should abstain from deciding

actions brought in an equitable setting when considerations of

comity and federalism, relating both to a state’s interest in con-

ducting a pending state court proceeding and to the state’s ability

to consider federal constitutional claims in that setting, so dictate.

In Colorado River Water Conservation District v. United

States,* the Supreme Court approved dismissal of a federal court

suit on the basis of “considerations of ‘[w]ise judicial administra-

tion, giving regard to conservation of judicial resources and com-

prehensive disposition of litigation,’”** although abstention

‘Railroad Comm'n v. Pullman Co., 312 U.S. 496, 61 S.Ct. 643, 85

L.Ed. 971 (1941); see also Colorado River, 424 U.S. at 814, 96 S.Ct. at

1244; see generally 17 C. Wright, A. Miller & E. Cooper, Federal Prac-

tice & Procedure §§ 4241-42 (1978 & Supp. 1987).

“Burford v. Sun Oil Co., 319 U.S. 315, 63 S.Ct. 1098, 87 L.Ed. 1424

(1943), see also Colorado River, 424 U.S. at 814-15, 96 S.Ct. at 1244-45;

County of Allegheny v. Frank Mashuda Co., 360 U.S. 185, 189, 79 S.Ct.

1060, 1063, 3 L.Ed.2d 1163 (1959); see generally Wright, Miller &

Cooper, supra note 31, at §§ 4241, 4244.

"See Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37, 91 S.Ct. 746, 27 L.Ed.2d 669

(1971); see also Ohio Bureau of Employment Servs. v. Hodory, 431 U.S.

471, 477, 97 S.Ct. 1898, 1902-03, 52 L.Ed.2d 513 (1977); Colorado

River, 424 U.S. at 816, 96 S.Ct. at 1245-46; see generally Wright, Miller

& Cooper, supra note 31, at §§ 4241, 4251-55.

4424 U.S. 800, 96 S.Ct. 1236, 47 L.Ed.2d 483 (1976).

Jd. at 817, 96 S.Ct. at 1246 (quoting Kerotest Mfg. Co. v. C-O-Two

Fire Equip. Co., 342 U.S. 180, 183, 72 S.Ct. 219, 221, 96 L.Ed. 200,

203 (1952)).

17A

would not have been appropriate under previously recognized

abstention doctrines. In Colorado River, the Court observed that

“the circumstances permitting the dismissal of a federal suit due

to the presence of a concurrent state proceeding for reasons of

wise judicial administration are considerably more limited than

the circumstances appropriate for abstention.” **

In Evanston Insurance Co. v. Jimco, Inc.,*’ on which NOPSI

relies, we considered the application of the Colorado River rule

because judicial proceedings were pending in both state and fed-

eral court and only considerations of judicial administration were

involved. In NOPSI I, however, the district court based its deci-

sion to abstain primarily on the Burford rule, seeking to avoid

intrusion into the state administration of a complex state regula-

tory system. The Evanston Insurance decision is therefore not

applicable here.

Turning to the appropriateness of Burford abstention in this

case, we do not write on a clean slate. While the district court's

decision to abstain is reviewable, we are not to decide whether we

would write the same opinion if we were sitting as a trial court,

but whether the district court abused its discretion in reaching its

decision, a question whose answer requires at least some defer-

ence to the district court’s views. In addition, we are bound by

the text and the implicit philosophy of NOPS/ I. In NOPSI I this

court affirmed the district court’s decision to abstain because ex-

ercising federal jurisdiction would interfere with the state regula-

tory system:

[T}he regulation and adjustment of local utility rates is of

paramount local concern and a matter which demands local

administrative expertise. The regulatory system is complex.

In addition, the Louisiana state courts are fully able to ad-

dress NOPSI’s complaints about Council actions: appeals

from Council orders are to be filed with the Civil District

Jd. at 818, 96 S.Ct. at 1246.

*” No. 87-3605 (Sth Cir. May 17, 1988).

Power Act may never constitute an abuse of discretion, absten-

tion should perhaps more often obtain in cases presenting a ques-

tion of preemption under the Federal Power Act than would be

sO in cases presenting other types of federal preemption claims.”’*®

The NOPSI I opinion also stated, “[MJoreover, on these facts,

abstention seems appropriate under the doctrine of Younger v.

Harris.” Younger would justify abstention because the Council

proceedings constituted an ongoing state judicial proceeding, in-

volving important state interests, and in that proceeding NOPSI

had an adequate opportunity to litigate its federal claims. The

opinion noted, in connection with the appropriateness of Younger

abstention, the absence of “bad faith, harrassment, or other ex-

ceptional circumstances.”*' NOPS/ J thus recognized a second

basis for its affirmance of the district court’s decision to abstain.

The court in NOPSI J did not partially reverse the district

court’s decision to abstain by requiring it to decide whether the

Council should be enjoined to allow NOPSI to pass on all of the

costs allocated by FERC while affirming that decision only inso-

far as it abstained from interfering with the City Council's retail

ratemaking functions. It decided instead to abstain totally. When

a federal court decides to abstain, it does not decide to keep

federal hands off only so long as the state agency behaves as the

#789 F.2d at 862.

Id. at 861.

“Id. at 863.

*\Id. at 864; see Middlesex County Ethics Comm. v. Garden State Bar

Ass'n, 457 U.S. 423, 435, 102 S.Ct. 2515, 2523 (1982).

19A

court thinks proper. Instead, it decides not to interfere at all,

leaving to the state agency, the state courts, and, ultimately, the

United States Supreme Court, the interpretation of both state and

federal law and the ultimate protection of the federal constitution.

While more facts are now known, NOPSI foresaw the issues

these facts have raised. The first NOPS/ opinion outlined the

issues NOPSI raised at that time:*

NOPSI first raised a statutorily-based preemption claim.

NOPSI alleged that the Council, in setting NOPSI’s retail

rates, had refused to recognize the expenses NOPSI was re-

ired to pay by FERC order: the Council's rate freeze as-

ili

55

ge

é

|

:

i

fF

f

:

'

!

1

‘

i

i

: i |

i

265

|

f

2

3

State integrated electric system would be seriously under-

Council has been completed and the Supreme Court has decided

Mississippi Power & Light, a case in which abstention was not an

“782 F.2d at 1238.

“798 F.2d at 864 n.3.

20A

issue. The Council proceeding, followe4 by the opportunity for

ane enten Gan . a ine judicial tine “

In NOPSI II, NOPSI sought an injunction to prevent the

Council from trapping the FERC-allocated Grand Gulf costs.

argued that the court should wait to see what action the Council

took. Until then, the issue was not ready for court action. Now

the Council has acted. It retreats to a second line of defense: the

issue is ripe but the court should abstain. The Council’s argu-

ments in the successive cases appear to involve a certain amount

of adroitness, but the opinion in NOPSI I nonetheless requires us

to uphold the district court’s decision to abstain.

IV.

The decision to abstain from intervening at an earlier stage and

not to restrict the Council's action to purely retail ratemaking

concerns, as may have been permitted by Nantahala, allowed the

Council to proceed with a hearing at least ostensibly addressed

to retail ratemaking. Abstention necessarily forces the state

courts to consider the application of the Supreme Court decisions

dened by a massive docket, with a case that may involve only the

application of principles it has now clearly articulated. Only that

Court can resolve the conflict among the federal courts about the

appropnateness of abstention in this situation, and it has not yet

spoken. This court has. In so doing, this circuit has made a rule

for this case. NOPSI must seek relief elsewhere.

For these reasons, the judgment is affirmed.

“See Ohio Civil Rights Comm'n v. Dayton Christian Schools, Inc..

—. US. __, — . 106 S.Ct. 2718, 2723 (1986), Middlesex County

Ethics Comm. v. Garden State Bar Ass'n, 457 U.S. at 432-34, 102 S.Ct.

at 2521-22.

21A

DISTRICT COURT OPINION AND ORDER

[MARCH 10, 1988]

22A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

NEW ORLEANS PUBLIC SERVICE,

INC.,

CIVIL ACTION

VERSUS | NO. 88-559

SECTION “D” (2)

THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF

NEW ORLEANS, ET AL.

OPINION AND ORDER

For the third time in as many years these parties are before this

court embroiled in a dispute over the Defendants’, the Council of

the City of New Orleans (“The Council’), regulatory actions

concerning New Orleans Public Service, Inc. (“NOPSI’’) and

Grand Gulf I, a nuclear power plant located near Port Gibson,

Mississippi. NOPSI, a subsidiary of Middle South Utilities, Inc.

(“MSU”), provides electric service to most of the City of New

Orleans. NOPSI also engages in the production, wholesale inter-

state purchase, wholesale interstate sale and retail sale of electric

power. With the exception of a brief period, the Council has

exercised local regulatory jurisdiction over NOPSI since 1922.

Pursuant to an “Opinion and Order Setting Just Reasonable

and Non-Discriminatory Rates,” 31 F.E.R.C. (CCH) para. 61,

305 (June 13, 1985) (“Opinion No. 234’), the Federal Energy

Regulatory Commission (“FERC”’), allocated the costs of Grand

Gulf I among four MSU subsidiaries: Arkansas Power & Light

Co.; Louisiana Power & Light Co.; Mississippi Power & Light

Co.; and NOPSI. NOPSI’s share of Grand Gulf I costs under

Opinion No. 234 is 17%. In July 1985, NOPSI began paying its

17% of the costs, approximately $13 million a month, to System

ie hes

23A

Energy Resources, Inc. (“SERI’’) (formerly Middle South Ener-

gy, Inc. (“MSE”’)), another MSU subsidiary and principal owner

of Grand Gulf I.

NOPSI’s third trip to this court, like its second,' arises out of

the Council's investigation of NOPSI’s prudence with respect to

investment, oversight, and participation in the Grand Gulf I

project. After the FERC issued Opinion No. 234, NOPSI

initiated a retail rate making proceeding before the Council by

requesting permission to increase its electric rates to recover

expenses associated with Grand Gulf I. After several hearings

and extensive federal court litigation (i.e, NOPSI J), on March

20, 1986 the Council adopted Resolution No. R-86-112, which

accepted, subject to certain modifications, a settlement proposal

advanced by NOPSI with respect to its application for permanent

rate relief. The settlement required that NOPSI’s shareholders

absorb approximately $51.2 million of Grand Gulf I costs and

"provided that remaining costs would be phased into retail electric

rates over a period of approximately twelve years, with annual

rate increases limited to approximately 6%. The settlement

expressly reserved to the Council the right to conduct an

investigation of NOPSI’s prudence with respect to Grand Gulf I.

On October 17, 1985, the Council adopted Resolution No.

R-85-636 by which it initiated its inquiry into the prudence of

NOPSI's involvement in Grand Gulf I. The prudence inquiry

proceeded in three phases. The first, dealing primarily with

'See, New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v. City of New Orleans, No.

85-5273 (E.D. La. December 19, 1986), aff'd, 833 F.2d 583 (Sth Cir.

1987) (“NOPSI II"). In NOPSI II, NOPSI sought an order preventing

the Council from impermissibly “trapping” FERC allocated Grand

Gulf I costs as a result of the Council’s prudence inquiry. This court

dismissed the suit in NOPS/ I] on grounds of ripeness and abstention.

For a history of NOPSI’s first trip to this court see the Fifth Circuit

Opinion in New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v. City of New Orleans, 782

F.2d 1236, withdrawn in part, 798 F.2d 858 (Sth Cir. 1986), cert. denied,

107 S. Ct. 1910 (U.S. 1987) (“NOPSI I”).

24A

substantive questions bearing on prudence, involved evidentiary

hearings in April 1986. In May 1986, the Council set dates for

additional discovery, testimony and hearings on the second phase

which involved the economic impact of possible remedies if im-

prudence were ultimately found. Hearings on this second phase

were held in October 1986. The passage of the Tax Reform Act

of 1986 during the hearings required a material reconsideration

of economic issues and a third and final hearing was held for that

purpose in February 1987.

On February 4, 1988, by Resolution No. R-88-14, the Council

formally concluded its prudence investigation by adopting its

“Determinations and Order Regarding the Prudence of the Man-

agement of New Orleans Public Service, Inc. with respect to

Grand Gulf I” (“the Rate Order”). The Rate Order requires a

one-time disallowance and write-off by NOPSI of a sum equal to

$135 million in NOPSi’s deferred Grand Gulf I expenses and a

reduction in planned rate increases commencing April 9, 1988 to

reflect the $135 million disallowance. The Rate Order does not

ostensibly question NOPSI’s FERC-allocated Grand Gulf I costs

and it expressly provides that the disallowance is not based on the

determination that NOPSI was imprudent in committing to an

indeterminate responsibility to pay for Grand Gulf I. Rate Order

at 9-10. Rather, the Council determined that as a result of

NOPSI’s deficient and uncritical oversight of the Grand Gulf |

project and its failure to realistically assess its heightened risk

exposure in the wake of the Three-Mile Island incident, NOPSI

imprudently failed to reduce the risk of its Grand Gulf commit-

ment in 1979 and 1980 by selling a portion of its share of the

nuclea™ power off-system and further did not even attempt to

ascertain whether off-system sales could be accomplished not-

withstanding its President’s assurances to the Council that such

sales were possible. Rate Order at 9-13.

In this suit, NOPSI seeks preliminary and permanent injunc-

tive and declaratory relief from the Council’s Rate Order. NOPSI

alleges that the Rate Order is inconsistent with and preempted

25A

by federal law, that this court is vested with exclusive jurisdiction

by virtue of the Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. § 825p, and that if

the Rate Order is allowed to stand NOPSI will suffer irreparable

harm. The Council has moved to dismiss the Complaint on alter-

native grounds that the court is without jurisdiction to issue an

injunction pursuant to the Johnson Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1342, that

the court should abstain from exercising jurisdiction, and that the

Complaint fails to state a claim upon which relief can be granted.

Both NOPSI’s Motion for a Preliminary Injunction and the

Council’s Motion to Dismiss are now before the court.

At the outset, it is important to note that as the Council has

made a “factual attack” upon this court’s subject matter jurisdic-

tion, the court is “free to weigh the evidence and satisfy itself as

to the existence of its power to hear the case.” Evans v. Tubbe,

657 F.2d 661, 663 (Sth Cir. 1981). Moreover, it is encumbent

upon NOPSI to prove that jurisdiction does in fact exist.

Menchaca v. Chrylser Credit Corp., 613 F.2d 507, 511 (Sth Cir.),

cert. denied, 449 U.S. 953, 101 S. Ct. 358, 66 L. Ed. 2d 217 (1980).

Having considered the Complaint, the Rate Order, the deposi-

tions and affidavits filed herein, the memoranda and attachments

of counsel and the applicable law, and for reasons which follow,

the court is of the opinion that: 1) The Johnson Act does not

preclude jurisdiction in this case; 2) This court does not have

exclusive jurisdiction under the Federal Power Act; and, 3) This

court should abstain from exercising jurisdiction over the claims

presented by NOPSI.

In NOPSI I? this court held that the Johnson Act? precluded

the court from enjoining the Council’s exercise of regulatory

?New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v. The City of New Orleans, Civil

Action No. 85-3398 (E.D. La. Sept. 16, 1985) (NOPSI I Slip Op.).

‘The Johnson Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1342, provides:

The district courts shall not enjoin, suspend or restrain the operation

of, or compliance with, any order affecting rates chargeable by a public

(Footnote continued on next page.)

26A

jurisdiction over NOPSI. Were this court not bound by subse-

quent Fifth Circuit precedent in NOPSI 1,* this court would

again, for essentially the same reasons, find that the four Johnson

Act elements are present in this case. However, this court is not

free to ignore the Fifth Circuit's pronouncement in NOPSI I.

Accordingly, this court is constrained to hold that the Johnson

Act does not preclude jurisdiction to enter the injunctive relief

NOPSI seeks.

Though NOPSI I supports the existence of subject matter

jurisdiction in this case, the parties before the court and the issues

presented are virtually identical to those in NOPSI I and NOPS/

II, and this court is still convinced that abstention is the proper

course under these circumstances. As this court explained in

NOPSI I, abstention embodies the well-established principle that

under the rule of comity in cases dealing with state laws, rules or

policy decisions, equitable considerations will require a federal

court to stay its hand. NOPSI I, Slip Op. at 13; General Invest-

ment Service Corp. v. Wichita Water Co., 236 F.2d 464, 468 (10th

Cir. 1956). Abstention is particularly appropriate where the exer-

cise of federal court jurisdiction would disrupt a state’s adminis-

trative process or interfere with a state’s ability to formulate poli-

cies in complex matters of local concern. Burford v. Sun Oil Co.,

319 U.S. 315, 63 S. Ct. 1098, 87 L. Ed. 2d 1424 (1943). “Burford”

(Footnote continued from previous page.)

utility and made by a State administrative agency or a rate-making body

of a State political subdivision, where:

(1) Jurisdiction is based solely on diversity of citizenship or re-

pugnance of the order to the Federal Constitution; and,

(2) The order does not interfere with interstate commerce; and,

(3) The order has been made after reasonable notice and hearing;

and,

(4) A plain, speedy and efficient remedy may be had in the courts

of such State.

*See Note | supra.

27A

abstention is appropriate where a state’s regulatory scheme

touches complex matters of paramount local concern which re-

quire administrative expertise and the state’s regulatory scheme

id niieie® conte to efiied oon of anal

with federal law can be effectively addressed. NOPS/ I, 798 F.2d

858, 861-62.

As both this court and the Fifth Circuit have previously held,

“the regulation and adjustment of local utility rates is of para-

mount local concern and a matter which demands local adminis-

trative expertise.” Jd. at 862. The fact that the Council has com-

pleted its prudence inquiry does not end the need for state ad-

ministrative involvement. One of the driving concerns of Burford

abstention is for the state’s ability to formulate local administra-

tive policy consistent with federal law without undue interference

from federal courts. Exercise of jurisdiction at this stage would

cy. Finally, the Council’s Rate Order is subject to review in

Louisiana state court.’ Indeed, the Council and other parties

which had intervened in the prudence inquiry have filed suit in

the Civil District Court for the Parish of Orleans in connection

with the Council's Rate Order. NOPSI has likewise filed an ap-

peal in Civil District Court to preserve its rights pending our

decision in this case.’ Though NOPSI’s desire to litigate issues of

federal law in a federal forum is understandable, this court is

confident that Louisiana’s state courts are more than competent

to handle any federal questions presented. Unlike NOPSI, this

‘NOPSI I, 798 F.2d at 862.

*Both of these suits were removed by NOPSI to this court. Motions

to Remand are currently pending in these cases. Lambert Boissiere, Jr..

et al. v. James M. Cain, et al. Civil Action No. 88-581; Alliance for

Affordable Energy, Inc., et al. v. The Council of the City of New Orleans,

et al, Civil Action No. 88-816.

’New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v. The Council of the City of New

Orleans, et al, No. 88-4511 (Civil District Court for the Parish of

Orleans, March 7, 1988).

28A

court does not believe that the Louisiana courts will dispose of

federal issues “from a biased perspective.’ The Louisiana courts

are bound to enforce federal law and this court can only assume

that they will do so. Therfore, this court is convinced that

Burford abstention is appropriate in this case.*

NOPSI argues that the FERC Opinion and Supreme Court

precedent impose a duty on the Council to recognize and “pass

through” FERC-allocated costs except where those costs are off-

set by cost savings in other areas unrelated to the FERC-allocated

costs. This duty, NOPSI contends, is a duty created by a FERC

opinion, and as such, is the subject of exclusive federal jurisdic-

tion under the Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. § 825p. Thus, the

argument goes, abstention is not appropriate since NOPSI cannot

litigate in state court an issue reserved exclusively to federal

court.

Central to NOPSI's argument is the Supreme Court opinion in

Nantahalla Power & Light Co. v. Thornburg, US. __, 106S.

Ct. 2349, 90 L. Ed. 2d 943 (1986). In Nantahalla the FERC had

allocated the available sources of low-cost power between two

utilities located in different states. This necessarily meant that the

utility receiving the lower allocation of low-cost power,

Nantahalla Power and Light Co. (“NP&L”), would have to pur-

chase greater amounts of higher-cost power in order to meet retail

demand and therefore would incur a higher average cost per unit

of power at the wholesale level. The North Carolina Utilities

Commission (“NCUC”) simply substituted its own allocation of

low-cost power in place of the FERC’s for purposes of setting

retail rates. Thus, under the NCUC’s Order, NP&L was forced

to calculate its retail rates as if it received more of the low-cost

power than actually allocated by the FERC.

~ "This court also finds that Younger abstention is applicable in these

circumstances. See VOPSI 1. 798 F.2d 858, 863-64. The appellate re-

view of the Council’s Order constitutes an ongoing judicial proceeding

implicating important state interests, and in that proceeding NOPSI w1!!

have an adequate opportunity to raise its federal claims. /d. at 864

:

:

29A

The Supreme Court held that on the facts presented, the filed

rate doctrine, a principle rooted in the Supremacy Clause, re-

quired the NCUC to pass through in retail rates the wholesale

costs based on the FERC’s allocation of low-cost power. The

court noted that while the NCUC was required to treat FERC-

allocated costs as a “reasonably incurred operating expense foi

the purposes of setting an appropriate retail rate,’ the FERC

allocation need not be passed through entirely where, as an inci-

dent of traditional ratemaking authority, the local regulator

found cost savings in other areas to offset the FERC-allocated

wholesale costs. The Court went on to conclude:

But in this case, there is no finding or indication that

[NP&L’s] costs of obtaining purchased power have de-

creased, or that other costs of operation have declined dra-

matically. There-is only NCUC’s assertion that [NP&L]

should have obtained more of the low-cost FERC regulated

power than [NP&L] is in fact entitled to claim under

FERC’s order. Such a rationale runs directly counter to

FERC’s order ....

Nantahalla, 106 S. Ct. at 2358.

NOPSI reads Naniahalla expansively to require that except for

offsets of cost savings actually experienced in areas completely

unrelated to FERC-allocated costs, the Council must pass

through all FERC-allocated wholesale costs in setting the retail

rate NOPSI may charge its customers. This court does not read

Nantahalla so expansively. The holding in Nantahalla must be

read in the context of the court's analysis of underlying cases and

in light of the facts presented to the Court.

After a careful reading, this court does not believe that the

Nantahalla Court intended to set out an exhaustive catalog of

permissible retail deviations from FERC allocated wholesale

costs. Rather, the Court simply responded to the North Carolina

*Nantahalla, 106 S. Ct. at 2357 (quoting State ex rel Utilities Com-

mission, 313 N.C. 614, 692, 332 S.E.2d 397, 443 (1985)).

30A

Supreme Court’s “oversimplification” of the Narragansett'° line

of cases and concluded that the facts present in NP&L were

distinguishable from those in the Narragansett line. Nantahalla’s

admonition that costs incurred by complying with FERC ordered

energy allocations are to be passed to the consumer cannot be

considered in splendid isolation. Nantahalla did not in any man-

ner involve a prudency issue. In Nantahalla the NCUC simply

refused to recognize the FERC’s allocation without any consid-

eration of managerial prudence or other cost savings available. In

this case, the Council has explicitly recognized the FERC allo-

cated costs, but it has determined that given those costs, NOPSI's

management should have reduced the impact of those costs by

selling some of its Grand Gulf power “off system” as James Cain,

NOPSI’s President, said NOPSI could do. Thus, the Council is

not asserting that NOPSI should have obtained less Grand Gulf,

FERC-regulated power than ordered by the FERC. In essence,

the Council faults NOPSI not for buying a ‘pig in a poke’ but for

failing to find a sucker to buy it when the faux-pas became ap-

parent.'' Though nuclear power may have seemed a wise option

‘Narragansett Electric Co. v. Burke, 119 R.1. 559, 381 A.2d 1358

(1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 972, 98 S. Ct. 1614, 56 L. Ed. 2d 63 (1978).

Public Service Co. of Colorado v. Public Utilities Commission, 644 P 2d

933 (Colo. 1982). In both cases the courts held that the regulatory

authority need not automatically pass through in retail rates an increase

“savings” in other areas which might offset the increased

= * hn 119 RI. at 568, 381 A.2d at 1363; Pudlic

Service Co., 644 P.2d at 941.

\'P.T. Barnum once said of suckers: “There's one born every min-

ute.” This court, however, is not ready to assume there are many, if any,

such suckers purchasing electricity in the wholesale market today. In-

deed, this court is somewhat mystified by the Counc. s logic in arriving

a2 des £9138 ealiien Geationenes io Ge Dee Cte. ee coin

the Council simply concluded that since James Cain said so, savings

were actually possible. Then, iy ey go

a figure of 8% for the prudence disallowance. However, the

Council, and in this case, everyone else knows that the 8% figure wos

(Footnote continued on next page.)

31A

when MSU and NOPSI first committed to Grand Gulf in the

1970's, recent events have proven it otherwise. So, while

Nantahalla does foreclose the Council's review of the 17% man-

datory allocation of FERC, it does not foreclose an inquiry into

the prudency of NOPSI’s acts or omissions in the face of the

anticipated and unwelcome FERC allocation. These are the in-

quiries which the Council’s Rate Order ostensibly addresses.

But even if this court accepted NOPSI’s reading of Nantahalla,

that opinion does not create a duty under the Federal Power Act,

16 U.S.C. § 825p. NOPSI's argument cannot be squared with the

structure of the Federal Power Act (“FPA”), the Fifth Circuit's

revised opinion in NOPSI J, or the language of Nantahalla itself.

As this court and others have explained, the FPA delegated to

the FERC exclusive authority to regulate interstate transmission

and sale at wholesale of electric energy while reserving to the

States regulatory jurisdiction over generation facilities and the

intrastate transmission of electric energy. NOPS/ J, 798 F.2d at

860. That conflicts might arise over a state’s attempt to regulate

matters reserved to the FERC was foreseeable. Courts therefore

developed the filed rate doctrine to ensure the supremacy of the

FERC’s orders in state as well as federal proceedings. To hold

that Nantahalla, which is based explicitly on the filed rate doc-

trine and preemption, creates a duty enforceable under § 825p

flies in the face of numerous state court decisions, including

Nantahalla, in which state courts have addressed federal issues

of preemption. Were NOPSI’s position correct state courts which

routinely address preemption issues in utility rate cases would be

(Footnote continued from previous page.)

not pulled from thin air but represents the difference between FERC’s

17% allocation and what NOPSI consistently claims as its relative share

in the MSU system, i.e. 9%. Thus, the disallowed costs bear no apparent

relationship to the savings NOPSI is said to have foregone. Must not

the “savings” posited as the reason for the disallowance be at least

32A

without jurisdiction. Such a position is untenable. In NOPS/ /,

the Fifth Circuit implicitly rejected this proposition. This court

does so explicitly. The issues reserved to the federal courts by 16

U.S.C. § 825p are those directly related to the FPA, the FERC’s

orders thereunder, and the obligations imposed by those orders. '’

This case simply presents no such issue.

NOPSI further argues that abstention is not appropriate since

the Council's Rate Order is entirely preempted as a matter of

federal law. This argument fails on two points: As discussed

above, Nantahalla does not support preemption of the Council's

Rate Order. But even if Vantahalla could be read to support

preemption here, it does not preclude abstention where there is

no direct facial conflict with the FERC Order or where the gov-

ernment has not preempted the entire field. Aluminum Company

of America v. Utilities Commission of North Carolina, 713 F.2d

1024 (4th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1052 (1984)(“Alcoa”’).

abstention, this court need not examine the indirect effects of the

Rate Order on the FERC allocation as a prerequisite to absten-

tion. Id.

The Rate Order, on its face, sets only retail rates; it does not

attempt to order that NOPSI pay SERI any amount different

from that ordered by the FERC. Thus, there is no facial conflict

with FERC Opinion No. 234. Furthermore, the division of feder-

al and state authority in the Federal Power Act makes it clear

that the government has not entirely preempted state regulation

of retail sales of electricity. Since the circumstances are otherwise

appropriate for Burfu. ” abstention, this court need not and will

'*For example, the Federal Power Act imposes duties upon utilities,

among ‘thers, to apply to the FERC for approval before disposition of

certain property, § 825b; to refrain from undue preferences and

unreasonable differences in rates, § and to keep certain records,

§ 825. Similarly, FERC Opinion 234 imposes on NOPSI the duty to pay

SERI a certain percentage of the costs of Grand Gulf |. Any suit to

enforce these duties would be subject to exclusive federal jurisdiction.

33A

not look further. Despite NOPSI's persistent invocation of federal

jurisdiction in NOPSI I, NOPSI II and here, in what is sure to

become NOPS/ III, the court remains convinced that abstention

is the proper course under these circumstances. Like the path

followed in Nantahaila, NOPSI's plea for relief should be liti-

gated first in the state court forum. Either party may then seek

United States Supreme Court review of the final determination by

the Louisiana state courts. Accordingly;

IT IS ORDERED that the Council's Motion to Dismiss be and

is hereby GRANTED and NOPSI's Complaint for Preliminary

and Permanent Injunctive and Declaratory Relief is hereby DIS-

MISSED without prejudice.

New Orleans, Louisiana, this 10th day of March, 1988.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

JUDGE

COURT OF APPEALS JUDGMENT

[JULY 28, 1988)

35A

Gnited States Court of Appeals

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 88-3194

D.C. Docket No. CA-88-559-D

NEW ORLEANS PUBLIC SERVICE, INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

—wersus

THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF

NEW ORLEANS, ET AL.,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Eastern

District of Louisiana

Before RUBIN, GARZA, and JONES, Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the record on appeal and

was argued by counsel.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here ordered

and adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the District

Court in this cause is affirmed.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that plaintiff-appellant pay to

defendants-appellees the costs on appeal, to be taxed by the Clerk

of this Court.

July 28, 1988

ISSUED AS MANDATE: August 19, 1988

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.