Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Burlington Northern Railroad v. Gulati

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

NOV 26 1986

No.

JOSEPH E USPANIOL, JR.

CTERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

BURLINGTON NORTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY,

Petitioner,

V.

ROMESH GULATI,

| Respondent.

|

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

| TO THE SUPREME COURT OF MINNESOTA

RICHARD J. SCHREIBER RONALD S. FLAGG

RICHARD V. WICKA SIDLEY & AUSTIN

BURLINGTON NORTHERN 1722 Eye Street, N.W.

RAILROAD COMPANY Washington, D.C. 20006

3800 Continental Plaza (202) 429-4000

Ft. Worth, TX 76102

* Counsel of Record

EDMUND W. BURKE REX E. LEE *

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Minnesota Supreme Court erred in hold-

ing that a claim for intentional infliction of emo-

tional distress is actionable under state law where

the alleged source of the emotional injuries was work-

place disputes with supervisors and co-workers sub-

ject to mandatory grievance procedures under the

Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §§ 151, et seq.

2. Whether the Minnesota Supreme Court erred in hold-

ing that such a state law claim is not preempted by

the Federal Employers’ Liability Act, 45 U.S.C. §§ 51,

et seq.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED aa , i

Neen a ines cetnsassnicsnilindminkersaies 1

JURISDICTION 2

STATUTES INVOLVED 2

Sinn chssindellsbblecionduisnandeaanmncapaneescedentessanencsanesnans e 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT... 9

EERE SEA RN i eT ee 19

ENERO I SD a salenes la

(iii)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Adkins v. Chesapeake and Ohio Ry., No. 85-1204

(4th Cir., Oct. 3, 1985) (unpublished order),

petition for cert. pending, No. 85-1099 —........... 11, 14

Anderson V. Burlington Northern, Inc., 469 F.2d

Be EE C-SI etercitinceincsdcasiasnticcenicipiidsibtindsminsanes 17, 18

Andrews Vv. Louisville & N. R. R., 406 U.S. 320

GAIT nixcicsesee ES Rae Or Fare me Ree 2 eee eva Ten EO 7, 12,16

Antalek v. Norfolk & W. Ry., No. 84-3057 (6th Cir.,

Aug. 30, 1984) (unpublished order) ............... 11, 14

Beers v. Southern Pacific Transp. Co., 703 F.2d

Oe a eeanilineneenetes 11,14

Brady v. Southern Ry., 320 U.S. 476 (1943) -......... 18

Brotherhood of Locomotive Eng’rs v. Louisville &

atm RE US, CUR ee 12

Buell vy. Atchison T. & S.F. Ry., 771 F.2d 1320 (9th

Cir. 1985), cert. granted, 106 S.Ct. 1946 (1986) ..passim

Carson V. Southern Ry., 494 F.Supp. 1104 (D.S.C.

BRR Re net a OR oe RE RE Svi Rr ale Na 14

Choate v. Louisville & N. R.R., 715 F.2d 369 (7th

SE IELTS NEEL ene RR Es ARORA RE: 7,11, 14

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469

gta nt STE RS OC ee kN SP NS ON RMIT 2

DeTomaso V. Pan American World Airways, Inc.,

174 Cal. App.3d 1170 (Cal. App. 1985), appeal

pending, 714 P.2d 1239 (1986) _............................. 9

Detroit and T. Shore Line R.R. v. United Transp.

oe Bk BR! 2: ) SE eoernan cane 13

Elgin, J. & E. Ry. v. Burley, 325 U.S. 711 (1945)... 7, 12,

13

Farmer v. United Brotherhood of Carpenters &

Joiners of America, cocal 25, 430 U.S. 290

i. RRS RM BR a SE SO as Nec on AAT Ce 8, 16

Fraley v. Hayes, 112 BNA LRRM 2298 (S.D. Il.

a ee es aR een emebeaehocecnmies 14

Gulati v. Burlington Northern, Inc., Civ. 3-82-679

A ae Re ea 6

Hanson vy. City of Tacoma, 719 P.2d 104 (Wash.

ASRS A COURT OO al Me ORS Orfeo Shey is 2a OO 10

Haagerson Vv. National Farmers Union Property

and Casualty Co.,277 N.W.2d 648 (Minn. 1979).. 8

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Heater v. Chesapeake and Ohio Ry., 497 F.2d 1243

(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1013 (1974)...

Illinois Central R.R. v. Brotherhood of Locomotive

Firemen and Enginemen, 332 F.2d 850 (7th

Cir.), cert. denied, 379 U.S. 932 (1964) _..... La ee

Jackson V. Consolidated Rail Corp., 717 F.2d 1045

(7th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1007

Page

17

CHIE smiiicclacccrnreticatsisonateaeddnedaane 7,11, 14, 16

Janelle v. Seaboard Coast Line R.R., 524 F.2d 1259

Cte CA TINE ciscnsisivssncctid creates be

Jess V. Great Northern Railway Co., 401 F.2d 535

COE Gy Se soko eee res ae

Koehler vy. Illinois Central Gulf R.R., 109 Til. 2d

473, 488 N.E.2d 542 (Ill. 1985), cert. denied,

17

106 S.Ct. 3297 (1986) .............. skeeraes tS ee 11, 16

Landfried v. Terminal Railroad Ass’n of St. Louis,

721 F.2d 254 (8th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 466

Waihi Se a

Louisiana and Arkansas Ry. v. Pratt, 142 F.2d 847

(5th Cir. 1944) ........ Jssittedca sate lasagne geancianel ead

Magnuson V. Burlington Northern, Inc., 576 F.2d

1367 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 930

CEN cei ciecctapiintadnaisinasectntiiniiumenann aaa mene

Minehart v. Louisville & N. R.R., 731 F.2d 342

CGE SP. SGD ce ciniccsnaaaes nee

Missouri-Kan.-Tex. R.R. v. Brotherhood of Rail-

road Trainmen, 342 F.2d 298 (5th Cir. 1965) ......

Mondou v. New York, New Haven and Hartford

Railroad Co. (Second Employers’ Liability

oS - . e e ene

New York Central & Hudson R.R. v. Tonsellito,

DOG UE GE CHESS cccctcchccetosnbidetimase ss

New York Central R.R. v. Winfield, 244 U.S. 147

| RCM pa ReMad tac er Pinks CORES SNE Sn ents

Pennsylvania R.R. v. Day, 360 U.S. 548 (1959) .......

Peterson vy. Air Line Pilots Ass’n Int'l, 759 F.2d

1161 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 106 S.Ct. 312

CRED | sicciscinininsnitiiilniniadainuaaseaicha aida ilaiernetcad aaa aanemeaton ae

passim

14

13

18

17

17

13

16

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Puchert v. Agsalud, 677 P.2d 449 (Hawaii 1984),

appeal dismissed sub nom. Pan American World

Airways Inc. Vv. Puchert, 105 S. Ct. 2693 (1985) .. 10

Railway Labor Executives Ass'n Vv. Atchison, T. &

S.F. Ry., 430 F.2d 994 (9th Cir. 1970), cert.

Gane, GOD Gae> Te COED cintticdetacicnaciateiitstansin 13

Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. 1 (1984) ..... 2

Transportation-Communication Employees Union

v. Union Pacific R.R., 385 U.S. 157 (1966) —...... 15

Trombetta v. Detroit, Toledo & Ironton R.R., 265

N.W.2d 385 (Mich. App. 1978) ...... [Piles se 10

Union Pacific R.R. v. Sheehan, 439 U.S. 89 (1978) .. 12

United Steelworkers of America Vv. Warrior and

Gulf Nav. Co., 363 U.S. 574 (1960) -................ 15

Statutes

Civil Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e, et seq.

Federal Employers’ Liability Act, 45 U.S.C. $§ 51,

GB GIA, ciccsssiccainasecsonsediaebaetapenssenteniclesdccteenenn passim

Minn. R. Civ. App. P. 108.03 (h) ................................ 6

Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §§ 151, ¢? seq. .......... passim

BD Woeteteie Oe Se COD cetcnesnstnicsacennascetesiaeinunebceneseaies 2

Legislative Materials

H.R. Rep. No. 1386, 60th Cong., Ist Sess. (1908). 16

Miscellaneous

Restatement (Second) of Torts § 46, Comment d

CRED csscccasassunicabialbteasessiaamatieiasecs acim 8

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Wuited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

No.

BURLINGTON NORTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY,

Petitioner,

Vv.

ROMESH GULATI,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF MINNESOTA

Burlington Northern Railroad Company’ hereby peti-

tions for a writ of certiorari to review the decision of

the Minnesota Supreme Court in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the Minnesota Supreme Court (App.,

infra, la-27a) is reported at 390 N.W.2d 743 (1986).

The decision of the Minnesota Court of Appeals (App.,

infra, 29a-37a) is reported at 364 N.W.2d 446 (1985).

The decision of the Hennepin County District Court

(App., tifra, 40a-43a) is not reported.

! The corporations which require disclosure pursuant to Rule 28.1

of this Court’s Rules are listed, App., infra, 50a-52a.

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Minnesota Supreme Court was

entered on August 1, 1986. The order of that court deny-

ing Burlington Northern’s petition for rehearing was

entered on August 29, 1986 (App., infra, 44a). The ju-

risdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1257(3). See Southiand Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. 1,

6-7 (1984); Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S.

469, 482-83 (1975).

STATUTES INVOLVED

Title I, Section 2 of the Railway Labor Act (“RLA”)

45 U.S.C. § 151a, provides in pertinent part:

“The purposes of the Chapter are: (1) To avoid any

inteterruption to commerce or to the operation of

any carrier engaged therein ... (5) to provide for

the prompt and orderly settlement of all disputes

growing out of grievances or out of the interpreta-

tion or application of agreements covering rates of

pay, rules or working conditions.”

Title I, Section 2 of the RLA, 45 U.S.C. § 152, pro-

vides in pertinent part:

“First. Duty of carriers and employees to settle

disputes. It shall be the duty of all carriers, their

officers, agents, and employees to exert every reason-

able effort to make and maintain agreements con-

cerning rates of pay, rules and working conditions,

and to settle all disputes, whether arising out of the

application of such agreements or otherwise, in order

to avoid any interruption to commerce or to the op-

eration of any carrier growing out of any dispute

between the carrier and the employees thereof.”

“Second. Consideration of disputes by representa-

tives. All disputes between a carrier or carriers

and its or their employees shall be considered, and,

if possible, decided, with all expedition, in conference

between representatives designated and authorized

3

so to confer, respectively, by the carrier or carriers

and by the employees thereof interested in the dis-

pute.” *

Section 1 of the Federal Employers’ Liability Act

(“FELA”), 45 U.S.C. § 51, provides in pertinent part:

“Every common carrier by railroad while engaging

in commerce between any of the several States...

shall be liable in damages to any person suffering

injury while he is employed by such carrier in such

commerce . . . resulting in whole or in part from

the negligence of any of the officers, agents, or em-

ployees of such carrier, or by reason of any defect

or insufficiency, due to its negligence, in its cars,

engines, appliances, machinery, track, roadbed,

works, boats, wharves, or other equipment.”

STATEMENT

1. Petitioner, Burlington Northern, is a common car-

rier by rail operating in the western United States. Re-

spondent, Romesh Gulati, was hired as a machinist in

1967. App., infra, 4a.

A collective bargaining agreement (the “Agreement” )

entered into pursuant to the RLA governs the relation-

ship between members of the Machinists Union, includ-

ing respondent, and Burlington Northern. Rule 34 of the

Agreement provides a detailed mechanism whereby an

aggrieved employee, with or without the assistance of his

union representatives, can initiate and prosecute a griev-

ance through successive levels of appeal, up to and in-

cluding mutually binding arbitration before a National

Raiiroad Adjustment Board (“NRAB”) (App., infra,

46a-48a).* Under Rule 35 of the Agreement, employees

2 The text of 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (i), setting forth the pro-

cedures applicable to resolution of grievances under the RLA, is

provided in App., infra, 45a.

% Under Sections 2(5) and 3 First of the RLA “all disputes . . .

growing out of grievances or out of the interpretation or applica-

4

may be disciplined, following investigation, for violation

of petitioner’s rules including those set forth in peti-

tioner’s Safety Rules, which govern the conduct of su-

pervisors and other employees. Id. at 48a-49a.

In 1975, respondent injured his hand during the course

of his employment with petitioner (App., infra, 5a). He

brought suit on September 21, 1977 under the FELA to

recover damages for lost wages and permanent disability

of his hand. Id. Petitioner settled respondent’s FELA

suit on March 10, 1980, agreeing to pay respondent

$47,250 and to allow him to continue working as a ma-

chinist for the railroad company. Jd.

Respondent’s claims in this case arise out of a series

of incidents commencing after that settlement. On July

31, 1980, petitioner sent respondent a notice that the

company was investigating him for allegedly falsifying

a time card (App., infra, 5a). Pursuant to Rule 35 of

the Agreement, respondent was requested to appear at

a hearing concerning this charge, at which he maintained

that a fellow employee had altered the time card. Id.

Following the investigation, petitioner dropped the

charge against respondent. Id.

On August 4, 1980, Burlington Northern sent another

notice to respondent, alleging that he had been involved

in an altercation during work hours (App., infra, 5a).

tion of agreements concerning rates of pay, rules or working condi-

tions” must be submitted to federally constituted arbitration panels

up to the level of the NRAB. 45 U.S.C. §§ 151a(5), 153 First. Sec-

tion 3 First’s mandatory and exclusive procedures govern a vast

number of employee grievances annually—by recent estimate over

180,000 grievances among major carriers in the railroad industry

alone. See Amicus Brief for Association of American Railroads

and National Association of Railroad Trial Counsel at 7 & n.6,

Atchison, T. & S. F. Ry. Vv. Buell, No. 85-1140 (petition granted

May 5, 1986) (more than 183,800 grievances handied annually by

‘“chief operating officer... designated to handle such disputes”

at 12 major carriers).

5

Again, following an investigatory hearing held pursuant

to Rule 35, petitioner dropped the disciplinary charge

against respondent.

On September 5, 1980, petitioner notified respondent

that the company was investigating him for leaving work

one day without proper authorization in violation of pe-

titioner’s Safety Rules (App., infra, 6a). After a hear-

ing pursuant to Rule 35, the railroad discharged re-

spondent for his unexcused absence. Id. Respondent ap-

pealed this decision to the NRAB, Public Law Board

3008, which denied respondent’s claim and upheld his

dismissal. Id.

Respondent alleges that, between the time of the settle-

ment agreement in March, 1980 and his discharge in

October, 1980, he was subject to other acts which con-

tributed to his emotional distress. Among other things,

he alleges he was under extraordinary scrutiny by his

supervisors, that he was the target of ethnic slurs and

derogatory names by his supervisors, that his private

locker was ransacked, and that epithets written about

him in the men’s room were not removed despite his

protests (App., infra, 41a) .4

2. Rather than seek relief for this alleged misconduct

through the administrative machinery created by Section

3 First of the RLA, respondent filed suit against Bur-

lington Northern in Hennepin County District Court on

April 12, 1982 (App., infra, 6a). He alleged three

causes of action: (1) that petitioner breached the 1980

settlement of his FELA claim; (2) that the company

wrongfully discharged him; and (8) that petitioner in-

flicted emotional distress on him through a pattern of

4 Six months after his discharge from Burlington Northern on

March 30, 1981, respondent suffered a heart attack (App., infra,

6a). After his discharge, respondent also began consulting a

psychiatrist. Jd.

6

harassment.’ Jd. Burlington Northern moved to dismiss

the complaint on the ground that RLA’s procedures for

resolving grievances provided the exclusive remedy for

respondent’s claims.

The district court granted the railroad’s motion on two

of respondent’s claims, concluding that the wrongful dis-

charge and breach-of-contract claims were preempted by

the RLA (App., infra, 40a-43a). The court, however,

denied the railroad’s motion to dismiss the claim of in-

tentional infliction of emotional distress. Jd. The court

held that because “the alleged tortious conduct occurred

over a long period of time and it hardly could be con-

sidered a normal incident of employment . . . state judi-

cial supervision would not interfere with a federal regu-

latory scheme [i.e., the RLA].” Jd. at 42a.

Burlington Northern petitioned the court to certify

the preemption question to the Minnesota Court of Ap-

peals under Rule 103.03(h) of the Minnesota Rules of

Civil Appellate Procedure. The district court granted

the motion and certified the question: “Does the Railway

Labor Act and/or the Federal Employer’s Liability Act

pre-empt state court jurisdiction over plaintiff’s claim

of intentional infliction of emotional distress?” (App.,

infra, 39a).

3. In a decision entered March 12, 1985, the court of

appeals held that, although the RLA preempts a claim of

infliction of emotional distress where the distress results

from a discharge by a railroad, neither the RLA nor

the FELA preempts such a claim where the emotional

distress results from a pattern of employer harassment

(App., infra, 29a-37a). In so holding the court reasoned

(id. at 36a) :

5 Respondent also filed a separate lawsuit based on the same facts

under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e,

et seq., in federal court. Gulati v. Burlington Northern, Inc., Civ.

3-82-679 (D. Minn.).

7

“{I]n an action for intentional infliction of emo-

tional distress, there will be no need to interfere

with the jurisdiction of the RLA because the charges

did not result in discipline. Rather, the focus of the

state inquiry will be whether the unfounded charge

against Gulati and investigations that appear in a

category not envisioned by the collective bargaining

agreement were brought to intimidate him, thereby

inflicting emotional distress.”

4. The Minnesota Supreme Court granted Burlington

Northern’s petition for further review of the certified

question on May 24, 1985. In a decision entered August

1, 1986, the court answered the question in the negative

(App., infra, la-27a).

First, the court considered whether the mandatory

grievance procedures set forth by the RLA preempted

respondent’s claim for intentional infliction of emotional

distress. The court acknowledged that under decisions of

this Court, as well as several other courts, actions

brought under state law are preempted where the labor-

management disputes are minor disputes* subject to

RLA-mandated grievance procedures provided in collec-

tive bargaining agreements. Jd. at 13a, citing Andrews

v. Louisville & N.R.R., 406 U.S. 320 (1972) ; Jackson v.

Consolidated Rail Corp., 717 F.2d 1045 (7th Cir. 1983),

cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1007 (1984); Choate v. Louisville

& N.R.R., 715 F.2d 369 (7th Cir. 1983); Magnuson v.

Burlington Northern, Inc., 576 F.2d 1867 (9th Cir.),

® As this Court explained in Elgin, J. & E. Ry. v. Burley, 325 U.S.

711, 723 (1945), the RLA divides labor disputes into two categories:

the first, “major disputes,” relates to “the formation of collective

agreements or efforts to secure them,” and the second, “minor

disputes,” relates to the interpretation of a collective bargaining

agreement or “disputes founded upon some incident of the employ-

ment relation.” Under the RLA, major disputes are subject to the

exclusive jurisdiction of the National Mediation Board (45 U.S.C.

§ 154), while minor disputes are subject to the exclusive jurisdic-

tion of the National Railroad Adjustment Board (“NRAB”) (45

U.S.C. § 158). 325 U.S. at 722.

8

cert. denied, 439 U.S. 930 (1978). However, the Court

found that allegations of a “pattern of harassment” do

not constitute a minor dispute and thus distinguished

this case from the above-cited decisions (App., infra,

18a-14a) :

“Unlike a claim of wrongful discharge, a claim of

intentional infliction of emotional distress where the

distress results from a continual pattern of harass-

ment is not a minor dispute under the RLA. Such

a claim does not ‘stem from differing interpretations

of the collective-bargaining agreement,’ Andrews,

406 U.S. at 324, but rather is premised on the tort-

law principle that citizens of our state must be pro-

tected from conduct ‘so atrocious that it passes the

boundaries of decency and is utterly intolerable to

the civilized community.’ Haagenson v. National

Farmers Union Property and Casualty Co., 277 N.W.

2d 648, 652 n.3 (Minn. 1979) (citing the Restate-

ment (Second) of Torts § 46, Comment d (1965) ).

The conduct that . . . Gulati allege[s] transcends

the four corners of the collective-bargaining agree-

ment Burlington Northern entered into with its em-

ployees. The alleged behavior, if proven, will con-

stitute a continual pattern of harassment on the part

of Burlington Northern, conduct that is not merely a

wrongful-discharge claim or other grievance pre-

mised on a collective-bargaining agreement.”

In support of its conclusion, the court also cited the

decision in Farmer v. United Brotherhood of Carpenters

& Joiners of America, Local 25, 480 U.S. 290 (1977), in

which this Court held that the National Labor Relations

Act (“NLRA’’) did not preempt a union member’s state

law claim of intentional infliction of emotional distress

(App., infra, 16a-17a). The Minnesota Supreme Court

relied on Farmer in concluding that its “recognition of

a state remedy for the intentional infliction of emotional

distress in this case would not frustrate the collective-

bargaining process of the RLA.” Id. at 18a.

9

Second, the court considered whether respondent’s ac-

tion was preempted by the FELA. The court held that

“{a]n examination of federal case law . .. reveals that

recovery for intentional acts under the FELA is limited

to intentional toris that cause physical injury” (App.,

infra, 21a, emphasis in original).? By contrast, “to re-

cover for the intentional infliction of emotional distress,

a plaintiff need not establish any physical injury.” Jd.

The court recognized “that some potential for interfer-

ence may be present when a railway employee sues in

state court for intentional infliction of emotional dis-

tress” because the “enactment of a federal compensatory

scheme implies that Congress did not intend for inter-

state commerce to be hampered by different state systems

of compensation” (App., infra, 24a). Nonetheless, the

Court concluded that “such interference . . . is minimized

where emotional harm is alleged to have resulted from

a continual pattern of intentional acts. The claim of

intentional infliction of emotional distress lies outside the

scope of the federal statute, which was enacted to com-

pensate only physical injuries resulting from negligence.”

Id.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision of the Minnesota Supreme Court permits

railroad employees with grievances concerning working

conditions to evade, by means of artful pleading under

state tort law, grievance procedures explicitly provided

by the RLA as the exclusive means of resolving such dis-

putes. The decision is only one among a wave of recent

state court decisions that have permitted such an eva-

sion.®

™The couri acknowledged (id.) that its holding on this point

conflicts with the Ninth Circuit’s decision in Buell v. Atchison, T.

& S. F. Ry., 771 F.2d 1320 (9th Cir. 1985), cert. granted, 106

S. Ct. 1946 (1986).

8 See, e.g., DeTomaso Vv. Pan American World Airways, Inc., 174

Cal. App.3d 1170 (Cal. App. 1985), appeal pending, 714 P.2d 1239

10

The Minnesota court’s opinion conflicts with the deci-

sions of this Court and those of the courts of appeals

for several circuits which have made clear that Congress

intended the grievance provisions of the RLA to be in-

terpreted broadly in order to facilitate the “prompt and

orderly settlements of all disputes growing out of griev-

ances” in the railroad industry. 45 U.S.C. § 151a(5)

(emphasis supplied). Consistent with this principle, the

recent decisions of the courts of appeals in at least four

circuits have held that a cause of action for intentional

infliction of emotional distress is preempted by the RLA,

precisely because a contrary interpretation—such as that

of the Minnesota Supreme Court—invites litigants to

avoid the grievance resolution mechanism required by

the RLA. The Minnesota Supreme Court’s decision—as

well as the other state court decisions cited supra—also

conflict with decisions of this Court and the court of ap-

peals for several circuits holding that the liability of any

interstate railway carrier for injuries to its employees

is governed exclusively by the provisions of the FELA.

The issues raised by the Minnesota Supreme Court’s

decision, which affect railroad employees throughout the

country, are arising with increasing frequency, and have

resulted in several recent inconsistent decisions—one of

which is presently pending before this Court for resolu-

tion on the merits. In The Atchison, T. and S. F. Ry. Vv.

Buell, No. 85-1140, the issues are whether an alleged pat-

tern of harassment by a railroad supervisor constitutes a

minor dispute under the RLA and whether a claim solely

for emotional distress is cognizable under the FELA.®

(1986) ; Hanson v. City of Tacoma, 719 P.2d 104 (Wash. 1986);

Puchert v. Agsalud, 677 P.2d 449 (Hawaii 1984), appeal dismissed

sub nom. Pan American World Airways, Inc. v. Puchert, 105 S. Ct.

2693 (1985); Trombetta v. Detroit, Toledo & Ironton R.R., 265

N.W.2d 385 (Mich. App. 1978).

®In Buell, the Ninth Circuit held that a claim for emotional

distress was actionable under the FELA, even where the alleged

11

We believe that the Court should either hold this case

pending a decision in Buell or review this case as well.

A decision in Buell concerning the scope of minor dis-

putes under the RLA could control the issue in this case

concerning the applicability of the RLA to claims of a

pattern of harassment. Similarly, a decision in Buell

resolving whether claims solely for emotional distress are

cognizable under the FELA would obviously apply in this

case as well. However, this case differs from Buell in

that here the railway employee has alleged intentional

infliction of emotional distress under state law, and thus

this case involves the issue of whether the RLA pre-

empts a state tort cause of action. By contrast, the

claims in Buell have been raised under the FELA and,

thus, in that case the Court must attempt to accommo-

date the policies of two federal statutes. Accordingly,

the growing conflict over whether state tort remedies

are preempted by the RLA might not be definitively re-

solved unless this case is also reviewed.

1. Railroad employee disputes are governed by the

RLA, 45 U.S.C. § 151 et seg. The Act states that one of

its general purposes is “to provide for the prompt and

source of such injuries was a workplace dispute subject to the man-

datory grievance procedures that had been initiated pursuant to the

RLA. By contrast, in numerous other cases, courts have held that

claims for emotional distress (whether brought under the FELA or

state tort law) arising from workplace disputes are directly related

to the employer-employee relationship and thus must be resolved

pursuant to the grievance procedures required by the RLA. See,

e.y., Adkins v. Chesapeake and Ohio Ry., No. 85-1204 (4th Cir.,

Oct. 3, 1985) (unpublished order), petition for cert. pending, No.

85-1099; Antalek v. Norfolk and W. Ry., No. 84-3057 (6th Cir.,

Aug. 30, 1984) (unpublished order); Beers v. Southern Pacific

Transp. Co., 703 F.2d 425, 428-29 (9th Cir. 1983); Magnuson v.

Burlington Northern, Inc., 576 F.2d at 1368-70; Jackson v. Con-

solidated Rail Corp., 717 F.2d at 1048-54; Choate v. Louisville &

N.R.R., 715 F.2d at 370-72; Koehler v. Illinois Ceneral Gulf R.R.,

109 Ill.2d 473, 488 N.E.2d 542, 545-46 (Ill. 1985), cert. denied, 106

S. Ct. 3297 (1986).

12

orderly settlement of all disputes growing out of griev-

ances or out of the interpretation or application of agree-

ments covering rates of pay, rules or working conditions.

45 U.S.C. §151a(5). So-called “minor disputes” are

those which involve either the meaning or application of

the collective bargaining agreement or an employment

dispute not covered by the agreement. Elgin, J. & E. Ry.

v. Burley, 325 U.S. 711, 723 (1945). The fact that they

are labelled “minor” disputes does not mean they are

unimportant. Rather, “minor disputes” cover the broad

range of grievances that arise daily between employees

and carriers regarding rates of pay, rules and working

conditions. Union Pacific R.R. v. Sheehan, 439 U.S. 89,

94 (1978).

This Court has made clear that, consistent with the

RLA, 45 U.S.C. $ 153 First (i), minor disputes must be

submitted to the NRAB, which has exclusive jurisdiction

to resolve them. Andrews v. Louisville & N.R.R. 406

U.S. 320, 322, 325 (1972). As this Court stated in

Brotherhood of Locomotive Eng’rs v. Louisville & N.R.R.,

373 U.S. 33, 38-39 (1963), the grievance procedures pro-

vided under the RLA constitute “a mandatory, exclusive

and comprehensive system for resolving grievance dis-

putes ... [and] were intended by Congress to be the

complete and final means ior settling minor disputes.”

See also Union Pacific R. Co. v. Sheehan, supra, 439 U.S.

at 94.

Congress has also made clear that the scope of RLA

is not to be interpreted narrowly. The purpose of the

RLA, Congress declared, is “to provide for the prompt

and orderly settlement of all disputes growing out of

grievances or out of the interpretation or application of

agreements covering rates of pay, rules or working con-

ditions” (emphasis supplied). 45 U.S.C. § 151a(5). Con-

sistent with Congress’ mandate, courts have broadly con-

strued the RLA’s coverage. Thus, this Court has held

that “disputes” under the RLA include claims “founded

13

upon some incident of the employment relation . . . in-

dependent of those covered by the collective agreement.”

Elgin, J. & E.R. Co. v. Burley, supra, 325 U.S. at 723.

The Minnesota Supreme Court’s decision in this case

is premised on the theory that Congress did not mean

what it said in drafting the RLA and that this Court

erred in interpreting the Act in Burley (App., infra,

13a-14a). Contrary to the plain language of the statute

and this Court’s decision, the state court held that the

scope of the grievance procedures mandated by the RLA

is strictly limited to controversies arising under “the four

corners of the collective bargaining agreement.” Jd. at

14a.”

This conclusion conflicts directly with the decisions that

have followed Burley in holding that all grievances aris-

ing out of the employment relationship—whether contrac-

tually based or not—are minor disputes under the RLA."

Similarly, other courts—faithful to the mandate to inter-

pret the scope of the RLA broadly—have held that rail-

10 This is also the key legal conclusion underlying the Ninth Cir-

cuit’s decision in Buell as well as the central argument advanced by

respondent in that case before this Court.

11 See, e.g., Pennsylvania R.R. v. Day, 360 U.S. 548, 551-52

(1959) (The NRAB “was established as a tribunal to settle dis-

putes arising out of the relationship between carrier and employee”

and “[t]he purpose of the Act is fulfilled if the claim itself arises

out of the employment relationship which Congress regulated”) ;

Detroit and T. Shore Line R.R. v. United Transp. Union, 396 U.S.

142, 159 (1969) (Harlan, J. dissenting) (Railroad collective bar-

gaining agreements include only a small portion of the rules gov-

erning day-to-day working conditions because “[w]here a condi-

tion is satisfactorily tolerable to both sides it is often omitted from

the agreement, and . . . this practice is more frequent in the rail-

road industry than most others’) ; Railway Labor Executives Ass’n

v. Atchison, T. and S.F. Ry., 430 F.2d 994, 996 (9th Cir. 1970),

cert. denied, 400 U.S. 1021 (1971); Missouri-Kan.-Tex. R.R. Vv.

Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen, 342 F.2d 298, 300 (5th Cir.

1965) ; Illinois Central R.R. v. Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen

and Enginemen, 332 F.2d 850, 853-54 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 379

U.S. 932 (1964).

14

road employee claims of intentional infliction of emotional

distress,"* retaliatory discharge,"* and slander™ all con-

stitute disputes subject to RLA grievance procedures. For

example in Beers v. Southern Pacific Transp. Co., supra,

the plaintiff alleged a pattern of harassment relating to

working conditions and disciplinary procedures as part

of a complaint under state law for intentional infliction

of emotional distress. The Ninth Circuit held that plain-

tiff’s claim was preempted by the RLA, holding (703

F.2d at 428) (quoting Magnuson, 576 F.2d at 1361):

“If the pleading of emotional injury permitted ag-

grieved employees to avoid the impact of the R.L.A.,

the congressional purpose of providing a comprehen-

sive federal scheme for the settlement of employer-

employee disputes in the railroad industry, without

resort of the courts would be thwarted.”

Read collectively, these cases make clear that it is the

source of a railroad employee’s alleged injury, and not

the remedy which he might prefer to pursue, that deter-

mines whether a dispute is subject to the RLA.

Respondent’s allegations concerning his treatment by

his supervisors place this case right at the core of RLA

coverage. This is a classic employer-employee dispute

12 See, e.g., Adkins v. Chesapeake & O. Ry., No. 85-1204 (4th

Cir., Oct. 3, 1985); Antalek v. Norfolk and Western Ry., No.

84-3057 (6th Cir., Aug. 30, 1984); Choate v. Louisville & N.R.R.,

715 F.2d 369 (7th Cir. 1983) ; Beers v. Southern Pacific Transp. Co.,

703 F.2d 425 (9th Cir. 1983); Magnuson v. Burlington Northern,

Inc., 576 F.2d 1367, 1369 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 930

(1978).

18 See, e.g., Minehart v. Louisville & N.R.R., 731 F.2d 342 (6th

Cir. 1984); Landfried v. Terminal Railroad Ass'n of St. Louis, 721

F.2d 254 (8th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 466 U.S. 928 (1984); Jack-

son V. Consolidated Rail Corp., 717 F.2d 1045 (7th Cir. 1983), cert.

denied, 465 U.S. 1007 (1984).

4 See, e.g., Fraley v. Hayes, 112 BNA LRRM 2298 (S.D. II.

1982); Carson v. Southern Ry., 494 F. Supp. 1104 (D.S.C. 1979).

15

arising out of working conditions in the shop and events

that occurred there. The heart of the pattern of harass-

ment alleged by respondent were three disciplinary hear-

ings initiated by his employer pursuant to Rule 35 of

the collective bargaining agreement, the last of which

resulted in respondent’s discharge. If respondent be-

lieved he was being unfairly or improperly treated as a

result of these hearings and related actions by his super-

visor, the mandatory grievance procedures set forth in

Rule 34 of the Agreement were plainly available to him.

The courts of appeals for several circuits have repeatedly

held that railway labor disputes which are “inextricably

intertwined with the grievance machinery of the collec-

tive bargaining agreement” or are “arguably governed”

by the collective bargaining agreement or which have a

“not obviously insubstantial” relationship to it are minor

disputes subject to RLA grievance procedures. See, e.g.,

Magnuson Vv. Burlington Northern, Inc., 576 F.2d at 1369-

70 (and cases cited therein) ."*

The overly-narrow interpretation of the RLA applied

by the Minnesota Supreme Court in this case—which

permits a plaintiff to evade the grievance procedures

mandated by that Act simply by alleging emotional dis-

% This Court has emphasized that the scope of collective bargain-

ing agreements in the railroad industry is to be very broadly con-

strued:

“A collective bargaining agreement is not an ordinary contract

for the purchase of goods and services, nor is it governed by

the same old common-law concepts which control such private

contracts .... ‘[I]t is a generalized code to govern a myriad

of cases which the draftsmen cannot wholly anticipate... .’

The collective agreement covers the whole employment rela-

tionship. It calls into being a new common law—the common

law of a particular industry or of a particular plant.”

Transportation-Communication Employees Union v. Union Pacific

R.R., 385 U.S. 157, 160-61 (1966), quoting United Steelworkers of

America V. Warrior and Gulf Nav. Co., 363 U.S. 574, 578-79 (1960).

16

tress—conflicts in principle with these decisions as well

as with congressional railway labor policy."

2. The Minnesota Supreme Court’s decision that a

claim for injury under state tort law is not preempted

by the FELA, also is in conflict with decisions of this

Court and the courts of appeals for several circuits. The

FELA is a safety statute which creates a tort remedy

for railroad workers injured on the job. The statute’s

main purpose was to provide incentives for the creation

of a safer workplace by eliminating a number of tradi-

tional defenses to tort liability, including contributory

negligence, contractual waiver of liability, the fellow-

servant rule, and assumption or risk. See 45 U.S.C.

§§$ 51, 53-55; H.R. Rep. No. 1386, 60th Cong., 1st Sess.

(1908). Under the FELA, each party receives a benefit

in exchange for a limitation of its rights. Employees are

16 The Minnesota Supreme Court’s holding that this Court’s de-

cision in Farmer, permits respondent to bypass the mandatory

grievance procedures of the RLA conflicts with the decisions of

numerous federal and state courts which have declined to apply the

Farmer rationale to claims subject to RLA grievance procedures.

See, e.g., Peterson v. Air Line Pilots Ass'n Int'l, 759 F.2d 1161,

1168-69 and n.18 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 106 S. Ct. 312 (1985);

Jackson v. Consolidated Rail Corp., 717 F.2d 1045, 1051-54 (7th Cir.

1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1007 (1984) ; Magnuson v. Burlington

Northern, Inc., 576 F.2d 1367, 1369-70 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 439

U.S. 930 (1978); Koehler v. Illinois Central Gulf R.R., 109 Ill. 2d

473, 488 N.E.2d 542, 545 (1985), cert. denied, 106 S. Ct. 3297

(1986). The principle underlying these decisions is that “the

Farmer exemption to preemption, by its terms, applies to the pre-

emptive effect of the National Labor Relations Act, not to the

RLA.” Koehler, 488 N.E.2d at 545 (emphasis supplied). Unlike

the RLA, the NRLA does not expressly establish an exclusive re-

medial scheme. As this Court has recognized, “since the compulsory

character of the administrative remedy provided by the Railway

Labor Act... stems not from any contractual undertaking between

the parties but from the Act itself, the case for insisting on resort

to those remedies is if anything stronger in cases arising under the

Act than it is in cases arising under § 301 of the LMRA.” Andrews

v. Louisville & N.R.R., 406 U.S. 320, 323 (1972).

17

given a much lower threshold of liability, Heater v.

Chesapeake and Ohio Ry., 497 F.2d 12438, 1246 (7th

Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1013 (1974), but they give

up non-federal causes of action. New York Central R.R.

v. Winfield, 244 U.S. 147 (1917); New York Central &

Hudson R.R. Vv. Tonsellito, 244 U.S. 360 (1917); Ander-

son V. Burlington Northern, Inc., 469 F.2d 288 (10th

Cir. 1972) (state common law loss of consortium claim

by widow of railroad employee preempted by FELA).

Employers lose various defenses, but gain an exclusive

remedy. In sum, railway employees, such as respondent,

are entitled only to relief afforded under the FELA, even

if that is different from the relief formerly available

under state law.

It has long been held that the liability of any inter-

state railway carrier for injuries to its employees is gov-

erned entirely and exclusively by the provisions of the

FELA. In New York Central R.R. v. Winfield, the em-

ployee suffered an injury when he struck a pebble which

richocheted into his eye. It was conceded that the inci-

dent occurred without fault on the part of the employer,

so FELA did not provide a remedy. When the employee

tried to collect compensation under the state workers’

compensation law, this Court held that FELA was com-

prehensive and exclusive, and precluded compensation

under state law. Likewise, in New York Central &

Hudson R.R. v. Tonsellito, this Court held that a state

common law claim was precluded by FELA because Con-

gress had fixed railroads’ liability, and “such liability can

neither be extended nor abridged by common or statu-

tory laws of the State.” 244 U.S. at 362. Consistent

with those holdings the court in Janelle v. Seaboard

Coast Line R.R., 524 F.2d 1259, 1261 (5th Cir. 1975)

made clear that the FELA supplants state tort remedies:

“It has been settled law for over sixty years that

damages for the death or injury of a railroad em-

ployee engaged in interstate commerce, allegedly

18

caused by the negligence of the railroad, are recover-

able exclusively from the railroad under FELA, and

may not be recovered under state law. Mondouw v.

New York, New Haven and Hartford Railroad Co.

(Second Employers’ Liability Cases), 1912, 223 U.S.

1, 32 S. Ct. 169, 56 L.Ed. 327; Lowisiana and Ar-

kansas Ry. Co. v. Pratt, 5 Cir. 1944, 142 F.2d 847;

Jess Vv. Great Northern Railway Co., 9 Cir. 1968,

401 F.2d 535; Anderson v. Burlington Northern, Inc.,

10 Cir. 1972, 469 F.2d 288.”

The decision of the Minnesota Supreme Court directly

conflicts wtih these decisions and with the rationale sup-

porting preemption of state tort action: the FELA ap-

plies to railroad workers throughout the United States

and only through uniform rules may litigants receive sim-

ilar treatment in all states as Congress intended in en-

acting that statute. Brady v. Southern Ry., 320 U.S.

476, 479 (1943). The Minnesota Supreme Court’s rul-

ing that state tort law is not preempted by the FELA

would destroy the uniform federal scheme and permit

litigants in one state to enjoy rights dramatically dif-

ferent from those in other states. Thus, unless that

court’s decision is reviewed, the established mechanisms

for resolving claims for injury in the railroad industry

would be circumvented by allegations of intentional in-

fliction of emotional! distress.

~ eas

19

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari to review the

judgment of the Minnesota Supreme Court should be

granted. Alternatively, the Court may wish to consider

retaining this case on its docket pending decision on the

merits in Buell.

Respectfully submitted,

EDMUND W. BURKE REX E. LEE *

RICHARD J. SCHREIBER RONALD S. FLAGG

RICHARD V. WICKA SIDLEY & AUSTIN

BURLINGTON NORTHERN 1722 Eye Street, N.W.

RAILROAD COMPANY Washington, D.C. 20006

3800 Continental Plaza (202) 429-4000

Ft. Worth, TX 76102

* Counsel of Record

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

C7-84-1333, C4-85-1431

Hennepin County Scott, J.

Kelley, J., dissenting

C4-85-1431

VIRGINIA PIKOP,

Appellant,

vs.

BURLINGTON NORTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY,

Respondent,

CLARENCE PATTERSON, et al.,

Defendants.

and

C7-84-1333

ROMESH GULATI,

Respondent,

VS.

BURLINGTON NORTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY, PETITIONER,

Appellant.

Filed August 1, 1986

Wayne Tschimperle

Clerk of Appellate Courts

2a

SYLLABUS

The Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §§ 151-63 (1982),

and the Federal Employers’ Liability Act, 45 U.S.C.

§§ 51-60 (1982), do not preempt a railway employee’s

state-law claim of intentional infliction of emotional dis-

tress where the alleged distress results not from a wrong-

ful discharge, but from a continual pattern of harass-

ment on the part of the railroad-employer.

Judgment reversed as to C4-85-1431; certified ques-

tions answered in the negative as to C7-84-1333.

Considered and decided by the court en bane without

oral argument (C4-85-1431); heard, considered, and de-

cided by the court en bane (C7-84-1333).

OPINION

SCOTT, Justice.

Virginia Pikop and Romesh Gulati are former em-

ployees of Burlington Northern Railroad Company (Bur-

lington Northern), who individually filed suit against the

railroad in state court, claiming intentional infliction of

emotional distress. Burlington Northern contends that

both suits are preempted by the Railway Labor Act

(RLA), 45 U.S.C. §§ 151-63 (1982), and/or the Federal

Employers’ Liability Act (FELA), 45 U.S.C. §§ 51-60

(1982). We conclude that the two federal acts do not

preempt state-court jurisdiction over a former railway

employee’s claim of intentional infliction of emotional

distress where the alleged distress results from a con-

tinual pattern of harassment on the part of the railroad-

employer. We therefore remand the two cases for trial

in the respective district courts.

Pikop’s claim.

From September 24 to November 25, 1981, Virginia

Pikop was employed by Burlington Northern as a sea-

sonal section-crew worker. At various times during this

3a

period, her direct supervisor allegedly forced her into his

vehicle and coerced her, through threats and promises

relating to her employment, to perform sexual acts

against her will. Despite her complaints to Burlington

Northern officials, Pikop’s supervisor allegedly continued

to sexually assault her, a pattern that allegedly persisted

even after she was no longer employed by the railroad.

During the two months in which she was employed at

Burlington Northern, Pikop was allegedly subject to con-

tinual harassment by co-employees, who repeatedly called

her “pig,” “bitch,” and “cunt.” Several employees alleg-

edly assaulted Pikop during working hours.

As a section-crew worker, Pikop was employed in rail-

road yards, where she often had contact with employees

of the railroad’s pest control program. Pikop alleges that

these employees constantly threatened her with rat car-

casses, repeatedly forced her to watch them torture and

mutilate rats and birds, and occasionally coerced her to

participate in the mutilation and torture. She main-

tains that railroad supervisors allowed this conduct on

the part of her co-employees to take place repeatedly.

After Pikop was furloughed from her seasonal posi-

tion with Burlington Northern, she sought psychiatric

counseling. She claims that as a result of the alleged

harassment and outrageous conduct on the part of the

railroad and its employees, she has suffered serious and

permanent emotional injuries.

Pikop first brought suit against Burlington Northern

and four individual employees in Hennepin County Dis-

trict Court on November 17, 1982, alleging, inter alia,

the intentional infliction of emotional distress. In its

answer, Burlington Northern argued that the exclusive

remedy for Pikop’s claims was the FELA. As a result,

Pikop voluntarily dismissed, without prejudice, the com-

plaint she filed in state court and brought suit against

the railroad and the individual employees in federal dis-

4a

trict court on December 21, 1982. In addition to her

FELA claim, Pikop sought to recover damages under

state-law claims of assault, battery, false imprisonment,

and intentional infliction of emotional distress.

In federal court, Burlington Northern moved for sum-

mary judgment. The court granted Burlington North-

ern’s motion on Pikop’s claim of intentional infliction of

emotional distress, ruling that Pikop’s exclusive remedy

against the railroad was under the FELA and that the

FELA did not recognize an independent cause of action

for the intentional infliction of emotional distress.’ The

court allowed those claims that were actionable under the

FELA to go to trial.

On March 18, 1985, Pikop brought suit against the

railroad and three individual railway employees in Hen-

nepin County District Court, alleging, inter alia, the

intentional infliction of emotional] distress.2 Thereafter,

Burlington Northern moved to have Pikop’s claim against

it dismissed. On July 11, 1985, the district court ordered

entry of judgment in favor of the railroad, ruling that

Pikop’s claim was preempted by the FELA. Pikop ap-

pealed to the court of appeals. Burlington Northern peti-

tioned this court for an accelerated review. We granted

the petition on December 138, 1985, and now reverse the

district court.

Gulati’s claim.

In 1967, Romesh Gulati was hired as a Machinist

Federal Inspector for Burlington Northern Railroad. In

1 The federal court also ruled that it would not invoke pendent-

party jurisdiction over Pikop’s claims against the individual em-

ployees, claims that included assault, battery, false imprisonment,

negligence, and in‘entional infliction of emotional distress.

2Included in Pikop’s complaint were the state-law claims over

which the federal court refused to invoke pendent-party jurisdic-

tion.

5a

1975, Gulati injured his hand during the course of his

employment with the railroad. He brought suit on Sep-

tember 21, 1977, to recover damages under the FELA

for lost wages and permanent disability of his hand.

Burlington Northern settled Gulati’s suit on March 10,

1980, agreeing to pay Gulati $47,250 and to allow Gu-

lati to continue working as a machinist for the railroad

company.

On July 31, 1980, Burlington Northern sent Gulati a

notice that the company was investigting him for alleg-

edly falsifying a time card. He was requested to appear

at a hearing concerning this charge. Gulati maintained

that he had pencilled on his card 6:30 p.m. as the time

of his departure on July 28, 1980, and that a co-employee

had erased this time and written, in its place, 11:00 p.m.

Upon investigation, the railroad dropped the charge

against Gulati. It did not, however, further investigate

the matter, nor did it bring charges against the co-em-

ployee accused of forging Gulati’s card.

On August 4, 1980, Burlington Northern sent another

notice to Gulati, alleging that he had been involved in

an altercation during working hours. He was once

again requested to appear at an investigatory hearing.

Gulati stated that without provocation a co-employee had

sprayed him with a water hose and that he had imme-

diately reported the actions of the co-employee to a su-

pervisor. Burlington Northern dropped the rule-violation

charge against Gulati. It did not, however, pursue any

disciplinary action against the co-employee whom Gulati

had named as the one who sprayed him with water.

During the summer of 1980, an employee of Burling-

ton Northern witnessed two railway employees ransack-

ing Gulati’s personal locker. At the time Gulati’s locker

was allegedly being searched, Gulati was allegedly being

detained by a railroad supervisor. The witness noted

that the searching of lockers was not a common practice

of railroad officials.

6a

Gulati maintains ‘hat from March to September, 1980,

he was continually subjected to racial slurs from em-

ployees of Burlington Northern. Such comments in-

cluded: “Come over here, Indian,” “That stinking Arab,”

“‘Where’s your camel parked?” and “Does your camel have

one hump or two?” One employee stated that he had

heard Burlington Northern officials say, “We will get

that S.0.B.” (referring to Gulati) and, “Have you had

any luck getting that S.0.B. ‘cause I know you are try-

ing?”

On September 5, 1980, Burlington Northern notified

Gulati that the company was investigating him for al-

legedly leaving work one day without proper authoriza-

tion. Gulati was requested to appear at an investigatory

hearing. After the hearing, the railroad discharged Gu-

lati for the unexcused absence. Gulati appealed this de-

cision to the National Railroad Adjustment Board, Public

Law Board No. 3008, which voted 2-1 to uphold his per-

manent discharge from employment.

Six months after his discharge from Burlington North-

ern, on March 30, 1981, Gulati suffered a heart attack at

the age of 40. After his discharge he also began consult-

ing a psychiatrist.

Gulati filed suit against Burlington Northern in Hen-

nepin County District Court on April 12, 1982. He al-

leged that Burlington Northern breached the 1980 set-

tlement of his FELA claim; that the company wrong-

fully discharged him; and that it inflicted emotional dis-

tress on him through a pattern of harassment and sur-

veillance. Burlington Northern petitioned to have Gu-

lati’s claims removed to federal district court under 28

U.S.C. § 1441 (1982), a petition that was denied by the

federal court on September 10, 1982.* Thereafter, Bur-

3 The court recognized that federal removal jurisdiction is de-

rivative, in that only claims that are properly brought in state

courts can be removed to federal courts. The court noted that

eT |

7a

lington Northern moved for summary judgment in state

court. The district court granted the railroad’s motion

on two of Gulati’s claims, concluding that Gulati’s

wrongful-discharge and breach-of-contract claims were

preempted by the Railway Labor Act. The court, how-

ever, denied the railroad’s motion to dismiss the claim of

intentional infliction of emotional distress on similar pre-

emption grounds. Burlington Northern then petitioned

the court to certify the preemption question to the Min-

nesota Court of Appeals under Rule 103.03(h) of the

Minnesota Rules of Civil Appellate Procedure. The court

granted the motion and certified the following question,

as important and doubtful, to the appeals court: “Does

the Railway Labor Act and/or the Federal Employers’

Liability Act preempt state court jurisdiction over plain-

tiff’s claim of intentional infliction of emotional distress?”

The court of appeals answered the certified questions

in the negative, stating that the Federal Employers’ Li-

ability Act does not preempt state-court jurisdiction over

a claim of intentional infliction of emotional distress and

that, although the Railway Labor Act does preempt a

claim of intentional infliction of emotional distress where

the distress results from a discharge by a railroad, it

does not preempt such a claim where the emotional dis-

tress results from a pattern of employer harassment.

Gulati v. Burlington Northern Railroad Co., 364 N.W.2d

446 (Minn. Ct. App. 1985). We granted Burlington

Northern’s petition for further review on May 24, 1985,

and now answer the certified questions in the negative.

Burlington Northern contended the state court did not have juris-

diction over Gulati’s claims. If that were the case, the court stated,

a federal court would have no removal jurisdiction. On the other

hand, the the court stated, if Gulati were correct in contending that

his claims were independent state actions, no federal question would

exist on which federal jurisdiction could rest. The removal peti-

tion was therefore denied.

8a

The Preemption Doctrine

The preemption doctrine seeks to accommodate the in-

terest of uniform, national regulation on the one hand,

and the preservation of federalism on the other. Thus,

the fact that Congress has entered a field of regulation

does not necessarily preclude all state action in the area.

As the United States Supreme Court recently noted:

“Preemption of state law by federal statute or regula-

tion is not favored ‘in the absence of pervasive reasons—

either that the nature of the regulated subject matter

permits no other conclusion, or that the Congress has un-

mistakenly so ordained.’” Chicago & North Western

Transportation Co. v. Kalo Brick & Tile Co., 450 USS.

311, 317 (1981) (quoting Florida Lime & Avocado

Growers, Inc. v. Paul, 373 U.S. 132, 142-43 (1963)).

See also, Wardair Canada, Inc. v. Florida Department of

Revenue, 54 U.S.L.W. 4687, 4688 (U.S. June 17, 1986)

(No. 86-49) (“state law is not pre-empted whenever

there is any federal regulation of an activity or industry

or area of law’). One authoritative text states:

Federal law is generally interstitial in its nature.

It rarely occupies a legal field completely, totally ex-

cluding all participation by the legal systems of the

states. This was plainly true in the beginning when

the federal legislative product (including the Con-

stitution) was extremely small. It is significantly

true today, despite the volume of Congressional en-

actments, and even within areas where Congress has

been very active. Federal legislation, on the whole,

has been conceived and drafted on an ad hoc basis

to accomplish limited objectives. It builds upon legal

relationships established by the states, altering or

supplanting them only so far as necessary for the

special purpose. Congress acts, in short, against the

background of the total corpus juris of the states in

much the way that a state legislature acts against

the background of the common law, assumed to gov-

ern unless changed by legislation.

9a

P. Bator, D. Shapiro, P. Mishkin & H. Wechsler, Hart

& Wechsler’s The Federal Courts and the Federal Sys-

tem, 470-71 (2d ed. 1973). See Richards v. United

States, 369 U.S. 1, 7 (1962); Burks v. Lasker, 441 U.S.

471, 478 (1979).

Against this theoretical backdrop, the United States

Supreme Court has recognized three distinct kinds of

cases in which the doctrine applies to preempt state law.

The first arises when Congress explicitly states that the

feceral scheme preempts any state action in the field.

See Jones v. Rath Packing Co., 430 U.S. 519, 525 (1977).

This instance, however, is rare, for Congress seldom ex-

pressly precludes all state law in a given regulatory field.

The second case, in which Congress implicitly preempts

state law, is somewhat more common. In such a case,

preemption is inferred from either the extent of the

federal involvement or the scope of the federal interest.

See Fidelity Federal Savings & Loan Association v. De la

Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141, 153 (1982); Rice v. Santa Fe Ele-

vator Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230 (1947). Even where

Congress has not, either explicitly or implicitly, displaced

all state action in a specified field, the preemption doc-

trine will invalidate any state law that, in fact, conflicts

with the federal law. This third case arises when com-

pliance with both the federal and state law is a physical

impossibility or when the state law is an obstacle to the

accomplishment of the purposes of the federal scheme.

See Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, 373 U.S. at 142-

43; Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 67 (1941).

As is evident from the case law, the question of pre-

emption is primarily one of statutory construction. If no

express preemptive language is evident in the federal

statute or regulation, factors in the federal law that in-

dicate an implicit preemption must be considered. If

neither an express nor an implied preemptive effect is

present, the nature of the state law or action must be

examined to determine whether it conflicts with the fed-

10a

eral scheme. Therefore, we must consider the two fed-

eral acts that Burlington Northern contends preempt

Pikop’s and Gulati’s state-law claims.

The Railway Labor Act

In order to avoid interruptions of interstate commerce,

Congress first enacted the Railway Labor Act in 1913.

RLA, Pub. L. No. 63-6, 38 Stat. 103 (1913) (codified

as amended at 45 U.S.C. §§ 151-63 (1982)). The Act

seeks to avoid disruptions in railway transportation by

providing a process for the resolution of labor disputes.

See Elgin, Joliet & Eastern Railway Co. v. Burley, 325

U.S. 711, 722-23 (1945). As amended, the RLA recog-

nizes the right of railway employees to join a labor

organization that can act as the employees’ representative

in the formation of a collective-bargaining agreement.

The law also provides a procedure to settle grievances

that arise under an existing collective-bargaining agree-

ment.

Congress did not expressly preempt the railway labor

field in enacting the Railway Labor Act. Thus, the

question with which we are confronted is whether Con-

gress implicitly preempted all state action in the area.

The RLA is, no doubt, comprehensive in its regulation

of the process leading up to the formation of a collective-

bargaining agreement between a railroad and its em-

ployees. The designation of a labor organization to rep-

resent railway employees is detailed. 45 U.S.C. § 152

(1982). A mediation board to settle disputes concerning

the process for a new collective-bargaining agreement is

established. 45 U.S.C. § 154-56 (1982). A board of arbi-

tration is also formed to settle collective-bargaining dis-

putes not resolved by the mediation board. 45 U.S.C.

§ 157-59 (1982). Thus, the resolution of such “major

disputes” appears to be an exclusive federal concern.‘

*A major dispute under the RLA concerns the process involved

in reaching a new collective-bargaining agreement. 45 U.S ©. § 152

(1982). See Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Chicago River

lla

Congress could not have intended that the states supple-

ment this area by promulgating additional procedures

pertaining to the formation of a new collective-bargain-

ing agreement. See Slocum v. Delaware, Lackawanna &

Western Railroad Co., 339 U.S. 289 (1950).

In addition to providing a procedure whereby disputes

concerning the process for a new collective-bargaining

agreement are resolved, Congress included in the RLA a

method of resolving so-called “minor disputes”—disagree-

ments over the interpretation or application of existing

collective-bargaining agreements.° The Act establishes an

& Indiana Railroad Co., 353 U.S. 30, 33 (1957); Brotherhood of

Railway & Steamship Clerks, Freight Handlers, Express and Sta-

tion Employees v. Florida East Coast Railway Co., 384 U.S. 238

(1966). In Elgin, Joliet & Eastern Railway Co. v. Burley, 325

U.S. at 723, the United States Supreme Court discussed what ccn-

stitutes a major dispute:

The first [referring to major disputes] relates to disputes

over the formation of collective agreements or efforts to secure

them. They arise where there is no such agreement or where

it is sought to change the terms of one, and therefore the issue

is not whether an existing agreement controls the controversy.

They look to the acquisition of rights for the future, not to

assertion of rights claimed to have vested in the past.

5 The United States Supreme Court has defined minor disputes

under the RLA as “controversies over the meaning of an existing

collective bargaining agreement in a particular fact situation, gen-

erally involving only one employee.” Brotherhood of Railroad

Trainmen v. Chicago River & Indiana Railroad Co., 353 U.S. at 33.

In Elgin, Joliet & Eastern Railway Co. v. Burley, 325 U.S. at 723-

24, the Court stated:

In general the difference is between what are regarded tradi-

tionally as the major and minor disputes of the railway labor

world. The former present the large issues about which strikes

ordinarily arise with the consequent interruptions of traffic the

Act sought to avoid. Because they more often involve those

consequences and because they seek to create rather than to

enforce contractual rights, they have been left for settlement

entirely to the processes of noncompulsory adjustment.

The so-alled minor disputes, on the other hand, involving

grievances, affect the smaller differences which inevitably ap-

12a

adjustment board to resolve such disputes and allows the

railroad and its employees to form their own dispute-

resolution process. 45 U.S.C. § 153 (1982).

In Andrews v. Louisville & Nashville Raiiroad Co.,

406 U.S. 320 (1972), the United States Supreme Court

held that the procedures for the resolution of minor dis-

putes are mandatory and a railway employee cannot

ignore the remedies of the Act by commencing an action

in state court to resolve such disputes. The Court over-

ruled its decision in Moore v. Illinois Central Railroad Co.,

312 U.S. 630 (1941), in which it was held that the right

of a railway employee to sue the railroad for wrongful

discharge was not dependent on an exhaustion of the

RLA’s administrative remedies. The Andrews Court fell

short of holding that the RLA preempts all state rem-

edies for a minor dispute. It noted, however:

The term “exhaustion of administrative remedies”

in its broader sense may be an entirely appropriate

description of the obligation of both the employee

and carrier under the Railway Labor Act to resort

to dispute settlement procedures provided by that

Act. It is clear, however, that in at least some situa-

tions the Act makes the federal administrative rem-

edy exclusive, rather than merely requiring exhaus-

tion of remedies in one forum before resorting to

another. A party who has litigated an issue before

the Adjustment Board on the merits may not reliti-

gate that issue in an independent judicial proceed-

pear in the carrying out of major agreements and policies or

arise incidentally in the course of an employment. They repre-

sent specific maladjustments of a detailed or individual quality.

They seldom produce strikes, though in exaggerated instances

they may do so. Because of their comparatively minor charac-

ter and the general improbability of their causing interruption

of peaceful relations and of traffic, the 1934 Act sets them apart

from the major disputes and provides for very different treat-

ment. (Footnotes omitted.)

13a

ing. He is limited to the judicial review of the

Board’s proceedings that the Act itself provides. In

such a case the proceedings afforded by 45 U.S.C.

§ 153 First (i), will be the only remedy available

to the aggrieved party.

406 U.S. at 325 (citations omitted).

Andrews would preclude a state-law claim that is, in

essence, a minor dispute under the RLA. Thus, if Pikop

and Gulati were suing Burlington Northern for wrong-

ful discharge, their claims would be preempted by the

exclusive procedure of the Act because a discharge from

employment is a matter within the parameters of a collec-

tive-bargaining agreement and therefore a minor dispute

under the RLA. See Andrews, 406 U.S. at 324; Union

Pacific Railroad Co. v. Price, 360 U.S. 601, 617 (1959).

See also, Jackson v. Consolidated Rail Corp., 717 F.2d

1045 (7th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1007 (1984)

(railway employee’s claim of retaliatory discharge pre-

empted by RLA); Choate v. Louisville & Nashville Rail-

road Co., 715 F.2d 369 (7th Cir. 1983) (railway em-

ployee’s claim that railroad wrongfully discharged him

and failed to reinstate him is a minor dispute under the

RLA); Magnuson v. Burlington Northern, Inc., 576 F.2d

1367 (9th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 930 (1978)

(wrongful discharge claim of railway employee pre-

empted ).

Unlike a claim of wrongful discharge, a claim of inten-

tional infliction of emotional distress where the distress

results from a continual pattern of harassment is not a

minor dispute under the RLA. Such a claim does not

“stem from differing interpretations of the collective-

bargaining agreement,” Andrews, 406 U.S. at 324, but

rather is premised on the tort-law principle that citizens

of our state must be protected from conduct “so atrocious

that it passes the boundaries of decency and is utterly

intolerable to the civilized community.” Haagenson v.

National Farmers Union Property and Casualty Co., 277

l4a

N.W.2d 648, 652 n.8 (Minn. 1979) (citing the Restate-

ment (Second) of Torts § 46, Comment d (1965)). The

conduct that Pikop and Gulati allege transcends the four

corners of the collective-bargaining agreement Burlington

Northern entered into with its employees. The alleged

behavior, if proven, will constitute a continual pattern of

harassment on the part of Burlington Northern, conduct

that is not merely a wrongful discharge claim or other

grievance premised on a collective-bargaining agreement.

Burlington Northern contends that a claim of inten-

tional infliction of emotional distress relates to a work-

ing condition and thus must be resolved by the admin-

istrative procedures of the Act. We disagree. In Termi-

nal Railroad Association of St. Louis v. Brotherhood of

Railroad Trainmen, 318 U.S. 1 (1943), the United States

Supreme Court upheld a state safety requirement that

cabooses be attached to all trains operating within the

state. The railroad had argued that the RLA precluded

the state from regulating such working conditions. The

Court disagreed, stating:

The Railway Labor Act, like the National Labor

Relations Act, does not undertake governmental reg-

ulation of wages, hours, or working conditions. In-

stead it seeks to provide a means by which agree-

ment may be reached with respect to them. The

national interest expressed by those Acts is not pri-

marily in the working conditions as such. So far as

the Act itself is concerned these conditions may be as

bad as the employees will tolerate or be made as

good as they can bargain for. The Act does not fix

and does not authorize anyone to fix generally ap-

plicable standards for working conditions. The fed-

eral interest that is fostered is to see that disagree-

ment about conditions does not reach the point of

interfering with interstate commerce. The Media-

tion Board and Adjustment Board act to compose

differences that threaten continuity of work, not to

15a

remove conditions that threaten the health or safety

of workers.

State laws have long regulated a great variety of

conditions in transportation and industry, such as —

sanitary facilities and conditions, safety devices and

protections, purity of water supply, fire protection,

and innumerable others. Any of these matters

might, we suppose, be the subject of a demand by

workmen for better protection and upon refusal

might be the subject of a labor dispute which would

have such effect on interstate commerce that federal

agencies might be invoked to deal with some phase

of it. But we would hardly be expected to hold that

the price of the federal effort to protect the peace

and continuity of commerce has been to strike down

state sanitary codes, health regulations, factory in-

spections, and safety provisions for industry and

transportation. We suppose employees might con-

sider that state or municipal requirements of fire

escapes, fire doors, and fire protection were inade-

quate and make them the subject of a dispute, at

least some phases of which would be of federal con-

cern. But it cannot be that the minimum require-

ments laid down by state authority are all set aside.

We hold that the enactment by Congress of the Rail-

way Labor Act was not a preemption of the field of

regulating working conditions themselves and did

not preclude the State of Illinois from making the

order in question.

Id. at 6-7 (footnote and citation omitted; emphasis

added). See also Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers

v. Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Co., 372 U.S. 284, 289-90

(1963) (reiterating that the RLA does not regulate

“wages, hours, or working conditions”).

Although Pikop’s and Gulati’s claims do not constitute

either a major dispute or a minor dispute under the Act,

their claims would, nevertheless, be preempted if Con-

l6a

gress intended to preclude any claims against the rail-

road other than those that are, in essence, major or

minor disputes under the RLA. In determining such

congressional intent, we must examine the potential for

interference with the federal scheme that such a claim

presents. See Fidelity Federal Savings, 458 U.S. at 153;

Rice, 331 U.S. at 230; Hines, 312 U.S. at 67. This poten-

tial for interference is then weighed against the nature

of the state interest in regulating the conduct in ques-

tion. Thus, when the potential for interference is nil

and the state interest involved is substantial, we can

infer that Congress did not intend to preempt the state-

law claim. This balancing approach is derived from

Farmer v. United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners

of America, Local 25, 480 U.S. 290 (1977).

In Farmer, the United States Supreme Court held that

the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA) did not pre-

empt a union member’s state-law claim of intentional

infliction of emotional distress. The Court in Farmer

noted that no provision of the NLRA protected the union

member from the outrageous conduct alleged in the com-

plaint. Such is the case here. The RLA affords Pikop

and Gulati no remedy for conduct that constitutes the

intentional infliction of emotional distress. An adjust-

ment board could not award money damages as compen-

sation for the injuries alleged in either Pikop’s or

Gulati’s complaint. The RLA relates only to the collective-

6 Burlington Northern contends that the preemption analysis of

Farmer is inapplicable to this case because the National Labor

Relations Act. is not as comprehensive as the Railway Labor Act.

We concur, however, in Judge Posner’s analysis of the issue in

Jackson v. Consolidated Rail Corp., 717 F.2d at 1060 (J. Posner,

concurring in part and dissenting in part). “It might be different,”

Judge Posner noted, “if Congress had established an administra-

tive agency to police tort or tort-like conduct in railroad employ-

ment, but it has not; it has contented itself with requiring arbi-

tration of contract disputes.” Requiring arbitration of railway

contract disputes is not unlike the limited scope of the NLRA’s

dispute-resolution process.

ee

17a

bargaining process in the railway industry and seeks only

to resolve major and minor disputes that arise in that

process. No such dispute is claimed here. Therefore,

“permitting the exercise of state jurisdiction over such

complaints does not result in state regulation of fed-

erally protected conduct.” Farmer, 430 U.S. at 302. See

also Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Howard, 343

U.S. 768 (1952) (Black railway employees have a judi-

cial remedy to prevent discrimination because no ade-

quate administrative remedy exists under the RLA).

Moreover, a state trial court considering such a state-

law claim by a former railway employee would not be

interpreting the railroad’s collective-bargaining agree-

ment with its employees, an inquiry that is reserved ex-

clusively to the federal boerds established in the RLA.

The focus of the state court’s investigation would be on

whether the elements of the tort alleged have been

proven. Such a determination would be made “without

resolution of the ‘merits’ of the underlying labor dis-

pute,” if any. Farmer, 430 U.S. at 304.

In Minnesota, recovery for the intentional infliction of

emotional distress is limited to those cases in which an

aggrieved party can establish conduct that was “extreme

and outrageous” and “intentional or reckless.” The con-

duct must also have caused emotional distress that is

“severe.” Hubbard v. United Press International, Inc.,

330 N.W.2d 428, 438-39 (Minn. 1983). As we noted in

Hubbard:

In explaining both the extreme nature of the conduct

necessary to invoke this tort, and the necessary de-

gree of severity of the consequent mental distress,

the Restatement’s commentary emphasizes the lim-

ited scope of this cause of action, and clearly reflects

a strong policy to prevent fictitious and speculative

claims. Because this policy has long been a central

feature of Minnesota law on the availability of dam-

ages for mental distress, our adoption of the Re-

18a

statement formulation as the standard for the inde-

pendent tort of intentional infliction of emotional

distress does not signal an appreciable expansion in

the scope of conduct actionable under this theory of

recovery. The operation of this tort is sharply lim-

ited to cases involving particularly egregious facts.

Id. at 439 (footnote omitted). The fact that the tort is

limited to such cases decreases the potential for undue

interference with the RLA. See Farmer, 430 U.S. at

305.

It is apparent that our recognition of a state remedy

for the intentional infliction of emotional distress in this

case would not frustrate the collective-bargaining process

of the RLA. In Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v.

Jacksonville Terminal Co., 394 U.S. 369 (1969), the

Court held that the RLA does not allow a state to pre

clude all self-help remedies to a railway carrier or union

after the parties have exhausted the administrative pro-

cedures of the Act. Such a preclusion, the Court said,

would make the Act’s entire scheme for the resolution of

major disputes meaningless. Here, such is not the case.

Unlike the state action in Jacksonville, a state remedy

for the intentional infliction of emotional distress does

not relate to the collective-bargaining process itself. The

Act only serves to regulate such a process and thus

Burlington Northern’s argument that the potential for

interference with the RLA scheme is such that preemp-

tion is mandated carries no weight.

Balanced against any interference with the federal

scheme that such a tort claim may produce is the nature

of the state’s interest in protecting its citizens from the

kind of conduct the tort action seeks to redress. Farmer,

430 U.S. at 302. The state interest in this case is sub-

stantial. In Farmer, the Court discussed the interest a

state has in affording its citizens a remedy for the inten-

tional infliction of emotional distress:

19a

The State, on the other hand, has a substantial

interest in protecting its citizens from the kind of

abuse of which Hill complained. That interest is no

less worthy of recognition because it concerns protec-

tion from emotional distress caused by outrageous

conduct, rather than protection from physical injury,

as in Russell, or damage to reputation, as in Linn.

Although recognition of the tort of intentional in-

fliction of emotional distress is a comparatively re-

cent development in state law, see W. Prosser, Law

of Torts, $12, pp. 49-50, 56 (4th ed. 1971), our

decisions permitting the exercise of state jurisdiction

in tort actions based on violence or defamation have

not rested on the history of the tort at issue, but

rather on the nature of the State’s interest in pro-

tecting the health and well-being of its citizens.

Id. at 302-03. Minnesota has a strong interest in pro-

tecting its citizens from outrageous emotional abuse be-

cause the emotional] health and well-being of its citizens

is vital, not only to a stable economy, but to a civilized

culture. The conduct Pikop and Gulati complain of

touches interests “deeply rooted in local feeling and re-

sponsibility.” San Diego Building Trades Council v.

Garmon, 359 U.S. 236, 244 (1959).

In light of the substantia! interest the state has in

such tort actions and the lack of interference such an

action places on the federal railway labor process, we

hold that the RLA does not preempt a state-law claim

of intentional infliction of emotional distress where the

alleged distress results, not from a wrongful discharge,

but from a continual pattern of harassment on the part

of the railroad-employer.

The Federal Employers’ Liability Act

Congress enacted the Federal Employers’ Liability Act,

45 U.S.C. §§ 51-60, to allow interstate railway employees

and their dependent families to recover damages for in-

20a

juries and death caused by the negligence of the rail-

road. Section 51 of the Act expressly limits liability to

injuries or death “resulting in whole or in part from

the negligence of any of the officers, agents, or employees

of such carrier * * *.” 45 U.S.C. § 51 (1982) (emphasis

added). Here, Pikop and Gulati are alleging that

Burlington Northern intentionally inflicted emotional dis-

tress, a tort not premised, of course, on principles of

negligence. In determining whether such a claim is pre-

empted by the FELA, we must first consider whether a

claim of intentional infliction of emotional distress con-

stitutes a claim under the Act or whether it is separate

and independent from the federal statute.

Although the FELA is couched in terms of negligence,

the United States Supreme Court, using two distinct

theories, has allowed FELA plaintiffs to recover for in-

tentional assaults committed by co-employees. In Jamison

v. Encarnacion, 281 U.S. 635 (1930), the Court applied

the doctrine of respondeat superior and held that the

term “negligence” in the Act was broad enough to in-

clude an assault committed by a railway employee in the

course of discharging his or her duties and in further-

ance of the railroad’s business. In Harrison v. Missouri

Pacific Railroad Co., 372 U.S. 248 (1963) (per curiam),

the Court, recognizing a direct-negligence theory of li-

ability under the Act, held that a railroad can be liable

if it hires and retains an employee disposed toward vio-

lence and that employee intentionally assaults a co-em-

ployee. Although the two theories on which the Court

premised liability in these two cases are broad enough

to encompass some other intentional acts in the railway

context, the Court has not extended the FELA to cover

intentional torts other than assault.

Using the respondeat superior and direct-negligence

theories, lower federal courts have found liability under

the Act for not only assault, but-.also battery and false

arrest. See, e.g., Slaughter v. Atlantic Coast Line Rail-

2la

road Co., 302 F.2d 912 (D.C. Cir. 1962), cert. denied,

371 U.S. 827 (1962); Besta v. Consolidated Rail Corp.,

580 F. Supp. 869 (S.D. N.Y. 1984). An examination of

federal case law, however, reveals that recovery for in-

tentional acts under the FELA is limited to intentional

torts that cause physical injury. As the United States

Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit recently noted:

“(T]he FELA does not reach torts which work their

harm through nonphysical means * * *.” Lancaster v.

Norfolk & Western Railway Co., 773 F.2d 807, 815 (7th

Cir. 1985). This appears to be a well-established limita-

tion of the FELA. See, e.g., Bullard v. Central Vermont

Railway, Inc., 565 F.2d 193 (1st Cir. 1977) (the Act

allows recovery for emotional distress that accompanies

physical injuries); McSorley v. Consclidated Rail Corp.,

581 F. Supp. 642 (S.D. N.Y. 1984) (the Act may cover

intentional conduct that causes physical injury); Cales

v. Chesapeake & Ohio Railway Co., 300 F. Supp. 155

(W.D. Va. 1969) (an intentional tort that inflicts bodily

injury may constitute negligence under the Act); Annot.,

8 A.L.R.3d 442 (1966 & Supp. 1985) .*

In order to recover for the intentional infliction of

emotional distress, a plaintiff need not establish any phys-

ical injury, for the action seeks to compensate purely

emotional injuries resulting from intentional acts. Nei-

ther the express language of the FELA nor its interpre-

tation by federal courts covers such a claim. Indeed, at

least two federal courts of appeals have considered the

™The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, however, has held that

where an employee has suffered an injury “attributable to em-

ployer negligence,” the injury, whether characterized as mental

or physical, is compensable under the FELA. Buell v. Atchison,

Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Co., 771 F.2d 1320 (9th Cir. 1985),

cert. granted 106 S.Ct. 1946 (1986). Such a holding is very much

in the minority. Moreover, the decision appears not to cover allega-

tions of intentional infliction of emotional distress, but rather

negligent acts on the part of co-employees, which inflict emotional

injuries. See, id. at 1324.

22a

action to be independent of any claim arising under the

Act. In Lewis v. Louisville & Nashville Railroad Co.,

758 F.2d 219, 221-22 (7th Cir. 1985), the court stated:

The Railroad also argues that the intimidation

count is not “separate and independent” because it

involves “substantially the same facts and transac-

tions” as the three FELA claims filed in state court.

We disagree. The plaintiff premised his FELA

counts on his injuries of April 19, 1977 and Sep-

tember 6, 1979. The wrong that he alleged was the

negligence of the railroad up to the date of his sec-

ond injury. The intimidation count, by contrast,

concerns an alleged intentional tort committed by

the Railroad after he filed the first FELA claim.

Since the intimidation claim alleged a_ different

wrong and involved a different set of facts than the

FELA claims, the intimidation claim was a “sepa-

rate and independent” claim for purposes of section

1441(c) [removal jurisdiction].

(Citation omitted.) In Tello v. Soo Line Railroad Co.,

772 F.2d 458 (8th Cir. 1985), the court noted that a

railway employee’s claim of intentiona! infliction of emo-

tional distress is a “state law claim.” Jd. at 461.

Even though Pikop’s and Gulati’s claims of intentional

infliction of emotional distress appear to fall outside the

scope of the FELA, their claims may, nevertheless, be

preempted if Congress intended to preclude all state ac-

tion in the area. In enacting the FELA, Congress did

not explicitly preempt the field. Thus, the question be-

comes whether it implicitly did so.

Congress’ first attempt to enact compensatory relief

for railway employees who were victims of railroad neg-

ligence came in 1906. The 1906 Act enacted a compensa-

tory scheme that was premised on common-law notions

of fault. Congress, however, modified the common law

in two specific areas: it abolished the fellow-servant rule

23a

(which had acted to bar employees’ recovery against their

employer for injuries resulting from the negligence of

co-employees) and relaxed the common law contributory

negligence bar (Congress allowed recovery in cases in

which the negligence of the employee was slight com-

pared to the gross negligence of the railroad or co-

employee). FELA, Pub. L. No. 59-219, 34 Stat. 232

(1906). The 1906 Act, however, had a short life. In

1908, the Supreme Court, in Howard v. Illinois Central

Railroad Co., 207 U.S. 463 (1908), struck down the

statute, holding that Congress could impose liability only

in those cases in which a railway employee was killed or

injured while the railroad was engaged in interstate

commerce. Congress enacted another version of the

FELA in late 1908. The 1908 Act established a fault-

based scheme for compensation. Congress, however, re-

jected the 1906 Act’s modified contributory negligence

bar and adopted in its place a comparative negligence

scheme. It also changed the common law in other specific

areas, abolishing the assumption-of-risk defense and the

fellow-servant rule. FELA, Pub. L. No. 60-100, 35 Stat.

65 (1908).8

Although the FELA did not establish a strict liability

workers’ compensation scheme, the United States Su-

preme Court in New York Central Railroad Co. v. Win-

field, 244 U.S. 147 (1917), held that a railway employee

cannot ignore the Act and instead rely on a state work-

ers’ compensation statute for a remedy against the rail-

road. A railway employee’s reliance on a state strict

liability compensatory scheme, the Court reasoned, would

frustrate Congress’ intent to enact a compensatory scheme

* The 1908 Act was amended in 1910 to provide for concurrent

jurisdiction of FELA claims and to preclude railroads from remov-

ing FELA actions filed in state courts. FELA, Pub. L. No. 61-117,

36 Stat. 291 (1910). In 1939, Congress amended the Act to extend

the statute of limitations from two to three years and to expand the

definition of interstate commerce in light of more recent Supreme

Court rulings. FELA, Pub. L. No. 76-382, 53 Stat. 1404 (1939).

24a

that was premised on notions of fault. Therefore, the

state workers’ compensation statute as applied to railway

employees was preempted by the FELA.

We believe that affording the railway employees in this

case the state-tort remedy of intentional infliction of emo-

tional distress will not similarly frustrate the fault-based

scheme of the FELA. The state tort action would not

impose strict liability on the railroad, but instead would

apply common law principles of fault. As Justice Gold-

berg noted in Gillespie v. United States Steel Corp., 379

U.S. 148, 164 n.38 (1964) (J. Goldberg, dissenting in

part): “New York Central R. Co. v. Winfield, supra,

could require no more than pre-emption of purely state

strict liability remedies.” (Emphasis in original.)

We recognize, however, that sume potential for inter-

ference may be present when a railway employee sues

in state court for the intentional infliction of emotional

distress. The enactment of a federal compensatory

scheme implies that Congress did not intend for inter-

state commerce to be hampered by different state systems

of compensation. This is certainly true in the context

of physical injuries and death resulting from railroad

negligence. Such interference, however, is minimized

where emotional harm is alleged to have resulted from a

continual pattern of intentional acts. The claim of in-

tentional infliction of emotional distress lies outside the

scope of this federal statute, which was enacted to com-

pensate only physical injuries resulting from negligence.

The fact that the state-law tort is sharply limited to

cases involving particularly egregious facts further re-

duces any potential for interference with the federal

scheme.

Balanced against the potential for interference with

the federal scheme is the nature of the state interest in-

volved. As we have already noted, Minnesota has a sub-

stantial interest in protecting its citizens from the type

25a

of harm that constitutes the intentional infliction of emo-

tional distress. See Farmer, 430 U.S. at 302. To deny

Pikop and Gulati the protection from this kind of con-

auct the state provides to each of its other citizens is to

diminish the very importance of the state interest in-

volved. Because the state interest is substantial and the

potential for interference is minimal, we hold that the

FELA does not preempt a railway employee’s state-law

claim of intentional infliction of emotional distress.

The judgment of the district court in Case No. C4-85-

1431, Pikop v. Burlington Northern Railroad Co., is

reversed.

The certified questions are answered in the negative

in Case No. C7-84-1333, Gulati v. Burlington Northern

Railroad Co.

26a

KELLEY, Justice (dissenting) :

Because I conclude the claims of Pikop and Gulati for

intentional infliction of emotional distress solely arose

out of their employment with the Burlington Northern

and that the Federal Employers’ Liability Act provides

those employees with their exclusive remedy, I respect-

fully dissent.

The Federal Employers’ Liability Act governs the re-

covery of damages for injuries or death by employees,

or their dependent families, from employer carriers. Al-

though the literal wording of the statute limits the car-

rier’s liability to compensation for injuries or death

caused by “negligence” of employees, 45 U.S.C. § 51

(1982), the act is demonstrative of the underlying sup-

position that safety of the physical and mental health

of railroad employees is encouraged by the economic in-

centive of placing liability upon the employer. Thus, not-

withstanding the statutory language speaks in terms of

“negligence,” the United States Supreme Court has per-

mitted injured employees to recover from employers even

though the act or acts giving rise to the injury were

“intentional.” See, e.g., Jamison v. Encarnacion, 281

U.S. 635 (1930) where the court held that assaults com-

mitted by railroad employees against fellow employees

in the course of the railroad employment were compen-

sable in suits against the carrier. See generally, Note,

Respondent Superior and the Intentional Tort: A Short

Discourse on How to Make Assault and Battery A Part

of the Job, 45 U. Cin. L. Rev. 235 (1976). See also,

Annot., 8 A.L.R.3d 442 (1966).

The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in Buell

v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Co., 771 F.2d

1320 (9th Cir. 1985), held that an employee’s allegation

that he had sustained emotional injury caused by inten-

tional acts of railroad employees stated a claim under

the FELA. In Lancaster v. Norfolk & Western Railway

27a

Co., 773 F.2d 807, 818 (7th Cir. 1985), the court recog-

nized employee recovery under the FELA for intentional

tort if the evidence established either that the intentional

act (or acts) was done in furtherance of the railroad’s

objectives or that the company negligently hired, super-

vised, or failed to fire the employee who committed the

tort.

Since the claimed injuries clearly and exclusively arose

out of their employment by the Burlington Northern, the

FELA provides to these plaintiffs the exclusive remedy

for those claimed injuries. Even if that act afforded no

remedy to these claims, the act is all comprehensive. See,

e.g. New York Central Railroad Co. v. Winfield, 244

U.S. 147 (1917). The purpose of Congress in enacting

the Federal Employers’ Liability Act, and the federal

courts in construing it, is clearly to provide a uniform

and exclusive compensatory program to govern claims

made by employees against employing railroads for dam-

ages arising out of the employment relationship.

Accordingly, I would hold that the Federal Employers’

Liability Act, 45 U.S.C. § 51-60 (1982) pre-empts an

employee’s claim of damage against a railroad employer

when the claim arises from intentional infliction of emo-

tional distress if the acts giving rise to the claim are

committed solely and exclusively during the course of the

employment relationship.

Therefore, I would affirm the district court in Pikop v.

Burlington Northern Railroad, and would answer the

certified question in Gulati v. Burlington Northern Raii-

road Co. in the affirmative.

28a

APPENDIX B

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

C7-84-1333

ROMESH GULATI,

Respondent,

vs.

BURLINGTON NORTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY,

Appellant.

ORDER

Based upon all the files, records and proceedings

herein,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the petition of Bur-

lington Northern Railroad Company for further review

of the decision of the Court of Appeals be, and the same

is, granted. Briefs shall be filed in the quantity, form

and within the time limitations contained in Minn. R.

Civ. App. P. 131 and 182. Counsel will be notified at a

later date of the time for argument before this court.

No requests for extensions of time for the filing of briefs

will be entertained.

Dated: May 24, 1985

BY THE COURT:

/s/

Associate Justice

29a

APPENDIX C

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN COURT OF APPEALS

C7-84-1333

Hennepin County Nierengarten, Judge

ROMESH GULATI,

Respondent,

VS.

BURLINGTON NORTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY,

Appellant.

Filed March 12, 1985

Wayne Tschimperle, Clerk

Minnesota Court of Appeals

Michael D. Doshan

4644 IDS Center

80 South Eighth Street

Minneapolis, MN 55402

Michael P. McReynolds

Burlington Northern

Railroad Company

176 East Fifth Street

St. Paul, MN 55101

SYLLABUS

1. The Railway Labor Act preempts state court juris-

diction over plaintiff’s claim of intentional infliction of

30a

emotional distress resulting from his discharge. It does

not preempt a claim for the intentional infliction of emo-

tional distress when the distress results from a pattern

of harassment.

2. The Federal Employers’ Liability Act does not

preempt a claim for the intentional infliction of emo-

tional distress.

Certified Question Answered.

Considered and decided by Popovich, Chief Judge, Nie-

rengarten, Judge, and Randall, Judge, with oral argu-

ment waived.

OPINION

NIERENGARTEN, Judge

Respondent Gulati brought an action against appellant

Burlington Northern, his former employer, alleging (1)

Burlington Northern had breached an agreement settling

a Federal Employers’ Liability Act (FELA) suit pre-

viously brought by him; (2) he was wrongly discharged

from Burlington Northern’s employ in retaliation for

bringing the previous FELA law suit; and (3) inten-

tional infliction of emotional distress. Burlington moved

to dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction, con-

tending common law actions were preempted by the Rail-

way Labor Act, 45 U.S.C.A. §§ 151-159a (1972 and

Supp. 1983), and the Federal Employers’ Liability Act,

45 U.S.C.A. §§ 51-60 (1972). The trial court dismissed

the contract claims but not Gulati’s claim of intentional

infliction of emotional distress, finding that claim fell

within the exception to the preemption doctrine enun-

ciated in Farmer v. United Brotherhood of Carpenters,

Local 25, 480 U.S. 290 (1977).

FACTS

Gulati was employed by Burlington Northern as a

machinist for 15 years and was a member of the machin-

ists union.

3la

In 1975, Gulati injured his hand during the course of

his employment and filed a claim against Burlington

under the Federal Employers’ Liability Act. Burlington

settled March 10, 1980, for $47,250 on an in-service basis

which did not affect Gulati’s status as an employee.

In the winter of 1979-80, Gulati became subject to

constant surveillance while at work, his arrivals and de-

partwres being closely monitored by his supervisor. The

same surveillance did not extend to his co-employees.

In the summer of 1980, Burlington launched a series

of investigations against Gulati. On one occasion, two

Burlington officials rifled his private locker. On another

occasion Gulati was charged with falsifying a time card

but a fellow employee believed the charge was dropped

because a foreman forged the card in order to get Gulati

fired.

A fellow employee heard Burlington officials say “[wle

will get that S.O.B.” and “[h]ave you had any luck

getting that S.O.B. ‘cause I know you are trying.’”

These officials referred to Gulati as “[t]hat stinking

Arab,” addressing him “[c]ome over here Indian,”

“Twlhere’s your camel parked,” and “[d]oes your camel

have one hump or two?”

His thoroughness in inspecting locomotives for defects

prompted a supervisor to vow that he was going to “get

Romesh.”

The fellow. employee testified the harassment made

Gulati so tense that he would not dare ride in a car

with him, adding “I personally do not know how Romesh

Gulati was able to withstand the enormous pressure on

him.”

Gulati was dismissed in October 1980 for a company

rule violation by absenting himself from duty without

proper authority in August 1980. The discharge was up-

held by the National Railroad Adjustment Board.

In March 1981, Gulati suffered an anterior myocardial

infarction.

32a

ISSUE

Certified Question: Does the Railway Labor Act and/

or the Federal Employers’ Liability Act preempt state

court jurisditcion over plaintiff’s claim of intentional in-

fliction of emotional distress?

ANALYSIS

I

Gulati alleges that as a result of the wrongful conduct

of Burlington, he suffered emotional distress and deterio-

ration in his physical well-being, including the onset of

the infarction. He claims the multiple investigations

he was subject to and the charges placed against him

constituted retaliation for his suing to recover for in-

juries to his hand.

Burlington’s position is that a common law action for

the intentional infliction of emotional distress is pre-

empted by the Railway Labor Act (RLA), 45 U.S.C.A.

§§ 151-159(a) (1972 and Supp. 1983), which provides for

mandatory arbitration of “minor disputes.” Guiati con-

tends that his tort claim falls within the exception cre-

ated by Farmer v. United Brotherhood of Carpenters,

Local 25, 480 U.S. 290 (1977).

Farmer brought an action in state court against his

union claiming intentional infliction of emotional distress

and unlawful discrimination in job referrals. The United

States Supreme Court, rejecting a strictly mechanical ap-

proach to questions of preemption in the field of labor

law relations, held that the state court could exercise

jurisdiction over such a claim, even though the campaign

of harassment included hiring hall referral discrimina-

tion. The Court stated that one must determine the

scope of the general preemption rule “by examining the

state interests in regulating the conduct in question and

the potential for interference with the federal regula-

tory scheme.” Farmer, 430 at 297. To avoid preemp-

33a

tron, the state’s interest must be “so deeply rooted in

local feeling and responsibility that, in the absence of

compelling congressional direction, we could not infer

that Congress had deprived the state of the power to

act.” Id. at 296-97, (quoting San Diego Bldg. Trades

Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S. 236, 248-44 (1959) ).

In applying this test, the Supreme Court in Farmer

determined that the State of California had a substantial

interest in protecting its citizens from intentional in-

fliction of emotional distress. It also determined that

neither the National Labor Relations Act nor the collec-

tive bargaining agreement protected against the alleged

“outrageous” conduct. The court recognized that, because

the abusive conduct was intertwined with allegations of

hiring hall discrimination, there was some potential that

the state claim would touch on areas generally within

the exclusive jurisdiction of the National Labor Rela-

tions Board. However, the court found this potential

interference did not overcome the state’s interest be-

cause resolution of the state tort suit turned on whether

the union’s actions had caused the plaintiff’s emotional

aistress, while the focus of an unfair labor practice in-

quiry would have been on whether the union’s conduct

discriminated against the plaintiff in terms of employ-

ment opportunities. Thus, “the tort action could be re-

solved without reference to any accommodation of the

. special interests of unions and members in the hiring

hall context.” Farmer, 430 at 305.

Similarly, in Sears, Roebuck and Co. v. San Diego

County District Council of Carpenters, 4386 U.S. 180

(1978), the Supreme Court held that Sears could rely on

state trespass laws in seeking an injunction against union

picketing on its private property.

The critical inquiry, therefore, is not whether the

State is enforcing a law relating specifically to labor

relations or one of general application but whether

the controversy presented to the state court is iden-

34a

tical to (as in Garner) or different from (as in

Farmer) that which could have been, but was not,

presented to the Labor Board.

Id. at 197.

In applying Farmer to this case, we must examine

Minnesota’s interest in regulating the conduct in ques-

tion and the potential for interference with the RLA.

The mandatory arbitration provisions of the Railway

Labor Act were designed “to provide for the prompt and

orderly settlement of all disputes growing out of griev-

ances or out of the interpretation or application of agree-

ments covering rates of pay, rules, or working condi-

tions.” 45 U.S.C.A. §15la(5) (1972). Disputes grow-

ing out of grievances or interpretation or application of

agreements are called minor disputes. Majors v. U.S.

Air, Inc., 525 F. Supp. 853, 855 (D. Md. 1981). “The

arbitration provisions for minor disputes * * * preempt

state remedies.” Jd.

Gulati claims his discharge in October 1980, was in

retaliation for his suit against Burlington to recover for

injuries to his hand. Normally, an action for wrongful

discharge by an employee against a railroad is a minor

dispute and subject to the exclusive grievance and arbi-

tration procedures of the RLA because a collective bar-

gaining agreement is necessarily the source of a claim

that a discharge is wrongful. Andrews v. Louisville &

Nashville R.h Vo., 406 U.S. 320 (1972). A claim for

intentional infliction of emotional distress based on the

process lending to discharge is also a minor dispute with-

in the exciusive province of the grievance mechanisms.

Magnuson v. Burlington Northern, Inc., 576 F.2d 1367

(9th Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 930 (1978).

A retaliatory discharge is one variety of wrongful

discharge. Jackson v. Consolidated Rail Corp., 717 F.2d

1045, 1049 (7th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, US. —,

104 S.Ct. 1000 (1984).

35a

There is no question that Gulati’s right not to be dis-

charged at the will of Burlington Northern grows out of

the collective bargaining agreement. Consequently, his

claim of intentional infliction of emotional distress re-

sulting from the discharge constitutes a minor dispute

and falls within the exclusive province of the grievance

procedures established by RLA. See id.

However, Gulati also alleges that the unfounded in-

vestigations of Burlington, part of an alleged campaign

of personal abuse and harassment, constituted retaliation

for his suit to recover for injuries to his hand, and as a

result, he suffered emotional distress.

Minneota recognizes the tort of intentional infliction

of emotional distress. Hubbard v. United Press Interna-

tional, Inc., 330 N.W.2d 428 (Minn. 1983). Four distinct

elements of proof are necessary to sustain a claim:

(1) the conduct must be extreme and outrageous;

(2) the conduct must be intentional or reckless; (3)

it must cause emotional distress; and (4) the dis-

tress must be severe.

Id. at 438-39. Outrageous conduct is judicially defined

as “so atrocious that it passes the boundaries of decency

and is utterly intolerable to the civilized community.”

Id. at 439 (quoting Haagenson v. National Farmers

Union Property and Casualty Co., 277 N.W.2d 648, 652

n.3 (Minn. 1979). Clearly Minnesota’s interest in regu-

lating such conduct is strong.

That will not stand by itself. In addition, we must

examine the potential for interference with the RLA.

First, we note that the RLA itself does not protect

against outrageous conduct. Balzeit v. Southern Pacific

Transportation Co., 569 F. Supp. 986 (N.D. Calif. 1983).

Although, as in Farmer, there is some potential that

Gulati’s claim touches on areas generally within the ex-

clusive jurisdiction of the RLA, as, for example, investi-

gations provided by the collective bargaining agreement,

86a

we conclude that the potential for interference is mini-

mal. Charges and investigations are governed by the

collective bargaining agreement. In this case, charges

made by Burlington Northern are part of the pattern of

outrageous conduct. However, in an action for inten-

tional infliction of emotional distress, there will be no

need to interfere with the jurisdiction of the RLA be-

cause the charges did not result in discipline. Rather,

the focus of the state inquiry will be whether the un-

founded charge against Gulati and investigations that

appear in a category not envisioned by the collective bar-

gaining agreement were brought to intimidate him,

thereby inflicting emotional distress.

We conclude that Gulati’s allegations of outrageous

conduct based upon the unfounded charges are separate

from the charge which led to his discharge, and, there-

fore, are not preempted by the RLA.

II

Burlington also contends that Gulati’s claim is pre-

empted by the Federal Employers’ Liability Act, 45

U.S.C.A. §§ 51-60 (1972), while at the same time, refus-

ing to concede that an action for an intentional tort

could be brought under the act.

The FELA provides that railroads engaged in inter-

state commerce shall be liable “for such injury or death

resulting in whole or in part from the negligence of any

of the officers, agents, or employees * * *.” 45 U.S.C.A.

§ 51.

In New York Central Railroad Co. v. Winfield, 244

U.S. 147 (1917), the Supreme Court broadly read “neg-

ligence” to include injuries which “arose out of one of

the ordinary risks of the work,” and, therefore, com-

pensable without the necessity of negligence.

FELA coverage has not been extended to include in-

tentional torts. Moreover, it strictly limits damages to

37a

physical injury or death. Therefore, we conclude that

it does not preempt a state action.

DECISION

Certified Question: Does the Railway Labor Act and/

or Federal Employers’ Liability Act preempt state court

jurisdiction over plaintiff’s claim of intentional infliction

of emotional distress?

We answer the question as follows: The Railway La-

bor Act preempts state court jurisdiction over plaintiff’s

claim of intentional infliction of emotional distress result-

ing from his discharge. It does not preempt the remain-

der of his claim.

The Federal Employers’ Liability Act does not preempt

a claim fer the intentional infliction of emotional distress.

Certified Question Answered.

38a

APPENDIX D

STATE OF MINNESOTA

COUNTY OF HENNEPIN

DISTRICT COURT

FOURTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

ROMESH GULATI,

Plainti:/,

vs.

BURLINGTON NORTHERN, INC.,

Defendant.

Question Certified to Minnesota Court of Appeals

Pursuant To Minnesota Rules of

Civil Appellate Procedure, Rule 103.03 (h)

The above-entitled matter came on for hearing before

the Honorable Delila F. Pierce, one of the judges of the

above-named court on June 18, 1984, at the Government

Center, City of Minneapolis, County of Hennepin, State

of Minnesota, on Defendant’s motion to certify a ques-

tion to the Minnesota Court of Appeals as important and

doubtful.

Michael D. Doshan, Esq., 4644 IDS Center, 80 South

Eighth Street, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55402, appeared

as counsel for Plaintiff. Michael P. McReynolds, Esq.,

176 East Fifth Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101, ap-

peared as counsel for Defendant.

This Court hereby certifies the following question, find-

ing it important and doubtful, to the Minnesota Court of

Appeals because its resolution at this point of the litiga-

tion is in the interests of justice:

39a

DOES THE RAILWAY LABOR ACT AND/OR

THE FEDERAL EMPLOYER’S LIABILITY ACT

PRE-EMPT STATE COURT JURISDICTION

OVER PLAINTIFF’S CLAIM OF INTENTIONAL

INFLICTION OF EMOTIONAL DISTRESS?

That this Court’s Order and Memorandum dated

May 15, 1984, and the entire file of record with the

Hennepin County District Court be and hereby is in-

corporated by reference.

BY THE Court:

/s, Delila F. Pierce

DELILA F,, PIERCE

Judge of District Court

Dated: June 26, 1984.

40a

APPENDIX E

STATE OF MINNESOTA

COUNTY OF HENNEPIN

DISTRICT COURT

FOURTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

File No. 791184

ROMESH GULATI,

Plaintiff,

—vs.—

BURLINGTON NORTHERN, INC.,

(now Burlington Northern Railroad Company),

Defendant.

ORDER AND MEMORANDUM

The above-entitled matter came on for hearing before

the Honorable Delila F. Pierce, one of the judges of the

above-named court, on the 11th day of April, 1984, upon

Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss, at the Government Cen-

ter, City of Minneapolis, County of Hennepin and State

of Minnesota.

Michael D. Doshan, Esq., and James Lord, Esq., ap-

peared as counsel for and on behalf of the Plaintiff.

Michael McReynolds, Esq., John D. Boelter, Esq., and

Barry McGrath, Esq., appeared as counsel for and on

behalf of the Defendant.

Now, therefore, upon the files, records, proceedings and

arguments of counsel,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

1. That Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss as to Plain-

tiff’s cause of action for intentional infliction of emo-

tional distress, along with his claim for punitive dam-

4la

ages, is hereby denied, this Court having jurisdiction to

hear such an action. Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss

Plaintiff’s other claims is hereby granted.

2. That the following Memorandum be made a part

of this Order.

BY THE CouRT:

Dated: May 15, 1984. /s/ Delila F. Pierce

DELILA F’, PIERCE

Judge of District Court

MEMORANDUM

Plaintiff alleges that he was a victim of intentional,

malicious and abusive conduct by Defendant over a pe-

riod of months. Plaintiff’s allegations include the follow-

ing: that he was under extraordinary constant surveil-

lance and scrutiny by his supervisors; that he was denied

routine privileges by his supervisors; that he was called

derogatory names by officials of BNR; that he was a

target of ethnic slurs and comments by BNR officials;

that his private locker was ransacked by BNR officials;

that he was publicly embarrassed and humiliated by a

BNR official at a shareholder’s meeting when he ap-

proached the open microphone and was told by the offi-

cial to sit down and shut up; that he was abused and

humiliated when, for a period of several weeks, a deroga-

tory comment written about him on a company urinal

was allowed to remain there despite his complaint to a

supervisor; that BNR officials were heard to say that

they would “get Romesh” and “get that S.O.B.”

The case at bar falls within the exception to the pre-

emption doctrine under Farmer v. Carpenter, 430 U.S.

290 (1977) due to the serious nature of Plaintiff’s alle-

gations; due to the alleged conduct not being an isolated

incident, but occurring over an extended period of time;

and, due to Plaintiff’s allegation that he suffered a heart

42a

attack as a result of the emotional distress caused by

the alleged course of conduct.

Farmer requires that a case pass a two-pronged test

before it can be exempt from the pre-emption doctrine.

First, it must touch interests so deeply rooted in local

feeling and “esponsibility that, in the absence of com-

pelling congressional direction, the Court could not infer

that Congress had deprived the states of the power to

act. Jd. at 296. Second, judicial supervision will not

disservice the interests ies by federal labor stat-

utes. Jd. at 297.

The standard that is applied in determining whether

the first prong of the Farmer test is met coincides with

the standard for a cause of action in Minnesota for the

intentional infliction of emotional distress. The state law

intervenes only where the distress inflicted is so severe

that no reasonable man could be expected to endure it.

Hubbard v. United Press International, 330 N.W.2d 428

(Minn. 1983). See also Farmer at 294. Plaintiff’s alle-

gations are sufficient to satisfy the first prong of the

Farmer test.

Farmer involved the N.L.R.A. while the case herein

involves the Railway Labor Act. The latter act is more

broad in its scope than the N.L.R.A. and it governs

normal incidents of the employment relation. Majors v.

U.S. Air, Inc., 525 F. Supp. 853 (D.Md. 1981). In

Majors, the RLA was said to control an investigation of

a suspected employee theft despite allegedly tortious con-

duct committed in the course of this investigation.

In the case before this Court, the alleged tortious con-

duct occured over a long period of time and it hardly

could be considered a normal incident of employment.

Therefore, state judicial supervision would not interfere

with a federal regulatory scheme and this case satisfies

the second prong of the Farmer test.

43a

For the above reasons, Plaintiff’s cause of action for

intentional infliction of emotional distress, along with his

claim for punitive damages, is not dismissed. Plaintiff’s

action, however, must allow for adjudication without res-

olution of the merits of the underlying labor dispute.

Farmer at 304. If there is evidence to support Plaintiff’s

cause of action for intentional infliction of emotional dis-

tress, it is for the jury to decide the case. Plaintiff’s

cause of action for breach of contract is so intertwined

with the underlying labor dispute that federal law pre-

empts that claim.

mF. F.

44a

APPENDIX F

STATE OF MINNESOTA

OFFICE OF THE CLERK OF THE

APPELLATE COURTS

STATE CAPITOL, ST. PAUL

Date: 8-29-86

C4-85-1431

VIRGINIA PIKOP,

oe Appellant,

BURLINGTON NORTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY,

Respondent,

CLARENCE PATTERSON, et al.,

Defendants,

and

C7-84-1333

ROMESH GULATI,

Respondents,

VS.

BURLINGTON NORTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY,

Petitioner, Appellant.

Please take notice that on this date the following order

wes entered in the above entitled cause:

ORDERED, that the petition for reargument herein

be and the same hereby is denied and stay vacated.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that no attorney’s fees

are allowed pursuant to Rule 140, Rules of Civil Appel-

late Procedure.

Respectfully,

/s/ Wayne Tschimperle

Clerk of the Appellate Courts

45a

APPENDIX G

45 U.S.C. § 153. National Railroad Adjustment Board

First. Establishment; composition; powers and duties;

divisions; hearings and awards; judicial review. There

is hereby established a Board, to be known as the “Na-

tional Railroad Adjustment Board”, the members of

which shall be selected within thirty days after approval

of this Act [enacted June 21, 1934], and it is hereby

provided—

* * * *

(i) The disputes between an employee or group of

employees and a carrier or carriers growing out of

grievances or out of the interpretation or application

of agreements concerning rates of pay, rules, or

working conditions, including cases pending and un-

adjusted on the date of approval of this Act [en-

acted June 21, 1934], shall be handled in the usual

manner up to and including the chief operating offi-

cer of the carrier designated to handle such disputes;

but, failing to reach an adjustment in this manner,

the disputes may be referred by petition of the par-

ties or by either party to the appropriate division of

the Adjustment Board with a full statement of the

facts and all supporting data bearing upon the dis-

putes.

46a

APPENDIX H

Collective Bargaining Agreement Between

Burlington Northern Inc. And Its Mechanical Employees

Rule 34. CLAIMS OR GRIEVANCES

(a) All claims or grievances must be presented in

writing by or on behalf of the employee involved, to the

officer of the Carrier authorized to receive same, within

sixty (60) days from the date of the occurrence on

which the claim or grievance is based. Should any such

claim or grievance be disallowed, the Carrier shall, within

sixty (60) days from the date same is filed, notify who-

ever filed the claim or grievance (the employee or his

representative) in writing of the reasons for such dis-

allowance. If not so notified, the claim or grievance shail

be allowed as presented, but this shall not be considered

as a precedent or waiver of the contentions of the Car-

rier as to other similar claims or grievances.

(b) If a disallowed claim or grievance is to be ap-

pealed, such appeal must be in writing and must be

taken within sixty (60) days from receipt of notice of

disallowance, and the representative of the Carrier shall

be notified in writing within that time of the rejection of

his decision. Failing to comply with this provision, the

matter shall be considered ciosed, but this shall not be

considered as a precedent or waiver of the contentions of

the employees as to other similar claims or grievances.

It is understood, however, that the parties may, by agree-

ment, at any stage of the handling of a claim or griev-

ance on the property, extend the sixty (60) day period

for either a decision or appeal, up to and including the

highest officer of the Carrier designated for that pur-

pose.

(c) The requirements outlined in paragraphs (a) and

(b), pertaining to appeal by the employee and decision

by the Carrier, shall govern in appeals taken to each

47a

succeeding officer, except in cases of appeal from the de-

cision of the highest officer designated by the Carrier to

handle such disputes. All claims or grievances involved

in a decision by the highest designated officer shall be

barred unless within nine (9) months from the date of

said officer’s decision proceedings are instituted by the

employee or his duly authorized representative before the

appropriate division of the National Railroad Adjustment

Board or a system group or regional board of adjustment

that has been agreed to by the parties hereto as pro-

vided in Section 3 Second of the Railway Labor Act. It

is understood, however, that the parties may by agree-

ment in any particular case extend the nine (9) months’

period herein referred to.

(d) A claim may be filed at any time for an alleged

continuing violation of any agreement and all rights of

the claimant or claimants involved thereby shall, under

this rule, be fully protected by the filing of one claim or

grievance based thereon as long as such alleged viola-

tion, if found to be such, continues. However, no mone-

tary claim shall be allowed retroactively for more than

60 days prior to the filing thereof. With respect to claims

and grievances involving an employee held out of service

in discipline cases, the original notice of request for re-

instatement with pay for time lost shall be sufficient.

(e) This rule recognizes the right of representatives

of the Organizations, parties hereto, to file and prosecute

claims and grievances for and on behalf of the employees

they represent.

(f) This agreement is not intended to deny the right

of the employees to use any other lawful action for the

settlement of claims or grievances provided such action

is instituted within nine (9) months of the date of the

decision of the highest designated officer of the Carrier.

(g) This rule shali not apply to requests for leniency.

I cee

48a

(h) Conferences between local officials and local com-

mittees will be held during the regular working hours of

the day shift without loss of time to committeemen, pro-

viding such conferences are held at the point where com-

mitteemen are employed. |

(i) Prior to assertion of grievances as herein pro-

vided, and while questions of grievances are pending,

there will neither be a shutdown by the employer nor a

suspension of work by the employees.

Rule 35. INVESTIGATIONS

(a) An employee in service more than sixty (60) days

will not be disciplined or dismissed until after a fair and

impartial investigation has been held. Such investigation

shall be set promptly to be held not later than thirty (30)

days from the date of the occurrence, except that per-

sonal conduct cases will be subject to the thirty (30) day

limit from the date information is obtained by an officer

of the Carrier and except as provided in (b) hereof.

(b) In the case of an employee who may be held out

of service in cases involving serious infraction of rules

pending investigation, the investigation shall be held

within ten (10) days after date withheld from service.

He will be notified at time held out of service of the

reason therefor.

(c) At least five (5) days advance written notice of

the investigation shall be given the employee and the ap-

propriate local organization representative, in order that

the employee may arrange for representation by a duly

authorized representative and for presence of necessary

witnesses he may desire. The notice must specify the

charge for which investigation is being held.

(d) A decision shall be rendered within thirty (30)

days following the investigation, and written notice of

discipline will be given the employee, with copy to local

organization’s representative.

49a

(e) The employee and the duly authorized representa-

tive shall be furnished a copy of the transcript of in-

vestigation. Employee or his representative will not be

denied the right to take a stenographic or tape recording

of the investigation.

(f) The investigation provided for herein may be

waived by the employee in writing, in the presence of a

duly authorized representative.

(g) If it is found that an employee has been unjustly

disciplined or dismissed, such discipline shall be set aside

and removed from the record. He shall be reinstated with

his seniority rights unimpaired, and be compensated for

wage loss, if any, suffered by him, resulting from such

discipline or suspension, less any amount earned during

such period the disciplinary action was in effect.

(h) The provisions of Rule 34 shall be applicable to

the filing of claims and to appeals in discipline cases.

(i) The date for holding an investigation may be post-

poned if mutually agreed to by the Carrier and the em-

ployee or his duly authorized representative.

(j) If investigation is not held or decision rendered

within the time limits herein specified, or as extended by

agreed-to postponement, the charges against the employee

shall be considered as having been dismissed.

50a

APPENDIX I

STATEMENT REQUIRED BY RULE 238.1:

Listed below are all parent companies, subsidiaries (ex-

cept wholly owned subsidiaries) and affiliates of Burling-

ton Northern Railroad Company:

Burlington Northern, Inc.

The Belt Railway Company of Chicago

Burlington Northern Dock Corporation

Burlington Northern (Manitoba) Limited

Burlington Northern {Oregon-Washington), Inc.

Burlington Northern Railroad Properties, Inc.

Camas Prairie Railroad Company

Clarklon, Inc.

Clarklon Royalty, Inc.

The Colorado & Southern Railway Company

Davenport, Rock Island & North Western Railway

Company

The Denver Union Terminal Railway Company

The Fort Worth and Denver Railway Company

Galveston Terminal Railway Company

Houston Belt & Terminal Railway Company

Iowa Transfer Railway Company

Kansas City Terminal Railway Company

Keokuk Union Depot Company

Saint Louis-San Francisco Railway Company

The Lake Superior Terminal & Transfer Railway

Company

The Longview Switching Company

The Minnesota Transfer Railway Company

The Paducah & Illinois Railroad Company

The Portland Terminal Railroad Company

The St. Paul Union Depot Company

Southland Realty

The ‘Yerminal Railroad Association of St. Louis

Company

Trailer Train Company

5la

Western Fruit Express Company

The Wichita Union Terminal Railway Company

Winnona Bridge Railway Company

Northern Radial Limited

Burlington Northern is affiliated with the El Paso Com-

pany whose affiliates include:

E] Paso Natural Gas Company

Bemm Holding Corporation

El] Paso de Peru Company

El Paso Development Company

E}x-Mission Ranches, Inc.

Lake Country

Wind Jammer, Inc.

Adams Canyon Ranch

Santa Paula Farms

E] Paso Gas Marketing Company

E] Paso Hydrocarbons Company

E] Paso Frontera Corporation

E] Paso Gas Transportation Company

El Paso Hydrocarbons NGL Company

EF] Paso Hydrocarbons Pipeline Company

EK] Paso Hydrocarbons Service Company

El Paso Hydrocarbons Transportation Company

El Paso Storage Company

Minera San Pedro Corralitos, SA.

Odessa Natural Gasoline Company

Odessa Pipeline Company

Pecos Company

Trebol Drilling Company

El] Paso Moave Pipeline Company

El Paso Natural Gas Building Company

El] Paso Natural Gas Clearinghouse Company

Maridean Petroleum Holding, Inc.

Maridean Oil Production, Inc. (formerly E] Paso

Exploration, Inc.) EPX Company

——————

52a

Maridean Oil, Inc. (formerly Milestone Petroleum

Ince. )

Butte Pipeline Company

Northern Rockies Pipeline

Maridean Oil Trading, Inc.

Portal Pipeline Company

Maridean Oil Pipeline, Inc.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Burlington Northern Railroad v. Gulati · 480 U.S. 951 | Frix