Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Allright, Colorado, Inc. v. City & County of Denver

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

1 - OF <— —~—. oe

C) careme court, US

, ,

No Z iF

SeP 0 199]

In The

P FICE OF THE cCreR

Supreme Court of the United States—_**"

October Term, 1991

+

ALLRIGHT COLORADO, INC.; CONTINENTAL

AIRPORT PARKING, INC.; ENNIS, INC., d/b/a

MONACO PARKING; PHCHODAUX HOWDY

INTERNATIONAL GROUP, INC., d/b/a

PREMIER PARKING, INC.;

Petitioners,

VS.

THE CITY AND COUNTY OF DENVER, a

governmental subdivision of the State of Colorado,

d/b/a SMART; JOHN MROZEK, in his capacity as

Manager of Public Works; GEORGE DOUGHTY, in his

capacity as Director of Aviation of Stapleton,

Respondents.

¢

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The

United States Court Of Appeals For The

Tenth Circuit

4

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

RicHARD L. SHEARER

Counsel of Record

LANGDON J. JORGENSEN

NorMaN F. Kron, Jr.

CALKINS, KRAMER, GRIMSHAW &

Harrina, P.C.

1700 Lincoln Street

Suite 3800

Denver, Colorado 80203

(303) 839-3800

Attorneys for Petitioners

September 27, 1991

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-4964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2833

QUESTION PRESENTED

When a city is a commercial participant in the mar-

ketplace, what test should a court use to determine the

applicability of the state action immunity defense from

liability under the Sherman Antitrust Act?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

OFFICIAL AND UNOFFICIAL REPORTS OF OPIN-

SE Vi oi ved ercedaets veces ends ou es tine

MINOONIES ..... c « cox 0's seviayees ckdsetiol eee

IN 2 oss pane deevsisnseuse eee

STATEMENT OF THE CASE................00000e-

I. cecyvecictseuncst Gee

II. BASIS FOR JURISDICTION IN THE COURT

CHP Fae WU: 006 0 veces ssecectuseeet

ARGUMENT: REASONS- FOR GRANTING THIS

PS PEU i co rie rt cceuvuseee breed sabe eee

I. THE LAW CONCERNING THE STATE

ACTION IMMUNITY DEFENSE TO SHER-

MAN ANTITRUST ACT LIABILITY IS

CO oie ehscetcacanene ebenigekenianes

Il. THIS CASE AFFORDS AN OPPORTUNITY

FOR THIS COURT TO PROVIDE A CLEAR

ARTICULATION OF THE TEST TO BE USED

TO DETFRMINE THE AVAILABILITY OF

THE STATE ACTION IMMUNITY DEFENSE

TO A MUNICIPALITY WHEN THE MUNICI-

PALITY IS A COMMERCIAL PARTICIPANT

IN THE MARABITUAGCS «0. eccccscssncsccs

Th. CO on hkii ns cc ctunesuaaseanvanees

APPENDIX 1: Appellate Court Opinion, Order, and

Conclusions of Law............ App.

APPENDIX 2: Trial Court Ruling of the Court:

Transcript of Proceedings....... App. 28

APPENDIX 3: Portions of the “Coddington Report”

incorporated by reference into the

Trial Court’s Ruling............ App. 48

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Allright Colorado, Inc. v. City and County of Denver,

far fae teen (10th Civ. 1991)................. 1, 4,9

City of Columbia v. Omni Outdoor Advertising, Inc.,

111 S. Ct. 1344, 113 L. Ed. 2d 382 (1991)...... passim

City of Lafayette v. Louisiana Power & Light Co., 435

U.S. 389, 98 S. Ct. 1123, 44 L. Ed. 2d 364 (1978) .... 12

Community Communications Co. v. City of Boulder,

630 F.2d 704 (10th Cir. 1980), reversed, 455 U.S.

40, 102 S. Ct. 835, 70 L. Ed. 2d 810 (1982)...... 10n.

Limeco, Inc. v. Division of Lime of the Mississippi

Department of Agriculture and Commerce, 546 F.

ES) ee 7

Paragould Cablevision, Inc. v. City of Paragould, 930

a , ) 7, 8, 11

Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341, 63 S. Ct. 307, 87 L.

ee eck c secs cece cscs cscscess 8

Town of Hallie v. City of Eau Claire, 471 U.S. 34, 105

an ere, oe a. mee. oe 26 (1965)................. 8

Union Pacific Railroad Co. v. United States, 313 US.

450, 61 S. Ct. 1064, 85 L. Ed. 2d 1453 (1941)...... 10

STATUTES

ee eyes esc c ayers nsecesenesnes

EEE Oe i +

ee giaw haan se essereccsevccerscs ee

ES eS

:

OFFICIAL AND UNOFFICIAL REPORTS

OF OPINIONS

The opinion and judgment of the United States Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals, Tenth Circuit, is printed at Appen-

dix 1. It has been published by West Publishing Company

as Allright Colorado, Inc. v. City and County of Denver, 937

F.2d 1502 (10th Cir. 1991). Unofficial reports include

Allright Colorado, Inc. v. City and County of Denver, 1991

U.S. App. (LEXIS) 13557, and Allright Colorado, Inc. v. City

and County of Denver, 1991-1 Trade Cas. (CCH) 969,484.

The judgment and decree of the United States District

Court for the District of Colorado, printed at Appendix 2,

is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the United States Circuit Court of

Appeals for the Tenth Circuit was entered on July 1, 1991.

No rehearing was sought. No extension of time to file this

Petition for Writ of Certiorari was sought. The jurisdic-

tion of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254.

Petitioners seek relief under the antitrust laws of the

United States, 15 U.S.C. §§ 2, 15, and 26 and 28 U.S.C.

§ 1337.

STATUTES

The Sherman Antitrust Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 2, 15(a), 26

and 35(a), states in part:

§ 2. Monopolizing trade a felony; penalty

Every person who shall monopolize, or

attempt to monopolize, or combine or conspire

with any other person or persons, to monopol-

ize any part of the trade or commerce among the

several States, or with foreign nations, shall be

deemed guilty of a felony, and, on conviction

thereof, shall be punished by fine not exceeding

$10,000,000 if a corporation, or, if any other

person, $350,000, or by imprisonment not

exceeding three years, or by both said punish-

ments, in the discretion of the court.

§ 15. Suits by persons injured

(a) Amount of recovery; prejudgment interest

[A]ny person who shall be injured in his

business or property by reason of anything for-

bidden in the antitrust laws may sue therefor in

any district court of the United States in the

district in which the defendant resides or is

found or has an agent, without respect to the

amount in controversy, and shall recover three-

fold the damages by him sustained, and the cost

of suit, including a reasonable attorney’s fee. .. .

§ 26. Injunctive relief for private parties; exception;

costs

Any person, firm, corporation, or associa-

tion shall be entitled to sue for and have injunc-

tive relief, in any court of the United States

having jurisdiction over the parties, against

threatened loss or damage by a violation of the

antitrust laws, including sections 13, 14, 18, and

19 of this title, when and under the same condi-

tions and principles as injunctive relief against

threatened conduct that will cause loss or dam-

age is granted by court of equity, under the rules

governing such proceedings, and upon the exe-

cution of proper bond against damages for an

injunction improvidently granted and a showing

that the danger of irreparable loss or damage is

immediate, a preliminary injunction may issue:

.... In any action under this section in which

the plaintiff substantially prevails, the court

shall award the cost of the suit, including a

reasonable attorney’s fee, to such plaintiff.

§ 35. Recovery of damages, etc., for antitrust viola-

tions from any local government, or official or

employee thereof acting in an official capacity

(a) Prohibition in general

No damages, interest on damages, costs, or

attorney’s fees may be recovered under section

15, 15a, or 15c of this title from any local govern-

ment, or official or employee thereof acting in

an official capacity.

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. FACTS

The Petitioners! are operators of private shuttle bus

parking lots located near Stapleton International Airport

in Denver, Colorado. Petitioners rent parking space in

their lots to airline passengers who then use Petitioners’

shuttle buses to travel to the airport terminal. Upon their

return, these customers are shuttled back to Petitioners’

1 The names of all parties appear in the caption of the

case. Sup. Ct. R. 16.1(b). Allright Colorado, Inc., is a wholly

owned subsidiary of Allright Corporation. Sup. Ct. R. 29.1.

parking lots to pick up their vehicles. Respondent City

and County of Denver? owns and operates Stapleton

International Airport. The City also operates remote shut-

tle bus parking lots which provide the same service as the

Petitioners’ lots and which are in direct competition with

the Petitioners.? See Allright Colorado, Inc. v. City and

County of Denver, 937 F.2d 1502, 1504 (10th Cir. 1991);

App. 3.

Through 1983, Petitioners Allright and Monaco

shared 100% of the airport shuttle bus parking business.

The City entered the shuttle bus parking business in 1983.

In the first five full years after its entry into the shuttle

bus parking market, the City increased its share of the

market from 0% to 45%, and is now by far the largest

market participant. Allright, 937 F.2d 1502, 1504, 1504 n. 4

(App. 4-5). See also App. 53-58. The appellate opinion sets

forth a materially accurate description of the most

obvious instances where Denver has used its govern-

mental power to hinder its private competitors in its

attempt to monopolize a market in which it is now the

leading market participant. Allright, 937 F.2d 1502,

1504-1505 (App. 3-4).

2 The individual defendants are employees of the City and

County of Denver who manage airport operations.

3 As stated by the trial court in its findings of fact: “[I]t

seems to me that for purposes of an antitrust analysis Denver

is a player on the board, as any private operator of an airport

would be.” App. 36.

5

II. BASIS FOR JURISDICTION IN THE COURT OF

FIRST INSTANCE

The Complaint in this case was filed on June 20, 1989.

The jurisdiction of the district court for the subject of this

Petition was based upon 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1337, and

the antitrust laws of the United States, 15 U.S.C. §§ 2, 15

and 26.

¢

ARGUMENT: REASONS FOR GRANTING

THIS PETITION

I. THE LAW CONCERNING THE STATE ACTION

IMMUNITY DEFENSE TO SHERMAN ANTITRUST

ACT LIABILITY IS UNCLEAR.

Presently there is no clear test to establish when the

state action immunity defense is available to a city which

is acting as a market participant. Numerous antitrust

cases are filed against local governments each year, and

the state action immunity defense is asserted in nearly

every such case. Establishing a clear test for the availabil-

ity of the state action immunity defense in cases involv-

ing claims that a local governmental market participant

violated the Sherman Antitrust Act is an issue of national

importance.

Il. THIS CASE AFFORDS AN OPPORTUNITY FOR

THIS COURT TO PROVIDE A CLEAR ARTICULA-

TION OF THE TEST TO BE USED TO DETER-

MINE THE AVAILABILITY OF THE STATE

ACTION IMMUNITY DEFENSE TO A MUNICI-

PALITY WHEN THE MUNICIPALITY IS A COM-

MERCIAL PARTICIPANT IN THE MARKET-

PLACE.

The Tenth Circuit decision in this case misapplied

this Court’s articulation of the “commerciai participant”

doctrine expressed in City of Columbia v. Omni Outdoor

Advertising, Inc., __ U.S. __, 111 S. Ct. 1344, 1351, 113 L.

Ed. 2d 382 (1991).

In City of Columbia, this Court, speaking through

Justice Scalia, expressly recognized that the state action

immunity defense may not apply where the city is itself a

“commercial participant” and wields power or performs

activities in direct competition with private enterprise in

an otherwise private market:

[State action antitrust] immunity does not neces-

sarily obtain where the State acts not in a regu-

latory capacity but as a commercial participant

in a given market.

City of Columbia, 111 S. Ct. 1344, 1351, 113 L. Ed. 2d 382.

This Petition involves a case that fits squarely within

the limitation to the state action immunity doctrine set

forth in City of Columbia. Unlike the run-of-the-mill

municipal antitrust case, the central issue in the instant

case is not federalism. Federalism concerns exist when

the application of federal law interferes with a state’s

ability to impose legitimate regulations upon private

activities. Petitioners have no quarrel with the need of the

sovereign states and their subdivisions to exercise their

legitimate regulatory powers. But when a city, such as

Denver in the instant case, undertakes to enter a mar-

ketplace, and then uses its governmental powers to prey

upon its lawful competitors, the city goes beyond the

realm of mere regulation and instead occupies the status

of a private market participant that unlawfully seeks

monopoly power. If a city participates in a private mar-

ket, the city should be subject to the same federal anti-

trust laws as the private market participant.* See Limeco,

Inc. v. Division of Lime of the Mississippi Department of

Agriculture and Commerce, 546 F. Supp. 868, 870-871 (N.D.

Miss. 1982) for an excellent analysis concluding that fed-

eralism concerns do not bar application of federal anti-

trust law when the state acts as a competitor, rather than

as sovereign.

Only three reported cases have considered the “com-

mercial participant” doctrine: City of Columbia, the instant

case, and Paragould Cablevision, Inc. v. City of Paragould,

930 F2d 1310 (8th Cir. 1991). In Paragould, however, the

Eighth Circuit Court declined to apply the “commercial

participant” doctrine to facts where it would appear

applicable, because:

As yet, the market participant exception is

merely a suggestion and is not a rule of law.

Until such a transformation occurs, we will con-

tinue to use the necessary and reasonable test

established by this Circuit.

Paragould, 930 F.2d at 1312-1313.

4 Petitioners recognize that municipalities are immune

from damages claims for antitrust violations, 15 U.S.C. § 35(a),

and no damages have been sought in this case.

The commercial participant doctrine articulated by

Justice Scalia on behalf of this Court is an excellent tool to

lead the courts out of the legal thicket that presently

exists with respect to when a local government engaging

in anticompetitive business practices may assert state

action immunity as a defense to an antitrust claim. How-

ever, the commercial participant doctrine articulated by

this Court in City of Columbia was ignored by the Eighth

Circuit in Paragould and was misapplied by the Tenth

Circuit in this case. Petitioners believe that City of Colum-

bia will continue to be ignored and misapplied unless this

Court fleshes out the legal test for the commercial partici-

pant cases. It appears that if the municipal commercial

participant doctrine is to be given meaning, that meaning

must come from this Court or the doctrine will remain

forever “merely a suggestion.”

Legitimate regulation and predatory conduct by

municipal competitors are substantially different. The test

for whether immunity applies when legitimate regulation

is involved is clear: state and local governments have

limited immunity from Sherman Act liability when regu-

lating pursuant to a clearly expressed state policy, even

where displacement of private competition by the local

government is a foreseeable result of the regulation. Town

of Hallie v. City of Eau Claire, 471 U.S. 34, 39-40, 105 S. Ct.

1713, 1716-1717, 85 L. Ed. 2d 24 (1985), explaining Parker

v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341, 63 S. Ct. 307, 87 L. Ed. 2d 315

(1943). This limited immunity is necessary to protect state

and local governments from antitrust liability each time a

legitimate regulation has an anticompetitive effect. In

contrast, while the existence of a separate test for

whether such immunity applies when the municipality is

a market participant has been articulated by this Court in

City of Columbia, the Court has not yet provided any

guidance on how this test should be applied.

The Tenth Circuit opinion in this case demonstrates

the current confusion. In this case, the test applied by the

Tenth Circuit to the City, undisputedly a market partici-

pant, was the same as would be applied if the City were

acting in a legitimate regulatory capacity.° While noting

the existence of City of Columbia, the Tenth Circuit incor-

rectly applied the commercial participant analysis, stat-

ing:

The fact that the City is also in some sense a

competitor of plaintiffs does not alter the basic

test for state action immunity nor does it dimin-

ish the City’s regulatory authority over the Air-

port and plaintiffs’ activities. The question

remains whether there is-a clear and express

state policy to displace competition with regula-

tion and authorizing the challenged activities.

Allright, 937 F.2d 1502, 1510 (App. 20). This analysis is

incorrect. As Justice Scalia noted in City of Columbia, the

fact that a city is a competitor does alter the basic test, or

at least adds to it. Once a city has decided to become

more than a mere regulator, and has chosen to

> The trial court did not make this error, but instead recog-

nized the fundamental difference in city as competitor vs. city

as regulator: “[Hlere we must draw the distinction clearly

between applying the law of antitrust to the City and County

of Denver as a competitor with the plaintiffs and governmental

action by the City and County of Denver.” App. 35. The trial

court found that state action immunity did not shield the City

from Sherman Act liability.

10

become an active player in the market, it must comply

with federal antitrust law. Once a city becomes an active

market participant in a market that has not, by state

policy, been awarded to the governmental subdivision,

the city should not, as a matter of law, be allowed to use

its extraordinary governmental powers to crush its com-

petition.

City of Columbia recognizes the fundamental differ-

ence between how a city should be treated for Sherman

Act purposes when the city itself is a market participant,

and how it should be treated when the city merely regu-

lates private conduct. Although not stated in terms of

waiver, the effect of the exception is that a city waives its

state action immunity when it ceases to act solely as a

government and launches a private enterprise. See Union

Pacific Railroad Co. v. United States, 313 U.S. 450, 61 S. Ct.

1064, 85 L. Ed. 2d 1453 (1941) (active interference in a

market by a municipality does not enjoy blanket state

action immunity from federal antitrust law). In deciding

this case, the Tenth Circuit ignored the important distinc-

tion stated by this Court in City of Columbia.®

6 Previously, the Tenth Circuit has acted to eradicate

needed constraints upon local governments by its expansive

interpretation and application of the state action immunity

doctrine. The Supreme Court has previously reined in the

Tenth Circuit in this area of the law. In Community Communica-

tions Co. v. City of Boulder, 630 F.2d 704, 708 (10th Cir. 1980),

reversed, 455 U.S. 40, 56-57, 102 S. Ct. 835, 843, 70 L. Ed. 2d 810

(1982), the Tenth Circuit attempted to expand the concept of

unbridled governmental power and state action immunity by

allowing general home rule authority to be used as authority

(Continued on following page)

—

1]

This Court’s articulation of the fundamental differ-

ence in the roles of municipalities as regulators and as

market participants, and, perhaps, use of the suggested

waiver analysis, would clarify the limitation on the state

action immunity defense stated in City of Columbia and

send a clear message to the circuit and district courts that

cities which abuse their governmental powers when act-

ing as market participants are not protected by state

action immunity.

II. CONCLUSION

This case is a classic example of the type of case that

the Court may consider under Sup. Ct. R. 10.1(c). This

case also presents an excellent opportunity to clarify the

law in an area of significant national concern. Clarifica-

tion of the legal analysis required in a municipal commer-

cial participant case is needed, as within the last few

months at least two courts, the Tenth Circuit and the

Eighth Circuit, have already misapplied the law by ignor-

ing Or misunderstanding the guidance offered by this

Court’s recent decision in City of Columbia. This case and

the Paragould case are the first circuit court opinions to

cite City of Columbia. If this issue is not promptly resolved

by this Court, these cases are likely to obscure a

(Continued from previous page)

for anticompetitive conduct in the cable television market. This

Court, reversing the Tenth Circuit, stated that there must be a

clear articulation of state policy, inter alia, before a city may

displace competition with regulation. Once again, guidance

from this Court will help the circuits in the application of the

Sherman Act.

12

significant doctrine that the Supreme Court obviously

intended to be used in antitrust cases involving munici-

palities. It also appears that unless this Court intercedes

to flesh out the commercial participant doctrine set forth

in City of Columbia, the state action immunity defense is

likely to become more confused than it was immediately

following City of Lafayette v. Louisiana Power & Light Co.,

435 U.S. 389, 98 S. Ct. 1123, 44 L. Ed. 2d 364 (1978).

City of Columbia set forth an important tool which

may help courts, counsel and the citizens of our country

find their way out of the proprietary/governmental

thicket. This case presents the opportunity for this Court

to develop the commercial participant doctrine and clar-

ify the law of state action immunity. The ultimate result,

Petitioners respectfully suggest, would be for this Court

to explain and apply the commercial participant limita-

tion on the state action immunity doctrine, then remand

the case to the Tenth Circuit for further proceedings not

inconsistent with this Court’s opinion.

Respectfully submitted,

CALKINS, KRAMER, GRIMSHAW &

Harrinc, P.C.

RicHArD L. SHEARER

Counsel of Record

LANGDON J. JORGENSEN

NorMaN F. Kron, Jr.

1700 Lincoln Street

Suite 3800

Denver, Colorado 80203

Telephone: (303) 839-3800

Attorneys for Petitioner

ee

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1991

¢

ALLRIGHT COLORADO, INC.; CONTINENTAL

AIRPORT PARKING, INC.; ENNIS, INC., d/b/a

MONACO PARKING; PHiCHODAUX HOWDY

INTERNATIONAL GROUP, INC.; d/b/a PREMIER

PARKING, INC.,

Petitioners,

VS.

THE CITY AND COUNTY OF DENVER, a

governmental! subdivision of the State of Colorado,

d/b/a SMART; JOHN MROZEK, in his capacity as

Manager of Public Works; GEORGE DOUGHTY, in his

capacity as Director of Aviation of Stapleton,

Respondents.

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The

United States Court Of Appeals For The

Tenth Circuit

*

APPENDIX TO PETITION

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

1 nannies a

APPENDIX TABLE OF CONTENTS

APPENDIX 1: Appellate Court Opinion, Order, and

Conclusions of Law.............. App. 1

APPENDIX 2: Trial Court Ruling of the Court:

Transcript of Proceedings....... App. 28

APPENDIX 3: Portions of the “Coddington Report”

which was incorporated by reference

into the Trial Court Ruling of the

Court: Transcript of Proceedings... App. 48

EEE

App. 1

ALLRIGHT COLORADO, INC.; Continental

Airport Parking, Inc.; Ennis, Inc., dba Monaco

Parking; Phchodaux Howdy International

Group, Inc., dba Premier Parking Inc., Plain-

tiffs-Appellants, Cross-Appellees,

Vv.

The CITY AND COUNTY OF DENVER, a gov-

ernmental subdivision of State of Colorado dba

SMART; John Mrozek, in his capacity as manager

of Public Works; George Doughty, in his capacity

as director of Aviation of Stapleton, Defendants-

Appellees, Cross-Appellants.

Nos. 89-1379, 90-1003.

United States Court of Appeals,

Tenth Circuit.

July 1, 1991.

Richard L. Shearer (Langdon J. Jorgensen, with him

on the briefs), Calkins, Kramer, Grimshaw & Harring,

Denver, Colo., for plaintiffs-appellants, cross-appellees.

Helen Eckardt Raabe, Asst. City Atty. (Dean Speirs,

Asst. City Atty., and B. Lawrence Theis, Walters & Theis,

with her on the briefs), Denver, Colo., for defendants-

appellees, cross-appellants.

Before McKAY, ANDERSON, Circuit Judges, and

CHRISTENSEN,” District Judge.

STEPHEN H. ANDERSON, Circuit Judge.

Plaintiffs, four corporations which provide remote lot

parking and courtesy shuttle bus service to airline

* Honorable A. Sherman Christensen, Senior Judge, United

States District Court, District of Utah, sitting by designation.

App. 2

customers at Stapleton International Airport (“Stapleton”

or “Airport”) in Denver, Colorado, appeal the dismissal

of their antitrust and 42 U.S.C. § 1983 suit against the City

and County of Denver (“Denver” or “City”) and two city

employees. They alleged that Denver’s proposed adop-

tion of new Rules and Regulations imposing certain fees

on the operation of their shuttle buses and requiring

them to sign certain agreements, in conjunction with

other alleged restrictions on plaintiffs’ operations at Sta-

pleton, violated section two of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 2, as well as the equal protection, due process and

commerce clauses of the United States Constitution and

certain provisions of Denver’s City Charter. Upon the

conclusion of plaintiffs’ case in their trial to the court, the

district court granted defendants’ Fed.R.Civ.P. 41(b)

mction to dismiss. Plaintiffs appealed that dismissal, and

defendants cross-appealed the district court’s refusal to

find their actions immune from suit under the antitrust

laws. We affirm.

BACKGROUND

Plaintiffs (Allright Colorado, Inc., Continental Air-

port Parking, Inc., Ennis, Inc. d/b/a Monaco Parking,

and Phchodaux Howdy International Group, Inc., d/b/a

Premier Parking, Inc.) are Colorado corporations engaged

in the business of operating remote parking lots at Sta-

pleton and providing a courtesy shuttle bus service

between those lots and the terminals at Stapleton.

Allright has been engaged in that business since 1978.

The other plaintiffs entered the business in 1985 and 1986.

Stapleton is a proprietary enterprise owned and operated

by Denver, a governmental subdivision of the State of

ee

App. 3

Colorado. Defendant John Mrozek was the Manager of

Denver’s Department of Public Works at the time of trial.

His duties included the management and operation of the

Airport and the public roads adjacent to the Airport.

Defendant George Doughty was the Director of Aviation

for Stapleton. Doughty’s responsibilities included the

immediate management and operation of the Airport,

including adjacent public roads. Mrozek was Doughty’s

supervisor.

This case concerns Denver’s operation of parking lots

and an accompanying shuttle bus service at Stapleton. In

its early stages, the shuttle bus parking service at Sta-

pleton was exclusively offered by private parties such as

plaintiffs.' In 1983, Denver began operation of Shuttle Lot

#1 with accompanying shuttle bus service. It established

Shuttle Lot #2 in 1984 and Shuttle Lot #3 in 1985. Shuttle

Lot #1 was dedicated to other uses in 1986. Its shuttle bus

service is called SMART (Stapleton Mass Rapid Transit).

While SMART and plaintiffs now charge comparable

prices for daily parking, evidence at trial showed that in

1985 and 1986, SMART charged somewhat less than

plaintiffs.

Initially, plaintiffs had unrestricted access to the Sta-

pleton terminal, using the roads adjacent to the airport.

Although the evidence was not clear as to exact dates, at

some point after plaintiffs commenced business, Denver

! There was some testimony that the City had for some

time operated a remote parking lot which was used as an

overflow lot at peak times.

2 Those roads are public rights-of-way. See City and County

of Denver v. Publix Cab Co., 135 Colo. 132, 308 P.2d 1016 (1957).

App. 4

imposed restrictions on all commercial operators at Sta-

pleton, requiring them to use certain designated commercial

lanes and pick-up locations. In late 1984 or early 1985, Sta-

pleton imposed permit fees on plaintiffs’ activities at the

Airport. SMART buses were exempted from the permit fees.

Subsequently, Denver required plaintiffs to use different

access routes than its own shuttle buses used, and allocated

pick-up locations at the terminal. Plaintiffs allege, and the

district court found, that SMART buses have the more favor-

able pick-up locations. Additionally, the district court found

that the routes imposed on plaintiffs’ shuttle buses are less

favorable.* In 1988, Denver installed access gates on the

commercial lanes and required all commercial operators to

use electronic cards to access the commercial lanes.

In addition to the above restrictions on plaintiffs’

activities at Stapleton, Denver has allegedly further dis-

advantaged plaintiffs by granting to its own SMART

buses the exclusive right to advertise on Stapleton prop-

erty, the exclusive right to use public rights-of-way for

sign. directing travellers to its own lots, the exclusive

right to use the Stapleton information radio to advertise,

and a more favorable representation on the Airport direc-

tory. The evidence presented at trial established that,

during this time period, SMART experienced a significant

increase in its share of the remote shuttle bus parking

market, whereas plaintiffs experienced a decline.

3 The district court found that “there’s a doubling back

which both affects the time, the convenience of the passengers,

and the costs to the plaintiffs of running those shuttles.” Tran-

script of Ruling of the Court at 9.

4 Plaintiffs’ expert, Dean C. Coddington, prepared a “Mar-

ket Analysis and Impact Assessment of Shuttle Bus Parking,

(Continued on following page)

Habe

App. 5

In 1989, defendants took the actions which prompted

this lawsuit. By letter dated May 17, 1989, they informed

plaintiffs that they planned to adopt new Rules and Reg-

ulations which would: (1) impose access fees on commer-

cial operators at the airport, including plaintiffs; and (2)

require commercial operators such as plaintiffs to sign

permit agreements in which they would consent to pay

the new access fees or lose their access cards and be

thereby barred from the airport terminal. Denver’s own

SMART buses would not be required to pay any such

fees. The fees were based upon the time spent at the

lower level of the Airport terminal building where pas-

sengers were picked up. Thus, plaintiffs’ shuttle buses

incurred added costs if they lingered at the terminal to

assure that their buses were always available for trav-

ellers. Because it was exempt from the fees, SMART could

always have a bus waiting for travellers. The access fee

imposed on plaintiffs was approximately 50% higher than

(Continued from previous page)

Stapleton International Airport.” Plaintiffs’ Exhibit 100,

Addendum Tab 100. The district court incorporated by refer-

ence the relevant portions of that Exhibit. That Exhibit showed

that, in 1984, plaintiff Allright had 62.1% of the off-site parking

market, plaintiff Monaco had 37.4% of that market, and

SMART and plaintiffs Premier and Continental had 0%. By

1989, SMART’s share had increased to 45%, whereas Allright’s

had declined to 24.1%, Monaco’s had declined to 18.3% and

Premier and Continental had market shares of 4.9% and 7.7%

respectively. Mr. Coddington projected that by 1994, SMART

would have more than 50% of that market, whereas the four

plaintiffs would have less than 30%. The Exhibit also included

an analysis of the impact of SMART on plaintiffs’ revenues,

and an analysis of the marketing efforts of SMART and plain-

tiffs.

App. 6

that imposed on certain other private shuttle bus opera-

tc ’s (i.e. shuttle bus operators between hotels, ski resorts,

car rental companies or other comparable businesses and

the airport) who use the same commercial lanes and

routes. The permit agreement also required plaintiffs to

disclose financial information and customer lists to the

Manager of Public Works, and imposed certain other

allegedly onerous burdens on plaintiffs. The Department

of Public Works adopted the Rules and Regulations on

June 12, 1989 and they were to take effect on July 1, 1989.

Plaintiffs filed this lawsuit on June 20, 1989, alleging

that, by all of the above actions, “the City has consistently

used its governmental authority and power to system-

atically bestow unfair and illegal competitive advantages

upon SMART, to the detriment and exclusion of the Plain-

tiffs.” Complaint at 5, R.Vol. I Tab 1. Plaintiffs argue that

defendants engaged in those activities in order to monop-

olize or attempt to monopolize the Airport parking mar-

ket in violation of section two of the Sherman Act, 15

U.S.C. § 2.° They further allege that the permit and access

fees constitute an undue burden on interstate commerce,

and that the allegedly unfavorable treatment of plaintiffs

violates the due process and equal protection clauses of

the Fourteenth Amendment. Finally, they argue that the

fees are in fact taxes which were not properly enacted

under the City Charter, and that the permit agreements

are adhesion contracts invalid as contrary to public

° They initially also alleged a violation of Colorado state

antitrust laws, but voluntarily dismissed that claim before trial.

App. 7

policy. They sought injunctive relief, damages and attor-

neys’ fees and costs.®

Defendants filed a Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6) motion to

dismiss, followed by a motion for summary judgment.

Trial to the court was held on November 20-22, 1989. At

the close of plaintiffs’ case, the court granted defendants’

Fed.R.Civ.P. 41(b) motion to dismiss on the ground that

plaintiffs had “shown no right to relief.” It ruled that

plaintiffs had failed to establish that there was a dan-

gerous probability of success in monopolizing the rele-

vant market and that defendants had a specific intent to

monopolize. Plaintiffs’ attempt to monopolize claim was

therefore dismissed. The court held that plaintiffs’

monopolization claim failed apparently because plaintiffs

failed to prove monopoly power.”

* Simultaneously with their complaint, plaintiffs filed a

motion for a temporary restraining order, which resulted in a

hearing, converted by agreement of the parties to a hearing for

a preliminary injunction. The hearing was, however, continued

because the parties reached an interim agreement to not

require payment of the new fees or require plaintiffs to sign the

permit agreement until January 1, 1990. The fees are nonethe-

less accruing.

? The court ruled from the bench and did not reduce its

ruling to writing. The court’s reasoning for rejecting plaintiffs’

monopolization claim is not completely clear. The court stated:

Now, the evidence does not establish that Denver is

a monopolist here and in this aspect of the analysis,

it is important, I think, to bring in the limitations on

what Denver can do as a government, so in this

sense there is a necessity. I think, to overlap the

principles and recognize that Denver can’t be a

(Continued on following page)

ie

App. 8

The court rejected plaintiffs’ due process and equal

protection claims because it concluded defendants’ classi-

fication of commercial operators for the purposes of dif-

ferent fee schedules and other disparate treatment

satisfied the rational basis test. Plaintiffs do not appear to

challenge the dismissal of their interstate commerce claim

or their pendent state law claims. The court found against

defendants, however, on their claim of immunity under

the state action immunity doctrine of Parker v. Brown, 317

U.S. 341, 63 S.Ct. 367, 87 L.Ed. 315 (1943). Plaintiffs timely

(Continued from previous page)

monopolist and, as I said in colloquy with plaintiffs’

counsel, Denver doesn’t claim and certainly doesn’t

have the power to simply preclude the plaintiffs

from accessing this airport by saying, “We are going

to be the exclusive shuttle parking services provider

for Stapleton International Airport.” It can’t do that

because of other limitations on it as a government,

which, of course, involves the concepts in these other

claims.

So in a very real sense, here I have to accept the

plaintiffs’ view that there is a confluence of princi-

ples because they can’t become a monopoly in that

way, and additionally, as we'll see in a moment, they

can’t use their ability to extract charges as conditions

for the entry here to an extent that is unreasonable;

in other words, there are limits to the rates that they

can charge, the fees for access and they’re the very

limits that are being claimed in the other claims for

relief, and that’s another reason why the city can’t be

in the position of a monopolist with respect to this

service in this market. Therefore, plaintiffs have

failed to prove a Section II, a Sherman II violation in

this case.

Transcript of Ruling of the Court at 11-12.

ee

App. 9

appealed the dismissal of their claims and defendants

cross-appealed the court's decision that defendants were

not immune from antitrust suit.

DISCUSSION

I. State Action Immunity.

Defendants cross-appeal the district court’s refusal to

hold them immune on state action immunity grounds

from an antitrust suit, arguing that the state has expressly

authorized local entities to own and operate airports,

including all facilities and operations, such as parking,

necessary thereto.

Municipalities are shielded from antitrust liability for

allegedly anticompetitive acts “authorized by the State

‘pursuant to state policy to displace competition with

regulation or monopoly public service.’ ” Hallie v. City of

Eau Claire, 471 U.S. 34, 39, 105 S.Ct. 1713, 1716, 85 L.Ed.2d

24 (1985) (quoting City of Lafayette v. Louisiana Power &

Light Co., 435 U.S. 389, 413, 98 S.Ct. 1123, 1137, 55 L.Ed.2d

364 (1978)); see also Community Communications Co. v. City

of Boulder, 455 U.S. 40, 51-52, 102 S.Ct. 835, 840-841, 70

L.Ed.2d 810 (1982); Buckley Constr., Inc. v. Shawnee Civic &

Cultural Dev. Auth., 933 F.2d 853 (10th Cir.1991); Jacobs,

Visconsi & Jacobs Co. v. City of Lawrence, 927 F.2d 1111,

1120 (10th Cir.1991); Oberndorf v. City and County of

Denver, 900 F.2d 1434 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, Us. _.

111 S.Ct. 129, 112 L.Ed.2d 97 (1990). This court follows a

two-part test for evaluating municipal state action immu-

nity. “First, the state legislature must have authorized the

action under challenge. Second, the legislature must have

intended to displace competition with regulation.” Jacobs,

App. 10

Visconsi & Jacobs Co., 927 F.2d at 1120; see also Buckley

Constr., Inc., 933 F.2d at 855; Oberndorf, 900 F.2d at 1438.8

Express authorization of the allegedly anticompetitive acts

is not required. Hallie, 471 U.S. at 42, 105 S.Ct. at 1718

(“[i]t is not necessary . . . for the state legislature to have

stated explicitly that it expected that City to engage in

conduct that would have anticompetitive effects”). It is

8 Oberndorf was the first opinion in this circuit to frame the

municipal immunity question in terms of two parts. We there

noted that “we must consider two prerequisites to proper

application of the state action exception to municipal action.”

900 F.2d at 1438. Because in that case the Colorado Urban

Renewal Law manifestly evidenced a clearly articulated and

expressly stated policy to displace competition, we focused our

inquiry on whether the City’s actions were authorized by that

law. In Jacobs, Visconsi & Jacobs Co., we called the inquiry a

“two-part test.” 927 F.2d at 1120. !n practice, of course, the two

parts will not always have equal prominence. See Oberndorf,

900 F.2d at 1438-39. In City of Columbia v. Omni Outdoor Adver-

tising, Inc., __ U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. 1344, 113 L.Ed.2d 382 (1991),

the Supreme Court recently stated that the inquiry into munici-

pal “authority to regulate” will not be an exacting one:

[I!n order to prevent Parker from undermining the

very interests of federalism it is designed to protect,

it is necessary to adopt a concept of authority

broader than what is applied to determine the legal-

ity of the municipality’s action under state law. ... It

suffices for the present to conclude that here no more

is needed to establish, for Parker purposes, the city’s

authority to regulate than its unquestioned zoning

power over the size, location, and spacing of bill-

boarcs.

111 S.Ct. at 1350. The two parts of the inquiry are designed to

answer the central question — whether there is a “clearly articu-

lated and affirmatively expressed policy” to displace competi-

tion. Hallie, 471 U.S. at 44, 105 S.Ct. at 1719.

el

App. 11

sufficient if the anticompetitive conduct “is a foreseeable

result” of the stated policy or it is “clear that anticompeti-

tive effects logically would result from [the] broad

authority to regulate.” Id. Nonetheless, there must be a

“clearly articulated and affirmatively expressed” state

policy to displace competition. Id. at 44, 105 S.Ct. at 1719.

The two most recent Supreme Court decisions on this

subject help define the parameters of the municipal

immunity inquiry. In Hallie, Wisconsin statutes granted

the authority to cities to construct, add to, alter and

repair sewage systems, to determine the areas in which

the sewage systems would operate and to refuse to pro-

vide service outside those areas. The statutes further

empowered the State Department of Natural Resources to

require cities to construct their sewage systems so that

unincorporated areas could connect to them provided the

landowners in the unincorporated areas agreed to

become annexed to the cities. Four unincorporated towns

adjacent te the city of Eau Claire alleged that the city

violated the antitrust laws by refusing to supply sewage

treatment services to the residents of the towns unless a

majority of those residents voted to become annexed to

the city and to use the city’s sewage collection and trans-

portation services. The Court held that the city was

immune.

[T]he statutes clearly contemplate that a city

may engage in anticompetitive conduct. Such

conduct is a foreseeable result of empowering

the City to refuse to serve unannexed areas... .

[I]t is sufficient that the statutes authorized the

City to provide sewage services and also to

determine the areas to be served. We think it is

App. 12

clear that anticompetitive effects logically would

result from this broad authority to regulate.

Hallie, 471 U.S. at 42, 105 S.Ct. at 1718.

By contrast, in Boulder, the Court held that the Home

Rule Amendment of the Colorado constitution conferring

upon municipalities the general authority to govern local

affairs was merely a “neutral” expression of state policy,

which did not sufficiently articulate a state policy to

displace competition:

But plainly the requirement of “clear articula-

tion and affirmative expression” is not satisfied

when the State’s position is one of mere neu-

trality respecting the municipal actions chal-

lenged as anticompetitive. A State that allows its

municipalities to do as they please can hardly be

said to have “contemplated” the specific anti-

competitive actions for which municipal liability

is sought. Nor can those actions be truly

described as “comprehended within the powers

granted,” since the term, “granted,” necessarily

implies an affirmative addressing of the subject

by the State. The State did not do so here: The

relationship of the State of Colorado to Boul-

der’s moratorium ordinance is one of precise

neutrality.

Boulder, 455 U.S. at 55, 102 S.Ct. at 842 (emphasis origi-

nal). Thus, an ordinance passed by the city of Boulder

imposing a moratorium on a cable television company’s

expansion was not protected from antitrust challenge by

the state action doctrine.

We therefore examine the relevant statutes to deter-

mine whether they authorized the actions challenged and

App. 13

whether they evidence a “clearly articulated and affirma-

tively expressed” policy to displace competition in the

provision of off-airport shuttle bus parking.?

Those statutes provide as follows:

41-4-101. Operation a governmental func-

tion. The acquisition of any lands for the pur-

pose of establishing airports or other air

navigation facilities; . . . the acquisition, estab-

lishment, construction, enlargement, improve-

ment, maintenance, equipment, and operation of

airports ...j; and the exercise of any other

powers granted in this part 1 to any county, city

and county, city ... are hereby declared to be

public governmental functions... .

Colo.Rev.Stat. § 41-4-101. Section 41-4-106 authorizes the

operation of airports by counties:

41-4-106. Operation of airports. In connection

with the erection, maintenance, and operation of

any such airport or navigation facilities, any

county has the power and jurisdiction . . . to

9 We reject plaintiffs’ argument that Denver is authorized

to own and operate Stapleton by Article XX of the Colorado

constitution, the “home rule” provision, instead of by other

statutory provisions more specifically relating to airports. In

Sterling Beef Co. v. City of Fort Morgan, 810 F.2d 961 (10th

Cir.1987), this court noted that the home rule provision in the

constitution “roundjs] out the basic authority” contained in the

particular statute conferring upon the city of Fort Morgan, a

home rule city, the authority to engage in the allegedly anti-

competitive acts challenged there. The primary focus of our

opinion in Sterling Beef was on the particular statutes, not the

home rule provision. Under Boulder, it is clear that the grant of

home rule authority by itself is an insufficient expression of

state policy to displace competition.

App. 14

regulate the receipt, deposit, and removal and

the embarkation of passengers or property to or

from such airport; to exact and require charges,

fees, and tolls, . . . ; to lease or assign for

operation such space or area. . . necessary or

useful in connection therewith; . . . to provide

rules and regulations governing the use of such

airport and facilities and the use of other prop-

erty and means of transportation within or over

said airport... .

Colo.Rev.Stat. § 41-4-106.!9 Sections 41-4-201 and 41. 4-204

generally provide comparable authority to cities to own,

maintain and operate airports. Colo.Rev.Stat.

§ 31-15-711(f) provides authority for cities to maintain

and operate public parking facilities.

Defendants assert that those statutes clearly and

affirmatively express a state policy to displace competi-

tion in the operation of airports and related activities,

including off-airport shuttle bus parking. We agree.

As the Supreme Court did in Hallie, we turn to the

specific language of the statutes. Section 41-4-106 clearly

confers upon counties a broad authority to regulate air-

port activities, including the power “to regulate the

receipt, deposit, and removal and the embarkation of

passengers or property to or from such airports; to exact

and require charges, fees, and tolls .. . ; to lease or assign

for operation such space or area . . . necessary or useful in

10 It appears that the city and county of Denver is consid-

ered a “county” under the Public Airport Authority Law,

Colo.Rev.Stat. §§ 41-3-101 to -108.

App. 15

connection therewith; . . . to provide rules and regula-

tions governing the use of such airport and facilities and

the use of other property and means of transportation

within or over said airport.” See also § 41-4-204 (same

authority granted to cities). That is precisely what the

City has dene in this case — it has regulated the removal

and embarkation of passengers to and from the airport; it

has exacted fees and charges; it has assigned areas of

operation to plaintiffs; it has provided rules and regula-

tions governing the use of the airport and the means of

transportation within the airport. Further, it is certainly a

“forseeable result” of that broad authority to regulate that

competition in the provision of shuttle bus services

between the Airport Termina! and off-airport parking lots

would be displaced. Caselaw supports our conclusion.

As indicated, in Hallie itself, the Court found it “suffi-

cient that the statutes authorized the City to provide

sewage services and also to determine the areas to be

served. We think it is clear that anticompetitive effects

logically would result from the broad authority to regu-

late.” Hallie, 471 U.S. at 42, 105 S.Ct. at 1718.

In Sterling Beef v. City of Fort Morgan, 810 F.2d 961

(10th Cir.1987), this court found immunity in an equally

broad statutory scheme. The city of Fort Morgan, Colo-

rado had a natural monopoly in the provision of natural

gas. When Sterling Beef Company attempted to purchase

natural gas for its meat processing plant at a cheaper

price from a private company by connecting to that com-

pany’s gas distribution system outside the city limits,

Fort Morgan passed an ordinance making it unlawful for

any person, without a permit or franchise from the city, to

erect or operate “any natural gas pipeline... or system

App. 16

... Within the city in order to sell or distribute or provide

non-municipal gas... to any user or consumer within the

city; or... to interconnect any building ... to any natural

gas pipeline or system... other than to the natural gas or

electrical system of the City of Fort Morgan.” Sterling

Beef, 810 F.2d at 962.

In holding that the enactment of the ordinance was

protected state action, this court relied largely on

Colo.Rev.Stat. § 31-15-707(a)(1) which granted munici-

palities the power:

[t]o acquire . . . gasworks, and gas distribution

systems for the distribution of gas of any

kind .. . or to authorize the erection, ownership,

operation, and maintenance of such works and

systems by others.

We held that that statute, along with “the related powers

of the city provided by the state constitution and by

statute on this same subject combine to detail all the

powers necessary to permit the city to attain a monopo-

listic position as to gas distribution.” Sterling Beef, 810

F.2d at 964. The challenged ordinance was “a forseeable

consequence of the municipality’s power over natural gas

distribution.” Id.

Similarly, Denver’s challenged rules and regulations

governing shuttle bus services are a foreseeable conse-

quence of its statutory power to regulate access to and

use of the airport. See also Interface Group, Inc. v. Mass.

Port Auth., 816 F.2d 9, 13 (1st Cir.1987) (statutes permit-

ting Port Authority to “contract with any person .. . de-

siring the use of any part of [the] airport rates or charges

for such use... ” authorized policies-governing “which

App. 17

airlines are to use which terminals, where and how they

are to be serviced, and whether or when they can taxi

from one terminal to another”); Commuter Transp. Sys.,

Inc. v. Hillsborough City Aviation Auth., 801 F.2d 1286, 1289

(1ith Cir.1986) (“The Authority was authorized by the

state to negotiate contracts with businesses as it may

deem necessary for the development and expansion of

the airport and to grant concessions, upon such terms

and conditions as it shall deem proper. It is clear that The

Authority’s actions [restricting the number of contracts

with limousine operators] was contemplated by the state

legislature and under Parker, The Authority is immu-

nized.”); Montauk-Caribbean Airways, Inc. v. Hope, 784 F.2d

91, 96 (2nd Cir.) (“In view of this broad statutory author-

ity to enter into exclusive or non-exclusive contracts, it

was a forseeable result that the Town would assert the

authority to deny appellant year-long operating rights.”),

cert. denied, 479 U.S. 872, 107 S.Ct. 248, 93 L.Ed.2d 172

(1986); Indep. Taxicab Drivers’ Employees v. Greater Houston

Transp. Co., 760 F.2d 607, 610 (5th Cir.) (“While the [statu-

tory] provision falls short of expressly mentioning the

establishment of ground transportation services, the stat-

ute’s broad phrasing is a strong indication of the state’s

desire to abdicate in favor of municipal prescience with

regard to airport management.”), cert. denied, 474 U.S.

903, 106 S.Ct. 231, 88 L.Ed.2d 230 (1985); Hillman Flying

Serv., Inc. v. City of Roanoke, 652 FSupp. 1142, 1145-46

(W.D.Va. 1987) (statute granting municipalities the

authority to “acquire, construct, maintain, and operate

airports and related structures, properties and facilities”

App. 18

immunized grant of the exclusive right to sell aviation

fuel to one vendor), aff'd, 846 F.2d 71 (4th Cir. 1988)."

1! Defendants also rely on our opinion in Pueblo Aircraft

Serv. v. City of Pueblo, 679 F.2d 805 (i0th Cir.1982), cert. denied,

459 U.S. 1126, 103 S.Ct. 762, 74 L.Ed.2d 977 (1983), in which we

held that the city of Pueblo, Colorado was immune from anti-

trust liability in its dealings with fixed base operators at its

municipal airport. We did so in reliance upon Colo.Rev.Stat.

§ 41-4-101, upon which defendants in this case also rely, and

which, as indicated above, states that the maintenance and

operation of airports are “public governmental functions, exer-

cised for a public purpose, and matters of public necessity.”

While noting that typically a municipal airport is properly

viewed as a “proprietary” activity, in the face of an explicit

statute such as section 41-4-101, we felt compelled in Pueblo

Aircraft to recognize immunity for the operation of the Pueblo

airport as a “public governmental function.”

We do not base our finding of immunity in this case on

that statute or on the rationale of Pueblo Aircraft. The distinc-

tion between proprietary activities and governmental functions

upon which our Pueblo Aircraft opinion was based has at times

formed the basis for determinations of immunity. See, e.g., City

of Lafayette v. Louisiana Power & Light Co., 435 U.S. 389, 98 S.Ct.

1123, 55 L.Ed.2d 364 (1978) (Burger, C.J., concurring) (state

authorization necessary for immunity because defendant

municipalities in that case were engaged in “proprietary”

activities); Padgett v. Louisville and Jefferson County Air Board,

492 F.2d 1258 (6th Cir.1974) (Air Board’s award of contract to

one taxicab company immune from antitrust challenge because

Board “was exercising a valid governmental function to which

the antitrust laws do not apply”); E.W. Wiggins Airways, Inc. v.

Mass. Port Auth., 362 F.2d 52 (1st Cir.) (decision by Port Author-

ity to enter into exclusive lease with fixed base operator was

immune from antitrust challenge as “the exercise of a valid

governmental function”), cert. denied, 385 U.S. 947, 87 S.Ct. 320,

17 L.Ed.2d 226 (1966). It appears to us that the distinction

between proprietary and governmental functions has not been

(Continued on following page)

App. 19

Plaintiffs make much of the fact that in this case, the

City is also in some sense a competitor of plaintiffs.'?

They also suggest that the City’s activities here go far

beyond what may have been authorized by statute with

respect to airport parking, and that the defendants’

motivations may have been anticompetitive. None of

these arguments persuade us that the City should be

subject to antitrust liability for its actions in this case.

(Continued from previous page)

pursued in recent Supreme Court opinions. In Hallie, for exam-

ple, the Court simply considered whether the relevant statutes

contained the requisite clear and express authorization. It did

not consider whether the city’s actions were proprietary or

governmental. See also P. Areeda & H. Hovencamp, Antitrust

Law, 4212.2e (Supp.1990) (in criticizing Chief Justice Burger’s

position in his Lafayette concurrence, the authors noted that

“decisions since Lafayette have essentially ignored any distinc-

tion between proprietary and other functions”); In Re Airport

Car Rental Antitrust Litigation, 521 F.Supp. 568, 583 (N.D.Cal.

1981) (“municipal antitrust liability does not turn on the dis-

tinction between commercial/proprietary and governmental

activities. ... If the opinions in Lafayette make anything clear, it

is that this distinction was unacceptable to eight of the nine

members of the Court.”), aff'd, 693 F.2d 84 (9th Cir.1982), cert

denied, 462 U.S. 1133, 103 S.Ct. 3114, 77 L.Ed.2d 1368 (1983). Cf

City of Columbia v. Omni Outdoor Advertising, Inc., _. U.S. __,

111 S.Ct. 1344, 1351, 113 L.Ed.2d 382 (1991) (no conspiracy

exception to state action immunity, with possible exception of

when state acts “not in a regulatory capacity but as a commer-

cial participant in a given market”).

'2 Plaintiffs shuttle buses and the City’s SMART buses do

not, however, perform identical services. As the district court

found, SMART buses perform the additional job of transport-

ing passengers between concourses, and not just to remote

parking lots.

App. 20

The fact that the City is also in some sense a competi-

tor of plaintiffs does not alter the basic test for state

action immunity nor does it diminish the City’s regula-

tory authority over the Airport and plaintiffs’ activities.

The question remains whether there is a clear and express

state policy to displace competition with regulation and

authorizing the challenged activities. We have held that

there is. The City’s additional status as a possible compet-

itor, or its possible engagement in a “proprietary” activ-

ity, is not determinative. See note 11, supra. Cf. City of

Columbia v. Omni Outdoor Advertising, Inc., 111 S.Ct. at

1351 (“this [state action] immunity does not necessarily

obtain where the State acts not in a regulatory capacity

but as a commercial participant in a given market”).

Similarly, plaintiffs’ allegation that defendants may

have gone beyond the statutory authority granted them,

or that they may have been motivated by anticompetitive

intentions, is unpersuasive. See City of Columbia v. Omni

Outdoor Advertising, Inc., __ U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. 1344, 113

L.Ed.2d 382 (1991). As we noted in Buckley Constr., Inc.,

933 F.2d at 856, “[o]nce a municipality establishes it is

entitled to state action immunity, the subjective motiva-

tion of the actors involved in the decisionmaking process

should not come into play.” We agree with the Ninth

Circuit, which has stated:

The availability of Parker immunity . . . does not

depend on the subjective motivation of the indi-

vidual actors, but rather on the satisfaction of

the objective standards set forth in Parker and

authorities which interpret it. This must be so if

the state action exemption is to remain faithful

to its foundations in federalism and state sover-

eignty. A contrary conclusion would compel the

“

App 21

federal courts to intrude upon internai state

affairs whenever a plaintiff could present color-

able allegations of bad faith on the part of

defendants.

Boone v. Redevelopment Agency, 841 F.2d 886, 892 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied, 488 U.S. 965, 109 S.Ct. 489, 102 L.Ed.2d 526

(1988) (quoting Llewellyn v. Crothers, 765 F.2d 769, 774 (9th

Cir.1985)); see also Omni Outdoor Advertising, Inc., 111

S.Ct. at 1352-53. For the same reason we reject the argu-

ment that alleged errors or abuses in the implementation

of state law should expose the City to antitrust liability.

See Omni Outdoor Advertising, Inc., 111 S.Ct. at 1349-50;

Buckley Constr., Inc., 933 F.2d at 856; Interface Group, Inc. v..

Mass. Port Auth., 816 F.2d 9, 13-14 (Ist Cir. 1987);

Llewellyn, 765 F.2d at 1334; Scott v. City of Sioux City, 736

F.2d 1207 (8th Cir.1984), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1003, 105

S.Ct. 1864, 85 L.Ed.2d 158 (1985); P. Areeda & H. Hoven-

camp, Antitrust Law, 212.3b (Supp.1990); cf. Lease Lights,

Inc. v. Pub. Serv. Co. of Oklahoma, 849 F.2d 1330, 1334 (10th

Cir.1988) (“The constitutional invalidity of the attempted

state regulation is not an appropriate basis for disregard-

ing state action immunity.”), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 1019,

109 S.Ct. 817, 102 L.Ed.2d 807 (1989).

We therefore reverse the district court’s conclusion

that defendants’ activities were not immune from anti-

trust challenge. Accordingly, we need not address the

merits of the antitrust claims

I]. Equal Protection and Due Process Claims

Plaintiffs claim that the City created three different

classifications of shuttle bus service plaintiffs’ private

snes

App. 22

off-airport parking shuttle bus service; hotel, motel, ski

resort and other comparable facility shuttle bus service;

and SMART shuttle bus service. The evidence showed,

and the district court found, that the challenged rules and

regulations imposed on plaintiffs a fee which was 50%

higher than the fee imposed on the hotel, motel and ski

resort shuttle bus services. SMART buses were assessed

no fee. Plaintiffs claim that this disparate treatment of

similarly situated shuttle bus services was arbitrary and

capricious and violates the equal protection and due pro-

cess clauses. The district court rejected this argument,

concluding that the City had a rational basis for treating

the three groups differently. We affirm.

When a plaintiff challenges economic or commercial

legislation as violating the equal protection or due pro-

cess clauses, the state or municipal defendant need only

show that the regulation is rationally related to a legiti-

mate state interest. See City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living

Center, 473 U.S. 432, 105 S.Ct. 3249, 87 L.Ed.2d 313 (1985);

New Orleans v. Dukes, 427 U.S. 297, 303, 96 S.Ct. 2513,

2516, 49 L.Ed.2d 511 (1976) (per curiam); Nebbia v. New

York, 291 U.S. 502, 54 S.Ct. 505, 78 L.Ed. 940 (1934);

Buckley Constr., Inc., 933 F.2d at 859; Jacobs, Visconsi &

Jacobs Co. v. City of Lawrence, 927 F.2d 1111 (10th Cir.

1991); Alamo Rent-A-Car, Inc. v. Sarasota-Manatee Airport

Auth., 825 F.2d 367 (11th Cir.1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S.

1063, 108 S.Ct. 1022, 98 L.Ed.2d 987 (1988); Murphy v.

Matheson, 742 F.2d 564 (10th Cir. 1984). Governmental

bodies have “wide latitude in enacting social and eco-

nomic legislation; the federal courts do not sit as arbiters

of the wisdom or utility of these laws.” Alamo Rent-A-Car,

Inc., 825 F.2d at 370; see also Silverstein v. Gwinnett Hosp.

ican nial

™

App. 23

Auth., 861 F.2d 1560, 1564 (11th Cir.1988); Murphy v. Math-

eson, 742 F.2d at 575. We also note we need not satisfy

ourselves that the challenged rules will in fact further

their articulated purposes; it is sufficient if “the legisla-

ture could rationally have concluded that the purposes

would be achieved.” Alamo Rent-A-Car, 825 F.2d at 372

(citing Minnesota v. Clover Leaf Creamery Co., 449 U.S. 456,

101 S.Ct. 715, 66 L.Ed.2d 659 (1981)); see also Clements v.

Fashing, 457 U.S. 957, 963, 102 S.Ct. 2836, 2843, 73 L.Ed.2d

508 (1982) (“Classifications are set aside only if they are

based solely on reasons totally unrelated to the pursuit of

the State’s goals and only if no grounds can be conceived

to justify them.”); Swin Resource Sys., Inc. v. Lycoming

County, 883 F.2d 245, 255-56 (3rd Cir.1989), cert. denied, __

U.S. __, 110 S.Ct. 1127, 107 L.Ed.2d 1033 (1990).

We consider first whether the challenged classifica-

tions have a legitimate purpose. The challenged rules and

regulations state that they were enacted “to ensure the

traveling public access to an efficient and orderiy ground

transportation system and to ensure efficient use of the

limited capacity of Airport roadways and parking and

loading facilities;”

Denver Municipal Airport System including without lim-

to “meet the needs for operating the

itation the expenses for bonded indebtedness of the sys-

tem, its operating expenses, and expenses for

construction, reconstruction, replacement, repair and any

similar activity for any facility within the system;” “to

retire debts” and to “pay for Airport construction, recon-

struction, replacement, repair and operating expenses;”

to “reasonably apportion these expenses among conces-

sionaires, businesses and other users of the facilities;”

and “to recoup revenue the Airport may be losing and

App. 24

preserve its existing revenue.” These are legitimate gov-

ernmental purposes. See Alamo Rent-A-Car, 825 F.2d at 373

(raising revenue is a legitimate and substantial govern-

mental objective); Gannett Satellite Information Network v.

Metro. Transp. Auth., 745 F.2d 767 (2d Cir.1984); Astro

Limousine Serv., Inc. v. Hillsborough County Aviation Auth.,

678 F.Supp. 1561, 1565 (M.D.Fla. 1988), aff'd, 862 F.2d 877

(11th Cir.1988). Promoting the efficient use of Airport

space and facilities is undoubtedly a legitimate govern-

mental purpose.

Accordingly, we must determine whether there is a

rational basis for believing that the classifications

employed will further those legitimate purposes. There

are two relevant comparisons here: plaintiffs vis-a-vis

hotel, motel and ski resort shuttle bus operators and

plaintiffs vis-a-vis SMART buses. We consider first the

different treatment of plaintiffs and hotel, motel and ski

resort services.

Plaintiffs argue there is no rational basis for charging

them a fee 50% higher than the fee imposed on those

other shuttle bus operators, whose use of the Airport,

plaintiffs argue, is identical. The district court found that

plaintiffs’ shuttle bus service is “different” from the ser-

vice provided by buses connecting the Airport with

hotels, motels and ski resorts. Defendants argue and the

district court also found that plaintiffs derive a “greater

benefit” from the Airport than do hotel/motel/ski resort

shuttle bus services. Plaintiffs contend it is irrational to

make such an assumption without engaging in studies to

prove the greater benefit. We disagree.

———————————

App. 25

A very similar contention was made in Alamo Rent-

A-Car, 825 F.2d 367 (11th Cir.1987), where an off-airport

car rental company challenged the imposition of higher

user fees on its own operations than on hotel and motel

courtesy vehicles. The court held such different fees did

not violate the equal protection clause:

Differences in the types of business conducted

by these companies is certainly a factor in equal

protection analysis, and in some cases this dis-

tinction alone may be sufficient to uphold the

challenged legislation.

Alamo Rent-A-Car, 825 F.2d at 370. Even assuming the

businesses were not materially different for the purpose

of imposing the challenged fees, the court concluded that

“{t}he distinctions .. . drawn are based upon [the Airport

Authority’s] rational assessment of the relative benefits

and the extent of use of each category of vehicles that

enter the airport. In establishing these classifications, the

Authority need not achieve perfection or mathematical

exactitude.” Id. at 371.'> See also Vance v. Bradley, 440 U.S.

93, 99 S.Ct. 939, 59 L.Ed.2d 171 (1979). We reach the same

conclusion here.

We review the district court’s factual findings under

the clearly erroneous standard. Woods v. North Am. Rock-

well Corp., 480 F.2d 644, 646 (10th Cir.1973). We cannot say

13 For example, the court noted that the Airport Authority

could rationally conclude that hotel and motel operators would

discontinue service if they were charged any higher fee, since

the airport courtesy vehicle service is not an indispensible part

of their business.

|

App. 26

that the findings that plaintiffs are engaged in a “differ-

ent” service and that they derive a “greater benefit” from

the Airport are clearly erroneous.'4 Given those findings,

there is a rational basis for believing that the different

treatment of plaintiffs’ service compared with other shut-

tle bus services furthers the City’s legitimate interests of

“reasonably apportion[ing] [airport] expenses among

. users of the facilities” and “ensur[ing] the traveling

public access to an efficient and orderly ground transpor-

tation system.” See Alamo Rent-A-Car, 825 F.2d at 370-71.

Plaintiffs also challenge the imposition of fees on

their services as compared with the exemption from any

fees of the City’s own SMART vehicles. We also affirm the

district court’s conclusion that there is a rational basis for

believing that this distinction will further the City’s legit-

imate interests. As the district court specifically found,

SMART buses perform additional functions in that they

also transport passengers between concourses. Thus,

SMART buses are arguably engaged ina “different line[ ]

of business.” Alamo Rent-A-Car, 825 F.2d at 370.

4 As a further explanation for why it concluded that

plaintiffs derive a greater benefit from the Airport, the district

court noted that “[t]he plaintiffs clearly wouldn’t be in busi-

ness at all but for this airport, and their whole business is to

provide the parking services for people explaning at this air-

port.” Transcript of Ruling of the Court at 19-20. Shuttle bus

services to hotels, resorts and ski resorts, by contrast, would

still be in business even if the Airport, for example, banned all

private shuttle bus services from the premises. Although they

could not pick up passengers at the Airport, they could still

provide a service to people travelling to hotels, motels or ski

resorts, albeit from a different pick-up location.

rl

App. 27

Furthermore, the City as a governmental entity can

be treated differently for equal protection purposes than

a private commercial entity. See Puget Sound Co. v. City of

Seattle, 291 U.S. 619, 54S.Ct. 542, 78 L.Ed. 1025 (1933); see

also City of Pittsburgh v. Alco Parking Corp., 417 U.S. 369, 94

S.Ct. 2291, 41 L.Ed.2d 132 (1974).'5

Finally, as defendants argue, they could rationally

conclude that SMART buses should be exempt from the

fee because the City already receives substantial revenue

from the City’s parking operations at the airport. Thus,

no equal protection violation follows from the decision

not to impose an additional user fee on the City’s parking

lot shuttle service. See Evansville-Vanderburgh v. Delta Air-

lines, 405 U.S. 707, 718-19 and note 13, 92 S.Ct. 1349,

1356-57 and note 13, 31 L.Ed.2d 620 (1972).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we AFFIRM the district

court’s grant of defendants’ Rule 41(b) motion to dismiss.

1S Additionally, as airport officials testified, defendants

believed that it would be illogical to charge SMART buses the

user fee because there would be no net gain of funds. Rather,

the fee would be paid out from one part of the City’s opera-

tions and paid into another. Exempting SMART buses from the

fee is therefore consistent with the legitimate governmental

objective of raising revenue.

App. 28

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

ALLRIGHT COLORADO, INC.,

Plaintiff

vs.

DENVER, ET AL.,

)

)

)

)

CITY AND COUNTY OF ;

)

)

89-M-1071

Defendant.

RULING OF THE COURT

TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS

Proceedings held before the HONORABLE RICH-

ARD P. MATSCH, U.S. District Judge, for the District of

Colorado, beginning at 9:00 a.m. on the 22nd day of

November, 1989, in Courtroom A, United States Court-

house, Denver, Colorado.

APPEARANCES

For the Plaintiff:

For the Defendants:

Richard Shearer, Esq.

Scott Myren, Esq.

Calkins, Kramer, Grimshaw &

Harring

1700 Lincoln Street, Suite 3800

Denver, Colorado 80203

Helen Eckardt Raabe, Esq.

Dean Speirs, Esq.

Assistant City Attorneys

Stapleton International Airport

Room 406, Main Terminal Bidg.

Denver, Colorado 80207

ieee

App. 29

B. Lawrence Theis, Esq.

Walters & Theis

2015 York Street

Denver, Colorado 80205

Proceedings recorded by electronic sound recording,

transcript produced by transcription service.

PROCEEDINGS

THE COURT: I’m ready to rule on the matter

and I’m going to grant the defendant’s motion. Under

Rule 41(b), in doing so it’s necessary for me now to find

the facts and make the conclusions of law, just as if the

trial had been completed.

The basic facts in this case, of course, essential facts

are not really disputed in terms of what has happened

here. The matter at issue concerns the Stapleton Interna-

tional Airport, which is operated - ownef and operated

by the City and County of Denver and as a part of that

airport facility, the city provides parking service as a

necessary service for air travelers.

It’s clear from the evidence that as Stapleton Airport

grew, the on-site parking facilities provided there became

inadequate to the volume of traffic, and it’s clear that

Allright saw the opportunity that was presented by that

situation to open up an off-site private parking facility

several miles away, and provided shuttle bus service

from that parking lot to the airport for enplaning and

deplaning passengers so they could be transported frorn

the parking lot to the airport and reverse.

The history of the shuttle parking business is set out

in the plaintiff’s expert’s report here, which is Exhibit

App. 30

100, Mr. Coddington’s report and in his testimony, and

rather than prolong the findings of fact I’m going to

simply incorporate by reference the relevant portions of

that exhibit.

The Section 1, development of parking at Stapleton

International Airport, I accept as being accurate with

respect to when these other facilities came on line and

when Stapleton Airport’s shuttle lots were also estab-

lished in their capacities. Also, for purposes of this legal

analysis, I’m going to accept the other portions of that

report dealing with the volume of the parking business

and particularly the figures that are attached, Figure II-1

and II-2, and also the table II-1.

What that shows, of course, is an increase of growth

in the market and for the purposes of all of the necessary

analysis of the claims in this case, the market being talked

about is the airport, Stapleton International Airport shut-

tle parking services. That’s really both geographical and

product definition or service definition, Stapleton Airport

shuttle bus parking. And it shows, particularly Figure

Il-2, graphically the growth of that market over time,

with some leveling off, of course, which is also, according

to the testimony, coincident with a reduction in passenger

flow at Stapleton Internationa! Airport.

There is also in the report and in the testimony of Mr.

Coddington the testimony with respect to the impact on

the plaintiff’s business, and Figure II-5 is his illustration

of his analysis of the effects of the expansion by the city

of the Smart lots, the operation of the Smart shuttles and,

I suppose, also, the pricing strategies of the city. And of

course, the pricing strategy included its coming into the

aX

App. 31

market at a significantly lower price than the competi-

tors, and then its current pricing.

Now, the city has in the past charged the plaintiffs a

fee of - a monthly fee of $30 a vehicle, which hasn’t been

complained about by the plaintiffs and has been

accepted, I guess, as a fair charge for access. But the city,

in adopting through the Department of Public Works its

new policies and the rules and regulations that are now

in evidence as Plaintiff’s Exhibit 44, has significantly

changed the rules for access by the plaintiffs. They’ve

also changed the rules for access by others in commercial

traffic, but the focus of this lawsuit, of course, is on the

plaintiffs as the parking lot operators, remote parking lot

operators who provide shuttle bus services.

The principle thing in the regulations that were

focused on here are the fees for parking lot operators,

which are at page 100101, using the Beta or whatever it’s

called, page-numbering system here, which is Class 1

vehicles, 42 cents for the first 15 minutes with a charge of

$1.13 for each additional ten minutes. That’s the classi-

fication applicable to the plaintiff’s shuttle vehicles. And

of course, there are other vehicle classifications in here

with different rates. It’s also, according to the evidence

now, the situation that the vehicles operated by the city

through its management contract would be a Class 3

vehicle because of its different size and that if that were a

private company, it’d be charging $1.35 for 25 minutes

and $2.63 for additional ten minutes.

Additionally, as a requirement under those rules and

regulations, the plaintiffs are required to enter into a

App. 32

permit agreement identified as a non-tenant parking com-

pany permit, a copy of which is Plaintiff's Exhibit 42, and

the requirements there are something that the plaintiffs

had no choice about if they choose to conduct their

business as it is, as it has been. They have to sign this

agreement, like it or not.

It’s also clear that in looking at the other charges in

Exhibit 44, that those other commercial vehicles who are

involved in using the same commercial lane at the lower

level of the airport terminal building, the drive lanes, are

charged the Class 1 vehicles and the classifications are the

same here by length of the vehicle — 28 cents for the first

15 minutes, 75 cents for each additional ten minutes for

Class 1 vehicles, the same class as the plaintiffs. So the

plaintiffs are paying, or being required to pay 50 per cent

more than the other commercial users of the same access

lanes.

It's also in the evidence that there are some 240,

approximately 240 different companies making use of

these commercial lanes and they represent a variety of

enterprises which include vans running people up to ski

resorts and other places. They include limousine service.

They include rental car shuttles; that is, shuttle buses to

take people to rental car facilities; couriers, and a number

of other users.

Now, the plaintiffs’ challenge to the regulations and

the permit agreements come in several different claims.

The plaintiffs assert a violation of Section II of the Sher-

man Act. The plaintiffs assert that the regulations and

fees are invalid as an unreasonable burden on interstate

te ely RE TR PS Ane ei ee, GL eee

BB iti inte sr

App. 33

commerce, that the fees and regulations violate the plain-

tiffs’ property rights in contravention of the due process

and equa! protection clauses of the 14th Amendment, that

there’s been a usurpation of legislative power in the city

by an administrative agency, that these contracts are per-

mit agreements or contracts of adhesion that are contrary

to the law of the State of Colorado, and that the fees

amount to an excise tax which must be under the charter

of the City and County of Denver enacted by iegislation

with the City Council. The claims must each be analyzed

separately. I do not agree with the contention made by

the plaintiffs, both here in argument and in the plaintiffs’

brief in opposition to the motion for summary judgment

that these are inextricably linked alternative and concur-

rent claims under the federal antitrust laws and the equal

protection, due process and commerce clauses.

I don’t agree with that because that’s just not the way

in which the Court must function. It’s not appropriate for

a Court to simply meld together a number of different

legal doctrines and say that under this aggregation of

claims the plaintiffs have some new claim not previously

recognized in the law. | think that’s the principal problem

with the analysis in the Park-N-Fly of Texas case, that in

reading that Court’s opinion, it’s difficult for me to

understand whether the result is bottomed in equal pro-

tection, due process, or exactly what doctrine other than

the conclusory paragraphs which say, essentially, you

ought to settle this matter.

Now, I think it’s important to emphasize the need to

give discrete evaluation of each claim for relief because it

does say something about what is the proper institutional

role of the Court in any controversy. If we were to blur

————————————————

App. 34

the distinctions that are made in the law in these various

claims, we are, of course, doing that which Courts have

been criticized for, federal courts in particular, that

they're stepping outside the institutional role and sort of

putting some sort of visceral standards of fairness into

play as rules of the game. That’s not right. I have to

analyze the claims and exercise the power of this Court in

accordance with well-established legal principles.

We begin, then, with the antitrust claim under the

Sherman Act. A Sherman II violation requires proof of the

elements that are mentioned on page six of the defen-

dant’s memorandum supporting the motion to dismiss

that claim. Here there is a relevant market. I’ve already

alluded to it as the Stapleton Airport parking shuttle

service which, as I’ve already said, includes both geo-

graphic limitations and product or, in this case, | think

more appropriately, service in which the alleged attempt

occurred.

There is also a case made for the fourth element,

conduct in furtherance of an attempt to monopolize, and

that, of course, refers not only to the plaintiffs’ evidence

concerning the fact that the City and County of Denver

does not charge itself in its Smart role the same fees that

would be required of another Class 3 user, or even con-

sidering itself a Class 1 user as the plaintiffs are, commer-

cial users. So the plaintiffs contend, and the evidence

supports that in that sense, the defendants have an eco-

nomic advantage. It’s also true that there is a significant

difference with respect to the route followed by the Smart

shuttles and the plaintiffs’ shuttles as they’re restricted,

and particularly as it affects the red zone, the pickup

which requires shutties to leave the airport, go down and

——

App. 35

then return, go through another access gate, I guess it is,

pick up passengers and go back. So there’s a doubling

back which both affects the time, the convenience of the

passengers, and the costs to the plaintiffs of running

those shuttles.

There’s also evidence supporting that the door, the

locations for the pickups favor the Smart buses, partic-

ularly given the difference in volume here with respect to

the doors that are in between the north and south pickup

zones that the plaintiffs can use.

The failure of the claim under Sherman II is the

failure to show that there’s a dangerous probability of

success to monopolizing any relevant market and the

failure to prove specific intent to monopolize. Now,

there’s a difference between an intent to monopolize and

an intent to use certain advantages that a competitor has,

and here we must draw the distinction clearly between

applying the law of antitrust to the City and County of

Denver as a competitor with the plaintiffs and govern-

mental action by the City and County of Denver.

I have disagreed with the City’s contention that it’s

immune from this claim under the Parker v. Brewn gov-

ernmental immunity or exemption doctrine. There is no

doubt in my mind that the operation of Stapleton Interna-

tional Airport given as a whole is something that’s

approved by the State of Colorado under state policy. The

policy of this state authorizes cities and counties - and

Denver is both — to run an airport, and there’s no doubt

in my mind that for a number of purposes, the Parker v.

Brown applies to Denver and the airport. I don’t think

that the doctrine is dependent upon - the application of

App. 36

the doctrine is dependent upon looking at Denver as a

proprietary action - in its proprietary capacity as com-

pared with its governmental capacity, and I think the

Supreme Court of Colorado stated very effectively in

Denver v. Mountain States Telephone & Telegraph Com-

pany in the 1988 en banc decision at 754 Pacific 2d 1172

that — and particularly at 1173 — that the governmental

proprietary distinction is neither a single nor a simple

rule. It’s a cluster of rules used in diverse contexts for a

variety of purposes, and the Court criticizes the use of the

doctrine as some general proposition, and I agree with

that.

The point is simply this: That there is nothing in state

policy that says to an airport operator, a governmental

airport operator that you should regulate the airport

parking shuttle services in any way, or that you should

displace competition with regulation, and that’s what the

doctrine’s bottomed in and there just isn’t any such as it

applies to this narrow aspect of the operation of the

airport. So it is in that focus that I disagree with the city’s

contention of immunity.

Now, at the same time, it seems to me that for pur-

poses of the antitrust analysis Denver is a player on the

board, as any private operator of an airport would be. So

you look to the —- Denver’s activities here for purposes of,

first of all, the specific intent to monopolize, which is not

shown in this record; and the dangerous probability of

success in monopolizing, and I need only look to — on

that latter one, the dangerous probability of success — to

the plaintiffs’ own expert’s testimony, Coddington, and

indeed, to the history of Denver’s market entry here, that

Denver, under these practices, is not going to be able to

ttle Crate aD

ee ee ee eee

App. 37

drive the plaintiffs out of business ard, additionally,

there is no sufficient evidence to establish that Denver's

purpose in these rules and regulations and in this permit

agreement to drive the plaintiffs out of business. Indeed,

it would be irrational for Denver to do it given the need

for Denver in its total operation of the airport to provide

parking services beyond its own capacities as they exist. |

mean, as the plaintiffs have pointed out, there’s a benefit

to the city as the airport operator in the plaintiffs having

this business out — these businesses out there and provid-

ing this service to the flying public.

Now, the evidence does not establish that Denver is a

monopolist here and in this aspect of the analysis, it is

important, I think, to bring in the limitations on what

Denver can do as a government, so in this sense there is a

necessity, I think, to overlap the principles and recognize

that Denver can’t be a monopolist and, as I said in collo-

quy with plaintiffs’ counsel, Denver doesn’t claim and

certainly doesn’t have the power to simply preclude the

plaintiffs from accessing this airport by saying, “We are

going to be the exclusive shuttle parking services pro-

vider for Stapleton International Airport.” It can’t do that

because of other limitations on it as a government, which,

of course, involves the concepts in these other claims.

So in a very real sense, here I have to accept the

plaintiffs’ view that there is a confluence of principles

because they can’t become a monopoly in that way, and

additionally, as we'll see in a moment, they can’t use their

ability to extract charges as conditions for the entry here

to an extent that is unreasonable; in other words, there

are limits to the rates that they can charge, the fees for

access and they’re the very limits that are being claimed

App. 38

in the other claims for relief, and that’s another reason

why the city can’t be in the position of a monopolist with

respect to this service in this market. Therefore, the plain-

tiffs have failed to prove a Section II, a Sherman II viola-

tion in this case.

The second claim for relief that I wish to address in

the order in which I am addressing them is the plaintiffs’

contention that this is a violation, the permit agreement

and the fee system is a violation of the United States

Constitution with respect to imposing a burden on inter-

state commerce. Interstate commerce is, of course,

involved in this case. There’s no doubt about that, and

the analysis of this claim is directed by the Supreme

Court opinion in Evansville Airport against Delta Air-

lines.

That opinion is instructive in a number of ways.

There the Supreme Court said, at page 714 of the opinion

as it’s reported in 405 U.S. Reports, “We regard it as

settled that a charge designed only to make the user of

state-provided facilities pay a reasonable fee to help

defray the costs of their construction and maintenance

may constitutionally be imposed on interstate and

domestic users alike.” Going on, “The facility provided at

public expenses aids rather than hinders the right to

travel. A permissible charge to help defray the costs of

the facility is, therefore, not a burden in the constitutional

sense.”

The Court goes on to discuss what is permissible, and

page 707 refers to its decisions concerning highway tolls

wherein it was recognized that states could develop uni-

form, fair and practical standards for this type of fee and

ee

App. 39

then the opinion goes on to discuss toll — types of toll

charges that have been invalidated and those that have

been validated, which include some rather unusual ones

including a 2 per cent charge on the fair market value of

motor vehicles used in commerce. And the Court further

notes that the tax should — tax as it was in the toll cases —

should be judged by the result, not the formula, and must

stand unless proven to be unreasonable in amount for the

privilege, the privilege granted.

It goes on to cite an earlier case that talks about

rcugh approximation rather than precision, and says at

716: “Thus, while state or iocal tolls must reflect a uni-

form, fair and practical standard relating to public expen-

ditures, it is the amount of the tax, not its formula, that is

of central concern, at least so long as the toll is based on

some fair approximation of use or privilege for use as

was that before us in Capital Greyhound and is neither

discriminatory against interstate commerce, nor excessive

in comparison with the governmental benefit conferred.

It will pass constitutional muster even though some other

formula might refiect more exactly the relative use of the

state facilities by individual users.”

Now that, as I say, is instructive here because Mr.

Moss has presented his analysis the there is really no

question, I think, that if you adopted the — his view, the

charge would be significantly less. He said 22 cents based

on his analysis of the city’s costs of the - providing this

lane that the plaintiffs use. He didn’t testify under gener-

ally accepted accounting principles, but | suppose maybe

there aren’t any for this particular type of application. |

don’t know. We may learn that in other litigation.

App. 40

However, looking at it - and we don’t have to look at

it in generally accepted accounting principles, I accept

that, looking at it in terms of what’s fair, what’s reason-

able in making this decision. Now here I think, too, it’s

important to recognize the limits of the Court’s role

because we could adopt - running with this language — a

standard of well, it’s - you know, and also, it’s what’s

reasonable. I guess everything that’s not unreasonable is

reasonable, and everything that’s not arbitrary is fair

because the words we use for the two sides of the coin are

just those words; arbitrary on the one side, fair on the

other. Reasonable on one side, unreasonable on the other,

and the plaintiffs’ got the burden of proof, of course, so

we're really looking at whether we’re talking about arbi-

trary and unreasonable charges.

We can look at that and do this type of cost account-

ing that Mr. Moss offered, and then it seems to me the

Courts, under that doctrine, are going to be exercising the

same kind of a role as a public utility commission in

saying, weil, you’ve got to justify by cost analysis every

fee that you charge in this type of application. There is

disagreement about what are true components. What’s an

appropriate component of cost when you're talking about

a facility as large, as inter-related and as expensive as this

airport?

So we can quarrel about components of costs. I sup-

port, you know, it maybe somewhat easier to say landside

versus the airside here and deal with the landside costs,

although I’m not so sure that that should be required

because there is the inter-relationship, obviously, if we

look at it in terms of the benefit conferred because if it

weren’t for the airside, we wouldn’t be out there. Planes

iti etesemia eerie, eran 2s ction’

App. 41

wouldn’t be out there. The whole facility wouldn’t be out

- there. So components of costs are areas in this analysis,

they’re areas of dispute as well as the amounts and the

accounting system used, and I believe it would put us

into a very dense thicket, indeed, if we were to involve

the Court in making careful analysis of components and

amounts as Mr. Moss has.

It seems to me what the Supreme Court of the United

States has said in Evansville Airport is, “Dont get

involved in that. Rough approximations. Reasonable rela-

tionships. And leave these determinations for the govern-

mental entities that are involved, and simply evaluate

their conduct under a more generalized standard. is it

arbitrary? Is it unreasonable?” Now here again there is

some blurring into the equal protection analysis and the

equal protection claim.

The plaintiffs assert and have in Mr. Shearer’s argu-

ment that the equal protection —- and I believe he said

equal protection and due process clauses require that

people similarly situated must be treated uniformly. That

isn’t the law. It’s not the law under the equal protection

clause. It’s not the law under due process. Government -

these are limitations on governmental power and these

limitations recognize an area of discretion for govern-

ments.

What the equal protection clause requires is that

when you make classifications there has to be a rationale

basis for the classification, so long as there’s no invidious

discrimination and, of course, this case doesn’t involve

the plaintiffs as a class being identified in some way with

the kinds of things that would make discrimination or

App. 42

classification of them prohibited on some other constitu-

tional ground. I mean, that it’s race, religion or any of

those things that are prohibited. So it’s a rational basis

test.

Now, there are two comparators here. One is - as

groups. One is the plaintiffs as the off-site parking lot

operators against Smart, the city. The other is the plain-

tiffs against the other 250 companies, the limousines, the

vans, the rental cars, shuttles and the like, and whether

the city’s treatment of these classes differently is sup-

ported by some rational basis.

Here we have, first of all addressing the city as the

comparator, tue city’s Smart facility functions differently

from the plaintiffs’. That’s been shown in the evidence.

The shuttle facilities of Smart are used for more than

parking in Lots 2 and 3. They are used to transport

persons from — to concourses and from one concourse to

another, including the remote concourses, I guess, A+ or

whatever it’s called, and I think one other maybe, but at

any rate, the Smart shuttles are doing more than taking

people to the city’s remote parking lots.

Also, the — I think law doesn’t say that the, under the

equal protection analysis, that the city has to treat itself

the same by imposing some charge on itself and then

recovering it. I mean, moving money from one pocket to

another seems not rational. So I don’t consider, while

they are competing in terms of customers with each other,

they are certainly in different categories in who they are

and what they’re doing.

Now with respect to the other companies, there are

certainly differences here as pointed out in the course of

oe — ———eae"__oe~*rror

Ae tate t0

App. 43

the testimony. As far as the — for example, the vans that

take people to the ski resort areas, that’s a different kind

of service. The ski resort areas are there to provide an

entertainment opportunity or a sports opportunity -

however you want to classify it - an experience for peo-

ple who want to go skiing, and that’s different from

providing parking for enplaning passengers at Stapleton

The same is true with respect to hotels. Much has been

made here of that the hotels run shuttle services and that

people are staying at the hotels who are flying in and out

of Stapleton — I guess mostly in. I’m not — I don’t know

why people who would be leaving Denver as their home

would be staying at a hotel, too, but then there are a lot of

reasons for human conduct. But at any rate, the hotels

seem to me to be in a different category

The basic thing that has driven the defendant's deci-

sion in this case to make this classification is the view -

and it was first expressed in this Peat Marwick study and

in Hall’s testimony and it’s been repeated here by other

witnesses, the perception that the city is subsidizing the

plaintiffs, and the city’s view that the plaintiffs have been

at a competitive advantage over the city because it — they,

the plaintiffs, don’t have the burden of the costs that the

city does. So what the city has done is in making the

classification, analyzed this in terms of the benefit

conferred and has viewed the plaintiffs, whose sole busi-

ness really here — as far as it’s relevant to this case at any

rate — is to provide this parking service. The plaintiffs

clearly wouldn’t be in business at all but for this airport,

and their whole business is to provide the parking ser-

vices for people enplaning at this airport.

App. 44

So the city has a rational basis for believing that it is

conferring a greater benefit on these parking lot opera-

tors than on hotels, limousines, rental car, shuttles or the

other users who come under the classification of commer-

cial users of the lanes and who are in different —- who are

treated differently in Exhibit 44.

Moving on to due process, I suppose we’re talking

about substantive due process in the case in the sense of

abuse of power, the governmental power that the city

has, and I suppose you can frame it in terms of whether

there is an abuse of governmental power here to enhance

proprietary business of the city, if we want to do that. My

answer to that is I believe the analysis must be the same

as it is under the equal protection clause in terms of the -

determining the reasonableness of the city’s conduct, and

the plaintiffs’ claim fails in that the city has, of course, an

interest in making Stapleton cost-effective and, indeed, in

making it revenue-producing. It has a debt burden. It

must meet that debt burden and I presume that the city

can. have a legitimate interest in having revenues in

excess of costs in functioning in this way. I assume that’s

one of the reasons the city’s in the business and, of

course, we know and it’s been alluded to here that the

city also has the intention of replacing this facility and

has an interest in obtaining revenues from the users of

this facility to generate some funds useful for replace-

ment.

But we’re not here to decide what the upper limits of

the city’s fee structure might be. I don’t know what they

are. What they are is the point where they become unrea-

sonable and arbitrary, and whatever point that is, 44 and

the rates charged there aren’t it. So under this - these

App. 45

claims, the plaintiffs simply fail to prove a violation of

the antitrust laws, deprivation of property without due

process of law, or a denial of equal protection of the laws.

Plaintiffs contend that permit agreement, Exhibit 42, is an

adhesion contract. I don’t agree. Here again, as I asked

Mr. Shearer what provision in this contract would permit

the total intrusion into proprietary information by the

city and he cited: “The permittee further agrees to submit

any report or reports or information regarding its opera-

tions hereunder that the city’s Manager of Public Works

or his authorized representative may request.”

1 leave to another day - and I hope another Court -

the specific analysis of that language, but the language in

that, as in any agreement, has to be viewed in the context

of the whole of the agreement and if I were interpreting it

under some dispute about proprietary information, |

would consider what is the city’s legitimate purpose in

seeking information and rule in that context. So to call

this an adhesion contract would be requiring me to look

under the bed and to ascribe a lot of sinister purposes to

the city which I’m not prepared to do. The city has to

interpret the contract reasonably and with a sense of its

purpose, and accordingly, I view it in that way.

Viewed in that way, all of the requirements of the

permit seem to me to be reasonably related to the pur-

pose of governing the way in which the plaintiffs can

access the airport, and that includes the insurance provi-

sions and the indemnification. This is, as the evidence

shows, highly congested, a lot of people, and as one of

our witnesses testified, there is a very real concern for

safety, and particularly pedestrian safety at these levels.

So these are, in my judgment, reasonable requirements

App. 46

for the purpose of the agreement and do not sink to the

level of an adhesion contract.

Now, with respect to the other state claims — and

obviously by dealing with them I am exercising pendant

jurisdiction because that’s the only basis upon which this

subject matter is before this Court, but | believe it impor-

tant to do so, so that this dispute can be resolved in its

entirety. The usurpation of legislative power by adminis-

trative agency I don’t think holds water here. This is the

operation of the airport. It’s done as an executive func-

tion. We don’t have, really, in analyzing the charter of the

City and County of Denver, I think, the three branches of

government analysis that we would put on the United

States Constitution, but there’s nothing been put forth

here that shows to me that the conduct here by the

Department of Public Works is not authorized as part of

this administrative responsibility in running this airport.

And on the question of whether this is a tax as

opposed to a charge for a benefit conferred, the view that

I take is that it is not a tax. It’s not an excise tax or any

kind of a tax. It is a fee for a benefit conferred. There is a

reasonable relationship to that benefit.

So on all of these claims I find for the defendant, and

in accordance with these findings and conclusions, the

claims are dismissed. The case is dismissed. Judgment

will enter for the defendants on all claims with its costs,

their costs to be recovered on the filing of a bill of costs

within ten days from the entry of judgment.

Either counsel have anything further?

MS. RAABE: Nothing further, Your Honor.

App. 47

MR. SHEARER: Nothing, Your Honor

THE COURT: All right.

Court’s in recess.

(Whereupon, the Court’s ruling was concluded.)

I certify that the foregoing is a correct transcript from

the record of proceedings in the above-entitled matter.

November 28, 1989

/s/ Carolyn Dahl

J]. Ford & Associates, Inc.

991 Ursula Street

Aurora, Colorado 80011

(303) 364-5776

App. 48

CODDINGTON REPORT (PLAINTIFF’S EXHIBIT 100)

AS INCORPORATED INTO TRIAL COURT RULING,

CASE NUMBER 89-M-1071

Confidential & Priviledged

SHUTTLE BUS PARKING,

STAPLETON INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT

¢ Market Analysis

* Impact Assessment

Prepared by

Dean C. Coddington and Kenneth E. Feterson

BBC, Inc.

155 South Madison Street

Denver, Colorado 80209

303-321-2547

Prepared for

Calkins, Kramer, Grimshaw & Harring

Suite 3800, United Bank Center

1700 Lincoln Street

Denver, Colorado 80203

303-839-3800

November 13, 1989

App. 49

SECTION I. THE DEVELOPMENT OF PARKING AT

STAPLETON INTERNATIONAL AIR-

PORT

In our view, the broad Stapleton International Air-

port parking market includes the main parking structure

immediately adjacent to the airport, SMART and its two

lots, and the four private shuttle bus parking operators -

Allright, Monaco, Premier and Continental. The location

of these seven parking facilities is shown on Figure I-1.

The purpose of this section of the report is to provide

an overview of the broad short and long-term parking

market as background for the detailed market analysis of

shuttle bus parking in the vicinity of Stapleton.

Capacity of Parking Facilities in the Stapleton Area

The parking structure at Stapleton, which offers both

short-term and daily rates, has approximately 5,500 park-

ing spaces available.

The first shuttle bus parking near Stapleton was

developed in 1978 by Allright Parking at its lot at Smith

Road and Monaco Parkway. The lot accommodates 1,475

cars. In 1985, the owners of Allright sold this lot to Ennis,

Inc.; this lot is now known as Monaco Parking. It is 1.9

miles and five minutes driving time from the main termi-

nal (All distances and travel times were measured by

BBC.)

Stapleton International Airport operated shuttle bus

parking with Lot #1 from 1983 to July, 1986. Lot #1 was

located in the area now used for commuter flights.

App. 50

Allright Parking started a second lot, with capacity

for 2,200 cars, at 4001 Quebec Street in 1982. This lot is 1.6

miles (five minutes) from the terminal.

Stapleton Airport established Shuttle Lot #2 in

November, 1984; it has a capacity for approximately 2,300

cars. Lot #2 is 2.1 miles (six minutes) from the terminal.

Shuttle Lot #3, established in December, 1985, has

room for an estimated 4,800 parked cars, and it is 1.2

miles (three minutes) from the terminal.

The lot currently operating at 6800 Smith Road was

purchased by Continental in early 1986. It is also believed

to have been operated as a shuttle parking lot dating back

to the early 1980s by United Investment. This lot has a

capacity of 648 spaces and is 1.7 miles (four minutes)

from the terminal.

Premier Parking established its lot at 4241 Monaco

Parkway in January, 1986. This lot has a capacity of 433

cars, of which 333 spaces are covered. Premier is 2.1 miles

(six minutes) from the terminal.

- SNINYVd TIVNINY

AL LuOduiy FFE a asi bist

——d < av aaa 4 ae ? ilies : t 1 : : ; yaei — Ta

sesees Sssetestessseereeees

ar) .y . oT wa Hi tae rr Ly

: ae: i ey , 4 : SSee

| 37LLNHS

~ ; : :

oS

iM3IN3Yd;

3 | |

‘oo NWO

e

<

686L “T1VA ‘LUOdUIV TIVNOLLYNUALNI NOLATdIVLS

‘ONINUVd ALIS-4iO GNV ALIS-NO JO NOLLVDOT ‘I-I ayNOL

Cc

CIDA »9 TWILN3GIINOD

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

App. 52

There is a limited amount of shuttle bus parking pro-

vided from time to time by other private operators such as

the hotels in the vicinity of Stapleton. However, the share of

the market captured by these firms is not significant, and we

have not included them in our analysis.

Trends in Parking Days

At the time this report was prepared we had

requested, but not received, data on parking days for the

main terminal parking structure. Parking days are the

number of vehicles parked per 24-hour period. Had the

City provided the requested data, we would have plotted

trends in parking days for the 1982 to 1989 period and

calculated the share of the market for the main terminal

parking facility, SMART and the four private shuttle bus

parking operators.

SECTION II. THE AIRPORT SHUTTLE BUS PARK-

ING MARKET

The previous section provided an overview of all

commercial parking in and around Stapleton Interna-

tional Airport, 1982 to the present. This section iocuses on

the shuttle bus portion of the parking market. For the

purposes of estimating the economic impacts of SMART

on the four private operators, this is the more relevant

portion of the airport parking market.

Trends in Utilization, Shuttle Bus Parking

Figure II-1 shows the trend in utilization of the four

private and two SMART lots for the period 1982 through

App. 53

mid-year, 1989. Figure II-2 shows the same information

on a cumulative basis forecast through 1994. The projec-

tions are based upon a continuation of past trends, espe-

cially those trends established since 1987.

Prior to the opening of SMART lots #2 and #3, the

rate of growth in parking days of the two privately

owned lots - Allright and Monaco - averaged a combined

16.3 percent per year from 1982-85. Since the SMART lots

opened in 1985, both Allright and Monaco have experi-

enced significant declines in use. Their combined average

drop from 1986-89 has been 5.2 percent per year. Looking

ahead, the forecast decline in usage of the four privately-

owned lots is expected to be a minus 1.5 percent per year

through 1994.

Table II-1 shows the distribution of the shuttle bus

parking market from 1982-1989. (Lot #1 data are excluded

from these comparisons; no data were available). In terms

of market share, in 1984 the private lots had 100 percent

of the off-site market. In mid-1989, the share of the mar-

ket was as follows:

Parking

Operator 1984 1989

SMART 0 45.0%

Allright 62.1% 24.1

Monaco 37.9 18.3

Premier 0 4.9

Continental 0 7.7

Total 100.0% 100.0%

App. 54

Note: Limited shuttle bus airport parking was

available at the site currently operated by Conti-

nental; however, no financial or utilization data

are available about the site prior to 1986.

Looking ahead to 1994, SMART will have over half of the

shuttle bus parking market and the four private operators

will have a combined market share of less than 50 per-

cent.

App. 55

FIGURE Il-1. AVERAGE DAILY PARKING DAYS, SMART AND FOUR

) PRIVATE OPERATORS, 1982 - 1989

3000

: (BBC Estimate)

4

SMART —_——™ |

2500 - Shuttle Lots #2 and #3. —-——— |

| | _-*- |

iP

A | |

/R 2000 + |

iK | |

, | |

| Allright Parking = |

N 1500 + +———— —— Ri, | =:

G | ii hina ——, | z

ee | =

| | 9

v a Monaco Parking 7 _ all oe

1 + inc |

: A 1000 — 2

Y LY — >

S —— é Fg re

: 500 + yA _. Continental Parking =|

| WP Premier Parking | B

| J - * — | <=

| 0 on — 4 a . a — —<—<— — } a | SS a ' | On

1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 G)

YEAR | Oo

Source: See discussion in text.

|

|

S

App. 56

FIGURE Il-2. AVERAGE PARKING DAYS, SHUTTLE BUS PARKING,

SMART AND FOUR PRIVATE FIRMS, 1982-1989,

WITH PROJECTIONS TO 1994

6,500

Total

6.000 - Ne

0 + Sueeete ntl LE oni . HULL : /

1982 1983 1984 1985

i ilk LLL L

= SESS ES ESSESERSES EE: i

1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994

ee YEAR

Source: See discussion in text.

G3IDa ANd WILNaGI4NOO

App. 57

‘daquiajydag y3noiy} Asenue{ syuasaidai 6961 .

(489 Dad) (389 Dad)

8Z8°S O0€*l ose’l 687 OSp $Z0°L PLP'L +6861

ZLg’S cS7'L LZ€'l £97 Shr bZ0'L OSP‘l 886l

9b9°S OZ1'1 7Z7'L 96¢ Z6E bZL'L Z8S‘1 Z86L

Zes’s L88 617'1 991 ese €sl'l seZ'l 9861

ZIS’€ LLZe ZbS LLO‘L 789'L S86l

b6E°7 £06 Z8P‘L P8é6l

0S7Z 9bZ bOS'L €86l

Z1Z'l 6€9 €Z0°L c86L

sheq Suryieg [ej}oL

[RO] €# 10°] Z# 07] satweig [ejuaujUOy odeuOF WSITTY

Ajreax ayynys anys

68-7861 ‘LAMUVW SNA ATLLNHS UOd

AUVHS LANMUVW ANV SAVG ONINUVd ATIVG JOVUFAV ‘T-Il ATAVL

'}X9} Ul UOISSNISIP ‘Dggq :adInog

0'001 L'2z 0'€z 66 LL 81 Lz 6861

0'001 G'1Z Lz 9°6 LL S81 6°62 8861

0'001 0°02 8°1Z L's 8°9 761 Lz L861

0'001 6'SL 0'%7 o'€ 9 b'1Z ele 9861

0'001 6: 9°SI “ - £82 8°Lb S861

3 0001 - - - - 6° LE L'9 P861

6. 0'001 - - - - z'€€ 8°99 €861

z %0°001 - - - - ELE %L'79 7861

aIeYS HIE [POL

[e}O] C# 107 Z# 107] Jatwaig = [eyuaUuyUOD OdeUOF WSLITYy

Ayreax aqyanys anys

penuyjuoy — 68-7861 ‘LAMUVW SN AILLNHS wOA

JUVHS LAMUVW AGNV SAVG ONINUVd ATIVG ADVUAAV ‘I-Il ATAVL

App. 59

Impact of Stapleton Lots #2 and #3 on Private Lots

Assuming no capacity constraints on the private lots,

Figure II-4 shows a projection of demand for shuttle bus

parking if SMART had not come into being as a competi-

tor to the private lots. BBC’s forecast is based upon the

trend established from 1982 through 1986. This shows

that the four private lots combined would have accom-

modated an average of 4,500 cars per day by mid-1989, or

an annual average rate of growth of 7.7 percent over the

past three years.

The impact of SMART of privately-owned shuttle bus

parking lots is the difference between the volume of

business the private lots would have been able to carry

out absent competition vs. what they actually have

accomplished. This is shown in Figure II-5. As a point of

reference, Figure II-5 also shows BBC estimates of overall

shuttle bus parking, including SMART, through 1994.

On an annual basis, the loss in parking days due to

competition from SMART has been:

Average Number

of Daily Parking

Year Days Lost

1985 207

1986 163

1987 496

1988 961

1989 (estimated) 1,272

In terms of revenues, assuming that each parking day

lost equals $4.00 (the average price charged for open,

App. 60

basic parking services by the private operators), total

annual lost revenues for the 1985-1989 period by the

private operators has been:

Total Lost

Year Revenues

1985 $302,220

1986 237,980

1987 724,160

1988 1,406,904

1989 1,857,120

Total Lost Revenues,

1985-89 $4,528,384

Conclusions on Impact of SMART on Private Shuttle

Bus Parking Lots

There is no question that SMART has had a signifi-

cant negative impact on the volume of business available

to the four private operators, particularly Monaco and

Allright. And, based upon the projections contained in

Figure II-5, the losses will grow larger over the next five

years.

G3IDITAIYd °9 IWILN3GISNOO

App. 62

—___——

FIGURE !I-5. CUMULATIVE AVERAGE PARKING DAYS, SHUTTLE

BUS PARKING, FOUR PRIVATE FIRMS,

WITH OR WITHOUT SMART, 1982 - 1994

|

6,500 I

6,000 Total Na

5,500 + 7

Additional Parking Days Generated by SMART

P 5,000

A

R 4,500

K 4,000 +

Loss of Parking Days Due to Competition fro

N 3,500

G

D

A

7

2)

—s

on

=)

—)

0

1986 1987

1982 1983 1984 1985

Source: BBC projections; see discussion in text. _ TEM 3

eae |

m SMART

ae

“ GIOTIANA WILNSGL4NGS

App. 63

SECTION III. OVERVIEW OF MARKETING

EFFORTS BY SMART AND -PRI-

VATE OPERATORS

As part of our analysis of the impact of SMART on

the four private operators, we have assessed available

information on the marketing efforts of all the operators

of shuttle bus parking services at Stapleton International

Airport.

The marketing efforts described in this section

include:

(1) Pricing policies

(2) Advertising

(3) Signage (both external to the airport and

internal)

(4) Access to airport passengers

(5) Special promotions

Pricing

The pricing policies of the private operators and

SMART were described in Section II. In effect, it appears

that because of its dominant market position today,

SMART is the price leader; whatever it charges, the pri-

vate companies are obliged to approximate. It is also

evident that SMART used low prices and other marketing

efforts described in this section during the 1985-1986

period to build volume and market share.

Present pricing policies by the private operators are

comparable with the charges by SMART. At present,

SMART charges $4.00 for 24 hours, and the two largest

App. 64

private firms, Allright and Monaco, charge $4.00 and

$3.75 respectively for the same time period. Continental

also charges $4.00 while Premier charges $3.75 for its

basic service.

Advertising

The private operators are not actively engaged in

traditional media advertising. However, their company-

painted shuttle buses circulating through the airport pro-

vide advertising to passengers arriving at or leaving the

airport. Most of the private operators also provide dis-

count coupons to selected travel agencies which are

passed along to their customers within their airline ticket

packet. And, all private operators have signage on their

lots.

SMART advertises in the same way; its buses are

visible to passengers, especially those exiting the airport

from the lower level. However, SMART also follows a

policy of maintaining the physical presence of one of its

buses in front of the airport terminal at all times. This has

significant advertising value, especially with its exclusive

pickup location visible from the main exiting doors on

the lower level of the airport terminal (see Figure III-1).

App. 65

FIGURE Ill-1. SHUTTLE BUS PICKUP LOCATIONS

Se

2

ve

s,

p

until 9/15/89

Stapleton International Airport

Lower Level

nite

“Rake

Se

Private ‘A

Operators <7

O39S1AlNd 8 WILNSGIA4NOO

6L

App. 66

On the other hand, shuttle buses used by the four

private firms can not pick up passengers in the prime

pickup areas; they are required to drive past the location

used by SMART, pick up their customers at the more

outlying locations, and leave as quickly as possible.

(based on testimony by Dan Bragassa, manager of opera-

tions for Allright Parking, June 27, 1989, p. 104).

SMART advertises in other ways. The availability of

parking in lots #2 and #3 is broadcast over the airport

information radio. AM station 530, beamed at persons

approaching the airport. There are numerous signs along

heavily travelled routes to Stapleton suggesting that trav-

elers tune in this low-powered station. The City will not

allow the private shuttle bus parking operators to pro-

vide similar information on this station.

Signage

~ There are signs along the main approaches to Sta-

pleton notifying motorists of the availability of remote

parking in lots #2 and #3. There are large ground trans-

portation signs on both the inside and outside of each

exiting door, and at the exclusive SMART bus stops on

the lower level, prominently displaying the SMART logo.

The City prohibits the private shuttle bus parking

companies from using similar signage on the public right-

of-way and on airport premises. The only signage dis-

played by the four private shuttle bus parking companies

is on their parking lots. There are no signs along Monaco

Parkway, Quebec Street, or Smith Road providing infor-

mation concerning shuttle bus parking lots, other than

what the airport has posted for the SMART lots.

App. 67

Accessibility

SMART has, in the past, enjoyed a significant com-

petitive advantage over the four private shuttle bus park-

ing companies by virtue of its more visible and accessible

pick up points in front of the most heavily used lower

level airport doors. With 85 percent of the passengers

departing Stapleton using baggage claim carousels near

doors 1 through 9, SMART’s pick up points have been in

front of doors 4 through 7. These pick up locations are

shown on Figure III-1.

With the changes made in September, 1989, SMART

may have lost some of its competitive advantage in terms

of accessibility. The south pick up point, formerly near

door 5, has been moved to the area near door 1 (see

Figure III-1).

Even with the recent changes, SMART’s pick up loca-

tions are superior to those of the private operators. The

four private shuttle bus parking companies are allowed

to pick up their customers only at locations near doors 1

and 12 near either end of the terminal.

Using the terminology of retail analysis, SMART has

had, and continues to enjoy, an intercepting location.

Many customers, or potential customers, of the four pri-

vate operators walk by SMART’s buses to get to their

own shuttle buses. In retailing, this is a significant factor

in the ability of a business to attract and retain customers.

The inability of the private shuttle bus parking oper-

ators to pick up customers at locations other than the

designated areas near doors 1 and 12 appears to have had

a negative impact on customers’ attitudes.

App. 68

Related to the accessibility differences, SMART uses a

“bumping” system - its buses do not leave until another

arrives — with no penalty for length of stay. On the other

hand, the private companies incur financial penalties

beyond the trip fee if it takes them longer than 15 min-

utes to pick up passengers at their two locations.

Special Marketing Efforts

In addition to the marketing efforts described above,

at certain peak periods of customer usage Stapleton

advertises parking availability through the public media

without mentioning private parking availability.

SMART has also, upon occasion, made extensive use

of commercial radio and daily newspaper advertising.

The Trip Fee

Another aspect of competitive advantage enjoyed by

SMART comes from the higher costs imposed on private

competitors in the form of trip fees. It is our understand-

ing that this fee was increased from $30 per month per

vehicle to 42 cents per trip. The increase in this fee

reduces the price competitiveness of the private firms by

restricting their ability to respond to future price initia-

tives by SMART. SMART has previously shown a willing-

ness to cut prices to increase volume; private operators

have less capability to match SMART’s pricing moves.

The access and penalty fees constitute an added cost

that reduces profitability for the private operators.

SMART’s exclusion from paying trip and penalty fees

App. 69

while waiting in the loading zones has the effect of lower-

ing its costs compared with its competitors, the four

private shuttle bus parking companies.

Summary of Marketing Efforts

It appears that SMART has three major competitive

advantages over the four privately-owned shuttie bus

parking operators. The first competitive advantage is the

City’s preferred intercepting location at the front of the

terminal. Secondly, SMART has radio messages and signs

notifying potential customers of the locations of its lots,

and the availability of parking spaces. And third, the

distinctively-painted SMART buses waiting in front of the

lower level of the terminal have significant advertising

value.

From a pricing point of view, the differences between

SMART and the private operators are small. The signage

inside the terminal is not viewed as a significant factor

favoring SMART.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.