Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Arthur S. Langenderfer, Inc. v. S. E. Johnson Co.

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

90-1581 |":

ELS

IN THE | ence (

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1990

ARTHUR S. LANGENDERFER, INC., NORTHERN OHIO

ASPHALT PAVING CO., MACRITCHIE MATERIALS, INC.,

M & B ASPHALT CO., and G. M. SADER EXCAVATING &

PAVING CO.,

Petitioners,

vs.

S. E. JOHNSON COMPANY, S. E. JOHNSON COMPANIES,

INC., THE OHIO ENGINEERING COMPANY, FRED R.

CREAGER & SONS, INC., MATCO, ASPHALTIC CONCRETE

PRODUCING CO., OAMCO, INC., C. P. CALAWAY, INC.,

MAUMEE STONE COMPANY, MICHIGAN STONE

COMPANY, WOLCOTTVILLE SAND & GRAVEL CORP.,

SAXON DEVELOPMENT COMPANY, STONECO, INC. and

J. T. KIRKBY,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

CourT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JAMES M. PORTER

Counsel of Record

SQUIRE, SANDERS & DEMPSEY

1800 Huntington Building

Cleveland, Ohio 44115

(216) 687-8500

Attorney for Petitioners

Of Counsel:

WALTER J. REksTIS, III

Eric M. OAKLEY

VIRGINIA A. SEGER

ELIZABETH A. RADER

THE GATES LEGAL PUBLISHING CO., CLEVELAND, OHIO—TEL. (216) 621-5647

ee

i.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. In reversing jury verdicts for plaintiffs in a

Sherman §2 monopoly case, is it a violation of the

Seventh Amendment's proscription against the _ re-

examination of any fact found by a jury, for a Court of

Appeals:

(a) sua sponte to redetermine and reduce damages

by an implicit extension of Matsushita on the

ground ‘“‘that some of the dollar figures offered

by plaintiffs and their experts simply fail to

reflect economic reality and we shall make

adjustments accordingly’ when the amount of

the verdicts was never challenged by motions in

the trial court for directed verdict, j.n.o.v., or

new trial and was never raised or argued on

appeal;

(b) sua sponte to hold that a plaintiff only suffered

indirect injury and lacked antitrust standing

under Associated General Contractors when the

defendants failed to raise the issue either in the

trial court or on appeal;

(c) to hold that plaintiffs also had to prove that

defendants monopolized individual counties

within a thirteen county relevant geographical

market, even though the Court of Appeals

affirmed the jury's finding that defendants

monopolized the whole thirteen county area;

(d) to hold that plaintiffs had failed to prove that

defendants monopolized the production of all

highway construction materials, although the

plaintiffs’ contention and the jury’s express

findings were that defendants monopolized the

supply of highway construction materials used

only on asphalt paving jobs that defendants

were also found to have monopolized; and

ie) to hold, as a matter of law, that the evidence

was insufficient to support a jury's finding that

a defendant controlling an essential facility

refused to deal with the plaintiff customer for

retaliatory and anticompetitive reasons rather

than for genuine credii reasons when the Court

itself is “‘persuaded”’ that plaintiff's claim “has

arguable merit.”

2. Whether, as a matter of law, a_ prevailing

antitrust plaintiff can be refused all attorney's fees and

costs for the first nine years of legal effort in

successfully prosecuting a monopoly case over fifteen

vears.

3. On retrial of a case, when a second jury returns a

larger verdict for the original plaintiffs which includes

the damages awarded on the original vacated judgment,

are the original plaintiffs entitled to interest on the

original amount from the date of that first judgment.

eee

ill.

RULE 29.1 STATEMENT

Material Suppliers of Northwest Ohio, Inc., an Ohio

corporation, is a non-wholly owned subsidiary of

Northern Ohio Asphalt Paving Co. All other companies

and subsidiaries are wholly owned.

Vv.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .......... ccc ceeuaes

ee a ee eee ee ee ree

py OF BM iy | - ererererrreer

er 6a Ws aKa kn dw ete tenweewhews

FE 6o 6.5 600 ek cea nenes

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED....

pe pg FN ee ee Serre a

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 2... cc cscs nccnee

A.

B

C.

D

7

Overview of the Decision Below ............

a ic hdc e ho Oke bun kan saa

The Jury's Specific Findings ...............

The Asphalt Paving Industry in

PRR IE 6 6.5:5 0 00e5nstdesvadsarens

The Relevant Markets ....................

Defendants Deliberately Obtained Monopoly

Power Through Thirteen Anticompetitive

RD a 6 60:6:46 654404454400 440R ROR

Acquisitions of essential quarries, sand pits

and bridge building capacity foreclosed

CUE 50.2 Cac xdadacdanc cease

Acquisitions of asphalt paving competitors

were anticompetitive and monopolistic . ...

Defendants’ Market Shares and Statistical

Evidence of Monopoly Power After the

Ps 6. 6:06:60 40 645 cehdcunebeneavss

Oo £ NM HW WD tO

-J

vi.

H. Defendants’ Size and Power Dwarfed All

SICA 0 d4.4400 40050004 060R00RRe RSD 10

I. Abuses of Monopoly Power................. 10

J. The Proceedings and Disposition Below ...... 11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT........ 13

I. The Sixth Circuit’s Opinion Is An Implicit

Extension Of Matsushita In Violation Of The

DN DO ick bs ceawatias &i 13

II. The Seventh Amendment Precluded The

Court Of Appeals From Sua _ Sponte

Reviewing Any Issues Of Langenderfer’s

Damages Or Indirect Injury To NOAP. The

Issues Were Never Raised By Motion Beiow;

They Were Never Assigned As Error, Briefed

Coe AME TI CO 6k ib es eee icac caecis 17

A. The Court of Appeals effectively directed a

damage verdict for a reduced sum........ 17

B.The Sixth Circuit's review likewise

deprived petitioners of appellate due

POORER. oon ccc cs cecseceesennses cebenes 19

III. The Appellate Court Again Violated The

Seventh Amendment When It Re-Examined

The Jury's Relevant Market Findings.

Defendants’ Monopolization Of ODOT/OTC

Asphalt Paving And Materials Used Therein

As Found By The Jury Is Sufficient To

Sustain The Claims Of All The Plaintiffs.... 21

IV. The Court Of Appeals Again Re-Examined

The Jury’s Findings In Reversing Sader’s

Judgment. Sader Was Cut Off By The

Monopolist Under A Sham Credit Pretext; It

wre: A GU BO hia cacucieuaceevneesese 23

Vii.

V. The Court's Refusal To Award Attorneys’

Fees Or Costs To The Prevailing Plaintiff For

The First Nine Years Of This Case Is

Contrary To Law, Unconscionable On Its

Face And Exhibits Hostility To Private

Enforcement Of The Antitrust Laws........ 25

Vl. Refusal To Allow Postjudgment Interest On

The Original Langenderfer I Judgment

Reinstated By The Langenderfer I]

Judgment Is Contrary To Binding Precedents

In The Sixth Circuit And Presents A Direct

Conflict With The Eighth And Ninth Circuits 27

Ps kn ok ROR CAS eSk Kon khe hake bea bas 29

viii.

APPENDIX:

Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth

Circuit, dated October 29, 1990 .............. Al

Judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth

Circuit, dated October 29, 1990 .............. A72

Jury's Answers to Special Interrogatories and

General Verdicts for Plaintiffs, dated October 1,

SER RNKREL GSS CHEN SENG ENS REESE RO KE OK ON A74

Judgment of Trial Court, dated October 2, 1986... A&9

Memorandum and Order of the Trial Court

Denying Defendants’ Motion for J.N.O.V. or

New Trial, dated April 30, 1987 .............. A91

Trial Court's Memorandum and Order Re Post-

Judgment Interest, dated August 13, 1987..... A98

Trial Court's Memorandum and _ Order

Re Attorney's Fees and Costs dated January

eS eras ery Te re eee ry eee te Al0z2

Order of the Court of Appeals Denying Petition

for Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc, dated

CT EE “eV GaN adeeb Geb hens oes eben A122

U.S. Constitution, Amendment VII ........... Al24

Sherman Act §2, 15 U.S.C. §2 (1974) ...........4 A124

Clayton Act §4(a), 15 U.S.C. $15(a) (1982) .. 2... ., A125

ee ee: ee we cece ebebeeas A126

Defendants-Appellants’ Brief on the Merits,

Excerpt: “Issues Presented ..............5. A127

ix.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Aetna Ins. Co. v. Kennedy, 301 U.S. 389

. , FEPCTSTERETE TTT PECTS TT TTT TT LOTTE T CTT 18

Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen Highlands Skiing Corp.,

738 F.2d 1509 (10th Cir. 1984), aff'd, 472 U.S. 585

Se a Sac ksnee se ceen seen wae eeskseeness 16

Associated General Contractors of California, Inc. v.

Carpenters, 459 U.S. 519 (1983)... ............. 19

Atlantic & Gulf Stevedores, Inc. v. Ellerman Lines,

Limited, 369 U.S. 355 (1962) ......... cc eee eens 18

Bailey v. Chattem, Inc., 838 F.2d 149 (6th Cir.), cert.

denied, 486 U.S. 1059 (1988) .............000e. 27,28

Brown v. Marshall, 704 F.2d 333 (6th Cir.) (per

curiam), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 835 (1983)........ 20

Browning-Ferris Industries v. Kelco Disposal, Inc.,

Cae ee ee CUED 4h0 5 Che ed des eweceseectucsas 17,20

California v. American Stores Co., _.. U.S. ___,

be We Gis Se CEN 66 be cabeasteneseuesanes 26

Chiropractic Cooperative Ass'n of Michigan ov.

American Medical Ass'n, 867 F.2d 270 (6th Cir.

I ee ts ei oe ee ee arr ed 20

Continental Ore Co. v. Union Carbide & Carbon

Cn, Te Ce ee SE 6 0 6.0 5d 50.00 6a oh bee ces 15

Fairmount Glass Works v. Cub Fork Coal Co., 287

i Se ee ee eet 18

FTC v. Superior Court Trial Lawyers Association,

nun Woe , 110 S. Ct. 768 (1990) ............ 24

1 &

Gallick v. Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Co., 372 U.S.

PG Te 6 ne ie ia eee ioe eas 21

General Industries Corp. v. Hartz Mountain Corp.,

oe me ie hy ) Pre 24

H&J, Inc., v. International Tel. & Tel. Corp., 1991-1

CCH Trade Case £69,327 at 65,264 (8th Cir. 1991) 27

Handgards v. Ethicon, Inc., 743 F.2d 1282 (9th Cir.

1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1190 (1985) ........ 27,28

Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983) ........ 26,27

Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Corp. v. Bonjorno,

waves Wis canis NEO es Go DO AE i baer ca toes 28

Kerasotes Michigan Theatres, Inc. v. National

Amusement. Inc., 854 F.2d 135 (6th Cir. 1988)... 22

Arthur S. Langenderfer, Inc. v. S.E. Johnson

Company (Langenderfer I), 729 F.2d 1050

(6th Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1036

SRO Se ey al a ee EW ee ee ee passim

Arthur S. Langenderfer, Inc. v. S.E. Johnson

Company, 1987-2 Trade Cases (CCH) {67,858

(N.D. Ohio 1987) (Interest Opinion)............. 1

Arthur S. Langenderfer, Inc. v. S.E. Johnson

Company, 684 F. Supp. 953 (N.D. Ohio 1988) (Fee

RRS Scar anisole sve aoe ee ae eee ]

Arthur S. Langenderfer, Inc. v. S.E. Johnson

Company, 1987-i Trade Cases (CCH) 67,553

(J.N.O.V.— New Trial Opinion)................. 1

Arthur S. Langenderfer, Inc. v. S.E. Johnson

Company (Langenderfer II), 917 F.2d 1413

Oe ee ee ee ee ee ye passim

Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio

Corp, 475 U.S. O76 COGR). wo cc ce censsccs 4,13,14

xi.

McKinnon v. City of Berwyn, 750 F.2d 1383 (7th

MR ER ip een pu Pas ae ee a a ee 17,18

McLaughlin v. Liu, 849 F.2d 1205 (9th Cir. 1988)... 14

Nissho-Iwai Co., Ltd. v. Occidental Crude Sales, 729

Poe A ee OO, SO oe cs oe ws wee ee ee 20

Parsons v. Bedford, 28 U.S. 433 (1830) ............ 18

Priddy v. Edelman, 883 F.2d 43% (6th Cir.

LS a eae RC tas ak se eee yea aera 20

Singleton v. Wulff, 428 U.S. 106 (1976)... .......... 20

Smith v. Illinois Central Railroad Co., 394 F.2d 254

CEE ONIN Se a to dates Olay o aie no ote shane we xis 15

Standard Oil Co. v. United States, 221 USS.

| MEER ards 4 4-4 he ee a Rae ee ee eee 22

United States v. Grinnell Corp., 384 U.S. 563

EE os po ee RR OGD oak Cea hee ae ae 21

Young v. Central Railroad Co., 232 U.S. 602 (1914)... 18

Statutes, Constitution and Rules

Clayton Act §4(a), 15 U.S.C. §15(a)............. 2,19,26

snerman Act $2, 16 U.S.C. 92... 0.5... n ces eus 2,11,26

ee ara EE oo pc coe shee ak eases ee ee 2

Ae WU SUE 2 oo 5 ebb cas vives eeereg nena 16

28 Re 8 2 er err ere fre 18

U.S. Const., Amend. VII..... 2,4,13,14,17.18,19,21,25,29

xii.

Treatises and Law Journals

9 C. Wright & Miller, Fed. Prac. and Proc. §2536,

. : rr s eer eee acs

11 C. Wright & Miller, Fed. Prac. and Proc. §2803,

MM 8. os 00s cu yea cee a

S. DeSanti & W. Kovacic, ‘Matsushita: Its

Construction And Application By the Lower

Courts,’ 59 Antitrust Law Journal 609

(errr e ry se eee eee ee ee

J. Stempel, ‘“‘A Distorted Mirror: The Supreme

Court's Shimmering View of Summary Judgment,

Directed Verdict, and the Adjudication

Process,’ 49 O.S.L.J. 95 (1968)... 0... ween eaee

14

14

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1990

ARTHUR S. LANGENDERFER, INC., NORTHERN

OHIO ASPHALT PAVING CO., MACRITCHIE

MATERIALS, INC., M & B ASPHALT CO., and

G. M. SADER EXCAVATING & PAVING CO.,

Petitioners,

Vs.

S. E. JOHNSON COMPANY, S. E. JOHNSON

COMPANIES, INC., THE OHIO ENGINEERING

COMPANY, FRED R. CREAGER & SONS, INC.,

MATCO, ASPHALTIC CONCRETE PRODUCING

CO., OAMCO, INC, C. P. CALAWAY, _INC.,

MAUMEE STONE COMPANY, MICHIGAN STONE

COMPANY, WOLCOTTVILLE SAND & GRAVEL

CORP., SAXON DEVELOPMENT COMPANY,

STONECO, INC. and J. T. KIRKBY,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES CourRT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The petitioners, plaintiffs below, Arthur S.

Langenderfer, Inc., Northern Ohio Asphait Paving

Company, MacRitchie Materials, Inc., M&B Asphalt Co.,

Inc., and G.M. Sader Excavating and Paving Co., Inc.,

respectfully request that a writ of certiorari issue to

review the judgment and decision of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit entered on

October 29, 1990, reversing jury verdicts for the second

time.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at

917 F.2d 1413 (‘Langenderfer IT’) and appears in the

Appendix hereto at Al-71.' The district court rendered a

written opinion appended hereto (AQ91) denying

respondents’ motions for j.n.o.v. or a new trial. That

opinion is unofficially reported at 1987-1 CCH Trade

Cases 467,553. The attorney's fee and costs opinion of

the district court affirmed by the Court of Appeals is

reported at 684 F. Supp. 953 (N.D. Ohio W.D. 1988)

(A102). The district court's Interest Opinion is

unofficially reported at 1987-2 CCH Trade Cases £67.45

(A98). The earlier opinion of the Court of Appeals

in this case is reported in 729 F.2d 1050 (6th Cir.), cert

denied, 469 U.S. 1036 (1984) (‘‘Langenderfer ]°’).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered

on October 29, 1990 (A72). A timely petition for rehearing

and suggestion for rehearing en banc was denied on

January 23, 1991 (A122). The jurisdiction of this

Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

‘Citations to the Appendix to this petition are in the following form

(‘A_”). The pages in the Joint Appendix in the Court of

Appeals are cited as “JA,” with original transcript page citations

appearing as “TR_..’ Exhibit references are PX for plaintiffs

(petitioners) and DX for defendants (respondents). Emphasis ‘is

petitioners’ unless otherwise noted.

2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The action of the Court of Appeals in reversing

unanimous jury verdicts directly involves the application

of the Seventh Amendment to the Constitution of the

United States which provides that:

In Suits at common law, where the value in

controversy shall exceed twenty dollars, the right of

trial by jury shall be preserved, and no fact tried by

a jury shall be otherwise reexamined in any Court of

the United States, than according to the rules of the

common law.

STATUTES INVOLVED

The suit involves applications of Section 2 of the

Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §2, Section 4(a) of the Clayton

Act, 15 U.S.C. §15(a) and the Federal Interest Statute,

28 U.S.C. §1961. These statutes appear at A1l24-25.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Overview of the Decision Below

This fifteen year old Sherman §2 monopoly case has

been tried twice and each time a different but unanimous

jury has found for plaintiffs (the petitioners) and

returned substantial damages. Each time a different trial

judge has overruled defendants’ (respondents’) motions

j.n.o.v. and for a new trial, holding that the juries’

verdicts were supported by the evidence and the law.

Now for the second time, the Sixth Circuit Court of

Appeals (two of the same judges? sitting) has overturned

the result below (with one exception) largely on the

grounds of insufficient evidence. ‘‘[W]hen two juries have

reached substantially the same result, the possibility of a

miscarriage of justice is very slight.” 11 C. Wright &

Miller, Fed. Prac. and Proc. $2803, p. 35 (1973). The

District Judge found no ‘miscarriage of justice’’ and

sustained the verdicts below (A91-97).

* The same two appellate judges formed the majority which reversed

plaintiffs’ unanimous verdicts on both appeals in Langenderfer ], 729

F.2d 1050 and Langenderfer I], 917 F.2d 1413. The same judge wrote

che opinion each time.

i

The Sixth Circuit reversed and vacated actual

damage verdicts aggregating $2,425,000, thereby

awarding nothing to four of the plaintiffs and reducing

the award to the fifth plaintiff, Langenderfer, by two-

thirds to $471,104. All plaintiffs participated within the

contiguous thirteen county relevant market in

Northwestern Ohio that the Court found the defendants

monopolized. From 1972 to 1985, defendants

monopolized 75% to 85% of all Ohio Turnpike paving

and 40% to 80% of all Turnpike and State (ODOT)

paving in that market (PX 69SA, 71A, C). After eighteen

years, defendants’ monopoly remains intact today.

In overturning the jury’s verdicts and the trial

court’s rulings, the Court of Appeals sua sponte decided

legal and factual issues not raised or preserved below

and never argued on the appeal. It violated the traditional

and generally accepted rules of appellate procedure

and limited review. It redetermined damages although

the amount of damages had not been challenged. It

totally missed a key relevant product market issue and

misconceived the application of law to relevant

geographical markets which changed the outcome of the

case, all in disregard of the jury’s express findings in

answers to special interrogatories drafted by defendants.

It substituted its judgment for that of the factfinder. Its

lengthy opinion (Al1-71) is replete with de novo

factfinding premised on: theories and arguments never

advanced by defendants; defendants’ evidence rejected

by the jury; improper inferences, misconceptions and

self-contradictory conclusions drawn from conflicting

evidence; and a general disregard of the plaintiffs’ key

evidence which has been ‘accepted by two different and

unanimous juries, two different trial judges, and even by

the Sixth Circuit itself in Langenderfer I, 729 F.2d at

1053-54.

We respectfully submit that the Sixth Circuit’s

announced vision of ‘‘economic reality’ is an

unwarranted extension of the summary judgment

standard that this Court enunciated in Matsushita

4

Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio

Corp., 475 U.S. 574 (1986), and deprives

plaintiffs of appellate due process and violates the

Seventh Amendment to the Constitution of the United

States which guarantees ‘‘that the right of trial by jury

shall be preserved, and no fact tried by a jury shall be

otherwise reexamined in any court of the United States,

than according to the rules of the common law.” This

Petition raises serious Constitutional and antitrust issues

which implicate a Court of Appeals’ power to disregard a

jury’s express findings of fact. The questions presented

have far-reaching application to all appeals from jury

verdicts and do not just apply in antitrust cases. The

broad policy issues at stake here require the Supreme

Court’s review in the exercise of its supervisory

responsibilities over the appellate courts.

B. The Parties

Petitioners and plaintiffs below, Arthur S.

Langenderfer, Inc. (‘‘Langenderfer’’), Northern Ohio

Aspha't Paving Company (‘“NOAP’), MacRitchie

Materials, Inc. (‘“MacRitchie Materials’), M&B Asphalt

Co., Inc., (“M&B"’), and G.M. Sader Excavating and

Paving Co., Inc. (‘‘Sader’’) all competed against the

defendants in the asphalt paving market within a

contiguous area of thirteen counties in Northwestern

Ohio surrounding Toledo (e.g., PX 1).

Langenderfer was in the asphalt highway paving

business for 65 years in the thirteen counties until driven

out by defendants in 1978 (JA 734-35; TR 163-64).

NOAP_ produced the hot mix asphalt used _ by

Langenderfer in its paving business until driven out in

1980. MacRitchie Materials owns a quarry at West

Millgrove which supplied road stone and sand to

Langenderfer and NOAP for paving and asphalt

production. Langenderfer, NOAP and MacRitchie

Materials were sister companies, all commonly owned by

the MacRitchie family (JA 734-38, 749; TR 163-67, 178).

5

M&B was also an asphalt paver which competed

against defendants and owned a single hot mix asphalt

plant at Maple Grove, within the thirteen counties (JA

1831-33, 1858-68; TR 1789-90; 1815-25). Sader was a

small paving contractor in the Bowling Green area which

competed against defendants on private and_ local

government paving projects. Sader had no asphalt plant

or quarry and depended on defendants’ Portage (near

Bowling Green) quarry and asphalt plant until

defendants cut him off in 1983 (JA 1127-43, 1167-171;

TR 758-74, 798-802).

Defendants are a ciosely held, commonly owned

enterprise resulting from thirteen acquisitions managed

as an integrated unit by defendant John T. (Ted) Kirkby,

their chief executive officer since 1957. ‘‘Kirkby, both

individually and as chief officer of Johnson, intended to

eliminate competition and dominate the market.”

Langenderfer II, 917 F.2d at 1443 (A60);

Langenderfer I, 729 F.2d at 1054. The principal

defendant companies are asphalt pavers S.E. Johnson,

Ohio Engineering and Fred Creager & Sons, Inc.; Matco

and OAMCO, which supply hot mix asphalt to the

paving defendants; Maumee Stone, Michigan Stone and

Wolcottville S&G, which supply stone and sand to

Matco, OAMCO and the defendant pavers; and C.P.

Calaway, a bridge building subsidiary of S.E. Johnson.

Two months before the trial of Langenderfer I,

defendants acquired Union Quarries Co., a_ fully

integrated competitor, for $3.5 million cash. A year before

the retrial in Langenderfer II, defendants acquired Allen

County Aggregates and Dailey Asphalt for another $3.5

million cash (729 F.2d at 1053-54; JA 2044-47, 2102,

2197-2205; TR 2098-2101, 2156, 2251-59; PX3).

C. The Jury’s Specific Findings

The unanimous jury found in answers to special

interrogatories drafted by defendants that: defendants’

thirteen acquisitions of asphalt pavers, quarries and sand

pits ‘‘were all made to exclude and/or injure competition

6

and increase Johnson’s power which he succeeded in

doing’; the acquisitions enabled defendants to

monopolize and attempt to monopolize Turnpike and

ODOT asphalt paving work and the _ highway

construction materials (asphalt, stone and sand) used

therein in a thirteen county market in Northwestern

Ohio where plaintiffs competed; defendants’ monopoly

power was willfully acquired, maintained or used through

anticompetitive conduct in all the relevant markets

pursuant to a specific intent to achieve a monopoly; and

defendants’ anticompetitive conduct injured all five

plaintiffs in the aggregate sum of $2,475,000 actual

damages (Ans. to Itgs. 1-18; A74-84). The trial court

found on post-trial motions that the evidence was

sufficient in all respects to sustain the jury’s findings

(A91).

D. The Asphalt Paving Industry in Northwestern Ohio

Limestone and sand are the principal ingredients of

asphaltic concrete (asphalt, or hot mix) and essential to

asphalt paving. A ton of asphaltic concrete consists of

approximately 60% stone, 40% sand and 6% liquid

asphalt (which evaporates in the mixing process at an

asphalt plant). Limestone and sand are also used in the

base (underlying) course of road building over which the

surface course of hot mix asphalt is laid. Consequently,

control of stone quarries, sand pits and asphalt plants is

important to asphalt paving.

Highway asphalt paving work is administered and

paid for by governmental bodies which invite competitive

bids on specifications from paving contractors who are

required to supply all the necessary highway

construction materials (hot mix, stone and sand), labor

and supervision at per-unit prices specified in the

winning bid. The larger volume work is performed by

prequalified contractors on Federal and State highway

jobs which are closely specified and administered by the

Ohio Department of Transportation (“ODOT’’) and the

7

Ohio Turnpike Commission (‘“‘OTC’’) with substantial use

of Federal funds (JA 773, TR 202; 729 F.2d at 1052-53).

The costs of the essential raw (stone and sand) and

processed materials (hot mix) and of hauling them to the

job site are the major expenses in performing these

contracts. In order to minimize the expense, the paving

contractor normally tries to buy his materials from

the quarry or hot mix plant closest to the job site. The

practical effective radius of a hot mix plant is about 25-

30 miles because of the haul cost involved and the

specified temperature at which the product must be

delivered (JA 761, 1044, 1869-70; TR 190, 620, 1826-27;

729 F.2d at 1053). Defendants, through a series of

acquisitions, now control seven quarries, two sand pits

and fourteen hot mix plants strategically located

throughout the area and are obviously the dominant

factor in this regional industry (729 F.2d at 1052-53).

E. The Relevant Markets

The jury answered all seven special interrogatories

drafted by the defendants on the issue of relevant

markets in plaintiffs’ favor. They found that the relevant

product markets were Turnpike and ODOT asphalt

paving contracts and the supply of stone, sand and

asphalt used in performing the contracts (Ans. to Itgs. 1-

7; A74-78). The trial court overruled defendants’

motion j.n.o.v. on the relevant market issues (A94, n.3).

Defendants stipulated the ODOT/OTC asphalt paving

market in the thirteen counties in the Langenderfer I

appeal. 729 F.2d at 1052-53. The Court of Appeals herein

“conclude[d] that this thirteen-county ODOT/OTC

asphalt paving market is established.’’ 917 F.2d at 1440;

A54.

F. Defendants Deliberately Obtained Monopoly Power

Through Thirteen Anticompetitive Acquisitions

The jury, asked to describe one or more types of

defendants’ anticompetitive conduct, expressly found

that “‘the acquisitions were all made to exclude and/or

8

injure competition and increase Johnson's power which

he succeeded in doing” in the relevant markets (Ans. to

Itg. 10; A811). The Court of Appeals found that

“acquisitions by defendants of quarry sites coupled with

the use of lengthy non-competition agreements and other

circumstances did foreclose production and efficient use

of such quarries and limestone by Langenderfer and

others as competitors of defendants.” 917 F.2d at 1443;

A61. The evidence fully supported these conclusions.

Starting in 1957, defendants deliberately engineered the

thirteen acquisitions, on both a horizontal and vertical

basis, of its major paving competitors and suppliers of

limestone, sand and asphalt (JA 2081-2110, 2146-2213;

TR 2135-64, 2200-67; 729 F.2d at 1053-54; PX 3).

1. Acquisitions of essential quarries, sand pits and

bridge building capacity foreclosed competition.

The raw material acquisitions of quarries and sand

pits gave defendants a captive supply of stone and sand

for their own asphalt paving purposes and choice

locations for placing asphalt plants, while becoming

stone supplier to their asphalt paving competitors. 729

F.2d at 1054. Defendants sold stone and sand at high,

rigid and non-competitive prices to’their competitors who

no longer could get discounts from the formerly

independent quarries and sand pits (e.g., JA 840-45; TR

269-74). After defendants’ acquisition of bridge builder

Calaway, it no longer did bridge work for, nor

subcontracted paving to, plaintiffs and other asphalt

paving competitors (JA 822, 2084-86, 2501; TR 251,

2138-40, 2615).

2. Acquisitions of asphalt paving competitors were

anticompetitive and monopolistic.

In the face of a shrinking market (1969), defendants

decided it was good business to acquire asphalt paving

competitors to expand their market share by doubling

capacity (JA 2156-58; TR 2210-12; PX 3). The

9

acquisitions were accompanied by non-compete

agreements; were admittedly without’ business

justification or need; were designed to prevent

competitors’ expansion; or were otherwise made to

prevent competitors from price-cutting or competing (JA

2156-67; TR 2210-21).

In summary, defendants grew from two quarries and

three hot-mix plants to seven quarries, fourteen hot mix

plants and three sand pits serving Northwestern Ohio

(729 F.2d at 1054; PX 3; JA 2077, 2192-93; TR 2131,

2246-47). Following defendants’ acquisitions, established

competitors avoided bidding against defendants, left the

market altogether or went out of business (JA 1117,

1143, 1539-40, 1801-02, 1852, 2262-64; TR 743, 774, 1399%-

1400, 1748-49, 1809, 2315-17; PX 16). Plaintiffs’ expert

economists testified that defendants’ anticompetitive

acquisitions created a monopoly, eliminated actual

competition, increased market concentration, prevented

potential competition, raised entry barriers, foreclosed

competition and enabled other anticompetitive conduct.

This reflected a deliberate, calculated strategy that drove

Langenderfer and NOAP out of the market, weakened

remaining competition and inflicted plaintiffs’ losses (JA

2640-2682, 2820-2875; TR 2874-2916, 3333-89).

G. Defendants’ Market Shares and Statistical Evidence

of Monopoly Power After the Acquisitions

After the acquisitions, defendants’ market shares

grew massively in Northwestern Ohio. They were the

leading ODOT contractor in the entire state for over

eighteen years (PX 37, 37A). Before the acquisitions,

they bid less than 40% of the Northwestern Ohio

market; afterwards thev bid 80% to 100% of the market

(PX 147A, 147S). Between 1972 and 1985, they averaged

between 75.8% and 85% of all revenues on Turnpike

work (PX 69, 69SA, 69B, 69C) and averaged 59% of all

ODOT/OTC paving (PX 73A). Their share of asphalt

tonnage rose from 40% in the 1970s to 48.3% in the

1980s (PX 30, 30A). In the 1970s and 1980s, defendants

controlled half of the important Toledo area stone

——

10

market (PX 145, 145A). Defendants’ pre-qualification

bidding power’ went from $13 Million in 1970 to $106

Million by 1986 (PX 68SB).

H. Defendants’ Size and Power Dwarfed All

Competitors

By 1985, defendants’ net worth had grown to $35

million; all seven major competitors together had net

worth of only $6.9 million (PX 110S). By 1985,

defendants’ total assets were over $47 million; all

combined competitors had $16 million (PX 112S). By

1984, defendants’ sales were 67% greater than the rest of

competitors combined (JA 2549, TR 2669; PX 113A-

114S). In the 1970s, defendants’ net profits more than

doubled; by 1984 they had doubled again (PX 115, 115A,

116A). In summary, defendants’ twenty year history

reflected phenomenal growth and massive economic

power (PX 117A):

Combined Defendant Companies

($000's omitted)

1965 1970 1975 1978 1985 Increase

Assets 5,668 11,374 19,089 25,320 47,154 732%

Net worth 4,222 9,117 15,865 21,495 35,270 735%

Total revenues 6,570 14,915 30,513 43,146 83,064 1164%

Profit before ;

income taxes 934 2,163 2,969 4,319 5,866 528%

For the period 1979-84, defendants’ cumulative net profit

totalled $12.9 million; all seven competitors together

equalled $637,000, and most competitors had severe

losses (PX 116A). By 1984, defendants controlled 87% of

the net worth among ODOT competitors; 71% of the

assets; 64% of the sales dollars; and 91% of the net

profit (PX 116B).

I. Abuses of Monopoly Power

There was direct evidence of defendants’ intentional

abuses and leveraging of monopoly power over the years

toward many competitors. Defendant Kirkby told his

*The dollar amount of ODOT paving work an ODOT-qualified

contractor could have in progress at any one time in a given year

(e.g., PX 68A-2).

11

Chairman of the Board that ‘‘in order to keep our

position in the business we had to be dominant”’; that he

bid at ‘‘zero profit’’ against Miller and Langenderfer ‘‘to

see just how tough the competition is’’; that he hated

competitors Miller and Langenderfer and would like to

run them out of business. Kirkby warned plaintiff M&B

to stay out of his “‘territory’’ and told Sader that “state

work’’ belonged to Johnson and that Sader should not

bid it (JA 1085-89, 1149, 1860-61, 2039-41, 2257-60; TR

685-89, 780, 1817-18, 2092-94, 2310-13).

In addition to the acquisitions, the trial court

submitted six kinds of anticompetitive acts to the jury:

(1) monopolistic stone pricing; (2) price or _ profit

squeezing and cross-subsidization; (3) leveraging its

position in ODOT and OTC; (4) tying the sale of stone

and sand to the sale of asphalt; (5) intimidating,

discouraging, coercing and _ retaliating against

competitors; and (6) refusal to sell stone to Sader (JA

216). The trial court also submitted to the jury the issue

of whether defendants’ refusal to deal with Sader was for

legitimate credit reasons or retaliation for testifying in

Langenderfer I (JA 216-17, 219). The jury found for the

plaintiff on all these matters. The evidence supported

these claims and the trial court so found in denying

defendants’ j.n.o.v. motion (A91).

J. The Proceedings and Disposition Below

Plaintiffs Langenderfer and NOAP filed the original

private antitrust action herein (‘‘Langenderfer J’’) in

1976, alleging that defendants had violated Section 2 of

the Sherman Act (15 U.S.C. §2) (JA 37-58). In March

1980, a unanimous jury of twelve returned a general

verdict in favor of plaintiffs for actual damages of

$982,117 (JA 59). District Judge Young denied

defendants’ post-trial motions, entered treble judgment

for $2,946,351, ordered injunctive relief and awarded

| attorney's fees and costs. Both sides appealed (JA 81-

105).

12

While the Langenderfer I appeal was _ pending,

plaintiffs Langenderfer and NOAP were joined by new

plaintiffs MacRitchie Materials, M&B and Sader in a

companion suit filed on December 23, 1983

(““Langenderfer II’’), for damages inflicted since 1980 by

the continuing monopoly.

On March 15, 1984 the Sixth Circuit (Judges

Wellford and Lively in the majority, Judge Wilhoit

dissenting), while recognizing that the evidence

supported plaintiffs’ claims of monopolization, reversed,

vacated the judgments and remanded Langenderfer I for

a new trial. Arthur S. Langenderfer, Inc. v. S.E. Johnson

Co., 729 F.2d 1050 (6th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S.

1036 (1984).

Langenderfer I and II were consolidated in a seven-

week jury trial before District Judge John W. Potter in

August-September, 1986. The second unanimous jury

returned general verdicts in favor of all five plaintiffs for

actual damages aggregating $2,425,000, unanimously

answering all of the 18 special interrogatories (including

60 subparts) in pleintiffs’ favor (A74-84; JA 251-75).

These interrogatories were in the form submitted by

defendants. Judge Potter trebled the damages, awarded

fees and costs, denied post-judgment interest to the

Langenderfer I plaintiffs and ordered injunctive relief.

He denied defendants’ post-trial motions for j.7.0.v. or a

new trial, finding the special interrogatory answers

consistent with the general verdicts in all respects

(A91). Appeal and cross-appeal to the Sixth Circuit

followed.

The Court of Appeals entered its Opinion and

Judgment on October 29, 1990 (A1-71). Plaintiffs’

timely Petition for Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc

was denied on January 23, 1991 (A122). The Court

refused to stay its mandate on February 12, 1991 despite

all parties requesting same. This is the second time

petitioners Langenderfer and NOAP have sought a writ

of certiorari in this Court.

|

13

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Sixth Circuit’s Opinion Is An _ Implicit

Extension Of Matsushita In Violation Of The Seventh

Amendment.

The concerns vigorously expressed by the four

dissenting Justices (White, Brennan, Blackmun and

Stevens) in Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith

Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 598-607 (1986) have come to

full flower on the instant appeal. Here, the Sixth Circuit

disregarded the jury’s findings expressed in answers to

special interrogatories and, through its own fact-finding

exercise and ‘‘economic theorizing,’ overturned jury

verdicts for the second time. The Sixth Circuit's opinion

is an implicit extension of Matsushita in violation of the

Seventh Amendment.

In Matsushita, a (5-4) majority of this Court held

that, on summary judgment, an antitrust plaintiff must

come forward with more persuasive proof than is

ordinarily required “if the factual context renders

[plaintiffs’} claim implausible—if the claim is one that

simply makes no economic sense[.]'’ 475 U.S. at 587. The

dissent was properly concerned that the Matsushita

majority made ‘‘a number of assumptions that invade

the factfinder’s province,’’ 475 U.S. at 599. The Sixth

Circuit’s review of the evidence herein went far beyond

anything this Court condoned in Matsushita.

This is not a summary judgment case. Plaintiffs

have passed the “‘plausibility’’ test time after time on

motions for summary judgment, directed verdict,

j.n.o.v./new trial, and most importantly before a jury that

returned answers to special interrogatories finding for

the plaintiffs. Although it may not raise constitutional

concerns for a court to find, at the summary judgment

stage, that ‘‘the factual context renders [a] claim

implausible,’ 475 U.S. at 587, such concerns are raised

14

where, as here, a jury, for the second time, has examined

the facts and found the claims not only plausible, but

real, based on all the evidence in a seven week trial.‘

The Sixth Circuit's sua sponte finding that

Langenderfer’s damage claims ‘‘simply fail to reflect

economic reality and we_ shall make adjustments

accordingly, (917 F.2d at 1444; A62) is the illegitimate

offspring of Matsushita. It baldly illustrates the extent

to which the Court went to impose its own views of

economic reality on a case where the factfinder had

already fulfilled its constitutional role. Instead of

reviewing the sufficiency of the evidence in the light

most favorable to plaintiffs, as it was required to do, the

Court felt free to weigh the plausibility of plaintiffs’

evidence, compare it with defendants’ evidence, and

make its own judgments about economic impact despite

the jury's findings to the contrary. Where a jury has

examined and found the facts, however, a reviewing

court has no business considering plausibility. Simply

put—does the Seventh Amendment permit a Court of

Appeals to overturn a jury’s express findings, based on

that Court's vision of ‘‘economic reality’? As hereinafter

discussed, the answer must be a resounding: ‘‘No.”’

‘Matsushita authorizes an inquiry on summary judgment into the

‘implausibility’ of inferences from circumstantial evidence, particularly

in antitrust conspiracy cases, not an inquiry into the credibility of

direct evidence.” McLaughlin v. Liu, 849 F.2d 1205, 1207 (9th Cir.

1988). See also DeSanti & Kovacic, ‘Matsushita: Its Construction

and Application By The Lower Courts,’ 59 Antitrust Law Journal

609, 628, 634, 641-43 (1990) (‘Lower court opinions reflect the tension

between the majority and minority opinions in Matsushita concerning

the extent to which a court must ‘weigh’ evidence and therefore

invade the province of the factfinder ...'); Stempel, ‘A Distorted

Mirror: The Supreme Court's Shimmering View of Summary

Judgment, Directed Verdict, and the Adjudication Process,” 49

O.S.L.J. 95, 164-68 (1988) (‘When the nature of ... (by extension

judgment n.o.v.) practice is changed, however, so that it involves a

judicial assessment of the correctness of competing questions of fact

existence and fact inference, the rock on which these cases (e.g.,

Matsushita) was built begins to crumble ... it would seem that these

new ... ground rules violate the Seventh Amendment.”’)

15

There can be no question that the Sixth Circuit

construed the facts in this case in disregard of the jury's

findings, scorning its own rules:

The Appellate Court must be governed by the rules

safeguarding the constitutional right of trial by

jury, which requires the Appellate Court to take the

strongest legitimate view of all the evidence to

uphold the verdict; to assume the truth of all that

tends to support it, to discard all to the contrary,

and to allow all reasonable inferences to sustain the

verdict.

Smith v. Illinois Central Railroad Co., 394 F.2d 254, 256-

57 (6th Cir. 1968). The jury may not have believed a

word defendants’ witnesses said, as the Court instructed

was their right (JA 203). For the Sixth Circuit to credit

any of defendants’ witnesses was the plainest

invasion of the jury's factfinding responsibilities.

The Court of Appeals utterly failed to consider the

case as a whole. It studied each of the five plaintiffs,

issues and markets independently in a vacuum, as

though one had nothing to do with the other. It failed to

consider the overall impact of defendants’ monopoly and

all plaintiffs’ proof contrary to the trial court’s charge

(JA 204). As stated in Continental Ore Co. v. Union

Carbide & Carbon Corp., 370 U.S. 690, 698-99 (1962):

It is apparent from the foregoing that the Court of

Appeals approached Continental’s claims as if they

were five completely separate and _ unrelated

lawsuits. We think this was improper. In cases such

as this, plaintiffs should be given the full benefit of

their proof without tightly compartmentalizing the

various factual components and wiping the slate

clean after scrutiny of each.

|

16

These principles were reaffirmed in Aspen Skiing Co.

v. Aspen Highlands Skiing Corp., 472 U.S. 585, 599

(1985) but the Sixth Circuit steadfastly ignored them in

the appeal at issue.*

In short, the principal reason for granting the writ in

this fifteen year old case is to protect the constitutional

right to trial by jury and preserve the integrity of the

appellate process. The Langenderfer 1] Court of Appeals

trampled on the unanimous jury findings and

disregarded traditional concepts of appellate

procedure—a precedent, which if allowed to stand, will

hereafter plague the course of innumerable appeals and

judicial supervision of jury verdicts. The Court of

Appeals literally “‘... has so far departed from the

accepted course of judicial proceedings ... as to call for

an exercise of [the Supreme] Court's power of

supervision” (S.Ct. R.10.1(a)). Plaintiffs have no other

remedy for the fundamental violation of _ their

Constitutional rights by a Court of Appeals than review

by this Court.

*'fThe trial court herein submitted six specific categories of

defendants’ anticompetitive conduct to the jury and found them

supported by the evidence in its post trial rulings (JA 216; A91). The

Sixth Circuit, however, treated each one separately for each of

plaintiffs’ claims and found that the plaintiffs had failed to prove

monopolistic stone pricing, price squeezing and tying in various

respects. This was contrary to the teaching of Aspen where the Tenth

Circuit had held:

Plaintiff's evidence should be viewed as a whole. Each of the six

things [alleged anticompetitive acts] viewed in isolation need

not be supported by sufficient evidence to amount to a §2

violation. It is enough that taken together they are sufficient to

prove the monopolization claim. Aspen Highlands Skiing Corp.

v. Aspen Skiing Co., 738 F.2d 1509, 1522, n.18 (10th Cir. 1984),

aff'd 472 U.S. 585, 599 (1985).

ee

17

II. The Seventh Amendment Precluded The Court

Of Appeals From Sua Sponte Reviewing Any Issues Of

Langenderfer’s Damages Or Indirect Injury To NOAP.

The Issues Were Never Raised By Motion Below; They

Were Never Assigned As Error, Briefed Or Argued On

Appeal.

The appellate court sua sponte disregarded

unanimous jury damage verdicts and ridiculed plaintiffs’

proofs. It then waded into the record and redetermined

damages to suit itself and cut Langenderfer’s award by

two-thirds, stating ‘‘that some of the dollar figures

offered by plaintiffs and their experts simply fail to

reflect economic reality and we shall make adjustments

accordingly’’ (917 F.2d at 1444; A62). A new day has

dawned, if Courts of Appeals can now fix the amount of

damages in jury cases. “It is not our role to review

directly the award for excessiveness, or to substitute our

judgment for that of the jury.” Browning-Ferris

Industries v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S. 257, __,

109 S. Ct. 2909, 2921 (1989). The Court candidly set out

to re-do the jury’s job: to evaluate the alternate methods

of proof, to sift and weigh the evidence, to draw

inferences, to judge credibility, and to decide what was

reasonable under all the circumstances after making its

own “realistic allocations,’ 917 F.2d at 1444-47; A61-66.

A. The Court of Appeals effectively directed a

damage verdict for a reduced sum.

Under the Seventh Amendment, no appellate court

has the power to redetermine damages.*® ‘“‘The Seventh

Amendment reserves the determination of damages, in

jury trials within its scope, to the jury.’’ McKinnon v.

*The Supreme Court only recently noted that ‘‘we have never held

expressly that the Seventh Amendment allows appellate review of a

district court's denial of a motion to set aside an award as excessive”

although it has twice granted certiorari to consider the issue but

never reached it. Browning-Ferris, 109 S. Ct. at 2922, n.25. Certainly the

time is ripe for review of this issue, especially when the defendants

never attacked the excessiveness of the verdict, by motion below or

on appeal.

18

City of Berwyn, 750 F.2d 1383, 1392 (7th Cir. 1984).

There is no point in having juries at all if appellate

courts can sua sponte disregard their findings of fact and

usurp the jury’s unique function in fixing damages. A

United States Court of Appeals has no jurisdiction to re-

examine facts tried to a jury. Parsons v. Bedford, 28

U.S. 433, 446-48 (1830); Atlantic & Gulf Stevedores, Inc.

v. Ellerman Lines, Limited, 369 U.S. 355, 363-64 (1962).

The Court of Appeals did not even have the right to

review the trial court’s denial of a new trial on damage

issues absent a clear showing of abuse of discretion,

which was never raised. In Fairmount Glass Works uv.

Cub Fork Coal Co., 287 U.S. 474, 481 (1933), it was

stated:

The rule that this Court will not review the

action of a federal trial court in granting or denying

a motion for a new trial for error of fact has been

settled by a long and unbroken line of decisions and

has been frequently applied where the ground of the

motion was that the damages awarded by the jury

were excessive or inadequate. The rule precludes

likewise a review of such action by a circuit court of

appeals.

What this appellate Court did is the equivalent of

directing a verdict in a reduced sum for the plaintiff

Langenderfer. The Court of Appeals cannot direct a

verdict in a jury case in view of the Seventh Amendment

prohibitions. See, Aetna Ins. Co. v. Kennedy, 301 U.S.

389, 392-94 (1937); Young v. Central Railroad Co., 232

U.S. 602, 603-604 (1914). The Court of Appeals had no

power to vacate or reduce the aggregate judgment for

Langenderfer and NOAP. This Court should correct such

a flagrant disregard of the Seventh Amendment as an

admonition to those courts that might be tempted to

stray from Constitutional orthodoxy. We submit that the

Court of Appeals’ conduct is so far outside the accepted

confines of the Seventh Amendment and appeilate

procedure that its rulings overturning damage verdicts

should be summarily vacated and judgments of

$1,675,000 for Langenderfer and NOAP reinstated. S.Ct.

Rule 16.1.

|

19

B. The Sixth Circuit’s review likewise deprived

petitioners of appellate due process.

The Court’s bold usurpation of the jury's unique role

is all the more astonishing because defendants did not

move for directed verdicts, j.n.o.v., or new trial on the

issue of damage amounts or NOAP'’s standing (JA 2901-

48, 3721-3752; JA 283-86) and never presented, briefed or

argued those non-issues as error on the appeal. See,

Defendants’ ‘“‘Issues Presented”’ (A 126-27).

Consequently, plaintiffs never even had a chance to

argue or defend against the Court of Appeals’ gratuitous

and startling findings. In similar vein, the Court of

Appeals held (917 F.2d at 1437-38; A47-50) that

plaintiff NOAP had only been indirectly injured under

the standing doctrine of Associated General Contractors

of California, Inc. v. Carpenters, 459 U.S. 519, 538-40

(1983) and could not recover antitrust damages under

Clayton §4, even though the defendants had never raised

NOAP'’s standing as a defense at trial or by motion, and

never presented or argued it on appeal.’ Once again,

plaintiffs had no chance to argue the issue. This kind of

appellate conduct is shocking and should be ‘nipped in

the bud,” lest other courts find its exercise tempting.

The common law proscription referred to in the

Seventh Amendment iimits appellate review to issues

properly raised below or on appeal. Defendants

repeatedly waived these issues and the Court of Appeals

violated traditional standards of appellate due process

and the limited scope of review (including its own) in

even considering such issues.

It is the general rule, of course, that a federal

appellate court does not consider an issue not passed

upon below. In Hormel v. Helvering, 312 U.S. 552,

"Defendants waived NOAP’s standing years ago in Langenderfer I

and never raised it on retrial. In fact, in the special interrogatories

and general verdict forms drafted by defendants, they combined

Langenderfer and NOAP and treated them as one party for findings

and verdict purposes (Ans. to Itgs. 1-7, 12, 17, 18; A75-78, 81, 83, 84).

20

556 (1941), the Court explained that this is

“essential in order that parties may have the

opportunity to offer all the evidence they believe

relevant to the issues ... [and] in order that litigants

may not be surprised on appeal by final decision

there of issues upon which they have had no

opportunity to introduce evidence.'’ We have no idea

what evidence, if any, petitioner would, or could,

offer in defense of this statute, but this is only

because petitioner has had no opportunity to proffer

such evidence. Moreover, even assuming that there

is no such evidence, petitioner should have the

opportunity to present whatever legal arguments he

may have in defense of the statute.

Singleton v. Wulff, 428 U.S. 106, 121 (1976).

“The clear rule is that appellate courts do not

consider issues not presented to the district court.”

Brown v. Marshall, 704 F.2d 333, 334 (6th Cir.) (per

curiam), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 835 (1983). The appellate

court will not review issues not specifically preserved by

mouons for a directed verdict, j.n.o.v. or new trial. 9 C.

Wright & Miller, Fed. Prac. & Proc. $2536, p. 593 (1971).

In the case at hand, not only did defendants fail to

raise the subject issues of damages and NOAP’s

standing at the trial but they failed to present or argue

them in the Sixth Circuit appeal. See, Defendants-

Appellants’ Issves Presented (A126). ‘“‘[AJn

[appellant's] original brief abandons all points not

mentioned therein,’’ Nissho-Iwai Co., Ltd. v. Occidental

Crude Sales, 729 F.2d 1530, 1539 n.14 (5th Cir. 1984);

Priddy v. Edelman, 883 F.2d 438, 446 (6th Cir. 1989).°

*The Sixth Circuit has declined to decide an issue even where the

parties had briefed the issue because it had not been ‘‘specifically’’

appealed. Chiropractic Cooperative Ass'n of Michigan v. American

Medical Ass'n, 867 F.2d 270, 277 (6th Cir. 1989). Recently, this Court

has declined to address an argument because the defendant failed to

raise it properly in the district court or on appeal. Browning-Ferris,

supra, 109 S. Ct. at 2921.

Ee

21

The issues were never before the appellate court. The

court's gratuitous reversal of jury awards in these

circumstances violates cardinal principles limiting the

scope of review to issues properly raised and argued. If

courts of appeals can ignore their own rules and sua

sponte overturn jury verdicts at will, the Seventh

Amendment has become a dead letter.

Ill. The Appellate Court Again Violated The

Seventh Amendment When It Re-Examined The Jury's

Relevant Market Findings. Defendants’ Monopolization

Of ODOT/OTC Asphalt Paving And Materials Used

Therein As Found By The Jury Is Sufficient To Sustain

The Claims Of All The Plaintiffs.

The Court of Appeals decision raises important

issues of antitrust law in the process of contravening the

jury's findings of fact. Perhaps the most important is

that, although the Court of Appeals affirmed, as to

plaintiff Langenderfer, the jury’s finding that defendants

monopolized and attempted to monopolize a contiguous

thirteen county area in Northwestern Ohio (917 F.2d at

1440; A54), it rejected that same finding when it

reversed awards to two other plaintiffs (M&B and Sader)

who competed against defendants within the same

thirteen counties on the grounds they did not each prove

separate relevant geographical markets as to the lesser

included counties.’ In short, the Court of Appeals

ignored the ‘‘economic reality’’ that the total includes the

sum of its parts, contrary to United States v. Grinnell

Corp., 384 U.S. 563, 576 (1966) which held:

* The trial court properly instructed the jury on the relevant thirteen

county market and submarkets within it (JA 209-211). It was

defendants who concocted a confusing interrogatory asking the jury

to ‘‘state the relevant market or submarket of each plaintiff.’ Thus,

the jury may very well have found submarkets for each plaintiff. The

jury's answers to special interrogatories must be reconciled if at all

possible with the general verdicts (as the trial court did) when ‘‘there

is a view of the case that makes the jury answers to special

interrogatories consistent."’ Gallick v. Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Co.,

372 U.S. 108, 119 (1963). The Court of Appeals flatly ignored that

principle.

22

... the relevant market for determining whether |

the defendants have monopoly power is not the

several local areas which the individual stations

serve, but the broader national market that reflects

the reality of the way in which they built and

conduct their business.

The rejection of this principle will have far-reaching

consequences and affect the trial of many antitrust cases

for years to come wherever relevant market issues and

multiple plaintiffs are involved.

The appellate court also ignored the anticompetitive

leverage that defendants’ thirteen county monopoly

exerted over the individual counties within the thirteen.

As the Sixth Circuit itself stated in Kerasotes Michigan

Theatres, Inc. v. National Amusement, Inc., 854 F.2d

135, 137 (6th Cir. 1988):

To run afoul of the antitrust laws, it is not

necessary that the party attempting to leverage its

monopoly power from a given market [the 13

counties] into a second market [a cluster of counties

within the 13] possesses monopoly power or

dominant market position in that second market. . .

We expressly reject the district court's reasoning

that leveraging or the abuse of monopoly power is

not actionable when the offender has not yet

acquired a dominant position in the affected market.

Since the relevant geographical market was the only

issue defendants successfully appealed against M&B, if

this ruling is reversed, M&B’s actual damages of

$350,000 should be reinstated.

Finally, the Court of Appeals ignored the jury's

explicit findings that defendants monopolized and

attempted to monopolize the raw materials (stone, sand

and asphalt) that went into (called “inputs’’) asphalt

paving of Turnpike and ODOT jobs,"* and instead, held

’°The jury's finding that defendants monopolized the “inputs” is

fully supported by the landmark case of Standard Oil Co. v. United

States, 221 U.S. 1, 77 (1911):

(Footnote continued on following page.)

reer

23

that plaintiffs were required to prove that defendants

monopolized or attempted to monopolize the production

of all stone and sand in the thirteen counties whether or

not used in OTC/ODOT work. The jury did not find that

defendants monopolized the production of all stone,

sand and asphalt but only that which was used in

OTC/ODOT paving contracts as plaintiffs had claimed

(Ans. to Itg. 9; <A80). Consequently, the Sixth

Circuit overturned the result below on a non-sequitur—a

finding that the jury did not even make! That is ‘point

blank” re-examination of the evidence in disregard of the

jury's fact-finding prerogative and it changed the whole

outcome of the case. A court of appeals is supposed to

determine if there is evidence to support the jury's

findings—not determine whether there is evidence to

support a finding they did not make.

IV. The Court Of Appeals Again Re-Examined The

Jury's Findings In Reversing Sader’s Judgment. Sader

Was Cut Off By The Monopolist Under A Sham Credit

Pretext; It Was A Jury Issue.

Defendants have had the only quarry and asphalt

plant at Bowling Green (Portage) for the last 25 years

after they acquired their only competitor in the area

(JA 1133-38, 2092-93; TR 764-69, 2146-47; PX 1, 3). As

the evidence proved, the jury found, and the trial court

held in its post-trial rulings, defendants controlled an

“indispensable facility which cannot be easily

(Footnote continued from preceding page.)

The inference that no attempt to monopolize could have been

intended, and that no monopolization resulted from the acts

complained of, since it is established that a very small

percentage of the crude oil produced was controlled by the

combination, is unwarranted. As substantial power over the

crude product was the inevitable result of the absolute control

which existed over the refined product, the monvpolization of

the one carried with it the power to control the other ....

Since defendants monopolized ODOT and Turnpike paving, they

supplied the “inputs” from their own seven quarries or fourteen

asphalt plants, thereby foreclosing the plaintiffs from supplying any

materials on those jobs.

diate rnenreneniennetill

24

duplicated.’ (A95; JA 515). As Sader testified, and

defendants admitted, Sader had to buy stone and asphalt

from defendants at Portage in order to compete against

defendants’ paving operation (JA 1138-42, 2213-15; TR

769-73, 2267-69). By the time Sader hauled stone or

asphalt the 30 extra miles round trip from other quarries

or plants, he could not compete effectively with

defendants who had cut off his local supply although he

did not owe them ‘‘a penny” (JA 1171-72; TR 802-03).

Sader did not have to prove production market

shares of stone and asphalt at Bowling Green, as the

appellate court held. Defendants were the only producer

(within 30 miles round trip); therefore, they produced

100% of all highway construction materials produced in

that area which Sader needed to compete with

defendants. The relevant market was _ self-defining.''

Documented statistical expert or market share data

evidence is not necessary if the impression from the

evidence as a whole is one of dominance. General

Industries Corp. v. Hartz Mountain Corp., 810 F.2d 795,

806 (8th Cir. 1987).

Although relevant geographic markets are not

‘susceptible to a (precise) metes and bounds’”’

definition, ‘‘the appropriate market is characterized

as the area in which the seller operates and to which

the purchaser can practically turn for supplies.”

United States Steel Corporation v. FTC, 426 F.2d

592, 596 (6th Cir. 1970), citing Tampa Electric Co. v.

Nashville Coal Co., 365 U.S. 320, 327, 331 (1961).

It obviously was not practical for Sader to haul stone

and asphalt an extra 30 miles if he wanted to compete

with defendants’ paving operations. The jury was

justified in finding defendants’ dominance in the Bowling

'' This Court's recent decision in FTC v. Superior Court Trial Lawyers

Association, _ U.S. __., 110 S. Ct. 763, 781, n.18 (1990)

acknowledged that ‘the fact of agreement defines the market.’ Here,

too, the undisputed fact of defendants’ control of an indispensable

tacility defines the defendant-controlled market in which Sader was

injured.

25

Green area through its control of an essential facility.

The Court of Appeals had no business second-guessing

that finding as it once again did.

The true Sader issue, as the Court of Appeals

recognized (917 F.2d at 1425; A22), was whether

defendants terminated Sader for legitimate credit

reasons or in retaliation against him for testifying in

Langenderfer I and to hurt him competitively. The

credibility and demeanor of witnesses, the pattern of

events and the good or bad faith of the defendants’

employees in using credit as a disguise for their

anticompetitive conduct was peculiarly a jury issue, as

the trial court found (A94-95). Defendants’ oppressive

credit tactics (which the Court of Appeals naively

accepted at face value as ‘‘commercial and credit

controversies ... not aris[ing] in an antitrust context,’

917 F.2d at 1426; A 23-24) were a smoke screen to cover

up the animus the jury found.

We do not see how the Sixth Circuit can be

“persuaded” that Sader’s claim has ‘‘arguable merit”’

(917 F.2d at 1425; A22) and then hold it was not a jury

question. The only way it could reach its legal conclusion

is by weighing the evidence which was the jury’s sole

prerogative under the Seventh Amendment. This it was

not permitted to do. Sader’s actual damages of $250,000

should be reinstated and affirmed.

V. The Court’s Refusal To Award Attorneys’ Fees

Or Costs To The Prevailing Plaintiff For The First Nine

Years Of This Case Is Contrary To Law, Unconscionable

On Its Face And Exhibits Hostility To Private

Enforcement Of The Antitrust Laws.

The Court of Appeals affirmed the trial court’s

refusal to award any attorneys’ fees and costs to the

successful antitrust plaintiff, Langenderfer, for the first

nine years of its fifteen years of legal effort in

26

~Langenderfer I. This demonstrates a patent hostility to

the private enforcement of the antitrust laws that this

Court should not countenance and is squarely opposed to

the Congressional intent in enacting Clayton §4."

Under the Court’s holding, the one successful

antitrust plaintiff, Langenderfer, who has prosecuted a

bitterly-fought case against an entrenched monopolist

over fifteen years, cannot even recover fees for drafting

the original complaint and the filing fee it paid when it

commenced action in 1976. All the discovery efforts and

legal proceedings in Langenderfer I that contributed to

the ultimately successful result go unreimbursed. This is

an outrageous’ holding—compeiling this Court's

supervisory review of such a precedent. The trial court's

holding that as a matter of law claims in Langenderfer I

and Langenderfer II were ‘‘distinct in all respects”’ (684 F.

Supp. at 957) is fatuous by ary standard. The trial court

itself had consolidated the two cases for trial because

they had common questions of law and fact respecting

defendants’ monopolization through acquisitions in

violation of Sherman §2. This decision standing alone is

precedent busting and should be summarily reversed. It

makes a laughingstock of this Court’s attorney fee

decisions, including Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424,

435 (1983), on which it purports to rely. As Hensley

stated:

In other cases the plaintiff's claims for relief will

involve a common core of facts or will be based on

related legal theories. Much of counsel's time will be

devoted generally to the litigation as a whole,

making it difficult to divide the hours expended on a

claim-by-claim basis. Such a lawsuit cannot be

viewed as a series of discrete claims. Instead the

district court shall focus.on the significance of the

overall relief obtained by the plaintiff in relation to

the hours reasonably expended on the litigation.

a = ee * * *

'2**Private enforcement of the Act was in no sense an afterthought; it

was an integral part of the congressional plan for protecting

competition. California v. American Stores Co., 110 S. Ct. 1853, 1860

(1990).

————wE——

27

... [T]he fee award should not be reduced simply

because the plaintiff failed to prevail on every

contention raised in the lawsuit. Litigants in good

faith may raise alternative legal grounds for a

desired outcome, and the court’s rejection of or

failure to reach certain grounds is not a sufficient

reason for reducing a fee. The result is what

matters.

The trial court’s refusal to award any fees or costs

for the first nine years of legal effort in this case, now

affirmed by the Sixth Circuit, manifests an antipathy to

the private enforcement of the antitrust laws in direct

violation of the Congressional intent and a defiance of

this Court's clear command in Hensley. The holding will

plague attorney fee and cost issues in fee-shifting cases

for year to come. Such a shocking precedent should not

be allowed to stand without the Court's closest scrutiny.

VI. Refusel To Allow Postjudgment Interest On

The Original Langenderfer I Judgment Reinstated By

The Langenderfer II Judgment Is Contrary To Binding

Precedents In The Sixth Circuit And Presents A Direct

Conflict With The Eighth And Ninth Circuits.

The Sixth Circuit’s affirmance of the trial court's

refusal to allow postjudgment interest on the amount of

the original Langenderfer I judgment dating from 1980

(917 F.2d at 1447; A69) conflicts with decisions in

the Eighth and Ninth Circuits. H&J, Inc. v. International

Tel. & Tel. Corp., 1991-1 CCH Trade Cases 469,327 at

65,264 (8th Cir. 1991); and Handgards v. Ethicon, Inc.,

743 F.2d 1282 (9th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1190

(1985). It is also squarely opposed to the principles

recently enunciated by the Sixth Circuit itself in Bailey

v. Chattem, Inc., 838 F.2d 149, 154 (6th Cir.), cert.

denied, 486 U.S. 1059 (1988), where it held:

[T]hat when the measurement of damages found by

a second, properly instructed jury includes within it

a lesser amount of damages which was also found by

28

the jury in the first trial, considerations of equity

lead us to run interest on that lesser amount from

the date of the first judgment.

In applying the ‘equity of the statute approach,”’ which

the Court of Appeals rejected below, Bailey embraced

the reasoning of the Ninth Circuit in Handgards, supra, a

private antitrust case procedurally identical to the

instant case. Bailey, 838 F.2d at 154.

This Court's recent decision in Kaiser Aluminum &

Chemical Corp. v. Bonjorno, _ U.S. , 110

S. Ct. 1570 (1990), does not directly address the issue in

question. It is, nevertheless, an important issue, certain

to recur when any cases are retried and the same or

larger judgments are awarded on retrial. Because the

Court of Appeals did not discuss its own binding

precedents, petitioners are at a loss to construe or

even understand why the Sixth Circuit disregarded

Bailey. Post-judgment interest on Langenderfer’s original

judgment should have been granted. This decision

presents an irreconcilable conflict with the Eighth and

Ninth Circuit decisions cited above. This Court’s review

is essential to resolve the conflict among Circuits and

provide a helpful guide to inferior courts where retrials

frequently occur ard the same or larger judgments are

obtained.

29

CONCLUSION

Many parties complain before the Supreme Court

that they have not had a fair trial. Here, the petitioners

complain that they have not had a fair hearing on

appeai—twice. The same two appellate judges that

reversed the unanimous jury verdict in Langenderfer I

formed the majority which reversed the jury verdicts

again in Langenderfer II. This time they created new

arguments that had never been raised and ignored the

jury's explicit findings—but the result was substantially

the same.'* This Court of Appeals decision, in re-retrying

the facts de novo, represents an unprecedented invasion

of the jury's province and a flagrant disregard of the

scope of limited review binding appellate courts. This

Honorable Court should review this result or it will be

cited for years to come as precedent to ignore the

Seventh Amendment and well-accepted standards of

appellate review.

There is no question that the Sixth Circuit rewrote

the facts the jury had found. Its seventy-one page

opinion is prima facie evidence of that fact if any is

needed. In doing so, it took the strongest view of the

defendants’ evidence and assumed the truth thereof,

discarded or paid mere lip service to plaintiffs’ evidence,

and reached every possible inference and factual

conclusion to overturn, rather than uphold, the jury’s

verdicts.

'’The irony of the Court of Appeals’ conduct is striking. In

Langenderfer I, the same two judges reversed the jury verdicts and

ordered a retrial because without answers to interrogatories they

could **... not discern whether the jury verdict was based on legally

insufficient proof of predatory pricing or on the other allegations of

anticompetitive acts.’ 729 F.2d at 1058. Now, in Langenderfer II, 917

F.2d 1413 (Al), when the jury answered eighteen special

interrogatories (and 60 subparts) in plaintiffs’ favor supporting every

element of the case, the same Court brushed them aside in itsown re-

examination of the evidence and did not credit those answers anyway.

30

We believe, however, that, in the exercise of its

supervisory responsibility over the courts of appeals, the

integrity of the jury system is of such consummate

importance to the Supreme Court that it will not allow

an opinion to stand that wasted the services and findings

of two unanimous juries and two different trial judges,

misconstrued the facts and misapplied the law,

considered issues not properly before it and deprived

these petitioners of their constitutional rights after they

have acted as private attorneys general at great personal

sacrifice over many years. To award no fees or costs for

nine years of legal effort is the ultimate injustice.

Petitioners respectfully request that this Honorable

Court grant this Petition for Certiorari to safeguard

petitioners’ constitutional rights for themselves and for

all those future parties whose rights are seriously

threatened by the unreviewed decision of the Court of

Appeals. We believe the Court’s decision is so contrary

to elementary principles on its face that it warrants the

extraordinary remedy of summary reversal and

reinstatement of judgments for all the petitioners.

April 11, 1991

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES M. PorTER

Counsel of Record

SQUIRE, SANDERS & DEMPSEY

1800 Huntington Building

Cleveland, Ohio 44115

(216) 687-8500

Attorneys for Petitioners

Of Counsel:

WALTER J. RexsTISs, III

Eric M. OAKLEY

VIRGINIA A. SEGER

ELIZABETH A. RADER

Al

APPENDIX

OPINION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

(Dated October 29, 1990)

RECOMMENDED FOR FULL TEXT PUBLICATION

See Sixth Circuit Rule 24

Nos.

87-3543/3577/3881 /3882/88-3126/3127/3574/3651

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

aN Nh ONAL LAO ee

4

ARTHUR S. LANGENDERFER, INC.;

NORTHERN OHIO ASPHALT PAVING

Co.; MACRITCHIE MATERIALS, INC.;

M & B AspPHALT Co., INc. and

G.M. SADER EXCAVATING &

PAVING, INC.,

Plaintiffs-A ppellees,

Cross-Appellants,

¥.

S.E. JOHNSON Co.; OHIO ON ApPEAL from the

emeenen Co: PRICE | United States District

BROTHERS, INC.: FRED CREAGER & | Court for the North-

Sons, INC.; MATCO ASPHALTIC ern District of Ohio

CONCRETE PRODUCTS Co.;

OAMCO,; C.P. CaLaway, INC.;

MAUMEE STONE Co.; MICHIGAN

STONE CO.; WOLCOTTVILLE SAND &

GRAVEL CorpP.; STONECO, INC.;

SAXTON DEVELOPMENT Co. and

J. T. Kirsy,

Defendants-Appellants,

Cross-Appellees.

iil

A2

Decided and Filed October 29, 1990

Before: MARTIN and WELLFORD, Circuit Judges; and

LIVELY, Senior Circuit Judge.

WELLFORD, Circuit Judge. The parties in this antitrust

controversy are, or were at One time, involved in businesses

related to road and highway construction in northwestern

Ohio. Plaintiff Arthur S. Langenderfer, Inc. (Langenderfer)

was an asphalt paving contractor that ceased operations in

1978, allegedly due to defendants’ antitrust violations.

Northern Ohio Asphalt Paving Co. (NOAP), a sister company

of Langenderfer, is an asphalt producer. Langenderfer and

NOAP were the original plaintiffs in a related case,

Langenderfer v. S.E. Johnson Co., 729 F.2d 1050 (6th Cir.),

cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1036 (1984) (Langenderfer 1), a case

in which this court vacated judgment based on a verdict in

favor of plaintiffs and remanded for a new trial.

I. GENERAL BACKGROUND

While the Langenderfer I appeal was pending, the original

plaintiffs were joined by other plaintiffs in a companion case,

and when Langenderfer I was decided and a remand effectu-

ated, the separate actions were consolidated. One of the

“new” plaintiffs is MacRitchie Materials, Inc. (MacRitchie),

a limestone supplier and sister company of Langenderfer and

NOAP that was denied leave to intervene in Langenderfer

I. See 729 F.2d at 1060. The other new plaintiffs are M&B

Asphalt Co., Inc. (M&B), an asphalt producer, paving con-

tractor, and limestone quarry operator, and G.M. Sader Exca-

vating & Paving Co., Inc. (Sader), an asphalt paving and

excavating contractor. The defendant companies (which shall

be referred to collectively as “Johnson”) are commonly

owned, and are involved in various aspects of the road con-

struction business. Defendant John T. Kirkby is the president

of Johnson and chief executive officer of the Johnson entities.

A3

In the Langenderfer I triai, plaintiffs relied largely on evi-

dence of alleged predatory pricing in bidding on public road

projects. Plaintiff introduced no evidence to indicate that

defendants’ bids were less than defendants’ total average

costs, and we held that the trial court did not instruct the

jury properly on the legal standard for a predatory pricing

antitrust violation. Because the predatory pricing claim could

not stand separately as a matter of law, and because it was

unclear whether the jury verdict was based on predatory pric-

ing or on other alleged anticompetitive behavior, we vacated

the judgment in favor of plaintiffs in Langenderfer I, and

remanded for a new trial. We noted that in order to prevail

on a claim of monopolization or attempt to monopolize,

plaintiff must “establish that Johnson engaged in some type

of prohibited anticompetitive conduct.” 729 F.2d at 1054-55.

Plainuffs in the current action allege that the defendants

violated §2 of the Sherman Act by monopolizing and

altempting to monopolize “the production and supply of

highway construction materials and in the bidding, construc-

tion and repair of asphalt highways” in a thirteen-county area

cof northwest Ohio. These highway projects were adminis-

tered on acompetitive bidding basis by the Ohio Department

of Transportation (ODOT) and/or the Ohio Turnpike Com-

mission (OTC). Defendants assert once again in defense of

the charges that Johnson’s success relative to the plaintiffs

was the result of better foresight and management, which led

to diversification, improved efficiency, and lower costs.

The allegations of plaintiff Sader differed significantly from

those of the other plaintiffs, because Sader was not an actual

competitor in ODOT/OTC work. Instead, Sader did mostly

private paving work, but alleged that it relied on Johnson

for raw materials, and that Johnson terminated Sader’s credit

in retaliation for the testimony of Sader’s president, Gregory

Sader, in Langenderfer I. Johnson maintained, on the other

hand, that the credit cut-off was for legitimate business rea-

A4

sons. We shall deal with the claims of each of the plaintiffs

independently.

The jury made the following findings, after submission of

special interrogatories:

1. As to all plaintiffs except Sader, relevant product mar-

kets included limestone, sand, and asphalt used in ODOT

and OTC paving contracts, as well as the ODOT and OTC

paving contracts themselves.

2. The relevant geographic market for a// plaintiffs was the

thirteen-county area.

3. Defendants possessed monopoly power, defined as “the

power to control prices or exclude competition,” in all of the

relevant product markets, and that power was willfully

acquired, maintained, or used through anticompetitive con-

duct. Asked to describe one or more types of anticompetitive

conduct, the jury replied, “The acquisitions were all made

to exclude and/or injure competition and increase Johnson’s

power which he succeeded in doing.”

‘The jury instructions listed the following six alleged anticompetitive

acts:

1. Monopolistic stone pricing;

2. Price or profit squeezing and cross-subsidization;

3. Leveraging its position in ODOT and OTC;

4. Tying the sale of stone and sand to the sale of asphalt;

5. Intimidating, tiscouraging, coercing and retaliating against

competitors;

6. Refusal to sell stone to Sader.

Defendants assert that because the jury’s above-reflected response

to the interrogatory did not list any of these six alleged anticompetitive

acts, its findings were not consistent with a violation of the antitrust

laws. The tral court found, however, that the jury’s response to this

“one or more” question was not inconsistent with the general verdict.

A5

4. Defendants’ monopolization caused injury to all of the

plaintiffs (including Sader).

5. Defendants possessed the specific intent to achieve a

monopoly in all of the relevant markets, engaged in anticom-

petitive conduct toward that end, and there was a dangerous

probability that they would achieve a monopoly.

6. Defendants’ attempt to monopolize caused injury to all

of the plaintiffs (including Sader).

7. Damages (before trebling) were $1,675,000 for Lan-

genderfer and NOAP; $200,000 for MacRitchie; $350,000

for M&B; and $250,000 for Sader.

The trial court entered judgment in accord with the verdict,

trebling the damages found by the jury, and allowing payment

of interest at the annual rate of 5.79 percent until paid.

On appeal, defendants contend that as a matter of law, no

i10nopoly power may be found in the supply of sand, lime-

stone, asphalt, or in bidding and performance of state and

turnpike jobs.

In addition, defendants maintain that plaintiffs failed to

Support allegations of anticompetitive conduct, relying

instead on evidence of Johnson’s above-cost bids, contrary

to the holding of Langenderfer I. In addition, Johnson asserts

that the thirteen-county area cannot represent the relevant

market for M&B, which performs most of its work in only

two counties and has never actually worked in the majority

of the thirteen counties found to be the relevant market.

Johnson makes a similar contention as to Sader. As an affir-

mative defense, Johnson claims that MacRitchie lacks anti-

trust standing, and that Sader may not recover under § 2 of

the Sherman Act based on Johnson’s revocation of Sader’s

credit privileges.

The original Johnson Company was founded in 1929 by

Sherman Johnson, who died in 1956. The company then

A6

owned three stone quarries and three hot-mix plants, and was

the largest asphalt paving contractor in northwest Ohio. Fol-

lowing Mr. Johnson’s death, defendant Kirkby became the

principal operating officer in 1957. At that time, plaintiff Lan-

genderfer was the second largest asphalt paver in the area.

Beginning in 1961, Kirkby, as principal officer on behalf of

defendants, embarked on a series of acquisitions, described

by this court in Langenderfer I. 729 F.2d at 1053-54.

We vacated and remanded the first judgment because the

proper legal standards were not applied, particularly as to

predatory pricing. We stated, however, that there was

“[s]ubstantial evidence indicat{ing] that Kirkby, both indi-

vidually and as chief officer of Johnson, intended to eliminate

competition and dominate the market.” Langenderfer / at

1054. Furthermore, in the first appeal, we noted that there

was expert testimony by economists to the effect that John-

son’s acquisitions created “significantly increased market

concentration,” and therefore had a tendency to create a

“monopolistic market structure.” Jd. at 1054.

After remand by this court, plaintiffs amended their com-

plaint asserting that Langenderfer was a general paving con-

tractor until “forced out of business by the defendants? in

1978.” NOAP asserted that it was in the business of purchas-

ing sand and stone, mixing these at asphalt plants, and selling

the resulting materials to Langenderfer, asphalt pavers, and

others. These plaintiffs asserted that Johnson, Ohio Engineer-

ing, and Creager were competitors in constructing and repair-

ing highways and roads in northwestern Ohio with

Langenderfer, and that “business is generally performed. . .

*Defendants named were the Johnson companies, Ohio Engineering

Co. (Ohio), Fred R. Creager & Sons, Inc. (Creager), Matco Asphaltic

Concrete Producing Co. (Matco), OAMCO, !nc. (OAMCO), C.P.

Calaway, Inc. (Calaway), Maumee Stone Co. (Maumee), Michigan

Stone Co. (MSC), Wolcottville Sand & Gravel Corp. (WAS&G), Saxon

Development Co. (Saxon), Stoneco, Inc. (Stoneco), and J.T. Kirkby.

A7

after competitive bidding by the governmental authorities.”

Langenderfer alleged that it “customarily carried on its pro-

curement of materials through plaintiff NOAP.” Plaintiffs

averred that to minimize costs, “the paving contractor nor-

mally purchases highway construction materials for the

quarry or asphalt pliant located closest to the job site.”

Defendants were charged with “unlawfully combining in

restraint of interstate trade and conspiring to monopolize and

attempt to monopolize . . . in the production and supply of

highway construction materials and in the bidding, construc-

uon and repair of asphalt highways.” In addition, plaintiffs

charged that defendants quoted and charged them higher

prices for stone, sand, or asphalt than those charged to defen-

dant paving contractors. They also charged defendants with

refusing to sell these materials, tying sales of stone and sand

to asphalt, and other “predatory” practices, including forcing

competitors out of the sand, stone, and asphalt business by

these practices, all done with requisite anticompetitive

intent.

Defendants denied the charges of unlawful anticompetitive

conduct and averred that a corporate restructuring took place

in 1986 leaving S.E. Jason Companies, Inc. as the only active

Johnson entity with wholly owned subsidiaries Creager,

Stoneco (formerly Oamco, Inc.), and Alloy Founders.?

A basic issue in the retrial of this case arose in defendants’

motion to exclude evidence of alleged predatory bidding by

3Defendants also responded that Ohio & Metro “no longer exist,”

and that Caluway “is currently an inactive corporation” (as of July

1986). Johnson answered that Maumee & MSC merged into it; that

WAS&G “operated a sandpit in Indiana and became inactive and is

now inactive, but that WAS&G's assets, after reactivation, were trans-

ferred into Stoneco.” Defendants further answered that Saxon “is inac-

tive and has no current business activities.” Kirkby was alleged, in the

answer, to have owned less than a five percent interest in Johnson at

all relevant umes.

A8

reason of our holding in Langenderfer I. The district court

agreed with plaintiffs and held bidding practices admissible

because such practices may “portray the effects of defendants’

iong term monopolization of this market.”* Even if some of

the evidentiary emphasis in the second trial was on the

asserted predatory bidding practices of defendants, and this

is a separate charge from monopolization or attempted

monopolization, we find the ruling to permit such evidence

not to be prejudicial error under all the circumstances. It is

clear, nonetheless, that a considerable portion of plaintiffs’

proof was directed towards defendants’ low bidding proce-

dures, and plaintiffs, as well as their experts, relied heavily

on this testimony throughout, despite defendants’ objections.

Section 2 of the Sherman Act makes it unlawful for any

“person” to “monopolize, or attempt to monopolize, or com-

bine or conspire . . . to monopolize any part of the trade

or commerce among the several States.” In construing a § 2

claim, the Supreme Court has held that a plaintiff must estab-

lish “(1) the possession of monopoly power in the relevant

market, and (2) the willful acquisition or maintenance of that

power as distinguished from growth or development as a con-

sequence of a superior product, business acumen, or historic

accident.” United States v. Grinnell Corp., 364 U.S. 563, 570-

“We do not endorse the reason given by the district court for this

ruling. While we find no error in the holding that evidence of bidding

practices may be relevant and admissible, we do not believe, as

asserted, that its exclusion would be to “direct a verdict for

defendants.” We held in Langenderfer | that bidding “above the fota/

average costs” of defendants was not an antitrust violation under the

Sherman Act, and that the proper test for anticompetitive conduct in

that regard was not whether defendants’ bids were “above competitors’

costs.” 729 F.2d at 1055. The effect of Langenderfer I, it should be

observed, was to set aside the judgment based upon plaintiffs’ asserted

cause of action for predatory pricing, which was the thrust of the first

trial and appeal. The district court, however, charged the jury to the

above effect. Plaintiffs’ experts emphasized what they perceived to be

low bidding and “predatory pricing” conduct of defendants.

A9

71 (1966). Such prohibited power includes “power to control

prices or exclude competition.” Grinnell Corp., 384 U.S. at

571; United States v. E. I. duPont, 351 U.S. 377, 391 (1956).

Il. STANDARD OF REVIEW

Defendants’ appeal is from the district court’s denials of

the motion for directed verdict and for judgment notwith-

standing the verdict. In considering a motion for directed ver-

dict, “the trial court ‘must determine whether there was

sufficient evidence presented to raise a material issue of fact

for the jury.’ ” Milstead v. International Brh. of Teamsters,

580 F.2d 232, 235 (6th Cir. 1978), quoting O'Neill v. Kiled-

jian, 511 F.2d 3511, 513 (6th Cir. 1975). Sufficient evidence

“is such that, when viewed in the light of those inferences

most favorable to the nonmovant, there is either a complete

absence of proof on the issues or no controverted issues of

fact upon which reasonable men could differ. Appellate courts

apply this same standard.” Milstead, 580 F.2d at 235 (cita-

tions omitted) (emphasis added). This same standard applies

to motions for judgment n.o.v. Morelock v. NCR Corp., 586

F.2d 1096, 1104 (6th Cir. 1978), cert denied, 441 U.S. 906

(1979).

We therefore consider whether plaintiffs have carried their

burden of showing monopoly power and anticompetitive

conduct. '

[A]s the case is presented to us, we must interpret

the entire record in the light most favorable to

[plaintiffs] and give to [them] the benefit of all infer-

ences which the evidence fairly supports, even

though contrary inferences might reasonably be

drawn... .

Moreover, we must assume that the jury followed

the court’s instructions.

Aspen Skiing Co. vy. Aspen Highlands Skiing Corp., 472 U.S.

585, 604 (1985), citing Continental Ore Co. v. Union Carbide

& Carhon Corp, 370 US. 690, 696 (1962).

rarer

Al0

In applying the Aspen Skiing standard to the facts submit-

ted to the jury, it is worth noting that this is the second jury

to find in favor of plaintiffs Langenderfer and NOAP with

regard to elimination of competition and domination of the

market claims.

Once the jury has acted, we set aside its verdict and the

district court’s refusal to grant a j.n.o.v. motion only if we

are satisfied, upon a thorough review of the record, that error

has been committed. We also give plaintiffs the benefit of

reasonable and favorable inferences that may be drawn from

the evidence. We may not pass upon credibility of witnesses

in making this review. To the extent, of course, that the dis-

trict court drew or made legal conclusions based on the jury’s

responses to interrogatories, we may review decisions of law

de novo.

lil. M & B CLAIM

M & B has been in the asphalt paving business in several

Ohio counties since about 1957. According to plaintiffs’

exhibit i and the record, it has a base of operations only in

Seneca County, Ohio, where it has maintained one or two

asphalt plants over the approximately twenty-five years of

its existence prior to the filing of this antitrust action in

December 1983 against defendants. Seneca County is located

in the extreme southeast corner of the thirteen-county rele-

vant market as determined by the jury at trial.

In its brief in this cause, M & B maintains that over the

entire relevant time period, it has bid in six counties. Its chief

financial officer and one of its two principal operators, Robert

M. Chesebro, however, testified that during the twenty year

period up to 1980, it did 95 percent of its work in Seneca

County and in adjacent Sandusky County.® Throughout, its

“base of operations” remained in these two counties.

5In a deposition, Chesebro stated that this two county area remained

“pretty constant.” He also stated that “Seneca and Sandusky Counties

All

M & B’s plant and an available quarry at Bloomville are

very near adjacent Huron and Crawford Counties, outside

the thirteen-county area. M & B also bid and did work in

Erie, Huron, and Crawford Counties, the latter adjacent io

Seneca County to the south and east (Erie County is adjacent

and east of Sandusky County). Chesebro testified he “very

seldom” operated in Wyandot County. Plaintiffs’ map identi-

fying batch plants, stone quarries, and sandpits in the area

in question in this litigation reflects that defendants have

never had a single plant, quarry or sandpit located in San-

dusky and Seneca Counties. It reflects, on the other hand,

that during the relevant period there were two independent

quarries located in Sandusky County, both available to M

& B. There have been three quarries located in Seneca

County, two of which were controlled by defendants’ primary

stone supply competitor, France Stone, and one belonging

to Basic, which was the principal source for M & B until M

& B acquired operating control of it in 1984. Chesebro con-

ceded that the three !argest quarries in the area cf his opera-

tion were France, National Lime & Stone, and Sandusky

Crushed Stone.

Plaintiffs also have a quarry at Rising Sun, very near both

Sandusky and Seneca Counties, and there have been two

other independent quarries located just south of the Seneca

County line. There were no figures produced showing the

san@ production in these two counties of base operations of

M & B. No sandpits in the two counties are reflected on plain-

tiffs’ exhibit 1. Since early 1984 at least, M & B has had its

account for over 90 percent of our work.” (emphasis added) (referring

to the entire relevant period). Defendants’ credit officer Uhl testified,

without contradiction, that M & B won bids on ODOT work in only

three counties Over twenty-plus years prior to trial. The amended com-

plaint asserted that M & B “engaged in business as a general paving

contractor principally in Seneca, Sandusky, and contiguous counties.”

ee

Al2

own supply of stone and sand, and it sells sand and limestone

to other contractors. There is simply no proof whatever that

defendants control or have any monopoly power over the

supply of stone and sand in the area in which M & B operated

from 1980 to the date of trial.®

The district court, in its jury instructions, presented M &

B’s alternative contention as to a relevant geographic submar-

ket to be Seneca, Sandusky, Ottowa, Wood, Hancock, and

Wyandot Counties, apparently those six counties in which

it had submitted bids. There was insufficient evidence in the

record to establish defendants’ monopoly or attempted

monopoly status in such a submarket, or that M & B was

a real and active competitor in this submarket or in a two-

county submarket during the relevant period. Two examples:

(1) defendants had no quarry or sand facility in Seneca, San-

dusky, Hancock, and Wyandot Counties in the southeast por-

tion of the thirteen-county alleged relevant market or

submarket areas; France and other independents had eleven

quarries in these four counties; (2) plaintiffs and others oper-

ated six asphalt plants and defendants operated two in these

four counties.

M & B claims that it was competing in a relatively free

and open competitive market in its two-county area from

1966 to 1970. In those five years it earned, without control

of any quarry or stone source, an average of less than $16,000

a year. During the years 1980 through 1986, for which it seeks

damages for alleged anticompetitive conduct, it earned an

average of over $16,000 in actual profits a year. Five of the

°M & B’s Chesebro testified also that M & B bought very little stone

from defendants’ quarry at Portage, and only on occasion. M & B

bought or obtained few materials from defendants and cannot fairly

be characterized as anything but a minor and infrequent customer.

Defendants’ alleged high stone prices, bringing about an alleged profit

squeeze, would therefore seem clearly not to bear on M & B’s situation

directly, if at all.

Al3

six years after 1979 were profitable, and there was an increase

in profit each year from 1982 through 1985. The loss year,

1981, when revenues were abnormally low, was due, in part,

to the bankruptcy of a large contractor customer. In 1981,

plaintiffs’ exhibit 152AA reflects that M & B claimed dam-

ages of over $124,000 in 1981 because it suffered a loss

instead of realizing the same 2.7 percent of pretax profit it

realized on much lower revenues in the 1966-70 period. This

loss is not explained in any fashion by M & B, and it defies

reason and logic to assume that its entire 1981 loss, almost

$77,000, plus another claimed amount of $47,000, was attrib-

utable somehow to defendants’ low bidding practices in the

southeast part of the thirteen-county area claimed by plain-

uffs to be the relevant market.

The proof in this case demonstrates, moreover, that on sev-

eral state asphalt paving jobs since 1980 in which M & B

was the only bidder, it claims to have lost money. Chesebro

also admitted that his company “always lost money on state

work.” It would seem illogical and unreasonable, then, to

blame defendants for continuing losses on state turnpike

work after 1980 under these circumstances, particularly in

light of the fact that M & B has had, since 1984, its own source

of stone and sand entirely independent of defendants’ sources

which are located outside of the area in which M & B does

from 90 percent to 95 percent of its work and has its base

of operations. ;

It does not carry the day on the issue of proving a relevant

market within the thirteen-county area of northwest Ohio for

M & B to argue that it is a “potential” competitor in the

majority of the thirteen counties in which it has not operated

at all for some thirty years of its existence at the time of the

trial. M & B, as pointed out, has done work and has been

an actual competitor with defendants, both before and after

1980, in basically only two counties. Contrary to M & B’s

assertions, we believe City of Cleveland v. Cleveland Electric

Illuminating Company, 734 F.2d 1157, 1166-67 (6th Cir.),

renee een

Al4

cert. denied, 469 U.S. 884 (1984), is of no comfort to M &

B’s contention about the proper relevant market in this case.

The market selected must “both ‘correspond to the

commercial realities’ of the industry and be economically

significant.” Id. at 1167 (quoting from Brown Shoe Co. v.

United States, 370 U.S. 294, 336-37 (1962)) (emphasis

added). The “commercial realities” here indicate strongly

that M & B is neither an actual nor potential competitor in

defendants’ area of service and operation in and beyond the

thirteen counties of northwest Ohio. Like the plaintiff in City

of Cleveland, M & B presented no evidence that it planned

to compete for business outside of Seneca and Sandusky

Counties and areas immediately adjacent thereto.

The evidence is also undisputed that during the period

from 1980 on there came about increased competition in the

immediate area of concern to M & B in the form of addi-

tional, substantial competitors in the marketplace for asphalt

paving. M & B had little actual competition with Price Con-

struction Co. when its assets were acquired in 1969 by

defendants.’ The elimination of Price and defendants’ acqui-

sition of Ohio Engineering Co. were more than offset by the

emergence of Miller and Gerken as serious competitors in

the area. Eric Blacktop, another asphalt paving contractor,

concededly also came into the M & B “bailiwick”—Seneca

and Sandusky Counties—after 1980 from time to time to bid

on projects in which M & B was interested. After 1980, in

jobs in which M & B and defendants bid, M & B was the

successful bidder in four of six projects.

It is not controverted but that M & B’s bids on a number

of jobs during the relevant period exceeded the State Engi-

neer’s estimate for these jobs. It is also not controverted that

M & B’s proportion of success on bids submitted on ODOT

Price did not sell its sand business to defendants; instead, defen-

dants agreed to continue buying sand from Price (and others).

Ald

and OTC work in its area of operations did not decrease after

1980 in comparison to earlier periods. There is also no sub-

stantial evidence that the number of bidders decreased from

1979 through the time of trial. This would clearly indicate

that M & 6 was not foreclosed, nor were others, from bidding

on the asphalt work which is the subject matter of this contro-

versy. It may also indicate that M & B’s costs, even after

acquiring its Own quarry source, are higher than other com-

petitive bidders in the marketplace. This evidence (and other

proof in the record) indicates a failure to prove dangerous

probability of success of monopolization by defendants in

the area in which M & B operated or that competitors were

driven from the market even after acquisitions were made

by defendants. It does reflect that the real basis of complaint

by M & B was the low bids submitted by defendants which

plaintiffs characterize as predatory bidding or pricing. It

should also be noted that this practice of low and successful

bidding by defendants has extended over twenty years in

northwest Ohio—some indication that it is not a short-range

procedure designed to raise prices later, as indicated by plain-

uffs’ experts.

With respect to M & B’s claims, we deem it appropriate

to note the recent comments of another court which dealt

with § 2 antitrust claims:

The “dangerous probability” element of the

attempted monopolization offense reflects the well-

established notion that section 2 of the Sherman Act

governs single-firm conduct only when it threatens

actual monopolization. Copperweld Corp. v. Inde-

pendence Tube Corp., 467 U.S. 752, 767, 104 S. Ct.

2731, 2739, 81 L.Ed.2d 628 (1984). The Sherman

Act protects competition, not competitors, and does

not reach conduct that is only unfair, impolite, or

unethical. United States v. American Airlines, Inc.,

743 F.2d 1114, 1119 (Sth Cir. 1984), cert. dismissed,

474 U.S. 1001, 106 S. Ct. 420, 88 L.Ed.2d 370

Al6

(1985). As we recently emphasized in Ball Memorial

Hospital, Inc. v. Mutual Hospital Insurance, Inc. , 184

F.2d 1325 (7th Cir. 1986),

“[c]ompetition is a ruthless process. A firm that

reduces costs and expands sales injures rivals—

sometimes fatally. The firm that slashes costs the

most captures the greatest sales and inflicts the great-

est injury. The deeper the injury to rivals, the greater

the potential benefit. These injuries to rivals are by-

products of vigorous competition, and the antitrust

laws are not balm for rivals’ wounds.”

Id. at 1338.

This is not to say that injury to rival firms cannot

ever lead to injury to consumers and that section

2 of the Sherman Act cannot be used to prevent such

injury. But section 2

“must be used with the greatest caution. Action that

injures rivals may ultimately injure consumers, but

it is also perfectly consistent with competition, and

to deter aggressive conduct is to deter competition.

Thus, the plaintiff faces a stiff burden in any section

2 litigation. ‘It is not enough that a single firm

appears to restrain trade unreasonably, for even a

vigorous competitor may leave that impression. For

instance, an efficient firm may capture unsatisfied

customers from an inefficient rival, whose own abil-

ity to compete may suffer as a result. This is the rule

of the marketplace and is precisely the sort of com-

petition that promotes the consumer interests that

the Sherman Act aims to foster. In part because it

is sometimes difficult to distinguish robust competi-

tion from conduct with long-run anticompetitive

effects, Congress authorized Sherman Act scrutiny

of single firms only when they pose a danger of

monopolization. Judging unilateral conduct in this

Al7

manner reduces the risk that the antitrust laws will

dampen the competitive zeal of a single aggressive

entrepreneur.’ ”

Id. (quoting Copperweld Corp. v. Independence Tube

Cob. 467 U.S. 752, 767-68, 104 S. Ct. 2731, 2739-

40, 81 L.Ed.2d 628 (1984)).

Indiana Grocery, Inc. v. Super Valu Stores, Inc., 864 F.2d

1409, 1413-14 (7th Cir. 1989) (footnotes omitted).

In summation, then, we conclude that M & B failed to

prove that it was realistically an economically significant

competitor or potential competitor in the thirteen-county

area Claimed to be a relevant market; nor did it establish any

claimed submarket in which defendants were shown to be

actual or potential monopolists. There was also a failure of

proof as to unfair competition or attempted monopoly by

defendants in the principal area of operation of M & B. The

undisputed material facts do not show that defendants have

had a dangerous likelihood of success in the elimination of

competition in M & B’s area of operations since 1980. On

the contrary, M & B has acquired control of a quarry site

and has enjoyed increasing profits over the last four years

for which proof was available through 1986. M & B did not

show that it ever depended upon defendants as a significant

source of sand or asphalt stone or other asphalt components,

or that defendants discriminated against it in pricing prod-

ucts or in not affording it competitive discounts. Defendants,

indeed, had no quarry or sand source in the primary area

of M & B’s operations—Seneca or Sandusky County. M &

B cannot reasonably claim the benefit of the testimony of

plaintiffs’ experts that defendants’ alleged “excessive profits

on the stone level” worked a price squeeze on M & B. The

primary evidence submitted by M & B, on the other hand,

was the same type of predatory pricing evidence which was

relied upon by Langenderfer in its original trial against defen-

dants and found by this court to be insufficient in

A18

Langenderfer I, 729 F.2d 1050 (1984), to establish a cause

of action as a matter of law under § 2 of the Sherman Act.

M & B’s attorney, in his closing statement to the jury, asked

for “$339,000 in damages for profits lost.” The jury awarded

M & B $350,000 in damages.

Under these circumstances, we must REVERSE the award

pursuant to the jury verdict rendered to M & B. It follows

that the award of attorneys fees and costs, based upon the

judgment for M & B as a prevailing party, must also be

reversed and set aside. M & B, of course, is therefore entitled

to no injunctive or equitable relief.

IV. SADER CLAIM

The jury found in favor of Sader but answered specific

interrogatories to the effect that there was no relevant market

proved as to this plaintiff consisting of limestone, sand, or

asphalt used in ODOT and OTC asphalt paving contracts

as in the case of the other plaintiffs. The jury also answered

interrogatories indicating that there was no relevant market

proved as to Sader consisting of either ODOT or OTC asphalt

paving contracts. The jury responded, however, that there

was “a relevant geographic market or submarket for Sader,”

and determined that market to be the thirteen counties

located in northwest Ohio. The jury found that acquisitions

made by defendants were “all made to exclude &/or injure

competition and increase Johnson’s power,” and that anti-

competitive conduct caused injury to Sader in the amount

of $250,000. In his final closing argument, Sader’s attorney

asked the jury for damages in the amount of $224,500.

Defendants argue on appeal that “Sader is neither a con-

Sumer nor a competitor in the relevant markets alleged.”

Defendants’ Brief at 45. Gregory M. Sader, principal owner

and officer of Sader since 1962, testified that he operates a

small paving and excavating business (9 employees) head-

quartered in Bowling Green, Wood County, Ohio, located

Al9

in the north central part of the thirteen-county area in contro-

versy. Sader is not ODOT “qualified,” and cannot bid on

ODOT or OTC asphalt paving contracts, although Sader does

subcontracting on ODOT work. Defendants further argue

that Sader failed to prove monopoly or attempted monopoly

in “the markets in which Sader competes.”

The brief filed on Sader’s behalf responds that the issue

in the case was whether “defendants’ refusal to deal with

Sader was for ‘valid business reasons’ or whether it was

unreasonable anticompetitive conduct as Sader contended.”

Sader argues that this was properly a jury issue. Sader con-

cedes it owned no quarry nor any asphalt plant, but asserts

it depended on defendants for “stone, sand and asphalt at

Bowling Green.” Contending that it is irrelevant that it did

not compete in the ODOT/OTC markeis against defendants,

Sader suggests that it was a “potential ODOT, OTC competi-

tor that was foreclosed.”

A number of factors with respect to Sader, as in the case

of plaintiff M & B, would weigh strongly against any sugges-

tion that Sader was, in reality, a potential competitor in the

ODOT/OTC market. At the time Sader filed the complaint

against defendants, it had been in business in the Bowling

Green area for more than twenty years; by the time of trial,

more than twenty-five years. It had never seriously sought

to compete in the ODOT/OTC market which was the basis

of the original monopolization complaint in this case. Sader,

moreover, never indicated that it intended to compete with

defendants beyond nearby Wood County, and the district

court instructed the jury that Sader claimed a relevant sub-

market of Bowling Green, Wood County, and southern Lucas

County.® Sader testified that his operation grew during the

®Sader stated that in recent years 90 percent of his work was in Wood

County and areas of nearby Lucas County. In earlier years he did work

within and without the wider thirteen-county area, but again mostly

in Wood County.

A20

1960s despite defendant Johnson’s acquisition of Wood

County Stone Company, his principal quarry source, in 1961.

(An independent operation, Urbana, had maintained a hot

mix plant at this site from which Sader acquired asphalt

“product” at the time.)® Stone was still made available to

Sader at this nearby Portage quarry by defendants, but with-

out the volume discount previously granted by Wood from

and before 1960. (For a further discussion of Portage quarry

cosis and prices, see Part V, infra.) Sader testified that the

“biggest majority” of his work was aiways in Wood and adja-

cent Lucas County (Toledo) with “emphasis” in Bowling

Green. In the 1960s, defendants’ OAMCO facility at Portage

and their Maumee Stone site became Sader’s chief suppliers,

but not of sand. Like many other asphalt pavers, Sader

trucked sand in from outside the thirteen-county area. Plain-

tiff MacRitchie Materials had a quarry at West Millgrove

some 15 to 20 miles away from construction sites in and

around Bowling Green. (Plaintiff also had a batch plant 15

miles away from Bowling Green at Waterville, and France

had a quarry there and another about the same distance at

Custor, the latter variously estimated at 15 to 17 miles from

Bowling Green.)’°

Sader testified that during the 1960s and 1970s, defendants

began to exert pressures on him in bidding “in his area.”

Sader also trucked sand for the Creager Company, which was

in financial difficulty when acquired by defendants in 1971.

We attribute little significance to the Creager acquisition”

*Urbana moved this plant away at the expiration of its lease. Sader

testified that its superintendent later was employed by defendanis.

Wood’s plant and equipment were taken over by Portage in 1964 or

1965.

°In cross-examining defendants’ expert, Dr. Myslinski, Sader’s

counsel referred to Pugh and West Millgrove quarries as being 12 to

15 miles away from Bowling Green.

‘ta pparently, defendants continued to operate Creager after acquisi-

tion as a non-union facility in contrast to its other facilities. Sader com-

plained this gave an advantage to defendants, but this has nothing to

do with anticompetitive conduct.

A2l

insofar as it relates to Sader, who summarized his complaint

about defendants generally by observing, “Johnson just

blocked us basically from growing on a normal, healthy busi-

ness way” during the late sixties and seventies. He also testi-

fied, moreover, that the plaintiff experienced difficulty in

scheduling delivery of materials from defendants. In !977,

Sader complained personally to Kirkby about scheduling

problems: “Ted said he would look into it, and see if he could

not get it straightened out” but the problem allegedly

continued.'? Sader also encountered difficulties in scheduling

rental trucks at times.

Sader complained about defendants’ hot asphalt prices and

the fact that, as with stone, they would not give him discounts

on this product. Sader also said that plans he had with others

in his same situation to set up an asphalt plant were discour-

aged by a threat that defendants “would not be able to supply

our stone needs.” Sader said he “pursued the plan” but never

carried it out. (Each of the four or five quarries located in

or very near the boundaries of Wood County had an asphalt

plant operating at the quarry—this included the defendants’

quarry at Portage.) Sader said that the planned source of

stone was defendants’ quarry at Maumee in Lucas County,

more distant from Bowling Green than at least four other

quarries which Sader characterized as not. being

“economically” located for his purposes.’? He added that

defendants’ representatives in 1977 and 1978 were pressing

for more asphalt business from him. He also claimed that

defendants refused in 1977 or 1978 to allow him “to set up

{a pugmiill for a Perrysburg job] on the Lime City quarry site.”

Instead, he set it up at a nearby France quarry and he bought

25,000 tons of stone from France instead of defendants.

2Sader admitted that most other “smaller pavers that worked the

area was [sic] having the same problems wiih scheduling.” Sader was

thus not singled out or treated discriminatorily in that regard.

‘3Sader conceded that he bought “very little” stone from Maumee.

A22

There is no doubt, however, that Sader’s primary com-

plaint, and the only one which we are persuaded has arguable

merit, is its claim that it was cut off from buying materials

because of cooperation with plaintiffs in pursuit of their

claims at the first trial, Sader avers that at or about the time

he agreed to give a deposition in that proceeding in 1979,

defendants’ credit representative called on him and told him

he expected a check on Sader’s account, and Sader agreed

to pay it within a month. Sader asserts that he paid the bill

of about $13,000, which he conceded was three months

overdue.** Sader attributes to his 1980 testimony for plain-

tiffs a much lower than expected Johnson bid on a Bowling

Green job which he subsequently lost. (He also claims that

Johnson improperly used information he gave to them on

this job to underbid him, Sader understanding at the time

that Johnson would not bid on this job.)

Later, in 1980, Johnson “made special credit

arrangements” for Sader, limiting his credit to $10,000

because Sader was persistently “slow pay.” It was during this

time that another dispute about credit arose between Sader

and defendants. Sader also had been severely restricted in

credit extended during 1982. Sader’s version of a major dis-

pute is that defendants furnished him defective asphalt for

a large private driveway Sader installed and that the customer

#4 monthly Uill on August 31, 1979 (Exhibit 9M) revealed that

Sader owed Maumee Stone Co. nearly $47,000, a considerable part

of which was at least 30 days old, and that in early September, Sader

paid some $11,000 on this bill; Sader satisfied this account the follow-

ing month, mid-October. Early in 1980, Sader’s account reflected over

$26,000 past due (up to 90 days) and he was warned, per telephone,

that the “account is in serious condition and because of the status credit

privileges have been removed.” (Exhibit BP.) In fact, credit limits of

$10,000 were later imposed. In 1982, credit privileges were again sus-

pended for delinquent accounts. In March of 1980, by notice, France

also advised Sader that its “account is seriously overdue,” and his

credit privileges were apparently withdrawn at a France quarry.

A23

balked at paying him for the job. Defendants denied that the

asphalt was defective and suggested testing the contested

product. Sader held up any payment on his total account

despite the fact that the driveway job in dispute involved only

approximately $4,000. A lawsuit in an Ohio state court devel-

oped over this controversy, and Sader finally paid the $4,000

pursuant to a court order. Indeed, defendants employed law-

yers in three different locations to handle commercial dis-

putes and collections with Sader since 1980.

There is abundant, uncontroverted evidence in written

communications from defendants to Sader that his accounts

were consistently overdue in the 1979 to 1983 period, and

that from time to time credit privileges during this period

were withdrawn by defendants. During the same period, evi-

dence reflecis that France also suspended credit privileges

for Sader in 1980 after numerous warnings; that American

Asphalt products in Sylvania, Ohio, turned the Sader account

over to attorneys for collection (again, after numerous warn-

ings concerning an account of $2,200 in 1983); that an insur-

ance agency was forced to threaten suit against Sader in early

1984 to collect an insurance account exceeding $15,000 more

than 120 days delinquent. Many other witnesses testified that

Sader was slow or delinquent in payment of its accounts dur-

ing the period, although their companies did not cut him off.

There is also clear evidence that defendants, during the rele-

vant period, placed other of its customers, whose credit or

financial condition was doubtful, on a cash basis for sale of

its products. In short, the record establishes that a number

of other persons with a contractual relationship with Sader

had serious problems with Sader’s failure to pay its accounts

and either threatened or litigated with Sader concerning a

past due balance, and that defendants cut off credit to others

in similar “slow pay” circumstances.

It appears clear in this case that the problems between

Sader and defendant in the relevant period arose out of com-

mercial and credit controversies and did not arise in an anti-

eS.

A24

trust context. That Sader may have been forced in some

instances by credit restrictions to obtain asphalt materials

from a source 15 to 17 miles further away than a defendant

source is not a sufficient basis for this § 2 Sherman Act claim.

in overruling defendants’ motion j.n.o.v. following the ver-

dict for Sader, the district court cited Byars v. Bluff City News

Co., Inc., 609 F.2d 843 (6th Cir. 1979), as authority. Byars

is pertinent only with respect to its discussion of refusal to

deal by a monopolist. Jd. at 854. It was uncontroverted in

that case that defendant Bluff City refused to deal on any

basis with Byars, a competitor in the concededly relevant

Memphis area market, in “primary life” magazines and peri-

odicals. Byars recognized the general rule—“there exists no

duty to deal, so long as the determination is made

unilaterally.” Jd. Furthermore, “[e]ven the use of unfair busi-

ness practices as part of the termination may not invoke sanc-

tion under the antitrust laws.” Jd. at 855. A monopolist,

however, may be held to different standards, /d. at 855, citing

Eastman Kodak Co. v. Southern Photo Materials Co., 273

U.S. 359 (1927), where Kodak provided no “independent

business reason for its refusal to deal” and “Kodak had

monopoly power over the national wholesale market.” In

Byars, we concluded that a refusal to deal practice should

be condemned only if it is “unreasonably anticompetitive.”

609 F.2d at 860. Even a “refusal to deal designed to accom-

plish vertical integration, without more, should not be a basis

for imposing liability” upon a purported monopolist. /d. at

861. We observed further that courts should examine busi-

ness reasons for a refusal to deal, and “must give them some

leeway in making business decisions.” Jd. at 862.

Sader’s brief not only cites Eastman Kodak Co., supra, and

Byars, but also Riverview Investments v. Ottawa Communily

Improvement Corp., 769 F.2d 324, 328 (6th Cir.) (“what mat-

ters is that freedom to compete is restrained”), revised, 774

F.2d 162 (6th Cir. 1985). We do not construe Riverview

Investments, a combination or security case, as pertinent to

a

A25

the refusal to deal aspect of this case. Kerasotes Michigan

Theatres v. National Amusements, Inc., 854 F.2d 135 (6th

Cir. 1988), also cited by Sader, was principally concerned

with “leveraging” or misuse of monopoly power in one mar-

ket to exclude a competitor from another market. We deem

Kerasotes to have minimal relevance to Sader’s claims.

United States v. Griffith, 334 U.S. 100 (1948), mentioned by

Sader in a footnote, is also, like Kerasotes, a theater and film

case concerned with defendants who pooled their powers to

exclude others from obtaining films for exhibition. None of

these authorities is helpful to Sader here.

We conclude from a careful examination of the record in

this case that there is insufficient evidence to sustain Sader’s

charge that defendants began to press him on payment of his

past due account only when he agreed to give a deposition

in this case in 1979 to Langenderfer.’® We conclude also that

there is insufficient evidence to support an antitrust claim

of tying defendants’ imposition of limits and restraints upon

Sader’s credit during 1980 through 1983 to his part in Lan-

genderfer’s suit. Essentially, it seems clear that defendants

and Sader were engaged in a series of commercial disputes

concerning his accounts, scheduling of pick-ups at defen-

dants’ facilities, and whether or not defendants were carrying

out alleged credit understandings with Sader. The claim of

refusal to deal is inextricably bound with the commercial and

contract disputes between the parties, and was not proven

to be a practice related to antitrust conduct.

15Sader, upon cross examination, stated that he did not believe that

his credit had been suspended in 1979 or 1980 when his deposition

was taken and the first trial took place. He added that he would not

have a problem if defendants “treated me like they treated everybody

else” in credit matters. He conceded, however, that he had credit prub-

lems with defendants as early as !978 and that this continued into

1983.

A26

There was, moreover, similar to the M & B situation

already considered, a failure by Sader to prove a relevant

market in which Sader established the necessary essentials,

including causation, under a §2 Sherman Act claim. The

physical location of alternative sources of stone and asphalt

and other asphalt components to Sader’s basic operations in

Wood County and immediately adjacent areas might alone

preclude any recovery of damages for antitrust injury in this

case by Sader. There was also evidence of a number of com-

petitors in the area. “The § 2 market definition looks to the

existence of competitors as evidence of countervailing power

which would preclude monopolization.” Columbia Metal

Culvert Co., Inc. v. Kaiser Aluminum, 579 F.2d 20, 27 n.1)

(3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 876 (1978). This plaintiff

has essentially relied upon contentions of predatory or unfair

low bidding by defendants on jobs in which he was interested,

a basis we determined in Langenderfer I to be insufficient

to support a damages claim for antitrust injury absent a show-

ing that defendants’ bids were below their total average costs.

There is insufficient proof in this record to show that defen-

dants had a monopoly position, attempted a monopoly and

had a dangerous probability of success in this regard, in the

limited non-OTC, non-ODOT market in which Sader was

involved. The vast weight of proof submitted by plaintiffs,

upon which their experts relied, bore upon defendants’ OTC

and ODOT market share in a thirteen-county area. Sader was

not a party who realistically competed in that market.

We are not satisfied from the proof adduced, after careful

examination of the record, even if we gssume the jury found

that defendants cut Sader off from supplies at Portage in 1983

when suit was filed, that Sader established that this action

was effected by an actual monopolist or one that threatened

a realistic danger in the area of Sader’s business activity in

a relevant market.’®

46Reing “cut off” meant essentially that sader was required to pay

cash rather than rely on credit for certain periods of time. Sader was

A27

The ultimate inquiry in any attempted monopoliza-

tion case remains whether the defendant has or rea-

sonably might come close to having the ability to

control total market output and prices.

Indiana Grocery, Inc. v. Super Valu Stores, Inc., 864 F.2d

1409, 1414 (7th Cir. 1989).

Defendants may be held liable to Sader only if proven to

have refused to deal with him for anticompetitive reasons

as a monopolist or attempted monopolist in some established

relevant market. Without objection by plaintiffs the district

court instructed the jury that plaintiffs claimed the existence

of three “appropriate relevant product markets”—stone,

sand, and asphalt —“used on ODOT and OTC paving

contracts” and “bidding on a performance of paving con-

tracts awarded to prime contractors by ODOT and OTC.”

None of these claimed relevant markets were proved with

respect to the defendants as to the limited geographic area

in which Sader was operating, and certainly not so with

respect to monopolization as to sand and stone. No reason-

able jury could find, on the evidence presented, that Sader

was “cut off ” at Portage or that defendants refused to sell

stone to Sader based on an attempted monopoly.

We observe similarities between this case and Trace X

Chemical v. Canadian Industries, 738 F.2d 261 (8th Cir.

1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1160 (1985). Plaintiff Trace X,

like Sader, claimed that defendant had misused monopoly

power to refuse to deal with it and had refused it credit.

On the basis of the evidence presented, CIL’s refusal

to extend credit did not amount to unreasonable

anti-competitive conduct, but rather constituted a

placed on a “permanent job basis” by defendants, after a number of

revocations and reinstatements of credit, in August 1983.

A28

valid exercise of business judgment. It is certainly

not conduct that is “possible or effective only if

taken by a firm that dominates its smaller rivals.”

Berkey Photo [{Co., Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 603

F.2d 263 (2d Cir. 1979)] at 275.

In support of its claim of anti-competitive con-

duct, Trace X argues that CIL threatened to discon-

tinue supplying it with TNT unless Trace X paid

for the $160,000 worth of TNT received but not

paid for by Trace X. However, terminating or

threatening to terminate deliveries to a purchaser

who refuses to provide full payment is not predatory

or unlawful anti-competitive conduct. Fairdale

Farms, Inc. v. Yankee Milk, Inc., 715 F.2d 30, 34

(2d Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1043, 104 S.

Ct. 711, 79 L.Ed.2d 174 (1984).

This case does not involve a refusal to deal. CIL

was willing to continue to supply Trace X with TNT;

it merely refused to deal with Trace X on other than

a cash basis. “Section 2 of the Sherman Act does

not give purchasers the exclusive right to dictate the

terms on which they will deal,” Fairdale Farms, 715

F.2d at 34, nor does it require a monopolist to

accede to every demand of its competitors or cus-

tomers. Glen Eden Hospital v. Blue Cross & Blue

Shield, 555 F.Supp. 337, 345 (E.D. Mich. 1983).

738 F.2d at 266-67 (footnote and citations omitted).

As did the defendant in Trace X, defendants here merely

insisted on current payment and exercised “business

judgment” and insisted on a “cash basis” method of doing

business. As did the Eighth Circuit in Trace X, we likewise

reverse the jury verdict rendered for Sader, and we note also

that some evidence of anticompetitive conduct was present

in Trace X.

A29

For all these reasons then, (1) failure of proof concerning

a relevant market and reasonably consequential damages; (2)

failure to show defendants’ monopoly position in asphalt,

stone or sand in the principal area of Sader’s operations dur-

ing the period in question; (3) because the essential character

of Sader’s charges was related to ordinary commercial dis-

putes rather than anticompetitive conduct; and (4) because

a principal basis of Sader’s proof of anticompetitive conduct

was On predatory bid pricing, we must REVERSE and set

aside the verdict for Sader. It again follows that the award

of attorney fees and costs, based upon services rendered to

Sader, must be reversed as well. Sader is entitled to no injunc-

tive relief.

V. MacRITCHIE MATERIALS, INC. CLAIM

The plaintiffs’ amended complaint sets out that MacRit-

chie has offices in West Millgrove where it operates a lime-

stone quarry “which supplies stone and sand to Langenderfer,

NOAP and other asphalt producers.’ Members of the

“MacRitchie family” are “principal shareholders” of Lan-

genderfer, NOAP, and MacRitchie. Plaintiffs’ exhibit 1

shows its quarry, and the adjacent asphalt plant operated by

Langenderfer or NOAP. MacRitchie’s claim was not consid-

ered in the first trial pursued by Langenderfer and NOAP.

Defendants never bought stone or sand from MacRitchie,

which claims injury and loss by reason of defendants’ claimed

monopolistic practices, which caused it to lose business and

sales to related plaintiffs and others.

Defendants assert that they do not possess monopoly

power in limestone as a matter of law because of their market

share of stone in the thirteen-county market. They also

respond to MacRitchie’s claim by contending that it is a

claim of “indirect and remote” injury not caused by its con-

duct, even if that conduct were deemed to be anticompetitive.

Finally, defendants assert that MacRitchie’s claim is specula-

tive and “unsupported by the testimony.”

ae

A30

We note at the outset that the MacRitchie quarry is situ-

ated nearer, or as near, to southeastern Wood County, to Sen-

eca County, to Wyandot County, to eastern Hancock County,

and to southern Sandusky County, than any of defendants’

quarries. The entire southeast quarter of the thirteen-county

area is better served by MacRitchie’s quarry, or by indepen-

dent stone producers including France, the largest limestone

operation in the entire relevant market claimed by plaintiffs,

than by defendants’ quarries. Defendants’ nearest operating

quarry, at Portage, also in Wood County, was located about

ten miles northwest of MacRitchie’s West Miligrove quarry.

From 1971 through 1975, Portage had the highest compara-

tive quarry costs of all of defendants’ quarries, and only

defendants’ Rocky Ridge quarry exceeded its costs in 1976.

Portage’s average cost of stone was the highest of defendants’

quarries analyzed by plaintiffs from 1982 to 1985.’” Consis-

tently throughout the 1981 to 1985 period, Portage and

Rocky Ridge, defendants’ nearest quarries to MacRitchie’s,

had the lowest gross margins of profit of defendants’ quarries

analyzed by plaintiffs, measured by the difference between

average price and cost per ton. Defendants suffered by far

their lowest operating income (measured by percent of pre-

tax income from their quarry operations) from 1980 through

1982. Defendants’ after-tax return on net worth based on

stone operations was considerably reduced from 1980

through 1983, but returned to more normal levels in 1984

and 1985. MacRitchie, then, had every opportunity to be

competitive with defendants in its quarry and limestone

operations.

It is evident from the analysis of this data that defendants’

quarry at Portage, the one which serves as the nearest compet-

itor to MacRitchie’s quarry, has relatively high costs of pro-

17Rocky Ridge quarry, owned by defendants, slightly exceeded Por-

tage’s costs in 1983. Portage reflected no cost data in 1984, and its

costs exceeded its average sales price in 1982.

A31

duction and is less profitable than other quarries operated

by defendants. It is also evident that MacRitchie’s geographic

location is superior to that of any of defendants’ quarries in

much of the southeast quadrant of the relevant market area.

There are a number of highway asphalt pavement competi-

tors located within twenty or twenty-five miles of MacRit-

chie’s quarry.

An examination of limestone production of defendants and

others within the thirteen-county relevant market area,

including MacRitchie, from 1979 to 1986 was made by plain-

tiffs (exhibit 21A) and indicates as follows (in millions of

tons):

DEFENDANTS 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 TOTAL

Defendants 2.116 2.310 1.592 1.384 982 1.136 1.159 10.679

France 3.515 2.849 2.164 1.502 2.513 2.334 2.602 17.479

Nat'l Lime 1.033 857 .734- .739 719 =.899 1.076 6.057

Basic 349 =©.305—Ss «1S6~—— «187 .063 - - 1.030

MacRitchie ist as 0. <00 189 =.126 =60.172—Ss: 1.090

Others 2.222 1.702 1.301 .836 1.647 1.094 1.205 9.007

13 County

Total: 9.422 8.255 6.050 4.729 5.083 5.589 6.224 45.342

Mich. Stone S15 .566 293 277 448 582 362 3.345

TOTAL: 10.237 8.821 6.345 5.006 5.531 6.171 6.576 48.687

Plaintiffs’ exhibit 21A.

Michigan Stone is located outside the thirteen-county area

in Michigan. Plaintiffs assert that because much of its produc-

tion goes into the thirteen-county relevant market area, it

should be considered as defendants’ facility within the area.

The percentage of road material furnished to the total market

by defendants, by France, and by others (including MacRit-

chie) is reflected below. The figures in parentheses are arrived

ie terieteeniinnatia

A32

at by computing Michigan Stone’s production into defen-

dants’ (and the market’s) total:

YEAR: DEFENDANTS: FRANCE: OTHERS*:

1979 22.5% (28.6%) 37.3% (34.3%) 40.2%

1980 =. 28.0% (32.6%) 34.5% (32.3%) 37.5%

1981 26.3% (29.7%) 35.8% (34.1%) 37.9%

1982 29.3% (33.2%) 31.8% (30.0%) 39.0%

1983 19.3% (25.9%) 49.4% (45.4%) 31.2%

1984 20.3% (27.8%) 41.8% (37.8%) 37.9%

1985 18.7% (23.1%) 41.9% (39.6%) 39.5%

Avg.

7 yrs. 23.6% (28.8%) 38.5% (35.9%) 38.0%

*Because all percentage figures have been rounded off to the

nearest tenth, the figures across each row may not equal

exactly 100 percent.

We doubt that it is proper for statistical purposes to include

Michigan Stone’s production/sales to the thirteen-county

area, as is contended by plaintiffs. The more appropriate data

would be the production of defendants’ quarries in northwest

Ohio, not including the Michigan facility. Including Michi-

gan Stone’s production, but excluding any other producers

outside the thirteen-county area, skews the statistics in plain-

tiffs’ favor.

The data reflects that after acquisition of all its quarries

in the thirteen-county area, the last of which occurred in

1970, defendants from 1979 to 1985 (the period in which

MacRitchie is involved as a plaintiff) controlled, on the aver-

age, 23.6 percent of the road material limestone in the rele-

vant market alleged by plaintiffs. From 1983 through 1985,

defendants controlled less than 20 percent. France, the largest

A33

factor in the road material limestone market, controlled, on

the average, nearly 36 percent of the market between 1979

and 1985. In the last three years of that period, France con-

trolled, on the average, 44.4 percent of the market. Even if

we include the production of Michigan Stone with the defen-

dants’ Ohio quarries for purposes of calculating defendants’

market share, we find that defendants averaged less than 29

percent of the applicable highway limestone during the 1979-

1985 period while France averaged about 36 percent. It may

be readily observed that during the latter part of the seven

year period, reflected in the table, defendants’ share of the

total limestone market decreased, particularly in comparison

to France’s share.

The limestone market share of defendants was, at most,

around thirty percent and decreasing. Plaintiffs have cited

no authority indicating that this meets Sherman Act § 2

requirements. There is no substantial evidence that defen-

dants were capable of, much less achieved, the destruction

of competition in limestone in any relevant market.

To prove its claim of attempted monopolization,

[plaintiff] has to prove that [defendant] had engaged

in anticompetitive conduct with the specific intent

to monopolize and that the attempt had a dangerous

probability of success. United States v. Dairymen,

Inc., 660 F.2d 192, 194 (6th Cir. 1981).

Anticompetitive conduct is conduct designed to

destroy competition, not just to eliminate a competi-

tor. Lively legal competition wil! result in the efh-

cient and shrewd businessman routing the

inefficient and imprudent from the field. The anti-

trust laws must be administered in such a way that

they do not restrain such vigorous competition in

order io protect inefficient competitors. As Judge

Learned Hand has pointed out, “The successful

competitor, having been urged to compete, must not

A34

be turned upon when he wins.” United States v. Alu-

minum Company of America, 148 F.2d 416, 430 (2d

Cir. 1945). Merely to attempt to succeed in business

is not anticompetitive conduct.

Richter Concrete Corp. v. Hilltop Concrete Corp., 691 F.2d

818, 823 (6th Cir. 1982).

In Richter, we considered market share and “dangerous

probability of success” in attempted monopolization, observ-

ing:

The third element of attempted monopolization

is a dangerous probability of success. The greater

a firm’s market power the greater the probability of

successful monopolization. In order to be found lia-

ble for attempted monopolization, a firm must pos-

sess market strength that approaches monopoly

power—the ability to control prices and exclude com-

petition.

Market strength is often indicated by market

share. During the relevant period, [defendant]’s

market share declined from approximately 40% to

approximately 30%. Given the facts of the case, such

a share is not sufficient to establish [defendant]’s

capacity to monopolize. See United States v. Empire

Gas Corp, 537 F.2d 296 (8th Cir. 1976), cert. denied,

429 U.S. 1122, 97 S. Ct. 1158, 51 L.Ed.2d 572

(1977) (SO% market share does not establish danger-

ous probability of success); Lektro-Vend Corp. v.

Vendo Co., 660 F.2d 255 (7th Cir. 1981), cert.

denied, 455 U.S. 921, 102 S. Ct. 1277, 71 L.Ed.2d

461 (1982) (30% market share is not enough). The

fact that [defendant]’s share of the market was

declining also belies whatever inference of capacity

to monopolize that may be drawn from the size of

its market share. Forro Precision, Inc. v. Interna-

tional Business Machines Corp., 673 F.2d 1045,

|

A35

1058 (9th Cir. 1982); Lektro-Vend Corp. v. Vendo

Co., 660 F.2d 255, 271 (7th Cir. 1981), cert. denied,

455 U.S. 921, 102 S. Ct. 1277, 71 L.Ed.2d 461

(1982); Nifty Foods Corp. v Great Atlantic & Pacific

Tea Co., 614 F.2d 832, 841 (2d Cir. 1980).

691 F.2d at 826 (emphasis added).

“Dangerous probability of success” is but one of the ele-

ments of a Sherman Act §2 claim that must be proved by

MacRitchie in order to succeed:

The offense of attempt to monopolize (Sherman

Act § 2) is composed of the following elements:

|. Specific intent to monopolize;

tv

. Anti-competitive conduct;

3. A dangerous probability of success.

Lorain Journal Co. v. United States, 342 U.S. 143,

153, 72S. Ct. 181, 186, 96 L.Ed. 162 (1951). Accord,

Richter Concrete Corp. v. Hilltop Concrete Corp.,

supra, 691 F.2d at 823; United States v. Dairymen,

Inc., supra, 660 F.2d at 194; Northeastern Telephone

Co. v. American Tel. & Tel., 651 F.2d 76, 85 (2d Cir.

1981). Monopolization is the market power to con-

trol prices or exclude competition. United States vy.

Griffith, 334 U.S. 100, 107, 68 S. Ct. 941, 945, 92

L.Ed. 1236 (1948). Specific intent to monopolize

may be inferred from evidence of anticompetitive

conduct, Lorain Journal, supra, but not from legiti-

mate business practices aimed only at succeeding

in competition. Times-Picayune Publishing Co. vy.

United States, 345 U.S. 594, 626, 73 S. Ct. 872, 889,

97 L.Ed. 1277 (1953).

White & White, Inc. v. American Hosp. Supply Corp., 723

F.2d 495, 506-07 (6th Cir. 1983).

A36

We reversed as “untenable” the district court’s holding in

White & White that a 25 percent market share’® coupled with

a finding of “leverage” and “link” practices satisfied the

“dangerous probability of success” requirement. /d. at 508

(citing Richter Concrete, supra, and Lektro-Vend Corp. v.

Vendo Co., 660 F.2d 255 (7th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455

U.S. 921 (1982)).

Other courts have reached the same result as in Richter

and White & White in situations where a defendant charged

with a Sherman Act violation had market shares larger than

defendants have in this case (with respect to limesione). In

United States v. Empire Gas Corp., 537 F.2d 296 (8th Cir.

1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1122 (1977), a 47 percent-50

percent share in LP gas in a relevant market was held to be

insufficient. In Lektro-Vend, a 30 percent or more market

share was found insufficient as a matter of law. In Nifty Foods

Corp. v. Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co., 614 F.2d 832 (2d

Cir. 1980), a market share range of from 54.5 percent to 33

percent was determined to be insufficient. Similarly, in

Levitch v. Columbia Broadcasting System, 495 F. Supp. 649

(S.D.N.Y. 1980), a 33 percent maximum market share was

held insufficient. Judgment for the defendant, which had a

34-38 percent market share, charged with anticompetitive

conduct and antitrust violations, was affirmed because there

was no dangerous probability of success of monopolization

in Shoppin’ Bag of Pueblo v. Dillon Companies, 783 F.2d 159

(10th Cir. 1986). Even when plaintiff asserted that an alleged

§ 2 antitrust violator possessed a 65 percent market share,

the court in Hunt-Wesson Foods v. Ragu Foods, Inc., 627 F.2d

919, 926 (9th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 921 (1981),

found only that “this may provide a basis for inferring that

1®Defendants in White & White were found to have a market share

in various markets of as much as 45 percent and over 30 percent in

others.

A37

Ragu possessed monopoly power. . . [and] sufficient to with-

stand a motion to dismiss.”

We adhere to the views of Areeda & Hovenkamp, Antitrust

Law, § 519.3 (1989 Supp.) that it would be rare indeed to

find that a firm with only 25 percent or 50 percent of the

market couid control price over any significant period. “The

monopolization offense is concerned with single firm conduct

maintaining or expanding the economic power of a firm that

is already a monopolist.” Jd.

There was no allegation by plaintiffs, no contention made,

that defendants conspired with France with respect to

monopolizing or attempting to monopolize the limestone

market. Nor could there have been, since the evidence was

that these entities were in direct competition, and the record

showed that France was acquiring a greater market share dur-

ing the later years despite defendants’ acquisitions of quarries

in the 1960s.

Plaintifls introduced evidence at trial that combined the

market shares of defendants and France, ostensibly in order

to demonstrate market structure. Plaintiffs cite no authority

in support of their theory and contention that they may com-

bine the larger independent competitor France’s limestone

market share with defendants’ share in order to establish the

dangerous probability of success requirement. The fact that

the prices and discount practices of these two substantial

competitors may be similar is not evidence that they acted

in conspiracy or concert to exclude competition, to control

prices, or to commit unlawful anticompetitive practices. The

testimony of plaintiffs’ experts about anticompetitive con-

duct of defendants was mistakenly based upon their assump-

tion that the shares of France and defendants should be taken

as combined.

MacRitchie is faced with a perplexing dilemma in that its

claim is somewhat at odds with the claims of its fellow plain-

tiffs. While the other plaintiffs complained of Johnson’s low

A38

bids on paving jobs, they also complained that Johnson

charged them supracompetitive prices for component materi-

als. If this were the case, it would seem to accrue to MacRit-

chie’s advantage as a limestone supplier, rather than to its

detriment. Furthermore, as noted, evidence regarding the

limestone market fails to demonstrate that Johnson possessed

power over prices. Defendant quarries, for instance, granted

prompt pay discounts, as did France, but plaintiffs’ quarries,

a profit resource, did not. MacRitchie bought nothing from

defendants and apparently matched the limestone prices at

Portage, except as to discount policies which differed. As to

the number of limestone quarries for road and highway oper-

ators in the relevant area, Burton MacRitchie conceded in

his testimony that there were twenty or more quarries and

half that many competitors furnishing limestone for roads

and highways in the relevant market area, including France

and Martin Marietta Corporation.’? According to Burton

MacRitchie (principal officer of MacRitchie), “Portage and

Our quarry are quite similar in price.”

As pointed out in J/ndiana Grocery, Inc. v. Super Valu

Stores, 864 F.2d 1409, 1413 (7th Cir. 1989), § 2 is directed

to single firm conduct, whereas § 1 deals with concerted

action and proscribes unreasonable restraints through combi-

nations or conspiracies. See Copperweld Corp. vy. Indepen-

dence Tube Corp., 467 U.S. 752 (1984), for a discussion of

the basic distinction between the two:

The conduct of a single firm is governed by § 2 alone

and is unlawful only when it threatens actual

Martin Marietta was described in an antitrust suit by a sand and

gravel operator which dealt in coarse gravel or stone used in construc-

tion of roads as “a large, diversified company with holdings in various

fields including the production of sand and gravel (aggregates). It has

aggregates holdings in fifteen states. . . .” Chillicothe Sand & Gravel

v. Martin Marietta Corp., 615 F.2d 427, 428 (7th Cir. 1980). France

is owned by Koppers Corp., a large conglomerate.

A39

monopolization. It is not enough that a single firm

appears to “restrain trade” unreasonably, for even

a vigorous competitor may leave that impression.

For instance, an efficient firm may capture unsatis-

fied customers from an inefficient rival, whose own

ability to compete may suffer as a result. This is the

rule of the marketplace and is precisely the sort of

competition that promotes the consumer interests

that the Sherman Act aims to foster. In part because

it is sometimes difficult to distinguish robust compe-

tition from conduct with long-run anticompetitive

effects, Congress authorized Sherman Act scrutiny

of single firms only when they pose a danger of

monopolization. Judging unilateral conduct in this

manner reduces the risk that the antitrust laws will

dampen the competitive zeal of a single aggressive

entrepreneur.

Id. at 767-68 (footnotes omitted). “Concerted activity subject

to § 1 is judged more sternly than unilateral activity under

§ 2.” Id. at 758.

The officers of a single firm are not separate eco-

nomic actors pursuing separate economic interests,

sO agreements among them do not suddenly bring

together economic power that was previously pursu-

ing divergent goals. Coordination within a firm is

as likely to result from an effort to compete as from

an effort to stifle competition. In the marketplace,

such coordination may be necessary if a business

enterprise is to compete effectively.

Id. at 769. Nor can activities of and between defendant enti-

ties be deemed anything but unilateral conduct, not concerted

conduct for purposes of the Sherman Act analysis.

It is not necessary for us to rule on whether MacRitchie’s

claim for indirect damages gives it standing within the allow-

able parameters of Southaven Land Co. v. Malone & Hyde,

A40

Inc., 715 F.2d 1079 (6th Cir. 1983), or J/linvis Brick Co. v.

Illinois, 431 U.S. 720 (1977). It is sufficient for us to note

that it is doubtful that MacRitchie has such standing. We

note further that during the relevant period, MacRitchie’s

market share in limestone increased rather than decreased

in comparison to that of the defendants. We conclude that

MacRitchie has failed to prove that defendants’ limestone

production share of the relevant market is sufficient, as a mat-

ter of law, to constitute a dangerous probability of monopoli-

zation. See United States v. Syufy Enterprises, 903 F.2d 659

(9th Cir. 1990).

In summary, we conclude that MacRitchie has failed to

establish his claim against defendants under the Sherman

Act. MacRitchie has stated in its brief that “defendants” con-

trol of stone, sand and asphalt gave them power over asphalt

paving in all markets.” MacRitchie has proven no control

by defendants over sand in any market; it has proven no dan-

gerous probability of success of monopoly by defendants in

road limestone in any relevant market, and MacRitchie’s

claim of injury by reason of defendants’ power over asphalt

paving is an indirect claim at best, and must fall by reason

of the failure to demonstrate requisite monopoly control by

defendants over asphalt paving components. MacRitchie is

a competitor of defendants only in limestone for roads and

highways, and there is a failure of proof of defendants’

monopoly power in this respect. There is no basis in law for

attributing France’s limestone market share and power to

defendants.

For these reasons we must also REVERSE the award pur-

suant to the jury verdict rendered to MacRitchie.”® It follows

20In closing argument, MacRitchie’s attorney claimed basic damages

of approximately $188,745 for MacRitchie; the jury awarded

$200,000. As of March 31, 1985, MacRitchie had an accumulated defi-

cit of $560,000.

A4l1

that the award of attorney fees and costs made on behalf of

MacRitchie must also be set aside, and that MacRitchie is

not entitled to equitable relief.

VI. NOAP CLAIM

In the amended complaint NOAP sets out that it is a sepa-

rate Ohio corporation with offices in West Millgrove, Ohio,

the same address of Langenderfer and MacRitchie. It was

“engaged in the business of purchasing sand and stone... .

called ‘highway construction materials,’ mixing asphaltic

concrete. . . and selling the materials and asphaltic concrete

to plaintiff Langenderfer” and others. NOAP differs from

MacRitchie in that it had no quarry but purchased stone, as

well as sand, and resold them after mixing into “asphaltic”

materials for road and highway construction. For reasons

stated with respect to MacRitchie in part V, we reiterate that

plaintiffs have failed to prove that defendants have monopo-

lized or achieved a dangerous probability of success in

attempting to monopolize the quarrying, stone, or sand mar-

kets in the relevant thirteen-county market area since 1979.

For the same reasons stated in part V, NOAP has proved

no claim since that date due to defendants’ quarrying and

sand operations. NOAP is thus entitled to no damages due

to these operations for this period of time because of a failure

to prove the requisites of a § 2 Sherman Act claim, due pri-

marily to the lack of the required market share of defendants

in the relevant market.

We conclude, in short, that defendants have not been

shown to have the power at any relevant time to control prices

or exclude competition in the sand and stone markets. United

States v. duPont, 351 U.S. 377 (1956); Southaven Land Co.

v. Malone & Hyde, 715 F.2d 1079, 1087 n.10 (6th Cir. 1983).

Through 1978, NOAP had four hot-mix plants in the rele-

vant northwest Ohio area as noted in Langenderfer I, and

we consider the claims of NOAP as an asphalt producer sepa-

A42

rately from the claims of monopoly or attempted monopoly

in stone and sand production.

Paragraph 18 of the amended complaint charges that

defendants “overcharged [plaintiff] for highway production

materials from 1980 through 1985” (when the amended com-

plaint was filed), and will in the future. We conclude that

the claim for overcharging for stone and sand must fail for

the reasons stated. Stone prices of the defendants were gener-

ally consistent with the prices of the largest producer, France,

and with plaintiff MacRitchie’s prices at its quarry at West

Millgrove.

Plaintiffs’ exhibit No. 144 reflects the following data for

the “concrete and road metal” market, 1974-1978, presum-

ably including Michigan Stone’s production:

YEAR: DEFENDANTS: FRANCE: OTHERS:

1974 24% 24% 52%

1975 25% 22% 53%

1976 28% 32% 40%

1977 24% ° 32% 44%

1978 28% 29% 43%

(That same exhibit shows defendants’ share of total quarry

production for these years to be 17%, 18%, 19%, 18% and

19%, respectively).

It is clear from this data furnished by plaintiffs, even if

Michigan Stone’s production is included as applicable to the

Ohio relevant market (which we conclude distorts the actual

relevant market share allocations), that defendants come

nowhere near as dominant a market position in stone prior

to 1979 as in the years following 1979. This data indicates

A43

no dangerous probability of success for any attempted

monopolization in this particular area of stone production.

With respect to sand production for any pertinent year, plain-

uffs have failed in their effort to establish a § 1 or §2 claim

against defendants. To the extent, then, that NOAP’s claim

of anticompetitive unlawful conduct is based upon monopo-

lization or attempted monopolization of stone and sand, it

must fall. There is, again, no basis for combining defendants’

stone production or market share of “concrete and road

metal” from their quarries with that of their principal com-

petitor, France. Plaintiffs have alleged no conspiracy between

defendants and France and merely point to a similarity of

prices for quarries that are in the same general area. NOAP

has always had available to it, moreover, the stone quarry

at West Millgrove, which is nearer a three or four county area

within the northwest Ohio relevant market claimed by plain-

tiffs than any quarry of defendants.”

Burton MacRitchie, chief operating officer of both NOAP

and Langenderfer, testified that in 1976 he considered that

there were eight major paving competitors in the relevant

market area.** NOAP claimed that it occasionally received

discounts on stone bought from quarries later acquired by

defendants, but never received such discounts after defen-

dants acquired them. However, MacRitchie conceded that

“the prices did not make a drastic change” after the acquisi-

24Burton MacRitchie testified that his company, NOAP, and/or

other MacRitchie family enterprises, operated an asphalt batch plant

at the West Millgrove quarry from 1960 to 1980. He purchased stone

and manufactured sand from France. He testified that he only occa-

sionally obtained sand from defendants. Mr. MacRitchie testified also

that MATCO was to the S.E. Johnson Co. as NOAP was to Langender-

fer, both producing asphalt utilized by their paving companies.

?2Burton MacRitchie conceded that there were a number of indepen-

dent sand producers in Wyandot County serving the south and east

part of the relevant market area and others in Indiana and Michigan

serving the western and northern portions.

A44

tions. Neither France nor defendants allowed volume dis-

counts but did give prompt pay discounts. Plaintiffs’ discount

policy was apparently just the opposite. When defendants

acquired a sand facility, the same discount price policy

applied.”? Plaintiffs contend that Union Quarries at Scott

should be included in the thirteen-county relevant market

area, although they are on the boundary line or just south

of the line at the southeast edge. Production figures from this

operation of defendants at Scott have been included in plain-

tiffs’ statistical data. Ninety percent of stone purchased by

NOAP and/or Langenderfer came from France or indepen-

dents during the 1970s, and plaintiffs paid “board price” at

France as well as at defendants’ quarries.

In any event, accepting plaintiffs’ proof (and some is dis-

torted, as- indicated), defendants’ market share of stone

before 1979 was insufficient to show a Sherman Act violation.

In Cargill, Inc. vy. Monfort of Colorado, 479 U.S. 104 (1986),

the Supreme Court discussed a similar market share ratio

possessed by Excel, a party in that proceeding:

According to Monfort’s expert witness, however,

Excel’s postmerger share of market capacity would

be only 28.4%. . . . Thus Excel acting alone would

clearly lack sufficient capacity after the merger to

satisfy all or most of the demand. . . . With only

a ~8.4% share of market capacity and lacking a plan

to collude, Excel would harm only itself by embark-

ing On a sustained campaign of predatory pricing.

Jd. at 120 n.15.

Cargill referred to a definition of predatory pricing set out

in Langenderfer I, and made reference to Areeda & Turner,

*3France apparently allowed discounts on stone prior to 1972.

France’s prices and those charged by independent quarries were differ-

ent. Independent quarries sometimes gave a volume discount.

A45

Williamson on Predatory Pricing: A Strategic and Welfare

Analysis, 87 Yale L.J. 1337, 1348 (1978), suggesting that even

a 60 percent share would not be enough. Cargill, 479 U.S.

at 119 n.15. The Court discussed predatory pricing allega-

tions further:

Claims of threatened injury from predatory pric-

ing must, of course, be evaluated with care. As we

discussed in Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. vy.

Zenith Radio Corp., the likelihood that predatory

pricing will benefit the predator is “inherently uncer-

tain: the short-run loss [from pricing below cost] is

definite, but the long-run gain depends on success-

fully neutralizing the competition . . . [and] on

maintaining monopoly power for long enough both

to recoup the predator’s losses and to harvest some

additional gain.” 475 U.S. at 589. Although the com-

mentators disagree as to whether it is ever rational

| for a firm to engage in such conduct, it is plain that

the obstacles to the successful execution of a strategy

of predation are manifold, and that the disincentives

to engage in such a strategy are accordingly numer-

| ous. See, e.g., id. at 588-593 (discussing obstacles

to successful predatory pricing conspiracy); R. Bork,

| The Antitrust Paradox 144-159 (1978); McGee,

Predatory Pricing Revisited, 23 J. Law & Econ., at

291-300; Posner, The Chicago School of Antitrust

Analysis, 117 U. Pa. L. Rev. 925, 939-940 (1979).

As we stated in Matsushita “predatory pricing

schemes are rarely tried, and even more rarely

successful.” 475 U.S., at 589. Moreover, the mecha-

nism by which a firm engages in predatory pricing

—lowering prices—is the same mechanism by

which a firm stimulates competition; because

“cutting prices in order to increase business often

is the very essence of competition. . . [;] mistaken

inferences . . . are especially costly, because they

| ee ee ee

A46

chill the very conduct the antitrust laws are designed

to protect.” Jd., at 594.

Id. at 121 n.17 (discussing § 16 of the Clayton Act).

In Cargill, the Court also discussed vigorous competition

brought about by merger in a challenge by a smaller competi-

tor:

Brunswick holds that the antitrust laws do not

require the courts to protect small businesses from

the loss of profits due to continued competition, but

only against the loss of profits from practices forbid-

den by the antitrust laws. The kind of competition

that Monfort alleges here, competition for increased

market share, is not activity forbidden by the anti-

trust laws. It is simply, as petitioners claim, vigorous

competition. To hold that the antitrust laws protect

competitors from the loss of profits due to such price

competition would, in effect, render illegal any deci-

sion by a firm to cut prices in order to increase mar-

ket share. The antitrust laws require no such

perverse result, for “[i]t is in the interest of competi-

tion to permit dominant firms to engage in vigorous

competition, including price competition.” Arthur

S. Langenderfer, Inc. v. S. E. Johnson Co., 729 F.2d

1050, 1057 (CA6), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1036

(1984).

Id. at 116. The latter quotation was c

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Arthur S. Langenderfer, Inc. v. S. E. Johnson Co. · 502 U.S. 899 | Frix