Record and brief — City of Painesville v. United States

Supreme Court brief1981

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ae

81 — 1 6 4 Office-Supreme Court, U.S.

F! I. E

No. JUL 27 1981

ALCXANDER L. STEVAS,

EK

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1981

CITY OF PAINESVILLE, OHIO,

Petitioner,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A-WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To the United States Court of Appeals

For the Sixth Circuit

Lee E. LARSON

Counsel of Record

JAMES Van CARSON

1900 Union Commerce Bldg.

Cleveland, Ohio 44115

(216) 696-9200

Attorneys for Petitioner City of

Painesville, Ohio

Of Counsel:

Squire SANDERS & DEMPSEY

1800 Union Commerce Bldg.

Cleveland, Ohio 44115

CHARLES E. CANON

CANNON, STERN & AVENI

Milburn Building

41 East Erie Street

Painesville, Ohio 44077

— —-—

———

THE GATES LEGAL PUBLISHING CO., CLEVELAND, OHIO- TEL. (216) 621-5647

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Upon determining that a municipal utility boiler

is not in compliance with New Source Performance Stan-

dards, promulgated pursuant to Section 111 of the Clean

Air Act, should the district court, under this Court’s de-

cision in Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 321 (1944), first

conduct an evidentiary hearing and determine the potential

legal and equitable remedies available and the propriety

and efficacy of each before permanently enjoining opera-

tion of the boiler in violation of such standards?

2. When a proposed New Source Performance Stan-

dard promulgated under Section 111 of the Clean Air Act

is subsequently held to have been defective at the time of

its proposal, does the date of publication nevertheless con-

stitute the date for determining which sources are subject

to such standard, even though the standard can subse-

quently be justified only on the basis of technology de-

veloped after the date of publication?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented ................

Statucory and Regulatory Provisions Involved

Statement of the Case

A. ee

tion in the courts below ..

B. Factual background ...

C. Background on the ——— of pertinent

air pollution regulations

D. The decision of the court of appeals ................

Reasons for Granting the Writ:

I. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Is In Direct

Conflict With Decisions Of This Court

II. This Case Involves Important Questions Of

Federal Law Which Should Be Decided Py

This Court

A. The decision below misconstrues an im-

portant statutory element of the Clean

Air Act and establishes erroneous prece-

dent that transcends this case and factu-

ally similar cases

B. The immediate consequences of the deci-

sion below will adversely affect many

persons directly and indirectly involved

C. The decision below, if let stand, will re-

sult in the unequal application of the

Clean Air Act in different jurisdictions ....

Conclusion ..

eonwe 1

10

16

16

21

Appendix:

A. Decision and opinion of the court of appeals,

B.

8

filed on March 26, 1981 Al

Order of the court of appeals denying petition

for rehearing, filed on April 29, 1981 Als

Order of the court of appeals staying mandate,

filed June 11, 1981 Al

Memorandum and Order of the district court,

filed January 19, 1977 (431 F. Supp. 496) A20

Order of the district court granting perma-

nent injunction, filed June 18, 1978 A30

Section 111, Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. §1857c-6

[later amended and recodified at 42 U.S.C.

87411] .. A32

40 C.F.R. Part 60 (January 1, 1972) ................ A34

United States v. Public Service Co. of Indi-

ana, 12 ERC 1495 (S.D. Ind. 1977) ...................... A36

City of Hamilton v. Gardebring, Civil No. 1-

79-552 (S.D. Ohio, Decision filed May 26,

1981) A56

INDEX OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Brown v. Hecht Co., 49 F. Supp. 528 (D.D.C. 1943),

. rev'd, 137 F.2d 689 (D.C. Cir. 1943), rev’d sub nom.,

Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 321 (1944) 11

*City of Hamilton v. Gardebring, Civil No. 1-79-552

r oP ee eee 22

Essex Chemical Corp. v. Ruckelshaus, 486 F.2d 427

(D,C. Cir. 1973) 6, 7, 9, 15, 17-19

Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 321 (1944) 8, 10-15

Vv

Hill v. TVA, 419 F. Supp. 753 (E.D. Tenn. 1976), rev’d,

549 F.2d 1064 (6th Cir. 1977), aff'd, 437 US. 153

AAS te PT aA a NN A I 12, 13

Portland Cement Assn. v. Ruckelshaus, 486 F.2d 375

(D.C. Cir. 1973) * 6

Rondeau v. Mosinee Paper Corp., 422 U.S. 49 (1975) * 8 10

TVA v. Hill, 437 U.S. 153 (1978) ——— 8, 12, 13, 14, 15

United States v. Constantine, 296 U.S. 287 (1935) ........ 24

*United States v. Public Service Co. of Indiana, 12 ERC

re. 23, 24

Statutes

II —— serene 2

34 T0 ]ܹ à21—ꝛ2 3

Section 111, Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. §1857c-6 [later

amended and recodified at 42 U.S.C. §7411] ............ 2, 3, 5,

6, 10, 16, 19, 21, 22

Section 113, Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. §1857c-8 [later

amended and recodified at 42 U.S.C. §7413] ....2, 3, 10, 15

Code of Federal Regulations (C. F. R.)

40 C. F. R. Part 60 (January 1, 1972) 2, 3

40 C. F. R. 560.43 (January 1, 1972 6

Federal Register

36 Fed. Reg. 15704 (August 17, 1971) 6

36 Fed. Reg. 24877 (December 23, 1971) 2, 6

40 Fed. Reg. 42045 (September 10, 1975) 7

42 Fed. Reg. 61541 (December 5, 1977) 7

“Reproduced in the Appendix.

No.

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1981

CITY OF PAINESVILLE, OHIO,

Petitioner,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To the United States Court of Appeals

For the Sixth Circuit

The City of Painesville, Ohio, petitions for a writ of

certiorari to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, entered on March

26, 1981, in Case No. 78-3551, affirming a decision and orders

of the United States District Cou rt for the Northern District

of Ohio.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision and opinion of the court of appeals,

entered on March 26, 1981, and not yet officially reported,

appears in the appendix to this petition, as does the court’s

April 29, 1981, order denying rehearing. The January 9,

1977, Memorandum and Order of the district court is re-

ported at 431 F. Supp. 496. The June 18, 1978, Order is

unreported. Both district court decisions appear in the

appendix.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to

28 U.S.C. §1254(1). The opinion below was entered on

March 26, 1981, and an order denying a petition for re-

hearing was filed on April 29, 1981.

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

A. Section 111 of the Clean Air Act, as added by

§4(a) of the Clean Air Amendments of 1970, Pub. L. No.

91-604, 84 Stat. 1676, and originally codified at 42 U.S.C.

§1857c-6 (later amended and recodified at 42 U.S.C.

§7411) is reproduced in pertinent part in the appendix.

B. Section 113(b) of the Clean Air Act, as added

by §4(a) of the Clean Air Amendments of 1970, Pub. L.

No. 91-604, 84 Stat. 1676, and originally codified at 42

U.S.C. §1857c-8(b) (later amended and recodified at 42

U.S.C. §7413(b)) provides, in pertinent part:

“The Administrator may commence a civil action

for appropriate relief, including a permanent or tem-

porary injunction, whenever any person. . violates

section 111 (e)

C. 40 C. F. R. Part 60, as added by 36 Fed. Reg. 24877

(December 23, 1971), is reproduced in pertinent part in

the appendix.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The course of proceedings and their

disposition in the courts below

On April 2, 1976, the United States of America, at the

request of the United States Environmental Protection

Agency (“EPA”), filed a complaint, along with a motion

for preliminary injunction, with the United States District

Court for the Northern District of Ohio, requesting that

the City of Painesville (the “City” or “Painesville”), a

municipal corporation, be enjoined from operating Unit 5

of the Painesville Municipal Light Plant in violation of

Section 111 (e) of the Clean Air Act (the Act“), and

the Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources

(commonly called “New Source Performance Standards”

or “NSPS”) for sulfur dioxide, promulgated thereunder

and codified at 40 CF. R. Part 60. The jurisdiction of the

district court was invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1345 and 42

U.S.C. §1857c-8(b) (3) (later amended and recodified at

42 U.S.C. §7413(b) (3)).

On April 23, 1976, the City responded by filing a mo-

tion for summary judgment for the reason that Unit 5

was not, under the statute and regulations, a “new source”

subject to the NSPS for sulfur dioxide. On July 30, 1976,

the government filed its own “Motion for Summary Judg-

ment as to Liability,” contending that Unit 5 is a “new

source” as defined in Section 111(a)(2) of the Act. The

government sought only to determine the issue of liability

and advised the court that facts relating to remedy were

1. References herein are to Section 111 of the Clean Air

Amendments of 1970, Pub. L. No. 91-604, 84 Stat. 1676. Section

111 was originally codified at 42 U.S.C. §1857c-6 (cited in the

district court opinion) but later 2 and recodified at 42

U.S.C. §7411 (as cited by the court of appeals).

4

in dispute and that further evidence might have to be taken

on that issue.

On January 19, 1977, the district court issued a Memo-

randum and Order grantiig the government’s motion for

summary judgment as to liability and concluding that

Unit 5 is a “new source.” On June 18, 1978, without

hearing any evidence as to the propriety or nature of the

injunctive remedy, the district court granted final judg-

ment to the government and permanently enjoined the

City from operating Unit 5 in violation of the NSPS sul-

fur dioxide limitation.

A timely appeal was taken to the Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit. On March 26, 1981, the court issued

and filed its decision and opinion affirming the district

court. On April 29, 1981, the court denied the City’s peti-

tion for rehearing.

B. Factual background

The City of Painesville owns and operates a municipal

electric utility which includes its own power generating

facility. Prior to the construction of Unit 5, power was

generated by four older coal-fired boilers with supporting

equipment.

In 1966 the City recognized that it would need addi-

tional, modern power generating capacity. Thereafter,

the City purchased a turbogenerator, hired design engi-

neers, prepared detailed plans and specifications, passed

ordinances to increase electric rates and finance construc-

tion, and evea signed a letter of intent to purchase the

boiler. However, because of disagreements which de-

veloped between the City and its original consultant, the

actual execution of a contract for construction of the boiler

did not occur until Jul; 28, 1972.

On-site construction for the plant expansion was com-

menced on January 22, 1973. Boiler erection was begun

about July, 1973, and essentially completed in April, 1975.

The Unit 5 boiler was started in December, 1975, and is

presently the only boiler in normal operation at the Paines-

ville light plant. :

Nearly a year after learning that construction of Unit

5 was in progress, the EPA sent a letter on September 18,

1975, to the City asking for more information on Unit

5, stating that it was “concerned” about the applicability

of the NSPS to Unit 5. At this point, the boiler was com-

pleted and the unit nearly ready for start-up.

In accordance with this request, further information

was submitted to the EPA. Finally, on November 24, 1975,

the EPA issued a Notice of Violation stating that, if started

up, Unit 5 would violate the NSPS for sulfur dioxide.

The parties were unable to reach agreement subsequent to

the issuance of the Notice of Violation and, at the EPA’s

request, the government filed its complaint in this case.

C. Background on the development of pertinent

air pollution regulations

Section 111(b) of the Clean Air Act sets forth a strict

timetable by which the EPA was to develop and publish

emissions standards for certain categories of stationary

sources of air pollutants. Applicability of these standards

was to be limited to those sources which fell under the

definition of “new source”; that is, those which com-

menced construction or modification after the date upon

which the EPA published regulations pertaining to those

sources. For each of the listed source categories a stan-

dard of performance had to be developed which

“. . . reflects the degree of emission limitation achiev-

able through the application of the best system of

emission reduction which (taking into account the cost

of achieving such reduction) the Administrator deter-

mines has been adequately demonstrated.” Clean Air

Act, §111(a) (1).

As the EPA was soon to find out, a determination of

the “best system” of emission reduction included more

than simply a technical evaluation and an economic im-

*pact analysis; rather, it included an investigation of the

adverse environmental impact of the selected system, and

the Clean Air Act required publication of the results of this

analysis along with the standard. Portland Cement Assn.

v. Ruckelshaus, 486 F.2d 375, 385 (D.C. Cir. 1973).

The EPA published proposed standards for fossil fuel

fired steam generators (boilers) on August 17, 1971. 36

Fed. Reg. 15704. These proposed standards set forth, inter

alia, a sulfur dioxide emissions standard of 1.2 Ib.“ After

the notice and comment period the EPA published this

standard as a final rule (36 Fed. Reg. 24877; December 23,

1971) and subsequently codified it as 40 CFR §60.43(a) (2).

Judicial review of these standards was initiated in the

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.

Essex Chemical Corp. v. Ruckelshaus, 486 F.2d 427 (D.C.

Cir. 1973). The Essex petitioners argued that the EPA

acted unlawfully and/or arbitrarily in adopting the par-

ticulate, sulfur dioxide and nitrogen oxide standards for

coal-fired boilers. While the Essex court upheld the

particulate and nitrogen oxide standards, it remanded the

sulfur dioxide standard to the agency for further develop-

ment of the record. 486 F.2d at 441. The Essex court

2. Refers to pounds of sulfur dioxide per million British

thermal units a€tual heat input to the boiler.

7

found that the 1.2 lb. standard was “achievable”, using

lime slurry scrubbers, but that the EPA had failed suf-

ficiently to evaluate the “counter productive environmental

effects” of these scrubbers. 486 F.2d at 440, 441. There

was therefore, in the view of the court , appeals, insuffi-

cient basis in the record to conlude that scrubbers were

the best, adequately demonstrated system for reducing

sulfur dioxide emissions.

Pursuant to the Essex court’s order, the EPA under-

took extensive evaluation of the environmental impact of

scrubbers. It published the proposed results of this study,

along with a solicitation of comments, on September 10,

1975. 40 Fed. Reg. 42045.

This published response by the EPA to the Essex

remand revealed that the technology (scrubbers) had not

been adequately demonstrated at the time of the proposed

standards, but that the adverse environmental consequences

(sludge disposal) had then (in 1975) only recently been

solved. However, the EPA concluded there was no basis

on which to revise the 1.2 lb. standard in light of the

1975 technology demonstration. After waiting another two

years, the EPA published a terse final response to the

Essex remand without change to the sulfur dioxide stan-

dard. 42 Fed. Reg. 61541 (December 5, 1977).

D. The decision of the court of appeals

On June 18, 1978, the district court entered a judg-

ment finding the City’s Unit 5 boiler subject to New Source

Performance Standards and further ordering “that the

defendant, its officers and employees be permanently en-

joined and restrained from emitting sulfur dioxide into

the atmosphere from the Painesville Municipal Light Plant,

Unit No. 5, in excess cf [the NSPS limit]. The district

court thereupon stayed the injunction pending appeal.

Even though the record demonstrates.’ and the govern-

ment agreed,‘ that there was insufficient evidence before

the court to fashion an equitable remedv, the district court

issued the permanent injunction without a hearing or the

taking of additional evidence relating to the injunctive

remedy.

The City has argued that the failure of the district

court to hold an evidentiary hearing to determine the pres-

ence of the traditional factual predicates essential to the

issuance of equitable remedies, and thus to assess the

propriety and the nature of an injunctive mandate, violated

principles well established by decisions of this Court, in-

cluding Rondeau v. “Mosinee Paper Corp., 422 US. 49

(1975) and Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 321 (1944).

While the court of appeals recognized the general

applicability of the principles set forth in Hecht Co., it

cited this Court’s opinion in TVA v. Hill, 437 US. 153

(1978), as supporting the proposition that, when there is a

clear congressional mandate, the district court is required

to order injunctive relief upon its finding of liability,”

(emphasis added) and that “[a] hearing to determine the

presence of irreparable injury and inadequacy of legal

The City also argued in the court of appeals that Unit 5

is not a “new source” within the meaning of the NSPS

for sulfur dioxide and thus is not properly subject to the

sulfur dioxide standard prescribed therein. The basis for

this assertion is that the date of »ublication of a proposed

NSPS for sulfur dioxide (August 17, 1971, was not the

proper date for determining which sources are subject to

such standard because:

(a) a necessary prerequisite to proposal of such a

standard is a determination by the EPA that the

standard-defining technology has been “adequately

d nonstrated”;

(b) the Essex court held (and the EPA’s response to

the remand confirmed) that, in failing to address

the adverse environmental consequences of such

technology, the EPA had not adequately demon-

strated the requisite technology (scrubbers), at

least as of the time of the 1971 publication; and

(e) if the date of publication becomes the effective

date of the standard, under these circumstances

the result would be to require a newly constructed

source to install unproven technology, which is

both unreasonable and beyond the intent of Con-

gress.

The court of appeals rejected this argument, holding

it irrelevant whether or not the Essex remand invalidated

the sulfur dioxide standard. Instead, the court held that

the mere publication of a proposed standard, even a defec-

tive standard, “determines what sources are new; a source

whose construction commenced after such publication is

subject to [the standard] whatever [it] might be or be-

come.” App. A, p. A7 (emphasis added).

10

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION IS IN

DIRECT CONFLICT WITH DECISIONS OF THIS

COURT

In upholding the district court’s issuance of an in-

junction without a hearing, the court of appeals held that

the district court was required to order injunctive relief

upon its finding of liability, and that a hearing to determine

whether, on the facts of this case, such injunctive relief

could be justified under traditional equitable principles was

unnecessary. Such a nolding is in direct conflict with this

Court’s decision in Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 321

(1944), which the Court recently reaffirmed in Rondeau v.

Mosinee Paper Corp., 422 U.S. 49 (1975).

This case and Hecht Co. rest on parallel facts and

similar statutory provisions. In both instances enforce-

ment proceedings were brought on behalf of federal

agencies to enjoin violations of (or to mandate compliance

with) federal statutes and regulations. In both cases, there

was a judicial finding of liability. In Hecht Co., the statute

provided that, upon a finding of a violation or impending

violation, “a permanent or temporary injunction, restrain-

ing order, or other order shall be granted without bond.”

321 U.S. at 322. In the instant case the statute provided

that “[t]he Administrator may commence a civil action

for appropriate relief, including a permanent or temporary

injunction” for a violation of Section 111. Clean Air Act,

Section 113(b), 42 U.S.C. §1857c-8(b) [later amended and

recodified at 42 U.S.C. 87413 (b)] (emphasis added).

In Hecht Co., the district court held an evidentiary

hearing from which it concluded, inter alia; that an in-

11

junction “would not be in the public interest.” Brown v.

Hecht Co., 49 F. Supp. 528, 532 (D.D.C. 1943). Accord-

ingly, after such a balancing of the equities, the court

held that injunctive relief was not warranted under the

circumstances and on that basis refused to issue an injunc-

tion. The court of appeals reversed, holding that the stat-

ute required the issuance of an injunction (or other order)

as a matter of course once violations were found. Brown

v. Hecht Co., 137 F.2d 689 (D.C. Cir. 1943). This Court

reversed the court of appeals’ decision. In so doing, the

Court emphasized the principles that should guide the fed-

eral courts in the exercise of their equity jurisdiction:

“The essence of equity jurisdiction has been the power

of the Chancellor to do equity and to mould each de-

cree to the necessities of the particular case. Flex-

ibility rather than rigidity has distinguished it. The

qualities of mercy and practicality have made equity

the instrument for nice adjustment and reconciliation

between the public interest and private needs as well

as between competing private claims.” 321 U.S. at

329-330.

The Court brushed aside the government’s assertion that

the statute at issue implicitly overrode such equitable con-

siderations by noting that “if Congress desired to make

such an abrupt departure from traditional equity practice as

is suggested, it would have made its desire plain.” 321 U.S.

at 330. Accordingly, the Court held that the remedial pro-

visions of the statute must be read “in favor of that inter-

pretation which affords a full opportunity for equity courts

to treat enforcement proceedings. . in accordance with

their traditional practices, as conditioned by the necessities

of the public interest which Congress has sought to pro-

tect.” Ibid.

12

The court of appeals in this case acknowledged the

general applicability of the Hecht Co. rule. However, the

court read this Court’s opinion in TVA v. Hill, 437 U.S.

153 (1978), as dispensing with the traditional equitable

fact-finding and balancing requirements when there is a

“clear congressional mandate.” App. A, p. Al7. As a

threshold matter, it should be noted that the remedial stat-

ute at issue in this case does not, any more than that con-

sidered by the Court in Hecht Co., evidence any congres-

sional desire “to make such an abrupt departure from tradi-

tional equity practice as is suggested.” Indeed, the lan-

guage of the statute, which authorizes “a civil action for

appropriate relief, including a permanent or temporary

injunction” (emphasis added) reinforces, in the words of

this Court’s opinion in Hecht Co., “the power of the Chan-

cellor to do equity and to mould each decree to the neces-

sities of the particular case” and thereby to be “the in-

strument for nice adjustment and reconciliation between

the public interest and private needs as well as between

competing private claims.” Simply put, the statutory lan-

guage at issue affords no support to any suggestion that

Congress intended to supplant the traditional equitable

principles prescribed in the decision of this Court.

Moreover, upon a careful reading of this Court’s opin-

ion in Hill, as well as that of the court of appeals to which

this Court referred approvingly, it is clear that a departure

from such traditional equity practice was not sanctioned

in that case. In Hill, a fact-finding hearing was held by

the district court, which thereafter declined to issue an in-

junction. 419 F. Supp. 753 (E.D. Tenn. 1976). A thorough

review of the equities appearing from the record was con-

ducted by the court of appeals, Hill v. TVA, 549 F.2d 1064

(6th Cir. 1977), which reversed the district court’s denial of

injunctive relief, and by this Court, which affirmed the

13

court of appeals. Neither the court of appeals nor this

Court, however, held that an injunction must automatically

issue in all cases upon a finding of liability. Rather, the

court of appeals concluded from its extensive review of

the record made before the district court that, in the

absence of injunctive relief, “the national policy objec-

tives of a statute [would be] frustrated,” and, in that light,

it held that t jhe district court abused its discretion

when it refused to enjoin” the completion of the Tellico

Dam. 549 F.2d at 1074-75. Likewise, this Court deter-

mined that, in denying the injunction in that case, the dis-

trict court had abused its discretion by substituting its

opinion as to the “wisdom or unwisdom” of the statute for

that of Congress. In so doing, however, the Court did

not hold that the federal court lacked discretion in all cases

in fashioning remedies for violations of federal statutory

requirements. Indeed, it expressly reaffirmed the Hecht

Co. rule that a federal judge “is not mechanically obligated

to grant an injunction for every violation of law.” 437 U.S.

at 193. In this light, the petitioner respectfully submits

that the court of appeals in this case misread Hill when it

concluded that that decision had completely obviated the

necessity for a federal district court, sitting as a court of

equity, to conduct a | aring for the purposes of assessing

the efficacy of alternative remedies and determining the

presence or absence of the traditional prerequisites to ex-

traordinary equitable relief.

The petitioner has no quarrel with the court of appeals’

statement that the “[district court’s] reliance upon the tra-

ditional ‘practices of equity must be ‘conditioned by the

necessities of the public interest which Congress has sought

to protect.“ App. A, p. Al6. However, in this case there

was neither an examination into, much less reliance upon,

the traditional practices of equity to be so conditioned nor

14

a comparative analysis of the various alternative remedies

available and, perhaps most importaritly, the relative effect

of each upon the necessities of the public interest.

Neither Hecht Co. nor Hill can properly be read, as

the court of appeals apparently did in this case, either

to foreclose altogether, or to relieve the district court of

the duty to conduct, such an inquiry prior to issuing

extraordinary equitable relief. In Hill, the federal courts

determined, upon review of the record developed from a

hearing in the district court, that in the absence of in-

junctive relief the public policy would be frustrated and

that, on that account, the relevant equitable considerations

balanced in favor of extraordinary injunctive relief. No

such conclusion, however, can be gleaned from the meager

record in this case and, the petitioner submits, if a hearing

had been conducted in the district court, the record would

point to the opposite conclusion. Unfortunately, neither

the court of appeals nor this Court can now apply in this

case the doctrine of Hill and Hecht Co. on the balancing

of equities, because no hearing was held on the issue of

injunctive remedy and there is thus no record to examine.

The petitioner submits, however, that a number of factors,

unexamined by the district court, weigh heavily in a de-

termination as to whether an injunction should issue and,

if so, what the specific terms of such injunction should be.

The following is but a partial listing of some of the issues

that the petitioner believes should have been fully con-

sidered by the district court prior to the issuance of an

injunction:

1. The manner in which compliance with the New

Source Performance Standard could be achieved, and the

time required for such compliance.

2. The cost of compliance and the problems associated

with the financing of a compliance program, especially in

15

light of the legal constraints placed upon a municipality

in funding the cost of compliance, by the issuance of bonds

or otherwise.

3. The effect of possible adverse environmental conse-

quences of the district court’s injunction. As discussed

at page 22, infra, the injunction, as presently framed,

will likely increase, rather than decrease, pollutant emis-

sions, thus defeating “the necessities of the public interest

which Congress has sought to protect” in the Clean Air

Act. Certainly this overriding public concern should be

considered by the district court in fashioning an appropriate

judicial remedy.

4. Whether the conduct of the EPA during the con-

struction of Unit 5 or in its response to the Essex remand

constitutes laches or an estoppel to the granting of equi-

table relief or should mitigate the nature of such relief.

5. The adverse consequences of the district court’s in-

junction upon City residents, taxpayers, bondholders, and

utility customers.

In short, neither the Congress—as evidenced by the

language, previously noted, of Section 113(b) of the Clean

Air Act—nor this Court—as evidenced by the language of

its opinions in Hecht Co. and Hill—has shackled the courts

to predetermined mandates in administering equitable jus-

tice under the Clean Air Act. The blind and mechanical

issuance of a prohibitory injunction under the Clean Air

Act, as in any case, disserves not only the affected parties

and the public, but justice as well. For this reason, the

petitioner submits that the Court should grant the writ of

certiorari in this case to correct the deviation by the court

of appeals and the district court from the elemental prin-

ciples of equity jurisprudence clearly delineated in previ-

ous decisions of this Court.

16

u. THIS CASE INVOLVES IMPORTANT QUES-

TIONS OF FEDERAL LAW WHICH SHOULD BE

DECIDED BY THIS COURT

A. The decision below misconstrues an important

statutory element of the Clean Air Act and

establishes erroneous precedent that tran-

scends this case and factually similar cases

Section 111 of the Clean Air Act imposes environ-

mental constraints upon many of the newly constructed

major emissions sources throughout the United States.

New standards are continually being imposed, and the

question as to whether the standard applies to a particular

source arises in each instance.

The purpose of Section 111,of the Clean Air Act is to

require newly constructed emissions sources to adhere to

rigid environmental standards which can be achieved by

the installation of “state-of-the-art” pollution control

equipment at the time of construction. To accomplish this

goal, Congress set out a specific procedure by which emis-

sions standards for new sources would be determined and

implemented.

First, the EPA had to determine and define the best

system for reducing sulfur dioxide emissions. In this case,

the selected system was the lime slurry scrubber. Second,

the EPA had to demonstrate that the system was cost ef-

fective and without adverse environmental consequences.

Third, the EPA had to determine the emissions level which

can be achieved by implementation of the selected system;

that is, the performance standard. Only then is the result-

ing performance standard proposed and published in the

Federal Register. In short, it is the demonstrated tech-

nology that determines the emissions standard.

17

The EPA’s economic and environmental demonstration

is most crucial to the prospective new source owner be-

cause it determines whether the inclusion of the selected

emissions control system in the design of the source is

economically and environmentally justified. It was the

EPA’s environmental demonstration which was found to

be lacking by the Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit in Essex Chemical Corp. v. Ruckelshaus,

486 F.2d 427 (1973). The court upheld the EPA’s deter-

mination that scrubbers were the best emissions reduction

system, that the system was economically acceptable, and

that the 1.2 lb emissions standard could be achieved by

the use of scrubbers. However, the court held that the

EPA had not demonstrated the use of scrubbers to be

environmentally sound, in light of serious waste disposal

problems associated with the spent lime slurry. As the

EPA’s later response to the Essex court’s remand proved,

the court’s concern was well founded. While the EPA

asserted that the disposal problem had subsequently been

solved, it had not been solved at the time the proposed

standard was published or, for that matter, at the time

of either the Essex court’s decision or the City’s contract

to construct Unit 5, and there was, of course, no assurance

at that time that it would ever be solved.

In finding the effective date of the sulfur dioxide

standard to be August 17, 1971, the court of appeals in

this case stated that the publication of an emission stan-

dard constitutes the effective date for determining com-

pliance with such standard, “whatever [such standard]

might be or become.” App. A, p. A7. The court further

held that even if the sulfur dioxide standard was inval-

idated in the Essex case, the 1971 date would remain the

effective date for determining the applicability of any sub-

sequently established sulfur dioxide NSPS. The petitioner

- submits that the Essex court’s determination with respect

18

to the technology underlying the sulfur dioxide standard

mandates a contrary result if the evident policy of the

Clean Air Act, to give new source owners reasonable

notice of what is required of them, is to be honored. In

essence, since the Essex decision determined that the tech-

nology (lime slurry scrubbers) underlying the published

emissions standard had not been adequately demonstrated,

the court of appeals’ decision in this case undermines a

major policy underlying the Act by requiring a prospective

new source owner either to install then-unproven tech-

nology, to halt construction altogether until and unless

the technology is subsequently developed and proved to

satisfy the published standard, or to take the economically

perilous course of proceeding with construction subject

to an open-ended obligation to retrofit the new source

at some uncertain point in the future with subsequently

demonstrated technology. It seems clear that, in requiring

a proposed NSPS to be accompanied by a statement of the

demonstrated technology that could be employed to satisfy

it, Congress intended to prevent just this sort of economic

stalemate. Moreover, if the court of appeals in this case

is correct in holding that the sulfur dioxide NSPS was

retroactive to the date of publication of the proposed stan-

dard, the prospective new source owner would in effect

be called upon to install technology that had not been

demonstrated to be environmentally sound, a result that

seems irreconcilable with the basic purpose of the Clean

Air Act.

The Essex petitioners challenged the sulfur dioxide

standard on two grounds; (1) that the emission standard

was not achievable by use of the demonstrated technology

and (2) that the identified control technology had not

been adequately demonstrated (taking into consideration

cost and adverse environmental impact). Had the Essex

19

court upheld the EPA’s determination at the control

technology had been adequately demonstrated, a concur-

rent finding that the emission standard was erroneous

(that is, not achievable by the demonstrated technology)

would not necessarily have invalidated the publication date

for the proposed standard as a determinant for identifying

new sources. In such a case the emission standard, what-

ever it eventually “might be or become,” would still repre-

sent that standard which is achievable using the demon-

strated technology. There would be no significant danger

of the retroactive application of a subsequently defined

(or redefined) standard, since the source owner would

still be required to install the identified control technology,

which itself serves to define the standard that must be

satisfied.

However, the Essex court found the emission standard

achievable by use of the identified control technology

(scrubbers), but found the control technology not to have

been adequately demonstrated. The effect of that holding

must be to void the proposed rule publication date as

determining whether a source built thereafter is subject

to the emission standard. A contrary conclusion would

create a significant potential for arbitrary and economically

wasteful results wholly unintended under the Act.

It is clear from Section 111 of the Act that a source

owner cannot be required to install pollution control tech-

nology until it has been adequately demonstrated. It is

likewise clear that Section 111 contemplates the installa-

tion of such controls at the time of the initial design and

construction of the source. It logically follows, therefore,

that if the control technology is not feasible (that is, has

not been adequately demonstrated) at the time of con-

struction, its inclusion should not be mandated in the

design of the source.

20

Although the regulatory procedure prescribed under

the Act implicitly sanctions some degree of retroactivity

for the standards as ultimately promulgated, the impact

of such retroactivity is tempered by the fact that prospec-

tive new source owners will be put on notice by the pro-

posed standard as to the technology that they are expected

to incorporate. In this fashion, the purposes of the Act will

be served without engendering either economic chaos or

economic stalemate during the period between the publica-

tion of proposed regulations and their ultimate promulga-

tion. The decision of the court of appeals, however, would

open the door to the sort of uncertainty that Congress tried

to avoid regarding what is expected of a prospective new

source owner. For while the new source owner would be

on notice as to the standard, he would not be apprised of

what feasible technology, if any, he could employ to satisfy

the standard. He would thus be faced with the Hobson's

choice of suspending all construction until and unless the

uncertainty clears, taking the economic risk of installing

undemonstrated technology, unilaterally undertaking at his

own expense to discover feasible technology that will satisfy

the published standard, or proceeding with construction

but with the knowledge that he may subsequently be re-

quired to incur a retrofit expense of unpredictable dimen-

sion. It is precisely because the court cf appeals’ retro-

active application of the standard creates such an economic

dilemma that the petitioner believes it cannot be reconciled

with the evident intent of Congress under the Act to fur-

nish reasonable notice to prospective new source owners

of the technology they should plan to incorporate into their

facilities.

In the same vein, the degree of retroactivity sanctioned

by the court of appeals creates an unacceptable potential

for administrative abuse. Carried to extremes, such inter-

pretation means that the EPA could propose any arbitrary

21

new source standard, without any demonstrated technical

basis for such a standard, so as to “catch” as many sources

as possible. As previously discussed, these sources would

as a consequence be faced with the unenviable choice of

designing to meet an irrational and infeasible standard,

not building at all, or subsequently retrofitting to meet a

standard which may not become finalized for many years

hence. The purpose of Section 111 was not intended to

promote irrational standards, to halt the construction of

new sources, or to require retrofit; on the contrary, the

statute can only be justified on the basis that the time

to undertake the installation of the latest and best control

technology is before construction of the source has been

commenced.

B. The immediate consequences of the decision

below will adversely affect many persons di-

rectly and indirectly involved

The adverse consequences which would result from the

issuance of the district court’s injunction are both real and

substantial. If the court of appeals’ judgment is let stand,

and its mandate is issued to the district court, the injunc-

tion will become immediately effective, and the City will

be enjoined from operating Unit 5 in excess of the NSPS

sulfur dioxide limit. The City would be forced to shut

down Unit 5, since this boiler cannot be operated in com-

pliance with the NSPS sulfur dioxide emissions limitation

pricr to the installation of additional pollution control

equipment.

5

i

8

f

5

.

:

3

Because the City’s other coal-fired boilers cannot

presently be used to meet demand, the practical effect of

the injunction would be to completely shut down the light

plant and force the City to purchase power from other

sources in order to meet customer demand. Moreover,

such purchased power would very likely be supplied in

large part from coal-fired boilers which may well emit

more sulfur dioxide (per kilowatt-hour of electricity pro-

duced) than would Unit 5 but would escape classification

as new sources within the reach of NSPS.* The judgment

could thus lead to the anomalous result that the geographic

region served by Unit 5 would experience more, rather

than less, air pollution. Indeed, should operation of Unit

5 in compliance with the sulfur dioxide NSPS prove eco-

nomically infeasible, this increase in sulfur dioxide emis-

sions could become permanent. Thus, although the intent

of Section 111 is to promote the implementation of the

best emissions control technology for new sources, the pri-

mary purpose of the Clean Air Act, to reduce air pollution,

would be frustrated in this case.

Such adverse consequences would befall not only the

C. The decision below, if let stand, will result in

the unequal application of the Clean Air Act

in different jurisdictions

In 1976 the government, at the EPA’s request, brought

an enforcement action in the District Court for the South-

ern District of Indiana against the Public Service Company

of Indiana (“PSI”), alleging that two of PSI’s boilers

were subject to NSPS for sulfur dioxide and seeking the

same relief as it sought in this case. United States v.

Public Service of Indiana, 12 ERC 1495 (1977) (App. H).

Attorneys for the government and the EPA in that case

also participated in the instant case.

The facts in Public Service Co. and this case are in-

distinguishable. Both the City and PSI had begun the

planning for new generating units well before 1971, hav-

ing, inter alia, purchased turbogenerators before 1971.

However, neither the City nor PSI executed formal con-

tracts for the boilers until after 1971. In its post-trial

brief, the government cited the 1977 decision by the district

court in this case as authority for its position in Public

Service Co.

The district court in Public Service Co. held, how-

ever, that PSI was not subject to NSPS for sulfur dioxide

because (1) PSI had commenced construction of the

“source”, which the court defined as the entire power gen-

erating unit, prior to the date of publication of the pro-

posed standards (August 17, 1971), and (2) in any case, the

Essex remand had invalidated the publication date as the

effective date for determining applicability of the sulfur

dioxide NSPS.

The government did not pursue an appeal of the dis-

trict court’s decision in Public Service Co. While the pe-

tioner cannot speculate as to the government's reasons not

to pursue such an appeal, it should be noted that the

24

Public Service Co. decision was never reviewed by the

Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit by choice of the

government.

The Public Service Co. case, of course, does not rep-

resent the conflict between circuits contemplated by Rule

17(a) of this Court. The petitioner urges the Court, how-

ever, to give consideration vo the conflicting Public Service

Co. decision in its determination of the importance of the

questions presented, in light of the inconsistent application

of the Clean Air Act that will result between the citizens

and utility customers in Ohio and Indiana, and in light

of the different burden carried by each in fulfilling the

objectives of the Act. In this regard, the petitioner would

call the court’s attention to the fact that it has previously

recognized the relevance of conflicting district court deci-

sions in determining the importance of the questions pre-

sented for review, especially when the conflict leads to a

disparate application of federal law between jurisdictions.

United States v. Constantine, 296 U.S. 287 (1935).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this petition for a writ

of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Lee E. LARSON

JAMES VAN CARSON

Squire, SANDERS & DEMPSEY

1800 Union Commerce Building

Cleveland, Ohio 44115

(216) 696-9200

Attorneys for Petitioner

City of Painesville, Ohio

July 23, 1981

Al

APPENDIX A

Decision and Opinion of the Court of Appeals

(Filed March 26, 1981)

No. 78-3551

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

CITY OF PAINESVILLE,OHIO,

Defendant-Appellant.

On Aral, from the United States District Court for

The Northern District of Ohio.

Before: KEITH and — Circuit Judges; WISEMAN,

District Judge“.

WisEeMaANn, District Judge. The first of two questions

before the Court is whether the district court erred in hold-

ing that a boiler operated by the Painesville Municipal

Electric Utility is a “new source” under section 111(a) (2)

of the Clean Air Act [the Act], 42 U.S.C. § 7411(a) (2)

“Honorable Thomas A. Wiseman, Jr., District Judge, United

States District Court for the Middle District of Tennessee, sitting

by designation.

A2

(Supp. III 1979). The second issue is whether the district

court was required to hold an evidentiary hearing before

permanently enjoining the City of Painesville from emitting

sulfur dioxide from its boiler in excess of the Environ-

mental Protection Agency’s [EPA’s] “new source” stan-

dards for sulfur dioxide [SO.]. The Court answers both

questions negatively, and accordingly the actions of the dis-

trict court are affirmed.

Section 111 and the New Source Performance

Standards

In ASARCO, Inc. v. EPA, 578 F.2d 319, 321-22 (D.C.

Cir. 1978), Judge Skelly Wright provided a succinct over-

view of the 1970 amendments to the Clean Air Act, and it

serves equally well as an introduction to the instant case.

According to Judge Wright (now Chief Judge of the D.C.

Circuit), the 1970 amendments to the Clean Air Act were

passed in recognition of the failure of state governments to

cooperate with the federal government in effectuating the

Act’s commitment “to protect and enhance the quality of

the Nation’s air resources so as to promote the public health

and welfare and the productive capacity of its popula-

tion.” Clean Air Act § 101(b) (1), 42 U.S.C. § 7401(b) (1).

See generally W. Rodgers, Environmental Law § 3.1 (1977).

The 1970 changes were designed to increase the federal gov-

ernment’s role in the battle against air pollution. See

Train v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 421 U.S.

1. The Clean Air Act was first enacted in 1955 and there

have been frequent amendments, most notably in 1970 and 1977.

See Clean Air Amendments of 1970, Pub. L. No. 91-604, 84 Stat.

1676; Clean Air Amendments of 1977, Pub. L. No. 95-95, 91

Stat. 685. At the time this litigation began, the Act was codified

at 42 U.S.C. § = et seq. The 1977 amendments rearranged

many provisions o f the Act and recodified it at 42 U.S.C. § 7401,

et seq. 42 U.S.C. “5 7411(a)(2) was formerly codified at 42 U.S.C.

§ 1857c-6(a) (2) (1976).

A3

60, 64 (1975). The amendments require the states to de-

velop pollution control programs (State Implementation

Plans) that will keep levels of certain air pollutants below

the National Ambient Air Quality Standards sei by EPA.

Clean Air Act §§ 109, 110, 42 U.S.C. §§ 7409, 7410.

The 1970 amendments also added section 111, which

is at issue on this appeal. Section 111 directs EPA to set

specific, rigorous limits on the amounts of pollutants that

may be emitted from “new sources” of air pollution. The

New Source Performance Standards established under this

section are designed to force new sources of targeted air

pollutants to employ the best demonstrated systems of emis-

sion reduction. 42 U.S.C. § 7411 (a) (1). Because these

New Source Performance Standards are likely to be stricter

than emission standards under State Implementation Plans,

plant operators have an incentive to avoid application of

the new source standards. Such a situation is presented by

the instant case; EPA’s new source standard for coal-fired

steam generators allows 1.2 lbs. SO:/mBtu, while the Ohio

plan would impose a limit of 2.1 lbs./mBtu on Painesville’s

boiler.

The Facts

The government, at the request of EPA, filed a com-

plaint in the Northern District of Ohio against the City

of Painesville on April 4, 1976. The complaint alleged

that the coal-fired boiler in Unit No. 5 of the electrical

generating plant operated by the Painesville Municipal

Electric Utility [Boiler No. 5] was emitting sulfur diox-

ide in excess of the permissible standards established by

EPA pursuant to section 111(b) of the Act. EPA’s SO,

standard for new sources, which is published at 40 C.F.R.

§ 60.43 (1980), allows 1.2 Ibs. SO. /m Btu derived from solid

fossil fuel. The complaint alleged that Boiler No. 5 emits

4.8 lbs. SO:/mBtu heat input, thereby constituting a vio-

A4

lation of section 111 (e) of the Act,“ which makes it unlaw-

ful to violate the standards of performance established by

EPA.

The City has never denied that Boiler 5 exceeds the

SO; new source standard, but it has consistently maintained

that Boiler No. 5 is not a new source at all. Ultimately,

the issue of whether Boiler No. 5 is a new source was the

sole issue presented to the district court on cross-motions

for summary judgment, and the district court’s holding

that Boiler No. 5 is a new source under section 111(a) (2)

established the City’s liability for violating the Act. See

United States v. City of Painesville, 431 F. Supp. 496, 501

(N.D. Ohio 1977).

In his January 19, 1977, Memorandum awarding sum-

mary judgment to the government, District Judge Manos

ordered the parties to prepare plans for the operation of

Boiler No. 5 so that it would comply with the 1.2 lbs./

mBtu standard. The parties entered “lengthy and thor-

ough discussions“ under the court’s supervision, but they

failed to reach agreement on a plan. Consequently, on

June 18, 1978, the district court issued an injunction order-

ing the City to comply with the SO, Standard, Judge

Manos having concluded that further negotiations would be

fruitless. There was no hearing on this injunction, but

the judge stayed the effect of his order pending this ap-

peal.

2. Section 111(e) provides as follows:

(e) Prohibited Acts. After the effective date of standards of

promulgated under this section, it shall be un-

lawful for any owner or operator of any new source to

operate such source in violation of any standard of per-

formance applicable to such source.

42 U.S.C. § 7411(e).

3. United States v. City of Painesville, No. C76324 (Order

of June 18, 1978).

A5

Discussion

On this appeal, the City challenges both the district

court’s finding of liability in its award of summary judg-

ment and its issuance of an injunction without a prior

evidentiary hearing. The City raises three arguments

in opposition to the finding of its liability. First, the City

maintains that the D.C. Circuit’s remand in Essex Chem-

ical Corp. v. Ruckelshaus, 486 F.2d 427, 441 (D.C. Cir.

1973), cert. denied sub nom. Appalachian Power Co. v.

EPA, 416 U.S. 969 (1974), operated to remove the boiler’s

status as a new source. Second, the City asserts that EPA

erroneously applied its own regulations in determining that

Boiler No. 5 was a new source or, third, that EPA, in its

regulations, misinterpreted the statutory definition of

“new source” found at section 111(a)(2). In challenging

the district court’s granting of injunctive relief, the City

maintains that equitable principles required the court to

hold an evidentiary hearing before issuing the permanent

injunction. These arguments will be discussed in order.

A. The District Court’s Summary Judgment

1. The Effect of Essex Chemical Corp.

v. Ruckelshaus

In Essex Chemical Corp. v. Ruckelshaus, supra, the

D.C. Circuit reviewed EPA’s sulfur dioxide, particulate

matter, and nitrogen oxide standards for coal-fired steam

generators. The court approved the particulate matter and

nitrogen oxide standards, but it remanded the record for

further consideration by EPA of the adverse environ-

mental effects that might result from requiring a 1.2 Ibs./

mBtu standard for coal-fired steam generator plants that

must use a “lime slurry scrubbing system” in order to

achieve the SO. standard. Such systems produce a great

deal of solid waste in the form of sludge, and the circuit

A6

court concluded that EPA had not given adequate con-

ideration to the environmental problems posed by this

form of solid waste.“ Essex was decided on September

10, 1973, approximately two years after the proposed 1.2

Ibs. / mtu standard had been published on August 17, 1971.

36 Fed. Reg. 15,704 (1971).

The City argues that the Essex remand retroactively

voided the proposed SO, standard published on August 17,

1971, so that there was no new source standard for SO; in

effect when the City entered its contract to purchase

Boiler No. 5 on July 25, 1972.“ This proposition is taken

one step further, however, by the City’s argument that

the remand of the SO, standard lifted Boiler No. 5 out of

the class of new sources altogether, with the result that

the new source standard for SO, ultimately adopted by

the EPA after the Essex remand (1.2 lbs. SO./mBtu, the

same standard) was inapplicable to Boiler No. 5.“ In other

words, the City maintains that if the D.C. Circuit remands

a record for a new source standard so that the EPA can

reconsider the substantive standard, that action effectively

obliterates not only the standard, but the class of new

sources to wich the standard was applicable. Moreover,

the former new sources are forever relieved of complying

4. A lime slurry 1 system was the anticipated best

system” for achieving the SO, standard of performance. See

486 F.2d at 440.

58. Under the EPA’s regulations as applied to the instant

„ eee

date which construction “commenced” under section 111 (a)

2) the Act, which defines new sources. 40 C.F.R. § 60.2

1980). The statute des that if the construction of a new

source is commenced M — „ ——

tions prescribing a standard of performance for the particu

source, that source will not be included in the class of new sources.

> By Bh Boe 14 28 30,

sponse no

standard was warranted 40 Fed. Ree 42,085 (1975). EPA stocd

this conclusion in its final response to Essex on November

1977. 42 Fed. Reg. 61,541 (1977).

A/

with any future new source standards. Another class

of new sources would come into existence only when

EPA publishes a response to the remand, and that class

becomes fixed only when the D.C. Circuit approves the

reconsidered standard.

The City’s argument is completely at odds with the

plain meaning of the statute. Section 111(a)(2) provides

as follows:

The term “new source” means any stationary source,

the construction or modification of which is com-

menced after the publication of regulations (or, if

earlier, proposed regulations) prescribing a standard

of performance under this section which will be appli-

cable to such source.

42 U.S.C. § 7411(a) (2).

The statute unambiguously establishes the benchmark

for determining which sources of a particular pollutant

are new sources. “[T]he publication of regulations (or,

if earlier, proposed regulations) prescribing a standard

of performance. . which will be applicable to such

source” determines what sources are new; a source whose

construction commenced after such publication is subject

to the new source standards, whatever they might be or

become. The City argues, in effect, that new sources of

SO: remain unknown until the D.C. Circuit approves an

“ultimate” SO, standard. This argument must fail, how-

ever, because Congress provided that even the publication

of proposed regulations establishes the cut-off date for

identifying new sources of a particular pollutant. A pro-

posed regulation is, of course, subject to both administra-

tive and judicial review and, consequently, modification.

By identifying new sources with reference to the publica-

tion date of a proposed standard, Congress eschewed the

City’s position that new sources of SO: remain unknown

A8

until the substantive standard becomes unreviewable.

The City’s argument confuses the criteria for identifying

new sources with the validity of substantive new source

standards.

If the Essex remand invalidated the 1.2 lbs./mBtu

standard (an extensively disputed but ultimately irrel-

evant point), the City could not have violated the SO;

new source standard until EPA responded to the remand

on September 10, 1975. See 40 Fed. Reg. 42,045 (1975).

But given the plain meaning of the statute, the Essex

remand had no effect on Boiler No. 5’s status as a new

source within the meaning of section 111(a)(2). That

status was conferred on August 17, 1971, the day EPA

published proposed SO, standards for coal-fired boilers.

See 36 Fed. Reg. 15,704 (1971). Once Boiler No. 5 be-

came a new source, it remained a new source regardless

of what happened to the 1.2 lbs./mBtu standard. The

Court therefore rejects the City’s argument that the Essex

remand somehow nullified Boiler No. 5’s obligation to

comply with the 1.2 lbs./mBtu new source performance

standard for SO: that was in effect when the government

brought this action in April 1976.

2. EPA's Interpretation of Its Own Regulations

In pursuing its legislative mandate under section 111

(b) of the Act to create performance standards for new

sources of air pollution, EPA adopted regulations to con-

strue the statutory definition of “new source” set forth

in section 111 (a) (2) of the Act:

(2) The term “new source” means any station-

ary source, the construction or modification of which

is commenced after the publication of regulations (or,

if earlier, proposed regulations) prescribing a stan-

dard of performance under this section which will

be applicable to such source (emphasis added).

A9

EPA adopted this definition of “construction”: Con-

struction” means fabrication, erection, or installation of

an affected facility.” 40 C.F.R. § 60.2 (1980) (emphasis

added). With reference to a stationary source, an “af-

fected facility” is “any apparatus to which a standard

[of performance] is applicable.” 40 C. F. R. § 60.2 (1980).

In regard to the City’s electrical generating plant, EPA

concluded that the boiler “apparatus” was the “affected

facility,” and thus the commencement date of its con-

struction determined whether the City would have to

comply with the new source standards.

EPA interpreted the statute’s use of the word “com-

menced” in this fashion:

(i) “Commenced” means, with respect to the

definition of “new source” in section 111(a)(2) of

the Act, that an owner or operator has undertaken

a continuous program of construction or modification

or that an owner or operator has entered into a con-

tractual obligation to undertake and complete, within

a reasonable time, a continuous program of construc-

tion or modification.

40 C.F.R. § 60.2 (1980).

The City did not contract for the purchase of Boiler

No. 5 until July 28, 1972, almost a full year after the

cut-off date for new sources of SO: (August 17, 1971).

Consequently, EPA concluded that because the construc-

tion of Boiler No. 5, the “affected facility,” commenced

after August 17, 1971, it was a new source.

The City argues that EPA misinterpreted its own reg-

ulations in concluding that the boiler is a new source. An

agency’s interpretation of its own regulations is controlling

unless plainly erroneous. See, e.g., Udall v. Tallman, 380

US. 1, 17 (1965); Compton v. Tennessee Dept. of Public.

Alo

Welfare, 532 F.2d 561, 565 (6th Cir. 1976). Having re-

viewed EPA’s regulations set forth above and the agency’s

application of them to the instant case, the Court cannot

find that EPA’s interpretation is plainly erroneous.

3. EPA’s Interpretation of Section 111(a)(2)

of the Clean Air Act

Apart from its argument that EPA misapplied its own

regulations, the City also argues that EPA’s regulations

misinterpret the statutory definition of “new source” found

in section 111 (a) (2). Section 10(e) of the Administrative

Procedure Act defines the scope of judicial review of EPA's

regulations interpreting the Clean Air Act. A reviewing

court is required to determine whether the agency’s action

was “in excess of statutory jurisdiction, authority, or lim-

itations, or short of statutory right.” 5 U.S.C. §706(2)

(C) (1976). See ASARCO, Inc. v. EPA, 578 F.2d 319,

325 (D.C. Cir. 1978). EPA's interpretation of the Clean

Air Act is to be given considerable deference, however.

Id.

The City’s argument is essentially economic; the City

maintains that because it will be very expensive to comply

with the SO: new source standards,’ Congress could not

have meant to inflict such expense on an operator in the

City’s position. The City emphasizes that it began plan-

ning for the construction of a new Unit No. 5 (consisting

of the boiler, a turbogenerator set, and auxiliary equip-

ment) in 1966 after determining that it would need addi-

tional power generating capacity if it wished to remain

in the business of generating electricity. Thereafter, the

City purchased a 25,000 kW turbogenerator, hired con-

sulting engineers to begin design work on the plant ex-

7. The record does not show how expensive compliance will

however.

be,

All

pansion, and passed ordinances to finance the construction.

In April 1970 the City even signed a letter of intent to

enter a contract to purchase a certain boiler, but that

contract was never executed.

The City maintains that it is “harsh and unreasonable”

to require compliance with the SO, new source standards,

because if it had known in 1966 that its utility would

have to bear the expense of complying with such stan-

dards, the City might well have decided to close its gen-

erating facility instead of initiating the construction pro-

gram. Moreover, if the SO, standards are now applied

to Boiler No. 5, the Painesville utility might before, [sic]

non-competitive with the adjacent large utility that could

supply Painesville’s customers. The City acknowledges

that it did not contract for its boiler until after the SO,

standard was published, but it also maintains that this cir-

cumstance is relatively insignificant in light of the major

efforts that had been undertaken in contemplation of con-

structing Unit No. 5.

The Court is sympathetic to the City’s potential eco-

nomic burden, but the unambiguous language of section

111(a)(2) easily bears EPA’s interpretation of it. The

statute plainly provides that new sources are those whose

construction is commenced after the publication of the

particular standards of performance in question. Given

this statutory language, EPA would not have exceeded

its authority even if its regulations had defined the com-

mencement of construction as the time of groundbreaking.

EPA was more lenient, however, and defined commence-

ment of construction as, in essence, the time when a pur-

chase contract for a polluting apparatus is executed. See

40 C.F.R. § 60.2 (1980). The statutory language compels

the conclusion that EPA’s regulations identifying Boiler

No. 5 as a new source of SO: do not exceed EPA’s con-

gressionally mandated authority.

Al2

Because the statute alone unambiguously allows EPA’s

interpretation, there is no need to consider the legislative

history of the 1970 Clean Air Amendments. See United

States v. Sutton, F. 2d — (6th Cir. 1980). The

Court will briefly observe, however, that the legislative

history weighs heavily against the City’s position. The

City’s basic complaint is that compliance with the SO,

new source standard will be expensive, and from that

premise it attacks EPA’s statutory authority to impose

such costs on the City, in its particular circumstances.

However, the legislative record demonstrates a congres-

sional awareness that compliance with new source stan-

dards would be costly. Nonetheless, the choice was made

to impose those costs. As stated in the Senate Report,

“maximum feasible control of new sources at the time of

their construction is seen by the committee as the most

effective, and in the long run, the least expensive ap-

proach.” S. Rep. No. 1196, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. 16 (1970),

reprinted in Legislative History of the Clean Air Amend-

ments of 1970, at 416 (Comm. Print 1974) [hereinafter

cited as Legislative History]. This passage reflects a con-

gressional decision that the short-term costs of “maximum

feasible control” are ultimately less expensive than the

long-term costs of increasing air pollution. As Senator

Cooper stated during the Senate debate on the new source

standards, “[t]he concept is that whenever we can afford

or require new construction we should expect to pay the

cost of using the best available technology to prevent

pollution.” Referring to the Clean Air Amendments in

general, Senator Cooper went on to observe that the 1970

Act “assumes a readiness by industry and the people or

[sic] the country to pay the costs of pollution control.”

116 Cong. Rec. 32918, 32919 (1970), reprinted in Legislative

History 260, 262. Even more illuminating is an exchange

between Senator Muskie and Senator Randolph during

Al3

Senate consideration of the Conference Repor! on Decem-

ber 18, 1970. In response to an inquiry from Senator

Randolph, Senator Muskie stated that the new source per-

formance standards “undoubtedly will have an economic

impact all across this country.” Senator Randolph then

stated: “Yes, it will, and it will be costly. And yet the

ugly face of pollution must be erased.” 116 Cong. Rec.

42392 (1970), reprinted in Legislative History 145. A

clearer recognition of the economic impact of new source

standards could hardly be imagined. Cf. Cleveland Elec-

tric Illuminating Co. v. EPA, 572 F.2d 1150, 1164 (6th

Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. Timken Co. v. EPA, 439 US.

910 (1978) (upholding EPA’s SO, control plan for Ohio).“

The Court’s only reservation about the applicability

of new source standard to Boiler No. 5 is based on what

appears to have been one of the primary aims of the new

source standards. As stated in the House Report:

The promulgation of Federal emission standards

for new sources in the aforementioned categories will

preclude efforts on the part of States to compete with

each other in trying to attract new plants and facilities

without assuring adequate control of extra-hazardous

or large-scale emissions therefrom.

H. R. Rep. 91-1146, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. 3, reprinted in

Legislative History 893; [1970] U.S. Code Cong. & Ad.

News 5356, 5358. The new source standards prevent in-

dustries from “shopping around” for “pollution havens”

that might otherwise exist if the states were allowed any

8. For all of the reasons discussed in text, the Court dis-

agrees with the decision of the district court in United States v.

Public Service Commission, 12 Envir. A.B, J (BNA) 1495, 1502

(S.D. Ind. 1977). That court concluded that EPA’s regulations

638 es ES Se ~—~ a source,” “affected fa-

cility” “construction” — t te

Air Act's N “new source” in section 111(a) (2).

Al4

flexibility in setting standards for new sources. See 116

Cong. Rec. 32902 (1970) (remarks of Senator Muskie),

reprinted in Legislative History 227; Environmental Law

Institute, Federal Environmental Law 1104 (1974). Such

shopping around is foreclosed by the new source standards,

because they set a nationwide “floor” on permissible levels

of pollution from new sources. See Clean Air Act § 116,

42 U.S.C. § 7416; W. Rodgers, Environmental Law § 3.2,

at 217 (1977). Because the new source standards must

reflect “the application of the best technological system

of . . . emission reduction,” 42 U.S.C. § 7411(a)(1), this

federal standard will invariably equal or exceed the stan-

dard imposed by State Implementation Plans for existing

sources adopted pursuant to section 110 of the Act, 42

U.S.C. § 7410.“ See ASARCO, Inc. v. EPA, supra, 578

F.2d at 322. Consequently, there is no incentive for in-

dustries to move to relatively pollution-free states whose

implementation plans for achieving the National Ambient

Air Quality Standards might be more accommodating to

new industry.

Painesville’s municipal electrical utility is obviously

not in a position to “shop around” for another location, and

thus the “pollution haven” rationale for the new source

str dards does not apply. If the sole purpose for section

were to prevent states from adopting different new

source standards in order to compete with each other for

new industry, the Court would be inclined to read a

“municipal utility exception” into the statute, because such

utilities are simply not in a position to seek “pollution

havens.” It is apparent, however, that the overriding pur-

pose of section 111 is to prevent significant new pollution

9. For the Ohio plan for existing sources of SO,

would allow Boiler No. 5 to omit 2.1 lbs. SO,/mBtu, while the

„ ee ee 6 ae ee ee

Al5

problems, without regard to existing ambient air quality

conditions. See H.R. Rep. 91-1146, supra, at 3, 5, reprinted

in Legislative History 893, 895; [1970] U.S. Code Cong. &

Ad. News, supra, at 5358, 5360-61; 116 Cong. Rec. 33075

(1970) (remarks of Sen. Randolph), reprinted in Legis-

lative History 289. The Senate Report specifically found

that electric generating plants must be controlled to the

“maximum possible degree,” and it directed EPA to estab-

lish new source standards for power plants. S. Rep. No.

91-1196, supra, at 16; Legislative History 416. No excep-

tion was made for municipalities."° The Conference Com-

mittee agreed that power plants should be subject to new

source standard, and the Committee did not suggest any

exception for municipalities. See 116 Cong. Rec. 42384

(1970), reprinted in Legislative History 130. The new

source standards were drafted to “insure that major new

stationary sources, wherever they are located, are designed

and equipped to reduce emissions to minimize feasible

levels.” New source standards also tend to minimize the

competitive advantage of locating new facilities in areas

where emission standards might otherwise be less rigorous,

but this was not the primary purpose of section 111. See

Hearings on Air Pollution Control Before the Subcomm. on

Public Health and Welfare of the House Comm. on Inter-

state and Foreign Commerce, Legislative History 1369

(statement of Robert Finch, Secretary of Health, Educa-

tion, and Welfare). Accordingly, the Court will not infer

an exception to the statute that would relieve municipali-

ties from complying with new source standards.

10. The Senate specifically included municipal incinerators

not intend to create any pality exceptions” to the new

source standards, even the “pollution haven” rationale

— not apply to — — meinerators, just as it is inapplicable

to municipal electrical generators.

Al6

In summary, the Court holds that the EPA regulations

defining affected facility,” “commenced,” and construc-

tion,” 40 C.F.R. § 60.2, as applied to the instant case, do

not exceed EPA’s statutory authority.

B. The Lack of an Evidentiary Hearing

on the Injunction

The City argues that Judge Manos should have held

a formal evidentiary hearing before issuing his June 18,

1978, injunction that requires Boiler No. 5’s compliance

with the SO, new source standard. The argument is based

on the premise that “the appropriate principles of inade-

quate remedy at law and irreparable harm must be estab-

lished” before a court orders injunctive relief. The City

argues from this premise that the district court violated

these traditional equitable principles by not holding a

hearing to establish inadequacy of a legal remedy and

irreparable harm, and the City asks this Court to remand

for such a hearing.

Section 113(b) of the Act, 42 U.S.C. § 7413(b), em-

powers district courts to provide injunctive relief for vio-

lations of section 111(e), which prohibits violation of

EPA new source standards. In Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321

U.S. 321, 330 (1944), the Supreme Court emphasized that

when a court is called upon to enforce a federal statutory

injunction, its reliance upon the traditional practices of

equity must be “conditioned by the necessities of the

public interest which Congress has sought to protect.”

In enacting the Clean Air Act, Congress made a determi-

nation that the public interest required that substantial

r asures be taken to combat the deleterious effects of air

pollution. See 42 U.S.C. § 7401. The district court’s dis-

cretionary injunctive powers were therefore tempered by

its obligation to carry out the congressional mandate con-

tained in the Clean Air Act.

Al7

In a recent case, TVA v. Hill, 437 U.S. 153 (1978)

(the “snaildarter” case), the Court held that the Endan-

gered Species Act required the district court to enjoin

the completion of the Tellico Dam in East Tennessee, de-

spite the lower court’s doubts about the “wisdom .. . of

a particular course consciously selected by the Congress.”

Id. at 194. The Court einphasized that it is the exclusive

province of Corigress to formulate legislative policies and

establish their relative priority. Moreover, “[o]nce Con-

gress, exercising its delegated powers, has decided the

order of priorities in a given area, it is for the Executive

to administer the laws and for the courts to enforce them

when enforcement is sought.” Id. Although the Court

recognized that a federal court is not “mechanically obli-

gated” to grant injunctive relief for every violation of the

law, the Court concluded that the clear congressional

mandate of the Endangered Species Act provided no al-

ternative but to enjoin the completion of the Tellico Dam,

regardless of the expenses that had already been incurred

in its near-complete construction.

By enacting the Clean Air Act, Congress established a

high priority for the control of air pollution. The legis-

lature recognized that compliance would be expensive in

some cases, but the choice was made to require compliance

with the standards promulgated by EPA. Having made

that choice, Congress did not contemplate that its decision

would be thwarted by judicial reluctance to require com-

pliance when enforcement proceedings are brought and

liability is proven. Accordingly, this Court holds that the

district court was required to order injunctive relief upon

its finding of liability, once negotiations for a compliance

plan broke down. A hearing to determine the presence

of irreparable injury and inadequacy of legal remedy was

therefore unnecessary.

Affirmed.

Al8

APPENDIX B

Order of the Court of Appeals Denying Petition

for Rehearing

(Filed April 29, 1981)

No. 78-3551

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

THE CITY OF PAINESVILLE, OHIO,

Defendant-Appellant.

On APPEAL FROM THE UntTep States District Court

For THE NORTHERN District or OHIO

Before: Kerrn and Brown, Circuit Judges; WISEMAN,

District Judge*

Upon consideration of the petition for rehearing filed

herein by defendant-appellant, the Court concludes that

the issues raised therein were fully cor dered upon the

original submission and decision of this case.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the petition for

rehearing be and it hereby is denied.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

/s/ Joun P. HeEHMAN

Deputy Clerk

*Honorable Thomas A. Wisem Jr., District Judge, United

States District Court for the Middle District of Tennessee, sitting

by designation.

Al9

APPENDIX C

Order of the Court of Appeals Staying Mandate

(Filed June 11, 1981)

No. 78-3551

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE Stern CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

vs.

CITY OF PAINESVILLE,

Defendant-Appellant.

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that the motion to stay mandate

herein pending application to the Supreme Court for writ

of certiorari is hereby granted and the mandate is stayed

for sixty days from this date; provided that, if within such

sixty days, the applicant shall file with the Clerk of this

Court the certificate of the Clerk of the Supreme Court

that the certiorari petition, record, and brief have been

filed, the stay shall continue until the final disposition of

the case by the Supreme Court. Unless this condition is

complied with within such sixty days of any extension

thereof made by the Court or any judge thereof, or if the

condition is complied with, then upon the filing of a copy

of an order denying the writ applied for, the mandate shall

issue.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

/s/ Joun P. HEHMAN

Clerk

A20

APPENDIX D

Memorandum and Order of the District Court

(Filed January 19, 1977)

No. C76-324

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

Tue NorrHern District or OmoO

EASTERN DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff,

V.

CITY OF PAINESVILLE,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

Manos, District Judge

On April 2, 1976 the plaintiff, the United States of

America, filed a complaint requesting that the defendant,

the City of Painesville, a municipal corporation, be en-

joined from operating a steam generating coal fired power

unit in violation of the Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1857c-

6(e) and the Standards of Performance For New Stationary

Sources, promulgated thereunder. See, 40 C.F.R. Part 60.

The defendant filed a motion for summary judgment on

April 23, 1976, and the plaintiff filed a motion for sum-

mary judgment, as to the defendant’s liability, on July 30,

1976.

This Court has jurisdiction over this action pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1345 and 42 U.S.C. § 1857c-8(b) (3).

A21

FINDINGS OF FACT

The facts of this case are undisputed: In 1966 the

City of Painesville hired the engineering consultant firm

of Glaus, Pyle & Schormer (Glaus) for advice on the possi-

bility of expanding the electrical generating capacity of

the Painesville Municipal Electric Utility (Municipal Elec-

tric). See, Painesville Ordinance No. 27-66, plaintiff's

Appendix A. In 1967 Painesville city council decided that

expansion of Municipal Electric was both feasible and

necessary and started a construction program to build an

additional coal fed electrical generating unit. The com-

pletion of Municipal Electric’s expansion project was tenta-

tively expected to be in early or mid 1972. See, Document

11, Appendix B.

On December 21, 1967 Painesville made its first pur-

chase of equipment for the new generating unit; a used

25,000 kw turbo-generator at a cost of $118,000. See, Ordi-

nance No. 46-67, Appendix A; Document No. 6, Appendix

B. In November of 1969 Glaus submitted “specifications

and proposals for pulverized coal fired steam generating

unit no. 5.“ See, Document 12, Appendix B. On Decem-

ber 1, 1969 Painesville city council authorized the city man-

ager to advertise for bids for the new generating unit (Unit

No. 5) based on Glaus’ specifications. See, Resolution No.

60-69, Appendix A. On April 20, 1970, after receiving bids

on Unit 5, a letter of intent to enter into a contract for the

construction of a boiler was sent to Combustion Engineer-

ing Inc. See, Document 18, Appendix B. At this point

the start of construction appeared imminent. However

financing difficulties caused delays and with each delay

the cost of Unit 5 increased. See, Document 22, Appendix

B. In August of 1971 Painesville discussed with Glaus

ways to decrease the cost of Unit 5. See, Document 27,

Appendix B.

A22

On August 17, 1971 the Administrator of the United

States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) published

in the Federal Register proposed standards for performance

for new stationary sources. See, 36 Fed.Reg. 15704.

On September 20, 1971 Painesville informed Glaus that

their services would no longer be needed. See, Document

11, Appendix C. On November 29, 1971 the engineering

firm of Campbell, Deboe, Giese & Weber (Campbell) was

hired. See, Resolution No. 52-71, Appendix A.

On December 23, 1971, the Standards of Performance

for new source fossil-fuel fired steam generators became

final. See, 36 F.R. 24877. Approximately one month later

Campbell submitted a report on the proposed construction

of Unit 5. In this report Campbell stated:

xisting new federal air pollution regulations and

proposed State of Ohio air pollution regulations which

are scheduled to go into effect in February of this year

are such that it is questionable if the boiler equipment

is appropriate in all respects if furnished as originally

contemplated. The new regulations cover emissions

of particular matter, sulphur dioxide and nitrous

oxides.” See, Document 13, p. 6, Appendix C.

The report recommended a change in size of the boiler from

240,000 Ibs. steam/hour (continuous rating) to 215,000 lbs.

steam/hour (continuous rating). Painesville accepted the

change in the boiler specifications, and on February 22, 1972

advertised for bids. See, Resolution 7-72, Appendix A.

Bids were received and evaluated. One of the factors in

the evaluation was whether the bids met the United States

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and Ohio EPA

regulations. Campbell noted that the bidders could only

meet sulfur dioxide requirements by “fuel selection.” See,

Document 4, Exhibit C.

A23

On July 28, 1972 Painesville executed a contract with

Babcock & Wilcox Company for the construction of the

steam generating unit of Unit 5. See, Appendix D, Docu-

ment 5.

On May 17, 173 the Ohio EPA found the City of

Painesville was not required to meet Ohio’s air quality

standards contained in R.C. §§ 3704 et seq. because Unit 5

was not a new air contaminate source. The basis for this

decision was that the contracts for purchase of the equip-

ment for Unit 5 were made before the effective date of the

Ohio Air Pollution Control Regulations, February 15, 1972.

See, Defendant’s Exhibit D. A consent and abatement order

was later entered into by Painesville and Ohio EPA in

which Painesville agreed to comply with Ohio particulate

regulations and to burn coal containing less than 3.2%

sulfur. See, Defendant’s Exhibit B. On March 31, 1975,

the EPA informed Painesville that it would not pursue

enforcement of federal particulate emission standards be-

cause of the consent and abatement order, but the letter did

not preclude EPA from enforcing sulfur dioxide emission

standards. See, Document 3, Appendix D. On November 24,

1975 EPA issued notice that Painesville was in violation of

40 C.F.R. §§ 60.40 and 60.43 because it intended to burn

coal with a 3% sulfur content which would cause in excess

of 4.8 Ibs. sulfur dioxide/million btu heat input to be

emitted from Unit 5, a fossil-fuel fired steam generating

unit with more than 250 million btu/hour heat input. See,

Document 8, Appendix D. Under § 60.43 a new stationary

source may emit no more than 1.2 Ibs. sulfur dioxide/million

btu heat input. Painesville does not contest that Unit 5’s

emissions violate the standards set by 40 C.F.R. § 60.43 if

they apply. However, Painesville claims that 40 C. F. R.

1. Painesville admitted. we do not believe that com-

pliance with the SO, emissions regulations is possible at this time.

(Continued on following page)

A24

Part 60, Standards Of Performance For New Stationary

Sources, does not apply because Unit 5 is not a new source

as that term is used in 42 U.S.C. § 1857c-6(a)(2) and the

regulations promulgated thereunder.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The sole issue* for determination is whether Paines-

ville’s Unit 5 is a new source that is required to meet the

regulations contained in 40 C.F.R. Part 60.2 42 U.S.C.

§ 1857c-6(a) (2) reads,

“The term ‘new source’ means any stationary

source, the construction or modification of which is

commenced after the publication of regulations (or,

if earlier, proposed regulations) prescribing a stan-

dard of performance under this section which will be

applicable to such source.”

to David Kee, Chief Air on A Region V. — Ap-

pendix D; see also, Affidavit of Thomas Voltaggio, attached to

motion for preliminary injunction.

2. Painesville claims that the doctrine of laches is applicable

and that EPA is barred from bringing this action because EPA

knew about the consent and abatement between Ohio EPA and

the defendant, but raised no objection until November of 1975.

The Court rejects this argument. EPA’s March 31, 1975 letter

for particulate emissions, at that time. No mention was made of

sulfur dioxide standards. Painesville, from the record before this

Court, had no reason to believe the decision not to eriforce par-

ticulate emission standards meant that all other federal emission

standards would also not be enforced.

3. The standards set by 40 C.F.R. § 60.43 have not been

attacked by the defendant. 40 C.F.R. § 60.43 had been found to

„ ecto. in terms of cost and available technology.

See, Essex Corporation v. Ruckelshaus, 158 U.S. App. D. C.

360, 486 F.2d 427, 440 (1973).

A25

Proposed regulations for new source emissions were issued

August 17, 1971, see, 36 Fed.Reg. 15704, so that if, as of

August 17, 1971, “construction” or “modification”* of Mu-

nicipal Electric had been “commenced,” Unit 5 would not

be a new source and therefore sulphur dioxide emission

standards promulgated under 42 U.S.C. § 1857c-6 do not

apply. The words “construction,” “modified,” and “com-

menced” are not defined in § 1857c-6 but have been defined

in 40 C. F. R. § 60.2 (g) (h) and (i) respectively. While an

interpretation of an act by the enforcing agency is not

conclusive, it is entitled to “great deference,” Udall v.

Tallman, 380 U.S. 1, 16, 85 S.Ct. 792, 13 L.Ed.2d 616 (1965);

see, e. g., Youakim v. Miller, 425 U.S. 231, 235-236, 96 S.Ct.

1399, 1402, 47 L.Ed.2d 701 (1976); Satty v. Nashville Gas

Company, 522 F.2d 850, 854 (6th Cir. 1975). Further the

interpretation by an administrative agency of its own reg-

ulations is controlling unless plainly erroneous. See, e. g.,

Udall v. Tallman, 380 U.S. 1, 17, 85 S.Ct. 792, 13 L.Ed.2d

616 (1965); Compton v. Tennessee Dept .of Public Welfare,

532 F.2d 561, 565 (6th Cir. 1976).

In 40 C.F.R. § 60.2(g) “construction” is defined as

the “. fabrication, erection or installation of an affected

facility.” An “affected facility” is defined in § 60.2(e)

as meaning “. with reference to a stationary source, any

apparatus to which a standard is applicable.” (emphasis

added). Standards are made applicable to fossil-fuel fired

steam generators, like Unit 5, by § 60.40. A fossil-fuel

fired steam generator is a boiler, see, 40 C.F.R. § 60.41(a).

It follows, in this case, that the “affected facility” of Unit

5 is the boiler, because it is the apparatus to which the

emission standards are applicable. Therefore it is the

4. The defendant does not argue that the construction of

Unit 5 was a “modification” or was the reconstruction of an

existing facility. See, 40 C.F.R. § 60.2(h) and § 60.15.

A26

date of the “commencement” of “construction” of the

boiler which determines whether Unit 5 is or is not a new

source.

In 40 C.F.R. § 60.2(i) “commenced” is defined as

meaning,

. . . with respect to the definition of ‘new source’

in Section 111(a)(2) of the Act, that an owner or

operator has undertaken a continuous program of

construction or modification or that an owner or

operator has entered into a contractual obligation to

undertake and complete, within a reasonable time, a

continuous program of construction or modification.”

Using this definition EPA argues that the construction of

the “affected facility,” the boiler, commenced at one of two

times: First, when actual construction at the building

site was started for a particular type of boiler, so that

modification of existing physical construction would be

required if the boiler specifications were changed to ac-

commodate anti-pollution control devices; or, second, that

construction commenced at the time a contract for the pur-

chase of a new boiler was signed, with the proviso that

delivery be required within a reasonable time. The Court

finds that EPA’s interpretation of 40 C.F.R. § 60.2 (i)“

is fully supported by the language of that regulation.

argues that it was engaged in a continuous

program of construction, in 1967 with the of

the used „and that it therefore “commenced”

erroneous,

40 C.F.R. §§ 60 et seq.

6. The definition by the EPA of the term new stationary

source annunciated in 40 C.F.R. § 60.2(d), (e), (g), (h) and (i)

(Continued on following page)

A27

Applying the above definition to the facts of this case

the Court finds that of August 17, 1971 “construction” of

Unit 5 had not “commenced.” No contract for the produc-

tion of a boiler for Unit 5 had been entered into. Con-

struction of Unit 5 had not progressed to the point that a

change in its design would have required the facility already

Footnote continued—

is consistent with what appears to have been Congress’ intent in

enacting 42 U.S.C. § 1857c-6. The rationale behind § 1857c-6 was

Congress’ desire that the best available emission control tech-

no be incorporated into the construction of a facility which

a threat of being a new air pollution source. This would

prevent further environmental decay over the short run, while

decreasing air pollution from current levels over the long run.

Further, the economic impact would be spread over many years,

and would not be as drastic as req existing facilities to

immediately incorporate the best available anti-pollution tech-

nology. As the Senate Conference Report stated:

“The provisions for new source performance standards are

cleaning up existing sources.

“As used in this section, the term ‘available control tech-

is intended to mean that the Secretary should examine

the of emission control that has been or can be achieved

the application of technology which is available or nor-

mally can be made available. This does not mean that the tech-

nology must be in actual, routine use somewhere. It does mean

their

is seen by the committee as the most effective in the

the least expensive approach.” See, Senate on 8.

In testimony before a house subcommittee on the administra-

tion’s clean ai bill, which had a section similar to 1857c-6, H.E.W.

Secretary, Rol ert H. Finch, stated,

(Continued on following page)

A28

erected to be modified in order to insure that it could com-

ply with the sulfur dioxide emission standards of 40 C. F. R.

§ 60.43. In fact the Court finds in the record no evidence

that any purchase of equipment made prior to August, 1971

would have been incompatible with a complying operation

of Unit 5.“ As is evidenced by the change in the specifica-

tions of the boiler in January of 1972, Painesville could have

modified its plans for Unit 5 at a time well after the pro-

posed regulations for new stationary sources became final,

Footnote continued

“In general, existing stationary sources of air pollution are so

numerous and diverse that the problems they pose can most ef-

ficiently be attacked by State and local agencies. Even with air

quality standards being set nationally, as p in the Adminis-

tration bill, the steps need to deal with ng stationary sources

would necessarily vary from one State to another and, within

States, from one area to another.

“In the years ahead, however, many potentially significant

new stationary sources of air pollution will come into being as

a result of the Nation’s demands for electric power,

manufactured goods, and necessities and amenities of modern

life. Large stationary sources, such as electric generating plants,

iron and steel mills, and petroleum refineries frequently have

adverse effects not only on public health and welfare in their

own communities but also on air quality over broad geographic

areas. This problem is one that 23 national attention. If

we are ever to begin preventing air 111— instead of just at-

tacking it after the fact, then we must at least insure that major

new stationary sources, wherever they are located are designed

and eq ye at A my wg bh me

with a ble — 12 = af before the Subcommittee on

Public Health and Welfare of 2 on Interstate and

Foreign Commerce 91-44, p. 288.

eee ee e ee

sta

available to prevent tion.“ See, Legislative His-

fice, Jan. 1974.) The Court concludes that the EPA’s definition

that a new stationary source is one in which the boiler has neither

been made nor contracted for, balances the interests in pollution

Li e SPARED cag CONS ATG

The defendants were on notice of the requirements of 40

CFE § 60.43. See, Document 4, Exhibit C.

A29

without loss of the money previously spent on capital

purchases.*

The Court finds that Municipal Electric’s Unit 5 is a

new stationary source“ subject to the emission standards

established by 40 C.F.R. § 60.43. Further the Court finds

that the burning of coal with the sulfur content of ap-

proximately 3.0% will cause the emissions of sulfur dioxide

in excess of 1.2 lbs./million btu input heat. Summary

judgment on liability is granted to the plaintiff, the United

States of America. The parties are ordered to prepare

plans with documentation, which would allow the opera-

tion of Unit 5 in compliance with 40 C.F.R. § 60.43 and at

an economically acceptable level.

ITIS SO ORDERED.

8. EPA’s interpretation of 42 U.S.C. § 1857c-6(a) (2) limits

the application of new stationary source emission standards to

those projects in which the — — has not progressed te

the point that modifications of already completed physical struc-

tures would be necessary to meet those standar But if the

only work made fruitless by the need to meet anti-pollution stan-

dards is in the design or planning of a new source, then operators

are required to modify those designs or operating plans to meet

new stationary source emission standards. This interpretation is

given credence by Congress’ use of the word “construction” in

§ 1857-6 (a) (2) Las rather than the words “planning” or de-

signing.“

9. Ohio EPA found that Unit 5 was not a new stationary

source under Ohio law. See, Appendix E, Document 1. Paines-

„„ decison. „

argument ignores act t 0 was interpreting a dif-

ferent statute than EPA. Further, it is clear that Congress in-

tended that federal 1122 of federal air pollution standards

not be controlled by the states. See, Train v. Natural Resources

Defense Council Inc., 421 U.S. 60, 63-64, 95 S.Ct. 1470, 1474, 43

L.Ea.2d 731 (1975).

In introducing the Conferences Report to the House of

Representatives Congressman Staggers stated,

“The enforcement of air pollution regulations is partly the

responsibility of the States and partly that of the Federal Govern-

ment. The legislation provides that the Federal Government

shall have primary —y— for the enforcement of per-

formance standards for new stationary sources and hazardous

emissions stationary sources.” See, Legislative History of the 1970

Clean Air Act, p. 112 (Government Printing Office, Jan. 1974).

APPENDIX E

Order of the District Court Granting

Permanent Injunction

(Filed June 18, 1978)

Case No. C76-324

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff,

V.

CITY OF PAINESVILLE,

Defendant.

ORDER

On January 19, 1977 this court granted the plaintiff,

the United States of America, summary judgment on the

defendant City of Painesville’s liability. In its order the

court stated:

The Court finds that Municipal Electric’s Unit 5

is a new stationary source subject to the emission

standards established by 40 C.F.R. § 60.43. Further the

A31.

Court finds that the burning of coal with the sulfur

content of approximately 3.0% will cause the emissions

of sulfur dioxide in excess of 1.2 lbs./million btu input

heat. Summary judgment on liability is granted to

the plaintiff, the United States of America. The par-

ties are ordered to prepare plans with documentation,

which would allow the operation of Unit 5 in com-

pliance with 40 C.F.R. § 60.43 and at an economically

acceptable level.

Since the entering of the court’s order of January 19,

1977 lengthy and thorough discussions have been held

between the parties, under the court’s supervision, in an

attempt to devise an acceptable plan by which Unit 5

could operate at an acceptable cost and comply with the

emission standards established by 40 C.F.R. § 60.43. At

this time the court concludes that further negotiations are

fruitless. Accordingly the court enters judgment of the

United States of America and orders that the defendant, its

officers and employees be permanently enjoined and re-

strained from emitting sulfur dioxide into the atmosphere

from the Painesville Municipal Light Plant, Unit No. 5, in

excess of 2.2 g per million cal heat input (1.2 lb. per million

BTU).

The effect of this order is stayed pending appeal. See

Fed. R. Civ. P. 62.“

IT IS SO ORDERED.

/s/ JohN M. Manos

United States District Judge

1. The court has not given the defendant a grace period in

which to comply with its order because he has simultaneously

entered a stay of its order.

2. The necessity of the defendant posting a bond was waived

by the plaintiff.

A32

APPENDIX F

Section 111, Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1857c-6

[later amended and recodified at 42 U.S.C. § 7411]

STANDARDS OF PERFORMANCE FOR N.

STATIONARY SOURCES

Sec.111. (a) For purposes of this section:

(1) The term ‘standard of performance’ means a stan-

dard for emissions of air pollutants which reflects the de-

gree of emission limitation achievable through the applica-

tion of the best system of emission reduction which (taking

into account the cost of achieving such reduction) the Ad-

ministrator determines has been adequately demonstrated.

(2) The term ‘new source’ means any stationary

source, the construction or modification of which is com-

menced after the publication of regulations (or, if earlier,

proposed regulations) prescribing a standard of perfor-

mance under this section which will be applicable to such

source.

(3) The term ‘stationary source’ means any building,

structure, facility, or installation which emits or may emit

any air pollutant.

(b) (1) (A) The Administrator shall, within 90 days

after the date of enactment of the Clean Air Amendments

of 1970, publish (and from time to time thereafter shall

revise) a list of categories of stationary sources. He shall

include a category of sources in such list if he determines

it may contribute significantly to air pollution which causes

or contributes to the endangerment of public health or

welfare.

A33

(B) Within 120 days after the inclusion of a category

of stationary sources in a list under subparagraph (A), the

Administrator shall propose regulations, establishing Fed-

eral standards of performance for new sources within such

category. The Administrator shall afford interested per-

sons an opportunity for written comment on such proposed

regulations. After considering such comments, he shall

promulgate, within 90 days after such publication, such

standards with such modifications as he deems appropriate.

The Administrator may, from time to time, revise such

standards following the procedure required by this sub-

section for promulgation of such standards. Standards of

performance or revisions thereof shall become effective

upon promulgation.

(e) After the effective date of standards of perform-

ance promulgated under this section, it shall be unlawful

for any owner or operator of any new source to operate

such source in violation of any standard of performance

applicable to such source.

A34

APPENDIX G

40 C.F.R. Part 60 (January 1, 1972)

Subpart A—General Provisions

§ 60.1 Applicability.

The provisions of this part apply to the owner or

operator of any stationary source, which contains an af-

fected facility the construction or modification of which

is commenced after the date of publication in this part

of any proposed standard applicable to such facility.

§ 60.2 Definitions.

As used in this part, all terms not defined herein

shall have the meaning given them in the Act:

(a) “Act” means the Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. 1857

et seq., as amended by Public Law 91-604, 84 Stat. 1676).

(b) “Administrator” means the Administrator of the

Environmental Protection Agency or his authorized repre-

sentative.

(c) “Standard” means a standard of performance pro-

posed or promulgated under this part.

(d) “Stationary source” means any building, struc-

ture, facility, or installation which emits or may emit any

air pollutant.

(e) “Affected facility” means, with reference to a

stationary source, any apparatus to which a standard is

applicable.

(f) “Owner or operator” means any person who owns,

leases, operates, controls, or supervises an affected facility

or a stationary source of which an affected facility is a

part.

A35

(g) “Construction” means fabrication, erection, or in-

stallation of an affected facility.

> =. &. 2 Ss

(i) “Commenced” means that an owner or operator

has undertaken a continuous program of construction or

modification or that an owner or operator has entered into

a binding agreement or contractual obligation to under-

take and complete, within a reasonable time, a continuous

program of construction or modification.

Subpart D—Standards of Performance for

Fossil-Fuel Fired Steam Generators

§ 60.40 Applicability and designation of affected fa-

cility.

The provisions of this subpart are applicable to each

fossil fuel-fired steam generating unit of more than 250

million B.t.u. per hour heat input, which is the affected

facility.

§ 60.43 Standard for sulfur dioxide.

On and after the date on which the performance test

required to be conducted by § 60.8 is initiated no owner

or operator subject to the provisions of this part shall dis-

charge or cause the discharge into the atmosphere of sulfur

dioxide in excess of:

(b) 1.2 lbs. per million B.t.u. heat input (2.2 g. per

million cal.), maximum 2-hour average, when solid fossil

fuel is burned.

A36

APPENDIX H

Opinion of the District Court in United States v.

Public Service Co. of Indiana

(Filed September 30, 1977)

No. IP 76-657-C

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SouTHERN DisTRICT or INDIANA

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff,

VS.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF INDIANA, INC.,

Defendants.

Horn, D. J.:

FINDINGS OF FACT

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

AND JUDGMENT

The action was commenced by the plaintiff, United

States of America, with the filing of a one count complaint

on November 12, 1976 against the defendant. Public Ser-

vice Company of Indiana, Inc., and the action or November

12, 1976 was scheduled for trial for May 9, 1977. The

trial date was vacated on the Court’s own motion on May

2, 1977 because of the trial date conflicting with the Judicial

Conference and reassigned for July 20, 1977 and later re-

assigned for July 25, 1977. The complaint was amended

on February 17, 1977 and defendant filed its answer there-

to on February 25, 1977 consisting of one defense of ad-

missions and denials.

A37

The plaintiff filed a motion for a preliminary injunction

on December 14, 1976 and on December 14, 1976 the mo-

tion was scheduled for evidentiary hearing on December 21,

1976. The parties’ stipulation for a continuance of the hear-

ing was filed on December 15, 1976 and approved. The

motion was amended on February 17, 1977. Plaintiff with-

drew the motion on February 22, 1977 and amended the

first amended complaint by deletion of the complaint’s re-

quest for preliminary injunction.

Plaintiff filed a motion for partial summary judgment

on June 22, 1977 and withdrew the motion on July 12,

1977.

The bench trial of the issues of the second amended

complaint in one count and the answer of one defense com-

menced on July 25, 1977 and was concluded on July 26,

1977. The parties waived final argument and a post trial

briefing schedule was ordered. The briefing schedule hav-

ing been concluded and the Court being advised in the

matter does now record its findings of fact, conclusions of

law and judgment «ntry.

The United States of America through the Attorney

General of the United States of America and at the request

of the Administrator of the Environmental Protection

Agency commenced this civil action to enjoin the defen-

dant, Public Service Company of Indiana, Inc., a corpora-

tion, from emitting and threatening to emit sulfur dioxide

from steam generating coal fired power units in alleged

violation of Section 111(e) of the Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C.

§ 1857c-6(e), and the Environmental Protection Agency’s

Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources

promulgated thereunder and relating to emissions of sulfur

dioxide. Notice of the commencement of this action has

been given to the Air Pollution Control Board of the State

of Indiana.

A38

The defendant is a corporation organized and existing

under the laws of the State of Indiana within the Southern

District of Indiana. The defendant is engaged in the busi-

ness of generating, transmitting and distributing, directly or

indir 2ctly, electric energy to over 500,000 customers located

in 69 of the 92 counties in the State of Indiana. The defen-

dant owns and operates seven generating stations in the

State of Indiana with a combined present generating ca-

pacity of approximately 4,300 megawatts (MW). Of de-

fendant’s total present capacity, 1,300 MW are produced

by Units #1 and #2 located at the Gibson County Generat-

ing Station in Gibson County, Indiana.

Planning for the Gibson Station with a capacity for

five generating units, four of which were to come on line

in 1975, 1976, 1978 and 1979, commenced during the mid

to late 1960’s. It was determined in 1966 that additional

generating capacity would be needed by defendant in 1975.

Preliminary plans were begun at that time and expendi-

tures and planning commenced in terms of engineering and

financing this additional capacity. The Gibson Station was

planned to operate and is operated as a base load electric

generating station to serve the customers dependent on

defendant for electric utility service. Preliminary reports

were refined throughout the periods 1966 through 1969 and

the first definitive report was submitted by consulting en-

gineers to the Company on May 20, 1969, wherein the site

of the new station was determined. By September of 1969,

defendant had selected the Gibson County location for the

new generating station and begun acquisition of more

than 5,000 acres of land for the project located on the In-

diana banks of the Wabash River approximately three

miles south of Mt. Carmel, Illinois, in Gibson County, In-

diana. The turbo-generator contract for two 650 MW gen-

erating units with General Electric is dated September 3,

A39

1969. First option for purchase of over 4,500 acres of land

was taken September 23, 1969. A majority of deeds for the

plant site were consummated in 1970. A condemnation

hearing requested by the Company was held on August

17, 1970, and public announcement of the plant project was

made on August 18, 1970. At all times since its announce-

ment in August, 1979, defendant has planned its Gibson

Generating Station to contain at least four generating

units and its construction of the station from its com-

mencement by June, 1971, has been made to house and

accommodate four such units. By August 11, 1971, con-

struction work necessary to ultimate operations of Units

#3 and #4 (and on a scale unnecessary to operation of

Units #1 and #2 alone) was underway on the 2,950 acre

cooling lake, coal handling facilities, ash handling and

storage facilities, cooling water intake structure, electrical

switchyard and railroad facilities. In addition, the order

of construction of Units #1 and #2 was reversed to facili-

tate construction. The contract for two super critical

Foster-Wheel boilers of 4.7 million pounds of steam per

hour for the first two 650 MW units was signed November

30, 1970. The contract for sale of timber from the plant

site was signed on January 21, 1971. By June, 1971, the

planning of defendant’s Gibson generating station was em-

bodied in defendant’s Five Year Construction Program

Budget as embracing a 650,000 kw Unit #2 to be placed in

service on January 1, 1975; a 650,000 kw Unit #1 to be

placed in service on January 1, 1976; and an 800,000 kw

Unit #3 to be placed in service on January 1, 1978; and

involving a continuous program of construction and con-

struction expenditure over the quintennial. Defendant’s

Five Year Construction Program Budget was updated in

June, 1972, to include Gibson generating Unit +4 to go in

service on January 1, 1979, and to specify Units #3 and

#4 as being 650,000 kw units. The construction program

A40

budgets for defendant’s Gibson generating station have

been revised from year to year thereafter. Construction

on defendant’s Gibson generating station has proceeded

continuously since June, 1971, and construction of the four

units included within it has proceeded in regular progres-

sion as a continuous program of construction and comple-

tion of the station. Construction on Units #3 and #4,

considered as individual turbo-generator units separate and

apart from the station, commenced on or about July 1, 1974.

Contracts for site preparation were signed with Green Con-

struction Company on July 9, 1971; actual earth moving

for the plants site commenced on July 19, 1971; and Green

received its first payment for site preparation on Sep-

tember 13, 1971. On August 17, 1971, the Administrator

of the United States Environmetnal Protection Agency,

published in the Federal Register proposed Standards of

Performance for Fossil-Fuel Fired Steam Generators with

limitations on the emission of particulate matter, sulfur

dioxide and nitrogen oxides. Such Standards of Per-

formance were not developed based on health related stan-

dards. Environmental Protection Agency’s Office of Air

Programs Technical Report No. APTD-0711 entitled “Back-

ground Information for Proposed New-Source Performance

Standards” was part of the data supporting such proposed

regulations. It stated in part:

“The standards for sulfur dioxide are based on

limited demonstrations of stack-gas desulfurization

processes and on the availability of low-sulfur fuels.

At this time only the lime-slurry demonstrated [sic]

on large steam generators. Three other processes have

been shown capable of continuous operation at smaller

installations. * * *

“Coal and fuel oil of low sulfur content and

natural gas can be used to satisfy the standards at

A41

many new system generators. It is not expected, how-

ever, that there will be enough low-sulfur fuel to

supply all new steam generators as well as existing

sources requiring SO, control under state implementa-

tion plans. In addition, transportation costs in many

areas may make these fuels more expensive than stack-

gas desulfurization.

“* * * The reimbursements for salable by-products,

such as elemental sulfur and sulfuric acid, were not

included as credits in the cost estimates because of the

market variabilities involved, in addition, the cost for

disposal of spent reagents incurred by some processes

was not considered in any depth.

“The standards of performance are insensitive to

cost/benefit analysis when stack-gas cleaning is em-

ployed in that it is the only control system available.

Since the availability of low-sulfur fuel varies with

the location of the plant, it is not possible to analyze

the cost of this control strategy.”

All generating units at defendant’s Gibson Station are large

steam generators. Environmental Protection Agency has

never made a determination as to the cost of complying

with the new source performance standard for sulfur

dioxide by burning low sulfur coal. On December 23, 1971,

the Standards of Performance for Fossil-Fuel Fired Steam

Generators became final regulations. 36 F.R. 23877. On

July 18, 1972, Green Construction Company commenced

construction on the dike for the 2,950 acre cooling lake for

approximately 3,000 megawatts of new capacity and a pro-

posed but as yet unfinalized Unit +5. On December 14,

1973, defendant and Foster-Wheeler Corporation signed a

contract for two steam generating units of 4.6 million

pounds of steam per hour for use in connection with Units

A42

#3 and #4. Each unit is a 5,884.11 million BTU per hour

generating unit.

Defendant’s Gibson Station Units #3 and #4 were

designed to meet Environmental Protection Agency’s New-

Source Performance Standards for particulates and sulfur

dioxide. Defendant has in good faith endeavored to com-

ply with such standards. Thereafter defendant developed

general specifications for the sulfur dioxide removal equip-

ment to be used in the Gibson Units #3 and #4 installa-

tion. The specifications were designed to insure full and

continuous compliance with Environmental Protection

Agency’s new source standards for sulfur dioxide emis-

sions and sought performance guarantees on the equipment.

The contract for delivery of coal for Gibson Units +3 and

#4 with the Carter Oil Company is dated April 24, 1974.

The coal to be delivered will contain 3.3% sulfur by weight.

No adequate supplies of sufficiently low sulfur coal to

meet the New-Source Performance Standards were found

to be available with adequate facilities to transport it to

the site of the Gibson Station, so defendant in accordance

with the custom in the utility industry entered into à iong-

term contract with Carter Oil Company to supply approxi-

mately 3.3% sulfur content coal for Gibson Units +3 and

#4 so as to insure a supply of coal during the expected life

of the units of 35 years. On June 4, 1974, Sargent and

Lundy, consultants ana design engineers for the Gibson

County Generating Station, submitted a “Scope of Work”

for Units #3 and #4 to defendant for comment. During

early 1974 Sargent and Lundy advised defendant that SO,

control equipment costs would be approximately $74/Kw or

$99,000,000 for both units. Construction on Units +3 and

#4, considered as individual turbo-generator units separate

and apart from the station facilities required for them,

commenced on or about July 1, 1974. On July 8, 1974, the

A43

Air Pollution Control Board for the State of Indiana issued

a Construction Permit for Units #3 and #4 at the Gibson

Station. On July 26, 1974, defendant sent to Sargent and

Lundy its comments on the June 4, 1974, “Scope of Work”

for the Gibson Units +3 and +4. On September 4, 1974,

Ralph C. Pickard, Technical Secretary, Indiana Air Pollu-

tion Control Board, stated in a letter to Mr. Carroll H.

Blanchar, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of defen-

dant, that “the construction permit PC (32) 712 issued on

July 8, 1974, for the new generating Units #3 and #4 at

your Gibson Station was based on the source meeting the

New-Source Performance Standards. This requires that

sulfur dioxide emissions from a source exceeding 250 mil-

lion BTU per hour will not be more than 12 pounds per

million BTU heat input.” Such construction permit was

issued under Indiana Air Pollution Regulation APC-19. At

that time defendant and other Indiana electric utilities were

parties to an action attacking the validity of that Indiana

regulation and on November 10, 1975, the Circuit Court of

Marion County, Indiana, entered a judgment declaring

that regulation APC-19 and others are invalid for pro-

cedural deficiencies and enjoining their enforcement. The

injunction has been stayed pending an appeal and an appeal

is presently pending from such judgment. On November

1, 1974, Sargent and Lundy submitted to defendant con-

densed and detailed construction schedules for Gibson

Units #3 and #4. By letter through Sargent and Lundy,

defendant invited bids for equipment to control emissions

of sulfur dioxide from Gibson Units #3 and +4. The re-

quested bids were due on or before July 11, 1975. Plaintiff

challenges the guarantee specifications as being unrea-

sonably strict and more than is required of any other major

piece of equipment, but the fact remains that other equip-

ment does not have to meet a strict law-imposed standard

for equipment performance, whereas the emission control

A44

equipment has as its sole function the responsibility of

causing the unit to operate without violating applicable

limitations imposed by law, and, since defendant’s Gibson

Station is a base load generating station, the equipment

must operate substantially continuously in compliance with

such legal requirements. During July of 1975 bids were

received from eight of the eleven vendors to whom re-

quests for bids for SO. equipment were addressed. Of

those eight who submitted bids, one bidder—Foster-Wheeler

—submitted a bid for a regenerable system which was

deemed unresponsive by defendant. Thus seven companies

out of eleven receiving invitations submitted bids and all

proposed a lime or limestone scrubbing system which is a

throwaway system, rather than a system which produces

a salable by-product. None of the suppliers of regenerative

systems invited to bid were willing to propose a full scale

unit. The quoted base material and erected prices received

by defendant from six of the seven bidders for one unit

ranged from $19,900,000 to $25,800,000 and for two units

ranged from $36,800,000 to $51,500,000. The seventh

bidder—M. W. Kellogg—quoted base material and erected

prices at $60,168,000 for one unit and $120,336,000 for

two units. The M. W. Kellogg bid included sludge prep-

aration costs and unlike all other bidders did not quote

escalatable prices but quoted firm prices. An analysis

of four bids deemed best by defendant showed aggregate

capital costs (present worth at January 1, 1978) for Gibson

Units #3 and #4 over an assumed thirty year life of the

scrubber equipment ranging from $108,967,000 to $111,006,-

000, and aggregate operating costs (present worth at Janu-

ary 1, 1978) ranging from $205,500,000 to $253,240,000. An-

nualized costs (both capital and operating would range

from $34,183,000 per year to $39,243,000 per year. These

capital and operating costs would result in increasing de-

fendant’s electric utility rates to its customers by 8% to

A45

10%. Mr. W. O. Montgomery, Vice President-Engineering

for defendant, wrote to James McDonald, Director, Enforce

ment Division, United States Environmental Protection

Agency, Region V, on August 19, 1975, requesting a meet-

ing to discuss alternatives to scrubbers for Unit #3. The

letter stated that by September 1, 1975, defendant “must

place an order for scrubber hardware in order to start

Unit No. 3 operation with constant emission control.” Both

Unit +3 and Unit #4 at the Gibson Station were designed

for and will have a maximum rated capacity of 5,884.11

million BTU per hour (BTU/hr). Unit #3 and Unit #4

have been designed and are being equipped with the best

available equipment to control emissions of particulate mat-

ter. No control equipment is planned for the control of

emissions of sulfur dioxide from Unit #3. Unit #3 and

#4 will each have a pulverized coal dry bottom boiler.

Unless operated with sufficiently low sulfur content coal

or with appropriate control equipment, the operation of

the units will emit into the atmosphere gases containing

sulfur dioxide in amounts approximately 5.80 Ib. per million

BTU heat input. Pulverized coal is a solid fossil fuel. Units

#3 and #4 were designed for and space was allocated in

the plant layout for control equipment to remove SO: from

the flue gas to meet an emission limit of 1.2 lb. SO: per

million BTU heat input. When burned in Units #3 and

#4 at the Gibson Generating Station, 3.3% sulfur coal will

result in emissions of about 5.8 Ib. of SO: per million BTU

heat input. By letter of January 21, 1976, to defendant

Sargent and Lundy recommended that Research Cottrell

be awarded the contract to furnish and erect the Gibson

Generating Station sulfur removal system for Units +3

and #4 and that a testing program be made to determine

how to dispose in an environmentally acceptable manner

of the waste produced by such sulfur removal system.

The Gibson Generating Station site is constructed in a flood

A46

plain. A lined pond, assuming one were constructed in the

vicinity of the Gibson Generating Station, would have to

be constructed in a flood plain; the soil and hydrology of

the area adjacent to the Gibson Generating Station would

prevent the use of an unlined pond to dispose of sludge.

No liner for a sludge pond has been demonstrated effective

as a permanent solution of the sludge containment problem.

The cost of obtaining lime for one unit at the Gibson

Generating Station over the life of the plan would be $80,-

468,000 and the cost of obtaining limestone for one unit

over the life of the unit would be $31,115,000. Disposal of

lime sludge (dry) over the life of one unit comparable to

Gibson Unit #3 would require 3,800 acre feet and for lime-

stone sludge (dry) would require 3,200 acre feet. The

annual tonnage of sludge from one unit comparable to Gib-

son Unit #3, assuming a 55% capacity factor and the use

of a lime scrubber, would be 330,000 tons (assuming 60%

solids-40% moisture) and the annual tonnage, assuming

limestone, would be 430,000 tons (assuming 60% solids-

40% moisture). Defendant does not have sufficient land

at its Gibson Generating Station site to store untreated

sludge disposal from lime or limestone scrubbers, and it

could not store chemically treated sludge at the site without

absolute assurance that it will not leach into ground water.

Untreated sludge could not be stored at the Gibson Generat-

ing Station site or on land immediately adjacent thereto

without a lined pond and adequate diking. The cost of a

lined pond, assuming one were constructed, would be ap-

proximately $10,000,000. All present systems for treat-

ment of sludge are either experimentu: or demonstrate in-

stallations so new that their efficiency has not been fully

tested. Defendant could operate all four units at its Gib-

son Generating Station so as to meet the primary national

ambient air quality standards promulgated under the Clean

Air Act without making any change or additions to Units

A47

3 and #4 as the same are now being constructed and

installed and without any change in present coal supply

arrangements for those units other than to have a supply

of lower sulfur coal available to burn when atmospheric

conditions so require. By letter of February 10, 1976,

Russell W. Rink, Vice President, Purchasing for defendant,

notified remaining bidders that def ndant was unable to

decide on the purchase of SO, rm noval equipment for

Units #3 and #4 and not to hold production space open.

In late 1975 and early 1976, there was no commercially

established flue gas scrubber equipment for an installation

comparable to Gibson Units #3 and #4. While reserves

of coal with sulfur content low enough to be usable in com-

pliance with the new source standards without the necessity

of scrubbers do exist, a supply adequate for defendant’s

Gibson Units 23 and #4 would require combining the

holdings of a number of suppliers and the transportation

problems and logistics of moving such coal to defendant's

Gibson Station makes use of such coal, even on an interim

basis, impractical and an unreasonable economic burden

on the defendant customers. Coal costs would be increased

by $60,000,000 to $83,000,000 per year and a new investment

of $133,000,000 would be required in transportation facil-

ities. Although increased coal costs would terminate if low

sulfur coal were used as an interim compliance measure,

capital investment in railroad rolling stock and trackage,

barges, barge transfer facilities and trucks would be neces-

sary even over the short term and would thereafter be of

no use and constitute waste. The additional coal costs

alone would increase customer rates by 10% to 11% if low

sulfur coal were used as an interim compliance measure

during construction of FGD equipment and by 13-16% if

low sulfur coal were adopted as a long-term compliance

method. Although compliance with the standards by use

A48

of low sulfur coal may be a feasible option for many

western and some eastern utilities located near low sulfur

coal fields or on adequate railroad water routes, compliance

with the new source performance standards by burning low

sulfur coal at Gibson Units #3 and #4 would be sub-

stantially more expensive than compliance by means of

FGD systems; because of the lack of reliable sources and

transportation problems compliance with the new source

performance standards by burning low sulfur coal at Gibson

Station is not feasible. There is no commercially estab-

lished regenerative system for use with flue gas scrubber

equipment on generating units the size of Gibson Units

#3 and #4. While some of the now installed flue gas

scrubber equipment are being used, there is none working

satisfactorily in any installation involving the site prob-

lems and limitations imposed by conditions at defendant's

Gibson Station. Of the scrubber installations claimed by

plaintiff to be working satisfactorily and to be workable

models for defendant’s Gibson Units #3 and #4, Kansas

City Power & Light Company’s LaCygne installation in-

volves nighttime cutbacks for maintenance and operates

open loop by discharging sludge liquid overflow into an

outside pond. The next unit at that station will use low

sulfur coal for compliance. Northern States Power's

Sherburn County station uses low sulfur coal, is not a

base load operation and operates open loop. Pennsylvania

Power Company’s Mansfield station has a nighttime cut-

back and operates open loop by discharging sludge liquid

overflow into a river. It also showers a discolored mist all

over a nearby city. Defendant’s Gibson Station cannot be

operated open loop because it cannot be allowed to dis-

charge sludge liquid into the Wabash River or into the

flood plain; and it is to be a base load operation. No

specific scrubber system is known to be practical for use

A49

to bring defendant’s Gibson Units +3 and #4 into com-

pliance and effectively produce power. If Gibson Station

Units #3 and #4 are not put in service serving defendant’s

customers dependent on it for electric utility service rea-

sonably near their scheduled in-service dates in early

1978 and 1979, respectively, the consequence will be to re-

duce the generating capacity of defendant to a dangerously

low point where its reserves would be inadaquate to meet

any substantial emergency or to carry out proper main-

tenanee necessary to keep the equipment in an economic

and reliable operating condition and will likewise have a

similar effect on the KIL. P. pool (consisting of Kentucky

Utilities, Inc., East Kentucky Power Co-operative, Inc.,

Indianapolis Power & Light Company and defendant). De-

fendant would be deprived of some $150,000,000 power

sales to pool members and would have to purchase ap-

proximately $40,000,000 of replacement energy from

neighboring utilities. The financial losses occasioned by

such a deferral of in-service dates would have a substantial

adverse effect on defendant’s customers and there is no

public benefit to be realized from such a shutdown. De-

fendant proposed that, in view of the uncertainties as to

the workability of existing sludge disposal or treatment

systems, its Gibson Station Units #3 and #4 be used as

test facilities to develop a commercially workable and ac-

ceptable technology to produce a commercially salable end-

product instead of sludge and one which could be safely

stored or disposed of in case the market for the end-product

should become glutted or otherwise unable to handle addi-

tional supply. If such system can be developed, the public

interest will be advanced by having a useful end-product

instead of another dump and the system can serve as a

prototype for future coal-fired generating stations. A rea-

sonable timetable for compliance on this basis is as follows:

Event Months

After

Order

Test Module

Start Specification

Specification for bids 4

Bidders response 7

Award of contract 10

Procure and install equipment 34

Test and evaluation complete 48

Full Scale

Specification for bids 47

Bidders response 48

Contract award 50

Construction, installati and

start up of full scale scrubbers for

Gibson Units #3 and #4 83

This timetable contemplates that Gibson Station Units

#3 and #4 will be in operation during the above periods

and that the sulfur dioxide removal system will be phased

in at the dates shown. Pending final operation of the com-

plete sulfur dioxide removal systems, defendant will be

required to monitor continuously ground level concentra-

tions and to take all steps necessary to keep the operation

in compliance with the primary nationa! ambient air quality

standards promulgated under the Clean Air Act. A com-

plete shutdown of Gibson Station Units #3 and #4 until

defendant can make them comply with Environmental

Protection Agency's New-Source Performance Standards

is not in the interest of the public in the State of Indiana

dependent on defendant for electric utility service. Unit

#2 at the Gibson Station commenced commercial opera-

tion on April 15, 1975, and Unit #1 commenced commer-

cial operation on May 3, 1976.

A51

The Court has jurisdiction of the parties and subject

matter of the action, 28 U.S.C. § 1345 and § 113(b) of the

Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. § 1857c-8(b)).

The plaintiff has failed to prove all of the alleged

facts of each of the essential legal elements of the second

amended complaint by a preponderance of all of the evi-

dence.

Environmental Protection Agency’s New-Source Per-

formance Standards which are sought to be enforced in

this action are the standards applicable to sulfur dioxide

emissions from coal-fired steam generators. Such regula-

tions were the subject of judicial review pursuant to the

terms of the Clean Air Act and on that review were de-

termined to be defective for failure to consider the counter-

environmental effects of the process relied upon to sup-

port the prescribed standards; they were, therefore, re-

manded to Environmental Protection Agency for further

proceedings. No final Agency action has been taken to

comply with the remand order and there is no valid reg-

ulation in effect to be enforced. Essex Chemical Corpora-

tion vs. Ruckelshaus [5 ERC 1820] (D.C. Cir. 1973), Cause

No. 72-1079, 486 F.2d 427, cert. den. subnom. Appalachian

Power Co. v. Environmental Protection Agency (1974), 416

U.S. 969 [6 ERC 1512].

Since Environmental Protection Agency has never

taken into account, or made any determination as to, the

costs of compliance with its sulfur dioxide new source

performance standards by use of low sulfur coal, burning

such coal does not constitute a “system of emission reduc-

tion which (taking into account the cost of achieving such

reduction) the Administrator [has] determine[d] [to be]

adequately demonstrated,” as required by § 111(a)(1) of

the Clean Air Act.

A52

Although burning low sulfur coal may be regarded

as a method of compliance to be used at the option of the

owner or operator of a new source, it is not a method of

compliance which may be lawfully required in any case

in which the costs of compliance by its use substantially

exceed the cost of lime or limestone scrubbing, because the

latter system of emission control is the only one Environ-

mental Protection Agency has determined to be adequately

demonstrated, taking into account the cost, as required by

§.111(a) (1) of the Clean Air Act.

Gibson Units #3 and #4 are, therefore, among the

sources referred to by the Essex court as “those coal-fired

steam generator plants which must use a lime slurry scrub-

bing system as the only means of achieving the standards”

(486 F.2d 441.) Accordingly, Gibson Units #3 and #4

may not be subjected to enforcement of any remnant of

the new source performance standard for sulfur dioxide

which survived Essex.

If and when Environmental Protection Agency does

take final action to respond to the reviewing court’s re-

mand order, the date of publication of the proposed regu-

lation within the meaning of § 111 (a) (2) of the Clean

Air Act will be no earlier than September 10, 1975, the date

of Environmental Protection Agency’s proposed response

to the reviewing court’s remand order, and the final sulfur

dioxide New-Source Performance Standard will be ap-

plicable to stationary sources, the construction or modifi-

cation of which was started after that date. 40 F.R. 42045.

No final response has been published or submitted to that

court and Environmental Protection Agency has taken no

final position on what, if any, methods are available to

dispose of the sludge resulting from lime or limestone

slurry scrubbing systems without being exorbitantly costly

in a economic or environmental way so as to meet the re-

A53

quirements of § 111 (a) (1) of the Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C.

§ 1857c).

Under § 111 of the Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. § 1857c)

the “new source” controlled by the New-Source Perform-

ance Standards is for purposes here pertincnt the entire

steam electric power plant rather than the individual steam

boilers or turbo-generator units in such plant. Environ-

mental Protection Agency’s regulations at 40 C.F.R.

§ 60.2(d), (e), (g) and (i) in defining the “new source”

to be the specific piece of apparatus are invalid as con-

trary to the Clean Air Act.

Defendant’s Gibson Generating Station, including gen-

erating Units #1, #2, #3 and #4, does not constitute

a “new source” subject to § 111 of the Clean Air Act (42

U.S.C. § 1857c) or the Environmental Protection Agency

regulations sought to be enforced in this action.

Should there be some post trial action of the Environ-

mental Protection Agency that is legally accepted that

would warrant the Appellate Court’s finding that defen-

dant would be in violation of § 111(e) of the Clean Air

Act (42 U.S.C. § 1857c) and/or should an Appellate Court

otherwise conclude that defendant is in violation of § 111(e)

of the Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. § 1857c) then this Court

further concludes as follows:

A) In light of Environmental Protection Agency’s

failure to take any final administrative action on the ques-

tion of how to solve the counterenvironmental effects of

the sludge produced by scrubbers used as flue gas desulfur-

ization (“F.G.D.”) equipment and of the fact that such

scrubbers were the only F.G.D. equipment quoted in re-

sponse to defendant’s invitation for bids on compliance

apparatus, and wf the great expense of such equipment

which would be wasted if it could not be used because of

25⁴

such counter - environmental effects, defendant’s failure to

commit such expenditures for equipment not shown to be

environmentally acceptable constituted g tion in good

faith.

B) Environmental Protection Agency’s delay in tak-

ing final administrative action on the response to the re-

mand order of the reviewing court in Cause No. 72-1079

in the United States Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia is unreasonable and has left in doubt just what

will be the final New-Source Performance Standards ap-

plicable to sulfur dioxide emissions from coal-fired steam

generators.

C) Any order against defendant requiring compliance

with Environmental Protection Agency’s New-Source Per-

formance Standards applicable to sulfur dioxide emissions

from coal-fired steam generators should be conditioned to

provide defendant a reasonable period for compliance after

Environmental Protection Agency takes final administra-

tive action on the question of how to solve the counteren-

vironmental effects of the sludge produced by F. C. D. equip-

ment.

D) Operation of defendant’s Gibson Station in com-

pliance with the national ambient air quality primary

standards will protect the public health from the adverse

effects of sulfur dioxide with an adequate margin of safety.

E) Defendant’s proposed compliance schedule as de-

scribed in the findings is reasonable and should be em-

bodied in a compliance order which shall permit defen-

dant to operate Gibson Station Units #3 and #4 so long

as defendant is proceeding in good faith to meet such com-

pliance schedule and so long as such operations are con-

ducted in compliance with the national ambient air quality

standards under the Clean Air Act.

A55

The action is being prosecuted upon a precise theory

and the Court does not conclude upon whether or not de-

fendant is about to violate some other State or Federal

statute or regulation, or the common law of the State of

Indiana. The statute in question was conceived in the era

of the use of natural gas and oil for fuel, which fuels are

now and for the foreseeable future are and will be in short

supply. Industry consequently is requiring more coal and

the demand reduces the supply of low sulfur coal. Plain-

tiff has in effect left it up to the ingenuity of the industry

to develop a practical way to use high sulfur coal. It

appears that industry has and defendant is illing to and

ready to experiment for improvement in the use of high

sulfur coal and defendant should not be confined to the

unproven expensive experiments of others in the industry.

The law is with the defendant and against the plain-

tiff.

The defendant is entitled to a judgment of dismissal

of the action with prejudice.

JUDGMENT

It is therefore ADJUDGED and DECREED that the

plaintiff take nothing by this action and the action be and

is hereby DISMISSED with prejudice.

A56

APPENDIX I

Opinion of the District Court in City of Hamilton

v. Gardebring

(Filed May 26, 1981)

Civil No. C-1-79-552

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

CITY OF HAMILTON,

Plaintiff,

V.

SANDRA S. GARDEBRING, et al.,

Defendants.

FINDINGS OF FACT,

OPINION AND

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

This matter is before the Court following presentation

of testimony and evidence on one issue in the above en-

titled case. Pursuant to Rule 42(b) of the Federal Rules

of Cvil Procedure the Court severed the question of

when construction commenced on an installation of plain-

tiff known as Boiler No. 9. This case involves a question

of compliance by plaintiff with the Clean Air Act, 42

U.S.C. 87401-7642.

In accordance with Rule 52 of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, the Court does submit herewith its Find-

ings of Fact, Opinion and Conclusions of Law on this issue

alone. Determination of all other issues herein will await

the presentation of evidence thereon.

A57

I

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Plaintiff the City of Hamilton (Hamilton) is a mu-

nicipal corporation located in Butler County, Ohio. It op-

erates a municipal electric plant that generates electricity

for distribution and sale. Defendant, the United States En-

vironmental Protection Agency (EPA) is the agency that

administers the Clean Act.

2. In 1967 Hamilton foresaw a need for additional

electric generating capacity. It employed engineers to

make study of the necessary improvements. In 1969 a

report of such engineers was submitted recommending

that the city go forward with an expansion program. The

report recommended a two phase expansion. Phase One

involved the removal of four old boilers and a smoke-

stack, installation of a gas turbine, and the conversion

of a coal boiler. Phase One was undertaken and com-

pleted. It added generating capacity of sixteen megowatts

[sic] to the plant. It is undisputed that Phase One was

completed prior to August 17, 1971. The gas turbine was

designed for use either in contributing to the base load

or for use at times of peak capacity. When used in the

latter mode it could be brought on line faster but less

efficiently.

3. In January of 1971 Hamilton authorized the prepa-

ration of plans and specifications for Phase Two. This

improvement inciuded the design and installation of Boiler

No. 9, the subject of the dispute before the Court.

In May of 1971 a rate study authorized in November

of 1970 for purposes of paying for the improvement was

completed and an ordinance was passed in June of 1971

to adopt new rates. On June 16, 1971, Hamilton solicited

bids for the construction and installation of Boiler No. 9.

On July 22, 1971 such bids were opened.

A58

In July of 1971 the engineers were paid $80,000.00

and the City Manager was authorized to enter into an

agreement with such engineer to perform engineering

services for the implementation of Phase Two. At the

same time counsel were retained to oversee the issuance of

revenue bonds for the funding of Phase Two.

On September 17, 1971, a Letter of Intent was sent by

Hamilton to Combustion Engineering, Inc. indicating an in-

tent to enter into a contract for the construction of Boiler

No. 9. A contract was entered into on November 3, 1971.

The Charter of the City of Hamilton requires that there

be funds on hand before the city may obligate itself on

a contract and until November 17, 1971, when revenue

bonds were sold, such funds were not on hand.

4. On August 17, 1971, the Administrator of the EPA

published in the Federal Register proposed standards for

the performance of new stationary sources. 36 Fed. Reg.

15704. On December 23, 1971, the standards of performance

for new source fossil fuel fired steam generators became

final. 36 Fed. Reg. 24877. Both the boilers in Phase

One and Boiler No. 9 are fossil fuel fired steam generators.

5. While plaintiff at all times contemplated the ulti-

mate improvement of its electric generating facility to re-

quire both Phase One and Phase Two, the installation of

improvements under Ph se One were self-contained in

that they did not depend upon the installation of Boiler No.

9 to operate. For the period beginning August, 1971, when

Phase One was completed, and June, 1975, when Boiler No.

9 was completed, the units of Phase One did in fact operate

separate and apart frera Boiler No. 9.

6. On August 17, 1971, Boiler No. 9 was neither under

construction nor the subject of a binding contract for

construction.

A59

II.

OPINION

The question presented to the Court in this matter is

identical to the question decided by The Honorable John

Manos, Judge of the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Ohio, in the case of United States of

America v. City of Painesville, 431 F. Supp. 496 (N.D.Ohio

1977). In the Painesville case Judge Manos found that a

contract for the boiler involved in the suit was entered

into on July 28, 1972. He held that since the construction

had not been commenced on August 17, 1971, the boiler was

a “new source” as defined in 42 U.S. Code § 7411(a) (2).

The United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth

Circuit has recently considered the Painesville case and af-

firmed Judge Manos’s decision, United States of America

v. City of Painesville, ........ 8 (6th Cir. March 26,

1981). At page six of the Slip Opinion the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit made the following

statement:

The statute [42 U.S.C. 7411 (a) (2)] unambiguously

establishes the benchmark for determining which

sources of a particular pollutant are new sources.... A

source whose construction commenced after such pub-

lication [August 17, 1971] is subject to the new source

standards whatever they might be or become

Based upon this holding and Finding of Fact 6, this

Court must now find that Boiler No. 9 was a “new source”

and subject to the new source standards of the EPA.

A60

III.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

A. This Court has jurisdiction in accordance with

28 U.S.C. §1331.

B. A boiler, the construction or modification of which

has been commenced after August 17, 1971, is a “new

source” and subject to the performance standards proposed

by the Environmental Protection Agency on that date.

United States of America v. City of Painesville, , F. 2d

— (8th Cir. 1981).

C. The activities of Hamilton prior to August 17, 1971

did not constitute construction or modification of Boiler

No. 9.

D. Plaintiff's prayer for an injunction prohibiting any

enforcement action against the City of Hamilton for failure

to operate Boiler No. 9 in compliance with new source

performance standards for sulfur dioxide should be and is

hereby DENIED.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

uon

No, 81-164

7

Cite. Supreme ©

tire.

SEP LE 981

OcrToBER TERM, 1980

Crry oF PAINESVILLE, OHIO, PETITIONER

v. | os

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIROUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

Rex E. LEE

Solicitor General

CaROL E. DINKINS

Assistant Attorney General

ROBERT L. KLARQUIST

LAURA FROSSARD

Attorneys

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

(202) 683-2217

Ron M. PERRY

General Counsel

Topp M. JosEPH

EARL SALo N

Attorney

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a district court must hold an eviden-

tiary hearing before enjoining a municipal electrical

generation plant to operate its boiler in conformity

with new sources performance standards promulgated

pursuant to Section 111 of the Clean Air Act, 42

U.S.C. (Supp. III) 7411, when the court has found

the boiler subject to and in violation of the standards,

has allowed the parties an extended opportunity to

negotiate a compliance schedule, which did not lead to

an agreement, and where neither party requested an

evidentiary hearing.

2. Whether Section 111 of the Clean Air Act,

which provides that any stationary source of air pol-

lution built after the publication of an applicable pro-

posed or final new source performance standard must

be operated in conformity with the standard, should

be denied effect as to a particular standard in an

enforcement action, where a court reviewing the

standard in separate proceedings had remanded the

record to the EPA Administrator for further con-

sideration of an issue, witnout vacating or staying

the standard, and the standard was ultimately re-

affirmed by the Administrator and further judicial

review proceedings abandoned.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Opinions below 1

Jurisdiction 1

Statement 2

Argument 5

Conclusion ..... 14

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Appalachian Power Co. v. Costle, No. 78-1092

(D.C. Cir. Sept. 5, 1978) * 13

Asarco Inc. v. EPA, 578 F.2d 319 7

EPA v. National Crushed Stone Association. 449

/ er eae were 9

Ernst & Ernst v. Hochfelder, 425 U.S. 185 ............ 11

Essex Chemical Corp. v. Ruckelshaus, 486 F.2d 427,

cert. denied, 416 U.S. 9699 2, 3, 5, 11, 12, 13, 14

Harrison v. PPG Industries, Inc., 446 U.S. 578 2, 14

Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 32112 — 6, 7, 8, 9

Hormel v. Helvering, 312 U.S. 552 5

International Harvester Co. v. Ruckelshaus, 478

a CII Se ER ae ne 13

Kennecott Copper Corp. v. ‘EPA, 462 F.2d 846...... 13

National Asphalt Pavement Association v. Train,

+ ASRS EE Sa Se 7

Oljato Chapter of the Navajo Tribe v. Train, 515

/ ( es VO 13

Romero-Barcelo v. Brown, 643 F.2d 835, petition

for cert. pending, No. 80-1990 “‘ed May 26,

171717C7CCCCCCCCCCCG c — 10, 11

TVA V. Hill, 437 US. 168 ee 6, 7, 10

United States v. Great Northern Ry., 343 U.S.

„ 12

United States v. San Francisco, 310 U.S. 16 .......... 7

(in)

Statutes and regulations: Page

Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 7401 et seq.:

Section 111, 42 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 7411....2, 3, 7, 11

Section 111(a)(1), 42 U.S.C. (Supp. III)

7411(a) (1) 3

Section 111 (a) (2), 42 U.S.C. (Supp. III)

, SIT EN tee See 2, 11, 12

Section 111 (b) (1) (B), 42 U.S.C. (Supp. III)

7411 (b) () (3) 2

Section 307 (b), 42 USC. (Supp. III) 7607

%ͤñĩ 2 ̃ ͤÄT——ͤ %¼QP—nͤx . .Tͤ—Ä—2 9

Section 307 (b) (1), 42 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 7607

Far 14

Section 307 (b) (2), 42 U.S.C. (Supp. III)

rr 9

Clean Air Amendments of 1970, pub. L. No. 91

84888. 11„1!ł⸗łç„„% 2

Section 111, 42 U.S.C. 1857 e- 2

Clean Air Act Amendments of 1977, Pub. L. No.

e 2

r 14

40 C. F. R. 60.43 (1976) / 4

Miscellaneous:

116 Cong. Rec. 32918-32919 (1970) ** 7

36 Fed. Reg. (1971):

p. 15704 2

3 2

p. 24876 . 2

p. 24878 2

40 Fed. Reg. 42045 (1975) 3

42 Fed. Reg. (1977) :

Leventhal, Environmental Decisionmaking and the

Role of the Courts, 122 U. Pa. L. Rev. 509

c ——TPPTT—TVVPV—— 13

S. Rep. No. 1196, 91st Cong. 2d Sess. (1970) 8

Ju the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

No. 81-164

CITY OF PAINESVILLE, OHIO, PETITIONER

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

° FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App.

Al-A17) is reported at 644 F.2d 1186. The opinion

of the district court (Pet. App. A20-A29) is reported

at 431 F. Supp. 496. The June 18, 1978, order of

the district court (Pet. App. A30-A31) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered

on March 26, 1981. A petition for rehearing was

denied on April 29, 1981 (Pet. App. A18). The peti-

tion for a writ of certiorari was filed on July 27,

1981. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

STATEMENT

A. The sulfur dioxide standard of perſormance.—

Section 111(b)(1)(B) of the Clean Air Act, 42

U.S.C. (Supp. III) 7411 b) (1) (B), requires the

Administrator of the Environmental Protection

Agency (EPA) to establish maximum allowable

emission standards, called “standards of perfor-

mance,” for specific air pollutants emitted by new

sources. A new source is defined as a stationary

source constructed or modified after the standard of

performance for the pollutant the source emits has

been published in final or proposed form, whichever

comes sooner. Section 111(a)(2), 42 U.S.C. (Sup».

III) 7411 (a) (2); Harrison v. PPG Industries, Inc.,

446 U.S. 578 (1980).

On August 17, 1971, the standard of performance

for new fossil fuel-fired steam generators (i. e.,

boilers) was proposed by EPA at 36 Fed. Reg. 15704,

15705 (1971). It was promulgated on December 23,

1971, at 36 Fed. Reg. 24876, 24878, and codified

at 40 C.F.R. 60.40 et seg. The standard in-

cludes emission limits for the pollutants sulfur

dioxide, particulate matter and nitrogen oxides. The

standard was challenged by utility companies in

Essex Chemical Corp. v. Ruckelshaus, 486 F.2d 427

(D.C. Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 969 (1974).

In Essex (486 F.2d at 440), the court of ap-

peals held that the standard was achievable and

based on adequately demonstrated control systems,

References here are to the Act as amended by the Clean

Air Amendments of 1970, Pub. L. No. 91-604, 84 Stat. 1676 et

seq. Section 111 of the Clean Air Act was codified at 42 U.S.C.

1857c-6 until the enactment of Clean Air Act Amendments of

1977, Pub. L. No. 95-95, 91 Stat. 685 et seq., which amended

Section 111 in respects not material here and recodified Sec-

tion 111 at 42 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 7411.

as required by Section 111(a)(1) of the Clean Air

Act, 42 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 7411(a)(1). However,

the court remanded that record to the Administrator

for further consideration of only adverse environ-

mental effects of applying the standard to generating

plants that must use lime slurry scrubving systems to

achieve the emission limit for sulfur dioxide. These

scrubbing systems, though effective in lowering sulfur

dioxide emissions, produce a solid waste sludge, the

effects of which EPA had not sufficiently considered,

the court concluded. 486 F.2d at 441. The court ex-

plained that [wle only want to be sure in view of

the significant problem posed in the record that the

Administrator has acted reasonably in promulgating

the standard.” Ibid. n.51. The court did not vacate,

or invalidate any part of the standard. EPA recon-

sidered the adverse effects of scrubber sludge, and in

1975 published notice that it had determined that no

change in the emission limit for sulfur dioxide was

warranted. 40 Fed. Reg. 42045 (1975). After public

comment, the Agency confirmed that view. 42 Fed.

Reg. 61541 (1977).

B. Factual background.—On April 2, 1976, the

United States filed a complaint alleging that the City

of Painesville, Ohio, was operating a coal-fired, steam

generating boiler in Unit No. 5 of its electrical gen-

eration plant, in violation of Section 111 of the Clean

Air Act and the regulations promulgated thereunder

by emitting sulfur dioxide in excess of the 1.2 Ibs. per

million B.T.U. allowed by the standard for new coal-

fired steam generators (Pet. App. A3). The United

States sought to enjoin the petitioner to burn coal

with a sulfur content low enough to comply with the

standard, and to require the petitioner to submit a

plan to the court for achieving compliance with the

emission standard. Petitioner moved for summary

judgment, alleging that the only issue to be decided

4

by the court was whether construction of the boiler

began before August 17, 1971 (J.A. 31, 33). Peti-

tioner did not deny that if construction of the boiler

had begun after that date, the boiler was a new

source subject to the standard of performance, or

that the boiler would violate the standard (see J.A.

31-34; Pet. App. A4). The government filed a cross-

motion for summary judgment.

On January 19, 1977, the district court granted

the government’s motion for summary judg: ient

(Pet. App. A20-A29), finding that the boiier was a

new source subject to the emission standards of 40

C.F.R. 60.43 (1976), and that the operation of the

boiler violated the emission standard for sulfur

dioxide. The court ordered the parties to prepare a

plan for compliance “at an economically acceptable

level” (Pet. App 29).

One and one-half years later, on June 18, 1978, the

court issued an order permanently enjoining the City

from emitting sulfur dioxide from the boiler in excess

of the new source standard. The court statea that it

had ordered this injvnction only after “lengthy and

thorough discussions * * * between the parties, under

the court’s supervision” had failed to produce “an ac-

ceptable plan by which Unit 5 could operate at an

acceptable cost and comply with the emission stand-

ards established by 40 C.F.R. § 60.43” (Pet. App.

A381). The court concluded that “further negotia-

tions are fruitless” (ibid.). Neither party requested

an evidentiary hearing or objected to the entry of

+he injunction without such a hearing.’ The district

2“J.A.” refers to the Joint Appendix filed in the court of

appeals.

Indeed, petitioner’s motion for summary judgment was

the only pleading ever filed by petitioner in the district

court prior to filing of its notice of appeal from the entry of

the! junction (see J. A. 1).

court, apparently acting sua sponte, stayed its order

pending appeal, and expiained that “[t]he court has

not given defendant a grace period in which to com-

ply with its order because he has simultaneously en-

tered a stay of its order” (Pet. App. A31 & n.).

On March 26, 1981, the court of appeais affirmed

(Pet. App. Al-A17), holding that the boiler was a

new source subject to the performance standard and

that the district court had not erred in issuirg the

injunction without an evidentiary hearing. It was on

this appeal that the City raised, for the first time, the

argument that the Esser litigation had invalidated

the standard of performance.

ARGUMENT

The decision below is correct and does not present

any issue warranting review by this Court.

1. Petitioner contends (Pet. 10-15) that the court

of appeals erred in holding that no evidentiary hear-

ing was required. Although the petitioner argued

in the court of appeals that the district court was

required to hold an evidentiary hearing prior to issu-

ing the injunction, petitioner never requested such a

hearing. Petitioner has not suggested that it was un-

fairly surprised by the district court’s action and the

district court’s order precludes any such assertion

(see Pet. App. A31). Having failed to raise the

issue in the district court, the City should be pre-

cluded from asserting it here as error. Hormel v.

Helvering, 312 U.S. 5&2, 556-557 (1941).

In any event, in the circumstances of this case, the

court of appeals correctly held that an evidentiary

hearing was not required prior to issuance of an in-

junction. The court of appeals properly recognized

that “the district court’s discretionary injunctive

6

powers were * * * tempered by its obligation to carry

out the congressional mandate contained in the Clean

Air Act” (Pet. App. Al16).

The principles underlying the decision below are

well established. As petitioner observes (Pet. 10-11),

in Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 321, 329-330

(1944), this Court held that Congress’ enactment of

a statutory prohibition does not impose “an absolute

duty“ upon a court hearing an enforcement action to

issue an immediate injunction barring violation of

the statute “under any and all circumstances.” How-

ever, in Hecht Co., the Court merely reversed a court

of appeals’ decision holding that the district court

had erred by exercising any measure of discretion

whatsoever when it refused to enjoin a violation of

the Emergency Price Control Act of 1942, upon find-

ing that the issuance of an injunction would be both

superfluous and an an empty formality. See TVA v.

Hill, 437 U.S. 153, 193-194 (1978). As the court of

appeals properly noticed, the Hecht Co. Court em-

phasized that “when a court is called upon to enforce

a federal statutory injunction, its reliance upon

the traditional practices of equity m

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Record and brief — City of Painesville v. United States · 454 U.S. 894 | Frix