brief for appellee — Secretary of Public Welfare of Pa. v. Institutionalized Juveniles

Supreme Court brief1979

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FOR ARGUMENT.

TIteh

IN THE MICRAEL ROBAK, JR_CLERE

SEP 19 978

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No. 77-1715

SECRETARY OF PUBLIC WELFARE

of Pennsylvania, et al.,

Appellants,

V.

INSTITUTIONALIZED JUVENILES in

Pennsylvania institutions for the mentally ill

and mentally retarded, et al.,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

BRIEF FOR APPELLEES

DAVID FERLEGER

2321 Sansom Street

Philadelphia, Pa. 19103

Counsel for Appellees

Washington, D.C. e CLB PUBLISHERS’ e LAW PRINTING CO. e (202) 393-06 2°

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES ........... iii

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .......... ENE A Ee REO ee ee 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ......ccccccccccccccccs 2

I. ORIGINAL PROCEEDING ............. 2

Il. PROCEDURAL HISTORY ON RE-

DEE Cddshcaakcadedauviacenapdbvhendeeussccs 7

Ill. THE HAVERFORD STATE HOSPITAL

PE -dentdddcinthninecsnaninecénecesed 9

IV. PLAINTIFFS COMMITTED UNDER

EEE Ska ndpdendatdwdacddcascccess 17

V. THE DISTRICT COURT’S' DECI-

SE: SUNGEUSUNESEEERSueseenesseetdscecesensce 18

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .....................5: 23

PE EE ES OS er en ree 33

I. Prior to Involuntary Indeterminate Mental

Institutionalization Upon Parental Applica-

tion, Young Persons Are Entitled to Substan-

tial Procedural Protections ...................+. 33

A. Institutionalization Results in Severe De-

privation of Liberty, Social Stigma, Self-

Stigmatization and Discrimination ........... 33

B. Liberty Interests Under the Fourteenth

Amendment Are Implicated by the Com-

mitment of Young Persons to Mental

DE icGbucbbskeeecadcsadustcocsevesss 42

C. The Constitutional Rights of Young Per-

sons in the Mental Institutionalization

Process Are Not Overcome by Parental

Application for Commitment ................ 52

D. Reliance Upon Psychiatrists and Other

Professionals to Authorize Commitment is

PEE ccdsnitaxenavsgnedeuvseenbeseecsd 66

(ii)

E. The Requisites of Due Process .............

F. Neither the State’s Statutes Nor Regula-

tions Affect the Unconstitutionality of

Commitment Without Hearing Before an

Impartial Tribunal, Counsel or Other

Trained Representative and Other

SEE <5 cc ddacadberidaesieicekens<oe

II. Indeterminate Confinement of Young Persons

in State-Licensed Institutions Constitutes

“State Action” Where the State Delegates to

Private Entities the Power to Deprive People

of Liberty and, Alternatively, Where Commit-

ment to Institutions in Pennsylvania Is a

Power Traditionally Exclusively Reserved to

I os dterkek us kesddeed ene deedisdcesee

A. “State Action’’ Is Present Where the State

Delegates to Private Entities a Power Not

Possessed by the State, the Power to

Deprive Persons of Liberty Without Min-

imal Due Process Procedural Protec-

BD ovndibhcucsbddoncdsabeeurctre reve vces

B. “State Action” Is Present Where Mental

Commitment Is a Power Traditionally

Exclusively Reserved to the State in

PE dnnuwisebseudsiaudcadesesceese

III. The District Court Did Not Abuse Its

Discretion In Certifying Plaintiff Subclasses

EEE ee ee

Bi, Fe Eo ndvcuccndeveceases

ee ee enen

IV. The District Court Did Not Err in Requiring

the Defendants to Assure that Young Persons

Presently Committed Receive Constitutional

State Procedures to Determine Whether They

Are Mentally Disabled and in Need of

EEE, Sccecoevisscudeaseduceseséees

CET ee ccvescnvavensocncndecdectencvesese

te mr Ne aren cll ate

nea

(iii)

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

A.L. v. G.R.H., 325 N.E.2d 501 (Ind. App.

GOVE cvnddnccepesdbaddedeceasecsecoosocecees 65

Addington v. Texas, No. 77-5992 (S.Ct.) ........... 84

Anderson v. Martin, 375 U.S. 399 (1964) ........ 93,101

Anderson v. Solomon, 315 F.Supp. 1192 (D. Md.

SPUR ave ceusesdecdueeccoveseceeecoeececeees 104

Argersinger v. Hamlin, 407 U.S. 25 (1972) .......... 80

Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134 (1974) ............ 82

Babcock v. Fisk, 327 Mich. 72 (1950) .............. 48

Barry v. Hall, 98 F.2d 222 (D.C. Cir. 1938) ....... 34,43

Baxstrom v. Herold, 383 U.S. 197 (1966) ....23,42,70,75

Bell v. Wayne County, 386 F.Supp. 1085 (E.D.

BEIOM. FOPE) cwccccccccccccescccccssccvccecees 42

Bellotti v. Baird, 428 U.S. 132 (1976) ....... 27,61,63,94

Breed v. Jones, 421 U.S. 519 (1975) ........... 25,49,50

Buck v. Bell, 274 U.S. 200 (1927) .........eeeeeeeee 37

Bykofsky v. Borough of Middletown, 401

F.Supp. 1242 (M.D. Pa. 1975), cert. den.,

—— U.S. —— (1976) «0. cece e reece eeeeeeeneeees 48

Cafeteria Workers Union v. McElroy, 367 U.S.

SED 66846 cau kids cdeccsawicdeevoscecs coe 74

Carey v. Population Services International, 431

ees UTED odeddedsodsuuasecusswevese 24,49 ,63

Carpenter v. Davis, 424 F.2d 257 (St: Cir. 1970) ....105

Chaloner v. Sherman, 242 U.S. 455 (1917) ........ 23,43

Cae Ge, Be Oe GEE ce secwenccesscvceee 96

Clarke v. Clarke, 178 U.S. 186 (1900) .............. 65

Commonwealth v. Meredith, 14 Wkly Notes

a. Set. Be ee SD denne co eenbecncceses 100

(iv)

Commonwealth v. Spink, 137 Pa. 255 (1890) ........ 97

Comm. ex rel. Draper v. Kirkbride, 3 Brewst.

S05 CP. FR. FEED -cadedecdslpentvscecccess 100

Comm. ex rel. Haskell v. Kirkbride, 3 Brewst.

$06 (C.P. Pilla. 1960) cccccccvcecesccccccccces 99

Comm. ex.rel. Hembold v. Kirkbride, 11 Phila.

OOF CED . Gaerne cb dvcenpecqvensncengeecescecs 98

Comm. ex rel. Heston v. Heston, 98 A.2d 477,

173 Pu.Saper. 260 (1953) .cccccdcccccccsccccces 48

Comm. ex rel. Nyce v. Kirkbride, 2 Brewst.

et ee TTT TT 97,99

Comm. ex rel. Stewart v. Kirkbride, 7 Phila. 8,

BS SUED, GE als GED <Sedetbcccccvesccics 96,97

Congress of Ry. Unions v. Hodgson, 326 F.Supp.

th rere) tery Ore Te Pe errr ee 107

Cornwell v. State Board of Education, 314

F.Supp. 340 (D. Md. 1969), aff'd, 428 F.2d

471 (8th Cir. 1970), cert. den., 400 U.S. 942

CRUE. 9 dndndeeddbcnnedsetancceondéeeceseseves 48

Covington v. Harris, 419 F.2d 617 (D.C. Cir. 1969) .. 85

Danforth v. Christian, 351 F.Supp. 287 (W.D.

DER, FOPED ced ocgedeesesedwepwhowensccacocccce 107

Davidson v. Fry, 11 Lanc. L. Rev. 357 (C.P.

RG, TEE 60 cv swencessusvecescatasctuccescese 100

Davy v. Sullivan, 354 F.Supp. 1320 (M.D. Ala.

SED 9 6b s6¥is te eckabebaecicvcesCeneccnecsees 104

Dexter v. Hall, 82 U.S. 9 (1872) .........2eeeeees 23,43

Dixon v. Attorney General of the Common-

wealth of Pennsylvania, 325 F.Supp. 966

CREE FR. TRVED cewctccsccccsecesesosccccss 43,84

Dixon v. Weinberger, 405 F.Supp. 974 (D. D.C.

EPP EERE er er er Pere | PT PTO TET TT Eee 85

Doremus v. Farrell, 407 F. Supp. 509 (D. Neb.

Peciucbscenunddnntes causnnceecanetiecoscescens 43

a :

-—e

(v)

Ellis v. Massenberg, 126 N.C. 129, 35 S.E. 240

GE: | hGS.60inp 00 che dbhecdncs sdAcendseseceoeds 48

Erznoznik v. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S.

EE Wh due ddd ccducecddocdésiverecosecs 24,49

Flagg Brothers, Inc. v. Brooks, 98 S.Ct. 1729

PEE Cehbse ob bce ddde delet ss andestecce 93,95,101

Frazier v. Levi, 440 S.W.2d 393 (Civil App. Tex.

SE bs whet ob hehe bub uses Cees ec oe 044s60s , 48

Gallegos v. Colorado, 370 U.S. 49 (1962) ......... 49,81

Gary W. v. Louisiana, 437 F.Supp. 1209 (E.D.

Bh Fe BEN650E56 6h een dda derceesesiccsccers 51

Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103 (1975) ..... 32,82,109,110

Gesicki v. Oswald, 336 F.Supp. 371 (S.D.N.Y.

DOVER. £60deeccdndduveun seseuh bond uh eqns’ 104

Giacco v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S. 399 (1966) ...... 25,44

Gibson v. Berryhill, 411 U.S. 564 (1973) ............. 82

Ginsberg v. New York, 390 U.S. 629 (1968) ..... 46,50,63

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970) ........... 79,82

Goldy v. Beal, 429 F.Supp. 640 (M.D. Pa. 1976). .104,110

Gomez v. Miller, 341 F.Supp. 323 (S.D.N.Y.

1972), aff'd sub nom. Miller v. Gomez, 412

es ED tn Saeso-bdcunnbes @0ne60eecas 32,110

Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565 (1975) .....ccccccccsecs 49

Grannis v. Ordean, 234 U.S. 385 (1914) ............. 79

Greenwood v. United States, 350 U.S. 366 (1956) ..... 67

Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products

Sig: ee Ge Ne EE. cnddbs kes caves scceeéset 52

Gray v. Sanders, 372 U.S. 368 (1963) ........... 93,101

Halderman v. Pennhurst State School and

Hospital, 446 F.Supp. 1295 (E.D. Pa. 1977) .. 17,37,

38,39,67,85,86

Haley v. Ohio, 332 U.S. 596 (1948) ....... 49,50,60,81,89

(vi)

Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32 (1940) ............. 104

Hart v. Brown, 289 A.2d 385, 29 Conn. Sup.

SEB (197E) .~ nccccccccececsecdssbensenenaanene 48

Heryford v. Parker, 396 F.2d 393 (10th Cir. 1968) ...43,

50,59

Hinchman v. Richie, 4 Clark 184, 7 Pa. L. J. 268,

Brightly N.P. 143 (Phila. 1847) ............... 96,97

Hinchman v. Richie, Brightly N.P. 180 (C.P.

Bucks Ciy. 1967) .cccopeccceccnpasaesesicsuses 97

Holtsclaw v. Mercer, 145 F.2d 388 (D.C. Cir.

19OQ) .n.cccccccccesenceseuneunneseauenn 48

Horacek v. Exon, 354 F.Supp. 71 (D. Neb. 1973) ..39,65

Humphrey v. Cady, 405 U.S. 504 (1972) ....... 34,42,51

Illinois v. Allen, 397 U.S. 337 (1969) ............45. 82

In the Matter of Kenton, 5 Binn. 613 (1813) ........ 97

In re Ballay, 482 F.2d 648 (D.C. Cir. 1973) ....... 43,84

In re Barnard, 455 F.2d 1370 (D.C. Cir. 1971) ....43,82

‘In re Basso, 299 F.2d 933 (D.C. Cir. 1962) ...... ... 43

In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967) .....ccccccvccess passim

In re Henry G., 28 C.A. 2d 276, 104 C.R. 585

(1072) cccccccoccncédcbeeséuensensaennueneaas 53

In re John S., 135 Cal. Rptr. 893 (1977), vacated

as moot, 66 Cal.App.3d 343 (1977) ...........-. 94

In re Linco!n, | Brewst. 392 (C.P. 1867) ............ 97

In re Long, 25 N.Ca.App. 702, 214 S.E.2d 626

(1DTS) cccoccceescenhéenéesenueueneeeennennns 66

In re Roger S., 141 Cal. Rptr. 298, 569 P.2d

12368 (3.C2.Cal. B977) ccccccccceccevcsecudssets 66

In re Smith, 295 A.2d 238, 16 Md.App. 209 (1972) .. 48

In re Stuart, 114 F.2d 825 (D.C. Cir. 1940) ......... 48

In re Weaver, 116 Pa. 225, 9 A. 323 (1887) ......... 97

In re Wellman, 3 Kan.App. 100, 45 P. 726 (1896) .... 80

(vii)

In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1969) ...... 25,49,50,83,84

Ingraham v. Wright, 430 U.S. 651 (1977) ........ 24,49

Insurance Company v. Bangs, 103 U.S. 435

SD Gheaasesesbeceeadcscccccccccccccccces 65

J.L. v. Parham, 412 F.Supp. 112(M.D. Ga. 1976),

prob. juris. noted, 431 U.S. 936 (1977) ....... 66,86

Jackson v. Indiana, 406 U.S. 715 (1972) ......... 42,82

Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., 419 U.S.

DPE S66000Ge60dccceccocceccees 93,95,101,102

Jehovah's Witnesses in State of Washington v.

King County Hospital Unit No. | (Harbor-

view), 278 F.Supp. 488 (W.D. Wash. 1967),

aff'd, 390 U.S. 598 (1968), rehearing den.,

Se ED nce cede cecnceegqncvawcesd 62,65

Jones v. Milwaukee County, 20 F.R.Serv.2d

8 GG et 105

Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458 (1938) ........... 60,81

Kendall v. True, 391 F.Supp. 413 (W.D. Ky.

PED muleeddocceceséeeccecFoccncacece 43,107,110

Kent v. United States, 383 U.S. 541 (1966) ......... 49

Kent v. United States, 401 F.2d 408 (D.C. Cir.

DT SEGRRDEGEESGEORDS SESEKOCeC ENCES cocececces 5

Kidd v. Schmidt, 399 F.Supp. 301 (E.D. Wis. 1975). 51,66

Kremens v. Bartley, 431 U.S. 119 (1977) ............. 6

Lake v. Cameron, 364 F.2d 657 (D.C. Cir. 1966) .... 85

Langan v. Langan, 150 F.2d 979 (D.C. Cir. 1945) ... 48

Lessard v. Schmidt, 349 F.Supp. 1078 (E.D.

Wis. 1972), vacated and remanded, 414 U.S.

473 (1974), on remand, 379 F.Supp. 1376

E.D. Wis. 1974), vacated and remanded,

421 U.S. 957 (1975), on remand, 413 F.Supp.

1318 (E.D. Wis. 1976) ....... 06. c sec eeeee 40,42,82

( viii)

Logan v. Arafeh, 356 F.Supp. 1265 (D.Conn.

1972), aff'd mem. sub nom., Briggs v. Arafeh,

GBS GE TR Gee che Gece cwtsovepcucseccocess 44

Lynch v. Baxley, 386 F.Supp. 378 (M.D. Ala. 1974) .42,

83,84

M’Elroy’s Case, 6 W. & S. 452 (C.P. Phila. 1843) .... 95

M’Elroy’s Estate, 6 W. & OC k6éecevecees 100

Madden’s Lunacy, 13 D.R. 658, 12 Luz. L. Reg.

BED. TE CURSED cmc yvccccdccccccccccgpeccccsoce 98

Marsden v. Commonwealth, 227 N.E.2d | (Mass.

EE Kusdeusebusedcansaesbandekesensesecece 65

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) ..... 75,84,86

McGinnis v. Comm. ex rel. McGinnis, 74 Pa.

EEE dons de 6ka Ceceeesbiendneeatnde cece 100

McKeiver v. Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528 (1971) ...25,49

McNeil v. Director, Patuxent Institution, 407

CD SUPT Cade concéncccdsacencdecccecs 42,82

Meisel v. Kremens, 405 F.Supp. 1253 (E.D. Pa.

SOUED ceckcbeccdudens cdentvcowessanenecesses 104

Metz’s Case, 5 Pa. Dist. Rep. 132 (C.P. Dauphin

Ge. BEEP coccnecnconstboseauedaasoeccccecess 98

Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923) .......... 24,46

Minnesota ex rel. Pearson v. Probate Court of

Ramsey County, 309 U.S. 270 (1940) ........... 43

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) ........... 60

Moose Lodge No. 107 v. Irvis, 407 U.S. 163 (1972) .. 93

Mullane v. Central Hanover Trust Co., 339 U.S.

nck kcehoddncdeeseenceveesseeor cease: 79

New York State Association for Retarded

Children v. Rockefeller, 357 F.Supp. 752

(E.D.N.Y. 1973), modified, No. 72-C-356/

357 (E.D.N.Y., May 23, 1973), 393 F.Supp.

CE MOU Codd enscccesedeéddecconcees 39

(ix)

Newton v. Burgin, 363 F.Supp. 782 (W.D. N.Ca.

1973), aff'd, 414 U.S. 1139 (1974) ............... 48

Nixon v. Condon, 286 U.S. 73 (1932) ............. 102

Norwood v. Harrison, 413 U.S. 455 (1973) ...... 93,101

O’Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563 (1975) 23,42,67,85

Paul v. Davis, 424 U.S. 693 (1976) ...........0eeee 51

Pennsylvania Association fc. Retarded Children

v. Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, 343

F.Supp. 279 (E.D.Pa. 1972) .....ccccccecees 40,106

People ex rel. O’Connell v. Turner, 55 Ili. 280

GED cesencceeccnsnsdecvesscesecedsececcess 69

People ex rel. Wallace v. Labrenz, 411 Ill. 618,

104 N.E.2d 769 (1952), cert. den., 344 U.S.

Be CESEED ccccccccccetsccesccccsseveescccececs 48

Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925) ...24,46

Planned Parenthood of Central Missouri v.

Danforth, 428 U.S. 52 (1976) ....6,27,61,62,63,70,94

Preiser v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 475 (1972) ...32,108,109,

110,111

Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158 (1944) ..... 46,63

Rafferty v. Rainey, 292 F.Supp. 152 (E.D. Tenn.

SEED Soeccccdcnersestccseteteceescecousesced 48

Rakes v. Coleman, 318 F.Supp. 181 (E.D. Va. 1970) 104,

107

Republican College Council of Pennsylvania v.

Winner, 357 F.Supp. 739 (E.D. Pa. 1973) ....... 48

Respublica v. Keppele, 2 U.S. 197 (1793) (Pa.

PD a cccc ccd ctcsocnocoscssecocsovccescesé 64

Roberts v. Ohio Casualty Insurance Co., 256

PE OED oeccccoccccsucecsnwesoces 3

Ruby v. Massey, 452 F. Supp. 361 (D. Conn.

et indcnnnsnmnnnitiimnitind lin inddimdaribeadienned 65

Samuel v. University of Pittsburgh, 56 F.R.D.

SE ED nucicecdscscancsevecaseccs 106

Sarzen v. Gaughan, 489 F.2d 1076 (Ist Cir. 1973) ... 43

(x)

Saville v. Treadway, 404 F.Supp. 430 (M.D.

Teme. 1974) .ccccccvccccccccccccccsecescess 51,66

Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479 (1960) ............. 85

Specht v. Patterson, 386 U.S. 605 (1967) ... 23,42,44,70,

75,82,83

Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972) .........+45. 47

Sullivan v. Houston Independent School District,

307 F.Supp. 1328 (S.D.Tex. 1969) ............. 105

Suzuki v. Alba, 438 F.Supp. 1106 (D. Haw. 1977) ... 43

Suzuki v. Quisenberry, 411 F.Supp. 1113 (D.

GERD nwcnveccenccsvncwscesceciesecess 43,84

Tinker v. Des Moines Independent Community

School District, 393 U.S. 503 (1969) ............ 49

Township of Franklin v. The Pennsylvania State

Lunatic Hospital, 30 Pa. 522 (1858) ............. 99

United States v. Dunn, 268 U.S. 121 (1925) ......... 65

United States v. Equitable Trust Company of

New York, 283 U.S. 738 (1931) ...........00-- 65-66

United States v. Guest, 383 U.S. 745 (1966) ......... 93

United States v. United States Gypsum Co.,

353 UB. B66 CUSED ccccccececccccccecccccccses 52

Ware v. Estes, 328 F.Supp. 657 (N.D. Tex. 1971),

aff'd, 458 F.2d 1360 (Sth Cir. 1972), cert.

Gem. GES GE, Tee GSE ocbedescecncceseccccs 48

Washington v. Lee, 263 F.Supp. 327 (M.D. Ala.

1966), aff'd, 390 U.S. 333 (1968) ............ 104,107

Washington v. Texas, 388 U.S. 14 (1967) ........... 83

Welsch v. Likins, 373 F.Supp. 487 (D. Minn. 1974) .. 85

White v. Osborne, 251 N.©. 56, 110 S.E.2d 449

CRRGED cnceccccvccescsscadapeveqeswesedeste . 48

Wisconsin v. Constantineau, 400 U.S. 433 (1971) .... 51

Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1971) ...... 24,46,47

Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539 (1973) .32,108,109,110

Wyatt v. Aderholt, 358 F.Supp. 1382 (M.D. Ala.

TOTS) ccccccccccccccnccccecccbessousevecseces 88

(xi)

Wyatt v. Stickney, 325 F.Supp. 781 (M.D. Ala.

1971), 334 F.Supp. 1341 (M.D. Ala. 1971),

344 F.Supp. 373 and 387 (M.D. Ala. 1972),

aff'd suo nom. Wyatt v. Aderholt, 503 F.2d

EE en Ghiucecdddesecetceddece 39

Federal Constitutional Provisions and Statutes:

Amendment XIV, Constitution of the United

PE Web dadcuskseeeessceecccécceedeesees passim

Ps ee , OD ccm ccccccsccecncete 3

ee ee SE I ED ccnecccccvecocenccecs 2,6

ee es Oe Ge UA DD co cccccicccecenccces 52

I EE ee hee a a 110

EE ee ee ee 3

EEE Wb bubnl ovaudesisbddcedeucnccndcs 3

Pennsylvania Constitutional Provisions and Statutes:

ee IE Winn ocnccdedcéocnesbencees 96

I, ot hn cote enneedadiuns 96

I i i i 96

EE ne 96

Act of 13 June 1836, P.L. 592, 593, 595, 605 ...... 96,97

RS ee ill, BD kcctcccccccccccscee 100

Pay I ED bcc dcccccccccccéseccess 98

RAR GE Br els Ob diecccedicccdécccccds 98

Act of 20 April 1869, P.L. 79-80 .................. 99

a I EE. eidikdcensccccacécoces 98

RES ES Be PE be bccccccdccsccccces 98

ee SE EE eb bbb dedicsowcovucdecces 98

Ast of 3 Same 0603; PL. BITS? .. cc cccccccccsecs 99

Act of 15 June 1897, P.L. 162-163 ........cccccces 100

(xii)

Act of 16 July 1897, P.L. 301 2.2... cece cree eeeeee 98

“Act of 15 May 1903, P.L. 448 ........cceeeeeeeeees 99

Act of 12 June 1913, P.L. 496 ..... cc cece eeeeeeees 99

Act of 25 July 1913, P.L. 1322 .....ceeeeeeeeeerees 99

Act of 16 July 1919, P.L. 987 .....ccceeeeeeeeeeees 99

Act of 27 April 1925, P.L. 338 ....eeeeeeeeeeeeeees 99

Act of 20 September 1961, P.L. 1527 ....--eeeeeees 98

50 P.S. §41 (1923) 20... cece cece cece creer eeeeeees 98

50 P.S. §§42, 51 (1923) «0... ceeeeeeceeeeneeeeeeees 98

50 P.S. §50 (1925) 21... cece eeeeeeeenerreeeeeeeeee 98

50 P.S. §1181 (1951) 2... cece cece eee e rere eeeeeeees $s

50 P.S. §4101 et seq. (1966) ......- cece eeeeeeee passim

50 P.S. §4102 (1966) ...... ec cece ee eeeeeeeeeeeeeees 3

50 P.S. §§4402, 4403 (1966) ......- cece eeeeees passim

50 P.S. §4404 (1966) 20... cc cece cece ee eeeeeeeeeees 17

Mental Health Act of 1951 .......eeeeeeeeeeceeees 18

Mental Health Procedures Act, 50 P.S. §7101

et seq. (1976) 2... cece cece eee eeeeeeeenece passim

Department of Public Welfare Regulations, Title

BED nc ccntedesececs sovencdssseessesooeve passim

Mental Health Procedures Act, 50 P.S. §7201

CITT cw cccusccccccccecsccccsscosacvedsycasesoceces 3

Other Authorities:

Alanen, The Family in the Pathogenesis of

Schizophrenia and Neurotic Disorders, 24

Acta Psychiatrica et Neurologica Scandina-

vica, Suppl. 189 (1966) .........eeeeeeeeeeeeees 53

American Bar Foundation (Brakel & Rock, eds.),

The Mentally Disabled and the Law (1971) ...... 79

American Psychiatric Association, Diagnostic

and Statistical Manual (2d ed. 1968) ............ 35

Barton, Institutional Neurosis (2d ed. 1966) ......... 34

(xiii)

Baumeister & Butterfield, Residential Facilities

for the Mentally Retarded (1970) ............... 37

Bazelon, Forward, Symposium: Mental Illness,

the Law and Civil Liberties, 13 Santa Clara

UE I ho neat a nine ide alia tn ae 71

Beck, Reliability of Psychiatric Diagnoses: A

Critique of Systematic Studies, 119 Amer. J.

of Psychiatry 210 (1962) ...........cccceccccees 68

Belknap, Human Problems of State Mental

SE EE nneddncnxcucsenetbadhsccbacas, 34

Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of England

yo ere ne eee 45,100

Bouliew, Do Institutions .Maintain Retarded

Behavior, 9 Mental Retardation 36 (1971) ....... 41

Braginsky, et al., Methods of Madness: The

Mental Hospital as a Last Resort (1969) ........ 40

Braginsky & Braginsky, Hansels and Gretels:

Studies of Children in Institutions for the

“Mentally Retarded” (1971) ............cccceeee 40

Chesler, Women and Madness (1972) .............. 68

Cohen, The Function of the Attorney and the

Commitment of the Mentally Ill, 44 Tex. L.

Se, SEE Gad GR ous O awd doh hEddsédkdd occ 89

Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare, NIMH,

Statistical Note 90, Utilization of Psychia-

tric Facilities by Persons Under 18 Years

of Age, United States, 1971

Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare, NIMH,

Statistical Note 138, Diagnostic Distribution

of Admissions to Inpatient Services of State

and County Mental Hospitals, United States,

UD nhkceducbudstiend i cdbtnvtidbus be oKse cate 35

Deutsch, The Mentally Ill in America (2d ed. 1949) 34,95

(xiv)

Douglas, Early Hospital Admissions and Later

Disturbances of Behavior and Learning, 17

Dev. Med. Child Neurol. 456 (1975) ............

Duehn, The Eifect of Practice Orientation on

Clinical Assessment, 46 Amer. J. of Ortho-

psychiatry EE éetuceceddddcuddebesds cess

Edelman, Inter-Therapist Diagnostic Reliability,

25 J. of Clinical Psychology 394 (1969) ..........

Edgerton, et al., Mental Retardation System,

in Hobbs, ed., Issues in the Classification of

Ge, Ts Gs UE Rede cdusocesecesuses

Edgerton, The Cloak of Competence: Stigma

in the Lives of the Mentally Retarded (1967) .....

Ellis, Volunteering Children: Parental Commitment

of Minors to Mental Institutions, 62 Cal. L. Rev.

ee 6 c0sy vesnedudasdindsignsaseeessbends 66,71

Ennis & Litwack, Psychiatry and the Presump-

tion of Expertise: Flipping Coins in the

Courtroom, 62 Calif. L. Rev. 693 (1974) ...... 67-68

Eyman, et al., Factors Determining Residential

Placement of Mentally Retarded Children,

76 Amer. J. of Mental Defic. 693 (1966) .........

Fleck, Some Basic Aspects of Family Pathology,

in Wolman, ed., Manual of Child Psycho-

SERN SENED oeccecéncseukuesinaces cevescs

Foster, et al., Expectancy and Halo Effects as

a Result of Artifically Induced Teacher Bias,

| Contemporary Educational Psychology 37

SUOUED a0ncssevcenconcmessecetweentacewsceses

Com, GORGES hve de ccckccewccussscccsc

Goffman, Stigma: Notes on the Management of

SGD GP GUUEED bceccceccdcancccccesccce

—_——~q o

(xv)

Goldberg & Werts, The Reliability of Clinicians’

Judgments: A Multi-Trait—Multi-Method

Approach, 30 J. of Consulting Psychology

PE CIEE hn eccdccecesecodevececeseszescececes 68

Gralicker, et al., A Study of Factors Influencing

Placement of Retarded Children in a State

Residential Institution, 69 Amer. J. of Mental

ER, Fa GEE “oS eseccdcccceceseesescecccccs 57

Gralnick, et al., “Mental Patients in Transition”

in Greenblatt, ed., Mental Patients in Tran-

| | PPPPPPPrrrrrerrrrrrrirrrrrs Peete Rr

Grob, Mental Institutions in America: Social

Policy to 1875 (1973) .....ccceeeeeeeeeceeecees 34

Grossman, ed., Manual on Terminology and

Classification in Mental Retardation (1973) ...... 72

Hagamen, Family Support Systems: Their Effect ;

on Long-Term Psychiatric Hospitalization

in Children, 16 J. Amer. Acad. Child Psy-

Ghlatry SB CISTI) .ccccccccccccccccctcccccccccs 56

Harris, Mental Illness, Due Process and Lawyers,

TS ABAD. GC cccccccesccseccecccccce 81,90

Hiday, Reformed Commitment Procedures: An

Empirical Study in the Courtroom, |! Law

and Soc’y Rev. 651 (1970) .........ccceeeeceees 84

Hobbs, The Futures of Children (1975) ....... 33,36,58

Justice, et al., Problems Reported by Parents of

Mentally Retarded Children—Who Helps?,

75 Amer. J. of Mental Defic. 685 (1971) ......... 57

Katz, Cole & Lowery, Studies of the Diagnostic

Process: The Influence of Symptom Percep-

tion, Past Experience and Ethnic Background

in Diagnostic Decisions, 125 Amer. J. of

Papebiatey SEF GIES ccccccccccccccccccccsscce 68

Katz, Goldstein and Dershowitz, Psychoanalysis,

Psychiatry and the Law (1967) ...........eeee8: 34

(xvi)

Kelly & Menolascino, Physicians’ Awareness

and Attitudes Toward the Retarded, 13

Mental Retardation 10 (1975) ..............055-

Kittrie, The Right to Be Different: Deviance and

SS DIP EEENED cvecoceeseccocccoecase

Klaber, Retardates in Residence: A Study of

Institutions (Project RD-1816-P, HEW-SRS,

Univ. of Hartford, State of Conn.) ........... 34,38

Kugel & Wolfensberger, eds., Changing Patterns

in Residential Services for the Mentally

ED Kove cecccuscceesecesdecscsccce

Laing & Esterson, Sanity, Madness and the

PEED batenscdussecensecessessscececose

LeBow, Evaluating the Seriousness of Ado-

lescent Adjustment Reactions, 2 Primary

SRE Sutceeensss dahtdbeteesdccceees

Lee & Temerlin, Social Class, Diagnosis and

Prognosis for Psychotherapy, in Psycho-

therapy: Theory, Research and Practice

CEPUEE ‘Seaseduecndéecessecddnsnans boneeeeseos«

Lidz, et al., Schizophrenia and the Family (1966) ....

Lidz, et al., The Intrafamilial Environment of

Schizophrenic Patients. II. Marital Schism

and Marital Skew, 114 Amer. J. of Psy-

ey SS ED. hd cncedunbeneséunedscuterces

Lindsey, Patient Inquiry Into Mental Hospitali-

zation: A Quantitative Analysis, 10 Ado-

ee ree

Livermore, Malmquist & Meehl, On the Justifi-

cations for Civil Commitment, 117 U. Pa. L.

Ps TRE SOc eudidenecnadusendascecececes

Memoirs of the Historical Society of Pennsyl-

WE 0600-606040665600000b00000beb0cbn0cseeus

53

41

(xvii)

Menolascino, Emotional Disturbance and Men-

tal Retardation, 70 Amer. J. of Mental Defic.

Se CE 0:06 000400 bb46K006eeeseenes ceneense 72

Mercer, Labeling the Mentally Retarded (1973) ..... 72

Morse, Crazy Behavior, Morals and Science:

An Analysis of Mental Health Law, 51 S.

Coe, Ge Gh, Bt EE. noc ceecesedcdenccned 67,70

Newberg on Class Actions (1977) .............005: 104

Nicholi, The Therapist-Patient Relationship, in

Nicholi, ed., The Harvard Guide to Modern

PE Cc concedes caskécecudseauevedecuct

Note, Developments in the Law—Civil Commit-

ment of the Mentally Ill, 87 Harv. L. Rev.

DEDD (IDPS) no ncccccccccccscccccescesees 34,51,80,83

Pasamanik, Divity & Lefton, Psychiatric Orien-

tation and Its Relation to Diagnosis and

Treatment in a Mental Hospital, 116 Amer.

5. of Papeiinteny TSF CHRGS) cccccccccscccccccces

Pennsylvania (Colony) Court of Chancery, The

Registrar's Book of Governor Keith’s Court

of Chancery of the Province of Pennsylvania

(CFR CONTEND 0006 bhehe0ccccsdsesadaceciccs

Quinton, Early Hospital Admissions and Later

Disturbances in Behavior: An Attempted

Replication of Douglas’ Findings, 18 Dev.

Med. Child Neurol. 447 (1976) ..............4..

Rabkin, Public Attitudes Toward Mental Illness:

A Review of the Literature, 10 Schizophrenia

De PUD 6660 ene eecceeesesoesccuteseces

Rosen, et al., The History of Mental Retardation:

CHEINES TRIS GIGS cece cece cstécesescccsese

Rosenhan, On Being Sane in Insane Places, 13

et Hs ED 0.64 sd dukes dadnscces

( xviii)

Rosenhan, The Contextual Nature of Psychia-

tric Diagnosis, 84 J. Abn. Psychology 462

SEE -skbnncnednsdSasessshdedbedtesseceues 69

Rosensweig, et al., A Study of the Reliability

of the Mental Status Examination, 117 Amer.

J. of Psychiatry 1102 (1961) ........eeeeeeeeeee 68

Roth, Dayley & Lerner, Into the Abyss: Psy-

chiatric Reliability and Emergency Commit-

ment Statutes, 13 Santa Clara Law. 400

SUG -Shecbuesnedeencse Gan Vbdbatedeésncesces 69

Rothman, The Discovery of the Asylum: Social

Order and Disorder in the New Republic

STE /erunindendudsckeeasutaseneeusdesdeecses 34

Scheff, Being Mentally Ill: A Sociological Theory

SD 9606565606060056000000 60nenSaCb OeC0C se 70

Schwartz & Schwartz, Reducing the Stigma of

Mental Illness, 38 Diseases of the Nervous

on cent ed concede dkastttuseeceee< 41

Severance & Gasstrom, Effects of the Label

“Mentally Retarded” on Causal Explanation

for Success and Failure Outcomes, 81 Am. J.

ff ff: of, rrr 40

Story, Commentaries on Equity Jurisprudence (1836) 95,

97

Szasz, Civil Liberties and the Mentally Ill, 9 Clev-

Se i SE a oo divencdpasccdénsecscsee 71

Teitelbaum & Ellis, The Liberty Interest of

Children: Due Process Rights and Their

Application, 12 Family Law Quar. 153 (Fail,

SD 5606506000066050es600eonsens 52,57 ,66,73,84

Tizard, The Role of Social Institutions in the

Causation, Prevention and Alleviation of

Mental Retardation, in Haywood, Social-

Cultural Aspects of Mentai Retardation

SEE: Shbeuhedenhetwasnesisceneseedekess coe 38

Turnbull & Turnbull, eds, Parents Speak Out:

Views from the Other Side of the Two-Way

ee ea ie oe he ee ude ci 73

(xix)

Vail, Dehumanization and the Institutional

CP GID he eesti ececiccccuasecascesccecess 34

Velt, Interpersonal Interactions Between Insti-

tutionalized Retarded Children and Their

Attendants, 80 Am. J. of Mental Defic. 535

errr rr rr errr Tr TTT Tee 38

Vogel & Bell, The Emotionally Disturbed Child

as the Family Scapegoat, in A Modern Intro-

duction to the Family (1968) ............0eee00. 55

Weeks & Mack, The Child, in Nicholi, ed., The

Harvard Guide to Modern Psychiatry (1978) ..... 53

Wigmore, Evidence (3d ed. 1940) ..........-ee eee 45

Wengler & Fletcher, The Effect of Legal Counsel

on Admissions to a State Mental Hospital:

A Confrontation of Professions, 10 J. of

Health & Human Behavior 66 (1968) ............ 84

Wilson, The Rights of Adolescents in the Mental

Health System (1978) ........sceeeeeeeeeeees 66,76

Wing & Brown, Institutionalization and Schizo-

BOOTED (IDFR) oc cccccccccccccccescccscccccces 34

Wohlman, Family Dynamics and Schizophrenia,

6 J. of Health and Human Behavior 147

rere rere TT TTTTTTte 53

Wolfensberger, The Origin and Nature of Our

Institutional Models, in Kugel & Wolfens-

berger, eds, Changing Patterns in Residential

Services for the Mentally Retarded (1969) ....... 37

Zander, Civil Commitment in Wisconsin: The

Impact of Lessard, 1976 Wis. L. Rev. 503 ....... 84

a

ee --

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No. 77-1715

SECRETARY OF PUBLIC WELFARE

of Pennsylvania, et al.,

Appellants,

v.

INSTITUTIONALIZED JUVENILES in

Pennsylvania institutions for the mentally ill

and mentally retarded, et al.,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

BRIEF FOR APPELLEES

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Mental institutionalization results in severe

deprivation of liberty, social stigma, self-stigmatiza-

tion and discrimination. Are young persons entitled to

substantial Fourteenth Amendment due process

procedural protections prior to involuntary indeter-

2

minate mental institutionalization upon parental

application? If so, what process is due?

2. With reference to state-licensed facilities, is “‘State

action” present for Fourteenth Amendment purposes where

the State delegates to private entities a power not possessed

by the State, the power to deprive persons of liberty without

minimal due process protections, and, alternatively, is

“State action” present where mental commitment in

Pennsylvania is a power traditionally exclusively reserved

to the state from the earliest colonial period continuously to

the present?

3. Did the District Court abuse its discretion in

certifying two plaintiff subclasses and a defendant

class, where each shares essential legal and factual

characteristics and where the requirements of Rule 23,

F. R. Civ. Pro., are met?

4. Did the District Court err in requiring the

defendants to assure that the plaintiff class members,

committed to institutions unconstitutic nally, receive

constitutional! state procedures in a state forum to

determine whether they are mentally disabled and in

need of institutionalization?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. Original Proceeding

On November 16, 1972, plaintiffs in this class action

filed their complaint against state officials' challenging

'The defendants included the Secretary of the Department of

Public Welfare which “has the power and duty to enforce” the

state mental health law, to “make all regulations necessary and

. (continued)

3

those portions of Pennsylvania mental commitment

statutes which permit the involuntary indeterminate

confinement of juvcaniles without substantial proce-

dural safeguards including notice, counsel and

opportunity for hearing.”

A three-judge court was convened pursuant to 28

U.S.C. §§2281, 2284 and, prior to trial, extensive

factual stipulations were entered into. At a three day

hearing before the three judges, the testimony of six

expert psychiatrists was heard. The depositions of

three other psychiatrists were entered into evidence.

The named plaintiffs were confined at Haverford

State Hospital under the challenged statutes (133a-

(footnote continued from preceding page)

appropriate,” and to “operate and assign functions to all state

facilities” and the Deputy Secretary for Mental Health and

Mental Retardation (277a). The superintendent of Haverford

State Hospital, who is responsible for receiving applications for

admission, commitment and release under the challenged

statutes, was “sued as representative of the directors of all mental

health facilities in Pennsylvania,” all of which are under the

authority of the defendants Secretary and Deputy Secretary

(275a). All mental institutions in the state, state-owned or state-

licensed, are required by law to utilize the commitment statutes

and regulations. 50 P.S. §4102. Department of Public Welfare

Regulations, Title 9100 (291a).

2The defendants agreed to the District Court's suggestion that

a guardian ad litem be appointed for the plaintiffs pursuant to

Rule 17(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure: “With regard

to the technicality involved, I am really at the court's pleasure. I

really do not object to the going through with Mr. Ferleger as a

next friend.” (250a). As here, federal courts uniformly exercise

their power under Rule 17(c) to protect minor litigants’ interests

where potential for parent-child conflict is present. E.g., Roberts

v. Ohio Casualty Insurance Co., 256 F.2d 35 (Sth Cir. 1958).

4

134a).3 They were detained after a psychiatric

examination which lasted “anywhere from an hour to

three quarters of an hour” (47a) “or shorter.” /d. The

reasons for admission of these persons (as stated by the

hospital) included truancy, incorrigibility, homicidal

and suicidal behavior, chaotic family, talking inco-

herently, rebellion, aggressive behavior, threats and

assaults to family members, temper tantrums, sexual

acting out, foul language, drug use and hallucinations

(135a-165a). Treatment for the group included drugs,

individual, group and family therapies, confinement to

closed locked units, schooling and confinement in

seclusion rooms. /d.

Information regarding the mental institutionaliza-

tion of all juveniles in Pennsylvania facilities was

provided to the District Court (310a-316a).4

The facts in the following numbered paragraphs are

stipulated by the defendants:°

3Children at Haverford State Hospital are held as civil

“voluntary patients in the same treatment unit as those on

criminal commitments.” See Deposition of Barbara Armstrong

(38a et seqg., 135a-165a).

‘This information was provided in response to a discovery

questionnaire which requested reports of the “reason” or

“precipitating behavior” for commitment (27a, 773a). The

extensive data are collated and summarized at 210a ef seq.

‘The stipulation and admission of these facts (522a-523a) was

preceded by defendants’ objection that additional data from the

juveniles’ medical records should be before the court (288a). To

satisfy this objection, the court and the parties agreed that the

records of ten randomly selected juveniles could be introduced

into evidence (317a-363a). The random selections confirmed the

representativeness and accuracy of the summaries given by the

institution of the reasons for commitment. See, e.g., the case in

note 7, «fra.

ee

5

1. Children have been institutionalized in Pennsyl-

vania mental health facilities for the following reasons

as noted by the institution: “Runaway, incorrigible,”

“Violent episodes,” “Hostile, attacked children,

attempted to set home on fire,” “Robbed gas station,”

“Stole truck, car,” “Member of gang which partici-

pated in robbery,” “Delinquent behavior,” “Arson,”

“Runaway,” “Runaway, truancy, delinquent be-

havior.”

2. Mental institutions sometimes cooperate with

parents and relatives “farming out their kindred into

mental institutions for motives not always worthy.”

3. Children have wound up at institutions for the

retarded for the following reasons, in addition to

retardation:

“Interim placement while family was on

vacation.”

A mother placed her child because “father out of

household in the military.”

“Hyperactivity interfered with the routine of

household and disturbed family members.”

“An institution accepted a child from a mother

because of “desertion of father.” ,

~ 6Kent v. United States, 401 F.2d 408, 416, n. 4(D.C.Cir. 1968)

(Burger, J., dissenting).

’More than ten months after this “vacation,” this individual

was reported still at the institution for the retarded; he was

committed on July 20, 1972 for what his parents told the facility

would be a one or two week stay. The facility reported the

individual still committed as of May 31, 1973 (355a-362a, 773a).

The District Court’s reference to this case, 790a, is criticized by

the defendants who, erroneously and contra the record, claim

that this commitment was part of a state “respite care” program.

Brief for Appellants at 46, n. 40.

6

Also, “Family conflicts,” “Unmanageable at home,

attitude of bold indifference, resents all discipline,

compulsive eating,” “Runaway, conflict with parents,”

“Neglect, Social Deprivation,” “Neglect, unstable

home environment,” “No serious behavior problem;

admitted due to parents’ inability to provide a satis-

factory home environment,” “Sometimes hyperactive.

Illegitimate,” “Illegitimate. Inadequate mother.”

4. One facility accepted a young retarded boy

because “He has no playmates, planned activities,

exercise. Presently he does nothing except sit in school

and in front of the T.V. at home.”

5. Three juveniles were committed to mental!

institutions because of physical ailments: ulcerated

colitis, a psychosomatic complaint, weight loss.

6. Five juveniles were reported in one facility for not

going to school.

7. A number of juveniles are committed for alleged

drug-related activities.

Judgment was entered in favor of the plaintiffs,* the

defendants appealed and this Court noted probable

jurisdiction. While the appeal was pending, the

Pennsylvania legislature enacted the Mental Health

Procedures Act, 50 P.S. §7101 et seq. (hereafter, the

“1976 Act”) which altered commitment procedures for

persons alleged to be mentally ill. In view of the effects

of this statutory change, this Court held that the class

action originally approved no longer met the

requirements of Rule 23(a) and vacated and remanded

“for consideration of the class definition, exclusion of

*Because important changes were made by the District Court

after remand, the 1975 opinion and order (783a et seq., 843a et

seq.) are not summarized at this point.

7

those whose claims are moot, and substitution of class

representatives with live claims.” Kremens v. Bartley,

431 U.S. 119, 135 (1977).

II. Procedural History on Remand

On remand, plaintiffs filed an amended and supple-

mental complaint (875a et seq.). Nine of the twelve

namec plaintiffs included every juvenile committed as

mentally ill under the 1976 Act to Haverford State

Hospital at the time of filing (945a). Three of the

plaintiffs were committed as mentally retarded to other

institutions under the 1966 Act, 50 P.S. 4101 et seq.°

As in the initial proceedings, a defendant class of all

Pennsylvania facility directors was sued, as was the

Secretary of Public Welfare.'!° Unlike some states,

mental health facilities in Pennsylvania are not merely

licensed to provide services; they “have been required

and are required to utilize and act in conformity with

the commitment and admission procedures in both the

1966 Act and the 1976 Act.” (949a). When institution-

alized juveniles object to their confinement, the

defendant facility directors, relying on the state law,

°The defendants again agreed to the maintenance of the

litigation by the guardian ad litem, at no point raising any

objection to single counsel functioning in that capacity. See 94Sa.

Defendants did attempt to restrict the guardian’s access to his

clients and their records. On motion, the District Court ordered

the defendants to permit full access to medical records,

institutional living areas and the plaintiff class members

themselves. Orders of June 21, 1977 and July 25, 1977. On the

guardian ad litem’s functions, see 1073a-1074a, n. 39 and 40.

10See note 1, supra.

8

“do not provide counsel or take action to assure either

discharge or a heartng on the juvenile’s objection. . . .”

(950a). A defendant class was certified.'!

The District Court set March 31, 1978 for the final

hearing on the merits and ordered the parties to advise

the court. whether additional evidence would be

submitted. Plaintiffs offered to submit expert testi-

mony on “possible differing considerations between

the young and very young and between those persons

alleged to be mentally ill and retarded.” (960a, citing

431 U.S. 119, 135). The defendants offered to produce

no testimony.

Welcoming such expert testimony on questions

raised by this Court, the District Court directed that it

be presented by deposition.'? Plaintiffs took the

deposition of the Assistant Commissioner for Mental

Retardation for the Department of Mental Health,

Commonwealth of Massachusetts (972a et seq.). The

defendants provided no expert testimony, or any

factual testimony whatsoever.'? The Commissioner's

testimony stood uncontradicted.

''\For the District Court’s memorandum and order on this

issue, see 956a et seg. Counsel for several state-licensed facilities

who were present at the final hearing made no objection, then or

at any time, to the all-inclusive class definition and did not seek to

present any evidence. Hearing of March 31, 1978.

'2Hearing of March 31, 1978.

''Throughout their brief, defendants repeatedly make “fac-

tual” assertions regarding the differences between the young and

very young and the mentally ill and the mentally retarded. These

assertions, which bear no references to the record, are not based

on any evidence in the case. In fact, the only evidence on these

matters after remand is the expert testimony cited in the text.

S

oon Cee Lb. te me

ee ee ee

Bh OM hoe me, a ee

ne ee Se

9

At the final hearing, an extensive factual stipulation

was entered into evidence (943a ef seg.) as were

portions of the named plaintiffs’ medical records. The

court accepted the parties’ agreement to include in the

evidence on remand “all testimony, depositions,

exhibits, interrogatories, objections and rulings” from

the original proceedings (950a, 1066a, n. 17).

Ill. The Haverford State Hospital Plaintiffs

The score of buildings at Haverford State Hospital,

located in a rural/ suburban area outside Philadelphia,

include Building 14, a structure with two large wards.

The west ward houses geriatric patients; the door to itis

generally unlocked. The east ward houses juveniles

(948a).

Entry into the children’s ward is through a locked

door bearing a sign which reads, “VISITING

HOURS—1:30-4:30 Weekends and Holidays. No

evening visits.” (948a).

The ward consists of two hallways which cross at a

glass-walled nursing station. One hallway continues

from the entrance door to a large dormitory area for

male patients. Along that hallway are two carpeted

unfurnished rooms used for “seclusion” or “time-out”

purposes. The second hall has a large dayroom at one

end and, at the other end, a large dormitory area for female

patients (949a).

In the nursing station is a bank of television monitors

which is used to surveil the patients in all areas of the

unit, including the halls and dormitories (949a). A

week before the final hearing, the monitors in the

dormitory area were switched off (Oral stipulation at

10

March 31, 1978 Hearing). Adjacent to the building are

playing areas fenced in by chain link fences about 12

feet high (949a).

The named plaintiffs at Haverford ranged in age

from 7 to 13 years. A county child care agency was

involved in three of the nine commitments.'* All were

committed to the institution simply upon the applica-

tion of a parent or guardian and its acceptance by the

institution pursuant to Section 201 of the 1976 Act.

There is nothing in the record to indicate that anything

more than Haverford’s typically brief psychiatric

examination by a staff doctor preceded these commit-

ments. See Deposition of Barbara Armstrong at 47a,

1059a, n. 11, 106la, n. 15. The admission process

includes a pre-admission contact or interview with a

social worker and other staff (this may be the same day

as admission) and an interview of the child by a

psychiatrist, recorded in an admission note on the day

of admission. The admission note summarizes the

factual and psychiatric basis thought to justify the

commitment.!5

‘Thus, the defendants are in error when they state that “{i}n

this case each of the appellees’ parents sought medical help. . . .”

Brief for Appellants at 30. For the entire class, the record

indicates about 15% are not committed by their parents (933a,

952a at par. 45).

'SParagraph 37 of the Complaint, 884a, admitted by the

defendants at 919a. The single or multiple “independent”

examinations the defendants claim are required and provided,

Brief for Appellants at 44, are not part of the procedure.

Although defendants were given the opportunity to demon-

strate that referral material was used in deciding whether to

confine the plaintiffs, the District Court found that “there is still

(continued)

ee

These admissions notes, and the circumstances of the

named plaintiffs, illustrate the great range of disputed

behavior and facts surrounding the commitments and

the unstable and conflict-ridden family situations of

these young persons.'¢

Kevin S.

Kevin’s mother, who is separated from his father, has

a history of serious mental illness, including suicide

attempts and hospitalizations. She was institutional-

ized when Kevin’s elder brother was born. When

pregnant with Kevin, she returned to the institution

and, she admitted to Haverford State Hospital staff,

“lied” to get in again.

At home with his mother, Kevin was physically

abused. Most of his early life was spent in foster homes.

At the age of 12, Kevin was brought to Haverford

State Hospital by the county child care agency and his

(footnote continued from preceding page)

little evidence showing in what way, if at all, these records were

used during the admissions process.” (106la, n. 15).

State procedures allow the most extreme summary commit-

ment “process.” As the District Court described the experience of

one of the named plaintiffs:

Hospital records show that Edward was not informed that

he was to be admitted to a mental health facility prior to his

admission date, but rather was told that his parents were

taking him to a new school. He was extremely upset by the

admission expressing fears about being in a

hospital with “crazies” and being confined “like a prisoner.”

1064a. In another case, the admission form for Francis B. was

signed in blank. Defendants’ Exhibit 9.

'6The descriptions in the text are from the opinion of the lower

court (1062a-1065a), supplemented by the medical records in

evidence (Defendants’ Exhibits | through !2) and the defendants’

answer to the complaint (916a ef seq.).

12

mother and was committed under Section 201 of the

1976 Act. After he was admitted, a psychiatrist

interviewed Kevin and prepared an admission note

which gives as the “reason for admission:” “Difficulties

adjusting to school and family (mother). Exhibited

bizarre behavior in school that has included making

inappropriate sounds and laughing inappropriately.”

There is no indication in the records of Kevin’s

admission that he was ever asked for his comments or

version of the behaviors he was accused of.

Haverford’s psychosocial history of this plaintiff

notes that his mother actively uses social systems “to

the point of abuse” and concludes:

It is felt that much of Kevin’s problems come from

living with a schizophrenic mother and having a

very unstable and abused early life.

Richard S.

The county child care agency committed Richard S.

to Haverford under Section 201 of the 1976 Act when

he was 12.

Richard S. did not live with his mother until he was

two years old and he stayed with her only until he was

four when he was placed in an agency’s children’s

cottage, later to be cared for in other homes for

children.

The first psychiatric evaluation recorded for Richard

S. in the hospital records was made the day of his

admission and gives as the “reason for admission:”

“Inability to adjust to open setting. History of self harm

and running away.” This evaluation contains no

indication of whether Richard S. was given any

opportunity to respond to the alleged basis for his

institutionalization.

a ee eet Ne et

es

13

James Paul M.; Edward B.; Raymond C.

At age 7, James Paul M. was committed to

Haverford by his father. His mother had died about

one year before. The admission note gives “Uncon-

trollable behavior. Learning disability” as the reason

for admission, with no further detail.

Plaintiff Edward B. was referred to Haverford by his

private psychiatrist, Dr. Carl Hammer, who, it

happens, is also a part-time psychiatrist at the

institution. Edward is an adopted child.

Pursuant to Section 201 of the 1976 Act, Edward’s

parents signed him into the institution, having

admittedly tricked him into accompanying them. The

admission note records the extent to which his parents’

actions and the hospital’s procedures traumatized the

11 year old:

Eddie then opened up with many feelings about

being tricked into coming by his parents. He

expressed feelings about them not caring for him

and wanting to get rid of him. Both parents

acknowledge that they had “tricked him” because

they were fearful he would hurt or threaten to hurt

himself. They admitted that they had not told him

until that morning and had omitted the fact that

this was a psychiatric hospital. Eddie’s response to

this was to make promises that he would change if

he could stay home. * * * Eddie continued with his

fears of being in a “crazy” hospital and of getting

hurt by other patients—both adults and children.

He also spoke of the high fences and of being kept

in, like a prisoner.

Raymond C. was committed to the institution the

day he was first seen at the facility. Under Section 201

of the 1976 Act, he was committed by his father who

14

had a drinking problem, according to the hospital’s

records. Institutionalized for “evaluation” initially, the

admission note states the “reason for admission” as

“History of uncooperative behavior including run

away from school. Problems in community with

stealing and destroying property. Has a learning and

hearing problem.”

William B.; Francis B.

Committed to the institution under Section 201 at

the age of 9, William B. had been born to parents who

separated when he was an infant. Two years prior to the |

commitment, William began living with his father in a

home with a stepmother and two stepbrothers.

The reasons given by the institution for his commit-

ment were “Uncontrollable behavior; preoccupied with

matches, set a rug on fire, turned the gas burners on in.

the house, throws things out the window.”

According to the hospital records, William B.’s life

with family members subjected him to situation of

extreme inconsistency, disorganization and lack of

structure. His natural mother’s lifestyle was erratic and

she reportedly abused him.

Francis B. was about 9 when he was committed to

Haverford, originally under Section 403 of the 1966

Act. This admission was at the request of his father who

signed admission forms which omitted the proposed

patient’s full name and any identifying information.

Francis’ father iater executed a commitment under

Section 201 of the 1976 Act.

This young plaintiff comes from a disorganized

family which has rejected him. As a social history a

month before his confinement observes, “One of the

mee + 5

eS

15

most distressing aspects of this case is the almost total

rejection of Frankie by everyone in his family.” His

father has a drinking problem, the records indicate that

the “parents are in need of help also as there is some

question here of physical abuse” and, at the pre-

admission interview, it was apparent that “Frank could

no[{t] do right in parents’ eyes.”

The admission note contains unamplified allegations

of “difficulties adjusting to school” and states that

Francis B. “has been described as hyperactive ...

clowning in order to get attention.” A psychiatric

evaluation received by the institution in referral

material states, “I cannot describe him as hyperactive.

In the first interview his mother seemed more

hyperactive than he did.”

Maria L.; Thomas W.

Maria L. was committed to the institution by her

mother at the age of 11 pursuant to Section 201 of the

1976 Act. The “reason for admission” was stated by the

psychiatrist to be “Difficulties adjusting to school

because of aggressive behavior. Difficulties adjusting

within the family.”

Relationships between Maria and her parents are

strained in several ways. She is the third of four

children and Haverford’s psychosocial history reports

that

The youngest is given special attention by Mr.

L_. because Mrs. L__’s pregnancy with him

kept her from divorcing Mr. | Mr. L__ does

not want to assume any responsibility in raising

the children or helping with home chores. He

formerly spent a great deal of time away from

16

home, usually drinking, but now stays at home

more, although he still drinks a good deal. Mrs.

L__ does not see the drinking as a problem.

Maria’s mother “has had near mental breakdown

from the strain of the children” and, several times, tried

to choke Maria, according to the same history of the

case.

Thomas W.’s parents have an unstable marriage.

After a severe beating which resulted in the child’s

hospitalization at the age of 9, Thomas’ case came to

the attention of social service agencies and his mother

and stepfather were arrested.

The county child care agency, which has custody of

Thomas W., committed him to Haverford from the

County Juvenile Detention Center, first as an

emergency commitment and then under Section 201 of

the 1976 Act. While at the detention center, shortly

before his commitment, he was given a psychiatric

evaluation by John Fong, superintendent of Haver-

ford, in his capacity as a “consultant.” Haverford’s

stated “reason for admission” is “Fire setting, rages of

5-6 hours, during which he is assaultive, destructive

and sets fires.”

The Haverford State Hospital plaintiffs described

above are not a selection from a larger group; every

juvenile committed to Haverford under Section 201 at

the time the suit was filed is included (945a). Also,

absolutely none of the plaintiffs had ever been insti-

tutionalized before the commitments described above;

it was their first time in the institution (910a, 924a).

17

IV. Plaintiffs Committed Under the 1966 Act

Pennhurst State School and Hospital is located in a

rural area of Pennsylvania near Valley Forge. Built in

the first decade of this century, it is unaccredited by the

Joint Commission on the Accreditation of Hospitals.'’

Plaintiff George S. was committed to Penrthurst

under Section 402 of the 1966 Act by Catholic Social

Services, an agency which was caring for him under

contract with the Philadelphia Welfare Department

which had legal custody of him. George was

abandoned by his parents. From the first year of his

birth until 6 years later (when he was committed to the

institution), he lived with a foster family.

When his foster mother was hospitalized and, for a

time, unable to care for George, he was placed in

another foster home temporarily. Because of crowded

conditions in that home, the placement was termi-

nated; Catholic Social Services then signed George into

Pennhurst.

Built in 1897, Polk State School and Hospital is

located in a rural community about 80 miles from Pitts-

burgh. The remaining two plaintiffs are incarcerated at

Polk.

At the age of 6, in 1967, the year her parents

divorced, Gina S. was placed in a county infants’ home.

Three years later, she was removed by her mother and

taken directly to Polk where she has remained since.

Gina S. was committed under a law, invalidated in

1971, which permitted any two doctors to certify the

''The shocking conditions and total lack of care at this

institution are detailed in Halderman v. Pennhurst State School

and Hospital, 446 F.Supp. 1295 (E.D. Pa. 1977).

indefinite commitment of any person.'* No commit-

ment papers were executed from 1971 until 1975 when

the plaintiffs mother signed an application for

commitment under Section 402 of the 1966 Act.

Nancy Louise D. was born in 1960. Both her parents

were alcoholics and both were mentally retarded. In

1961, Nancy Louise was placed under the guardianship

of the county welfare department which placed her in

foster care until 1968 when she was taken to Polk.

“Her application form for admission shows that she

was admitted under the authority of the Mental Health

Act of 1951, rather than the 1966 Act then in effect.”

(Opinion at 1065a, n. 16). No commitment forms have

ever been executed under the 1966 Act. Polk’s director,

however, purports to maintain her confinement under

Section 402 of the 1966 Act.

George S., Gina S. and Nancy Louise D. are all

mentally retarded to some degree. There is nothing in

their medical records indicating that their mental

condition required institutional care, rather than the

non-institutional care they had been receiving prior to

commitment.

V. The District Court’s Decision

Holding that the plaintiffs’ constitutional! liberty

interests are implicated by institutionalization, and

that parents and guardians cannot waive young

persons’ constitutional rights, the District Court, with

one judge dissenting, mandated certain due process

'®Section 404 of the 1966 Act, 50 P.S. §4404. This statute was

declared unconstitutional in 1971 in Dixon v. Attorney General

of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, 325 F.Supp. 966

(M.D.Pa. 1971) (Three-Judge Court).

19

procedures to protect against erroneous commitments

and to assure the least restrictive alternative form of

care.

Brief descriptive reference to the District Court’s

decision is necessitated by the defendants’ repeated

misleading and deficient characterization of the

judgment now before this Court. Defendants miscon-

strue the relief that was granted. Further, defendants

totally ignore (and, significantly, do not challenge) the

detailed factual findings below.

The District Court did not order that every child

committed “be provided two separate adversary

hearings.” Brief for Appellants at 20. The District

Court did not order “a court hearing to check the

accuracy of the mother’s reports or the doctor’s

diagnosis and recommended treatment. . . .” Brief for

Appellants at 42. The District Court did not order

procedures “to enhance the diagnostic process.” Brief

for Appellants at 45.

The only procedures absolutely required in every

case are notice!? and “counsel or other trained repre-

sentative.” (1093a). The court explained the need and

function of the child advocate in this way:

It may not always be necessary to appoint a lawyer

so long as a substitute procedure adequately

protects the child’s interest. For example, it may be

sufficient to appoint a guardian, trained in the

'9Notice is not required prior to confinement in the institution.

The order specifically declares that parents and guardians “may

initiate the temporary detention” of young persons (1092a) and

that a probable cause hearing need not be held for three days after

the commitment (1094a). Notice must be received 48 hours

before the hearing (1093a).

20

mental health field, who would advocate the

child’s interests or alternatively, have the power to

retain a lawyer to do so. The important point is

that the child must have a capable advocate who

has the sole responsibility of advancing the child’s

best interests. However, until alternative proce-

dures are designed which will adequately protect

the child’s interests, we adhere to our conclusion

that counsel is required. |

Opinion at 1079a, n. 47. Once the juvenile and his or

her representative has notice of an intention to prolong

the institutionalization, the decision is made whether to

waive or insist upon the hearings and further rights

recognized by the court (i.e., presence at hearing,

confrontation, standard of proof). See 8lla, n. 26

(original opinion), 1079a, n. 48 (current opinion),

1094a (current order).

Contrary to the defendants’ claims, the District

Court was crystal clear that “we neither intend nor

expect that all of these procedures will be required

every time an attempt to institutionalize a child is

made.” (81 1a, n. 26). In its recent memorandum on the

motion to stay, the court noted the major likely

practical effects of the flexibility inherent in the

procedures:

In fact, the witness who testified on behalf of the

Devereaux Foundation stated that he believed

that the majority, if not all, of the 300 class

members at Devereaux are content and, given the

choice, would choose to remain there. In the case

of a of these juveniles, a hearing might be

waived.

Memorandum of July 17, 1978 at 4.

21

Regarding the nature of the forum for hearings

which are held, the lower court explicitly chose to

“state only that the tribunal must be neutral and

unbiased.” (1082a). The state is left “free to develop its

own safeguards (1079a) to protect plaintiffs’ rights. The

order does not decide “[w]Jhether the tribunal should be

judicial or administrative.” (1082a and id. at n. 53).

If a hearing occurs in a particular case, the neutral

tribunal will determine the factual questions which

arise inevitably. The decision-maker will resolve

“whether, in fact, the child is mentally ill or mentally

retarded. If this determination is affirmative, the

tribunal should proceed to determine if commitment is

necessary, if it will be beneficial to the child, and if it is

the least restrictive alternative.” (108la). “While the

tribunal should make findings to support its deter-

mination, these findings need not necessarily be made

formally.” /d.

On remand, the District Court refined and set forth

the factual findings which are the foundation of its legal

conclusions. The defendants have not challenged these

factual findings on appeal. Some of the major findings

of the court are summarized below:

1. A serious and injurious stigma attaches to

institutional commitment whether the juvenile is

classified as mentally ill or mentally retarded

(1067a). This stigma may be “a more lasting

abridgement of personal freedom than imprison-

ment for the commission of a crime.” (795a).

2. Both mental illness and mental retardation (in

part, for different reasons) are subject to error in

diagnosis and identification (1067a-1068a) “sub-

stantially different from the treatment of other

medical conditions.” (1077a-1078a).

22

3. Conflicts between the interests of parents and

juveniles frequently arise respecting commitment

and parents often institutionalize their children for

reasons unrelated to the young — needs and

best interests (798a, 1068a- 106

4. Deprivation of liberty is inherent in institu-

tionalization and its serious, isolating and dehu-

manizing effects which apply to both the mentally

ill and mentally retarded, regardless of whether the

institution is state-operated or state-licensed

(1069a-1070a).

5. The dangers of misclassification and the stigma

of institutionalization fall more ueavily on the

younger child.

6. With respect to the mentally retarded, the

decision to institutionalize is often a long-term or

even life decision (1078a, n. 45).

7. The effects of a hearing—on both children and

parents—would not be traumatic but would be

beneficial (108 1la-1082a, detailing benefits).

8. Any potential trauma due to the hearing

process can be avoided by waiver of the person’s

presence. Also, “any danger of trauma pales beside

the potential severity of the deprivation of liberty

— by a child needlessly institutionalized.”

( )

9. Institutional staff have a conflict of interest in

making decisions to commit (1083a-1084a).

The District Court entered judgment for the

plaintiffs on May 25, 1978, granting declaratory and

injunctive relief to assure that persons presently

deprived of liberty under the invalidated statutes and

persons who might be committed in the future receive

the benefit of minimal due process procedures in a

state-created forum. This appeal followed.

UE A ee .

23

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. Mental institutions are generally underfinanced,

understaffed and overcrowded. Commitment to sucha

residential facility necessarily entails a massive curtail-

ment of liberty as persons are placed in a “total

institution” in which every aspect of their lives is

regulated by impersonal authority.

A powerful long-term effect on the individual's life

reverberates long after release from the facility. Severe

social stigma, self-stigmatization, job and license

discrimination also resuit from the commitment to

mental institutions for the mentally ill and the retarded.

It is the fact of institutionalization, not the procedures

used, which stigmatizes.

2. Mental commitment is generally considered a

deprivation of liberty under the Fourteenth Amend-

ment and the states are required to provide substantial

procedures to protect persons from erroneous commit-

ments. O’Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563 (1975);

Baxstrom v. Herold, 383 U.S. 197 (1966); Specht v.

Patterson, 386 U.S. 605 (1967). See also Chaloner v.

Sherman, 242 U.S. 455 (1917); Dexter v. Hall,82 U.S.9

(1872). The pervasive concern has been that no person

may be caused to suffer a loss of liberty—for whatever

reason—without stringent decision-making require-

ments designed to minimize the ever-present risk of

error and to assure proper disposition of the case.

3. The defendants, invoking the “family’s right of

privacy” and “the sanctity of parental responsibility,”

maintain that a young person’s constitutional right to

liberty is not implicated at all in mental institutionali-

24

zation under parental commitment laws. This conclu-

sion misconceives the applicable constitutional doc-

trine.

Two controlling principles emerge from the Court's

decisions regarding parents and children. Where the

state unreasonably intrudes into the family’s domain

and thereby jeopardizes the family’s function and

strength as the primary socialization mechanism, the

state’s intrusion will be struck down. See Meyer v.

Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923); Pierce v. Society of

Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925); Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406

U.S. 205 (1971). In precisely parallel fashion, where

parental decisions unreasonably jeopardize the young

person’s opportunities for growth into well-developed

individuals, governmental intrusions into the family

will be upheld. Prince v. Massachusetts, 32 U.S. 158

(1944); Wisconsin v. Yoder, supra.

The extent of control over juveniles by parents and

guardians is broad enough to provide appropriate

deference to the importance of the family but narrow

enough to protect the independent personal interests of

the most powerless of the family’s members.

4. In other cases where constitutional rights of

young persons have been at stake, but where family

interests were not implicated, this Court has recognized

minors’ liberty claims, although the extent of such

claims has been subject to possible limitation. E.g.,

Erznoznik v. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205 (1975);

Ingraham v. Wright, 430 U.S. 651 (1977); Carey v.

Population Services International, 431 U.S. 678

(1977).

One liberty interest of young persons which has

repeatedly been identified by this Court as implicated

25

by the Fourteenth Amendment is the right to be free

from physical confinement, for whatever purpose, in

an institution. See In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967); In re

Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970); McKeiver v. Pennsyl-

vania, 403 U.S. 528 (1971); Breed v. Jones, 421 U.S. 519

(1975). See also Giacco v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S. 399

(1966). A constitutional liberty interest is discerned

even if the purpose of the confinement is “clinical”

treatment or “to save the child.” There is no suggestion

in any decision of this Court that parental endorse-

ment of a decision to separate the young person from

the home and confine him or her in an institution

nullifies the juvenile’s Fourteenth Amendment rights.

5. As the lower court’s unchallenged factual findings _

and the record in this litigation shout forth, applica-

tions for commitment of young persons are not the

expression of calm, conflict-free, rational, informed,

reliable parents and guardians. On the contrary, the

expert witnesses for all parties agreed that families

seeking commitment are characterized by severe stress,

disharmony and dislocation. The family structure is

weakened. Parents will seek to institutionalize children

for improper reasons. This stems from honest

mistakes, ignorance, lack of awareness of alternatives

to institutionalization, lack of community resources, or

sometimes from malice or ill will.

Parents are not particularly good observers of

children’s behavior and symptoms in the context of the

high feelings that run in these situations. They cannot

be objective reporters of the behavioral background of

the child; they often exaggerate and misinterpret the

actions of their children. When these family dynamics

are viewed in the framework of the alleged behavior

26

which precipitates the request for commitment,

conflicts between the concerns and interests of the

parents and the best interests of the child are apparent.

6. Stereotypes regarding the retarded and their

mental institutionalization are tragically hardened and

erroneous. A person’s level of retardation, for example,

does not predetermine his or her need for institutionaliza-

tion. Many factors are more important in determining

institutionalization of retarded persons, including

family disorganization, demographic characteristics,

parental attitudes toward childrearing and mental

retardation, availability of community resources, and

the professional philosophies of those consulted for

advice. Inappropriate and unneeded institutionaliza-

tion is often the unintended result. The only evidence

on the family situation of the retarded, the expert

testimony for the plaintiffs by the head of retardation

for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, confirms the

trying situation faced by such families and the fact

(found by the lower court) that no identity of interests

may be presumed, no matter how well-motivated the

parents might be.

7. The legal test to be applied is found in Planned

Parenthood of Missouri v. Danforth, 428 U.S. 52

(1976), where the Court examined “whether there is

any significant state interest in conditioning an

abortion on the consent of a parent or person in loco

parentis that is not present in the case of an adult.” A

direct and persuasive response to Danforth is that the

constitutional interest in freedom from physical

confinement without due process admits of no excep-

tions applicable here and that no asserted state interest

ee eS eee eee

ae

EADS CE acne AMR nib Tie et he

27

in other juvenile cases has overcome this liberty, no

matter how rehabilitative or treatment-oriented the

institution of confinement has been.

8. Previous cases, however, have not involved a

parent or guardian acting to assure confinement. The

only interest asserted here by the state is parental

autonomy expressed by medically-advised deprivation

of a person’s liberty. Such an argument was expressly

rejected in Danforth where the “conflict” situation “has

already fractured the family structure.” As in Dan-

forth, any parental right to obtain mental health care

for a child is no more weighty than the liberty right of a

child proposed for institutionalization. The parental

interest cannot act as an absolute limitation on the

child’s right. Danforth, supra; Bellotti v. Baird, 428

U.S. 132 (1976). Under Danforth, a countervailing

State interest must be established by more than the

unsubstantiated declaration of its existence; .ere, the

record provides no support for any claim that “parental

autonomy” is preserved or protected by commitment

of young persons to institutions without due process

protections. Other possible rationales for differenti-

ating between the rights of young persons and adults

are neither asserted by the defendants nor present in

this case.

9. The critical question raised by Danforth is not

“when rights conflict; which are paramount?” but

“when presumed common interests in fact diverge, how

can each be accommodated and protected?” There is a

continuum of decisions made by parents and guardians

regarding their wards. At one end are constitutionally

trivial and intra-familial issues in which there is little, if

28

any, potential harm to the child. Along the continuum,

parental powers are met with limits as their interests

and desires diverge from those of young persons, in

whom the state has an interest. As the parents’ claims

threaten to risk or unduly interfere with the child's, the

divergence becomes so great that the parents’ assertion

of rights is not permitted to overshadow the social

necessity of protecting young persons’ independent

interests. When viewed in terms of its nature and

potential for harm, mental institutionalization—

whether the commitment is erroneous or not—is an

event near the end of the continuum at a point where

the “parental autonomy” claims are properly muted to

the extent necessary to protect the “liberty” claims of

the child who is being removed from the home and

placed in an institution.

10. The involvement of psychiatrists, physicians or

other professionals cannot act as a fail-safe in the

commitment process. The field of psychiatry is beset

with uncertainty of diagnosis and tentativeness of

judgment. In addition to the factual disputes which

crop up in every commitment, the very existence of

mental illness and the need for institutional care are

facts not amenable to purely medical termination.

Institutional psychiatrists have multiple conflicts of

interest in making commitment decisions. The situa-

tion is mirrored for mental retardation, although the

reasons for mistakes in identifying the retarded are

somewhat different (e.g., confusion with physical

characteristics, testing problems, incorrect develop-

mental speculations). Parents of the retarded receive

consultation- from physicians which is typically

29

uninformed, without reasonable basis, and inappro-

priately and excessively oriented toward institution-

alization. Professionals at retardation institutions and

in the community are unable to make conflict-free

referral recommendations or to sort out the inevitable

factual disputes.

11. What process is due? The lower court’s mandate

is extremely narrow and limited. With the exception of

notice of prolonged commitment and counsel or other

trained representative, all rights may be waived,

including presence at the hearings. It is expected that

hearings will not be required in every case; a large

number will be waived. The forum for any hearings

which are held would be an “impartial tribunal”

created by the state where the perspective and concerns

of the parents or guardians could be fully aired. Many

states already provide such hearings for young persons

facing commitment.

12. The lower court found asa fact that any hearings

would not be unduly traumatic for juveniles but would

be beneficial, to the juvenile and his or her parents. The

opportunity for hearings would result in agencies

performing more effectively, the avoidance of many

commitments, reduced use of institutionalization, and

provision of more appropriate care in particular cases.

13. The requisites of due process found by the lower

court to be appropriate are notice of prolonged

commitment; counsel or other trained representative

(for example, a guardian who would have the power to

retain counsel, if legal assistance was required); a

hearing before an impartial tribunal within a reason-

able time after commitment (a probable cause hearing

30

after three days and, if necessary, a full hearing after

two weeks); the right to be present; the right to confront

and cross-examine witnesses and to present evidence; a

clear and convincing standard of proof.

14. These procedures would significantly reduce the

risk of error. They would also assure protection of the

young person’s right to care in the least restrictive

alternative appropriate to the person’s needs. The state

has no significant interest in avoiding these procedures.

Any cost is outweighed by the private interests and risk

of error. Avoidance of institutional care and diversion

of some cases to community-based programs will result

in substantial cost savings to the state. The state has no

interest in the erroneous or unnecessary confinement of

any of its citizens, regardless of age.

15. The state statutes and regulations permitting

parents to volunteer their children into mental

institutions fail to protect the rights and interests of the

plaintiffs. Referral systems and evaluations are faulty

and provide a skimpy professionally unacceptable (and

legally unacceptable) basis for commitment. The

mentally retarded, who are limited in capacity to

understand technical legal forms and procedures, are

not assisted in any real way by the state’s regulations.

Young persons committed as mentally ill receive no

effective protections under the state’s present system.

16. “State action” is present in commitment of

young persons to state-licensed facilities which are

required to utilize and act in conformity with the

challenged statutes and regulations. This is so on two

alternative grounds:

31

a. The state has delegated to parents, guardians

and institutions a power not possessed by the state,

the power to deprive persons of liberty without

minima! due process procedural protections. This is

not a private commercial dispute and does not

involve mere regulation of private business activities.

b. A detailed examination of the legal history of

mental commitment in Pennsylvania demonstrates

beyond peradventure that, beginning with the

earliest colonial period of Pennsylvania history,

through the Revolution and the State’s first

Constitution, and continuing through the 19th

Century and into the 20th Century, mental commit-

ment has been a sovereign power strictly under the

control and perogative of the State. Although

procedures shifted and varied, any commitment to

any institution, whether “public” or “private,” was a

matter of exclusive and paramount state concern.

Mental commitment has never been simply a private

matter. Like education, elections, tax collection, fire

and police protection, commitment of citizens to

mental institutions in Pennsylvania has been a power

traditionally exclusively reserved to the State.

17. On the propriety of the plaintiff subclasses, the

defendants raise objections that were not raised at any

point in the litigation below. Defendants should not be

permitted to sit silent through a lawsuit, and give no

hint of opposition to proposed subclasses, and then to

claim error for the first time on appeal. In any event, on

their merits, the objections must be rejected. After

careful and reflective analysis, the lower court

determined that plaintiff subclasses including all ages

32

of juveniles with common legal and factual connection

with the state are proper. In addition, all persons

subjected to institutionalization’s dangers, whether for

a month or for long term care are properly members of

the same class where due process protections are held

to apply to the very deprivation of liberty itself; the

lower court balanced the length of commitment factor

in determining what process is due. There was no abuse

of discretion in certifying the plaintiff subclasses.

18. Nor is there any abuse of discretion in the

certification of a class of defendant institutional

directors where each is adequately represented by the

Attorney General of Pennsylvania and where each of

the 400 members of the class, as a practical matter and

by operation of state law, would be bound by the result,

and where none of the participating institutions

objected to going forward.

19. The District Court’s order that all young persons

committed without hearings or counsel or other

trained representative receive the benefit of the

minimal process discussed above was proper and

consistent with the mandate of Preiser v. Rodriguez,

411 U.S. 475 (1972), and Wolff v. Mc Donnell, 418 U.S.

539 (1973). The federal court did nothing to order or to

speed any inmate’s release. The court simply required

the state to hold state proceedings where a state

tribunal would make all individual determinations.

This approach has been endorsed by this Court.

Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103 (1975). See Gomez v.

Miller, 341 F.Supp. 323 (S.D.N.Y. 1972), aff'd sub

nom. Miller v. Gomez, 412 U.S. 914 (1973).

OL BS AO I Be le A, Be Oe eee

33

ARGUMENT

PRIOR TO INVOLUNTARY INDETER-

MINATE MENTAL INSTITUTIONALI-

ZATION UPON PARENTAL APPLICA-

TION, YOUNG PERSONS ARE EN-

TITLED TO SUBSTANTIAL PROCE-

DURAL PROTECTIONS.

A. Institutionalization Results in Severe Depri-

vation of Liberty, Social Stigma, Self-

Stigmatization and Discrimination.

Mental institutions are generally underfinanced,

understaffed and overcrowded.2° Commitment to such

20Hobbs, The Futures of Children 127-128 (1975). Provost

Hobbs describes the familiar physical and fiscal realities in his

report:

Most public institutions are grossly and chronically under-

financed (Kugel, 1969). During 1966 and 1967 the a diem

costs in United States institutions ranged from about $3 to

$12 per person (U.S. Department of Health, Education and

Welfare, 1968). In stark contrast, five of the largest United

States zoos were Laren 4 in a comparable period, an

a of ae for mae rge animals (Kugel, 1969, p. 3).

urther, in , general hospital care cost mo

per day (Butterfield, 1969, > 18). —

>

Overcrowding is commonplace. Many residential facilities

have as many as 25 to 50 percent more than they were

intended to serve. Buildings that are old and poorly

designed also create problems. For instance, lavoratory and

toilet facilities are often poorly maintained and may even be

nonfunctioning. Ancient facilities may make it difficult if

not impossible to prepare food in a sanitary fashion; and

climate control may be so inadequate as to leave buildings

either too hot or too cold (Kugel, 1969, p. 405; Blatt and

Kaplan, 1967). Equally inadequate are modern complexes

of steel, chrome, and glass, when human caring is absent.

Id.

ee ee

34

a residential facility necessarily entails a “massive

curtailment of liberty,” Humphrey v. Cady, 405 U.S.

504, 509 (1972), as persons are placed in a “total

institution” in which every aspect of their lives is

regulated by impersonal authority.?! The dangers and

negative effects of institutional treatment programs are

well-known.”? The process results in what one of the

21Goffman, Asylums (1961). As early as 1938, a federal

appellate court recognized the similarities between the depriva-

tions of liberty of people in mental institutions and those in

prisons. Barry v. Hall, 98 F.2d 222 (D.C. Cir. 1938). A detailed

comprison of the conditions in a psychiatric treatment center and

a state prison—demonstrating the restrictiveness of the mental

facility—is provided in “Brief of Donald McEwan, Pro Se” in

Katz, Goldstein & Dershowitz, Psychoanalysis, Psychiatry and

the Law 700-702 (1967). For discussion of the nature of mental

treatment in the United States, see Note, Developments in the

Law— Civil Commitment of the Mentally Ill, 87 Harv. L. Rev.

1190, 1316-1376 (1974); Deutsch, The Mentally Illin America (2d

ed. 1949); Grob, Mental Institutions in America: Social Policy to

1875 (1973); Rothman, The Discovery of the Asylum: Social

Order and Disorder in the New Republic (1971); Kittrie, The

Right to Be Different: Deviance and Enforced Therapy (1971);

Rosen, et al., The History of Mental Retardation: Collected

Papers (1976).

22Barton, Institutional Neurosis (2d ed. 1966); Belknap,

Human Problems of State Mental Hospitals (1956); Gralnick, et

al., “Mental Patients in Transition” in Greenblatt, ed., Mental

Patients in Transition (1961); Stanton and Schwartz, The Mental

Hospital (1954); Wing and Brown, /nstitutionalization and

Schizophrenia (1970); Vail, Dehumanization and the Institu-

tional Career (1966); Klaber, Retardates in Residence: A Study

of Institutions (Project RD-i816-P, Social and Rehabilitation

Service, HEW, State of Connecticut, University of Hartford).

See testimony of Dr. Ingall at 596a, Dr. Feiner at 474a-475a,

Commissioner Glenn at 985a-990a.

a ee ee ee ae

35

defendants’ own expert witnesses calls “an emotional

deficiency disease” (715a). The “institution extracts,

takes away liberties and opportunities in all areas once

a person is placed there.” Testimony of Commissioner

Glenn at 986a.

Most juveniles entering the institutional mental

health system have never received any psychiatric

treatment before, stay longer than adults,” and a large

proportion do not suffer from any major “illness.”4

Nevertheless, all are subjected to the process of

institutionalization which can “make children sick,”

according to Nicholas Hobbs in his report volume for

the HEW-sponsored Project on Classification of

Exceptional Children:

23Most juveniles admitted to mental hospitals (53% in 1969)

never before received psychiatric treatment; the figure for all age

admissions is only 38.7%. Dept. of Health, Education and

Welfare, NIMH, Statistical Note 90, Utilization of Psychiatric

Facilities by Persons Under 18 Years of Age, United States, 1971,

Table 9. Once in a private or public mental institution, juveniles

stay longer than adults. /d. at Table 8.

4In 1975, the leading primary diagnosis of juveniles admitted

to state and county mental institution was “transient situational

disorders and behavior disorders of childhood” which accounted

for 54.3% of all juvenile admissions. Dept. of Heatth, Education

and Welfare, NIMH, Statistical Note 138, Diagnostic Distribu-

tion of Admissions to Inpatient Services of State and County

Mental Hospitals, United States, 1975. Most of the nine

Haverford plaintiffs here have been given such diagnoses. These

relatively minor “transient situational disturbances” are those

that “occur in individuals without any apparent underlying

mental disorders and that represent an acute reaction to

overwhelming environmental stress.” American Psychiatric

Association, Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental

Disorders at 48 (2d ed. 1968).

36

Go to a big state mental hospital in almost any

state and ask to visit the children’s ward. If youare

allowed to visit, you will find people, children and

staff alike, caught up in a no-exii game. Patients

and staff play their roles, each defined by the other,

both prescribed by elaborate regulations and

procedures that serve one purpose: to maintain the

stability of the institution. Most of these institu-

tions are so large, so unwieldly, so antiquated in

design, so _ staffed, so burdened with the

miseries of man that everyone involved must

devote most of his energies to maintaining a steady-

state situation. The metaphor of illness rules.

Change in or deviation from role requirements

cannot be tolerated. Apathy goes unnoticed.

Precise adherence to role expectation is praised

and rewarded, while deviations and serious efforts

to change the system are punished. In such a

setting, hospitals can indeed make children sick.?5

The particular dangers of institutionalization for the

retarded include a high rate of mortality (generally

higher, especially for the young, than in the commu-

nity); an adverse effect on intelligence and an

abnormally high prevalence of personality disorders.”6

25Hobbs, supra note 20, at 130. Institutional care during early

childhood is especially to be avoided. There is strong evidence

that one institutional admission of longer than a week or

repeated admissions before the age of 5 are associated with

increased behavior disturbances and instability in adolescence.

Douglas, Early Hospital Admissions and Later Disturbances of

Behavior and Learning, 17 Dev. Med. Child Neurol. 456 (1975);

Quinton, Early Hospital Admissions and Later Disturbances of

Behavior: An Attempted Replication of Douglas’ Findings, 18

Dev. Med. Child Neurol. 447 (1976).

6Studies collected in Edgerton, et a/., “Mental Retardation

System,” in Hobbs, ed., /ssues in the Classification of Children,

Vol. II, 63-64 (1975).

a

37

Harmful stereotypical “institutional” behaviors (such

as biting and head banging) are learned by the retarded

who live in institutions.’

After the emergence of the first institutions for the

retarded in the United States 120 years ago in an

atmosphere of optimism, the facilities failed to fulfill

their expectations for cure or rehabilitation. By 1880,

the earlier prevention model was succeeded by a “pity

model” which supported the provision of custodial

care. By the turn of the century and with the develop-

ment of the eugenics movement,”* a societal image of

the retarded as a danger and a menace to society

became fixed.2? As one commentator explains the

effect today of this history:

... Many of our institutions, to this very day,

operate in the spirit of 1925 when inexpensive

segregation of the scarcely human retardate was

seen as the only feasible alternative to combat a

social menace. I am not proposing that this view is

still held; I am proposing that most institutions

function as if this view were still held.*°

27Testimony of Commissioner Glenn at 987a-988a.

28 See Buck v. Bell, 274 U.S. 200 (1927), upholding a statute

growing out of this movement.

2For analysis of this development, see Baumeister, The

American Residential Institution: Its History and Character in

Baumeister and Butterfield, eds., Residential Facilities for the

Mentally Retarded (1970); Kugel and Wolfensberger, eds.,

Changing Patterns in Residential Services for the Mentally

Retarded (1969); Halderman v. Pennhurst State School and

Hospital, 446 F.Supp. 1295 (E.D.Pa. 1977).

30Wolfensberger, The Origin and Nature of Our Institutional

Models, in Kugel and Wolfensberger, supra note 29, at 129

(emphasis in original).

38

Institutions for the retarded are known to subject

their inmates to regimented, impersonal and ware-

house-like conditions.2! For example, this is the way

one federal court d»icribes the daily routine in the

institution to which plaintiff George S. has been

committed for the past eight years:

These institutions are the most isolated and

restrictive settings in which to treat the retarded.

Pennhurst is almost totally impersonal. Its

residents have no privacy—they sleep in large,

overcrowded wards, spend their waking hours

together in large day rooms and eat in a large

group setting. They must conform to the schedule

of the institution which allows for no individual

flexibility. Thus, for example, all residents on Unit

7 go to bed between 8:00 and 8:30 p.m., are

awakened and taken to the toilet at 12:00-12:30

a.m. and return to sleep until 5:30 a.m. when they

are awakened for the day, which begins with being

31 See Halderman v. Pennhurst State School and Hospital, 446

F.Supp. 1295 (E.D. Pa. 1975). When institutionalized retarded

children experience adult contact, it is almost exclusively for

management, custodial or child-care purposes; only 4% of ward

attendants’ time is devoted to training and habilitation. Velt,

Interpersonal Interactions Between Institutionalized Retarded

Children and Their Attendants, 80 Am.J. Mental Defic. 535

(1976). One study notes that the practice of moving institu-

tionalized juveniles and staff from one unit to another can be

devastating; during a 3'4 year period, at least 99 different day

staff were on duty with the children being cared for by a total of

246 different adults. The children were moved at least twice and

some as many as 18 times. Tizard, The Role of Social Institutions

in the Causation, Prevention and Alleviation of Mental

Retardation, Haywood, Social-Cultural Aspects of Mental

Retardation (1970). See Klaber, supra note 22.

— a aii

39

toileted and then ang to wait for a 7:00 a.m.

breakfast.*?

The “deprivation of now inherent in institution-

alization” for young persons classified as mentally ill

and mentally retarded is accurately summarized by the

District Court:

One expert testified to the “derailment from the

usual course of one’s life, the dreary regimen even

in the most progressive hospitals, the extreme

deprivation and limits” which are the effects of

institutionalization. Institutions prevent persons

from being exposed to normal communit y

experiences and prevent individual growth. Wit

respect to mentally retarded persons, these

conditions may be rendered even more acute by

the person’s inability to protect himself against the

dehumanizing effects of institutionalization. Fi-

nally, these effects appear to be the same regardless

of whether the institution is state-operated or

privately-operated; the crucial variable is size.>?

The “powerful long-term effect on the individual's

life” (990a) of institutionalization reverberates long

after release from the facility.

32 Halderman v. Pennhurst State School and Hospital, supra

note 31, 446 F.Supp. at 1303 (citations omitted). Many other

courts have found similar regimented and depersonalized

conditions in institutions for the retarded across the country.

E.g., New York State Association for Retarded Children v.

Rockefeller, 357 F.Supp. 752 (E.D.N.Y. 1973), modified, No.

72-C-356/357 (E.D.N.Y., May 23, 1973), 393 F.Supp. 715

(E.D.N.Y. 1975) (approving consent order); Horacek v. Exon,

354 F.Supp. 71 (D. Neb. 1973); Wyatt v. Stickney, 325 F.Supp.

781 (M.D.Ala. 1971), 334 F.Supp. 1341 (M.D. Ala. 1971), 344

F.Supp. 373 and 387 (M.D. Ala. 1972), aff'd sub nom. Wyatt v.

Aderholt, 503 F.2d 1305 (Sth Cir. 1974).

3Opinion at 1070a.

40

Severe social stigma, self-stigmatization, job and

license discrimination also result from the experience

of commitment to mental institutions for the mentally

ill and the retarded.» It is the fact of institutionaliza-

tion, not the procedures used, which stigmatizes.** As

Opinions at 795a, 1067a, 1077a-1078a. On stigma generally,

see Goffman, Stigma: Notes on the Management of Spoiled

Identity (1963). Regarding stigma and the mentally ill, see, e.g.,

Testimony of Dr. Kandler at 574a-575a, Dr. Messinger at 622a,

Dr. Feiner at 475a, Dr. Ingall at 596a and Dr. Miller at 705a; Jn re

Ballay, 482 F.2d 648, 668 (D.C. Cir. 1973); Lessard v. Schmidt,

349 F.Supp. 1078 (E.D. Wis. 1972), vacated and remanded, 414

U.S. 473 (1974), on remand, 379 F.Supp. 1376 (E.D. Wis. 1974),

vacated and remanded, 421 U.S. 957 (1975), on remand, 413

F.Supp. 1318 (E.D.Wis. 1976); Braginsky, et al., Methods of

Madness: The Mental Hospital as a Last Resort (1969). On the

mentally retarded and stigma, see Pennsylvania Association for

Retarded Children v. Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, 343

F.Supp. 279, 293-295 (E.D.Pa. 1972); Edgerton, The Cloak of

Competence: Stigma in the Lives of the Mentally Retarded

(1967); Braginsky & Braginsky, Hansels and Gretels: Studies of

Children in Institutions for the “Mentally Retarded” (1971);

Severance & Gasstrom, Effects of the Label“ Mentally Retarded”

on Causal Explanations for Success and Failure Outcomes, 81

Am. J. of Mental Def. 547 (1977). In one study of school children

in the community, school teachers were found to have low

expectancies of students labeled retarded; the teachers maintained

these expectancies even when confronted with normal behavior and,

in fact, misinterpreted actual behavior in response to their bias.

Foster et al, Expectancy and Halo Effects os a Result of

Artificially Induced Teachers Bias, 1 Contemporary Educational

Psychology 37 (1976).

3“ Unfortunately, there is a stigma being attached to beingina

hospital, which would be another reason why all care ought to be

taken before this type of drastic step be taken. I never heard the

fact that a judge or attorney being involved in a proceeding

increases that stigma.” Testimony of Dr. Kandler at 574a-575a.

(continued)

4)

the lower court found, this “stigma is imposed both

outwardly, in that juveniles who have been in

institutions encounter substantial obstacles in the

community, and inwardly in that the self-image of the

juvenile is almost severely damaged.”26

(footnote continued from preceding page)

Non-institutional mental health care is not viewed in the same

highly negative way as is institutional care:

The lay public seems to adhere to a single operational

definition of the mental patient. To the average man, a

person becomes a mental patient only when he enters a

psychiatric hospital.

Rabkin, Public Attitudes Toward Mental Illness: A Review of

the Literature, 10 Schizophrenia Bull. 9 (1964). This deprecating

label, which applies for an indefinite period after discharge from

the institution, is not in general used for psychiatric patients seen

only in private consultation or clinics. /d.

Opinion at 1067a (notes omitted). The public fears, distrusts,

dislikes and excludes those persons labeled “mental patients.”

Rabkin, supra note 35. The prejudice against mental illness

results not simply from an ignorant or biased public but, in part,

from the activities of psychiatrists. Schwartz & Schwartz,

Reducing the Stigma of Mental Iliness, 38 Diseases of the

Nervous System 101 (1977). Numerous studies document the

self-stigmatization which lowers self-esteem and encourages

aberrant behavior in both mentally ill and mentally retarded

institutionalized persons. E.g., Lindsey, Patient Inquiry Into

Mental Hospitalization: A Quantitative Analysis, 10 Ado-

lescence 337 (1975); Bouliew, Do Institutions Maintain Retarded

Behavior, 9 Mental Retardation 36 (1971). Commissioner Glenn

testified that, with regard to those persons committed as

retarded, “the stigma really hurts the person’s later integration

into the community. * * * The discrimination that is placed on

these people is quite traumatic.” (991a). See also authorities cited

supra at note 34. eer yes

42

B. Liberty Interests Under the Fourteenth

Amendment Are Implicated by the Commit-

ment of Young Persons to Mental Institutions.

Mental commitment is generally considered a

deprivation of liberty under the Fourteenth Amend-

ment and the states are required to provide substantial

procedures to protect persons from erroneous commit-

ment to mental institutions:

There can be no doubt that involuntary commit-

ment to a mental hospital, like involuntary

confinement of an individual for any reason, is a

deprivation of liberty which the state cannot

accomplish without due process of law. Specht v.

Patterson, 386 U.S., at 608, 18 L.Ed.2d 527, 87

S.Ct. 1428 (1967). Commitment must be justified

on the basis of a legitimate state interest, and the

reasons for committing a particular individual

must be established in an appropriate proceeding.

O’Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563, 580 (1975)

(Chief Justice Burger, concurring). This Court has

consistently upheld claims by inmates of mental

institutions to hearing and other procedures protec-

tive of their constitutional rights. Baxstrom v. Herold,

383 U.S. 197 (1966); Specht v. Patterson, 386 U.S. 605

(1967); Jackson v. Indiana, 406 U.S. 715 (1972);

Humphrey v. Cady, 405 U.S. 504 (1972); McNeil v.

Director, Patuxent Institution, 407 U.S. 245 (1972).%”

37The lower federal courts have uniformly held that due

process mandates procedures similar or identical to those

required by the District Court here. E.g., Lessard v. Schmidt,

supra note 34; Lynch v. Baxley, 386 F.Supp. 378 (M.D.Ala.

1974); Bell v. Wayne County, 386 F.Supp. 1085 (E.D. Mich.

(continued)

43

The Court’s deep concern that due process be

afforded to the mentally disabled is by no means newly

conceived. Sixty years ago, in Chaloner v. Sherman,

242 U.S. 455 (1917), a challenge was made to state

mental incompetency procedures. Speaking for a

unanimous court, Justice Brandeis declared:

As the plaintiff had notice and opportunity to be

heard at each stage of the proceedings, the

essential elements of due process of law were fully

— and the court had jurisdiction to enter that

order.

242 U.S. at 455. See also Dexter v. Hall, 82 U.S. 9, 25

(1872) (“...a lunatic needs more protection than a

minor.” “Both such classes of persons are regarded as

under the protection of the law.”).

In an attack on Minnesota mental commitment

procedures, this Court upheld a statute which provided

for a hearing, counsel, confrontation, a record and the

right to appeal. Minnesota ex rel. Pearson v. Probate

Court of Ramsey County, 309 U.S. 270, 276-277 (1940)

(“We fully recognize the danger of a deprivation of due

process in proceedings dealing with persons charged

(footnote continued from preceding page)

1974); Dixon v. Attorney General of the Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania, 325 F.Supp. 966 (M.D. Pa. 1971); Heryford v.

Parker, 396 F.2d 393 (10th Cir. 1968); In re Ballay, supra note 34;

In re Basso, 299 F.2d 933 (D.C. Cir. 1962); In re Barnard, 455

F.2d 1370 (D.C. Cir. 1971); Sarzen v. Gaughan, 489 F.2d 1076

(Ist Cir. 1973); Kendall v. True, 391 F.Supp. 413 (W.D. Ky.

1975); Barry v. Hall, supra note 21; Doremus v. Farrell, 407

F.Supp. 509 (D. Neb. 1976); Suzuki v. Quisenberry, 411 F.Supp.

1113 (D. Hawaii 1976); Suzuki v. Alba, 438 F.Supp. 1106 (D.

Hawaii 1977).

44

with insanity or, as here, with a psychopathic

personality as defined in the statute.”).**

In Specht v. Patterson, 386 U.S. 605 (1967), the

Court rejected the notion that individual rights can be

bypassed by labeling a procedure “civil” rather than

“criminal.”3? Discussing mental commitment pro-

ceedings under the Colorado Sex Offender Act, the

Court held, “These commitment proceedings whether

denominated civil or criminal are subject both to the

Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment as we held in Baxstrom v. Herold, 383 U.S. 107,

86 S.Ct. 750, 15 L.Ed.2d 620, and to the Due Process

Clause.” Specht, 386 U.S. at 608.

3% See Logan v. Arafeh, 356 F.Supp. 1265 (D. Conn. 1972),

aff'd mem. sub nom. Briggs v. Arafeh, 411 U.S. 911(1973), where

the district court upheld a statute noting that a “judicial decision

after receiving evidence from a general physician and a

psychiatrist in an adversary hearing is fully adequate to safeguard

against involuntary commitment through mistake or abuse.” 346

F.Supp. at 1270. Logan permitted a delay in hearings for people

certified as “dangerous;” the Pennsylvania statutes here require

only a finding of “in need of care or observation,” 1966 Act, or “in

need of treatment.” 1976 Act.

The irrelevance of civil-criminal labels was the basis for the

decision in Giacco v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S. 399 (1966), where an

acquitted criminal defendant challenged a state law permitting a

jury to assess costs against him. Pennsylvania courts charac-

terized the statute as “of a civil character.” Noting that it

“provides the State with a procedure for depriving an acquitted

defendant of his liberty and his property,” the Court held that

Fourteenth Amendment “protection is not to be avoided by the

simple label a State chooses to fasten upon its conduct or

statute.” 382 U.S. at 402.

“The due process required in mental commitments today is

not unlike that described by Blackstone. Before a person could be

(cortinued)

45

The pervasive concern has been that no person may

be caused to suffer a loss of liberty—for whatever

reason—without stringent decision-making require-

ments designed to minimize the ever-present risk of

error and to assure proper disposition of the case.*!

The defendants, invoking the “family’s right of

privacy” and “the sanctity of parental responsibility,”4?

maintain that a young person’s constitutional right to

(footnote continued from preceding page)

declared retarded (“an idiot”), a writ de idiota inquirendo would

be filed and “tried by a jury of twelve men;” a declaration that one

was mentally ill (a “lunatic”) did not occur until after the lord

chancellor, “upon petition or information, grants a commission

in the nature of the writ de idiota inquirendo, to inquire into the

party’s state of mind.” Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of

England 305 (Wendell, ed., 1852). In Blackstone’s day, “The

legislature, to prevent all abuses incident to such private custody,

hath thought proper to interpose its authority, by statute

[citation omitted] for regulating private mad-houses.” Jd. As

discussed more fully below, infra at §11.B., from its earliest

Constitution and laws until recently, Pennsylvania required

judicial proceedings for mental commitments of all persons,

regardless of age, to mental institutions, whether publicly owned

or not.

‘'Discussing mental commitments, Wigmore declares, “In

such proceedings, nothing can excuse the judge from personally

hearing and examining the party to be committed” (emphasis in

original) because of the extreme risk of an improper

commitment:

No greater cruelty can be committed in the name of the law.

And any statute which makes such a result possible, by

refusing to let a sane person appear before the judge and plead

his own case ana hear the witnesses against him, is a thor-

oughly bad statute.

5 Wigmore, Evidence §1400 (3d ed., 1940) (footnote omitted).

“Brief for Appellants at 28.

46

liberty is not implicated at all in mental institutionali-

zation. Finding no support in any previous decision of

this Court, this conclusion misconceives constitutional

doctrine which full recognizes the applicability of the

central meaning of liberty—freedom from physical

confinement—to young persons, while setting variable

limits on other asserted liberties of minors under the

Fourteenth Amendment.

The “power of the state to control the conduct of

children reaches beyond the scope of its authority over

adults.” Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158, 170

(1944). For example, young persons may be required to

receive a basic education in school, Wisconsin v.

Yoder, 406 U.S. 205, 213 (1972), and may be limited in

their access to objectionable material. Ginsberg v. New

York, 390 U.S. 629 (1968). In addition, parents and

guardians have the right to direct the upbringing of

their children in their early and formative years. E.g.,

Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925).

Two controlling principles emerge from the Court’s

decisions regarding parents and children. Where the

state unreasonably intrudes into the family’s domain

and thereby jeopardizes the family’s function and

strength as the primary socialization mechanism, the

state’s intrusion will be struck down. See Meyer v.

Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923); Pierce v. Society of

Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925); Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406

U.S. 205 (1971). In precisely parallel fashion, where

parental decisions unreasonably jeopardize the young

person’s “opportunities for growth into free and inde-

pendent well-developed men and citizens,” govern-

mental intrusions into the family will be upheld. Prince

v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158, 165 (1944). In Prince,

47

the Court upheld restrictions on the rights of guardians

and supported certain regulation of family interests,

explaining:

But the family itself is not beyond regulation in the

_— interest, as against a claim of religious

berty. [citations omitted] And neither rights of

religion nor rights of parenthood are beyond

limitation. Acting to guard the general interest in

youth’s well-being, the state as parens patriae may

restrict the parent’s control by requiring school

attendance, regulating or prohibiting the child’s

labor and in many other ways.

Id. at 166 (notes omitted). And more recently, in

Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972), limitations on

parental powers continued to receive approval; such

regulation is proper “if it appears that parental

decisions will jeopardize the health or safety of the

child, or have a potential for significant social

burdens.” /d. at 234.

The extent of control over juveniles by parents and

guardians is broad enough to provide appropriate

deference to the “importance of the family,” Stanley v.

Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 651 (1972), but narrow enough to

protect the independent personal interests of the most

powerless of the family’s members.*? The presence of

“family interests” in a case does not efface the interests

of the child as an individual.

Other courts have uniformly agreed that, in the

parent-child context, the law as parens patriae must

“Dr. Feiner testified that “...the child has some intrinsic

vulnerability based upon the fact the child is dependent to begin

with, the child is more controllable in certain ways, the child is

also often a newcomer to the setting, the last to be present in this

little system . . .” (472a).

, 48

protect the welfare of children, an interest to which that

of parents must yield.“* The key consideration in all

these cases is that society has an interest—independent

of parents—in assuring the welfare of children.

“The issue arises most often in custody cases. E.g., Holtsclaw

v. Mercer, 145 F.2d 388 (D.C. Cir. 1944); Langan v. Langan, 150

F.2d 979 (D.C. Cir. 1945). See In re Stuart, 114 F.2d 825 (D.C.

Cir. 1940) (right of parents to control upbringing of children not

absolute); Newton v. Burgin, 363 F.Supp. 782(W.D.N.Ca. 1973)

(Three-Judge Court), affd, 414 U.S. 1139 (1974) (parental

constitutional right to control children can be limited by statute).

Among the many situations in which parental “rights” and

“powers” have been held properly restricted are juveniles

curfews, Bykofsky v. Borough of Middletown, 401 F.Supp. 1242

(M.D. Pa..1975), cert. den., __ U.S. __ ; drinking age laws, Repub-

lican College Council of Pennsylvania v. Winner, 357 F.Supp. 739

(E.D.Pa. 1973); sex education, Cornwell v. State Board of

Education, 314 F.Supp. 340 (D. Md. 1969), aff'd, 428 F.2d 471

(8th Cir. 1970), cert. den., 400 U.S. 942 (1970); blood

transfusions, People ex rel. Wallace v. Labrenz, 411 Ill. 618, 104

N.E.2d 769 (1952), cert. den., 344 U.S. 824 (1952); corporal

punishment, Ware v. Estes, 328 F.Supp. 657 (N.D.Tex. 1971);

visitation, Comm. ex rel. Heston v. Heston, 98 A.2d 477, 173

Pa.Super. 260 (1953); approval of personal injury settlements,

Rafferty v. Rainey, 292 F.Supp. 152(E.D. Tenn. 1968); abortion,

In re Smith, 295 A.2d 238, 16 Md.App. 209 (1972) (mother

cannot compel daughter to submit to abortion); organ

transplants, Hart v. Brown, 289 A.2d 385, 29 Conn.Sup. 368

(1972); sterilization, Frazier v. Levi, 440 S.W.2d 393, 394 (Civil

App. Tex. 1969); and monetary matters. Ellis v. Massenberg, 126

N.C. 129, 35 S.E. 40 (1900) (action to set aside deed); White v.

Osborne, 251 N.C. 56, 110 S.E.2d 449 (1959); Babcock v. Fisk,

327 Mich. 72 (1950) (control of publicly raised funds).

The contrary assertion of defendants that, except in life-or-

death situations, parental wishes always prevail over asserted

interests of children, is totally unsupported in law or reason and

must be rejected.

49

Where constitutional rights are at stake, and family

interests are not implicated, this Court has recognized

claims by young persons asserting liberties in various

substantive and procedural realms. E.g., Goss v.

Lopez, 419 U.S. 565 (1975) (suspension from public

school); Tinker v. Des Moines Independent Com-

munity School District, 393 U.S. 503, 506-507 (1969)

(First Amendment right to political expression);

Erznoznik v. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205, 212-

214 (1975) (First Amendment interest in flow of

communicative material); Ingraham v. Wright, 430

U.S. 651, 672-674 (1977) (Due Process right to be free

from unjustified intrusions on personal security);

Carey v. Population Services International, 431 U.S.

678 (1977) (access to contraceptives). In these cases,

while the extent of minors’ liberty interests was held

subject to possible limitation, the existence and nature

of those liberty interests, similar to those of adults, was

nevertheless recognized.

One liberty interest of young persons which has

repeatedly been identified by this Court as implicated

by the Fourteenth Amendment is the right to be free

from physical confinement. See Haley v. Ohio, 332

U.S. 596, 601 (1948); Gallegos v. Colorado, 370 U.S.

49, 54 (1952); Kent v. United States, 383 U.S. 541

(1966); In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967); In re Winship,

397 U.S. 358 (1970); McKeiver v. Pennsylvania, 403

U.S. 528 (1971); Breed v. Jones, 421 U.S. 519 (1975).

These cases do not admit of any question as to the

extent of the juvenile’s liberty interest in not being

confined, for whatever purpose, in an institution.

4SThe students’ ages in Tinker were 8, 11, 13, 15 and 16. 393

U.S. at 516.

50

There is no suggestion in these decisions that parental

endorsement of a decision to separate the young person

from the home and to confine him or her in an

institution somehow nullifies the minor’s Fourteenth

Amendment interests.*

The Haley-Gault-Breed line of cases are emphatic

that a constitutional liberty is discerned even if the

purpose of the confinement is “clinical”*’ treatment or

“to save the child:”48

Regardless of the purposes for which the incar-

ceration is imposed, the fact remains that it is

incarceration. The rehabilitative goals of the

system are admirable, but they do not change the

drastic nature of the action taken.

Breed v. Jones, supra, 421 U.S. at 530, n. 12.4

46In Ginsberg v. New York, 390 U.S. 629 (1968), the Court held

that the Constitution supports the parental “claim to authority in

their own household” to direct the rearing of children. Jd. at 639

(emphasis added). This suggests that parental authority may not

be absolute when the young person is excluded from the

household.

47JIn re Gault, 387 U.S. 1, 16 (1967).

In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 365-366 (1970).

494 case strikingly on pointis Heryford v. Parker, 396 F.2d 393

(10th Cir. 1968), where a nine year old child was committed to a

training school for the feeble-minded and epileptic:

Bui, like Gault, and of utmost importance, we have a

situation in which the liberty of an individual is at stake, and

we think the reasoning in Gault emphatically applies. It

matters not whether the proceedings be labelled “civil” or

“criminal” or whether the subject matter be mental

instability or juvenile delinquency. It is the likelihood of

involuntary incarceration—whether for punishment as an

adult for a crime, rehabilitation as a juvenile for

delinquency, or treatment and training for a feeble-minded

(continued)

tp tes -—— -—

51

It would have made no constitutional difference if

Gerald Gault’s mother had favored his confinement for

making an obscene telephone call or if Gary Steven

Jones’ mother had preferred that he be tried as an adult

for robbery.

The deprivation of liberty and other harms which

flow from commitment are accompanied by the serious

and irreparable stigma described above. Such injury to

standing, reputation and one’s future functioning as a

citizen, coupled with the deprivation of physical

freedom, implicates the young persons’ liberty interests

under the Fourteenth Amendment. See Wisconsin v.

Constantineau, 400 U.S. 433 (1971); Paul v. Davis, 424

U.S. 693 (1976).%°

Without question, the Fourteenth Amendment

liberty interests of young persons are affected when

(footnote continued from preceding page)

or mental incompetent—which commands of the consti-

tutional safeguards of due process.

396 F.2d at 396. See Saville v. Treadway, 404 F.Supp. 430

(M.D.Tenn. 1974); Kidd v. Schmidt, 399 F.Supp. 301 (E.D. Wis.

1975).

0 See Note, Developments in the Law, supra note 21, 87 Harv.

L. Rev. at 1198-1201. In Gary W. v. Louisiana, the court

concluded:

Involuntary institutional confinement of any person, adult

or child, entails a “massive curtailment of liberty,”

Hum hrey v. Cady, 1972, 405 U.S. 504, 509. Such institu-

tionalization stigmatizes those confined and may at times

exceed even criminal incarceration in its destructive impact

on an individual's personal freedom.

437 F.Supp. 1209, 1216(E.D. La. 1976) (commitment of children

to mental institutions).

52

they are indeterminately confined in mental institu-

tions.>!

C. The Constitutional Rights of Young Persons

in the Mental Institutionalization Process are

not Overcome by Parental Application for

Commitment.

The Facts Regarding Families Seeking

Commitment of “Mentally Ill” Minors

As the lower court’s unchallenged factual findings*?

and the record in this litigation shout forth, applica-

tions for commitment of young persons to mental

institutions are not the expression of calm, rational,

reliable, informed conflict-free parents and guardians.

On the contrary, the expert witnesses for all parties

$1 This conclusion is reached in a persuasive recent analysis of

the question. Teitelbaum & Ellis, The Liberty Interest of

Children: Due Process Rights and Their Application, 12 Family

Law Quarterly 153 (Fall, 1978). (mae

Defendants raise the spectre of application of the decision in

this case to provision of services in the community in non-

institutional home-like settings. Brief for Appellants at 34, n. 17.

The complaint, the lower court’s opinions, findings and order,

however, deal only with institution-based residential care as

distinguished from community-based care. Plaintiffs make no

claim regarding non-institutional care in this case.

S2Opinion at 1060a-1070a. The defendants do not challenge

any factual findings on appeal as clearly erroneous. See Fed. R.

Civ. Pro. 52(a); United States v. United States Gypsum Co., 333

U.S. 364, 394-395 (1948) (stating rule); Graver Tank & Mfg. Co.

v. Linde Air Products Co., 336 U.S. 271, 274-275 (1949)

(application of “clearly erroneous” test to findings based largely

on expert testimony).

$3

agreed that families seekir z commitment of allegedly

handicapped children are characterized by severe

stress, disharmony and dislocation.*} The problems of

children are a function of intrafamilial problems and

exist in a context of a weakened family structure with

conflict overtly expressed.*4 The juvenile behavior

which precipitates institutionalization may be pro-

voked by the parents; there are also many cases where

the child may be driven to such behavior by the

conflicts at home.°5

53 See testimony of Dr. Kandler at 543a, 553a-554a, 570a-57 la;

Dr. Ingall at 588a-590a, 601a; Dr. Messinger at 616a-619a; Dr.

Tashjian at 65la-652a, 656a-657a; Dr. Masterson at 727a-728a,

733a-734a. Eg., Alanen, The Family in the Pathogenesis of

Schizophrenia and Neurotic Disorders, 24 Acta Psychiatrica et

Neurologica Scandinavica, Suppl. 189 (1966); Lidz, ef al.,

Schizophrenia and the Family (1966); Lidz, et al., The Intra-

familial Environment of Schizophrenic Patients. Il. Marital

Schism and Marital Skew, 114 Amer. J. of Psychiatry 281 (1957).

See generally, Fleck, Some Basic Aspects of Family Pathology,

in Wolman, ed., Manual of Child Psychopathology 189 (1972).

‘4See testimony of Dr. Ingall at 588a, 610a; Dr. Messinger at

616a-619a; Dr. Masterson at 733a-734a; Dr. Tashjian at 668a-

669a; Dr. Feiner at 467a-469a, 47 la-472a, 501a-502a; Wohiman,

Family Dynamics and Schizophrenia, 6 J. of Healthand Human

Behavior 147 (1965); Weeks & Mack, The Child, in Nicholi, ed.,

The Harvard Guide to Modern Psychiatry (1978).

5SSee testimony of Dr. Masterson at 733a; Dr. Feiner at 468a.

One court which noted the possibility that a “breakdown in

parental control” of a child could result from failings in the

parent rather than in the minor, required inquiry into “intra-

family parent-child conflict.” Jn re Henry G., 28 C.A.2d 276, 284-

285, 104 C.R. 585 (1972), describes the issue in this way:

The Fourth Commandment is still an integral part of the

beliefs of our society. It is one thing, however, to say that a

teen-age minor has struck the parent—it is another thing if

that striking is done in self-defense and in response to

traumatic situations initiated by the parent.

54

Parents will often seek to institutionalize children for

improper reasons. This stems from honest mistakes,

ignorance, lack of awareness of alternatives to

institutionalization, lack of community resources or

sometimes from malice or ill will.5* In a significant

number of cases, the parental purpose of bringing a

child to treatment “has been to accuse him, to punish

him, to separate him from the home. The motivation is

not always good.”*’

Experts for both plaintiffs and defendants were in

agreement that parents are not particularly good

observers of children’s behavior and symptoms and,

especially with the high feelings that run in these

situations, parents are not reliable sources of factual

information about the child and his or her behavior.**

Parents who bring their child to professionals seeking

care “can’t be objective reporters” of the behavioral

background of the child.5? Parents often exaggerate

and misinterpret the actions of their children and may

often react antagonistically to their children, in these

cases.

- S6See testimony of Dr. Kandler at 543a, 553a-554a; Dr. Miller

at 685a.

‘Testimony of Dr. Ingall at 60la.

58 See testimony of Dr. Masterson at 733a; Dr. Kandler at 543a;

Dr. Ingall at 592a, 60la; Dr. Sugar at 40la.

Testimony of Dr. Feiner at 478a. See testimony of Dr.

Messinger at 623a-624a.

Testimony of Dr. Sugar at 404a-408a. Young persons are

often committed not to resolve problems but to avoid them:

From the point of view of the family, the primary function

of scapegoating is that it permits the family to maintain its

solidarity. In all the disturbed families, there were very

(continued)

55

The roster of Haverford State Hospital plaintiffs

committed under the challenged statute is a complete

one as of the time suit was filed; no selection, random

or otherwise, was made (945a). Every one of these

young persons comes from a disrupted, chaotic or

conflicted home. For example, Kevin S. was physically

abused by his schizophrenic mother who had lied to

obtain her own admission to a mental hospital to give

birth to him. Richard S.’ mother did not have him

home until he was two and he stayed with her only two

years. James Paul M. lived with just his father, his

mother having died not long before his commitment.

Edward B.’s parents admitted tricking him into the

hospital. Richard C.’s father had a drinking problem.

William B’s parents separated during his infancy; he

was committed after he began living with his father,

stepmother and stepbrothers. According to hospital

records, his life with family members subjected him to

extreme inconsistency, disorganization and lack of

structure. Similarly, Francis B. comes from a disor-

ganized family which rejected him (the records refer to

“the almost total rejection of Frankie by everyone in his

(footnote continued from preceding page)

severe strains which continuously threatened to disrupt the

family. . . . By focusing on one particular child, the families

were able to encapsulate problems and anxieties which

could potentially disrupt various family processes. There

see to be an added solidarity between the parents who

stood united against the problem child. The fact that it is a

child who is disturbed permits the parents to continue to

perform the tasks necessary for household maintenance.

Vogel & Bell, The Emotionally Disturbed Child as the Family

Scapegoat, in A Modern Introduction to the Family 125 (1968).

See also, Laing & Esterson, Sanity, Madness and the Family

(1964).

56

family”). There is a question of physical abuse in his

case; this plaintiff “could no[t] do right in parents’

eyes.”

Maria L.’s parents were saved from divorce only by

the birth of a new child. Her father drinks and won’t

assume any responsibility for the four children in the

family. Her mother, on the brink of mental breaddown,

several times tried to choke Maria.Thomas W.’s mother

and stepfather, involved in an unstable marriage, were

arrested after a severe beating of Thomas which

resulted in his hospitalization. Social service agencies

have cared for him since.

When these family dynamics are viewed in the

context of the alleged behaviors which precipitate the

request for commitment, “conflicts between the

concerns and interests of the parents, and the best

interests of the child frequently arise. . . .”°!

The Facts Regarding Families Seeking

Commitment of “Retarded” Minors

Stereotypes regarding the retarded and their mental

institutionalization are tragically hardened and erro-

neous. A person’s level of retardation does not

predetermine his or her need for institutionalization.

61Opinion at 1068a. See authorities cited supra at notes 53, 54

and 60. In a recent study of 587 inpatient psychiatric admissions

of children over a five year period, it was found that low

functioning psychotic children are admitted to psychiatric

hospitals not because of a change in the child’s behavior but

because of the particular stress on the family. Hagamen, Family

Support Systems: Their Effect on Long-Term Psychiatric

Hospitalization in Children, 16 J. Amer. Acad. Child Psychiatry

53 (1977).

62Testimony of Commissioner Glenn at 997a.

57

While degree of intellectual and physical impairment

is a factor in determining institutionaiization of

retarded individuals, it clearly does not stand alone nor

is it necessarily the most important. Other factors are

the degree of family disorganization, demographic

characteristics, parental attitudes toward childrearing

and mental retardation, availability of community

resources, and the professional philosophies of those

consulted for advice.®? “Professional philosophies

influence decisions because patient oriented clinicians

are more likely to give first priority to factors they

consider advantageous to the child, whereas family

oriented clinicians are more likely to base their recom-

mendations on those which they assume to be best for

the family.”

Parents of retarded persons often resort to seeking

institutionalization as a means of securing relief from

severe physical and emotional strains and because of a

lack of finances and adequate community resources:®

However, if these parents are “given honest

information about residential and community

alternatives and time to reflect,” most of them

SEg., Eyman, et al., Factors Determining Residential

Placement of Mentally Retarded Children, 76 Amer. J. of

Mental Deficiency 693 (1966); Gralicker, et al., A Study of

Factors Influencing Placement of Retarded Children in a State

Residential Institution, 69 Amer. J. of Mental Deficiency 553

(1965).

**Eyman, op. cit. supra note 63, at 697.

*5 See, e.g., Justice, et al., Problems Reported by Parents of

Mentally Retarded Children—Who Helps?, 75 Amer. J. of

Mental Deficiency 685 (1971). For a sensitive discussion of what

parents face, see testimony of Glenn at 100la-1005a. See also

Teitelbaum and Ellis, supra note 51.

58

“come to realize that the placement in most

institutions means placing a lid on the child’s

potential by consigning him to custodial care—

sometimes humane but often inhumane by

— standards. Most good residential schools

(offering education and training as well as care) are

extremely expensive. Most state institutions are

still little more than warehouses which ‘store’

people.”

Inappropriate and unneeded institutionalization is

often the unintended result.

The three named plaintiffs committed as retarded

include two who are only moderately retarded. George

S., abandoned by his parents, was institutionalized

after a foster mother became ill and a second foster

home became too crowded. Gina S., was placed out of

the family home when her parents divorced and, three

years later, was taken by her mother directly from the

county infants’ home to the mental institution. Both

parents of Nancy Louise D. were alcoholic and

mentally retarded; the county welfare department.

placed her first in foster care and then into the

institution.

The only evidence on these matters is the expert

testimony of Linda Glenn, Assistant Commissioner for

Mental Retardation, Department of Mental Health,

Commonwealth of Massachusetts (972a-1049a). Her

testimony, unchallenged by the defendants, confirms

the trying situation faced by families of the retarded

and those classified as retarded. The District Court was

surely correct in these factual findings and conclusions:

Hobbs, The Futures of Children 142 (1975) (citation

omitted).

*’Testimony of Commissioner Glenn at 997a-1004a.

59

Similarly, parents of mentally retarded children

are frequently subject to community pressure to

institutionalize their children. Other personal

pressures, such as the parents’ own emotional

difficulties in dealing with the mentally retarded

child, as well as the financial problems of

providing necessary care, may cause a parent to

institutionalize a mentally retarded child although

that course is not in the child’s best interests.

Finally, the parents simply may not be aware of

less drastic alternatives to institutionalization

(1069a, notes omitted).

In the case of the mentally retarded and their

parents, when the question is institutionalization, there

is no identity of interests which may be presumed.

The Test in the Danforth Case

Accommodates the Interests Involved

The decision of the lower court that parents’ and

guardians’ interests do not negate the rights of young

persons in the mental commitment context is manifest-

ly correct.6 Where parents and guardians seek

The District Court and defendants approach the issue as one

of parental power to “waive” minors’ rights. While the result is

the same, plaintiffs do not believe that the constitutional concept

of waiver is relevant here. There is no case in which parents have

been found to have waived or not to have waived the

constitutional rights of their children. Gault discussed the issue of

waiver with the Court noting that problems might arise

“depending on the age of the chiid and the presence and

competence of the parents.” 387 U.S. at 55. See Heryford v.

Parker, 396 F.2d 393, 396 (10th Cir. 1968) (issue described but

not decided).

In plaintiffs’ view, the critical question is whether juveniles can

be deprived of their rights where parents and guardians assert

(continued)

60

confinement of young persons in mental institutions,

there are no significant interests which overcome the

right to minimal due process protections.

The factual and legal status of parent-child relations

in mental commitment is summarized by the District

Court in these telling words:

There may be instances where the congruence

between the parents’ interests and those of the

child assure that the parents will arrive at a

decision based upon the best interests of the child.

The evidence in this case overwhelmingly demon-

strates that, due to the substantial potential for

conflict between the interests of the parent and the

child, this is not such a situation.

(footnote continued from preceding page)

contrary and divergent rights. As discussed in the text infra, this

approach is consistent with that followed by this Court in the

parental consent to abortion cases where an inquiry was not made

into parental competence to “waive” the rights involved.

Should the Court undertake to consider the waiver issue,

plaintiffs submit that parental application for state commitment

without more cannot be considered a valid waiver of a young

person's rights to counsel and an opportunity to be heard. A

waiver of constitutional rights must be made “voluntarily,

knowingly and intelligently.” Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436

(1966). There must be an ‘intentional relinquishment or

abandonment’ of a fully known right.” Jn re Gault, 387 U.S. 1, 42,

quoting Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464 (1938).

A valid waiver may not be presumed from the silence of the

person involved. Miranda v. Arizona, supra; In re Gault, supra,

387 U.S. at 34. In cases involving juveniles, even apparent

waivers have been invalidated. E.g., Haley v. Ohio, 332 U.S. 596,

601 (1948).

**Opinion at 1077a (note and citations omitted). As the District

Court indicates, id. at n. 44, this case does not present the difficult

question of whether parents would have the right to “waive” the

constitutional rights of their children, absent seriously con-

flicting and divergent interests.

61

The required constitutional analysis refutes defen-

dants’ argument that parents must be “in control of the

situation” and permitted to waive young persons’

Fourteenth Amendment rights. Brief for Appellants at

38.

In Planned Parenthood of Missouri v. Danforth, 428

U.S. 52 (1976), finding a protected liberty interest for

minors, the Court proceeded “to examine whether

there is any significant state interest in conditioning an

abortion on the consent of a parent or person in loco

parentis that is not present in the case of an adult.” Jd.

at 75. This is the test which must be applied in the case

at bar.

A direct and persuasive response to Danforth is that,

as demonstrated above, the constitutional interest in

freedom from physical confinement without due

process admits of no exceptions. No asserted state

interest in any previous decision of this Court has

overcome this “liberty,” no matter how rehabilitative

or treatment-oriented the institution of confinement

has been. Those cases, however, did not involve a

parent or guardian acting to secure confinement.”

The state here, citing no decision of this or any other

court, makes a succinct argument that the state’s

interest is parental autonomy, expressed by medically-

The concurrence of a doctor or hospital in the action is of no

constitutional significance under the Danforth test. Under

Danforth and Bellotti v. Baird, 428 U.S. 132 (1976), agreement

by a doctor to perform a medical procedure does not diminish or

negate the asserted constitutional interest (in those cases, the

interest of the parents). Further, as the decisions of this and other

courts demonstrate, reliance on medical certification to justify

mental commitment, absent a hearing and other protections, will

not satisfy due process.

62.

advised deprivation of young persons’ liberty. Brief for

Appellants at 37-38.

Such an argument was expressly rejected in

Danforth where the young person and parent “are so

fundamentally in conflict and the very existence of the

pregnancy already has fractured the family structure.”

428 U.S. at 75. “Any independent interest the parent

may have ... is no more weighty than the right ot

privacy of the competent minor mature enough to have

become pregnant.” /d. Likewise, any parental right to

obtain mental health care for a child’! is no more

weighty than the liberty right of a child proposed for

™'Mental institutionalization . »u: hardly be considered run-of-the

mill general medical care. No court or legislature has ever

considered it such. See, e.g., discussion of Pennsylvania legal .

history, infra at §11.B., and cases cited at 36-38 supra. The lower

court explained:

Unlike other kinds of medical treatment, a substantial

stigma attaches to institutionalize. This stigma coupled with

the substantial danger of error in the diagnosis of mental

illness and mental retardation, and the greater potential for

long-term loss of liberty create a situation substantially

different from the treatment of other parent-child medical

conditions. Furthermore, we perceive little or no parent-

child conflict in the decision to give or withhold other kinds

of medical treatment since a parents’ interests are more

likely to be similar to the best interests of the child.

1077a-1078a. To the extent that mental health care is considered

similar to other medical care, the right of parents to impose it

must be considered in light of the risks to the child. See, e.g.,

Jehovah's Witnesses in State of Washington v. King County

Hospital Unit No. 1 (Harborview), 278 F.Supp. 488 (W.D.

Wash. 1967), aff'd, 390 U.S. 598 (1968), rehearing den., 391 U.S.

961 (1968) (parents sued on “right to decide what medical

treatment they will accept for their children;” blood transfusion

case). See also cases cited supra at n. 44.

63

institutionalization. It is the “absolute limitation on the

minor’s right,” 428 U.S. at 90 (Stewart, J. and Powell,

J., concurring), with no provision for “judicial

resolution of any disagreement,” id., which causes the

greatest risk of harm to the juvenile and involves the

least benefit to legitimate state interests. See Bellotti v.

Baird, 428 U.S. 132 (1976).

Under the Danforth test, a countervailing significant

state interest must be established by more than the

unsubstantiated declaration of its existence. Carey v.

Population Services International, 431 U.S. 678

(1977). Here, the record provides no support whatso-

ever for the bare assertion of a “parental autonomy”

interest in appellants’ brief.

Other possible rationales for differentiating between

the rights of young persons and adults are neither

asserted by the defendants nor present in these

circumstances. 72

The critical question raised by Danforth is not “when

rights conflict, which are paramount?” but “when

presumed common interests in fact diverge, how can

each be accommodated and protected?” There is a

For example, the Court has on occasion looked to minors’

vulnerability to harm and their lack of mature judgment in

making decisions for themselves. See, Prince v. Massachusetts,

321 U.S. 158, 169 (1944); Ginsberg v. New York, 390 U.S. 629,

636-637, 649-650 (1968); Danforth, supra, 428 U.S. at 102

(Stevens, J., concurring in part and dissenting in part); Carey,

supra, 431 U.S. at 693, n. 15.

The state interest in assuring emergency mental health care for

young persons is protected by the District Court’s denial of a pre-

commitment hearing and allowance of temporary detention

initiated by parents or guardians without a hearing (800a-801a,

1092a).

64

continuum of decisions made by parents and guardians

regarding their wards. At one end are constitutionally

trivial and intra-familial issues (what color shirt to

wear, what friends to allow into the home) in which

there is little, if any, potential harm to the child. Along

the continuum, parental! powers are met with limits as

their interests and desires diverge from those of young

persons, in whom the state has an interest (e.g.,

compulsory school attendance, vaccinations, First

Amendment limits). As the parents’ claims threaten to

risk or unduly interfere with the child’s (abortion,

blood transfusions), the divergence becomes so great

that the parents’ assertion of rights is not permitted to

overshadow the social necessity of protecting young

persons’ independent interests. At the extreme end of

the continuum are actions which society prohibits

entirely as between parents and children (incest,

physical abuse, neglect).”

When viewed in terms of its nature and potential for

harm, mental institutionalization—whether the com-

mitment is erroneous or not—is an event near the end

of the continuum ai a point where the “parental

autonomy” claims are properly muted to the extent

necessary to protect the “liberty” claims of the child

who is being removed from the home and placed in an

institution. Therefore, following the reasoning in other

cases where the independent rights of minors have been

protected in the absence of a guardian with common

73For another extreme situation, in which parents were limited

in their right to remove a child from the home, see Respublica v.

Keppelle, 2 U.S. 197 (Pa.Sup.Ct.), holding that a parent could

not bind a child out as a servant.

65

non-divergent interests,’* the District Court held that

74 See, e.g., cases cited supra at note 44; Jehovah's Witnesses in

State of Washington v. King County Hospital Unit No. 1

(Harborview), 278 F.Supp. 488 (W.D. Wash. 1967), aff'd, 390

U.S. 598 (1968), rehearing den., 391 U.S. 961 (1968) (court

rejected parental “right to decide what medical treatment they

will accept for their children” and “right to decide what medical

treatment they will accept for their children” and “right to family

privacy” in class action by parents); Marsden v. Commonwealth,

227 N.E.2d 1 (Mass. 1967) (child does not have adequate

independent representation from parent where parent is

complainant in stubborn child proceeding, although parent may

have child’s best interests in mind); A.L. v. G.R.H., 325 N.E.2d

501 (Ind.App. 1975) (parent lacks power to secure sterilization of

son, despite sincere belief in benefits of procedure). In a recent case

holding that parents may not admit retarded children to a private

hospital for sterilization, absent a hearing, the Danforth analysis

suggested here was made. Ruby v. Massey, 452 F.Supp. 361 (D.

Conn. 1978). A court’s comments in a civil rights suit by

institutionalized retarded children illustrates the approach in these

cases:

I cannot be insensitive to the probability that the interests of

the parents may conflict with those of the children residing

at the Beatrice State Home. While the parents in all good

conscience may desire one remedy, ora specific type or style

of treatment for their children, it would not necessarily be in

the best interests of the children. Therefore, it seems to me

that a discreet course would be to provide for the appoint-

ment of a guardian ad litem, who would not displace the

parents as representatives of the plaintiffs but would be alert

to recognize potential and actual differences in positions

asserted by the parents and positions that need to be

asserted on behalf of the plaintiffs.

Horacek v. Exon, 354 F.Supp. 71, 74 (D. Neb. 1973).

This Court has had experience with cases in which the property

rights of minors have been protected by representation

independent of the guardian. /nsurance Company v. Bangs, 103

U.S. 435 (1880); United States v. Dunn, 268 U.S. 121 (1925);

Clarke v. Clarke, 178 U.S. 186, 193-195 (1900). See also United

(continued)

66

“parents may not waive the constitutional right of their

child not to be deprived of liberty without due process

of law.” (1086a).’°

D. Reliance Upon Psychiatrists and Other Pro-

fessionals to Authorize Commitment is Mis-

placed.

Although maintaining that parents must be “in

control” of the commitment of young persons to

mental institutions, defendants point to the “joint

decision” by parents and physicians as a fail-safe that

sufficiently protects the interests of the plaintiffs.

Examination of the relevant law and facts reveals the

phantom character of this asserted protection.

(footnote continued from preceding page)

States v. Equitable Trust Company of New York, 283 U.S. 738

(1931) (in lower courts, one court-appointed guardian acted to

protect mentally incompetent person from actions of wife and

another court-appointed guardian).

18 Accord, J.L. v. Parham, 412 F.Supp. 112 (M.D. Ga. 1976),

prob. juris. noted, 431 U.S. 936 (1977); Kidd v. Schmidt, 399

F.Supp. 301 (E.D. Wis. 1975); Saville v. Treadway, 404 F.Supp.

430 (M.D. Tenn. 1974); In re Long, 25 N.Ca.App. 702, 214

S.E.2d 626 (1975); In re Roger S., 141 Cal.Rptr. 298, 569 P.2d

1268 (S.Ct.Cal. 1977). These issues have been discussed in the

literature. Wilson, The Rights of Adolescents in the Mental

Health System (1978); Ellis, Volunteering Children: Parental

Commitment of Minors to Mental Institutions, 62 Calif. L. Rev.

840 (1974); Teitelbaum & Ellis, op. cit. supra note 51.

67

Mere approval by psychiatrists cannot support a

mental health commitment to an institution. See

discussion and cases cited at 36-39 supra. Certainly, the

state of the art of psychiatry is not such that the

confinement of tens of thousands of persons should be

left to the judgment of these practitioners.” This field is

beset with “uncertainty of diagnosis” and “tentative-

ness of professional judgment.” Greenwood v. United

States, 350 U.S. 366 (1956); O’Connor v. Donaldson,

422 U.S. 563, 579 (1975) (Burger, C.J., concurring).”’

Mental illness is defined by the user of the term and

that definition depends upon the norms employed by

the definer:

"This case does not involve second-guessing a “medical

_ diagnosis” or interference with the provision of standard medical

care to juveniles. First, with regard to the retarded, retardation is

not a medical problem and is not treated medically. See 979a-

982a; Halderman v. Pennhurst State School and Hospital, supra

note 31 (differences between mental illness and mental

retardation, and their treatments, described). Second, with

regard to both mental retardation and mental illness, it is only

when medical and other recommendations result in a deprivation

of liberty, non-medical risks and imposition of stigma that, as in

the case at bar, the protections of due process are triggered. See

note 71 supra. For a detailed review of the literature, see Morse,

Crazy Behavior, Morals, and Science: An Analysis of Mental

Health Law, 51 S. Calif. L. Rev. 527 (1978).

77One important study showed that diagnoses by psychiatric

residents were highly influenced by the imagined socio-economic

status of the patient and by the perceived diagnosis of other

psychiatrists independent of the clinical picture presented. Lee &

Temerlin, Social Class, Diagnosis and Prognosis for Psycho-

therapy, in Psychotherapy: Theory, Research and Practice 181

(1970); Ennis & Litwack, Psychiatry and the Presumption of

(continued)

68

And, because of the unavoidably ambiguous

generalities in which the American Psychiatric

(footnote continued from preceding page)

Expertise: Flipping Coins in the Courtroom, 62 Calif. L. Rev.

693 (1974) (full review of the literature and legal implications);

Beck, Reliability of Psychiatric Diagnoses: A Critique of

Systematic Studies, 119 Amer. J. of Psychiatry 210 (1962);

Chesler, Women and Madness (1972) (Chapter 2, “Asylums”);

Edelman, Inter- Therapist Diagnostic Reliability, 25 J. of Clinical

Psychology 394 (1969); Goldberg & Werts, The Reliability of

Clinicians’ Judgments: A Multi-Trait—Multi-Method Ap-

proach, 30 J. of Consulting Psychology 199 (1966); Katz, Cole &

Lowery, Studies of the Diagnostic Process: The Influence of

Symptom Perception, Past Experience and Ethnic Background

in Diagnostic Decisions, 125 Amer. J. of Psychiatry 937 (1966)

(44 experienced psychiatrists viewed a filmed interview with a

patient. 17 saw the person as psychotic, 26 saw the patient as non-

psychotic. When British and American psychiatrists were

compared, the British saw less pathology); Pasamanik, Divity &

Lefton, Psychiatric Orientation and Its Relation to Diagnosis

and Treatment ir.a Mental Hospital, 116 Amer. J. of Psychiatry

127 (1959); Rosensweig, et al., A Study of the Reliability of the

Mental Status Examination, 117 Amer. J. of Psychiatry 1102

1961).

| oat as serious obstacles to the diagnostic and therapeutic

process arise within the patient, they also arise within the

therapist.” Nicholi, The Therapist-Patient Relationship, in

Nicholi, The Harvard Guide to Modern Psychiatry 3, 12 (1978).

These obstacles, which can become “destructive” to the sensitive

relationship between the therapist and the patient or prospective

patient, include anxiety within the therapist (which may cause

“blind spots” in hearing or understanding the patient’s story),

professional insecurity, fatigue, impatience “involving excessive

eagerness to make the diagnosis,” inattentiveness, restlessness,

daydreaming, inappropriately intense feelings toward the

patient. /d. at 12-16.

69

Association describes its diagnostic categories, the

diagnostician has the ability to shoehorn into the

mentally diseased class almost any person he

wishes, for whatever reason, to put there.

Livermore, Malmquist & Meehl, On the Justifications

for Civil Confinement, 117 U. Pa. L. Rev. 75, 80

(1968).78

The defendants’ extraordinary claim that mental

commitments involve no determinative factual ques-

tions or disputes flies in the face of every mental

commitment decision of this or any other court, the

*See, Roth, Dayley & Lerner, Into the Abyss: Psychiatric

Reliability and Emergency Commitment Statutes, 13 Santa

Clara Law. 400, 403 (1973). More than a hundred years ago a

court noted that commitment of children to reform school was

based on differing perceptions of “poor parental care:”

... there is not a child in the land who could not be proved,

by two or more witnesses, to be in this s2d condition.

People ex rel. O'Connell v. Turner, 55 Ill. 280 (1870). The

situation is the same today regarding young persons who can be

proved to be in the “sad condition” of mental disturbance. See

Duehn, The Effect of Practice Orientations on Clinical

Assessment, 46 Amer. J. of Orthopsychiatry 629 (1974) (extent of

negative mental health labeling is determined, in part, by factors

extraneous to patients’ behavior); Rosenhan, The Contextual

Nature of Psychiatric Diagnosis, 84 J. Abn. Psychology 462

(1975):

Despite the DSM-II’s attempts to elaborate symptomology

associa’~d with each disorder, behaviors are too variable

and their meanings too dependent on contextual perception

for them to be captured under the rubrics proposed by the

DSM-II. The very ambiguity of behavior, the fact that its

meanings are not automatically transparent, defeats such

attempts at classification from the onset, at least within the

psychiatric hospital.

70

histories of the named plaintiffs,”? the record in the

case,®° and the voluminous medical literature.*! The

very existence of “mental illness” and the need foi

institutional care are, as the lower court found, facts

which are subject to dispute and not amenable to

purely medical determination. See Specht v. Patterson,

386 U.S. 605 (1967); Baxstrom v. Herold, 383 U.S. 107

(1966). See also, Danforth, supra, 428 U.S. at 104

(Stevens, J., concurring in part and dissenting in part)

(“Similarly, even doctors are not omniscient. ... In

each individual case factors much more profound than

a mere medical judgment may weigh heavily in the

scales.”).

Institutional psychiatrists are faced with conflicts of

interest—with their facilities,*? with their parents and

their patients’ families**—and have great difficulty

79What brought each named plaintiff to the institution and

what suggested to the parent and professional a need for

institutional treatment was not internal disturbances in thought

or feeling but external behaviors and expressions which might or

might not have actually occurred and which might or might not

have a “normal” explanation. See notes 77 and 78 supra; LeBow,

Evaluating the Seriousness of Adolescent Adjustment Reactions,

2 Primary Care 281 (1975). See Morse, op. cit. supra note 76.

80 See notes 53-60 supra.

8! See notes 75-78 supra.

82 See testimony of Dr. Messinger at 629a-630a (pressures on

psychiatrists to confirm colleagues’ opinions and meet institu-

tional needs) and Dr. Ingall at 599a (overcrowded clinics may

overrecommend institutionalization).

83 See Scheff, Being Mentally Ill: A Sociological Theory 148-

149 (1966) (commitment is generally automatic where family

requests it). Scheff also discusses a case in which a psychiatrist

recommended a commiitment for a young person who was not

(continued)

71

telling the sane from the insane, tending toward an

overdiagnosis of mental illness.** Psychiatry, asked to

adjudicate interpersonal and societal conflicts, is often

called upon to be the agent of the state’s police powers

in ways that carry it beyond its recognized expertise.*5

What is said above for psychiatry and menta! illness

is mirrored for mental retardation. The uncontradicted

testimony and unchallenged factual findings reflect that

“there are many mistakes” in identifying the retarded

(981la) through confusion with physical characteristics

or handicaps, testing problems, incorrect develop-

(footnote continued from preceding page)

thought mentaily ill but who was having difficulties with his

parents. /d. at 147. Where parents seek commitment of their

child, the medical a -hority is forced into a conflict situation:

While the goal of the iatrist will be expressed

perceived—as the best oe of the child-pationt, it ry -

parent who has come to seek help, whose situation seems the

most desperate, who seems the most reliable source of

information about what is wrong, who is the closest to the

psychiatrist in age and social outlook, and who is paying the

psychiatrist's fee.

Ellis, Volunteering Children, supra note 75, 62 Calif. L. Rev. at

868 (note omitted). This view is confirmed by the expert

testimony for all parties. See testimony of Dr. Feiner at 472a,

478a-479a; Dr. Sugar at 381a; Dr. Masterson at 732a-733a; Dr.

— at 542a; Dr. Ingall at 593a-594a; Dr. Messinger at 637a-

“See Rosenhan, On Being Sane in Insane Places, 13 Santa

Clara Law. 379 (1973), discussed in original opinion at 804a, n.

20. Indicative of this approach is the testimony for the defendants

by Dr. Masterson who asserted that psychiatrists should first

assume that the person before them is mentally ill (739a). See

testimony at 737a-738a.

85 See, Bazelon, Forward, Symposium: Mental Iliness, the Law

and Civil Liberties, 13 Santa Clara Law. 367 (1973); Szasz, Civil

Liberties and the Mentally Ill, 9 Clev-Mar. L. Rev. 399, 407

(1960).

72

mental speculations, and the like (979a-983a, 1068a).*°

“{I]n many cases, people grow out of being retarded.”

(983a). Therefore, a history of mental retardation is not

an infallible indicator or present retardation (982a).

Parents of retarded children receive consultation

from professionals they consult, typically physicians

other than psychiatrists. The physicians’ advice is

critical in the decision to institutionalize the child and,

tragically, that advice is typically uninformed, without

8¢Mental retardation, by definition, consists of subaverage

intellectual performance combined with behavioral maladap-

tation (979a). Grossman, ed., Manual on Terminology and

Classification in Mental Retardation (1973). An assessment of

behavior is thus a sine qua non of a finding of retardation. /d. On

the intellectual aspect of the definition, serious questions have

been raised regarding the accuracy of the tests used. See, e.g.,

Mercer, Labeling the Mentally Retarded (1973). Erroneous

diagnoses of mental retardation are not unusual. See Meno-

lascino, Emotional Disturbance and Mental Retardation, 70

Amer. J. of Mental Deficiency 248 (1965). A web of

circumstance, not intellectual functioning level, determines who

is committed and who is not:

Q. Well, isn’t there, as I think many people believe, some

relationship between a person's IQ or level of retardation

and whether or not they are found in an institution?

A. No, notatall. The people you find in institutions now,

the reasons range from the parents don’t want to let them

come out or inappropriate reasons that they have been put

in there.* * * It is circumstantial as to whether or not they

have ended up in institutions.

Testimony of Commissioner Glenn at 980a-98la. Factual

disputes arise in grounds asserted as the basis for commitment of

the retarded (998a).

73

reasonable basis, and inappropriately and excessively

oriented toward institutionalization.®’

In some ways more than in the mental health area,

mental retardation professionals who work in institu-

tions are subject to pressures and conflicts of interest

which make it impossible for them to independently

evaluate people’s need for commitment.** This occurs

*’ Literature collected in Teitelbaum & Ellis, op. cit. supra note

51. See Turnbull & Turnbull, eds., Parents Speak Out: Views

from the Other Side of the Two-Way Mirror (1978) (accounts by

retarded children’s parents who are mental retardation profes-

sionals themselves); Kelly & Menolascino, Physicians’ Aware-

ness and Attitudes Toward the Retarded, 13 Mental Retardation

10 (1975); Testimony of Commissioner Glenn at 1004a, 1009a.

*8Several pressures and conflicts are described in Com-

missioner Glenn’s testimony at 1007a-1008a:

First, there is a basic conflict of interest for somebody in the

institution to make a decision about whether or not a person

ought to go to that institution. That would be sort of like a

store owner deciding whether or not a customer ought to

come into his store or somebody else’s store. Institutions, as

I indicated earlier, are sort of —s to prove their

necessity and justify their existence. All the research in the

st 35 years has shown that institutions are not appropriate

or the developmental growth of mentally retarded persons,

but there are a lot of people that continue to try to justify

their existence and the only way they can do that is by

having a a. With the move Federally and by states

and professions that recognize the inadequacy of this

historic institutionalization having a dramatic move toward

deinstitutionalization, there is a real conflict where

institutions have to have people to prove

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.