Brief for Appellant — Richard Joyce Smith v. U.S. (Nos. 74-166, 74-165, 74-167, 74-168)
Supreme Court brief1974
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
12
veyance provisions of the RRRA, are inherently im-
portant issues which require concurrent resolution. If
this Court merely sustains the judgment below without
addressing the constitutionality of the compulsory con-
veyance provisions of the RRRA, a correction by Con-
gress of only the constitutional defects in the RRRA
found by the court below, without remedying the
more basic constitutional defect asserted in this cross-
appeal, would produce senously adverse consequences
to both the Penn Central creditors and the public in-
terest. This cross-appellant under such circumstances
would be required to commence still another action to
declare such an amended RRRA unconstitutional on
the grounds which are urged on this cross-appeal,
thereby resulting in still another round of appeals to
this Court from either the grant or denial of an in-
junction in a subsequent §2282 action attacking the
RRRA. Broad public and private considerations, as
well as objectives of judicial economy, thus favor the
adjudication of this cross-appeal at this time.
13
CONCLUSION
Inis Court has jurisdiction of this cross-appeal, and
substantial questions are presented requiring plenary
consideration. If the Court notes probable jurisdiction
of the related appeals by the governmental appellants
and the Penn Central Trustees, it should similarly note
probable jurisdict ion of this cross-appeal.
Respectfully submitted,
August 23, 1974
Of Counsel: JOSEPH AUERBACH
225 Franklin Street
MorRIS RAKER Boston, Massachusetts
CHARLES W. MORSE, JR. 02110
SULLIVAN & WORCESTER JAMES WM. Moore
225 Franklin Street 54 Meadow Street
Boston, Massachusetts New Haven, Connecticut
02110 06506
Attorneys for A nt
Richard Joyce Smith, Trustee
the Property of The New
ork, New Haven and Hartford
Railroad Company, Debtor
, U 8.
Supreme Court of the United SAFE |
OCTOBER TERM, 107% 48 ey
No. 74 — 166
REGIONAL RAIL REORGANIZA TEAL ROR 28 |
RICHARD JOYCE SMITH, Trustee of the Property
ol
The New York, New Haven and Harford
Railroad Company, Debtor, Cross- Appellant
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, et al.
Cross- Appellees
ON CROSS-APPEALS FROM THE
JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
LASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA
BRIEF OF
CROSS-APPELLANT
OSEPH AUFRBACH
Of Counsel: J 225 Franklin Street
Boston, Massachusetts
MORRIS RAKER 527110
CHARLES W. Morse, JR.
JAMES WM. Moore
SULLIVAN & WORCESTER ” $4 Meadow Strest
225 Franklin Street New Haven, Connectiout
Boston, Massachusetts , 065006
9277070
Atiorneys for Appellant
Richard Joyce Smith, Truster
of the Property of The New
York, New Haven and Hartford
Railroad Company, Debtor
=> =
i
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Questions Presented
Constitutional Provisions and Statutes Involved in
% cccccccccscccsccccccccees
roc. e eee
Summary of Argu men
Argument:
1. THE COURT BELOW ERRED IN NOT
DECIDING WHETHER THE COM-
PULSORY CONVEYANCES MANDATED
BY THE RRRA VIOLATE THE FIFTH
AMENDMENT RIGHTS OF THE NEW
Tree
Il. THE COMPULSORY CONVEYANCE
PROVISIONS OF THE RRRA VIOLATE
THE NEW HAVEN TRUSTEE'S FIFTH
AMENDMENT RIGHTS ................
A. Legal and Factual Setting of the RRRA .
B. The Compulsory Conveyance Provisions
of the RR Involve Ly 41 — Tak-
1 Not Com sat Money or its
Perfect — — of the + 4 of
Penn Central in Violation of ¢ Fifth
Amendment Rights of its Creditors and
i eee
C. The Fifth Amendment uires that a
Railroad in Reorganization, Which Is Un-
able to Earn Net Railway Operating In-
come and Whose Properties Are Required
to Be Continued in ual Public Ser-
vice, Be Paid Not Less t the “Highest
and Best Use” Value of its Rail Properties
D. The RRRA Is Constitutionally Defective
in Requiring Payment for Rail Assets in
the Form of Secunties of Conrail Without
Any Provision for a Guarantee that the
Value of Such Securities Will Be the Per-
fect Monetary Equivalent of the “Highest
and Best Use” Value of the Rail Assets .
24
37
37
52
61
F. A uirement that Rail Properties of
Penn Central Be Exchanged for Securities
of Conrail Is a Denial of Constitutional
Rights to Dismissal of the ization
Proceedings and Termination of Loss Op-
r 84
F. Adjudication that the Compulsory Con-
veyance Provisions of the — RRRA
Are Unconstitutional Can and Should Re-
sult in a Congressional Enactment
Amending the RA to Authorize Pay-
ment as uired by the Fifth Amend-
ment for Penn Central's Rail Properties 88
III. THE PROCEDURES OF THE RRRA OF.
FEND PROCEDURAL DUE PROCESS BY
MANDATING CONVEYANCE OF RAIL
ASSETS PRIOR TO JUDICIAL REVIEW
OF THE ADEQUACY OF THE CON.
SIDERATION PAID WHERE THERE IS
NO POSSIBILITY THAT A COURT MAY
SET ASIDE THE CONVEYANCES ...... 93
IV. TO THE EXTENT THAT THE RRRA
AMENDS THE SUBSTANTIVE AND
PROCEDURAL PROVISIONS OF §77 OF
THE BANKRUPTCY ACT, THE RRRA IS
A “LAW ON THE SUBJECT OF BANK.-
RUPTCIES” AND IS VOID FOR WANT
OF GEOGRAPHICAL UNIFORMITY .... 99
A. The RRRA Is an Invalid Non-Uniform
Statute as 1 — to Penn Central, and
Creditors of n Central Have —
to Challenge the Lack of Geographica
B. The Count Below Was in Error in Con-
cluding that the RRRA's Defect as Non-
Uniform Legislation on the Subject of
Bankruptcies Taints Only the Provision
Requiring Mandatory Dismissal of §77
Proceedings
D vecdtectecbelknne ks cai 107
nnn A-
TABLE OF CITATIONS
Page
Cases:
Almota Farmers Elewater & Warehouse Co. v
United States, 409 U.S. 470 (1973) ........ 57, 58, 59
Ashwander v. Tennessee Valley Authority, 297
ak WD 2 32
Association of Data Process Service Or-
amzations, Inc. v. Camp, U.S. 150
e 28
Halli more & Ohio RR. v. United States, 298 U.S.
fF TTT 58
Baltimore & Ohio RR. v. Umited States, 386 US.
111 f 5
Brooks-Scanlon Co. v. Railroad Commisaon, 251
SE KK A 84. 85
Bullock v. Florida & rel. Railroad Commisson,
S56 CB, Gap x M4
Case v. Las A Lumber Products Co., 308
U.S. 106 (1 12 ———— 38, 39
Central NH. of New Jersey v. Manufacturers
Hanover Trust Co., 421 F. 2d 604 (3d Cir.),
cert. denied, 398 U.S. 949 (1970) .......... 84, 85
Commumst Party of the Umited States v. Sub-
verve Activities Control Board, 367 U.S. 1
e. eee eee eee eee eee 32
Consolidated Rock Products Co. v. Du Bows, 312
US, SED. GSE ccccccccccccsvesccsceses 38 ef passem
Continental Ill. Nat. Bank v. Chicago, R & Pac.
Ry., 294 U.S. 648 (193 —„—v 74
Data Processing Serve v. Camp, 397 U.S. 150
(1970) net „eee ses eee 34
Eccles v. Peoples Bank, 333 U.S. 426 (1948) ... 32
Ecker v. Western Pacific RR. Corp, 318 US.
GOB (ODEED . . eee eds eee 39, 40, 105
Epperson v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97 (1968 33, 34
Federal Power Commission v. Hope Natural Gas
Co., 320 U.S. 591 (1944) ©... een 91
Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83 (19689) 28, 34
Group of Institutional Investors v Chicago, M
SUP, & KK, 318 US. 523 (1943) .....,
Hanover Nathonal Bank v. Moyes, 186 U.S. 181
— X
In ve City of New York (Fifth Avenue Coach
Lines), 18 N.Y. 2d 212. 219 N. F. 2d 410,
dismissed sub. nom. Fifth Avenue Coach
1 778
2
In ve New York, VH. & H. NR. 289 F. Supp.
I
In re New York, NH. & H. RR. 904 F. 75
793 (D Conn. 1969), aff'd im part, rev
. New Haven Incluson Cases, 3999 US
92 (1970). renn
In ve New York, NH. 4 H. RR. (Co, 330 F.
131, 150 331 F 212 (D. Conn.
1), rev'd, 457 F. 2d (2d Cir.), cert.
demed, 409 U.S. 890 (197
In ve New York, NIV. & H. RR, 378 F. 2d 635
.
In re New York, Ontario & Western RV, 171 F.
Supp. 634 (S. D. N. V. 195)
e 1 N N
124 00 ion *
27 N. Supp. =e Pa. 1971).
In $46, Preveding for Co. A No.
546, 5 —
Adjudwation Nos Haven Tra Trustee's
Claim), 337 F. 2 Pa. 1972
In re Penn Central Tra Co. (Order No.
602), 340 F. Supp. 851 (FD. Pa. 1972) im-
iss
(rev — 54
e
In ve Penn Central — Co. (Order No.
1137), 355 F. Supp. 1343 (C D. Pa. 1973) .
(Columbus
! Spt” ea Sea fh
wf „ 494 F. 2d 270 (d Cir
vert 42 USU.
3633 i rn No! 79-1672 —
63 et passim
40, 64
73
7,71
45, 84
In ve Penn Central T Co. (Ope-
& Order No. ee, Commuter
Service) (E.D. Pa. March 18, 1974) ........
fe oo Bee Gap See Co. (Opi
in Support 4 Order No. 1543) 5 5
—_— §207(b)) (E.D. Pa. May 2.
In ve Penn Central T ion Co. (Mem-
orandum in Support Findings & Order No.
§207(b) the Ral
Act of L (E.D. July 2. 1974) .
In re Penn Central Transportation Co. et al.
(Memorandum in eet 4 ee and Or-
yy -~ to y Clause of §207(b)
‘Act
772 m L.
(E.D. Pa. July 2. ee te eae
In ve Port A Trans-Hudson Corp., 20
N.Y. 2d 457, 231 N.E. 2d 743, cert. demed
sub. nom. Port Authority Trans-Hudson 2
v. Hudson Rapid Tubes Corp., 390 U.S. 1
%%. „„ „„ „„ „„ „„
In ve 620 Church Street Bldg. Corp., 299 U.S. 24
D
In ve Third Avenue Transit Corp., 198 F. 2d 703
L
Investment Co. Institute v. Camp, 401 U.S. 617
ho... „„ „„
Joint Ant-Fascut R Committee v. McGrath,
S41 US. 123 (1666)
Juilliard un Greenman, 110 U.S. 421 (1884)...
Knox v. Lee, 79 U.S. (12 Wall.) 457 (1871) ....
Lockerty v. Phillips, 319 U.S. 182 (1943) ......
Louisville Jount Stock Land Bank v. Radford, 295
US. CITED 1—
— h ͤ PPP 3365
ty Navigation Co. v. United States,
148 U.S. 312 89 cece eee
18 ¢f passam
New Haven Incluson Cases, 999 U.S. 392
a ere
Norman v. Baltimore & Ohio NN. 294 US. 240
.....
Northern Pacific Ry. v. Boyd, 228 US. 482
a a A on Bs ie A
Penn Central Merger Cases, 389 U.S. 486 (1968)
Poe v. Uliman, 967 U.S. 497 (1961) cͤõcꝶhcꝓ;n
Railroad Commiusson v. Eastern Texas Railroad,
4.
Railroad / Service, Inc. v. Chicago, 386
US. 35101
Reconstruction Finance ©
NN. 328 US. 495 (
ee |
——ͤ—) ß 2 *
.
United States v. Miller, 317 US. 369 (40%
United States v. Raines, 362 U.S. 17 (1960) ....
United States v. Reynolds, 397 U.S. 14 (1970) ..
Vanston Bondholders Protective ö
Green, 329 U.S. 156 (1946) ©... 6
Wright v. Umon Central Life Ins. (. 311 US.
3 (i940) — —
8 Vinton Branch Mountain Trust Bank,
K (( (
Yakus v. Umited States, 321 U.S. 414 (1944) ...
a a 9
New York, Ontario and Western Railroad Re-
orgamzahon, 295 l. ( $46 (1956) — 40
Penn Central Transportation Company Re-
organization, 1 —2
Plans. Finance No. 41 (Sep-
tember 28, 1973) .. 2... 60 6c cece cnn 9 et passam
Constitution of the United States:
Article l. Sec. 8, Cl. 3 (Commerce Clause) . 4 et passim
Article l. Sec. 8, Cl. 4 (Bankruptcy Clause) 4 et hun
Article 1, Sec. 9, 7/7 cern 5
5 — 50. 51
Amendmem V (Takings and Due Process
— TT TTT 4 et passim
Statutes:
Bankruptcy Act:
Section 24, 11 U.S.C. /// 51
Section 77, 11 U.S.C. §205 ............ 2 „ hn
— ce tts 47, 104, 105,
106
ED ciccocnsooeseoseeosesesees 7
— Yt
1 6 a
15 — “Ma
I „ 108
nee oeamnnemneenannnnnasneste et passim
X. 11 U.S.C. §§501-676 (suc-
— . — 20, 38, 39
Emergency Price Control Act of 1942, at
Stat. 23, 50 USC. App. §§901 ¢ sq . 26
2 Rail Services Act of 1970, $3,
14.1 7
Frazier Lemke Act, 48 Stat. 1289;
Amended Frazier-Lemke Act, 49 Stat.
——— —— — 74. 75
Interstate Commerce Aa, 49 U.S.C. §§1 ef
eq:
. — 42, 86
—— bedtenccecces 4)
Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §§151 et seg. .
1 — Rail i Act of 1973,
' Law 93- 39, 87 Stat. 985, 45
U.S.C. §§701 et seq.:
a
8885
—
8882
i
l
ix
eee eee eee eee eee eee
Senate Joint Resolution No. 59, Public Law
93-5, 87 Stat. 5 (February 9, 1973) .....
Trading With the Enemy Act, 50 U.S.C.
App. §§1 % 6 „„
„91 A222 —
Page
17, 35, 98
4 et passim
18 ef passim
12 et ö
48, 102
48, 102
99, 100
21, 44, 60
In The
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1974
No. 74— 166
REGIONAL RAIL REORGANIZATION CASES
RICHARD JOYCE SMITH, Trustee of the Property
of
The New York, New Haven and Hartford
Railroad Company, Debtor, Cross- Appellant
U.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, d.
Cross- Appellees
ON CROSS-APPEALS FROM THE
JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA
BRIEF OF
CROSS-APPELLANT
INTRODUCTION
This brief is submitted on behalf of cross-appellant,
Richard Joyce Smith, Trustee of the Property of The
New York, New Haven and Hartford Railroad Com-
pany, Debtor (the “New Haven Trustee” and “New
Haven,” respectively). Since July, 1961, the New Ha-
2
ven has been in reorganization under §77 of the Bank-
ruptcy Act, II U.S.C. §205; however, since December
31, 1968 New Haven’s former railroad has been oper-
ated by Penn Central Transportation Company (“Penn
Central”), pursuant to the inclusion approved by this
Court in Penn Central Merger Cases, 389 U.S. 486
(1968) and New Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392
(1970). On June 21, 1970 Penn Central filed a petition
seeking reorganization under §77. The New Haven
Trustee is presently owed $123,809,404 by Penn Cen-
tral, exclusive of interest, out of a total purchase price,
approved in New Haven Inclusion Cases, of
$174,635,899, and his standing in this case is predi-
cated upon that unpaid claim. The New Haven
Trustee, together with certain other plaintiffs (whose
actions were consolidated for oral argument and dis-
position), prevailed in the court below as to certain of
the constitutional contentions presented for decision;
however the court below failed to reach other, even
more basic, constitutional issues. As a result, although
an appellee as to the appeals taken by the defendants
below, the New Haven Trustee is a cross-appellant as
to so much of the order below as denied in part his
claim for relief.
OPINIONS BELOW
The opinions and order of the district court have
not yet been reported; they are reproduced in the
Joint Appendix of the Appellants and Appellees, pp.
9-83 (hereinafter cited as IA). The instant case,
Smith v. United States (E.D. Pa. Civil Action No. 74-
1107) was consolidated for oral argument and dis-
position below with two related cases, Connecticut Gen-
eral Ins. Corp. v. United States Ry. Ass'n (E.D. Pa. Civil
Action No. 74-189) and Penn Central Co. v. Brinegar
(E.D. Pa. Civil Action No. 74-1149).
JURISDICTION
Jurisdiction in this Court is based on 28 U.S.C.
§1252. On August 23, 1974, the New Haven Trustee
filed a Jurisdictional Statement relating specifically to
the jurisdiction of this Court to hear this cross-appeal.
By stipulation of counsel for the New Haven Trustee
as cross-appellant and all other appellants and appel-
lees, this Brief is being filed in advance of the de-
termination of the Court as to probable jurisdiction in
order to facilitate an expedited briefing and hearing
schedule as sought by all the parties.
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1. Was the court below in error in refusing to adju-
dicate whether or not the compulsory conveyance pro-
visions of the Regional Rail Reorganization Act, 45
U.S.C. §§701 et seg. (“RRRA”), are void on their face as
repugnant to the constitutional rights of the New Ha-
ven Trustee and other claimants to the Penn Central
estate?
2. Did the New Haven Trustee have standing to
assert that the enforcement of the compulsory con-
veyance provisions of the RRRA, if not enjoined,
would cause irreparable injury to the New Haven
estate?
3. Where a railroad in reorganization under §77 of
the Bankruptcy Act is unable to achieve an earnings-
based reorganization by reason of large deficits in net
railway operating income and the lack of any prospect
of earnings, can Congress by enactment of new leg-
islation deprive claimants to the railroad’s estate of
their right to insist upon termination of rail operations
and the sale of rail properties subject to their mort-
gage liens for their “highest and best use” value?
4
4. Considered as an exercise of Congress’ Com-
merce Clause and eminent domain powers, do the
compulsory conveyance provisions of the RRRA in-
volve an intentional uncompensated taking, or a tak-
ing not compensated in money or its perfect equiv-
alent, of the property of Penn Central, and of
claimants to its estate, in violation of the Fifth Amend-
ment to the Constitution?
5. Considered as an exercise of Congress’ Bank-
ruptcy Clause powers, do the compulsory conveyance
provisions of the RRRA offend substantive due pro-
cess rights of claimants to the Penn Central estate by
divesting such claimants’ liens on valuable rail trans-
portation properties in exchange for common stock
and other securities of uncertain value of a gov-
ernmentally-controlled corporation and an illusory de-
ficiency judgment against such corporation?
6. Do the compulsory provisions of §303(b)(1) and
(2) of the RRRA, requiring conveyance of rail proper-
ties and divestment of the liens of claimants to the
Penn Central estate, in advance of judicial de-
terminations as to “highest and best use” value of such
properties and the equitable equivalent value of the se-
curities and common stock to be exchanged therefor,
offend the procedural due process rights of claimants
to the Penn Central estate? >
7. Are the compulsory conveyance provisions of
§§206, 207, 208, 209, 303 and 304 of the RRRA void
as a law, purportedly on the subject of bankruptcies,
which is not uniform geographically throughout the
United States?
5
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
AND STATUTES
INVOLVED IN THIS CROSS-APPEAL
The constitutional provisions and statutes involved
in this cross-appeal include:
Constitution of the United States:
Article I, Section 8, Clauses 3 and 4
Article I, Section 9, Clause 7
Fifth Amendment
Statutes of the United States:
Regional Rail Reorganization Act, Public Law
93-236, 45 U.S.C. §§701 et seq. (JA 391)
Section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act, 11 U.S.C.
§205
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Penn Central is the successor to The Pennsylvania
Railroad Company and The New York Central Rail-
road Company, whose merger was finally approved by
this Court in Penn Central Merger Cases, supra. As one
of the conditions of the merger, the Pennsylvania and
New York Central Railroads agreed to purchase the
assets of the New Haven, which had been in re-
organization under §77 of the Bankruptcy Act since
1961 (United States District Court for the District of
Connecticut, No. 30226). Penn and Central effected
their merger on February |, 1968; and New Haven's
The text of the Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973 is printed
in full at JA 391 ef seg. The text of pertinent provisions of the United
States Constitution and of Section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act is printed in
the Appendix hereto at A-1 et seq.
Sce also Baltimore & Ohio R.R. v. United States, 386 U.S. 372 (1967),
refusing to approve the initial decision of the Interstate Commerce Com-
mission (“ICC”) until it afforded adequate protection to certain eastern
railroads not to be included in the merger.
6
railroad assets were conveyed to Penn Central on De-
cember 31, 1968, by Richard Joyce Smith, Trustee of
the New Haven (together with his then co-Trustee),
subject to later judicial review of adequacy of the pur-
chase price ordered by the ICC.
On June 21, 1970, Penn Central filed for re-
organization under §77 of the Bankruptcy Act (United
States District Court for the Eastern District of Penn-
sylvania, Bky. No. 70-347). Eight days later, this Court
indicated approval of the terms fixed by the New Ha-
ven Reorganization Court (under §77(e) proceedings
on New Haven's plan of reorganization) for sale of
New Haven's assets to Penn Central, but reversed and
remanded for further proceedings to consider the ef-
fect of Penn Central's bankruptcy on the value of the
Penn Central's payment, particularly its common
stock, included in the consideration. New Haven In-
clusion Cases, supra.
The early stages of the Penn Central §77 pro-
ceedings were devoted to an effort by the Penn Cen-
tral Trustees to identify the problems which had to be
overcome in order to achieve an earnings-based re-
organization as contemplated by §77. The initial cash
crisis was temporarily alleviated by orders of the
United States District Court for the Eastern District of
Pennsylvania, Judge John P. Fullam (“Penn Central
Reorganization Court”) permitting deferrals of interest
on debt (other than equipment debt), and most leased
line rentals and real estate taxes.’ In addition, acting
*Through December 31, 1973, the following amounts had been de-
ferred: interest, $104 million; leased line rentals, $101 million; taxes,
$241 million. Stipulation as to Factual Matters (printed at JA 317-24;
hereinafter cited as “Stip. Fact”), VI2. 13, 14. The total of such deferrals
was $446 million as of December 31, 1973, and represents a priority ad-
ministration claim. This total does not include $57 million of interest on
$300 million of notes secured by pledge of Penn Central's stock interest
in Pennsylvania Co., a non-rail subsidiary. If the interest on the notes se-
cured by the Pennsylvania Co. stock is included, deferrals amounted to
$503 million as of December 31, 1973.
aes |
7
pursuant to §77(c)(3), the Penn Central Re-
organization Court approved $100 million of Trustees’
Certificates,“ which in order to be marketable required
the guarantee of the United States authorized by §3 of
the Emergency Rail Services Act of 1970, 45 U.S.C.
§662.
A series of Penn Central Trustees’ Reports dated
February 10, 1971, March 22, 1971, September 17,
1971, February 15, 1972, April 1, 1972, July 1, 1972,
October 1, 1972, January |, 1973, February |, 1973,
and April 3, 1974° disclose the history of the Trustees’
efforts to achieve a private income-based re-
organization of Penn Central. The Trustees began by
asserting that Penn Central could be reorganized “
certain conditions, not within their control, were me
Subsequent reports spelled out a lack of success in im-
plementing these conditions. Finally, in their January
1, 1973 and February |, 1973 Reports, the Trustees
acknowledged that reorganization would not be pos-
sible without a government grant (not merely financial
assistance by way of loans or guarantee of borrowings)
on the order of $600 million to $800 million.
There followed an attempt by the Trustees to im-
plement certain crew-consist changes (which had been
the subject of exhaustive, but unproductive, pro-
ceedings under the Railway Labor Act), that resulted
n re Penn Central Transportation Co. (Order No. 124), 325 F Supp.
302 (E. D. Pa. 1971).
‘These Trustees’ Reports are reproduced as Documents | through
10 in the Joint Documentary Submission in the court below, ten copies of
which have been filed with the Clerk of this Court.
The New Haven Trustee on March 10, 1972 advised the enm (en-
tral Reorganization Court that in his opinion the Penn Central Trustees’
predictions as to reorganizability of Central on an income basis
were unduly optimistic. See Doc. No. II in be Joint Documentary
8
in a strike on February 8, 1973. Congress responded
by enacting Senate Joint Resolution No. 59, which im-
posed a 90-day moratonum on both the work-rule
changes and the strike.’
Shortly thereafter, acting sua sponte, the Penn Cen-
tral Reorganization Court entered an opinion and or-
der regarding the status of reorganization efforts. /n re
Penn Central Transportation Co, 355 F. Supp. 1343
(E.D. Pa. 1973). Judge Fullam concluded as follows:
“Whether the constitutional limit [of erosion] has
been exceeded depends primarih upon how the re-
maini 2 are to 1 ; and this in —
ma depend u those assets are to
— at the — of this reorganization. Un-
der any view of the matter, if seems clear that the
point of unconstitutionality is fast approaching, if ut has
not already arrwed.
“The essence of §77 of the Bankruptcy Act is that
the legal remedies normally avai to creditors
may be held in 2 a reasonable time in
to permit rehabilitation of the enterprise.
Whenever it appears that there is no genuine like-
lihood of ultimate success, the legal and constitutional
Justifwation for restraining creditors from exercising their
normal remedies di
“It has been apparent that the particular prob-
lems of n Central cannot be — di-
vorced from problems of national transportation
icy. Railroads are, after all, a regulated industry.
— — may be the notion that a
regulated industry can e bankrupt, the
Trustees’ Sie to — — Debtor are cir-
cumscnibed by existing statutes regulations. To
the extent that these statuses and ons
preclude the exercise of self-help in achieving prof-
"Public Law 93-5, 87 Stat. 5 (February 9, 1973). Following that
tathe by Cangeese, the Trustees eaver again amempend ——
9
itability, the legislative and executive branches of
vernment must be looked to for solutions, if so-
utions are to be forthcoming.
“The legal and constitutional nghts of the parties
to this reorganization should be evaluated in the
light of whatever changes Congress sees fit to
enact.
“By the same token, however, this Court cannot ig-
basis of the record to date, it appears —
basis of t to , it rs hi
that the Debtor could properly be permuted to continue to
operate on its present basis October 1, 1973." Id.
at 1344-46 (emphasis )"
There then followed proceedings before the ICC im
August, 1973 upon proposed plans of reorganization
of Penn Central filed by the New Haven Trustee and
subsequently by the Penn Central Trustees and Penn
Central Company. The ICC’s Report dated September
28, 1973 rejected on various grounds all plans submit-
ted for the reorganization of Penn Central.“ and de-
clined to certify to the Reorganization Court any plan
of reorganization under §77(d), essentially adopting
the position urged by the United States that re-
organization of Penn Central had to await a solution“
for the Northeast that would, in turn, require Con-
See infra, Part I-A, for a detailed discussion of the submited
to the ICC under §77(d) and its Report dated Seprember 28, 1973.
On October 9, 1973, the New Haven Trustee filed
a Motion to dismiss Penn Central's §77 proceedings
pursuant to §77(g), alleging that the point of uncon-
stitutional erosion of the Penn Central estate had com-
menced not later than January |, 1973.'°
On January 2, 1974, the RRRA was signed into law
by the President.
On January 25, 1974, the New Haven Trustee filed
a complaint asserting that the RRRA was uncon-
stitutional on its face and as applied to Penn Central,
naming as defendants the United States, United States
Railway Association (“USRA”) created pursuant to
§201 of the RRRA, and Secretary of Transportation
Brinegar (herein referred to collectively as the “Gov-
ernmental Defendants”). The action was filed in the
United States District Count for the District of Col-
umbia. On the same day, other creditors of Penn Cen-
tral filed a similar complaint in the United States Dis-
tnct Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania
(Connecticut General v. USRA, Civil Action No. 74-189).
In order to achieve a single expedited proceeding, the
New Haven Trustee consented to a motion of the
United States and other Governmental Defendants to
transfer Smith v. United States, et al. to the Eastern Dis-
tnct of Pennsylvania pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1404(a).
A third case, Penn Central Co. . Brinegar, was also
transferred, under §1404(a), from the District of
Columbia.
— 1 2 7 Documentary Submission. As is noted in
greater detail in Part II- A of the Argument, this Motion and a related
Petition seeking an equity sceivership have not been decided. No hear-
ing was held on the Motion until May 6, 1974. A filed
the of a date
Pursuam to 28 U.S.C. §§2282 and 2284, a three-
judge district court, consisting of Circuit Judge Rug-
gero J. Aldisert and District Judges John P. Fullam
and Louis C. Bechtle, was constituted to hear all the
cases concerning the constitutionality of the RRRA.
The Penn Central Trustees, who intervened as de-
fendants, answered that the RRRA was constitutional
by virtue of the alleged existence of a “Tucker Act
remedy” under 28 U.S.C. §1491 to “underwnte” any
constitutional deficiency in the RRRA.
After joinder of issue, the New Haven Trustee on
April 29, 1974 filed a motion for summary judgment
as to certain of the legal issues raised by his Com-
plaint.'? The Governmental Defendants and the Penn
Central Trustees each then filed counter-motions for
summary judgment. The factual record was then com-
pleted by a Stipulation as to the Record in the Penn
Central Reorganization Proceedings, a Stipulation as
to Factual Matters, a Joint Documentary Submission,
and affidavits of two government witnesses.'* Smith v.
United States was then consolidated for purposes of
oral argument and disposition on the merits with the
Connecticut General and Penn Central Company cases, in
which motions for summary judgment had also been
filed.
The issue before the court below was whether an
injunction should issue restraining the enforcement of
he New Haven Trustee's Memorandum of Points and Authorntes
in Support of Mouon for Summary (filed May 2. 1974, K. D.
Pa. C. A. No. 74-1107, Doc. No. 4; see JA 258) at pp I- lists the issues
included im his mouion for summary judgment.
‘As noted above, ten copies of the Jot Documentary Submission
have been filed with the Clerk of this Court. One of the government's a
fidavits is Doc. No. 61 in the Jorn Documentary Submission, the other 1s
i at JA 226-55. The Stipulation as to Factual Matters is printed
a jA ${ 7-24. The Stipulation as to the Record is identical to that set
forth at JA 197-99.
12
various sections of the RRRA on grounds of re-
pugnance to the Constitution. The court below
granted, in part, the motion of the New Haven
Trustee for summary judgment, and issued an order
dated June 25, 1974 (“Order”; JA 82-83) which en-
joined defendant USRA from certifying a final system
plan to the Special Court pursuant to §20%c) of the
RRRA, and enjoined all defendants from taking any
action to enforce the provisions of §304(f) of the
RRRA with respect to any abandonment, cessation or
reduction of railroad service determined by a court of
competent jurisdiction to be necessary for the pres-
ervation of rights guaranteed by the Constitution (Or-
der, WI. 2; JA 82). In addition, the court below en-
joined all parties “from enforcing, or taking any action
to implement, so much of Section 207(b) of the RRRA
as purports to require dismissal of pending pro-
ceedings for reorganization [of Penn Central] under
Section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act” (Order, 93: JA
82).'* Finally, the court below entered a declaratory
judgment that §303 of the RRRA is null and void in-
sofar as it fails to provide compensation for interim
erosion pending final implementation of the final sys-
tem plan contemplated by the RRRA and that §304(f)
of the RRRA is null and void as violative of the Fifth
Amendment to the Constitution insofar as it would re-
quire continued operation of rail services at a loss in
violation of the constitutional rights of the owners and
creditors of Penn Central (Order, WAA, 4b: JA 82-83).
The court below also declared a portion of the third
sentence of §207(b) of the RRRA to be null and void
as violative of Article I, Section 8, Clause 4 of the Con-
stitution in that the RRRA is not uniform geographi-
his portion of the Order was entered sua sponte as none of the
plainuffs sought this relief.
13
cally throughout the United States and, to the extent
that the RRRA amends §77 of the Bankruptcy Act, it
is a law on the subject of bankruptcies within the
meaning of Article I, Section 8, Clause 4 (Order, 4c;
JA 83).
The court below was not unanimous in every re-
spect. Circuit Judge Aldisert, who wrote the Opinion
of the Court, was joined by District Judge Bechtle in
disposing of “plaintiffs threshold contention that the
possible future conveyance of rail properties to Conrail
{Consolidated Rail Corporation] in consideration for
Conrail stock and securities constitutes a Fifth Amend-
ment taking without payment of just compensation”
(Opinion of the Court; JA 23) by concluding that “we
do not meet these Fifth Amendment questions be-
cause we are persuaded that these issues are pre-
mature” (Opinion of the Court; JA 23). Judge Fullam
concurred in the result, but took the view that certain
of the constitutional issues presented were ripe for ad-
judication and should not have been deferred (Con-
curring Opinion of Fullam, J., Part 1; JA 55-60). The
New Haven Trustee as cross-appellant asserts that the
court below was in error in finding that it was pre-
mature to judge the facial constitutionality of the com-
pulsory conveyance provisions of the RRRA.
The court below was also in disagreement as to
whether the RRRA was, to the extent it represents 4
“law on the subject of bankruptcies,” void for want of
geographical uniformity under Article 1, Section 8,
Clause 4 of the Constitution. Judges Fullam and
Bechtle so held, but concluded that the only provision
in the RRRA that could not be rationalized as being
based on Commerce Clause powers was the provision
requiring mandatory dismissal of §77 proceedings.“
ISRRRA, §207(b), third sentence, clause (2).
14
which they held to be void for lack of geographical
uniformity (Concurring Opinion of Fullam, J., Part II;
JA 64-65). Judge Aldisen dissented from this con-
clusion on the ground that the RRRA is uniform in its
application to creditors, and that creditor parties lack
standing to assert the constitutional defect of the
RRRA’s non-applicability to a debtor railroad located
outside the region (JA 26-29). The New Haven
Trustee, by this appeal, asserts that the RRRA is void
for want of geographical uniformity in a number of
respects, including (but not limited to) clause (2) of the
third sentence of §207(b), and that, for the reasons set
forth in Part II of Judge Fullam's concurnng opinion
(for the majority of the court), the New Haven
Trustee has standing to assert this constitutional
defect.
The United States and the other Governmental De-
fendants, and the Penn Central Trustees as inter-
vening defendants, each filed appeals to this Court
from the Order pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§1252 and
1253 (docketed as No. 74-167, United States Ry. Ass'n e
Connecticut General Ins. Corp., et al.; No. 74-168, United
States, et al. v. Connecticut General Ins. ( nh, et al. and
No. 74-165, Blanchette, et al. v. Connecticut General Ins.
Corp., et al.). The New Haven Trustee filed a cross-ap-
peal to this Court (28 U.S.C. §1252) from so much of
the Order as denied, in pan, his motion for summary
judgment (docketed as No. 74-166, Smith v. United
States, et al.). |
BAW 6%
15
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
[his cross-appeal challenges the constitutional va-
lidity of the compulsory conveyance provisions of the
RRRA. an issue which the majority of the court below
refused to reach on grounds of alleged prematurity.
The RRRA was declared unconstitutional in part by
the court below, and the court below enjoined certifi-
cation of any “final system plan” by USRA to the Spe-
cial Court. This judgment, however, was based solely
on the constitutional defeat that the RRRA requires
Penn Central to sustain enormous operating deficits,
and consequent erosion of the estate available to sat-
isfy Penn Central claimants, during the period January
|. 1974 to the date when the compulsory conveyances
mandated by the RRRA may occur. The RRRA was
held unconstitutional in that it failed to make provi
sion for payment to the estate of just Compensation in
respect of these operating deficits and consequent ero-
sion. While the decision below is of some help in pre-
venting an unconstitutional taking from being im-
plemented, the issues which the court below found to
be mpe for adjudication represent, in effect, but the
tip of the iceberg. The issues as to the constitutional
defects, both facial and as applied to Penn ¢ entral, of
the compulsory conveyance provisions of the RRRA
are inherently important issues which require con-
current resolution.
The RRRA was enacted by Congress on January 2,
1974 to deal with the unfortunate fact that the Penn
Central Svstem'® and certain smaller railroads in the
„he Penn Central System comprises railroad properties of Penn
Central Transportation Company the Principal Debtor, 15 leased lines
of Penn Central which have filed for reorganization under §77 as “Sex
ondary Debtors.” and numerous other railroads comrolled by Penn Cen
tral (Penn Central's Form R-1 Report for 1973 (Doc. No 47 in joint Dox
u. ned newt page
16
Northeast-Midwest region“ are unable to generate op-
erating revenues in excess of operating expenses, and
hence are unable to achieve any net earnings before
fixed charges.
The Penn Central system, for example, has in-
curred deficits of $851,000,000 from the date of its fil-
ing (June 21, 1970) through December 31, 1973 (Stip.
Fact, 710) and an additional deficit of $103,579,392
during the year 1974 through June 30 (Trustees’ Re-
port dated August 5, 1974, Doc. No. 7970). Thus the
total deficit of the Penn Central System during four
years of operations under §77 is $954,000,000.
The basic scheme of the RRRA is to require that all
reorganization courts having jurisdiction over railroads
in reorganization in the Northeast/Midwest Region is-
sue findings and orders (RRRA, §207(b)) as to
whether or not such railroad shall be “reorganized” by
means of conveyance, free of all existing mortgage
(footnote continued from prior page)
umentary Submission) lists 44 transportation companies, including the
15 Secondary Debtors, which are directly controlled by Pean Central and
more which are indirectly controlled). The 15 Secondary Debtors own
(or lease from other railroads) 9,304 route miles of track (46.9% of the
19,853 — included in the System). The RRRA subjects the rail
properties of all these subsidiary and leased line companies to the com-
pulsory conveyance provisions of the Act. See §102(10): rad properties’
means assets or nights owned, leased or otherwise controlled by a_rail-
road... his Section contains an exception for non-leased, controlled,
B wholly-owned sutnidiaries, which are Class | railroads,
thereby excluding from the RRRA the Pitt & Lake Ene Railroad,
a 92.6% owned subsidiary — the aaa
‘There are seven Class | railroad systems operating in the North-
east/Midwest region of the United States now in reorganization pro.
cordings pursuant to §77 of the Bankruptcy Act: Penn Central, Reading,
Central of New Jersey, Lehigh Valley and Ann Arbor (each of which has
been found to be non-reorganizable on an income basis under §77); and
Ene Lackawanna and Boston & Maine (each of which has been found re-
Rr on an income basis under §77 and hence excluded from the
„ There is one Class II railroad (defined as a railroad with -
ating revenues of less than $5 million) in reorganization, the Lehigh &
17
liens (§303(b)(2)), of its “designated” rail properties
(§206(c)) to Consolidated Rail Corporation (“Conrail”),
a nominally private for-profit corporation incor-
porated under state law (§301(a)) which, however, is
controlled by the United States Government through
the device of a statutory provision (§301(d)) which
mandates that 8 of the 15 directors of Conrail be gov-
ernment officials or persons appointed by the Presi-
dent with the advice and consent of the Senate. The
“designation” is to be done by a final system plan pre-
pared by USRA, a governmental agency specially cre-
ated for this purpose (§201), with the assistance of the
Rail Services Planning Office of the ICC (§205) pur-
suant to statutory goals (§206(a)), factors (§206(b)),
and provisions (§§206(c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h). and (i)).
The final system plan is to be adopted within 420 days
of enactment (§207(c)), and submitted to Congress for
its approval, which will be deemed given if neither
house passes a resolution vetoing the plan during a
60-day period (§208(a)). In the event of a Con-
gressional veto, it is USRA's duty to prepare and sub-
mit to Congress a revised final system plan (§208(b)),
although there is no time limit for it to do so. When,
as and if a final system plan becomes “effective” by
surviving the Congressional veto under §208(a), it is to
be delivered to the Special Court, Regional Rail Re-
organization Act (§20%c)), and copies filed with each
reorganization court (§209%(d)). Within 10 days after
certification of the final system plan by USRA to the
Special Count, Conrail must deposit with the Special
Court the stock and other securities of Conrail and
any obligations of USRA designated in the final sys-
tem plan (§303(a)(1)). Within 10 days of such deposit,
the Special Court must order the trustees of the rail-
roads (whose courts entered §207(b) orders subjecting
18
them to the RRRA) to convey forthwith to Conrail'*
the rail properties designated in the final system plan.
Only after the conveyances are made and are irre-
vocable is there any judicial review (§§303(c) and
303(d)) of the final system plan to assure that it com-
ports with the standards of “fairness and equity” de-
veloped judicially during the era of equity re-
ceiverships and given statutory sanction by §77.
The foregoing statutory scheme of the RRRA is re-
ferred to in this Brief as the “compulsory conveyance
provisions of the RRRA.” This cross-appeal asserts
that the compulsory conveyance provisions of the
RRRA are void for repugnance to the Constitution of
the United States. This was an issue which the Court
below declined to reach on the grounds that the issue
was “premature” and not “npe” for decision. It is also
an issue, however, which the Penn Central Re-
organization Court was required to reach in its §207(b)
“180-day” decision; that Court decided in favor of the
New Haven Trustee's position, holding squarely that
the RRRA could not be sustained either under the
Bankruptcy Clause powers or the Commerce Clause
(eminent domain) powers of Congress, and that the
RRRA violated the Fifth Amendment nghts of se-
cured creditor and stockholder claimants to the Penn
Central estate. In re Penn Central Tranportation Co.
(Memorandum in Support of Findings and Order No. 1596
Pursuant to the Second Sentence of §207(b) of the Regional
Rail Reorganization Act of 1973), (E.D. Pa. July 2, 1974)
(JA 124-5). That decision has been appealed by the
.“Conveyances may also be directed by USRA to be made to “profit-
able railroads operating in the region. A “profitable railroad” means a
railroad which is not in ization (§102(9)), which in turn is limited
— — ry ~ to — 2 Thus the Erie Lackawanna
on . in ization, are profitable rail-
8 reorganization profi
‘Hereinafter cited as “Opinion in Support of Order No. 1596.”
19
United States, USRA and the ICC to the Special Court
(where it is docketed as No. 74-8), whose decision
thereon will be known before this appeal is heard;
however, by reason of the seventh sentence of §207(b),
no appeal from the Special Court's decision will lie to
any Court of Appeals, and hence this Court's statutory
certiorari jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §1254 can not be
invoked to review the Special Court's decision.“
In the Argument section of this Brief, the New Ha-
ven Trustee analyzes why the court below was in error
in finding the constitutional issue as to compulsory
conveyances under the RRRA “premature” and not
“ripe” for adjudication. The basic error was the court's
failure to acknowledge the features of the RRRA
which will preclude effective judicial review of the
same constitutional issues at a later time, namely
§209%(a) and the last sentence of §303(b)(2). The court
below also mis-applied the prior decisions of this
Court dealing with when constitutional issues can be
avoided by reason of the speculative character of the
alleged injury. The New Haven Trustee points out
how the RRRA, if the Government Defendants are not
enjoined from enforcing it, threatens to destroy the
collectibility of the sum of $123,809,404 plus interest
owed to him by Penn Central under this Court's de-
cision in New Haven Inclusion Cases, supra, and thereby
subject the New Haven bondholders (for whom he is a
fiduciary) to further diminution in the assets of the
New Haven estate available to support their claims to
the equivalent of a per-parcel liquidation sale of New
“However, if a party aggrieved by the Special Court's §207(b) de-
cision files a petition for certieran to this Court under 28 U.S.C. §1651 al-
leging that the decision gives effect to an unconstitutional enactment of
Congress, and that the seventh sentence of §207(b) is itself uncon-
stitutional, this Court may have power to issue a wnt “necessary or ap.
propriate in aid of [its] junsdiction” directly to the Special Court. 28
U.S.C. §1651. Cf. In re 620 Church Street Bldg. (Corp. 299 U.S. 24 (1936).
of Penn Central, an admittedly novel but nevertheless
serious attempt by private interests to Propose a set-
tlement with the representatives of the public interest
which was designed to permit private claimants to re-
ceive fair and equitable value of their claims while al-
lowing public interest claimants to receive securities
and common stock of a “core system” made up of
Penn Central rail properties comprising 11,000 route
miles of mainline and Principal feeder lines to be op-
erated as a freight-only railroad divested of re-
sponsibility for Passenger service. The rejection of that
plan, first by the United States Depai nents of Trans-
21
system plan, the limited ability of the Special Court to
order additional amounts of the same types of se-
curities provided for in the plan, and its authority to
issue a deſiciency judgment against Conrail, a provi-
sion aptly described below as “essentially circuitous.”
These features of the statute are then compared to the
decisions of this Court in cases where private property
is taken for a public use under authority of an act of
Congress, which set forth the principle that just com-
pensation means an amount of money or its perfect
equivalent equal to the “highest and best use” value of
the properties taken for public purposes. The dubious
constitutionality of Conrail’s acquiring the Boston —
Washington corridor properties free of lien in ex-
change for securities, and then selling the corridor
properties to Amtrak for $500 million as contemplated
by §206(c)1)(C) and §601(d) of the RRRA, is ana-
lyzed, and a decision of Judge Fullam, in the §207(b)
proceedings of the Secondary Debtors, holding this
feature of the RRRA unconstitutional, is noted 0A
153-56).
The brief then discusses the Government's prn-
cipal rationale in support of the constitutionality of the
compulsory conveyance provisions of the RRRA. The
Government contends that if Congress and the gov-
ernmental agencies can design a Conrail with some
limited prospect of earnings, the capitalized value of
those prospective earnings automatically fixes the
value of all rail properties to be conveyed to Conrail,
and that, based on New Haven Inclusion Cases, supra,
there is no constitutional necessity for the value of the
securities issued in a reorganization to be equal to the
“highest and best use” value of the railroad property
conveyed in exchange for such securities. The Gov-
ernment further contends that even if the fair capital-
ized value of the reasonably projected net earnings of
a reorganized company would be substantially less
than the liquidation value of the debtor railroad’s rail
properties, creditor and stockholder claimants must
Reorganization Court, fail ¢ Support the Goy-
ernment's principal thesis and, in fact, squarely recog-
laws on the subject of bankruptcy. With Specific refer-
ence to the provisions of §301(d) of the RRRA, the
RRRA violate substantive due process nghts accorded
to claimants by the Fifth Amendment.
The brief next discusses the comtention that the re-
quirement that rail Properties of Penn Central be ex-
changed for securities of Conrail is the practical and
legal equivalent of a denial of Penn Central's con-
Stitutional nghts to dismissal of reorganization pro-
ceedings and termination of deficit rail operations.
The brief discusses the cases which hold that a com-
ment nght to withdraw the carrier's Property from
service once it has become clear that there is no rea-
sonable expectation of its earning a reasonable return
On Its investment.
—
23
The New Haven Trustee then analyzes the manner
in which public interest goals of the RRRA could be
implemented by an amendment to the statute which
would cure its constitutional defects. It is suggested
that the basic defects of the Act could be cured by
having USRA initially subscribe to the capital stock of
Conrail and thereby assume the burden of en-
trepreneunal risk with respect to the proposition that
Conrail’s operations can be so structured as to make
Conrail a profitable carrier.
In Section III. the New Haven Trustee turns to a
discussion of how the procedures of the RRRA offend
procedural due process by mandating conveyance of
rail assets pnor to judicial review of the adequacy of
the consideration, particularly when there is no pos-
sibility that a court may subsequently set aside the con-
veyances upon a finding that just compensation has
not been paid.
Section IV of the Argument discusses the con-
tention that the compulsory conveyance provisions of
the RRRA, as an amendment of §77 of the Bank-
ruptcy Act, constitute legislation “on the subject of
bankruptcy” which is void on grounds of lack of geo-
graphical uniformity required by Article I, Section 8,
Clause 4 of the Constitution. It is asserted that the
court below was correct in holding that claimants to
the Penn Central estate have standing to challenge the
RRRA on grounds of lack of geographical uniformity,
but erred in limiting the impact of its holding to a sin-
gle provision of the RRRA requiring mandatory dis-
missal of §77 proceedings upon a finding that the
Act’s processes are not “fair and equitable.” The
court's conclusion that the RRRA adds nothing to the
powers of reorganization courts under §77 to impair
the obligations of contracts of secured creditors of a
railroad is asserted to be in error based on a com-
parison of the operative provisions of the RRRA and
their asserted counterparts found in §77.
24
ARGUMENT
I
THE COURT BELOW ERRED IN NOT
DECIDING WHETHER
THE COMPULSORY CONVEYANCES
MANDATED BY THE RRRA VIOLATE
THE FIFTH AMENDMENT RIGHTS OF THE
NEW HAVEN TRUSTEE
In his summary j motion, the New Haven
“Legal Issue No. 1. Various sections of the 1973
Act [i.e., the RRRA] hereinafter enumerated con-
stitute a taking by force of law for a public use of
the property of Penn Central, a railroad in te-
Organization owning rail properties within the
"As is noted in his Junsdictional Statement, the New Haven
Trustee's standing in this case is on ownership of $34,025,800
of defaulted " bonds of Central (Stip. Fact NI. 2) and also
25
meaning of the 1973 Act, and operating under
lease rail properties of railroads ‘leased, operated
or controlled’ by Penn Central within the meaning
of the 1973 Act
“(b) 2 the date when certain rail properties of
Penn Central and the several Lessors (the Designa-
ted Properties’) will be ordered under the 1973 Act
to be conveyed pursuant to §303(b) of the Act to
Conrail and other transferees referred to in
§§206(c), 206(d) and 303(b) of the 1973 Act, as a
law providing for a taking for a public use of (i) the
right, title and interest of Penn Central as owner in
fee or as to a leasehold estate of said Designated
Properties; and (ii) of the right, title and interest of
Plaintiff as owner of Bonds secured by the Di-
visional Mortgage, which lien will be divested by
operation of 830500 of the 1973 Act insofar as it
attaches to Designated Properties.” (/d. at 4).
A majority of the Court below (Judges Aldisert and
Bechtle) never reached the ments of this contention
because of the belief, which it is submited was er-
roneous, that this issue was “premature.” It is of
course true that:
“Courts do not review issues, especially con-
stitutional issues, until they have to.” Jomt Anti-Fas-
cist Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 341 U.S. 123,
154-55 (1951) (Frankfurter, I., concurring).
But that assumes that the issues so deferred can later
be reviewed. The New Haven Trustee asserts by this
cross-appeal that there may not be a later time at
which a court can effectively protect the New Haven
Trustee against the threatened unconstitutional taking
of his property. If a later opportunity for judicial in-
tervention to prevent an unconstitutional taking will
never effectively exist, then the constitutional issue
presented here must fall in the “have to” review area
where courts should be available to pass on claims of
26
constitutional right to judicial process, and to provide
such process if the claim is sustained.
Judges Aldisert and Bechtle failed to give appro-
priate significance to the provisions of the RRRA
whereby, with the exception of a pre-final system plan
civil 1 attacking the RRRA 7 — of the _
stitution, under 28 U.S.C. §§1331, 2989 and 2284,
Congress has created in the RRRA an exclusive self-
contained system of judicial review even more pre-
clusionary than that contained in the Emergency Price
Control Act of 1942, which this Court sustained in
Lockerty v. Phillips, 319 U.S. 182 (1943) and Yakus v.
United States, 321 U.S. 414 (1944),22
Under the second sentence of §207(b) of the
RRRA, a decision by the Special Court that Penn Cen-
tral must reorganize by conveying its rail properties to
Conrail has the following effects which preclude later
judicial review:
(a) It is a final, non-appealable order, which is pur-
portedly not reviewable in this Coun (§207(b), last
sentence);
(b) It has an arguable res judicata effect on any sub-
sequent contentions that the compulsory conveyance
provisions of the RRRA (§§206(c), 206(d), 207(c), 208,
209(c) and (d), and 303(b)) are unconstitutional, since
the §207(b) judgment would necessarily have been that
the “process” of the RRRA is “fair and equitable”
(§207(b), third sentence);
Dia Yakus, Mr. justi Rutledge interpreted §204(d) of the 1942 leg.
ieee on to erie» challenge to the —— of price m4
in the Supreme Court. 207(b), last sentence, purports exclude this
4 from reviewing = Special Court's §207(b) 8 by with.
wi the jurisdiction of the Couns of Appeal, whose judgments are
91651 and fare 620 cle Set A0 ben n.
—— |
27
(c) The implementation of the §207(b) finding by
USRA certifying to Congress and then to the Special
Court the final system plan would be governed by
§209(a) of the RRRA which provides that:
“Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the
final system plan . . . is not subject to review by any
court except in accordance with this section (Em-
phasis ad ed).
(d) The implementation of the §207(b) finding by
USRA certifying to the Special Court the final system
plan and the Special Coun's ordering the conveyances
therein set forth would be governed by §303(b)(2), last
sentence, of the RRRA, which provides that:
“Such conveyances lite, the conveyances pursuant
to 830 400% which Judge Aldisert’s opinion as-
sumes could be enjoined in a subsequent civil ac-
tion under 28 U.S.C. $1331 on constitutional
grounds] shall not be restreined or enjoined by any
court.” (Emphasis added)
Judges Aldisert and Bechtle erred in their ap-
proach to the prematurity issue because they failed to
observe the consequences of a §207(b) decision in the
light of the prohibitions against subsequent judicial ac-
tion provided in §§209(a) and 303(b)(1).
The foregoing is consistent with Judge Fullam’s
concurring opinion below**:
judge Aldisert's opinion below does not treat with the problem cre-
ated by §20%a) and §303(b)(2).
„Although Judge Fullam clearly concurred in the judgment, he
parted company with Judge Aldisert on the “prematurity” issue, and his
opinion should be read as a dissent as to that issue, particularly since the
order in which he concurred enjoins USRA from certifying a final sys-
tem plan to the Special Court under §20%c) of the RRRA.
28
the majority fails to reach a number of issues
which I feel must be faced, not only because they
are indeed ripe for decision, but because the prin-
cipal conclusion expressed by the majority - that
the Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973 is un-
constitutional because it fails to provide compen-
sation for interim erosion during the planning pe-
riod — necessarily nds upon an evaluation of
the nature and validity of the Act's provisions con-
cerning mandatory conveyance of rail properties to
Conrail. In short, I believe the majority has at-
tempted to isolate an issue which cannot be
isolated.
“In considering which issues must be faced at this
time, it is important to in mind the dis-
tinctions between concepts of standing, ripeness,
and the need for injunctive relief.
“Unquestionably, one or more of the parties to
these law-suits have standing to raise every issue
which has been presented. That is, the statute af-
fects these ee in particular, as distinguished
from the public at in substantial ways. They
thus meet the tests of Association of Data Processin
Service Organizations, Inc. v. Camp, 397 U.S. |
(1970), and Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83 (1968).
“The question of whether all of the constitutional
issues are npe for decision requires us to analyze
the inevitability of the alleged unconstitutional im-
act, whereas the immediacy of the alleged threat
ars upon the propriety of injunctive relief.
a {uly . 1974, each of the reorganization courts
will have made, or failed to make, findings pur-
suant to §207(b) of the Act. Under the statute, the
effect of these 1 non-findings (as af-
firmed or reversed by 2 Court within 80
days thereafter) will be either that the statutory
processes will inexorably apply to these estates, or
29
that the §77 proceedings will be dismissed. The
plaintiffs assert that the §207(b) proceedings them-
selves are unconstitutional on due process grounds. Surely
this challenge is now ripe for decision; indeed, the de-
fendants do not contend otherwise”
“Plaintiffs challenge the entire Act as a violation of
the uniformity requirement of the bankruptcy clause,
Article I. Section 8, Clause 4 of the Constitution
Again, this issue is undemably ripe for decision.
“Finally, plaintiffs pose a series of challenges to the
statutory provisions which contemplate the man-
datory transfers of rail assets to Conrail or to exist-
ing solvent carriers, at prices to be determined by
the Special Court after the event, and to be paid in
the form of a to-be-determined mixture of Conrail
securities, undefined ‘other benefits’, and possibly a
limited amount of guaranteed obligations of
LSRA. Whether some or all of these ultimate con-
veyance’ issues are now npe for decision is a more
difficult question.
“No one doubts, and in fact the parties have stipu—
lated, that Penn Central rail properties will be in-
cluded in the Final System Plan. Equally certain ts
the fact that USRA will deliver to Congress a Final
System Plan which is to become effective 60 ses-
sion-davs thereafter. In order to prevent the Plan
from taking effect, one House of Congress must
act affirmatively by passage of a resolution ex-
ressing disapproval of the Plan, §208(a). Section
208(b) makes it the continuing duty of USRA to
resent final system plans to the Congress until one
— omes effective. I cannot equate Congress’ rese!
vation of the right to veto the first Final System
Plan. or even the second or third, to a situation in
which Congressional action is necessary as a pre-
condition to a Final System Plan becoming —
tive. I believe this Court must assume that the Act
means what it says, and that the expressed intent of
Congress would be carned out.
30
“Once a Final System Plan is effective, ic, when
the 60-day Congressional action period expires, the
Special Court is required under §303(b) to order
conveyance of the y. there remains no dis-
cretionary role to be played by the Special Court, or any
other court, at that point. Therefore, it is clear that if
the reorganization court does not make §207(b) find-
ings that remove the railroad from the RRRA, con-
veyances are certain, save only amendment or repeal
of the RRRA. Of course, the possibility of future
islative and executive action is always present
during the judicial evaluation of the con-
stitutionality of a statute, and does not render such
adjudication premature.
“The last potential exit would be a finding by the
reorganization court that the RRRA ‘does not
vide a process which would be fair and equitable to
the estate of the railroad in reorganization,’
§207(b). In my view, this possibility does not raise
an issue of ripeness, but rather, a question more
akin to abstention.
it is highly improbable that a reorganization
court could successfully I. — the statute as unfair
or inequitable under §207(b) for reasons of less
than constitutional magnitude. Indeed, the gov-
ermment’s position at the June 10 hearing in the re-
organization court was that nothing short of uncon-
stitutionality would justify rejection of the Act
under §207(b). Thus, the issue is essentially
whether it is preferable for the three-judge court to
rule on the constitutional issues surrounding the
ae eonee, either directly or in con-
unction with plaintiffs’ due process attack on
obey before the reorganization courts act under
“The policies embodied in 28 U.S.C. 62282 appear
applicable in this case. Enforcement of major fed-
eral legislation is sought to be enjoined. As a prac-
31
tical matter, a decision by the reorganization court
under §207(b) that a constitutional infirmity re-
quires the Act to be found not fair and equitable
would be equivalent, for all practical pur , to
an injunction that might issue as a result of this
three-j court litigation; and a contrary decision
would be equivalent to denial of an injunction.
„lam satisfied that, in the final analysis, many
of the constitutional issues concerning the man-
datory conveyance features of the Act are neces-
sarily ripe for decision at this time because of their
relationship to the issues of interim erosion. While
it is not necessary to determine whether or not the
contemplated transfers would amount to takings in
the constitutional sense, requiring advance as-
surance of payment in cash or equivalent, | am
persuaded that the constitutional validity of un-
com ed interim erosion cannot be properly
deci except in the light of the constitutionality
of the ultimate result which implementation of the
Act would produce.” (JA 55-60; emphasis added).
Judge Fullam has thus, it is submitted, correctly
shown why it is not premature now to judge the con-
stitutionality of the compulsory conveyance provisions
of the RRRA, or to reach the issues as to denial of
procedural due process by §207(b) and related provi—
sions of the RRRA. The cases cited in Judge Aldisert's
opinion on the prematurity issue are, on the other
hand, inapposite for a number of reasons relating to
the structure of the RRRA’s provisions relative to judi-
cial process.
Judge Aldisert treated the claim that the com-
pulsory conveyance provisions of the RRRA will, if not
enjoined, constitute an inadequately compensated tak-
ing of plaintiff's property as being analogous to cases
32
seeking an injunction to restrain threatened en-
forcement of criminal statutes, invoking the following
cases: Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497 (1961); Eccles v. Peo-
ples Bank, 333 U.S. 426 (1948); United Public Workers v.
Mitchell, 330 U.S. 75 (1947); and Communist Party of the
United States v. Subversive Activities Control Board, 367
U.S. 1 (1961). In each of the foregoing cases the plain-
tiffs attempted, by pre-enforcement suits challenging
the constitutionality of the relevant statute, to restrain
the enforcement of the statute as applied to them. In
each instance, the Court was compelled to gauge the
immediacy of the threat of enforcement and held that
none of the fact situations evidenced the clear, present
threat of injury necessary to sustain a justiciable
controversy.
In Poe v. Ullman, supra, for example, plaintiffs were
two marned persons, and their doctor, who sought a
declaratory judgment as to the unconstitutionality of a
Connecticut statute prohibiting the use of con-
traceptive devices or the giving of medical advice
about them. The Connecticut courts upheld the stat-
ute, even as applied to married couples. After plenary
consideration in this Court, the appeal was dismissed,
with the Justices voting 5-4 and without an opinion of
the Court. Justice Frankfurter (joined by Chief Justice
Warren and Justices Clark and Whittaker) thought the
case fell within the rules of judicial self-restraint sum-
marized in Mr. Justice Brandeis’ concurrence in
Ashwander v. Tennessee Valley Authority, 297 U.S. 288,
346 (1936). Justice Brennan concurred in the result on
the practical ground that:
“The true controversy in this case is over the open-
ing of birth-control clinics on a large scale; it is that
which the State has prevented in the past, not the
use of contraceptives isolated and individual
married couples. It will be time enough to decide
33
the constitutional questions 2 upon us when, if
ever, that real controversy flares up again.” 367
U.S. at 509.
Cases such as Poe v. Uliman must, however, be com-
pared with the cases such as Epperson v. Arkansas, 393
U.S. 97 (1968), where plaintiffs sought an injunction
and declaratory judgment that a 1928 law prohibiting
the teaching of evolution was unconstitutional. The
Court disposed of any “justiciability” problems as
follows:
“There is no record of any prosecutions in Ar-
kansas under its statute. It is possible that the stat-
ute is presently more of a cunosity than a vital fact
of life in [Arkansas, Mississippi and Tennessee].
Nevertheless, the present case was brought, the ap-
peal as of right is properly here, and it is our duty
to decide the issues presented.” /d. at 101-02.
In Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973), plainuff “Jane
Roe” was an unmarried woman who was pregnant at
the inception of litigation and who
“sought a declaratory judgment that the Texas
criminal abortion statutes were unconstitutional on
their face, and an injunction restraining the de-
fendant from enforcing the statutes.” Id. at 120.
This Court found the case of “Jane Roe” presented
a justiciable controversy npe for determination, but
that the case of “John and Mary Doe,” a marned,
childless couple, was of a
. speculative character. Their alleged injury
rests on possible future contraceptive failure, pos-
sible future pregnancy, ssible future un-
preparedness for parent , and possible future
impairment of health. Any one or more of these
several possibilities may or may not take place, and
all may not combine. . . But we are not prepared
34
to say that the bare allegation of so indirect an in-
jury is sufficient to present an actual case or con-
troversy. [Citations omitted] The Does’ claim falls
far short of those resolved otherwise in the cases
the Does urge * us, namely /nvestment Co. In-
stitute v. Camp, 401 U.S. 617 (1971); Data Processing
Service v. Camp, 397 U.S. 150 (1970); and Epperson
v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97 (1968).” Id. at 128.
In the instant case, the New Haven Trustee's
standing and the immediacy of the threatened harm
clearly favor justiciability of his claim that the RRRA is
unconstitutional under the reasoning of Epperson v. Ar-
kansas and Roe v. Wade, which cases are not cited in
Judge Aldisert's opinion.“ See also Steffel u. Thompson,
42 U.S.L.W. 4357 (U.S., March 19, 1974).
The New Haven Trustee is owed $123,809,404,
plus interest, by Penn Central; the entire debt is se-
cured by a claimed (but unadjudicated) equitable lien
deriving from this Court's remand, in New Haven In-
clusion Cases, supra, and $34,025,800 is secured by a
first mortgage on the former rail properties com-
prising the largest portion of the assets conveyed by
New Haven to Penn Central on December 31, 1968.%°
The defendant USRA, if not enjoined, presently in-
tends, and thus can be expected, to prepare a final sys-
tem plan under §206 designating a significant portion,
if not all, of these same rail properties for conveyance
Judge Fullam, dissenting as to prematurity, cited two of the recent
cases on the related issues of standing and justiciability, namely Data Pro-
cessing Service v. Camp, supra, and Flast v. Cohen, supra.
The United States and the other governmental defendants have
de val psy the Purpose of this litigation that “It is likely that some of
the rail Penn Central subject to the Divisional Mortgage
and the indeterminate lien . . . will be designated pursuant to each sub-
section of §206(c)(1) [of the RR RA] for transfer, or conveyance pur-
suant to §206(d) of the Act in any final system plan made effective under
the Act.” Stip. Faa 4.
35
to Conrail; Congress intends, and thus can be ex-
pected, to approve a final system plan prepared by
USRA under §208; the plan so approved is intended,
and thus can be expected, to be certified by defendant
USRA to the Special Count, under §209%c); Conrail
can be expected to deposit the securities provided for
in the plan under §303(a); the Special Court can be
expected within 10 days of the §303(a) deposit to obey
the directive contained in §303(b)(1) to order the Penn
Central Trustees to convey forthwith the properties
designated in the plan to Conrail; and the Penn Cen-
tral Trustees can be expected to comply with the Spe-
cial Court's order. Therefore, if these provisions of the
RRRA are not enjoined, the New Haven Trustee's
lien, securing $123,809,404, plus interest, can be ex-
pected to be divested as provided in §303(b)(2). Ob-
viously, once his lien is divested, the New Haven
Trustee is faced with the dear and present danger that
in a subsequent §77 plan Penn Central would not have
assets sufficient to pay the New Haven Trustee's claim,
which will rank junior to administration expenses and
Trustees’ Certificates which now aggregate close to $1
billion.
In weighing ripeness considerations, the court be-
low should have been guided by this Court's pro-
nouncement in Railroad Transfer Service, Im
Chicago,“ 386 U.S. 351, 357 (1967), that
“It is difficult to imagine a controversy more actual,
alive, and — 4 than this one. It has lasted for more
than a decade.”
he case involved a Chicago ordinance which purported to require
a local inter-terminal carrier to demonstrate annually to the City of
Chicago its ability to satisfy the public convemence and necessity before
the City would grant it a license to do business. The issue was whether
this ordinance placed an undue burden on interstate commerce and in
fringed upon an area preempted by the Interstate Commerce Act The
Court reached the merits of this issue over the City’s objections that the
issue was premature.
to assure the New Haven Bondholders payment on
their claims, if not hastened by this Court, may well be
deferred into the 1980's. Surely, the ultimate impact
on the New Haven estate of a §303(b) conveyance or-
der is sufficiently likely and clearly foreseeable that its
constitutionality should be adjudicated now. See Joint
Anti-Faseit Refugee Committee 1. McGrath, supra, 341
U.S. at 156.
37
Il
THE COMPULSORY CONVEYANCE
PROVISIONS OF THE RRRA VIOLATE
THE NEW HAVEN TRUSTEE'’S
FIFTH AMENDMENT RIGHTS
A. Legal and Factual Setting of the RRRA
As was noted in Judge Fullam's concurnng opinion
below, in approaching the question of the con-
stitutionality of the compulsory conveyance provisions
of the RRRA, it is necessary first to review the “legal
theories underlying the reorganization provisions of
the Bankruptcy Act, and their application to the Penn
Central proceedings apart from, and in relation to, the
RRRA itself.”*
The early cases of corporate reorganization under
equity receiverships involved a decision by senior cred-
itor and equity groups that their respective financial
interests would be better served by having a new com-
pany with scaled-down capitalization assume the bust-
ness of the financially embarrassed debtor and thereby
maintain the values of a going business. The devices
chosen evolved out of the procedures of equity: in-
stead of separate bills of foreclosure by each secured
creditor group, the court was asked to enter what
amounted to a consent decree of foreclosure under
which a newly formed company purchased the assets
of the debtor in exchange for the securities comprising
a portion of the new capital structure. Since the con-
sent of the stockholders of the debtor was considered
essential to a consent decree, in an equity receivership
plan the new company might exchange a portion of its
capital stock for the entire capital stock of the old com-
**Concurning Opinion of Fullam, J. (JA 65), Judge Fullam’s analyses
is directed pnmanb to the constitutomal limits upon imposing urther
uncompensated rail deficits on the estate of a railroad in reorgamization
38
pany.** Decisions of this Court, cited in the note, held
that these arrangements were subject to judicial scru-
tiny at the insistance of any non-consenting creditor
who claimed that he should be entitled to full recog-
nition in the plan if junior creditors or stockholders
were to be allowed to participate at all.
The amendments of the Bankruptcy Act dealing
with corporate reorganizations (§77B and Chapter X)
and railroad reorganizations (577. enacted in 1933 and
amended in 1935) enacted in the 1930's must be read
in the light of practices developed in the field of eq-
uity receiverships. Terms such as “fair and equitable”
and “conform to the requirements of the law of the
land regarding the participation of the various classes
of creditors and stockholders” appearing in §77(e) of
the Bankruptcy Act were phrases of an which re-
reduced to judgment many years later from claiming, i
sence of fraud, that he was entitled to have his claim paid since valuable
consideration was paid to stockholders of the old y. See also Case
(1999), in which 2 com.
sent arrangement involving by stockholders of the old com-
judicial approval under ha.
This case was followed by Consolidated Rock Products Co. „ Du Bow, 31
US. 510 (1941), also under §77B, in which the “absolute rule of priority”
39
flected the accumulated judicial expenence of dealing
with equity receiverships.*°
Section 77, the Bankruptcy Act provision which has
governed railroad reorganization from 1933 until the
enactment of the RRRA, while departing in many re-
spects from equity receivership and §77B re-
organizations, nevertheless involved judicial scrutiny as
to whether the standards of the Boyd, Case and
Consolidated Rock decisions, supra note 29, were met.
Section 77(e) required that before a plan of re-
organization could be carried out the judge must find
that the plan, certified to the court under §77(d) by
the ICC, was “fair and equitable.” Under §77, the ICC
and the court could determine that the stockholders of
the railroad, or any class of creditors, had no equity
and could properly be awarded nothing in the plan.
See Ecker v. Western Pacific RR. Corp., 318 U.S. 448
(1943); Group of Institutional Investors v. Chicago, M. St
P. & NR. 318 US. 523 (1943). The 1935 amend-
ments to §77 included a “cram-down” exception to the
voting requirement that the plan be approved by at
least two-thirds in interest of each class entitled to par-
ticipate in the plan. The cram-down exception, which
essentially completed a statutory scheme which has re-
mained intact until the RRRA, permitted the judge to
override the objections of a dissenting class of cred-
itors provided he determined that the plan provided
fair and equitable treatment for the interests of those
rejecting it and found that “such rejection is not rea-
sonably justified.” See Reconstruction Finance Corp. v.
Denver & R.G.W. RR. 328 U.S. 495 (1946).
The words ‘fair and equitable’ are words of art which pror to
the advent of §77B [the predecessor of Chapter XI had acquired a fixed
meaning through judicial interpretations in the field of equity re-
ceivership reorgamizations.” Case v. Los Angeles Lumber Products Co., supra,
$08 U.S. 44 115
40
Until the reorganization proceeding of the New
Haven Railroad which commenced in 1961, prior rail-
road reorganization cases under equity receiverships
and §77 had generally involved debtor corporations
which were viable businesses but were financially em-
barrassed in the sense that their operations could not
support their existing capital structures. As Judge
Fullam noted in his concurring opinion,
“Both §77(e) and the Supreme Court's pro-
nouncements in Consolidated Rock Products, Ecker
and /nstitutional Investors cases require that earning
poe or income-generatin capacity of the debtor
the measure of a railroad’s value.” (JA 68)
Except for the happenstance of the Penn Centra!
merger, hereinafter discussed, the New Haven's re-
organization might well have gone the way of the New
York, Ontario & Western Railroad, which ended in a
liquidating equity receivership.“ since the ICC and the
Court each found that the New Haven had no pos-
sibility of achieving profitable status, or even net in-
come before fixed charges:
“The concept of ‘going concern value’ is fictional as
applied to the New — because it ignores the
Railroad's long and continuous history of deficit
operations.” In re New York, NI. & VH. R.R., 289 F.
Supp. 451, 455 (D. Conn. 1968).
In the case of the New Haven’s §77 proceedings, a
totally fortuitous event emerged to make possible a re-
organization plan under §77, rather than dismissal of
reorganization proceedings and a liquidating equity re-
ceivership: two major, profitable trunk-line carriers,
“See New York, Ontario & Western Reorganization, 295 1.C.C. 346
(1956), in which the railroad was declared unreorganizable by the ICC,
leading to a dismissal and liquidation of the enterprise. See also /n re
New York, Ontano & Western Ry, 171 F. Supp. 634, 635, 647 (S.D.N.Y.
1958).
—
a.
41
one operating in the New Haven's territory, the New
York Central Railroad, and the other a connecting car-
rier with the New Haven, the Pennsylvania Railroad,
petitioned the ICC for authority to merge, thereby
opening up the possibility of an inclusion petition by
the New Haven Trustee pursuant to §5(2)(d) of the
Interstate Commerce Act. What then followed is
known to this Court and need not bear repetition. See
Penn Central Merger Cases, supra; New Haven Inclusion
Cases, supra”
In relation to an assessment of the RRRA, the most
important aspect of the New Haven experience is that
the Trustees of the New Haven perceived that the
merger of the Pennsylvania and New York Central
Railroads offered the possibility of a solution which
recognized both the compelling public interest in
maintaining rail transportation in Southern New En-
gland and the satisfaction, through securities of a
(then perceived to be) profitable trunk line railroad
system, of the private interest in realizing the equitable
equivalent of the highest and best use value of the
New Haven's rail properties. There was thus a
voluntary decision and recommendation by the Trust-
ecs of the New Haven to pursue inclusion in the pro-
posed merged Penn Central, and to seek to sell the
New Haven's rail assets to the merged Penn Central,
subject to administrative and judicial determinations as
„One aspect of the New Haven situation which does deserve re-
petition is the fact that the rights of the New Haven bondholders have
now been held in suspension under §77 since July, 1961, and no im-
mediate relief is in sight. As Judge Fullam commented in his opinion
below:
“1 find it difficult to characterize as due process of law the notion
that further interim erosion can be justified because, if the longthy
and complex procedures of the Act do not permit a constitutionally
issible result, the parties may then start over again in the Court
of Claims. The rights of the secured creditors of the New Haven, for
example, have already been held in suspension for more than ten
years.” (JA 81).
42
to the equivalence of value of the assets and the con-
sideration (in the context of a §77 plan of re-
organization), as being in the financial self-interest of
the claimants to the New Haven estate, as well as in
the public interest. The New Haven Bondholders’ rep-
resentatives initially acquiesced in the concept of in-
clusion, although reserving their rights with respect to
the adequacy of the consideration. The Bondholders
onginally opposed consummation of indusion prior to
a final decision as to the consideration (leading to the
“Procrustean measures” language by Mr. Justice Fortas
in Penn Central Merger Cases, 389 U.S. at 510-11), but
later consented to the conveyance of New Haven's as-
sets and divestment of their liens on the basis of as-
surance of subsequent judicial review as to the ade-
quacy of the consideration. Thus, New Haven Inclusion
Cases arose in a procedural context totally at variance
with the factual setting of the present case.
In the case of Penn Central's reorganization, there
was no possibility of a solution involving voluntary ac-
quisition of the rail assets by another carrier or carri-
ers, since no carrier could afford to assume Penn Cen-
tral's deficits in net railway operating income
amounting to some $90 million annually. This, how-
ever, did not prevent the private parties in interest
from attempting to seek a solution. Particularly signifi-
cant in the present context was an attempt by the New
Haven Trustee to achieve an accommodation between
the interests of the public sector in continued rail
transportation and the interests of the private creditors
and stockholders of Penn Central in receiving value
equal to their respective equities in an estate whose
overall liquidation value is indicated to be upwards of
$4 billion. The New Haven Trustee’s Plan for Re-
organization of Penn Central, filed with the ICC on
June 28, 1973, called for expedited action by the ICC
under §1(18) of the Interstate Commerce Act to adopt
13
a “core system” of 11,000 miles, and to approve and
certify pursuant to §77(d) a plan under which the rail
properties of Penn Central required for the 11,000-
mile system would be transferred to a new cor
poration, “Core Railroad;” the Boston-Washington
passenger corndor would be operated on the basis of a
governmental subsidy providing for a return on in
vestment by a new corporation, “Northeast Railroad,”
which would lease trackage nights for which it would
pay Core Railroad a fair rental based on the value of
the property fairly allocable to passenger operations,
non-rail and surplus rail assets would be segregated.
and an investment company called Penn Central En
terprises (all of the sec urities of which would be issued
to private creditor and stockholder claimants of Penn
Central, in the order of the pnonty of then claims)
would be created to hold all of the non-rail assets of
Penn Central, plus all of the stock of Northeast Rai!
road, a portion of the stock of the Core Railroad and
all the stock of a liquidating subsidiary to which non
essential rail properties would be conveved. The New
Haven Trustee's Plan required the | nited States and
other public interest claimants, including labor
claimants, to accept senior debt securities, junior se
curities and common stock of Core Railroad in ex
change for all of their claims. The Plan was not ap
proved by the ICC, which held hearings in August
1973 on the New Haven Trustee's Plan and two other
proposed plans for reorganization submitted to it pur
suant to dh“ The United States Departments of
"The other plans included a plan filed by the Penn Central I rustees
which called for cessation of operation and sale of all rail properties to
others, hopefully to public authonues and other railroads interested in
operating the properties and a plan filed by Penn Central Company
which contemplated an action against the | nited States in the Court of
Claims under 28 U.S.C. §1491 (“Tucker Act”). The IC held that the
Trustees’ proposed plan was not a “plan” within the meaning of §77(d)
The ICC rejected the plan filed by Penn Central Company
44
Transportation and Justice opposed the New Haven
Trustee's Plan. In a report dated September 28, 1973,
the ICC rejected the New Haven Trustee's Plan on a
number of grounds, but principally that the Core Rail-
road would not be economically viable.“
The efforts represented by the New Haven
Trustee's Plan, the opposition to it of the government
and its rejection by the ICC, are significant to the de-
cision here. The refusal of the ICC, after objection by
the government, to approve a plan calling for an
11,000 mile streamlined “core” freight-only railroad,
made up of principal main line and high density
feeder routes, as proposed by the New Haven Trustee,
must fairly be deemed to cast a long shadow on the
underlying theory of the RRRA, which is based on the
assumption that Conrail, a freight-only railroad®® made
up of the essential or “core” lines of Penn Central and
a few other relatively small bankrupt carriers, could be
designed so as to be economically viable.
In any event, the New Haven Trustee treated the
ICC's rejection of his Plan as dispositive of any private
attempt to arrange an accommodation with the public
sector. The Plan provided that, if it were not promptly
accepted by the ICC, the United States, organized la-
bor and the States (in respect of tax claims), whose vol-
untary consent thereto was a necessary precondition,
the New Haven Trustee would move promptly under
§77(g) for dismissal of the §77 proceedings, and, un-
der §77(i), for an equity receivership calling for the
“As noted above, the ICC's September 28, 1973 Repor is Doc. No.
54 in the Joint Documentary Submission. The New Haven Trustee's Plan
— 124 27-36, the ICC's conclusions are set forth at pp. 59-77
and in App. DD.
be RRRA contemplates that Conrail will sell or lease the Wash.
ington-Boston passenger corridor to National Railroad Passenger Cor.
poration (Amtrak). See §§206(c) (1) (C) and 601 (d) of the RRRA.
ic... *
45
prompt liquidation of Penn Central's rail properties.**
The New Haven Trustee accordingly on October 9,
1973 filed his §77(g) Motion to dismiss Penn Central's
§77 proceedings
Congress was aware of the pendency of the §77(g)
motion while it was considering the RRRA, as evr
denced by the legislative history.” Apparently with the
intention of mooting the §77(g) motion, Congress then
amended pending bills so as to expand the definition
of “railroad in reorganization” (RRRA, §102(12)) to in-
clude railroads in equity receiverships.”” Congress also
A hquidation recewership would not, of course, be incon
sustent with a senes sales of rail properies for continued railroad use
(at the “highest and best use value”) to puble authonues (federal and
state) and other railroads (such as the major trunk line carners in the
West and South, as well as the Northeast. which carry substantial Penn
Central ongynated and terminated traffic)
"Doc. No. 13 on the Jount Documentary Submission. The Penn (en.
tral Reorgamzation Court at first did not hold any heanng on the §77()
Motion on the ground that it was waiting for a legislative solution See In
re Penn Central Transportanen Company (Columbus Option Appeals), V4 F
2d 270 ( Cir. 1974), petition for cert filed, 42 US.L.W. 3633 (May 5.
1974). On May 6, 1974, a heanng was held on the §77(g) Motion, but no
decision has been forthcoming J Fullam has stated that he de-
liherately deferred action on the §77(g) Mouton of the New Haven
Trustee: “By a senes of actions and inactions which need not be detailed
here. this Court held all such proposals in abeyance pending action by
Congress on the RRR A Oprmon im Support of Order No. 1596, supra (JA
131). Om August 8, 1974, by Order No. 1648, Judge Fullam ordered the
Penn Central Trustees to file a report on September 3, 1974, and called
a hearing on September 17, 1974, with respect to the desiratiliny of se
questration of h rauf income for the pur or taxes and other
administration expenses now being deferred, again specifically de-
ferred any adjudication of the §77(g) Motion pending said heanng:
“See, g. 119 Cong. Rec. H. 9767 (daily ed. Nov. 8, 1973, remarks
of Rep. Shoup. co-sponsor of the Shoup- Adams bill which eventually be-
came the House version of the RRRA), 119 Cong, Rec. H. 9751 (dasly
ed. Nov. & 1973; remarks of Rep. Adams relative to the Shoup- Adams
ball).
“Compare §103(11) in “Working Paper No. |, Rail Services Act of
1973,” dated Nov. II. 1973: “(11) ‘Railroad im reorgamization means 4
railroad which is a debtor in a reorganization proceeding under section
77 of the Bankruptcy Aa (1! U.S.C. 205 with §103(12) im S. 2767, re-
ed to the Senate on Dec. 3, 1973, in which the following sentence
irst appears: “A ‘bankruptcy proceeding includes a proceeding pur-
suant to section 77 of the Bankruptcy Aa (11 U.S.C 205) or an equity
receivership or equivalent proceeding.”
46
designed §207(b) in such a way that one of the pos-
sible factual foundations for the granting of the §77(g)
Motion, that an income-based reorganization was not
possible, would itself trigger compulsory conveyances
(RRRA, §207(b), first sentence) rather than a dismissal
of the proceedings under §77(g).
Subsequently, the Institutional Investors Penn Cen-
tral Group and substantially all indenture trustees of
Penn Central System bonds petitioned for a prom pt
termination of rail operations. This petition was prem-
ised on a view that termination of rail operations and
sale of rail properties could be achieved even if §77
proceedings continued. A petition was also filed by
Penn Central Company, the holding company owning
all of Penn Central's stock, for a segregation of non-
rail properties from rail properties and cessation of rail
operations.” These petitions, together with the New
Haven Trustee's §77(g) Motion, establish the unanim-
ity of substantially all creditor and stockholder parties
in the position that deficit rail operations of Penn Cen-
tral are constitutionally required to terminate.
The relationship between the RRRA and the pend-
ing Motions to dismiss Penn Central's §77 proceedings
and terminate rail operations is clearly stated by Judge
Fullam in his opinion below:
“Another aspect of the RRRA’s impact that war-
rants consideration, is the relationship of the avail-
ability of the RRRA’s processes to the mee ne
tions to terminate rail services and to dismiss enn
Central's §77 proceeding. Obviously, the RRRA is an
important factor to be weighed by the reorganization court
in assessing [the] validity of the petitioners’ contentions
“The petitions to terminate rail operations were heard by the Re-
organization Court on May 6, 1974, together vith the hearing on the
New Haven Trustee's §77(g) Motion, and remain undecided. As noted
above, a hearing has heen scheduled for September 17, 1974 with re-
hearing has specifically deferred adjudication of these Petitions and the
§77(g) Motion.
47
that ations can no longer be constitutionally re-
quired.” (JA 59-60; emphasis added).
Given the history of Penn Central's hopelessly un-
profitable rail operations and chronic cash crises te.
sulting from deficit operations.“ and the utter futility
of the private efforts to reorganize Penn Central in the
face of opposition of the government and the ICC, it
became obvious that if any solution contemplating on-
going operation of the Penn Central System were to be
forthcoming, it would have to be a solution created by
Congress.
The congressional solution has been aptly de-
scribed by Judge Fullam as follows:
“To summarize, the RRRA represents an amalgam
of sale, reorganization, and eminent domain con-
cepts. Implementation of the Final System Plan
would produce transactions akin to sales under
§77(o) or §77(b) (5) of the Bankruptcy Aa, but with-
out the safeguards of participation by the parties or ad-
vance judicial scrutiny; sales in which the price would
be paid in a form somewhat like that che ountered
in a plan of reorganization. The transactions would
somewhat resemble a reorganization in which the
‘cram down’ decision is made by Congress, or at
least virtually compelled by Congress, im advance of
formulation of the plan. And the plain purpose of the
entire arrangement would be to insure the con-
tinued availability of these rail properties for use in
meeting the public need for continued rail service,
without dened to the wishes of the present owners of the
„A is indicated by Stip Fact (11, in order to continue its oper
ations, it was necessary for Penn Central not only to defer all real estate
taxes, leased line rentals and interest payments, but also to utilize ex.
traordinary sources of cash to the extent of $157 millon. This amount ts
exclusive of $28.8 million made available in 1974 to Penn Central by the
United States ment of Transportation under §213 of the RRRA;
of this amount, $10.8 million was made available in the form of a pur-
chase by the United States of a participation in certain equipment obliga-
tions of Penn Central. See Order No. 1480 and Memorandum in Sup-
port thereof (Docs. Nos. 29 and 30 in the Joint Documentary
Submission). Appeals from Order No. 1480 are pending in the Third
(Arcus.
48
properties.” (Fullam, J., concurring; JA 77-78; em-
phasis added). a 81
In the RRRA, Congress set forth what it was will-
ing to do, by way of amending §77 and authorizing
and committing monies of the United States by way
of a solution, and equally importantly, what it was not
willing to do. Specifically, Congress indicated chat it
was not willing (except possibly to the extent of $500
million of government-guaranteed bonds of USRA) to
permit the estates of Penn Central and other bankrupt
carriers subject to the RRRA to be paid the “highest
and best use” value of the designated rail properties in
any form save that of common stock and possibly
more senior securities of Conrail. While the RRRA
employs words of “reorganization” and utilizes phrases
of art in the law of reorganization, such as “fair and
equitable,” it does not in fact contemplate re-
organization in the accepted legal definition of that
word. If “reorganization” in the conventional sense
were possible, there would have been no need for the
RRRA.
As Judge Fullam noted in his concurring opinion
w:
“The Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973
represents the Congressional response to the un-
fortunate fact that the processes and concepts of
“A total of $2.165 billion is authorized by C im the RRRA in
a total of $28.8 mi has been made to Penn Central, of
which $10.8 million was in the form of a purchase of outstandi equip-
ment obligations (see Order No. 1480 and Memorandum in pport
thereof, Docs. Nos. 29 and 30 in the Joint Documentary Submission) and
$18 million was in the form of a grant (see Order No. 154% and Mem-
orandum in Support thereof, Doc. No. 31 in the Joint Documentary
Submission).
49
§77 outlined above proved inadequate to deal with
the current plight of railroads in the Northeast.
Section 77 is adequate only when a railroad’s reve-
nues are, or can reasonably be predicted to be, in
excess of operation expenses.
“Penn Central and most of the other bankrupt
northeastern carners do not generate net operating
revenues, but incur large operating deficus. They
cannot achieve reorganization on an income basis
under 577. (JA 69-70).
The Congressional response, as reflected im the
RRRA. is to mandate that all railroads in re-
organization in the Northeast which cannot reorganize
on an income basis (RRRA, §207(b)) convey their des-
ignated rail properties (§206(c)) to Conrail, a cor-
poration controlled by United States government ap-
pointed officials (§301(d)), in exe hange for: (1) stock
and other securities of Conrail (§206(d)), including ob-
ligations of USRA (if affirmatively approved by a unt
resolution of Congress —§206()— which in any event
are limited to $500 milhon principal amount (§210(b));
and (2) the undefined “other benefits” accruing to
such railroad by reason of such transfer (§206(d)).
Once a railroad’s reorganization court concludes that
the railroad should be reorganized by means of con-
vevance of its rail properties to ¢ onrail (§207(b)), there
is no further judicial review provided until after the
conveyances of property (§303(b)(1)) and the con-
current divestment of creditors’ liens (§303(b)(2)) have
been completed. The only “out” from the compulsion
of the statute which a reorganization court could ex-
ercise if an income-based reorgamization is not pos
sible, is a finding that “this Act does not provide a
“The reorganization courts supervising the Ene-Lackawanna and
Boston K Maine reorganizations found that tmcome based re
organizations were possible, and thus avoided the compulsion of the
RRRA
50
process which is fair and equitable to the estate of the
railroad in reorganization. . .” (§207(b), third sentence,
clause (2)). This finding inherently requires a de-
termination whether or not the processes of the RRRA
would be unconstitutional as applied to the railroad.
In the case of Penn Central, the finding has been
made that the RRRA does not provide a process which
would be fair and equitable to the estate. Opinion in
Support of Order No. 1596, supra (JA 124-52). The issue
raised by this cross-appeal, asserting that the com-
pulsory conveyance provisions of the RRRA violate the
New Haven Trustee's constitutional rights, is es-
sentially the same issue which has thus already been
decided by the Penn Central Reorganization Court in
favor of the New Haven Trustee. The Reorganization
Court's decision, however, is subject to review by the
Special Court (created pursuant to §209(b) of the
RRRA).* The Special Court's decision is required by
the terms of the sixth sentence of §207(b) to be ren-
dered no later than September 30, 1974. Thus, as of
the date of this Brief, it is not known whether the Spe-
cial Court will decide (a) to sustain a plea of res judi-
cata, based on the order of the court below in
Connecticut General that the RRRA is unconstitutional
in failing to provide just compensation in respect of
erosion, (b) to affirm Order No. 1596 on the merits,
“The Special Court is a three-judge district count consisting of Cir
. Frnendly i and Carl McGowan and Dis
tnct Judge Roszel (- Thomsen. It has before it appeals on the merits of
Order No. 1596 (docketed as No. 74-8) by the United States, USRA and
the ICC (in which the State of New Jersey and the Railway Labor Execu-
en Association has joined), and a cross-appeal by the New Haven
Trustee limited to his junsdictional contenuon that the junsdiction con-
ferred by §207(b) is void under Anicle III and under Article l. Sec. 8.
Cl. 4 of the Constitution. The Penn Central Trustees, although partially
aligned with the United States and USRA as to the “Tucker Act remedy”
i
i
i
i
(c) to reverse Order No. 1596 on the merits in spite of
the decision below, (d) to decline to reach the merus
by finding that jurisdiction is improperly conferred by
§207(b), or (e) to defer decision pending a decision by
this Court of the appeals and cross-appeals from
Connecticut General and related cases. The Special
Court's decision will presumably have been made pnor
to the argument of this case. Whatever the Special
Court's decision, appeals from its decision are pur-
portedly excluded by the seventh sentence of
§207(b).”
With this background, we turn to an analysis of
why the Congressional “solution” requinng Penn Cen-
tral. which is unable to reorganize in the conventional
manner, to convey its rail assets to Conrail in exchange
for stock and securities of Conrail and USRA, is neces-
sarily a violation of the Fifth Amendment nghts of se-
cured creditors and other claimants to the Penn Cen-
tral estate.
yr
*Junsdictional appeals by the New Haven Trustee from orders Nos
1543 and 1596 (120-day and 180-day orders under §207(b)) have been
filed under §24 of the Bankruptcy Act with the Court of Appeals for the
Third Circuit (Nos. 74-1501 and 74-1649). The former appeal was ar
gued on july 18, 1974 and the Third (uncut panel reserved decision
pending a decision by this Court in this case. The New Haven Trustee
has acknowledged to the Court of Appeals that a favorable deasion of
his cross-appeal here would moot hes junsdictional appeals from the
§207(b) orders and thereby avoid the necessity of decisions as to whether
or not §207(b) is void under Article Ill of the Constitution and the doc-
inne of separation of powers
B. The Compulsory Conveyance Provisions of the RRRA
Involve an Intentional Taking, Not Compensated by
Money or its Perfect Equivalent, of the Property of Penn
Central in Violation of the Fifth Amendment Rights of
its Creditors and Stockholders
The New Haven Trustee submits, for the reasons
set forth below, that the compulsory conveyance provi-
sions of the RRRA (§§206(c), (d), (f), (h) and (i), 207,
208, 209%c) and (d) and 303(b) and (c), hereinafter col-
lectively referred to as the “compulsory conveyance
provisions,” are constitutionally void on their face and
as applied to Penn Central.
Congress should be determined in the §303(c) pro-
“The $500 million limitation is derived from §210(b), fixing the
maximum obhgational authority at $1,500 milhon of USRA securities, of
53
use” value of the designated rail properties conveyed,
the only remedies allowed for by the statute are the
possibility of the Special Court's ordering additional
amounts of the same types of secunties of Conrail
specified in the final system plan(§303(c)(2)(B)), plus
entering the §303(c)2)C) deficiency judgment against
Conrail.
Judge Fullam aptly described the deficiency judg-
ment provision of §303(cK2C) in his opinion below as
“essentially circuitous.” (JA 77). If the Conrail com-
mon stock and securities are insufficient, a deficiency
judgment against the property having insufficient
value to support the secunties representing the prop-
erty will produce no possible satisfaction of the judg-
ment. Moreover, even if the judgment were satisfied,
Conrail’s assets would be depleted by the same
amount, thereby reducing the value of the common
stock, creating a need for a further deficiency judg
ment. In his Opinon in Support of Order No. 1596, supra,
Judge Fullam described the deficiency judgment as a
“relatively pointless” remedy.(JA 137).
Neither the Penn Central Trustees, as intervening
defendams below, nor the Governmental Defendants
have presented any analvsis of the RRRA which sup-
ports any contrary conclusion The Trustees argued
below that the compulsory conveyance provisions of
the RRRA are unfair and inequitable to the Penn Cen-
tral estate unless this Court definitively adjudicates that
there is a Tucker Act remedy under 28 U.S.C. §1491
to take care of any “shorn fall” between the con-
sideration provided by the RRRA and the con-
stitutional minimum which would prove to be due un-
der the Takings Clause of the Fifth Amendment.”’
“The Governmental Defendant's brief below was “in partial op
position to intervening defendants motion for summary judgment (Dox
M. ; nned on nel page
54
The Governmental Defendants likewise relied be-
low upon the “Tucker Act remedy,” but with a some-
what different emphasis. The Governmental De-
fendants argued that if USRA were able to design a
final system plan under which Conrail could be shown
to have the potential to earn net income before fixed
charges, then the capitalized value of the prospective
net earnings (ie, the value of Conrail common stock
and its other securities for purposes of reorganization)
would automatically fix the value of the rail properties con-
veyed to Conrail. However, recognizing that the value
thus determined for rail properties of the bankrupt
carners might be far less than the liquidation value of
those properties if sold for their highest and best use,
the Governmental Defendants argued below that any
constitutional “short fall” could be remedied by a suit
in the Court of Claims against the United States.
The Court below unanimously rejected the
“Tucker Act remedy” arguments of both the Penn
Central Trustees and the Governmental Defendants.
The New Haven Trustee asserts that this disposition
was correct, and the point will be fully briefed in his
Brief herein as an Appellee. In the instant Brief the
New Haven Trustee will assume that the Court below
was correct without argument of the question, and
that no “Tucker Act remedy” exists for any failure of
the stock and other securities of Conrail (including up
to $500 million of obligations of USRA if subsequently
authorized by Congress under §206(i)) to equal the
“highest and best use” value of the Penn Central rail
assets designated in a final system plan for conveyance
to Conrail.
(footnote continued from prior page)
wo. 18 in — No. 01008, May 17, — because the United
judgment — a “Tucker Act remedy” — 2 ho ame —
serting the affirmative defense of an “adequate remedy at law.”
55
In his motion for summary judgment below, the
New Haven Trustee alleged that the RRRA constitutes
a taking by force of law for a public use of the prop-
erty of Penn Central of two types: (a) during the pe-
riod from enactment of the RRRA through the date of
conveyances under §303(b), as a law requiring that pri-
vate property be devoted to public use without the
owner being afforded a reasonable exp ctation of
profit or return on his investment;** and (b) upon the
happening of the §303(b) conveyances, as a law pro-
viding for the taking for public use of (i) the right, title
and interest of Penn Central as owner in fee or as to a
leasehold estate of the designated rail properties, and
(ii) the right, title and interest of the New Haven
Trustee as mortgagee and lienholder. The first type of
taking was enjoined by the Court's order below. The
instant cross-appeal deals with the failure of the Court
below to enjoin the second type of taking.
There is no dispute that, once a §207(b) order com-
pelling Penn Central to convey its property were to be
entered by the Special Court,’ the RRRA would, by
force of law, inexorably require conveyance of desig-
nated rail properties of Penn Central to Conrail in ex-
change for the consideration of the types specified in
the RRRA. There is also no dispute that the con-
sideration specified in the RRRA does not include
money.
“The Coun below granted this portion of the New Haven Trustee's
motiom for summary judgment.
“As is sought by the United States, USRA, the ICC and the other
governmental parties who have filed a joint brief dated August 5, 1974
seeking to reverse Judge Fullam’s Order No. 1596 (Special Coun, Re-
gional Rail Reorganization Act, No. 74-8). As noted above, the Penn
Central Trustees, although they argue for a “Tucker Act remedy” to save
the RRRA, are aligned with the creditors and stockholders of Penn Cen-
tral as appellees in su of Order No. 1596 rejecting the RRRA as not
being “fair and equitable” to Penn Central.
56
The New Haven Trustee submits that, once a tak-
ing of private property is established to have taken
place under an Act of Congress, or to be the inevitable
consequence of the implementation of such an Act,
the implementing legislation must provide for pay-
ment to the owners of that property of the “full mon-
etary equivalent of the property taken.” A/mota Farmers
Elevator & Warehouse Co. v. United States, 409 U.S. 470,
473 (1973). See United States v. Reynolds, 397 U.S. 14,
16 (1970). In United States v. Miller, 317 U.S. 369, 373
(1943), this Court held:
“The Fifth Amendment of the Constitution pro-
vides that private property shall not be taken for
public use without just compensation. Such com-
pensation means the full and perfect equivalent in
money of the property taken. The owner is to be
— in as ition pecuniarily as he would
ave occupied if his property had not been taken.”
(Footnotes omitted).
See also Monongahela Navigation Co. v. United States,
148 U.S. 312, 326 (1893), where it was stated that:
“The noun ‘compensation’ [as used in the phrase
just compensation’ in the Fifth Amendment],
standing by itself, carries the idea of an equivalent.
And this is made emphatic by the adjective
just, There can, in view of the combination of
those two words, be no doubt that the compen-
sation must be a full and perfect equivalent for the
property taken. his excludes the taking into
account as an element in the compensation of any
he full quotation is as follows:
“The Fifth Amendment provides that private property shall not be
taken for public use without ‘just compensation.’ ‘And ‘yust compen-
sation’ means the full monetary equivalent of the property taken.
The owner is to be put in the same position monetarily as he would
have occupied if his property had not been taken’ United States ©
Reynolds, 397 U.S. 14, 16 (footnotes omitted). See also United States »
Miller, 317 U.S. 369, 373.”
4
supposed enen that the owner may receive im
common with all from the public uses to which hes
private property ts 2 and leaves u to
stand as a declaration that no private property shall
be appropnated to public uses unless a full and ex
act equivalent for it be returned to the owner
he only question which remains, assuming that
the “full monetary equivalent” test must be met, 1s
whether the Congress ts free to legslate, in connection
with a taking, that something other than money shall
be the equivalent of money. In other words, can Con
gress declare, for example, that the stock of Conrail ts
to be the legal equivalent of money and, if u does
what is the constitutional effect of that legrslative de
laration: he question was squarely presented in the
*
Monongahela Navigation case, supra, and was squarel
answered as follows
“By this legislation Congress seems to have as
sumed the nght to determine what shall be the
measure of compensation. But thi uw a judwial, and
not a legislative question. The legislature may de
termine what private property is needed for public
purposes — that is a question of a political and leg
islative character; but when the taking has been or
dered, then the question of compensation is judi
cial. lk does not rest with the public taking the
property, through Congress or } legislature, us
representative, to say what compensation shall be
paid, or men what shali he the rule of com pe neation
The Constitution has declared that just compen
sation shall be paid, and the ascertainment of that
This holding was ated wih approval by this Coun m 1970 m
l mated State Reynolds, supra, and the Reynolds decrson was in turn cited
with approval by the Court in 1973 in Almota Farmers Elevator e Ware
house ¢ t'mted States, supra. Thus there can be no doubt that the
Monongahela Navigation decision i 1892 remains the current and author
itative holding of this Court on the issue
58
is a judicial inquiry.” 148 U.S. at 327 (emphasis
added).
In the compulsory conveyance provisions of the
RRRA (particularly §§206(d), 303(b) and 303(c)), Con-
gress has specifically legislated the nature and rule of
the compensation to be provided to railroads in te-
organization for the compulsory “transfers or con-
veyances” of their property. By providing as a limit on,
and a test of, “just compensation,” that the Special
Court shall decide “fairness and equity” on the basis of
solely (1) stock and possibly other securities of Conrail,
(un) obligations of USRA not exceeding $500 million
principal amount, and (ii) “other [undefined] bene-
fits,” Congress is in contravention of the clear holding
of the Monongahela Navigation case.
sistent provisions in private contracts.“ Congress has
no power to declare that something which is not
money is, as matter of law, the perfect equivalent of
money. As the Monongahela Navigation, Miller, Reynolds
and Almota cases make plain, the law on this subject
has not changed since 1795 when it was stated:
“See Baltimore S (Me RR © United States, 298 US. 349,364( 1936):
“Congress has no power to make final determination of just compen.
— — consinaes due process of tow for ins ancer-
tanment.” (Footnote omitted). The Court cted with approval the por-
non of the Monongahela Navigation oprmon quoted ia the text.
As to the power of Congress to make Treasury notes legal tender.
see Knox v. Lee, 79 U.S. (12 Wall.) 457 (1871) ; Juilhard v. G 110
U.S. 421 (1884). As to the power of Congress to invalidate gold clauses
in private contracts, see Norman v Baltimore & Oho RR, 294 US. 240
(1935); and see other “Gold Clause Cases” decided the same day.
4
59
No just compensatiom can be made except in
money. Money is a common standard, by com-
parison with which the value of any thing may be
ascertained. It is not only a sign which represents
the respective value of commodities, but it is an
universal medium, easily portable, liable to litle
variation, and readily exchanged for any kind of
property. Compensation is a recompense in value,
a quid pro euo, and must be in money. True it ts,
that land or any thing else may be a compensation,
but then it must be at the election of the party; u
cannot be forced upon him. His consent will le-
galize the act, and make it valid, nothing short of u
will have the effect.” Vanhorne’s Lessee v. Dorrance, 2
Dall. 304, 313 (Circuit Court Pa. 1795).
These legal precedents establish that the RRRA 1s
unconstitutional on its face and as applied to Penn
Central, when considered as an exercise of Congress’
Commerce Clause/eminent domain powers, and te.
sults in a permanent taking of the property of Penn
Central and the New Haven Trustee without payment
of just compensation in legal tender, in violation of the
Fifth Amendment. As an eminent domain statute, not
even the existence of a “Tucker Act remedy” under 28
U.S.C. §1491 to cover a “shor fall” between the con-
sideration provided by the Act and the “highest and
best use” value of Penn Central's rail properties would
suffice to render the statute constitutional, since
claimants of Penn Central are entitled to full payment
in money or its perfect equivalent. Almota Farmers El-
evator & Warehouse Co. v. United States, supra, and other
cases cited above. Whether or not the stock or other
securities of Conrail have demonstrable value, such se-
curities are plainly not money or its perfect equivalent.
In its Opinion in Support of §207(b) 180-Day Findings
in the Secondary Debtor Proceedings (E.D. Pa. July 2,
1974) (JA 153-56), the Penn Central Reorganization
60
Court held unconstitutional the provisions of
§§206(a)(3) and 601(d) of the RRRA, which require
rail properties in the Boston-Washington passenger
corndor to be sold or leased by Conrail to National
Railroad Passenger Corporation (Amtrak), following
the §303(b\(1) conveyances and the §303(b)(2) di-
vestments of liens. Tle basis of this holding was that
the RRRA, at least in this area, clearly involves an ex-
ercise of eminent domain powers without provision for
payment of just compensation in money. Judge
Fullam observed:
Virtually all of this is owned by the Sec-
=" 41 2
4 to Penn Central.
The in the present ings, has
taken the position that Conrail will be able to raise
$500 million in cash by acquiring the northeast cor-
ndor properties and then selling them to Amtrak
pursuant to §601(d) of this Act. While the public
purpose of these provisions of the statute is quite
could acquire the corndor properties. But
i find n difficult to accept the theory that it is con-
stitutionally permissible for the government to
achieve that result by means of the RRRA, without
ovuding the present ‘ of the uth cash
providing the pr — n
61
C. The Fifth Amendment Requires that a Railroad in
Reorganization, Which Is Unable to Earn Net Railway
ing Income and Whose Properties Are Required
to Be Continued in Perpetual Public Service, Be Paid
Not Less than the “Highest and Best Use” Value of its
Rail Properties
Aside from Tucker Act remedy considerations,”
the gist of the contentions of the United States and
USRA that the processes of the RRRA do not involve
an unconstitutional taking of property rests on an as-
sumption as to a valuation theory which appears to be
a complete misreading of the holding of New Haven
Inclusion Cases, supra. The point was specifically ad-
dressed in a colloquy between counsel representing the
United States and USRA and Judge Fullam at the
“1 80-day” hearing on June 10, 1974:
THE Court: “Perhaps it is the lateness of the
hour. but it would seem to me one of the factors
the Court would certainly have to consider in de-
ciding whether this Act provides a fair and equita-
ble process would be what the probable outcome or
what the possible outcome would be at the valu-
ation stage.
MR. CUTLER: “My difficulty with that ts there are
so many imponderables involved on both sides of
that valuation equation.
“To begin with, if a profitable railroad can be cre-
ated, then it may be the only value that these es-
tates are entitled to is the capitalized earning power
of the profitable railroad. They may not be entitled
io liquidation value. So you may not have to add in
any other benefits at that point.
As noted above, the unavailability of a “Tucker Act remedy” ts not
argued in this Brief but will be discussed fully in the New Haven
Trustee's Bnef as Appeliee.
“That is a point the Supreme Court ex re-
served in the New Haven case. It is one An-
thought the right thing was quidation value, not
t t thing was ion value, not
because it is constitutionally required. So that is an
open issue.
THE COURT: “Of course, it has always been as-
sumed up until this point that J omy concern value
*. „
was greater than liquidation ‘tw? Hasn't
that usually been the assumption?
MR. CUTLER: “The point was in the earlier re-
organization cases that may very well be true, the
early going concern value cases, but the precise
point was reserved. as I said, by the Supreme Count
in the New Haven case. So there is an open issue.
“If a profitable railroad can be created, even if it is
a bilhon-dollar railroad, let's say its value capital-
ized is a billion dollars, and the liquidation value
were theoretically more, that doesn't automatically
demonstrate that the consideration to be paid is
less than a constitutional minimum. That is an
open point.
“As to liquidation itself, there are many open
points, as you know. There are discounts to be ap-
plied. There are the s of succeeding in
abandonments, all of the different things that the
Supreme Court considered in the New Haven
case.” (Iranscnpt of June 10, 1974 hearing, E. D.
Pa. No. 70-347, on the | findings pursuant
to §207(b) of the RRRA, at pp. 12, 610-12),
In his Opinion in Support of Order No. 1596, supra,
Judge Fullam noted that this theory of valuation ap-
pears in the legislative history to be the basic rationale
of the RRRA.
“The legislative history of the Aa suggests that
many responsible public officials may be pro-
ceeding on the assumption that the Common Stock
of Conrail (i.e., the capitalized value of its 1
tive earnings) necessarily and automatical y estab-
63
lishes the value of the rail assets conveyed to Con-
rail. even if those assets had a ~~ hquidanion
value, and even though their value for highest and
best use’ might be much greater.” (Opsmon in Sup-
port of Order No. 1596, supra, JA 138).
lhe Government argues in effect that the value of
Penn Central's rail assets can, for Fifth Amendment
purposes, he valued solely by reference to the value of
the securities issued by a buyer of the properties in a
context where the properties are the only asset of the
buyer. The argument is thus both arcular and ques-
tion begging where the issue is whether the ver could
realize greater value by a sale of its properties for non-
rail use. or by condemnation of its properties by a
public authority for continued rail use, or a com-
bination of both. The New Haven Trustee submits
that the Government's circular reasoning does not in
any event withstand close analysis of the holding of
this Court in New Haven Inclusion Cases, supra
Mr. Justice Stewart's oprmon (399 U.S. at 481-82)
discussed the contention of the New Haven Bond-
holders “that Penn Central should pay an added
amount [in addition to per-parcel sale hquidation
value] to reflect the going concern value of the New
Heven.” This particular contention was rejected by the
Court. not because it was reserving any issue, but be-
cause it considered that such payment would give the
New Haven Bondholders “the best of both worlds” (/d
at 482). a result which the Coun found would be “un-
fair” and “inequitable” to Penn Central (/d.). Of par-
ticular significance to the instant case is that the Court
distinguished the Fifth Avenue Bus and Hudson Rapid
Tubes cases. cited in 399 U.S. at 482, note 80. on the
“In ve City of New York (Fifth Avenue Coach Lines), 18 N.Y. 2d 212,
219 NE. 2d 410, appeal dismissed sub nom. Fifth Avenue Coach Limes v. City
of New York, 386 U.S. 778 ¢ 1966), In re Port Authority Trans-Hudson Corp.,
90 N.Y. 2d 457, 231 NE. 2d 734. cert. demed sub nom Port Authority
Trans-H udson Corp. v. Hudson Rapid Tubes Corp.. 390 U.S. 1002 (1967)
ground that:
“In — of these cases did the yh courts
require t authorities to an oper-
ating and a liquidating value. Rather, they awarded
the owners the value ing the highest and best
use for their ies — precisely the treatment ac-
corded the New Haven here.” (Emphasis in
original).
The New Haven Trustee submits that the findings
made by Congress in the RRRA, §101(a), constitute a
recognition that the railroad properties of Penn Cen-
tral are, in the words of one of the Government briefs
below, an “irreplaceable national asset.” As such. the
highest and best use value of at least Penn Central's
principal rail properties is presumptively for continued
railroad use by one or more public authorities. The
New Haven Trustee submits that, prior to the valu-
ation hearings by the Special Court (RRRA, §303(c)) at
which a definitive theory of valuation of Penn Cen-
tral’s rail properties can be decided upon, the facial
constitutionality of the RRRA must be adjudged in the
light of the constitutional requirement that valuation
of a debtor railroad’s rail properties be based on
“highest and best value” in the words of Mr. Justice
Stewart, and not on an automatic application of a pre-
determined valuation technique.
On the New Haven facts, both Judge Anderson
and this Court found that liquidation value was
greater than going concern value.“ In both the Fifth
Avenue Bus and Hudson Rapid Tubes cases, the trans-
"In ve New York, New Haven & Hartford R NR. 289 F ig 451, 454-
55 (D. Conn. 1968); New Haven Inclusion Cases, supra, 399 U at 481-82.
65
Bus and Hudson e Tubes, and §101(a) of the RRRA
confirms this to be so. In Fifth Avenue Bus and Hudson
Rapid Tubes, the amount awarded to the owners of the
transportation facility was somewhere between scrap
value (argued for by the taking authority) and re-
production cost new, less depreciation (argued for by
the owners of the property). This mid-poimt repre-
sented application of the valuation principle of “high-
est and best use” to the facts of those cases.
All the New Haven Incluson Cases decide is that
where, under the peculiar facts of that case, value
based on “highest and best use” was equal only to h-
uidating value for non-rail use, the Court would not
compel payment of a greater amount. [he Court's
opinion does not stand for the proposition that going
concern value, when less than liqradation value, could be
judicially approved as meeting the test of “highest and
best use.”
It is in light of the discussion at 399 U.S. at 451-82
that one must read the following single sentence of the
Court's opinion (399 U.S. at 490) upon which Gov-
ernment counsel presumably relied in his oral argu-
ment (see Transcript of June 10, 1974 hearing at p.
12, 637):
“Nor is it necessary to consider the bondholders’
claim that anything less than full liquidation value
would amount to an uncompensated taking in vio-
lation of the Fifth Amendment.”
This sentence is immediately preceded by the fol-
lowing passage which, it is submitted, is totally incon-
sistent with the Governmental Defendants’ reliance on
that sentence for its “reservation of issue” position:
“The purchase price that the Commission and the
reorganization court have required Pein Central to
pay to the New Haven estate is based upon the liq-
uidation value of the seller's assets, appraised as of
a: . oo * 6
3
December 31, 1966. DRU 4
shutdown of New Haven, f a sell-off of
its assets al their highesi and best value. In the circum-
stances of this case, and for the reasons we have al-
ready set out at length, we with the re-
organization court that it would be unfair and
inequitable to allow Penn Central to take the prop-
erties for any lesser sum. Moreover, we 2 re-
1 —— —— — Gat enn
zentral is to give in for those
We thereby acc ord the onthe the ight to —
iquidation and a per-parcel 1s irs
en of their 2— liens. The Bankruptcy Aa
does not require that they be given more.” 399 U.S.
at 489-90 (emphasis added).
The portion of Judge Anderson's August 13, 1968
opimion presumably relied upon by the Governmental
Defendants is the following two sentences:
“It is the opinion of the court that the Penn-Cen-
tral should to the Trustees of the New Haven
at least the liquidation value of the New Haven as
of December 31, 1966. This is so not because the
Constitution necessanily requires it but because that
standard, under the arcumstances of this case. is
fair both to the creditors and to the Penn-Central.”
289 F. Supp. at 454.
It ts submitted that neither M. Justice Stewart nor
Judge Anderson was reserving the issue as to whether
the New Haven Trustees could, consistent with the
Fifth Amendment, have been paid /ess than liquidation
value. Rather, each court was limiting its respective
opinion to the facts of the New Haven situation. Each
court concluded that the “highest and best use” value
of the New Haven’s rail assets was to be measured by a
hypothetical liquidation and per-parcel sale for non-
rail use. Judge Anderson (289 F. Supp. at 454) refers
to the “constitutional minimum of value” as to which
the creditors were “entitled,” and that those “nghts of
67
creditors cannot be arbitrarily sacrificed ot restricted
n is wholly inconsistent with Judge Andersons
“constitutional minimum” language to read into his
opinion an intent to reserve the issue that creditors of
a railroad in reorganization might be entitied to less
than liquidation value and a per-parcel sale in a .
uation where “going concern value was less than hq-
uidation value. This is particularly true since judge
Anderson specifically rejected the “gomg-concern
value” arguments of the New Haven Bondholders
because:
“The concept of ‘going concern value ts fictional as
apphed to the New Haven because it ignores the
Railroad’s long and continuous history of defi
operations.” 259 FP. Supp. at 455."
In the case of the Penn Central System, it ts now res
indicata that its railroad properties are not fer
organizable on an income basis (Order No. 1543 (JA
103): the governmental parties to this case have not
appealed this order). Penn Central's rail properties
thus have no “going-concern value.” Penn e entral is in
the same position now that New Haven was in the
1960's. The Government's “capitalized earning power”
argument amounts to this: if there had been no Penn
Central merger to serve as the medium by which rail
service in the New Haven territory could have been
maintained consistent with the protection of creditor
nights which is mandated by the Fifth Amendment, u
would have been open to Congress to enact a law un-
der which the New Haven Trustees would have been
See New Haven Incluson Cases, supra, 999 US. at 4%6
‘In approving the negotiators approach to the prir question the
Commussion observed that asset value rather than carning power was
the pnmary determinant because New Haven had long been dry of
earning power” 331 LC.C., at 657. ‘If there is one thing on this
record that 1s clear and undeniable, the Commission concluded. u
that Niew] Hiaven] has neaher carning power nor the prospect of
earning power /d at 687.”
compelled to convey to a nominally private (but gov-
ernmentally controlled) rail corporation a designated
portion of New Haven rail properties in exchange
for common stock and possibly other securities of this
new entity, all without benefit of any “underwnting”
to assure that the value of this package of securities
was equal to $174,635,899, the amount finally ap-
proved as the “highest and best use” value of New Ha-
ens assets. Moreover, the Government argues that
the capitalized value of the earnings predicted to be
earned by the buyer of the designated rail properties
determines their value to the seller even though such
properties might have a higher value to the seller if
sold for non-rail use or if condemned by one or more
public authorities, Such an argument confuses the “ap-
ples” of the theory of capitalized value in an earnings-
based reorganization with the “oranges” of the basic
rationale of bankruptcy law, that a debtor's property
be applied for the benefit of claimants to its estate in
the order of the priority of their claims. This re pre-
sents a sharp departure from any prior decision of this
Court, including most particularly the New Haven In-
clusion Cases, upon which the Government seeks to rely
for its theory of valuation.
69
D. The RRRA Is Constitutionally Defective in Requiring
Payment for Rail Assets in the Form of Securities of
Conrail Without Any Provision for a Guarantee that the
Value of Such Securities Will Be the Perfect Monetary
Equivalent of the “Highest and Best Use” Value of the
Rail Assets
This section of the Brief analyzes the nature of
Conrail as a governmentally created and controlled en-
tity, the facts in the record as to the value of the rail
properties comprising Penn Centra!’s System under
the “highest and best use” standard of the New Haven
Inclusion Cases, and the reasons why securities and
common stock of Conrail, plus an amount of gov-
ernmentally guaranteed debt instruments not ex-
ceeding $500 million, could not be viewed as the per-
fect equivalent of the “highest and best use” value of
the portion of Penn Central's rail assets to be designa-
ted for conveyance to Conrail under the RRRA.
Although the compulsory features of the RRRA are
sufficient, by themselves, to distinguish the RRRA
from any prior law “on the subject of bankruptcy”
heretofore enacted.“ it is the governmental control of
Conrail which most clearly marks the RRRA as an ex-
ercise of the Commerce Clause/eminent domain pow-
ers of Congress. Compulsory conveyance of properties
to a governmentally created and controlled cor-
It is true. of course, that the “cram-down” feature of §77(e), up-
held in the Denver & Rio Grande case, supra, represents an element of ju-
dicial compulsion; however, the court in §77(e) ts required to find that a
plan rejected by a class of creditors “makes adequate provision for fair
and equitable treatment for the interests and claims of those rejecting u
and “such rejection is not reasonably justified in the light of the re-
spective rights and interests of those reyecting t In the RRRA, by
contrast, there is no voting by creditor or stockholder claimants to the
railroad’s estate, nor any judicial proceedings to determine that their re-
jection of Congress’ plan “is not reasonably justified” in the light of their
nghts and interests.
70
poration is not a feature of any prior “law on the sub-
ject of bankruptcies.” The New Haven Trustee has no
quarrel with the Congressional decision to place con-
trol of Conrail in the hands of the United States and
its agencies in view of the extensive governmental fi-
nancial commitment to Conrail. But Conrail will neces-
sarily be as much a creature of Congress’ will as are
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, Securities lu.
vestors Protection Corporation, and National Railroad
Passenger Corporation. These are “nominally” private
corporations which, however, serve primarily non-pri-
vate purposes. Conrail is simply mot fairly char-
actenstic of “private enterprise.” It is “government en-
terprise in its creation, financing and control.
The “government enterprise” nature of Conrail
may be judged by the following legislative history:
MR. KUYKENDALL: “Mr. — is n not true,
I will ask the gentleman from Washington (Mr. Ad-
ams) that the creditors are of course given protec-
tion, and that the Board of Directors, under the
control of Government officials, is the owner of the
entire block of 100 million shares, whatever it is?”
MR. ADAMS: “The leman is correct. It is con-
trolled by the United States, so long as the Secre-
tary determines that there is an amount of obliga-
tion funds which the United States might, in any
way ever, have anything to do with.
“During that period of time, it is controlled by a
board of directors which consists of Government
officials.” 119 Cong. Rec. H 11876 (daily ed. De-
cember 20, 1973).
The provisions vesting control of Conrail in the
United States Government are set forth in §301(d) of
the RRRA: so long as 50% or more of Conrail’s in-
debtedness constitute debts owed to, or guaranteed, by
USRA or the United States, eight of the fifteen direc-
71
tors of Conrail will be government officials or persons
appointed by the President with the advice and con-
sent of the Senate.” Thus, the owners of 100% of the
common stock of Conrail will be effectively without
voice, having at best 7 of 15 votes on the Board of Dr-
rectors. Since management decisions will be vested in
the Board of Directors by whatever state law Conrail ts
incorporated under (§301(b)), the owners of the stock
of Conrail can expect that Conrail will be managed im
the public interest whenever the public interest con-
flicts with the private interests of the stockholders.
When the RRRA is viewed solely as a “law on the
subject of bankruptcy,” the following factual dis-
tinctions set it apart from any prior exercise of the
Bankruptcy Clause power: (1) the RRRA provides for
a type of “reorganization” which does not depend on
private claimants to the estate seeking the re-
organization’ or voting upon it; (2) the re-
organization” is required to be implemented over the
unanimous dissent (as exemplified by the present
three constitutional complaints before the Court) of
the private creditor and stockholder claimants; (3) the
“reorganization” dogs not by its terms insure that pn
vate secured claimants will receive the equitable equiv-
dent of a hypothetical foreclosure of th ir liens, mea-
sured by the “highest and best use” value of the
properties subject to such liens,” and (4) the RRRA
“The 50% test is likely to be met for a considerable pernvod of time if
the Conrail’s experience parallels that of Penn Central. Private debt and
capital markets have indicated a marked reluctance to lend money to
Penn Central except with government guarantees. See /n re Penn Central
Transportation Co (Opimon in Support of Order No. 124 approwing $100 mi-
hon of Trustees’ Certifwates), $25 F Supp. 302 (F. D. Pa. 1971).
Arne United States and USRA have for the first time comended e.
fore the Special Court that:
“USRA and this [the Special] Court on review under Section 30).
(foatnote continued on next page)
72
provides that private claimants, in exchange for their
legal liens upon tangible physical property, will receive
common stock and other secunties of a government-
controlled, nominally privately incorporated, cor-
poration. The common stock of Conrail has been
stnpped of all the normal attnbutes of ownership of
stock in a private enterprise. Thus the Penn Central
claimants, as potential owners of the vast majority of
the shares of common stock of Conrail to be issued,
would not have control of the Board of Directors of
pass on the terms of any debt, or the right to avoid po-
litical appointments to a Board whose decisions would
entail financial und fiduciary responsibilities, or the
nght to sell their stock on the New York Stock Ex
change or possibly other national securities ex-
changes,” or the right to be assured that they could
(footnote continued from pret page)
ure empowered to provide for the issuance of such Conrail debt se-
cunties as they deem necessary or appropriate — including bonds se-
73
sell their stock to the United States or one of its agen-
cies at the price at which it was valued when it was re-
quired to be accepted as “payment” of thei claims se-
cured by liens on Penn Central's rail properties“
In terms of Congressional intent, it is reasonably
clear from the legislative history that Congress was
motivated almost entirely by a view of the Constitution
which proceeds from the premise, in Senator Hartke’s
words, that the common stock of Conrail can be
“crammed down” on the creditors, and that “judges
have ruled that this is fair.” 119 Cong. Rec. 5 23783-4
(daily ed. December 21, 1973: remarks during debate
on Conference Report accompanying H.R. 9142)."
This view seems to stem from a mis-reading of New
“Compare the “underwntung™ of the Penn Central Common Stock
required by the New Haven Reorgamzation Coun, fn re New York, NH
LH RR, WA F. Supp. 795 (D. Conn. 1969), aff'd m part, rev'd mm part
New Haven Incluson Cases, supra ts of course highly sagnificamt that a
majornty of this Court in 1970 beheved that Judge Anderson's “under-
wnting” concept was a sound and necessary provision to assure the New
Haven estate's caimants that they would im fact receive the equitable
equivalent of the “highest and bes value” of New Hens rail proper-
vies, and found it necessary to remand the case because the Cour per-
cewed that the underwnung might well have become unrealistic by vir-
tue of Penn Central's subsequent §77 petition. If the RRRA were to be
sustained in thes Court, the 1970 decison of this Count remanding the
underwrnting plan because of us insufficency would be largely mooted
since the New Hens Firss Mongage Bondholders would ultimately re-
ceive, at best, non-underwritten stock and secures of Conrail, im ex-
change for which Conrail would receive the bulk of the New Haven's as-
sets valued at $175 million in 1966 for which payment remains to be
made
“The entire quotation is as follows:
“We are providing that the creditors of this corporation would be re-
quired to take common stock in the new quas-government operation. In
other words, they are exchanging thew present security interest in
the rail properties for common stock n the new corporation
“The railroad properties then become the properties of the new cor-
poration free and clear of hens and encumbrances. In other words,
the assets are being transferred and the nghts are being changed.
The nonrailroad property will remain in the bankruptcy court to be
(footnote continued on ned page)
74
Haven Incluson Cases, supra, and Penn Central Merger
Cases, supra, since there is no other authority to sup-
port ut. The Congressional theory underlying Senator
Hartke’s thesis must be based on the Bankruptcy
Clause, since there are no cases wnich could be read to
stand for the proposition that, for example, Congress
could flood a farmer's land as a result of construction
of a hydroelectnc dam, and require him to accept
stock of TVA instead of money for his property.
As a “law on the subject of bankruptcy,” however,
the RRRA is void as a violation of substantive due pro-
cess. It ts a deprivation of property without due pro-
cess for Congress to divest a creditor of his contractual
hen created under state law, and give him in exchange
a piece of paper stnpped of the normal attributes of
an investment security, no matter what aspects of pro-
cedural due process are accorded.
The leading cases in which this Court explored the
outer limits of Congress’ power to pass laws for the re-
hef of dettors from the claims of their secured cred-
itors are the Rock Island™ case, and the Radford and the
two Wright cases under the Frazier-Lemke Act and
the amended Frazier-Lemke Act. In the Rock Island
case, the Court upheld an injunction against fore-
‘footnote continued from prior page)
Coat A ty Gam. Cue cn woh ues wes & eaiieite W he wal
. 2
this country ba afford cessation of ral vervwe while the railroads are
put through the wnnger. So what, in effect, is called the
theory forces them to accept this lund of
ruled that this ts fair.” (Remarks of Senator Hartke; 119 Cong. Rec.
S 23783-4 (daily ed. December 21, 1973); emphasis added).
“Continental Ml. Nat. Bank & Trust Co. v. Chicago, RA. & Pac. Ry, 294
U.S. 648 (1935).
“Lousille Jom Stock Land Bank wv. 295 U.S. 555 (1935);
Wright v Vinton Bronch Mountain Trust Bank, U.S. 440 (1937), Wrighi
v. Union Central Life Ins. Co, S11 US. 273 (1940).
|
75
closure of a pledge in a §77 case against the con-
tention that it represented an impairment of contract
in contravention of the Fifth Amendment. [The Court
reasoned that “the injunction here goes no further
than to delay the enforcement of the contract.” 294
U.S. at 681. In Radford and the two Wright cases, there
was no question of a governmental “taking,” the bene-
ficiary of both Frazier-Lemke Acts was the debtor-
farmer, and there was neither a government con-
trolled entity involved nor any “public purpose” other
than relief of poverty. The rationale of these four
cases is that the Bankruptcy Clause and the Fifth
Amendment can together support a law which effects
a brief moratornmm on foreclosure of a pledge or a mort-
gage lien, coupled wih an option in the mortgagor at
the end of the penod to purchase the mortgagee’s in-
terest for cash equal to the appraised value of the prop-
erty. This result, it is submitted, is not different from
the hypothetical liquidation per-parcel sale value of
the New Haven Inclusion Cases. By implication in all
four cases (and express holding in Radford), a Bank-
ruptcy Clause enactment (not supported by any pos-
sible exercise of eminent domain powers), which de-
prives a pledgee or mortgagee to a greater extent
(such as, for example, divesting his lien and paying
him less than appraised value, or not paying him in
cash at all but giving him an unsecured or junior obh-
gation of the debtor which is not the equitable equiv-
alent of his secured claim), is a violation of the Due
Process clause of the Fifth Amendment.
Thus, §303(b)(2) of the RRRA, by which mortgage
liens of creditors are divested prior to any judicial de-
termination that the consideration received by the
bankrupt debtor upon conveyance of the property is
the “fair and equitable” equivalent of the properties
valued at their “highest and best use” value, is de-
76
ficient as Bankruptcy Clause legislation on due process
grounds. This is a defect apparent on the face of the
RRRA unless it can be reasonably determined that the
“highest and best use” value of the designated portion
of Penn Central's rail assets will be $500 million or
less, that being the amount of obligations of USRA
contingently” authorized to be included in a final sys-
tem plan as payment to all estates of railroads in te-
organization which convey rail assets under §303(b).™
Once it is determined that the stock and other se-
curities of Conrail are not necessanly equal to the
“highest and best use” value of the rail assets of Penn
Central which would be required to be conveyed un-
der a final system plan, and that the §303(c)(2)(C) de-
ficrency judgment is “essentially circuitous,” all that re-
mains to test the facial constitutionality of the
compulsory conveyance provisions of the RRRA is to
assess whether and under what circumstances this
$500 million of theoretically available debt secunties
(which might or might not carry the full faith and
credit of the United States) would tend to provide the
Penn Central estate with a total package of securities
which could be said to be the “fair and equitable
equivalent” of its rail properties.
“Under RRRA, §206()), any provision in the final system plan which
purports to create a direct obligation of USRA ts subject to affirmative
rer
hon limitation ws denved from §210(b). There is no assurance that thes
$500 millon of USRA obligations would carry the guarantee of the
United States. Section 210(c) of the RRRA provides:
“The Secretary fof Transportation] shall guarantee the payment of
principal and interest on all obligations issued by the Asssociation in
with this Act and which the Association requests be guar-
anteed.”” (Emphasis added).
“Even if the full $500 million of government guaranteed USRA ob
hgations ts made available in the final system plan, Penn Central's estate
would at best receive only a pro-rata portion since the estates of four
other Class I railroads and one Class II railroad would be entitled to pro-
rata participation.
77
To date no definitive valuation findings relating to
the rail assets of Penn Central have been made by ei-
ther the ICC (whose jurisdiction in this area is ex-
clusive under ten or by the Penn Central Re
organization Court, nor have any hearings been held
at which valuation evidence could be administratively
or judicially tested. The lack of definitive valuation
proceedings, such as those reviewed by this Court in
New Haven Inclusion Cases, 8 a consequence of the 1CC
having failed to formulate any plan of reorganization,
and its rejection for vanous reasons of those plans sub-
mitted to ut. No valuation heanngs have been held by
the Penn Central Reorganization Court because it has
had no plan certified to u by the ICC. Unless the
RRRA is held to be unconstitutional, valuation hear-
ings will never be held unl after the irrevocable con-
veyance of Penn Central's rail properties, free of hen.
to Conrail.”
The evidence before the Reorganization Court on
valuation of Penn Central's rail properties consisted
primarily of a Day & Zimmermann study which had
originally been placed in the Penn Central Re-
organization Library established pursuant to Order
No. 1179 and was subsequently, in a revised form,
filed with the ICC.” The Day & Zimmermann study
“ICE Report dated September 28, 1973. ben, Doc No. 54 in the
Jout Documentary Submission
The failure of the RRRA to provide for a definvive heanng on val-
uation evidence in connection with far and equitabie findings is indy
cative of the statute's shortcomings under the due process clause of the
uh Amendment
. May, 1973, A 1 to Exhibit T-21 (witness: Carlisle)
in 1CC Finance Docket No. 26241, —— — 7
Central Transportanon Co; Doc. No. 40 in the ent Documentary Sub-
mission. The Library was established pursuant to peti
tions filed by the Haven Trustee (see petition dated March 16,
Doc. No. 12 in the enn Documentary Submission), and Morgan
78
estimates the value as of December 31, 1970 of the
physical assets of Penn Central and all its leased lines
(exclusive of commercial properties owned by Penn
Central and its leased lines in the area of Grand Cen-
tral Terminal, New York City, referred to as “Park Av-
enue Properties”). The Day & Zimmermann study in-
cludes, in part, land not required for rail use, and lines
of railroad which USRA might determine should be
abandoned rather than included in a final system plan.
It is impossible to know at this time what proportion
of the Penn Central rail assets studied by Day & Zim-
mermann would be included in a final system plan.
See Stip. Fact, 4, 5. 6. It is reasonable and conser-
vative to project, however, in terms of the value of all
physical assets of Penn Central and its leased lines
studied by Day & Zimmermann, that the Penn Central
properties designated in a final system plan would be
likely to comprise not less than 50% of the total value
of the physical assets of the Penn Central System.”
“For example, the New Haven Trustee's Plan dated June 27, 1973
for reorgamzation of Penn Central, submatted to and reyected by the ICC
m its September 28. 1973 Repon, called for a reduction in route miles
from some 20.000 route miles owned by compames im the Penn Central
System. of which some 19.000 mules are now operated, to |
miles, the 11,000 mule “core system” would have
more than half the total value of the physical assets of the Penn Central
Fe ee ee tn l
Zimmermann. As the 1CC noted in as Report, the 11,000 mile system
was selected by the Penn Central Trustee, with the aid of computer
N rr
that the final system plan were to implement the set
clauses (2) through (8) of §206(a), and not merely that of clause (1), it i
reasonable to antipate that a final system plan would involve more than
11,000 route miles of rail ws of the Penn Central System. The
1CC, im us September 28, 1973 observed |
“The size of this reduced core system [which could be a viable sys-
tem| will probably he somewhere between the present [20,000 mile |
system and the |1.000-muile and 15,000-mile core systems developed
by Wyer [Dick & Co IOC Repon, Doc. No. 54 in the Joint Docu-
mentary Submission, App. DD, p. 5.
79
Two different approaches to valuation were
presented by the Day & Zimmermann study—one
based on a continued rail use methodology, and the
other based on an assumed liquidation for non-rail
use. In the case of the latter methodology, a present
value of a projected stream of future liquidation pro-
ceeds was also calculated. In summary, the results ©
the Day & Zimmermann study were as follows:
Total Value of Wholly
8 —ů—ů —
“Highest and Best Use” D 31198
Comminued Railroad Use ____. $1 3.585. 493.000
Liquidation for Non-Rail Uses: ,
Estuemated (ross Proceeds of Sales over
SET § 3592.1 10,000
Presem Value of Estemated Net Pro-
ceeds, after deducting imerest factor
and all of sale and of pres.
ervation of assets pending sale $ 1.995,778,000""
While the Day & Zimmermann valuations remain
to be definitively determined by administrative and ju-
dicial proceedings, and they are now some 3-1/2 years
out of date, they do provide basic evidence upon
“Dec No 400 fort Documentary Submission
“The presem value approach results in eegeter values berg as-
sgned to certam leased lines. for example, New York Connecting RR
has an assumed negative value of $2,898,000. after deducting $8.544.000
as the net com of demolshing its bndges and tunnels. This s an aspect
of the “scrap value” approach which » totally incomsment with pres-
ervation of an “essential national asset” Cf fn re Port Authority Trans
Hudven Corp. pra, explaned in New Haven Incluwon Cases, supra, 999
US. at 482 1. 80:
“The tunnels, which required only $88,000 to be put un working or-
der, had cost $32,000,000 to build, and would have cost
$400.000,000 to replace. thew hquidating value was a negative fig-
which the court below could have properly concluded
that $500 million of USRA secunties, even if autho-
rized under §206(i) by the Congress, would not have
the remotest likelihood of equalling payment in full
for the “highest and best use” value of the Penn Cen-
tral properties likely to be included in the Conrail sys-
tem. As Judge Fullam observed in his Opinion in Sup-
— of Order No. 1596:
ee cae
— — ety ah oh here
the. conrail system, 18
— Gulia @ on that the included
ties would be worth considerably more than
million. Since no one knows, or can know, at this
ume. the value of any stock or other secunties
which Conrail might issue, it would be highly im-
prudent to assume that there will be no need to re-
san Ge — 1 Yet obviously, such
would be relatively pointless, serving
saicell op © Castner rer the
common stock.” Oprmon im Support of Order No.
1596, supra (JA 137).
In fact, even using the discounted scrap value ap-
proach of Day & Zimmermann (an approach which
the New Haven Trustee contends would be wholly er-
roneous under the New Haven Incluson Cases), and as-
suming only 50% of the physical assets of the Penn
Central rail system would be included in the Conrail
system pursuant to the final system plan, one is forced
to the conclusion im analyzing the constitutional im-
pact of the RRRA that in no event could a value for
the Penn Central rail assets conveyed to Conrail be as-
sumed to be less than $1 billion.”
™W hile the factual record as to valuation of Penn Central's rail prop-
erties 6 not nearly so complete as was the record of the ICC and the
„5
to the Penn Central dammants snce Congress Aye te pes
vocable decision to convey or not to convey Penn Central's rail assets to
Conrail be made in advance of any valuation heanngs
Where a prima facie case shows that the valuation of
Penn Central rail assets required to be conveyed under
the RRRA must exceed $! billion, the Government
should not be heard to argue that it is premature to
judge the constitutionality of a statute which, under
the most generous construction, would guarantee the
estate of Penn Central (together with the estates of all
other railroads whose property ts included in the final
system plan) at most the equitable equivalent of $500
milhon of value in the form of governmental oblga-
tions. Since the RRRA provides that reorganization by
convevance of Penn Central's rail assets to Conrail ts
mandatory, unless the RRRA ts struck down as uncon-
stttutional, or the processes of the RRRA are held not
“fair and equitable” by the Special Coun, this Court ts
required by the evidence to decide that the con-
sideration afforded by the RRRA is not assured of be-
ing the “equitable equivalent” of the “highest and best
use” value of Penn Central's designated rail properties.
The situation ts not essenually different from the de
cision in the New Haven Incluson Cases where the un-
certainty as to the ability of Penn Central to honor the
“underwntng” commitment imposed by the New Ha-
ven Reorganization Court caused this Court to reverse
and remand an otherwise acceptable plan of
reorganization:
a fairness one „ that are 1 of a
our a payment
2 — — Guan may
be worth only a fraction of its purported value. .
Acc y. we set aside the order of the Con-
necticut Distnct Court insofar asu determines that
an intrinsic value of $87.50 inheres in the Penn
—.— common stock and implements an under.
* to secure payment of that sum.” /d at
768
"This Court's remand on the “under ting” issue has never been
implemented. Judge Anderson attempted to implement i by imposing
(footnote continued on ned page’
Furthermore, in a context of legislation providing
for a pubhe authonty (Conrail) to acquire and operate
the ratlroad’s properties after divestment of the mort-
gage liens, the Fifth Amendment requires the public
authority to pay, in addition to liquidation value, an
incremental factor for “assemblage” of a complete
transportation facility. Jn re Penn Central Transportation
Co. (Opmmen and Order No. 1507 ve Philadelphia Area
Commuter Service) (ED. Pa. March 18, 1974) (Ship opin-
ion, p. 12). See In re Port Authority Trans-Hudson Corp.
be, Inve City of New York (Fifth Avenue Coach Lines),
, See also Fullam, I. concurring:
“As a matter of simple maximization of values, if
there is no ‘going concern’ value in the usual sense,
there is no justification for continuing a re-
orgamzation ing [footnote — unless
—— or both the following conditions are estab-
lished: . . (2) a reasonable that the
need for preserving the debtor's railroad is such that ut
will be approprated for „ use, and the values in-
herent Pay — = operating railroad will be
recogneed and paid for. |cnhations omitted (JA 70-
71. emphasis ).
‘footnote continued from pret page:
an equitable hen on cernam propernes conveyed by New Haven to Penn
Central, and 4 constructive trust on Grand Central Terminal income, /n
rw New York NH SH RR, 390 F. Supp. 151, 150, 331 wy —
Conn 1971), but this judgment was reversed by the Count of Appeals.
457 F 2d 683 (2d Cir), cont . yun
dictional grounds that the New Haven Reorganization Coun should have
deferred vo the 1OC as to the remand issues. The ICC has “reopened” its
— in te New Haven cuames, and — chem wish the
Central reorgamzation proceedings. Order dated September 13.
re.
21
by
i
;
3
8
;
E
1973 However, no further ings have been set by the ICC on the
mand issues in spite of the New Trustee .
1973 which urged a prompt determination
sues. The Penn Central Reorganization Coun, Jn re
portation Co. (Order No. $46), 337 F. 779 (E.D. Pa. 1972),
im pnonty” pending adjudication of the New Haven Trustee's proof of
The RRRA violates the due process and takings
clauses of the Fifth Amendment by failing to provide
compensation to bondholders of Penn Central, in ex-
change for divestment of their liens, equal to the
“highest and best use” value of their properties,
whether that value be determined under either a liq-
uidation value approach or a continued rail use ap-
proach. No case can be cited where a court has ruled
that the result required by the RRRA “is fair,” state-
ments in the legislative history by Senator Hartke to
the contrary notwithstanding.
As Judge Fullam observed in his Opimon in Support
of Order No, 1596:
“I am satisfied, therefore, that the use of common
stock to pay for the rail asset: conveyed pursuant to
the Final System Plan cannot be justified on the ba-
sis of any constitutional doctrine yet announced by
the Supreme Court. In my view, the RRRA in its
present form does violence to the Constitution,
whether considered as a reorganization statute, or
as an eminent domain statute, or as a combination
of the two.” Opimon in Support of Order No. 1596, su-
pra (JA 146).
84
E. A Requirement that Rail Properties of Penn Central
Be Ex
This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.