Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Perretti v. Fuller

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

» | | | Suprome Court, U.S.

. JUN 20 1989

oe eetee JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

LERK

tee

IN THE rag

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

PETER N. PERRETTI, JR.,

Attorney General of New Jersey,

Petitioner,

vs.

GLEN FULLER,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

PETER N. PERRETTI, JR.

Attorney General of New Jersey

DEBRA L. STONE

Attorney of Record

RICHARD J. HUGHES JUSTICE COMPLEX

P.O. Box CN086

Trenton, New Jersey 08625

(609) 292-9086

DEBRA L. STONE

MEREDITH A. COTE

Deputy Attorneys General

Division of Criminal Justice

Of Counsel &

on the Petition

June 1989

oe ANNE RTE SENSE TTAT IIRL IEG

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether the United States Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit properly concluded, without prior

precedent from this Court and in conflict with other

federal precedent, that a state criminal defendant’s

qualified right to counsel of choice, as contemplated

by the Sixth Amendment of the United States Con-

stitution, encompasses a defendant’s right to have out-

of-state counsel admitted pro hac vice.

2. Whether the court of appeals properly concluded,

in conflict with this Court’s opinion in Wheat v. United

States, 486 U.S. __, 108 S. Ct. 1692 (1988), and

other federal precedent, that an improper denial of

a state criminal defendant’s right to counsel of choice

is per se reversible error.

3. Whether the district court and the court of

appeals properly deferred to the factual conclusions

of the state trial court as required under Title 28

U.S.C. sec. 2254(d).

PARTIES BELOW

Only Peter N. Perretti, Jr., Attorney General of

New Jersey, and respondent Glen Fuller remain party

to this petition.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .................. i

eco cans kcsncpnasnagehebasihahaveneusensraanes il

EY TE DS \ vensssnnscsensurcstnntasessssvasseeennsennenees iii

I METIS ssesnnecansissnsceccsneesssvnnnceseseesessuness V

I ns aa nasccccunsaeescsedkinnedissexsasxenssesensceen» 1

ec Ls ce nk cisnaibicgubiseuanasniccesnanes 2

FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION _IN-

Te ered ns. wan ivennswaveatbacssesnonsaseensvesesss 2

NE EW BGR hey sncseainssncsncnhssvecssancscnancesssasessess 3

PEPE MRUIRAME MEU WEPEGW ELD iccssscssncsnersncsenscnssscnesovessccanss 5

MET SOE BERM CATE vcisccescscessssnvesascccsesessonsces 6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .................... 1]

A. There is a Split in the Circuits as to

Whether the Right to Counsel of Choice

Encompasses a Right to Counsel Pro Hac

Vice; the Court of Appeals Erroneously

Concluded that a Sixth Amendment Right

to Counsel Pro Hac Vice Exists ........... 1]

B. There is a Split in the Circuits as to

Whether the Denial of a Defendant’s

Right to Counsel of Choice can be Harm-

less Error; Wheat v. United States has

been Misapplied by the Third Circuit .... 17

C. Neither the District Court nor the Court

of Appeals Gave Proper Deference to the

State Trial Court’s Factual Findings as

Required Under Title 28 U.S.C. Section

ee elaine cs no onchachaacekinahuonsnanvensuans 25

ei tucasiLccasskvesekcansasiasesigavescsanvanssieveanens 30

iV

APPENDICES:

APPENDIX A THE WRITTEN OPINION AND JUDG-

MENT OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

THIRD CIRCUIT, published at 868

F.2d 604 (8d Cir. 1989), rendered

FEY BG, TID kcisesinciennercvntrnecisns

APPENDIX B ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

THIRD CIRCUIT, filed April 3, 1989

SOPH EEE EEE EHH EEE EEE HEHEHE EEEEEEE SHEE EEE HEHEHE EELS

APPENDIX C ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

THIRD CIRCUIT DENYING REHEAR-

ING, filed March 24, 1989 ..........0....

APPENDIX D THE WRITTEN OPINION, AS

AMENDED, OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT, DISTRICT OF NEW

JERSEY, rendered May 10, 1988 ....

APPENDIX E ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT, DISTRICT OF NEW

JERSEY, rendered May 10, 1988 ....

APPENDIX F ORDER OF THE SUPREME COURT

OF NEW JERSEY, published at 107

N.J. 45, 526 A.2d 186 (1986), filed

POOURIIOP BE FIO cacnevcnsncieisaniicserces

APPENDIX G THE WRITTEN OPINION OF THE SU-

PERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY,

APPELLATE DIVISION, published at

211 N.J. Super. 321, 511 A.2d 1197

(App. Div. 1986), filed June 19, 1986

SOCCER HEHEHE EEE EEE EEE EEE HEHEHE EEEEHEEEEEE HEHE HEHEHE EEHE ESE

la

25a

29a

45a

47a

APPENDIX H TRANSCRIPT OF MOTION OF JULY

2, 1981, BEFORE THE SUPERIOR

COURT OF NEW JERSEY, LAW DI-

VEEN. -chsasicieeae bgt antennae

APPENDIX I TRANSCRIPT OF MOTION OF JULY 9,

1981, INCLUDING THE ORAL OPIN-

ION OF THE SUPERIOR COURT OF

NEW JERSEY, LAW DIVISION .........

APPENDIX J NEW JERSEY COURT RULE !:21-1, AS

REEF? kintsnsispnincnipmnan nanan

65a

TABLE OF CITATIONS

CASES CITED: Page

Anaya v. People, 764 P.2d 779 (Col. 1988) ........... 18

Bedrosian v. Mintz, 518 F.2d 396 (2d Cir. 1975) . 11,15

Brown v. Allen, 344 U.S. 448, reh’g denied, 345

Licies eR ROE certctancssecckarcanuanbenieaeeesen 26

Brown v. Supreme Court of Virginia, 414 U.S. 1034

(1973), summarily affg 359 F. Supp. 549 (E.D.

WHA cciscccssiccivuachgeaianneoaatcieriae ae 13

Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967) ......0... 22

Davis v. Stamler, 650 F.2d 477 (8d Cir. 1981) ..... 22

Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S. 107 (1982) oe. 16

Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806 (1975) ........... 22

Flanagan v. United States, 465 U.S. 259 (1984) ... 18,19

Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1968) .......... 21,22

Hull v. Lockhart, 474 U.S. 52 (19885) ..................... 22

Jones v. Barnes, 463 U.S. 745 (1988) ...... ee. 21

Kugler v. Helfant, 421 U.S. 117 (1975) oe. 16

Lefton v. City of Hattiesburg, Miss., 333 F.2d 280

Ce A. RI xccsticcssncncigncccanctceeience taeeeseas 16

Leis v. Flynt, 439 U.S. 488 (1979) ................ 13,14,16,17

Linton v. Perini, 656 F.2d 207 (6th Cir. 1981), cert.

Gemied, 454 U.S. TIGE (LOBR) ..cccccscsoscscsccessssses 18

Marshall v. Lonberger, 459 U.S. 422 (1988) .......... 26

Middlesex County Ethics Committee v. Garden, 475

Shs: SB RRUMED KccisisccatecicepAghestecnaeunsenecoetan noes 16

Morris v. Slappy, 461 U.S. 1 (1988) ......0.0.. 12,21,22,29

Norfolk & Western R. Co. v. Beatty, 423 U.S. 1009

(1975), summarily affg 400 F. Supp. 234 (S.D.

TIA) <Asdanssainsianiinnannennieceasasnmaseusdediceicnaeen ee aa 13,17

Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45 (1982) .........00... 12,16,20

Table of Citations Continued

Page

Ross v. Reda, 510 F.2d 1172 (6th Cir.), cert. denied,

Be Ec. Rea nnuaetdn ener enmimes 12,13,15,17

Rushen v. Spain, 464 U.S. 114 (1983), reh’g denied,

Me | Nee ern 26

State v. Chappee, 211 N.J. Super. 321, 511 A.2d

1197 (App. Div.), certz- ved sub nom. State

v. Fuller, 107 N.J. 45, 526 A.2d 135 (1986) 9,17,24

State v. Kavanaugh, 52 N.J. 7, 248 A.2d 225, cert.

Ganied, SES U.S. DEE CBG) cisicecscscecccsneccessseaes 14,27

State v. Lanza, 60 N.J. Super. 189, 158 A.2d 355

CO. EINE. TIPU sixcnssnsdcrcrtciccndimdaancenoone 27

Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668

PETES ncsceieciccihuinnagheeetacteaeiit cceireaeccaaain 18,21,22,23

Sumner v. Mata, 449 U.S. 539 (1981) ....... 26,30

Supreme Court of New Hampshire v. Piper, 470

CFs SEP CII exiascccncesethemanthceoonecebindiaees as 16

Townsend v. Sain, 372 U.S. 293 (19838) ................. 26

United States v. Ash, 413 U.S. 300 (1978) ............ 21

United States v. Burton, 584 F.2d 485 (D.C. Cir.

1978), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 1069 (1979) ....... 29

United States v. Casey, 480 F.2d 151 (5th Cir.), cert.

dented, 414 U.S. 1046 (19738) .....cc.ccccscecccsseess:: 25

United States v. Cronic, 466 U.S. 648 (1984) ....... 21

United States v. Dinitz, 588 F.2d 1214 (5th Cir.

1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1104 (1977) ....... 14

United States v. Laura, 607 F.2d 52 (3d Cir.

RUT IE: ache nnsscscceeckucuenhieetasnaeaccansbiaaaiauabenin aca a kes 13,19

United States v. Morrison, 449 U.S. 361 (1981) ... 20

United States v. Panzardi Alvarez, 816 F.2d 813

6. Be Be. | ORME in inn eRe 12,13,15,18,28

United States v. Rankin, 779 F.2d 956 (3d Cir.

EIEN cusnisiah conctesacas Gs savees nedeadieoabancentaes 13,18,19,20

United States v. Romano, 849 F.2d 812 (8d Cir.

RMS BOTS crt POND ne Wa Re TPN SRR ae Ma Been 18,19

Vill

Table of Citations Continued

Page

United States v. Washington, 797 F.2d 1461 (9th

ae I carlo ucoesseuaraiescueccacueconinnserucedamenuencton. 20

Wheat v. United States, 486 U.S. ___, 108 S. Ct.

NEE (CUIIIED Kaaenervdsehaccninccnnnns 6,10,13,17,18,20,22 23,29

Williams v. Nix, 751 F.2d 956 (8th Cir.), cert. de-

Wee, STR UB. LEB COCR) acvvvivcicccccsccscccccsecces 18,23

STATUTES CITED: |

28 U.S.C. sec. 1254(1) (West 1987) ....................... 2

Se U.S.C. onc. SESE TWemt 1087) nice ccsccsiccscccccccsccss 6

28 U.S.C. sec. 2254(d) (West 1987) ................. 3,25,26,30

RULES CITED:

SK Oe Ws UN sieves atvobenvasceneasegaatvccacrnsebrasstcies 2

Be I, OE ceteincencesniecnccscnniahacatnaininrsens 11

N.J. Ct. R. 3:9-3(f) (Gann 1980) ...............ccccccccseess. 8

N.J. Ct. R. 1:21-1(a) (Gann 1981) ..............cccceeeeeeee 6

Beis, Sik Ws BERS GUD ROAD coccckntacctasccacevicecosinc 5,26,27

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION CITED:

Rc TMU: GUI WF cicccsntscicosoxiaceancdetaanschamcceninc, 2,12

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No. __—

PETER N. PERRETTI, JR.,

Attorney General of New Jersey,

Petitioner,

VS.

GLEN FULLER,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

The petitioner, Peter N. Perretti, Jr., Attorney

General of the State of New Jersey, respectfully prays

tnat a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment

and opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit, entered in the above-entitled

proceeding on February 24, 1989, and from the denial

on March 24, 1989 of a timely petition for rehearing.

OPINIONS BELOW

The oral opinion of the Superior Court of New Jer-

sey, Law Division (Hamlin, J.S.C.) has not been re-

ported. It is reprinted as Appendix I, p. 77a, infra.

The written opinion of the Superior Court of New

Jersey, Appellate Division (Greenberg, P.J.A.D.) is re-

ported at 211 N.J. Super. 321, 511 A.2d 1197 (App.

Div.), certif. denied, 107 N.J. 45, 526 A.2d 135 (1986),

and is reprinted as Appendix G, p. 47a, infra.

The written opinion of the United States District

Court, District of New Jersey (Ackerman, D. J.), is

not reported. It is reprinted as Appendix D, p. 29a,

infra.

The written opinion of the Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit is reported at 868 F.2d 604 (3d Cir.

1989), and is reprinted as Appendix A, p. la, infra.

JURISDICTION

On February 24, 1989, the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit in its opinion to which

certiorari is sought affirmed the district court’s order

granting respondent’s request for a writ of habeas

corpus. Thereafter, on March 24, 1989, the court of

appeals denied a timely petition for rehearing. The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

sec. 1254(1) and Rule 20.1.

FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION, AMENDMENT V1

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy

the right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial

jury of the State and district wherein the crime shall

have been committed, which district shall have been

previously ascertained by law, and to be informed of

the nature and cause of the accusation; to be con-

fronted with the witnesses against him; to have com-

pulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his favor,

and to have the Assistance of Counsel for his defense.

STATUTE INVOLVED

UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED TITLE 28

section 2254(d”West 1987)

In any proceeding instituted in a Federal

court by an application for a writ of habeas

corpus by a person in custody pursuant to

the judgment of a State court, a determi-

nation after a hearing on the merits of a

factual issue, made by a State court of com-

petent jurisdiction in a proceeding to which

the applicant for the writ and the State or

an officer or agent thereof were parties, evi-

denced by a written finding, written opinion,

or other reliable and adequate written indi-

cia, shall be presumed to be correct, unless

the applicant shall establish or it shall oth-

erwise appear, or the respondent shall ad-

mit—

(1) that the merits of the factual dispute

were not resolved in the State court hearing;

(2) that the factfinding procedure employed

by the State court was not adequate to afford

a full and fair hearing;

(83) that the material facts were not ade-

quately developed at the State court hearing;

(4) that the State court lacked jurisdiction

of the subject matter or over the person of

the applicant in the State court proceeding;

(5) that the applicant was an indigent and

the State court, in deprivation of his consti-

tutional right, failed to appoint counsel to

represent him in the State court proceeding;

(6) that the applicant did not receive a full,

fair, and adequate hearing in the State court

proceeding; or

(7) that the applicant was otherwise denied

due process of law in the State court pro-

ceeding;

(8) or unless that part of the record of the

State court proceeding in which the deter-

mination of such factual issuc was made, per-

tinent to a determination of the sufficiency

of the evidence to support such factual de-

termination, is produced as provided for

hereinafter, and the Federal court on a con-

sideration of such part of the record as a

whole concludes that such factual determi-

nation is not fairly supported by the record:

And in an evidentiary hearing in the pro-

ceeding in the Federal court, when due proof

of such factual determination has been made,

unless the existence of one or more of the

circumstances respectively set forth in par-

agraph number (1) to (7), inclusive, is shown

by the applicant, otherwise appears, or is ad-

mitted by the respondent, or unless the court

concludes pursuant to the provisions of par-

agraph numbered (8) that the record in the

State court proceeding, considered as a

whole, does not fairly support such factual

determination, the burden shall rest upon the

applicant to establish by convincing evidence

that the factual determination by the State

court was erroneous.

NEW JERSEY COURT RULE INVOLVED:

RULES GOVERNING THE COURTS OF

THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY

R. 1:21-2

(Gann 1981)

1:21-2. Appearances Pro Hac Vice

An attorney of any other jurisdiction, of

good standing there, whether practicing law

in such other jurisdiction as an individual, or

a member or employee of a partnership, or

an employee of a professional corporation au-

thorized to practice law in such other juris-

diction, or an attorney admitted in this State,

of good standing, who is not domiciled in this

State and who does not maintain in this State

his principal office for the practice of law,

may, at the discretion of the court in which

any matter is pending, be permitted, pro hac

vice, to speak in such matter in the same

manner as an attorney of this State who is

domiciled in and maintains a bona fide office

for the practice of law in this State or main-

tains in this State his principal office for the

practice of law; and who is therefore, pur-

‘For the convenience of this Court, the court rule governing

the appearance of counsel pro hac vice in New Jersey which

was in effect on July 2, 1981, the pertinent date herein, has

been reproduced in this section. The court rule involved has

been subsequently amended essentially to codify pertinent case

law; the amended rule is reproduced for this Court’s convenience

in petitioners’ Appendix J.

suant to R. 1:21-1(a) authorized to practice

in this State; provided, however, that all

pleadings, briefs and other papers filed with

the court shall be signed by an attorney of

record authorized to practice in this State,

who shall be held responsible for them and

for the conduct of the cause and of the ad-

mitted attorney therein.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case squarely presents this Court with the op-

portunity to remove the confusion which currently

exists in the lower courts with respect to whether

pro hac vice counsel is encompassed within the right

to ‘‘counsel of choice’’ secured by the Sixth Amend-

ment and, if so, whether this Court’s opinion in Wheat

v. United States, 486 U.S. __ , 108 S. Ct. 1692 (1988),

mandates that any violation of the Sixth Amendment

right to counsel of choice be subjected to a harmless

error analysis. This case has evolved from the grant-

ing of a writ of habeas corpus pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

sec. 2254 which was affirmed by the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit.

The following sequence of events gives rise to the

matter presently before this Court. Douglas Chappee

and Respondent Glen Fuller were charged in Middle-

sex County New Jersey Indictment No. 938-80, filed

on February 27, 1981, with various narcotics offenses

and unlawful possession of a weapon. (App. A, at p.

3a).

On July 2, 1981, the Honorable C. Judson Hamlin,

J.S.C., heard and denied codefendant Chappee’s mo-

tion to have a Colorado attorney appear pro hac vice

on his behalf. Respondent’s motion for pro hac vice

~

—

counsel was not decided on that day due to his

counsel’s failure to appear. (App. H, at pp. 66a-67a).

On July 9, 1981, the trial court heard arguments

from respondent’s counsel on his motion to have an

attorney from the District of Columbia and one from

Illinois represent him pro hac vice. The judge was

faced with out-of-state defendants from two distant

jurisdictions (Chappee resided in Massachusetts, while

Fuller lived in Colorado) who wished to admit three

out-of-state counsel from Colorado, Illinois, and the

District of Columbia. Both defendants were free on

bail. Admission of counsel would leave the court with

the nearly impossible task of coordinating the ap-

pearances of five people from four different areas of

the country. Further, at that time an air traffic con-

trollers’ strike was imminent. Finally, the court was

concerned with the crowded court calendar and the

speedy trial requirements of the New Jersey courts.

After extensive arguments by counsel, the court, in

a lengthy oral opinion, denied respondent’s motion.

(App. I, at pp. 92a-100a). The court was of the opinion

that the case was simple, local counsel was competent

to handle it, local counsel and out-of-state counsel had

not coordinated properly as required by local rules,

and the potential for delay in attempting to coordi-

nate the schedule of three attorneys and two

defendants from four different and far-flung jurisdic-

tions outweighed respondent’s qualified right to

counsel of choice. The court agreed to give respondent

an opportunity to appeal his ruling. (App. I, at pp.

100a-102a).

Respondent requested leave to appeal to the Su-

perior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division, which

court denied leave to appeal the trial court’s order

denying pro hac vice representation. Respondent also

requested leave to appeal to the Supreme Court of

New Jersey, which was denied.

On April 10, 1984, codefendant Chappee and

respondent appeared before the Honorable Joseph F.

Deegan, Jr., J.S.C., and entered retrazit pleas of

guilty to Count Four of the indictment (possession of

cocaine with intent to distribute). These pleas were

entered pursuant to a plea agreement whereby the

State of New Jersey agreed to make no recommen-

dation as to sentence, other than that incarceration

was necessary, but would recommend dismissal of the

remaining counts of the indictment against Chappee

and respondent. In accordance with N.J. Ct. R. 3:9-

3(f), Chappee and respondent individually reserved the

right to raise certain legal issues for purposes of

appeal, including the pro hac vice denial, notwith-

standing entry of their guilty pleas. (App. G, at p.

50a).

On November 20, 1984, respondent was sentenced

by Judge Deegan to the custody of the Commissioner

of the Department of Corrections for a term of 20

years imprisonment on Count Four (possession of

more than 3.5 grams of free base cocaine with intent

to distribute) and received a fine of $20,000. The

judge also dismissed the remaining counts in accord-

ance with the plea agreement and gave respondent

credit for time served. (App. G, at p. 50a).

On January 16, 1985, respondent filed a notice of

appeal to the Superior Court of New Jersey, Appel-

late Division. Similarly, on May 2, 1985, codefendant

Chappee filed a notice of appeal to the appellate di-

vision. In a published decision the appellate division

affirmed both Chappee’s and respondent’s convictions,

ruling in part that Judge Hamlin properly exercised

his discretion in denying admittance of defense counsel

pro hac vice. State v. Chappee, 211 N.J. Super. 321,

324-25, 511 A.2d 1197, 1204-05 (App. Div.), certif.

denied sub nom. State v. Fuller, 107 N.J. 45, 526

A.2d 135 (1986). (App. G, at p. 47a). The Supreme

Court of New Jersey denied respondent’s petition for

certification. 107 N.J. 45, 526 A.2d 185 (1986). (App.

F, at p. 46a).

Subsequently, on June 16, 1987, respondent filed a

petition for writ of habeas corpus with the United

States District Court for the District of New Jersey.

Petitioner Attorney General of New Jersey filed his

answer on July 20, 1987.2 The district court granted

respondent’s request for a writ on February 10, 1988.

By order dated March 4, 1988, the court vacated the

order of February 10 and requested additional brief-

ing.® :

On May 10, 1988 the district court issued its

amended opinion and order again granting

respondent’s request for a writ of habeas corpus. The

district court found that the existence of capable local

counsel was not sufficient to overcome respondent’s

right to counsel of choice. The district court found

* Warren Diesslin, the Superintendent of Buena Vista Correc-

tional Facility, Buena Vista, Colorado, was also a named

defendant to the petition as respondent was then incarcerated

at that facility on unrelated charges. Respondent has since been

paroled from that facility and, consequently, Superintendent

Diesslin is no longer a party to this petition.

8 Prior to receiving the district court’s order vacating the opin-

ion and order granting the writ, petitioner Attorney Genera! of

New Jersey had filed a notice of appeal from that order. That

appeal was subsequently withdrawn on petitioner’s motion.

10

the state court’s ruling was premised upon a pre-

sumption that in-state counsel would be more knowl-

edgeable with respect to state law and rules and that

this distinction was without merit. (App. D, at p. 41a).

The district court also found that the state court’s

findings with respect to delay were merely speculative

and that there was no basis for finding that admission

of these attorneys would cause delay. The district

court concluded that the state trial judge denied

respondent’s motion with a per se ruling that out-of-

state counsel would delay the case and that this ruling

deprived respondent of his right to counsel of choice.

(App. D, at p. 48a). The court also noted that denial

of this right is per se reversible and does not require

a showing of prejudice to the criminal defendant.

(App. D, at pp. 48a-44a). On June 8, 1988, petitioner

Attorney General of New Jersey timely filed a notice

of appeal with the court of appeals.

On February 24, 1989, the court of appeals, through

a majority opinion authored by the Honorable Edward

R. Becker, Circuit Judge, affirmed the grant of the

writ, holding that the qualified right to counsel of

choice encompassed the right to pro hac vice repre-

sentation, that violation of this mght was per se re-

versible error notwithstanding Wheat v. United States,

486 U.S. __, 108 S. Ct. 1692 (1988), and finally,

that the right to counsel of choice had been arbitrarily

denied in this case. (App. A, at p. la). The Honorable

Joseph F. Weis, Circuit Judge, dissented, stating that

respondent’s right to counsel of choice was not vio-

lated in this case. (App. A, at p. 19a).

Petitioner Attorney General of New Jersey filed a

timely petition for rehearing on March 6, 1989. The

United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

1]

denied the petition for rehearing on March 24, 1989.

(App. C, at p. 27a). At the time of this denial,

respondent was still incarcerated in Colorado, and

therefore, petitioner did not move to stay the man-

date of the court of appeais. In accordance with Fed.

R. App. Proc. 41, the mandate of the court of appeals

issued on March 31, 1989.

On May 25, 1989, respondent was paroled from the

Buena Vista Correctional] Facility in Colorado. In light

of this changed circumstance, petitioner moved, on

June 1, 1989, before the court of appeals for an order

vacating and recalling the mandate pending filing of

the within petition. To date, the court of appeals has

taken no action with respect to petitioner’s motion.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. There is a Split in the Circuits as to Whether the Right

to Counsel of Choice Encompasses a Right to Counsel

Pro Hac Vice; the Court of Appeals Erroneously Con-

cluded that a Sixth Amendment Right To Counsel Pro

Hac Vice exists.

In its opinion the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit, while recognizing the lack of

an explicit determination by this Court as to whether

there is a right to counsel pro hac vice included within

the right to counsel of choice, concluded that ‘‘the

right to counsel pro hac vice is encompassed analyt-

ically within the right to counsel of choice’ component

of the Sixth Amendment. (App. A, at p. 7a). This

conclusion is in direct conflict with the opinion of at

least one other federal circuit court which has ruled

that a defendant has no right to have counsel ap-

pointed outside the state, Bedrosian v. Mintz, 518

F.2d 396, 400-02 (2d Cir. 1975), and is in apparent

12

conflict with another circuit court which has impliedly

found no right to the appointment of out-of-state

counsel where competent in-state counsel is available,

Ross v, Reda, 610 F.2d 1172, 1178 (6th Cir.), cert.

denied, 426 U.S, 892 (1975), Only one circuit court

opinion provides arguable support for the position

adopted by the Third Cireuit, See United States v,

Panzardi Alvarez, #16 F.2d 8138, 817 (1et Cir, 1987)

(indicating that admission of defendant's counsel pro

hac vice implicates constitutional concerns, but doing

so only in the context of a peculiar Puerto Rican court

rule which allowed out-of-state counsel to appear only

once a year), Thus, the present case affords this Court

with the opportunity to eliminate the conflict cur-

rently existing among the federal courts and to de-

termine whether the request of a defendant for out-

of-state counsel is encompassed in the right to counsel

of choice component of the Sixth Amendment. With-

out a definitive ruling from this Court, the lower

courts will continue to be in a state of conflict, as

they attempt to properly assess a defendant’s request

for out-of-state counsel within the context of a state’s

important interest in maintaining control over those

individuals practicing law within its borders,

The Sixth Amendment guarantees a criminal

defendant the right “to have the Assistance of

Counsel for his defense,’’ U.S. Const. amend. VI.

There is no question that a component of this right

is the protection of a defendant's opportunity to ob-

tain counsel of his choice, Powell v, Alabama, 287

U.S, 45, 53 (1982), The Sixth Amendment does not,

however, assure the absolute right to the particular

counsel of his choice, See Morris v, Slappy, 461 U.S. ,

1, 18-14 (1983), While a defendant’s choice may not

be denied arbitrarily, a defendant's right to choose

his own counsel must be balanced against the fair

and proper administration of justice, United States v,

Rankin, 779 F.2d 956, 968 (2d Cir, 1986); United

States v, Laura, 607 F.2d 52, 65 (4d Cir, 1979), See

alao United States v, Panzardi Alvarez, #16 F.2d at

#16, The essential aim of the Sixth Amendment is to

guarantee an effective advocate for a defendant, not

to ensure that a defendant is inexorably represented

by the lawyer or lawyers he prefers, Wheat v, United

States, 486 U.S, —_, 108 8S, Ct, 1692, 1697 (1988),

When a defendant chooses out-of-state counsel,

however, clearly there are compelling state interests

involved as well, that is, the regulation and licensing

of attorneys who practice before the state court and

the court’s control of its trial calendar to avoid in-

ordinate delay. On several occasions, this Corrt has

recognized the importance of these state interests. It

is clear, for example, that out-of-state counsel have

no constitutional right to practice in a state in which

they have not been admitted to the bar. Leis v. Flynt,

439 U.S. 488 (1979). Similarly, a criminal defendant

does not have an unconditional right to choose as his

counsel an individual who is not admitted to practice

law in the state in which his trial is being held. Ross

v, Reda, 510 F.2d at 1172. Moreover, this Court has

previously upheld state bar rules that prohibited out-

of-state counsel from practicing within the state al-

together or on a case-by-case basis, Leis v, Flynt, 489

U.S, at 448, See Norfolk & Western Ry, Co, v, Beatty,

428 U.S, 1009 (1975), summarily affg 400 F. Supp.

234 (S.D. Ill.); Brown v, Supreme Court of Virginia,

414 U.S, 1084 (1978), summarily affg 359 F, Supp.

549 (E.D. Va.), Indeed, no one has seriously suggested

14

that local bar admission requirements must fall if a

defendant chooses to have counsel who do not meet

those local requirements, United States v, Dinitz, 538

F.2d 1214, 1219 (Sth Cir, 1976), cert, denied, 429 U.S,

1104 (1977), By virtue of its conclusion that 4a

defendant's right to counsel of choice encompasses

the right to counsel pro hae vice, however, the court

of appeals has sanctioned the right of a defendant to

choose counsel who are not members of the bar as

freely as he would a local attorney, thus greatly di-

minishing the state’s legitimate control over the per-

sons who may be licensed to practice law and

rendering virtually nugatery this Court's decisions

which allow a state to exclude out-of-state counsel

from practicing within its borders.

It is important to emphasize that this Court has

never ruled on the question of the impact of a

defendant’s Sixth Amendment right to counsel of

choice upon a state’s right to regulate the admission

of out-of-state attorneys pro hac vice. Leis v. Flynt,

439 U.S. at 443 n.4, 446 n.2. The New Jersey courts

have held, however, that there is no constitutional

right to representation by out-of-state counsel. State

v, Kavanaugh, 52 N.J. 7, 18, 248 A.2d 225, 231, cert.

denied, 898 U.S. 924 (1968),*

On the federal level, as previously indicated, there

is a split among the circuits as to whether a denial

of a defendant's motion to have an attorney represent

him pro hae vice can be a denial of his Sixth Amend-

ment right to counsel of choice, At least one circuit

has ruled that a defendant has no right to have

‘Thus, a conflict also appears between the Third Circuit and

the Supreme Court of New Jersey,

15

counsel appointed from outside the state, Bedrosian

vw, Mintz, 518 F.2d at 400-02; see alao Rosas v, Reda,

510 F.2d at 1173 (implying no right where competent

local counsel available), Caselaw reveals that only the

United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit

has ruled contrarily on the question of out-of-state

counsel, holding that admission of defendant's counsel

of choice to practice pro hae vice may not be denied

arbitrarily on the basis of a local court rule allowing

out-of-state counsel to appear only once a year,

thereby implicitly holding that there is a constitutional

right to such representation, United State v, Panzardi

Alvarez, 816 F.2d at 816, 817, Although Panzardi

stated that the admission of the defendant’s counsel

pro hac vice implicates constitutional concerns, it did

so solely in the context of discussing the peculiar rule

used in Puerto Rico, and it did not discuss the juris-

diction’s interest in controlling the admission of per-

sons to its bar and in controlling its courts. 816 F.2d

at 816. Thus, the court assumed such a right existed

without really discussing it.

Despite the obvious murkiness in which the state

of the law now exists and the lack of any real support

for its opinion, the court of appeals has explicitly

concluded that the right to counsel of choice com-

ponent of the Sixth Amendment contemplates the

right to out-of-state counsel, In so doing, the court

of appeals virtually has ignored the compelling inter-

est the state has in regulating those attorneys who

are allowed to practice within its borders, as well as

the important interest state courts have in controlling

their calendars, although explicitly recognizing the

reality that “the number of occasions on which a

defendant will desire to be represented by counsel

16

pro hac vice is frequent and will be increasingly so.”’

(App. A, at p. 7a).

There are significant reasons why a Sixth Amend-

ment right to choose out-of-state counsel should not

exist, at least where there has been no showing that

local counsel was incompetent or would refuse to rep-

resent a defendant. See Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S.

at 45; Lefton v. City of Hattiesburg, Miss., 333 F.2d

280 (5th Cir. 1964). The states retain an obvious and

important interest in maintaining control over those

persons practicing law within their borders. See Leis

v. Flynt, 489 U.S. at 448, and cases cited therein.

Those interests cannot be vindicated if any time a

criminal defendant demands out-of-state counsel, the

state courts are required to admit them. Such a rule

makes local rules on bar admission meaningless. In

effect, such a ruling gives criminal defendants and

the federal courts control over admission to practice

law in state courts. It places a burden on the state

to demonstrate why counsel should not be admitted.

The traditional function of the state courts to deter-

mine the qualifications of those who seek to practice

law in the jurisdiction (see Middlesex County Ethics

Committee v. Garden, 475 U.S. 428, 434 (1982)) would

be vitiated.

Indeed, traditionally, this Court has deferred to and

recognized the importance of a state’s procedural

rules. See, e.g., Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S. 107 (1982);

Kugler v. Helfant, 421 U.S. 117 (1975). This is par-

ticularly true with respect to control over admission

to a state’s bar. See Supreme Court of New Hamp-

shire v. Piper, 470 U.S. 274 (1985). Moreover, as

previously indicated, this Court has always recognized

that the admission of counsel pro hac vice is purely

17

discretionary and has upheld state bar rules that ex-

cluded out-of-state counsel from practice altogether.

Leis v. Flynt, 489 U.S. at 443; see Norfolk & Western

R. Co. v. Beatty, 423 U.S. at 1009. As this Court

noted in Leis, ‘‘.. .the Constitution does not require

that because a lawyer has been admitted to the bar

of one state, he or she must be allowed to practice

in another.’’ 439 U.S. at 443. These rulings become

meaningless if a criminal defendant can demand out-

of-state counsel no matter what the state bar rules

provide. The Sixth Amendment simply cannot be read

to guarantee an unconditional right for a criminal

defendant to be represented by an_ out-of-state

attorney. Ross v. Reda, 510 F.2d at 1178. The er-

roneous ruling of the court of appeals cannot be al-

lowed to stand, therefore, particularly where, as was

the case here, a defendant has-not been denied ad-

equate representation by local counsel. If the opinions

of this Court recognizing the discretion and important

interest of the states in regulating and licensing the

attorneys who are allowed to practice within their

borders, are not to be rendered meaningless along

with the bar requirements of the various states, then

this Court must grant review of the court of appeals’

decision.

B. There is a Split in the Circuits as to Whether the Denial

of a Defendant’s Right to Counsel of Choice can be

Harmless Error; Wheat v. United States has been Mis-

applied By the Third Circuit.

There is a split among the state’ and federal courts

as to whether a harmless error analysis should be

*Compare State v. Chappee, 211 N.J. Super. 321, 511 A.2d

1197 (App. Div. 1986), certif. denied sub nom. State v. Fuller,

(cont'd)

18

applied to cases where a defendant alleges that he

has been denied counsel of choice.

Several courts of appeal, including the Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit, have held that the im-

proper denial of a defendant’s counsel of choice is

per se reversible and no showing of prejudice need

be made. See, e.g., United States v. Rankin, 779 F.2d

956 (3d Cir. 1986); see also United States v. Romano,

849 F.2d 812 (3d Cir. 1988); United States v. Panzardi

Alvarez, 816 F.2d 813 (1st Cir. 1987); Linton v. Per-

ini, 656 F.2d 207 (6th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454

U.S. 1162 (1982). The Eighth Circuit, on the other

hand, has applied a harmless error rule. Williams v.

Nix, 751 F.2d 956 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 471 U.S.

1138 (1985).The question has never been definitively

resolved by this Court. See Flanagan v. United States,

465 U.S. 259, 268 (1984). However, this Court’s de-

cision in Wheat v. United States, 486 U.S. __, 108

S. Ct. 1692 (1988), which the Third Circuit chose not

to follow, strongly indicates that the harmless error

rule should be applied. This Court has the opportunity

to clarify the law, resolve the split and to ensure that

Wheat will be uniformly and properly applied.

Petitioner submits, as the majority in Fuller rec-

ognized, that this Court’s treatment of ineffective as-

sistance of counsel in Strickland v. Washington, 466

U.S. 668 (1984), and denial of counsel of choice in

the area of attorney conflicts of interest in Wheat v.

United States, has undercut seriously the rationale

behind the Third Circuit’s rule presuming prejudice

107 N.J. 45, 526 A.2d 1197 (1986) with Anaya v. People, 764

P.2d 779 (Col. 1988). Indeed, Chappee demonstrates a conflict

between the New Jersey state courts and the Third Circuit on

this question.

19

as originally set forth in United States v. Laura, 607

F.2d 52 (3d Cir. 1979), and followed in United States

v. Rankin, 779 F.2d 956, 960 (8d Cir. 1986), and

United States v. Romano,® 849 F.2d 812 (8d Cir. 1988).

In Rankin the Third Circuit quoted the following

language from Flanagan in support of its conclusion

that denial of the right to counsel of choice could

never be harmless.

‘Obtaining reversal for violation of such a

right does not require showing any prejudice

to the defense, since the right reflects con-

stitutional protection of the defendant’s free

choice independent of concern for the objec-

tive fairness of the proceeding.’

Rankin, 779 F.2d at 960 (citing 465 U.S. at 268).

Petitioner submits, with all due respect, that this

language was merely a summary of the arguments

advanced by the petitioners in Flanagan, which in-

volved the appealability of a disqualification order be-

fore trial. This Court’s comment, in the context of

deciding whether a collateral order was appealable,

was merely that 2f, on the one hand, the right to

counsel of choice is like the Sixth Amendment right

to self-representation as denial of counsel altogether,

then a showing of prejudice was not required. Filan-

agan v. United States, 465 U.S. at 267-68. This Court

went on to say that on the other hand, the asserted

6 While Romano was decided shortly after the decision in

Wheat, it contains no reference to the Wheat decision. The ma-

jority in Fuller assumed that the panel considered the case and

rejected its application. (App. A, at p. 3a n.]). Petitioner is un-

sure whether Wheat was considered by the Romano court be-

cause the opinion does not mention, much less discuss, the case.

20

right may be one which is not violated absent some

demonstrable prejudice. Jd. at 268. This Court con-

cluded that it need not decide the issue because in

any event the disqualification order still would not be

appealable. Jbid. In sum, this Court did not decide

the issue of whether prejudice was required to be

shown for a denial of the mght to counsel of choice.

Ibid. See United States v. Washington, 797 F.2d 1461,

1467 n.7 (9th Cir. 1986). In other words, this Court

never decided whether the right to counsel of choice

should be treated as the right to counsel or the right

to self-representation, or rather, as the right to ef-

fective assistance of counsel.

The Third Circuit, in Rankin, stated that the right

to counsel of choice is similar to that of self-repre-

sentation and concluded that no prejudice need be

shown. As the majority in Fuller acknowledged, this

conclusion has been called into question by this Court’s

recent decision in Wheat v. United States. While

Wheat specifically involved the disqualification of cho-

sen counsel because of a potential conflict of interest,

the language regarding the right to counsel of choice

is instructive.

The Sixth Amendment to the Constitution

guarantees that “‘{iJn all criminal prosecu-

tions, the accused shall enjoy the right. . .to

have the Assistance of Counsel for his de-

fense.”’ In United States v. Morrison, 449

U.S. 361, 364 (1981), we observed that this

right was designed to assure fairness in the

adversary criminal process. Realizing that an

unaided layman may have little skill in ar-

guing the law or in coping with an intricate

procedural system, Powell v. Alabama, 287

21

U.S. 45, 69 (1932); United States v. Ash, 413

U.S. 300, 307 (1973), we have held that the

Sixth Amendment secures the right to the

assistance of counsel, by appointment if nec-

essary, in a trial for any serious crime. Gid-

eon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963). We

have further recognized that the purpose of

providing assistance of counsel ‘‘is simply to

ensure that criminal defendants receive a fair

trial,’ Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S.

668, 689 (1984), and that in evaluating Sixth

Amendment claims, ‘‘the appropriate inquiry

focuses on the adversarial process, not on the

accused’s relationship with his lawyer as

such.”’ Unitea States v. Cronic, 466 U.S. 648,

657, n. 21 (1984). Thus, while the right to

select and be represented by one’s preferred

attorney is comprehended by the Sixth

Amendment, the essential aim of the Amend-

ment is to guarantee an effective advocate

for each criminal defendant rather than to

ensure that a defendant will inexorably be

represented by the lawyer whom he prefers.

See Morris v. Slappy, 461 U.S. 1, 18-14

(1983); Jones v. Barnes, 463 U.S. 745 (1988).

108 S. Ct. at 1696-97. As the Fuller majority ac-

knowledged, if the purpose of the right to select

counsel, like the right to effective assistance of

counsel, is to ensure an effective advocate for a crim-

inal defendant, then making a violation of the right

per se reversible without a showing of prejudice makes

no sense. (App. A, at pp. 9a-10a). The right to choose

22

one’s counsel is not like the right to represent one-

self.? Wheat v. United States, 108 S. Ct. at 1697 n.3.

Nor is it like the right to counsel. That right is fun-

damentally essential to the right to a fair trial and

a violation could never be harmless error. Gideon v.

Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335, 344-45 (1963); see Chap-

man v. California, 386 U.S. 18, 23 n.8 (1967). Indeed,

unlike the right to counsel, the right to counsel of

choice is never absolute. Davis v. Stamler, 650 F.2d

477, 479 (8d Cir. 1981); see Morris v. Slappy, 461

U.S. 1, 18-14 (1983). The right to counsel of choice

is more akin to the right to effective assistance of

counsel because that is what the right to counsel of

choice is designed to secure. Thus, a standard similar

to that espoused in Strickland v. Washington, 406

U.S. 668 (1984), and Hill v. Lockhart, 474 U.S. 52

(1985), should be used. That is, a defendant who dem-

onstrates that his right to counsel of choice was vi-

olated should be required to demonstrate prejudice

from the denial of that right. It seems anomalous to

require a finding of prejudice for a violation of the

Sixth Amendment right to counsel in the context of

the adequacy of a defendant’s representation by

counsel or where inadequate representation is shown,

but not in the context of the right to choose counsel—

a right which is not absolute and which is given

7In a footnote in Wheat this Court stated that:

Our holding in Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806

(1975), that a criminal] defendant has a Sixth Amend-

ment right to represent himself if he voluntarily elects

to do so, does not encompass the right to choose any

advocate if the defendant wishes to be represented by

counsel.

108 S. Ct. at 1697 n.3 (emphasis in original).

ota

23

merely to secure the right to effective representation.

Accordingly, petitioner submits that a violation of

respondent’s right to choose counsel] should not result

in automatic reversal of his otherwise valid conviction.

Williams v. Nix, 751 F.2d at 959-60.

Acknowledging the force of the above arguments,

the majority in Fuller nevertheless decided not to

follow this Court’s opinion in Wheat because it was

not sufficiently “‘concrete.”’ (App. A, at p. 12a).® It

instead chose to follow its own precedent, precedent

which it acknowledged was severely diluted by this

Court’s decisions in Wheat and Strickland. Petitioner

urges this Court to afford the guidance requested by

the Third Circuit on this issue.

It is submitted that this case is an ideal vehicle for

resolution of the question of harmless error by this

Court. In the case at bar, the fact that respondent

received excellent representation by local counsel was

never challenged. Indeed, the New Jersey appellate

court made the following findings in passing on

respondent’s right to counsel of choice claim:

We also point out the following. We have

given this case an intensive review. While we

do not suggest that the absence of discern-

able [sic] prejudice from denial of defendants’

motions for admission of counsel pro hac vice

in itself precludes defendants from obtaining

relief by reason of the denial, we neverthe-

less think it appropriate to state that from

* Alternatively, the majority said that an en banc opinion by

the Third Circuit would also suffice absent a more specific state-

ment by this Court. Petitioner moved for reconsideration en

banc; the Third Circuit denied the motion. (App. C, at p. 27a).

24

our study of the record, the briefs on appeal

and observation of defendants’ attorneys at

oral argument, it is clear defendants have

received extremely competent representation

both in the trial court and here. Indeed we

are satisfied that beyond any doubt even if

defendants had been represented by the

attorneys denied admission they could not

have received more competent representation

or a better result. We point out that

defendants almost asked to be arrested. They

were speeding on the turnpike in the early

morning hours with marijuana in plain view.

Further, they did not even have proper pa-

pers for the car. The case against them was

overwhelming and their guilt clear beyond

doubt. Yet skilled counsel has raised every

conceivable defense on their behalf and has

turned what should have been a routine case

into a massive and protracted struggle. The

trial judge’s anticipation that New Jersey

counsel would ably conduct the defense has

been vindicated.

State v. Chappee, 211 N.J. Super. 321, 335, 511 A.2d

1187, 1205 (App.Div.), certif denied sub nom. State

v. Fuller, 107 N.J. 45, 526 A.2d 185 (1986). (App. G,

at pp. 63a-64a).

Respondent clearly had not just adequate represen-

tation but excellent representation from his _ local

counsel. Counsel opposed the state at every conceiv-

able juncture. Respondent does not claim that other

counsel could have achieved a better result. Since the

right to counsel of choice is merely a mechanism for

ensuring a defendant’s right to effective assistance,

25

it makes little sense to reverse a conviction where,

as here, it is clear beyond any doubt that a defendant

received effective assistance.* The freedom to choose

one’s counsel should not be used as a device to ma-

nipulate or subvert the orderly procedure of the courts

or the fair administration of justice. Cf. United States

v. Casey, 480 F.2d 151 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 414

U.S. 1045 (1978). Since respondent can point to no

prejudice from the alleged violation of his rights,

petitioner submits that the district court erred in is-

suing the order for a writ of habeas corpus.

In sum, there is great confusion in the federal and

state courts as to whether the denial of counsel of

choice is subject to a harmless error analysis. Clari-

fication of this issue and a determination as to

whether Wheat is‘to be applied in these circumstances

are urgently needed. This case presents this Court

with the ideal factual and legal scenario to resolve

these questions and end the conflict in the lower

courts.

C. Neither the District Court nor the Court of Appeals

Gave Proper Deference to the State Trial Court’s Fac-

tual Findings as Required Under Title 28 U.S.C. section

2254(d).

This Court has recognized repeatedly that questions

of historical fact!® ‘‘must be determined, in the first

* Respondent has never challenged the efficacy of his repre-

sentation by local counsel; indeed, respondent was represented

in the federal courts by counsel who was a member of the same

firm which represented respondent’s codefendant in the state

courts.

'’ This Court has defined the phrase “‘historical fact’’ as ‘‘facts

‘in the sense of a recital] of externa] events and the credibility

(cont'd)

26

instance, by state courts and deferred to, in the ab-

Sence of ‘convincing evidence’ to the contrary, by the

federal courts.’’ Rushen v. Spain, 464 U.S. 114, 120

(1983), reh’g denied, 465 U.S. 1055 (1984) (quoting

Marshall v. Lonberger, 459 U.S. 422, 431-382 (1983)).

The need for such deference stems, in part, from the

reality that the state courts are in a far better po-

sition to properly and completely assess the multitude

of factual issues presented during the course of a

trial. See Rushen v. Spain, 464 U.S. at 120; Marshall

uv. Lonberger, 459 U.S. at 482.

Further, the deference requirement embodied in 28

U.S.C. sec. 2254(d) was ‘‘.. .intended by Congress as

[a] limitation on the exercise of [the first jurisdictional

grant by Congress to the federal courts.]’’ Sumner v.

Mata, 449 U.S. 5389, 547 n.2 (1981). Thus, this Court

has recognized repeatedly its ‘‘duty ...to see to it

that the jurisdiction of the [district court], which is

defined and limited by statute, is not exceeded.” Jbid.

New Jersey allows the admission of out-of-state

counsel pro hac vice by court rule.’ By virtue of this

rule, New Jersey trial courts are required to consider

not only the defendant’s desire for a particular

counsel, but also whether good cause exists for the

admission of out-of-state counsel. This decision in-

volves considerations such as the complexity of the

of their narrators ....’’’ Townsend v. Sain, 372 U.S. 293, 309

n.6 (1988) (quoting Brown v. Allen, 344 U.S. 448, 506, reh’g

denied, 345 U.S. 946 (1953) (opinion of Frankfurter, J.) ).

1 The district court erroneously referred to a later amended

version of N.J. Ct. R. 1:21-2 in its decision. (App. D, at p. 35a).

‘The amended version of this rule is reproduced in this Petition

as Appendix J, while the version in effect at the pertinent time

of this case is reproduced in the text at p. 5, supra.

27

case, the qualifications of out-of-state counsel and the

availability of qualified local counsel. Indeed, N..J. Ct.

R. 1:21-2, as amended, now expressly sets forth these

requirements. Prior to this amendment, and at the

time of respondent’s motion, such considerations were

necessitated by caselaw. See State v. Kavanaugh, 52

N.J. 7, 248 A.2d 225, cert. denied, 3938 U.S. 924

(1968); State v. Lanza, 60 W.J. Super. 189, 142-43,

158 A.2d 355, 858 (App. Div. 1960). As will be dis-

cussed infra, the state trial judge, contrary to the

findings of the district court and the majority of the

Third Circuit’s panel, did not abuse his discretion and

arbitrarily deny respondent’s motion to have counsel

admitted pro hac vice; rather, he carefully balanced

all relevant factors.

In the case at bar, respondent requested that the

court admit not just one out-of-state counsel, but two:

an attorney from Illinois and one from the District

of Columbia. At the same time codefendant Chappee

requested that the court admit an attorney from Col-

orado. Additionally, the two defendants, both of whom

were free on bail, were from two distant jurisdictions

(Chappee resided in Massachusetts, while Fuller lived

in Colorado). Thus, the judge was faced with requests

to admit three out-of-state counsel from three differ-

ent and distant jurisdictions, as well as having to

contend with two out-of-state defendants from differ-

ent areas of the country. The judge carefully consid-

ered the requests for admission of counsel pro hac

vice; his discussion spans some 17 pages in the tran-

script. (See App. I). The state trial judge specifically

found that the case was not complex (indeed it was

a routine turnpike automobile stop), that local counsel

were well able to handle the matter, and that it would

28

be extremely difficult to accommodate the scheduling

of three out-of-state counsel from three different ju-

risdictions in different parts of the country, thereby

almost inevitably causing delay in the proceedings. In

this respect, the judge also took note of the imminent

probability of an air traffic controllers’ strike. The

judge further noted that out-of-state counsel had not

coordinated properly with local counsel as provided

by the court rule. The judge thus denied the pro hac

vice requests.

What is of particular importance is that it is on

the very basis of the trial court’s reasoned decision

that Judge Weis dissented from the court of appeals

majority decision. Indeed, as Judge Weis’ dissent co-

gently and forcefully notes, the state trial court here

gave proper and detailed reasons for the denial of

the pro hac vice motion. (App. A, at pp. 19a-21a).

The judge’s actions were not ‘“‘wooden’’ or automatic

as the majority has characterized them; rather they

reflected a thoughtful concern for the balancing of a

hectic and crowded trial calendar with respondent’s

rights. (App. A, at p. 15a).

Despite the trial court’s recitation of such compel-

ling factors, the district court and the majority of the

court of appeals nevertheless dismissed the court’s

reasoning, concluding, in part, that the trial court’s

concern that use of out-of-state counsel would nec-

essarily result in delays was a “rote application of

[a] kind of blanket generalization [which left] ‘no room

for the exercise of discretion.’”” (App. D, at p. 42a)

(quoting United States v. Panzardi Alvarez, 816 F.2d

813, 817 (1st Cir. 1987) ).

There is no question that the trial court was con-

cerned with delay in this case. But delay can be, and

29

petitioner submits is in this case, sufficient to coun-

tervail a defendant’s request for out-of-state counsel,

indeed, even a defendant's qualified right to counsel

of choice. As the dissent cogently states ‘‘... accom-

modating one defendant in scheduling might prejudice

the rights of another whose trial would be accelerated

or delayed.” (App. A, at p. 22a). See United States

v. Burton, 584 F.2d 485, 490 (D.C. Cir. 1978), cert.

denied, 439 U.S. 1069 (1979). Moreover, as this Court

has explicitly recognized, and Judge Weis clearly

noted in his dissent (App. A, at p. 22a), it is imper-

ative that trial courts be given wide latitude in con-

trolling their trial calendars. See Morris v. Slappy,

461 U.S. 1, 11 (1983). Obviously there is no way a

trial court may predict with absolute certainty that

delay will occur; it should suffice that the court con-

cludes on the basis of the evidence before it that delay

may occur and denies the motion for pro hac vice

representation for that reason. Cf. Wheat v. United

States, 486 U.S. __, 108 S. Ct. 1692 (1988).

Petitioner submits that the reasons for the trial

court’s denial of the pro huc vice motion were amply

supported by the record and were not arbitrary. The

rulings by the majority and the district court to the

contrary are, as the dissent points out, based upon

a mischaracterization of the trial court’s ruling as

resting on per se factors. (App. A, at pp. 2Za-23a).

In view of the district court’s refusal to properly

defer to the trial court’s findings, the opinion of the

court of appeals affirming the district court’s reason-

ing must be reviewed by this Court. The opinions of

both the district court and the court of appeals serve

to accomplish nothing more than to contribute to fed-

eral habeas as being a ‘“‘source of friction between

30

state and federal courts’’ which ‘“‘Congress obviously

meant to [partially] alleviate when it enacted subsec-

tion (d)’’ of section 2254. Summer v. Mata, 449 U.S.

at 550. If the intent of Congress is not to be frus-

trated and section 2254(d) is to be given any force,

this Court must grant review of the court of appeals’

decision.

CONCLUSION

Based upon the foregoing, petitioner urges the

granting of this petition for a writ of certiorari. The

court of appeals chose to follow its own precedent

which it admitted was severely undercut by this

Court’s opinion in Wheat and is in conflict with other

federal courts. Further, the Third Circuit ruled that

there is a right to pro hac vice counsel encompassed

within a state criminal defendant’s Sixth Amendment

right to counsel of choice, an issue decided to the

contrary by other federal courts and the state courts

of New Jersey and never decided by this Court.

Review by this Court is warranted to clarify the

law on whether a right to have counsel admitted pro

hac vice is contemplated within a defendant’s right

to counsel of choice and to determine whether an

alleged violation of this right, if it exists, is subject

to a harmless error analysis when reviewed in a ha-

beas proceeding.

Respectfully submitted,

PETER N. PERRETTI, JR.

Attorney General of New Jersey

Petitioner

DEBRA L. STONE

Deputy Attorney General

Attorney of Record

DEBRA L. STONE

MEREDITH A. COTE

Deputy Attorneys General

Division of Criminal Justice

Appellate Section

Of Counsel and on the

Petition

DATED: June 1989

la

4

!

:

r.

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 88-5456

GLEN FULLER.

Appellee

¥;

WARREN DIESSLIN.

Superintendent of Buena Vista Correctional Facility.

Buena Vista, Colorado and W. CARY EDWARDS,

Attorney General for State of New Jersey.

Appellants

On Appeal From the United States District Court

for the District of New Jersey

(D.C. Civ. No. 87-2353)

Argued October 31, 1988

Before: GIBBONS. BECKER and WEIS,

Circuit Judges

(Filed February 24, 1989)

ALAN SIBLER (Argued)

MARK B. GOMBINER

Hayden. Perle and Silber

177 Prince Street

New York, NY 10012

Attorneys for Appellee

2a

DEBRA L. STONE (Argued)

Deputy Attorney General

Division of Criminal Justice

Appellate Section

25 Market Street

P.O. Box CN 086

Trenton, NJ 08625

W. CARY EDWARDS

Attorney General of New Jersey

Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex

Trenton, NJ 08625

Attorneys for Appellants

OPINION OF THE COURT

BECKER, Circuit Judge.

This is an appeal from an order of the district court

granting a writ of habeas corpus to a state prisoner on

the grounds that he was arbitrarily denied the right to

counsel of his choice by a New Jersey state court before

which he appeared on drug and weapons charges.

Petitioner, Glen Fuller, had New Jersey counsel, who

moved for admission pro hac vice of two out-of-state

lawyers who were prepared to try Fuller's case. Without

a hearing or making particularized findings. the state

trial court denied Fuller's request, reasoning that local

counsel was competent and that unacceptable trial

delay was likely with two out-of-state counsel. Upon

pleading guilty, Fuller reserved the right to raise the

counsel of choice issue on appeal. Appellate relief in the

State court was denied, thereby exhausting state

remedies and setting the stage for the habeas petition.

3a

New Jersey appeals the district court’s decision

granting the writ. The appeal raises the question

whether a trial court, which presumes that the

proceedings will be unacceptably delayed where the

defendant is represented by out-of-state counsel, and

denies counsel of choice on that basis alone (assuming

the existence of competent local counsel), has

arbitrarily denied the right to counsel of choice and

therefore violated defendant's sixth amendment right

to counsel. Although New Jersey argues strongly, see

infra Typescript at 12-13, that our precedents in

United States v. Romano, 849 F.2d 812 (3d Cir. 1988)

and United States v. Rankin, 779 F.2d 956 (3d Cir.

1986), should be reevaluated in light of the Supreme

Court's recent decision in Wheat v. United States, 108

S. Ct. 1692 (1988). we do not believe that that case may

be read as overruling these cases. which control the

question. and hence we will affirm. !

I]. FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On November 14. 1980, Glen Fuller was a

passenger in a car driven by Douglas Chappee. which

was stopped for speeding in New Jersey. A search of the

car turned up a large quantity of cocaine and about a

pound of marijuana. Fuller and Chappee were

subsequently indicted by a grand jury on three counts

of possession of a controlled dangerous substance and

one count each of possession of a controlled dangerous

substance with intent to distribute and unlawful

possession of a weapon. On motion to the New Jersey

Superior Court (the trial court). Fuller requested.

‘: We note that Romano was decided shortly after the decision

in Wheat was announced. but that Wheat was not expressly

addressed in Romano. We presume. however. that the panel in

Romano considered Wheat. but rejected the possibility that it

overruled the Rankin line of cases followed in Romano.

4a

through local counsel, that he be represented pro hac

vice by a lawyer from IHinois and another from the

District of Columbia. The trial judge based his denial of

Fuller's motion on his belief that local counsel was

competent, that the case was going to be hotly

contested, and that two out-of-state counsel would

severely inconvenience the proceedings, stating that

“the nature of the probable delay. . . [that] will occur as

a result of this matter. . . is so grave as to overcome the

unfettered’ right of defendant to counsel of his own

choosing. and accordingly, the motion to admit pro

hac is denied."? JA at 791-92.

Fuller subsequently requested leave to appeal the

trial court's denial of his motion for counsel pro hac

vice to the Appellate Division of the Superior Court,

and to the Supreme Court of New Jersey, but leave was

denied in both instances. Fuller then sought relief in

the district court for the District of New Jersey,

requesting a temporary restraining order. a

preliminary injunction, and a permanent injunction.

At that time the court denied relief and abstained in

the face of the ongoing state criminal proceedings.

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971). An immediate

appeal to this Court was withdrawn, and the trial court

proceedings resumed.

In August of 1982. a suppression hearing was held

before the state trial court. Two years later, on April 10.

1984, Fuller and codefendant Chappee entered

conditional retraxit guilty pleas to possession of

cocaine with intent to distribute, in exchange for

2. At the time of the trial judge’s determination, the state rule

controlling admission of pro hac vice counsel stated that such

counsel could be admitted “at the discretion of the court.” N.J. Ct.

R. 1:21-2 (1981). The rule has been subsequently amended: the

district court inadvertently referred to the amended version. Dist.

Ct. Op. at 9.

5a

dismissal of the remaining counts and the state's

agreement to make no recommendation as to sentence

other than that incarceration was necessary. Fuller

reserved the right to raise certain legal issues,

including the counsel of choice issue, for purposes of

appeal. He was sentenced to a term of 20 years in jail

and a fine of $20.000.

Fuller appealed to the Appellate Division. which

affirmed Fuller's conviction, holding inter alia that the

trial court had not abused its discretion in denying

Fuller's motion for admission of counsel pro hac vice

and further stating that Fuller had “received extremely

competent representation both in the trial court and

here.” State v. Chappee, 211 N.J. Super. 321, 335,

511 A.2d 1197. 1205 (App. Div. 1986). The New Jersey

Supreme Court denied certification. State v. Fuller,

107 N.J. 45. 526 A.2d 136 (1986).

On June 16, 1987, Fuller filed his habeas petition.

28 U.S.C. § 2254 (1982). On May 10. 1988. the district

court filed an amended opinion and order. granting the

writ. The court ruled that: (1) the denial of Fuller's

request for counsel pro hac vice deprived Fuller of his

right to counsel of choice because the existence of local

capable counsel “is not a sufficient reason to overcome

(the defendant's} right to counsel of choice”; and (2)

that the trial court had erred in making a ‘rote

application” of a “blanket generalization” rather than

an individual determination of potential delay based on

the facts of this case. Dist. Ct. Op. at 14-15. The court

went on to note that the trial court's distinction

between in-state and out-of-state attorneys was a

“geographical” distinction that made little sense in

light of the “reality of a highly mobile bar that has at its

disposal modern transportation and communication. ©

Id. at 16. The court held that deprivation of the right to

counsel of choice is per se reversible and does not

6a

require a showing of prejudice, citing United States v.

Laura, 607 F.2d 52. 58 (3d Cir. 1979), and United

States v. Rankin, 779 F.2d 956, 960 (3d Cir. 1986).

Our review of this legal determination of the

district court is plenary. See United States v. Adams,

759 F.2d 1099, 1106 (3d Cir. 1985}; Universal

Minerals. Inc. v. C.A. Hughes & Co., 669 F.2d 98, 102

(3d Cir. 1981).

III. DISCUSSION

A. Does the Right to Counsel of Choice Include

a Right to Counsel Pro Hac Vice?

New Jersey challenges the district court's issuance

of the writ on the ground that if there is a right to

choose out-of-state counsel, that right is not absolute

and, at all events, was not improperly denied in this

case. At the threshold, we must determine whether the

right to counsel of choice encompasses the right to

counsel pro hac vice. Neither this Court nor the

Supreme Court has explicitly determined whether the

right to counsel pro hac vice is included within the

right to counsel of choice. The Supreme Court has

considered whether an out-of-state attorney has a

fourteenth amendment due process right to practice in

a State in which he is not a member of the bar and held

that there is no such right. See Leis v. Flynt, 439 U.S.

438 (1979). The Court. however, made it clear that it

had not addressed the issue of whether a litigant’s

right to counsel of choice includes the right to

out-of-state counsel. Leis, 439 U.S. at 442 n.4.

New Jersey advances no argument why. and we see

no reason why, a request for counsel pro hac vice

should be treated any differently by a trial court than

any other request for counsel of choice.’ We do have, as

nS Because Fuller does not challenge the states pro hac vice

rule itself. but only the trial court's weighing of his right to counsel!

the district court noted. “a highly mobile bar that has

at its disposal modern transportation and

communication.” Dist. Ct. Op. at 16. Therefore, the

number of occasions on which a defendant will desire

to be represented by counsel pro hac vice is frequent

and will be increasingly so. Arbitrarily to deny a

defendant the right to obtain counsel from outside the

state would untowardly limit the possible choices the

defendant might have. Thus, we conclude that the

right to counsel pro hac vice is encompassed

analytically within the right to counsel of choice, and

as such should be examined within the analytic

framework generally employed in right to counsel of

choice cases.

B. Does Arbitrary Denial of Counsel of Choice

Require Per Se Reversal?

The sixth amendment guarantees a criminal

defendant the right “to have the Assistance of Counsel

for his defense.” U.S. Const.. amend. VI. It is

well-settled that a component of this right is the

of choice against the requirements of fair and proper judicial

administration. we are not faced with the issue of whether the rule

itself is unconstitutional.

New Jersey argues that there is no sixth amendment

right to pro hac vice counsel. asserting that the state has an

“important interest in maintaining control over those persons

practicing law within their borders” and that if the right to counsel

pro hac vice is constitutionalized. then the “state courts [would be)

. required to admit them.” Appellant's Br. at 15. New Jersey's

conclusion overstates the issue. The right to counsel of choice has

been traditionally “balanced against the requirements of the fair

and proper administration of justice.” Rankin, 779 F.2d at 958.

Therefore. the mere fact that a defendant's sixth amendment right

to counsel of choice encompasses the right to request counsel! pro

hac vice does not necessarily require the courts tu approve the

request in every instance. Rather. it creates a presumption that the

defendant's request should be granted unless considerations of

judicial administration supervene.

8a

protection of a defendant's opportunity to obtain

counsel of choice. Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45, 53

(1932): Romano, 849 F.2d at 818; Rankin, 779 F.2d at

958: Laura, 607 F.2d at 55-56. The sixth amendment

does not, however, “ensure that a defendant will

inexorably be represented by the lawyer whom he

prefers.” Wheat. 108 S. Ct. at 1697: see also Romano,

849 F.2d at 819 (“The right to choose counsel is not

unqualified ... ."); Rankin, 779 F.2d at 958 (“Although

the right to representation by chosen counsel is subject

to limitations it may not be hindered unnecessarily. ’):

Laura, 607 F.2d at 57 (no absolute right to counsel of

choice). Thus. while a defendant's choice may not be

arbitrarily denied, a defendant's right to choose his

own counsel must be balanced against the fair and

proper administration of justice. Rankin. 779 F.2d at

958: Laura. 607 F.2d at 57: see also Linton v. Perini,

656 F.2d 207, 209 (6th Cir. 1981) (“a trial court, acting

in the name of calendar control, cannot arbitrarily and

unreasonably interfere with a client's right” to counsel

of choice).

Our recent decision in United States v. Romano,

849 F.2d 812 (3d Cir. 1988). controls the outcome of

this case. In Romano, following the district court's

revocation of defendant's pro se status, the defendant

requested counsel of her choice. The court summarily

denied defendant's request, instead appointing

counsel for her. Romano, 849 F.2d at 818. On appeal,

this Court held that the district court's failure to

conduct a hearing and failure to make “specific

findings of fact consistent with the evidence” as to the

suitability of defendant's chosen counsel violated the

defendant's sixth amendment rights and required

reversal. Id. at 820. The holding of Romano, therefore,

is that a trial court's arbitrary denial of defendant's

request for her counsel of choice requires per se

9a

reversal. See also Rankin, 779 F.2d at 960 (arbitrary

denial of defendant's request for counsel of choice

requires reversal without showing of prejudice):

Laura, 607 F.2d at 57-58 (same): United States v.

Panzardi Alvarez, 816 F.2d 813. 817 (ist Cir. 1987)

(mechanistic application of local rule that permits

district judge to arbitrarily deny defendant's request

for counsel of choice requires reversal).

New Jersey has offered the following not

insubstantial arguments for a conclusion that

Romano should not control the outcome of this case.

but rather the right to counsel of choice should be

governed by the harmless error beyond a reasonable

doubt standard. First. in the Supreme Court's most

recent case involving waiver of conflict-free counsel.

the Court implies that the right to counsel of choice is

grounded in the right to effective assistance of counsel.

In Wheat, 108 S. Ct. at 1697 (upholding district

courts decision not to permit waiver of right to

conflict-free counsel). the Court stated that “while the

right to select and be represented by one’s preferred

attcrney is comprehended by the Sixth Amendment.

the essential aim of the Amendment is to guarantee an

effective advocate for each criminal defendant rather

than to ensure that a defendant will inexorably be

represented by the lawyer whom he prefers.” Because

the Court did not find error in the district court's

order. it does not address in any fashion whether a

prejudice. harmless error, Chapman v. California.

386 U.S. 18 (1967). or per se analysis would have been

appropriate had they found error. The Court. however.

States that the “essential aim” of the Sixth Amendment

is the effective assistance of counsel. While that does

not answer the question of which standard applies it

would not, as New Jersey pointed out at oral argument,

make much sense to require per se reversibility in

10a

counsel of choice cases if the right to counsel of choice

is intended to secure the right to effective assistance of

counsel and the right to effective assistance of counsel

requires a showing of prejudice for reversal. See

Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668. 691-92

(1984).

Second, New Jersey argues that the right to

counsel of choice is, in any case, akin to the right to

effective assistance of counsel and, therefore. a

harmless error or prejudice analysis should be applied.

Under existing jurisprudence, it is not clear whether

the right to counsel of choice is more akin to the right

to effective assistance of counsel or the right to

self-representation. A denial of the right to

self-representation is per se reversible. See Faretta v.

California, 422 U.S. 806 (1975). But a denial of the

right to effective assistance of counsel is subject to a

prejudice analysis. This Court in Rankin, 779 F.2d at

960, stated that the right to counsel of choice is a

species of the right to self-representation. Arguably,

therefore, per se analysis should apply. See also

Laura, 607 F.2d at 58. But, as New Jersey points out,

the Supreme Court in Wheat states that the right to

counsel of choice is not a species of the right to

self-representation and therefore implies that per se

analysis would not necessarily apply. Wheat, 108 S. Ct.

at 1697 n.3 (a defendant's “right to represent himself if

he voluntarily elects to do so, does not encompass the

right to choose any advocate if the defendant wishes to

be represented by counsel’).

Were we writing on a clean slate. we would be

presented with the difficult issue of determining

whether the right to counsel of choice is governed by a

harmless error. or prejudice, analysis or a per se

reversal analysis. Prior to Strickland, in which the

Supreme Court announced a prejudice test for

ineffective assistance of counsel cases, courts couid

lla

safely assume that all right to counsel cases were

governed by the per se reversibility standard. See

Gideon v. Wainwright. 372 U.S. 335 (1963) (holding

that denial of right to counsel is governed by per se

standard). In fact, in this Circuit, the seminal right to

counsel of choice case simply assumed that a per se

reversal analysis applied. See Laura, 607 F.2d at 58.

The subsequent Third Circuit right to counsel of

choice cases have relied heavily on Laura withoypt

addressing whether the intervening Strickland case .

altered the standard for reversal. See United States v.

Romano. 849 F.2d 812 (3d Cir. 1988): United States v.

Rankin, 779 F.2d 956 (3d Cir. 1986). It is by no means

clear, however, whether Laura survives Strickland or

the burgeoning constitutional harmless error cases.

See generally T. Stacy & K. Dayton. Rethinking

Harmless Constitutional Error, 88 Colum. L. Rev. 79

(1988) (detailing increasing trend toward harmless

error analysis and providing analytical approach).*

4. It is also unclear exactly what the law in this Circuit is with

respect to the standard in right to counsel of choice cases that do

not involve arbitrary denials. Although the issue has been

addressed in dicta. no Third Circuit case has vet expressed a

holding as to whether a nonarbitrary, but erroneous denial of the

right to counsel of choice is subject to either a harmless error

analysis or falls under a rule of per se reversibility. For instance. a

trial court could make a reasoned determination on the basis of a

fully prepared record (hence a non-arbitrary determination). but

still err in concluding that counsel of choice should be denied.

Arguably. the discussion in L’nited States v. Flanagan. 679 F.2d

1072. 1075 (3d Cir. 1982). vacated on other grounds. 465 U.S. 259

(1984). implies that absent arbitrary action. there can be no

reversal. basing its conclusion on Davis v. Stamler. 650 F.2d 477

(8d Cir. 1981). but the court in Davis not only applied an

arbitrariness standard, but also a reasonableness standard to the

trial judge's activities. We therefore conclude that no case in this

Circuit has vet expressed a holding as to the standard to be applied

in nonarbitrary. erroneous denials of the right to counsel.

12a

Despite New Jersey's interesting arguments to the

contrary, Wheats dicta, however pregnant, cannot

control the outcome. Rather, we are constrained by

this Circuit's approach in Rankin and Romano. In this

Circuit, absent further (and more concrete) Supreme

Court developments or an in banc opinion, where there

is an arbitrary denial of the right to counsel of choice,

reversal is per se.

_ The district court in this case measured the trial

court's treatment of Fuller's motion for counsel pro hac

vice against the well-settled standards discussed

supra, holding that the trial judge “failled] to scrutinize

the particular case at bar” and therefore violated

Fuller's sixth amendment rights. As the following

discussion of the trial court's inquiry will make clear.

the district court's conclusion was correct,

C. Was the State Trial Court's Denial of

Counsel Pro Hac Vice Arbitrary?

The state trial court determined that local counsel

was capable vi adequately representing Fuller. The

court stated that it was “satisfied there's an adequate

degree of expertise available in this state to handle any

of these motions.” Dist. Ct. Op. at 11 (quoting trial

court transcript of July 9, 1981, at 32). The district

court rejected the state courts determination,

reasoning that local counsel were not necessarily more

knowledgeable about local law than out-of-state

counsel and that the state rule’s requirement that

out-of-state counsel appear with local counsel would

mitigate any delays potentially caused by an

out-of-state counsel's lack of knowledge of the local law.

We agree with the district court that, as a logical

matter, it is not necessarily true that local counsel will

be more knowledgeable about the New Jersey law than

out-of-state counsel and therefore the competence of

18a

in-state counsel will not in itself reduce the likelihood

of delay.

On appeal, however, New Jersey has characterized

this issue not so much as a factual matter of whether

in-state counsel would know more than out-of-state

counsel, but rather, as a proposed legal standard: if

there is adequate local counsel, then a denial of a

request for out-of-state counsel cannot deny a

defendant his sixth amendment rights. We conclude

that this approach is without merit. because it

collapses the right to counsel of choice into the right to

effective assistance of counsel. A fair restatement of

New Jersey's position is that if the local pool of

available counsel would supply effective assistance.

then the denial of the right to counsel of choice could

not rise to a constitutional deprivation.* In New

Jersey's favor. the Supreme Court has stated that “the

essential aim of the [Sixth] Amendment is to guarantee

an effective advocate for each criminal defendant

rather than to ensure that a defendant will inexorably

be represented by the lawyer whom he prefers.” Wheat.

108 S. Ct. at 1697. Yet, even if the right to counsel of

choice exists for the purpose of securing effective

assistance of counsel to the defendant. as New Jersey

suggests, see supra Typescript at 10, the two rights are

not identical. We do not understand the language in

Wheat to mean that the right to counsel ©. choice is

°. One Circuit has held that an indigent defendant has no right

to have out-of-state counsel] appointed for him. because of the

State’s “legitimate interest in developing a pool of competent

attorneys to represent indigents ..... Bedrosian v. Mintz. 518 F.2d

396. 401 (2d Cir. 1975). That case does not speak. however. to a

case such as the one before us wherein there is no claim of a

countervailing state interest for preferring in-state counsel over

out-of-state counsel. It therefore provides no guidance for our

decision in this case.

l4a

important only insofar as it secures the right to

effective assistance of counsel. Rather. it could be fairly

interpreted to mean that, although the core value in

the sixth amendment is effective assistance of counsel,

the amendment also eomprehends other related rights,

such as the “right to select and be represented by one's

preferred attorney.” Id.

This Court has clearly stated the importance of a

defendant's securing the counsel of his choice, and

these considerations are significantly different from

the goals sought from effective assistance of counsel:

[T]he most important decision a defendant makes

in shaping his defense is his selection of an

attorney. The selected attorney is the mechanism

through which the defendant will learn of the

options which are available to him. It is from his

attorney that he will learn of the particulars of the

indictment brought against him, of the infirmities

of the government's case and of the range of

alternative approaches to oppose or even cooperate

with the government's efforts.

Attorneys are not fungible, as are eggs. apples and

oranges. Attorneys may differ as to their trial

strategy, their oratory style, or the importance they

give to particular legal issues. These differences, all

within the range of effective and competent

advocacy, may be important in the development of

a defense. It is gencrally the defendants right to

make a choice from the available counsel in the

development of his defense. Given this reality. a

defendant's decision to select a particular attorney

becomes critical to the type of defense he will make

and thus falls within the ambit of the sixth

amendment.

lda

Laura, 607 F.2d at 56. Therefore, it should not be

enough for the government to demonstrate availability

of other competent counsel to defeat the defendant's

request for particular counsel. Rather, the only

concerns the court may consider in weighing whether

to grant the defendant's request for counsel of choice

are the defendant's right to counsel of choice and the

fair and proper administration of justice.

The state trial court also expounded on the

difficulties inherent in cases involving out-of-state

attorneys and caused by the likely delays incumbent

upon traveling and the trial court’s inability to

negotiate trial scheduling with out-of-state judges. See

Dist. Ct. Op. at 12-13. The district court rejected the

trial court’s conclusion, stating that [t]he rote

application of this kind of blanket generalization

‘leaves no room for the exercise of discretion.’ Rather, it

represents the court's failure to scrutinize the

particular case at bar.” Id. at 15 (quoting Panzardi

Alvarez. 816 F.2d at 817). The district court further

declared that the record demonstrated that local

counsel was unprepared to proceed, but that

out-of-state counse! was prepared and concluded that

“the trial court’s view was based, at best, upon

speculative delays rather than upon a record which

could support a finding that the particular out-of-state

attorneys repeatedly impeded the progress of

litigation.” Dist. Ct. Op. at 15-16.

We hold that the district court correctly concluded

that the trial court's wooden approach and its failure to

make record-supported findings balancing the right to

counsel with the demands of the administration of

justice resulted in an arbitrary denial of Fuller’s motion

for counsel pro hac vice. We are satisfied that the

district court correctly applied the law of this Circuit in

concluding that such an arbitrary denial constituted a

l6a

per se constitutional error justifying issuance of the

writ.° See Romano, 849 F.2d at 820.’

We hasten to add that we do not hold that a court is

prohibited from using its “instinct and judgment

based on experience,” Wheat, 108 S.Ct. at 1699, when

it weighs the competing rights of the litigant to counsel

of his choice and wise judicial administration. Rather,

we merely hold that the court may not assume that

out-of-state attorneys will not be capable of meeting the

6. New Jersey argues that we must reverse the district court.

because 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d) (1982) requires us to give great

deference to a state court's factfindings. However. the trial court in

this case made no findings of fact with respect to the issue of

counsel of choice. Rather. its conclusions were drawn from its

presuppositions about the impact of out-of-state counsel on trial

court scheduling. Where the district court has made no findings of

“historical fact.” we need not presume its statements are correct.

see Holland v. Attorney General of New Jersey. 777 F.2d 150. 155

(3d Cir. 1985). and therefore § 2254(d) provides no impediment to

our affirmance of the district court's issuance of the writ.

7. The state trial court also perceived that the case was going to

be “fought tooth and nail.” would involve a number of interlocutory

appeals. and therefore that scheduling wou!d be even more

difficult. J.A. 786-87. While the district court cid not address this

issue in terms. we find this justification for the denial of the motion

for counsel of choice most disturbing. We agree with the state trial

court that it is undeniable that a hotly contested case is likely to

intensify scheduling demands upon the court. but the defendant's

interest in counsel of choice in such a situation is most acute and

should not be denied absent record evidence that the chosen

counsel would in fact delay the scheduling of the proceedings. It

would make no sense to condition the grant of a request for counsel

of choice on the degree of intensity with which the defendant

pursues his case or whether the government and the defendant

happen to be amicable or at loggerheads. Moreover. the

arbitrariness of the trial court's conclusion is heightened by the

fact that Fuller did not engage in a great number of interlocutory

appeals. but rather pled guilty. This point. therefore. buttresses

our holding that the district court properly issued the writ.

l7a

court's schedule. Upon obtaining sufficient

information as to the availability of the requested

counsel, the court must then employ its knowledge and

experience to determine whether the litigant’s choice of

counsel will unduly frustrate the administration of the

court. It is this kind of reasoned balancing that is

necessary to avoid the arbitrariness problem.

Moreover, these holdings do not militate against

the principle that a trial court has broad discretion in

the administration of its trials. In Wheat, the Court

stated that “the District Court must be allowed

substantial latitude in refusing waivers of conflicts of

interest .... In the circumstances of this case, with the

motion for substitution of counsel made so close to the

time of trial, the District Court relied on instinct and

judgment based on experience in making its decision.”

108 S. Ct. at 1699. And in Morris v. Slappy, 461 U.S.

1, 11 (1983) (right to counsel of choice not violated

where trial court refused continuance even though

defendant's counsel of choice was in the hospital), the

Court emphasized that “[t]rial judges necessarily

require a great deal of latitude in scheduling trials.”

See also Rankin, 779 F.2d at 960: Sampley v.

Attorney General of North Carolina, 786 F.2d 610, 613

(4th Cir. 1986) (courts have broad latitude in deciding

whether to grant continuance, even where decision

results in denial of counsel of choice). cert. denied, 478

U.S. 1008 (1986).

The Eighth Circuit has gone further and

interpreted this broad grant of discretion to permit a

trial court to deny the defendant's choice based on the.

trial court's presumption that in-state counsel would

provide for a more “orderly processing of the case” than

defendant's requested out-of-state counsel. Williams v.

Nix. 751 F.2d 956, 959 (8th Cir. 1985). cert. denied.

471 U.S. 1138 (1985). We do not believe that a

18a

requirement that the trial court determine whether the

defendant's chosen counsel is likely in fact to delay the

trial improperly impinges on its generally broad

discretion over scheduling and administration of its

caseload and therefore decline to follow the more

expansive Eighth Circuit position that would permit a

trial court to presume delay if out-of-state counsel is

entered.

IV. CONCLUSION

In sum, the state trial court's reasoning underlying

its denial of Fuller's motion for counsel of choice was

fundamentally flawed, because it was not based on the

facts of this particular case or on considerations that

are necessarily related to the determination whether to

deny the defendant's right to counsel of choice. We hold

that Fuller's request for counsel of choice was

arbitrarily denied, that Fuller's sixth amendment right

to counsel of choice was thereby violated, and therefore

that the district court was correct in issuing the writ of

habeas corpus. That order of the district court will

therefore be affirmed.

19a

WEIS, Circuit Judge, dissenting.

The majority concludes that the state trial judge

arbitrarily denied the defendant's request for

representation by counsel of his choice. I disagree with

that assessment of the state court's ruling, and would

reverse the district court’s grant of habeas corpus.

Because | find the trial judge acted within the scope of

his discretion. | would delay until another day the

constitutional question prematurely resolved by the

majority in this case.

Defendant Glen Fuller was asleep in the rear seat of

a car driven by his codefendant, Douglas Chappee,

when they were pulled over by New Jersey state

troopers for speeding at 4:30 a.m. on November 14,

1980. The troopers smelled marijuana smoke and

noticed a burnt marijuana cigarette on the floor of the

automobile. They requested and received permission to

examine the trunk where they discovered more than

five pounds of cocaine and lesser quantities of other

drugs. Both Fuller and Chappee were indicted, and

their cases were consolidated for pretrial motions and

trial.

On July 2. 1981. local counsel for codefendant

Chappee moved the admission pro hac vice of John

Van Ness. an attorney from Aspen. Colorado. The judge

to whom the case had been assigned for trial denied the

motion, observing that it was “difficult enough toruna

trial calendar and a motion calender with counsel

throughout the State, to get them here together on

time. obviously if we involved out-of-state counsel from

Colorado. who is on his feet today in Colorado and

perhaps tomorrow in California, and the day after that

in Florida. the opportunity to consult, meet with, and

to schedule becomes extremely difficult.”

The trial judge commented further that the case

did not appear to involve unusual difficulty requiring

20a

out-of-state counsel, but instead presented issues with

which local lawyers were quite familiar. He determined

that the Colorado attorney's proposed admission pro

hac vice would “unnecessarily burden and unduly

delay the disposition of motions, arguments and triall|

of the case.” Responding to a question from local

counsel, the judge elaborated on the difficulties of

airline scheduling. noting that no special expertise is

required “to understand it's harder to get a hold ofa

guy from Colorado, than it is from New Jersey.”

A week later the judge denied a similar motion to

admit Keith Stroup of Washington, D.C. and Michael

Pritzker of Iliinois on behalf of defendant Fuller. The

court explained.

“one [lawyer] from Aspen, Colorado, one from

either D.C. or Illinois. or wherever, plus local

counsel, plus out-of-state defendants. There are

too many unknowns in that equation. It's going to

be difficult just with the out-of-state clients and

in-state attorneys to run anything like a

reasonable motion and Appellate schedule, which

occur in this case, without adding two lawyers

from two different states, who have multiciplicity

of obligations and to run it all at the same time.”

The judge's concern with the defendants availability

arose from the fact that both were nonresidents --

Fuller lived in Colorado, Chappee in Massachusetts --

and both were enlarged on bail.

The court recognized that the state’s policy did not

discourage pro hac vice admissions, but that it first

required a balancing of the pertinent circumstances.

The judge recounted the imminent air controllers’

strike and noted the heavy scheduling obligations

imposed by the speedy trial rules. He pointed out that

even if all the motions pending in the case were

immediately resolved, the earliest trial date would fall

!

2la

in November or December, four or five months away.

More realistically, if disposition of the motions was

delayed until August and if out-of-state counsel were to

be admitted, “we're talking earliest disposition ... next

spring. when the case is a year old and probably

longer.”

This factual background. considered in light of the

judge's actual comments. is essential to a proper

resolution of the legal issue presented here. The

constitutional dimension of the right to retain counsel

of one’s choice, though consistently recognized, has

been coupled with the qualification that it is not

absolute. United States v. Flanagan, 679 F.2d 1072.

1075 (3d Cir. 1982), rev'd on other grounds, 465 U.S.

259 (1984); Davis v. Stamler, 650 F.2d 477. 479 (3d

Cir. 1981). We have acknowledged that. as desirable as

it may be for a criminal defendant to select an attorney

of his own choosing. “that goal must be weighed and

balanced against an equally desirable public need for

the efficient and effective administration of criminal

justice.” United States ex rel. Carey v. Rundle, 409

F.2d 1210, 1214 (3d Cir. 1969). cert. denied. 397 U.S.

46 (1970).

The complexities of calendar control in

metropolitan courts, the necessary balancing of the

accuseds rights to a speedy trial. the prosecutors’ need

for stability in scheduling. and the availability of

witnesses are all factors in the calculus. Unrestrained

liberality can upset the delicate’ balance:

accommodating one defendant in scheduling might

prejudice the rights of another whose trial would be

accelerated or delayed. Thus. the “inescapable”

conclusion, we have determined. is that “although the

right to counsel is absolute. there is no absolute right

to a particular counsel.” Jd. at 1215. See Wheat v.

United States, __ U.S. __. 108 S. Ct. 1692. 1697

(1988).

22a

A proper concern for the difficulties of calendar

control was critical to our decision in United States v.

Rankin, 779 F.2d 956 (3d Cir. 1986). There, we

decided that the district court infringed on the

defendant's right to counsel of choice by refusing to

continue a trial despite the fact that the defendant's

lawyer was still engaged in state court. The pivotal

element in that case was the inconsistency we

perceived between the district court’s action and a

compact that had been reached by the local federal arid

State courts designed to ease inter-forum calendar

conflicts.

In those circumstances. the public's interest in

efficient administration of the criminal justice system

coincided with the defendant's request for a

continuance. Consequently. the defendant's choice of

counsel -- which otherwise might have been

subordinated to the need to proceed expeditiously to

trial -- was given deference. The ruling in Rankin did

not compromise our previous holdings that the right to

ccunsel of choice is not absolute.

The Supreme Court has emphasized that trial

judges must be given wide latitude in scheduling trials.

“Not the least of [the judge's] problems is that of

assembling the witnesses, lawyers, and jurors at the

same place at the same time, and this burden counsels

against continuances except for compelling reasons.”

Morris v. Slappy, 461 U.S. 1, 11 (1983). This

consideration is particularly pertinent in today’s

bustling metropolitan court systems where

calendering is a frustrating, complicated process that

constantly threatens the prompt, orderly disposition of

criminal cases.

My review of the record here does not bear out the

‘district court’s conclusion that the state trial judge

proceeded from a per se theory that out-of-state

attorneys hinder the efficient processing of a case. To

23a

the contrary, the trial judge's comments revealed that

his concern was not with out-of-state counsel as such,

but with this particular congery of attorneys,

commuting from such distant areas as Colorado and

Illinois. The trial judge's conclusion that out-of-state

counsel's availability -- together with that of the

Colorado and Massachusetts defendants -- threatened

to produce logistical problems was neither arbitrary

nor unpredictable.

The district court’s reliance on the speed of

modern transportation to overcome geographical

considerations is undermined by the realities of the

jetage: flight cancellations. lost litigation boxes,

weather delavs. and, as the trial judge noted at the

time. the imminence of an air controller's strike.

Although air travel is quick when conditions are right.

experienced travelers know that expectations of flight

availability and on-time arrivals are often more fanciful

than real. Moreover, the district court did not evaluate

the added complexities in this litigation brought on by

the consolidation of the Fuller and Chappee cases.

Thus, not only were the pro hac vice applications of

attorneys Stroup and Pritzker at issue. but that of Mr.

Van Ness as well.

As one reason for granting habeas corpus relief,

the district court construed the state judge's ruling as

applying a per se presumption that New Jersey lawyers

were more knowledgeable about state and local rules

than the counsel defendants selected. I find nothing in

the trial judge's discussion that expresses such a view.

In fact, the judge generously acknowledged the

competence of out-of-state counsel, at times even

intimating that the special talents of chosen counsel

exceeded those necessary for the issues presented.

A fair reading of the state court transcript

persuades me that the district court mischaracterized

the trial judge’s ruling as resting on per se factors. To

the contrary. | find that the state judge sufficiently

24a

explained the specific circumstances that counseled

against admitting the three attorneys pro hac vice.

Judges in busy criminal courts encounter

daunting impediments to the prompt disposition of

the many cases awaiting trial. The difficulties to

beginning a trial on its scheduled day are many and

diverse. and it is hardly surprising that an

overwhelmed court can rarely accord parties a date

certain. Reducing the number of factors that

complicate scheduling while nevertheless honoring the

rights of the affected parties is no easy task. Inevitably,

some accommodation must at times be reached. and

harried trial judges must be given wide discretion in

this frustrating endeavor.

The state trial judge here did not abuse his

discretion in denying defendant representation by

out-of-state counsel. | would reverse the judgment of

the district court and vacate the grant of the writ of

habeas corpus.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals

forthe Third Circuit

25a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 88-5456

GLEN FULLER

VS.

WARREN DIESSLIN. Superintendent of Buena Vista

Correctional Facility, Buena Vista, Colorado and

W. CARY EDWARDS. Attorney General for State

of New Jersey

W. Cary Edwards, Attorney Genera] of New Jersey and

Warren Disslin, Superintendent of the Buena Vista

Correctional Facility in Colorado,

Appellants

(D. C. Civil No. 87-2353)

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE ---- DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

Present: GIBBONS, Chief Judge, BECKER AND WEIS,

Circuit Judges

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the record from the

United States District Court for the-- - - - District of New

Jersey and was argued by counsel October 31, 1988.

On consideration whereof. it js now here ordered and

adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the said Dis-

trict Court, entered May 13, 1988, be, and the same is

26a

hereby affirmed. Costs taxed against the appellant. All of

the above in accordance with the opinion of this Court.

ATTEST:

/s/ Sally Mrvos

Clerk

February 24, 1989

Certified as a true copy and issued in lieu

of a formal mandate on April 3, 1989.

Test: /s/ M. Elizabeth Ferguson

Chief Deputy Clerk, United States Court of Appeals,

for the Third Circuit

27a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 88-5456

GLEN FULLER,

Appellee

v.

WARREN DIESSLIN, Superintendent of Buena Vista

Correctional Facility, Buena Vista, Colorado and

PETER N. PERRETTI, JR., Attorney General

for the State of New Jersey

Appellants

(D.C. Civil No. 87-2353)

SUR PETITION FOR PANEL REHEARING AND

SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING IN BANC

PRESENT: GIBBONS, Chief Judge, SEITZ, HIGGIN-

BOTHAM, SLOVITER, BECKER, STAPLE-

TON, MANSMANN, HUTCHINSON,

SCIRICA, COWEN, and NYGAARD, Circuit

Judges and WEIS, Senior Circuit Judge"

The petition for rehearing filed by Appellants, Warren

Diesslin and Peter N. Perretti, having been submitted to

the judges who participated in the decision of this Court

and to all the other available circuit judges in active ser-

vice, and no judge who concurred in the decision having

*As to pane] hearing only.

28a

asked for rehearing, and a majority of the circuit judges

of the circuit in regular active service not having voted

for rehearing by the court in banc, the petition for re-

hearing is DENIED.

BY THE COURT,

/s/ Edward R. Becker

Circuit Judge

DATED: MAR 24 1989

29a

APPENDIX D

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

Received

William T. Walsh, Clerk

May 10 233 PM ’88

United States

District Court

Civil Action No. 87-2353

GLEN FULLER,

Petitioner.

Vv.

WARDEN DIESSLIN, Superintendent of

the Buena Vista Correctional

Facility, Buena Vista, Colorado,

and W. CARY EDWARDS, Attorney

General of the State of New Jersey,

Respondents.

AMENDED

OPINION

ACKERMAN, District Judge

INTRODUCTION

Petitioner, Glen Fuller, brings this petition for habeas

corpus relief under 28 U.S.C. § 2254. Petitioner is cur-

rently confined at the Buena Vista Correctional Facility

in Colorado, but as a result of a separate conviction in

a ll

30a

the New Jersey courts, the State of New Jersey has lodged

a detainer with the State of Colorado which requires that

petitioner be surrendered to New Jersey upon completion

of his sentence in Colorado. Petitioner presently requests

an order directing his release from any future custody by

the Attorney General for the State of New Jersey on the

ground that his sixth amendment right to counse! of choice

was violated because the state trial judge denied his re-

quest for the pro hac vice admission of two-out-of state

attorneys.

On February 11, 1988, I filed an opinion and order in

which I granted petitioner’s request for a writ of habeas

corpus. On March 4, 1988, it was brought to my attention

that tne issue of pro hac admission of petitioner’s counsel

of choice had been raised before the Honorable Anne

Thompson of the United States District Court for the Dis-

trict of New Jersey. See Pritzker v. Hamlin, No. 81-2245,

slip op. (D.N.J. filed July 16, 1981) (unpublished). I was

unaware of this prior federal proceeding when I decided

to grant the writ. Thus, as a result of this information,

I vacated the writ and ordered the parties to brief the

issue regarding the effect, if any, the prior federal pro-

ceeding has on my decision to grant the writ. It should

be noted that I vacated the writ without any knowledge

that my decision had been appealed. Notice of this Appeal

was conveyed to me after I entered the order in which I

vacated the writ. The appeal itself has since been with-

drawn.

Upon review of the proceeding before Judge Thompson

and in consideration of the arguments submitted on the

effect of her decision on my own, it appears that counsel

sought to stay the criminal proceeding on the ground that

prosecution of that case without counsel of choice would

violate the constitution. Judge Thompson denied the re-

quest for a stay on the basis of Younger v. Harris, 401

U.S. 37 (1971). In that case, the Supreme Court made

clear that a federal court lacked authority to stay a crim-

a

3la

inal proceedings, absent extraordinary circumstances.

Judge Thompson found such circumstances to be lacking

and thus abstained from interfering with the ongoing state

criminal proceeding.

I agree with counsel that Judge Thompson’s decision

rested on the abstention doctrine and that she did not rule

on the merits of the pro hac vice issue. Therefore, I find

it has no bearing on my prior decision. I now turn to the

merits of the case.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On February 27, 1987, petitioner was indicted in Mid-

dlesex County for possession of a controlled dangerous

substance, possession of such a substance with an intent

to distribute, and unlawful possession of a weapon. ,

In May of 1981, petitioner filed a motion, pursuant to

N.J. Rules of Court 1:21-2, for the pro hac vice admission

of Keith Stroup, a member of the bar of the District of

Columbia, and Michael Pritzker, a member of the bar of

the state of Illinois. On July 9, 1981, the trial judge sitting

in the Superior Court, Law Division, Middlesex County,

denied petitioner’s request for admission of the attorneys

based upon a consideration of the degree of difficulty and

novelty of the issues presented in this case, the expertise

needed to adequately defend the accused and the demand

for stability in managing the court’s docket as a whole

and this case in particular. The trial judge specifically

stated that while he was satisfied that these out-of-state

attorneys are in good standing in the states in-which they

are admitted to practice law and are experienced criminal

lawyers, the difficulty in coordinating the schedules of two

attorneys from different states with the schedules of the

court, prosecution, and defendants, would result in nuv-

merous delays, sufficient to overcome petitioner’s sixth

amendment interests in counsel of choice. (Trans. of July

9, 1981 at 39). The court further stated that since these

32a

attorneys regularly appeared in courts outside this state,

the judge could not easily contact judges outside this jur-

isdiction to coordinate conflicting court obligations. (Jd. at

38). Finally, the court asserted that potential travel delays

further exacerbated the likelihood of adjournments. (Jd. at

34). In short, the judge held that management of his cal-

endar and the avoidance of trial delays required that he

deny petitioner’s request for the pro hac vice admission

of Mr. Stroup and Mr. Pritzker.’

Thereafter, petitioner, among others, brought an action

in federal court to obtain a temporary restraining order

to stay the state criminal proceeding. On July 16, 1981,

Judge Thompson issued her opinion in which she denied

the requested relief. The parties appealed this decision to

the Third Circuit. The appeal was withdrawn on September

25, 1981.

Thereafter, numerous pretrial suppression and eviden-

tiary hearings followed. Almost three years lapsed, how-

ever, before petitioner pled guilty to possesion with an

intent to distribute freebase cocaine. As part of this plea,

which was entered on April 10, 1984, petitioner reserved

his right to appeal, inter alia, the denial of his pro hac

vice motion which, he asserts, resulted in the unconsti-

tutional denial of counsel of choice.

On June 19, 1986, the Appellate Division of the Superior

Court considered the merits of his appeal on this issue

held that the trial judge did not commit an error in his

denial of petitioner’s request for the admission of out-of-

state counsel pro hac vice since there was a risk that the

presence of out-of-state counsel might hinder the swift

processing of the case. The Appellate Division was per-

suaded that the use of counsel from various geographic

1 On July 2, 1981, the court also denied a similar request of petitioner’s

co-defendant, Douglas Chappee, who sought the pro hac vice admission

of a Colorado attorney. His request for leave to appeal this decision

was denied by the Supreme Court of New Jersey on July 14, 1981.

33a

locations would increase the difficulties involved in sched-

uling criminal matters. Moreover, the court noted that the

case presented issues that could be ably handled by local

counsel and the record revealed that petitioner received

competent representation and thereby vindicated the trial

judge’s belief that New Jersey counsel could conduct a

fine defense. For these reasons, the Appellate Division held

that the trial judge did not abuse his discretion in denying

petitioner’s request.

On November 26, 1986, the Supreme Court of New Jer-

sey denied petitioner’s request for certification.

On June 16, 1987, petitioner filed the within petition

for a writ of habeas corpus.

EXHAUSTION

A federal court will not consider an application for a

writ of habeas corpus unless the petitioner has exhausted

the remedies available in the courts of the state. 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254(b). Since the record in this case reveals that

petitioner has exhausted his state remedies, the within

petition is ripe for disposition.

DISCUSSION

The sixth amendment of the Constitution guarantees to

any criminal defendant the right “‘to have the Assistance

of Counsel for his defense.’’ U.S. Const. amend VI. In-

herent in this guarantee is the protection of and deference

to the defendant’s actual choice of counsel. See United

States v. Alvarez, 816 F.2d 818, 816 (1st Cir. 1987); United

States v. Laura, 607 F.2d 52, 55 (8d Cir. 1978). See also

Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45, 58 (1932) in which the

Supreme Court recognized that an essential component to

the right to counsel is the opportunity to secure counsel

of choice. It is beyond dispute that “‘the most important

decision a defendant makes in shaping his defense is his

a

34a

selection of his attorney.”” Laura, supar, 607 F.2d at 56.

In addition to the strategic ramifications, interference with

the exercise of this selection impedes the development of

trust between an attorney and his client, ‘‘which is the

cornerstone of the adversary system.” Linton v. Perini,

656 F.2d 207, 209 (6th Cir. 1981); cert. denied, 454 U.S.

1162 (1982). Thus, given the constitutional dimensions of

this decision, the courts are prohibited from taking any

arbitrary action that hinders the effective use of a par-

ticular counsel and similarly requires that the defendant’s

choice of counsel not be dealt with lightly or arbitrarily.

Laura, supra, 607 F.2d at 57; United States v. Ranken,

779 F.2d 956, 958 (8d Cir. 1986); United States v. Flan-

agan, 679 F.2d 1072, 1076 (3d Cir. 1982), rev'd on other

grounds, 465 U.S. 259 (1984); United States ex rel Carey

v. Rundle, 409 F.2d 1210, 1215 (8d Cir. 1969), cert. denied,

397 U.S. 946 (1970). Accordingly, since a trial court’s de-

nial of a criminal defendant’s request to retain out-of-state

counsel implicates constitutional concerns, this decision

must have been made based upon a proper exercise of

discretion, which includes a recognition of the fundamental

importance of the right to counsel of choice, though not

absolute, and how the exercise of this right may be curbed

in the interest of achieving the fair, efficient and orderly

administration of justice. Rankin, supra, 779 F.2d at 958;

Davis v. Stamler, 650 F.2d 477, 479 (3d Cir. 1981); Laura,

supra, 409 F.2d at 1214.

In this circuit, the Court of Appeals has held that the

sixth amendment right to counsel of choice must yield

when, for example, an attorney’s ethical conduct is ques-

tioned, see Flanagan, supra, or when, after a reasonable

period, defendant has failed to select counsel of his own

choice, and his continued failure to do so would result in

further trial delays. Rundle, supra. In this latter instance,

the legitimate concern with respect to facilitating the swift

processing of criminal matters is clearly expressed as this

interest presents itself within the context of cluttered crim-

35a

inal dockets which are ‘‘constantly buffeted by conflicting

forces.”” Jd. at 1214. While the trial court must balance

the conflicting demands of court administration with the

rights of the accused,”’ id., this balance must be struck

only after a close examination of the facts before the court.

The non-discretionary application of a rule with respect to

conditions which generally result in delays fails to comply

with the requirement that the trial judge delicately balance

sixth amendment concerns against the efficient and orderly

administration of justice.

In weighing these interests, the trial judge must make

sufficient, non-speculative findings with respect to how the

defendant’s choice of counsel may affect the case at hand,

whether the selection demonstrates that it will result in

delay or was made for dilatory or prejudicial purposes and

. if the choice will effect others awaiting trial, the availa-

bility of witnesses to testify and the concerns of the victim

that justice is done. See Morris v. Slappy, 461 U.S. 1, 14

(1983); Alvarez, supra, 813 F.2d at 816.

In the case at bar, the exercise of petitioner’s choice of

counsel was embodied in his request for the pro hac vice

admission of two attorneys licensed to practice law in the

District of Columbia and Illinois, respectively. N.J. Court

Rule 1:21-2 governs pro hac vice admissions. While the

rule states that the pro hac vice admission of out-of-state

counsel is committed to the discretion of the trial judge,

such discretion may not be exercised arbitrarily. N.J. Court

R. 1:21-2; Thoma v. A.H. Robbins, 100 FRD 344, 348

(D.N.J. 1983); Burlington County Internal Medicine Ass’n

v. Amerwan Medicorp., Inc., 168 N.J. super. 382 (1979).

See also Frazier v. Heebe, 107 S.Ct. 2607, 2614 n.13 (1987)

in which the United States Supreme Court recognized the

discretionary nature of pro hac vice admission. The ex-

ercise of this discretion requires a nonmechanistic evalu-

ation of the factors delineated in the state rule governing

pro hac admission with respect to that attorney’s character

and prior admissions, affiliation with licensed in-state

eae tae ee

36a

counsel, the existence of an attorney-client relationship,

and the lack of local counsel with expertise in the field of

law involved, or arguably the facts of the case at bar. See

Rule 1:21-2(b). Thus, in the context of a criminal

defendant’s request for the pro hac vice admission of

counsel of choice, the trial judge must examine the above

factors while being mindful of the sixth amendment in-

terest at stake.

When presented with petitioner’s request, the trial court

stated that

The matter before the Court calls upon it to

exercise its discretion, pursuant to Rule 1:21, as

to whether out-of-state counsel should be admit-

ted pro hac in this matter, and I am satisfied

... that Mr. Pritzker and Mr. Stroup are mem-

bers in good standing in their respective bars and

while the affidavits talk in conclusionary fashion

about their specific degree of experience, I am

sure that they are experienced able trial counsel.

In exercising the discretion that the Court must

do, under Rule 1:21 the Court must consider and

does consider a number of factors.

*-_* *

The Court must consider the degree of difficulty

presented by the case at hand, the nature of

expertise necessary to adequately defend the per-

sons accused of crime, and of course must accord

wherever possible the great consideration to the

individual wishes of a defendant to choose counsel

of his choice. That of course is not an unfettered

right.. If it were, then Rule 121 [sic], would not

in any way, shape or form be constitutional be-

cause certainly all the historical developments of

‘ admission of practice law in various states has

been one which the Federal Courts have accorded

a great deference to and have generally not in-

37a

terfered with. So, clearly, I think the fact that

a state perceives to limit out-of-state attorneys

to practice is appropriate, as long as it does not

enfringe [sic] on any guaranteed constitutional

rights and the Rule or the provision of pro hac

admission, as exists, I believe in every state of

the Union, has never been declared to be con-

stitutionally infirmed.

Transcript of July 9, 1981 at 25-29. Continuing, the court

stated that

The bottom line is to what extent and what

weight is Defendant’s right to counsel in jeopardy

by the Court exercising such discretion? Clearly

the policy is if at all compatible with the rep-

resentation of defendants, to admit competent

outside counsel. I can see that and perceive that

to be the policy in the Rule.

Id. at 32.

In evaluating the above considerations, the trial court,

though explicitly noting the character and experience of

these out-of-state attorneys, found that members of the

local bar are capable of handling the issues of the case.

Specifically, the judge stated that

The record will reflect that the defendants

were arrested in the course of operating their

motor vehicle on the Turnpike. There was a

search of the motor vehicle ... [and ... those

of us who practice in the criminal field, Mr. Alt-

man and | note for the record, your particular

expertise in that area, we are all familiar with

the various exceptions in the State of the law

[with respect to constitutional searches], and that

perhaps the extensions to which reasonably it may

be taken. I mean, on the bare facts of it, I

frankly, outside of the fact that this is a lot of

38a

coke, and therefore a lot of money involved and

that the term of imprisonment or exposure is

greater than you would have otherwise, outside

of that, all the indicia surrounding the arrests,

nothing out of the normal, does not present any

great deal of difficulty, and I’m fully satisfied

that there are numerous counsel in the State, not

the least of which is Mr. Brown, Mr. Silber’s

former partner. I know there are some guys

around, Mike Querques, any number of others

who have, are articulate, able, and imaginative

counsel. I don’t think there’s anybody more i-

maginative than Mr. Brown in this state. I’ve

been an adversary, I’ve been a co-counsel of his,

I understand. There is a more than adequate

number of counsel in regard to this matter.

“* *

The bottom line is, and I say this respectfully,

and again as you said, not blowing smoke at any-

body, respectfully Mr. Altman, Mr. Cocziello, I’ve

read those motions and I know your reputations,

and I can’t believe that either one of you are so

dumb that you can’t perceive the arguments and

make those arguments and argue yourself.

So, I’m satisfied there’s an adequate degree of

expertise available in this state to handle any of

these motions.

(Transcript of July 9, 1981 at 27-29, 32).

Moreover, the court stated that the out-of-state status

of these attorneys represented potential delays to the proc-

essing of this matter due to the likelihood of conflicting

professional obligations and need for travel. On the issue

of delay, the court stated

I note and I say with some sadness, one of the

difficulties in handling out-of-state cases is that

39a

we have a situation here where now months after

the indictment and even after the motions were

filed, certified to by local counsel, they have not

even met their clients or talked to them until

apparently this morning, where I see a notarized

statement of one defendant. To the extent that

local counsel is responsible, local counsel as

attorney of record, may at sometime, if out-of-

state counsel is unavailable, be compelled to pro-

ceed with the matter ... [But today], we have

a situtaion where local counsel is now saying al-

though knowing as of at least late last week, that

we were going to proceed without fail tomorrow

on the motions, that they are not ready, and

perhaps counsel will have to withdraw and cer-

tainly if counsel withdraws or is severed from

the, or fired from their position as counsel by

their clients ‘cause they’re not comfortable with

them,’ further delay is built into the system.

While it is true that these counsel may well have

fine reputations and practice in a number of ju-

risdictions, there are things like airplanes, there

are air, air traffic countrol strikes, for instance,

they’re eminent, they’re going to be, as I per--

ceive it, this case is going to be fought tooth and

nail, beginning and end, every adverse ruling will

go by way of interlocutory relief. There’s nothing

wrong in that, but if I don’t foresee it in the

scheduling of this case, I am a fool. It’s going

to happen, we’re going to be going back and

forth.

While it may be true, except when he was on

his feet, out-of-state counsel always came when

ordered, I’d love to know how many times mat-

ters were adjourned because most judges, not-

withstanding editorials in the law journal, most

judges give a fairly reasonable ear to requests

40a

for adjournment and are you then going to force

local counsel on, when out-of-state counsel can’t

be there. I’d love to know how many times mat-

ters have been adjourned. I suspect there are

many. If I have in-state counsel, I can pick up

the phone and talk to a judge in another juris-

diction and usually work out a much prompter

schedule in the disposition of this case. Every

matter that it must proceed, if we proceed with

out-of-state counsel, require notification of out-of-

state counsel, they have to meet with their

clients, who do not necessarily reside in their own

jurisdictions. There is a built-in two and three-

week delay on every communication in this mat-

ter. It’s just, that’s just the nature of the mails,

that’s the nature of travel, that’s the nature of

transit in the matter.

Yes, they’ve been admitted in the Circuit Court

of Appeals. I might add that being admitted for

Appellate purposes is a lot easier, you know when

you are going to get your Appellate argument,

the Appellate court is a gentleman’s court, able

to do things usually with adequate notice and

time. The trial court works around a rather

changing and liquid schedules and sometimes

~ short notice. I dare say that if I have two New

Jersey counsel in a matter and I had to dispose

of something important in this matter, a phone

call, especially in a case of this significance, would

bring counsel promptly within a day or two, at

the least. That just simply would be impossible

with out-of-state counsel. [Given the presence of

counsel from] either DC or Illinois, or wherever,

plus local counsel, plus out-of-state defendants

... [T]here are too many unknowns in that.equa-

tion. It’s going to be difficult just with the out-

of-state clients and in-state attorneys to run any-

4la

thing like a reasonable motion and Appellate

schedule, which occur in this case, without adding

two lawyers from two different states, who have

multiplicity of obligations and to run it all at the

same time. We have enough problem in co-counsel

cases, now, where, you know, one guy is avail-

able, the other guy is not, Judge, what are you

going to do, what are you going to do and going

to wind up way down the road, a long, long time

from now, maybe getting to the case.

I am satisfied that within the context of my

discretion, under Rule 121 [sic], that that is a

competent and reasonable consideration for the

Court to review. I am satisfied the nature of the

probable delay, notwithstanding dilatory and in-

tentional, just good faith delay, and it will occur

as a result of this matter and difficulty in sched-

uling Court’s disposition, is so grave as to over-

come the ‘unfettered’ right of defendant to

counsel of his own choosing, and accordingly, the

motion to admit pro hac is denied.

(Id. at 39-40). The above excerpts illustrate that the judge

denied petitioner’s pro hac vice motion based upon his

assessment of available qualified local counsel and the gen-

eralization that the presence of out-of-state counsel poses

delays that would not occur when only in-state attorneys

are used.

As to the trial judge’s first reason, I find that the ex-

istence of capable counsel licensed to practice law in the

jurisdiction is not a sufficient reason to overcome

petitioner’s right to counsel of choice. First, this indicates

a presumption that in-state counsel are more knowledgable

with respect to state law and local rules than out-of-state

counsel. This presumption represents an arbitrary distinc-

tion between in-state and out-of-state counsel. Certainly,

there are instances in which out-of-state attorneys quickly

42a

absorb the relevant state rules while long time members

of the bar appear in court without being versatile in the

aspects of local law. See Esposito v. Barnard, et al., Nos.

87-3034 and 87-3035 slip op. (8d Cir. March 31, 1988)

discussing Frazier, supra, at 2612-13. Therefore, such a

per se distinction is without merit.

Even if I assume that the above presumption has sup-

port, the interests advanced by the use of local counsel,

i.e., that their familiarity with the local rules enhances the

orderly administration of justice, can be achieved by a less

extreme mechanism. The legislature has endorsed a state

rule that requires any out-of-state counsel desiring to ap-

pear in the courts of the state be affiliated with local

counsel. Presumably, the requirement reflects the legis-

lature’s attempt to enhance the smooth processing of lit-

igation without curtailing an individual’s choice of counsel.

Thus, through affiliated local counsel, an individual may

be represented by counsel of choice without injury to the

interest in assuring familiarity with local law, which pre-

sumably facilitates the flow of litigation. Therefore, I find

that the mere existence of competent in-state attorneys to

defend the accused is insufficient to outweigh his sixth

amendment right to select his own counsel.

As to the trial court’s second basis for denying

petitioner’s request, I find that the trial court relied upon

the belief that the use of out-of-state counsel delays the

progress of litigation. The rote application of this kind of

blanket generalization ‘‘leaves no room for the exercise of

discretion.”” Alvarez, supra, 816 F.2d at 817. Rather, it

represents the court’s failure to scrutinize the particular

case at bar. The record indicates that the out-of-state

attorneys had not requested any adjournments and were

prepared to proceed on the matters then pending before

the court. Interestingly, local counsel was unprepared.

Moreover, out-of-state counsel never indicated to the court

an inability to appear at any time that the court may

request. In fact, it is asserted that in the past, these out-

43a

of-state lawyers were unable to appear before judges else-

where only in circumstances in which they were obliged

to appear in court at a conflicting time. Since similar time

conflicts could arise with New Jersey attorneys, these ex-

amples illustrate that the pro hac vice motion was denied

based upon a per se rule with respect to speculative delays

allegedly caused by out-of-state attorney.

Thus, the trial court’s view was based, at best, upon

speculative delays rather than upon a record which could

support a finding that the particular out-of-state attorneys

repeatedly impeded the progress of litigation. See Thoma,

supra. Had the record supported such a finding, and given

the strong interest in the swift resolution of criminal dis-

putes, the denial of a pro hac motion under such circum-

stances would have been upheld as rational. In this case,

however, the record reveals no dilatory behavior and thus

the court's in-state/out-of-state distinction, based purely on

geography” and speculation, must fall as arbitrary.

Furthermore, this geographical distinction fails to com-

port with the reality of a highly mobile bar that has at

its disposal modern transportation and communication. See

Frazer, supra, 107 S.Ct. at 2613; Esposito, supra. It is

in view of these technological modalities that Supreme

Court has stated that while pro hac admission is not rec-

ognized as a constitutionally guaranteed right, the practice

of allowing “‘out-of-state lawyer[s] the privilege of appear-.

ing upon motion, especially when ... associated with a

member of the local bar’ should be encouraged. Luis v.

Flynt, 489 U.S. 438, 441-42, 444 n.5 (1979) (per curiam).

Therefore, I find that the trial judge denied petitioner’s

motion based upon a per se rule that out-of-state attorneys

* Furthermore, the irony of the court’s conclusion that out-of-state

attorneys hamper the swift processing of criminal matters is further

illustrated by the fact that the instant pro hac motion was before the

court for two months before resolution and by the fact that over three

years lapsed before petitioner pled out.

44a

hinder the efficient processing of a case before the court,

and absent a record of dilatoriness on the part .of these

attorneys, the denial resulted in the arbitrary deprivation

of petitioner’s right to counsel of choice. Since the in-

fraction of this right ‘‘can never be treated as harmless

error,” Laura, supra, 607 F.2d at 58 (quoting Chapman

v. California, 386 U.S. 18, 23, n.8 (1967) ), the nonexist-

ence of prejudice to the petitioner as a result of the denial

is irrelevant. See Rankin, supra, 779 F.2d at 960. Hence,

since the petitioner’s sixth amendment right to counsel of

choice has been denied, I find that a writ of habeas corpus

should issue and the state has thirty days in which to

conduct a new trial once the petitioner is placed in the

custody of the Attorney General for the State of New

Jersey.

An order in conformance with this opinion has been filed

by the Court.

45a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

Civil Action No. 87-2353

GLEN FULLER,

Petitioner,

v.

WARDEN DIESSLIN, Superintendent of the Buena Vista

Correctional Facility, Buena Vista, Colorado, and W. CARY

EDWARDS, Attorney General of the State of New Jersey,

Respondents.

AMENDED ORDER

For the reasons set forth in the amended opinion filed

this day,

IT IS on this 10th day of May, 1988,

ORDERED that petitioner’s request for the issuance of

a writ of habeas corpus is hereby granted;

IT IS FURTHER ORDRED that the State has thirty

days in which to conduct a new trial once petitioner is

placed in the custody of the Attorney General for the State

of New Jersey.

/s/ Harold A. Ackerman

HAROLD A. ACKERMAN

U.S.D.J.

Received

William T. Walsh, Clerk

Mav 10 233 PM ’88

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT

46a

APPENDIX F

SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

C-362 September Term 1986

25,931

STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

Plaintiff-Respondent,

v.

DOUGLAS DAVID CHAPPEE,

Defendant,

and

GLEN FULLER,

Defendant-Petitioner

FILED SUPREME COURT NOV 26 1986

/S/ Stephen Townsend, Clerk

ON PETITION FOR CERTIFICATION

To the Appellate Division, Superior Court:

A petition for certification of the judgment in A-3996-

84T4 having been submitted to this Court, and the Court

having considered the same;

It is ORDERED that the petition for certification is

denied with costs.

WITNESS, the Honorable Robert N. Wilentz, Chief Jus-

tice, at Trenton, this 21st day of November, 1986.

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true copy of the

original on file in my office.

/s/ Stephen Townsend

CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT

47a

APPENDIX G

NOT FOR PUBLICATION WITHOUT THE

APPROVAL OF THE COMMITTEE ON OPINIONS

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

.. APPELLATE DIVISION

A-2442-84T4

A-3996-84T4

ORIGINAL FILED

JUN 19 1986

Elizabeth McLaughlin

Clerk

STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

Plaintiff-Respondent,

v.

DOUGLAS DAVID CHAPPEE and GLEN FULLER,

Defendants-A ppellants.

Argued June 9, 1986 - Decided JUN 19 1986

Before Judges Morton I. Greenberg,

J. H. Coleman and Long.

On appeal from the Superior Court,

Law Division, Middlesex County.

Alan Silber argued the cause for

appellant Glen Fuller (Silber &

Rubin, attorneys).

J. Barry Cocoziello argued the

cause for appellant Douglas David

Chappee (Podvey, Sachs & Catenacci,

attorneys; Mr. Cocoziello and H.

Richard Chattman, on the brief).

Raymond 8S. Gurak, Deputy Attorney

=—

48a

General, argued the cause for

respondent (W. Cary Edwards,

Attorney General, attorney).

The opinion of the court was delivered by GREEN-

BERG, P.J.A.D.

This matter comes on before this court on appeals by

defendants Douglas D. Chappee and Glen S. Fuller from

convictions and sentences entered on their pleas of guilty

in these criminal cases. We consolidate the appeals for

disposition in this opinion.

The proceedings started when defendants were indicted

in Middlesex County for the following offenses: possession

of a controlled dangerous substance, marijuana, N.J.S.A.

24:21-20(ay'4) (count one); possession of a controlled dan-

gerous substance, methaqualone, N.J.S.A. 24:21-20(aX1)

(count two); possession of a controlled dangerous sub-

stance, cocaine of which more than 3.5 grams was free

base, N.J.S.A. 24:21-20(aX2) (count three); possession of a

controlled dangerous substance with intent to distribute,

more than 8.5 grams of free base cocaine, N.J.S.A. 24:21-

19(aX2)! and N.J.S.A. 24:21-19(b\2) (count four); and un-

lawful possession of a weapon, N.J.S.A. 2C:39-5(d) (count

five).

On July 2 and July 9, 1981, defendants moved for ad-

mission of counsel pro hac vice, Chappee seeking to have

John Van Ness, a Colorado attorney, admitted and Fuller

seeking to be represented by Keith Stroup, a member of

the District of Columbia bar, and his partner, a Mr. Prit-

zler, a member of the Illinois bar, partners in a four person

multi-state firm. Judge Hamlin denied these motions, not-

ing the difficulties in scheduling cases when out-of-state

counsel are involved and the complications their admission

could cause. Further, the judge considered that the nature

of the case was such that in-state counsel could ably rep-

resent defendants.

‘The correct section is N.J.S.A. 24:21-19(aX1).

49a

On July 17, 1981 defendants moved (1) to suppress evi-

dence recovered from the trunk of the car in which they

were riding when arrested; (2) to dismiss part of the in-

dictment based on an alleged unconstitutionality of the

New Jersey statute classifying cocaine as a narcotic; (3)

to dismiss the indictment by reason of an underrepresen-

tation of women in the position of grand jury foreperson;

(4) to sever count five of the indictment; (5) to dismiss

the indictment because it contained multiplicious charges,

and (6) for Judge Hamlin to recuse himself from hearing

the suppression motion as he issued the warrant for the

search. The judge at that time made no ruling on the first

three motions but denied the last three.

After evidentiary hearings, Judge Hamlin denied

defendants’ motion to dismiss the indictment based on the

allegation there had been discrimination against women in

the position of grand jury foreperson on March 8, 1983

and denied the motion to suppress‘in a written opinion

aated August 6, 19838. In denying the motion to dismiss

Judge Hamlin pointed out that the duties of a foreperson

are ministerial. The motion to dismiss the indictment on

the grounds that cocaine was unconstitutionally classified

as a narcotic was denied and that issue is not raised on

this appeal.

Another significant pretrial proceeding related to a plea

agreement offered to defendants providing for maximum

incarceration of Chappee and Fuller of two years and six

years respectively. Fuller accepted the offer immediately

but Chappee hesitated. The State rescinded the offer be-

fore it was put on the record and before Chappee accepted

or rejected it. Defendants subsequently moved to enforce

the offer but on April 29, 1983 Judge Muscatello denied

their motion.

Chappee moved for a severance of his case from Ful-

ler’s. While this motion was initially granted, on the State’s

interlocutory appeal on leave granted we reversed and

50a

remanded the matter to the trial court for a hearing, at

which the motion was denied.

Pursuant to a plea agreement, reserving to defendants

the right to appeal from certain of the pretrial orders, on

April 10, 1984 defendants pleaded guilty to count four of

the indictment. On November 20, 1984, Fuller was sen-

tenced to a term of 20 years and a fine of $25,000 and

on March 18, 1985 Chappee was sentenced to a term of

seven years and a $5,000 fine. The remaining counts were

dismissed.

Defendants appeal raising the following issues. Chappee

asserts:

(1) The consent to search the trunk, sought dur-

ing custodial interrogation, was invalid under

the state and federal constitutions because no

Miranda warnings or other advisement of the

right to counsel and the consequences of the

consent were given.

A. Defendants were in custody and subjected

to custodial interrogation at the time con-

sent to search was sought.

B The failure to administer Miranda warn-

ings prior to the custodial interrogation in

which consent was sought invalidated the

purported consent.

1. Miranda warnings must precede a re-

quest for consent.

2. Regardless of whether Miranda warn-

ings are per se a prerequisite to a valid

consent, where consent is obtained as

the tainted and derivative fruit of a M7-

randa violation, the consent is invalid

and the preduct of the ensuing search

must be suppressed.

5la

C. Under the New Jersey Constitution, Ar-

ticle | Paragraph 7, a consent during cus-

todial interrogation is valid only if

preceded by warnings adequate to insure

an effective waiver and relieve the com-

pulsion inherent in custodial interrogation.

These must include advisements of the

right to counsel and the consequences of

consent.

(2) The conduct of the hearing on the motion to

suppress was prejudicially erroneous, and a

remand for a new hearing on the motion is

required.

A. The preclusion of defendants’ proffered

expert testimony on the issue of defendant

Fuller’s lack of capacity in the circum-

stances to give a voluntary and knowing

consent was prejudicially erroneous.

B. The judge presiding at the motion to sup-

press erred in failing to disqualify himself,

since he had issued the search warrant

after a testimonial hearing at which he

passed on the credibility of one of the

State’s key witnesses and determined one

of the central] facts at issue on the motion.

(3) The State’s withdrawal of the plea bargain

violated New Jersey law and policy; the State

falsely induced Chappee and Fuller to waive

their constitutional rights; the precedent will

cause plea negotiations to become unworka-

ble.

(4) The arbitrary denial of counsel of choice vio-

lated defendants’ Sixth Amendment rights.

}

aac lal

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.