Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kanne v. Connecticut General Life Insurance

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1988

CONNECTICUT GENERAL

LIFE INS. CO.,

Respondent.

ee

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

LEONARD SACKS

15915 Ventura Boulevard

Suite 304

Encino, California 91436

(818) 906-7200

Attorney for Petitioners

THEODORE KANNE and

Vol. I of I BEATRIZ KANNE,

Lorraine Mitchell - Legal Briefs

732 E. WASHINGTON BOULEVARD

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90021

TELEPHONE (213) 747-5631

CONTENTS REPRODUCED FROM FURNISHED PRETYPED COPY.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

l. Does the Employee Retirement

Income Security Act (ERISA), 29 U.S.C.

Section 1081, et seq., bar plaintiffs

from securing State law remedies afforded

by a State law which regulates insurance,

as defined in the ERISA saving clause, 29

U.S.C. Section 1144(b)(2)(A) ("...nothing

in this subchapter shall be construed to

exempt or relieve any person from any law

of any State which regulates

insurance...")? [1]

2a. What are the criteria which

will establish that an insurance

This issue is currently before

this Court on a Petition for Writ of

Certiorari in at least one other case we

know of: Commercial Life Ins. Co. v.

Superior Court (Juliano) 47 Cal.3d 473,

764 P.2d 1859 (1988), petition filed

March 15, 1989, Docket No. 88-1530. As

will be seen below (Section EI infra),

there will doubtless eventually be

numerous other petitions to this Court

presenting the same issue.

i

arrangement is an "employee benefit plan"

subject to ERISA, under 29 U.S.C. Section

1003, where, as here, there was no formal

written plan? [2]

2. The importance of this question

and the necessity for its resolution by

this Court have been conceded by David L.

Bacon, Esq., and Adams, Duque &

Hazeltine, Esqs., counsel for the

respondent herein, Connecticut General

Life Ins. Co. Said counsel have recently

filed a petition for Writ of Certiorari

in this Court in Pacific Mutual Life Ins.

Co. v. Turnbow, Docket No. 88-1546. That

case presents the very same question of

the criteria necessary to establish an

“employee benefit plan" subject to ERISA

(see Petition in Pacific Mutual Life Ins.

Co. v. Turnbow, "Questions Presented,” at

p. 1). In their Petition, Messrs. Bacon

and Adams, Duque & Hazeltine state that

there is "An Increasingly Significant

Circuit Split," on this question "And

Wide-Spread Division And Error In The

Lower Courts, Which Can Only Be Resolved

By This Court” (Pacific Mutual Life

Petition, Point II, p. 16 [emphasis

added]. See also, id. at pp. 19, 26).

It is safe to predict that there

will eventually be numerous other

petitions filed in this Court raising

this issue, in view of the uncertainty

surrounding the issue of the

circumstances when an insurance

arrangement constitutes an "employee

(Continued on next page)

ii

Ds Where, as here, the insureds'

direct employer had not established or

maintained an employee benefit plan

subject to ERISA, as defined by 29 U.S.C.

Section 1883(a), is such a plan

established by the activities of a "group

Or association of employers," pursuant to

29 U.S.C. Section 1002(5), where there is

no evidence that the purported employer

association in question was in fact a

group Or association of homogeneous,

related employers and no evidence that

the insured's direct employer had any

benefit plan" subject to ERISA (see Point

EII, infra).

The issue of the criteria necessary

to establish an “employee benefit plan"

subject to ERISA is one of the issues now

pending before this Court in Commonwealth

v. Morash, 482 Mass. 287, 552 N.E.2d 4089,

cert. granted, October 3, 1988, 1809 S.Ct.

53.

iii

voice in the management of the purported

employer association? [3]

3. The petitioners herein are

plaintiffs-appellees THEODORE KANNE and

BEATRIZ KANNE, who were insured under a

group insurance policy issued by

respondent, CONNECTICUT GENERAL LIFE

INSURANCE COMPANY, defendant-appellant in

the Court below. The KANNES' and

CONNECTICUT GENERAL LIFE INSURANCE

COMPANY are the only parties to these

proceedings.

iv

es)

ie 2)

4

b

G) ®

THE ISSUE OF WHETHER ERISA

PREEMPTS STATE LAW REMEDIES

PROVIDED BY A STATE LAW REG-

ULATING INSURANCE IS AN ISSUE

OF WIDE-SPREAD IMPORTANCE;

IT IS URGENT THAT THIS COURT

RESOLVE THIS ISSUE.

THE ISSUE OF THE ELEMENTS

NECESSARY TO ESTABLISH THAT

AN INSURANCE ARRANGEMENT IS

AN “EMPLOYEE BENEFIT PLAN"

SUBJECT TO ERISA IS AN ISSUE

OF WIDE-SPREAD IMPORTANCE

WHICH HAS NEVER BEEN RULED

ON BY THIS COURT.

40

CONCLUSION

APPENDIX [Under Separate Cover -

Volume II of IT]

vi

=

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Anschultz v. Conn. General Life

Ine. CO<,s

850 F.2d 1467 (llth Cir. 1988) 30

Baucom v. Pilot Life Ins. Co.,

674 F.Supp. 1175 (M.D.N.C. 1987) 48

Commercial Life Ins. Co. v. Superior

Court (Juliano) (1988)

47 Cal.3d 473, 764 P.2d 1059 1, 9,

22, 24, 37, 39

Commonwealth v. Morash,

402 Mass. 287, 552 N.E.2nd 409,

cert. granted, Oct. 3, 1988,

aan S.0¢.. 53 iii

Credit Managers Ass'n v. Kennesaw

Life & Acc. Ins.,

809 F.2d 617 (9th Cir. 1987) 49

Donovan v. Dillingham,

688 F.2d 1367 (llth Cir. 1982) 48,

Si, Se

Eversole v. Metropolitan Life

Ins. Co.,

500 F.Supp. 1162 (C.D. Cal. 1980) be

Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne

(1987)

U.S. » £07 6.Ct. 2211 43

Graves v. Blue Cross of California,

688 F.Supp. 1405 (N.D. Cal. 1988) 35,

a05. 37

vil

Griswold v. Union Labor Life Ins. Co.,

442 Atl.2d 920 (Conn. 1982) 26

Hamberlin v. VIP Ins. Trust,

434 F.Supp. 1196 (D. Ariz. 1977) 48

In Re: Life Ins. Co. of North

America,

857 F.2d 1190 (8th Cir. 1988) 30

Insurance & Prepaid Benefits Trust v.

Marshall,

90 FRD 703 (C.D. Cal. (1981) 48

Jenkins v. J. C. Penney Cas. Ins. Co.,

280 S.E.2d 252 (W. Va. 1981) a7

Klaudt v. Flink,

§58 P.2d 1065 (Mont. 1983) 27

Mass. Mutual Life Ins. Co. v.

Russell (1985)

473.0.8, i386, i835 3.¢t. 2360 g

Matthew 25 Ministries, Inc. v.

Corcoran,

774i P24 21 (€2n@ Cir. 1965) 48

McLaughlin v. Conn. General Life

Ins. Co.,

565 F.Supp. 434 (N.D. Cal. 1983) aa

Mead v. Burns,

509 Atl.2d 11 (Conn. 1986) ri oe

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v.

Mass. (1985)

471 U.S. 724, 105 S.Ct. 23680 34,

go, 26

Waid

Moradi-Shalal v. Fireman's Fund

Ins. Co. (1988)

e6 Cai.36@ 267, 758 P.2da 58 26

Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux (1987)

eee Gime. Sh, 107 S.Ct. 1549 14; 46,

Rea) Os ees 3Ue Shy Sky

sas 22s o8e. oe

Presti v. Connecticut General Life

He. CO<«,

605 F.Supp. 163 (N.D. Cal. 1985) 13

Rizzi v. Blue Cross of Southern

California (1988)

206 Cal.App.3d 380, 253 Cal.Rptr.

541 es. 48, 31:52

Sayble v. Blue Cross of Southern

California,

Cal.App.3d ’ Cal.Rptr.

, filed Mar. 20, 1989

(reported in the Los Angeles

Daily Journal, Daily Appellate

Reports for Mar. 22, 1989 at

>. 3567) 46

Sparks v. Republic National Life

Ins. Co.,

647 P.2d 1127 (Ariz. 1982)

cert. denied 459 U.S. 1070,

103 S.ct. 490 (1980) 27

Taggart Corp. v. Life & Health

Benefits Admin.,

617 F.2d 1208 (5th Cir. 1980)

cert. den. sub. nom., Taggart

Corp. v. Efros (1981), 450 U.S.

guau, 201 8.Ct. 1739 ce, ve

1X

Union Labor Life Ins. Co. v.

Pireno (1982)

458 t).8.. 145,102 8.Ct. 30Ge2 S35 ae

Van Dyke v. St. Paul Fire & Marine

Ins. COs,

448 N.E.2d 357 (Mass. 1983) 26

Wayne Chemical v. Columbus Agency

Service Corp.,

S67 F.2€ 692 (7th Cir. i977) 50

Federal Rules, Regulations

and Statutes

Title 28 United States Code,

Section 1254(1) 3

Section 1332 5

Title 29 United States Code,

Sections 1001 et seq. i

Section 1002(5) iii, 4, 18, 19,

20, 44, 47

Section 1003 ii

Section 1003(a) iii, 4, 19, 41, 54

Sections 1021-1029 42

Section 1131 4, 42, 54

Section 1132 29

Section 1132(a) (1) (b) ai

Section 1144(a) 30

Section 1144(b) (2) (A) is @y. 2Ss

a0: 30

ERISA Section 514(a) 33

ERISA Section 514(b)(2)(a) 33

Supreme Court Rules,

Rule 17.1 22

Rule 17.1(a) 41

Rule 17.1(c) 40, 41

23 CFR,

Section 2510.3-1(j) 4, 17, 19, 44

Section 2560.503-l(e) (1) (3) 8

Section 2560.503-1(f) (g) 11

Section 2560.503-1l(h) 8

Section 2560.503-l(h) (4) 3

State Statutes

Arizona Rev. Stats,

Section 20-443 re

California Insurance Code,

Section 790.03(h) iS, 25, 426 37

Section 709.03(h) (2) a, Gs Bese

14, 16

Florida Stats,

Section 624.155 20

X1

Louisiana Rev. Stats,

Section 22:65/7

Missouri Rev. Stats,

Section 375.296

Section 375.420

Texas Insurance Code Ann.,

Article 3.62

Periodicals

Los Angeles Daily Journal,

October 5, 1988,

Page 1, column 4

Wall Street Journal,

October 5, 1988,

Page A-24, column 4

“M22

a3

ye

No.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1988

THEODORE KANNE and BEATRIZ KANNE,

PETITIONERS

Ve

CONNECTICUT GENERAL LIFE INS. CO.,

RESPONDENT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Theodore and Beatriz Kanne

respectfully petition this Court for a

Writ of Certiorari to review the judgment

of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit.

A. OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the District Court,

filed January 23, 1985, is reported at

=

607 F.Supp. 899 (Appendix A, annexed

hereto).

The original opinion of the Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit was filed

on June 4, 1987, and is’ reported at 819

F.2d 204 (Appendix B, annexed hereto).

On July 23, 1987, the Court of Appeals

vacated that opinion and requested

briefing on two issues: whether the

insurance policy in question is a plan

governed by ERISA and whether California

Insurance Code Section 7908.93(h)(2) is

preempted by ERISA. This order is

reported at 823 F.2d 284.

On October 4, 1988, the Court of

Appeals issued its opinion, vacating the

District Court's opinion (Appendix C,

annexed hereto). This opinion is

reported at 859 F.2d 96. On October 18,

1988, the Kannes filed a Petition for

Rehearing. On February 2, 1989, the

2

Court of Appeals issued an amended

opinion upon denial of rehearing

(Appendix D, annexed hereto). That

opinion is not yet in the official

reports as of this writing.

B. JURISDICTION

The opinion of the Court of Appeals

vacating the District Court's judgment

for petitioners was filed on October 4,

1988. The Court of Appeals modified its

Opinion on denial of the Kannes' petition

for rehearing, on February 2, 1989, which

is the date of the judgment sought to be

reviewed (Appendix D, infra). The

District Court entered its order vacating

the judgment on March 17, 1989. The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. Section 1254(1), by

reason of the Court of Appeals' holding

that the federal law of ERISA applies to

this action, and preempts petitioners'

3

State law remedies.

C. STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

INVOLVED IN THIS CASE

The verbatim text of the statutes

and regulations involved in this case is

annexed hereto as Appendix E. They are

as follows: 29 U.S.C. Section

1144(b)(2)(A): 29 U.S.C. Section 1083(a);

29 U.S.C. Section 1002(5): 29 U.S.C.

Section 1131; 29 CFR Section 25198.3-1(j4):;

California Insurance Code Section

796.83(h)(2).

D. STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This action was originally filed on

December 17, 1982 in the Superior Court

of the State of California (Appendix A,

Pe2). The complaint of petitioners

Theodore and Beatriz Kanne sought

compensatory and punitive damages under

California law against respondent

Connecticut General Life Insurance Co.

ia

a

(Connecticut General) and others

(Appendix A, p.3). Petitioners alleged

various causes of action arising out of

respondent's failure to pay claims for

medical benefits (ibid). On April 8,

1983, after various defendants in the

case were dismissed, the case was

remanded to federal court on the basis of

diversity jurisdiction (28 U.S.C. Section

1332) (Appendix A, p.4).

Petitioner Theodore Kanne was an

employee of Harlow Carpets (Appendix A,

p-5). Respondent Connecticut General had

issued a group medical insurance policy

to the ABC Trust, of which Harlow Carpets

was a member (ibid). On May 23, 1981,

the Kannes' son, Jonathan, was born in

the Netherlands two months premature

(Appendix A, p.6). Because Jonathan had

congestive heart failure and was

cyanotic, the doctors in the Netherlands

5

recommended that Jonathan be treated at

Moffitt Hospital in San Francisco,

California (id, pp. 6-7). Pursuant to

these recommendations, Jonathan was

transported from the Netherlands to San

Francisco by air ambulance (id, p.7).

Subsequently, petitioners incurred

substantial medical bills over a period

of time because of the gravity of

Jonathan's condition (Appendix A, pp. 8-

11). Jonathan was hospitalized after

surgery for the period from October 16,

1981 to November 13, 1981 (id, p. 10).

The bill for this hospitalization, in the

amount of $89,848.16, was received by

respondent Connecticut General On

December 29, 1981, at the latest

(Appendix A, at p.10). Connecticut

General falsely told Mr. Kanne that it

had not received the bill and used that

as a pretext for not paying it (id at pp.

6

OO

18-11). [4] Connecticut General paid

only $9,999 on the claim in February,

1982 and $9,999 in March, 1982 (Appendix

A at p.10). (5) It paid the remaining

sum, totaling $69,917.44, in September

and October, 1982, only after a

collection agency made demand and the

Kannes went to the expense of hiring an

4. In fact, the testimony

established that the bill was mailed to

Connecticut General in October, 1981 (RT

Vol. I, pp. 18-19, Vol. II, pp. 67-71),

and that Connecticut General not only had

the bill in its file, but was also

repeatedly notified by a co-insurer that

this bill was outstanding (RT Vol. I, pp.

63-64, Vol. II, pp. 111-115, 125, 128-9).

Sie At trial, Connecticut General

claimed it could not make payments of

more than $9,999 at a time because its

computer program could not write checks

for more than four digits (RT Vol. II,

p-148, lines 18-24). It also had an

internal rule that it could not write

more than two checks to any health care

provider in any one day (RT Vol. II,

p.-148, line 18-p.141, line 19). Even

with these artful self-imposed

restrictions aimed at delaying payments,

Connecticut General still could have paid

the claim far more quickly than it did.

7

attorney (ibid).

The District Court found that

"Connecticut General neither has

justified the delay in these payments nor

has provided any rationalization for its

failure to investigate in a timely

fashion the status of the $69,141.44 sum.

Connecticut General knew or should have

known that the sum had not’ been paid at

least as early as December 29, 1981, when

it received the balance forward

indication on the $89,840.16 bill."

(Appendix A, at Pp. 21) (emphasis

added). [6]

6. The Department of Labor

regulations provide that an insurance

company administering an _ ERISA plan is

permitted to delay any decision as to

whether to pay a claim for up to 300

days, by availing itself of extensions of

time permitted by the regulations. 29

CFR Section 2560.583-1(e)(1)(3): Section

2560.503-1(h). Even if the 300-day

provision is violated, the insurer is not

(Continued on next page)

) alti aaa: net “4 _

=

2

=

= sa .

i ae

Cad

>

a

4

apap | a Pee — rs

4

ae

am

2

The Kannes suffered excruciating

emotional turmoil because of Connecticut

General's failure to pay these bills. The

Kannes feared they would not be able to

secure for Jonathan the medical attention

necessary for his survival (RT Vol. I,

pp. 22-24, 71-76, Vol. II, p« 76}.

Because Connecticut General didn't pay

subject to any penalties because the only

result of failure to comply is that the

claim is deemed denied. See 29 CFR

Section 2560.503-1(h)(4):; Massachusetts

Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Russell, 473 U.S.

134, 144, 105 S.Ct. 2388, 3091 (1985).

The result is that the inordinate

delays in payment allowed by ERISA force

health care providers to, in effect,

provide interest-free loans to insurance

companies. Thus, the effect of broad

ERISA preemption on health care providers

could well be catastrophic.

Considerations such as these

impelled the California Medical

Association to file an Amicus Curiae

Brief in the California Supreme Court in

Goodrich v. General Telephone Co. of

California, $002951, and in Commercial

Life Ins. Co. v. Superior Court, supra,

FN 1, Supra, urging that ERISA should not

preempt state laws regulating insurance.

ai

f

7 :

a isallvaie

= a 7 -

war’ 7

_

Jonathan's physicians, said physicians

demanded that the Kannes pay cash for all

future visits (RT Vol. I, p.24, lines 10-

20, pps 72, 76). Mrs. Kanne was

therefore compelled to sneak out of the

doctors' offices after visits because the

Kannes couldn't pay the bills (RT Vol. I,

p.24, lines 21-24). [7]

Connecticut General's delays were

not caused by any dispute over whether

the claims were justly due. The only

claim that Connecticut General disputed

was the claim for payment of the air

ambulance. Connecticut General rejected

this claim, assigning different professed

reasons at different times (Appendix A at

Te Mr. Hanna, the manager of

Connecticut General's Los Angeles Claims

Center (RT Vol. IV, p.9), testified that

taking 11 months to pay a claim that was

clearly due would not violate Connecticut

General's standards (RT Vol. IV, p.16,

line 28 to p.17, line 2).

10

pp. 17-18). [8]

United States District Judge Edward

Rafeedie, sitting without a jury, found

that Connecticut General had breached the

common law duty of good faith and fair

dealing (Appendix A, pp. 22-27) and also

violated California Insurance Code

8. Although Connecticut General

claimed in this litigation that it was

acting as an ERISA "claims review

fiduciary" (see, e.g., Connecticut

General's reply brief to the Court of

Appeals, served January 38, 1986, at pp.

23, 36, 38), it never produced any

evidence that it (or anyone else) ever

complied -with ERISA's claims review

procedures, which required Connecticut

General to notify the Kannes of their

rights to review of its decision denying

this claim. See, e.g., 29 CFR Section

2560.5803-1(£)(g).

Thus, while Connecticut General has

insisted throughout this litigation that

this matter is governed by ERISA, it

ignored ERISA requirements when

compliance with these requirements was

inconvenient or potentially costly to it,

and none of the entities involved in this

case (i.e., Connecticut General, Harlow

Carpets or ABC Trust) has ever shown that

they complied with any of ERISA's

requirements.

Za

Section 799.03(h)(2), which prohibits the

failure to acknowledge and act reasonably

promptly upon communications with respect

to claims arising under insurance

policies (Appendix A, pp. 32-33). He

found that Connecticut General's behavior

caused the Kannes emotional distress

damages in the sum of $250,000 (Appendix

A, pp. 37-38), and that Connecticut

General's behavior was so outrageous that

an award of $580,808 exemplary damages

was appropriate as a penalty and

deterrent (Appenix A, pp. 37-38).

The District Court also held that

the insurance covered the air ambulance

expenses (Appendix A, pp- 16-20).

Another insurer, Metropolitan Life Ins.

Co., had paid its share of these expenses

(id, p.-7), leaving a balance of $2,234.88

that was payable by Connecticut General

(id at p.20).

12

The District Court also considered

Connecticut General's contention that

ERISA preempted the Kannes' cause of

action and stated that the insurance

arrangement was an ERISA plan (Appendix A

at p.12). The District Court did not

state its reasons for this conclusion,

which was immaterial to the decision,

since the District Court also concluded

that ERISA did not preempt the Kannes'

causes of action (id at pp. 12-14). [9]

Respondent appealed the District

Court's judgment to the Ninth Circuit

9. At about the time of the

District Court's decision, there were a

number of cases holding that ERISA

preemption did not apply to actions for

insurance bad faith, because of the

saving clause, 29 U.S.C. Section

1144(b)(2)(A). See, e.g.: Presti vv.

Connecticut General Life Ins. Co., 605

F.Supp. 163 (N.D. Cal. 1985): McLaughlin

v. Connecticut General Life Ins. Co., 565

F.Supp. 434 (N.D. Cal. 1983): Eversole v.

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 588 F.Supp.

1162 (C.D. Cal. 1980).

13

Court of Appeals. The appeal was first

argued and submitted on April 7, 1986

(Appendix D at p.75). On July 2, 1986,

the appeal was withdrawn from submission,

pending this Court's decision in Pilot

Life Ins. Co. ve. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41,

107 S.Ct. 1549 (1987) (Appendix D at pp.

76, O62}. On June 4, 1987, after Pilot

Life was decided, the Court of Appeals

resubmitted the case and reversed the

District Court's conclusion that the

Kannes' claims were not preempted

(Appendix B, pp. 44-52, Appendix D, pp.

83-84). On July 23, 1987, the Court of

Appeals granted the Kannes' petition for

rehearing and directed the parties to

brief two issues: whether the Kannes'

cause of action under California

Insurance Code Section 798.03(h)(2) is

preempted by ERISA and whether the

insurance policy in question is a plan

14

a 7 es n

iain Matto

;

B Pie ae Hy! 6

a“

a)

governed by ERISA. 823 F.2d 284,

Appendix D, pp. 77 and 84. On November

23, 1987, the Court of Appeals heard oral

argument on these issues (Appendix D at

p.76).

On October 4, 1988, the Court of

Appeals filed its opinion, reversing the

District Court's decision (Appendix C,

pp. 53-74). The Kannes' filed another

petition for rehearing on October 18,

1988. On February 2, 1989, the Court of

Appeals modified its opinion and denied

the petition for rehearing (Appendix D,

at pp. 75, et seq.).

As the opinion of the Court of

Appeals demonstrates, the disposition of

the issue of whether ERISA preempts

petitioners’ State law remedies under the

State statute, California Insurance Code

Section 798.83(h), depends on the

interpretation of this Court's decision

15

in Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, supra

(see Appendix D at pp. 91-96). The

Kannes contended that Pilot Life was

inapplicable because that case held only

that ERISA preempted common law causes of

action which were not state laws

regulating insurance, and hence did not

come within the ERISA savings clause.

The Kannes contended that their cause of

action for breach of California Insurance

Code Section 798.03(h)(2) is exempt from

ERISA by the savings clause, since

Section 798.83(h) (2) is a law which

regulates insurance (Appendix D at p.93).

The Court of Appeals held that it

was unnecessary to determine that issue.

The Court said:

“We can assume, without

deciding, that section

798.03(h) is a law regulating

insurance under the savings

Clause." (Appendix D at p. 93)

(emphasis added)

16

The Court of Appeals held that ERISA

preempted petitioners' cause of action

even if that cause of action was based on

a State law regulating insurance within

the meaning of the savings clause

(Appendix D at pp. 93-96). The Court of

Appeals interpreted the second part of

this Court's decision in Pilot Life (481

U.S. at pp. 51-57, 107 S.Ct. at pp. 1555-

8) to mean that ERISA civil enforcement

provisions are exclusive even where

plaintiffs are proceeding under a State

law regulating insurance (Appendix D at

pp. 93-96).

The Court of Appeals also held that

the insurance arrangement was a plan

subject to ERISA (Appendix Dat pp. 84-

91). The Court recognized that under

Department of Labor regulation 29 CFR

Section 2519.3=1(37) (1987) a group

insurance program is excluded from ERISA

17

if it contains the four criteria

described therein (Appendix D, pp. 87-

88). The Court concluded that the

evidence failed to establish that Mr.

Kanne's actual employer, Harlow Carpets,

had conducted any activities which would

take the insurance arrangement outside

the four criteria of the regulation

(Appendix D at pp. 88-89). However, the

Court held that Associated Builders &

Contractors (ABC), which purchased the

group insurance from Connecticut General,

could be considered an “ERISA employer,"

under 29 U.S.C. Section 1802(5) (Appendix

Dat pp. 89-98), which provides that an

"employer" includes “- group or

association of employers acting for an

employer in such capacity." [198]

19. As the Court knows, in order

for a plan to be governed by ERISA, it

must be established or maintained by any

(Continued on next page)

18

The Court of Appeals held that ABC

was an employer group or association

within the meaning of 29 U.S.C. Section

1982(5), and that the arrangement was an

ERISA plan because "ABC does not merely

advertise the group insurance, but

rather, as the administrator of the plan,

‘endorses' it," thereby establishing the

non-existence of one of the four criteria

set forth in 29 CFR Section 25198.3-1(j)

for excluding a plan from ERISA (the

third criterion) (Appendix D at p.9®@).

The Court concluded that if any of the

four criteria are absent, an ERISA plan

is established. See Appendix D at pp.

88, 89.

However, the opinion acknowledges

"employer" (unless it is established or

maintained by an employee organization,

which is not claimed here). 29 U.S.C.

Section 1003(a), set forth in Appendix E,

infra.

19

that at the trial "the parties did not

contest the issue of whether the ABC

Trust was an ERISA plan" (Appendix D,

p.86), and this issue was never

litigated. Hence, the opinion's

assumption that ABC was a bona fide

employer group within the meaning of 29

U.S.C. Section 1002(5) is not supported

by any evidence. See Section EII,

infra. [11]

Finally, the Court held that even

the Kannes' claim for reimbursement of

the air ambulance costs was preempted

(Appendix D, pp. 96-97). The Court said

that California's common law of contracts

is not a law that regulates insurance (id

ll. These matters were pointed out

in petitioners’ petition for rehearing to

ree Court of Appeals filed October 18,

1988.

The Court of Appeals‘ modification

of the opinion on denial of the rehearing

(Appendix D) did not further discuss

these matters.

20

|

at p. 97). The Court did not discuss any

reason that this claim could not be

recovered under ERISA (see 29 U.S.C.

Section 1132[a]{1](B]). The Court of

Appeals apparently assumed that the

“arbitrary and capricious" standard

governed claims brought under ERISA, as

contended by Connecticut General (see,

e.g-, Connecticut General's reply brief

filed in the Court of Appeals, served

January 38, 1986, at p. 36).

re |

E. REASONS THE WRIT SHOULD BE GRANTED

I. THE ISSUE OF WHETHER ERISA

PREEMPTS STATE LAW REMEDIES

PROVIDED BY A STATE LAW

REGULATING INSURANCE IS AN

ISSUE OF WIDESPREAD IMPORTANCE;

IT IS URGENT THAT THIS COURT

RESOLVE THIS ISSUE. [12]

The first question presented clearly

comes within the criteria of Rule 17.1.

} 4, 3 is of tremendous importance and

impacts on the rights of literally

millions of citizens of this country who

have employee group health and medical

insurance policies and seek State law

12. As noted above (Footnote l,

supra), the identical issue is presented

in the Petition for Writ of Certiorari in

the Commercial Life case, supra. We have

read that petition and adopt the

arguments contained therein by reference.

We will hereinbelow address ourselves to

additional reasons that the instant issue

merits the granting of the Kannes'

petition.

22

remedies when the insurers' failure to

honor these policies causes serious

hardship to ill and disabled

policyholders.

Indeed, the importance of this issue

has been conceded by one of respondent's

counsel, David Le. Bacon, Esq., who has

said that "[LiJlt's hard to overstate the

importance" of the Court of Appeals'

decision in the instant case (Los Angeles

Daily Journal, October 5, 1988, p.l.,

column 4) and "“({t]here are hundreds of

pending suits in California which involve

this very issue and hundreds and [sic]

millions of dollars [are] involved."

(Wall Street Journal, October 5, 1988,

p.A-24, column 4).

In California alone, there are

scores, if not hundreds, of cases pending

whose resolution is determined by the

issue of whether a citizen of a State may

a3

seek State law remedies for redress of

violations of State laws regulating

insurance. In Commercial Life Ins. Co.

v.- Superior Court, supra, the California

Supreme Court, in holding that actions

for breach of State laws regulating

insurance are preempted by ERISA, relied

extensively on the decision of the Court

of Appeals in the present Kanne case.

See 47 Cal. 3d at pp. 482-484, 764 P.2d

at pp. 1964-1866. [13] There are

13. The California Supreme Court

took for review at least five other cases

presenting the same issue: Goodrich v.

Gen. Tel. Co., supra, No. S002951,

DeFiori v. Bankers Life, No. S003448,

Pilot Life Ve Superior Court, No.

S003351, Blue Cross of Cal. v. Superior

Court, No. S004471 and General Tire &

Rubber Co. v. Superior Court, No.

LA32272. It retransferred these cases to

the California Courts of Appeal on

February 23, 1989 for reconsideration in

the light of the Commercial Life

decision. Commercial Life and these five

other cases which had already reached the

California Supreme Court are just the tip

of the iceberg.

24

countless other cases pending in the

Ninth Circuit and U.S. District Courts

of California and in the California State

Courts which present the very same

issue. [14]

Although the California Supreme

Court has now judicially abolished the

private right of action under California

Insurance Code Section 798.83(h), the

Court made it clear that the Legislature

of the State of California has the power

to reinstate this right of action.

14. The instant Kanne case is the

leading federal case on the subject, and

its importance is underscored by the

numerous Amicus Curiae Briefs filed in

the Court of Appeals. Amicus Curiae

included the United States Government in

support of Connecticut General and the

Attorney General of the State of

California in support of the Kannes. The

American Council of Life Insurance, the

Health Insurance Association of America

and the Association of California Life

Insurance Companies also filed Amicus

Curiae Briefs in support of Connecticut

General. Other “numerous amici” supported

the Kannes (Appendix D at pp. 78, 93).

25

Moradi-Shalal v. Fireman's Fund Ins.

Cos., 46 Cal.3d 287, 305, 758 P.2d 58, 69

(1988). Moreover, the Moradi-Shalal

decision applies prospectively only, and

does not affect the large number of

pending cases asserting causes of action

under California Insurance Code Section

798.83(h). See 46 Cal.3d at p.305, 758

P.2d at p. 69.

Nor is the reach of the present

issue confined to California. Numerous

other states have laws which seek to

deter unfair insurance practices by

assessing various penalties. See, e.g.:

Van Dyke v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins.

Co., 448 N.E.2d 357 (Mass. 1983) (cause

of action allowed for breach of

Massachusetts’ Insurance Unfair Claims

Practices Act): Griswold v. Union Labor

Life Ins. Co., 442 Atl.2d 920 (Conn.

1982) and Mead v. Burns, 5@9 Atl.2d 11

26

(Conn. 1986) (cause of action allowed for

breach of Connecticut's Unfair Trade

Practices Act); Sparks v. Republic Nat.

Life Ins. Co., 647 8.24 1127 (Ariz.

1982), cert. den., 459 U.S. 18078, 183

S.ct. 498 (1982) (to the same effect

under Ariz. Rev. Stats Section 20-443);

Jenkins v. J.C. Penney Cas. Ins. Co., 2898

S.E. 2d 252 (W.Va. 1981) (to the same

effect under West Virginia statute);

Klaudt v. Flink, 658 P.2d 1065 (Mont.

1983) (to the same effect under Montana

statute); Mo. Rev. Stat. Section 375.296

(allowing extracontractual damages and

attorneys fees against insurance

companies for vexatious refusal to pay);

Tex. Ins. Code Ann. Art. 3.62 (same); La.

Rev. Stats 22:657 (providing for

penalties for failure to promptly pay

claims arising out of health and accident

contracts).

The foregoing statutes, and similar

statutes in other states, will be

rendered a nullity under the Kanne

Court's interpretation of this Court's

decision in Pilot Life, supra. The Kanne

Court's interpretation of Pilot Life in

effect attributes to this Court's opinion

in Pilot Life a statutory interpretation

which ignores the plain words of the

statute. The Kanne Court's

interpretation is that the savings clause

does not apply to_ ERISA's enforcement

provisions. This is plainly incorrect.

The savings clause provides that

“nothing in this subchapter shall be

construed to exempt or relieve any person

from any law of any State which regulates

insurance..." 29 U.S.C. Section

1144 (b) (2) (A) (emphasis added). The

“subchapter” referred to is Subchapter I

of ERISA, entitled "Protection of

28

Employee Benefit Rights." The savings

clause is in Part 5 of Subchapter I. The

ERISA enforcement provisions are also in

Part 5 of Subchapter I. See 29 U.S.C.

Section 1132. Hence, the statute clearly

provides that ERISA's enforcement

provisions do not apply to State laws

regulating insurance. To interpret Pilot

Life as holding otherwise would impute to

this Court an intention to ignore the

plain words of the statute--an intention

which cannot be imputed to this Court.

It is particularly inappropriate to

impute such an intention to this Court

from statements in the Pilot Life

decision because the issue was not before

this Court in Pilot Life. Pilot Life did

not involve a State law regulating

29

insurance. [15]

We believe that the more rational

interpretation of the second half of

Pilot Life--and the interpretation

consistent with the statutory language--

is that the discussion therein merely was

15. Two other Court of Appeals

decisions have interpreted Pilot Life in

a fashion similar to the Ninth Circuit's

interpretation. See, e.g.-: In _ Re: Life

Ins. Co. of North America, 857 F.2d 11906

(8th Cir. 1988) (the Court held that

ERISA preempts Mo. Rev. Stat. Section

375.428, which provides a penalty for

vexatious refusal to pay insurance

benefits. The Court relied on the second

portion of the Pilot Life opinion, which

it construed as holding that "no state

law purporting to supply additional

remedies will escape the preemptive

effect of Section 1144(a) as laws ‘which

regulate insurance' under Section

1144(b)(2)(A)" (857 Fed. 2d at p.1194]);

Anschultz v. Connecticut General Life

Ins. CoO., 850 F.2d 1467 (llth Cir. 1988)

(holding that under Pilot Life, ERISA

preempts the Florida Insurance Unfair

Practices Act, Florida Stat. Section

624.155. The Court, relying on the

second portion of Pilot Life, held:

“where otherwise applicable, ERISA

preempts all state law." [850 F.2d at

p.1469] [emphasis in original]).

38

intended to set out another element to

consider in determining whether a State

law regulates insurance so as to come

within the saving clause. In discussing

the criteria to be utilized in

determining whether the saving clause

applies, this Court in Pilot Life said

that several considerations guided it.

481 U.S. at p.48, 1087 S.Ct. at p. 1553.

First, this Court was guided by a

"common-sense view of the language of the

saving clause itself" (ibid). Then, it

applied the three criteria set forth in

Union Labor Life Ins. Co. v. Pireno, 458

U.S. 119, 129, 102 S.Ct. 3902, 3009

at pp. 1553-4). Finally, in the portion

of Pilot Life relied on by the Court of

Appeals in the instant case, this Court

considered the role of ERISA in promoting

uniformity of enforcement for actions by

31

ERISA-plan participants and beneficiaries

(481 U.S. at pp. 51-57, 107 S.Ct. at pp.

1555-1558).

We submit that this last criterion

constitutes a criterion this Court

considered in determining the scope of

the saving clause and it alone cannot

take a state law regulating insurance

Outside the ambit of the saving clause.

Otherwise, it would nullify the saving

clause completely, and would make

superfluous this Court's previous

discussion in the Pilot Life opinion as

to whether the State law in question

regulated insurance and satisfied the

Union Labor Life requirements.

Thus, the opinion in Pilot Life

concludes with the statement that the

“state law suit asserting improper

processing of a claim for benefits under

an ERISA-regulated plan is not saved by

32

Section 514(b)(2)(a) and therefore is

pre-empted by Section 514(a)." (481 U.S.

at p. 57, 107 S.Ct. at p.1558) (emphasis

added). We interpret this to mean that

the suit was pre-empted because the law

involved was not a State law regulating

insurance within the saving clause. It

does not mean that suits based on State

laws which do regulate insurance and are

hence within the saving clause are also

subject to pre-emption. If this Court

intended to hold that ERISA's enforcement

provisions preempt all State laws

regardless of whether or not they

regulate insurance, it would have been

wholly unnecessary for this Court to

extensively discuss all of the reasons

that the Mississippi common law rules

involved in Pilot Life did not constitute

a state law regulating insurance.

This conclusion is supported by this

a2

Court's decision in Metropolitan Life

Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724,

195 S.Ct. 2388 (1985), where this Court

held that there is a presumption against

pre-emption of areas of "traditional

state regulation" (471 U.S. at p.748, 105

S.Ct. at p.2389) and that “we are not

inclined to read limitations into federal

statutes in order to enlarge their pre-

emptive scope.” (471 U.S. at p.741, 195

S.Ct. at p.2390). This Court rejected

the contention that "Congress intended

fa] marrow reading of the saving clause."

(471 U.S. at pp. 745-746, 105 S.Ct. at p-

2392. See also 471 U.S. at pp. 746-747,

195 S.Ct. at p.2393). This Court stated

that the saving clause is "broad on its

face" (471 U.S. at op. 746, FN 24, 105

$.Cct. at p.2393, FN 24). These

statements establish that the saving

clause may not be nullified by refusing

34

to apply it to a situation that comes

squarely within its terms.

The interpretation of the Court of

Appeals in the instant case would mean

that this Court did a complete about face

only two years after Metropolitan Life

was decided. Pilot Life contains nothing

to indicate that this Court intended to

effect such a sweeping reversal of the

holding in Metropolitan Life.

We respectfully submit that the

District Court in Graves v. Blue Cross of

California, 688 F.Supp. 1405 (N.D. Cal.

1988) correctly interpreted Pilot Life.

Therein, the Court rejected the

interpretation that the second half of

Pilot Life limited actions under State

laws regulating insurance to ERISA

remedies. The Court said:

"..e-such a holding would

conflict with both the language

of ERISA itself and the Supreme

35

Court's pronouncements in

Metropolitan Life. . .Since

ERISA's civil enforcement

provisions are contained in the

same subchapter as the saving

clause, see 29 U.S.C. Section

1132, the plain language of the

statute precludes a ruling that

state laws falling within the

boundaries of the saving clause

are nevertheless preempted if

they interfere with the

policies underlying the

exclusive civil enforcement

scheme. In effect, such a

holding would rewrite the

Saving Clause..." (688 F.Supp.

at pp. 1412-1413) (emphasis

added).

The District Court then noted the

language of Metropolitan Ins. Co.

Ve

Massachusetts, supra, and said:

"In this Court's view, the

only way to square Pilot Life

with Metropolitan Life and the

plain language of ERISA is to

read the Pilot Life exclusivity

analysis as merely bolstering

the Court's apparent conclusion

that the Mississippi bad faith

law was not insurance

regulation within the meaning

of the saving clause. In other

words, the insurance regulation

and exclusive remedy discussion

in Pilot Life are not

independent, alternative

36

holdings, but interdependent

considerations supporting the

Court's conclusion that the

saving clause does not apply."

(688 F.Supp. at p.1413)

(emphasis added)

In Commercial Life, supra, the

dissenting opinion of Justice Mosk

(joined in by Justice Broussard) points

out that under the statute it is plain

"that Section 798.83(h) is saved from

preemption by the express terms of ERISA:

the provision clearly ‘regulates

insurance’ [citation]. As I read their

opinion, the majority do not seriously

dispute that section 798.83(h) comes

within ERISA's saving clause--nor could

they fettation?. * * * ERISA does not

preempt Section 798.03(h), but expressly

saves the provision as a law

‘regulatLing] insurance.’ Further, the

civil enforcement scheme of the federal

statute does not displace the civil

37

enforcement scheme of the state act: the

former concerns the rights of employees

under covered plans, the latter the

duties of insurers under state laws."

(47 Cal. 3d at pp. 488-489, 764 P.2d at

pp. 1868-19869).

Justice Mosk then said:

"There is a growing and

ominous trend toward federal

preemption of issues that

belong within the sphere of

control by the individual

states. And these inroads into

traditional federalism are

taking place despite their

inconsistency with pious

rhetoric emanating from

Washington about returning

government to the people at

state and local levels." (47

Cal. 3d at p. 490, 764 P.2d at

p.-1869) (emphasis added).

We respectfully submit that these

comments are particularly appropriate in

light of the fact that the insurance

industry--with all the vast and able

legal resources at its command--has been

unable to cite in support of its position

38

one single expression from Congress in

all of the writings on ERISA's

legislative history. Nothing in that

history shows that Congress intended to

place sick and disabled beneficiaries of

employee group insurance plans at the

mercy of their insurers. To the

contrary, the saving clause constitutes a

plain expression of Congress' intent to

leave to the States the traditional State

law regulation of the duties of insurers

to the States’ citizens, as Justice Mosk

pointed out. See also: Petition for

Writ of Certiorari in Commercial Life,

supra, which sets forth other authorities

regarding the intent of Congress.

We respectfully submit that these

serious questions concerning

interpretation of Pilot Life urgently

require this Court to grant the instant

petition and definitively resolve the

39

question of whether or not the States are

powerless to enact or enforce legislation

designed to deter insurance companies

from inflicting on a State's citizens

anguish and hardship such as that

suffered by the Kannes at bar. We

respectfully submit that this issue is a

vitally important question of federal law

which has not been, but should be,

settled by this Court (Rule 17.1l(c)),

regardless of whether we are right or

wrong with respect to the ultimate

result.

II. THE ISSUE OF THE ELEMENTS

NECESSARY TO ESTABLISH THAT AN

INSURANCE ARRANGEMENT IS _ AN

“EMPLOYEE BENEFIT PLAN" SUBJECT

TO ERISA IS AN’ ISSUE OF WIDE-

SPREAD IMPORTANCE WHICH HAS

NEVER BEEN RULED ON BY THIS

COURT.

The issue of the elements necessary

to establish that a group insurance

policy is an "employee benefit plan"

subject to ERISA, pursuant to 29 U.S.C.

Section 1003(a), is also appropriate for

review, under the criteria of both Rule

17.1(a) and (c). As will be seen below,

the instant decision is in conflict with

other Court of Appeals decisions on this

issue. It is a vital issue which affects

every insurance arrangement made in an

employment setting. It affects the

rights of citizens of States to pursue

State law remedies in cases where an

employer arranges for an insurance policy

covering its employees, but there is no

written employee benefit plan and no

evidence that the employer had any

intention whatever to establish an

employee benefit plan subject to ERISA or

made any attempt to comply with the

41

various ERISA regulations governing such

plans. Such regulations include numerous

onerous reporting and record keeping

requirements. See, e.ge- 29 U.S.C.

Sections 10821-1029. An employer who

willfully violates any of these

provisions is guilty of a criminal act,

subjecting that employer to fine and

imprisonment. 29 U.S.C. Section 1131.

See Taggart Corp. v. Life & Health

Benefits Admin., 617 F.2d 1208, 1211 (5th

Cir. 1988), cert. den. sub. nom., Taggart

Corp. v. Efros, 458 U.S. 1030, 1801 S.Ct.

1739 (1981).

We respectfully submit that

employers, who are subject to criminal

prosecution, and employees, who are

threatened with loss of valuable rights

under State law, should be clearly and

definitively advised by this Court of the

circumstances when an insurance

42

arrangement constitutes an "employee

benefit plan" subject to ERISA.

This Court has never spoken on this

issue. A leading case from this Court

makes it clear that the provisions of

ERISA do not apply unless there is a plan

Or program. Fort Halifax Packing Co. v.

Coyne, Ga ~ a8) Oe. 3213

(1987). It does not address the issue of

the elements necessary to establish such

a plan or program.

The present opinion of the Court of

Appeals graphically demonstrates the

confusion and conflict among the Courts

on this issue. The Court of Appeals'

finding that an unwritten "employee

benefit plan" subject to ERISA existed in

the present case was based on at least

two propositions that are the subject of

conflict among the authorities:

(1) The proposition that the

43

nonexistence or absence of any of the

four criteria set forth in Department of

Labor regulation 29 CFR Section 25198.3-

1(34) is sufficient to subject an

insurance arrangement to ERISA (see

Section D, supra, Appendix Dat pp. 88,

89, 98).

(2) The proposition that the acts

of an employer association, as defined in

29 U.S.C. Section 1002(5), is sufficient

to subject an insurance arrangement to

ERISA, even when there is no evidence

that the direct employer played any part

in the management of the employer

association and no evidence that the

employer association consisted of

homogeneous, related employers (Section

D, supra. Appendix D at pp. 86, 89-90).

In the present case, the Court of

Appeals relied on these two propositions

to strip the Kannes of their rights under

44

well-established State law--and of the

fruits of this protracted and expensive

litigation.

The questionable nature of the first

proposition is established by holdings

that the nonexistence of one of the four

criteria set forth in the Department of

Labor regulation does not establish that

an insurance arrangement is subect to

ERISA. Thus, for example, in Rizzi v.

Blue Cross of So. Cal, 206 Cal. App. 3d

388, 253 Cal. Rptr. 541 (1988) the Court

analyzed the authorities and pointed out

that some authorities have held that

there is no ERISA plan “where the

employer ‘endorsed’ the policy sold by an

insurance trust, but the employer had no

control of the trust operation,

contributed no funds on behalf of the

employees, and the insurance brokers sold

the policies directly to individual

45

employees who paid the entire premiums.

[citations]" 205 Cal. App. 3d at p.386,

253 Cal. Rptr. at p.545 (emphasis added).

At bar, on the other hand, the alleged

presence of endorsement, which

established the non-existence of the

third criterion in the Department of

Labor regulation, was held to be

sufficient by itself to establish an

unwritten ERISA plan. See Appendix D at

pp. 88, 89, 96. See also: Sayble v.

Blue Cross of So. Cal., Cal. App. 3d

P Cal. Rptr. » filed March 290,

1989 (reported in the Los Angeles Daily

Journal Daily Appellate Reports for March

22, 1989 at p. 3587) (the Court held that

payment of premiums, which established

the non-existence of the first criterion

in the Department of Labor regulation,

was not sufficient to establish an

employee benefit plan where, as at bar,

46

Ll lela

there was no evidence of any other

employer involvement).

Moreover, in the present case the

Court of Appeals did not even find that

Mr. Kanne's direct employer's involvement

established the absence of any of the

four Department of Labor criteria. The

Court of Appeals found only that the acts

of ABC, an alleged employer group,

constituted "“endorsement," establishing

the absence of the third criterion

(Appendix D, pp. 88-90).

However, in order to be an "ERISA

employer" under 29 U.S.C. Section

18982(5), an alleged employer group or

association must be "a group or

association of employers acting for an

employer in such capacity." It has been

held that an employer association is not

an “ERISA employer" under this provision,

unless the evidence establishes that the

47

individual employer played a part in

management of the employer association.

If the employer association fails to show

what role the individual employers played

in itS management, it is not covered by

ERISA. See, e.g., Matthew 25 Ministries,

Ince, Ve Corcoran, 771 F.24 21 (24 Cir.

1985): Donovan v. Dillingham, 688 F.2d

1367, 1373, FN 11 (llth Cir. 1982). See

also Hamberlin v. VIP Ins. Trust, 434

F.Supp. 1196, 1198 (D. Ariz. 1977) (for

an employer group to be ané_ée ERISA plan,

the employers must have a voice in its

management); Baucom v. Pilot Life Ins.

Co., 674 F.Supp. 1175, 1181 (M.D.N.C.

1987) (same) ; Insurance & Prepaid

Benefits Trusts _v. Marshall, 90 FRD 783

(C.D. Cal. 1981) (an employer group can

qualify as an ERISA plan only when such

group involves an association of

employers, the employers participate in

48

the benefit committee and that committee

makes final decisions). See also:

Rizzi, supra.

Moreover, where an employer group

consists of "heterogeneous, unrelated

employers," ERISA is inapplicable.

Credit Managers Ass'n v. Kennesaw Life &

Acc. Ins., 809 F.2d 617, 625 (9th Cir.

1987). In the Rizzi case, supra, the

California Court of Appeal specifically

questioned the instant Kanne decision

because of this rule (206 Cal. App. 3d at

p.386, FN 4, 253 Cal. Rptr. at p.544, FN

4).

Thus, the Court of Appeals’ holding

in the instant case is directly contrary

to all of the above authorities, since

there was no evidence that Harlow Carpets

(or, for that matter, any other employer)

played any part in the management of ABC,

the purported "ERISA employer," and no

49

evidence that ABC was a group of

homogeneous, related employers.

Another conflict among the

authorities is presented by the question

of whether employer intent is necessary

to establish an unwritten employee

benefit plan subject to ERISA.

In Wayne Chemical v. Columbus Agency

Service Corp., 567 F.2d 692 (7th Cir.

1977), the Court held that an employee

benefit plan governed by ERISA is not

established when the employer applies for

insurance and pays premiums "without any

knowledge that the plan exists.

Establishing, maintaining or

participating in a plan requires an

intent, or ie (567 F.2d at p.699)

(emphasis added) Similarly, the opinion

of the Court of Appeals in the present

case also indicates that an intent to

form an ERISA plan is necessary, since it

uy

'¢,.)

x

found such intent, although only on the

part of ABC (Appendix D at p.98). On the

other hand, Donovan v. Dillingham, supra,

indicates that intent is unnecessary,

Since it sets forth different criteria

for determining whether a plan is

governed by ERISA (688 F.2d at p.

1373). [16] Rizzi, supra, specifically

raises the question of "whether a test

based on an employer's subjective intent

is appropriate." (206 Cal. App. 3d at p.

387, FN 7, 253 Cal. Rptr. at p.545, FN

7).

The Courts of Appeal are also in

conflict on the subject of whether the

“bare purchases of health insurance" may

constitute a "plan" subject to ERISA.

16. The Donovan test is "whether

from the surrounding circumstances a

reasonable person could ascertain the

intended benefits, beneficiaries, source

of financing, and procedures for

receiving benefits" (688 F.2d at p. 1373).

51

Taggart Corp. ve. Life & Health

Benefits Admin., supra, 617 F.2d 1208,

1211, held that there is no ERISA plan

under these circumstances. Donovan v.

Dillingham, supra, holds that “bare

purchases of health insurance" is

evidence of an employee benefit plan

governed by ERISA and the issue is one of

fact to be decided on a case by case

basis (688 F.2d at p.1373). Donovan

specifically disapproves the holding of

Taggart Corp., supra, on this subject.

(688 F.2d at p. 1375).

In Rizzi v. Blue Cross of So. Cal.,

supra, the California Court of Appeal

noted the confusion and inconsistency

among the authorities (206 Cal. App. 3d

at pp. 384-388, 253 Cal. Rptr. at pp.

543-546), stating that the various

“analytical approaches" the Courts have

considered "do not always coincide" (286

$2

Cal.App.3d at p. 389, 253 Cal.Rptr. at p.

547).

Indeed, as noted above (FN 2,

supra), counsel for respondent have

themselves advised this Court that there

is “An Increasingly Significant Circuit

Split And Wide-Spread Division And Error

In The Lower Courts" on this subject

(Petition in Pacific Mutual Life Ins Co.

v. Turnbow, supra, p. 16): a "sharp

Circuit conflict" on this subject (id. at

p- 18): and “increasing division and

error in the lower courts on ERISA's most

basic issues of coverage and preemption,

all stemming from an irreconcilable

Circuit conflict." (id. at p. 19).

- 29 therefore clear that the

certainty so urgently needed on this

subject is utterly lacking, and it is

vital that this Court issue a definitive

pronouncement of the criteria that

a2

determine what constitutes an employee

benefit plan governed by ERISA, under 29

U.S.C. Section 19803(a). We respectfully

suggest that this Court should adopt

criteria which may be easily understood

and applied.

We respectfully submit that it would

be error to permit vague, ambiguous and

obscure criteria to determine this

question, and particularly because of the

criminal sanctions which may be imposed

upon employers for failure to comply with

ERISA requirements, under 29 U.S.C.

Section 1131. It is elementary that a

criminal statute must be plain and

unambiguous. Under current authorities,

there is no way of knowing with certainty

when ERISA is applicable and when the

duty of compliance with ERISA regulations

arises.

We therefore respectfully submit

54

that it is urgently necessary that the

state and federal courts throughout this

country receive concrete guidance from

this Court on this subject. Otherwise,

confusion and uncertainty will

proliferate and will create intolerable

chaos in the state and federal court

systems. [17]

Conclusion

This Court's decision in Pilot Life,

supra, urgently requires clarification in

order that the States may know whether or

17. Prior to this Court's decision

in Pilot Life, most courts had held that

ERISA did not preempt common law causes

of action for bad faith. See, e@.G-,

cases cited at FN 9, supra. Under Pilot

Jife there are a large number of common

Taw bad faith cases throughout the

country that would be preempted by ERISA,

if it applies, and the issue of whether

it applies, which was largely academic

before Pilot Life, has now become

pivotal. See, e.g-, Appendix D at pp.

os

ui

ui

not they have the power to enact laws

regulating insurance which will

effectively deter predatory insurance

practices such as those demonstrated by

the record at bar. It was never the

intention of Congress to handcuff the

States' ability to protect their citizens

from the hardships which may result from

such practices. Nor did Congress intend

to compel health care providers, such as

hospitals--whose costs and finances are

already a grave national problem--to, in

effect, make interest-free loans to

insurance companies (see FN 6, supra).

It is also urgently necessary that

the State and Federal Courts be afforded

guidance with respect to when the federal

law embodied in ERISA applies to medical

and disability insurance arrangements

that are not the subject of any written

employee benefit plan. The consequences

56

a

nities ii ens

Re ae ee

|

4

+ ,c

+

—

SYryYr é€

7 2

wy

19

present state of confusion and

nty are most grave All sides to

“Ontrovers acree that an

itative pronouncement from this

ecessary to prevent the further

this deeply troubling confusion

rtaint

Respectfully submitted,

LEONARD SACKS

15915 Ventura Boulevard

Suite 384

Encino, California 91436

(818) 986-7288

Attorney for Petitioners

Theodore and Beatriz Kanne

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.