Petition for Writ of Certiorari — North American Philips Corp. v. Windmere Corp.

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

8§-16 Zu FILED

APR 5 1989

No. _ SPANIOL, JR.

CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

NORTH AMERICAN PHILIPS CORPORATION,

U.S. PHILIPS CORPORATION and

N.V. PHILIPS’ GLOEILAMPENFABRIEKEN,

V.

WINDMERE CORPORATION,

Petitioners,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

WILLIAM E. WILLIS

125 Broad Street

New York, New York 10004

(212) 558-4000

Counsel for Petitioners

GARRARD R. BEENEY

JOHN L. HARDIMAN

LISAMICHELLE DAVIS

SULLIVAN & CROMWELL

Of Counsel

April 5, 1989

Question Presented

Does a competitor with a large market share—who

intends to take business away from and thereby injure a

competitor—monopolize in violation of § 2 of the Sherman

Act by selling new products at low but profitable prices

that are above its average variable cost?

Rule 28.1 Statement

The parents, subsidiaries, and affiliates of petitioners

North American Philips Corporation and USS. Philips

Corporation, other than wholly owned subsidiaries, are

listed below:

N.V. Gemeenschappelijk Bezit van Aandeelen

Philips’ Gloeilampenfabrieken

N.V. Philips’ Gloeilampenfabrieken

FGP Corp.

Laser Magnetic Storage Company

Optimage Interactive Services

Philips and Dupont Optical Company

AirVision

Japan Magnavox Navigation Equipment Company,

Ltd.

Sanken-Airpax Co., Ltd.

The parents, subsidia’ tes, and affiliates of petitioner N.V.

Philips’ Gloeilampenfabricken, other than wholly owned

subsidiaries, are listed below:

Foreign

N.V. Gemeenschappelijk Bezit van Aandeelen

Philips’ Gloeilampenfabrieken Sisteval S.A.

Associated Radio Finance (Australia) Limited

Electric Lamp Manufacturers (Australia) Pty Ltd.

Lamp Partnership Agreement

Medical Applications Pty Limited

Neutrodyne Pty Ltd.

The Travel Software Company Pty Limited

Bangladesh Electrical Industries Limited

Bangladesh Lamps Limited

ACEC Lighting

ill

Cable and Wire Assemblies

Europese Mij voor Fabricage en Verkoop van

Gloeilampenonderdelien “E.M.G.O.”

Philips Coordination Center

Philips Matsushita Battery Corporation

SY MEA S.A.

Telecity DC-I

Unicar Travels S.A.

Vermont S.A.

Bankgeschaft Heinrich Behncke GmbH

BTS-Broadcast Television Systems GmbH

Polygram GmbH

Polygram S.A.

Polygram Leisure Ltd.

Clouth Gummiwerke AG

Euroventures Deutschland GmbH & Co. KG

Grundig Aktiengesellschaft

Grundig Elektrogerate Gessellschaft mbH

Grundig Verwaltungs-GmbH

Norddeutsche Seekabelwerke AG

Philips Kommunikations Industrie Aktiengesellschaft

Philips Mietsystem GmbH

Tellus Grundstuchsverwaltungs GmbH

Fonobras-Distribuidora Fonografica Brasileira Ltda.

Peterco do Nordeste Produtos Eletricos S.A.

Modu-Tronics Inc.

Beiiing Philips Audio/Video Corporation

Car Audio Electronics (China) Company Limited

Hua Fei Colour Display Systems Company, Ltd.

Shenzhen Shen Fei Laser Optical Systems

Company Ltd.

The Sino-Dutch International Engineering

Company Ltd.

Yangtze Optical Fibre and Cable Company, Ltd.

iV

Industria Andina de Iluminacion

Industrias Centrales del Acero S.A.—

“Induacero S.A.”

El Nasr Company for Electrical and Electronic

Apparatus (NEEASAA)

Philippine Glass Bulbs, Inc.

COGEDEP, Compagnie Generale Europeenne de

Distribution et d’Edition Phonographique S.A.

Compagnie Philips Eclairage

La Radiotechnique

Laura Hallyday Productions S.A.

S.A. d'Etudes et Realisations Nucleaires-

S.0.D.E.R.N.

Self Music S.A.

Service S.A.

Societe pour la standardisation et l’integration

de l'image a l’informatique (S.S.I.I.I.)

Sois Villes Lumieres

Telecommunications Radioe!ectriques et

Telephoniques “TRT” S.A.

Polygram Records Ltd.

Records Manufacturers (Ghana) Ltd.

Car Audio Electronics (Hong Kong) Limited

Cinepoly Records Co. Ltd.

Electronic Devices Limited

P & M Properties Ltd.

Zhen Shi Investments Ltd.

Silicon & Software Systems Limited

Stromsay Ltd.

Hind Lamps Ltd.

Music India Ltd.

Peico Electronics & Electricals Limited

Punjab Anand Lamp Industries Ltd.

P.T. Philips Development Corporation

P.T. Philips-Ralin Electronics

Daco Ltd. (Private Joint Stock Company)

Iranian Lamps Ltd. (Private Joint Stock Company )

Radioelectric Iran Ltd. (Public Joint Stock

Company )

Chapulin Edizioni Musicali S.r.1.

Denshi Media Services Company Limited

Japan Interactive Media Inc.

Japan New Media Systems, Inc. ;

K.K. Keystone

Marantz Japan, Inc.

Matsushita Electronics Corporation

Nihon Micro Motor Co. Ltd.

Nihon Philips Corporation

Nihon Tecnico K.K.

Nippon Phonogram Co. Ltd.

Philips Sensor Technology Corp.

PNN Corporation

Polydor K.K.

Red Bus Enterprise Inc.

Sanken-Airpax Co. Ltd.

Takahashi Kogei Co. Ltd.

Your Records K.K.

Light Incorporated and Trading S.A.L.

Binafon Telecommunications Sdn. Berhad

Electronic Systems (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd.

Malaysian Lamps Sendirian Berhad

Maltronics Sendirian Berhad

Manufacture Nationale pour la Refrigeration

et ’ Electronique “MANAR”

Maroc Lumiere Industrie S.A.

Omnium de Participations et de Gestion

Maghrebin “O.P.G.M.”

Societe Anonyme Marocaine de Telecommunications

“SAMTEL”

Vi

Societe Marocaine de Commerce et Industrie

Electronique “SOMACIEL”

Societe Marocaine “MARIX”

Compania de Vidrio Industrial, S.A. de C.V.

Compania Mexicana de Componentes, S.A. de C.V.

Telecommunicaciones y Systemas Profesionales, S.A.

de C.V.

Art Data Institute B.V.

ASM Lithography B.V.

AT&T Network Systems International B.V.

Bank Mendes Gans N.V.

Business Logistics Systems (B.L.S.)

B.V. Grammoservice, Distributiemaatschappij voor

Grammofoonplaten

Circle Information Systems B.V.

Holco Computerservices & Software B.V.

Hollandse Signaalapparaten B.V.

Micro Scope B.V.

Optical Disc Mastering (ODM)

Philips and Du Pont Optical Company

Phonosongs (V.O.F.)

Polygram N.V.

Polysongs (V.O.F.)

Record Service Benelux (V.O.F.)

Splendor Gloeilampenfabrieken B.V.

Twilo B.V.

Whirlpool International B.V.

Wisselsongs (V.O.F.)

Amalgamated Finance Ltd.

Cablevision New Zealand Ltd.

Flourescent Lamp Partnership

New Zealand Electric Lamp Manufacturers Ltd.

Tisco Holdings (New Zealand Ltd. )

Associated Electronic Products (Nigeria) Limited

Polygram Records Ltd.

Vii

AKG Holding AG

“Philips” Mietfinanzierungs-GmbH

SELTRON International Export-Import

Gesellschaft mbH

Telekabel—Fernsehnetz Graz Betriebsgesellschaft

mbH

Telekabel—Fernsehnetz Klagenfurt

Betriebsgesellschaft mbH

Telekabel—Fernsehnetz Region Baden

Betriebsgesellschaft mbH

Telekabel—Fernsehnetz Wiener Neustadt/

Neunkirchen Betriebsgesel!schaft mbH

Telekabel Wien Gesellschaft mbH

Philips Electrical Industries of Pakistan Limited

Afalesa

Electro Valvuia S.A.

Industria Electronica de Comunicaciones S.A.

Infoservicios, S.A.

Union Electrodomesticos S.A.

Compact Disc Industries Co., Ltd.

Iwakura Press Industry Ltd.

Taiwan Lighting Industries Co., Ltd.

Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company

Limited

Electrical Lamp Manufacturers Thailand Limited

Windmill Company Ltd.

Avex A.S.

Societe Tunisienne d’Eclairage

Societe Tunisienne d’Industrie Electronique et de

Television “S.T.I.E.T.”

Birlesik Aydinlatma Sanayi ve Ticaret AS.

Turk Philips Aydinlatma Sanayi ve Ticaret Anonim

Sirketi

Turk Philips Sanayi Anonim Sirketi “Philisan”

Vili

Turk Philips Ticaret Anonim Sirketi

Adrawing Ltd.

Alto Music Ltd.

Bank Three Holdings Ltd.

Cedarwood Music Ltd.

Channel 5 Video Distribution Ltd.

Debonaire Music Ltd.

European Cables Ltd.

F.F.R.R. Music Ltd.

F.F.R.R. Records Ltd.

Go! Discs Ltd.

Gralto Music Ltd.

Kempston (1987) Ltd.

Pageant Music Ltd.

Paragon Publicity & Public Relations Ltd.

Philips Lighting Manufacturing Ltd.

Spencer Davis Music Ltd.

Tiger Music Ltd.

Validfirst Ltd.

Aberdare Cables Africa Limited

A.I.B. Investments (Pty) Ltd.

Associated Glass Works (Pty) Ltd.

Consolidated Cable Investments (Pty) Ltd.

Electric Lamp Manufacturers of South Africa

(partnership )

Electric Lamp Manufacturers of South Africa

(Pty) Ltd.

PEC Investments (Proprietary) Limited

Philips Electronics Holdings Limited

PISA Investments (Pty) Ltd.

Swiss Office Machinery Company (Pty) Ltd.

Hanwha Domestic Appliances Co. Ltd.

A.P. Radio, Goteborg

Grammo Rack Service AB

Dick James Music AG

ix

Discorack AG

Faselec AG

Flammesco AG

Gluhlampenfabrik Gloria AG

Studer and Philips CD Systems AG

Validfirst Ltd.

Domestic

American Interactive Media Inc.

Ice Ltd.

Laser Magnetic Storage International Company

OptImage Interactive Services Company

Philips and Du Pont Optical Company

Polygram Music Publishing Inc.

Polygram Songs Inc.

Polygram Tunes Inc.

The Educational Video Group Inc.

Airvision

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Rennes FONNEE oo ii ass ok x es oe eee

tle 26.8 UM... so be cee ei eee

Table of Authorities ......... Re NRA EAD Ayal

CE SI io ae Gang ise rege

PN er re ee er ce te eee

The Court of Appeals’ Decision ...........

Reasons for Granting the Petition .............

IRS neta aie a ea aaa er a ae

Appendix:

A.

B.

Opinion of the Court of Appeals, November

PRA cs presen rec ie ate eater a

Opinion of the District Court, June 8, 1988 ..

Judgment of the Court of Appeals, Novem-

EME DG, PGW, op oe kone ee De eaee es

Order of the Court of Appeals Denying Re-

hearmg, January 13, 1989 0... 6 ka

Order of the Court of Appeals Declining Sug-

gestion for Rehearing En Banc, January 27,

SOE een ae We he a ke

aon MN NY NY NY

Bi

Fl

Xli

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

PAGE

Adjusters Replace-A-Car, Inc. v. Agency Rent-A-

Car, Inc., 735 F.2d 884 (Sth Cir. 1984), cert.

denied, 469 U.S. 1160 (1965) .......02.22.. 15

American Tobacco Co. v. United States, 328 U.S.

ee ee ea a ek cee eae es 14-15

Arthur §. Langenderfer, Inc. v. S.E. Johnson Co.,

729 F.2d 1050 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 469

ee a ir a a a ieck he we os a 11,14

Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen Highlands Skiing Corp..,

ee ee SD ok s Sk eas oes es 7, 14-15

Brown Shoe Co. v. United States, 370 U.S. 294

| Ae me ae ee ee ae 13

Brunswick Corp. v. Pueblo Bowl-O-Mat, Inc., 429

Cire Sere) va Ch ba eh eke keene a 13

Cargill, Inc. v. Monfort of Colorado, Inc., 479 U.S.

Csi ew hs xs SA ee 2, 10, 13-14

Clamp-All Corp. v. Cast Iron Soil Pipe Institute,

851 F.2d 478 (Ist Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 109

es ee MENT Pare ttre Ue ee yes a4 11

Hayes v. Solomon, 597 F.2d 958 (Sth Cir. 1979),

cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1078 (1980) .......... 15

Henry v. Chloride, Inc., 809 F.2d 1334 (8th Cir.

PR oe ea eRe iad ee ed eck aS 1]

Instructional Systems Development Corp. Vv. Aetna

Casualty and Surety Co., 817 F.2d 639 (10th

ee A hoa ee Ce eG ee ea ae 12

|

Xiii

PAGE

International Air Industries, Inc. V. American Ex-

celsior Co., 517 F.2d 714 (Sth Cir. 1975), cert.

denied, 424 U.S. 943 (1976) .............. 11

LSLJ Partnership v. Frito-Lay, Inc., 57 U.S.L.W.

ME EE OS es cae a red eee 12

Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. vy. Zenith Radio

Ct Sie Ce Pe LO 6 ok cos Sos oS a?

McGahee v. Northern Propane Gas Co., 858 F.2d

er © Re a BE bck wk 0.6 0 oo ode oe eee 12

MCI Communications Corp. v. AT&T, 708 F.2d

1081 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 891

ee rd Ge ag ee Pek ee a a 11

Monahan’s Marine, Inc. v. Boston Whaler, Inc.,

1989-1 Tr. Cases (CCH) 4 68,422 (lst Cir.

I ENS a acs GG Ck Ook < ot Aas Gace 11

Northeastern Tel. Co. v. AT&T, 651 F.2d 76

(2d Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 943

AAC ea Seti at gl Ne A a a ee 11

Northern Pacific Ry. Co. v. United States, 356 U.S.

ASTI a SES ae eee ee 9

O. Hommel Co. v. Ferro Corp., 659 F.2d 340 (3d

Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1017 (1982) 2

Olympia Equipment Leasing Co. v. Western Union

Tel. Co., 797 F.2d 370 (7th Cir. 1986), cert.

gened, 600 US. 934 (1967) ............5. 15

Southern Pacific Communications Co. v. AT&T,

740 F.2d-980 (D.C. Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

OR SE oo) a 12

XIV

Transamerica Computer Co. v. IBM, 698 F.2d

1377 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 955

REE eke Oe CORO a eS

United States v. Grinnell Corp., 384 U.S. 563.

Ca ie eee es

Statutes and Rules

Title 28 United States Code

ee ein sa es Cee

ER 2 8 a ge ere ear

Title 15 United States Code

A ce ated Le Gotta SER ALL Pye Brae te

I Oe et eae ee a

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

area ee nletk wie ee

Other Authorities

Areeda & Turner, Predatory Pricing and Related

Practices under Section 2 of the Sherman Act,

Oe Poery, ©. Wee, G7 CERT) bcs a eke ces

Sherer, Predatory Pricing: An Evaluation of lis

Potential for Abuse Under Government Procure-

ment Contracts, 6 J. Corp. L. 531 (1981) ....

PAGE

passim

10

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No.

4

NORTH AMERICAN PHILIPS CORPORATION,

U.S. PHILIPS CORPORATION and

N.V. PHILIPS’ GLOEILAMPENFABRIEKEN,

Petitioners,

Vv.

WINDMERE CORPORATION,

Respondent.

‘

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

Petitioners North American’ Philips Corporation

(“NAPC”), U.S. Philips Corporation (“USPC”) and N.V.

Philips’ Gloeilampenfabrieken (“N.V. Philips”) respect-

fully pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judg-

ment of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit entered November 14, 1988.

Opinions Below

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Federal Cir-

cuit is reported at 861 F.2d 695 and is reprinted in Appen-

dix A, infra.’ The opinion of the District Court is reported

at 680 F. Supp. 361 (S.D. Fla. 1987), and is reprinted in

Appendix B, infra.

1 Citations preceded by a letter designation are to the appendices

to this petition.

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was dated and

entered November 14, 1988 (C 1). Rehearing was denied

on January 13, 1989 (D 1), and the suggestion for rehear-

ing en banc was declined on January 27, 1989 (E11). This

Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

Statute Involved

Section 2 of the Sherman Act, as amended, provides:

Every person who shall monopolize, or attempt to

monopolize, or combine or cons} ire with any other

person or persons, to monopolize any part of the

trade or commerce among the several states, or with

foreign nations, shall be deemed guilty of a felony,

and, on conviction thereof, shall be punished by

fine not exceeding one million dollars if a corpora-

tion, or, if any other person, one hundred thousand

dollars, or by imprisonment not exceeding three

years, or by both said punishments, in the discretion

of the court. (F 1)

Statement of the Case

Price cutting may constitute the vigorous competition

the antitrust laws encourage or reflect the unlawful use of

predatory pricing to perpetuate a monopoly. Although the

Court has recently recognized that “[t]here is a good deal

of debate” over what constitutes predatory pricing, Mat-

sushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475

U.S. 574, 584 n.8 (1986), it has refrained from precisely

defining the term. See Cargill, Inc. v. Monfort of Colorado,

Inc., 479 U.S. 104, 118 n.12 (1986). As a result, and

due to varied and conflicting decisions of virtually all the

Courts of Appeals, businesses throughout the nation, and

counsel who advise them, have no understanding of whether

the prices they charge are lawful or will result in lengthy

and expensive litigation and treble damage liability. Indeed,

as shown in detail at pages 10-12, infra, the same price

may be conclusively lawful in some circuits, presumptively

lawful in others, and evidence of unlawful monopolization

in yet other circuits. The opinion below has not only added

to this substantial confusion, but has also chilled vigorous

price competition and discouraged the setting of lower prices

in an economic era in which higher prices and inflation

have become increasingly prevalent evils.

In deciding when lower prices may violate § 2 of the

Sherman Act, the opinion below stands the Act on its head.

The decision prevents a competitor with a large market

share from engaging in price competition with a smaller

rival while protecting a new entrant from price competition

by providing a price umbrella. In effect, the opinion pro-

tects an individual competitor at the expense of competi-

tion. According to the court below, the Sherman Act pre-

vents petitioner NAPC from competing by selling new

products at prices that were above its average variable cost

because NAPC’s pricing—however profitable to it—elim-

inated a competitor.

The facts presenting what we respectfully submit is a

question of profound significance to the economy and the

maintenance of effective competition are straightforward.

In October of 1984, NAPC and its sister corporation USPC

sued Windmere Corporation (‘““Windmere”) and its sup-

plier Izumi Seimitsu Kogyo Kabushiki Kaisha for infringe-

ment of USPC’s electric shaver patent and for unfair com-

petition under the Lanham Act. Windmere responded by

filing a seven count counterclaim, charging NAPC, USPC

and their parent company N.V. Philips with violations of

sections 1 and 2 of the Sherman Act, the Robinson-Patman

Act, the Clayton Act, the Antidumping Act of 1916, and

various state laws.

Despite the breadth of Windmere’s allegations, the only

issue before the court below was whether the district court

properly directed a verdict on Windmere’s § 2 claim after

a three week jury trial.? In support of its claim under § 2.

Windmere attempted to show that NAPC monopolized the

rotary electric shaver market when, to compete with Wind-

mere’s new low priced products, NAPC introduced two new

models of electric shavers purportedly at prices below

NAPC’s average variable cost.°

Windmere presented two witnesses, both its own em-

ployees, to support its claim that NAPC “sold its 1320 and

1615 models below its average variable costs....” (AQ).

One witness testified that he had no understanding of what

the term “variable cost” meant and that his testimony re-

2 Only Windmere’s claim under the Sherman Act survived the

presentation of all evidence. Other claims were dismissed either

on summary judgment or directed verdict after the presentation of

Windmere’s case. Windmere did not appeal these rulings, and it

“abandoned” its claim under § 1 (A 2; see also A 23). Therefore,

the Court of Appeals reviewed only the directed verdict dismissing

the § 2 claim.

3 Electric shavers typically fall into two categories. NAPC's

primary product is a rotary electric shaver that NAPC purchases

from N.V. Philips and sells under the Norelco brand. Rotary shavers

generally have one or more rotating blades under a circular comb.

Both NAPC and Windmere, which sells under the Ronson brand,

also sell foil electric shavers that generally have blades that move

either in an oscillating or reciprocating manner under a perforated

foil. The trial court held that Windmere had presented sufficient

evidence to create a jury question on its claim that the relevant

market consisted solely of rotary shavers (B 7), and petitioners did

not contest that ruling. Thus, there was no dispute as to relevant

market in the court below.

garding NAPC’s costs was an “educated opinion.” Wind-

mere’s other witness actually testified that NAPC made “a

profit” on the two models at issue, using the cost account-

ing methodology proposed by Windmere’s counsel and

using NAPC’s actual costs. Windmere presented no expert

testimony on the issue.

Windmere also attempted to show that NAPC’s prices

were unlawfully low because NAPC allegedly “failed to

maximize profits.” While Windmere never articulated the

parameters of this claim, the testimony of its witnesses sug-

gested that NAPC’s prices on the low-end models of its

product line were unlawful because, according to Windmere,

each sale of a lower priced NAPC shaver took a sale away

from a much higher priced NAPC shaver. Under Wind-

mere’s theory, it would always be unlawful for a business

to offer a varied product line with a range of prices. This

alternative theory was not considered by the Court of

Appeals and is not a basis for its decision.

At the conclusion of this “evidence,” petitioners moved

for a directed verdict.

The District Court’s Decision

Although finding that a jury could conclude from the

evidence that NAPC and N.V. Philips “had market power

in Windmere’s proposed relevant market” (B 7), the district

court concluded that there was no evidence from which

a jury could conclude that petitioners unlawfully main-

tained or acquired a monopoly. Citing United States v.

Grinnell Corp., 384 U.S. 563 (1966), the court held that

“the Sherman Act prohibits only those monopolies that are

willfully acquired or maintained as distinguished from those

that result from a superior product, business acumen or

historic accident” (B 6).

The court examined the relevant case law, noted that

low prices are the hallmark of the competition the anti-

trust laws were designed to protect and promote (B 9-10),

and held that low prices may be evidence of monopoliza-

tion only if those prices are below defendant’s marginal

cost:

[M]arginal cost was chosen, even though prices at

or above it are not necessarily profit-maximizing,

because at the point where price equals marginal

cost, only less efficient firms will suffer larger losses

per unit of output than the alleged monopolist; more

efficient firms will be losing less cr operating profit-

ably.

(B 11).* The district court reasoned that notwithstanding

defendants’ supposed intent to vanquish a rival, low prices

that are profitable to defendants and beneficial to consumers

do not constitute evidence of a practice forbidden by the

antitrust laws (B 9-11).

In reviewing Windmere’s evidence, the district court ruled

that no reasonable juror could find that NAPC’s prices

were below its average variable cost. Although this holding

rested on a number of alternative grounds, the district court

principally held that the prices at issue were profitable to

NAPC if NAPC’s actual advertising expenditures were

used in the calculation, regardless of whether the other

“projected” costs and peculiar methodology advanced by

Windmere were also used (B 14-16). Thus, the district

court held that regardless of how Windmere manipulated

other figures or whether costs were categorized as fixed

or variable, NAPC made a profit on the models at issue

+ Average variable cost is normally used as a surrogate for mar-

ginal cost, i.e., the cost of making the last unit of output, because

average variable cost is easier to determine. Areeda & Turner,

Predatory Pricing and Related Practices under Section 2 of the

Sherman Act, 88 Harv. L. Rev. 697, 716 (1975).

when NAPC’s actual advertising expenditures—an amount

on which all parties agreed at trial—were used in the cal-

culation (B I2-16).°

The district court also rejected Windmere’s contention

that in Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen Highlands Skiing Corp.,

472 U.S. 585 (1985), the Court held that a competitor with

a large market share may not sell at low prices if it intends

thereby to harm a rival (B 16-17).

After granting the directed verdict, the district court

entered judgment under Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b) and, pur-

suant to 28 U.S.C. § 1295(a)(1), Windmere appealed to

the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.

The Court of Appeals’ Decision

The Court of Appeals, in a three-to-two decision, reversed

and held that a competitor with a large market share violates

the Sherman Act if it lowers prices with the intent to harm

a competitor:

Evidence that a firm holding 90 percent of a

market that has substantial entry barriers drastically

*> Windmere’s witnesses and its counsel admitted that there was

no dispute about this sole crucial figure. Windmere’s Vice President

of Finance tesiified that NAPC’s “total advertising expense for 1985

was $17,558,000” and its counse! agreed:

The Court: So the record evidence we have got shows

they actually spent seventeen million and change?

[Windmere’s Counsel]: Right.

Windmere’s counsel and witnesses also agreed that $6.6 million in

cooperative advertising support received by NAPC had to be de-

ducted from this figure. Although on appeal Windmere attempted

to backtrack from (i) its witnesses’ admissions, (ii) the demonstrative

evidence it introduced, and (iii) its counsel’s statement in argument

before the district court that “[w]hat the evidence shows is that the

6.6 million was given to North American Philips,” there was, in the

words of the dissent below, “no evidence to the contrary.” (A 26).

slashes its prices in response to the competition of

a new entrant, for the purpose and with the effect

of eliminating that entrant, is sufficient to show

monopolization, in violation of section 2 of the

Sherman Act. (A 18)°

The Court of Appeals held that liability for predatory

pricing under § 2 in no way turns on defendant's costs of

production or whether its lower prices reflect greater

efficiencies than those of its competitor. Rather, according

to the court below, liability under the Sherman Act for set-

ting lower prices depends only on the size of defendant's

market share, its intent, and the effect of its lower prices

on a single competitor.

Reasons for Granting the Petition

The decision below—holding that a competitor with a

large market share violates § 2 if its low prices are intended

to and do harm a rival—presents a substantial federal ques-

tion regarding the imterpretation of the Sherman Act,

reflects and adds to the confusion among the Courts of

6 The Court of Appeals also found that other issues—such as

the allocation of advertising expenses as fixed or variable and whether

projections may be used to prove actual costs—should have been

submitted to the jury (A 19). The Court of Appeals did not dis-

turb the district court’s holding with regard to NAPC’s actual ad-

vertising expenditures, although it ruled that the “proper treatment”

of this figure in determining variable costs “‘was an issue for the jury

to decide” (A 20). Therefore, although the Court of Appeals deter-

mined that the jury should decide whether NAPC’s advertising

costs were fixed or variable, it did not disturb the trial court’s ruling

that NAPC made a profit regardless of that allocation if actual ad-

vertising expenditures were used. Because that finding was not dis-

turbed, the Court of Appeals was simply wrong that “the evidence

was sufficiently in conflict to require submission of the issue to the

jury” under the average variable cost test applied by the District

Courts (see A 18). At trial, there was no conflict over this figure.

See n.5, supra.

Appeals as to what constitutes predatory pricing, and is

contrary to fundamental principles of antitrust law estab-

lished by this Court.

I.

The Sherman Act “rests on the premise that the unre-

strained interaction of competitive forces will yield the

best allocation of our economic resources, the lowest prices.

the highest quality and the greatest material progress, while

at the same time providing an environment conducive to

the preservation of our democratic political and social in-

stitutions.” Northern Pacific Ry. Co. v. United States,

356 U.S. 1, 4 (1958). Although “cutting price in order

to increase business often is the very essence of competi-

tion,” Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio

Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 594 (1986), price cutting can, in

limited circumstances, be predatory and harm consumers,

thereby defeating the goals of the Sherman Act. The Courts

of Appeals have expressed divergent views on what distin-

guishes lawful price competition from unlawful predatory

pricing, and this Court has yet to resolve the issue or decide

whether, as the district court concluded, lowering prices to

profitable levels is not proscribed by the Sherman Act.

See id. at 584 n.8.

Wholly apart from the pernicious effects on competition

caused by the holding below, this state of uncertainty re-

garding the legality of pricing is itself harmful to vigorous

competition. Businesses are unlikely to charge prices that

are equal to or just above marginal cost—even though

sales at that level would be profitable and benefit con-

sumers—if the legality of such pricing remains unclear.

Indeed, the Court has previously recognized that erroneous

interpretations of the Sherman Act or uncertainty regarding

its scope can chill the very competitive conduct the Act

seeks to advance. /d. at 594.

10

The Court of Appeals decision in this case has precisely

this effect. Under the holding below, the lawfulness of a

price turns on a competitor’s intent and, perhaps worse,

the effect of its price cutting on a single competitor. Is a

competitor with a large market share precluded from intro-

ducing new products at lower prices because its salespersons

have recorded in colorful language an intent to harm their

rival? Must that competitor ensure that its prices will not

cause the demise of a less efficient firm? The opinion below

answers these questions in the affirmative, rendering pric-

ing decisions virtually impossible and chilling the very

essence of competition. As one commentator recognized

years ago:

It is imperative that courts timely establish objec-

tive and understandable pricing standards while

bringing into sharp focus the line which separates

commendable price reductions from predatory pric-

ing practices. Such standards are necessary for the

guidance of businessmen. . . . Businessmen should

net be put into the position where they must either

forego competitive price decreases or risk treble

damages in Sherman Act suits.

Sherer, Predatory Pricing: An Evaluation of Its Potential

tor Abuse Under Government Procurement Contracts, 6

J. Corp. L. 331,.539 (1981).

II.

The question of what distinguishes pro-competitive price

competition from predatory pricing has been answered by

ten Courts of Appeals in nine significantly different ways.

The confusion identified by the Court in 1986 in Cargill, Inc.

v. Monfort of Colorado, Inc., 479 U.S. 104, 118 n.12

(1986) (“[d]efinitions of predatory pricing also vary

among the Circuits”), has only become worse.

11

Thus, in the First Circuit, a predatory price is one (a)

below some undefined measure of cost that (b) has been

set with the intent of driving out competitors. Monahan's

Marine, Inc. v. Boston Whaler, Inc., 1989-1 Tr. Cases

(CCH) § 68,422 (1st Cir. 1989); Clamp-All Corp. v.

Cast Iron Soil Pipe Institute, 851 F.2d 478, 483 (1st Cir.

1988), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 789 (1989). The Seventh

Circuit has adopted the first but not the second part of the

First Circuit test. MCI Communications Corp. v. AT&T,

708 F.2d 1081, 1111-31 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 US.

891 (1983).

A price above average variable cost is presumed non-

predatory in the Second and Eighth Circuits, Northeastern

Tel Co. v. AT&T, 651 F.2d 76, 87-88 (2d Cir. 1981),

cert. denied, 455 U.S. 943 (1982); Henry v. Chloride, Inc.,

809 F.2d 1334, 1344-46 (8th Cir. 1987), and is deemed

lawful in the Fifth Circuit if barriers to entry are not sub-

stantial. International Air Industries, Inc. v. American

Excelsior Co., 517 F.2d 714, 724 (Sth Cir. 1975), cert.

denied, 424 U.S. 943 (1976).

In the Sixth Circuit, pricing above average total cost is

deemed lawful, Arthur S. Langenderfer, Inc. v. S.E. Johnson

Co., 729 F.2d 1050, 1056 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 469

U.S. 1036 (1984), and the Ninth Circuit agrees unless

predatory intent is proven by clear and convincing evi-

dence. See Transamerica Computer Co. v. IBM, 698 F.2d

1377, 1384-88 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 955

(1983). The Eleventh Circuit also agrees that prices

above average total cost are not predatory but defines

“average total cost” as including “the necessary minimum

profit” which can only be ascertained. according to the

court, through expert testimony, thereby subjecting every

predatory pricing claim—however spurious—to a jury trial.

McGahee v. Northern Propane Gas Co., 858 F.2d 1487,

1503 n.35 (11th Cir. 1988) (petition for certiorari filed

March 17, 1989).

Like the opinion below, the Tenth Circuit rejects any

cost-based test for predatory pricing but considers average

variable cost “a valuable indicator.” IJnstructional Systems

Development Corp. v. Aetna Casualty and Surety Co., 817

F.2d 639, 648 (10th Cir. 1987). Both the Third and the

District of Columbia Circuits have refused to adopt any

specific test, although the Third Circuit is “inclined to

accept the basic premise . . . that predatory intent may not

be inferred from sales at or above average variable cost.”

O. Hommel Co. v. Ferro Corp., 659 F.2d 340, 352 (3d

Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1017 (1982); Southern

Pacific Communications Co. v. AT&T, 740 F.2d 980, 1006

(D.C. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 470 U.S. 1005 (1985).’

Thus, under the current interpretation of the Sherman

Act by the Courts of Appeals, pricing above average

variable cost—such as that by NAPC here—is lawful in

the Fifth Circuit, presumptively lawful in the Second and

Eighth Circuits, possibly lawful or unlawful in the First

and Seventh Circuits depending on the definition of cost,

lawful if prices are also above total cost in the Sixth and

Eleventh Circuits, and lawful or unlawful depending on

defendant’s intent in the Ninth and Tenth Circuits and

according to the opinion below.

7 The confusion among the Circuits and the significance of the

question presented herein is confirmed by the filing in recent years

of no less than eight petitions for certiorari seeking the Court’s

determination of what constitutes predatory pricing. See pages

11-12, supra. Most recently, the Court has denied the petition

raising this question in LSLJ Partnership v. Frito-Lay, Inc., 57

U.S.L.W. 3550 (1989), while the petition in McGahee, supra, filed

March 17, 1989, remains pending.

13

This state of legal confusion is made all the more in-

tolerable because it not only affects a business decision

that constitutes the very essence of competition, but also

because thousands of businesses must make such decisions

every day for products sold nationwide. Moreover, the con-

flict among the Circuits not only chills price cutting by

subjecting businesses to both the risk of treble damages

and the prospect of lengthy and expensive litigation, but it

also encourages forum shopping by plaintiffs seeking the

most favorable definition of predatory pricing.

‘It is therefore critical to the public interest in properly

functioning markets and vigorous competition, and to the

administration of the antitrust laws as a whole, that the

Court consider and answer the question presented.

III.

The holding below—that a dominant firm violates § 2

by “slashing its prices in response to the competition of a

new entrant, for the purpose and with the effect of eliminat-

ing that entrant” (A 18)—proscribes not only unlawful

conduct, but also lawful price cutting, which the Court has

found to be the very essence of competition regardless of

the size of defendant’s market share. Reinforcing the prin-

ciple that the antitrust laws protect “competition[,] not

competitors,” Brunswick Corp. v. Pueblo Bowl-O-Mat, Inc..,

429 U.S. 477, 488 (1977) (quoting Brown Shoe Co. v.

United States, 370 U.S. 294, 320 (1962)), the Court in

Cargill, Inc. v. Monfort of Colorado, Inc., 479 U.S. 104

(1986), ruled:

Brunswick holds that the antitrust laws do not re-

quire courts to protect small businesses from the

loss of profits due to continued competition, but

only against the loss of profits from practices for-

14

bidden by the antitrust laws. The kind of competi-

tion that Monfort alleges here, competition for

increased market share, is not activity forbidden

by the antitrust laws. It is simply, as petitioners

claim, vigorous competition. To hold that the anti-

trust laws protect competitors from the loss of profits

due to such price competition would, in effect,

render illegal any decision by a firm to cut prices

in order to increase market share. The antitrust

laws require no such perverse result, for “it is in

the interest of competition to permit dominant firms

to engage in vigorous competition, including price

competition.” Arthur S. Langenderfer, Inc. v. S.E.

Johnson Co., 729 F.2d 1050, 1057 (6th Cir.), cert.

denied, 469 U.S. 1036 (1984).

Id. at 116 (emphasis added).

It is precisely the vigorous price competition by a

dominant firm the Court sought to protect in Cargill that

has been proscribed by the court below.*

The court below has also misconstrued the Court’s hold-

ings in Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen Highlands Skiing Corp.,

472 U.S. 585 (1985) and American Tobacco Co. V.

United States, 328 U.S. 781 (1946). In citing those de-

cisions as support for its holding (A 18), the court below

failed to distinguish between the business practice at issue

here—price cutting which is always imbued with the legiti-

mate justification of increasing sales—with the practices in

8 As the dissent below stated:

Nor can I agree that it is probative of violation of the Sher-

man Act to introduce a lower-priced model in response to

a competitor's low-price model. . . . Industrial competition

is not benevolent, and causing loss of profits to a competitor,

or making the market less attractive to a competitor, whereby

a less efficient or higher cost competitor leaves the market,

is not itself a violation of antitrust law.

(A 28-29).

15

Aspen (termination of joint business relations) and Amer-

ican Tobacco (price fixing, refusals to deal, sham bidding)

which, the Court found, had no legitimate business justifica-

tion.

Aspen and American Tobacco did not, contrary to the

holding below, establish the principle that a dominant firm

may not engage in price competition with a smaller rival

if it intends to harm that rival.° The decision below pro-

scribes lawful price competition by a dominant firm and

conflicts with the Court’s prior decisions.

° An intent to harm a rival rather than an intent to increase sales

cannot provide the demarcation between lawful and unlawful con-

duct. See Adjusters Replace-A-Car, Inc. v. Agency Rent-A-Car,

Inc., 735 F.2d 884, 887 (Sth Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S.

1160 (1985) (“[A] manifestation of intent to triumph in the com-

petitive market . . . is not enough to establish an antitrust viola-

tion.”) (quoting Hayes v. Solomon, 597 F.2d 958, 977 (Sth Cir.

1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1078 (1980)); see also Olympia

Equipment Leasing Co. v. Western Union Tel. Co., 797 F.2d 370.

375 (7th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 934 (1987).

16

Conclusion

For the reasons stated, a writ of certiorari should be

issued to review the judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.

Respectfully submitted.

WILLIAM E. WILLIS

125 Broad Street

New York, New York 10004

(212) 558-4000

Counsel for Petitioners

North American Philips

Corporation, U.S. Philips

Corporation and N.V. Philips’

Gloeilampenfabrieken

GARRARD R. BEENEY

JOHN L. HARDIMAN

LISAMICHELLE DAVIS

Of Counsel

April 5, 1989

APPENDIX A

an fe cei el oe ee oe

Opinion of the Court of Appeals,

November 14, 1988

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

87-1476

ry

v

U.S. PHILIPS CoRP. AND NORTH AMERICAN PHILIPS CorpP.,

Plaintiffs-Appeliees,

V.

WINDMERE CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellant,

IZUMI SEIMITSU KoGyo KABUSHIKI KAISHA,

Defendant.

DECIDED: November 14, 1988

Before MARKEY, Chief Judge, FRIEDMAN, SMITH, NEWMAN,

and Mayer, Circuit Judges.

FRIEDMAN, Circuit Judge.

This case involves electric shavers. Windmere Corpora-

tion (Windmere) appeals from a final order of the United

States District Court for the Southern District of Florida

directing a verdict in favor of U.S. Philips Corp. and North

American Philips (colledtively Philips) on Windmere’s

antitrust counterclaims. Because we hold that there was

sufficient evidence to submit the antitrust claims to the

jury, we reverse and remand for a new trial on those claims.

I

A. The Proceedings in the District Court.

In October 1984, Philips filed suit in the district court

against Windmere and Izumi Seimitsu Kogyo Kabushiki

A2

Court of Appeals Opinion

Kaisha (hereinafter Izumi) (a Japanese corporation) for

infringement of Philips’ electric shaver patent and against

Windmere for unfair competition. Windmere filed a coun-

terclaim alleging that Philips had monopolized and at-

tempted to monopolize the electric rotary shaver market,

in violation of Section 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 2 (1982), and that Philips and Dutch Philips (N.V.

Philips Gloeilampenfabrieken) had conspired to restrain

trade in that market, in violation of Section 1 of that Act,

15 U.S.C. § 1 (1982). Windmere apparently has aban-

doned its Section 1 claim.

Both the antitrust and the patent issues were tried to a

jury. At the close of Windmere’s antitrust case, the dis-

trict court granted Philips’ motion for a directed verdict on

those issues. The court submitted the patent and unfair

competition issues to the jury, which ruled for Philips on

the patent claim and for Windmere on the unfair competi-

tion claim. Pursuant to Rule 54(b) of the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure, the court certified its order directing a

verdict on the antitrust counterclaim as final and therefore

appealable.

B. The Evidence Relating to the Antitrust Counterclaim.

1. The product involved. Philips sells, among other

things, electric shavers under the NORELCO and the

SCHICK brand names. There are two styles of electric

shavers: rotary and foil. Rotary shavers use high-speed

rotating cutters under a circular comb. Foil shavers use

vibrating blades under an etched metal foil. Rotary shavers

are either cordless rechargeable models or less expensive

corded models.

Philips introduced its Norelco rotary shaver in 1948.

The first model contained a single head. This was followed

by a double- and then a triple-headed shaver; Philips intro-

al

A3

Court of Appeals Opinion

duced the latter in 1966. The Norelco triple-headed rotary

Shaver accounts for at least 75 to 80 percent of Philips’

total shaver sales. In 1981, Philips purchased the rights to

the SCHICK trademark and used it to market its foil

shaver.

2. The rotary shaver market.

a. The relevant market. Philips does not dispute that

there was sufficient evidence upon which the jury could

have concluded that for antitrust purposes electric rotary

shavers constituted a separate market from electric foil

shavers. There also was evidence that shavers priced above

$30 constituted a separate market from those priced below

that amount. Philips has tended to concentrate on the

higher priced models, which generally are the cordless or

rechargeable shavers. In 1983, the year before Windmere

entered the electric shaver market with its Ronson shaver,

Philips had 72.8 percent of the sales of above-$30 shavers.

b. The concentration of that market. Prior to the

entry of Windmere and Sears Roebuck into the rotary

shaver market, Philips’ Norelco shaver was the only product

there. Mr. Gould, Windmere’s economist expert, who had

worked for the Census Bureau and the Department of

Justice, estimated that “in 1985 the Norelco share of the

rotary market was of [sic] the order of ninety percent.”

Gould, who had studied the concentration ratios of more

than 400 industries, testified that Norelco’s share of the

rotary market was “the highest figure I have encountered

in all of my studies. ... Going back thirty years.”

c. Barriers to entry. There was evidence that a recog-

nized brand name was critical to successful entry into the

electric shaver market. In 1977, Windmere first attempted

A4

Court of Appeals Opinion

to market a foil shaver and used the manufacturer’s name

(Payer). The name was not well-known, and the shaver

line was discontinued. The president of Windmere testi-

fied that Windmere’s customers advised them “that there

was no way we could be in the electric shaver industry

without a brand. Windmere doesn’t qualify as a national

brand that was known in the electric shaver business which

is what they told us [sic] we needed.” Although this

testimony was admitted with a limiting instruction that it

was allowed to show only “state of mind” and not the “truth

of the answer,” the fact that Windmere believed that it

needed a brand name to succeed in the market is evidence

that such a name was necessary. -

Philips became aware in February 1980 that Windmere

had reached “an understanding” to acquire the SCHICK

brand name. Philips subsequently predicted that if anyone

bought the SCHICK name and used it to market Izumi

rotary shavers, as Windmere was attempting to do, Philips

would lose $15 million in sales and $2 million in profit dur-

ing a three-year period, as well as five points in market

share. Philips then bought the rights to the SCHICK brand

name and used it to begin marketing a line of foil shavers.

A Philips memorandum titled “FOIL SHAVER MARKET-

ING OPPORTUNITY” noted that one “of the factors which

have influenced our decision not to market this line [foil

shavers] in the past” was because

we [Philips] have been unwilling to commit the tens

of millions of dollars required to establish an en-

tirely new shaver brand in the U.S. market. Now,

however, we are faced with a unique opportunity

which may never come our way again. An estab-

lished brand name is available for a relatively

small investment. Virtually all roadblocks which

AS5

Court of Appeals Opinion

have stood in the way of the foil line are eliminated

by the availability of the brand name—SCHICK.

Philips’ own economist expert testified that entry into

Windmere’s proposed markets was relatively easy. Philips

also relied on the fact that following Windmere’s entry into

the rotary shaver market in 1984, Windmere obtained 3

to 5 percent of the total electric shaver market.

d. Windmere’s entry into the rotary shaver market

and Philips’ response. As noted, in 1977 Windmere unsuc- —

cessfully had attempted to enter the foil shaver market. In

the spring of 1984, Windmere again entered the electric

shaver market with both foil and rotary shavers manu-

factured in Japan, which Windmere sold under the

RONSON trademark.

Windmere introduced a cordless rotary (model RR-1)

shaver for $34.99 and a corded rotary (model RR-2)

shaver for $22. Windmere projected that, during its first

six months in the shaver business, it would sell 125,000

razors for total dollar sales of more than $3 million. In

the last nine months of 1984, Windmere actually sold more

than 300,000 units for approximately $6 million. Wind-

mere’s 1984 annual report, prepared after it had filed its

antitrust counterclaim, stated that “[d]espite a substantial

loss of sales and revenues resulting from Philips, i.e.,

Norelco’s business tactics the Ronson electric shavers

represent the most successful new product line introduction

in the history of the Company.”

Philips had described Windmere as “a financially ex-

tremely healthy enterprise which is capable of making life

very difficult for us.” A Philips “report of decison taken at

a management policy meeting” on January 5, 1984, stated:

“If Windmere launches rotary shavers on the U.S. market,

Ao

Court of Appeals Opinion

Mr. Beasley [vice president of marketing for Noe: Ameri-

can Philips Consumer Product Division] proposes to kill

this stone dead by introducing old models at very low

pres...

After Windmere introduced its Ronson shavers at a

price lower than Philips’ shavers, an April 20, 1984

Philips weekly report, for the week ending April 21, 1984,

stated: “Ronson is getting a solid foothold and apparently

is willing and able to pay a high price to get into our busi-

ness. Let’s pound them into the sand.” The report sug-

gested that Philips introduce the model “1320” cordless

rotary shaver. The model 1320 was Philips’ old model

1312, which had an expected retail price of $44 during 1979

to 1980.

The model 1320, however, was introduced at a distribu-

tor price of $27.08, which was approximately 31 percent

less than the $39 price at which the same razor had been

sold as the model 1312 four years earlier, and approxi-

mately 23 percent less than the comparable Ronson model.

The introduction of the model 1320 was not mentioned in

Philips’ 1984 business plan, dated December 1983. Until

the 1320, Philips had never introduced a new product at a

lower price point.

Philips discussed the 1320 shaver in a March 1984

memorandum:

Until later in the year, Norelco has decided on an

absolute embargo on any form of publicity in con-

nection with the introduction of the HP 1320....

The negative effect of any premature release of in-

formation on the HP 1320 or 1337 is feared, just

at the very time when the intention is to introduce

the 1320 as a complete addition to the line and not

for it to take sales away from any of the existing

A7

Court of Appeals Opinion

range of standard shavers. ... The question was

asked whether it was the intention to include the

1320 in the line for 1985. Beasley and Co. have

taken no clear position on this subject. Given the

likely impossibility of driving Windmere off the U.S.

market completely, we foresee that a non-retracting

rechargeable shaver sold at an aggressive price level

will persist on the market for a rather longer time

and thus cannot be viewed as an incidental phe-

nomenon, so to speak (emphasis added).

Philips later described the 1320 model as a “200th anni-

versary special to be out for a limited period of time.”

A May 24, 1984 Philips memorandum stated: “As dis-

cussed at the policy meeting, we should attempt to formu-

late a short term strategy with regard to the competition

represented by the Ronson trademark, which in the hands

of Windmere Inc. of Florida has penetrated our market

segment.” The memorandum refers to a marketing strategy

wherein

[a] direct frontal attack on Ronson in the market-

place is probably the crudest and probably also one

of the most expensive means at our disposal. This

would involve, for example, us locating competing

dealers at every address where Ronson is sold and

selling Norelco and/or Philips shavers at a lower

price. Furthermore, every challenge issued by

Ronson in the form of actual discounts would have

to be countered by offering even lower discounts.

We can reward exclusivity by giving every dealer

who does not sell Ronson shavers an extra discount

of 5%.

A8&

Court of Appeals Opinion

Total attack strategy, that is to say that just as

Norelco is now doing, we would launch a multi-

plicity of activities against Windmere and at a later

stage against any other competitor who appears on

the scene.

The memo concludes that “legal measures” “should make

life difficult for Ronson on every front where it is at all

possible, on the basis of our patents” and that as a “tactical

measure” Philips should “[b]uy Izumi, and quickly.”

Windmere presented testimony that, after Philips intro-

duced its model 1320, substantial orders ($2-2.5 million)

were cancelled. No orders for Ronson products had been

cancelled before the Philips 1320 was introduced.

The 1984 Philips marketing plan included a model 1615

corded rotary shaver. The 1615 was to have been sold to

distributors for $27.99, who then would have sold the

shavers at a retail price of $29.99. The price of the 1615,

however, was dropped approximately 35 percent to a dis-

tributor price of $18.03, which was almost $4 less than the

distributor price for Ronson’s comparable corded rotary

shaver.

Philips’ response to Windmere’s entry affected other

models in its line. In its “Model policy 1985,” discussed in

May 1984, a twin-head model “1722” apparently was

scrapped:

Mainly on account of the action undertaken against

Ronson as well as because of the very presence of

Ronson on the market with its known price ad-

vantages, there is less room for this product on the

American market than had been originally planned.

Another mcdel, the “1622,” was also affected:

A9

Court of Appeals Opinion

Although . . . this should be an expensive model on

account of the enhanced specification compared

with the HP 1620, it appeared from the discussion

of this point that the matter of price was more im-

portant than the question of the specification.

Norelco maintained their view despite the poor

way in which sales of the HP 1620 had held up,

even in the USA as well. Later the product dis-

cussion turned to the question of a frontal attack

on Ronson. In this context, Groningen [Dutch

Philips] quite clearly declared it was ready to drop

the price of this product even below that of the

HP 1620 ($8.15) provided that Norelco were ready

to drop their gross margin by a considerable amount.

Such a frontal attack on Ronson must certainly be

accompanied by considerably more volume... .

In March 1985, one year after Windmere entered the

electric shaver market, a Philips memo of a sales meeting

and visits to buyers noted the damaging effect the 1615

and 1320 had on sales of other Philips models:

The HP 1615 and the HP 1320 clearly eat in on

the HP 1337, HP 1327D and the HP 1604/05/06.

This is a dramatic development since it appears that

the HP 1615, at a price point of $19.95 will be a

disturbing development. It is clear that this is a

planned development and that we cannot occupy

ourselves “crying over spilled milk,” but the fact

remains nonetheless.

e. Philips’ alleged predatory pricing. Windmere con-

tended that Philips sold its 1320 and 1615 models below

its average variable costs and sacrificed its short-term profits

AlO

Court of Appeals Opinion

on those models in order to drive Windmere out of the

rotary shaver market. Windmere and Philips introduced

into evidence various calculations directed to the question

whether Philips sold below cost. As the parties framed the

issue, the answer depended upon which of Philips’ costs

properly were allocable to those two models.

The parties vigorously disputed whether Philips’ adver-

tising expenses were a variable cost of those models and,

if they were, the basis upon which advertising expenses

should be allocated. Philips contended that there should be

subtracted from the $17.5 million it spent for advertising

in 1985 the approximately $6.6 million it received for ad-

vertising in that year from its Dutch parent, N.V. Philips.

If that subtraction were made, there was evidence that

Philips made a profit on the sales of the shavers. Philips

also argued that advertising expenses should have been

allocated as a percentage of expenses based upon revenues

—an allocation under which Philips would have made a

profit. Windmere disputed these assumptions and calcula-

tions based on them. Each side presented evidence jus-

tifying and supporting its position.

The parties also disputed the allocation of costs other

than advertising. For example, Windmere relied upon its

projections of Philips’ 1985 costs of batteries, freight and

handling. Philips contended that based on its actual, as

distinguished from projected, costs for those items, it

realized a profit on its sales. Windmere responded that be-

cause Philips’ actual costs were nct available to it, its cal-

culations based upon projected costs were a reasonable

basis for determining whether Philips’ sales were at a profit.

f. Windmere’s withdrawal from the rotary shaver

market. In December 1985, less than two years after it

introduced its Ronson rotary shaver, Windmere announced

All

Court of Appeals Opinion

its withdrawal from the rotary shaver market. (It remained

in the foil market. ) Shortly thereafter, Philips discontinued

the sale of its 1320 and 1615 rotary shavers. At a 1986

housewares show, Philips stated that “[t]hey were closing

[the model 1320] out and coming out with a new model

at a higher price.”

C. The Decision of the District Court Directing a Ver-

dict on the Antitrust Counterclaim.

In an opinion explaining “in detail” its “reasons for

granting” Philips’ motion for a directed verdict, the district

court stated that “reluctantly” it had found that “Windmere

had failed to present substantial evidence sufficient to create

a jury question on at least one element of its antitrust claims

—the willful acquisition or maintenance of monopoly

power via predatory pricing. . . .” (footnote omitted).

The court ruled that “Windmere presented a substantial

amount of evidence to support its definition of the relevant

market and to show that [Philips] had market power in

this market.” The court stated that “[t]he specific conduct

which Windmere alleged was anticompetitive and showed

Philips’ intent to monopolize, was Philips[’] alleged pre-

datory pricing scheme with regard to the sale of its model

1320 and 1615 rotary electric razors.” The court held that

under /nternational Air Industries, Inc. v. American Ex-

celsior Co., 517 F.2d 714 (Sth Cir. 1975), cert. denied,

424 U.S. 943 (1976), Windmere was required to show

that Philips was “ ‘charging a price below [its] average

variable cost in the competitive market,’ ” (quoting 517

F.2d at 724) and that “Windmere’s evidence of below-cost

pricing does not meet the substantial evidence standard

necessary to withstand a directed verdict.”

Al2

Court of Appeals Opinion

The court stated:

The disputes regarding the evidence Windmere

introduced to prove predatory pricing involve two

primary issues: (1) the proper allocation of

Philips[’] advertising expenditures, and (2) the

proper method of proving costs—i.e., by using

actual costs or projections.

The court further stated that it was “undisputed that if

all of Philips[’] advertising expenditures are classified as

fixed costs, that Philips[’] prices for the model 1320 and

1615 razors exceeded their average variable cost.” The

court noted the testimony of Mr. Kamerschen, Philips’

expert, that “based on his review of Norelco’s business and

media plans, which he stated contained the type of informa-

tion an economist would generally rely upon in order to

make a judgment of this kind, that Norelco’s advertising

was a fixed cost,” and stated that “Windmere failed to bring

forth any information to the contrary on the cross-examina-

tion of this witness” (record reference omitted). The court

ruled that the evidence upon which Windmere relied to

show that advertising was a variable expense—Norelco’s

“1984 income statements . . . which listed advertising in a

category entitled variable expenses”—was insufficient be-

cause “such an accounting record cannot alone support the

classification of advertising as a variable expense for eco-

nomic purposes” (record reference omitted).

The court further held that “[e]ven assuming, however,

that advertising expenses here are properly characterized as

variable costs, there is a question whether cooperative ad-

vertising support given to Norelco by NVP should be de-

ducted before determining whether Norelco priced the 1615

and 1320 below its average variable cost.” It rejected, as

“wholly unsupported” by the evidence, Windmere’s “con-

Al3

Court of Appeals Opinion

tention” that the approximately $6.6 million Philips re-

ceived “in advertising support from NVP in 1985” either

was not actually paid or was in adidtion to and not a part

of the $17.5 million Norelco spent for advertising in 1985.

The court also held that Windmere had not introduced suf-

ficient evidence to justify submitting to the jury Windmere’s

contention that the advertising expenses should be allocated

to the 1615 and 1320 models “on a per unit basis” (foot-

note omitted). Finally, the court rejected Windmere’s evi-

dence of the cost of batteries, freight and handling because

that evidence was based on “projections of the 1985 year”

(emphasis in original).

II

A. This court has exclusive jurisdiction over an appeal

from a final judgment where the jurisdiction of the district

court was based in whole or in part on 28 U.S.C. § 1338(a)

(1982). 28 U.S.C. § 1295(a)(1) (1982). In filing its

complaint against Windmere and Izumi for patent infringe-

ment, Philips invoked the jurisdiction of the district court

under section 1338(a). Although Windmere’s antitrust

counterclaim, which is the subject of this appeal, did not

invoke the district court’s jurisdiction under that section,

our appellate jurisdiction depends upon the nature of the

case in the district court and not upon the issues presented

to us for review. See In re Innotron Diagnostics, 800 F.2d

1077, 1080, 231 USPQ 178, 180-81 (Fed. Cir. 1986)

(“the mere presence in a case of ‘issues’ other than those

within a substantive field within this court’s exclusive ap-

pellate jurisdiction [does not} oust this court of the juris-

diction it must and would otherwise exercise in carrying

out its mission.”); see also Atari, Inc. v. JS & A Group,

Inc., 747 F.2d 1422, 1431, 223 USPQ 1074, 1080 (Fed.

Cir. 1984) (en banc).

Al4

Court of Appeals Opinion

In the present case, the jurisdiction cf the district court

over this case was based in part on section 1338(a). That

fact gives us jurisdiction over this appeal, even though the

appeal presents no questions under the patent laws. See,

e.g., In re Innotron Diagnostics, 800 F.2d at 1080, 231

USPQ at 180 (where patent complaint was consolidated

with antitrust complaint, the Federal Circuit had exclusive

jurisdiction over appeal from final judgment); Cable £lec.

Prods., Inc. v. Genmark, Inc., 770 F.2d 1015, 1029, 226

USPQ 881, 890 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (where district court

exercised jurisdiction over patent count under § 1338(a),

the Federal Circuit has jurisdiction, under § 1295(a), to

review the appeal of the nonpatent counts).

B. In determining whether the district court correctly

directed a verdict on Windmere’s antitrust counterclaim, we

apply the law of the regional circuit in which the district

court sits to determine both the appropriateness of a di-

rected verdict and the antitrust law questions. Power Con-

trols Corp. v. Hybrinetics, Inc., 806 F.2d 234, 237, 231

USPQ 774, 776 (Fed. Cir. 1986); Loctite Corp. v. Ultra-

seal Ltd., 781 F.2d 861, 875, 228 USPQ 90, 99 (Fed. Cir.

1985) (“We must approach a federal antitrust claim as

would a court of appeals in the circuit of the district court

whose judgment we review.”); Panduit Corp. v. All States

Plastic Mfg. Co., 744 F.2d 1564, 1574-75, 223 USPQ 465,

471 (Fed. Cir. 1984).

We thus “apply [Eleventh] Circuit law primarily and

look to guidance (albeit non-binding) from other circuits,

especially in uncharted areas.” 781 F.2d at 875, 228 USPQ

at 99-100. Since the Eleventh Circuit treats as binding de-

cisions of the Fifth Circuit rendered before October 1,

1981, when the Eleventh Circuit came into being, Bonner

v. City of Prichard, Ala., 661 F.2d 1206, 1207 (11th Cir.

———

Al5

Court of Appeals Opinion

1981) (en banc), we also apply those earlier Fifth Circuit

decisions.

In the Eleventh Circuit, “[t]o avoid a directed verdict,

{[Windmere] must have presented sufficient evidence to

create a jury question with respect to each element of [its]

case.” Malcolm v. Marathon Oil Co., 642 F.2d 845, 848

(Sth Cir. Unit B April), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1125

(1981).

In determining whether there is sufficient evi-

dence to submit a case to the jury following a mo-

tion for directed verdict, the district court should

consider all evidence and not just evidence support-

ing the non-mover’s case. The evidence must be

considered in the light and with all reasonable infer-

ences most favorable to the party opposed to the

motion. If the facts and inferences point so strongly

and overwhelmingly in favor of one party that rea-

sonable persons could not reach a different con-

clusion, the Court should direct a verdict.

Gregory V. Massachusetts Mut. Life Ins. Co., 764 F.2d

1437, 1440 (11th Cir. 1985). See also Boeing Co. v.

Shipman, 411 F.2d 365, 374 (Sth Cir. 1969) (en banc)

(for evidence to be sufficient to create a jury question it

must be of a quality and weight that reasonable, impartial,

and fair-minded jurors might reach different conclusions).

In Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242

(1986), the Supreme Court held that the standard for

granting summary judgment under Rule 56(c) of the Fed-

eral Rules of Civil Procedure “mirrors the standard for a

directed verdict under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

50(a), which is that the trial judge must direct a verdict

if, under the governing law, there can be but one reason-

able conclusion as to the verdict. If reasonable minds could

Al16

Court of Appeals Opinion

differ as to the import of the evidence, however, a verdict

should not be directed.” /d. at 250-51 (citation omitted).

The Court pointed out that “[c]redibility determinations,

the weighing of the evidence, and the drawing of legitimate

inferences from the facts are jury functions, not those of a

judge, whether he is ruling on a motion for summary judg-

ment or for a directed verdict. The evidence of the non-

movant is to be believed, and all justifiable inferences are

to be drawn in his favor.” /d. at 255.

Ill

“The offense of monopoly under § 2 of the Sherman Act

has two elements: (1) the possession of monopoly power

in the relevant market and (2) the willful acquisition or

maintenance of that power as distinguished from growth

or development as a consequence of a superior product,

business acumen, or historic accident.” United States Vv.

Grinnell Corp., 384 U.S. 563, 570-71 (1966). The dis-

trict court recognized, and Philips does not dispute, that

“Windmere presented a substantial amount of evidence to

support its definition of the relevant market [rotary electric

shavers] and to show that [Philips] had market power in

this market.” The question before us, therefore, is whether

Windmere presented sufficient evidence to entitle it to go

to the jury on the second element of monopolization:

whether Philips willfully had maintained its monopoly

power in the rotary shaver market.

The district court viewed the essence of Windmere’s case

on the second element as “the willful acquisition or mainte-

nance of monopoly power via predatory pricing,” and used,

as the standard for determining “predatory pricing,” pricing

“below average variable cost.” The court concluded that

Windmere had failed to present substantial evidence that

Al7

Court of Appeals Opinion

Philips had priced its 1615 and 1320 rotary shavers below

Philips’ average variable costs.

We conclude, however, that the district court took too

narrow a view of the kind of evidence that will support the

second element of monopolization and of the bases of Wind-

mere’s claims. Moreover, even under the district court's

narrow view of Windmeres’ theory, Windmere presented

sufficient evidence of predatory pricing to preclude a di-

rected verdict on that issue.

A. There was evidence from which the jury could have

concluded:

1. That entry barriers to the rotary electric

shaver market are substantial, if not high—the need

to have a well-known brand with wide consumer

acceptance, the limited number of brands that

satisfy this requirement, and the substantial ad-

vertising expenditures required to attain a foothold

in the market.

2. That Philips introduced its lower-priced older

models only in response to Windmere’s entry into

the market with its cheaper Ronson rotary electric

shover.

3. That Philips cut the price of its shavers in an

endeavor to eliminate Windmere from the market.

Mr. Beasley proposed that if Windmere started sell-

ing rotary shavers in the United States market,

Philips should “kill this stone dead by introducing

old models at very low prices...” A Philips weekly

report, made after Philips had introduced its rotary

shaver, suggested: “Let’s pound them into the

sand.” A Philips memorandum referred to “the

likely impossibility of driving Windmere off the U.S.

market completely... .” Although Philips attempts

to discredit this evidence as mere sales talk, it was

Al8

Court of Appeals Opinion

for the jury to determine what weight and sig-

nificance this evidence had.

That this purpose of Philips was further shown by the

evidence that, when Windmere withdrew from the rotary

shaver market, Philips promptly discontinued the sale of

its lower-priced old model.

4. That Philips’ willful maintenance of its mono-

poly position was further shown by Philips’ prior

acquisition of the SCHICK brand name after it had

learned about an understanding between Windmere

and Schick for Windmere to acquire that name.

To be sure, Philips introduced evidence designed to show

that its actions were legitimate competitive responses

prompted by the entry of Windmere into the market. The

evaluation of all the evidence bearing on the nature of

Philips’ actions and the inferences to be drawn from the evi-

dence, was for the jury to determine. If the jury had

credited Windmere’s evidence and rejected Philips’, it

could have returned a verdict for Windmere. Evidence that

a firm holding 90 percent of a market that has substantial

entry barriers drastically slashes its prices in response to

the competition of a new entrant, for the purpose and with

the effect of eliminating that entrant, is sufficient to show

monopolization, in violation of section 2 of the Sherman

Act. Cf. Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen Highlands Skiing

Corp., 472 U.S. 585, 610-11 (1985); American Tobacco

Co. v. United States, 328 U.S. 7881 (1946).

B. Even under the district court’s view that Windmere’s

case rested on its claim that Philips had sold below average

variable cost, the evidence was sufficiently in conflict to

require submission of the issue to the jury and precluded

a directed verdict. As the district court noted, the deter-

mination whether Philips sold below average variable cost

Al9

Court of Appeals Opinion

required resolution of two issues: (1) whether Philips’ ad-

vertising expenses were variable or fixed costs and, if vari-

able, whether the advertising allowance Philips received in

1985 from its Dutch parent should be deducted from

Philips’ own advertising expenditures; and (2) whether

Windmere’s projections for certain items of Philips’ cost—

batteries, freight and handling—were sufficient to establish

those costs. The district court held that on both of these

elements of its case, Windmere failed to present sufficient

evidence to create disputed factual issues for the jury. We

disagree.

1. In ruling that Windmere had not presented substan-

tial evidence that Philips’ advertising expenses were variable

rather than fixed costs to create a jury question on

that issue, the district court relied on the testimony of

Philips’ economist expert, Mr. Kamerschen, that the

Norelco advertising was a fixed cost, and stated that

“Windmere failed to bring forth any information to the

contrary on the cross-examination of this witness.” It was

for the jury, however, and not for the court, to determine

the credibility of this witness and the weight to be given his

testimony. The jury was not required to accept his expert

testimony, even if it was uncontradicted. See Quock Ting

v. United States, 140 U.S. 417, 420 (1891) (“There may

be such an inherent improbability in the statements of a

witness as to induce the court or jury to disregard his evi-

dence, even in the absence of any direct conflicting testi-

mony.”). See also Archer Vv. Commissioner, 227 F.2d 270,

273 (Sth Cir. 1955); Boyett v. Commissioner, 204 F.2d

205, 208 (Sth Cir. 1953).

To counter Mr. Kamerschen’s opinion, Windmere relied

on Norelco’s 1984 income statements, “which listed ad-

vertising in a category entitled variable expenses.” The

court rejected this evidence as insufficient to create an

issue for the jury because “[i]t is clear that such an account-

A20

Court of Appeals Opinion

ing record cannot alone support the classification of adver-

tising as a variable expense for economic purposes.” As

was the case with Mr. Kamerschen’s expert testimony, how-

ever, this was evidence that the jury was entitled to con-

sider in determining whether the advertising expenses were

variable or fixed costs. Indeed, the Areeda and Turner

antitrust treatise, which the district court cited as authority

for rejecting Philips’ own characterization of its advertis-

ing expenses as variable costs, states that “we have defined

marginal and average variable cost to include advertising

and other promotional expenditures.” 3 P. Areeda & D.

Turner, Antitrust Law 4 721a, at 191 (1978).

Similarly, we conclude that, in determining the amount

of Philips’ advertising expenses that are variable costs, the

proper treatment of the approximately $6.6 million Philips

received from its Dutch parent in 1985 was an issue for the

jury to decide.

2. The question whether Philips’ advertising expenses

should be allocated to the 1615 and 1320 models on a per

unit basis or on the basis of revenue received also was a

matter for the jury and not for the court to decide. We

reach that same conclusion with respect to the propriety of

Windmere’s use of 1986 projections, rather than Philips’

actual operating costs (which apparently were not avail-

able to Windmere), to determine Philips’ costs of batteries,

freight and handling.

IV

It is unfortunate that, as a result of our decision, the

lengthy and complex issues involved in Windmere’s anti-

trust counterclaim will have to be retried. That, however.

is the consequence of the district court’s directing a verdict

rather than allowing the case to go to the jury. As the

eas

A21

Court of Appeals Opinion

Eighth Circuit stated, in language that applies equally to

this case:

In short, the case was not clear enough to justify

a directed verdict. If this case had been tried to

the court, we would have had no difficulty in affirm-

ing, as not clearly erroneous, a finding for [Philips]

supported by the opinion the District Court ren-

dered here. But this case was not tried to the court.

It should have been permitted to go to the trier of

fact.

Dace Vv. ACF Indus., Inc., 722 F.2d 374, 379 (8th Cir.

1983). The court continued in a footnote:

This case illustrates again that it is usually better

practice for a district court, faced with a motion for

directed verdict, to allow the case to go to the jury,

and address the issue by way of judgment n.o.v. if

necessary. The jury may find for the moving party

in which case the issue disappears. If the verdict is

against the moving party, and if judgment n.o.v. is

granted, and if this Court decides on appeal that it

should have been denied, the verdict can simply be

reinstated, and no new trial is necessary.

Id. at 379-80 n.9. Accord Mattivi v. South African

Marine Corp., “Huguenot”, 618 F.2d 163, 166 n.2 (2d

Cir. 1980); Jamesbury Corp. v. Litton Indus. Prods., Inc.,

839 F.2d 1544, 1550, 5 USPQ2d 1779, 1784 (Fed. Cir.

1988).

CONCLUSION

The order of the district court granting a directed verdict

against Windmere on its antitrust counterclaim is reversed,

and the case is remanded to the district court for a new

trial on that counterclaim.

REVERSED AND REMANDED.

A22

Court of Appeals Opinion

NEWMAN, Circuit Judge, with whom MARKEY, Chief Judge,

joins, dissenting.

I respectfully dissent, for I believe that the district court

correctly directed a verdict in favor of the Philips com-

panies with respect to the asserted violation of Section 2

of the Sherman Act.

Perhaps a more cautious, or less confident, style of trial

management would have been to allow the jury to reach a

verdict and then review the decision. However, the law of

the Eleventh and Fifth Circuits fully supports the procedure

followed. See, e.g., J&H Auto Trim Co. v. Bellefonte Insur-

ance Co., 677 F.2d 1365, 1368 (lith Cir. 1982) (“There

must be a conflict in substantial evidence to create a jury

question.” (quoting Boeing Co. v. Shipman, 411 F.2d 365,

375 (Sth Cir. 1969) (en banc)); Malcolm v. Marathon

Oil Co., 642 F.2d 845, 848 (Sth Cir.) (the non-moving

party must present evidence sufficient to create a jury ques-

tion as to each element of the claim), cert. denied, 454 U.S.

1125 (1981).

In a carefully reasoned opinion, applying the standards

of the Supreme Court and the Eleventh and Fifth Circuits,

the district court held that Windmere’s evidence was “‘sim-

ply insufficient to permit the trier of fact to find facts in

connection with this matter.” Review of the record and

arguments shows that the district court was correct when

it held that, as a matter of law, Windmere had not adduced

sufficient evidence to support a jury verdict in its favor on

the asserted Section 2 violation. The most stalwart de-

fender of jury trials must also defend the authority of the

trial judge to manage the trial and, when appropriate, to

direct the verdict. Galloway v. United States, 319 U.S.

372, 392-395 (1943).

A23

Court of Appeals Opinion

A.

In response to a suit for patent infringement and for un-

fair competition (based on trade dress), Windmere as-

serted a counterclaim of monopolization and attempt to

monopolize against the Philips companies under Section

2 of the Sherman Act. Other antitrust counterclaims, also

decided against Windmere on the ground of insufficient

evidence, are not before us.

The district court stated that “Windmere had failed to

present substantial evidence sufficient to create a jury ques-

tion on at least one element of its antitrust claim—the

willful acquisition or maintenance of monopoly power via

predatory pricing”. The district court held, correctly, that

unless Windmere were able to create a jury question on this

element, Windmere could not prevail on its Sherman Act

charge. See Malcolm v. Marathon Oil, supra.

The court thus concentrated on Windmere’s evidence

on the issue of predatory pricing and concluded that, as a

matter of law, Windmere had not presented sufficient evi-

dence to create a jury question on the essential premises

thereof. Applying United States v. Grinnell Corp., 384

U.S. 563, 570-571 (1966), the district court observed that

it is not illegal to lower one’s price in view of competition,

(or in this case to bring in additional models at low price,

without lowering the price of the existing models) unless

in so doing the pricing is “predatory”. The applicable law

on determination of predatory pricing has recently been

reviewed in Cargill, Inc. v. Monfort of Colorado, Inc., 479

U.S. 104, 117 n.12 (1986), as follows:

No consensus has yet been reached on the proper

definition of predatory pricing in the antitrust con-

text, however. For purposes of decision in Mat-

A24

Court of Appeals Opinion

sushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio

Corp., 475 U.S. 574 (1986), for example, we de-

fined predatory pricing as either “(i) pricing below

the level necessary to sell their products, or (ii)

pricing below some appropriate measure of cost.”

Id., at 585, n.8. Definitions of predatory pricing

also vary among the Circuits. Compare Arthur

S. Langenderfer, Inc. v. S. E. Johnson Co., 729

F.2d 1050, 1056-1057 (CA6) (pricing below

marginal or average variable cost presumptively

illegal, pricing above such cost presumptively legal),

cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1036 (1984), with Trans-

america Computer Co. v. International Business

Machines Corp., 698 F.2d 1377 (CA9) (pricing

above average total costs may be deemed predatory

upon showing of predatory intent), cert. denied, 464

U.S. 955 (1983).

The district court, following this direction, looked to the

precedent of its own circuit for elaboration of the method

of determining predatory pricing. In /nternational Air

Industries, Inc. Vv. American Excelsior Co., 517 F.2d 714,

724 (Sth Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 424 U.S. 943 (1976),

the Fifth Circuit held:

In short, in order to prevail as a matter of law, a

plaintiff must at least show that either (1) a com-

petitor is charging a price below his average variable

cost in the competitive market or (2) the competitor

is charging a price below its short-run, profit-

maximizing price and barriers to entry are great

enough to enable the discriminator to reap the bene-

fits of predation before new entry is possible. [foot-

notes omitted]

A25

Court of Appeals Opinion

The first of the two [nternational Air tests, pricing below

average variable cost, was the lesser standard for Windmere

to meet. It is a commonly used test for predatory pricing

in the Fifth Circuit, see, e.g., Adjusters Replace-A-Car Inc.

Vv. Agency Rent-A-Car Inc., 735 F.2d 884 (5th Cir. 1984),

cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1160 (1985); and in other circuits,

see, e.g., MCI Communications Corp. v. American Tele-

phone & Telegraph Co., 708 F.2d 1081 (7th Cir.)

(criticizing the profit maximizing test), cert. denied, 464

U.S. 891 (1983); Barry Wright Corp. v. ITT Grinnell

Corp., 724 F.2d 227, 236 (1st Cir. 1983); Northeastern

Telephone Co. v. American Tel. & Tel. Co., 651 F.2d 76,

87-88 (2d Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 943 (1982);

Southern Pacific Comm. Co. v. American Tel. & Tel. Co.,

556 F. Supp. 825, 927, 964 (D.D.C. 1983), aff'd, 740

F.2d 1011 (D.C. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 470 U.S. 1005

(1985).

From the record and argument, it is apparent that Wind-

mere’s only way of attempting to show price below average

variable cost was by including Philips full advertising costs

as variable costs, attributed per unit to the reintroduced

obsolete models 1320 and 1615. Although the parties argue

the point on this appeal—the majority opinion refers to a

“vigorous dispute’—the district court looked to the evi-

dence.

The district court found that Windmere had presented

“no record evidence” to support either its method of alloca-

tion of advertising costs or its challenge to the total ad-

vertising expenditures; and that on Norelco’s established

advertising expenditures of $17,558,000, of which $6.6

million was paid by NVP, “even according to the testimony

of Windmere’s Vice President of Finance, Burton Honig,

Norelco achieved a profit on the sale of the 1320 and 1615

EEE

A26

Court of Appeals Opinion

in 1985”. Although Windmere argues the arithmetic on

appeal, there was no evidence to the contrary. Argument

of counsel is not evidence, as the Fifth Circuit has discussed:

Unsupported, self-serving testimony is not substan-

tial evidence sufficient to create a jury question.

Yoder Brothers, Inc. v. California-Florida Plant

Corp., 537 F.2d 1347, 1371 (Sth Cir. 1976), cert.

denied, 429 U.S. 1094, 97 S. Ct. 1108, 51 L. Ed.

2d 540 (1977). Similarly, inferences cannot stand

in the face of uncontradicted and substantial evi-

dence to the contrary. Scott Medical Supply Co. v.

Bedsole Surgical Supplies, Inc., 488 F.2d 934, 937

(5th Cir. 1974).

Comfort Trane Air Conditioning Co. v. Trane Co., 592

F.2d 1373, 1383 (5th Cir. 1979). Accord Janich Bros.,

Inc. v. American Distilling Co., 570 F.2d 848, 858 (9th

Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 829 (1978) (affirming

directed verdict for a defendant on a predatory pricing claim

because of the inadequacy of plaintiffs accounting evi-

dence: “a firm’s marginal costs cannot be ascertained from

conventional business records. Conventional records do not

provide information which a jury can use as evidence of

marginal cost.”)

The district court remarked on the absence of evidence

of any advertising whatsoever of the 161£ and 1320 models;

and the court observed that Windmere had the burden

of proof. Referring to Windmere’s reliance on its proposed

projections of Philips’ costs rather than actual cost data,

the district court held that “[a]lthough some use of projec-

tions undoubtedly is necessary, we find that where such use

alone makes the difference between a loss or a profit on an

item that use is too extensive.” The district court cited

A27

Court of Appeals Opinion

the Supreme Court in Matsushita Electric Inc. Co. v. Zenith

Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 589 (1986) on the necessity

of “direct evidence” of predatory pricing schemes.

Following the guidance of Matsushita, the district court

concluded that “Windmere’s evidence of below-cost pricing

does not meet the substantial evidence standard necessary

to withstand a directed verdict.” No error has been shown

in the district court’s careful analysis of the evidence

presented, or in its conclusion that the minimum evidentiary

standards on which a jury could have reached a verdict

of predatory pricing had not been met.

B.

Windmere argues in the alternative that the district court

Should have applied to its pricing analysis the second

standard of International Air, 517 F.2d at 724, viz. that

“the competitor is charging a price below its short-run,

profit-maximizing price and barriers to entry are great

enough to enable the discriminator to reap the benefits of

predation before new entry is possible.” The Fifth Circuit

Court explained the profit maximizing test as follows:

This standard should be applied only when the bar-

riers to entry are extremely high. The lower the

barriers to entry in a market, the closer to marginal

cost a monopolist would have to set its price in order

for a plaintiff to prevail as a matter of law, for we

see no social utility in insuring the survival of in-

efficient firms where a new entry is possible.

International Air, 517 F.2d at 725 n.31.

The district court did not rely in its decision on the

presence or absence of barriers to entry, presumably be-

cause Windmere did not argue that it encountered any

a

A28

Court of Appeals Opinion

actual barriers. It was undisputed that the Izumi shavers,

labeled with the Ronson trademark, experienced no entry

barriers whatsoever. In its first year Windmere sold six

million dollars’ worth, double its projections. In its 1984

Annual Report Windmere stated:

The most exciting new product introduced in 1984

was the Ronson shaver line, which included three

microfoii and two rotary shavers. We were success-

ful in gaining distribution of our shavers to many

of the major retailers in America. This was the most

successful product introduction in the Company’s

history.

Windmere’s sole argument as to entry barriers is based on

its reference to negotiations for the SCHICK trademark—

an event whose significance is belied by Windmere’s ap-

parently ready acquisition of the Ronson mark, and its im-

mediate market success. Accord, D.E. Rogers Associates,

Inc. v. Gardner-Denver Co., 718 F.2d 1431, 1434 (6th Cir.

1983), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1242 (1984) (ease of entry

shows lack of barriers to entry). In addition, Windmere’s

Vice President of Sales testified that the Sunbeam brand

name was available and could be used to market electric

shavers.

Since Windmere did not meet the threshold burden, under

the profit-maximizing test, of presenting evidence whereby

a jury could find that it experienced high barriers to entry,

I respectfully disagree with my colleagues’ reliance on entry

barriers as contributing substantial evidence for the jury:

this is the first of the majority's four-point basis for remand

for jury trial. Nor can I agree that it is probative of viola-

tion of the Sherman Act to introduce a lower-price model

in response to a competitor's low-price model (the ma-

A29 -

Court of Appeals Opinion

jority’s second point); or to engage in vigorous price com-

petition (the majority’s third point). The fourth point, on

which the negotiations concerning the SCHICK trademark

were relied on as evidence of intent to monopolize, even

if established, is not probative without below-cost pricing.

Industrial competition is not benevolent, and Causing loss

of profits to a competitor, or making the market less attrac-

tive to a competitor, whereby a less efficient or higher cost

competitor leaves the market, is not itself a violation of

antitrust law. As stated in Ball Memorial Hospital, Inc.

V. Mutual Hospital Ins., 784 F.2d 1325, 1338, 1339 (7th

Cir. 1986):

[I]ntent to harm rivals is not a useful standard in

antitrust... . Vigorous competitors intend to harm

rivals, to do all the business if they can. To penalize

this intent is to penalize competition.

Windmere’s position, simply put, is that Philips was

obliged to preserve its pricing at the levels of the status

quo ante, and neither reduce its price nor bring in a lower-

price model. Windmere refers approvingly to Remington’s

failure to reduce its prices when Windmere introduced its

Ronson brand foil razor. Thus Windmere argues that

Philips must be barred by the antitrust laws from pricing

its obsolete 1320 and 1615 models at lower prices than

those at which they had sold when they were the current

models (the 1615 having been offered at $28.00 some

years before, and now reoffered at $17.50), since the

purpose was to offer these models at a lower price than

that at which Windmere was offering the Izumi shaver.

It is not the law that Philips was required to preserve its

prices and products as they were before Windmere offered

the Izumi product at a lower price. “It is not anticompeti-

tive for a company to reduce prices to meet lower prices

A30

Court of Appeals Opinion

already being charged by competitors. Indeed, ‘[t]o force a

company to maintain non-competitive prices would be to

turn the antitrust laws on their head.” D.E. Rogers, 718

F.2d at 1435 (citations omitted) (quoting Richter Con-

crete Corp. V. Hilltop Concrete Corp., 691 F.2d 818, 826

(6th Cir. 1982)). The district court applied this prin-

ciple in its statement that “[p]rice cutting between com-

petitors as a general rule is precisely the type of conduct

our laws are designed to promote.” Pertinent is the Su-

preme Court’s recent discussion in Matsushita, 475 US.

at 594:

But cutting prices in order to increase business often

is the very essence of competition. Thus, mistaken

inferences in cases such as this one are especially

costly, because they chill the very conduct the anti-

trust laws are designed to protect. See Monsanto,

supra, at 763-764, 79 L. Ed. 2d 775, 104 S. Ct.

2378. “[{W]e must be concerned lest a rule or

precedent that authorizes a search for a particular

type of undesirable pricing behavior end up by dis-

couraging legitimate price competition.” Barry

Wright Corp. v. ITT Grinnell Corp., 724 F.2d

227, 234 (CA1 1983).

The district court considered Windmere’s arguments as

to the applicable precedent, including a careful analysis

of Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen Highlandds Skiing Corp.,

472 U.S. 585 (1985). The court, for the purpose of this

motion, accepted Windmere’s definition of the relevant

market as limited to rotary shavers, but did not agree with

Windmere that it is always a violation of the Sherman Act

to reduce prices if the result is to “deliberately remove com-

petitors,” in Windmere’s words, or that Philips was required

to refrain from reacting to Windmere’s importation of the

A31

Court of Appeals Opinion

Izumi product. The court, following International Air,

held that it is insufficient evidence of Sherman Act violation

to show that a “large entrenched firm with a dominant

market share,” id. at 721, reduced its prices in “a program

of stunting the possible growth of [the new entrant].” Jd.

at 719. The court held, as /nternational Air requires, that

it is also necessary to show that the sales were below

average variabie cost. Jd. at 724. It is not the law that a

dominant company must make room for new entrants.

The Fifth Circuit has discussed the role of intent, stating

in Adjusters Replace-A-Car, Inc. v. Agency Rent-A-Car,

Inc., 735 F.2d 884, 887 (Sth Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

469 U.S. 1160 (1985) that:

A statement of intent to compete . . . even if per-

ceived as a threat is not unlawful. Such a manifesta-

tion of intent to triumph in the competitive market,

in the absence of unfair, anticompetitive or pre-

datory conduct, is not enough to establish an anti-

trust violation.

(quoting Hayes v. Solomon, 597 F.2d 958, 977 (Sth Cir.

1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1078 (1980). It is not the

purpose of the antitrust laws to require that a lawful

monopolist “holdj] an umbrella over inefficient competi-

tors”. Olympia Equipment Leasing Co. v. Western Union

Telegraph Co., 797 F.2d 370, 375 (7th Cir. 1986), cert.

denied, 107 S. Ct. 1574 (1987).

Today it is clear that a firm with lawful monopoly

power has no general duty to help its competitors,

whether by holding a price umbrella over their

heads or by otherwise pulling its competitive

punches.

Id. at 375.

A32

Court of Appeals Opinion

Philips was not required to limit its products to those

pre-existing at higher prices, to provide an “umbrella” for

the importation by Windmere of the cheaper Izumi model,

or to refrain from selling an even cheaper model, even for

a limited time. The standard of the Fifth and Eleventh Cir-

cuits is that an essential element of a Section 2 violation is

proof of sale below a fair measure of cost, as discussed in

International Air. We, sitting in review of the district

court’s application of Fifth/Eleventh Circuit law, are unau-

thorized to set a different standard.

...

The district court concluded that there was insufficient

evidence to create a jury question on whether Philips was

pricing the re-introduced models below cost. It was the

trial court’s obligation to assure that the jury was presented

with evidence, not appeals to “passion and prejudice”.

Connell v. Sears Roebuck & Co., 722 F.2d 1542, 1546

(Fed. Cir. 1983). The Court stated in Zenith Radio Corp.

v. Hazeltine Research Inc., 395 U.S. 100, 124 ( 1969), that

“speculation and guesswork” can not support a verdict of

antitrust violation. See also Comfort Travel Air Condition

Co. v. Trane Co., 592 F.2d 1373, 1383 (Sth Cir. 1979)

(directed verdict granted when plaintiff failed to present

substantial evidence that defendant's illegal antitrust ac-

tivities were a material cause of plaintiff's injuries). Accord

Broadway Delivery Corp. V. United Parcel Service, Inc.,

651 F.2d 122, 131 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 968

(1981) (motion to dismiss after jury trial granted because

plaintiff's proof “did not permit a reasonable fact-finder

{to make] a careful assessment of the relationship between

the defendants’ prices and costs”); MCI Communications

Corp. v. American Tel. & Tel. Co., 708 F.2d 1081, 1125,

A33

Court of Appeals Opinion

126, 1127 (7th Cir.) (affirming a directed verdict for

defendant on a predatory pricing claim because of insuf-

ficient evidence), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 891 (1983);

Janich Brothers, Inc. v. American Distilling Co., 570 F.2d

848, 858 (9th Cir. 1977) (jury verdict set aside because

of insufficient evidence of predatory pricing), cert. denied,

439 U.S. 829 (1979). See generally Areeda & Turner,

Predatory Pricing and Related Practices Under Section 2

of the Sherman Act, 88 Harv. L. Rev. 697 (1975).

The district court correctly concluded that Windmere

had not adduced sufficient evidence to create a jury ques-

tion of its Section 2 Sherman Act claim, as a matter of law.

The court thus acted within its authority in directing the

verdict on this issue, and should be affirmed.

APPENDIX B

Opinion of the District Court, June 8, 1987

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

CASE No. 84-2508-CIV-MARCUS

U.S. PHiLips CORPORATION and NORTH AMERICAN

PHILIPS CORPORATION,

Plaintiffs,

VS.

WINDMERE CORPORATION and IZUMI SEIMITSU KoGyYo

KABUSHIKI KAISHA,

Defendants.

ry

v

THIS CAUSE came before the Court during the course

of a jury trial upon the motions of U.S. Philips Corpora-

tion (“USP”), North American Philips Corporation

(“NAPC”) and N.V. Philips Gloeilampen Fabrieken

(“NVP”) for a Directed Verdict as Counterdefendants

(USP and NAPC) and Third Party Defendant (NVP)

on Counts I and II of Windmere Corporation’s (““Wind-

mere”) and Izumi Setimitsu Kogyo Kabushiki Kaisha’s

(“Izumi”) Counterclaim against USP and NAPC, and third

party claim against NVP. On April 17, 1986, at the close

of Windmere’s antitrust case, USP, NAPC and NVP moved

for a directed verdict on Windmere’s counterclaim. At that

time, Windmere withdrew its claims under the Robinson-

Patman Act (Count III), Florida State Law (Count V)

and the Clayton Act (Count VII). The Court heard oral

argument on the remaining claims under Sections | and 2

of the Sherman Act on that date. Subsequently all parties

submitted supplemental memoranda addressing the remain-

ing counts, as well as questions raised by the Court at oral

argument.

B2

District Court Opinion

In their supplemental memorandum, USP and NAPC

alleged that they were entitled to a directed verdict because

Windmere had failed to offer substantial evidence that

Norelco sold its Model 1320 and 1615 razors below average

variable cost and that any evidence it had offered was in-

sufficient to avoid a directed verdict. NVP alleged in its

supplemental memorandum that Windmere had failed to

offer substantial evidence that NVP had monopolized or

attempted to monopolize any relevant market or that NVP

and Norelco were separate entities capable of conspiring

under § 1 of the Sherman Act. In response, Windmere

claimed that it did not have to show that Norelco main-

tained its monopoly by predatory acts in order to prove

its monopolization claim, or alternatively, that if proof of

predatory acts was necessary, that Windmere had produced

sufficient evidence of them to withstand a directed verdict

motion. Reluctantly we found that Windmere had failed

to present substantial evidence sufficient to create a jury

question on at least one element of its antitrust claims—

the willful acquisition or maintenance of monopoly power

via predatory pricing '—and accordingly we granted USP,

NAPC and NVP’s motions for a directed verdict in open

court on April 22, 1986. On April 22, 1986, a jury re-

turned a verdict for Plaintiffs on their patent infringement

claim and for Defendants on the unfair competition claim.

We revisit the directed verdict motions now to set forth

our reasons for granting them in detail.

1 The failure to prove predatory pricing is also fatal to Windmere’s

Section 1 claim against NVP. See Matsushita Electric Industrial

Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 106 S.Ct. 1348 (1986) (Section 1 case

which alleged predatory pricing).

B3

District Court Opinion

I. THE PARTIES

USP is a Delaware corporation which holds intellectual

property rights. NAPC is a Delaware corporation which is

engaged in a diversified line of commerce. It is a publicly

held corporation with stock traded on the New York

Stock Exchange. One of its divisions has been selling elec-

tric razors (foil) since 1948 and rotary electric razors since

1963. The brand name for the rotaries is Norelco. NVP

is related to NAPC in the following way: NVP is a Nether-

lands corporation wholly owned by the shareholders of

N.V. Gemeenschappelijk Bezit van Aandelen- Philips’

Gloeilampenfabricken (“Bezit”), a Netherlands corpora-

tion. Bezit is the beneficiary of United States Philips Trust,

which holds 60% of the common stock of NAPC. Answer

of NVP to Amended Third Party Complaint, at 2, Para. 4.

Windmere is a Florida corporation engaged in various

lines of commerce in the United States. Windmere began

marketing rotary razors under the Ronson trade name in

1984. Izumi is a Japanese corporation which manufactures

and sells electric razors to Windmere.

This action was commenced in October 1984 with the

filing of a Complaint by Plaintiffs USP and NAPC against

Windmere and Izumi for patent infringement and unfair

competition. The essence of the Complaint was that Wind-

mere’s Ronson rotary razors violated Plaintiffs’ patents on

Norelco rotaries, and that Windmere created confusion

among consumers by marketing the Ronson razor to appear

as if it were nearly identical to the Norelco rotaries> While

the patent infringement claim was directed against both

Windmere and Izumi, the unfair competition claims were

directed only at Windmere.

B4

District Court Opinion

Izumi counterclaimed against USP and NAPC seeking

declaratory judgment concerning U.S. letters Patent No.

4,227,301, which was the patent purportedly infringed by

Izumi. Izumi contended that the patent issued was invalid.

Windmere counterclaimed against USP and NAPC, Plain-

tiffs, and against NVP as a third party defendant. The only

remaining counts were Counts I and II. Count I was

brought under Section 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 2, and alleged an unlawful attempt by USP, NAPC and

NVP to monopolize, and monopolization of the electric

shaver market and the rotary shaver submarket in the

United States. Count II alleged a conspiracy to restrain

trade in the electric shaver market and rotary submarket

between NAPC, USP, and NVP.

II. DIRECTED VERDICT STANDARD

The standard to be applied to a directed verdict motion

has been stated by the Eleventh Circuit as follows:

On motions for directed verdict and for judgment

notwithstanding the verdict the Court should con-

sider all of the evidence—not just that evidence

which supports the non-mover’s case—but in the

light and with all reasonable inferences most favor-

able to the party opposed to the motion. If the facts

and inferences point so strongly and overwhelm-

ingly in favor of one party that the Court believes

that reasonable men could not arrive at a contrary

verdict, granting of the motions is proper. On the

other hand, if there is substantial evidence opposed

to the motions, that is, evidence of such quality

and weight that reasonable and fair-minded men

in the exercise of impartial judgment might reach

. B5

District Court Opinion

different conclusions, the motions should be denied,

and the case submitted to the jury. A mere scintilla

of evidence is insufficient to present a question for

the jury. The motions for directed verdict and

judgment n.o.v. should not be decided by which

side has the better of the case, nor should they be

granted only when there is a complete absence of

probative facts to support a jury verdict. There

must be a conflict in substantial evidence to create

a jury question. However, it is the function of the

jury as the traditional finder of the facts, and not

the Court, to weigh conflicting evidence and infer-

ences, and determine the credibility of witnesses.

L.A. Draper & Son, Inc. v. Wheelabrator-Frye, Inc., 735

F.2d 414, 419-20 (11th Cir. 1984), aff'd in part and rev’d

in part on other grounds, 813 F.2d 332 (11th Cir. 1987)

(quoting Boeing Co. v. Shipman, 411 F.2d 365, 374-75

(Sth Cir. 1976) (en banc).

In order to withstand a directed verdict motion, the non-

moving party must present substantial evidence sufficient to

create a jury question with respect to each element of its

claim. Malcolm v. Marathon Oil Co., 642 F.2d 845, 848

(Sth Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1125 (1981).

“Unsupported, self-serving testimony is not substantial evi-

dence sufficient to create a jury question.” Comfort Trane

Air Conditioning Co. v. Trane Co., 592 F.2d 1373, 1383

(Sth Cir. 1979) (citations omitted). “Similarly, inferences

cannot stand in the face of uncontradicted and substantial

evidence to the contrary.” Jd. (citation omitted).

USP, NAPC, and NVP acknowledged the strict standard

for a directed verdict yet strongly urged that a directed

verdict was appropriate because Windmere had failed to

present substantial evidence sufficient to create a jury ques-

tion primarily on its predatory pricing allegations.

B6

District Court Opinion

As we have noted, Counts I and II alleged a monopoly,

an attempt to monopolize and restraint of trade against

USP, NAPC and NVP. Windmere alleged that NVP was

the parent of USP and NAPC and that the three corpora-

tions were really a single economic unit acting in violation

of Section 2 of the Sherman Act. Alternatively, Windmere

alleged that NVP conspired with USP and NAPC in viola-

tion of Section 1 of the Sherman Act. While NVP moved ,

separately for a directed verdict in its favor, many of the

same arguments advanced by USP and NAPC applied to

NVP as well.’

Il]. THE SHERMAN ACT

In United States v. Grinnell Corp., the Supreme Court

stated that a Section 2 Sherman Act violation consists of

the following elements: “(1) the possession of monopoly

power in the relevant market and (2) the willful acquisi-

tion or maintenance of that power as distinguished from

growth or development as a consequence of a superior

product, business acumen, or historic accident.” 384 U.S.

563, 570-71 (1966). Moreover, to establish an attempt

to monopolize, the plaintiff must show a specific intent

to monopolize and a dangerous probability of achieving a

monopoly in the relevant market.

As we noted in our summary judgment Order of April

8. 1986, the crucial issue in antitrust analysis often is a

determination of the alleged monopolists’ market power.

Furthermore, the threshold fact question in determining

market power is definitional—what is the relevant market.

2 Thus, we shall refer to USP, NAPC, and NVP collectively as

“Philips” hereinafter.

B7

District Court Opinion

See, e.g., Grinnell, 384 U.S. at 570-71. In accord with the

importance of these determinations, Windmere presented a

substantial amount of evidence to support its definition of

the relevant market and to show that USP, NAPC and NVP

had market power in this market. Windmere’s memo-

randum in opposition to the directed verdict motion entitled

“Windmere’s Theories of Liability” also thoroughly covered

these arguments. Market power, however, is not the sole

element of a Sherman 2 violation. Although Windmere

claimed at oral argument that the Sherman Act “prevents

monopoly,” this is simply not so. As is clear from the

Grinnell test, the Sherman Act prohibits only those mono-

polies that are willfully acquired or maintained as distin-

guished from those that result from a superior product,

business acumen or historic accident. Thus, even assuming

that USP, NAPC, and NVP had market power in Wind-

mere’s proposed relative market, as we did for purposes

of this motion, Windmere still had to prove the “willful-

ness” or intent element in order to meet the requirement

that it present substantial evidence on each element of its

claim. Accordingly, it is the evidence with respect only

to this element of a Sherman 2 violation that we shall

review.

A. Monopolistic Intent

Specific intent to monopolize is an element of an attempt

to monopolize claim under § 2, but in cases of actual mono-

polization, the intent required under § 2 is a general intent

—a specific intent need not be proved. “The [requisite

specific] intent must be to do more than compete vigor-

Ously; vigorous competition is precisely what the antitrust

laws are designed to foster.” Adjusters Replace-A-Car, Inc.

Vv. Agency Rent-A-Car, Inc., 735 F.2d 884, 887 (Sth Cir.

B8

District Court Opinion

1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1160 (1985). Accordingly,

in this Circuit,’ “[a] statement of intent to compete...

even if perceived as a threat, is not unlawful. Such a

manifestation of intent to triumph in the competitive market,

in the absence of unfair, anti-competitive or predatory

conduct, is not enough to establish an antitrust violation.”

Hayes v. Solomon, 597 F.2d 958, 977 (Sth Cir. 1979)

(footnote and citations omitted), cert. denied, 444 US.

1078 (1980). “Rather, the forbidden specific intent is that

of acquiring and exercising ‘the power to fix prices or to

exclude competition.’ ” Adjusters Replace-A-Car, Inc., 735

F.2d at 887 (quoting United States v. du Pont & Co., 351

U.S. 377, 391 (1956) ).

The less stringent standard of general intent is met where

a business which possesses monopoly power “undertakes a

course of action the consequences of which would be to

destroy or exclude competition, or if monopoly results as the

inevitable consequence of its conduct.” 3 Von Kalinowski,

Antitrust Laws & Trade Regulation § 8.02[4] (1986). Ifa

business’ conduct is unlawful, or in context evidences a will-

ful, deliberate or conscious acquisition or retention of mono-

poly power, a general intent to monopolize will be inferred.

Id. Because Windmere has made both monopolization and

attempted monopolization claims, each of which has a

different intent standard, we evaluated only the monopoliza-

tion claim, which carries with it the less rigorous general

intent standard, in determining whether Windmere offered

the substantial evidence necessary to withstand a motion for

a directed verdict.

3In Bonner v. City of Prichard, the Eleventh Circuit adopted

as binding precedent those decisions rendered by the former Fifth

Circuit prior to October 1, 1981. 661 F.2d 1206 (lith Cir. 1981).

B9

District Court Opinion

B. Predatory Pricing Standards

The specific conduct which Windmere alleged was anti-

competitive and showed Philips’ intent to monopolize, was

Philips alleged predatory pricing scheme with regard to the

sale of its model 1320 and 1615 rotary electric razors. As

has been noted by the Supreme Court recently, however,

predatory pricing, by either a single firm or as a conspiracy,

is by its nature very speculative. Matsushita Electric In-

dustrial Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 106 S.Ct. 1348, 1357-58

(1986). It requires a company or companies to sacrifice

present revenues in the expectation of greater future gains.

For this risk to be rational, the company or companies must

have a very substantial prospect that the losses they incur

will be exceeded by the monopoly profits to be earned after

rivals have been destroyed. /d.; see P. Areeda & D. Turner,

Predatory Pricing & Related Practices Under Section 2 of

the Sherman Act, 88 Harv. L. Rev. 697, 698 (1975) (here-

inafter “Areeda & Turner”). “Absent some assurance that

the hoped-for monopoly will materialize, and that it can

be sustained for a significant period of time. ‘[t]he predator

must make a substantial investment with no assurance that

it will pay off.’” Matsushita, 106 S. Ct. at 1357 (quoting

Easterbrook, Predatory Strategies and Counterstrategies, 48

U. Chi. L. Rev. 263, 268 (1981)). Repeated predation

is often necessary to destroy new entrants, too. Such a

strategy is costly, easy to detect and subject to severe sanc-

tion. Areeda & Turner, at 699. Consequently, the prospects

of an adequate future payoff will seldom be sufficient to

motivate predation. /d. Thus, “predatory pricing schemes

are rarely tried, and even more rarely successful.”

Matsushita, 106 S. Ct. at 1357-58 (citations omitted).

We are constantly reminded that the antitrust laws are

designed and intended to protect and promote competition.

B10

District Court Opinion

Price cutting between competitors as a general rule is pre-

cisely the type of conduct our laws are designed to promote.

Only when that behavior becomes predatory, that is when

the price cutting scheme falls below some measured

standard, does it become actionabie. Therefore, due to the

rarity with which true predatory schemes arise, it is im-

portant to carefully define this wrongful conduct, so as not

to punish properly competitive behavior. And it is critical

that the facts in a particular case be carefully examined

and measured against the appropriate standard. As has

been noted by the Fifth Circuit, judicial use of the term

“predatory intent” is troublesome because several cases hold

that a court may infer its existence from a finding of certain

actions. International Air Industries, Inc. Vv. American

Excelsior Co., 517 F.2d 714, 722 (Sth Cir. 1975), cert.

denied, 424 U.S. 943 (1976). Yet, predatory intent has

never been clearly defined. The Supreme Court has stated

that “predatory pricing” means pricing below some measure

of cost, however, it has not determined which “cost” is

relevant. Matsushita, 106 S. Ct. at 1355 n.8. The Fifth

Circuit, however, has made such a determination. It has

stated that in order for a plaintiff to prevail as a matter

of law on a predatory pricing claim, it must show that

either:

(1) acompetitor is charging a price below his aver-

age variable cost in the competitive market or (2)

the competitor is charging a price below its short-

run, profit-maximizing price and barriers to entry

are great enough to enable the discriminator to reap

the benefits of predation before new entry is possible.

International Air, 517 F.2d at 724 (footnote omitted).

Bil

District Court Opinion

The court chose average variable cost as the appropriate

measure as a result of the following analysis. First, the

incremental cost of making and selling the last unit

(marginal cost), the truly appropriate cost measure, is often

difficult to calculate from conventional business accounts.

Areeda & Turner, at 716. Thus, average variable cost,‘

which is easier to calculate, may be substituted for marginal

cost in a predatory pricing analysis. /d. at 717-18, see

International Air, 517 F.2d at 724. Second, marginal cost

was chosen, even though prices at or above it are not neces-

sarily profit-maximizing, because at the point where price

equals marginal cost, only less efficient firms will suffer

larger losses per unit of output than the alleged monopolist;

more efficient firms will be losing less or operating profit-

ably. Areeda & Turner, at 711. “Establishing a price floor

above marginal cost would permit survival not only of

equally efficient firms, but less efficient ones as well... .

[T]o force the firm to charge a higher price would reduce

industry output and waste economic resources in the short

run.... Thus, pricing at marginal cost is the competitive

and socially optimal result.” 7d. at 711. Thus, in order

for Windmere to withstand-a directed verdict motion it

must have presented substantial evidence that Philips priced

the model 1320 and 1615 razors (1) below average variable

cost or (2) below its short-run, profit-maximizing price

(average variable cost) and that barriers to entry are great.°

* Average variable cost is the costs that vary with changes in

output divided by the output.

‘International Air Industries suggests that a short-run profit-

maximizing price is equa! to average variable cost.’ If this is so, we

fail to see how this additional test provides an alternative measure

of predatory pricing other than to add the requirement of high entry

(footnote continued on following page)

B12

District Court Opinion

Because the easier to meet of these two standards requires

proof only of pricing below average variable cost, this is

the standard we shall evaluate Windmere’s evidence

against.

IV. EVIDENCE ADDUCED AT TRIAL

OF PREDATORY PRICING

The disputes regarding the evidence Windmere intro-

duced to prove predatory pricing involve two primary issues:

(1) the proper allocation of Philips advertising expendi-

tures, and (2) the proper method of proving costs—i.e.,

by using actual costs or projections.

It is undisputed that if all of Philips advertising expendi-

tures are classified as fixed costs, that Philips prices for the

model 1320 and 1615 razors exceeded their average variable

cost. Windmere, however, claimed that “Norelco’s records

treated all advertising as “variable costs.” Windmere’s

Theories of Liability, at 10. Windmere, however, has failed

to cite to any record evidence to support this statement.

Rather, Windmere has cited to legai authority which indi-

cates that in specific cases, courts have found advertising

to be a variable cost.

Variable costs, as defined, are costs that vary with

changes in output. Areeda & Turner, at 700. Thus, to

determine whether a cost is fixed or variable, a court must

look at the business plans and records of the particular

(footnote continued from preceding page)

barriers. If the profit-maximizing price is actually intended to be

something greater than average variable cost, we note that this

test has been criticized by other courts and has not actually been

imposed by any circuit. See, e.g., Southern Pacific Communications

Co. Vv. American Telephone-& Telegraph Co., 556 F. Supp. 825,

964 (D.C. Cir. 1982), ai denied, 470 U.S. 1005 (1985).

B13

District Court Opinion

business before it—generalizations simply cannot be made

effectively. In the instant case, Philips offered the expert

testumony of Mr. Kamerschen on this very subject. Mr.

Kamerschen testified that based on his review of Norelco’s

business and media plans, which he stated contained the

type of information an economist would generally rely upon

in order to make a judgment of this kind, that Norelco’s

advertising was a fixed cost. (Tr. 2618-2623). Windmere

failed to bring forth any information to the contrary on

the cross-examination of this witness.

The only evidence which Windmere pointed to at oral

argument on this motion in support of its position were

1984 income statements of Norelco which listed advertising

in a Category entitled variable expenses. (Tr. 2429). It is

clear that such an accounting record cannot alone support

the classification of advertising as a variable expense for

economic purposes. As noted by Areeda & Turner:

Marginal, variable, and full costs are economic con-

cepts used to study markets. Financial statements

and accounts, on the other hand, are prepared by

accountants to aid management in operating the

business and also to guide shareholders and other

investors. For this reason, the court cannot simply

turn to the defendant’s financial statements to find

the marginal, variable, or full costs relevant for cost

based predatory pricing rules.

Areeda & Turner. Antitrust Law © 712.1, at 359 (1986

Supp.); see Janich Bros. Inc. v. American Distilling Co.,

570 F.2d 848, 858 (9th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 439 USS.

829 (1978) (affirmance of directed verdict where plaintiff

presented evidence of prices below cost of merchandise

sold rather than average variable cost). Accordingly, we

B14

District Court Opinion

find that Windmere did not present any competent evidence,

much less substantial evidence, to support its claim that

Norelco’s advertising was a variable expense.

Even assuming, however, that advertising expenses here

are properly characterized as variable costs, there is a ques-

tion whether cooperative advertising support given to

Norelco by NVP should be deducted before determining

whether Norelco priced the 1615 and 1320 below its average

variable cost. NAPC claimed to have received $6,520,000

in advertising support from NVP in 1985. If this amount

is properly deducted, then even according to the testimony

of Windmere’s Vice President of Finance, Burton Honig,

Norelco achieved a profit on the sale of the 1320 and 1615

in 1985. (Tr. 2096). Windmere claimed, however, that

although this money was earmarked by NVP to be paid to

Norelco, that it was never actually paid (Tr. 2425), or

alternatively, that this sum was in addition to, rather than

part of, the $17.5 million spent by Norelco for advertising

in 1985. (Tr. 2424-2425). A review of the record evidence

shows that Norelco actually spent $17,558,000 for advertis-

ing in 1985 and that $6.6 million of this amount was paid

to it by NVP. (Tr. 2451-2452; Defendants’ Exhibits 931,

932, 933; Plaintiffs’ Exhibit 16). Consequently, we must

reject Windmere’s wholly unsupported contention.

Windmere next contended that the 1985 receipts for the

1615 and 1320 do not cover average variable costs when

advertising expenses are allocated to these models on a per

unit basis.© Philips responded that advertising should be

6 For purposes of this argument, we have considered 1985 ad-

vertising expenses to have been $17,558,000. This amount includes

the $6.6 million contribution which, as noted previously, we believe

should be deducted for purposes of this average variable cost

analysis. However, because we wish to evaluate Windmere’s argu-

ments independently from one another, we have included this sum,

as have all parties in reviewing this contention.

B15

District Court Opinion

allocated on the basis of revenue received, and that using

this method, total receipts tor the 1615 and 1320 exceeded

average variable costs. We can find no record evidence

to support either method of allocation. Aithough Windmere

claimed that Norelco allocated on a per unit basis (Tr.

2428), Philips denied this allegation. (Tr. 2446). Because

Windmere had the burden of proof on this issue, we cannot

say that it should be able to reach a jury on this contention

in the absence of substantial evidence which supports its

position.

Furthermore, we find that there is no record evidence

which shows that any advertising expenses were incurred

specifically for the 1615 and 1320. Windmere claimed that

the ads were geared toward the sale of three-headed rotary

shavers in general and presumably toward the 1615 and

1320. (Tr. 2431). Philips’ exhibits, in contrast, showed

that these two models were not nationally advertised. (Plain-

tiffs’ Exhibits 18, 205). Thus, it appears to us, that there

is no evidence to suggest that advertising expenses should

not be allocated across ihe full Norelco line of shavers

tather than just to the 1615 and 1320. Consequently, we

find that Windmere has not presented substantial evidence

on this issue.

Finally, we must consider the type of evidence Windmere

has offered to support its allegations. As discussed earlier,

predatory pricing is very speculative and in most situations,

irrational. As a result, a party attempting to prove such

allegations b@ars a heavy burden. The Supreme Court has

recently suggested that “[a]s a practical matter, it may be

that only direct evidence of below-cost pricing is sufficient

to overcome the strong inference that rational businesses

would not enter into [such activities].” Matsushita, 106

S. Ct. at 1355 n. 9. It is with these concerns in mind that

we evaluate Windmere’s evidence.

————

B16

District Court Opinion

Windmere admitted that its evidence of the cost of bat-

teries, freight, and handling was based on projections of

the 1985 year. Windmere’s Theories of Liability, at 12.

(Tr. 2484-85). Indeed, there is no record evidence of the

actual amounts paid for 1985. Moreover, the record is

silent as to whether Norelco paid any amount for batteries

or whether batteries were included in the cost of the razors

to Norelco. As noted by Philips, when the cost of batteries

is eliminated and these other costs are reduced, Norelco’s

alleged loss becomes a profit. (Defendants’ Exhibits 523,

922, 930). Accordingly, we cannot agree with Windmere

that these items are “minor.” Although some use of pro-

jections undoubtedly is necessary, we find that where such

use alone makes the difference between a loss or a profit

on an item that the use is too extensive. In view of the

Supreme Court’s admonition on the importance of direct

evidence in predatory pricing cases, we find that Wind-

mere’s evidence of below-cost pricing does not meet the

substantial evidence standard necessary to withstand a

directed verdict.

V. THE NECESSITY OF PROVING

BELOW-COST PRICING

Alternatively, Windmere contends that predatory pricing

need not be proven in order to prove a § 2 violation. Wind-

mere argued that by lowering their prices on the 1615 and

1320, Norelco intended to destroy Windmere and that such

conduct violates the Sherman Act. (Tr. 2413-2414).

Windmere relied primarily on Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen

Highlands Skiing Corp., 105 S. Ct. 2847 (1985), in making

this argument. According to Windmere, in Aspen the Su-

preme Court found the existence of an illegal monopoly

B17

District Court Opinion

where a business refused to continue a joint marketing

program—behavior which Windmere characterizes as

neither pernicious nor predatory. We reject Windmere’s

reading of Aspen. Aspen involved the question whether one

ski company had a duty to continue a joint marketing pro-

gram for lift tickets with another ski company in the Aspen

area. After determining that the relevant geographic market

was limited to the Aspen area, that only two companies

operated businesses in this area, and that the defendant had

market power, the Supreme Court evaluated whether one

company had a legal duty to continue to deal with the other

company. The High Court began by noting that “[i]n the

absence of any purpose to create or maintain a monopoly,

the [Sherman] act does not restrict the long recognized

right of trader or manufacturer engaged in an entirely

private business, freely to exercise his own independent

discretion as to parties with whom he will deal.” Aspen,

105 S. Ct. at 2857 (emphasis in original) (quoting United

States v. Colgate & Co., 250 U.S. 300, 307 (1919)). The

Court further noted that evidence of intent was relevant to

determine whether the challenged conduct was “exclusion-

ary,” “anticompetitive,” or “predatory.” Jd. In order to

determine whether the Aspen defendant’s conduct was pred-

atory, the High Court looked at its conduct to see if it was

“ ‘attempting to exclude rivals on some basis other than

efficiency.’”” Aspen, 105 S. Ct. at 2859 (emphasis added)

(quoting R. Bork, The Antitrust Paradox 138 (1978)).

After determining that the Aspen defendant had no legiti-

mate business justifications for its alleged predatory con-

duct, the Court found that “the evidence supports an

inference that [defendant] Ski Co. was not motivated by

efficiency concerns and that it was willing to sacrifice short

run benefits and consumer good will in exchange for a

B18

District Court Opinion

perceived long-run impact on its smaller rival.” Aspen,

105 S. Ct. at 2861-62.

A review of Aspen makes clear that apparent exclusionary

conduct, even by a monopolist, is not per se illegal. Rather

the conduct must be evaluated for efficiency justifications.

Only where there exists no efficiency justification does such

conduct violate the Sherman Act. Although Aspen in-

volved a refusal to deal, not predatory pricing as in this

case, the underlying standard and rationale remain un-

changed. Pricing below average variable cost violates the

Sherman Act because, based on sound economic theory,

there is no efficiency justification for it. Any price above

average variable cost may be supported by an efficiency

motivation. Accordingly, we reject Windmere’s arguments

that Aspen did not involve predatory conduct and that

Philips’ price-cutting alone, without a review of its efficiency,

necessarily constitutes a violation of § 2 of the Sherman

Act. For the foregoing reasons, it is hereby

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that USP, NAPC, and

NVP’s Motions for a Directed Verdict are GRANTED.

DONE AND ORDERED in Miami, Florida this 8th day

of June, 1987.

/s/ STANLEY MARCUS

United States District Judge

Southern District of Florida

APPENDIX C

pie alls nba abe RAO

Judgment of the Court of Appeals, November 14, 1988

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

87-1476

U.S. PHILIPS Corp. and NORTH AMERICAN PHILIPS CorpP.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

V.

WINDMERE CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellant.

IZUMI SEIMITSU KoGyo KABUSHIKI KAISHA,

Defendant.

JUDGMENT

ON APPEAL from the U.S. District Court, Southern Dis-

trict of Florida in CASE NO(S). 84-2508-CIV

This CAUSE having been heard and considered, it is

ORDERED and ADJUDGED: REVERSED and

REMANDED

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

DATED NOV 14 1988

/s/ FRANCIS X. GINDHART

Francis X. Gindhart, Clerk

ISSUED AS A MANDATE: JAN 23 1989

APPENDIX D

Order Denying Petition for Rehearing

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

87-1476

*

U.S. Poitips Corp. and NORTH AMERICAN PHILIPS CorpP.,

Plaintiffs-A ppellees,

V.

WINDMERE CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellant.

IZUMI SEIMITSU KOGYO KABUSHIKI KAISHA,

Defendant.

°

Before MARKEY, Chief Judge, FRIEDMAN, SMITH, NEWMAN,

and MAYER, Circuit Judges.

REVISED ORDER

A petition for rehearing having been filed in this case,

and a response thereto having been invited by the court and

filed,

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is

ORDERED that the petition for rehearing be, and same

hereby is, denied.

Chief Judge Markey would grant the petition.

The suggestion for rehearing in banc is under considera-

tion.

FOR THE COURT

/s/ FRANCIS X. GINDHART

Clerk

January 13, 1989

APPENDIX E

Order Denying Petition for Rehearing In Banc

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

87-1476

#

U.S. PHiLips Corp. and NORTH AMERICAN PHILIPS CORP.,

Plaintiffs-A ppellees,

V.

WINDMERE CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellant.

SEIMITSU KOGYO KABUSHIKI KAISHA,

Defendant.

ORDER

A suggestion for rehearing in banc having been filed in

this case,

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is

ORDERED that the suggestion for rehearing in banc be,

and the same is declined.

FOR THE COURT

/s/ FRANCIS X. GINDHART

Clerk

January 27, 1989

APPENDIX F

15 U.S.C. §2

$2. Monopolizing trade a felony; penalty

Every person who shall monopolize, or attempt to mo-

nopolize, or combine or conspire with any other person or

persons, to monopolize any part of the trade or commerce

among the several States, or with foreign nations, shall be

deemed guilty of a felony, and, on conviction thereof, shall

be punished by fine not exceeding one million dollars if a

corporation, or, if any other person, one hundred thousand

dollars, or by imprisonment not exceeding three years, or by

both said punishments, in the discretion of the court.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.