Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Delta Truck & Tractor, Inc. v. J. I. Case Co.

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

NO.

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITE

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

DELTA TRUCK & TRACTOR, INC.,

PETITIONERS

VERSUS

\

44);

J.1. CASE COMPANY

TENNECO, INC.

NAVISTAR INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION

(FORMERLY INTERNATIONAL HARVESTER COMPANY)

RESPONDENTS

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

HENRY B. BRUSER, III

POST OFFICE BOX 6118

ALEXANDRIA, LA 71307-6118

(318) 445-6471

JACK _N. PRICE

410 CONGRESS AVENUE

AUSTIN, TX 78701

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONERS

I. THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW:

1. Has petitioner alleged an enterprise, or

must petitioner assert in its pleadings as a

matter of law that the defendants posed a

continuous threat as RICO persons?

2. Can an associated-in-fact enterprise engage

in a pattern of racketeering activity

effectively infiltrating hundreds of

legitimate businesses and nonetheless fall

outside RICO’s ambit because the enterprise

does not display sufficient "ongoing

continuity"?

3. Must an association-in-fact enterprise be

alleged to have an existence separate and

apart from the racketeering activity in

which it engages or may the enterprise be in

effect, no more than the sum of the

predicate acts?

Il. THE LIST OF ALL PARTIES:

Petitioner: Delta Truck and Tractor, Inc.

Respondents: J.I. Case Company; Tenneco, Inc.;

Navistar International Corporation (formerly

International Harvester Company)

a er

IItl. TABLE OF CONTENTS:

The Questions Presented for Review........... i

The List of All PartiesS.....ccccccccccccvcces i

TABLES GE COMEONCS. 2. clecccccccccasccsccssecs ii

Designation of Corporate Relationships...... ii

Table of Authorities. .....ccccccccccccccces iii

Reference to Official & Unofficial

ED PERM gow cc cceeesesceecsceeceseceos vi

The Jurisdiction of the Court............... vi

Tee BOA ASCOMLS SCACUCES. 2 ccc ccccccnsevsecess vi

A Concise Statement of the Case.............. 1

PNG s ccc esccccecses SCOSCHS DEES OOK OSE SE HOHOS 9

PE e sa can cccccces peas eeeeeeeeedawascae’ 31

"A" Delta Truck & Tractor, Inc. v.

J.I. Case Co., 855 F.2d 241

(Sth Cir. 1988)

Designation of Corporate Relationships

Delta Truck & Tractor, Inc. is not owned by

any parent corporations, does not have an

Ownership interest in any subsidiaries, and

does not have any affiliates.

- 24 =

IV. TABLE OF AUTHORITIES:

Associated General Contractors Of California,

Inc. vs. California State Council Of

Carpenters, 459 U.S. 519, 525, 103 S.Ct. 897,

902, 74 L. Ed. 2d 723 (1983) . » « 6-2 3-8 eee

Barticheck vv. Fidelity Union Bank/First

National State, 832 F.2d 36 (3rd Cir. 2967) « «

Any B2”E9

Beauford v. Helmsley, 843 F.2d 103 (2nd Cir.

19663 6 6 6 6 oR ek ee eee ee eee

Beck v. Manufacturers Hanover Trust Co., 820

F.2d 46 (2nd Cir. 1987), cert denied, __ U.S.

, 108 S.Ct. 698, 98 L.Ed.2d 650 (1988) o« ae

Cohen v. United States, __ U.S. __, 107 S.Ct.

3229, L.Ed.2d __ (1987)].

. dl id dl . . 7 7 . . * dl . . * 7 . . 2 . . 23

Conley vs. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46, 78 S.Ct.

99, 101-102, 2 L. Ed. 20 (31957) . « «© «© «© « « ©

Creative Bath Products, Inc. v. Conn. General

Life Ins. Company, 837 F.2d 561 (2nd Cir.

1988), petition for cert. filed, 56 U.S.L.W.

3755 (U.S. Apr. 19, 1988) (No.87-1738) ... 24

Delta Truck & Tractor v. J.I.Case, et al, 855

P.2a@ 241, 244 (Sth Cir. 1968) . + « » « « ay SO

Mo és Inc. v. Northwestern Bell Telephone

Company, 829 F.2d 648 (8th Cir. 1987), cert

granted, 56 8.8.L.48- 3647 (U.S. Mar. ahs

£968) (06. O7-42308) Poss 6s Ss ee ee

Hofstetter v, Fletcher, RICO Bus.Disp.Guide

Par. 7065 (6th Cir.1988) ee lee ee oe 17

Lewis v. Sporck, 612 F. Supp. 1316 (N.D. Cal.

arr eas er ee

Liquid Air Corporation v. Rodgers, 834 F.2d

1297 (7th Cir. 1987), petition for cert. filed,

56 U.S.L.W. 3531 (U.S. Jan. 28, 1988) (No.87-

1262) . . a . . . . . . . . . . . . * . . 9, 10

Manax v. McNamara, 842 F.2d 808 (5th Cir. 1988)

23

Marshall-Silver Construction Company, Inc. v.

Mendel, 835 F.2d 63 (3rd Cir. 1987), petition

for cert. filed, 56 U.S.L.W. 3592 (U.S. Feb.

55 aees Cs CPPS as ko i ele es

McNally v. United States, 483 U.S. 5 eae

$.C&. 2875, 2681, 97 L.Ba.24 292 (1987) ...8

Moss vs. Morgan Stanley, Inc., 719 F.2d 5, 22

(2nd Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1025,

104 S.Ct. 1280, 79 L.Ed. 2d 684 (1984) . « $oee

R.A.G.S. Couture, Inc. vs. Hyatt, 774 F.2d

1350, 1353 (5th Cir. 1985) a oe a a oe ee ee

Sedima, S.P.R.L. vs. Imerex Company, Inc., 473

U.S. 479, 105 &§.Ct. 3275, 87 Le Bd.20 346

co: er ar a ae or

Seville Industrial Machinery Corp. vs.

Southmost Machinery Corp., 742 F.2d 786, 790

(32g Cir. Se ae ee ee 20, 22

Terra Du Lac Association, Inc. v. Terra Du Lac,

Inc., 834 F.2d 148 (8th Cir. 1987), petition

for cert. filed, 56 U.S.L.W. 3755 (U.S. Apr.

21,1988) (No. 87-1742) a ae a a a a a ee 12

U.S. vs. DeRosa, 670 F. 2d 889, 895-96 (9th

Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 856, 104 S.

Ct. 175, 78 L.Ed. 2d 157 (1983) “<a & » 19

United States v.Qaoud, 777 F.2d 1105, 1115 (6th

Ch See ko aa a ae ee ee ee

~ io «

f

“+ &

_ = ea

_ a aes:

ah oe nee ci

- La

on

aj

ats f

s,,

1e

oe.»

ee

— - a

—

_— —

i

i eh ee

: '

United States v. Ianniello, 808 F.2d 184, 191

(2nd Cir. 1986), cert denied sub nom Cohen v.

United States, wae .» Bet B.88s BeaP,

L.Ed.2d __ (1987)].

Po ae ae ee ee ee eee ee ee ee ee ar 23

United States vs. Bagnariol, 665 F.2d 877, 891

eg gy gt ie me ee

United States vs. Bdrgaric, 706 F.2d 42, 55

(2nd Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 840 (1983)

19

United States vs. Bledsoe, 674 F.2d 647, 665

(8th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1040

ht ieee Tal oe eT eg gg gl ge

United States vs. Cagnina, 697 F.2d 915, 921

Pus A ge ee ga ke le hl ee

United States vs. Turkette, 452 U.S. 576, 583,

101 S.Ct. 2324, 69 L. Ed. 24 246 (1981) .. 6,

18-20

Weft, Inc. vs. G.C. Investment Associates, 630

F.Supp. 1138 (E.D. H.C. i960) . ..-+« s+ 21, 22

a

:

V. REFERENCE TO OFFICIAL & UNOFFICIAL OPINIONS

BELOW:

Delta Truck & Tractor, Inc. v. J.I. Case

Company, et al., 855 F.2d 241 (5th Cir.

1988).

VI. THE JURISDICTION OF THE COURT:

The jurisdiction of this Honorable Court is

established by 28 U.S.C. 2101(c). The date of

the judgment rendered by the Fifth Circuit

Court of Appeals for the United States of

America is September 20, 1988.

Vil. THE APPLICABLE STATUTES:

a 18 U.S.C. § 1961(1)-(5) - Definitions

As used in this chapter--

(1) “racketeering activity" means (A) any

act or threat involving murder, kidnaping,

gambling, arson, robbery, bribery, extortion,

dealing in obscene matter, or dealing in

narcotic or other dangerous drugs, which is

chargeable under State law and punishable by

imprisonment for more than one year; (B) any

» 2 =

act which is indictable under any of the

following provisions of title 18, United

States Code: Section 201 (relating to

bribery), section 224 (relating to sports

bribery), sections 471, 472, and 473 (relating

to counterfeiting), section 659 (relating to

theft from interstate shipment) if the act

indictable under section 659 is’ felonious,

section 664 (relating to embezzlement’ from

pension and welfare funds), sections 891-894

(relating to extortionate credit

transactions), section 1084 (relating to the

transmission of gambling information) section

1341 (relating to mail fraud), section 1343

(relating to wire fraud) sections 1461-1465

(relating -to obscene matter), section 1503

(relating to obstruction of justice), section

1510 (relating to obstruction of criminal

investigations), section 1511 (relating to the

Obstruction of State or local law

enforcement), section 1512 (relating to

tampering with a witness, victim, or an

informant), section 1513 (relating to

- vii -

retaliating against a witness, victim, or an

informant), section 1951 (relating to

interference with commerce, robbery, or

extortion), section 1952 (relating to

racketeering), section 1953 (relating to

interstate transportation of wagering

paraphernalia), section 1954 (relating to

unlawful welfare fund payments), section 1955

(relating to the prohibition of illegal

gambling businesses), section 1956 (relating

to the laundering of monetary instruments),

section 1957 (relating to engaging in monetary

transactions in property derived from specified

unlawful activity), sections 2312 and 2313

relating to interstate transportation of

stolen motor vehicles), sections 2314 and 2315

(relating to interstate transportation of

stolen property), section 2320 (relating to

trafficking in certain motor vehicles or motor

vehicle parts), sections 2341-2346 (relating to

trafficking in contraband cigarettes),

sections 2421-24 (relating to white slave

traffic), (C) any act which is indictable under

- viii -

m~(_e—'"——,

title 29, United States Code, section 186

(dealing with restrictions on payments’) and

loans to labor organizations) or section

501(c) (relating to embezzlement from union

funds), (D) any offense involving fraud

connected with a case under title 11, fraud in

the sale of securities, or the felonious

manufacture, importation, receiving,

concealment, buying, selling, or otherwise

dealing in narcotic or other dangerous drugs,

punishable under any law of the United States,

or (E) any act which is indictable under the

Currency and Foreign Transactions Reporting

Act;

(2) "State" means any State of the United

States, the District of Columbia, the

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, any territory or

possession of the United States, any political

Subdivision, or any department, agency, or

instrumentality thereof;

(3) "person" includes any individual or

« iw «

|

entity capable of holding a legal or

beneficial interest in property;

(4) “enterprise" includes any individual,

partnership, corporation, association, or

other legal entity, and any union or group of

individuals associated in fact although not a

legal entity;

(5) “pattern of racketeering activity"

requires at least two acts of racketeering

activity, one of which occurred after the

effective date of this chapter and the last of

which occurred within ten years (excluding any

period oof imprisonment) after the commission

of a prior act of racketeering activity;

2 18 U.S.C. § 1962. Prohibited

activities

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person who

has received any income derived, directly or

indirectly, from a pattern of racketeering

activity or through collection of an unlawful

ha oa x wt

€

debt in which such person has participated as

a principal within the meaning of section 2,

title 18, United States Code, to use or

invest, directly or indirectly, any part of

such income, or the proceeds of such income,

in acquisition of any interest in, or the

establishment or operation of, any enterprise

which is engaged in, or the activities of which

affect, interstate or foreign commerce. A

purchase of securities on the open market for

purposes of investment, and without’ the

intention of controlling or participating in

the control of the issuer, or of assisting

another to do so, shall not be unlawful under

this subsection if the securities of the

issuer held by the purchaser, the members of

his immediate family, and his or their

accomplices in any pattern or _ racketeering

activity or the collection of an unlawful debt

after such purchase do not amount in the

aggregate to one percent of the outstanding

securities of any one class, and do not confer,

either in law or in fact, the power to elect

- xi-

one or more directors of the issuer.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person

through a pattern of racketeering activity or

through collection of an unlawful debt to

acquire or maintain, directly or indirectly,

any interest in or control of any enterprise

which is engaged in, or the activities of

which affect, interstate or foreign commerce.

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person

employed by or associated with any enterprise

engaged in, or the activities of which affect,

interstate or foreign commerce, to conduct or

participate, directly or indirectly, in the

conduct of such enterprise’s affairs through a

pattern of racketeering activity or collection

of unlawful debt.

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to

conspire to violate any of the’ provisions of

Subsections (a), (b), or (c) of this section.

- xli-

’ '

3. 18 U.S.C. § 1964(c) - Civil remedies

(c) Any person injured in his business or

property by reason of a violation of section

1962 of this chapter may sue therefor in any

appropriate United States district court and

shall recover threefold the damages he sustains

and the cost of the suit, including a

reasonable attorney’s fee.

- xlii -

VIIl. A_ CONCISE STATEMENT OF THE CASE:

A. THE BASIS FOR FEDERAL JURISDICTION IN THE

COURT OF FIRST INSTANCE:

Federal district court jurisdiction was

based on 28 U.S.C. 1332 (a) and jurisdiction

over the Civil RICO count obtained under 18

U.S.C. 1964 and 28 U.S.C. 1331(a).

B. THE STATEMENT OF THE CASE:

Delta alleges respondents formed an

associated-in-fact enterprise and engaged in

the conduct of that enterprise through a

pattern of racketeering activity aimed at

appropriating petitioner’s business assets and

the assets of over 400 other dealerships at

less than fair market value. Its RICO count

was dismissed for failing to assert respondents

posed a continuous threat as RICO persons. The

infiltration of 400 legitimate business

entities reflects exactly that sort of

invidious stealth meant to be snared by RICO.

Any continuity requirement engrafted on the

enterprise aspect of a RICO claim must be met

by these facts. The three corporate

-l|-

respondents can not have engaged in the pattern

of racketeering activity, effectively

victimizing hundreds of legitimate businesses,

and not pose the kind of threat to this

nation’s economic wellbeing RICO was enacted

to curb.

THE PROCEDURAL POSTURE

Petitioner ("Delta") instituted this action

on September 5, 1985. On January 15, 1986,

plaintiff added Count Eleven (the "RICO" count)

in its first amended complaint. The RICO

count was asserted against respondents’) and

individuals no longer in the suit.1

Defendants filed a motion to dismiss the RICO

count on February 28, 1986 under FRCP 12(b) (6)

and 9(b) for purported failure to allege with

sufficient particularity the circumstances of

fraud underlying the claims and a "pattern of

racketeering activity."

In July, 1986, plaintiff sought to amend to

Jerome K. Green, John A. Borden, R.A.

Rosen, James L. Kettlesen and James

Gill; they were dismissed pursuant to a

stipulation no ultra vires defense

would be raised.

:

) a

- +

3

3

4

i

x

specify with more particularity the predicate

acts. The second amended complaint April 8,

1987 was allowed by the same Ruling granting

defendants’ 12(b)(6) motion to dismiss. Final

judgment, signed on June 2, 1987, was filed on

June 3, 1987. On June 16, 1987 plaintiff filed

Notice of Appeal to Fifth Circuit, who affirmed

the 12(b)(6) dismissal of the RICO count on

September 20, 1988. The opinion held that as a

matter of law, since "the pleadings do not

assert that the corporate defendants posed a

continuous threat as RICO persons",

petitioner’s claim failed to state a RICO cause

of action. Delta Truck & Tractor v. J.1I.Case,

et al, 855 F.2d 241, 244 (5th Cir. 1988).

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

Delta is involved in the agricultural

equipment business (sales and repairs of farm

equipment, implements and supplies). Delta’s

business regularly and systematically affects

both interstate and foreign commerce. Delta,

formed in 1962 as an International Harvester

franchised dealer, became eligible in 1976 to

become an exL* dealer under IH’s "XL"

dealership program. Delta was required to

meet IH requirements relating to capital

structure, buildings, computerized

accountings, parts inventory, sales and sales

quotas, schooling and training, etc. The quid

pro was that the dealership was to continue

indefinitely unless specific cause, as defined

in the dealership agreement, existed for

termination. This contract could not be

assigned without the written consent of the

"XL" dealer. Delta complied and was made an

"XL" dealer on April 7, 1977. This dealership

contract was in effect when Delta’s dealership

was terminated on January 15, 1985.

In 1984, IH began negotiations with Tenneco

and Case which culminated in a November 26,

1984 purchase agreement. IH agreed to sell

Tenneco and Case IH’s agricultural equipment

business. Respondents prior to and during this

time frame falsely and fraudulently misled

petitioner and other IH dealerships, their

creditors, customers and business associates

ayer

. was aan

saa A sti eed Heit Bie). 5p

Sie a gh Sa LMR bh Sore

ee Ee ee ee es

through misrepresentations that IH fully

intended and would in fact continue as a solid

business concern in the agricultural equipment

business. The crux of the RICO claim involves

the pattern of racketeering activity employed

by defendants to deal with approximately 400

Situations where IH and Case dealers were

competing with each other in specific

geographical markets. Defendants formed an

associated-in-fact enterprise which engaged in

a pattern of racketeering activities to

appropriate businesses and assets of

terminated dealers by intimidation, coercion,

extortion, wrongful acts/omissions’7 and

misleadingly false and fraudulent statements.

These acts and/or omissions were to gain the

terminated dealers’ release of contractual and

property rights and all other claims’ for

Substantially less than fair compensation.

Prior to the actual termination of the

dealerships defendants wrongfully and

fraudulently misled the dealers defendants

intended to terminate in order to have those

dealers (1) continue maintenance of their

customer relationships, contacts and good will;

and (2) induce them to supply defendants with

confidential business and financial information

to assist defendants in assessing a dealer’s

bargaining position. A series of meetings

beginning on or about November 28, 1984 in

Dallas, Texas were held, preceded by a national

mailing of airline tickets to dealers. The

defendants represented to Delta and other IH

dealers that competing IH and Case dealers in

the roughly 400 conflict areas would be

consolidated, merged or _ purchased. They

falsely misrepresented that (1) the surviving

dealer in each conflict area would be selected

fairly and objectively; (2) the terminated

dealers would be compensated fairly in good

faith negotiations; (3) financing would be made

available for sales from existing inventories;

and (4) all dealers would be permitted to

continue in business as before during the

transition period. Defendants never intended

to fulfill or otherwise comply with these

ate

representations, and had, as a matter of fact,

already determined many, if not all, of the

dealerships which would be terminated, but

fraudulently misled Delta and other dealers

concerning this fact.

On or about December 21, 1984 defendants

Case and Tenneco submitted nationwide letters

through the United States Mail soliciting, in

part, "{a]ny information you may have which you

feel could be helpful to our valuation" of

which dealer in a conflict area should be

chosen as the survivor. Relying upon the

misrepresentation that the decision as to the

survivor had not been made, Delta, as did

numerous other dealers receiving this

correspondence, furnished detailed

confidential business and personal financial

information to defendants in support of their

applications to be granted new dealership

agreements. Delta alleges it was fraudulently

misled by these misrepresentations into

divulging highly confidential business and

financial information which defendants later

on Fee

used in bad faith negotiations and/or

litigation with it and other terminated

dealers. Delta’s business assets have been

appropriated by defendants, and Delta has not

been compensated for the good will of its

dealership and other assets, contrary to the

material misrepresentations made to that

effect. Contrary to other representations,

Delta has not been favored with the

compensation it was entitled to receive upon

termination of its IH contract. To this date,

the accomplished scheme stands’ relatively

intact, while hundreds of legitimate American

businesses lay financially bereft if not slain

by the pervasive and insidious workings of the

enterprise created by these defendants.

On January 14, 1985, the day before Delta’s

dealership was terminated, defendants used the

interstate telephone system to threaten another

dealership that it would be forced out of

business if it did not agree to terminate its

IH dealership agreement on defendants’ terms.

Case and Tenneco refused to allow plaintiff to

quote on substantial orders for IH equipment on

January 17, 1985, two days after Delta was

advised it would not be offered a new

dealership, but while its IH contract remained

in force. On February 17, 1985, Delta was

informed that all allowed purchases by it would

have to be on a cash basis. Case and Tenneco

furnished the surviving dealership with

Delta’s customer list thereby appropriating

Delta’s good will, customers, and its parts

“and service business without paying any

compensation. Defendants used the United

States Mails and telephone systems on

numerous occasions to accomplish the

enterprise’s illegal objectives and purposes.

IX. ARGUMENT

The dismissal of plaintiff’s 22 page Count

Eleven presents this court with a dismissal

under 12(b)(6) which must be reversed. Taking

the complaint’s allegations as true, it is

certainly not beyond a doubt that plaintiff can

prove no set of facts which would entitle

plaintiff to relief under RICO. Associated

-9-

LLL

General Contractors Of California, Inc. vs.

California State Council Of Carpenters, 459

U.8. S19, 5325, 103 8.Ct. 897, 902, 74 L. Ed. 24

723 (1983); Conley vs. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41,

45-46, 76 §.Ct. 99, 101-102, 2 Le EG. 264

(1957).

"CONTINUING/ONGOING" ENTERPRISE REQUIREMENT

There is no requirement that the _ persons

comprising an associated-in-fact enterprise

must pose a threat of continuous harm as RICO

persons before they can be held liable under

RICO. Petitioner rejects the notion that

"persons" can develop ae fraudulent’ scheme,

collectively collaborate in the execution and

perpetration of the scheme on literally

hundreds of victimized legitimate businesses,

and not be subject to RICO liability because

petitioner didn’t assert the defendants posed a

continuous threat as RICO persons. Petitioner

disputes the notion that RICO does not sanction

enterprises who have completed their schemes,

infiltrated the legitimate businesses and,

therefore purportedly no longer pose a

«100

continuing threat as RICO persons.

The Fifth Circuit affirmed the FRCP

12(b) (6) dismissal of petitioner’s RICO count

against respondents, after holding that a

sufficient pattern of racketeering activity was

alleged. The holding that petitioner’s

complaint was legally insufficient seems to be

based in part upon United States vs. Turkette,

452 U.S. 5376, 583, 101 §.Ct. 2524, 69 L. Ed.

2d 246 (1981), on operative language which

reads as follows:

"In order to secure a conviction under RICO,

the government must prove both the existence

of an ‘’enterprise* and the connected

‘pattern* of racketeering activity." The

enterprise is an entity, for present

purposes a group of persons’ associated

together for a common purpose of engaging in

a course of conduct. The pattern of

racketeering activity is, on the other hand,

a series of criminal acts as defined by the

statute [citation omitted]. The former is

proved by evidence of an on-going

organization, formal or informal, and by

evidence that the various associates

function as a continuing unit. The latter is

proved by evidence of the requisite number

of acts of racketeering committed by the

participants in the enterprise. While the

proof used to establish these separate

elements may in particular cases coalesce,

proof of one does not necessarily establish

the other. The ‘enterprise’ is not the

‘pattern of racketeering activity’; it is an

entity separate and apart from the pattern

ah Bie

eee ee

smectite iasias aint

of activity in which it engages. The

existence of an enterprise at all times

remains a separate element which must be

proved..."

[Emphasis supplied]; Id., 101 S.Ct. @ 2528-29.

The crux of petitioner’s Writ is the meaning

to be given to the requirements that an

enterprise be an "ongoing organization" and a

"continuing unit". The Fifth Circuit has

imposed a requirement that unless the defendant

persons are still involved at the time of the

complaint in the activities of an enterprise

and therefore continue to pose a continuing

threat as RICO persons, no enterprise exists as

a matter of law. Such an interpretation leads

to unjust results under the facts of this case.

Defendant persons used federal mail and

interstate telephone systems in the

furtherance of a scheme which involved false

promises and misrepresentations about existing

facts and future events, all calculated to

deprive hundreds of businesses of valuable

property rights by trick, deceit, chicane and

overreaching. See. e.g., McNally v. United

States, 483 U.S. , 107 S.Ct. 2875, 2881, 97

L.Ed.2d 292 (1987).

Does the fact that persons, in order to

realize their enterprise objectives, do not

engage in the pattern of activity for a long

time allow them to escape RICO liability? Can

persons engage in blitzkrieg tactics and

infiltrate hundreds of businesses quickly so as

to avoid being an enterprise under the "ongoing

organization" and/or "continuing unit"

doctrine? There is a definite conflict in the

Circuits as to this premise. Petitioner argues

that there is no proscription of liability

under RICO for completed schemes, whether

blitzkrieg in nature or more slowly

accomplished.

In Liguid Air Corporation v. Rodgers, 8:34

F.2d 1297 (7th Cir. 1987), petition for cert.

filed, 56 U.S.L.W. 3531 (U.S. Jan. 28, 1988)

(No.87-1262), the appellate panel rejected an

argument by defendants that no liability could

exist unless they posed some kind of

continuing threat as RICO persons:

Defendants object because the charge failed

to advise the jury that there be "some

=13-

continuing threat of racketeering activity."

Defendants argue that the continuity

requirement of Sedima mandates that there be

a threat that defendants would engage in

future acts of racketeering after

completion of their scheme. This is an

untenable interpretation of the requirement

of continuity. The requirement of

continuity was not intended to force a court

to guess the likelihood of future criminal

conduct nor was it intended to _ proscribe

liability for completed schemes. Continuity

refers instead to the duration of the

predicate acts.

[Emphasis supplied]; Liquid Air, supra, 8:34

F.2d @ 1308.

The Liquid Air panel affirmed a_ RICO

conviction for a pattern of racketeering

activity involving a single scheme which lasted

seven months and defrauded a single victim.

Id., 834 F.2d @ 1304. Its holding is clearly

in conflict with that in the present case,

where the Fifth Circuit has held this

petitioner’s RICO count is defective because

petitioner did not assert at the pleading stage

that the respondents posed a continuous threat

as RICO persons. This holding is remarkably

Similar to the argument rejected in Liquid Air

- i.e. unless it were asserted and proved

defendants would engage in future acts of

4

Y

racketeering after completion of their scheme,

defendants could not be liable under RICO.

Petitioner argues not only was there no need to

assert defendants posed a threat of continuing

harm as RICO persons,’ there was no need to even

prove such. Just because these persons did in

a short time what others may have taken longer

to accomplish does not change the result-

hundreds of legitimate businesses were

infiltrated effectively by the enterprise’s

executed pattern. The target of RICO

expressed in the Senate Report quoted in the

now-legendary footnote 14 of Sedima, S.P.R.L.

VS. imerex Company, inc., 473 U.S. 479, 105

S.Ct. 3275, 87 L. Ed.2d 346 (1985) is clear-

preventing effective infiltration of legitimate

businesses by RICO persons:

-.-As the Senate Report explained: "The

target of [RICO] is thus’ not_- sporadic.

activity. The infiltration of legitimate

businesses normally requires more than one

‘racketeering activity’ and the threat of

continuing activity to be effective. It is

this factor of continuity plus relationship

which combines to produce a pattern." S.Rep.

No. 91-617, p. 158 (1969)....

(Emphasis supplied by Court]; Sedima, supra,

65 &. CG. at 3265, nm. 14.

-1|5-

In Barticheck v. Fidelity Union Bank/First

National State, 832 F.2d 36 (3rd Cir. 1987),

the Third Circuit reversed a district court’s

decision granting a motion to dismiss a RICO

count. The district court found the complaint

alleged only a single scheme which was not

open-ended because the enterprise had fully

obtained its objective and, hence, the

defendants posed no threat of further unlawful

activity. Id., $32 F.2d -@ 38. The Third

Cireui¢c ftirst rejected the notion two

distinct unlawful schemes are required:

-.-a rule requiring two or more schemes would

exempt from RICO liability defendants who

engage in only a single unlawful scheme,

however extensive and injurious. Such an

outcome is plainly inconsistent with the

purposes of the statute.

Id., 832 F.2d @ 39.

This court should also reject this notion,

if it has not already done so in H.J., Inc. v.

Northwestern Bell Telephone Company, 829 F.2d

648 (8th Cir. 1987), cert granted, 56 U.S.L.W.

3647 (U.S. Mar. 21, 1988) (No.87-1252) and/or

Terra Du Lac Association, Inc. v. Terra Du Lac,

yO a Cee

Inc., 834 F.2d 148 (8th Cir. 1987), petition

for cert. filed, 56 U.S.L.W. 3755 (U.S. Apr.

21,1988) (No. 87-1742).

The Barticheck court went on to deal with

the premise there can be no liability unless

the scheme is continuously ongoing or open-

ended:

We do not believe, however, that the notion

of continuity compels a requirement of

"open-endedness." At the very least, such a

requirement would produce anomalous results.

This approach would allow ae party to

maintain a RICO claim if he brought suit

before the unlawful scheme had attained its

objective; in such a case the scheme would

presumably be considered open-ended. This

same interpretation, though, would deny a

RICO cause of action in a case where the

scheme had fully accomplished its goal. Yet

it is the completed scheme that inflicts the

greater harm and more strongly implicates

the remedial purposes of RICO.

We read the legislative history’s

reference to "continuity" as simply calling

for an inquiry into the extent of the

racketeering activity. Although temporal

open-endedness may be one measure of

extent, it is not the only one. We decline

to adopt a verbal formula for determining

when unlawful activity is sufficiently

extensive to be "continuous." This

determination necessarily depends on the

circumstances of the particular case.

[Emphasis supplied]; Id., 832 F.2d @ 39-40.

It is the completed scheme that confronts

this court. The accomplished scheme has indeed

Pied rants «ais en uhg 1h Laine

inflicted great harm and strongly implicates

the remedial purposes of RICO. The anomaly

described in the hypothetical by Barticheck has

crystallized in the facts of this case.

Petitioner suggests that the "continuity"

requirement, whether discussed in terms of

"pattern" and/or "enterprise", requires a

detailed analysis of the facts of any given

case. Simply because the respondents engaged

in but a single mammoth scheme which was

expeditiously executed poses no bar to RICO

recovery under these _ facts. This scheme

victimized literally hundreds of similarly

situated businesses subjected to similar acts

accomplished by respondents. The fact that

multiple victims were present in Barticheck

influenced that panel:

Most significantly, the scheme involved the

repetition of similar misrepresentations to

more than twenty investors. To refer to

such conduct as a "pattern’ of fraudulent

activity certainly comports with the

ordinary understanding of the term, and we

believe that this conduct properly falls

within the reach of the RICO statute.

[Emphasis supplied]; Id., 832 F.2d @ 39.

If conduct where misrepresentation to

«iG

twenty investors properly falls within the

reach of RICO, can conduct involving

misrepresentations to 400 do otherwise?

In Marshall-Silver Construction Company,

Inc. v. Mendel, 835 F.2d 63 (3rd Cir. 1987),

petition for cert. filed, 56 U.S.L.W. 3592

(U.S. Feb. 12,1988) (No. 87-1358), another

Third Circuit panel quoted the Barticheck

language cited verbatim above and then

identified the kind of activity targeted by

RICO:

The target of the RICO statute, as its name

suggests, is criminal activity that, because

of its organization, duration, and

objectives poses, or during its existence

posed, a series of injuries over a

significant period of time. Here we have a

Single victim, a single injury, and a

single, short-lived scheme with only two

active perpetrators. This is not criminal

activity with the kind of continuity of

which we spoke in Barticheck.

[Emphasis supplied]; Id., 835 F.2d @ 66-67.

Under the facts of the instant case, 400

victims were injured by a scheme perpetrated

by three corporate defendants and their

employees. This case shows the kind of

Criminal activity that during its existence

-19-

inflicted a series of injuries over a

Significant period of time, and continues to

this date. Until the last dealer termination,

negotiation or lawsuit is concluded, the

defendants will not have accomplished their

entire scheme (albeit 95% of the terminated

dealers succumbed to their artifices and

threats within a year). Successful

infiltrators of legitimate businesses should

not escape RICO liability because they

perpetrate one complex scheme to defraud over

400 businesses of their assets, on the premise

that they may not have done it before, and may

not do it again. In Hofstetter v, Fletcher,

RICO Bus.Disp.Guide Par. 7065 (6th Cir.1988),

the Sixth Circuit rejected the argument that

proof was needed at trial of an "ongoing,

separate enterprise", holding the argument was

without merit, then stating:

We note that some appellate courts have

adopted a narrow definition of the term

"enterprise" by requiring the plaintiff to

establish that the "enterprise" was engaged

in "continuing" criminal activity involving

more than a "single criminal episode." See,

e.g., Beauford v. Helmsley, 843 F.2d 103

(2nG@- Cir. -198s8). In discussing the

= 20

enterprise requirement under RICO, this

court has stated, "RICO applies both to

legitimate enterprises conducted through

racketeering operations as well as

illegitimate enterprises." United States v.

Qaoud, 777 F.2d 1105, 1115 (6th Cir. 1985)

(citing United States v. Turkette, 452 U.S.

576 (1981)). ‘In Qaoud we held that

although "enterprise" and "pattern of

racketeering activity" are separate

elements, they may be proved by the same

evidence.

[Emphasis supplied]; Id., RICO Bus. Disp.Guide

7065 @ 8607.

It is this narrow definition of

"enterprise" represented by cases’ like

Beauford and the Fifth Circuit’s Delta decision

petitioner faults.

The Sixth Circuit is not alone in applying

Turkette’s teaching in this’ manner. Other

circuits, including the Second, Ninth and

Eleventh Circuits, have rejected the

proposition that there necessarily needs to be

evidence to show the enterprise beyond that

necessary to show the pattern. See, e.g.,

United States vs. Bargaric, 706 F.2d 42, 55

(2nd Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 840 (1983);

U.S. vs. DeRosa, 670 F. 2d 889, 895-96 (9th

Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 856, 104 S.

stir Bia

Ct. 175, .78 Lake. 20 157 (1983); United

States vs. Cagnina, 697 F.2d 915, 921 (11th

Cis... 4O03i> In Bargaric, the court noted

that they have applied RICO to situations

where an enterprise was no more than the sum

of the predicate acts:

These decisions reflect the common sense

recognition that a group of individuals may

join together, and therefore be ’associated

in fact’, although not a_ legally cognizable

entity in one of the traditional forms,

solely for the purpose of conducting their

activities.

Id., 706 F.2@ @ SS.

These circuits have seized on Turkette’s

"coalesce" language to apply RICO "to

Situations where’ the enterprise was, in

effect, no more than the sum of the predicate

racketeering acts." United States vs. Bledsoe,

674 F.2d 647, 665 (8th Cir. 1982), cert.

denied, 459 U.S. 1040 (1983). It is

respectfully argued that Turkette certainly

stands for the proposition that the existence

of the separate enterprise element must be

proved, but that it may be proved with the same

evidence that is used to prove the distinct

pattern element. No language in Turkette

begins to indicate a complaint would be

inadequate if there was no allegation such as

was required herein by the Fifth Circuit. As

was noted in R.A.G.S. Couture, Inc. vs. Hyatt,

774 F.2d 1350, 1353 (5th Cir. 1985):

The Supreme Court’s Sedima decision

cautions us not to place barriers before

RICO plaintiffs that are not found in the

text of the statute. Moreover, the court

has held that an enterprise may be organized

Solely for illegitimate purposes, and that

evidence of the existence of the enterprise

may coalesce with evidence of the underlying

pattern of racketeering.

Id., 774 F.2a @ 1353.

The Fifth Circuit decision at issue has done

just what Sedima and R.A.G.S. caution them not

to do: it has erected barriers before this

RICO plaintiff not found in the text of the

statute.

In Seville Industrial Machinery Corp. vs.

Southmost Machinery Corp., 742 F.2d 786, 790

(3rd Cir. 1984) the Third Circuit overruled a

district court, holding it had "confused what

must be pleaded with what must be proved."

Citing the proposition that the Federal Rules

— >

of Civil Procedure were designed to eliminate

the vagaries of technical pleading that once

plagued complainants, and to replace them with

the considerably more liberal requirements of

so-called "notice" pleading, the court held it

is enough that a complaint put the defendant

on notice of the claims against him. The

pleading of a valid RICO claim should not

place a plaintiff in the posture of a medieval

necromancer seeking to summon some demon from

the darkness through rigid adherence to some

exact word-for-word incantation. As was noted

in Weft, Inc. vs. G.c. Investment Associates,

630 F.Supp. 1138 (E.D. N.C. 1986), such a

requirement is unnecessary. The Weft court

stated this as follows:

"Although the complaint does not use

the terms contained in RICO, it is

clear that the plaintiffs have alleged

elements two and six or, in other

words, the existence of an enterprise

conducted through two or more acts

constituting a pattern of

racketeering...Although plaintiffs did

not use the word "enterprise" to

describe the actions of defendants, it

is clear that they have alleged enough

facts to constitute an enterprise

Thus, the same facts which constitute

the “unlawful acts" also establish the

iid hernia i

"enterprise" requirement. Moss vs.

Morgan Stanley, Inc., 719 F.2d 5, 22

(2nd Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S.

1025, 104 S.Ct. 1280, 79 L.Ed. 2d 684

(1984)." Weft, supra, 630 F. Supp. at

1142.

Id., 630 F.Supp. @ 1142.

In Lewis v. Sporck, 612 F. Supp. 1316 (N.D.

Cal. 1985), the court dealt with the

particularity with which a plaintiff must plead

the enterprise:

As to the pleading of the

"enterprise", defendants assert that

the complaint must describe with

specificity an organized entity that

has an on-going existence that is

separate and apart from the

racketeering activity which it is

alleged to have performed. [citations

omitted ] However, the Third Circuit

has recently held that a civil

plaintiff need not plead all these

attributes with specificity. Seville,

Supra at 790. The Ninth Circuit does

not require such a detailed showing of

an “enterprise". United States vs.

Bagnariol, 665 F.2d 877, 891 (9th Cir.

1981). Absent a special reason to

impose a stringent standard on the

pleading of a RICO enterprise, the

basic liberal pleading rule set forth

in Rule 8 must govern.

Id., 612 F. Supp. @ 1324.

Rule 8 should have governed the instant

dispute. The 12(b)(6) motion should have been

denied.

-25-

THE A ie} x F CIRCU

The Fifth Circuit cited several prior

decisions of the Fifth Circuit as authority,

including Manax _v. McNamara, 842 F.2d 808 (5th

Cir. 1988). Of great interest to petitioner is

the citation by Manax of Beck v.

Manufacturers Hanover Trust Co., 820 F.2d 46

(2nd Cir. 1987), cert denied, __ U.S. __, 108

S.Ct. 698, 98 L.Ed.2d 650 (1988) as

persuasively reasoned authority. Manax, supra,

842 F.2d @ 812. Petitioner wishes to point out

that Beck recognized the following important

premise:

As Ianniello recognized, whether one looks

for the requisite continuity and relatedness

by examining the pattern or the enterprise

is really a matter of form, not substance.

Id., 820 F.2d @ 51 [citing United States v.

Ianniello, 808 F.2d 184, 191 (2nd Cir. 1986),

cert denied sub nom Cohen v. United States, _

U.S. __, 107 S.Ct. 3229, __ L.Ed.2d __ (1987) ].

Petitioner urges this Court to place substance

over the form. The Second Circuit has granted

en banc rehearing to reconsider its law on the

continuing enterprise doctrine in Beauford v.

Helmsley, 843 F.2d 103, RICO Bus.Disp.Guide

-?6-

6900, 6919 (2nd Cir. 1988). As was noted in

Beauford:

Although ... we speak in terms of

"enterprise" rather than "pattern", we

nonetheless require continuity in any event,

and find insufficient evidence of continuity

in a single criminai episode regardless how

many fraudulent acts it entails. In other

words, a single criminal episode or scheme

does not charge a claim under RICO because

it lacks sufficient continuity to constitute

an enterprise, even if its fraudulent acts

constitute a pattern.

Id. @ 110.

The continuing enterprise requirement is also

placed at issue in Creative Bath Products, Inc.

v. Conn. General Life Ins. Company, 837 F.2d

561 (2nd Cir. 1988), petition for cert. filed,

56 U.S.L.W. 3755 (U.S. Apr. 19, 1988) (No.87-

1738). This doctrine must be addressed.

CONCLUSION

It is respectfully submitted that the

“continuing enterprise" theory used by both the

Second Circuit and now the Fifth Circuit must

be addressed. It is respectfully argued that

if the continuity requirement of an enterprise

is focused on whether the continuing activity

of the enterprise is of the sort allowing

successful infiltration of legitimate

businesses, then the inquiry must be resolved

in petitioner’s favor. Congress spread a broad

but tightly meshed net with RICO. As noted in

Sedima, supra, 105 S.Ct. @ 3286, RICO is to be

read broadly, due to both the express

admonition mandating liberal construction and

due to Congress’ self-consciously expansive

language and overall approach. The RICO

statute does not impose the artificial

requirement at the pleading stage erected in

this case. This august body must not allow a

group of persons such as respondents to avoid

RICO exposure for accomplishing a _ complex,

multi-million dollar scheme to defraud

terminated franchisees of their businesses and

assets , merely because petitioner’s complaint

does not allege conclusionary language that

tenmanianin pose a continuing threat of

conducting such activities in the future

and/or other racketeering schemes perpetrated

by defendants. The conduct which RICO was

enacted to punish has been accomplished in

=

this case - legitimate businesses have been

effectively invaded.

Continuity requirements for purposes of

pleading an enterprise should not become

artificial barriers releasing enterprises from

RICO liability because multiple racketeering

schemes/episodes (each composed of a pattern of

racketeering activity) have not been asserted.

This should not be allowed under either the

"pattern" or "enterprise" element of RICO. If

such is the law, enterprises like respondents

will bloom secure in the knowledge that they

will escape, if nothing else, RICO liability.

In the shadow of such blooms will lie hundreds

of legitimate businesses who have been

infiltrated by enterprises whose _ persons

allegedly did not pose the threat of continuing

harm.

Petitioner wishes to clearly articulate it

has not asserted and does not assert nor

aquiesce in the proposition that the

enterprise it sues has concluded or

accomplished its goals. The enterprise is

=29=

AA alti dec deed Ss pe

ongoing and injuries continue to be sustained

by petitioner to this very date. It is

respecfully submitted that even assuming the

scheme was completed on the date suit was

filed, the remedial’ purposes of RICO are

nonetheless implicated by the infiltration of

hundreds of legitimate businesses.

Accordingly, and with all due respect,

Petitioner Delta Truck and Tractor Inc. humbly

prays for relief.

Respectfully submitted,

GOLD, WEEMS, BRUSER, SHARP,

SUES & RUNDELL

Zhan, (3 Jehan

a B. Bruser,

P.O. Box 6118

Alexandria, LA 71307

(318) 445-6471

LAW OFFICE OF JACK N. PRICE

Jack N. Price

410 Congress Avenue

Austin, TX 78701

ATTORNEYS FOR DELTA TRUCK &

TRACTOR, INC.

~ 3x

CERTIFICATE

I hereby certify that a copy of the above

and foregoing has been served by mailing the

Same upon opposing counsel of record, Mr. Miles

P. Clements and Mr. Michael Fischer by United

States Mail, First Class postage prepaid.

Alexandria, Louisiana this 19th day of

December, 1988.

OS One

SF COUNSEL

DELTA TRUCK & TRACTOR, INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellant

Vv.

ON ee ae

J.I. CASE COMPANY, et al

Defendants-Appellees

No. 87-4449

United States Court of Appeals

Fifth Circuit

Sept. 20, 1988

Franchisee brought civil RICO action against

franchisor, corporation which acquired

franchisor, and parent of acquiring

corporation. The United States District Court

for the Western District of Louisiana, Nauman

S. Scott, J., dismissed, and franchisee

appealed. The Court of Appeals, Clark, Chief

Judge, held that franchisee’s allegations were

insufficient to state RICO cause of action

because pleadings did not assert that

defendants posed continuous threat as RICO

GS a ee ee OY. es

persons.

) Affirmed.

Reavley, Circuit Judge, concurred in the

result.

=3ia

1. Commerce 82.71

Civil sanctions of RICO were not

intended to extend to fraudulent commercial

transactions affecting interstate commerce.

18 U.S.C.A. Sections 1962(a-d), 1964(c).

2. Commerce 82.70

RICO “person" must be one that either

poses or has posed continuous threat of

engaging in acts of racketeering; "continuous

threat" requirement may not be satisfied if no

more is pled than that person has engaged in

limited number of predicate racketeering acts.

18 U.S.C.A: Section 1961(3).

See publication Words’ and

Phrases for other judicial

constructions and definitions.

3. Commerce 82.71

Critical features of RICO pattern of

racketeering activity-continuity and

relationship-cannot exist in pattern of

racketeering activity alone, and are instead

reciprocal values that must function with at

least one of the other essential elements of a

RICO claim. 18 U.S.C.A. Section 1961(5).

-32-

4. Commerce 82.71

Acts of mail and wire fraud that were

part of single, otherwise lawful corporate

merger could constitute pattern of

racketeering activity under RICO. 18 U.S.C.A.

Section 1961(5).

5. Commerce 82.70

Under RICO, association-in-fact

enterprise must have existence separate and

apart from pattern of racketeering, must be

ongoing organization, and its members’. must

function as continuing unit as_ shown by

hierarchical or consensual decision-making

structure, enterprise must not be one that

briefly flourishes and _ fades. is vU.8.C.A.

Section 1962.

6. Commerce 82.72

Franchisee’s allegations against

franchisor, corporation which acquired

franchisor, and acquiring corporation’s parent,

failed to state RICO cause of action as matter

of law because pleadings did not assert that

corporate defendants posed continuous threat as

ihe

‘ICO persons; franchisee alleged as pattern of

‘acketeering activity nothing more than

umercus predicate acts which were necessary

segments oof otherwise lawful commercial

ndeavor, and claim that method of franchise

ermination fraudulently violated contractual

‘ights or legal duties did not plead RICO

riolation. is wee 2 Sections 1961(3, 4),

962(a-d), 1964(c).

Appeal from the United States District Court

‘or the Western District of Louisiana.

Before CLARK, Chief Judge,

-EAVLEY, Circuit Judge, and

UNTER, District Judge

CLARK, Chief Judge:

Delta Truck & Tractor, Inc. (Delta) appeals

he district court’s dismissal of its civil

ICO action.! We affirm.

1 The Racketeering, Influence and Corrupt

Organizations Act (RICO), 18 U.S.C.

Sections 1961-1968, creates a civil

cause of action under section 1964(c)

against those injured by violations of

section 1962(a)-(d). The portions of

section 1962 relevant to this case can

be abstracted as’ follows. Section

1962(a) makes it "unlawful for any

person who has received any income

derived ... from a pattern of

(continued...)

othe

he

Review of a dismissal on the pleadings

requires that we accept as true the non-moving

party’s well-pleaded allegations. Delta, a

company involved in the,’sale and repair of farm

equipment, operated under a franchise agreement

with International Harvester Company (IH), a

manufacturer of farm machinery. The dispute in

this case arises out of the acquisition of IH

By J.t; Case Company (Case), itself a

manufacturer of agricultural equipment, and its

parent company, Tenneco, Inc. (Tenneco). As

part of the merger, Case, Tenneco and IH sought

to create one cohesive dealership network by

eliminating duplicative Case and IH dealers.

The gravamen of Delta’s RICO claim alleges that

these three corporate defendants consolidated

1(.. continued)

racketeering activity ... to use or

invest ... any part of such income

in acquisition of any interest in, or

the establishment or operation of, any

enterprise." Section 1962(c) makes it

"unlawful for any person employed by

Or associated with any enterprise ...

to conduct or participate ... in the

conduct of such enterprise’s affairs

through a pattern of racketeering activity."

-35-

the dealerships through numerous acts of wire

and mail fraud designed to appropriate the

business assets of Delta and over 400 other

terminated Case and IH dealers. After twice

allowing Delta to amend its complaint, the

district court granted the defendant’s motion

to dismiss.

II.

[1] Congress wrote RICO in broad, sweeping

terms to combat the many, varied, anfractuous

ways in which racketeers operate. Reduced to

its three essentials, a civil RICO claim must

involve: (1) a person who engages in (2) a

pattern of racketeering activity (3) connected

to the acquisition, establishment, conduct, or

control of an enterprise. The Act’s sanctions,

however, were not intended to extend to

fraudulent commercial transactions affecting

interstate commerce. In the following ways,

the principle of continuity limits the types of

persons, patterns and enterprises that civil

RICO actions may reach.

-36-

eae ennai

A.

[2] The object of all civil and criminal

RICO actions is the RICO "person," the

defendant. RICO defines person broadly to

include "any individual or entity capable of

holding a legal or beneficial interest in

property." 18 U.S.C. Section 1961(3). If we

are to restrict RICO to the type of conduct

Congress intended to proscribe, the RICO person

must be one that either poses or has posed a

continuous threat of engaging in acts of

racketeering. In most cases, pleading the

existence of a "pattern of racketeering

activity" will supply this element of

continuity to the RICO person. The continuous

threat requirement may not be satisfied if no

more is pled than that the person has engaged

in a limited number of predicate racketeering

acts. Two isolated acts of racketeering have

been held sufficient to constitute a pattern

under this Circuit’s unique precedent. @ But

two such acts alone may fail to satisfy the

2 See infra Part IIB of this opinion.

-37-

continuous threat requirement. Cf. Mastercraft

Indus., v. Breining, 664 F.Supp. 859, 861

(S.D.N.Y. 1987) ("plaintiff has alleged no

continuing enterprise other than the

defendants’ lawful business, of which the

particular fraud alleged is at best a minor

part"); Proctor & Gamble Co. v. Big Apple

Indus. Bldgs., Inc., 655 F.Supp. 1179, 1184

(S.D.N.Y. 1987) ("[{T]he RICO defendants in this

case were engaged in a single lawful project of

finite scope and duration-constructing a

television studio for a customer. Allegations

of numerous instances of fraud in carrying out

this project does not bring it within the scope

of the RICO statute.").

B.

[3] A pattern of racketeering activity

"requires at least two acts of racketeering."

18 U.S.C. Section 1961(5). Predicate acts of

racketeering are defined to include wire and

mail fraud. Id. at Section 1961(1) (B). In

Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., 473 U.S. 479,

496 n. 14, 105 S.Ct. 3275, 3285 n. 14, 87

-38-

L.Ed.2d 346 (1985), the Supreme Court noted

that "while two acts [of racketeering] are

necessary, they may not be sufficient." The

critical features of a pattern of racketeering

activity are continuity and relationship. Id.

This continuity and relationship cannot exist

in the pattern of racketeering activity alone.

Continuity and relationship are reciprocal

values that must function with at least one of

the other essential elements of a RICO claim.

[4] One ground given by the district court

for dismissing Delta’s complaint was’ the

failure to plead a pattern of racketeering

activity. In any circuit other than ours, it

may have been proper to dismiss Delta’s

complaint on the ground that the, numerous

alleged acts of mail and wire fraud were parts

of a single, otherwise lawful corporate merger

not constituting a pattern of racketeering.

But in R.A.G.S. Couture, Inc. v. Hyatt, 774

F.2d 1350, 1355 (5th Cir. 1985), a panel of

this court held that two acts of mail fraud

that related to a single business transaction

«Pm

PO ENED,

constituted a pattern of racketeering activity.

The district court declined to follow R.A.G.S.

because of its lack of analysis and because of

the statement in Armco Industrial Credit Corp.

v. SLT-Warehouse Co., 782 F.2d 475, 481 (5th

Cir. 1986), that the "’pattern of racketeering

activity’ language" in the RICO statute is

something that must be interpreted in "the

future." Several panels of this court have

been critical of R.A.G.S.,2 but each has been

bound as we are by the fule of R.A.G.S. A

request to reconsider R.A.G.S. "can only be

made to the entire court sitting en banc, not

to another panel." Smith v. Cooper/T. Smith

Corp., 846 F.2d 325, 329 (5th Cir. 1988)

[vacated by August 1, 1988 order for rehearing

en banc]. The district court was not free to

depart from R.A.G.S. We must assume a

3

See e.g., Crocker v. FDIC, 826 F.2d

347, 348 n. 2 (5th Cir. 1987) cert. denied,

U.S. P 108 §.Cct. 1075, 99 L.Ed.2a 35

(1988); Montesano v. Seafirst Commercial Corp.,

818 F.2d 423, 426 (5th Cir. 1987). In our

view, the criticism is warranted.

wha

sufficient pattern of racketeering activity

was alleged.

is

[5] The concept of continuity as a means of

controlling the scope of RICO has also been

incorporated into the enterprise element of

section 1962. An enterprise "includes any

individual, partnership, corporation,

association, or other legal entity, and any

union or group of individuals associated in

fact although not a legal entity." is U.S.C.

Section 1961(4). In United States v. Turkette,

452 U.S. 576, 583, 101 S.Ct. 2524, 2528-29, 69

L.Ed.2d 246 (1981), the Supreme Court stressed

that continuity is a necessary attribute of an

association-in-fact enterprise. We have

incorporated this notion of continuity into our

definition of such enterprises. An

association-in-fact enterprise (1) must have an

existence separate and ipart from the pattern

of racketeering, (2) must be an_= ongoing

organization and (3) its members must function

as a continuing unit as shown by a hierarchical

wh tn

eee

or consensual decision making structure. Manax

v. McNamara, 842 F.2d 808, 811 (5th Cir. 1988);

Foval v. First Nat’l Bank of Commerce, 841 F.2d

126, 129-30 (5th Cir. 1988); Montesano _v.

Seafirst Commercial Corp., 818 F.2d 423, 426-27

(Sth Cir. 1987); Atkinson v. Anadarko Bank &

Trust Co., 808 F.2d 438, 440-41 (5th Cir.),

cert. denied, U.S. , 307 -$.68. 3276, BF

L.Ed.2d 780 (1987); Shaffer _ v. Williams, 794

F.2d 1030, 1032 (5th Cir. 1986). Thus, the

enterprise must not be one that briefly

flourishes and fades. It must be one that, in

the words of Turkette, "functions as a

continuing unit." 452 U.S. at 583, 101 $.Ct.

at 2528.

Iii.

[6] The district court properly dismissed

Delta’s second amended complaint. Delta has

attempted to state a RICO claim by alleging

multiple acts of fraud that were part and

parcel of a single, discrete and otherwise

lawful commercial transaction. This claim

fails to state a RICO cause of action as a

mi to

matter of law because the pleadings do not

assert that the corporate defendants posed a

continuous threat as RICO persons. Delta has

alleged as a pattern of racketeering activity

nothing more than numérous predicate acts which

were necessary segments of an otherwise

legitimate and singular commercial endeavor-the

Case/Tenneco aceaieltion of IH and related

efforts to combine the dealer network. Delta’s

claim that the method of termination of one or

all dealerships fraudulently violated

contractual rights or legal duties does not

plead a RICO violation.

The judgment appealed from is

AFFIRMED.

REAVLEY, Circuit Judge, concurs in the result.

oh 3=

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.