Petition for Writ of Certiorari — LSLJ Partnership v. Frito-Lay, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

. ae

v0.8 -95

eee

cee,

Supreme Court, 0.8.

¥ t ti ES LD

DEC 6 {888

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gn

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

LSLJ PARTNERSHIP,

Petitioner,

vs.

FRITO-LAY, INC.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ANTHONY S. DIVINCENZO*

CAMPBELL & DIVINCENZO

Suite 3460

55 West Monroe Street

Chicago, Illinois 60603

312-443-1915

JOHN C. BREZINA

BREZINA & BUCKINGHAM

111 West Jackson Boulevard

Chicago, IL 60604

312-427-2922

DAVID C. BREZINA

MYERS & EHRLICH, LTD.

53 West Jackson Boulevard

Chicago, Illinois 60604

312-294-0350

Attorneys for LSLJ Partnership

* Counsel of Record

Pandick Midwest, Inc., Chicago ¢ (312) 733-6000

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether proof of below incremental cost pricing is

required to establish that a defendant with market

power in an industry with significant harriers to

entry engaging in geographic price discrimination

and other non-price conduct for the express purpose

of injuring competition has violated § 2 of the Sher-

man Act or the Robinson-Patman Act?

2. Whether the uncontradicted testimony of an expert

witness that defendant priced below long-run in-

cremental cost creates a genuine issue of material fact

sufficient to withstand a motion for summary judg-

ment under Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure?

PARTIES INVOLVED

Petitioner, LSLJ Partnership, is a partnership com-

posed of the former owners of Jay’s Foods, Inc., a manu-

facturer of snack foods. Jay’s Foods, Inc., filed suit

against Frito-Lay, Inc. After filing suit, Jay’s Foods, Inc.,

assigned its claims against Respondent, Frito-Lay, Inc., to

the LSLJ Company which then assigned to the LSLJ

Partnership. LSLJ Partnership has no parents, subsid-

iaries, or affiliates.

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ................. cesses i

PARTUES TVs Bee isis cscs cesses ccecscsingeasies OTR i

TABLE OF AUTHOR Ea ee isc sscccesssscncistecessnesssersoseonse iii

OPINIONS BAIT asicccssscrrscccccmacercinencinsmesss: 1

JURISDICTION 0.6 oiccc.ccs ce heneernens: 2

STATUTES TOC V Gs Bee iaicsccsssccciehetend seen tesceorrisi sxe 3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE. ..............4:.000s-cccccssseseesees: 5

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT OF CER-

TIORARY ..oiicssscocecosercesssiangsunease nee eas 8

INTRODUCE oss icccerc oe 8

I. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS

WITH THE DECISIONS OF OTHER

COURTS OF APPEAL ON THE PROP-

ER DEFINITION OF PREDATORY

PRECIO aia siesccascncetera tas ea ep ante 10

II. THE DECISION BELOW IGNORES

CONTROLLING AUTHORITY HOLD-

ING THAT A STRICT INCREMENTAL

COST STANDARD IS_ INAPPRO-

PRIATE UNDER THE ROBINSON-

PATMAN AM 33 12

III. THE DECISION BELOW RAISES

IMPORTANT AND RECURRING

QUESTIONS CONCERNING THE

APPROPRIATE DEFINITION OF

PREDATORY PRO ciscccecsec cess: 13

IV. THE DECISION BELOW MISAPPLIES

CONTROLLING AUTHORITY CON-

CERNING THE PROPER STANDARD

FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT ............... 14

CONCLUSION .......0-:<ccnesceccasancastepeiana rene enti nents 16

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Cited

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242,

SASSI A

Arthur S. Langenderfer, Inc. v. S.E. Johnson

Company, 729 F.2d 1050 (6th Cir.), cert.

denied, 469 U.S. 1086 (1984) 000.00.

Barry Wright Corp. v. ITT Grinnell Corp.,

tae © ae aot (ist Cir. 1968)...........................

Cargill, Inc. v. Monfort of Colorado, Inc., 479

ee cic eaccavadivexe

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986) ..

D&S Redi-Mizx v. Sierra Redi-Mizx & Con-

tracting Co., 692 F.2d 1245 (9th Cir. 1982).

Henry v. Chloride, Inc., 809 F.2d 1334 (8th

sl ER aS Ga

Instructional Systems Development Corpo-

ration v. Aetna Casualty and Surety Com-

pany, 817 F.2d 639 (10th Cir. 1987) ............

International Air Industries, Inc. v. Ameri-

can Excelsior Company, 517 F.2d 714 (5th

Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 424 U.S. 948

en, acgzees

Marsann Company v. Brammall, Inc., 788

F.2d 611 (9th Cir. 1986) .......... Siac head ces

Matsushita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd. v.

Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574 (1986)......

Northeastern Telephone Co. v. American

Telephone & Telegraph Company, 651 F.2d

occ yacuandiiecenasdgedscecincs:

PAGE

15

11

11

10, 13, 14

14

10

11,15

11,15

11

10

13, 14

iv

O. Hommel v. Ferro, 659 F.2d 340 (3rd Cir.

1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1017 (1982),

reh. denied, 456 U.S. 965 (1982) ....................

Transamerica Computer Company, Inc. v.

International Business Machines Corpo-

ration, 698 F.2d 1377 (9th Cir. 1983), cert.

denied, 464 U.S. 955 (1983) .........0.0000.c.

Utah Pre Co. v. Continental Baking Co., 386

ee ED sa ne

Statutes Cited

15 U.S.C. § 2 (The Sherman Act) .....................

15 U.S.C. §13(a) (The Robinson-Patman

Ill. Rev. Stat. Chap. 121% 4261 (Illinois

Consumer Fraud and Deceptive Business

Practices Act)

PAGE

11

10, 11

12

in passim

in passim

in passim

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

LSLJ PARTNERSHIP,

Petitioner,

vs.

FRITO-LAY, INC.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION OF LSLJ PARTNERSHIP FOR A

WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the judgment and opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit entered in

this proceeding on September 8, 1988.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit issued

its Order on September 8, 1988. The Order is reproduced

in the attached appendix at Appendix pp. la-3a. The

Judgment of the Seventh Circuit affirming the judgment

of the District Court for the Northern District of Illinois is

reproduced in the attached appendix at Appendix p. 4a.

Several Opinions of the District Court for the Northern

District of Illinois gave rise to this appeal. The first

Opinion granting summary judgment in favor of Frito-

2

Lay is reported at 614 F.Supp. 103 and is reproduced in the

attached appendix at Appendix pp. 5a-32a. The second

Opinion denying Petitioner’s Motion for Reconsideration

is reported at 635 F.Supp. 103 and is reproduced in the

attached appendix at Appendix pp. 33a-37a. The third

Opinion is reported at 656 F.Supp. 843 and is reproduced

in the attached appendix at Appendix pp. 38a-45a. The

fourth Opinion is reported at 664 F.Supp. 364 and is

reproduced in the attached appendix at Appendix

pp. 46a-62a. The final judgment of the District Court is

reproduced in the attached appendix at Appendix p. 63a.

JURISDICTION

The Judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Sev-

enth Circuit was entered on September 8, 1988. The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1) (1982).

3

STATUTES INVOLVED

15 U.S.C. § 2 (The Sherman Act)

Every person who shall monopolize, or attempt to

monopolize, or combine or conspire with any other

person or persons, to monopolize any part of the trade

or commerce among the several States, or with for-

eign nations, shall be deemed guilty of a felony, and,

on conviction thereof, shall be punished by fine not

exceeding one million dollars if a corporation, or, if

any other person, one hundred thousand dollars, or by

imprisonment not exceeding three years, or by both

said punishments in the discretion of the court.

15 U.S.C. § 13(a) (The Robinson-Patman Act)

(a) That it shall be unlawful for any person

engaged in commerce, in the course of such commerce,

either directly or indirectly, to discriminate in price

between different purchasers of commodities of like

grade and quality, where either or any of the pur-

chases involved in such discrimination are in com-

merce, where such commodities are sold for use, con-

sumption, or resale within the United States or any

Territory thereof or the District of Columbia or any

insular possession or other place under the jurisdiction

of the United States, and where the effect of dis-

crimination may be substantially to lessen com-

petition or tend to create a monopoly in any line of

commerce, or to injure, destroy, or prevent com-

petition with any person who either grants or know-

ingly receives the benefit of such discrimination, or

with customers of either of them: Provided, That

nothing herein contained shall prevent differentials

which make only due allowance for differences in the

cost of manufacture, sale, or delivery resulting from

the differing methods or quantities in which such

commodities are to such purchasers sold or delivered:

Provided, however, That the Federal Trade Commis-

sion may, after due investigation and hearing to all

interested parties, fix and establish quantity limits,

4

and revise the same as it finds necessary, as to

particular commodities or classes of commodities,

where it finds that available purchasers in greater

quantities are so few as to render differentials on

account thereof unjustly discriminatory or promotive

of monopoly in any line of commerce; and the fore-

going shall then not be construed to permit differ-

entials based on differences in quantities greater than

those so fixed and established: And provided further,

That nothing herein contained shall prevent persons

engaged in selling goods, wares, or merchandise in

commerce from selecting their own customers in bona

fide transactions and not in restraint of trade: And

provided further, That nothing herein contained shall

prevent price changes from time to time where in

response to changing conditions affecting the market

for or the marketability of the goods concerned, such

as but not limited to actual or imminent deterioration

of perishable goods, obsolesence of seasonal goods,

distress sales under court process, or sales in good

faith in discontinuance of business in the goods con-

cerned.

5

STATEMENT OF CASE

Plaintiff, LSLJ Partnership, is a partnership com-

prised of the former owners of Jay’s Foods, Inc. Plaintiff

manufactures and sells potato chips in Illinois, Wisconsin,

Michigan, and Indiana. Appendix p. 6a. Chicago is

plaintiff’s principal market. Appendix p. 6a.

Defendant, Frito-Lay, Inc., is a national producer of

salty snack foods, including potato chips, corn chips, tor-

tilla chips, cheese puffs, and pretzels. Appendix p. 5a. By

mid-1978, Frito-Lay had a 55% share of the snack food

market in Chicago, while Jay’s share of that market was

only 24%. Appendix p. 7a fn. 2.

This litigation was brought by Jay’s Foods, Inc., a

manufacturer of potato chips against Frito-Lay, Inc., for

violation of § 2 of the Sherman Act (15 U.S.C. § 2), § 2(a)

of the Robinson-Patman Act (15 U.S.C. § 13(a)), and the

Illinois Consumer Fraud and Deceptive Business Practices

Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. Chap. 121% §§ 261, et seg.). The District

Court had jurisdiction over this action under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1337 and the doctrine of pendent jurisdiction because

the federal claims involved § 2 of the Sherman Act and

§ 2(a) of the Robinson-Patman Act and the state law

claims arose from the same conduct.

Seeking both damages and injunctive relief, plaintiff

alleged that defendant engaged in anti-competitive and

unfair conduct, including predatory pricing, geographic

price discrimination, and commercial sabotage, with the

effect of lessening or tending to lessen competition in the

sale of salty snack foods. Defendant contended that its

conduct was not unlawful.

Through a series of summary judgments, the District

Court entered judgment in favor of defendant on all

counts. On August 1, 1985, the District Court entered

6

summary judgment on plaintiff’s claims under § 2 of the

Sherman Act. On March 31, 1986, the District Court

denied plaintiff’s motion to reconsider. On February 26,

1987, summary judgment against plaintiff’s claims under

the Robinson-Patman Act was entered. Finally, on Feb-

ruary 26, 1987, summary judgment against plaintiff’s

state law claims was entered. The lower court’s rulings

and orders are set forth in the Appendix. The Seventh

Circuit affirmed and adopted these opinions as its own.

Appendix p. 2a.

Sales of snack foods to supermarkets account for over

60% of the total sales of snack foods. Therefore, suppliers,

such as Jay’s and Frito-Lay, compete for shelf space in

supermarkets. Appendix p. 6a. Supermarket sales of

potato chips depend upon the amount of shelf space

allocated to a supplier. Appendix p. 24a. A snack food

supplier needs adequate shelf space to compete. Appendix

p. 24a. Too little shelf space creates difficult supply

problems requiring frequent restocking. Appendix p. 24a.

Inadequate shelf space hinders the ability of snack food

suppliers to expand into new product lines. Appendix

p. 24a.

The company with the greatest share of potato chip

sales controls the entire salty snack food section of the

supermarket. Appendix p. 6a. Moreover, potato chip sales

are the core of Frito-Lay’s regional competitors’ strength.

Appendix p. 6a-7a. For these reasons, Frito-Lay sought

to increase its market share of potato chips. Appendix p.

Ta.

During the 1974-1980 period, Jay’s sold more potato

chips in Chicago than Frito-Lay. Appendix p. 7a. During

the same period Jay’s sought to expand into the manufac-

ture and sale of other snack food products and to become a

supplier of a full range of snack foods. Appendix p. 7a.

7

Chicago was one of Frito-Lay’s problem markets.

Frito-Lay faced strong local competition from Jay’s in

potato chips, and its performance lagged relative to other

markets. Appendix p. 8a. For this reason, Frito-Lay

offered substantial price discounts in the Chicago market.

Appendix p. 8a. Frito-Lay’s prices for some potato chip

products in the Chicago market were lower for significant

periods than prices for the same products in other mar-

kets. Appendix p. 9a. Plaintiff’s analysis of Frito-Lay’s

costs, which was uncontroverted, showed that Frito- Lay’s

total cost of producing potato chips for the Chicago mar-

ket exceeded its revenues. Appendix p. 21a.

Frito-Lay’s scheme of price discrimination was moti-

vated by a desire to hinder aggressive competitive ex-

pansion. Appendix p. 27a. Indeed, some Frito-Lay

employees attempted to buy extra shelf space and to

sabotage supermarket tests of snack food sales in order to

obtain more shelf space. Appendix p. 26a. The district

court recognized that this evidence corroborated the exis-

tence of Frito-Lay’s predatory intent. Appendix p. 27a.

On July 11, 1986, Jay’s Foods, Inc., assigned its cause

of action against Frito-Lay to the LSLJ Company, which

was owned by the shareholders of Jay’s Foods, Inc. In

December, 1986, LSLJ Company assigned this cause of

action to LSLJ Partnership which is composed of the

former shareholders of Jay’s Foods, Inc.

8

REASONS FOR GRANTING

THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI

INTRODUCTION

Defendant, Frito-Lay, is the dominant supplier of

salty snack foods in the United States. By contrast,

plaintiff manufactured and sold potato chips in a limited

market consisting of parts of Illinois, Wisconsin, Indiana,

and Michigan. Plaintiff’s key market was Chicago. By

mid-1978, Frito-Lay had 55% of all snack food sales in

Chicago, plaintiff’s primary market, compared to piain-

tiff’s 24% share. Appendix p. 7a fn. 2. However, Jay’s sold

more potato chips in that market. Appendix p. 7a. Frito-

Lay sought to maintain its dominant market share by

preventing plaintiff from using its strong base of potato

chip sales in Chicago for expansion into new product or

geographic markets. To achieve this end, Frito-Lay

intentionally maintained lower prices on potato chips, the

product upon which plaintiff’s business depended, in

plaintiff’s market area.

Frito-Lay coupled this discriminatory pricing scheme

with commercial bribery and sabotage in an effort to

cripple plaintiff’s competitive efforts. Given the barriers

to entry existing in the snack food industry, the purpose

and effect of Frito-Lay’s conduct was to lessen com-

petition and to maintain Frito-Lay’s dominant market

position.

Plaintiff challenged Frito-Lay’s conduct under § 2 of

the Sherman Act and § 2(a) of the Robinson-Patman Act.

Although recognizing that Frito-Lay possessed signifi-

cant market power, and was motivated by the express

purpose of hindering plaintiff’s expansion in an industry

with significant barriers to entry, the courts below re-

=

9

jected plaintiff’s claims. Ignoring this non-cost evidence,

the lower courts adopted a strict cost test for predatory

pricing. The lower courts held that plaintiff was required

to prove that Frito-Lay’s prices were below incremental

cost in order to establish a prima facie case of predatory

pricing sufficient to withstand a motion for summary

judgment.’

Focusing solely on the pricing aspects of this case, and

improperly ignoring Frito-Lay’s non-price related con-

duct, the Seventh Circuit decided that plaintiff had failed

to make out the “outline” of an antitrust violation despite

the existence of evidence that (1) Frito-Lay’s prices were

below its average total costs adjusted for Frito-Lay’s cost

of capital (Appendix p. 2la); (2) there were barriers to

entry created by the need for shelf space (Appendix

p. 25a-26a); and (3) Frito-Lay, a firm with market power,

acted with predatory intent (Appendix p. 27a). The

imposition of a strict cost-based test for predation in

these circumstances conflicts with the decisions of this

Court and other Courts of Appeal and raises serious

questions which need to be resolved.

' Although the Seventh Circuit stated that plaintiff had to

prove that Frito-Lay priced below average variable cost or

long-run incremental cost, it ignored the uncontroverted testi-

mony of plaintiff’s expert that Frito-Lay sold below long-run

incremental cost. The district court, however, in light of that

testimony, rejected the long-run incremental cost standard

because a price above average variable cost cannot be predatory.

The Seventh Circuit implicitly approved this analysis by adopt-

ing the district court’s opinion. Appendix at 2a.

10

I.

THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH THE DECTI-

SIONS OF OTHER COURTS OF APPEAL ON THE

PROPER DEFINITION OF PREDATORY PRICING.

The Seventh Circuit’s determination that proof of

below incremental cost pricing is an essential element of

any claim for predatory pricing directly raises the conflict

concerning the definition of predatory pricing recognized

by this Court in Cargill, Inc. v. Monfort of Colorado, Inc.,

479 U.S. 104 (1986). The decision below most obviously

conflicts with the Ninth Circuit which has directly held

that evidence of below-cost pricing is not an essential

element of a predatory pricing claim. In Transamerica

Computer Company, Inc. v. International Business Ma-

chines Corporation, 698 F.2d 1377 (9th Cir. 1983), cert.

denied, 464 U.S. 955 (1983), the Ninth Circuit found that

prices above average total cost may be predatory upon

direct proof of predatory intent. See also, Marsann

Company v. Brammall, Inc., 788 F.2d 611 (9th Cir. 1986)

(plaintiff’s inability to determine defendant’s cost does

not justify summary judgment) and D&S Redi-Miz v.

Sierra Redi- Miz & Contracting Co., 692 F.2d 1245 (9th Cir.

1982) (cost-based test inappropriate when challenged

conduct does not affect revenues or costs). If this case had

been brought in the Ninth Circuit, there would be little

doubt that the combination of evidence of Frito-Lay’s

market power, Frito-Lay’s predatory intent, Frito-Lay’s

non-price related anti-competitive conduct, and barriers

to entry would be sufficient to withstand a motion for

summary judgment even in the absence of proof of below-

cost pricing. Thus, the facts of this case make it an

appropriate vehicle to resolve the conflict of whether proof

of below-cost pricing is required.

11

Additionally, the decision below falls squarely in the

existing conflict among the Circuits on the question of

whether prices above incremental cost may be predatory.

The Seventh Circuit’s ruling required proof of below

incremental pricing. The First, Second, and Sixth Circuits

also appear to have adopted incremental cost as the

appropriate cost standard. Barry Wright Corp. v. ITT

Grinnell Corp., 724 F.2d 227, 232-235 (1st Cir. 1983);

Northeastern Telephone Co. v. American Telephone & Tele-

graph Company, 651 F.2d 76 (2d Cir. 1981); and Arthur S.

Langenderfer, Inc. v. S.E. Johnson Co., 729 F.2d 1050 (6th

Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1036 (1984). However, at leasi

the Third, Fifth, Eighth, Ninth, and Tenth Circuits have

considered direct evidence of intent when prices are

shown to be below average total cost. O. Hommel v. Ferro,

659 F.2d 340 (8rd Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1017

(1982), reh. denied, 456 U.S. 965 (1982); International Air

Industries, Inc. v. American Excelsior Company, 517 F.2d

714, 728-725 (5th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 424 U.S. 943

(1976); Henry v. Chloride, Inc., 809 F.2d 1334, 1346 (8th

Cir. 1987); Transamerica, supra; and Instructional Sys-

tems Development Corporation v. Aetna Casualty and Sure-

ty Company, 817 F.2d 639 (10th Cir. 1987). These Courts of

Appeal hold that prices over incremental cost, but below

full cost, may be predatory depending on the existence of

other evidence.

These conflicts justify the granting of this Petition

for Certiorari.

12 _

Il.

THE DECISION BELOW IGNORES CONTROLLING

AUTHORITY HOLDING THAT A STRICT INCRE-

MENTAL COST STANDARD IS INAPPROPRIATE

UNDER THE ROBINSON-PATMAN ACT.

The Seventh Circuit’s definition of predatory pricing

as pricing below incremental cost in a Robinson-Patman

case conflicts with this Court’s decision in Utah Pie Co. v.

Continental Baking Co., 386 U.S. 685 (1967). In Utah Pie a

jury verdict in plaintiff’s favor was affirmed upon the total

mix of evidence of predation, including cost and non-cost

evidence. Significantly, this Court did not adopt an

incremental cost standard. Instead, evidence that de-

fendant priced below direct cost plus an allocation for

overhead was held sufficient to sustain the jury verdict

given the existence of direct evidence of intent.

The decision below cannot be reconciled with Utah Pie.

In Utah Pie the evidence supporting the jury verdict

included proof that (1) the price discrimination was

aimed at plaintiff; (2) price was a critical market factor;

(3) plaintiff would lose business if it did not meet its

competitor’s price; (4) defendants lost more money in the

relevant market than elsewhere; (5) defendants priced

below direct cost plus an allocation for overhead; and (6)

the below-cost pricing continued for 16 months.

In this case, plaintiff produced virtually identical

proof of predatory intent. The district court found that

(1) barriers to entry existed (Appendix p. 25a-26a); (2)

Frito-Lay had engaged in the buying of shelf space

(Appendix p. 26a); (3) Frito-Lay had sabotaged custom-

ers’ tests of snack food sales to obtain shelf space at

plaintiff’s expense (Appendix p. 26a); (4) Frito-Lay dis-

criminated in price in Chicago (Appendix p. 8a-9a); (5)

the price discrimination was aimed at plaintiff (Appendix

13

p. 8a-9a); (6) Frito-Lay’s total cost of producing potato

chips for the Chicago market exceeded its revenues

(Appendix p. 21a); and (7) the plaintiff offered corrobora-

tive circumstantial evidence of Frito-Lay’s predatory in-

tent (Appendix p. 27a). Such evidence clearly meets the

standards for a Robinson-Patman Act violation estab-

lished in Utah Pie. Despite this evidence, according to the

courts below, plaintiff could not prove a primary line

violation of the Robinson-Patman Act, absent proof of

below incremental cost pricing. Only by ignoring Utah

Pie could this decision be reached.

Ill.

THE DECISION BELOW RAISES IMPORTANT AND

RECURRING QUESTIONS CONCERNING THE

APPROPRIATE DEFINITION OF PREDATORY

PRICING.

The decision below, conflicting as it does with other

decisions, raises the important and recurring question of

the appropriate definition of predatory pricing. In Car-

gill, Inc. v. Monfort of Colorado, Inc., 479 U.S. 104, fn. 12 at

117 (1987), this Court acknowledged that “[n]o consensus

has yet been reached on the proper definition of predatory

pricing in the antitrust context”. See also Matsushita

Electric Industrial Co., Ltd. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S.

574 (1986). Both Cargill and Matsushita left unresolved

the very questions concerning the appropriate definition

of predatory pricing raised by the decision below.

Because of its factual context, this is the appropriate

case for the Court to answer these important questions.

As the district court recognized, plaintiff presented evi-

dence that the need for supermarket shelf space created

significant barriers to entry into the snack food market.

Coupled with Frito-Lay’s market power, these barriers to

entry made a strategy of sacrificing present revenue for

14

the purpose of limiting competition plausible because

Frito-Lay could recoup lost revenues before rivals could

enter the market. Thus, this case clearly turns upon the

definition of predatory pricing.

Both in Matsushita, supra, and Cargill, supra, the

factual context of the cases made it unnecessary for this

Court to resolve these questions. However, this case

squarely presents the Court with the question of the

appropriate definition of predatory pricing. Unlike

Matsushita, supra, a Sherman Act § 1 case, plaintiff here

maxes claims under both § 2 of the Sherman Act and the

Robinson-Patman Act. Moreover, unlike Cargill, supra,

plaintiff has not only claimed that defendant acted with

predatory intent but presented evidence which the dis-

trict court found to be “corroborative circumstantial evi-

dence of Frito- Lay’s predatory intent” (Appendix p. 27a).

The current debate over the definition of predatory

pricing is more than an academic debate. As this Court

acknowledged, predatory pricing does occur. Cargill,

supra, at 121. This Court should now resolve the debate

and determine which approach to predatory pricing

should be followed.

IV.

THE DECISION BELOW MISAPPLIES CONTROLLING

AUTHORITY CONCERNING THE PROPER STAN-

DARD FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT.

The Seventh Circuit, in apparent reliance on Celotex

Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986), held that plaintiff was

required to come forward with sufficient evidence of below

incremental cost pricing in order to avoid entry of sum-

mary judgment. However, in determining whether plain-

tiff’s evidence was sufficient, the Courts below, contrary to

the admonitions of this Court, decided between competing

reasonable inferences. This was error.

15

In Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242 (1986),

this Court succinctly stated that, despite the temptation

to do otherwise, a trial judge “is not himself to weigh the

evidence and determine the truth of the matter but to

determine whether there is a genuine issue for trial.” id.

at 249. According to the Court

[t]he inquiry performed is the threshold inquiry of

determining whether there is the need for a

trial—whether, in other words, there are any genuine

factual issues that properly can be resolved only by a

finder of fact because they may reasonably be resolved

in favor of either party.

id. at 250. The decision below ignores this authority.

Here, plaintiff presented evidence from which a jury

could reasonably infer that Frito-Lay’s incremental ex-

penses exceeded its revenues. Plaintiff’s expert submitted

two affidavits supporting this conclusion.? Indeed, the

Court noted that plaintiff’s cost analysis showed that

Frito-Lay’s costs exceeded its revenues. Frito-Lay of-

fered no contrary testimony or evidence. This uncon-

troverted expert testimony, based on an accepted

methodology, should have been sufficient to defeat the

motions for summary judgment, especially since the

determination of cost is a factual issue for the jury. See,

Instructional Systems, supra; and Henry Chloride, supra.

The courts below tried the factual issues rather than

merely determining whether a triable issue existed. This

unwarranted expansive view of summary judgment mis-

applies controlling precedent.

? Plaintiff submitted the first Affidavit of Roger Kormendi

in Opposition to Frito-Lay’s first Motion for Summary Judg-

ment. After entry of the district court’s order granting

summary judgment, plaintiff submitted the second Affidavit of

Roger Kormendi in Support of its Motion for Reconsideration.

16

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue to

review the judgment and opinion of the Seventh Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

ANTHONY S. DIVINCENZO*

CAMPBELL & DIVINCENZO

Suite 3460

55 West Monroe Street

Chicago, IL 60603

312-443-1915

JOHN C. BREZINA

BREZINA & BUCKINGHAM

111 West Jackson Boulevard

Chicago, Illinois 60604

DAVID C. BREZINA

MYERS & EHRLICH, LTD.

53 West Jackson Boulevard

Chicago, Illinois 60604

Attorneys for LSLJ

Partnership

* Counsel of Record

Dated: December 6, 1988

APPENDIX

la

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60604

(Argued February 9, 1988)

September 8, 1988

UNPUBLISHED ORDER

NOT TO BE CITED

PER CIRCUIT RULE 53

Before

HON. WILLIAM J. BAUER, Chief Judge

HON. HARLINGTON WOOD, JR., Circuit Judge

HON. JESSE E. ESCHBACH, Senior Judge

No. 87-2158 ~ -

JAY’S Foops, INC.,

Plaintrff, Appeal from the United

States District Court for the

and Nor-hern District of Illinois,

LSLJ PARTNERSHIP, > mig a,

Plaintiff- Appellant, Sia er

vs. Judge

FRITO- LAY, INC., a corporation,

Defendant- Appellee. ,

ORDER

LSLJ Partnership, the assignee of Jay’s Food, Inc.’s

(“Jays”) antitrust claims against Frito-Lay, Inc. (“Frito-

Lay”), appeals from the district court’s summary judg-

ment in favor of Frito-Lay. Jays alleges that Frito-Lay

attempted to monopolize the Chicago potato chip market

Za

from 1974 to 1980 by engaging in predatory pricing,

geographic price discrimination, and various other

anticompetitive practices in violation of section 2 of the

Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 2, section 2(a) of the Robinson-

Patman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 13(a), and the Illinois Consumer

Fraud and Deceptive Business Practices Act, Ill. Rev. Stat.

Ch. 121 1/2 §§ 261 et. seg. In a series of exhaustive opinions

rendered over a two year period, Judge Moran disposed of

Jay’s claims. Jays Foods, Inc. v. Frito-Lay, Inc., 614 F.

Supp. 1073 (N.D. Ill. 1985); Jays Foods, Inc. v. Frito-Lay,

Inc., 635 F.Supp. 103 (N.D. Ill. 1986); Jays Foods, Inc. v.

Frito-Lay, Inc., 664 F.Supp. 364 (N.D. Ill. 1987); Jays

Foods, Inc. v. Frito-Lay, Inc., 656 F. Supp. 843 (N.D. IIL.

1987). We hereby affirm and adopt the opinions of the

district court.

Jay’s contention that Judge Moran improperly

weighed the evidence in ruling on Frito-Lay’s summary

judgment motions is unavailing. Jay’s bore the burden of

demonstrating that Frito-Lay engaged in below-cost

pricing in order to prevail on its predatory pricing claims

here. As Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986),

makes plain, where the nonmoving party bears the ulti-

mate burden of proof at trial, it must “make a showing -

sufficient to establish the existence of [the] element(s]

essential to the party’s case” in order to withstand a

motion for summary judgment. See also The Chicago

Florsheim Shoe Store Co. v. Cluett, Peabody & Co. Inc., 826

F.2d 725 (1987).

After reviewing the record before us, we agree with

Judge Moran that

Jays simply has failed to make out even the outlines of

a case of predatory pricing. MCI makes it clear that

an essential element of a predatory pricing case is

proof that defendant’s prices were below average

variable or long-run incremental costs. After com-

—_———

3a

pleting its discovery and after having many months

to send legions of experts through the thickets of cost

data, plaintiff has failed to come close to satisfying

either cost standard.

614 F.Supp. 1073, 1084.

The judgment of the district court is affirmed and

adopted as the opinion of this court.

4a

JUDGMENT—ORAL ARGUMENT

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60604

September 8, 1988

Before

HON. WILLIAM J. BAUER, Chief Judge

HON. HARLINGTON WOOD, JR., Circuit Judge

HON. JESSE E. ESCHBACH, Senior Circuit Judge

No. 87-2158 a

JAY’S Foops, INC.,

Plaintiff Appeal from the United

States District Court for the

and Northern District of Illinois,

Eastern Division.

LSLJ PARTNERSHIP, > 1 dn alee

Plaintiff- Appellant James B. Moran,

“. Judge.

FRITO-LAY, INC., a corporation,

Defendant- Appellee. a

This cause was heard on the record from the United

States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois,

Eastern Division, and was argued by counsel.

On consideration whereof, IT IS ORDERED AND

-~ ADJUDGED by this Court that the judgment of the said

District Court in this cause appealed from be, and the

same is hereby, AFFIRMED, with costs, in accordance

with the order of this Court entered this date.

————————

5a

United States Bistrict Court

For THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

Jays Foops, INC., @ corporation, ,

Plaintiff,

vs. No. 78 C 4352

Frito-Lay, INC., a corporation,

Defendant. J

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

This action, in which plaintiff Jays Foods (Jays)

alleges that it was 4 victim of predatory pricing, comes

before this court ten years after the seminal article by

Professors Areeda and Turner which outlined a cost- based

definition of predatory pricing. Areeda and Turner,

Predatory Pricing and Related Practices Under Section 2 of

the Sherman Act, 88 Harv.L.Rev. 697 (1975). Defendant

Frito-Lay’s (Frito-Lay) motion for summary judgment

on Count I requires this court to determine what fealty to

give cost-based tests of predatory pricing in light of a

decade of judicial responses te the article and its progeny.

It also comes in the wake of full and complete discovery.

The question, therefore, is whether there is sufficient

evidence to create triable issues.

I.

Frito-Lay is a national producer of a full range of

salty snack foods such as potato chips and pretzels (Ex.9,

6a

p.206653). Its competitors include regional suppliers of a

more limited range of snack foods ( Ex.30, p.164719). Jays

is one of these regional competitors. Its primary product

is potato chips and its market consists of parts of Illinois,

Wisconsin, Michigan and Indiana.

In an antitrust case plaintiff has the burden of estab-

lishing the relevant product and geographic markets. See

L.A. Draper & Son vy. Wheelabrator- Frye Co., 735 F.2d 414

(11th Cir. 1984). While Jays’ complaint covers several

products and geographic markets, for Purposes of the

motion for summary judgment the relevant geographic

market is the Chicago area and the relevant product is

potato chips. The summary judgment motion is further

focused on the sale of potato chips in supermarkets.

Supermarket sales account for over 60 per cent of the total

sales of snack foods (Exs. 1 and 39). The Chicago market

is presumably the center of Frito-Lay’s allegedly illegal

competitive practices, and is the largest market served by

Jays.

Potato chip sale levels are related to the amount of

supermarket shelf space available to a supplier (Ex.2,

pp.238-240; Ex.12, p.146; Ex.26). Sales levels are also

related to promotional] incentives given stores and their

customers (Ex.6). Sufficient shelf space is also required to

introduce new products (Ex.20, p.201317). Stores allocate

Shelf space to suppliers on the basis of the sales of each

supplier’s products (Ex.2, pp.219-20).

There seems to be a little doubt that in the day-to-

day commercial warfare between snack food suppliers the

key battle is over shelf space (Ex.13). Frito- Lay believed

that the company with the greatest share of potato chip

business would control the entire salty snack sections of

the supermarkets (Ex. 10, p.197034). Because potato chip

sales were the core of the regional competitors’ strength,

Frito-Lay especially sought to increase its market share of

Ta

potato chips (Ex.32, p.186375). In its complaint Jays

alleges that Frito-Lay provided misleading and in-

accurate market studies to major retailer chains in order

to increase its share of shelf space at the expense of other

competitors. Frito-Lay also allegedly engaged in

advertising and promotional practices which helped it to

secure additional shelf space (Ex.6). Finally, Frito-Lay

allegedly used its dominance in the corn chip market as

leverage to induce stores to provide additional shelf space

for its other products (Ex.9, p.206653).

During the 1974-1980 period which is the subject of

this lawsuit,' Jays was the larger of the two potato chip

suppliers in the Chicago area. During the same period

Jays was apparently attempting to expand into other

salty food product lines and become a supplier of a full

range of snack products (Ex.11). Both companies’ sales

grew during this period. In 1974 Frito-Lay’s Chicago

division had total sales of $7,559,630 and showed a loss of

$35,329. By 1980 its sales had nearly doubled to

$13,545,170 and its profits had reached $1,057,830. The

record does not contain figures for Jays’ performance in

the Chicago market. Jays’ total net sales grew from

$22,970,172 in 1974 to $44,352,969 in 1980. Jays’ pretax

profits rose from $139,749 in 1974 to $2,319,620 in 1977,

before tapering off to $948,557 in 1980 (Stip. #9). The

record does not indicate what shifts occurred in each

company’s share of the Chicago potato chip market.’

' Jays filed its complaint on Nov. 3, 1978. Frito-Lay argues

and Jays concedes that the four-year statute of limitations, 15

U.S.C. § 15b, bars Jays from recovering damages suffered prior

to Nov. 3, 1974.

? Frito-Lay apparently had more than a 25% share of the

potato chip market by mid-1978 (Ex.23, p.176905). By the late

1970s Jays potato chips outsold Frito-Lay potato chips within

Chicago (Ex.38, p.168621), but Frito-Lay had a 55% share of the

total salty snack food business in Chicago while Jays’ share of

that market was 24% (Ex.34, p.182435).

8a

The record makes clear that Chicago was one of the

“problem” markets for Frito-Lay. Frito-Lay faced strong

local competition in potato chip sales and its performance

lagged relative to other markets (Ex.30, Dp. 164726-727,

164736; Ex.31, pp.174064-65). Consequently, Frito-Lay

devoted extra promotional and advertising resources to

the Chicago market. These promotions included substan-

tial price discounts, some of which were unauthorized

(Ex.17), and a strong emphasis on potato chips in the

supermarket display shelves (“overfacing”’) (Exs.10 and

11).

The record suggests that Frito-Lay sets its prices

with an eye towards competitive conditions. A summary

of Frito-Lay’s pricing objectives identified three ap-

proaches to pricing based on market conditions (Ex.27).

In high-growth product categories, where Frito-Lay had

market leadership, prices were to be set “most aggres-

sively.” In low-growth categories, where Frito-Lay had

shared market leadership, prices were to be less aggres-

sive. Finally, in “low-growth categories where we do not

dominate we will price competitively (e.g. potato chips).”

(Id.)

What is also evident from the record is that Frito-

Lay’s guide in setting prices was its corporate financial

goals (Ex.27). Its pricing decisions were “designed to

maintain total corporate gross margin at target level of

50%.” Id.

According to Jays, Frito-Lay also sold potato chips in

Chicago for a lower profit in order to increase its market

share. Frito-Lay purportedly was willing to lower its

profit in Chicago and other problem markets because it

could subsidize these lower profits with the higher profits

earned in markets where it faced little or no competition.

Frito-Lay’s prices for identical products varied from mar-

9a

ket to market (Ex.5), at least in part because Frito-Lay

took over regional companies with established price pat-

terns (Ex.4). Regional price variations also resulted from

the different competitive conditions faced by Frito-Lay in

various markets (Ex.18). Frito-Lay prices for some po-

tato chip products in the Chicago market were lower for

significant periods than prices for the same products in

other markets (Ex.5; Ex.20. p.201324; and Ex.21,

p.207878).

Jays’ first amended complaint contains three counts.

Count I alleges that Frito-Lay has engaged in predatory

pricing in violation of Section 2 of the Sherman Act.

Count II is brought under Section 2 of the Clayton Act and

alleges that Frito-Lay has engaged in illegal price dis-

crimination. Count III contains pendent claims brought

under the deceptive trade practices laws of the states

served by Jays and alleges that Frito-Lay engaged in

anti-competitive conduct. Jays claims that it sustained a

loss totalling $4,311,806:73 for fiscal years 1975-1981, be-

cause of its inability to increase prices to reach a 6% pre-

tax rate of return as a result of Frito-Lay’s anti-

competitive conduct.

II.

In Count I Jays claims that Frito-Lay attempted to

monopolize the Chicago market for potato chips in viola-

tion of Section 2 of the Sherman Act. 15 U.S.C. § 2. The

elements of an attempt to monopolize are (1) intent to

control prices or destroy competition with respect to a

part of commerce; (2) predatory or anti-competitive con-

duct directed at accomplishing the unlawful purpose; and

(3) a dangerous probability of success. Chillicothe Sand &

Gravel Co. v. Martin Marietta Corp., 615 F.2d 427, 430 (7th

Cir. 1980).

10a

The parties agree on the definition of predatory

pricing as the dominant firm’s deliberate sacrifice of

current revenues through lower prices for the purpose of

driving rivals out of the market. Once it has vanquished

its rivals, the dominant firm can more than recoup its

short-term losses through higher profits earned in the

absence of competition. MCI Communications Corp. v.

American Telephone & Telegraph Co., 708 F.2d 1081, 1112

(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 104 S.Ct. 234 (1983). The parties

disagree on the proper test for predation, namely, the

sufficiency of cost-based measures of predation and the

relevance of non-cost indicia of predatory intent.

The modern era of predatory pricing analysis was

ushered in by Professors Areeda and Turner. Areeda &

Turner, Predatory Pricing and Related Practices Under

Section 2 of the Sherman Act, 88 Harv.L.Rev. 697 (1975).

They argued that prices at or above marginal cost, even if

not profit- maximizing, generally should be presumed to be

non-predatory. Jd. at 711. Marginal cost is the “in-

crement to total cost that results from producing an

additional increment of output.” Because marginal costs

are difficult to determine, Areeda and Turner advanced

average variable cost as an acceptable surrogate for

marginal cost. Jd. at 716-718. Variable costs are costs

which vary in a short run with changes in output. Such

costs include items such as materials, labor, fuel, use

depreciation, and a return on investment needed to at-

tract enough working capital to pay for variable costs.

Average variable cost is total variable cost divided by

output. Fixed costs, in contrast, are costs which in the

short run do not vary with changes in output. Fixed costs

include such items as management expenses, interest on

bonded debts and other items of irreducible overhead.

Total cost is the sum of fixed and variable costs and

average total cost is the total cost divided by output. See

lla

generally Northeastern Telephone Co. v. American Tele-

phone & Telegraph Co., 651 F.2d 76 (2d Cir. 1981).

The Areeda & Turner formula has won wide if

cautious acceptance by the courts. Some courts have

hewed closely to average variable cost as the conclusive

test of predatory pricing. See e.g. Barry Wright Corp. v.

ITT Grinnell Corp., 724 F.2d 227 (ist Cir. 1983); North-

eastern Telephone, supra. Most courts have recognized the

central importance of a cost-based test of predatory

pricing, but have noted that in unusual circumstances

special market characteristics, such as high entry barriers,

might permit a finding of predatory pricing even if prices

were above average variable cost but below average total

cost. See e.g. Chillicothe Sand & Gravel, 615 F.2d at 431-32;

Pacific Engineering & Product Co. v. Kerr McGee Corp., 551

F.2d 790, 797 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 879 (1977);

International Air Industries, Inc. v. American Excelsior

Co., 517 F.2d 714, 723-25 (5th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 424

U.S. 943 (1976). The Ninth Circuit has strayed most from

sole reliance on a cost-based test of predation. See

Transamerica Computer Co., Inc. v. IBM Corp., 698 F.2d

1377 (9th Cir. 1983). See also D. E. Rogers Associates, Inc.

v. Gardner- Denver Co., 718 F.2d 1431 (6th Cir. 1983), cert.

denied 104 S.Ct. 3513 (1984). In Transamerica the court

held that by reference to non-cost factors a plaintiff could

show that a defendant engaged in predatory pricing even

if its prices were above average total cost. Jd. at 1386-88.

*Courts generally have held that plaintiff makes out a

prima facie case of predatory pricing by showing that defen-

dant’s prices fell below average variable cost and are thus

presumptively predatory. When prices are above average vari-

able but below average total cost plaintiffs must rebut the

presumption that the prices are not predatory. See generally

William Inglis & Sons Baking Company v. ITT Continental

Baking Company, Inc., 668 F.2d 1014, 1035-36 (9th Cir. 1981),

cert. denied, 459 U.S. 828 (1982). The Transamerica court set

plaintiff's burden even higher when defendant’s prices are

above average total cost. 698 F.2d at 1388.

12a

In Chillicothe Sand & Gravel the Seventh Circuit

recognized the centrality of the average variable cost test

in the analysis of a predatory pricing claim. It cautioned,

however, that non-cost factors were not to be neglected

when determining whether a defendant’s pricing policy

was predatory:

[| W |hile we accept the use of marginal or average

variable cost as both a relevant and an extremely

useful factor in determining the presence of pre-

datory conduct we are willing to consider the presence

of other factors in our evaluation of whether or not

plaintiff has made out a prima facie case of monopo-

lizing or attempt to monopolize.

615 F.2d at 432. Indeed, after concluding that defendant’s

prices were above average variable cost, the Chillicothe

court went on to consider and ultimately to reject a

variety of non-cost factors which plaintiff had argued

revealed defendant’s predatory intent. Jd. at 432-34.

In MCI Communications Corp. v. American Telephone

& Telegraph Co., 708 F.2d 1081 (7th cir.), cert. denied, 104

S.Ct. 234 (1988), the Seventh Circuit confronted allega-

tions that AT&T had engaged in predatory pricing of two.

of its services for long distance business communications.

MCI, 708 F.2d at 1111. The issue at MCI was not the

validity of the Areeda and Turner average variable cost

test; neither party ever argued for application of a short

run cost standard. 708 F.2d at 1115. While MCI noted

some of the shortcomings of the average variable cost test,

id. at 1115-16, the decision cannot be read as a repudiation

of that test. In fact, the court expressly stated that

“pricing below average variable cost is normally one of the

most relevant indications of predatory pricing.” Jd. at

1120, n.55.

Perhaps the strongest and most repeated criticism of

the average variable cost test of predatory pricing is its

13a

focus on short term rather than long term costs. See e.g.

Scherer, Predatory Pricing and the Sherman Act: A Com-

ment, 89 Harv.L.Rev. 869, 890 (1976). Then Professor

Posner, for example, recognized the usefulness of the

Areeda and Turner average variable cost formula, but

concluded that predatory pricing also exists when a com-

pany sells its product below its long-run marginal cost

with the intent to exclude a competitor. R. Posner,

Antitrust Law, at 189. Long-run marginal costs are costs

that must be recovered in order for a business to survive

into the indefinite future. Jd. Because all costs are

variable in the long run, long-run marginal costs include

both the fixed and variable components of short-term

costs.

In MCI the court adopted a long-run incremental cost

of providing the two long distance services as the stan-

dard by which to determine if AT&T’s prices were pred-

atory. The long-run incremental cost of producing a

product is total company cost minus what the total cost of

the company would be in the absence of manufacturing

the product, divided by the quality of product being

manufactured. See Baumol, Quasi-Permanence of Price

Reductions: A Policy for Prevention of Predatory Pricing,

89 Yale L.J. 1, 9, n.26 (1979). Long-run incremental cost

includes fixed as well as variable cost of both capital and

operating items. Unlike measures of fully distributed

cost, long-run incremental cost is calculated with refer-

ence to current and anticipated cost, rather than histori-

cal or imbedded cost. MCI, 708 F.2d at 1116-18. The long-

run incremental cost test, in short, measures the costs

caused by the production of a product. Jd. at 1116. Other

courts have been slow to adopt the long-run incremental

cost approach.

l4a

MCI is also important for its discussion of the rule of

non-cost factors in the analysis of predatory pricing. The

court’s most complete statement on the issue was:

We do not intend to imply that in all cases and in

all circumstances we would only examine the price-

cost relationship of a product or service. Our test

merely suggests that a judge and jury may not inter

predatory intent unless price is below long-run in-

cremental cost.... [However,] a strong presumption

of lawfulness must attach when price is shown in a

case like this one to be an appropriately derived

measure of incremental cost.

708 F.2d at 1123, n.59 (emphasis in original).‘

The legacy of Chillicothe and MCI is clear but in-

complete. There are two cost-based tests for predatory

pricing. The average variable cost test focuses on short-

term cost. The long-run incremental cost test measures

the long-term cost caused by the production of product.

While non-cost factors are important adjuncts to the cost-

based tests, the cost tests play a central role in the analysis

of predatory pricing. The Seventh Circuit has not in-

dicated if it will follow the Ninth Circuit in holding that

prices above short-run total cost may in some circum-

stances be predatory. It reasonably can be implied from

MCI and Chillicothe, however, that prices above average

variable cost but below average total cost might be pre-

datory in light of striking non-cost indicia of predation or

unusual market conditions.

‘ There is no indication that the MCI decision requires any

different treatment of non-cost factors when the long-run

incremental cost test rather than the average variable cost test

is employed.

15a

ITI.

For a predatory pricing action of this magnitude, the

data on prices and costs are disconcertingly meager

(Ex.41). Plaintiff concludes that “since Frito-Lay does

not regularly isolate total cost for any division, including

Chicago, these [cost] records do not permit the determi-

nation of costs for potato chips sold in Chicago.” In its

brief plaintiff devotes six pages demonstrating that the

cost data are incomplete and capable of various inter-

pretations. Plaintiff’s position is that as a matter of law it

need not show that Frito-Lay priced potato chips below

applicable cost levels or, alternatively, that the inadequacy

of the cost data precludes summary judgment. Defendant

argues that it is entitled to summary judgment because

the plaintiff has not marshalled cost data in acceptable

form and because the existing data indicates that its

prices were not predatory.

The key piece of cost data is a “total cost study”

covering the years 1974-1980, which plaintiff prepared for

use in cross-examining the defendant’s expert (Ex.42).

The study shows that Frito- Lay’s total costs were general-

ly under its revenues. Plaintiff explains that the cost

study is inaccurate because it relies upon overly con-

servative methodological assumptions. Plaintiff stated

that it intended to provide better and presumably more

favorable cost data at a later date, though it has provided

relatively little in the many months during which Frito-

Lay’s motion has languished.

The cost study purports to show the total cost of

manufacturing, promoting and selling potato chips in

Frito-Lay’s Chicago division. The total cost figures in-

cludes the amounts expended upon (1) manufacturing,

(2) selling and freight, (3) advertising and merchandis-

ing, and (4) general and administrative expenses. The

16a

study, which is broken down into four-week periods,

reveals that Frito-Lay lost $459,275 in 1974 and $292,521

in 1975, and showed profits of $75,819, $7,022, $303,787,

$186,524 and $1,057,830 in the years 1976 to 1980, respec-

tively.

A. Average Variable Cost

The cost study is flawed as an indicator of average

variable cost. For example, it does not differentiate

between the fixed and variable components of total cost.

On its face, however, the study suggests that Frito-Lay’s

average variable cost did not regularly exceed its per unit

prices. First, because average variable cost is but a part of

total cost, Frito-Lay could not have been selling above

variable cost in the years (1976-1980) in which its sales

revenue exceeded its total cost. Second, the 3% difference

between sales revenue and total cost in 1975 would almost

certainly be substantially less than the percentage of total

costs which were fixed.*

Plaintiff has undertaken its own analysis of average

variable cost for a single four-week period in 1976

(Ex.68). It determined that average variable cost ex-

ceeded sales revenue by $3,559 during the period. When

viewed in context, this finding actually supports defen-

dant’s position. First, plaintiff considered 99% of total

manufacturing cost and 98% of total non- manufacturing

cost during the period to be variable, surely an over-

estimation given the short time span. Second, according

to the total cost study, Frito-Lay’s loss during this four-

week period was its third worst of the 91 periods covered

by the study. Frito-Lay’s loss during this period fell

under the 1974 profit/loss average by $42,571. Corre-

sponding figures for the years 1975 through 1980 were

* The cost study shows that Frito-Lay’s revenues exceeded

its total cost for the last eight weeks of 1974.

17a

$58,856, $153,719, $84,922, $100,9771, $169,227 and

$236,196, respectively. That Frito-Lay’s revenues fell

below average variable cost by only $3,559 in such an

abysmal performance period, and that this figure is based

upon questionable methodological assumptions, can only

mean that Frito- Lay’s prices were above average variable

cost in almost all other periods.‘

Plaintiff appears to suggest that it is entitled at a

minimum to recover treble damages for each four-week

period in which Frito-Lay’s potato chip revenues fell

below its total cost for the same period. Average variable

cost and not total cost is, however, the short-run cost

measure. Even assuming that Frito-Lay’s average vari-

able cost was above its revenue during some four-week

periods—a questionable assumption given plaintiff’s des-

ignation of all but a miniscule percentage of cost as

variable—it is doubtful whether plaintiff is entitled to

base its recovery on such short-term perturbations. It is

unclear from the cost study what degree of correspond-

ence there is between the revenue derived from sales

during the period and the costs allocated to that period.

More importantly, given the relatively long periods be-

tween Frito-Lay’s price changes (Ex.5), and the short-

run fluctuations in costs shown in the cost study, it is not

evident that Frito-Lay priced below its reasonably antici-

pated average variable cost. See Areeda & Turner, Anti-

trust Law, 9 715(d) at p. 174.

‘In 1981 Price, Waterhouse & Company prepared an anal-

ysis of a contribution made by the sale of potato chips in the sale

zone which included Chicago (Ex.47). The study found that the

potato chips made a positive contribution on a variable cost basis

each year during the 1974-1980 period. That is, for the zone asa

whole, Frito-Lay was selling its potato chips above its average

variable cost. Plaintiff’s theory, of course, is that Frito-Lay was

selling its supermarket potato chips below its average variable

cost in Chicago, even though its potato chips prices may have

exceeded average variable cost throughout the zone as a whole.

18a

While marginal cost generally is below average total

cost, at high levels of production where production facil-

ities are operating beyond optimum capacity marginal

costs may be above average total cost. Areeda & Turner,

Antitrust Law (1982 Supp.) 7 715.4(c) at p. 155. In rare

cases a defendant who operates a plant well beyond its

optimum capacity may be engaged in predatory pricing

even while earning significant profits. Jd. at 156.

Plaintiff suggests that Frito-Lay’s production facil-

ities were being utilized at the level well over optimum

capacity during the relevant period. The evidence is far

from conclusive in this regard. Plaintiff has produced

evidence which indicates that Frito-Lay officials were

concerned about expanding snack food production facil-

ities nationwide to keep pace with growing demand

(Ex.21, p.207877; Ex.46, p.201549; Ex.53, p.202880; Ex.54;

Ex.56, p.203109; Ex.57, p.203221; Ex.60, p.27904; and Ex.61,

p.203444). The record also shows that there were spot

shortages of Frito-Lay products in some areas due to

strikes, poor materials, bad weather, and, on occasion,

capacity constraints due to spurts in demand caused by

promotions (Ex.9, p.206703; Ex. 29, p.203629; Ex.51; Ex.54;

Ex.58; Ex.59; Ex.62; and Ex.63). The existence of spot

shortages does not necessarily indicate that production

facilities were over-utilized. In fact, Frito-Lay could well

have decided to have spot shortages rather than to utilize

production facilities uneconomically at well over optimum

capacity.

The only hard evidence of the utilization of Frito-

Lay’s potato chip production facilities nationwide does not

indicate sustained production at over-capacity levels.

Records from 1979 show that Frito-Lay operated its

potato chip production facilities at over 100% of capacity

for only two weeks and production levels during these

weeks never exceeded 105% of capacity (Ex.9 at p.206695).

19a

The running average for capacity utilization for the year

never exceeded 90%. Jd. Capacity utilization records for

the first half of 1980 show only one big jump during a

single week to 100% capacity utilization (Ex.64, p.18200).

Capacity utilization over the six four-week periods aver-

aged only 77.4%. Id. p.180198.

This data is of limited use because of its nationwide

scope. The only information about production levels at the

Allen Park plant, the largest supplier of potato chips for

the Chicago market (Ex.40, p.219446), suggests that in

1979 and 1980 capacity well exceeded demand (Ex.D to

Deft’s Reply Memo). In 1979 capacity was 5,900 units,

while demand was projected to be 2,731 units. In 1980

capacity was unchanged and demand was expected to rise

to 3,085 units. Projected demand was well under capacity

of the Allen Park plant through 1983.’

While establishing that Frito-Lay was concerned

about maintaining adequate capacity in the face of rising

demand and that a variety of circumstances led on occa-

sion to spot shortages, plaintiff has done no more than

establish that in three out of seventy-six weeks Frito-

Lay’s plants nationwide were operating at over 100% but

under 110% of capacity. During a good portion of the

same period demand was apparently less than 50% of

capacity at the plant which supplied most of the potato

chips to the Chicago market. Even assuming that margi-

nal costs did exceed average total costs during several

weeks—a questionable assumption given the slight extent

“of the production over capacity—and assuming that the

Allen Park plant was over-utilized—a fact for which there

’ The Allen Park plant was somewhat more inefficient that

most other Frito-Lay plants (Ex.43, p.205123). Plaintiff points

out that cost study, which may not have fully accounted for the

inefficiencies of the Allen Park plan, may thus understate actual

cost.

| crac ici

20a

is no support—this court would be reluctant to base

liability on such short-term periods of production over

capacity levels. Such an approach would be inconsistent

with the purpose of the antitrust laws. Companies would

be reluctant to engage in vigorous price competition if

they faced treble damages for each period, no matter how

short, that their prices happened to fall below their

marginal cost because of unusually high production levels.

Cf. Barry Wright Corp., 724 F.2d at 234 (arguing against

too rigid an adherence to economic principles in antitrust

analysis).

The shortcomings of plaintiff’s position might be

overcome by three factors. First, there is no evidence in

the record as to the utilization of Frito-Lay’s potato chip

plants during much of the period covered by the lawsuit.

Perhaps capacity constraints were greater from 1974

through 1978. Second, not all the potato chips for the

Chicago market were produced at the Allen Park plant.

Conceivably, production levels at the other plants

supplying Chicago were substantially above capacity.

Third, the optimum capacity of the Frito-Lay plants could

have been below the full capacity level established by

Frito-Lay. The existing plant utilization data thus might

understate the extent to which production exceeded opti-

mum capacity. Yet, after extensive discovery, plaintiff

has not been able to advance evidence in support of any of

these suppositions.

B. Long-Run Incremental Cost

The data is even more unsatisfactory with respect to

long-run incremental cost. Both parties agree that plain-

tiff’s cost study is a measure of fully distributed costs. The

Seventh Circuit has rejected fully distributed cost as a

standard with which to examine a company’s long-term

pricing policy. MCI, 708 F.2d at 1119-1123. In some

circumstances fully distributed costs may be an acceptable

2la

proxy for long-run incremental costs. See MCI, 708 F.2d

at 1116, n.47. For example, the average balance sheet cost

of a single product enterprise in a stable economy may

provide an acceptable proxy for long-run incremental

cost. Jd. Frito-Lay, however, produces numerous products.

During the period covered by the lawsuit the economy was

not stable. The potato chip market itself was dynamic and

Frito-Lay was making significant capital expenditures in

new plants in order to meet rising demand.

One can draw suppositions from the data in favor of

both parties. For example, in its supplemental memo-

randum Jays presents a revised cost study which adds the

costs of attracting investment capital to the tally of total

costs. Capital costs are properly included in the calculation

of long-run incremental cost. MCI, 708 F.2d at 1118. As

revised, plaintiff’s cost study shows that Frito-Lay’s total

cost of producing potato chips for the Chicago market

exceeded its revenues. Moreover, plaintiff’s cost study

may understate the actual and anticipated costs from

which the long-run incremental cost figure is derived.

On the other hand, as defendant points out, the total

cost study may significantly overstate the costs attribut-

able to the production of potato chips for the Chicago

market. Long-run incremental costs include only those

costs attributable to the production of a particular prod-

uct. Apparently, not all of the costs which Frito-Lay

would have incurred even if it were not producing potato

chips have been deducted from the total cost study. For

example, the administrative expenses which Frito-Lay

would have incurred in the absence of supermarket potato

chip lines might not have been significantly different than

the amount of administration expenses shown in the total

cost study. If so, the figures for administrative expenses

are substantially inflated for purposes of a measure of

long-run incremental cost. In sum, the data is so

aac ii

22a

fragmentary that no meaningful judgment can be made

as to whether Frito-Lay priced its supermarket potato

chips beneath its long-run incremental cost-

IV.

Jays’ position is that non-cost factors alone can be

determinative of Frito-Lay’s liability. Chillicothe and

MCI cast substantial doubt on this position, at least in the

usual predatory pricing case. Yet, the decisions do require

consideration of non-cost factors in conjunction with the

application of cost-based measures of predation.

A. Profit Cross-Subsidization

Jays has assembled evidence that Frito-Lay set prices

on a regional basis (Ex.18). In regions where Frito-Lay

had relatively little competition, prices were set higher

than in regions like Chicago, where Frito-Lay faced

vigorous competition. Jays argues that Frito-Lay com-

pensated for the lower profits it earned in Chicago by

charging higher prices elsewhere. According to Jays,

Frito-Lay’s lower prices in Chicago were predatory. In

MCI the Seventh Circuit considered and rejected an iden-

tical profit cross-subsidization theory. The court stated

that the so-called subsidization of low prices in com-

petitive markets by higher prices in less competitive

markets was actually a chimera, as long as the price in the

competitive market exceeded long-run incremental cost

in the market:

When a multiproduct firm prices a competitive

service above its long-run incremental cost, no cross-

subsidy can occur because the additional revenues

produced exceed all additional cost associated with the

competitive service and provide a contribution to the

unallocable common cost otherwise borne by the firm’s

existing customers.

23a

MCI, 708 F.2d at 1124. Assuming that Frito-Lay’s potato

chip prices in Chicago were set above long-range in-

cremental cost, no cross-subsidization occurred for which

liability could attach on a monopolization theory.

B. Profit Maximization

In a position related to the theory of price cross-

subsidization, Jays argues that Frito-Lay’s purported

failure to maximize its profits in Chicago was conclusive

evidence of predatory pricing (Ex.18). The MCI court left

no doubt of its rejection of the profit maximization theory:

{ W Je must reject such “profit maximization” the-

ory as incompatible with the basic principles of anti-

trust. The ultimate danger of monopoly power is that

prices will be too high, not too low. A rule of

predation based on the failure to maximize profits

would rob consumers of the benefits of any price

reductions by dominant firms facing new com-

petition. Such a rule would tend to freeze the prices of

dominant firms at the monopoly levels and would

prevent many pro-competitive price cuts beneficial to

consumers in other purchases .... It is in the inter-

ests of competition to permit dominant firms to en-

gage in vigorous competition, including price com-

petition. We therefore reject MCIs “profit max-

imization” theory and reaffirm this circuit’s holding

that liability for predatory pricing must be based

upon proof of pricing below cost.

MCI, 708 F.2d at 1114 (footnote and citations omitted).

In this case Frito-Lay was not even the largest supplier of

potato chips for the Chicago market. Its adoption of non-

profit maximizing prices in response to Jays’ competitive

challenge was thus more reasonable and more necessary

than if it has been the dominant supplier.

C. Entry Barriers

Jays describes the barriers to entering the snack food

market as “almost insurmountable.” As common sense

24a

suggests, supermarket sales of potato chips depend to a

large extent upon the shelf space allocated to a supplier. A

supplier needs adequate shelf space to compete success-

fully in the cacophony of kinds, colors, shapes and sizes of

the various snack food products and their packages. Too

little shelf space creates difficult supply problems requir-

ing frequent restocking. Inadequate shelf space will also

hinder expansion into new product lines. Supermarkets

allocate shelf space on the basis of sales. Because they

allocate shelf space relatively infrequently, and because of

the tie between shelf space and sales, shelf space once lost

is difficult to regain. Getting shelf space in the first place

can be a daunting task (Ex.12, p.137-38).

Jays’ position is that the link between sales and shelf

space, the difficulties in recapturing lost space, and the

obstacles to gaining access to supermarket shelves, create

a substantial barrier to entry into the Chicago potato chip

market. This barrier was important for two reasons.

First, because barriers to entry protect the inflated profits

of a monopolist, the attractiveness of predatory pricing is

directly proportional to the height of the barriers. Second,

Jays argues that the efforts taken by Frito-Lay to in-

crease its allocation of shelf space reflects Frito-Lay’s

predatory intent.

In the absence of substantial evidence to the contrary,

this court has doubts as to whether the purported entry

barriers caused by shelf space limits are unusually high for

potato chips. Presumably all products for which super-

market sales are important can be said to have equally

high entry barriers. Assuming the existence of entry

barriers, it is also unclear whether Jays, the largest potato

chip supplier in the Chicago area, faced unusual diffi-

culties in maintaining or expanding its share of super-

market shelf space or in penetrating into new super-

markets.

aT

25a

MCI appears to minimize the importance of high

entry barriers in the analysis of predatory pricing. Some

courts have held that high entry barriers may make prices

above average variable cost but below short run profit

maximizing levels predatory. See e.g. International Air

Industries, Inc. v. American Excelsior Co., 517 F.2d 714, 724

(5th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 424 U.S. 943 (1976). The MCI

court did suggest that in some circumstances a short-run

average variable cost test might be inappropriate where

entry barriers are high, 708 F.2d at 1121, n.57. Yet, the

court indicated that high entry barriers did not affect the

viability of a measure of average total cost, such as the

long-run incremental cost test. Indeed, entry barriers

may not even have to be considered when the long-run

incremental cost test is employed:

An important, but presently theoretical, issue not

directly before this court is the propriety of using

short-run marginal cost (as opposed to some measure

of average total cost) in predatory pricing cases

involving industries with high entry barriers ...

there is some evidence that barriers to entry may be

high in the long distance telecommunications field.

There is also evidence, however, that the development

of microwave technology has significantly lowered

these barriers. Because the parties here have argued

from measures of average total cost we do not reach this

question.

Id. (emphasis added) (citation omitted). The MCI court

never considered the effects of entry barriers as part of its

application of the long-run incremental cost test.

In this case it is near certain that Frito-Lay priced its

potato chips above average variable cost. When all infer-

ences are drawn in plaintiff’s favor it appears, however,

that entry barriers in the Chicago market might be high

enough to cast some doubt on the propriety of strict

26a

adherence to the average variable cost test in the face of

convincing non-cost evidence of predatory behavior. MCI

seems to indicate that the long-run incremental cost test

is unaffected by the presence of high entry barriers. Here

the long-run incremental cost data is too rudimentary for

a supportable conclusion that there has been predation.

Jays also points to evidence of anti-competitive ef-

forts by Frito-Lay to increase its share of supermarket

shelf space. When all inferences are drawn in Jays’ favor,

it appears that some Frito-Lay employees may have

attempted to buy extra shelf space and to sabotage super-

market tests of snack food sales in order to obtain more

space (Exs.13-15). While such evidence, if true, is not

conclusive of liability, this being after all a predatory

pricing case, it has some weight as circumstantial evidence

of a predatory scheme.

D. Expressions of Predatory Intent

Jays has culled from the Frito-Lay files various ex-

pressions of competitive combativeness by Frito-Lay em-

ployees (see e.g. Ex.16, p.161286; Ex.18, p.162483; Ex.20,

pp.201316, 201323; Ex.23, p.176901; Ex.34, p.182434035;

Ex.35-37; and. Ex.46, p.174074). Courts are to approach

purported expressions of predatory intent by company

officials warily:

Even if it were possible to identify those persons

within a firm whose intentions are relevant, the

meaning of the evidence will usually be obscure.

After all, competition consists of winning business

from rivals. The intent to preserve or expand one’s

market share is presumptively lawful. To encourage

judges and juries to rely overly on non-probative data

allegedly bearing on a firms “state of mind” invites

the twin mischiefs of (1) burdening the litigation

with thousands of documents about the firm’s motives

and calculations, and (2) encouraging inconsistent

and quixotic results.

27a

MCI, 708 F.2d at 1113.

The closest the evidence comes to a “smoking pistol” is

a statement in a memorandum:

Mazimum Impact on Competition—By placing in-

cremental effort behind these low share markets, we

would maximize the effectiveness of our spending,

since these markets account for 77% of the volume of

our top five competitors and 77% of all branded

competition. This is significant since the bulk of our

major competition’s volume/profit comes from their

potato chip business. Focusing our efforts on potato

chip growth is most likely to hinder aggressive com-

petitive expansion.

(Ex.23, p.176901 (emphasis added); see also Ex.16,

p.161286.) This statement, however, is part of a discussion

of where Frito-Lay should focus its promotional resources

and is not directly connected to Frito- Lay’s pricing policy.

It is alone far from conclusive on the issue of whether

Frito-Lay engaged in predatory pricing. The remaining

intent evidence appears to be primarily naive expressions

of competitive zeal. In short, the existing exidence of

predatory intent has only some limited weight as

corroborative circumstantial evidence of Frito-Lay’s

predatory intent. Standing by itself, the intent evidence

is wholly insufficient to establish Frito-Lay’s predatory

intent.

E. Price and Promotional Discrimination

Jays provide some evidence that Frito-Lay ran pro-

motions featuring price discounts longer in Chicago than

in other markets and generally devoted more merchandis-

ing resources to the zone of which Chicago was a part

(Ex.49, p.169529; Ex.65). Even if true, these things do not

necessarily indicate predatory pricing. The same prin-

ciples that apply to Jays’ product maximization and profit

price cross-subsidization arguments apply in this in-

28a

stance. So long as Frito-Lay priced potato chips above its

average variable cost and its long-run incremental cost,

then there is no compelling reason to deny Chicago con-

sumers the benefits of longer and greater promotional

discounts. While the social benefits of increased advertis-

ing might be debated, there is nothing inherently pre-

datory about heavy advertising in highly competitive

markets.

V.

Courts generally approach summary disposition of

complex antitrust cases with caution. See Lupia v. Stella

D'Oro Company, Inc., 586 F.2d 1163 (7th Cir.), cert. denied,

440 U.S. 982 (1979). This is especially true in antitrust

cases where motive and intent play leading roles. Feld-

man v. Health Care Service Corp., 562 F.Supp. 941 (N.D. II.

1982). If, however, after completion of discovery it is clear

that the plaintiff will not be able to establish an essential

element of its claim, summary judgment in defendant’s

favor is warranted. Products Liability Insurance Agency,

Inc. v. Crum & Forester Insurance Companies, 682 F.2d 660

(7th Cir. 1982).

The parties have completed discovery and filed a

massive pretrial order. If the court denies Frito- Lay’s

motion for summary judgment the parties will go to trial

using exactly the same body of evidence that they have

drawn upon for their briefs. This trial is optimistically

estimated to last six weeks. It will expose Frito-Lay to

treble damages.

Jays simply has failed to make out even the outlines of

a case of predatory pricing, MCI makes clear that an

essential element of a predatory pricing case is proof that

29a

defendant’s prices were below average variable or long-

range incremental costs. After completing its discovery

and after having many months to send legions of experts

through the thickets of cost data, plaintiff has failed to

come close to satisfying either cost standard. In fact, to

the extent it is usable, the available cost data indicates

that Frito-Lay’s pricing policy was not predatory.

Jays rests its case upon the legal proposition that non-

cost evidence can support a predatory pricing claim. A

weak pricing case can perhaps be rescued by convincing

non-cost evidence. But here plaintiff’s pricing data is

anemic at best and its non-cost evidence is unilluminat-

ing.

Because it is based largely upon empirical factors,

predatory pricing analysis does not depend upon consid-

erations of motive and intent. That barrier to summary

judgment is thus not at issue. Now that the pretrial order

is entered there is no possibility that Jays can divine cost

figures or uncover non-cost evidence that reveals pred-

atory pricing. Even though it has made a Herculean

effort, Jays has advanced a case that rests largely upon

speculation and conjecture. In order to avoid presenting a

jury with such a case, the court has no option under the

circumstances but to grant Frito-Lay’s motion for sum-

mary judgment.

VI.

Count II is brought under the Robinson-Patman Act,

15 U.S.C. § 13(a), which provides that

it shall be unlawful for any person engaged in com-

merce, in the course of such commerce, either directly

or indirectly, to discriminate in price between differ-

ent purchasers of commodities of like grade and

quality, where either or any of the purchases involved

in such discrimination are in commerce, where such

30a

commodities are sold for use, consumption, or resale

...and where the effect of such discrimination may be

substantially to lessen competition or tend to create a

monopoly in any line of commerce.

Plaintiff moves for summary judgment on that count.

There are three contested issues with respect to Jays’

Robinson-Patman Act claim: whether Frito-Lay (1) dis-

criminated in price; (2) in the sale of goods of like grade

and quality; (3) such that competition was substantially

lessened. Plaintiff’s motion is directed only at the first

two issues. For purposes of the motion Jays focuses only

on the sale in the Chicago market of supermarket-sized

products within the categories of (1) Lays/Frito- Lays;

(2) Ruffles; and (3) flavored potato chips.

The extent to which a product is of like grade and

quality as another product depends on “the characteristics

of the product itself.” FTC v. Borden Co., 383 U.S. 637, 641

(1966). In Borden the court held that evaporated milk

produced and sold under the Borden name was of like

grade and quality as that which Borden produced for sale

at lower prices under other brand names. The physical

and chemical identity of the two products, rather than

brand names and consumer preferences, are conclusive of

the like grade and quality question. Jd. at 639-640.

Defendant emphasizes the physical differences be-

tween the various lines of Frito-Lay products marketed in

Chicago and throughout the country. The likeness of

grade and quality of, for example, a plain potato chip and

a flavored ridged potato chip presents a genuine issue of

fact which cannot be resolved upon a motion for summary

judgment. See Checker Motors Corp. v. Chrysler Corp., 283

F.Supp. 876, 888-89 (S.D.N.Y. 1968), aff'd 405 F.2d 319 (2d

Cir.), cert. denied, 394 U.S. 994 (1969). Jays’ motion, as

this court understands it, is directed instead towards

3la

establishing only that the various lines of supermarket-

sized Frito-Lay products sold in Chicago were substan-

tially identical to the same items Frito-Lay sold in the

same supermarket-sized packages outside of Chicago. So,

for example, barbecued potato chips sold in supermarket-

sized packages in Chicago are substantially identical to

barbecued potato chips sold in supermarket-sized pack-

ages elsewhere, but not substantially identical to ridged

potato chips sold in supermarket-sized packages. The

evidence supports this rather unremarkable proposition.

Price discrimination under the Robinson-Patman Act

“is merely a price difference.” FTC v. Anheuser-Busch,

Inc., 363 U.S. 536, 549 (1960). Jays has advanced evidence

that Frito-Lay prices for its supermarket-sized products

were sometimes lower in the Chicago market than else-

where. Frito-Lay provides evidence that its prices were

sometimes higher in Chicago than elsewhere. Frito-Lay

also argues that the price differentials were simply inher-

ited from the local companies which it absorbed. See Dean

Milk Company v. FTC, 395 F.2d 696, 700-03 (7th Cir. 1968).

Summary disposition of this issue is unwarranted in view

of the uncertainty of the data. It would seem, however,

that the parties ought to be able to agree on historical

pricing data, thus eliminating the need for evidence on

that issue, and perhaps on post-1978 promotional cam-

paign discounts.

32a

Conclusion

Defendant’s motion for summary judgment on Count

I is granted. Plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment on

Count II is granted in part within the parameters as set

out in the opinion. Defendant’s motion for summary

judgment on the Count II price discrimination issue is

denied.

JAMES B. MORAN

JAMES B. MORAN

Judge, United States District Court

August 1, 1985.

33a

United States Bistrict Court

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

JAYS Foops, INC., a corporation,

Plaintuff,

vs. No. 78 C 4352

FRITO- LAY, INC., a corporation,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

Plaintiff has moved pursuant to Rule 54(b) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure for reconsideration and

vacation of this court’s August 1, 1985 order granting

defendant’s motion for summary judgment as to count I.

The August 1, 1985 memorandum and order came

after the parties had completed discovery and filed a final

pretrial order. The parties briefed the summary judgment

issue very thoroughly and well. It was apparent to the

court that both sides had a good grasp of both the

applicable law and an extremely large and tangled record.

In reaching its decision the court was confident that each

position was well supported by strong lawyering.

In its opinion the court dealt with plaintiff’s con-

tentions one-by-one. Such an approach was necessitated

by the scope of plaintiff’s claim and the expansiveness of

the record. The court did not, however, forget the nature

of plaintiff’s case. It understood that plaintiff was not

complaining of a series of discrete instances of

Se

34a

anticompetitive predatory conduct but rather of a system

of unlawful anti-competitive behavior that stretched over

many years.

In fact, it was precisely the adoption of plaintiff’s

approach that prompted the court to conclude that plain-

tiff, after full discovery, simply did not have enough

evidence to create a triable issue on its count I claim. The

heart of the court’s opinion is an examination of plaintiff’s

contentions. The court found that the data about defen-

dant’s pricing policy was somewhat fragmentary and did

not point towards predatory pricing. The non-price

evidence was similarly devoid of substantial evidence

supporting plaintiff’s claim that defendant intentionally

designed and implemented an anti-competitive system

that included pricing and numerous marketing and sales

components, covered a large metropolitan market and

lasted for years.

In its motion to reconsider, plaintiff defends a radi-

cally scaled-down version of its case. As to the treatment

of non-price contentions, plaintiff makes only one direct

challenge, alleging that the court did not give weight to

evidence that defendant sold below its short-run margihal

cost during its potato chip promotions. In its opinion the

court noted, however. that the evidence presented by

plaintiff strongly indicated that defendant did not price

below its short-run marginal cost. This data was broken

down into four week periods and did not reveal a pattern

of pricing below short-run marginal cost that correspond-

ed to promotional periods.

Apparently accepting the court’s conclusions about

short-run marginal cost, plaintiff also argues that the

court improperly rejected a study purporting to establish

that defendant priced below its long-run incremental

cost. This study is simply a record of defendant’s fully-

35a

distributed costs of producing potato chips in the zone

that included Chicago, with cost of capital figures tacked

on. As the court noted in its opinion, this revised study is

inherently of questionable accuracy.

The Seventh Circuit has reiterated that pricing below

average variable cost is normally one of the most relevant

indications of predatory pricing. MCI Communications

Corp. v. American Telephone & Telegraph Co., 708 F.2d

1081, 1115 (7th Cir.), cert. denied 104 S.Ct. 234 (1983). The

evidence which the parties have developed after years of

litigating does not support a claim on that basis. In MCI,

the court adopted a long-run incremental cost approach as

a means of defining average total cost because that was

the approach adopted by both parties. It made clear,

however, that fully distributed costs were not the same as

long-run incremental costs and were not normally a

proper measure of average total costs to determine pred-

atory pricing, and, further, that long range incremental

costs were most appropriately a measure of costs of new

products or services, especially when the goods or services

were in capital-intensive industries where growth of

plant and equipment is marked. Jd. at 1115-16. One

would there expect a rational economic pricing decision to

relate more to expectable capital costs and less to im-

bedded historical costs.

By no stretch of the imagination can the production

of potato chips be described as high-tech industry. Potato

chips are a conventional consumer food product in a multi-

product industry with some continuing capital in-

vestment. It is pressing a bit to contend that the pricing

of potato chips should be viewed from a standard that

essentially equates all costs, including capital costs, as

variable. When even that model rests upon the uncertain

foundation of a fully distributed costs analysis, with

capital costs merely tacked on, we have moved from the

36a

realm of reasonably permissible inferences to the realm of

speculation. A brief affidavit filed after the decision in

this case saying that isn’t necessarily so is not enough to

revive plaintiff’s claim even were it considered. Pricing

decisions which do not reflect substantial capital costs in a

new and rapidly expanding market may well be suspect.

If pricing decisions in an established market are likewise

suspect if they do not recover all costs, including prior

capital investment, then pricing above average variable

costs would permit a conclusion of predatory pricing. But

that is not what the cases hold, nor is such a conclusion

consistent with economic reality.

The issue thus becomes whether the earlier reworking

by plaintiff of defendant’s fully distributed cost analysis

should be enough to defeat summary judgment when

plaintiff, after full discovery, has otherwise failed to

establish even the outlines of an alleged system of anti-

competitive conduct. The court believes that granting

summary judgment under the circumstances was and is

appropriate.

As this court’s decision indicated, much of plaintiff’s

argument rests upon inferences which are at best no more

reasonable than contrary inferences and others which are,

in many instances, highly attenuated. The statistical data

to be presented at trial in many instances provides an

uncertain basis for drawing any meaningful conclusion.

Discovery has long been closed. The plaintiff has the

burden of proof. The mosaic which plaintiff presents, in

the context of all the evidence, would leave the jury to

speculate that there may have been predatory pricing but

without sufficient proof, even after viewing the evidence

most favorably to plaintiff, that such a conclusion could

reasonably be reached as more likely than not. And that is

not sufficient. See Matsushita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd.

v. Zenith Radio Corp., 54 L.W. 4319 (S.Ct. 3/26/86).

37a

As can be seen, the court’s grant of summary judg-

ment is not inconsistent with plaintiff’s theory of the case,

but rather follows from it. Plaintiff’s motion to reconsider

and vacate the August 1, 1985 order is accordingly denied.

JAMES B. MORAN

JAMES B. MORAN

Judge, United States District Court

March 31, 1986.

38a

United States District Court

For THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

JAYS Foops, INC., a corporation,

Plaintiff,

vs. > No. 78 C 4352

FRITO-LaY, INC., a corporation,

Defendant. :

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

On August 1, 1985 this court granted defendant’s

motion for summary judgment on count I, holding that

there was insufficient evidence, after full discovery, to

raise a triable attempted monopolization issue. The court

there did not wholly reject reliance on evidence of sub-

jective predatory intent, if there were such, although it

emphasized predatory pricing as the key issue and its

analysis was primarily focused on the relevant cost mea-

surement. Plaintiff tried again, with a motion for

reconsideration. That was rejected on March 31, 1986,

with this court again emphasizing cost measurement

standards.

Defendant followed with a motion for summary judg-

ment on the remaining two counts. The thrust there was

that the Robinson-Patman claim mus¢ also be rejected

because it too requires predatory pricing analyzed on the

same basis as a Section 2 Sherman Act claim. Rather than

require full briefing this court suggested that the parties

39a

file position papers setting forth what they expected to be

able to demonstrate to the court if the issues were fully

explored, and they have done so. This court thereafter

delayed ruling until it had an opportunity to explore

generally the law applicable to Robinson-Patman Act

claims, an area with which it had little familiarity. Hav-

ing done so, this court now grants defendant’s motion for

summary judgment on count IJ and denies it on count III.

Plaintiff claims that this court was wrong the first

time and, if it wasn’t, at least the predation standard for a

Robinson-Patman claim is different from that applicable

to a Section 2 claim. It rests upon Utah Pie Co. v.

Continental Baking Company, 386 U.S. 685 (1967), and

reargues many of its prior contentions.

Utah Pie is a slender reed upon which to rely. The

development of the law has not been kindly to the plain-

tiff since this case was filed and, if anything, it has been

even less kindly since the 1985 opinoin here. The “modern

era of predatory pricing analysis... ushered in by Profes-

sors Areeda and Turner” (Jays Foods, Inc. v. Frito-Lay

Inc., 614 F.Supp. 1078, 1076 (N.D. Ill. 1985)) was eight

years after Utah Pie. If Utah Pie ever meant that a

Robinson-Patman violation can rest upon pricing above

an appropriate cost measurement, it has been soundly

criticized. See Bork, The Antitrust Paradoz, pp.286-387

(1978); Areeda & Turner, Antitrust Law, J 720c, pp.189-

190 (1978); ABA Antitrust Section, Monograph 4, The

Robinson-Patman Act: Policy and Law, Volume I, p.77

(1980). But if it once meant that, it means it no longer.

It is illuminating that, with respect to a Sherman Act

claim, the Supreme Court in Matsushita Electric Industri-

al Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. ___, 106 S.Ct. 1348

(1986), defined predatory pricing as chiefly a problem of a

single firm, having a dominant share of the relevant

market, cutting its prices in order to force competition out

49a

of the market, with predatory pricing meaning pricing

below some appropriate measure of cost. It declined, in

that case, to resolve the debate over what cost measure-

ment is relevant (fn.8, p.1355). The Court relied, however,

on cases which had emphasized objective pricing and

incremental cost data, referred to Utah Pie as generally

supporting that proposition, and indicated (in fn.9) that

any theory based upon pricing above an appropriate cost

measurement was vulnerable. A similar shift in emphasis

is echoed in Ball Memorial Hospital, Inc. v. Mutual Hospi-

tal Insurance, Inc., 784 F.2d. 1325 (7th Cir. 1986) (‘So

‘intent to harm rivals’ is not a useful standard in anti-

trust” (p.1338). ‘“[{A] dominant firm may slash prices to

marginal cost in an effort to capture patronage” (p.1339).

“The focus must be on the objective basis, not the mental

state” (id.); see also Olympia Equipmeni Leasing Company

v. Western Union Telegraph Company, 797 F.2d 370 (7th

Cir. 1986) and The Great Escape, Inc. v. Union City Body

Company, Inc., 791 F.2d 532 (7th Cir. 1986). Finally,

Matsushita was a forerunner of Anderson v. Liberty Lobby,

Inc., 476 U.S. ___, 106 S.Ct. 2505 (1986) and Celotex Corp.

v. Catrett, 476 U.S. ___, 106 S.Ct. 2548 (1986), where the

Supreme Court made it clear that summary judgment is a

useful tool when the party having the burden of proof

cannot sustain its burden after full discovery.

Indeed, the rapid development of the law is well

illustrated by one treatise. Von Kalinowski, Antitrust

Laws and Trade Regulation, ch. 29, vol. 4, dealing with

competitive injury under the Robinson-Patman Act, ap-

pears to have been largely written in 1969 and somewhat

revised in 1979. Ch. 10, vol. 3, dealing with predatory

practices, appears to have been substantially rewritten in

1985 and discusses fully the differing approaches of the

various circuits in the post- Areeda & Turner era. There is

an almost total lack of congruency between the chapters.

4la

In ch. 10 (10-25, § 10.03(5)), fn. 48, Von Kalinowski notes

that Utah Pie probably has little present relevance since it

predated the “recent flood of predatory pricing writing

precipitated by Areeda & Turner’s proposal and before a

large amount of litigation on the issue. There is a

different context of common law and economic theory that

the Supreme Court must now consider.”

Courts have been unwilling to drop intent as a stan-

dard entirely, perhaps because of an understandable

reluctance to never say never when the universe is

unpredictable, perhaps in deference to the past, or per-

haps in recognition that commercial megalomania, even

without market power, is, still, without redeeming virtue.

But see Barry Wright Corporation v. ITT Grinnell Corpo-

ration, 724 F.2d 227 (1st Cir. 1983). Some courts have

been unwilling, also, to follow the logic of an objective

predation standard. They have, rather, noted that pre-

datory pricing can lead to an inference of predatory

intent which can lead to an inference of the requisite

possible effect on competition, William Inglis & Sons

Baking Co. v. ITT Continental Baking Co., 668 F.2d 1014

(9th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 825 (1982) or to an

inference of a dangerous probability of success in attain-

ing monopolization, Janich Bros. Inc. v. American Dis-

tilling Co., 570 F.2d 848 (9th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 439

U.S. 829 (1978). The relevant cost measurements remain,

as the Supreme Court noted, the subject of intense debate,

with factors such as entry barriers relevant to that de-

bate.

Where does that leave a Robinson-Patman price dis-

crimination claim? The answer is, in one sense, unclear.

The statute imposes liability not for price discrimination

but illegal price discrimination, and that requires a pos-

sible impact on competition (not just on a competitor,

Henry v. Chloride, Inc., __. F.2d ___, Nos. 85-2394,

42a

85-2446, slip op. (8th Cir. Jan. 20, 1987)). That is, by its

terms, different from the monopolization standard of

dangerous probability of success. But if predatory pricing

leads inexorably to a presumed danger of monopolization

(and, obviously, a presumed threat), the focus necessarily

is on the predation standard, at least in primary-line

injury cases. And the courts and commentators are now in

virtual agreement that the predation standards for Sec-

tion 2 and Robinson-Patman claims are the same, even

though they may disagree over what the standards may

be. O. Hommel Co. v. Ferro Corp., 659 F.2d 340 (3rd Cir.

1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1017 (1982); William Inglis &

Sons Baking Co. v. ITT Continental Baking Co., supra; see

International Air Industries, Inc. v. American Excelsior

Co., 517 F.2d (5th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 424 U.S. 943

(1976).

Defendant here concedes that market analysis may

establish a Robinson-Patman violation even in the ab-

sence of predation, and certainly the Seventh Circuit has

so stated in Lloyd A. Fry Roofing Co. v. FTC, 371 F.2d 277,

282 (7th Cir. 1966), a refrain repeated in some more

recent cases such as Double H. Plastics, Inc. v. Sonoco

Products Company, 732 F.2d 351 (3rd Cir.), cert. denied,

469 U.S. 900 (1984), and Henry v. Chloride, Inc., supra, slip

op. at 12. This court confesses to being highly uncertain

what that means, if anything. A more efficient enterprise

using, for example, some new technology, might be able to

make a profit at prices below all its competition in one

market and drive them from it, while charging a higher

price in another market. It can be argued that that is

competition, not predation, and that the antitrust laws do

not condemn that price benefit to consumers, at least so

long as insurmountable entry barriers do not create a

continuing monopoly. If that enterprise raises prices

”

43a

later, its competitors can return (as they also can if they

become more efficient).

This court has already concluded that the evidence

does not support a claim of predatory pricing here and

that should end the matter. Plaintiff again contends that

in some weeks it can show pricing below a relevant cost

measurement, but no matter how the standard is verba-

lized such transitory fluctuations are not violations. They

do not support a presumed intent, as they do not suggest

an intent to drive competition from the marketplace and

then raise prices to more than recapture past losses. They

do not prove a possible substantial impact on competition,

much less a dangerous probability of monopolization.

Brief under-cost pricing hardly establishes the monopoly

staying power with which Section 2 concepts, at least, are

concerned.

But even if a market analysis is relevant in the

absence of predation plaintiff does not indicate in a

meaningful way why it would be relevant here. Plaintiff

does not contend that the parties are in a capital-

intensive, high technology industry. It argues that shelf

space once lost is difficult to regain. Despite its continuing

references to high entry barriers plaintiff does not, how-

ever, appear to suggest that defendant could, if dominant,

charge monopoly prices and continue to exclude com-

petitors for any extended period. At most, it contends

that inertia in allocating shelf space will delay somewhat

the entry of a competitor with products of equal quality

and lower prices. It is difficult to see how that supports an

argument that defendant’s pricing could be predatory

because it was rational only if losses could be recouped by

subsequent extended monopoly pricing. “If the price-

cutter cannot dominate—if other rivals can with reason-

able ease take the place of any competitors knocked

out—competition is not seriously or permanently dam-

———

44a

aged.” Henry v. Chloride, Inc., supra, slip op. at 21. Plain-

tiff contends that defendant has a dominant position in

the Chicago market for snack foods other than potato

chips, which it protects by potato chip price dis-

crimination, and that in recent years plaintiff has lost and

defendant has gained market share. But that is a far cry

from a drastically declining price structure or some other

change in-the market from which a threat to competition

could be argued even if we assume that a threat without

predation is a violation. Plaintiff’s case rests, ultimately,

upon an expansive view of Utah Pie, and that view is

unwarranted.

That leaves, then, count III. Plaintiff there asserts

claims under the state antitrust laws of Illinois, Indiana, °

Michigan and Wisconsin, and under the Illinois Uniform

Deceptive Practices Act, the Illinois Consumer Fraud and

Deceptive Business Practices Act and the Wisconsin

Fraudulent Advertising Statute. Defendant initially con-

tended that these state law claims fall if it prevailed on

the federal claims because they are pendent. Plaintiff

points out, however, that there is complete diversity, and

defendant has apparently abandoned that contention.

Conversely, plaintiff does not contend that state antitrust

statutes give it a claim even though federal law does not,

and it does not now urge that it is entitled to relief under

the Wisconsin Fraudulent Advertising Statute. It argues,

however, that there are triable issues under both Illinois

statutes. Unfortunately, both parties have treated the

state law claims in their memoranda as very much an

afterthought. Indeed, plaintiff’s one case citation was toa

1946 New York case. This court notes that in plaintiff’s

statement of contested issues in the final pretrial order it

makes no reference to any state law claims. On the other

hand, it has expressly abandoned only some of the state

law claims advanced in paragraph 20 of the First

45a

Amended Complaint, those being subparagraphs (c), (d),

(e), (g), (i), (j) and (1). Further, some of the subpara-

graphs are essentially price discrimination claims, and

those are now foreclosed. Those are subparagraphs (a)

and (b). 7

That leaves, then, claims that defendant engaged in

advertising and promotional practices directly tied to the

allocation of increased shelf space, had a program of

acquisitions and mergers to forestall entry and lessen

competition and illegally induced store buyers and the like

to allocate additional shelf space and product “and/or

excluding other competitors’ products.” We assume that

plaintiff does not contend that acquisitions and mergers

have anything to do with the Illinois statutes. Although it

is far from clear, plaintiff is apparently claiming that

defendant on occasion bought additional shelf space, used

false sales figures to get a larger allocation, and made

various misrepresentations. Without, however, a more

specific understanding of what claims remain, it is diffi-

cult for the parties to argue, and for this court to deter-

mine, their legal sufficiency under state law. The motion

for summary judgment on count III is, therefore, denied,

not because it is without merit but because this court

cannot presently determine what merit it may have.

JAMES B. MORAN

JAMES B. MORAN

Judge, United States District Court

February 26, 1987.

46a

Hnited States District Court

FoR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

JAYS Foops, INC., a corporation,

Plaintiff,

vs. > No. 78 C 4352

FRITO- Lay, INC., a corporation,

Defendant. a

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

Plaintiff Jays Foods, Inc. filed this action in 1978. It

was primarily an antitrust case consisting of predatory

pricing claims under section 2 of the Sherman Act, 15

U.S.C. § 2, and price discrimination claims under the

Robinson-Patman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 138(a). Two successful

summary judgment motions by the defendant, Frito-Lay,

Inc., disposed of these federal antitrust claims. Jays

Foods, Inc. v. Frito-Lay, Inc., 614 F.Supp. 1073 (N.D. IL.

1985) (no triable issue concerning Sherman Act claim).

635 F.Supp. 103 (N.D. Ill. 1986) (motion for reconsidera-

tion denied), 656 F.Supp. 843 (N.D. Ill. 1987) (no triable

issue concerning Robinson-Patman Act claim). All that

remains are Jays’ claims under the Illinois Consumer

Fraud and Deceptive Business Practices Act (the “Con-

sumer Fraud Act’), Ill.Rev.Stat. ch. 121-1/2, | 262 et seq.,

and the Illinois Deceptive Trade Practices Act, Ill.Rev.-

Stat. ch. 121-1/2, 9 311 et seqg., which have received scant

attention until Frito-Lay filed this summary judgment

motion shortly before trial. The trial date was vacated

47a

and Frito-Lay’s summary judgment motion is now grant-

ed. ~

REMAINING CLAIMS

Jays’ remaining claims relate te subparagraphs 20(f)

and (k) of its amended complaint. In subparagraph 20(f)

plaintiff alleges that Frito-Lay is

[e]ngaging and continues to engage in advertising

and promotional practices which are directly tied to

retailer’s allocation of additional shelf space to Frito-

Lay products to forestall market entry and lessen

competition.

Subparagraph 20(k) charges Frito-Lay with

[i]llegally and improperly inducing store buyers and

similarly situated personnel to give defendant addi-

tional shelf space, additional authorization for its

products and/or excluding other competitors’ prod-

ucts.

These allegations closely resemble the shelf space allega-

tions in Jays’ antitrust claims.

Jays intended to show at trial that Frito-Lay at-

tempted to influence the allocation of retail shelf space by

engaging in several unfair and deceptive practices. First,

Jays would show that Frito-Lay urged retailers to allocate

shelf space based on total snack food sales but it failed to

use the shelf space it gained that way in a profit max-

imizing manner. For example, Frito-Lay devoted all

newly gained space to its comparatively slow-selling

regular potato chips. Second, Jays would show that Frito-

Lay gained additional shelf space by presenting retailers

with misleading and incomplete shelf space studies. For

example, one such study, Frito-Lays’ “mini-analysis,”

examined only total sales of snack foods, ignoring other

48a

variables such as profits, inventory turnover, location and

service. Jays also would show that Frito-Lay stacked its

products at the front of retail shelves, leaving unused

space behind (“dummying up’), and left more of its

products in certain stores than sales justified, moving

them to stores with higher inventory turnover only just in

time to prevent them from going stale (“rolling stock’’).

Jays contends that these practices enabled Frito-Lay to

occupy excessive shelf space at the expense of Frito-Lay’s

competitors, such as Jays.

Third, Jays would show that Frito-Lay engaged in

promotional programs directly tied to the allocation of

additional shelf space, a practice that Jays characterizes as

“buying space.” Finally, Jays would show that Frito-Lay

took steps to skew sales when retailers were conducting

shelf space tests to protect its shelf space allocations.

DISCUSSION

The course of events has somewhat skewed the

present dispute. The final pretrial order was filed in 1982,

after discovery had been closed. That order, which was to

govern the issues to be tried and listed the witnesses and

exhibits, largely ignored the state law claims. After the

summary judgments on the antitrust claims this court

determined that the two state law claims remained, a very

small tail on what had been a large and now dead dog. We

assumed, on the basis of what had been previously repre-

sented, that plaintiff might be claiming, for example, that

it had been excluded from some supermarket or con-

venience store chain for a time or had its shelf space

reduced by such an enterprise, all because of defendants

conduct and that plaintiff would point to reduced sales to

those enterprises as a result. The issues would be, in those

circumstances, factual and legal—whether there was con-

duct which led to provable loss of sales and whether that

49a

conduct was illegal. A trial of those remaining narrow

issues was contemplated to be short, resulting in a final

judgment which would permit appeal of the antitrust

decisions.

Plaintiff now claims that the passage of time nullifies

the restrictions of the final pretrial order. It seeks to

introduce evidence of everything which has happened

since discovery closed for the purpose of ascribing to

defendant’s shelf space conduct the claimed difference

between plaintiff’s value at the beginning of 1984 (based

on the sales price of the company in 1986) and what the

value could have been. The amounts claimed exceed those

of the antitrust claims. Defendant quite reasonably

argues that plaintiff is seeking to litigate a new and

different lawsuit about which there has been no discovery.

We do not, however, reach that question because we

conclude that the conduct of which plaintiff now complains

does not create triable issues under Illinois law. Frito-Lay

argues that the record shows there are no triable issues as

to (1) the alleged violations of either of the two Illinois

statutes Jays relies on; (2) the causation of Jays’ claimed

injury; and (3) Jays’ theory of damages. Because Frito-

Lay’s first argument is persuasive, there is no need to

examine the others.

Jays devotes a surprising amount of attention to the

Illinois Deceptive Trade Practices Act. Section 2 of the

Act, Ill.Rev.Stat. ch. 121-1/2, 9312, lists the kinds of

conduct covered in twelve subparagraphs. The first eleven

subparagraphs apply to specific kinds of deceptive. con-

duct, such as passing-off, trademark infringement and

false advertising. None of those subparagraphs is at issue

here. Jays relies on subparagraph 2(12), Ill.Rev.Stat. ch.

121-1/2, ¥ 312(12), which prohibits “conduct which sim-

ilarly creates a likelihood of confusion or misunder-

50a

standing.” The only conduct by Frito-Lay that might fit

within that subparagraph is its alleged use of misleading

shelf space studies, or perhaps its efforts to skew retailers’

own shelf space studies. Because the Deceptive Trade

Practices Act only applies to false or misleading conduct

concerning goods or services, it does not apply to Frito-

Lay’s other non-deceptive conduct. See Steinberg v. Chi-

cago Medical School, 69 Ill.2d 320, 328, 13 Ill.Dec. 699, 703,

371 N.E.2d 634, 638 (1977); Ill.Rev.Stat. ch. 121-1/2, J 311

Prefatory Illinois Notes (the Act deals with “false, con-

cealing, or deceptive trade identification, and false, con-

fusing, or deceptive representations as to the source or

origin of goods.’’).

But the Deceptive Trade Practices Act only provides

for injunctive relief, plus costs and attorneys’ fees in

appropriate circumstances. [ll.Rev.Stat. ch. 121-1/2,

71313. Although Jays’ original complaint in this action

mentioned injunctive relief, this case has proceeded as a

damage action since then. Neither the final pretrial order

nor plaintiff’s statement of issues to be tried indicate that

anything other than damages is sought now. Because

there is no damage remedy under the Deceptive Trade

Practices Act, Frito-Lay is entitled to summary judgment

on that part of Jays’ claim.

If Jays is to recover damages it must proceed under

‘ the Consumer Fraud Act, which provides:

Unfair methods of competition and unfair or decep-

tive acts or practices, including but not limited to the

use or employment of any deception, fraud, false

pretense, false promise, misrepresentation or the con-

cealment, suppression or omission of any material

fact, with the intent that others rely upon the con-

cealment, suppression or omission of such material

fact, or the use or employment of any practice de-

scribed in Section 2 of the “Uniform Deceptive Trade

Practices Act” ... are hereby declared unlawful

5la

whether any person has in fact been misled, deceived

or damaged thereby. In construing this section con-

sideration shall be given to the interpretations of the

Federal Trade Commission and the federal courts

relating to Section 5(a) of the Federal Trade Com-

mission Act.

Ill.Rev.Stat. ch. 121-1/2, 9262; see Ill.Rev.Stat. ch.

121-1/2, J 270a (providing for a private damage action).

The Consumer Fraud Act incorporates Section 2 of the

Deceptive Trade Practices Act by reference, but it is

considerably broader. Like the Federal Trade Commission

Act, 15 U.S.C. § 41 et seg., the Consumer Fraud Act applies

to “unfair methods of competition.” Unfair methods of

competition include violations of the federal antitrust.

laws. See, e.g., E. I. DuPont de Nemours & Co. v. FTC, 729

F.2d 128, 1386-37 (2d Cir. 1984). However, Jays cannot

proceed on an antitrust theory because of Frito-Lay’s

earlier successful summary judgment motions. Except for

the possible violations of the Deceptive Trade Practices

Act, Jays must show that Frito-Lay’s shelf space practices

were unfair even though they did not violate the antitrust

laws. is ;

The Consumer Fraud Act is, by its terms, wide-

ranging. In interpreting it, consideration shall be given

to interpretations of the Federal Trade Commission Act,

but the decision as to what is “unfair” is left to juries and

the courts rather than to an administrative agency hav-

ing experience and expertise.' Perhaps for this reason the

‘Consumer Fraud Act claims are frequently tried before a

jury. See, e.g., Warren v. LeMay, 142 Ill.App.3d 550, 572-73, 96

Ill.Dec. 418, 4382, 491 N.E.2d 464, 478 (5th Dist. 1986); Tague v.

Molitor Motor Co., 139 Ill. App.3d 313, 93 Ill.Dec. 769, 487 N.E.2d

436 (5th Dist. 1985). However, the only court to face the issue

held that the Consumer Fraud Act does not provide for jury

trials. Richard/Allen/Winter Ltd. v. Waldorf, No. 2-86-0119

(2d Dist. June 10, 1987).

52a

Illinois courts have moved cautiously in fleshing out the

contours of the Act. See Evanston Motor Co. v. Mid-

Southern Toyota Dist., Inc., 486 F.Supp. 1370, 1374 n.4

(N.D. Ill. 1977); Frahm v. Urkovich, 113 Ill. App.3d 580, 586,

69 Ill.Dec. 572, 576, 447 N.E.2d 1007, 1011 (1st Dist. 1983)

(“we do not interpret the liberal construction require-

ments to mean that liability under the Act is completely

open-ended’’). No Illinois case appears to have extended

liability under the Consumer Fraud Act to the kind of

conduct at issue here. Although the Illinois courts have

often stated that unfair practices under the Consumer

Fraud Act must be defined on a case-by-case basis, ¢.g.,

Scott v. Ass'n for Childbirth at Home, Int'l, 88 Ill.2d 279,

290, 58 Ill.Dec. 761, 767, 480 N.E.2d 1012, 1018 (1982), this

court, as a federal court sitting in diversity jurisdiction,

must be particularly hesitant to push the frontiers of state

law. See, e.g., Anderson v. Marathon Petroleum Co., 801

F.2d 936, 942 (7th Cir. 1986); Zick v. Verson Allsteel Press

Co., 623 F.Supp. 927, 930 (N.D. Ill. 1985).

In this action Jays has failed to develop any evidence

showing that consumers are injured by Frito-Lay’s con-

duct. The Illinois courts have limited liability under the

Consumer Fraud Act to conduct that implicates consumer

protection concerns. See, e.g., Feldstein v. Guinan, 148

Ill.App.3d 610, 615, 101 Ill.Dec. 947, 951, 499 N.E.2d 535,

539 (1st Dist. 1986) (“the Act does not redress purely

private wrongs but is for practices which affect the public

generally”); Frahm, 113 Ill.App.3d at 586, 69 Ill.Dec. at

576, 447 N.E.2d at 1011 (“the Act is intended to reach

practices of the type which affect consumers generally and

is not available as an additional remedy to redress a purely

private wrong”); see also M & W Gear Co. v. AW

Dynamometer, Inc., 97 Ill.App.3d 904, 915, 53 Ill.Dec. 721,

731, 424 N.E.2d 356, 366 (4th Dist. 1981) (Webber, J.,

dissenting) (“the emphasis is on the consumer and the

53a

apparent purpose is an effort to equalize economic power

as between consumers and predators in the business

world’’).

Several federal courts in this district, including this

court, have followed that limitation. See, e.g., Horsell

Graphic Industries, Ltd. v. Valuation Counselors, Inc., 639

F.Supp. 1117, 1122 (N.D. Ill. 1986); Heritage Ins. Co. v.

First Natl Bank, 629 F.Supp. 1412, 1419 (N.D. Ill. 1986);

Newman-Green, Inc. v. Alfonzo-Larrain R., 590 F.Supp.

1083, 1086-88 (N.D. Ill. 1984). The Illinois Supreme Court

has not squarely faced the issue, but its decisions also

support limiting liability under the Consumer Fraud Act

to conduct that deceives or exploits consumers. See Scott v.

Ass’n for Childbirth at Home, Int1, 88 Ill.2d at 285, 58

Ill.Dec. at 764, 480 N.E.2d at 1015 (Consumer Fraud Act

applies to advertising and sale of educational and training

services because “purchasers of educational services may

be in as much need of protection against unfair or decep-

tive practices in their advertising and sale as are pur-

chasers of any other service’’); Steinberg v. Chicago Medical

School, 69 Ill.2d at 328, 13 Ill.Dec. at 703, 371 N.E.2d at 638

(rejected medical school applicants could not sue under the

Consumer Fraud Act because they were not consumers).

The limitation does not prevent businesses from suing

under the Consumer Fraud Act, but injury to consumers is

an essential element of such a claim. See, e.g., Newman-

Green, Inc., 590 F.Supp. at 1087-88.

The Illinois courts have not uniformly formulated this

consumer injury limitation and some courts have stated

that it does not apply. See, e.g., M& W Gear, 97 Ill. App.3d

at 913-14, 53 Ill.Dec. at 730, 424 N.E.2d at 365.2 However,

? Other Illinois cases have headed in the opposite direction,

stating that only consumers have standing to sue under the

Consumer Fraud Act. See, e.g., McCarter v. State Farm Mutual

Automobile Ins. Co., 130 Ill.App.3d 97, 101, 85 Ill.Dec. 416, 419,

473 N.E.2d 1a015, 1018 (3d Dist. 1985); Carter v. Mueller, 120

Ill. App.3d 314, 322, 75 Ill.Dec. 776, 783, 457 N.E.2d 1335, 1342

(1st Dist. 1983).

54a

those cases have either involved consumer plaintiffs or

conduct from which injury to consumers could be readily

inferred. In M & W Gear the plaintiff successfully sued a

competitor for false advertising. On appeal, the defend-

ant argued that the plaintiff had failed to plead or prove

any adverse effect on the public. The court rejected any

public injury requirement and affirmed judgment for the

plaintiff. However, as the court in Newman-Green ob-

served, the M & W Gear court could easily have held that

false advertising gives rise to a conclusive presumption of

public injury to consumers. 590 F.Supp. at 1087 (citing

Evanston Motor Co., 4386 F.Supp. at 1374 n.6). In Tague v.

Molitor Motor Co., 139 [ll.App.3d 313, 316, 93 Ill.Dec. 769,

770-71, 487 N.E.2d 436, 487-38 (5th Dist. 1985), the court

rejected a public injury requirement, but there the plain-

tiff was a consumer complaining of odometer tampering

and other misconduct in connection with the sale of a used

car. In Duncavage v. Allen, 147 Ill.App.3d 88, 102, 100

Ill. Dec. 455, 463, 497 N.E.2d 433, 441 (1st Dist. 1986), the

court concluded that a tenant was a consumer under the

Consumer Fraud Act, and relied on Taguwe in allowing a

suit on behalf of a deceased tenant against a landlord.

Similarly, the court in Haroco, Inc. v. American Nat

Bank & Trust Co., 647 F.Supp. 1026, 1034-35 (N.D. II.

1986), rejected any public injury requirement, but that

was a class action by commercial borrowers against a

bank. The plaintiffs were in the same position as con-

sumers with respect to their loans, and the alleged mis-

conduct involved deceptive practices addressed to a broad

segment of the bank’s market. See Exchange Nat! Bank v.

Farm Bureau Life Ins. Co., 108 Ill.App.3d 212, 216, 63

Ill.Dee. 884, 887, 488 N.E.2d 1247, 1250 (3d Dist. 1982)

(holding that plaintiff borrowers had no Consumer Fraud

Act claim “[i]n the absence of an allegation indicating

such [deviant business] practices to be part of a pattern of

55a

defendant’s lending activities...”). Thus Haroco, like

M & W Gear on which it relied, may rest on an unnecessar- -

ily broad ground.

This court concludes, as it did in Horsell, that some

consumer injury is an essential element of any claim

under the Consumer Fraud Act. Perhaps where the

plaintiff is a consumer, no further public injury need be

shown. But where a suit is between competitors, as it is

here, a plaintiff must show that the defendant’s mis-

conduct injured consumers generally. See Hangstefer v.

Insco, No. 86 C 1022 (N.D. Ill. May 14, 1987); Maduff v. Life

Ins. Co., 657 F.Supp. 437, 440 (N.D. Ill. 1987) (both noting

the apparent split in Illinois authority and concluding

that allegations of public injury or effect on consumers

generally are necessary to state a claim under the Con-

sumer Fraud Act).

Although the consumer injury requirement is an

independent element of any Consumer Fraud Act claim,

including claims based on the incorporated Deceptive

Trade Practices Act violations, it is similar in some re-

spects to the issue of unfairness. The consumer injury

requirement developed in part from concepts applied in

determining whether a trade practice is unfair under

section 5 of the Federal Trade Commission Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 45. See, e.g., Evanston Motor, 436 F.Supp. at 1874. A

practice that is neither a violation of the antitrust laws

nor deceptive may still be unfair under section 5 if it

offends some established public policy, if it is immoral,

unethical, oppressive or unscrupulous, or if it is substan-

tially injurious to consumers. Spiegel, Inc. v. FTC, 540 F.2d

287, 293 (7th Cir. 1978) (citing FTC v. Sperry Hutchinson

& Co., 405 U.S. 233, 244-45 & n.5 (1972) ); see Scott v. Ass'n

for Childbirth at Home, Int1, 88 Ill.2d at 290, 58 Ill.Dec. at

767, 480 N.E.2d at 1018 (citing Spiegel and Sperry

Hutchinson with approval in defining unfair practices

56a

under the Consumer Fraud Act). The Federal Trade

Commission has further refined the concept of unfairness

under the FTC Act, clarifying that its primary focus is

consumer injury; the public policy theory is used mainly to

cross-check and confirm a finding of consumer injury, and

the theory of immoral or unscrupulous conduct was aban-

doned altogether as an independent basis of liability. See,

e.g., International Harvester Co., 104 F.T.C. 949, 1060-61,

1070-76 (1984).

As the Evanston Motor court recognized, consumer

injury under the Consumer Fraud Act can take two forms.

Violations may affect consumers directly or indirectly by

affecting competition. The plaintiff here has not at-

tempted to set forth any evidence of a direct injury to

consumers. Frito-Lay’s alleged misconduct was directed

to retailers, not to consumers. Further, although plaintiff

contends that consumer’s purchasing decisions were af-

fected by changes in shelf space allocation, this court does

not believe that such an effect can be characterized as an

injury. See Newman-Green, 590 F.Supp. at 1088 n.7.

Rather, Jays’ case depends on showing that consumers

are injured because Frito-Lay’s conduct was anti-

competitive. The Federal Trade Commission has recog-

nized, at least implicitly, that efforts to influence retail

shelf space allocations are not in themselves anti-

competitive. In Kellogg Co., 99 F.T.C. 8 (1982), the

Commission filed a complaint against manufacturers of

ready-to-eat cereals. The complaint counsel! alleged in

part that the manufacturers had a tacit agreement

among themselves to avoid competition for shelf space in

retail stores, an unfair practice under section 5 of the

Federal Trade Commission Act, 15 U.S.C. § 45. 99 F.T.C.

at 141-50. The ALJ concluded that

the record does not support complaint counsel’s asser-

tion that respondents had a tacit agreement to avoid

57a

competition for shelf space in retail stores. Kellogg

independently formulated a shelf space allocation

plan that incorporated principles which were in ac-

cord with retailers’ preferred methods of doing busi-

ness. The other respondents, faced with the same

requirements of retailers, responded with plans that

| incorporated the same basic principles. While each

respondent competed for the most favorable shelf

space location and the most space it could get, it was

constrained not to push for more than a reasonable

share in order to maintain rapport and credibility

with retailers. Nevertheless, both General Mills and

| General Foods did present shelving alternatives in

variations in an effort to gain competitive advan-

tages.

99 F.T.C. 254.

Ultimately the complaint was dismissed. 99 F.T.C. at

269. In a separate statement Commissioner Clanton

briefly discussed the shelf space allocation issues:

It could be argued that an order restricting or

preventing respondents from making shelf space rec-

ommendations would held to inject more competitive

pressures into an important area of non-price com-

petition, without intruding unnecessarily into re-

spondent’s day-to-day business judgments. On the

other hand, this type of activity is undoubtedly nor-

mal commercial behavior that is engaged in by many

other food manufacturers, although it is not clear

whether the nature and pattern of recommendations

in the cereal industry are followed in other markets.

However, regardless of whether a workable re-

medy could be crafted on this subject, it is question-

able whether the issue is at all important from a

remedial standpoint.

99 F.T.C. at 277-78 (citing Schmalensee, Entry Deterrence

in the Ready-to-Eat Breakfast Cereal Industry, 9 Bell J.

Econ. 305, 307 n.4 (1978)).

58a

Competition for shelf space does not appear to be an

unusual phenomenon, and some of Frito-Lay’s exhibits

show that Jays used tactics similar to Frito-Lay’s in

trying to increase its own shelf space allocations. As

Kellogg Co. suggests, there is no reason to assume that

these efforts were anti-competitive. Jays contends that

Frito-Lay’s shelf space practices were anti-competitive

because Jays and other potato chip companies were ex-

cluded from 7-Eleven stores. All that supports this

contention, however, are certain internal memoranda

from Frito-Lay. One document describes Frito-Lay’s

response to 7-Eleven’s planned test-marketing of Frito-

Lay’s competitors’ products (exh. 13). Another document

is an enthusiastic letter to Frito-Lay salesmen, urging

them to “[k]ick out our competition” (exh. 34). However,

the letter does not mention 7-Eleven stores. A third

document describes Frito-Lay’s efforts to persuade 7-

Eleven to eliminate plaintiff’s products completely, leav-

ing Frito-Lay as 7-Eleven’s exclusive supplier (exh. 37).

The documents Jays relies on show that Frito-Lay isa

hard-nosed, arguably over-zealous competitor. They do

not, however, support the inference that Frito- Lay’s shelf

space practices were exclusionary. There is nothing in the

record, for example, indicating that 7-Eleven was con-

tractually bound to deal only with Frito-Lay, that Frito-

Lay was able to coerce 7- Eleven into some sort of exclusive

arrangement, or that Frito-Lay was otherwise able to

prevent 7-Eleven from dealing with Frito-Lay’s com-

petitors. Moreover, Leonard Japp, Jr., a vice-president of

Jays, testified on November 25, 1980 that the plaintiff was

then supplying 7-Eleven and that some fifteen of its

products were authorized in 7-Eleven stores. At the

deposition, Mr. Japp explained that Jays had just been

authorized to service 7-Eleven stores (Japp dep. at 410-

12). The documents plaintiff relies on are dated at least

several months before the deposition.

59a

Without evidence that Frito-Lay’s shelf space alloca-

tion practices were exclusionary, Jays’ reliance on FTC v.

Brown Shoe Co., 384 U.S. 316 (1966) is misplaced. There

the Supreme Court stated that the Federal Trade Com-

mission had the power to declare an exclusive franchise

program unfair without proof that its effect “may be to

substantially lessen competition or tend to create a mono-

poly.” 384 U.S. at 321. The Court held that the Commission

had the power under section 5 of the FTC Act to arrest

trade restraints in their incipiency, without proof that

they amount to an outright violation of the antitrust laws.

384 U.S. at 322. In a brief opinion it reversed the Eighth

Circuit Court of Appeals, which apparently reasoned that

Brown Shoe could not have violated the FTC Act if it did

not violate the antitrust laws.

Moreover, as the Fourth Circuit recognized in Chuck's

Feed & Seed Co. v. Ralston Purina Co., 810 F.2d 1289, 1292-

96 & n.3 (4th Cir. 1987), Brown Shoe does not hold that

exclusive dealing arrangements are inherently anti-

competitive. The plaintiff in Ralston Purina was a retail

feed store operator. Ralston Purina terminated the store

operator’s dealership after the operator began selling a

competitor’s product. The store operator sued under the

South Carolina Unfair Trade Practices Act, S.C. Code

Ann. § 39-5-20, which is similar in material respects to the

Illinois statute at issue here. The store operator contended

that Ralston Purina’s exclusive dealing policy was an

unfair trade practice. The Court of Appeals reversed a

jury vercict in favor of the store operator, holding that

the district court should have granted Ralston Purina’s

motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict. After

reviewing the standards concerning exclusive dealing

arrangements and other vertical restraints under the

federal antitrust laws, the Court determined that

60a

(the store operator] simply failed to offer the relevant

evidence concerning the extent to which Ralston

Purina may have used exclusive dealing arrange-

ments to “foreclose the market,” or, in other words, to

keep competing brands of feed out of a substantial

percentage of the feed dealerships in the area. In-

stead, almost all of [the store operators] evidence

related to his own individual experience with Ralston

Purina. That alone is not enough to show a negative

impact on competition in the market as a whole.

810 F.2d at 1295; see Tampa Electric Co. v. Nashville Coal

Co, 365 U.S. 320 (1961); Beltone Electronics Corp., 100

F.T.C. 68, 192-221 (1982); see also, Continental T.V., Inc. v.

GTE Sylvania, Inc., 483 U.S. 36 (1977) (rule of reason

applies to vertical competitive restraints).

Thus, as Ralston Purina illustrates, even if Frito-

Lay’s practices were exclusionary to some degree, they

were not necessarily anti-competitive. As the Court’s

earlier opinion suggests, plaintiff’s evidence on that issue

is too scanty to support the conclusion that they were.

Rather than developing evidence bearing on the fore-

closure of a significant amount of competition in some

relevant market, plaintiff has focused on its own declining

fortunes and asks this court to draw unwarranted infer-

ences.

Jays argues that direct evidence of anti-competitive

effects is unnecessary in light of their evidence of Frito-

Lay’s anti-competitive intentions and Frito-Lay’s failure

to act in a profit-maximizing /fashion. This court has

already observed that “[s]tanding by itself, Jays’ intent

evidence is wholly insufficient to establish Frito-Lay’s

predatory intent.” 614 F.Supp. at 1073. No anti-

competitive effects can be inferred from this evidence.

Similarly, Frito-Lay’s alleged failure to maximize profits

in arranging its shelf space displays cannot itself establish

a violation of the Consumer Fraud Act. See Perrin v.

6la

Pioneer Natl Title Ins. Co., 83 Ill.App.3d 664, 672-63, 39

Ill.Dee. 124, 131, 404 N.E.2d 508, 515 (1st Dist. 1980)

(giving bigger volume discounts than cost savings would

justify is not actionable under the Consumer Fraud Act);

cf. 614 F.Supp. at 1082, (citing MCI Comm. Corp. v.

American Tel. & Tel. Co., 708 F.2d 1081, 1114 (7th Cir.),

cert. denied, 464 U.S. 891 (1983) (rejecting a profit max-

imization test for predatory pricing).

Moreover, Jays’ contention that proof of anti-

competitive effects is unnecessary where there is evidence

of some anti-competitive purpose or lack of an in-

dependant business justification is based on a misreading

of the Du Pont case. In Du Pont, a parallel pricing case,

the Second Circuit rejected the FTC’s position that non-

collusive, non-predatory and independent conduct of a

non-artificial nature could be unfair under Section 5 of

the FTC act where it resulted in a substantial lessening of

competition. 729 F.2d at 137. In vacating the FTC’s order

the Second Circuit stated that evidence of an anti-

competitive purpose or lack of an independent business

justification might substitute for proof of a tacit agree-

ment, not that such evidence could substitute for proof of

anti-competitive effects. 729 F.2d at 139-40. Finally, as

courts have repeatedly observed, injury to a competitor is

not the same thing as injury to competition. See, e.g.,

Brown Shoe Co. v. United States, 370 U.S. 294, 320 (1962);

Ball Memorial Hosmtal v. Mutual Hospital Ins., Inc., 784

F.2d 1325, 1838 (7th Cir. 1986); Newman-Green, 590

F.Supp. at 1087 & n.6.

Without evidence that Frito-Lay’s shelf space activi-

ties were anti-competitive, Jays cannot establish the con-

sumer injury element of its claim under the Consumer

Fraud Act. For the same reason Jays cannot establish

that Frito-Lay’s non-deceptive shelf space practices were

62a

unfair. If Jays were seeking injunctive relief, perhaps

plaintiff nevertheless could proceed to trial under the

Illinois Deceptive Trade Practices Act, Ill. Rev. Stat. ch.

121-1/2, § 311 et seq., on its claim that Frito-Lay deceived

retailers by using incomplete data in its shelf allocation

“mini-analysis” or by sabotaging retailers’ own shelf-

space studies. However, it cannot recover damages under

the Deceptive Trade Practices Act. Under the cireum-

stances, Frito-Lay is entitled to summary judgment.

CONCLUSION

Frito-Lay’s motion for summary judgment is grant-

ed.

JAMES B. MORAN

JAMES B. MORAN

Judge, United States District Court

June 29, 1987.

63a

United States District Court

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

JAYS Foops, INC.

v. CASE NUMBER: 78 C 4352

FRITO- Lay, INC.

(JJury Verdict. This action came before the Court for a

trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the jury

has rendered its verdict.

& Decision by Court. This action came to trial or hearing

before the Court. The issues have been tried or heard

and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED That defendant’s

motion for summary judgment is granted. (See Memo-

randum and Order dated 6-29-87)

H. STUART CUMMINGHAM

Clerk

WILLIE A. HAYNES

Deputy Clerk

Date June 29, 1987

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.