Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Skirlick v. Fidelity & Deposit Co.

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

&8 a 39 }

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Hnited Statggen.

OCTOBER TERM, I988

ANTHONY SKIRLICK. ef ai..

Petitioners.

FIDELITY & DEPOSIT COMPANY OF MARYLAND, ef al.

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT and APPENDIX

GLENN H. CARLSON, Esquire

Carlson, Cafferty & Ferris, P.C.

Suite 411

1910 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 452-0004

Attorney of Record for

Petitioners

Of Counsel:

EDWIN VIEIRA, JR. Esquire

13877 Napa Drive

Independent Hill, Virginia 22111

(703) 791-6780

November 2, 1988

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

|. Does it frustrate the policy of the Labor-Manage-

ment Reporting and Disclosure Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 401 er

seg., tO grant sureties an absolute immunity under

LMRDA § 502(a) simply because the union officials

those sureties bonded have not concealed acts of inten-

tional and flagrant “fraud or dishonesty” that have

caused loss of union funds?

2. Does a consistent national labor policy require a

Federal standard for “acts of fraud or dishonesty” which

excludes the notoriousness of such acts as a defense to

liability under LMRDA §& 502(a) for union officials who

commit such acts or the sureties who have bonded them?

-ji-

CERTIFICATE OF COUNSEL REQUIRED BY RULE

21(b) OF THE GENERAL RULES OF THE

UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

The undersigned counsel of record for the petitioners

certifies that the following listed parties appeared upon

the pleadings below:

I.

Il.

As plaintiffs (petitioners) herein:

Anthony Skirlick, and

John Hough.

As individuals and as representatives of a class.

As defendants (respondents) herein:

Professional Air Traffic Controllers Organization

(PATCO);*

Robert E. Poli, as President of PATCO and individually:

Robert E. Meyer, as Executive Vice President of

PATCO and individually;

Michael Fermon, as a Regional Vice President ot

PATCO and individually;

Gary W. Eads, as a Regional Vice President, and

President of PATCO and individually;

Domenic V. Torchia, as a Regional Vice President,

and Executive Vice President of PATCO and

individually;

George W. Brandon, as a Regional Vice President

of Patco and individually;

David Siegel, as a Regional Vice President of

PATCO and individually;

* PATCO was dismissed from this action: service was

never obtained on Teresa E. Green and Cecilia Kessler.

Charles Campbell, as a Regional Vice President of

PATCO and individually;

William Lawrence Phillips, as a Regional Vice Pres-

ident of PATCO and individually:

David Trick, as Director of Labor Relations of

PATCO and individually;

Dennis Reardon, as Director of Labor Relations of

PATCO and individually:

David M. Duren, as Comptroller of PATCO and

individually:

Teresa E. Green, as a Bookkeeper of PATCO*:

Cecilia Kessler, as a Bookkeeper of PATCO*: and

Fidelity & Deposit Company of Maryland.

Ss

Glenn H. Carlson, Esquire

Attorney of Record for Petitioners

-iV-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented ........---..605seeeeeee nese sree: i

Certificate Regarding Parties to the Proceeding ..... il

Table of Contents .............c cece eee eee eee eeeeees iV

Table of Appendices .............-.02seeeseeeeeeesees Vil

Table of Authorities .......200ccccccccccscccccscccces Vill

ee oo os kad cncnosvandsacdsensascrersudeass |

Opinions Below ............202222eeceeeeeeeeeeer ness |

GertePiCtGO . noc vac ccccccccscccsscencececessacunesedes 2

Statutes and Regulations Involved ......--..---.++-- 2

Statement of the Case ........-2.-- 0 ee eee ee eeeeeeee 2

Reasons for Granting the Writ ........-...--0-.2+05- 1]

1. A requirement that actionable “fraud or dis-

honesty” under LMRDA § 502(a) must involve

concealment eviscerates the deterrent-effect of

that section in precisely the most egregious

cases of betrayal of trust by bonded union

GUNES... cc cncccncccdsctvucaveeesunenrennnusses 1]

———————

I].

III.

IV.

-\-

TABLE OF CONTENTS—continued

Page

That a majority of the membership of a union

may condone “acts of fraud or dishonesty” on

the part of union officials bonded under

LMRDA §& 502(a) does not absolve those offi-

cials, or the sureties who bonded them, from

habisty for (O0P GONG. oc isickdci alae ee

Whether the handling of union funds by

PATCO officers constitutes “acts of fraud or

dishonesty” which bring those acts within

LMRDA § 502(a) is a mixed question of fact

and law which must take into account the

“dut[ies]” of union officials and the “special

problems and functions of a labor organiza-

tion” under LMRDA § SOI (a). ................

Although claiming that LMRDA § 502(a)

adopts standards of state law for determining

what “acts” constitute “fraud or dishonesty.”

the Court of Appéals failed to apply the con-

cededly controlling law of Maryland or the

District of Columbia, under which the lack of

concealment of such acts is no defense. ........

Although explicitly denying that LMRDA

§ 502(a) embodies a Federal standard for

bonds relating to “acts of fraud or dishonesty,”

the Court of Appeals jury-rigged just such a

standard—albeit an erroneous and unworkable

one—from general “hornbook” authorities.

13

17

22

-Vi-

TABLE OF CONTENTS—continued

Page

VI. The aberrant decision of the Court of Appeals

demonstrates that the goal of the LMRDA to

require union officials to “adhere to the high-

est standards of responsibility and ethical con-

duct in administering the affairs of their

organizations” cannot be achieved on a nation-

al basis under LMRDA § 502(a) without

recognition of a uniform Federal policy for

construing “acts of fraud or dishonesty” under

local law that presumptively disallows noncon-

cealment of such acts as a defense for union

officials or the sureties who bond them. ....... 24

Comet oocccccccccenceceescusssennet ee 28

~vii-

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Page

Appendix A: Opinion of the U.S. Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia Circuit .............. la

Appendix B: Memorandum Opinion of the U.S.

District Court for the District of Columbia ....... lla

Appendix C: Plaintiffs’ Answers to Defendant

Fidelity & Deposit Company of Maryland’s First

ee Gy I Scacdsibinsencdacsoscscneues, 20a

Appendix D: Plaintiffs’ Supplemental Answers to

Defendant Fidelity & Deposit Company of Mary-

land's First Set of Interrogatories ................. 28a

Appendix E: Statutes and Regulations .............. 43a

-Vill-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Page

Air Transportation Association v. PATCO, 313 F.

Supp. IST (E.D.N.Y. 1970) ....ccccccccscscscesess 5

Air Transportation Association v. PATCO, 453 F.

Supp. 1287 (E.D.N.Y.), aff'd, 594 F.2d 851 (2d

27 | Cay ee ren yr tr re EPP rr rer 5

Air Transportation Association v. PATCO, 516 F.

Supp. 1108 (E.D.N.Y.), aff'd, 667 F.2d 316 (2d

ee IER cnn ides cantavudcduneckuavarchuvecsn ass 5

Blakenship v. Boyle, 329 F. Supp. 1089 (D.D.C.

1971), aff'd. 167 U.S. App. D.C. 209, 511 F.2d

UP RUPEE a iussuhanedcccrdasesccteccersasapacacates 18

Colby v. Riggs National Bank, 67 U.S. App. D.C.

yo eg, Be we Bh.) rere ere rrr ye yy 17

First National Bank v. United States Fidelity and

Guaranty Co., 275 Md 400, 340 A.2d 275

PUP cc cceseckcccassesrasduneenevavenpeeatenid 19, 20

Graham v. PATCO, 524 F. Supp. 160 (D.D.C.

RE EA Age MON Paap a ete ROA E ON re MER 6

Henson v. United States, 321 F. Supp. 122 (E.D.

EM SR csc cady sacar baekeunecneekeneenraeaceteewant 5

Herriges v. United States, 314 F. Supp. 1352

Ce SEU on cacracuvescerarestruskedauner nes 5

-ix-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

Highway Truck Drivers and Helpers, Local 107 v.

Cohen, 182 F. Supp. 608 (E.D. Pa. 1960), aff'd,

284 F.2d 162 (3d Cir. 1961), cert. denied, 365

ey EOP CCE Pn ener Sa rrae

Highway Truck Drivers and Heipers, Local 107 v.

Cohen, 215 F. Supp. 938 (E.D. Pa. 1963), aff'd,

334 F.2d 378 (3d Cir. 1964), cert. denied, 379

Shas Ie I ic op us no oes baaennchnaieeanderees

Home Indemnity Company v. Reynolds & Co., 38

Ill. App. 2d 358, 187 N.E.2d 274 (1962) .........

Imperial Insurance, Inc. v. Employers’ Liability

Assurance Co., 442 F.2d 1197 (D.C. Cir.

og , EP e PEP ETE eT ETE Tere PPP Ee CET ee

POE haha hed var Ceekaa crak taaek yee sadae erie ses

London & Lancashire Indemnity Co. v. Peoples

National Bank & Trust Co., 59 F.2d 149 (7th

Se ED REMent ry She aia aha) SN ree Alp Our oes

Miller v. Bond, 641 F.2d 997 (D.C. Cir. 1981)

National Savings & Trust Co. v. Rosendorf, 559

Fe ee Cea ls TED cis cncnduc vie dcuckiness

Ogden v. Department of Transportation, 430 F.2d

II PE hoe Kivccaeiascauuevacosnerar:

PATCO vy. Department of Transportation, 529 F.

oe, ee

Page

13

13

14

16, 20

22

15

-X-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES continued

Page

PATCO vy. Federal Labor Relations Authority,

GES Fae S67 CHAK... Git: FO hos cadeseacdatoees 5.6. 7

R.A. Weaver & Assoc., Inc. v. Haas & Haynie

Corp.. 663 F.2d 168 (D.C. Cir. 1980) ........... 19

Rock Island Bank v. Aetna Casualty and Surety

Co., 766 F.26 219 (7th Cir. 96S) nc rccccsscsces 16

Sade v. National Surety Corp.. 203 F. Supp. 680

(D.D.C. 1962), aff'd, 314 F.2d 286 (1963) ....... 16. 20

Skirlick v. Fidelity & Deposit Co., 852 F.2d 1376

[ec Gate RUE xs sonessaskacsnsensbouenewieers |

Skirlick v. PATCO. 659 F. Supp. 104 (D.D.C.

PURE D i sssssaseuxsetasehsaveedécssereanvensaeweans |

Smith vy. Whitehead, 436 A.2d 339 (D.C. 1982) ... 18-19

Union Bank & Trust Co. vy. Girard Trust Co., 307

yX 8 i’ errr Pry errr rrereer 17-18

United States v. Haggerty. 528 F. Supp. 1286 (D.

CR SnD a ok Soe bdasadas shen ubesapesseansaaces 15, 22

United States v. PATCO, 312 F. Supp. 189 (D.

PO SUPE. dn scsuckentesuukarenedewkaeeedaseeas 5

United States v. PATCO, 653 F.2d 1134 (7th Cir.

PED acecevancindadinpccdwebacescands barvaneeharns 5

United States v. PATCO, 524 F. Supp. 160

GRR WEED 6 cdaxecacses cies cdkeukadsssckionses 6

oXi-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

Page

United States v. PATCO, 107 L.R.R.M. 3210

MEE Tl ecsesdecasncasnaceiesvinedeakssss 6

United States v. Phillips, 527 F. Supp. 1361 (N.D.

ee SEEN pen UlG tn Zi cnwerccnsnapedenns¥e<ns 6

United States v. Restor, 529 F. Supp. 579 (W.D.

Wee, SUE ds vanbdascnusbateens ens ae senknsaueean. 6

Federal Statutes and Rule :

9 USC.

EGU cicncdyacpsshnsncs boaGd ba aeanneehen isan 4

PE hae aad can dad sannesaneuned danas oaduemsemen 4

3... tj Peer rerrepeerrrr rear 13, 16, 19

I he inks s 6 seek rad cenhaited tes tnsaaerd 4,19

Tits ile cashen seicameraranieades eihent eens 4

9 | OP ry ne eee ee AOE SRP PPO PET yrs 4

18 U.S.C. .

MEE (nscaddsnveebuerksindneaniacecatsraeneenweede 21, 22

Di, Nencseudedicusdnad) <aaunwsaveabaeaeieeneaters 4

28 U.S.C

RMN sshd acndocuseers EME KAATRL EN banded ae dedadtie 2

MEE ts Sec eesadstelns ued cares Clananeteeeibencaae eeel 2

| BORER REP ee ne ew terete Spe Pep Ley pate appr 2

29 U.S.C.

en OM Sun a eed or ens dela wuauaawuee neve sn aia as 2

sus Cova cavaeeri uated aeons 13, 25

DEE Ta Lau k bad cccevenkareseserinan ek ianenanes passim

-Xll-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

Page

Labor-Management Relations Act of 1947, ch.

eee SG ES rere ee tras, 4

Rule 20.2, Rules of the Supreme Court of the

SE CREE i. aoN is cactr ei ucscrskeeeli re 2

Federal Rules of Evidence

NS EE Scan ai chvedcean kn rae nese tee eee 21

District of Columbia Code

Roe | 8) errr errr pr rr res oi pkor sat 21

OME EMIND 5c ccc xs ca kkadau sea akeoearcrte oa 22

DL SID © on cicdn aguas ees xk adie eeeeel 22

i aeee ee Oe | i ics sess dsccduwes seuss 17

REEL abcckces ei kaa ca<onek asekeaa eee 22

IPI 5s Sen ch acah shee cece cunaee ieee 20

PEW sob nan hv'b ud cas pues bo nee ee 19

Regulations

27 FR.

RF” Pe eeereT eee rrr eer Toe Fo ee tee! 2

7 8 8» Serr an ern rT er Or Rb h cc ti. 21

Executive Orders

No. 10,988, § 2, 27 Fed. Reg. 551 (1962) .............. 4

No. 11,491, § 19 (b)(4), 34 Fed. Reg. 17,605 (1969) .... 4

Miscellaneous Authorities

oo Peak, FOR.2E 2S CIOS?) © kkk ce vicstecccanteneeee 1]

-xiii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES— continued

Page

Appleman, /nsurance Law and Practice, § 5670

ened aa sbsdccnsccccsscccccccccces 11

Couch on Insurance § 46:54 (2d ed. 1982) ......... 1]

Conference Report, Joint Explanatory Statement

of the Committee of Conference, 93d Cong..,

2d Sess., reprinted in 28 U.S.C.S., FEDERAL

PUM MMORPG, AAD ic sccccccccscsccccccecs 21

Legislative History of the Labor-Management

Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959 .......... 12

S. REP. NO. 698, 89th Cong., Ist Sess., reprinted

in 1965 U.S. CODE CONG. & ADMIN. NEWS

ada cchebnccccccccscccsccccces 3

“sig

tensa a:

ae

le

=

No. 88-____

P IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

ANTHONY SKIRLICK., ef ai..

Petitioners,

FIDELITY & DEPOSIT COMPANY OF MARYLAND, et al.

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

INTRODUCTION

Anthony J. Skirlick, ef a/., individually and as repre-

sentatives of a class, hereby petition this Court for a writ

of certiorari to the Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals, entered on

August 5, 1988, is reported at 852 F.2d 1376 (D.C. Cir.

ies

1988), and appears in the Appendix hereto (Aj) at la.

The opinion of the District Court for the District of

Columbia, which the Court of Appeals affirmed, is

reported at 659 F. Supp. 104 (D.D.C. 1987), and appears

in A at lla.

JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction over this petition obtains under Rule 20.2

of the Rules of this Court. Jurisdiction of the District

Court was predicated upon 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1337

and in the Circuit Court, 28 U.S.C. § 1352 was added to

the jurisdictional bases at oral argument.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

Petitioners’ claims arise under the Labor-Manage-

ment Reporting and Disclosure Act (LMRDA), 29

U.S.C. §§ 401 ef seg., as the provisions thereof are

made applicable to Federal employees by the regulations

found at 29 C.F.R. §§ 207.1 et seg. (1981). The relevant

texts of these appear in A at 43a ef seqg., and 46a ef seq.,

respectively.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arises from an illegal strike against the Fed-

eral Aviation Administration (FAA) instituted by the

leadership of the Professional Air Traffic Controllers

Organization (PATCO) and a majority of its members,

not including petitioners and the class of non-striking air

traffic controllers they represent. Respondent Fidelity

and Deposit Company of Maryland (F&D) is the

underwriter of certain fidelity bonds issued to PATCO

pursuant to LMRDA § 502(a) to insure PATCO against

-3-

losses caused by its officers’ “acts of fraud or dishonesty.”

Petitioners contend that in the course of knowingly insti-

gating and perpetrating a strike illegal under Federal law,

PATCO’s officers committed “acts of fraud or dishonesty”

against non-striking members of PATCO. and that that

intentional breach of fiduciary duty triggered the liability

of F&D to petitioners on the bond. The District Court and

Court of Appeals, however, held that the acts of which

complaint was made in respect to fomenting and conduct-

ing the illegal strike did not constitute “acts of fraud or

dishonesty”-under LMRDA § 502(a). Petitioners seek re-

versal of this erroneous construction of that section.

I. The Fidelity Bond. On its face, the surety bonds

F&D wrote for PATCO are “fraud or dishonesty” bonds

within LMRDA § 502(a):

The Underwriter * * * agrees to indemnify the

Insured * * * against any loss of funds or other

property * * * through any fraudulent or dishonest

acts committed by any Employees, acting alone or

in collusion with others * * *.!

Bonds containing this language were in force when

PATCO’s renegade officers and members launched their

illegal strike on August 3, 1981.

- Quoted in A at 4a. The Court of Appeals suggested that petitioners

are attempting to construe the bond as covering “faithful performance”

of duties by PATCO officers rather than insuring against “acts of fraud

or dishonesty.” See id. at 10a. This suggestion assumes, wrongly, that

the two standards are different for the purposes of this case. In fact.

when Congress amended LMRDA § 502 in 1965, replacing the original

“faithful discharge” language with the new term “fraud or dishonesty,”

then Secretary of Labor Wirtz made clear that “there is no difference

between the two standards.” S.REP. NO, 698. 89th Cong.. Ist Sess..

Supplemental Views. reprinted in 1965 U.S. CODE CONG. & ADMIN

NEWS 3248. 3254.

7

*

Il. The Illegal Strike And Its Consequences. Since at

least 1947, strikes by Federal employees have been com-

prehensively banned.? The current law prohibits any per-

son who “participates in a strike * * * against the Gov-

ernment of the United States” from accepting or holding

Federal employment.* Newly hired Federal employees

must execute an affidavit attesting that they will not

strike against the government.* Since 1962, when formal

collective bargaining began between the government and

Federal emplovee unions, the latter have been required

to disavow strikes.5 Since 1969, striking has been an

unfair labor practice.® In 1978, Congress further empow-

ered the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA) to

“revoke the exclusive recognition status” of a Federal

employee union that calls, participates in, or condones a

strike, work stoppage, or slow-down against a Federal

agency.’ At the time PATCO’s outlaw officials and

members called their 1981 strike, the illegality of that

action and the serious consequences it entailed both for

PATCO and individual strikers were clear. In fact, they

were foreseeable at least as early as June of that year

when a slow-down was illegally conducted after negotia-

tions On a new contract reached an impasse.

Labor-Management Relations Act of 1947, Act of 23 June 1947. ch.

120. § 305. 61 Stat. 136, 160. In 1955. Congress repiaced § 305 with the

predecessors to the current law. Act of 9 August 1955, ch. 690. 69 Stat.

624. now § U.S.C. §§ 118p-118r.

5 U.S.C. § 7311. Violation of this section is a criminal offense. 18

U.S.C. § 1918(3).

* § U.S.C. § 3333(a).

' Exec. Order No. 10,988, § 2. 27 Fed. Reg. 551. 552 (1962).

" Exec. Order No. 11.491, § 19(b)(4). 34 Fed. Reg. 17.605, 17.613

(1969). See § U.S.C. § 7301 note.

§ U.S.C. § 7120(f).

..

Notwithstanding the explicit and consistent Congres-

sional and Executive policy against Federal employee

strikes, PATCO has been “a repeat offender that has

willfully ignored statutory proscriptions and judicial

injunctions. It has shown little or no likelihood of abiding

by the legal requirements of labor-management relations

in the Federal sector.”* In 1970, PATCO instigated a so-

called “sick out” that resulted in “[e]xtensive disruptions

of air service.”? In 1978, PATCO threatened a nation-

wide air-traffic “slow-down,” and was held in contempt

for its actions.'® In 1980, PATCO members engaged in a

“slow-down”™ in Chicago.'! Moreover, all of these actions

after 1970 occurred while PATCO was subject to an

injunction resulting from its 1970 “sick out,”!? an injunc-

tion that PATCO unsuccessfully petitioned to vacate in

June of 1981, immediately before its latest strike.'3

That strike began on August 3, 1981, after PATCO

and the FAA failed to reach a mutually satisfactory

accord on a new collective-bargaining agreement for the

air-traffic controllers PATCO represented. The govern-

’ PATCO vy. Federal Labor Relations Authority, 685 F.2d 547, 586

(D.C. Cir. 1982).

’ Miller v. Bond, 641 F.2d 997, 999 (D.C. Cir. 1981). See, e.g.. Ogden

\v. Department of Transportation, 430 F.2d 660 (6th Cir. 1970); Henson

v. United States, 32! F. Supp. 122 (E.D. La. 1970): Herriges v. United

States. 314 F. Supp. 1352 (D. Mont. 1970); United States v. PATCOQO,

312 F. Supp. 189 (D. Minn. 1970); Air Transp. Ass'n v. PATCO, 313 F.

Supp. 181 (E.D.N.Y. 1970).

Air Transp. Ass'n v. PATCO, 453 F. Supp. 1287 (E.D.N.Y.), aff'd

mem., 594 F.2d 851 (2d Cir. 1978).

United States v. PATCO, 653 F.2d 1134, 1136 (7th Cir. 1981).

See Air Transp. Ass’n v. PATCO, supra.

Air Transp. Ass'n v. PATCO, 516 F. Supp. 1108 (E.D.N.Y.). aff'd.

667 F.2d 316 (2d Cir. 1981).

-6-

ment quickly obtained restraining orders against the

strike.'* followed by citations for civil and criminal con-

tempt when the orders went unheeded.'* In addition,

some 11,000 striking controllers who did not return to

work were fired.'®

The FAA immediately filed unfair labor practice

charges with the FLRA. PATCO offered no testimony

or other evidence to support a specific defense to the

charges, to show that “it had in any way attempted to

comply with the statutory ban on strikes” or that “it

even attempted to end the strike.” or to demonstrate

“mitigating circumstances.”'’ On this record, the FLRA

revoked PATCO’s status as exclusive representative for

Federal air-traffic controllers.

Affirming the FLRA’s decision, the Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia Circuit described the strike

as “arguably the most serious unfair labor practice in the

Federal sector since the enactment of the 1978 Civil Ser-

vice Reform Act,” and characterized

PATCO’s actions before and after August 3, 1981,

* * * as defiant. The union threatened its strike.

then wilfully and intentionally called and participated

in it. After the strike commenced, PATCO made no

FE.g.. United States v. PATCO, 524 F. Supp. 160 (D.D.C_ 1981)

Graham v. PATCO, $24 F. Supp. 160 (D.D.C. 1981)

E.g.. United States v. PATCO, 107 L.R.R.M. 3210 (D.D.C. 1981).

United States v. Phillips, 527 F. Supp. 1361 (N.D. Ill. E.D. 1981); Unit-

ed States v. Restor, 529 F. Supp. 579 (W.D. Pa. 1982)

See PATCO v. Department of Transportation, 529 F. Supp. 614 (D

Minn. 1982)

PATCO vy. Federal Labor Relations Authority. 685 F.2d 547, §53-54.

$7. §5K7 (D.C. Cir. 1982)

A, 3

attempt to end it: indeed. PATCO condoned and

encouraged it. * * * If the extreme remedy [of revo-

cation of exclusive-representational status] cannot

properly be applied in this case. we doubt that it

could ever properly be invoked.'*

Concurring, Judge MacKinnon denounced “the irre-

sponsibility of [PATCO]” for not having some kind of

“substantiation * * * immediately available, to defend

such a monstrous attempt to paralyze the entire nation’s

principal means of transporting its citizens and its mail.”

For the strike, Judge MacKinnon explained,

was really against the United States, and the prin-

cipal victims were the citizens of the United States.

Such was clearly the intention of [PATCO]. The

scheme of the strike was that the convenience of

the nation’s 265 million citizens would be held hos-

tage to [PATCO’s] demands. * * * PATCO

obviously velieved that its strike would effectively

bring the nation to its knees and force the govern-

ment to give in to its demands. It was a flagrant

attempt to misuse the exclusive control over the

nation’s airways that government has established to

serve its citizens.'®

This “flagrant attempt to misuse * * * exclusive con-

trol over the nation’s airways” not only cost PATCO its

Status as exclusive representative of Federal air-traffic

controllers, but also bankrupted the organization, caus-

ing the loss of millions of dollars to those members who

did not strike.?°

Id. at S88. S86

Id. at 622 (separate opinion)

ld

EE

-8-

Ill. Petitioners’ Allegations of “Acts of Fraud or Dis-

honesty.” On behalf of themselves and a class of sim-

ilarly situated air-traffic controllers who did not partici-

pate in the 1981 strike, petitioners filed suit, alleging

breach by PATCO officers of their fiduciary duties under

the LMRDA. and the consequent liability of F&D under

the § 502(a) surety bonds.

Specifying their charges in response to an interroga-

tory from F&D, petitioners included in alleged “acts of

fraud and dishonesty” that:

PATCO, through [certain individuals named in the

complaint], acting individually and as the board of

directors of PATCO, its agents, officers, and employ-

ees, planned and executed an illegal strike against the

United States. PATCO used its funds to organize the

strike, to solicit the membership to participate in * * *

and to execute the strike. * * * [T]he PATCO leader-

ship made certain private representations to the mem-

bership about the consequences (or lack of conse-

quences) of such a strike, knowing those representa-

tions to be false at the time they were made. Further

union funds were utilized to pay lawyers to defend

numerous strikers * * * against criminal charges aris-

ing from the strike. The total sums of monies spent on

those efforts is * * * believed to be in the millions of

dollars. Such actions contravened the laws of the

United States and were against the terms and policies

set forth in the PATCO constitution.

In addition, PATCO through its board, officers,

agents, and employees, improperly spent union

funds to obtain political assurances that a strike

would not precipitate loss of jobs.

PATCO improperly established a subsistence fund

which ultimately became a “strike fund.” The pavy-

-9-

ments to this fund were assessed against the union

membership. The fund was utilized in contravention

of the laws of the United States, which fund

(approximately $4.5 million) was lost to the union,

as in substantial part it was awarded to the Air

Transport Association (“ATA”) in payment of dam-

ages owed by PATCO to ATA for the strike.?!

Moreover, petitioners charged, certain officers of

PATCO

[d]id alter and modify, in violation of law and the

PATCO constitution, the list of individuals whose

votes would be counted in the “strike vote” which

was taken on August 2, and August 3, 1981. On

June 24, 1981, what [petitioners] viewed to be a

“strike vote” was taken; in that vote an eighty (80%)

percent affirmative vote was required to ratify a

“strike,” and said percentage was not obtained on

that date. In order to obtain the eighty (80%) per-

cent figure in the August 2-3 vote, the officers and

directors of PATCO * * * intentionally failed to

count, and did knowingly reject from the tally, the

votes of those PATCO members who were, inier

alia, (i) near retirement, (11) were in training, (111)

were on sick leave, or (iv) were disabled. And that,

said acts were dishonest and fraudulent.

Further, following the strike of August 3, 1981,

[officers of PATCO] instituted or caused to be insti-

tuted litigations against certain of PATCO’s mem-

bers to force them to pay PATCO dues and fees,

and that such claims were, under the circumstances,

* * * fraudulently and dishonestly made.??

A at 40a-4la.

A at 37a-4la.

-10-

Notwithstanding these allegations, the District Court

granted summary judgment for F&D, on the ground that

a fidelity bond insuring against “acts of fraud or dishon-

esty” does not cover what PATCO’s officials did in this

case.*5

IV. The Court of Appeals’ Opinion. The Court of

Appeals affirmed the District Court’s entry of summary

judgment. In determining the meaning of the term “acts

of fraud or dishonesty” under LMRDA § 502(a), the

Court of Appeals first adopted the working-principle

that “‘[t]here is no Federal legislative standard for bonds

“executed under any law of the United States” so we

look to state law bond provisions and construction for

guidance.’”?* But then, having concluded that the “sim-

ilar standards of interpretation and construction of insur-

ance contracts” of the District of Columbia or of Mary-

land applied to the F&D bond,** and having acknowledged

the Department of Labor’s regulation that: .

fa]s usually applied under state laws, the term

“fraud or dishonesty” encompasses such matters as

iarceny, thefi, embezzlement. forgery, misappropria-

tion, wrongful abstraction, wrongful conversion,

willful misapplication or any other fraudulent or

dishonest acts resulting in financial loss[,]?*

the court eschewed reliance on the law of the District of

Columbia or Maryland, and instead created its own,

A at 15a-19a. This was one of several grounds on which the District

Court ruled in favor of F&D, but the sole one reached by the Court of

Appeals’ affirmance. A at 2a-3a & n.2.

* A at 3a

ld

’ A at 9a. $$a

ott.

eclectic Federal common-law standard out of whole cloth

from such diverse secondary authorities as Couch on

Insurance, AMERICAN JURISPRUDENCE 2D, and Apple-

man’s Jnsurance Law and Practice,?’ with no reference to

Maryland or District statute or case law.

Under this new standard, opined the Court of Appeals:

the words “fraud” and “dishonesty” in the context

of a fidelity bond * * * refe[r] to acts which “show a

breach of trust or of financial integrity, coupled

with deceit and concealment exercised in a position

of trust and confidence and causing financial loss.”

The actions of PATCO officials in appropriating

funds for the 1981 strike, which was supported by

most of the union membership, do not reflect a cor-

rupt intent to deceive or defraud the membership;

nor do they reveal a breach of financial integrity, as

would be the case if larceny, theft, or embezzlement

of PATCO funds was involved. Therefore, the bond

does not protect PATCO against the kind of con-

duct of which [petitioners] complain.

Petitioners now seek this Court’s disapproval of the

essentially absolute immunity the Court of Appeals has

thus given to sureties under LMRDA § 502(a) where

bonded union officials open/y engage in “acts of fraud or

dishonesty” that result in serious financial losses to hon-

est union members.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. A requirement that actionable “fraud or dishonesty”

under LMRDA § 502(a) must involve concealment

eviscerates the deterrent-effect of that section in pre-

A at 6a. 9a-10a.

* A at 6a.

$4.

cisely the most egregious cases of betrayal of trust

by bonded union officers.

The import of the Circuit Court’s opinion upon the

enforcement of LMRDA § 502(a) is sweeping and

serious: The decision wholly removes from the ambit of

bond coverage under that section all open and notorious

“acts of fraud and dishonesty” by labor leaders for both

Federal-employee and private-sector unions. Thus, all

law-abiding union members are deprived of any right to

reimbursement under their unions’ LMRDA bonds for

the most egregiously wrongful misapplications of union

funds. Such a construction of LMRDA § 502(a) flies in

the face of the Congressional statutory intent to protect

individual union members from bonded union Officials’

spending union monies for non-union—indeed, notor-

iously illegal—purposes.2? The decision thus vitiates

LMRDA §& 502(a) by immunizing and thereby encourag-

ing, if not rewarding, open and notorious misappropria-

tions of union funds.

II. That a majority of the membership of a union may

condone “acts of fraud or dishonesty” on the part

of union officials bonded under LMRDA § 502(a)

does not absolve those officials, or the sureties who

bonded them, from liability for those acts.

The District Court erroneously attached significance to

the acquiescence by the “vast majority of the [PATCO]

union membership” in the illegal strike.3° By grounding

its decision in the open nature of the alleged violative

* LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF THE LABOR-MANAGEMENT REPORTING

AND DISCLOSURE ACT OF 1959, United States Government Printing

Office, (Washington. 1959) (Legislative History), pp. 398, 408-12: and

see, pp. 260 ef seq.

* A at 19a.

itt.

acts, so too, did the Circuit Court. +! But even a vote,

unless it were unanimous and untainted by fraud, which

it was not here, could not validly authorize the expendi-

ture of union funds for illegal purposes. Here, the

PATCO strike vote was itself illegal. 5 U.S.C. §

7116(b)(7). Thus, the “openness” and condonation of the

strike are of no consequence.

These propositions receive support from the two

related Cohen cases.*? There it was held, inter alia, that

payment of attorneys’ fees could not be authorized by a

less-than-unanimous vote of the union membership,

where the fees were for the criminal defense of union

leaders.33 Many other cases in accord could be cited; but

the principle should be self-evident: It is beyond the

power of a mere majority of union members to authorize

ultra vires expenditures by their union or its officers.

Ili. Whether the handling of union funds by PATCO

officers constitutes “acts of fraud or dishonesty”

which bring those acts within LMRDA § 502(a) is

a mixed question of fact and law which must take

into account the “dut[ies]” of union officials and

the “special problems and functions of a labor

organization” under LMRDA § 501(a). .

Not only have courts consistently held that the terms

“fraud” and “dishonesty” must be given a broad interpre-

"A at 6a & n.5.

* Highway Truck Drivers and Helpers, Local 107 v. Cohen, 182 F.

Supp. 608 (E.D. Pa. 1960), affd, 284 F.2d 162 (3d Cir. 1961), cert.

denied, 365 U.S. 833 (1961) (“Cohen I), Highway Truck Drivers and

Helpers, Local 107 v. Cohen, 215 F. Supp. 938 (E.D. Pa. 1963), 334

F.2d 378 (3d Cir. 1964), cert. denied, 379 U.S. 921 (1964) (“Cohen IT’).

* Cohen | at 620

-14-

tation in the context of fidelity bonds, they have held

that whether specific acts alleged constitute fraud or dis-

honesty is a question for the jury.34 As the court in

Home Indemnity Company v. Reynolds & Co. stated:

* * * If reasonable men can differ whether the acts

were dishonest, within the wide scope of that word,

the question is one fact for the jury. London &

Lancashire Indemnity Co. of America v. Peoples

Nat. Bank & Trust Co., 59 F.2d 149 (C.A. 7): Irvin

Jacobs & Co. v. Fidelity Deposit Co. of Marvland,

202 F.2d 794 (C.A. 7); Mortgage Corp. of N.J. v.

Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., 19 N.J. 30, 115 A.2d

43. The evidence favorable to Reynolds [defendant-

appellee] brings this case within the authority of

these decisions. As an employer Reynolds had the

right to expect that its employees would perform

their work with honesty and fidelity. It paid insur-

ance premiums to protect itself against loss caused

by the lack of these qualities. The acts of the sales-

men were detrimental to the firm, disregarded its

best interests and subjected it to heavy losses. Since

the acts complained of could be held to be both

criminal and dishonest, the court on this phase of

the case, properly refused to direct a verdict.**

Similarly, here, the non-striking PATCO membership

had the right to expect that its officers would perform

their jobs with honesty and fidelity, particularly in light

of LMRDA. It paid insurance premiums to protect itself

against losses resulting from a lack of these qualities.

The acts of the officers were detrimental to the union

(particularly to the non-striking members), demonstrated

“ See below, pp. 21-22.

“ 38 Ill. App. 2d 358, 187 N.E.2d 274, 282 (1962).

th.

a disregard for the best interests of the union, and sub-

jected it to heavy, irreparable losses. Additionally, the

acts complained of supported the charge of criminal

contempt.**

Moreover, as the court in London & Lancashire

Indemnity Co. v. Peoples National Bank & Trust Co.

pointed out, a dishonest act under a fidelity bond need

not involve criminal liability. Rather,

{ijf it [the bonded individual’s conduct] indicates a

reckless, willful and wanton disregard for the inter-

est of the employer—if it be an act manifestly unfair

to the employer and palpably subjects him to likeli-

hood of loss, a fact question of liability for loss

thereby ensuing, as from a dishonest act, is fairly

raised.

With this positive knowledge on Maple’s [the

bonded individual’s] part that Bolinger and his bank

were wholly unworthy of credit for any amount

whatsoever, in our judgment the evidence fairly

raised a jury question as to whether Maple had

acted honestly toward his bank in _ consenting,

directly or indirectly, to this further credit to Bolin-

ger or his bank.?’

The positive knowledge on the part of the PATCO offi-

cers that it was against the law and violative of their

sworn Oaths to strike against the United States govern-

ment, and their knowledge of the inevitable consequences

arising therefrom (i.e., criminal penalties, decertification,

bankruptcy) fairly raises a factual question as to whether

" See. e.g.. United States v. Haggerty. 528 F. Supp. 1286 (D. Colo.

1981).

’ §9 F.2d at 152.

-16-

these officers acted “dishonestly” with respect to the

union. Again, it is the characterization of the bonded

union leaders’ conduct that raises a question of fact.**

Thus, this matter was not ripe for summary judgment: A

factual issue for trial exists.

This conclusion receives further support from cases in

the District of Columbia which have held that the phrase

“fraud or dishonesty” as contained within fidelity bonds

contemplates a compelling sense of conscious wrong, and

not merely a negligent act or omission, on the part of the

bonded individual.3? Each PATCO member, upon com-

mencement of his employment by the FAA, executed a

sworn affidavit, stating that he is not participating in, nor

will he in the future participate in a strike against the

United States. Moreover, each member was charged with

the knowledge that 5 U.S.C. § 7116(b)(7) made and makes

it illegal, in fact criminal, for employees of the Federal

government to strike. In addition, the PATCO strikers

were given a seventy-two (72) hour grace period within

which to rectify their illegal activity.4° Thus, there can be

no serious contention that the strikers, including the

bonded individuals, lacked the requisite conscious aware-

ness of the wrong in which they were participating.

Neither can there be any serious contention that the

bonded officials lacked such awareness in authorizing the

expenditures of monies in contemplation of and in con-

nection with this illegal activity. That they acted fraudu-

“ See Rock Island Bank v. Aetna Casualty and Surety Co., 706 F.2d 219

(7th Cir. 1983).

* Imperial Insurance, Inc. v. Employers* Liability Assurance Corp., 143

U.S. App. D.C. 173, 442 F.2d 1197 (1970); Sade v. National Surety

Corp.. 203 F. Supp. 680 (D.D.C. 1962). affd, 314 F.2d 286 (1963)

* A at Ilan.l.

rs

lently and dishonestly as that phrase is used in LMRDA

§ 502(a) and in the bonds issued thereunder, if not

apparent on the face of their behavior, at least requires a

factual determination. Summary judgment here was

inappropriate.

IV. Although claiming that LMRDA § 502(a) adopts

standards of state law for determining what “acts”

constitute “fraud or dishonesty,” the Court of

Appeals failed to apply the concededly controlling

law of Maryland or the District of Columbia,

under which the lack of concealment of such acts is

no defense.

Not only did the Circuit Court fail to address the need

for a factual determination under District of Columbia

law, it neglected District of Columbia law on what types

of acts fall within the scope of the words “fraud” and

“dishonesty.” Yet, supposedly, state law is to govern.

The regulations issued by the United States Depart-

ment of Labor (DOL) include within the list of the types

of behavior that constitute fraud or dishonesty the con-

cept “misappropriation.”*! It is without cavil that the

term “misappropriation” has been held to mean, within

the context of the Uniform Fiduciaries Act of the Dis-

trict of Columbia, D.C. Code §§ 21-1701 et seq., “wrong

appropriation, or the use of a fund to a different purpose

from that for which it was created; but not necessarily a

dishonest purpose.’*? In reaching this definition the

Colby court cited with approval the language of Union

Bank & Trust Co. v. Girard Trust Co., that “actual

“A at 9a. 5Sa.

* Colby v. Riggs National Bank. 67 U.S. App. D.C. 259. 270, 92 F.2d

183, 194 (1937).

EE

-18-

knowledge of breach of . . . [one’s] obligation as fidu-

ciliary” is tantamount to “misappropriation.”*? These

definitions were followed in Blankenship v. Boyle (inter-

preting other aspects of LMRDAA in establishing a bank’s

liability where large amounts of cash were left in non-

interest bearing accounts in violation of the fiduciary

duties of a labor organization’s welfare fund trustee).*4

“Conversion,” another concept listed by DOL, has

been defined by the District of Columbia courts. In

Smith v. Whitehead, the court held that:

‘The conversion is complete when the defendant takes,

detains or disposes of the chattel.” DeKine v. District

of Columbia, D.C. App., 422 A.2d 981, 986 (1980)

(quoting W. Prosser, supra section 15, at 97) (empha-

sis added). Prosser states, ‘Perhaps the most common

way in which conversion is committed is by an

unauthorized transfer or disposal of the goods to one

who is not entitled to them.’ W. Prosser, supra section

15, at 87. It is not a necessary element of the tort that

the convertor benefit from his act. Harrell v. Ander-

son, 294 F. Supp. 405, 407 (S.D. Ga. 1968); W. Pros-

ser, supra section 15 at 84 n.16; 89 C.J.S. Trover and

Conversion section 3 (1955): cf. Pan American Petro-

leum Corp. v. Long, 340 F.2d 21i, 220 (Sth Cir. 1964),

cert. denied, 381 U.S. 926 (1965) (‘The convertor may

either have actual or constructive-possession of the

property.) (Emphasis added; footnote omitted.)

* * *

‘The essence of conversion is an interference with

another’s property that is so substantial as to justify

* 307 Pa. 488. 161 A. 865, 867 (1932). .

“329 F. Supp. 1089, 1103 (D.D.C. 1971), aff'd. 167 U.S. App. D.C.

209. 511 F.2d 447 (1975).

-19-

treatment as a forced sale of the property.’ Horne v.

Francis I. DuPont & Co., 428 F. Supp. 1271, 1275

(D.D.C. 1977).4

D.C. Code § 45-1949 speaks, also, of conversion of

trust monies in the context of real estate transactions

and allows for recovery of monies so converted from a

guarantee fund established to protect the public, much as

an LMRDA fidelity bond protects the union members

from conversion. PATCO officers and leaders, those per-

sons bonded, wrongfully converted and misappropriated

union funds to the strike.

Further, “[t]he words ‘fraud’ and ‘dishonesty’ as used

in [any] fidelity bond include any act showing a want of

integrity or a breach of trust.” First National Bank of

Southern Maryland vy. United States Fidelity and Guar-

anty Co.*®

In conducting an illegal strike, and then refusing to

obey court orders directing them back to work, the indi-

vidually named defendants, who were bonded by F&D,

willfully disregarded PATCO’s interests. These union

officers knowingly violated 5 U.S.C. § 7116(b)(7) which

prohibits strikes by Federal employees and, thus, trig-

gered against their own union § 7120(f) of the statute,

which calls for the decertification of labor organizations

that conduct illegal strikes. Additionally, these officers

spent union funds in furtherance of such illegal conduct.

* 436 A.2d 339, 351 (D.C. 1982). And see, National Savings and Trust

Co. v. Rosendorf, 182 U.S. App. D.C. 216, 559 F.2d 837 (D.C. Cir. 1977);

and R.A. Weaver & Associates, Inc. v. Haas & Haynie Corporation,

213 U.S.App. D.C. 404, 663 F.2d 168, 173 (1980).

* 275 Md. 400, 412, 340 A.2d 275, 284 (1975). The Court of Appeals

sanctioned the use of Maryland law as that law and the law of the Dis-

trict of Columbia are “similar.” A at 3a-4a.

-20-

In doing so, they subjected the union to a significant

likelihood of loss: In light of both the strike prohibition

and decertification provision, it was practically a fore-

gone conclusion that the strikers would be fired and the

union decertified. Thus, the monies spent in furtherance

of the strike would never be recouped; this the PATCO

bankruptcy confirmed and the LMRDA bond was pur-

chased to avoid.

That the strike itself was conducted in brazen violation

of a Federal statute must be considered when determin-

ing whether such activity may be characterized as fraudu-

lent or dishonest. In contrast to its head-in-the-sand

attitude in this case, the Circuit Court has recognized

elsewhere that “a failure on the part of [the bonded

employee] to comply with the requirements of [D.C.

Code § 35-103] could well be considered by the jury in

determining whether or not he engaged in fraudulent or

dishonest conduct. . . .”*’ Significant with regard to the

question of fraud or dishonesty in the instant case is that

the strike was an intentional, willful, and undisputable

violation of Federal law, a flagrantly illegal activity con-

ducted by the defendant officers with a “compelling sense

of conscious wrong.”** Additionally “relevant to the

charge [of fraud or dishonesty] against . . . [the bonded

employee] is the fact that an unsuccessful attempt was

made to initiate prosecution against him [the bonded

employee] by the United States Attorney's Office.”**

Therefore, compellingly material to the issue of “fraud or

* Imperial Insurance. Inc., supra, 442 F.2d at 1203.

” Sade, supra, 203 F. Supp. at 684; see also, First National Bank of

Southern Marviand v. United States Fidelity and Guaranty Co., supra

” Sade. supra, 203 F. Supp. at 684; emphasis supplied

21

dishonesty” here is that many of the defendants were

actually found to be in criminal contempt as a result of

participation in the illegal! strike.

Also instructive as to the local law the Circuit Court

held to be controlling—but refused to follow—on the

scope of “fraud or dishonesty” is D.C. Code § 14-

305(b\( 1). This statute allows impeachment of a witness

by showing a prior conviction of a criminal offense for

which the punishment is in excess of one year or which

crime “involved dishonesty or false statement.” Herein

the strikers violated 18 U.S.C. § 1918, which allows

imprisonment for one year and a day. More importantly,

the District of Columbia statute became the model for

Federal Rule of Evidence 609. The Conference Report

on that Rule discussed “dishonesty or false statement”:

By the phrase “dishonesty and false statement” the

Conference means crimes such as perjury or subor-

nation of perjury. false statement, criminal fraud,

embezziement. or false pretense. or any other

offense in the nature of crimen falsi, the commission

of which involves some element of deceit, untruth-

fulness. or falsification bearing on the accused's

propensity to testify truthfully.

Violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1918 by government employees

carries a second implication. Each air-traffic controller,

upon employment by the FAA was and to this day is

still required to execute an affidavit in which he swears

to uphold the Constitution of the United States and not

to strike against the United States or any of its agencies.

Conterence Report. Joint Explanatory Statement of the Committee

ot Conterence. 93d Cong.. 2d Sess.. reprinted in 28 U.S.C.S.. Federal

Rules of Evidence. p. 227: and compare 29 C.F.R. § 453.12

heeeeenrnenmeennimeatll

-_.

Thus, by striking, the majority of PATCO’s members not

only violated 18 U.S.C. § 1918 but also abjured their

affidavits of appointment. This is “dishonesty” plain and

simple, and would be recognized as such in any other

context.5!' A conviction under 18 U.S.C. § 1918 would,

therefore, be a crime acceptable for use in impeachment

under either D.C. Code § 14-305(b)(1)(A) or (B).°?

V. Although explicitly denying that LMRDA § 502(a)

embodies a Federal standard for bonds relating to

“acts of fraud or dishonesty,” the Court of Appeals

jury-rigged just such a standard—albeit an errone-

ous and unworkable one—from general “horn-

book” authorities.

Against this background of District of Columbia and

Maryland law on the issue of what constitutes “acts of

fraud or dishonesty,” the Circuit Court’s opinion is per-

versely paradoxical. On the one hand, the Court ruled

that no general Federal standard of “fraud or dishon-

esty” applies to LMRDA § 502(a) bonds and that

“either Maryland or the District of Columbia law gov-

erns construction of the bond” involved here.*? Yet, on

the other hand, rather than applying, attempting to

apply, or even attempting to ascertain the controlling

It is not unlike the debtor who has been determined to have an obli-

gation to a creditor and after that determination transfers his assets to

the detriment of his creditor. Without the pre-existing obligation the

transfer would not be dishonest; the pre-existing obligation condemns

such a transfer as fraudulent or dishonest, renders it voidable. D.C.

Code § 28-3101, /n re Estate of Wall, 142 U.S. App. D.C. 187, 440 F.2d

215 (1971). Here the pre-existing affidavit renders the later act of strik-

ing dishonest—the strikers did not keep their word, their sworn word.

’ And see. United States v. Haggerty. supra

A at 3a-4a.

ee

=99.

Maryland or District of Columbia law, the court created

its own idiosyncratic “Federal” standard out of the whole

cloth of certain secondary “hornbook” authorities.

The Circuit Court’s actual approach here simply belied

the course of analysis it held was required: Having

determined that “there apparently is no decision by the

District of Columbia Court of Appeals in which the

meaning of ‘fraud’ and ‘dishonesty’ in the context of a

fidelity bond is discussed,”*4 the court then eschewed all

consideration of other relevant District of Columbia or

Maryland authorities, which the foregoing discussion

shows are substantial, and turned to secondary sources.

These sources were not, however, secondary sources of

District of Columbia or Maryland \aw; rather, they were

secondary sources of some species of “general” or “con-

sensus” law on the meaning of “fraud” or “dishonesty.”

This, perhaps, is a proper form of analysis where a

determination of Federal common law is involved; but

such a determination the court explicitly held to be out

of bounds.®> Thus, the court’s opinion is analytically

incoherent, violates what the court itself held was the

choice-of-law rule applicable here, and creates (in this

case) a precedent that promises to inject disarray into the

jurisprudence of LMRDA § 502(a), not only in the Dis-

trict of Columbia Circuit, but also in any other jurisdic-

tion in which there may be some arguable lacuna in the

local law as to “acts of fraud or dishonesty.”

Simply stated. if local law controls the definition of

“acts of fraud or dishonesty” under LMRDA § 502(a),

then local law should be ascertained and applied as

* A at 6a (emphasis added).

A at 3a.

-24-

rigorously as possible, and recourse to secondary, “horn-

book” sources should be strictly limited to aspects of the

definitional issues that cannot be addressed by reference

to local statutes, regulations, and case law. The inferior

Federal courts cannot be licensed to invent a new body

of Federal common law under LMRDA § 502(a), as the

Circuit Court has done here sotio voce, without: first,

frustrating the will of Congress, which determined that

local law should control the substantive issue of what

constitutes “acts of fraud or dishonesty”: and, second,

creating the potential for chaos in the administration of

§ 502(a) as new Federal common law principles begin to

emerge, pretending to reflect but in fact supplanting sub

silentio the standards of local law.

VI. The aberrant decision of the Court of Appeals

demonstrates that the goal of the LMRDA to

require union _officials to “adhere to the highest

standards of responsibility and ethical conduct in

administering the affairs of their organizations”

cannot be achieved on a national basis under

LMRDA § 502(a) without recognition of a uni-

form Federal policy for construing “acts of fraud

or dishonesty” under local law that presumptively

disallows nonconcealment of such acts as a defense

for union officials or the sureties who bond them.

The Circuit Court’s approach in this case does point

up a serious problem in the administration of LMRDA

§ 502(a) that cannot be resolved by mechanical reliance

on the local law of “fraud or dishonesty” as those terms

relate to fidelity bonds. Clearly, in this case, District of

Columbia and Maryland law do provide rather direct

guidance in construing those words, contrary to the Cir-

cuit Court’s view. Still, even assuming arguendo that the

a.

Circuit Court correctly found no applicable local law on

the subject, the result it reached on the basis of its read-

ing of selected secondary sources should be rejected,

because that result palpably conflicts with the fundamen-

tal purpose of LMRDA §§ 501] and 502: namely, to

require union officials to “adhere to the highest stan-

dards of responsibility and ethical conduct in administer-

ing the affairs of their organizations.”%¢

Where the local law is completely silent on the defini-

tion of “fraud” or “dishonesty” (as the Circuit Court,

albeit wrongly, held the law was here), a decision as to

what that law ought to hold (which, after all, is the exer-

cise the Circuit Court purported to perform) must ex

necessitate consult some overarching standard that sub-

serves the goals of the LMRDA. Given a choice of pos-

sible standards to apply to the bonding of union offi-

cials, a court should be constrained to adopt “the highest

standards of responsibility and ethical conduct” consis-

tent with the extant body of local law. That is, where

local law must be “found,” the court must look in the

right place. It must look up—in the direction indicated

by Congress, not down to some lowest common denomi-

nator of responsibility and ethical conduct.

Petitioners submit that this analytical approach itself

constitutes a Federal standard, at least as to the tech-

nique for construction of “acts of fraud or dishonesty”

under LMRDA § 502(a) that this Court should hold is

required by the LMRDA taken as a whole. For the

aberrant result the Circuit Court reached in this case,

and which other courts could reach under imaginative

interpretations of local laws that were supposedly silent

SA

A at 4a.

i.

on the meaning of “fraud” or “dishonesty,” eviscerates

the very protections that LMRDA § 502(a) was enacted

to provide to unions and their members. If, as did the

Circuit Court here, courts can immunize the acis of

union officials, and absolve bonding companies from

their liabilities, because those acts—no matter how

illegal—are open, notorious, and supposedly condoned

by a majority of the unions’ members, then § 502(a) will

be emasculated in precisely those situations where it

should be strongest. Thus, the more irresponsible the

acts of union officials, the /ower their standards of ethi-

cal conduct, the greater their defiance of the law—in all,

the worse they behave, the /ess their liability or the liabil-

ity of the parties that bond them. The union officials

least qualified to be bonded wiil become the best risks

for bonding companies, because the very likelihood of

outrageously fraudulent or dishonest conduct on the part

of those officials will increase the probability that the

bondsmen will be held immune from liability on the

fidelity bonds they issue. Rather than generating a deter-

rent to irresponsible conduct by union officials, the

bonding process will create positive incentives for such

conduct, and positive incentives for bonding companies

to “look the other way,” secure in the knowledge that

their own liability will be inversely proportional to their

own irresponsibility in bonding the most_ notorious

scofflaws.

Tn enacting LMRDA § 502(a) and incorporating there-

in local law standards of “acts of fraud or dishonesty,”

Congress surely did nor intend to license courts, under

the guise of “interpreting” unsettled local law, to fashion

unnecessary qualifications, limitations, and other imped-

iments to the enforcement of “the highest standards of

a.

responsibility and ethical conduct” possibly applicable

under local law. To the contrary, Congress’ intent was to

make union officials, in each jurisdiction, conform to the

most exacting ethical standards reasonably applicable

under the law of that jurisdiction. In this case, the Cir-

cuit Court faced no requirement in the law of the Dis-

trict of Columbia or Maryland to limit liability on

LMRDA §& 502(a) bonds to “acts of fraud or dishonesty”

that were committed in secret. Even if the local law did

not absolutely preclude a construction of “acts of fraud

or dishonesty” that are committed in secret, local law did

not mandate, or even encourage, such a construction.

Nothing prevented the Circuit Court from finding that

the notorious nature of the “acts” did not negate their

character as “fraudulent or dishonest.” That being so, the

Court should have been constrained by the unmistakable

Congressional policy embodied in the entire LMRDA to

adopt a construction that imposed on the defendants in

this case the maximum ethical constraints compatible

with the extant local! law.

In sum, this Court should fashion a strong Federal

presumption under LMRDA § 502(a) that local law dis-

allows as a defense to the enforcement of fidelity bonds,

the open and notorious nature of certain acts of fraud

and dishonesty.

-28-

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the petition for a writ of certiorari |

should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

GLENN H. CARLSON, Esquire |

Carlson, Cafferty & Ferris, P.C. |

Suite 411 |

1910 K Street, N.W. |

Washington, D.C. 20006 |

(202) 452-0004

Counsel of Record

EDWIN VIEIRA, JR., Esquire

13877 Napa Drive

Independent Hill, Virginia 22111

(703) 791-6780

Of Counsel

re Se en Pee wert ee. ee eee

APPENDIX A

Opinion of the

U.S. Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia Circuit

August 5, 1988

|

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Argued March 17, 1988 Decided August 5, 1988

No. 87-7154

ANTHONY SKIRLICK, as an Individual and as a

Representative of a Class, et al., APPELLANTS

FIDELITY & DEPOSIT COMPANY OF MARYLAND.

APPELLEE

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia

(Civil Action No. 84-02371)

Glen H. Carlson for appellants.

Mitchell H. Stabbe for appellee.

Gary W. Eads, Domenic V. Torchia and Dennis M.

Reardon respectively entered appearances pro se.

Before ROBINSON 2nd DOUGLAS H. GINSBURG, Cir-

cuit Judges, and KAUFMAN, * Senior District Judge.

* Of the United States District Court for the District of Maryland, sit-

ting by designation pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 294(d).

a

~~

[2] Opinion for the Court filed by Senior District

Judge KAUFMAN.

KAUFMAN, Senior United States District Judge: Appel-

lants are former air traffic controllers who seek damages

allegedly sustained as a result of the 1981 strike by

members of the Professional Air Traffic Controllers

Organization (PATCO).! Appellee is the Fidelity & De-

posit Company of Maryland (F & D), the underwriter of

a fidelity bond issued to PATCO to insure the union

against losses caused by fraudulent or dishonest acts of

its officers. Appellants essentially contend that the

PATCO officers who organized and directed the strike

violated their fiduciary duty to the union members, and

that that breach of duty entitles appellants to prevail

against F & D. In granting summary judgments to F &

D, the district court concluded that appellants did not

meet two conditions precedent specified in the bond: (1)

appellants did not file a proof of loss within four months

of the discovery of the loss, and (2) appellants failed to

initiate this case within one year of the discovery of the

~ loss. The district court also ruled that the fidelity bond

did not cover the actions of the PATCO officials.? Since

' The strike commenced on August 3, 1981 after PATCO and the Federal

Aviation Administration failed to agree with regard to a new collective

bargaining agreement. At that time, over seventy percent of the federally

employed air traffic controllers walked off the job. After the strikers

refused to obey a court order to return to work, President Reagan fired

approximately 11,500 PATCO members who remained on the picket lines

as of August 5, 1981. The appellants did not participate in the strike.

* F & D also moved for summary judgment on two additional grounds

which the district court did not reach: (1) appellants lacked standing to sue

on the bond and (2) appellants’ prior knowledge of PATCO strike proce-

dures and prior strikes barred any claim on the bond. The parties do not

raise either issue in this appeal. Indeed, the only issue stated in this appeal

is the liability of F & D.

-3a-

we agree with the district court regard-[3]ing bond cov-

erage, we reach only that issue in this appeal.?

[.

“There is no federal legislative standard for bonds ‘exe-

cuted under any law of the United States’ so we look to

state law bond provisions and construction for guid-

ance.” United States ex rel. Mississippi Road Supply Co.

v. H.R. Morgan, Inc., 542 F.2d 262, 267 (Sth Cir. 1976),

cert. denied, 434 U.S. 828 (1977) (quoting 28 U.S.C.

§ 1352). The parties agreed at oral argument that (1)

PATCO is an unincorporated association governed by

the laws of the District of Columbia and (2) the bond in

question was executed in Baltimore, Maryland and was

delivered to PATCO in Washington, D.C. Thus, either

Maryland or District of Columbia law governs construc-

tion of the bond. See Fowler v. A & A Co., 262 A.2d

344, 348 (D.C. 1970). Because both jurisdictions apply

similar standards of interpretation and construction of

insurance contracts, we need not determine which law

Appellants initially asserted subject matter jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. § 1331. However, appellants have since invoked jurisdiction

granted in 28 U.S.C. § 1352, which provides:

The district courts shall have original jurisdiction, concurrent

with State courts. of any action on a bond executed under any

law of the United States, except matters within the jurisdiction

of the Court of International Trade under section 1582 of this

title.

PATCO, as a labor organization, was required by 29 U.S.C. § 502(a) to

obtain the fidelity bond at issue in this case.

Because subject matter jurisdiction exists under 28 U.S.C. § 1352, we

need not reach the question of whether jurisdiction also is present pursu-

ant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 or 1337 and the Labor-Management Reporting

and Disclosure Act, 29 U.S.C. § 401, et seq. See Gully v. First National

Bank, 229 U.S. 109 (1936) (re the “arising under” requirement).

C—O

applies. Compare Watson v. U.S.F. & G. Co., 231 Md

266, 271, 189 A.2d 625, 627 (1962): Govern-[4|ment

Employees Ins. Co. v. DeJames, 256 Md. 717, 720, 261

A.2d 747, 749 (1970) with American Ins. Co. v. Tutt. 314

A.2d 481, 485 (D.C. 1974); Dryer v. Liberty Mut. Ins

Co., 248 A.2d 504, 505 (D.C. 1968).

If.

Congress enacted the Labor-Management Reporting

and Disclosure Act, 29 U.S.C. § 401 et seg., in 1959 to

ensure, inter alia, “that labor organizations, employers,

and their officials adhere to the highest standards of

responsibility and ethical conduct in administering the

affairs of their organizations.” 29 U.S.C. § 401(a). Union

officials “occupy positions of trust in relation to [the

union] and its members as a group. It is therefore, the

duty of each such person . . . to hold [the union's]

money and property solely for the benefit of the [union]

and its members.” 29 U.S.C. § 50I(a). Congress has pro-

vided that each official who handles money of a union

with “property and annual financial receipts” of more

than $5,000 in value “shall be bonded to provide protec-

tion against loss by reason of acts of fraud or dishonesty

on his part directly or through connivance with others.”

29 U.S.C. § 502(a).

The surety bond written by F & D for PATCO pro-

vides, in relevant part:

The Underwriter agrees to indemnify the

Insured . . . against any Joss of funds or other prop-

erty... through any fraudulent or dishonest acts

committed by any Emplovees, acting alone or in

collusion with others ....

-Sa-

J.A. 251, 257, 278, 281 (emphasis added).

Appellants have not specifically identified which of

two surety bonds written by F & D for PATCO is sued

upon in this case. Bond number 596-06-43-A became

effective on September 22, 1977 and was cancelled and

replaced on September 22, 1981 by Bond number 596-06-

43-B. [5] PATCO went on strike on August 3, 1981; pre-

sumably preparations for the strike occurred prior to

that date. In any case, both bonds contain the same lan-

guage regarding coverage for fraudulent and dishonest

acts, and differ only with regard to indemnification

amounts and names of union officers insured. Those dif-

ferences are not relevant in this appeal.‘

But what is most relevant is that riders attached to

each bond, as issued, specifically deleted faithful perform-

ance coverage and substituted fraud and dishonesty

language, J.A. 257, 281, and that PATCO was aware

that it was not purchasing faithful performance coverage.

See J.A. 285-87.

Appellants contend that the words “fraudulent and

dishonest acts” should be broadly read so as to include

the actions of PATCO’s officers in planning and execut-

ing the 1981 strike, which led to the firing of all striking

PATCO members and the decertification and bankruptcy

of PATCO. In support of that contention, appellants

assert that PATCO’s officers knowingly violated 5 U.S.C.

§ 7116(b)(7), which prohibits certain strikes by feder-

al employees, disobeyed a court order directing the strik-

ers to return to work, and caused union funds to be expend-

ed in support of an illegal action. Appellants also claim

* However, it would appear that the earlier issued bond, 596-06-43-A, is

the one in issue in this case.

-6a-

that some of the individual officers engaged in vote fraud

in an effort to assure that enough PATCO members

voted to authorize the strike.

Ill.

os

An insurance policy, as a contract between the insurer

and insured, Anderson v. Group Hospitalization, Inc.,

203 A.2d 421, 423 (D.C. 1964), is to be construed to

reflect “the understanding of the ordinary person, that is

to say . . . the meaning that common speech imparts.”

[6] American Ins. Co. v. Tutt, 314 A.2d 481, 485 (D.C.

1974). While there apparently is no decision by the Dis-

trict of Columbia Court of Appeals in which the mean-

ing of the words “fraud” and “dishonesty” in the context

of a fidelity bond is discussed, the ordinary meaning of

the words “fraud” and “dishonesty” refers to acts which

“show a breach of trust or of financial integrity, coupled

with deceit and concealment exercised in a position of

trust and confidence and causing financial loss.” COUCH

ON INSURANCE § 46:54 (2d ed. 1982) (emphasis

added).* The actions of PATCO officials in appropriat-

ing funds for the 1981 strike, which was supported by

most of the union membership, do not reflect a corrupt

intent to deceive or to defraud the membership; nor do

they reveal a breach of financial integrity, as would be

* Couch further defines “‘{dJishonesty,’ in general terms, [as] ‘a want of

integrity in principle; a want of fairness and straightforwardness; a dis-

position to defraud, deceive, or betray; faithlessness, or a course of con-

duct generally characterized in the common speech of men as lacking in

principle’.” Jd. (quoting American Surety Co. v. Joy Lodge F. & A.M..,

102 Ind. App. 82, 196 N.E. 356 (i935)). See also 35 AM. JUR. 2d Fidel-

ity Bonds and Insurance § 23 (1967) (“The words ‘fraud’ and ‘dishon-

esty’, in this connection, are deemed to include any act showing a want

of integrity or a breach of trust, or an abstraction of funds, together

with deceit and concealment.”) (footnote omitted).

0 0 OOOO)

-Ja-

the case if larceny, theft or embezzlement of PATCO

funds was involved. Therefore, the bond does not protect

PATCO against the kind of conduct of which appellants

complain.

IV.

The legislative history of the Labor-Management

Reporting and Disclosure Act (LMRDA) demonstrates

that § 502(a)’s bonding requirement covers only fraudu-

lent or dishonest behavior relating to the handling of

union funds. When LMRDA was first enacted in 1959,

§ 502(a) required that union officials be bonded for

faithful dis-{7]charge of duty. However, in 1965, Con-

gress, by amendment, removed the faithful discharge of

duty language and inserted language requiring a bond to

protect against loss by “fraud or dishonesty.” Both the

House and Senate Reports relating to these amendments

state:

The question has been raised as to whether or not

the proposed substitution would dilute the protec-

tions afforded to union funds, and whether or not

the fraud or dishonesty bond would adequately

cover the violations of section 501(a) of the act.

Solicitor of Labor Charles Donahue [in a letter to

the Chairman of the General Subcommittee on

Labor] states that it is and has been the position of

the Department that the bond required by section

502(a) need not cover all-_violations of section

501(a). This position is expressed in an interpreta-

tive [sic] bulletin promulgated by then Secretary of

Labor Mitchell shortly after the Labor-Management

Reporting and Disclosure Act was enacted which

states in part:

-a-

“The bonding requirement in section 502(a) relates

only to duties of the specified personnel in connec-

tion with their handling of funds or other property to

which this section refers. It does not have reference

to the special duties imposed upon representatives of

labor organizations by virtue of the position of trust

which they occupy, which are dealt with in section

501(a), and for which civil remedies for breach of the

duties are provided in section 501(b). The fact that

the bonding requirement is limited to personnel who

handle funds or other property indicates the correct-

ness of these conclusions. They find further support

in the differences between sections 501(a) and 502(a)

of the act which sufficiently indicate that the scope of

the two sections is not coextensive.”

The committee endorses the soundness of that inter-

pretation. [8] H. REP. No. 182, 89th Cong., Ist Sess. 4;

S. Rep. No. 698, 89th Cong., Ist Sess. 4, reprinted in

1965 U.S. CoDE CONG. & AD. NEws 3248, 3250-51

(emphasis added).°®

The Depariment of Labor regulations interpreting 29

U.S.C. § 502 provide:

The bonding requirement in section 502(a) relates

only to duties of the specified personnel in connec-

* The House and Senate Committee Reports contain the “supplemental

views” of three members who conditioned their support for the amend-

ment on the understanding that the new language reflected “a clarifica-

tion, not a change, in the bonding requirements under the act.” 1965

U.S. CODE CONG. & AD. NEWS at 3254. Those “supplemental views”

were not included in the body of the Committee Reports and were not

adopted by the Committees. The Committee Reports indicate that a

motivating factor behind the change was avoidance of the higher premi-

ums charged for a bond which included the faithful discharge language.

Id. at 3249.

-9Ja-

tion with their handling of funds or other property

to which this section refers. It does not have refer-

ence to the special duties imposed upon representa-

tives of labor organizations by virtue of the posi-

tions of trust which they occupy, which are dealt

with in section S50l(a), and for which civil remedies

for breach of the duties are provided in section

501(b).

29 C.F.R. § 453.11 (1986).

The regulations also discuss the meaning of “fraud or

dishonesty” as follows:

The term “fraud or dishonesty” shall be deemed

to encompass all those risks of loss that might arise

through dishonest or fraudulent acts in handling of

funds. .. . As such, the bond must provide recovery

for loss occasioned by such acts . . . provided that

within the law of the state in which the act is com-

mitted, a court would afford recovery under a bond

providing protection against fraud or dishonesty. As

usually applied under state laws, the term “fraud or

[9] dishonesty” encompasses such matters as lar-

ceny, theft, embezzlement, forgery, misappropria-

tion, wrongful abstraction, wrongful conversion,

willful misapplication or any other fraudulent or

dishonest acts resulting in financial loss.

29 C.F.R. § 453.12 (1986).

Appellants suggest that the words “abstraction,” “mis-

appropriation” and “misapplication” in the regulations

are sufficiently broad to reach a union officer’s expendi-

tures of PATCO funds for the strike. However,

; the terms “wrongful abstraction” and “wilful misap-

plication” are [generally] used in association with

elaine cence emia einr ieee

-10a-

such terms as “fraud,” “dishonesty,” “larceny” or

“embezzlement”. As a consequence, such terms have

been deemed to supplement the other terms describ-

ing various types of corrupt conduct by employees,

rather than to establish a new class of acts covered

by the bond.

9A Applernan, INSURANCE LAW AND PRACTICE § 5670

(1981) (footnotes omitted). Appleman also notes that

while

[s]ome courts have intimated that any violation of

duty or breach of instructions in the handling of the

employer’s funds or property would constitute a

wrongful abstraction or misapplication, regardless of

the employee’s intent . . . it is generally held that the

employee’s misappropriation or misapplication must

be done with a dishonest or fraudulent intent... .

Id. (footnotes omitted).

In essence, appellants are seeking to equate the

honesty bond which PATCO purchased from F & D

with a faithful performance of duty bond. But in the

light of the bond language and the legislative history of

the LMRDA, appellants may not prevail pursuant to

that approach. Accordingly, the judgment below is

Affirmed.

eect ho te ee ie a eel BA

APPENDIX B

Memorandum Opinion of the

U.S. District Court

for the District of Columbia

April 7, 1987

Stee Ae <a. a —

Ee

-

-lla-

[104] Anthony SKIRLICK, et al., Plaintiffs,

v.

PATCO, et al., Defendants.

Civ. A. No. 84-2371.

United States District Court,

District of Columbia.

April 7, 1987.

[105] MEMORANDUM OPINION

SPORKIN, District Judge.

I. Introduction

This is an action on a bond. Plaintiffs are air traffic

controllers who did not join their fellow Professional Air

Traffic Controllers Organization (“PATCO”) members in

the 1981 air traffic controllers strike.! They are suing to

recover on a surety bond carried on their union leaders.

Their theory is that by conducting an illegal strike, the

' Over seventy percent of the federally employed air traffic controllers

walked off the job on August 3, 1981 after PATCO and the Federal

Aviation Administration (“FAA”) failed to agree on a new collective

bargaining agreement. See PATCO v. FLRA, 685 F.2d 547, 551

(D.C.Cir.1982). Although the government obtained restraining orders

against the strike, see e.g., United States v. PATCO, 524 F.Supp. 160

(D.D.C.1981), Graham v. PATCO, 524 F.Supp. 160 (D.D.C.1981), and

contempt citations when these restraining orders were not followed, see

e.g., Air Transport Assn. of America v. PATCO, 516 F.Supp. 1108

(D.C.N.Y.1981), United States v. Phillips, 527 F.Supp. 1361 (N.D.II.1981),

the strikers refused to return to work. President Reagan then fired some

11,500 who did not return to work by an August 5, 1981 deadline. See

PATCO vy. United States Department of Transportation, 529 F.Supp.

614 (D.Minn. 1982).

-12a-

union leaders engaged in activity covered by the bond?

and that therefore, the bonding company must honor its

commitment.

The bonding company—the only defendant left in the

case—interposes four defenses as a matter of law: first,

that plaintiffs have no standing since only the union’s

trustee in bankruptcy can bring a claim on the bond;

second, that plaintiffs have failed to fulfill the conditions

precedent on the bond; third, that the acts complained of

do not constitute “fraud or dishonesty” in the handling

of funds, which is what the bond covers; and fourth, that

plaintiffs knew of similar behavior by the PATCO offi-

cers in the past—that is, an earlier strike engaged in by

' those leaders—about which they did not inform the

defendant, and thus they are now barred from bringing

this claim. Because I find that the plaintiffs’ action was

not timely filed and that the bond at issue was not

intended to cover the actions complained of, I grant

defendant’s motion for summary judgment and need not

reach the other issues raised by the defendants.

* The activities complained of which plaintiffs believe are covered by the

bond are generally set forth in paragraph 73 of the Complaint filed in

this action. Paragraph 11 of a prior Complaint filed by plaintiff in the

United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of Columbia sets forth

these actions with greater specificity:

11. Union funds have been made available for, inter alia, the pay-

ment of salaries to perform illegal acts, travel expenses to perform

illegal acts, publication of materials to engender illegal acts, and~

counsel fees to defend the defendants charged with civil contempt

and violations of 5 U.S.C. § 7311; such acts were detrimental to the

union and its lawful membership and a breach of the fiduciary

duties of the defendants.

Memorandum of Points and Authorities in Support of Defendant Fidel-

. ity & Deposit Company of Maryland’s Motion for Summary Judgment

(“Def.Br.”) at 24 (citing Bankruptcy Complaint, § 11).

-l3a-

[106] II. Timeliness

Defendant alleges that the plaintiffs have failed to

comply with two provisions in the bond agreement relat-

ing to the time for bringing an action on the bond. First,

the bond requires that the insured file a detailed proof of

loss, duly sworn to, with defendant, within four months

after the discovery of loss. Second, the bond provides that

no action shali lie against the defendant “at all unless

commenced within one year from the date when the

Insured discovers the loss.” The plaintiffs’ loss was dis-

coverable in August of 1981, at the time of the strike, so a

proof of loss should have been filed by the end of 1981,

and an action should have been commenced by August of

1982. Neither of these deadlines was met.?

Plaintiffs ask the Court to excuse their delay for several

reasons. First, they argue:

Until April of 1982 [the plaintiffs] did not know to whom to

give notice. That information was in the control of PATCO’s

“leaders,” the wrongdoers. Not knowing to whom to provide

the information rendered is not only impracticable but

impossible to do so. Secondly, the overtime demands on

these controllers during the period before April of 1982 left

little time for them to pursue their claim, or at least impeded

that ability and made it impracticable to do so.

’ Plaintiffs appear to argue that because the air traffic controllers strike

was so well known, the defendant had notice of a pending claim from the

time of the strike. This argument misses the point. While defendant cer-

tainly can be held to have had knowledge of the strike itself, it would be

inequitable to hold that defendant had any idea this type of claim would

be filed pursuant to the strike. This is a novel reading of a surety bond. If

anything, in bringing an action as unique as this one, the plaintiffs should

be more strictly bound by the time limitations of the contract. Otherwise,

potential plaintiffs could spend years thinking up new actions under a

bond and the company would have no protection whatsoever.

ll

-14a-

Opposition to Defendant Fidelity & Deposit Company

of Maryland’s Motion for Summary Judgment (“P1.Br.”)

at 32. (Plaintiffs go so far as to suggest that the defend-

ant acted in concert with the striking union members to

deprive the non-striking members of any information

concerning the bond. PI1.Br. at 30-31, 44.) But, even if I

accept this. April, 1982 date as the time at which to start

the clock, the plaintiffs still failed to give the defendant a

proper proof of claim within four months and still failed

to bring this action within one year.

Plaintiffs then fall back on a second argument to

explain their delay from April of 1982—they claim they

were relying on the union’s trustee in bankruptcy, and

could not bring this action until the trustee allowed

them to. See e.g., Pl.Br. at 28-30 citing Hough v.

FATCO, Case No. 81-00656, Adv. No. 82-0093,

(Bankr.D.D.C., Dec. 20, 1983) (“the trustee is the only

party in interest to pursue any such causes of action

.”) This argument is also misplaced though, because,

although the bankruptcy case stayed actions against the

union, it in no way impeded the plaintiffs from pursuing

this claim against the bonding company. Moreover, to

the extent plaintiffs believed only the trustee could bring

this case against the bonding company, plaintiffs could

have brought an action against the trustee forcing him

to give them the claim before the limitations pericd ran.

What they should not have done was sit on the claim

and then attempt to argue that their delay should be

excused.

Failing in these two arguments, plaintiffs finally con-

tend that the notice provisions of the bond conflict with

a union member’s right to sue their unions, as guaran-

- teed by the Labor-Management Reporting and Disclo-

-15a-

sure Act of 1959 (““LMRDA”), Section 101(a)(4), as

amended, 29 U.S.C. § 411(a)(4),4 and therefore that such

notice requirements are unenforceable. P1.Br. at 35-44.

I do not believe that enforcement of these contractual pro-

visions conflicts ii any manner with the union member’s

right to sue as guaranteed by § 101(a)(4). First, I note that

this type of bond provision has been .approved by the

[107] Department of Labor. Second, unlike the plaintiffs,

I fail to see any significant relationship between the bond-

ing requirements of § 502 and the Bill of Rights guaran-

tees of § 101(a)(4) and thus cannot see how enforcing the

notice provisions of this union contract will undercut the

union members statutorily guaranteed rights.

Plaintiffs have failed to come forward with any com-

pelling reason why they should be excused from the

contractually-agreed to time limitations on bringing an

action against the bond company. Accordingly, the case

must be dismissed as untimely. But, even if the action

were not dismissed as untimely, it would have to be dis-

missed because the parties did not bargain for a bond to

cover the actions complained of here.

III. Fraud or Dishonesty

PATCO’s leaders were bonded by defendants to protect

the union against acts by these officials amounting to

“fraud or dishonesty.” The fact pattern in this case does

not involve any of the usual characteristics of fraud or

dishonesty; rather, plaintiffs would have the Court under-

take a uniquely broad reading of the “fraud or dishon-

* The pertinent language reads, “No labor organization shall limit the

right of any member thereof to institute an action in any court. .

29 U.S.C. § 411(a)(4).

a

-l6a-

esty” provision so as to cover actions taken by the

PATCO leaders in furtherance of their illegal strike

against the federal government.

In their most succinct statement of how the union offi-

cials who led this strike violated the fraud or dishonesty

provision of the bond, plaintiffs argue:

In conducting an illegal strike, and then refusing to obey

the court order directing them back to work, the individu-

ally named defendants, who were bonded by defendant F.

& D., clearly acted in disregard of PATCO’s interest. These

union officers knowingly violated 5 U.S.C. § 7116(b)(7)

which prohibits strikes by Federal employees and, thus,

triggered § 7120(f) of the statute which calls for the decerti-

fication of labor organizations that conduct illegal strikes.

Additionally, these officers caused jointly owned union

funds to be spent in furtherance of such illegal conduct. In

doing so, these defendants subjected the union to a signifi-

cant “likelihood of loss;” in light of both the strike prohibi-

tion and decertification provision, it was practically a fore-

gone conclusion that the strikers would be fired and the

union decertified. Thus, the monies spent in furtherance of

the strike would never be recouped.

.P1.Br. at 48-49. See also footnote 2, supra.

While the plaintiffs’ case has surface appeal, it is clear

that the acts for which they wish to recover are neither

— the type of activity for which the LMRDA, 29 U.S.C.

§ 502(a), requires union leaders to be bonded, nor the type

intended to be covered by the parties (the union and

the defendant) to the specific bonding agreement at issue

here. This is so for five reasons. First, the language and

legislative history of the LMRDA—and its implementing

regulations—are clear that Congress intended to require

|

-17a-

the simple type of surety bonds normally utilized by

banks and other institutions; nothing in either the legisla-

tive history or the implementing regulations supports the

expansive reading plaintiffs would have the Court adopt.

The LMRDA requires union leaders to be bonded to

protect the union against fraudulent and dishonest acts

by those handling the union funds. Specifically, the

LMRDA provides as follows:

Every officer, agent, shop steward, or other representa-

tive or employee of any labor organization (other than a

labor organization whose property and annual financial

receipts do not exceed $5,000 in value), or of a trust in

which a labor organization is interested, who handles

funds or other property thereof shall be bonded to pro-

vide protection against loss by reason of acts of fraud or

dishonesty on his part directly or through connivance

with others... . Any person who is not covered by such

bonds shall not be permitted to receive, handle, disburse,

or otherwise exercise custody or control of the funds or

other property of a labor organization or of a trust in

which a labor organization is interested.

29 U.S.C. § 502(a) (emphasis supplied). The United

States Department of Labor [108] issues regulations

which implement the bonding requirements of the

LMRDA. These Labor Department regulations delineate

what is meant to be covered by the “fraud or dishonesty”

terms of the Act:

The term “fraud or dishonesty” shall be deemed to

encompass all those risks of loss that might arise through

dishonest or fraudulent acts in handling of funds as deli-

neated in §§ 453.8 and 453.9. As such, the bond must

provide recovery for loss occasioned by such acts. . .

provided that within the law of the state in which the act

betaine cael

-18a-

is committed, a court would afford recovery under a bond

providing protection against fraud or dishonesty. As usually

applied under state laws, the term “fraud or dishonesty —

encompasses such matters as larceny, theft, embezzlement,

forgery, misappropriation, wrongful abstraction, wrongful

conversion, willful misapplication or any other fraudulent or

dishonest acts resulting in financial loss.

29 C.F.R. § 453.12 (emphasis supplied). Nothing, there-

fore, in the statute itself nor in its implementing regula-

tions supports a broad reading of “fraud or dishonesty”

to cover the actions of union leaders in engaging in a

strike, even though the strike was illegal.

Second, the state law and state court interpretations of

surety bonds referenced by the Labor Department regu-

lations do not support plaintiffs’ novel theory of recov-

ery. Indeed, the plaintiffs cannot point to—nor was the

Court able to find—any cases in the District of Colum-

bia, or in any state, in which acts comparable to those

complained of here have been held to trigger recovery

under an surety bond.

Third, the acts the plaintiffs complain of are also not

the type the parties to the bond agreement intended to

be a part of that agreement. In the area of bonding as in

other insurance areas, there must be a clear understand-

ing of the parties as to coverage. There was no agree-

ment that this type of activity would be covered. The

union deliberately chose to be covered by a “fraud or

dishonesty” bond, not by a broader bond for the faithful

discharge of duty. See Def.Br. at 45. In so doing, it

limited the liability of the defendants to instances com-

monly contemplated within the meaning of “fraud or

dishonesty.” The actions complained of here simply do

not fall within that definition.

|

-19a-

Fourth, | find that there are compelling policy reasons

for not reading this bond as plaintiffs suggest. Extending

the definition of what is covered by LMRDA-required

bonds might well make the costs of simple surety bonds

prohibitive, thereby creating an atmosphere in which

unions would not be able to get the kind of protection

which is contemplated by the statute.

Fifth, | am also concerned that the prohibitive acts

complained of in this case were not secretive and could

not have been implemented without the acquiescence of

a vast majority of the union membership. The union

membership, which is the party to be protected by this

bond, could have prevented the illegal strike if the

members had so desired.

IV. Conclusion

Plaintiffs did not file this case within the time limita-

tions established in the bond contract. Further, they have

been unable to support their contentions that they are

entitled to collect under the union’s surety bond. While I

can appreciate the plaintiffs’ plight following the disas-

trous consequences of this clearly misguided strike with

which they disagreed, there is no legal basis on which to

grant them the novel relief they seek in this action.

APPENDIX C

Plaintiffs’ Answers to Defendant

Fidelity & Deposit Company of Maryland’s

First Set of Interrogatories

-20a-

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

ANTHONY SKIRLICK, ef al.,

Plaintiffs,

Civil Action No. 84-237]

Hogan, J.

V.

PATCO, et al.,

Defendants.

PLAINTIFFS’ ANSWERS TO DEFENDANT

| FIDELITY & DEPOSIT COMPANY OF

MARYLAND'S FIRST SET OF INTERROGATORIES

Come now the plaintiffs, Anthony Skirlick, et a/., and

by Anthony Skirlick do hereby respond to the first set of

interrogatories propounded to the plaintiffs by the

defendant Fidelity & Deposit Company of Maryland

(hereinafter “Fidelity”).

INTERROGATORIES.

Interrogatory |. State the name, address, residence and

business address and telephone number, and date of

birth of the person answering these interrogatories.

Answer |. Anthony J. Skirlick, Jr.

25775 Parada Drive

Valencia, California 91355

(805) 259-4997

Interrogatory 2. Identify the bond or bonds upon

which you base your claim which is the subject of this

action against Fidelity & Deposit Company of Mary-

land, including the date, bond number, number of pages,

and number and caption of riders thereof or thereto.

eT

-2la-

Answer 2. The policy(ies) of insurance or bond(s)

upon which suit is brought in this matter are all of the

policies, or bonds issued by Fidelity to or for PATCO

for the years 1980, 1981 and/or 1982. Other than this

general description, plaintiffs are not now in a position

to further identify said policy(ies) of insurance or bond(s)

or the riders thereto. And see response to defendant

Fidelity’s requests for admission numbered one, two,

three, four and five, simultaneoulsy filed herewith.

Interrogatory 3. State whether the bond or bonds on

which you base your claim against Fidelity & Deposit

Company of Maryland (hereinafter “Bond”) only names

as the Insured the “Professional Air Traffic Controllers

Organization” and/or “Local Nos. 103, 291, 304, 316,

352, 503, and 541.” If not, state all reasons and facts in

support of your denial.

Answer 3. As to this litigation, this interrogatory is

both irrelevant and immaterial and, further, by its own

terms said interrogatory is not designed to lead to infor-

mation or data which are relevant and/or material. And

see plaintiffs’ response to Defendant Fidelity’s request for

admission numbered one, simultaneously filed herewith,

which response by this reference is incorporated as a part

of this answer.

Interrogatory 4. State whether the Bond names Fidel-

ity & Deposit Company of Maryland (hereinafter “Fidel-

ity & Deposit”) as Underwriter. If not, state all reasons

and facts in support of your denial.

Answer 4. As to this litigation, this interrogatory is

both irrelevant and immaterial and, further, by its own

terms said interrogatory is not designed to lead to infor-

-22a-

mation or data which are relevant and/or material. And

see response to defendant Fidelity’s request for admission

‘numbered two, simultaneously filed herewith, which

response, by this reference, is made a part of this answer.

Interrogatory 5. State whether Section | of the Insur-

ing Agreement in the Bond states, “Loss is covered under

this bond only if discovered not later than one year from

the end of the Bond Period.” If not, state all reasons and

facts in support of your denial.

Answer 5. As to this litigation, this interrogatory is

both irrelevant and immaterial and, further, by its own

terms said interrogatory is not designed to lead to infor-

mation or data which are relevant and/or material. And

see response to defendant Fidelity’s request for admission

numbered three, simultaenously filed herewith, which

response, by this reference, is made a part of this answer.

Interrogatory 6. State whether Section 5 of the Insur-

ing Agreement of the Bond states: -

Upon knowledge or discovery of loss under this

bond, the Insured shall: (a) give notice thereof as

soon as practicable to the Underwriter and (b) file

detailed proof of loss, duly sworn to, with the

Uncerwriter within four months after the discovery

of loss.

No action shali lie against the Underwriter unless,

as a condition precedent thereto, there shall have

been full compliance with all the terms of this bond,

nor until ninety days after the required proofs of

loss have been filed with the Underwriter, nor at all

-23a-

unless commenced within one year from the date

when the Insured discovers the loss. If any limita-

tion of time for notice of loss or any legal proceed-

ing herein contained is shorter than that permitted

to bae fixed by agreement under any statute control-

ling the construction of this bond, the shortest per-

missable statutory limitation of time shall govern

and shall supersede the time limitation herein stated.

If not, state all reasons and facts in support of your

denial.

Answer 6. As to this litigation, this interrogatory,

excepting perhaps as to the last sentence of the quoted

material, is both irrelevant and immaterial and, further,

by its own terms said interrogatory is not designed to

lead to information or data which are relevant and/or

material. And see response to request for admission

numbered four, simultaneously filed herewith, which

response, by this reference, is made a part of this answer.

Interrogatory 7. State whether the liability of the

Underwriter was, at all times relevant to your claim, sub-

ject to Rider F 1691, such that the Insuring Agreement

of the Bond provides:

The Underwriter, in consideration of the payment

of the premium, and subject to the Declarations

made a part hereof, the General Agreements, Condi-

tions and Limitations, and other terms of this bond

agrees to indemnify the Insured in accordance with

such of the Schedules as are specifically designated

by the insertion of an amount of indemnity in Item

3 of the Declarations against the loss of funds or

other property which the Insured shall sustain and

discover as provided in Section | through any

fraudulent or dishonest acts committed by any Em-

-24a-

ployees, acting alone or in collusion with others, the

amount of indemnity on each of such Employees

being the amount or amounts stated in Schedule A,

B and C, respectively, whichever is applicable to

such Employees as provided in Section 7.

If not, state all reasons and facts in support of your

denial.

Answer 7. For the reasons set forth in respomse to

Defendant Fidelity’s request for admission numbered

five, simultaneously filed herewith, plaintiffs cannot now

respond to this interrogatory; said response, by this ref-

erence, is made a part of this answer. .

Interrogatory 8. State whether Plaintiffs have even

been recognized or certified as consituting the Profes-

sional Air Traffic Controllers Organization (or any affil-

iated organization) by any court or Government agency.

If so, identify the court or agency, the date and circum-

stances of such action, and and all documents evidencing

such action.

Answer 8. Yes. See records of certification before the

Federal Labor Relations Authority.

Interrogatory 9. State when you discovered the loss

which is the subject of this action.

Answer 9. At or about August of 1981; the full extent

of the losses suffered, however, remains to be ascertained.

Interrogatory 10. State whether you filed a detailed

proof of loss, duly sworn to, with Fidelity & Deposit,

within four months of the date given in response to

Interrogatory No. 9. If so, identify the date of the notice,

to whom it was delivered, and its contents (in lieu of

-2Sa-

identifying the contents of such document, at your option,

‘tach a copy to your answers to these interrogatories).

Answer 10. As to this litigation, this interrogatory is

both irrelevant and immaterial and, further, by its own

terms, said interrogatory is not designed to lead to infor-

mation or data which are relevant and/or material.

Interrogatory 11. State when you first became aware of

any loss of PATCO assets and/or of any member benefits

as a result of the PATCO strike action.

Answer 11. See answer to interrogatory numbered nine

(9), supra, the answer to which interrogatory is hereby

adopted as the answer to this interrogatory.

Interrogatory 12. State whether you filed a detailed

proof of loss, duly sworn to, with Fidelity & Deposit,

within four months of the date given in response to Inter-

rogatory No. 11. If so, identify the date of the notice, to

whom it was delivered, and its contents (in lieu of identi-

fying the contents of such document, at your option, at-

tach a copy to your answers to these interrogatories).

Answer 12. As to this litigation, this interrogatory is

both irrelevant and immaterial and, further, by its own

terms, said interrogatory is not designed to lead to infor-

mation or data which are relevant and/or material.

Interrogatory 13. State whether you ever filed any

detailed proof of loss, duly sworn to, with Fidelity &

Deposit. If so, identify the date of the notice, the method

and date of delivery, to whom it was delivered, and its

contents (in lieu of identifying the contents of such docu-

ment, at your option, attach a copy to your answers to

these interrogatories).

-26a-

Answer 13. As to this litigation, this interrogatory is

both irrelevant and immaterial and, further, by its own

terms, said interrogatory is not designed to lead to infor-

mation or data which are relevant and/or material.

Interrogatory 14. State whether an action was filed

against Fidelity & Deposit for the loss which is the subject

of this action within one year from the date given in

response to Interrogatory No. 9. If so, identify the date of

filing, the plaintiffs, the court of jurisdiction, the case cap-

tion and action number, the date a Summons against

Fidelity & Deposit was issued, and the date and method

of service.

Answer 14. See plaintiffs’ response to defendant Fideli-

ty’s requests for production of documents numbered

three, four and five, simultaneously submitted herewith,

which responses are hereby adopted as the answer to this

interrogatory.

Interrogatory 15. State whether any other action was

filed alainst Fidelity & Deposit for the loss which is the

subject of this action. If so, identify the date of filing, the

plaintiffs, the court of jurisdiction, the case caption and

action number, the date a Summons against Fidelity &

Deposit was issued, and the date and method of service.

Answer 15. See answer to interrogatory numbered

fourteen (14), supra, which answer is adopted as the

answer to this interrogatory.

Interrogatory 16. If you contend that any employees

[sic] of PATCO committed any fraudulent or dishonest

acts resulting in the loss of funds or other porperty by you

and/or PATCO, identify with specificity the nature and

circumstances of such acts and the participating parties.

-27a-

Answer 16. Plaintiffs do so contend, and the full

answer to this interrogatory will be provided pursuant to

the stipulation filed this date.

S

Anthony Skirlick

County of Los Angeles )

) §s:

State of California )

On this 2nd day of April, 1985, before me, a notary in

and for aforesaid jurisdiction personally appeared

Anthony Skirlick, who is personally known to me and

who after taking oath in due form, swore that the

answers to the foregoing interrogatories subscribed by

him are true to the best of his knowledge, information

and belief.

S

Notary Public

“> .

My commission expires: __2-5-88 Ss (SEAL)

APPENDIX D

Plaintiffs’ Supplemental Answers to

Defendant Fidelity & Deposit Company of

Maryland's First Set of Interrogatories

-28a-

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

eee i aetian a Ones

ANTHONY SKIRLICK, ef al., )

Plaintiffs, )

Vv. Civil Action No. 84-2371

PATCO, et al., ) Hogan, J.

Defendants. )

)

PLAINTIFFS’ SUPPLEMENTAL ANSWERS TO

DEFENDANT FIDELITY & DEPOSIT COMPANY OF

MARYLAND'S FIRST SET OF INTERROGATORIES

FILED PURSUANT ORDER OF COURT

Come now the plaintiffs, Anthony Skirlick, et a/., and

by Anthony Skirlick do hereby supplementally respond

to the first set of interrogatories propounded to the

plaintiffs by the defendant Fidelity & Deposit Company

of Maryland (hereinafter “Fidelity”), in accordance with

the order of this court filed May 2, 1985.

THE INTERROGATORIES.

I. Preface.

The original of the bonds have still not been located.

During their depositions, Mrs. McGuire and Mr. Burke,

employees of Fidelity, compiled the bond numbered 596-

06-43-A. Mrs. McGuire also compiled the bond num-

bered 596-06-43-B. Plaintiffs have no reason to doubt the

credibility of these witnesses and, therefore, and for the

purpose of these supplemental answers to interrogatories,

will utilize said bonds as compiled by them. Records

relating to Bond numbered 606-98-81, for the “PATCO

Sussistence Fund” were subject to systematic destruction

ir ce

-29a-

by Fidelity. No answer below refers to this bond. As

always, in the event the plaintiffs discover other, differ-

ent or supplemental information in this respect, they

reserve their right to further supplement their answers to

these, and in fact all, interrogatories. With these caveats

the following supplamental answers are provided:

Interrogatory 3. State whether the bond or bonds on

which you base your claim against Fidelity & Deposit

Company of Maryland (hereinafter “Bond”) oniy names

as the Insured the “Professional Air Traffic Controllers

Organization” and/or “Local Nos. 103, 291, 304, 316,

352, 503, and 541.” If not, state all reasons and facts in

support of your denial.

Original Answer 3. As to this litigation, this interroga-

tory is both irrelevant and immaterial and, further, by its

own terms said interrogatory is net designed to lead to

information or data which are relevant and/or material.

And see plaintiffs’ response to Defendant Fidelity’s

request for admission numbered one, simultaneously

filed herewith, which response by this reference is incor-

porated as a part of this answer.

Supplemental Answer. Although page one of the

Labor Organization Bond numbered 596-06-43-A iden-

tifies the insured as “Professional Air Traffic Controllers

Organization and its Subordinate Units listed as Joint

Insureds in Rider ‘A’,” and an undated Rider under said

bond identifies PATCO and Locals 103, 291, 304, 316,

352, 503 and 541 and “Rider A,” dated September 22,

1977, lists said Locals as “joint insureds,” other riders

expand or reduce coverage: Rider 5 removes Local 541,

effective July 30, 1978, and adds Locals 132 and 502:

Rider 7 adds Local 245; Rider 8 adds Local 110; Rider 9

-30a-

adds Locals 102 and 303; Rider 10 adds Local 133; Rider

11 adds Local 258, Rider 13 adds Local 131; Rider 14

adds Locai 403; Rider 17 adds Local 501; Rider 18 adds

Locals 160 and 514; Rider 19 adds Local 204; and Rider

20 adds Local 215. All said changes were made on or

before November 1, 1980. Bond numbered 596-04-43-B

identifies no Locals, but does identify PATCO as the

insured.

Interrogatory 4. State whether the Bond names Fidel-

ity & Deposit Company of Maryland (hereinafter “Fidel-

ity & Deposit”) as Underwriter. If not, state all reasons

and facts in support of your denial.

Original Answer 4. As to this litigation, this interroga-

tory is both irrelevant and immaterial and, further, by its

own terms said interrogatory is not designed to lead to

information or data which are relevant and/or material.

And see response to defendant Fidelity’s request for

admission numbered two, simultaneously filed herewith,

which response, by this reference, is made a part of this

answer.

Supplemental Answer 4. Yes, both bonds.

Interrogatory 5. State whether Section | of the Insur-

ing Agreement in the Bond states, “Loss is covered under

this bond only if discovered not later than one year from

the end of the Bond Period.” If not, state all reasons and

facts in support of your denial.

Original Answer 5. As to this litigation, this interroga-

tory is both irrelevant and immaterial and, further, by its

own terms said interrogatory is not designed to lead to

information or data which are relevant and/or material.

And see response to defendant Fidelity’s request for

-3la-

admission numbered three, simultaenously filed herewith,

which response, by this reference, is made a part of this

answer.

Supplemental Answer 5. Yes, both bonds.

Interrogatory 6. State whether Section 5 of the Insur-

ing Agreement of the Bond states:

Upon knowledge or discovery of loss under this

bond, the Insured shall: (a) give notice thereof as

soon as practicable to the Underwriter and (b) file

detailed proof of loss, duly sworn to, with the

Underwriter within four months after ihe discovery

of loss.

No action shall lie against the Underwriter unless,

as a condition precedent thereto, there shall have

been full compliance with all the terms of this bond,

nor until ninety days after the required proofs of

loss have been filed with the Underwriter, nor at all

unless commenced within one year from the date

when the Insured discovers the loss. If any limita-

tion of time for notice of loss or any legal proceed-

ing herein contained is shorter than that permitted

to bae fixed by agreement under any statute control-

ling the construction of this bond, the shortest per-

missable statutory limitation of time shall govern

and shall supersede the time limitation herein stated.

If not, state all reasons and facts in support of your

denial.

Original Answer 6. As to this litigation, this interroga-

tory, excepting perhaps as to the last sentence of the

quoted material, is both irrelevant and immaterial and,

——————————

-32a-

further, by its own terms said interrogatory is not

designed to lead to information or data which are relevant

and/or material. Amd see response to request for admis-

sion numbered four, simultaneously filed herewith, which

response, by this reference, is made a part of this answer.

Supplemental Answer 6. Yes, both bonds.

Interrogatory 7. State whether the liability of the

Underwriter was, at all times relevant to your claim, sub-

ject to Rider F 1691, such that the Insuring Agreement

of the Bond provides:

The Underwriter, in consideration of the payment of

the premium, and subject to the Declarations made a

part hereof, the General Agreements, Conditions and

Limitations, and other terms of this bond agrees to

indemnify the Insured in accordance with such of the

Schedules as are specifically designated by the inser-

tion of an amount of indemnity in Item 3 of the Dec-

larations against the loss of funds or other property

which the Insured shall sustain and discover as pro-

vided in Section | through any fraudulent or dishon-

est acts committed by any Employees, acting alone or

in collusion with others, the amount of indemnity on

each of such Employees being the amount or amounts

stated in Schedule A, B and C, respectively, which-

ever is applicable to such Employees as provided in

Section 7.

If not, state all reasons and facts in support of your

denial.

Original Answer 7. For the reasons set forth in response

to Defendant Fidelity’s request for admission numbered

five, simultaneously filed herewith, plaintiffs cannot now

respond to this interrogatory; said response, by this ref-

erence, is made a part of this answer.

a

-33a-

Supplemental Answer 7. Rider F 6624 changes each

bond from a “faithful discharge of duties bond” to a

“fraud or dishonest” bond, and the quoted language as

modified by said Rider, appears. Still, the language “sub-

ject to Rider F 1691” appearing in this interrogatory

renders the question vague and imprecise as “F 1691”

only relates to “dues collectors, shop stewards or shop

chairmen,” while Rider F 6624 relates to specific provi-

sions of the insuring agreements.

Interrogatory 8. State whether Plaintiffs have even

been recognized or certified asconstituting the Profes-

sional Air Traffic Controllers Organization (or any affil-

iated organization) by any court or Government agency.

If so, identify the court or agency, the date and

circumstances of such action, and and all documents evi-

dencing such action.

Original Answer 8. Yes. See records of certification

before the Federal Labor Relations Authority.

Supplemental Answer 8. See copy of certificate

annexed as Exhibit 1, and copy of PATCO Constitution

annexed as Exhibit 2.

Interrogatory 10. State whether you filed a detailed

proof of loss, duly sworn to, with Fidelity and Deposit,

within four months of the date given in response to

Interrogatory No. . If so, identify the date of the notice,

to whom it was delivered, and its contents (in lieu of

identifying the contents of such document, at your

option, attach a copy to your answers to these interroga-

tories.

Original Answer 10. As to this litigation, this interro-

gatory is both irrelevant and immaterial and, further, by

-34a-

its own terms, said interrogatory is not designed to lead to

information or data which are relevant and/or material.

Supplemental Answer 10. Neither of the named plain-

tiffs did so.

Interrogatory 12. State whether you filed a detailed

proof of loss, duly sworn to, with Fidelity & Deposit,

within four months of the date given in response to Inter-

rogatory No. 11. If so, identify the date of the notice, to

whom it was delivered, and its contents (in lieu of identi-

fying the contents of such document, at your option, at-

tach a copy to your answers to these interrogatories).

Original Answer 12. As to this litigation, this interro-

gatory is both irrelevant and immaterial and, further, by

its own terms, said interrogatory is not designed to lead

to information or data which are relevant and/or mate-

rial.

Supplemental Answer 12. Neither of the named plain-

tiffs did so.

Interrogatory 13. State whether you ever filed any

detailed proof of loss, duly sworn to, with Fidelity &

Deposit. If so, identify the date of the notice, the method

and date of delivery, to whom it was delivered, and its

contents (in lieu of identifying the contents of such doc-

ument, at your option, attach a copy to your answers to

these interrogatories).

Original Answer 13. As to this litigation, this interro-

gatory is both irrelevant and immaterial and, further, by

its own terms, said interrogatory is not designed to lead

to information or data which are relevant and/or

material.

-35a-

Supplemental Answer 13. Yes. After a telephone con-

versation on April 27, 1982 with John R. Pinkett, Inc.,

counsel for the plaintiffs delivered to the defendant,

Fidelity, through John R. Pinkett, Inc., a copy of the

proposed complaint of certain nonstriking members of

PATCO as filed in the United States Bankruptcy Court

for the District of Columbia. Said complaint specifically

identifies (411) certain acts which plaintiffs then, and

here, aver to constitute acts within the ambit of Fidelity’s

bond. See Speicher Deposition Exhibits 3 and 6, and

Deposition, pp. 18-20. See u/so Rule 911, Bankruptcy

Rules (1981).

Anthony Skirlick

County of )

) ss:

State of California )

On this day of June, 1985, before me, a notary in

and for aforesaid jurisdiction personally appeared

Anthony Skirlick, who is personally known to me and

who after taking oath in due form, swore that the

answers to the foregoing interrogatories subscribed by

him are true to the best of his knowledge, information

and belief.

Notary Public

My commission expires:

-36a-

Respectfully submitted,

Ls

Glenn H. Carlson, Esquire

Henney, Carlson & Warren, P.C.

Suite 209

2600 Virginia Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20037

(202) 965-7040

Ls/

Stephen A. Weitzman, Esquire

Suite 300

818 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 887-9190

Counsel to Plaintiffs

-37a-

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

ANTHONY SKIRLICK, et al.,

~~ ~—" s

Plaintiffs,

V. ) Civil Action No. 84-2371

PATCO, et al., Jy Hogan, J.

Defendants. )

)

PLAINTIFFS’ SUPPLEMENTAL ANSWERS TO

DEFENDANT FIDELITY & DEPOSIT COMPANY OF

MARYLAND'S FIRST SET OF INTERROGATORIES

Come now the plaintiffs, Anthony Skirlick, ef al., and

by Anthony Skirlick do hereby supplementally respond

to interrogatory numbered sixteen (16) of the first set of

interrogatories propounded to the plaintiffs by the

defendant Fidelity & Deposit Company of Maryland

(hereinafter “Fidelity”).

INTERROGATORY

Interrogatory 16. If you contend that any employees

[sic] of PATCO committed any fraudulent or dishonest

acts resulting in the loss of funds or other property by you

and/or PATCO, identify with specificity the nature and

circumstances of such acts and the participating parties.

Supplemental Answer 16. And further, upon informa-

tion and belief, the individual defendants, excluding

Teresa E. Green and Cecilia Kessler, individually, and in

conjunction with each other, did alter and modify, in

violation of law and the PATCO constitution, the list of

individuals whose votes would be counted in the “strike

-38a-

vote” which was taken on August 2, and August 3, 1981.

On June 24, 1981, what your deponent viewed to be a

“strike vote” was taken; in that vote an eighty (80%) per-

cent affirmative vote was required to ratify a “strike,”

and said percentage was not obtained on that date. In

order to obtain the eighty (80%) percent figure in the

August 2-3 vote the officers and directors of PATCO,

including the named defendants and each of them,

excepting Ms. Green and Ms. Kessler. conspired to

obtain the eighty (80%) percent vote required to ratify a

strike at all cost; specifically said defendants intentionally

failed to count, and did knowingly reject from the tally,

the votes of those PATCO members who were, inter alia,

(i) near retirerent, (11) were in training, (iii) were on sick

leave. or (iv) were disabled. And that, said acts were dis-

honest and fraudulent.

Further, following the strike of August 3, 1981, the de-

fendants and each of them, acting alone and in conspir-

acy one with another, instituted or caused to be insti-

tuted litigations against certain of PATCO’s members to

force them to pay PATCO dues and fees, and that such

claims were, under the circumstances, and in the view of

your deponent, fraudulently and. dishonestly made.

S

Anthony Skirlick

County of Los Angeles )

) ss:

State of California )

On this 3lst day of May, 1985, before me, a notary in

and for the aforesaid jurisdiction personally appeared

-39a-

Anthony Skirlick, who is personally known to me and

who after taking oath in due form, swore that the

answers to the foregoing interrogatories subscribed by

him are ture to the best of his knowledge, information

and belief.

S

Notary Public

My commission expires: July 9, 1985

(SEAL) Respectfully submitted,

Glenn H. Carlson, Esquire

Henney, Carlson & Warren, P.C.

Suite 209

2600 Virginia Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20037

(202) 965-7040

Stephen A. Weitzman, Esquire

Suite 300

8 8 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 887-9190

Counsel to Plaintiffs

-4(0a-

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

ANTHONY SKIRLICK, ef al., )

Plaintiffs,

Vv. Civil Action No. 84-237]

PATCO, et al., ) Hogan, J.

Defendants. ;

PLAINTIFFS’ SUPPLEMENTAL ANSWERS TO

DEFENDANT FIDELITY & DEPOSIT COMPANY OF

MARYLAND'S FIRST SET OF INTERROGATORIES

Come now the plaintiffs, Anthony Skirlick, et a/., and

by Anthony Skirlick do hereby respond to interrogatory

numbered sixteen (16) of the first set of interrogatories

propounded to the plaintiffs by the defendant Fidelity &

Deposit Company of Maryland (hereinafter “Fidelity”).

INTERROGATORIES

Interrogatory 16. If you contend that any employees [sic]

of PATCO committed any fraudulent or dishonest acts

resulting in the loss of funds or other property by you

and/or PATCO, identify with specificity the nature and

circumstances of such acts and the participating parties.

Answer 16. PATCO, through the named individual

defendants, acting individually and as the board of direc-

tors of PATCO, its agents, officers and employees,

planned and executed an illegal strike against the United

States. PATCO used its funds to organize the strike, to

solicit the membership to participate in the illegal strike

and to execute the strike. That in the course of those

ee

-4la-

acts, the PATCO leadership made certain private repre-

sentations to the membership about the consequences (or

lack of consequences) of such a strike, knowing those

representations to be false at the time they were made.

Further union funds were utilized to pay lawyers to

defend numerous strikers in numerous courts against

criminal charges arising from the strike. The total sums

of monies spent on these efforts is unknown, but

believed to be in the millions of dollars. Such actions

contravened the laws of the United States and were

against the terms and policies set forth in the PATCO

constitution.

In addition, PATCO through its board, officers,

agents, and employees improperly spent union funds to

obtain political assurances that a strike would not precip-

itate loss of jobs.

PATCO improperly established a subsistance fund

which ultimately became a “strike fund.” The payments

to this fund were assessed against the union membership.

The fund was utilized in contravention of the laws of the

United States, which fund (approximately $4.5 million)

was lost to the union, as in substantial part it was

awarded to the Air Transport Association (“ATA”) in

payment of damages owed by PATCO to ATA for the

strike.

All the above acts were done in violation of the trust

and fiduciary responsibilities of PATCO’s board, and

officers and its,agents and were of themselves dishonest

and fraudulent within the meaning of those terms, as

utilized in L.M.R.D.A. 29 U.S.C. § 502.

This answer will be updated with specific instances and

references as same become apparent to the plaintiffs in the

' -42a-

course of their review of PATCO documents and other

discovery.

S

Anthony Skirlick

County of Los Angeles )

) SS:

State of California )

On this 9th day of May, 1985, before me, a notary in

and for the aforesaid jurisdiction personally appeared

Anthony Skirlick, who is personally known to me and

who after taking oath in due form, swore that the answers

to the foregoing interrogatories subscribed by him are

true to the best of his knowledge, information and belief.

S

Notary Public

My commission expires: 2-5-88

(SEAL) Respectfully submitted,

S

Glenn H. Carlson, Esauire

Henney, Carlson & Warren, P.C.

Suite 209

2600 Virginia Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20037

(202) 965-7040

———————

APPENDIX E

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

-43a-

Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act

SAFEGUARDS FOR LABOR ORGANIZATIONS

29 U.S.C. § 501. Fiduciary responsibility of officers of

labor organizations.

(a) Duties of officers; exculpatory provisions and

resolutions void. The officers, agents, shop stewards,

and other representatives of a labor organization occupy

positions of trust in relation to such organization and its

members as a group. It is, therefore, the duty of each

such person, taking into account the special problems

and functions of a labor organization, to hold its money

and property solely for the benefit of the organization

and its members and to manage, invest, and expend the

Same in accordance with its constitution and bylaws and

any resolutions of the governing bodies adopted there-

under, to refrain from dealing with such organization,

and to account to the organization for any profit

received by him in whatever capacity in connection with

transactions conducted by him or under his direction on

behalf of the organization. A general exculpatory provi-

sion in the constitution and bylaws of such a labor

Organization or a general exculpatory resolution of a

governing body purporting to relieve any such person of

liability for breach of the duties declared by this section

shall be void as against public policy.

(b) Violation of duties; action by member after refusal

or failure by labor organization to commence proceed-

ings: jurisdiction: leave of court; counsel fees and ex-

-444-

penses. When any officer. agent. shop steward. or repre-

sentative of any labor organization is alleged to have

violated the duties declared in subsection (a) and the

labor organization or its governing board or officers

refuse or fail to sue or recover damages or secure an

accounting or other appropriate relief within a reasona-

ble time after being requested to do so by any member

of the labor organization, such member may sue such

officer, agent, shop steward. or representative in any

district court of the United States or in any State court

of competent jurisdiction to recover damages or secure

an accounting or other appropriate relief for the benefit

of the labor organization. No such proceeding shall be

brought except upon leave of the court obtained upon

verified application and for good cause shown, which

application may be made ex parte. The trial judge may

allot a reasonable part of the recovery in any action

under this subsection to pay the fees of counsel prose-

cuting the suit at the instance of the member of the

labor organization and to compensate such member for

any expenses necessarily paid or incurred by him in

connection with the litigation.

(c) Embezzlement of assets: penalty. Any person who

embezzies, steals, or unlawfully and willfully abstracts

or converts to his own use, or the use of another, any of

the monies, funds, securities, property, or other assets of

a labor organization of which he is an officer, or by

which he is employed, directly or indirectly, shall be

fined not more than $10,000.00 or imprisoned for not

more than five years, or both. (Sept. 14, 1959, P.L. 86-

257, Title V. section 501, 73 Stat. 535.)

-4Sa-

29 U.S.C. § 502. Bonding of officers and employees of

labor organizations; amount, form, and placement of

bonds; penalty for violation.

(a) Every officer, agent, shop steward, or other repre-

sentative or employee of any labor organization (other

than a labor organization whose property and annual

financial receipts do not exceed $5,000.00 in value), or of

a trust in which a labor organization is interested, who

handles funds or other property thereof shall be bonded

to provide protection against loss by reason of acts of

fraud or dishonesty on his part directly or through con-

nivance with others. The bond of each such person shall

be fixed at the beginning of the organization’s fiscal year

and shall be in an amount not less than ten (10%) per-

cent of the funds handled by him_or his predecessor or

predecessors, if any, during the preceding fiscal vear, but

in no case more than $500,000.00. If the labor organiza-

tion or the trust in which a labor organization is inter-

ested does not have a preceding fiscal year, the amount

of the bond shall be, in the case of a local labor organi-

zation, not less than $1.000.00, and in the case of any

other labor organization or of a trust in which a labor

Organization is interested, not less than $10,000.00. Such

bonds shall be individual or schedule in form, and shail

have a corporate surety company as surety thereon. Any

person who is not covered by such bonds shall not be

permitted to receive, handle, disburse, or otherwise exer-

cise custody or control of the funds or other property of

a labor organization or of a trust in which a labor organ-

ization is interested. No such bond shall be placed

through an agent or broker or with a surety company in

which any labor organization or any officer, agent, shop

steward, or other representative of a labor organization

-46a-

has any direct or indirect interest. Such surety company

shall be a corporate surety which holds a grant of

authority from the Secretary of the Treasury under the

Act of July 30, 1947 (6 U.S.C., sections 6-13), as an

acceptable surety on Federal bonds: Provided, That

when in the opinion of the Secretary a labor organiza-

tion has made other bonding arrangements which would

provide the protection required by this section at com-

parable cost or less, he may exempt such labor organiza-

tion from placing a bond through a surety company

holding such grant of authority.

(b) Any person who willfully violates this section shall

be fined not more than $10,000.00 or imprisoned for not

more than one year, or both. (Sept. 14, 1959, P.L. 86-

527, Title V, section 502, 73 Stat. 536; Sept. 29, 1965,

P.L. 89-216, section 1, 79 Stat. 888.)

CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS (1981)

a> C.F mt

Part 453—GENERAL STATEMENT CONCERNING

BONDING REQUIREMENTS OF THE LABOR-MANAGE-

MENT REPORTING AND DISCLOSURE ACT OF 1959.

INTRODUCTION

Section 453.1 Scope and significance of this part.

(a) Functions of the Department of Labor. This part

discusses the meaning and scope of section 502 of the

Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act of

1959! (hereinafter referred to as the Act), which requires

73 Stat. 536: 29 U.S.C... section 502.

-47a-

the bonding of certain officials, representatives, and

emplovees of labor organizations and of trusts in which

labor organizations are interested. The provisions of sec-

tion 502 are subject to the general investigatory authority

of the director, Office of Labor-Management Standards

Enforcement, embodied in section 60! of the Act which

empowers him to investigate whenever he believes it

necessary in order to determine whether any person has

violated or is about to violate any provisions of the Act

(except Title | or amendments to other statutes made by

section 505 or Title VII). The Department of Labor 1s

also authorized, under the general provisions of section

607. to forward to the Attorney General, for appropriate

action, any evidence of violations of section 502 devel-

oped in such investigations, as may be found to warrant

criminal prosecution under the Act or other Federal law.

(b) Purpose and effect of interpretations. \nterpreta-

tions of the Labor-Management Services Administrator

with respect to the bonding provisions are set forth in

this part to provide those affected by these provisions of

the Act with “a practical guide *** as to how the office

representing the public interest in its enforcement will

seek to apply it.”? The correctness of an interpretation

can be determined finally and authoritatively only by the

courts. It is necessary, however, for the Labor-Manage-

ment Services Administrator to reach informed conclu-

sions as to the meaning of the law to enable him to carry

out his statutory duties of administration and enforce-

ment. The interpretations of the Labor-Management

Services Administrator contained in this part, which are

issued upon the advice of the Solicitor of Labor, indi-

cate the construction of the law which will guide him in

~ Skidmore v. Switt & Co.. 323 U.S. 134, 138.

-48a-

performing his duties unless and until he is directed oth-

erwise by authoritative rulings of the courts or unless

and until he subsequently decides that a prior inter-

pretation is incorrect. However, the omission to discuss a

particular problem in this part or in interpretations sup-

plementing it. should not be taken to indicate the adop-

tion of any position by the Labor-Management Services

Administrator with respect to such problem or to consti-

tute an administrative interpretation or practice.

(c) Earlier interpretations superseded. To the extent

that prior opinions and interpretations under the Act.

relating to the bonding of certain officials. representa-

tives, and employees of labor organizations and of trusts

in which labor organizations are interested, are inconsis-

tent or in conflict with the principles stated in this part,

they are hereby rescinded and withdrawn.

*x *x *

Section 453.3 Labor organizations within the coverage

of section 502(a).

Any labor organization as defined in sections 3(i) and

3(j)_of the Act® is a labor organization within the cover-

age of section 502(a) unless its property and annual

financial receipts do not exceed $5,000.00 in value. The

determination as to whether a particular labor organiza-

tion is excepted from the application of section 502(a) is

to be made at the beginning of each of its fiscal years on

the basis of the total value of all its property at the

beginning of, and its total financial receipts during, the

preceding fiscal year of the organization.

See Part 451 of this chapter.

-49a-

Section 453.7 “Funds or other property” of a labor

organization or of a trust in which a labor organization

is interested.

The affirmative requirement for bonding the specified

personnel is applicable only if they handle “funds or

other property” of the labor organization or trust con-

cerned. A consideration of the purpose of section 502

and a reading of the section as a whole, including provi-

sions for fixing the amount of bonds, suffice to show

that the term “funds or other property,” as used in this

section of the Act, encompasses more than cash alone

but that it does not embrace all of the property of a

labor organization or of a trust in which a labor organi-

zation is interested. The term does not include property

of a relatively permanent nature, such as land, buildings,

furniture, fixtures and office and delivery equipment

used in the operations of a labor organization or trust. It

does. however. include items in the nature of quick

assets, such as checks and other negotiable instruments,

government obligations and marketable securities as well

as cash, and other property held, not for use, but for

conversion into cash or for similar purposes making it

substantially equivalent to funds.

Section 453.8 Personnel who “handle” funds or other

property.

(a) General considerations. Section 502(a) requires

“every” person specified in its bonding requirement “who

handles” funds or other property of the labor organiza-

tion or trust to be bonded. It does not contain any

exemption based on the amount of the funds or other

property handled by particular personnel. Therefore, if

the bonding requirement is otherwise applicable to such

-S0a-

persons, the amount of the funds or the value of the

property handled by them does not affect such applica-

bility. In determining whether a person “handles” funds

or other property within the meaning of section 502(a).

however, it is important to consider the term “handles”

in the light of the basic purpose which Congress sought

to achieve by the bonding requirement and the language

chosen to make that purpose effective. Thus. while it ts

clear that section 502(a) should be considered as repre-

senting the minimum requirements which Congress deemed

necessary in order to insure the reasonable protection of

the funds and other property of labor organizations and

trusts within the coverage of the section, it is equally

clear from the legislative history and the language used

that Congress was aware of cost considerations and did

not intend to require unreasonable, unnecessary or

duplicative bonding. In terms of these general considera-

tions, more specific content may be assigned to the term

“handles” by reference to the prohibition in Section

502(a) against permitting any person not covered by an

appropriate bond “to receive. handle, disburse. or other-

wise exercise custody or control” of the funds or other

property of a labor organization or of a trust in which a

labor organization is interested. The phrase “receive.

handle, disburse, or otherwise exercise custody or con-

trol” is not to be considered as expanding the scope of

the term “handles” but rather as indicating facets of

“handles” which in a_ specific prohibition, Congress

believed should be clearly set forth.

(b) Persons included generally. The basic objective of

secuon 502(a) is to provide reasonable protection of

funds or other property rather than to insure against

every conceivable possibility of loss. Accordingly. a per-

-Sla-

son shall be deemed to be “handling” funds or other

property, so as to require bonding under that section,

whenever his duties or activities with respect to given

funds or other property are such that there is a signifi-

cant risk of loss by reason of fraud or dishonesty on the

part of such person, acting either alone or in collusion

with others.

(c) Physical contact as criterion of handling. Physical

dealing with funds or other property is, under the princi-

ples above stated, not necessarily a controlling criterion

in every case for determining the persons who “handle”

within the meaning of section 502(a). Physical contact

with cash, checks or similar property generally consti-

tutes “handling.” On the other hand, bonding may not

be required for office personnel who from time to time

perform counting, packaging, tabulating or similar duties

which involve physical contact with checks, securities, or

other funds or property but which are performed under

conditions that cannot reasonably be said to give rise to

significant risks with respect to the receipt, safekeeping

or disbursement of funds or property. This may be the

case where significant risks of fraud or dishonesty in the

performance of duties of an essentially clerical character

are precluded by the closeness of the supervision pro-

vided or by the nature of the funds or other property

handled.

(d) “Handling” funds or other property without physi-

cal contact. Personnel who do not physically handle

funds or property may nevertheless “handle” within the

meaning of section 502(a) where they have or perform

significant duties with respect to the receipt, safekeeping

or disbursement of funds or other property. For exam-

ple. persons who have access to a safe deposit box or

-S2a-

similar depository for the purpose of adding to, withdraw-

ing. checking or otherwise dealing with its contents may

be said to “handle” those contents within the meaning of

section 502(a) even though they do not at any time during

the year actually secure such access for such purposes.

Similarly, those charged with general responsibility for

the safekeeping of funds or other property such as the

treasurer of a labor organization, should be considered as

handling funds or other property. It should also be noted

that the extent of actual authority to deal with funds or

property may be immaterial where custody or other func-

tions have been granted which create a substantial risk of

fraud or dishonesty. Thus, if a bank account were main-

tained in the name of a particular officer or employee

whose signature the bank were authorized to honor, it

could not be contended that he did not “handle” funds

merely because he had been forbidden by the organization

or by his superiors to make deposits or withdrawals.

(e) Disbursement of funds or other property. \t is clear

from both the purpose and language of section 502(a)

that personnel described in the section who actually dis-

burse funds or other property, such as officers or trustees

authorized to sign checks or persons who make cash dis-

bursements must be considered as handling such funds

and property. Whether others who may influence, author-

ize or direct disbursements must also be considered to

handle funds or other property can be determined only

by reference to the specific duties or responsibilities of

these persons in a particular labor organization or trust.

[28 F.R. 14394, Dec. 27, 1963, as amended at 30 F.R.

14925, Dec. 2, 1965]

Section 453.9 “Handling” of funds or other property

by personnel functioning as a governing body

~ -53a-

(a) (1) General considerations. For many labor organi-

zations and trusts special problems involving disburse-

ments will be presented by those who, as trustees or

members of an executive board or similar governing

body, are, as a group, charged with general responsibility

for the conduct of the business and affairs of the organi-

zation or trust. Often such bodies may approve con-

tracts, authorize disbursements, audit accounts and exer-

cise similar responsibilities.

(2) It is difficult to formulate any general rule for such

cases. The mere fact that a board of trustees, executive

board or similar governing body has general supervision

of the affairs of a trust or labor organization, including

investment policy and the establishment of fiscal control,

would not necessarily mean that the members of this

body “handle” the funds or other property of the organi-

zation. On the other hand, the facts may indicate that

the board or other body exercises such close, day-to-day

supervision of those directly charged with the handling

of funds or other property that it might be unreasonable

to conclude that the members of such board were not, as

a group, also participating in the handling of such funds

and property.’ Also, whether or not the members of a

particular board of trustees or executive board handle

funds or other property in their capacity as such, certain

of these members may hold other offices or have other

functions involving duties directly related to the receipt,

safekeeping or disbursement of the funds or other prop-

erty of the organization so that it would be necessary

that they be bonded irrespective of their board member-

ship.

’ As to group coverage, see section 453.16.

-54a-

(b) Nature of responsibilities as affecting “handling.”

With respect to particular responsibilities of boards of

trustees, executive boards and similar bodies in disbursing

funds or other property, much would depend upon the

system of fiscal controls provided in a particular trust or

labor organization. The allocation of funds or authoriza-

tion of disbursements for a particular purpose is not

necessarily handling of funds within the meaning of the

section. If the allocation or authorization merely permits

expenditures by a disbursing officer who has responsibil-

itv for determining the validity or propriety of particular

expenditures, then the action of the disbursing officer and

not that of the board would constitute handling. But if

pursuant to a direction of the board, the disbursing officer

performed only ministerial acts without responsibility to

determine whether the expenditures were valid or appro-

priate, then the board’s action would constitute handling.

In such a case, the absence of fraud or dishonesty in the

acts of the disbursing officer alone would not necessarily

prevent fraudulent or dishonest disbursements. The per-

son or persons who are charged with or exercise responsi-

bility for determining whether specific disbursements are

hona fide, regular, and in accordance with the applicable

constitution, trust instrument, resolution or other laws or

documents governing the disbursement of funds or other

property should be considered to handle such funds and

property and be bonded accordingly.

[28 F.R. 14394, Dec. 27. 1963, as amended at 30 F.R.

14926, Dec. 2. 1965]

Section 453.11 The nature of the “duties” to which the

bonding requirement relates.

-55a-

The bonding requirement in section 502(a) relates only

to duties of the specified personnel in connection with

their handling of funds or other property to which this

section refers. It does not have reference to the special

duties imposed upon representatives of labor organiza-

tions by virtue of the positions of trust which they

occupy. which are dealt with in section 50I(a), and for

which civil remedies for breach of the duties are pro-

vided in section S5O0I(b). The fact that the bonding

requirement is limited to personnel who handle funds or

other property indicates the correctness of these conclu-

sions. They find further support in the differences

between sections 501(a) and 502(a) of the Act which suf-

ficiently indicate that the scope of the two sections is not

coextensive.

Section 453.12 Meaning of fraud or dishonesty.

The term “fraud or dishonesty” shall be deemed to

encompass all those risks of loss that might arise through

dishonest or fraudulent acts in handling of funds as delin-

eated in sections 453.8 and 453.9. As such, the bond

must provide recovery for loss occasioned by such acts

even though no personal gain accrues to the person

committing the act and the act is not subject to punish-

ment as a crime or misdemeanor, provided that within

the law of the state in which the act is committed, a

court would afford recovery under a bond providing pro-

tection against fraud or dishonesty. As usually applied

under state laws, the term “fraud or dishonesty” encom-

passes such matters as larceny, theft, embezzlement,

forgery. misappropriation, wrongful abstraction, wrong-

ful conversion, willful misapplication or any other fraud-

ulent or dishonest acts resulting in financial loss. [30 F.R.

14926, Dec. 2. 1965]

-56a-

AMOUNT OF BONDS

Section 453.13 The statutory provision.

Section 502(a) of the Act requires that the bond of

each “person” handling “funds or other property” who

must be bonded be fixed “at the beginning of the organi-

zation’s fiscal year *** in an amount not less than 10

percentum of the funds handled by him and his prede-

cessor or predecessors, if any, during the preceding fiscal

vear, but in no case more than $500,000.00.” If there is

no preceding fiscal year, the amount of each required

bond is set at not less than $1,000.00 for local labor

organizations and at not less than $10,000.00 for other

labor organizations or for trusts in which a labor organi-

zation is interested.

Section 453.14 The meaning of “funds.”

While the protection of bonds required under the Act

must extend to any actual loss from the acts of fraud or

dishonesty in the handling of “funds or other property”

(section 453.7), the amount of the bond depends upon

the “funds” handled by the personnel bonded and their

predecessors, if any. “Funds” as here used is not defined

in the Act. As in the case of “funds or other property”

discussed earlier in section 453.7, the term would not

include property of a relatively permanent nature such as

land, buildings, furniture, fixtures, or property similarly

held for use in the operations of the labor organization

or trust rather than as quick assets. In its normal mean-

ing. however, “funds” would include, in addition to cash,

items such as bills and notes, government obligations

and marketable securities, and in a particular case might

well include all the “funds or other property” handled

-S7a-

during the vear in the positions occupied by the particu-

lar personnel for whom the bonding is required. In any

event, it 1s clear that bonds fixed in the amount of ten

(10) percent or more of the-total “funds or other prop-

erty’ handled by the occupants of such positions during

the preceding fiscal year would be in amounts sufficient

to meet the statutory requirement. Of course, in situa-

tions where a significant saving in bonding costs might

result from computing separately the amounts of “funds”

and of “other property” handled. criteria for distinguish-

ing particular items to be included in the quoted terms

would prove useful. While the criteria to be applied in a

particular case would depend on all the relevant facts

concerning the specific items handled, it may be assumed

as a general principle that at least those items which may

be handled in a manner similar to cash and which

involve a like risk of loss should be included in comput-

ing the amount of “funds” handled. [30 F.R. 14926, Dec.

2, 1965]

FORMS OF BONDS

Section 453.18 Bonds “individual or schedule in form.”

(a) General consideration. \n addition to such substan-

tive matters as the personnel who must be bonded and

the scope and the amount of the prescribed bonds, which

have been discussed previously, the form of the bonds is

the subject of a specific provision of section 502(a).

Under this provision, a bond meeting the substantive

requirements of the section may be either “individual or

schedule in form.” These terms are not specially defined

and could be descriptive of a variety of possible forms of

-58a-

bonds. According to trade usage. an individual bond is a

single bond covering a single named individual to a

designated amount. and bonds “schedule in form” may

include either name schedule or position schedule bonds.

A name schedule bond is typically a single bond covering

a series or list of named individuals, each of whom is

bonded separately to a designated amount. A position

schedule bond is typically a single bond providing cover-

age with respect to any occupant or holder of one or

more specified positions during the term of the bond,

each office or position being covered to a designated

amount. In a statute relating to trade or commerce, it 1s

frequently helpful to consider whatever trade or com-

mercial usages may have developed with respect to the

statutory terms.’ References to individual, schedule and

position schedule bonds may be found in other acts of

Congress and indicate a clear awareness of trade usages

and terminology in this field.'”

(b) Particular forms of bonds. lf the phrase “individual

or schedule in form” is considered in light of the trade

usages, section 502(a) at least permits bonds which are

individual, name schedule or position schedule in form.

Of course, section 502(a) does not require any particular

tvpe of individual or schedule bonds where different

types exist or may be developed. It could not be said, for

example, that a bond which schedules positions accord-

ing to similarities in duties, risks, or required amounts of

coverage is not “schedule in form” within the meaning of

section 502(a) merely because the particular form of

scheduling invotved was not employed in bonds current

* See 2 Sutherland. Statutory Construction (3d ed. 1943). section 4919.

Act of August 24, 1954. 6&8 Stat. 335. 12 U.S.C.. section 1766 (g): Act

of August 9, 1955. 69 Stat. 618. 6 U.S.C... section 14.

-59a-

at the time the section became law. A more specific illus-

tration would be a bond scheduling shop stewards as a

group because of the similar duties they perform in col-

lecting dues. or members of an executive board as a group

because of the fact that duties are imposed upon the

board as such. A bond of this type would be “schedule in

form™ within the meaning of section 502(a) and assuming

adequacy of amount and coverage of all persons whom it

is necessary to bond, such a bond would be in conformity

with the statute. Also, a bond scheduling positions or

groups of positions according to amounts of funds

handled by occupants of the positions could be viewed as

“schedule in form.”

(c) Additional bonding. Section 502(a) neither prevents

additional bonding beyond that required by its terms nor

prescribes the form in which such additional coverage

may be taken. Thus, so long as a particular bond is sched-

ule in form as to the personnel required to be bonded

and schedules coverage of these persons in at least the

minimum required amount, additional coverage either as

to personnel or amount may be taken in any form either

in the same or in separate bonds. A bond which provided

name or position schedule coverage for all persons

required to be bonded under section S502(a), each sched-

uled person or position being bonded in at least the

required minimum amount, would clearly be “schedule in

form” within the meaning of section 502(a) regardless of

the extent or form of additional schedule or blanket cov-

erage provided in the same bond.

ok * *

MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS

Section 453.22 Prohibition of certain activities by un-

bonded persons.

-60a-

(a) Section 502(a) provides that persons who are not

covered by bonds as required by that section shall not be

permitted to receive, handle, disburse, or otherwise exer-

cise custody or control of the funds or other property of

a labor organization or of a trust in which a labor organ-

ization is interested. This prohibits personnel who are

required to be bonded, as explained in section 453.8

from performing any of these acts without being covered

by the required bonds. In addition, this provision makes

it unlawful for any person with power to do so to dele-

gate or assign the duties of receiving, handling. disburs-

ing, or otherwise exercising custody or control of such

funds or property to any person who is not bonded in

accordance with the provisions of section 502(a).

(b) The legislative history of the Act indicates. how-

ever, that it was not the intent of Congress to make

compliance with the bonding requirements of section

502(a) a condition on the right of banks or other finan-

cial institutions to serve as the depository of the funds of

labor organizations or trusts. Similarly, it appears that

the provisions of that section do not require the bonding

of brokers or their independent contractors who have

contracted with labor organizations or trusts for the per-

formance of functions which are normally not carried

out by such labor organizations’ or trusts’ own officials

or employees, such as the buying of securities, the per-

formance of other investment functions, or the transpor-

tation of funds by armored truck.!?

Section 453.23 Persons becoming subject to bonding

requirements during fiscal year.

~ See section 453.6(b)

-6la-

Considering the purpose of section 502, the language

of the prohibition should be considered to apply to per-

sons who because of election, employment or change in

duties begin to handle funds or other property during the

course of a particular fiscal year. Bonds should be

secured for such persons, in an amount based on the

funds handled by their predecessors during the preceding

fiscal year, before they are permitted to engage in any of

the fund-handling activities referred to in the prohibition,

unless coverage with respect to such persons is already

provided by bonds in force meeting the requirements of

section 502(a).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.