Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Dianella Shipping Corp. v. Hernandez

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

NO.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

DIANELLA SHIPPING CORPORATION,

IN PERSONAM, and M/V RAJAAN,

Her Engines, Tackle, Apparel, Etc.,

IN REM,

Petitioners

V.

ALEJANDRO HERNANDEZ,

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

KENNETH D. KUYKENDALL

2200 Texas Commerce Tower

Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 224-8380

Attorney for Petitioners

Of Counsel:

ROYSTON, RAYZOR, VICKERY & WILLIAMS

2200 Texas Commerce Tower

Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 224-8380

PET LTT A IRD

Alpha Law Brief Co., Inc.— 8748 Westpark—Houston, Texas 77063 — 789-2000

I

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1.

Whether the decision of this Court in Sure-Tan v.

N.L.R.B., 467 U.S. 883, 104 S. Ct. 2803, 81 L.Ed.2d

732 (1984) that an illegal alien must establish his legal

right to be present and employed in the United States

aS a prerequisite for the award of future United States

wages is limited to labor cases under 29 U.S.C. § 158

or whether this principle is applicable to other causes

of action pursued by an illegal alien under other federal

statutes, including the Longshore & Harbor Workers’

Compensation Act, 33 U.S.C. § 905(b), to insure con-

sistency in the application of the immigration laws of

the United States.

y &

Whether the District Court should have referred this

illegal alien to the Immigration and Naturalization Service

for a determination of his right to remain in the United

States legally because Congress has placed such deter-

mination within the primary jurisdiction of the executive

branch of the government.

II

LIST OF PARTIES

Pursuant to Rule 21.1(b), Rules of the Supreme Court,

counsel for Petitioner certifies that the filing of the

complete list of all parties to the proceedings below and,

additionally, all parties and persons believed to be in-

terested in the outcome of this Petition:

ee

— Pr FryVr -

—_

oo

Ps Perr r >

Alejandro Hernandez.

Dianella Shipping Corporation.

Ishikawajima Harima Heavy Industries, Ltd.

O.J.I. Seke-Kogyo Kabushinki Kaisha.

Cargill, Inc.

Brazos River Harbor Navigation District.

Affiliated Rice Mills.

Trans Ocean America, Inc.

Langston Companies, Inc.

Amoco Fabrics Company.

Patchogue Plymouth Division.

Euro Grain Trading, Ltd.

General Produce and Fibres, Ltd.

West Texas Rice Company.

Synthetic Industries Texas, Inc.

Texas Employers’ Insurance Association.

The West of England Ship Owners Insurance

Services Limited.

American International Underwriters.

KENNETH D. KUYKENDALL

Attorney for Petitioners,

M/V RAJAAN and Dianella

Shipping Corporation

Ill

SUBJECT INDEX

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ................0ceceeceee

ee ec es wewasauké

es a a csdsndcevccsecaceancccc

gy

ETT eT Tn

erie c i i ivnevccesceccccesa.

FEDERAL STATUTES INVOLVED ..................

1. The opinion of the Court of Appeals should be

reviewed because it is in direct conflict with the

prior decision of this Court in Sure-Tan v. N.L.R.B.,

467 US. 883, 104 S. Ct. 2803, 81 L.Ed.2d 732

(1984) and the immigration laws of the United

DT CUUGh caw buveencbaséhuacstesedetwinacas

2. The opinion of the Court of Appeals should be

reviewed because it erroneously establishes the au-

thority of the District Court to determine an illegal

alien’s right to remain in the United States or to be

deported even though Congress has assigned such

determination exclusively to the executive branch

PE cei kseabae6au dene cébeceuns canes

CE cancun sanGaeserbdvhsccweseesecacscess

SUMNER MIE GMMR WME se cccnccesececccesesese

APPENDIX A — District Court’s Findings of Fact and

BBA Peer rrr erereree

APPENDIX B— Fifth Circuit’s Opinion ..............

APPENDIX C — Fifth Circuit’s Substituted Opinion ...

APPENDIX D — Fifth Circuit’s Order Overruling Petition

for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehear-

RE Sausbedwavecseeataenenss

APPENDIX E—Trial Record Volume 5, pp. 6-12, 25-30,

DTP CSUEGERE Seb GR dnesbénsseecdas<s

APPENDIX F —Letter From TIRR ..................

10

11

50a

62a

IV

LIST OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Carnation Co. v. Pacific Westbound Conference, 383 US.

213, 383 U.S. 932, 86 S. Ct. 781, 15 L.Ed.2d 709 (1966) 20

De Canas v. Bica, 424 U.S. 351, 96 S. Ct. 933, 47 L.Ed.

Oe Se RE No ck Kida bag tei hanes kee ieee se kanes 17

F.C.C. v. Shreiber, 381 U.S. 279, 85 S. Ct. 1458, 14 L.Ed.

a Se BREE | SA RGKsd ehkaednnedansuRanseonKkeuese 16

Jean v. Nelson, 711 F.2d 1455 (Sth Cir. 1983), aff'd, 472

US. 846, 105 S. Ct. 2992, 86 L.Ed.2d 664 (1985) ... 18

Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp. v. Pfeifer, 462 U.S. 523, 103

ete eek Boe. | errrroerrrre ree 12

Landon v. Plasencia, 459 U.S. 21, 103 S. Ct. 321, 74 L.Ed.

Se Be LEE oe ek ee eo ciabs dean ciseh sd cobieuwekaes 18

Nader v. Allegheny Airlines, Inc., 426 U.S. 290, 96 S. Ct.

so) Ae Be ee, | rere rere 20

Parsons v. U.S., 670 F.2d 164, 229 Ct. Cl. 335 (1982) .. 16

Sure-Tan, Inc. v. N.L.R.B., 467 U.S. 883, 104 S. Ct. 2803,

eR ee a, irre rr re passim

United States v. Cantu, 557 F.2d 1173 (Sth Cir. 1977),

cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1063, 98 S. Ct. 1236, 55 L.Ed.2d

RO RE: esa din 8S knok ba N Oh hs Seta bs ca hendaees 21

United States v. Lopez, 521 F.2d 437 (Sth Cir.), cert.

denied, 423 U.S. 995, 96 S. Ct. 421, 46 L.Ed.2d 368

6, eRe er errr Ee per EP Pr. merry TE re re 21

United States v. Pereira-Pineda, 721 F.2d 137 (Sth Cir.

i) a rT Pe ere ere errr rr ere rr yy rrr 21

Weinberger v. Bentex Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 412 U.S. 645,

03 S. Ct. 2688, 37 L.BG26 29S (1G7S) 2c cccsccccnnss 20

STATUTES

Bp be So ee Sree mA pr sre yy ree 9,17, 18

Re Fa GR ee a porn yae rere gr nr eed rey 17

is Eos oc oe ceeee save Ladasvesuesaboneas 3,18

De, ND Si teas cwadecketebecseparanseade 3,18

“Ee Tae 1S a eee Mis en oye ae 4

De LIED pdccetuencesedecueaeabsnda 20

Se ICR UCUDD (ci kcaksanndnaekeeceeswsen’s 21

Be a ir oe ay aa eae 5, 16, 19

ep to De orev e rr rrr trey Try eer ee 10

Be Wn SD oka cedawdcdenkecdGenceaskness 3,10, 11, 14,17

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

H.R. Rep. No. 682(1}, 99th Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in

1986 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 5649, 5650 .... 13

NO.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Wnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

DIANELLA SHIPPING CORPORATION,

IN PERSONAM, and M/V RAJAAN,

Her Engines, Tackle, Apparel, Etc.,

IN REM,

Petitioners

V.

ALEJANDRO HERNANDEZ,

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner prays that a Writ of Certiorari issue to re-

view the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit entered in the above entitled cause

on March 30, 1988, as modified by the per curiam opin-

ion dated June 20, 1988.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law of the

District Court dated August 5, 1985, are unreported, but

are attached hereto as Appendix “A”. The original opin-

ion of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit affirm-

ing in part, vacating in part, and remanding to the Dis-

trict Court is reported at 841 F.2d 582 (Sth Cir. 1988),

and it is attached as Appendix “B”. The subsequent

per curiam opinion of the Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit modifying the original opinion in response

to the Petition for Rehearing is reported at 848 F.2d

498 (Sth Cir. 1988), and it is attached as Appendix “C”.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit was entered on March 30, 1988. A timely Peti-

tion for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc

was filed, and the subsequent opinion modifying the orig-

inal opinion was entered on June 20, 1988. A timely

Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing

En Banc was filed, but it was denied on July 21, 1988.

The Order denying said Petition is attached hereto as

Appendix “D”. A Protective Motion for Extension of

Time to File Petition for Writ of Certiorari was filed,

and it was granted on September 12, 1988. This Order

granted Petitioner an extension of time for filing the

Petition for Writ of Certiorari up to and including

October 18, 1988. The District Court had jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1333. The jurisdiction of this

Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

3

FEDERAL STATUTES INVOLVED

The following United States Statutes are involved in

this case:

The Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation

Act, in pertinent part:

33 US.C.A. § 905(b) (West 1986)

In the event of injury to a person covered under this

chapter caused by the negligence of a vessel, then such

person, or anyone otherwise entitled to recover damages

by reason thereof, may bring an action against such ves-

sel as a third party in accordance with the provisions of

section 933 of this title. ...

The Immigration and Naturalization Act, in pertinent

part:

8 U.S.C.A. § 1105a (West Supp. 1988)

Judicial review of orders of deportation and exclusion

(a) Exclusiveness of procedure

The procedure prescribed by, and all the provisions of

Chapter 158 of Title 28 shall apply to, and shall be the

sole and exclusive procedure for, the judicial review of

all final orders of deportation heretofore or hereafter

made against aliens within the United States pursuant to

administrative proceedings under section 1252(b) of this

title or comparable provisions of any prior Act... ;

8 U.S.C.A. § 1252(b) (West 1970 & Supp. 1988)

Apprehension and deportation of aliens

(b) Proceedings to determine deportability; removal ex-

penses

A special inquiry officer shall conduct proceedings un-

der this section to determine the deportability of any

4

alien, and shall administer oaths, present and receive evi-

dence, interrogate, examine, and cross-examine the alien

or witnesses, and as authorized by the Attorney General,

shall make determinations, including orders of deporta-

tion. Determination of deportability in any case shall be

made only upon a record made in a proceeding before a

special inquiry officer, at which the alien shall have rea-

sonable opportunity to be present, unless by reason of

the alien’s mental incompetency it is impracticable for

him to be present, in which case the Attorney General

shall prescribe necessary and proper safeguards for the

rights and privileges of such alien... .

(4) no decision of deportability shall be valid

unless it is based upon reasonable, substantial, and

probative evidence.

The procedure so prescribed shall be the sole and ex-

clusive procedure for determining the deportability of an

alien under this section. .. .

8 U.S.C.A. § 1324(a) (West Supp. 1988)

Bringing in and harboring certain aliens

(a) Criminal Penalties

(1) Any person who—

(C) knowing or in reckless disregard of the fact

that an alien has come to, entered, or remains in the

United States in violation of law, conceals, harbors,

or shields from detection, or attempts to conceal,

harbor, or shield from detection, such alien in any

place, including any building or any means of trans-

portation; or

(D) encourages or induces an alien to come to,

enter, or reside in the United States, knowing or in

reckless disregard of the fact that such coming to,

entry, or residence is or will be in violation of law,

5

shall be fined in accordance with Title 18, imprisoned

not more than five years, or both, for each alien in re-

spect to whom any violation of this subsection occurs.

8 U.S.C.A. § 1361 (West Supp. 1988)

Burden of proof upon alien

Whenever any person makes application for a visa or

any other document required for entry, or makes applica-

tion for admission, or otherwise attempts to enter the

United States, the burden of proof shall be upon such

person to establish that he is eligible to receive such visa

or such document, or is not subject to exclusion under

any provision of this chapter, and, if an alien, that he

is entitled to the nonimmigrant, immigrant, special immi-

grant, immediate relative, or refugee status claimed, as

the case may be. If such person fails to establish to the

satisfaction of the consular officer that he is eligible to

receive a visa or other document required for entry, no

visa or other document required for entry shall be issued

to such person, nor shall such person be admitted to the

United States unless he establishes to the satisfaction of

the Attorney General that he is not subject to exclusion

under any provision of this chapter. In any deportation

proceeding under part V of this subchapter against any

person, the burden of proof shall be upon such person to

show the time, place, and manner of his entry into the

United States, but in presenting such proof he shall be

entitled to the production of his visa or other entry docu-

ment, if any, and of any other documents and records,

not considered by the Attorney General to be confidential,

pertaining to such entry in the custody of the Service.

If such burden of proof is not sustained, such person

shall be presumed to be in the United States in violation

of law.

6

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is a cause of action for personal injuries sustained

by longshoreman Alejandro Hernandez while working

onboard the M/V RAJAAN on September 21, 1983,

pursuant to $905(b) of the Longshore & Harbor

Workers’ Compensation Act (LHWCA), 33 U.S.C. § 901,

et seq. The District Court found vessel owner Dianella

Shipping Corporation, (hereinafter “Dianella”) negligent,

and the District Court properly awarded damages for

Hernandez’ past medical expenses during Hernandez’

rehabilitation in Houston ($153,472). Nevertheless, al-

though Hernandez was an illegal alien without any basis

for remaining in the United States, the District Court

awarded Hernandez damages for future United States

wages and medical expenses in the amount of $2,234,-

221.00, and the District Court rejected Dianella’s con-

tention that Hernandez’ award for such future damages

should be based on Hernandez’ wages and medical ex-

penses in Mexico. The Court of Appeals required a

remittitur on the award for United States future wage loss,

but the Court of Appeals affirmed the award of future

damages on the basis of Hernandez’ anticipated wage

loss and medical expenses in the United States rather

than in Mexico. The difference between future medical

expenses in the United States and Mexico is $1,219,-

860.00."

1. The majority of such difference ($694,000) was the cost of

attendant care for paying Hernandez’ wife or a nurse’s aide in the

United States ($730,000) versus the cost of paying his wife or a

nurse in Mexico ($36,000). The evidence clearly established that

Hernandez’ wife provided the attendant care, but the District Court

and Court of Appeals found that she might not be able to continue

providing care. Hernandez’ wife and children always lived in Mexico

while he worked in the United States, and his wife was only granted

a visitor’s visa by the Immigration Service in January, 1984, until

7

The validity of the Court of Appeals’ decision to

award future United States wages and medical expenses

to an illegal alien depends upon the illegal alien’s right

to remain in the United States. The evidence established

that Hernandez was an illegal alien, and he was not

entitled to remain in the United States under the immi-

gration laws. Hernandez initially entered the United

States in 1970 as an illegal alien. He could not remember

all the times he had been deported, but the evidence

established that he had been apprehended and deported

by the Immigration Service on at least three occasions

from 1970 to September 21, 1983. (App. E, pp. 55a-

57a) Also Hernandez had returned to Mexico on several

occasions for visits; and his three daughters were born

in Mexico in 1973, 1980, and 1981, after he com-

menced work in the United States. Hernandez admitted

at trial that he had never tried to obtain legal entry

into the United States.’

After Hernandez’ injury and during his rehabilitation

in the hospital in Houston, Hernandez requested assist-

ance from his treating physician (Dr. Donovan) and the

social worker (Pena) to write letters to the Immigration

Service. These letters requested entry for his wife and

three children in the United States until his rehabilitation

Hernandez’ rehabilitation was completed and he could return to

Mexico. (App. E, pp. 58a-60a and App. F, pp. 62a-63a) Therefore,

since Hernandez’ wife could not remain in the United States after

his rehabilitation, he might need a nurse’s aide if he continued to

remain in the United States illegally.

2. Q. Have you made any application with the immigration

service to stay in the United States or taken any other

action to try to stay in the United States?

A. No. I haven’t done anything until this time. I haven’t

applied for my permits.

(App. E, p. 61a).

8

was complete and he was able to return to Mexico.

His wife was allowed to enter the United States in 1984

on a visitor’s visa, but the children were not permitted

to enter the United States. (App. E, pp. 59a-60a, and

App. F, pp. 62a-63a). In fact, the only evidence that

Hernandez could remain in the United States after his

rehabilitation was as follows:

THE COURT: “Do you have an intention to re-

turn to Mexico or do you plan to remain in

this country, if you can?”

THE WITNESS: “If it is possible, 1 would like

to stay here in the United States.”

(App. E, p. 60a).

On the basis of Hernandez’ intention to remain in the

United States as an illegal alien without any legal basis

to do so, the District Court awarded United States future

wages and medical expenses on the assumption that

Hernandez would continue to evade the immigration

laws of the United States. In addition, the District Court

refused Dianella’s position that Hernandez should be

referred to the Immigration Service for a determination

of Hernandez’ legal right to remain in the United States

before the District Court could award U. S. future wages

and medical expenses.

The Court of Appeals’ initial decision recognized that

the District Court merely assumed Hernandez would

remain in the United States on the basis of “the finding

that Hernandez intended to reside in the United States,”

and the opinion of the Court of Appeals dated March

30, 1988, rejected Dianella’s argument that an illegal

alien could not recover such damages unless he demon-

strated his legal right to remain in the United States.

9

(App. B, pp. 32a-33a). Nevertheless, although this

opinion recognized the validity of Dianella’s position that

future wages and medical expenses for an illegal alien

should be calculated on the basis of Mexican wages and

medical expenses in accordance with Sure-Tan, Inc. v.

N.L.R.B., 467 U.S. 883, 104 S. Ct. 2803, 81 L.Ed.2d

732 (1984) (herein “Sure-Tan”), the Court of Appeals

held that the passage of the “Immigration Reform and

Control Act of 1986, & U.S.C. §§ 1101 et seg. (1987),

has placed a belated stamp of legitimacy on the district

court’s assumption that Hernandez could remain in the

United States.” (App. B, p. 33a) .

Dianella’s Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for

Rehearing En Banc challenged the Court of Appeals’

conclusion that the Immigration Reform and Control Act

of 1986, hereinafter “1986 Act”, validated the District

Court’s assumption regarding the award of future wages

and medical expenses. Dianella argued that the 1986

Act was not in effect at the time of the injury or trial

and that the provisions of the 1986 Act demonstrated

Hernandez could not be admitted legally into the United

States. Furthermore, Dianella argued that the Fifth Cir-

cuit’s decision violated constitutional due process. There-

after, the Fifth Circuit requested that Hernandez file a

Response to the Petition for Rehearing; and such Re-

sponse agreed that Hernandez’ immigration status should

be decided on the basis of the decision of the District

Court and not the 1986 Act.

The Court of Appeals’ per curiam opinion dated June

20, 1988, again affirmed the award of damages on the

basis of United States future wages and medical expenses,

but the Court of Appeals changed its legal analysis from

its opinion dated March 30, 1988. The Court of Appeals’

10

per curiam opinion dated June 20, 1988, determined

(1) that the principle in Sure-Tan, supra, was limited

to labor cases and did not apply to an action under

33 U.S.C. §905(b), and (2) that Dianella had the

burden of proof to show “that Hernandez was about

to be deported or would surely be deported” to sustain

its position that future damages should be based on

wages and medical expenses in Mexico.

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

The opinion of the Court of Appeals should be re-

viewed because it is in direct conflict with the prior deci-

sion of this Court in Sure-Tan, supra, and the immigration

laws of the United States. The Court of Appeals refused

to apply the legal principle in Sure-Tan that an illegal

alien cannot recover United States future damages until

the illegal alien demonstrated his legal right to remain

in the United States because this was a longshore case

under 33 U.S.C. § 905(b), and not a labor case under

29 U.S.C. § 158, et seg. Nevertheless, the Court of

Appeals failed to recognize the legal and policy basis

of the Sure-Tan decision to insure consistency between

the application of the immigration laws and the labor

laws of the United States; and this same principle applies

in insuring consistency in the application of other Federal

statutes, including 33 U.S.C. § 905(b), with the immi-

gration laws of the United States. Furthermore, the

decision of the Court of Appeals to transfer the burden

of proof to Petitioner to show “that Hernandez was

about to be deported or would surely be deported” is

an error of law; and such legal determination is in-

consistent with the immigration laws and Sure-Tan.

11

The opinion of the Court of Appeals should be re-

viewed because such decision improperly authorized the

Federal Court to determine an illegal alien’s right to

remain in the United States or be deported when such

decision is in the exclusive province of the executive

branch of the government. The District Court should have

granted Petitioner’s motion and referred the illegal alien

to the Immigration Service if the District Court found

that Hernandez intended to remain in the United States

illegally after his rehabilitation. By this decision, the

District Court and the Court of Appeals have approved

the violation of the immigration laws by rewarding such

illegal alien for his illegal activity. Furthermore, the

decision of the Court of Appeals in refusing to refer

the illegal alien to the immigration service for a deter-

mination of his legal status permits encroachment by the

judiciary in an area committed to executive discretion.

Hence, the decision of the Court of Appeals has approved

the departure from the anticipated and usual judicial

and administrative proceedings so as to require the exer-

cise of this Court’s power of supervision in order to

insure consistency in the application of the immigration

laws and to remove the judiciary from the determination

of an illegal alien’s status under the immigration laws

of the United States.

1. The opinion of the Court of Appeals should be

reviewed because it is in direct conflict with the

prior decision of this Court in Sure-Tan v.

N.L.R.B., 467 U.S. 883, 104 S. Ct. 2803, 81 L.Ed.

2d 732 (1984) and the immigration laws of the

United States.

Increasingly, illegal aliens are pursuing legal remedies

in reliance upon the state and federal laws with regard

12

to personal injury, unfair labor practice, property dam-

age, etc. Thus, the judiciary is placed in the delicate posi-

tion of enforcing the rights of the illegal alien in accord-

ance with constitutional due process while at the same

time upholding the immigration laws of the United States

in its legal decisions. In this regard, Hernandez was en-

titled to pursue a cause of action against the vessel owner

in accordance with 33 U.S.C. §905(b) and recover

proper damages in accordance with Jones & Laughlin

Steel Corp. v. Pfeifer, 462 U.S. 523, 103 S. Ct. 2541,

76 L.Ed.2d 768 (1983). Nevertheless, since Hernandez

was an illegal alien without any right to remain in the

United States, the award of damages for his continued

violation of the law of the United States in the decision

of the Court of Appeals cannot be sustained. Further-

more, the enforcement of the immigration laws in this

case will not lead to any hardship because Hernandez

secured a generous monetary recovery for his injuries;

and, if he cannot establish his legal right to remain in the

United States, then the award of future Mexican medical

expenses and wages will treat Hernandez fairly and in the

same manner as any other illegal alien. In addition, this

decision provides a vehicle for the Court to clarify the

obligation of the judiciary to enforce the immigration

laws of the United States and to require an illegal alien

to prove his legal right to remain in the United States

to obtain future damages in a cause of action governed

by Federal law in accordance with Sure-Tan.

Congress and the country have recognized for some

time that the enforcement authority provided by the Act

has been somewhat ineffective in stemming the tide of

rising illegal immigration into the southwest part of the

United States from Mexico because of the higher wages

available to Mexican citizens in the United States. In

13

fact, these are the very factors which led Congress to

pass the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986,

and the legislative history demonstrates that the primary

purpose of the legislation was “to close the back door

on illegal immigration so that the front door on legal

immigration may remain open” by curtailing further

illegal immigration through employer sanctions. H.R. Rep.

No. 682(1), 99th Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in 1986

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 5649, 5650. There-

fore, the decisions of the lower courts should demon-

strate a commitment to enforce the immigration laws of

the United States in the same manner as required by

Sure-Tan, but the decision of the Court of Appeals ap-

proves the District Court’s disregard for such laws in the

litigation of a federal cause of action.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals dated March 30,

1988, accepted Dianella’s position that Sure-Tan, supra,

required Hernandez, as an illegal alien, to prove his right

to remain in the United States legally before he could

recover future damages on the basis of wages and medical

expenses in the United States; however, the lower court

affirmed the award of the District Court because the Im-

migration Reform and Control Act of 1986 allowed

Hernandez to remain in the United States legally. Never-

theless, after consideration of Dianella’s Petition for Re-

hearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc, the Court

modified the prior opinion in its per curiam opinion dated

June 20, 1988, as follows:

“Part B(ii) of this Court’s opinion of March 30,

1988, 841 F.2d 582, which concluded that Her-

nandez had demonstrated his eligibility for perma-

nent resident status under the Immigration Reform

and Control Act, was improper and that part of our

opinion is hereby withdrawn... .”

(App. C, p. 44a)

14

The basis of the per curiam opinion in awarding an

illegal alien future U. S. wages and medical expenses was

the determination by the Court of Appeals that Sure-Tan

did not apply to the cause of action by an illegal alien

under the LHWCA, 33 U.S.C. § 905(b), as follows:

“As a private citizen, Dianella’s relationship to Her-

nandez is not the same as the plaintiffs’ relationship

to their employer in Sure-Tan, in which a back-pay

remedy applied by the National Labor Relations

Board was found to implicate labor policy con-

siderations.”

(App. C, p. 46a)

Therefore, although the Court of Appeals agreed that an

illegal alien could not recover future United States wages

under the labor laws unless he established his legal

presence in the United States, the Court of Appeals held

that Dianella had the burden of proof to show the illegal

alien “was about to be deported or would surely be de-

ported” to deny recovery of future United States wages

and medical expenses in a cause of action under the

Longshore & Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act. (App.

C, p. 46a)

Although Dianella did not introduce evidence that

Hernandez would definitely be deported, Dianella clearly

established by the evidence and the case law that Her-

nandez was an illegai alien in violation of the laws of

the United States by his presence in the United States

at the time of the injury and at the time of trial; and

Hernandez could only remain in the United States if he

continued to evade detection by the Immigration Service.

The undisputed evidence demonstrated that he had been

deported on numerous occasions; that his wife and child-

ren resided permanently in Mexico; that Hernandez peri-

15

odically visited his family in Mexico; that all his children

in Mexico had been born while he worked in the United

States; and the Immigration Service allowed his wife to

enter the United States on a visitor’s visa until Hernandez

was rehabilitated and could return to Mexico. Neverthe-

less, the District Court relied only on Hernandez’ desire

to remain in the United States to award damages on the

basis of U. S. wages and medical expenses.

The Court of Appeals’ decision erroneously limited the

application of this Court’s decision in Sure-Tan to cases

involving the labor laws of the United States. Neverthe-

less, this Court’s opinion in Sure-Tan clearly shows that

the burden is on the illegal alien to prove his legal pres-

ence in the United States because of the immigration laws

of the United States. The pertinent part of the Sure-Tan

decision is as follows:

“Nonetheless, as the Court of Appeals recognized,

the implementation of the Board’s traditional reme-

dies at the compliance proceedings must be condi-

tioned upon the employees’ legal readmittance to the

United States. In devising remedies for unfair labor

practices, the Board is obliged to take into ac-

count another ‘equally important Congressional ob-

jective,’ Southern S.S. Co. v. N.L.R.B., 316 U.S. 31,

47, 86 L.Ed. 1246, 62 S. Ct. 886 (1942)—to-wit,

the objective of deterring unauthorized immigration

that is embodied in the INA. By conditioning the

offer of reinstatement on the employees’ legal re-

entry, a potential conflict with the INA is thus avoid-

ed. Similarly, in computing backpay, the employees

must be deemed ‘unavailable’ for work (and the ac-

crual of backpay therefore tolled) during any period

when they were not lawfully entitled to be present

and employed in the United States... .”

467 US. at 903, 81 L.Ed.2d at 750.

16

Sure-Tan is consistent with the immigration laws of

the United States in placing the burden on the illegal

alien to prove that he is entitled to be admitted into

the United States in order to obtain future damages.

8 U.S.C. § 1361. In contrast, the decision of the Court

of Appeals improperly shifted the burden of proof to

Petitioner to demonstrate “that Hernandez was about to

be deported or would surely be deported” contrary to

the burden of proof imposed on Hernandez by the Sure-

Tan decision and the immigration laws. 8 U.S.C. § 1361.

Hernandez’ intent to remain in the United States is ir-

relevant in determining his legal status, and such intent

is only relevant in determining that Hernandez would

continue his illegal activities in violation of the immigra-

tion laws. In fact, the decision of the lower courts and

this Court clearly establish that the law requires a pre-

sumption that public officials will properly enforce the

law. See F.C.C. v. Shreiber, 381 U.S. 279, 85 S. Ct.

1458, 14 L.Ed.2d 383 (1965); Parsons v. U.S., 670

F.2d 164, 229 Ct. Cl. 335 (1982). This presumption

is consistent with the burden of proof on Hernandez to

establish his legal right to remain in the United States

because the law presumes that the Immigration Service

will apprehend and deport Hernandez. Therefore, the

Court of Appeals erred as a matter of law in transferring

the burden of proof to Petitioner in affirming the incorrect

District Court’s determination that Hernandez was entitled

to recover future United States wages and medical ex-

penses.

In conclusion, in Sure-Tan, this Court ruled that an

illegal alien could not recover future United States wages

until he proved his legal right to remain in the United

States and the purpose of such decision was to avoid a

ieee aiiiiliNE

17

conflict between the immigration laws and another fed-

eral law. Although Sure-Tan is a labor case, Dianella

respectfully submits that Sure-Tan requires Hernandez

to bear the burde of proof to establish his legal status;

and the per curiam opinion of the Court requiring Dia-

nella to prove “that Hernandez was about to be deported

and would surely be deported” is inconsistent with Sure-

Tan and the Congressional objectives in the immigration

laws of the United States. Therefore, the decision of the

Court of Appeals destroys the consistency in the appli-

cation of the immigration laws with other federal laws,

such as the LHWCA, 33 U.S.C. § 905(b); and this

Court should review the decision of the Court of Appeals

to insure consistency in the application of the rights of

litigants under federal law.

2. The opinion of the Court of Appeals should be

reviewed because it erroneously establishes the

authority of the District Court to determine an

illegal alien’s right to remain in the United States

or to be deported even though Congress has

assigned such determination exclusively to the

executive branch of government.

The power to regulate the immigration of aliens into

the United States is unquestionably a federal power.

De Canas v. Bica, 424 U.S. 351, 96 S. Ct. 933, 47

L.Ed.2d 43 (1976). The Immigration and Nationality

Act, 8 U.S.C. §§ 1101, et seqg., provides for the legal

entry of aliens into the United States. The Attorney

General has the responsibility and authority to enforce

the immigration laws with regard to the legal admission

or deportation of aliens. 8 U.S.C. § 1103. The executive

branch of the government, through the Immigration

Service, has the power to fashion necessary policies to

tates

18

protect the borders and to insure the orderly entrance

or deportation of aliens. Jean v. Nelson, 711 F.2d 1455

(Sth Cir. 1983), aff'd, 472 U.S. 846, 105 S. Ct. 2992,

86 L.Ed.2d 664 (1985). In this connection, 8 U.S.C.

§ 1105a provides the judiciary a limited and exclusive

function to review orders of deportation and exclusion.

Nevertheless, the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8

U.S.C. §§ 1101, et seg., does not authorize the judiciary

to make any determination in the first instance of whether

an illegal alien is entitled to remain in the United States

or should be deported. Congress has invested this au-

thority exclusively in the executive branch and specifi-

cally in the Immigration Service. 8 U.S.C. § 1252(b)

provides that the procedure adopted by the Immigration

Service “shall be the sole and exclusive procedure for

determining the deportability of an alien.” Likewise, this

Court’s decision in Landon v. Plasencia, 459 U.S. 21,

103 S. Ct. 321, 74 L.Ed.2d 21 (1982) reaffirms the

authority of the Immigration Service for determining

deportability or exclusion of illegal aliens.

Since a determination with regard to Hernandez’ legal

right to remain in the United States was necessary to the

decision of the District Court, then the District Court

should have referred Hernandez to the Immigration

Service in accordance with Dianella’s request. The opinion

of the Court of Appeals affirmed the District Court’s

finding of damages on the basis of United States wages

and medical expenses because Petitioner failed to meet

its burden of proof to show “that Hernandez was about

to be deported or would surely be deported.” Neverthe-

less, Congressional enactments and previous decisions of

this Court establish that the question of Hernandez’ right

to remain in the United States or be deported to Mexico

19

is exclusively in the jurisdiction of the Immigration

Service and not the judiciary. Likewise, 8 U.S.C. § 1361

clearly provides that the illegal alien has the burden of

proof to establish his legal right to remain in the United

States.

Although the decision of the Court of Appeals might be

distinguished on the basis of a determination of the damage

issue, the decision of the Court of Appeals involves the judi-

ciary in determinations with regard to the immigration laws

of the United States, when such laws have been committed

to the discretion of the executive branch of the govern-

ment. Furthermore, the decisions of the District Court

and Court of Appeals raise serious questions concerning

the commitment of the judiciary to enforce the immigra-

tion laws of the United States. Although the District

Court may not agree with the immigration law, the

District Court had the legal duty to enforce the existing

law and to refer Hernandez to the Immigration Service

for a determination of his legal status if the District

Court accepted his testimony that he intended to remain

in the United States in violation of the immigration laws.

The opinion of the District Court and the Court of

Appeals has placed the judiciary in the position of con-

doning the alien’s illegal activity when the alien testified

live in a United States Court that he had violated the

law and intended to continue to violate the law until

the Immigration Service apprehended him and returned

him to Mexico.

This case was tried by the District Court sitting in the

Federal Building in Houston, Texas, and the Immigration

Service had its regional office in the same building. The

evidence was developed that Hernandez was an illegal

—

20

alien without any valid basis for remaining in the United

States. The District Court did not refer Hernandez to

the Immigration Service on its own initiative, and the

District Court refused Dianella’s request that the Court

refer Hernandez to the Immigration Service for deter-

mination of his status as a prerequisite to the award of

United States future wages and medical expenses. This

was clearly an error. The District Court in the first in-

stance and the Court of Appeals in the second instance

should have stayed their decisions as to damages pending

determination of Hernandez’ status by the Immigration

Service. Carnation Co. v. Pacific Westbound Conference,

383 US. 213, 383 U.S. 932, 86 S. Ct. 781, 15 L.Ed.2d

709 (1966); Nader v. Allegheny Airlines, Inc., 426

U.S. 290, 96 S. Ct. 1978, 48 L.Ed.2d 643 (1976);

Weinberger v. Bentex Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 412 US.

645, 93 S. Ct. 2888, 37 L.Ed.2d 235 (1973). In addi-

tion, the District Court rejected the legal argument that

Hernandez’ entitlement to remain in the United States

should be judged on the basis of the immigration laws

of the United States.

The obligation of the judiciary to uphold and enforce

the immigration laws of the United States in the circum-

stances of this case is illustrated by the duty of private

citizens under criminal laws regarding illegal immigration.

8 U.S.C. § 1324(a)(1)(C) makes it a criminal offense

if any person “knowingly or in reckless disregard of the

fact that an alien . . . remains in the United States in

violation of the law, conceals, harbors, or shields from

detection, or attempts to conceal, harbor, or shield from

detection any alien in any place... .” The term “shields”

has been interpreted to apply to activities by any person

who substantially assists or facilitates the alien in re-

21

maining in the United States illegally. United States v.

Cantu, 557 F.2d 1173 (Sth Cir. 1977), cert. denied,

434 U.S. 1063, 98 S. Ct. 1236, 55 L.Ed.2d 763 (1978).

See United States v. Pereira-Pineda, 721 F.2d 137 (Sth

Cir. 1983); United States v. Lopez, 521 F.2d 437 (Sth

Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 995, 96 S. Ct. 421, 46

L.Ed.2d 368 (1975). Furthermore, 8 U.S.C. § 1324

(a)(1)(D) makes it a criminal offense if any person

“encourages or induces an alien to reside in the United

States, knowingly or in reckless disregard of the fact

that such . . . resident is or will be in violation of the

law.”

Of course, Petitioner does not contend that the District

Court or the attorneys representing either party were in

violation of the criminal statutes of the United States

for not reporting Hernandez to the Immigration Service.

Nevertheless, Petitioner does contend that the judiciary

has an obligation to enforce the laws of the United States

and cannot disregard illegal activity when such illegal

activity is committed and continues in the courtrooms of

the United States in the litigation of any case. For ex-

ample, if a witness admits that he committed perjury

in a trial in the Federal Court, then the federal judge

should not refuse to refer the admitted perjurer to ap-

propriate authorities for possible criminal charges. There-

fore, this Court should grant the Petition for Writ of

Certiorari to correct the actions of the lower court in

refusing to apply the immigration laws of the United

States and to insure that the federal judiciary enforces

the immigration laws instead of condoning and rewarding

such violations with significantly increased damages on

the assumption that the illegal alien will be able to con-

tinue to violate the immigration laws of the United States.

22

CONCLUSION :

The decision of the Court of Appeals should be re-

viewed because such decision is inconsistent with the

decision of this Court in Sure-Tan v. N.L.R.B. Sure-

Tan establishes that the immigration law requires the

illegal alien to prove his legal right to remain in the

United States as a prerequisite for the award of future

United States damages in a cause of action under federal

law, and this Court’s decision in Sure-Tan is not limited

to labor cases. Therefore, the Court should grant this

Writ of Certiorari for the purpose of correcting the deci-

sion of the lower court, which refused to apply the policy

reasoning and principle in Sure-Tan because this case is

not a labor case. Furthermore, the decision of the District

Court in finding that Hernandez intended to remain in

the United States in violation of the immigration laws

and then awarding United States future wages and medical

expenses is inconsistent with the enforcement of the

immigration laws of the United States. The District Court

shouid have referred Hernandez to the Immigration

Service on its Own initiative or in response to Dianella’s

request for determination of Hernandez’ legal right to

remain in the United States as a prerequisite for awarding

future United States wages and medical expenses. Never-

theless, by the decision of the Court of Appeals in ap-

proving the action of the District Court, the Court of

Appeals “has so far departed from the accepted and

usual course of judicial proceedings, or so far sanctioned

such a departure by a lower court, as to call for an

exercise of the Court’s power of supervision” in accord-

ance with Supreme Court Rule 17. Therefore, for these

23

reasons, the Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

By: nee ="

KENNETH D. KUYKENDALL

Attorney for Petitioner

Dianella Shipping Corporation

Of Counsel:

ROYSTON, RAYZOR, VICKERY & WILLIAMS

2200 Texas Commerce Tower

Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 224-8380

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that a true and correct copy of this Petition

for Writ of Certiorari has been mailed, certified mail,

return receipt requested to Appeilee’s attorney, Stephen

Hanks, Esq., Helm, Pletcher, Hogan, Bowen & Saunders,

America Tower, 2929 Allen Parkway, Suite 2700, Hous-

ton, Texas 77019-2120, and to Intervenor’s attorney,

Gray Miller, Esq., Fulbright & Jaworski, 1301 McKinney

Street, Houston, Texas 77010, on this \AYtW. day of

October, 1988.

eee es ON lt

OF RoysTON, RAYZOR, VICKERY

& WILLIAMS

APPENDIX

a

me,

a

3

:

4

oy

2

Dili a cue verges

sat PSS aM ah

Shale Bist oe i a is i ,

Ma ass wal Hits Can

:

q

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

CIVIL ACTION NO. H-83-5731

ALEJANDRO HERNANDEZ

Vv

M/V RAJAAN, her engines, tackle, etc., in rem,

and DIANELLA SHIPPING CORP:

v

ISHIKAWAJIMA-HARIMA HEAVY INDUSTRIES,

LTD.; CARGILL, INC.; BRAZOS RIVER HARBOR

NAVIGATION DISTRICT; AFFILIATED RICE

MILLS; TRANS OCEAN AMERICA, INC.;

LANGSTON COMPANIES, INC., CONTINENTAL

BAG DIVISION; AMOCO FABRICS CO.; EURO

GRAIN TRADING, LTD.; GENERAL PRODUCE

AND FIBRES, LTD; WEST TEXAS RICE CO.;

O.J.I. SEIKE-KOGYO KABASHIKI KAISHA; and

SYNTHETIC INDUSTRIES TEXAS, INC.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

This cause having been tried upon the facts without a

jury, the Court hereby enters the following Findings of

Fact and Conclusions of Law, pursuant to Rule 52(a),

F. R. Civ. P.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Plaintiff Alejandro Hernandez is a thirty-two year

old Mexican citizen who was employed as a longshore-

man by Young & Company, a contracting stevedore,

when he was injured working aboard the M/V RAJAAN

on September 21, 1983, near Freeport, Texas.

2a

2. The M/V RAJAAN is a combination bulk carrier,

general cargo ship of Liberian registry which was owned

by Defendant (and Third-party Plaintiff) Dianella Ship-

ping Corporation (“Dianella”) on September 21, 1983.

The ship has six cargo holds, and it is equipped with

hydraulic winches which serve these holds. The winches

have a hydraulic remote control system to allow opera-

tion of both winches by a single worker. The winches

and remote control system are located atop the vessel’s

mast houses.

3. Third-party Defendant Ishikawajima-Harima Heavy

Industries Company, Ltd. (“IHI’) is the Japanese com-

pany which built the M/V RAJAAN and manufactured

the hydraulic winches.

4. Third-party Defendant O.J.I. Seiki-Kogyeo Kaba-

shiki Kaisha (“OJI’) is the Japanese corporation which

made the Marol Hydraulic Remote Control System (“the

remote control”) installed onboard the M/V RAJAAN.

IHI purchased the remote control from OJI for use on

the vessel.

5. Third-party Defendant Affiliated Rice Mills (“Af-

filiated”) is a successor in interest to Third-party De-

fendant West Texas Rice Company, for all purposes of

this lawsuit. Affiliated is a business located in Alvin,

Texas which mills and bags rice for shipment overseas.

6. Affiliated used polypropylene sacks for the ship-

ment of rice aboard the M/V RAJAAN during the time-

frame material to this lawsuit. At its plant, Affiliated

filled the polypropylene sacks with rice and stowed them

on wooden pallets in a cross-tiered, interlocking fashion.

The pallets were then placed aboard flatbed trucks by

—

4

:

7

=

=

&

e

Pf

‘

i

-

§

§

3a

forklift machines for transport to the port of Freeport,

Texas. Each bag weighed 50 kilos (110 pounds). Each

pallet contained thirty bags, stacked six to a row by five

rows high.

7. Third-party Defendant Langston Companies, Inc.,

Continental Bag Division (“Langston”) is a manufactur-

ing business located in Crawley, Louisiana. Langston

manufactured the polypropylene bags in question and sold

them to Affiliated.

8. Third-party Defendant Cargill, Inc. (“Cargill”)

originally purchased the rice from Affiliated for resale

to the government of Iraq. The Iraqi government rou-

tinely issues “rice tenders” for specified quantities of rice

from American traders. These tenders specify that the

rice is to be packaged in single 50-kilo polypropylene

bags.

9. Cargill purchased the rice from Affiliated on an

F.A.S. basis. Cargill specified that the rice be packaged

in accordance with the Iraqi tenders.

10. Cargill subsequently sold the rice shipment to

Third-party Defendant Euro Grain Trading, Ltd. (“Euro-

grain”), another rice trading company, in August, 1983.

Eurograin thereafter chartered the M/V RAJAAN from

Dianella. Eurograin owned the rice shipment at the time

of Plaintiff's injury.

11. Third-party Defendant Brazos River Harbor Navi-

gation District (“Brazos”) is a governmental authority

which provided the M/V RAJAAN with berthing, water

and other necessities from September 19 through Sep-

tember 23 of 1983. Defendant Dianells agreed to abide

by the rules and regulations promulgated by Brazos in

its tariff,

4a

12. The rice bags were palletized by Affiliated on

wooden pallets provided to it by Brazos. Affiliated then

shipped the rice by truck to warehouse facilities at the

port of Freeport for storage pending overseas shipment.

The warehouses were owned and operated by Brazos.

13. Third-party Defendant Trans Ocean America was

dismissed from the case by this Court on October 5,

1984 for failure to state a claim against it. Third-party

Defendant General Produce and Fibres, Inc. was simi-

larly dismissed on January 25, 1985. Dianella orally

moved to non-suit its claims against Third-party Defend-

ants Amoco Fabrics Company and Synthetic Industries

Texas, Inc. Accordingly, the claims against these De-

fendants will be dismissed by the Court.

14. Intervenor Texas Employers’ Insurance Associa-

tion was the insurance carrier for Plaintiff's employer at

the time of Plaintiffs injury. Intervenor has paid

(through the time of trial) at least $159,585.91 in com-

pensation and medical benefits on Plaintiff's behalf.

15. The M/V RAJAAN commenced its voyage in

Honduras and was en route to Aqaba, Jordan, with inter-

mediate calls at Freeport, Texas and Pensacola, Florida

to load rice cargo for delivery in Jordan. The vessel

docked in Freeport on September 19, 1983 with its star-

board side to the berth’s dock.

16. The ship began loading palletized sacks of rice

into various cargo holds, including the No. 2 hold, at

about 1:00 p.m. on September 20, 1983, using the ship’s

winches.

17. The cargo winch on the starboard side of the

forward end of the No. 2 hold began malfunctioning

i tearraeeeenneieieiel

Sa

near the outset of cargo loading operations. The winch

would slow down or stop unexpectedly while palletized

rice bags were being loaded onboard the vessel.

18. The cargo winches were rigged in a so-called

“union purchase” arrangement, meaning that both the

port and starboard winches at each hatch were attached

to the palletized loads. Each load would be hoisted up

from the dock and then moved horizontally to a position

over the hatch. This manuever was accomplished by let-

ting out (lowering) the starboard winch and raising

(heaving) the port winch. The port winch would prop-

erly continue to heave when the starboard winch oc-

casionally slowed or stopped, resulting in a jerking motion

or swing of the pallet as it was being moved over the

deck.

19. Two longshoremen operated the winches for the

No. 2 hold, each one of them operating it for an hour

at a time. In the middle of the afternoon on September

20, 1983, the operator notified his foreman that the No. 2

starboard winch was not working properly. The steve-

dore’s walking foreman, who supervised the loading

operation on board the vessel, in turn notified the ship’s

crew. The crew, supervised by the second engineer, added

hydraulic fluid to the wayward winch by means of a

hand pump. The ship’s crew then announced that the

winch had been repaired and that loading operations

should resume.

20. The problems with the No. 2 starboard winch

continued intermittently on September 21, 1983. Several

complaints were lodged with the ship’s crew by the

walking foreman pertaining to these difficulties. The crew,

on two occasions, again added hydraulic fluid by using

6a

a hand pump on September 21, 1983. On each of these |

occasions, the ship’s crew sent the longshoremen back

to work after pronouncing the winch to be sound.

21. The second occasion for the adding of the fluids

on September 21 occurred less than one hour before the

incident which caused Plaintiff's injury.

22. At about 4:00 p.m. on September 21, 1983, the

winch operator working the No. 2 hold was moving a

pallet of bagged rice over the cargo hold. The starboard

winch abruptly stopped, causing the pallet to jerk and

begin swinging just as it passed over the edge of the

hatch. The resultant force of this jerking motion dis-

lodged at least one 110-pound rice bag from the pallet.

The rice bag fell and struck Plaintiff on his upper back.

23. The Plaintiff was working as a longshoreman at

the time of the injury, and had been employed as a long-

shoreman for the three years immediately preceding his

injury.

24. The Plaintiff was rendered a permanent T-5 para-

plegic by the rice bag, which landed on his upper back

and fractured his spine. He is completely paralyzed from

the level of the nipple area of his chest downward. The

Plaintiff, now age thirty-two, is confined to a wheelchair

for life. Moreover, he sustained injuries to the left and

right brachial plexus, thereby suffering limited use of,

and diminished sensation in, his arms. He has been

recently diagnosed as having a spinal cyst, which may

or may not cause further medical complications in the

future. Plaintiff has lost both bladder and bowel control,

and he can no longer enjoy sexual relations with his wife.

His formal education is minimal, and the combination

of his severe injuries with his low level of schooling and

a TT

ee ee Se

Ta

training leaves him unemployable. Moreover, his limited

intellectual skills make it difficult for him to compensate

for the loss of his physical abilities.

25. There is some evidence that the operators were

operating the winches in a rough manner when they

began loading operations on September 20. This problem

was apparently resolved, however, during the early after-

noon of the 20th, after the operators’ supervisor ad-

monished them at the request of the ship’s officers.

Further, a member of the ship’s crew stated that he

observed the winch operators for the No. 2 hold during

the day of the accident (the 21st) and that they were

operating the winch in a proper manner. Based on the

foregoing, and on the other evidence heard at trial, the

Court finds that Plaintiff's injury was not caused by any

negligence or fault on the part of the winch operators.

26. The Court finds that the Plaintiffs injury was

caused by the malfunction of the starboard winch control

discussed earlier. This malfunction was the same problem

brought to the attention of the vessel’s crew and officers

on several prior occasions.

27. The crew and officers of the M/V RAJAAN, in-

cluding the second engineer (who was primarily respon-

sible for maintenance and repair of the ship’s winches),

had actual knowledge, prior to the incident which caused

Plaintiff's injuries, that the winch was malfunctioning.

Further, as noted above, the crew and officers not only

had actual knowledge that the longshoremen would con-

tinue to load cargo and to use the malfunctioning winch,

they told the longshoremen on three occasions that the

winch had been repaired and that loading operations

should resume.

8a

28. Based on the foregoing, the Court finds that the

ship’s officers and crew breached the duty owed to the

longshoremen to remedy the hazard. By failing to either

fully and competently repair and maintain the winch

or else take it out of service, the officers and crew negli-

gently breached their duty, and such negligence caused

the Plaintiffs injury.

29. Plaintiff was an experienced longshoreman. He

knew, or reasonably should have known, that he should

not have remained in the area of the open hatch square

as palletized cargo was being moved over it. A warning

shout was given by the winch operator as the load

neared the hatch square, as was usually done, and Plain-

tiff failed to move quite as quickly in response to the

warning as he reasonably should have. This failure is

mitigated by the fact that he was still in the process of

unloading the previous pallet when the warning came

and by the fact that his path to safety was somewhat

impeded by the presence of that pallet.

30. The winches onboard the vessel did not have any

design, manufacturing or marketing defects. The winches

were not unreasonably dangerous.

31. The remote control had no defects in marketing,

design or manufacture. It was not unreasonably dan-

gerous.

32. IHI and OJI provided adequate warnings and

instructions to the vessel’s crewmembers and the steve-

dore’s employees concerning appropriate methods for

maintaining the winches and remote control and for

correcting such operational or mechanical problems as

were reasonably foreseeable under the relevant circum-

stances.

a

4

&

é

ie Hace ee ee WA AES

9a

33. The Court finds that neither [HI nor OJI com-

mitted any acts or omissions which constitute negligence.

Further, no facts have been shown to establish liability

for the design, manufacture, or marketing of defective

or unreasonably dangerous products. Finally, neither OJ]

nor IHI breached either express or implied warranties

of any sort.

34. Affiliated (the successor to West Texas Rice

Company) palletized the rice bags using practices which

are customary in the pertinent industry. Dianella con-

tends that Affiliated was negligent, in that the bags were

not secured to the pallet by means of slings, stretch-

wrapping or shrink-wrapping. The Court does not concur

with this contention. Approximately 98% of all rice

cargoes are shipped within and from the United States

in, precisely the manner used by Affiliated. Further, the

additional methods of pre-slinging and the like are not

economically feasible or functionally practicable for the

handling of such cargoes. The Court finds that Affiliated

palletized the rice bags in a manner consistent with ordi-

nary prudence. Affiliated’s conduct was reasonable and

non-negligent in light of the relevant circumstances.

35. Dianella contends that the polypropylene bags

were defective or were negligently manufactured by

Langston. The gist of this argument is that the bags

were too slippery to be safe. The argument is without

merit. There is no evidence that the bags failed to meet

applicable governmental standards or failed to comply

with the specifications of the party (or parties) re-

sponsible for ordering the bags. Dianella has shown no

defect in the design, manufacture or marketing of the

polypropylene sacks, nor is there sufficient evidence to

support a finding of any negligence on the part of Langs-

10a

ton. Langston breached no warranty, either express or

implied.

36. The decision to use polypropylene bags for the

cargo of rice was reasonable and non-negligent. Further,

the decision comported with established industry prac-

tices. The Court can discern no facts upon which it could

find that the Third-party Defendants Cargill, Eurograin,

or Brazos either acted negligently or negligently failed

to do some act required of them by any cognizable duty.

Similarly, these Defendants breached no warranty of any

sort, and they committed no acts upon which a theory

of strict liability could be sustained.

37. The Court finds that Plaintiffs injuries were proxi-

mately caused by the concurrent negligence of Defendant

Dianella and the Plaintiff. This negligence must be ap-

portioned.

38. The Plaintiff's negligence essentially consists of

a split-second of ill-timing. Another step or two toward

the safety area of the cargo hold would have prevented

the accident. When the rather slight magnitude of this

factor is combined with the mitigating circumstances sur-

rounding Plaintiff's negligence (discussed earlier), it is

reasonable to find that the percentage of fault attributable

to the Plaintiff is 5%. The remaining 95% must be

assessed against Dianella. The Court therefore finds that

Plaintiff was 5% at fault and that Defendant Dianella

was 95% at fault.

39. The Court finds that Plaintiff is permanently and

totally disabled, and he will not obtain gainful employ-

ment during the remainder of his natural life.

40. The Court finds that, in all reasonable prob-

ability, the Plaintiff will be permitted to continue re-

lla

siding in the United States for an indefinite period;

and, he will receive medical and attendant care here

for the foreseeable future. He intends to reside here

permanently.

41. We must determine the present value of Plaintiff's

future economic losses by use of the below-market dis-

count rate method. This method represents the real rate

of after-tax dollars with adjustments for future inflation.

The below-market discount rate is applied to the projected

income stream of the Plaintiff. The income stream is

based on a consideration of past wages, productivity,

fringe benefits, and the reasonably anticipated wage in-

creases which will result from all factors other than

inflation. In the instant case, we begin by considering

Plaintiff's past wages. Plaintiff was earning $14.00 per

hour at the time of his injury. He was a “casual” worker

on the docks, meaning that his employment was not

as steady as those longshoremen who had more seniority

than Plaintiff. As a result of this “casual” status, his

gross income for the years preceding the incident causing

his injury was somewhat less than might be expected

for a worker making $14.00 per hour. Specifically, his

income in 1980 was $8,341.00; in 1981, it was $8,634.00;

and in 1982, it was $6,500.00. (The injuries occurred

in 1983.)

42. If Plaintiff had not been injured, it is more likely

than not that he would have continued working as a

longshoreman. He would have gained seniority and thus

would have enjoyed increased work-hours. Further, his

increased experience would have resulted in increased

job productivity.

43. Based on a consideration of the testimony of Dr.

Everett Dillman, an economist, concerning the relevant

12a

factors which should produce a reasonable below-market

discount rate, the Court finds that the applicable dis-

count rate lies between 1% and 1%%.

44. Dr. Dillman presented competent and reliable

evidence on the wage increases Plaintiff would have re-

ceived due to non-inflationary factors, including produc-

tivity. He compared wage increases in the general work

force to yearly earnings on tax-free municipal securities

for the years 1947 through 1983. Since inflation gene-

erally has an equal impact on wages and interest rates,

this comparison shows the difference between non-in-

flationary wage increases and the below-market discount

rate. Based on the foregoing analysis, Dr. Dillman con-

cluded that the average increase in wages has been 0.85%

higher than the average yields on tax-free municipal

securities. Hence, subtracting inflation from both sides

of the equation yields a non-inflationary wage increase

which has been 0.85% higher than the “real” interest

(i.e., non-inflationary market interest) which could have

been earned on tax-free municipal securities.

45. The Court finds Dr. Dillman’s historical and eco-

nomic analysis concerning future wage increases and the

application of the discount rate to be highly persuasive.

The result of his analysis is that wages can be expected

to increase in the future by a factor of 0.85% more than

the below-market discount rate. Hence, the Court must

discount future income losses by a factor of negative

0.85% to compute the present value of his lost future

wages.

46. Plaintiff had a work-life expectancy through age

60. Using generally-accepted labor statistics for long-

shoremen, and applying the average annual wage in-

13a

creases as adjusted by proper discount factors, the Court

finds that the present value of Plaintiffs lost future wages

is $800,221.00, including fringe benefits.

47. The next item of pecuniary losses suffered by

Plaintiff concerns household services. The Plaintiff, in all

likelihood, would have performed household services at

an average of ten hours per week through age 72 (his

life expectancy). Multiplying those hours by the federal

minimum wage, and then adjusting the resultant figure

by a discount rate of negative 0.85% yields a present

value for those services of $87,471.00. Plaintiff will be

unable to perform these services and therefore he should

recover reasonable compensation for this loss. The Court

finds that $87,471.00 constitutes a reasonable recovery

for lost household services.

48. Plaintiff incurred reasonable and necessary medi-

cal expenses of $153,472.48 from the date of his injury

through December 1984. (The case was tried in late

January of 1985.) The Court finds that Plaintiff should

recover that amount for his past medical expenses.

49. Based on the testimony of various medical per-

sonnel, including Plaintiff's treating physician, the Court

finds that Plaintiff will incur $10,000.00 per year in

future medical and hospital expenses (exclusive of at-

tendant care and medical commodities) for the rest of his

life. Discounting this amount to present value, and con-

sidering the impact of a 1.67% non-inflationary rate of

annual increases for medical care, the Court finds that

Plaintiff will incur $582,000.00 in future medical and

hospital expenses.

50. The Court heard evidence concerning the exten-

sive degree of attendant care Plaintiff will need in the

l4a

future. Based thereon, and assuming that Plaintiffs physi-

cal condition will not significantly deteriorate over the

years, the Court finds that the cost of Plaintiff's neces-

sary attendant care will be $12,547.60 per year. Using

the same methodologies discussed above, the Court finds

the present value of Plaintiffs attendant care to be $730,-

000.00.

51. Plaintiff will need a number of medical com-

modities throughout the remainder of his life, including

prescription drugs, suppositories, catheters, lotions, plastic

gloves, a wheelchair, a hospital bed, and related items.

The Court finds the present value of these items to be

$152,000.00.

52. A person suffering from paraplegia generally in-

curs utility bills which are as much as 20% above the

normal consumption rate for healthy persons living in

dwellings of similar size. This is so because there is a

greater need to control a paraplegic’s environment so as

to minimize the risks of various medical illnesses which

flow from placing a paraplegic in an uncontrolled envir-

onment. Further, due to bowel and bladder accidents

(for example, catheters frequently loose their proper posi-

tion when used by paraplegics), cleaning and laundering

costs are higher than those found in the general popula-

tion. In order to have any significant mobility outside the

home, a paraplegic needs to use a modified van, a wheel-

chair lift, and other related equipment. The Court finds

that the reasonable costs of the foregoing non-medical

commodities, discounted to present value, to be $465,-

000.00.

53. The total amount of the Plaintiff's pecuniary

losses, discussed in Findings 39 through 52, is $2,969,-

15a

693.48. This amount will adequately compensate the

Plaintiff for his pecuniary damages.

54. Plaintiff has suffered, and will continue to suffer,

physical pain and enormous mental anguish. The Court

has earlier noted the catastrophic nature of Plaintiff's

injuries in Finding 24. After carefully considering the

nature and effects of these injuries, and after having ob-

served the Plaintiff at length in court, this Court has de-

termined that Plaintiff's non-pecuniary losses (i.e., his

pain and suffering) will be adequately compensated by

the award of $1,000,000.00.

55. Plaintiff contends that the evidence would sup-

port the imposition of punitive damages. The Court does

not agree. The crew and officers of the vessel had actual

knowledge of the malfunction in the winch. They tried

to repair it and failed to do so on several occasions. By

failing either to competently repair the winch or else to

take it out of service, they were certainly negligent. Fur-

ther, they knew that the Stevedore relied upon their as-

surances that the winch was fixed and that loading opera-

tions should resume. It is not clear, however, that either

the ship’s engineer or the crew actually knew that their

attempts to repair the winch would not solve the prob-

lem. Further, Plaintiff's contention that the crew merely

“put on a show” when attempting to repair the winch

is not supported by a preponderance of the credible evi-

dence. The fact that, after the incident in question, the

chief engineer may have prevented certain matters con-

cerning the malfunctioning winch from being entered in

the ship’s log does not call for the imposition of punitive

damages. While such behavior is reprehensible, it does

not show reckless, wanton or egregious actions which

16a

proximately caused Plaintiff's injuries. Moreover, Plain-

tiff has not established that the shipowner actually rati-

fied or authorized the negligent conduct of his officers

and crew. The evidence is simply insufficient to support

an award of punitive damages, especially in light of the

pertinent legal standards which will be discussed below.

56. The total amount of Plaintiffs damages is $3,-

969,693.48. When this is reduced by 5% (to account for

Plaintiff's percentage of fault), the result is $3,771,208.-

80. The Court therefore finds that Plaintiff's recoverable

damages amount to $3,771,208.80, together with an

award of prejudgment interest.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. This is a Rule 9(h) maritime proceeding. The

cause of action is based on 33 U.S.C. § 905(b). The

Court has jurisdiction of the case pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1333.

2. Generally, a shipowner may rely on the stevedore

to avoid exposing longshoremen to unreasonable hazards.

33 U.S.C. §§ 905(b) and 941; Scindia Steam Navigation

Co. v. De Los Santos, 451 U.S. 156, 170 (1981). The

shipowner is not liable for injuries caused by dangers un-

known to him and about which he had no duty to inform

himself. Scindia, at 172. However, there are circum-

stances in which the shipowner does have a duty to act

where the danger to longshoremen arises from some mal-

functioning of the ship’s gear which is being used in

cargo operations. These circumstances include a situa-

tion where the shipowner should anticipate that the

stevedore will not or cannot correct the danger. /d., at

174-175.

17a

3. A shipowner who has actual knowledge that a

hazardous condition exists due to a malfunction in one

of the ship’s winches which arises during cargo-loading

operations, and who has actual knowledge that the steve-

dore will continue to use the winch in its hazardous con-

dition without remedying the situation, has a duty to the

longshoremen to intervene and either repair the winch

or take it out of service. Webster v. M/V MOOL-

CHAND, 730 F.2d 1035 (Sth Cir. 1984). Even if both

the stevedore and the shipowner are at fault in improp-

erly dealing with such a situation, an injured longshore-

man is entitled to recover the entire amount of his dam-

ages from the shipowner, limited only by the percentage

of any negligence directly attributable to the longshore-

man himself. Jd.; Lopez v. A/S D/S SVENDBORG, 581

F.2d 319 (2d Cir. 1978).

4. If the vessel owner is found to be negligent, the

question of whether the longshoremen-plaintiff was him-

self negligent must also be considered. E.g., Wiles v.

Delta Steamship Lines, Inc., 574 F.2d 1338, 1339 and

cases cited therein (Sth Cir. 1978). If the plaintiff was

also negligent, the admiralty rules of comparative negli-

gence apply. Jd.

5. When the facts of the case are applied to these

authorities, it is clear that Plaintiff may recover the full

amount of his damages from Defendant Dianella, limited

only by the percentage of fault attributable to his own

negligence.

6. The Plaintiff's pecuniary damages, as found by the

Court, comport with the requirements enunciated in Cul-

ver v. Slater Boat Co. (II), 722 F.2d 114 (Sth Cir.

1983) (en banc) concerning the computation of dam-

)

18a

ages for future pecuniary losses discounted to present

value by means of the below-market discount rate method.

7. The award of $1,000,000.00 for pain and suffering

is based on this Court’s observation of the Plaintiff and

our subjective determination of the amount needed to

achieve full compensation, taking into account both the

severity of his injuries and the finding that the award of

pecuniary damages will adequately and reasonably com-

pensate Plaintiff for his medical needs and lost future

earning capacity. See Sosa v. M/V LAGO IZABAL, 736

F.2d 1028, 1035 (Sth Cir. 1984).

8. Defendant Dianella argues that punitive damages

may not be awarded under Section 905(b) of the Long-

shoremen’s Act. There is authority to support this argu-

ment. First, the statutory language of Sec. 905(b) pro-

vides the “exclusive” remedy for injured longshoremen by

allowing recovery “in the event of injury . . . caused

by the negligence of the vessel (emphasis added).” A

strict construction of this language would arguably fore-

close the assertion of a recovery for gross negligence.

Second, at least two courts have held that an action by

a longshoreman against his employer under Sec. 905(a)

for gross negligence cannot lie. Houston v. Bechtel As-

sociates, 522 F.Supp. 1094 (D.D.C. 1981); Garibay v.

Decker, 331 F.Supp. 1093 (S.D. Tex. 1971). On the

other hand, the statutory language quoted above is not,

in and of itself, dispositive of the issue, and the juris-

prudential reasons for denying a cause of action for gross

negligence against an employer do not necessarily control

the issue of whether such a cause of action could lie

against a shipowner. We have found no cases squarely

on point. The question is apparently an unsettled one.

19a

9. We need not decide whether a claim for gross

negligence will lie against a shipowner under Sec. 905

(b). This is so because, in any event, the Plaintiff has

failed to show evidence which would satisfy established

principles of maritime law for the imposition of punitive

damages. For example, in Jn re Merry Shipping, Inc.,

650 F.2d 622, 625 (Sth Cir. 1981), the Court noted

that punitive damages are available under general mari-

time law where the facts show willful and wanton mis-

conduct by the shipowner himself in the creation or main-

tenance of unseaworthy conditions. Similarly, an award

of punitive damages for failure to pay maintenance and

cure must be grounded on some egergious conduct of the

shipowner exhibiting wanton and intentional disregard

of a seaman’s rights. Harper v. Zapata Off-Shore Co.,

741 F.2d 87, 88 (Sth Cir. 1984). At least one court has

held that “the better rule” is that punitive damages are

not recoverable against a shipowner for the acts of his

vessel’s master unless it can be shown that the owner

ratified or authorized the acts of the master. United

States Steel Corp. v. Fuhrman, 407 F.2d 1143, 1148

(6th Cir. 1959), cert. denied, 398 U.S. 958 (1970).

When the standards of either Merry Shipping, Harper, or

Fuhrman are applied to the facts of this case, it is ap-

parent that the Plaintiff has not established a right to re-

cover punitive damages, assuming arguendo that he may

even make such a claim under Sec. 905(b).

10. The allowance of prejudgment interest lies within

the discretion of the admiralty trial judge. Its allowance

in maritime cases is the rule, rather than the exception.

Webster, supra, at 1040-1041 and cases cited therein.

The Court therefore exercises its discretion to award

Plaintiff prejudgment interest at the rate of 9% per

20a

annum from September 21, 1983 (the date of the injury)

to the date judgment is entered herein.

11. The Court concludes that Plaintiff is entitled to

judgment against the M/V RAJAAN, in rem,’ and De-

fendant Dianella Shipping Corporation in the amount of

$3,771,208.80, together with post-judgment interest at the

rate of 9% per annum.

12. The Court concludes that Dianella is not en-

titled to any recovery from any of the Third-party De-

fendants. Third-party Defendants Amoco Fabrics Com-

pany and Synthetic Industries Texas, Inc. are hereby dis-

missed from the lawsuit. Judgment on the merits will be

entered for the remaining Third-party Defendants.

13. Intervenor Texas Employers’ Insurance Associ-

ated is subrogated to the rights of the Plaintiff, and is

entitled to recover the first $159,585.91 of any recovery

made by Plaintiff, plus any amounts subsequently paid

by the Intervenor to Plaintiff for compensation and medi-

cal benefits.

14. Finally, Defendant Dianella has raised the ques-

tion of whether it is entitled to limit its liability to the

value of the vessel plus pending freight, pursuant to the

Limitation of Vessel Owner’s Liability Act, 46 U.S.C.

§ 181 et seq. Dianella has submitted an affidavit to the

effect that the value of the vessel is approximately $2,-

400,000.00. No evidence has yet been tendered on the

value of pending freight. (Dianella seeks a separate pro-

ceeding on the Limitation issue.) While the Court has

1. A return of the writ of seizure issued for the vessel was made

herein on September 30, 1983. The Court therefore has in rem

jurisdiction over the ship.

2la

not determined whether Dianella is even entitled to claim

the benefit of the Limitation Act, a substantial question

has been presented which may well affect the validity of

any judgment herein exceeding $2,400,000.00. The issue

must be determined by a post-judgment hearing and rul-

ing thereon. The Court, therefore, deems it necessary to

stay enforcement of a portion of the judgment, pursuant

to Rule 62(b), F. R. Civ. P.

A Final Judgment will be entered in accordance here-

with.

DONE in Houston, Texas, this

1985.

day of August,

/s/ JAMES DeANDA

James DeAnda

United States District Judge

22a

APPENDIX B

Alejandro HERNANDEZ,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

V.

M/V RAJAAN, Etc., and Dianella Shipping Corporation,

Defendants-Third Party Plaintiff-Appellants,

We

ISHIKAWAJIMA HARIMA HEAVY INDUSTRIES,

LTD., Cargill, Inc., et al.,

Third Party Defendants-Appellees.

Alejandro HERNANDEZ,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

V.

M/V RAJAAN, Her Engines, Tackle, etc., in rem,

and Dianella Shipping Corporation,

Defendants-Appellants.

Nos. 85-2608, 87-2044.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

March 30, 1988.

Injured longshoreman brought action against ship-

owner and vessel to recover damages for personal in-

juries caused by falling sack of rice. Shipowner and vessel

impleaded third-party defendants, who settled with long-

shoreman. The United States District Court for the

Southern District of Texas, James DeAnda, J., found

shipowner and vessel liable. Shipowner appealed. The

Court of Appeals, Clark, Chief Judge, held that: (1)

23a

shipowner was liable to longshoreman for damages caused

by malfunctioning winch and falling bag of rice; (2)

part-time longshoreman was not entitled to recover lost

wages on basis of average wage rate, compensation for

lost future benefits and seniority, compensation for lost

ability to perform household services, and $446,400 for

transportation expenses but was entitled to $1 million for

pain and suffering; and (3) illegal alien longshoreman

was entitled to damage award based on United States

wage and medical rate.

Affirmed in part, vacated, and remanded.

Edward J. Hennessy, Helm, Pletcher, Hogan, Bowan

& Saunders, Earl B. Austin, Baker & Botts, Houston,

Tex., for Cargill, Inc.

David G. Matthiesen, Funderburk & Funderburk, Hous-

ton, Tex., for Langston Companies, Inc.

Stephen W. Hanks, Timothy H. Pletcher, Houston,

Tex., for Hernandez.

Louis E. McCarter, Richard L. Lagarde, Houston, Tex.,

for Ishikawajima Harima Heavy Industries, Ltd.

Butler & Binion, Walker Beavers, Robert D. Arre-

dondo, Houston, Tex., for Brazos River Harbor Navi-

gation Dist.

Gray H. Miller, Fulbright & Jaworski, Houston, Tex.,

for Texas Employers’ Ins. Ass’n.

John P. Forney, Jr., Houston, Tex., for Ohji Seiki-

Kogyo Kabushiki.

Robert L. Adams, Houston, Tex., for Synthetic In-

dustries, Inc.

24a

Robert MacIntyre, Jr., Houston, Tex., for Euro Grain

Trading, Ltd.

Edward J. Hennessy, Randall D. Wilkins, Houston,

Tex., for Affiliated Rice Mills.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Texas.

Before CLARK, Chief Judge, BRIGHT* and POLITZ,

Circuit Judges.

CLARK, Chief Judge:

The district court held a vessel owner liable to a long-

shoreman injured while loading palletized bags of rice

into the vessel’s cargo hold. We affirm that court’s judg-

ment of liability and portions of the damages awarded.

We also affirm the rejection of the vessel owner’s limita-

tion of liability defense. We vacate, reverse or modify

certain portions of the damages award we find to be

erroneous.

On September 21, 1983, Alejandro Hernandez was

partially paralyzed while working as a longshoreman

aboard the M/V RAJAAN, a vessel owned by the Dia-

nella Shipping Corp. The RAJAAN had docked in Free-

port, Texas en route to Jordan to take on a cargo of rice.

Hernandez, a thirty-two year old Mexican citizen, was

helping to unload pallets of rice in the cargo hold of

the RAJAAN. One of the hydraulic winches used to lower

the pallets of rice malfunctioned and a 110-pound sack

of rice fell onto Hernandez. As a result, he was perma-

nently paralyzed from the chest down and retained only

limited use of his arms.

* Circuit Judge of the Eighth Circuit, sitting by designation.

25a

Hernandez filed suit against Dianella, in personam,

and against the M/V RAJAAN in rem. Dianella and

the RAJAAN impleaded several third-party defendants.’

Hernandez settled with the third-party defendanis for

$410,000.00 before trial with the agreement that the

settling defendants would be reimbursed if Hernandez’s

recovery exceeded $3,000,000.00. The Texas Employer’s

Insurance Association intervened and recovered $159,-

585.91 in compensation and medical benefits paid to

Hernandez.

The district court sitting without a jury found Dianella

and the M/V RAJAAN liable under 33 U.S.C. § 905(b)

(1986). It awarded Hernandez pecuniary and non-pe-

cuniary damages in the following amounts:

Lost future wages $ 800,221.00

Lost household services $ 87,000.00

Past medical expenses $ 153,472.48

Future medical expenses $ 582,000.00

Attendant care $ 730,000.00

Future medical supplies $ 152,000.00

Transportation and non-medical

commodities $ 465,000.00

Pain and suffering $1,000,000.00

$3,969,693.48

1. These defendants were Ishikawajima-Harima Heavy Industries,

Ltd. (the manufacturer of the winch); O.J.I. Seiki-Kogyo Kabshiki

Kaisha (the manufacturer of the winch’s remote control system) ;

Affiliated Rice Mills (a successor in interest to the company which

milled and bagged the rice); Langston Companies, Inc., Continental

Bag Division (the manufacturer of the polypropylene bags which

held the rice); Cargill, Inc. (which purchased the rice for resale to

the government of Iraq); Euro Grain Trading, Ltd. (which bought

the rice from Cargill and chartered the RAJAAN); and Brazos River

Harbor Navigation District (which provided the RAJAAN with

berthing, water and other necessities). The court dismissed for failure

to state a claim other third-party defendants impleaded by Dianella.

26a

The court found Hernandez 5% negligent and reduced

the recovery to $3,771.208.80. The court held a separate

proceeding after trial on Dianella’s petition to limit lia-

bility to the value of the vessel and pending freight under

46 U.S.C. § 183(a) (1975). The court rejected the

petition on grounds that Dianella had not met its burden

of proving that it lacked privity or knowledge of the

negligent conditions which caused Hernandez’s injuries.

Dianella appeals the finding of negligence and disputes

the calculation of damages. We affirm the district court’s

findings on liability however find several portions of the

damage award to be in error.

A) Liability

The legal duty of a shipowner to an injured worker

arises from 33 U.S.C. § 905(b) (1986). It provides:

“In the event of injury to a person covered under

this chapter caused by the negligence of a vessel,

then such person, or anyone otherwise entitled to

recover damages by reason thereof, may bring an

action against such vessel as a third party in ac-

cordance with the provisions of section 933 of this

Mi cca

[1,2] The Supreme Court clarified the duties imposed

on shipowners and stevedores by § 905(b) in Scindia

Steam Navigation Co., Ltd. v. De Los Santos, 451 U.S.

156, 101 S. Ct. 1614, 68 L.Ed.2d 1 (1981). The Court

held that under § 905(b):

‘a shipowner has no general duty by way of super-

vision or inspection to exercise reasonable care to

discover dangerous conditions that develop within

27a

the confines of the cargo operations that are assigned

to the stevedore.”

Scindia, 101 S. Ct. at 1624. The shipowner is entitled

to rely on the stevedore and in general owes no duty

to a longshoreman injured in the course of cargo opera-

tions. Morris v. Compagnie Maritime des Chargeurs

Reunis, §.A., 832 F.2d 67, 71 (Sth Cir. 1987). How-

ever, Scindia provides that if the shipowner had actual

knowledge of a condition which presented an unreason-

able danger to a longshoreman and actual knowledge

that he could not rely on the stevedore to correct the

condition, then the shipowner, not the stevedore, is liable

to the jongshoreman. Scindia, 101 S. Ct. at 1626. In

Helaire v. Mobil Oil Co., 709 F.2d 1031 (Sth Cir. 1983)

this Circuit held that:

“[o]nce loading operations have begun, the vessel

owner can be held liable for injuries to employees

of the stevedore resulting from open and obvious

dangers only in the event of actual knowledge of

the danger and actual knowledge that he cannot

rely on the stevedore to remedy the situation.”

Helaire, 709 F.2d at 1038-39. If the condition existed

from the outset, the shipowner is charged with actual

knowledge of the dangerous condition and has a duty

to warn the stevedore and the longshoremen if the defect

is hidden. Harris v. Flota Mercante Grancolombiana, S.A..,

730 F.2d 296, 299 (Sth Cir. 1984).

[3] The district court charged Dianella with actual

knowledge of an unreasonably dangerous condition based

on its finding that the winch had been malfunctioning

since the outset of loading. The court relied on testimony

28a

that entries in the ship’s log several days before the

accident indicated that there was a “leaky winch” in the

number one masthouse. No entry on the log indicates that

a permanent repair was made. The vessel’s second engi-

neer testified that two days prior to the accident, the

crew had pumped hydraulic fluid into the winch to purge

air from the hydraulic system. The air pressure indicated

that the system was leaking.

Next the court held that Dianella had actual knowledge

that it could not rely on the stevedore to fix the winch.

The stevedore testified that from the outset of loading,

the winch would slow down or stop unexpectedly causing

pallets holding sacks of rice to swing precariously above

the cargo hold. On the day of the accident, each time

the winch malfunctioned the stevedore notified the ship’s

crew. The crew halted loading and added hydraulic fluid

to the winch. The stevedore would then resume loading.

From this the district court concluded that Dianella had

actual knowledge that the stevedore would continue to

use the winch in its hazardous condition without remedy-

ing it and that the ship had a duty to intervene and

repair the winch or take it out of service.

We uphold the district court’s finding that Dianella

was liable under § 905(b). Dianella argues that the

stevedore is liable because he did not stop loading and

inform Dianella when the winch malfunctioned immedi-

ately before Hernandez’s accident. However, the record

is replete with evidence that the winch had malfunctioned

on many occasions prior to the day of injury, had mal-

functioned several times on the day of the accident and

that the additions of hydraulic fluid by Dianella were

clearly not preventing or correcting the malfunctions.

From this the district court fairly charged Dianella with

oe ie ca at “

29a

actual knowledge of the malfunctioning winch and with

knowledge that the stevedore, who had been relying on

Dianella to repair the winch, could not be expected to

remedy the danger.

B) Damages

Dianella contends that several components of the dam-

age award are excessive. The standards under which we

review a damage award for excessiveness are well known.

A trial judge’s assessment of damages is a finding of fact

which we review under the clearly erroneous standard.

Sosa v. M/V LAGO IZABAL, 736 F.2d 1028, 1035

(Sth Cir. 1984), (citing, Caldarera v. Eastern Airlines,

Inc., 705 F.2d 778, 783 (Sth Cir. 1983)). This court

will not overturn a damage award unless the trier of fact

abused its discretion. Bartholomew v. CNG Producing

Co., 832 F.2d 326, 331 (Sth Cir. 1987) (citing, Hawkes

v. Ayers, 537 F.2d 836, 837 (Sth Cir. 1976) ). A verdict

will be considered excessive only if it is greater than the

maximum amount the trier of fact could properly have

awarded. Sosa, supra, at 1035. An appellate court may

not determine excessiveness by comparing verdicts in

similar cases, but rather must review each case on its

own facts. Winbourne v. Eastern Airlines, Inc., 758 F.2d

1016, 1018 (Sth Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1036,

106 S. Ct. 603, 88 L.Ed.2d 582 (1985); Sosa, supra,

at 1035.

Having determined that an award is excessive, this

court may either order a new trial on damages or may

give the plaintiff the option of avoiding a new trial by

agreeing to a remittitur of the excessive portion of the

award. Osburn v. Anchor Laboratories, Inc., 825 F.2d

908, 919 (Sth Cir. 1987) (citing, De Centeno v. Gulf

30a

Fleet Crews, Inc., 798 F.2d 138, 142 (5th Cir. 1986));

Wells v. Dallas Independent School District, 793 F.2d

679, 683-84 (Sth Cir. 1986). This Circuit follows the

maximum recovery rule under which a remittitur may

reduce damages only to the maximum amount a trier

of fact could properly have awarded. Osburn, supra, at

919 (citing, Zeno v. Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co.,

803 F.2d 178, 181 (5th Cir. 1986)); Caldarera v. East-

ern Airlines, Inc., 705 F.2d 778, 784 (Sth Cir. 1983).

Under these criteria, we review each component of the

damage award.

i) Lost Wages

The trial court calculated the present value of Her-

nandez’s lost future wages using the below-market dis-

count rate. In arriving at the sum of $800,221.00, the

court relied exclusively on the calculations of Hernan-

dez’s expert. The expert assumed a work-life expectancy

of 30 years and used the average full-time United States

longshoreman’s rate of $23,000.00 per annum. The court

adjusted this figure upward to account for seniority and

added an additional 15% for fringe benefits. The court

adjusted the figures downward to account for inflation,

subtracted federal income taxes and multiplied by .85

to arrive at the present value of lost future wages.”

The record does not support these findings. Hernnadez’s

tax returns show that he had been a part-time longshore-

man for the three years preceding his injury. His wage

rate was $14.00 per hour. In 1980 he earned $8,341.00,

in 1981 he earned $8,634.00, in 1982 he earned $6,500.-

00 and in 1983 (prior to the accident) he earned $2,600.

2. The trial court failed to subtract $56,000 for social security

taxes. Hernandez concedes a remittitur in this amount would be due.

3la

No evidence supports the court’s conclusion that Her-

nandez, a part-time worker, would have gained any

seniority had he been able to remain on the job. There

is no evidence that Hernandez had ever received any

fringe benefits.

In Culver v. Slater Boat Co., 722 F.2d 114 (5th Cir.

1983) (en banc), cert. denied sub nom., Heinrich Schmidt

Reederei v. Byrd, 467 U.S. 1252, 104 S. Ct. 3537, 82

L.Ed.2d 842 (1984) (Culver II) the Circuit en banc

stated that:

“calculation of the lost income stream begins with

the gross earnings of the injured party at the time

of the injury. To this amount other income inci-

dental to work, such as fringe benefits, should be

added. From it, the fact-finder should subtract

amounts the wage earner would have been required

to pay such as income tax and work expenses.”

Culver II, 722 F.2d at 117.

[4] Based on Culver II, the trial court was clearly

erroneous in accepting a damage calculation based on

the average longshoreman’s wage rate. Culver II requires

the court to use the plaintiff's gross earnings at the time

of the injury. The court further erred by adding fringe

benefits and seniority in the absence of evidence that

Hernandez was entitled to these benefits while he was

working part time.

[5] Dianella presented a computation using the below-

market discount rate method but substituting Hernandez’s

actual earnings in the 3.82 years preceding the accident

without seniority and fringe benefits. Under these calcula-

tions, Hernandez’s lost wages would amount to $190,-

32a

296.00.*° Hernandez has not had the opportunity to chal-

lenge the accuracy of Dianella’s calculations. We there-

fore hold that on the issue of lost wages Hernandez may

either agree to a remittitur in the amount of $689,925.00,

or he may opt for a new trial under the dictates of

Culver II and this opinion.

ii) U.S. v. Mexican Rates

[6] In calculating lost wages and medical expenses,

the district court assumed that Hernandez could continue

working as a United States longshoreman despite evi-

dence that he was an illegal alien who had been deported

on several previous occasions and whose wife and three

children resided in Mexico. The court based its assump-

tion on its finding that Hernandez intended to reside

permanently in the United States.

The court’s assumption that an illegal alien may collect

lost wages and medical expenses based on United States

rates is called into question by Sure-Tan, Inc. v. N.L.R.B.,

467 U.S. 883, 104 S. Ct. 2803, 81 L.Ed.2d 732 (1984).

In Sure-Tan, the Supreme Court remanded an award of

a six-month back pay to several illegal aliens stating that:

“in computing backpay, the employees must be

deemed ‘unavailable’ for work (and the accrual of

backpay therefore tolled) during any period when

they were not lawfully entitled to be present and

employed in the United States.”

Sure-Tan, 104 S. Ct. at 2814. By similar logic, Dianella

argues that Hernandez should be deemed ineligible to

4. Because social security taxes have been subtracted from Dia-

nella’s calculation of lost wages, it is not necessary to deduct from

this sum the amount of $56,000.00 which Hernandez conceded was

in error.

33a

recover lost future United States wages and United States

medical expenses because he was not entitled to be present

and employed in the United States for the remainder of

his life.

Although Dianella’s argument may have been correct

at the time of Hernandez’s injury, the Immigration Re-

form and Control Act of 1986, 8 U.S.C. §§ 1101 et seq.

(1987), has placed a belated stamp of legitimacy on

the district court’s assumption that Hernandez could re-

main in the United States. Section 1255a(a)(2)(A) of

the Act provides that any alien who:

“establish[es] that he entered the United States be-

fore January 1, 1982, and that he has resided con-

tinuously in the United States in an unlawful status

since such date. . .”

and who meets the other requirements of the Act may

be considered an alien lawfully admitted for temporary

residence. The record indicates that Hernandez has re-

sided in the United States continuously since 1970 and

is therefore likely eligible for resident alien status. We

need not ponder the effect of appiying Sure-Tan’s “legal

readmittance into the United States” language to the

court’s award of lost wages and medical expenses to

Hernandez. An illegal alien who has demonstrated his

eligibility for permanent resident status under the Immi-

gration Reform and Control Act is entitled to a damage

award based on United States wage and medical rates.

iii) Household Services

[7] The district court awarded $87,000.00 for lost

household services. The court calculated that Hernandez

would have performed 10 hours of household services

34a

a week for the remainder of his 72 year life expectancy.

However, there was no evidence that Hernandez had

performed any household services prior to his injury.

Hernandez testified that he lived alone in an apartment

at the time of his injury and performed no yard or auto-

mobile work. His wife and three children lived in Mexico

and his services could not have contributed to their

household.

It is indisputable that Hernandez, a paraplegic, has

lost his ability to perform household services in the future.

However, the trial court is not at liberty to grant damages

for lost household services in the absence of any

evidence that Hernandez performed household services in

the past. See e.g., De Centeno v. Gulf Fleet Crews, Inc.,

798 F.2d 138, 142 (Sth Cir. 1986). In addition, because

Hernandez received an award for attendant care, the ad-

ditional recovery for lost household services would con-

stitute a double recovery. The erroneous allowance of

$87,000.00 for lost ability to perform household services

is reversed,

iv) Medical Expenses

The trial court awarded $153,472.48 in past medical

expenses, $152,000.00 for future medical supplies and

$582,000.00 in future medical and hospital expenses

exclusive of attendant care. Hernandez’s expert arrived

at these figures by estimating what medical expenses

Hernandez had incurred to date as a paraplegic and what

expenses he could be expected to incur given his perma-

nent disability.

[8] Dianella challenges the expert’s calculation of

future medical and hospital expenses on the basis that

35a

he used tax exempt rather than taxable bonds. Dianella

contends that the proper figure should have been $451,-

000.00. However, Dianella presents no legal authority

suggesting that the expert’s choice of tax exempt bonds

was improper. Both types of investment were available

and either properly could be used in the calculation.

See, e.g., Culver II, supra, 722 F.2d at 122. This part

of the award is supported by substantial evidence.

[9] Dianella further contends that the court should

have calculated medical expenses using Mexican rather

than United States rates. Dianella cites Sosa v. M/V

LAGO IZABAL, 736 F.2d 1028, 1034 (5th Cir. 1984)

in which we upheld the use of American medical rate

in calculating medical expenses for a Mexican national

only after a finding that “[the plaintiff] would not receive

adequate medical care in Mexico.” Sosa, 736 F.2d at

1034. Dianella contends that because the court made

no such finding in Hernandez’s case, it cannot calculate

future medical expenses using American rates. However,

Sosa does not state that a finding of inadequate foreign

medical care must precede every award of medical ex-

penses based on American rates. The decision of which

rate to use is a finding of fact which varies from case

to case. In this case, Hernandez has been under the care

of doctors in Houston and, as discussed in § il, supra,

is probably entitled to remain in the United States for

his medical care. The court’s award of medical expenses

based on American rates is therefore not clearly erroneous.

v) Transportation and Non-Medical Commodities:

[10, 11] The court awarded $446,400.00 for trans-

portation expense and $18,600.00 for non-medical com-

modities such as utility bills, cleaning and laundering.

36a

Substantial evidence supports the district court’s finding

that paraplegics do incur higher utility bills and launder-

ing expenses than non-paraplegics. However, substantial

evidence does not support the court’s award for trans-

portation expenses. Hernandez testified that he never

owned a vehicle before the accident and that since the

accident, he only leaves his house to visit friends at a

local social hall. He makes this 20-block trip in his

wheelchair for exercise. No evidence was presented that

Hernandez needed a modified van for medical reasons.

This testimony does not support the court’s finding that

Hernandez required the continuous use of a fully new

van plus modifications and operating expenses totaling

$446,400.00.

Dianella’s expert testified that a large, two-door sedan

provided customary transportation for paraplegics at a

cost, including upkeep, of $24,248.00. In light of Her-

nandez’s testimony concerning his infrequent use of trans-

portation, this is the largest award supportabie by the

evidence. Hernandez may accept a remittitur in the

amount of $422,151.00 or choose a new trial on the

issue of transportation expenses limited to meeting proven

needs on a basis of using or renting vehicles of reasonable

cost.

vi) Attendant Care

[12] The court found that Hernandez would incur

$12,547.00 per year in attedant care expenses, at a

present value of $730,000.00. The court based its con-

clusions on Hernandez’s expert’s testimony that Hernan-

dez would require four hours of assistance by a nurse’s

aide daily. In the alternative, Hernandez’s wife could be

compensated on the basis of a nurse’s aide’s salary for

37a

her assistance in “bathing, housekeeping and meal prepa-

ration.”

Dianella contends that at most Hernandez requires

one or two hours of attendant care daily. In fact, Dia-

nella states that Hernandez would have difficulty being

availabie for four hours of care each day in light of his

active rehabilitation schedule. Dianella further states that

Hernandez’s wife should be compensated on a minimum

wage scale, not at the salary of a nurse’s aide. Dianella

assumes that Hernandez’s wife will be available to pro-

vide attendant care and that her care wiil be comparable

to that care provided by a nurse’s aide. Under its cal-

culations, the maximum amount recoverable for attendant

care is $141,534.50.

The evidence supports the district court’s rejection of

Dianella’s assumptions. Hernandez will require skilled

attendant care for the rest of his life. The record does

not establish that his wife will continue to provide it

or will provide it as competently as a nurse’s aide. The

trial court’s award for attendant care is affirmed.

vii) Pain and Suffering

[13] The trial court awarded $1,000,000.000 for pain

and suffering. Dianella disputes this finding on the basis

that Hernandez was instantly paralyzed from the waist

down and could not have felt any substantial pain as a

result of the injury. Dianella contends that mental anguish

does not justify the award in light of testimony by Her-

nandez’s treating physician that he had adjusted well

to the disability.

In Hyde v. Chevron U.S.A., Inc., 697 F.2d 614, 632

(Sth Cir. 1983), we stated that:

38a

“any amount awarded for pain and suffering de-

pends to a great extent on the trial court’s observa-

tion of the plaintiff and its subjective determination

of the amount needed to achieve full compensation.”

Hyde, 697 F.2d at 632. Each award for pain and suf-

fering depends heavily on its own facts. Allen v. Seacoast

Products, 623 F.2d 355, 364 (Sth Cir. 1980).

The trial court based its award for pain and suffering

on testimony that Hernandez suffered “phantom pains”

in his legs, underwent several painful surgical procedures

and would probably require more surgery in the future.

He has experienced a catastrophic change in his lifestyle

which has caused a significant degree of mental anguish.

In light of this testimony, $1,000,000.00 is not a clearly

excessive award beyond the “maximum possible recovery

for these injuries.” Sosa, supra, 736 F.2d at 1035. This

award is affirmed.

viii) Pre and Post Judgment Interest:

The district court awarded prejudgment interest on the

full damage award at a rate of 9% per annum accruing

from the date of the injury to the date of the judgment.

The court awarded postjudgment interest at a rate of

8.18% per annum.

[14] The award of prejudgment interest in admiralty

cases is within the discretion of the trial court. Curry v.

Fluor Drilling Services, Inc., 715 F.2d 893, 896 (5th

Cir. 1983) (citing, Harrison v. Flota Mercante Gran-

colombiana, §.A., 577 F.2d 968, 988 (Sth Cir. 1978)).

In cases arising under 33 U.S.C. § 905(b), prejudgment

interest is the rule, not the exception. Webster v. M/V

MOOLCHAND, Sethia Liners Ltd., 730 F.2d 1035,

39a

1040 (5th Cir. 1984) (citing, Helaire v. Mobil Oil Co.,

709 F.2d 1031, 1042 (Sth Cir. 1983)).

[15] However, the trial court erred in awarding pre-

judgment interest with respect to future damages. Martin

v. Walk, Haydel & Associates, Inc., 794 F.2d 209, 212

(Sth Cir. 1986); Wyatt v. Penrod Drilling Co., 735 F.2d

951, 956 n. 4 (Sth Cir. 1984). At oral argument Her-

nandez conceded that a remittitur of prejudgment interest

on future damages was due. We affirm the award of pre-

judgment interest on past damages and the award of

post-judgment interest, but direct the district court to

recalculate the amount of interest awarded on future

damages and vacate its prejudgment interest award.

ix) Credit for Settlement:

[16] The third-party defendants settled with -Hernan-

dez before trial for $410,000.00 and then participated

in the trial to establish Dianella’s negligence. Dianella

concedes that under Leger v. Drilling Well Control, Inc.,

592 F.2d 1246, 1251 (Sth Cir. 1979) it is not auto-

matically entitled to a credit for the settlement. It argues,

however, that the amount of the settlement must be

deducted from the total damages awarded for Hernandez’s

injury. Dianella’s arguments have merit.

In a recent decision, the Eleventh Circuit held that a

plaintiff in a maritime suit is entitled to receive a full

damage award less any amount he recovered in a settle-

ment with third-party defendants. Self v. Great Lakes

Dredge & Dry Dock Company, 832 F.2d 1540, 1548

(11th Cir. 1987). We find the Eleventh Circuit’s reason-

ing in Self sound. Hernandez is only entitled to one

recovery for the injuries he suffered. Strachan Shipping

40a

Co. v. Nash, 782 F.2d 513, 520 (Sth Cir. 1986). Be-

cause the court’s award against Dianella represented

100% of the loss Hernandez suffered (less 5% for

contributory negligence) his award from Dianella must

be reduced by any amount he received in a settlement

from the third-party defendants.

C) Limitation of Liability

At a separate hearing after the verdict was rendered,

the district court denied Dianella’s petition to limit its

liability to the value of the vessel plus pending freight,

pursuant to 46 U.S.C. § 183(a) (1958).* Section 183(a)

provides that:

“The liability of the owner of any vessel . . . for

any loss, damage, or injury . . . done, occasioned

or incurred, without the privity or knowledge of

such owner or owners, shall not, except in cases

provided for in subsection (b) of this section, ex-

ceed the amount or value of the interest of such

owner in such vessel, and her freight then pending.”

[17-19] “Privity” as used in the statute means some

fault or neglect in which the shipowner personally par-

ticipates. “Knowledge” means personal cognizance or

means of knowledge of which the shipowner is bound

to avail himself. Matter of Texaco, Inc., 570 F.Supp.

1272, 1278 (E.D. La. 1983). The burden of establishing

‘lack of privity or knowledge’ is on the shipowner.

Farrell Lines, Inc. v. Jones, 530 F.2d 7, 10 (Sth Cir.

4. The value of the vessel plus pending freight was $2,820,917.39.

We recognize that the adjustments in damages awarded could render

this issue moot. However, since the case must go back for further

consideration by the district court, it is in the interest of justice to

rule on the issue now in the event it recurs.

4la

1976). The court denied the defense holding that Dia-

nella did not meet its burden of establishing lack of

privity or knowledge about the malfunctioning winch.

[20] Dianella’s managing agent and port engineer

testified that they did not have privity or knowledge of

negligent acts or unseaworthy conditions. However, this

testimony does not establish that the RAJAAN’s owner

lacked privity or knowledge of the unseaworthy condi-

tions nor does it establish who exercised control over the

RAJAAN. In light of this failure of proof by Dianella

and the fact that proof of privity or knowledge of the

RAJAAN’s owners was solely within Dianella’s control,

we affirm the findings of the district court.

The costs of this appeal will be ey divided” De- =

tween the parties.

AFFIRMED in part, subject to possible remittitur,

and, in part, VACATED and REMANDED.

42a

APPENDIX C

Alejandro HERNANDEZ,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

V.

M/V RAJAAN, etc., and Dianella Shipping Corporation,

Defendants-Third Party Plaintiff-Appellants,

V.

ISHIKAWAJIMA HARIMA HEAVY INDUSTRIES,

LTD., Cargill, Inc., et al.,

Third-Party Defendants-Appellees.

Alejandro HERNANDEZ,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

M/V RAJAAN, Her Engines, Tackle, etc., in rem, and

Dianella Shipping Corporation,

Defendants-Appellants.

Nos. 85-2608, 87-2044.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

June 20, 1988.

Longshoreman brought action against shipowner and

vessel to recover for personal injuries caused by falling

sack of rice. The United States District Court for the

Southern District of Texas, James DeAnda, J., found ship-

owner and vessel liable, and shipowner appealed. The

Court of Appeals, 841 F.2d 582, affirmed in part, vacat-

43a

ed, and remanded. On petition for rehearing and sug-

gestion for rehearing en banc, the Court of Appeals held

that longshoreman, an illegal alien who had been de-

ported on several previous occasions and whose family

resided in Mexico, was entitled to damages for future

lost wages at United States rates after he was injured

while loading vessel, absent showing by vessel owner that

longshoreman was about to be deported.

Petition denied.

Kenneth D. Kuykendall, Royston, Rayzor, Vickery &

Williams, Houston, Tex., Robert DeLange, Galveston,

Tex., for Dianella,-etc., and M/V Rajaan, etc.

Edward J. Hennessy, Helm, Pletcher, Hogan, Bowan

& Saunders, Earl B. Austin, Baker & Botts, Houston,

Tex., for Cargill, Inc.

David G. Matthiesen, Funderburk & Funderburk,

Houston, Tex., for Langston Companies, Inc., et al.

Stephen W. Hanks, Timothy H. Pletcher, Houston,

Tex., for Alejandro Hernandez.

Louis E. McCarter, Richard L. Lagarde, Houston,

Tex., for Ishikawajima Harima Heavy Industries.

Butler & Binion, Walker Beavers, Robert D. Arre-

dondo, Houston, Tex., for Brazos River Harbor Naviga-

tion Dist.

Gary H. Miller, Fulbright & Jaworski, Houston, Tex.,

for Texas Employers’ Ins. Ass’n.

John P. Forney, Jr., Houston, Tex., for Ohji Seiki-

Kogyo Kabushiki Kaishi.

44a

Robert L. Adams, Houston, Tex., for Synthetic In-

dustries, Inc.

Robert S. MacIntyre, Jr., Houston, Tex., for Euro

Grain Trading, Ltd.

Edward J. Hennessy, Randall D. Wilkins, Houston,

Tex., for Affiliated Rice Mills.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Texas.

Before CLARK, Chief Judge, BRIGHT* and POLITZ,

Circuit Judges.

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING AND

SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion March 30, 1988, 5 Cir. 1988, 841 F.2d 582)

PER CURIAM:

In its petition for rehearing, Dianella correctly points

out that the legal and factual issues involved in our deter-

mination that Hernandez had demonstrated eligibility for

permanent resident status under the Immigration Reform

and Control Act of 1986, 8 U.S.C. §§ 1101 et seq.

(1987), were not properly briefed or developed in either

this court or the district court. Part B(ii) of this court’s

opinion of March 30, 1988, 841 F.2d 582, which con-

cluded that Hernandez had demonstrated his eligibility

for permanent resident status under the Immigration Re-

form and Control Act, was improper, and that part of

Our opinion is hereby withdrawn and the following is

substituted:

* Circuit Judge of the Eighth Circuit, sitting by designation.

45a

ii) U.S. or Mexican Rates

In calculating lost wages and medical expenses, the dis-

trict court assumed that Hernandez could continue work-

ing as a United States longshoreman despite evidence

that he was an illegal alien who had been deported on

several previous occasions and whose wife and three

children resided in Mexico. The court based its assump-

tion on its finding that Hernandez intended to reside per-

manently in the United States.

The court’s assumption that an illegal alien may col-

lect lost wages and medical expenses based on United

States rates is challenged by Dianella on the basis of

Sure-Tan, Inc. v. N.L.R.B., 467 U.S. 883, 104 S. Ct. 2803,

81 L.Ed.2d 732 (1984). In Sure-Tan, the Supreme Court

remanded an award of back pay to several illegal aliens,

stating that:

“in computing backpay, the employees must be

deemed ‘unavailable’ for work (and the accrual of

backpay therefore tolled) during any period when

they were not lawfully entitled to be present and

employed in the United States.”

Sure-Tan, 104 S. Ct. at 2814. Dianella argues that Her-

nandez similarly should be deemed ineligible to recover

lost future United States wages and United States medi-

cal expenses because he was not entitled to be present

and employed in the United States for the remainder of

his life.

Hernandez asserts that he was working in the United

States at the time of his injury, and the district court

found that he intended to continue working in this coun-

try on a permanent basis. The record demonstrates that

46a

Hernandez had been in the United States since 1970 for

substantial periods of time and had worked as a long-

shoreman for almost four years preceding the accident.

At the time of the accident, Dianella was accepting Her-

nandez’s labors on the M/V RAJAAN without regard to

the status of his citizenship. As a private citizen, Dian-

ella’s relationship to Hernandez is not the same as the

plaintiffs’ relationship with their employer in Sure-Tan,

in which a back-pay remedy applied by the National

Labor Relations Board was found to implicate labor

policy considerations.

The question here is whether, given Hernandez’s status

as an illegal alien, the district court’s decision to grant

damages to Hernandez for future lost wages based upon

his employment status at the time of injury and for the

lengthy period preceding injury was clearly erroneous.

Sosa v. M/V LAGO IZABAL, 736 F.2d 1028, 1035

(Sth Cir. 1984). We conclude that it was not.

The burden of proof in the calculation of damages was

initially on Hernandez who had to establish the damages

his injury had caused and was likely to cause in the fu-

ture. Once Hernandez proved his prior wages in the

United States, the burden shifted to Dianella to establish

that the use of past wages to calculate future damages

was factually improper and, if so, what a proper measure

of damages should be. Because Dianella presented no

proof that Hernandez was about to be deported or would

surely be deported, the court did not err in basing its

award on Hernandez’s past earnings stream as required

by Culver II. Dianella is liable to make Hernandez whole

for the injury inflicted. It cannot defeat his right to re-

cover by asserting that his award for future lost wages

47a

should be based upon speculation regarding what he

might be earning were he in Mexico. Hernandez has now

applied for amnesty under the Immigration Reform and

Control Act of 1986, but this development is a matter

that we need not now consider.

This correction of Part B(ii) of our opinion of March

30, 1988, does not affect our partial affirmance of the

district court’s use of U. S. wage rates for the calculation

of Hernandez’s damages.

In all other respects, the petition for rehearing is DE-

NIED, and no member of this panel nor judge in regular

active service on the court having requested that the court

be polled on rehearing en banc (Federal Rules of Ap-

pellate Procedure and Local Rule 35), the suggestion for

rehearing en banc is DENIED.

48a

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 85-2608 & 87-2044

ALEJANDRO HERNANDEZ,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

V.

M/V RAJAAN, Etc., and DIANELLA

SHIPPING CORP.,

Defendants-Third Party Plaintiff-Appellants,

V.

ISHIKAWAJIMA HARIMA HEAVY INDUSTRIES,

LTD., CARGILL INC., ET AL.,

Third-Party Defendants-Appellees.

ALEJANDRO HERNANDEZ,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

V.

M/V RAJAAN, Her Engines, Tackle, Etc., in rem and

DIANELLA SHIPPING CORP.,

Defendants-Appellants.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Texas

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING AND

SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion June 20, 1988, 5 Cir., 198_, F.2d )

( July 21, 1988 )

49a

Before CLARK, Chief Judge, POLITZ and BRIGHT, *

Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

The Petition for Rehearing is DENIED and no member

of this panel nor Judge in regular active service on the

Court having requested that the Court be polled on re-

hearing en banc, (Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure

and Local Rule 35) the Suggestion for Rehearing En

Banc is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ CHARLES CLARK

Chief Judge

* Senior Judge from the 8th Circuit Court of Appeals, sitting by

designation.

50a

APPENDIX E

TRIAL RECORD VOLUME 5,

pp. 6-12, 25-30, 34-37

[6]

* * *

ALEJANDRO HERNANDEZ, SWORN

DIRECT EXAMINATION

BY MR. HANKS:

Tell me your name, please?

Alejandro Rodriguez Hernandez

Mr. Hernandez, how old are you, Mr. Hernandez?

I am thirty-four years old.

Give us your date of birth?

6th of June, *52.

rFOPOPO

[7]

Where were you born?

Lalucha, State of Micharcan, Mexico.

How big a town is that?

It’s a rural community of about 2,000 inhabitants.

. During the time you were growing up there, I

understand your father worked in the fields, is that right?

A. Yes.

Q. What kind of work did you do while you were in

Mexico?

A. In the fields.

Q. How far did you go in school in Mexico, Mr. Her-

nandez?

A. The third grade.

Q. Are you able to fluently read and write in Spanish?

OFOP”

5la

A. A little bit.

Q. Are you able to speak or read English?

A. No.

Q. When did you first come to the United States?

A. 1970.

Why did you come to the United States from

Mexico? .

A. To live better, to make a better life for my family.

Q. What kind of jobs have you done since you first

come to the United States?

A. I worked in different kinds of jobs.

Q. Were they alli jobs of manual labor type jobs?

[8]

©

A. Yes.

Q. You worked*in Chicago for a time at a restaurant?

A. Yes.

Q. You worked in Fort Worth for a period of time

building bumpers for cars?

A. Yes.

Q. I understand you worked for a period of time for

a contractor pouring cement?

A. Yes.

Q. You have been back to Mexico for brief periods of

time since 1970, is that right?

Yes, sir.

You just came back to the United States?

Yes. ,

What kind of work did you begin doing in 1979?

1979, a longshoreman.

In Freeport, Texas?

Yes.

A.

Q.

A.

Q.

A.

Q.

A.

52a

Q. Did you continue to work or seek work as a long-

shoreman from 1979 up until the date you got hurt?

A. I didn’t understand.

Q. Did you work as a longshoreman in 1980?

A. Yes.

Q. In 1981?

A. Yes.

[9]

Q. 1982 and 1983 did you continue working as a

longshoreman, whenever you could work?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. Before your accident, Mr. Hernandez where was

it you wanted to continue living?

A. As a longshoreman.

Q. Did you want to continue living in the United

States?

A. Yes.

Q. Was that your intention at that time?

A. Ye.

Q. Was it your intention, before you got hurt, Mr.

Hernandez, to continue working as a longshoreman for

the rest of your life?

A. Yes. (R. Tr. Vol. 5, pp. 6-9)

[10]

* 86% *

THE COURT: Is this man married?

MR. HANKS: Yes.

THE COURT: How many children does he have?

MR. HANKS: I will ask him that. I will ask him

about it.

Sia

[11]

THE COURT: Go ahead.

Q. Mr. Hernandez, I want to ask you a little bit about

your family. You were married in Mexico?

Yes.

How many children did you have?

Three girls in Mexico.

Can you tell me their names, Mr. Hernandez?

Luce Maria, Veronica and Guadelopa.

What is the name of your wife?

Ouita Ohara D’Hernandez.

THE COURT: How old were you when you were

married?

THE WITNESS: I got married in 1969.

THE COURT: Were any of your children born in

this country?

THE WITNESS: Well, I had some other children

with another lady.

THE COURT: How many other children did you

have apart from the children you had with your wife?

THE WITNESS: Three.

THE COURT: Are they American citizens?

THE WITNESS: Yes.

THE COURT: How about the children from your

wife, were any of the children you had with your wife

American citizens?

rPOPOPOP

[12]

THE WITNESS: No.

54a

THE COURT: Go ahead.

Q. Mr. Hernandez, just for the record, what are the

names of your children and ages, if you recall exactly

of the children that are born in this country that are

American citizens?

A. Yes. One girl is twelve years old. One boy is five

years old, the other one four. (R. Tr. 5, pp. 10-12)

* *« *

[25]

* *«* *

Q. (By Mr. Kuykendall) Mr. Hernandez, I under-

stand you came to the United States in 1970?

That is correct.

You entered the country in Del Rio, is that correct?

Yes.

Did you enter the country illegally?

Yes.

How is that, how did you get in in 1970?

Through the water.

You were apparently working in Fort Worth in

1973 as a laborer?

A. That’s correct.

Q. As I understand it you were apprehended by the

[26]

emigration service in 1974 at Fort Worth, is that correct?

A. That’s correct.

Q. Was there a hearing in Fort Worth in 1974 before

the emigration service?

A. I don’t remember.

OPOPOror

55a

Q. What I’m asking you, sir, did the emigration service

ask you to leave or did the ere service just ask

you to leave and you left?

A. Well, they took me out of here, they took me to

Mexico.

Q. They transported you from Fort Worth back to

Mexico?

A. Yes.

Q. Before that occurred, was there a hearing in a

room with the emigration officers in which you testified

or presented your position as to why you should stay

in the country?

THE COURT: Doesn’t the record show it was a

voluntary departure?

MR. KUYKENDALL: That’s what I’m trying to find

out.

THE COURT: Do you know?

MR. HANKS: No.

THE COURT: Usually on the first go-around it’s a

voluntary departure, anyway.

[27]

MR. KUYKENDALL: I understand that, but there

were others.

Q. There were subsequent occasions?

A. Yes. ’

THE COURT: How many times have the emigration

service put you out of the country?

THE WITNESS: I don’t remember exactly how many

times.

j —

56a

THE COURT: Various?

THE WITNESS: Yes, many, several.

Q. In 1975, you came back to the United States and

you went to California?

A. Yes.

Q. The emigration service apprehended you in Cali-

fornia at River Bend, California and sent you back to

Mexico, is that correct?

A. Correct.

Q. That proceeding there, were you allowed to leave

California and go back to Mexico voluntarily or was

there any type of hearing in which you were ordered

to go back to Mexico?

A. That’s correct. There was a hearing.

Q. There was a hearing and as a result of that hearing

were you deported?

A. That’s correct.

[28]

THE COURT: Isn’t there some documentation to

show whether he was deported or not?

MR. KUYKENDALL: Not under this name.

THE COURT: Under any name.

MR. KUYKENDALL: I don’t have it.

THE COURT: They give them a hearing and then

grant them a voluntary departure, so it doesn’t help me

—I don’t know how relevant it is anyway, but go ahead.

Q. You came back and went to Chicago?

A. Correct.

Q. You were deported from Fort Worth again?

57a

A. Correct.

Q. You came back to the United States and went to

Freeport?

A. Correct.

Q. Have you been deported since you’ve been at

Freeport?

A. In 1978 was the last deportation.

Q. Was that while you were in Freeport?

A. In Pearland.

Q. You got married in 1969 to your present wife, is

that correct?

A. Correct.

Q. You had three children and all three children were

born in Mexico, is that what I understand?

[29]

A. That’s correct.

Q. Were you married to Carmen in Freeport?

A. No.

Q. As I understand it you were not living with Carmen

at the time of your injury?

A. Correct.

THE COURT: I believe he construed your previous

question. You were asking him the site of his marriage.

Is that what you meant to ask him? Where the marriage

occurred or where the marriage was performed?

MR. KUYKENDALL: In Mexico. He didn’t marry

Carmen.

THE COURT: You asked him if he was married in

Freeport and I don’t know whether you’re talking about

his status or where the marriage took place.

eal

58a

Q. Mr. Hernandez, I may have been confused myself.

I apologize. You have only been married one time ‘and

that was to your present wife in Mexico, is that right?

A. Correct.

Q. You have had three children all in Mexico by

your present wife?

A. Correct.

Q. While you were married to your present wife, you

started living with a lady called Carmen in Freeport?

A. Correct.

[30]

Q. You had three children by Carmen?

A. Correct.

Q. But you and Carmen were separated sometime

before you got hurt, as I understand it?

A. Correct.

Q. As I understand it, you, Carmen and the three

children were not living together before you got hurt?

A. Correct. (R. Tr. Vol. 5, pp. 25-30)

[34]

* * *

Q. Sir, at the time of your injury your wife was liv-

ing in Mexico, as I understand it?

A. That’s correct.

Q. When you were admitted into TIRR, you started

having conversations with Mrs. Lewis and the social

worker at TIRR with regard to who was going to take

care of you after you were released from the hospital, is

that correct? Let me ask you a simpler question. When

you were in the hospital did you start having conversa-

tions with a social worker at TIRR and you and she

EE

a

59a

had to decide who was going to help take care of you

after you were released from TIRR where you were

going to go?

A. That’s correct.

Q. You informed the social worker you would like

your wife in Mexico to take care of you or assist you

after you left the hospital?

A. That’s correct.

Q. Arrangements were made through the social work-

er? She obtained a visitor’s visa for your wife to come to

the United States, right?

A. That is correct.

Q. Dr. Donovan and the social worker wrote letters

on

[35]

your behalf to obtain your wife’s admission to come into

the country?

A. That’s correct.

Q. Was that about May or June of 1984 that she was

allowed to come into the United States?

A. In May, no it’s not correct. She got the visa in

January of this year. January it will be one year. On the

22nd of January it had been a year that she got the visa

to come to the United States.

Q. January 1985 Dr. Donovan and the social worker

wrote a letter and got her visa extended?

A. That’s correct.

Q. Also after your wife was here you obtained the

help of Dr. Donovan and the social worker to try to ob-

tain permission for your three children to come to the

United States, is that correct?

A. They did this but they couldn’t bring the children.

60a

Q. Emigration would not give the children the visa?

A. I believe they didn’t.

Q. While you were trying to get the children to come

to the United States, didn’t you tell Dr. Donovan and the

social worker that you wanted them to come to be here

until you had completed your rehabilitation and were

able to return to Mexico?

A. I don’t remember.

[36]

Q. Is the letter, Plaintiff's Exhibit No. 26 written by

TIRR, Dr. Donovan and the social worker dated May 10,

1984. On the last sentence the letter says we greatly

appreciate your atention in this situation and hope you

are able to help Mr. and Mrs. Hernandez’s children to

come and stay with them until his rehabilitation is

finished and he returns to his home in Mexico. Sir, do

you remember telling Dr. Donovan and the social worker

that you intended to return to Mexico after your rehabili-

tation was completed?

A. No. I don’t remember.

Q. You don’t remember, all right. Did you have any

intention in May of 1984 to return to Mexico after your

rehabilitation?

A. I don’t remember.

THE COURT: Do you now have an intention to re-

turn to Mexico or do you plan to remain in this country,

if you can?

THE WITNESS: If it is possible, I would like to stay

here in the United States.

Q. Does your wife and mother intend to stay here, or

do you know?

6la

A. I haven’t asked them. Only my wife would be try-

ing to stay here.

Q. Is your wife necessary to help you for your

[37]

assistance at home?

A. That’s correct.

Q. If she is required to return to Mexico when her

visitor’s visa runs out, will you go to Mexico with her?

A. No, sir.

Q. Mr. Hernandez, do you know a Nancy Lewis?

A. Nancy Lewis—I don’t. The one I know is called

Susy Lewis. |

Q. The case manager that helped you and got the

supplies for you after you checked out of the hospital?

A. Yes.

Q. Do you remember telling Ms. Lewis in June of

1984 you would probably return to Mexico after this

case was over?

A. I don’t remember.

Q. Do you remember telling anyone that you intended

to return to Mexico after this case was over?

A. I don’t remember.

Q. Have you made any application with the-immigra-

tion service to stay in the United States or taken any

other action to try to stay in the United States?

A. No. I haven’t done anything until this time. I

haven’t applied for any permits.

MR. KUYKENDALL: No further questions. (R. Tr.

Vol. 5, pp. 34-37)

> ———E

62a

APPENDIX F

TIRR

THE INSTITUTE FOR REHABILITATION AND RESEARCH

in the Texas Medical Center

1333 Moursund Avenue

Houston, Texas 77030

(713) 797-1440

May 10, 1984

To Whom It May Concern:

This verifies that Alejandro Rodriquez Hernandez is a

patient undergoing comprehensive rehabilitation in this

hospital for a spinal cord injury which left him paralyzed

from the chest down. The injury is the result of a work

related accident which occurred on 9/21/83.

Comprehensive rehabilitation for a patient like Mr. Her-

nandez means bringing him to maximum independence

at a wheelchair level, including physical, emotional and

social independence. This requires at least two years of

treatment both in the hospital setting and at home.

During Mr. Hernandez first TIRR admission he learned

some basic concepts of rehabilitation about his body

functions which, if he were not appropriately oriented,

could result in complications which might be fatal. He

learned to apply these concepts during a two-month dis-

charge and is now readmitted for training in more ad-

vanced skills in physical functioning.

Mr. Hernandez’s wife, Jovita, was allowed to come into

this country several months ago to learn his care and

to provide assistance when necessary. However, their

three children, Luz Maria-9, Veronica- 8, and Guada-

lupe - 7, were left in Mexico in the care of Mr. Her-

nandez’s parents. This separation has caused them anguish

and depression, especially Mr. Hernandez, since he is

aware that returning to Mexico is not an option for him

at this time as treatment is not available where he lives.

63a

Seeing his children again would be very supportive to

him and to the Children.

Since Mr. Hernandez’s accident occurred while he was

at work, his medical expenses are covered and he receives

weekly compensation checks from his Worker’s Com-

pensation insurance.

We greatly appreciate your attention in this situation and

hope you are able to help Mr. and ‘Mrs. Hernandez’s

children to come and stay with them until his rehabilita-

tion is finished and he returns to his home in Mexico.

/s/ CARMEN G. PENA

Carmen G. Pena, C.S.W.

Medical Social Worker

/s/ W. H. DONOVAN, M.D.

William H. Donovan, M.D.

Attending Physician

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Dianella Shipping Corp. v. Hernandez · 488 U.S. 981 | Frix