Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Tenneco Oil Co. v. Kern Oil & Refining Co.

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

GC)

; Supreme Court, U.S,

8 § - 4 52 FILED

SEP 15 1983

BED eeeromes JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Petitioner,

Vs

KERN OIL & REFINING COMPANY,

a Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Of Counsel:

JAMES R. MARTIN

MARK. WEBER

GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER

333 South Grand Avenue

Los Angeles, CA 90071

(213) 229-7000

JOHN P. MATHIS

JANE G. ADAMS

BAKER & BOTTS

555 Thirteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 639-7700

BoypD L. HENDERSON

ALFRED B. SMITH, JR.

TENNECO OIL COMPANY

1010 Milam Street

Suite 2240

Houston, Texas 77001

(713) 757-3078

E. BARRETT PRETTYMAN, JR.*

JOHN G. ROBERTS, JR.

BARBARA L. SLOAN

HOGAN & HARTSON

555 Thirteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 637-5685

Counsel for Petitioner

* Counsel of Record

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INc.

- 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Did the court below err in accepting and relying

upon findings of fact and conclusions of law entered by

the District Court after a proper notice of appeal had

divested the District Court of jurisdiction, contrary to

the holdings of this Court and the Third, Fifth, and

Seventh Circuits?

2. May a District Court prohibit a party—by enforc-

ing a stipulated umbrella protective order, barring the

public and press from the courtroom, and refusing to

unseal the trial record and exhibits until after its deci-

sion in the case—from presenting to a federal regulatory

agency evidence—later found by the agency to be true—

that the other party had perpetrated a fraud on the

agency?

(i)

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioner Tenneco Oil Company is wholly-owned by

Tenneco Corporation, which is wholly-owned by Tennessee

Gas Pipeline Company, which in turn is wholly owned by

Tenneco Inc. Pursuant to Rule 28.1, a complete listing of

all subsidiaries and affiliates of Tenneco Inc. appears at

Appendix M. Tenneco Oil Company was defendant-

counterclaimant in the District Court and appellant in

the Court of Appeals. Respondent Kern Oil & Refining

Company was plaintiff-counterdefendant in the District

Court and appellee in the Court of Appeals.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...... POY Sa eee IRE

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ............................

SE Mr IE TOI css ccd cic cicneecsasncsniesssansicnsin

I Ci sss ecncensecteansentunstacanscvssbonssecneibens

oa aeaicassdantdaiogatestnniinbeseainns ix emsenninhaiats

PERTINENT CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND

a ae hacactoecetiiei ens esndhbaresniammtohcnion<shasacennnockondairepezwession

ce es yt yy} oF S| En

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT..........0.......

I. The District Court Lacked Jurisdiction To Enter

Findings Of Fact And Conclusions Of Law After

The Filing Of A Notice Of Appeal _..........0.00000.....

II. The Courts Below Violated The First Amend-

ment, Rule 26(c), And Public Policy By Barring

Tenneco From Presenting The Evidence Of

Kern’s Fraud To The Appropriate Federal Reg-

SEES ALA on OE ae Sele See

A. The Decision Below Conflicts With This

Court’s Decision In Seattle Times ..................

B. The Decision Below Conflicts With Decisions

From The Third, Sixth, Seventh, And Elev-

enth Circuits On The Implications Of Um-

brella Protective Orders

C. The Decision Below Violates Public Policy...

CONCLUSION

16

17

22

28

30

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

APPENDICES

Appendix A:

Appendix B:

Appendix C:

Appendix D:

Appendix E:

Appendix F:

Appendix G:

Appendix H:

Appendix I:

Appendix J:

Appendix K:

Appendix L:

Appendix M:

Opinion of Court of Appeals, filed

EE Tek. PEE Sicoestscentensatesaccecennenen

Order of Court of Appeals Denying

Petition for Rehearing, filed May

. 3. Se Meises. ata ie

Order extending time to file petition

for certiorari

Order of District Court on Disclo-

sure, filed Sept. 6, 1985 —..................

Order of District Court on Disclo-

sure, filed Oct. 11, 1985 ....................

Transcript of Proceedings, Dec. 18,

1985

Memorandum of Decision of Dis-

trict Court, filed Aug. 28, 1986........

Order of District Court on Disclo-

sure, filed Sept. 25, 1986 _..............

Order and Judgment of District

Court, entered Nov. 5, 1986.............

Findings of Fact and Conclusions

of Law of District Court, entered

pS UR tae Pe

Stipulated Protective Order _...........

Pertinent Constitutional Provision

GE IS Sat ai deehe: Oat

Statement Pursuant to Rule 28.1...

Page

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

American Tel. & Tel. Co. v. Grady, 594 F.2d 594

(7th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 971

EET TID. cnuswinsknsintnaneseamsntincnidadidammeninasiemaate maaan 23

Anderson vy. Cryovac, Inc., 805 F.2d 1 (Ast Cir.

TID: ccetcnsinesisnenaaciuncnsdimateriasceaea i eee 20, 21, 26

Applications of NBC, 828 F.2d 340(6th Cir. 1987)... 26-27

Avendano v. Gay, 75 U.S. (8 Wall.) 376 (1869) .. 10

Beliz v. W.H. McLeod & Sons Packing Co., 765

ip Bw iym) Cs Se: | Rae ere 11

Budinich v. Becton Dickinson & Co., 108 S.Ct.

EERE. QROMED ceccirccdicecasieciaee eee 10

Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp. v. FTC, 710

F.2d 1165 (6th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465

CU. ROW CRED cciaciuciniacoseneie anes 24

CBS, Inc. v. United States Dist. Court, 765 F.2d

Re | FRc eo ee 21

Ced’s Inc. Vv. EPA, 745 F.2d 1092 (7th Cir. 1984),

cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1015 (1985) .................... 11

Christianson vy. Colt Indus. Operating Corp., 108

ts Bs) ht, Seer Ea 10, 15

Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 785 F.2d 1108

«gt 3 Rae oe 19, 20, 21, 24, 26

Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 822 F.2d 335

(3d Cir.), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct. 487 (1987) ....21, 22, 27

Data Digests, Inc. v. Standard & Poor’s Corp., 57

F.R.D. 42 (S.D.N.Y. 1972) ....... SERED Sates Pe 23, 29

Essex Wire Corp. Vv. Eastern Elec. Sales Co., 48

Aki 6 ee RR ee 29

GAF Corp. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 415 F. Supp.

pe. et 8 Se . : RAE nenE mE 23, 26, 29

Garcia V. Burlington Northern R. Co., 818 F.2d

TR CRUE Ss, BONED cninticcinciteetinas ae ao 9

Generes V. Bonnemer, 74 U.S. (7 Wall.) 564

f | RUE aan ER ON ON UCR Sear En) 10

Gormong V. Local Union 613, IBEW, 714 F.2d

RRO. CEU Gis Fe cence eee 14, 15

Griggs V. Provident Consumer Discount Co., 459

aa OR CRE ie ee 9,10, 14

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Henry Vv. Farmer City State Bank, 808 F.2d 1228

(7th Cir. 1986) ......... secede diaiiaiasidaaaaosidaliad sia namie 9,14

Hybritech Inc. vy. Abbott Laboratories, 849 F.2d

BOGS CHU GR. Fe cemscieciseasanteiaen 13

In re “Agent Orange,” 104 F.R.D. 559 (E.D.N.Y.

RUD cvisscssessessseonahenensehsneabetiiedehienascalaaa nea 25, 26

In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 821 F.2d

139 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct. 344

CRIB D cccccccenschisaninitinesseibbiibseciisassanadtaeasadeeeeeaee 19, 25

In re Alexander Grant & Co. Litig., 820 F.2d 352

95 Bi ey ema eae ent EF et ees 19, 24, 27

In re Coordinated Pretrial Proceedings in Petro-

leum Prod. Antitrust Litig., 101 F.R.D. 34

(GER. Gal: SIN esa cetieeoat aera oe 25, 26

In re The Reporters Comm. for Freedom of the

Press, 773 F.2d 1325 (D.C. Cir. 1985) _.... 25, 26, 27, 28

Kern Oil & Refining Co. vy. Tenneco Oil Co., 792

F.2d 1380 (9th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 107

. CO. TGP Geer ciate ecccet 2

Kirtland v. J. Ray McDermott & Co., 568 F.2d

REGS Giem Gib, Fi teettie 15

Marrese v. American Academy of Orthopaedic

Surgeons, 470 U.S. 376 (1985) ...........................- 9

Martindell v. IT&T, 594 F.2d 291 (2d Cir. 1979).. 23

Matter of Continental Illinois Sec. Litig., 732 F.2d

SOUR CTU GA Be iiekttiie eee 24, 25, 26, 27

Matter of Jones, 768 F.2d 923 (7th Cir. 1985)... 13, 14

New York v. United States Metals Refining Co.,

iB e 2. Es | Nee ee 20

Newman v. Graddick, 696 F.2d 796 (11th Cir.

RIED <eccsssseiemssipieaislaicimn nicidsee eee i eee 21

Nicol v. Gulf Fleet Supply Vessels, Inc., 743 F.2d

ee COG CS NOD Sect ee 9

Oklahoma Hospital Ass’n v. Oklahoma Publish-

ing Co., 748 F.2d 1421 (10th Cir. 1984), cert.

denied, 473 U.S. 905 (1985) —.....0 23

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Philadelphia Marine Trade Ass’n v. International

Longshoremen’s Ass’n, Local 1291, 365 F.2d 295

(3d Cir. 1966), rev’d on other grounds, 389

ie | Gs, RARER REN SUR inn eet na neeen 11

Procunier Vv. Martinez, 416 U.S. 396 (1974)............. 18

Rodgers v. United States Steel Corp., 536 F.2d

a gO SRE A noe 20

Rucker v. U.S. Dept. of Labor, 798 F.2d 891 (6th

ER DPE SPs eee Eectne ee ee a OA em 9

Seattle Times Co. v. Rhinehart, 467 U.S. 20

CSR ESR DESC OPN at eee Se 17, 18, 19, 23

Sharjah Inv. Co., Ltd. v. P.C. Telemart, Inc., 107

fe FR eenren eee 26

Silverthorne v. Laird, 460 F.2d 1175 (5th Cir.

accent aici ieciietisiseligecis hich 12, 15

Tavoulareas v. Washington Post Co., 737 F.2d

1170 (D.C. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct.

a a a a i ede 19

Torres Vv. Oakland Scavenger Co., 108 S. Ct. 2405

I ea fe De ash cemmneianinoninin 11, 15

Under Sea Industries, Inc. v. Dacor Corp., 833

, g @.. 4: | eee 12, i3

United States v. Aluminum Co. of Am., 2 F. R. D.

224 (S.D.N.Y. 1941), on appeal, 329 U.S. 716

(1944), certified and transferred, 148 F.2d 416

I a eek haesneelieaiaaianbes 12

United States v. GAF Corp., 596 F.2d 10 (2d Cir.

gene er TARE STi ne cer ee yr a 21

Valentin v. Richardson, 110 F.R.D. 622 (D. Mass

eR MEAS ee eo TS SE Sse SIE MI an eR 29

Venen v. Sweet, 758 F.2d 117 (3d Cir. 1985)............ 9,14

W.R. Grace & Co. v. Local Union 759, 461 U.S.

cere 29

Zenith Radio Corp. v. Matsushita Elec. Indus.

Co., 529 F. Supp. 866 (E.D. Pa. 1981) ........... 23, 27

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Constitutional Provision, Statute, Rules,

and Regulations: Page

MRI, Tt =. csetissnsmenisscinndanibecebanniontete passim

- 2k Fw ST ) | a eeeLe eee Dn ee NNEnrEn On 2

eG Pe I a cscactinenbanettntnnsneniienanmitinneband passim

RE 8 COR eae CET oe 7,8, 10, 15

ER 2 ERROR OCD Rm cor 8, 10,15

i ec = on eneeccietannalvannanns 9

kX” EER er cans OM mee Coe 7

Mandatory Petroleum Allecation Regulations, 10

oh ge EO RS |, (eee 3

Other Authorities:

9 J. Moore, B. Ward & J. Lucas, Moore’s Federal

I Te Sis Ds itinnntalestaninasninnintnsinsinternoccen 7

Manual for Complex Litigation (2d ed. 1986) ....... 23

Marcus, Myth and Reality in Protective Order

Litigation, 69 Cornell L. Rev. 1 (1983) ............. 23

16 C. Wright, A. Miller, E. Cooper & E. Gress-

man, Federal Practice and Procedure: Juris-

I CO cenit centicashicascicbinetescncnsecianacdbadateceiennbieas 9

IN THE

Supreme Cot of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No.

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

.. Petitioner,

KERN OIL & REFINING COMPANY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner Tenneco Oil Company respectfully prays that

a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and

opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit entered in the above-entitled proceeding on

March 7, 1988.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at 840

F.2d 730 and is reprinted in the appendix hereto (“App.’’)

at la. The various opinions of the District Court are un-

reported and are reprinted at App. 24a, 28a, 3la, 39a,

46a, and 53a.

JURISDICTION

The District Court entered judgment against petitioner

on November 5, 1986. App. 50a. Petitioner filed a notice

of appeal on November 21, 1986. See App. 6a. Three

days later, on November 24, 1986, the District Court en-

tered its findings of fact and conclusions of law. App.

2

58a, 8la. The Court of Appeals affirmed on March 7, 1988,

App. la, and denied a timely-filed petition for rehearing

on May 19, 1988. App. 22a. On August 3, 1988, Justice

O'Connor entered an order extending the time to file a

petition for certiorari to and including September 16,

1988. App. 23a. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

PERTINENT CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

AND RULES

The pertinent parts of the First Amendment to the

United States Constitution and Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(c), 52,

and 59 are set forth at App. 87a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In May 1977, Tenneco Oil Company (“Tenneco”) and

a predecessor to Kern Oil & Refining Company (“Kern’’)

entered into a contract under which Tenneco agreed to

sell and Kern agreed to purchase oil produced by Tenneco

from the Yowlumne oil field in California. The parties

soon came to disagree over the requirements of the con-

tract and of applicable regulations issued by the Depart-

ment of Energy (“DOE”). Kern responded by filing

three lawsuits in United States District Court for the

Central District of California, the last two of which are

the subject of this petition.’

In one of these—filed in July 1981—Kern alleged that

Tenneco violated DOE regulations. In the other—a di-

versity action filed in December 1982—Kern relied on the

same acts to allege a breach of the contract. The Dis-

trict Court consolidated these two actions. In essence,

Kern’s claim in the two suits was that Tenneco violated

1The first suit—filed in February 1981—concerned the price of

the oil subject to the contract. It proceeded independently of the

suits at issue in this case, which concern the supply of oil under the

contract. Kern Oil & Refining Co. v. Tenneco Oil Co., 792 F.2d 1380

(9th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 107 S. Ct. 1349 (1987).

3

DOE regulations and the 1977 contract by failing to

supply Kern with all of the oil produced from the Yow-

lumne field. Tenneco contended that Kern was in fact

unable to accept all of the oil due to limits on its refining

capacity, and that Kern knowingly redelivered excess oil

to Tenneco under a separate 1978 contract.

During the pertinent time period, the DOE entitlements

program—designed to equalize the cost of “price con-

trolled” and “uncontrolled” oil to refiners—was in effect.

Refiners were required to purchase an “entitlement” to

refine “price controlled” oil and to report, under oath,

the number of price controlled barrels refined each month.

See Mandatory Petroleum Allocation Regulations, 10

C.F.R. § 211.1-.71 (1979). Instead, during the damage

period, Kern systematically refined price controlled oil

but reported to DOE that it was refining uncontrolled

oil. It did not purchase entitlements on such oil.

The operation of this program was directly pertinent

to Kern’s damage claim, in that the cost of entitlements

increased the cost of oil to Kern so substantially that Kern

would not have rationally purchased and refined the addi-

tional price controlled oil it was claiming from Tenneco.

Removing the price controlled barrels from Kern’s damage

claim would have reduced its damages by more than $6

million.

In early 1985, during the course of discovery, Tenneco

uncovered documents demonstrating that Kern had de-

frauded DOE by evading its obligations to purchase en-

titlements on the price controlled oil it refined. Tenneco

promptly moved in the District Court, on April 18, 1985,

for leave to disclose these documents to DOE. Such leave

was necessary because the parties had stipulated at the

outset of discovery to a routine umbrella protective or-

der, covering all documents and information obtained

through discovery. App. 83a.

4

The District Court, in September 1985, ordered Kern

to show “good cause” under Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(c) as to

why disclosure of the specified documents should not be

permitted. App. 25a. As the District Court itself noted,

however, “Kern elected not to make its showing of good

cause.” App. 25a. Instead, Kern argued that Tenneco

should be bound by the umbrella protective order even in

the absence of good cause. App. 26a. One month later,

on October 11, 1985, the District Court expressly found

that “Kern has failed to demonstrate good cause why the

disclosure of Exhibits B, D, G, E (apart from those docu-

ments listed in Exhibit B to Tenneco’s Second Supple-

mental Memorandum) and F (as revised) should not be

permitted * * *.” App. 29a. Despite the absence of “good

cause,” the court nonetheless barred Tenneco from turn-

ing the documents over to DOE on the grounds that

Tenneco was “bound by th{e] agreement” and that per-

mitting disclosure ‘can only result in further delay and

may further complicate and extend the present proceed-

ings with no assurance that positive and constructive re-

sults will be achieved.” App. 27a, 29a.

During the trial, the District Court closed the court-

room and evicted members of the public when the issue of

Kern’s fraud arose. The transcript reveals the following:

Mr. Sherwood [counsel for Kern]: [W]e would

request that the proceedings insofar as there be tes-

timony on that subject be closed, and that the tran-

script be sealed pending further order of the Court.

The Court: All right. Proceedings closed. Now,

what do you mean by that?

Mr. Sherwood: Well, we, as you may recall, re-

sisted the effort on the part of Tenneco to turn over

discovery materials to the DOE. We wish to make

sure that at least pending further order of the Court,

that insofar as these matters are presented in open

court either by testimony or by exhibit, that those

not be available for disclosure to anybody else, and

that the public, who may or may not have an exotic

Mageitae Behe

ie |

5

interest in the subject, be excluded from the court-

room.

The Court: Well, that’s consistent with my order,

and I think that order should continue.

* * * *

Proceedings will be closed. In light of that, I’m

going to ask you to excuse yourselves. Thank you.

[Ct. App. Excerpts of Record, at 1896-98. ]

The documents Tenneco wished to disclose to DOE were

then admitted into evidence in secrecy, and kept under

seal. On July 2, 1986, after the trial had concluded,

Tenneco moved yet again to unseal the trial record and

exhibits, so that it could reveal Kern’s fraud to DOE.

Id. at 963.

On August 28, 1986—still without having ruled on

Tenneco’s post-trial disclosure motion—the District Court

issued a decision on the merits, concluding that Kern was

entitled to collect from Tenneco some $32 million in dam-

ages, interest, and attorneys’ fees. App. 39a. In calcu-

lating damages, the court rejected Tenneco’s argument

based on the documents that Tenneco was barred from

showing to DOE, stating that Kern’s conduct “was not

violative of federal regulations” and that “the Depart-

ment of Energy made an audit of entitlements compli-

ance * * * and found Kern to be in compliance.’ App.

43a. DOE itself, of course, had not yet had any oppor-

tunity to address the question, since the District Court

had forbidden Tenneco from presenting its evidence of

Kern’s fraud to DOE, had closed the courtroom to pre-

vent disclosure of the evidence, and had yet to rule on

Tenneco’s post-trial motion to unseal the record. The

court’s Memorandum concluded by directing counsel for

Kern to prepare findings of fact and conclusions of law,

as well as a judgment. App. 45a.

On September 19, 1986, in response to a mandamus

petition filed by Tenneco, the Court of Appeals for the

6

Ninth Circuit in effect suggested that the District Court

rule on Tenneco’s post-trial disclosure motion within 14

days. On September 25, 1986, the District Court issued

an Order on the motion. The Order recognized the con-

flict in the Circuits over the First Amendment right of

access to records in a civil case, and noted that “this

issue has not been addressed by either the Ninth Circuit

or the Supreme Court.” App. 47a. The court granted

Tenneco’s motion for reasons that confirmed the grounds

on which it had earlier barred disclosure and closed the

courtroom:

Because this matter has now been tried, presentation

by Tenneco of the documents at issue to the DOE

will not delay proceedings before this Court. More-

over, when ruling on Tenneco’s original motion for

disclosure, this Court found that Kern had failed to

demonstrate good cause as to why the documents

should remain under seal. The Court now reaffirms

this finding. * * * There being no good cause for the

maintenance of the protective orders, those orders

are vacated insofar as they pertain to trial exhibits

received into evidence and to the trial transcript.

[App. 48a (emphasis supplied). ]

The court stayed its Order until October 3, 1986, and

Kern—relentlessly attempting to block disclosure of its

documents to DOE—sought a stay from the Ninth Circuit

and this Court. Both efforts failed and, on October 3—

eighteen months after seeking permission to contact DOE

—Tenneco was finally permitted to present the evidence

of Kern’s fraud to DOE. That agency immediately

opened an investigation of Kern, and on March 31, 1987,

issued a Proposed Remedial Order seeking $60 million

from Kern due to its fraud during the damage period.

The DOE order specified that Kern “reduced its post-

entitlements cost of crude oil below that which it would

have incurred if it had properly reported its controlled

tier crude oil receipts to the Entitlements Program,” that

7

transactions reported by Kern “never really took place”

and “were designed, in fact, ‘for the purpose of camou-

flaging the real deal’ from the DOE,” and that Kern

“unlawfully evaded its obligations under the Entitlements

Program.” ?

The disclosure and its resulting action by DOE, how-

ever, came too late to affect proceedings in the District

Court. On November 5, 1986, that court entered its

judgment against Tenneco. App. 50a. Tenneco filed its

notice of appeal on November 21, 1986.* Three days after

Tenneco’s notice of appeal—on November 24, 1986—the

District Court entered the findings of fact and conclusions

of law required under Fed. R. Civ. P. 52.

The Court of Appeals affirmed, rejecting Tenneco’s

argument that the notice of appeal divested the District

Court of jurisdiction to enter findings of fact and con-

clusions of law. According to the Ninth Circuit, “divesti-

ture of district court jurisdiction does not rest on a stat-

ute” but is rather a “ ‘judge-made doctrine’” that may

be departed from on a case-by-case basis.* The court held

that Tenneco “suffered no harm by the late filing,” re-

jecting Tenneco’s argument that the District Court’s be-

2 Ct. App. Excerpts of Record, at 3771, 3777. As required by law,

10 C.F.R. § 205.192(d), the Proposed Remedial Order was accom-

panied by a declaration of the DOE employee primarily knowledge-

able about the case that “to the best of my knowledge and belief,

the findings of fact are correct.” Ct. App. Excerpts of Record, at

3785. Kern has sought review of the Proposed Remedial Order.

3 Since the District Court’s unitary judgment included a claim

within the exclusive jurisdiction of the Temporary Emergency Court

of Appeals (“TECA”), Tenneco noted an appeal to that court as well

as the Ninth Circuit. Proceedings before TECA were stayed pend-

ing decision by the Ninth Circuit. On August 15, 1988, TECA issued

an order setting forth a briefing schedule, with briefing to be com-

plete by September 23, 1988.

4 App. 6a (quoting 9 J. Moore, B. Ward & J. Lucas, Moore’s

Federal Practice § 203.11, at 3-45 n.1 (2d ed. 1987)).

8

lated entry of its findings and conclusions deprived Ten-

neco of any opportunity to move for amended findings

and conclusions under Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(b) and 59(a).

According to the Court of Appeals, permitting Tenneco to

file such motions ‘“‘would be pointless.” App. 7a.

The Ninth Circuit also rejected Tenneco’s claim that

the District Court erred when it barred Tenneco from

presenting the evidence of Kern’s fraud to DOE in a

timely manner. Kern had supported its damage claims

at trial by arguing that it would have refined additional

price controlled oil from Tenneco. Now that the Kern

documents had at last been revealed to DOE, however,

the same Kern officials were taking the exact opposite

position in seeking to overturn the DOE Proposed Re-

medial Order. Kern was now arguing before DOE that

the cost of entitlements made price controlled oil too ex-

pensive to refine and that it would not have refined any

additional price controlled Tenneco oil. See App. 17a.

Tenneco contended before the Ninth Circuit that, had it

been able to reveal the documents to DOE in a timely

fashion, Kern would not have been able to take such in-

consistent positions, and the District Court could have

considered DOE’s findings—not just Tenneco’s arguments

—in assessing Kern’s damage claims. The Court of Ap-

peals, however, stated that the fact “[t]hat Kern is now

arguing a different theory to a different tribunal cer-

tainly weakens its new position, but does not make the

district court’s earlier conclusion clearly unsupported by

the evidence.”” App. 17a.

9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The District Court Lacked Jurisdiction To Enter Find-

ings Of Fact And Conclusions Of Law After The Filing

Of A Notice Of Appeal

This Court recently held that “(t]he filing of a notice

of appeal is an event of jurisdictional significance—it

confers jurisdiction on the court of appeals and divests

the district court of its control over those aspects of the

case involved in the appeal.” Griggs v. Provident Con-

sumer Discount Co., 459 U.S. 56, 58 (1982). See Marrese

v. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, 470 U.S.

376, 379 (1985). Other Circuits have also recognized

that “‘upon the filing of the notice of appeal the district

court loses its power to take any further action in the

proceeding except in aid of the appeal, to correct clerical

mistakes under Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(a), or in aid of execu-

tion of a judgment that has not been stayed or super-

seded.”° The court below crafted another exception to

this fundamental principle of appellate jurisdiction. It

permitted the District Court to enter findings of fact and

conclusions of law after a proper notice of appeal had

divested that court of jurisdiction. Although “a federal

district court and a federal court of appeals should not

attempt to assert jurisdiction over a case simultaneously,”

Griggs, 459 U.S. at 58, that is precisely the result sanc-

tioned by the court below in this case.

5 Henry V. Farmer City State Bank, 808 F.2d 1228, 1240 (7th Cir.

1986). See, e.g., Nicol v. Gulf Fleet Supply Vessels, Inc., 743 F.2d

298, 299 (5th Cir. 1984); Rucker v. U.S. Dept. of Labor, 798 F.2d

891, 892 (6th Cir. 1986); Venen v. Sweet, 758 F.2d 117, 120 (3d

Cir. 1985) ; Garcia v. Burlington Northern R. Co., 818 F.2d 713, 721

(10th Cir. 1987). See also 16 C. Wright, A. Miller, E. Cooper &

E. Gressman, Federal Practice and Procedure: Jurisdiction § 3949,

at 359 (1977) (“So complete is this transfer of jurisdiction that any

orders of the district court touching upon the substance of the mat-

ter on appeal are considered null and void if entered subsequent to

the timely filing of the notice of appeal’’).

10

This Court long ago recognized the inherent prejudice

in permitting findings and conclusions to be entered after

an appeal has been taken from the underlying judgment.

Generes V. Bonnemer, 74 U.S. (7 Wall.) 564 (1869).°

Tenneco was left without hearing and without remedy

with respect to the findings and conclusions belatedly en-

tered by the District Court after the notice of appeal.

Although Rules 52(b) and 59(a) expressly provide a

means to correct erroneous findings or judgments, the

time to file such motions expired before the court even

entered its findings.

The Ninth Circuit justified its new exception on the

ground that adhering to the rule would result in ‘“need-

less paper shuffling.” App. 6a. The rule reiterated by

this Court in Griggs, however, is not a matter of discre-

tion, depending on the particular facts of each case. The

filing of a notice of appeal is an event of “jurisdictional

significance,” Griggs, 459 U.S. at 58, not simply a factor

to be considered in efficient docket control. As this Court

emphasized last Term, rules concerning the allocation of

jurisdiction between trial and appellate courts “should

above all be clear.” This is an area in which “[c]ourts

and litigants are best served by * * * bright-line rule[sj”

rather than case-by-case analysis of the sort engaged in

below. Budinich v. Becton Dickinson & Co., 108 S. Ct.

1717, 1722 (1988) .?

6 There, a unanimous Court noted:

To permit the judge to make a statement of facts, on which

the case shall be heard here, after the case is removed to this

court by the service of the writ of error, or even after it is

issued, would place the rights of parties who have judgments

of record, entirely in the power of the judge, without hearing

and without remedy. [/d. at 565. Accord Avendano v. Gay, 75

U.S. (8 Wall.) 376 (1869).]

7 See Christianson V. Colt Indus. Operating Corp., 108 S. Ct. 2166,

2178 (1988) (adhering to “age-old rule that a court may not in any

case, even in the interest of justice, extend its jurisdiction where

none exists,” despite recognition that such adherence would create

11

Other Circuits have recognized the “jurisdictional

significance” of a notice of appeal, repeatedly confirming

that a District Court lacks authority to act after a

proper notice of appeal, regardless of any apparent

wastefulness caused by adherence to this rule. Thus, in

Ced’s Inc. v. EPA, 745 F.2d 1092 (7th Cir. 1984), cert.

denied, 471 U.S. 1015 (1985), the Seventh Circuit held

that the trial court was wholly without jurisdiction, no

matter what the motivation, to issue additional grounds

supporting its ruling after a notice of appeal had been

filed. Id. at 1095. In Beliz v. W.H. McLeod & Sons

Packing Co., 765 F.2d 1317, 1326 (5th Cir. 1985), the

Fifth Circuit concluded that the District Court lacked

jurisdiction to enter an “order supplementing judgment”

after filing of the notice of appeal, even though the order

only clarified that certain plaintiffs were minors repre-

sented by their parents. And in Philadelphia Marine

Trade Ass’n v. International Longshoremen’s Ass’n,

Local 1291, 365 F.2d 295, 300 (38d Cir. 1966), rev’d on

other grounds, 389 U.S. 64 (1967), the Third Circuit

rejected a complaint that the District Court failed to

make findings of fact and conclusions of law, noting that

the fact that the other party had filed a proper notice of

appeal “precluded the trial Court from entering findings

of fact and conclusions of law even if they were required

in this instance.”

This question was hotly debated in the course of the

famous aluminum antitrust litigation, which culminated

in a final decision by the three senior judges of the Sec-

ond Circuit when a quorum of this Court was not avail-

wastefulness) ; Torres v. Oakland Scavenger Co., 108 S. Ct. 2405,

2409 n.3 (1988) (strict adherence to jurisdictional rule regarding

naming of parties taking appeal; rejecting argument that Court

“should apply ‘harmless error’ analysis to defects in a notice of

appeal. This argument misunderstands the nature of a jurisdictional

requirement” ).

12

able.* The trial judge in that case had delivered an oral

opinion announcing his intent to dismiss the Govern-

ment’s action. The Government thereupon urged the

court to enter judgment immediately without waiting for

the formal findings and conclusions required under Rule

52, in order “to enable it to get the case into the Supreme

Court at the earliest possible moment.” United States

v. Aluminum Company of America, 2 F.R.D. 224, 236

(S.D.N.Y. 1941). The court refused to do so, noting

that the Government’s planned immediate appeal would

divest the trial court of any jurisdiction to enter the re-

quired findings:

If a final order were entered and an appeal there-

from perfected, * * * clearly the jurisdiction of this

court to make findings would thereupon be at an

end. * * * I think that the Supreme Court has gone

further; it has specifically ruled, or at least strongly

indicated, that making findings is one of the things

as to which jurisdiction is terminated by an appeal

being perfected. [Id.]

The leading authority to the contrary is Silverthorne

v. Laird, 460 F.2d 1175 (5th Cir. 1972). There, the

trial court issued an opinion some four months after

the notice of appeal and two days before oral argument

of the appeal. The appellant argued that the notice had

divested the District Court of jurisdiction, but the Court

of Appeals disagreed, noting that the District Court’s

“amplified views are of great aid in this appeal.” Jd.

at 1178. This ruling, we submit, was in error.

More recently, the court in Under Sea Industries, Inc.

v. Dacor Corp., 833 F.2d 1551, 1555-59 (Fed. Cir. 1987),

ruled that findings and conclusions entered by the Dis-

trict Court two months after a proper notice of appeal

from the judgment were “valid,” and the appellate court

8 United States v. Aluminum Company of America, 322 U.S. 716

(1944), certified and transferred, 148 F.2d 416 (2d Cir. 1945).

a

EEE

eo oe

13

relied extensively upon those findings in affirming the

judgment. The court’s action in doing so, however, il-

lustrates the inevitable practical problems. The appellant

in Under Sea, confronted with entry of the District

Court’s findings and conclusions two months after his

appeal, quite naturally filed a second notice of appeal

from the findings and conclusions. The Federal Circuit

—although it relied heavily on the belated findings and

conclusions—nonetheless dismissed the appeal from those

findings and conclusions, noting that an appeal is proper

only from a judgment. Jd. at 1555-56.°

Judge Posner recently took note of this conflict, writ-

ing in response to a trial judge’s practice of deciding

bankruptcy cases orally but writing an opinion should

the losing party appeal. Matter of Jones, 768 F.2d 923,

930-932 (7th Cir. 1985) (concurring opinion). Judge

Posner remarked that

the practice raises a number of serious questions, of

which the most fundamental is whether it is author-

ized by law. The filing of the notice of appeal from

a final judgment ordinarily divests the district court

of jurisdiction over the case and shifts it to the court

of appeals * * *. [Jd. at 930.]

Noting the conflict on the question, Judge Posner con-

cluded that acceptance of such an exception “would on

balance impede rather than facilitate the appellate proc-

ess.” Jd. at 931. In particular, he noted that the prac-

* Indeed, the Federal Circuit, shortly after Under Sea, expressed

its discomfort with the filing of findings and conclusions after

notice of appeal. In Hybritech Inc. v. Abbott Laboratories, 849 F.2d

1446, 1450 (Fed. Cir. 1988), the court grudgingly upheld the prac-

tice once again, but cautioned that “[w]e * * * cannot condone, in

all cases, the procedure followed by the district court judge in this

case.” The court stated that it was preferable for the trial court

to refrain from entering an appealable order until after entry of

findings and conclusions. The contrary practice—endorsed by the

Ninth Circuit in this case—‘“can lead to wasted effort both by the

litigants and by the court.” Jd. at 1451.

14

tice can “throw[] off the appellate timetable” and “con-

verts the opinion-writing process from exploration to ra-

tionalization.” Jd. at 932.

The court below relied upon its own ad hoc view of

convenience and efficiency in creating an exception to the

Griggs rule. Other Circuits, however, have recognized

the danger in creating jurisdictional exceptions on that

basis. In Venen v. Sweet, supra, the District Court de-

nied a motion to dismiss based on judicial immunity, and

the defendant appealed. The District Court thereafter

reconsidered and dismissed the complaint on grounds of

immunity, and the plaintiff appealed. The Third Circuit,

relying on Griggs, held that the District Court had been

divested of jurisdiction by the first appeal, stressing that

“«fdjivest’ means what it says” and that “jurisdictional

requirements may not be disregarded for convenience

sake.” 758 F.2d at 120-121, 123. It vacated the post-

notice order and dismissed the second appeal, even though

this course would necessarily result in further proceed-

ings.

In Henry v. Farmer City State Bank, 808 F.2d at

1240-41, the Seventh Circuit held that a District Court

was without jurisdiction to enjoin state court litigation

commenced by plaintiffs, whose parallel claims were

thrown out of federal court, after the plaintiffs had ap-

pealed the dismissal. Even though the defendants had to

defend themselves “against litigation which at this point

appears to be without merit” and could refile their mo-

tion for an injunction when the case returned to the Dis-

trict Court, the Court of Appeals nonetheless properly

enforced the jurisdictional rule.

In Gormong Vv. Local Union 613, IBEW, 714 F.2d 1109

(llth Cir. 1983), the District Court granted plaintiffs’

motion to dismiss without prejudice, but the clerk errone-

ously entered judgment on the merits against plaintiff.

The plaintiff filed a notice of appeal and, four days later,

ieee alanine

15

the District Court sua sponte vacated the judgment. Al-

though there was no question concerning the proper dis-

position of the case, the Court of Appeals properly re-

fused to give effect to the District Court’s post-notice

order. Instead, the Court of Appeals engaged in what

the Ninth Circuit might dismiss as “needless paper

shuffling,” sending the case back to the District Court to

enter a proper order.’®

There is no “harmless error” rule when it comes to

jurisdiction. See Torres v. Oakiand Scavenger Co., 108

S. Ct. at 2409 n.3; Christianson v. Colt Indus. Operating

Corp., 108 S. Ct. at 2178. The Federal Rules contem-

plate that erroneous findings and conclusions will be

corrected prior to appeal; that is why Rules 52(b) and

59(a) authorize a District Court, upon motion of a party

within ten days after entry of judgment, to amend or

make new findings. Tenneco lost its opportunity under

these Rules to challenge the findings and conclusions

entered by the District Court, because they were entered

three days after the notice of appeal rather than within

ten days of the judgment. Tenneco’s time to challenge

the findings and conclusions expired before they were

even entered.

This lost opportunity was not, as the Court of Appeals

said, “pointless.” App. 7a. In considering the merits of

the contract dispute between the parties, the Ninth Cir-

cuit twice rejected arguments urged by Tenneco because

they were not raised below. Tenneco in fact intended

and was prepared to raise these arguments in the appro-

10 Jd. at 1110. Even the Circuit that spawned Silverthorne has

recognized the proper force of jurisdictional rules on other occa-

sions. See, e.g., Kirtland v. J. Ray McDermott & Co., 568 F.2d 1166,

1170 (5th Cir. 1978), in which the court rejected the contention

that “it is undesirable, indeed a mere technicality, to dismiss the

appeal and require the parties to make an unnecessary round trip

to the trial court.” This disturbing lack of uniformity is particu-

larly unsettling with respect to jurisdictional rules.

16

priate post-trial motions it was barred from filing by

the District Court’s delinquent entry of findings and con-

clusions. In addition, by the time the findings and con-

clusions were entered, Tenneco had at last been per-

mitted to present its evidence of Kern’s fraud to DOE,

and DOE had promptly opened an investigation of Kern.

DOE’s complaint against Kern came shortly thereafter.

Had the matter been pending before the District Court

at that time—due to post-trial motions by Tenneco—we

can only assume that the District Court would have

altered its findings and conclusions in the face of the

directly contrary views of DOE and the directly contrary

evidence now presented by Kern’s own witnesses.

II. The Courts Below Violated The First Amendment,

Rule 26(c), And Public Policy By Barring Tenneco

From Presenting The Evidence Of Kern’s Fraud To

The Appropriate Federal Regulatory Agency

The District Court enforced a prior restraint on free-

dom of speech by prohibiting Tenneco from presenting

documentary evidence of Kern’s fraud on DOE to that

agency, despite the express absence of “good cause”

under Rule 26(c) to bar disclosure. Tenneco moved for

permission to disclose the evidence of wrongdoing eight

months before the start of trial. The trial court’s failure

to permit disclosure on the ground that it might delay

trial—and its extreme steps of closing the courtroom to

the press and public, and sealing the trial record and ex-

hibits—contravened Tenneco’s First Amendment rights,

as well as Rule 26(c) and public policy.

Tenneco was directly harmed by the District Court’s

gag order. The concealment of Kern’s fraud on DOE

permitted Kern to argue at trial that it would have re-

fined oil allegedly withheld by Tenneco. The District

Court accepted this argument, increasing Kern’s alleged

damages. Now that the evidence shielded by the District

Court has at last been revealed to DOE, Kern is arguing

the opposite of what it argued before the District Court.

17

See App. 17a. Had Tenneco been permitted to reveal its

evidence to DOE in a timely fashion, Kern would have

been put to the choice before trial. At the very least,

its inconsistent positions—and the fact that DOE agreed

with Tenneco—would have refuted its argument before

the District Court."

A. The Decision Below Conflicts With This Court’s

Decision In Seattle Times

Four years ago, this Court addressed the relationship

between civil discovery and the First Amendment in

Seattle Times Co. v. Rhinehart, 467 U.S. 20 (1984). That

case arose out of a defamation action brought by mem-

bers of a religious sect. In the course of discovery, the

defendant publications requested production of the donor

lists of plaintiffs’ sect. The plaintiffs—fearing that pub-

lication of the lists by the media defendants would result

in harassment of the donors—moved for a protective or-

der, restricting defendants’ use of the information to

trial preparation only. The trial court entered the pro-

tective order and was upheld by the state Supreme Court.

This Court affirmed. Because the First Amendment

protects information acquired through discovery, the

Court demanded that any restraint on the dissemination

11 Tenneco’s disclosure argument was extensively briefed and

argued before the District Court, see Ct. App. Excerpts of Record, at

603, 607, 647, 679, 715, 746, 766, 821, 911, 955, 963, 1002, 1024, 1077,

clearly decided by that court, see App. 24a, 28a, 46a, and raised and

briefed before the Court of Appeals. See Appellant’s Br. at 1, 4-5,

38-42, 59, Reply Br. at 19. The Ninth Circuit obliquely stated that

Tenneco did not discuss the First Amendment. App. 16a n.10. As

noted, that statement is untrue and, in any event, the Court of

Appeals decided the disclosure claim, rejecting Tenneco’s argument

that it was harmed because the District Court “did not allow it to

reveal [the] documents to the DOE until after the trial * * *.” App.

16a. The disclosure issue, as developed below, hinges not only on the

First Amendment but Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(c), common law, considera-

tions of judicial administration, and public policy as well. It was

properly raised and preserved below.

18

of that information both further “ ‘an important or sub-

stantial governmental interest unrelated to the suppres-

sion of expression’”’ and restrict First Amendment free-

doms no more than “ ‘necessary or essential to the protec-

tion of the particular governmental interest involved.’ ”

Id. at 32 (quoting Procunier v. Martinez, 416 U.S. 396,

413 (1974)). In the case before it the Court identified

the prevention of discovery abuse in general and protec-

tion of the plaintiffs’ rights of privacy and religious as-

sociation in particular as substantial government inter-

ests, and concluded that a proper protective order could

promote these interests consistent with the First Amend-

ment. 467 U.S. at 34-35, 37 & n.24. The Court held

that where “a protective order is entered on a showing

of good cause as required by Rule 26(c), is limited to the

context of pretrial discovery, and does not restrict the

dissemination of the information if gained from other

sources, it does not offend the First Amendment.” Jd.

at 37 (emphasis supplied) .”

As this Court emphasized, the First Amendment is

not offended when dissemination of discovery material is

limited under a protective order “entered on a showing

of good cause.” Jd. at 37. Here, the District Court en-

forced a prior restraint on Tenneco after expressly find-

ing that “Kern has failed to demonstrate good cause why

the disclosure * * * should not be permitted.” App. 29a;

12 State rule 26(c) at issue in Seattle Times was the same as

Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(c). Justice Brennan, joined by Justice Marshall,

concurred, noting that “[t]he Court today recognizes that pretrial

protective orders, designed to limit the dissemination of information

gained through the civil discovery process, are subject to scrutiny

under the First Amendment.” 467 U.S. at 37. The concurring Jus-

tices “agree[d] that the [plaintiffs’] interests in privacy and reli-

gious freedom are sufficient to justify this protective order and to

overcome the protections afforded free expression by the First

Amendment.” Jd. at 38. No similar interests, of course, are impli-

cated in this case.

19

see App. 48a. The decision below thus conflicts sharply

with this Court’s opinion in Seattle Times.

It also conflicts on this score with the Second Circuit’s

recent decision in In re “Agent Orange” Product Liabil-

ity Litigation, 821 F.2d 189 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 108

S. Ct. 344 (1987). The court there upheld the lifting of

a blanket protective order:

A plain reading of the language of Rule 26(c) dem-

onstrates that the party seeking a protective order

has the burden of showing that good cause exists for

issuance of that order. It is equally apparent that

the obverse also is true, i.e., if good cause is not

shown, the discovery materials in question should not

receive judicial protection and therefore would be

open to the public inspection. [821 F.2d at 145.]

The court noted that this conclusion was “implicit” in

Seattle Times. Id.

Since Seattle Times, the Circuits have not agreed on

the appropriate application of that decision. Some Cir-

cuits have held that First Amendment considerations

have no independent significance in the discovery proc-

ess, and that the only question is the existence of “good

cause” under Rule 26(c).%* The Third Circuit has gone

so far as to conclude that Seattle Times “confirmed’’ its

13 See, e.g., In re Alexander Grant & Co. Litigation, 820 F.2d 352,

356 (11th Cir. 1987) (“sole criterion for determining the validity

of a protective order is the statutory requirement of ‘good cause’ ’’) ;

Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 785 F.2d 1108, 1119 (3d Cir. 1986)

(“Cipollone I”) (Seattle Times “prohibits a court considering a

protective order from concerning itself with first amendment con-

siderations”) ; Tavoulareas v. Washington Post Co., 737 F.2d 1170,

1172 (D.C. Cir. 1984) (en banc) (assuming good cause, “the First

Amendment does not require a court to apply especially close scru-

tiny in deciding whether to give parties to a civil litigation * * * a

right to disseminate information gained through the pre-trial dis-

covery process. Proper application of the good cause requirement

* * * [is] a sufficient safeguard”), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct. 200

(1987).

20

view that “ ‘parties and counsel, by taking advantage of

or a part in the discovery processes, implicitly waive their

First Amendment rights freely to disclose or disseminate

the information obtained through those processes.’ ”’ ™*

The First Circuit, in contrast, has expressly noted that

“(wle do not agree with [the Third Circuit’s] inter-

pretation,” ruling instead that Seattle Times

means that first amendment considerations cannot be

ignored in reviewing discovery protective orders.

Although the “strict and heightened” scrutiny tests

no longer apply, the first amendment is still a pres-

ence in the review process. Protective discovery

orders are subject to first amendment scrutiny, but

that scrutiny must be made within the framework

of Rule 26(c)’s requirement of good cause. [Ander-

son V. Cryovac, Inc., 805 F.2d 1, 7 (1st Cir. 1986).]

Regardless of the approach, however, every Circuit to

address the question—other than the court below—has at

least insisted on the required showing of “good cause”

under Rule 26(c). And while the lower courts have not

settled on a uniform standard to measure “good cause,”

see Cipollone I, 785 F.2d at 1121 (“there appears to be

a lurking dispute as to what may constitute good cause

for a protective order’), even those Circuits holding that

the First Amendment has no independent significance in

this context have—perhaps because of that ruling—set a

high standard for “good cause.” The Third Circuit, for

example, has held that

the party seeking the protective order must show

good cause by demonstrating a particular need for

protection. Broad allegations of harm, unsubstan-

tiated by specific examples or articulated reasoning,

do not satisfy the Rule 26(c) test. [Jd.]

14 New York v. United States Metals Refining Co., 771 F.2d 796,

802 (3d Cir. 1985) (quoting Rodgers v. United States Steel Corp.,

536 F.2d 1001, 1006 (3d Cir. 1976) ).

21

The First Circuit similarly insists upon a “particular

factual demonstration of potential harm.” Cryovac, 805

F.2d at 7."

Here, the District Court expressly found that Kern had

failed to carry its burden of establishing ‘good cause,”

let alone establish it with particularized and specific dem-

onstrations of fact. Undaunted by this lack of showing,

however, the court nevertheless denied Tenneco’s disclos-

ure motion, on the basis of unsupported speculation that

disclosure could ‘only result in further delay and may

further complicate and extend the present proceedings

with no assurance that positive and constructive results

will be achieved.” App. 29a.?®

Whatever showing satisfies the “good cause” standard,

unfounded speculations of possible administrative incon-

venience to the court cannot suffice.'7 The Third Circuit

so held in Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 822 F.2d 335

(3d Cir.), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct. 487 (1987) (“Cipol--

lone II’). In Cipollone I, supra, the court directed the

15 See CBS, Inc. v. United States District Court, 765 F.2d 823,

825 (9th Cir. 1985), in which then-Judge Kennedy stated for the

court, in the context of a third-party request for documents filed in

a post-conviction proceeding, that “[t]he interest which overrides

the presumption of open procedures must be specified with particu-

larity, and there must be findings that the closure remedy is

narrowly confined to protect that interest.”

16 This reason rose up sua sponte from the court; after nearly five

months of ordered briefings on the motion, not even Kern contended

that the spectre of additional delay could meet the good cause

standard for Rule 26 and First Amendment purposes.

17 See United States v. GAF Corp., 596 F.2d 10, 15 (2d Cir. 1979)

(granting government access to discovery fruits of private litiga-

tion, noting, “‘[n]or are we impressed with the vague suggestion that

if the Government obtains copies of documents during the course of

litigation, that will somehow obstruct the management of the pri-

vate litigation”); Newman v. Graddick, 696 F.2d 796, 803 (11th

Cir. 1983) (rejecting concern over impact on docket as justification

for denying access to judicial records and hearings).

22

District Court on remand to consider whether good cause

existed for an umbrella protective order, previously en-

tered by a magistrate solely on the basis of case manage-

ment concerns. See 822 F.2d at 342. The District Court

on remand held that such concerns could not constitute

“good cause’, noting that under Rule 26(c) “the focus

is on injury to a specific individual, not on general con-

cerns of case administration.” 113 F.R.D. 86, 92 (D.N.J.

1986) (quoted in 822 F.2d at 342). The Third Circuit

agreed, concluding that the appropriate inquiry is “fo-

cused upon the issue of particular need for party protec-

tion, not upon general concerns of trial efficiency.” 822

F.2d at 343 (emphasis in original). Here, the District

Court expressly found that Kern—the party seeking pro-

tection—failed to establish good cause, and instead the

court relied upon “concerns of trial efficiency” in barring

disclosure.

B. The Decision Below Conflicts With Decisions From

The Third, Sixth, Seventh, And Eleventh Circuits

On The Implications Of Umbrella Protective Orders

The District Court also relied upon the umbrella pro-

tective order entered into by the parties at the outset of

discovery, concluding that ‘‘Tenneco is bound by this

agreement.” App. 27a. The agreement, stipulated to by

the parties and signed as “so ordered” by the District

Judge, provided that all discovery materials were

“deemed” confidential unless the providing party desig-

nated otherwise.'* Such orders are increasingly common—

indeed, routine in large and complex litigation.’ This

18 Paragraph five of the agreement provided that a party wishing

to disclose the contents of subject documents may seek consent from

the opposing party, and that such consent “shall not be unreason-

ably withheld.” If consent is not granted, the agreement specified

that the requesting party may move the court for an order permit-

ting disclosure—the course followed by Tenneco. App. 84a-85a.

19 Judge Becker noted in 1981 that “[w]Je are unaware of any case

in the past half-dozen years of even a modicum of complexity where

om:

ANN RA NI A ASE BNW Bas WEL A. PN Son tn Ti Ey ee ern oe ee ae tee ee OES

ne eee

23

Court has not yet considered the effect of such orders on

the “good cause” requirement of Rule 26(c), and the

lower courts have adopted sharply conflicting approaches,

both before and after Seattle Times.”

The court in this case assumed that the stipulated um-

brella order changed the good cause requirement, shifting

the burden to Tenneco to justify disclosure, rather than

leaving the burden on Kern to justify barring disclosure

of specific documents. It thus upheld a prior restraint

barring Tenneco from disclosing the documents, in the

face of an undisturbed finding that Kern had failed to

demonstrate good cause why disclosure should not be per-

mitted. App. 29a, 48a. There is apparently some support

for such an approach."

Most courts, however, recognize that the party resist-

ing disclosure continues to bear the burden of establish-

ing “good cause,” even if the documents in question are

subject to an umbrella protective order. For example, the

an umbrella protective order * * * has not been agreed to by

the parties and approved by the court.” Zenith Radio Corp. Vv.

Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co., 529 F. Supp. 866, 889 (E.D. Pa. 1981).

See Manual for Complex Litigation § 21.431 (2d ed. 1986); Marcus,

Myth and Reality in Protective Order Litigation, 69 Cornell L. Rev.

1, 9 (1983) (umbrella protective orders “have become the norm in

many areas of federal practice’).

2° The agreement in this case nowhere stated that it was entered

into by the parties or ordered by the court for good cause shown.

21 See, e.g., GAF Corp. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 415 F. Supp. 129

(S.D.N.Y. 1976); Data Digests, Inc. v. Standard & Poor’s Corp.,

57 F.R.D. 42 (S.D.N.Y. 1972); Oklahoma Hospital Ass’n v. Okla-

homa Publishing Co., 748 F.2d 1421, 1425 (10th Cir. 1984) (reject-

ing, without good cause showing, nonparty publisher’s request for

access to documents produced under stipulated protective order),

cert. denied, 473 U.S. 905 (1985); Martindell v. IT&T, 594 F.2d 291

(2d Cir. 1979); id. at 298 (Medina, J., concurring); cf. American

Tel. & Tel. Co. Vv. Grady, 594 F.2d 594 (7th Cir. 1978) (nonparty

movant desiring access to protected documents bears higher burden

where parties agreed to order), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 971 (1979).

24

Eleventh Circuit recently emphasized that “[u]nder the

provisions of umbrella orders, the burden of proof jus-

tifying the need for the protective order remains on the

movant; only the burden of raising the issue of confiden-

tiality with respect to individual documents shifts to the

other party.” In re Alexander Grant, 820 F.2d at 356.

The Third Circuit has noted that “any other conclusion

would turn Rule 26(c) on its head,” ruling that the um-

brella order must as a threshold matter be based on a

showing of good cause, and that the party opposing dis-

closure thereafter has “the burden of proof in justifying

the protective order with respect to * * * documents” the

other party wishes to disclose. Cipollone I, 785 F.2d at

1122.

In Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp. v. FTC, 710

F.2d 1165 (6th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1100

(1984), the trial judge placed a seal on the entire record

in the case, barring one of the parties—the FTC—from

disclosing information contained in court documents. The

Sixth Circuit reversed, concluding that “the District

Court erred by failing to state findings or conclusions

which justify nondisclosure to the public.” Jd. at 1176.

The court vacated the seal order, concluding that “the

natural desire of parties to shield prejudicial information

contained in judicial records” did not justify secrecy. Jd.

at 1180.

The Seventh Circuit has similarly refused to give effect

to an umbrella protective order when there was no good

cause to block disclosure of specific documents. Matter

of Continental Illinois Securities Litigation, 732 F.2d

1302 (7th Cir. 1984). In that case, as here, a protective

order was “agreed to by the parties and entered by the

district court,” but the Court of Appeals nonetheless up-

held the District Court’s decision to permit disclosure of

documents. Jd. at 1310-16. The appellate court noted

that “good cause” for the protective order was never

shown—as the District Court in the present case ex-

ee

25

pressly found—and that in the absence of such a showing

disclosure was required. Jd. at 1311.

Contrary to the District Court in this case, other trial

judges have recognized that umbrella protective orders

cannot shift the burden of showing good cause under

Rule 26(c). See, e.g., In re Coordinated Pretrial Pro-

ceedings in Petroleum Products Antitrust Litigation, 101

F.R.D. 34, 44 (C.D. Cal. 1984) (‘To reverse the burden

in this situation would be to impose a significant and per-

haps overpowering impairment on the public access

right”). The District Court in In re “Agent Orange,”

104 F.R.D. 559, 570 (E.D.N.Y. 1985), noted the con-

flict on the question, concluding that:

Seattle Times tips the balance in favor of not shift-

ing the burden. The Court in Seattle Times ap-

proved a limitation on First Amendment rights upon

a showing of good cause. In the absence of such a

showing, continued protection would violate the First

Amendment * * *,!*?!

The extraordinary degree to which the courts below

infringed upon Tenneco’s rights is highlighted by a com-

parison of the present case with In re The Reporters

Committee for Freedom of the Press, 773 F.2d 13825

(D.C. Cir. 1985). A divided court in that case held that

the press had no right of access to court records until

after judgment in the civil case. The court’s opinion, by

then-Judge Scalia, emphasized that the appropriate

analysis might be different “where not an implied right

of access but the expressly protected right of ‘freedom of

speech’ was at issue.” Jd. at 1332 n.5. The majority

stressed that the case before it involved no closing of the

courtroom, and that to the extent documents were re-

vealed in open court they were made public, so there was

22 In affirming the District Court, the Second Circuit stated that

it “need not reach” the burden of proof issue, because disclosure was

warranted regardless of how the burden was allocated. 821 F.2d

at 147.

26

not “the kind of outcry which closing of a trial usually

excites.” Jd. at 1337. The court also noted that the pro-

tective order in question was based on an affidavit estab-

lishing good cause, and that the order specified that the

party resisting disclosure continued to bear the burden of

showing good cause. Jd. at 1326.

Here, all of these caveats were ignored. This case in-

volves not a third party’s “implied right of access” but

Tenneco’s expressly protected right to speak and to peti-

tion the government. The trial court took the extreme

step of evicting the public and closing the courtroom on

the basis of the umbrella protective order, entered by stip-

ulation of the parties without any showing of good cause,

either ab initio or when disclosure was requested by Ten-

neco.

The courts themselves have noted the persistent con-

flict and confusion in this area.“ Indeed, many of the

23 See, e.g., Anderson v. Cryovac, Inc., 805 F.2d at 6-7 (expressly

disagreeing with Third Circuit on implications of Seattle Times) ;

In re “Agent Orange,” 104 F.R.D. at 568-569 (“A number of cases

conclude that on a motion to lift a protective order the burden re-

mains on the party seeking continued protection to show good cause

for that continuation. * * * However, another line of authority

exists”) ; GAF Corp. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 415 F. Supp. at 130-131

(reviewing conflicting precedent); Sharjah Inv. Co., Ltd. v. P.C.

Telemart, Inc., 107 F.R.D. 81, 83 n.1 (S.D.N.Y. 1985) (noting criti-

cisms of GAF and concluding that “[a]lthough there are many

similarities between GAF and this case, * * * the court will not

follow GAF’”’) ; Cipollone I, 785 F.2d at 1121 (“lurking dispute” over

good cause); id. at 1118 (“unclear whether Seattle Times mandated

a Rule 26(c) analysis without regard to the first amendment, or

whether it required an analysis that included a strict least restric-

tive means test”); Continental Illinois Securities Litigation, 732

F.2c at 1309 n.11 (expressly disagreeing with D.C. Circuit reading

of Supreme Court precedent) ; Petroleum Products Antitrust Litiga-

tion, 101 F.R.D. at 38 (“these decisions are conflicting with regard

to the scope of the right in civil cases and whether it is based upon

the common law or derives only from the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure”); Applications of NBC, 828 F.2d 340, 351 (6th Cir.

27

leading cases have been decided by sharply divided pan-

els.* The question presented is of continuing practical

importance in the handling of complex litigation. As one

judge noted, it is “one of the most difficult and vexatious

issues judges confront in managing complex litigation—

the access and First Amendment rights of litigants and

the public in connection with the large quantity of docu-

ments that is marked confidential pursuant to a protec-

tive order such as is entered to facilitate discovery in

virtually every complex case.” Zenith Radio Corp. v.

Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co., 529 F. Supp. at 872.

This case provides an ideal vehicle for resolving the

confusion and uncertainty evident in the lower courts.

The express finding by the District Court that Kern had

failed to establish good cause presents starkly tne ques-

tion whether such a showing is required in the case of an

umbrella protective order, or if the burden has shifted to

the other party to show cause for disclosure. There is no

1987) (Ryan, J., dissenting) (“Some courts appeared to ignore or

distinguish Seattle Times * * *. Other circuits appezr to have

followed the apparent mandate of Seatile Times’’).

24 See, e.g., Continental Illinois Securities Litigation, 732 F.2d at

1320 (majority recognizes right to disclose records submitted under

an umbrella protective order; Pell, J., dissents: “The phrase ‘under

seal’ would seem to me to be a term of art, a closed door to public

dissemination”) ; In re Alexander Grant, 820 F.2d at 358 (majority

enforces protective order upon finding good cause; Clark, J., dis-

sents: there was no “consideration by the district court of the

public right of access. To the contrary, in this case, the parties,

including the public entities, stipulated to the consent order’);

In re Reporters Committee, 773 F.2d at 1342, 1347 (Wright, J.,

dissenting, describing majority opinion as “[c]lontrary to the view

of other United States Courts of Appeals” and stating, “I find

myself in agreement with those Courts of Appeals that have found

that the First Amendment provides a presumptive right of con-

temporaneous access to materials admitted into evidence in a civil

proceeding”) ; Cipollone II, 822 F.2d at 347-349 (Garth, J., dissent-

ing, on ground that District Court failed to enter express findings

on “good cause’”’).

28

confusion on that finding; the District Court entered it

when barring disclosure before trial, and affirmed it in

finally granting disclosure after decision. App. 29a, 48a.

Nor is this case complicated by questions of third party

access; the holding “falls directly within the text of the

constitutional provision” concerning Tenneco’s “expressly

protected right of ‘freedom of speech.’” In re Reporters

Committee, 773 F.2d at 1332 n.5. There is no issue of

potential abuse of the discovery process. Tenneco did not

even seek to disclose the “smoking gun” documents pub-

licly, but only to turn them over to the responsible fed-

eral agency, DOE, and Kern conceded that DOE would

keep the documents confidential. App. 25a. The extent of

the District Court’s prior restraint is also starkly pre-

sented, with the extreme step of evicting the public and

closing the courtroom. And there is no doubt about the

practical effects of the court’s action: as soon as Ten-

neco was able to disclose the documents to DOE, that

agency entered a Proposed Order finding, in direct con-

trast to the District Court ruling, that Kern had violated

the entitlements program.

C. The Decision Below Violates Public Policy

The District Court, in effect, allowed its good offices

to become involved in a coverup. Only a court order pre-

vented Tenneco from doing its public duty and passing

on to DOE documents establishing that Kern had com-

mitted fraud on that agency. Every day of delay in dis-

closing the information allowed the concealment of the

fraud from DOE to be perpetuated. The result was not

only the denial of Tenneco’s rights but a direct contra-

vention of the public policy requiring each citizen promptly

to inform the Government when it is being defrauded. A

logical extension of the ruling below would mean, for ex-

ample, that while two parties litigated over responsibility

for a tax payment, one of the parties could be prevented

from revealing to IRS uncontradicted evidence that the

other had cheated on the very taxes at issue.

29

Public policy commands a different view. It must be

that no court, absent the most dire circumstances, can

prevent a party to a lawsuit from reporting to the United

States Government demonstrated facts showing that the

Government is being defrauded. This was not a case,

after all, where the Government already possessed the

relevant information and could, through its own vast re-

sources, obtain the documents itself; * where the evidence

was given under Fifth Amendment assumptions that it

would not be turned over te the Government; or where

civil discovery was being used illicitly to obtain informa-

tion for governmental purposes.” Here, totally unbe-

knownst to the Government, evidence of fraud appeared

in the record of a case to which it was not a party, and

even the fact of fraud could not be transmitted to the

Government, although the protective order had never been

designed to anticipate and foreclose such disclosure. Nor

were these inadvertent, technical exceedances of some ar-

cane set of principles. These were deliberate violations

of serious and specific laws and regulations with which

this long-operative and experienced oil refiner was thor-

oughly familiar.

This Court should resolve the conflict and confusion

over this subject and hold that courts are not. free to en-

force protective agreements that violate public policy.”

Under circumstances like these, a litigant “may make any

lawful use of the information which comes to light dur-

ing this proceeding.” ” Indeed, he has an obligation to

do so, and no court should stand in his way.

* Cf. GAF Corp. Vv. Eastman Kodak Co., 415 F. Supp. at 132;

Data Digests, Inc. v. Siandard & Poor’s Corp., 57 F.R.D. at 44.

*6 Cf. Valentin Vv. Richardson, 110 F.R.D. 622, 628 (D. Mass. 1986).

*7 Cf. Essex Wire Corp. v. Eastern Electric Sales Co., 48 F.R.D.

308, 312 (E.D. Pa. 1969).

*8 See W.R. Grace & Co. v. Local Union 759, 461 U.S. 757, 766

(1983).

29 Essex Wire Corp., 48 F.R.D. at 312.

30

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Court shouid grant the

writ and reverse the decision of the court below.

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel: E. BARRETT PRETTYMAN, JR.*

JAMES R. MARTIN JOHN G. ROBERTS, JR.

MARK E. WEBER BARBARA L. SLOAN

GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER HOGAN & HARTSON

333 South Grand Avenue 555 Thirteenth Street, N.W.

Los Angeles, CA 90071 Washington, D.C. 20004

(213) 229-7000 (202) 637-5685

JOHN P. MATHIS Counsel for Petitioner

JANE G. ADAMS

BAEER & BOTTS

555 Thirteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 639-7700

Boyp L. HENDERSON

ALFRED B. SMITH, JR.

TENNECO OIL COMPANY

1010 Milam Street

Suite 2240

Houston, Texas 77001

(713) 757-3078 * Counsel of Record

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 86-6674; 87-5743

D.C. Nos. CV-81-3253-LEW ; CV-81-6875

KERN OIL & REFINING Co.,

Plaintiff /Counter-Defendant/

“. Appellee,

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Defendant/Counter-Claimant/

Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Central District of California

Laughlin E. Waters, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted

December 10, 1987—Pasadena, California

Filed March 7, 1988

Before: Joseph T. Sneed and Harry Pregerson, Circuit

Judges, and William A. Ingram,* District Judge

Opinion by Judge Sneed

James R. Martin, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher, Los An-

geles, California, for the cefendant/counter-claimant/

appellant.

* Honorable William A. Ingram, United States District Judge,

Northern District of California, sitting by designation.

2a

Richard E. Sherwood, O’Melveny & Myers, Los An-

geles, California, for the plaintiff/counter-defendant/

appellee.

OPINION

SNEED, Circuit Judge:

Tenneco Oil Company appeals from a district court

judgment awarding $32 million in damages, interest,

and attorneys’ fees to Kern Oil & Refining Company for

Tenneco’s breach of contract and fraud. We affirm.

I.

FACTS AND PROCEEDINGS BELOW

Kern Oil & Refining Company (Kern) is a crude oil

refiner whose refinery is located in Bakersfield, Califor-

nia. Kern has no crude oil production of its own and

therefore must acquire from others the crude it runs

through its refinery. Tenneco Oil Company (Tenneco)

is an “integrated” oil company with crude production in

California and elsewhere, a refinery in Louisiana, and

marketing facilities around the country.

In October 1975, Kern and Tenneco agreed that Kern

would purchase oil from Tenneco’s fields in Yowlumne,

California. As Tenneco brought new Yowlumne fields

into production, it sold most of that oil to Kern as well.

In May 1977, Kern and Tenneco entered into a contract

that formally committed Tenneco to sell Kern all crude

produced by Yowlumne properties from which Kern was

already purchasing crude.’ The trial court found that

at about the same time, “Kern and Tenneco orally agreed

that Tenneco would sell to Kern, under the terms of the

May 1977 contract, crude from all Yowlumne properties

coming into production after May 1977.” Findings of

Fact and Conclusions of Law, Excerpt of Record (E.R.)

at 263.

4 Kern and Tenneco agreed that Texas law would govern disputes

as to this and subsequent contracts between them.

5 ae a at Ti ‘

3a

Circumstances changed in the spring of 1978. Tenneco

then learned that a pipeline would soon be open which

could transport Tenneco’s Yowlumne crude across the

Rockies. From east of the Rockies, the oil could be easily

traded for crude supply for Tenneco’s Louisiana refinery.

The court found that “Tenneco wanted to keep for itself

the Yowlumne crude that it had agreed to sell to Kern.”

E.R. at 265. Tenneco faced two obstacles in attempting

to keep the Yowlumne oil for itself.

The first obstacle was a practical one pertaining to

Tenneco’s access to the new pipeline. Tenneco’s only way

to the new pipeline was through a small Texaco pipeline,

to which Tenneco did not have access. Kern, however,

did have a contractual right to use the Texaco pipeline.

Therefore, Tenneco proposed to Kern that Kern transport

Tenneco’s oil through the Texaco pipeline. This proposal

also brought into focus the second obstacle—Kern’s con-

tractual and regulatory claims to Tenneco’s Yowlumne

oil. Because at the time of this proposal Tenneco’s Yow-

lumne fields were producing more oil than Kern could

refine, it did not meet with a flat rejection. Kern argued

at trial that Tenneco met its concerns by fraudulently

promising Kern that Tenneco would not leave Kern with-

out a sufficient supply for Kern’s refinery. Relying on

that promise, and believing that it was not jeopardizing

its own supply, Kern agreed in July 1978 to transport

some of Tenneco’s Yowlumne crude through the Texaco

pipeline. Tenneco’s interpretation of the July 1978 con-

tract substantially differs from Kern’s. Tenneco argued

at trial that the May 1977 contract already gave Kern

title to Tenneco’s Yowlumne oil, and that the July 1978

contract was not a transportation agreement but a

straight sale of some of the Yowlumne oil back to Ten-

neco. The district court agreed with Kern, and found

that the July 1978 contract was a transportation agree-

ment, which Tenneco fraudulently induced Kern to sign.

By January 1979, Kern was aware that Tenneco did

not agree with Kern’s interpretation of the May 1977

4a

and July 1978 contracts, and did not intend to supply

the Kern refinery’s needs. This became of greater im-

portance to Kern than previously because it contemplated

expanding its refinery capacity. In February 1979, Kern

filed a complaint with the U.S. Department of Energy

alleging that Tenneco had violated federal regulations.

In the same month, Kern and Tenneco replaced the July

1978 agreement with an explicit transportation agree-

ment, “fulfilling the same function and serving the same

purpose as the July 1978 agreement.” E.R. at 269. The

February 1979 agreement was not intended to affect any

claims either party might have under the earlier agree-

ments. It remained in effect until 1981.

Tenneco’s conduct did not damage Kern until April

1979, when Kern completed the expansion of its refinery.

From April 1979-through November 1980, Kern would

“have processed nearly two million barrels of the Yow-

lumne crude that Tenneco failed to deliver. As a result,

it lost nearly $17 million in profit.

In July 1981, five months after the filing by Kern of

a suit against Tenneco alleging that Tenneco overcharged

Kern under the May 1977 contract, Kern filed a com-

plaint against Tenneco in the Central District of Cali-

fornia alleging violations of federal regulations. In De-

cember 1982, Kern filed a complaint based on the same

acts and alleging contractual breaches. In 1983, the dis-

trict court consolidated the two latter complaints. The

overcharge case proceeded separately.

This case was tried in December 1985 and January

1986. In November 1986, the court entered judgment for

Kern and awarded it some $32 million in damages, inter-

est, and attorneys’ fees, including sanctions under Fed-

eral Rule of Civil Procedure 11. The court held that by

failing to sell Kern all of the oil produced by the Yow-

lumne fields in question, Tenneco violated the Mandatory

Petroleum Allocation Regulations, 10 C.F.R. Pt. 211

(1987), and breached the May 1977 contract. E.R. at

5a

276-85. In addition, the court held that Tenneco had com-

mitted fraud and misrepresentation in convincing Kern

to sign the July 1978 contract. E.R. at 285-86.

Tenneco appealed the decision on the regulatory cause

of action to the Temporary Emergency Court of Appeals

and the decision on the contractual causes of action to

this court.

II.

JURISDICTION

The district court had diversity jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. § 13832 (1982). This court’s jurisdiction rests on

28 U.S.C. § 1291 (1982).

III.

DISCUSSION

Tenneco presents numerous arguments. Their descrip-

tive designations, which this opinion will employ, are as

follows:

A. Absence of Jurisdiction of District Court to En-

ter Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

B. Grounds for Dismissal of Kern’s Claims.

1. Res Judicata.

2. Statute of Limitations.

3. Waiver by Kern’s Course of Performance.

C. Damages Erroneously Determined.

1. 90-Day Notice Period as a Limitation on

Damages.

2. Kern’s Duty to Mitigate.

3. Evidentiary Support for Damages.

D. Prejudgment Interest Not Allowable.

Cs

Rule 11 Sanctions Not Proper.

6a

We now turn to these arguments in the order set out

above.

A. Absence of Jurisdiction of District Court to Enter

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

On October 10, 1986, the district judge signed his find-

ings of fact and conclusions of law, as well as his final

judgment. The latter was filed on November 5 but the

findings of fact and conclusions of law were not entered

until November 24, 1986. Tenneco’s notice of appeal was

filed on November 21, three days before the findings and

conclusions were entered.

Tenneco argues that filing its notice of appeal stripped

the district court of its jurisdiction to enter findings of

fact and conclusions of law. It is true that filing a notice

of appeal usually divests the district court of jurisdiction

over the matters appealed. McClatchy Newspapers v.

Central Valley Typographical Union No. 46, 686 F.2d

731, 734 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1071 (1982).

We have, for example, refused to consider amended find-

ings of fact and conclusions of law filed after a notice

of appeal. See Sumida v. Yumen, 409 F.2d 654, 656-57

(9th Cir. 1969).

This divestiture of district court jurisdiction does not

rest on a statute. See Hoffman v. Beer Drivers & Sales-

men’s Local Union No. 888, 536 F.2d 1268, 1276 (9th

Cir. 1976). Rather, it is a “judge-made doctrine designed

to avoid the confusion and waste of time that might flow

from putting the same issues before two courts at the

same time. It should not be employed to defeat its pur-

poses nor to induce needless paper shuffling.” 9 J. Moore,

B. Ward & J. Lucas, Moore’s Federal Practice § 203.11,

at 3-45 n.1 (2d ed. 1987). Tenneco’s arguments would “‘in-

duce needless paper shuffling.” Our acceptance of Ten-

neco’s position would not lead to a decision on the merits

for Tenneco but only to a remand to the district court

to file its findings and conclusions. Another appeal would

Ta

then be taken by Tenneco and next year, perhaps, we

would get the case back. A better example of “needless

paper shuffling” would be hard to imagine.

This case differs from Sumida, supra, in which the

district court filed both an order and findings and con-

clusions, and, after the notice of appeal was filed, at-

tempted to amend both. We properly treated the appeal

as one from the earlier filed order. The appellate court

is entitled to review a fixed, rather than a mobile, record.

Here the district court did not attempt to move the tar-

get; it merely set one in place. It is clear to us that the

findings and conclusions were intended to be filed at the

same time as the final judgment. We will treat them as

having been so filed.

Tenneco insists that it was deprived of its opportunity

to move for amended findings and conclusions, Fed. R.

Civ. P. 52(b), and to move for a new trial or an amended

judgment, Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(b), (e). We are unper-

suaded. Tenneco knew that the district court was prepar-

ing findings and conclusions; indeed, it had filed a lengthy

memorandum in opposition to Kern’s proposed findings

and conclusions. Neither did it inform the court that it

had not received the findings and conclusions nor did it

ask for an extension of time. Doing neither of these

things indicates that Tenneco was unconcerned about the

deadlines for a Rule 52 or 59 motion and suffered no

harm by the late filing. To remand to the district court

to enable Tenneco to file still another opposition, styled

a motion to amend, to the same findings and conclusions

would be pointless.

Tenneco also complains of the district judge’s near-

complete acceptance of the findings and conclusions pre-

pared by Kern. In Unt v. Aerospace Corp., 765 F.2d 1440

(9th Cir. 1985), this court said, ‘““‘We have previously dis-

approved of the mechanical adoption of findings and con-

clusions prepared by the victorious party. The verbatim

adoption of findings suggested by a party is not auto-

8a

matically objectionable, however, so long as those findings

are supported by the record.” Jd. at 1444-45 (citation

omitted). Tenneco points to no evidence to show that the

findings and conclusions were not supported by the record.

B. Grounds for Dismissal of Kern’s Claims

1. Res Judicata

We have already mentioned the regulatory case now

on appeal to the Temporary Emergency Court of Appeals.

In addition to that case there was yet another. In Janu-

ary 1981, five months before the filing in the case, Kern

filed suit against Tenneco in district court, alleging that

Tenneco breached the May 1977 contract by charging

excessive prices. In the summer of 1984, Kern received

a judgment in its favor. This court affirmed the judg-

ment in Kern Oil & Refining Co. v. Tenneco Oil Co.,

792 F.2d 1380 (9th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 107 S. Ct.

1349 (1987). We shall refer to this, the earlier case,

as the “price case,” and to the case before us as the

“supply case.”

Tenneco now invokes res judicata and argues that the

price case should bar recovery by Kern in the supply case.

Kern responds that Tenneco has waived its right to in-

voke res judicata. We review this issue de novo. See

Harbeson v. Parke Davis, Inc., 746 F.2d 517, 520 (9th

Cir. 1984).

Tenneco’s principal obstacle is Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(c),

which includes res judicata as an affirmative defense that

must be raised in the pleadings. Tenneco admits that it

did net do so. Therefore, the defense is waived. Fount-

Wip, Inc. v. Reddi-Wip, Inc., 568 F.2d 1296, 1300 n.1

(9th Cir. 1978); Weekes v. Atlantic Nat’l Ins. Co., 370

F.2d 264, 271 (9th Cir. 1966); Hernandez v. Heckler,

621 F. Supp. 439, 442 n.2 (N.D. Cal. 1985).

It is true that we have allowed a party to raise res

judicata after the initial pleadings by construing the at-

A

9a

tempt as a motion to file a supplemental answer. See

Harbeson, 746 F.2d at 520. This does not help Tenneco

because we have always required that it be raised before

trial. Tenneco did not raise it until after the end of the

trial.2, Moreover, Tenneco, by never objecting to separate

trials of the price and supply cases,*? cannot now object

to their being split. Restatement (Second) of Judgments

§ 26(1) (a) (1982).*

2. The statute of limitations

Tenneco next invokes statutes of limitations with re-

spect to Kern’s contract and fraud claims. The contract

claim is subject to a four-year statute of limitations,

Tex. Bus. & Com. Code Ann. § 2.725 (Vernon 1968),

and the fraud claim is subject to a three-year statute of

limitations. Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 338(4) (Deering

1972). The contract claim was filed in December 1982,

and the complaint was amended to include a fraud claim

in September 1983. The date of accrual of these claims

is disputed. Tenneco asserts that the contract claim ac-

2In July 1986, two years after the district court’s decision in the

price case, seven months after the court had ruled in Kern’s favor on

the liability issues in the supply case, and immediately after we

affirmed the price case, Tenneco moved the court to dismiss Kern’s

claims on res judicata grounds. The court pointed out that Tenneco

had not needed to wait until the appeal of the price case was decided

to bring up the issue. E.R. at 1893. See Restatement (Second) of

Judgments § 13 comment (f) (1982).

3 From January 1983 to June 1984, the price case and the supply

case were both before federal courts in the Central District of Cali-

fornia. Tenneco never moved to consolidate them. In a hearing in

October 1984, Judge Waters asked the parties why the cases had

never been consolidated and a Tenneco attorney replied, “the parties

both seemed to think that that was the way to proceed, the supply

issues being tried here and the price issues being tried in the other

case.” E.R. at 1869.

4 Because of our resolution of this issue, we need not reach Kern’s

argument that the price case and the supply case did not involve the

same cause of action.

10a

crued by June 1978, when the breach of contract oc-

curred, and that the fraud claim accrued by February

1979, when Kern admittedly was aware of the fraud.

Thus, as Tenneco sees it, both claims are barred by

limitations.

The district court rejected those accrual dates and

found that Kern’s contract claim did not accrue until

January 1979. We choose a different course. We con-

clude that under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 15 the

fraud and contract claims relate back to Kern’s regula-

tory complaint filed in July 1981, and are therefore not

barred by the statute of limitations.

Rule 15(c) states that “[w]henever the claim or de-

fense asserted in the amended pleading arose out of the

conduct, transaction, or occurrence set forth or attempted

to be set forth in the original pleading, the amendment

relates back to the date of the original pleading.” Rule

15 allows relation back even when the original claim is

itself time barred. Santana v. Holiday Inns, Inc., 686

F.2d 736, 739 (9th Cir. 1982).

Tenneco argues that the initial claim must give the

defendant “fair warning that he might later be accused

of some other offense than that raised in the first plead-

ing.” Tenneco is incorrect. Under Rule 15, the only

question is whether the later claims arise out of the con-

duct, transaction, or occurrence brought to the defend-

ant’s attention by the initial claim. When this is so later-

filed claims may relate back, even if they rest on a dif-

ferent legal theory than that of the first claim. See San-

tana, 686 F.2d at 739; Clipper Express v. Rocky Moun-

tain Motor Tariff Bureau, 690 F.2d 1240, 1259-60 n.29

(9th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1227 (1983);

3 J. Moore, Moore’s Federal Practice { 15.15[3], at 15-

151 (2d ed. 1987).

The regulatory, contract, and fraud claims did arise

out of the same factual situation. In its initial complaint,

lla

Kern alleged that Tenneco had a obligation under DOE

regulations to sell Kern all of its Yowlumne oil, and that

beginning in June 1978 Tenneco breached that obligation.

The complaint thus put Tenneco on notice that Kern be-

lieved it had a right to all of the Yowlumne oil. Kern’s

later claims only added other legal theories to support its

asserted right. Thus, Kern’s initial claim rests on the

same conduct that supports Kern’s contract and fraud

claims.

3. Waiver by Kern’s Course of Performance

Tenneco argues that Kern’s course of performance un-

der the May 1977 and July 1978 contracts dooms its

claims. First, Tenneco argues that Kern’s course of per-

formance is inconsistent with the claim that Tenneco

breached the May 1977 contract. Second, Tenneco argues

that Kern waived its contractual rights by not notifying

Tenneco of the alleged breach.

Our standard of review in matters of this kind is not

simple. Our position is as follows: “When the district

court’s decision is based on an analysis of the contractual

language and an application of the principles of contract

interpretation, that decision is a matter of law and re-

viewable de novo. When the inquiry focuses on extrinsic

evidence of related facts, however, the trial court’s con-

clusions will not be reversed unless they are clearly er-

roneous.” Miller v. Safeco Title Ins. Co., 758 F.2d 364,

367 (9th Cir. 1985). The question of waiver of a con-

tractual right is also a question of fact and subject to

the clearly erroneous standard. CBS, Inc. v. Merrick,

716 F.2d 1292, 1295 (9th Cir. 1983).

The district court found that from April 1979 to No-

vember 1980, Kern experienced a shortage of crude oil

because Tenneco was not performing its obligations under

the May 1977 contract. While it is undisputed that Ten-

neco delivered to Kern title to all of the Yowlumne oil,

Kern received title, after July 1978, to some of the oil

12a

solely for transportation purposes,® pursuant to a con-

tract Tenneco fraudulently induced Kern to sign.* There-

fore, when Kern experienced a shortage of oil, its sales

of oil back to Tenneco under the terms of the transporta-

tion agreement neither evidenced satisfaction of Ten-

neco’s contractual obligations nor were they a waiver of

Kern’s rights under the May 1977 contract. Moreover,

a party’s continued performance subsequent to defective

performance by the other party does not waive the per-

forming party’s contractual rights as long as he complies

with notice requirements. See Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v.

McDonnell Douglas Corp., 532 F.2d 957 (5th Cir. 1976).

Tenneco argues, however, that Kern did not comply

with notice requirements, and that §§ 2.208 and 2.607 of

the Tex. Bus. & Com. Code (Vernon 1968) bar Kern

from recovering under the contract.? The district court

5 Tenneco disputes the district court’s finding that the July 1978

contract was a transportation agreement. We apply the clearly

erroneous standard, because the district court looked to the parties’

intent in agreeing to the contract. The finding was far from clearly

erroneous.

6 Tenneco argues that because Kern argued in its initial complaint

before the Department of Energy that Tenneco coerced Kern into

signing and performing under the July 1978 contract, Kern cannot

now argue that it was defrauded into signing and performing under

the contract. Tenneco does not attack the factual findings of the

district court that “‘Tenneco assured Kern that Tenneco would not

leave Kern without a sufficient refinery supply”; that “Tenneco’s

objective was eventually to take all of the Yowlumne production for

itself, but it concealed that intent from Kern”; and that ‘“Tenneco

induced Kern to enter into the July 1978 agreement by falsely repre-

senting to Kern that Tenneco would continue supplying Kern with

sufficient Yowlumne crude to meet Kern’s refinery needs.” E.R. at

266-67. These findings are not clearly erroneous, and support Kern’s

fraud claim. Tenneco cites no suport for the proposition that

Kern’s having argued a different basis for relief before a different

court in a different action should defeat its claim here.

7 Section 2.208 states:

(a) Where the contract for sale involves repeated occasions for

performance by either party with knowledge of the nature of

13a

found that “Kern protested Tenneco’s continuing breach

of supply obligations at the inception and during the

entire lifespan of the February 1979 agreement.” E.R.

at 269.

Section 2.607’s notice requirement should not be applied

stringently. ‘‘As is noted in the draftsmen’s comments,

‘the rule of requiring notification is designed to defeat

commercial bad faith, not to deprive a good faith con-

sumer of his remedy.’ ... [N]otice under section 2.607

need not be a specific claim for damages or an assertion

of legal rights.” Eastern Air Lines, 5382 F.2d at 976;

see Reynolds Metals Co. v. Westinghouse Elec. Corp., 758

F.2d 1073, 1078 (5th Cir. 1985) (§ 2.607’s notice re-

quirements “are not stringent and are liberally con-

strued by the Texas courts”); Vintage Homes, Inc. v.

Coldiron, 585 S8.W.2d 886, 889 (Tex. Civ. App. 1979) .8

the performance and opportunity for objection to it by the

other, any course of performance accepted or acquiesced in

without objection shall be relevant to determine the meaning

of the agreement.

(c) Subject to the provisions of the next section on modifica-

tion and waiver, such course of performance shall be relevant

to show a waiver or modification of any term inconsistent with

such course of performance.

Section 2.607(c) states “[w]here a tender has been accepted (1) the

buyer must within a reasonable time after he discovers or should

have discovered any breach notify the seller of breach or be barred

from any remedy... .”

Tenneco bases its arguments primarily on § 2.607. We therefore

do likewise.

8 In addition, we note that the notice provisions of the U.C.C. were

not designed for a heavily regulated, monopolistic relationship of

the type that existed between Kern and Tenneco. Under the DOE

regulations, the parties found themselves in a relationship that

neither could easily leave. They signed and performed under the

February 1979 contract, for example, at the same time that they

were disputing claims against one another. We agree with the Fifth

Circuit that even when two parties are effectively “married,” “the

l4a

The good faith of the buyer is the “governing criterion”

under the section. Eastern Air Lines, 5382 F.2d at 977.

We hold that Kern gave Tenneco good faith notice of

its contractual breach.® First, Kern raised the subject of

Tenneco’s contractual obligation before a January 1979

meeting with Tenneco. Second, Kern gave Tenneco ample

notice of Tenneco’s breach of its regulatory obligations.

The regulatory breach was very closely related to the

contractual breach. The regulations only applied because

Tenneco had contracted to sell oil to Kern. Therefore,

the underlying purposes of the section were accomplished:

Tenneco knew that Kern was dissatisfied with its tender

of goods, and the two parties had opportunity to negotiate

their differences. See Eastern Air Lines, 582 F.2d at

976; T.J. Stevenson & Co. v. 81,193 Bags of Flour,

629 F.2d 338, 361 (5th Cir. 1980).

C. Damages Erroneously Determined

1. 90-day Notice Period As a Limitation of Damages

The May 1977 contract allowed either party to ter-

minate the contract without cause after a 90-day notice

period. Tenneco argues that when a contract allows ter-

mination by either party without cause, damages for a

material breach are limited to those that would accrue

during the damage period.

Tenneco states this proposition too broadly. It applies

when one party has ceased all performance under a con-

tract. Under these circumstances the notice period will

determine the proper amount of future damages. See,

e.g., Cottman v. State Dep’t of Natural Resources, 51

buyer must decide whether the benefits of claiming a breach of

contract outweigh the need for a close rapport with the seller.”

Eastern Air Lines, 532 F.2d at 979 n.62. But we should not expect

a married party to complain as loudly as one who is free to play

the field.

® We therefore find it unnecessary to reach Kern’s argument that

Tenneco waived its notice argument by not raising it below.

15a

Md. App. 380, 443 A.2d 638 (Md. Ct. Spec. App. 1982) ;

Student Transit Corp. v. Board of Educ., 76 Ill. App. 3d

366, 395 N.E.2d 69 (1979). But the damages due to a

continuing partial breach are not limited to the contract’s

notice period. Such a breach is not the equivalent of a

cessation of all performance.

2. Kern’s Duty to Mitigate Damages

Tenneco sold some of the Yowlumne oil (referred to as

Section 33/34 oil) to third parties at uncontrolled prices.

Kern had the right to purchase this oil at controlled

prices, which were much lower than uncontrolled prices.

Tenneco argues that if Kern had asserted its right to

purchase the Section 33/34 oil at controlled prices, Ten-

neco would have immediately terminated the May 1977

contract, thereby greatly reducing its damages. Despite

its resemblance to the refrain, “You made me love you,

I didn’t want to do it,” Tenneco argues that the district

court erred in refusing to hear its offer of proof as to

this point.

“Trial court rulings on the admissibility of evidence

are reviewed for abuse of discretion. A reviewing court

will not reverse for an abuse of discretion unless it has

a definite and firm conviction that the court below com-

mitted an error.” Maddox v. City of Los Angeles, 792

F.2d 1408, 1412 (9th Cir. 1986) (citation omitted).

The district court did not abuse its discretion. Kern

produced evidence that Tenneco concealed Kern’s right to

purchase the Section 33/34 oil. As Kern points out, be-

cause it did not know it had the right to purchase the oil,

it could not have protested Tenneco’s selling the oil to

others. It was Tenneco, not Kern, who caused Kern not,

to purchase Section 33/34 oil. Therefore, it was not an

abuse of discretion for the district court to conclude that

Tenneco’s offer of proof was irrelevant.

l6a

3. Evidentiary Support for Damages

This court “will not disturb an award of damages on

appeal unless it is clearly unsupported by the evidence.”

Chalmers v. City of Los Angeles, 762 F.2d 753, 760 (9th

Cir. 1985). Tenneco makes two contentions that the evi-

dence does not support the award of damages. First, it

argues that the Energy Department’s post-trial proceed-

ing against Kern demonstrates that some of the evidence

Kern relied on in computing its damages was incorrect.

Second, it argues that Kern’s damage claim was specula-

tive."°

Tenneco, relying on the linkage between the regulatory

and this proceeding, says that it “discovered documents

which demonstrated that Kern had systematically de-

frauded the Department of Energy by engaging in a

series of illegal transactions which substantially reduced

Kern’s obligation under the DOE regulations to purchase

‘entitlements’ on price-controlled crude oil it refined.”

Tenneco argues that because the district court did not

allow it to reveal these documents to the DOE until after

the trial, the court based its award of damages on in-

correct assumptions as to Kern’s rights to purchase en-

titlements. The short answer to this argument is that

the district court allowed Tenneco to produce at trial the

evidence it later submitted to the DOE. Kern argued at

trial that even if the Department of Energy held that

Kern had acted unlawfully it would not revoke Kern’s

unused exception relief eligibility, which excused Kern

from having to purchase entitlements for the Yowlumne

oil. The district court therefore had this dispute directly

before it. We cannot say that its resolution of the dis-

pute was unsupported by the evidence.

10 In addition, Tenneco captions one of its headings “The Court

Violated Tenneco’s First Amendment Rights By Preventing It From

Petitioning The Department Of Energy.” Appellant’s Brief at 38.

Tenneco never discusses this rather eye-opening contention.

rT

Pa ey?

oa

17a

Tenneco points to Kern’s statement of objections to the

DOE Proposed Remedial Order that resulted from Ten-

neco’s disclosure of documents to the DOE, and argues

that Kern’s statement directly contradicts the district

court’s findings underlying its damage award. In par-

ticular, Tenneco argues that although Kern argued to

the district court, and the district court found, that Kern

would have refined, not sold, the Yowlumne oil it should

have received from Tenneco, E.R. at 271, Kern is now

arguing before the DOE that Kern would not have proc-

essed the oil, but would have sold it. The district court

heard a great deal of evidence on how Kern would have

disposed of the oil it did not receive. It concluded that

“Thjad the Yowlumne crude been made available to Kern,

sound business practice dictates that it would have been

processed by Kern and not sold.” E.R. at 256. That

Kern is now arguing a different theory to a different

tribunal certainly weakens its new position, but it does

not make the district court’s earlier conclusion clearly

unsupported by the evidence.

Tenneco argues that because Kern’s damage theories

changed several times during trial, its final damage claim

must have been speculative. It points to nothing else in

the record to support this conclusion. While inconstancy

of theories may suggest the weakness of each, a damage

award is not speculative merely because of such

inconstancy.

4. Prejudgment Interest Not Allowable

The district court awarded Kern equitable prejudgment

interest at the rate of ten percent. Tenneco argues that

Texas law precludes an award of equitable prejudgment

interest when a statute sets the rate. It then points to

Tex. Civ. Stat. Ann. art. 5069-1.03 (Vernon 1987), which

provides that prejudgment interest on “accounts and con-

tracts ascertaining the sum payable” shall be six percent.

18a

Texas courts disagree over whether art. 5069-1.03 pre-

vents courts from awarding equitable prejudgment inter-

est at a higher rate than six percent on “contracts ascer-

taining the sum payable.” Some courts have held that it

does. See, e.g., Baker Marine Corp. v. Weatherby Eng’g

Co., 710 S.W.2d 690, 695 (Tex. Ct. App. 1986) ; Missouri-

Kansas-Texas RR. v. Fiberglass Insulators, 707 S.W.2d

943, 945 (Tex. Ct. App. 1986). The district court held

that Texas law allows courts to set equitable prejudgment

interest rates even in cases to which art. 5069-1.03

applies. We agree.”

Like the district court, we rely on Crown Central

Petroleum Corp. v. National Union Fire Ins. Co., 768

F.2d 632 (5th Cir. 1985). In Crown Central, the Fifth

Circuit canvassed Texas law and concluded that “the

availability of statutory prejudgment interest in no way

foreclose[s] an award of equitable prejudgment interest.”

Id. at 637; see Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Stahl Petroleum

Co., 569 S.W.2d 480, 485 (Tex. 1978) .”

Cavnar v. Quality Control Parking, Inc., 696 S.W.2d

549, 554 (Tex. 1985), instructs courts awarding pre-

11 We note that several Texas courts have avoided this debate

by narrowly construing the scope of the phrase “contracts ascertain-

ing the sum payable.” See, e.g., McCann v. Brown, 725 S.W.2d 822,

825 (Tex. Ct. App. 1987); Perry Roofing Co. v. Olcott, 722 S.W.2d

538, 544 (Tex. Ct. App. 1986), aff’d, 31 Tex. S. Ct. J. 213, Feb. 13,

1988 (Tex. Feb. 10, 1988). Our resolution of this issue makes it

unnecessary for us to determine whether the contract in this case is

one “ascertaining the sum payable.”

12JIn Perry Roofing Co. v. Olcott, 31 Tex. S. Ct. J., Feb. 13, 1988

(Tex. Feb. 19, 1988), the Texas Supreme Court held that courts

could award prejudgment interest at the equitable, ten-percent rate

in cases that involve contracts not ascertaining the sum payable—

that is, contracts to which art. 5069-1.03 could not apply. The Court

did not address whether courts had discretion to award equitable

interest in cases inolving contracts that do ascertain a sum payable.

We therefore continue to be guided by Crown Central and Phillips

Petroleum.

Pe

19a

judgment equitable interest to look at Tex. Civ. Stat.

Ann. art. 5069-1.05 (Vernon 1987) to determine the in-

terest rate.* Thus, the district court correctly awarded

ten percent interest pursuant to Cavnar and art. 5069-

1.05.4

5. Rule 11 Sanctions Not Proper

The district court awarded Rule 11 sanctions to Kern

for “attorneys’ fees and costs incurred in resisting de-

fendant’s post-trial motions heard on August 4, 1986.”

E.R. at 196. Tenneco made three motions on August 4:

(1) to dismiss Kern’s regulatory claim on the ground

that the Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act of 1973

(EPAA) is unconstitutional; (2) to dismiss Kern’s

claims on the res judicata grounds discussed in III. B. 1

above; and (3) to unseal the trial transcript and ex-

hibits so that Tenneco could release documents about pos-

sible Kern wrongdoing to the Department of Energy.

Tenneco now argues that the district court erred in

awarding sanctions to Kern for these motions.

The underlying facts the district court relied upon in

making its determination are not in dispute. We there-

fore review de novo the district court’s legal conclusions

about the applicability of Rule 11. Zaldivar v. City of

Los Angeles, 780 F.2d 823, 828 (9th Cir. 1986).

13 Cavnar is a tort case, but its reasoning as to interest rates

applies to all equitable interest cases. See Crown Central, 768 F.2d

at 638; McCann, 725 S.W.2d at 825-26.

14 Tenneco argues that any legislative attempt to impose a higher

interest rate on parties to a contract after the parties have entered

the contract would be unconstitutional under the Supreme Court’s

decision in Allied Structural Steel Co. v. Spannaus, 438 U.S. 234

(1978). It argues further that this court should hold that the Texas

Supreme Court is similarly prevented from imposing new interest

rates for contract damages after the parties agreed to the contract.

Tenneco does not dispute Kern’s contention that Tenneco did not

raise this issue below. We therefore decline to review it. Bolker v.

Commissioner, 760 F.2d 1039, 1042 (9th Cir. 1985).

20a

The EPAA, under which the regulations in question

in Kern’s regulatory claim were promulgated, includes

a legislative veto provision. In INS v. Chadha, 462 U.S.

919 (1983), the Supreme Court declared the legislative

veto unconstitutional. The Temporary Emergency Court

of Appeals (TECA) has held that the EPAA is constitu-

tional on two separate grounds: (1) the legislative veto

provision is severable from the rest of the act; and (2)

Chadha does not apply retroactively to the act. See, e.g.,

United States v. Exxon Corp., 773 F.2d 1240 (T.E.C.A.

1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1105 (1986).

In its August 1986 motion, Tenneco rejected TECA’s

position and argued that the EPAA was unconstitutional

because the legislative veto could not be severed from the

rest of the statute. It argued that, although the TECA

had not changed its position or been overruled on the

question of severability, the question was open because

the Supreme Court had just granted certiorari in Alaska

Airlines, Inc. v. Brock, 106 8. Ct. 1259 (1986). We need

not reach the question whether the grant. of certiorari in

Alaska Airlines, a case that did not involve the EPAA,

would justify Tenneco’s petitioning the district court to

disregard the position of the TECA. Tenneco’s motion

did not discuss, or even mention, TECA’s alternative

holding that the EPAA could stand on retroactivity

grounds. This Tenneco should not have done. The ‘trial

court’s award of Rule 11 sanctions for this motion was

justified because the motion, by ignoring a portion of

existing law, was not “warranted by existing law or a

good faith argument for the extension, modification, or

reversal of existing law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 11.

Tenneco’s res judicata arguments before the district

court are identical to its res judicata arguments before

this court, and have been discussed. The arguments do

not support Tenneco’s position. Rule 11 sanctions were

justified because Tenneco had acquiesced to the claim

splitting for nearly four years before it made the motion.

”

Uri’ a

NM AAAI C8 Re chi

Pe ner eee Re ee. Pia ets oe ecw ene

21a

The trial court granted Tenneco’s request to unseal

the trial transcript. It therefore seems unlikely, to say

the least, that the court also awarded sanctions against

Tenneco for making the motion. Unfortunately, however,

the court’s order refers only to the motions of August 4,

and does not specify which motions it covers. E.R. at

196. Nevertheless, after the court awarded Kern sanc-

tions, Kern did not ask for attorneys’ fees for time spent

defending this motion. Because Tenneco did not have to

pay sanctions in the form of fees for making this motion,

the district court’s imprecision in specifying the motions

for which sanctions were appropriate becomes moot.

AFFIRMED.

22a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 86-6674, 87-5743

KERN OIL & REFINING Co.,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Defendant-A ppellant.

[Filed May 19, 1988]

Before: SNEED and PREGERSON, Circuit Judges, and

INGRAM", District Judge.

ORDER

The panel as constituted in the above case has voted

to deny the petition for rehearing and to reject the sug-

gestion for rehearing en banc.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for

en bane rehearing, and no judge of the court has re-

quested a vote on the suggestion for rehearing en banc.

Fed. R. App. P. 35(b).

The petition for rehearing is denied, and the sugges-

tion for a rehearing en banc is rejected.

* Honorable William A. Ingram, United States District Judge for

the Northern District of California, sitting by designation.

——————eaeoS

23a

APPENDIX C

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. A88-74

TENNECO OIL Co.,

Applicant

Vv.

KERN OIL and REFINING Co.

ORDER

UPON CONSIDERATION of the application of coun-

sel for the applicant,

IT IS ORDERED that the time for filing a petition

for a writ of certiorari in the above-entitled case, be

and the same is hereby, extended to and including Sep-

tember 16, 1988.

/s/ Sandra D. O’Connor

Associate Justice of the

Supreme Court of the

United States

Dated this 3rd day of August, 1988.

24a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Nos. CV 81-3253 LEW (Gx)

CV 82-6875 LEW (Gx)

KERN OIL & REFINING Co.,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Defendant,

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Counterclaimant,

V.

KERN OIL & REFINING Co.,

Counterdefendant.

[Filed Sept. 6, 1985]

ORDER RE TENNECO’S MOTION

FOR DISCLOSURE OF DOCUMENTS

On May 10, 1985, this Court heard Tenneco’s motion to

disclose to the Department of Energy (“DOE”) certain

documents produced by Kern during discovery. Dissemi-

nation of these documents was limited by a broad stipu-

lated protective order issued February 1, 1984. By its

25a

motion, Tenneco sought to remove these documents from

the scope of that order.

Following oral argument, this Court issued an order

requiring Tenneco to specify each document which it de-

sired to disclose. Kern was then to “provide a specific

showing of good cause pursuant to Rule 26(c) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as to why those docu-

ments identified by Tenneco should be protected from

disclosure.” Tenneco was given an opportunity to oppose

Kern’s showing, and the matter was to stand submitted

as of that time.

On June 3, 1985, Tenneco filed under seal copies of

those documents sought to be disclosed. On June 14,

Kern filed a document entitled “Supplemental Memo-

randum of Kern Oil & Refining Co. in Opposition to

Tenneco Oil Company’s Motion for Disclosure of Docu-

ments.” Contrary to this Court’s order, Kern elected not

to make its showing of good cause. The reason for this

was stated by Kern as follows:

Kern does not here address the confidential na-

ture of the documents identified in Tenneco’s sup-

plementa!l memorandum because the risk of prejudi-

cial disclosure of that information to Kern’s com-

petitors, suppliers and customers has been reduced

by Tenneco’s change of strategy in now seeking to

disclose those documents only to the government.

Kern concedes that it could probably prevail upon

the DOE not to disclose the documents to the public.

By so conceding, however, Kern does not abandon its

previous position that the documents contain con-

fidential commercial information.

Supplemental Memorandum of Kern Oil & Refining Co.

in Opposition to Tenneco Oil Company’s Motion for Dis-

closure of Documents (hereinafter “Kern’s Supplemen-

tal Memo’), p. 1 (Emphasis in original). Although no

supporting authority is cited, Kern apparently has con-

26a

cluded that Rule 26(c) provides no grounds for protect-

ing confidential commercial information if, in fact, that

information will not reach the commercial public. The

Court expresses no view on this conclusion.

Having occupied the position that a Rule 26(c) show-

ing was of no assistance to it, Kern returned to the sub-

stance of the underlying motion. It argued that Tenne-

co’s “change of strategy” brought to bear a line of deci-

sions holding that “a party which has received documents

in the course of discovery in a lawsuit with the under-

standing that they were to be used solely for litigation

in that action cannot voluntarily disclose those docu-

ments to an agency of the Government for purposes of

the agency’s investigation of the party which produced

the discovery.” Kern’s Supplemental Memorandum, p. 2.

The leading case in this line is GAF Corp. v. Eastman

Kodak Co., 415 F. Supp. 129 (S.D.N.Y. 1976). On June

19, Tenneco filed its own Supplemental Memorandum not-

ing Kern’s failure to present any showing of good cause

but addressing the new arguments raised.

Kern’s most recent filing is somewhat puzzling. This

Court has always been under the impression that Tenneco

sought to disclose the documents in question only to the

DOE. Tenneco states that this is, in fact, the case. Kern

cites nothing to support its claim that Tenneco somewhere

changed its strategy. This Court, however, sees no reason

to penalize Kern for its prior confusion and will thus

treat its Supplemental Memorandum as a motion for re-

consideration.

The Court has reviewed the cases cited by Kern, in

particular the GAF opinion. Given the particular facts

of the instant case, the relevant holding of this line of

cases states that a party shall be bound by the terms of

an agreement not to disclose documents produced in the

course of litigation. The Court fully agrees with this.

Here, the parties have agreed by stipulation that con-

fidential commercial information produced in discovery

SICA i Wy UN revel tal halide | heh,

27a

shall not be disclosed. Tenneco is bound by this agree-

ment.

Kern shall be given one final opportunity within seven

days from the filing of this order, to make its showing

that the disputed documents do contain such information.

It is not relevant to this showing that the document will

never reach the public. If the information contained in

the documents is still commercially confidential, Tenneco

shall be barred from disclosing it. Tenneco shall have

ten days from the date of Kern’s submission to file its

opposition, if any. The matter will stand submitted as

of that time.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: 6 Sep. 85

/s/ Laughlin E. Waters

LAUGHLIN E. WATERS

United States District Judge

28a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Nos. CV 81-3253 LEW (Gx)

CV 82-6875 LEW (Gx)

KERN OIL & REFINING Co.,

“Plaintiff,

v.

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Defendant,

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Counterclaimant,

Vv.

KERN OIL & REFINING Co.,

Counterdefendant.

[Filed Oct. 11, 1985]

ORDER RE TENNECO’S MOTION

FOR DISCLOSURE OF DOCUMENTS

On September 6, 1985, this Court issued an order di-

recting Kern Oil & Refining Company and Tenneco Oil

Company to file briefs addressing the -issue of whether

the documents Tenneco seeks to turn over to the Depart-

ment of Energy contain confidential information. The

ee

eT eas ee

29a

Court since then has received and read Kern’s Second

and Third Supplemental Memoranda and Tenneco’s re-

plies thereto. Having considered those papers and all

exhibits thereto in addition to all prior briefing on this

motion, this Court hereby finds:

That the protective order entered into by the parties

and signed by this Court contemplated that all documents

discovered in the course of this litigation be presumed

confidential and be used only for the purposes of this

litigation ;

That the documents which Tenneco seeks to disclose

are documents containing the type of confidential com-

mercial information which the protective order sought to

keep private;

That Tenneco’s expressed reason for disclosing said

documents is to present them to the Department of En-

ergy for the purpose of causing that agency to review an

earlier action and order thereon which order, Tenneco

asserts, was the result of fraud perpetrated on DOE by

Kern;

That Tenneco was not a party to the proceedings in-

volving Kern before the DOE; and

That DOE is not a party to the suit now in issue

before this Court;

While Kern has failed to demonstrate good cause why

the disclosure of Exhibits B, D, G, E (apart from those

documents listed in Exhibit B to Tenneco’s Second Sup-

plemental Memorandum) and F (as revised) should not

be permitted, the procedure now suggested by Tenneco

can only result in further delay and may further com-

plicate and extend the present proceedings with no as-

surance that positive and constructive results will be

achieved. The questions raised are better resolved within

the scope of the present litigation and parties.

30a

Therefore, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Tenneco’s

motion for disclosure of documents is DENIED.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: October 11, 1985

/s/ Laughlin E. Waters

LAUGHLIN E. WATERS

United States District Judge

sla

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

HONORABLE LAUGHLIN E. WATERS, Judge Presiding

Dei molt See

No. CV 81-3253-LEW (Kx)

No. CV 82-6875-LEW (Kx)

: ; KERN OIL & REFINING Co.,

Plaintiff,

vs.

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Defendant.

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Counter-Claimant,

VS.

KERN OIL & REFINING Co.,

Counter-Defendant.

REPORTER’S PARTIAL TRANSCRIPT

OF PROCEEDINGS

Los Angeles, California

Wednesday, December 18, 1985

DONNA S. BaIrD, CSR 3591

Official Court Reporter

430 United States Courthouse

312 North Spring Street

Los Angeles, California 90012

(213) 621-2400

Itt nreelll

32a

Appearances:

For the Plaintiff and Counter-Defendant Kern Oil &

Refining Company:

O’MELVENY & MYERS

RICHARD E. SHERWOOD

SUZANNE F. DUFF

VERA P. PARDEE

400 South Hope Street

Los Angeles, California 90071-2899

(213) 669-6000

For the Defendant and Counter-Claimant Tenneco

Oil Company: :

BAKER & BOTTS

JOHN P. MATHIS-

KIRK K. VAN TINE

1701 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 457-5500

and

GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER |

JAMES R. MARTIN

333 South Grand Avenue

Los Angeles, California 90017

(213) 229-7000

and

ALFRED B. SMITH, JR.

P.O. Box 2511

Houston, Texas 77001

(713) 757-2131

[8B-3] Los Angeles, California;

Wednesday, December 18, 1985; 9:00 A.M.

* * * *

THE COURT: Please be seated.

PORE eh eee ene aE eT ye ~ om

33a

I’m going to make a few comments, and then I’ll give

you the essence of my ruling. These comments that I’m

going to make are not going to be definitive, nor are

they going to be complete in all particulars. So I put

that caveat in because on another occasion, I did make

some comments when I ruled from the bench, and the

briefs, then, came back saying that I hadn’t discussed

this, and I hadn’t discussed that. Therefore, whatever

arguments flowed from it. So I don’t want anybody te

get the impression that this short time that I’m going to

take will address every question that’s been raised.

The first comment is about the performance of coun-

sel in this case, and I applaud you both, both sides, I

guess, I should say here. It’s not often that we have

cases as vigorously and professionally and competently

advocated on both sides as we’ve had here, and I think

both sides at least are in agreement on the proposition

that everything that can be briefed has been briefed, and

thoroughly, and imaginatively, and creatively as well as

with a high degree of professionalism. From my own

part, I’m appreciative of that. By the same token, by

the time I finish my remarks, [8B-4] both sides won’t

necessarily be appreciative of what I say, but we do have

to come to a point of decision, and that’s the purpose of

this forum.

I commented at the outset of trial, that much of this

case would be determined upon the credibility of wit-

nesses, and I renew that observation. I do bear in mind,

and it’s understandable that the witnesses who have tes-

tified here, if they possess one thing that’s common, it’s

a bias on behalf of their respective positions, and that’s

understood and that’s acceptable. Over a period of time,

why, the shadings of the bias become somewhat more

marked, and I was impressed by that fact as I listened

to each side call the people they desired to have testify.

Some witnesses, I think, testified partly from a lack of

knowledge. Some of them testified given their respective

34a

position with as much body English as they could, and I

had trouble with the integrity and objectivity of some

witnesses more so than others.

I will comment back in regard to the performance of

the attorneys, again, that as has been pointed out here,

some points were addressed by one side and not addressed

by the other and vice versa. So we have the scene really

of a war being fought, but the combatants are on some-

what different battlefields, and I have to try to bring

this together and reach a decision on that which I think

is [8B-5] appropriate in light of all of the circumstances.

As to the matter of the statute of limitations, it is my

conclusion that the complairit was timely filed, that the

arguments advanced by Kern in that regard are the ar-

guments upon which I do rely. Now, there may be a dif-

ferent construction later on as this case proceeds, because

clearly whatever happens in this court is not going to be

the final step, but I think the complaint was timely filed.

As to the fundamental issues and what really happened

in this case, it seems to me that the parties here started

out in a companionable fashion and had entered into an

agreement prior to the May 1977 agreement and had

functioned effectively with each other for some period of

time.

Tenneco, of course, was the producer, and Kern in part

was the refiner, but, also a distributor of the oil that was

produced by Tenneco. The relationship continued and be-

came somewhat more intense during the oil glut that was

referred to here, because it created problems both for

Tenneco and Kern and raised the very real question as to

the possible shutdown of the Yowlumne Field due to

Kern’s apparently expressed problem of not being able to

absorb any more oil, again, in light of the glut situation.

The fortuitous event that took place, as I view it,

[8B-6] was the sudden availability of the Four Cor-

ee re Ke

eC a eee ee ee ee

85a

ners pipeline and the reversal of the flow of the crude

through that pipeline, which created the opportunity for

Tenneco to suddenly provide assistance to its refinery at

Chalmette. Now, Chalmette, of course, was in existence

probably for some period of time prior to the existence

of any agreement between these parties. Chalmette al-

ways had to be a prime concern for Tenneco, and it’s very

clear that this is an exceedingly complex and complicated

industry, and the exchanges and interchanges that take

place, between all levels of the industry and the various

companies, it’s fast-moving, and it’s detailed and ex-

tremely competitive.

Tenneco, as I view it, fastened upon this opportunity

to ultimately provide additional crude for the operation

of its refinery in Chalmette by taking advantage of the

opportunity presented to the Four Corners pipeline. It

was of necessity imposed upon Tenneco to work through

Kern on that because of Kern’s peculiar position in re-

gard to the Texaco pipeline, and it was really at this

point that the strain began to develop, and it was at this

point, of course, that the July 1978 agreement came into

place.

It is my view that the July 1978 agreement is not a

true buy-sell agreement, but it was an agreement that

was entered into by the parties by reason of the structure

of California law as enforced by the Public Utilities

[8B-7] Commission which compelled that.. It was, in my

view, nothing more or less than a transportation agree-

ment.

The July 1978 agreement was later superseded by the

February 1979 agreement. I do not believe that any sig-

nificant rights of crude to either party as a result of the

July 1978 agreement, nor do I believe that those rights,

whatever they may have been, were in any way affected

by the February 1979 agreement, which, as I understand

the evidence, was simply a transaction or an agreement

that simplified the bookkeeping between the parties.

36a

I listened to Mr. LeDoux and his testimony as one of

those individuals with which I have more trouble than

some others. I have even more trouble with some of the

testimony of Mr. Strader. Particularly do I have trouble

with the testimony as it came out saying that Kern knew,

Kern understood, these were our intentions, and we acted

in accordance with a gentleman’s agreement.

In an industry as big and as complicated as this, while

there was attorney output or input on this matter, ap-

parently this industry moved so rapidly that the attor-

neys are unable to keep up with what is actually taking

place in the field, and for that reason, the document

drafted in June, for example, was not signed until Oc-

tober, even though the parties have been acting under

the compulsion of that agreement.

(8B-8] I have to look at the agreements that were pre-

pared by Tenneco, and I do accept the argument that

Tenneco knows how to draft agreements. The agreement

of May 19, 1977—and I’m looking now at Exhibit A—

“Crude oil from the above leases will be balanced against

crude oil sold to Tenneco by Kern County Refinery up to

3,000 barrels a day.”

Now, that langauge is clear, and it’s unambiguous. The

balancing obligation was up to that 3,000-barrel limit.

There were other agreements that were prepared by

Tenneco with other parties where the language was

equally clear and equally unambiguous where it said that

the agreement was entered into, and it will be balanced

barrel for barrel, and that was consistent with Tenneco’s

desire to provide additional crude for its refinery at Chal-

mette. But I don’t believe that the May 1977 agreement

entered into between these parties contemplated that, nor

did it come within the contemplation of the Tenneco ex-

ecutives until after the Four Corners pipeline became

available to them.

_ ee |

ee Toe

— a ee ee ree ee ee

37a

In regard to Kern’s right to all crude from the Yow-

lumne Field, I think they’ve made a sufficient showing to

establish that they have that right, including the oil from

Sections 33 and 34.

Now, we’ve had some eloquent argument about how

certain accounting procedures have taken place in regard

[8B-9] particularly to make sure that those people who

have a royalty interest in a particular well are properly

compensated, but I think that’s really aside from the

point that oil from Sections 33 and 34 was comingled with

other oil in Tank Farm 4, and it’s my conclusion that

Kern received oil from Sections 33 and 34, and while it

seems to be kind of an interesting thread upon which to

hang the conclusion that certain supplier-purchaser rela-

tionships flowed from that on the basis of first use, I think

that is where this case goes.

So as I view it, Kern has made a sufficient showing,

carried its burden, to demonstrate that they did have an

agreement, that the agreement was breached by Tenneco,

and Tenneco breached it because of its perceived needs

for its tank farm in Chalmette, that Kern was entitled

to the protections of the supplier-purchaser provisions of

the appropriate regulations, and that there has been a

sufficient showing of damage to Kern so that the Court

must find judgment for Kern in regard to the liability

phase.

Now, there has been a substantial amount of argument

in regard to whether or not Kern was, in fact, damaged.

That’s something we’re going to have to address later on.

I reached no view on that at this time. I’m sure it will

be an equally complicated and sophisticated presentation

by both sides. I’m sure that both sides feel [8B-10] that

I’m failing to address a number of very important points

that you have raised, but I don’t see the relationship as

being really that much more complicated than I voiced

here, which I svppose will buttress you in your conclu-

sions that my approach is perhaps too simplistic.

38a

In any event, while oil companies do have agreements

and so on, I think they’re all essentially very vigorous

competitors with each other, and when the occasion arises,

why, it’s a kind of a no-quarter situation. I suspect that’s

what’s happened here.

~ * * *

J lh» Salas cst a hal aati

39a

APPENDIX G

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Nos. CV 81-3253 LEW (Kx)

CV 82-6875 LEW (Kx)

KERN OIL & REFINING Co.,

Plaintiff,

V.

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Defendant.

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Counterclaimant,

v.

KERN OIL & REFINING Co.,

Counterdefendant.

[Filed Aug. 28, 1986]

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION

These consolidated cases raise issues of breach of con-

tract and breach of regulatory obligations by Tenneco Oil

Company (“Tenneco”’) against Kern Oil & Refining Co.

(“Kern”) and damages flowing therefrom. The liability

phase has been previously tried and resulted in a finding

adverse to Tenneco. Specifically, the Court found that

Tenneco had breached the regulatory obligations as

40a

pleaded in count one and had breached the contract as

pleaded in counts two through seven. The Court will now

address the remaining issues concerning damages and

whether attorneys’ fees and related costs should be

awarded to Kern.

In urging its view as to the proper quantum of dam-

ages, Kern changed position several times during the

progress of the litigation, on each occasion asserting a

greater amount due. The amounts finally settled upon

by Kern, during trial of the damage phase, were not less

than $16,761,639.00 as lost profits plus prejudgment in-

terest of $12,836,980.00 on its breach of contract claim

or, alternatively, $15,180,303.00 as prejudgment interest

on its breach of regulatory obligation claim plus attor-

neys’ fees and related costs incurred in prosecuting its

claims for a total amount in excess of $30,000,000.00.

During the trial on the damage phase, Tenneco pleaded

surprise concerning the latest projections as to the

amount of damages advanced by Kern and insisted on an

interruption of the trial so that it could more fully con-

sider this latest contention and more effectively cross

examine the Kern witnesses. Tenneco’s request for delay

was grarited. Interestingly, when trial resumed, Tenneco

left this area of examination virtually untouched, thus

raising the inference that the requested delay was for

a purpose or purposes other than those expressed to the

Court.

While not addressing Kern’s last damage computation

directly, Tenneco raised several arguments which, if sus-

tained, would tend to reduce the total of damages claimed.

In so doing, Tenneco was in effect seeking to retry the

liability phase of the trial. These arguments included the

following assertions: that Kern did not have the capacity

to process all of the crude available from the Yowlumne

field and that, as a result, Kern did not experience a

shortage of crude; that Kern’s refinery was so designed

eee a eee ee he Pee ee ee eee ne rT

a oe

4la

so that it could not process the high gravity crude avail-

able from the Yowlumne field without massive and very

expensive redesign of Kern’s refinery; that Kern would

have sold excess Yowlumne crude rather than process it

if available; that Kern would have incurred entitlement

obligations on contract crude processed between April 1,

1979 to March 31, 1980; that Kern failed to make com-

mercially reasonable efforts to mitigate its damages; and

that damage to Kern was not reasonably foreseeable by

Tenneco.

Discussion

The points addressed in this memorandum do not pur-

port to be an exhaustive discussion of all of the issues

raised during the trial, but they will be discussed for the

purpose of indicating the bases of the Court’s decision.

‘Much of Tenneco’s case was based on a highly selective

approach of specific instances from which a general con-

clusion is urged. Upon analysis, however, and in light of

more persuasive countervailing evidence, this selective

evidence did not sustain the positions asserted by Ten-

neco. This had the effect of eroding the credibility of a

number of the Tenneco witnesses and weakening and/or

destroying the validity of their contentions. Such selec-

tive argumentation left the Court wondering, on occasion,

as to what the true facts were.

As a case in point, in its challenge to the capacity of

the Kern refinery to process Yowlumne crude at the rate

of 21,000 BPSD (barrels per stream day), Tenneco relied

heavily upon the figures showing reduced production dur-

ing the start-up period of the refinery and the period of

reduced production during a strike in 1980. Tenneco

thus concluded that Kern did not have capacity to process

the Yowlumne crude in amounts greater than 16,000

BPSD. Kern effectively rebutted this contention by more

credible witnesses and through more persuasive docu-

mentation. The Court concludes that the limit on the

42a

BPSD capacity was largely due to the failure of Tenneco

to supply contracted crude from the Yowlumne field. The

Court also finds that the Kern refinery had a capacity

of 21,000 BPSD.

Tenneco urges that due to the design of the Kern

refinery, it did not have the ability to process or to handle

the higher gravity crude from the Yowlumne field. Mr.

Tucker, testifying on behalf of Tenneco, attempted to

correlate Kern’s crude unit processing rate with API

crude gravity and produced a graph to demonstrate his

conclusion. The Court finds that the points on the graph

adapted by Mr. Tucker were not the most valid points,

that the line, therefore, was distorted and that the con-

clusion urged was misleading.

It is true, of course, that the Kern refinery was proc-

essing lower gravity crude, but this was due to the non-

availability of Yowlumne crude. Kern testified, and the

Court finds, contrary to the contentions of Tenneco, that

the modifications of the Kern refinery necessary to process

higher gravity crude were not significant in cost and

could be readily achieved without major modification of

the refinery. Had the Yowlumne crude been made avail-

able to Kern, sound business practice dictates that it

would have been processed by Kern and not sold, so that

higher quality products would have been produced in

Kern’s inventory.

As to the question of foreseeability on the part of

Tenneco of damage to Kern, even if relevant, the Court

finds that the damage was foreseeable. Tenneco operates

its own refinery at Chalmette, Louisiana and thus knows

of the importance of crude, both in volume and quality, to

a refinery. Indeed, it was Tenneco’s cesire to protect its

own interest in its refinery which resulted in the breach

of contract with Kern.

The oil industry is highly competitive and industrial

intelligence between competitors is vigorously pursued.

nnremieneneninennnee tim

43a

The manner in which Tenneco effected the diversion of

Yowlumne crude from Kern and its awareness that the

diversion would require “rather delicate handling” is

indicative of knowledge on the part of Tenneco. “It is

not necessary that the specific injury or amount of harm

be foreseen, but only that a reasonable person in [defend-

ant’s] position would foresee that in the usual course of

; “events, damages would follow from its breach.” Barnard

v. Compugraphic Corp., 667 P.2d 117, 120 (Wash. App.

1983) (emphasis in original).

:

7

As to the argument regarding entitlement obligations,

Kern has made a sufficient showing that its conduct was

not violative of federal regulations and that the Depart-

ment of Energy made an audit of entitlements compliance

from October 1980 through January 1981 and found

Kern to be in compliance.

The fact that retroactive exception was granted to

Kern by the Department of Energy for the period Octo-

ber 1979 to March 1980 does not invalidate or modify

Kern’s claim for damages. Such relief was granted after

due consideration by the Department of Energy, and

Kern is entitled to rely upon it. Tenneco cannot now

make a collateral attack on an order to which it was not

a party. It must take the order as it finds it. See Cal-

lanan Road Improvement Co. v. United States, 345 U.S.

507, 512 (1953). Tenneco conceded, under cross-

examination, that if Kern’s entitlement purchase obliga-

tions would not exceed the amount of its exception relief

eligibility, Kern’s damage claim would not be affected.

4

Damages

In light of the above, Kern is entitled to damages for

lost refinery profits in the amount of $16,761,639.00.

Attorneys’ Fees

Kern also seeks attorneys’ fees under the authority of

Section 38 of the Texas Civil Procedure & Remedies Code.

4

SS

44a

Failure to award attorneys’ fees in this case would un-

fairly disadvantage Kern to the betterment of Tenneco

which deliberately embarked on this program of contract

and regulatory breach. To hold otherwise would permit

Tenneco to profit from its own wrongdoing.

The Court finds that Kern has complied with the

requirements of the pertinent Texas statutes and that it

is entitled to attorneys’ fees plus related costs including

attorney’s fees and costs for post trial motions.

Interest

Interest is sought under the authority of Cavnar v.

Quality Control Parking, Inc., 696 S.W.2d 549 (Tex.

1985) for breach of contract. In Crown Central Petro-

leum Corp. v. National Union Fire Ins. Co., 768 F.2d 632

(5th Cir. 1985), the court stated “. . . that... Cavnar

. must be read to create a judicial scheme for the

award of prejudgment interest in all cases.” Id. at 637.

Under this authority, Kern is entitled to prejudgment

interest in the amount of $12,836,980.00 plus additional

interest computed at the rate of 10% to the date of this

decision plus post judgment interest at the rate of 10%

until judgment is paid, all interest to be compounded.

Kern also urges interest on the alternative basis in the

amount of $15,180,303.00 on the breach of regulation

claim. This interest is computed on the basis of the De-

partment of Energy’s use of the prime rate or by the

provisions of 28 U.S.C. 1961 (the federal post judg-

-ment interest statute). In the circumstances of this case

and in the appropriate exercise of discretion and consist-

ent with the determination made in Kern Oil & Refining

Co. v. Tenneco Oil Co., Case No. 81-0791-R, interest is

awarded to Kern on this alternative basis in the amount

of $15,180,303.00 plus such additional interest as may

accrue until date of payment of the award herein based

on T-bill investment rates in effect from time to time.

t

4

a

¥

a

é

i

4

45a

Conclusion

As earlier indicated, these comments are not intended

to be exhaustive of all issues raised by the parties hereto,

but are designed to summarize some of the bases for the

Court’s decision.

Counsel for Kern are directed to prepare findings of

fact and conclusions of law on all material issues in-

volved and are further directed to prepare a judgment in

accordance with this memorandum of decision.

DATED: 28 Aug. 86

/s/ Laughlin E. Waters

LAUGHLIN E. WATERS

Sr. District Judge

46a

APPENDIX H

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Case Nos. CV 81-3253 LEW (Kx)

CV 82-6875 LEW (Kx)

KERN OIL & REFINING Co.,

Plaintiff,

Ve

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Defendant.

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Counterclaimant,

v.

KERN OIL & REFINING Co.,

Counterdefendant.

[Filed Sept. 25, 1986]

ORDER RE TENNECO OIL COMPANY’S

MOTION FOR DISCLOSURE OF

TRIAL TRANSCRIPTS AND EXHIBITS

On October 11, 1985, this Court issued an order deny-

ing Tenneco’s motion for disclosure of documents obtained

through discovery. On Kern’s motion, and without objec-

tion from Tenneco, the Court during trial of the damages

phase of this action extended the protective order filed on

:

3

>

4

:

*

4

3

4

&

ey

3

4

;

:

ty

47a

January 31, 1984 to cover the trial transcript and trial

exhibits. Thereafter, the documents which Tenneco

sought to have disclosed prior to trial were admitted into

evidence. Some six months after the conclusion of trial,

but prior to entry of final judgment, Tenneco moved to

vacate the order of this Court sealing the trial record.

At the hearing on the motion, held on August 4, 1986,

the Court took the matter under submission. Having con-

sidered the briefs filed by the parties as well as the oral

argument of counsel, the Court for the reasons set forth

below now grants Tenneco’s motion.

Tenneco argues that it has both a First Amendment

and a common law right of access to the documents at

issue. Although three Circuits have found that the First

Amendment does confer a right of access to the records

of a civil case, Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp. v.

FTC, 710 F.2d 1165, 1177-1179 (6th Cir. 1983); Pub-

licker Industries, Inc. v. Cohen, 733 F.2d 1059, 1067-1070

(3rd Cir. 1984); In Re Continental Illinois Securities

Litigation, 732 F.2d 1302, 1308-1309 (7th Cir. 1984) ;

but see In Re Reporters Committee for Freedom of the

Press, 773 F.2d 1825, 1330-1341 (D.C.Cir. 1984) (First

Amendment right of access, if any, does not accrue until

after entry of final judgment), this issue has not been

addressed by either the Ninth Circuit or the Supreme

Court. The common law right of access claimed by Ten-

neco is however universally recognized. See Nixon v.

Warner Communications, Inc., 435 U.S. 589, 597-600,

98 S.Ct. 1311-1313 (1978) and Publicker Industries, Inc.

v. Cohen, 733 F.2d 1059, 1066 (3rd Cir. 1984).

The traditional common law. right of access cannot be

given straightforward application in this case because it

is being asserted by a party to the litigation which al-

ready has access to the documents at issue. What Ten-

neco seeks by its motion is not access te the documents,

but rather vacation of an order which prohibits dissemi-

EE <<<

48a

nation of the documents. Tenneco has failed to cite a case

which establishes a common law right to disseminate

documents which are the subject of a protective order.

Although the Court finds that Tenneco’s common law

right of access has not been violated, it is not necessary

to reach the constitutional claims raised by Tenneco be-

cause Tenneco is entitled to relief on other non-constitu-

tional grounds. Given the present posture of this case,

the Court now finds that there is no goou reason to con-

tinue to extend the protective order to cover the trial

transcripts and trial exhibits. Because this matter has

now been tried, presentation by Tenneco of the documents

at issue to the DOE will not delay proceedings before

this Court. Moreover, when ruling on Tenneco’s original

motion for disclosure, this Court found that Kern had

failed to demonstrate good cause as to why the docu-

ments should remain under seal. The Court now reaffirms

this finding. The documents at issue relate to certain

spot transactions entered into by Kern with suppliers

and exchange partners more than five years ago. Kern’s

argument that this information can be used to Kern’s

detriment by its competitors is unpersuasive, especially

in light of Kern’s recent concession that all other informa-

tion contained in the trial record is not confidential.

Kern’s Memorandum of Points and Authorities in Oppo-

sition to Tenneco’s Motion for Disclosure of Trial Tran-

scripts and Exhibits at p. 8; see In Re Reporters Com-

mittee for Freedom of the Press, 773 F.2d 1325, 1339

(D.C.Cir. 1985). There being no good cause for the main-

tenance of the protective orders, those orders are vacated

insofar as they pertain to trial exhibits received into evi-

dence and to the trial transcript. Tavoulares v. Wash-

ington Post Co., 737 F.2d 1170, 1172-1173 (D.C.Cir.

1984). However, in order to allow Kern an opportunity

to seek review of today’s ruling by the Ninth Circuit, this

order is not to become operative until October 3, 1986.

49a

Until that time, Tenneco remains bound by the previously

entered protective orders.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated: September 25, 1986

/s/ Laughlin E. Waters

LAUGHLIN E. WATERS

Sr. United States District Judge

scieaabiiasogamanaiabiti one

50a

APPENDIX I

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Nos. 81-3253 LEW (Kx) &

82-6875 LEW (Kx)

KERN OIL & REFINING Co.,

Plaintiff,

y. I

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Defendant,

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Counter-Claimant,

Vv.

KERN OIL & REFINING Co.,

Counter-Defendant.

| Entered Nov. 5, 1986]

ORDER AND JUDGMENT

This action having come on regularly for trial com-

mencing December 3, 1985, the Honorable Laughlin E.

Waters, Judge, presiding, and the claims presented to

the Court having been duly tried and a decision having

been duly rendered,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

THAT:

1. Judgment is granted in favor of plaintiff Kern Oil

& Refining Co. on the First, Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth,

5la

Sixth and Seventh Clauses of Action of the Consolidated

Amended Complaint.

(a) Plaintiff is to recover damages from defendant

Tenneco Oil Company in the sum of $16,751,639.00.

(b) Pursuant to Texas law, plaintiff is to recover

$ from defendant for attorneys’ fees and costs

incurred by plaintiff in prosecuting its breach of con-

tract claims, plus those attorneys’ fees and costs it in-

curred in connection with its regulatory, misrepresenta-

tion and fraud claims and its defenses against defend-

ant’s counterclaims, to the extent those legal services and

costs cannot be distinguished from legal services rendered

and costs incurred in prosecution of the breach of con-

tract claims.

(c) Pursuant to Texas law and Fed. R. Civ. P. 11,

plaintiff is to recover $ from defendant for at-

torneys’ fees and costs incurred in resisting defendant’s

post-trial motions heard on August 4, 1986.

(d) Plaintiff is directed to move pursuant to Local

Rule 16.10 for a hearing to determine the amount of at-

torneys’ fees and costs to be awarded under (b) and (c)

above, and upon such determination, those amounts shall

form part of this judgment.

(e) Plaintiff is to recover from defendant pre-judgment

interest in the amount of $15,180,303.00, plus additional

prejudgment interest in the amount of $ , as is

accrued on the amount described in (a) above from Jan-

uary 15, 1986 until date of this judgment, computed in

accordance with 28 U.S.C. § 1961.

(f) Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d), plaintiff is to

recover $—————— for its costs of action from defendant.

(¢) Plaintiff is to recover postjudgment interest as is

accrued on the amounts described in {| l(a), (b), (¢), fe)

and (f) above and §2(c) below from the date of this

judgment until payment, computed in accordance with 28

U.S.C. § 1961.

52a

2. Judgment is granted in favor of counter-defendant

Kern Oil & Refining Co. on the Fourth Counterclaim.

(a) Counter-claimant Tenneco Oil Company is to take

nothing on the Fourth Counterclaim.

(b) The Fourth Counterclaim is hereby dismissed on

the merits.

(ec) Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d), counter-

defendant is to recover $ for its costs of action

from counterclaimant.

3. Judgment has heretofore been entered in favor of

counter-defendant on all other Counterclaims, and coun-

ter-claimant is to take nothing on any counterclaim in

this consolidated action.

4. There is no just reason for delay in allowing this

Judgment to be appealed, and the Clerk: of this Court is

hereby directed, pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. Proc. 54(b),

to enter final judgment forthwith as to the claims re-

ferred to herein in accordance with the terms hereof.

DATED: 10 Oct., 1986

/s/ Laughlin E. Waters

THE HONORABLE LAUGHLIN E. WATERS

United States District Court Judge

Submitted September 5, 1986 by:

RICHARD E. SHERWOOD

SUZANNE F. DUFF

VERA P. PARDEE

O’MELVENY & MYERS

s/’ Suzanne F. Duff

SUZANNE F. DUFF

Attorneys for Plaintiff

and Counter-Defendant

Kern Oil & Refining Co.

53a

APPENDIX J

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Nos. 81-3253 LEW (Kx) &

82-6875 LEW (Kx)

KERN OIL & REFINING Co.,

Plaintiff,

Wa

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Defendant.

TENNECO OIL COMPANY,

Counter-Claimant,

v.

KERN OIL & REFINING Co.,

Counter-Defendant.

(Filed Nov. 21, 1986]

FILED UNDER SEAL PURSUANT

TO PROTECTIVE ORDER OF THE COURT

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS

OF LAW AFTER TRIAL

This matter having come on for bench trial com-

mencing December 3, 1985, the Honorable Laughlin E.

54a

Waters presiding, and the Court having considered the

Memoranda of Contentions of Fact and Law, the Pre-Trial

Conference Order, the Amendment to Pre-Trial Confer-

ence Order, the Trial and Post Trial Briefs, the testi-

mony, exhibits and argument presented at trial, and the

papers and arguments presented in connection with Ten-

neco’s post-trial motions to dismiss Kern’s causes of

action,

THE COURT HEREBY MAKES THE FOLLOWING

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

A. FINDINGS OF FACT

1. To the extent these Findings of Fact are deemed

Conclusions of Law, they are incorporated into the Con-

clusions of Law that follow.

2. All stipulations of material fact contained in Para-

graph 5 of the Pre-Trial Conference Order and the

Amendment to Pre-Trial Conference Order are incor-

porated herein. All stipulations of fact in Paragraph 5

of the February 29, 1984 Pre-Trial Conference Order in

Case No. CV 81-0791, Ex. 263, that are relevant to this

litigation are incorporated herein. All Findings of Fact

in the July 27, 1984 Findings of Fact and Conclusions of

Law After Trial in Case No. CV 81-0791, Ex. 264, that

are relevant to this litigation are incorporated herein.

3. Myriad factual disputes were aired during the

course of trial herein. The resolution of these disputes

turns on the credibility of witnesses. Tenneco’s case was

based on a highly selective approach of specific instances

from which a general conclusion was urged. Kern pre-

sented more persuasive countervailing evidence. Ten-

neco’s selective evidence did not sustain the positions it

asserted, and the credibility of a number of Tenneco wit-

nesses was eroded.

4. Kern is a small “independent” crude oil refiner

whose only refinery is located in Bakersfield, California.

ar eras at

z

a

fs

BI

S

-

3

:

:

55a

Because Kern has no crude production of its own, it must

acquire from others all crude to be run in its refinery.

Kern’s profitability depends on the continuous avaiiability

of sufficient volumes of “light” crude to enable Kern to

produce high value products and to run its refinery at

optimal capacity. Kern frequently engages in sales (in-

cluding reciprocal sales) and exchanges of crude in order

to reduce transportation costs and obtain the most profit-

able supply of crude for its refinery.

5. Tenneco is a larger “integrated” oil company with

substantial crude production in California and elsewhere,

a refinery in Chalmette, Louisiana, and marketing facili-

ties in various parts of the country.

6. Tenneco first sold crude from its Yowlumne, Cali-

fornia field to Kern in 1975 pursvant to an October 1975

Tenneco-drafted contract, Ex. 1. As additional Yow-

lumne properties came into production after 1975, Ten-

neco sold the bulk of that crude to Kern. In June 1976

the parties executed a second Tenneco-drafted contract,

Ex. 2, formally committing Tenneco to sell Kern all crude

from the Tenneco properties from which Kern was by

then purchasing crude. Thereafter, as additional Yow-

lumne properties came into production, Tenneco again

sold that new production to Kern. In May 1977 the par-

ties entered into a new contract, Ex. 6, again drafted by

Tenneco, replacing their earlier contracts and formally

committing Tenneco to sell Kern all crude produced from

the properties listed in Exhibit A to that contract (which

included all Tenneco properties from which Kern was by

then purchasing crude). The May 1977 contract con-

tained no specific termination date; it was terminable by

either party on 90 days notice. Tenneco did not ter-

minate that contract until August 1980, effective Novem-

ber 30, 1980.

7. At or about the time of entering into the May 1977

contract, Kern and Tenneco orally agreed that Tenneco

would sell to Kern, under the terms of the May 1977 con-

56a

tract, crude from all Yowlumne properties coming into

production after May 1977. Subsequent Tenneco invoices

to Kern for such Yowlumne crude production identified

it as being sold pursuant to the May 1977 contract.

8. At no time did Kern represent to Tenneco that

Kern would refrain from asserting a regulatory “sup-

plier/purchaser” claim against Tenneco under 10 C.F.R.

211.63. Tenneco could have drafted a clause in the May

1977 contract attempting to waive its regulatory supply

obligations, such as appears in contemporaneous con-

tracts between Tenneco and others, e.g., Exs. 19, 26, but

Tenneco did not do so, and no waiver exists in the con-

tract or elsewhere.

9. In entering into the May 1977 contract, Tenneco

and Kern agreed and understood that all of Tenneco’s

sales to Kern beyond 3,000 barrels per day were to be

outright sales, and the May 1977 contract so states

clearly and unambiguously. Moreover, because the par-

ties specifically agreed in the contract to “balance” Ten-

neco’s sales only up to 3,000 barrels per day and because

other Tenneco contracts with third parties specifically

provided for balancing when it was so intended, it is

clear that Kern and Tenneco did not contemplate bal-

ancing Tenneco’s sales to Kern beyond 3,000 barrels per

day. Nor did Tenneco and Kern intend that Tenneco’s

unmatched sales over 3,000 barrels per day would be tem-

porary, or that they would be conditional in any respect,

or that Kern would merely be Tenneco’s marketing agent

for crude in excess of 3,000 barrels per day.

10. Beginning in approximately Spring 1978, a long-

standing scarcity of crude in California changed into

temporary oversupply. At the same time, Tenneco’s Yow-

lumne production increased substantially, to a point at

which it exceeded Kern’s refinery needs. Tenneco relied

almost completely on Kern to absorb Tenneco’s Yowlumne

production so as to avoid “shutting in” the Yowlumne

field.

sda sbetccitel ¥

i a

)

57a

11. In Spring 1978 Tenneco learned that the Four

Corners Pipe Line (“FCPL’) would become operational

in June 1978 for movement of crude eastward, thus pro-

viding the first opportunity physically to transport Yow-

lumne crude from California to east of the Rockies, from

where it could readily be traded for crude supply for

Tenneco’s Chalmette, Louisiana refinery. Tenneco wanted

to keep for itself the Yowlumne crude that it had agreed

to sell to Kern. Kern, at that time, did not need all the

Tenneco Yowlumne crude for Kern’s refinery.

12. Tenneco did not suggest to Kern that the May

1977 contract be amended or terminated so as to reduce

or eliminate Tenneco’s sales of Yowlumne crude to Kern:

Tenneco knew that Kern would not have given up its

rights to the crude, and Tenneco needed Kern’s coopera-

tion to move the crude out of the Yowlumne field. The

Yowlumne crude could be moved from the field to the

FCPL only through a pipeline owned by Texaco. Kern

had contractual rights to move crude through the Texaco

pipeline pursuant to a transportation service agreement

between Kern and Texaco, but Tenneco did not. Under

the terms of the agreement, Tenneco crude could be

transported through the Texaco pipeline only if title was

transferred from Tenneco to Kern to Texaco (and then

back from Texaco to Kern to Tenneco at the end of

the pipeline).

13. Instead of revealing its true intent to reduce and

eventually eliminate Yowlumne crude sales to Kern, Ten-

neco suggested that they enter into an agreement

whereby Kern would move approximately 4,500 barrels

per day of Tenneco’s surplus Yowlumne crude (i.e., crude

not needed for Kern’s refinery) for Tenneco from the

field to the FCPL. Tenneco drafted this July 1978 agree-

ment, Ex. 14, structuring it as a “sale” from Kern to

Tenneco at the end of the Texaco pipeline. (Tenneco was

already giving Kern title to the crude at the beginning

of the pipeline under the May 1977 contract). With the

58a

initial passing of title from Tenneco to Kern under the

May 1977 contract, then the Kern-Texaco-Kern pipeline

transfers of title, and then the passing of title back to

Tenneco under the July 1978 agreement, Tenneco was

able to transport its own crude back to itself at a point

where it could move that crude through the FCPL and

then trade it for supply at Tenneco’s Louisiana refinery.

The price Tenneco paid Kern at the end of the Texaco

pipeline was precisely the same as the price Kern had

paid Tenneco at the beginning of that pipeline plus

Kern’s gathering and transportation costs. The July 1978

agreement was a transportation service arrangement, not

a bona fide sale from Kern to Tenneco.

14. At the time of entering into the July 1978 agree-

ment, Tenneco assured Kern that Tenneco would not

leave Kern without a sufficient refinery supply, and,

based on Tenneco’s assurances, Kern understood that the

transportation arrangement would be limited to surplus

Yowlumne crude Kern could not use. Tenneco’s objec-

tive was eventually to take all of the Yowlumne produc-

tion for itself, but it concealed that intent from Kern.

Tenneco deliberately embarked on a program of con-

tractual and regulatory breach to protect its own inter-

ests at the expense of Kern.

15. Tenneco induced Kern to enter into the July 1978

agreement by falsely representing to Kern that Tenneco

would continue supplying Kern with sufficient Yowlumne

crude to meet Kern’s refinery needs. Tenneco acted in

bad faith toward Kern, capitalizing upon the circum-

stances of the crude oil glut and the opening of the Four

Corners Pipeline for its own purposes, in intentional

derogation of Kern’s rights.

16. At all relevant times, Tenneco was fully aware of

Kern’s refinery expansion plans and its dependency on

Yowlumne crude for refinery supp

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Tenneco Oil Co. v. Kern Oil & Refining Co. · 488 U.S. 948 | Frix