Opinion

Nafeesah Madyun v. United States Postal Service

Court
Merit Systems Protection Board
Filed
Mar 27, 2024
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 15.7%

The opinion

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

NAFEESAH A. MADYUN, DOCKET NUMBER

Appellant, AT-0353-18-0386-I-1

v.

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE, DATE: March 27, 2024

Agency.

THIS ORDER IS NONPRECEDENTIAL 1

David Champion , Memphis, Tennessee, for the appellant.

Cynthia R. Allen , Memphis, Tennessee, for the agency.

BEFORE

Cathy A. Harris, Chairman

Raymond A. Limon, Vice Chairman

REMAND ORDER

The appellant has filed a petition for review of the initial decision, which

dismissed her restoration appeal for lack of jurisdiction. For the reasons

discussed below, we GRANT the appellant’s petition for review, VACATE the

initial decision, and REMAND the case to the Atlanta Regional Office for further

adjudication in accordance with this Remand Order.

1

A nonprecedential order is one that the Board has determined does not add

significantly to the body of MSPB case law. Parties may cite nonprecedential orders,

but such orders have no precedential value; the Board and administrative judges are not

required to follow or distinguish them in any future decisions. In contrast, a

precedential decision issued as an Opinion and Order has been identified by the Board

as significantly contributing to the Board’s case law. See 5 C.F.R. § 1201.117(c).

2

BACKGROUND

The agency employs the appellant as a City Mail Carrier. Initial Appeal

File (IAF), Tab 5 at 43. The appellant suffered a compensable injury on

February 24, 2014. Id. at 59. The Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs

(OWCP) determined that the accepted conditions for her traumatic injury were a

sprain of her right wrist and foot, neck, and right-hand carpal tunnel syndrome.

Id. On August 6, 2015, OWCP terminated the appellant’s wage loss benefits,

finding that her accepted medical conditions were no longer disabling. IAF,

Tab 5 at 54-56. OWCP permitted the appellant to continue to receive medical

benefits for carpal tunnel syndrome. IAF, Tab 5 at 43-58. The appellant

performed the duties of her position until January 25, 2018, when her doctor

completed a Form CA-17, Duty Status Report, specifying medical restrictions due

to her carpal tunnel syndrome. IAF, Tab 5 at 6, 45. The agency notified the

appellant that it had no work for her to perform within her new medical

restrictions and sent her home. ID at 3; IAF, Tab 5 at 5-6.

On March 14, and 21, 2018, the appellant filed two claims for OWCP

benefits for the period of February 3, 2018, to March 16, 2018, alleging disability

due to a worsening of the carpal tunnel syndrome. IAF, Tab 5 at 14. OWCP

notified the appellant on March 23, 2018, that additional evidence was needed to

establish that her disability between February 3, 2018, and March 16, 2018, was

due to her February 24, 2014 accepted injury because her physician had indicated

that her current carpal tunnel syndrome was due to the repetitive nature of her job

and had not connected the disability to the original work-related injury. Id. at 15.

On April 6, 2018, the appellant filed an appeal alleging that the agency

improperly denied her request for restoration as a partially recovered employee

and suspended her for more than 14 days beginning on January 25, 2018. IAF,

Tab 1 at 2. The appellant alleged that she had a recent claim for a compensable

injury that was accepted by OWCP, but the administrative judge rejected this

assertion as unsubstantiated and dismissed the appeal for lack of jurisdiction,

3

without holding the hearing requested by the appellant. ID at 1, 3; IAF, Tab 4

at 1-2.

The administrative judge found that the appellant failed to prove that her

absence beginning on January 25, 2018, was connected to her compensable

traumatic injury. ID at 3. With respect to the appellant’s additional claims that

the agency suspended her and failed to afford her the procedures she was due

under 5 U.S.C. chapter 75, the administrative judge found that the Board did not

have jurisdiction over her appeal under chapter 75 because the non-preference

eligible appellant did not meet the statutory definition of an “employee” as set

forth in 5 U.S.C. § 7511(a)(1)(B). ID at 4. Based on her finding that the Board

lacked independent jurisdiction over the claims raised on appeal, the

administrative judge declined to adjudicate the appellant’s claim of disability

discrimination. Id.

The appellant filed a petition for review arguing that the Board has

jurisdiction over her appeal. Petition for Review (PFR) File, Tab 1. She submits

new evidence that OWCP accepted her recent carpal tunnel syndrome claim as

related to her compensable work injury and began paying her compensation

benefits effective January 26, 2018. IAF, Tab 1 at 15-16; PFR File, Tab 4

at 15-16. She asserts that the agency arbitrarily and capriciously denied her

work. She also reasserts her discrimination claim. Id. at 2. The agency has

responded in opposition, and the appellant has replied. PFR File, Tabs 6-7.

DISCUSSION OF ARGUMENTS ON REVIEW

The Federal Employees’ Compensation Act and the implementing

regulations of the Office of Personnel Management (OPM) at 5 C.F.R. part 353

provide, inter alia, that Federal employees who suffer compensable injuries enjoy

certain rights to be restored to their previous or comparable positions. 5 U.S.C.

§ 8151(b); Kingsley v. U.S. Postal Service, 123 M.S.P.R. 365, ¶ 9 (2016). Under

OPM’s regulations, such employees have different substantive rights based on

4

whether they have fully recovered, partially recovered, or are physically

disqualified from their former or equivalent positions. Kingsley, 123 M.S.P.R.

365, ¶ 9 (quoting 5 C.F.R. § 353.301). Partially recovered employees, like the

appellant, are those who, “though not ready to resume the full range” of duties,

have “recovered sufficiently to return to part-time or light duty or to another

position with less demanding physical requirements.” Kingsley, 123 M.S.P.R.

365, ¶ 9; 5 C.F.R. § 353.102.

To establish jurisdiction over a claim of denial of restoration as a partially

recovered employee, an appellant is required to make nonfrivolous allegations 2 of

the following: (1) she was absent from her position due to a compensable injury;

(2) she recovered sufficiently to return to duty on a part-time basis or to return to

work in a position with less demanding physical requirements than those

previously required of her; (3) the agency denied her request for restoration; and

(4) the denial was arbitrary and capricious. Kingsley, 123 M.S.P.R. 365, ¶ 11;

5 C.F.R. § 1201.57(a)(4), (b). Once an appellant establishes jurisdiction, she is

entitled to a hearing at which she must prove the merits of her restoration appeal,

i.e., all four of the above elements, by a preponderance of the evidence. 3

Kingsley, 123 M.S.P.R. 365, ¶¶ 11-12; 5 C.F.R. § 1201.57(c)(4).

The administrative judge dismissed this appeal for lack of jurisdiction

based on her finding that the appellant failed to establish that she was absent from

duty due to her compensable injury. ID at 3. However, because the appellant

filed her appeal after March 30, 2015, the effective date of the current version of

the Board’s regulation at 5 C.F.R. § 1201.57(a) applied to her restoration claim.

Kingsley, 123 M.S.P.R. 365, ¶ 10. Under section 1201.57(a), she is only required

to make nonfrivolous allegations that, if proven, could establish the jurisdictional

2

A nonfrivolous allegation is an assertion that, if proven, could establish the matter at

issue. 5 C.F.R. § 1201.4(s).

3

A preponderance of the evidence is the degree of relevant evidence that a reasonable

person, considering the record as a whole, would accept as sufficient to find that a

contested fact is more likely to be true than untrue. 5 C.F.R. § 1201.4(q).

5

criteria. Kingsley, 123 M.S.P.R. 365, ¶ 11; see 5 C.F.R. § 1201.4(s). Thus, the

administrative judge erred in requiring the appellant to prove jurisdiction by

preponderant evidence. ID at 24 n.1.

We find it unnecessary here to determine if the administrative judge’s error

was harmful in light of the appellant’s new evidence of jurisdiction presented on

review. Pirkkala v. Department of Justice, 123 M.S.P.R. 288, ¶ 5 (2016)

(observing that the Board will consider evidence submitted for the first time on

review if it is relevant to jurisdiction). T he appellant submits Department of

Labor (DOL) Benefit Statements showing that OWCP began paying her wage

compensation benefits effective January 26, 2018. PFR File, Tab 1 at 15-16.

DOL issued the checks referenced in the Benefit Statement on the same date as

the initial decision in this appeal, and the appellant asserts that this evidence was

not available before the record closed below. 4 Id. at 1-2, 15-16; see 5 C.F.R.

§ 1201.115(d) (providing that the Board may grant a petition for review based on

the presentation of material evidence that was not previously available despite

due diligence). Considering this new and material evidence, we find that the

appellant has nonfrivolously alleged that her absence from work is due to her

work-related medical condition. PFR File, Tab 1 at 2; see Simonton v. U.S.

Postal Service, 85 M.S.P.R. 189, ¶¶ 11-12 (2000) (finding that the determination

of whether an individual suffers from a compensable medical condition is within

the exclusive purview of OWCP and neither the employing agency nor the Board

has the authority to make such a determination).

4

For the first time on review, the appellant also submits additional documents that

predate the initial decision on appeal. PFR File, Tab 1 at 14-19. Because the appellant

has not shown that these documents were unavailable below despite her due diligence,

we decline to consider them for the first time on review. Avansino v. U.S. Postal

Service, 3 M.S.P.R. 211, 214 (1980) (providing that, under 5 C.F.R. § 1201.115, the

Board generally will not consider evidence submitted for the first time with the petition

for review absent a showing that it was unavailable before the record was closed despite

the party’s due diligence). Moreover, contrary to the appellant’s argument on review,

the administrative judge informed the appellant and her representative of the date that

the record closed on appeal. PFR File, Tab 1 at 1; IAF, Tab 2 at 2, 18.

6

We also find that the appellant has nonfrivolously alleged that she

recovered sufficiently to return to duty on a part-time basis or to return to work in

a position with less demanding physical requirements than those previously

required of her. IAF, Tab 1 at 3, Tab 4 at 1-2; PFR File, Tab 4 at 2-4. The

agency file includes CA-17 forms completed by the appellant’s physician

releasing her to perform work subject to specific medical restrictions due to her

carpal tunnel syndrome. IAF, Tab 5 at 44-45. We further find that the appellant

has nonfrivolously alleged that the agency denied her request for restoration. The

agency does not dispute the appellant’s allegation that the agency ordered her to

stay home because of her medical restrictions on or about January 25, 2018, and

denied her request for restoration. IAF, Tab 4 at 1-2; Tab 5 at 5-7, 41; PFR File,

Tab 4 at 8.

Finally, we find that the appellant has made a nonfrivolous allegation that

the denial of restoration was arbitrary and capricious. T o establish jurisdiction

under the fourth jurisdictional element, an appellant must make a nonfrivolous

allegation that the agency failed to comply with the minimum requirement of

5 C.F.R. § 353.301(d), i.e., to search within the local commuting area for vacant

positions to which it can restore a partially recovered employee and to consider

her for any such vacancies. Cronin v. U.S. Postal Service, 2022 MSPB 13, ¶ 20.

Here, the appellant asserts that the agency failed to properly search the local

commuting area for vacant positions within her medical restrictions. PFR File,

Tab 4 at 8-13. In response, the agency asserted that on April 17, 2018, it

searched for work within the appellant’s restrictions within commuting distance,

no work was found due to the appellant’s “onerous” restrictions, and the search

was ongoing. IAF, Tab 5 at 6. Although the agency file includes documentation

reflecting that a search was performed, the appellant alleges that the job search

was improper and that there is work within her restrictions at her duty station.

IAF, Tab 5 at 30-42; PFR File, Tab 4 at 8-13.

7

For example, the appellant alleges that the agency did not search the entire

commuting area because there are no search results for White Station and Mallory

Station, the search forms for 10 other locations are unsigned, and some of the

limited-duty facility search forms submitted by the agency are blank. PFR File,

Tab 4 at 9-10; IAF, Tab 5 at 30-40. The appellant also alleges that the agency’s

search was improper because it arbitrarily used a 4-hour lifting restriction for the

job search although she was able to lift for 4-8 hours per her February 28, 2017

CA-17 Duty Status Report. PFR File, Tab 4 at 9-11; IAF, Tab 5 at 41, 44. Based

on the foregoing, we find that the appellant has made nonfrivolous allegations

that, if proven, could establish that the agency failed to comply with the minimum

requirement of 5 C.F.R. § 353.301(d) by searching within the local commuting

area for vacant positions to which it could restore her to work as a partially

recovered employee.

Because we find that the appellant has established jurisdiction over her

appeal, she is entitled to a hearing at which she must prove the merits of her

restoration appeal by preponderant evidence. Kingsley, 123 M.S.P.R. 365,

¶¶ 11-12; 5 C.F.R. § 1201.57(c)(4). Accordingly, we remand the case to the

regional office to allow the parties an opportunity to submit evidence and

argument on the merits of this restoration appeal. On remand, the administrative

judge also must adjudicate the appellant’s disability discrimination claim after

providing her with notice of the applicable burdens and elements of proof and

affording the parties an opportunity to present evidence and argument on this

issue. IAF, Tab 1 at 2; PFR File, Tab 1 at 2, Tab 4 at 6; see Desjardin v. U.S.

Postal Service, 2023 MSPB 6, ¶¶ 20-21 (finding that the Board is required to

adjudicate claims of discrimination and retaliation in restoration appeals once the

appellant has established that the challenged action is within the Board’s

jurisdiction and clarifying the analytical framework applicable to such claims).

8

ORDER

For the reasons discussed above, we remand this case to the Atlanta

Regional Office for further adjudication in accordance with this remand order.

FOR THE BOARD: ______________________________

Gina K. Grippando

Clerk of the Board

Washington, D.C.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.