Opinion

Amy Thomas v. Office of Personnel Management

Court
Merit Systems Protection Board
Filed
Feb 5, 2024
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 15.0%

The opinion

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

AMY THOMAS, DOCKET NUMBER

Appellant, SF-844E-20-0289-I-1

v.

OFFICE OF PERSONNEL DATE: February 5, 2024

MANAGEMENT,

Agency.

THIS ORDER IS NONPRECEDENTIAL 1

Amy Thomas , Yerington, Nevada, pro se.

Albert Pete Alston, Jr. , Washington, D.C., for the agency.

BEFORE

Cathy A. Harris, Vice Chairman

Raymond A. Limon, Member

REMAND ORDER

The appellant has filed a petition for review of the initial decision, which

affirmed the reconsideration decision of the Office of Personnel Management

(OPM) that denied her application for disability retirement under the Federal

Employees’ Retirement System (FERS). For the reasons discussed below, we

GRANT the appellant’s petition for review, VACATE the initial decision, and

1

A nonprecedential order is one that the Board has determined does not add

significantly to the body of MSPB case law. Parties may cite nonprecedential orders,

but such orders have no precedential value; the Board and administrative judges are not

required to follow or distinguish them in any future decisions. In contrast, a

precedential decision issued as an Opinion and Order has been identified by the Board

as significantly contributing to the Board’s case law. See 5 C.F.R. § 1201.117(c).

2

REMAND the case to the regional office for further adjudication in accordance

with this Remand Order.

BACKGROUND

The appellant began working for the U.S. Postal Service (USPS) on

November 11, 2006, and she occupied a Rural Carrier position at the time

relevant to this appeal. Initial Appeal File (IAF), Tab 5 at 10, Tab 11 at 14.

Effective July 2, 2018, following her exhaustion of her Family Medical Leave Act

(FMLA) leave, the appellant entered the status of absent without leave (AWOL).

IAF, Tab 5 at 40, 57-60, 73, 82. The following day, on July 3, 2018, she applied

for FERS disability retirement annuity benefits with OPM. Id. at 73-76. The

appellant based her request for benefits on the following conditions: chronic

neck pain; cervical degenerative disc disease; cervical disc bulges; a cervical disc

extrusion; possible cervical fracture; asthma/frequent lower respiratory

infections; post-traumatic stress disorder; and chronic depression and anxiety. Id.

at 73. Thereafter, effective September 8, 2018, USPS terminated the appellant for

unacceptable attendance. Id. at 10. On October 15, 2018, the Social Security

Administration (SSA) determined that the appellant did not qualify for SSA

disability benefits. Id. at 36-39.

On April 10, 2019, OPM issued an initial decision concluding that the

appellant was not disabled for purposes of a FERS disability annuity. Id.

at 24-28. The appellant requested reconsideration of OPM’s initial decision, id.

at 18-19, 23, and, on January 28, 2020, the agency issued a reconsideration

decision again concluding that she was not entitled to disability retirement under

FERS, id. at 11-14. On February 28, 2020, the appellant appealed OPM’s

reconsideration decision to the Board. IAF, Tab 1. Although she initially

requested a hearing on the matter, id. at 2, the appellant subsequently withdrew

her hearing request in favor of a decision on the written record, IAF, Tab 7 at 4.

3

Based on the written record, the administrative judge issued an initial

decision affirming OPM’s reconsideration decision. IAF, Tab 13, Initial Decision

(ID) at 1, 19. In so doing, the administrative judge found that it was undisputed

that the appellant had completed the requisite 18 months of civilian service

creditable under FERS and that she had not declined a reasonable offer of

reassignment to a vacant position. ID at 14. She concluded, however, that the

appellant had not shown by preponderant evidence that she had become disabled

while in a position subject to FERS. ID at 14-19. In so finding, the

administrative judge explained that she “decline[d] to give the [appellant’s] SSA

decision weight one way or the other.” ID at 19. The administrative judge also

concluded that, although USPS had not sought to accommodate the appellant’s

medical conditions, there was no indication that the appellant had requested any

such accommodation. Id.

The appellant has filed a petition for review, and the agency has filed a

response. Petition for Review (PFR) File, Tabs 4, 6. In her petition for review,

the appellant avers that she was medically unable to perform her job functions.

PFR File, Tab 4 at 1-6. To this end, she asserts that she was on FMLA leave from

April 2018 until June 2018 and that, thereafter, she “still required extensive

amounts of leave for [her] medical conditions.” Id. at 3. She also asserts that

SSA had concluded that she was incapable of performing work that she had done

in the past. Id. Following the close of the record on review, the appellant filed a

request for leave to file an additional pleading, explaining that, on December 16,

2021, she received a subsequent, fully favorable SSA decision. PFR File, Tab 9

at 1.

DISCUSSION OF ARGUMENTS ON REVIEW

An appellant bears the burden of proving her entitlement to retirement

benefits by a preponderance of the evidence. 5 C.F.R. § 1201.56(b)(2)(ii). To be

eligible for a disability retirement annuity under FERS, an applicant must show

4

the following: (1) she completed at least 18 months of creditable civilian service;

(2) while employed in a position subject to FERS, she became disabled because

of a medical condition, resulting in a deficiency in performance, conduct, or

attendance, or, if there is no such deficiency, the disabling medical condition is

incompatible with either useful and efficient service or retention in the position;

(3) the disabling medical condition is expected to continue for at least 1 year

from the date that the application for disability retirement benefits was filed;

(4) accommodation of the disabling medical condition in the position held must

be unreasonable; and (5) she did not decline a reasonable offer of reassignment to

a vacant position. 5 U.S.C. § 8451(a); 5 C.F.R. § 844.103(a); see Thorne v.

Office of Personnel Management, 105 M.S.P.R. 171, ¶ 5 (2007).

An applicant for disability retirement may meet the requirements related to

the second criterion in one of two ways: (1) by showing that the medical

condition caused a deficiency in performance, attendance, or conduct; or (2) by

showing that the medical condition is incompatible with useful and efficient

service or retention in the position. See 5 U.S.C. § 8451(a)(1)(B); Rucker v.

Office of Personnel Management, 117 M.S.P.R. 669, ¶ 10 (2012); 5 C.F.R.

§ 844.103(a)(2). Under the first method, an individual can establish entitlement

by showing that the medical condition affects her ability to perform specific work

requirements, prevents her from being regular in attendance, or causes her to act

inappropriately. Jackson v. Office of Personnel Management, 118 M.S.P.R. 6, ¶ 8

(2012).

Here, as set forth in the initial decision, there is no dispute that the

appellant satisfied criterion (1) and criterion (5). ID at 14; PFR File, Tab 6 at 6.

Although the administrative judge concluded that the appellant failed to satisfy

criterion (2), ID at 19, she did not render explicit findings regarding the

remaining criteria, i.e., criterion (3) and criterion (4).

5

We remand this matter for the administrative judge to provide the parties with

notice regarding the Bruner presumption.

The appellant avers that she became disabled while employed by USPS.

PFR File, Tab 4 at 1-6. To this end, she contends that her medical conditions

required her to use “extensive amounts” of leave, i.e., that she satisfied the

second criterion because her medical conditions prevented her from being regular

in attendance. Id. at 3.

In Bruner v. Office of Personnel Management, 996 F.2d 290, 294 (Fed. Cir.

1993), the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit concluded that an

appellant’s removal for physical inability to perform the essential functions of her

position constitutes prima facie evidence that she is entitled to disability

retirement. 2 In so finding, the Federal Circuit explained that such a removal

action shifts the burden of production to OPM to produce evidence sufficient to

support a finding that the applicant is not entitled to disability retirement benefits.

Id. If OPM produces such rebuttal evidence, the appellant must then come

forward with evidence to rebut OPM’s assertion that she is not entitled to

benefits. Id. Notwithstanding the shifting burdens, however, the appellant

retains the burden of persuasion at all times to establish entitlement to disability

retirement benefits by preponderant evidence. Id. The Board has found that

removal for excessive absences is synonymous with removal for inability to

perform for medical reasons when the removal decision is accompanied by

specifications indicating that it was based on medical documentation showing that

the appellant was unable to perform her duties. See, e.g., Ayers-Kavtaradze v.

Office of Personnel Management, 91 M.S.P.R. 397, ¶ 11 (2002); see also

Smedley v. Office of Personnel Management, 108 M.S.P.R. 31, ¶¶ 12-13 (2008)

2

Although Bruner involved a disability retirement annuity under the Civil Service

Retirement System (CSRS), the Board has consistently applied the evidentiary

presumption set forth therein to appeals involving disability retirement benefits under

FERS. E.g., Bell v. Office of Personnel Management, 99 M.S.P.R. 133, ¶¶ 1, 10-12

(2005); McCurdy v. Office of Personnel Management, 96 M.S.P.R. 90, ¶¶ 1, 6-8 (2004).

Indeed, the statutory and regulatory requirements for disability retirement under CSRS

and FERS contain the same relevant language. Jackson, 118 M.S.P.R. 6, ¶ 7.

6

(explaining that the Board has applied the Bruner presumption based on physical

and/or psychological conditions). When an agency has removed an appellant for

such reasons, the administrative judge must inform the parties of their respective

burdens under Bruner. See Swadlo v. Office of Personnel Management,

100 M.S.P.R. 420, ¶ 9 (2005).

Here, documentation in the record evinced that, effective September 8,

2018, following her exhaustion of her FMLA leave, USPS terminated the

appellant based on a charge of unacceptable attendance. IAF, Tab 5 at 10, 40,

57-60, 73, 82. The record, however, was devoid of information regarding the

basis of the removal action, e.g., the decision letter or the notice of proposed

removal. 3 Ayers-Kavtaradze, 91 M.S.P.R. 397, ¶ 11 (stating that a charge must be

viewed in light of the accompanying specifications and circumstances). Because

the nature of the appellant’s removal may have implicated Bruner, the

administrative judge should have informed the parties of their respective burdens

under the same in order to allow them to submit evidence related thereto. See

Jones v. Office of Personnel Management, 75 M.S.P.R. 499, 502 (1997)

(explaining that the administrative judge must determine the basis for the

appellant’s removal, i.e., whether the Bruner presumption is applicable, before

determining the parties’ respective burdens of proof). The appellant, however,

did not receive notice of the Bruner presumption either prior to or in the initial

decision. Accordingly, we remand the appeal to the regional office for the

administrative judge to provide the parties with explicit notice of Bruner and to

allow for the submission of additional evidence. See Bell v. Office of Personnel

Management, 99 M.S.P.R. 133, ¶¶ 1, 10-12 (2005) (remanding a FERS disability

retirement appeal to provide the parties an opportunity to submit additional

3

Although OPM provided evidence suggesting that the appellant failed to provide

“proper [m]edical [d]ocumentation” to USPS to justify her AWOL status, IAF, Tab 5

at 57, this evidence did not make clear the underlying basis of the removal action.

Indeed, the record also contained documentary evidence indicating that USPS personnel

believed that any accommodation of the appellant was unfeasible “due to the severity of

[her] medical condition[s] and the physical requirements of [her] position.” Id. at 45.

7

evidence and argument when the administrative judge failed to inform them of

their respective burdens under Bruner); see also Ayers-Kavtaradze, 91 M.S.P.R.

397, ¶¶ 1, 11-12 (remanding a FERS disability retirement appeal when the

appellant was removed for having been on extended leave without pay status and

the administrative judge failed to provide the parties with notice of the Bruner

presumption). To the extent any such additional evidence implicates Bruner, the

administrative judge shall apply the appropriate burden of proof.

The administrative judge shall consider SSA’s disability determination on

remand.

In her petition for review, the appellant contends that SSA’s unfavorable

October 15, 2018 decision substantiates her entitlement to disability benefits.

PFR File, Tab 4 at 3. In her request for leave to file an additional pleading, she

explains that, on December 16, 2021, she received a subsequent, fully favorable

SSA decision. PFR File, Tab 9 at 1. In assessing disability retirement appeals,

the Board must consider an award of SSA disability benefits, along with the other

evidence of disability. Trevan v. Office of Personnel Management, 69 F.3d 520,

526 (Fed. Cir. 1995); see Redmond v. Office of Personnel Management ,

90 M.S.P.R. 4, ¶¶ 8, 10 (2001) (concluding that an award of SSA benefits was

material to a determination of whether the appellant was entitled to disability

retirement benefits under FERS). In her initial decision, the administrative judge

acknowledged SSA’s findings at the time the initial decision was issued, ID at 3;

however, she ambiguously indicated that, because “SSA generally does not

consider the availability of reasonable accommodation,” she “decline[d] to give

the SSA decision weight one way or the other,” ID at 18-19. On remand, the

administrative judge shall consider SSA’s findings in conjunction with the

medical evidence in the record. See McCurdy v. Office of Personnel

Management, 96 M.S.P.R. 90, ¶ 9 (2004) (concluding that remand was

8

appropriate when the administrative judge had not considered a favorable SSA

decision issued subsequent to the initial decision). 4

ORDER

For the reasons discussed above, we remand this case to the regional office

for further adjudication in accordance with this Remand Order.

FOR THE BOARD: ______________________________

Gina K. Grippando

Clerk of the Board

Washington, D.C.

4

On remand, the appellant may provide the Board with SSA’s most recent decision as

well as any medical documentation on which SSA relied. See McCurdy, 96 M.S.P.R.

90, ¶ 10. On January 19, 2024, the appellant submitted a second motion for leave to

submit an additional pleading, requesting permission to submit evidence that she served

the agency with her petition for review. In light of the Board’s remand of this matter,

the appellant’s motion is denied.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.