Opinion

Abney v. State Dept. of Health Care Services

Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Jan 31, 2024
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 14.9%

The opinion

Filed 1/31/24

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION TWO

DEBRA ABNEY,

Plaintiff and Appellant,

A164775

v.

STATE DEPARTMENT OF (San Francisco City & County

HEALTH CARE SERVICES et al., Super. Ct. No. CPF20517020)

Defendants and Respondents.

In 2018, the Social Security Administration notified appellant Debra

Abney that it would begin withholding almost $600 from her Social Security

payment each month to satisfy a debt she owed the IRS. The City and

County of San Francisco (the County) subsequently notified Abney that it

would consider the garnished money as income for the purposes of calculating

her eligibility for benefits under Medi-Cal, making her ineligible to receive

those benefits without a share of cost. Abney unsuccessfully sought writs of

administrative mandate and ordinary mandamus seeking to reverse that

decision, the trial court rejecting her argument that the tax garnishment was

not income “actually available to meet [her] needs” under the regulations

implementing the Medi-Cal program. We also reject the argument, and we

affirm.

1

BACKGROUND

Medicaid and Medi-Cal

Medi–Cal is California’s program under the joint federal-state program

known as Medicaid. (Welf. & Inst. Code, § 14000 et seq.) Medicaid provides

federal financial assistance to participating states to support the provision of

health care services to certain categories of low-income individuals and

families, including the aged, blind, and disabled, as well as pregnant women

and others. (42 U.S.C. § 1396 et seq.)

Because California has opted to participate in the Medicaid program

and receive federal matching funds, it must comply with all federal Medicaid

requirements. (Conlan v. Bontá (2002) 102 Cal.App.4th 745, 753.) Among

other things, the state must administer its Medicaid program through a plan

that has been approved by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid

Services. (See 42 U.S.C. § 1396a; 42 C.F.R. §§ 430.10, 430.15(b) (2014);

Welf. & Inst. Code, § 14100.1.) Respondent, the California Department of

Health Care Services (Department), is the state agency that administers

Medi-Cal, but counties are responsible for eligibility determinations, subject

to the direction of the Department. (Welf. & Inst. Code, § 14100.1; Cal. Code

Regs.,1 tit. 22, § 50004, subd. (c).)

The federal Medicaid Act requires that a state plan must “include

reasonable standards . . . for determining eligibility for and the extent of

medical assistance under the plan which . . . provide for taking into account

only such income and resources as are, as determined in accordance with

standards prescribed by the Secretary [of Health and Human Services],

available to the applicant or recipient . . . .” (42 U.S.C. § 1396a(a)(17).) A

1 Further undesignated citations are to Title 22 of the California Code

of Regulations.

2

state’s “methodology to be employed in determining income and resource

eligibility for individuals . . . may be less restrictive, and shall be no more

restrictive” than the federal Medicaid standard. (42 U.S.C. § 1396a(r)(2)(A);

42 C.F.R. § 435.601(d).)

California offers several different Medi–Cal programs, including, as

relevant here, the Aged, Blind, and Disabled Federal Poverty Level Program

(ABD FPL) and the Aged, Blind and Disabled Medically Needy Program

(ABD MN). (42 U.S.C. §§ 1396a(a)(10)(A)(ii)(X), (a)(10)(C); Welf. & Inst.

Code, §§ 14005.7, 14005.40.) The ABD FPL program provides medical

coverage to eligible California residents with no share of cost, provided that

their “[c]ountable income, as determined in accordance with Section 1902(m)

of the federal Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. Sec. 1396a(m)), does not exceed”

certain limits. (Welf. & Inst. Code, § 14005.40, subd. (c)(1) see id. subd. (c).)

The ABD MN program allows individuals to receive Medi–Cal when their

income exceeds the limits for the ABD FPL program. (See Welf. & Inst. Code,

§§ 14005.7; 14005.) However, under the ABD MN program, recipients are

required to pay a share of cost if they incur medical expenses in a given

month. (Welf. & Inst. Code, §§ 14005.7, subds. (b), (c); 14005.9.)

Under California’s Medi–Cal regulations, “Income includes benefits in

cash or in kind” from various sources, but income “shall be considered as

income only if it is currently available in accordance with Sections 50513

through 50517.” (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 22, § 50501, subds. (a), (b).) The

referenced regulations provide that “[o]nly income which is actually available

to meet the needs of a person or family shall be considered in determining

that person’s or family’s share of cost,” and similarly, “[i]ncome which is not

available to meet current needs of a person or family shall not be considered

3

in determining that person’s or family’s share of cost.” (Cal. Code Regs.,

tit. 22, § 50513, subd. (a); Cal. Code Regs., tit. 22, § 50515, subd. (a).)

Abney’s Medi–Cal Benefits

Since at least November 1, 2011, Abney has been receiving Medi–Cal

benefits—initially through the ABD FPL program—for a household of one.

On November 2, 2018, the Social Security Administration sent Abney

an award letter informing her that it would begin withholding $598.20 from

her monthly Social Security payment “to pay your debt to the IRS,” leaving

her with a monthly Social Security payment of $845.80.

On March 19, 2019, the County sent Abney a “Notice of Action,”

informing Abney that her Medi–Cal share of cost had changed to $729 per

month beginning April 1, 2019. The County determined that Abney had

gross unearned income of $1,484.50, and after an income deduction of $155

and a $230 disregard, a net non-exempt income of $1,099, exceeding the ABD

FPL income limit of $1,041, and making her ineligible for that program.

However, the County calculated that Abney was eligible for “Regular Medi–

Cal” with a $729 monthly share of cost, based on an income deduction of

$155.50 and a “maintenance need” of $600.

On June 10, Abney requested an administrative hearing on the Notice

of Action. Abney submitted a statement of position, arguing that the $598.20

withheld from her Social Security payment was not “income which is actually

available to meet [her] needs” within the meaning of section 50513,

subdivision (a), and should not have been included in determining her Medi–

Cal eligibility. A hearing was held on September 26, and on December 3, the

administrative law judge denied Abney’s claim, relying on Title 20, section

416.1123, subdivision (a)(2) of the Code of Federal Regulations, which

provides: “We also include more [of your unearned income] than you actually

4

receive if amounts are withheld from unearned income because of a

garnishment, or to pay a debt or other legal obligation, or to make any other

payment such as payment of your Medicare premiums.”

The Proceedings Below

On February 13, 2020, Abney filed in San Francisco County Superior

Court a combined petition for writ of administrative mandate under Code of

Civil Procedure sections 1094.5 and ordinary mandamus under Code of Civil

Procedure section 1085. Abney alleged that the County violated its legal duty

to determine her Medi–Cal eligibility by failing to comply with the California

regulations defining available income.

On December 1, 2020, while her case was pending in the trial court,

Abney again became eligible to receive Medi-Cal under the ABD FPL

program after the Legislature raised the income limits for that program.

Abney maintains, however, that because of the County’s erroneous eligibility

calculation, she was required to pay $135 per month in Medicare premiums

from April 2019 through November of 2020.

On February 10, 2022, the trial court denied the petition for writ of

mandate, concluding as follows:

“[T]he State Plan and the Welfare and Institutions Code both state that

‘countable income’ is determined in accordance with section 1902(m) of the

Medicaid statute, codified at 42 U.S.C. section 1396a(m). (See California

State Plan, Supplement 8a to Attachment 2.6, at p. 6; Welf. & Inst. Code sec.

14005.40.) The federal Medicaid statute, in turn, defers to the Social

Security Act’s definition of ‘income.’ (See 42 U.S.C. sec. 1396a(m),

referencing 42 U.S.C. sec. 1382a; see also Welf. & Inst. Code sec. 14005.7

[income under the Medically Needy program is ‘determined, defined, counted,

and valued, in accordance with Title XIX of the federal Social Security Act’].)

5

‘Unearned income’ is expressly defined in the federal Social Security

regulations to include amounts withheld to pay a debt. (20 C.F.R. § 416.1123

[‘We also include more than you actually receive if amounts are withheld

from unearned income because of a garnishment, or to pay a debt or other

legal obligation’]; see also Cervantez v. Sullivan (9th Cir. 1992) 963 F.2d 229,

232 [‘we followed four other circuits in holding the word “received” is used in

subsection (a)(2)(B) as a “mere grammatical link,” and does not require that

funds be physically received by claimants to be counted as “income” ’].)

“Additionally, pursuant to its statutory authority under Welfare and

Institutions Code sections 14005.40 and 14001.11, the Department provides

guidance to counties regarding Medi-Cal eligibility. The Department has

recently advised counties on this precise issue, consistently instructing them

that, pursuant to the above-mentioned rules, income garnished by the IRS for

tax debt should be counted when determining Medi-Cal income eligibility.

(Pet. RJN, Ex. 24; Hennessy Decl., ¶ 2, Ex. 1.)”

Abney filed a notice of appeal.

DISCUSSION

Introduction

The only issue on appeal is whether the County erred in including the

$598.20 garnished each month from Abney’s Social Security benefit to pay

her debt to the IRS as “income” for the purposes of calculating her eligibility

for the ABN FPL program. Because the facts are undisputed, we review this

pure question of law de novo. (See Cassidy v. California Board of

Accountancy (2013) 220 Cal.App.4th 620, 627.)

Abney does not dispute that under federal Medicaid regulations, the

garnishment counts as income in determining her Medicaid eligibility. (See

20 C.F.R. § 416.1123.) Rather, she argues that California’s Medi–Cal

6

regulations—in particular California Code of Regulations, Title 22, sections

50513 and 50515, requiring that income be “actually available to meet [her]

needs” in order to be considered—have set up a less restrictive income

definition than the federal standard, a less restrictive standard that requires

excluding the garnishment from her income.

The Department offers several arguments why the garnishment should

be included in Abney’s income. It points to the statement, in both the statute

defining eligibility for the ABN FPL program and the state Medicaid plan,

that “[c]ountable income” is “determined in accordance with section 1902(m)

of the federal Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. Sec. 1396a(m)) . . . .” (Welf. &

Inst. Code, § 14005.40, subd. (c)(1); see id., § 14005.7, subd. (c) [“monthly

income” for the ABD MN program is “determined, defined, counted, and

valued” under Title XIX of the federal Social Security Act].)2 And the

Department argues that the state regulations apply to the share of cost

calculation for the ABD MN program, not to eligibility determinations; that

the regulations do not apply at all to the ABD FPL program; and that even

under the regulations, income withheld as a tax garnishment is “available” to

meet Abney’s needs. We agree with this last argument, and on that basis

affirm the trial court’s order. Before explaining why, we first consider the

issue of our standard of review, specifically, how much, if any, deference must

we pay to the Department’s interpretation of the regulations.

2 We granted the Department’s unopposed request to take judicial

notice of Supplement 8a to Attachment 2.6–A of California’s Medicaid State

Plan, titled “Methodologies for Treatment of Income That Differs from Those

of the SSI . . . Program,” which sets eligibility requirements based on

“[c]ountable income, as determined in accordance with Section 1902(m) of the

[federal Social Security] Act.”

7

The question was exhaustively discussed in the leading case of Yamaha

Corporation of America v. State Board of Equalization (1998) 19 Cal.4th 1, 6–

11 (Yamaha), and also by this court, including in State Building &

Construction Trades Council of California v. Duncan (2008) 162 Cal.App.4th

289, 302–306 (Duncan), Pacific Gas and Electric Company v. Public Utilities

Commission (2015) 237 Cal.App.4th 812, 839–840, and Christensen v.

Lightbourne (2017) 15 Cal.App.5th 1239, 1251–1252.3 As applicable here,

Yamaha said this:

“[T]wo broad categories of factors relevant to a court’s assessment of

the weight due an agency’s interpretation [are] [t]hose ‘indicating that the

agency has a comparative interpretive advantage over the courts,’ and those

‘indicating that the interpretation in question is probably correct.’ ”

(Yamaha, supra, 19 Cal.4th at p. 12.) “In the first category are factors that

‘assume the agency has expertise and technical knowledge, especially where

the legal text to be interpreted is technical, obscure, complex, open-ended, or

entwined with issues of fact, policy, and discretion. A court is more likely to

defer to an agency’s interpretation of its own regulation than to its

interpretation of a statute, since the agency is likely to be intimately familiar

3 We began our discussion in Duncan with this paragraph: “The broad

question of the deference due to administrative decisions has perplexed some

of our best judicial minds. (See maj. opn. of Brown, J. and the conc. opn. of

Mosk, J., in Yamaha, [supra,] 19 Cal.4th [at p. 15] [citing, e.g., Wilkinson v.

Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (1977) 19 Cal.3d 491, (Tobriner, J.); Culligan

Water Conditioning v. State Bd. Of Equalization (1976) 17 Cal.3d 86

(Sullivan, J.); Whitcomb Hotel, Inc. v. Cal. Emp. Com. (1944) 24 Cal.2d 753

(Traynor, J.); Bodinson Mfg. Co. v. California E. Com. (1941) 17 Cal.2d 321

(Gibson, C.J.)]; see also Dare v. Bd. of Medical Examiners (1943) 21 Cal.2d

790, 803 (conc. & dis. opn. of Traynor, J.); Laisne v. Cal. St. Bd. of Optometry

(1942) 19 Cal.2d 831, 848 (dis. opn. of Gibson, C.J.).) . . .” (Duncan, supra,

162 Cal.App.4th at p. 302.)

8

with regulations it authored and sensitive to the practical implications of one

interpretation over another.’ [Citation.]” (Ibid.) The second group of

factors—those suggesting the agency’s interpretation is likely to be correct—

“includes indications of careful consideration by senior agency officials (‘an

interpretation of a statute contained in a regulation adopted after public

notice and comment is more deserving of deference than [one] contained in an

advice letter prepared by a single staff member’ [citation]), evidence that the

agency ‘has consistently maintained the interpretation in question, especially

if [it] is long-standing’ [citation] . . . , and indications that the agency’s

interpretation was contemporaneous with legislative enactment of the

statute being interpreted.” (Yamaha, supra, 19 Cal.4th at p. 13.)

In support of its opposition to Abney’s petition, the Department

submitted a declaration from Brooke Hennessy, a Staff Services Manager II

in the Policy Development Branch of the Medi–Cal Eligibility Division of the

Department. According to Hennessy, “[f]rom 2018 to the present, the

Department has advised counties on four separate occasions that taxes,

garnishments, and liens are considered ‘available income’ for purposes of

Medi–Cal eligibility, and that the definition of ‘income’ relies on the federal

social security regulations, codified at 20 CFR 416.1123.” Hennessy’s

declaration also attached four emails from various employees of the Medi-Cal

Eligibility Division in response to questions from various California counties,

advising that tax withholding or tax garnishments should be considered

“available income” for the purpose of calculating Medi-Cal eligibility.

The relevant factors in the first category under Yamaha—those

assuming the agency has expertise and technical knowledge—counsel in

favor of limited deference to the department’s interpretation of the language

of sections 50513 and 50515. Determining whether the phrase “actually

9

available to meet the needs of a person” includes income garnished to satisfy

a tax debt does not require expertise or technical knowledge; indeed, Abney’s

argument that it does not is based on dictionary definitions. The regulations

are not “technical, obscure, complex, open-ended, or entwined with issues of

fact, policy, and discretion.” (Yamaha, supra, 19 Cal.4th at p. 12; see De La

Torre v. California Horse Racing Board (2017) 7 Cal.App.5th 1058, 1071

(De La Torre).) Although issues of fact or policy necessarily motivated the

Legislature and the Department in deciding whether to consider tax

withholding available income, these fact and policy issues have nothing to do

with the interpretation of the regulations themselves.

The factors in the second category— those suggesting the agency’s

interpretation is likely to be correct—also counsel in favor of limited

deference to the Department’s interpretation. There is no indication that the

interpretation was adopted after careful consideration by senior agency

officials. As the Department concedes, the interpretation was not adopted

after public notice and comment. And the interpretation appears in only a

handful of emails prepared by single staff members, emails that contain little

in the way of discussion or analysis. Although sections 50513 and 50515

were last updated in 1986 and 1987 respectively, the first email provided by

the department evidencing its interpretation is from 2018, some 32 years

later.4

4 We granted the Department’s unopposed request to take judicial

notice of a May 2, 1985 All-County Welfare Directors Letter from the

Department, providing that “[a]s a result of the clarified definition of earned

income under [The Deficit Reduction Act of 1984] . . . counties shall no longer

subtract mandatory payroll deductions from gross earned income. This

applies to all AFDC-MN cases (including those in which a stepparent’s

income or the income of an ABD-MN is used), the medically indigent

10

In short, while we consider the Department’s interpretation of the

regulations, we extend that interpretation only limited deference. We

nevertheless conclude that the Department’s interpretation is correct.5

pregnant woman and the medically indigent child.” The Department cites

this letter as evidence that “since 1985, because of a contemporaneous change

in federal regulations, California has consistently treated tax withholdings as

available income.” But it is unclear whether the policy set forth in letter

applies to the ABD FPL program at issue here. In any event, the letter does

not mention, much less interpret, sections 50513 or 50515, and so is of

limited value in demonstrating the longstanding nature of the Department’s

interpretation of those regulations.

5 Abney also argues that the Department’s interpretation is “void” for

failure to comply with the Administrative Procedure Act (APA) (Gov. Code,

§ 11340 et seq.). But the APA’s rulemaking requirements apply only to

regulations, and “[i]t is not at all clear that an agency’s interpretation of its

own regulation constitutes a regulation itself. A regulation ‘interpret[s] . . .

the law enforced or administered’ by the agency. (Gov. Code, § 11342.600.) It

could be argued that ‘the law enforced or administered’ by the agency does

not include the agency’s own regulations, but only the governing statute.”

(Missionary Guadalupanas of Holy Spirit Inc. v. Rouillard (2019) 38

Cal.App.5th 421, 434.)

Even assuming, however, that the Department was required to, but did

not, comply with the APA in interpreting the regulations, this means only

that we do not accord the interpretation any special deference. But we can

still adopt it as our own. (See Alvarado v. Dart Container Cororation of

California (2018) 4 Cal.5th 542, 558 [interpretation adopted without APA

compliance “should not be afforded any special weight or deference, but it is

nonetheless something a court may consider, and assuming the court is

persuaded that the agency’s interpretation is correct, the court may adopt it

as its own”]; Malaga County Water District v. Central Valley Regional Water

Quality Control Board (2020) 58 Cal.App.5th 418, 443 [“the penalty for

adopting a void regulation is not a complete rejection of an agency’s actions,

but the elimination of any deference to the choice supporting that action”].)

11

The Tax Garnishment Is “Actually Available” to Meet Abney’s

Needs Under Sections 50513 and 50515

“Rules governing the interpretation of statutes also apply to

interpretation of regulations. [Citation.] ‘In interpreting regulations, the

court seeks to ascertain the intent of the agency issuing the regulation by

giving effect to the usual meaning of the language used so as to effectuate the

purpose of the law, and by avoiding an interpretation which renders any

language mere surplusage.’ ” (Diablo Valley College Faculty Senate v. Contra

Costa Community College Dist. (2007) 148 Cal.App.4th 1023, 1037.) “We do

not construe a regulation in isolation, but instead read it with reference to

the scheme of law of which it is a part, so that the whole may be harmonized

and retain effectiveness. (Spanish Speaking Citizens’ Foundation, Inc. v. Low

(2000) 85 Cal.App.4th 1179, 1214.)” (De La Torre, supra, 7 Cal.App.5th at

p. 1066.)

Abney has not pointed us to, nor have we found, any cases interpreting

the “actually available” language of sections 50513 or 50515. But in

considering whether income garnished to pay a tax debt is “actually available

to meet the needs of a person” under section 50513, we take guidance from

the Supreme Court’s decision in Heckler v. Turner (1985) 470 U.S. 184

(Heckler), which considered a similar question: whether income tax

withholding should be included in “any . . . income and resources” of the

family claiming aid under the Aid to Families with Dependent Children

(AFDC) program. Before 1981, the statute required the state agency to

exclude from income any “expenses reasonably attributable to the earning of

any such income”; but in 1981 this provision was eliminated and replaced

with a flat $75 “work expense” deduction or “disregard” to be taken from an

individual’s “earned income.” (Id. at p. 186–187.) The Supreme Court

12

concluded that mandatory tax withholding should be considered “income”

under the statute, with the following explanation:

“[T]he principle of actual availability has not been understood to

distinguish the treatment of tax withholdings from that of other work

expenses. Rather, it has served primarily to prevent the States from

conjuring fictional sources of income and resources by imputing financial

support from persons who have no obligation to furnish it or by overvaluing

assets in a manner that attributes nonexistent resources to recipients.

[¶ . . . [¶]

“This Court, too, has viewed the actual availability principle ‘clearly

[to] comport with the statute,’ [citation], and has not hesitated to give it effect

in that case and others. [Citations.] But the Court’s cases applying the

principle clearly reflect that its purpose is to prevent the States from relying

on imputed or unrealizable sources of income artificially to depreciate a

recipient’s need. . . .

“The failure of the federal agencies administering AFDC to apply the

availability principle to distinguish mandatory tax withholdings is not

surprising. The sums they consume are no less available for living expenses

than other sums mandatorily withheld from the worker’s paycheck and other

expenses necessarily incurred while employed. . . . [S]ums mandatorily

withheld for obligations such as union dues, medical insurance, or retirement

programs no more pass through the wage earner’s hands than do mandatory

tax withholdings. Insofar as the Court of Appeals’ definition pivots on

availability to meet family expenses, any distinction between various species

of payroll withholdings would be ‘metaphysical indeed.’ [Citation.] Likewise,

the expenditure of funds on other work-related expenses, such as

transportation, meals, and uniforms, just as effectively precludes their use for

13

the needs of the family. That they first pass through the wage earner’s hands

is a difference of no apparent import: ‘the time of payment seems . . . but a

superficial distinction; all necessary expenses must be met sometime.’

[Citation.] There is no reason, then, why the actual availability principle,

once applied to exclude mandatory tax withholdings from the definition of

income, would not similarly apply to other mandatory payroll withholdings

and other standard work expenses, both of which also render a portion of a

wage earner’s income unavailable to meet the recipient family’s needs. Yet

this would negate Congress’ enactment of the flat-sum work-expense

disregard in 1981. The failure of the Court of Appeals to outline a principled

limit to the applicability of the availability principle to sums deducted from

gross income is telling.” (Heckler, supra, 470 U.S. at pp. 200–202,

fn. omitted.)

In sum, the actual availability principle does not distinguish between

income that is required to be used for work-related expenses and that which

is available for the recipient to spend, but rather between income that

actually exists, as opposed to income that is assumed or imputed. Income is

“actually available” even if it never passes through the wage earner’s hands.

So, income mandatorily withheld to pay taxes, or as here, garnished to satisfy

a tax debt, is nevertheless “actually available” to the recipient.

More recently, in Christensen v. Lightbourne (2019) 7 Cal.5th 761

(Christensen), our Supreme Court considered a similar question to that

presented here: whether a household member’s income that is used to pay

child support for a child living in another household counts as income

“reasonably anticipated” to be “received” by the paying household within the

meaning of Welfare and Institutions Code section 11265.2 for purposes of

determining eligibility for state welfare benefits under the CalWORKs

14

program. (Christensen, supra, 7 Cal.5th at p. 766.) As indicated, Christensen

came through our court, and we held that it did. The Supreme Court

affirmed our judgment, concluding that the agency’s determination that such

income should be counted was reasonable. Doing so, the court rejected the

argument that because the income was not “actually available” to meet the

recipient’s needs it should not be considered, relying in part on Heckler:

“Christensen argues that the funds used to pay Bruce’s child support

obligations cannot constitute ‘income’ to her household because her family

can never actually receive or benefit from those funds, and therefore the

funds are not ‘reasonably anticipated’ to be ‘received’ within the meaning of

[Welfare and Institutions Code] section 11265.2. Because the money used to

pay child support is not actually available to her household, Christensen

contends, that money cannot be counted as part of ‘the family’s income’ for

purposes of calculating CalWORKs aid. ([Welf. & Inst. Code,] § 11450,

subd. (a)(1)(A).) We find this argument unpersuasive.

“In Heckler[, supra,] 470 U.S. 184 . . . , the high court explained that

the principle of actual availability ‘traces its origins to congressional

consideration of the 1939 amendments’ to the Social Security Act, during

which legislators expressed concern that state agencies might assume

financial assistance from potential sources (e.g., a recipient’s children) who

might not actually contribute. (Heckler, at p. 200.) The requirement that

income be actually available prohibits states from ‘conjuring fictional sources

of income and resources by imputing financial support from persons who

have no obligation to furnish it or by overvaluing assets in a manner that

attributes nonexistent resources to recipients.’ (Ibid.) This policy was

endorsed by federal agencies administering the former AFDC program.

(Id. at pp. 200–201.)

15

“We recognized a comparable principle in Cooper v. Swoap (1974)

11 Cal.3d 856 (Cooper), where we held that treating ‘ “noncash economic

benefits,” ’ such as shared housing, as ‘ “income” ’under the former AFDC

program was invalid. (Id. at p. 859.) We explained that ‘under the governing

provisions of the federal Social Security Act only a recipient’s actual available

income may be deducted from his basic welfare benefit; arbitrary or

constructive “presumptions” of income are not permissible.’ (Id. at p. 870; see

Waits v. Swoap (1974) 11 Cal.3d 887, 894–895 (Waits) [only the ‘ “actual

value of housing and utilities benefits received could possibly constitute

income to the recipient” ’ (quoting Cooper, at p. 870)]; Mooney v. Pickett

(1971) 4 Cal.3d 669, 680 (Mooney) [concluding that a county regulation

denying general assistance to ‘employable’ single men was invalid because

‘theoretical employability is a barren resource; it is inedible; it provides

neither shelter nor any other necessity of life’].)

“The agency in Cooper and Waits assigned ‘a fictional value’ to benefits

received by a recipient rather than attempting to measure the ‘actual value of

the benefits received.’ (Waits, supra, 11 Cal.3d at p. 890; see Cooper, supra,

11 Cal.3d at p. 870.) Here, by contrast, the child support payments garnished

from Bruce’s income were not ‘fictional,’ ‘theoretical,’ or merely ‘ “imputed.” ’

(Heckler, supra, 470 U.S. at p. 200; Cooper, supra, 11 Cal.3d at p. 870;

Mooney, supra, 4 Cal.3d at p. 680.) Bruce received actual income—his wages

plus his unemployment insurance benefits—from which child support

payments were deducted. The circumstances here do not involve ‘imputing

financial support from persons who have no obligation to furnish it or by

overvaluing assets in a manner that attributes nonexistent resources to

recipients.’ (Heckler, supra, 470 U.S. at p. 200.)” (Christensen, supra,

7 Cal.5th at pp. 773–774.)

16

Here, as in Christensen, the $598.20 garnished from Abney’s Social

Security income to pay the IRS is “not ‘fictional,’ ‘theoretical,’ or merely

‘ “imputed,” ’ ” and “[t]he circumstances here do not involve ‘imputing

financial support from persons who have no obligation to furnish it or by

overvaluing assets in a manner that attributes nonexistent resources to

recipients.’ (Heckler, supra, 470 U.S. at p. 200.)” (Christensen, supra,

7 Cal.5th at p. 774.)

While Abney’s tax garnishment is “actually available” income as that

term has been understood under Heckler and Christensen, the regulation

further requires that it be “actually available to meet the needs of a person.”

We conclude that the garnished money is available to meet Abney’s needs

because it benefits her financially by helping to extinguish her debt to the

IRS, a point on which we find Martin v. Sullivan (9th Cir. 1991) 932 F.2d

1273 (Martin) instructive. There, Martin received monthly survivor benefits

from the Railroad Retirement Board, neglected to report additional income,

and the Board ultimately began withholding a certain sum from her Social

Security benefits to recover the prior overpayments. (Id. at p. 1274.) The

Ninth Circuit rejected the argument that the withholding was not “income” to

Martin under the statutory definition of “income” as “payments received as an

annuity, pension, retirement or disability benefit . . . .” (id. at p. 1275),

concluding the withholding was available income: “In the present case,

however, the Railroad Retirement Act (RRA) benefits being withheld by the

Board—recouped or unrecouped, apportioned or unapportioned—are solely

for Martin. The underlying debt to the Board represents overpaid benefits

that aided Martin. Moreover, the Board’s withholding of the amount to

recover the RRA overpayment actually benefitted her by extinguishing an

outstanding debt. Thus, because Martin’s income is used to pay off her

17

obligation and because she is benefitting financially from the satisfaction of

the debt, the RRA sums being withheld to recover the overpayment are to be

considered available income. See also Lyon v. Bowen [(5th Cir. 1986)]

802 F.2d at 797.” (Martin, supra, 932 F.2d at p. 1276.)

The same logic applies here. Abney’s income is being used to pay off

her obligation to the IRS—which she is legally required to do and from which

she benefits financially—and thus the income is considered available to meet

her needs within the meaning of sections 50513 and 50515. Like making

child support payments, satisfying Abney’s tax obligations to the IRS is

properly considered one of her needs. (See Emerson v. Steffen (8th Cir. 1992)

959 F.2d 119, 121–122 [“[I]ncome which has been paid out in child support

cannot later be ‘used’ or ‘availed of’ to pay another bill, but neither can

income which has been paid out for groceries. Although maybe different in

kind, the two are both obligations of the person making the payments . . .

[o]ne could reasonably argue that supporting his children is one of the payor’s

needs”]; Peura By and Through Herman v. Mala (9th Cir. 1992) 977 F.2d 484,

491 [“If child support is considered a need of the payor, and arguably it is,

then the Secretary may attribute the money as income to both the payor and,

in due course, the payee”].)

Finally, Abney argues that the tax garnishment is unavailable income

under section 50515, subdivision (a), which provides that “[u]navailable

income includes, but is not limited to,” portions of the following types of

income, provided that they meet certain criteria: (1) “Worker’s Compensation

and other public or private insurance settlements,” (2) “a contribution . . .

[f]rom a person living in the household,” (3) “monthly income of a medically

needy person residing in a licensed board and care facility,” and (4) “[a]n

advance or a reimbursement from an employer to cover expenses necessary

18

for job performance.” (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 22, § 50515, subd. (a).) The tax

garnishment at issue plainly does not fall into any of these categories.

Moreover, as Abney argues, each of the examples “share ‘a unifying trait’—

income that is beyond a person’s control and unavailable to meet their

needs.” That is not the situation here.

DISPOSITION

The order is affirmed. In the interests of justice, each side shall bear

its own costs. (Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.278(a)(5).)

19

_________________________

Richman, J.

We concur:

_________________________

Stewart, P.J.

_________________________

Miller, J.

Abney v. State Department of Health Care Services (A164775)

20

Trial Court: San Francisco County Superior

Court;

Trial Judge: Honorable Suzanne Ramos Bolanos;

Attorney for Plaintiff and Western Center on Law & Poverty,

Appellant, Debra Abney: David Kane, Robert D. Newman,

Richard A. Rothschild; Bay Area

Legal Aid, Michael Keys;

Attorney for Defendants and Rob Bonta, Attorney General of

Respondents, State Department of California, Cheryl L. Feiner, Senior

Health Care Services et al.: Assistant Attorney General,

Gregory D. Brown, Charles J.

Antonen, Supervising Deputy

Attorneys General, Katherine J.

Grainger, Deputy Attorney General.

Attorney for Respondent City and

County of San Francisco: David Chiu, City Attorney, Wayne

Snodgrass, Tara M. Steeley Deputy

City Attorneys

21

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.