Opinion

State Farm General Insurance v. Workers' Compensation Appeals Board

  • 218 Cal. App. 4th 258
  • 159 Cal. Rptr. 3d 779
  • 78 Cal. Comp. Cases 758
  • 2013 Cal. App. LEXIS 592
Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Jul 1, 2013
Status
Unpublished
Author
Perren
On the bench
Perren
Cited by
13 cases
Authority
More cited than 66.6%

The opinion

Filed 7/1/13 State Farm Gen. Ins. Co. v. WCAB CA2/6

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED IN THE OFFICIAL REPORTS

California Rules of Court, rule 8.1115(a), prohibits courts and parties from citing or relying on opinions not certified for

publication or ordered published, except as specified by rule 8.1115(b). This opinion has not been certified for publication or

ordered published for purposes of rule 8.1115.

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION SIX

STATE FARM GENERAL INSURANCE 2d Civil No. B240742

COMPANY,

(W.C.A.B. Nos. ADJ4684775,

Petitioner, ADJ4381820, ADJ7684775)

v.

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD, CALIFORNIA

INSURANCE GUARANTEE

ASSOCIATION et al.,

Respondents.

Proceeding to review a decision of the Workers' Compensation Appeals

Board. Annulled and remanded with directions.

Finnegan, Marks, Theofel & Desmond, Ellen Sims Langille, for petitioner

State Farm General Insurance Company.

Guilford Steiner Sarvas & Carbonara, Richard E. Guilford; Floyd, Skeren &

Kelly, James K. Lowery, for respondent California Insurance Guarantee Association.

No appearance for respondent Workers' Compensation Appeals Board.

Labor Code section 5950 provides that any person aggrieved by a final order,

decision, or award of the Workers' Compensation Appeals Board (WCAB) may, within the

prescribed time limit, apply to the Court of Appeal for a writ of review. Appellate review is

limited to final orders that affect a substantial right or liability of a party. (Duncan v.

Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (2008) 166 Cal.App.4th 294, 299.) The failure of an aggrieved

party to seek judicial review of a final order of the WCAB bars later challenge to the

propriety of the order or decision before either the WCAB or the court. (Maranian v.

Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (2000) 81 Cal.App.4th 1068, 1075-1076 (Maranian); see also

Safeway Stores, Inc. v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (1980) 104 Cal.App.3d 528, 532-535.)

This petition for writ of review challenges the WCAB's decision allowing

California Insurance Guarantee Association (CIGA) to pursue a claim for reimbursement

against State Farm General Insurance Company (State Farm), after the WCAB had

previously rejected the claim and CIGA had failed to timely seek judicial review. We

conclude that CIGA's claim is barred by principles of res judicata. We annul the WCAB's

decision and remand for further proceedings.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On June 8, 1999, and January 20, 2000, Joanne Lutz (applicant) was injured

while working as a personal assistant to Linda McDonald, President of Roto Rooter (aka

Russell Warner, Inc.). The applicant was on Roto Rooter's payroll at the time. During

1999 and 2000, Roto Rooter was insured for workers' compensation by Fremont

Compensation Insurance Company and Paula Insurance Company, respectively. Linda

McDonald and her homeowner's insurance carrier, State Farm, were joined as additional

parties to the applicant's claim.

In February of 2002, at a mandatory settlement conference, the parties

disputed the issues of employment and which insurance carrier should be responsible for

coverage of the applicant's claim, i.e., whether the applicant was working as a domestic

employee of McDonald at the time of her injuries such that State Farm should provide

coverage for her claim, or whether she was employed by Roto Rooter.

2

On March 15, 2002, in lieu of trial, the parties entered into "Joint Stipulations

With Request for Award." The parties stipulated that the applicant was employed by Roto

Rooter and Linda McDonald, and "sustained injury arising out of and in the course of

employment." Paula Insurance Company agreed to administer all benefits under the award,

and under any future award. State Farm agreed to "indemnify and/or contribute 25% of all

incurred benefits paid to or on behalf of applicant (including, but not limited to TD

[temporary disability], PD [permanent disability], medical treatment, and vocational

rehabilitation), as to injuries of 6/8/99 and 1/20/00. [¶] Paula Ins. reserves its right to seek

contribution from Fremont Compensation Ins. Co." That same day, Workers' Compensation

Judge (WCJ) William Carero approved the award allocating liability between the parties.

No party sought reconsideration of the award and, consequently, it became final between

these parties.

In June of 2002 and July of 2003, Paula Insurance Company and Fremont

Insurance Company, respectively, were liquidated. CIGA assumed administration of the

claim. Since then, State Farm has been reimbursing CIGA for 25 percent of all benefits paid

to the applicant.

In September of 2003, CIGA filed a petition for dismissal, arguing it should

be dismissed because Paula Insurance Company had not provided workers' compensation

coverage for residential or domestic employees. State Farm opposed the petition,

contending the evidence supported a finding of employment by Roto Rooter and coverage,

and that the March 15, 2002, stipulated award was final and binding on CIGA. The record

before us discloses no action on this petition.

In February of 2008, five years later, CIGA sought to be relieved as

administrator of the applicant's claim. CIGA filed a declaration of readiness with the

WCAB, stating that the parties were unable to "resolve the dispute concerning employment

as a domestic employee versus employment with Roto Rooter." CIGA requested resolution

of the questions (1) "whether State Farm homeowner's insurance qualifies as 'other

insurance' to make the claim against CIGA a non-covered claim per Insurance Code section

3

1063.1"; and (2) whether the applicant qualifies as a domestic employee under Labor Code

section 3351, subdivision (d).

On April 4, 2008, the WCJ ruled that the WCAB was without jurisdiction to

rescind or alter the March 15, 2002, stipulated award, and that CIGA was bound by the

stipulation. The WCJ reasoned: "Labor Code section 5804 confers limited power upon the

Board to rescind, alter or amend its Awards. That power is limited by the statutory language

as to time and as to content. Specifically, that Section states 'that after an award has been

made finding that there was employment and the time to petition for a rehearing or

reconsideration or review has expired . . . , the appeals board upon a petition to reopen shall

not have the power to find that there was no employment.' This includes determination of

the identity of the employer previously determined by the Award. [¶] Neither does the

subsequent liquidation of the Paula Insurance Company and Fremont Indemnity . . . permit

CIGA to upset the final legal determination as to employment. . . . [¶] In essence, CIGA

avers that it is not bound by the Award entered against the then-solvent carriers for which

CIGA is now responsible to the extent the Insurance Code requires. [¶] No determination is

made as to the extent of CIGA's ultimate liability under the March 15, 2002 Award. It is

found nevertheless that the Award binds CIGA." CIGA did not seek reconsideration of the

WCJ's order before the WCAB. (Lab. Code, § 5900.)

Two months later, on June 9, 2008, CIGA filed a petition for reimbursement

and for a change of administrator, renewing its claim that it should be relieved of

responsibility to pay benefits because of the presence of other insurance. (Ins. Code,

§ 1063.1, subd. (c)(9).) 1 CIGA argued that State Farm was jointly and severally liable for

the benefits paid by CIGA, and as solvent "other insurance" must reimburse CIGA in full

for all temporary disability benefits, medical treatment, and medical-related expenses.

CIGA requested that State Farm reimburse it $382,833, less credit for payments made by

State Farm.

1 Insurance Code section 1063.2, subdivision (a) limits CIGA's liability to

paying for "covered claims." Insurance Code section 1063.1, subdivision (c)(9) provides

that "covered claims" do not include "a claim to the extent it is covered by any other

insurance of a class covered by this article available to the claimant or insured."

4

State Farm opposed the petition, arguing that (1) CIGA's failure to seek

reconsideration of the WCJ's decision on April 4, 2008, precluded it from relitigating its

reimbursement claim (Lab. Code, § 5804); (2) State Farm's homeowner's insurance policy

does not constitute "other insurance" as defined by the Insurance Code because its policy

was not "available to the claimant or insured" (Ins. Code, § 1063.1, subd. (c)(9)); and (3)

CIGA's claims were barred by the equitable doctrine of laches.

In May of 2009, CIGA filed a declaration of readiness (presumably for its

June 2008 petition), seeking dismissal as a party-defendant on the ground that "'other

solvent insurance' is available" pursuant to Insurance Code section 1063.1, subdivision

(c)(9). According to the pretrial conference statement, the parties proceeded to trial on

issues including: (1) whether CIGA should be dismissed pursuant to Insurance Code

section 1063.1, subdivision (c)(9), because "other solvent insurance" is available; (2) joint

and several liability/reimbursement from State Farm; (3) Insurance Code section 11590

provides that domestic workers are covered under homeowner's insurance policy for

workers' compensation; and (4) petition to change administrator.

On June 25, 2009, the WCJ conducted a hearing on CIGA's petition. The

minutes of the hearing specify that the issue of whether there was "good cause to dismiss

CIGA due to the presence of other insurance" was "raised and accepted to be heard" as part

of the trial. With respect to this issue, the WCJ ruled: "The presence of other insurance in

this case does not support good cause to dismiss CIGA. [CIGA] has already been

determined [to be] bound by the [Stipulated Award of March 15, 2002]; and that

determination having been made on April 8th, 2008, without any appellate response,

remains the law of this case, and the motion of CIGA to be dismissed is therefore denied."

CIGA then sought reconsideration by the WCAB, contending that CIGA is

statutorily prohibited from making payments to the applicant and must be dismissed

pursuant to Insurance Code section 1063.1, subdivision (c)(9) because other solvent

5

insurance is available. CIGA argued that our decisions in Weitzman and Hooten entitle it

"to shift the entire amount of joint and several liability onto the still-solvent carrier."2

On July 28, 2009, the WCJ recommended the WCAB deny reconsideration,

reasoning that "[r]ight or wrong, the 2008 decision on jurisdiction to rescind, alter or amend

the 2002 stipulated award is the law of this case. [¶] [CIGA] seeks to distinguish the issue

here presented from that presented in 2008. However, both efforts boil down to an effort to

impose the liability in this case solely on State Farm." The WCJ explained that CIGA

"remains liable because the 2002 stipulation and award was a finding of employment which

was not the subject of a petition for reconsideration and was followed by a decision six

years later that jurisdiction to change the terms of the 25%/75% deal was lacking. The 2008

decision in turn became final." The WCJ also observed that CIGA was barred by laches

from attempting to avoid the stipulated award "where five to six years elapse with the

injured worker and the homeowner carrier relying upon the deal they struck." On October

15, 2009, the WCAB adopted WCJ Carero's recommendation and denied CIGA's petition

for reconsideration. CIGA did not file a petition for writ of review in the Court of Appeal.

In January of 2010, CIGA proceeded to trial on the applicant's claim of

permanent disability, future medical treatment, a lien claim by the Employment

Development Department (EDD), and other related issues. On April 27, 2010, the WCJ

issued his decision granting the applicant permanent disability of 39 percent and awarding

benefits against CIGA for future medical treatment. The WCJ ordered CIGA to reimburse

the EDD for disability benefits provided to the applicant.

In May of 2010, CIGA sought reconsideration of the WCJ's decision,

contending that the WCJ should have found that the applicant was jointly employed by Roto

Rooter and Linda McDonald on the date of injury, and the award should have identified

State Farm as jointly liable for all benefits due the applicant.

2 See California Ins. Guarantee Assn. v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (2005)

128 Cal.App.4th 307, 320 (Weitzman) ["covered claims" under Ins. Code section 1063.1,

subdivision (c)(9), do not include claims covered by other solvent insurers in situations of

joint and several liability]; CIGA v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (2005) 128 Cal.App.4th

569, 573 (Hooten) [even in absence of joint and several liability, "covered claims" under

section 1063.1, subdivision (c)(5) do not include claims by other insurers].)

6

The WCJ recommended that reconsideration be granted in part to correct

certain miscalculations he had made in the amount of permanent disability and to eliminate

CIGA's obligation to reimburse the EDD. The WCJ also clarified that CIGA is the party

liable for the benefits due the applicant, and that "State Farm remains obligated to its co-

defendant(s), but not to the applicant." The WCJ recommended denial of CIGA's

reconsideration petition in all other respects.

On January 18, 2011, the WCAB adopted the WCJ's recommendations in all

respects and modified the WCJ's award accordingly. The WCAB amended the award to

conform to the 2002 stipulation by identifying Linda McDonald as an additional employer

on the date of injury. The WCAB rejected CIGA's contention that the award should be

amended to reallocate liability for the applicant's claim to State Farm by finding it jointly

and severally liable. The WCAB reasoned that CIGA's contentions were rejected by the

WCJ in his decisions of April 4, 2008, and July 13, 2009, and by the WCAB when it denied

reconsideration on September 1, 2009. Because CIGA did not appeal those decisions, the

WCAB concluded they "are now final and the law of the case."

The WCAB stated: "We recognize that several appellate cases describe limits

of CIGA's liabilities in cases where solvent insurers are 'available' to provide an injured

worker with benefits within the meaning of Insurance Code section 1063.1(c)(9),

notwithstanding that the insolvent insurer would be liable for those benefits but for the

insolvency. [Fn. and citations omitted.] However, those cases did not involve a request by

CIGA to amend an award made more than five years earlier by stipulation of all the solvent

insurers. In this situation, Labor Code section 5804 precludes CIGA's request to re-allocate

liability by amending the 2002 stipulated award."3 Once again, CIGA elected not to petition

for a writ of review in the Court of Appeal.

On April 18, 2011, CIGA filed another declaration of readiness, renewing the

issue of reimbursement. CIGA stated that "[t]he parties require the intervention of the

WCAB to resolve the dispute between CIGA and State Farm concerning

3 Labor Code section 5804 provides in part: "No award of compensation shall be

rescinded, altered, or amended after five years from the date of the injury except upon a

petition by a party in interest filed within such five years . . . ."

7

contribution/reimbursement." On June 2, 2011, the WCJ conducted a hearing on: (1)

whether res judicata bars further proceedings on reimbursement; and (2) whether good cause

exists to refer the matter to arbitration. On July 29, 2011, the WCJ denied CIGA's request

for trial of its claim for reimbursement and/or contribution. He found that the respective

liabilities of the parties had previously been finally determined and could not be "relitigated

by way of seeking contribution or reimbursement."

CIGA then petitioned the WCAB for reconsideration, contending that it may

proceed with its reimbursement claim against State Farm because (1) CIGA and State Farm

are jointly and severally liable under the 2002 stipulated award; and (2) it is not precluded

from seeking reimbursement by either res judicata or Labor Code section 5804. CIGA

pointed to the wording of the WCJ's April 2008 decision, stating that "[n]o determination is

made as to the extent of CIGA's ultimate liability under the March 15, 2002 Award."

CIGA argued that it relied on this language in not appealing or seeking reconsideration

earlier, believing that it meant that Insurance Code section 1063.1 might still shift all

liability to State Farm. CIGA argued that the issue of CIGA's right to reimbursement

against State Farm was raised for the first time in CIGA's declaration of readiness filed on

April 18, 2011, and the issue was not "identical" to the issues previously decided.

On August 25, 2011, the WCJ disagreed with CIGA, concluding its

reimbursement claim was not made in good faith and was not supported by the cases cited.

The WCJ stated that no determination as to the ultimate liability of any party was possible in

2008 because the extent of the applicant's permanent disability was still being evaluated.

The WCJ noted this did not prevent CIGA from appealing or seeking reconsideration of the

2008 determination that it was bound by the 2002 stipulated agreement. The WCJ

concluded that "[r]egardless of the semantics employed," CIGA's renewed effort to "re-

allocate liability by amending the 2002 stipulated award" was barred by "the component of

res judicata known as issue preclusion."

On December 19, 2011, the WCAB granted reconsideration, notwithstanding

its contrary decision 11 months earlier (on January 18, 2011), ruling against CIGA on the

question of whether it could pursue a reimbursement claim under Insurance Code section

8

1063.1, subdivision (c)(9). The WCAB noted that CIGA was not a party to the 2002

stipulation and was not seeking to amend the earlier 2002 award. Instead, it reasoned,

CIGA was seeking to enforce its statutory right under Insurance Code section 1063.1 to

obtain reimbursement from a solvent insurer that is "available" to provide benefits to the

applicant within the meaning of the statute. The WCAB reasoned that the 2002 stipulated

award and the five-year limitations period of Labor Code section 5804 were not dispositive

of CIGA's petition for reimbursement. The applicant was jointly employed by Linda

McDonald and Roto Rooter when she was injured. "Because applicant had two employers

. . . each employer and their respective insurers on those dates of injury are as a matter of

law jointly and severally liable for workers' compensation benefits that are due."

The WCAB went on to reason that the 2002 stipulation did not change State

Farm's joint and several liability to the applicant. "This is because agreements between

employers and/or their insurers cannot diminish or eliminate an applicant's right to recover

benefits from the employers and insurers that are jointly and severally liable for the injury.

. . . When Freemont and Paula became insolvent, State Farm became 'available' to applicant

as 'other insurance' under Insurance Code section 1063.1(c)(9) because McDonald is jointly

and severally liable for applicant's injuries. [¶] Because State Farm appears to be 'other

insurance' that is 'available' . . . within the meaning of Insurance Code section 1063.1(c)(9),

it appears to be responsible for the provision of workers' compensation benefits that are due

because of her injuries."

The WCAB concluded "[t]here has been no earlier final decision on CIGA's

petition to obtain reimbursement from State Farm. Thus, there is no basis for denying the

petition for reimbursement on the grounds of res judicata or collateral estoppel as concluded

by the WCJ in his August 25, 2011 Report." Accordingly, the WCAB rescinded the WCJ's

decision and returned the case to the trial level for further proceedings on CIGA's petition

for reimbursement.

Thereafter, State Farm petitioned the WCAB for reconsideration. State Farm

argued that the question whether homeowner's insurance qualifies as "other insurance"

under Insurance Code section 1063.1 was expressly raised by CIGA and decided against it

9

by the WCJ in April of 2008, and by the WCAB in September of 2009. State Farm

contended these decisions were final and entitled to res judicata effect. Alternatively, State

Farm contended that CIGA's request for reimbursement was barred by the doctrine of

laches. State Farm pointed out that it will suffer irreparable harm and prejudice should

CIGA be allowed to re-litigate its request for reimbursement. State Farm pointed out that if

CIGA is allowed to seek reimbursement in an amount greater than 25 percent, it will have

been denied due process by being precluded from litigating the issue of employment. State

Farm abided by the terms of the stipulated award and detrimentally relied on it by

withdrawing its challenge to the employment issue in 2002.

On March 14, 2012, the WCAB denied State Farm's petition for

reconsideration. State Farm's petition for writ of review followed.

DISCUSSION

The dispositive question before us is whether CIGA's reimbursement claim is

barred by res judicata or laches.4 It is well settled that these doctrines apply in workers'

compensation litigation. (Azadigian v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (1992) 7 Cal.App.4th

372, 379-380; United Dredging Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com. (1930) 208 Cal. 705, 713-714.)

Labor Code section 5950 provides that a party "affected by an order, decision,

or award" of the WCAB may, within the prescribed time period, apply to the Court of

Appeal for a writ of review "for the purpose of inquiring into and determining the

lawfulness" of the order, decision, or award. "[A]ppellate review . . . is limited to 'final'

orders that determine a substantial right or liability of a party." (Duncan v. Workers' Comp.

Appeals Bd., supra, 166 Cal.App.4th at p. 299.) An order of the WCAB is final for the

purpose of seeking judicial review when it "settles, for purposes of the compensation

proceeding, an issue critical to the claim for benefits, whether or not it resolves all the issues

in the proceeding or represents a decision on the right to benefits." (Maranian, supra, 81

Cal.App.4th at pp. 1075, 1078; Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (2003)

4 We reject CIGA's contention that State Farm's petition for writ of review

should be dismissed as premature. We also reject CIGA's contention that our standard of

review is abuse of discretion. The application of the doctrine of res judicata is a question

of law we review de novo. There are no factual issues involved in this determination.

10

112 Cal.App.4th 1435, 1438, fn. 3; Safeway Stores, Inc. v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd.,

supra, 104 Cal.App.3d at pp. 534-535.) Such final orders include, for example, threshold

orders dismissing a party, rejecting an affirmative defense, terminating liability, or

determining whether the employer has provided compensation coverage. (Maranian, at pp.

1075, 1078.)

The characterization of an order or decision as final and susceptible to judicial

review has critical consequences. The failure of an aggrieved party to seek judicial review

of a final order of the WCAB bars later challenge to the propriety of the order or decision

before either the WCAB or the court. (Maranian, supra, 81 Cal.App.4th at p.1076; see also

Rymer v. Hagler (1989) 211 Cal.App.3d 1171, 1182.) The purpose of this rule is to

facilitate early disposition of core questions, and promote the public policy favoring

expeditious and inexpensive resolution of workers' compensation claims. (Maranian, at p.

1078.)

CIGA contends that State Farm cannot point to any place in the record where

CIGA's right to reimbursement was consciously raised and litigated prior to the WCAB's

decision on December 19, 2011. CIGA denies that its right to reimbursement was litigated

in April of 2008, June of 2009, or January of 2011. We disagree.

In 2008, CIGA filed a formal "Petition for Reimbursement," requesting

resolution of the question whether the homeowner's insurance policy qualified as "other

insurance" to make the claim against CIGA a non-covered claim under Insurance Code

section 1063.1. The WCJ found the WCAB lacked jurisdiction to rescind or alter the 2002

stipulated settlement agreement and that CIGA was bound by it. In 2009, CIGA again

asked the WCJ to resolve the questions whether it should be dismissed pursuant to Insurance

Code section 1063.1 because "other solvent insurance" was available, whether joint and

several liability existed for State Farm, and whether administration of the claim should be

changed. On October 15, 2009, the WCAB adopted the WCJ's findings that CIGA was

bound by the 2002 stipulated settlement and barred by laches from attempting to avoid it.

Finally, on January 18, 2011, the WCAB rejected CIGA's contention that liability should be

re-allocated to State Farm because State Farm was jointly and severally liable for the

11

applicant's injuries. Contrary to CIGA's contention, its entitlement to reimbursement was

expressly raised in these proceedings in 2008, 2009, and 2011, and determined adversely to

it. CIGA did not seek judicial review of any of these decisions. Consequently, these

decisions have become final and conclusive. CIGA is barred by res judicata from

relitigating its right to reimbursement.

Next, CIGA contends that State Farm misapprehends the obligations created

by the 2002 stipulated settlement agreement. It argues that, in the agreement, both Roto

Rooter and Linda McDonald admitted concurrent employment. Dual employers are jointly

and severally liable for payment of all compensation due the injury of the shared employee.

(McFarland v. Voorheis-Trindle Co. (1959) 52 Cal.2d 698 [where relationship of general

and special employment exists, injured worker can look to both employers for compensation

benefits].)

CIGA adds that its right to reimbursement is statutory and it has no statutory

liability for claims covered by other available solvent insurance. (Ins. Code, § 1063.1, subd.

(c)(9).) CIGA argues that State Farm's agreement to pay 25 percent of the applicant's

benefits does not "trump" CIGA's statutory obligations.

We need not address the ultimate question of whether State Farm is jointly

and severally liable for 100 percent of the applicant's claim, or whether its homeowner's

insurance policy is "other insurance" under Insurance Code section 1063.1, subdivision

(c)(9), because CIGA did not preserve its right to pursue these issues.5 Right or wrong, the

WCJ's decision in 2008, and the WCAB's 2009 and 2011 decisions are final, and CIGA may

not invoke the jurisdiction of the WCAB or this court to review the lawfulness of those

decisions.

The cases cited by CIGA regarding its statutory right to reimbursement are

distinguishable. In each of the cases CIGA cites, unlike the facts of this case, CIGA's

request for reimbursement due to the presence of other solvent insurance was timely brought

5 We question whether homeowner's insurance qualifies as "other insurance" under

section 1063.1, subdivision (c)(9), because it is not "available to the claimant." The parties

have not briefed whether CIGA is relieved from liability under Insurance Code section

1063.1, subdivision (c)(5) [covered claims do not include obligations to insurers nor their

claims for contribution or indemnity].

12

before the WCAB or the Court of Appeal. (E.g., Sherman Loehr Custom Tile Works v.

Workers' Compensation Appeals Board (2003) 68 Cal.Comp.Cases 1262 [two carriers

stipulated to percentage of liability before one carrier liquidated; WCAB granted CIGA's

timely petition for a change of administrators because other solvent insurance available].)

We recognize that the Legislature has limited CIGA's liability to "covered

claims." (Ins. Code, § 1063.1.) CIGA's "powers, duties and responsibilities are strictly

defined and circumscribed by statute; they are not co-extensive with the duties owed by the

insolvent insurer." (California Ins. Guarantee Assn. v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (2007)

153 Cal.App.4th 524, 532.) Nevertheless, this statutory policy limiting CIGA's liability to

covered claims must be weighed against the strong "public policy interests in an expeditious

and inexpensive system of workers' compensation, the encouragement of settlements of

workers' compensation proceedings to further that system, the justified expectations of

parties dealing with CIGA, the importance of there being an end to litigation, the resulting

finality of judgments, and CIGA's role in obtaining the order at issue." (Fireman's Fund

Ins. Co. v. Workers' Compensation Appeals Bd. (2010) 181 Cal.App.4th 752, 770.)

Here, the applicant was 61 years old on the date of her first injury in 1999.

She is now 75 years old and the issue of liability for her claim continues to be litigated

despite CIGA's failure to seek judicial review of adverse decisions in 2008, 2009, and 2011,

and the stipulated settlement over a decade ago. In these circumstances, the strong public

policy in favor of CIGA's paying only covered claims does not outweigh the policy interests

enumerated above. (See Fireman's Fund Ins. Co. v. Workers' Compensation Appeals Bd.,

supra, 181 Cal.App.4th at p. 770.)

In light of our determination that CIGA's reimbursement claim is barred by

principles of res judicata, we need not address State Farm's alternative contentions that it

would be deprived of due process if CIGA is allowed to pursue its reimbursement claim, or

13

that CIGA's claim is barred by laches. Contrary to CIGA's contention, these issues were

preserved for review and raise substantial concerns.6

We annul the WCAB's order of March 14, 2012, denying State Farm's petition

for reconsideration. We remand the matter to the WCAB for further proceedings consistent

with this opinion. Costs are awarded to State Farm.

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED.

PERREN, J.

We concur:

GILBERT, P. J.

YEGAN, J.

6 State Farm argues that CIGA has not diligently pursued its reimbursement claim

since it took over administrating the claim in 2003 and that it will suffer prejudice from

CIGA's delay, including loss of control over supervision of the medical treatment,

deterioration of evidence, diminishment of witness memory, and its withdrawal of a defense

to the issue of employment. (See, e.g., ICW Group v. Workers' Compensation Appeals

Board (Fieldhouse) (2003) 68 Cal.Comp.Cases 1217 [writ denied; president of company has

wide discretion to place domestic employees on corporate payroll; liability for employee's

injury rests solely with corporation's carrier].)

14

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.