Opinion

Liberty Mutual Fire Ins v. Copart of CT

  • 75 F.4th 522
Court
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Filed
Jul 31, 2023
Status
Published
Nature of suit
Private Civil Diversity
Cited by
24 cases
Authority
More cited than 66.5%

noting that ripeness is properly dismissed under Rule 12(b)(1)

How later courts described this case

  • noting that ripeness is properly dismissed under Rule 12(b)(1)
  • characterizing “summary judgment for [the insurer as] . . . both premature and incorrect” because the duty to indemnify might still depend on later-developed facts

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 1 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

United States Court of Appeals

Fifth Circuit

____________ FILED

July 31, 2023

No. 21-10938 Lyle W. Cayce

____________ Clerk

Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company; Liberty

Insurance Corporation,

Plaintiffs—Appellees,

versus

Copart of Connecticut, Incorporated,

Defendant—Appellant.

______________________________

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Texas

USDC No. 3:19-CV-2748

______________________________

Before Higginbotham, Southwick, and Higginson, Circuit

Judges.

Stephen A. Higginson, Circuit Judge:

Defendant-appellant Copart of Connecticut appeals the district

court’s grant of summary judgment in favor of plaintiffs-appellees Liberty

Mutual Fire Insurance Company and Liberty Insurance Corporation. For

the following reasons, we affirm in part and reverse in part.

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 2 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

I.

Copart of Connecticut, Inc. (“Copart”) is a subsidiary of Copart, Inc.,

an online car-auction company that sells used, wholesale, and repairable

vehicles. Copart owns several parcels of land in Lexington County, South

Carolina, on which it operates “machine salvage junkyard and vehicle wash

facilities.” This appeal concerns whether Copart’s insurer must defend or

indemnify Copart with respect to a lawsuit filed against it in South Carolina.

A.

On October 14, 2016, eight property-owner plaintiffs (the “Livingston

Plaintiffs”) sued Copart in South Carolina state court. The case was later

removed to the U.S. District Court for the District of South Carolina. In their

complaint, the Livingston Plaintiffs allege that they own properties located

near Copart’s land and that Copart’s operations have damaged their

properties. Specifically, the Livingston Plaintiffs allege that a continuously

flowing spring-fed stream, Tom’s Creek, originates “on or directly east” of

one of Copart’s properties and that this creek system runs through, or feeds

wetlands on, the Plaintiffs’ properties. They allege that wrecked and

salvaged vehicles and machines stored on unpaved lots on Copart’s property

are “variously leaking gasoline, oil, hydraulic fluids, antifreeze, and other

hazardous fluids and materials into the soil.” According to the Livingston

Plaintiffs’ complaint, “[d]uring any significant rainfall event, water, soil,

sediment and hazardous materials and chemicals are washed from the Copart

property into Tom’s Creek ultimately through the Plaintiffs’ properties.”

They allege that this has “dramatically changed the nature of [their]

property,” by way of “aesthetic[]” damage “in the form of cloudy water for

several days, after each rainfall event,” and a “negative[] impact[]” on the

“flora and fauna in and around streams and ponds on Plaintiffs’ property.”

2

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 3 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

The Livingston Plaintiffs further allege that “scientific testing

conducted on a variety of samples from points on the periphery of [Copart]’s

property and within the Tom Creek’s watershed, reveal alarming levels of

heavy-metals and other dangerous elements.” The Livingston Plaintiffs

allege that these samples show “large concentrations of aluminum, lead,

titanium, arsenic, and copper throughout,” and that “[t]hese are the same

elements found within various components of motor vehicles, such as

batteries, radiators and fuel.”

The Livingston Plaintiffs allege violations of the Resource

Conservation and Recovery Act, the Clean Water Act, and the South

Carolina Pollution Control Act, as well as claims for negligence, negligence

per se, nuisance, and trespass.

B.

During the relevant periods, Copart held insurance policies with

Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company (“LMFIC”) and Liberty Insurance

Corporation (“Liberty Insurance”) (collectively, “Liberty”). Copart and

Liberty dispute whether, in light of certain “pollution” exclusions in the

relevant policies, Liberty has a duty to defend or indemnify Copart with

respect to the South Carolina case (the “Underlying Suit”). 1

LMFIC issued five commercial general liability (“CGL”) policies to

Copart, for policy periods spanning from 2012 to 2017. The parties agree

that the policies are substantively identical in relevant part. Coverage A of

the CGL policies provides that LMFIC

_____________________

1

As the parties confirmed at oral argument, the Underlying Suit was resolved by

settlement while this appeal was pending. See Stipulation of Dismissal with Prejudice,

Livingston, Jr. v. Copart of Conn., Inc., No. 17-2543 (D.S.C. May 31, 2022), ECF No. 196.

3

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 4 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

will pay those sums that the insured becomes legally obligated

to pay as damages because of “bodily injury” or “property

damage” to which this insurance applies. We will have the

right and duty to defend the insured against any “suit” seeking

those damages. However, we will have no duty to defend the

insured against any “suit” seeking damages for “bodily

injury” or “property damage” to which this insurance does not

apply.

This coverage is subject to an exclusion for damages caused by

pollution. Specifically, Coverage A, as amended by an endorsement,

excludes from coverage any “‘[b]odily injury’ or ‘property damage’ which

would not have occurred in whole or part but for the actual, alleged or

threatened discharge, dispersal, seepage, migration, release or escape of

‘pollutants’ at any time.” The policies define “pollutants” as “any solid,

liquid, gaseous or thermal irritant or contaminant, including smoke, vapor,

soot, fumes, acids, alkalis, chemicals and waste.” “Waste includes materials

to be recycled, reconditioned or reclaimed.”

In addition to its CGL policies with LMFIC, Copart also purchased

umbrella policies with Liberty Insurance for policy periods spanning from

2014 to 2017. The parties agree that the policies are substantively identical

in relevant part. Under the umbrella policies, Liberty Insurance has “the

right and duty to defend any ‘suit’ seeking damages covered by this

insurance, . . . when: (1) [t]he total applicable limits of ‘underlying insurance’

have been exhausted by payment of judgments or settlements; or (2) [t]he

damages sought because of ‘bodily injury[,’] ‘property damage’ or ‘personal

and advertising injury’ to which this insurance applies would not be covered

by ‘underlying insurance’ or ‘other insurance.’” The umbrella policies list

the LMFIC CGL policies as “underlying insurance.”

4

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 5 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

Like the CGL policies, the umbrella policies contain in an

endorsement an exclusion for damages caused by pollution. 2 The pollution

endorsement also modifies the duty to defend with respect to pollution-

related damages. It provides that, “[f]or the purposes of this endorsement,”

Liberty Insurance “will have the right and duty to defend any ‘suit’ seeking

damages covered by this insurance, . . . if the ‘retained limit’ has been

exhausted by payment of damages that would be covered by this

endorsement.’” The “retained limit” for purposes of the endorsement is

$1,000,000.

C.

On November 18, 2019, Liberty filed a declaratory action against

Copart in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Texas. Liberty

alleged in its complaint that LMFIC was “currently defending Copart in the

Underlying Suit pursuant to its reservation of rights and [sought], by this

action, a declaration that it has a right to withdraw that qualified defense.”

Liberty cited the Livingston Plaintiffs’ pleadings, and the pollution exclusion

in its CGL and umbrella policies, and asked the court for, inter alia, a

declaration that Liberty has “no duty to defend or indemnify Copart or any

other person in connection with the claims asserted in the Underlying Suit

and therefore ha[s] no duty to pay any portion of the defense costs incurred

or paid by any person in connection with the Underlying Suit.”

Liberty later moved for summary judgment seeking a declaration that

it had no duty to defend or indemnify Copart as to the Underlying Suit.

_____________________

2

The pollution exclusion in the umbrella policies uses language that is similar, but

not identical, to its counterpart in the CGL policies. The umbrella policies’ exclusion also

has further exceptions not found in its CGL counterpart, but, for reasons we will explain,

we need not reach the meaning of those provisions in order to resolve this appeal.

5

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 6 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

Copart filed an opposition to Liberty’s motion, as well as its own cross-

motion for partial summary judgment on the duty to defend.

The district court granted Liberty’s motion for summary judgment

and denied Copart’s cross-motion. The court found that the pollution

exclusion was unambiguous and that it was “clear” that the Livingston

Plaintiffs alleged damages caused by pollutants, so Liberty had no duty to

defend under the CGL policies. The court further found that there was no

duty to defend under the umbrella policies because the $1,000,000 retained

limit had not been exhausted. The court then found that, “[b]ecause Liberty

Mutual has no duty to defend the Underlying Suit, it follows that it has no

duty to indemnify.” Final judgment issued for Liberty the same day.

Copart timely appealed, challenging the district court’s conclusions.

II.

A district court’s judgment on cross motions for summary judgment

is reviewed de novo, “addressing each party’s motion independently, viewing

the evidence and inferences in the light most favorable to the nonmoving

party.” Siplast, Inc. v. Emps. Mut. Cas. Co., 23 F.4th 486, 492 (5th Cir. 2022)

(per curiam) (citations omitted). We affirm a grant of summary judgment

“only if there is no genuine issue of material fact and the party is entitled to

prevail as a matter of law.” Id. (citation omitted). The court “may affirm a

summary judgment on any ground supported by the record, even if it is

different from that relied on by the district court.” Campos v. Steves & Sons,

Inc., 10 F.4th 515, 520 (5th Cir. 2021) (citations omitted). The interpretation

of insurance policies is reviewed de novo as well. Richard v. Anadarko

Petroleum Corp., 850 F.3d 701, 707 (5th Cir. 2017) (citations omitted).

6

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 7 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

The law of the forum state, Texas, applies in this diversity case.

Siplast, 23 F.4th at 492 (citations omitted). “Under Texas law, an insurer

may have two responsibilities relating to coverage—the duty to defend and

the duty to indemnify.” Id. (quoting ACE Am. Ins. Co. v. Freeport Welding &

Fabricating, Inc., 699 F.3d 832, 839 (5th Cir. 2012)). These two duties are

distinct, and the duty to defend is generally broader than the duty to

indemnify. Zurich Am. Ins. Co. v. Nokia, Inc., 268 S.W.3d 487, 490 (Tex.

2008). This is because “[a]n insurer must defend its insured if a plaintiff’s

factual allegations potentially support a covered claim, while the facts actually

established in the underlying suit determine whether the insurer must

indemnify its insured.” Id. (emphasis added) (citation omitted).

III.

We first consider whether Liberty has a duty to defend Copart in the

Underlying Suit. Whether an insurer has a duty to defend is a determination

governed by the “eight-corners rule.” Siplast, 23 F.4th at 492 (citing

Richards v. State Farm Lloyds, 597 S.W.3d 492, 494 (Tex. 2020)). Under the

eight-corners rule, “an insurer’s ‘duty to defend is determined by the claims

alleged in the petition and the coverage provided in the policy.’” Richards,

597, S.W.3d at 494 (quoting Pine Oak Builders, Inc. v. Great Am. Lloyds Ins.

Co., 279 S.W.3d 650, 654 (Tex. 2009)). “The ‘four corners’ of the petition

and the ‘four corners’ of the policy together comprise the ‘eight corners’ that

give the rule its name.” Id. at 494-95. A court may not consider “facts

ascertained before the suit, developed in the process of the litigation, or by

the ultimate outcome of the suit” as part of its duty-to-defend determination.

Canutillo Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Nat’l Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburgh, 99 F.3d

695, 701 (5th Cir. 1996) (quoting Gulf Chem. & Metallurgical Corp. v.

Associated Metals & Minerals Corp., 1 F.3d 365, 369 (5th Cir. 1993)); see also

7

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 8 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

Am. Alliance Ins. Co. v. Frito-Lay, Inc., 788 S.W.2d 152, 153-54 (Tex. Ct. App.

1990). Nor may the court “imagine factual scenarios which might trigger

coverage.” Waste Mgmt., Inc. v. AIG Specialty Ins. Co., 974 F.3d 528, 535 (5th

Cir. 2020) (quoting Nat’l Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburgh, Pa. v. Merchs. Fast

Motor Lines, Inc., 939 S.W.2d 139, 142 (Tex. 1997) (per curiam)).

The duty to defend “is determined by the third-party plaintiff’s

pleadings, considered in light of the policy provisions, without regard to the

truth or falsity of those allegations.” GuideOne Elite Ins. Co. v. Fielder Rd.

Baptist Church, 197 S.W.3d 305, 308 (Tex. 2006) (citations omitted). The

analysis focuses on the facts alleged in the pleadings, not the legal theories

asserted. Evanston Ins. Co. v. Legacy of Life, Inc., 645 F.3d 739, 745 (5th Cir.

2011) (citations omitted). “[I]n case of doubt as to whether or not the

allegations of a complaint against the insured state a cause of action within

the coverage of a liability policy sufficient to compel the insurer to defend the

action, such doubt will be resolved in insured’s favor.” Waste Mgmt., 974

F.3d at 535 (quoting Nat’l Union, 939 S.W.2d at 141).

“If coverage is found for any part of a suit, the insurer must defend

the entire suit.” Allstate Ins. Co. v. Disability Servs. of the Sw. Inc., 400 F.3d

260, 263 (5th Cir. 2005) (citations omitted).

A.

The CGL policies provide that Liberty has no duty to defend Copart

in suits alleging harms to which the insurance under the policies does not

apply. The policies exclude from coverage any damages that “would not

have occurred in whole or part but for the actual, alleged or threatened

discharge, dispersal, seepage, migration, release or escape of ‘pollutants’ at

any time.” “Pollutants” are in turn defined as “any solid, liquid, gaseous or

thermal irritant or contaminant, including smoke, vapor, soot, fumes, acids,

alkalis, chemicals and waste.”

8

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 9 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

As a threshold matter, Copart does not dispute that the CGL policies’

pollution exclusion is unambiguous as written. Courts applying Texas law

have consistently interpreted pollution exclusions such as this to be absolute

and unambiguous. See, e.g., Noble Energy, Inc. v. Bituminous Cas. Co., 529

F.3d 642, 646 (5th Cir. 2008) (“Texas courts have consistently held similar

pollution exclusions to be unambiguous.” (first citing Nat’l Union Fire Ins.

Co. v. CBI Indus., Inc., 907 S.W.2d 517, 521 (Tex. 1995); and then citing

Zaiontz v. Trinity Universal Ins. Co., 87 S.W.3d 565, 571 (Tex. Ct. App.

2002)); see also Peleus Ins. Co. v. Ron Sparks, Inc., 2022 WL 4125222, at *3

(N.D. Tex. Sept. 8, 2022) (finding that an identically worded pollution

exclusion was unambiguous).

Nor is there a serious dispute that the pollution exclusion applies to at

least some of the Livingston Plaintiffs’ allegations. 3 A review of the

complaint against the language of the pollution exclusion confirms the

exclusion’s applicability. The Livingston Plaintiffs allege that Copart’s

activities have led to the discharge of various hazardous materials and

chemicals, including, inter alia, gasoline, oil, antifreeze, hydraulic fluids,

lead, and arsenic, that have in turn caused aesthetic harm in the form of

cloudy water and physical harm to nearby flora and fauna. The complaint

thus includes many allegations that fit within the CGL policies’ pollution

exclusion—that is, allegations of damage resulting “in whole or part” from

Copart’s “discharge, dispersal, seepage, migration, release or escape of”

materials including “chemicals and waste.”

_____________________

3

As Liberty and Copart acknowledge on appeal, the operative pleading for this

court’s duty-to-defend analysis is the Livingston Plaintiffs’ Third Amended Complaint,

filed in federal court in South Carolina on March 9, 2018. See Northfield Ins. Co. v. Loving

Home Care, Inc., 363 F.3d 523, 528 (5th Cir. 2004) (“The duty to defend is determined by

consulting the latest amended pleading.” (citation omitted))).

9

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 10 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

The central dispute here is whether the Livingston Plaintiffs have

alleged any facts that do not fall within the pollution exclusion. To get around

the exclusion, Copart must identify allegations of harm by non-pollutants

alone. We reiterate that the exclusion negates coverage for harms that

“would not have occurred in whole or part but for” pollutants. Given the

breadth of the exclusion, Copart must identify allegations in the Livingston

complaint that are confined to non-pollutants. If the complaint contains such

allegations, then the suit triggers Liberty’s duty to defend, despite that the

other allegations in the complaint may be excluded. Evanston Ins. Co., 645

F.3d at 745 (“If any allegation in the complaint is even potentially covered by

the policy then the insurer has a duty to defend its insured.” (emphasis in

original) (citation omitted)).

In search of non-excluded allegations, Copart points out that the

Livingston Plaintiffs’ complaint names “30+ independent substances,”

including some non-pollutants such as water, soil, and sediment. Copart

relies, in various ways, on the complaint’s allegations regarding these

substances to argue that the Underlying Suit contains allegations not

excluded from coverage by the pollution exclusion, thereby triggering

Liberty’s duty to defend. None of Copart’s arguments is persuasive.

First, Copart asserts that Liberty unjustifiably reads the Livingston

Plaintiffs’ allegations to refer to a “composite,” “inseparable” substance—

namely, polluted water—that damaged the Livingston Plaintiffs’ properties.

Copart contends that the Livingston Plaintiffs’ complaint is better read as

alleging harm from a long list of “independent” substances, some of which

are pollutants and some of which are not. Read this way, Copart argues, the

Livingston Plaintiffs’ complaint alleges harm from non-pollutants alone.

But this argument is meritless. Copart is correct that the complaint

mentions many different substances, some of which, like water, may indeed

10

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 11 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

be non-pollutants. 4 But it exceeds the bounds of plausibility to interpret the

complaint as alleging “independent” harm by the non-pollutant substances.

The narrative thrust of the complaint is that rainfall carries pollutant-laden

stormwater from Copart’s properties to the plaintiffs’ properties and thereby

causes them harm. The water is indeed alleged to include some non-

pollutants like soil, sediment, dirt, rock, and sand, but the water is also

consistently and repeatedly alleged to include “hazardous materials and

chemicals” and “chemical waste.” With only one discernible exception,

discussed infra, Copart cites no specific allegation from the complaint

supporting its position that the pleading can be read to allege harm by non-

polluted water alone. 5

_____________________

4

We accept arguendo Copart’s contention that some of the named substances are

not pollutants under the exclusion, but we need not, and do not, resolve this question one

way or the other.

5

In support of its position, Copart cites two unpublished district-court cases from

Virginia. Neither is germane. First, in Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co v. Boyd Corp., No.

09-211, 2010 WL 331757 (E.D. Va. Jan. 25, 2010), the district court found that a pollution

exclusion did not preclude a duty to defend because, while the underlying complaint

contained “several allegations of damage from ‘polluted stormwater,’ there [we]re also

allegations in the complaint of damage from ‘water’” alone. Id. at *4. The court pointed

in part to “allegations of damage attributable to excess water flow,” which was not a

“pollutant” under the policy. Id. Here, the Livingston Plaintiffs make no comparable

allegation.

Copart’s second case, Builders Mutual Insurance Co. v. Half Court Press, LLC, No.

09-46, 2010 WL 3033911 (W.D. Va. Aug. 3, 2010), more closely resembles this case. There,

the court considered an allegation that the insured, a property developer, had negligently

failed “to create and maintain sufficient detention basins and erosion and sediment control

measures,” causing the underlying plaintiffs’ downslope property to be damaged by “the

continued presence of such water, dirt, spoil, rock, sand, silt, debris and/or other such

sediment.” Id. at *3. The court read this statement to “allege[] damage from water, in

addition to damage from sediment,” and found a duty to defend because “[w]ater is not a

pollutant under the exclusion.” Id. at *3-4. But these allegations differ from those of the

Livingston Plaintiffs. Damage in the form of “continued presence of water,” due to a

failure to maintain detention basins and erosion controls, sounds less in pollution than the

11

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 12 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

Detached from the allegations as written, Copart instead argues that

the non-pollutant substances “could,” in fact, “potentially be the damage-

causing culprit,” i.e., “the source of at least some of the damage alleged by

the Underlying Plaintiffs.” Copart asserts that “[n]on-polluted stormwater

flowing from Copart’s property after a significant rain event could stir up

[non-pollutant] substances . . . resulting in cloudy water” on the Livingston

Plaintiffs’ properties, and that such a “possibility is entirely compatible with

the allegations in the Livingston Complaint.” But these arguments are out

of bounds on the duty-to-defend analysis, under which the court may not

“imagine factual scenarios which might trigger coverage.” Waste Mgmt., 974

F.3d at 535 (quoting Nat’l Union, 939 S.W.2d 139 at 142). The duty to defend

is governed by the allegations in the complaint, and the complaint alleges

harm by water laden with pollutants.

Finally, Liberty’s interpretation of the complaint—i.e., “composite”

stormwater laden with various substances including pollutants, rather than

“30+ independent substances,” any or all of which allegedly caused harm—

is broadly consistent with this court’s decision in Noble Energy, 529 F.3d at

642. There, the court found that a pollution exclusion applied to negate the

insurer’s duty to defend where the underlying plaintiffs alleged damage from

“a mixture of highly flammable gas condensate and presumably innocuous

basic sediment and waste.” Id. at 647 (emphasis added). As in Noble, that

the alleged water contains some “presumably innocuous” materials does not

push the complaint’s allegations outside the scope of the pollution exclusion.

_____________________

Livingston Plaintiffs’ alleged injuries, which focus on harm to flora and fauna and cloudy

water, caused by the introduction of various substances, many of which are indisputably

pollutants. In other words, the complaint at issue in Half Court could plausibly be read to

allege harm by the presence of water itself, while the complaint here alleges harm from

substances in that water. Regardless, even Half Court were comparable, we are not bound

by this out-of-circuit opinion.

12

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 13 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

For these reasons, the district court did not err in declining to read

into the complaint allegations of “independent” harm by non-pollutants

alone.

In a similar vein, Copart argues that the Livingston Plaintiffs allege

damage caused by “various naturally occurring materials . . . in the

stormwater” that are not pollutants under the CGL policies. Specifically,

Copart contends that water, soil, sediment, dirt, rock, sand nutrients,

biological material, and “other matter” are “indigenous to—indeed,

prevalent in—the geographical area where the Copart and Underlying

Plaintiffs’ properties are located and are not ‘pollutants.’” Copart cites non-

Texas cases for the proposition that the pollution exclusion does not apply to

substances like these and contends that the Livingston Plaintiffs’ allegations

mentioning these substances give rise to a duty to defend.

But this argument rests on the faulty premise that we have already

rejected. It does not matter if these “indigenous” substances are not

pollutants under the policy because, as explained, the complaint alleges harm

by stormwater laden with both non-pollutants and pollutants. And the

pollution exclusion covers harms caused “in whole or part” by pollutants.

Copart cites no allegations of harm by these “indigenous” substances alone.

And again, Copart transgresses the limits of the duty-to-defend

inquiry when it asserts that, as a matter of fact, the cloudy water on the

Livingston Plaintiffs’ properties “could have been caused by the discharge and

movement of these natural, indigenous substances.” It is the allegations in

the pleadings, not hypothetical facts, that dictate our analysis. Waste Mgmt.,

974 F.3d at 535.

In seeking to show that Liberty has a duty to defend, Copart

emphasizes one specific allegation in the complaint above all else. In

paragraph 118 of the complaint, which Copart dubs the “Water Trespass

13

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 14 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

Allegation,” the Livingston Plaintiffs allege that Copart’s “actions

constitute a trespass by encroachment of water, sediment, and other matter

onto Plaintiffs’ property.” Copart contends that this paragraph “alleges

water as a cause of damage, clearly triggering Liberty Mutual’s duty to

defend.” In other words, the argument goes, the Livingston Plaintiffs allege

trespass caused by water alone, and water is a non-pollutant.

While the quoted allegation may admit of such an interpretation if

read in isolation, “Texas law requires us to consider the allegations in the

complaint along with any reasonable inferences that flow from the facts

alleged”—that is, “all the facts alleged in combination”—when assessing

the duty to defend. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v. Graham, 473 F.3d 596, 601-02

(5th Cir. 2006) (citing Allstate Ins. Co. v. Hallman, 159 S.W.3d 640, 645 (Tex.

2005)). And the context surrounding this allegation defeats Copart’s

proffered interpretation. The so-called Water Trespass Allegation is situated

in a seven-paragraph cause of action asserting that Copart’s conduct satisfies

the legal elements of trespass. The paragraph immediately preceding the

cited allegation alleges that Copart has caused “harmful material to enter and

flow onto Plaintiffs’ properties by permitting its improperly controlled

stormwater, laden with soil, sediment, chemicals and other pollutants, to be

discharged onto Plaintiffs’ properties.” Similarly, the very next paragraph

alleges that Copart “knew or should have known that their activities in failing

to properly manage their industrial and land disturbance activities in close

proximity to Plaintiffs’ property would, to a substantial certainty, result in

the discharge of stormwater laden with soil, sediment, and harmful chemicals

onto the property of Plaintiffs.” The next two paragraphs each allege, again,

that Copart is responsible for “stormwater laden with soil, sediment, and

harmful chemicals on[] Plaintiffs’ properties . . . .”

This context instructs that the “water, sediment, and other matter”

referred to in paragraph 118 is the same pollutant-laden stormwater that is

14

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 15 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

the subject of the rest of the trespass allegation. Indeed, this polluted

stormwater is discussed throughout the complaint; paragraph 118 simply

uses language that is less precise than other parts of the complaint. And

although Copart urges us to resolve all doubts about this allegation in its

favor, given the context and the inferences it yields, “the facts alleged” in

this one phrase, in this one paragraph, “do not create that degree of doubt

which compels resolution of the issue for the insured.” Nat’l Union, 939

S.W.2d at 142. 6

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the district court’s conclusion

that the Underlying Suit does not trigger Liberty’s duty to defend under the

CGL policies.

B.

Copart also contends that Liberty has a separate duty to defend under

the umbrella policies. We disagree.

The relevant endorsement in the umbrella policies provides that

Liberty “will have the right and duty to defend any ‘suit’ seeking damages

covered by this insurance, . . . if the ‘retained limit’ has been exhausted by

payment of damages that would be covered by this endorsement.’” The

“retained limit” is $1,000,000. The parties do not dispute that the retained

limit has not been exhausted. This would appear to end this court’s inquiry

as to the umbrella policies: the duty to defend the Underlying Suit does not

_____________________

6

Copart asserts in a footnote that its interpretation of the Water Trespass

Allegation is plausible because the encroachment of water alone can constitute trespass

under South Carolina law. But, again, this observation misses the point, because the duty

to defend is concerned with the facts alleged, not the legal theories asserted. Evanston Ins.

Co., 645 F.3d at 745 (citations omitted).

15

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 16 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

attach unless and until the limit has been exhausted, and it has not been

exhausted.

Copart attempts to get around this fact in two ways. First, Copart

contends that the district court erred in granting summary judgment on this

basis because Liberty did not raise the retained-limit issue in its motion for

summary judgment. But even though Copart is right about Liberty’s initial

omission, 7 this argument is unavailing. The district judge “is free to grant

summary judgment on the basis of any facts shown by competent evidence in

the record.” United States v. Hous. Pipeline Co., 37 F.3d 224, 227 (5th Cir.

1994) (citations omitted). And in any event, this court in its appellate role

“may affirm a summary judgment on any ground supported by the record.”

Campos, 10 F.4th at 520, 526 (citations omitted). The retained-limit

argument and the supporting portions of the record are fully before this court.

Copart cites this court’s decision in Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. v.

Laguarta, 939 F.2d 1231 (5th Cir. 1991) for the proposition that, while we

generally may affirm summary judgment on a ground not relied upon below,

Liberty’s failure to raise the retained limit as a ground for summary judgment

means that this court may not rely on it to affirm summary judgment on

appeal. But Laguarta’s holding is more qualified than Copart implies. The

court in Laguarta held that it would be improper “under the circumstances

of th[at] case to affirm a summary judgment on . . . grounds that were neither

_____________________

7

While Liberty quoted the “retained limit” language in its opening summary-

judgment brief, this quotation of the policy was Liberty’s sole reference to the retained

limit, and it was unaccompanied by any arguments addressing its effect. Indeed, rather

than argue the retained-limit point, Liberty merely asserted that “[n]one of the exceptions

to the [umbrella policies’] [pollution] exclusion apply,” and that Liberty therefore has no

duty to defend under the umbrella policies. Liberty first argued the retained-limit issue in

its combined opposition to Copart’s motion for summary judgment and reply in support of

its own motion for summary judgment.

16

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 17 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

raised below by [the appellee] nor even raised sua sponte by the district

court,” because “the parties were not afforded an opportunity to develop the

issue below, and it was not implicit or included in the issues or evidence

tendered below.” Id. at 1240. In such a case, the opposing party may lack

notice of the issue, and the record may be inadequately developed in relevant

respects. Id. These are not the circumstances here. The parties here had an

opportunity to develop the retained-limit issue below, and it was the entire

basis of the district court’s ruling as to the umbrella policies. There is no

suggestion that the record is inadequately developed on this issue, which

merely requires the court to read an insurance policy.

Copart argues in the alternative that the retained-limit provision is

without effect. It contends that the provision is found in an endorsement

(#8) that conflicts with a different endorsement (#14) in the umbrella

policies, and that this conflict generates an ambiguity that must be resolved

in favor of Copart. The asserted conflict is as follows.

The umbrella policies’ main coverage form provides, in Section 1.b,

that Liberty’s duty to defend is triggered when (a) Copart’s underlying

insurance has been exhausted, or (b) Copart’s underlying insurance does not

cover a claim but the umbrella insurance does. Endorsement #14, titled

“Duty to Defend Amendment,” modifies one sentence in Section 1.b, but

not the provisions just cited. Specifically, Endorsement #14 replaces the

sentence, “However, we have no duty to defend any ‘suit’ if any other

insurer has a duty to defend all or a portion of that ‘suit,’” with the sentence,

“However, we have no duty to defend any ‘suit’ against the insured if any

other insurer has a duty to defend the insured against all or a portion of that

‘suit.’” Endorsement #14 makes no other change to Section 1.b.

Endorsement #8, titled “Combined Named Peril and Time Element

Pollution Liability Coverage—with Duty to Defend and Products-

17

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 18 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

Completed Operations Amendment,” also modifies Section 1.b. And unlike

Endorsement #14, Endorsement #8 modifies Section 1.b’s duty-to-defend

criteria. Specifically, it provides that, “[f]or the purposes of this

endorsement,” the duty to defend is triggered not by criteria (a) and (b) listed

above, but instead “if the ‘retained limit’ has been exhausted by payment of

damages that would be covered by this endorsement.’” “[T]his

endorsement” consists of a pollution exclusion, as well as a series of

exceptions to the exclusion. Endorsement #8 uses the “other insurer”

sentence as modified by Endorsement #14 (rather than the sentence from the

primary coverage form), and otherwise leaves the rest of Section 1.b

unchanged.

Copart contends that these two endorsements conflict. It argues that

Endorsement #14 provides for a duty to defend if the underlying insurance

excludes coverage (here, via the CGL policies’ pollution exclusion) and the

umbrella policies provide coverage (here, via a particular exception to the

pollution exclusion not found in the CGL policies). Endorsement #8, on the

other hand, provides for a duty to defend only if the retained limit has been

exhausted. Copart cites case law suggesting that conflicting endorsements to

an insurance policy generate an ambiguity as a matter of law that must be

resolved in favor of the insured. See INA of Tex. v. Leonard, 714 S.W.2d 414,

417 (Tex. Ct. App. 1986) (finding that two conflicting endorsements created

an ambiguity that had to be resolved in favor of coverage for the insured);

Pogo Res., LLC v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co., No. 19-2682, 2022 WL

209276, at *15 (N.D. Tex. Jan. 24, 2022) (“When, as here, an endorsement

narrowing coverage creates ambiguity by conflicting with an endorsement

expanding coverage, the construction that affords coverage to the insured

governs.”).

But Copart’s argument ignores the language of the endorsements, as

well as fundamental principles of insurance-policy interpretation. Under

18

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 19 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

Texas law, when interpreting an insurance contract, the court “must read all

parts of the contract together, giving effect to each word, clause, and

sentence, and avoid making any provision within the policy inoperative.”

State Farm Lloyds v. Page, 315 S.W.3d 525, 527 (Tex. 2010). Endorsements

to insurance policies should not be read into meaninglessness. See Primrose

Operating Co. v. Nat’l Am. Ins. Co., 382 F.3d 546, 559 (5th Cir. 2004).

Here, the two endorsements can be interpreted in a way that gives

effect to each. Endorsement #14 modifies Section 1.b as to Liberty’s duty to

defend Copart in circumstances where another insurer has such a duty. This

is the only modification that Endorsement #14 makes to Section 1.b. The

endorsement is general in scope and does not purport to attach to any

particular types of claims. Endorsement #8, on the other hand, modifies the

duty to defend only as to claims that are covered by that endorsement, i.e.,

pollution claims. The modification begins with the phrase, “For the purposes

of this endorsement.” Copart does not acknowledge this limitation on the

endorsement’s scope. Accordingly, Endorsement #14 is best read as

modifying the general duty-to-defend provisions of the umbrella policy, while

Endorsement #8 is best read as modifying the duty-to-defend provisions only

for claims implicated by that endorsement, i.e., for pollution-related

damages. Copart’s perception of ambiguity ignores the plain language of the

endorsements, and its proposed construction reads parts of the

endorsement—namely, the retained-limit provision in Endorsement #8—

out of the policy, in contravention of Texas law. Page, 315 S.W.3d at 527;

Primrose Operating Co., 382 F.3d at 559.

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the district court’s conclusion

that Liberty has no duty to defend under the umbrella policies.

19

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 20 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

* * *

Because Liberty has no duty to defend Copart under the CGL policies

or the umbrella policies, we affirm summary judgment in favor of Liberty as

to its duty to defend.

IV.

Copart also appeals the district court’s grant of summary judgment in

favor of Liberty as to Liberty’s duty to indemnify. “In Texas, an insurer’s

duties to defend and indemnify its insured are ‘distinct and separate

duties.’” Colony Ins. Co. v. Peachtree Const., Ltd., 647 F.3d 248, 252 (5th Cir.

2011) (quoting Trinity Universal Ins. Co. v. Cowan, 945 S.W.2d 819, 821-22

(Tex. 1997)). While the duty to defend is determined “solely by the facts

alleged in the petition and the terms of the policy,” the duty to indemnify

“generally cannot be ascertained until the completion of litigation, when

liability is established, if at all.” Id. at 253 (citations omitted). In this way,

“[t]he difference between the two [duties] is a matter of timing.” Id.

Here, the district court addressed Liberty’s duty to indemnify Copart

in one sentence, writing that, “[b]ecause Liberty Mutual has no duty to

defend the Underlying Suit, it follows that it has no duty to indemnify.” In

so holding, the court cited American States Insurance Co. v. Bailey, 133 F.3d

363 (5th Cir. 1998), in which this court wrote that “[l]ogic and common sense

dictate that if there is no duty to defend, then there must be no duty to

indemnify.” Id. at 368. But this ipso facto rule has been abrogated in the years

since Bailey. As this court later explained in Peachtree:

In many cases an insurer may have a duty to defend but,

eventually, no duty to indemnify. This has led some courts to

observe that in Texas the duty to defend is broader than the

duty to indemnify, because an insurer is obligated to defend

20

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 21 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

whenever there is any potential basis for liability under the

policy, while the duty to indemnify may never be realized.

Other courts have run with this concept, erroneously holding

that because the duty to defend is broader than the duty to

indemnify, there can be no duty to indemnify absent a duty to

defend.

647 F.3d at 253-54 (cleaned up) (citations omitted). Thus, the assumption

that the duty to indemnify cannot exist where there is no duty to defend is

“faulty.” Id. at 254. Indeed, the court in Peachtree noted that the Texas

Supreme Court had recently “clarified that an insurer may have a duty to

indemnify even though the duty to defend never arises.” Id. (citing D.R.

Horton-Texas, Ltd. v. Markel Int’l Ins. Co., 300 S.W.3d 740, 744-45 (Tex.

2009)). Accordingly, in Peachtree, “the district court’s summary judgment

for [the insurer] was both premature and incorrect.” 647 F.3d at 255.

Such are the circumstances here. The district court granted summary

judgment for Liberty on its duty to indemnify while the Underlying Suit

remained pending. In this regard, summary judgment was premature.

Moreover, the district court found no duty to indemnify solely because it had

found that Liberty had no duty to defend. In this sense, summary judgment

was based on a “faulty assumption” and was incorrect. “[T]he facts

adduced at trial might differ from the allegations, and thus, a duty to

indemnify could be shown notwithstanding the absence of a duty to defend.”

Id. at 254.

Liberty cites the Texas Supreme Court’s decision in Farmers Texas

County Mutual Insurance Co. v. Griffin, 955 S.W.2d 81 (Tex. 1997) for the

proposition that the duty to indemnify may be “justiciable before the

insured’s liability is determined in the liability lawsuit when the insurer has

no duty to defend and the same reasons that negate the duty to defend

likewise negate any possibility the insurer will ever have a duty to

21

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 22 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

indemnify.” In Griffin, for instance, the court explained that “[n]o facts

c[ould] be developed in the underlying tort suit that c[ould] transform a

drive-by shooting into an ‘auto accident,’” for the purposes of coverage. Id.

A no-indemnity finding before resolution of the underlying lawsuit was

therefore appropriate.

But this is not such a case. The duty to defend is negated here because

the Livingston Plaintiffs only allege damage caused, either in whole or in part,

by pollutants. But evidence arising from or related to the Underlying Suit

may reveal that non-pollutants caused the plaintiffs’ damage. 8 Indeed, it is

here that Copart’s theories regarding the factual cause of the Livingston

Plaintiffs’ injuries—not germane to the duty-to-defend question—come to

hold water. If, for example, relevant evidence shows that the plaintiffs’

“cloudy water” was caused only by sand and sediment, then the pollution

exclusion may not apply. If this were so, Liberty may be obligated to

indemnify Copart.

Indeed, over-application of Griffin is precisely what the Texas

Supreme Court reined in when it decided D.R. Horton. The court wrote:

_____________________

8

We reiterate that the Underlying Suit has now settled. But the issue of

indemnification remains live in this case because Copart seeks, and Liberty opposes,

indemnification for that settlement amount. But, because the Underlying Suit has settled,

the relevant factfinding—namely, whether and to what extent the settlement amount is

covered by Liberty’s policies with Copart—will take place on remand in this coverage

litigation. See, e.g., Columbia Mut. Ins. Co. v. Fiesta Mart, Inc., 987 F.2d 1124, 1126-29 (5th

Cir. 1993) (noting that, under Texas law “a prior judgment establishing liability is not

binding in a subsequent proceeding on coverage” and proceeding to assess whether an

insurer must indemnify a settlement reached by its insured); Enserch Corp. v. Shand

Morahan & Co., 952 F.2d 1485, 1493-94 (5th Cir. 1992) (explaining that, “[a]lthough the

insurers are bound by the settlement [the insured] arranged for itself in this case, they are

not estopped from contesting coverage of that liability,” and deciding that the “case must

be remanded for findings to make the necessary apportionment between damages for which

the insurers owe, and those for which they do not owe, [the insured] a duty to pay”).

22

Case: 21-10938 Document: 00516840351 Page: 23 Date Filed: 07/31/2023

No. 21-10938

[The insurer] reasons that if the terms of the policy, when read

in light of the allegations asserted in the petition, do not give

rise to a duty to defend, then proof of all of those allegations

could not give rise to a duty to indemnify. It relies on Griffin

for this proposition, but the holding in Griffin was fact-specific

and cannot be construed so broadly. . . . [Griffin’s] conclusion

was grounded on the impossibility that the drive-by shooting in

that case could be transformed by proof of any conceivable set

of facts into an auto accident covered by the insurance policy.

It was not based on a rationale that if a duty to defend does not

arise from the pleadings, no duty to indemnify could arise from

proof of the allegations in the petition. These duties are

independent, and the existence of one does not necessarily

depend on the existence or proof of the other.

300 S.W.3d at 744-45 (citations omitted).

We heed this guidance and decline Liberty’s invitation to apply the

Griffin holding to this case. As discussed above, this is not a case where no

“conceivable set of facts” could give rise to coverage.

We therefore reverse summary judgment as to indemnity and remand

for factfinding to determine Liberty’s duty to indemnify Copart with respect

to the Underlying Suit.

V.

We AFFIRM summary judgment as to Liberty’s duty to defend

Copart in the Underlying Suit. We REVERSE summary judgment as to

Liberty’s duty to indemnify Copart with respect to the Underlying Suit and

REMAND to the district court for further proceedings to determine

Liberty’s indemnity obligation, if any.

23

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.