Opinion

Weyerhaeuser v. Burlington Insurance

  • 74 F.4th 275
Court
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Filed
Jul 14, 2023
Status
Published
Nature of suit
Private Civil Diversity
Cited by
16 cases
Authority
More cited than 76.4%

outlining that a federal court may make an “Erie guess” to interpret state law when a state’s highest court has not rendered an on-point decision

How later courts described this case

  • outlining that a federal court may make an “Erie guess” to interpret state law when a state’s highest court has not rendered an on-point decision
  • “In its review of a motion to dismiss, the district court is limited to the contents of the pleadings, including attachments thereto.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 1 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit United States Court of Appeals

Fifth Circuit

____________ FILED

July 14, 2023

No. 22-30164 Lyle W. Cayce

____________ Clerk

Weyerhaeuser Company; Weyerhaeuser NR Company,

Plaintiffs—Appellants,

versus

Burlington Insurance Company; Evanston Insurance

Company,

Defendants—Appellees.

______________________________

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Louisiana

USDC No. 3:21-CV-905

______________________________

Before Wiener, Higginson, and Wilson, Circuit Judges.

Jacques L. Wiener, Jr., Circuit Judge:

Plaintiff-Appellant Weyerhaeuser NR Company (“NR”) entered into

a manufacturing agreement with Simsboro Coating Services, LLC

(“Simsboro”). That agreement required Simsboro to acquire commercial

general liability insurance, which it obtained from Defendants-Appellees

Burlington Insurance Company (“BIC”) and Evanston Insurance Company

(“EIC”). It further required that “Weyerhaeuser and its Subsidiaries” be

named as additional insureds. However, NR’s parent company,

Weyerhaeuser Company (“W. Co.”), was never added to the insurance

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 2 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

policies that Simsboro obtained from EIC and BIC. This insurance coverage

dispute arose after several personal injury lawsuits were filed against

Simsboro and W. Co. in state court. After those lawsuits settled, W. Co. and

NR sued BIC and EIC, demanding that they defend and indemnify W. Co.

and NR. EIC and BIC then filed Rule 12(b)(6) motions, which were granted

by the district court. We AFFIRM.

I. FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Plaintiff-Appellant NR is a wholly-owned subsidiary of W. Co.

(collectively, “Weyerhaeuser”), which is “one of the world’s largest private

owners of timberlands, [and] . . . one of the world’s largest manufacturers of

wood products.” According to Plaintiffs-Appellants, NR was founded in

2009 for the sole purpose of holding W. Co.’s taxable businesses.

Weyerhaeuser asserts that during the timeframe relevant to this case,

however, NR conducted all of Weyerhaeuser’s operations except for

timberland ownership, including Weyerhaeuser’s wood products

manufacturing business.

In March 2015, NR entered into a manufacturing agreement (the

“Agreement”) with Simsboro. Under the Agreement, Simsboro would aid

in the manufacture of Weyerhaeuser’s “Trus Joist TJIs” product by coating

wooden floor joists with a proprietary fire-retardant coating known as “Flak

Jacket.” The coating work at issue was to be performed in a Weyerhaeuser

facility located in Simsboro, Louisiana. The Agreement required Simsboro to

obtain commercial general liability (“CGL”) insurance, under which

“Weyerhaeuser and its Subsidiaries” would be named as “Additional

Insured[s].” The Agreement also contained an indemnification provision

whereby Simsboro agreed to “indemnify, defend, and hold harmless

Weyerhaeuser, and its parent company . . . against all claims, damages, fines,

penalties, costs, liabilities, or losses” arising from Simsboro’s negligence,

other tortious fault, intentional misconduct, and other situations.

2

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 3 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

Pursuant to the Agreement, Simsboro obtained CGL policies 1 (the

“CGL Policies”) from Defendant-Appellee Burlington BIC and an excess

insurance policy2 (the “Excess Policy”) from Defendant-Appellee EIC. NR

was added as an “additional insured” on the CGL Policies, and the Excess

Policy incorporated this endorsement by reference. W. Co., however, was

never added as an additional insured on the CGL Policies.

Between October 2017 and July 2018, three separate personal injury

lawsuits were filed in Louisiana and Washington against Simsboro and W.

Co. in connection with work performed under the Agreement. The plaintiffs,

who included former Simsboro employees and their spouses, alleged that

they were exposed to dangerous levels of formaldehyde because of the

coating work done at W. Co.’s Simsboro, Louisiana facility. The plaintiffs

alleged that (1) W. Co. owned and controlled the formula and specifications

for the Flak Jacket coating; (2) W. Co. altered a previous Flak Jacket formula,

creating a new formula that contained dangerous levels of formaldehyde; (3)

W. Co. was aware of the dangers of formaldehyde exposure but did not warn

or otherwise notify the Simsboro employees; and (4) some of those

employees suffered physical ailments as a result. The Louisiana-based

lawsuits against Simsboro and W. Co. alleged violations of the Louisiana

Products Liability Act, La. Civ. Code art. 2800, negligence under La.

Civ. Code arts. 2315 & 2316, and strict liability under La Civ. Code art.

_____________________

1

The CGL Policies include policy number 245BW35682, which took effect on May

18, 2016, and expired on May 18, 2017, and policy number 245BW39882, which took effect

on May 18, 2017, and expired on May 18, 2018.

2

The Excess Policy (policy number MKLV4EUL100784) would insure Simsboro

after the BIC policy limit was exhausted. The Excess Policy took effect on May 18, 2017,

and expired on May 18, 2018.

3

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 4 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

2317.1. The Washington-based lawsuit against W. Co. involved an alleged

violation of the Washington Products Liability Act, RCW 7.72, et seq.

In September 2020, all parties to the lawsuits mediated and reached a

settlement. W. Co. then demanded that BIC and EIC defend and indemnify

it for the costs of settling the lawsuits, but BIC and EIC refused to do so. As

a result, W. Co. and NR sued EIC, BIC, and Simsboro in the Western District

of Louisiana, asserting breach of contract claims against those three

defendants, plus a prompt-payment violation against BIC. Weyerhaeuser

asserted that BIC and EIC knew that W. Co. was an additional insured under

the Agreement, thus triggering EIC’s and BIC’s duty to defend and

indemnify W. Co. in the underlying lawsuits. Weyerhaeuser also asserted, in

the alternative, that the Agreement qualifies as an “insured contract” under

the CGL Policies, and thereby manifested a clear intent to include W. Co.

and NR as third-party beneficiaries to the policies.

BIC and EIC each filed Rule 12(b)(6) motions, asserting that dismissal

was appropriate because W. Co. had failed to state claims for breach of

contract and lack of prompt payment. EIC and BIC argued that they had no

duty to compensate, defend, or indemnify W. Co. because (1) W. Co. was not

a named or additional insured in the policies, (2) there was no mutual mistake

among them, and (3) the underlying personal injury lawsuits were filed only

against W. Co. and not NR too. In its opposition to the motions,

Weyerhaeuser reasserted the allegations in its complaint and also asserted

that (1) contract reformation was warranted because of a mutual mistake, and

(2) EIC and BIC had waived the right to deny coverage to Weyerhaeuser.

Before considering Defendants-Appellees’ motions to dismiss, the

Magistrate Judge ordered Weyerhaeuser to amend its complaint to clarify the

citizenship of Simsboro for diversity jurisdiction. Weyerhaeuser complied

but did not add any other factual allegations pertinent to its opposition to the

4

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 5 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

motions to dismiss. After reviewing the amended complaint, the Magistrate

Judge prepared a Report and Recommendation recommending that both

motions to dismiss be granted. The Magistrate Judge reasoned that

Weyerhaeuser had failed to state breach of contract and prompt payment

claims against BIC and EIC because W. Co. was not named as an additional

insured in the policies and NR was not sued in the underlying personal injury

lawsuits. The Magistrate Judge also ruled that W. Co. could not be an

indemnitee or a third-party beneficiary of the policies.

The district court conducted a de novo review of the record, adopted

the Magistrate Judge’s Report and Recommendation, and granted both

motions to dismiss. The district court entered a Rule 54(b) judgment of

dismissal, and Plaintiffs-Appellants timely appealed.

II. STANDARD OF REVIEW

We review a motion to dismiss de novo, accepting all well-pleaded facts

as true and drawing all inferences in favor of the plaintiff.3 “To survive a

motion to dismiss, a complaint must contain sufficient factual matter,

accepted as true, to ‘state a claim to relief that is plausible on its face.’” 4

Conclusional allegations, naked assertions, and “formulaic recitation[s] of

the elements of a cause of action will not do.” 5 In its review of a motion to

dismiss, the district court is limited to the contents of the pleadings, including

attachments thereto.6 However, “‘[d]ocuments that a defendant attaches to

_____________________

3

Marks v. Hudson, 933 F.3d 481, 485 (5th Cir. 2019).

4

Ashcroft v. Iqbal, 556 U.S. 662, 678 (2009) (quoting Bell Atl. Corp. v. Twombly, 550

U.S. 544, 570 (2007)).

5

Id.

6

Collins v. Morgan Stanley Dean Witter, 224 F.3d 496, 498–99 (5th Cir. 2000).

5

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 6 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

a motion to dismiss are considered part of the pleadings if they are referred

to in the plaintiff’s complaint and are central to her claims.’”7

III. ANALYSIS

Weyerhaeuser asserted three claims in its amended complaint: (1)

breach of contract against Simsboro; (2) breach of contract against BIC and

EIC; and (3) violation of Louisiana Insurance Code § 22:1892, which involves

prompt payment. The district court dismissed all claims against BIC and

EIC. Only the breach of contract claims against BIC and EIC are at issue in

this appeal because the prompt payment claim was waived. 8

Weyerhaeuser contends that BIC and EIC clearly breached the CGL

Policies and the Excess Policy by failing to defend and indemnify W. Co. and

NR as additional insureds or third-party beneficiaries in connection with the

underlying personal injury lawsuits. The CGL Policies and the Excess Policy9

are contracts, so the general rules of Louisiana contract interpretation

_____________________

7

Id. (alteration in original) (quoting Venture Assocs. Cop. v. Zenith Data Sys. Corp.,

987 F.2d 429, 431 (7th Cir. 1993)).

8

Weyerhaeuser did not brief the district court’s dismissal of its claim under

Louisiana Insurance Code § 22:1892. Defendants-Appellees raised that issue in their briefs,

alleging that Weyerhaeuser waived this claim on appeal. Weyerhaeuser contends that it did

not waive this claim because “[t]he basis for the District Court’s dismissal of these claims

is entirely subsumed within the errors set forth in Weyerhaeuser’s opening brief.”

Defendants-Appellees correctly point out, however, that it is well-settled in this circuit that

“an argument not raised in an appellant’s original brief as required by [Rule 28] is waived.”

See United States v. Ogle, 415 F.3d 382, 383 (5th Cir. 2005). Accordingly, Weyerhaeuser’s

prompt payment claim under Louisiana Insurance Code § 22:1892 was waived on appeal.

9

It is important to note that EIC’s insurance obligations under the Excess Policy

were not activated unless the underlying CGL Policy was exhausted. EIC raised this issue

in the proceedings below, asserting that Weyerhaeuser failed to sufficiently plead

exhaustion. The district court, through the Magistrate Judge, held that it was unnecessary

to reach this issue. EIC raised additional issues, such as whether a total pollution exclusion

barred coverage and whether Weyerhaeuser had obtained its consent to settle, but these

issues were not analyzed in the Magistrate Judge’s Report and Recommendation.

6

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 7 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

apply.10 The elements of a breach of contract claim under Louisiana law are:

(1) the existence of a contract; (2) a party’s breach thereof; and (3) resulting

damages.11 It is well settled that “[t]he party claiming the rights under the

contract bears the burden of proof.”12 The Louisiana Civil Code states that

“[t]he judiciary’s role in interpreting insurance contracts is to ascertain the

common intent of the parties to the contract.”13 “If the wording is clear and

unambiguous with regard to the parties’ intent, the insurance policy must be

enforced as written.”14 Moreover, “[t]he rules of construction do not

authorize a perversion of the words or the exercise of inventive powers to

create an ambiguity where none exists or the making of a new contract when

the terms express with sufficient clarity the parties’ intent.” 15

A. Whether BIC and EIC had a duty to defend W. Co. and NR as

additional insureds

An “insurer’s duty to defend is nevertheless measured by the

allegations of the petition even though the insurer may have determined that

there was no coverage on the basis of known or ascertainable facts.”16 This

analysis is known as the “eight-corners rule,” under which the insurer must

_____________________

10

Bernard v. Ellis, 2011-2377, (La. 7/2/12); 111 So. 3d 995, 1002; see also Mayo v.

State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 2003-1801, (La. 2/25/04); 869 So. 2d 96, 99 (citing La.

Civ. Code art. 2045).

11

1100 S. Jefferson Davis Parkway, LLC v. Williams, 14-1326, p. 5 (La. App. 4 Cir.

5/20/15); 165 So. 3d 1211, 1216, writ denied, 15-1449 (La. 10/9/15); 178 So. 3d 1005.

12

Id.

13

Mayo, 869 So. 2d at 909 (citing La. Civ. Code art. 2045).

14

Ilgenfritz v. Canopius U.S. Ins., 51,540-CA (La. App. 2 Cir. 8/9/17); 243 So. 3d

1109, 1112.

15

Mayo, 869 So. 2d at 99–100.

16

Benoit v. Fuselier, 195 So. 2d 679, 683 (La. App. 3 Cir. 1967).

7

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 8 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

look to the “four corners” of the plaintiff’s petition and the “four corners”

of the insurance policy to determine whether it owes that duty to the

plaintiff.17 The duty to defend under Louisiana law is generally broader than

an insurer’s liability for damage claims, and an insurer is typically “obligated

to furnish a defense unless the petition unambiguously excludes coverage.”18

Furthermore, “the allegations of the petition are liberally interpreted” when

determining the duty to defend the insured.19 The district court applied the

eight-corners rule via the Report and Recommendation, and held that the

allegations in the personal injury lawsuits pertained only to W. Co. and

Simsboro—not to NR, the only named Additional Insured.

Weyerhaeuser takes issue with the district court’s application of the

eight-corners rule, asserting that it was erroneous and “hyper-formalistic.”

Weyerhaeuser contends that the eight-corners rule should be loosely applied

or disregarded altogether because extrinsic evidence is necessary for the

analysis of its claims. Citing various Louisiana cases,20 cases outside this

circuit, and an insurance treatise,21 Weyerhaeuser asserts that Louisiana

courts may look beyond the eight corners of the complaint and the policy to

determine whether the duty to defend exists. Regarding extrinsic evidence,

Weyerhaeuser claims that the “subsequent pleadings and the insurers’ actual

_____________________

17

Hoffpauir v. Cajundome Comm’n, 2020-423 (La. App. 3 Cir. 4/21/21); 318 So. 3d

334, 339.

18

Charley Am. Home Assur. Co. v. Czarniecki, 230 So. 2d 253, 259 (La. 1969).

19

T.H.E. Ins. Co. v. Larsen Intermodal Servs., Inc., 242 F.3d 667, 677 (5th Cir. 2001).

20

See, e.g., Grimaldi Mech., L.L.C. v. The Gray Ins. Co., 2005-0695 (La. App. 4 Cir.

6/2/06); 933 So. 2d 887 writ denied sub nom. Grimaldi Mech., L.L.C. v. Gray Ins. Co., 2006-

2146 (La. 11/17/06); 942 So. 2d 536; Bryant v. Motwani, 96-1351 (La. App. 4 Cir. 10/30/96);

683 So. 2d 880, 884; State Farm Fire and Cas. Co. v. Target Corp., 939 F. Supp. 2d 593

(M.D. La. 2011).

21

STEVEN PLITT, ET AL., COUCH ON INSURANCE § 200:22 (3d ed. 2020).

8

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 9 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

or constructive knowledge left no doubt that [NR] was the true party in the

underlying litigation.”

Weyerhaeuser further contends that the alleged misnomer in the

personal injury lawsuits presents a novel issue that requires this court to make

an “Erie guess” regarding Louisiana insurance law. Courts may make an

“Erie guess” when there is no decision on point from the state’s supreme

court regarding that issue, which in this case is the Louisiana Supreme

Court.22 An Erie guess would require this court to “employ Louisiana’s

civilian methodology, [and] first examine primary sources of law: the

constitution, codes, and statutes.”23 In support, Weyerhaeuser relies on the

treatise, COUCH ON INSURANCE, which states that “some jurisdictions . . .

consider extrinsic evidence in determining whether the insurer has a duty to

defend.”24 Weyerhaeuser notes that this court has relied on COUCH ON

INSURANCE to make Erie guesses regarding Louisiana insurance law in at

least two instances.25 Indeed, in Weaver v. CCA Industries, Inc., this court

relied on that treatise when it made an Erie guess to determine how a policy

exclusion should be interpreted, noting that “no Louisiana court has

considered this particular exclusion in this context.” 26 Further, in In re

_____________________

22

See Apache Deepwater, L.L.C. v. W&T Offshore, Inc., 930 F.3d 647, 654 (5th Cir.

2019).

23

Id. (quoting In re Katrina Canal Breaches Litig., 495 F.3d 191, 206 (5th Cir.

2007)).

24

COUCH ON INSURANCE § 200:22.

25

See, e.g., Weaver v. CCA Indus., Inc., 529 F.3d 335, 342 (5th Cir. 2008); In re

Katrina, 495 F.3d at 208.

26

Weaver, 529 F.3d at 342.

9

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 10 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

Katrina Canal Breaches Litigation, this court relied on that treatise’s

definition of “flood” to assist in interpreting an insurance policy.27

COUCH ON INSURANCE does not instruct us to abandon the eight

corners rule in this case, however. The Erie guesses in Weaver and In re

Katrina pertain to the interpretation of particular words or provisions in

insurance contracts—not to the interpretation of Louisiana contract law

canons. COUCH ON INSURANCE states that “a court has no obligation to

examine evidence extrinsic in determining whether the liability insurer has a

duty to defend the underlying action where the allegations of the complaint

are not ambiguous.”28 Importantly, none of the cases which that treatise cites

in support of considering extrinsic evidence apply Louisiana law. 29

Moreover, that treatise clearly states that “under Louisiana law, in

determining whether [the] insurer has duty to defend, court[s] will look only

to factual allegations in [the] complaint; statements of conclusions in [the]

complaint that are unsupported by factual allegations will not trigger [the]

duty to defend.”30 Weyerhaeuser’s assertion that we must forego the eight-

corners rule in favor of an “Erie guess” is therefore unavailing.

Moreover, as the Magistrate Judge’s Report and Recommendation

correctly points out, none of the Louisiana cases cited by Weyerhaeuser held

that pleadings outside the complaint may extend a duty to defend an entity

that is not named in the underlying suit. For example, in Grimaldi Mechanical,

L.L.C. v. The Gray Insurance Co., the Louisiana Fourth Circuit considered

_____________________

27

In re Katrina, 495 F.3d at 212.

28

COUCH ON INSURANCE § 200:22.

29

Id.

30

Id. (citing Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v. Jotun Paints, Inc., 555 F. Supp. 2d 686 (E.D.

La. 2008)).

10

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 11 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

the reconventional demand and corresponding exhibits of an adverse party to

interpret coverage—but only in relation to the named insured.31 The court

noted that the facts of the case were “somewhat of an anomaly,” but it still

applied the eight-corners rule.32 In Bryant v. Motwani, the Louisiana Fourth

Circuit clearly endorsed the eight-corners rule, holding that “[t]he duty to

defend is determined solely from the plaintiff’s pleadings and the face of the

policy, without consideration of extraneous evidence.” 33 Finally, in State

Farm Fire and Casualty Co. v. Target Corp., the U.S. District Court for the

Middle District of Louisiana considered the original petition and the

additional insured’s third party demand only against the named insured.34

Louisiana state and federal courts have consistently rejected loosening or

abandoning the eight-corners rule.35 We see no reason to stray from the eight-

corners rule here.

A simple application of the eight-corners rule in this case shows that

the duty to defend was not triggered by the complaints in the underlying

personal injury lawsuits. As a preliminary matter, the CGL Policies do not

list W. Co. as an additional insured; neither does the Excess Policy, which

incorporates the CGL Policies by reference. The three petitions in the

_____________________

31

933 So. 2d at 892.

32

Id. at 897.

33

683 So. 2d at 884.

34

939 F. Supp. 2d at 602.

35

Kent & Smith Holdings, LLC v. HDI Glob. Ins. Co., 344 F. Supp. 3d 878, 882

(M.D. La. 2018) (“Under Louisiana’s ‘Eight Corners Rule,’ duty to defend must be

analyzed by applying the allegations of the complaint without resort to extrinsic

evidence.”); Seilham v. Commonwealth Land Title Ins. Co., 360 F. Supp. 3d 412, 423 (E.D.

La. 2018) (“Thus, in evaluating an insurer’s duty to defend, a court examines only the

plaintiff’s pleadings and the face of the policy, without consideration of extraneous

evidence.” (internal quotes and citations omitted)).

11

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 12 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

underlying lawsuits do not mention NR at all, and the allegations relate only

to NR’s parent company, W. Co. The complaints assert that (1) W. Co.

owned and controlled the formula and specifications for the Flak Jacket

coating; (2) W. Co. altered a previous Flak Jacket formula, creating a new

formula that contained dangerous levels of formaldehyde; and (3) W. Co. was

aware of the dangers of formaldehyde exposure but did not warn or notify the

Simsboro employees. The petitions clearly define W. Co. as “one of the

world’s largest private owners of timberlands” and assert facts concerning

high-level corporate actions and responsibilities—not the actions of its

wholly-owned subsidiary, NR. We therefore conclude that EIC and BIC did

not have a duty to defend W. Co. and NR and that they did not breach their

defense obligations under the CGL Policies and the Excess Policy.

B. Whether BIC and EIC had a duty to indemnify W. Co. and NR

as additional insureds

This court has distinguished the duty-to-defend inquiry from the

duty-to-indemnify inquiry, explaining that “[w]hile factual inquiries beyond

the complaint are prohibited with respect to the duty to defend, they are

indispensable in assessing the duty to indemnify.” 36 In other words, courts

may consider extrinsic evidence to determine whether an insurer has a duty

to indemnify.37 In Chevron Oronite Co., L.L.C. v. Jacob Field Services North

America, Inc., this court held that, “[a]s a general rule, one seeking indemnity

for a settlement must show actual liability to recover.”38 Thus, the duty to

_____________________

36

Martco Ltd. P’ship v. Wellons, Inc., 588 F.3d 864, 872 (5th Cir. 2009).

37

Id.

38

Chevron Oronite Co., L.L.C. v. Jacobs Field Servs. N. Am., Inc., 951 F.3d 219, 226

(5th Cir. 2020) (quoting Sullivan v. Franicevich, 2004-0321 (La. App. 4 Cir. 3/9/05); 899

So. 2d 602, 609, cert. denied, 902 So. 2d 1051 (La. 2005)).

12

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 13 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

indemnify often arises “after judgment has been entered in the underlying

liability case.”39

This court has recognized two exceptions to that rule. First, when

there is a written contract, “the indemnitee only need show potential, rather

than actual liability.”40 Second, if “the defendant tenders the defense of the

action to the indemnitor,” the party seeking indemnity may show potential

rather than actual liability.41 This court has cautioned that an “indemnitee’s

unilateral acts, albeit reasonable and undertaken in good faith, cannot bind

the indemnitor; notice and an opportunity to defend are the indispensable

due process satisfying elements.”42

Weyerhaeuser alleges that BIC breached its duty to indemnify it by

failing to do so in connection with the settlement of the underlying personal

injury lawsuits. Weyerhaeuser further alleges that EIC breached its duty to

indemnify it because the CGL Policies “have been or will be exhausted.”

Weyerhaeuser contends that the district court erred in finding that BIC and

EIC had no duty to indemnify because that court incorrectly subsumed the

indemnification inquiry in its analysis of the duty to defend. Quoting a 2009

case from this circuit, Weyerhaeuser asserts that “[a]n insurer’s duty to

defend suits on behalf of an insured presents a separate and distinct inquiry

from that of the insurer’s duty to indemnify a covered claim.” 43

Weyerhaeuser contends that the atypical nature of this case necessitates a

_____________________

39

Martco, 588 F.3d at 872.

40

Chevron Oronite Co., 951 F.3d at 226 (quoting Fontenot v. Mesa Petrol. Co., 791

F.2d 1207, 1216–17 (5th Cir. 1986)).

41

Id.

42

Parfait v. Jahncke Serv., Inc., 484 F.2d 296, 304 (5th Cir. 1973).

43

Martco Ltd., 588 F.3d at 872.

13

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 14 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

separate analysis incorporating “factual information beyond the original

petitions.” Weyerhaeuser further asserts that extrinsic evidence, such as

subsequent pleadings in the personal injury lawsuits, “indisputably trigger[s]

Appellees’ duty to indemnify Weyerhaeuser.”

The district court, via the Magistrate Judge’s Report and

Recommendation, analyzed the duty to defend in conjunction with the duty

to indemnify, and concluded that EIC and BIC had no duty to indemnify

Weyerhaeuser in the underlying lawsuits. The district court pointed out that

“[i]t is well established that the duty to defend in Louisiana law is generally

broader than an insurer’s liability for damage claims,” and that, since EIC

and BIC did not have a duty to defend Weyerhaeuser in the underlying suits,

there was no duty to indemnify Weyerhaeuser. In support of that theory, the

district court relied on a Louisiana Third Circuit case which held that

“[l]ogic dictates that if the policy unambiguously excludes coverage for

purpose[ ] of an insurer’s duty to defend, the insurer owes no duty to pay the

sums its insured is legally obligated to pay.” 44 The district court emphasized

that NR was never named in the underlying lawsuits and that NR was not

alleged to have participated in or funded the settlements.

Weyerhaeuser correctly asserts that the duty to indemnify and the

duty to defend involve distinctly different analyses, but engaging in those

separate analyses still results in the same outcome. The underlying petitions

do not name NR and were never amended to add NR. And, although

Weyerhaeuser generally alleges that NR participated in the settlement and

funded it, it provides no evidence to support that allegation. Moreover, it is

unclear whether the “possibility of liability” exception even applies because

_____________________

44

Chalmers, Collins & Alwell, Inc. v. Burnett and Co., (La. App. 3 Cir. 10/7/15); 175

So. 3d 1100.

14

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 15 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

(1) NR is not a party to the written contracts, i.e., the CGL Policies or Excess

Policy, and (2) neither BIC nor EIC tendered a defense in the underlying

lawsuits.45 In any event, a careful examination of the underlying state court

petitions shows that the plaintiffs described W. Co. and its functions,

knowledge, and responsibilities in detail. Even when construed liberally, the

complaints do not appear to have asserted allegations against NR. Based on

our well-settled precedent, Weyerhaeuser has not shown actual liability of

NR sufficient to trigger BIC and EIC’s indemnity obligations.

Weyerhaeuser further asserts that it adequately placed EIC and BIC

on notice of NR’s potential liability by sending formal letters to BIC and

Simsboro ahead of the September 2020 mediation. Weyerhaeuser claims that

it sent five letters to Simsboro which “demanded that Simsboro notify its

insurance carriers of Weyerhaeuser’s tender and the underlying claims.”

Weyerhaeuser also alleges that it sent a letter to BIC in July 2020, notifying

BIC that it had breached its duty to defend Weyerhaeuser in relation to the

underlying lawsuits. Notifying an indemnitor ahead of settlement and giving

it the opportunity to defend may be sufficient to show “potential liability,”46

but that exception only applies to parties to a written agreement.47 W. Co. is

not a party to the insurance policies between Simsboro and BIC and EIC, so

the district court correctly held that BIC and EIC had no duty to indemnify

Weyerhaeuser in connection with the underlying personal injury lawsuits.

_____________________

45

Chevron Oronite Co. instructs that “one seeking indemnity must show actual

liability to recover.” 951 F.3d at 226. One may show “potential liability” when there is a

written contract or when the defendant tenders a defense of the action. Id.

46

See Parfait, 484 F.2d at 305 (holding that “[i]f the indemnitor declines to take

either course, then the indemnitee will only be required to show potential liability to the

original plaintiff”).

47

Chevron Oronite, 951 F.3d at 226.

15

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 16 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

C. Whether contract reformation is an available remedy

Weyerhaeuser asserts that a “mutual mistake” occurred with respect

to W. Co.’s exclusion as an additional insured and that it sufficiently raised

this as an alternative ground for coverage. Weyerhaeuser contends that,

because of that mutual mistake, the CGL Policies should be reformed to

include W. Co. as an additional insured. Weyerhaeuser asserts that the

Magistrate Judge incorrectly applied the summary judgment standard when

evaluating mutual mistake and “improperly demanded ‘evidence’ of the

mistake.” Finally, Weyerhaeuser alleges that the Magistrate Judge erred in

denying it the opportunity to amend its complaint to allege mutual mistake

under Rule 15(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Under Louisiana law, a written insurance contract may be amended to

conform to the “true intent of the parties.”48 Reformation “is an equitable

remedy” which is available “only to correct mistakes or errors in written

instruments only when such instruments, as written, do not express the true

contract of the parties.”49 To demonstrate that reformation is warranted, the

movant must show, “by clear and convincing evidence, that a mutual mistake

has been made.”50 When, as here, a plaintiff raises an argument for the first

time in response to a dispositive motion, the court may consider those claims

and arguments as a motion to amend under Rule 15(a)(2).51 This rule states

that leave to amend “should be freely given when justice so requires.”52

_____________________

48

Teche Realty & Inv. Co. v. Morrow, 95-1473 (La. App. 3 Cir. 4/17/96); 673 So. 2d

1145, 1147 (citing Agurs v. Holt, 95 So. 2d 644 (1957)).

49

Agurs, 95 So. 2d at 645.

50

Motors Ins. Co. v. Bud's Boat Rental, Inc., 917 F.2d 199, 203 (5th Cir. 1990).

51

Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a)(2).

52

Id.

16

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 17 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

However, courts have discretion to deny such leave on the basis of “undue

delay, bad faith or dilatory motive on the part of the movant, repeated failures

to cure deficiencies by amendments previously allowed, undue prejudice to

the opposing party . . . , and futility of the amendment.”53 “Leave to amend

is in no way automatic, but the district court must possess a substantial reason

to deny a party’s request for leave to amend.”54

The district court held that Weyerhaeuser insufficiently pleaded

mutual mistake and therefore “failed to meet their heavy burden to warrant

reformation.” The court explained that “to warrant reformation of the

Policy, Weyerhaeuser and NR must show that Burlington and Simsboro

made a mutual mistake by failing to include Weyerhaeuser as an additional

insured.” The district court pointed out that the Agreement clause requiring

Simsboro to add W. Co. as an additional insured does not evince BIC/EIC’s

and Simsboro’s mutual intent to include W. Co. as an additional insured. In

support, that court cited Certain Underwriters at Lloyd’s, London v. First

Petroleum, Inc., which held that an insurer is not obligated to defend a

company that was not a named or additional insured but was excluded

because of the alleged fault of the insurance agent or insurer.55 The district

court further noted that Weyerhaeuser raised this contention for the first

time in its motion to dismiss and failed to assert it in its original and amended

complaints. The court chose not to construe that new claim as a motion to

amend under Rule 15(a), concluding that an “amendment would be futile.”

_____________________

53

Marucci Sports, L.L.C. v. Nat’l Collegiate Athletic Ass’n, 751 F.3d 368, 378 (5th

Cir. 2014); Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a)(2).

54

Id. (internal citation omitted).

55

13-cv-2226, 2014 WL 4929316 at *5 (W.D. La. Oct. 1, 2014).

17

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 18 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

First, we must clarify the record regarding the district court’s alleged

denial of leave to amend Weyerhaeuser’s complaint. Weyerhaeuser asserts

that the district court erred in denying leave to amend its first amended

complaint. However, Weyerhaeuser never filed a motion for leave to amend

its complaint. EIC’s and BIC’s motions to dismiss were filed on June 1, 2021,

and Weyerhaeuser filed its opposition on August 3, 2021. Under Rule

15(a)(1)(B) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, “[a] party may amend its

pleading once as a matter of course within . . . 21 days after service of a motion

under Rule 12(b), (2), or (f).”56 Weyerhaeuser did not seek to amend its

complaint to remedy its deficiencies after reviewing BIC’s and EIC’s

motions to dismiss. Instead, on September 21, 2021, Weyerhaeuser, EIC, and

BIC filed a consent motion requesting that the district court abate the

responsive pleading deadline to the first amended complaint until after it

ruled on the pending motions to dismiss. That motion was granted by the

district court. The Magistrate Judge noted that a claim raised for the first

time in opposition to a dispositive motion could be construed as a motion to

amend under Rule 15(a) but chose not to construe it as such.

We must also clarify whether the district court, via the Report and

Recommendation, applied the correct burden of proof to Weyerhaeuser’s

contract reformation claim. Weyerhaeuser argues that, by requiring “clear

and convincing evidence,” the district court incorrectly applied the summary

judgment standard at the motion-to-dismiss stage. However, it is well settled

in this court and in Louisiana that “clear and convincing evidence” is the

appropriate burden of proof for contract reformation actions at various stages

of litigation, including the motion-to-dismiss stage.57 The district court thus

_____________________

56

Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a)(1)(B).

57

See, e.g., Motors Ins. Co., 917 F.2d at 203 (requiring “clear and convincing

evidence” at the motion to dismiss stage); Farmers-Merchants Bank & Tr. Co. v. St.

18

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 19 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

correctly required “clear and convincing evidence” for Weyerhaeuser to

prevail on its contract-reformation claim.

This circuit has cautioned that “[r]eformation is warranted only,

however, to embody the parties’ mutual intent; otherwise, the courts would,

in effect, be rewriting the contract.”58 In its briefing, Weyerhaeuser focuses

on Simsboro’s knowledge and obligations, overlooking the fact that it must

show, by clear and convincing evidence, that BIC and EIC participated in the

mutual mistake. Weyerhaeuser presented no evidence that BIC and EIC

knew that W. Co. was an additional insured when they issued policies to

Simsboro. Because Weyerhaeuser has not shown that EIC, BIC, and

Simsboro mutually intended to include W. Co. as an additional insured,

contract reformation is not warranted.

Neither did the district court err by not construing Weyerhaeuser’s

reformation contention as a motion to amend its complaint. As explained

above, the district court never actually denied Weyerhaeuser leave to amend

its complaint. Moreover, Weyerhaeuser again had the opportunity to request

leave to amend its complaint after the motions to dismiss were filed, but it

did not do so. And, even if Weyerhaeuser had filed a motion for leave to

amend, the district court would have had discretion to deny it based on the

futility of such an amendment, Weyerhaeuser’s repeated failure to cure

deficiencies, and other factors.59

_____________________

Katherine Ins. Co., 96-1138 (La. App. 3 Cir. 4/30/97); 693 So. 2d 876, 880, writ denied, 97-

1867 (La. 10/31/97); 703 So. 2d 25 (requiring “clear and convincing evidence” at the no

cause of action exception stage).

58

Motors Ins. Co., 917 F.2d at 203.

59

Marucci Sports, L.L.C., 751 F.3d at 378; Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a)(2).

19

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 20 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

In summary, the district court, via the Report and Recommendation,

correctly held that EIC and BIC do not have a duty to indemnify W. Co. and

NR as additional insureds on the CGL Policies and the Excess Policy. The

district court properly concluded that Weyerhaeuser inadequately pleaded

mutual mistake and that contract reformation was unavailable as a potential

remedy.

D. Whether BIC and EIC owed duties to defend and indemnify W.

Co. and NR as third-party beneficiaries

Weyerhaeuser asserts that W. Co. and NR are third-party

beneficiaries of the CGL Policies and the Excess Policy, permitting them to

sue EIC and BIC directly for breach of the contract. Weyerhaeuser contends

that W. Co. and NR are third-party beneficiaries “by virtue of their right to

contractual indemnity under an ‘insured contract’ [the Agreement] with the

primary insured [Simsboro].” Weyerhaeuser presents this as an alternative

argument to its assertion that W. Co. and NR are additional insureds on the

policies.

In Louisiana, a plaintiff may sue under an insurance policy if that

plaintiff is a third-party beneficiary of such policy.60 The Louisiana Supreme

Court articulated a three-part test to determine whether a contract confers

third-party beneficiary status, known as a “stipulation pour autrui”: “1) the

stipulation for a third party is manifestly clear; 2) there is certainty as to the

benefit provided the third party; and 3) the benefit is not a mere incident of

_____________________

60

Haddad v. Elkhateeb, 2010-0214 (La. App. 4 Cir. 8/11/10); 46 So. 3d 244, 257 n.

11, writ denied, 49 So. 3d 895 (La. 2010); see also Rogers v. Integrated Expl. & Prod., LLC,

2018-CA-0425 (La. App. 4 Cir. 2/20/19); 265 So. 3d 880, 896, writ denied, 271 So. 3d 198

(La. 2019) (“If a party is neither a named insured nor an additional insured, he can

nonetheless avail himself of the benefits of the policy if he can establish that he is a third

party beneficiary.”) (internal citations omitted).

20

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 21 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

the contract between the promisor and the promisee.” 61 The court explained

that “the party claiming the benefit bears the burden of proof” 62 when that

party is neither a named or additional insured on the policy. Louisiana courts

have recognized that indemnitees under “insured contracts” often qualify as

third-party beneficiaries under the policies insuring such contracts.63

Weyerhaeuser contends that the district court erred in holding that

W. Co. and NR are not third-party beneficiaries under the CGL Policies and

the Excess Policy. Weyerhaeuser claims that the underlying personal injury

lawsuits triggered Simsboro’s duty to defend and indemnify NR and W. Co.,

thereby activating BIC’s (and EIC’s) duty to defend and indemnify W. Co.

and NR. Weyerhaeuser points out that the CGL Policies define “insured

contract” as “[t]hat part of any other contract or agreement pertaining to

your business . . . under which you assume the tort liability of another party

to pay for ‘bodily injury’ or ‘property damage’” that “is caused, in whole or

in part, by you or those acting on your behalf.” Weyerhaeuser further asserts

that the Agreement qualifies as an “insured contract” that “manifest[s] a

clear intention to benefit any party whose liability was assumed.”

The district court, via the Magistrate Judge’s Report and

Recommendation, disagreed with Weyerhaeuser’s analysis, holding that

Weyerhaeuser had insufficiently alleged facts showing that the CGL Policies

and the Excess Policy manifested a clear intention to benefit Weyerhaeuser.

Citing a Louisiana Fourth Circuit case, the district court explained that, even

_____________________

61

Joseph v. Hosp. Serv. Dist. No. 2 of the Parish of St. Mary, 2005-2364 (La.

10/15/06); 939 So. 2d 1206, 1212.

62

Id.

63

See, e.g., Rogers, 265 So. 3d at 896-897; Mabile v. Dow Chem. Co., 2016-0577, (La.

App. 1 Cir. 12/22/16); 2016 WL 7436587 at *7; Cashman Equip. Corp. v. Rozel Operating

Co., 854 F. Supp. 2d 406, 414 (M.D. La. 2012).

21

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 22 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

if Weyerhaeuser had demonstrated a stipulation pour autrui, the “insured

contract” provision merely requires BIC and EIC to defend and indemnify

the insured—not the indemnitee.64 The court acknowledged that, when the

Agreement and CGL Policies are read together, NR could have a third-party

beneficiary indemnification claim against BIC. That court concluded,

however, that “the burden remains on Weyerhaeuser to allege facts that

manifest the clear intent of Burlington and Simsboro to provide a benefit to

Weyerhaeuser,” and that the burden was not carried here.

The district court did not err in determining that W. Co. and NR failed

to state third-party beneficiary claims under the CGL Policies and Excess

Policy. As discussed at length above, this court must avoid considering

extrinsic evidence when determining a party’s duty to defend. We are thus

satisfied that BIC and EIC had no duty to defend W. Co. and NR as third-

party beneficiaries. The indemnification inquiry, however, is fact intensive

and may incorporate extrinsic evidence. The district court explained that

because NR is listed on the CGL Policies as an additional insured and the

CGL Policies might cover Simsboro’s indemnification obligation arising

from the Agreement, NR might be a third-party beneficiary of the policies

with respect to indemnification. This is, of course, only if Weyerhaeuser met

the burden imposed by the Louisiana Supreme Court’s three-part test in

Joseph v. Hosp. Serv. Dist. No. 2 of the Parish of St. Mary.65

A recent Louisiana Third Circuit Court of Appeal opinion lends

clarity to this complex question. In Savoy v. Kelly-Dixon, et al., the Louisiana

Third Circuit Court of Appeal addressed a factually analogous situation

involving BIC, offering persuasive authority in favor of BIC and EIC’s

_____________________

64

See Ordonez v. W.T. Grant Co., 297 So.2d 780, 783 (La. App. 4 Cir. 7/9/74).

65

939 So. 2d at 1212.

22

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 23 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

position.66 That court held that a purported contractual indemnitee cannot

rely on Louisiana’s third-party beneficiary case law to create additional

insured coverage.67 The Savoy court distinguished and declined to follow the

Louisiana Fourth Circuit’s 2019 opinion in Rogers v. Integrated Explorations

and Products, LLC that Weyerhaeuser relied on for its assertion of coverage.68

The court instead looked to Ordonez v. W.T. Grant Co., in which the

Louisiana Fourth Circuit held that an insurer had no duty to defend the

contractual indemnitee of its insured.69 The Savoy court explained that “[i]f

every indemnitee was a ‘third party beneficiary’ to a commercial liability

policy then there would be no reason to have an additional named insured.”70

The Savoy court further noted that “[i]nsurance companies cannot be bound

to carry extra insureds for no additional premiums paid.”71

We agree with Savoy’s analysis and conclude that neither NR nor W.

Co. is a third-party beneficiary of the CGL Policies under the Louisiana

Supreme Court’s test. In Rogers, the indemnification agreement at issue

stated that indemnity was owed “EVEN IF SUCH CLAIMS ARE

CONTRIBUTED TO OR CAUSED BY THE . . . ACTIVE OR PASSIVE

NEGLIGENCE OF THE INDEMNIFIED PARTY OR ANY MEMBER

OF ITS GROUP.”72 The Agreement, on the other hand, only provides

_____________________

66

2022-318 (La. App. 3 Cir. 11/23/22); 353 So. 3d 981.

67

Id.

68

18-425 (La App. 4 Cir. 2/20/19); 265 So. 3d 880, writ denied, 19-481 (La.

5/20/19); 271 So. 3d 198 (applying the Joseph test and finding that coverage extended to a

contractual indemnitee).

69

297 So.2d at 780.

70

Savoy, 353 So. 3d at 995.

71

Id.

72

265 So. 3d at 891.

23

Case: 22-30164 Document: 00516821687 Page: 24 Date Filed: 07/14/2023

No. 22-30164

defense and indemnity to NR for claims arising out of Simsboro’s own fault.73

Similar to the agreement at issue in Savoy, the Agreement here does not

evidence a clear intent to benefit third parties, such as NR and W. Co. The

benefit is instead intended for the “Named Insured” (Simsboro) when it

owes damages under an insured contract. Any benefit provided to a third

party under the CGL Policies is not “manifestly clear” but is merely

incidental. The district court correctly concluded that Weyerhaeuser failed

to show that BIC and EIC had a duty to indemnify NR and W. Co. as third-

party beneficiaries of the CGL Policies.

IV. CONCLUSION

We AFFIRM the district court’s dismissal of Weyerhaeuser’s

breach of contract claims and conclude that Defendants-Appellees had no

duty to defend or indemnify W. Co. and NR as additional insureds or as third-

party beneficiaries to the CGL Policies or Excess Policy.

_____________________

73

The Agreement further states that “no right to indemnity will exist in that

portion of a Claim resulting from the negligence, tortious fault, or intentional misconduct

of Weyerhaeuser, its officers, employees, contractors, and agents.”

24

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.