Opinion

Shusha, Inc. v. Century-National Ins. Co.

Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Jan 5, 2023
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 22.3%

The opinion

Filed 12/14/22; Certified for Publication 1/5/23 (order attached)

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION SEVEN

SHUSHA, INC., B313907

Plaintiff and Appellant, (Los Angeles County

Super. Ct.

v. No. 20STCV25769)

CENTURY-NATIONAL

INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant and

Respondent.

APPEAL from a judgment of the Superior Court of Los

Angeles County, Daniel J. Buckley, Judge. Reversed.

Hecht Partners, Katheryn Lee Boyd, Kristen L. Nelson;

Law Offices of Jonathan A. Sorkowitz and Jonathan A. Sorkowitz

for Plaintiff and Appellant.

Berman Berman Berman Schneider & Lowary, Spencer A.

Schneider and Karen E. Adelman for Defendant and Respondent.

__________________________

Shusha, Inc., dba La Cava (La Cava) appeals from the

judgment of dismissal entered after the trial court sustained

without leave to amend the demurrer filed by Century-National

Insurance Company (Century-National) to La Cava’s first

amended complaint. La Cava sued Century-National for breach

of an insurance contract and related claims after Century-

National denied coverage for La Cava’s lost business income as a

result of its suspension of restaurant operations in March 2020

due to the COVID-191 pandemic and associated government

shutdowns.

On appeal, La Cava contends the trial court erred in

concluding the alleged presence of the COVID-19 virus in its

restaurant did not constitute “direct physical loss of or damage

to” the restaurant necessary for coverage under the terms of the

policy at issue. La Cava also argues Century-National acted in

bad faith by summarily denying coverage without investigating

La Cava’s claim. We agree La Cava’s allegations that

contamination by the COVID-19 virus physically altered its

restaurant premises were sufficient to withstand demurrer, and

we reverse.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

A. The Century-National Insurance Policy

As alleged in the operative first amended complaint

(complaint), La Cava purchased from Century-National a

1 For ease of reference, we refer, as do the parties, to the

SARS-CoV-2 virus, its variants, and the coronavirus disease

caused by them as COVID-19.

2

“commercial package” insurance policy, including commercial

property insurance and general liability coverage for a one-year

period beginning November 22, 2019 (the policy). A copy of the

policy was attached to the complaint.

Section A.1 of the “Business Income (and Extra Expense)

Coverage Form” provided in relevant part, “We will pay for the

actual loss of business income you sustain due to the necessary

‘suspension’ of your ‘operations’ during the ‘period of restoration’.

The ‘suspension’ must be caused by direct physical loss of or

damage to property at premises which are described in the

declarations and for which a business income limit of insurance is

shown in the declarations . . . .” (Capitalization omitted and

italics added.) “Suspension” was defined to mean, in pertinent

part, “[t]he slowdown or cessation of your business activities.”

The “period of restoration” was defined in part as the period that

“begins with the date of direct physical loss or damage caused by

or resulting from any covered cause of loss at the described

premises” and ends on the earlier of “the date when the property

at the described premises should be repaired, rebuilt or replaced

with reasonable speed and similar quality” or “one year

immediately following the date of direct physical loss or damage

caused by a covered cause of loss.” (Capitalization omitted.)

Section A.5.a of the business income coverage form also

included civil authority coverage. This provision provided, “We

will pay for the actual loss of business income you sustain and

necessary extra expense caused by action of civil authority that

prohibits access to the described premises due to direct physical

loss of or damage to property, other than at the described

premises, caused by or resulting from any covered cause of loss.”

(Capitalization omitted and italics added.)

3

B. The Complaint

La Cava filed this action on July 7, 2020. The first

amended complaint alleged causes of action for declaratory

judgment, breach of contract, breach of the implied covenant of

good faith and fair dealing, and unfair business practices in

violation of the Unfair Competition Law (UCL; Bus. & Prof. Code,

§ 17200 et seq.). Each cause of action was premised on Century-

National’s denial of coverage for business income losses claimed

by La Cava as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

La Cava is a restaurant in the Sherman Oaks

neighborhood of Los Angeles. As alleged, La Cava “promptly

shut down operations” on or around March 16, 2020, “[o]nce the

La Cava management was made aware by [pandemic-related

government orders] of the clear and present danger of the virus

and its existence everywhere in LA County, including on the

surfaces and in the air in and around La Cava’s premises.” On

April 1, 2020 La Cava reopened with limited hours for take-out

and delivery only, “prohibiting customers from dining in.”

The complaint described and attached several government

orders relating to the pandemic. On March 4, 2020 the Governor

of California declared a state of emergency due to the rapid

spread of COVID-19 in California, and on March 15 the Mayor of

Los Angeles issued a public health order prohibiting restaurants

in the city from serving food on their premises. On March 19 the

Governor issued Executive Order No. N-33-20 requiring residents

of California to stay in their homes, with limited exceptions. Also

on March 19, the Mayor issued a “Safer at Home” public order,

finding “the COVID-19 virus can spread easily from person to

person and it is physically causing property loss or damage due to

4

its tendency to attach to surfaces for prolonged periods of time.”

(Capitalization omitted.) The Mayor’s order provided restaurants

could offer food to customers “but only via delivery service, to be

picked up, or drive-thru.” In May, restaurants were again

permitted to serve customers on-site by moving all dining

outdoors, limiting group size, and spacing tables, among other

restrictions. However, on November 22, 2020 the Los Angeles

County Department of Health suspended outdoor dining at

restaurants, and the Governor did not lift statewide stay-at-home

orders to allow restaurants to reopen for outdoor dining until

January 25, 2021.

The complaint included numerous allegations concerning

the transmissibility of the COVID-19 virus and unfolding

pandemic in California. Citing reports by the World Health

Organization (WHO) and the Center for Disease Control and

Prevention (CDC), the complaint alleged the COVID-19 virus can

spread through “[f]loating respiratory droplets, called aerosols”

that “behave like smoke,” and it can both “‘linger in the air for

minutes to hours’” and also “travel[] on air currents until they

attach to an object or other surface.” The WHO and CDC “have

recognized the tendency of the [COVID-19 virus] to attach to

objects and surfaces, ‘such as tables, doorknobs, and handrails,’”

and the virus “‘may remain viable for hours to days on surfaces

made from a variety of materials.’” The complaint alleged

further, “Numerous other scientific studies have discovered that

the [COVID-19] virus can survive and persist on surfaces and

buildings for nearly a month.” Moreover, “The scientific

community has confirmed that coronavirus and COVID-19 alter

the conditions of properties and buildings such that the premises

are no longer safe and habitable for normal use. Without

5

substantial physical alterations, systems changes to facilities,

and new protocols for air circulation, disinfection, and disease

prevention, an infected property cannot remain open to the

public. Cleaning of surfaces alone is insufficient.”

Specifically, according to one WHO publication, the

COVID-19 virus “adheres to, attaches to, and alters the surfaces

of the property and surfaces upon which . . . physical droplets

land, and physically changes these once safe surfaces to ‘fomites.’

Fomites are objects, previously safe to touch, that now serve as

agents and [a] mechanism for transmission of deadly, infectious

viruses and diseases.” “Thus, the coronavirus and COVID-19

physically change properties and surfaces such that contact with

these properties and surfaces, which previously would have been

safe, is now deadly and dangerous. This constitutes real and

severe damage to and loss of the properties.”

The complaint alleged La Cava suffered physical loss of or

damage to its dining rooms and other property “caused by the

actual presence of virus droplets in the air and on the surfaces in

the vicinity of and in [its] restaurant” and “in the form of virus

matter present on walls, floors, tables, chairs, silverware, dishes,

and other surfaces.” The complaint identified 10 commercial

businesses, including three restaurants, in Sherman Oaks and its

environs, where employees contracted COVID-19. Three of La

Cava’s employees suffered from COVID-19 in December 2020 and

January 2021. The complaint alleged on information and belief

that “La Cava is aware that it entertained customers since March

2020 who subsequently tested positive for COVID-19 and who

had the ability to use the restroom facilities during the time they

were outside dining.” “[T]he virus . . . is therefore certain to have

been present at La Cava at various times,” and “droplets

6

containing SARS-CoV-2 have been physically present at the La

Cava restaurant premises insured by the Policy at all relevant

times.” The complaint alleged further in paragraph 81, “The

presence of droplets containing coronavirus at La Cava led to its

closure and constitutes covered physical damage to [La Cava’s]

premises. Once the La Cava management was made aware by

the Orders of the clear and present danger of the virus and its

existence everywhere in LA County, including on the surfaces

and in the air in and around La Cava’s premises, it promptly

shut down operations.”

In addition to lost business revenue due to the suspension

of operations, La Cava “incurred substantial costs in an attempt

to mitigate the suspension of its operations, including but not

limited to expenses incurred for reconfiguration to outside dining

and increased sanitation procedures. [La Cava] would not have

incurred those costs but for the direct physical loss or damage

caused by the coronavirus, COVID-19, and the [government]

Orders.”

On March 18, 2020, two days after its initial suspension of

operations, La Cava submitted a claim to Century-National by

telephone for the income lost as a result of the virus and the

related government orders. As alleged, Century-National

“undertook no steps to determine whether the virus had caused

physical damage to the La Cava premises.” Instead, “without

engaging in any legitimate, true, meaningful, or thorough

investigation, [Century-National] denied [La Cava’s] claim.”

Specifically, on April 9, 2020 Century-National (through its

claims adjuster) responded in a letter stating the business income

coverage did not apply to the claim because “[t]he suspension of

your business was not caused by a ‘direct physical loss of or

7

damage to property’ at your designated premises” and “[t]he

government directives at issue did not ‘prohibit access’ to your

designated premises and did not result from a loss or damage

at . . . premises ‘other than’ your designated premises.”

(Capitalization omitted.)

La Cava’s first cause of action for declaratory judgment

sought a declaration that Century-National was obligated to

provide coverage for losses incurred in connection with La Cava’s

COVID-19-related claims. The second cause of action for breach

of contract alleged La Cava “suffered the direct physical loss of

property and lost business income following California’s Stay at

Home Order and due to the presence of the coronavirus in and

around its premises—losses which were covered under the Policy

purchased from [Century-National].” These losses included “loss

of and damage to some or all of [La Cava’s] covered property and

its functionality, which became useless, dangerous, or

uninhabitable, resulting in substantial loss of business income,

lost revenue from having to suspend or limit its operations, and

extra expenses incurred to mitigate the suspension of its

operations.” The complaint also alleged there were no relevant

policy exclusions, and La Cava complied with the terms and

conditions of the policy.

The third cause of action for breach of the implied covenant

of good faith and fair dealing alleged Century-National engaged

in bad faith by, among other things, denying La Cava’s claim

without undertaking steps to determine whether the virus had

caused physical damage to the premises, “[u]nreasonably

refusing to conduct a thorough investigation of [La Cava’s]

claims, and ignoring evidence that supports coverage instead of

inquiring into possible bases that might support [La Cava’s]

8

claim.” The fourth cause of action for violation of the UCL,

pleaded as a class claim,2 alleged Century-National engaged in

unlawful conduct in violation of Insurance Code section 790 et

seq. by categorically denying La Cava’s and other class members’

claims without a fair investigation.

C. Century-National’s Demurrer

On April 14, 2021 Century-National filed a demurrer to the

first amended complaint.3 Century-National argued that under

California law, the phrase “direct physical loss or damage to

property” in an insurance contract requires a physical alteration

of the insured property, but La Cava did not and could not allege

its loss of business income was attributable to any physical

alteration of La Cava’s property by the COVID-19 virus. In

support of its position, Century-National cited nearly two dozen

decisions from federal district courts in California holding

business closures due to the COVID-19 virus or related

government orders did not result from direct physical loss of or

damage to property and dismissing the insured’s claims based on

the denial of coverage. In addition, the civil authority coverage

under the policy did not cover the losses because the government

shutdown orders did not prohibit access to La Cava’s premises

and were not issued “due to direct physical loss or damage to

2 The class allegations are not at issue in this appeal.

3 On February 19, 2021 the trial court sustained Century-

National’s demurrer to the original complaint with leave to

amend. The original complaint did not include the allegations

that since March 2020 three of La Cava’s employees and many of

its customers and the employees of nearby businesses tested

positive for the COVID-19 virus.

9

property” at La Cava, as provided in the policy. Further,

Century-National did not act in bad faith because it properly

denied coverage based on an “undeniably” genuine dispute as to

the existence of coverage as shown by the fact “nearly every judge

in California to consider the coverage issues herein has found no

coverage for these COVID-19 business-interruption claims.”

After a hearing, on June 2, 2021 the trial court sustained

Century-National’s demurrer without leave to amend. Citing five

federal district court decisions in California denying coverage and

observing that “substantially all of the federal district courts”

were in agreement, the court found, “[C]ourts have routinely

held, and this Court agrees, that the existence of COVID-19 in

the air or on surfaces does not constitute ‘direct physical loss of or

damage to property’ within the meaning of the insurance policy.”

Accordingly, La Cava’s allegations were insufficient as a matter

of law to establish a covered loss. Civil authority coverage did

not apply for the additional reason that La Cava failed to allege

facts demonstrating it was “prohibited from accessing its

building.” Because La Cava could not allege it was entitled to

coverage under any provision of the policy, all four causes of

action failed, and La Cava had not demonstrated a basis for leave

to amend. The court entered a judgment of dismissal on June 16,

2021.

La Cava timely appealed.

DISCUSSION

A. Standard of Review

“‘In reviewing an order sustaining a demurrer, we examine

the operative complaint de novo to determine whether it alleges

10

facts sufficient to state a cause of action under any legal theory.’”

(Mathews v. Becerra (2019) 8 Cal.5th 756, 768; accord, T.H. v.

Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corp. (2017) 4 Cal.5th 145, 162.)

When evaluating the complaint, “we assume the truth of the

allegations.” (Brown v. USA Taekwondo (2021) 11 Cal.5th 204,

209; accord, Lee v. Hanley (2015) 61 Cal.4th 1225, 1230.)

“However, we are not required to accept the truth of the factual

or legal conclusions pleaded in the complaint.” (Marina Pacific

Hotel and Suites, LLC v. Fireman’s Fund Insurance Company

(2022) 81 Cal.App.5th 96, 105 (Marina Pacific); accord, Mathews,

at p. 768 [“‘“‘We treat the demurrer as admitting all material

facts properly pleaded, but not contentions, deductions or

conclusions of fact or law.’”’”].)

B. Interpretation of Insurance Contracts

“In general, interpretation of an insurance policy is a

question of law that is decided under settled rules of contract

interpretation.” (State of California v. Continental Ins. Co. (2012)

55 Cal.4th 186, 194; accord, Marina Pacific, supra,

81 Cal.App.5th at p. 105.) “The principles governing the

interpretation of insurance policies in California are well settled.

‘Our goal in construing insurance contracts, as with contracts

generally, is to give effect to the parties’ mutual intentions.

[Citations.] “If contractual language is clear and explicit, it

governs.” [Citations.] If the terms are ambiguous [i.e.,

susceptible of more than one reasonable interpretation], we

interpret them to protect “‘the objectively reasonable expectations

of the insured.’” [Citations.] Only if these rules do not resolve a

claimed ambiguity do we resort to the rule that ambiguities are

to be resolved against the insurer.’” (Minkler v. Safeco Ins. Co. of

11

America (2010) 49 Cal.4th 315, 321; accord, Montrose Chemical

Corp. of California v. Superior Court (2020) 9 Cal.5th 215, 230;

Marina Pacific, at p. 105.)

“The ‘tie-breaker’ rule of construction against the insurer

stems from the recognition that the insurer generally drafted the

policy and received premiums to provide the agreed protection.”

(Minkler v. Safeco Ins. Co. of America, supra, 49 Cal.4th at

p. 321; accord, Marina Pacific, supra, 81 Cal.App.5th at p. 106.)

“To further ensure that coverage conforms fully to the objectively

reasonable expectations of the insured, . . . in cases of ambiguity,

basic coverage provisions are construed broadly in favor of

affording protection, but clauses setting forth specific exclusions

from coverage are interpreted narrowly against the insurer. The

insured has the burden of establishing that a claim, unless

specifically excluded, is within basic coverage, while the insurer

has the burden of establishing that a specific exclusion applies.”

(Minkler, at p. 322; accord, Montrose Chemical Corp. of California

v. Superior Court, supra, 9 Cal.5th at p. 230; Marina Pacific, at

p. 106.)

C. Coverage for COVID-19 Pandemic-related Losses

At the time the trial court sustained the second demurrer,

no California appellate court had addressed whether business

losses caused by the COVID-19 pandemic were covered by

commercial property insurance. Multiple California appellate

courts have now addressed this question, but with differing

results. In Marina Pacific, supra, 81 Cal.App.5th 96, we

addressed whether the owners of an insured restaurant and hotel

had sufficiently pleaded they had suffered “direct physical loss of

or damage to” the property supporting coverage under a

12

commercial property insurance policy based on allegations of

contamination of the insured premises with the COVID-19 virus.4

We concluded they had.

In Marina Pacific, the owners sued their insurer for breach

of contract and related claims after the insurer denied coverage

for losses claimed as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

(Marina Pacific, supra, 81 Cal.App.5th at p. 102.) The policy

provided business interruption coverage for “‘the actual loss of

business income and necessary extra expense you sustain due to

the necessary suspension of your operation during the period of

restoration arising from direct physical loss or damage to

[covered] property.’”5 (Id. at p. 99.) As we explained, the owners’

4 Our decision in Marina Pacific was filed on July 13, 2022,

after La Cava’s reply brief was filed. Century-National

addressed our decision in its July 26 answer to the amicus brief

filed by United Policyholders in support of La Cava, and the

American Property and Casualty Insurance Association and the

National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies addressed

the decision in their amicus brief in support of Century-National,

also filed on July 26, 2022. On July 27 we invited the parties to

address Marina Pacific in any answer to an amicus brief or a

supplemental brief. La Cava addressed our decision in its August

15 answer.

5 The policy at issue in Marina Pacific also included

“‘communicable disease coverage’” for “‘direct physical loss or

damage’ to insured property ‘caused by or resulting from a

covered communicable disease event,’ including costs necessary

to repair or rebuild insured property damaged or destroyed by the

communicable disease and to ‘[m]itigate, contain, remediate,

treat, clean, detoxify, disinfect, neutralize, cleanup, remove,

dispose of, test for, monitor and assess the effects [of] the

communicable disease.’” (Marina Pacific, supra, 81 Cal.App.5th

13

complaint alleged the COVID-19 virus “not only lives on surfaces

but also bonds to surfaces through physicochemical reactions

involving cells and surface proteins, which transform the physical

condition of the property. The virus was present on surfaces

throughout the insured properties, including the hotel lobby,

kitchens at both the hotel and restaurant, employee breakroom,

service elevator and parking garage, as well as on the properties’

food, bedding, fixtures, tables, chairs and countertops. Because

of the nature of the pandemic, the virus was continually

reintroduced to surfaces at those locations. As a direct result, the

[owners] were required to close or suspend operations in whole or

in part at various times and incurred extra expense as they

adopted measures to restore and remediate the air and surfaces

at the insured properties. The [owners] specifically alleged they

were required to ‘dispose of property damaged by COVID-19 and

limit operations at the Insured Properties.’” (Id. at pp. 108-109.)

Based on these allegations, we reversed the trial court’s

order sustaining the insurer’s demurrer without leave to amend.

(Marina Pacific, supra, 81 Cal.App.5th at p. 114.) We assumed

for purposes of our opinion that the undefined policy term “direct

physical loss or damage” meant the owners needed to allege an

external force acted on the insured property causing a “distinct,

demonstrable, physical alteration of the property,” as stated in

MRI Healthcare Center of Glendale, Inc. v. State Farm General

Ins. Co. (2010) 187 Cal.App.4th 766 (MRI Healthcare). (See

at p. 100.) The communicable disease coverage also covered

losses from the suspension of operations “‘due to direct physical

loss or damage to property at a location caused by or resulting

from a covered communicable disease event.’” (Ibid.) The policy

at issue here does not contain a similar provision.

14

Marina Pacific, at p. 108; MRI Healthcare, at pp. 770, 779

[failure of MRI machine to function after it was demagnetized to

enable roof repair following storms was not a covered loss

because “there was no ‘distinct, demonstrable [or] physical

alteration’ of the MRI machine”].)

We concluded the complaint adequately alleged physical

alteration of the premises, explaining, “Assuming, as we must,

the truth of those allegations, even if improbable, absent

judicially noticed facts irrefutably contradicting them, the

insureds have unquestionably pleaded direct physical loss or

damage to covered property within the definition articulated in

MRI Healthcare—a distinct, demonstrable, physical alteration of

the property.” (Marina Pacific, supra, 81 Cal.App.5th at p. 109.)

We recognized our holding was at odds with many federal district

court decisions dismissing claims for pandemic-related business

losses. (Ibid.) But those cases did not involve similar factual

allegations, and to the extent they were analogous, federal

pleading standards, unlike California’s, permitted the district

courts to dismiss the claims. (Id. at pp. 109-110.) We observed,

“Unlike in federal court, the plausibility of the insureds’

allegations has no role in deciding a demurrer under governing

state law standards, which . . . require us to deem as true,

‘however improbable,’ facts alleged in a pleading—specifically

here, that the COVID-19 virus alters ordinary physical surfaces

transforming them into fomites through physicochemical

processes, making them dangerous and unusable for their

intended purposes unless decontaminated.’” (Marina Pacific, at

pp. 109-110; see Hacker v. Homeward Residential, Inc. (2018)

26 Cal.App.5th 270, 280 [in considering the merits of a demurrer,

15

“‘the facts alleged in the pleading are deemed to be true, however

improbable they may be’”].)

We also addressed three published Court of Appeal

decisions that had addressed pandemic coverage, each affirming

an order sustaining the insurer’s demurrer. We concluded Musso

& Frank Grill Co., Inc. v. Mitsui Sumitomo Ins. USA Inc. (2022)

77 Cal.App.5th 753 and Inns-by-the-Sea v. California Mutual Ins.

Co. (2021) 71 Cal.App.5th 688 (Inns-by-the-Sea) were

distinguishable because both involved only allegations of loss of

use of the insured property as a result of government-ordered

closures to limit the spread of COVID-19, “rather than, as

expressly alleged here, a claim the presence of the virus on the

insured premises caused physical damage to covered property,

which in turn led to business losses.” (Marina Pacific, supra,

81 Cal.App.5th at p. 110; see Musso & Frank, at pp. 758-759

[policy requiring physical loss or damage to property did not

cover losses incurred as a result of pandemic-related order

mandating that restaurants close by midnight]; Inns-by-the-Sea,

at p. 703 [“Inns alleges that it ceased operations ‘as a direct and

proximate result of the Closure Orders.’ It does not make the

proximate cause allegation based on the particular presence of

the virus on its premises.”].)6

6 As argued by amicus curiae United Policyholders, the

Fourth District in Inns-by-the-Sea, supra, 71 Cal.App.5th at

page 710 observed that “a virus could cause a suspension of

operations through direct physical loss of or damage to property,”

and noted that “case law supports the view that . . . an invisible

substance or biological agent might give rise to coverage because

it causes a policyholder to suspend operations due to direct

physical loss of or damage to property.” (Id. at p. 710, fn. 21.)

16

We recognized the decision by our colleagues in Division

Four of this district in United Talent Agency v. Vigilant Ins. Co.

(2022) 77 Cal.App.5th 821 was not distinguishable in that it

presented similar allegations to those at issue in Marina Pacific.

(Marina Pacific, supra, 81 Cal.App.5th at p. 111.) In United

Talent, the Court of Appeal affirmed an order sustaining the

insurer’s demurrer, concluding allegations that the presence of

the COVID-19 virus on property constituted direct physical loss

or damage were insufficient as a matter of law to trigger coverage

because “the virus exists worldwide wherever infected people are

present, it can be cleaned from surfaces through general

disinfection measures, and transmission may be reduced or

rendered less harmful through practices unrelated to the

property, such as social distancing, vaccination, and the use of

masks. Thus, the presence of the virus does not render a

property useless or uninhabitable, even though it may affect how

people interact with and within a particular space.” (United

Talent, at p. 838.) We rejected this approach, reasoning, “We are

not authorized to disregard those allegations when evaluating a

demurrer . . . based on a general belief that surface cleaning may

be the only remediation necessary to restore contaminated

Although such allegations were absent in Inns-by-the-Sea, the

court noted, “‘It could be a different story if a business—which

could have otherwise been operating—had to shut down because

of the presence of the virus within the facility. For example, a

restaurant might need to close for a week if someone in its

kitchen tested positive for COVID-19, requiring the entire facility

to be thoroughly sanitized and remain empty for a period.

Perhaps the restaurant could successfully allege that the virus

created physical loss or damage in the same way some chemical

contaminant might have.’” (Id. at pp. 704-705.)

17

property to its original, safe-for-use condition.” (Marina Pacific,

at p. 111.) Moreover, “[e]ven if there had been evidence subject to

proper judicial notice to establish that disinfecting repaired any

alleged property damage, it would not resolve whether

contaminated property had been damaged in the interim, nor

would it alleviate any loss of business income or extra

expenses. . . . [T]he duration of exposure may be relevant to the

measure of policy benefits; it does not negate coverage.” (Id. at

p. 112.)

Since our Marina Pacific decision, Division Two of the First

District has published two opinions addressing COVID-19

pandemic-related losses under policies providing coverage for

direct physical loss of or damage to property. In Apple Annie,

LLC v. Oregon Mutual Ins. Co. (2022) 82 Cal.App.5th 919, 925,

the Court of Appeal affirmed an order sustaining the insurer’s

demurrer, holding a restaurant owner failed to allege direct

physical loss of or damage to its restaurant where the owner

alleged only that its business losses were due to suspension of

operations under state and county orders. In supplemental

briefing after Marina Pacific was decided, the owner

acknowledged Marina Pacific “‘does not directly implicate [the

owner’s] theory of coverage,’” but it argued there was a

reasonable possibility it could amend its complaint to include

allegations similar to those in Marina Pacific. (Id. at pp. 936-

937.) However, because at oral argument the owner’s attorney

stated as an officer of the court he could not state what facts he

could allege in an amended complaint, the Court of Appeal

concluded the owner did not meet its burden to obtain leave to

amend. (Id. at p. 936.) In Tarrar Enterprises, Inc. v. Associated

Indemnity Corp. (2022) 83 Cal.App.5th 685, 688-689, the Court of

18

Appeal held that although the trial court properly sustained the

insurer’s demurrer because the insured had not alleged direct

physical loss of or damage to property, the court abused its

discretion in denying leave to amend because the insured’s

appellate briefs set forth “in some detail” the proposed

amendments.7

D. The Trial Court Erred in Sustaining the Demurrer

1. La Cava adequately stated causes of action for breach

of contract and declaratory judgment based on alleged

direct physical loss or damage to its property caused

by the COVID-19 virus

On appeal, La Cava contends the alleged contamination of

its restaurant by the COVID-19 virus constituted a “physical

change” sufficient to trigger coverage under the Century-National

policy. Century-National and amici curiae argue the policy

language providing coverage for a direct physical loss of or

damage to property required a distinct, demonstrable, physical

alteration of the property. Even assuming La Cava was required

to allege a distinct, demonstrable physical alteration of the

property to show coverage under the policy (as stated in MRI

7 In Amy’s Kitchen, Inc. v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. (2022)

83 Cal.App.5th 1062, 1070-1071, Division Four of the First

District interpreted a policy providing coverage for a

communicable disease event not to require physical alteration of

the premises because the policy language specifically referred to

coverage for the costs to disinfect, cleanup, and remove the

communicable disease. The Court of Appeal reversed the trial

court order, holding the court should have granted leave to

amend to plead a communicable disease event. (Id. at pp. 1072-

1073.)

19

Healthcare, supra, 187 Cal.App.4th at page 779),8 the allegations

of the complaint were sufficient.

The first amended complaint alleged the virus was “certain

to have been present at La Cava at various times,” including “in

the form of virus matter present on walls, floors, tables, chairs,

silverware, dishes, and other surfaces.” As alleged, this was

because thousands of people visited La Cava in the weeks

preceding the shutdown, and based on the spread of the

pandemic, it was “beyond doubt that some—likely many—of them

were infected with the virus and breathed virus matter onto

surfaces at La Cava.” Further, since March 2020 La Cava had

patrons who subsequently tested positive for COVID-19 and who

had the ability to use the restrooms although they were dining

outside, and three employees contracted COVID-19 in late

December 2020 and January 2021. (See Marina Pacific, supra,

81 Cal.App.5th at p. 108 [owners alleged virus “was present on

surfaces throughout the insured properties”].)

The complaint also alleged health authorities and medical

scientists advised that the virus “can remain on smooth surfaces

for at least 28 days,” and it “adheres to, attaches to and alters the

surfaces of the property and surfaces” it comes into contact with,

creating “fomites,” which are “objects, previously safe to touch,

8 In its opening brief, La Cava argued the policy term “direct

physical loss of or damage to” should not be interpreted to require

a physical alteration, and the interpretive rule adopted in MRI

Healthcare, supra, 187 Cal.App.4th 766 should be limited to cases

involving intangible changes to personal property, not real

property. However, La Cava acknowledged in its supplemental

briefing that “in light of Marina Pacific Hotel’s holding that

identical circumstances to La Cava’s satisfy this standard, the

dispute is no longer relevant.”

20

that now serve as agents and mechanism for transmission of

deadly, infections viruses and diseases.” (See Marina Pacific,

supra, 81 Cal.App.5th at p. 101 [owners alleged COVID-19 virus

“‘actually bonds and/or adheres to such objects through physico-

chemical reactions’” and “‘caus[es], among other things, a

distinct, demonstrable or physical alteration to property’”].)

“Cleaning of surfaces alone is insufficient,” and safe operations

would require “substantial physical alterations, systems changes

to facilities, and new protocols for air circulation, disinfection,

and disease prevention.” Because routine cleaning was

insufficient, “[t]he presence of droplets containing coronavirus at

La Cava led to its closure and constitute[d] covered physical

damage to [La Cava’s] premises.” As a result, La Cava lost

business revenues and incurred substantial costs to mitigate the

damage by reconfiguring its property and increasing its

sanitization procedures. (See Marina Pacific, at pp. 108-109

[owners “were required to close or suspend operations in whole or

in part at various times and incurred extra expense as they

adopted measures to restore and remediate the air and surfaces

at the insured properties”].)

As discussed, the trial court found these allegations were

not sufficient as a matter of law, relying on federal decisions

ruling out the possibility of covered losses and the absence of

authority supporting La Cava’s position. We disagree with the

court’s reasoning, as stated in its order sustaining the demurrer

to the original complaint, that La Cava could not show the

COVID-19 virus permanently damages surfaces because “it is

well-known that SARS-CoV-2 surface contamination is

ephemeral, and [La Cava] has not presented the Court with any

authority holding that an ephemeral, pathogenic surface

21

contamination qualifies as ‘damage to’ property under this or

similar policies.” As we discussed in Marina Pacific, supra,

81 Cal.App.5th at page 109, the insured is not required to provide

authority at the pleading stage to support its position that

contamination with the COVID-19 virus caused damage to the

surfaces in its premises.

In its answer to the amicus brief filed by United

Policyholders, Century-National argues Marina Pacific embodies

a “narrow exception” to the general rule that pandemic-related

damages are not recoverable under business loss coverage, and it

urges us instead to follow the skeptical approach taken by

Division Four of this district in United Talent Agency v. Vigilant

Ins. Co., supra, 77 Cal.App.5th 821. We see no reason to deviate

from our decision in Marina Pacific, which did not carve out

simply a “narrow exception,” as suggested by Century-National.

Further, as discussed, the policy provisions at issue in Marina

Pacific are not materially different from those in the Century-

National policy.9 Although Century-National is correct that we

9 Amici curiae American Property and Casualty Insurance

Association and the National Association of Mutual Insurance

Companies seek to distinguish Marina Pacific on similar

grounds. They also contend that allowing La Cava’s complaint to

proceed would destabilize insurance markets by upholding claims

for losses due to any regulation that limits a business’s

operations, such as a noise ordinance mandating early closure or

a fire regulation reducing occupancy and requiring

reconfiguration. We are unpersuaded. These types of regulations

would not involve allegations that “an external force acted on the

insured property causing a physical change in the condition of the

property,” as alleged by La Cava with respect to the COVID-19

virus contamination of its restaurant. (Marina Pacific, supra,

22

considered the communicable diseases coverage in construing the

policy language in Marina Pacific, we concluded there was a

sufficient, independent basis for lost business income coverage

under the policy provision for losses due “to the necessary

suspension of your operation during the period of restoration

arising from direct physical loss or damage to [covered] property.”

(Id. at pp. 109, 112.)

Century-National’s argument that La Cava shut down

because of the government closure orders, and not the COVID-19

pandemic fares no better. Century-National points to La Cava’s

allegation in paragraph 81 that “[o]nce the La Cava management

was made aware by the Orders of the clear and present danger of

the virus and its existence everywhere in LA County, including

on the surfaces and in the air in and around La Cava’s premises,

it promptly shut down operations.” Although this allegation

references the government orders, a fair reading of the allegation

is that it was the orders that apprised La Cava of the existence

and danger of the COVID-19 virus, not that the shut down

happened as a result. Moreover, as alleged, the City of Los

Angeles Mayor’s May 15 public health order prohibited

restaurants from serving food on site, limiting restaurants to

delivery, pickup, or drive-through service of customers, but it did

not require restaurants to shut down entirely. To the extent the

81 Cal.App.5th at p. 107; accord, MRI Healthcare, supra,

187 Cal.App.4th at p. 779.) Moreover, to the extent amici

contend we should interpret the Century-National and similar

policies not to apply to COVID-19 virus contamination for policy

reasons, that is an argument best made to the Legislature, not

directed to our review of the adequacy of the allegations in the

first amended complaint.

23

complaint alleges La Cava initially shut down for two weeks,

then modified its operations, due to the COVID-19 virus and the

government orders, it is a question of fact for a summary

judgment motion or trial whether the restaurant closure and

modifications resulted from damage caused by the COVID-19

virus or the government orders.

Because La Cava sufficiently pleaded direct physical loss or

damage to its property caused by the COVID-19 virus to trigger

coverage, the trial court erred in sustaining the demurrer to the

causes of action for breach of contract and declaratory judgment.

“‘[T]he elements of a cause of action for breach of contract are

(1) the existence of the contract, (2) plaintiff’s performance or

excuse for nonperformance, (3) defendant’s breach, and (4) the

resulting damages to the plaintiff.’” (Marina Pacific, supra,

81 Cal.App.5th at p. 108; accord, Oasis West Realty, LLC v.

Goldman (2011) 51 Cal.4th 811, 821.) Century-National’s

demurrer challenged only the third element, contending it did not

breach its obligation to pay benefits under the policy because La

Cava failed to allege damage to or loss of La Cava’s premises

within the meaning of the policy.10 And the parties’ coverage

dispute is clearly a proper basis for a declaratory judgment cause

of action. (Code Civ. Proc., § 1060 [“Any person interested . . .

under a contract . . . may, in cases of actual controversy relating

10 Because we conclude La Cava alleged loss of business

income caused by direct physical loss of or damage to its

property, we do not reach whether La Cava adequately alleged

entitlement to civil authority coverage, which under the policy

required government action that “prohibits access to the premises

due to direct physical loss of or damage to the property, other

than at the described premises . . . .”

24

to the legal rights and duties of the respective parties, bring an

original action . . . for a declaration of his or her rights and duties

. . . , including a determination of any question of construction or

validity arising under the . . . contract.”]; see Lee v. Silveira

(2016) 6 Cal.App.5th 527, 546 [declaratory relief claimant must

show “two essential elements: ‘(1) a proper subject of declaratory

relief, and (2) an actual controversy involving justiciable

questions relating to the rights or obligations of a party’”].)

2. La Cava adequately alleged causes of action for bad

faith and violation of the UCL based on Century-

National’s summary denial of its insurance claim

As discussed, Century-National argued in its demurrer that

even if the trial court were to find La Cava adequately alleged

breach of the policy, La Cava could not state a claim for breach of

the covenant of good faith and fair dealing because there was a

genuine dispute over policy coverage in light of the fact “nearly

every judge in California” that had considered the question of

coverage for COVID-19-related business losses found no coverage.

Although the trial court did not reach this argument, Century-

National contends on appeal the complaint independently failed

to state a claim for bad faith because the denial of La Cava’s

insurance claim turned on a disputed interpretation of the policy.

La Cava has adequately alleged causes of action for bad faith and

violation of the UCL.11

11 Century-National does not dispute that allegations

sufficient to support a cause of action for breach of the covenant

of good faith and fair dealing are also sufficient to support a claim

for violation of the UCL. (See Zhang v. Superior Court (2013)

25

“[I]n a claim against an insurance carrier, ‘there are at

least two separate requirements to establish breach of the

implied covenant [of good faith and fair dealing]: (1) benefits due

under the policy must have been withheld; and (2) the reason for

withholding benefits must have been unreasonable or without

proper cause.’” (Grebow v. Mercury Ins. Co. (2015)

241 Cal.App.4th 564, 581; accord, Tilbury Constructors, Inc. v.

State Comp. Ins. Fund (2006) 137 Cal.App.4th 466, 475.) It is

“settled law in California that an insurer denying or delaying the

payment of policy benefits due to the existence of a genuine

dispute with its insured as to the existence of coverage liability or

the amount of the insured’s coverage claim is not liable in bad

faith even though it might be liable for breach of contract.”

(Chateau Chamberay Homeowners Assn. v. Associated Internat.

Ins. Co. (2001) 90 Cal.App.4th 335, 347; accord, Case v. State

Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co., Inc. (2018) 30 Cal.App.5th

397, 402.) “[W]here there is a genuine issue as to the insurer’s

liability under the policy . . . , there can be no bad faith liability

imposed on the insurer for advancing its side of that dispute.”

(Chateau Chamberay, at p. 347; accord, Case, at p. 402.)

However, “‘[t]he genuine dispute rule does not relieve an

insurer from its obligation to thoroughly and fairly investigate,

57 Cal.4th 364, 380 [“[B]ad faith insurance practices may qualify

as any of the three statutory forms of unfair competition. They

are unlawful; the insurer’s obligation to act fairly and in good

faith to meet its contractual responsibilities is imposed by the

common law, as well as by statute. They are unfair to the

insured; unfairness lies at the heart of a bad faith cause of action.

They may also qualify as fraudulent business practices.”],

citations and footnote omitted.)

26

process and evaluate the insured’s claim. A genuine dispute

exists only where the insurer’s position is maintained in good

faith and on reasonable grounds.’” (Ghazarian v. Magellan

Health, Inc. (2020) 53 Cal.App.5th 171, 186.) “‘“[T]he

reasonableness of an insurer’s claims-handling conduct is

ordinarily a question of fact, [but] becomes a question of law

where the evidence is undisputed and only one reasonable

inference can be drawn from the evidence.”’” (Hedayati v.

Interinsurance Exchange of the Automobile Club (2021)

67 Cal.App.5th 833, 843; accord, Chateau Chamberay

Homeowners Assn. v. Associated Internat. Ins. Co., supra,

90 Cal.App.4th at p. 350 [affirming summary adjudication of bad

faith claim in favor of insurer where insured offered only a two-

page expert declaration expressing conclusory opinion the insurer

had not conducted an adequate and thorough investigation of

loss].)

The first amended complaint alleged Century-National

“undertook no steps to determine whether the virus had caused

physical damage to the La Cava premises,” and “without

engaging in any legitimate, true, meaningful, or thorough

investigation,” it summarily denied the claim. Further, Century-

National responded to La Cava’s policy claim with what “appears

to be a form letter sent in response to business income claims

arising from [government shutdown orders]” stating, in relevant

part, “The suspension of your business was not caused by a ‘direct

physical loss of or damage to property’ at your designated

premises.”

Century-National does not challenge the sufficiency of the

allegations it failed to conduct any investigation of La Cava’s

claim; rather, it contends its denial was based on a disputed

27

interpretation of the policy. But a genuine dispute foreclosing a

bad faith claim exists only where the insurer’s position is

maintained “in good faith and on reasonable grounds.”

(Ghazarian v. Magellan Health, Inc., supra, 53 Cal.App.5th at

p. 186.) At the pleadings stage, Century-National’s denial of

coverage just three weeks after La Cava tendered its claim and in

the earliest days of our understanding of the novel COVID-19

virus, cannot be deemed as a matter of law to have been made in

good faith with reasonable grounds. Century-National treats

Marina Pacific as a sea change in the law and characterizes its

own position in April 2020 as clearly justified by the later

endorsement of that position by numerous district courts. But at

the time, it was settled law that environmental contamination

that resulted in physical damage could trigger business income

coverage. (See Inns-by-the-Sea, supra, 71 Cal.App.5th 688, 703

[surveying pre-pandemic cases recognizing an insured could

allege “the COVID-19 virus—like smoke, ammonia, odor,

asbestos—is a physical force” and was present on insured

premises and directly caused damage].) La Cava alleged COVID-

19 was present and physically damaged its restaurant, and it

alleged its insurance claim was not limited to civil authority

coverage. And, as alleged, Century-National did not take any

steps to determine whether COVID-19 caused physical damage to

the La Cava premises before denying coverage.

DISPOSITION

The judgment is reversed. The matter is remanded for the

trial court to vacate its order sustaining the demurrer without

28

leave to amend and to enter a new order overruling the

demurrer. La Cava is to recover its costs on appeal.

FEUER, J.

We concur:

PERLUSS, P. J.

SEGAL, J.

29

Filed 1/5/23

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION SEVEN

SHUSHA, INC., B313907

Plaintiff and Appellant, (Los Angeles County

Super. Ct.

v. No. 20STCV25769)

CENTURY-NATIONAL ORDER CERTIFYING

INSURANCE COMPANY, OPINION FOR

PUBLICATION

Defendant and (NO CHANGE IN

Respondent. THE APPELLATE

JUDGMENT)

THE COURT:

The opinion in this case filed December 14, 2022 was not certified

for publication. It appearing the opinion meets the standards for

publication specified in California Rules of Court, rule 8.1105(c),

the requests by Amicus Curiae United Policyholders and

Endeavor Operating Company, LLC, for publication pursuant to

California Rules of Court, rule 8.1120(a) are granted.

IT IS HEREBY CERTIFIED that the opinion meets the

standards for publication specified in California Rules of Court,

rule 8.1105(c); and

ORDERED that the words “Not to be Published in the Official

Reports” appearing on page 1 of said opinion be deleted and the

opinion herein be published in the Official Reports.

___________________________________________________________

PERLUSS, P. J. SEGAL, J. FEUER, J.

2

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.