Opinion

Larry D. Pinson v. United States

Court
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
Filed
Nov 4, 2022
Status
Unpublished
Nature of suit
NEW
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 10.2%

The opinion

USCA11 Case: 21-14032 Date Filed: 11/04/2022 Page: 1 of 12

[DO NOT PUBLISH]

In the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Eleventh Circuit

____________________

No. 21-14032

Non-Argument Calendar

____________________

LARRY D. PINSON,

LENNELLE O. PINSON,

LARRY PINSON, JR.,

LAWRENCE PINSON,

LAMAR PINSON,

LANCE PINSON,

LAWRSON PINSON,

LAWRON PINSON,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

versus

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

USCA11 Case: 21-14032 Date Filed: 11/04/2022 Page: 2 of 12

2 Opinion of the Court 21-14032

Defendant-Appellee.

____________________

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Georgia

D.C. Docket No. 3:21-cv-00089-TCB

____________________

Before LAGOA, ANDERSON, and HULL, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

Larry D. Pinson, his wife, and his six sons, proceeding pro

se, appeal the district court’s dismissal of their 15 claims under the

Federal Torts Claim Act (“FTCA”). On appeal, the Pinsons argue

that the district court erred by finding that (1) the Veterans’ Judicial

Review Act (“VJRA”) divested the district court of subject matter

jurisdiction over their claims for veterans’ benefits, (2) they did not

exhaust their administrative remedies as to any FTCA claims,

(3) the intentional tort exception to the FTCA’s waiver of

sovereign immunity applied, and (4) their FTCA claims were

time-barred. After review, we affirm the district court’s dismissal

of the Pinsons’ claims.

USCA11 Case: 21-14032 Date Filed: 11/04/2022 Page: 3 of 12

21-14032 Opinion of the Court 3

I. BACKGROUND

A. Facts

We recount the factual allegations primarily from the

Pinsons’ complaint. In addition, we consider various documentary

exhibits attached to the government’s motion to dismiss. A court

may consider a document attached to a motion to dismiss without

converting the motion into one for summary judgment if the

document is (1) central to the plaintiff’s claim and (2) undisputed—

i.e., its authenticity is not challenged. Horsley v. Feldt, 304 F.3d

1125, 1134 (11th Cir. 2002). Because the documents are central to

the Pinsons’ claims and not in dispute, we, as the district court did,

consider them.

Pinson, an uninsured, fully disabled veteran, contacted the

Department of Veterans Affairs (“VA”) several times to request

three surgeries: rotator cuff surgery, hip surgery, and surgery to

remove a tumor in his spinal column. The VA neglected to

respond. Because his health was deteriorating quickly, Pinson

obtained the three surgeries at other medical facilities in 2007, 2008,

and 2009.

In 2014, Pinson sought reimbursement by mailing over 700

pages of medical records to two VA facilities. His records were not

returned. Pinson sent multiple letters and spoke to various

personnel at the VA, inquiring about the location of his records.

Pinson never received an answer about the whereabouts of his

USCA11 Case: 21-14032 Date Filed: 11/04/2022 Page: 4 of 12

4 Opinion of the Court 21-14032

records. Between 2014 and 2018, Pinson continued to seek

reimbursement from the VA, but to no avail.

On April 25, 2018, the VA informed Pinson that he must file

a Standard Form 95 (“SF-95”) because his letter had alleged that the

VA negligently destroyed faxed documents relating to his

reimbursement requests.

In December 2018, Pinson submitted an SF-95. He

complained about the VA’s failure to administer medical care and

denial of reimbursement for his treatment at the other medical

facilities. He listed the date of injury as 2004 to 2015 and requested

$500,000 for medical reimbursement. Pinson was the only

claimant and person to sign the form.

On August 27, 2019, the VA sent Pinson a letter denying his

claim because (1) “[a]ccording to the description outlined in

[Pinson’s] claims,” his requested reimbursement for non-VA care

involved the administration of VA benefits, rather than a state-law

tort claim; and (2) his claim was time-barred under 28 U.S.C.

§ 2401(b) because it was filed over two years after the claim

accrued. The VA construed Pinson’s claim as a denial of benefits

and reimbursement. The VA’s denial letter stated that Pinson

“fail[ed] to allege a claim cognizable under the FTCA and

therefore, there [was] no jurisdiction to consider [his] claim under

the FTCA.” The VA explained that the exclusive avenue for Pinson

to pursue his claim was through the U.S. Court of Appeals for

Veterans Claims and then the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit.

USCA11 Case: 21-14032 Date Filed: 11/04/2022 Page: 5 of 12

21-14032 Opinion of the Court 5

In February 2020, Pinson asked for reconsideration. On

December 1, 2020, the VA restated the two grounds for denying

his claims and added that “[f]urther action on this matter may be

instituted in accordance with the FTCA.”

B. Procedural History

On June 1, 2021, the Pinsons, proceeding pro se, sued the

government alleging these 15 counts: (1) “Intentional Infliction of

Emotional Distress” 1; (2) “Intentional Denial and Rejection of

Veteran Claim”; (3) “Privacy Violations”; (4) “Los[s] of Medical

Records”; (5) “Allege No Records”; (6) “Office of Community Care

Denver Co.”; (7) “Medical Records should have been coded into

system”; (8) “Medical Records Negligently destroyed”;

(9) “Muskogee Business Office (VA)”; (10) “File Record in Cabinet,

Storm Damage Roof Record Disappeared”; (11) “Veteran

requested date of storm. According to [the] VA in Washington

D.C. the allege[d] storm occurred on July 14, 2016”;

(12) “Destruction of Records & Privacy Violation (Jackson M[S])”;

(13) “VISN-16 Privacy Specialist Confirms Privacy Violation”;

(14) “VHA Never Received Veteran Records”; and (15) “Court

Decision 2016 VA Has Short Change [sic] Veteran Since 2009.”

The government moved to dismiss. The government

argued that the district court should dismiss the Pinsons’ complaint

1 The basis of the intentional infliction of emotional distress claim is that the

VA’s “negligen[t] actions cause[d] [Pinson] and [his] family members

unnecessary and undue emotional distress.”

USCA11 Case: 21-14032 Date Filed: 11/04/2022 Page: 6 of 12

6 Opinion of the Court 21-14032

for four reasons: (1) lack of subject matter jurisdiction under the

VJRA, (2) lack of subject matter jurisdiction because the Pinsons

failed to exhaust their administrative remedies, (3) lack of subject

matter jurisdiction pursuant to the FTCA’s intentional tort

exception, and (4) the Pinsons’ claims were time-barred. On

October 15, 2021, the district court granted the government’s

motion to dismiss on those four grounds.

II. STANDARD OF REVIEW

We review de novo the dismissal of a complaint for lack of

subject matter jurisdiction. Motta ex rel. A.M. v. United States, 717

F.3d 840, 843 (11th Cir. 2013).

III. DISCUSSION

On appeal, the Pinsons argue that the district court erred in

dismissing their claims because (1) the VJRA does not divest the

district court of subject matter jurisdiction, (2) they did not fail to

exhaust their administrative remedies as to the FTCA claims,

(3) the FTCA’s intentional tort exception does not apply, and

(4) their FTCA claims are not time-barred. We discuss each ground

in turn.

A. VJRA

In 1988, Congress enacted the VJRA, Pub. L. No. 100–687,

102 Stat. 4105 (1988), which sets forth the framework for the

adjudication of claims for veterans’ benefits. The process begins

when a claimant files for benefits with a regional office of the

Department of Veterans Affairs. Decisions from the Department

USCA11 Case: 21-14032 Date Filed: 11/04/2022 Page: 7 of 12

21-14032 Opinion of the Court 7

of Veterans Affairs may be appealed to the Board of Veterans’

Appeals (“Board”), whose ruling becomes the final decision of the

Secretary. 38 U.S.C. § 7104(a). Decisions of the Board may then

be reviewed exclusively by the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans

Claims, an Article I court established by the VJRA. Id. §§ 7251,

7252(a), 7266(a).

In turn, decisions of the Court of Appeals for Veterans

Claims are appealable only to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit. Id. § 7292(a), (c). The Federal Circuit’s judgment

is then subject to certiorari review by the Supreme Court. Id.

§ 7292(c). In short, Congress gave the aforementioned courts

exclusive jurisdiction over claims affecting veterans’ benefits. See

Hall v. U.S. Dep’t of Veterans’ Affs., 85 F.3d 532, 534 (11th Cir.

1996) (“[J]udicial review of a particular application of the law made

by the Secretary with respect to a veteran’s entitlement to benefits

may be had only by appealing to the Board, then to the Court of

Veterans Appeals, the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals[,] and the

Supreme Court.”).

Specifically, the VJRA provides that the VA Secretary’s

decision as to any “questions of law and fact necessary to a decision

by the Secretary under a law that affects the provision of

benefits . . . shall be final and conclusive and may not be reviewed

by any other official or by any court.” 38 U.S.C. § 511(a) (emphases

added). The term “benefit” means “any payment, service,

commodity, function, or status, entitlement to which is

determined under laws administered by the Department of

USCA11 Case: 21-14032 Date Filed: 11/04/2022 Page: 8 of 12

8 Opinion of the Court 21-14032

Veterans Affairs pertaining to veterans and their dependents and

survivors.” 38 C.F.R. § 20.3(e). This Court has explained that the

VJRA precludes judicial review of not only any substantive benefits

decision by the Secretary, but also any decision made by the

Secretary “in the course of” making a benefits determination.

Smith v. United States, 7 F.4th 963, 985 (11th Cir. 2021).

The district court held the VJRA precluded it from

reviewing the Pinsons’ claims. The district court explained that

“[e]ach count is based on benefits and reimbursement to which

Pinson contends he is entitled” and “[t]he crux of [the Pinsons’]

claims is to recover benefits that were wrongfully denied, and

damages arising therefrom.” Therefore, the Pinsons needed to

appeal to the Board, which had exclusive jurisdiction over these

types of claims.

The district court did not err in finding it lacked subject

matter jurisdiction under the VJRA. Each count in the complaint

is based on benefits and reimbursement to which Pinson contends

he was entitled. Even though the Pinsons allege tort claims, such

as intentional infliction of emotional distress and privacy

violations, these claims arise from the VA denying Pinson’s

benefits. Accordingly, the Pinsons’ claims can be reviewed only by

the federal courts that possess exclusive jurisdiction over claims

affecting veterans’ benefits.

USCA11 Case: 21-14032 Date Filed: 11/04/2022 Page: 9 of 12

21-14032 Opinion of the Court 9

B. Exhaustion of Administrative Remedies

“The FTCA bars claimants from bringing suit in federal

court until they have exhausted their administrative remedies.”

McNeil v. United States, 508 U.S. 106, 113 (1993). A plaintiff has

exhausted his administrative remedies when he has “first presented

the claim to the appropriate Federal agency and his claim [has]

been finally denied by the agency in writing and sent by certified or

registered mail.” 28 U.S.C. § 2675(a).

“[A] claim shall be deemed to have been presented when a

Federal agency receives from a claimant . . . an executed Standard

Form 95 or other written notification of an incident . . . .” 28 C.F.R.

§ 14.2(a). The FTCA requires that each claim and each claimant

meet this prerequisite. See Turner ex rel. Turner v. United States,

514 F.3d 1194, 1200 (11th Cir. 2008).

The district court held that the Pinsons failed to exhaust

their administrative remedies because only Pinson submitted an

SF-95 to the VA, the SF-95 did not name his family members as

claimants, and Pinson failed to appeal the denial of his

administrative claim to the Board.

The district court did not err in finding that the Pinsons

failed to exhaust their administrative remedies under the FTCA.

Pinson’s SF-95 relates only to the denial of medical care and

benefits, which is “a classic veteran’s benefits claim . . . over which

the district court clearly lacked subject matter jurisdiction under

the VJRA.” Smith, 7 F.4th at 978–79. Consequently, each of

USCA11 Case: 21-14032 Date Filed: 11/04/2022 Page: 10 of 12

10 Opinion of the Court 21-14032

Pinson’s claims either is subject to the VJRA or was not

administratively exhausted by filing a SF-95 under the FTCA. In

other words, each of Pinson’s claims either (1) is intertwined with

the VA’s alleged denial of medical care and benefits to Pinson (in

which case it is subject to the VJRA and subject matter jurisdiction

is lacking for that reason) or (2) was not administratively exhausted

because his SF-95 only covers denial of medical care and benefits.

Further, Pinson’s wife and six sons failed to present any

administrative claim to the VA because they did not submit an

SF-95 or “other written notification of an incident,” and Pinson did

not include them as claimants on his SF-95. 28 C.F.R. § 14.2(a).

Because Pinson’s wife and six sons failed to “individually satisfy the

jurisdictional prerequisite of filing a proper claim,” Dalrymple v.

United States, 460 F.3d 1318, 1325 (11th Cir. 2006) (quotation

marks omitted), the district court properly found it lacked subject

matter jurisdiction over their claims.

C. Statute of Limitations

A claimant must present his or her claim to the appropriate

agency within two years of the date on which the action accrues,

or it is “forever barred.” 28 U.S.C. § 2401(b). A cause of action

accrues, and the statute of limitations clock begins to run, when

“the facts which would support a cause of action are apparent or

should be apparent” to a reasonably prudent person. Rozar v.

Mullis, 85 F.3d 556, 561–62 (11th Cir. 1996) (quotation marks

omitted). “This rule requires a court first to identify the alleged

USCA11 Case: 21-14032 Date Filed: 11/04/2022 Page: 11 of 12

21-14032 Opinion of the Court 11

injuries, and then to determine when plaintiffs could have sued for

them.” Id. at 562.

The district court held that the Pinsons’ claims were

time-barred. The court explained that Pinson submitted his SF-95

in December 2018, and he listed the date of his injuries as 2004 to

2015. Based on those dates, the district court said 2015 was the

latest his claims could have accrued, and therefore, the latest

Pinson could have filed his SF-95 was 2017.

The district court did not err in finding that the Pinsons’

claims were time-barred under the FTCA’s two-year statute of

limitations. In his SF-95, Pinson listed the date of his injuries as

2004 to 2015. Even if we assume arguendo Pinson had some

brand-new injuries in 2015, the statute of limitations began running

no later than 2015. Pinson thus exceeded the two-year statute of

limitations when he filed his SF-95 in December 2018. 2

2 In their brief, the Pinsons suggest equitable tolling may be appropriate here.

“Equitable tolling is appropriate when a movant untimely files because of

extraordinary circumstances that are both beyond [his] control and

unavoidable even with diligence.” Stamper v. Duval Cnty. Sch. Bd., 863 F.3d

1336, 1342 (11th Cir. 2017) (quotation marks omitted). The Pinsons bear the

burden of demonstrating equitable tolling of the limitations period is

appropriate. Dotson v. United States, 30 F.4th 1259, 1268 (11th Cir. 2022).

The Pinsons’ brief has simply included only law related to equitable tolling but

with no factual explanation of circumstances beyond their control or

unavoidable with due diligence.

USCA11 Case: 21-14032 Date Filed: 11/04/2022 Page: 12 of 12

12 Opinion of the Court 21-14032

D. FTCA’s Intentional Tort Exception

As noted above, the Pinsons also appeal the district court’s

finding that the FTCA’s intentional tort exception does not apply

to their claims. Because we affirm the dismissal of the Pinsons’

FTCA claims based on failure-to-exhaust and statute-of-limitations

grounds, we need not reach this issue.

IV. CONCLUSION

For those reasons, we affirm the district court’s dismissal of

the Pinsons’ claims.

AFFIRMED.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.