Opinion

Allan Ranta v. Catholic Mutual Relief Society

  • 492 F. App'x 373
Court
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
Filed
Jul 24, 2012
Status
Unpublished
On the bench
Motz, Gregory, Duncan
Cited by
3 cases
Authority
More cited than 50.2%

The opinion

UNPUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 11-2233

ALLAN CARL RANTA,

Plaintiff - Appellant,

v.

THE CATHOLIC MUTUAL RELIEF SOCIETY OF AMERICA,

Defendant - Appellee,

and

WAYLAND YODER BROWN,

Defendant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the District of

South Carolina, at Beaufort. Sol Blatt, Jr., Senior District

Judge. (9:11-cv-00074-SB)

Submitted: May 18, 2012 Decided: July 24, 2012

Before MOTZ, GREGORY, and DUNCAN, Circuit Judges.

Affirmed by unpublished per curiam opinion.

Lawrence E. Richter, Jr., Aaron E. Edwards, THE RICHTER FIRM,

LLC, Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina, for Appellant. Richard A.

Farrier, Jr., Robert H. Jordan, NELSON MULLINS RILEY &

SCARBOROUGH, LLP, Charleston, South Carolina; David M. Spector,

Dennis G. LaGory, David C. Giles, SCHIFF HARDIN LLP, Chicago,

Illinois, for Appellee.

Unpublished opinions are not binding precedent in this circuit.

2

PER CURIAM:

Allan Carl Ranta brought suit against the Catholic

Mutual Relief Society (“Catholic Mutual”), seeking a declaratory

judgment that the insurance company is required to indemnify

Wayland Yoder Brown, a defrocked priest and convicted pedophile,

for the $100 million tort judgment Ranta obtained against him.

The district court granted Catholic Mutual’s motion for summary

judgment and denied Ranta’s cross motion for summary judgment,

and Ranta now appeals. We have reviewed the record and find no

reversible error. Accordingly, we affirm.

In 2006, Ranta brought suit against Brown, the Holy

See, the Roman Catholic Diocese of Savannah, and Most Rev.

Raymond Lessard and J. Kevin Boland, the Diocese’s former and

current bishops, in South Carolina state court, alleging that

Brown sexually molested, raped, and physically assaulted him as

a minor from 1978 to 1982, resulting in years of psychological

damage with physical manifestations. In 2009, Ranta reached a

“Settlement Agreement and Release” with the Roman Catholic

Diocese of Savannah, Lessard, and Boland, whereby Ranta agreed

to release “any and all” claims against the named Defendants, as

well as the Defendants’ insurers, including Catholic Mutual. In

return, the Defendants agreed to pay Ranta $4.24 million “in

full settlement and discharge of all claims which are, or might

have been, the subject matter of the Complaint.”

3

Ranta subsequently filed a motion for summary judgment

against Brown, who was not a party to the Settlement Agreement.

In response, Brown pled his Fifth Amendment right against self-

incrimination. The South Carolina Court of Common Pleas granted

Ranta summary judgment on all causes of action, awarding him $50

million in actual damages and $50 million in punitive damages

based upon “the violent and severe sexual abuse” suffered by

Ranta, the pain and suffering that resulted, and the extensive

and substantial medical care incurred. Ranta v. Roman Catholic

Diocese of Savannah, No. 2006-CO-27-143 (S.C. Ct. Comm. Pl. Jan.

10, 2010).

In December 2010, Ranta brought the instant action

against Catholic Mutual in South Carolina state court, seeking a

declaratory judgment that Catholic Mutual is obligated to

indemnify Brown for the $100 million tort judgment obtained

against him. Catholic Mutual removed the case to federal court,

and both parties filed motions for summary judgment. The

district court found that the Settlement Agreement did not

release Catholic Mutual with respect to Ranta’s claims against

Brown. However, the court ruled that summary judgment in favor

of Catholic Mutual was nonetheless warranted, as Brown’s

intentional acts of sexual molestation did not constitute an

“occurrence” under the insurance policy at issue. The district

4

court denied Ranta’s subsequent motion to alter or amend the

court’s judgment, and Ranta timely appealed.

We review the district court’s grant of summary

judgment de novo. Jennings v. Univ. of N.C., 482 F.3d 686, 694

(4th Cir. 2007) (en banc). Summary judgment shall be granted

“if the movant shows that there is no genuine dispute as to any

material fact and the movant is entitled to judgment as a matter

of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(a). “At the summary judgment

stage, facts must be viewed in the light most favorable to the

nonmoving party only if there is a genuine dispute as to those

facts.” Scott v. Harris, 550 U.S. 372, 380 (2007) (internal

quotation marks and citation omitted). “Where the record taken

as a whole could not lead a rational trier of fact to find for

the nonmoving party, there is no genuine issue for trial.” Id.

(internal quotation marks and citation omitted).

Under South Carolina choice of law rules, ∗ an insurance

policy is governed by the law of the state in which the policy

was issued. Unisun Ins. Co. v. Hertz Rental Corp., 436 S.E.2d

549, 551-52 (S.C. Ct. App. 1993). Brown is a Georgia resident

and the policy was issued in Georgia; therefore, Georgia law

governs the interpretation of the insurance policy. Pursuant to

∗

As the district court sits in South Carolina, South

Carolina choice of law rules govern this diversity case. Klaxon

Co. v. Stentor Elec. Mfg. Co., 313 U.S. 487, 496 (1941).

5

Georgia law, to establish a prima facie case on a claim under an

insurance policy, the insured must show that the occurrence was

within the insured risk. Perry v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co.,

676 S.E.2d 376, 378 (Ga. Ct. App. 2008); Allstate Ins. Co. v.

Grayes, 454 S.E.2d 616, 618 (Ga. Ct. App. 1995).

The policy at issue provides coverage for personal

injuries caused by an “occurrence,” which is defined as “an

accident, including injurious exposure to conditions, which

results, during the certificate period, in personal injury . . .

neither expected nor intended from the standpoint of the”

insured party. Although the policy does not define the term

“accident,” Georgia caselaw defines an accident as “an event

which takes place without one’s foresight or expectation or

design.” Perry, 676 S.E.2d at 378 (citing Crook v. Ga. Farm

Bureau Mut. Ins. Co., 428 S.E.2d 802, 803 (Ga. Ct. App. 1993)).

On appeal, Ranta asserts that the district court erred

in finding that Brown’s acts of sexual abuse did not constitute

an “occurrence.” According to Ranta, Brown knew or should have

known he was a danger to children, yet failed to protect Ranta

from him, thereby breaching his fiduciary duties as a priest.

Therefore, Ranta contends, Brown’s conduct constitutes

negligence, which triggers coverage under Catholic Mutual’s

insurance policy.

6

However, the district court properly found that

Ranta’s attempt to recharacterize Brown’s egregious acts of

child rape and sexual molestation as negligence does not render

Brown’s conduct accidental. Numerous Georgia courts have denied

insurance coverage for intentional acts of sexual abuse,

regardless of attempts to recast acts of child molestation in

terms of negligence. See Roe v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co., 376

S.E.2d 876, 877 (Ga. 1989) (rejecting argument that insurance

coverage was warranted because insured perpetrator sexually

molested child due to obsessive compulsion, without intent to

injure child, as “intentional child molestation carries with it

a presumption of intent to inflict injury”); Harden v. State

Farm Fire & Cas. Co., 605 S.E.2d 37, 38 (Ga. Ct. App. 2004)

(finding that homeowner’s insurance company had no duty to

indemnify insured who sexually molested a minor child, as the

insured “engaged in intentional (not accidental) sexual abuse of

the child, causing physical and mental damage to the child which

he could only have expected and intended”).

Indeed, overwhelming precedent establishes that acts

of child molestation are, as a matter of law, considered to be

intentional and therefore outside the scope of an “occurrence”

for insurance coverage purposes. See Mfr. & Merch. Mut. Ins.

Co. v. Harvey, 498 S.E.2d 222, 226 (S.C. Ct. App. 1998) (listing

decisions from forty-one states finding that acts of child

7

sexual molestation carry presumption of intent to inflict

injury). Although Ranta alleges that Brown acted negligently by

failing to protect Ranta against him, the allegations of sexual

misconduct involve intentional, willful, and deliberate acts.

Moreover, because Brown’s acts of sexual abuse carry the

inferred intent to harm Ranta, the acts alleged against Brown

are not “occurrences” and, therefore, are beyond the scope of

Catholic Mutual’s insurance coverage.

Ranta next asserts that the district court erroneously

awarded Catholic Mutual summary judgment because Catholic Mutual

failed to defend Brown in the underlying South Carolina

litigation, thereby waiving its coverage defense. Because

Catholic Mutual elected not to defend Brown, Ranta advances,

Catholic Mutual is estopped from challenging the state court’s

judgment that Brown’s negligence was a proximate cause of

Ranta’s injuries.

The district court properly rejected Ranta’s argument,

as the elements of collateral estoppel are not present. Under

South Carolina law, collateral estoppel precludes only “a party

to the prior action or one in privity with a party to the prior

action” from relitigating an issue previously litigated. Ex

parte Allstate Ins. Co., 528 S.E.2d 679, 681 (S.C. Ct. App.

2000). The term “privy” means “one so identified in interest

with another that he represents the same legal right.” Id.

8

Accordingly, when an insurer elects not to defend a tort suit on

the ground that the insured’s tortious conduct was outside the

scope of the insurance policy, the insured and the insurer do

not share an identity of interest regarding the underlying

action and, therefore, are not in privity. See State Farm Fire

& Cas. Co. v. Garrity, 785 F.2d 1225, 1227 (4th Cir. 1986)

(“When the insured is sued for negligence and the insurance

company believes the injury was intentional, [ ] the interests

of the insurer and the insured diverge.”).

Moreover, an insurance company “is neither obligated

to defend nor bound by the findings of the court if the claim

against the insured is not covered by the policy.” Farm Bureau

Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Hammer, 177 F.2d 793, 799 (4th Cir.

1949). The district court properly found that the allegations

of Ranta’s complaint established that there was no duty to

defend. Accordingly, the South Carolina tort judgment does not

bar Catholic Mutual from asserting that Brown’s conduct was

intentional and, therefore, outside the scope of insurance

coverage.

Based on the foregoing, we affirm the judgment of the

district court. We dispense with oral argument because the

facts and legal contentions are adequately presented in the

9

materials before the court and argument would not aid the

decisional process.

AFFIRMED

10

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.