Opinion

Dameware Development, L.L.C. v. American General Life Insurance

  • 688 F.3d 203
  • 2012 U.S. App. LEXIS 14837
  • 2012 WL 2926965
Court
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Filed
Jul 19, 2012
Status
Published
Author
Stewart
On the bench
Elrod, Southwick, Stewart
Cited by
27 cases
Authority
More cited than 85.4%

The opinion

Case: 11-20218 Document: 00511927366 Page: 1 Date Filed: 07/19/2012

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT United States Court of Appeals

Fifth Circuit

FILED

July 19, 2012

No. 11-20218 Lyle W. Cayce

Clerk

DAMEWARE DEVELOPMENT, L.L.C.; DAMEWARE DEVELOPMENT

L.L.C. DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN AND TRUST,

Plaintiffs - Appellants,

v.

AMERICAN GENERAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant - Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Texas

Before STEWART, ELROD, and SOUTHWICK, Circuit Judges.

CARL E. STEWART, Circuit Judge:

Dameware Development, LLC Defined Benefit Pension Plan and Trust

(“Dameware” or the “Plan”)1 bought several life insurance policies (the “policies”)

from American General Life Insurance Company (“American General”). After

Dameware was unable to obtain the tax benefits it hoped would result from

purchasing the policies, it sued American General for damages and for rescission

of the contract. The district court granted summary judgment to American

1

Dameware Development LLC is a named party to this suit, but the district court

ruled that it did not have standing. Because it does not challenge this contention on appeal,

the only remaining appellant is the Dameware Development, LLC Defined Benefit Pension

Plan and Trust.

Case: 11-20218 Document: 00511927366 Page: 2 Date Filed: 07/19/2012

No. 11-20218

General. Because we conclude that Dameware has not shown any basis for

rescinding the contract nor any contractual duties breached by American

General, we AFFIRM the district court’s judgment.

I.

In 2003, Joseph Vizzini, Dameware’s financial advisor, attended a

presentation about the use of American General financial products to establish

a pension plan that qualified for favorable tax treatment pursuant to section 412

of the Internal Revenue Code. On Vizzini’s advice, Dameware decided to

establish such a plan. Accordingly, Vizzini contacted Kimberly Branch, an

American General vice president. Branch referred Vizzini to Alan Zeplain, an

American General agent, who, Vizzini says, advised Vizzini that, in order to

establish a 412(i) Plan funded by American General’s financial products,

Dameware must select a Third-Party Administrator (“TPA”)2 from American

General’s list of approved TPAs. Dameware chose B&F Corporate Benefit

Services, Inc. (“B&F”), one of the TPAs that American General had approved.

On December 16, 2003, B&F sent Zeplain a proposed 412(I) Plan, and Zeplain

forwarded it to Vizzini the next day. Dameware signed an administrative

services agreement with B&F on December 23, 2003. Dameware intended to

fund the Plan, which came to be known as the Dameware Development, LLC

Defined Benefit Pension Plan and Trust, with life insurance policies for three

employees and annuities from American General.

2

Vizzini’s affidavit explains the role of TPAs as follows:

A key player in putting together a 412(I) plan is the third party administrator

(TPA). The TPA develops the plan based on the clients[’] objectives, cash flow,

and employee census. Annual administration, performed by the TPA, typically

includes calculating the required plan contributions, and completing annual

reports for the IRS, Department of Labor, and the Pension Benefit Guarantee

Corporation, the federal agency that monitors pension plans.

2

Case: 11-20218 Document: 00511927366 Page: 3 Date Filed: 07/19/2012

No. 11-20218

On January 13, 2004, Dameware submitted applications for life insurance

policies to American General on behalf of three employees: Victoria Goodwin,

Karla Hatcher, and Robert K. Hatcher. It paid American General $743,510.47

to fund the Plan for 2003 and partially fund the Plan for 2004 on February 20,

2004, and subsequently paid American General an additional $486,274 to fund

the Plan for the remainder of 2004. The three insureds acknowledged receipt of

the policies on March 24, 2004. The policies themselves contained no

information relating to a 412(I) Plan, except that the applications asserted that

one basis for purchasing the policies was “tax benefit.” Delivered along with the

policies were Disclosure and Acknowledgment Forms. These Disclosure and

Acknowledgment Forms included a list of thirteen TPAs, and required the signor

to check a box next to the TPA it selected. Each signor selected B&F as TPA.

The Disclosure and Acknowledgment Forms contained a number of disclaimers,

including the following: that Dameware is not relying on any “representation,

warranty or guarantee beyond those contained within the insurance policy

contract itself, including any riders or amendments thereto”; that “the TPA

indicated herein is responsible for administering the section 412(I) Plan . . .”;

and that

American General Life Insurance Company operates solely in the

capacity of a product provider and that any sales presentations, tax

consequences, and/or planning concepts that may have been

presented by American General Life Insurance Company . . .

describing the benefits of using life insurance in connection with the

Plan cannot be relied upon as tax or legal advice.

Each Disclosure and Acknowledgment Form was signed on March 24 by

Dameware, acting through an agent; the covered Dameware employee; and by

Vizzini.

While American General immediately began to provide life insurance

coverage for the three covered Dameware employees, Dameware never obtained

3

Case: 11-20218 Document: 00511927366 Page: 4 Date Filed: 07/19/2012

No. 11-20218

any tax benefits from the life insurance policies or annuities it purchased from

American General. In July 2005, Vizzini began contacting B&F to learn what

information needed to be submitted to receive tax benefits for 2004, but received

no response. Vizzini accordingly contacted American General’s Zeplain, who

informed Vizzini that American General had terminated its relationship with

B&F. Vizzini and Zeplain thereafter contacted Pension Professionals of

America, which American General had also approved as a TPA. The Pension

Professionals of America worked on Dameware’s 412(i) Plan for approximately

a year. In April 2006, a representative of Pension Professionals informed Vizzini

that B&F’s strategy in formulating Dameware’s 412(i) Plan had been flawed.

Then, in the summer of 2006, a representative from Pension Professionals of

America informed Vizzini that the company was no longer acting as a TPA, and

that it had not completed Dameware’s 412(i) Plan.

Vizzini contacted Zeplain again, and Zeplain provided the names of two

more TPAs. Vizzini contacted National Pension Associates, one of the two TPAs

Zeplain named, and it agreed to do the work. But it, too, failed to perform the

work required to complete a Plan that could be submitted for Dameware’s 2006

tax returns.

In December 2006, Dameware advised American General that it no longer

wanted to wait to obtain the benefits of a 412(I) Plan. At this point, it had been

three years since Dameware had signed an administrative services agreement

with the first TPA, and Dameware had paid more than two million dollars to

American General for insurance products. Dameware asked American General

to return the money it had already paid. American General returned the money

Dameware had paid for annuities, but did not return the $1,043,900.83

Dameware had paid in life insurance premiums. When American General failed

to return the life insurance premiums, Dameware sued, alleging that its error

4

Case: 11-20218 Document: 00511927366 Page: 5 Date Filed: 07/19/2012

No. 11-20218

concerning a cause for entering into the contract had vitiated its consent, and

that American General had breached the contract.

The district court granted summary judgment to American General on

Dameware’s claims, reasoning that American General had no duties to

Dameware with respect to the provision of the TPAs. Dameware appeals.

II.

The court reviews a decision rendered on a motion for summary judgment

de novo, applying the same standard as the district court. Threadgill v.

Prudential Sec. Grp., Inc., 145 F.3d 286, 292 (5th Cir. 1998). Summary

judgment is appropriate if the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories,

and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that “there is

no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(a). When considering a motion

for summary judgment, the court must view all facts and evidence in the light

most favorable to the non-moving party. United Fire & Cas. Co. v. Hixson Bros.,

453 F.3d 283, 285 (5th Cir. 2006).

III.

A.

We first address Dameware’s contention that its contract with American

General was invalid. The four elements of a valid contract under Louisiana law

are the following: (1) the parties must possess the capacity to contract; (2) the

parties’ mutual consent must be freely given; (3) there must be a certain object

for the contract; and (4) the contract must have a lawful purpose. St. Charles

Ventures, L.L.C. v. Albertsons, Inc., 265 F. Supp. 2d 682, 688-90 (E.D. La. 2003)

(citing Provenza v. Cent. & Sw. Servs., Inc., 775 So. 2d 84, 89 (La. Ct. App.

5

Case: 11-20218 Document: 00511927366 Page: 6 Date Filed: 07/19/2012

No. 11-20218

2000)). At issue here is the requirement that both parties have consented to a

contract.3

Dameware contends that its consent was vitiated by an error concerning

cause. Articles 1949 and 1950 of the Louisiana Civil Code explain what types

of error vitiate consent. An error vitiates consent when it “concer[ns] . . a cause

without which the obligation would not have been incurred.” La. Civ. Code Ann.

art. 1949. A “cause” is “the reason why a party obligates himself.” Id. art. 1967.

“Error may concern a cause” when the error

bears on the nature of the contract, or the thing that is the

contractual object or a substantial quality of that thing, or the

person or the qualities of the other party, or the law, or any other

circumstances that the parties regarded, or should in good faith

have regarded, as a cause of that obligation.

Id. art. 1950.

Dameware maintains that its cause for entering into the contract was to

establish a 412(I) Plan, and that its inability to establish a 412(I) Plan

constitutes an error concerning cause. But the contractual language undercuts

Dameware’s argument. The contract between Dameware and American General

focuses almost entirely on American General’s provision of life insurance

policies. Only one document, the Disclosure and Acknowledgment Form, focuses

on the establishment of a 412(I) Plan.4 The Disclosure and Acknowledgment

Form does not demonstrate that the establishment of a 412(I) Plan was

Dameware’s cause for entering into a contract with American General. As we

3

American General argues that Dameware failed to adequately plead vitiated consent

in its complaint and therefore waived arguments based on this theory. We assume without

deciding that Dameware has not waived these arguments.

4

The district court found that the contract was limited to the insurance policies. On

appeal, Dameware argues that the Disclosure and Acknowledgment Forms–which were signed

on the same day as the insurance policies and which are the only documents connecting

American General to the TPAs in any way–were also part of the contract. We assume without

deciding that the Disclosure and Acknowledgment Forms were part of the contract.

6

Case: 11-20218 Document: 00511927366 Page: 7 Date Filed: 07/19/2012

No. 11-20218

discuss below, the Disclosure and Acknowledgment Form has two primary

functions: first, it disclaims any responsibility on the part of American General

for establishing a 412(i) Plan; and second, it contains a list of TPAs for

Dameware to choose from, and provides that whichever TPA Dameware selects

is solely responsible for establishing Dameware’s 412(i) Plan. The relationships

between Dameware and the TPAs were governed by contractual agreements

separate from the contract between Dameware and American General. Thus,

the cause of the contracts between Dameware and the TPAs–which are not at

issue in this case–might have been to establish a 412(I) Plan; but the language

of the contract between Dameware and American General demonstrates that

“the reason Dameware obligated itself” in its contract with American General

was to secure life insurance policies for its employees.5

In addition to not squaring with the language of the contract, Dameware’s

argument does not follow from the language of the Code. Dameware maintains

that it committed an error concerning cause by incorrectly assuming that the

establishment of a 412(i) Plan would follow from its purchase of the policies.

While the comments to the Louisiana Civil Code provide a number of examples

illustrating the application of Article 1950, none of the examples concern

factually analogous circumstances. Comment C, the closest analogy, reads as

follows:

relief may be obtained when either the thing for which a party has

contracted or a substantial quality of that thing is different from

what he understood at the time of contract, as when, intending to

5

In order to establish that American General owed some duty to Dameware with

respect to the 412(I) Plan, Dameware makes much of an affidavit from its financial advisor

Joseph Vizzini. It is well established, though, that courts interpreting contracts may resort

to parol evidence only when the contract is ambiguous. See, e.g., Carmichael v. Bass P’ship,

Nos. 11-845, 11-669, 2012 WL 280611, at *6 (La. Ct. App. Feb. 1, 2012). Here, the language

of the contract clearly shows that its cause was to exchange premium payments for life

insurance coverage, so we are not permitted to consider parol evidence such as Vizzini’s

affidavit.

7

Case: 11-20218 Document: 00511927366 Page: 8 Date Filed: 07/19/2012

No. 11-20218

buy bars of silver, he has unknowingly bought bars of another

metal, or when, intending to buy a gold vase, he has unknowingly

bought a gold-plated one.

Id. art. 1950 cmt. C. Dameware does not allege that American General’s life

insurance policies did not provide life insurance. It does not even argue that the

policies were inadequate for the purpose of forming 412(I) Plans. Thus, it does

not argue that the “thing for which [it] contracted or a substantial quality of that

thing is different from what [it] understood at the time of the contract . . . .” See

id. Instead, it blames the TPAs, which are not parties to this action, for failing

to follow the procedures necessary for establishing a 412(I) Plan.6 In other

words, Dameware argues that while American General provided the bargained-

for life insurance policies, external events that arose subsequent to contract

formation prevented Dameware from using those policies as it had originally

hoped to. The language of Article 1950 does not cover such a contention.

Nor does Dameware’s argument find support from case law. Dameware

maintains, in essence, that its decision to enter into a contract with American

6

Notably, Dameware does not argue that American General knew or should have

known that the contract’s list of TPAs contained TPAs that were incompetent at the time the

parties entered into the contract, let alone that American General intended to deceive

Dameware when it provided the list of TPAs. Thus, this case is distinguishable from The

Board of Trustees of the Ironworkers Local No. 498 Pension Fund v. Nationwide Life Insurance

Co., No. 04 C 821, 2005 WL 711977 (N.D. Ill. Mar. 28, 2005) (interpreting Illinois law), relied

upon by Dameware. In Local No. 498 Pension Fund, plaintiffs alleged that the defendants

“acted to deprive them of money, which should have been invested on their behalf, through a

scheme in which Defendants deducted money from fund assets and paid fees, kickbacks, and

commissions to third-party administrators . . .” Id. at *1. Further, plaintiffs alleged that

defendants “willfully concealed” those improper payments. Id. at *8.

While Dameware points to payments from American General to B&F, it does not argue

that these payments were improper, or that American General “willfully concealed” those

payments. Dameware does argue in a footnote in its brief that, based on a separate lawsuit

American General filed against B&F, American General “must have been aware that B&F was

likely engaging in wrongful behavior related to their duties as Plan Administrators in

February 2005.” The contract at issue here, however, was signed in March 2004, long before

American General filed suit against B&F.

8

Case: 11-20218 Document: 00511927366 Page: 9 Date Filed: 07/19/2012

No. 11-20218

General was based on an error concerning whether a future event would occur.

But Louisiana law does not contemplate such errors as proper bases for

rescission. While mistakes as to the state of the world as it exists at the time of

the contract can sometimes constitute errors of cause under Louisiana law, see

Desonier v. Golden Gulf Marine Operators, Inc., 474 So.2d at 1316, this logic does

not extend to mistaken predictions regarding events that occur after a contract

is signed. See St. Charles Ventures, 265 F. Supp. 2d at 693 (“[A] claim of error

cannot be based on the fact that a party would not have entered into a contact

had it anticipated a future event . . . .”) (quoting Shelton v. Congress St. Prop.,

Inc., No. 92-1084, 1993 WL 43637, at *3 (E.D. La. Feb. 16, 1993) (internal

quotation marks omitted)); Saul Litvinoff, Vices of Consent, Error, Fraud, Duress

and an Epilogue on Lesion, 50 La. Law Rev. 1, 28 (1989) (“[T]he general

conclusion is that the chance of a future event happening or not is a risk

assumed by the party whose expectations will materialize if the event happens

or will be frustrated if the event does not happen . . . ”). For this reason,

Louisiana courts have rejected arguments that post-contract changes in the

market prices of contracted-for items constitute error in cause that vitiated

consent. See Hanover Petroleum Corp. v. Tennecco Inc., 521 So.2d 1234, 1240-41

(La. Ct. App. 1988).7

Accordingly, Dameware’s error was not an “error concern[ing] cause”

contemplated by the Code. We therefore reject Dameware’s argument that its

contract with American General should be rescinded.

B.

We next consider whether American General has breached any duties it

owed to Dameware. Under Louisiana law, “[i]nterpretation of a contract is the

7

Regarding the proposition that events occurring after a contract is signed do not

provide grounds for rescinding that contract, Louisiana law accords with the common law rule.

See Restatement (Second) of Contracts § 154 cmt. a.

9

Case: 11-20218 Document: 00511927366 Page: 10 Date Filed: 07/19/2012

No. 11-20218

determination of the common intent of the parties.” La. Civ. Code Ann. art.

2045. “Conditions may be expressed either in a stipulation or implied by law,

the nature of the contract or the intent of the parties.” Id. art. 1768.

Dameware argues that the contract demonstrated that Dameware could

only choose from the TPAs listed by American General. This restriction,

Dameware argues, imposed an obligation on American General to ensure that

the TPAs it listed were capable of designing a viable 412(I) Plan. Dameware

further contends that its inability to form a Plan within three years shows that

American General did not satisfy the condition of ensuring that the TPAs were

competent.

The language of the contract demonstrates that American General had no

obligation to ensure the TPAs performed competently. The Disclosure and

Acknowledgment Form–the only component of the contract that even mentions

a 412(I) Plan–specifies the thirteen TPAs that Dameware can choose from to

administer its Plan. It creates no duties on the part of American General

respecting the establishment of the 412(I) Plan. In fact, three sentences in the

Disclosure and Acknowledgment Form specifically disclaim any duties on the

part of American General.

First, the Disclosure and Acknowledgment Form asserts the following:

The Employer and Plan Trustee further acknowledge that they

understand that American General Life Insurance Company

operates solely in the capacity of a product provider and that any

sales presentations, tax consequences and/or planning concepts that

may have been presented by American General Life Insurance

Company, its employees, agents, representatives and/or other

affiliates describing the benefits of using life insurance in connection

with the Plan cannot be relied upon as tax or legal advice.

If American General “operates solely in the capacity of a product provider,” and

the product that it provides is life insurance policies, it follows that the contract

10

Case: 11-20218 Document: 00511927366 Page: 11 Date Filed: 07/19/2012

No. 11-20218

between American General and Dameware does not guarantee that the TPAs

hired by Dameware will competently establish a 412(I) Plan.

Second, in the Disclosure and Acknowledgment Form, Dameware

disclaims reliance on representations not contained in the policies: “In addition,

the Employer and Plan Trustee acknowledge that they are not relying upon any

representation, warranty, or guarantee beyond those contained within the

insurance policy contract itself, including any riders or amendments thereto.”

Id. Nowhere in the insurance policy contract itself does American General

provide any statement that can be construed as a “representation, warranty, or

guarantee” concerning a 412(I) Plan. Thus, this language forecloses Dameware’s

argument that the Disclosure and Acknowledgment Form created a duty on the

part of American General to ensure that the TPAs were competent to establish

a 412(I) Plan.

Third, the Disclosure and Acknowledgment Form reads that “[t]he

Employer and Plan Trustee also hereby acknowledge their understanding that

the TPA indicated herein is responsible for administering the section 412(I) plan

consistent with the Internal Revenue Code and related Treasury regulations and

IRS guidance governing such plans.” This language further undercuts

Dameware’s contention that American General was responsible for ensuring that

a viable 412(I) Plan was created by entirely allocating that responsibility to the

TPAs.

For these reasons, American General did not breach any duties it owed to

Dameware. The contract did not explicitly or implicitly impose a duty on

American General to ensure that a 412(I) Plan was formed; in fact, the

Disclosure and Acknowledgment Forms expressly provide that such a duty does

not exist. Given the extensive disclaimers contained in the Disclosure and

Acknowledgment Forms, the contract cannot be read to mean that American

11

Case: 11-20218 Document: 00511927366 Page: 12 Date Filed: 07/19/2012

No. 11-20218

General guaranteed the performance of the TPAs, nor can it be read as

endorsing the advice provided by whichever TPA Dameware chose.

IV.

For the foregoing reasons, we AFFIRM the district court’s judgment.

12

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.